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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Administration intends to adopt the rules cited as 

01 NCAC 06F .0101-.0105. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 23, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, Capehart-Crocker House, 424 N. 

Blount Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  S.L. 2018-5, Section 371(i) states 

"…[T]he Department of Administration shall adopt temporary 

rules consistent with this section no later than January 1, 2019, 

and shall adopt permanent rules no later than July 1, 2019." 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, NC 

Department of Administration, 1301 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1301; phone (984) 236-0008; email 

adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact.  Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact?  Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required  

 

CHAPTER 06 - STATE PROPERTY AND 

CONSTRUCTION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06F – TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

FACILITIES FOR BROADBANDPROVIDERS 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0101 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Agency" means the body to which State 

owned or leased property is allocated. 

(2) "DIT" means the NC Department of 

Information Technology. 

(3) "WISP" means Wireless Internet Service 

Provider. 

 

Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; S.L. 2018-5, s. 

37.1(a)-(i). 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0102 APPLICATION 

Upon referral from the DIT, an Agency requesting the 

construction and placement of broadband equipment on state 

property shall submit to the Division of State Property a 

completed PO-2, Disposition of Real Property form, as set forth 

in 01 NCAC 06B .0300 of these Rules, and BB-2, WISP 

Application form, that shall include the following information: 

(1) description of the state property; 

(2) information pertaining to the lessee; and 

(3) equipment to be used and scope of work. 

 

Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; S.L. 2018-5, s. 

37.1(a)-(i). 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0103 PROCEDURES 

(a)  The Division of State Property shall evaluate the information 

provided on the application and determine fair market value of the 

lease pursuant to G.S. 146-29.1. 

(b)  The Division of State Property shall generate the lease, 

license, or easement and provide it to the Agency for review and 

distribution to the broadband provider. 

(c)  Prior to the construction or placement of broadband 

equipment, the broadband provider and the Division of State 

Property shall execute duplicate original agreements. 

(d)  The Agency shall ensure all equipment is installed in 

accordance with the terms set out in the lease, license or easement. 

 

Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; S.L. 2018-5, s. 

37.1(a)-(i). 
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01 NCAC 06F .0104 TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

The following terms and conditions shall apply to the location and 

installation of equipment by a broadband provider on state owned 

or leased property: 

(1) All lease and license agreements shall be a five 

year term with two optional five year renewal 

periods. 

(2) All lease and license agreements shall include 

an access agreement and a non-exclusive utility 

easement. 

(3) The fair market value of the state-owned or 

leased property is subject to an annual rate 

adjustment as set forth in the lease. 

(4) Rent shall be paid annually on the anniversary 

of the executed lease. 

(5) An Agency may require an escrow fund as part 

of the broadband provider's lease or license 

agreement. 

(6) Site specific protocols as set out in the lease and 

license agreement for construction and 

maintenance procedures shall be adhered to by 

the Applicant during installation and during any 

maintenance. 

(7) Upgrades or changes to equipment shall be 

reviewed by the Division of State Property for 

compliance with the existing lease prior to any 

changes to equipment. 

(8) The Agency shall not supply space in any 

existing equipment buildings, nor electricity. 

 

Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; S.L. 2018-5, s. 

37.1(a)-(i). 

 

01 NCAC 06F .0105 TERMINATION 

Upon termination of the agreement, at the Agency's request, the 

broadband provider shall remove equipment and cabling from the 

tower, ice-bridge, and within fenced property. The Agency shall 

then inspect the property to ensure compliance with this 

Paragraph. Upon a finding by the Agency that all equipment and 

cabling is removed, and the property has been returned to pre-

leased conditions, the escrow funds shall be returned to the 

broadband provider within 60 days. 

 

Authority G.S. 146-29.1; 146-29.2; 146-30; S.L. 2018-5, s. 

37.1(a)-(i). 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 10F .0339 and .0370. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncwildlife.org  

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 1, 2019 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  WRC Headquarters 5th Floor, 1751 Varsity Drive, 

Raleigh, NC 27606 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 10F .0339 – McDowell County submitted a formal 

application and resolution requesting a no-wake zone within 50 

yards of the shoreline of a peninsula near the end of Hunt Camp 

Drive, in Old Wildlife Club Subdivision on Lake James.  The no-

wake zone is necessary to mitigate hazards to boater and 

recreationist safety around the peninsula that is adjacent to a busy 

cove with blind curve, and with several long docks where people 

swim and are endangered by heavy wakes.  There is no speed 

restriction on vessels travelling in the main channel of the lake.  

Private individuals will purchase and place markers to mark the 

zone at no expense to the state.  No Fiscal Note is required. 

15A NCAC 10F .0370 – WRC proposes an amendment to the 

water safety rule for a portion of the Tar River in Rocky Mount 

from west of the Falls Road bridge, extending eastward and 

ending at the Rocky Mount Millpond Dam, to correctly designate 

the regulated area as a Safety Zone, where vessel and swimmer 

entry is prohibited, rather than a no-wake zone where vessel 

speed is regulated.  The City of Rocky Mount is the designated 

entity for placement and maintenance of buoys and other signage 

that is necessary to implement the safety zone Rule.  

Responsibility for maintenance of the markers was incorrectly 

removed from the Rule during an amendment as part of the 2016 

Periodic Review of Rules.  Therefore, the word maintenance has 

been replaced as a technical correction.  No expense to the City 

or State is incurred for this technical correction and a fiscal note 

is not required. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1701; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 31, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 
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 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required  

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0339 MCDOWELL COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies shall apply to the 

following waters located on Lake James in McDowell County: 

(1) the cove east of Old Wildlife Club Road, 

beginning at a line from a point on the 

northwest shore at 35.73649 N, 81.92296 W to 

a point on the southeast shore at 35.73595 N, 

81.92194 W; 

(2) those the waters including coves, shore to shore 

in the vicinity of the Marion Moose Club 

property, east of the a line from a point on the 

north shore at 35.72026 N, 81.97292 W, to a 

point on the south shore at 35.71908 N, 

81.97257 W, and south of the a line from a point 

on the west shore at 35.72214 N, 81.96807 W 

to a point on the east shore at 35.72305 N, 

81.96642 W; 

(3) Morgan Cove; Cove, west and south of a line at 

the mouth from a point on the north shore at 

35.74220 N, 81.94189 W to a point on the south 

shore at 35.74142 N, 81.94155 W; 

(4) that area within 50 yards of the shoreline at the 

New Manna Baptist Youth Camp; Camp at 880 

Marina Drive in Nebo; 

(5) that area within 50 yards of the shoreline at 

Burnett' s Landing; Burnette's Landing at 3385 

Hankins Road in Marion; 

(6) the coves adjacent to Lake James State Park 

swimming area southeast of a line from a point 

on the northeast shore at 35.73402 N, 81.90450 

W to a point on the southwest shore at 35.73268 

N, 81.90614 W; 

(7) that area within 50 yards of camping areas in 

the Lake James State Park; 

(8) that area including the cove between Waterglyn 

Subdivision and Lakeview Shores Subdivision 

and extending Subdivision, contiguous with the 

waters within 50 yards of the shoreline of 

Lakeview Point Subdivision Subdivision, and 

within 50 yards of the boat launching ramp at 

the Marion Lake Club; Club at the end of Lake 

Club Lane; 

(9) Plantation Point Cove southwest of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.71672 N, 

81.98065 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.71616 N, 81.98010 W; 

(10) Waterglyn Subdivision Cove; Cove, west of 

Lentz Landing Lane; 

(11) within 50 yards of the boat ramp at Lake James 

Landing on Lake James Landing Drive, near the 

mouth of the North Fork of the Catawba River; 

(12) that area within 50 yards of the Bear Creek 

Marina; Marina at 608 Marina Drive in Nebo; 

(13) the waters within 50 yards of the peninsula at 

Waterglyn Subdivision at the end of Waterglyn 

Way, from the point on land east of the cove 

east of Old Wildlife Club Road at 35.73600 N, 

81.92185 W to a point on land west of 

Waterglyn Subdivision Cove at 35.73549 N, 

81.91900 W; and 

(14) the waters within 50 yards of the boat ramp in 

Hidden Cove. Cove Public Boat Access at 3657 

NC-126 in Nebo; and 

(15) within 50 yards of the peninsula at Old Wildlife 

Club Subdivision at the end of Hunt Camp 

Drive and Screech Owl Drive, from a point on 

land at 35.75171 N, 81.92186 W, southeast to a 

point on land at 35.74914 N, 81.91782 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate any motorboat or a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within any of the regulated 

areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Restricted Swimming Areas. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of any vessel, surfboard or waterskis 

vessel shall permit the same it to enter any marked swimming area 

located on the regulated area. waters of Lake James in McDowell 

County. 

(d)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

McDowell County is the designated agency for placement of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0370 CITY OF ROCKY MOUNT 

MOUNT – ROCKY MOUNT MILLPOND DAM SAFETY 

ZONE 

(a)  Regulated Areas. Area. This Rule shall apply to the The 

waters of the Tar River shore to shore, beginning up at the N.C. 

Highway Bridge on Peachtree Street, eastward 100 yards and 

ending at the Rocky Mount Mill Dam. west of the Falls Road 

bridge on N.C. Highway 48/43 Business at a point at 35.96016 N, 

77.80447 W, extending eastward and ending at the Rocky Mount 

Millpond Dam and associated abutments and structures, shall be 

a designated safety zone. Access by swimming or entry of a 

person in or upon a vessel or any floating object shall be 

prohibited within the safety zone. 

(b)  Swimming or boating. No swimming or other entry of a 

person in or upon a boat, raft, or other floating object shall be 

permitted within the exclusionary zone established in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)(b)  Paragraph (b)(a) of this Rule shall not apply to persons 

who, with consent of the City of Rocky Mount, require access for 
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maintaining or repairing facilities associated with the Rocky 

Mount Millpond Dam Dam, abutments and structures or the 

Rocky Mount Mill. Mills. 

(d)(c)  Placement of Markers. The City of Rocky Mount shall be 

the designated as the entity for placement and maintenance of 

buoys and other signs indicating the areas in which boating and 

swimming are prohibited by this Rule. implementing this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on February 21, 2019 Meeting. 
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Administration of Program 10A NCAC 10 .0505 33:08 NCR 

Records 10A NCAC 10 .0506 33:08 NCR 

Standards for Facilities Participating in the Subsidized ... 10A NCAC 10 .0601* 33:08 NCR 

Standards for Family Child Care Homes Participating in th... 10A NCAC 10 .0701 33:08 NCR 

Scope 10A NCAC 10 .0901 33:08 NCR 

Methods of Service Provision 10A NCAC 10 .0902 33:08 NCR 

Definition of Service 10A NCAC 10 .0903 33:08 NCR 

Availability of Funding 10A NCAC 10 .0904 33:08 NCR 

Support for Employment and Training for Employment 10A NCAC 10 .0905* 33:08 NCR 

Support for Child Protective and Child Welfare Services 10A NCAC 10 .0906* 33:08 NCR 

Support for Children with or at Risk for Developmental De... 10A NCAC 10 .0907* 33:08 NCR 

Limitations 10A NCAC 10 .0908 33:08 NCR 

Recipient Choice 10A NCAC 10 .0909* 33:08 NCR 

Children with Special Needs 10A NCAC 10 .0910 33:08 NCR 

Basic Eligibility Criteria 10A NCAC 10 .1001 33:08 NCR 

Income Eligible Status 10A NCAC 10 .1002* 33:08 NCR 

Income Eligibility Levels 10A NCAC 10 .1003 33:08 NCR 

Without Regard to Income 10A NCAC 10 .1004* 33:08 NCR 

Responsibility for Eligibility Determination 10A NCAC 10 .1005 33:08 NCR 

Determination of Income Eligibility 10A NCAC 10 .1006* 33:08 NCR 

Requirements for Determination and Redetermination of Eli... 10A NCAC 10 .1007* 33:08 NCR 

General Fee Policy 10A NCAC 10 .1101* 33:08 NCR 

Amount and Collection of Recipient Fees 10A NCAC 10 .1102* 33:08 NCR 

Adjustment in Fees 10A NCAC 10 .1103* 33:08 NCR 
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Definitions 10A NCAC 10 .1201* 33:08 NCR 

Notice 10A NCAC 10 .1202* 33:08 NCR 

Filing 10A NCAC 10 .1203* 33:08 NCR 

Appeal to the Local Purchasing Agency 10A NCAC 10 .1204* 33:08 NCR 

Operator Appeal to Division of Child Development and Earl... 10A NCAC 10 .1205* 33:08 NCR 

MENTAL HEALTH, DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Involuntary Administration of Psychotropic Medication 10A NCAC 26D .1104* 33:06 NCR 

Psychotropic Medication Education 10A NCAC 26D .1105* 33:06 NCR 

Use of Seclusion 10A NCAC 26D .1202* 33:06 NCR 

Use of Restraint 10A NCAC 26D .1203* 33:06 NCR 

Protective Devices 10A NCAC 26D .1204* 33:06 NCR 

Involuntary Referrals and Transfers 10A NCAC 26D .1206* 33:06 NCR 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Regional Departments of Social Services Financial Obligat... 10A NCAC 67A .0301* 33:06 NCR 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Location of Main Office and Hours of Business 11 NCAC 23B .0101 33:08 NCR 

Official Forms 11 NCAC 23B .0102* 33:08 NCR 

Filing Fees 11 NCAC 23B .0103* 33:08 NCR 

Electronic Filings with the Commission, How to File 11 NCAC 23B .0104* 33:08 NCR 

Contact Information 11 NCAC 23B .0105* 33:08 NCR 

Medical Malpractice Claims by Unrepresented Prison Inmates 11 NCAC 23B .0202* 33:08 NCR 

Infants and Incompetents 11 NCAC 23B .0203* 33:08 NCR 

Motions 11 NCAC 23B .0204* 33:08 NCR 

Mediation 11 NCAC 23B .0205* 33:08 NCR 

Hearing Costs 11 NCAC 23B .0208* 33:08 NCR 

Appeals to the Full Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0302* 33:08 NCR 

Proposed Issues on Repeal 11 NCAC 23B .0303 33:08 NCR 

Briefs to the Full Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0305 33:08 NCR 

Motions Before the Full Commission 11 NCAC 23B .0307* 33:08 NCR 

Stays 11 NCAC 23B .0308* 33:08 NCR 

Oral Argument 11 NCAC 23B .0310* 33:08 NCR 

Stays 11 NCAC 23B .0402* 33:08 NCR 

Waiver of Rules 11 NCAC 23B .0501 33:08 NCR 

Form T-42 - Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 11 NCAC 23L .0105* 33:08 NCR 

PUBLIC SAFETY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose 14B NCAC 05B .0101* 33:09 NCR 

Applications for Grants 14B NCAC 05B .0201* 33:09 NCR 

Review of Proposals 14B NCAC 05B .0202* 33:09 NCR 

Administration of Grants 14B NCAC 05B .0203* 33:09 NCR 

Grant Termination or Suspension 14B NCAC 05B .0301* 33:09 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Purpose 15A NCAC 02B .0620* 32:21 NCR 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Definitions 15A NCAC 02B .0621* 32:21 NCR 
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Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Applicability ... 15A NCAC 02B .0622* 32:21 NCR 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: Program Admini... 15A NCAC 02B .0623* 32:21 NCR 

Water Supply Watershed Protection Program: NonPoint Sourc... 15A NCAC 02B .0624* 32:21 NCR 

Animal Waste Residuals Management 15A NCAC 02T .1310* G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(3),(5) 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Temporary Bridge Weight Limits and Closings 19A NCAC 02D .0408* 33:07 NCR 

Aircraft Landing and Taking Off on Highways 19A NCAC 02E .0412* 33:07 NCR 

Fencing within Right-of-Way 19A NCAC 02E .0418* 33:07 NCR 

Cultivating Crops and Maintaining Pastures within Right-o... 19A NCAC 02E .0419* 33:07 NCR 

Construction within Right-of-Way 19A NCAC 02E .0420* 33:07 NCR 

Utility Wires or Cables Over Highways 19A NCAC 02E .0421* 33:07 NCR 

Application for Designation 19A NCAC 02E .1006* 33:07 NCR 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Licensees and Students 21 NCAC 14H .0401 33:04 NCR 

Rule Compliance and Enforcement Measures 21 NCAC 14H .0505 33:04 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Identification Requirements 21 NCAC 32W .0112 33:05 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

Drugs and Devices to be Dispensed 21 NCAC 46 .2403 33:10 NCR 

Responsibilities of Pharmacist-Manager 21 NCAC 46 .2502* 33:10 NCR 

SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE BOARD 

Designation as Substance Abuse Counselor Intern 21 NCAC 68 .0203* 33:08 NCR 

Certified Substance Abuse Counselor Certification 21 NCAC 68 .0205* 33:08 NCR 

Renewal Requirements for Counselor, Criminal Justice Addi... 21 NCAC 68 .0208* 33:08 NCR 

Process for Clinical Supervisor Certification 21 NCAC 68 .0211* 33:08 NCR 

Process for Residential Facility Director Certification 21 NCAC 68 .0212* 33:08 NCR 

Licensure Requirements for Initial Applicants for Licensu... 21 NCAC 68 .0305* 33:08 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Salary Rate 25 NCAC 01D .0913* 33:05 NCR 

Posting and Announcement of Vacancies 25 NCAC 01H .0631* 33:04 NCR 

 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

Definition of Provider Abuse 10A NCAC 22F .0301* 32:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0101 SCOPE 

The rules in this Chapter shall apply to child care facilities that 

participate in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-10; 143B-153; S.L. 1985, 

c. 757, s. 155(q); 

Eff. October 26, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1990; 

February 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 
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Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 110-86(2), (3), (4a), (6), 

(7), and (8), the following definitions shall apply to this Chapter: 

(1) "Child with special needs" means: 

(a) a child who is determined by the 

Division of Public Health, Children's 

Developmental Services Agency, to 

be developmentally delayed or have 

an established condition pursuant to 

10A NCAC 43G .0110, incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments. A copy of the Rule can 

be found at no cost at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title

%2010a%20%20health%20and%20h

uman%20services/chapter%2043%20

%20personal%20health/subchapter%

20g/10a%20ncac%2043g%20.0110.p

df; 

(b) a child who is determined by the local 

educational agency (LEA) to have a 

disability as defined in G.S. 115C-

106.3; or 

(c) a child who is determined to be a child 

with special needs by a Local 

Managing Entity –Managed Care 

Organization (LME-MCO) as defined 

in G.S. 122C-3(20b) and (20c). 

(2) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Child Development and Early Education. 

(3) "Division" means the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education, Department 

of Health and Human Services, located at 333 

Six Forks Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27609. 

(4) "Foster parent" means anyone other than a 

child's parent or legal custodian who is 

providing full time care for a child who is in the 

custody of a North Carolina county department 

of social services. 

(5) "Funds" means all state and federal funds 

appropriated and otherwise made available to 

the Department of Health and Human Services 

that are administered by the Division of Child 

Development and Early Education for the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program. 

(6) "Homeless children" is defined in section 

725(2) of the McKinney-Vento Homeless 

Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. 11434a(2), 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. A copy of the Act 

can be found at 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-03-

17/pdf/2016-06073.pdf. 

(7) "Local Purchasing Agency" means the local 

agency responsible for administering the 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program. 

(8) "Market Rates" means the child care subsidy 

market rates set forth in the annual 

appropriations act enacted by the General 

Assembly. 

(9) "NC FAST" means the electronic integrated 

case management system developed and 

managed by the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

(10) "Owner" means any person with a five percent 

or greater equity interest in a child care facility.  

(11) "Private Agency" means a for profit or non-

profit non-governmental entity. 

(12) "Provider" means the owner of a child care 

center or family child care home. 

(13) "Recipient" means the parent or responsible 

adult approved for subsidized child care 

assistance pursuant to Section .1000 of this 

Chapter. 

(14) "Recipient Fee" means that portion of an 

operator's payment that is paid to the operator 

by a recipient approved for subsidy assistance. 

(15) "Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program" 

means the North Carolina program to assist 

eligible families in paying the cost of child care 

services. 

(16) "Supplemental Payment" means payment or 

reimbursement by the Division for additional 

expenses incurred by the operator to care for a 

child with special needs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; December 1, 2011; April 1, 2001; 

February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0201 APPLICABILITY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. October 26, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; January 1, 1987; April 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0202 PAYMENT RATES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(8)a; 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 1994; July 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0203 PAYMENT RATES FOR 

SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

(a)  With the exception of Centers that are certified as 

developmental day centers by the Division, the payment rates for 

child care facilities shall be limited to the market rate or the child 

care facility's private rate, whichever is lower. 
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(b)  For centers that are certified as developmental day centers by 

the Division of Child Development and Early Education and that 

serve children who meet the definition of special needs set forth 

in 10A NCAC 10 .0910, the following shall apply: 

(1) payment rates for children with special needs 

served in developmental day centers shall be 

calculated by deducting the total revenues per 

child per month from the total costs per child. 

That rate shall then be multiplied by the current 

inflation percentage provided by the Office of 

State Budget and Management; 

(2) payment rates for typically developing children 

served in developmental day centers shall 

exclude those costs associated exclusively with 

serving children with special needs; and 

(3) payment rates for children with special needs 

and typically developing children served in 

developmental day centers shall be calculated 

every two years and shall be implemented as 

State and federal funding allows. 

(c)  A facility approved for participation in the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program that provides care to children with 

special needs, as defined in 10A NCAC 10 .0910, that is not a 

certified developmental day facility shall be paid a supplement to 

the facility's approved rate, subject to available funding, as 

follows: 

(1) the facility shall submit a request to the Local 

Purchasing Agency for approval for a 

supplemental payment; 

(2) the supplemental payment shall be based on 

additional documented costs incurred by the 

facility in serving the child with special needs, 

such as learning materials, equipment, and 

additional staff for one-on-one care; 

(3) the costs shall be determined by the Local 

Purchasing Agency and the facility based on the 

plan developed to meet the child's individual 

needs; and 

(4) the Local Purchasing Agency shall submit 

requests for all one-time supplemental 

payments in excess of one thousand dollars 

($1,000) and all recurring supplemental 

payments in excess of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) to the Division. The Division shall 

approve all requests that meet the child's 

development needs. All other supplemental 

payments shall be approved by the Local 

Purchasing Agency. 

(d)  Payment rates for part time care shall be prorated according 

to the number of hours the child is scheduled to attend the child 

care facility. 

(e)  Recipient fees imposed in accordance with the annual 

appropriations act shall be subtracted from the facility's payment 

rate to determine the State payment amount for an individual 

child. 

(f)  Subsidized Child Care Assistance funds shall not be used to 

pay for services provided by the Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Public Health or the Department of Public 

Instruction, Division of Exceptional Children's Services for that 

portion of the service delivery costs that are reimbursed by the 

Division of Public Health or Department of Public Instruction. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(8)a; 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2012; April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; 

December 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0301 DEFINITION OF FUND 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); S.L. 1985, c. 479, 

s. 95-97; 

Eff. October 26, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1982, for a period of 120 days 

to expire on October 28, 1982; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. July 20, 1982; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; February 1, 1986; 

August 1, 1982; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0306 ALLOCATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. October 26, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1990; February 1, 1986; April 

1, 1985; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0307 PAYMENT 

Operators shall enter accurate attendance information, as defined 

in 10A NCAC 10 .0602(b), into the NC FAST Provider Portal no 

later than the fifth day of the month for the preceding month's 

attendance in order to receive payment for services provided by 

the operator. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. October 26, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1990; February 1, 1986; April 

1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0310 REQUIREMENTS FOR THE 

ADMINISTRATION OF THE SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(a)  Each Local Purchasing Agency shall maintain records of 

program administration, including recipient records documenting 

eligibility and ongoing service, and provider records related to 

investigations of fraudulent misrepresentation, sanctions, and 

noncompliance with program requirements. These records shall 

be retained in accordance with most recent Records Retention and 

Disposition Schedule Spreadsheet issued by the Office of the 

Controller, North Carolina Department of Health and Human 

Services or until all audits begun within the retention period are 

complete, whichever is longer. The Records Retention and 

Disposition Schedule Spreadsheet is incorporated by reference, 
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including subsequent amendments and editions, and is available 

free of charge at  

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/control/retention/retention.htm. 

(b)  Each Local Purchasing Agency that administers funding for 

the State's Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall 

provide records of program administration upon request for 

review by local, State, or federal agency representatives. 

(c)  The Division shall require the Local Purchasing Agency to 

repay funds not spent in accordance with applicable State or 

federal regulations. 

(d)  Each Local Purchasing Agency that administers the State's 

Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program and also owns and 

operates a child care facility receiving Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program funds shall develop and implement a conflict 

of interest policy that shall include provisions for: 

(1) parental choice of child care facility for 

recipients of subsidized child care; and 

(2) separate management of the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program and the child care 

facility owned or operated by the agency. 

(e)  Operators enrolled in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program shall maintain all records and forms for a period of three 

years or until all audits continued beyond the three-year period are 

completed by local, State, or federal officials. Program records 

and forms shall be maintained at the location of the child care 

facility and shall be made available for review upon request by 

local, State, or federal officials. Operators shall make available for 

review a record of payments received from other sources and each 

schedule of parent payments due if requested. For the purposes of 

this Paragraph, program records and forms shall include: 

(1) all enrollment and attendance records, 

including those required by 10A NCAC 10 

.0602; 

(2) private paying parent rates; 

(3) receipts; and 

(4) other fiscal records related to the operator's 

participation in the Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program, including records related 

to a child care facility's operating budget. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. April 1, 200l; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0311 PROVIDER APPEAL TO LOCAL 

PURCHASING AGENCY 

10A NCAC 10 .0312 APPEAL TO DIVISION OF 

CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND EARLY EDUCATION 

SUBSIDY SERVICES REVIEW PANEL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. December 1, 2011; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0501 SCOPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0502 APPROVAL 

10A NCAC 10 .0503 LENGTH OF CONTRACT 

10A NCAC 10 .0504 ADMINISTRATION OF FUNDS 

10A NCAC 10 .0505 ADMINISTRATION OF  

PROGRAM 

10A NCAC 10 .0506 RECORDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2); 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. July 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; April 1, 2001; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0601 STANDARDS FOR FACILITIES 

PARTICIPATING IN THE SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

(a)  An operator that wishes to participate in the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program shall satisfy all applicable State child 

care requirements, as codified in G.S. 110-85, et seq. and 10A 

NCAC 09, and shall enroll in the Subsidized Child Care 

Assistance Program as set forth in 10A NCAC 10 .0602(a). 

(b)  An operator that wishes to participate in the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program, with the exception of religious-

sponsored facilities operating in accordance with G.S. 110-106 

and Department of Defense facilities operating in accordance with 

G.S. 110-106.2, shall hold a North Carolina child care license. 

(c)  Out-of-State operators wishing to participate in the Subsidized 

Child Care Assistance Program shall hold a license to operate a 

child care facility in the state where they are located. 

(d)  The operator of a facility participating in the Subsidized Child 

Care Assistance Program shall ensure that the facility complies 

with all applicable provisions of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. February 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; March 1, 1996; July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0701 STANDARDS FOR FAMILY 

CHILD CARE HOMES PARTICIPATING IN THE 

SUBSIDIZED CHILD CARE PROGRAM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. January 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0901 SCOPE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 10 .0902 METHODS OF SERVICE 

PROVISION 

10A NCAC 10 .0903 DEFINITION OF SERVICE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0904 AVAILIBILITY OF FUNDING 

If the availability of funding is less than the amount needed to 

serve all eligible children, each Local Purchasing Agency shall 

establish the priority for serving families. The order of priority 

shall be stated in writing, approved by the Division in accordance 

with annual appropriations act and federal law, and the Local 

Purchasing Agency shall provide a copy of the written order of 

priority to applicants for child care assistance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 CFR 98.46; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; March 1, 1996; February 1, 1994; 

July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0905 SUPPORT FOR EMPLOYMENT 

AND TRAINING FOR EMPLOYMENT 

(a)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall pay for 

child care services provided to support: 

(1) employment of the recipient; and 

(2) training leading to employment of the recipient. 

(b)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall pay for 

child care services for recipients the Local Purchasing Agency 

determines are unable to work or to participate in training leading 

to employment, and who are also incapable of providing care for 

the child. The Local Purchasing Agency shall document the 

reasons for this determination in the recipient's record, which may 

include the following: 

(1) illness; 

(2) disability; 

(3) complications related to pregnancy; 

(4) hospitalization; 

(5) substance abuse treatment; or 

(6) that the recipient is elderly.  

(c)  If a recipient is already receiving child care services funded 

through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program and is 

absent from employment, training, or an educational program 

with arrangements to continue the same employment, training, or 

educational program, child care services shall continue for up to 

90 days. If an absence from work, training, or an educational 

program extends beyond 90 days, the Local Purchasing Agency 

shall determine on the basis of individual circumstances whether 

child care services shall continue beyond that time period. The 

Local Purchasing Agency shall document the reasons for such 

extension in the recipient's record, which may include the 

following: 

(1) the recipient is on maternity leave and intends 

to return to work; 

(2) the recipient has been temporarily laid off and 

the employer has indicated that employment 

will resume within a month; or 

(3) the recipient works in a high-demand field and 

is likely to find new employment within a 

month. 

(d)  If a recipient is already receiving child care services funded 

through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program and 

becomes unemployed but is seeking employment, funding for 

child care services shall be provided for 90 days. Funding for 

services may be extended if the Local Purchasing Agency 

determines such extension is warranted, provided the reason for 

the extension is documented in the recipient's record and may be 

based upon the following: 

(1) the likelihood of obtaining employment based 

upon prior job search activities; 

(2) the recipient has a job interview scheduled; or 

(3) the recipient is waiting to hear the results of a 

job interview. 

(e)  If a recipient is already receiving child care services funded 

through the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program and no 

longer attends a training or educational program, child care 

services shall continue to be provided for 90 days after the 

recipient stops attending the training or educational program. 

Continuation of funding for services may be extended if the Local 

Purchasing Agency determines such extension as warranted, 

provided the reason for the extension is documented in the 

recipient's record and may be based on: 

(1) recommendations from teaching staff at 

educational institutions; 

(2) the individual needs and abilities of the 

recipient; 

(3) whether the recipient has developed career 

goals; or 

(4) whether the recipient has developed a personal 

plan for completing training. 

(f)  For purposes of this Rule, training leading to employment 

shall include:  

(1) continuation of high school;  

(2) basic education or a high school education or its 

equivalent in community colleges or technical 

institutes; and 

(3) post-secondary education or skills training, up 

to a maximum of 20 months enrollment, but 

shall not include assistance when the recipient 

is participating in graduate or post-graduate 

studies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 CFR 98.21; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; April 1, 2001; March 1, 1996; July 1, 

1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0906 SUPPORT FOR CHILD 

PROTECTIVE AND CHILD WELFARE SERVICES 

(a)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall provide 

assistance to enable a child to remain in his or her own home while 

receiving child protective services. The child shall not receive 
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assistance unless he or she is receiving protective services through 

the local department of social services pursuant to G.S. 7B. 

(b)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall provide 

assistance to children receiving Child Welfare Services. Child 

Welfare Services shall mean the protection of a child from abuse, 

neglect, or dependency or the provision of a safe permanent home 

for a child as described in G.S. 7B-101; G.S. 7B-300; G.S. 48-1-

101; G.S. 108A-14 (11) and (12); G.S. 108A-48; 10A NCAC 

70A; or 10A NCAC 70B. 

(c)  The provisions of this Rule shall not apply to children living 

in a foster care arrangement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0907 SUPPORT FOR CHILDREN 

WITH OR AT RISK FOR DEVELOPMENTAL DELAYS 

(a)  The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall provide 

assistance to a child who does not meet any eligibility criteria in 

this Section if the child's emotional, cognitive, social, or physical 

development is delayed or is at risk of being delayed, in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(b)  The Local Purchasing Agency shall document the type of 

developmental delay or the risk of delay in writing in the 

recipient's record. Information regarding the delay or risk of delay 

shall be provided by the child's parent, child care director, teacher, 

social worker, doctor, or other medical professional; however, 

medical or psychological reports shall not be required for a 

determination of eligibility. 

(c)  In making a determination of eligibility, the Local Purchasing 

Agency shall consider factors that include whether the child: 

(1) has a severe disability or special needs; 

(2) lives in a situation that inhibits his or her ability 

to develop normally, including living with 

elderly or adults with disabilities; and 

(3) would benefit from early intervention in a child 

care setting that may prevent the child from 

experiencing serious, ongoing problems later in 

life. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0908 LIMITATIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0909 RECIPIENT CHOICE 

(a)  Recipients shall choose a child care facility approved for 

participation in the Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program 

pursuant to Section .0600 of these Rules to provide child care 

services for the recipient's eligible children. The Local Purchasing 

Agency shall accept the recipient's choice of facility if there is 

space available in the facility and the child's enrollment will not 

violate the facility's licensed capacity as set forth in G.S. 110-

91(6). 

(b)  During the eligibility determination, Local Purchasing 

Agencies shall notify recipients of their right to choose any 

approved child care facility.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 CFR 98.30; 45 

CFR 98.31; 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .0910 CHILDREN WITH SPECIAL 

NEEDS 

The Local Purchasing Agency shall have on file an Individualized 

Education Program (IEP) as defined in G.S. 115C-106.3, an 

Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) as defined in 10A 

NCAC 27G .0903, a Section 504 Plan as defined in 29 USC 794, 

or a Person-Centered Plan (PCP) as defined in 10A NCAC 70G 

.0402 for all children with special needs who have been 

determined eligible for the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program that documents the special need or disability in 

accordance with these Rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. December 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2011; April 1, 2001; February 1, 

1996; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1001 BASIC ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA 

An individual shall be eligible to receive subsidized child care 

services in accordance with Section .0900 of these Rules if: 

(1) he or she meets the requirements in 10A NCAC 

10 .1002 and .1003; or 

(2) the service is available without regard to 

income pursuant to 10A NCAC 09 .1004. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; October 1, 1991; 

July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1002 INCOME ELIGIBLE STATUS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, the term "income unit" means 

persons who reside in the same household and who are 

responsible for the financial support of the individual whose 

eligibility for child care services is being determined. 

(b)  For the purposes of the rules in this Chapter, "income unit 

size" means the number of individuals in the income unit, and 

"gross income of the income unit" means the total amount of the 

income used to determine child care eligibility. 

(c)  If an individual meets any of the criteria set forth in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0905 or .0907, the Local Purchasing Agency shall 

determine: 
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(1) the number of persons in the individual's 

income unit through the eligibility application 

in NC FAST or through the eligibility interview 

process; and 

(2) the amount of gross income available to the 

income unit in accordance with 10A NCAC 10 

.1006. 

(d)  Individuals who meet any of the criteria set forth in 10A 

NCAC 10 .0905 or .0907 shall be eligible to receive Subsidized 

Child Care Services, provided that: 

(1) for initial eligibility and annual 

redeterminations, the gross income of the 

income unit: 

(A) for children ages 0 to 5 years old shall 

not exceed the state's maximum 

income eligibility limit of 200 percent 

of the federal poverty line, as set forth 

in 42 USC 9902(2) and 82 FR 8831, 

for the number of persons in that 

income unit; 

(B) for children ages 6 to 12 years old shall 

not exceed the state's maximum 

income eligibility limit of 133 percent 

of the federal poverty line, as set forth 

in 42 USC 9902(2) and 82 FR 8831, 

for the number of persons in that 

income unit; or 

(C) for any child with special needs as 

defined 10A NCAC 10 .0910 shall not 

exceed the state's maximum income 

eligibility limit of 200 percent of the 

federal poverty line, as set forth in 42 

USC 9902(2) and 82 FR 8831, for the 

number of persons in that income unit. 

 42 USC 9902(2) and 82 FR 8831 are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions and are available at 

no cost at 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCOD

E-2010-title42/pdf/USCODE-2010-title42-

chap106-sec9902.pdf and 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-

2017-01-31/pdf/2017-02076.pdf. 

(2) for individuals whose income increases during 

the annual eligibility period, the maximum 

income eligibility limit for children of all ages 

and special needs status shall not exceed 85 

percent of the state median income for that 

income unit size. 

(e)  The following individuals living in a residence shall be 

separate income units for the purposes of determining eligibility 

for child care services: 

(1) biological and adoptive parents and their minor 

children. A step-parent shall be included in the 

income unit with his or her spouse if the 

children in need of care include the step-parent 

and spouse's biological or adoptive children and 

step-siblings; 

(2) a minor parent and his or her children; 

(3) each person 18 years of age or older; and 

(4) each child living with anyone other than their 

biological or adoptive parents. 

(f)  Income to be considered when computing the gross income of 

the income unit shall include: 

(1) gross earned wages or salary, which are defined 

as earnings received for work performed as an 

employee, including wages, salary, 

commissions, tips, piece-rate payments, and 

cash bonuses earned, before any deductions 

such as for taxes, bonds, pensions, and union 

dues;  

(2) gross income from taxable self-employment 

income after deductions made for business 

expenses and any other expense that is 

deductible for purposes of federal or state tax 

returns; 

(3) Social Security benefits including Social 

Security pensions, survivors' benefits, and 

permanent disability insurance payments; 

(4) dividends, interest on savings or bonds, income 

from estates or trusts, royalties, and adjusted 

gross rental income on houses, stores, or other 

property; 

(5) pensions and annuities paid by an employer or 

union or through an insurance company; 

(6) workers' compensation;  

(7) unemployment insurance benefits; 

(8) alimony including direct and indirect payments 

such as rent and utility payments; 

(9) child support, direct or indirect, such as health 

care costs, school tuition, camps, lessons, and 

afterschool activities; 

(10) pensions paid to veterans or survivors of 

deceased veterans; 

(11) On-the-Job Training (OJT) payments; 

(12) Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA) payments 

made to an adult; 

(13) AmeriCorps stipend;  

(14) the taxable amount of Armed Forces pay;  

(15) work release payments; 

(16) Cherokee Tribal Per Capita Income paid to 

adult family members; 

(17) work-study payments, if the income is from a 

program not administered under Title IV of the 

Higher Education Act or the Bureau of Indian 

Affairs; and 

(18) recurring cash contributions paid to the parent, 

such as severance pay or child support not paid 

pursuant to a written agreement or court-

ordered arrangement. 

(g)  The following sources of income shall not be counted when 

computing the gross income of the income unit: 

(1) Work First Family Assistance; 

(2) Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 

(3) non-recurring lump sum payments such as 

Social Security benefits, workers' 

compensation, alimony, veteran's benefits, and 
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housing assistance paid to or on behalf of a 

family member by HUD; 

(4) foster care assistance payments; 

(5) Adoption Assistance payments; 

(6) payments or trust funds from the Indian Claims 

Commission; 

(7) payments from the Alaska Native Claims 

Settlement Act; 

(8) income from sale of personal assets including 

stocks, bonds, house, car, and insurance; 

(9) money borrowed; 

(10) tax refunds, including Earned Income Tax 

Credits or Dependent Care Credits; 

(11) gifts or contributions, including cash, monetary 

gifts, and charitable contributions given on a 

regular basis to meet the recipient's needs; 

(12) non-cash contributions from non-legally 

responsible adults, such as food, clothing, 

furniture, or non-cash military benefits such as 

insurance; 

(13) Emergency Assistance, Low Income Energy 

Assistance Program, Crisis Intervention 

Program, General Assistance, or CP&L Share 

Program payments; 

(14) Section VIII housing subsidy; 

(15) capital gains; 

(16) the value of food stamp benefits allotted under 

the Food Stamp Act of 1977; 

(17) free and reduced lunch program; 

(18) food subsidy programs; 

(19) Relocation or Acquisition Act payments; 

(20) earnings of a dependent child under 18 years of 

age, unless the child is a minor parent of a child 

needing child care; 

(21) loans, grants, scholarships, and money received 

to pay for job training;  

(22) home produce utilized for household 

consumption; 

(23) Volunteers in Service to America (VISTA) 

earnings; 

(24) all subsidized housing and housing allotments, 

including military housing allotments. If rent is 

provided by an organization on a recurring 

basis, it shall be counted as income; 

(25) money received from an employer as an 

employee benefit for child care; and 

(26) work-study payments, if the income is from the 

College Work-Study Program administered 

under Title IV of the Higher Education Act or 

the Bureau of Indian Affairs.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 42 USC 9902; 45 

CFR 98.20; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; July 1, 1992; 

October 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1003 INCOME ELIGIBILITY LEVELS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1004 WITHOUT REGARD TO 

INCOME 

The Subsidized Child Care Assistance Program shall provide 

assistance without regard to income for: 

(1) child care services that are provided in 

conjunction with protective services as 

described in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(a);  

(2) children receiving foster care services who are 

in the custody of the county department of 

social services and are residing in licensed 

foster care homes or in the care of adults other 

than their parents; and 

(3) child care services that are provided to a child 

receiving Child Welfare Services as described 

in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(b).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; February 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1005 RESPONSIBILITY FOR 

ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; February 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1006 VERIFICATION OF INCOME  

(a)  An individual who applies for child care services shall provide 

to the Local Purchasing Agency verification of the amount and 

sources of his or her countable income as set forth in 10A NCAC 

10 .1002. The amount and source of income shall be verified by 

one of the following: 

(1) a copy of a source document, such as wage 

stubs, pay statements, and award letters; 

(2) identification of an existing agency record 

confirming the required information; or 

(3) electronic verification through Online 

Verification Service (OVS) within NC FAST as 

defined in 10A NCAC 10 .0102. 

(b)  If the Local Purchasing Agency cannot verify the recipient's 

income using the methods described in Paragraph (a)  of this Rule, 

then the amount and source of income shall be verified by one of 

the following: 

(1) the recipient shall provide a written statement 

of the amount and sources of their income to the 

Local Purchasing Agency; or 

(2) the Local Purchasing Agency shall confirm 

sources of income through a telephone 
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conversation or email communication with the 

source of the income. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1007 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

DETERMINATION AND REDETERMINATION OF 

ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  The Local Purchasing Agency shall determine initial 

eligibility, in accordance with Sections .0900 and .1000 of this 

Chapter, and shall redetermine eligibility every 12 months 

thereafter. 

(b)  If the Local Purchasing Agency determines that a recipient is 

eligible, the recipient shall remain eligible for the 12 month 

eligibility period unless: 

(1) the recipient ceases to be employed, in training 

leading to employment, or in an educational 

program, as described in 10A NCAC 10 .0905, 

for more than 90 days; 

(2) the recipient changes residency to outside the 

State; 

(3) the recipient's income exceeds 85 percent of the 

State Median Income; or 

(4) the Local Purchasing Agency or the Division 

issues the recipient a sanction for fraudulent 

misrepresentation in accordance with 10A 

NCAC 10 .0308. 

(c)  If the Local Purchasing Agency, upon redetermination, 

determines that the family exceeds the State's income eligibility 

limits, the family shall continue to receive subsidized child care 

services for 12 months if their income is at or below the federal 

income limit of 85 percent of the State Median Income. 

(d)  Annual federal income limits shall be determined in 

accordance with the U.S. Federal Poverty Guidelines issued by 

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions. A 

copy of these guidelines are available free of charge at 

http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/index.cfm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 45 CFR 98.21(a)(1); 

45 CFR 98.21(b)(1); 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2016; April 1, 2001; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1101 GENERAL RECIPIENT FEE 

POLICY 

(a)  Recipient fees for child care services shall be 10 percent of 

the income unit's gross monthly income as set forth in 10A NCAC 

10 .1002; however, no fees shall be charged to a recipient if child 

care services are provided in the following circumstances: 

(1) if child care services are provided in 

conjunction with protective services as 

described in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(a); 

(2) if child care services are provided to a child 

receiving Child Welfare Services as described 

in 10A NCAC 10 .0906(b); or  

(3) if a child with no income is living with someone 

other than his or her biological or adoptive 

parent or is living with someone who does not 

have court-ordered financial responsibility. 

(b)  Except as provided in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the recipient 

shall be assessed a fee for child care services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2a); 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; February 

1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1102 AMOUNT AND COLLECTION 

OF RECIPIENT FEES 

(a)  The amount of fees charged to a recipient shall be in 

accordance with the annual appropriations act. 

(b)  The child care provider shall collect recipient fees on a 

monthly basis. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; July 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1103 ADJUSTMENTS IN FEES 

(a)  If recipient medical expenses exceed 10 percent of a 

recipient's gross income as set forth in 10A NCAC 10 .1002 in 

any eligibility period, the recipient's fee shall be reassessed based 

on the recipient's adjusted income. The recipient's income shall be 

adjusted by deducting the amount of medical expenses that exceed 

10 percent of the recipient's gross income. 

(b)  If the plan of care is for less than a full day, the recipient fee 

shall be assessed in accordance with the annual appropriations act.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; December 1, 1992; July 1, 1992; July 

1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1201 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the terms defined in G.S. 110-86 and in 10A NCAC 

10 .0102, the following definitions shall apply to the terms used 

in this Section: 

(1) "Administrative Review Decision" means the 

decision made by the State Subsidy Services 

Appeals Panel that is made after review and 

analysis of documentation related to an appeal 

pursuant to this Section. 

(2) "File or Filing" means personal delivery, 

delivery by certified mail, or delivery by 

overnight express mailed to the current 

Division Director or the Subsidy Appeals 

Coordinator, North Carolina Division of Child 
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Development and Early Education, 2201 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2200. 

(3) "Initial Review" means the review by the Local 

Purchasing Agency of the operator's appeal. 

(4) "Local Appeal Hearing" means a hearing held 

by a hearing officer assigned by the Local 

Purchasing Agency after the Initial Review. 

(5) "State Subsidy Services Appeals Panel" or 

"Panel" means the North Carolina Division of 

Child Development and Early Education 

internal review panel.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-79; 143B-153; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1202 NOTICE 

Notice shall be given by one of the methods for service of process 

pursuant to G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or Rule 4(j3). If given by 

registered or certified mail, by signature confirmation as provided 

by the United States Postal Service, or by designated delivery 

service authorized pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7502(f)(2) with delivery 

receipt, notice shall be deemed to have been given on the delivery 

date appearing on the return receipt, copy of the proof of delivery 

provided by the United States Postal Service, or delivery receipt. 

If notice cannot be accomplished pursuant to G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) 

or Rule 4(j3), notice shall then be given in the manner provided 

in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1203 FILING 

For purposes of this Chapter, the following apply: 

(1) A document or paper shall be deemed filed as 

of the date it is delivered to the Division 

Director or the Subsidy Appeals Coordinator. 

(2) Filings shall be denied under the following 

circumstances: 

(a) the filing is not delivered as set forth 

in Item (1) of this Rule; or 

(b) the filing fails to comply with the 

Rules of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1204 APPEAL TO THE LOCAL 

PURCHASING AGENCY  

(a)  Appeals by recipients from services determinations pursuant 

to Section .1000 of this Chapter, changes in recipient fees 

pursuant to Section .1100 of this Chapter, terminations of 

payment pursuant to 10A NCAC 10 .1007, or a sanctions issued 

by the Local Purchasing Agency in accordance with 10A NCAC 

10 .0308 shall be made in accordance with G.S. 108A-79. 

(b)  Procedures for an operator to appeal to the Local Purchasing 

Agency are as follows: 

(1) An operator wishing to contest an action shall 

contact the Local Purchasing Agency in writing 

to request an initial review. Requests shall be 

made within 30 calendar days after the date of 

the Local Purchasing Agency action. 

(2) The Local Purchasing Agency shall make a 

determination on the initial review within 10 

business days of the request for an initial 

review. Within 30 calendar days of notice of the 

determination of the initial review by the Local 

Purchasing Agency, the operator may request a 

local appeal hearing by the Local Purchasing 

Agency. 

(3) The local appeal hearing shall be held within 

five business days of receipt of the request for a 

hearing. The Local Purchasing Agency shall 

grant a delay of up to 10 additional business 

days at the written request of the operator, but 

in no event shall the local appeal hearing be 

held more than 15 business days after the 

receipt of the request for a hearing. 

(4) The Local Purchasing Agency shall serve a 

written statement of decision within 10 business 

days following the local hearing. The decision 

shall include the facts and conclusions that 

support the determination by the Local 

Purchasing Agency. 

(5) The Local Purchasing Agency shall include 

with its written statement of decision 

instructions for appealing its decision in 

accordance with this Rule. 

(6) If the operator is not satisfied with the final 

decision of the Local Purchasing Agency, he or 

she may appeal to the State Subsidy Services 

Appeals Panel by filing a notice of appeal 

within 30 calendar days of receipt of the written 

statement of decision in accordance with this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 108A-79; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 10 .1205 OPERATOR APPEAL TO 

DIVISION OF CHILD DEVELOPMENT AND EARLY 

EDUCATION 

(a)  The following persons may appeal a decision of a Local 

Purchasing Agency or the Division to the Panel within 15 calendar 

days after having exhausted the appeals process at the appropriate 

Local Purchasing Agency or within 15 calendar days after the 

Division takes action as described in Subparagraphs (2) and (3) of 

this Paragraph: 

(1) an operator to whom a Local Purchasing 

Agency has issued a sanction pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 10 .0308; 

(2) an operator whom a Local Purchasing Agency 

or the Division has failed to approve for 

participation in or has terminated participation 

from the Subsidized Child Care Assistance 

Program pursuant to Section .0600 of this 

Chapter; or 

(3) an operator contesting the determination of an 

overpayment pursuant to 10A NCAC 10 .0309. 
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(b)  Upon notification of an appeal filed pursuant to this Section, 

the Local Purchasing Agency shall, within five business days of 

the date of notification, forward the appeal record to the Division 

Director or Subsidy Appeals Coordinator, with a copy to the 

appellant, consisting of the following: 

(1) a copy of its final decision; 

(2) the signed agreement between the Local 

Purchasing Agency and the operator, where 

applicable; and 

(3) all supplementary documentation considered 

during the local appeals process. 

(c)  The Panel shall complete its review and notify the appealing 

party and the Local Purchasing Agency of its decision in writing 

within 30 business days of the Panel's receipt of the appeal record 

as follows: 

(1) the decision shall include the facts and 

conclusions that support the determination by 

the Panel; or 

(2) the decision may be delayed up to an additional 

15 business days if the Panel lacks sufficient 

information to render a decision at the initial 

administrative review. The Panel may request 

additional information from the Local 

Purchasing Agency or the operator. 

(d)  The appealing party may appeal the administrative review 

decision by filing a petition for a contested case hearing pursuant 

to G.S. 150B-23 and in accordance with G.S. 110-94. Appeals 

from the Panel shall be filed within 30 calendar days of notice of 

the Panel's decision, in accordance with G.S. 150B-23(f). 

(e)  The administrative review decision may direct a Local 

Purchasing Agency to take an action or reverse an action based 

upon its review of the record as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(f)  An operator may appeal a final determination pursuant to 10A 

NCAC 10 .0308(k) by filing a petition for a contested case hearing 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23 and in accordance with G.S. 110-94. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 22F .0301 DEFINITION OF PROGRAM 

ABUSE BY PROVIDERS 

Program abuse by providers as used in this Chapter consists of 

incidents, services, or practices inconsistent with accepted fiscal 

or medical practices which cause financial loss to the Medicaid 

program or its beneficiaries, or which are not reasonable or which 

are not necessary, including: 

(1) billing for care or services at a frequency or 

amount that is not medically necessary, as 

defined by 10A NCAC 25A .0201;  

(2) separate billing for care and services that are: 

(a) part of an all-inclusive procedure; or 

(b) included in the daily per-diem rate; 

(3) billing for care and services that are provided 

by an unlicensed person or person who does not 

meet the requirements set out in the Medicaid 

State Plan or Clinical Coverage Policies for the 

care or services, as allowed by law;  

(4) failure to provide and maintain, within accepted 

medical standards for the community, quality of 

care; 

(5) failure to provide and maintain within accepted 

medical standards for the community, as set out 

in 10A NCAC 25A .0201, medically necessary 

care and services; 

(6) failure to comply with requirements of 

certification or failure to comply with the terms 

and conditions for the submission of claims set 

out in Rule .0104(e) of this Subchapter; 

(7) abuse as defined by 42 C.F.R. 455.2, which is 

adopted and incorporated by reference with 

subsequent changes or amendments and 

available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/; 

(8) cause for termination as described in 42 C.F.R. 

455.101, which is adopted and incorporated by 

reference with subsequent changes or 

amendments and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/; 

(9) violations of State and federal Medicaid 

statutes, federal Medicaid regulations, the rules 

of this Subchapter, the State Medicaid Plan, and 

Medicaid Clinical Coverage policies; 

(10) failure to notify the Division of Health Benefits 

(Division) within 30 calendar days of learning 

of any adverse action initiated against any 

required license, certification, registration, 

accreditation, or endorsement of the provider or 

any of its officers, agents, or employees; 

(11) billing the Medicaid beneficiary or any other 

person for items and services reimbursed by the 

Division; 

(12) discounting client accounts to a third party 

agent or paying a third party agent a percentage 

of the amount collected; 

(13) failure to refund any monies received in error to 

the Division within 30 calendar days of 

discovery; 

(14) failure to file mandatory reports or required 

disclosures with the Division within the time-

frames established in federal or state statute, 

rule, or regulation; 

(15) billing for claims that are inaccurate, 

incomplete, or not personally provided by the 

provider, its employees, or persons with whom 

the provider has contracted to render services, 

under its direction; 

(16) billing for services provided at or from a site 

location not associated with the approved 

provider number, except for hospital services as 

set forth in 42 C.F.R. 413.65; 

(17) failure to notify the Division in writing of any 

change in information contained in the 

Medicaid provider enrollment application 
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within 30 calendar days of the event triggering 

the reporting obligation; 

(18) failure to retain or submit to the Division upon 

request documentation for services billed to the 

Division; 

(19) failure to grant the Division access to provider 

facilities upon the Division's request; or 

(20) failure to perform services or supply goods in 

accordance with all requirements under Title VI 

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of 

the 1973 Rehabilitation Act, the 1975 Age 

Discrimination Act, the 1990 Americans With 

Disabilities Act, Section 1557 of the Affordable 

Care Act, and all applicable federal and state 

statutes, rules, and regulations relating to the 

protection of human subjects of research. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B; 108A-54.2; 108A-63; 42 C.F.R. Part 455;  

Eff. April 15, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1984;  

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1104 INVOLUNTARY 

ADMINISTRATION OF PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION 

(a)  Psychotropic medication may be administered to any 

non-consenting client who has a mental illness and is receiving 

inpatient mental health treatment if any one or more of the 

following conditions exist: 

(1) failure to treat the client's illness or injury 

would pose an imminent substantial threat of 

injury or death to the client or those around him; 

or  

(2) there is evidence that the client's condition is 

worsening and, if not treated, is likely to 

produce acute exacerbation of a chronic 

condition that would endanger the safety or life 

of the client or others; and: 

(A) the evidence of substantial and 

prolonged deterioration is 

corroborated by medical history; and 

(B) the source of the history is 

documented in the client's record. 

(b)  Medication refusal shall mean a client has refused to take 

medication within 30 minutes of the initial offer. A client who 

accepts medication within 30 minutes of the initial offer shall not 

be considered to have refused medication. 

(c)  Medication Refusal: 

(1) All incidents of medication refusal shall be: 

(A) reported as promptly as possible to the 

psychiatrist who is treating the client; 

and 

(B) documented on progress notes and the 

medication chart by staff responsible 

for administering the medication. 

(2) The administering staff shall attempt to 

determine the reason for refusal by questioning 

the client and encouraging him to accept the 

medication. Such shall be documented in the 

client's record. 

(3) A member of the treatment team shall discuss 

the reasons for refusal directly with the client 

and attempt to resolve those concerns that are 

the source of the refusal before a forced 

medication order is written. 

(d)  Initial Emergency Situation: 

(1) In an initial emergency situation the physician: 

(A) may initiate procedures and write an 

order for administering emergency 

forced medication for a period not to 

exceed 72 hours; and 

(B) shall document in the client's record 

the pertinent circumstances and 

rationale for the psychotropic 

medication. 

(2) Psychotropic medication may be administered 

if the physician determines that the condition 

set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule exists and: 

(A) the medication is a generally accepted 

treatment for the client's condition; 

(B) there is a substantial likelihood that the 

treatment will effectively reduce the 

signs and symptoms of the client's 

illness; and 

(C) the proposed medication is the least 

intrusive of the possible treatments. 

In all cases, the medication shall not exceed the dosage 

expected to accomplish the treatment and the client shall 

be monitored for adverse reactions and side effects. 

(3) Continuation of emergency situation: 

(A) If needed, two subsequent emergency 

periods of 72 hours may be authorized 

only after the attending psychiatrist 

has received the written or verbal 

concurrence from another psychiatrist 

not currently involved in the client's 

treatment. 

(B) If the client continues to refuse 

medication after it is determined that 

psychotropic medication is still 

warranted, procedures for 

administering medication in a 

non-emergency situation shall be 

implemented. 

(e)  Non-Emergency Situations: 

(1) If a client refuses psychotropic medication in a 

non-emergency situation, the attending 

physician shall: 

(A) make every effort to determine the 

cause of the refusal; 

(B) inform the client of indications for 

psychotropic medication, including 

benefits and risk, and the advantages 
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and disadvantages of alternate courses 

of treatment; and 

(C) request his or her consent. 

(2) The treatment team may also assist in efforts to 

explain the advantages of medication to the 

client. 

(3) The client's record shall contain documentation 

that efforts have been made to determine the 

cause of refusal and advantages of medication. 

(4) The physician shall initiate a referral to the 

Involuntary Medication Committee if the client 

continues to refuse medication. The Committee 

shall: 

(A) determine whether either of the 

conditions as set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule exists before authorizing 

an involuntary medication order; and 

(B) apply the criteria set forth in 

Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (2) of this 

Rule in making its determination. 

(C) If neither of the conditions set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule exists, the 

client shall not be involuntarily 

medicated. 

(f)  Involuntary Medication Committee: 

(1) The members of the Involuntary Medication 

Committee shall be appointed by the Chief of 

Psychiatry and shall consist of a psychiatrist, a 

psychologist, and a mental health nurse who is 

a Registered Nurse. 

(A) If the psychiatrist who issued the 

involuntary medication order is the 

individual who normally sits on the 

committee, another psychiatrist shall 

serve in that capacity. 

(B) Other prison staff who have pertinent 

information that may be useful to the 

committee in making its determination 

shall be required by the committee to 

attend the hearing. 

(2) In conducting the hearing, the committee 

chairman, appointed by the Chief of Psychiatry, 

shall ensure that the client: 

(A) has received written and verbal notice 

of the time, date, place, and purpose of 

the hearing; 

(B) is informed of his or her right to hear 

evidence providing the basis for the 

involuntary medication, the right to 

call witnesses on his or her behalf; and 

the right to request that the Client 

Representative attend the hearing as 

set forth in Subparagraph (g)(2) of this 

Rule; 

(C) attends the hearing unless his or her 

clinical condition is such that his or 

her attendance is not feasible. In this 

case, the Committee shall: 

(i) state the reasons for 

determining that the presence 

of the client is not feasible; 

(ii) allow the client to be 

interviewed in his or her 

room by the client 

representative and one or 

more members of the 

Committee; and 

(iii) allow the client 

representative an opportunity 

to present facts relevant to 

whether an involuntary 

medication order should be 

issued; 

(D) shall be allowed a reasonable number 

of witnesses, to be determined by the 

committee chairman, or: 

(i) written statements may be 

considered in lieu of direct 

testimony; and 

(ii) specific client witnesses may 

be excluded from direct 

testimony if the unit 

superintendent or designee 

determines a justifiable 

security risk would occur if 

they were brought to the 

hearing site; and 

(E) be given the opportunity to question 

any staff who present evidence that 

supports the need to involuntarily 

medicate. 

(3) After the committee has received all relevant 

information, the committee shall: 

(A) consider the facts and arrive at a 

majority decision; 

(B) ensure that the authorization to 

involuntarily medicate shall not 

exceed 30 days; 

(C) prepare and file in the client's record a 

written summary of the evidence 

presented and the rationale for the 

decision; and 

(D) consult an attorney from the Attorney 

General's Office, assigned to represent 

the Department, concerning the legal 

propriety of forcibly administering 

medication in a given case. 

(4) If, after the initial 30 day period, involuntary 

medication is still deemed necessary, the 

psychiatrist may again present the case to the 

Involuntary Medication Committee, which: 

(A) shall conduct a review of the record 

and the reasons presented in support of 

continuing involuntary medication; 

and 

(B) may then authorize the administration 

of involuntary medication for 90 
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additional days. Subsequent 90-day 

periods may be authorized only after 

similar reviews. 

(g)  Client Representative: 

(1) If a client is recommended for forced 

medication on a non-emergency basis, the 

Chief of Psychiatry or his or her designee shall 

appoint a member of the treatment staff to serve 

as a Client Representative, whose role shall 

include: 

(A) assisting the client in verbalizing the 

reasons for his or her refusal of 

psychotropic medications in meetings 

with his or her treatment team; 

(B) providing this information to the 

Involuntary Medication Committee; 

and 

(C) preparing a summary of the reasons 

for the refusal and documenting it in 

the client's record. 

(2) The Client Representative shall appear before 

the Involuntary Medication Committee 

whenever he feels that it is in the best interest 

of the client or at the client's request. 

(3) When reviewing a case involving the 

involuntary administration of medication, the 

Involuntary Medication Committee shall 

consider oral or written comments from the 

Client Representative. 

(h)  If physical force is actually employed, documentation of all 

actions relating to the forceful administration of medication shall 

be included in the client's record and reported to the Unit 

Superintendent on a "Use of Force Report" (DC-422). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 148-19(d); 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1105 PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION 

EDUCATION 

(a)  To ensure the client's understanding of psychotropic 

medication, individual or group medication education shall be 

provided to each client: 

(1) who is to begin receiving, or is to be maintained 

on, psychotropic medication; and 

(2) by the prescribing physician or other person 

approved by the physician; 

(b)  Medical education that has been provided to a client shall be 

documented in the client's record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 148-19(d); 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1202 USE OF SECLUSION 

(a)  Seclusion shall be used only under one of the following 

conditions: 

(1) on an emergency basis when it is necessary to 

prevent immediate harm to the client or to 

others; or 

(2) on a non-emergency basis if that seclusion will 

resolve the precipitating crisis.  

(b)  Emergency seclusion shall last no longer than is necessary to 

control the client. 

(c)  Seclusion shall not exceed seven days without the review and 

approval of an internal committee in accordance with Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule. 

(d) Observations or reviews of any client in seclusion shall be 

made as follows: 

(1) any client placed in seclusion shall be observed 

no less frequently than every 30 minutes; 

(2) a clinician may extend this interval up to 60 

minutes if such an observation would not affect 

the health, safety, or welfare of the client; 

(3) documentation for extending the observation 

shall be placed in the client's record; 

(4) observations by a clinician shall be made at 

least daily or, if the clinician is not present at 

the facility, observations by a health 

professional shall be reported by telephone to a 

clinician; and 

(5) reviews by an internal committee shall be made 

in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(e)  Committee review: 

(1) If it appears that seclusion may be indicated for 

a period to exceed seven days: 

(A) an internal committee consisting of a 

clinician, a nurse or member of the 

medical staff, and a member of the 

administrative staff shall review the 

use of seclusion and interview the 

client; and 

(B) continued use shall not exceed the 

initial 7 days without the approval of 

this committee. 

(2) Following its initial review, the committee shall 

review the case at intervals not to exceed 30 

days. 

(f)  If a client is placed in seclusion, his or her client record shall 

contain the following documentation: 

(1) the rationale and authorization for the use of 

seclusion, including placement in seclusion 

pending review by the responsible clinician; 

(2) a record of the observation of the client as 

required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule; 

(3) each review by the responsible clinician as 

required in Subparagraph (d)(4) of this Rule, 

including a description of the client's behavior 

and all significant changes that may have 

occurred; and 

(4) each review by the internal committee as 

required in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 148-19(d); 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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10A NCAC 26D .1203 USE OF RESTRAINT 

(a)  Restraint shall be used only under the following 

circumstances: 

(1) after less restrictive measures, such as 

counseling and seclusion, have been attempted 

or if clinically determined to be inappropriate or 

inadequate to avoid injury to self or others; and 

(2) either: 

(A) upon the order of a clinician to control 

a client who has attempted, threatened, 

or accomplished harm to himself or 

others; or 

(B) upon the authorization of the 

officer-in-charge on an emergency 

basis if believed necessary to prevent 

immediate harm to the client or to 

others. 

(3) In determining if restraint is indicated, a 

clinician shall consider whether the client: 

(A) has inflicted an injury to himself or to 

others and, if so, the nature and extent 

of such injury; or 

(B) threatens, through words or gestures, 

to inflict injury to himself or others 

and the nature of the threat. 

(b)  When a client exhibits behavior indicating the use of restraints 

and under the conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

following procedures shall be followed: 

(1) If, in the judgment of any staff member, 

immediate restraint is necessary to protect the 

client or others, the client shall be referred 

immediately to a clinician for observation and 

treatment. 

(2) If there is insufficient time to make the referral 

or if a clinician is not immediately available: 

(A) the staff in charge may employ 

emergency use of restraint; 

(B) the client shall be reviewed within four 

hours of the initial restraint, and a 

restraint may be ordered by a clinician 

pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

This may be accomplished by: 

(i) telephone contact between 

the senior health professional 

at the facility and the 

clinician; and 

(ii) if such review cannot be 

obtained, the client shall be 

released from restraint. 

(C) a restraint order shall not exceed four 

hours. At the expiration of the restraint 

order, the client shall be released from 

restraint unless a new order is issued; 

and 

(D) a subsequent order for continuing 

restraint shall be based on: 

(i) the client's present condition 

and behavior; and 

(ii) reasons other than the 

original reasons for restraint, 

unless the order indicates the 

original reasons are 

considered applicable at the 

time of the subsequent order. 

(c)  If the client is restrained and subject to injury by another 

client, a professional staff member shall remain continuously 

present with the client. Observations and interventions shall be 

documented in the client record. 

(d)  All orders for continuation of restraint shall be reviewed and 

documented in intervals not to exceed four hours thereafter, either 

by personal examination or telephone communication between 

health professionals and the responsible clinician. 

(e)  All orders of restraint issued or approved by a clinician shall 

include written authorization to correctional staff or health 

professionals to release the client when he or she is no longer 

dangerous to him or herself or to others. 

(f)  The responsible clinician shall be notified upon release of a 

client from restraint. 

(g)  Observations or reviews of all clients in restraint shall be 

made as follows: 

(1) observations no less frequently than every 30 

minutes; 

(2) observations every four hours by the 

responsible clinician either personally or 

through reports from health professionals; and 

(3) reviews by an internal committee in accordance 

with Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

(h)  Committee review: An internal committee consisting of three 

members of the Department's clinical and administrative staff, 

including at least one psychologist and one psychiatrist shall 

review cases in which restraints were used beyond four hours. The 

incident will be reviewed and include consideration of the 

following: 

(1) the use of appropriate procedures in the 

decision to restrain; 

(2) sufficient indications for the use of restraint; 

and 

(3) release of the client from restraint as soon as 

clinically indicated based upon consideration of 

the factors listed in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule. 

(i)  When a client is placed in restraint, the client record shall 

contain documentation 

of the following: 

(1) the rationale and authorization for the use of 

restraint, including placement in restraint 

pending review by the responsible clinician; 

(2) a record of the observations of the client as 

required by Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(3) each review by the responsible clinician as 

required by this Rule, including a description of 

the client and all significant changes that have 

occurred; and 

(4) each review by the internal committee as 

required in Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G. S. 148-19(d); 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2019 

1943 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1204 PROTECTIVE DEVICES 

Whenever protective devices are used for any client, the Chief of 

Psychiatry shall: 

(1) ensure that the: 

(a) necessity for the protective device has 

been assessed and approved by a 

mental health professional; 

(b) device is applied by a person who has 

been trained in the use of protective 

devices; 

(c) client who is using protective devices 

which limits his or her freedom of 

movement is observed every two 

hours; and 

(d) client is given the opportunity for 

toileting and exercising as needed. 

(2) document the use of protective devices in the 

client's medical record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 148-19(d); 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 26D .1206 INVOLUNTARY REFERRALS 

AND TRANSFERS 

(a)  Involuntary referrals and transfers to residential or inpatient 

units shall occur only if the attending clinician determines that: 

(1) a client requires treatment services not available 

at his or her current service delivery site; and 

(2) a transfer over the client's objections is 

required. 

(b)  Non-emergency involuntary referrals: 

(1) If a qualified professional determines that the 

following conditions exist: 

(A) a diagnosable mental disorder; and 

(B) determination is made that outpatient 

services are not effective treatment for 

the client; and 

(2) the professional has given the client a written 

notice of a referral for transfer and has 

explained to the client his or her rights in 

accordance with Rule .1207 of this Section; 

then  

(3) the following steps shall be taken if the client 

does not voluntarily consent to the referral and 

transfer: 

(A) the client shall be informed of the 

time, date and place of a hearing; 

(B) the Chief of Psychiatry or his or her 

designee shall contact the hearing 

officer to arrange a hearing; and 

(C) a client advisor shall be appointed and 

a hearing conducted in accordance 

with the procedures specified in this 

Rule. 

(c)  Emergency involuntary referrals: 

(1) Such referrals shall be implemented only: 

(A) if a client has a diagnosable mental 

disorder; and either: 

(i) presents a substantial risk of 

harm to himself or others, as 

manifested by recent overt 

acts or expressed threats of 

violence; or 

(ii) is so unable to care for his or 

her own personal health and 

safety as to create a 

substantial risk of harm to 

himself; and 

(B) the Chief of Psychiatry has made a 

determination that outpatient services 

are not effective treatment for the 

client's condition. 

(2) Such referrals shall be made by the mental 

health staff, the unit physician, nurse, or officer 

in charge after consultation with the designated 

mental health staff of the receiving unit. 

(3) The officer in charge shall authorize a transfer 

only under the following conditions and if the 

officer determines: 

(A) the emergency referral criteria have 

been met; and 

(B) efforts to contact the referring mental 

health professional have failed. 

(d)  A client who is transferred because he or she meets the criteria 

of an emergency involuntary referral shall be afforded a hearing 

at the receiving unit within 10 days of admission. This hearing 

will follow the same procedures as those required by Paragraph 

(b) of this Rule. 

(e)  Client advisors: 

(1) Each client referred for a hearing shall have an 

advisor appointed to assist him or her in 

preparing for the hearing. 

(2) Each area administrator or institution head shall 

be responsible for appointing advisors for all 

units within his or her jurisdiction. 

(3) Client advisors shall be free to advise the client 

independently and to act solely in his or her 

behalf, and shall not be subject to any 

harassment, discipline, or coercion in 

connection with such advice for the client.  

(4) Ex parte attempts to influence the decision of 

the hearing officer shall be prohibited. 

(f)  Hearing officers: The Chief of Psychiatry shall recommend 

and the Director of the Division of Prisons shall appoint persons 

to serve as hearing officers who shall: 

(1) be qualified professionals who are neutral and 

independent; 

(2) have the authority to refuse to transfer an client 

if they determine that such a transfer is not 

justified. 

(3) ensure and document that an client advisor has 

been assigned; 
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(4) conduct a hearing that follows the procedures 

specified in this Rule in a fair and impartial 

manner; and 

(5) determine from evidence presented whether the 

criteria for emergency or non-emergency 

referrals have been met. 

(g)  Hearing procedures: 

(1) The hearing shall be conducted no sooner than 

48 hours after the time the client is given 

written notice that he or she is being considered 

for a referral to a residential or inpatient unit; 

however, the client has the right to waive the 

48-hour notice. 

(2) The hearing officer shall determine the time, 

place, and site of the hearing. 

(3) The hearing officer shall consider all relevant 

and non- repetitive evidence justifying or 

disputing the involuntary transfer and that: 

(A) the client has a diagnosable mental 

disorder; 

(B) the client requires services that are not 

currently available on an outpatient 

basis; and  

(C) the unit to which the client is to be 

transferred is better able to provide the 

needed treatment or habilitation 

services than is the currently assigned 

housing unit. 

(4) A copy of the referral form, as well as other 

relevant written documents, shall be entered as 

evidence. 

(5) All written documents or verbal information are 

to be considered confidential, in accordance 

with applicable law and Department policy. 

(6) The client shall not have direct access to his or 

her client record; however, the client advisor 

may: 

(A) review the client's record presented at 

the hearing; and 

(B) consult with the client about its use at 

the hearing and any other matters 

which could be relevant at the hearing, 

including the questioning of all 

witnesses. 

(7) The client who is being considered for transfer 

or his or her advisor may question any 

witnesses for the State, including mental health 

or mental retardation professionals. 

(8) The client may also present witnesses in his or 

her own behalf with limitations that include: 

(A) a reasonable number of witnesses will 

be allowed at the discretion of the 

Hearing Officer; 

(B) testimony may be received by 

conference telephone call if the 

hearing is conducted away from the 

client's assigned unit; 

(C) written statements may be entered in 

lieu of direct testimony; and 

(D) specific client witnesses may be 

excluded from direct testimony if a 

justifiable security risk, including 

threats of harm or inmate escape, as 

determined by a unit superintendent, 

or designee, would occur were they 

brought to the hearing site. 

(9) The hearing officer shall: 

(A) document the results of the hearing, 

summarizing the evidence presented 

and the rationale for his or her 

decision; 

(B) communicate the results of the hearing 

to the client and staff; and 

(C) ensure that a copy of relevant 

documents is placed in the client 

record. 

(10) The decision to transfer involuntarily shall be 

valid throughout the duration of the stay at any 

residential or inpatient unit. There shall be a 

review of the need for continued treatment or 

habilitation every 30 days.  

(11) A client may be transferred to another like unit 

without a rehearing; however, if he or she is 

discharged from residential or inpatient 

services, a rehearing shall be required prior to 

readmission to that level of service. 

(12) At the request of the client, his or her case shall 

be reviewed by a Hearing Officer within 90 

days after the initial hearing to determine 

whether the assignment to the residential or 

inpatient unit will be extended or terminated. 

Subsequent reviews by a Hearing Officer shall 

take place each 180 days if requested by the 

client. 

(h)  The receiving unit shall be responsible for notifying the client 

of his or her right to inform his or her family of the transfer, and 

such notice shall be provided within 24 hours of the admission to 

the receiving unit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 148-19(d); 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 67A .0301 REGIONAL DEPARTMENTS OF 

SOCIAL SERVICES FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS OF 

COUNTIES 

Counties creating or joining a regional social services department 

pursuant to G.S. 108A-15.7, shall enter into a written agreement 

that sets forth, at a minimum, the following financial obligations 

and the amount or method in which each county will appropriate 

funds to the regional social services department for: 

(1) the administration of programs of social 

services and public assistance; 

(2) the county share of public assistance program 

costs; and 
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(3) any recoupments following fiscal or program 

monitoring or audit findings. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-15.7; 143B-153(9); 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0101 LOCATION OF MAIN OFFICE 

AND HOURS OF BUSINESS 

The main office of the North Carolina Industrial Commission is 

located in the Dobbs Building, 430 North Salisbury Street, 

Raleigh, North Carolina. Documents that are not being filed 

electronically may be filed at the main office between the hours 

of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. only. Documents permitted to be filed 

electronically may be so filed until 11:59 p.m. on the required 

filing date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0101 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0102 OFFICIAL FORMS 

(a)  Copies of the Commission's rules and forms regarding tort 

claims may be obtained by contacting the Commission in person 

at the address in Rule .0101 of this Section; by written request 

mailed to 1236 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1236, 

Attn.: Office of the Clerk; or from the Commission's website at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/abtrules.html and 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/forms.html. 

(b)  The use of any printed forms other than those provided by the 

Commission is prohibited, except that parties may reproduce 

current Commission forms for their own use, provided: 

(1) no statement, question, or information blank 

contained on the Commission form is omitted 

from the substituted form; and 

(2) the substituted form is identical in size and 

format to the Commission form. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0102 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0103 FILING FEES 

(a)  No tort claim shall be accepted for filing with the Commission 

unless the claim is accompanied by an attorney's check, certified 

check, money order, or electronic transfer of funds in payment of 

a filing fee in an amount equal to the filing fee required for the 

filing of a civil action in the Superior Court division of the General 

Court of Justice. 

(b)  The provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule notwithstanding, 

a tort claim that is accompanied by a Petition to Sue as an Indigent 

shall be accepted for filing upon the date of its receipt. 

(c)  A Petition to Sue as an Indigent shall consist of an affidavit 

sufficient to satisfy the provisions of G.S. 1-110, stating that 

plaintiff is unable to comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  If the Commission determines the plaintiff is able to pay the 

fee assessed under this Rule, an Order shall be issued directing 

payment of that fee, and the plaintiff shall, within 30 days from 

receipt of the Order, forward to the Commission an attorney's 

check, certified check, money order, or electronic transfer of 

funds for the full amount required to be paid. Failure to submit the 

required amount of the filing fee within this time shall result in 

the tort claim being dismissed without prejudice. 

(e)  Upon consideration of a prison inmate's Petition to Sue as an 

Indigent, the Commission shall determine whether the inmate's 

tort claim is frivolous and whether to dismiss the claim, pursuant 

to G.S. 1-110. Appeals from the dismissal of a frivolous tort claim 

pursuant to G.S. 1-110 shall proceed directly to the Full 

Commission and shall be decided without oral argument.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291.2; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0103 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0104 ELECTRONIC FILINGS WITH 

THE COMMISSION; HOW TO FILE 

(a)  All filings to the Commission in tort claims shall be submitted 

electronically in accordance with this Rule. Any document 

transmitted to the Commission in a manner not in accordance with 

this Rule shall not be accepted for filing. Plaintiffs without legal 

representation may file all documents with the Office of the Clerk 

of the Commission via the Commission's Electronic Document 

Filing Portal (EDFP), electronic mail, facsimile, U.S. Mail, 

private courier service, or hand delivery. 

(b)  Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, all documents 

shall be transmitted to the Commission via EDFP. Information 

regarding how to register for and use EDFP is available at 

http://www.ic.nc.gov/training.html. In the event EDFP is 

inoperable, all documents required to be filed via EDFP shall be 

transmitted to the Commission via electronic mail to 

edfp@ic.nc.gov. Documents required to be filed via EDFP that 

are sent to the Commission via electronic mail when EDFP is 

operable shall not be accepted for filing. 

(c)  The tort claims forms and documents listed in Table 1 shall 

not be required to be transmitted via EDFP provided all applicable 

qualifying conditions are met. 

 

Table 1: Forms and documents exempt from EDFP filing requirements and how to file them: 

 

DOCUMENT  

 

QUALIFYING CONDITION(S)  

 

HOW TO FILE  

Form T-1  No IC file number has been 

assigned  

Hand delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-

1236.  

Form T-3 No IC file number has been 

assigned 

Email to dockets@ic.nc.gov, hand 

delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office, or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina; 27699-

1236 

Pre-affidavit motion under Rule 

9(j)(3) of the Rules of Civil 

Procedure to extend the Statute of 

Limitations.  

No IC file number has been 

assigned. 

Hand delivery to the Industrial 

Commission's main office or by 

mail to 1236 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-

1236. 

 

(d)  A one-year waiver shall be granted to an attorney who notifies 

the Commission of the attorney's inability to comply with the 

electronic filing requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule due to 

a lack of the necessary internet technology resources. The 

notification shall indicate why the attorney is unable to comply 

with the rule and outline the attorney's plan for coming into 

compliance within the one-year period. The notification shall be 

filed with the Office of the Clerk of the Commission via facsimile 

or U.S. Mail. This Paragraph shall expire one year from the 

effective date of this Rule. 

(e)  Any party may apply to the Commission for an emergency 

temporary waiver of the electronic filing requirement set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule if it is unable to comply because of 

temporary technical problems or lack of electronic mail or internet 

access. The request for an emergency temporary waiver shall be 

included with any filing submitted via facsimile, U.S. Mail, or 

hand delivery due to such temporary technical or access issues. 

(f)  A Notice of Appeal to the North Carolina Court of Appeals 

shall be accepted for filing by the Commission via EDFP or U.S. 

Mail. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-291.2; 143-297; 

143-300; 

Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0105 CONTACT INFORMATION 

(a)  "Contact information" for purposes of this Rule shall include 

telephone number, facsimile number, email address, and mailing 

address. 

(b)  All persons or entities without legal representation who have 

matters pending before the Commission shall advise the 

Commission upon any change in contact information by filing a 

written notice via the Commission's Electronic Document Filing 

Portal ("EDFP"), electronic mail, facsimile, U.S. Mail, private 

courier service, or hand delivery. 

(c)  A plaintiff without legal representation who was an inmate in 

the North Carolina Division of Adult Corrections at the time of 

filing his or her tort claim, shall, within thirty (30) days of release, 

provide the Commission with written notice of his or her post-

release contact information in any manner authorized in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. Following the initial written notice of 

post-release contact information, the previously incarcerated 

plaintiff shall continue to advise the Commission upon all changes 

in contact information in accordance with Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  All attorneys of record with matters before the Commission 

shall inform the Commission in writing of any change in the 

attorney's or the represented party's contact information via email 

to dockets@ic.nc.gov. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0202 MEDICAL MALPRACTICE 

CLAIMS BY UNREPRESENTED PRISON INMATES 

In any tort claim filed by an unrepresented prison inmate in which 

the Commission determines that the plaintiff is alleging that a 

health care provider, as defined in G.S. 90-21.11, failed to comply 

with the applicable standard of care set forth in G.S. 90-21.12, or 

the defendant has moved to dismiss the claim for failure to comply 

with Rule 9(j) of the North Rules of Civil Procedure, all discovery 

shall be stayed until a recorded non-evidentiary hearing before the 

Commission is held for the purpose of determining whether a 

claim for medical malpractice has been stated and, if so, whether: 

(1) the plaintiff must meet the requirements of Rule 

9(j)(1) or (2) of the North Carolina Rules of 

Civil Procedure to proceed with the claim; or 

(2) the plaintiff has alleged facts establishing 

negligence under the existing common-law 

doctrine of res ipsa loquitur. 

If the Commission determines that a claim for medical 

malpractice has been stated and plaintiff must meet the 

requirements of Rule 9(j)(1) or (2) of the North Carolina Rules of 

Civil Procedure, the defendant shall produce medical records to 

the plaintiff within the time period ordered by the Commission. 

The plaintiff shall have one hundred and twenty (120) days 

following receipt of the medical records to comply with Rule 9(j) 

of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0206 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0202 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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11 NCAC 23B .0203 INFANTS AND INCOMPETENTS 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or 

incompetent in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 17 shall apply 

on a Form T-42 Application for Appointment of Guardian ad 

Litem. The Commission shall appoint a guardian ad litem if it is 

in the best interest of the minor or incompetent. The Commission 

shall appoint the guardian ad litem only after due inquiry as to the 

fitness of the person to be appointed. 

(b)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid to an attorney 

who serves as a guardian ad litem for actual services rendered 

upon receipt of an affidavit of actual time spent in representation 

of the minor or incompetent as part of the costs assessed pursuant 

to G.S. 143-291.2(a) or Rule 17(b)(2) of the North Carolina Rules 

of Civil Procedure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-295; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0307 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0203 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0204 MOTIONS 

(a)  All motions regarding tort claims shall be filed pursuant to 

Rule .0104 of this Subchapter.  

(b)  A motion shall state the grounds on which it is based with 

particularity, the relief sought, and the opposing party's position, 

or that the opposing party's position could not be ascertained after 

a good faith effort.  

(c)  At the same time a motion is filed, the party filing the motion 

shall provide a copy of the motion to all opposing attorneys of 

record or on all opposing parties if not represented. 

(d)  All motions and responses thereto filed electronically shall 

include a proposed Order in Microsoft Word format.  

(e)  By motion of the parties or on its own motion, the 

Commission may enlarge the time for an act required or allowed 

to be done under the Rules in this Subchapter in the interests of 

justice or to promote judicial economy. An enlargement of time 

may be granted either before or after the relevant time requirement 

has elapsed. 

(f)  Motions to continue or remove a case from the hearing docket 

shall be made as much in advance of the scheduled hearing as 

possible and shall be made in writing. The moving party shall state 

that the other parties have been advised of the motion and shall 

state the position of the other parties regarding the motion. Oral 

motions shall be permitted in emergency situations. 

(g)  The responding party to a motion, with the exception of 

motions to continue or to remove a case from a hearing docket, 

has 10 days after a motion is served during which to file and serve 

copies of a response in opposition to the motion.  

(h)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (g) of this Rule, a motion may be 

acted upon at any time by the Commission, despite the absence of 

notice to all parties and without awaiting a response. Motions 

shall be determined without oral argument, unless the 

Commission orders otherwise in the interests of justice. 

(i)  Motions to dismiss or for summary judgment filed by the 

defendant on the ground that plaintiff has failed to name the 

individual officer, agent, employee, or involuntary servant whose 

alleged negligence gave rise to the claim, or has failed to properly 

name the department or agency of the State with whom such 

person was employed, shall be ruled upon following the 

completion of discovery. 

(j)  Motions to reconsider or amend an Order or Decision and 

Order, made prior to giving notice of appeal to the Full 

Commission, shall be addressed to the Deputy Commissioner who 

authored the Order or Decision and Order. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0203 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0204 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0205 MEDIATION  

(a)  Any party participating in mediation shall be bound by the 

Rules for Mediated Settlement and Neutral Evaluation 

Conferences of the Commission, found in 11 NCAC 23G, except 

to the extent these Rules conflict with the Tort Claims Act or the 

other rules in this Subchapter, in which case the Tort Claims Act 

and the other rules in this Subchapter shall apply. 

(b)  An employee or agent of the named governmental entity or 

agency shall either physically attend or be available via 

telecommunication. Mediation shall not be delayed due to the 

absence or unavailability of the employee or agent of the named 

governmental entity or agency. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-295; 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0205 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0208 HEARING COSTS 

Costs assessed pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 23E .0202 in tort 

claims shall be due upon receipt of a bill or statement from the 

Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-305; 143-291.1; 143-291.2; 

143-300; 

Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0208 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0302 APPEALS TO THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

(a)  Notice of appeal shall be made to the Commission within 15 

days from the date when notice of the Deputy Commissioner's 

Order or Decision and Order has been received by the appellant. 

The notice of appeal shall specify, by tort claim number and filing 

date, the Order or Decision and Order from which appeal is taken. 

The notice of appeal shall include a written statement confirming 

that a copy of the notice of appeal has been sent to the opposing 

party or parties. 

(b)  After receipt of the notice of appeal, the Commission shall 

acknowledge the notice of appeal in writing. Within 30 days of 

the acknowledgement, the Commission shall prepare and provide, 

at no charge to the parties, electronic copies of any official 
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transcript, any exhibits, and a Form T-44 Application for Review. 

In cases where it is not possible to provide a party with the official 

transcript and exhibits electronically, the Commission shall 

provide the official transcript, all exhibits, and a Form T-44 

Application for Review via any class of U.S. mail that is fully 

prepaid. 

(c)  Within 25 days of receipt of the official transcript and exhibits 

or receipt of notice that there will be no official transcript and 

exhibits, the appellant shall submit a Form T-44 Application for 

Review or written statement stating with particularity all 

assignments of error and grounds for review, including, where 

applicable, the pages in the transcript or the record on which the 

alleged errors are recorded. The Form T-44 Application for 

Review or the written statement shall be accompanied by 

confirmation that a copy of the document has been sent to the 

opposing party or parties. Failure to state the proposed issues on 

appeal, either by Form T-44 Application for Review or by written 

statement, shall be grounds for dismissal of the appeal either upon 

the motion of the non-appealing party or upon the Full 

Commission's own motion. 

(d)  An appellant may file a brief in support of the grounds for 

appeal with the Commission, with a written statement confirming 

that a copy of the brief has been sent to the opposing party or 

parties, within 25 days after receipt of the official transcript and 

exhibits or receipt of notice that there will be no official transcript 

and exhibits. The appellee shall have 25 days from service of the 

appellant's brief to file a reply brief with the Commission with a 

written statement confirming that a copy of the brief has been sent 

to the opposing party or parties. If the appellant fails to file a brief, 

the appellee shall file a brief within 25 days after the appellant's 

time for filing a brief has expired. If multiple parties appeal, each 

party may file an appellant's brief and appellee's brief on the 

schedule set forth in this Rule. If the matter has not been 

calendared for hearing, any party may file a written stipulation to 

a single extension of time not to exceed 15 days with the Office 

of the Clerk. The cumulative extensions of time shall not exceed 

30 days. A party who fails to file a brief shall not be allowed oral 

argument before the Full Commission. 

(e)  Briefs to the Full Commission shall not exceed 35 pages, 

excluding attachments. No page limit applies to the length of 

attachments. Typed briefs shall be prepared using 12-point 

proportional type, shall be double spaced, and shall be prepared 

with non-justified right margins. Each page of the brief shall be 

numbered at the bottom right of the page. If a party quotes or 

paraphrases testimony or evidence from the official transcript or 

exhibits in a brief, the party shall include, at the end of the 

sentence, a parenthetic entry that designates the source and page 

number of the quoted or paraphrased material. The party shall use 

"T" for transcript and "Ex" for exhibit. For example, (1) if a party 

quotes or paraphrases material located in the transcript on page 

11, the party shall use the following format "(T 11)," and (2) if a 

party quotes or paraphrases material located in an exhibit on page 

12, the party shall use the following format "(Ex 12)". If a party 

quotes or paraphrases testimony or other evidence in the transcript 

of a deposition, the party shall include, at the end of the sentence, 

a parenthetic entry that contains the name of the person deposed 

and the page number in the transcript of the deposition. For 

example, if a party quotes or paraphrases the testimony of John 

Smith located on page 11 of the transcript of the deposition, the 

party shall use the following format "(Smith 11)". Cases shall be 

cited to the North Carolina Reports, the North Carolina Court of 

Appeals Reports, or the North Carolina Reporter and, if possible, 

to the South Eastern Reporter. Briefs shall be based upon the 

record in the matter, pursuant to G.S. 143-292. 

(g)  A request for review by the Full Commission of an order by 

a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner made during the 

pendency of a case assigned to them shall be filed with the Office 

of the Clerk. If the order made by the authoring Commissioner or 

Deputy Commissioner is a final judgment as to one or more issues 

or parties and the order contains a certification that there is no just 

reason for delay, the request for review shall be referred directly 

to a panel of the Full Commission. If the order contains no 

certification, requests for review shall be referred to the Chair of 

the Commission for a determination regarding the right to 

immediate review, and the parties shall address the grounds upon 

which immediate review shall be allowed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0302 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0303 PROPOSED ISSUES ON APPEAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-300; 362 N.C. 191 

(2008); 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0303 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0305 BRIEFS TO THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0306 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0305 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0307 MOTIONS BEFORE THE FULL 

COMMISSION 

(a)  After notice of appeal has been given to the Full Commission, 

all motions related to the claim before the Full Commission shall 

be in writing and filed with the Full Commission with a statement 

confirming that copies have been provided to the other parties. A 

Motion for a New Hearing shall be supported by an Affidavit. 

(b)  Motions related to the issues on appeal, including motions for 

new trial, to amend the record, or to take additional evidence, filed 

during the pendency of an appeal to the Full Commission shall be 

argued before the Full Commission at the time of the hearing of 

the appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0308 effective April 17, 2000; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0307 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0308 STAYS 

If a case is appealed to the Full Commission, all Orders or 

Decision and Orders of a Deputy Commissioner shall be stayed 

pending appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. May 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0308 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0310 ORAL ARGUMENT 

(a) A party may waive oral argument at any time with approval of 

the Commission. Upon the request of a party or on its own 

initiative, the Commission may review the case and file an Order 

or Decision and Order without oral argument. 

(b) When presenting oral argument, each appellant shall have 20 

minutes to present oral argument and may reserve any amount of 

the 20-minute total allotment for rebuttal, unless otherwise 

specified by Order of the Commission. Each appellee shall also 

have 20 minutes to present oral argument, unless otherwise 

specified by Order of the Commission; however, the appellees 

shall not reserve rebuttal time. In cross-appeals, each appealing 

party may reserve rebuttal time. 

(c) A party may request additional time to present oral argument 

in excess of the standard 20-minute allowance. Such requests shall 

be made in writing and submitted to the Full Commission no less 

than 10 days prior to the scheduled hearing date. The written 

request for additional time shall state with specificity the reasons 

for the request of additional time and the amount of additional 

time requested. 

(d) If a party fails to appear before the Full Commission upon the 

call of the case, the Commission may, upon consideration of the 

interests of justice and judicial economy, disallow the party's right 

to present oral argument. If neither party appears upon the call of 

the case, the Full Commission may, upon consideration of the 

interests of justice and judicial economy, decide the case upon the 

record and briefs on appeal, unless otherwise ordered. 

(e) Oral arguments shall be based upon the record in the matter, 

pursuant to G.S. 143-292. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-296; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0311 Eff. April 17, 2000; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0310 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0402 STAYS 

If a case is appealed to the Court of Appeals, all Orders or 

Decision and Orders of the Full Commission shall be stayed 

pending appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-292; 143-294; 143-296; 

143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0402 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0501 WAIVER OF RULES 

In the interests of justice or to promote judicial economy, the 

Commission may, except as otherwise provided by the rules in 

this Subchapter, waive or vary the requirements or provisions of 

any of the rules in this Subchapter in a case pending before the 

Commission upon request of a party or upon its own initiative 

only if the plaintiff is not represented by counsel. Factors the 

Commission shall use in determining whether to grant the waiver 

are: 

(1) the necessity of a waiver; 

(2) the party's responsibility for the conditions 

creating the need for a waiver; 

(3) the party's prior requests for a waiver; 

(4) the precedential value of such a waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the opposing 

parties; and 

(6) the harm to the party if the waiver is not 

granted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-300; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10B .0501 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

11 NCAC 23L .0105 FORM T-42 – APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN AD LITEM 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent shall apply on a Form T-42, Application for Appointment of 

Guardian Ad Litem, in accordance with Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. The Form T-42, Application for Appointment of Guardian 

Ad Litem, shall read as follows: 

 

North Carolina Industrial Commission 

IC File # T- __________ 

Application for Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem 

The use of this Form is required under Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203 

 

___________ Plaintiff(s) v. _________Defendant(s) 

 

To the North Carolina Industrial Commission: 
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The undersigned __________ respectfully shows unto the North Carolina Industrial Commission that __________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent without general or testamentary guardian in this State, and that by reason thereof can bring an action only by a guardian ad 

litem; that the infant or incompetent has a cause of action against the defendants on account of the following matter and things: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The undersigned is a reputable person closely connected with the infant or incompetent having the relationship with the infant or 

incompetent as follows: _______________________________________________________________ 

 

Wherefore, the undersigned prays the Commission that a fit and proper person be appointed Guardian Ad Litem for the infant or 

incompetent for the purpose of bringing on his or her behalf an action as above set out. 

Signature of Applicant __________________________________________________ Date____________________ 

 

(Please complete page 2 of form) 

 

Order Appointing Guardian Ad Litem 

 

It appearing to the North Carolina Industrial Commission from the above application that ____________________ is an __ infant or __ 

incompetent having no general or testamentary guardian within this State and that said infant or incompetent appears to have a good 

cause of action against the defendant(s); and it further appearing to the Commission after due inquiry that ____________________ is a 

fit and proper person to be appointed guardian ad litem for the infant or incompetent for the purpose of bringing this action on his or her 

behalf; 

It is therefore ordered that ____________________ be and is hereby appointed guardian ad litem of ____________________ to bring 

action on his or her behalf. 

 

This __________ day of ____________________. 

 

Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner ____________________ 

 

Please type or print: 

 

Full name and address of minor or incompetent: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Birth date of minor: ____________________ 

Full name and address of proposed guardian ad litem: 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Important Information for Parties 

Parties should take notice of the provisions set forth in Rule 11 NCAC 23B .0203. 

 

11 NCAC 23B .0203 INFANTS AND INCOMPETENTS 

(a)  Persons seeking to appear on behalf of an infant or incompetent, in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 17, shall apply on a Form T-

42 Application for Appointment of Guardian ad Litem. The Commission shall appoint a fit and proper person as guardian ad litem, if 

the Commission determines it to be in the best interest of the minor or incompetent. The Commission shall appoint the guardian ad litem 

only after due inquiry as to the fitness of the person to be appointed. 

(b)  The Commission may assess a fee to be paid to an attorney who serves as a guardian ad litem for actual services rendered upon 

receipt of an affidavit of actual time spent in representation of the minor or incompetent as part of the costs. 

 

SEND TO:  

dockets@ic.nc.gov 

Office of the Clerk 

1236 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1236 

Main telephone: (919) 807-2500 

Helpline (800) 688-8349 

Website: http://www.ic.nc.gov 

 

FORM T-42 

 

(b)  A copy of the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule can be accessed at http://www.ic.nc.gov/formt42.pdf. The form shall be 

reproduced only in the format available at http://www.ic.nc.ogv/forms/formt42.pdf and shall not be altered or amended in any way. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-291; 143-295; 143-300; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0101 PURPOSE 

The rules of this Chapter, pursuant to the authority of the 

Secretary of the Department of Public Safety (Department), 

implement the administration of duties of the Governor's Crime 

Commission (Commission), as a section of the Division of 

Administration within the Department and as a State 

administering agency of North Carolina. Applications for State 

and federal grants shall be submitted in accordance with the rules 

set forth in Section .0200 of this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-602(5); 143B-1101(8); 

143B-1103; 143B-1104; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0201 APPLICATIONS FOR GRANTS 

(a)  The Executive Director of the Commission shall designate 

requirements for submission of grant applications. The grant 

application period shall begin on November 1 of each year and 

end on January 31. Funding priorities, as determined by the 

Commission, shall be listed on the Commission's website prior to 

the opening of an application period. 

(b)  Grant application submission dates shall be announced on the 

Commission website, https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-

commissions/governors-crime-commission/grants-

planning/grants not less than 90 days before the application is due. 

(c)  Grant applications shall be electronically submitted to the 

Commission through the Grants Enterprise Management System 

(GEMS) on or before the date announced on the Commission 

website. 

(d)  To be considered for funding, applicants shall complete the 

grant application, which shall include the following information: 

(1) names, mailing addresses, telephone numbers, 

and signatures of the applicant; 

(2) project information, including the following: 

(A) a description of the project, its goals 

and objectives, and outcomes; 

(B) the issues or problems addressed by 

the project; 

(C) project operation and activities; and 

(D) a sustainability plan; 

(3) a proposed budget; 

(4) a project time line; 

(5) an explanation of how the project's results will 

be monitored and evaluated;  

(6) any other information required by these Rules 

or requested by the Section in order to make a 

decision on the grant proposal; and 

(7) a description of how the objectives of the 

proposed project are consistent with the 

outcomes and guidelines set forth in a State or 

federal grant program. 

(e)  Applicants seeking funding for a two-year project shall submit 

the information required by Paragraph (d) with the requirements 

of Part (d)(2)(A), Part (d)(2)(C), and Subparagraph (d)(5) written 

to address the two-year grant period. Applicants shall also submit 

two one-year budgets. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1103; 143B-1104; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0202 REVIEW OF PROPOSALS 

(a)  Applications that contain all of the information required in 

Rule .0201 of this Section shall be forwarded to a Commission 

Subcommittee, as designated in G.S. 143B-1102. 

(b)  The Subcommittee shall review and evaluate each application 

and make a recommendation to the full Commission to approve 

or deny the application. 

(c)  In making this evaluation, the Commission or Subcommittee 

shall consider: 

(1) who will benefit from the grant; 

(2) how many will benefit from the grant; 

(3) the cost of administering the grant; 

(4) geographical representation; and 

(5) past performance of the applicant with grants 

and publicly funded projects. 

(d)  The Commission shall determine which applications are 

eligible for funding. 

(e)  The Commission shall recommend eligible applications to the 

Secretary of the Department of Public Safety. The Secretary shall 

select the applicants who will be awarded funding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-1101(a)(8); 143B-1103; 

143B-1104; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0203 ADMINISTRATION OF GRANTS 

(a)  The Commission staff shall administer grants as funds are 

available. All applicants shall be notified in writing or electronic 

communication through the GEMS system upon completion of 

the selection process that the application has been approved or 

denied. 

(b)  Within 30 days of receipt of award notification, the applicant 

shall submit the grant compliance and modification information. 

An applicant may request an extension of no more than 60 days 

to submit the information. An applicant who does not provide the 

required information shall be ineligible for grant funding. For the 

purposes of this Rule, grant compliance and modification 

information includes the following: 

(1) a list of grant conditions that were agreed to by 

an authorizing official of the applicant; 

(2) a certification of non-supplanting; 

(3) a certification of filing of an equal employment 

opportunity program; 

(4) a memorandum of agreement or contract with 

any cooperating government agencies; 

(5) an original signature of all authorizing officials, 

implementing project director, and the 

applicant's chief financial officer; and 
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(6) a signed agreement to submit to an annual audit 

of the program. 

(c)  Funds shall be conveyed to grantees through Grant Award 

Contracts. The Grant Award Contract shall bear the original 

signature of the grantee's authorizing official and the Executive 

Director of the Commission. The Grant Award Contract shall be 

signed and returned to the Department within 30 days. 

(d)  The grant period for the project shall be for a period of up to 

two years. The grant period shall coincide with the start and close 

of the federal fiscal year, if possible. 

(e)  Requests for adjustments to approved applications may be 

made at any time up to 90 days before the project's scheduled 

termination date. These requests shall be made through the GEMS 

system, providing an explanation for proposed amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-602(8); 143B-1103; 

143B-1104; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

14B NCAC 05B .0301 GRANT TERMINATION OR 

SUSPENSION 

(a)  A grant may be terminated or the funds may be suspended by 

the Executive Director of the Commission when the applicant or 

grantee is not in compliance with any of the following: 

(1) the terms and conditions of the grant 

application; 

(2) the terms and conditions of the grant award 

contract; 

(3) the guidelines promulgated by the federal 

criminal justice block grant program or 

approved plan; or 

(4) the rules set forth in this Chapter. 

The determination of action by the Executive Director shall be 

made a case-by-case basis, considering the terms of the grant 

award contract, including conditions of the grant and factors of 

non-compliance. 

(b)  The Executive Director shall notify the grantee of its 

noncompliance in writing. The notification shall identify the 

penalty to be taken or allow the grantee an additional period of 

not more than 30 days to correct the deficiencies. If the 

deficiencies are not corrected, then the Executive Director may 

suspend the payment of funds to the grantee or terminate the grant, 

as set forth in the conditions of the grant award contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-602(8)(c); 143B-

1103(b)(3); 143B-1104; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0620 WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED 

PROTECTION PROGRAM: PURPOSE 

Rules .0620 through .0624 of this Section set forth the minimum 

statewide water supply watershed protection requirements 

applicable to each Water Supply classification, as provided in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0212 through .0218.  

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0621 WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED 

PROTECTION PROGRAM: DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 143-214.7, the 

following definitions shall apply to Rules .0622 - .0624. 

(1) "Balance of Watershed" or "-BW" means the 

area adjoining and upstream of the critical area 

in a WS-II and WS-III water supply watershed. 

The "balance of watershed" is comprised of the 

entire land area contributing surface drainage to 

the stream, river, or reservoir where a water 

supply intake is located. 

(2) "Cluster development" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

(3) "Commission" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002. 

(4) "Common plan of development" has the same 

meaning as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(5) "Critical area" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0202. 

(6) "Curb Outlet System" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(7) "Dispersed flow" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(8) "Division" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002. 

(9) "Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan" has 

the same meaning as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(10) "Existing development" has the same meaning 

as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(11) "Family subdivision" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

(12) "Geotextile fabric" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(13) "Intermittent stream" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0610. 

(14) "Major variance" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

(15) "Minimum Design Criteria" or "MDC" has the 

same meaning as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(16) "Minor variance" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

(17) "Nonconforming lot of record" has the same 

meaning as in 15A NCAC 02B .0202. 

(18) "NPDES" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002. 

(19) "Perennial stream" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02B .0610. 

(20) "Perennial waterbody" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0610. 

(21) "Primary SCM" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(22) "Project" has the same meaning as in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002. 

(23) "Protected area" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02B .0202. 
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(24) "Required storm depth" has the same meaning 

as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(25) "Runoff treatment" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(26) "Runoff volume match" has the same meaning 

as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(27) "Secondary SCM" has the same meaning as in 

15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(28) "Stormwater Control Measure" or "SCM" has 

the same meaning as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(29) "Vegetated setback" has the same meaning as 

in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(30) "Vegetated conveyance" has the same meaning 

as in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0622 WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED 

PROTECTION PROGRAM: EXCLUSIONS AND 

SPECIAL CASES 

This Rule describes exclusions from the water supply watershed 

program and special case projects in the water supply watershed 

program. 

(1) EXCLUSIONS. The following project types 

shall be excluded from the requirements of 

Rules .0620-.0624 of this Section: 

(a) existing development; 

(b) redevelopment; 

(c) single-family residential 

redevelopment, even if there is a net 

increase in built-upon area or if 

stormwater controls are not equal to 

that of the previous single-family 

residential development; 

(d) expansions to single-family residential 

existing development, unless the 

expansion is part of a larger common 

plan of development that is subject to 

this Rule; 

(e) nonconforming lot of record that is not 

contiguous to any other lot owned by 

the same party and if it is to be 

developed for single-family 

residential purposes. However, local 

governments may require the 

combination of contiguous 

nonconforming lots of record owned 

by the same party in order to establish 

a lot or lots that meet the development 

restrictions of Rule .0624 of this 

Section; 

(f) any lot or parcel created as part of a 

family subdivision after the effective 

date of the local watershed ordinance 

if it is to be developed for one single-

family detached residence and if it is 

exempt from a local subdivision 

ordinance; 

(g) activities of the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation 

(NCDOT) that are regulated in 

accordance with the provisions of 

NPDES Permit Number NCS000250; 

(h) linear transportation projects 

undertaken by an entity other than 

NCDOT when: 

(i) the project is constructed to 

NCDOT standards and is in 

accordance with the NCDOT 

Stormwater Best 

Management Practices 

Toolbox (Version 2, April 

2014 Edition) which is here 

in incorporated by reference, 

including any subsequent 

amendments and editions, 

and may be accessed at no 

cost at 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/res

ources/hydro/HSPDocument

s/2014_BMP_Toolbox.pdf; 

(ii) upon completion, the project 

will be conveyed either to the 

NCDOT or another public 

entity and will be regulated in 

accordance with that entity's 

NPDES MS4 stormwater 

permit; and 

(iii) the project is not part of a 

common plan of 

development. 

(i) airport facilities that are deemed 

permitted in accordance with G.S. 

143.214.7(c4). 

(2) SPECIAL CASES. In lieu of the requirements 

set forth in Rules .0620-.0624 of this Section, 

the following shall apply: 

(a) Siliviculture activities shall comply 

with the provisions of the Forest 

Practices Guidelines Related to Water 

Quality (02 NCAC 60C, herein 

incorporated by reference with 

subsequent amendments and editions 

and available at no cost at 

http://www.ncoah.com/rules/) and 

other applicable forestry water quality 

standards as determined by the North 

Carolina Forest Service. 

(b) Agricultural activities within WS-I 

watersheds and the critical areas of 

WS-II, WS-III, and WS-IV 

watersheds shall be subject to the 

vegetated setback requirements set 

forth in Rule .0624(11) of this Section. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. March 1, 2019 (Portions of this Rule were previously codified 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0104). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0623 WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED 

PROTECTION PROGRAM: PROGRAM 

ADMINISTRATION 

This Rule contains provisions for the administration of water 

supply watershed protection programs. 

(1) LOCAL GOVERNMENTS INCLUDED. All 

local governments that have land use authority 

within designated water supply watersheds 

shall adopt and enforce ordinances and 

watershed maps that meet or exceed the 

requirements of G.S. 143-214.5 and Rules 

.0621 through .0624 of this Section. Local 

governments may use the Commission's model 

Watershed Protection Ordinance available at no 

cost at http://watersupplywatershed.nc.gov as 

the basis for their ordinance, or may propose an 

alternative ordinance that meets or exceeds the 

requirements of Rules .0621 through .0624 of 

this Section. 

(2) COMMISSION APPROVAL. Local 

government water supply watershed protection 

ordinances and watershed maps shall be 

submitted to the Division for approval by the 

Commission or its designee no later than 270 

days after receiving notice of a water supply 

reclassification from the Commission. The 

Commission or its designee shall approve the 

water supply watershed protection ordinance 

and map if it meets or exceeds the minimum 

statewide water supply watershed management 

requirements adopted pursuant to Rules .0621 

through .0624 of this Section and G.S. 143-

214.5. The local government may begin 

implementing the ordinances prior to receiving 

approval by the Commission. The following 

items shall be included in the submission in 

either paper or electronic format: 

(a) one copy of the adopted and effective 

relevant ordinance; 

(b) a cover letter from the local 

government's legal counsel, municipal 

or county clerk, or municipal or 

county manager certifying that the 

ordinance meets or exceeds the 

requirements of this Section and G.S. 

143-214.5; and 

(c) one copy of a watershed map showing 

the local government corporate and 

extraterritorial jurisdictional 

boundaries, the Commission's adopted 

watershed boundaries, the local 

government's interpreted watershed 

boundaries, and U.S. Geological 

Survey 1:24,000 (7.5 minute) scale 

topographic contour lines and 

hydrography. 

(3) WATERSHED BOUNDARY 

INTERPRETATION. Major landmarks, such 

as highways or property lines, may be used to 

delineate the outer boundary of the critical 

areas, balance of watershed areas, and protected 

areas if these landmarks are adjacent to the 

outer boundary of the critical areas, the balance 

of watershed areas, or the protected areas as 

specified in 15A NCAC 02B .0202. Local 

governments may extend the critical, balance of 

watershed, and protected area boundaries 

beyond the minimum distance required; 

however, these extended local boundaries shall 

not affect administration of state permits unless 

the boundaries are also adopted by the 

Commission. Local governments shall 

delineate the approximate normal pool 

elevation for backwaters of water supply 

reservoirs for the purposes of determining the 

critical and protected area boundaries as 

appropriate. Local governments shall rely on 

U.S. Geological Survey topographic maps, land 

surveys conducted by licensed surveyors, Lidar 

data, or information from the U.S. Army Corps 

of Engineers in approximating the location of 

backwaters. 

(4) REVISIONS TO ORDINANCES AND MAPS. 

Revisions to local watershed supply watershed 

protection ordinances and watershed maps shall 

be submitted to the Commission or its designee 

for approval. The submission requirements set 

forth in Item (2) of this Rule shall apply to all 

subject revisions. In addition, revisions to 

ordinances shall be submitted in a format that 

identifies the changes adopted or being 

proposed, as applicable. The local government 

may adopt and begin implementing the revised 

ordinance prior to receiving approval by the 

Commission or its designee; except, revisions 

regarding expansions or deletions to watershed 

maps shall be approved by the Commission or 

its designee prior to local government adoption. 

(5) VARIANCES. For all proposed major and 

minor variances, as those terms are defined in 

Rule .0621, from the minimum statewide 

watershed protection rules, the local Watershed 

Review Board, or equivalent quasi-judicial 

body shall make findings of fact in accordance 

with the procedures of G.S. 160A-393, as 

appropriate, showing that: 

(a) there are difficulties or hardships that 

prevent compliance with the 

ordinance; 

(b) the variance is in accordance with the 

general purpose and intent of the local 

watershed protection ordinance; and 
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(c) granting the variance, the project will 

ensure equal or better protection of 

waters of the State than the 

requirements of Rules .0621-.0624 of 

this Section and that the stormwater 

controls will function in perpetuity. 

 For all proposed major and minor variances, the 

local government considering or requesting the 

variance shall notify and allow a comment 

period for all other local governments having 

jurisdiction within the watershed area governed 

by these Rules and the entity using the water 

supply for consumption. The local Watershed 

Review Board, or equivalent local quasi-

judicial body, hereafter referred to as "the 

Board," may attach conditions to the major or 

minor variance approval that support the 

purpose of the local watershed protection 

ordinance. The Board may authorize minor 

variances for development activities on a case-

by-case basis. For major variances, if the Board 

decides in favor of granting the major variance, 

then it shall prepare a preliminary record of the 

hearing and submit it to the Commission for 

review. If the Commission approves the major 

variance or approves the variance with 

conditions or stipulations added, then the 

Commission shall prepare a decision that 

authorizes the Board to issue a final decision 

that includes any conditions or stipulations 

added by the Commission. If the Commission 

denies the major variance, then the Commission 

shall prepare a decision to be sent to the Board. 

The Board shall prepare a final decision 

denying the major variance. Appeals from the 

local government decision on a major or minor 

variance request shall be made on certiorari to 

the local Superior Court. Appeals from the 

Commission decision on a major variance 

request are made on judicial review to Superior 

Court. When local ordinances are more 

stringent than the state's minimum watershed 

protection requirements, a variance to the local 

government's ordinance is not considered a 

major variance as long as the result of the 

variance is not less stringent than the state's 

minimum watershed protection requirements. 

(6) RECORDKEEPING REQUIREMENTS. 

Local governments shall maintain the following 

records and furnish a copy of these records to 

the Division upon request: 

(a) a copy of all variance requests and 

associated documents; 

(b) findings of fact on all variance 

requests; 

(c) a description of all projects for which 

the local government has granted a 

variance to the requirements of Rules 

.0621-.0624 of this Section; 

(d) an accounting of projects approved 

under the local government's 10/70 

Option (as described in Rule .0624 of 

this Section), as applicable; and 

(e) records of inspections of SCMs 

pursuant to Item (7) of this Rule. 

(7) OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE OF 

SCMS. Wherever in this Section it is provided 

that local governments assume responsibility 

for operation and maintenance of engineered 

SCMs, this shall be construed to require 

responsible local governments to either inspect 

such SCMs or require the owners of such SCMs 

to inspect such SCMs at least once per year to 

determine whether the SCMs are performing as 

designed and intended. Records of inspections 

shall be maintained on forms made available by 

the Division at 

http://watersupplywatershed.nc.gov/ or the 

local government. The inspection form shall 

include the following: 

(a) project name; 

(b) owner name and address; 

(c) name and classification of the water 

supply watershed where the project is 

located; 

(d) type(s) of SCMs at the project site; 

(e) summary of repairs or maintenance 

needed; and 

(f) estimated timeframe for completion of 

the repairs or maintenance. 

 In the event an inspection shows that an SCM 

is not performing as designed and intended, the 

local government shall order the owning entity 

to take corrective actions. If the entity fails to 

take corrective actions, the local government 

may impose civil penalties and pursue other 

available remedies in accordance with State and 

local law, including without limitation: G.S. 14-

4; G.S. 77-13; G.S. 77-14; G.S. 143-214.7; G.S. 

143-215.6A; G.S. 153A-123; G.S. 160A-459; 

and G.S. 160A-175. 

(8) ENFORCEMENT. In the event that the 

Commission determines that a local 

government program has failed to adopt or 

implement its program in compliance with the 

water supply watershed protection 

requirements of this Section and G.S. 143-

214.5, the Commission shall take appropriate 

enforcement action in accordance with G.S. 

143-214.5 and G.S. 143-215.6A(e). When the 

Commission assumes a local water supply 

watershed protection program as specified 

under G.S. 143-214.5(e), all local permits 

authorizing construction and development 

activities as regulated by the statewide 

minimum water supply watershed protection 

requirements of this Section shall be approved 
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by the Commission or its designee prior to local 

government issuance. 

(9) DELEGATION. The Commission may 

delegate such matters as variance approval, 

extension of deadlines for submission of 

ordinances, and assessment of civil penalties 

pursuant to G.S. 143-214.5(e) to the Director. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. March 1, 2019 (Portions of this Rule were previously codified 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0104). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0624 WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED  

PROTECTION PROGRAM: NONPOINT SOURCE AND 

STORMWATER POLLUTION CONTROL 

This Rule sets forth requirements for projects that are subject to 

water supply watershed regulations. 

(1) IMPLEMENTING AUTHORITY. The 

requirements of this Rule shall be implemented 

by local governments with land use authority in 

one or more designated water supply 

watersheds. State agencies shall also comply 

with this Rule insofar as required by G.S. 143-

214.5 and in accordance with Rule .0622 of this 

Section. 

(2) APPLICABILITY. This Rule shall apply to all 

new development projects, including state 

owned projects, that lie within a designated 

water supply watershed, except in a Class WS-

IV watershed where this Rule applies only to 

new development projects that require an 

Erosion and Sedimentation Control Plan. Rule 

.0622 of this Section includes project types to 

which rules do not apply. 

 

(3) PROJECT DENSITY. The following maximum allowable project densities and minimum lot sizes shall apply to a 

project according to the classification of the water supply watershed where it is located, its relative location in the 

watershed, its project density, and the type of development: 

 

 

Water Supply 

Classification 

Location in the 

Watershed 

Maximum Allowable Project Density or Minimum Lot Size 

Low Density Development 
High Density 

Development 

Single-family 

detached residential 

Non-residential 

and all other 

residential 

All types 

WS-I 

Not Applicable: Watershed shall remain undeveloped except for the following 

uses when they cannot be avoided: power transmission lines, restricted access 

roads, and structures associated with water withdrawal, treatment, and 

distribution of the WS-I water. Built-upon area shall be designed and located 

to minimize stormwater runoff impact to receiving waters. 

WS-II 

Critical Area 

1 dwelling unit per 2 

acres or 80,000 

square foot lot 

excluding roadway 

right-of-way or 6% 

built-upon area 

6% built-upon 

area 

6 to 24% built-

upon area 

Balance of 

Watershed 

1 dwelling unit per 1 

acre or 40,000 

square foot lot 

excluding roadway 

right-of-way or 12% 

built-upon area 

12% built-upon 

area 

12 to 30% built-

upon area 

WS-III 

Critical Area 

1 dwelling unit per 1 

acre or 40,000 

square foot lot 

excluding roadway 

right-of-way or 12% 

built-upon area 

12% built-upon 

area 

12 to 30% built-

upon area 

Balance of 

Watershed 

1 dwelling unit per 

one-half acre or 

20,000 square foot 

lot excluding 

24% built-upon 

area 

24 to 50% built-

upon area 
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roadway right-of-

way or 24% built-

upon area 

WS-IV 

Critical Area 

2 dwelling units per 

acre or 20,000 

square foot lot 

excluding roadway 

right-of-way or 24% 

built-upon area 

24% built-upon 

area 

24 to 50% built-

upon area 

Protected Area 

2 dwelling units per 

acre or 20,000 

square foot lot 

excluding roadway 

right-of-way or 24% 

built-upon; or 3 

dwelling units per 

acre or 36% built-

upon area without 

curb and gutter street 

system 

24% built-upon 

area; or 36% 

built-upon area 

without curb 

and gutter street 

system 

24 to 70% built-

upon area 

WS-V Not Applicable 

 

(4) CALCULATION OF PROJECT DENSITY. 

The following requirements shall apply to the 

calculation of project density: 

(a) Project density shall be calculated as 

the total built-upon area divided by the 

total project area; 

(b) A project with "existing 

development," as that term is defined 

in Rule .0621 of this Section, may use 

the calculation method in Sub-Item (a) 

of this Item or may calculate project 

density as the difference of total built-

upon area minus existing built-upon 

area divided by the difference of total 

project area minus existing built-upon 

area. Expansions to existing 

development shall be subject to this 

Rule except as excluded in Sub-Item 

(3)(d) of this Rule. Where there is a net 

increase of built-upon area, only the 

area of net increase shall be subject to 

this Rule. Where existing 

development is being replaced with 

new built-upon area, and there is a net 

increase of built-upon area, only the 

area of net increase shall be subject to 

this Rule; 

(c) Total project area shall exclude the 

following: 

(i) areas below the Normal High 

Water Line (NHWL); and 

(ii) areas defined as "coastal 

wetlands" pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 07H .0205, herein 

incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent 

amendments and editions, 

and available at no cost at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/

ncac.asp, as measured 

landward from the NHWL; 

and 

(d) Projects under a common plan of 

development shall be considered as a 

single project for purposes of density 

calculation except that on a case-by-

case basis, local governments may 

allow projects to be considered to have 

both high and low density areas based 

on one or more of the following 

criteria: 

(i) natural drainage area 

boundaries; 

(ii) variations in land use 

throughout the project; or 

(iii) construction phasing. 

(5) LOW DENSITY PROJECTS. In addition to 

complying with the project density 

requirements of Item (3) of this Rule, low 

density projects shall comply with the 

following: 

(a) VEGETATED CONVEYANCES. 

Stormwater runoff from the project 

shall be released to vegetated areas as 

dispersed flow or transported by 

vegetated conveyances to the 

maximum extent practicable. In 

determining whether this criteria has 

been met, the local government shall 

take into account site-specific factors 

such as topography and site layout as 

well as protection of water quality. 

Vegetated conveyances shall be 

maintained in perpetuity to ensure that 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

33:19 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER APRIL 1, 2019 

1958 

they function as designed. Vegetated 

conveyances that meet the following 

criteria shall be deemed to satisfy the 

requirements of this Sub-Item: 

(i) Side slopes shall be no 

steeper than 3:1 (horizontal 

to vertical) unless it is 

demonstrated to the local 

government that the soils and 

vegetation will remain stable 

in perpetuity based on 

engineering calculations and 

on-site soil investigation; and 

(ii) The conveyance shall be 

designed so that it does not 

erode during the peak flow 

from the 10-year storm event 

as demonstrated by 

engineering calculations. 

(b) CURB OUTLET SYSTEMS. In lieu 

of vegetated conveyances, low density 

projects shall have the option to use 

curb and gutter with outlets to convey 

stormwater to grassed swales or 

vegetated areas. Requirements for 

these curb outlet systems shall be as 

follows: 

(i) The curb outlets shall be 

located such that the swale or 

vegetated area can carry the 

peak flow from the 10-year 

storm and at a non-erosive 

velocity; 

(ii) The longitudinal slope of the 

swale or vegetated area shall 

not exceed five percent 

except where not practical 

due to physical constraints. 

In these cases, devices to 

slow the rate of runoff and 

encourage infiltration to 

reduce pollutant delivery 

shall be provided; 

(iii) The swale's cross section 

shall be trapezoidal with a 

minimum bottom width of 

two feet; 

(iv) The side slopes of the swale 

or vegetated area shall be no 

steeper than 3:1 (horizontal 

to vertical); 

(v) The minimum length of the 

swale or vegetated area shall 

be 100 feet; and 

(vi) Low density projects may use 

treatment swales designed in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 

02H .1061 in lieu of the 

requirements specified in 

Sub-Items (i) through (v) of 

this Sub-Item. 

(6) HIGH DENSITY PROJECTS. In addition to 

complying with the project density 

requirements of Item (3) of this Rule, high 

density projects shall comply with the 

following: 

(a) SCMs shall be designed, constructed, 

and maintained so that the project 

achieves either "runoff treatment" or 

"runoff volume match" as those terms 

are defined in Rule .0621 of this 

Section; 

(b) For high density projects designed to 

achieve runoff treatment, the required 

storm depth shall be one inch. 

Applicants shall have the option to 

design projects to achieve runoff 

volume match in lieu of runoff 

treatment; 

(c) Stormwater runoff from off-site areas 

and "existing development," as that 

term is defined in Rule .0621 of this 

Section, shall not be required to be 

treated in the SCM. Runoff from off-

site areas or existing development that 

is not bypassed shall be included in 

sizing of on-site SCMs; 

(d) SCMs shall meet the relevant MDC set 

forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1050 

through .1062; and 

(e) Stormwater outlets shall be designed 

so that they do not cause erosion 

downslope of the discharge point 

during the peak flow from the 10-year 

storm event as shown by engineering 

calculations. 

(7) OPTIONS FOR IMPLEMENTING PROJECT 

DENSITY. Local governments shall have the 

following options when developing or revising 

their ordinances in place of or in addition to the 

requirements of Item (3) of this Rule, as 

appropriate: 

(a) Local governments may allow only 

low density development in their 

water supply watershed areas in 

accordance with this Section. 

(b) Local governments may regulate low 

density single-family detached 

residential development using the 

minimum lot size requirements, 

dwelling unit per acre requirements, 

built-upon area percentages, or some 

combination of these. 

(c) 10/70 OPTION. Outside of WS-I 

watersheds and the critical areas of 

WS-II, WS-III, and WS-IV 

watersheds, local governments may 

regulate new development under the 
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"10/70 option" in accordance with the 

following requirements: 

(i) A maximum of 10 percent of 

the land area of a water 

supply watershed outside of 

the critical area and within a 

local government's planning 

jurisdiction may be 

developed with new 

development projects and 

expansions of existing 

development of up to 70 

percent built-upon area. 

(ii) In water supply watersheds 

classified on or before 

August 3, 1992, the 

beginning amount of acreage 

available under this option 

shall be based on a local 

government's jurisdiction as 

delineated on July 1, 1993. In 

water supply watersheds 

classified after August 3, 

1992, the beginning amount 

of acreage available under 

this option shall be based on 

a local government's 

jurisdiction as delineated on 

the date the water supply 

watershed classification 

became effective. The 

acreage within the critical 

area shall not be counted 

towards the allowable 10/70 

option acreage; 

(iii) Projects that are covered 

under the 10/70 option shall 

comply with the low density 

requirements set forth in Item 

(5) of this Rule unless the 

local government allows high 

density development, in 

which case the local 

government may require 

these projects to comply with 

the high density requirements 

set forth in Item (6) of this 

Rule; 

(iv) The maximum built-upon 

area allowed on any given 

new development project 

shall be 70 percent;  

(v) A local government having 

jurisdiction within a 

designated water supply 

watershed may transfer, in 

whole or in part, its right to 

the 10/70 land area to another 

local government within the 

same water supply watershed 

upon submittal of a joint 

resolution and approval by 

the Commission; and 

(vi) When the water supply 

watershed is composed of 

public lands, such as 

National Forest land, local 

governments may count the 

public land acreage within 

the watershed outside of the 

critical area in calculating the 

acreage allowed under this 

provision. 

(d) New development shall meet the 

development requirements on a 

project-by-project basis except local 

governments may submit ordinances 

that use density or built-upon area 

criteria averaged throughout the local 

government's watershed jurisdiction 

instead of on a project-by-project basis 

within the watershed. Prior to approval 

of the ordinance, the local government 

shall demonstrate to the Commission 

that the provisions as averaged meet or 

exceed the statewide minimum 

requirements and that a mechanism 

exists to ensure the planned 

distribution of development potential 

throughout the local government's 

jurisdiction within the watershed. 

(e) Local governments may administer 

oversight of future development 

activities in single-family detached 

residential developments that exceed 

the applicable low density 

requirements by tracking dwelling 

units rather than percentage built-upon 

area, as long as the SCM is sized to 

capture and treat runoff from all 

pervious and built-upon surfaces 

shown on the development plan and 

any off-site drainage from pervious 

and built-upon surfaces, and when an 

additional safety factor of 15 percent 

of built-upon area of the project site is 

figured in. 

(8) CLUSTER DEVELOPMENT. Cluster 

development shall be allowed on a project-by-

project basis as follows: 

(a) Overall density of the project shall 

meet the requirements of Item (3) of 

this Rule; 

(b) Vegetated setbacks shall meet the 

requirements of Item (11) of this Rule; 

(c) Built-upon areas are designed and 

located to minimize stormwater runoff 

impact to receiving waters, minimize 
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concentrated stormwater flow, 

maximize the use of sheet flow 

through vegetated areas, and 

maximize the flow length through 

vegetated areas; 

(d) Areas of concentrated development 

shall be located in upland areas and 

away, to the maximum extent 

practicable, from surface waters and 

drainageways. In determining whether 

these criteria have been met, the local 

government shall take into account 

site-specific factors such as 

topography and site layout as well as 

protection of water quality; 

(e) The remainder of tract shall remain in 

a vegetated or natural state; 

(f) The area in the vegetated or natural 

state may be conveyed to a property 

owners association, a local 

government for preservation as a park 

or greenway, a conservation 

organization, or placed in a permanent 

conservation or farmland preservation 

easement; 

(g) A maintenance agreement for the 

vegetated or natural area shall be filed 

with the Register of Deeds; and 

(h) Cluster development that meets the 

applicable low density requirements 

shall comply with Item (5) of this 

Rule. 

(9) DENSITY AVERAGING OF 

NONCONTIGUOUS PARCELS. Density 

averaging of two noncontiguous parcels for 

purposes of complying with this Rule shall be 

allowed in accordance with G.S. 143-214.5 

(d2). 

(10) RESPONSIBILITY FOR SCM OPERATION 

& MAINTENANCE. Operation and 

maintenance agreements and plans are required 

for SCMs in accordance with 15A NCAC 02H 

.1050. Local governments that allow high 

density development shall assume 

responsibility for operation and maintenance of 

the SCMs that they approve. 

(11) VEGETATED SETBACKS. Vegetated 

setbacks shall be required along perennial 

waterbodies and perennial streams that are 

indicated on the most recent versions of the 

United States Geological Survey (USGS) 

1:24,000 scale (7.5 minute) quadrangle 

topographic maps, which are herein 

incorporated by reference and are available at 

no cost at http://www.usgs.gov/pubprod/, or 

other maps developed by the Department or a 

local government and approved by the 

Commission. Where USGS topographic maps 

do not distinguish between perennial and 

intermittent streams, an on-site stream 

determination may be performed by an 

individual qualified to perform such stream 

determinations. A qualified individual is one 

who has been certified to perform stream 

determinations by completing and passing the 

Surface Water Identification Training and 

Certification (SWITC) Course offered by the 

North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

and North Carolina State University. Vegetated 

setbacks shall also be in accordance with the 

following: 

(a) MINIMUM VEGETATION 

WIDTHS. The following minimum 

widths shall apply: 

(i) low density projects – 30 

feet; 

(ii) high density projects – 100 

feet; 

(iii) projects covered under the 

10/70 option – 100 feet; and 

(iv) agricultural activities – 10 

feet, or equivalent control as 

determined by the designated 

agency as set forth in Rule 

.0622 of this Section; and 

(b) The width of a vegetated setback shall 

be measured horizontally from the 

normal pool elevation of impounded 

structures, from the top of bank of 

each side of streams or rivers, and 

from the mean high waterline of tidal 

waters, perpendicular to the shoreline; 

(c) Vegetated setbacks may be cleared or 

graded, but shall be replanted and 

maintained in grass or other 

vegetation; 

(d) No new built-upon area shall be 

allowed in the vegetated setback 

except for the following uses where it 

is not practical to locate the built-upon 

area elsewhere: 

(i) publicly-funded linear 

projects such as roads, 

greenways, and sidewalks; 

(ii) water dependent structures 

such as docks; and 

(iii) minimal footprint uses such 

as poles, signs, utility 

appurtenances, and security 

lights. 

 Built-upon area associated 

with these uses shall be 

minimized and the 

channelization of stormwater 

runoff shall be avoided; and 

(e) Artificial streambank and shoreline 

stabilization shall not be subject to the 

requirements of this Item. 
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(f) For minor variances to a vegetated 

setback requirement, the percent 

variation shall be calculated using the 

footprint of built upon area proposed 

to encroach within the vegetated 

setback divided by the total area of 

vegetated setback within the project. 

(g) Non-family subdivisions that are 

exempt from local subdivision 

ordinances shall implement the 

requirements of this Item to the 

maximum extent practicable 

considering site-specific factors 

including technical and cost 

consideration as well as protection of 

water quality. 

(12) VARIANCES. Variances to this Rule may be 

considered in accordance with Rule .0623 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. March 1, 2019 (Portions of this Rule were previously codified 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0104 and 02B .0212 through .0218). 

 

15A NCAC 02T .1310 ANIMAL WASTE RESIDUALS 

MANAGEMENT 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to the treatment, storage, transportation, 

use, and disposal of animal waste residuals to be applied to a lawn, 

home garden, or public contact use site or sold or given away in a 

bag or other container for application to the land. This Rule shall 

not apply to the treatment, storage, transportation, use, or disposal 

of: 

(1) animal waste residuals applied to agricultural 

land in accordance with Rule .1303, Rule .1304, 

Rule 1305, or Rule .1307 of this Section or Rule 

.1403 of this Subchapter; 

(2) up to four cubic yards of animal waste residuals 

distributed from a facility subject to regulation 

under Rule .1303 or Rule .1304 of this Section 

per visit to individuals for personal use, with a 

maximum of ten cubic yards per year per 

individual; 

(3) oil, grease, grit, and screenings from 

wastewater treatment facilities; 

(4) septage from wastewater treatment facilities; 

(5) ash that is regulated in accordance with Section 

.1200 of this Subchapter; 

(6) residuals that are regulated in accordance with 

Section .1100 of this Subchapter; 

(7) residuals that are prepared for land application, 

used, or disposed of in a solid waste 

management facility permitted by the Division 

of Waste Management; 

(8) residuals that are disposed of in an incinerator 

permitted by the Division of Air Quality; 

(9) residuals that are transported out of state for 

treatment, storage, use, or disposal; 

(10) residuals that meet the definition of a hazardous 

waste in accordance with 40 CFR 260.10 as 

adopted by reference in 15A NCAC 13A 

.0102(b) or that have a concentration of 

polychlorinated biphenyls equal to or greater 

than 50 milligrams per kilogram of total solids 

on a dry weight basis; and 

(11) animal mortality. 

(b)  For new and modified sources of animal waste residuals, the 

applicant shall submit a permit application in writing to the 

Division that includes the following: 

(1) site maps depicting the location of the source 

and demonstrate compliance with siting 

setbacks applicable to animal waste 

management systems established in G.S. 106-

803 and NRCS standards at the time of 

construction; 

(2) a complete analysis of the animal waste 

residuals. The analysis shall include all 

pollutants identified in Paragraph (c) in this 

Rule, nutrients and micronutrients, and proof of 

compliance with the pathogen requirements in 

Paragraph (d) of this Rule if applicable; 

(3) a sampling and monitoring plan that describes 

how the source will comply with Paragraphs (c) 

and (d) of this Rule, if applicable; 

(4) a marketability statement detailing destinations 

and approximate amounts of the final product 

to be distributed; and 

(5) a copy of the label and information sheet that 

complies with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

 

(c)  Animal waste residuals shall not be applied to a lawn, home garden, or public contact use site nor shall animal waste residuals be 

sold or given away in a bag or other container for application to the land if the concentration of any pollutant in that residual exceeds 

the following concentration for that pollutant on a dry weight basis: 

 

Pollutant    Ceiling Concentration 

(milligrams per kilogram)   

Copper      1,500 

Zinc      2,800 

 

(d)  Animal waste residuals to be applied to a lawn, home garden, 

or public contact use site or sold or given away in a bag or other 

container for application to the land shall meet the pathogen 

requirements of Rule .1106(a)(2) of this Subchapter. 

(e)  For animal waste residuals that are sold or given away in a 

bag or other container for application to the land, either a label 

shall be affixed to the bag or other container, or an information 

sheet shall be provided to the person who receives the animal 
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waste residuals. The label and information sheet shall contain the 

following information: 

(1) the name and address of the person who 

prepared the animal waste residuals; 

(2) a statement that land application of the animal 

waste residuals is prohibited except in 

accordance with the instructions on the label 

and information sheet; 

(3) a statement that animal waste residuals must be 

applied at agronomic rates and recommended 

rates for intended uses; 

(4) a statement that the animal waste residuals may 

not be applied to any site that is flooded, frozen, 

or snow covered; 

(5) a statement that adequate procedures must be 

provided to prevent surface runoff from 

carrying any disposed or stored animal waste 

residuals into any surface waters; 

(6) a statement that identifies that this material 

must be prevented from entering any public or 

private water supply source, including wells, 

stream, lake, or rivers; 

(7) the pollutant concentration for pollutants listed 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule; and 

(8) the nitrogen and phosphorous concentration. 

 

(f)  Monitoring and Reporting. 

(1) Animal waste residuals subject to this Rule shall be monitored for pollutants listed in Paragraph (c) of this Rule and 

for pathogens described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, as applicable, at the frequency stipulated for each residuals 

source facility: 

Metric Tons per 365 day period   Monitoring Frequency 

(Dry Weight Basis) 

Greater than zero but less than 290   Once per year 

Equal to or greater than 290 but less than 1,500 Once per quarter (four times per year) 

Equal to or greater than 1,500 but less than 15,000 Once per 60 days (six times per year) 

Equal to or greater than 15,000   Once per month (12 times per year) 

 

(2) A report of all monitoring and reporting 

requirements specified in the permit shall be 

submitted to the Division by the permittee 

annually, on or before March 1st of each 

calendar year. 

(3) All records required by this Paragraph shall be 

retained for five years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a); 143-

215.10A; 

Eff. September 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0408 TEMPORARY BRIDGE WEIGHT 

LIMITS AND CLOSINGS 

After an inspection of any bridge on the State Highway System, 

any Department of Transportation bridge safety inspector, or any 

bridge maintenance supervisory personnel, may temporarily 

lower the authorized weight limits on a bridge, or close the bridge 

as the circumstances may warrant, if, in his or her judgment, the 

bridge is not capable of carrying the authorized weight. Such 

limitation or bridge closing shall remain in effect, not to exceed 

60 days, until an analysis of the bridge is made and action taken 

based upon the bridge analysis.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-72; 143B-350; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0412 AIRCRAFT LANDING AND 

TAKING OFF ON HIGHWAYS 

(a)  It shall be unlawful for aircraft to take-off or land on any road 

or highway of the State Highway System, unless authorized by 

the Chief Engineer, in writing. The Chief Engineer may authorize 

take-off or landing on any road or highway of the State Highway 

System based upon the following: 

(1) a showing of good cause, which may include 

issues of national security, safety of the general 

public, or natural disasters; and 

(2) arrangements have been made for law 

enforcement officials to redirect or administer 

Vehicular traffic on the highway during the 

landing or take-off. 

(b)  Nothing in this Rule shall prohibit an aircraft from landing on 

any roads or highways in an emergency situation if the landing is 

necessary to prevent injury or death to the occupants of the 

aircraft, provided that the emergency landing can be made without 

danger to persons and vehicles on or near the highway. After an 

emergency landing, take-off by the aircraft may be permitted 

under the direction of a law enforcement officer if it is determined 

by the law enforcement officer that the take-off will not endanger 

persons or vehicles on the highway and there are no other practical 

nor feasible means of removing the aircraft. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 1982, for a Period of 47 

Days to Expire on May 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; October 1, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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19A NCAC 02E .0418 FENCING WITHIN RIGHT-OF-

WAY 

It shall be unlawful for any person to erect a fence, of any kind, 

within the right-of-way limits of any highway, except upon the 

written permission of the Chief Engineer's Office upon a showing 

that the change in fencing is beneficial to the public.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-93; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0419 CULTIVATING CROPS AND 

MAINTAINING PASTURES WITHIN RIGHT-OF-WAY 

It shall be unlawful for any person to plant, cultivate, or grow any 

crop, or to maintain any pasture or pasture grass, within the right-

of-way limits of any highway, unless written permission from the 

Chief Engineer's Office has been obtained upon a showing that 

the change in cultivating, growing or maintenance of crops is 

beneficial to the public.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-93; 143B-

350(f); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0420 CONSTRUCTION WITHIN 

RIGHT-OF-WAY 

(a)  Unless authorized in writing by the Chief Engineer's Office 

upon a showing that the change in construction within the right-

of-way is beneficial to the public, it shall be unlawful for any 

person or firm to construct, place, or erect any of the following, 

or any combination thereof, over any road, highway, or right-of-

way of the State Highway System: 

(1) power, broadband, telephone, or other poles; 

(2) signboards or fences; 

(3) water, gas, oil, petroleum products, steam 

chemicals, sewage, drainage, irrigation, or 

other pipelines; or 

(4) wires, cables, or other obstructions. 

(b)  Rules for the preparation and submission of applications for 

utility encroachments shall be found at 19A NCAC 02B .0500. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-93; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0421 UTILITY WIRES OR CABLES 

OVER HIGHWAYS 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the American National Standards 

Institute's National Electrical Safety Code (ANSI Code) is 

incorporated by reference and includes any subsequent 

amendments and editions. The ANSI Code may be obtained from 

the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc., 445 

Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, New Jersey 08855-1331, 

telephone number 1-800-678-IEEE, website 

https://webstore.ansi.org, at a cost of forty-three dollars and fifty 

cents ($43.50). 

(b)  It shall be unlawful to construct any power, telephone, 

television, telegraph, or any other utility wires or cables over 

highways or roads on the State Highway System unless such wires 

have the minimum vertical clearance above the highest elevation 

of the road or highway crossed by them as set forth in the ANSI 

Code for the installation and maintenance of electric supply and 

communication lines, except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule.  

(c)  A minimum vertical clearance of 18 feet shall be maintained 

for overhead power and communication lines crossing all 

highways. The lateral and vertical clearance from bridges shall 

conform with the ANSI Code; however, greater clearances at 

bridges may be required by the Department of Transportation to 

provide for bridge construction and maintenance. Parallel utility 

lines occupying highway right-of-way shall maintain a minimum 

vertical clearance as required in the National Electrical Safety 

Code. 

(d)  Rules for the preparation and submission of applications for 

utility encroachments can be found in 19A NCAC 02B .0500. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(10); 136-89.50; 136-93; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .1006 APPLICATION FOR 

DESIGNATION 

(a)  The following items shall be included for a Scenic Byway 

application:  

(1) the proponent's name, address, telephone 

number, and email address, and the name, 

address, email address, and telephone number 

of the organization, if applicable; 

(2) a written description of the section of highway 

to be designated, including a description of the 

section's unusual, exceptional, or distinctive 

scenic, recreational, historical, educational, 

scientific, geological, natural, wildlife, cultural 

or ethnic features; 

(3) photographic files of the area that demonstrate 

the section's qualities of significance; 

(4) county maps with the proposed route marked;  

(5) copies of zoning ordinances applicable to the 

route or a written list of existing land-use areas 

for unzoned areas; 

(6) documentation of notice given to local 

governments adjacent to proposed route; 

(7) for unzoned areas, a written list of commercial 

or industrial activities adjacent to or within 800 

feet of the pavement of the proposed route; and 

(8) an optional Scenic Byway Management Plan 

may be submitted with an application. 

(b)  Completed applications shall be sent to the Roadside 

Environmental Unit, 1557 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1557, no later than August 31 of each year. Incomplete 

applications shall not be accepted and will be returned to the 

proponent. 
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(c)  The application and all application materials are public 

records pursuant to Chapter 132 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(31); 136-122 

through 136-125; 136-129.2; 143B-348; 

Eff. March 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(a)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art 

schools and shops. Each licensee and student shall wash his or her 

hands with soap and water or an equally effective cleansing agent 

immediately before and after serving each client. 

(b)  Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes 

while serving patrons. 

(c)  Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic 

art school or shop any of the following: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a. 

MMA; 

(2) razor-type callus shavers designed and intended 

to cut growths of skin including skin tags, 

corns, and calluses; 

(3) FDA rated Class III devices; 

(4) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent 

strength; 

(5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on a natural nail. 

(d)  A licensee or student shall not: 

(1) use any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's intended 

use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treat any medical condition unless referred by a 

physician; 

(3) provide any service unless trained prior to 

performing the service; 

(4) perform services on a client if the licensee has 

reason to believe the client has any of the 

following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised, 

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the 

area to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the Board; 

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of 

communication in a manner that is false or 

misleading; 

(7) use any FDA rated Class II device without the 

documented supervision of a licensed 

physician; 

(8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis; 

(9) make any statement to a member of the public, 

either verbally or in writing, stating or implying 

any action is required or forbidden by Board 

rules when such action is not required or 

forbidden by Board rules. A violation of this 

prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation is set forth in 21 NCAC 14P 

.0108 of this Chapter; or 

(10) use or possess any product banned by the FDA. 

A list of banned products is available at 

www.fda.gov. 

(e)  In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal 

protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the 

manufacturer in the Safety Data Sheet. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019; March 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0505 RULE COMPLIANCE AND 

ENFORCEMENT MEASURES 

(a)  The use of or possession of the following products or 

equipment in a school or shop shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00) per container of 

product or piece of equipment: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer a.k.a. 

MMA; or 

(2) razor-type callus shavers designed and intended 

to cut growths of skin including skin tags, 

corns, and calluses. 

(b)  The use of or possession of the following in a school or shop 

shall result in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) per use or possession: 

(1) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(2) variable speed electrical nail file unless it has 

been designed for use on the natural nail. 

(c)  The action of any student or licensee to violate the Board rules 

in the following manner shall result in civil penalty in the amount 

of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per instance of each action: 

(1) use of any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's intended 

use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treatment of any medical condition unless 

referred by a physician; 
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(3) use of any product that will penetrate the 

dermis; 

(4) provision of any service unless trained prior to 

performing the service; 

(5) performance of services on a client if the 

licensee has reason to believe the client has any 

of the following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) inflamed infected, broken, raised, or 

swollen skin or nail tissue in the area 

to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(6) alteration of or duplication of a license issued 

by the Board; 

(7) advertisement or solicitation of clients in any 

form of communication in a manner that is false 

or misleading; or 

(8) use of any FDA rated Class II device without 

the documented supervision of a licensed 

physician. 

(d)  The failure to record the date and time of each cleaning and 

disinfecting of a footspa in a cosmetic art school or shop as 

required by this Subchapter including the date, time, reason, and 

name of the staff member who performed the cleaning or the 

failure to keep or make such record available for at least 90 days 

upon request by either a patron or inspector shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per footspa. 

(e)  The failure to clean and disinfect a footspa in a cosmetic art 

shop or school as required by this Subchapter shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per 

footspa. 

(f)  The failure to maintain in a cosmetic art shop and school 

antiseptics, gloves or finger guards, and sterile bandages available 

to provide first aid shall result in civil penalty in the amount of 

twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per item. 

(g)  The failure to maintain a sink with hot and cold running water 

in the clinic area, separate from restrooms, shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(h)  The failure to provide ventilation at all times in the areas 

where patrons are serviced in cosmetic art shops shall result in 

civil penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

(i)  The failure to maintain equipment and supplies necessary to 

perform any cosmetic art service offered in the shop shall result 

in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(j)  The failure to maintain a sanitation grade of 80 percent or 

higher shall result in a civil penalty in the amount of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00). 

(k)  Repeated violations of the rules in this Subchapter exceeding 

three written notifications of any one rule documented to any one 

individual, shop, or school shall result in a mandatory disciplinary 

hearing in accordance with 21 NCAC 14C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-23; 

88B-24; 88B-26; 88B-27; 88B-29; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019; March 1, 2018. 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32W .0112 IDENTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

An Anesthesiologist Assistant licensed under this Subchapter 

shall keep proof of current licensure and registration available for 

inspection at the primary place of practice and shall, when 

engaged in professional activities, wear a name tag identifying the 

licensee as an "Anesthesiologist Assistant," which may be 

abbreviated as "AA," or as a "Certified Anesthesiologist 

Assistant," which may be abbreviated as "CAA." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18.5; 90-640; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 28, 2008; 

Eff. April 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2403 DRUGS AND DEVICES TO BE 

DISPENSED 

(a)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 90-85.34A(a)(3), 

prescription drugs and devices included in the following general 

categories may be dispensed by registered nurses in local health 

department clinics when prescribed for the indicated conditions: 

(1) Anti-tuberculosis drugs, as recommended by 

the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services in the North Carolina 

Tuberculosis Policy Manual (available at 

www.ncdhhs.gov), when used for the treatment 

and control of tuberculosis; 

(2) Anti-infective agents used in the control of 

sexually-transmitted diseases as recommended 

by the United States Centers for Disease 

Control in the Sexually Transmitted Diseases 

Treatment Guidelines (available at 

www.cdc.gov); 

(3) Natural or synthetic hormones and 

contraceptive devices when used for the 

prevention of pregnancy; 

(4) Topical preparations for the treatment of lice, 

scabies, impetigo, diaper rash, vaginitis, and 

related skin conditions; 

(5) Vitamin and mineral supplements; 

(6) Opioid antagonists prescribed pursuant to G.S. 

90-12.7; 

(7) Epinephrine auto-injectors prescribed pursuant 

to G.S. 115C-375.2A; and  

(8) Over-the-counter nicotine replacement 

therapies. 

(b)  Regardless of the provisions set out in this Rule, no drug 

defined as a controlled substance by the United States Controlled 

Substances Act, 21 U.S. Code 801 through 904, or regulations 
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enacted pursuant to that Act, 21 CFR 1300 through 1308, or by 

the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act, G.S. 90-86 

through 90-113.8, may be dispensed by registered nurses pursuant 

to G.S. 90-85.34A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-12.7; 90-85.6; 90-85.34A; 

115C-375.2A; 

Eff. March 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; August 1, 

2014; May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2502 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 

PHARMACIST-MANAGER 

(a)  The pharmacist-manager shall assure that prescription legend 

drugs and controlled substances are safe and secure within the 

pharmacy. 

(b)  The pharmacist-manager employed or otherwise engaged to 

supply pharmaceutical services may have a flexible schedule of 

attendance but shall be present for at least one-half the hours the 

pharmacy is open or 32 hours a week, whichever is less. A 

pharmacist employee not meeting this requirement may serve as 

temporary pharmacist-manager of the permit holder for a period 

not to exceed 90 days from the departure date of the previous 

pharmacist-manager, if the pharmacist employee is present at 

least 20 hours per week in the pharmacy. 

(c)  Whenever a change of ownership or change of 

pharmacist-manager occurs, the successor pharmacist-manager 

shall complete an inventory of all controlled substances in the 

pharmacy within 10 days. A written record of the inventory, 

signed and dated by the successor pharmacist-manager, shall be 

maintained in the pharmacy with other controlled substances 

records for a period of three years. 

(d)  The pharmacist-manager shall develop and implement a 

system of inventory record-keeping and control that will enable 

that pharmacist-manager to detect any shortage or discrepancy in 

the inventories of controlled substances at that pharmacy at the 

earliest practicable time. 

(e)  The pharmacist-manager shall maintain authority and control 

over any and all keys to the pharmacy and shall be responsible for 

the security of the pharmacy. If no pharmacist will be present in 

the pharmacy for a period of 90 minutes or more, the pharmacy 

shall be secured to prohibit unauthorized entry.  

(f)  These duties shall be in addition to the specific duties of 

pharmacist-managers at institutional pharmacies and pharmacies 

in health departments as set forth in the rules in this Chapter. 

(g)  A person shall not simultaneously serve as 

pharmacist-manager at more than one pharmacy, unless:  

(1) the person is serving simultaneously as 

pharmacist-manager at pharmacies holding a 

limited service permit; or  

(2) the person is serving simultaneously as 

pharmacist-manager at two pharmacies holding 

full service permits, one of which is a newly 

permitted pharmacy that has not yet begun 

providing pharmacy services to patients. When 

the newly permitted pharmacy begins providing 

pharmacy services to patients or six months 

from the issuance of the new pharmacy permit, 

whichever occurs sooner, the person shall 

relinquish the former pharmacist-manager 

position and notify the Board of having done so. 

(h)  When a pharmacy is to be closed permanently, the 

pharmacist-manager shall inform the Board and the United States 

Drug Enforcement Administration of the closing, arrange for the 

proper disposition of the pharmaceuticals, and return the 

pharmacy permit to the Board's offices within 10 days of the 

closing date. If possible, notice of the closing shall be given to the 

public by posted notice at the pharmacy at least 30 days prior to 

the closing date and 15 days after the closing date. Such notice 

shall notify the public that prescription files may be transferred to 

a pharmacy of the patient's or customer's choice during the 30-day 

period prior to the closing date. During the 30-day period prior to 

the closing date, the pharmacist-manager and the pharmacy's 

owner (if the owner is other than the pharmacist-manager), shall 

transfer prescription files to another pharmacy chosen by the 

patient or customer, upon request. Absent specific instructions 

from the patient or customer, the pharmacist-manager and the 

pharmacy's owner (if the owner is other than the 

pharmacist-manager), shall transfer prescription files to another 

pharmacy for maintenance of patient therapy and shall inform the 

public of such transfer by posted notice at the pharmacy for 15 

days after the closing date, if possible. Controlled substance 

records shall be retained for the period of time required by law. 

(i)  If possible, the pharmacist-manager shall ensure that notice of 

the temporary closing of any pharmacy for more than 14 

consecutive days is given to the public by posted notice at the 

pharmacy at least 30 days prior to the closing date, and 15 days 

after the closing date. Such notice shall notify the public that 

prescription files may be transferred to a pharmacy of the patient's 

or customer's choice during the 30-day period prior to the closing 

date. During the 30-day period prior to the closing date, the 

pharmacist-manager and the pharmacy's owner (if the owner is 

other than the pharmacist-manager), shall transfer prescription 

files to another pharmacy chosen by the patient or customer, upon 

request. 

(j)  The pharmacist-manager shall prepare a plan to safeguard 

prescription records and pharmaceuticals and minimize the 

interruption of pharmacy services in the event of a natural disaster 

such as hurricane or flood. 

(k)  The pharmacist-manager shall separate from the dispensing 

stock all drug products more than six months out of date. 

(l)  The pharmacist-manager shall report to the Board information 

that reasonably suggests that there is a probability that a 

prescription drug or device dispensed from a location holding a 

permit has caused or contributed to the death of a patient or 

customer. This report shall be filed in writing on a form provided 

by the Board within 14 days of the owner representative or 

pharmacist-manager's becoming aware of the event. The 

pharmacist-manager shall retain all documents, labels, vials, 

supplies, substances, and internal investigative reports relating to 

the event. All such items shall be made available to the Board 

upon request. 

(m)  The Board shall not disclose the identity of a 

pharmacist-manager who makes a report under Paragraph (l) of 

this Rule, except as required by law. No report made under 
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Paragraph (l) of this Rule shall not be released except as required 

by law. 

(n)  In any Board proceeding, the Board shall consider compliance 

with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as a mitigating factor and 

noncompliance with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as an aggravating 

factor. 

(o)  The pharmacist-manager shall ensure that all starter doses of 

medication supplied to doctors' offices from the pharmacy are 

accompanied by written materials advising the patient that such 

doses of medication may be supplied by any pharmacy. Starter 

doses shall be limited to a 24 hour dose supply per patient. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-85.25; 

90-85.26; 90-85.32; 

Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; February 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

December 1, 2001; April 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1996; 

March 1, 1992; October 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 68 - SUBSTANCE ABUSE PROFESSIONAL 

PRACTICE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0203 DESIGNATION AS SUBSTANCE 

ABUSE COUNSELOR INTERN 

(a)  To be designated as a Substance Abuse Counselor Intern, a 

counselor shall: 

(1) Submit Registration status issued by the Board; 

(2) Provide documentation to the Board verifying 

the completion of 300 hours of supervised 

practice by a Certified Clinical Supervisor or 

Clinical Supervisor Intern; 

(3) Achieve a passing score on the Alcohol and 

Drug Counselor examination developed by the 

IC&RC or its successor organization; and 

(4) Pay a non-refundable, one hundred fifty dollar 

($150.00) exam fee plus a one hundred fifty 

dollar ($150.00) certification fee if not already 

Registered with the Board. 

(b)  Upon the failure of an applicant to achieve a passing score, 

the applicant may request a reexamination and pay a non-

refundable reexamination fee of one hundred fifty dollars 

($150.00) after a period of three months from the date of the failed 

test. 

(c)  Once an individual has been designated as a Substance Abuse 

Counselor Intern, he or she may function as a counselor intern 

under an approved supervisor at a ratio of one hour of supervision 

for every 40 hours of practice. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.34; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0205 CERTIFIED SUBSTANCE 

ABUSE COUNSELOR CERTIFICATION 

Requirements for certification as a Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor shall be as follows: 

(1) Completion of 6,000 hours of paid or volunteer 

supervised experience as set out in G.S. 90-

113.40(a). If the work setting is not exclusively 

substance abuse focused, the applicant may 

accumulate experience proportional to the 

substance abuse services performed or as 

determined and verified by the applicant 

supervisor. 

(2) Board approved education and training of at 

least 270 clock hours, consisting of: 

(a) Substance Abuse Specific (SAS) 

education and training in the amount 

of at least 190 hours; 

(b) Up to 80 hours may be directed toward 

general professional skill building to 

enhance counselor development; 

(c) No more than 25% of the 270 hours 

(67.5) hours may be in-service 

education received within the 

applicant's organization by staff of the 

same organization; 

(d) The 190 Substance Abuse Specific 

clock hours needed for initial 

certification must be in the core 

competencies. Core competencies are 

listed as follows: 

(i) Basic alcoholism and drug 

addiction knowledge; 

(ii) Screening, intake, 

orientation, and assessment; 

(iii) Individual, group, and family 

counseling and intervention 

techniques; 

(iv) Case management, treatment 

planning, reporting, and 

record keeping; 

(v) Crisis intervention skills: 

(vi) Prevention and client 

education; 

(vii) Consultation, referral, and 

networking that utilizes 

community resources; 

(viii) Ethics, legal issues, and 

confidentiality; 

(ix) Special populations that 

include individuals or groups 

with ethnic, cultural, sexual 

orientation, and gender 

characteristics as well as 

persons dealing with HIV, 

co-occurring disabilities, 

persons with criminal justice 

related issues, and perinatal 

issues: 
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(x) Physiology and 

pharmacology of alcohol and 

other drugs that include the 

licit and illicit drugs, 

inhalants, and nicotine; 

(xi) Psychological, emotional, 

personality, and 

developmental issues; and 

(xii) Traditions and philosophies 

of 12-step and other recovery 

support groups; 

(e) Of the 270 clock hours, applicants for 

certification as a Substance Abuse 

Professional must document six hours 

of HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, six 

hours professional ethics education, 

and six hours of education to be 

selected from the following: 

(i) nicotine use disorder; 

(ii) psychopathology; 

(iii) evidence-based treatment; 

(iv) substance use disorder issues 

and older adults; 

(v) substance use disorder issues 

affecting veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder and 

domestic violence. 

(3) A one hundred fifty dollar ($150.00) exam fee 

and a two hundred dollar ($200.00) non-

refundable certification fee, unless previously 

paid. The applicant may request a 

reexamination and pay a non-refundable 

reexamination fee as set out in G.S. 90-

113.38(c) for the written exam if a passing 

score is not achieved and at least three months 

have passed from the date of failed test. 

(4) Achieving a passing score on the IC&RC or its 

successor organization Alcohol and Drug 

Counselor exam. 

(5) Completed evaluation forms by the 

professional's applicant supervisor 

documenting 6,000 hours of clinical substance 

use disorder counseling experience submitted 

to the Board, and two references from other 

substance use disorder professionals as part of 

the application for certification. 

(6) An attestation or otherwise signed adherence by 

the applicant to the Ethical Standards of the 

Board. 

(7) Documentation of highest level education. 

Verification of high school graduation or 

completion of GED may be evidenced by 

diploma. Applicants presenting baccalaureate 

or advanced degrees must submit a completed 

transcript. 

(8) Completed registration application found on the 

Board's website. 

(9) Resume. 

(10) Job description that verifies job function to 

include the 12 Core Functions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.39; 90-113.40; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0208 RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR COUNSELOR, CRIMINAL JUSTICE ADDICTIONS 

PROFESSIONAL AND PREVENTION CONSULTANT  

(a)  In order to renew a certification, a certified substance abuse 

counselor, certified criminal justice addictions professional, and 

certified substance abuse prevention consultant shall: 

(1) Complete 60 hours of training recognized by 

the Board as follows: 

(A) No more than 25 percent may be in-

service education, received within the 

professional's place of employment by 

staff of the same employment; 

(B) No more than 25 percent may be 

educational training presented by the 

renewing professional. A presentation 

shall be a part of an event recognized 

by the Board as set out in the rules of 

this Chapter; 

(C) An applicant shall include 

documentation of each event 

submitted; 

(D) All applicants shall include three 

hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education, 

three hours of professional ethics 

training and education, and three hours 

of education to be selected from the 

list appearing in Rule 21 NCAC 68 

.0205(e); and 

(E) No more than 50 percent shall be self-

study or pre-recorded online training; 

and  

(2) Submit the following: 

(A) A completed renewal application 

found on the Board website; 

(B) A non-refundable one hundred fifty 

dollar ($150.00) recertification fee; 

and 

(C) An attestation or otherwise signed 

adherence by the applicant to the 

Ethical Standards of the Board. 

(b)  Thirty hours shall be substance use disorder specific.  

(c)  The renewal application of a certified criminal justice 

addictions professional and a certified substance abuse counselor 

shall include post-certification supervision agreement between a 

practice supervisor and supervisee. The supervision required by 

this Rule shall be provided according to G.S. 90-113.37A(b).  
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.37A; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2011; April 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; April 

1, 2003; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0211 PROCESS FOR CLINICAL 

SUPERVISOR CERTIFICATION AND RENEWAL 

(a) In order to be certified as a certified clinical supervisor, an 

applicant shall: 

(1) Obtain and maintain a license as a licensed 

clinical addictions specialist to be eligible for 

certified clinical supervisor; 

(2) Hold a master's or higher degree in a human 

services field with a clinical application from a 

regionally accredited college or university; 

(3) Submit documentation signed by the certified 

clinical supervisor of 4000 hours or two years 

full-time experience in a supervisory role 

working or volunteer in a clinical setting, 

supervised at a ratio of one hour of supervision 

for every 80 hours of practice in the field of 

alcohol and other drug misuse; 

(4) Submit documentation of 30 hours of clinical 

supervision specific education for initial 

certification. These hours shall be reflective of 

clinical supervision domains;  

(5) Submit three references. One from a certified 

clinical supervisor who can attest to supervisory 

competence and two from either substance use 

disorder professionals who have been 

supervised by the candidate or substance use 

disorder professionals who can attest to the 

applicant's competence; 

(6) Achieve a passing score on the IC&RC or its 

successor organization's clinical supervisor 

examination; and 

(7) Pay all application fees. A fee of twenty-five 

dollars ($25.00) shall be submitted to the 

Board. Also, an applicant shall submit a 

certification fee of two hundred dollars 

($200.00) and an examination fee of one 

hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(b) In order to renew as a certified clinical supervisor, the certified 

professional shall submit to the Board the following: 

(1) A completed renewal found on the Board 

website with 15 clock hours of continuing 

education in the field of clinical supervision; 

(2) An attestation or otherwise signed adherence by 

the applicant stating his or her commitment to 

follow the Board's code of ethical conduct; and 

(3) A recertification or renewal fee of one hundred 

fifty dollars ($150.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.34; 90-113.38; 90-113.40; 90-113.41; 90-114.41A; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0212 PROCESS FOR RESIDENTIAL 

FACILITY DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Residential facility director certification may be obtained and 

continued by any person credentialed as a certified substance 

abuse counselor or licensed clinical addictions specialist. 

(b)  Requirements for certification shall be as follows: 

(1) 50 hours of academic and didactic management 

specific training; 

(2) Recommendation of applicant's current 

supervisor; 

(3) Recommendation of a colleague or co-worker 

of the applicant; and 

(4) An application packet fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00) and a certification fee of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00).  

(c)  In addition to meeting the continuing education requirements 

to practice as a certified substance abuse counselor or licensed 

clinical addictions specialist, in order to maintain certification as 

a certified substance abuse residential facility director, the 

applicant shall take 40 hours of continuing education every two 

years.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.37A; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.40; 

Eff. August 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2010; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

21 NCAC 68 .0305 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR INITIAL APPLICANTS FOR LICENSED CLINICAL 

ADDICTIONS SPECIALIST 

In addition to meeting the requirements of G.S. 90-113.40, an 

applicant seeking licensure as a clinical addictions specialist shall 

submit the following: 

(1) Documentation of completion of: 

(a) Six hours of 

HIV/AIDS/STDS/TB/Bloodborne 

pathogens training and education; 

(b) Six hours of professional ethics 

training; 

(c) Six hours of clinical supervision 

specific training; and 

(d) Six hours selected from the following 

list: 

(i) nicotine use disorder; 

(ii) psychopathology; 

(iii) evidence-based treatment; 

(iv) substance use disorder issues 

and older adults; 

(v) substance use disorder issues 

and veterans; and 

(vi) substance use disorder issues 

and domestic violence. 

 All hours listed in this Item may be included in 

the 180 hours of substance use disorder training 

required for licensure; 
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(2) A copy of a substance abuse specialty 

certificate or transcript if the applicant is 

applying under Criteria C as defined in G.S. 90-

113.40 (c)(3), or is seeking education credit as 

described in Item (1) of this Rule under any 

other criteria outlined in G.S. 90-113.40 (c); 

(3) An official transcript of completed masters or 

other advanced degree in a human services field 

with a clinical application as found in Rule 

.0101(5) of this Chapter, if not previously 

submitted under Item (2) of this Rule; 

(4) A completed application found on the Board's 

website; and 

(5) Payment of the following fees: 

(a) All applicants who are in the deemed 

status group shall make payment of a 

non-refundable application fee of ten 

dollars ($10.00) and payment of a non-

refundable credentialing fee of forty 

dollars ($40.00). 

(b) All other applicants shall make 

payment of an application fee of 

twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and 

payment of a non-refundable 

certification fee of two hundred 

dollars ($200.00). 

(c) All applicants seeking credentialing 

pursuant to Criteria A, Criteria B, and 

Criteria C of G.S. 90-113.40(c) shall 

make payment of a non-refundable 

examination fee of one hundred fifty 

dollars ($150.00). An applicant 

seeking credentialing pursuant to 

Criteria D (Deemed Status) who has 

not completed an examination as 

required by G.S 90-113.41(b), shall 

complete and pass the examination at 

his or her own expense. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.33; 90-

113.38; 90-113.40; 90-113.41;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 15, 1997; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

25 NCAC 01D .0913 SALARY RATE 

(a)  If an employee transfers to a position having the same salary 

grade, the salary may be increased as long as the increase does not 

create internal salary inequity. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"internal salary inequity" exists when an employee's salary is 10 

percent above or below that of others in similar classification 

having similar duties and responsibilities and with similar 

knowledge, skills, abilities, education and training, experience, 

and performance. The salary may be reduced if there is a lack of 

sufficient funds or if it results in the creation of internal salary 

inequity. A reduction shall not occur when applied to employees 

with reduction-in-force priority consideration in which case the 

salary shall remain unchanged,  unless the employee voluntarily 

offers or agrees to accept a lower salary rate by waiver obtained 

in the pre-screening phase of the selection process. If the 

employee is being reinstated to a higher class, the rules of Section 

.0300 of this Subchapter shall apply. 

(b)  When the transfer is to a higher class and results in a 

promotion, the rules in Section .0300 of this Subchapter shall 

apply. 

(c)  If the transfer is to a lower class and results in a demotion or 

reassignment, then the rules in Section .0400 of this Subchapter 

shall apply. 

(d)  If an employee is in an agency not utilizing a special entry 

rate and transfers to an agency that does, the special entry rate 

cannot be used as justification for a salary increase if both work 

stations are within the same geographic area. 

(e)  If an employee is receiving a higher rate of pay by virtue of 

working in a position where a geographic differential applies and 

transfers to a position where a geographic differential does not 

apply, whether in the same geographic area to a position without 

a differential, or to the same job in a geographic area without a 

differential, the employee's pay rate shall be reduced by the 

amount of the differential the employee had been receiving. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 

Eff. March 1, 2019. 

 

25 NCAC 01H .0631 POSTING AND 

ANNOUNCEMENT OF VACANCIES 

(a)  An agency shall post its vacant positions. 

(b)  Vacancies that shall be filled from within the agency 

workforce shall have an application period of not less than five 

business days and shall be posted in at least the locations required 

by G.S. 126-7.1(a). 

(c)  Vacancies to be filled from within or outside the State 

government workforce are to be listed with the Office of State 

Human Resources and as required by G.S. 96-29. The vacancies 

shall have an application period of not less than five business 

days. For purposes of this Rule, "State government workforce" 

means those employees who are subject to Articles 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 

13, and 14 of Chapter 126 of the North Carolina General Statutes. 

(d)  Each vacancy shall be described in an announcement that 

includes: 

(1) For graded classes: the position number, 

classification title, salary grade and range, 

essential functions, knowledge, skills, abilities, 

minimum training and experience, and any 

vacancy-specific qualifications as determined 

by the agency in accordance with 25 NCAC 

01H .0635(c) the application period, and the 

contact information; 

(2) For banded classes: the position number, 

banded class title, competency level, banded 

class salary range or recruitment range 

corresponding to the competencies and duties, 

salary grade equivalency, essential functions, 

competencies, minimum training and 

experience, vacancy-specific qualifications as 
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determined by the agency in accordance with 

25 NCAC 01H .0635(c), the application period, 

and the contact information; and 

(3) For all vacancy listings: a closing date, unless 

the classification has been determined as 

critical. Factors used in determining critical 

classifications include agency turnover; 

number of positions in class; geographic 

location of the position; scarcity of individuals 

with the required skills; and safety, health, or 

quality of care for clients. The critical 

classifications shall be approved by the State 

Human Resources Commission. On those 

classes determined to be critical, which shall be 

considered open and continuous postings, 

agencies shall determine how long applications 

shall be considered active. The State Human 

Resources Director or his or her designee shall 

report the number and type of continuous 

postings to the State Human Resources 

Commission. 

(e)  Posting is not required when an agency determines that it will 

not openly recruit. This decision based upon a business need shall 

be made by the agency head. This includes vacancies: 

(1) that are committed to a budget reduction; 

(2) used to avoid a reduction in force; 

(3) used for disciplinary transfers or demotions; 

(4) to be filled by transfer of an employee to avoid 

the threat of bodily harm; 

(5) that are designated exempt policymaking under 

G.S. 126-5(d); 

(6) that must be filled immediately to prevent work 

stoppage in constant demand situations, or to 

protect the public health, safety, or security; 

(7) to be filled by chief deputies and chief 

administrative assistants to elected or appointed 

department heads; and vacancies for positions 

to be filled by confidential assistants and 

confidential secretaries to elected or appointed 

department heads, chief deputies, or chief 

administrative assistants; 

(8) to be filled by an eligible exempt employee who 

has been removed from an exempt position and 

is being placed back in a position subject to all 

provisions of the State Human Resources Act; 

(9) to be filled by a legally binding settlement 

agreement; 

(10) to be filled in accordance with a pre-existing 

written agency workforce plan; and 

(11) that must be filled immediately because of a 

widespread outbreak of a serious 

communicable disease. 

(f)  The Office of State Human Resources may withhold approval 

for an agency to fill a job vacancy as set out in G.S. 

126-7.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 96-29; 126-3(b); 126-4(4); 126-

7.1; 126-14; 

Eff. March 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 20, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission April 18, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Jason Thomas  (919)431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

  April 18, 2019  May 16, 2019 
 June 20, 2019 July 18, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, APRIL 18, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 
 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 
II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 
III. Follow-up matters 

A. Soil and Water Conservation Commission – 02 NCAC 59D .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, 
.0108, .0109, .0110 (Reeder) 

B. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 
.0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104; 
09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 

C. Department of Health and Human Services - 10A NCAC 14J .0101, .0102, .0103, .0201, .0203, .0204, .0301, 
.0302, .0303, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0601, .0702, .0705, .0904, .1001, .1002, .1201, .1202, 
.1203, .1207, .1210, .1212, .1213, .1214, .1215, .1218, .1219, .1225, .1226 (Reeder) 

D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0204, .0403 (Reeder) 
IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed February 21, 2019 through March 20, 2019 

• Department of Health and Human Services (Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B .0402 - .0511 and 02H .0101 - .0407, .1201 - .1206 
(May) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02B .0601-.0735 and 02H .0501-.0507, .1301-.1306 
(Reeder) 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02H .0901 - .0922 

• Environmental Management Commission 15A NCAC 02L (May) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (May) 

• Marriage and Family Therapy Licensure Board (Reeder) 

• Board of Physical Therapy Examiners (Reeder) 

• Building Code Council (Reeder) 
V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 
VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
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1. 10A NCAC 15 - Department of Health and Human Services (May) 
2. 10A NCAC 15 - Radiation Protection Commission (May) 

VII. Commission Business 
E. Status Update from DHHS in DHHS/CPH v. RRC 
F. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Executive Committee to meet following Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, May 16, 2019 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

February 21, 2019 through March 20, 2019 

RADIATION PROTECTION COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 15 are from the Radiation Protection Commission and include general provisions (.0100); 
registration of radiation machines, facilities and services (.0200); licensing of radioactive material (.0300); safety 
requirements for industrial radiography operations (.0500); x-rays in the healing arts (.0600); use of radioactive sources 
in the healing arts (.0700); requirements for analytical x-ray equipment (.0800); requirements for particle accelerators 
(.0900); notices, instructions, reports and inspections (.1000); fees (.1100); land disposal of radioactive waste (.1200); 
requirements for wire-line service operators and subsurface-tracer studies (.1300); tanning facilities (.1400); licenses 
for disposal site access (.1500); and standards for protections against radiation (.1600). 

Radioactive Materials and Accelerator Fee Amounts 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 15 .1106 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2B pertain to surface water standards and monitoring including procedures for assignment of 
water quality standards (.0100); the standards used to classify the waters of the state (.0200); stream classifications 
(.0300); effluent limitations (.0400); monitoring and reporting requirements (.0500); and water quality management plans 
(.0600). 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0402 

Definition of Terms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0403 

Water Quality Based Effluent Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0404 

Technology Based Effluent Limitations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0406 

Guidance for Determining a New Source 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0407 

Incorporation by Reference 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0408 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0501 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0502 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0503 

Classification of Waste Resources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0504 

Monitoring Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0505 
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Reporting Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0506 

Tests and Measurements Applicable to Sics 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0508 

Incorporation by Reference 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0511 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0601 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0602 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0603 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0604 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0605 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0606 

Site Specific Water Quality Management Plan for the Goose... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0608 

Managing Activities within Riparian Buffers: Definitions 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0610 

Managing Activities within Riparian Buffers: Authorizatio... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0611 

Managing Activities within Riparian Buffers: Forest Harve... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0612 

Neuse River Basin: Nutrient Sensitive Waters Management S... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0715 

Randleman Nutrient Strategy: Purpose and Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0720 

Randleman Lake Water Supply Watershed: Stormwater Require... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0721 

Randleman Lake Water Supply Watershed: Wastewater Dischar... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0722 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin-Nutrient Sensitive Waters Managem... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02B .0735 

The rules in Subchapter 2H concern procedures for permits: approvals including point source discharges to the surface 
waters (.0100); waste not discharged to surface waters (.0200); coastal waste treatment disposal (.0400); water quality 
certification (.0500); laboratory certification (.0800); local pretreatment programs (.0900); stormwater management 
(.1000); biological laboratory certification (.1100); special orders (.1200); and discharges to isolated wetlands and 
isolated waters (.1300). 

Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0101 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0102 

Definition of Terms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0103 

Application: Permit Fees: Assessment for New Sources 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0105 

Filing Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0106 
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Staff Review and Evaluation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0107 

Fact Sheets 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0108 

Public Notice 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0109 

Public Hearings 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0111 

Final Action on Permit Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0112 

Notification of Applicants 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0113 

Modification and Revocation of Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0114 

Public Access to Records 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0115 

Emergency Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0116 

Investigations: Monitoring: and Reporting 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0117 

Effluent Limitations and Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0118 

Limitation on Delegation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0120 

Suspension of Requirement for State NPDES Permits 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0121 

Reliability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0124 

Permit Requirements for Peat Mining 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0125 

General Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0127 

Authorization to Construct Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0138 

Minimum Design Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0139 

Certification of Completion 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0140 

Operational Agreements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0141 

Use/Wastewater Trtmnt Works Emgcy Main: Oper/Repair Fund 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0142 

Incorporation by Reference 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0143 

Statement of Policy 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0401 

Applicability 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0402 

Definition of Coastal Areas 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0403 

Facility Location and Design 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0404 
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Privately Owned Installations 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0405 

Publicly Owned Sewerage Facilities 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0406 

Exceptions from Requirements 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0407 

Applicability 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0501 

Filing Application 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0502 

Public Notice and Public Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0503 

Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0504 

Decision on Application for Certification 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0507 

Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0901 

Scope 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0902 

Definition of Terms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0903 

Required Pretreatment Programs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0904 

POTW Pretreatment Program Implementation Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0905 

Submission for Pretreatment Program Approval 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0906 

Procedures for Pretreatment Program Approval, Revision an... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0907 

Reporting/Record Keeping Requirements for POTWS/Industria... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0908 

National Pretreatment Standards: Prohibited Discharges 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0909 

National Pretreatment Standards: Categorical Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0910 

Adjustments for Fundamentally Different Factors 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0912 

Public Access to Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0913 

Upset Provision 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0914 

Net/Gross Calculation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0915 

Pretreatment Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0916 

Pretreatment Permit Submission and Review 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0917 

Local Law 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0918 

Bypass 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0919 
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Pretreatment Facility Operation and Maintenance 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0920 

Revision to Reflect POTW Removal of Pollutant 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0921 

Hearings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .0922 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1201 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1202 

Public Notice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1203 

Final Action on Special Orders by Consent 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1204 

Action on Special Orders Issued without Consent 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1205 

Water Quality Special Orders by Consent 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1206 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1301 

Filing Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1302 

Public Notice and Public Hearing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1303 

Decision on Applications for Permits or Certificates of C... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1304 

Soil Series 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1306 

The rules in Chapter 2 concern environmental management and are promulgated by the Environmental Management 
Commission or the Department of Environment and Natural Resources. The rules in Subchapter 2L cover groundwater 
classifications and standards including general considerations (.0100); classifications and groundwater quality 
standards (.0200); the assignments of underground water classifications (.0300); risk-based assessment and corrective 
action for petroleum underground storage tanks (.0400); and risk-based assessment and correction action for non-UST 
petroleum releases (.0500). 

Purpose and Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0401 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0402 

Rule Application 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0403 

Required Initial Abatement Actions By Responsible Party 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0404 

Requirements for Limited Site Assessment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0405 

Discharge or Release Classifications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0406 

Reclassification of Risk Levels 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0407 

Assessment and Remediation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0408 

Notification Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0409 
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Departmental Listing of Discharges or Releases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0410 

Establishing Maximum Soil Contamination Concentrations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0411 

Analytical Procedures for Soil Samples 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0412 

Analytical Procedures for Ground Water Samples 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0413 

Required Laboratory Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0414 

Discharges or Releases from Other Sources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0415 

Purpose and Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0501 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0502 

Rule Application 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0503 

Required Initial Response and Abatement Actions by Respon... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0504 

Requirements for Limited Site Assessment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0505 

Discharge or Release Classifications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0506 

Reclassification of Risk Levels 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0507 

Assessment and Remediation Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0508 

Notification Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0509 

Departmental Listing of Discharges or Releases 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0510 

Establishing Maximum Soil Contamination Concentrations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0511 

Analytical Procedures for Soil Samples 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0512 

Analytical Procedures for Groundwater Samples 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0513 

Required Laboratory Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0514 

Discharges or Releases from Other Sources 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0515 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 10 are promulgated by the Wildlife Resources Commission and concern wildlife resources and 
water safety.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 10A cover general WRC practices and procedures including petitions for rulemaking (.0400); 
declaratory rulemaking (.0500); warning tickets (.1000); waivers (.1100); emergency powers (.1200); wildlife poacher 
reward fund (.1300); interstate wildlife violator compact (wcv) (.1400); and evidence (.1500). 

Particular Offenses  15A NCAC 10A .1001 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Summary Disposition 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10A .1501 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Permitted Archery Equipment 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0116 

Importation of Animal Parts 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0124 

Bear 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0202 

Squirrels 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0206 

Rabbits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0207 

Open Seasons 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0303 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); 
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600). 

Public Mountain Trout Waters 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0205 

Possession of Certain Fishes 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0211 

Black Bass 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0305 

Crappie 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0306 

Shad 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0313 

Striped Bass 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0314 

Trout 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0316 

Taking Nongame Fishes for Bait or Personal Consumption 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0402 

Permitted Special Devices and Open Seasons 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0407 

The rules in Subchapter 10D are game lands rules.  

Hunting on Game Lands 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0103 

Bear Sanctuaries 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10D .0106 

The rules in Subchapter 10E concern fishing and boating access areas. 

Use of Areas Regulated 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10E .0104 
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The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Beaufort County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0303 

Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0333 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY LICENSURE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 31 are from the Marriage and Family Therapy Board and concern application for certification 
(.0200); examination (.0300); renewal (.0400); definitions (.0500); code of ethical principles (.0600); continuing 
education (.0700); associate status (.0800); and reciprocity (.0900). 

Credentials Required 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0201 

Review Procedure 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0202 

Issuance of License 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0203 

Written Examination 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0301 

Licensure Renewal Form 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0401 

Reinstatement after Expiration 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0403 

Return from Inactive Status 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0404 

Appropriate Course of Study 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0501 

Ongoing Supervision 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0502 

Equivalency 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0503 

Alternative to Clinical Practicum 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0504 

Non-Degree Granting Post Graduate Training Programs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0505 

Direct Client Contact 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0506 

Ethical Principles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0609 

Requirements for Continuing Education 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0701 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Associate Credential... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0801 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Associate 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .0802 

Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .1001 

Fund Suspension 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 31 .1002 
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PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 48F concern certificates, fees, investigation, and record of licensees. 

Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 48F .0102 

Investigations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 48F .0103 

The rules in Subchapter 48G concern retention of license including licensure renewal (.0100); lapsed licenses (.0200); 
refusal to renew or grant license suspension or revocation (.0300); probation or warning (.0400); contested case 
hearings (.0500); and disciplinary action (.0600). 

Complaints and Investigations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 21 NCAC 48G .0504 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Ground-Fault Circuit-Interrupter ... 
Amend* 

 210.8 

2017 NC Electrical Code/Minimum Cover Requirements 
Amend* 

 Table 300.5 

2018 NC Building Code/Masonry Construction 
Amend* 

 1705.4 

2018 NC Fire Code/Lockdown Plans 
Amend* 

 404.2.3 

2018 NC Fire Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarm and Detection Sys... 
Amend* 

 915 

2018 NC Fuel Gas Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarms 
Amend* 

 311 

2018 NC Mechanical Code/Carbon Monoxide Alarms 
Amend* 

 313 

2018 NC Residential Code/Lofts 
Amend* 

 R202, R305, R310, R328 

2018 NC Residential Code/Deck Bracing 
Amend* 

 AM109 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

18 ABC 04349 2/20/2019 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission 

v. H and J Super Discount Inc T/A Super 

Discount Mini Mart 

Overby 

  
          

 

18 DHR 05011 2/11/2019 Primary Care 

Solutions Inc 

v. Cardinal Innovations Healthcare Inc Malherbe 

18 DHR 05357 2/25/2019 Iantha Southerland v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 06469 2/7/2019 Jesusito Rondon 

Guzman t/a Tienda 

Mexicana La 

Posadita 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

  
          

 

18 DOJ 04480 2/26/2019 Christopher Garris v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Overby 

18 DOJ 04664 2/13/2019 Rosalind R Smith v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Ward 

18 DOJ 06219 2/18/2019 Keifer Austin Furr v. NC Private Protective Services Board Lassiter 

18 DOJ 06375 2/27/2019 Benjamin Louis 

Zucker 

v. North Carolina Department of Justice 

Criminal Standards Division 

Bawtinhimer 

  
          

 

18 INS 04465 2/14/2019 Courtney N 

Viebrock 

v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

  
          

 

18 OSP 04046 2/6/2019 Heather Harper v. Department of Public Safety Ward 
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      UNPUBLISHED      

17 CSE 07720 2/27/2019 Anthony R Coley v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 01368 2/27/2019 Mackie Barfield Jr v. Child Support Services Elkins 

18 CSE 06220 2/7/2019 Douglas W Moyd 

(Mody) 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06235 2/22/2019 David Earl Rigg  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

18 CSE 06240 2/15/2019 Felicia H Middleton v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06246 2/1/2019 Mark Davis-

Mccrary 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06264 2/27/2019 Melanie K Marino v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06276 2/15/2019 Ricky Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06301 2/27/2019 Michael Anthony 

Cylar 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06306 2/27/2019; 

3/15/2019 

Gregory L 

Thompson 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06388 2/15/2019 Michael Norwood v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06392 2/27/2019 Mark A Preston v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06409 2/20/2019 John R Mitchell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 06423 2/25/2019 Martin Malamah-

Thomas 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06483 2/22/2019 Jessica Collazo v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Overby 

18 CSE 06488 2/15/2019 David M McDermott v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

18 CSE 06537 2/19/2019 Jeffrey S Brown v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

18 CSE 06554 2/18/2019 Georgie A Mendoza v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

18 CSE 06573 2/22/2019 Brian O'Neal Black v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 
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18 CSE 06639 2/8/2019 Rashone 

Washington 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support EnforcementSection 

May 

18 CSE 06673 2/18/2019 Arnold S Thomas v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 06869 2/8/2019 William C Davis v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 06870 2/20/2019 Michael Kearney v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 06997 2/8/2019; 

2/19/2019 

Jason Leland 

McCrary 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

18 CSE 07088 2/8/2019 Roosevelt Moore v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 07094 2/19/2019 Erich M Pearl v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07359 2/20/2019 Felix Allende v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

18 CSE 07420 2/13/2019 Gregory Leng v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07424 2/7/2019 Andres Montoya 

Vazquez 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07576 2/19/2019 Eric Garcia v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07600 2/18/2019 Kevin Michael 

Smith 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

18 CSE 07636 2/19/2019 Nathan E Justice v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Malherbe 

18 CSE 07815 2/26/2019 William Walter v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Sutton 

19 CSE 00051 2/19/2019 Sherman Addison v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 00280 2/26/2019 Scott F Rutherford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

             

18 DCS 02864 2/27/2019 Adelia Wyatt v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Elkins 

             

18 DHR 01807 2/15/2019 Amjad Sheikh v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services (File No 

NCRR0052) 

Ward 
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18 DHR 06238 2/4/2019 Reliable Home Care 

Ser Portia Shipman 

Owner 

v. North Carolina Department of Health 

and Human Services 

May 

18 DHR 06863 2/1/2019; 

2/8/2019 

Agatha Jean Morris v. NC Dept of Health and Human Svcs 

Health Care Personnel Reg Section 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 06989 2/22/2019 Shelia Holmes-

Graham 

v. Betty Overman NC State Nurse Aid 

Registry Raleigh NC 

Jacobs 

18 DHR 07304 2/20/2019 Dena Causey v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education 

May 

18 DHR 07512 2/26/2019 Taylor Phillips v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

18 DHR 07669 2/26/2019 Noralene Locklear v. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Lassiter 

18 DHR 07761 2/14/2019 The Goddard School 

at Edison Square 

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education 

Malherbe 

18 DHR 07768 2/25/2019 Valerie Denise Little v. Nurse Aide Listing No 169354 Health 

Care Personnel Registry 

May 

             

18 DOJ 06866 2/5/2019 Lance Paul White v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

18 DOJ 07492 2/28/2019 Christopher Bruce v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

18 DOJ 07496 2/26/2019 Mychella L George v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 DOL 00681 2/27/2019 Leslie Duke v. NC Dept of Labor OSHA OSHA Mr 

William Peterson 

Bawtinhimer 

             

18 OSP 06335 2/11/2019 Sharon Young v. Murdoch Development Center and NC 

Department of HAHS 

Elkins 

 

 


