1

2

3

12 NCAC 10B .0601 is amended with changes as published in 38:20 NCR 1316-1317 as follows:

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS

4 5 12 NCAC 10B .0601 **DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE** 6 (a) This Section establishes the current standard by which Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall 7 receive detention officer training. The Detention Officer Certification Course shall consist of a minimum of 174 hours 8 of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge necessary to perform those tasks 9 considered essential to the administration and operation of a confinement facility. The detention officer certification 10 training program shall consist of the 182-hour Detention Officer Certification Course developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy and approved by the [Commission] Commission to ensure compliance with Paragraph (b) of this 11 12 Rule. 13 (b) Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 14 instructional hours for each area: 15 (1)LEGAL UNIT 16 (A) Orientation 3 hours 17 **(B)** Criminal Justice Systems 2 hours 18 14 hours (C) Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision 19 (D) Introduction to Rules and Regulations 2 hours 20 (E) Ethics 3 hours 21 UNIT TOTAL 24 Hours 22 (2)PHYSICAL UNIT 23 (A) Contraband/Searches 6 hours 24 **(B)** Patrol and Security Function of the Jail 5 hours 25 (C) Key and Tool Control 2 hours 26 (D) Investigative Process in the Jail 8 hours 27 (E) Transportation of Inmates 7 hours 28 (F) Prison Rape Elimination Act 2 hours 29 UNIT TOTAL 30 Hours 30 PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT (3) 31 (A) **Processing Inmates** 8 hours 32 **(B)** Supervision and Management of Inmates 5 hours 33 5 hours (C) Suicides and Crisis Management 34 6 hours (D) Aspects of Mental Illness 35 (E) **Fire Emergencies** 4 hours 36 (F) Notetaking and Report Writing 6 hours 37 Communication Skills 5 hours (G)

1		UNIT TOTAL 39 hours		
2	(4)	MEDICAL UNIT		
3	(.)	(A)	First Aid and CPR	8 hours
4		(B)	Medical Care in the Jail	6 hours
5		(C)	Stress	3 hours
6		(D)	Subject Control Techniques	32 40 hours
7		(E)	Physical Fitness for Detention Officers	22 hours
8		UNIT T	OTAL	71
9	(5)	5) REVIEW AND TESTING 7 how		7 hours
10	(6)	STATE	EXAM	3 hours
11		TOTAL	HOURS	174 <u>182</u> HOURS
12	(c) Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in the "Detention Officer			
13	Certification Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the developer of the Detention Officer			
14	Certification Course curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as approval for the developer			
15	to conduct pilot Detention Officer Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot Detention Officer			
16	Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement.			
17	(d) The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be			
18	used as the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained			
19	by contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 0099. The			
20	cost of this manual, CD, indexes and binder is fifty one dollars and seventy five cents (\$51.75) at the time this Rule			
21	was last amended.			
22	(e) The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice			
23	Academy is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be used by			
24	school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic detention officer training. The standards and			
25	requirements established by the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" shall be adhered to by			
26	the school director. The Justice Academy shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at the time			
27	of certification at no cost to the certified school.			
28	(c) No Detention Officer Certification Course shall be offered by any agency or institution without the approval of the			
29	Commission pursuant to Rules .0704 and .0802 of this Subchapter. Any agency or institution desiring to offer the			
30	Detention Officer Certification Course shall file a Pre-Delivery Report, Form F-7A, with the Division.			
31				
32	History Note:		$ty \ G.S. \ 17E-4(a);$	
33	Eff. January 1, 1989;			
34	Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; October 1, 2009; January 1, 2006;			
35	August 2, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992;			

36 *January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991;*

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,
2018.
<u>Amended Eff. July 1, 2025.</u>