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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Administration 

intends to amend the rule cited as 01 NCAC 38 .0401, and readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 01 NCAC 38 .0103, 

.0201, .0205, .0302, .0305, .0308, and .0407. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 30, 2019 

Time:  11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, Capehart-Crocker House, 424 N. 

Blount Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules scheduled for readoption 

pursuant to the periodic review set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, NC 

Department of Administration, 1301 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1301; phone (984) 236-0008; fax (919) 733-

9571; email adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 38 - MOTOR FLEET MANAGEMENT 

 

SECTION .0100 – OPERATION OF THE DIVISION'S 

MOTOR POOLS 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0103 MILEAGE RATES 

(a)  Rates charged for the use of the Division vehicles are 

established by the Department of Administration pursuant to G.S. 

143-341(8)(i)(6). 

(b)  Agencies will reimburse the Department of Administration at 

the end of each calendar month, on a mileage basis at the rate set 

by the Department of Administration. 

(c)  Permanently and agency assigned vehicles will be billed for 

1,050 miles per month or actual mileage, whichever is greater. 

Vehicle usage will be reviewed to determine if the assignment is 

cost effective and serves the best interest of the assigned agency 

and the Division. 

(d)  Temporarily assigned vehicles will be billed for actual 

mileage or 60 miles for each day's usage, whichever is greater. If 

the vehicle is checked out after 5:00 p.m., no minimum fee will 

be assessed for the day the vehicle is checked out. If the vehicle 

is returned before 8:00 a.m., no minimum fee will be assessed for 

the day the vehicle is returned. However, a minimum fee of 60 

miles will be assessed for each temporary assignment made for 

less than 24 hours. 

Agencies shall reimburse the Department of Administration 

("Department") for the use of Motor Fleet Management Division 

("Division") vehicles at the end of each month at the rate set by 

the Department. This rate shall be set out in the assignment 

documents and based upon the total cost of ownership of the 

vehicle. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

SECTION .0200 - MAINTENANCE AND CARE OF 

VEHICLES 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0201 GENERAL REPAIRS AND 

MAINTENANCE 

(a)  The maintenance of permanent assigned and agency assigned 

vehicles is the responsibility of the individual and agency to 

whom the vehicle is assigned. The driver or agency may obtain 

any required maintenance at any Division motor pool or any 

state-owned facility or any approved commercial facility. Charges 

for this maintenance are billed to the Division. 

(b)  The maintenance of temporarily assigned vehicles is the 

responsibility of the Division. 

(c)  All maintenance and repairs must have prior authorization by 

calling 1-800-277-8181 or 733-4043 (in Raleigh calling area) 
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with the details of the maintenance and an estimate of the cost. 

Authorized charges for maintenance or repairs shall be billed to 

the Division for payment. In case of holidays, nights or weekends, 

an authorization request must be left with the Division's 

answering service. Any unauthorized repair expense will be billed 

to the agency to which the vehicle is assigned. 

Maintenance of Division vehicles is the responsibility of the 

individual and Agency to whom the vehicle is assigned. All 

maintenance and repairs shall have prior authorization by 

contacting the dedicated repair authorization line provided in the 

assignment document with the details of the maintenance and an 

estimate of the cost. Authorized charges for maintenance or 

repairs shall be billed to the Division for payment. The Division 

may invoice agencies for any unauthorized repair expenses to 

which the vehicle is assigned. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0205 ACCIDENT REPORTING 

All accidents involving state vehicles or other property damage, 

regardless of amount of damage, must be reported by calling 1-

800-277-8181 or 733-4043 (in Raleigh calling area). Information 

which must be obtained from the other driver involved in the 

accident is: name, address, telephone number, license plate 

number, insurance company, and policy number. An Accident 

Report Form FM-16 must be completed and forwarded 

immediately to the Division. All accidents involving injury or 

damage to a state vehicle must be reported to Travelers Insurance 

Company, promptly as follows: 

(1) In North Carolina, call 1-800-762-3804 except 

in the following counties: Bertie, Currituck, 

Hertford, Pasquotank, Camden, Dare, Hyde, 

Perquimans, Chowan, Gates, Martin, and 

Washington. In these counties call 804-330-

4788, collect. 

(2) On weekends, after hours and holidays when 

there is any injury or death, call immediately 1-

800-243-3840. 

(a)  A police report shall be obtained at the time of the accident 

by the local law enforcement on all accidents involving Division 

vehicles. 

(b)  All accidents involving Division vehicles or other property 

damage, regardless of amount of damage, shall be reported by 

contacting the dedicated accident reporting agencies provided in 

the assignment documents. 

(c)  All accidents involving personal injury to a third party or 

damage to a third party's property shall be reported to Traveler's 

Insurance Company at the contact information provided in the 

assignment documents. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

SECTION .0300 - ASSIGNMENT OF VEHICLES 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0302 REQUESTS FOR ASSIGNMENT 

OF VEHICLES 

(a)  Temporary assignment requests for temporary assignment of 

vehicles shall be made on Form FM-2 signed by the proper agency 

supervisor and presented to the dispatcher at the assigning motor 

pool. Forms shall be provided by the Division to all requesting 

agencies. 

(1) Before a vehicle may be picked up, a valid 

North Carolina driver's license shall be 

presented to the motor pool dispatcher by the 

assigned driver and all other passengers who 

are subject to drive the vehicle during its 

temporary assignment. 

(2) Temporary assignments are intended to meet 

the needs of state employees who require 

transportation on a short-term (one to thirty 

days) basis. All temporarily assigned vehicles 

shall be returned immediately upon completion 

of trip or at end of use. 

(3) Temporary assignments shall not be renewed. 

(4) If the vehicle assignment is originally requested 

for a period in excess of 30 calendar days, the 

request must be processed as a permanent 

assignment (see "Permanent Assignments" in 

this Rule). 

(5) All temporarily assigned vehicles shall be 

returned to the motor pool from which it was 

originally dispatched. During the temporary 

assignment, the driver should make note of any 

malfunctions encountered and any repairs and 

adjustments needed and report them to a fuel 

pump attendant upon returning the vehicle to 

the motor pool. 

(b)  Permanent Assignments. Requests for vehicles to be assigned 

to individuals or agencies on a permanent or indefinite basis or for 

a period in excess of 30 calendar days shall be made on Form 

FM-30, signed by the department head or his/her designee, and 

forwarded to the Division at least 10 calendar days prior to date 

of need. A photocopy of the permanently assigned driver's valid 

North Carolina driver's license shall be submitted with the FM-30. 

All permanently assigned vehicles shall be returned to Motor 

Fleet Management on Blue Ridge Road, Raleigh, at the end of 

assignment unless otherwise instructed by the Division. The 

Division shall not approve requests for assignment or 

reassignment when the purpose of that assignment or 

reassignment is to provide any employee with a newer or lower 

mileage vehicle because of his or her rank, management authority, 

or length of service or because of any non job-related reason. A 

reassignment (a transfer of a vehicle from one employee to 

another) may occur when filling vacant positions to which a 

vehicle is assigned. A form FM-30 must be submitted by the 

requesting agency and approved by the Division before the 

vehicle may be reassigned. The requesting agency must attach a 

memorandum to the FM-30 explaining the request for 

reassignment. If approved, a Division approved copy of the 

FM-30 will be sent to the agency granting permission for the new 

driver to take possession of the vehicle. All exchanges of lower 

mileage and/or better quality vehicles to senior or higher ranking 

employees and higher mileage and/or lower quality vehicles to 

junior employees will be denied. 

(c)  The Division will not assign "special use" vehicles such as 

four wheel drive vehicles or law enforcement vehicles to any 

agency or individual except upon written justification, verified by 
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historical data, and accepted by the Secretary of the Department 

of Administration. 

(1) All assignments of four-wheel drive and law 

enforcement vehicles must be reviewed. A 

memorandum, accompanied by historical data, 

must be sent to the Division for each individual 

vehicle assigned. 

(2) All requests for "special use" vehicles must be 

on a completed FM-30 accompanied by a 

memorandum explaining the intended use of 

the vehicle. Attached to the memorandum 

should be evidence substantiating the necessity 

for this type of vehicle, which must be verified 

by historical data. 

(3) The agency or individual to whom the vehicle 

is assigned is responsible for forwarding this 

information to the Division. The Division will 

forward all justification requests to the 

Secretary of the Department of Administration. 

(4) The agency will be notified, in writing, of the 

Secretary's decision. If the assignment request 

is denied, the requesting agency will be notified 

by the Division of a date for the return of the 

vehicle to the Division. 

(a)  Permanent Assignments. Requests for Division vehicles to be 

assigned to individuals or agencies shall be on the Division form 

and shall include: 

(1) contact information on the requesting 

individual and the Agency; 

(2) copy of a valid North Carolina driver's license; 

(3) description of the requesting individual or 

Agency's vehicle needs and planned usage; and 

(4) signature by the Agency's Director or his or her 

designee. 

(b)  "Special Use" Assignments. In addition to the requirements 

set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, written justification, 

verified by historical data shall be included on the official 

Division form for each "special use" vehicle assigned. All 

assignments of "special use" vehicles shall be reviewed and 

approved by the Secretary. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0305 REMOVAL OF VEHICLES 

FROM INDIVIDUAL AND AGENCY ASSIGNMENT 

Permanent vehicle assignment to individuals or agencies may be 

revoked if any of the following occur: 

(1) If the vehicle is used for any purpose other than 

official state business. 

(2) If reports are not submitted to the Department 

of Administration, or if the report is inaccurate, 

incomplete or correction is not made within 30 

days of request. 

(3) If false information is willfully submitted on 

any report or application. 

(4) If reports or forms are not signed properly and 

correction is not made within 30 days of a 

request to do so. 

(5) If vehicle abuse occurs. Abuse includes, but is 

not limited to, improper care and maintenance 

of the vehicle willful damage to the vehicle 

(destruction of interior or exterior, ordinary 

wear and tear excepted). 

(6) If the vehicle is not being driven the 3,150 miles 

quarterly minimum mileage requirement and 

lower mileage cannot be justified. 

(7) If violations of Motor Vehicle laws are 

committed. 

(8) Any other willful violation of these Rules. 

(1) a violation of G.S. 20 or other state motor 

vehicle laws in which the vehicle is traveling; 

(2) any violation of G.S. 143-341(8)(i)(7a) is 

committed; 

(3) any vehicle abuse which may include not 

providing maintenance in accordance with the 

assigned maintenance schedule set for the 

vehicle, not providing repairs when needed, 

destruction of the interior or exterior not due to 

the natural aging of the vehicle; and 

(4) any other willful violation of the Rules of this 

Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0308 RETURN OF ASSIGNED 

VEHICLES 

(a)  Vehicles assigned on a temporary basis shall be returned to 

the motor pool at the end of the assignment period See 1 NCAC 

.0302. 

(b)  The Division will schedule replacement vehicles based on 

mileage, time in service, economy and nature of use of each 

vehicle. If turn-in or replacement is required, all permanently 

assigned vehicles must be returned to the Division's Garage on 

Blue Ridge Road. When returning a permanently assigned 

vehicle, all credit cards assigned to that vehicle, vehicle 

registration, travel log book, and any other materials issued by the 

Division must be returned. Drivers must turn their cars in to 

assignment personnel or the turn-in will not be recognized by the 

Division, and the agency will continue to be charged for the 

assignment until the matter is handled properly. 

(c)  All cases of damages or excessive wear due to vehicle misuse 

or abuse will be billed to the driver's agency (ordinary wear and 

tear excepted). 

(a)  Replacement vehicles shall be assigned by the Division as 

necessary based on mileage, time in service, economy and nature 

of use of each vehicle. 

(b)  If turn-in or replacement is required, all permanently assigned 

vehicles, including all keys, credit cards assigned to that vehicle, 

vehicle registration, travel log book, and any other materials 

issued by the Division, shall be returned to the Division Office. 

The Agency shall continue to be charged for the assigned vehicle 

until the vehicle has been received by the Division's Vehicle 

Assignment staff and all of the requirements of this Paragraph are 

met. 

(c)  The driver's Agency shall pay for all damages due to vehicle 

neglect, misuse or abuse. 
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Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

SECTION .0400 - VEHICLE USE 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0401 OFFICIAL USE ONLY 

(a)  State-owned passenger-carrying vehicles shall be driven only 

by state employees and used for official state business only. 

except in accordance with this Rule. It shall be unlawful for any 

state employee to use a state-owned vehicle for any private 

purpose whatsoever. Commuting privileges approved by the 

Division are not considered a private purpose. 

(b)  An employee with an individual permanently assigned vehicle 

may drive the vehicle to and from his/her his or her home when 

one or more of the following conditions exist: 

(1) By by virtue of his/her his or her position, the 

employee is entitled to use the vehicle and is so 

approved and authorized by the Secretary of 

Administration. Administration; 

(2) See G.S. 143-341(8)(i)(7a). commuting 

purposes in accordance with G.S. 143-

341(8)(i)(7a); 

(3) Employee's home is his/her the employee's 

home is his or her official work station and the 

vehicle is parked at home when not being used 

for official business. business; or 

(4) State-owned state-owned vehicle is required for 

a trip the following workday and employee's 

home is closer to the destination than the 

regular official work station, and the employee 

does not have to report to his/her regular his or 

her work station before beginning the trip. 

Frequent occurrence of this situation would 

require the Division's approval. 

(c)  Temporary and agency assigned vehicles may not be driven 

to an employee's home unless one of the above four conditions 

apply. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

01 NCAC 38 .0407 RELATIVES 

Spouses No spouses and children of state employees may 

accompany them in state-owned vehicles. vehicles if sufficient 

space is available and all travel is strictly for official state 

business. No family pets are permitted in state-owned vehicles. 

Service animals are excluded from this restriction. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-341(8)i. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Administration intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 01 NCAC 43A 

.0307-.0320. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-

review/proposed-rules-and public-comment 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 30, 2019 

Time:  9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  Conference Room, Capehart-Crocker House, 424 N. 

Blount Street, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Rules scheduled for readoption 

pursuant to the periodic review set forth in G.S. 150B-21.3. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Shanon M. Gerger, NC 

Department of Administration, 1301 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1301; phone (984) 236-0008; fax (919) 733-

9571; email adminrules@doa.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 43 - SURPLUS PROPERTY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 43A - STATE SURPLUS PROPERTY 

AGENCY 

 

SECTION .0300 - DISPOSAL OF SURPLUS PROPERTY 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0307 PUBLIC SALE 

Unless otherwise disposed of, of in accordance with G.S. 143-

64.03 or Rule .0305 of this Section, State Surplus Property shall 

be offered for public sale. Public sale of weapons is limited to 

licensed firearms dealers. Public sale is through sealed 

competitive bids, competitive bids, electronic bids, negative bids, 

auction, and retail sales. other methods. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 
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01 NCAC 43A .0308 FIRST-COME FIRST-SERVED 

State surplus property is available on a first-come, first-served 

basis. This applies to retail sales to the general public as well as 

transfers to state agencies, political subdivisions or non-profit tax 

exempt organizations. 

State surplus property shall be sold on a first-come, first served 

basis when: 

(1) the property is sold at a retail store to the 

general public; or 

(2) the property is transferred to state agencies, 

political subdivisions, or non-tax exempt 

organizations. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0309 REJECTION OF BIDS 

(a)  Any and all bids may be rejected. 

(b)  Bids may also be rejected in whole or in part if: 

(1) The bidder has failed to pay for or pick up 

surplus property awarded; 

(2) The bid is submitted by an ineligible bidder 

pursuant to Rule .0315 of this Section; 

(3) The bid does not fully comply with the terms 

and conditions of the request/solicitation for 

bid; State Surplus Property Agency; 

(4) The bid is not legible or lacks completeness; the 

information provided is inaccurate, incomplete 

or needs clarification; 

(5) The bid does not comply with the bid policies 

of State Surplus Property Agency; requirements 

of the request and solicitation as set forth in the 

bid; or 

(6) Bid rejection is recommended by the State 

Capitol Police, State Bureau of Investigation, 

Federal Bureau of Investigation, or other 

Homeland Security entity. In such cases, the 

security entity must provide a written statement 

requesting rejection and that the 

recommendation is based on homeland security 

concerns. In the event of receipt of a security 

based bid rejection recommendation, the State 

Surplus Property Agency shall reject the bid 

without further supporting documentation. 

(b)  If a bid is rejected in whole or part, the subject property may 

be re-advertised, sold at the highest bidder's amount, the next 

higher bid accepted, or sale negotiated, in the best interests of the 

State, without recourse to further bidding. 

(c)  If a bid is rejected in whole or in part, State Surplus Property 

may: 

(1) re-advertise the property; 

(2) award the property to the next highest bidder 

from the initial bid; or 

(3) negotiate the sale of the property in the best 

interest of the State. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0310 RECEIPT OF BIDS 

It is the responsibility of the bidder to have the bid properly The 

bidder shall ensure that the bid is received in the State Surplus 

Property Agency by the time and date set forth in the bid. 

specified time and date of bid opening. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0311 INSPECTION OF PROPERTY 

Bidders are urged to inspect property prior to submitting bids. All 

property is sold "as is" and "where is." Any property descriptions 

provided by the State are solely as an aid to identification. Verbal 

communications by custodians of property cannot be deemed 

reliable, and will not be considered by the State Surplus Property 

Agency. Reasonable opportunity will be afforded for inspection 

up to the time for opening bids, but no labor will be furnished for 

such purpose. The purchaser assumes all liability for the property 

after award is made. 

All property is sold "as is" and "where is." Bidders may inspect 

property prior to submitting bids. Opportunity will be afforded for 

inspection up to the time a bid is awarded, but no labor or 

materials shall be furnished to a bidder for such purpose. Once the 

award is made, the bidder shall assume all liability for the 

property. Photographs and descriptions are provided for the 

purpose of aiding the bidder to identify the property and shall not 

be used to determine quality or condition of the property. 

Descriptions by the custodian of the property shall not be 

considered by the State Surplus Property Agency nor will they be 

grounds for disputing an award. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0312 STATE DOES NOT 

GUARANTEE 

The description of the property offered for sale is compiled from 

available information. All property is sold "as is" and "where is." 

In addition, all property offered for sale or a portion thereof is 

subject to withdrawal prior to the bid opening date. A refund or 

an adjustment will not be made on account of property not 

meeting expectations, a bidder's failure to inspect prior to sale, or 

change of condition of property from the time of award to the time 

of pickup. Any cost of weighing, packaging, crating, loading or 

hauling property is assumed by the bidder unless otherwise 

provided. 

(a)  The description of the property offered for sale is compiled 

from information available to the State Surplus Property Agency 

at the time the bid is prepared. All property is sold "as is" and 

"where is." 

(b)  State Surplus Property Agency may withdrawal the offer to 

sell prior to the award date. 

(c)  The bidder shall be responsible for any cost of weighing, 

packaging, crating, loading or hauling of property. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0313 REFUNDS 

Refunds or adjustments due to change in condition from time of 

inspection until time of award are limited to the change in value 

as determined by the State Surplus Property Officer. In such cases, 
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the State Surplus Property Officer may remove the property from 

bid or reverse the award and re-bid the property. 

No refund shall be made upon the following: 

(1) property not meeting expectation; 

(2) bidder's failure to inspect prior to sale; or 

(3) change of condition of property from the time 

of award to the time of pickup. 

No refund shall be given unless a change in value has occurred 

from the initial inspection of the property until the time of the 

award as determined by the State Surplus Property Officer. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0314 EXTENSION TO PAY OR 

REMOVE PROPERTY 

Extensions to pay or remove property may be granted under the 

following conditions: 

(1) The the purchaser's inability to pay or remove 

property was is due to the actions or inactions 

of the State Surplus Property Agency or the 

custodian of the property, property; and 

(2) In the case of removal of property, the State 

Surplus Property Officer determines that space 

is available. available to allow a delay in the 

removal of property. 

The purchaser waives all rights to recourse for shall not be eligible 

for refund for the change in the condition of the property as a 

condition of the extension. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0315 FAILURE TO PAY OR REMOVE 

PROPERTY 

(a)  If the successful bidder fails to pay in full for the property by 

the time and date indicated on the notice of award, the award shall 

be rescinded, the property resold, and the defaulting bidder shall 

be charged with loss to the State, if any, together with all expenses 

of the sale. 

(b)  If the successful bidder does not remove the property 

purchased by the time and date indicated on the notice of award, 

the State Surplus Property Agency shall retain the purchase price 

price, and resell the property a second time and retain all proceeds 

therefrom. 

(c)  Successful bidders Bidders who fail to pay shall be ineligible 

for award of future bids. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 143-64.05. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0316 BOND 

(a)  The selling agency entity or the State Surplus Property 

Agency may require performance bonds for the purchase of 

commodities. commodities when hazards to the environment may 

occur on property and requires additional costs. 

(b)  The selling agency entity or the State Surplus Property 

Agency shall set the amount and terms of the bond. based on an 

assessment of the property and estimated value. 

(c)  Selling agencies shall document the need for performance 

bonds. 

(d)  Selling agencies shall request a bond release from the State 

Surplus Property Agency once the requirements of the bond have 

been met by the successful bidder. 

(e)  Selling agencies shall submit a justification a letter verifying 

compliance with the terms of the bond to the State Surplus 

Property Agency for any retention in whole or in part of the 

performance bond. 

(f)  The State Surplus Property Agency is the final authority shall 

make a determination on releasing the performance bond. based 

on the bidder's level of compliance with the terms of the bond. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 143-64.05. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0317 DEMOLITION OF STATE 

BUILDINGS 

(a)  The State Surplus Property Agency may, if in the best interest 

of the State, be responsible for handles bids and awards of 

contracts for the demolition of state buildings buildings, including 

those of universities, hospitals, and other state agencies. entities. 

(b)  Requests for bid forms are sent to interested, contractors and 

are further available upon request. any interested party upon 

request as well as to entities on a list maintained by the State 

Surplus Property Office. 

(c)  The owning agency entity shall submit the requirements for 

permits, insurances, performance bonds and any other applicable 

requirements from local, state or federal authorities a letter of 

approval from the Counsel of State regarding the demolition of a 

state building to the State Surplus Property Agency. 

(d)  The successful bidder is responsible for obtaining shall obtain 

all necessary permits, insurances, licenses, performance bonds 

and other requirements to complete the demolition. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04; 143-64.05. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0318 TIMBER SALES, PINESTRAW, 

AND FOREST COMMODITIES SALES 

The State Surplus Property Agency shall dispose of timber, 

Timber, pine straw, and other forest commodities owned by state 

agencies are disposed of by the State Surplus Property Agency on 

a competitive bid basis. through a public sale. A request for bid 

form shall be sent to any interested party upon request as well as 

to entities on a list maintained by the State Surplus Property 

Office. Office compiled from individuals who have previously 

expressed an interest in similar sales. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0319 SURPLUS WEAPONS AND 

FIREARMS 

(a)  Subject to G.S. 20-187.2, Surplus weapons and firearms 

possessed by the North Carolina State Highway Patrol, North 

Carolina Department of Correction, North Carolina State Bureau 

of Investigation, State Capitol Police, and other non-military 

armed state security agencies shall be sold through the State 

Surplus Property Agency upon notification in writing from the 

selling entity to the State Surplus Property Agency that such 

weapons or firearms are surplus. 
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(b)  The notification in writing from the selling entity shall list 

each weapon by description and serial number. include the 

following information: 

(1) weapon by description; 

(2) serial number of each weapon; and 

(3) any federal or state restrictions on the sale of 

non-firearm weapons. 

(c)  Weapons and firearms are subject to transfer between non-

military armed state security agencies. 

(d)  The selling agency is responsible for notifying the State 

Surplus Property Agency of any federal or state restrictions on 

sale of non-firearm weapons. 

(d)(e)  The State Surplus Property Agency, if requested, shall 

make available to federally licensed firearms dealers a list of 

firearms to be sold and a statement of the times and locations at 

which they may be inspected. 

(e)(f)  Surplus weapons and firearms sales shall be made by 

competitive bids. public sale. 

(f)(g)  When payment has been received in full by the State 

Surplus Property Agency, the The State Surplus Property Agency 

shall authorize the release of the weapons to the successful bidder; 

provided, however, that no weapons shall be released to any 

person without the production of satisfactory proof of 

identification and, in the case of firearms, a valid federal firearms 

license. bidder upon receipt of the following information: 

(1) payment in full; 

(2) proof of identification; and 

(3) a valid federal firearms license, if the weapon is 

a firearm. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-63.1; 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

01 NCAC 43A .0320 PAYMENT 

(a)  All payments must shall be in the form of cash (retail sales 

only), credit, debit, cashier's or certified check, postal money 

order, or other electronic payment methods as approved by the 

Department of Administration Fiscal Officer.  

(b)  Payment for retail sales items must shall be made at the time 

of purchase. purchase and shall be made at the retail site where 

the property is located. 

(c)  Payment in full for all other property purchases must shall be 

made by the time and date indicated on the notice of award. award 

and shall be made directly to the State Surplus Property Agency. 

(d)  Entities shall not accept payments on behalf of the State 

Surplus Property Agency. 

(e)  Extensions to pay or remove property must shall be in 

accordance with 01 NCAC 43A. 0314. 

(f)  No property may be removed by the successful bidder prior to 

full payment of the purchase price. Payments for retail sales shall 

be made at the retail site where the property is located. All other 

payments must be made directly to the State Surplus Property 

Agency. Agencies are not authorized to accept payments on 

behalf of the State Surplus Property Agency. 

(g)  If an agency releases Entities shall not release property prior 

to receiving documentation verifying that payment in full has 

been made to the State Surplus Property Agency said agency 

entity shall assume all liability related to the release. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-64.01; 143-64.04. 

 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Department of Health and Human Services 

- Division of Health Service Regulation intends to readopt with 

substantive changes the rule cited as 10A NCAC 14G .0102 and 

repeal through readoption the rules cited as 10A NCAC 14G 

.0101, .0103, and .0104. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions.html 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2019 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 8, 2019 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Dorothea Dix Park, Edgerton Building, Room 026, 

809 Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to GS 150B-21.3A, 

Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are 

reviewed at least every 10 years or they shall expire. As a result 

of the periodic review of subchapter 10A NCAC 14G, Exemptions 

from Prohibitions of Self-Referrals by Health Care Providers for 

Underserved Areas, four rules were determined as “Necessary 

With Substantive Public Interest,” requiring readoption.  

Substantive revisions have been made to Rule 10A NCAC 14G 

.0102 to combine definitions, the application process and the 

criteria for an exemption into one simplified rule and to update 

outdated information.  Since the requirements needed to apply for 

the exemption have been consolidated into rule, Rules 10A NCAC 

14G .0101, .0103, and .0104 are redundant, therefore are 

proposed for readoption as a repeal because they are not 

necessary. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles 

Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email 

DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  August 30, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 14 - DIRECTOR, DIVISION OF HEALTH 

SERVICE REGULATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 14G - EXEMPTIONS FROM 

PROHIBITIONS OF SELF-REFERRALS BY HEALTH 

CARE PROVIDERS FOR UNDERSERVED AREAS 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

10A NCAC 14G .0101 DEFINITIONS 

 

Authority G.S. 90-408. 

 

10A NCAC 14G .0102 APPLICATION 

(a)  The terms defined in G.S. 90-405 shall have the same meaning 

in this Rule. 

(b)  "Applicant" means a health care provider that submits an 

application to the Director of the Division of Health Service 

Regulation requesting an exemption from G.S. 90-406. 

(a)  An application must be submitted to the Department by any 

health care provider wishing to be exempt from G.S. 90-406. 

(b)(c)  The application shall include the following information: 

(1) the name, mailing address, email address, and 

telephone number of the health care provider 

applicant; 

(2) a list of the designated health care services 

provided or to be provided by the applicant; 

(2)(3) the name, mailing address, email address, and 

telephone number of the manager of the entity 

to which the health care provider wishes to be 

able applicant wants to make referrals; 

(3)(4) an explanation a list of the ownership owners of 

the entity to which the applicant wants to make 

referrals would be made including the names 

and ownership interests of all individuals or 

entities having an investment interest in the 

entity; referrals; 

(4)(5) a description list of the types of designated 

health care services provided or to be provided 

by the entity; entity to which the applicant 

wants to make referrals; 

(5)(6) an analysis of the need for the health care 

service in the area sufficient to allow the 

Department to determine that the area is an 

underserved area for the particular service to be 

provided; and evidence that there is a need for 

the proposed designated health care services in 

the county where the entity is or will be located; 

(6)(7) documentation of attempts made to obtain 

evidence that alternative financing is not 

available from other sources to develop the 

entity in which the health care provider has an 

interest and an explanation as to why any 

proposed alternative was not reasonable. to 

which the applicant wants to make referrals; 

and 

(8) a statement affirming that all health care 

providers located in the county where the entity 

is or will be located shall be offered access to 

the entity. 

(c)(d)  Applications shall be sent to the Director's Office, Division 

of Health Service Regulation, North Carolina Department of 

Human Resources, 701 Barbour Drive, P.O. Box 29530, Raleigh, 

N.C. 27626-0530, and shall indicate the purpose of the 

application. be: 

(1) mailed to the Office of the Director, Division of 

Health Service Regulation, Department of 

Health and Human Services, 2701 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; or 

(2) delivered in person to the Office of the Director, 

Division of Health Service Regulation, 

Department of Health and Human Services, 809 

Ruggles Drive, Raleigh, NC 27603. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-408. 

 

10A NCAC 14G .0103 CRITERIA FOR AN 

UNDERSERVED AREA EXEMPTION - NEW ENTITY 

10A NCAC 14G .0104 CRITERIA FOR AN 

UNDERSERVED AREA EXEMPTION - EXISTING 

ENTITY 

 

Authority G.S. 90-408. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 07H .0313 and amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

07H .0304 and .0309. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2019 

 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 17, 2019 
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Time:  1:15 p.m. 

Location:  NOAA/NCNERR Auditorium, 101 Pivers Island Road, 

Beaufort, NC 28516 

 

Date:  September 18, 2019 

Time:  1:15 p.m. 

Location:  New Hanover County Government Center, 230 

Government Center Drive, Wilmington, NC 28403 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The Coastal Resources 

Commission proposes to amend its administrative rules to comply 

with a legislative mandate (S.L. 2015-241) related to the removal 

of specific areas from the Inlet Hazard Area of Environmental 

Concern (AEC). The amendments will provide greater flexibility 

to local governments and state agencies protecting life and 

property from the hazardous forces inherent to the oceanfront 

shoreline. 15A NCAC 7H .0304 contains the CRC’s definitions of 

the Ocean Hazard Areas AEC. 15A NCAC 7H .0309 contains the 

setback exceptions to the Coastal Area Management Act for 

permits in the Ocean Hazard AECs. 15A NCAC 7H .0313 

establishes the creation of a new AEC for lands adjacent to the 

two deep draft inlets providing access to the State’s ports. 

 

Amendments are also proposed to 15A NCAC 7H .0309 to 

facilitate maintenance of existing stormwater outfalls on ocean 

beaches. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; email 

Braxton.Davis@ncdenr.gov  

 

Comment period ends:  September 18, 2019 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 120 

180 feet landward from the first line of stable 

and natural vegetation. For the purposes of this 

Rule, the erosion rates are the long-term 

average based on available historical data. The 

current long-term average erosion rate data for 

each segment of the North Carolina coast is 

depicted on maps entitled "2011 Long-Term 

Average Annual Shoreline Rate Update" and 

approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission on May 5, 2011 (except as such 

rates may be varied in individual contested 

cases or in declaratory or interpretive rulings). 

In all cases, the rate of shoreline change shall be 

no less than two feet of erosion per year. The 

maps are available without cost from any Local 

Permit Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 

vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance sufficient to 

encompass that area within which the inlet 

migrates, based on statistical analysis, and shall 

consider such factors as previous inlet territory, 

structurally weak areas near the inlet, and 

external influences such as jetties and 

channelization. The areas on the maps 

identified as suggested Inlet Hazard Areas 

included in the report entitled INLET 

HAZARD AREAS, The Final Report and 

Recommendations to the Coastal Resources 

Commission, 1978, as amended in 1981, by 

Loie J. Priddy and Rick Carraway are 
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incorporated by reference and are hereby 

designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except for: 

(a) the Cape Fear Inlet Hazard Area as 

shown on the map does not extend 

northeast of the Bald Head Island 

marina entrance channel; and 

(b) the former location of Mad Inlet, 

which closed in 1997. 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 

has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 

no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 

(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall 

be an extension of the adjacent ocean 

erodible areas and in no case shall the 

width of the inlet hazard area be less 

than the width of the adjacent ocean 

erodible area. This report is available 

for inspection at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, North 

Carolina or at the website referenced 

in Item (1) of this Rule. Photocopies 

are available at no charge. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 

natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as an Unvegetated Beach Area Areas on either 

a permanent or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is suddenly unvegetated 

as a result of a hurricane or other major 

storm event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 

the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 

access to a State Port via a channel maintained 

by the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers. 

These areas are unique due to the influence of 

federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 

Carolina's State Ports. These areas may require 

specific management strategies not warrented 

at other inlets to address erosion and shoreline 

stabilization. State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas shall extend from the mean low water 

line landward as designated on maps approved 

by the Coastal Resources Commission and 

available without cost from the Division of 

Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 

website referenced in Sub-item (1)(a) of this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 

seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 

of the Subchapter this Section if all other provisions of this 

Subchapter and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 

sand or gravel; 

(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 500 

square feet; 

(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 

.0308(c) of this Subchapter; Section; 

(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 

(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 

(7) temporary amusement stands; 

(8) sand fences; and 

(9) swimming pools. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 

landward of the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 

primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 

of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 

overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 

continued existence or use of an associated principal 

development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 

local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all other 

non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 

Rule .0306(a) of this Subchapter Section would preclude 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

12 

placement of permanent substantial structures on lots existing as 

of June 1, 1979, buildings shall be permitted seaward of the 

applicable setback line in ocean erodible areas, areas and State 

Ports Inlet Management Areas, but not inlet hazard areas or 

unvegetated beach areas, if each of the following conditions are 

met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean the 

maximum feasible distance possible on the 

existing lot and the development is designed to 

minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward of 

the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front of 

a frontal dune, but is entirely behind the 

landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 

following design standards, which are in 

addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 

this Subchapter. Section. 

(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 

that extends to at least four feet below 

mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 

no more than 1,000 square feet, and 

the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 

feet. For the purpose of this Section, 

roof-covered decks and porches that 

are structurally attached shall be 

included in the calculation of 

footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 

constructed of clay, packed sand or 

gravel except in those cases where the 

development does not abut the ocean 

and is located landward of a paved 

public street or highway currently in 

use. In those cases concrete, asphalt or 

turfstone may also be used; 

(D) No portion of a building's total floor 

area, including elevated portions that 

are cantilevered, knee braced or 

otherwise extended beyond the 

support of pilings or footings, may 

extend oceanward of the total floor 

area of the landward-most adjacent 

building. When the geometry or 

orientation of a lot precludes the 

placement of a building in line with 

the landward most adjacent structure 

of similar use, an average line of 

construction shall be determined by 

the Division of Coastal Management 

on a case-by-case basis in order to 

determine an ocean hazard setback 

that is landward of the vegetation line, 

static vegetation line or measurement 

line, whichever is applicable, a 

distance no less than 60 feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 

other state and local regulations are met. If the 

development is to be serviced by an on-site 

waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 

for such a system shall be submitted as part of 

the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  Reconfiguration and development of lots and projects that 

have a grandfather status under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

allowed provided that the following conditions are met: 

(1) Development is setback from the first line of 

stable natural vegetation a distance no less than 

that required by the applicable exception; 

(2) Reconfiguration shall not result in an increase 

in the number of buildable lots within the Ocean 

Hazard AEC or have other adverse 

environmental consequences. 

For the purposes of this Rule, an existing lot is a lot or tract of 

land which, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described in a 

recorded plat and which cannot be enlarged by combining the lot 

or tract of land with a contiguous lot(s) or tract(s) of land under 

the same ownership. The footprint is defined as the greatest 

exterior dimensions of the structure, including covered decks, 

porches, and stairways, when extended to ground level. 

(d)  The following types of water dependent development shall be 

permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter 

and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 

(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges and causeways and accessways 

to such bridges. 

(e)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated with 

an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 

conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 

fishing and other recreational purposes whether 

on a commercial, public, or nonprofit basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 

ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 

limited to restaurants and retail services. 

Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 

shall be prohibited; 

(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 

of two stories; 

(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint of 

5,000 square feet and shall be located landward 

of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 

exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint of 

5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 

all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 

(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 

unusable, replacement or expansion of the 

associated pier house shall be permitted only if 

the pier is being replaced and returned to its 

original function. 
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(f)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does not 

induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront processes, 

shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront portions of shoreline 

that exhibit features characteristic of an Estuarine Shoreline. Such 

features include the presence of wetland vegetation, and lower 

wave energy and erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean 

Erodible Area. Such development shall be permitted under the 

standards set out in Rule .0208 of this Subchapter. For the purpose 

of this Rule, small scale is defined as those projects which are 

eligible for authorization under 15A NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 

15A NCAC 07K .0203. 

(g)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 

offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 

that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 

ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 

frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule 07H .0305, 

.0305 of this Section, in such a manner so as to 

ensure that the placement of the transmission 

lines involves no alteration or removal of the 

primary or frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 

lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 

to endanger the public or the public's use of the 

beach. 

(h)  Existing stormwater outfalls within the Ocean Hazard AEC 

that are owned or maintained by a State agency or local 

government, may be extended oceanward subject to the 

provisions contained within 15A NCAC 07J .0200. Outfalls may 

be extended below mean low water, and may be maintained in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07K .0103. Shortening or 

lengthening of outfall structures within the authorized 

dimensions, in response to changes in beach width, is considered 

maintenance under 15A NCAC 07K .0103. Outfall extensions 

may be marked with signage, and shall not prevent pedestrian or 

vehicular access along the beach. This Paragraph does not apply 

to existing stormwater outfalls that are not allowed or maintained 

by a State agency or local government. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b)(6)a; 

113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0313 USE STANDARDS FOR STATE 

PORTS INLET MANAGEMENT AREAS 

Development within State Ports Inlet Management areas, as 

defined by Rule .0304 of this Section, shall be permitted in 

accordance with the following standards: 

(a)  All development in the State Ports Inlet Management Areas 

shall be set back from the first line of stable and natural 

vegetation, static vegetation line, or measurement line at a 

distance in accordance with Rule .0305(a)(5) of this Section, 

except for development exempted under Rule .0309 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the use standards for temporary erosion 

control structures described in Rule .0308(a)(2) of this Section, a 

local or state government may apply for a permit to seek 

protection of an imminently threatened frontal or primary dune, 

public and private structures and/or infrastructure within a State 

Ports Inlet Management Area. For the purpose of this Rule, a 

frontal or primary dune, structure, or infrastructure shall be 

considered imminently threatened in a State Ports Inlet 

Management Area if: 

(1) its foundation, septic system, right-of-way in 

the case of roads, or waterward toe of the dune 

is less than 20 feet away from the erosion scarp; 

or 

(2) site conditions, such as flat beach profile or 

accelerated erosion, increase the risk of 

imminent damage to the structure as determined 

by the Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management; or 

(3) the frontal or primary dune or infrastructure 

will be imminently threatened within six 

months as certified by persons meeting all 

applicable State occupational licensing 

requirements; or 

(4) the rate of erosion from the erosion scarp or 

shoreline within 100 feet of the infrastructure, 

structure, frontal or primary dune was greater 

than 20 feet over the preceding 30 days. 

Permit applications to protect property where no structures are 

imminently threatened require consultation with the US Army 

Corps of Engineers. 

(c)  Temporary erosion control structures constructed by a local 

or state government shall have a base width not exceeding 20 feet, 

and a height not to exceed six feet. Individual sandbags shall be 

tan in color and be a minimum of three feet wide and seven feet 

in length when measured flat. 

(d)  Established common-law and statutory public rights of access 

to the public trust lands and waters in State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas shall not be eliminated or restricted. 

Development shall not encroach upon public accessways nor shall 

it limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(e)  Except where inconsistent with the above standards, all other 

rules in this Subchapter pertaining to development in the ocean 

hazard areas shall be applied to development within the State 

Ports Inlet Management Areas. 

(f)  In addition to the types of development excepted under Rule 

.0309 of this Section, small-scale, non-essential development that 

does not induce further growth in the State Ports Inlet 

Management Areas, such as the construction of single-family 

piers and small-scale erosion control measures that do not 

interfere with natural inlet movement, may be permitted on those 

portions of shoreline within a designated State Ports Inlet 

Management Area that exhibit features characteristic of Estuarine 

Shoreline. Such features include the presence of wetland 

vegetation, lower wave energy, and lower erosion rates than in the 

adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such development shall be 

permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 

Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small-scale is defined as 

those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 

NCAC 07H .1100 and .1200. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107, 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 
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Administrative Fee: NC 403(b) Program 20 NCAC 11 .0102* 33:14 NCR 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Practice of Landscape Contracting; Display of License Number 21 NCAC 28B .0103 33:11 NCR 

Annual Reports 21 NCAC 28B .0104* 33:11 NCR 

Applications for Licensure 21 NCAC 28B .0201* 33:11 NCR 

Reciprocity 21 NCAC 28B .0202 33:11 NCR 

Qualifier/Qualifying Party; Use of Assumed Name 21 NCAC 28B .0303 33:11 NCR 

Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 28B .0402* 33:11 NCR 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 28B .0403* 33:11 NCR 

General 21 NCAC 28B .0501 33:11 NCR 

Low-Voltage Lighting; Pools 21 NCAC 28B .0507 33:11 NCR 

Fee Schedule 21 NCAC 28B .0601 33:11 NCR 

Subpoenas 21 NCAC 28B .0803 33:11 NCR 

Rulemaking Petition 21 NCAC 28B .0901 33:11 NCR 

APPRAISAL BOARD 

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 57A .0204* 33:12 NCR 

Supervision of Trainees 21 NCAC 57A .0407* 33:12 NCR 

Instructor Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0306* 33:12 NCR 

Course Operational Requirements 21 NCAC 57B .0606* 33:12 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Retention of Records 21 NCAC 58A .0108 33:14 NCR 

Provisional Broker to be Supervised by Broker 21 NCAC 58A .0506* 33:14 NCR 

Complaints/Inquiries/Motions/Other Pleadings 21 NCAC 58A .0601* 33:14 NCR 

Presiding Officer 21 NCAC 58A .0612 33:14 NCR 
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Postlicensing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 58A .1902* 33:14 NCR 

Waiver of 90-Hour Postlicensing Education Requirement 21 NCAC 58A .1905* 33:14 NCR 

Escrow Account 21 NCAC 58A .2002 33:14 NCR 

Application for Original Licensure of a Private Real Esta... 21 NCAC 58H .0203 33:14 NCR 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing Course Enrollment 21 NCAC 58H .0209 33:14 NCR 

Expiration and Renewal of a School Approval or License 21 NCAC 58H .0214 33:14 NCR 

Application and Criteria for Original Perlicensing, Postl... 21 NCAC 58H .0302* 33:14 NCR 

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

Fees 21 NCAC 61 .0204* 33:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 02I .0201 QUALIFICATIONS FOR GRANT 

ELIGIBILITY 

Libraries requesting funding from the Aid to Public Libraries 

Fund shall submit annually to the State Library of North Carolina 

an application for State Aid and supporting documentation 

including financial and statistical reports as required by this Rule 

and shall meet the following eligibility requirements: 

(1) Be established pursuant to Article 14, Chapter 

153A of the North Carolina General Statutes; 

(2) Provide library services in compliance with 

applicable State and federal law to all residents 

of the political subdivision(s) supporting the 

library. Public library services shall be provided 

from at least one designated facility with a 

cataloged collection that is open to the public a 

minimum of 40 hours per week; 

(3) Employ a full-time library director having or 

eligible for North Carolina public librarian 

certification. For the purpose of this Rule, "full-

time" means working a minimum of 35 hours 

per week; 

(4) Secure operational funds from local 

government sources at least equal to the 

average amount budgeted and available for 

expenditure for the previous three years. A 

grant to a local library system from the Aid to 

Public Libraries Fund shall not be terminated 

but shall be reduced proportionately by the 

Department if the amount budgeted and 

available for expenditure by local government 

is below the average of the previous three fiscal 

years. State funds shall not replace local funds 

budgeted and available for expenditure for 

public library operations; 

(5) Secure aggregate operational funds from local 

sources that are at least equal to State aid; 

(6) Expend funds as authorized in the budget 

adopted by the Board of Trustees of a Regional 

Library, a County, or a Municipality. Any 

library having an unencumbered operational 

balance of more than 17 percent of the previous 

year's operating receipts shall have the 

difference deducted from its State allocation; 

(7) Pay salaries for professional positions funded 

from the Aid to Public Libraries Fund at least at 

the minimum rate of a salary grade of GN10, or 

equivalent, as established by the Office of State 

Human Resources; 

(8) Provide to the State Library of North Carolina 

an annual audit of the political subdivision(s) 

funding the library consistent with generally 

accepted accounting principles; 

(9) Submit to the State Library of North Carolina a 

copy of the bylaws of the library system's 

Board(s) of Trustees; 

(10) Submit a current long-range plan of service to 

the State Library of North Carolina. For the 

purpose of this Rule, a "long-range plan of 

service" is a plan of at least five years. Upon 

request, the library shall submit an assessment 

of a community's library needs to the State 

Library of North Carolina; 

(11) Submit a copy of the agreement establishing the 

library system, if composed of more than one 

local governmental unit; and 

(12) Meet the following when establishing a new 

library or re-establishing eligibility for the Aid 

to Public Libraries Fund: 

(a) meet all requirements of this Rule on 

July 1 of the year prior to the fiscal 

year that the library plans to receive 

State aid; 

(b) continue to meet all requirements of 

this Rule from July 1 to June 30 of that 

year, which shall be known as the 

"demonstration year"; and 

(c) file a complete application for State 

Aid by the June 30 deadline at the 

close of the demonstration year in 

order to receive State aid in the next 

fiscal year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 125-7; 

Eff. April 1, 2011; 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 2017; 

 

 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 02 .0112 APPEAL TO THE STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

All appeals of a county board of election protest decision must use the following form available on the State Board of Elections' website: 

 

APPEAL OF ELECTION PROTEST TO STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

(Use of this form is required by G. S. 163-182.11 (a)) 

 

A copy of this appeal must be given to the county board of elections within 24 hours (weekends and holidays excluded) after the county 

board files its written decision at its office. This same appeal must be filed with or mailed to the State Board of Elections by the end of 

the second day following the county board decision if the protest involves a first primary. As to a protest of any other election, this 

appeal must be filed or deposited in the mail by the end of the fifth day following the county board decision. See G.S. 163-182.11 (a). 

A copy of the original election protest form with attachments must be filed with this appeal. A copy of the county board decision must 

be filed with this appeal. The county board will provide the record on appeal. As many additional sheets as are necessary to answer the 

questions below may be attached, but they must be numbered. Please print or type your answers. 

 

1. Full name, mailing address, home and business phone, fax number, and e-mail address of undersigned. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

2. Are you the person who filed the original protest, a candidate or office holder adversely affected by the county decision, or someone 

else whose interest has been adversely affected by the county decision? 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________3. State the date, 

place, kind of election, and results of the election protested (if different from the information on the election and its results as set out in 

the attached original protest form). 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. State the name, mailing address, home phone, and business phone of all candidates involved in the protested election. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

5. State the date of the county board hearing__________________________________________________________ 

6. State the legal and factual basis for your appeal. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

7. Is there any material submitted with this appeal that was not presented to and considered by the county board? Is so, please identify 

and state why it was not presented to the county board. Why do you think the State Board of Elections should consider it? 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

8. Normally the State Board will make its decision in an appeal based upon the record from the county board. If you desire the record 

in this matter to be supplemented, additional evidence to be considered, or a completely new hearing, please state such desire and why 

it should be allowed in this appeal. See G.S. 163-182.11 (b). 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

9. What relief do you seek? Why? 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

10. Have you read and reviewed G.S. 163-182.11 through G.S. 163-182.14 and the current North Carolina State Board of Elections 

regulations on appeals of election protests? ________________________________________________ 

11. Besides a copy of the original protest and the county board decisions, this appeal includes___ pages of additional answers and__ 

pages of exhibits and documents not included in the original protest and decision. 

 

_______________________________  ________________ 

Signature of Person Appealing   Date Appeal Signed 

 

Date appeal received by State Board of Elections 

_________________________________________ 

(To be entered by the State Board of Elections staff) 

 

Send your appeal to, or it you have questions contact: North Carolina State Board of Elections, P.O. Box 27255, Raleigh, NC 27611-

7255, (919) 733-7173. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.11; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 
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Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 02 .0113 NEW ELECTIONS ORDERED 

BY STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

(a)  Eligibility to vote in a new election ordered in accordance 

with G.S. 163-182.13 shall be governed by G.S. 163-82.6. 

(b)  The date of any new non-municipal election shall be set by 

the State Board no earlier than 75 days after the date of the order 

for a new election. In the case of a municipal election where 

absentee ballots are allowed, a new election shall not be set earlier 

than 55 days after the date of the order for a new election. 

(c)  If a new primary is ordered by the State Board, no person who 

voted in the initial primary of one party shall be allowed to vote 

in the new primary of another party. County board documentation 

of the voter's participation in the initial primary shall be prima 

facie evidence sufficient to disallow the voter from participating 

in the primary of another party in the new election. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.13(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0101 VOTER COMPLAINTS 

AGAINST A MEMBER OF A COUNTY BOARD OF 

ELECTIONS 

(a)  Any voter desiring to prefer charges of a violation of these 

Rules or of Chapter 163 of the North Carolina General Statutes 

with the State Board of Elections against a member of any county 

board of elections may do so by filing with the Board a statement, 

in writing, signed and sworn under oath or affirmation of the 

voter, which statement shall contain: 

(1) the name, residence address, and county of the 

member against whom the charges are 

preferred; 

(2) a statement of the facts constituting the 

violation alleged, with a reference to the date 

and place of such misconduct; and 

(3) the names and addresses, so far as may be 

known to the persons filing the charges, of 

persons who have knowledge or information of 

the matters referred to in the charges as filed. 

(b)  The statement shall be filed on the form available on the 

Board's website. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22(c); 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0102 CHARGES 

(a)  Upon receipt of a charge filed against a county board member 

in accordance with Rule .0101 of this Section, the State Board of 

Elections shall set a hearing if the charges preferred includes 

prima facie evidence of any of the following:  

(1) a violation of these Rules or of any election law 

under Chapter 163 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes; 

(2) a breach of a duty imposed by Chapter 163; or 

(3) participation in irregularities, incapacity or 

incompetency to discharge the duties of the 

office. 

(b)  The State Board of Elections shall give notice by mail to the 

county board member against whom the charges are preferred, by 

mail of such charges and name a day and place for the hearing 

thereof. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22(c); 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0103 HEARING 

Before acting on any charges filed in accordance with Rule .0101, 

the State Board shall hold a hearing. At such hearing the voter 

preferring such charges shall appear, and present the evidence, 

including any affidavits, tending to support the charges in 

accordance with any order of proceedings issued by the Board. 

All affidavits must be served on the member against whom such 

charges have been filed in accordance with G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5, by 

the person filing the charges, at least three days before the time 

set for the hearing thereof. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22(c); 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0104 RIGHTS 

The member against whom charges are preferred shall have the 

right to respond to the charges preferred against him by submitting 

an affidavit in denial, rebuttal, explanation, or extenuation of the 

charges, and additional evidence may be presented in accordance 

with any order of proceedings issued by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0105 SCOPE 

The Board's investigation into the charges filed in accordance 

with Rule .0101 of this Section shall be confined to the charges as 

filed, but the Board may on its own motion investigate any matter 

listed in Rule .0102(1) through (3) of this Section upon receiving 

any additional evidence as the result of investigating or hearing 

said charges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22(c); 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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08 NCAC 03 .0106 WITNESSES 

(a)  Either the voter or the member may request in writing to the 

chair of the Board for subpoenas for witnesses to be heard orally 

at the hearing held according to Rule .0103 of this Section. The 

application shall include the following information: 

(1) the name or names of the witnesses; 

(2) a statement of one page or less of what is 

expected to be proved by each witness; and 

(3) the reason the testimony cannot be presented to 

the Board in the form of an affidavit of such 

witness or witnesses. 

(b)  If, upon such application for subpoenas, the chair of the Board 

is of the opinion that the oral evidence of such witnesses will be 

helpful to the board, a subpoena shall be issued for the personal 

appearance of the witnesses, and if required by the subpoena, the 

witnesses shall produce such books, papers, or records as may be 

called for in said subpoena. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22(c); 163-23; 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0201 FILING COMPLAINTS 

AGAINST A PRECINCT OFFICIAL 

(a)  Any voter may file with the chair of the county board of 

elections a complaint against any precinct election official 

appointed pursuant to G.S. 163-41. The complaint shall be made 

in writing, signed and sworn under oath or affirmation, and shall 

include the information required by Rule .0101 of this Chapter. 

The complaint may be made on the form available on the State 

Board's website. 

(b)  Following the receipt of a complaint against a precinct 

official, the county board of elections shall conduct a hearing in 

the same manner as set forth in Section .0100 of this Chapter.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 03 .0202 HEARING DATE AND 

DISPOSITION 

(a)  Upon the filing of a complaint against a precinct official in 

accordance with Rule .0201 of this Section, the chair of the county 

board of elections shall set the date for the hearing and provide 

the following information to the State Board of Elections within 

one business day: 

(1) a copy of the complaint; 

(2) the date and time of the hearing, if known; 

(3) following the hearing, the county board of 

elections shall provide the Board the final 

disposition made by the county board of 

elections.  

(b)  The voter or precinct official may appeal the decision of the 

county board of elections to the State Board of Elections. The 

appeal must be received by the State Board of Elections within 

five days of the entry of the county board of elections of its written 

decision. The appeal shall be in writing and state the reason for 

the appeal. Copies of the original complaint form and the county 

board of elections' decision shall be filed with the appeal. The 

county board shall provide the record on appeal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 

Eff. March 12, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 04 .0304 OPERATION AND MATTER OF 

VOTING ON VOTING SYSTEMS 

(a)  Prior to the opening of the polls, the precinct officials shall 

open the voting system and examine the ballot for accuracy and 

examine the counters or other method to determine there is a zero 

balance. Any persons interested in viewing this procedure may 

observe but shall not interfere or impede the process. If the system 

prints a zero tape or other paper document, the document shall be 

maintained and secured in the manner prescribed by the 

manufacturer and the county board of elections. 

(b)  The voter shall follow the instructions contained on the voting 

system. Only official ballots shall be introduced into the voting 

system. Spoiled or damaged ballots shall not be introduced into 

the voting system. If a voter improperly marks or damages a 

ballot, it shall be returned to the precinct official, marked as 

spoiled and maintained as specified by the county board of 

elections. The voter may not receive a replacement ballot until the 

spoiled or damaged ballot is returned to the precinct official. The 

voter shall not be given more than three replacement ballots. 

(c)  Except as provided for curbside voting in G.S. 163-166.9, 

official ballots shall not leave the voting enclosure during the time 

that voting is being conducted there. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-165.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 04 .0305 INSTRUCTION OF PRECINCT 

OFFICIALS AND VOTERS IN THE USE OF VOTING 

SYSTEMS 

(a)  The chair of the county board of elections in a county where 

a voting system is used shall conduct an instructional meeting 

before any primary or election to instruct the precinct officials in 

the use of the voting system. The chair may use any persons 

deemed knowledgeable or useful to the instruction of the precinct 

officials. The instructions on the use and operation of the voting 

system shall be according to manufacturer's instructions furnished 

with the voting system, whether the system is purchased or leased 

by the county board of elections. The training shall be sufficient 

such that the precinct officials shall be qualified to instruct the 

voters on the use of the voting system. 

(b)  The chair of the county board of elections shall not permit a 

voting system to be used in any precinct in any election unless the 

chair is satisfied that the precinct officials of the precinct have 

learned to use and operate the system in accordance with the 

manufacturer's instructions. The county board of elections may 

require that precinct officials receive additional instruction on the 

use and operation of voting systems. 
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(c)  A voter may request instruction for the proper use of the 

voting system from a precinct official. The precinct official shall 

provide such technical instruction to the voter but shall not seek 

to influence or intimidate the voter in any manner. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-165.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 04 .0306 DUTIES OF CUSTODIANS OF 

VOTING SYSTEMS 

(a)  The chair of the county board of elections shall be responsible 

for the safekeeping, storage, maintenance and care of the voting 

system. The voting system shall be stored in a location such that 

access is restricted to county board of elections staff and the 

system cannot be tampered with when not in use on election day. 

The county board of elections may appoint as many persons as 

determined necessary for the maintenance, storage and care of the 

voting system and for the preparation and testing of the voting 

system and delivery to the voting precincts preceding a primary 

or an election. Persons employed for this purpose shall be 

compensated for their services as authorized by the county board 

of elections. 

(b)  On election day when the system is used for voting purposes 

and until the chair of the county board collects the system, the 

voting system shall be under the supervision and control of the 

chief judge unless the county board of elections authorizes 

another elections official to have supervision and control.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-23; 163-165.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 04 .0307 TESTING OF VOTING SYSTEM 

BEFORE USE IN AN ELECTION 

(a)  The county board of elections shall test, or supervise the 

testing, of each voting system or unit that will be used in the 

election to ensure that the system is operational and has been 

programmed to count votes accurately. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "accurately" means in accordance with the procedures for 

Logic and Accuracy Testing as outlined in the North Carolina 

State Topical Elections Processes and Procedures (STEPPS) 

manual. There shall be a record maintained along with the voted 

and unvoted ballots at the county board of elections office that 

shall include, at a minimum, the following information:  

(1) the dates, times and method of testing used;  

(2) the results of the test; and 

(3) the names of the persons conducting the test. 

(b)  Any interested person may observe the testing of the voting 

system but shall not interfere with or impede the process. For the 

purpose of testing a voting system prior to the purchase or lease 

of the system, testing at a one-stop absentee voting site shall fulfill 

the requirement to test the voting system in a precinct within the 

county. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-165.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 06B .0103 ARRANGEMENT OF OFFICIAL 

BALLOTS 

(a)  After the close of the filing period, the State Board of 

Elections shall certify to the county boards of elections the order 

of the offices and candidate names to be voted on the official 

ballot. The State Board of Elections shall provide the text and 

arrangement of referenda to be voted on the official ballot. 

(b)  The order of precedence for candidate ballot items shall be as 

follows: 

(1) Federal Offices; 

(2) State Offices in the order certified by the State 

Board of Elections; 

(3) District and local offices; 

(4) Non-partisan offices; and 

(5) Referenda, unless the voting system design 

requires referenda to be before candidate ballot 

items. 

Ballot items for full terms of an office shall be listed before ballot 

items for partial terms of the same office. The term of the 

unexpired office only shall be listed as part of the title of the 

office. 

(c)  Names of candidates shall be printed in the exact form either 

certified by the State Board of Elections for those candidates who 

are required to file the Notice of Candidacy with the State Board 

of Elections, by convention or by petition. Candidates for all 

offices shall provide their name as it is to appear on the ballot. 

Candidates may request in writing a change in the manner that 

their name is to appear on the ballot during the time the filing 

period is open. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-165.6; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 06B .0104 LATE CHANGES IN BALLOTS 

After the official ballots for a general or special election have been 

printed and the absentee voting period has begun, the death, 

resignation, or disqualification of a candidate whose name 

appears on the official ballots shall not require that the ballots be 

reprinted. If the vacancy occurs before the absentee voting period 

begins, the responsible county board of elections, or State Board 

of Elections if the contests spans more than one county, may 

determine whether it is practical to have the ballots reprinted with 

the name of the replacement nominee as authorized by G.S. 163-

114. If the ballots are not reprinted, a vote cast for the candidate 

whose name is printed on the ballot shall be counted as a vote for 

the replacement nominee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-165.3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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08 NCAC 06B .0105 COUNTING OF OFFICIAL 

BALLOTS 

(a)  Following the close of the polls the official ballots shall be 

counted in accordance with G.S. 163-182.1(a). Precinct officials 

shall follow the procedures specified by the voting system 

manufacturer and in compliance with G.S. 163-182.1 and 163-

182.2. The counting of the ballots shall be completed in the 

presence of the precinct election officials, observers, and any 

persons desiring to observe the count. All official ballots shall be 

counted at the precinct unless authorized by the State Board of 

Elections. 

(b)  The counting of the ballots at the precinct shall be continuous 

until completed. From the time the counting of the ballots is begun 

until the votes are counted and the requisite documentation, 

including results tapes, is signed, certified as required, and 

delivered to the chief judge or judge chosen to deliver the 

documentation to the county board of elections, the precinct chief 

judge and judges shall not separate, nor shall any of them leave 

the voting place except for unavoidable necessity, in which case 

the chief judge or judge who left the polling place shall not be 

permitted to return to the polling place. Unavoidable necessity 

means an emergency as determined by the departing precinct 

official. 

(d)  When the counting is completed the chief judge or his or her 

designee shall verbally announce the results at the precinct. The 

announcement of the results shall state the results are unofficial. 

The unofficial results shall be transmitted to the county board of 

elections in the manner determined by the county board of 

elections and the voting system. This report shall be unofficial and 

shall have no binding effect upon the official county canvass to 

follow. As soon as the precinct reports are received, the chair, 

secretary or designee shall publish the unofficial reports to the 

news media. 

(e)  Provisional official ballots shall be counted by the county 

board of elections before the canvass. If the county board finds 

that an individual voting a provisional official ballot is not eligible 

to vote in one or more ballot items on the official ballot, the board 

shall not count the official ballot in those ballot items, but shall 

count the official ballot in any ballot items for which the 

individual is eligible to vote. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-47(a); 163-182.1; 

163-182.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0106 GENERAL GUIDELINES 

(a)  Prior to each recount under G.S. 163-182.7, the county board 

of elections or State Board shall inform the political parties and 

candidates of the recount and describe to them the process of 

conducting recounts. 

(b)  In the case of tie votes, the winner shall be determined by lot 

only in the case set out in G.S. 163-182.8(2). Where there are 

5,000 or fewer votes cast, there shall be only one determination 

by lot for each tied election. There shall be no determination by 

lot until the time has expired for the affected candidate(s) to 

request a recount, unless all of the affected candidate(s) waive 

their right in writing to request a recount. 

(c)  During the conduct of recounts, ballots shall be counted in 

accordance with the principles in G.S. 163-182.1(a).  

(d)  In conducting recounts of direct record electronic machines 

and any other types of voting machines that require a county board 

member or designated official to reprint tapes and to read the 

totals and another board member to record the totals for each 

candidate such recount shall be conducted by a bi-partisan team 

of four: two officials (one from each of the two parties having the 

largest number of registered voters in the state) reading and 

confirming the totals per machine and two officials (one from 

each of the two parties having the largest number of registered 

voters in the state) recording the results simultaneously. 

(e)  In conducting hand to eye recounts or recounts of paper 

ballots, a bi-partisan team of four shall be used: two officials (one 

from each of the two parties in the State with the largest number 

of registered voters) to relay the results of each ballot with one 

person reading the ballot and the other official observing the ballot 

and the person reading the results of the ballot, and two officials 

(one from each of the two parties in the State with the largest 

number of registered voters) recording the tally of votes for each 

candidate on paper while stating aloud after each choice is read 

on the fifth tally for a particular candidate, the word "tally." 

(f)  The county board of elections shall conduct recounts only as 

follows: 

(1) the recount is mandatory under G.S. 163-

182.7(b) or (c); or  

(2) the recount is not mandatory but the county 

board of elections or the State Board of 

Elections determines, using its authority in G.S. 

163-182.7(a), that in order to complete the 

canvass a recount is necessary. 

(g)  A candidate shall have the right to call for a hand-eye recount, 

as to elections conducted by optical scan systems within 24 hours 

after a mandatory or discretionary recount or by noon on the next 

business day of the county board office, whichever is later, if the 

apparent winner is the apparent loser after the first recount, unless 

human error resulted in the vote count change. 

(h)  Any candidate shall have the right to file an election protest 

within 24 hours after a recount or by noon of the next business 

day of the county board office, whichever is later. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0107 RECOUNT OF OPTICAL SCAN 

BALLOTS 

(a)  In the first recount conducted by the county board of elections 

in accordance with G.S. 163-182.7, all ballots that were originally 

counted by the optical scan equipment shall be counted again by 

the optical scan equipment producing another machine count. A 

"machine count" total is a ballot count produced by a voting 

system that uses machines. All ballots that were rejected for 

tabulation purposes by the machines - commonly called 

"outstacked" or center bin ballots - shall be recounted by a bi-

partisan team of four in accordance with 08 NCAC 09. 0106(f). 
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(b)  When the first recount, including absentee and provisional 

ballot recount totals, has been completed, the board of elections 

shall determine if a second recount is necessary as follows: 

(1) Determine whether the first recount produces a 

change in the winner in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting is the apparent loser after the 

first recount, that candidate shall be 

entitled to demand a second recount, 

by hand and eye, of all ballots; and 

(B) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting remains the apparent winner 

after the first recount, the county board 

shall proceed according to 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph; 

(2) Determine whether there is a discrepancy in the 

machine totals between the initial balloting and 

the first recount in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) If the machine totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are the 

same, no second recount is necessary; 

and 

(B) If the machine totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are not 

the same, the county board shall 

proceed according to Subparagraph 

(3) of this Paragraph; 

(3) Determine if the discrepancy in the machine 

total between the initial balloting and the first 

recount can be reconciled. The county board 

shall examine all outstacked or center bin 

ballots from the first recount, determine how 

each ballot shall be counted according to Rule 

.0106(c) of this Section, and reconcile the count 

with the machine count on the initial balloting 

in accordance with the following: 

(A) If this reconciliation produces the 

same machine total for the first 

recount as the machine total in the 

initial balloting, no second recount is 

necessary; and 

(B) If the reconciliation produces a 

different machine total for the first 

recount than the machine total in the 

initial balloting, the losing candidate is 

entitled to demand a second recount, 

by hand-to-eye, of all ballots. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

08 NCAC 09 .0108 RECOUNT OF DIRECT 

RECORD ELECTRONIC VOTING MACHINES 

(a)  In the first recount conducted by the county board of elections 

in accordance with G.S. 163-182.7, all votes cast on each direct 

record electronic voting machine shall be retabulated and results 

provided. The results provided shall be re-read using the team of 

four rules outlined in Rule .0106(e) of this Section.  

(b)  When the first recount has been completed, the board of 

elections shall proceed in accordance with the following in order to 

determine if a second recount is necessary: 

(1) Determine whether the first recount produces a 

change in the winner; 

(A) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting is the apparent loser after the 

first recount, that candidate shall be 

entitled to demand a second recount; 

and 

(B) If the apparent winner after the initial 

balloting remains the apparent winner 

after the first recount, the county board 

shall proceed in accordance with 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph; 

(2) Determine whether there is a discrepancy in the 

machine totals between the initial balloting and 

the first recount in accordance with the 

following: 

(A) If the unit totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are the 

same, no second recount is necessary; 

and 

(B) If the unit totals from the initial 

balloting and the first recount are not 

the same, the county board shall 

proceed to the step in Subparagraph 

(3) of this Paragraph; 

(3) Determine if the discrepancy in the unit totals 

between the initial balloting and the first 

recount can be explained. Possible acceptable 

explanations may include problems with the 

setup of the ballot, problems with the software 

or other unit malfunction. 

(4) Determine if the discrepancy in the machine 

total between the initial balloting and the first 

recount can be reconciled in accordance with 

the following: 

(A) If the reconciliation produces the same 

unit total for the first recount as the 

unit total in the initial balloting, no 

second recount is necessary; and 

(B) If the reconciliation produces a 

different unit total for the first recount 

than the unit total in the initial 

balloting, the losing candidate is 

entitled to demand a second recount by 

the county board of elections. 

(c)  The second recount shall be a manual recount, by hand-to-

eye, unless, due to a voting machine error, no second recount is 

possible.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-182.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

25 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 23A .0103 QUALITY ASSURANCE 

(a)  County department of social services eligibility actions on 

active and negative cases, as defined by 42 C.F.R. 431.804, which 

is incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions, and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, shall be subject to review under State and 

federal quality control (QC) procedures by the Division's Office 

of Compliance and Program Integrity (OCPI). A statistical sample 

shall be selected from both active and negative case actions. 

(b)  The purpose of the QC review is to identify client eligibility 

errors and erroneous payments resulting from: 

(1) Ineligibility; 

(2) Recipient liability understated or overstated by 

the client or county;  

(3) Third-party liability; and 

(4) Claims processing errors. 

(c)  A report of an error discovered in a QC case shall be sent to 

the county agency for corrective action. 

(d)  If the county agency has verification, as defined by Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter, that disputes a QC finding of error, it may 

submit the verification to OCPI for review. OCPI shall determine 

whether the error shall be coded client-responsible, county-

responsible, or State-responsible. Upon its review, OCPI shall 

notify the county agency of its decision regarding responsibility 

for the error. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 431, Subpart P;  

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0501 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23C .0201 APPLICATION PROCESSING 

STANDARDS 

(a)  The county department of social services shall comply with 

the following standards in processing applications: 

(1) A decision shall be made within the timeframes 

set out in G.S. 108A-70.37; 

(2) Only require information or verification to 

establish eligibility for assistance; 

(3) Make a minimum of two requests for all 

information from the applicant or third party; 

(4) Allow a minimum of 12 calendar days between 

the initial request and a follow-up request and 

at least 12 calendar days between the follow-up 

request and denial of the application; 

(5) Inform the client in writing of the right to 

request help in obtaining information requested 

from the client. The county department of social 

services shall not discourage any client from 

requesting such help; 

(6) An application may pend up to six months for 

verification that the deductible, as defined in 

10A NCAC 23A .0102 has been met or 

disability established; and  

(7) When a hearing decision reverses the decision 

of the county department of social services on 

an application, pursuant to 10A NCAC 21A 

.0303, the application shall be reopened within 

five business days from the date the final appeal 

decision is received by the county department 

of social services. If the county department of 

social services has all of the information needed 

to process the application, the application shall 

be processed within five additional business 

days. If additional information is needed 

pursuant to the final decision, the county shall 

make such requests in accordance with this 

Rule. The first request for the additional 

information shall be made within five business 

days of receipt of the final appeal decision. The 

application shall be processed within five 

business of receipt of the last piece of required 

information. 

(b)  The county department of social services shall obtain 

verification, as defined by 10A NCAC 23A .0102, other than the 

applicant's statement for the following: 

(1) Any element requiring medical verification. 

This includes verification of disability, 

incapacity, emergency dates for aliens 

referenced in the Medicaid State Plan, 

incompetence, and approval of institutional 

care; 

(2) Proof a deductible has been met; 

(3) Legal alien status; 

(4) Proof of the rebuttal value for resources and of 

the rebuttal of intent to transfer resources to 

become eligible for Medicaid. When a client 

disagrees with the determination of the county 

department of social services on the value of an 

asset, then the client must provide proof of what 

the value of the asset is; 

(5) Proof of designation of liquid assets for burial; 

(6) Proof of legally binding agreement limiting 

resource availability; 

(7) Proof of valid social security number or 

application for a social security number; 

(8) Proof of reserve reduction when resources 

exceed the allowable reserve limit for 

Medicaid; 

(9) Proof of earned and unearned income, 

including deductions, exclusions, and 

operational expenses when the applicant or 

caseworker has or can obtain the verification; 

and 

(10) Any other information for which the applicant 

does not know or cannot give an estimate. 

(c)  The county department of social services shall be responsible 

for verifying or obtaining an item of information when: 

(1) A fee must be paid to obtain the verification; 

(2) It is available within the agency; 
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(3) The county department of social services is 

required by federal law to assist or to use 

interagency or intra-agency verification aids; 

(4) The applicant requests assistance; or 

(5) A representative has not agreed to obtain the 

information and the applicant is: 

(A) physically or mentally incapable of 

obtaining the information;  

(B) unable to speak English or read and 

write in English; or  

(C) housebound, hospitalized, or 

institutionalized.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.911; 42 C.F.R 435.912; 42 C.F.R 435.952; Alexander 

v. Flaherty, V.S.D.C., W.D.N.C., File No. C-C-74-183, Consent 

Order Filed 15 December 1989; Alexander v. Flaherty Consent 

Order filed February 14, 1992; Alexander v. Bruton Consent 

Order dismissed Effective February 1, 2002; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0203 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23D .0101 MANDATORY GROUPS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 U.S.C. 

1396a(a)(10); 42 U.S.C. 1396a(e)(4); 42 U.S.C. 1396a(f); 42 

C.F.R. 435.110; 42 C.F.R. 435.112; 42 C.F.R. 435.113; 42 C.F.R. 

435.114; 42 C.F.R. 435.115; 42 C.F.R. 435.116; 42 C.F.R. 

435.117; 42 C.F.R. 435.118; 42 C.F.R. 435.121; 42 C.F.R. 

435.131; 42 C.F.R. 435.132; 42 C.F.R. 435.133; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; March 1, 1993; January 4, 1993; 

April 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment September 13, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 27, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment September 12, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0101 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23D .0102 OPTIONAL GROUPS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.210; 42 

C.F.R. 435.222; 42 C.F.R. 435.230; 42 C.F.R. 435.301; 42 C.F.R. 

435.308; 42 C.F.R. 435.322; 42 C.F.R. 435.330; 42 U.S.C. 

1396(a)(10)(A)(ii); 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(10)(C); S.L. 1983, c. 

1034, s. 62.2; S.L. 1987, c. 738, s. 69 and 70; S.L. 1989, c. 752, s. 

133; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1992; July 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 12, 1994, for a period of 

180 days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever 

is sooner; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 23, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0102 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23D .0201 CLASSIFICATION 

 

History Note: Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. October 

1, 1994, for a period of 180 days or until the permanent rule 

becomes effective, whichever is sooner; 

Filed as a Temporary Amendment Eff. September 12, 1994, for a 

period of 180 days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, 

whichever is sooner; 

Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.2; 42 C.F.R. 435.4; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 13, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 27, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 12, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0408 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0101 AGE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.520; 

Alexander v. Flaherty Consent Order filed 

February 14, 1992; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0301 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0102 UNITED STATES CITIZEN 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.402; 8 

U.S.C. 1161; 8 U.S.C. 1255a; 42 U.S.C. 1396b(v); 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; December 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0302 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0103 RESIDENCE 

(a)  The requirements stated in 42 CFR 435.403 shall apply to 

determine residence in the State except for provisions in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  Residents of the state of Georgia who enter a long term care 

facility in NC within 40 miles of the resident state's border shall 

retain residence in Georgia. Residents of NC who enter a long 

term care facility in Georgia within 40 miles of the NC border 

retain NC residency. 

(c)  An individual visiting without intent to reside in the State shall 

be ineligible for NC Medicaid. 
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(d)  An individual who moves to another state and intends to 

reside in that state shall not be eligible for NC Medicaid. 

(e)  County residence: 

(1) Any client who moves from one county to 

another North Carolina county shall continue to 

receive assistance so long as eligibility 

continues.  

(2) An individual has residence in the county in 

which he or she resides. However, if he or she 

is in a hospital, mental institution, intermediate 

care facility, skilled nursing home, boarding 

home, penal institution, or similar facility, the 

county where the facility is located shall not be 

his or her legal residence. Except for (e)(3) in 

this Rule, the county of legal residence shall be 

the county where the individual lived in a 

private living arrangement prior to entering a 

facility. 

(3) If an individual who became disabled prior to 

age 18 has remained in a facility, he or she 

remains a resident of the county and state where 

his or her parent(s) had residence immediately 

prior to his or her reaching age 18. If, as an 

adult, he or she is applying for assistance and it 

is not possible for the individual to trace his or 

her county of residence as a minor, he or she 

shall establish residence based on where he or 

she intends to reside, regardless of his or her 

parent's current legal residence. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

55.3; 42 C.F.R. 435.403; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0303 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0104 DEPRIVATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-28; 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 

435.510; 89 CVS 922; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 5, 1999; 

Amended Eff. March 19, 2001; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0304 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0106 BLINDNESS 

(a)  To qualify for Medicaid under the category of Aid to the 

Blind, the client shall meet one of the following conditions: 

(1) receipt of Medicaid on the basis of blindness in 

December 1973, has continued to meet 

December 1973 eligibility criteria for each 

consecutive month thereafter, and determined 

by the Disability Determination Services 

Section to have visual acuity of 20/100 in the 

better eye with correction or visual field 

limitation in the better eye of 30 percent or less; 

or 

(2) applied for Medicaid since January 1, 1974 and 

meets the definition of blindness, vocational, 

and medical factors applied under the 

Supplemental Security Income program, 

pursuant to 20 CFR 404, Subpart P.  

(b)  For clients applying for Medicaid since January 1, 1974, that 

do not meet the criteria in 20 CFR 404, Subpart P, blindness shall 

be determined by one of the following methods pursuant to 42 

CFR 435.530 and 435.531: 

(1) Documentary evidence including SDX, 

BENDEX, or an award letter that social security 

benefits, supplemental security income, or 

veterans benefits have been awarded on the 

basis of blindness; or 

(2) A written decision from the physician 

consultant of the Division of Services for the 

Blind based on review of a medical eye 

examination report. 

(c)  Blindness shall be reverified for clients determined eligible 

under Paragraph (b) of this Rule at each review of the client's 

eligibility or when reexamination is recommended by the 

physician consultant in his or her professional opinion.  

(d)  The client shall cease to qualify for Medicaid as a blind 

individual when evidence is received from any of the sources 

described in Paragraphs (a)(1) or (b) of this Rule that the client no 

longer meets the conditions of blindness set out in this Rule and 

the Medicaid State Plan.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 20 

C.F.R. 404, Subpart P; 42 C.F.R. 435.530; 42 C.F.R. 435.531; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0306 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0107 CARETAKER RELATIVE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.310; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1993; August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0307 Eff. May 1 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0108 INMATE OF PUBLIC 

INSTITUTION OR PRIVATE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.1008; 

42 C.F.R. 435.1009; S.L. 1987, c. 758, s. 69; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0308 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0201 APPLYING FOR ALL BENEFITS 

AND ANNUITIES 

(a)  Clients shall follow all processes and procedures set forth by 

any financial institution or agency to obtain any annuities, 
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pensions, retirement and disability benefits to which they are 

entitled, pursuant to 42 CFR 435.608, which is incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions and 

available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/, unless they have 

good cause for not doing so as determined by the county 

department of social services. For purposes of this Rule, good 

cause shall be limited to physical or mental incapability to make 

such effort. 

(b)  If a client fails to comply with Paragraph (a) and does not 

show good cause, the client's eligibility benefits shall be 

terminated.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.608; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0309 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0203 COUNTABLE INCOME 

(a)  For Family and Children's medically needy cases, income 

from the following sources shall be counted in the calculation of 

financial eligibility: 

(1) Unearned. 

(A) RSDI, as defined in 10A NCAC 23A 

.0102; 

(B) Veteran's Administration; 

(C) Railroad Retirement; 

(D) Pensions or retirement benefits; 

(E) Worker's Compensation; 

(F) Unemployment Insurance Benefits;  

(G) All support payments, including child 

and spousal support;  

(H) Contributions; 

(I) Dividends or interest from stocks, 

bonds, and other investments; 

(J) Trust fund income; 

(K) Private disability or employment 

compensation; 

(L) The portion of educational loans, 

grants, and scholarships for 

maintenance; 

(M) Work release; 

(N) Lump sum payments; 

(O) Military allotments; 

(P) Brown Lung benefits 

(Q) Black Lung benefits 

(R) Trade Adjustment benefits; 

(S) SSI when the client is in long-term 

care; 

(T) VA Aid and Attendance when the 

client is in long-term care; 

(U) Foster Care Board payments in excess 

of State maximum rates for M-AF 

clients who serve as foster parents; 

(V) Income allocated from an 

institutionalized spouse to the client 

who is the community spouse as stated 

in 42 U.S.C. 1396r-5(d); 

(W) Income allowed from an 

institutionalized spouse to the client 

who is a dependent family member as 

stated in 42 U.S.C. 1396r-5(d); 

(X) Sheltered Workshop income;  

(Y) Loans, if repayment of a loan and not 

counted in reserve; and 

(Z) Income deemed to Family and 

Children's clients. 

(2) Earned Income. 

(A) Income from wages, salaries, and 

commissions; 

(B) Farm income;  

(C) Small business income including self-

employment; 

(D) Rental income for use of real or 

personal property; 

(E) Income for room and board in the 

household; 

(F) Earned income of a child client who is 

a part-time student and a full-time 

employee; 

(G) Supplemental payments in excess of 

State maximum rates for Foster Care 

Board payments paid by the county to 

Family and Children's clients who 

serve as foster parents; and 

(H) VA Aid and Attendance paid to a 

budget unit member who provides the 

aid and attendance. 

(3) Additional sources of income not listed in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) or (2) of this Rule shall be 

considered available unless specifically 

excluded by Paragraph (b) of this Rule, or by 

State or federal regulation or statute. 

(b)  For Family and Children's medically needy cases, income 

from the following sources shall not be counted in the calculation 

of financial eligibility: 

(1) Earned income of a child who is a part-time 

student but is not a full-time employee; 

(2) Earned income of a child who is a full-time 

student; 

(3) Incentive payments and training allowances 

made to Work Incentives Network (WIN) 

training participants; 

(4) Payments for supportive services or 

reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses made 

to volunteers serving as VISTA volunteers, 

foster grandparents, senior health aides, senior 

companions, Service Corps of Retired 

Executives, Active Corps of Executives, 

Retired Senior Volunteer Programs, Action 

Cooperative Volunteer Program, University 

Year for Action Program, and other programs 

under Titles I, II, and III of Public Law 93-113; 

(5) Foster Care Board payments equal to or below 

the State maximum rates for Family and 

Children's clients who serve as foster parents; 
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(6) Income that is unpredictable, such as unplanned 

and arising only from time to time. Examples 

include occasional yard work and sporadic 

babysitting; 

(7) Relocation payments; 

(8) Value of the coupon allotment under the Food 

and Nutrition Program (FNS);  

(9) Food (vegetables, dairy products, and meat) 

grown by or given to a member of the 

household. The amount received from the sale 

of home grown produce is earned income; 

(10) Benefits received from the Nutrition Program 

for the Elderly; 

(11) Food Assistance under the Child Nutrition Act 

and National School Lunch Act; 

(12) Assistance provided in cash or in kind under 

any governmental, civic, or charitable 

organization whose purpose is to provide social 

services or vocational rehabilitation. This 

includes V.R. incentive payments for training, 

education, and allowance for dependents, 

grants for tuition, chore services under Title XX 

of the Social Security Act, and VA aid and 

attendance or aid to the home bound if the 

individual is in a private living arrangement; 

(13) Loans or grants such as the GI Bill, civic, 

honorary and fraternal club scholarships, loans, 

or scholarships granted from private donations 

to the college, except for any portion used or 

designated for maintenance; 

(14) Loans, grants, or scholarships to 

undergraduates for educational purposes made 

or insured under any program administered by 

the U.S. Department of Education; 

(15) Benefits received under Title VII of the Older 

Americans Act of 1965; 

(16) Payments received under the Housing Choice 

Voucher (HCV) Program, formerly known as 

the Experimental Housing Allowance Program 

(EHAP); 

(17) In-kind shelter and utility contributions paid 

directly to the supplier;  

(18) Shelter, utilities, or household furnishings made 

available to the client at no cost; 

(19) Food/clothing contributions (except for food 

allowance for persons temporarily absent in 

medical facilities up to 12 months); 

(20) Income of a child under 21 in the budget unit 

who is participating in the Job Training 

Partnership Act and is receiving Medicaid as a 

child; 

(21) Housing Improvement Grants approved by the 

N.C. Commission of Indian Affairs or funds 

distributed per capital or held in trust for Indian 

tribe members under P.L. 92-254, P.L. 93-134 

or P.L. 94-540; 

(22) Payments to Indian tribe members as permitted 

under P.L. 94-114; 

(23) Payments made by Medicare to a home renal 

dialysis patient as medical benefits; 

(24) SSI, except for individuals in long-term care; 

(25) HUD Section 8 benefits when paid directly to 

the supplier or jointly to the supplier and client; 

(26) Benefits received by a client who is a 

representative payee for another individual who 

is incompetent or incapable of handling his or 

her affairs. Such benefits shall be accounted for 

by the county department of social services 

separate from the payee's own income and 

resources; 

(27) Special one time payments such as energy, 

weatherization assistance, or disaster assistance 

that is not designated as medical; 

(28) The value of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture donated foods (surplus 

commodities); 

(29) Payments under the Alaska Native Claims 

Settlement Act, P.L. 92-203; 

(30) Any payment received under Title II of the 

Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real 

Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970; 

(31) HUD Community Development Block Grant 

funds received to finance the renovation of a 

privately owned residence; 

(32) Reimbursement for transportation expenses 

incurred as a result of participation in the 

Community Work Experience Program or for 

use of client's own vehicle to obtain medical 

care or treatment; 

(33) Adoption assistance; 

(34) Incentive payments made to a client 

participating in a vocational rehabilitation 

program; 

(35) Title XX funds received to pay for services 

rendered by another individual or agency; 

(36) Any amount received as a refund of taxes paid; 

(37) The first fifty-dollars ($50) of each child 

support/spousal obligation or military allotment 

paid monthly to the budget unit in a private 

living arrangement; and 

(38) Income from an Achieving a Better Life 

Experience (ABLE) program account, pursuant 

to Chapter 147, Article 6F of the North Carolina 

General Statutes. 

(c)  For aged, blind, and disabled cases, income counted in the 

determination of financial eligibility shall be based on standards 

and methodologies in Title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

(d)  For aged, blind, and disabled cases, income from the 

following sources shall not be counted: 

(1) Any Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) 

increase or receipt of RSDI benefit, that 

resulted in the loss of SSI for those qualified 

disabled and working individuals described at 

42 U.S.C. 1396d(s);  

(2) Earnings for those individuals who have a plan 

for achieving self-support (PASS) that is 
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approved by the Social Security 

Administration; and  

(3) Income from an Achieving a Better Life 

Experience (ABLE) program account, pursuant 

to Chapter 147, Article 6F of the North Carolina 

General Statutes. 

(e)  Income levels for purposes of establishing eligibility are those 

amounts approved by the N.C. General Assembly and stated in 

the Appropriations Act for categorically needy and medically 

needy classifications, except for the following: 

(1) The income level shall be reduced by one-third 

when an aged, blind, or disabled individual 

lives in the household of another person and 

does not pay his or her proportionate share of 

household expenses. The one-third reduction 

shall not apply to children under 19 years of age 

who live in the home of their parents; 

(2) An individual living in a long-term care facility 

or other medical institution shall be allowed as 

income level deduction for personal needs 

described under the Medicaid State Plan; and 

(3) The income level to be applied for Qualified 

Medicare Beneficiaries described in 42 U.S.C. 

1396d and individuals described in 42 U.S.C. 

1396e shall be based on the income level for 

one; or two for a married couple who live 

together and both receive Medicare. 

(f)  Income for Family and Children's categorically needy cases is 

determined pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 435.603. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B; 42 C.F.R. 435.135; 42 C.F.R. 435.603; 42 C.F.R. 435.733; 

42 C.F.R. 435.811; 42 C.F.R. 435.831; 42 C.F.R. 435.832; 42 

C.F.R. 435.1007; 45 C.F.R. 233.20; 42 U.S.C 1383c(b); 42 U.S.C 

1383c(d); P.L. 99-272, Section 12202; Alexander v. Flaherty 

Consent Order filed February 14, 1992; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Rule Effective July 1, 1987, for a period of 120 days 

to expire on October 31, 1987; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1995; September 1, 

1994; September 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 23, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0312 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0204 PERSONAL NEEDS 

ALLOWANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. 435.135; 

42 C.F.R. 435.731; 42 C.F.R. 435.732; 42 C.F.R. 435.733; 42 

C.F.R. 435.831; 42 U.S.C. 1383c(b); 42 U.S.C. 1383c(d); 

Eff. September 1, 1994; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0313 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0205 BUDGET UNIT MEMBERSHIP 

In aged, blind, and disabled cases and medically needy cases, the 

budget unit shall include individuals who are required by federal 

and State law to be financially responsible for the support of each 

other or other dependents. In all other categorically needy cases, 

the budget unit shall be determined pursuant to 42 C.F.R. 435.603, 

which is incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments 

and editions and available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.602; 42 C.F.R. 435.603; 45 C.F.R. 233.51; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0401 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0206 FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY 

AND DEEMING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143-127.1; S.L. 1983, 

c. 761, s. 60(6); S.L. 1983, c. 1034; S.L. 1983, c. 1116; 42 C.F.R. 

435.602; 42 C.F.R. 435.712; 42 C.F.R. 435.734; 42 C.F.R. 

435.821; 42 C.F.R. 435.823; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 1, 1990 for a period of 180 days 

to expire on September 30, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; September 1, 1992; October 1, 

1990; August 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 12, 2003; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0402 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0207 WHOSE RESOURCES ARE 

COUNTED  

(a)  The value of resources held by the client or by a financially 

responsible person shall be considered by the county department 

of social services to be available to the client in determining 

countable reserve for the budget unit. 

(b)  Jointly owned resources shall be counted as follows: 

(1) The value of resources owned jointly with a 

person who is not a member of the client's 

budget unit who is a recipient of another public 

assistance budget unit shall be divided in parts 

of equal value between the budget units.  

(2) The value of liquid assets and personal property 

owned jointly with a person who is not a 

member of the client's budget unit who is also 

not a client of another public assistance budget 

unit shall be available to the client if he or she 

can dispose of the resource without the consent 

and participation of the joint-owner or the joint-

owner consents to and, if necessary, participates 

in the disposal of the resource.  

(3) The client's share of the value of real property 

owned jointly with a person who is not a 

member of the client's budget unit who is also 

not a member of another public assistance 

budget unit shall be available to the client if he 

or she can dispose of his or her share of the 

resource without the consent and participation 

of the joint-owner or the joint-owner consents 
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to and, if necessary, participates in the disposal 

of the resource. 

(c)  The terms of a separation agreement, divorce decree, will, 

deed or other legally binding agreement or court order shall take 

precedence over ownership of resources as stated in Paragraphs 

(a) and (b) of this Rule, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this 

Rule. 

(d)  For all aged, blind, and disabled cases, the resource limit, 

financial responsibility, and countable and non-countable assets 

shall be based on standards and methodology in Title XVI of the 

Social Security Act except as specified in Rule .0202 of this 

Section. 

(e)  Countable resources for Family and Children's medically 

needy cases shall be determined as follows: 

(1) The resources of a spouse, who is not a 

stepparent, shall be counted in the budget unit's 

reserve allowance if:  

(A) the spouses live together; or 

(B) one spouse is temporarily absent for 

twelve months or less in long-term l 

care and the spouse is not a member of 

another public assistance budget unit; 

(2) The resources of a client and a financially 

responsible parent or parents shall be counted 

in the budget unit's reserve limit if:  

(A) the parents live together; or 

(B) one parent is temporarily absent for 12 

months or less in long-term care and 

the parent is not a member of another 

public assistance budget unit; 

(3) The resources of the parent or parents shall not 

be considered if a child under age 21 requires 

care and treatment in a medical institution and 

his or her physician certifies that the care and 

treatment are expected to exceed 12 months. 

(f)  For a married individual: 

(1) Resources available to the individual are 

available to his or her spouse who is a 

noninstitutionalized applicant or recipient and 

who is either living with the individual or 

temporarily absent for twelve months or less 

from the home, irrespective of the terms of any 

will, deed, contract, antenuptial agreement, or 

other agreement, and irrespective of whether or 

not the individual actually contributed the 

resources to the applicant or recipient. All 

resources available to an applicant or recipient 

under the rules of this Section must be 

considered by the county department of social 

services when determining his or her countable 

reserve. 

(2) For an institutionalized spouse as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 1396r-5(h), available resources shall be 

determined in accordance with 42 U.S.C. 

1396r-5(c), except as specified in Paragraph (g) 

of this Rule. 

(g)  For an institutionalized individual, the availability of 

resources shall be determined in accordance with 42 U.S.C. 

1396r-5. Resources of the community spouse shall not be counted 

for the institutionalized spouse when: 

(1) Resources of the community spouse cannot be 

determined or cannot be made available to the 

institutionalized spouse because the community 

spouse cannot be located by the county 

department of social services; or 

(2) The couple has been continuously separated for 

12 months at the time the institutionalized 

spouse enters the institution. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

55; 42 U.S.C. 1396r-5; 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(17); 42 U.S.C. 

1396a(a)(51); 42 C.F.R. 435.602; 42 C.F.R. 435.725; 42 C.F.R. 

435.726; 42 C.F.R. 435.733; 42 C.F.R. 435.735; 42 C.F.R. 

435.840; 42 C.F.R. 435.832; 42 C.F.R. 435.845; 45 C.F.R. 

233.20; 45 C.F.R. 233.51; Correll v. DSS/DMA/DHR, 418 S.E.2d 

232 (1992); Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, 453 U.S. 34, 101 S.Ct. 

2633, 69 L. Ed.2d 460 (1981); 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; November 1, 1994; September 1, 

1993; April 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 13, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 27, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 12, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0403 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0208 CALCULATING INCOME 

(a)  Income that is actually available and the client or someone 

acting in his or her behalf has the legal authority to make available 

for support and maintenance shall be counted as income. 

(b)  Only income actually available or predicted by the county 

department of social services to be available to the budget unit for 

the certification period, as defined in 10A NCAC 23A .0102, for 

which eligibility is being determined shall be counted as income. 

(c)  For aged, blind, and disabled cases allowable disregards from 

income shall be based on Title XVI of the Social Security Act. 

(d)  Deductions subtracted after allowable disregards shall be: 

(1) Incapacitated adult care not to exceed one 

hundred and seventy-five dollars ($175.00) per 

adult for Family and Children's medically 

needy cases. 

(2) Child care not to exceed one hundred and 

seventy-five dollars ($175.00) per child over 

two years of age or two hundred dollars 

($200.00) per child under two years of age for 

Family and Children's medically needy cases. 

(3) A standard deduction of ninety dollars ($90.00) 

from the total earned income of each budget 

unit member for Family and Children's 

medically needy cases. 

(4) For aged, blind, and disabled cases allowable 

deductions from income are based on Title XVI 

of the Social Security Act. 

(e)  Except for M-PW, as defined in 10A NCAC 23A .0102, the 

monthly amount of wages, income, and deductions shall be 
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calculated by converting the amount received by frequency into a 

monthly amount as follows:  

(1) If received weekly, multiply by 4.3. 

(2) If received bi-weekly, multiply by 2.15. 

(3) If received semi-monthly, multiply by 2. 

(4) If received monthly, use the monthly gross. 

(5) If salaried, and contract renewed annually, 

divide annual income by 12. 

(f)  For M-PW cases, the budget unit's actual income for the 

calendar month of eligibility shall be verified by the county 

department of social services.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 

108.54.1B; 42 C.F.R. 435.121; 42 C.F.R. 435.401; 42 C.F.R. 

435.603; 42 C.F.R. 435.831; 45 C.F.R. 435.845; 45 C.F.R. 

233.20; 45 C.F.R. 233.51; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1995; August 1, 1990; March 1, 1986; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 22, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0404 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0209 DEDUCTIBLE 

(a)  A deductible shall apply to a client in the following 

arrangements: 

(1) In private living quarters in the community;  

(2) In a residential group facility; or 

(3) In a long-term care living arrangement when 

the client: 

(A) Has enough income monthly to pay 

the Medicaid reimbursement rate for 

31 days, but does not have enough 

income to pay the private rate plus all 

other anticipated medical costs;  

(B) Is under a sanction due to a transfer of 

resources as specified in the Medicaid 

State Plan;  

(C) Does not yet have documented prior 

approval for Medicaid payment of 

nursing home care;  

(D) Resided in a facility in the facility's 

month of certification;  

(E) Chooses to remain in a decertified 

facility beyond the last date of 

Medicaid payment; or 

(F) Is under a Veterans Administration 

(VA) contract for payment of cost of 

care in the nursing home. 

(b)  The client or his or her representative shall be responsible for 

providing bills, receipts, insurance benefit statements, or 

Medicare EOBs to establish incurred medical expenses and his or 

her responsibility for payment. If the client has no representative 

and he or she is physically or mentally incapable of accepting this 

responsibility, the county department of social services shall assist 

him or her in obtaining verification.  

(c)  Expenses shall be applied to the deductible when they meet 

the following criteria: 

(1) They are for medical care or service recognized 

under State or federal tax law; 

(2) They are incurred by a budget unit member; and 

(3) They are incurred: 

(A) During the certification period for 

which eligibility is being determined 

and the requirements of Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule are met; or 

(B) Prior to the certification period and the 

requirements of Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule are met. 

(d)  Medical expenses incurred during the certification period 

shall be applied to the deductible if the requirements in Paragraph 

(c) of this Rule are met and: 

(1) The expenses are not subject to payment by any 

third party including insurance, government 

agency or program, except when the program is 

entirely funded by State or local government 

funds, or private source;  

(2) The private insurance has not paid the expenses 

by the end of the application time standard;  

(3) For certified cases, the insurance has not paid 

by the time that incurred expenses equal the 

deductible amount; or 

(4) The third party has paid and the client is 

responsible for a portion of the charges. 

(e)  The unpaid balance of a medical expense incurred prior to the 

certification period shall be applied to the deductible if the 

requirements in Paragraph (c) of this Rule are met and: 

(1) The medical expense was: 

(A) Incurred within 24 months 

immediately prior to: 

(i) The month of application for 

prospective or retroactive 

certification period or both; 

or 

(ii) The first month of any 

subsequent certification 

period; or 

(B) Incurred prior to the period described 

in Part (e)(1)(A) of this Rule, and a 

payment was made on the bill during 

that period; and 

(2) The medical expense: 

(A) Is a current liability; 

(B) Has not been applied to a previously 

met deductible; and 

(C) Insurance has paid any amount of the 

expense covered by the insurance. 

(f)  The county department of social services shall apply incurred 

medical expenses to the deductible in chronological order of 

charges except that: 

(1) If medical expenses for Medicaid covered 

services and non-covered services occur on the 

same date, apply charges for non-covered 

services first; 

(2) If both hospital and other covered medical 

services are incurred on the same date, apply 

hospital charges first; and 
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(3) If a portion of charges is still owed after 

insurance payment has been made for lump sum 

charges, compute incurred daily expense to be 

applied to the deductible as follows: 

(A) Determine the average daily charge, 

calculated by adding the charges and 

dividing by the number of days, 

excluding discharge date from 

hospitals;  

(B) Determine the average daily insurance 

payment, calculated by adding the 

insurance payments and dividing by 

the number of days, for the same 

number of days; and 

(C) Subtract average daily insurance 

payment from the average daily 

charge to establish client's daily 

responsibility. 

(g)  Eligibility shall begin on the day that incurred medical 

expenses reduce the deductible to $0, except that the client is 

financially liable for the portion of medical expenses incurred on 

the first day of eligibility that were applied to reduce the 

deductible to $0. If hospital charges were incurred on the first day 

of eligibility, notice of the amount of those charges applied to 

meet the deductible shall be sent to the hospital for deduction on 

the hospital's bill to Medicaid. 

(h)  The receipt of proof of medical expenses and other 

verification shall be documented by the county department of 

social services in the case record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.831; Alexander v. Flaherty, U.S.D.C., W.D.N.C., File 

Number C-C-74-483; Alexander v. Flaherty Consent Order filed 

February 14, 1992; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; September 1, 1993; April 1, 1993; 

August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0406 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0210 PATIENT LIABILITY 

(a)  Patient liability shall apply to clients who live in facilities for 

skilled nursing, intermediate nursing, intermediate care facility 

for individuals with an intellectual disability, or other medical 

institutions. 

(b)  The client's patient liability for cost of care shall be computed 

as a monthly amount after deducting the following from his or her 

total income: 

(1) An amount for his or her personal needs as 

established under the Medicaid State Plan;  

(2) Income given to the community spouse to 

provide him or her a total monthly income from 

all sources, equal to the "minimum monthly 

maintenance needs allowance" as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 1396r-5(d)(3)(A);  

(3) Income given to family members described in 

42 U.S.C. 1396r-5(d)(1), to provide each, from 

all sources of income, a total monthly income 

equal to: 

(A) One-third of the amount established 

under 42 U.S.C. 1396r-5(d)(3)(A)(i); 

or 

(B) Where there is no community spouse, 

an amount for the number of 

dependents, based on the income level 

for the corresponding budget unit 

number, as approved by the NC 

General Assembly and stated in the 

Appropriations Act for categorically 

and medically needy classifications; 

(4) The income maintenance level provided by 42 

U.S.C. 1396r-5(d)(3)(A)(i) or State statute for a 

single individual in a private living arrangement 

with no spouse or dependents at home, for 

whom the physician of record has provided a 

written statement that the required treatment is 

such that the patient is expected to return home 

within six months, shall be allowed by the 

county department of social services; and 

(5) An amount for unmet medical needs as 

determined under Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(c)  Patient liability shall apply to institutional charges incurred 

from the date of admission or the first day of the month and shall 

not be prorated by days if the client lives in more than one 

institution during the month. 

(d)  The county department of social services shall notify the 

client, the institution, and the State of the amount of the monthly 

liability and any changes or adjustments. 

(e)  When the patient liability as calculated in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule exceeds the Medicaid reimbursement rate for the 

institution for a 31-day month: 

(1) The patient liability shall be the institution's 

Medicaid reimbursement rate for a 31-day 

month; and  

(2) The client shall be placed on a deductible 

determined in accordance with regulations, 

Rules .0208 and .0209 of this Section, and the 

Medicaid State Plan.  

(f)  The amount deducted from income for unmet medical needs 

shall be determined as follows: 

(1) Unmet medical needs shall be the costs of: 

(A) Medical care covered by the program 

that exceeds limits on coverage of that 

care and is not subject to payment by a 

third party; 

(B) Medical care recognized under State 

and federal tax law that is not covered 

by the program and that is not subject 

to payment by a third party; and 

(C) Medicare and other health insurance 

premiums, deductibles, or coinsurance 

charges that are not subject to payment 

by a third party. 

(2) The amount of unmet medical needs deducted 

from the patient's monthly income shall be 

limited to monthly charges for Medicare and 

other health insurance premiums. 
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(3) The actual amount of incurred costs that are the 

patient's responsibility shall be deducted when 

reported from the patient's liability for one or 

more months. 

(4) Incurred costs shall be reported by the end of 

the six-month Medicaid certification period 

following the certification period in which they 

were incurred. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 435.733; 42 C.F.R. 435.831; 42 C.F.R. 435.832; 42 U.S.C. 

1396r-5; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1994; March 1, 1991; August 1, 1990; 

March 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0407 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23E .0211 ALIEN SPONSOR DEEMING 

(a)  For purposes of this Rule, a "sponsored alien" means an alien 

who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence sponsored by 

an individual who has signed an Affidavit of Support required by 

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.  

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, a "sponsor" means a person who 

signed an Affidavit of Support on behalf of an alien as a condition 

of the alien's entry or admission to the United States. The sponsor 

is financially responsible for the alien, and the sponsor's income 

shall be counted by the county department of social services in 

determining an alien's eligibility for medical assistance. 

(c)  An indigent alien shall be exempt from Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule if the sum of Subparagraphs (1), (2), and (3) of this 

Paragraph does not exceed 130 percent of the poverty income 

guidelines, which are incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions, available free of charge at 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.  

(1) The sum of the sponsored alien's own income; 

(2) The cash contributions of the sponsor and 

others; and 

(3) The value of any in-kind assistance the sponsor 

and others provide the alien. 

(d)  The countable income of a sponsor shall be determined in 

accordance with Rules .0203 and .0208 of this Section and the 

Medicaid State Plan.  

(e)  The countable resources of a sponsor shall be determined in 

accordance with Rules .0202 and .0207 of this Section. 

(f)  Verification, as defined by 10A NCAC 23A .0102, by a third 

party shall be required for: 

(1) sponsorship; 

(2) a sponsor's income; and 

(3) a sponsor's resources. 

The application shall be denied if verification is not received by 

the processing deadline set out in 42 C.F.R. 435.912.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B; 108A-55; P.L. 104-208, Title II; P.L. 105-33, Title IV;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 3, 2003; 

Eff. March 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0410 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0101 CERTIFICATION AND 

AUTHORIZATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.112; 42 

C.F.R. 435.914; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0405 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0201 GENERAL 

(a)  The county department of social services shall correct prior 

actions according to Rules .0202 and .0203 in this Section when 

the county department of social services discovers that prior 

actions were eligibility errors, as defined by 42 CFR 431.804, 

which is incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments 

and editions, available free of charge at https://www.ecfr.gov/, or 

the recipient's circumstances have changed from the last 

eligibility determination.  

(b)  Information leading to corrections may be reported by the 

recipient, medical providers, State agencies, or any other source 

with knowledge about the recipient's circumstances that impact 

eligibility.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 431.246; 42 C.F.R. 435.916; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0601 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0202 CORRECTIVE ACTIONS 

(a)  Corrections in an applicant's or recipient's case shall be made 

by the county department of social services when: 

(1) An individual was discouraged from filing an 

application, as described in 10A NCAC 23C 

.0101;  

(2) An appeal or court decision overturns an earlier 

adverse decision;  

(3) The certification periods of financially 

responsible persons need to be adjusted to 

coincide with the individual's certification 

period;  

(4) Information received from any source 

undergoes verification, as defined in 10A 

NCAC 23A .0102, by the county department of 

social services and is found to change the 

amount of the recipient's deductible, patient 

liability, authorization period, or otherwise 

affect the recipient's eligibility status;  

(5) Additional medical bills or medical expenses 

that are verified by the county department of 

social services establish an earlier Medicaid 

effective date;  

(6) The agency made an administrative error 

including:  

(A) An eligibility error, as defined by 42 

CFR 431.804, that resulted in 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

35 

assistance being incorrectly 

terminated or denied;  

(B) Failure to act on information received; 

or 

(C) Incorrect determination of the 

authorization period, Medicaid 

effective date, or erroneous data entry;  

(7) Monitoring of application processing by the 

Division of Health Benefits (Division), as 

required by 42 C.F.R. 431, Subpart P, shows an 

application was denied, withdrawn, or a person 

was discouraged from applying for assistance; 

or  

(8) The Division determines the county failed to 

follow federal regulations or State rules to 

authorize eligibility. 

(b)  Corrections in an applicant's or recipient's case shall be made 

by the Division when: 

(1) Information is received from county 

departments of social services, medical 

providers, the public, clients, or Division staff 

showing that a terminated case has errors in the 

Medicaid eligibility segments, Medicare Buy-

In effective date, eligible household members, 

Community Alternatives Program (CAP) 

indicators and effective dates, or other data that 

is causing valid claims to be denied;  

(2) The county department of social services fails 

to take required corrective actions; or 

(3) An audit report from State auditors or the 

Division shows verified errors in the Medicaid 

eligibility history.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 42 

C.F.R. 431.246; 42 C.F.R. 431, Subpart P; 42 C.F.R. 435.903;  

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0602 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0204 RESPONSIBILITY FOR ERRORS 

(a)  The Division shall be financially responsible for costs 

resulting from the erroneous issuance of benefits and Medicaid 

claims payments when: 

(1) Policy guidance given by the Division or its 

agents is erroneous and the Division determines 

that is the sole cause of any erroneous benefits 

or payments;  

(2) A systems failure at the State computer center 

occurs on the last cutoff date of the month 

preventing the county DSS from data entering 

case terminations or adverse actions; or 

(3) Any other failure or error the Division 

determines is attributable solely to the State 

occurs. 

(b)  The county department of social services shall be financially 

responsible for costs resulting from the erroneous issuance of 

benefits and Medicaid claims payments when it: 

(1) Authorizes retroactive eligibility outside the 

dates permitted by federal regulations or Rule 

.0203 of this Section;  

(2) Fails to send required notices of patient liability 

or deductible balance to medical providers; 

(3) Fails to end-date special coverage indicators 

such as Community Alternatives Program 

(CAP) in the State eligibility information 

system;  

(4) Enters an authorization date in the eligibility 

system that is earlier than the effective date of 

eligibility;  

(5) Fails to determine the availability of or fails to 

enter data on third-party resource information 

in the State eligibility information system;  

(6) Terminates a case or individual after the 

Medicaid ID card has been issued;  

(7) Fails to initiate application for Medicare Part B 

coverage for recipients who are eligible, but 

refuse or are unable to apply for themselves; or 

(8) Takes any other action that requires payment of 

Medicaid claims for an ineligible individual, for 

ineligible dates, or for an amount that includes 

a recipient's liability and for which the State 

cannot claim federal participation. 

(c)  The amounts to be charged back shall be determined pursuant 

to G. S. 108A-25.1A(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25.1A; 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B; 42 C.F.R. 433.32; 42 C.F.R. 435.903;  

Eff. June 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1992; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0604 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23G .0303 RECOMMENDATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 435.919; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21B .0503 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0106 LIABILITY OF PERSONS WITH 

ACCESS 

(a)  Failure to comply with the rules in this Subchapter is unlawful 

pursuant to G.S. 108A-80. 

(b)  Individuals employed by the Division and county departments 

of social services and governed by the State Personnel Act are 

subject to suspension, dismissal, or disciplinary action for failure 

to comply with these Rules. 

(c)  Individuals other than employees, including volunteers and 

students who are agents of the Department of Health and Human 

Services and who have access to client information, shall be liable 

in the same manner as employees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 42 C.F.R. 431, Subpart F;  

Eff. September 1, 1984; 
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Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0406 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0107 RIGHT OF ACCESS 

(a)  An individual has the right to obtain information about his or 

her own case. Upon written or verbal request, the client shall be 

able to review or obtain without charge a copy of the information 

in his or her records with the following exceptions: 

(1) Information that the agency is required to keep 

confidential by State or federal statutes, rules, 

or regulations; 

(2) Confidential information originating from 

another agency as set forth in Rule .0104 of this 

Section; and  

(3) Information that would breach another 

individual's right to confidentiality under State 

or federal statutes, rules, or regulations as 

determined by the Division or the county 

department of social services.  

(b)  The agency shall provide access within five business days.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 42 C.F.R. 431.306; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0407 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0108 WITHHOLDING 

INFORMATION FROM THE CLIENT 

(a)  When the director or a delegated representative determines on 

the basis of the exceptions in Rule .0107 of this Section to 

withhold information from the client, this reason shall be 

documented in the client record. 

(b)  The director or delegated representative shall inform the client 

that information is being withheld, and upon which of the 

exceptions specified in Rule .0107 of this Section the decision to 

withhold the information is based. If confidential information 

originating from another agency is being withheld, the client shall 

be referred to that agency for access to the information. 

(c)  When a delegated representative determines to withhold client 

information, the decision to withhold shall be reviewed by the 

supervisor of the person making the initial determination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0408 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0110 CONSENT FOR RELEASE 

(a)  As a part of the application process for Medicaid, the client 

shall be informed of the need for and give consent to release of 

information for verification of statements to establish eligibility. 

(b)  No individual shall release any client information that is 

owned by the Division of Health Benefits or the county 

departments of social services, or request the release of 

information regarding the client from other agencies or 

individuals, without obtaining a signed consent for release of 

information. The procedure for disclosure without obtaining 

consent shall be in accordance with Rule .0111 of this Section. 

(c)  The consent for release of information shall contain the 

following: 

(1) The name of the provider and the recipient of 

the information; 

(2) The extent of information to be released; 

(3) The name and dated signature of the client; 

(4) A statement that the consent is subject to 

revocation at any time except to the extent that 

action has been taken in reliance on the consent; 

and 

(5) The length of time the consent is valid. 

(d)  The client may alter the form to contain other information, 

including:  

(1) A statement specifying the date, event, or 

condition upon which the consent may expire 

even if the client does not expressly revoke the 

consent; or 

(2) A specific purpose for the release. 

(e)  The following persons may consent to the release of 

information: 

(1) The client; 

(2) The legal guardian if the client has been judged 

incompetent; or 

(3) The county department of social services if the 

client is a minor and in the custody of the 

county department of social services. 

(f)  Prior to obtaining a consent for release of information, the 

director or delegated representative shall explain the meaning of 

informed consent. The client shall be told the following: 

(1) Contents to be released; 

(2) That the information is needed to verify 

eligibility;  

(3) That the client can give or withhold the consent 

and the consent is voluntary; and 

(4) That there are statutes, rules, and regulations 

protecting the confidentiality of the 

information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 42 C.F.R. 431.304; 42 C.F.R. 431.306; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0410 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0111 DISCLOSURE WITHOUT 

CLIENT CONSENT 

(a)  Client information from the Medicaid record may be disclosed 

without the consent of the client under the following 

circumstances: 

(1) To other employees of the county department 

of social services for purpose of making 

referrals, supervision, consultation, or 

determination of eligibility; 
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(2) To other county departments of social services 

when the client moves to that county and 

requests Medicaid; 

(3) Between the county departments of social 

services and the Division of Health Benefits for 

purposes of supervision and reporting. 

(b)  Client information may be disclosed without client consent to 

individuals approved by the Division to conduct studies of client 

records. The request to conduct the study shall be in writing, and 

shall be approved based upon: 

(1) An explanation of how the findings of the study 

are expected to expand knowledge and improve 

professional practices among those who work 

in the field studied; 

(2) A description of how the study will be 

conducted and how the findings will be used; 

(3) The individual's credentials in the area of 

investigation; 

(4) A description of how the individual will 

safeguard the information; and 

(5) An assurance that no report will contain the 

names of individuals or other information that 

makes individuals identifiable. 

(c)  Client information may be disclosed without consent to 

federal, State , or county employees for the purpose of monitoring, 

auditing, evaluating, or to facilitate the administration of other 

State and federal programs, provided that the need for the 

disclosure of confidential information is justifiable for the 

purpose and that adequate safeguards, as described in 42 C.F.R. 

431.300, which is incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and available free of charge at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/, are maintained to protect the information 

from re-disclosure. 

(d)  Client information may be disclosed without consent for 

purposes of complying with other State and federal statutes, rules, 

and regulations and court orders. 

(e)  When information is released without the client's consent, the 

client shall be informed of the disclosure in writing to explain 

what information was released, how it was released, and how to 

contact the privacy official. The writing informing the client of 

the disclosure shall be documented in the record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 42 C.F.R. 431.306; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0411 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 23H .0112 DOCUMENTATION OF 

CONSENT OR DISCLOSURE 

Whenever client information is disclosed in accordance with rules 

of this Subchapter, the director or delegated representative shall 

document the disclosure in the client record. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

80; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0412 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

10A NCAC 23H .0113 PERSONS DESIGNATED TO 

DISCLOSE INFORMATION 

Only directors of county departments of social services and their 

designated representatives may disclose client information in 

accordance with rules of this Subchapter. The process for 

delegation is set out in G.S. 108A-14(b). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

14(b); 108A-80; 

Eff. September 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 21A .0413 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 25A .0201 MEDICAL SERVICES 

Pursuant to the State Plan, all medical services performed shall be 

medically necessary and may not be experimental in nature. 

Medical necessity shall be determined by generally accepted 

North Carolina community practice standards as verified by 

independent Medicaid consultants. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B; 42 C.F.R. 440.230(d); 

Eff. March 1, 1990; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0301 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25H .0203 STANDARDS FOR 

PARTICIPATION 

(a)  Dentists who provide services under the Medicaid program 

shall meet the following standards: 

(1) be licensed by the appropriate state authority; 

(2) comply with State and federal statutes, rules, 

and regulations of the Medicaid program; and 

(3) agree that the State Medicaid Agency or its 

designated agents may audit Medicaid dental 

records. 

(b)  Dentists who provide services under the Medicaid program 

shall ensure all services:  

(1) are offered in accordance with Title VI of the 

1964 Civil Rights Act, which is incorporated by 

reference with subsequent amendments and 

editions and available free of charge at 

http://uscode.house.gov/;  

(2) are offered in accordance with Section 504 of 

the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, which is 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and available free of 

charge at http://uscode.house.gov/; and  

(3) are within accepted dental standards for quality 

in the community and medically necessary 

pursuant to 10A NCAC 25A .0201.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 108A-

54.1B;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

38 

Amended Eff. February 29, 1980; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0202 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25K .0201 PHARMACY SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.26; 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 

42 C.F.R. 440.90; 42 CFR 447.331; S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 

U.S.C. 1396r-8(d)(1)(A); S.L 2009-451; 

Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0116 Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0117 Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0118 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25K .0401 PATIENT COUNSELING 

(a)  Rule 21 NCAC 46 .2504, as adopted by the North Carolina 

Board of Pharmacy, shall apply to Medicaid, and is hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions.  

(b)  If a pharmacy fails to comply with the requirements of 21 

NCAC 46 .2504, any claim for reimbursement associated with the 

pharmacy's non-compliance shall be denied, or if already paid, 

shall be recouped. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-54.1B; 108A-

68; 42 U.S.C. 1396r-8(g)(2)(A)(ii); 

Eff. June 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2010; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22M .0201 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25M .0201 INPATIENT HOSPITAL 

SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; S.L. 

1985, c. 479, s. 86; 42 C.F.R. 440.10; 42 C.F.R. 440.230(d); 42 

C.F.R.447.253; 42 C.F.R. 456.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1986; August 1, 1986; October 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 15, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 28, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 29, 2001; 

Paragraphs (a)-(d) transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0401 Eff. 

May 1, 2012. 

Paragraph (e) transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0114 Eff. May 

1, 2012 (Previously recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0112 Eff. 

October 1, 1993 and recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0113 Eff. 

January 1, 1998);  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25P .0201 INPATIENT HOSPITAL 

SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); S.L. 1985, c. 479, s. 

86; 42 C.F.R. 440.230(d); 42 C.F.R.447.253; 42 C.F.R. 456.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1986; August 1, 1986; October 1, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 15, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 28, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Expired June 29, 2001; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0401(e) Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25P .0301 OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL 

SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 42 C.F.R. 440.20; 

42 C.F.R. 440.230(d); 42 C.F.R. 456.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1986; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0402 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 25P .0402 CLINIC SERVICES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-25(b); 108A-54; 42 C.F.R. 

440.20; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1984; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0113 Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Recodified from 10 NCAC 26B .0114 Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 10A NCAC 22O .0115 Eff. May 1, 2012;  

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0503 TIME 

REQ/COMPLETION/BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT 

TRAINING COURSE 

(a)  Each deputy sheriff holding temporary or probationary 

certification shall complete a Commission-certified basic training 

course pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0405, within one year from the 

date of his or her Oath of Office. Any deputy sheriff who does not 

comply with this Rule or other training provisions of this Chapter 

shall not exercise the powers of a deputy sheriff, including the 

power of arrest. If, however, an officer has enrolled in a 

Commission-certified basic law enforcement training program 

that concludes later than the end of the officer's probationary 

period, the Commission may extend the probationary period for a 

period not to exceed 12 months. In determining whether to grant 

an extension, the Commission shall consider the circumstances 

that created the need for the extension. 

(b)  Any person who has completed a Commission-certified basic 

law enforcement training program, but has not been duly 

appointed and certified in a sworn law enforcement position 

within one year of completion of the course, shall complete a 
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subsequent Commission-certified basic recruit training program 

and pass the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 

month probationary period. The Director shall waive this 

requirement and accept a course that was completed outside of the 

one year time period as set forth in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

unless he or she determines that a delay in applying for 

certification was due to negligence on the part of the applicant or 

employing agency. The extension of the one year period shall not 

exceed 30 days from the expiration date of a commission-certified 

basic training program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2006; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; 

January 1, 1991; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0601 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): PURPOSE 

(a)  The Goose Creek watershed in the Yadkin Pee-Dee River 

Basin provides habitat for an aquatic animal species that is listed 

as federally endangered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

under the provisions of the Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C. 

1531-1544. Maintenance and recovery of the water quality 

conditions required to sustain and recover the federally-listed 

endangered species protects the biological integrity of the waters. 

The Goose Creek watershed, which includes Goose Creek (Index 

# 13-17-18), Stevens Creek (Index # 13-17-18-1), Paddle Branch 

(Index # 13-17-18-2), Duck Creek (Index # 13-17-18-3), and all 

tributaries, shall be protected by the site-specific management 

strategy described in Rules .0601 through .0608 of this Section. 

(b)  The purpose of the actions required by this site-specific 

management strategy is for the maintenance and recovery of the 

water quality conditions required to sustain and recover the 

federally endangered Carolina heelsplitter (Lasmigona decorata) 

species. Management of the streamside zones to stabilize 

streambanks and prevent sedimentation are critical measures to 

restore water quality to sustain and enable recovery of the 

federally endangered Carolina heelsplitter. Site-specific 

management strategies shall be implemented to: 

(1) control stormwater for projects disturbing one 

acre or more of land as described in Rule .0602 

of this Section; 

(2) control wastewater discharges as described in 

Rule .0603 of this Section; 

(3) control toxicity to streams supporting the 

Carolina heelsplitter as described in Rule .0604 

of this Section; and 

(4) maintain riparian buffers as described in Rules 

.0605 through .0608 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(c); 143-215.8A; 

Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0602 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): STORMWATER CONTROL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Any new development activity that disturbs one acre or more 

of land within the Goose Creek watershed and will add built-upon 

area shall control and treat the difference in the stormwater runoff 

from the predevelopment and post-development conditions for the 

one-year, 24-hour storm, with stormwater control measures 

(SCMs), with the exception of NC Department of Transportation 

activities that shall be regulated in accordance with provisions of 

that agency's National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(NPDES) Stormwater Permit. Development and redevelopment 

shall implement stormwater management measures that promote 

infiltration of flows and groundwater recharge for the purpose of 

maintaining stream base flow or the delegated local government 

shall maintain a written explanation when it is not practical to use 

infiltration methods. 

(b)  SCMs shall meet the relevant Minimum Design Criteria 

(MDC) set forth in 15A NCAC 02H .1050 through .1062. 

(c)  Local governments may submit a written request to the 

Commission for delegation authority to implement and enforce 

the State's stormwater protection requirements of G.S. 143-214.7 

and S.L. 2006-246 within their jurisdiction. The written request 

shall be accompanied by information that shows: 

(1) The local government has land use jurisdiction 

for the riparian buffer demonstrated by 

delineating the local land use jurisdictional 

boundary on USGS 1:24,000 topographical 

map(s) or other finer scale map(s); 

(2) The local government has the administrative 

organization, staff, legal authority, financial, 

and other resources necessary to implement and 

enforce the State's stormwater requirements 

based on its size and projected amount of 

development; 

(3) The local government has adopted ordinances, 

resolutions, or regulations to establish and 

maintain the State's stormwater requirements; 

and 

(4) The local government has provided a plan to 

address violations with civil or criminal 

remedies and actions, as well as remedies that 

shall restore buffer functions on violation sites 

and provide a deterrent against the occurrence 

of future violations. 

(d)  Within 90 days after the Commission has received the request 

for delegation, the Commission shall notify the local government 

based on standards as set out in Paragraph (c) of this Rule whether 

it has been approved, approved with modifications, or denied. 

(e)  The Commission, upon determination that a delegated local 

authority is failing to implement or enforce the requirements in 

keeping with a delegation, shall notify the delegated local 

authority in writing of the local program's deficiencies. If the 
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delegated local authority has not corrected the deficiencies within 

90 days of receipt of the written notification, then the Commission 

shall rescind the delegation of authority to the local government 

and shall implement and enforce the state's stormwater 

requirements. 

(f)  The Division shall have jurisdiction to the exclusion of local 

governments to implement the state's stormwater protection 

requirements for the following types of activities: 

(1) Activities undertaken by the State; 

(2) Activities undertaken by the United States; 

(3) Activities undertaken by multiple jurisdictions; 

and 

(4) Activities undertaken by units of local 

government. 

(g)  Delegated local authorities shall maintain on-site records for 

a minimum of five years and shall furnish a copy of these records 

to the Director within 30 days of receipt of a written request for 

them. The Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land Resources shall 

audit local stormwater programs to ensure that the programs are 

being implemented and enforced in keeping with an approved 

delegation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143-215.8A; S.L. 2006-246; 

Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0603 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): WASTEWATER CONTROL REQUIREMENTS 

No new National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

"NPDES" wastewater discharges or expansions to existing 

discharges shall be permitted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 

Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0604 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): CONTROL TOXICITY INCLUDING AMMONIA 

No activity that results in direct or indirect discharge shall be 

allowed if it causes toxicity to the Carolina heelsplitter 

(Lasmigona decorata) endangered mussel. For any direct or 

indirect discharge that is determined by the Division to cause 

ammonia toxicity to the Carolina heelsplitter freshwater mussel, 

action shall be taken to reduce ammonia (NH3-N) inputs to 

achieve 0.5 milligrams per liter or less of total ammonia based on 

chronic toxicity defined in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. This 

level of total ammonia is based on ambient water temperature 

equal to or greater than 25 degrees Celsius. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 

Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 02B .0605 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): RIPARIAN BUFFER WIDTHS 

In the Goose Creek watershed, riparian buffers are required within 

200 feet of waterbodies within the 100-Year Floodplain and 

within 100 feet of waterbodies that are not within the 100-Year 

Floodplain. The 100-Year Floodplain is the one percent Annual 

Chance Floodplain as delineated by the North Carolina 

Floodplain Mapping Program in the Department of Public Safety. 

The riparian buffer shall consist of a vegetated area that is 

undisturbed except for uses provided in Rule .0607 of this Section.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 

Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0606 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): AUTHORIZATION CERTIFICATES 

(a)  PURPOSE. The following requirements shall apply to persons 

who wish to undertake uses designated as allowable upon 

authorization, allowable with mitigation upon authorization, or 

allowable with exception within the protected riparian buffer area 

as specified in Rule .0607 of this Section.  

(b)  AUTHORIZATION CERTIFICATES. Persons who wish to 

undertake uses designated in Rule .0607 of this Section as 

allowable upon authorization or allowable with mitigation upon 

authorization shall submit an application requesting an 

Authorization Certificate from the Authority. 

(1) The application shall specify: 

(A) The name, address, and phone number 

of the applicant; 

(B) If the applicant is not the property 

owner(s), the name, address, and 

phone number of the property owner;  

(C) If the applicant is a corporation, the 

name and address of the North 

Carolina process agency, and the 

name, address, and phone number of 

the individual who is the authorized 

agent of the corporation and 

responsible for the activity for which 

certification is sought. The 

corporation must be authorized to do 

business in NC; 

(D) The nature of the activity to be 

conducted by the applicant; 

(E) The location of the activity, including 

the jurisdiction; 

(F) A map that is legible to the reviewer 

and of sufficient detail to delineate the 

boundaries of the land to be utilized in 

carrying out the activity, the location 

and dimensions of any disturbance in 

riparian buffers associated with the 
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activity, and the extent of riparian 

buffers on the land; 

(G) An explanation of why this plan for 

the activity cannot be practically 

accomplished, reduced, relocated, or 

reconfigured to avoid or better 

minimize disturbance to the riparian 

buffer, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; 

(H) Plans for any best management 

practices proposed to be used to 

control the impacts associated with the 

activity; and 

(I) For uses designated as allowable with 

mitigation upon authorization or 

allowable with exception, a mitigation 

proposal in accordance with Rule 

.0295 of this Subchapter. 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate that the project 

meets all the following criteria:  

(A) The basic project purpose cannot be 

practically accomplished in a manner 

that would avoid or better minimize 

disturbance, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; 

(B) The use cannot practically be reduced 

in size or density, reconfigured or 

redesigned to better minimize 

disturbance, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; and 

(C) Best management practices shall be 

used to minimize disturbance, 

preserve aquatic life and habitat, and 

protect water quality. 

(3) The Authority shall consider whether the 

proposed impacts may affect conditions 

required to sustain and recover the federally 

endangered Carolina heelsplitter (Lasmigona 

decorata). 

(4) The Authority shall issue an Authorization 

Certificate, deny the application, or request 

additional information within 60 calendar days 

after receipt of an application that meets the 

requirements as described in Subparagraph 

(b)(1) through (b)(3) of this Rule. When the 

Authority requests additional information, the 

60-day review period restarts upon receipt of all 

of the additional information requested by the 

Authority. Failure to issue the Authorization 

Certificate, deny the application, or request 

additional information within 60 calendar days 

shall be construed as issuance of an 

Authorization Certificate by the Authority to 

the applicant unless one of the following 

occurs: 

(A) The applicant agrees, in writing, to a 

longer period; 

(B) The applicant fails to furnish 

information necessary for the 

Authority's decision; 

(C) The applicant refuses Authority staff 

access to its records or premises for 

the purpose of gathering information 

necessary for the Authority's decision; 

or 

(D) Information necessary for the 

Authority's decision is unavailable. 

(5) The Authority may attach conditions to the 

Authorization Certificate that ensure 

compliance with the riparian buffer protection 

program. 

(6) Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates issued by the Division shall be 

made pursuant to G.S. 150B. Request for 

appeals of Authorization Certificates issued by 

the delegated local authority shall be made 

pursuant to the local authority's ordinance. 

(c)  AUTHORIZATION CERTIFICATES WITH 

EXCEPTIONS. Persons who wish to undertake uses designated 

in Rule .0607 of this Section as allowable with exception shall 

submit an application requesting an Authorization Certificate with 

Exception. The Authorization Certificate with Exception review 

procedure shall be as follows: 

(1) All of the following conditions must be met in 

order to qualify for an Authorization Certificate 

with Exception: 

(A) There are practical difficulties or 

unnecessary hardships that prevent 

compliance with the riparian buffer 

protection requirements.  

(B) If the applicant complies with the 

provisions of the riparian buffer 

requirements, he or she can secure no 

reasonable return from, nor make 

reasonable use of, his or her property. 

Merely proving that the Authorization 

Certificate with Exception would 

allow a greater profit from the 

property shall not be considered 

adequate justification for an 

Authorization Certificate with 

Exception. Moreover, the Authority 

shall consider whether the 

Authorization Certificate with 

Exception is the minimum possible 

deviation from the terms of the 

riparian buffer requirements that will 

make reasonable use of the property 

possible. 

(C) The hardship is due to the physical 

nature of the applicant's property, such 

as its size, shape, or topography. 

(D) The applicant did not cause the 

hardship. 

(E) The requested Authorization 

Certificate with Exception is 
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consistent with the general spirit, 

purpose, and intent of the State's 

riparian buffer protection 

requirements, will protect water 

quality, will secure public safety and 

welfare, and will preserve substantial 

justice. 

(2) MINOR EXCEPTIONS. An Authorization 

Certificate with Minor Exception request 

pertains to allowable with exception activities 

that are proposed to impact equal to or less than 

one-third of an acre of riparian buffer. 

(A) Authorization Certificate with Minor 

Exception requests shall be reviewed 

based on the criteria in Paragraph (b) 

and Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(B) Within 60 calendar days of receipt of 

a complete application package that 

addresses Subparagraphs (b)(1), 

(b)(2), and (c)(1) of this Rule, the 

Authority shall issue an Authorization 

Certificate with Minor Exception if 

the Authority determines that the 

criteria in Subparagraph (b)(2) and 

(c)(1) of this Rule have been met and 

the applicant satisfies other applicable 

requirements as described in 

Paragraph (b) and Subparagraph (c)(1) 

of this Rule. If the Authority 

determines that all of the requirements 

in Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (c)(1) of 

this Rule have not been met, the 

Authority shall issue a final decision 

denying the Authorization Certificate 

with Minor Exception. 

(3) MAJOR EXCEPTIONS. An Authorization 

Certificate with Major Exception request 

pertains to allowable with exception activities 

that are proposed to impact greater than one-

third of an acre of the riparian buffer.  

(A) Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception requests shall be reviewed 

based on the criteria in Paragraph (b) 

and Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(B) Within 60 calendar days of receipt of 

a complete application package that 

addresses Subparagraphs (b)(1), (b)(2) 

and (c)(1) of this Rule, the Authority 

shall prepare a preliminary finding as 

to whether the criteria in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2), and (c)(1) of 

this Rule have been met.  

(C) Notice of each pending complete 

application for an Authorization 

Certificate with Major Exception, 

including the preliminary findings 

prepared by the Authority, shall be 

posted on the Division's website and 

sent to all individuals on the Mailing 

List, as described in 15A NCAC 02H 

.0503 (g), at least 30 calendar days 

prior to proposed final action by the 

Authority on the application. If the 

Authority is not the Division, then the 

Authority shall forward the required 

notice information to the Division for 

posting. 

(D) Within 60 calendar days following the 

notice as described in Part (c)(3)(C) of 

this Rule, upon the Authority's 

determination that all of the 

requirements in Subparagraphs (b)(2) 

and (c)(1) of this Rule have been met, 

the Authority shall issue an 

Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception. If the Authority determines 

that all of the requirements in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (c)(1) of this 

Rule have not been met, the Authority 

shall issue a final decision denying the 

Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception.  

(4) The Authority may attach conditions to the 

Authorization Certificate with Exception that 

ensure compliance with the riparian buffer 

protection program. 

(5) Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates with Exception issued by the 

Division shall be made pursuant to G.S. 150B. 

Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates with Exception issued by the 

delegated local authority shall be made 

pursuant to the local authority's ordinance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 

Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. (The provisions 

of paragraph (b) of this Rule were previously codified in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0607(e)). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0608 SITE SPECIFIC WATER 

QUALITY MANAGEMENT PLAN FOR THE GOOSE 

CREEK WATERSHED (YADKIN PEE-DEE RIVER 

BASIN): MANAGE ACTIVITIES WITHIN RIPARIAN 

BUFFERS: FOREST HARVESTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  PURPOSE. The following requirements shall apply to all 

forest harvesting operations and forestry-related land-disturbing 

activities subject to riparian buffer requirements under Rules 

.0601 through .0608 of this Section. 

(b)  REQUIREMENTS THROUGHOUT THE BUFFER. The 

following requirements shall apply: 

(1) All forest harvest activities within the buffer 

shall comply with Forest Practices Guidelines 

Related to Water Quality as defined in 02 

NCAC 60C; 

(2) Logging decks and sawmill sites shall not be 

placed in the riparian buffer; 
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(3) Timber felling shall be directed away from the 

stream or water body; 

(4) Skidding shall be directed away from the 

stream or water body and shall be done in a 

manner that minimizes soil disturbance and 

prevents the creation of channels or ruts; 

(5) Individual trees may be treated to maintain or 

improve their health, form, or vigor; 

(6) Harvesting of dead or infected trees or 

application of pesticides necessary to prevent or 

control extensive tree pest and disease 

infestation is allowed, when approved by the 

North Carolina Forest Service for a specific site 

in accordance with G.S. 106-920 through G.S. 

106-926. The North Carolina Forest Service 

must notify the Division of all approvals within 

60 calendar days; 

(7) Removal of individual trees that are in danger 

of causing damage to structures or human life is 

allowed; 

(8) Natural regeneration of forest vegetation and 

planting of trees, shrubs, or ground cover plants 

to enhance the riparian buffer is allowed 

provided that the soil disturbance is minimized; 

. 

(9) Prescribed burns shall be allowed when 

conducted for forest management purposes; and 

(10) A one-time fertilizer application at agronomic 

rates in the riparian buffer is allowed to 

establish replanted vegetation. No runoff from 

this one-time application in the riparian buffer 

is allowed in the surface water. 

(c)  SELECTIVE HARVEST. Selective forest harvesting is 

allowed provided that:  

(1) The forest lands have a deferment for use value 

under forestry in accordance with G.S. 105-

277.2 through 277.6 or the forest lands have a 

forest management plan prepared or approved 

by a registered professional forester. Copies of 

either the approval of the deferment for use 

value under forestry or the forest management 

plan shall be produced upon request by the 

North Carolina Forest Service or the Division; 

(2) Tracked or wheeled vehicles are only used for 

the purpose of selective timber harvesting 

where there is no other practical alternative for 

removal of individual trees; 

(3) No tracked or wheeled vehicles shall be used to 

conduct site preparation activities; 

(4) Trees are removed in a manner that minimizes 

disturbance to the soil and remaining 

vegetation; 

(5) The first 10 feet of the riparian buffer directly 

adjacent to the stream or waterbody shall be 

undisturbed, except for the removal of 

individual high value trees. The removal of 

individual high value trees shall only be 

allowed provided that no trees with exposed 

roots visible in the streambank are cut, unless 

they meet Subparagraphs (b)(6) or (b)(7) of this 

Rule; 

(6) In the area from 10 feet to 50 feet of the riparian 

buffer, a maximum of 50 percent of the trees 

greater than five inches diameter breast height 

(DBH) may be cut and removed. The reentry 

time for harvest shall be no more frequent than 

every 15 years, except on forest plantations as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0610, where the 

reentry time shall be no more frequent than 

every five years. In either case, the trees 

remaining after harvest shall be as evenly 

spaced as possible; and 

(7) In the outer riparian buffer (landward of 50 

feet), harvesting and regeneration of the forest 

stand shall be allowed, provided that ground 

cover is established and maintained to provide 

for diffusion and infiltration of surface runoff. 

(d)  EXCEPTIONS. Persons who wish to undertake forest 

harvesting operations or practices different from the requirements 

set forth in this Rule may request an Authorization Certificate 

with Exception pursuant to Rule .0606 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.8A; 

Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0610 MANAGING ACTIVITIES 

WITHIN RIPARIAN BUFFERS: DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the following words and phrases 

shall mean: 

(1) "Airport Facilities" means all properties, 

facilities, buildings, structures, and activities 

that satisfy or otherwise fall within the scope of 

one or more of the definitions or uses of the 

words or phrases "air navigation facility," 

"airport," or "airport protection privileges" 

under G.S. 63-1; the definition of "aeronautical 

facilities" in G.S. 63-79(1); the phrase "airport 

facilities" as used in G.S. 159-48(b)(1); the 

phrase "aeronautical facilities" as defined in 

G.S. 159-81 and G.S. 159-97; and the phrase 

"airport facilities and improvements" as used in 

Article V, Section 13, of the North Carolina 

Constitution. The term shall include:  

(a) airports; 

(b) airport maintenance facilities; 

(c) aeronautic industrial facilities that 

require direct access to the airfield; 

(d) clear zones; 

(e) drainage ditches; 

(f) fields; 

(g) hangars; 

(h) landing lighting; 

(i) airport and airport-related offices; 

(j) parking facilities; 

(k) related navigational and signal 

systems; 
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(l) runways; 

(m) stormwater outfalls; 

(n) terminals; 

(o) terminal shops; 

(p) all appurtenant areas used or suitable 

for airport buildings or other airport 

facilities; and 

(q) all appurtenant rights-of-way; 

restricted landing areas; any 

structures, mechanisms, lights, 

beacons, marks, communicating 

systems, or other instrumentalities or 

devices used or useful as an aid, or 

constituting an advantage or 

convenience to the safe taking off, 

navigation, and landing of aircraft, or 

the safe and efficient operation or 

maintenance of an airport or restricted 

landing area; easements through, or 

interests in, air space over land or 

water, interests in airport hazards 

outside the boundaries of airports or 

restricted landing areas, and other 

protection privileges, the acquisition 

or control of which is necessary to 

ensure safe approaches to the landing 

areas of airports and restricted landing 

areas, and the safe operation thereof 

and any combination of any or all of 

such facilities.  

The following shall not be included in the 

definition of "airport facilities": Satellite 

parking facilities; retail and commercial 

development outside of the terminal area, such 

as rental car facilities; and other secondary 

development, such as hotels, industrial 

facilities, free-standing offices and other 

similar buildings, so long as these facilities are 

not directly associated with the operation of the 

airport, and are not operated by a unit of 

government or special governmental entity 

such as an airport authority, in which case they 

are included in the definition of "airport 

facilities." 

(2) "Archaeological activities" means activities 

conducted by a Registered Professional 

Archaeologist (RPA). 

(3) "Authority" means either the Division or a local 

government that has been delegated pursuant 

this Section to implement a riparian buffer 

program. 

(4) "Bridge" means any spanning structure that 

begins and ends at the outer edge of the 

approach slabs and includes any support 

structures such as bents, pilings, footings, etc. 

(5) "Built-upon area" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 143-214.7(b2). 

(6) "Channel" means a natural water-carrying 

trough cut vertically into low areas of the land 

surface by erosive action of concentrated 

flowing water or a ditch or canal excavated for 

the flow of water. 

(7) "Coastal wetlands" means marshland as defined 

in G.S. 113-229. 

(8) "Dam" means the term as defined in G.S. 143-

215.25. 

(9) "DBH" means diameter at breast height of a tree 

measured at 4.5 feet above ground surface 

level. 

(10) "Development" means the term as defined in 

G.S. 143-214.7. 

(11) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(12) "Ditch or canal" means a man-made, open 

drainage way or channel other than a modified 

natural stream in or into which excess surface 

water or groundwater from land, stormwater 

runoff, or floodwaters flow either ephemerally, 

intermittently, or perennially. On the coastal 

plain, ditches are typically dug through inter-

stream divide areas. 

(13) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources of the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(14) "Ephemeral stream" means a feature that carries 

only stormwater in direct response to 

precipitation with water flowing only during 

and shortly after precipitation events. An 

ephemeral stream may or may not have a well-

defined channel, the aquatic bed is always 

above the perched or seasonal high water table, 

and stormwater runoff is the primary source of 

water. An ephemeral stream typically lacks the 

biological, hydrological, and physical 

characteristics commonly associated with the 

continuous or intermittent conveyance of water. 

(15) "Existing lot" in Randleman Lake watershed 

means a lot of two acres in size or less that was 

platted and recorded in the office of the 

appropriate county Register of Deeds prior to 

the effective date of a local ordinance or 

ordinances enforcing Rule .0724 of this 

Subchapter. For activities listed in Rule 

.0724(12)(b) of this Subchapter, "existing lot" 

in the Randleman Lake watersheds means a lot 

of two acres in size or less that was platted and 

recorded in the office of the appropriate county 

Register of Deeds prior to April 1, 1999. 

"Existing lot" in the Neuse and Tar-Pamlico 

river basins means a lot of two acres in size or 

less that was platted and recorded in the office 

of the appropriate county Register of Deeds 

prior to August 1, 2000. 

(16) "Existing utility line maintenance corridor" 

means the portion of a utility right of way that 

was established as a permanent maintenance 

corridor prior to the effective date of the Rule, 

or was approved as a permanent maintenance 

corridor through an Authorization Certificate or 
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Variance issued by the Authority, and in which 

the vegetation has been maintained (e.g. can be 

mowed without a chainsaw or bush-hog).  

(17) "Fertilizer" means the term as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

(18) "Forest management plan" means the term as 

defined in G.S. 160A-458.5. 

(19) "Forest plantation" means an area of planted 

trees that may be conifers (pines) or hardwoods. 

On a forest plantation, the intended crop trees 

are planted rather than naturally regenerated 

from seed on the site, coppice (sprouting), or 

seed that is blown or carried into the site. 

(20) "Forest vegetation" means the term as defined 

in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(21) "Freshwater" means the term as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

(22) "Greenway / Hiking Trails" means pedestrian 

trails constructed of pervious and impervious 

surfaces and related structures including 

boardwalks, steps, rails, and signage, and that 

generally run parallel to the surface water. 

(23) "High value tree" means a tree that meets or 

exceeds the following standards: for pine 

species, 14-inch DBH or greater or 18-inch or 

greater stump diameter; or for non-pine species, 

16-inch DBH or greater or 24-inch or greater 

stump diameter. 

(24) "Intermittent stream" means a well-defined 

channel that contains water for only part of the 

year, typically during winter and spring when 

the aquatic bed is below the perched or seasonal 

high water table. The flow may be 

supplemented by stormwater runoff. An 

intermittent stream often lacks the biological 

and hydrological characteristics commonly 

associated with the continuous conveyance of 

water. 

(25) "Local government" means the term as defined 

in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(26) "Modified natural stream" means an on-site 

channelization or relocation of a stream channel 

and subsequent relocation of the intermittent or 

perennial flow as evidenced by topographic 

alterations in the immediate watershed. A 

modified natural stream must have the typical 

biological, hydrological, and physical 

characteristics commonly associated with at 

least an intermittent conveyance of water. 

(27) "Natural drainageway" means any water 

course, channel, ditch, or similar physiographic 

feature draining water from land to down 

gradient areas. 

(28) "Normal water level" means the water level 

within a pond, lake, or other type of 

impoundment, natural or man-made (including 

beaver ponds), at the elevation of the outlet 

structure or spillway (i.e., the elevation of the 

permanent pool). The normal water level is 

typically identified by the lowest edge of the 

terrestrial vegetation. 

(29) "Perched water table" means the term as 

defined in 15A NCAC 18A .1935. 

(30) "Perennial stream" means a well-defined 

channel that contains water year round during a 

year of normal rainfall with the aquatic bed 

located below the perched or seasonal high 

water table for most of the year. Groundwater 

is the primary source of water for a perennial 

stream, but it also carries stormwater runoff. A 

perennial stream exhibits the typical biological, 

hydrological, and physical characteristics 

commonly associated with the continuous 

conveyance of water. 

(31) "Perennial waterbody" means a natural or man-

made watershed that stores surface water 

permanently at depths sufficient to preclude 

growth of rooted plants, including lakes, ponds, 

sounds, non-stream estuaries and ocean. 

(32) "Perpendicular" means leading toward the 

nearest subject surface water at an angle 

between 75 and 105 degrees. 

(33) "Pruning" means the removal of dead tree or 

shrub branches or live tree or shrub branches 

with a diameter of less than four inches. 

(a) Pruning for Deciduous Trees: If 

pruning must be done on deciduous 

trees, then it shall only be performed 

once a year during the dormant season 

or following an "act of God" situation, 

such as a hurricane or ice storm that 

causes tree damage. Dead branches on 

trees may be removed any time. 

(b) Pruning for Coniferous Trees: 

Conifers may be pruned any time of 

year. Dead branches on trees may be 

removed any time. 

(c) Pruning for Shrubs: Shrubs may be 

pruned by selectively removing 

branches while maintaining the 

natural shape of the plant. Cutting the 

branches of a shrub down to its main 

trunk is not a selective removal of 

branches. 

(34) "Seasonal high water table" means the term as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02H .1002. 

(35) "Streambank or shoreline stabilization" is the 

in-place stabilization of an eroding streambank 

or shoreline. 

(36) "Stormwater Control Measure" or "SCM," also 

known as "Best Management Practice" or 

"BMP," means the term as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02H .1002. 

(37) "Stump diameter" means the diameter of a tree 

measured at six inches above the ground 

surface level. 

(38) "Temporary road" means a road constructed 

temporarily for access or to maintain public 
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traffic during construction and is restored upon 

completion of construction. 

(39) "Transportation facility" means the existing 

road surface, road shoulders, fill slopes, ferry 

terminal fill areas, and constructed stormwater 

conveyances or drainage canals adjacent to and 

directly associated with the road. 

(40) "Tree" means a woody plant with a DBH equal 

to or exceeding five inches or a stump diameter 

exceeding six inches. 

(41) "Wetlands" means the same as defined in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.23; 143-214.23A; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.8A; S.L. 1995, c. 

572; S.L. 1999, c. 329; S.L. 2011, c. 394; S.L. 2012, c. 200; S.L. 

2013, c. 413, S.L. 2015, c. 246; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were previously codified in 15A NCAC 02B .0233(2), 

15A NCAC 02B .0243(2), 15A NCAC 02B .0250(2) and 15A 

NCAC 02B .0259(2)). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0611 MANAGING ACTIVITIES 

WITHIN RIPARIAN BUFFERS: AUTHORIZATION 

CERTIFICATES 

(a)  PURPOSE. The following requirements shall apply to persons 

who wish to undertake uses designated as allowable upon 

authorization, allowable with mitigation upon authorization, or 

allowable with exception within the protected riparian buffer area 

as specified in the applicable riparian buffer protection rule of this 

Section and Section .0700 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  AUTHORIZATION CERTIFICATES. Persons who wish to 

undertake uses designated in the applicable riparian buffer 

protection rule of this Section as allowable upon authorization or 

allowable with mitigation upon authorization shall submit an 

application requesting an Authorization Certificate from the 

Authority. 

(1) The application shall specify: 

(A) The name, address, and phone number 

of the applicant; 

(B) If the applicant is not the property 

owner(s), the name, address, and 

phone number of the property owner; 

(C) If the applicant is a corporation, the 

name and address of the North 

Carolina process agency, and the 

name, address, and phone number of 

the individual who is the authorized 

agent of the corporation and 

responsible for the activity for which 

certification is sought. The 

corporation must be authorized to do 

business in NC; 

(D) The nature of the activity to be 

conducted by the applicant; 

(E) The location of the activity, including 

the jurisdiction; 

(F) A map that is legible to the reviewer 

and of sufficient detail to delineate the 

boundaries of the land to be utilized in 

carrying out the activity, the location 

and dimensions of any disturbance in 

riparian buffers associated with the 

activity, and the extent of riparian 

buffers on the land; 

(G) An explanation of why this plan for 

the activity cannot be practically 

accomplished, reduced, relocated, or 

reconfigured to avoid or better 

minimize disturbance to the riparian 

buffer, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; 

(H) Plans for any best management 

practices proposed to be used to 

control the impacts associated with the 

activity; and 

(I) For uses designated as allowable with 

mitigation upon authorization or 

allowable with exception, a mitigation 

proposal in accordance with Rule 

.0295 of this Subchapter. 

(2) The applicant shall demonstrate that the project 

meets all the following criteria: 

(A) The basic project purpose cannot be 

practically accomplished in a manner 

that would avoid or better minimize 

disturbance, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; 

(B) The use cannot practically be reduced 

in size or density, reconfigured or 

redesigned to better minimize 

disturbance, preserve aquatic life and 

habitat, and protect water quality; and 

(C) Best management practices shall be 

used to minimize disturbance, 

preserve aquatic life and habitat, and 

protect water quality. 

(3) The Authority shall issue an Authorization 

Certificate, deny the application, or request 

additional information within 60 calendar days 

after receipt of an application that meets the 

requirements as described in Subparagraphs 

(b)(1) and (b)(2) of this Rule. When the 

Authority requests additional information, the 

60-day review period restarts upon receipt of all 

of the additional information requested by the 

Authority. Failure to issue the Authorization 

Certificate, deny the application, or request 

additional information within 60 calendar days 

shall be construed as issuance of an 

Authorization Certificate by the Authority to 

the applicant unless one of the following 

occurs: 

(A) The applicant agrees, in writing, to a 

longer period; 

(B) The applicant fails to furnish 

information necessary for the 

Authority's decision; 
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(C) The applicant refuses Authority staff 

access to its records or premises for 

the purpose of gathering information 

necessary for the Authority's decision; 

or 

(D) Information necessary for the 

Authority's decision is unavailable. 

(4) The Authority may attach conditions to the 

Authorization Certificate that ensure 

compliance with the riparian buffer protection 

program. 

(5) Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates issued by the Division shall be 

made pursuant to G.S. 150B. Requests for 

appeals of Authorization Certificates issued by 

the delegated local authority shall be pursuant 

to the local authority's ordinance. 

(c)  AUTHORIZATION CERTIFICATES WITH EXCEPTION. 

Persons who wish to undertake uses designated in the applicable 

riparian buffer protection rule of this Section as allowable with 

exception shall submit an application requesting an Authorization 

Certificate with Exception. The Authorization Certificate with 

Exception review procedure shall be as follows: 

(1) All of the following conditions must be met in 

order to qualify for an Authorization Certificate 

with Exception: 

(A) There are practical difficulties or 

unnecessary hardships that prevent 

compliance with the riparian buffer 

protection requirements. 

(B) If the applicant complies with the 

provisions of this Rule, he or she can 

secure no reasonable return from, nor 

make reasonable use of, his or her 

property. Merely proving that the 

Authorization Certificate with 

Exception would allow a greater profit 

from the property shall not be 

considered adequate justification for 

an Authorization Certificate with 

Exception. Moreover, the Authority 

shall consider whether the 

Authorization Certificate with 

Exception is the minimum possible 

deviation from the terms of this Rule 

that shall make reasonable use of the 

property possible; 

(C) The hardship is due to the physical 

nature of the applicant's property, such 

as its size, shape, or topography; 

(D) The applicant did not cause the 

hardship; 

(E) The requested Authorization 

Certificate with Exception is 

consistent with the general spirit, 

purpose, and intent of the State's 

riparian buffer protection 

requirements, will protect water 

quality, will secure public safety and 

welfare, and will preserve substantial 

justice. 

(2) MINOR EXCEPTIONS. An Authorization 

Certificate with Minor Exception request 

pertains to allowable with exception activities 

that are proposed to impact equal to or less than 

one-third of an acre of riparian buffer. 

(A) Authorization Certificate with Minor 

Exception requests shall be reviewed 

based on the criteria in Paragraph (b) 

and Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(B) Within 60 calendar days of receipt of 

a complete application package that 

addresses Subparagraphs (b)(1), 

(b)(2), and (c)(1) of this Rule, the 

Authority shall issue an Authorization 

Certificate with Minor Exception if 

the Authority determines that the 

criteria in Subparagraph (b)(2) and 

(c)(1) of this Rule have been met and 

the applicant satisfies other applicable 

requirements as described in 

Paragraph (b) and Subparagraph (c)(1) 

of this Rule. If the Authority 

determines that all of the requirements 

in Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (c)(1) of 

this Rule have not been met, the 

Authority shall issue a final decision 

denying the Authorization Certificate 

with Minor Exception. 

(3) MAJOR EXCEPTIONS. An Authorization 

Certificate with Major Exception request 

pertains to allowable with exception activities 

that are proposed to impact greater than one-

third of an acre of riparian buffer. 

(A) Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception requests shall be reviewed 

based on the criteria in Paragraph (b) 

and Subparagraph (c)(1) of this Rule. 

(B) Within 60 calendar days of receipt of 

a complete application package that 

addresses Subparagraphs (b)(1), 

(b)(2), and (c)(1) of this Rule, the 

Authority shall prepare a preliminary 

finding as to whether the criteria in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (c)(1) of this 

Rule have been met. 

(C) Notice of each pending complete 

application for an Authorization 

Certificate with Major Exception, 

including the preliminary finding 

prepared by the Authority, shall be 

posted on the Division's website and 

sent to all individuals on the Mailing 

List, as described in 15A NCAC 02H 

.0503(g), at least 30 calendar days 

prior to proposed final action by the 

Authority on the application. If the 

Authority is not the Division, then the 
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Authority shall forward the required 

notice information to the Division for 

posting. 

(D) Within 60 calendar days following the 

notice as described in Part (c)(3)(C) of 

this Rule, upon the Authority's 

determination that all of the 

requirements in Subparagraphs (b)(2) 

and (c)(1) of this Rule have been met, 

the Authority shall issue an 

Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception. If the Authority determines 

that all of the requirements in 

Subparagraphs (b)(2) and (c)(1) of this 

Rule have not been met, the Authority 

shall issue a final decision denying the 

Authorization Certificate with Major 

Exception. 

(4) The Authority may attach conditions to the 

Authorization Certificate with Exception that 

ensure compliance with the riparian buffer 

protection program. 

(5) Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates with Exception issued by the 

Division shall be made pursuant to G.S. 150B. 

Requests for appeals of Authorization 

Certificates with Exception issued by the 

delegated local authority shall be made 

pursuant to the local authority's ordinance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.23; 143-214.23A; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.8A; S.L. 1995, c. 

572; S.L. 1999, c. 329; S.L. 2011, c. 394; S.L. 2012, c. 200; S.L. 

2013, c. 413; S.L. 2015, c. 246; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were previously codified in 15A NCAC 02B .0233(8) 

& (9), 15A NCAC 02B .0243(8) & (9), 15A NCAC 02B .0250(11) 

& (12) and 15A NCAC 02B .0259(8) & (9)). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0612 MANAGING ACTIVITIES 

WITHIN RIPARIAN BUFFERS: FOREST HARVESTING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  PURPOSE. The following requirements shall apply to all 

forest harvesting operations and forestry-related land-disturbing 

activities subject to riparian buffer requirements in the following 

River Basins and Watersheds: 

(1) Catawba River Basin as specified in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0614; 

(2) Neuse River Basin as specified in 15A NCAC 

02B .0714; 

(3) Randleman Lake Watershed as specified in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0724; and 

(4) Tar-Pamlico River Basin as specified in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0734. 

(b)  REQUIREMENTS THROUGHOUT THE BUFFER. The 

following requirements shall apply: 

(1) All forest harvest activities within the buffer 

shall comply with Forest Practices Guidelines 

Related to Water Quality as defined in 02 

NCAC 60C; 

(2) Logging decks and sawmill sites shall not be 

placed in the riparian buffer; 

(3) Timber felling shall be directed away from the 

stream or waterbody; 

(4) Skidding shall be directed away from the 

stream or water body and shall be done in a 

manner that minimizes soil disturbance and 

prevents the creation of channels or ruts; 

(5) Individual trees may be treated to maintain or 

improve their health, form, or vigor; 

(6) Harvesting of dead or infected trees or 

application of pesticides as necessary to prevent 

or control the spread of tree pest and disease 

infestation shall be allowed. These practices 

must be approved by the North Carolina Forest 

Service for a specific site in accordance with 

G.S. 106-920 through G.S. 106-926. The North 

Carolina Forest Service must notify the 

Division of all approvals within 60 calendar 

days; 

(7) Removal of individual trees that are in danger 

of causing damage to structures or human life 

shall be allowed; 

(8) Natural regeneration of forest vegetation and 

planting of trees, shrubs, or ground cover plants 

to enhance the riparian buffer shall be allowed 

provided that soil disturbance is minimized; 

(9) Prescribed burns shall be allowed when 

conducted for forest management purposes; and 

(10) A one-time fertilizer application at agronomic 

rates in the riparian buffer is allowed to 

establish replanted vegetation. No runoff from 

this one-time application in the riparian buffer 

is allowed in the surface water. 

(c)  REQUIREMENTS IN ZONE 1 OF THE BUFFER. Selective 

forest harvesting is allowed in Zone 1, as defined by the applicable 

Rule of this Section, provided that: 

(1) The forest lands have a deferment for use value 

under forestry in accordance with G.S. 105-

277.2 through 277.6 or the forest lands have a 

forest management plan prepared or approved 

by a registered professional forester. Copies of 

either the approval of the deferment for use 

value under forestry or the forest management 

plan shall be produced upon request by the 

North Carolina Forest Service or the Division; 

(2) Tracked or wheeled vehicles are only used for 

the purpose of selective timber harvesting 

where there is no other practical alternative for 

removal of individual trees; 

(2) No tracked or wheeled vehicles shall be used to 

conduct site preparation activities; 

(3) Trees are removed in a manner that minimizes 

disturbance to the soil and remaining 

vegetation; 

(4) The first 10 feet of Zone 1 directly adjacent to 

the stream or waterbody shall be undisturbed, 
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except for the removal of individual high value 

trees. The removal of individual high value 

trees shall only be allowed provided that no 

trees with exposed primary roots visible in the 

streambank are cut, unless they meet 

Subparagraphs (b)(6) or (b)(7) of this Rule; and 

(5) A maximum of 50 percent of the trees greater 

than five inches DBH may be cut and removed. 

The reentry time for harvest shall be no more 

frequent than every 15 years, except on forest 

plantations as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0610 

where the reentry time shall be no more 

frequent than every five years. In either case, 

the trees remaining after harvest shall be as 

evenly spaced as possible. 

(d)  REQUIREMENTS IN ZONE 2 OF THE BUFFER. In Zone 

2, harvesting and regeneration of the forest stand shall be allowed, 

provided that ground cover is established and maintained to 

provide for diffusion and infiltration of surface runoff. 

(e)  EXCEPTIONS. Persons who wish to undertake forest 

harvesting operations or practices different from the requirements 

set forth in this Rule may request an Authorization Certificate 

with Exception pursuant to Rule .0611 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.23; 143-214.23A; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.8A; S.L. 1995, c. 

572; S.L. 1999, c. 329; S.L. 2011, c. 394; S.L. 2012, c. 200; S.L. 

2013, c. 413, S.L. 2015, c. 246; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were previously codified in 15A NCAC 02B .0233(11), 

15A NCAC 02B .0243(11), 15A NCAC 02B .0250(16) and 15A 

NCAC 02B .0259(11)). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0241 .0715 NEUSE RIVER BASIN: 

NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS MANAGEMENT 

STRATEGY: DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY FOR THE 

PROTECTION AND MAINTENANCE OF EXISTING 

RIPARIAN BUFFERS 

(a)  PURPOSE. This Rule sets out the requirements for delegation 

of the responsibility for implementing and enforcing the Neuse 

Basin riparian buffer protection program, as described in Rule 

.0714 of this Section, to local governments. 

(b)  PROCEDURES FOR GRANTING DELEGATION. The 

Commission shall grant local government delegation of the Neuse 

River Basin Riparian Buffer Protection requirements, as 

described in Rule .0714 of this Section, according to the following 

procedures: 

(1) Local governments within the Neuse River 

Basin may submit a written request to the 

Commission for authority to implement and 

enforce the Neuse River Basin riparian buffer 

protection requirements within their 

jurisdiction by establishing a riparian buffer 

program to meet the requirements of Rule .0714 

of this Section. The written request to establish 

a riparian buffer program shall include the 

following: 

(A) Documentation that the local 

government has land use jurisdiction 

for the riparian buffer. This can be 

demonstrated by delineating the local 

land use jurisdictional boundary on the 

USGS 1:24,000 topographical map(s) 

or other finer scale map(s); 

(B) Documentation that the local 

government has the administrative 

organization, staff, legal authority, 

financial resources, and other 

resources necessary to implement and 

enforce the Neuse River Basin riparian 

buffer protection requirements based 

on its size and projected amount of 

development; 

(C) The local government ordinances, 

resolutions, or regulations necessary 

to establish a riparian buffer program 

meet the requirements of Rule .0714 

of this Section and G.S. 143-214.23A; 

(D) Documentation that the local 

government's riparian buffer program 

shall comply with all requirements set 

forth in G.S. 143-214.23A; and 

(E) A plan to address violations with site-

specific remedies and actions 

including civil or criminal remedies 

that shall restore riparian buffer 

nutrient removal functions on 

violation sites and provide a deterrent 

against the occurrence of future 

violations. 

(2) Within 90 days after the Commission has 

received the request for delegation, the 

Commission shall notify the local government 

whether it has been approved, approved with 

modifications, or denied. 

(c)  APPOINTMENT OF A RIPARIAN BUFFER 

PROTECTION ADMINISTRATOR. Upon receiving delegation, 

local governments shall appoint a Riparian Buffer Protection 

Administrator(s) who shall coordinate the implementation and 

enforcement of the program. The Administrator(s) shall attend an 

initial training session by the Division and be certified to make 

on-site determinations pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A. The 

Administrator(s) shall ensure that local government staff working 

directly with the program receive training to understand, 

implement, and enforce the program and are certified to make on-

site determinations pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A. At any time 

that a local government does not have anyone on staff certified to 

make on-site determinations pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A, it 

shall notify the Division within 30 calendar days and provide a 

proposed schedule to secure a certified staff member. The local 

government shall coordinate with the Division to provide on-site 

determinations until a new certified staff member is secured by 

the local government. 

(d)  PROCEDURES FOR USES WITHIN RIPARIAN BUFFERS 

THAT ARE ALLOWABLE UPON AUTHORIZATION AND 

ALLOWABLE WITH MITIGATION UPON 

AUTHORIZATION. Upon receiving delegation, local 

governments shall review applications requesting an 
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Authorization Certificate pursuant to the requirements set forth in 

Rule .0611 of this Section. 

(e)  EXCEPTIONS. Upon receiving delegation, local 

governments shall review applications requesting an 

Authorization Certificate with Exception pursuant to the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0611 of this Section. 

(f)  LIMITS OF DELEGATED LOCAL AUTHORITY. The 

Division shall have jurisdiction to the exclusion of local 

governments to implement the State's riparian buffer protection 

requirements for the following types of activities: 

(1) Activities conducted under the authority of the 

State; 

(2) Activities conducted under the authority of the 

United States; 

(3) Activities conducted under the authority of 

multiple jurisdictions;  

(4) Activities conducted under the authority of 

units of local government; 

(5) Forest harvesting activities described in Rule 

.0612 of this Section; and 

(6) Agricultural activities. 

(g)  RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS. Delegated local 

governments shall maintain on-site records for a minimum of five 

years and shall furnish a copy of these records to the Division 

within 30 calendar days of receipt of a written request for them. 

Each delegated local governments records shall include the 

following: 

(1) A copy of all Authorization Certificate with 

Exception requests; 

(2) Findings on all Authorization Certificate with 

Exception requests; 

(3) The results of all Authorization Certificate with 

Exception proceedings; 

(4) A record of complaints and action taken as a 

result of the complaints; 

(5) Records for on-site determinations as described 

in Rule .0714(4) of this Section; and 

(6) Copies of all requests for authorization, records 

approving authorization, and Authorization 

Certificates. 

(h)  AUDITS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES. The Division shall 

audit delegated local governments to ensure the local programs 

are being implemented and enforced in keeping with the 

requirements of this Rule and Rule .0714 of this Section. The 

audit shall consist of a review of all local government activities 

with regards to implementation of this Rule and Rule .0714 of this 

Section. 

(i)  PROCEDURES FOR RESCINDING DELEGATION. Upon 

determination by the Division that a delegated local government 

is failing to implement or enforce the Neuse Basin riparian buffer 

protection requirements in keeping with the request approved 

under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Commission shall notify the 

delegated local government in writing of the local program's 

deficiencies. If the delegated local government has not corrected 

the deficiencies within 90 calendar days of receipt of the written 

notification, then the Commission shall rescind the delegation of 

authority to the local government and the Division shall 

implement and enforce the Neuse River Basin riparian buffer 

protection requirements within their jurisdiction. 

(j)  DELEGATION. The Commission may delegate its duties and 

powers for granting and rescinding local government delegation 

of the Neuse River Basin riparian buffer protection requirements, 

in whole or in part, to the Director. 

 

History Note: Authority 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-214.23; 

143-214.23A; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143B-282(d); 

S.L. 1998, c. 221; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were transferred from 15A NCAC 02B .0241). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0248 .0720 RANDLEMAN 

NUTRIENT STRATEGY: PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  PURPOSE. The purpose of the Randleman nutrient strategy 

is to attain the designated uses of Randleman Lake. All waters of 

the Randleman Lake (Deep River) water supply watershed are 

classified for water supply uses and designated by the 

Environmental Management Commission as a Critical Water 

Supply Watershed pursuant to G.S. 143-214.5(b). 

(b)  SCOPE AND LIMITATION. The Randleman nutrient 

strategy rules require controls to reduce nutrient sources 

throughout the Randleman Lake watershed. These Rules do not 

address sources for which there is insufficient scientific 

knowledge to support regulation. The Commission may undertake 

additional rulemaking in the future or make recommendations to 

other rulemaking bodies to more fully address nutrient sources to 

Randleman Lake. 

(c)  RULES ENUMERATED. The following rules, which 

together shall constitute the Randleman nutrient strategy, shall be 

implemented for the entire drainage area upstream of the 

Randleman Lake Dam: 

(1) Rule .0721 of this Section for Urban 

Stormwater Management; 

(2) Rule .0722 of this Section for Wastewater 

Discharges; and 

(3) Rule .0724 of this Section for Protection and 

Maintenance of Riparian Areas. 

(d)  PENALTIES. Failure to meet the requirements of the Rules 

in this Section may result in the imposition of enforcement 

measures as authorized by G.S. 143-215.6A (civil penalties), G.S. 

143-215.6B (criminal penalties), and G.S. 143-215.6C (injunctive 

relief). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.6A; 143-215.6B; 143-215.6C; 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were transferred from 15A NCAC 02B .0248). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0251 .0721 RANDLEMAN LAKE 

WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED: STORMWATER 

REQUIREMENTS 

The following is the stormwater management strategy for the 

Randleman Lake watershed: 

(1) IMPLEMENTING AUTHORITY. The 

requirements of this Rule shall be implemented 

by local governments that have land use 
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authority within the Randleman Lake 

watershed. State agencies shall also comply 

with this Rule insofar as required by G.S. 143-

214.5 and in accordance with Rule .0622 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) SUBWATERSHEDS. For the purpose of this 

Rule, the Randleman Lake Watershed is 

divided into subwatersheds as follows: 

(a) the upper portion of the watershed is 

defined as those waters and lands of 

the Deep River watershed that drain to 

the Oakdale-Cotton Mill Dam; 

(b) the lower portion of the watershed are 

those waters and lands of the Deep 

River upstream and draining to the 

Randleman Lake Dam, from the 

Oakdale-Cotton Mill Dam to the 

Randleman Dam; 

(c) Oak Hollow Lake subwatershed is 

defined as all land areas draining to 

Oak Hollow Lake; 

(d) High Point Lake subwatershed is 

defined as all land areas draining to 

High Point Lake, East Fork Deep 

River and West Fork Deep River from 

Oak Hollow Lake Dam; and 

(e) Deep River 1 subwatershed is defined 

as all land areas draining to the Deep 

River from High Point Lake Dam to 

Freeman Mill Dam. 

(3) COMPREHENSIVE STORMWATER 

MANAGEMENT PLANS. All local 

governments with jurisdiction in the 

Randleman Lake watershed shall implement 

and maintain stormwater management plans 

that meet or exceed the criteria set forth in this 

Item of this Rule. Stormwater management 

plans shall include the following: 

(a) evaluation of existing land use within 

Oak Hollow Lake subwatershed, High 

Point Lake subwatershed, and Deep 

River 1 subwatershed in the 

Randleman Lake watershed with 

recommendations that show how 

overall built-upon area (for existing 

and future development) for each 

subwatershed can be minimized and 

high intensity land uses can be 

targeted away from surface waters and 

sensitive receiving waters as defined 

by 15A NCAC 02H .0150. This 

evaluation shall be done by the local 

governments having jurisdiction in 

those watersheds, working in 

cooperation with the Piedmont Triad 

Regional Water Authority; 

(b) coordination between all affected 

jurisdictions to encourage their 

development in the existing urban 

areas. The planning effort shall 

include provisions for areas of 

contiguous open space to be protected 

through conservation easements or 

other long-term protection measures 

and provisions to direct infrastructure 

growth towards existing urban 

development corridors rather than to 

rural lands; 

(c) evaluation of existing ordinances, 

municipal programs (maintenance, 

street cleaning, etc.), and other local 

policies to identify opportunities for 

stormwater quality improvements, 

including reducing the amount of 

built-upon area that is required for 

uses such as parking, building 

setbacks, road widths, and cul-de-sacs. 

The evaluations shall consider 

development options such as multiple 

story buildings, mixed use to 

encourage pedestrian travel and mass 

transit, and an identification of 

municipal activities and procedures 

that may be modified to allow for 

stormwater pollution prevention 

opportunities; 

(d) implementation of watershed 

protection public education programs; 

(e) identification and removal of illegal 

discharges; and 

(f) identification of suitable locations for 

potential stormwater retrofits (such as 

riparian areas) that may be funded by 

various sources. 

(4) RANDLEMAN LAKE WATERSHED 

ORDINANCES. Local governments with 

jurisdiction in the Randleman Lake watershed 

shall implement local ordinances that meet or 

exceed the provisions of Items (5) and (6) of 

this Rule in accordance with their location in 

the Randleman Lake watershed and in 

coordination with the Piedmont Triad Regional 

Water Authority. All revisions to these local 

ordinances shall be submitted to the 

Commission for review and approval. 

Ordinances that meet or exceed the provisions 

of Items (5) and (6) of this Rule shall be 

approved by the Commission. 

(5) REQUIREMENTS FOR THE UPPER 

PORTION OF THE WATERSHED. Local 

governments with jurisdiction in the upper 

portion of the Randleman Lake watershed shall 

adopt ordinances that meet or exceed the State's 

minimum rules for a Class WS-IV watershed as 

specified in 15A NCAC 02B .0216 and 15A 

NCAC 02B .0620 through .0624 in addition to 

meeting the riparian area protection 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02B .0724. 
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(6) REQUIREMENTS FOR THE LOWER 

PORTION OF THE WATERSHED. Local 

governments with jurisdiction in the lower 

portion of the Randleman Lake watershed shall 

adopt ordinances that meet the riparian area 

protection requirements set forth in 15A NCAC 

02B .0723. Local ordinances shall also meet or 

exceed the State's minimum requirements for a 

Class WS-IV watershed set forth in 15A NCAC 

02B .0620 through .0624 except that the 

following requirements shall supersede the 

equivalent provisions of 15A NCAC 02B 

.0624, as specified: 

(a) the following maximum allowable 

project densities and minimum lot 

sizes shall supersede the requirements 

of 15A NCAC 02B .0624(3) and shall 

apply to a project according to its 

relative location in the watershed 

(Critical Area versus Protected Area), 

its project density (low density versus 

high density), and the type of 

development (single-family detached 

residential versus all other types): 

Location in the Watershed 

Maximum Allowable Project Density or Minimum Lot Size 

Low Density Development 
High Density 

Development 

Single-family detached 

residential 

Non-residential 

and all other 

residential 

All types 

Critical Area 

1 dwelling unit per 2 acres or 

80,000 square foot lot or 

6% built-upon area 

6% built-upon 

area 

6 to 30% built-

upon area 

Protected Area 

1 dwelling unit per acre or 

40,000 square foot lot or 

12% built-upon area 

12% built-upon 

area 

12 to 50% built-

upon area; 

 

(b) for high density development, the 

following vegetated setback 

requirements shall be in addition to the 

riparian area protection requirements 

set forth in 15A NCAC 02B .0723 and 

shall supersede the requirements of 

15A NCAC 02B .0624(11): 

(i) vegetated setbacks for high 

density development shall be 

located at least 100 feet from 

perennial waterbodies and 

perennial streams indicated 

on the most recent versions 

of the United States 

Geological Survey (USGS) 

1:24,000 scale (7.5 minute) 

quadrangle topographic 

maps, which is herein 

incorporated by reference 

and are available at no cost at 

http://www.usgs.gov/pubpro

d/, or the most recent version 

of the published manuscript 

of the soil survey map that 

shows stream layers prepared 

by the Natural Resources 

Conservation Service of the 

United States Department of 

Agriculture, which are herein 

incorporated by reference 

and are available at no cost at 

http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/w

ps/portal/nrcs/main/soils/sur

vey/; 

(ii) the width of a vegetated 

setback shall be measured 

horizontally from the normal 

pool elevation of impounded 

structures, from the top of 

bank of each side of streams 

or rivers, and from the mean 

high waterline of tidal 

waters, perpendicular to the 

shoreline; 

(iii) vegetated setbacks may be 

cleared or graded, but shall 

be replanted and maintained 

in grass or other vegetation; 

and  

(iv) no new built-upon area shall 

be allowed in the vegetated 

setback except for publicly-

funded linear projects such as 

roads, greenways, and 

sidewalks, water dependent 

structures such as docks, and 

minimal footprint uses such 

as poles, signs, utility 

appurtenances, and security 

lights where it is not practical 

to locate the built-upon area 

elsewhere. Built-upon area 
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associated with these uses 

shall be minimized and the 

channelization of stormwater 

runoff shall be avoided. 

(c) outside of the critical areas, as defined 

in 15A NCAC 02B .0202, a local 

government may submit an alternative 

high density option to the Commission 

as part of the submittal of the local 

water supply watershed protection 

ordinance in order to allow 

development to exceed 50 percent 

built-upon area. The alternative 

ordinance shall be approved by the 

Commission if the Commission 

determines that it provides equal or 

greater water quality protection to the 

Randleman Lake reservoir and its 

tributaries; 

(d) no new permitted sites for land 

application of residuals or petroleum 

contaminated soils shall be allowed in 

the critical areas; and 

(e) no new landfills shall be allowed in the 

critical areas. 

(7) Local governments shall have the option to 

develop more stringent local stormwater 

management plans and watershed ordinances. 

Local stormwater management programs and 

ordinances, and modifications to these 

programs and ordinances, shall be submitted to 

the Commission for review and approval and 

kept on file by the Division. The Commission 

shall approve the local stormwater management 

plans and watershed ordinances if they meet or 

exceed the requirements set forth in this Rule. 

(8) If a local government fails to implement an 

approved plan, then stormwater management 

requirements for existing and new urban areas 

within its jurisdiction shall be administered 

through the NPDES municipal stormwater 

permitting program per 15A NCAC 02H .0126 

which shall include: 

(a) subject local governments shall be 

required to develop and implement 

comprehensive stormwater 

management programs for both 

existing and new development; 

(b) these stormwater management 

programs shall provide all 

components that are required of local 

government stormwater programs in 

this Rule; and 

(c) local governments that are subject to 

an NPDES permit shall be covered by 

the permit for at least one permitting 

cycle (five years) before they are 

eligible to submit a revised local 

stormwater management component 

of their water supply watershed 

protection program for consideration 

and approval by the Commission. 

Revised ordinances that meet or 

exceed the provisions of Items (5) and 

(6) of this Rule shall be approved by 

the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

214.7; 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were transferred from 15A NCAC 02B .0251). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0249 .0722 RANDLEMAN LAKE 

WATER SUPPLY WATERSHED: WASTEWATER 

DISCHARGE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The following is the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination 

System (NPDES) wastewater discharge management strategy for 

the Randleman Lake watershed. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, permitted wastewater discharges 

means those facilities permitted to discharge domestic wastewater 

or wastewaters containing phosphorus. 

(c)  There shall be no new or expanding permitted wastewater 

discharges in the watershed with the exception that the City of 

High Point Eastside Wastewater Treatment Plant may be allowed 

to expand provided that any new permit contains concentration 

and mass limits predicted through water quality modeling or other 

analysis that shows to the Director that discharges will provide a 

level of water quality in the Randleman Lake that meets all 

designated uses of those waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G. S. 143-214.1; 143-214.5; 143-

215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were transferred from 15A NCAC 02B .0249). 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0261 .0735 TAR-PAMLICO RIVER 

BASIN - NUTRIENT SENSITIVE WATERS 

MANAGEMENT STRATEGY: DELEGATION OF 

AUTHORITY FOR THE PROTECTION AND 

MAINTENANCE OF EXISTING RIPARIAN BUFFERS 

This Rule sets out the requirements for delegation of the 

responsibility for implementing and enforcing the Tar-Pamlico 

River Basin riparian buffer protection program, as described in 

Rule .0734 of this Section, to local governments: 

(1) PROCEDURES FOR GRANTING 

DELEGATION. The Commission shall grant 

local government delegation of the Tar-Pamlico 

River Basin Riparian Buffer Protection 

requirements, as described in Rule .0734 of this 

Section according to the following procedures: 

(a) Local governments within the Tar-

Pamlico River Basin may submit a 

written request to the Commission for 

authority to implement and enforce the 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin riparian 

buffer protection requirements within 
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their jurisdiction by establishing a 

riparian buffer program to meet the 

requirements of Rule .0734 of this 

Section. The written request to 

establish a riparian buffer program 

shall include the following: 

(i) Documentation that the local 

government has land use 

jurisdiction for the riparian 

buffer. This can be 

demonstrated by delineating 

the local land use 

jurisdictional boundary on 

the USGS 1:24,000 

topographical map(s) or 

other finer scale map(s); 

(ii) Documentation that the local 

government has the 

administrative organization, 

staff, legal authority, 

financial resources, and other 

resources necessary to 

implement and enforce the 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin 

riparian buffer protection 

requirements based on its 

size and projected amount of 

development; 

(iii) The local government 

ordinances, resolutions, or 

regulations necessary to 

establish a riparian buffer 

program meet the 

requirements of Rule .0734 

of this Section and G.S. 143-

214.23A; 

(iv) Documentation that the local 

government's riparian buffer 

program shall comply with 

all requirements set forth in 

G.S. 143-214.23A; and 

(v) A plan to address violations 

with site-specific remedies 

and actions including civil or 

criminal remedies that shall 

restore riparian buffer 

nutrient removal functions on 

violation sites and provide a 

deterrent against the 

occurrence of future 

violations. 

(b) Within 90 days after the Commission 

has received the request for 

delegation, the Commission shall 

notify the local government whether it 

has been approved, approved with 

modifications, or denied. 

(2) APPOINTMENT OF A RIPARIAN BUFFER 

PROTECTION ADMINISTRATOR. Upon 

receiving delegation, local governments shall 

appoint a Riparian Buffer Protection 

Administrator(s) who shall coordinate the 

implementation and enforcement of the 

program. The Administrator(s) shall attend an 

initial training session by the Division and be 

certified to make on-site determinations 

pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A. The 

Administrator(s) shall ensure that local 

government staff working directly with the 

program receive training to understand, 

implement, and enforce the program and are 

certified to make on-site determinations 

pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A. At any time that 

a local government does not have anyone on 

staff certified to make on-site determinations 

pursuant to G.S. 143-214.25A, it shall notify 

the Division within 30 calendar days and 

provide a proposed schedule to secure a 

certified staff member. The local government 

shall coordinate with the Division to provide 

on-site determinations until a new certified staff 

member is secured by the local government. 

(3) PROCEDURES FOR USES WITHIN 

RIPARIAN BUFFERS THAT ARE 

ALLOWABLE UPON AUTHORIZATION 

AND ALLOWABLE WITH MITIGATION 

UPON AUTHORIZATION. Upon receiving 

delegation, local governments shall review 

applications requesting an Authorization 

Certificate pursuant to the requirements set 

forth in Rule .0611 of this Subchapter. 

(4) EXCEPTIONS. Upon receiving delegation, 

local governments shall review applications 

requesting an Authorization Certificate with 

Exception pursuant to the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0611 of this Subchapter.  

(5) LIMITS OF DELEGATED LOCAL 

AUTHORITY. The Division shall have 

jurisdiction to the exclusion of local 

governments to implement the Tar-Pamlico 

River Basin riparian buffer protection 

requirements for the following types of 

activities: 

(a) Activities conducted under the 

authority of the State; 

(b) Activities conducted under the 

authority of the United States; 

(c) Activities conducted under the 

authority of multiple jurisdictions; 

(d) Activities conducted under the 

authority of units of local government; 

(e) Forest harvesting activities described 

in Rule .0612 of this Subchapter; and 

(f) Agricultural activities. 

(6) RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS. 

Delegated local governments shall maintain on-

site records for a minimum of 5 years and shall 

furnish a copy of these records to the Division 
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within 30 calendar days of receipt of a written 

request for them. Each delegated local 

government's records shall include the 

following: 

(a) A copy of all Authorization Certificate 

with Exception requests; 

(b) Findings on all Authorization 

Certificate with Exception requests; 

(c) The results of all Authorization 

Certificate with Exception 

proceedings; 

(d) A record of complaints and action 

taken as a result of the complaints; 

(e) Records for on-site determinations as 

described in Rule .0734(4) of this 

Section; and 

(f) Copies of all requests for 

authorization, records approving 

authorization, and Authorization 

Certificates. 

(7) AUDITS OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES. The 

Division shall audit delegated local 

governments to ensure the local programs are 

being implemented and enforced in keeping 

with the requirements of this Rule and Rule 

.0734 of this Section. The audit shall consist of 

a review of all local government activities with 

regards to implementation of this Rule and Rule 

.0734 of this Section. 

(8) PROCEDURES FOR RESCINDING 

DELEGATION. Upon determination by the 

Division that a delegated local government is 

failing to implement or enforce the Tar-Pamlico 

River Basin riparian buffer protection 

requirements in keeping with the request 

approved under Sub-Item (1)(b) of this Rule, 

the Commission shall notify the delegated local 

government in writing of the local program's 

deficiencies. If the delegated local government 

has not corrected the deficiencies within 90 

calendar days of receipt of the written 

notification, then the Commission shall rescind 

the delegation of authority to the local 

government and the Division shall implement 

and enforce the Tar-Pamlico River Basin 

riparian buffer protection requirements within 

their jurisdiction. 

(9) DELEGATION. The Commission may 

delegate its duties and powers for granting and 

rescinding local government delegation of the 

Tar-Pamlico River Basin riparian buffer 

protection requirements, in whole or in part, to 

the Director. 

 

History Note: Authority G S. 143-214.1; 143-214.7; 143-

214.23; 143-214.23A; 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(4); 143B-

282(d); S.L. 1999; c. 329, s. 7.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date (The provisions 

of this Rule were transferred from 15A NCAC 02B .0261). 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0501 APPLICABILITY AND 

DEFINITIONS 

(a)  This Section outlines the application and review procedures 

for activities that require State water quality certifications 

(certifications) pursuant to Section 401 of the Clean Water Act 

(33 U.S.C. 1341). Certifications are required for a federally 

permitted or licensed activity including, but not limited to, the 

construction or operation of facilities, which may result in a 

discharge into navigable waters. Failure to obtain a required 

certification is enforceable by the Department pursuant to Chapter 

143, Article 21, Part 1. 

(b)  Water quality certifications may be issued for individual 

activities (individual certifications) or issued for specific types or 

groups of activities (general certifications): 

(1) Individual certifications shall be issued on a 

case-by-case basis using the procedures 

outlined in this Section.  

(2) General certifications may be developed by the 

Division and issued by the Director for specific 

types or groups of activities that are similar in 

nature and considered to have minimal impact. 

All activities that receive a Certificate of 

Coverage under a general certification from the 

Division shall be covered under that general 

certification. When written approval is required 

in the general certification, the application and 

review procedures for requesting a Certificate 

of Coverage under a general certification from 

the Division for the proposed activity are the 

same as the procedures outlined in this Section 

for individual certifications. 

(c)  The terms used in this Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-

212 and G.S. 143-213 and as follows: 

(1) "Certification" means the State water quality 

certification pursuant to Section 401 of the 

Clean Water Act (33 U.S.C. 1341). 

(2) "Class SWL wetland" means the term as 

defined at 15A NCAC 02B .0101. 

(3) "Class UWL wetland" means the term as 

defined at 15A NCAC 02B .0101. 

(4) "Cumulative impact" means environmental 

impacts resulting from incremental effects of an 

activity when added to other past, present, and 

reasonably foreseeable future activities, 

regardless of what entities undertake such other 

actions. 

(5) "Department" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality and the Secretary of the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

(6) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(7) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources of the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(8) "Secondary impact" means indirect effects, 

which are caused by the action and are later in 

time or farther removed in distance, but are still 
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reasonably foreseeable to the applicant or the 

Division. 

(9) "Wetland" means the term as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(c); 143B-282(a)(1)(u); S.L 2017, c. 145, s. 2(b); 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 

Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0502 FILING APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Any person needing issuance of an individual water quality 

certification or Certificate of Coverage under a general 

certification required by this Section and Section 401 of the Clean 

Water Act shall file with the Director, at 1617 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-1617 or 512 N. Salisbury 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27604, one complete copy of an application 

for certification or submit one complete copy of an application 

electronically via the following website: 

https://edocs.deq.nc.gov/Forms/DWR_Wetlands_Online_Submit

tal_Page. The application shall be made on a form provided or 

approved by the Division or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, 

available electronically via the following website: 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

quality-permitting/401-buffer-permitting-branch/application. The 

application shall include at a minimum the following: 

(1) the date of application; 

(2) the name, address, and phone number of the 

applicant. If the applicant is not the property 

owner(s), the name, address, and phone number 

of the property owner(s); 

(3) if the applicant is a corporation, the name and 

address of the North Carolina process agency, 

and the name, address, and phone number of the 

individual who is the authorized agent of the 

corporation and responsible for the activity for 

which certification is sought. The corporation 

must be registered with the NC Secretary of 

State's Office to conduct business in NC; 

(4) the nature of the activity to be conducted by 

applicant; 

(5) whether the discharge has occurred or is 

proposed; 

(6) the location of the discharge, stating the 

municipality, if applicable; the county; the 

drainage basin; the name of the receiving 

waters; and the location of the point of 

discharge with regard to the receiving waters; 

(7) a description of the receiving waters, including 

type (creek, river, swamp, canal, lake, pond, or 

estuary) if applicable; nature (fresh, brackish, or 

salt); and wetland classification; 

(8) a description of the type of waste treatment 

facilities, if applicable;  

(9) a map(s) or sketch(es) with a scale(s) and a 

north arrow(s) that is legible to the reviewer and 

of sufficient detail to delineate the boundaries 

of the lands owned or proposed to be utilized by 

the applicant in carrying out the activity; the 

location, dimensions, and type of any structures 

erected or to be erected on the lands for use in 

connection with the activity; and the location 

and extent of the receiving waters, including 

wetlands within the boundaries of the lands; 

(10) an application fee as required by G.S. 143-

215.3D(e); and 

(11) a signature by the applicant for the federal 

permit or license or an agent authorized by the 

applicant. If an agent is signing for the 

applicant, an agent authorization letter must be 

provided. In signing the application, the 

applicant certifies that all information 

contained therein or in support thereof is true 

and correct to the best of their knowledge.  

(b)  Submission of an application to the Division of Coastal 

Management for a permit to develop in North Carolina's coastal 

area in accordance with the rules of 15A NCAC 07J .0200 shall 

suffice as an application for a water quality certification or 

certificate of coverage under a general certification upon receipt 

by the Division from the Division of Coastal Management. 

(c)  The Division may request in writing, and the applicant shall 

furnish, any additional information necessary to clarify the 

information provided in the application under Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, or to complete the evaluation in Rule .0506 of this 

Section.  

(d)  If the applicant believes that it is not feasible or is unnecessary 

to furnish any portion of the information required by Paragraphs 

(a), (b) and (c) of this Rule, then the applicant shall submit an 

explanation detailing the reasons for omission of the information. 

The final decision regarding the completeness of the application 

shall be made by the Division based upon the information required 

in Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Rule, and any explanation 

provided by the applicant regarding omitted information provided 

in this Paragraph. 

(e)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(a)(2), the staff of the Division 

shall conduct such investigation as the Division deems necessary 

to clarify the information provided in the application under 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule or to complete the evaluation in Rule 

.0506 of this Section. The applicant shall allow the staff safe 

access to the lands and facilities of the applicant and lend such 

assistance as shall be reasonable for those places, upon the 

presentation of credentials. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(c); 143B-282(a)(1)(u); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1984; January 1, 1979; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 2H .0501 Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02H .0503 PUBLIC NOTICE AND PUBLIC 

HEARING 

(a)  The Division shall provide public notice for proposed General 

Certifications. This notice shall be sent to all individuals on the 

mailing list described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule and posted on 

the Division's website: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-quality-permitting/401-buffer-permitting-

branch/public-notices. Notice shall be made at least 30 calendar 

days prior to issuance of the General Certification by the Division. 

Public notice shall not be required for those activities covered by 

Certificates of Coverage under a General Certification. 

(b)  Notice of each pending application for an individual 

certification shall be sent to all individuals on the mailing list 

described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule and shall be posted on the 

Division's website. Notice shall be made at least 30 calendar days 

prior to proposed final action by the Division on the application. 

(c)  The notice shall set forth: 

(1) the name and address of the applicant; 

(2) the action requested in the application; 

(3) the nature and location of the discharge; and 

(4) the proposed date of final action to be taken by 

the Division on the application. 

The notice shall also state where additional information is 

available online and on file with the Division. Information on file 

shall be made available upon request between 8:00 am and 5:00 

pm, Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays, and copies 

shall be made available upon payment of the cost thereof to the 

Division pursuant to G.S. 132-6.2. 

(d)  The public notice requirement for an individual certification 

as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be satisfied by a 

joint notice with the Division of Coastal Management (15A 

NCAC 07J .0206) or the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers according 

to their established procedures. 

(e)  Any person who desires a public hearing on a General 

Certification or an individual certification application shall so 

request in writing to the Division at the address listed in Rule 

.0502 of this Section. The request must be received by the 

Division within 30 calendar days following the Public Notice. 

(f)  If the Director determines that there is significant public 

interest in holding a hearing, based upon such factors as the 

reasons why a hearing was requested, the nature of the project, 

and the proposed impacts to waters of the State, the Division shall 

notify the applicant in writing that there will be a hearing. The 

Division shall also provide notice of the hearing to all individuals 

on the mailing list as described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule and 

shall post the notice on the Division's website. The notice shall be 

published at least 30 calendar days prior to the date of the hearing. 

The notice shall state the time, place, and format of the hearing. 

The notice can be combined with the notice required under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The hearing shall be held within 90 

calendar days following date of notification to the applicant. The 

record for each hearing held under this Paragraph shall remain 

open for a period of 30 calendar days after the public hearing to 

receive public comments. 

(g)  Any person may request that he or she be emailed copies of 

all public notices required by this Rule. The Division shall add the 

email address of any such person to an email listerv and shall 

email copies of notices to all persons on the list. 

(h)  Any public hearing held pursuant to this Rule may be 

coordinated with other public hearings held by the Department or 

the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(c); 143B-282(a)(1)(u); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1984; September 1, 1984; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02H .0502 Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0504 HEARING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(c); 

143B-282(1)(u); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; December 1, 1984; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 2H .0503 Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .0507 DECISION ON APPLICATION 

FOR CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Director shall issue the certification, deny the application, 

provide notice of hearing pursuant to Rule .0503 of this Section, 

or request additional information within 60 calendar days after 

receipt of an application for certification. When the Director 

requests additional information, the 60-day review period restarts 

upon receipt of all of the additional information requested by the 

Director. Failure to issue the certification, deny the application, 

provide notice of hearing, or request additional information within 

60 calendar days shall result in a waiver of the certification 

requirement by the Director, unless: 

(1) The applicant agrees, in writing, to a longer 

period; 

(2) The final decision is to be made pursuant to a 

public hearing; 

(3) The applicant refuses the staff access to its 

records or premises for the purpose of gathering 

information necessary for the Director's 

decision; or 

(4) Information necessary for the Director's 

decision is unavailable. 

(b)  The Director shall issue the certification, deny the application, 

or request additional information within 60 calendar days 

following the close of the record for the public hearing. Failure to 

take action within 60 calendar days shall result in a waiver of the 

certification requirement by the Director, unless Subparagraphs 

(a)(1), (3), or (4) of this Rule apply. 

(c)  Any certification issued pursuant to this Section may contain 

such conditions as the Director shall deem necessary to ensure 

compliance with Sections 301, 302, 303, 306, and 307 of the 

Clean Water Act and with State water law. The conditions 

included in the certification shall become enforceable by the 
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Department pursuant to Chapter 143, Article 21, Part 1 when the 

federal permit or license is issued. 

(d)  Modification or Revocation of Certification: 

(1) Any certification issued pursuant to this Section 

may be subject to revocation or modification by 

the Director for violation of Sections 301, 302, 

303, 306, or 307 of the Clean Water Act or State 

water law. 

(2) Any certification issued pursuant to this Section 

may be subject to revocation or modification by 

the Director upon a determination that 

information contained in the application or 

presented in support thereof is incorrect or if the 

conditions under which the certification was 

made have changed. 

(e)  The Division shall notify the applicant of the final action to 

issue or deny the application. In the event that the Director denies 

the application, the Director shall specify the reasons for the 

denial. A copy of the notification shall be sent to the appropriate 

federal licensing or permitting agency and EPA. 

(f)  The issuance or denial is a final agency decision that is subject 

to administrative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-211(c); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.3(c); 143B-282(a)(1)(u); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1988; December 1, 1984; 

RRC Objection Eff. July 18, 1996 due to lack of statutory 

authority and ambiguity; 

Recodifed from 15A NCAC 2H .0504 Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1301 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

(a)  The provisions of this Section shall apply to Division of Water 

Resources (Division) regulatory and resource management 

determinations regarding isolated wetlands and isolated classified 

surface waters. This Section shall only apply to discharges 

resulting from activities that require State review after October 

22, 2001 and that require a Division determination concerning 

effects on isolated wetlands and isolated classified surface waters. 

For the purpose of this Section, "discharge" shall be the deposition 

of dredged or fill material (e.g. fill, earth, construction debris, soil, 

etc.). 

(b)  This Section outlines the application and review procedures 

for permitting of discharges into isolated wetlands and isolated 

classified surface waters that have been listed in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0300. If the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or its designee 

determines that a particular water is not regulated under Section 

404 of the Clean Water Act, then discharges to that water or 

wetland shall be covered by this Section. If the U.S. Army Corps 

of Engineers or its designee determines that a particular wetland 

is not regulated under Section 404 of the Clean Water Act and that 

wetland is a Basin Wetland or Bog as described in the North 

Carolina Wetland Assessment User Manual prepared by the North 

Carolina Wetland Functional Assessment Team, version 4.1 

October 2010 (available online at: 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-resources/water-

resources-data/water-quality-program-development/ncwam-

manual), then discharges to that wetland shall be covered by this 

Section. The Division shall verify the determination, extent, and 

location of isolated wetlands and isolated classified surface waters 

using the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Wetland Delineation 

Manual (Technical Report Y-87-1) and subsequent regional 

supplements and the Division publication, Methodology for 

Identification of Intermittent and Perennial Streams and Their 

Origins (v.4.11, 2010). 

(c)  Activities that result in a discharge may be deemed permitted 

as described in Rule .1305(b) of this Section or authorized by the 

issuance of either an individual permit or a Certificate of 

Coverage to operate under a general permit: 

(1) Individual permits shall be issued on a 

case-by-case basis using the procedures 

outlined in this Section. These Individual 

permits do not require approval by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(2) General permits may be developed by the 

Division and issued by the Director for types or 

groups of discharges resulting from activities 

that are similar in nature and considered to have 

minimal impact. General permits do not require 

approval by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency. All activities that receive a Certificate 

of Coverage under a general permit from the 

Division shall be covered under that general 

permit. When written approval is required in the 

general permit, the application and review 

procedures for requesting a Certificate of 

Coverage under a general permit from the 

Division for the proposed activity are the same 

as the procedures outlined in this Section for 

individual permits.  

(d)  Discharges resulting from activities that receive an individual 

permit or Certificate of Coverage under a general permit pursuant 

to this Section shall not be considered to remove existing uses of 

the isolated wetland or isolated surface waters. 

(e)  The following are exempt from this Section: 

(1) Activities described in 15A NCAC 02B .0230; 

(2) Discharges to isolated man-made ponds or 

isolated man-made ditches constructed for 

stormwater management purposes; 

(3) Discharges to any man-made isolated pond; 

(4) Discharges to any wetland not regulated under 

Section 404 of the Clean Water Act that is not 

a Basin Wetland or Bog as described in the 

North Carolina Wetland Assessment User 

Manual prepared by the North Carolina 

Wetland Functional Assessment Team, version 

4.1 October 2010 (available online at: 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-resources-data/water-quality-

program-development/ncwam-manual); 

(5) Discharges of treated effluent into isolated 

wetlands and isolated classified surface waters 

resulting from activities that receive NPDES 

Permits or State Non-Discharge Permits; 

(6) Discharges for water dependent structures as 

defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0202; and 
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(7) A discharge resulting from an activity if: 

(A) The discharge resulting from the 

activity requires a 401 Certification 

and 404 Permit and these were issued 

prior to October 22, 2001; 

(B) The project requires a State permit, 

such as landfills, NPDES discharges 

of treated effluent, Non-Discharge 

Permits, land application of residuals 

and road construction activities, that 

has begun construction or are under 

contract to begin construction and 

have received all required State 

permits prior to October 22, 2001; 

(C) The project is being conducted by the 

N.C. Department of Transportation 

and they have completed 30% of the 

hydraulic design for the project prior 

to October 22, 2001; or 

(D) The applicant has been authorized for 

a discharge into isolated wetlands or 

isolated waters for a project that has 

established a Vested Right under 

North Carolina law prior to October 

22, 2001. 

(f)  The terms used in this Section shall be as defined in G.S. 143-

212 and G.S. 143-213 and as follows: 

(1) "Class SWL wetland" means the term as 

defined at 15A NCAC 02B .0101. 

(2) "Class UWL wetland" means the term as 

defined at 15A NCAC 02B .0101. 

(3) "Cumulative impact" means environmental 

impacts resulting from incremental effects of an 

activity when added to other past, present, and 

reasonably foreseeable future activities, 

regardless of what entities undertake such other 

actions. 

(4) "Director" means the Director of the Division. 

(5) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources of the North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

(6) "Secondary impact" means indirect effects, 

which are caused by the action and are later in 

time or farther removed in distance, but are still 

reasonably foreseeable to the applicant or the 

Division. 

(7) "Wetland" means the term as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0202. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(6); 143-

215.1(b)(3); 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(c); S.L. 2014-120, s. 54; 

S.L. 2015-286, s. 4.18; 

Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule on September 26, 2001 and October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 22, 2001; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1302 FILING APPLICATIONS 

(a)  Any person needing issuance of an individual permit or 

Certificate of Coverage under a general permit for discharges 

resulting from activities that affect isolated classified surface 

waters or isolated wetlands shall file with the Director, at 1617 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27699-1617, or 

512 N Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27604, an original and one 

copy of an application for a Permit or submit one complete copy 

of an application electronically via the following website: 

https://edocs.deq.nc.gov/Forms/DWR_Wetlands_Online_Submit

tal_Page. The application shall be made on a form provided or 

approved by the Division, available electronically via the 

following website: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-quality-permitting/401-buffer-permitting-

branch/application. The application shall include at a minimum 

the following: 

(1) the date of application; 

(2) the name, address, and phone number of the 

property applicant. If the applicant is not the 

property owner(s), name, address, and phone 

number of the property owners(s); 

(3) if the applicant is a corporation, the name and 

address of the North Carolina process agency, 

and the name, address, and phone number of the 

individual who is the authorized agent of the 

corporation and responsible for the activity for 

which certification is sought. The corporation 

must be registered with the NC Secretary of 

State's Office to conduct business in NC; 

(4) the nature of the discharge, including 

cumulative impacts to isolated and non-isolated 

wetlands and isolated and non-isolated waters 

that cause or will cause a violation of 

downstream water quality standards resulting 

from an activity to be conducted by the 

applicant; 

(5) whether the discharge has occurred or is 

proposed; 

(6) the location and extent of the discharge, stating 

the municipality, if applicable, the county; the 

drainage basin; the name of the nearest named 

surface waters; and the location of the point of 

discharge with regard to the nearest named 

surface waters; 

(7) an application fee as required by G.S. 143-

215.3D. If payment of a fee is required for a 401 

Water Quality Certification, then that fee shall 

suffice for this Rule; 

(8) a map(s) with scales and north arrows that is 

legible to the reviewer and of sufficient detail to 

delineate the boundaries of the lands owned or 

proposed to be utilized by the applicant in 

carrying out the discharge; the location, 

dimensions, and type of any structures that 

affect isolated wetlands or waters for use in 

connection with the discharge; and the location 

and extent of the isolated waters including 

wetlands within the boundaries of said lands; 

and 
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(9) a signature by the applicant or an agent 

authorized by the applicant. If an agent is 

signing for the applicant, an agent authorization 

letter must be provided. In signing the 

application, the applicant certifies that all 

information contained therein or in support 

thereof is true and correct to the best of their 

knowledge. 

(b)  The Division may request in writing, and the applicant shall 

furnish, any additional information necessary to clarify the 

information provided in the application under Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, or to complete the evaluation in Rule .1305 of this 

Section.  

(c)  If the applicant believes that it is not feasible or is unnecessary 

to furnish any portion of the information required by Paragraphs 

(a) and (b) of this Rule, then the applicant shall submit an 

explanation detailing the reasons for omission of the information. 

The final decision regarding the completeness of the application 

shall be made by the Division based upon the information required 

in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, and any explanation 

provided by the applicant regarding omitted information provided 

in this Paragraph.  

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(a)(2), the staff of the Division 

shall conduct such investigation as the Division deems necessary 

to clarify the information provided in the application under 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule or to complete the evaluation in Rule 

.1305 of this Section. The applicant shall allow the staff safe 

access to the lands and facilities of the applicant and lend such 

assistance as shall be reasonable for those places, upon the 

presentation of credentials. 

(e)  Other applications for permitting or certification by a division 

of the Department shall suffice for application for this Permit as 

long as the application contains all of the information specified in 

this Rule and it is specifically requested to the Division by the 

applicant that authorization is sought under this Rule. This 

application must be submitted by the applicant to the Division for 

review under this Permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1(a)(6); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule on September 26, 2001 and October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 22, 2001; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1303 PUBLIC NOTICE AND PUBLIC 

HEARING 

(a)  The Division shall provide public notice for proposed general 

permits. This notice shall be sent to all individuals on the mailing 

list described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule and posted on the 

Division's website: https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-quality-permitting/401-buffer-permitting-

branch/public-notices. Notice shall be made at least 30 calendar 

days prior to issuance of the general permit by the Division. Public 

notice shall not be required for those activities covered by 

Certificates of Coverage under a general permit. 

(b)  Notice of each pending application for an individual permit 

shall be sent be to all individuals on the mailing list described in 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule and shall be posted on the Division's 

website. Notice shall be made at least 30 calendar days prior to 

proposed final action by the Division on the application.  

(c)  The notice shall set forth: 

(1) the name and address of the applicant; 

(2) the action requested in the application; 

(3) the nature and location of the discharge; and 

(4) the proposed date of final action to be taken by 

the Division on the application. 

The notice shall also state where additional information is 

available online and on file with the Division. Information on file 

shall be made available upon request between 8:00 am and 5:00 

pm, Monday through Friday, excluding State holidays, and copies 

shall be made available upon payment of the cost thereof to the 

Division pursuant to G.S. 132-6.2. 

(d)  This public notice requirement for an individual permit as 

described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be satisfied by a joint 

notice with the Division of Coastal Management (15A NCAC 07J 

.0206, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers according to their 

established procedures, or by a joint notice by the Division for an 

individual permit in accordance with Rule .0503 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Any person who desires a public hearing on a general permit 

or an individual permit application shall so request in writing to 

the to the Division at the address listed in Rule .1302 of this 

Section. The request must be received by the Division within 30 

calendar days following the Public Notice. 

(f)  If the Director determines that there is significant public 

interest in holding a hearing, based upon such factors as the 

reasons why a hearing was requested, the nature of the project, 

and the proposed impacts to waters of the State, the Division shall 

notify the applicant in writing that there will be a hearing. The 

Division shall also provide notice of the hearing to all individuals 

on the mailing list as described in Paragraph (g) of this Rule and 

shall post the notice on the Division's website. The notice shall be 

published at least 30 calendar days prior to the date of the hearing. 

The notice shall state the time, place, and format of the hearing. 

The notice can be combined with the notice required under 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The hearing shall be held within 90 

calendar days following date of notification to the applicant. The 

record for each hearing held under this Paragraph shall remain 

open for a period of 30 calendar days after the public hearing to 

receive public comments. 

(g)  Any person may request that he or she be emailed copies of 

all public notices required by this Rule. The Division shall add the 

email address of any such person to an email listerv and follow 

procedures set forth in Rule .0503(g) of this Subchapter. 

(h)  Any public hearing held pursuant to this Rule may be 

coordinated with other public hearings held by the Department or 

the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(6); 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(a)(1e); 143-215.3(c); 

Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule on September 26, 2001 and October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 22, 2001; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02H .1304 DECISION ON APPLICATION 

FOR PERMITS OR CERTIFICATES OF COVERAGE 

(a)  The Director shall issue the permit or Certificate of Coverage, 

deny the application, provide notice of hearing pursuant to Rule 

.1303 of this Section, or request additional information within 60 

calendar days after receipt of the application. When the Director 

requests additional information, the 60-day review period restarts 

upon receipt of all of the additional information requested by the 

Director. Failure to issue the permit or Certificate of Coverage, 

deny the application, provide notice of hearing, or request 

additional information within 60 calendar days shall result in the 

waiver of the permit requirement by the Director, unless: 

(1) The applicant agrees, in writing, to a longer 

period; 

(2) The final decision is to be made pursuant to a 

public hearing; 

(3) The applicant refuses the staff access to its 

records or premises for the purpose of gathering 

information necessary to the Director's 

decision; or 

(4) Information necessary to the Director's decision 

is unavailable. 

(b)  The Director shall issue the permit or Certificate of Coverage, 

deny the application, or request additional information within 60 

calendar days following the close of the record for the public 

hearing. Failure to take action within 60 calendar days shall result 

in the waiver of the permit requirement by the Director, unless 

Subparagraphs (a)(1), (3), or (4) of this Rule apply. 

(c)  Any permit or Certificate of Coverage issued pursuant to this 

Section may contain such conditions as the Director shall deem 

necessary to ensure compliance with this Section, including 

written post-discharge notification to the Division. 

(d)  Modification or Revocation of permit or Certificate of 

Coverage: 

(1) Any permit or Certificate of Coverage issued 

pursuant to this Section may be subject to 

revocation or modification by the Director for 

violation of conditions of the permit or 

Certificate of Coverage; and 

(2) Any permit or Certificate of Coverage issued 

pursuant to this Section may be subject to 

revocation or modification by the Director upon 

a determination that information contained in 

the application or presented in support thereof 

is incorrect or if the Director finds that the 

discharge has violated or may violate a 

downstream water quality standard. 

(e)  The Division shall notify the applicant of the final action to 

issue or deny the application. In the event that the Director denies 

the application, the Director shall specify the reasons for the 

denial.  

(f)  Individual permits and Certificates of Coverage for general 

permits shall be issued for a period of five years, after which time 

the Permit shall be void, unless the discharge is complete or an 

extension is granted pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule. The 

permit shall become enforceable when issued. 

(g)  Permit or Certificate of Coverage renewals shall require a new 

complete application. The applicant may request in writing that 

the Division grant an extension before the permit expires. An 

extension may be granted by the Division based on the new 

complete application for a time period of one additional year, 

provided that the construction has commenced or is under contract 

to commence before the permit expires. 

(h)  The issuance or denial is a final agency decision that is subject 

to administrative review pursuant to G.S. 150B-23. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(6); 143-215.1(b); 

143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(c); 

Codifier determined that findings did not meet criteria for 

temporary rule on September 26, 2001 and October 12, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 22, 2001; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02H .1306 SOIL SERIES 

For purposes of implementing the rules in this Section, the Natural 

Resources Conservation Service of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture have categorized soil series that occur in North 

Carolina as follows: 

(1) Soil series in the Mountain Region shall include 

the following: Alarka, Anakeesta, Arkaqua, 

Ashe, Balsam, Bandana, Biltmore, Braddock, 

Bradson, Brasstown, Breakneck, Brevard, 

Brownwood, Buladean, Burton, Cades, Calvin, 

Cashiers, Cataloochee, Cataska, Chandler, 

Cheoah, Chester, Chestnut, Chestoa, 

Chiltoskie, Cleveland, Cliffield, Clifford, 

Clifton, Clingman, Codorus, Colvard, Comus, 

Cowee, Craggey, Crossnore, Cruso, Cullasaja, 

Cullowhee, Dellwood, Dillard, Dillsboro, 

Ditney, Edneytown, Edneyville, Ela, Ellijay, 

Elsinboro, Evard, Fannin, Farner, Fontaflora, 

French, Greenlee, Guyot, Harmiller, Hatboro, 

Hayesville, Heintooga, Hemphill, Hiwassee, 

Horsetrough, Huntdale, Iotla, Jeffrey, 

Junaluska, Kanuga, Keener, Kinkora, Lauada, 

Leatherwood, Longhope, Lonon, Lostcove, 

Luftee, Mars Hill, Maymead, Micaville, 

Nantahala, Nikwasi, Northcove, Nowhere, 

Oconaluftee, Ostin, Oteen, Peaks, Pigeonroost, 

Pineola, Pinnacle, Plott, Porters, Pullback, 

Rabun, Reddies, Rosman, Saluda, Santeetlah, 

Saunook, Sauratown, Shinbone, Skyuka, 

Smokemont, Snowbird, Soco, Spivey, Statler, 

Stecoah, Suches, Swannanoa, Sylco, Sylva, 

Tanasee, Tate, Thunder, Thurmont, Toccoa, 

Toecane, Toxaway, Transylvania, Trimont, 

Tsali, Tuckasegee, Tusquitee, Unaka, Unicoi, 

Unison, Walnut, Watauga, Wayah, Wesser, 

Whiteoak, Whiteside, and Zillicoa. 

(2) Soil series in the Piedmont Region shall include 

the following: Alamance, Altavista, Appling, 

Appomattox, Armenia, Ashlar, Augusta, 

Ayersville, Badin, Banister, Bannertown, 

Belews Lake, Bentley, Bethera, Bethlehem, 

Biscoe, Brickhaven, Buncombe, Callison, 

Carbonton, Cartecay, Casville, Cecil, 

Chewacla, Cid, Claycreek, Cliffside, Clover, 
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Colfax, Congaree, Coronaca, Creedmoor, 

Cullen, Dan River, Danripple, Davidson, 

Davie, Delila, Devotion, Dorian, Durham, 

Elbert, Enon, Enott, Exway, Fairview, 

Georgeville, Goldston, Granville, Green Level, 

Grover, Gwinnett, Halifax, Hallison, Haw 

River, Helena, Herndon, Hibriten, Hiwassee, 

Hornsboro, Hulett, Iredell, Jackland, Kinkora, 

Kirksey, Lackstown, Leaksville, Lignum, 

Lloyd, Louisa, Louisburg, Madison, Mandale, 

Masada, Mattaponi, Mayodan, McQueen, 

Meadowfield, Mecklenburg, Merry Oaks, 

Misenheimer, Mocksville, Monacan, Moncure, 

Montonia, Mooshaunee, Nanford, Nason, 

Nathalie, Oak Level, Oakboro, Orange, Ostin, 

Pacolet, Pactolus, Peakin, Peawick, Penhook, 

Pfafftown, Picture, Pilot Mountain, Pinkston, 

Pinoka, Pittsboro, Poindexter, Polkton, Poplar 

Forest, Rasalo, Rhodhiss, Rion, Riverview, 

Ronda, Rowan, Saw, Secrest, Sedgefield, 

Siloam, Skyuka, Spartanburg, Spray, Spriggs, 

Starr, Stoneville, Stott Knob, Tarrus, Tatum, 

Tillery, Toast, Toccoa, Tomlin, Totier, 

Turbeville, Tussahaw, Uwharrie, Vance, 

Wadesboro, Wake, Warne, Wate, Wateree, 

Wedowee, Wehadkee, Westfield, White Store, 

Wickham, Wilkes, Winnsboro, Woolwine, 

Worsham, Wynott, Yadkin, and Zion. 

(3) Soil series in the Coastal Region shall include 

the following: Acredale, Ailey, Alaga, Alpin, 

Arapahoe, Argent, Augusta, Autryville, 

Aycock, Backbay, Ballahack, Barclay, 

Bayboro, Baymeade, Belhaven, Bertie, 

Bethera, Bibb, Bladen, Blaney, Blanton, 

Bohicket, Bojac, Bolling, Bonneau, Bragg, 

Brookman, Butters, Byars, Cainhoy, Candor, 

Cape Fear, Cape Lookout, Caroline, Carteret, 

Centenary, Chapanoke, Charleston, Chastain, 

Chenneby, Chesapeake, Chipley, Chowan, 

Conaby, Conetoe, Corolla, Cowarts, Coxville, 

Craven, Croatan, Currituck, Dare, Deloss, 

Delway, Dogue, Dorovan, Dothan, Dragston, 

Duckston, Dunbar, Duplin, Echaw, Emporia, 

Engelhard, Exum, Faceville, Foreston, Fork, 

Fortescue, Fripp, Fuquay, Gertie, Gilead, 

Goldsboro, Grantham, Grifton, Gritney, 

Gullrock, Hobonny, Hobucken, Hyde, 

Hydeland, Icaria, Invershiel, Johns, Johnston, 

Kalmia, Kenansville, Kinston, Kureb, 

Lakeland, Leaf, Lenoir, Leon, Liddell, 

Lillington, Longshoal, Lucy, Lumbee, 

Lynchburg, Lynn Haven, Mandarin, 

Mantachie, Marlboro, Marvyn, Masontown, 

Maxton, Mayodan, McColl, Meggett, 

Mooshaunee, Muckalee, Munden, Murville, 

Myatt, Nahunta, Nakina, Nankin, Nawney, 

Neeses, Newhan, Newholland, Nimmo, 

Nixonton, Noboco, Norfolk, Ocilla, Onslow, 

Orangeburg, Osier, Ousley, Pactolus, Pamlico, 

Pantego, Pasquotank, Paxville, Peakin, Pelion, 

Pender, Perquimans, Pettigrew, Plummer, 

Pocalla, Polawana, Ponzer, Portsmouth, Pungo, 

Rains, Rimini, Roanoke, Roper, Rumford, 

Rutlege, Scuppernong, Seabrook, Seagate, 

Shellbluff, Stallings, State, Stockade, Suffolk, 

Tarboro, Tetotum, Thursa, Toisnot, 

Tomahawk, Tomotley, Torhunta, Troup, 

Uchee, Valhalla, Varina, Vaucluse, Wagram, 

Wahee, Wakulla, Wando, Wasda, Weeksville, 

Wilbanks,Winton, Woodington, Wrightsboro, 

Wysocking, Yaupon, Yeopim, and Yonges. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1(a)(6); 143-

215.3(a)(1); 143-215.3(c); S.L. 2014-120, s. 54; S.L. 2015-286, s. 

4.18; 

Readopted Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0401 PURPOSE 

(a)  The purpose of this Section is to establish procedures for risk-

based assessment and corrective action sufficient to: 

(1) protect human health and the environment; 

(2) abate and control contamination of the waters 

of the State as deemed necessary to protect 

human health and the environment; 

(3) permit management of the State's groundwaters 

to protect their designated current usage and 

potential future uses; 

(4) provide for anticipated future uses of the State's 

groundwater; 

(5) recognize the diversity of contaminants, the 

State's geology and the characteristics of each 

individual site; and 

(6) accomplish these goals in a cost-efficient 

manner to assure the best use of the limited 

resources available to address groundwater 

pollution within the State. 

(b)  Section .0100 of this Subchapter shall apply to this Section 

unless specifically excluded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(a); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0402 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions as set out in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter shall 

apply to this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02L .0403 RULE APPLICATION 

This Section shall apply to any discharge or release from a 

"commercial underground storage tank" or a "noncommercial 

underground storage tank," as those terms are defined in G.S. 143-

215.94A, that is reported on or after January 2, 1998. The 

requirements of this Section shall apply to the owner and operator 

of the underground storage tank from which the discharge or 

release occurred, a landowner seeking reimbursement from the 

Commercial Leaking Underground Storage Tank Fund or the 

Noncommercial Leaking Underground Storage Tank Fund under 

G.S. 143-215.94E, and any other person responsible for the 

assessment or cleanup of a discharge or release from an 

underground storage tank, including any person who has 

conducted or controlled an activity that results in the discharge or 

release of petroleum or petroleum products as defined in G.S. 143-

215.94A(10) to the groundwaters of the State or in proximity 

thereto; these persons shall be collectively referred to for purposes 

of this Section as the "responsible party." This Section shall be 

applied in a manner consistent with the rules found in 15A NCAC 

02N in order to assure that the State's requirements regarding 

assessment and cleanup from underground storage tanks are no 

less stringent than Federal requirements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(b); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0404 REQUIRED INITIAL 

ABATEMENT ACTIONS BY RESPONSIBLE PARTY 

(a)  Upon a discharge or release of petroleum from a commercial 

underground storage tank the responsible party shall: 

(1) take action to prevent all further discharge or 

release of petroleum from the underground 

storage tank; identify and mitigate all fire, 

explosion, and vapor hazards; remove any free 

product; and comply with the requirements of 

15A NCAC 02N .0601 through .0604, .0701 

through .0703, and .0705 within 24 hours of 

discovery; 

(2) incorporate the requirements of 15A NCAC 

02N .0704 into the submittal required under 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph or the 

limited site assessment report required under 

Rule .0405 of this Section, whichever is 

applicable. The submittals shall constitute 

compliance with the reporting requirements of 

15A NCAC 02N .0704(b); and 

(3) submit within 90 days of the discovery of the 

discharge or release a soil contamination report 

containing information sufficient to show that 

remaining unsaturated soil in the side walls and 

at the base of the excavation does not contain 

contaminant levels that exceed either the "soil-

to-groundwater" or the residential maximum 

soil contaminant concentrations established by 

the Department pursuant to Rule .0411 of this 

Section, whichever is lower. If the showing is 

made, the discharge or release shall be 

classified as low risk by the Department as 

defined in Rules .0406 and .0407 of this 

Section. 

(b)  Upon a discharge or release of petroleum from a 

noncommercial underground storage tank the responsible party 

shall: 

(1) take necessary actions to protect public health, 

safety, and welfare and the environment, 

including actions to prevent all further 

discharge or release of petroleum from the 

noncommercial underground storage tank; 

identify and mitigate all fire, explosion, and 

vapor hazards; and report the release within 24 

hours of discovery, in compliance with G.S. 

143-215.83(a), G.S. 143-215.84(a), G.S. 143-

215.85(b), and G.S. 143-215.94E; and 

(2) provide or otherwise make available any 

information required by the Department to 

determine the site risk as described in Rules 

.0405, .0406, and .0407 of this Section. 

(c)  The Department shall notify the responsible party for a 

discharge or release of petroleum from a noncommercial 

underground storage tank that no cleanup, no further cleanup, or 

no further action shall be required without additional soil 

remediation pursuant to Rule .0408 of this Section if the site is 

determined by the Department to be low risk. This classification 

is based on information provided to the Department that: 

(1) describes the source and type of the petroleum 

release, site-specific risk factors, and risk 

factors present in the surrounding area as 

defined in Rules .0406 and .0407 of this 

Section; 

(2) demonstrates that no remaining risk factors are 

present that are likely to be affected per G.S. 

143-215.94V(b); or 

(3) documents that soils remaining onsite do not 

contain contaminant levels that exceed either 

the "soil-to-groundwater" or the residential 

maximum soil contaminant concentrations 

established by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0411 of this Section, whichever is lower. 

The Department shall reclassify the site as high risk, as defined in 

Rule .0406(1) of this Section, upon receipt of new information 

related to site conditions indicating that the discharge or release 

from a noncommercial underground storage tank poses an 

unacceptable risk or a potentially unacceptable risk to human 

health or the environment, as described in Rule .0407 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(c)(1)-(3); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 29, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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15A NCAC 02L .0405 REQUIREMENTS FOR LIMITED 

SITE ASSESSMENT 

(a)  If the required showing for a commercial underground storage 

tank cannot be made or if the Department determines that a release 

from a noncommercial underground storage tank represents an 

unacceptable risk under Rule .0404 of this Section, the 

responsible party shall submit within 120 days of the discovery of 

the discharge or release, a report containing information needed 

by the Department to classify the level of risk to human health and 

the environment posed by a discharge or release under Rule .0406 

of this Section. 

(b)  The responsible party may submit a written request for an 

extension to the 120 day deadline set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule to the Department for the Department's consideration prior 

to the deadline. The request for deadline extension by the 

responsible party shall demonstrate that the extension, if granted 

by the Department, would not increase the risk posed by the 

release. When considering a request from a responsible party for 

additional time to submit the report, the Department shall consider 

the following:  

(1) the extent to which the request for additional 

time is due to factors outside of the control of 

the responsible party; 

(2) the previous history of the person submitting 

the report in complying with deadlines 

established under the Commission's rules; 

(3) the technical complications associated with 

assessing the extent of contamination at the site 

or identifying potential receptors; and 

(4) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

(c)  The report shall include: 

(1) a location map, based on a USGS topographic 

map, showing the radius of 1500 feet from the 

source area of a confirmed release or discharge 

and depicting all water supply wells, surface 

waters, and designated wellhead protection 

areas as defined in 42 U.S.C. 300h-7(e) within 

the 1500-foot radius. 42 U.S.C. 300h-7(e), is 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained at no cost from the U.S. Government 

Bookstore's website at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-

2010-title42/html/USCODE-2010-title42-

chap6A-subchapXII-partC-sec300h-7.htm. 

The material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, UST 

Section, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603. For purposes of this Section, "source 

area" means the point of release or discharge 

from the underground storage tank system; 

(2) a determination of whether the source area of 

the discharge or release is within a designated 

wellhead protection area as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(3) if the discharge or release is in the Coastal Plain 

physiographic region as designated on a map 

entitled "Geology of North Carolina" published 

by the Department in 1985, incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments or 

editions and may be obtained electronically free 

of charge from the Department's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-

mineral-land-resources/north-carolina-

geological-survey/ncgs-maps/1985-geologic-

map-of-nc, a determination of whether the 

source area of the discharge or release is located 

in an area in which there is recharge to an 

unconfined or semi-confined deeper aquifer 

that is being used or may be used as a source of 

drinking water; 

(4) a determination of whether vapors from the 

discharge or release pose a threat of explosion 

due to the accumulation of vapors in a confined 

space or pose any other serious threat to public 

health, public safety, or the environment; 

(5) scaled site maps showing the location of the 

following that are on or adjacent to the property 

where the source is located:  

(A) site boundaries; 

(B) roads; 

(C) buildings; 

(D) basements; 

(E) floor and storm drains; 

(F) subsurface utilities; 

(G) septic tanks and leach fields; 

(H) underground and aboveground storage 

tank systems; 

(I) monitoring wells; 

(J) water supply wells; 

(K) surface water bodies and other 

drainage features; 

(L) borings; and 

(M) the sampling points; 

(6) the results from a limited site assessment that 

shall include: 

(A) the analytical results from soil samples 

collected during the construction of a 

monitoring well installed in the source 

area of each confirmed discharge or 

release from a noncommercial or 

commercial underground storage tank 

and either the analytical results of a 

groundwater sample collected from 

the well or, if free product is present in 

the well, the amount of free product in 

the well. The soil samples shall be 

collected every five feet in the 

unsaturated zone unless a water table 

is encountered at or greater than a 

depth of 25 feet from land surface in 

which case soil samples shall be 

collected every 10 feet in the 

unsaturated zone. The soil samples 

shall be collected from suspected 

worst-case locations exhibiting visible 
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contamination or elevated levels of 

volatile organic compounds in the 

borehole; 

(B) if any constituent in the groundwater 

sample from the source area 

monitoring well installed in 

accordance with Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, for a site meeting the 

high risk classification in Rule 

.0406(1) of this Section, exceeds the 

standards or interim standards 

established in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter by a factor of 10 and is a 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank, 

the analytical results from a 

groundwater sample collected from 

each of three additional monitoring 

wells or, if free product is present in 

any of the wells, the amount of free 

product in such well. The three 

additional monitoring wells shall be 

installed as follows: one upgradient of 

the source of contamination and two 

downgradient of the source of 

contamination. The monitoring wells 

installed upgradient and downgradient 

of the source of contamination shall be 

located such that groundwater flow 

direction can be determined; and 

(C) potentiometric data from all required 

wells; 

(7) the availability of public water supplies and the 

identification of properties served by the public 

water supplies within 1500 feet of the source 

area of a confirmed discharge or release; 

(8) the land use, including zoning if applicable, 

within 1500 feet of the source area of a 

confirmed discharge or release; 

(9) a discussion of site-specific conditions or 

possible actions that could result in lowering 

the risk classification assigned to the release. 

The discussion shall be based on information 

known or required to be obtained under this 

Paragraph; and 

(10) names and current addresses of all owners and 

operators of the underground storage tank 

systems for which a discharge or release is 

confirmed, the owners of the land upon which 

such systems are located, and all potentially 

affected real property owners.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(c)(4); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 29, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 02L .0406 DISCHARGE OR RELEASE 

CLASSIFICATIONS 

The Department shall classify the risk of each known discharge 

or release as high, intermediate, or low risk unless the discharge 

or release has been classified under Rule .0404(a)(3) or (c) of this 

Section. For purposes of this Section: 

(1) "High risk" means that: 

(a) a water supply well, including one 

used for non-drinking purposes, has 

been contaminated by a release or 

discharge; 

(b) a water supply well used for drinking 

water is located within 1000 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank or a 

noncommercial underground storage 

tank of 1100 gallons or less in capacity 

used for storing motor fuel for 

noncommercial purposes; 

(c) a water supply well not used for 

drinking water is located within 250 

feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

or a noncommercial underground 

storage tank of 1100 gallons or less in 

capacity used for storing motor fuel 

for noncommercial purposes; 

(d) the groundwater within 500 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank or a 

noncommercial underground storage 

tank of 1100 gallons or less in capacity 

used for storing motor fuel for 

noncommercial purposes has the 

potential for future use in that there is 

no source of water supply other than 

the groundwater; 

(e) a water supply well, including one 

used for non-drinking purposes, is 

located within 150 feet of the source 

area of a confirmed discharge or 

release from a noncommercial 

underground storage tank storing 

heating oil for consumptive use on the 

premises; 

(f) the vapors from a discharge or release 

pose a serious threat of explosion due 

to accumulation of the vapors in a 

confined space; or 

(g) a discharge or release poses an 

imminent danger to public health, 

public safety, or the environment. 

(2) "Intermediate risk" means that: 

(a) surface water is located within 500 

feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

66 

commercial underground storage tank 

and the maximum groundwater 

contaminant concentration exceeds 

the applicable surface water quality 

standards and criteria found in 15A 

NCAC 02B .0200 by a factor of 10; 

(b) in the Coastal Plain physiographic 

region as designated on a map entitled 

"Geology of North Carolina" 

published by the Department in 1985, 

the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

is located in an area in which there is 

recharge to an unconfined or semi-

confined deeper aquifer that the 

Department determines is being used 

or may be used as a source of drinking 

water; 

(c) the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

is within a designated wellhead 

protection area, as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(d) the levels of groundwater 

contamination associated with a 

confirmed discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

for any contaminant except ethylene 

dibromide, benzene, and alkane and 

aromatic carbon fraction classes 

exceed 50 percent of the solubility of 

the contaminant at 25 degrees Celsius 

or 1,000 times the groundwater 

standard or interim standard 

established in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, whichever is lower; or 

(e) the levels of groundwater 

contamination associated with a 

confirmed discharge or release from a 

commercial underground storage tank 

for ethylene dibromide and benzene 

exceed 1,000 times the federal 

drinking water standard set out in 40 

CFR 141. 40 CFR 141 is incorporated 

by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies may 

be obtained at no cost from the U.S. 

Government Bookstore's website at 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-

2015-title40-vol23/pdf/CFR-2015-

title40-vol23-part141.pdf. The 

material is available for inspection at 

the Department of Environmental 

Quality, UST Section, 217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, NC 27603. 

(3) "Low risk" means that: 

(a) the risk posed does not fall within the 

high risk category for any 

underground storage tank, or within 

the intermediate risk category for a 

commercial underground storage tank; 

or 

(b) based on review of site-specific 

information, limited assessment, or 

interim corrective actions, the 

discharge or release poses no 

significant risk to human health or the 

environment. 

If the criteria for more than one risk category applies, the 

discharge or release shall be classified at the highest risk level 

identified in Rule .0407 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(d); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 29, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0407 RECLASSIFICATION OF RISK 

LEVELS 

(a)  Each responsible party shall have the continuing obligation to 

notify the Department of any changes that may affect the level of 

risk assigned to a discharge or release by the Department if the 

change is known or should be known by the responsible party, 

including changes in zoning of real property, use of real property, 

or the use of groundwater that has been contaminated or is 

expected to be contaminated by the discharge or release.  

(b)  The Department shall reclassify the risk posed by a release if 

warranted by further information concerning the potential 

exposure of receptors to the discharge or release or upon receipt 

of new information concerning changed conditions at the site. 

After initial classification of the discharge or release, the 

Department may require limited assessment, interim corrective 

action, or other actions that the Department believes will result in 

a lower risk classification. 

(c)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by the 

Department to be high risk, the responsible party shall comply 

with the assessment and cleanup requirements of Rule .0106(c), 

(g), and (h) of this Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N .0706 and 

.0707. The goal of a required corrective action for groundwater 

contamination shall be restoration to the level of the groundwater 

standards set forth in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, or as closely 

thereto as is economically and technologically feasible. In a 

corrective action plan submitted pursuant to this Paragraph, 

natural attenuation shall be used to the maximum extent possible, 

when the benefits of its use do not increase the risk to the 

environment and human health. If the responsible party 

demonstrates that natural attenuation prevents the further 

migration of the plume, the Department may approve a 

groundwater monitoring plan. 

(d)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by 

the Department to be an intermediate risk, the responsible party 

shall comply with the assessment requirements of Rule .0106(c) 
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and (g) of this Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N .0706. As part of 

the comprehensive site assessment, the responsible party shall 

evaluate, based on site-specific conditions, whether the release 

poses a significant risk to human health or the environment. If the 

Department determines, based on the site-specific conditions, that 

the discharge or release does not pose a significant threat to 

human health or the environment, the site shall be reclassified as 

a low risk site. If the site is not reclassified, the responsible party 

shall, at the direction of the Department, submit a groundwater 

monitoring plan or a corrective action plan, or a combination 

thereof, meeting the cleanup standards of this Paragraph and 

containing the information required in Rule .0106(h) of this 

Subchapter and 15A NCAC 02N .0707. Discharges or releases 

that are classified as intermediate risk shall be remediated, at a 

minimum, to a cleanup level of 50 percent of the solubility of the 

contaminant at 25 degrees Celsius or 1,000 times the groundwater 

standard or interim standard established in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, whichever is lower, for any groundwater contaminant 

except ethylene dibromide, benzene and alkane and aromatic 

carbon fraction classes. Ethylene dibromide and benzene shall be 

remediated to a cleanup level of 1,000 times the federal drinking 

water standard as referenced in 15A NCAC 18C .1518 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available free of charge at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title 15a - environmental 

quality/chapter 18 - environmental health/subchapter c/15a ncac 

18c .1518.pdf. Additionally, if a corrective action plan or 

groundwater monitoring plan is required under this Paragraph, the 

responsible party shall demonstrate that the groundwater cleanup 

levels are sufficient to prevent a violation of: 

(1) the rules contained in 15A NCAC 02B; 

(2) the standards contained in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter in a deep aquifer as described in 

Rule .0406(2)(b) of this Section; and 

(3) the standards contained in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter at a location no closer than one year 

time of travel upgradient of a well within a 

designated wellhead protection area, based on 

travel time and the natural attenuation capacity 

of the subsurface materials or on a physical 

barrier to groundwater migration that exists or 

will be installed by the person making the 

request. 

In any corrective action plan submitted pursuant to this Paragraph, 

natural attenuation shall be used to the maximum extent possible, 

if the benefits of its use do not increase the risk to the environment 

and human health. 

(e)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined to be 

a low risk, the Department shall notify the responsible party that 

no cleanup, no further cleanup, or no further action is required by 

the Department unless the Department later determines that the 

discharge or release poses an unacceptable risk or a potentially 

unacceptable risk to human health or the environment. No 

notification shall be issued pursuant to this Paragraph, however, 

until the responsible party has: 

(1) completed soil remediation pursuant to Rule 

.0408 of this Section or as closely thereto as 

economically or technologically feasible; 

(2) submitted proof of public notification, if 

required pursuant to Rule .0409(b) of this 

Section; and 

(3) recorded all required land-use restrictions 

pursuant to G.S. 143B-279.9 and 143B-279.11. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(e)-(h); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0408 ASSESSMENT AND 

REMEDIATION PROCEDURES 

Assessment and remediation of soil contamination shall be 

addressed as follows: 

(1) At the time that the Department determines the 

risk posed by the discharge or release, the 

Department shall also determine, based on site-

specific information, whether the site is 

"residential" or "industrial/commercial." For 

the purposes of this Section, a site is presumed 

residential, but may be classified as 

industrial/commercial if the Department 

determines based on site-specific information 

that exposure to the soil contamination is 

limited in time due to the use of the site and 

does not involve exposure to children. For the 

purposes of this Paragraph, "site" means both 

the property upon which the discharge or 

release occurred and any property upon which 

soil has been affected by the discharge or 

release. 

(2) For a discharge or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank, or for a discharge or 

release from a noncommercial underground 

storage tank classified by the Department as 

high risk, the responsible party shall submit a 

report to the Department assessing the vertical 

and horizontal extent of soil contamination in 

excess of the lower of: 

(a) the residential or 

industrial/commercial maximum soil 

contaminant concentration, whichever 

is applicable, that has been established 

by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0411 of this Section; or 

(b) the "soil-to-groundwater" maximum 

soil contaminant concentration that 

has been established by the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0411 of 

this Section. 

(3) For a discharge or release from a commercial 

underground storage tank classified by the 

Department as low risk, the responsible party 

shall submit a report demonstrating that soil 

contamination has been remediated to either the 

residential or industrial/commercial maximum 
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soil contaminant concentration established by 

the Department pursuant to Rule .0411 of this 

Section, whichever is applicable. 

(4) For a discharge or release classified by the 

Department as high or intermediate risk, the 

responsible party shall submit a report 

demonstrating that soil contamination has been 

remediated to the lower of: 

(a) the residential or 

industrial/commercial maximum soil 

contaminant concentration, whichever 

is applicable, that has been established 

by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0411 of this Section; or 

(b) the "soil-to-groundwater" maximum 

soil contaminant concentration that 

has been established by the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0411 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(i); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 29, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0409 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A responsible party who submits a corrective action plan that 

proposes natural attenuation, to cleanup groundwater 

contamination to a standard other than a standard as set forth in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, or to cleanup soil other than to the 

standard for residential use or soil-to-groundwater contaminant 

concentration established pursuant to this Section, whichever is 

lowest, shall give notice to:  

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing the 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

The notice shall describe the nature of the plan and the reasons 

supporting it. Notification shall be made by certified mail 

concurrent with the submittal of the corrective action plan. 

Approval of the corrective action plan by the Department shall be 

postponed for a period of 60 days following receipt of the request 

so that the Department may receive and consider comments. The 

responsible party shall, within 30 days, provide the Department 

with a copy of the notice and proof of receipt of each required 

notice or of refusal by the addressee to accept delivery of a 

required notice. If notice by certified mail to occupants under this 

Paragraph is impractical, the responsible party shall give notice as 

provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). If notice is made to 

occupants by posting, the responsible party shall provide the 

Department with a copy of the posted notice and a description of 

the manner in which such posted notice was given. 

(b)  A responsible party who receives a notice from the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0404(c) or .0407(e) of this Section 

for a discharge or release that has not been remediated to the 

groundwater standards or interim standards established in Rule 

.0202 of this Subchapter or to the lower of the residential or soil-

to-groundwater contaminant concentrations established under 

Rule .0411 of this Section, shall, within 30 days of the receipt of 

such notice, provide a copy of the notice to:  

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing the 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

Notification shall be made by certified mail. The responsible party 

shall, within 60 days of receipt of the original notice from the 

Department, provide the Department with proof of receipt of the 

copy of the notice or of refusal by the addressee to accept delivery 

of the copy of the notice. If notice by certified mail to occupants 

under this Paragraph is impractical, the responsible party shall 

give notice as provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). If notice 

is made to occupants by posting, the responsible party shall 

provide the Department with a description of the manner in which 

the posted notice was given. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(j) and (k); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 29, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0410 DEPARTMENTAL LISTING OF 

DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

The Department shall maintain in each of the Department's 

regional offices a list of all petroleum underground storage tank 

discharges or releases discovered and reported to the Department 

within the region on or after the effective date of this Section and 

all petroleum underground storage tank discharges or releases for 

which notification was issued under Rule .0407(e) of this Section 

by the Department on or after the effective date of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(l); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0411 ESTABLISHING MAXIMUM 

SOIL CONTAMINATION CONCENTRATIONS 

The Department shall publish on the Department website and 

annually revise maximum soil contaminant concentrations to be 
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used as soil cleanup levels for contamination from petroleum 

underground storage tank systems. The Department shall 

establish maximum soil contaminant concentrations for 

residential, industrial/commercial, and soil-to-groundwater 

exposures as follows: 

(1) The following equations and references shall be 

used in establishing residential maximum soil 

contaminant concentrations. Equation 1 shall 

be used for each contaminant with an EPA 

carcinogenic classification of A, B1, B2, C, D 

or E. Equation 2 shall be used for each 

contaminant with an EPA carcinogenic 

classification of A, B1, B2 or C. The maximum 

soil contaminant concentration shall be the 

lower of the concentrations derived from 

Equations 1 and 2. 

(a) Equation 1: Non-cancer Risk-

based Residential Ingestion 

Concentration 

 Soil mg/kg =[0.2 x oral chronic 

reference dose x body weight, age 1 to 

6 x averaging time noncarcinogens] / 

[exposure frequency x exposure 

duration, age 1 to 6 x (soil ingestion 

rate, age 1 to 6 / 106 mg/kg)]. 

(b) Equation 2: Cancer Risk-based 

Residential Ingestion Concentration 

 Soil mg/kg =[target cancer risk of 10-6 

x averaging time carcinogens] / 

[exposure frequency x (soil ingestion 

factor, age adjusted / 106mg/kg) x oral 

cancer slope factor]. The age adjusted 

soil ingestion factor shall be calculated 

by: [(exposure duration, age 1 to 6 x 

soil ingestion rate, age 1 to 6) /( body 

weight, age 1 to 6)] + [((exposure 

duration, total - exposure duration, age 

1 to 6) x soil ingestion, adult) / (body 

weight, adult)]. 

(c) The exposure factors selected in 

calculating the residential maximum 

soil contaminant concentrations shall 

be within the recommended ranges 

specified in the following references 

or the most recent version of these 

references: 

(i) EPA, 2011. Exposure Factors 

Handbook, incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent amendments or 

editions and may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://cfpub.epa.gov/ncea/ri

sk/recordisplay.cfm?deid=23

6252; 

(ii) EPA, 1991. Risk Assessment 

Guidance for Superfund: 

Volume I Human Health 

Evaluation Manual (Part B, 

Development of Risk Based 

Preliminary Remediation 

Goals), incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent amendments or 

editions and may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://www.epa.gov/risk/ris

k-assessment-guidance-

superfund-rags-part-b; 

(iii) EPA. Regional Screening 

Level Generic Tables (RSL) 

and User's Guide, 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments or editions and 

may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://www.epa.gov/risk/reg

ional-screening-levels-rsls; 

and 

(iv) EPA, 2018. Region 4 Human 

Health Risk Assessment 

Supplemental Guidance, 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments or editions and 

may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://www.epa.gov/sites/pr

oduction/files/2018-

03/documents/hhra_regional

_supplemental_guidance_re

port-march-

2018_update.pdf. 

(d) The following references or the most 

recent version of these references, in 

order of preference, shall be used to 

obtain oral chronic reference doses 

and oral cancer slope factors: 

(i) EPA. Integrated Risk 

Information System (IRIS) 

Computer Database, 

incorporated by reference 

including subsequent 

amendments or editions and 
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may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://www.epa.gov/iris; 

(ii) EPA. Health Effects 

Assessment Summary Tables 

(HEAST), incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent amendments or 

editions and may be obtained 

electronically free of charge 

from the United States 

Environmental Protection 

Agency website at 

https://epa-heast.ornl.gov; 

(iii) EPA. Regional Screening 

Level Generic Tables (RSL) 

and User's Guide; 

(iv) EPA, 2018. Region 4 Human 

Health Risk Assessment 

Supplemental Guidance; and 

(v) Other scientifically valid 

peer-reviewed published 

health risk assessment data, 

and scientifically valid peer-

reviewed published 

toxicological data. 

(2) The following equations and references shall be 

used in establishing industrial/commercial 

maximum soil contaminant concentrations. 

Equation 1 shall be used for each contaminant 

with an EPA carcinogenic classification of A, 

B1, B2, C, D or E. Equation 2 shall be used for 

each contaminant with an EPA carcinogenic 

classification of A, B1, B2 or C. The maximum 

soil contaminant concentration shall be the 

lower of the concentrations derived from 

Equations 1 and 2. 

(a) Equation 1: Non-cancer Risk-

based Industrial/Commercial 

Ingestion Concentration 

 Soil mg/kg =[0.2 x oral chronic 

reference dose x body weight, adult x 

averaging time noncarcinogens] / 

[exposure frequency x exposure 

duration, adult x (soil ingestion rate, 

adult / 106 mg/kg) x fraction of 

contaminated soil ingested]. 

(b) Equation 2: Cancer Risk-based 

Industrial/Commercial Ingestion 

Concentration 

 Soil mg/kg =[target cancer risk of 10-6 

x body weight, adult x averaging time 

carcinogens] / [exposure frequency x 

exposure duration, adult x (soil 

ingestion rate, adult / 106 mg/kg) x 

fraction of contaminated soil ingested 

x oral cancer slope factor]. 

(c) The exposure factors selected in 

calculating the industrial/commercial 

maximum soil contaminant 

concentrations shall be within the 

recommended ranges specified in the 

following references or the most 

recent version of these references: 

(i) EPA, 2011. Exposure Factors 

Handbook; 

(ii) EPA, 1991. Risk Assessment 

Guidance for Superfund: 

Volume I Human Health 

Evaluation Manual (Part B, 

Development of Risk Based 

Preliminary Remediation 

Goals); 

(iii) EPA. Regional Screening 

Level Generic Tables (RSL) 

and User's Guide; and 

(iv) EPA, 2018. Region 4 Human 

Health Risk Assessment 

Supplemental Guidance. 

(d) The following references or the most 

recent version of these references, in 

order of preference, shall be used to 

obtain oral chronic reference doses 

and oral cancer slope factors: 

(i) EPA. Integrated Risk 

Information System (IRIS) 

Computer Database; 

(ii) EPA. Health Effects 

Assessment Summary Tables 

(HEAST); 

(iii) EPA. Regional Screening 

Level Generic Tables (RSL) 

and User's Guide; 

(iv) EPA, 2018. Region 4 Human 

Health Risk Assessment 

Supplemental Guidance; and 

(v) Other scientifically valid 

peer-reviewed published 

health risk assessment data, 

and scientifically valid peer-

reviewed published 

toxicological data. 

(3) The following equations and references shall be 

used in establishing the soil-to-groundwater 

maximum contaminant concentrations: 

(a) Organic Constituents: 

 Soil mg/kg = groundwater standard or 

interim standard x [(.02 x soil organic 

carbon-water partition coefficient) + 4 

+ (1.733 x 41 x Henry's Law Constant 

(atm.-m3/mole))]. 

(i) If no groundwater standard or 

interim standard has been 

established under Rule .0202 
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of this Subchapter, the 

practical quantitation limit 

shall be used in lieu of a 

standard to calculate the soil-

to-groundwater maximum 

contaminant concentrations. 

(ii) The following references or 

the most recent version of 

these references, in order of 

preference, shall be used to 

obtain soil organic carbon-

water partition coefficients 

and Henry's Law Constants: 

(A) EPA. Superfund 

Chemical Data 

Matrix (SCDM), 

incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent 

amendments or 

editions and may be 

obtained 

electronically free 

of charge from the 

United States 

Environmental 

Protection Agency 

website at 

https://www.epa.go

v/superfund/superfu

nd-chemical-data-

matrix-scdm; 

(B) EPA, 1991. Risk 

Assessment 

Guidance for 

Superfund: Volume 

I Human Health 

Evaluation Manual 

(Part A), 

incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent 

amendments or 

editions and may be 

obtained 

electronically free 

of charge from the 

United States 

Environmental 

Protection Agency 

website at 

https://www.epa.go

v/risk/risk-

assessment-

guidance-

superfund-rags-

part/; it is Volume I 

of the three-volume 

set called Risk 

Assessment 

Guidance for 

Superfund; 

(C) Agency for Toxic 

Substances and 

Disease Registry, 

"Toxicological 

Profile for 

[individual 

chemical]," 

incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent 

amendments or 

editions and may be 

obtained 

electronically free 

of charge from the 

United States 

Agency for Toxic 

substances and 

Disease Registry 

website at 

https://www.atsdr.c

dc.gov/substances/i

ndex.asp; 

(D) Montgomery, J.H., 

2007. Groundwater 

Chemicals Desk 

Reference. CRC 

Press. This 

document is 

incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent 

amendments and 

editions, and may be 

obtained for a 

charge of two 

hundred ninety six 

dollars ($296.00) at 

https://www.crcpres

s.com/Groundwater

-Chemicals-Desk-

Reference/Montgo

mery/p/book/97808

49392764/ or a copy 

may be reviewed at 

the Division of 

Waste 

Management, 

Underground 

Storage Tank 

Section office at 

217 West Jones 

Street, Raleigh, 

N.C. 27603; and 
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(E) Other scientifically 

valid peer-reviewed 

published data. 

(b) Inorganic Constituents: 

 Soil mg/kg = groundwater standard or 

interim standard x [(20 x soil-water 

partition coefficient for pH of 5.5) + 4 

+ (1.733 x 41 x Henry's Law Constant 

(atm.-m3/mole))]. 

(i) If no groundwater standard or 

interim standard has been 

established under Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter, the 

practical quantitation limit 

shall be used in lieu of a 

standard to calculate the soil-

to-groundwater maximum 

contaminant concentrations. 

(ii) The following references or 

the most recent version of 

these references, in order of 

preference, shall be used to 

obtain soil-water partition 

coefficients and Henry's Law 

Constants: 

(A) EPA. Superfund 

Chemical Data Matrix 

(SCDM); 

(B) Baes, C.F., III, R.D. 

Sharp, A.L. Sjoreen, 

and R.W. Shor, 1984. A 

Review and Analysis of 

Parameters for 

Assessing Transport of 

Environmentally 

Released 

Radionuclides Through 

Agriculture. Oak Ridge 

National Laboratory, 

incorporated by 

reference including 

subsequent 

amendments or editions 

and may be obtained 

electronically free of 

charge from the United 

States Nuclear 

Regulatory 

Commission website at 

https://www.nrc.gov; 

(C) Agency for Toxic 

Substances and Disease 

Registry, 

"Toxicological Profile 

for [individual 

chemical];" and 

(D) Other scientifically 

valid peer-reviewed 

published data. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(m); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0412 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR SOIL SAMPLES 

(a)  Analytical procedures for soil samples required under this 

Section shall be methods accepted by the US EPA as suitable for 

determining the presence and concentration of petroleum 

hydrocarbons for the type of petroleum released. 

(b)  Soil samples collected, including the most contaminated 

sample, shall be analyzed as follows in order to determine the 

risks of the constituents of contamination: 

(1) soil samples collected from a discharge or 

release of low boiling point fuels, including 

gasoline, aviation gasoline, and gasohol, shall 

be analyzed for volatile organic compounds and 

additives, including isopropyl ether and methyl 

tertiary butyl ether, using EPA Method 8260; 

(2) soil samples collected from a discharge or 

release of high boiling point fuels, including 

kerosene, diesel, varsol, mineral spirits, 

naphtha, jet fuels, and fuel oil no. 2, shall be 

analyzed for volatile organic compounds using 

EPA Method 8260 and semivolatile organic 

compounds using EPA Method 8270; 

(3) soil samples collected from a discharge or 

release of heavy fuels shall be analyzed for 

semivolatile organic compounds using EPA 

Method 8270; 

(4) soil samples collected from a discharge or 

release of used and waste oil shall be analyzed 

for volatile organic compounds using EPA 

Method 8260, semivolatile organic compounds 

using EPA Method 8270, polychlorinated 

biphenyls using EPA Method 8080, and 

chromium and lead using procedures specified 

in Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph; 

(5) soil samples collected from a discharge or 

release subject to this Section shall be analyzed 

for alkane and aromatic carbon fraction classes 

using methods approved by the Director under 

15A NCAC 02H .0805(a)(1); 

(6) analytical methods specified in Subparagraphs 

(1), (2), (3), and (4) of this Paragraph shall be 

performed as specified in the following 

references or the most recent version of these 

references: Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 

Wastes:Physical/Chemical Methods, 

November 1990, U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency publication number SW-

846, is incorporated by reference and may be 

purchased for a cost of three hundred sixty 

seven dollars ($367.00) from the 

Superintendent of Documents, U.S. 

Government Printing Office (GPO), 
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Washington, DC 20402; or in accordance with 

other methods or procedures approved by the 

Director under 15A NCAC 02H .0805(a)(1); 

(7) other EPA-approved analytical methods may be 

used if the methods include the same 

constituents as the analytical methods specified 

in Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4) of this 

Paragraph and meet the detection limits of the 

analytical methods specified in Subparagraphs 

(1), (2), (3), and (4) of this Paragraph; and 

(8) metals and acid extractable organic compounds 

shall be eliminated from analyses of soil 

samples collected pursuant to this Section if 

these compounds are not detected in soil 

samples collected during the construction of the 

source area monitoring well required under 

Rule .0405 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(n); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0413 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR GROUNDWATER SAMPLES 

(a)  Analytical procedures for groundwater samples required 

under this Section shall be methods accepted by the US EPA as 

suitable for determining the presence and concentration of 

petroleum hydrocarbons for the type of petroleum released. 

(b)  Groundwater samples, including the most contaminated 

sample, shall be analyzed as follows in order to determine the 

risks of the constituents of contamination: 

(1) groundwater samples collected from a 

discharge or release of low boiling point fuels, 

including gasoline, aviation gasoline, and 

gasohol, shall be analyzed for volatile organic 

compounds, including xylenes, isopropyl ether, 

and methyl tertiary butyl ether, using Standard 

Method 6200B or EPA Methods 601 and 602. 

Samples shall also be analyzed for ethylene 

dibromide using EPA Method 504.1 and lead 

using Standard Method 3030C preparation. 

3030C metals preparation, using a 0.45 micron 

filter, shall be completed within 72 hours of 

sample collection; 

(2) groundwater samples collected from a 

discharge or release of high boiling point fuels, 

including kerosene, diesel, varsol, mineral 

spirits, naphtha, jet fuels, and fuel oil no. 2, 

shall be analyzed for volatile organic 

compounds using EPA Method 602 and 

semivolatile organic compounds plus the 10 

largest non-target peaks identified using EPA 

Method 625; 

(3) groundwater samples collected from a 

discharge or release of heavy fuels shall be 

analyzed for semivolatile organic compounds 

plus the 10 largest non-target peaks identified 

using EPA Method 625; 

(4) groundwater samples collected from a 

discharge or release of used or waste oil shall 

be analyzed for volatile organic compounds 

using Standard Method 6200B, semivolatile 

organic compounds plus the 10 largest non-

target peaks identified using EPA Method 625, 

and chromium and lead using Standard Method 

3030C preparation. 3030C metals preparation, 

using a 0.45 micron filter, shall be completed 

within 72 hours of sample collection; 

(5) groundwater samples collected from a 

discharge or release subject to this Section shall 

be analyzed for alkane and aromatic carbon 

fraction classes using methods approved by the 

Director under 15A NCAC 02H .0805(a)(1); 

(6) analytical methods specified in Subparagraphs 

(1), (2), (3) and (4) of this Paragraph shall be 

performed as specified in the following 

references or the most recent version of these 

references: 

(A) Guidelines Establishing Test 

Procedures for the Analysis of 

Pollutants under the Clean Water Act, 

40 CFR Part 136, is incorporated by 

reference and may be obtained 

electronically free of charge from the 

United States Environmental 

Protection Agency website at 

https://www.epa.gov/cwa-methods; 

(B) Standard Methods for the 

Examination of Water and 

Wastewater, published jointly by 

American Public Health Association, 

American Water Works Association 

and Water Pollution Control 

Federation, is incorporated by 

reference and is available for purchase 

from the American Water Works 

Association (AWWA), 6666 West 

Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80235 

for a charge of one hundred sixty 

dollars ($160.00) for the 18th Edition, 

one hundred eighty dollars ($180.00) 

for the 19th Edition, and two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) for the 20th Edition; 

or 

(C) in accordance with methods or 

procedures approved by the Director 

under 15A NCAC 02H .0805(a)(1); 

(7) other EPA-approved analytical methods may be 

used if the methods include the same 

constituents as the analytical methods specified 

in Subparagraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4) of this 

Paragraph and meet the detection limits of the 

analytical methods specified in Subparagraphs 

(1), (2), (3), and (4) of this Paragraph; and 
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(8) metals and acid extractable organic compounds 

shall be eliminated from analyses of 

groundwater samples collected pursuant to this 

Section if these compounds are not detected in 

the groundwater sample collected from the 

source area monitoring well installed pursuant 

to Rule .0405 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(o); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0414 REQUIRED LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION 

In accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0804, laboratories shall 

obtain North Carolina Division of Water Resources laboratory 

certification for parameters that are required to be reported to the 

State in compliance with the State's surface water, groundwater, 

and pretreatment rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(p); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0415 DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

FROM OTHER SOURCES 

This Section shall not relieve any person responsible for 

assessment or cleanup of contamination from a source other than 

a commercial or noncommercial underground storage tank from 

its obligation to assess and clean up contamination resulting from 

the discharge or releases. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.2; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.94A; 143-215.94E; 143-215.94T; 143-215.94V; 143B-

282; 1995 (Reg. Sess. 1996) c. 648,s. 1; 

Recodified from 15A NCAC 02L .0115(q); 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0501 PURPOSE 

(a)  The purpose of this Section is to establish procedures for risk-

based assessment and corrective action sufficient to: 

(1) protect human health and the environment; 

(2) abate and control contamination of the waters 

of the State as deemed necessary to protect 

human health and the environment; 

(3) permit management of the State's groundwaters 

to protect their designated current usage and 

potential future uses; 

(4) provide for anticipated future uses of the State's 

groundwater; 

(5) recognize the diversity of contaminants, the 

State's geology, and the characteristics of each 

individual site; and 

(6) accomplish these goals in a cost-efficient 

manner to assure the best use of the limited 

resources available to address groundwater 

pollution within the State. 

(b)  Section .0100 of this Subchapter shall apply to this Section 

unless specifically excluded. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0502 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions as set out in Rule .0102 of this Subchapter and the 

following definitions shall apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Aboveground storage tank" or "AST" means 

any one or a combination of tanks, including 

pipes connected thereto, that is used to contain 

an accumulation of petroleum. 

(2) "AST system" means an aboveground storage 

tank, connected piping, ancillary equipment, 

and containment system, if any. 

(3) "Discharge" includes any emission, spillage, 

leakage, pumping, pouring, emptying, or 

dumping of oil into groundwater or surface 

water or upon land in such proximity to such 

water that it is likely to reach the water and any 

discharge upon land which is intentional, 

knowing, or willful. 

(4) "Non-UST means as defined in G.S. 143-

215.104AA(g) and excludes underground 

storage tank releases governed by G.S. 143-

215.94V. 

(5) "Operator" means any person in control of or 

having responsibility for the daily operation of 

the AST system. 

(6) "Owner" means any person who owns a 

petroleum aboveground storage tank or other 

non-UST petroleum tank, stationary or mobile, 

used for storage, use, dispensing, or transport. 

(7) "Person" means an individual, trust, firm, joint 

stock company, Federal agency, corporation, 

state, municipality, commission, political 

subdivision of a state, or any interstate body. 

"Person" also includes a consortium, a joint 

venture, a commercial entity, and the United 

States Government. 

(8) "Petroleum" or "petroleum products" means as 

defined in G.S. 143-215.94A(10). 

(9) "Release" means any spilling, leaking, emitting, 

discharging, escaping, leaching, or disposing 

into groundwater, surface water, or surface or 

subsurface soils. 

(10) "Tank" means a device used to contain an 

accumulation of petroleum and constructed of 
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non-earthen materials, such as concrete, steel, 

or plastic, that provides structural support. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-212(4); 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-215.77; 143-215.84; 143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0503 RULE APPLICATION 

The requirements of this Section shall apply to the owner and 

operator of a petroleum aboveground storage tank or other non-

UST petroleum tank, stationary or mobile, from which a discharge 

or release occurred and to any person determined to be responsible 

for assessment and cleanup of a discharge or release from a non-

UST petroleum source, including any person who has conducted 

or controlled an activity that results in the discharge or release of 

petroleum or petroleum products (as defined in G.S. 143-

215.94A(10)) to the groundwaters of the State or in proximity 

thereto. These persons shall be collectively referred to as the 

"responsible party" for purposes of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0504 REQUIRED INITIAL RESPONSE 

AND ABATEMENT ACTIONS BY RESPONSIBLE 

PARTY 

Upon a discharge or release of petroleum from a non-UST 

petroleum source the responsible party shall: 

(1) take actions to prevent all further discharge or 

release of petroleum from the non-UST 

petroleum source; identify and mitigate all fire, 

explosion, or vapor hazard; and report the 

release within 24 hours of discovery, in 

compliance with G.S. 143-215.83(a), 84(a), and 

85(b); 

(2) perform initial abatement actions to measure for 

the presence of a release where contamination 

is most likely to be present; confirm the source 

of the release; investigate to determine the 

possible presence of free product; begin free 

product removal; and to continue to monitor 

and mitigate all additional fire, explosion, or 

vapor hazards posed by vapors or by free 

product; and submit a report to the Department 

of Environmental Quality, UST Section, 

Regional Office Supervisor in accordance with 

15A NCAC 02B .0309 and .0311, within 20 

days after release confirmation summarizing 

these initial abatement actions; 

(3) remove contaminated soil that would act as a 

continuing source of contamination to 

groundwater. For a new release, no further 

action shall be necessary if: 

(a) initial abatement actions involving 

control and removal of contaminated 

materials are initiated within 48 hours 

from discovery and before 

contaminated materials begin to 

impact groundwater; and 

(b) analysis, in accordance with the 

approved methods in Rule .0412 of 

this Subchapter, of representative 

samples of remaining soils shows 

concentrations: 

(i) at or below the more 

stringent of the soil-to-

groundwater concentration 

value and the residential 

maximum soil contamination 

concentration value; or 

(ii) using other EPA-approved 

analytical methods in 

accordance with Rule 

.0412(b)(7) of this 

Subchapter, concentration 

values below the more 

stringent of the soil-to-

groundwater concentration 

alkane and aromatic carbon 

fraction class values and the 

residential maximum soil 

contamination concentration 

alkane and aromatic carbon 

fraction class values; 

 For new releases, if the abatement actions 

cannot be initiated within 48 hours of discovery 

or if soil concentrations remain above the 

values in this Paragraph, the responsible party 

shall conduct all activities under Items (1) 

through (5) of this Rule; 

(4) conduct initial site assessment, assembling 

information about the site and the nature of the 

release, including the following: 

(a) a site history and site characterization, 

including data on nature and estimated 

quantity of release and data from 

available sources and site 

investigations concerning surrounding 

populations, water quality, use, and 

approximate locations of wells, 

surface water bodies, and subsurface 

structures potentially affected by the 

release, subsurface soil conditions, 

locations of subsurface utilities, 

climatological conditions, and land 

use; 

(b) the results of free product 

investigations and free product 

removal, if applicable; 

(c) the results of groundwater and surface 

water investigations, if applicable; 

(d) a summary of initial response and 

abatement actions; and  
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(5) submit as required in Item (2) of this Rule, 

within 90 days of the discovery of the discharge 

or release: 

(a) an initial assessment and abatement 

report as required in Item (4) of this 

Rule; 

(b) soil assessment information sufficient 

to show that remaining unsaturated 

soil in the side walls and at the base of 

the excavation does not contain 

contaminant levels that exceed either 

the soil-to-groundwater or the 

residential maximum soil contaminant 

concentrations established by the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0511 of 

this Section, whichever is lower; and 

(c) documentation to show that neither 

bedrock nor groundwater was 

encountered in the excavation or, if 

groundwater was encountered, that 

contaminant concentrations in 

groundwater were equal to or less than 

the groundwater quality standards 

established in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. If such showing is made, 

the discharge or release shall be 

classified as low risk by the 

Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0505 REQUIREMENTS FOR LIMITED 

SITE ASSESSMENT 

(a)  If the required showing cannot be made by the responsible 

party under Rule .0504 of this Section, the responsible party shall 

submit within 120 days of the discovery of the discharge or 

release, a report as required in Rule .0504 of this Section, 

containing information needed by the Department to classify the 

level of risk to human health and the environment posed by a 

discharge or release under Rule .0506 of this Section. 

(b)  The responsible party may submit a written request an 

extension to the 120 day deadline set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule to the Department for the Department's consideration prior 

to the deadline. The request for deadline extension by the 

responsible party shall demonstrate that the extension, if granted 

by the Department, would not increase the risk posed by the 

release. When considering a request from a responsible party for 

additional time to submit the report, the Department shall consider 

the following: 

(1) the extent to which the request for additional 

time is due to factors outside of the control of 

the responsible party; 

(2) the previous history of the person submitting 

the report in complying with deadlines 

established under the Commission's rules; 

(3) the technical complications associated with 

assessing the extent of contamination at the site 

or identifying potential receptors; and 

(4) the necessity for action to eliminate an 

imminent threat to public health or the 

environment. 

(c)  The report shall include: 

(1) a location map, based on a USGS topographic 

map, showing the radius of 1500 feet from the 

source area of a confirmed release or discharge 

and depicting all water supply wells, surface 

waters, and designated "wellhead protection 

areas" as defined in 42 U.S.C. 300h-7(e) within 

the 1500-foot radius. 42 U.S.C. 300h-7(e), is 

incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies may be 

obtained at no cost from the U.S. Government 

Bookstore's website at 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-

2010-title42/html/USCODE-2010-title42-

chap6A-subchapXII-partC-sec300h-7.htm. 

The material is available for inspection at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, UST 

Section, 217 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 

27603. For purposes of this Section, "source 

area" means point of release or discharge from 

the non-UST petroleum source, or if the point 

of release cannot be determined precisely, 

"source area" means the area of highest 

contaminant concentrations; 

(2) a determination of whether the source area of 

the discharge or release is within a designated 

"wellhead protection area" as defined in 42 

U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(3) if the discharge or release is in the Coastal Plain 

physiographic region as designated on a map 

entitled "Geology of North Carolina" published 

by the Department in 1985, incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments or 

editions and may be obtained electronically free 

of charge from the Department's website at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/energy-

mineral-land-resources/north-carolina-

geological-survey/ncgs-maps/1985-geologic-

map-of-nc, a determination of whether the 

source area of the discharge or release is located 

in an area in which there is recharge to an 

unconfined or semi-confined deeper aquifer 

that is being used or may be used as a source of 

drinking water; 

(4) a determination of whether vapors from the 

discharge or release pose a threat of explosion 

due to the accumulation of vapors in a confined 

space; pose a risk to public health from 

exposure; or pose any other threat to public 

health, public safety, or the environment; 

(5) scaled site maps showing the location of the 

following that are on or adjacent to the property 

where the source is located: 
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(A) site boundaries; 

(B) roads; 

(C) buildings; 

(D) basements; 

(E) floor and storm drains; 

(F) subsurface utilities; 

(G) septic tanks and leach fields; 

(H) underground and aboveground storage 

tank systems; 

(I) monitoring wells; 

(J) water supply wells; 

(K) surface water bodies and other 

drainage features; 

(L) borings; and 

(M) the sampling points; 

(6) the results from a limited site assessment that 

shall include the following actions: 

(A) determine the presence, the lateral and 

vertical extent, and the maximum 

concentration levels of soil and, if 

possible, groundwater contamination 

and free product accumulations; 

(B) install monitoring wells constructed in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02C 

.0108 within the area of maximum soil 

or groundwater contamination to 

determine the groundwater flow 

direction and maximum 

concentrations of dissolved 

groundwater contaminants or 

accumulations of free product. During 

well construction, the responsible 

party shall collect and analyze soil 

samples that represent the suspected 

highest contaminant-level locations by 

exhibiting visible contamination or 

elevated levels of volatile organic 

compounds from successive locations 

at five-foot depth intervals in the 

boreholes of each monitoring well 

within the unsaturated zone; collect 

potentiometric data from each 

monitoring well; and collect and 

analyze groundwater or measure the 

amount of free product, if present, in 

each monitoring well; 

(7) the availability of public water supplies and the 

identification of properties served by the public 

water supplies within 1500 feet of the source 

area of a confirmed discharge or release; 

(8) the land use, including zoning if applicable, 

within 1500 feet of the source area of a 

confirmed discharge or release; 

(9) a discussion of site-specific conditions or 

possible actions that may result in lowering the 

risk classification assigned to the release. Such 

discussion shall be based on information known 

or required to be obtained under this Item; and 

(10) names and current addresses of all responsible 

parties for all petroleum sources for which a 

discharge or release is confirmed, the owners of 

the land upon which such petroleum sources are 

located, and all potentially affected real 

property owners. Documentation of ownership 

of ASTs or other sources and of the property 

upon which a source is located shall be 

provided. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0506 DISCHARGE OR RELEASE 

CLASSIFICATIONS 

The Department shall classify the risk of each known discharge 

or release as high, intermediate, or low risk, unless the discharge 

or release has been classified under Rule .0504 of this Section. 

For purposes of this Section: 

(1) "High risk" means that: 

(a) a water supply well, including one 

used for non-drinking purposes, has 

been contaminated by a release or 

discharge; 

(b) a water supply well used for drinking 

water is located within 1000 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release; 

(c) a water supply well not used for 

drinking water is located within 250 

feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release; 

(d) the groundwater within 500 feet of the 

source area of a confirmed discharge 

or release has the potential for future 

use in that there is no source of water 

supply other than the groundwater; 

(e) the vapors from a discharge or release 

pose a serious threat of explosion due 

to accumulation of the vapors in a 

confined space or pose a risk to public 

health from exposure; or 

(f) a discharge or release poses an 

imminent danger to public health, 

public safety, or the environment. 

(2) "Intermediate risk" means that: 

(a) surface water is located within 500 

feet of the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release and the maximum 

groundwater contaminant 

concentration exceeds the applicable 

surface water quality standards and 

criteria found in 15A NCAC 02B 

.0200 by a factor of 10; 

(b) in the Coastal Plain physiographic 

region as designated on a map entitled 

"Geology of North Carolina" 
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published by the Department in 1985, 

the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release is located in an 

area in which there is recharge to an 

unconfined or semi-confined deeper 

aquifer that the Department 

determines is being used or may be 

used as a source of drinking water; 

(c) the source area of a confirmed 

discharge or release is within a 

designated wellhead protection area, 

as defined in 42 U.S.C. 300h-7(e); 

(d) the levels of groundwater 

contamination for any contaminant 

except ethylene dibromide, benzene, 

and alkane and aromatic carbon 

fraction classes exceed 50 percent of 

the solubility of the contaminant at 25 

degrees Celsius or 1,000 times the 

groundwater standard or interim 

standard established in Rule .0202 of 

this Subchapter, whichever is lower; 

or 

(e) the levels of groundwater 

contamination for ethylene dibromide 

and benzene exceed 1,000 times the 

federal drinking water standard as 

referenced in 15A NCAC 18C .1518, 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions 

and is available free of charge at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title 

15a - environmental quality/chapter 

18 - environmental health/subchapter 

c/15a ncac 18c .1518.pdf. 

(3) "Low risk" means that: 

(a) the risk posed does not fall within the 

high or intermediate risk categories; or 

(b) based on review of site-specific 

information, limited assessment, or 

interim corrective actions, the 

discharge or release poses no 

significant risk to human health or the 

environment. 

If the criteria for more than one risk category applies, the 

discharge or release shall be classified at the highest risk level 

identified in Rule .0507 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0507 RECLASSIFICATION OF RISK 

LEVELS 

(a)  Each responsible party shall have the continuing obligation to 

notify the Department of any changes that may affect the level of 

risk assigned to a discharge or release by the Department if the 

change is known or should be known by the responsible party, 

including changes in zoning of real property, use of real property, 

or the use of groundwater that has been contaminated or is 

expected to be contaminated by the discharge or release.  

(b)  The Department shall reclassify the risk posed by a release if 

warranted by further information concerning the potential 

exposure of receptors to the discharge or release or upon receipt 

of new information concerning changed conditions at the site. 

After initial classification of the discharge or release, the 

Department may require limited assessment, interim corrective 

action, or other actions that the Department believes will result in 

a lower risk classification. 

(c)  Remediation of sites with off-site migration shall be subject 

to the provisions of G.S. 143-215.104AA. 

(d)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by 

the Department to be high risk, the responsible party shall comply 

with the assessment and cleanup requirements of Rule .0106(c), 

(g), and (h) of this Subchapter. The goal of a required corrective 

action for groundwater contamination shall be restoration to the 

level of the groundwater standards set forth in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, or as closely thereto as is economically and 

technologically feasible. In a corrective action plan submitted 

pursuant to this Paragraph, natural attenuation may be used when 

the benefits of its use do not increase the risk to the environment 

and human health. If the responsible party demonstrates that 

natural attenuation prevents the further migration of the plume, 

the Department may approve a groundwater monitoring plan. 

(e)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined by the 

Department to be an intermediate risk, the responsible party shall 

comply with the assessment requirements of Rule .0106(c) and (g) 

of this Subchapter. As part of the comprehensive site assessment, 

the responsible party shall evaluate, based on site specific 

conditions, whether the release poses a significant risk to human 

health or the environment. If the Department determines, based 

on the site-specific conditions, that the discharge or release does 

not pose a significant threat to human health or the environment, 

the site shall be reclassified as a low risk site. If the site is not 

reclassified, the responsible party shall, at the direction of the 

Department, submit a groundwater monitoring plan or a 

corrective action plan, or a combination thereof, meeting the 

cleanup standards of this Paragraph and containing the 

information required in Rule .0106(h) of this Subchapter. 

Discharges or releases that are classified as intermediate risk shall 

be remediated, at a minimum, to a cleanup level of 50 percent of 

the solubility of the contaminant at 25 degrees Celsius or 1,000 

times the groundwater standard or interim standard established in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, whichever is lower, for any 

groundwater contaminant except ethylene dibromide, benzene, 

and alkane and aromatic carbon fraction classes. Ethylene 

dibromide and benzene shall be remediated to a cleanup level of 

1,000 times the federal drinking water standard as referenced in 

15A NCAC 18C .1518, incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions and available free of charge 

at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title 15a - environmental 

quality/chapter 18 - environmental health/subchapter c/15a ncac 

18c .1518.pdf. Additionally, if a corrective action plan or 

groundwater monitoring plan is required under this Paragraph, the 

responsible party shall demonstrate that the groundwater cleanup 

levels are sufficient to prevent a violation of: 

(1) the rules contained in 15A NCAC 02B; 
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(2) the standards contained in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter in a deep aquifer as described in 

Rule .0506(2)(b) of this Section; and 

(3) the standards contained in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter at a location no closer than one year 

time of travel upgradient of a well within a 

designated wellhead protection area, based on 

travel time and the natural attenuation capacity 

of the subsurface materials or on a physical 

barrier to groundwater migration that exists or 

will be installed by the person making the 

request. 

In any corrective action plan submitted pursuant to this Paragraph, 

natural attenuation may be used if the benefits of its use does not 

increase the risk to the environment and human health and shall 

not increase the costs of the corrective action. 

(f)  If the risk posed by a discharge or release is determined to be 

a low risk, the Department shall notify the responsible party that 

no cleanup, no further cleanup, or no further action is required by 

the Department, unless the Department later determines that the 

discharge or release poses an unacceptable risk or a potentially 

unacceptable risk to human health or the environment. No 

notification shall be issued pursuant to this Paragraph, however, 

until the responsible party has: 

(1) completed soil remediation pursuant to Rule 

.0508 of this Section or as closely thereto as 

economically or technologically feasible; 

(2) submitted proof of public notification, if 

required pursuant to Rule .0409(b) of this 

Section; 

(3) recorded all required land-use restrictions 

pursuant to G.S. 143B-279.9 and 143B-279.11; 

and 

(4) paid any applicable statutorily authorized fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0508 ASSESSMENT AND 

REMEDIATION PROCEDURES 

Assessment and remediation of soil contamination shall be 

addressed as follows: 

(1) At the time that the Department determines the 

risk posed by the discharge or release, the 

Department shall also determine, based on site-

specific information, whether the site is 

"residential" or "industrial/commercial." For 

the purposes of this Section, a site is presumed 

residential, but may be classified as 

industrial/commercial if the Department 

determines based on site-specific information 

that exposure to the soil contamination is 

limited in time due to the use of the site and 

does not involve exposure to children. For the 

purposes of this Item, "site" means both the 

property upon which the discharge or release 

occurred and any property upon that soil has 

been affected by the discharge or release. 

(2) For a discharge or release the responsible party 

shall submit a report to the Department 

assessing the vertical and horizontal extent of 

soil contamination. 

(3) For a discharge or release classified by the 

Department as low risk, the responsible party 

shall submit a report demonstrating that soil 

contamination has been remediated to either the 

residential or industrial/commercial maximum 

soil contaminant concentration established by 

the Department pursuant to Rule .0511 of this 

Section, whichever is applicable. 

(4) For a discharge or release classified by the 

Department as high or intermediate risk, the 

responsible party shall submit a report 

demonstrating that soil contamination has been 

remediated to the lower of: 

(a) the residential or 

industrial/commercial maximum soil 

contaminant concentration, whichever 

is applicable, that has been established 

by the Department pursuant to Rule 

.0511 of this Section; or 

(b) the "soil-to-groundwater" maximum 

soil contaminant concentration that 

has been established by the 

Department pursuant to Rule .0511 of 

this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0509 NOTIFICATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A responsible party who submits a corrective action plan that 

proposes natural attenuation, to cleanup groundwater 

contamination to a standard other than a standard as set forth in 

Rule .0202 of this Subchapter, or to cleanup soil other than to the 

standard for residential use or soil-to-groundwater contaminant 

concentration established pursuant to this Section, whichever is 

lowest, shall give notice to: 

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing the 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

The notice shall describe the nature of the plan and the reasons 

supporting it. Notification shall be made by certified mail 

concurrent with the submittal of the corrective action plan. 

Approval of the corrective action plan by the Department shall be 

postponed for a period of 30 days following receipt of the request 
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so that the Department may receive and consider comments. The 

responsible party shall, within 60 days, provide the Department 

with a copy of the notice and proof of receipt of each required 

notice or of refusal by the addressee to accept delivery of a 

required notice. If notice by certified mail to occupants under this 

Paragraph is impractical, the responsible party shall give notice as 

provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). If notice is made to 

occupants by posting, the responsible party shall provide the 

Department with a copy of the posted notice and a description of 

the manner in which such posted notice was given. 

(b)  A responsible party who receives a notice pursuant to Rule 

.0507(e) of this Section for a discharge or release that has not been 

remediated to the groundwater standards or interim standards 

established in Rule .0202 of this Subchapter or to the lower of the 

residential or soil-to-groundwater contaminant concentrations 

established under Rule .0511 of this Section, shall, within 30 days 

of the receipt of such notice, provide a copy of the notice to: 

(1) the local Health Director and the chief 

administrative officer of each political 

jurisdiction in which the contamination occurs; 

(2) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area containing 

contamination; and 

(3) all property owners and occupants within or 

contiguous to the area where the contamination 

is expected to migrate. 

Notification shall be made by certified mail. The responsible party 

shall, within 60 days, provide the Department with proof of 

receipt of the copy of the notice or of refusal by the addressee to 

accept delivery of the copy of the notice. If notice by certified mail 

to occupants under this Paragraph is impractical, the responsible 

party shall give notice as provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j) or 4(j1). 

If notice is made to occupants by posting, the responsible party 

shall provide the Department with a description of the manner in 

which such posted notice was given. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0510 DEPARTMENTAL LISTING OF 

DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

The Department shall maintain in each of the Department's 

regional offices a list of all non-UST petroleum discharges or 

releases discovered and reported to the Department within the 

region. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0511 ESTABLISHING MAXIMUM 

SOIL CONTAMINATION CONCENTRATIONS 

For the purposes of risk-based assessment and remediation for 

non-UST petroleum releases, establishment of maximum soil 

contamination concentrations shall be in accordance with Rule 

.0411 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0512 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR SOIL SAMPLES 

For the purposes of risk-based assessment and remediation for 

non-UST petroleum releases, analytical procedures for soil 

samples shall be in accordance with Rule .0412 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0513 ANALYTICAL PROCEDURES 

FOR GROUNDWATER SAMPLES 

For the purposes of risk-based assessment and remediation for 

non-UST petroleum releases, analytical procedures for 

groundwater samples shall be in accordance with Rule .0413 of 

this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

15A NCAC 02L .0514 REQUIRED LABORATORY 

CERTIFICATION 

In accordance with 15A NCAC 02H .0804, laboratories shall 

obtain North Carolina Division of Water Resources laboratory 

certification for parameters that are required to be reported to the 

State in compliance with the State's surface water, groundwater, 

and pretreatment rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

15A NCAC 02L .0515 DISCHARGES OR RELEASES 

FROM OTHER SOURCES 

This Section shall not relieve any person responsible for 

assessment or cleanup of contamination from a source other than 

a non-UST petroleum release from its obligation to assess and 

clean up contamination resulting from the discharge or releases. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.84; 

143-215.104AA; 143B-282; 

Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 

to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing waters of North 
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Carolina in any manner other than with hook and line, grabbling, 

or special device with a special device fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken by hook and line, grabbling, or 

special device with a special device fishing license at any time 

without restriction as to size limits or creel limits, except as 

designated in this Rule. 

(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 

a special device fishing license in those counties and waters with 

open season designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 

(d)  Archery equipment may only be used for the take of catfish 

on Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 

(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and  

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 

crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 

herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel, white, or blue 

catfish by means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit is 

six catfish in aggregate. Waters where this creel limit applies shall 

be posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following reservoirs: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(8) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 

River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 

state line and all tributaries. 

(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 

(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 

Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 

Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 

and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 

for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 

proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 

coastal fishing waters. 

(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 

in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impractical to measure its total original 

length. No person while fishing shall change the appearance of 

any nongame fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), 

(n), (o), and (p) of this Rule having a daily creel limit so as to 

obscure its identification or render it impractical to count the 

number of fish in possession. 

(r)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 

with the following exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; May 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; August 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; 

August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2013; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2011; August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 

1, 2007; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005. 
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TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0150 RAILROAD RIGHT OF WAY 

DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to Rules .0150 through .0158 of 

this Subchapter. 

(1) "At-grade crossing" means an intersection 

where roadways and railroads join or cross at 

the same level. 

(2) "Closed crossing" means a location where a 

previous crossing no longer exists because 

either the railroad tracks have been removed, or 

each pathway or roadway approach to the 

crossing has been removed, leaving behind no 

intersection of railroad tracks with either a 

pathway or roadway. A grade-separated 

highway-rail crossing that has been removed 

shall be considered a closed crossing. 

(3) "Crossing Agreement" means a written 

agreement between the Department and a 

railroad through which the railroad permits the 

Department to build a road across the railroad's 

tracks. 

(4) "Facilities" means real or personal property, or 

any interest in that property, that is situated for 

the provision of a freight or passenger rail fixed 

guideway facility or system. The term includes 

all property or interests necessary or convenient 

for the acquiring, providing, using, or 

equipping of a rail fixed guideway facility or 

system, including rights-of-way, trackwork, 

train controls, stations, and maintenance 

facilities. 

(5) "Flange guard" means a protective edge, rib, or 

rim made of rubber, steel, timber, or any other 

composite material on any object such as the 

base of a rail, on the top and bottom horizontal 

parts of a beam, or girder. 

(6) "Grade" means the rate of ascent or descent of 

a roadway, expressed as a percentage and 

calculated by the change in roadway elevation 

per unit of horizontal length. 

(7) "Grade point" means the point where the new 

construction of a facility ties into and 

terminates at the existing facility. 

(8) "Grade separation" means a crossing of a 

highway and a railroad at different levels that 

allows unimpeded traffic movement. 

(9) "Railroad" means an entity that owns or 

maintains the track through the at-grade 

crossing, or an entity that operates one or more 

trains through an at-grade crossing or grade 

separated crossing on or connected to the 

general railroad system of transportation. 

(10) "Separated" means the travelways of two 

transportation facilities, such as two highways 

or a highway and a railroad, that are 

disconnected by means of a bridge so that 

traffic on one shall not conflict with traffic on 

the other. 

(11) "Separation structure" means the bridge 

structure that separates the travelways of the 

two transportation facilities. 

(12) "Track" means an assembly of rails, ties, and 

fastenings that cars, locomotives, and trains 

traverse. 

(13) "Traffic control device" means a sign, signal, 

marking, or other device placed on or adjacent 

to a street or highway by authority of a public 

body or official having jurisdiction to regulate, 

warn, or guide traffic. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

150B-2(8a)(h); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0152 SIGNALIZATION OF EXISTING 

GRADE CROSSING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0153 NEW AT-GRADE CROSSING 

(a)  It shall be unlawful to construct a railroad track across any 

portion of the State highway system without the Secretary of 

Transportation or the Secretary's designee providing a written 

statement of approval. The Secretary or designee's determination 

shall consider rail crossing engineering standards for safety, 

location, sight lines, traffic volume, grade, horizontal alignment, 

curvature, cant and the number of traffic lanes. 

(b)  A crossing agreement shall be required for any construction 

or relocation of railroad track across the State highway system, 

and any construction or relocation of the State highway system 

across already existing railroad track. The crossing agreement 

shall list the construction, maintenance, safety device installation, 

and funding responsibilities of each party. 

(c)  Where the construction of a new road or the relocation of an 

existing road involves an additional or a new crossing and does 

not involve the elimination of an existing crossing, the railroad 

shall not be required to bear any costs of signalization or 

separation, either at the time of the initial construction or within a 

20-year period from the execution of the Crossing Agreement if 

the Department determines during that 20-year period that a 

signalization or a separation structure shall be required. 

(d)  If a crossing in existence prior to December 3, 1966 shall be 

eliminated by the relocation of an existing road, Rule .0155 of this 

Section shall apply. 

(e)  The following shall be required for the construction of a new 

municipal street across an already existing railroad track, or 

railroad tracks across the municipal street system. 

(1) If a municipality and railroad seek to enter into 

an agreement for the construction of a new 
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municipal street, meaning a street forming a 

part of the municipal street system consisting of 

those streets or highways that are not a part of 

the State highway system, across a railroad 

track, at-grade, the municipality or public 

authority responsible for the maintenance, 

construction, reconstruction, and right-of-way 

acquisition for the municipal street system shall 

provide the Rail Division Director with 60-

days' notice prior to the execution of the 

agreement. If the municipality anticipates there 

to be less than 60 days between the negotiations 

and execution of the agreement, the 

municipality shall notify the Director upon 

commencement of agreement negotiations. 

(2) If a municipality and railroad seek to enter into 

an agreement for the construction of a new 

railroad track across the municipal street 

system, at-grade, the municipality or public 

authority responsible for the maintenance, 

construction, reconstruction, and right-of-way 

acquisition for the municipal street system shall 

provide the Rail Division Director with 60-

days' notice prior to the execution of the 

agreement. If the municipality anticipates there 

to be less than 60 days between the negotiations 

and execution of the agreement, the 

municipality shall notify the Director upon 

commencement of agreement negotiations. 

(3) If a private developer and a railroad seek to 

enter into an agreement for the construction of 

a railroad track across the municipal street 

system, at-grade, or a new municipal street 

across a railroad track, at-grade, the private 

developer shall provide the Rail Division 

Director with 60-days' notice prior to the 

execution of the agreement. If the private 

developer anticipates there to be less than 60 

days between the negotiations and execution of 

the agreement, the private developer shall 

notify the Director upon commencement of 

agreement negotiations. 

(4) Notice shall be in writing and shall be effective 

upon receipt by the Rail Division Director. 

Notice may be delivered personally, by email, 

sent by overnight courier with recipient's 

signature or other electronic acknowledgement 

of receipt from the recipient requested, or by 

certified or registered mail, postage prepaid. 

Please address all physical copies of the 

required notice to the Rail Division Director at 

1553 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

1553. The Rail Division Director's email 

address may be found, free of charge, at 

https://apps.ncdot.gov/dot/directory/authentica

ted/UnitPage.aspx?id=3393. 

(5) Notice shall include the following information: 

(A) the name, address, telephone number, 

and email address of the entity 

submitting the notice; 

(B) a description of the anticipated 

crossing, including whether the 

agreement is for the construction of a 

railroad track across the municipal 

street system, or the construction of a 

municipal street across an already 

existing railroad track; 

(C) the county, city, or political 

subdivision where the crossing will be 

located; 

(D) the railroad milepost number, if an 

already existing railroad track; and 

(E) the State maintained road number or 

name, if an already existing road. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

136-20.1; 136-66.1; 136-195; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0154 RAILROAD SEPARATION 

STRUCTURES 

(a)  Whenever any highway project provides for the construction 

of a separation structure over or under the railroad, the 

Department shall construct the separation structure to provide for 

an additional track upon the request of the railroad and the 

furnishing of the justification or enter into an agreement with the 

railroad to provide for the additional track if such tracks are 

constructed and placed in use within a 20-year period from the 

signing of the agreement. 

(b)  If a grade crossing that was in existence prior to December 3, 

1966, is separated, the railroad shall pay five percent of the cost 

of the separation structure and approaches from grade point to 

grade point. 

(c)  If the separation structure eliminated the crossing at-grade, 

the railroad shall pay five percent of the total costs of the 

separation structure and approaches from grade point to grade 

point as constructed initially and five percent of the costs of the 

widening of the structure within the 20-year period. 

(d)  If the separation structure is an additional or new crossing and 

no existing crossing is closed, the Board of Transportation shall 

pay the entire cost of the structure including the provision for 

additional tracks on request by the railroad with justification, or 

will pay the entire cost of widening the structure within the 

aforementioned 20-year period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0155 EXISTING AT-GRADE 

CROSSING  

(a) If the construction, reconstruction, or maintenance of an 

existing at-grade crossing causes any road, street, or highway 

forming a part of the State highway system to cross or intersect 
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any railroad, including an industrial siding, at the same level or 

grade, the railroad shall be responsible for the following: 

(1) construction and maintenance of the crossing 

and the area between the ends of the ties and the 

edge of the pavement of the main traveled lanes 

plus a maximum of 10 feet of the usable 

shoulders; and 

(2) construction cost of the crossing for the 

pavement width and maintenance for the entire 

area herein described at its own expense. 

(b) Pursuant to G.S. 136-20(h), the railroad shall be responsible 

for 50 percent of annual maintenance costs of grade crossing 

signals. 

(c) A railroad, county, city, or other political subdivision of the 

State may identify and propose at-grade crossings for potential 

closure by submitting a Crossing Closure Request to the Rail 

Division Director as follows: 

(1) The Crossing Closure Request shall be 

addressed to the Rail Division Director, 1553 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina, 

27699-1553 and contain the following 

information: 

(A) name of the entity submitting the 

request; 

(B) name of the county, city, or political 

subdivision where the crossing is 

located; 

(C) Association of American Railroads 

(AAR) crossing number; 

(D) railroad milepost number; 

(E) State maintained road number or 

name; and 

(F) any existing protection at the crossing. 

(2) The Rail Division shall review the Crossing 

Closure Request and make a final 

recommendation to the Board of Transportation 

upon the consideration of transportation 

impacts, including emergency access, safety, 

feasibility, and public convenience. 

(3) If upon the consideration of the Rail Division's 

final recommendation, the Board of 

Transportation approves the at-grade closure, 

the Rail Division shall give notice to the 

governing body within which the at-grade 

crossing is located, direct the Railroad to close 

or remove the crossing within 60 days, and 

coordinate with the Railroad the responsibilities 

for removal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0156 PAVING OF ROADWAY 

SURFACE CROSSING RAILROAD TRACKS 

When any road, street or highway forming a link in the State 

highway system is being surfaced or resurfaced, the Department 

of Transportation shall, pave the roadway surface across the 

crossing upon request by the railroad. The railroad shall provide 

and place at its own expense the necessary crossing flange guards 

on rail guards and otherwise adjust the facilities to meet the level 

of the finished road surface. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0157 COST OF CHANGING 

ELEVATION OF RAILROAD FACILITIES 

When the grade of any road, street, or highway requires a change 

in the elevation of the railroad's tracks or facilities, except those 

changes required by surfacing or resurfacing, the Department 

shall pay for the necessary change in the railroad facilities that 

may be required to meet the grade of the finished road surface. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0158 CHANGING GRADE OF ROAD 

WHEN GRADE OF RR TRACKS IS CHANGED 

When any railroad changes the grades of its tracks where the 

tracks cross or intersect any road, street, or highway of the State 

highway system, the railroad shall be responsible for adjusting, at 

its own expense, the grade of such road, street or highway as 

required to meet the change in grade of the railroad's tracks or 

facilities. Any adjustment of the road, street or highway shall be 

made in accordance with Departmental engineering standards. A 

minimum of ten feet runoff shall be required for each inch of 

difference in elevation between track grade and road grade. The 

Department may contract with the railroad to perform the asphalt 

run-off work on a 100 percent reimbursement basis. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(11); 136-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02B .0315 NEGOTIATION WITH 

MUNICIPALITIES AND MUNICIPAL AGREEMENTS 

Transportation projects within municipalities shall be constructed 

in accordance with a municipal agreement that is executed by the 

municipality and the Board when the construction includes any 

financial participation by the municipality in project costs, or the 

municipality requests additional work that results in maintenance 

responsibilities or financial participation by the municipality. If 

there is no financial participation by the municipality, no 

additional work requested by the municipality, and no 

maintenance requirements by the municipality, then a municipal 

agreement shall not be required under the terms of this Rule. If a 

municipal agreement is necessary in accordance with this Rule, 

then the agreement shall set forth conditions including whether 

the Department or the municipality will acquire the right-of-way, 

and shall identify any financial participation by the municipality. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(2); 136-19; 136-66.3; 

143B-24; 143B-350(f)(g); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Transferred and Recodified from 19A NCAC 2B .0119 Eff. 

October 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0402 CURB AND GUTTER AND 

UNDERGROUND DRAINAGE ON HIGHWAYS 

(a)  The following Subparagraphs are applicable to Projects 

included in the State Transportation Improvement Program. 

(1) If curb and gutter or underground storm 

drainage facilities are not included in a State 

highway improvement project, such facilities 

may be added as part of the programmed project 

if the additional cost of these facilities are paid 

by the adjacent property owner(s) or the 

municipality. 

(2) The Department shall approve participation by 

the property owner(s) or the municipality in 

cases where the property owner(s) or the 

municipality agree to have curb and gutter and 

underground storm drainage, if required, on 

both sides of the project for a minimum distance 

of one block or, if no intersections are present, 

for a minimum distance of 1000 feet. The State 

shall pay the cost of widening the present or 

proposed pavement out to the curb and gutter so 

provided. 

(3) The property owner(s) or the municipality shall 

submit in advance of the project construction a 

certified check for the additional cost of the 

approved curb and gutter and storm drainage 

facilities. 

(b)  Other Existing Paved Roads. Along existing paved State 

highway system routes where no construction project is proposed 

and the adjacent property owner(s) or the municipality construct 

curb and gutter and underground drainage facilities as approved 

by the Board of Transportation, the Department of Transportation 

shall bear the cost of widening the existing pavement as required 

for the proper location and installation of such facilities. Approval 

of curb and gutter or underground storm drainage facilities that 

are located along the State highway system, where no construction 

projects are proposed, shall be determined according to the 

engineering standards of the Department, and based on: 

(1) adequacy of the facilities to handle drainage 

requirements; 

(2) adequacy of the resulting roadway cross section 

to handle existing and anticipated traffic 

demands; 

(3) conformance of the proposed street cross 

section with engineering standards as 

established by the Board of Transportation; 

(4) a minimum distance of one block length or, if 

no intersections are present, for a minimum 

distance of 1000 feet provided this requirement 

is not in conflict with local municipal 

ordinances. In cases of conflict, the local 

ordinance shall prevail; and 

(5) availability of State funds to widen the existing 

pavement, when applicable. 

(c)  Unpaved Roads. Construction of curb and gutter along 

unpaved State highway system routes shall not be permitted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-44.1; 136-66.1; 

143B-350(f); 143B-350(g); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0403 USE OF DUST ALLAYING 

MATERIALS 

(a)  Requests for calcium chloride dust treatments shall be 

addressed to the County Maintenance Yard having jurisdiction in 

the county where the work is proposed. 

(b)  Calcium chloride dust treatments shall only be placed on State 

highway system roads and streets provided: 

(1) prior approval is obtained from the Division 

Engineer or the Division Engineer's authorized 

designee having jurisdiction in the county 

where the dust treatment is proposed; and 

(2) calcium chloride is furnished by the person 

requesting the dust treatment and placed by the 

Department or its agents. 

(c)  The Division Engineer or the Division Engineer's authorized 

designee shall approve requests for calcium chloride dust 

treatments unless conditions are wet, rendering the dust treatment 

ineffective, and if the dust treatment would worsen road surface 

conditions. 

(d)  The person requesting the dust treatment shall purchase and 

deliver the calcium chloride as directed by the Division Engineer 

or his or her designee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(1); 136-18(27); 

143B-346; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0405 EXAMPLES OF 

CONSTRUCTION AND MAINTENANCE ACTIVITIES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-66.1; 143B-346; 

143B-350(f); 143B-350(g); 150B-21.3A; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0410 RENTAL OF SUPPLEMENTAL 

EQUIPMENT 

The Department of Transportation, in accordance with its needs 

and the availability of state-owned equipment, may supplement 

its own equipment requirements by the rental of privately-owned 

equipment. Operators may also be furnished with equipment. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-346; 143B-350(f); 

143B-350(g); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0414 LOCATION OF GARBAGE 

COLLECTION CONTAINERS 

(a)  An encroachment agreement between the Department and 

non-Departmental parties shall be required for a garbage 

collection container site on any State highway rights-of-way.  

(b)  No garbage collection container shall be located within 500 

feet of an occupied dwelling unless the applicant 

obtains written permission from the owner of the dwelling. 

(c)  Information on initiating the encroachment agreement process 

for the placement of garbage collection containers on any State 

highway rights-of-way may be obtained from the State Utilities 

Manager. 

(d)  Guidelines for container sites are as follows: 

(1) the county or municipality negotiating and 

executing the encroachment 

 agreement shall be responsible for any work to 

be performed in preparation of the site, and any 

work performed by the Department, on the site, 

shall be on a reimbursable basis; and  

(2) container sites adjacent to unpaved roads shall 

be prepared with materials similar to those 

existing on the traveled portion of the roadway. 

(e)  If container sites are located adjacent to the roadway, sight 

distances shall be provided for any vehicle to safely enter the road 

from the container site. 

(f)  Container sites shall be permitted adjacent to roadways only 

if lateral clearances can be provided from the edge of pavement to 

the container. 

(g)  The county or municipality that holds an executed agreement 

for the placement of garbage collection containers, as set forth in 

this Rule, shall maintain a collection schedule in order to prevent 

container spillage or overflow, and shall keep the site free from 

all garbage and trash, other than that which is within the garbage 

collection containers. Garbage and trash collection located within 

the garbage collection containers shall be authorized by the 

encroachment agreement. The encroachment agreement shall 

provide that the District Engineers shall give written notice to the 

county or municipality of any failure to comply with this 

requirement. The encroachment agreement shall also provide that, 

if a county or municipality that is so notified and does not bring 

the site within compliance of the requirement within 30 days of 

receipt of the written notice, the encroachment agreement shall 

automatically terminate, and the District Engineer shall arrange 

for the disposal of the garbage collection containers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18.3; 136-18(10); 

Legislative Objection [(a)] Lodged Eff. August 19, 1980; 

Legislative Objection [(a)] Removed Eff. April 23, 1981; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2013; November 1, 1993; October 1, 

1991; April 3, 1981; April 11, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0421 INSTALLATION OF DRIVEWAY 

PIPE 

(a)  The Department of Transportation shall be responsible for the 

installation and costs of pipe lines in the drainage ditch along 

State-maintained roads and within State-maintained right-of-way 

or easement at entrances to private residential property where the 

pipe is furnished and delivered to the installation site by the 

property owner at the property owner's expense if the following 

requirements are met: 

(1) the opening of the side ditch is needed to 

provide drainage; 

(2) the pipe to be installed shall be restricted to a 

minimum inside diameter of 15 inches long and 

maximum inside diameter of 48 inches unless 

otherwise directed by the Department; 

(3) the minimum length of pipe to be installed shall 

be 20 feet with additional length as may be 

necessary to accommodate earth side slopes. 

The pipe shall not be lengthened for the purpose 

of eliminating typical side ditches; 

(4) the property does not already have ingress and 

egress; 

(5) the proposed location for the driveway entrance 

does not present safety hazards such as 

insufficient sight distance, proximity to other 

intersections, increased traffic congestion, poor 

roadway facility operations, decreased highway 

capacity, driver and pedestrian confusion, or 

other risks associated with vehicular traffic 

entering, leaving, and parking adjacent to 

accesses for residential property; and  

(6) the property is limited to farm entrances and 

property owned by the individual currently 

living on the property or owned by the 

individual proposing to use the property for 

residential purposes. This does not include 

property being developed for sale. 

(b)  "Commercial property" includes: 

(1) any property currently being used for 

commercial or industrial purposes; 

(2) property that is being developed for commercial 

or industrial purposes; and 

(3) property that is being developed for sale. 

(c)  The Department shall install pipe lines in the drainage ditch 

along the side of State-maintained roads and within State-

maintained right-of-way or easements at entrances to commercial 

property when the pipe is furnished and delivered to the 

installation site by the property owner at the property owner's 

expense if the following requirements are met: 

(1) prior to installation, the property owner shall 

submit to the Department an application for 

installation of a commercial driveway pipe 

together with a payment in the amount of ten 

dollars ($10.00) per linear foot of pipe to be 

installed. The application shall contain the 

following: 

(A) description of the property location; 

(B) description of the property use; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

87 

(C) acknowledgment that the driveway or 

street entrance shall be constructed 

and maintained in absolute 

conformance with the current 

"NCDOT Policy on Street and 

Driveway Access to North Carolina 

Highways;" 

(D) acknowledgment that no signs or 

objects shall be placed on or over the 

public right-of-way other than those 

approved by the Department; 

(E) acknowledgment that the driveway(s) 

or street(s) shall be constructed as 

shown on the attached plans; 

(F) acknowledgment that the driveway(s) 

or street(s) shall include any approach 

tapers, storage lanes, or speed change 

lanes as deemed necessary by the 

Department; 

(G) acknowledgment that if any future 

improvements to the roadway become 

necessary, the portion of driveway(s) 

or street(s) located on public right-of-

way shall be considered the property 

of the Department, and the property 

owner shall not be entitled to 

reimbursement or have any claim for 

present expenditures for driveway or 

street construction; 

(H) acknowledgement that the permit shall 

become void if construction of 

driveway(s) or street(s) is not 

completed within the time specified by 

the NCDOT Policy on Street and 

Driveway Access to North Carolina 

Highways; 

(I) requirement that a fifty dollar ($50.00) 

construction inspection fee be paid by 

the property owner to the Department, 

and reimbursed to the property owner 

by the Department if the application is 

denied; 

(J) acknowledgment that the construction 

and maintenance of the driveway(s) or 

street(s) shall be performed in a safe 

manner so as not to interfere with or 

endanger the traveling public. 

(K) acknowledgment that signage, signals, 

flaggers, and other warning devices 

shall be provided during construction 

and in conformance with the current 

Manual on Uniform Traffic Control 

Devices for Streets and Highways 

(MUTCD); 

(L) acknowledgment that the Department 

shall be indemnified and saved 

harmless from all damages and claims 

for damage that may arise by reason of 

construction; 

(M) requirement that the property owner 

shall provide a Performance and 

Indemnity Bond in the amount 

specified by the Division of Highways 

for any construction proposed on the 

State Highway system; 

(N) acknowledgment that the permit shall 

be granted subject to the regulatory 

powers of the Department as provided 

by law and as set forth in the NCDOT 

Policy on Street and Driveway Access 

to North Carolina Highways and shall 

not be construed as a contract access 

point; 

(O) requirement that the property owner 

shall notify the District Engineer when 

the proposed work has begun and is 

completed; and 

(P) signatures of the property owner, 

property owner's authorized agent, and 

their respective witnesses, and receipt 

and approval signatures of the 

Department. 

(2) applications for commercial driveway permits 

shall be approved or denied in accordance with 

the engineering standards and guidelines 

provided in the NCDOT Policy on Street and 

Driveway Access to North Carolina Highways. 

This policy may be accessed at no cost to the 

public by visiting 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/projects/Roadway/R

oadwayDesignAdministrativeDocuments/Polic

y%20on%20Street%20and%20Driveway%20

Access.pdf; and 

(3) prior to installation, the property owner shall 

have received an approved commercial 

driveway permit from the Department. In the 

event the permit application is denied, the 

Department shall return to the applicant the 

payment referenced in Subparagraph (c)(1) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  The commercial property owner may elect to have driveway 

pipe installed by private contractors if the following requirements 

are met:  

(1) prior to installation, the property owner shall 

submit to the Department an application for 

installation of a commercial driveway pipe 

together with a payment of fifty dollars 

($50.00) to cover the cost of the inspection of 

the pipe installation by Department personnel; 

(2) prior to installation, the property owner shall 

have received an approved commercial 

driveway permit from the Department. In the 

event the permit application is denied, the 

Department will return to the applicant the 

payment referenced in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) the workmanship, materials, and final 

installation shall be subject to approval by the 
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Department's District Engineer in accordance 

with current Department of Transportation 

standards. In the event the pipe installation does 

not meet the approval of the District Engineer, 

the Department shall remove the pipe at the 

expense of the property owner; and 

(4) signing, barricades, and other devices necessary 

to mitigate traffic at or adjacent to the 

installation site shall be provided by the 

property owner or contractor. Traffic mitigation 

shall meet the requirements of the Manual on 

Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets 

and Highways as as by the District Engineer. 

(e)  Department installation of pipe shall include necessary 

excavation, complete pipe placement, and sufficient backfill to 

provide a pipe line and grade protection. The Department of 

Transportation is not obligated to construct a finished driveway. 

(f)  The Department shall be responsible for the installation and 

costs of residential and commercial driveway pipe if the 

Department caused the need by relocating or revising the 

elevation of side ditches for the improvement of highway 

drainage. 

(g)  See Rule .0102 of this Subchapter for provisions related to 

pipe size. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(1); 136-30; 136-92; 

136-93; 156-88; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1993; October 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0425 FEDERAL DISASTER 

ASSISTANCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-4; 136-18; 143B-350; 

150B-21.3A; 

Eff. October 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997; November 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0535 FERRY RESERVATIONS 

(a)  Reservations for space shall only be available for the Cedar 

Island-Ocracoke, Swan Quarter-Ocracoke, and Passenger Ferry 

from Hatteras-Ocracoke ferry operations. All other operations are 

on a "first come-first served" basis. 

(b)  Reservations shall be made by in person at the ferry terminal, 

online at https://ferry.ncdot.gov or by telephone as follows:  

(1) For the main reservation line, call: (800) 293-

3779. 

(2) For departures from Ocracoke, call: (252) 996-

6201. 

(3) For departures from Cedar Island, call: (252) 

463-7046. 

(4) For departures from Swan Quarter, call: (252) 

791-3302. 

(5) Office hours shall be from 6:00 am until 5:00 

pm, year-round. 

(c)  Reservations may be made any time within 90 days of the 

departure date and shall not be transferable. Name of the driver 

and vehicle license number shall be required. A credit or debit 

card shall be required for advance reservations to secure passage 

and space aboard a ferry vessel. It shall not be required that the 

credit or debit card be in the name of the driver. 

(d)  Reservations shall be claimed at least 30 minutes prior to the 

scheduled departure. Reservations not claimed prior to this time 

shall be cancelled and the space reassigned. 

(e)  Vehicles shall remain in the staging area once ticketed, and 

until boarding begins. 

(f)  In case of departure cancellation due to mechanical failure, 

inclement weather, or other unavoidable causes, the customer 

may reschedule the reservation for either the earliest possible 

departure or or for another time convenient for the customer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-82; 143B-10(j); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02D .0538 VEHICLE WEIGHT 

LIMITATIONS 

(a) Maximum weights permissible for 150-foot Hatteras Class 

ferries are as follows: 

(1) 2 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 35 feet:  40,000 

lbs.; 

(2) 3 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 40 feet:  60,000 

lbs.; 

(3) 4 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 65 feet:  80,000 

lbs.; and 

(4) 5 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 65 feet:  80,000 lbs. 

(b) Maximum weights permissible for 180-foot River Class, and 

220-foot Sound Class ferries are as follows: 

(1) 2 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 35 feet:  40,000 

lbs.; 

(2) 3 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 40 feet:  60,000 

lbs.; 

(3) 4 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 65 feet:  80,000 

lbs.; 

(4) 5 axles plus front steer axle with standard load 

and length of 65 feet:  92,000 

lbs.; 

(5) 6 axles plus front steer axle with heavy load or 

extra-long lowboy:  108,000 

lbs.; and 

(6) 7 axles plus front steer axles with heavy load or 

extra-long lowboy:  120,000 

lbs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-82; 143B-10(j); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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19A NCAC 02D .0539 VEHICLE PHYSICAL 

DIMENSION LIMITATIONS 

(a)  Maximum physical dimensions shall be 65 feet in length, 12 

feet in width, and 13.5 feet in height for vehicles on each of the 

following ferry vessels: 

(1) Silver Lake;  

(2) Cedar Island; 

(3) Carteret;  

(4) Swan Quarter;  

(5) Sea Level;  

(6) Governor Daniel Russel;  

(7) Southport;  

(8) Neuse;  

(9) Lupton;  

(10) Fort Fisher;  

(11) W. Stanford White;  

(12) Croatoan;  

(13) Hatteras;  

(14) Kinnakeet;  

(15) Frisco;  

(16) Chicamacomico;  

(17) Cape Point;  

(18) Ocracoke;  

(19) Roanoke;  

(20) Thomas A. Baum, out-of-service effective 

September 2020;  

(21) Governor James Baxter Hunt, Jr.; 

(22) Rodanthe, in-service effective March 2019;  

(23) Avon, in-service effective March 2020; and  

(24) Salvo, in-service effective August 2020. 

(b)  Vehicles having overall dimensions requiring an 

Oversized/Overweight Permit, pursuant to Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter, shall carry that permit within the vehicle; otherwise, 

loading aboard a ferry vessel shall not be permitted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119; 136-82; 143B-10(j); 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0301 UNZONED INDUSTRIAL AREA 

(a)  For purposes of this Section and the Junkyard Control Act, 

"Unzoned industrial area" means the land occupied by an 

industrial activity, including its building, parking lot, storage or 

processing, and that land located within 1,000 feet thereof that is: 

(1) located on the same side of the highway as the 

principal part of the industrial activity; 

(2) not used for residential or commercial 

purposes; and 

(3) not zoned by State or local law, rule, or 

ordinance. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Section and the Junkyard Control Act, 

"Industrial activity" means an activity that the nearest zoning 

authority within the State permits in industrial zones or zones that 

are less restrictive. An activity is also industrial if the nearest 

zoning authority within the State has prohibited the activity but 

the activity is generally recognized as industrial by other zoning 

authorities within the State. None of the following shall be 

considered industrial activities: 

(1) outdoor advertising structures; 

(2) agricultural activities including ranching, 

farming, grazing, and such necessarily related 

activities as are generally carried on by a farmer 

on the farmer's own premises, including 

wayside fresh produce stands; 

(3) forestry activities that include the growing of 

timber, thinning, felling, and logging of timber 

or pulpwood; 

(4) transient or temporary activities; 

(5) activities not visible from the traffic lanes of the 

main-traveled way; 

(6) activities more than 1,000 feet from the nearest 

edge of the right of way; 

(7) activities conducted in a building used as a 

residence; 

(8) railroad tracts other than yards, minor sidings, 

and passenger depots; and 

(9) junkyards, as defined in Section 136, Title 23, 

of the United States Code. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-151; 23 U.S.C. 136; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0303 FEES 

(a)  The application fee for the Application for Junkyard payment 

shall be fifteen dollars ($15.00).  

(b)  The Application for Junkyard Permit is available from the 

Division Engineer having jurisdiction in the county where the 

proposed or existing junkyard is located. The Application for 

Junkyard Permit allows an applicant to request a permit number 

for the establishment or continued maintenance of a junkyard in 

accordance with the provisions of the Junkyard Control Act, 

Article 12, Chapter 136 of the General Statutes of North Carolina 

(Junkyard Control Act). Applications for Junkyard Permits shall 

require the applicant to provide the following information: 

(1) applicant's name and address; 

(2) whether the junkyard is proposed or already 

existing; 

(3) if already existing, the date the junkyard was 

established; 

(4) the proposed or already existing location of the 

junkyard; and 

(5) certification by the applicant that approval for 

the proposed or already existing junkyard 

operations have been obtained from the owner 

of the real property, or the property owner's 

authorized agent, on which the junkyard is 

located or proposed to be located. 

(c)  Permit numbers shall only be provided to an applicant upon 

payment of the application fee, and approval by the District 

Engineer that the junkyard is in compliance with the Junkyard 

Control Act. If the junkyard is proposed, meaning the Application 

for Junkyard Permit is to establish a junkyard, the Division 

Engineer will keep the application on file at the district office. 

Once the junkyard is in existence, the District Engineer shall 

approve the Application for Junkyard Permit if, upon inspection, 
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the junkyard is found to conform to the provisions of the Junkyard 

Control Act. 

(d)  An annual renewal of each permit shall be required to 

maintain junkyards within 1,000 feet of the right-of-way of 

interstate and federal-aid primary highways. In December of each 

year, the Department will send to the permittee a renewal invoice 

for payment of the junkyard permit annual renewal fee. The 

renewal fee shall be five dollars ($5.00), due on December 15th of 

each year, and paid to the District Engineer having jurisdiction. 

The permit shall be renewed upon payment of the annual renewal 

fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-149; 136-151; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 20 - DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 

 

20 NCAC 11 .0101 ADMINISTRATIVE FEES: NC 

401(K) AND NC 457 PLANS 

(a)  The Board and the Department shall charge an administrative 

fee at an annual rate of 0.025 percent of the assets in each account 

in the Supplemental Retirement Income Plan of North Carolina 

and in each account in the North Carolina Public Employee 

Deferred Compensation Plan. 

(b)  The Board and the Department may waive the administrative 

fee in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for a period of up to 12 months 

based upon the following factors: 

(1) The balance of the administrative expense 

account for the plans; 

(2) Department projections of future expenses to 

administer the plans; and 

(3) Department projections of future receipts 

available for the administration of the plans. 

(c)  The Board and the Department shall provide notice of a fee 

waiver on the plans' website and on participants' quarterly 

statements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 135-91(e); 143B-426.24(h2); 

Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

20 NCAC 11 .0102 ADMINISTRATIVE FEES: NC 

403(B) PROGRAM 

(a)  The Board and the Department shall charge an administrative 

fee at an annual rate of 0.050 percent of the assets in each account 

in the North Carolina Public School Teachers' and Professional 

Educators' Investment Plan. 

(b)  The Board and the Department may waive the administrative 

fee in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for a period of up to 12 months 

based upon the following factors: 

(1) The balance of the administrative expense 

account for the plan; 

(2) Department projections of future expenses to 

administer the plan; and 

(3) Department projections of future receipts 

available for the administration of the plan. 

(c)  The Board and the Department shall provide notice of a fee 

waiver on the plan's website and on participants' quarterly 

statements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 115C-341.2(c); 

Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 28 - LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0103 PRACTICE OF LANDSCAPE 

CONTRACTING; DISPLAY OF LICENSE NUMBER 

(a)  An individual who is "readily available to exercise 

supervision over the landscape construction and contracting 

work" as set forth in G.S. 89D-12(a) and G.S. 89D-17(f) is an 

individual who is physically located no more than 100 miles from 

where the construction or contract project is located or who is 

available electronically with the ability to view the construction 

or contract project. 

(b)  The contractor's license number shall be displayed in 

accordance with G.S. 89D-12(3). License numbers displayed on 

vehicles used in the contractor's landscaping business shall be a 

minimum of one inch in height. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-12(a) and (e); 89D-15(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0104 ANNUAL REPORTS 

(a)  On or before October 31 of each year, the Board shall prepare 

and file reports required pursuant to G.S. 93B-2. The Board shall 

file reports in the manner requested by receiving agency or 

committee. 

(b)  The Board shall maintain an escrow account at the financial 

institution used for deposits and checks. Fees tendered during a 

period of suspension under G.S. 93B-2(d) shall be deposited into 

this escrow account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15; 93B-2; 

Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0201 APPLICATIONS FOR 

LICENSURE 

(a)  All applicants for licensure or examination shall submit an 

application to the Board. The application form shall be available 

on the Board website or may be obtained by contacting the Board 

office. The application shall require the following: 

(1) The Social Security Number of applicant; 

(2) The applicant's contact information; 

(3) The name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) Information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted; 
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(5) Documentation regarding all crimes of which 

the applicant has been convicted; 

(6) Information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration or 

certification board or agency; 

(7) Three personal letters of reference; 

(8) Two professional letters of reference; 

(9) The corporate surety bond or an irrevocable 

letter of credit as prescribed by G.S. 89D-

16(a)(4); 

(10) The application fee as set forth in Rule .0601 of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  All letters of reference as required by Subparagraphs (a)(7) 

and (a)(8) of this Rule shall include the following information for 

the person providing the reference: 

(1) Name; 

(2) Address; 

(3) Phone number; and 

(4) Email address. 

(c)  Once an applicant has submitted a complete application and 

has been determined to have met the minimum qualifications set 

forth in G.S. 89D-16(a), the Board will notify the applicant that 

the applicant's qualifier is permitted to take an examination. Prior 

to taking the examination, the applicant shall submit an 

examination fee as set forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter. In 

order for a qualifier to be permitted to take an examination, an 

applicant shall submit a complete application no less than 30 days 

prior to a scheduled examination date. 

(d)  All applications shall be notarized. Incomplete applications 

shall not be processed. Application fees are non-refundable. 

(e)  A qualifier shall take and pass an examination within one year 

from the date an application is approved by the Board. 

(f)  If a license expires pursuant to G.S. 89D-20(a) and is not 

renewed within one year of the date of expiration, the licensee 

must submit a new application pursuant to this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-16; 

89D-20; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0202 RECIPROCITY 

(a)  All applicants for licensure by reciprocity shall submit an 

application to the Board. The application form shall be available 

on the Board website or may be obtained by contacting the Board 

office located as described in Rule .0101 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  All applications shall include the following: 

(1) The license by reciprocity application fee as set 

forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter; 

(2) Documentation establishing that the qualifier 

for the applicant holds an active license, 

certification, or registration as a landscape 

contractor in another state or country; 

(3) Information indicating whether the applicant or 

qualifier has any disciplinary history with any 

other occupational licensing, registration or 

certification board or agency; 

(4) The surety bond or an irrevocable letter of 

credit as prescribed by G.S. 89D-16(a)(4); 

(5) Contact information for three personal 

references; 

(6) Contact information for two professional 

references; and 

(7) Documentation regarding all crimes of which 

the applicant has been convicted. 

If there is any evidence to show that the applicant has committed 

any acts that would constitute a violation under G.S. 89D-22, the 

applicant shall not be licensed by reciprocity. 

(c)  Once an applicant has submitted a complete application and 

the Board has determined that the requirements for licensure, 

certification, or registration in the applicant's home jurisdiction 

are substantially equivalent to the requirements in G.S. 89D-16, 

the Board shall issue a license to the applicant. 

(d)  All applications shall be notarized. Incomplete applications 

shall not be processed. Application fees are non-refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(3); 89D-

15(4); 89D-16; 89D-19; 89D-22; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0303 QUALIFIER/QUALIFYING 

PARTY; USE OF ASSUMED NAME 

(a)  Each license shall have a person associated with the license 

who shall be deemed the "qualifier" or the "qualifying party." The 

qualifier shall be an individual who has passed the Board's 

examination in accordance with the Board's statutes and rules. 

(b)  If the license is an individual license, the qualifier shall be the 

same person as the person holding the individual license name. If 

the licensee is a legal entity authorized under the Board's practice 

act, the qualifier shall be as follows: 

(1) If a corporation, the qualifier shall be an officer 

or a full-time employee; 

(2) If a limited liability company, the qualifier shall 

be a manager as defined in G.S. 57D-1-03 or a 

full-time employee; 

(3) If a partnership, the qualifier shall be a general 

partner or full-time employee; and 

(4) If the holder of an assumed or designated trade 

name, the qualifier shall be an owner of no less 

than 50 percent of the business or a full-time 

employee. 

(c)  If a qualifier ceases his relationship with the licensee and 

pursuant to G.S. 89D-17(h) seeks additional time to acquire a 

qualifier, the licensee shall submit a written request to the Board. 

If more than 30 days pass without a qualifier and no written 

request is submitted, the license is automatically suspended. If 

more than one year passes and the license is not renewed, the 

license shall be revoked pursuant to G.S. 89D-20. 

(d)  "Full-time employee" means a person who is paid a salary or 

wage and is engaged in the work of the licensee a minimum of 20 

hours per week or a majority of the hours operated by the 

applicant, whichever is less. A qualifier shall not be an 

independent contractor. 
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(e)  Any applicant or licensee seeking to operate under an assumed 

name shall submit to the Board a Certificate of Assumed Name 

filed in accordance with Chapter 66, Article 14A of the General 

Statutes. Applications submitted to the Board on behalf of 

corporations, limited liability companies and partnerships shall be 

accompanied by a copy of any documents required to be filed with 

the North Carolina Secretary of State's office, such as Articles of 

Incorporation or Certificate of Authority. 

(f)  All licensees shall comply with the requirements of G.S. 66-

71.4 and shall notify the Board within 30 days of any change in 

the name in which the licensee is conducting business in the State 

of North Carolina. 

(g)  No applicant or licensee shall use or adopt an assumed name 

used by any other licensee, or any name so similar to an assumed 

name used by another licensee that could confuse or mislead the 

public. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 66-71-4; 89D-16; 89D-17; 89D-

20; 

Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

UNITS 

(a)  A licensee shall complete in-person seven continuing 

education units (CEUs) during the year preceding renewal. 

Beginning with renewals filed after August 1, 2016, at least three 

of the seven CEUs must be technical credits and at least two of 

the seven CEUs must be business credits. If the information 

provided to the Board as required by this Section is unclear, the 

Board may request additional information from a licensee in order 

to assure compliance with continuing education requirements. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "technical credits" are defined as credits 

relating directly to the subject matter of 

landscape contracting as described in G.S. 89D-

11(3); and 

(2) "business credits" are defined as credits relating 

to general business practices, including 

business planning, contracts, liability exposure, 

human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  CEUs shall be determined as follows: 

 

Type of Qualifying 

Activity 

Minimum time 

required for 1 CEU 

Live course 50 minutes 

Online course 50 minutes 

Trade Shows, Field Days, 

and Tours 

4 hours 

Green Industry Board 

Member Service 

1 hour 

Teaching or instructing 1 hour 

In-house or Green 

Industry training 

1 hour 

 

(d)  No more than two CEU credits shall be given for qualifying 

teaching or instructing in one year. 

(e)  No more than four CEU credits shall be given for pesticide 

credits issued by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services in one year. 

(f)  Credit shall not be given in increments of less than .5 CEUs. 

Breaks in courses shall not be counted towards CEU credit. 

(g)  Requests for pre-approval as set forth in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the first day 

of the course or event. 

(h)  All continuing education shall be taken in-person by the 

individual receiving credit. 

(i)  A licensee shall not take the same CEU course within two 

consecutive licensing years. 

(j)  A licensee licensed less than 12 months shall not be subject to 

continuing education requirements for the initial renewal date as 

set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of attendance at continuing 

education programs for which CEUs have been approved for two 

years following the processing date of the renewal application to 

which the CEUs were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CEU requirements shall be 

determined through a random audit process conducted by the 

Board. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board 

with the following documentation of the CEU activities claimed 

for the renewal period: 

(1) Attendance verification records; and 

(2) Information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements shall result in the licensee's status being 

changed to inactive. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0501 GENERAL 

(a)  Prior to commencing work, services performed by a licensed 

landscape contractor ("licensed contractor") that exceed five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) in value shall be described in a written 

agreement. This agreement may be authored by either party and 

shall contain: 

(1) The business name, license number, business 

address, and telephone number of the licensed 

contractor; 

(2) The name and address of client or customer; 
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(3) The address or location of work to be 

performed, if different from the client or 

customer's address; 

(4) The date of the proposal; 

(5) The description of the work to be performed; 

(6) The total value in lump sum, unit price, or time 

and material price; 

(7) The estimated time of completion unless 

already identified in an original prime contract, 

if applicable; 

(8) The terms of payment; 

(9) The terms of warranty (if any); 

(10) The terms of maintenance, including the party 

responsible for maintenance; 

(11) The signatures of all parties by individuals 

legally authorized to act on behalf of the parties; 

(12) Affixation of a seal described in G.S. 89D-

12(d) or a statement that the licensed contractor 

is licensed by the Board and the current address 

and phone number of the Board; and 

(13) The date of signing. 

Contracts that are lump sum and have no breakout of cost for 

services that are either covered or noncovered under G.S. 89D-11 

through G.S. 89D-13 shall be inclusive of covered services under 

G.S. 89D-13(5). 

(b)  All work performed by a licensed contractor shall meet all 

applicable building codes, local ordinances, and project 

specifications. All work performed by a licensed contractor shall 

meet manufacturer's specifications. 

(c)  If project plans or specifications prepared by someone other 

than the licensed contractor do not meet pertinent codes and 

ordinances, the licensed contractor shall bring this to the attention 

of the client or customer. 

(d)  If the licensed contractor observes a condition while the work 

is being performed that requires attention beyond the original 

scope of work, the contractor shall report the condition to a 

supervisor, the owner, or the person responsible for authorizing 

the work. 

(e)  The licensed contractor shall call for utility location services 

pursuant to the Underground Utility Safety and Damage 

Prevention Act, G.S. 87-115 et seq., also known as the N.C. 811 

law. 

(f)  The licensed contractor shall maintain a worksite that meets 

state and local standards for a safe workplace. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-13(5); 89D-15(2); 89D-

15(16); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0507 LOW-VOLTAGE LIGHTING; 

POOLS 

(a)  When installing low-voltage landscape lighting systems, the 

licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Insure that all wire connections are waterproof; 

(2) Only use weather-proof fixtures; 

(3) Supply lamps per the manufacturer's 

specifications with all fixtures; 

(4) Ensure that the total lamp wattage of each 

circuit does not exceed the National Electrical 

Code (NEC) standard for the size of wire being 

used; 

(5) Not load a wire to more than 80 percent of the 

wire's capacity; 

(6) Connect all exterior low-voltage wiring to a 

ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) circuit; 

(7) Mount transformers a minimum of 18 inches 

above grade; 

(8) Perform a post-installation inspection to verify 

that the lighting system is fully operational as 

intended per the manufacturer's 

recommendations; and 

(9) Provide literature to the client about the lighting 

components that lists lamps per the 

manufacturer's specifications for fixtures. 

(b)  All garden pools shall be installed in accordance with state 

and local codes. A garden pool is an ornamental water feature that 

is not defined as a swimming pool under any state or local code. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0601 FEE SCHEDULE 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: 

(1) Application: $75.00; 

(2) Examination: $150.00; 

(3) Individual license fee: $60.00; 

(4) Corporate license fee: $60.00; 

(5) License renewal: $60.00; 

(6) Late renewal: $25.00; 

(7) Individual license reinstatement: $100.00; 

(8) Corporate license reinstatement: $100.00; 

(9) License by reciprocity: $100.00; and 

(10) Duplicate license: $25.00. 

(b)  If the Board elects to use a testing service for the preparation, 

administration, or grading of examinations, the Board shall charge 

the applicant the actual cost of the examination services and a 

prorated portion of the examination fee. 

(c)  The late renewal and reinstatement fees shall be imposed for 

renewal applications submitted after August 1. All licenses shall 

expire on August 1 unless renewed. 

(d)  All fees charged by the Board are non-refundable. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(10); 89D-

21; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0803 SUBPOENAS 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-39, the Board may issue subpoenas for 

the appearance of witnesses or the production of documents or 

information, either at the hearing or for the purposes of discovery. 

(b)  After a notice of hearing in a contested case has been issued 

and served upon a licensee or, in a case concerning an application 
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for licensure, the applicant, the respondent may request subpoenas 

for the attendance of witnesses and the production of evidence. 

(c)  Requests by a licensee or applicant for subpoenas shall be 

made in writing to the Board and shall include the following: 

(1) the name and home or business address of all 

persons to be subpoenaed; and 

(2) the identification of any documents or 

information being sought. 

Upon submission of a written request containing the information 

in Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph, the Board shall 

issue the subpoenas to the requesting party within three business 

days of the Board's receipt of the request. 

(d)  Subpoenas shall be served by the party requesting the 

subpoena as provided by the Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A, 

Rule 45. The cost of service, fees, and expenses, including 

copying costs, of any witnesses or documents subpoenaed is 

prescribed by G.S. 150B-39. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(8); 150B-

39; 150B-40(c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0901 RULEMAKING PETITION 

(a)  Any person may petition the Board to adopt a rule by 

submitting to the Board a written request that shall include the 

following: 

(1) Petitioner's contact information including 

phone number and email address; 

(2) Proposed rule, proposed amendment, or rule to 

be repealed; and 

(3) An explanation of why the proposed adoption, 

amendment or repeal is being requested. 

The request shall be submitted in writing to the Board office as 

set out in 21 NCAC 28B .0101. 

(b)  The Board shall consider a petition at its next regularly 

scheduled meeting unless the petition is filed less than 15 days 

prior to such meeting. If a petition is filed less than 15 days prior 

to the next regularly scheduled Board meeting, the Board shall 

consider the petition at the next subsequent Board meeting. In all 

cases, the Board shall make its decision within the timeframe set 

out in G.S. 150B-20(b). 

(c)  If the Board denies a petition, a copy of the decision shall be 

served upon the petitioner by one of the methods for service of 

process under G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b). If service is by registered, 

certified, or first-class mail, by signature confirmation as provided 

by the United States Postal Service, or by designated delivery 

service authorized pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 7502(f)(2) with delivery 

receipt, the copy shall be addressed to the petitioner at the latest 

address given by the petitioner to the Board. Service by one of the 

additional methods provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b), is effective 

as provided therein and shall be accompanied by a certificate of 

service as provided in G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5(b)(1). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. June 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

CHAPTER 57 - APPRAISAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0204 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  All registered trainees, real estate appraiser licensees, and 

certificate holders shall, upon the renewal of their registration, 

license, or certificate in every odd-numbered year, obtained 

continuing education, as required by this Rule. Trainees and 

appraisers who initially registered with the Board after January 1 

of an odd numbered year are not required to show continuing 

education credit for renewal of their registration in that odd 

numbered year. 

(b)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall complete 28 hours of continuing education before June 

1 of every odd numbered year. Except as provided in Paragraphs 

(g) and (h) of this Rule, such education shall have been obtained 

by taking courses approved by the Board for continuing education 

purposes, at schools approved by the Board to offer such courses, 

as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0603. Such education shall relate to 

real estate appraisers maintaining and increasing their skill, 

knowledge, and competency in real property appraising. There is 

no exemption from the continuing education requirement for 

trainees or appraisers whose status has been upgraded to the level 

of licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general 

appraiser since the issuance or most recent renewal of their 

registration, license, or certificate. Trainees, licensees, and 

certificate holders shall not take the same continuing education 

course more than once during the two-year continuing education 

cycle. 

(c)  Each appraisal continuing education course shall involve a 

minimum of three and one-half classroom hours of instruction on 

real estate appraisal or related topics, such as the application of 

appraisal concepts and methodology to the appraisal of various 

types of property; specialized appraisal techniques; laws, rules or 

guidelines relating to appraisal; standards of practice and ethics; 

building construction; financial or investment analysis; land use 

planning or controls; feasibility analysis; statistics; or accounting. 

The trainee, licensee, or certificate holder shall attend at least 90 

percent of the scheduled classroom hours for the course in order 

to receive credit for the course. 

(d)  Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who is required 

to complete continuing education pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule shall, as part of the 28 hours of continuing education required 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, complete the seven hour National 

USPAP update course between October 1 of an odd-numbered 

year and June 1 of an even numbered year, as required by the 

Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation. 

Each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder shall take the most 

recent USPAP update course prior to June 1 of every even 

numbered year. 

(e)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who elects to take 

approved continuing education courses in excess of the 

requirement shall not carry over into the subsequent years any 

continuing education credit. 

(f)  Course sponsors shall provide a certificate of course 

completion to each trainee, licensee, and certificate holder who 

completes a course, as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0603. In 

addition, course sponsors shall send to the Board a certified roster 

of all who completed the course. This roster shall be sent within 
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15 days of completion of the course, but not later than June 15 of 

each year. In order to renew a registration, license, or certificate 

in a timely manner, the Board must receive proof of satisfaction 

of the continuing education requirement prior to processing a 

registration, license, or certificate renewal application. Proof of 

satisfaction shall be made by receipt of a roster from a school or 

course sponsor showing the courses completed by the applicant or 

by submission of an original certificate of course completion. If 

proof of having satisfied the continuing education requirement is 

not provided, the registration, license, or certificate shall expire 

and the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder shall be subject to 

the provisions of Rules .0203(e) and .0206 of this Section. 

(g)  A current or former trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may 

request that the Board grant continuing education credit for a 

course taken by the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder that is 

not approved by the Board, or for appraisal education activity 

equivalent to a Board approved course, by making such request 

and submitting a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) as 

set out in G.S. 93E-1-8(d) for each course or type of appraisal 

education activity to be evaluated. Continuing education credit for 

a non-approved course shall be granted only if the trainee, 

licensee, or certificate holder provides proof of course completion 

and the Board finds that the course satisfies the requirements for 

approval of appraisal continuing education courses with regard to 

subject matter, course length, instructor qualifications, and 

student attendance as set forth in 21 NCAC 57B .0603. Appraisal 

education activities for which credit may be awarded include 

teaching appraisal courses, authorship of appraisal textbooks, and 

development of instructional materials on appraisal subjects. Up 

to 14 hours of continuing education credit may be granted in each 

continuing education cycle for participation in appraisal education 

activities. Trainees, licensed or certified appraisers who have 

taught an appraisal course or courses approved by the Board for 

continuing education credit are deemed to have taken an 

equivalent course and are not subject to the fee prescribed in G.S. 

93E-1-8(d), provided they submit verification of having taught the 

course(s). A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who teaches a 

Board approved continuing education course shall not receive 

continuing education credit for the same course more than once 

every two years, regardless of how often he or she teaches the 

course. Requests for equivalent approval for continuing education 

credit shall be received before June 15 of an odd-numbered year 

to be credited towards the continuing education requirement for 

that odd-numbered year. Equivalent approval shall be granted 

only for courses that are 7 hours or longer, and shall only be 

granted for a minimum of 7 hours. 

(h)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder may receive 

continuing education credit by taking any of the Board approved 

precertification courses, other than Basic Appraisal Principles and 

Basic Appraisal Procedures, or their approved equivalents. 

Trainees, licensees, and certificate holders who wish to use a 

precertification course for continuing education credit shall 

comply with the provisions of 21 NCAC 57B .0604. 

(i)  A licensee or certificate holder who resides in another state, is 

currently credentialed in another state, and is active on the 

National Registry in another state may satisfy the requirements of 

this Section, other than the seven hour National USPAP update 

course requirement in Paragraph (d) of this Rule, by providing a 

current letter of good standing from another state showing that the 

licensee or certificate holder has met all continuing education 

requirements in the other state. A licensee or certificate holder 

who became licensed in North Carolina by licensure or 

certification with another state and now resides in North Carolina 

may renew by letter of good standing for his or her first renewal 

as a resident of North Carolina only if the appraiser moved to 

North Carolina on or after January 1 of an odd-numbered year. If 

an appraiser was a resident of this state before January 1 of an 

odd-numbered year, the appraiser shall comply with the 

requirements of this section regardless of how the license or 

certificate was obtained. 

(j)  A trainee, licensee, or certificate holder who returns from 

active military duty on or after February 1 of an odd-numbered 

year may renew his or her registration, license, or certificate in 

that odd-numbered year even if the required continuing education 

is not completed before June 1 of that year. All required 

continuing education shall be completed within 180 days of when 

the trainee, licensee, or certificate holder returns from active duty. 

The Board may revoke the registration, license, or certificate in 

accordance with 93E-1-12 if the required continuing education is 

not completed within 180 days. This Paragraph applies to an 

individual who is serving in the armed forces of the United States 

and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time to file a 

tax return. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93E-1-7(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; July 1, 2011; July 1, 

2010; January 1, 2008; March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 

2005; July 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999;  

Pursuant to G.S. 150B.21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 57A .0407 SUPERVISION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  A certified real estate appraiser may engage a registered 

trainee to assist in the performance of real estate appraisals, 

provided that the appraiser: 

(1) has been certified for at least three years; 

(2) has no more than three trainees working under 

him or her at any one time as follows: 

(A) a certified residential appraiser may 

have two trainees working under his or 

her supervision at any one time. Once 

at least one of those trainees has 

completed 50 percent of the required 

appraisal experience required by 21 

NCAC 57A .0201(c), (d), or (e), a 

certified residential appraiser may add 

another trainee; and 

(B) a certified general appraiser may have 

three trainees working under his or her 

supervision. 

(3) Prior to the date any trainee begins performing 

appraisals under his or her supervision, the 

supervisor shall inform the Board of the name 

of the trainee by filing a Supervisor Declaration 

Form with the Board. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at 
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www.ncappraisalboard.org. The supervisor 

shall also inform the Board when a trainee is no 

longer working under his or her supervision by 

using the Supervisor Declaration Form. The 

form shall include the following information: 

(A) name and registration number of 

trainee; 

(B) name and certification number of 

supervisor; 

(C) date the trainee completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(D) date the supervisor completed the 

supervisor/trainee course; 

(E) whether the supervisor has had any 

disciplinary action within the past 

three years or pending complaints 

against his or her license; 

(F) signature of both the supervisor and 

trainee (only required for association). 

(4) actively and personally supervises the trainee 

on all appraisal reports and appraisal related 

activities until the trainee is no longer under his 

or her supervision; 

(5) reviews all appraisal reports and supporting 

data used in connection with appraisals in 

which the services of a trainee is utilized, and 

assures that research of general and specific 

data has been conducted and reported, 

application of appraisal principles and 

methodologies has been applied, that the 

analysis is sound and reported, and that any 

analysis, opinions, or conclusions are 

developed and reported so that the appraisal 

report is not misleading; 

(6) complies with all provisions of Rule .0405 of 

this Section regarding appraisal reports; 

(7) reviews and signs the trainee's log of appraisals 

prepared in accordance with Paragraph (c) of 

this Rule. The supervisor shall make available 

to the trainee a copy of every appraisal report 

where the trainee performs more than 75 

percent of the work on the appraisal; and 

(8) has not received any disciplinary action against 

his or her appraisal license or certificate from 

the State of North Carolina or any other state 

within the previous three years. For the 

purposes of this Section, disciplinary action 

means an active suspension, a downgrade of a 

credential, a revocation, or any other action that 

restricts a supervisor's ability to engage in 

appraisal practice. 

(b)  Active and personal supervision includes direction, guidance, 

and support from the supervisor. The supervising appraiser shall 

have input into and knowledge of the appraisal report prior to its 

completion, and shall make any changes to the report before it is 

transmitted to the client. In addition, the supervisor shall 

accompany the trainee on the inspections of the subject property 

on the first 50 appraisal assignments or the first 1500 hours of 

experience, whichever comes first, for which the trainee will 

perform more than 75 percent of the work. After that point, the 

trainee may perform the inspections without the presence of the 

supervisor provided that the supervisor is satisfied that the trainee 

is competent to perform those inspections, and that the subject 

property is less than 50 miles from the supervisor's primary 

business location. The supervisor shall accompany the trainee on 

all inspections of subject properties that are located more than 50 

miles from the supervisor's primary business location. 

(c)  The trainee shall maintain a log on a form that includes each 

appraisal performed by the trainee, the type of property appraised, 

type of appraisal performed, complete street address of the subject 

property, the date the report was signed, the experience hours 

claimed, the name of the supervisor for that appraisal, the 

supervisor's license or certificate number, and whether the 

supervisor accompanied the trainee on the inspection of the 

subject property. The log shall be updated at least every 30 days. 

A log form is available on the Board's website at 

www.ncappraisalboard.org. 

(d)  An appraiser shall attend an education program regarding the 

role of a supervisor before any supervision of a trainee. This 

course shall be taught only by instructors approved by the Board 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 57B .0614. 

(e)  Trainees shall ensure that the Appraisal Board has received 

the Supervisor Declaration Form on or before the day the trainee 

begins assisting the supervising appraiser by contacting the Board 

by telephone or email at ncab@ncab.org. The form may be found 

on the Board's website at www.ncappraisalboard.org. Trainees 

shall not receive appraisal experience credit for appraisals 

performed in violation of this Paragraph. 

(f)  Supervising appraisers shall not be employed by a trainee or 

by a company, firm, or partnership in which the trainee has a 

controlling interest. 

(g)  If a trainee signs an appraisal report or provides significant 

professional assistance in the appraisal process and is noted in the 

report as having provided assistance, the appraiser signing the 

report shall have notified the Appraisal Board before the appraisal 

is signed that he or she is the supervisor for the trainee. If more 

than one appraiser signs the report, the appraiser with the highest 

level of credential shall be the declared supervisor for the trainee. 

If all appraisers signing the report have the same level of 

credential, at least one of them shall be declared as the trainee's 

supervisor before the report is signed. 

(h)  Only one trainee may receive credit for providing real 

property appraisal assistance on an appraisal report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1.6.1; 93E-1-10; 93E-1-12; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; 

July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; January 1, 2008; March 1, 

2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0306 INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Except for guest lecturers as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule, all qualifying courses or courses deemed equivalent by the 

Board shall be taught by instructors who are found by the Board 
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to be equivalent to those listed below. The minimum 

qualifications are as follows: 

(1) for residential appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have completed 200 classroom hours 

of real estate appraisal education as set 

forth in Rules .0101 and .0102 of this 

Subchapter;  

(B) have two years' full-time experience as 

a certified residential or general real 

estate appraiser within the previous 

five years, with at least one-half of the 

experience in residential property 

appraising; and 

(C) be certified as a residential or general 

real estate appraiser. 

(2) for general appraiser courses, the instructor 

shall: 

(A) have 300 classroom hours of real 

estate appraisal education as set forth 

in Rules .0101, .0102, and .0103 of 

this Subchapter;  

(B) have three years' full-time experience 

as a general real estate appraiser 

within the previous five years, with at 

least one-half of the experience in 

income property appraising; and  

(C) has been a certified general real estate 

appraiser for at least five years. 

(3) for USPAP courses, the instructor shall:  

(A) be a certified residential or a certified 

general appraiser; and 

(B) be certified by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal 

Foundation as an instructor for the 

National USPAP Course. If a USPAP 

instructor fails to renew or loses his or 

her certification by the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board, the instructor 

shall stop teaching and notify the 

Appraisal Board of the loss of 

certification. 

(4) for statistics, modeling and finance courses, the 

instructor shall:  

(A) have previously completed this class; 

or  

(B) have completed 3 semester hours of 

statistics from a regionally accredited 

college or university. 

(b)  Guest lecturers who do not possess the qualifications set forth 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may teach collectively up to one-

fourth of any course, provided that each guest lecturer possesses 

education and experience in the subject area about which the 

lecturer is teaching. 

(c)  Instructors shall conduct their classes in a manner that 

demonstrates knowledge of the subject matter being taught and 

mastery of the following basic teaching skills: 

(1) The ability to communicate through speech, 

including the ability to speak at a rate of speed 

and with appropriate grammar and vocabulary; 

(2) The ability to utilize illustrative examples, and 

to respond to questions from students; 

(3) The ability to utilize varied instructive 

techniques other than straight lecture, such as 

class discussion or other techniques; 

(4) The ability to utilize instructional aids to 

enhance learning; 

(5) The ability to maintain a learning environment 

and control of a class; and 

(6) The ability to interact with adult students in a 

manner that does not offend or criticize them. 

(d)  Upon request of the Board, an instructor or proposed 

instructor shall submit to the Board a recording that depicts the 

instructor teaching portions of a qualifying course. 

(e)  The inquiry into determining whether to approve an instructor 

shall include consideration of whether the instructor has ever had 

any disciplinary action taken or has a disciplinary action pending 

against his or her appraisal license or certificate or any other 

professional license or certificate in North Carolina or any other 

state, or whether the instructor has ever been convicted of or pled 

guilty to any criminal act or has criminal charges pending. An 

instructor shall not have received any disciplinary action against 

his or her appraisal license or certificate from the State of North 

Carolina or any other state within the previous two years. For the 

purposes of this Section, disciplinary action means a reprimand, 

suspension (whether active or inactive), or a revocation.  

(g)  Proposed qualifying course instructors who do not meet the 

minimum appraisal education and experience qualifications listed 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and who seek to have their 

qualifications determined by the Board to be equivalent to the 

qualifications listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, shall supply the 

Board with copies of sample appraisal reports or other evidence 

of experience. 

(h)  Persons desiring to become instructors for qualifying courses 

shall file an instructor application for qualifying education and be 

approved by the Board. There is no fee for application for 

instructor approval. Once an instructor has been approved to teach 

a specific qualifying course, that person may teach the course at 

any school or for any course sponsor approved by the Appraisal 

Board to offer qualifying courses. The form shall include the 

following information: 

(1) instructor's name, address, phone number and 

email address; 

(2) list of course provider(s) the instructor will be 

teaching for; 

(3) programs the instructor is seeking approval for; 

(4) instructor's Licensing/Certification History; 

(5) whether the instructor has ever been denied a 

trainee registration, or appraiser license or 

certificate in NC or any other state; 

(6) whether the instructor has any disciplinary 

action taken against a trainee registration, 

appraiser license or certificate in NC or any 

other state; 

(7) whether the instructor has any current charges 

pending against any professional license in NC; 
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has had any disciplinary action within the past 

three years or pending complaints against his or 

her license; 

(8) instructor's college education, appraisal 

education, appraisal experience, and 

description of work experience; and 

(9) signature of applicant. 

(i)  Current Appraisal Board members shall not be eligible to teach 

qualifying courses during their term of office on the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(a); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2010; September 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2003; August 

1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 57B .0606 COURSE OPERATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

Course sponsors shall maintain compliance with Rule .0603 of 

this Section and shall also comply with the following 

requirements:  

(1) Courses shall be a maximum of eight classroom 

hours in any given day. A classroom hour shall 

consist of 50 minutes of classroom instruction 

and ten minutes of break time. For any class that 

exceeds 50 minutes in duration, breaks at the 

rate of ten minutes per hour shall be scheduled.  

(2) Course sponsors shall not utilize advertising of 

any type that is false or misleading. 

Advertisements shall specify the number of 

continuing education credit hours awarded by 

the Board for the course. 

(3) Course sponsors shall, upon request, provide 

any prospective student a description of the 

course content regarding the instruction to be 

provided in the course. 

(4) Courses shall be conducted in a facility that 

meets the following requirements:  

(a) is of sufficient size to accommodate all 

enrolled students;  

(b) contains a student desk or worktable 

space for each student;  

(c) is free of noise or visual distractions 

that disrupt class sessions; and 

(d) complies with all applicable local, 

state and federal laws and regulations 

regarding safety, health and sanitation. 

Classes shall not be held in a personal 

residence under any circumstances. 

(5) The course sponsor shall require students to 

attend at least 90 percent of the scheduled 

classroom hours in order to complete the 

course, even if the number of continuing 

education credit hours awarded by the Board 

for the course is less than the number of 

scheduled classroom hours. Attendance shall be 

monitored during all class sessions to ensure 

compliance with the attendance requirement. 

Instruction shall be given for the number of 

hours for which credit is given. Instructors shall 

not accumulate unused break time to end the 

class early. 

(6) Instructors shall require student attentiveness 

during class sessions. Students shall not be 

permitted to engage in activities that are not 

related to the instruction being provided. 

(7) Course sponsors for which an application fee is 

required by Rules .0602(b) and .0611(b) of this 

Section shall administer course cancellation 

and fee refund policies. In the event a scheduled 

course is canceled, efforts shall be made to 

notify preregistered students of the cancellation 

and all prepaid fees received from such 

preregistered students shall be refunded within 

30 days of the date of cancellation or, with the 

student's permission, applied toward the fees 

for another course. 

(8) Upon request of the Board, the course sponsor 

shall submit to the Board a recording that 

depicts the instructor teaching portions of any 

continuing education course.  

(9) Course sponsors shall provide the Board with 

the dates and locations of all classes the sponsor 

is offering in the State of North Carolina at least 

30 calendar days before the class is offered, 

unless circumstances beyond the control of the 

course sponsor require that the course be 

rescheduled, such as a weather emergency. If 

the dates or location of the classes change after 

such information is provided to the Board, the 

course sponsor shall notify the Board of such 

changes within five days of the rescheduled 

date. 

(10) Course sponsors shall provide each student with 

contact information for the Appraisal Board.  

(11) If an instructor has any disciplinary action taken 

on his or her appraisal license or any other 

professional license in North Carolina or any 

other state, or if the instructor has been 

convicted of or pled guilty to any misdemeanor 

or felony, the school or course sponsor shall 

report that fact to the Board within 15 business 

days. 

(12) All courses, except those taught on-line via the 

Internet, shall have a minimum number of five 

students enrolled in the course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93E-1-8(c); 93E-1-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2008; 

March 1, 2007; July 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

99 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0108 RETENTION OF RECORDS 

(a)  Brokers shall retain records of all sales, rental, and other 

transactions conducted in such capacity, whether the transaction 

is pending, completed, or terminated. The broker shall retain 

records for three years after all funds held by the broker in 

connection with the transaction have been disbursed to the proper 

party or parties or the conclusion of the transaction, whichever 

occurs later. If the broker's agency agreement is terminated prior 

to the conclusion of the transaction, the broker shall retain such 

records for three years after the termination of the agency 

agreement or the disbursement of all funds held by or paid to the 

broker in connection with the transaction, whichever occurs later. 

(b)  Records shall include copies of the following: 

(1) contracts of sale; 

(2) written leases; 

(3) agency contracts; 

(4) options; 

(5) offers to purchase; 

(6) trust or escrow records; 

(7) earnest money receipts; 

(8) disclosure documents; 

(9) closing statements; 

(10) brokerage cooperation agreements; 

(11) declarations of affiliation; 

(12) broker price opinions and comparative market 

analyses prepared pursuant to G.S. 93A, Article 

6, including any notes and supporting 

documentation; 

(13) sketches, calculations, photos, and other 

documentation used or relied upon to determine 

square footage; 

(14) advertising used to market a property; and 

(15) any other records pertaining to real estate 

transactions. 

(c)  All records shall be made available for inspection and 

reproduction by the Commission or its authorized representatives 

without prior notice. 

(d)  Brokers shall provide a copy of the written agency disclosure 

and acknowledgement thereof when applicable, written agency 

agreement, contract, offer, lease, rental agreement, option, or 

other related transaction document to the firm or sole 

proprietorship with which they are affiliated within three days of 

receipt. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; September 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; 

February 1, 1989; February 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; July 1, 2016; April 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0506 PROVISIONAL BROKER TO BE 

SUPERVISED BY BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  A provisional broker may engage in or hold himself or herself 

out as engaging in activities requiring a real estate license only 

while his or her license is on active status pursuant to Rule .0504 

of this Section and he or she is supervised by the broker-in-charge 

of the real estate firm or office with which the provisional broker 

is affiliated. A provisional broker shall be supervised by only one 

broker-in-charge at a time. 

(b)  Upon a provisional broker's affiliation with a real estate 

broker or brokerage firm, the broker-in-charge of the office where 

the provisional broker will be engaged in the real estate business 

shall file with the Commission a License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form that sets forth the: 

(1) provisional broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number, type of license, and 

current license status; 

(C) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(D) public and private phone numbers; 

(E) completed Postlicensing courses, if 

necessary; 

(F) completed continuing education 

courses, if necessary; and 

(G) signature. 

(2) broker-in-charge's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) firm's name and license number; 

(D) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(E) public and private phone numbers; and 

(F) signature. 

(c)  Upon the submission of the License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form, the provisional broker may engage in real estate 

brokerage activities requiring a license under the supervision of 

the broker-in-charge; however, if the provisional broker and 

broker-in-charge do not receive from the Commission a written 

acknowledgment of the provisional broker supervision 

notification and, if appropriate, the request for license activation, 

within 30 days of the date shown on the form, the provisional 

broker shall cease all real estate brokerage activities pending 

receipt of the written acknowledgment from the Commission.  

(d)  A broker-in-charge shall supervise the provisional broker in a 

manner that assures that the provisional broker performs all acts 

for which a real estate license is required in accordance with the 

Real Estate License Law and Commission rules. A supervising 

broker who fails to supervise a provisional broker as prescribed in 

this Rule may be subject to disciplinary action by the pursuant to 

Rule .0110 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Upon the termination of the supervisory relationship between 

a provisional broker and his or her broker-in-charge, the 

provisional broker and the broker-in-charge shall provide written 

notification of the date of termination to the Commission not later 

than 10 days following the termination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2(b); 93A-3; 93A-9; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2013; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 

2004; October 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0601 COMPLAINTS/INQUIRIES 

/MOTIONS/OTHER PLEADINGS 

(a)  Any individual may file a complaint against a broker at any 

time. A complaint shall: 

(1) be in writing; 

(2) identify the respondent broker or firm; and 

(3) apprise the Commission of the facts which form 

the basis of the complaint. 

(b)  A complaint may be amended by submitting the revised 

complaint in writing to the Commission. 

(c)  When investigating a complaint, the scope of the 

Commission's investigation shall not be limited only to matters 

alleged in the complaint. 

(d)  All answers, motions, or other pleadings relating to contested 

cases before the Commission shall be: 

(1) in writing or made during the hearing as a 

matter of record; and 

(2) apprise the Commission of the matters it alleges 

or answers. 

(e)  During the course of an investigation, any broker that receives 

a Letter of Inquiry from the Commission shall submit a written 

response within 14 days of receipt. The Commission, through its 

legal counsel or other staff, may send a broker a Letter of Inquiry 

requesting a response. The Letter of Inquiry, or attachments 

thereto, shall set forth the subject matter being investigated. The 

response shall include: 

(1) a disclosure of all requested information; and 

(2) copies of all requested documents. 

(f)  Persons who make complaints are not parties to contested 

cases, but may be witnesses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6(a); 150B-

38(h); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1992; 

February 1, 1989; November 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0612 PRESIDING OFFICER 

The Commission may designate any of its members to preside 

over the hearing in a contested case. When no designation is 

made, the Chairman of the Commission shall preside, or, in his or 

her absence, the Vice Chairman shall preside. The presiding 

officer shall rule on motions or other requests made in a contested 

case prior to the conduct of the hearing in that case except when 

the ruling on the motion would be dispositive of the case. When 

the ruling on a motion or request would be dispositive of the case, 

the presiding officer shall make no ruling and the motion or 

request shall be determined by a majority of the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 150B-40(b); 

Eff. May 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1902 POSTLICENSING EDUCATION 

REQUIREMENT 

(a)  The 90-hour Postlicensing education program pursuant to 

G.S. 93A-4(a1) shall consist of the following three 30 

instructional hour courses prescribed by the Commission: 

(1) Postlicensing Course 301; 

(2) Postlicensing Course 302; and 

(3) Postlicensing Course 303. 

(b)  A provisional broker as described in G.S. 93A-4(a1) shall 

complete all Postlicensing courses pursuant to Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule within 18 months following the date of initial licensure. 

(c)  If a provisional broker fails to complete the required 

Postlicensing courses pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the 

provisional broker's license shall be placed on inactive status. 

(d)  A provisional broker seeking to activate a license that was 

placed on inactive status pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

shall: 

(1) complete all three Postlicensing Courses 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule within 

the previous two years; 

(2) satisfy the continuing education requirements 

for license activation described in Rule .1703 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(3) file an activation form with the Commission 

pursuant to Rule .0504 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-4(a1); 

Eff. April 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1905 WAIVER OF 90-HOUR 

POSTLICENSING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT 

(a)  A provisional North Carolina real estate broker may apply for 

a waiver of one or more of the three 30-hour Postlicensing courses 

described in Rule .1902 of this Section in the following 

circumstances: 

(1) the broker has obtained equivalent education to 

the Commission's Postlicensing course(s) 

pursuant to Rule .1902 of this Section. In this 

case, the waiver request shall include the 

course(s): 

(A) jurisdiction of delivery; 

(B) title; 

(C) credit hours earned; 

(D) beginning and end dates; and 

(E) subject matter description. 

(2) the broker has obtained experience equivalent 

to 40 hours per week as a licensed broker or 

salesperson in another state for at least five of 

the seven years immediately prior to application 

for waiver, which shall include the applicant's: 
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(A) employer; 

(B) title at employer; 

(C) dates of employment; 

(D) hours per week devoted to brokerage; 

(E) approximate number of transactions; 

(F) areas of practice; 

(G) approximate percentage of time 

devoted to each area of practice; 

(H) description of applicant's role and 

duties; 

(I) managing broker's name, telephone 

number, and email address; and 

(J) official certification of licensure 

issued within the six months preceding 

application from a jurisdiction within 

a state, territory, or possession of the 

United States or Canada in which the 

applicant holds a current real estate 

license that has been active within the 

three years prior to application. 

(3) the broker has obtained experience equivalent 

to 40 hours per week as a licensed North 

Carolina attorney practicing in real estate 

matters for the two years immediately 

preceding application, which shall include the 

applicant's: 

(A) firm or practice name; 

(B) law license number; 

(C) dates of employment; 

(D) hours per week devoted to real estate 

law practice; 

(E) approximate number of closings 

conducted; 

(F) description of practice; and 

(G) manager or supervising attorney's 

name, telephone number, and email 

address, if applicable. 

(b)  The Commission shall not consider education or experience 

obtained in violation of any law or rule as fulfilling the 

requirements for waiver of the 90-hour postlicensing education 

requirement. 

(c)  A broker shall be ineligible for a waiver of the 90-hour 

postlicensing education requirement if the broker was issued a 

license pursuant to Rule .0511(b)(2) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(a1); 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .2002 ESCROW ACCOUNT 

(a)  The Commission shall establish an escrow account or 

accounts with a financial institution or institutions lawfully doing 

business in this State into which the Commission shall deposit and 

hold fees tendered during any period of time when, pursuant to 

G.S. 93B-2(d), the Commission's authority to expend funds has 

been suspended. The Commission shall keep funds deposited into 

its escrow account or accounts segregated from other assets, 

monies, and receipts for the duration of the suspension of the 

Commission's authority to expend funds. 

(b)  The Commission may deposit into and maintain in its escrow 

account such monies as may be required to avoid or eliminate 

costs associated with the account or accounts. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-2(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0203 APPLICATION FOR ORIGINAL 

LICENSURE OF A PRIVATE REAL ESTATE SCHOOL 

(a)  Any entity seeking original licensure as a private real estate 

school to conduct Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses shall 

apply to the Commission on a form available on the Commission's 

website and shall set forth the following criteria in addition to the 

requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b): 

(1) the physical, website, and email addresses and 

telephone number of the principal office of the 

school; 

(2) the proposed school director's legal name, real 

estate license number, if any, email and mailing 

address, and telephone number; 

(3) the type of school ownership entity and the 

name, title, real estate license number, if any, 

mailing address, and ownership percentage of 

each individual or entity holding at least 10% 

ownership in the entity; 

(4) the North Carolina Secretary of State 

Identification Number; 

(5) the criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions of individual school 

owner(s); 

(6) the physical address of each proposed school 

location; 

(7) the source of real estate examinations to be used 

for each course offered; 

(8) a copy of a criminal background check for the 

previous seven years on the proposed school 

director; 

(9) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings form available on the Commission's 

website, if a foreign entity; 

(10) the Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses to be 

offered by the school; 

(11) the Update courses to be offered by the school; 

and 

(12) the signature and certification of the school 

owner(s). 

(b)  Private real estate school names shall contain the words "Real 

Estate" and other words identifying the entity as a school, such as 

"school," "academy," or "institute" that are distinguishable from 

other licensed private real estate schools and from continuing 

education course sponsors approved by the Commission. 

(c)  The school name shall be used in all school publications and 

advertising. 

(d)  Each school shall certify that its facilities and equipment are 

in compliance with all applicable local, state and federal laws and 

regulations regarding health, safety, and welfare, including the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

34:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2019 

102 

(e)  The original license application fee shall be two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) for each proposed school location. 

(f)  The initial fee for a school to offer a Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing course at any of its locations during the licensing 

period shall be forty dollars ($40.00) per Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing course. 

(g)  Private real estate schools offering Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing courses pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall 

be eligible to offer Update courses and continuing education 

courses. 

(h)  If a school relocates any location during any licensing period, 

the school owner shall submit an original application for licensure 

of that location pursuant to this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0209 POSTLICENSING COURSE 

ENROLLMENT 

A school shall not enroll an individual in a Postlicensing course 

if: 

(1) the first day of the Postlicensing course occurs 

while the individual is enrolled in a 

Prelicensing course; or 

(2) the first day of the Postlicensing course occurs 

while the individual is taking another 

Postlicensing course at the same school or a 

different school if such enrollment results in the 

individual being in class for more than 30 

instructional hours in any given seven day 

period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(a1); 93A-33; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

21 NCAC 58H .0214 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF A SCHOOL APPROVAL OR LICENSE 

(a)  All Commission approvals and licenses issued to real estate 

schools shall expire annually on June 30 following issuance of 

approval or licensure. 

(b)  A school shall file an electronic application for renewal of its 

approval or license within 45 days immediately preceding 

expiration of approval or licensure on a form available on the 

Commission's website. The school renewal application form shall 

include: 

(1) the school name; 

(2) the school number; 

(3) the school director's name; 

(4) the school's mailing address, telephone number, 

and web address, if applicable; 

(5) all Commission approved courses offered by 

the school; 

(6) any change in the school's business entity; 

(7) court records of any conviction, guilty plea, or 

plea of no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction against the school 

owner(s) and school director since the last 

renewal; 

(8) records pertaining to any disciplinary action 

taken against the school owner(s) and school 

director by an occupational licensing board 

since the last renewal; 

(9) a copy of the current bulletin; 

(10) proof of bond as required in G.S. 93A-36; and 

(11) the school director's signature. 

(c)  The private school license renewal fee shall be one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) for each school location. 

(d)  The renewal fee for a private real estate school to offer a 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course at any of its locations during 

the licensed period shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(e)  If a school approval or license has expired, the school shall 

submit an application for original approval or licensure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34(b); 93A-

35(b); 93A-36; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0302 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR ORIGINAL PRELICENSING, POSTLICENSING, 

OR UPDATE COURSE INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  An individual seeking original instructor approval shall 

submit an application on a form available on the Commission's 

website that shall require the instructor applicant to indicate the 

course(s) for which he or she is seeking approval and set forth the 

instructor applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) real estate license number and instructor 

number, if any, assigned by Commission; 

(3) criminal and occupational licensing history, 

including any disciplinary actions; 

(4) education background, including specific real 

estate education; 

(5) experience in the real estate business; 

(6) real estate teaching experience, if any; 

(7) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings for nonresident applicants; and 

(8) signature. 

(b)  An instructor applicant shall demonstrate that he or she 

possesses good reputation and character pursuant to G.S. 93A-

34(c)(9) and has: 

(1) a North Carolina real estate broker license that 

is not on provisional status; 

(2) completed continuing education sufficient to 

activate a license under 21 NCAC 58A .1702; 

(3) completed 60 semester hours of college-level 

education at an institution accredited by any 

college accrediting body recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education;  

(4) completed the New Instructor Seminar within 

the previous six months; and 

(5) within the previous seven years has either: 
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(A) two years full-time experience in real 

estate brokerage with at least one year 

in North Carolina; 

(B) three years of instructor experience at 

a secondary or post-secondary level; 

(C) real estate Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing instructor approval in 

another jurisdiction; or 

(D) qualifications found to be equivalent 

by the Commission, including a 

current North Carolina law license and 

three years' full time experience in 

commercial or residential real estate 

transactions or representation of real 

estate brokers or firms. 

(c)  In order to complete the New Instructor Seminar, a broker 

shall: 

(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

hours; and 

(2) demonstrate the ability to teach a 15-minute 

block of a single Prelicensing topic in a manner 

consistent with the course materials. 

(d)  Instructors approved prior to July 1, 2019 shall be exempt 

from the New Instructor Seminar requirement pursuant to 

Paragraph (b)(4) of this Rule. 

(e)  Prior to teaching any Update course, an approved instructor 

shall take the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for 

the current license period. The Update Instructor Seminar shall 

not be used to meet the requirement in Rule .0306(b)(4) of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-10; 93A-

33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 61 - RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 61 .0204 FEES 

(a)  Fees are as follows: 

(1) For an initial application, a fee of fifty dollars 

($50.00); 

(2) For issuance of an active license, a fee of one 

hundred twenty-five dollars ($125.00); 

(3) For the renewal of an active license, a fee of 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00); 

(4) For the late renewal of any license, an 

additional late fee of seventy-five dollars 

($75.00); 

(5) For a license with a provisional or temporary 

endorsement, a fee of fifty dollars ($50.00); and 

(6) For official verification of license status, a fee 

of twenty dollars ($20.00). 

(b)  Fees shall be nonrefundable and shall be paid in the form of a 

credit card, cashier's check, certified check, or money order made 

payable to the North Carolina Respiratory Care Board. The Board 

shall also accept personal checks for payment of the fees set forth 

in Subparagraphs (a)(3), (a)(4), and (a)(6) of this Rule. 

(c)  In the event the Board's authority to expend funds is 

suspended pursuant to G.S. 93B-2(d), the Board shall continue to 

issue and renew licenses and all fees tendered shall be placed in 

an escrow account maintained by the Board for this purpose. Once 

the Board's authority is restored, the funds shall be moved from 

the escrow account into the general operating account. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-652(2); 90-652(9); 90-660; 

93B-2(d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 15, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010: March 1, 2008; March 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 22, 2015; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 18, 2019 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (1st Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi 
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell 
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2nd Vice Chair) 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May (919) 431-3074 
Amanda Reeder (919) 431-3079 
Ashley Snyder  (919) 431-3081 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

     July 18, 2019 August 15, 2019 
 September 19, 2019         October 17, 2019 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JULY 18, 2019 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Board of Elections - 08 NCAC 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May) 
B. Social Services Commission -10A NCAC 06R .0101, .0102, .0201, .0302, .0304, .0305, .0401, .0403, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0506, .0508, .0509, .0601, .0801, .0802, .0804, .0806, .0902, .0904; 06S .0101, .0102, 

.0203, .0204, .0301, .0302, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0501, .0508; 06T .0201 (Reeder) 
C. DHHS/ Division of Health Benefits - 10A NCAC 23E .0105, .0202; 23G .0203, .0304; 23H .0109 (Reeder) 
D. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
E. Social Services Commission -10A NCAC 67A .0101, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0201, .0202, .0203, 

.0204, .0205, .0206; 68 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, 

.0206, .0208, .0301, .0302, .0303; 69 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0301, .0302, .0303, 

.0304, .0305, .0306, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0501, .0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, 

.0507, .0508, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605; 72 .0101, .0102, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0301 (May) 
F. Department of Justice - 12 NCAC 02I .0213, .0306 (Reeder) 
G. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02B .0402, .0403, .0404, .0406, .0407, .0408, .0501, 

.0502, .0503, .0504, .0505, .0506, .0508, .0511; 02H .0101, .0102, .0103, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109, 

.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0120, .0121, .0124, .0125, .0127, .0138, .0139, .0140, 

.0141, .0142, .0143, .0401, .0402, .0403, .0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206 
(May) 

H. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02C .0101, .0102, .0105, .0107, .0108, .0109, .0110, 
.0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0116, .0117, .0118, .0119, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0206, .0207, .0208, .0209, 
.0210, .0211, .0217, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0223, .0224, .0225, .0226, .0227, .0228, .0229, .0230, 
.0240, .0241, .0242 (Reeder) 

I. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02T .1601, .1602, .1604, .1605, .1606, .1607, .1608 
(Reeder) 

J. Coastal Resources Commission – 15A NCAC 07J .0409 (May) 
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K. State Human Resources Commission - 25 NCAC 01E .0210, 01I .1702, .1805, .1902, .1903, .1905, .2003, 
.2105, .2302, .2303, .2304, .2305, .2306, .2307, .2310 (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 21, 2019 through June 20, 2019 

• Department of Administration (May) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (Snyder)  

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Department of Transportation (May) 

• Board of Dietetics/Nutrition (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VII. Commission Business 

N.  Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule 

• Next meeting: Thursday, August 15, 2019 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

May 21, 2019 through June 20, 2019 
 

The rules in Subchapter 6F concern telecommunications facilities for broadband providers. 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 06F .0101 

Application 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 06F .0102 

Procedures 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 06F .0103 

Terms and Conditions 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 06F .0104 

Termination 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 06F .0105 

The rules in Chapter 09 concern the division of intergovernmental relations including the balanced growth policy (.0400); 
and the state clearinghouse (.0500). 

Function 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 09 .0501 

Applicant Review 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 09 .0502 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules 
(.0200). 

Rule-Making and Administrative Hearing Procedures 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09A .0107 

Administrative Hearing Procedures 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09A .0207 
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The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0301 

Terms and Conditions of General Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0303 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0305 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0305 

Suspension: Revocation: Denial/School Dir. Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0503 

Certification of Qualified Assistant 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0504 

Terms and Conditions of Qualified Assistant 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0505 

The rules in Subchapter 9C concern the administration of criminal justice education and training standards including 
responsibilities of the criminal justice standards division (.0100); forms (.0200); certification of criminal justice officers 
(.0300); accreditation of criminal justice schools and training courses (.0400); minimum standards for accreditation of 
associate of applied science degree programs incorporating basic law enforcement training (.0500); and equipment and 
procedures (.0600). 

Agency Retention of Records of Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09C .0307 

The rules in Subchapter 9E relate to the law enforcement officers' in-service training program. 

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09E .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 9F cover concealed handgun training. 

Instructor Responsibilities 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09F .0105 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Retention of Records of Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0306 

Certification of Instructors 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0307 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0311 

Suspension: Revocation: Denial/School Dir. Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0407 

Certification of Qualified Assistant 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0417 

Terms and Conditions of Qualified Assistant Certification 
Adopt* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0418 
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SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are from the N. C. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission. These rules 
govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); minimum standards for 
employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); standards and 
accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate and awards 
programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-.1700); in-service 
training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Documentation of Educational Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0302 

Basic Law Enforcement Certificate 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 10B .1003 

Basic Detention Officer Professional Certificate 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 10B .1203 

Basic Reserve Deputy Sheriff Professional Certificate 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 10B .1403 

Basic Telecommunicator Certificate 
Repeal* 

 12 NCAC 10B .1603 

Minimum Training Requirements 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .2005 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200); 
junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances (.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or 
specialized services (.0700); solicitation of contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of 
newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented 
directional sign program (.1100); private property owners (.1200). 

Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .0221 

Location Of TODS 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .1103 

Composition of Signs 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .1105 

Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 02E .1106 

DIETETICS/NUTRITION, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 17 are from the Board of Dietetics/Nutrition. The rules cover the general provisions of licensure 
(.0100); weight control programs (.0200); dietetic/nutrition students or trainees (.0300); and unlicensed individuals and 
those who aid in the practice of dietetics/nutrition (.0400). 

Definitions and Acronyms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 17 .0101 

Applications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 17 .0104 

Examination for Licensure 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 17 .0105 

Provisional License  21 NCAC 17 .0107 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Issuance and Renewal of License 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 17 .0109 

Supervision 
Readopt with Changes* 

 21 NCAC 17 .0303 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Malherbe 

J. Randall May    J. Randolph Ward 

David Sutton    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

  
    PUBLISHED     

 

18 CPS 07200 5/8/2019 Dawit Kiros Gezae v. Victims Compensation Services Malherbe 

             

19 DHR 00402 5/13/2019 Sharon R Vassey v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Health 
Benefits Division of Medical 
Assistance (Medicaid) Overby 

             

18 DOJ 00627 5/29/2019 
Nickolas Cody 
Jacobs v. 

NC Criminal Justice Education and 
Training Standards Commission Ward 

18 DOJ 05618 5/8/2019 Gilbert Currie v. 
NC Sheriffs Education and Training 
Standards Commission Elkins 

18 DOJ 07495 5/2/2019 
DaQuante Cortez 
Jones v. 

NC Sheriffs Education and Training 
Standards Commission Bawtinhimer 

             

18 DST 

07191; 
07194; 
07337 5/7/2019 

Edgecombe 
County Board of 
Education; Lenoir 
County Board of 
Education; Harnett 
County Board of 
Education v. 

Retirement Systems Division 
Department of State Treasurer; 
Retirement Systems Divisions 
Department of State Treasurer; NC 
Department of State Treasurer, 
Retirement Systems Division Lassiter 

             

19 SOS 00923 5/14/2019 
Christopher 
Anthony Wilson v. 

NC Department of the Secretary of 
State Overby 

19 SOS 01312 5/22/2019 
Pablo Queriupa 
Tulavera v. Department of the Secretary of State Bawtinhimer 
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      UNPUBLISHED      

19 ABC 00098 5/22/2019 Olivia Jackson v. 
Alcoholic Beverage Control 
Commission Jacobs 

19 ABC 01307 5/20/2019 

NC Alcoholic 
Beverage Control 
Commission v. 

Earnest Lee Norris T/A Flavors 
Restaurant and Bar Lassiter 

             

19 CPS 01403 5/2/2019 Ernisha Ballard v. 
Office of Administrative Hearing NC 
Crime Victims Compensation Co Malherbe 

             

17 CSE 08094 5/6/2019 
Richard Matthew 
White v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement 
Section Malherbe 

17 CSE 08278 5/7/2019 Kelvin L Jamison v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement Ward 

18 CSE 06307 5/24/2019 Samuel Hinton Jr v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement Elkins 

18 CSE 06479 5/10/2019 Byron D Black v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement 
Section Sutton 

18 CSE 06572 5/8/2019 
Julio Galindo 
Hoentsch v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement Lassiter 

18 CSE 06626 5/21/2019 
Thomas W Hontz 
Jr. v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement Jacobs 

18 CSE 06696 5/28/2019 Johnny R Gordon v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement May 

18 CSE 06762 5/28/2019 William B Lewis v. 

NC Department of Health and 
Human Services, Division of Social 
Services, Child Support Enforcement Malherbe 

 

 


