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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. Ifthe first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



EXECUTIVE ORDERS

State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

March 14, 2019
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 91

ESTABLISHING THE TASK FORCE ON CONNECTING NORTH CAROLINA,
PROMOTING EXPANSION OF ACCESS TO HIGH-SPEED INTERNET AND
REMOVING BARRIERS TO BROADBAND INFRASTRUCTURE INSTALLATION

WHEREAS. broadband infrastructure, which consists of installed telecommunications
equipment. networks, and the technology necessary to provide high-speed internet access, has
become essential to connect North Carolina’s residents, businesses. non-profits, schools,
communities. and governments both within and outside the state: and

WHEREAS,. deploying broadband infrastructure assets and advanced communication
technologies across the state supports continued improvements in critical areas including
education, economic development, health care, public safety. and workforce development: and

WHEREAS, state government can facilitate the deployment of broadband infrastructure
assets. identify and remove obstacles barring internet service providers (“ISPs™) from deploying
these assets, and develop programs that remove impediments to the increased adoption and
utilization of online services throughout North Carolina: and

WHEREAS. North Carolina possesses significant state. private. and local resources that
can be used to increase the installation of state-of-the-art communication networks across the state
and help North Carolina become a national leader in broadband infrastructure: and

WHEREAS. pursuant to 2015 N.C. Sess. Laws 241. the North Carolina Department of

Information Technology’s Broadband Infrastructure Office (“the Office™) issued a State
Broadband Plan (the “*Plan™) that includes recommendations for expanding broadband access and
adoption across the state: and

WHEREAS,. the Plan calls for the design and implementation of a Dig Once policy, which
is designed to reduce repeated excavations for the installation and maintenance of broadband
infrastructure: and

WHEREAS. while progress is being made towards achieving the Plan’s goals. additional
actions and strategies are necessary to expand broadband access.

NOW. THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

SECTION 1. Purpose

It is the policy of the Office of the Governor and the North Carolina Department of
Information Technology (“DIT™) to promote and implement actions that equitably expand
broadband access in North Carolina. These actions include: supporting the deployment of last-
mile broadband infrastructure; developing a uniform Dig Once policy to reduce repeated
broadband installation excavations; bridging the homework gap that results from students not
having internet access; and increasing efforts to ensure affordable, high-speed internet for North
Carolina residents, businesses, non-profits, schools, communities, and governments. The vast
expertise within state cabinet agencies as well as partnerships with non-governmental entities will
be utilized to develop and implement strategies toward accomplishing this goal.

SECTION 2. Establishment

The Governor’s Task Force on Connecting North Carolina (the “Task Force™) is hereby
established.
SECTION 3. Membership

a. The Governor shall appoint all members to the Task Force. The members shall be the
following:

i. The Secretary of DIT, or designee;
ii. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services,
or designee;
ili. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Commerce, or designee;
iv. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Administration, or
designee;
v. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, or designee;
vi. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (“DOT”), or
designee;
vii. The Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Natural and Cultural
Resources, or designee;
viii. The Director of the North Carolina Office of State Budget and Management, or
designee.

b. The Governor may appoint additional members to the Task Force.
c. All members shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

d. A simple majority of the Task Force shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of
transacting business.

e. The Secretary of DIT, or designee, shall chair the Task Force.

SECTION 4. Meetings

The Task Force shall meet when necessary but no less frequently than once a month. The
Task Force shall also meet upon the call of the Governor or the Chair.

SECTION S. Duties
The Task Force shall have the following duties:

a. Prepare and submit a report to the Governor no later than June 1, 2019, that
accomplishes the following:

1. Assesses the state’s progress in meeting the Plan’s recommendations;

ii. Identifies opportunities in the state’s efforts to promote broadband internet
connectivity for its residents, businesses, and government institutions;

iii. Proposes metrics and standards by which the Governor and DIT Secretary can
evaluate the State’s success in achieving its goals under the Plan; and
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iv. Identifies what recommendations for the state should be prioritized and
addressed by the end of the 2019 calendar year.

b. Coordinate efforts to identify and seek federal funding to support the development and
installation of broadband infrastructure across North Carolina.

¢. Support North Carolina residents. businesses. and government entities in seeking
federal funding to support the development and installation of broadband
infrastructure.

d. Prepare recommendations regarding state processes and procedures that may be
streamlined to leverage state property and reduce barriers to the deployment of

broadband infrastructure across the state in partnership with ISPs.

e. Develop one or more draft uniform contract, application, and/or permit template to
facilitate the use of state property or rights-of-way for broadband deployment.

SECTION 6. Administration

The Office shall provide administrative and staff support for the Task Force.

SECTION 7. Homework Gap
By May 1, 2019, the Office shall present to the Governor specific, feasible

recommendations to reduce the homework gap in North Carolina by 2020.
SECTION 8. Dig Once Policy

No later than July 1, 2019. DOT and DIT will jointly develop and issue a uniform Dig
Once policy to reduce the scale and number of repeated excavations related to state road projects
for the installation and maintenance of broadband infrastructure in rights-of-way.

DOT and DIT will jointly develop model Dig Once policies for potential adoption by
county and municipal governments. DOT and DIT shall seek input from the North Carolina League
of Municipalities, the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners, and other
stakeholders in developing these model policies.

SECTION 9. Miscellaneous

This Executive Order is consistent with and does not otherwise abrogate existing federal
or state law.

This Executive Order is effective immediately. It supersedes and replaces all other
Executive Orders on this subject. This Executive Order shall remain in effect until December 31,
2021, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-16.2, or until amended or rescinded.

IN WITNESS THEREOPF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of
the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 14" day in the year of our
Lord two thousand and nineteen.

7% Lo

4 Ro;' Cooper f’
Governor

ATTEST:

Secretary of State
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS

tate of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

March 28, 2019
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 92

EMPLOYMENT FIRST FOR NORTH CAROLINIANS WITH DISABILITIES

WHEREAS, the Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA"™), 42 U.S.C. § 12101 er seq..
established a clear and comprehensive national mandate to eliminate discrimination against people
with disabilities and safeguard their civil rights; and

WHEREAS, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Pub. I.. No. 93-112, 87 Stat. 355 (as amended
through Pub. L. No. 114-95) (*Rehab Act”), establishes aspirational workforce goals. including
increased employment of workers with disabilities; and

WHEREAS, state government should strive to achieve these goals by recruiting applicants
with disabilities, collecting data regarding applicants and employees who self-identify as having
disabilities, and engaging in outreach to individuals with disabilities by forming partnerships with
disability rights and advocacy organizations; and

WHEREAS, significant advancements for employees with disabilities, including the
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, 29 U.S.C. § 3101 e seq.; federal rules for home and
community-based services contained in 42 C.F.R. Parts 430-447: and the ADA Amendments Act
of 2008, Pub. L. No. 110-325, 122 Stat. 3553, have built upon the protections established in the
ADA and the Rehab Act; and

WHEREAS, more than 1.3 million North Carolinians over the age of five, approximately
13% of the state’s population, have a disability: and

WHEREAS, North Carolinians with disabilities experience disproportionately high levels of
unemployment, residential segregation, financial dependency, and poverty; and

WHEREAS, less than 35% of North Carolinians who are between the ages of eighteen and
sixty-four and have a disability are employed — a stark contrast to the nearly 76% of North
Carolinians of working age without disabilities who are employed; and

WHEREAS. North Carolinians with disabilities should be able to secure employment in
integrated community settings that provide competitive wages and benefits, enable them to reach
their full potential, increase their economic sclf-sufficiency, and grant them dignity as members of
the workforce: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued LCxecutive Order No. 24, Policies Prohibiting
Discrimination, Harassment, and Retaliation in State Employment, Services, and Contracts
under the Jurisdiction of the Office of the Governor, 32 N.C. Reg. 958-62 (Nov. 15, 2017), which
directed the North Carolina Office of Statc Human Resources (“OSHR™) to issuc a non-
discrimination guidance to State Agencies for certain groups, including people with disabilities;
and
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WHEREAS, the undersigned launched the NC Job Ready Initiative in 2017 to better align
public sector resources with the evolving needs of businesses: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned commenced the Hometown Strong Initiative in 2018 to bolster
efforts to expand employment opportunities to all North Carolinians: and

WHEREAS, North Carolina initiated the Everybody Works NC campaign in 2018 to
increase awareness of the skills and expertise of North Carolinians with disabilities, as well as to
assist these individuals and their families by providing information on how to access training and
education, helping them become more competitive for available job opportunities, and improving
their job readiness: and

WHEREAS. state government should take additional steps to support North Carolinians with
disabilities in finding and securing good paying, high quality jobs.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Definitions

(a) An “Integrated setting™ is a workplace arrangement in which employed individuals with
disabilities have equal opportunities to interact with co-workers without disabilities.
Individuals who are paid to provide services to support the work of individuals with
disabilities are not included when assessing integration.

(b) “Competitive wages™ are at or above the minimum wage, but not less than the customary
wage and level of benefits paid by an employer for the same or similar work performed by
individuals who do not have disabilities.

(¢) “Competitive. integrated employment™ is work in a competitive labor market that is
performed on a full-time or part-time basis in an integrated setting and for which an

individual is compensated with competitive wages.

(d) “Employment First” typically refers to the principle that employment in the general
workforce should be the first and preferred option for individuals with disabilities.

(e) “State Agency™ refers to any North Carolina department. agency, board. commission, or
committee for which the Governor has oversight responsibility.

Section 2. North Carolina as a Model Emplover through Emplovment First

(a) Employment First is the policy of State Agencies. This policy reflects the state’s goals to
be a leader in recruiting workers with disabilities and to create an inclusive job climate for
workers with disabilities. Competitive, integrated employment is the preferred mode of
employment for all North Carolinians with disabilities regardless of level of disability.
North Carolinians with disabilities should be able to work a job of their choosing, with
reasonable support and accommodations provided to achieve and maintain employment.

(b) Employment First principles will apply to all individuals with intellectual and
developmental, physical, sensory, mental health. and substance use disorder disabilities
and include the following:

1. North Carolinians with disabilities can work in integrated settings and earn
competitive wages and benefits.

]

Individuals with significant disabilities can secure employment with reasonable and
appropriate accommodations and support.

3. Employees with and without disabilities are equally valued.

4. A job should match an individual’s work skills, abilities, and career choices to the
greatest extent possible.
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Section 3. State Agency Specific Policies

(a) OSHR, in consultation with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services,
will take the following actions to further the goals set forth in this Executive Order:

1. Issue guidelines applicable to State Agencies and directors, supervisors, officers,
managers, staff. and employees covered under the State Human Resources Act that
facilitate compliance with Section 2 of this Executive Order. These guidelines will
set forth internal standards addressing these objectives:

i. Improve recruitment and outreach efforts to identify and attract qualified
individuals with disabilities for employment;
ii. Enhance the accessibility of employment applications and facilitate
accommodations during the hiring process;

iii. Implement clear, reasonable workplace accommodation guidelines;

iv. Build upon existing state human resources training programs to improve
the inclusion of individuals with disabilities in the workplace;

V. Identify opportunities for data collection to improve the state’s hiring of

individuals with disabilities.

]

Define measurable employment outcomes to achieve competitive and integrated
employment for individuals with disabilities.

3. Track the measurable progress of State Agencies in the implementation of this
Executive Order.

4. Periodically report on efforts to comply with and implement this Executive Order.

(b) I direct State Agencies to take the following actions to further the goals set forth in this
Executive Order:

1. Consult with OSIIR and thereafter, consistent with existing federal and state law,
develop additional State Agency specific plans and procedures necessary to
implement this Executive Order: and

N

Periodically report on efforts to comply with and implement this Executive Order.
Section 4. General Provisions

(a) This Executive Order does not create a private right of action.

(b) This Executive Order shall not be interpreted to supersede or preempt federal or state law.

(c) State entities not subject to the undersigned’s oversight are encouraged but not required to
comply with this Executive Order.

(d) This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this the 28" day of March in
the year of our Lord two thousand and nineteen.

g 7 Roy C06pcr

Governor
ATTEST:

Rodne&’S. Maddox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS
AND COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 08 - BOARD OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC
ACCOUNTANT EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Certified Public Accountant Examiners intends to
amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 08F .0105.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.hccpaboard.gov

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2020

Public Hearing:

Date: May 23, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: 1101 Oberlin Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27605

Reason for Proposed Action: 21 NCAC 08F .0105 explains how
many times a Uniform CPA Examination (Exam) candidate can
take the same section of the Exam. The Exam vendor is changing
when an Exam candidate may retake the same section of the
Uniform CPA Examination.

Comments may be submitted to: Robert N. Brooks, 1101
Oberlin Road, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27605, phone (919) 733-
1425, fax (919) 733-4209, email rbrooks@nccpaboard.gov

Comment period ends: July 1, 2019

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
L] State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

X000

SUBCHAPTER 08F - REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFIED
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT EXAMINATION AND
CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 08F .0105
REQUIREMENTS
(a) Passing Grades. A candidate shall pass all sections of the
examination with a grade of 75 or higher on each section.

(b) Military Service. A candidate who is on active military service
shall not have the time on active military service counted against
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule unless the candidate applies to
take the examination during the active military service, in which
case each month a candidate sits shall be counted toward
Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule.

(¢) A candidate is subject to the following conditioning
requirements:

CONDITIONING

(8] a candidate shall obtain a passing grade on all
sections of the examination within an 18-month
period;

2 a candidate may sit for any section of the

examination individually;
3) a candidate may sit-foreach retake the same

section of the examination up-to-four as many
times during a one-year period but-net-more

than-one-time-in-a-three-month-testing-window
as-defined-by as determined by the examination

venders(s); vendor(s); and
(@) credit awarded by the Board for passage of a

section of the examination is valid for an 18-
month period beginning on the date the section
is taken.

Authority G.S. 93-12(3); 93-12(5).

EEE S S S I S I S I S I

CHAPTER 14 - BOARD OF COSMETIC ART
EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners intends to amend the rules cited
as 21 NCAC 14H .0101, .0102, .0302, .0401, .0403; 14P .0113;
14R .0105; 14T .0102, .0201, .0502, .0601-.0612, .0701, and
.0703.
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.nccosmeticarts.com/uploads/Board/Rules4-19.pdf

Proposed Effective Date: October 1, 2019

Public Hearing:

Date: May 20, 2019

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Location: 1207 Front Street, Suite 110, Raleigh, NC 27609

Reason for Proposed Action: The Board has proposed these
amendments to update terminology, provide for a path for online
education for initial licensure and to clarify the requirements for
graduation.

Comments may be submitted to: Stefanie Kuzdrall, 1207 Front
Street, Suite 110, Raleigh, NC, 27609, phone (919) 715-0018 Ext
8, email skuzdrall@nccosmeticarts.com

Comment period ends: July 5, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOOO

SUBCHAPTER 14H — SANHATHON INFECTION
CONTROL

SECTION .0100 - SANTFAHON INFECTION CONTROL

21 NCAC 14H .0101 COPY OF RULES TO
COSMETOLOGY STUDENTS

Cosmetic art schools shall give a copy of the sanitation Infection

Control rules governing the practice of the cosmetic arts to each
student for study.

Authority G.S. 88-23; 88-30.

21 NCAC 14H .0102
ESTABLISHMENTS
The Board shall give copies of the rules of sanitation Infection
Control governing the practice of cosmetic art to all beauty
establishments.

COPY OF RULES TO BEAUTY

Authority G.S. 88-23; 88-30.

SECTION .0300 - COSMETIC ART SHOP AND
EQUIPMENT

21 NCAC 14H .0302 VENTILATION AND LIGHT

(a) Ventilation shall be provided at all times in the clinic areas
where when patrons are serviced in all cosmetic art shops and
there must be a continuous exchange of air.

(b) Light shall be provided in the service area of a cosmetic art
shop.

(c) All cosmetic art shops must adhere to any federal, State and
local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire safety
codes, plumbing and electrical work.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14.

SECTION .0400 - SANHFATHON INFECTION CONTROL
PROCEDURES AND PRACTICES

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS

(&) Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule
applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art
schools and shops. Each licensee and student shall wash his or her
hands with soap and water or an-equaty-effective-cleansing-agent
use of a 70 percent or greater alcohol-based hand sanitizer
immediately before and after serving each client.

(b) Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes
while serving patrons.

(c) Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic
art school or shop any of the following:

1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a.
MMA,;

2) razor-type callus shavers designed and intended
to cut growths of skin including skin tags,
corns, and calluses;

3 FDA rated Class Il devices;

4) carbolic acid (phenol) over
strength;

5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians,
reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to
perform any service; or

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has
been designed for use on a natural nail.

(d) A licensee or student shall not:

(D) use any product, implement, or piece of
equipment in any manner other than the
product's, implement's, or equipment's intended

two percent

use as described or detailed by the
manufacturer;

2 treat any medical condition unless referred by a
physician;
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3) provide any service unless trained prior to
performing the service;

4) perform services on a client if the licensee has
reason to believe the client has any of the
following:

(A) fungus, lice, or nits;
(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised,

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the
area to be worked on; or
© an open wound or sore in the area to
be worked on;
(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board;
(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of
communication in a manner that is false or
misleading;
(7 use any FDA rated Class Il device without the

documented supervision of a licensed
physician;
(8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis;
(9) make any statement to a member of the public,

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying
any action is required or forbidden by Board
rules when such action is not required or
forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this
prohibition is considered practicing or
attempting to practice by fraudulent
misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P
.0108 of this Chapter; or
(10) use or possess any product banned by the FDA.
A list of banned products is available at
www.fda.gov.
an use or possess any machine for a cosmetic art
service that is not approved by the FDA.
(e) In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal
protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the
manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet.
(f) Licensees may only perform services specifically designated
within their licensure field as defined by G.S. 88B-2.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24.

21 NCAC 14H .0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES
(a) Sanitation Infection Control rules that apply to towels and
cloths are as follows:

(D) Clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and
towels shall be used for each patron;
2 After a protective cape has been in contact with

a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean,
closed container until laundered with soap and
hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that
cannot be laundered and dried in a heater dryer
may be disinfected with an—EPRPA—registered
a
disinfectant that is bactericidal, virucidal and
fungicidal and approved by the EPA for use in
beauty salons, or salon used in accordance with
the manufacturer directions; and
3) After a drape, linen, or towel has been in
contact with a patron’s skin it shall be placed in

a clean, covered container until laundered with

soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer.

A covered container may have an opening so

soiled items may be dropped into the container.

(b) Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be
discarded after one use.

(c) There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and
towels at all times. Wet towels used in services must be prepared
fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered
daily.

(d) Clean drapes, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall
be stored in a clean area.

(e) Bathroom facilities must be kept clean.

(f) All implements shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use
in the following manner:

1) They shall be washed with warm water and a
cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove
debris and dried.

) They shall be disinfected with either:

(A) disinfectant that is bactericidal,
virucidal and fungicidal and approved
by the EPA for use in beauty salons, or
salon settings that is mixed and used
according to the manufacturer's
directions. They shall be rinsed with
hot tap water and dried with a clean
towel before their next use. They shall
be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or
container until they are needed;
needed or;

UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal
irradiation used accordance with the
manufacturer's directions.

3 If the implement is not immersible or is not
disinfected by UV-C irradiation, it shall be
cleaned by wiping it with a clean cloth
moistened or sprayed with a disinfectant that is
bactericidal, virucidal and fungicidal and
approved by the EPA for use in beauty salons,
or salon settings used in accordance with the
manufacturer's directions.

(9) All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a
clean, closed cabinet or clean closed container.

(h) All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean
area- area separate from other clean implements.

(i) Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be
discarded after use or upon completion of the service.

(j) Product that comes into contact with the patron must be
discarded upon completion of the service.

©)(B)
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(k) Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with
plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not be stored with
any implement or item that has not been disinfected.
(I) Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be
disposed in puncture-resistant containers.
(m) All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products
dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be kept in
clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the
requirements of the Pure Food and Drug Law. Any product
apportioned for use and removed from original containers must be
distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of
product or container. Any product dispensed in portions into
another container must be dispensed into a clean container and
applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable
implement or other clean methods. Any product dispensed in
portions not dispensed into another container must be used
immediately and applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or
disposable implement or other clean methods. No product
dispensed in portions may be returned to the original container.
(n) As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin
using circulating water.
(o) After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be
cleaned and disinfected as follows:
@ All water must be drained and all debris
removed from the basin;
)] The basin must be disinfected by filling the
basin with water and circulating:
(A) Two tablespoons of automatic
dishwashing powder and 1/4 cup of
5.25 percent household bleach to one
gallon of water through the unit for 10
minutes; or
(B) Surfactant or enzymatic soap with an
EPA registered disinfectant with
bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal
activity used according to

manufacturer's instructions through
the unit for 10 minutes;
3) The basin must be drained and rinsed with clean
water; and
4) The basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.

(p) At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be
cleaned and disinfected as follows:

(D) The screen must be removed and all debris
trapped behind the screen removed,;
2 The screen and the inlet must be washed with

surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and

rinsed with clean water;

3 Before replacing the screen one of the
following procedures must be performed:

(A) The screen must be totally immersed
in a household bleach solution of 1/4
cup of 5.25 percent household bleach
to one gallon of water for 10 minutes;
or

(B) The screen must be totally immersed
in an EPA registered disinfectant with
bactericidal, fungicidal and virucidal
activity in accordance to the

manufacturer's instructions for 10
minutes;
4 The inlet and area behind the screen must be

cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and
water to remove all visible debris and residue;
and
(5) The spa system must be flushed with low
sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm
water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and
drained.
(9) A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning
and disinfecting as required by this Rule including the date, time,
reason, and name of the staff member who performed the
cleaning. This record must be made for each whirlpool or footspa
and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon
request by either a patron or inspector.
(r) The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and
the unit disinfected daily after emptying.
(s) The area where services are performed that come in contact
with the patron's skin including treatment chairs, treatment tables,
and beds shall be disinfected between patrons.
(t) A manufacturers label for all disinfectant concentrate must be
available at all times. If a concentrate bottle is emptied, it must
remain available until a new bottle is available.
(u) When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary
container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that container must be
labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets
must be readily available for all disinfectants in use at all times.
(v) Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance
with all local, State and federal requirements.
(w) The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be
emptied daily and the unit dried daily after emptying.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14.
SUBCHAPTER 14P — CIVIL PENALTY
SECTION .0100 — CIVIL PENALTY

21 NCAC 14P .0113
COSMETIC ART
(&) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to record student's
hours of daily attendance per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
(1) 1%t offense warning ($100.00)
) 2" offense $200.00
3 3" offense $300.00
(b) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report withdrawal
or graduation of a student per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
(1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
2 2nd offense $100.00
?3) 3rd offense $200.00
(c) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit student
enrollments per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
1) 1st offense
2 2nd offense $100.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00
(d) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to display a copy of
the sanitation Infection Control rules is:
(1) 1%t offense

OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF

warning ($50.00)

warning ($50.00)
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2) 2 offense $100.00

(3) 3 offense $200.00
(e) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to post consumer
sign "Cosmetic Art School - Work Done Exclusively by Students"
is:

(1) 1% offense

2 2" offense $100.00

3) 3 offense $200.00
(F) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a cosmetic art shop
to operate within a cosmetic art school is:

warning ($50.00)

(1) 1%t offense $200.00
2) 2 offense $400.00
(3) 3 offense $600.00

(9) The presumptive civil penalty for a cosmetic art school that is
not separated from a cosmetic art shop or other business by a solid
wall, floor to ceiling, with a separate entrance and a door that stays
closed at all times is:

(1) 1% offense $200.00
2 2" offense $400.00
(3) 3 offense $600.00

(h) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to have any student
wear the required school uniform or identification per 21 NCAC
14T .0613 is:
@ 1st offense
2) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(i) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to renew or file
school bond or bond alternative is:

warning ($50.00)

(1) 1% offense $200.00
2 2" offense $400.00
(3) 3 offense $600.00

(i) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain the
student permanent file with required documents per 21 NCAC
14T .0502 is:

(D) 1st offense

2) 2nd offense $100.00

(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(k) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain records
of daily hours of attendance documents per 21 NCAC 14T .0502
is:

warning ($50.00)

(1) 1st offense
(2) 2nd offense $100.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00
() The presumptive civil penalty for failure to maintain records
of performances documents per 21 NCAC 14T .0502 is:
(1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
2) 2nd offense $100.00
(3) 3rd offense $200.00
(m) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing an unlicensed
individual to instruct cosmetic art is:

warning ($50.00)

(1) 1% offense $500.00
2) 2" offense $750.00
3) 3 offense $1000.00

(n) The presumptive civil penalty for failure to track and record

the student progression in an online education course;
1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
2) 2nd offense $100.00
3) 3rd offense $200.00

(0) The presumptive civil penalty for allowing more than 50
percent for teachers 25 percent of all other courses to be done

through online education;
1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
$100.00

2) 2nd offense

3) 3rd offense $200.00
(p)_The presumptive civil penalty for failure to administer a test
at the mid-point and at the end of each online education course in

person at the school.
€8] 1st offense warning ($50.00)
$100.00

2 2nd offense
3) 3rd offense $200.00

(q) The presumptive civil penalty altering the format, school
name or school code on a Board form:
1) 1st offense warning ($50.00)
$100.00

2) 2nd offense
3) 3rd offense $200.00

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-29.
SUBCHAPTER 14R — CONTINUING EDUCATION
SECTION .0100 — CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 14R .0105 CONTINUING EDUCATION

(a) This Rule pertains to all cosmetic art licensees. Each licensee
wishing to maintain his or her license shall obtain continuing
education during each licensing period. The licensee shall
maintain records of attendance at a continuing education course
including the following information:

@ course title and description;

2 date conducted;

©) address of location where the course was
conducted; and

4) continuing education hours earned.

(b) At least one-half of the required continuing education hours
for each licensee shall be in the cosmetic arts profession in which
he or she is licensed.

(c) Each cosmetic art teacher must ensure at least 50 percent of
the subject matter in a course taken for the purpose of license
renewal relates to teacher training techniques and enhances the
ability to communicate.

(d) Continuing education courses shall be approved by the Board
providing the courses meet the requirements above.

(e) The Board or an agent of the Board may conduct audits of the
licensee's continuing education at any time. Upon the Board's
request, each licensee shall provide completed records to the
Board to support the last affirmation given pursuant to
Subparagraph (j)(3) of this Rule. Records must be maintained
until the end of the next renewal cycle after the affirmation for
audit purposes.

(f)  Continuing education courses completed prior to an
individual's being licensed by the Board shall not qualify for
continuing education credit.

(g) Apprentices do not need to earn continuing education for
license renewal.

(h) Licensees are exempt from the eight hours of continuing
education requirement until the licensing period commencing
after their initial licensure.
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(i) After completion of the continuing education requirements for
any licensing cycle, the licensee shall forward to the Board the

following:
(1) the license renewal application;
(2) the license renewal fee; and

(3) affirmation of the following pledge: "I hereby
certify that | have obtained all continuing
education hours required in accordance with the
G.S. 88B-21 and Board rules. | am aware that
1) false or dishonest misleading information
may be grounds for disciplinary action against
my license; and further that 2) false statements
are punishable by law."

(j) Failure to produce documents or file a response to a request
for audit from the Board within 30 days of the request shall result
in a civil penalty to the licensee in the amount of twe-hundred-fifty
dollars{$250-00)- one hundred dollars ($100.00).

(k)  The presentation of fraudulent continuing education
documentation to the Board by a licensee shall result in a civil
penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00).

() Licensees in inactive status may reactivate licensure by taking
no fewer than eight hours of continuing education per year of
inactivity up to 24 total hours.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-21; 88B-24; 88B-29.
SUBCHAPTER 14T - COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS
SECTION .0100 - SCOPE AND SCHOOL APPLICATIONS

21 NCAC 14T .0102 NEW SCHOOL APPLICATIONS
(a) Persons desiring to operate a cosmetic art school in the state
of North Carolina shall make application for licensure by
submitting to the Board the Board's School Application. The
Board's School Application shall include:

(D) School name;

2 Cosmetic Art discipline(s) to be taught;
3) Physical address and mailing address;
4) Phone number;

(5) Email address;
(6) Ownership type;

(7 Reason for application;
(8) Owner name;
9 School contact person with phone number and

email address; and
(10) List of teachers with cosmetic art license
number.
(b) School application forms must be submitted along with
supporting documents as follows:
1) Proof of bond as required by G.S. 88B-17;

(2) Diagram with location of equipment placement
and marking square footage of all areas
including classrooms, dispensary, water

supplies, stations, locker room/dressing room,
office areas, reception areas and restroom
facilities;

3) Course curriculum for each cosmetic art
discipline and teacher trainee program to be
taught in the school,

4 Plans for record keeping of student hours,
minimum course requirement qualifications,
and student performances;

Evaluation—plans—for—the—assignment—of
performance-services-the The qualifications for

passing a performance requirement and
techniques for grading of performances;

(6) Handbook for students containing student
policies on attendance, leave of absence policy,
performance assignment, and a plan to assist
students to achieve the required minimum hours
and performances per 21 NCAC 14T .0602-
.0610;

@) A raised seal identifying the school name and
physical location to be used on all Board forms,
reports, and other official papers;

®)

(8) Documentation of local municipality fire,
occupancy, electrical and plumbing approval;
and

©)] School operation schedule including days,

hours and observed holidays.

(10) Signed and notarized statement that the school
owner has read and understands the Board's
rules in 21 NCAC 14T.

(c) The Board shall not approve an application for a license until
all plans, furniture, supplies and equipment as prescribed by the
rules in this Subchapter have been installed.

(d) The Board shall issue a license to any cosmetic art school that
meets the requirements of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

SECTION .0200 - PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR
COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS

21 NCAC 14T .0201 ALL COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS
(a) Cosmetology schools must have the following physical
departments:

1) Practice Department — a minimum of 200
square feet with a table or tables and or stands
to accommodate at least 10 students and have at
least 40 inches between each mannequin.
Cosmetic art schools must provide an additional
5 square feet in the practice department for each
student over the maximum of 10. This area shall
have at least one mirror of a minimum of two
square feet.

2 Clinic Department — the clinic floor for
performance of all cosmetic art services. Within
the clinic area each school shall have:

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to
the center of each styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair
forward,;

© 48 inches from the backrest behind the
chair to any other styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;
and
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(D) at least 30 inches of space from the
back of each styling chair, esthetics
table to the wall of the school.

3) Dispensary — a room or area to organize and
maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection
of all implements and a sink with hot and cold
running water. All cosmetic art schools must
have the required equipment to carry out
disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H
.0404;

4) Theory classroom — classroom with a minimum
of 300 square feet to accommodate a maximum
of 25 students. Cosmetic art schools must
provide an additional 8 square feet in the theory
classroom for each student over the maximum
of 25;

(5) Office —administrative office for the secure and
locked facilitation of student records and files.
This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of
one desk and one chair;

(6) Reception area — a reception area for clients to
wait prior to receiving services;

@) Break room for student use;

(8) Restrooms for student and public use;

9 Locker or dressing room — a locker or room for

students to secure and lock personal belongings

throughout the day; and

(10) All stations as defined in Rule .0302 of this
Subchapter must be numbered numerically.

(b) Manicuring, esthetics and natural hair care schools must have
the following physical departments:

@ Clinic Department — the clinic floor for
performance of all cosmetic art services. Within
the clinic area each school shall have:

(A) 48 inches of space from the center to
the center of each styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;

(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair
forward,;

© 48 inches from the backrest behind the
chair to any other styling chair,
esthetics table or manicuring table;
and

(D) at least 30 inches of space from the
back of each styling chair or esthetics
table to the wall of the school.

2 Dispensary — a room or area to organize and
maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection
of all implements and a sink with hot and cold
running water. All cosmetic art schools shall
have the required equipment to carry out
disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H
.0404;

3) Theory classroom — a room or area with
equipment for theory training appropriate to
both practical and theory learning including
desks and chairs.

4) Office —administrative office for the secure and
locked facilitation of student records and files.

This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of
one desk and one chair;

(5) Reception area — a reception area for clients to
wait prior to receiving services;

(6) Break room for student use;

@) Restrooms for student and public use;

(8) Locker or dressing room — a locker or room for

students to secure/lock personal belongings
throughout the day; and
9 All stations must be numbered numerically.
(c) Each cosmetic art school must display a sign in a conspicuous
place in the reception area. The sign cannot be smaller than 12
inches by 18 inches, with lettering at least one and one half inches
in size and must read as follows: "Cosmetic Art School Work
Done Exclusively by Students."”
(d) Each of the requirements listed within this Rule must be
located within the same building with the exception of the theory
classroom which may be located in an adjacent building or
another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art building-
building and/or a proctored examination center which may be
located on the school campus.
(e) All Cosmetic Art schools must post hours of operation per
cosmetic art discipline and submit this information to the Board.
Any changes to the hours of operation must be posted and
submitted to the Board. A school shall be considered open by the
Board when cosmetic art instruction, services or performances are
provided.
(f)  Cosmetic art schools may not offer student hours or
performances unless they are in compliance with Paragraph (a) of
this Rule.
(9) All cosmetic art schools must adhere to any federal, state and
local government regulation or ordinance regarding fire safety
codes, plumbing and electrical work.
(h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a ventilation system
in good working order with temperature control. During school
operating hours the temperature must be maintained between 60
and 85 degrees Fahrenheit.
(i) All equipment in cosmetic art schools shall be in working
order; kept in safe repair; and installed in such a manner as to
facilitate proper usage.
(3) All cosmetic art school buildings shall be maintained.
Maintenance includes the safe and working condition of the
physical building, furniture, equipment and supplies.
(k) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a bulletin board in
plain sight of the clinic floor. The bulletin board shall be used to
display at all times the Board saritation Infection Control rules in
21 NCAC 14H and the sanitation grade card issued to the school.
() All cosmetic art schools must post together the school letter of
approval, the school license and all cosmetic art licenses issued to
the teachers on staff.
(m) Each roomina cosmetic art school must be labeled according
to its assigned purpose.
(n) Each theory classroom shall be equipped with desks or chairs
suitable for classroom work and one chair suitable for
demonstrating cosmetic art practices.
(o) When a school and a shop are under the same ownership:
(D) separate operation of the shop and school shall
be maintained,;
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(2) if the school and shop are located in the same
building, they must be separated by a solid wall
of at least seven feet in height; separate
entrances and visitor reception areas shall be
maintained; and

3) the school and shop shall have separate public
information releases, advertisements, names
and advertising signs.

(p) A cosmetic art school must maintain space and equipment
appropriate to both practical and theory learning including desks
and chairs, and station requirements so that each student in
attendance has a location within which to complete assigned tasks.
Each station or desk space may be designated for only one student
at a time.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.
SECTION .0500 - RECORD KEEPING

21 NCAC 14T .0502 PERMANENT RECORDS,
FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION
(@) Cosmetic art schools must maintain locked storage for the
permanent files of all enrolled students and students who have
withdrawn or graduated within-the-lastsix-menths together in one
room within the approved square footage of the cosmetic art
school. Withdrawal and graduation forms reviewed by the Board
or an agent of the Board may be removed from this room. The
permanent file shall include a copy of:
(1) Board Enrollment Form;
(2) Documentation of student receipt of school
policies, school and student contract and the
Board Infection Control Rules 21 NCAC 14H
and felony pelieys Rule 21 NCAC 141 .0401;
3 All applicable Board Withdrawal Forms;
(@) Social security card for any individual who has
a social security number or tax ID card or
student visa information;

(5) Government issued ID and proof of date of
birth;

(6) Grades for all examinations and documentation
for pass performances;

(7 Documentation for any leave of absence over
30 days;

(8) Transfer of hours form documenting hours

earned in other schools and hours accepted by
current school; and

9 Graduation Form.

(b) The school shall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily
including field trip hours and documentation of field trip hours
updated with a running grand total:

1) A daily record shall be kept of the performances
for each student, showing the actual date of the
performance and the teacher who approved the
performance;

2 A daily record shall be kept of the actual
number of hours of attendance; and

3) A daily record shall be kept of the actual
number of hours and educational achievements
completed via online; and

3)(4) An updated Performance Record.
(c) When a student enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws
from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report the
withdrawal to the Board.
(d) If a student withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within
the first five days, the school need not submit the enrollment to
the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the
student file until reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board
after which, it may be removed.
(e) The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site
school staff or on site school administrators and must have the
seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form
documentation must be prepared on the Board form and shall
indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been
met. The cosmetic art school shall mail the graduation form to the
Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit
the graduation form via the Board's school documents portal at
www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's
graduation date.
(f) All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or
a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be maintained
in the school permanent file storage. Except for student
signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must be completed,
by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board
forms shall be used for the sole purpose of documenting to the
Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of
enrollment, transfer of hours, withdrawal or graduation.
(g) Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form
must be submitted to the Board with supporting documentation.
(h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school
an original daily record of enrolled students' hour and
performances. This record must be kept in a secured location
under lock and key but made available for review by the Board or
its agent at any time.
(i) All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has
withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the school's locked files
for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the
Board examination or five years after the date the student first
enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed
by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this
room.
(i) The record of all hours and performances must be documented
in writing. Credit issued to students that cannot be verified may
be eliminated from the student record by an agent of the Board.
(K) Access to student records must be limited to agents of the
Board, teachers and administrators of the school. Records cannot
be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered onsite
and must have documentation supporting the change attached.
The format, school name and school code on Board forms cannot
be altered.
() Allindividuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art
education, earning hours, performing or practicing cosmetic art
services must be enrolled in the school.
(m) Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a
cosmetic art school may grade practical student examinations and
evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site
teachers, on site school administrators or on site school staff shall
record student hours and performances, grade examinations and
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determine completion and record credit of live model and
mannequin performances.

(n) Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful
completion of live model/mannequin performances as determined
through the school's evaluation plan that is approved by the Board
at the time of application shall be disclosed to students at the time
of enrollment. Passing grades and performances cannot be
credited to students who fail to meet the requirements of the
evaluation plan.

(o) Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of
school policies, the Board felony policies and shall retain for the
permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of receipt
of these policies.

(p) The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations
shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates but may be
submitted as withdrawn.

(q) Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the
unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art student.
Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students
who have met the Board minimum requirements and passed all
school academic requirements.

(r) Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest
quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give or deduct hours
or performances as rewards or penalties.

(s) An applicant may receive credit for instruction taken in
another state if the conditions set forth in this Paragraph are met.
In order to determine if the conditions have been met the
applicant's record shall be certified by the state agency or
department that issues licenses to practice in the cosmetic arts. If
this agency or department does not maintain any student records
or if the state does not give license to practice in the cosmetic arts,
then the records may be certified by any state department or state
agency that does maintain such records and is willing to certify
their accuracy. If no state department or board will certify the
accuracy of the student's records, then the Board shall review the
student's records for validity on a case-by-case basis using the
documentation provided by the student.

(t) Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must
be obtained by the submission of the Board transfer form mailed
directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the
school seal affixed, with grades for examinations and
performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such
original documentation shall be submitted to the Board with
enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following:

(D) Student name and social security number;

2 School code;

3 Course type and total number of live model and
mannequin service performances;

(@) Enrollment date and last date of attendance;

(5) Number of hours and minutes completed;

(6) School owner name and signature; and

@) School seal.
(u) A student must pass an entrance examination given by the
school to which the student is transferring for the hours to be
transferred from one cosmetic art school to another.

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16.

SECTION .0600 - CURRICULA

21 NCAC 14T .0601 COSMETIC ART CURRICULA
(@) The Board will establish evaluation plans for infection
control, and blood exposure. Cosmetic art schools shall develop
and submit to the Board a curriculum of each discipline to be
taught at the school. The curriculum, once approved by the
Board's standards listed in Rules .0602-.0610, of this Section shall
be adhered to and lessons developed from the approved
curriculum.

(b) Blood exposure and infection control evaluations must be
passed with a score of 100% before a student may perform a
mannequin or live model performance. Before a student may

perform a live model performance the student shall pass the

(c) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of the steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client.
(d) All cosmetic art students shall receive training on Material
Safety Data Sheets prepared by the manufacturer on all products
used by the school's students in performances.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0602
CURRICULUM
(&) To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training
course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure
procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and
consist of 1500 hours of instruction in theory and practical
performances as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule as follows:

(8] Professional image;

2 Sanitation; Infection control;

©) Bacteriology;

4) Disinfection;

5) First aid;

(6) Anatomy;

@) Eleetricity; Electricity as is relates to cosmetic

art;
8) Chemistry: Chemistry as is relates to cosmetic
art;

(C)] Professional ethics;

(10) Draping;

(11) Shampooing;

(12) Roller sets;

(13) Pin curls;

(14) Ridge curls with C shaping;

(15) Fingerwaves;

(16) Braids;

a7 Artificial hair;

(18) Up-styles;

(19) Blowdrying;

(20) Brush control;

(21) Blowdrying with curling iron;

(22) Pressing or thermal;

(23) Hair cutting;

(24) Partings;

(25) Perm types and wraps;

(26) Relaxer types and sectioning;

COSMETOLOGY
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(27)
(28)
(29)
(30)
(31)
(32)

Color types and application sectioning;

Scalp treatments;

Manicures;

pedicures;

artificial nails; and

Styles and techniques of cosmetology services
including:

(A) Arranging;

(B) Dressing;

© Curling;
(D) Waving;
(E) Cutting techniques and implements

including razors, clippers, thinning
shears, and shears;

(33)

() Cleansing;

(G) Cutting;
(H) Singeing;
m Bleaching, or coloring hair;

) Esthetics;

(K) Manicuring;

(L) Business management; and
(M) Salon business: business;
Board laws, regulations and website.

(b) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client
and shall include the following:

oo ||| B |B[w|R(®|E ﬂ”ﬂﬂ'ﬂég
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Infection Control;

Blood exposure procedure;

Blow drying;

Hot iron;

Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs,
or knots);

Solid form cut;

Elevated cut;

Cut with tapered or thinning shears;
Razor cut;

Clipper cut;

Shears over comb cut;

Clippers over comb cut;

Virgin darker;

Virgin lightener;
Retouch;

Foil;

Freehand painting;

Relaxer virgin;

Relaxer retouch;

Curl reforming virgin;

Curl reforming retouch;

Permanent waving rod placement rectangle;
Permanent waving rod placement contour;

BEEEEEBE B

Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-
overlap;

Permanent waving rod placement — spiral;
Basic manicure;

Atrtificial nails

Basic facial;

Waxing including face and body;

Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;
Hair removal with razor;

Makeup application;

(c) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.
(d) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.
(e) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and application for the Board examination.
Graduation forms shall include the following:

o)

Student name and social security number;
School code;

Course type completed;

Date of course completion;

Number of hours and minutes completed;
School owner name and signature; and
School seal.

(f)_Before a student may perform services on a live model the

student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
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procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both a7 Artificial hair;
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance (18) Up-styles;
to be completed. (19) Blowdrying;
(9) Each school must develop and use performance evaluation (20) Brush control;
plan for each of the Board required services listed in Paragraph (21) Blowdrying with curling iron;
(b) of this Rule and any service offered in the school. Evaluation (22) Pressing or thermal;
plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, (23) Hair cutting;
draping, and safe application. Plans must be submitted and (24) Partings;
approved by the Board prior to use or any change. (25) Perm wraps;
(26) Relaxer sectioning;
Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16. (27) Color application sectioning;
(28) Scalp treatments;
21 NCAC 14T .0603 APPRENTICE COSMETOLOGY (29) Manicures;
CURRICULUM (30) pedicures;
(@) To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist training (31) artificial nails; and
course shall consist of 1200 hours of instruction in theory and (32) Styles and techniques of cosmetology services
practical performances as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule including:
as follows: (A) Arranging;
1) Professional image; (B) Dressing;
(2) Sanitatien; Infection control; © Curling;
3 Bacteriology; (D) Waving;
(@) Disinfection; (B) Cutting techniques and implements
(5) First aid; including razors, clippers, thinning
(6) Anatomy; shears, and shears;
@) Electricity, Electricity as is relates to cosmetic R Cleansing;
art; (G) Cutting;
(8) Chemistry; Chemistry as is relates to cosmetic H) Singeing;
art; m Bleaching, or coloring hair;
(9) Professional ethics; ) Esthetics;
(10) Draping; (K) Manicuring;
(11) Shampooing; ()] Business management; and
(12) Roller sets; M) Salon business: business;
(13) Pin curls; (33) Board laws, regulations and website.
(14) Ridge curls with C shaping; (b) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion
(15) Fingerwaves; of all steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client
(16) Braids; and shall include the following:
Performance Reguirements Performances
Sealp-and-hatrtreatments 4
Fulbheadfingerwave and style 3
Fulbhead pineurtand style 3
Hat—styhing——sets—blowdrying—thermal-press—orfHat—ron—and
Haireuts 68
: calrof - - I 27
Femporary-color 1
Colorapphication—semi—dembpermanentcolorand-hairHightening 19
idi onal color 1 high lighting.capor bleac! 3
lLash-and-brow-color 1
- - - e}
E¢?.i .: E:EE{E.Hiziiiuﬁ 7 n
Facials-with-surface-manipulations 7
[Makeup-application 1
Q) Infection Control; 4) Hot iron;
(2 Blood exposure procedure; (5) Styles that apply tension (twists, braiding, locs,
3) Blow drying; or knots);
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21 NCAC 14T .0604

Solid form cut;

Elevated cut;

Cut with tapered or thinning shears;

Razor cut;

Clipper cut;

Shears over comb cut;

Clippers over comb cut;

Virgin darker;

Virgin lightener;

Retouch;

Foil;

Freehand painting;

Relaxer virgin;

Relaxer retouch;

Curl reforming virgin;

Curl reforming retouch;

Permanent waving rod placement rectangle;
Permanent waving rod placement contour;
Permanent waving rod placement bricklay-

(32) Makeup application:;
(c) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.
(d) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.
(e) Certification of performance completions shall be required on
the graduation form and application for the Board examination.
Graduation forms shall include the following:

@ Student name and social security number;

2 School code;

?3) Course type completed;

4 Date of course completion;
(5) Number of hours and minutes completed;
(6) School owner name and signature; and

@) School seal.
(f) _Before a student may perform services on a live model the
student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both
theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance

to be completed.
(q) _Each school must develop and use performance evaluation

overlap;

Permanent waving rod placement — spiral;
Basic manicure;

Atrtificial nails

Basic facial;

Waxing including face and body;

Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;
Hair removal with razor;

ESTHETICS CURRICULUM

plan for each of the Board required services listed in Paragraph
(b) of this Rule and any service offered in the school. Evaluation
plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety,
draping, and safe application. Plans must be submitted and
approved by the Board prior to use or any change.

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16.

(@) To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure procedures
as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and consist of at least 600 hours of instruction in theory and practical performances as set

forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule as follows:

(1)

(15)

Anatomy or physiology;

Hygiene; Infection control;

Disinfection;

First aid,;

Chemistry; Chemistry as is relates to esthetics:;
Draping;

Facial or body treatment (cleansing, manipulations, masks); masks, and chemical peels);

Hair removal;

Basic dermatology;

Skin care machines, electricity, and apparatus;
Aromatherapy;

Nutrition;

Make-up or color theory;

Styles and techniques of esthetics services including:

(A) Facials;

(B) Makeup application;

© Performing skin care;

(D) Hair removal,

(E) Eyelash extensions;

() Applying brow and lash color;
(©)] Business management; and

(H) Professional ethies. ethics;
Board laws, requlations and website.

(b) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion of the steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client and
shall include the following:
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Infection Control;

Blood exposure procedure;

Basic facial;

Waxing including underarm, lip, eyebrow, leg and bikini;

Hair removal with depilatory and tweezers;

Makeup application;

Facials with machines;

Exfoliation;

Facials with LED light;

Facials with high frequency (direct and indirect);

Lash application;

(c) Certification of performance completions shall be required on the graduation form and Board's application for the examination.

(d) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.

(e) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.

(f) Before a student may perform services on a live model the student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure procedures
with a score of 100 percent and have received both theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance to be completed.
(a) Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plan for each of the Board required services listed in Paragraph (b) of
this Rule and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, and
safe application. Plans must be submitted and approved by the Board prior to use or any change.

EECRERRERRE

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM
(a) To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure procedures as
defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and consist of at least 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical performances as set
forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule as follows:

(1) Manicuring theory;

(2) Disinfection; Infection control;

3 First aid;

(@) Trimming;

(5) Filing;

(6) Shaping;

@) Decorating;

(8) Arm and hand manipulation;

9) Sculptured and artificial rais: nails (application, repair, fill, and removal);

(10) Pedicuring
(11) Styles and techniques for the care, treatment, and decoration of the following:
(A) Fingernails;
(B) Toenails;
© Cuticles;
(D) Nail extensions and artificial nails;
(E) Electric file;
{&)(F) Business management; and
(G) Professional ethies- ethics; and
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(H) Board laws, regulations and website.
(b) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion of the steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client and
shall include the following:

Infection Control;
Blood exposure procedure;
Basic manicure;

Basic pedicure;

Nail tips;

Acrylic overlay (application, repair, fill, and removal);

Sculptured nails (application, repair, fill, and removal);

Gel overlay (application, repair, fill, and removal).

(c) Certification of performance completions shall be required on the graduation form and Board's application for the examination.

(d) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.

(e) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student.

(f) Before a student may perform services on a live model the student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure procedures
with a score of 100 percent and have received both theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance to be completed.
(q) Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plan for each of the Board required services listed in Paragraph (b) of
this Rule and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, and
safe application. Plans must be submitted and approved by the Board prior to use or any change.

EEREERRBE g

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE CURRICULUM
(&) To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care styling training course shall begin with infection control and blood exposure
procedures as defined in 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404 and consist of 300 hours of instruction in theory and practical performances as
set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule as follows:

(D) Sanitation:; Infection control;

2 Bacteriology;

3 Disinfection; Board laws, regulations, website, and licensure scope of practice.
(@) First aid;

(5) Shampooing;

(6) Draping;

@) Anatomy;
(8) Disorders of the hair and scalp;

9) Client consultation;
(10) S ; ‘ | hair stvling including:
Ay TFwisting;

(B)}(11) Wrapping;
{S)(12) Extending;

{B)(13) Locking;
{E)(14) Blowdry and thermal iron;

{5)(15) Business management; and

{&)(16) Professional ethics;
(b) Performances shall be defined as the systematic completion of the steps for safe and effective cosmetic art services to a client and
shall include the following:

Performance Requirements Performances
Braids 10
Twiists 10
Knoets 5
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Cornrows 5
- - 10
“.FI.; .; Illg' - 10
Blow dry-and-thermal-iron 10
i 10

Infection Control;

Blood exposure procedure;

Twists

Knots

Locs

2 strand overlap

3 strand overbraid

3 strand underbraid

On the scalp 3 strand braid

Track and sew weft

Adding hair extensions

(c) Certification of performance completions shall be required on the graduation form and Board's application for the Board
examination.

(d) Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed unless the live model service consists of 20 or more lengths of hair.

(e) Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student unless the performance meets the requirements of paragraph d in this
rule.

(f) A performance shall consist of 10 or more lengths of hair.

(q) Before a student may perform services on a live model the student must pass both the infection control and blood exposure
procedures with a score of 100 percent and have received both theory, mannequin, and practical instruction on the performance to be
completed.

(h) Each school must develop and use performance evaluation plan for each of the Board required services listed in Paragraph (b) of
this Rule and any service offered in the school. Evaluation plans must include a minimum of infection control, tool safety, draping, and
safe application. Plans must be submitted and approved by the Board prior to use or any change.

EECRERRERRBE %

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16.

21 NCAC 14T .0607 COSMETOLOGY TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM
(a) To meet the approval of the Board, a cosmetologist teacher training course shall consist of at least 800 hours of instruction in theory
and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description Hours
Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, facilitating

student shop internship, preparing class lectures and presentations, 150 400
preparing examinations, grading, and G.S. 88B and the rules of the

Board

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared

lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical 650 400

demonstrations

(b) A minimum of 150 hours of theory is required prior to trainees being permitted to instruct in a cosmetic art classroom.
Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.
21 NCAC 14T .0608 ESTHETIC TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM

(@) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, an esthetician teacher training course shall consist of
at least 650 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student 120 325
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, preparing class T

33:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2019
2102




PROPOSED RULES

lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, grading, and G.S.
88B and the rules of the Board

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical
demonstrations

530 325

(b) A minimum of 120 hours of theory is required prior to trainees being permitted to instruct in a cosmetic art classroom.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0609

MANICURIST TEACHER TRAINEE CURRICULUM

(a) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, a manicurist teacher training course shall consist of at
least 320 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, grading,
preparing class lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, and
G.S. 88B and the rules of the Board

+20 160

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations and giving practical

530 160

demonstrations

(b) A minimum of 115 hours of theory is required prior to trainees being permitted to instruct in a cosmetic art classroom.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0610

NATURAL HAIR CARE TEACHER CURRICULUM

(&) To meet the approval of the Board under the standards set out in these Rules, natural hair care teacher training course shall consist
of at least 320 hours of instruction in theory and practical application, divided as follows:

Requirement Description

Hours

Theory: observation theory, motivation, business management, student
relations, teaching techniques, preparing lesson plans, grading,
preparing class lectures and presentations, preparing examinations, and
GS 88B and the rules of the Board

415 160

Practical Application: Conducting theory classes from prepared
lessons, preparing and giving examinations, and giving practical

205 160

demonstrations

(b) A minimum of 115 hours of theory is required prior to trainees being permitted to instruct in a cosmetic art classroom.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0611 ONLINE INSTRUCTION
(a) Cosmetic art schools shall request written approval to offer

of the method used to determine the student's skill and

comprehension.
(d) The school shall track and record the student's hours by

online instruction. Online instruction and course hours are rot
accepted by the Board for any cosmetic art diseiphine: discipline

minute and educational achievements in the online education
course(s) and shall provide electronic reports generated by the

through a licensed cosmetic art school that demonstrates an online

tracking system to an agent of the Board or its inspector upon

tracking system that can comply with Paragraphs (b)-(j) of this

request.

Rule.

(b) Online resources, course supplements and internet research
may be used during the course of study with the supervision of a
cosmetic art teacher within a cosmetic art school.

(c) The school shall determine if a student possess the skills and

(e) The school shall ensure the student demonstrates participation
in the online education course(s).

(f)_The school shall administer a test at the mid-point and at the
end of each online education course. The testing shall be done in
person at the school.

comprehension necessary to succeed in _an online education

(f)_Online instruction shall be limited to the theory portion only

environment and maintain in each student's record documentation

and no more than 50 percent for teacher trainees and 30 percent
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of the total required hours for the respective cosmetic art

(p) Exams administered in a proctored exam site need not be

discipline.

(a0) No practical instruction shall be permitted through online
education.

(h) The school shall make available to students and instructors,
access to technical support for the online educational course(s) or
program(s).

(i)_The school shall be responsible for the quality of the courses
of study and programs offered through online education and
traditional methods of study.

(1)_The school shall provide students and teachers with access to
current reference materials that may include, but are not limited
to, such formats as books, periodicals and other written matter,
audio-visual equipment and materials, digital media, and online
education platforms to support the educational program(s).
Equipment for producing digital and paper copies of
supplementary instructional materials shall be available.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17.

21 NCAC 14T .0612 INSTRUCTION GUIDELINES

(&) The hours earned in the clinic department must be devoted to
study and performance completions.

(b) Work in the clinic department may be done on the public.

(c) All work done by students on the public shall be checked by
the cosmetic art teacher as the work is being performed and after
the service has been completed so that the teacher may point out
errors to the student in order that the errors may be corrected.

(d) Cosmetic art students shall receive training on theory of any
cosmetic art service prior to performing that service.

(e) Theory work shall include lectures on theory subjects as well
as demonstrations, questions and answers on textbooks, written
examinations, and in-class practice of procedures and methods.
(f) Cosmetic art teacher trainees must be enrolled in school to
earn hours.

(g) Cosmetic art schools shall supply each student with a copy of
the North Carolina Cosmetic Art Act, Board rules, and the student
handbook.

(h) All of the work outlined in the practice department and the
clinic department shall be given to the students through practical
demonstrations and lectures, questions and answers on textbooks,
and written exam.

(i) A minimum of 10 percent of scheduled attendance time each
week shall be spent on theory instruction, questions and answers
on textbooks, and the administration of a written exam to full time
students.

(i) All papers shall be graded and returned to the students.

(K) Cosmetic art students shall receive training and practice only
in the discipline in which they are enrolled.

(I) All live model performances on the public shall be done in the
clinic department. Mannequin performances and live model
performances on other students may be performed in the clinic
department or in a room within the school with a station.

(m) Textbooks shall not be used more than five years after
original-publication-date- if a newer version is available.

(n)  Schools shall provide textbooks and supplementary
educational materials and equipment to students.

(0) A cosmetic art teacher may not perform clinical services on a
client at the cosmetic art school.

attended by a cosmetic art teacher.

Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16.

SECTION .0700 - SCHOOL LICENSURE, OPERATIONS,
CLOSING AND RELOCATING SCHOOLS

21 NCAC 14T .0701 SCHOOL
OPERATIONS/LICENSURE MAINTENANCE

(a) No individual shall be given credit for any hours earned in a
cosmetic art school before the date the school is granted a license,
before the student is enrolled, or after graduation or withdrawal of
the student without a new enrollment.

(b) All Cosmetic Art schools shall submit hours of operation per
cosmetic art discipline to the Board. Any changes to the hours of
operation shall be submitted to the Board. A school will be
considered open by the Board when cosmetic art instruction,
services, or performances are provided.

(c) Students may be required to clean and disinfect work areas,
reception areas, implements, and the dispensary. Students shall
not be required to perform regular maintenance.

(d) All cosmetic art schools shall adhere to all Board sanitation
Infection Control regulations located in 21 NCAC 14H Sanitation-
Infection Control.

(e) Cosmetic art schools may permit students to leave the
cosmetic art school during instructional time to visit on campus
libraries and other educational resource rooms such as computer
labs for research and study under the supervision of a cosmetic art
instructor.

(f) Cosmetic art schools shall use the following grading scale as
a minimum for passing grades:

Grade A 100-90
Grade B 80-89
Grade C 70-79
Grade F (Fail) 0-69

(g) Cosmetic art schools shall not graduate any student who has
not met the minimum school and Board requirements for
graduation as prescribed by Rules .0602-.0610 of this Subchapter.
(h) Examinations shall be administered in all subjects of the
cosmetic art curriculum.
(i) Students present at school shall be supervised by a cosmetic
art teacher at all times. If a guest lecturer is leading a class, at least
one cosmetic art teacher must be present in the lecture.
(i) All cosmetic art schools shall provide:
@ One teacher for every 25 students enrolled in
the practice department;
2 One teacher for every 20 students during
practical work on live models in the clinic
department; and

3) Cosmetic art teachers at a ratio of 1:25 teacher
to teacher trainees; or
(A) one teacher and up to 25 practice
cosmetic art students and 5 teacher
trainees; or
(B) one teacher and up to 20 cosmetic art

students in practice on the clinic floor
and 5 teacher trainees.
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(k) In theory classes, the teacher-student ratio may exceed the
ratios established in this Rule.

() The teacher student ratios established in this Rule shall be
adhered to when schools are in operation.

(m) A teacher may administer instruction to up to 10 students
enrolled in practice and clinic departments at the same time. A
teacher shall not administer instruction to more than 10 students
enrolled in practice and clinic departments at the same time.

(n) At no time can any one teacher be simultaneously responsible
for students in a theory class and students in practice on the clinic
floor.

(0) In cases of change in teaching staff, the school shall notify the
Board of the change in writing prior to beginning instruction. A
change in teaching staff includes any substitution for the regularly
scheduled teacher and any change, scheduled or otherwise, in the
list of teachers last given to the Board.

(1) All courses in a cosmetic art school shall be
taught by a licensed cosmetology teacher,
except as follows:

(A) manicuring courses may be taught by
either a licensed cosmetology teacher
or a licensed manicurist teacher;

(B) natural hair care courses may be taught
by either a licensed cosmetology
teacher or a licensed natural hair care
teacher;

© esthetics courses may be taught by
either a licensed cosmetology teacher
or a licensed esthetician teacher.

(2) A licensed cosmetologist not licensed as a
cosmetology teacher may substitute for a
cosmetology, esthetician, natural hair care or
manicurist teacher; a licensed manicurist not
licensed as a manicurist teacher may substitute
for a manicurist teacher; a licensed natural hair
care specialist not licensed as a natural hair care
teacher may substitute for a natural hair care
teacher; and a licensed esthetician not licensed
as an esthetician teacher may substitute for an
esthetician teacher.

(p) Inno event may any cosmetic art licensee substitution last for
more than 15 consecutive working days per year per teacher. If
any teacher substitution is 16 consecutive days or longer, the
school shall provide a new cosmetic art teacher.

(a) Enrolled students may earn a maximum of 10 hours per day
per discipline of cosmetic art and a maximum of 48 hours per
week per discipline. Online education can be earned in addition to
the maximum daily and weekly hours. A student enrolled in more
than one cosmetic art discipline may not earn hours or complete
performances concurrently.

(r) The Board shall certify student hours for any North Carolina
cosmetic art school that is closed. The Board shall not certify
student hours between any North Carolina open cosmetic art
schools. The Board shall certify student hours earned at North
Carolina cosmetic art schools to other state boards and schools
open outside of the state of North Carolina as set forth in Rule
.0502 of this Subchapter.

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16.

21 NCAC 14T .0703
CREDIT

Students and graduates who fail to file an application for the
examination after graduation and within five years of the initial
enrollment shall not be credited any hours or performances
previously earned.

EXPIRATION OF STUDENT

Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-19.

ESE R S S S I S S I I S I S

CHAPTER 19 - BOARD OF ELECTROLYSIS
EXAMINERS

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Electrolysis Examiners intends to
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 19
.0201, .0202, .0403, .0408, .0409, .0412, .0501 and readopt
without substantive changes the rules cited as 21 NCAC 19 .0203,
.0204, .0410, .0601, .0602, .0608, .0613, .0619, .0701-.0703.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website.
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncbee.com

Proposed Effective Date: September 1, 2019

Public Hearing:

Date: June 1, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: Conference Room, 2 Centerview Dr, Greensboro, NC
27407

Reason for Proposed Action: Readoption generated as a result
of the Periodic Rules Review process.

Comments may be submitted to: Susan Magas, 2 Centerview
Ct., Suite 60, Greensboro, NC 27407, phone (336) 856-1010;
email ncheexam@att.net

Comment period ends: July 1, 2019

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
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further questions concerning the submission of objections to the ] State funds affected

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431- U] Local funds affected

3000. ] Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
U] Approved by OSBM

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this X No fiscal note required

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.

SECTION .0200 — APPLICATION PROCEDURES

21 NCAC 19 .0201 FEES
(@) The following fees are payable to the Board for licensure as an electrologist:
(1) Application for licensure $125.00 $150.00
2 Initial licensure $125.00
(3) Renewal of licensure $125.00
(b) The following fees are payable to the Board for licensure as a laser hair practitioner:
(1) Application for licensure 125.00
2 Initial licensure $125.00
(3) Renewal of licensure $150.00
(c) The following fees are payable to the Board for certification as an instructor:
(1) Application for Electrology instructor $150.00
)] Renewal of Electrology instructor $125.00
3 Application for laser hair practitioner instructor $150.00
(@) Renewal of laser hair practitioner instructor $125.00
(d) The following fees are payable to the Board for certification as a Board approved school:
1) IN STATE SCHOOL
(A) Application for certification as an Electrology school $250.00
(B) Renewal of certification as an Electrology school $150.00
© Application for certification as a laser, light source,
or pulse light treatment school $250.00
(D) Renewal of certification for a laser, light source,
or pulse light treatment school $150.00
(2) OUT-OF-STATE SCHOOL
(A) Application for certification as an Electrology school $400.00
(B) Initial certification as an Electrology school $100.00
© Renewal of certification for an Electrology school $100.00
(D) Application for certification as a laser, light source,
or pulse light treatment school $350.00
(E) Initial certification as a laser, light source,
or pulse light treatment school $75.00
(F) Renewal of certification as a laser, light source,
or pulse light treatment school $100.00
(e) The following other fees are payable to the Board:
1) Electrologist Examination or reexamination $125.00
2 Office inspection or re-inspection
(A) Electrologist — per licensee, for each office site $100.00
(B) Laser Hair Practitioner — per licensee, for each office site $100.00
(3) License by reciprocity $125.00
(4) Late renewal charge $50.00
(5) Reinstatement of expired license $250.00
(6) Reinstatement of instructor licensure $250.00
(7 Reactivation of license $150.00
(8) Reactivation of instructor licensure $150.00
9) Duplicate license $25.00
(F) All fees shall be paid by check or money order, made payable
to "The North Carolina Board of Electrolysis Examiners." Authority G.S. 88A-9; 93B-15.

(9) Renewal fees required for Subparagraphs (a)(3), (b)(3), (c)(2),
(c)(4), (e)(2), and (e)(9) of this Rule shall be waived for licensees
under this Chapter that are exempt from renewal fees under G.S.
93B-15.
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21 NCAC 19 .0202
LICENSURE

(@) All applicants for licensure as an electrologist shall submit an
application on the form provided by the Board, accompanied by
proof of being 21 years of age, a passport acceptable photograph
(see  photo  requirements for U.S.  passports at
www.travel.state.gov) taken within the past two years, the
required application fee, as set forth in Rule .0201 of this Section,
any information required by Paragraphs (b), (c) and (d) of this
Rule, and certification of completion from each electrology and
laser institution attended with verification of the number of hours
completed in theory and clinical training. The Initial Electrolysis
License Application may be obtained by contacting the Board or
accessing it online at www.ncbee.com.

(b) All applications for licensure under G.S. 88A-11(2) shall be
accompanied by:

APPLICATION FOR

(1) the address of the licensing agency in the other
state or jurisdiction;

(2) any information such as a license number
needed to identify the applicant in
correspondence with that agency; and

3 a statement authorizing that agency to certify to

the Board that the applicant is currently
licensed or certified by the other state or
jurisdiction and is in good standing, to inform
the Board whether there are any pending
complaints about the applicant, and to provide
the Board with a copy of the licensing
requirements in that state or jurisdiction.
(c) Proof of age shall be shown by certified copy of a birth
certificate. If the applicant cannot obtain a certified copy of the
birth certificate, the applicant shall attach an explanation as to
why no birth certificate is obtainable and shall submit other proof
of age. Other proof of age includes passports, current life
insurance policies held for at least one year showing date of birth,
entries in family bibles, medical or school records showing date
of birth, and marriage licenses showing age.
(d) Applicants from states that do not license electrologists or
applicants from states that require less than 600 hours of certified
education shall submit proof of practice as required by G.S. 88A-
10(al) supported by tax records or a copy of a privilege license
that will document previous practice of electrolysis prior to date
of application.
(e) All new electrologist applicants shall take and pass both a
written and a practical examination except for applicants meeting
the requirements of G.S. 88A-11(2).
(f) In addition to maintaining an active electrologist license from
the Board, a laser hair practitioner shall submit:

(D) proof of completion of a 30-hour laser, light
source, or pulsed light treatment certification
course approved by the Board that encompasses
the laser or light device being used by the laser
hair practitioner; and

2) a Supervisory Agreement between the laser hair
practitioner and a supervising physician
licensed with the North Carolina Medical Board
(NCMB) as defined under G.S. Article 1
Chapter 90. The Agreement shall be in
accordance with Rule .0501 of this Chapter.

(9) A copy of the Supervisory Agreement shall be filed with the
Board and a copy shall be available in the office of the supervising
physician and the laser hair practitioner for inspection by the
Board or its agent.

(h) A new licensee's practice site(s) shall be inspected prior to
commencing business by a designee of the Board.

(i) The Board shall reject an incomplete or partial application.

Authority G.S. 88A-6; 88A-9; 88A-10; 88A-11; 88A-11.1; 88A-
19; 88A-19.1; 88A-21.

21 NCAC 19 .0203 APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL,
REINSTATEMENT, OR REACTIVATION OF
ELECTROLYSIS LICENSE (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0204 APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL,
REINSTATEMENT, OR REACTIVATION OF LASER
HAIR PRACTITIONER LICENSE (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0400 — INFECTION CONTROL

21 NCAC 19.0403 OFFICES
(a) Each Electrolysis office, wherever located, shall:

(8] have a treatment table or other piece of furniture
for placing clients for treatment;

2 have at least one circuline type lamp, halogen
lamp, or other type or magnifying lamp;

3 have hand washing facilities on the same floor

and toilet facilities in the same building, both
with a supply of either soap or a germicidal skin
preparation for washing hands;

4) have a supply of Ilabeled non-sterile
examination gloves, cotton balls and antiseptic
product for cleaning client's skin, materials for
cleaning instruments and other items, materials
for cleaning the workplace or documentation of
cleaning contract, paper or cotton towels, and
puncture resistant containers and plastic bags
for used materials;

5) have sterilization equipment and supplies
needed for the sterilization methods used;
(6) have a covered trash can and, if linens are used,

a laundry bag or closed container for laundry,
readily available to each workplace area; and

@) have storage facilities sufficient to contain the
equipment, instruments and supplies of the
electrolysis practice: practice;

(8) be inspected annually at each location where
the licensee practices; and

9 be inspected prior to the commencement of

practice if the office is relocated.
(b) In addition to the items required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
each laser practitioner office shall have the following:
@ all doors leading to laser room shall have laser-
specific American National Standard Institute
(ANSI) Z2136.1 safety signs displayed,;
2 no uncovered mirrors or reflective surfaces;
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®3)

(4)
()
(6)
(7)

laser safety eyewear which is labeled with the
same wavelength and optical density as the
laser device operated and which is worn while
treatment is administered;

all windows protected from laser beam with
either an opaque material or white blinds;

a readily available fire extinguisher in the
treatment room;

face masks to be worn while treatment is
administered; and

an air filter.

() A laser or light-based hair removal practice shall be
maintained in accordance with local zoning regulations.

(d) Lasers and light-based devices shall be maintained and
operated in accordance with Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) standards.

(e) A copy of the current "Supervisory Agreement" shall be
available in the office for inspection upon request.

Authority G.S. 88A-16.

21 NCAC 19 .0408

ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL

AND HOUSEKEEPING
(@) Electrologists shall observe the following elements of
environmental control:

1)
)

®3)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

(8)

©)

(10)

Each treatment room shall be kept clean,
lighted, and ventilated;

Each treatment room shall be equipped with
labeled containers, covered storage for
supplies, a puncture-resistant sharps container
labeled as a biohazard, and covered trash
containers;

Treatment table surfaces shall be made of
materials that can be washed with detergents
and treated with disinfectants;

Treatment table surfaces shall be covered with
fresh disposable paper drapes or barrier before
each client treatment;

Headrests shall be covered with fresh
disposable paper or barrier before each client
treatment;

Treatment table surfaces which may come in
contact with bare skin during treatments shall
be covered with a fresh disposable paper drape
or barrier;

Containers for dispensing products, such as
soap, alcohol hand-rubs and treatment supplies
shall be labeled;

All treatment supplies shall be disposable or, if
reusable, the supplies containers shall be
cleaned and dried before being refilled with
fresh products;

Aseptic techniques for dispensing creams,
lotions, ointments and antiseptics during
treatment shall be followed,;

Manufacturer's recommendations for the use
and disposal of products and containers when
contaminated, or when expiration date is
reached, shall be followed;

(11

(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

Environmental surfaces that are touched during
treatment, such as epilator needle holder and
cords, epilator cart, magnification lamps, light
devices and epilator controls shall be covered
with a fresh protective disposable barrier before
each treatment of a client and or
decontaminated after each treatment of a client,
following manufacturer's instructions;
Disposable items such as cotton, paper drapes
and protective disposal barriers shall be stored
in covered containers, closed cabinets or
drawers before use;

Used disposable items shall be discarded into a
covered trash container lined with a plastic bag,
securely fastened when ready for disposal, and
disposed of daily into the regular trash, unless
otherwise specified by state and local health
regulations;

Reusable items such as sheets, pillowcases and
towels that are used to cover treatment table or
as a client drape shall be stored in covered
containers, closed cabinets or drawers before
use; and

After use, reusable items shall be placed in a
covered container labeled as "soiled laundry,”
laundered  with  detergent and  water
temperatures that will ensure cleaning and
disinfection, and dried in a gas or electric
clothes dryer.

(b) Electrologists shall observe the following elements of

housekeeping:

)

@

®)

(4)
®)

(6)

A low-level hospital-grade  disinfectant
registered with the Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) shall be used for cleaning non-
critical environmental surfaces such as epilator
surfaces, magnifying lamps, epilator carts,
floors, walls, door knobs, tabletops, and
window sills;

All other environmental surfaces in the
treatment room shall be kept in a state of visible
cleanliness by cleaning with water and
detergent and using a hospital-grade
disinfectant or detergent designed for general
housekeeping purposes, as indicated on the
product label;

Countertops shall be of smooth, non-porous
material and shall be cleaned daily, taking care
in the areas where the procedures of cleaning
and sterilizing instruments and items takes
place;

Sinks and toilet facilities shall be cleaned daily;
Non-critical equipment, environmental
surfaces, doorknobs, telephones, and treatment
tables in the treatment room shall be kept
cleaned and disinfected;

Floors cleaned weekly and carpets shall be
vacuumed weekly or more often if necessary;
and
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@) Walls, blinds and curtains shall be cleaned
when visibly soiled.

Authority G.S. 88A-16.

21 NCAC 19 .0409 CLIENT EVALUATION
As an evaluation for each client, the electrologist and laser hair
practitioner shall:
1) Prepare a Health History Assessment File that
contains:

@ the date, name, address, contact
information, date of birth, and names
of family physician, gynecological
physician, and dermatologist;

(b) the areas of face and body to be

treated;

(c) the hirsute family history;

(d) any current and previous methods of
hair removal,

(e) any current and previous medications;
()] any current and previous physical
examination dates and results;

(9) any skin irregularities; and
(h) the date and signature of client.

)] Update and evaluate the client's health status to
determine if the client should be referred to a
physician.

3) Examine the client's skin for signs of infection

or rashes prior to each treatment and delay
treatment if actual or potential signs or
symptoms of infection are present.

(@) Refer the client to a physician when evaluation
of health history or skin examination indicates.
(5) Instruct the client on post-treatment care to

promote healing of the treated skin site.
(6) Update client health history annually.

Authority G.S. 88A-2; 88A-6.

21 NCAC 19 .0410 HEPATITIS B VIRUS (HBV)
VACCINATION (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0412 STANDARD PRECAUTIONS
FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION
Electrologists shall:

(D) Wear a mask and eye protection or a face shield
to protect mucous membranes of the eyes, nose
and mouth during procedures and client care
activities that are likely to generate splashed or
sprays of blood and body fluids;

(2) Wear a-gown scrubs, lab coat, or medical grade
clothing to protect skin and prevent soiling of
clothing during procedures and client care
activities that are likely to generate splashed or
sprays of blood and body fluids;

3) Remove soiled gowns medical clothing as
promptly as possible and wash hands;

4 Wear protective gloves to Prevent prevent
puncture injuries when using or cleaning
instruments and when disposing of used
needles.

Authority G.S. 88A-16.

SECTION .0500 - PHYSICIAN/LASER HAIR
PRACTITIONER GUIDELINES

21 NCAC 19 .0501 SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN

(@)  Supervision by Physician — It is the licensed laser
practitioner's responsibility to perform procedures solely within
his or her professional scope of practice. A laser hair practitioner
licensed under this Chapter shall perform laser hair removal only
under the supervision of a physician licensed by the State of North
Carolina to perform surgical services. The laser hair practitioner
shall receive physician supervision both before and after the laser
treatment procedure. The laser hair practitioner shall perform
services only after a physician or other practitioner licensed by the
NC Medical Board (NCMB) under G.S. 1, Article 90 has
examined the patient. This examination shall include a medical
history and focused physical examination. The laser hair
practitioner shall ensure that the supervising physician is available
during services so that the supervising physician is able to respond
to patient emergencies and questions by the laser practitioner.

(b) Supervisory Agreement — A laser hair practitioner shall not
operate any laser equipment without a signed Supervisory
Agreement in accordance with Rule .0202 of this Chapter in place
and on file with the Board. The Supervisory Agreement shall
include the following elements:

(8] the supervising physician's name, business
address, business telephone number, NCMB
license number, and medical specialty;

2 an attestation that the supervising physician is
licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina
and plans to maintain licensure during the
timeframe of the agreement;

3 a list of devices, makes, and models being used
by the laser hair practitioner;

4 an attestation that the supervising physician is
knowledgeable in the use of the listed devices;

(5) an attestation that the supervising physician

ensures the laser hair practitioner has training to
perform laser hair reduction with the listed
devices;

(6) an attestation that the supervising physician will
provide personal and responsible direction to
the laser hair practitioner;

) an attestation that the supervising physician will
be available and able to respond to patient
emergencies and to questions by the laser hair
practitioner under supervision; and

(8) the geographical distance between the
supervising physician and the laser hair
practitioner- practitioner;

9 an attestation that the supervising physician will

ensure that adequate patient contact, evaluation,
and education have been provided for the
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prescription medications that are related to laser
hair reduction, both before and after treatment;
and
(10) a provision for biannual renewal of the
supervisory agreement, with a copy provided to
the Board.
(c) A laser hair practitioner shall notify the Board within 30 days
of the termination of the Supervisory Agreement with the
supervising physician

Authority G.S. 88A-11.1.
SECTION .0600 - SCHOOLS

21 NCAC 19 .0601 CURRICULUM (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0602 APPLICATION FOR AND
RENEWAL OF SCHOOL CERTIFICATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0608 SCHOOL EQUIPMENT
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0613 STUDENT/TEACHER RATIO
AND EQUIPMENT (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0619 EQUIPMENT ENDORSEMENTS
AND SALES PROHIBITED (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .0700 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 19 .0701 CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENTS, LICENSE RENEWAL,
REINSTATEMENT AND REACTIVATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0702 BOARD APPROVAL OF
COURSES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

21 NCAC 19 .0703 COMPUTATION OF
CONTINUING EDUCATION UNITS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on March 21, 2019 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE

NOTICE OF TEXT
SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION
Purpose 02 NCAC 59H .0101 32:09 NCR
Definitions 02 NCAC 59H .0102 32:09 NCR
Allocation Guidelines And Procedures 02 NCAC 59H .0103 32:09 NCR
Best Management Practices Eligible For Cost Share Payments 02 NCAC 59H .0104 32:09 NCR
Cost Share And Incentive Payments 02 NCAC 59H .0105 32:09 NCR
Technical Assistance Funds 02 NCAC 59H .0106 32:09 NCR
Cost Share Agreement 02 NCAC 59H .0107 32:09 NCR
District Program Operation 02 NCAC 59H .0108 32:09 NCR
CREDIT UNION DIVISION
Charitable Contributions and Charitable Donation Accounts 04 NCAC 06C .0708* 33:12 NCR
MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION
Plan Approval 10A NCAC 13B .3102 33:05 NCR
List of Referenced Codes, Rules, Reqgulation, and Standards 10A NCAC 13B .6101 33:05 NCR
General 10A NCAC 13B .6102* 33:05 NCR
Equivalency and Conflicts with Requirements 10A NCAC 13B .6103* 33:05 NCR
Outpatient Surgical Facilities 10A NCAC 13B .6207 33:.05 NCR
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION
Requirements for Storage 14B NCAC 15A .1603* 33:.08 NCR
Prohibited Practices 14B NCAC 15A .1604* 33:08 NCR
Removal of Beverages from ABC Stores 14B NCAC 15A .1701* 33:08 NCR
Mixed Beverages Tax Stamp 14B NCAC 15A .1901* 33:08 NCR
Nonprofit Sales at Raffle or Auction 14B NCAC 15A .2206* 33:09 NCR
Definitions 14B NCAC 15B .0101* 33:08 NCR
Consumption: Intoxication by Permittee Prohibited 14B NCAC 15B .0209* 33:09 NCR
Advertising of Malt Beverages, Wine and Beverages by Reta... 14B NCAC 15B .1006* 33:08 NCR
Definitions 14B NCAC 15C .0101* 33:08 NCR
Application Procedures 14B NCAC 15C .0102* 33:08 NCR
Distiller, Supplier and Brokerage Representatives: Prohib... 14B NCAC 15C .0901* 33:08 NCR
Definitions 14B NCAC 15C .1301* 33:08 NCR
Other Similar Events Approval 14B NCAC 15C .1302* 33:08 NCR
Tastings Held for Consumers 14B NCAC 15C .1303* 33:08 NCR
Special Event Compliance Procedure 14B NCAC 15C .1304 33:08 NCR
Special Event Sale of Branded Merchandise, Point-of-Sale ... 14B NCAC 15C .1305* 33:08 NCR
Special Event Participation Limitations 14B NCAC 15C .1306 33:08 NCR
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COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION
Coastal Shorelines

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas
General Conditions

Specific Conditions

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

Purpose and Scope

Definitions

Certification of Firms

Renewal of Certification

Change in Ownership or Control

Decertification

Appeals of Denial of Certification

Goals

Counting Patrticipation Toward Meeting the Goal
Non-Attainment of Goals

Performance Related Replacement of Eligible Firms
Replacement of a Firm Removed by Decertification

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF

Physical and Mailing Address

Student Permit

State Authorization as a Postsecondary Institution

MEDICAL BOARD

Qualifications and Requirements for License

Annual Renewal

Expedited Application for Physician Assistant Licensure

15A NCAC 07H .0209* 32:18 NCR
15A NCAC 07H .0308* 33:02 NCR
15A NCAC 07H .1704* 33:02 NCR
15A NCAC 07H .1705* 33:02 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1101* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1102* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1103* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1104* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1105* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1106* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1107* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1108* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1109* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1110* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1111* 33:12 NCR
19A NCAC 02D .1112* 33:12 NCR

21 NCAC 06A .0102*  G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(4)

21 NCAC O6F .0113 33:11 NCR
21 NCAC 0O6F .0127 33:11 NCR
21 NCAC 32S .0202* 33:08 NCR
21 NCAC 32S .0204* 33:08 NCR
21 NCAC 32S .0220* 33:08 NCR

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

02 NCAC 59H .0101
02 NCAC 59H .0102
SUBCHAPTER 59H

PURPOSE
DEFINITIONS FOR

History Note: 106-860; 139-4;
139-8;

Eff. December 1, 2007;

Transferred from 15A NCAC 061 .0101 -.0102 Eff. May 1, 2012;
Amended Eff. November 1, 2016;

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-840;

02 NCAC 59H .0103
AND PROCEDURES

ALLOCATION GUIDELINES

Transferred from 15A NCAC 061 .0103 Eff. May 1, 2012;
Amended Eff. November 1, 2016;
Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020.

02 NCAC 59H .0104 BEST MANAGEMENT
PRACTICES ELIGIBLE FOR COST SHARE PAYMENTS
02 NCAC 59H .0105 COST SHARE AND INCENTIVE
PAYMENTS

02 NCAC 59H .0106
FUNDS

TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE

History Note: 106-860; 139-4;
139-8;

Eff. December 1, 2007;

Transferred from 15A NCAC 061 .0104 - .0106 Eff. May 1, 2012;

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020.

Authority G.S. 106-840;

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 106-840; 106-860; 139-4; 02 NCAC 59H .0107 COST SHARE AGREEMENT
139-8;

Eff. January 1, 2008;
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History Note:
Eff. June 1, 2008;
Transferred from

Authority G.S. 106-860; 139-4; 139-8;

15A NCAC 061 .0107 Eff. May 1, 2012;

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020.

02 NCAC 59H .0108

OPERATION

History Note:

DISTRICT PROGRAM

Authority G.S. 106-840;

Eff. March 1, 2008;

Transferred from

15A NCAC 061 .0108 Eff. May 1, 2012;

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2020.

TITLE 04 - DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

04 NCAC 06C .0708

CHARITABLE

CONTRIBUTIONS AND CHARITABLE DONATION

ACCOUNTS

(@ A credit union may make charitable contributions and
donations or may fund a charitable donation account. The
following definitions apply throughout this Rule:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

"Charitable contributions and donations" means
gifts provided by credit unions to assist others
through contributions of staff, equipment,
money, or other resources. This definition
includes donations to community groups,
nonprofit organizations, other credit unions or
credit union affiliated causes, political
donations, or donations to create charitable
foundations.

"Charitable donation account” ("CDA") means
a hybrid charitable and investment vehicle that
a credit union may fund as a means to provide
charitable contributions to qualified charities.
"Qualified charity" means a charitable
organization or other non-profit entity that
serves either a charitable, social, welfare, or
educational purpose, and recognized by section
501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code as tax
exempt.

"Total return™ means the actual rate of return on
all investments in a CDA over a given period of
up to five years, including realized interest,
capital gains, dividends, and distributions, but
exclusive of account fees and expenses.

(b) A credit union seeking to make charitable contributions and
donations shall adopt policies and procedures as approved by its
Board of Directors.

(c) A credit union shall be allowed to fund a CDA only after it
has satisfied the following:

1)

()
©)

Notice. The credit union shall send written
notice of the type and amount of initial
investment to the Administrator 10 days prior
to funding the CDA.

Rating. The credit union shall be rated a
CAMEL 1, 2, or 3.

Maximum aggregate funding. The total
aggregate investment in CDASs shall be limited

(4)

®)

(6)

()

to five percent of the applicant credit union's net
worth for the duration of the CDAs, as
measured every quarterly Call Report cycle.
Segregated account. The assets of a CDA shall
be held in a segregated custodial account or
special purpose entity and shall be labeled as a
CDA.
Regulatory oversight. If a CDA is established
using a trust vehicle, the trust shall be a
revocable trust and the trustee shall be an entity
regulated by a state financial regulatory agency
or a federal regulatory agency. A regulated
trustee, other person, or entity that is authorized
to make investment decisions for a CDA
(manager), other than the credit union itself,
shall be either a Registered Investment Adviser
with the U.S. Securities and Exchange
Commission or regulated by the Office of the
Comptroller of the Currency.
CDA documentation and other written
requirements. The parties to the CDA shall
document the terms and conditions controlling
the CDA in a written agreement. The terms of
the agreement shall be consistent with this Rule.
A credit union's board of directors shall adopt
written policies governing the creation,
funding, and management of a CDA that are
consistent with this Rule, review the policies
annually, and may amend them. A CDA
agreement and policies shall at a minimum:
(A) provide that the CDA will make
charitable contributions and donations
only to qualified charities;

B) document the investment strategies
and risk tolerances the CDA trustee or
other manager shall follow in
administering the account;

© provide that a credit union shall

account for the CDA, including
distributions  to  charities and
liquidation of the CDA, in accordance
with generally accepted accounting
principles; and
(D) state the frequency with which the
trustee or manager of the CDA will
make distributions to qualified
charities that are consistent with
Subparagraph (c)(7) of this Rule.
Minimum distribution to charities. A credit
union shall distribute a minimum of 51 percent
of the CDA's total return to one or more
qualified charities no less frequently than every
5 years.

(d) Upon termination of a CDA, regardless of the length of its
term, a minimum of 51 percent of the CDA's total return on assets
shall be distributed to one or more qualified charities. Following
the distributions to the qualified charities, any remaining assets
shall be distributed to the credit union either in cash or shall be
distributed to the credit union in kind but only if those assets are
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permissible investments for State-chartered credit unions as set
forth in Rule .1201 of this Subchapter and G.S. 54, Article 14l.
(e) The Administrator may revoke or modify a previously funded
investment to the applicable credit union, if the Administrator
finds the previously authorized investment is no longer a safe and
sound practice, or has become inconsistent with applicable State
or federal law. The Administrator shall send written notice of the
revocation or modification to the applicable credit union. A credit
union may appeal for a final decision by the Administrator as set
forth in 04 NCAC 06B .0501 of this Chapter.

History Note:
109.21(20);
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 54-109.12; 54-109.21(19); 54-

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

10A NCAC 13B .3102 PLAN APPROVAL

(@) For the purposes of this Rule, the Guidelines for the Design
and Construction of Hospitals and Outpatient Facilities that is
incorporated by reference in Rule .6105 of this Subchapter shall
be referred to as the "FGI Guidelines."

(b) The definitions as set forth in Rule .6003 of this Subchapter
shall apply to this Rule.

(c) The facility design and construction shall be in accordance
with this Rule and the standards set forth in Sections .6000
through .6200 of this Subchapter.

(d) The site where the facility is located shall:

@ be approved by the Construction Section prior
to the construction of a new facility or the
construction of an addition to an existing
facility;

(2) be free from noise from railroads, freight yards,
main traffic arteries, and schools and children's
playgrounds; and

3) not be exposed to smoke, odors, or dust from
industrial plants.

(e) Prior to the construction of a new facility or the construction
of an addition or alteration to an existing facility, the governing
body shall submit paper copies of the following to the
Construction Section for review and approval:

1) one set of schematic design drawings;
(2) one set of design development drawings; and
3) one set of construction documents and

specifications.

(f) If the North Carolina State Building Code Administrative
Code and Policies requires the North Carolina Department of
Insurance to review and approve the construction documents and
specifications, the governing body shall submit a copy of the
construction documents and specifications to the North Carolina
Department of Insurance.

(9) The governing body shall submit a functional program that
complies with Section 1.2-2 Functional Program of the FGI
Guidelines with each submittal cited in Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
(h) The governing body shall:

QD prepare any component of the safety risk
assessment required by Section 1.2-3 Safety

Risk Assessment of the FGI Guidelines; and

2 submit any component of the safety risk
assessment prepared to the Construction

Section with each submittal cited in Paragraph

(e) of this Rule.

(i) Inorder to maintain compliance with the standards established
in this Rule and Sections .6000 through .6200 of this Subchapter,
the governing body shall obtain written approval from the
Construction Section for any changes made during the
construction of the facility in the same manner as set forth in
Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
(i) Two weeks prior to the anticipated construction completion
date, the governing body shall notify the Construction Section of
the anticipated construction completion date in writing either by
U.S. Mail at the Division of Health Service Regulation,
Construction Section, 2705 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC,
27699-2705 or by e-mail at
DHSR.Construction.Admin@dhhs.nc.gov.
(k) Construction documents and building construction, including
the operation of all building systems, shall be approved in writing
by the Construction Section prior to licensure or patient
occupancy.
() When the Construction Section approves the construction
documents and specifications, they shall provide the governing
body with an approval letter. The Construction Section's approval
of the construction documents and specifications shall expire 12
months after the issuance of the approval letter, unless the
governing body has obtained a building permit for construction.
If the Construction Section's approval has expired, the governing
body may obtain a renewed approval of the construction
documents and specifications from the Construction Section as
follows:

(8] If the standards established in this Rule and

Sections .6000 through .6200 of this

Subchapter have not changed, the governing

body shall request a renewed approval of the

construction documents and specifications
from the Construction Section.
2) If the standards established in this Rule and

Sections .6000 through .6200 of this

Subchapter have changed, the governing body

shall:

(A) submit revised construction
documents and specifications meeting
the current standards established in
this Rule and Sections .6000 through
.6200 of this Subchapter to the
Construction Section; and

(B) obtain written approval of the revised
construction documents and
specifications from the Construction
Section.

(m) Bassinets in a Neonatal Level | nursery as specified in Rule
.6228 of this Subchapter shall not be included in a facility's bed
capacity; however, no more bassinets shall be placed in service
than the number allowed by the requirements set forth in Rule
.6228 of this Subchapter. Beds in Neonatal Level II, Ill, and 1V
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nurseries as specified in Rule .6228 of this Subchapter shall be
included in a facility's bed capacity.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 131E-77; 131E-79;

Eff. January 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2002;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2003;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 13B .6101

LIST OF REFERENCED CODES,

RULES, REGULATIONS, AND STANDARDS

For the purposes of the rules in this Subchapter, the following
codes, rules, regulations, and standards are incorporated herein by
reference including subsequent amendments and editions. Copies
of these codes, rules, regulations, and standards may be obtained
or accessed from the online addresses listed:

1)

)

©)

the North Carolina State Building Codes with

copies that may be purchased from the

International Code Council online at

http://shop.iccsafe.org/ at a cost of five hundred

seventy-one dollars ($571.00) or accessed
electronically free of charge at
http://codes.iccsafe.org/North%20Carolina.ht

ml;

42 CFR Part 482.41, Condition of Participation:

Physical Plant, that is incorporated herein by

reference including all subsequent amendments

and editions; however, Part 482.41(c)(1) shall
not be incorporated by reference. Copies of this
regulation may be accessed free of charge at
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2017-
title42-vol5/xml/CFR-2017-title42-vol5-
sec482-41.xml or purchased online at
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/cfr-title-42-
pt-482-end-code-federal-regulationspaper-201-

7 for a cost of seventy-seven dollars ($77.00);

the following National Fire Protection

Association standards, codes, and guidelines

with copies of these standards, codes, and

guidelines that may be accessed electronically
free of charge at https://www.nfpa.org/Codes-
and-Standards/All-Codes-and-Standards/List-

of-Codes-and-Standards or may be purchased
online at https://catalog.nfpa.org/Codes-and-

Standards-C3322.aspx for the costs listed:

@ NFPA 22, Standard for Water Tanks
for Private Fire Protection for a cost of
fifty-four dollars ($54.00);

(b) NFPA 53, Recommended Practice on
Materials, Equipment, and Systems
Used in Oxygen-Enriched
Atmospheres for a cost of fifty-three
dollars ($53.00);

(© NFPA 59A, Standard for the
Production, Storage, and Handling of
Liquefied Natural Gas for a cost of
fifty-four dollars ($54.00);

(d) NFPA 255, Standard Method of Test
of Surface Burning Characteristics of

(4)

®)

(6)

History Note:

Building Materials for a cost of forty-
two dollars ($42.00);

(e) NFPA 407, Standard for Aircraft Fuel
Servicing for a cost of forty-nine
dollars ($49.00);

) NFPA 705, Recommended Practice
for a Field Flame Test for Textiles and
Films for a cost of forty-two dollars
($42.00);

(9) NFPA 780, Standard for the
Installation of Lightning Protection
Systems for a cost of sixty-three
dollars and fifty cents ($63.50);

(h) NFPA 801, Standard for Fire
Protection for Facilities Handling
Radioactive Materials for a cost of
forty-nine dollars ($49.00); and

(i) Fire Protection Guide to Hazardous
Materials for a cost of one hundred
and thirty-five dollars and twenty-five
cents ($135.25);

42 CFR Part 482.15 Condition of participation:

Emergency preparedness with copies of this

regulation that may be accessed free of charge

at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2017-
title42-vol5/xml/CFR-2017-title42-vol5-

sec482-15.xml or purchased online at
https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/cfr-title-42-
pt-482-end-code-federal-regulationspaper-201-

7 for a cost of seventy-seven dollars ($77.00);

the "Rules Governing the Sanitation of

Hospitals, Nursing Homes, Adult Care Homes,

and Other Institutions” 15A NCAC 18A .1300

with copies of these rules that may be accessed

electronically free of charge at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2015a

%20-

%20environmental%20quality/chapter%2018

%20-

%20environmental%20health/subchapter%20a

/15a%20ncac%2018a%20.1301.pdf; and

the rules for ambulatory surgical facilities in

10A NCAC 13C, Licensing of Ambulatory

Surgical Facilities with copies of these rules

that may be accessed electronically free of

charge at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2010a

%20-

%20health%20and%20human%?20services/cha

pter%2013%20-

%20nc%20medical%20care%20commission/s

ubchapter%20c/subchapter%20c%20rules.pdf.

Authority G.S. 131E-79;

Eff. January 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.
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10A NCAC 13B .6102 GENERAL

(@ A new facility or any addition or alteration to an existing
facility whose construction documents were approved by the
Construction Section on or after April 1, 2019 shall comply with
the requirements provided in the codes, regulations, rules, and
standards incorporated by reference in Rule .6101(1) through (3)
of this Section. An existing facility whose construction documents
were approved by the Construction Section prior to April 1, 2019
shall comply with the codes, regulations, rules, and standards
incorporated by reference in Rule .6101(1) through (3) of this
Section that were in effect at the time construction documents
were approved by the Construction Section.

(b) The facility shall develop and maintain an emergency
preparedness program as required by 42 CFR Part 482.15
Condition of Participation: Emergency Preparedness. The
emergency preparedness program shall be developed with input
from the local fire department and local emergency management
agency. Documentation required to be maintained by 42 CFR Part
482.15 shall be maintained at the facility for at least three years
and shall be made available to the Division during an inspection
upon request.

(c) The facility shall comply with the "Rules Governing the
Sanitation of Hospitals, Nursing Homes, Adult Care Homes, and
Other Institutions,” 15A NCAC 18A .1300 of the North Carolina
Division of Public Health, Environmental Health Services
Section.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-79;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 13B .6103 EQUIVALENCY AND
CONFLICTS WITH REQUIREMENTS

(&) The Division may grant an equivalency to allow an alternate
design or functional variation from the requirements in Rule .3102
and the Rules contained in Sections .6000 through .6200 of this
Subchapter. The equivalency may be granted by the Division if a
governing body submits a written equivalency request to the
Division that states the following:

(1) the rule citation and the rule requirement that
will not be met;

(2) the justification for the equivalency; and

3) how the proposed equivalency meets the intent

of the corresponding rule requirement.

In determining whether to grant an equivalency request the
Division shall consider whether the request will reduce the safety
and operational effectiveness of the facility design and layout. The
governing body shall maintain a copy of the approved equivalence
issued by the Division.

(b) If the rules, codes, or standards contained in this Subchapter
conflict, the most restrictive requirement shall apply.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-79;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 13B .6207
FACILITIES

(a) If a facility elects to share outpatient surgical facilities with
inpatient surgical facilities, the outpatient operating room and
support areas shall meet the requirements set forth in Sections
.6000 through .6200 of this Subchapter.

(b) If a facility elects to provide separate, non-sharable outpatient
surgical facilities, the operating rooms and support areas shall
meet the requirements set forth in 10A NCAC 13C .1400.

OUTPATIENT SURGICAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 131E-79;
Eff. January 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

14B NCAC 15A .1603
STORAGE

All privately-owned bonded warehouses holding permits for the
storage of spirituous liquors are required to:

REQUIREMENTS FOR

@ store all liquor separate and apart from other
merchandise;

2 store all military codes separate and apart from
State codes;

3 store all liquor of the same code together and
spaced evenly for inventory purposes;

4) submit to the Commission monthly reports of

all spirituous liquors received and delivered so
that a perpetual inventory may be kept at the
Commission. The report must match the
inventory at the bonded warehouse at all times
and upon inspection;

(5) take at their expense, and submit to the
Commission, at least once every 12 months
inventories of all spirituous liquors being held
in the bonded warehouse. These inventories
may be observed by representatives of the
Commission or the State Auditor's Office;

(6) return to the distiller all liquor that is distressed
when received within 30 days of its receipt;
@) destroy all liquor that becomes distressed after

it is received, after notifying the distiller and
obtaining in writing the distiller's approval to
destroy the distressed liquor. The distiller, or a
representative of the distiller, shall be given an
opportunity to:
@) be present in person or by video
conference at the destruction; or
(b) request proof of destruction by
photographs or video recordings
showing the distressed liquor before
and after the destruction.
The warehouse shall provide the distiller with a
written or electronic copy of the Destruction of
Unsalable Merchandise Report for the
distressed liquor destroyed. A written or
electronic copy of the report shall be sent
quarterly by the warehouse to the Commission.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207;
S.L. 2018-100, s. 2;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1603 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15A .1604 PROHIBITED PRACTICES

(@) The removal of any spirituous liquors except as provided for
in these Rules to any place except the State ABC warehouse,
military posts, points outside the State, or the shipping distillery
shall be prohibited.

(b) No liquor, distressed or otherwise, shall be given to any
distiller representative or employee of the warehouse but, in
accordance with Rule .1603 of this Section, shall be returned to
the distiller or destroyed and recorded in the Destruction of
Unsalable Merchandise Report.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-204; 18B-207;
S.L. 2018-100, s. 2;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1604 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15A .1701
FROM ABC STORES
(@) Except as allowed pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule,
spirituous liquor, either distressed or otherwise, shall not leave the
custody of a local board after receipt unless:
(D) The spirituous liguor is sold at retail;
(2) The liquor is returned to the State ABC
warehouse; or
(3) The liquor is purchased, exchanged, or
otherwise obtained by another local board as
provided by 14B NCAC 15A .1301(e).
Any spirituous liquor otherwise leaving the local board is
nontaxpaid spirituous liquor.
(b) Distressed Liquor. Distressed liquor shall be given to a public
or private hospital for medicinal purposes only or destroyed and
the destruction witnessed by the manager, or the manager's
designee, in accordance with this Paragraph. The local board shall
notify the distiller, or a representative of the distiller, in writing of
the intent to destroy the distressed liquor, and obtain the distiller's,
or a representative of the distiller's, written approval to destroy the
distressed liquor. The distiller, or a representative of the distiller,
shall be given an opportunity to:
1) be present in person or by video conference at
the destruction; or
2 request proof of destruction by photographs or
video recordings showing the distressed liquor
before and after the destruction.

REMOVAL OF BEVERAGES

(c) A Destruction of Unsalable Merchandise Report shall be
completed and signed by the party destroying the distressed liquor
and the party approving the destruction on behalf of the distiller.
The report shall contain the following:

1) the name of the entity submitting the report;

2 the date of the report;

3) the name of the distiller of the distressed liquor;

4 the product code and brand name of the

distressed liquor;

(5) the quantity of bottles being destroyed;

(6) the cost of each bottle;

@) the total cost of all bottles destroyed;

(8) an explanation of the type of damage that makes
the liquor distressed;
©)] the name and title of the distiller, or

representative of the distiller, who provided

written approval to destroy the distressed

liquor; and

(10) the date the approval to destroy was given.

A written or electronic copy of the report shall be sent to the
distiller and a written or electronic copy shall be sent quarterly to
the Commission by the local board. The original shall be retained
by the local board for a period of three years.
(d) No sales of alcoholic beverages shall be made to employees,
board members, or other retail customers on credit. This does not
prohibit purchases made by the use of credit cards.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-806;
18B-807; S.L. 2018-100, s. 2;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984;
Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1701 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15A .1901
STAMP

(a) Except as permitted pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule,
prior to the sale of any container of spirituous liquor or antique
spirituous liquor to a permittee, the local board shall affix to the
container a mixed beverages tax stamp that states the following:

MIXED BEVERAGES TAX

(8] the local board system of sale;
2 the permittee's transaction number; and
3) the permittee's Mixed Beverage Permit number.

(b) The mixed beverages tax stamp shall be affixed to any vertical
portion of each container. In no event shall the stamp be affixed
to the cap or closure of a container. Where a case of one brand has
been purchased, the mixed beverages tax stamp shall be affixed to
each container in the case and it shall not be sufficient to stamp
the exterior of the case.

(c) For sales of liquor to a guest room cabinet permittee, a local
board may affix the mixed beverages tax stamp to any portion of
the container other than the cap or closure. In lieu of affixing the
stamp to each container purchased by a guest room cabinet
permittee, a local board may choose to give to the guest room
cabinet permittee one tax stamp for each container of liquor
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purchased for resale from a guest room cabinet, to be affixed by
the permittee as authorized by Rule .1804 of this Subchapter.

(d) Mixed beverage permittees may transport no more than eight
liters of opened containers of spirituous liquor without a purchase-
transportation permit to and from a local board in the non-
passenger area of a motor vehicle for the purpose of replacing
mixed beverage tax stamps that are defaced or that have worn out
numbers.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-203(a)(1); 18B-
207; 18B-807; S.L. 2018-100, s. 3;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984;
Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02R .1901 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; January 1, 2018.

14B NCAC 15A .2206
RAFFLE OR AUCTION
(a) Sales of alcohol under a special one-time permit pursuant to
G.S. 18B-1002(a)(5) by a nonprofit organization as a prize in a
raffle or at auction shall be sold for off-premises consumption and
shall not be consumed on the permitted premises.

(b) Possession of the alcohol sold as a prize at a raffle or at auction
pursuant to this Rule shall not be given by the nonprofit
organization to the raffle prize winner or buyer at auction until the
conclusion of the event or until the time the buyer leaves the
event.

(c) Sales of alcohol pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(5) by a
nonprofit organization shall be subject to the following

NONPROFIT SALES AT

conditions:
@ sales shall only be made to persons at least 21
years of age;
2 no sales shall be made to a person who is

intoxicated as defined in 14B NCAC 15B
.0101(2); and

3) delivery of possession of a quantity of alcohol
sold pursuant to this Rule to a single buyer in
excess of the limits set forth in G.S. 18B-303
shall not be permitted unless the raffle prize
winner or buyer at auction of the alcohol has a
valid permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1002(a)(4) or otherwise complies with the
provisions of G.S. 18B-303.

History Note:
18B-1002;
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-303;

14B NCAC 15B .0101  DEFINITIONS
In addition to the definitions found in Sections 18B-101 and
18B-1000 of the North Carolina General Statutes, the following
definitions apply to this Subchapter:
1) "Employee™" means any person who performs a
service for any person holding an ABC permit,
regardless of whether that person is

compensated for the performance of those
services.

2 "Intoxicated" means the condition of a person
whose mental or physical functioning appears
to be presently substantially impaired as a result
of the use of alcohol or other substance, as set
forth in G.S. 122C-3(18), and shall be when the
person appears to a reasonable observer to be so
far under such influence that:

(A) the person's emotions are
conspicuously uncontrolled; or

(B) the person's intelligence, sense-
perceptions, judgment, continuity of
thought or of ideas, speech and
coordination of volition with muscular
action, or some of these faculties or
processes are materially impaired.

3 "Modified Plan Permits," as used in Rules
.0105 and .0106 of this Section, mean on-
premise malt beverage permits authorized by
elections held pursuant to G.S. 18B-602(a)(4).

4) "Original container” means a bottle, can, or
other alcoholic beverage product container
filled by a manufacturer or bottler that has been
approved for sale within this State.

5) "Premises” means the same as defined in G.S.
18B-101(12a). A diagram attached to the
investigative report and kept in the permittee's
file is prima facie evidence of the premises
covered by that permit and for which the
permittee and the permittee's employees are
responsible. Permits shall authorize the sale and
possession or consumption of alcoholic
beverages only on the premises described in the
investigative report and diagram furnished by
the investigating agent.

(6) "Private dining area” means any area of a
restaurant or hotel that is or can be closed off
from public view.

@) "Sports and entertainment venue," as used in
G.S. 18B-1000(7a) and in this Subchapter, shall
include a building, structure, or place in which
sporting competitions or contests are held, or
shows, performances, or other entertainment is
provided.

History Note:
18B-1008;
Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984;
Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .0101 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1000;
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14B NCAC 15B .0209 CONSUMPTION:
INTOXICATION BY PERMITTEE PROHIBITED

(@) No permittee or permittee's employees shall be on licensed
premises permitted under G.S. 18B-1001, 18B-1002, 18B-1114.1
or 18B-1114.5 after consuming alcoholic beverages except under
the following conditions:

(1) The permittee or employee is off duty for the
remainder of that day or night during which the
permittee or employee consumes any alcoholic
beverage;

2 The permittee or employee is out of uniform
when uniforms are required to be worn while
performing any on duty services; and

3) The permittee or employee shall not perform
any on duty services of any nature while or after
consuming alcoholic beverages.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a malt beverage
or wine permittee or its employee who is of legal age and who is
responsible for ordering or serving alcoholic beverages may
sample new malt beverage or wine products as provided by 14B
NCAC 15C .0711(b) on the licensed premises. Samples shall not
exceed two ounce servings of individual products and the total of
the samples shall not exceed eight ounces in one calendar day.
(c) No permittee or the permittee's agents or employees shall be
or become intoxicated on the licensed premises.

(d) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a permittee or the
permittee's employees may be on licensed premises after
consuming alcoholic beverages pursuant to G.S. 18B-1121(3) and
(4) and may serve or pour alcoholic beverages for other persons
for the remainder of the day provided the alcohol concentration of
the permittee or the permittee's employees who serve or pour
remains less than 0.03. The serving or pouring of alcoholic
beverages for other persons pursuant to this Paragraph constitutes
implied-consent to a chemical analysis of the person's alcohol
concentration consistent with G.S. 20-16.2 and G.S. 20-139.1.
The failure to submit to a chemical analysis pursuant to this
Paragraph shall constitute a violation of the ABC laws.

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207;
18B-1005(b); 18B-1006(d); 18B-1121;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-33(b)(9), Administrative Law Judge James
L. Conner, Il declared Rule 04 NCAC 02S .0212(b) void as
applied in North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission v. Midnight Sun Investments, Inc. t/a Tiki Cabaret
(03 ABC 1732);

Amended Eff. January 1, 2011;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .0212 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15B .1006 = ADVERTISING OF MALT
BEVERAGES, WINE AND MIXED BEVERAGES BY

M

@

®)

(4)

®)

(6)

U]

Point-of-Sale. Retail malt beverage, wine, and
mixed beverage permittees may utilize any
amount of point-of-sale advertising for malt
beverage, wine, and mixed beverage products
offered for sale in the establishment. This
advertising may be supplied by the industry
member unless it constitutes a fixture or has
value other than as advertising material.
However, an industry member may give a
retailer brand-identified items listed in 14B
NCAC 15C .0711(c) for use as point-of-sale
advertising;

Price Boards. Retail malt beverage, wine, and
mixed beverage permittees may display inside
price boards showing the brand names and
prices of malt beverage, wine, and mixed
beverage products offered for sale in the
establishment;

Menus and Beverage Lists. Retail on-premise
malt beverage, wine, and mixed beverage
permittees may place on the menu and beverage
lists the brand names and prices of malt
beverage, wine, and mixed beverage products
offered for sale in the establishment. Beverage
lists may be supplied by an industry member
and may include up to six items from the
retailer's food menu but shall not include the
name, logo, or other identifier of the retail
permittee on the advertisement. A table tent
shall be considered a beverage list for purposes
of this Rule;

Retailer Advertising Specialty Items. "Retailer
advertising specialty items" are items such as
trays, coasters, mats, meal checks, paper
napkins, glassware, cups, foam scrapers, back
bar mats, thermometers, and other similar items
that bear advertising matter. Advertising
specialty items may be provided to a retailer by
an industry member as provided in 14B NCAC
15C .0711(b)(8);

Window Displays. Retail malt beverage, wine,
and mixed beverage permittees may arrange
unopened malt beverage, wine, or spirituous
liquor products in a window display;

Location. Except as permitted pursuant to
Paragraph (e) of this Rule, no point-of-sale
advertising, advertising specialty item or price
board shall be displayed in a manner designed
or intended to advertise malt beverages, wine,
or mixed beverages on the outside of the
establishment; and

T-shirts. A retailer's employees shall not wear
alcoholic beverage brand identified t-shirts
while working on the retailer's licensed
premises.

(b) Exterior Advertising.

RETAILERS (D) Outside signs on the premises.

(@) Interior Advertising. (A) Malt Beverages. Retail malt beverage
permittees may display the term
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(B)

"beer," "cold beer,” "draught beer,"
"specialty beer," "craft beer," "North
Carolina beer,” "local beer,” or
"imported beer," on a single, non-
mechanical outside sign. This sign
may be neon illuminated. The letters
and figures on the sign shall not be
more than 5 inches in height and 2
inches apart and the sign shall be
attached to the building on the licensed
premises. Retail malt beverage
permittees may also display the term
"beer," "cold beer,” "draught beer,"
"specialty beer," "craft beer," "North
Carolina beer,” "local beer,” or
"imported beer" or a similar term on a
single, portable, non-mechanical
sidewalk sign that is no larger than 25
inches by 45 inches on each of its two
sides. The sidewalk sign shall be
displayed only during the hours of
operation.

Wine. Retail wine permittees may
display the term "wine permit-off
premise,” "wine permit-on premise,"”
"fine wine," or a similar term on a
single non-mechanical outside sign.
This sign may be neon illuminated.
The letters and figures on the sign
shall not be more than 5 inches in
height and 2 inches apart and the sign
shall be attached to the building on the
licensed premises. Instead of the sign
described in this Paragraph, retail wine
permittees engaged in off-premise
sales of wine may display the term
"Wine Shop," "Wine and Cheese," or
a similar term on a single non-
mechanical sign. This sign may be
neon illuminated. The letters and
figures on the sign shall not be more
than 18 inches in height and the sign
shall be attached to the building on the
licensed premises. Retail wine
permittees may also display the term
"wine permit-off premise,” "wine
permit-on premise,” "fine wine," or a
similar term on a single, portable, non-
mechanical sidewalk sign that is no
larger than 25 inches by 45 inches on
each of its two sides. Instead of the
sidewalk sign described in this
Paragraph, retail wine permittees
engaged in off-premise sales of wine
may display the term "Wine Shop,"
"Wine and Cheese," "fine wine," or a
similar term on a single, portable, non-
mechanical sidewalk sign that is no
larger than 25 inches by 45 inches on

@

®)

(4)

©

®)

(E)

F

each of its two sides. A sidewalk sign
shall be displayed only during the
hours of operation.

Restriction. Retail malt beverage,
wine, and mixed beverage permittees
shall not allow price advertising or
additional signs advertising malt
beverages, wine, and mixed beverages
on the outside of their premises.
Outside signs alluding to malt
beverages, wine, or mixed beverages
by slang descriptions such as "brew,"
"suds," "six-pack," "vino," or "booze"
are prohibited.

Exceptions for Menus. The placement
of a food menu that also contains a list
of alcoholic beverages by brand and
price in a window, on the exterior of
the retailer's building or on a sidewalk
sign that is no larger than 25 inches by
45 inches on each of its two sides is
not a violation of this Rule. A sidewalk
sign shall be displayed only during the
hours of operation.

Mixed Beverages. Retail mixed
beverage permittees may display the
term "mixed beverages," "all ABC
permits,” "mixed drinks," "cocktails,"
or ‘"spirits,” on a single non-
mechanical, non-neon, or otherwise
self-illuminated outside sign. The
letters and figures on the sign shall not
be more than five inches in height and
two inches apart and the sign shall be
attached to the building on the licensed
premises.

Private Club. A private club shall not
display any exterior sign advertising
the availability of malt beverages,
wine, or mixed beverages.

Billboards. Retail permittees shall not advertise
malt beverage, wine, or mixed beverage
products or the availability of alcoholic
beverages by means of a billboard or outdoor
sign except as provided in this Section. Industry
members with retail permits may advertise

tastings;

Aerial Displays. Retail permittees shall not
advertise malt beverage, wine, or mixed
beverage products or the availability of
alcoholic beverages by means of an aerial
display or an inflatable item that is tethered; and
This Rule permits only exterior advertising
allowed by local ordinances.

(c) Removal of Signs. A permittee shall remove any sign, display,
or advertisement in or about the permittee's licensed premises if
the Commission finds following a hearing it is contrary to public
interest and orders its removal.
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(d) Media Advertising. A retail malt beverage, wine, or mixed
beverage permittee may advertise price and brand of malt
beverage, wine, and mixed beverage products offered for sale by
means of circular, newspaper, magazine, radio, television, and
internet.

(e) Notwithstanding Subparagraphs (a)(6) and (c) of this Rule, a
sports or entertainment venue with a permanently constructed
seating capacity of 3,000 or more, which is not located on the
campus of a school, college, or university, may display point-of-
sale advertising for malt beverages and unfortified wine inside the
venue that is visible from the outside of the venue, and shall not
be required by the Commission to move or remove the
advertising.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-105; 18B-207;
S.L. 2018-65, s. 5.1;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2012; January 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May
1,1984;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02S .1008 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15C .0101 DEFINITIONS
The following terms shall have the following meanings when used
in this Chapter:

(1) "Brand," in relation to wines, means the name
under which a wine is produced and includes
trade names or trademarks. A brand shall not be
construed to mean a class or type of wine, but
all classes and types of wines sold under the
same brand label shall be considered a single
brand. Differences in packaging such as a
different style, type, or size of container shall
not be considered different brands.

(2) "Branded merchandise" means items, including
glassware, cups, signs, t-shirts, hats and other
apparel, that bears the brand of the alcoholic
beverage being served, or the brand of the
brewery, winery, or distiller whose alcoholic
beverages is being served, at a tasting
conducted pursuant to G.S. 18B-1114.1, 18B-
1114.5 or 18B-1114.7.

3 "Brokerage" means a business that brokers in
the State the sale of spirituous liquor on behalf
of a spirituous liquor supplier.

(@) "Brokerage representative™ means an individual
who promotes spirituous liquor on behalf of a
brokerage.

(5) "Distiller representative” means an individual

who promotes spirituous liquor on behalf of a
distiller, or otherwise represents a distiller.

(6) "Industry member" means any wholesaler,
salesman, brewery, winery, bottler, importer,

liguor importer/bottler, distiller, distiller
representative, brokerage, brokerage
representative, supplier representative,

rectifier,  nonresident  vendor,  vendor
representative, or affiliate thereof, that sells or
solicits orders for alcoholic beverages, whether
or not licensed in this State.

@) "Rectifier" means a permittee that processes
spirituous liquor by cutting, blending, mixing,
or infusing it with any ingredient that reacts
with the constituents of the distilled spirits and
changes the character and nature, or standards
of identity, of the distilled spirits, but does not
include a person who extracts spirituous liquor
by original or continuous distillation, or who
mixes spirituous liquor with other ingredients
for immediate consumption.

(8) "Retail permittee” or "retailer" means any
permittee holding a retail alcoholic beverage
permit issued pursuant to the authority of G.S.
18B-1001, but does not include a non-profit or
political organization that has been issued a
Special One-Time permit pursuant to the
provisions of G.S. 18B-1002(a)(2) or (5).

9 "Spirituous liquor supplier” means a distiller,
liquor importer/bottler, or rectifier.
(10) "Supplier representative™ means, as the term is

used in G.S. 18B-1114.7, an individual who
promotes on behalf of a spirituous liquor
supplier, or otherwise represents a spirituous
liquor supplier.

(11) "Vendor" means any brewery, winery, bottler,
malt beverages or wine importer, or nonresident
malt beverage vendor or nonresident wine
vendor as those terms are used in G.S. 18B-
1113 and 18B-1114.

(12) "Vendor representative” means any person who
holds a permit issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1112.

(13) "Wine" means both fortified wine and

unfortified wine.

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-101; 18B-207;
Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984;
Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02T .0101 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15C .0102  APPLICATION PROCEDURES
(&) Who Files. Before any winery, brewery, distiller, wholesaler,
importer, bottler, vendor, distiller representative, brokerage
representative, salesman, supplier representative, or vendor
representative sells, solicits orders for, or manufactures, bottles,
or imports any alcoholic beverage in this State, that person shall
first file written application for the appropriate permit and pay any
required fees, as described in G.S. 18B-902, and as set forth in
this Rule. Applications for permits for businesses shall be filed by
those individuals listed in G.S. 18B-900(c).
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(b) Application. Application forms for all ABC permits may be
obtained from the North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control
Commission's office or website as set forth in 14B NCAC 15A
.0102. Each person shall provide in the application, under oath,
the following information, as applicable:

(1) the name, address, email address, last four
digits of social security number, and telephone
number(s) of the applicant;

2 the mailing address and location address of the
business for which a permit is desired, and the
county and state where the business is located:;

3) the name of the business and whether the
business is a sole proprietorship, corporation,
limited liability company, or partnership;

4) the trade name of business;
(5) the applicant's date of birth;
(6) if the business is a corporation or limited

liability company, the name and address of the
person authorized to accept service of process
of Commission notices or orders under G.S, 1A,
Rule 4());

@) if the applicant is a non-resident intending to
operate a business in the State, the name and
address of a resident of the State appointed as
the applicant's attorney-in-fact in accordance
with Chapter 32C of the General Statutes for
purposes of G.S. 18B-900(a)(2)b.;

(8) if the application is for a vendor representative,
brokerage representative, distiller
representative, or supplier representative
permit, authorization from the commercial
permittee, brokerage, distiller. or spirituous
liquor supplier to represent it; and

9 that the applicant is in compliance with G.S.
18B-900(a)(3) through (8).

(c)  Additional documentation. The following documents
completed, signed, notarized, and recorded, as applicable, shall be
attached to and submitted with an application, and shall be
incorporated as part of the application:

(1) for applicants applying on behalf of a business
pursuant to G.S. 18B-900(c), the fingerprint
card, Authority for Release of Information
Form, and certified check, cashier check,
money order, electronic payment, or credit card
payment made payable to the North Carolina
ABC Commission in the amount of thirty-eight
dollars ($38.00) for payment of a state and
national fingerprint-based criminal history
record check pursuant to 14B NCAC 18B
.0405;

(2) for applicants applying for brokerage
representative, distiller representative, or
supplier representative permits, a certified copy
of the applicant's State criminal history record

check;

3) payment of applicable permit fees as authorized
in 14B NCAC 15A .0104;

4) for businesses located in this State, a certified

copy of any recorded power of attorney

registered in the county where the proposed
licensed premises is located:;

(5) for corporations not already holding a permit in
this State, a copy of the Articles of
Incorporation and  notarized  corporate
certification of shareholders holding 25 percent
or more of the shares of the corporation;

(6) for limited liability companies not already
holding a permit in this State, a copy of Articles
of Organization and notarized organizational
certification of members owning 25 percent or
more interest in the company. Additionally, if
manager-managed, a copy of the Operating

Agreement;

@) a black and white copy of applicant's current
photo identification;

(8) for a business located in this State, a copy or

memorandum of the lease showing the
applicant as tenant, a copy of the deed showing
the applicant as the grantee or owner, or a copy
of a management agreement with the owner or
lessee of the permitted property showing the
applicant has the authority to operate the
business at the permitted location; and
9 a Federal Employer Identification/Social
Security Number Verification Form.
(d) Salesmen, Representatives, Vendors To State Companies. All
salesmen, vendor representatives, distiller representatives,
brokerage representatives, supplier representatives, and vendors
shall further state on the permit application the name of every
manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, distiller, brokerage,
spirituous liquor supplier, or vendor that the applicant will
represent in the State. The persons listed in this Paragraph shall
notify the Commission when their authorization to represent an
industry member ceases. The manufacturer, importer, wholesaler,
distiller, brokerage, spirituous liquor supplier, or vendor shall
notify the Commission whenever any of the persons listed in this
Paragraph are no longer their authorized representative.
Notification required pursuant to this Paragraph shall be made to
the Commission in writing within 30 days of the termination of
the authorization to represent.
(e) Wholesalers. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, before a wholesaler
receives, possesses, transports, sells, delivers, or ships wine or
malt beverages in the State, the vendor shall file with the
Commission a separate distribution agreement filing form for
each brand authorized to be sold by the wholesaler and the
specific territory where the product may be sold for each
wholesaler location. The distribution agreement filing form shall
contain the vendor's and wholesaler's names, trade names if
applicable, addresses, telephone numbers, ABC permit numbers,
and the name of the brand and territory where the sales may take
place in the State, by county or parts of counties. For wine
vendors, the form shall also state whether the vendor ships 1,250
cases or more of wine in the State each year. The form shall be
signed and dated by the vendor and the wholesaler. If any changes
in the distribution agreement affect the information on the
distribution agreement filing form filed with the Commission, the
wholesaler shall amend the form and file it with the Commission
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on a revised distribution agreement filing form before the changes
become effective.

(f) Liquor Importer/Bottler. In addition to the requirements set
forth in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a liquor
importer/bottler applying for a permit shall submit a description
of the operations of its business, which shall include the location
address of any storage facility or bottling plant, if different than
the address shown on the permit application, and any associated
federal alcoholic beverage permit numbers.

(9) Nonresident Vendors. In addition to the requirements set forth
in Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a nonresident malt
beverage vendor or a nonresident wine vendor applying for a
permit shall submit the following:

1) a copy of the Federal Basic Permit or Brewers
Notice;

(2) a statement of whether the business is a malt
beverage vendor or a wine vendor;

(3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been

disapproved by any government agency for any
application to manufacture, use, store, rectify,
bottle, distribute, sell, import, or transport
distilled spirits, beer, or wine;

(@) a statement whether the applicant has ever
compromised, by payment of penalties or
otherwise, any violation of any federal or state
laws relating to internal revenue or customs
taxation of alcoholic beverages; and

(5) certification of understanding that the applicant
can only engage in activities authorized by the
ABC laws of this State for the permit issued,
and that before any wine or malt beverage can
be offered for sale in the State, the product and
label must be approved by the Commission.

(h) Wine Producers. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine producer applying
for a permit shall submit a copy of the recorded deed or lease for
the farming establishment that meets the requirements set forth in
G.S. 18B-1000(10), including the address of the farm and one of

the following:

(1) a survey or diagram of the farm, indicating the
areas and acreage used in the production of
grapes, berries, or other fruits for the
manufacture of unfortified wine; or

2 an affidavit stating that the farm consists of at

least five acres committed to the production of

grapes, berries, or other fruits for the

manufacture of unfortified wine, listing the

acreage used for this purpose and its function.
(i) Wine Shippers. In addition to the requirements set forth in
Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule, a wine shipper applying
for a permit shall submit the following:

1) a description of the operation of the business;

(2) a website address through which orders will be
received;

3) a statement whether the applicant has ever been

disapproved by any government agency for any
application to manufacture, use, store, rectify,
bottle, distribute, sell, import or transport
distilled spirits, beer, or wine;

4 a statement whether the applicant has ever
compromised, by payment of penalties or
otherwise, any violation of any federal or state
laws relating to internal revenue or customs
taxation of alcoholic beverages;

(5) a statement whether the business entity holds a
valid Federal Basic Permit, either as a Bonded
Wine Cellar or Bonded Winery, and a copy of
the Federal Basic Permit; and

(6) a wine shipper brand listing consisting of all
brands of fortified and unfortified wines
identified to be shipped into the State by the
wine shipper, including the names of the
common carriers used for shipping. The
permitted wine shipper may amend the brands
of wine permitted to be shipped into the State
by filing an amended wine shipper brand listing
with the Commission prior to shipping. Only
brands identified by the wine shipper to the
Commission in writing may be legally shipped
into the State.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-109; 18B-207;
18B-900; 18B-902; 18B-1000; 18B-1001.1; 18B-1105.1; 18B-
1113; 18B-1114; 18B-1114.3; 18B-1114.7; 18B-1203; 18B-
1303;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;

Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02T .0102 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15C .0901  DISTILLER, SUPPLIER AND
BROKERAGE REPRESENTATIVES: PROHIBITED
ACTS

(a) Representatives Prohibited from Entering Store. Distiller
representatives,  supplier  representatives, or  brokerage
representatives shall not enter any ABC store except for the
purpose of calling on the buyer if the buyer's office is maintained
in the store, for the purpose of making a purchase, or for the
purpose of visiting a store to market product, build displays, or
attach added value items in accordance with written permission
from the local Board. An initial request for permission to visit a
store pursuant to this Paragraph shall be made in writing by the
representative to the general manager of the local Board in a form
acceptable to the local Board. The local Board may adopt policies
regulating when a representative may visit the local Board's ABC
store, which may include the times, frequency, purpose, method
of requesting and approving permission, and any advance notice
requirements. Permission granted by the general manager, or
other persons designated by the local Board, to the representative
to visit the local Board's ABC stores shall initially be made in
writing and in accordance with any policies adopted by the local
Board. The duration of the permission may be for an indefinite
time. The local Board's policies may authorize the general
manager, or his or her designee, to verbally authorize subsequent
specific visits after written permission has been given.
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(b) Representatives Prohibited from Contacting Store Personnel.
Distiller representatives, supplier representatives, or brokerage
representatives shall not contact store personnel for the purpose
of promoting their merchandise while store personnel are off-
duty. Store personnel shall not allow distiller representatives,
supplier representatives, or brokerage representatives to contact
them in any manner for the purpose of promoting their
merchandise while store personnel are off-duty.

(© Gifts Prohibited. Distiller representatives, supplier
representatives, or brokerage representatives shall not give liquor,
including samples, or anything of value to local ABC board
members or employees, including store managers and general
managers, at any time. Local ABC board members or employees,
which includes store managers and general managers, shall not
accept gifts, either directly or through a third person, from any
distiller representative, supplier representative, or brokerage
representative.

(d) Soliciting and Advertising Prohibited. Except for contact with
the Commission, local ABC boards, and retail permittees, with
regards to the promotion and purchase of spirituous liquor, no
distiller representative, supplier representative, or brokerage
representative shall:

@ solicit any order, agreement, or other
commitment to purchase liquor, whether or not
it is legally enforceable; or

)] advertise, promote, or encourage purchases by
any means or method or furnish any means by
which spirituous liquor may be obtained, except
as provided in 14B NCAC 15B .1008.

This Paragraph shall not apply to a distiller representative,
supplier representative, or brokerage representative who has been
granted an exception by the Commission to make presentations of
pictorial artwork or renderings of the design of the decanter and
solicitation of a special order of these decanters at the request of
a local ABC board and non-profit, charitable corporation related
to orders and sales of commemorative bottles pursuant to 14B
NCAC 15A .1404. Requests for an exception under this Paragraph
shall be made in writing to the Commission.

(e) Relationship With Mixed Beverages Permittee. No employee
or representative of any distiller, importer, rectifier, or bottler may
promote or solicit orders by a mixed beverages permittee or aid
the permittee in placing orders for any spirituous liquor or for any
other alcoholic beverages.

() Gifts and Inducements Prohibited. Except as permitted
pursuant to Rules .0710 and .0711 of this Subchapter, no
employee or representative of any industry member may give or
lend to any mixed beverage permittee or the permittee's employee
any gift, money, services, equipment, furniture, fixture, or other
thing of value.

History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-704;
18B-807; 18B-1116;

Eff. January 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2011; July 1, 1992; May 1, 1984;
Transferred and Recodified from 04 NCAC 02T .0901 Eff. August
1, 2015;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017,

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

14B NCAC 15C .1301 DEFINITIONS
Asused in G.S. 18B-1114.7 and in this Section:

(D) "Charitable, nonprofit organization" means a
nonprofit organization that is a charitable
organization as defined in G.S. 1-539.11(1).

2 "Local fund-raiser" means a special event
sponsored or cosponsored by a local
government, a local charitable, nonprofit
organization, or a local political organization
for the purpose of raising funds for a
governmental, charitable, or political purpose.

?3) "Special event" means either:

(a) an event the spirituous liquor special
event permittee participates in that is a
trade show, convention, street festival,
holiday festival, agricultural festival,
balloon race, local fund-raisers, or
other similar events approved
pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section,
that is for a limited duration of no
more than 10 days and organized or
sponsored by a person other than the

spirituous  liquor  special event
permittee; or
(b) an event of limited duration of no

more than 60 days at a shopping mall
that is organized and sponsored by the
shopping mall or an association of
shopping mall merchants as part of a
promotion or sale for all merchants in
the shopping mall.

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7;

14B NCAC 15C .1302
APPROVAL
(a) For other events not specifically listed in G.S. 18B-1114.7,
the holder of a spirituous liquor special event permit issued
pursuant to G.S. 18B-1114.7 shall obtain approval of that other
similar event from the Commission prior to the permit holder
participating in the event. The Commission's approval of other
events under this Rule shall be in writing.
(b) The holder of the permit shall submit a written application for
approval to the Commission no less than seven business days prior
to the date of the event. The application, available on the
Commission's website, includes:
(8] the permit holder's name, business name,
spirituous liquor special event permit number,
email address, and telephone and fax numbers;

OTHER SIMILAR EVENTS

2) the name, dates, time, location, address, and
county of the event;

?3) whether an admission fee will be charged of the
attendees by the event sponsor;

(@) the event sponsor's name, address, contact

information, event or sponsor's social media
link or webpage, and whether the event sponsor
is a non-profit organization;
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(5) whether the event sponsor holds a special one-
time ABC permit pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1002(a)(2) or (5) and whether alcohol will
otherwise be sold or given away at the event;
and
(6) the names of other co-sponsors, supporters,
vendors, or exhibitors who are expected to
participate in the event, and whether those
persons hold ABC permits.
(¢) The Commission shall not approve events sponsored
exclusively by the holder of the permit. Tastings of spirituous
liquor shall not be allowed pursuant to a spirituous liquor special
event permit on the premises of a retail permittee or an ABC store.

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7;

14B NCAC 15C .1303
CONSUMERS

(@) Tasting Area Designation. Tastings permitted pursuant to a
spirituous liquor special event permit shall only be conducted
within a designated tasting area, delineated by vertical markings
no less than 24 inches in height that the consumer would
recognize as indicating the boundaries that physically separate the
tasting area from the remainder of the special event. Consumers
shall not be permitted to take tasting samples outside the
designated tasting area. The permittee shall ensure that designated
tasting area signs are displayed at the permittee's tastings serving
tables and at the entrances and exits to the designated tasting area,
with lettering of at least two inches in height, informing
consumers that they must be 21 years of age to participate in the
tastings and that no tasting samples are allowed to be taken out of
the designated tasting area. A designated tasting area may include
one or more permittees. A special event may have multiple
designated tasting areas.

(b) Each permittee conducting a tasting may give each consumer
tasting samples up to the limits set forth in G.S. 18B-1114.7(b)(3).
(c) Training. Any employee of a permittee who will be
conducting or supervising any tasting conducted pursuant to a
spirituous liquor special event permit shall be given training,

TASTINGS HELD FOR

including:

(1) identification of potential underage consumers;

(2) recognition of fictitious identification;

3 identification of consumers who are visibly
intoxicated;

(@) service of correct sample sizes; and

(5) methods to ensure compliance with G.S. 18B-
1114.7 in accordance with Rule .1304 of this
Section.

(d) Consumption prohibited. The permittee, the permittee's agent,
or employee shall not be in the designated tasting area after
consuming alcoholic beverages except under the following
conditions:

1) the permittee, agent, or employee is off duty for
the remainder of that day or night during which
the individual consumes any alcoholic
beverage;

2 the permittee, agent, or employee is out of
uniform when uniforms are required to be worn
while performing any on duty services; and

3 the permittee, agent, or employee shall not
perform any on duty services of any nature
while or after consuming alcoholic beverages.

(e) Limitations. Spirituous liquors provided as tastings pursuant
to a spirituous liquor special event permit shall not be mixed with
any other alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverage. No non-alcoholic
beverages, other than water, shall be made available to the
consumer in the designated tasting area.

(f) Source of spirituous liquor. All spirituous liquor used for
tasting samples given in accordance with this Rule shall be
purchased by the permittee from an ABC store.

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7;

14B NCAC 15C .1304
PROCEDURE
(a) The permittee to whom the spirituous liquor special event
permit was issued must be present in the designated tasting area
at the time the tastings occur. A copy of the spirituous liquor
special event permit shall be on display in the designated tasting
area and shall be made available to law enforcement agents upon
request.
(b) For other special events approved by the Commission
pursuant to Rule .1302 of this Section, a copy of the Commission's
approval shall be kept in the designated tasting area during the
duration of the tastings and made available to law enforcement
upon request.
(c) A spirituous liquor special event permit holder shall maintain
a written procedure establishing the method to be used by the
permit holder and the permit holder's employees or agents to
ensure compliance with the requirements of G.S. 18B-
1114.7(b)(3), (4), and (5). A copy of the written procedure shall
be available in the designated tasting area to the permit holder's
employees and designated agents and shall be made available in
the designated tasting area to law enforcement agents upon
request.
(d) A copy of the written procedure required pursuant to
Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall be:
@ maintained for one year following the tasting;
2 included as part of the consumer tasting record
maintained in accordance with G.S. 18B-
1114.7(b)(10); and
3) made available upon request to the Commission
and law enforcement agents pursuant to G.S.
18B-502.

SPECIAL EVENT COMPLIANCE

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-201; 18B-1114.7;

14B NCAC 15C .1305 SPECIAL EVENT SALE OF
BRANDED MERCHANDISE, POINT-OF-SALE
ADVERTISING MATERIALS AND ADVERTISING
SPECIALTIES

(a) In addition to the tastings permitted under this Section, a
spirituous liquor special event permit holder may sell branded
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merchandise and provide point-of-sale advertising materials and
advertising specialties to consumers at consumer tastings only
within the designated tasting area. No unrelated activities shall be
conducted within the designated tasting area.

(b) For purposes of this Rule:

(1) "Point-of-sale advertising materials" means
advertising that is located inside the designated
tasting area established in accordance with Rule
.1303 of this Section where the product is
displayed or sampled. Advertising materials
may include signs, posters, banners, and
decorations that bear product advertising
matter. Point-of-sale advertising materials as
used in this Section shall not include items
listed in 14B NCAC 15C .0711(c).

(2) "Advertising specialties” means coasters, shot
glasses, bottle or can openers, cork screws, ash
trays, shopping bags, individual can coolers,
hats, caps, visors, t-shirts (without collars or
buttons), and key chains.

History Note:
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7;

14B NCAC 15C .1306  SPECIAL EVENT
PARTICIPATION LIMITATIONS

(@) For special events in shopping malls, the spirituous liquor
special event permittee shall not participate in any single mall
more than 10 days cumulatively in any three-month period.

(b) A spirituous liquor special event permittee shall not
participate more than 10 days cumulatively during a three-month
period in a special event sponsored or arranged by the same
person or business.

(c) A spirituous liquor special event permittee shall not
participate in a special event for which the permittee was the only
spirituous liquor special event permittee invited or allowed to
participate in the special event.

History Note:
18B-1116;
Eff. April 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1114.7,;

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 07H .0209 COASTAL SHORELINES
(@) Description. The Coastal Shorelines category includes
estuarine shorelines and public trust shorelines.

1) Estuarine shorelines AEC are those non-ocean
shorelines extending from the normal high
water level or normal water level along the
estuarine waters, estuaries, sounds, bays, fresh
and brackish waters, and public trust areas as
set forth in an agreement adopted by the
Wildlife Resources Commission and the
Department  of  Environmental  Quality
[described in Rule .0206(a) of this Section] for
a distance of 75 feet landward. For those

estuarine shorelines immediately contiguous to
waters classified as Outstanding Resource
Waters (ORW) by the Environmental
Management  Commission  (EMC), the
estuarine shoreline AEC shall extend to 575
feet landward from the normal high water level
or normal water level, unless the Coastal
Resources  Commission  establishes  the
boundary at a greater or lesser extent following
required public hearing(s) within the affected
county or counties.

2 Public trust shorelines AEC are those non-
ocean shorelines immediately contiguous to
public trust areas, as defined in Rule 07H
.0207(a) of this Section, located inland of the
dividing line between coastal fishing waters and
inland fishing waters as set forth in that
agreement and extending 30 feet landward of
the normal high water level or normal water
level.

(b)  Significance. Development within coastal shorelines
influences the quality of estuarine and ocean life and is subject to
the damaging processes of shore front erosion and flooding. The
coastal shorelines and wetlands contained within them serve as
barriers against flood damage and control erosion between the
estuary and the uplands. Coastal shorelines are the intersection of
the upland and aquatic elements of the estuarine and ocean
system, often integrating influences from both the land and the sea
in wetland areas. Some of these wetlands are among the most
productive natural environments of North Carolina and they
support the functions of and habitat for many valuable
commercial and sport fisheries of the coastal area. Many land-
based activities influence the quality and productivity of estuarine
waters. Some important features of the coastal shoreline include
wetlands, flood plains, bluff shorelines, mud and sand flats,
forested shorelines and other important habitat areas for fish and
wildlife.

(c) Management Objective. All shoreline development shall be
compatible with the dynamic nature of coastal shorelines as well
as the values and the management objectives of the estuarine and
ocean system. Other objectives are to conserve and manage the
important natural features of the estuarine and ocean system so as
to safeguard and perpetuate their biological, social, aesthetic, and
economic values; to coordinate and establish a management
system capable of conserving and utilizing these shorelines so as
to maximize their benefits to the estuarine and ocean system and
the people of North Carolina.

(d) Use Standards. Acceptable uses shall be those consistent with
the management objectives in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. These
uses shall be limited to those types of development activities that
will not be detrimental to the public trust rights and the biological
and physical functions of the estuarine and ocean system. Every
effort shall be made by the permit applicant to avoid or minimize
adverse impacts of development to estuarine and coastal systems
through the planning and design of the development project.
Development shall comply with the following standards:

(D) All development projects, proposals, and
designs shall preserve natural barriers to
erosion, including peat marshland, resistant
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)

3)

(4)

Q)

(6)

clay shorelines, and cypress-gum protective
fringe areas adjacent to vulnerable shorelines.
All development projects, proposals, and
designs shall limit the construction of
impervious surfaces and areas not allowing
natural drainage to only so much as is necessary
to service the primary purpose or use for which
the lot is to be developed. Impervious surfaces
shall not exceed 30 percent of the AEC area of
the lot, unless the applicant can demonstrate,
through innovative design, that the protection
provided by the design would be equal to or
exceed the protection by the 30 percent
limitation. Redevelopment of areas exceeding
the 30 percent impervious surface limitation
shall be permitted if impervious areas are not
increased and the applicant designs the project
to comply with the rule to the maximum extent
feasible.

All development projects, proposals, and

designs shall comply with the following

mandatory standards of the North Carolina

Sedimentation Pollution Control Act of 1973:

(A) All development projects, proposals,
and designs shall provide for a buffer
zone along the margin of the estuarine
water that is sufficient to confine
visible siltation within 25 percent of
the buffer zone nearest the land
disturbing development.

(B) No development project proposal or
design shall propose an angle for
graded slopes or fill that is greater than
an angle that can be retained by
vegetative cover or other
erosion-control devices or structures.

© All development projects, proposals,
and designs that involve uncovering
more than one acre of land shall plant
a ground cover sufficient to restrain
erosion within 30 working days of
completion of the grading; unless the
project involves clearing land for the
purpose of forming a reservoir later to
be inundated.

Development shall not have a significant

adverse impact on estuarine and ocean

resources. Significant adverse impacts include
development that would directly or indirectly
impair water quality increase shoreline erosion,
alter coastal wetlands or Submerged Aquatic

Vegetation (SAV), deposit spoils waterward of

normal water level or normal high water, or

cause degradation of shellfish beds.

Development shall not interfere with existing

public rights of access to, or use of, navigable

waters or public resources.

No public facility shall be permitted if such a

facility is likely to require public expenditures

Y]

®)

©)

(10)

for maintenance and continued use, unless it
can be shown that the public purpose served by
the facility outweighs the required public
expenditures for construction, maintenance,
and continued use.
Development shall not cause irreversible
damage to valuable, historic architectural or
archaeological resources as documented by the
local historic commission or the North Carolina
Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.
Established common-law and statutory public
rights of access to the public trust lands and
waters in estuarine areas shall not be eliminated
or restricted. Development shall not encroach
upon public accessways nor shall it limit the use
of the accessways.
Within the AECs for shorelines contiguous to
waters classified as ORW by the EMC, no
CAMA permit shall be approved for any project
that would be inconsistent with rules adopted
by the CRC, EMC or MFC for estuarine waters,
public trust areas, or coastal wetlands. For
development activities not covered by specific
use standards, no permit shall be issued if the
activity would, based on site-specific
information, degrade the water quality or
outstanding resource values.

Within the Coastal Shorelines category

(estuarine and public trust shoreline AECS),

new development shall be located a distance of

30 feet landward of the normal water level or

normal high water level, with the exception of

the following:

(A) Water-dependent uses as described in
Rule 07H .0208(a)(1) of this Section;

B) Pile-supported signs (in accordance
with local regulations);

© Post- or pile-supported fences;

(D) Elevated, slatted, wooden boardwalks
exclusively for pedestrian use and six
feet in width or less. The boardwalk
may be greater than six feet in width if
it is to serve a public use or need,;

(B) Crab Shedders, if uncovered with
elevated trays and no associated
impervious surfaces except those
necessary to protect the pump;

(3] Decks/Observation Decks limited to
slatted, wooden, elevated and
unroofed decks that shall not
singularly or collectively exceed 200
square feet;

(G) Grading, excavation and landscaping
with no wetland fill except when
required by a permitted shoreline
stabilization project. Projects shall not
increase stormwater runoff to adjacent
estuarine and public trust waters;
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(H)

(1

()

(1

Development over existing
impervious surfaces, provided that the
existing impervious surface is not
increased,;
Where application of the buffer
requirement would preclude
placement of a residential structure
with a footprint of 1,200 square feet or
less on lots, parcels and tracts platted
prior to June 1, 1999, development
shall be permitted within the buffer as
required in Subparagraph (d)(10) of
this Rule, providing the following
criteria are met:

(i Development shall minimize
the impacts to the buffer and
reduce runoff by limiting
land disturbance to only so
much as is necessary to
construct and provide access
to the residence and to allow
installation or connection of
utilities, such as water and
sewer; and

(i) The residential  structure
development shall be located
a distance landward of the
normal high water or normal
water level equal to 20
percent of the greatest depth
of the lot. Existing structures
that encroach into the
applicable buffer area may be
replaced or repaired
consistent with the criteria set
out in 15A NCAC 07J .0201
and .0211; and

Where application of the buffer
requirement set out in Subparagraph
(d)(10) of this Rule would preclude
placement of a residential structure on
an undeveloped lot platted prior to
June 1, 1999 that are 5,000 square feet
or less that does not require an on-site
septic system, or on an undeveloped
lot that is 7,500 square feet or less that
requires an on-site septic system,
development shall be permitted within
the buffer if all the following criteria
are met:

Q) The lot on which the
proposed residential
structure is to be located, is
located between:

Two existing waterfront residential

structures, both of which are within

100 feet of the center of the lot and at

least one of which encroaches into the

buffer; or

(1 An existing waterfront residential
structure that encroaches into the
buffer and a road, canal, or other open
body of water, both of which are
within 100 feet of the center of the lot;
(i) Development of the lot shall

minimize the impacts to the
buffer and reduce runoff by
limiting land disturbance to
only so much as is necessary
to construct and provide
access to the residence and to
allow installation or
connection of utilities;

(iii) Placement of the residential
structure  and  pervious
decking shall be aligned no
further into the buffer than
the  existing  residential
structures  and  existing
pervious decking on
adjoining lots;

(iv) The first one and one-half
inches of rainfall from all
impervious surfaces on the
lot shall be collected and
contained on-site in
accordance with the design
standards for stormwater
management  for  coastal
counties as specified in 15A
NCAC 02H .1005. The
stormwater management
system shall be designed by
an individual who meets
applicable State occupational
licensing requirements for
the type of system proposed
and approved during the
permit application process. If
the residential  structure
encroaches into the buffer,
then no other impervious
surfaces shall be allowed
within the buffer; and

(v) The lots shall not be adjacent
to waters designated as
approved or conditionally
approved shellfish waters by
the  Shellfish  Sanitation
Section of the Division of
Marine Fisheries of the
Department of
Environmental Quality.

(e) The buffer requirements in Paragraph (d) of this Rule shall
not apply to Coastal Shorelines where the EMC has adopted rules
that contain buffer standards.

(f) Specific Use Standards for ORW Coastal Shorelines.
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(1)

(@)

Within the AEC for estuarine and public trust
shorelines contiguous to waters classified as
ORW by the EMC, all development projects,
proposals, and designs shall limit the built upon
area in the AEC to no more than 25 percent or
any lower site specific percentage as adopted by
the EMC as necessary to protect the exceptional
water quality and outstanding resource values
of the ORW, and shall:

(A) provide a buffer zone of at least 30 feet
from the normal high water line or
normal water line; and

(B) otherwise be consistent with the use
standards set out in Paragraph (d) of
this Rule.

Single-family residential lots that would not be
buildable under the low-density standards
defined in Subparagraph (f)(1) of this Rule may
be developed for single-family residential
purposes so long as the development complies
with those standards to the maximum extent
possible.

(9) Urban Waterfronts.

1)

)

3)

Description. Urban Waterfronts are waterfront
areas, not adjacent to ORW, in the Coastal
Shorelines category that lie within the corporate
limits of any municipality duly chartered within
the 20 coastal counties of the state. In
determining whether an area is an urban
waterfront, the following criteria shall be met:
(A) the area lies wholly within the
corporate limits of a municipality; and
(B) the area has a central business district
or similar commercial zoning
classification where there are mixed
land uses, and urban level services,
such as water, sewer, streets, solid
waste management, roads, police and
fire protection, or in an area with an
industrial ~ or  similar  zoning
classification adjacent to a central
business district.
Significance. Urban waterfronts are recognized
as having cultural, historical and economic
significance for many coastal municipalities.
Maritime  traditions and  longstanding
development patterns make these areas suitable
for maintaining or promoting dense
development along the shore. With proper
planning and stormwater management, these
areas may continue to preserve local historical
and aesthetic values while enhancing the
economy.
Management Objectives. To provide for the
continued cultural, historical, aesthetic and
economic benefits of urban waterfronts.
Activities such as in-fill development, reuse
and redevelopment facilitate efficient use of
already  urbanized areas and reduce

(4)

development pressure on surrounding areas, in
an effort to minimize the adverse cumulative
environmental effects on estuarine and ocean
systems. While recognizing that opportunities
to preserve buffers are limited in highly
developed urban areas, they are encouraged
where practical.

Use Standards:

(A) The buffer requirement pursuant to
Subparagraph (d)(10) of this Rule
shall not apply to development within
Urban Waterfronts that meets the
following standards:

) The development shall be
consistent with the locally
adopted land use plan;

(i) Impervious surfaces shall not
exceed 30 percent of the
AEC area of the Ilot.
Impervious surfaces may
exceed 30 percent if the
applicant can demonstrate,
through a stormwater
management system design,
that the protection provided
by the design would be equal
to or exceed the protection by
the 30 percent limitation. The
stormwater management
system shall be designed by
an individual who meets any
North Carolina occupational
licensing requirements for
the type of system proposed
and approved during the
permit application process.
Redevelopment of areas
exceeding the 30 percent
impervious surface limitation
shall be permitted if
impervious areas are not
increased and the applicant
designs the project to comply
with the intent of the rule to
the maximum extent feasible;

and
(iii) The development shall meet
all state stormwater

management requirements as
required by the EMC;

(B) Non-water dependent uses over
estuarine waters, public trust waters
and coastal wetlands shall be allowed
only within Urban Waterfronts as set
out below.

) Existing  structures  over
coastal wetlands, estuarine
waters or public trust areas
may be used for commercial
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(i)

(iii)

non-water dependent
purposes. Commercial, non-
water dependent uses shall be
limited to restaurants and
retail services. Residential
uses, lodging and new
parking areas shall be
prohibited.
For the purposes of this Rule,
existing enclosed structures
may be replaced or expanded
vertically  provided that
vertical expansion does not
exceed the original footprint
of the structure, is limited to
one additional story over the
life of the structure, and is
consistent with local
requirements or limitations.
New structures built for non-
water dependent purposes are
limited to pile-supported,
single-story, unenclosed
decks and boardwalks, and
shall meet the following
criteria:
0] shall provide for
enhanced public
access to  the

shoreline;

) may be roofed, but
shall not be
enclosed by

partitions,  plastic
sheeting, screening,
netting, lattice or
solid walls of any
kind;

(nn shall  require no
filling of coastal
wetlands, estuarine
waters or public
trust areas;

(V) shall not extend
more than 20 feet
waterward of the
normal high water
level or normal
water level;

V) shall be elevated at
least three feet over
the wetland
substrate as
measured from the
bottom  of the
decking;

VI

VIl

extending over
coastal wetlands;
shall not interfere
with access to any
riparian  property
and shall have a
minimum setback of
15 feet between any
part of the structure
and the adjacent
property  owners'
areas of riparian
access. The line of
division of areas of
riparian access shall
be established by
drawing a line along
the channel or deep
water in front of the
properties, then
drawing a line
perpendicular to the
line of the channel
so that it intersects
with the shore at the
point the upland
property line meets
the water's edge.
The minimum
setback provided in
the rule may be
waived by the
written  agreement
of the adjacent
riparian owner(s) or
when two adjoining
riparian owners are
co-applicants.
Should the adjacent
property be sold
before construction
of the structure
commences, the
applicant shall
obtain a written
agreement with the
new owner waiving
the minimum
setback and submit
it to the permitting
agency prior to
initiating any
development;

shall be consistent
with the US Army
Corps of Engineers

(V1) shall have no more setbacks along
than six feet of any federally authorized
dimension waterways;
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(IX) shall have no QD Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion
significant adverse Control Activities:
impacts on fishery (A) All oceanfront erosion response
resources, water activities shall be consistent with the
quality or adjacent general policy statements in 15A
wetlands and there NCAC 07M .0200.
shall be no (B) Permanent erosion control structures
alternative that may cause significant adverse impacts
would avoid on the value and enjoyment of
wetlands. adjacent properties or public access to
Significant adverse and use of the ocean beach, and,
impacts include the therefore, unless specifically
development  that authorized under the Coastal Area
would impair water Management Act, are prohibited. Such
quality  standards, structures include bulkheads,
increase  shoreline seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins
erosion, alter and breakwaters
coastal wetlands or © Rules concerning the use of
Submerged Aquatic oceanfront erosion response measures
Vegetation (SAV), apply to all oceanfront properties
deposit spoils without regard to the size of the
waterward of structure on the property or the date of
normal water level its construction.
or normal high (D) Shoreline erosion response projects
water level, or cause shall not be constructed in beach or
degradation of estuarine areas that sustain substantial
shellfish beds; habitat for fish and wildlife species, as
(X) shall not degrade identified by natural resource agencies
waters classified as during  project review, unless
SA or High Quality mitigation measures are incorporated
Waters or ORW as into project design, as set forth in Rule
defined by the .0306(h) of this Section
EMC; (B) Project construction shall be timed to
(XN shall not degrade minimize adverse effects on biological
Critical Habitat activity.
Areas or Primary (3] Prior to completing any erosion
Nursery Areas as response project, all exposed remnants
defined by the NC of or debris from failed erosion control
Marine  Fisheries structures must be removed by the
Commission; and permittee.
(XI)  shall not pose a (G) Permanent erosion control structures
threat to navigation. that would otherwise be prohibited by
these standards may be permitted on
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 113A- finding by the Division that:
113(b); 113A-124; (i) the erosion control structure
Eff. September 1, 1977; is necessary to protect a
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; August 3, 1992; bridge that provides the only
December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1989; existing road access on a
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 15, 2001 (exempt from 270 barrier island, that is vital to
day requirement-S.L. 2000-142); public safety, and is
Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2002 (exempt from 270 imminently threatened by
day requirement-S.L. 2001-494); erosion as defined in Part
Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; March 1, 2010; April 1, 2008; August (8)(2)(B) of this Rule;
1, 2002. (i) the erosion response
measures of relocation, beach
15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS nourishment or temporary
FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS stabilization are not adequate
(a) Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: to protect public health and
safety; and
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(H)

(1

(iii) the proposed erosion control
structure  will have no
adverse impacts on adjacent

properties in private
ownership or on public use of
the beach.

Structures that would otherwise be
prohibited by these standards may also
be permitted on finding by the
Division that:

M the structure is necessary to
protect a state or federally
registered historic site that is
imminently threatened by
shoreline erosion as defined
in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule;

(ii) the erosion response
measures of relocation, beach
nourishment or temporary
stabilization are not adequate
and practicable to protect the
site;

(iii) the structure is limited in
extent and scope to that
necessary to protect the site;
and

(iv) a permit for a structure under
this Part may be issued only
to a sponsoring public agency
for projects where the public
benefits ~ outweigh  the
significant adverse impacts.
Additionally, the permit shall
include conditions providing
for mitigation or
minimization by that agency
of  significant  adverse
impacts on adjoining
properties and on public
access to and use of the
beach.

Structures that would otherwise be

prohibited by these standards may also

be permitted on finding by the

Division that:

0] the structure is necessary to
maintain an existing
commercial navigation
channel of regional

significance within federally
authorized limits;

(i) dredging alone is not
practicable to maintain safe
access to the affected
channel,

(iii) the structure is limited in
extent and scope to that
necessary to maintain the
channel,

©)

(K)

(iv) the structure shall not have
significant adverse impacts
on fisheries or other public
trust resources; and

v) a permit for a structure under
this Part may be issued only
to a sponsoring public agency
for projects where the public
benefits  outweigh  the
significant adverse impacts.
Additionally, the permit shall
include conditions providing
for mitigation or
minimization by that agency
of any significant adverse
impacts on adjoining
properties and on public
access to and use of the
beach.

The Commission may renew a permit

for an erosion control structure issued

pursuant to a variance granted by the

Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The

Commission may authorize the

replacement of a permanent erosion

control structure that was permitted by
the Commission pursuant to a variance

granted by the Commission prior to 1

July 1995 if the Commission finds

that:

(i) the structure will not be
enlarged beyond the
dimensions set out in the
permit;

(i) there is no  practical
alternative to replacing the
structure that will provide the
same or similar benefits; and

(iii) the replacement structure
will  comply  with all
applicable laws and with all
rules, other than the rule or
rules with respect to which
the Commission granted the
variance, that are in effect at
the time the structure is
replaced.

Proposed erosion response measures
using innovative technology or design
shall be considered as experimental
and shall be evaluated on a case-by-
case basis to determine consistency
with 156A° NCAC 07M .0200 and
general and specific use standards
within this Section.

Temporary Erosion Control Structures:

(A

Permittable temporary erosion control
structures shall be limited to sandbags
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(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

placed landward of mean high water
and parallel to the shore.

Temporary erosion control structures
as defined in Part (A) of this
Subparagraph may be used to protect
only imminently threatened roads and
associated right of ways, and buildings
and their associated septic systems. A
structure is considered imminently
threatened if its foundation, septic
system, or right-of-way in the case of
roads, is less than 20 feet away from
the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads
located more than 20 feet from the
erosion scarp or in areas where there is
no obvious erosion scarp may also be
found to be imminently threatened
when site conditions, such as a flat
beach profile or accelerated erosion,
increase the risk of imminent damage
to the structure.

Temporary erosion control structures
shall be used to protect only the
principal structure and its associated
septic system, but not appurtenances
such as pools, gazebos, decks or any
amenity that is allowed under Rule
.0309 of this Section as an exception
to the erosion setback requirement.
Temporary erosion control structures
may be placed waterward of a septic
system when there is no alternative to
relocate it on the same or adjoining lot
so that it is landward of or in line with
the structure being protected.
Temporary erosion control structures
shall not extend more than 20 feet past
the sides of the structure to be
protected except to align with
temporary erosion control structures
on adjacent properties, where the
Division has determined that gaps
between adjacent erosion control
structures may result in an increased
risk of damage to the structure to be
protected. The landward side of such
temporary erosion control structures
shall not be located more than 20 feet
waterward of the structure to be
protected, or the right-of-way in the
case of roads. If a building or road is
found to be imminently threatened and
at an increased risk of imminent
damage due to site conditions such as
a flat beach profile or accelerated
erosion, temporary erosion control
structures may be located more than
20 feet waterward of the structure
being protected. In cases of increased

(F)

©)

risk of imminent damage, the location
of the temporary erosion control
structures shall be determined by the
Director of the Division of Coastal
Management or the Director's
designee in accordance with Part (A)
of this Subparagraph.
Temporary erosion control structures
may remain in place for up to eight
years for a building and its associated
septic system, a bridge or a road. The
property owner shall be responsible
for removal of any portion of the
temporary erosion control structure
exposed above grade within 30 days of
the end of the allowable time period.

An imminently threatened structure or

property may be protected only once,

regardless of ownership, unless the
threatened structure or property is
located in a community that is actively
pursuing a beach nourishment project,
or an inlet relocation or stabilization
project in accordance with Part (H) of
this Subparagraph. Existing temporary
erosion control structures may be
permitted for additional eight-year
periods provided that the structure or
property being protected is still
imminently threatened, the temporary
erosion control structure is in
compliance with requirements of this

Subchapter, and the community in

which it is located is actively pursuing

a beach nourishment or an inlet

relocation or stabilization project in

accordance with Part (H) of this

Subparagraph. In the case of a

building, a temporary erosion control

structure may be extended, or new
segments constructed, if additional
areas of the building become
imminently  threatened. ~ Where
temporary structures are installed or
extended incrementally, the time
period for removal under Part (F) or

(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at

the time the initial erosion control

structure was installed. For the
purpose of this Rule:

Q) a building and its septic
system shall be considered
separate structures,

(i) a road or highway may be
incrementally protected as
sections become imminently
threatened. The time period
for removal of each
contiguous  section of
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(H)

(1

temporary erosion control
structure shall begin at the
time that the initial section
was installed, in accordance
with  Part (F) of this
Subparagraph.

For purposes of this Rule, a

community is considered to be

actively pursuing a beach nourishment
or an inlet relocation or stabilization
project in accordance with G.S. 113A-

115.1 ifit:

M has been issued an active
CAMA  permit,  where
necessary, approving such
project; or

(ii) has been identified by a U.S.
Army Corps of Engineers'

Beach Nourishment
Reconnaissance Study,
General Reevaluation

Report,  Coastal  Storm
Damage Reduction Study, or
an ongoing feasibility study
by the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers and a commitment
of local or federal money,
when necessary; or
(iii) has received a favorable
economic evaluation report
on a federal project; or
(iv) is in the planning stages of a
project designed by the U.S.
Army Corps of Engineers or
persons meeting applicable
State occupational licensing
requirements and initiated by
a local government or
community with a
commitment of local or state
funds to construct the project
or the identification of the
financial resources or
funding bases necessary to
fund the beach nourishment,
inlet relocation or
stabilization project.
If beach nourishment, inlet relocation
or stabilization is rejected by the
sponsoring agency or community, or
ceases to be actively planned for a
section of shoreline, the time
extension is void for that section of
beach or community and existing
sandbags are subject to all applicable
time limits set forth in Part (F) of this
Subparagraph.
Once a temporary erosion control
structure is determined by the Division

©)

(K)

L

(M)

(N)

of Coastal Management to be
unnecessary due to relocation or
removal of the threatened structure, it
shall be removed to the maximum
extent practicable by the property
owner within 30 days of official
notification from the Division of
Coastal Management regardless of the
time limit placed on the temporary
erosion control structure. If the
temporary erosion control structure is
determined by the Division of Coastal
Management to be unnecessary due to
the completion of a storm protection
project constructed by the U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers, a large-scale
beach nourishment project, or an inlet
relocation or stabilization project, any
portion of the temporary erosion
control structure exposed above grade
shall be removed by the property
owner within 30 days of official
notification from the Division of
Coastal Management regardless of the
time limit placed on the temporary
erosion control structure.

Removal of temporary erosion control
structures is not required if they are
covered by sand. Any portion of the
temporary erosion control structure
that becomes exposed above grade
after the expiration of the permitted
time period shall be removed by the
property owner within 30 days of
official notification from the Division
of Coastal Management.

The property owner shall be
responsible for the removal of
remnants of all portions of any
damaged temporary erosion control
structure.

Sandbags used to construct temporary
erosion control structures shall be tan
in color and three to five feet wide and
seven to 15 feet long when measured
flat. Base width of the temporary
erosion control structure shall not
exceed 20 feet, and the total height
shall not exceed six feet, as measured
from the bottom of the lowest bag.
Soldier pilings and other types of
devices to anchor sandbags shall not
be allowed.

Existing sandbag structures may be
repaired or replaced within their
originally ~ permitted  dimensions
during the time period allowed under
Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph.
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®3)

(4)

Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach
nourishment shall be compatible with existing
grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of
this Section.
Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined
as the process of moving natural beach material
from any point seaward of the first line of stable
vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to
obtain material for any other purpose) is
development and may be permitted as an
erosion response if the following conditions are
met:

(A) The area on which this activity is
being performed shall maintain a slope
of adequate grade so as to not
endanger the public or the public's use
of the beach and shall follow the pre-
emergency slope as closely as
possible. The movement of material
utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader,
backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth
moving or construction equipment
shall not exceed one foot in depth
measured from the pre-activity surface
elevation;

(B) The activity shall not exceed the
lateral bounds of the applicant's
property unless he has permission of
the adjoining land owner(s);

© Movement of material from seaward
of the mean low water line will require
a CAMA Major Development and
State Dredge and Fill Permit;

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion
on neighboring properties and shall
not have an adverse effect on natural
or cultural resources;

(E) The activity may be undertaken to
protect threatened on-site waste
disposal systems as well as the
threatened structure's foundations.

(b) Dune Establishment and Stabilization.

(1)

)

3)

(4)

Any new dunes established shall be aligned to
the greatest extent possible with existing
adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same
configuration as adjacent natural dunes.
Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not,
except for beach nourishment and emergency
situations, be broadened or extended in an
oceanward direction.

Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such
a manner that the damage to existing vegetation
is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted
or temporarily stabilized until planting can be
completed.

Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall
be of the same general characteristics as the
sand in the area in which it is to be placed.

®)
(6)

U]

No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard
areas.

Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the
frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot
or tract of land to the maximum extent
practicable and may be redistributed within the
Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not
placed any farther oceanward than the crest of
a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a
frontal dune.

No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed
when other techniques of construction can be
utilized and alternative site locations exist to
avoid dune impacts.

(c) Structural Accessways:

o))

)

©)

(4)

Structural accessways shall be permitted across
primary or frontal dunes so long as they are
designed and constructed in a manner that
entails negligible alteration of the primary or
frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be
considered threatened structures for the purpose
of Paragraph () of this Rule.

An accessway shall be considered to entail
negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes
provided that:

(A) The accessway is exclusively for

pedestrian use;

(B) The accessway is a maximum of six
feet in width;
© The accessway is raised on posts or

pilings of five feet or less depth, so
that wherever possible only the posts
or pilings touch the dune. Where this
is deemed by the Division of Coastal
Management to be impossible due to
any more restrictive local, state, and/or
federal building requirements, the
structure shall touch the dune only to
the necessary; and
(D) Any areas of vegetation that are
disturbed are revegetated as soon as
feasible.
An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A)
and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted
only if it meets a public purpose or need which
cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part
(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are
not prohibited provided all other applicable
standards of this Rule are met.
In order to preserve the protective nature of
primary and frontal dunes a structural
accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp') may be
provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or
emergency vehicle access. Such accessways
shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and
may be constructed of wooden sections
fastened together, or other materials approved
by the Division, over the length of the affected
dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall
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be done in a manner that will preserve the
dune's function as a protective barrier against
flooding and erosion by not reducing the
volume of the dune.

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no
more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe
of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do
not interfere with public trust rights and
emergency access along the beach. Structural
accessways are not restricted by the
requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as
described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section.

(d) Building Construction Standards. New building construction
and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of

this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the
following standards:

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all
development shall be designed and placed so as
to minimize damage due to fluctuations in
ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year
storm. Any building constructed within the
ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant
sections of the North Carolina Building Code
including the Coastal and Flood Plain
Construction Standards and the local flood
damage prevention ordinance as required by the
National Flood Insurance Program. If any
provision of the building code or a flood
damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent
with any of the following AEC standards, the
more restrictive provision shall control.

)] All building in the ocean hazard area shall be
on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter
if round or eight inches to a side if square.

3 All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater
than eight feet below the lowest ground
elevation under the structure. For those
structures so located on or seaward of the
primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five
feet below mean sea level.

4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable
during applicable fluctuations in ground
elevation and wave forces during a 100-year
storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall
meet the requirements of this Part or shall be
designed to break-away without structural
damage to the main structure.

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a);
113A-113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124;
Eff. June 1, 1979;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 20, 1989, for a period of 180
days to expire on December 17, 1989;

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; December 1, 1991; March 1, 1990;
December 1, 1989;

RRC Objection Eff. November 19, 1992 due to ambiguity;

RRC Objection Eff. January 21, 1993 due to ambiguity;
Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; December 28, 1992;

RRC Objection Eff. March 16, 1995 due to ambiguity;

113A-107(b);

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; May 4, 1995;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 3, 2000; May 22, 2000;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; April 1,
2008; February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002.

15ANCAC 07H .1704 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(a) Work permitted by means of an emergency general permit
shall be subject to the following limitations:

(D) No work shall begin until an onsite meeting is
held with the applicant and a Division of
Coastal Management representative so that the
scope of the proposed emergency work can be
delineated.

2 No work shall be permitted other than that
which is necessary to protect against or reduce
the imminent danger caused by the emergency,
to restore the damaged property to its condition
immediately before the emergency, or to re-
establish public facilities or transportation
corridors.

©) Any permitted temporary erosion control
projects shall be located no more than 20 feet
waterward of the imminently threatened
structure or the right-of way in the case of
roads, except as provided under 15A NCAC
07H .0308. If a building or road is found to be
imminently threatened and at increased risk of
imminent damage due to site conditions, such
as a flat beach profile or accelerated erosion,
temporary erosion control structures may be
located more than 20 feet waterward of the
structure being protected. In cases of increased
risk of imminent damage, the location of the
temporary erosion control structures shall be
determined by the Director of the Division of
Coastal Management or the Director's designee.

4) Fill materials used in conjunction with
emergency work for storm or erosion control
shall be obtained from an upland source.
Excavation below MHW in the Ocean Hazard
AEC may be allowed to obtain material to fill
sandbags used for emergency protection.

5) This emergency general permit allows the use
of oceanfront erosion control measures for all
oceanfront properties without regard to the size
of the existing structure on the property or the
date of construction.

(b) Individuals shall allow authorized representatives of the
Department of Environmental Quality to make inspections to
ensure that the activity being performed under authority of this
emergency general permit is in accordance with these Rules.

(c) Development shall not jeopardize the use of the waters for
navigation or for other public trust rights in public trust areas
including estuarine waters.

(d) This permit shall not be applicable to proposed construction
where the Department has determined, based on an initial review
of the application, that notice and review pursuant to G.S. 113A-
119 is necessary because there are unresolved questions
concerning the proposed activity's impact on adjoining properties
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or on water quality, air quality, coastal wetlands, cultural or
historic sites, wildlife, fisheries resources, or public trust rights.
(e) This permit does not eliminate the need to obtain any other
state, local, or federal authorization.

(f) Development carried out under this permit must be consistent
with all local requirements, CAMA rules, and local land use plans,
storm hazard mitigation, and post-disaster recovery plans current
at the time of authorization.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107(a),(b);

113A-113(b); 113A-118; 113A-118.1;

Eff. November 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990;

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 19, 1994;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; May 1, 2010; August 1, 1998; July 1,

1994.

15A NCAC 07H .1705 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
(&) Temporary Erosion Control Structures in the Ocean Hazard

Permittable  temporary  erosion  control
structures shall be limited to sandbags placed
landward of mean high water and parallel to the
shore.

Temporary erosion control structures as defined
in Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph may be
used to protect only imminently threatened
roads and associated right of ways, and
buildings and their associated septic systems. A
structure is considered imminently threatened if
its foundation, septic system, or right-of-way in
the case of roads is less than 20 feet away from
the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads located
more than 20 feet from the erosion scarp or in
areas where there is no obvious erosion scarp
may also be found to be imminently threatened
when the Division determines that site
conditions, such as a flat beach profile or
accelerated erosion, increase the risk of
imminent damage to the structure.

Temporary erosion control structures shall be
used to protect only the principal structure and
its associated septic system, but not
appurtenances such as pools, gazebos, decks or
any amenity that is allowed under 15A NCAC
07H .0309 as an exception to the erosion
setback requirement.

Temporary erosion control structures may be
placed waterward of a septic system when there
is no alternative to relocate it on the same or
adjoining lot so that it is landward of or in line
with the structure being protected.

Temporary erosion control structures shall not
extend more than 20 feet past the sides of the
structure to be protected except to align with
temporary erosion control structures on
adjacent properties, where the Division has
determined that gaps between adjacent erosion
control structures may result in an increased

(6)

)

risk of damage to the structure being protected.
The landward side of such temporary erosion
control structures shall not be located more than
20 feet waterward of the structure to be
protected or the right-of-way in the case of
roads. If a building or road is found to be
imminently threatened and at increased risk of
imminent damage due to site conditions such as
a flat beach profile or accelerated erosion,
temporary erosion control structures may be
located more than 20 feet waterward of the
structure being protected. In cases of increased
risk of imminent damage, the location of the
temporary erosion control structures shall be
determined by the Director of the Division of
Coastal Management or the Director's designee.
Temporary erosion control structures may
remain in place for up to eight years for a
building and its associated septic system, or a
bridge or a road. The property owner shall be
responsible for removal of any portion of the
temporary erosion control structure exposed
above grade within 30 days of the end of the
allowable time period.
For purposes of this Rule, a community is
considered to be actively pursuing a beach
nourishment or an inlet relocation or
stabilization project if it:
(A) has an active CAMA permit, where
necessary, approving such project; or
(B) has been identified by a U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers' Beach
Nourishment Reconnaissance Study,
General Reevaluation Report, Coastal
Storm Damage Reduction Study, or an
ongoing feasibility study by the U.S.
Army Corps of Engineers and a
commitment of local or federal
money, when necessary; or

© has received a favorable economic
evaluation report on a federal project;
or

(D) is in the planning stages of a project

designed by the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers or persons meeting
applicable State occupational
licensing requirements and initiated
by a local government or community
with a commitment of local or state
funds to construct the project or the
identification of the financial
resources or funding bases necessary
to fund the beach nourishment or inlet
relocation or stabilization project.
If beach nourishment, inlet relocation or
stabilization is rejected by the sponsoring
agency or community, or ceases to be actively
planned for a section of shoreline, the time
extension is void for that section of beach or

AEC.
1)
(2)
3
4
®)
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(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)

community and existing sandbags shall be
subject to all applicable time limits set forth in
Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph.

Once e a temporary erosion control structure is
determined by the Division of Coastal
Management to be unnecessary due to
relocation or removal of the threatened
structure, it shall be removed by the property
owner to the maximum extent practicable
within 30 days of official notification from the
Division of Coastal Management, regardless of
the time limit placed on the temporary erosion
control structure. If the temporary erosion
control structure is determined by the Division
of Coastal Management to be unnecessary due
to the completion of a storm protection project
constructed by the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers, a large scale beach nourishment
project, or an inlet relocation or stabilization
project, any portion of the temporary erosion
control structure exposed above grade shall be
removed by the permittee within 30 days of
official notification by the Division of Coastal
Management regardless of the time limit placed
on the temporary erosion control structure.
Removal of temporary erosion control
structures is not required if they are covered by
sand. Any portion of a temporary erosion
control structure that becomes exposed above
grade after the expiration of the permitted time
period shall be removed by the property owner
within 30 days of official notification from the
Division of Coastal Management.

The property owner shall be responsible for the
removal of remnants of all portions of any
damaged temporary erosion control structure.
Sandbags used to construct temporary erosion
control structures shall be tan in color and 3 to
5 feet wide and 7 to 15 feet long when measured
flat. Base width of the structure shall not exceed
20 feet, and the total height shall not exceed 6
feet, as measured from the bottom of the lowest
bag.

Soldier pilings and other types of devices to
anchor sandbags shall not be allowed.
Excavation below mean high water in the
Ocean Hazard AEC may be allowed to obtain
material to fill sandbags used for emergency
protection.

An imminently threatened structure may be
protected by a temporary erosion control
structure only once regardless of ownership,
unless the threatened structure is located in a
community that is actively pursuing a beach
nourishment project, an inlet relocation or
stabilization project in accordance with
Subparagraph (7) of this Paragraph. Existing
temporary erosion control structures may be
permitted for additional eight-year periods

(15)

provided that the structure being protected is
still imminently threatened, the temporary
erosion control structure is in compliance with
requirements of this Subparagraph, and the
community in which it is located is actively
pursuing a beach nourishment or an inlet
relocation or stabilization project in accordance
with Subparagraph (7) of this Paragraph. In the
case of a building, a temporary erosion control
structure may be extended, or new segments
constructed, if additional areas of the building
become imminently threatened. Where
temporary structures are installed or extended
incrementally, the time period for removal
under Subparagraph (6) or (7) of this Paragraph
shall begin at the time the initial erosion control
structure is installed. For the purpose of this

Rule:

(A) a building and its associated septic
system shall be considered as separate
structures; and

B) a road or highway shall be allowed to
be incrementally protected as sections
become imminently threatened. The
time period for removal of each
contiguous section of sandbags shall
begin at the time that section is
installed in  accordance  with
Subparagraph (6) or (7) of this
Paragraph.

Existing temporary erosion control structures

may be repaired or replaced within their

originally permitted dimensions during the time
period allowed under Subparagraph (6) or (7) of
this Paragraph.

(b) Erosion Control Structures in the Estuarine Shoreline,
Estuarine Waters, and Public Trust AECs. Work permitted by this
Rule shall be subject to the following limitations:

M

@

The erosion control structure shall be located no
more than 20 feet waterward of the imminently
threatened structure. If a building or road is
found to be imminently threatened and at
increased risk of imminent damage due to site
conditions such as a flat shore profile or
accelerated erosion, temporary erosion control
structures may be located more than 20 feet
waterward of the structure being protected. In
cases of increased risk of imminent damage, the
location of the temporary erosion control
structures shall be determined by the Director
of the Division of Coastal Management or the
Director's designee.

Fill material used in conjunction with
emergency work for storm or erosion control in
the Estuarine Shoreline, Estuarine Waters and
Public Trust AECs shall be obtained from an
upland source.

(c) Protection, Rehabilitation, or Temporary Relocation of Public
Facilities or Transportation Corridors. This permit authorizes only
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the immediate protection or temporary rehabilitation or relocation
of existing public facilities. Long-term stabilization or relocation
of public facilities shall be consistent with local governments'
post-disaster recovery plans and policies which are part of their
Land Use Plans.
(1) Work permitted by this general permit shall be
subject to the following limitations:

(A) no work shall be permitted other than
that which is necessary to protect
against or reduce the imminent danger
caused by the emergency or to restore
the damaged property to its condition
immediately before the emergency;

(B) the erosion control structure shall be
located no more than 20 feet
waterward of the imminently
threatened structure or the right-of-
way in the case of roads. If a public
facility or transportation corridor is
found to be imminently threatened and
at increased risk of imminent damage
due to site conditions such as a flat
shore profile or accelerated erosion,
temporary erosion control structures
may be located more than 20 feet
waterward of the facility or corridor
being protected. In cases of increased
risk of imminent damage, the location
of the temporary erosion control
structures shall be determined by the
Director of the Division of Coastal
Management or the Director's
designee  in  accordance  with
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.

© any fill materials used in conjunction
with emergency work for storm or
erosion control shall be obtained from
an upland source except that dredging
for fill material to protect public
facilities or transportation corridors
shall be considered in accordance with
standards in 15A NCAC 07H .0208;
and

(D) all fill materials or structures
associated with temporary relocations
which are located within Coastal
Wetlands, Estuarine Water, or Public
Trust AECs shall be removed after the
emergency event has ended and the
area restored to pre-disturbed
conditions.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107(a),(b);
113A-113(b); 113A-115.1; 113A-118.1;

Eff. November 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; June 1, 1995;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 3, 2000; May 22, 2000;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; May 1, 2013; May 1, 2010; August
1, 2002.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

19A NCAC 02D .1101 PURPOSE AND SCOPE

(@) The Department shall ensure that Disadvantaged Business
Enterprises (DBE), have the opportunity to participate in the
performance of contracts financed in whole or in part with Federal
funds.

(b) The Department shall ensure that Disadvantaged Minority-
owned Business Enterprises (MBE) and Disadvantaged Women-
owned Business Enterprises (WBE) may have the opportunity to
participate in the performance of contracts financed with non-
Federal funds.

(c) 49 C.F.R. Part 23, Participation of Disadvantaged Business
Enterprise in Airport Concession, and Part 26, Participation by
Disadvantaged Business Enterprises in Department of
Transportation Financial Assistance Programs, are incorporated
by reference, including all subsequent amendments and editions.
49 C.F.R. 23 and 26 are available at no cost by accessing
https://www.govinfo.gov/.

(d) The DBE/UCP Program Manager may be contacted by phone
at 919-707-2800.

(e) The Department DBE, MBE, and WBE directory may be
accessed, at no cost to the public,c by Vvisiting
https:www.ebs.nc.gov/VendorDirectory/default.html.

(f) Unified Certification Applications may be obtained at no cost
by accessing https://www.ncdot.gov, or from the DBE/UCP
Program Manager, 919-707-2800. The substantive requirements
of the Unified Certification Application are detailed at 19A
NCAC 02D .1103.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19ANCAC 02D .1102 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 136-28.4, the following
terms shall apply for purposes of this Section:

(8] Disadvantaged Business Enterprise shall have
the same meaning as provided in 49 C.F.R.
26.5(2).

2) Disadvantaged Minority-owned Business shall

have the same meaning as a Disadvantaged
Business Enterprise.

3 Disadvantaged Women-owned Business shall
have the same meaning as a Disadvantaged
Business Enterprise.

(@) Minority Business Enterprise shall have the
same meaning as a Disadvantaged Business

Enterprise.

(5) Women Business Enterprise shall have the
same meaning as Disadvantaged Business
Enterprise.

(6) The Department's Unified Certification

Program (UCP) is responsible for certification
of Disadvantaged Business Enterprises in
accordance with in 49 C.F.R. Part 26.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1103 CERTIFICATION OF FIRMS

(@) In order to be certified by the Department as a Disadvantaged
Business Enterprise, disadvantaged Minority-owned Business
Enterprise, or disadvantaged Women-owned Business Enterprise,
the business enterprise shall submit a Unified Certification
Application and supporting documentation to the Department.
Information on Unified Certification Applications and its
requirements may be found at 49 C.F.R. Appendix F to Part 26 or
by accessing
https://connect.ncdot.gov/business/SmallBusiness/Disadvantage

d%20Businesses%20Documents/DBE_1b.pdf.  Please  send
applications to NCDOT DBE Certification, 1511 MAIL
SERVICE CENTER, RALEIGH, NC 27699-1511.

(b) Upon Receipt of the application, the Department shall review
the application in accordance with the applicable certification
standards and procedures as set forth in 49 C.F.R. 23.31 and 49
C.F.R. 26.61 through 26.91.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1104 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION
Each firm certified as a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise,
disadvantaged Minority-owned Business Enterprise, or
disadvantaged Women-owned Business Enterprise shall satisfy
the annual affidavit requirements of 49 C.F.R. 26.83(i).

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1105
CONTROL

Pursuant to, and in accordance with, 49 C.F.R. 26.83(i), any time
a firm certified with the Department has a change of ownership,
control, business size, type of work, or other factors that affect the
firm's eligibility as a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise,
disadvantaged  Minority-owned Business Enterprise, or
disadvantaged Women-owned Business Enterprise, the firm shall
inform the Department in writing within 30 days of the change.

CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP OR

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19ANCAC 02D .1106 DECERTIFICATION

If the Department finds a firm in non-compliance with the
eligibility requirements of 49 C.F.R. 23 or 26, then that firm shall
be suspended or decertified in accordance with 49 C.F.R. 23.31
through 23.39, if the firm is a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise

for Airport Concessions, or 49 C.F.R. 26.87 and 26.88 for all other
firms.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;
Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1107
CERTIFICATION
(a) Any Minority Business Enterprise firm or Women Business
Enterprise firm denied certification or decertified may file an
appeal of that action to the Department's DBE/UCP Program
Manager.

1) The appeal shall be received by the Department
within 30 calendar days of the notice of denial
or decertification. Upon receipt of the appeal,
the DBE/UCP Program Manager shall schedule
a hearing for the firm with the Department's
Disadvantaged Business Enterprise, Minority

APPEALS OF DENIAL OF

Business  Enterprise, Women  Business
Enterprise Appeals Committee.
2 If the denial of certification or decertification is

upheld by the Department's appeals committee,
the Minority Business Enterprise firm or
Women Business Enterprise firm may file a
written appeal to the Secretary of
Transportation within 30 days of the
committee's decision.

3) If the denial of certification is upheld by the
Secretary of Transportation, the decision shall
be final.

(b)  Any Disadvantaged Business Enterprise firm denied
certification or decertified may file an appeal of that action as
follows:

(8] The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise firm
may file an appeal to the Department's
DBE/UCP Program Manager. The appeal shall
be received by the Department within 30
calendar days of the notice of denial. Upon
receipt of the appeal, the DBE/UCP Program
Manager shall schedule a hearing for the firm
with the Department's appeals committee.

2 The Disadvantaged Business Enterprise firm
may file a written appeal within 90 days of
notice of appeal directly to the U.S. Department
of Transportation, Office of Civil Rights in
accordance with Parts 23 and 26 of Title 49 of
the Code of Federal Regulations.

3 The appeals may be filed simultaneously.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1108 GOALS
(a) The Department shall perform an analysis to determine the
availability of eligibility, of Disadvantaged Business Enterprise,
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Minority-owned Business Enterprise, and Women-owned
Business Enterprise firms relative to all businesses available to
participate in Department projects in accordance with 49 C.F.R.
Part 26. Goals for Disadvantaged Business Enterprise, Minority-
owned Business Enterprise, and Women-owned Business
Enterprise firms shall be established in accordance with 49 C.F.R.
26.41 through 26.55, and G.S. 136-28.4(b1). The goal or goals
shall be prescribed in the project proposal as a percent of the
bidder's construction bid price.

(b) A contractor shall ensure that eligible firms participate in at
least the percentage of the contract as required by the project
proposal. For purposes of these Rules, "a contractor" is any party
who participate in a State funded or US Department of
Transportation-assisted highway, transit, or airport project
through a contract or subcontract at any tier.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1109 COUNTING PARTICIPATION
TOWARD MEETING THE GOAL

Participation ~ of  Disadvantaged Business  Enterprise,
disadvantaged Minority-owned Business Enterprise, and Women-
owned Business Enterprise firms for federally funded and non-
federally funded projects shall be counted in accordance with 49
C.F.R. 26.41 through 26.55.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1110 GOOD FAITH REQUIREMENTS
FOR ESTABLISHED GOALS
A contractor who does not meet the goals established in the
project shall comply with the good faith requirements as set forth
in 49 C.F.R. Appendix A Part 26.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1111
FIRMS

If a certified firm, utilized to meet the goal established pursuant
to 49 C.F.R. Part 26, is replaced, then the replacement shall
comply with 49 CFR. 26.53.

REPLACEMENT OF CERTIFIED

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

19A NCAC 02D .1112 REPLACEMENT OF A FIRM
REMOVED BY DECERTIFICATION

If a certified firm, utilized to meet the goal established pursuant
to 49 C.F.R. Part 26, is decertified, and is replaced. The
replacement shall comply with 49 C.F.R. 26.53.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 136-28.4; 143B-348;
Eff. April 30, 1997;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008;

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2019.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 06 - BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 06A .0102 ADDRESS

(@) The Board's mailing address is 7001 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-7000 and email address is
barberboard@nc.gov.

(b) The Board's physical address is 5809-102 Departure Drive,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27616.

(c) The Board's website address is www.ncharbers.com.

(d) The Board's phone number is (919) 814-0640.

History Note: Authority G.S. 86A-6;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;
Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 06F .0113 STUDENT PERMIT

(a) The barber school shall submit an application as required by
21 NCAC 06N .0104 for a student permit to the Board at an
address listed in 21 NCAC 06A .0102.

(b) The Board shall issue the student permit within:

D Five business days for applications submitted
online; or
2 Ten calendar days for applications submitted by

mail or in person.
(c) A student cannot be enrolled in the school until the Board
issues the student permit. The student shall receive no credit for
training received in barber school until a student permit has been
issued for the student.
(d) Within five business days of the date on which any student
completes his or her course of study, drops out of school, or
transfers to another school, the barber school shall return the
student permit to the Board.
(e) The Board issues a student permit only for the specific
application. Once a student permit is issued, the Board shall not
refund the fee.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 86A-22;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. February 8, 1978;

Amended Eff. June 1, 2008; May 1, 1989; March 1, 1983;
Readopted Eff. July 1, 2016;
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Amended Eff. April 1, 2019. 2 meet the requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.3
and has not committed any of the acts listed in
21 NCAC 06F .0127 STATE AUTHORIZATION AS A G.S. 90-14;
POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION 3) supply a certified copy of the applicant's birth
(@) If a barber school seeks to be authorized by the Board as a certificate if the applicant was born in the
postsecondary educational institution as set forth in 34 C.F.R. United States or a certified copy of an
600.9: unexpired U.S. passport. If the applicant does
(1) the school handbooks and enrollment not possess a certified birth certificate or
agreements required by 21 NCAC 06F .0125 unexpired U.S. passport, the applicant shall
shall require prospective students to have a high provide information about the applicant's
school diploma or equivalent; and immigration and work status that the Board
2 the school shall submit a copy of the student's shall use to verify applicant's ability to work
high school diploma or equivalency lawfully in the United States;
documentation with each Form BAR-3 required 4 submit to the Board an education form that the
by 21 NCAC 06N .0104 as set forth in 21 applicant completed a Physician Assistant
NCAC 06F .0113. Educational Program. He or she shall also show
(b) If a barber school meets the requirements set forth in proof of achieving a passing score of
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Board shall include the phrase completion of the Physician Assistant National
"Postsecondary Institution™ on the barber school permit issued Certifying Examination;
under G.S. 86A-13. If the school already holds a school permit (5) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee of two
issued by the Board, the Board shall issue the permit with the hundred thirty dollars ($230.00) plus the cost of
phrase "Postsecondary Institution™ at no additional cost, and the a criminal background check. There is no fee to
school shall relinquish the permit without the phrase to the Board. apply for a physician assistant limited volunteer
(c) The Board shall determine that a school no longer complies license;
with Paragraph (a) based on an inspection or investigation, (6) submit National Practitioner Data Bank
notification to the Board by the school, or a failure by the school (NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and
to comply with Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule. If the Board makes Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) reports. These
this determination: reports shall be requested by the applicant and
1) the Board shall issue at no charge a duplicate submitted to the Board within 60 days of the
copy of the permit without the phrase request;
"Postsecondary Institution"; @) submit a Board Action Data Bank Inquiry
)] the school shall relinquish to the Board the report from the Federation of State Medical
permit with the phrase "Postsecondary Boards (FSMB). This report shall be requested
Institution”; and by the applicant and submitted to the Board
3 the Board shall notify the federal Department of within 60 days of the request;
Education of the school's change in (8) submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007
postsecondary status. Raleigh, NC 27619, two complete original
(d) This Rule shall not be construed to authorize the Board to fingerprint record cards, on fingerprint record
delay issuing a permit without the phrase "Postsecondary cards supplied by the Board upon request;
Institution" to a school that otherwise meets the requirements of (C)] submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007,
the North Carolina General Statutes and the rules of the Board. Raleigh, NC 27619 or
license@ncmedboard.org, a signed consent
History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 86A-13; 86A-22; 20 U.S.C. form allowing a search of local, state, and
1001; 20 U.S.C. 1002; 34 C.F.R. 600.9; national files to disclose any criminal record,;
Eff. January 1, 2017; (10) disclose whether he or she has ever been
Amended Eff. April 1, 2019. suspended from, placed on academic probation,
expelled, or required to resign from any school,
FhEkrxkkhdkkkkkhkkxx including a PA educational program;
(11) attest that he or she has no license, certificate,
CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD or registration as a physician assistant currently
under discipline, revocation, suspension,
21 NCAC 32S.0202 QUALIFICATIONS AND probation, or any other action resulting from a
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE health care licensing board;
(a) Except as otherwise provided in this Subchapter, an individual (12) certify that he or she is mentally and physically
shall obtain a license from the Board before practicing as a able to practice as a physician assistant;
physician assistant. An applicant for a physician assistant license (13) provide the Board with two original
shall: recommendation forms dated within six months
(1) submit a completed application, available at of the application, at P. O. Box 20007, Raleigh,
www.ncmedboard.org, to the Board; NC 27619, These recommendations shall come
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from persons under whom the applicant has
worked or trained who are familiar with the
applicant's academic competence, clinical
skills, and character. At least one reference
form shall be from a physician and the other
reference form must be from a physician
assistant peer under whom the applicant has
worked or trained. References shall not be from
any family member or, in the case of applicants
who have not been licensed anywhere,
references shall not be from fellow students of
the applicant's Physician Assistant Educational

Program;
(14) if two years or more have passed since
graduation from a Physician Assistant

Educational Program, document that he or she
has completed at least 100 hours of continuing
medical education (CME) during the preceding
two years, at least 50 hours of which must be
recognized by the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants as
Category | CME. An applicant who is currently
certified with the NCCPA shall be deemed in
compliance with this Subparagraph; and
(b) In the event any of the information required by Paragraph (a)
of this Rule indicates a concern about the applicant's
qualifications, the applicant shall supply any other information the
Board deems necessary to evaluate the applicant's qualifications,
including explanation or documentation of the information
required in this Rule. In addition, an applicant may be required to
appear in person for an interview with the Board, if the Board
determines that more information is needed to evaluate the
application.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-11; 90-13.2; 90-
14(a); 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.1;

Eff. September 1, 2009;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2016; May 1, 2015; March 1, 2011;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 32S .0204 ANNUAL RENEWAL
(a) A physician assistant shall renew his or her license each year
no later than 30 days after his or her birthday by:
(D) completing the Board's renewal form; and
2 submitting a nonrefundable fee of one hundred
sixty-five dollars ($165.00), except that a
physician assistant who renews not later than 30
days after his or her birthday shall pay an
annual renewal fee of one hundred forty dollars
($140.00);
(b) If a physician assistant fails to renew his or her license, the
Board shall send a certified notice, return receipt requested. If the
physician assistant does not renew his or her license within 30
days of the date of the mailing of that notice, his or her license
shall automatically be inactive.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-9.3(c); 90-13.2;

Eff. September 1, 2009;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.

21 NCAC 325 .0220 EXPEDITED APPLICATION
FOR PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT LICENSURE

(@) A physician assistant who has been licensed, certified, or
authorized to practice in at least one other state, the District of
Columbia, U.S. Territory or Canadian province for at least five
years, has been in active clinical practice during the past two years
and who has a clean license application, as defined in Paragraph
(c) of this Rule, may apply for a license on an expedited basis.
(b) Inorder to apply for an expedited Physician Assistant License,
an applicant shall:

1) submit a completed application, using the
Board's form, attesting under oath that the
information on the application is true and
complete, and authorizing the release to the
Board of all information pertaining to the
application;

2 submit documentation of a legal name change,
if applicable;

©) on the Board's form, submit a photograph, at
least two inches by two inches, certified as a
true likeness of the applicant by a notary public;

(@) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth
certificate if applicant was born in the United
States or a certified copy of a valid and
unexpired US passport. If the applicant does not
possess a certified birth certificate or an
unexpired U.S. passport, the applicant must
provide information about applicant's
immigration and work status, which the Board
will use to verify applicant's ability to work
lawfully in the United States;

5) provide a certified copy of any license,
certification or authorization as a physician
assistant the applicant has acquired in at least
one other state or jurisdiction for the last five
years immediately preceding this application;

(6) submit proof of achieving a passing score of
completion of the Physician Assistant National
Certifying Examination;

@) submit proof of unexpired certification by the
National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants;

(8) provide proof of clinical practice, providing
patient care for an average of 20 hours or more
per week, for at least the last two years;

9 submit National Practitioner Data Bank
(NPDB) and Healthcare Integrity and
Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) reports. These
reports shall be requested by the applicant and
submitted to the Board within 60 days of the
request;

(10) submit a Board Action Data Bank Inquiry
report from the Federation of State Medical
Boards (FSMB). This report shall be requested
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by the applicant and submitted to the Board
within 60 days of the request;

(11) submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007,
Raleigh, NC 27619, two complete original
fingerprint record cards, on fingerprint record
cards supplied by the Board upon request;

(12) submit to the Board, at P. O. Box 20007,
Raleigh, NC 27619 or
license@ncmedboard.org, a signed consent
form allowing a search of local, state, and
national files to disclose any criminal record;

(13) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee of two
hundred thirty dollars ($230.00), as required by
21 NCAC 32S.0202, plus the cost of a criminal
background check;

(14) upon  request, supply any additional
information the Board deems necessary to
evaluate the applicant's qualifications.

(c) A clean license application means that the physician assistant
has none of the following:

@ professional liability insurance claims or
payments;
)] misdemeanor or felony conviction;

?3) medical conditions which could affect the
physician assistant's ability to practice safely;
4 regulatory board complaints, investigations, or

actions (including applicant's withdrawal of a
license application);

(5) action taken by a health care institution;

(6) investigations or actions taken by a federal
agency, the US military, medical societies or
associations; or

@) suspension or expulsion from any school,
including an educational program for physician
assistants.

(d) When possible, all reports must be submitted to the Board
from the entity that created the report.
(e) Allinformation required by this Rule shall be provided within
one year of submitting the application.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-13.1;

Eff. November 1, 2010;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission May 16, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission
should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific instructions and
addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000. Anyone wishing to address the Commission
should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting. Please refer to
RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeff Hyde (15t Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins
Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2" Vice Chair)

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
May 16, 2019 June 20, 2019
July 18, 2019 August 15, 2019

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, MAY 16, 2019 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting

M. Follow-up matters
A. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104,
.0105, .0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105;
08 .010 4; 09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May)
Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder)
Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408,
.0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107,
.0108, .0109, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127,
.0138, .0139, .0140, .0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202,
.1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 (May)
D. Environmental Management Commission - 15ANCAC 02B .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606,
.0608, .0610, .0611, .0612, .0715, .0720, .0721, .0722, .0735; 02H .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0507,
.1301, .1302, .1303, .1304, .1306 (Reeder)

ow

E. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02H .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906,
.0907, .0908, .0909, .0910, .0912, .0913, .0914, .0915, .0916, .0917, .0918, .0919, .0920, .0921, .0922
(Reeder)

F. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02L .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406,

.0407, .0408, .0409, .0410, .0411, .0412, .0413, .0414, .0415, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506,
.0507, .0508, .0509, .0510, .0511, .0512, .0513, .0514, .0515 (May)

G. Marriage and Family Therapy Licensure Board - 21 NCAC 31 .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301, .0401, .0403,
.0404, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0609, .0701, .0801, .0802, .1001, .1002 (Reeder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between March 21, 2019 and April 22, 2019

) Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
. DHHS - Division of Health Benefits (Reeder)
. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (May)
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Wildlife Resources Commission (May)

Department of Transportation (May)

Supplemental Retirement Board of Trustees/ Department of State Treasurer (Reeder)
Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board (May)

Appraisal Board (May)

Real Estate Commission (May)

Respiratory Care Board

Building Code Council (Reeder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting

VI. Existing Rules Review
° Review of Reports
1. 10A NCAC 27G - Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS (May)
2. 10A NCAC 27G - DHHS - Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS (May)
3. 10A NCAC 27G - Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS/Division of Mental Health/DD/SAS

(May)
4. 15A NCAC 18A - Commission for Public Health (May)

VILI. Commission Business
H. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule
. Executive Committee to meet following Commission Business
. Next meeting: Thursday, June 20, 2019

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
March 21, 2019 through April 22, 2019

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Subchapter 2| concern library development including organizational rules (.0100); state aid to public libraries
(.0200); and organization of regional libraries (.0300).

Qualifications for Grant Eligibility 07 NCAC 021 .0201
Amend*

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF
The rules in Chapter 23 concern the administration of medical assistance.

The rules in Subchapter 23A concern general administration of the program.

Quality Assurance 10A NCAC 23A .0103
Readopt with Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 23C concern application for Medicaid benefits including the application process (.0100); and
application, processing, monitoring and corrective action (.0200).

Application Processing Standards 10A NCAC 23C .0201
Readopt with Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 23D concern Medicaid eligibility groups (0100); and classification (.0200).

Mandatory Groups 10A NCAC 23D .0101
Readopt/Repeal*

Optional Groups 10A NCAC 23D .0102
Readopt/Repeal*
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Classification 10A NCAC 23D .0201
Readopt/Repeal*

The rules in Subchapter 23E concern Medicaid eligibility requirements including non-financial requirements (.0100); and
financial requirements (.0200).

Age 10A NCAC 23E .0101
Readopt/Repeal*

United States Citizen 10A NCAC 23E .0102
Readopt/Repeal*

Residence 10A NCAC 23E .0103
Readopt with Changes*

Deprivation 10A NCAC 23E .0104
Readopt/Repeal*

Disability 10A NCAC 23E .0105
Readopt without Changes*

Blindness 10A NCAC 23E .0106
Readopt without Changes*

Caretaker Relative 10A NCAC 23E .0107
Readopt/Repeal*

Inmate of Public Institution or Private Psychiatric Hospital 10A NCAC 23E .0108
Readopt/Repeal*

Applying for all Benefits and Annuities 10A NCAC 23E .0201
Readopt with Changes*

What Resources are Counted 10A NCAC 23E .0202
Readopt with Changes*

Countable Income 10A NCAC 23E .0203
Readopt with Changes*

Personal Needs Allowance 10A NCAC 23E .0204
Readopt/Repeal*

Budget Unit Membership 10A NCAC 23E .0205
Readopt with Changes*

Financial Responsibility and Deeming 10A NCAC 23E .0206
Readopt/Repeal*

Whose Resources are Counted 10A NCAC 23E .0207
Readopt with Changes*

Calculating Income 10A NCAC 23E .0208
Readopt with Changes*

Deductible 10A NCAC 23E .0209
Readopt without Changes*

Patient Liability 10A NCAC 23E .0210
Readopt without Changes*

Alien Sponsor Deeming 10A NCAC 23E .0211

Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 23G concern Medicaid certification (.0100); correction of erroneous eligibility (.0200); and
redetermination of eligibility and change in situation (.0300).

Certification and Authorization 10A NCAC 23G .0101
Readopt/Repeal*

General 10A NCAC 23G .0201
Readopt without Changes*

Corrective Actions 10A NCAC 23G .0202

Readopt without Changes*
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Time Limits for Corrections 10A NCAC 23G .0203
Readopt without Changes*

Responsibility for Errors 10A NCAC 23G .0204
Readopt with Changes*

Recommendation 10A NCAC 23G .0303
Readopt/Repeal*

Change In Situation 10A NCAC 23G .0304

Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 23H concern confidentiality and access to client records.

Liability of Persons with Access 10A NCAC 23H .0106
Readopt without Changes™
Right of Access 10A NCAC 23H .0107
Readopt without Changes*
Withholding Information from the Client 10A NCAC 23H .0108
Readopt without Changes*
Procedure for Review of Records 10A NCAC 23H .0109
Readopt without Changes*
Consent for Release 10A NCAC 23H .0110
Readopt without Changes*
Disclosure Without Client Consent 10A NCAC 23H .0111
Readopt without Changes*
Documentation of Consent or Disclosure 10A NCAC 23H .0112
Readopt without Changes*
Persons Designated to Disclose Information 10A NCAC 23H .0113

Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Chapter 25 concern medical assistance provided.

The rules in Subchapter 25A concern general medical services.

Medical Services 10A  NCAC 25A .0201
Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 25H concern dental services.

Standards for Participation 10A NCAC 25H .0203
Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 25K concern drugs/pharmacy services including pharmacy services (.0200); the drug use
review board (.0300); prospective drug review (.0400); retrospective drug use (DUR) (.0500).

Pharmacy Services 10A NCAC 25K .0201
Readopt/Repeal*
Patient Counseling 10A NCAC 25K .0401

Readopt without Changes*
The rules in Subchapter 25M concern facilities.

Inpatient Hospital Services 10A NCAC 25M .0201
Readopt/Repeal*

The rules in Subchapter 25P concern medical-surgical including inpatient hospital services (.0200); outpatient hospital
services (.0300); and other services (.0400).

Inpatient Hospital Services 10A NCAC 25P .0201
Readopt/Repeal*
33:21 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MAY 1, 2019

2148



RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

Outpatient Hospital Services 10A NCAC 25P .0301
Readopt/Repeal*
Clinic Services 10A NCAC 25P .0402
Readopt/Repeal*

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

Rules in Subchapter 10B are from the N. C. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission. These rules govern
the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); minimum standards for employment as
a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); standards and accreditation for justice
officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate and awards programs for sheriffs,
depuities, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-.1700); in-service training (.2000); and
firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100).

Time Reg/Completion/Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 12 NCAC 10B .0503
Amend*

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500);
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600).

Manner of Taking Nongame Fishes: Purchase and Sale 15A NCAC 10C .0401
Amend*

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Subchapter 2B concern highway planning including right of way (.0100); traffic engineering (.0200); chief
engineer-programs (.0300); relocation assistance procedures (.0400); utility encroachments (.0500); and driveway
entrances (.0600).

Construction of Railroad Tracks Across Right of Way 19A NCAC 02B .0150
Readopt without Changes*

Signalization of Existing Grade Crossing 19A NCAC 02B .0152
Readopt/Repeal*

Signalization of New Grade Crossing 19A NCAC 02B .0153
Readopt with Changes*

Cost of Railroad Separation Structures 19A NCAC 02B .0154
Readopt without Changes*

Construction and Maintenance of Railroad Crossing 19A NCAC 02B .0155
Readopt without Changes*

Paving of Roadway Surface Crossing Railroad Tracks 19A NCAC 02B .0156
Readopt without Changes™

Cost of Changing Elevation of Railroad Facilities 19A NCAC 02B .0157
Readopt without Changes*

Changing Grade of Road When Grade of RR Tracks is Changed 19A NCAC 02B .0158
Readopt without Changes*

Negotiation with Municipalities and Municipal Agreements 19A NCAC 02B .0315

Readopt without Changes™

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways. The rules in Subchapter 2D concern highway operations
including standards for design and construction (.0100); landscape (.0200); field operations-maintenance and
equipment (.0400); ferry operations (.0500); oversize-overweight permits (.0600); highway design branch (.0700);
prequalification advertising and bidding regulations (.0800); regulations for informal construction and repair contracts
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(.0900); adopt-a-highway program (.1000); and disadvantaged business enterprise, minority business enterprise and
women business enterprise programs for highway and bridge construction contracts (.1100).

Curb and Gutter and Underground Drainage on Highways 19A NCAC 02D .0402
Readopt without Changes*

Use of Dust Allaying Materials 19A NCAC 02D .0403
Readopt without Changes™

Examples of Construction and Maintenance Activities 19A NCAC 02D .0405
Readopt/Repeal*

Rental of Supplemental Equipment 19A NCAC 02D .0410
Readopt without Changes*

Location of Garbage Collection Containers 19A NCAC 02D .0414
Readopt without Changes™

Installation of Driveway Pipe 19A NCAC 02D .0421
Readopt without Changes*

Federal Disaster Assistance 19A NCAC 02D .0425
Readopt/Repeal*

Ferry Reservations 19A NCAC 02D .0535
Readopt without Changes*

Vehicle Weight Limitations 19A NCAC 02D .0538
Readopt without Changes*

Vehicle Physical Dimension Limitations 19A NCAC 02D .0539

Readopt without Changes*

The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200);
junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances (.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or
specialized services (.0700); solicitation of contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of
newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented
directional sign program (.1100); private property owners (.1200).

Unzoned Industrial Area 19A NCAC 02E .0301
Readopt without Changes*
Fees 19A NCAC 02E .0303

Readopt without Changes*

SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT BOARD OF TRUSTEES/STATE TREASURER, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 11 concern administrative fees of supplemental retirement plans.

Administrative Fees: NC 401(K) and NC 457 Plans 20 NCAC 11 .0101
Adopt*
Administrative Fee: NC 403(b) Program 20 NCAC 11 .0102
Adopt*

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 28B are from the Landscape Contractors' Licensing Board and include board meetings and
definitions (.0100); licensure, reciprocity and seal (.0200); license renewal and reinstatement (.0300); continuing
education (.0400); minimum standards (.0500); fees (.0600); complaints and investigations (.0700); and hearings
process and summary suspension (.0800).

Practice of Landscape Contracting; Display of License Number 21 NCAC 28B .0103
Amend*

Annual Reports 21 NCAC 28B .0104
Adopt*
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Applications for Licensure 21 NCAC 28B .0201
Amend*

Reciprocity 21 NCAC 28B .0202
Amend*

Qualifier/Qualifying Party; Use of Assumed Name 21 NCAC 28B .0303
Adopt*
Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 28B .0402
Amend*

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 28B .0403
Amend*

General 21 NCAC 28B .0501
Amend*

Low-Voltage Lighting; Pools 21 NCAC 28B .0507
Amend*

Fee Schedule 21 NCAC 28B .0601
Amend*

Subpoenas 21 NCAC 28B .0803
Amend*

Rulemaking Petition 21 NCAC 28B .0901
Adopt*

APPRAISAL BOARD

The rules in Subchapter 57A cover licensing, certification and practice rules for appraisers including application
procedures (.0100); licensing and certification (.0200); examination (.0300); general practice requirements (.0400);
appraisal standards (.0500); and experience credit (.0600).

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 57A .0204
Amend*
Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407
Amend*

The rules in Subchapter 57B cover real estate appraisal education including the courses required for licensure or
certification (.0100); course sponsor standards for pre-licensing or pre-certification courses (.0200); pre-licensing and
pre-certification course standards (.0300); course sponsor fees (.0400); fees for private real estate appraisal education
schools (.0500); and continuing education course standards (.0600).

Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306
Amend*
Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606
Amend*

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 58A are rules relating to real estate brokers and salesmen including rules dealing with general
brokerage (.0100); application for license (.0300); examinations (.0400); licensing (.0500); real estate commission
hearings (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); rulemaking (.0800); declaratory rulings (.0900); real estate education and
recovery fund (.1400); discriminatory practices prohibited (.1600); mandatory continuing education (.1700); limited
nonresident commercial licensing (.1800); post-licensure education (.1900); annual reports (.2000); brokers in military
service (.2100); and broker price opinions and comparative market analyses (.2200).

Retention of Records 21 NCAC 58A .0108
Readopt without Changes*
Provisional Broker to be Supervised by Broker 21 NCAC 58A .0506

Readopt without Changes*
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Complaints/Inquiries/Motions/Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 58A .0601
Amend*

Presiding Officer 21 NCAC 58A .0612
Readopt without Changes™

Postlicensing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 58A .1902
Amend*

Waiver of 90-Hour Postlicensing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 58A .1905
Amend*

Escrow Account 21 NCAC 58A .2002

Readopt without Changes™

The rules in Subchapter 58H concern real estate education including general rules (.0100); real estate schools (.0200);
approved instructors (.0300); and continuing education (.0400).

Application for Original Licensure of a Private Real Esta... 21 NCAC 58H .0203
Amend*
Prelicensing and Postlicensing Course Enroliment 21 NCAC 58H .0209
Amend*
Expiration and Renewal of a School Approval or License 21 NCAC 58H .0214
Amend*
Application and Criteria for Original Prelicensing, Postl... 21 NCAC 58H .0302
Amend*

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

The rules in Chapter 61 are from the Respiratory Care Board and concern organization and definitions (.0100);
application for license (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education requirements for license holders (.0400);
miscellaneous provisions (.0500); rulemaking and declaratory rulings (.0600); and administrative hearing procedures
(.0700).

Fees 21 NCAC 61 .0204
Amend*

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Building Code/Separation 1009.7.2

Amend*

2018 NC Building Code/Minimum Number of Required Plumbing... Table 2902.1

Amend*

2018 NC Building Code/Ground Signs 312.1, H101.2, H109.2
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Scope N1101.1

Amend*

2018 NC Energy Conservation Code/Scope R101.2

Amend*

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Energy Conservation Except... 101.12

Amend*

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarms 403.11,904.4.3, 1104.2
Amend*

2018 NC Plumbing Code/Small Occupancies 410.2

Amend*
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/
If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, 11

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter
Don Overby

J. Randall May

David Sutton

Tenisha Jacobs

A. B. Elkins Il
Selina Malherbe

J. Randolph Ward
Stacey Bawtinhimer

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
PUBLISHED
18 ABC | 04349 2/20/2019 NC Alcoholic H and J Super Discount Inc T/A Super | Overby
Beverage  Control Discount Mini Mart
Commission
18 DHR | 05011 2/11/2019 Primary Care Cardinal Innovations Healthcare Inc Malherbe
Solutions Inc
18 DHR | 05357 2/25/2019 lantha Southerland Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 DHR | 06469 2/7/2019 Jesusito Rondon NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Guzman t/a Tienda Services
Mexicana La
Posadita
18 DOJ | 04480 2/26/2019 Christopher Garris NC Criminal Justice Education and | Overby
Training Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 04664 2/13/2019 Rosalind R Smith NC Criminal Justice Education and | Ward
Training Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 06219 2/18/2019 Keifer Austin Furr NC Private Protective Services Board Lassiter
18 DOJ | 06375 2/27/2019 Benjamin Louis North Carolina Department of Justice | Bawtinhimer
Zucker Criminal Standards Division
18 INS | 04465 2/14/2019 Courtney N North Carolina Department of State | Malherbe
Viebrock Treasurer
18 OSP | 04046 2/6/2019 Heather Harper Department of Public Safety Ward
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UNPUBLISHED
17 CSE | 07720 2/27/2019 Anthony R Coley NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 CSE | 01368 2/27/2019 Mackie Barfield Jr Child Support Services Elkins
18 CSE | 06220 2/7/2019 Douglas W Moyd NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
(Mody) Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06235 2/22/2019 David Earl Rigg NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06240 2/15/2019 Felicia H Middleton NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 CSE | 06246 2/1/2019 Mark Davis- NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Mccrary Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06264 2/27/2019 Melanie K Marino NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06276 2/15/2019 Ricky Williams NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06301 2/27/2019 Michael  Anthony NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Cylar Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06306 2/27/2019; | Gregory L NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
3/15/2019 Thompson Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06388 2/15/2019 Michael Norwood NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 CSE | 06392 2/27/2019 Mark A Preston NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06409 2/20/2019 John R Mitchell NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06423 2/25/2019 Martin ~ Malamah- NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Thomas Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06483 2/22/2019 Jessica Collazo NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06488 2/15/2019 David M McDermott NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06537 2/19/2019 | Jeffrey S Brown NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 CSE | 06554 2/18/2019 Georgie A Mendoza NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 06573 2/22/2019 Brian O'Neal Black NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
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18

CSE

06639

2/8/2019

Rashone
Washington

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support EnforcementSection

May

18

CSE

06673

2/18/2019

Arnold S Thomas

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Malherbe

18

CSE

06869

2/8/2019

William C Davis

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

May

18

CSE

06870

2/20/2019

Michael Kearney

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

18

CSE

06997

2/8/2019;
2/19/2019

Jason Leland

McCrary

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

18

CSE

07088

2/8/2019

Roosevelt Moore

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

May

18

CSE

07094

2/19/2019

Erich M Pearl

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Malherbe

18

CSE

07359

2/20/2019

Felix Allende

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

May

18

CSE

07420

2/13/2019

Gregory Leng

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Malherbe

18

CSE

07424

2/7/2019

Andres
Vazquez

Montoya

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Malherbe

18

CSE

07576

2/19/2019

Eric Garcia

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Malherbe

18

CSE

07600

2/18/2019

Kevin Michael

Smith

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Sutton

18

CSE

07636

2/19/2019

Nathan E Justice

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Malherbe

18

CSE

07815

2/26/2019

William Walter

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Sutton

19

CSE

00051

2/19/2019

Sherman Addison

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Bawtinhimer

19

CSE

00280

2/26/2019

Scott F Rutherford

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement

Bawtinhimer

18

DCS

02864

2/27/2019

Adelia Wyatt

NC Department of Health and Human
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section

Elkins

18

DHR

01807

2/15/2019

Amjad Sheikh

North Carolina Department of Health
and Human Services (File No
NCRR0052)

Ward
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CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

18 DHR | 06238 2/4/2019 Reliable Home Care North Carolina Department of Health | May
Ser Portia Shipman and Human Services
Owner
18 DHR | 06863 2/1/2019; Agatha Jean Morris NC Dept of Health and Human Svcs | Jacobs
2/8/2019 Health Care Personnel Reg Section
18 DHR | 06989 2/22/2019 Shelia Holmes- Betty Overman NC State Nurse Aid | Jacobs
Graham Registry Raleigh NC
18 DHR | 07304 2/20/2019 Dena Causey Division of Child Development and | May
Early Education
18 DHR | 07512 2/26/2019 Taylor Phillips NC Department of Health and Human | Overby
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 DHR | 07669 2/26/2019 Noralene Locklear Department of Health and Human | Lassiter
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 DHR | 07761 2/14/2019 The Goddard School Division of Child Development and | Malherbe
at Edison Square Early Education
18 DHR | 07768 2/25/2019 | Valerie Denise Little Nurse Aide Listing No 169354 Health | May
Care Personnel Registry
18 DOJ | 06866 2/5/2019 Lance Paul White NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Jacobs
Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 07492 2/28/2019 Christopher Bruce NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Sutton
Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 07496 2/26/2019 Mychella L George NC Sheriffs Education and Training | Bawtinhimer
Standards Commission
19 DOL | 00681 2/27/2019 Leslie Duke NC Dept of Labor OSHA OSHA Mr | Bawtinhimer
William Peterson
18 OSP | 06335 2/11/2019 Sharon Young Murdoch Development Center and NC | Elkins
Department of HAHS
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