RULES REVIEW COMMISSION EMERGENCY MEETING MINUTES November 6, 2023

The Rules Review Commission met for an Emergency Meeting on Monday, November 6, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The Emergency meeting was called pursuant to G.S. 143-318.12(b)(3), to discuss the lawsuit regarding the Coastal Resources Commission v. the Rules Review Commission, 23 CV 031533-910.

Commissioners Jeanette Doran, Randy Overton, Bill Nelson, and Jake Parker were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, and Paul Powell were present via WebEx.

Staff members present were Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee.

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

COMMISSION BUSINESS

At 2:03 p.m., upon a motion by Chair Doran and a second by Commissioner Jackson, the Commission voted to call the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission into recess and enter into a closed session pursuant to G.S. 143-318.11(a)(3) for the purpose of consulting with counsel within the attorney-client privilege with respect to the pending civil case of the Coastal Resources Commission v. Rules Review Commission, 23 CV 031533-910, by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None.

At 2:39 p.m., upon a motion by the Chair and a second by Commissioner Overton, the Commission voted to come out of closed session and reconvene the public meeting of the Rules Review Commission by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 8. Voting in the negative: None. Commissioner Leebrick did not vote.

Upon a motion by the Chair and a second by Commissioner Boyles, the Commission voted to authorize the Chair to retain private counsel to represent the RRC in the matter of CRC v RRC, 23 CV 031533-910 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles III, Jay Hemphill, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Brandon Leebrick, Bill Nelson, Randy Overton, Jake Parker, and Paul Powell – 9. Voting in the negative: None.

The meeting adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, November 16, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.

_			
- 1	^ laxandar	Director	Paralegal
,	alexander	Burgos	Paralegal
•	WOMAI I GOI	Baigee,	i aiaiogai

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: Jeanette Doran, Chair



Rules Review Commission Emergency Meeting November 6, 2023 <u>Held Via WebEx</u>

Name	Agency	
Christine Goebel	DEQ	
Jennifer Everett	DEQ	
Julie Eddins	OAH	
Ashley Snyder	OAH	
Anna Hayworth	AGR	
Dana Buck	NCICL.ORG	
Elizabeth Stephens	CSHLAW.COM	

