RULES REVIEW COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES April 27, 2023

The Rules Review Commission met for a Special Meeting on Thursday, April 27, 2023, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. The special meeting was called pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(b1), to review temporary rules filed by the Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners.

Commissioner Jeanette Doran was present in the Commission Room. Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho were present via WebEx.

Staff members present were Alexander Burgos, Commission Counsel Seth Ascher, Lawrence Duke, Brian Liebman, and Bill Peaslee.

The meeting was called to order at 11:10 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

Commissioner Bryan joined the meeting via WebEx at 11:22 a.m.

Review of Log of Filings Temporary Rules

Board of Barber and Electrolysis Examiners

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 06L .0116; 06N .0102, .0104, .0116; 06O .0105, .0112, .0114, and .0119 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None.

21 NCAC 06F .0102; 06H .0101; 06I .0105; 06J .0101; 06L .0112, .0204; 06N .0103; 06O .0122, .0126; and 06R .0101 – These Rules were returned at the request of the agency.

Commissioner Atkins moved that the Commission provide direction to the Codifier of Rules that an objection to a temporary rule or a return thereof should not result in the return or repeal of a permanent rule. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bryan, upon the call of the Chair, the Commission voted by roll-call vote, ayes 6, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, and Bob Rucho – 6. Voting in the negative: None.

Dennis Seavers, the Executive Director for the agency, addressed the Commission.

Ashley Snyder, Codifier, addressed the Commission.

COMMISSION BUSINESS

The Commission confirmed that the final versions of the temporary rules for the Private Protective Services Board reviewed at the April 20, 2023 meeting were approved by the Commission.

The meeting adjourned at 11:44 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, May 18, 2023, at 9:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair

Rules Review Commission Special Meeting April 27, 2023 Held Via WebEx

Name	Agency
Kathy Arney	PT Board
Nadine Pfeiffer	DHHS
Executive WebEx	sosnc.gov
Dennis Seavers	Barber Board
Catherine Lee	Barber Board
Ellen Roeber	
Johnson, Daniel H	DOT
Hannah Jernigan	DOT
Laura Rowe	Treasurer
Catherine Blum	Marine Fisheries
Helen Landi	
Emily Wiley	DOT