12 NCAC 10B .0601 is amended with changes as published in 38:20 NCR 1316-1317 as follows:

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS

12 NCAC 10B .0601 DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE

- (a) This Section establishes the current standard by which Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall receive detention officer training. The Detention Officer Certification Course shall consist of a minimum of 174 hours of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge necessary to perform those tasks considered essential to the administration and operation of a confinement facility.—The detention officer certification training program shall consist of the 182-hour Detention Officer Certification Course developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy and approved by the [Commission.] Commission to ensure compliance with Paragraph (b) of this
- 12 Rule.
 - (b) Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

15	(1)	LEGA	L UNIT		
16		(A)	Orientation	3 hours	
17		(B)	Criminal Justice Systems	2 hours	
18		(C)	Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision	14 hours	
19		(D)	Introduction to Rules and Regulations	2 hours	
20		(E)	Ethics	3 hours	
21		UNIT	TOTAL	24 Hours	
22	(2)	PHYS	PHYSICAL UNIT		
23		(A)	Contraband/Searches	6 hours	
24		(B)	Patrol and Security Function of the Jail	5 hours	
25		(C)	Key and Tool Control	2 hours	
26		(D)	Investigative Process in the Jail	8 hours	
27		(E)	Transportation of Inmates	7 hours	
28		(F)	Prison Rape Elimination Act	2 hours	
29		UNIT TOTAL		30 Hours	
30	(3)	PRAC	PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT		
31		(A)	Processing Inmates	8 hours	
32		(B)	Supervision and Management of Inmates	5 hours	
33		(C)	Suicides and Crisis Management	5 hours	
34		(D)	Aspects of Mental Illness	6 hours	
35		(E)	Fire Emergencies	4 hours	
36		(F)	Notetaking and Report Writing	6 hours	
37		(G)	Communication Skills	5 hours	

1		UNIT	TOTAL	39 hours		
2	(4)	MEDICAL UNIT				
3		(A)	First Aid and CPR	8 hours		
4		(B)	Medical Care in the Jail	6 hours		
5		(C)	Stress	3 hours		
6		(D)	Subject Control Techniques	32 <u>40</u> hours		
7		(E)	Physical Fitness for Detention Officers	22 hours		
8		UNIT	TOTAL	71 <u>79</u> hours		
9	(5)	REVI	REVIEW AND TESTING 7 hours			
10	(6)	STAT	E EXAM	3 hours		
11		TOTA	L HOURS	174 <u>182</u> HOURS		
12	(c) Consistent	with the	curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in th	e "Detention Officer		
13	Certification Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the developer of the Detention Officer					
14	Certification Co	ourse cur	ricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as appro	eval for the developer		
15	to conduct pilot Detention Officer Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot Detention Officer					
16	Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement.					
17	(d) The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be					
18	8 used as the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained					
19	by contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. The					
20	cost of this manual, CD, indexes and binder is fifty one dollars and seventy five cents (\$51.75) at the time this Rule					
21	was last amended.					
22	(e) The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice					
23	Academy is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be used by					
24	school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic detention officer training. The standards and					
25	requirements established by the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" shall be adhered to by					
26	the school director. The Justice Academy shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at the time					
27	of certification at no cost to the certified school.					
28	(c) No Detention	(c) No Detention Officer Certification Course shall be offered by any agency or institution without [the approval of				
29	the Commissio	<mark>n</mark>] <u>first c</u>	complying with the requirements set forth in [pursuant to] Rules .070	04 and .0802 of this		
30	Subchapter. Any agency or institution desiring to offer the Detention Officer Certification Course shall file a Pre-					
31	Delivery Report, Form F-7A, with the Division.					
32						
33	History Note:	Autho	rity G.S. 17E-4(a);			
34		Eff. Ja	nuary 1, 1989;			
35		Amend	ded Eff. August 1, 2016; February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; October 1, 20	09; January 1, 2006;		
36		Augus	t 2, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1	1996; June 1, 1992;		
37		Janua	ry 1, 1992; January 1, 1991;			

1	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,
2	2018.
3	Amended Eff. July 1, 2025