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GENERAL
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a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:
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(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. Ifthe first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT  PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.
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State of North Tarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 26, 2018

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 65

SUSPENDING CERTAIN SCHOOL HEALTH ASSESSMENT, IMMUNIZATION, AND
REPORTING REQUIREMENTS DUE TO IMPACTS OF HURRICANE FLORENCE

WHEREAS, Hurricane Florence (**Hurricane™) made landfall off the coast of North Carolina
on or about 14 September 2018: and

WHEREAS, the Hurricanc has claimed the lives of thirty-six pcople in North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane has generated catastrophic flooding and tropical storm force winds
that have caused severe damage to public and private property and disrupted essential infrastructure:
and

WHEREAS, the impacts of the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency. as defined in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.3(1): and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 51. declaring a State of Emergency
on 7 September 2018, to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of residents and visitors located in
North Carolina (“*Declaration of State ol Emergency™): and

WHEREAS, Execcutive Order No. 51 invoked the Emergency Management Act, and
authorizes the Governor to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in the
response to, recovery from. and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b) authorizes and empowers the Governor to make
and amend orders, rules and regulations within the limits of the authority conferred upon the Governor
in the North Carolina Emergency Management Act: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 130A-152 — 130A-157 require cvery child present in the State
of North Carolina and every person attending a North Carolina public. private. or religious college or
university to be immunized against diphtheria, tetanus. whooping cough, poliomyelitis, red measles
(rubeola) and rubella: and

WHEREAS. 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A .0401 specifies the dosage and timing of these
immunizations: authorizes the State Health Director (“"SHD™) to suspend these immunization
requirements due to emergency conditions: and directs the SHD to give written notice to all local health
departments and other providers receiving vaccines from the North Carolina Department of Health and
Human Services (“DHHS™): and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-440(a) requires each child in North Carolina entering
kindergarten or a higher grade for the first time in public schools to receive a health assessment: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-440(a) requires health assessment results to be submitted
to school principals by the parent. guardian, or person standing in loco parentis, or the health care
provider if authorized, on DHHS and North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (“DPI™)
developed medical transmittal forms: and
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WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat § 130A-44((c) specifically requires the principal of each schoocl
to file a health assessment status report with DHHS within sixty (60) calendar days after the
commencement of the school year on a DHHS and DPI developed form: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-155 requires each child or adult attending a public,
private, or religious school (pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade) or a child care facility as defined
by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 110-86(3), to submit a certificate of immunization: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-155(c) specifically requires each school or child care
facility to file an annual immunization report with DHHS by November 1 of each year on a DHHS
prepared form; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-155.1 requires each person attending a public, private,
or religious college or university to submit a certificate of immunization; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-155.1(c) specifically requires each college or university
to file an immunization report with DHHS within sixty (60) calendar days after the commencement of
the school year on a DHHS prepared form; and

WHEREAS, many families, as a result of the Hurricane, continue to face barriers complying
with these immunization, health assessment, and reporting requirements; and

WHEREAS, on or about 24 September 2018, consistent with 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A
.0401(c), the SHD issued a written memorandum to North Carolina schools, child care facilities,
colleges, and universities temporarily suspending the immunization requirements set forth in 10A N.C.
Admin. Code 41 A .0401(a) and (b), which was signed into effect 21 September 2018 until 1 November
2018 (*the Memo™); and

WHEREAS, further action is necessary to support families facing barriers complying with
existing immunization, health assessment, and reporting requirements while also supporting public
health goals of ensuring children are appropriately immunized from harmful and contagious diseases.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the
laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

a. This Order ratifies the Memo and directs the SHD to suspend enforcement of the immunization
requirements set forth in 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41A .0401(a) and (b).

b. The enforcement of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-155(a) shall be suspended. The SHD will not to
count the time period from the start of the temporary suspension until its end towards the thirty
(30) calendar days following the child’'s first date of attendance, during which a parent,
guardian, or responsible person must submit a certificate of immunization to fulfill
requirements for public, private, or religious schools (pre-kindergarten through twelfith grade)
or child care facilities as defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 110-86(3)).

¢. This temporary suspension of enforcement of 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41 A .0401(a) and (b),
along with Section 1.b of this Executive Order, also applies to individuals attending North
Carolina public, private, or religious colleges and universities, as described in N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 130A-155.1(a).

Section 2.

DHHS shall suspend enforcement of the requirements, outlined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-
440(a), that each child in North Carolina entering kindergarten or a higher grade for the first time in
public schools must receive a health assessment.

Section 3.
DHHS shall suspend enforcement of the requirements, outlined in N.C. Gen. Stat § 130A-

441(c), that the principal of each school must file a health assessment status report with DHHS within
sixty (60) calendar days after the commencement of the school year.
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Section 4.

DHHS shall suspend enforcement of the requirements, outlined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-
155(c). that cach public, private. or religious school (pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade) and child
care facility, as defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 110-86(3). must file an annual immunization report with
DHHS by November 1 of each year.

Section 5.

DHHS shall suspend enforcement of the requirements, outlined in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-
155.1(c), that each college or university must file an annual immunization report with DHHS within
sixty (60) calendar days after the commencement of the schoo! year.

Scction 6.

Sections 1 and 2 of this Executive are effective 21 September 2018 and shall remain in effect
until I November 2018, or until amended. Sections 3 through 5 of this Executive Order are effective
21 September 2018 and shall remain in effect until 1 December 2018, or until amended. An Executive
Order rescinding the Declaration of State of Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive
Order in its entirety. The required health assessment status reports and annual immunization reports
must be submitted to DHHS at which point this Order is rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of

the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 26" day of September in the year

of our Lord two thousand and eighteen.

74, Lo

> Rdy Cooper #
Governor

ATTEST:

Rodney
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

September 28, 2018
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 66
NOTICE OF TERMINATION OF EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 61

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 51 on 7 September 2018
(“Executive Order 517), which declares a State of Emergency to provide for the health, safety, and
welfare of North Carolina residents and visitors affected by Hurricane Florence: and

WHEREAS, Exccutive Order 51 invokes the North Carolina Emergency Management Act
(the “Act™), and authorizes the Governor to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct
and aid in the response to, recovery from, and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Act, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 61 on 21
September 2018 (“Exccutive Order 617) to suspend the collection of ferry tolls for the Southport-Fort
Fisher. the Cedar Island-Ocracoke, and the Swan Quarter-Ocracoke routes, along with the passenger-
only Hatteras-Ocracoke route (collectively. “the Routes,” individually. “Route™): and

WHEREAS, the suspension of the ferry tolls (“Route Tolls™) was necessary to facilitate both
the safe, expeditious passage of residents and the transportation of disaster relief supplies to coastal
areas impacted by Hurricane Florence: and

WHEREAS, suspension of the Route Tolls is no longer necessary as Highway 12 on Ocracoke
Island has reopened and conditions no longer warrant the emergency transport of residents and disaster
rclicf supplics to these coastal areas.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the
laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.
Executive Order 61 is hereby rescinded.
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hercunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of

the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 28" day of September in the year
of our Lord two thousand and eighteen.

74, Lo

’ Rby Cooper ¢
Governor

ATTEST:

V77£P )]
Rodng¥ S. Maddox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 3,2018
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 67

SUSPENDING COLLECTION OF CERTAIN FEES FOR
NORTH CAROLINA VITAL RECORDS

WHEREAS. Hurricane Florence (“Hurricane™) made landfall off the coast of North Carolina on
or about 14 September 2018: and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane has placed North Carolina residents and visitors at substantial risk of
death or injury: and

WHEREAS. the Hurricane has inflicted significant damage on public and private property: and

WHEREAS., impacts from the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency. as defined in N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS. N.C. Const. art. 111 § 5(4) vests the Governor with the duty to take care that the laws
be faithfully executed: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 51 on 7 September 2018, which declares
a State of Emergency to provide for the health, safety. and welfare of residents and visitors located in North
Carolina (“Declaration of a State of Emergency™): and

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 51 invokes the Emergency Management Act, and authorizes the
Governor to exercise the powers and duties set forth therein to direct and aid in the response to, recovery
from. and mitigation against emergencies: and

WHEREAS. the President of the United States issued an emergency declaration, FEMA-3401-
EM, for the State of North Carolina on 10 September 2018, providing. in part, for Public Assistance-
Category B, including direct federal assistance to the State: and

WHEREAS. the President of the United States approved an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4393-DR., for the State of North Carolina on 14 September 2018: and

WHEREAS, the weather events associated with the Hurricane have resulted in the destruction
and/or loss of vital records as defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-2(10): and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 130A-93.1(a)(1)-(2) provides that the State Registrar of N.C. Vital
Records within the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (“State Registrar™) shall
collect and process fees when issuing replacement vital records: and

WHEREAS. 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41H.0701 establishes fees the State Registrar must collect
when issuing replacement vital records: and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 161-10(a)(8). (9) establishes fees local registers of deeds must
collect when issuing replacement vital records: and

WHEREAS, further action is necessary to facilitate the expeditious issuance of replacement vital
records, which would help support long term disaster recovery efforts: and
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WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b) authorizes and empowers the undersigned to make
and amend orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority conferred upon him in the North
Carolina Emergency Management Act: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(b)(4) authorizes the undersigned, with the concurrence
of the Council of State, to waive a provision of any regulation or ordinance of a State agency or a political
subdivision which restricts the immediate relief of human suffering: and

WHEREAS. the execution of the undersigned’s emergency powers under N.C. Gen Stat. § 166A-
19.30 is appropriate to ensure the public safety of residents and visitors located in North Carolina during
the State of Emergency: and

WHEREAS. in order to provide for the rapid and orderly rehabilitation of persons and restoration
of property, the undersigned. with the concurrence of the Council of State, has made the determination that
it is in the State’s interest to suspend the collection of certain replacement vital records fees.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws
of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

I hereby order the State Registrar to suspend enforcement of the collection of fees set forth in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 130A-93.1(a)(1)-(2) and 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41 H.0701 that are associated with processing
and issuing replacement vital records maintained pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 130A of the North
Carolina General Statutes.

Section 2.

N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 130A-93.1(a)(1)-(2), 161-10(a)(8), (9). 10A N.C. Admin. Code 41H.0701, and
any other related State or political subdivision regulation or ordinance are waived to the limited extent
necessary to permit local registers of deeds, in their discretion, to suspend the collection of fees associated
with processing and issuing replacement vital records maintained pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 130A of
the North Carolina General Statutes and Article 2 of Chapter 161 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Section 3.

Sections | through 2 of this Executive Order apply solely to fees for replacement vital records
maintained pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 130A of the North Carolina General Statutes and Article 2 of
Chapter 161 of the North Carolina General Statutes.

Section 4.

This Executive Order shall be (a) distributed to the news media and other organizations calculated
to bring its contents to the attention of the general public: (b) promptly filed with N.C. Vital Records within
the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services™ Division of Public Health, and published
on N.C. Vital Records® website and at the N.C. Vital Records™ office: and (¢) distributed to others as
necessary to ensure proper implementation of this Executive Order.

Section 5.

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded or
superseded by another applicable Executive Order. An Executive Order rescinding the Declaration of a
State of Emergency will automatically rescind this Executive Order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 3" day of October in the year of our Lord
two thousand and eighteen.

78 Lo

Y Rby Cooper &
Governor

ATTEST:

Z bpre F Vlanata 08

¢ Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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Aarolina

State of

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 8, 2018
Execcutive Order No. 68
RECONSTITUTING THE CHILD CARE COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Child Care Commission is an important exccutive branch entity that has
substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS. on August 31, 2018, a three-judge panel issued an order declaring that N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 143B-168.4, which establishes the structure for the Child Care Commission, is
unconstitutional and permanently enjoined (the “Order™); and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-168.4 and reconstitute the Child Care Commission
until it reconvenes in session beginning on November 27, 2018. at the earliest: and

WHEREAS. action is required to ensure the Child Care Commission’s continuity and
ability to perform it duties with respect to licensing child care facilities and enforcing licensing
standards, among other responsibilities: and

WHEREAS, Article III, Section 5(10) of the North Carolina Constitution establishes that
the Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of [executive] offices and agencies and in
the allocation of those functions, powers. and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration™; and

WHEREAS, this Exccutive Order reconstitutes the Child Care Commission in order to
continue its important work: and

WHEREAS, it is the undersigned’s intention herein to remedy only the constitutional
defects identified by the three-judge panel in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the
remainder of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-168.4 as cnacted by the General Assembly: and

WHEREAS. the changes set forth in this Executive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are “void and permanently enjoined.™

NOW. THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor under the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Reconstituting the Child Care Commission

The Child Care Commission (“Reconstituted Commission™) is hereby reconstituted in
compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The Reconstituted
Commission shall be administered within the North Carolina Department of Heaith and Human
Services.
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Section 2. Appointment and Removal

The Reconstituted Commission shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future Executive
Order, seventeen (17) members: nine (9) appointed by the Governor and eight (8) appointed by
the General Assembly, none of whom may be employees of the State. Fifteen (15) members of the
Reconstituted Commission are consistent with the composition of the former Child Care
Commission:

a. Nine (92) of the members shall be appointed by the Governor, to include:

i. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a member of the public, who: (1) is not
employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a
child care facility; and (2) who is the parent of a child receiving child care
services.

ii. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a member of the public, who: (1) is not
employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a
child care facility; and (2) who is a pediatrician currently licensed to
practice in North Carolina.

iii. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a child care provider affiliated with a for-
profit family child care home.

iv. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a child care provider affiliated with a
nonprofit child care facility.

V. For a term ending June 30, 2019, an early childhood education specialist.

vi. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a member of the public, who: (1) is not

employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a
child care facility; and (2) who is the parent of a child receiving child care
services.

vii. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a member of the public, who is not
employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a
child care facility.

viii. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a child care provider affiliated with a for
profit child care center.

ix. For a term ending June 30, 2020, an early childhood education specialist.
b. Four (4) of the members shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, to include:

i For a term ending June 30, 2019, a member of the public, who: (1) is not
employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a child
care facility; and (2) who is the parent of a child receiving child care services.

ii. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a member of the public, who is not employed
in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a child care
facility.

iii. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a child care provider affiliated with a for-

profit child care facility.
iv. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a child care provider affiliated with a nonprofit
child care facility.
c. Four (4) of the members shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, to include:

i. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a child care provider affiliated with a for profit
child care facility.

ii. For a term ending June 30, 2019, a child care provider affiliated with a nonprofit
child care facility.
iii. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a member of the public, who is not employed
in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a child care
facility.
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iv. For a term ending June 30, 2020, a member of the public, who: (1) is not
employed in, or providing, child care and who has no financial interest in a child
care facility; and (2) who is the parent of a child receiving child care services.

d. In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which
subsection of this Executive Order the person is appointed.

e. Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions
identified in Section 2.b and 2.c of this Executive Order, the Governor, pursuant to
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12, shall appoint, from among the previously existing members
of the Child Care Commission appointed by the General Assembly, eight (8) interim
members to those positions to ensure the Reconstituted Commission’s continuity and
ability to perform its duties with respect to licensing child care facilities and enforcing
licensing standards, among other responsibilities.

f. Members may be removed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-13(d).

Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, Qualifications, and Other Requirements

a. The terms of the members of the Reconstituted Commission shall be effective and
control until such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision of law to
replace N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-168.4.

b. Members appointed by the Governor pursuant to Section 2.b and Section 2.c of this
Executive Order shall serve for the balance of the terms identified therein.

c. Following the expiration of the interim terms set forth in Section 3.b of this Executive
Order, members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject to two-year term
lengths.

d. After the initial appointees’ terms have expired, all members shall be appointed to serve
two-year terms.

e. Notwithstanding Section 2.e and Section 3.b of this Executive Order, appointments by
the General Assembly shall be made in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121.

f. Any appointment to fill a vacancy on the Reconstituted Commission created by the
resignation, dismissal, death, or disability of a member shall be for the balance of the
unexpired term.

g. A vacancy occurring during a term of office is filled:
i. By the Governor, if the Governor made the initial appointment;

ii. By the General Assembly, if the General Assembly made the initial appointment in
accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-122.

h. Atits first meeting after this Executive Order, the Reconstituted Commission members
shall elect a chair to serve a term ending June 30, 2020. The Chair shall be elected for
two-year terms thereafter. The same member may serve as chair for two consecutive
terms.

i. Reconstituted Commission members may be reappointed and may succeed themselves
for a maximum of four consecutive terms.

j. Beginning in 2019, the Reconstituted Commission shall meet quarterly, and at other
times at the call of the chair or upon written request of at least six (6) members.

k. The members of the Reconstituted Commission shall receive per diem and necessary
travel and subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. §
138-5.

I. A majority of the Reconstituted Commission shall constitute a quorum for the
transaction of business.

33:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2018
895




EXECUTIVE ORDERS

m. All clerical and other services required by the Reconstituted Commission shall be
supplied by the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Ilealth and IHuman
Services.

Section 4. Powers and Duties

The Reconstituted Commission shall continue to have the same functions, powers, duties,
assets, liabilities, and allocation of resources the Child Care Commission possessed prior to the
entry of the Order.

Section S. Miscellaneous
a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor, or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the Child Care
Commission.

IN WITNESS WHEREOYF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Scal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this the 8" day of October, in
the year of our Lord two thousand cighteen.

74 Lo

RoS/ Cooper
Governor

ATTEST:

/,@/m{,é’ U tadal¥

Flaine IF. Marshall ~
Secretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER

GOVERNOR
October 8, 2018

Executive Order No. 69

RECONSTITUTING THE CLEAN WATER MANAGEMENT TRUST FUND
BOARD OF TRUSTEES

WHEREAS, the Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees is critical to the
operation of the Clean Water Management Trust Fund. an important executive branch entity that
has substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, on August 31, 2018, a three-judge panel issued an order declaring that N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.240. which establishes the Clean Water Management ‘T'rust Fund Board of
Trustees (sometimes referred to as “the Board of Irustees™). is unconstitutional and permanently
enjoined (the “Order™): and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.240 and reconstitute the Board of Trustees
until it reconvenes in session beginning on November 27, 2018, at the earliest: and

WHEREAS. action is required to ensure the Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board
of Trustees” continuity and ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds and developing
grant critleria to enhance and preserve water quality. among other responsibilities: and

WHEREAS. Article 111, Section 5(10) of the North Carolina Constitution establishes that
the Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of |executive| offices and agencies and in
the allocation of those functions. powers. and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration™; and

WHEREAS, this Executive Order reconstitutes the Clean Water Management Trust Fund
Board of Trustees to enable the Clean Water Management Trust Fund to continue its important
work: and

WHEREAS, it is the undersigned’s intention herein to remedy only the constitutional
defects identified by the three-judge panel in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the

remainder of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.240 as enacted by the General Assembly: and

WHEREAS, the changes set forth in this Exccutive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are “void and permanently enjoined.™

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me by the Constitution and the laws of
the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Reconstituting the Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees

The Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees (“the Reconstituted Board™)
is hereby reconstituted in compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The
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Reconstituted Board shall be administratively located within the North Carolina Department of
Natural and Cultural Resources.

Section 2. Appointment and Removal

a. The Reconstituted Board shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future Executive
Order, nine (9) members: five (5) appointed by the Governor and four (4) by the General
Assembly. Seven (7) appointed members of the Reconstituted Board are consistent with
the composition of the former Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees:

i. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Board to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that precede by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

ii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Board to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that follow by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

iii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Board to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

iv. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Board to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

v. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Board to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

vi. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Board upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate to a
term that expires on July 1 of years that precede by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

vii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Board upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate to a
term that expires on July 1 of years that follow by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

viii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Board upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that precede by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

ix. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Board upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives to
a term that expires on July 1 of years that follow by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

b. In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which subsection
of this Executive Order the person is appointed.

c. Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions
identified in Section 2.a of this Executive Order. the Governor, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 147-12, shall appoint, from among the previously existing members of the Clean Water
Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees appointed by the General Assembly, four (4)
interim members to those positions to ensure the Reconstituted Board’s continuity and
ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds and developing grant criteria to
enhance and preserve water quality, among other duties and responsibilities.

d. Members may be removed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-16.
Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, Qualifications, and Other Requirements
a. The terms of Reconstituted Board members set forth below shall be effective and control
until such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision of law to replace

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.240.

b. Members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(vi)-(ix) of this Executive Order shall serve for
the following, interim terms:
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i.  The interim member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(vi) of
this Executive Order shall serve from the time of appointment until July 1, 2021.

ii.  The interim member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(vii) of
this Executive Order shall serve from the time of appointment until July 1, 2020.

iii. The interim member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(viii) of
this Executive Order shall serve from the time of appointment until July 1, 2021.

iv. The interim member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(ix) of
this Executive Order shall serve from the time of appointment until July 1, 2020.

c. Following the expiration of the interim terms set forth in Section 3.b of this Executive
Order, members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject to three (3) year term
lengths.

d. The members identified in Section 2.a(i)-(v) of this Executive Order shall be appointed for
three (3) year terms.

e. No member of the Reconstituted Board shall serve more than two (2) consecutive three-
year terms or a total of ten (10) years.

f. An appointment to fill any vacancy on the Reconstituted Board created by the resignation,
removal, disability, or death of a member shall be for the balance of the unexpired term.
Vacancies in gubernatorial appointments shall be filled by the Governor. Vacancies in
appointments made by the General Assembly shall be filled as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 120-122.

g. The office of Trustee is declared to be an office that may be held concurrently with any
other executive or appointive office. under the authority of Article VI, Section 9, of the
North Carolina Constitution. When appointing members of the Reconstituted Board, the
Governor, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and the Speaker of the House of
Representatives shall give consideration to adequate representation from the various
regions of the State and shall give consideration to the appointment of members who are
knowledgeable in any of the following areas: .

i. Acquisition and management of natural areas.
ii. Conservation and restoration of water quality.
iii. Wildlife and fisheries habitats and resources.
iv. Environmental management.

v. Historic preservation.

h. The Governor shall appoint one (1) member to serve as Chair of the Reconstituted Board.

i. The Reconstituted Board shall meet at least twice each year and may hold special meetings
at the call of the Chair or a majority of the members.

j- A majority of the membership of the Reconstituted Board constitutes a quorum for the
transaction of business.

k. Each member of the Reconstituted Board shall receive per diem and necessary travel and
subsistence expenses in accordance with the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 120-3.1, 138~
5, and 138-6, as applicable. Per diem, subsistence, and travel expenses of members shall
be paid from the Clean Water Management Trust Fund.

1. All decisions heretofore made by the Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of
Trustees prior to the entry of the Order shall remain in full force and effect unless and until
repealed or suspended by action of the Reconstituted Board.

Section 4. Powers and Duties
The Reconstituted Board shall continue to have the same functions, powers, duties, assets,

liabilities, and allocation of resources the Clean Water Management Trust Fund Board of Trustees
possessed prior to the entry of the Order.
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Section 5. Miscellaneous

a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor, or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the Clean
Water Management Fund Trust Fund Board of Trustees.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this the 8" day of October. in
the year of our Lord two thousand eighteen.

Roy Cooper ¢
Governor

ATTEST:

Y.

Elaine FF. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of Northh Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 8, 2018
Executive Order No. 70

RECONSTITUTING THE NORTH CAROLINA PARKS AND
RECREATION AUTHORITY

WHEREAS, the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority is critical to the operation
of the Parks and Recreation Authority Trust Fund. an important exccutive branch entity that has
substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina;: and

WHEREAS, on August 31, 2018, a three-judge panel issued an order declaring that N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.202. which establishes the structure for the North Carolina Parks and
Recreation Authority, is unconstitutional and permanently enjoined (the “Order™): and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1431-135.202 and reconstitute the North Carolina Parks
and Recreation Authority until it reconvenes in session beginning on November 27, 2018, at the
earliest; and

WHEREAS. action is required to ensure the North Carolina Parks and Recreation
Authority’s continuity and ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds from the Park
and Recreation Authority Trust Fund to support the acquisition of land for state and local parks
and the construction and renovation of parks and recreational projects and facilities benefitting the
public, among other duties and responsibilities: and

WHEREAS. Article I11., Section 3(10) of the North Carolina Constitution cstablishes that
the Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of [executive] offices and agencies and in
the allocation of those functions, powers, and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration™; and

WHEREAS. this Executive Order reconstitutes the North Carolina Parks and Recreation
Authority in order to continue its important work: and

WHEREAS. it is the undersigned’s intention herein to remedy only the constitutional
defects identified by the three-judge pancl in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the
remainder of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.202 as enacted by the General Assembly; and

WHEREAS. the changes set forth in this Executive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are “void and permanently enjoined.”

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor under the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina, I'T IS ORDERED:
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Section 1. Reconstituting the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority

The North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority (“‘the Reconstituted Authority”) is
hereby reconstituted in compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The
Reconstituted Authority shall be administered by the North Carolina Department of Natural and
Cultural Resources (sometimes referred to as “DNCR™).

Section 2. Appointment and Removal

a. The Reconstituted Authority shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future Executive
Order, nine (9) members: five (5) appointed by the Governor and four (4) appointed by the
General Assembly. Seven (7) members of the Reconstituted Authority are consistent with
the composition of the former North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority:

i. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Authority,
with a term expiring on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

ii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Authority,
with a term expiring on July 1 of years that follow by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

iii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Authority,
with a term expiring on July 1 of years that precede by one year those years that are
evenly divisible by three (3).

iv. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Authority,
with a term expiring on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

v. One (1) member shall be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Authority,
with a term expiring on July 1 of years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

vi. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Authority upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of
Representatives, as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121, with a term expiring on
July 1 of years that follow by one (1) year those years that are evenly divisible by
three (3).

vii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Authority upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of
Representatives, as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121, with a term expiring on
July 1 of years that precede by one (1) year those years that are evenly divisible by
three (3).

viii. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Authority upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate,
as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121, with a term expiring on July 1 of years
that follow by one (1) year those years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

ix. One (1) member shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Authority upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate,
as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121, with a term expiring on July 1 of years
that precede by one (1) year those years that are evenly divisible by three (3).

b. In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which subsection
of this Executive Order the person is appointed.

c. Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions
identified in Section 2.a(vi) - (ix) of this Executive Order, the Governor, pursuant to N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 147-12, shall appoint, from the previously existing members of the North
Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority appointed by the General Assembly, four (4)
interim members to those positions to ensure the Reconstituted Authority’s continuity and
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ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds from the Park and Recreation
Authority Trust Fund to support the acquisition of land for state and local parks and the
construction and renovation of parks and recreational projects and facilities benefitting the
public, among other responsibilities.

d. Any member of the Reconstituted Authority may be removed by the relevant appointing
authority for misfeasance, malfeasance or nonfeasance.

Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, Qualifications, and Other Requirements

a. The terms of members of the Reconstituted Authority shall be effective and control until
such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision of law to replace N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 143B-135.202.

b. Members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(vi) - (ix) and Section 2.c of this Executive
Order shall serve for the following, interim terms:

i The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(vi) shall serve
from the time of appointment until July 1, 2020.

ii. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(vii) shall serve
from the time of appointment until July 1, 2021.

iii. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(viii) shall serve

from the time of appointment until July 1, 2020.
iv. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(ix) shall serve
from the time of appointment until July 1, 2021.

¢. Following the expiration of the interim terms identified in Section 3.b of this Executive
Order, members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject to three-year term
lengths.

d. Notwithstanding Section 3.b of this executive order, members shall be appointed for
staggered, three-year terms.

e. After serving two (2) consecutive three-year terms, a member is not eligible for
appointment to the Reconstituted Authority for at least one (1) year after the expiration
date of that member’s most recent term. Upon the expiration of a three-year term, a member
may continue to serve until a successor is appointed and duly qualified as provided by N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 128-7.

f. A vacancy on the Reconstituted Authority shall be filled by the appointing authority
responsible for making the appointment to that position as provided in Section 2.a, Section
2.b, and Section 3.b of this Executive Order. An appointment to fill a vacancy shall be for
the unexpired balance of the term.

g. The members of the Reconstituted Authority shall include persons who are knowledgeable
about park and recreation issues in North Carolina or with expertise in finance.

h. The Governor shall appoint one (1) member of the Reconstituted Authority to serve as
Chair.

i. The members of the Reconstituted Authority shall receive per diem and necessary travel
and subsistence expenses according to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-5.

j.- The Reconstituted Authority shall meet at least quarterly .at a time and place designated by
the Chair.

k. A majority of the Reconstituted Authority shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of
business.

1. All clerical and other services required by the Reconstituted Authority shall be provided
by the DNCR Secretary.
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Secction 4. Powers and Duties

The Reconstituted Authority shall continue to have the same functions, powers. duties.
assets, liabilities, and allocation of resources the North Carolina Parks and Recreation Authority
possessed prior to the entry of the Order.

Section 5. Miscellaneous
a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor. or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the North
Carolina Parks and Reccrcation Authority.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, 1 have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this the 8" day of October, in
the year of our Lord two thousand eighteen.

Ry Cooper &
Governor

ATTEST:

-laine I'. Marshal
Seccretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 8, 2018
Executive Order No. 71
RECONSTITUTING THE PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD

WHEREAS. the Private Protective Services Board is an important executive branch entity
that has substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina:
and

WHEREAS. on August 31. 2018, a three-judge panel issued an order declaring that N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 74C-4. which establishes the structure for the Private Protective Services Board. is
unconstitutional and permanently enjoined (the “Order™): and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-4 and reconstitute the Private Protective Services
Board until it reconvenes in session beginning on November 27, 2018, at the earliest: and

WHEREAS, action is required to ensure the Private Protective Services Board’s continuity
and ability to administer licensing and set educational and training requirements for persons. firms,
associations, and corporations engaged in a private protective services profession within this State.
among other responsibilities: and

WHEREAS. Article III. Section 5(10) of the North Carolina Constitution establishes that
the Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of [executive] offices and agencies and in
the allocation of those functions. powers, and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration™: and

WHEREAS., this Executive Order reconstitutes the Private Protective Services Board in
order to continue its important work: and

WHEREAS, it is the undersigned’s intention hercin to remedy only the constitutional
defects identified by the three-judge panel in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the

remainder of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-4 as enacted by the General Assembly: and

WHEREAS, the changes set forth in this Executive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are ““void and permanently enjoined.™

NOW, THEREFORE, by thc authority vested in me as Governor under the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Reconstituting the Private Protective Services Board

The Private Protective Services Board (“Reconstituted Board™) is hereby reconstituted in
compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The Reconstituted Board
shall be administered within the North Carolina Department of Public Safety (“DPS™).
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Section 2. Membership

a. The Reconstituted Board shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future Executive
Order, fourteen (14) members: seven (7) appointed by the Governor and six (6)
appointed by the General Assembly, along with the Secretary of DPS (“Secretary™).
Nine (9) members of the Reconstituted Board along with the Secretary are consistent
with the composition of the former Private Protective Services Board:

i. The Secretary or the Secretary's designated representative;
ii. Seven (7) persons appointed by the Governor;

iii. Three (3) persons appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and

iv. Three (3) persons appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

b. One (1) of those members appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, three (3) of the members
appointed by the Governor, and all three (3) members appointed by the General
Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives
shall be licensees under this Chapter; all other appointees may not be licensees of the
Reconstituted Board at the time of appointment or while serving as members.

c. In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which
subsection of this Executive Order the person is appointed.

d. Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions
identified in Section 2.a(iii) and (iv) of this Executive Order, the Governor, pursuant to
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12, shall appoint, from among the previously existing members
of the Private Protective Services Board appointed by the General Assembly, six (6)
interim members to those positions to ensure the Reconstituted Board’s continuity and
ability to perform its mission of administering the licensing and setting educational and
training requirements for persons, firms. associations, and corporations engaged in a
private protective services profession within this State, among other responsibilities.

e. All appointments by the General Assembly shall be subject to the provisions of N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 120-121, and vacancies in the positions filled by those appointments shall
be filled pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-122.

f. A Reconstituted Board member may be removed at the pleasure of the authority making
the original appointment or by the Reconstituted Board for misconduct, incompetence,
or neglect of duty.

Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, and Other Requirements

a. The terms of the Reconstituted Board members set forth below shall be effective and
control until such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision of law to
replace N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-4.

b. Members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(iii) and (iv) of this Executive Order shall,
upon interim appointment by the Governor, serve for the following, interim terms:

i One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2020.
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ii. One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

iii. One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2020.

iv. One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

V. One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

vi. One (1) member who would otherwise be appointed by the General Assembly
upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

c. Following the expiration of the interim terms set forth in Section 3.b of this Executive
Order, members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject to three (3) year
term lengths.

d. Except as described in Sections 3.b and 3.c of this Executive Order, all persons
appointed shall serve three-year terms. With the exception of the Secretary or the
Secretary’s designated representative, no person shall serve more than eight (8)
consecutive years on the Reconstituted Board. Reconstituted Board members may
continue to serve until their successors have been appointed.

e. Vacancies on the Reconstituted Board occurring for any reason shall be filled by the
authority making the original appointment of the person causing the vacancy.

f. Each member of the Reconstituted Board, before assuming the duties of office, shall
take an oath for the faithful performance of his or her duties.

g. Members of the Reconstituted Board who are State officers or employees shall receive
no per diem compensation for serving on the Reconstituted Board, but shall be
reimbursed for their expenses in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-6. Members of
the Reconstituted Board who are full-time salaried public officers or employees other
than State officers or employees shall receive no per diem compensation for serving on
the Reconstituted Board, but shall be reimbursed for their expenses in accordance with
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-6 in the same manner as State officers or employees. All other
Reconstituted Board members shall receive per diem compensation and reimbursement
in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 93B-5.

h. The Reconstituted Board shall elect a chair, vice-chair, and other officers and
committee chairs from among its members as the Reconstituted Board deems necessary
and desirable at the first meeting occurring after this Executive Order, with each
individual so elected to serve a term ending upon the next elections for chair, vice-
chair, and other officers and committee chairs during the first meeting after July 1,
2019. Beginning at the first meeting after July 1, 2019, and unless the General
Assembly reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of
the Reconstituted Board’s membership, the chair and vice-chair shall be elected by the
members of the Reconstituted Board for a term of one year. Chairs, vice-chairs, and
other officers and committee chairs shall be eligible for reelection.

i. The Reconstituted Board shall meet at the call of the chair or a majority of the members
of the Reconstituted Board at such time, date, and location as may be decided upon by
a majority of the Reconstituted Board.
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j.  All decisions heretofore made by the Private Protective Services Board, established
pursuant to Chapter 74B or N.C. Gen. Stat. § 74C-4, shall remain in full force and effect
unless and until repealed or suspended by action of the Reconstituted Board.

k. The Reconstituted Board shall pay the appropriate state agency for the usc of physical
facilities and services provided to it by the state.

Secction 4. Powers and Dutics

The Reconstituted Board shall continue to have the same functions, powers, duties. assets,
liabilities, and allocation of resources the Private Protective Services Board possessed prior to the
entry of the Order.

Section 5. Miscellaneous
a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor, or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the Private
Protective Services Board.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Ralcigh, this the 8" day of October. in
the year of our Lord two thousand eighteen.

Rdy Cooper &
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of Northh Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 8, 2018
Executive Order No. 72
RECONSTITUTING THE RURAL INFRASTRUCTURE AUTHORITY

WHEREAS, the Rural Infrastructure Authority is an important exccutive branch entity that
has substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, on August 31, 2018, a three-judge panel issued an order declaring that N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 143B-472.128, which establishes the Rural Infrastructure Authority. is unconstitutional and
permanently enjoined (the “Order™): and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.128 and reconstitute the Rural Infrastructure
Authority until it reconvenes in special session beginning on November 27, 2018, at the earliest: and

WHEREAS, action is required to ensure the Rural Infrastructure Authority’s continuity and
ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds and developing grant criteria to enhance rural
infrastructure, among other responsibilities: and

WHEREAS. Article 111, Section 5(10) of the North Carolina Constitution establishes that the
Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of [executive] offices and agencies and in the
allocation of those functions. powers. and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration™: and

WHEREAS, this Executive Order reconstitutes the Rural Infrastructure Authority in order to
continue its important work: and

WHEREAS, it is the undersigned’s intention herein to remedy only the constitutional defects
identified by the three-judge panel in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the remainder of
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.128 as enacted by the General Assembly: and

WHEREAS, the changes set forth in this Executive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are “void and permanently enjoined.™

NOW. THEREFORE!. by the authority vested in me as Governor under the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, I'T IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Reconstituting the Rural Infrastructure Authority

The Rural Infrastructure Authority (“the Reconstituted Authority™) is hereby reconstituted in
compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The Reconstituted Authority shall
be administered within the North Carolina Department of Commerce (“Commerce™).
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Section 2. Appointment and Removal

a. The Reconstituted Authority shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future Executive Order,
sixteen (16) members: nine (9) appointed by the Governor, and six (6) appointed by the General
Assembly, along with the Secretary of Commerce (“*Secretary’), who shall serve as a nonvoting ex
officio member of the Reconstituted Authority, except in the case of a tie. Eleven (11) appointed
members and one (1) ex officio member of the Reconstituted Authority are consistent with the
composition of the former Rural Infrastructure Authority:

i The Secretary, who shall serve as a nonvoting ex officio member, except in the case of
a tie.

ii. Three (3) members appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of
the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and they shall each represent a Tier 1 or Tier
2 county.

iii. Three (3) members appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of
the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and they shall each represent a Tier 1 or
Tier 2 county.

iv. Nine (9) members appointed by the Governor, and they shall cach represent a Tier | or
Tier 2 county.

b. In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which subsection of this
Executive Order the person is appointed.

c. Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions identified in
Section 2.a(ii)-(iii) of this Executive Order, the Governor, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 147-12,
shall appoint, from among the previously existing members of the Rural Infrastructure Authority
appointed by the General Assembly, six (6) interim members to those positions to ensure the
Reconstituted Authority’s continuity and ability to perform its mission of allocating grant funds
and developing grant criteria to enhance rural infrastructure, among other duties and
responsibilities.

d. Members may be removed in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-13. A member who misses
three (3) consecutive meetings of the Reconstituted Authority may be removed for nonfeasance.

Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, Qualifications, and Other Requirements

a. The terms of the members of the Reconstituted Authority shall be effective and control until
such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision of law to replace N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 143B-472.128.

b. Members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(ii)-(iii) and Section 2.c of this Executive Order
shall serve the following, interim terms:

i Two (2) members appointed to fill the positions identified in Section 2.a(ii)
and one (1) member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(iii)
shall serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2020.

ii. One (1) member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(ii) and
two members appointed to fill the positions identified in Section 2.a(iii) shall
serve from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

c. Following the expiration of the interim terms set forth in Section 3.b of this Executive Order,
members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject to three-year term lengths.

d. Terms. — Members shall serve for a term of three (3) years. No member of the Reconstituted
Authority shall serve for more than two (2) consecutive terms, but a person who has been an
appointed member for two (2) consecutive terms may be reappointed after not serving as a
member of the Reconstituted Authority for a period of at least three (3) years. An initial term
that was two (2) years or less shall not be counted in determining the limitation on consecutive
terms.
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e. Officers. — The Reconstituted Authority members shall select from among the membership of
the Reconstituted Authority a person to serve as chair and vice-chair. The chair and vice-chair
shall each serve for a term of one (1) year, but may be re-elected to serve successive terms.

f. Compensation. — Reconstituted Authority members shall receive no salary as a result of
serving on the Reconstituted Authority, but are entitled to per diem and allowances in
accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-5 and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-6, as appropriate.

g. Meetings. — The Secretary shall convene the first meeting of the Reconstituted Authority within
thirty (30) days after the appointment of the Reconstituted Authority members under
subsection (b) of this section. Meetings shall be held as necessary as determined by the
Reconstituted Authority.

h. Quorum. — A majority of the members of the Reconstituted Authority constitutes a quorum for
the transaction of business. A vacancy in the membership of the Reconstituted Authority does
not impair the right of the quorum to exercise all rights and to perform all duties of the
Reconstituted Authority.

i. Vacancies. — A vacancy on the Reconstituted Authority shall be filled in the same manner in
which the original appointment was made, and the term of the member filling the vacancy shall
be for the balance of the unexpired term. Vacancies in appointments made by the General
Assembly shall be filled in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-122.

j.- Removal. — Members may be removed in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-13. A
member who misses three consecutive meetings of the Reconstituted Authority may be
removed for nonfeasance.

Section 4. Powers and Duties
The Reconstituted Authority has the following powers and duties:

a. To receive and review applications from local government units for grants or loans authorized
under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127.

b. To award grants or loans as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127. In awarding grants
or loans under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127(a), priority shall be given to local government
units of the counties that have one of the 80 highest rankings under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-
437.08 (“*Development tier designation™).

c. To formulate policies and priorities for grant and loan making under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-
472.127, which shall include, among other things, providing for (i) at least four grant
application cycles during each fiscal year, (ii) the timely distribution of grants and loans so as
to allow local government units to undertake infrastructure and other projects authorized under
this Part without undue delay, and (iii) the use of federal funds first instead of General Fund
appropriations where the project meets federal requirements or guidelines.

d. To establish a threshold amount for emergency grants and loans that may be awarded by the
Assistant Secretary of Commerce without the prior approval of the Reconstituted Authority.
Any emergency grants or loans awarded by the Assistant Secretary of Commerce pursuant to
this subdivision shall meet the requirements of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127(a) or (b), and
shall comply with policies and procedures adopted by the Reconstituted Authority. The
Assistant Secretary of Commerce shall, as soon as practicable, inform the Reconstituted
Authority of any emergency grants or loans made under this subdivision, including the name
of the local government unit to which the grant or loan was made, the amount of the grant or
loan, and the project for which the grant or loan was requested.

e. To determine ways in which the Rural Economic Development Division can aid local
government units in meeting the costs for preliminary project planning needed for making an
application for a grant or loan under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127.

f. To determine ways in which the Rural Economic Development Division can effectively
disseminate information to local government units about the availability of grants or loans
under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-472.127, the application and review process, and any other
information that may be deemed useful to local government units in obtaining grants or loans.
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g. To review from time to time the effectiveness of the grant or loan programs under N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 143B-472.127 and to determine ways in which the programs may be improved to better
serve local government units.

h. No later than September |1 of each year, to submit a report to the Senate Appropriations

Committee on Natural and Economic Resources. the House Appropriations Subcommittee on
Natural and Economic Resources, and the Fiscal Research Division that details all of the

following:
i. Total number of awards made in the previous fiscal year.
ii. Geographic display of awards made.
iii. Total number of jobs created in the previous fiscal year.

iv. Recommended policy changes that would benefit economic development in
rural arcas of the State.

Section 5. Miscellaneous
a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Execcutive Order of the Governor. or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the Rural
Infrastructure Authority membership.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of
the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this the 8" day of October, in the year
of our Lord two thousand eighteen.

7% Lo

= R()y Cooper 7
Governor

ATTEST:

i d M auaka 20

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of North Carolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 8, 2018
Executive Order No. 73
RECONSTITUTING THE STATE BUILDING COMMISSION

WHEREAS. the State Building Commission is an important executive branch entity that
has substantial work in progress that is important to the people of the State of North Carolina: and

WHEREAS. on August 31, 2018. a three-judge pancl issued an order declaring that N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 143-135.25. which establishes the structure for the State Building Commission, is
unconstitutional and permanently cnjoined (the “Order™): and

WHEREAS. the General Assembly has indicated that it will not take action to remedy the
constitutional defects in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143-135.25 and reconstitute the State Building
Commission until it reconvenes in session beginning on November 27, 2018, at the carliest: and

WHEREAS. action is required to ensure the State Building Commission’s continuity and
ability to perform its mission of developing procedures to direct and guide the State’s capital
facilitics development and management program. among other duties and responsibilities: and

WHEREAS. Article 111, Section 5(10) of the North Carolina Constitution establishes that
the Governor “may make such changes in the allocation of [executive] offices and agencies and in
the allocation of those functions. powers. and duties as he considers necessary for efficient
administration”; and

WHEREAS, this Executive Order reconstitutes the State Building Commission in order
to continue its important work: and

WHEREAS, it is the undersigned’s intention herein to remedy only the constitutional
defects identified by the three-judge panel in the Order and to otherwise continue in place the
remainder of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143-135.25 as enacted by the General Assembly: and

WHEREAS, the changes set forth in this Executive Order do not affect existing law as the
laws in question are “void and permanently enjoined.™

NOW, THEREFORE. by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina. IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1. Reconstituting the State Building Commission

The State Building Commission (““the Reconstituted Commission™) is hereby reconstituted
in compliance with the constitutional commands set forth in the Order. The Reconstituted
Commission shall be established within the North Carolina Department of Administration.
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Section 2. Appointment and Removal

a.

The Reconstituted Commission shall have, unless amended or rescinded by future
Executive Order, nine (9) members: five (5) appointed by the Governor and four (4)
appointed by the General Assembly. Seven (7) appointed members of the Reconstituted
Commission are consistent with the composition of the former State Building Commission:

i A licensed architect whose primary practice is or was in the design of buildings,
chosen from among not more than three (3) persons nominated by the North
Carolina Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, shall be appointed by the
Governor to the Reconstituted Commission.

ii. A registered engineer whose primary practice is or was in the design of engineering
systems for buildings, chosen from among not more than three (3) persons
nominated by the Consulting Engineers Council and the Professional Engineers of
North Carolina, shall be appointed by the General Assembly to the Reconstituted
Commission upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate
in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121.

iii. A licensed building contractor whose primary business is or was in the construction
of buildings, or an employee of a company holding a general contractor's license,
chosen from among not more than three (3) persons nominated by the Carolinas
AGC (Associated General Contractors), shall be appointed by the General
Assembly to the Reconstituted Commission upon the recommendation of the
Speaker of the House of Representatives in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-
12L.

iv. A licensed electrical contractor whose primary business is or was in the installation
of electrical systems for buildings, chosen from among not more than three (3)
persons nominated by the North Carolina Association of Electrical Contractors, and
the Carolinas Electrical Contractors’' Association, shall be appointed by the
Governor to the Reconstituted Commission.

V. A public member shall be appointed by the Governor.

vi. A licensed mechanical contractor whose primary business is or was in the
installation of mechanical systems for buildings, chosen from among not more than
three (3) persons nominated by the North Carolina Association of Plumbing,
Heating, Cooling Contractors, shall be appointed by the Governor.

vii. An employee of the university system currently involved in the capital facilities
development process, chosen from among not more than three (3) persons
nominated by the Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina, shall
be appointed by the Governor to the Reconstituted Commission.

viii. A public member who is knowledgeable in the building construction or building
maintenance area shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the
recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate in accordance with
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121.

ix. A representative of local government. chosen from among not more than two (2)
persons nominated by the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners
and two persons nominated by the North Carolina League of Municipalities,
appointed by the General Assembly upon recommendation of the Speaker of the
House of Representatives in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-121.

In making appointments, each appointing authority shall specify under which subsection
of this Executive Order the person is appointed.

Until the General Assembly convenes and nominates members to fill the positions
identified in Section 2.a of this Executive Order, the Governor, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat.
§ 147-12, shall appoint, from the among the previously existing members of the State
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Building Commission appointed by the General Assembly, four (4) interim members to
those positions to ensure the Reconstituted Commission’s continuity and ability to perform
its mission of developing procedures to direct and guide the State’s capital facilities
development and management program, among other duties and responsibilities.

d. Members may be removed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-13{d).

Section 3. Member Terms, Vacancies, Qualifications, and Other Requirements

a. The terms of the members of the Reconstituted Commission set forth below shall be
effective and control until such times, if any, that the General Assembly enacts a provision
of law to replace N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143-135.25.

b. Members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(ii), (iii). (viii), and (ix) of this Executive Order
and Section 2.c of this Executive Order shall serve for the following, interim terms:

i. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(ii) shall serve
from the time of appointment until June 30, 2020.

ii. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(iii) shall serve
from the time of appointment until June 30, 2020.

iii. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(viii) shall serve
from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

iv. The member appointed to fill the position identified in Section 2.a(ix) shall serve
from the time of appointment until June 30, 2021.

c. Following the expiration of the interim terms identified in Section 3.b of this Executive
Order, members appointed to fill the positions therein shall be subject three-year term
lengths.

d. Notwithstanding Section 3.¢, members shall be appointed for staggered three-year terms.
For the purposes of determining how these terms will be staggered, the terms of members
appointed to the Reconstituted Commission pursuant to Section 2.a(i), (ii), and (iii) of this
Executive Order shall be deemed to expire June 30, 2020; the initial terms of members
appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(iv), (v), and (vi) shall be deemed to expire June 30, 2019;
and the initial terms of members appointed pursuant to Section 2.a(vii), (viii), and (ix} shall
be deemed to expire June 30, 2021.

e. In making new appointments or filling vacancies, the Governor shall ensure that minorities
and women are represented on the Reconstituted Commission.

f. Members may serve no more than six (6) consecutive years.

g. Vacancies in appointments made by the Governor shall be filled by the Governor for the
remainder of the unexpired terms. Vacancies in appointments made by the General
Assembly shall be filled in accordance with N.C. Gen. Stat. § 120-122. Persons appointed
to fill vacancies shall qualify in the same manner as persons appointed for full terms.

h. The State Construction Office of the Department of Administration shall provide staff to
the Reconstituted Commission. The Chair of the Reconstituted Commission shall provide
direction to the State Construction Office on its work for the Commission.

i. The Director of the State Construction Office shall be a registered engineer or licensed
architect and shall be technically qualified by educational background and professional
experience in building design. construction, or facilities management. The administrative
head shall be appointed by the Secretary of the Department of Administration.

j. The Chair of the Reconstituted Commission shall be elected by the Reconstituted
Commission. The Secretary of State shall serve as chair until a chair is elected.
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k. Beginning in 2019, the Reconstituted Commission shall meet at least four (4) times a year
on or about January 15, April 15, July 15, and October 15. The Reconstituted Commission
shall also meet upon the call of the chair, or upon call of at least five (5) members. The
Secretary of State shall call the first meeting within thirty (30) days of the effective date of
this Executive Order: the first order of business at the first meeting shall be the election of
a chair by the Reconstituted Commission.

1. Members of the Reconstituted Commission who are not State officers or employees shall
receive per diem of one hundred dollars ($100.00) a day when the Reconstituted
Commission meets and shall be reimbursed for travel and subsistence as provided in N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 138-5. Members who are state officers or employees shall be reimbursed for
travel and subsistence as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 138-6.

Section 4. Powers and Duties

The Reconstituted Commission shall have the same functions, powers. dutics. assets.
liabilities, and allocation of resources that the State Building Commission possessed prior to the
entry of the Order.

Section S. Miscellaneous
a. This Executive Order does not conflict with or abrogate existing law.

b. This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until amended or
rescinded by future Executive Order of the Governor., or unless the General Assembly
reconvenes and enacts a provision of law which amends the composition of the State
Building Commission.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this the 8" day of October, in
the year of our Lord two thousand eighteen.

74, Lop

? Ry Cooper #
Governor

ATTEST:

oty A Vo

addox
Chief Deputy Secretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 10, 2018
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 74
DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCY
BY THE GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina is under imminent threat from the remnants of’
Hurricane Michael (**Hurricane™): and

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina remains under a state of emergency to assist with
the recovery from Hurricane Florence: and

WHEREAS, it is expected that the Hurricane may cause significant damage to public and
private property and seriously disrupt essential utility services and systems: and

WHEREAS, it is expected that North Carolinians in the storm’s path will be exposed to a
substantial risk of injury or death: and

WHEREAS, the potential impacts from Hurricane Michael constitute a state of
emergency as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(6) and 166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS, certain measures are necessary to ensure the protection and safcty of North
Carolina residents and coordinate the emergency response among state and local entities and
officials; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.10 and 166A-19.20 authorize the Governor to
declare a state of emergency and exercise the powers and duties set forth in the North Carolina
Emergency Management Act to direct and aid in the response to. recovery from, and mitigation
against emergencies.

NOW. THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution
and the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

I hereby declare that a state of emergency. as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(6)
and 166A-19.3(19), exists in the following counties in North Carolina: Alamance, Anson,
Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret. Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus,
Craven, Cumberland. Currituck. Dare. Davidson. Davie. Duplin. Durham, Edgecombe. Forsyth.
Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford. Hoke, Hyde, Johnston,
Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery. Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow,
Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson,
Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Stokes. Surry. Tyrrell. Vance. Wake, Warren, Washington,
Wayne. Wilson, and Yadkin (“the Emergency Area™).
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Section 2.

I order all state and local government entities and agencies to cooperate in the
implementation of the provisions of this declaration and the provisions of the North Carolina
Emergency Operations Plan (“the Plan™).

Section 3.

I delegate to Erik A. Hooks. the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public
Safety. or his designee. all power and authority granted to and required of me by Article 1A of
Chapter 166A of the North Carolina General Statutes for the purpose of implementing the Plan
and deploying the State Emergency Response Team to take the appropriate actions necessary Lo
promote and secure the safety and protection of the populace in North Carolina.

Section 4.

IFurther, Secretary looks. as Chief Coordinating Officer for the State of North Carolina,
shall exercise the powers prescribed in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 143B-602.

Section 5.

I further direct Secretary Hooks or his designee to seck assistance from any and all
agencies of the United States Government as may be neceded to meet the emergency and seck
reimbursement for costs incurred by the State in responding to this emergency.

Section 6.

I hereby order that this declaration be: (1) distributed to the news media and other
organizations calculated to bring its contents to the attention of the general public: (2) promptly
filed with the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, the Secretary of
State. and the superior court clerks in the counties to which it applies, unless the circumstances
of the state of emergency would prevent or impede this: and (3) distributed to others as
necessary to ensure proper implementation of this declaration.

Section 7.

This declaration does not prohibit or restrict lawfully possessed fircarms or ammunition
or impose any limitation on the consumption. transportation. sale or purchase of alcoholic
beverages as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(c).

Section 8.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23, this declaration triggers the prohibition
against excessive pricing as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-37 and 75-38 in the Emergency
Arca.

Section 9.

This declaration is effective immediately and shall remain in effect until rescinded.

IN WITNESS WHEREOPF, 1 have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Scal

of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 10™ day of October in
the year of our Lord two thousand and eighteen.

“ Ro!f Cooper P4
Governor

ATTEST:

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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State of North Qarolina

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR

October 10, 2018
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 75

TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF MOTOR VEHICLE REGULATIONS TO ENSURE
RESTORATION OF UTILITY SERVICES AND TRANSPORTING ESSENTIALS

WHEREAS, the potential impacts from Hurricane Michael (*“Hurricane™) will require the
transportation of vehicles bearing equipment and supplies for utility restoration and debris
removal, carrying essentials such as food and medicine, transporting livestock and poultry and
feed for livestock and poultry. and transporting crops ready to be harvested through North Carolina
highways: and

WHEREAS, Hurricane Michael is expected make landfall in Florida on October 10, 2018:
and

WHEREAS, the storm will cause major catastrophic impacts to areas in North Carolina,
Florida, and the southeastern United States: and

WHEREAS, many states and organizations will be supporting emergency relief efforts in
Florida and the southeastern United States and vehicles transporting emergency relief supplies and
services will be traveling through North Carolina: and

WHEREAS, | have declared that a state of emergency as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§
166A-19.3(6) and 166A-19.3(19) exists in the following counties: Alamance, Anson, Beaufort,
Bertie. Bladen. Brunswick. Camden. Carteret. Caswell, Chatham. Chowan, Columbus. Craven.
Cumberland, Currituck, Dare. Davidson. Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth. Franklin,
Gates. Granville, Greene, Guilford. Halifax, Harnett. Hertford. Hoke. Hyde. Johnston, Jones, Lee,
Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore. Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange.
Pamlico. Pasquotank, Pender. Perquimans, Person. Pitt. Randolph. Richmond. Robeson.
Rockingham. Sampson. Scotland. Stokes. Surry. Tyrrell. Vance, Wake., Warren, Washington.
Wayne., Wilson. and Yadkin.

WHEREAS, the State of North Carolina remains under a state of emergency to assist
with the recovery from Hurricane Florence: and

WIEREAS, the uninterrupted supply of electricity, fuel oil, diesel oil. gasoline, kerosene,
propane, liquid petroleum gas. food. water. livestock and poultry feed. and medical supplies to
residential and commercial establishments is essential before. during, and after the storm and any
interruption in the delivery of those commodities threatens the public welfare; and

WHEREAS, the prompt restoration of utility services is essential to the safety and well-
being of the State’s residents; and
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(b)(3), the Governor, with the
concurrence of the Council of State, may regulate and control the flow of vehicular traffic and the
operation of transportation services; and

WHEREAS, with the concurrence of the Council of State, [ have found that vehicles
engaging in debris removal, bearing equipment and supplies for utility restoration, and carrying
essentials are exempt from certain registration requirements set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-86.1
and 20-382, fuel tax requirements set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 105-449.45, 105-449.47, and 105-
449.49, and size and weight requirements set forth in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-116, 20-118, and 20-
119; and

WHEREAS, [ have found that the State’s residents may suffer losses and will likely suffer
imminent further widespread damage within the meaning of N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(3) and
166A-19.21(b); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70(g), upon the recommendation of
the North Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture and the existence of an imminent threat of severe
economic loss of livestock, poultry or crops ready to be harvested, the Governor shall direct the
North Carolina Department of Public Safety (“DPS™) to temporarily suspend weighing vehicles
used to transport livestock, poultry or crops ready to be harvested; and

WHEREAS, 49 C.F.R. § 390.23 allows the Governor of a state to suspend the rules and
regulations under 49 C.F.R. Parts 390-399 for up to thirty (30) days if the Governor determines
that an emergency condition exists; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.70, the Governor may declare that the
health, safety, or economic well-being of persons or property requires that the maximum hours of
service for drivers prescribed by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-381 should be waived for (1) persons
transporting essential fuels, food, water, medical supplies, and feed for livestock and poultry, (2)
persons transporting livestock, poultry, and crops ready to be harvested and (3) vehicles used in
the restoration of utility services.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and
the laws of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

For purposes of this Executive Order, the emergency area is comprised of the following
counties: Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell,
Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin,
Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett,
Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New
Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt,
Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Vance,
Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and Yadkin (collectively referred to as “the
Emergency Area’) the

Section 2.

DPS, in conjunction with the North Carolina Department of Transportation (“DOT”), shall waive
the maximum hours of service for drivers prescribed by DPS pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-381.

Section 3.

DPS. in conjunction with DOT, shall waive certain size and weight restrictions and penalties
arising under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-116, 20-118, and 20-119, certain registration requirements and
penalties arising under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-86.1 and 20-382, and certain registration and filing
requirements and penalties arising under N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 105-449.45, 105-449.47, and 105-
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449.49 for vehicles transporting equipment and supplies for the restoration of utility services and
transportation facilities, and vehicles carrying essentials and equipment for any debris removal.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-118.1, DPS shall tempeorarily suspend weighing vehicles used to
transport livestock, poultry, or crops ready to be harvested and feed to livestock and poultry in the
Emergency Area.

Section 4.

Notwithstanding the waivers set forth above, size and weight restrictions and penalties have not
been waived under the following conditions:

a. When the vehicle weight exceeds the maximum gross weight criteria established by the
manufacturer (GVWR) or 90,000 pounds gross weight, whichever is less.

b. When the tandem axle weight exceeds 42,000 pounds and the single axle weight exceeds
22,000 pounds.

c. When a vehicle and vehicle combination exceed twelve (12) feet in width and the total
overall vehicle combination length exceeds seventy-five (75) feet from bumper to bumper.

d. Vehicles and vehicle combinations subject to exemptions or permits by authority of this
Executive Order shall not be exempt from the requirement of having (1) a yellow banner
on the front and rear that is seven (7) feet long and eighteen (18) inches wide and bears
the legend “Oversized Load™ in ten (10) inch black letters 1.5 inches wide and (2) red flags
measuring eighteen (18) inches square on all sides at the widest point of the load. In
addition, when operating between sunset and sunrise, a certified escort shall be required
for loads exceeding eight (8) feet six (6) inches in width.

Section 5.

-

Vehicles referenced under Sections 3 and 4 of this Executive Order shall be exempt from the
following registration requirements:

a. The requirement to obtain a temporary trip permit and pay the associated $50.00 fee listed
in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-449.49 is waived for such vehicles. No filing of a quarterly fuel
tax return is required as the exemption in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-449.45(b)(1) applies.

b. The registration requirements under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-382.1 concerning intrastate for-
hire authority and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-382 concerning interstate for-hire authority are
waived; however, vehicles shall maintain the required limits of insurance.

c¢. Non-participants in North Carolina’s International Registration Plan and International Fuel
Tax Agreement will be permitted to enter North Carolina in accordance with the
exemptions identified by this Executive Order.

Section 6.

The size and weight exemption for vehicles will be allowed on all DOT designated routes, except
those routes designated as light traffic roads under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-118. This order shall not
be in effect on bridges posted pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 136-72.

Section 7.

The waiver of regulations under Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (*Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Regulations™) does not apply to the Commercial Drivers’ License and Insurance
Requirements. This waiver shall be in effect for thirty (30) days or the duration of the emergency.
whichever is less.

Section 8.

The North Carclina State Highway Patrol shall enforce the conditions set forth in Sections 2
through 7 of this Executive Order in a manner that does not endanger North Carolina motorists.
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Section 9.

Upon request by law enforcement officers, exempted vehicles must produce documentation
sufficient to establish that their loads are bearing equipment and supplies for utility restoration,
being used for debris removal, carrying essentials in commerce, carrying feed for livestock and
poultry, or transporting livestock, poultry or crops ready to be harvested in the State of North
Carolina.

Section 10.

The gasoline truck tank and vapor system requirements ol 15A N.C. Admin. Code 02D.0932(c¢c)
shall be waived during this event if Method 27 is followed.

Section 11.

This Executive Order does not prohibit or restrict lawfully possessed firearms or ammunition or
impose any limitation on the conwmption transportation. sale or purchase of alcoholic beverages
as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.30(¢).

Scction 12.

Pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.23, this declaration triggers the prohibition against
excessive pricing as provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 75-37 and 75-38 in the Emergency Areca.

This Executive Order is effective immediately and shall remain in effect for thirty (30) days or the
duration of the emergency. whichever is less.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and alfixed the Great Seal
of the State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh, this 10™ day of October in the
year of our Lord two thousand and eighteen.

78,_Lows

/
Ro{ Cooper
Governor

ATTEST:

/W#WW

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary of State
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Tarolina

State of

ROY COOPER
GOVERNOR
October 10, 2018
EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 76

SUSPENDING THE COLLECTION OF CERTAIN MOTOR VEHICLE FEES TO SUPPORT
HURRICANE FLORENCE RECOVERY EFFORTS

WHEREAS. Hurricane Florence (““the Hurricane™) made landfall off the coast of North Carolina
on or about 14 September 2018: and

WHEREAS, impacts from the Hurricane constitute a State of Emergency. as defined in N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 166A-19.3(19): and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Executive Order No. 51 on 7 September 2018, which declares
a State of Emergency to provide for the health, safety and welfare of residents and visitors located in North
Carolina: and

WHEREAS, the President of the United States approved an Expedited Major Disaster Declaration,
FEMA-4393-DR, for the State of North Carolina on 14 September 2018. which has since been amended to
include additional counties (“"FEMA Declaration™): and

WHEREAS, the State’s residents have suffered losses and will likely suffer imminent further
widespread damage within the scope of N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 166A-19.3(3) and 166A-19.21(b): and

WHEREAS, weather events associated with the Hurricane have resulted in the damage. loss, or
destruction of vehicles and vital motorist records, documentation, and identification: and

WHEREAS, the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (““the Secretary™)
is charged with overseeing and managing the Division of Motor Vehicles (“DMV™): and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-14 establishes the fees that the DMV must collect when issuing
duplicate drivers and commercial drivers” licenses: and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-37.7(d) establishes the fees the DMV must collect when issuing
special identification cards: and

WHEREAS. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-85 establishes the fees the DMV must collect when issuing
replacement registration plates and processing applications for duplicate or corrected certificates of title
and duplicate registration cards: and

WHEREAS., N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-88.03 cstablishes the late fees the DMV must collect when
motorists are delinquent on certain registration fees: and

WHEREAS, the expeditious issuance of vital motorist records, identification, and documentation
and the waiver of certain late fees will help support long term disaster recovery: and

WHEREAS, N.C. Const. art. Il § 5(4) vests the Governor with the duty to take care that the laws
be laithlully executed: and

WHEREAS, the undersigned issued Exccutive Order No. 63 on 24 September 2018 (“Executive
Order 637), which suspends the enforcement of certain requirements associated with surrendering or
retaining title of flood salvage vehicles and suspends the collection of certain salvage vehicle fees: and
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WHEREAS, House Bill 4, N.C. Sess. Law 2018-134 (“House Bill 4), which was signed into law
3 October 2018, explicitly authorizes the Governor to waive additional DMV fees; and

WHEREAS, further action consistent with House Bill 4 and the North Carolina Emergency
Management Act is necessary to facilitate the expeditious issuance of vital motorist records, identification,
and documentation and the waiver of certain late fees; and

WHEREAS, N.C. Gen. Stat. § 166A-19.10(b) authorizes and empowers the undersigned to make
and amend orders, rules, and regulations within the limits of the authority conferred upon him in the
Emergency Management Act; and

WHEREAS, the execution of the undersigned’s emergency powers under N.C. Gen Stat. § 166A-
19.30 is appropriate to ensure the public safety of residents and visitors located in North Carolina during
the State of Emergency; and

WHEREAS, in order to provide for the rapid and orderly rehabilitation of persons and restoration
of property, the undersigned has made the determination that it is in the public interest to suspend the
collection of certain motor vehicle fees and provide relief to certain motorists.

NOW, THEREFORE, by the authority vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws
of the State of North Carolina, IT IS ORDERED:

Section 1.

This Executive Order relates solely to vehicles, as defined by N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-40.1(49), which
are owned in the North Carolina counties identified in the FEMA Declaration as of 9 October 2018 (“FEMA
Counties,” individually, “FEMA County”), and fees associated with those vehicles that are due and payable
on or after the effective date of this Executive Order.

Section 2.

The DMV shall suspend the collection of fees owed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-85(a)(2), (5)-
(6) when processing applications for duplicate or corrected certificates of title, processing applications for
duplicate registration cards, and issuing replacement registration plates.

Section 3.

The DMV shall suspend the collection of fees owed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-14 when
issuing duplicate drivers and commercial drivers’ licenses.

Section 4.

The DMV shall suspend the collection of fees owed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-37.7(d) when
issuing special identification cards.
Section 5.

The DMV shall suspend the collection of fees owed pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 20-14, 20-
37.7(d) when issuing duplicate special identification cards.

Section 6.

a. The DMV shall suspend the collection of late fees and interest owed pursuant to N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 20-88.03 in connection with limited registration plates and vehicle registration
renewals.

b. This Section shall only apply to vehicles with limited registrations that expired on or after 31
August 2018.

Section 7.

a. A motorist who qualifies for relief under Section 1 of this Executive Order is entitled to a
refund of any fee identified in Sections 2 through 5 of this Executive Order that was assessed
and collected by the DMV after 13 September 2018.

b. A motorist qualifying for relief under Section 1 of this Executive Order is entitled to a refund
of the late fees and/or interest identified in Section 6 of this Executive Order if the following

apply:
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i The late fees and/or interest arose from a vehicle with a registration that expired on
or after 31 August 2018; and

ii. The late fees and/or interest were assessed and collected by the DMV after 13
September 2018.

¢.  The refunds provided under this Section do not apply to any fees waived pursuant to Executive
Order 63.

Section 8.

This Executive Order is effective as of 13 September 2018 and shall remain in effect until 31
December 2018. An Exccutive Order rescinding the Declaration ol a State of Emergency will automatically
rescind this Executive Order in its entirety.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have hereunto signed my name and affixed the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina at the Capitol in the City of Raleigh. this 10" day of October in the year of our Lord

two thousand and cightecn.@

4 Roy Cooper #
Governor

S Wonadall

Elaine F. Marshall
Secretary ol Stale

ATTEST:
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Department of Public Safety intends to adopt the rules cited as
14B NCAC 05B .0101, .0201-.0203 and .0301.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://www.ncdps.gov/administrative-rules

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Email Rulemaking
Coordinator Margaret McDonald at
Margaret.mcdonald@ncdps.gov to request a public hearing.

Reason for Proposed Action: Rules in Chapter 05 of Title 14B
of the North Carolina Administrative Code are pending repeal.
The agency is adopting new rules to replace the rules being
repealed.

Comments may be submitted to: Margaret McDonald,
Department of Public Safety, 4201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh,
NC 27699-4201

Comment period ends: December 31, 2018

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

X State funds affected

] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

X Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (>$1,000,000)

X Approved by OSBM

] No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4
CHAPTER 05 - GOVERNOR'S CRIME COMMISSION
SUBCHAPTER 05B — GRANT ADMINISTRATION
SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

14B NCAC 05B .0101 PURPOSE

The rules of this Chapter, pursuant to the authority of the
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety (Department),
implement the administration of duties of the Governor's Crime
Commission (Commission), as a Section of the Division of
Administration within the Department and as a State
administering agency of North Carolina. Applications for state
and federal grants shall be submitted in accordance with the rules
set forth in Section .0200 of this Chapter.

Authority G.S. 143B-602(5); 143B-1101; 143B-1103; 143B-
1104.

SECTION .0200 - PROGRAM GRANTS

14B NCAC 05B .0201  APPLICATIONS FOR GRANTS
(a) The Executive Director of the Commission shall designate
requirements for submission of grant applications. The grant
application period shall begin on November 1 of each year and
end on January 31. Funding priorities, as determined by the
Commission, shall be listed on the Commission's website prior to
the opening of an application period.

(b) Grant application submission dates shall be announced on the
Commission website, https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-
commissions/governors-crime-commission/grants-
planning/grants not less than 90 days before the application is due.
(c) Grant applications shall be electronically submitted to the
Commission through the Grants Enterprise Management System
(GEMS) on or before the date announced on the Commission
website.

(d) To be considered for funding, applicants shall complete the
grant application, which shall include the following information:

(€] names, mailing addresses, telephone numbers,
and signatures of the applicant;
2) project information, including the following:

(A) a description of the project, its goals
and _objectives, and measurable
outcomes;

(B) the issues or problems addressed by
the project;

© project operation and activities; and

(D) a sustainability plan.

a proposed budget;

a project time line;

(3)
4
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(5) an explanation of how the project's results will
be monitored and evaluated; and
(6) any other information required by these Rules

or _requested by the Department in order to
make a decision on the grant proposal; and

(€] a description of how the objectives of the
proposed project are consistent with the
outcomes and guidelines set forth in a State or

4) a memorandum of agreement or contract with
cooperating government agencies;

(5) an original signature of all authorizing officials,
implementing  project director, and the
applicant's chief financial officer; and

(6) a signed agreement to submit to an annual audit

of the program.
(c) Funds shall be conveyed to grantees through Grant Award

federal grant program.
(e) Applicants seeking funding for a two-year project shall submit

Contracts. The Grant Award Contract shall bear the original
signature of the grantee's authorizing official and the Executive

the information required by Paragraph (d) of this Rule with the

Director of the Commission. The Grant Award Contract shall be

requirements of (d)(2)(A), (d)(2)(C), and (d)(5) written to address

signed and returned to the Department within 30 days.

the two-year grant period. Applicants shall also submit two one-

(d) The grant period for the project shall be for a period of up to

year budgets.
Authority G.S. 143B-1103; 143B-1104.

14B NCAC 05B .0202 REVIEW OF PROPOSALS
(a) _Applications that contain all information required in Rule

two years. The grant period shall coincide with the start and close
of the federal fiscal year, if possible.

(e) Requests for adjustments to approved applications may be
made at any time up to 90 days before the project's scheduled
termination date. These requests shall be made through the GEMS
system, providing an explanation for proposed amendments.

.0201 of this Section shall be forwarded to a Commission
Subcommittee, as designated in G.S. 143B-1102.
(b) The Subcommittee shall review and evaluate each application
and make a recommendation to the full Commission, that the
application should be approved or denied.
(c) _In making this evaluation, the Commission or Subcommittee
shall consider:

Q) who will benefit from the grant;

(2) how many will benefit from the grant;

3) the cost of administering the grant;

4 geographical representation; and

(5) past performance of grants and publicly funded
projects.

(d) The Commission shall determine which applications are
eligible for funding.

(e) The Commission shall recommend eligible applications to the
Secretary of the Department of Public Safety. The Secretary shall
select the applicants who will be awarded funding.

Authority G.S. 143B-1101(a)(8); 143B-1103; 143B-1104.

14B NCAC 05B .0203 ADMNIISTRATION OF GRANTS
(a) The Commission staff shall administer grants as funds are

Authority G.S. 143B-602(8); 143B-1103; 143B-1104.
SECTION .0300 — PENALTIES

14B NCAC 05B .0301
SUSPENSION

(a) A grant may be terminated or the funds may be suspended by
the Executive Director when the applicant or grantee is not in
compliance with any of the following:

€8] the terms and conditions of the grant

(2) the terms and conditions of the grant award
contract;

(3) the quidelines promulgated by the federal
criminal _justice block grant program or
approved plan:;

4) the rules set forth in this Chapter.

(b) The Executive Director shall notify the grantee of its
noncompliance in writing. The notification shall identify the
penalty to be taken or allow the grantee an additional period of
not more than 30 days to correct the deficiencies. If the
deficiencies are not corrected, then the Executive Director may

GRANT TERMINATION OR

available. All applicants shall be notified in writing or electronic

suspend the payment of funds to the grantee or terminate the grant.

communication through the GEMS system upon completion of
the selection process that the application has been approved or
denied.
(b) Within 30 days of receipt of award notification, the applicant
shall submit the grant compliance and modification information.
An applicant may request an extension of no more than 60 days
to submit the information. An applicant who does not provide the
required information shall be ineligible for grant funding. For the
purposes of this Rule, grant compliance and modification
information includes the following:
Q) a list of grant conditions that agreed to by an
authorizing official of the applicant;
2 a certification of non-supplanting;
3) a certification of filing of an equal employment
opportunity program;

Authority G.S. 143B-602(8)(c); 143B-1103(b)(3); 143B-1104.

Bk I I G i S

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to adopt the rule
cited as 14B NCAC 15A .2206.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019

Public Hearing:
Date: January 16, 2019
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Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To adopt a rule defining how the
sales by a nonprofit organization of alcoholic beverages in the
manufacturer's original closed container as a prize in a raffle or
by sale at auction at a ticketed event to allow the nonprofit
organization to raise funds are to be conducted and when the
alcoholic beverages can be given to the person acquiring them
from the nonprofit. A rule is also needed to limit who a nonprofit
can sell the alcoholic beverages to. This rule is authorized by S.L.
2018-65, Sec. 5(e).

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919) 779-8367, fax (919)
661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov

Comment period ends: January 16, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

L] State funds affected

] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

] Local funds affected

U] Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15A - ORGANIZATIONAL RULES:
POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

SECTION .2200 — SPECIAL ONE-TIME PERMITS

14B NCAC 15A .2206

RAFFLE OR AUCTION
(a) Sales of alcohol under a special one-time permit pursuant to
G.S. 18B-1002(a)(5) by a nonprofit organization as a prize in a

NONPROFIT SALES AT

raffle or at auction shall be sold for off-premises consumption and
shall not be consumed on the permitted premises.

(b) Possession of the alcohol sold as a prize at a raffle or at auction
pursuant to this rule shall not be given by the nonprofit
organization to the raffle prize winner or buyer at auction until the
conclusion of the event or until the time the buyer leaves the
event.

(c) Sales of alcohol pursuant to G.S. 18B-1002(a)(5) by a
nonprofit organization shall be subject to the following

conditions:
Q) sales shall only be made to persons at least 21
years of age;
2) no sales shall be made to a person who is
intoxicated as defined in 14B NCAC 15B
.0101(2); and
(3) delivery of possession of a quantity of alcohol

sold pursuant to this Rule to a single buyer in
excess of the limits set forth in G.S. 18B-303
shall not be permitted unless the raffle prize
winner or buyer at auction of the alcohol has a
valid permit_issued pursuant to G.S. 18B-
1002(a)(4) or otherwise complies with the
provisions of G.S. 18B-303.

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-303; 18B-1002.

EE IR S I S S S I S S S I

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the
rule cited as 14B NCAC 15B .0209.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://abc.nc.gov/

Proposed Effective Date: March 1, 2019

Public Hearing:

Date: January 16, 2019

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon
Road, Raleigh, NC 27610

Reason for Proposed Action: To amend the rule governing
consumption by employees of alcoholic beverage permittees while
on duty or on the permitted premises, to allow employees of
commercial permittees to sample alcoholic beverages for
purposes of sensory analysis, quality control or education, not
only on the employer's permitted premises but also on the
permittee's retail premises, the premises of a special one-time
permittee, or the premises of a special event where the permittee
is participation under a special event tasting permit, as
authorized in S.L. 2018-100, Sec. 1.

Comments may be submitted to: Walker Reagan, 400 East
Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610, phone (919) 779-8367, fax (919)
661-6165, email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov

Comment period ends: January 16, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.
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Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

L] State funds affected

] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

] Local funds affected

] Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL
COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 15B - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED
BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING:
SPECIAL PERMITS

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL RULES AFFECTING
RETAILERS AND BROWNBAGGING PERMITTEES

14B NCAC 15B .0209 CONSUMPTION:
INTOXICATION BY PERMITTEE PROHIBITED

(@ No permittee or his employees shall be on the licensed
premises permitted under G.S. 18B-1001, G.S. 18B-1002, G.S.

(c) No permittee or his agents or employees shall be or become
intoxicated on the licensed premises.

(d) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a permittee or the
permittee's employees may be on licensed premises permitted
under G.S. 18B-1001, G.S. 18B-1002, G.S. 18B-1114.1 or G.S.
18B-1114.5 after consuming alcoholic beverages pursuant to G.S.
18B-1121, provided the permittee or permittee's employees do not
serve or pour alcoholic beverages for other persons for the
remainder of the day while or after consuming alcoholic

beverages.

Authority 18B-100; 18B-207; 18B-1005(b); 18B-1006(d); 18B-
1121.

18B-1114.1 or G.S. 18B-1114.5 after consuming alcoholic
beverages except under the following conditions:

(D) The permittee or employee is off duty for the
remainder of that day or night during which he
consumes any alcoholic beverage;

2 The permittee or employee is out of uniform
when uniforms are required to be worn while
performing any on duty services; and

3) The permittee or employee shall not perform
any on duty services of any nature while or after
consuming alcoholic beverages.

(b) Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, a malt beverage
or wine permittee or its employee who is of legal age and who is
responsible for ordering or serving beverage alcohol may sample
new malt beverage or wine products as provided by 14B NCAC
15C .0711(b) on the premises. Samples shall not exceed two-
ounce servings of individual products and the total of the samples
shall not exceed eight ounces in one calendar day.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited
as 15A NCAC 10F .0303 and .0333.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncwildlife.org

Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2019

Public Hearing:

Date: Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: WRC Headquarters 5" Floor, 1751 Varsity Drive,
Raleigh, NC 27606

Reason for Proposed Action:

15A NCAC 10F .0303 — Beaufort County submitted a formal
application and resolution requesting a no-wake zone in canals at
the eastern end of the peninsula where Whichard Beach is
located, between Chocowinity Bay and the Pamlico River. The
no-wake zone is necessary to mitigate hazards to boater safety
caused by narrow shallow canals, with underwater obstructions
and heavy vessel traffic.

15A NCAC 10F .0333 — The Lake Wylie Marine Commission
submitted an application for a no-wake zone on Lake Wylie in
Mecklenburg County, in the vicinity of the terminus of Point
Lookout Road and area of community docks near Queens Harbor
Road in the Yachtsman on Lake Wylie community. The no-wake
zone is necessary to mitigate hazards to boater and recreationist
safety near the busy and congested community docks, a marina,
kayak and paddle boat launch, and swimming beach.

Comments may be submitted to: Rulemaking Coordinator,
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1701; email
regulations@ncwildlife.org

Comment period ends: December 31, 2018
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
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Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000.

Fiscal impact (check all that apply).

Ol State funds affected

U] Environmental permitting of DOT affected
Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation

] Local funds affected

U] Substantial economic impact (=$1,000,000)

] Approved by OSBM

X No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER
SAFETY

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY
REGULATIONS

15A NCAC 10F .0303 BEAUFORT COUNTY
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
in Beaufort County:
(D) the portion of Broad Creek south of a line from
a point on the east shore at 35.49472 N,
76.95693 W to a point on the west shore at
35.49476 N, 76.96028 W and north of a line
from a point on the east shore at 35.48485 N,
76.95178 W to a point on the west shore at
35.48495 N, 76.95619 W,
(2) the portion of Blounts Creek south of a line 100
yards north of the Blounts Creek Boating
Access Area, from a point on the east shore at
35.40846 N, 76.96091 W to a point on the west
shore at 35.40834 N, 76.96355 W, and north of
a line 100 yards south of Cotton Patch Landing,
from a point on the east shore at 35.40211 N,
76.96573 W to a point on the west shore at
35.40231 N, 76.96702 W,
3) the waters of Battalina Creek, within the
territorial limits of the Town of Belhaven;
4) the navigable portion of Nevil Creek extending
upstream from its mouth at the Pamlico River;
(5) the portion of Blounts Creek north of a line 35
yards south-southeast of the Mouth of the Creek
Bridge from a point on the east shore at
35.43333 N, 76.96985 W to a point on the west

shore at 35.43267 N, 76.97196 W and south of
a line 350 yards north-northeast of the Mouth of
the Creek Bridge from a point on the east shore
at 35.43553 N, 76.96962 W to a point on the
west shore at 35.43679 N, 76.97011 W,
(6) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from
a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N,
77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at
35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line
from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N,
77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at
35.56689 N, 77.09029 W; and
@) the waters of Little Creek beginning at a line
near its mouth from a point on the east shore at
35.41917 N, 76.97102 W to a point on the west
shore at 35.41900 N, 76:96940-W. 76.96940 W;
and
(8) the canals at the eastern end of the peninsula
between Chocowinity Bay and the Pamlico
River at Fork Point and Whichard Beach,
beginning at the canal entrance off of
Chocowinity Bay at a point a 35.50296 N,
77.03043 W and beginning at the canal entrance
off of the Pamlico River at a point at 35.50340
N, 77.02364 W.
(b) Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than
no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas identified in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of
Beaufort County and the City Council of the City of Washington
shall be the designated agencies for placement of the markers
implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United
States Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of Engineers.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.

15A NCAC 10F .0333
COUNTIES
(a) Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters
of Lake Wylie within Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties:
1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves
adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest
Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore
to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line
from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N,
81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at
35.10556 N, 80.02964 W;
2 Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters
of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife
Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of
a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on
the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a
point on the west shore at 35.15628 N,
81.01615 W,
3 Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point
250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C.
Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at
35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet

MECKLENBURG AND GASTON
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(4)

(5)

(6)

()

(8)

west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N,
81.04089 W;

N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to
shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C.
Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston
counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point
190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge
at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W;

Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth
of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore
to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W,
west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W;
Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise
Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise
Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from
a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N,
81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at
35.18991 N, 81.04136 W;

Withers Cove. The waters from a point 50 feet
southeast of the Withers Bridge on SR 1116,
otherwise known as Shopton Road W. in
Mecklenburg County at 35.14576 N, 81.00187
W, to a point 50 feet northwest of the bridge at
35.14599 N, 81.00222 W;

Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore
beginning at a line from a point on the west
shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at
35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the
east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County
at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on
the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a
point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston
County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a
point on the west side of Sadler Island in

Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396
W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler
Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at
35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a
line from a point on the south shore of Sadler
Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a
point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N,
81.01368 W; and
9 Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of any
bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters
of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically
mentioned in this Paragraph- Paragraph; and
(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The
waters within 50 yards of the community piers
near the terminus of Waterside Drive in
Mecklenburg County, and northward to include
the waters east of the island west of Point
Lookout Road, ending at a line from a point on
the northern end of the island at 35.12226 N,
81.03306 W, east to a point on the shore at
35.12253 N, 81.03190 W.
(b) Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at
greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat-
launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat
service area.
(c) Speed Limit in Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No
person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within
50 yards of any marked mooring area or marked swimming area.
(d) Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie
Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement
and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule.

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15.
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APPROVED RULES

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules. The rules
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules. Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17.

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on September 20, 2018 Meeting.

REGISTER CITATION TO THE
NOTICE OF TEXT

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF

Advertising Matter 02 NCAC 20B .0103* 32:20 NCR
Alcoholic Beverages 02 NCAC 43L .0337* 32:20 NCR
NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF

Natural Heritage Program Fees; Inventory Data, Environmen... 07 NCAC 13H .0404 32:18 NCR
ELECTIONS AND ETHICS ENFORCEMENT, BOARD OF

Procedures For Political Committees 08 NCAC 01 .0104* 31:23 NCR
Emergency Powers of Executive Director 08 NCAC 01 .0106* 31:23 NCR
Dismissal of Improper Filings 08 NCAC 02 .0114* 31:23 NCR
Curbside Voting 08 NCAC 10B .0108* 31:23 NCR
Voting Site Uniformity 08 NCAC 10B .0109* 31:23 NCR
Election Observer 08 NCAC 20 .0101* 31:23 NCR
CHILD CARE COMMISSION

Provisional Licenses for Facilities 10A NCAC 09 .0401 32:14 NCR
Administrative Sanctions 10A NCAC 09 .1904 32:14 NCR
Administrative Actions and Civil Penalties: General Provi... 10A NCAC 09 .2201* 32:14 NCR
Written Reprimands 10A NCAC 09 .2202* 32:14 NCR
Written Warnings 10A NCAC 09 .2203* 32:14 NCR
Provisional Child Care Facility License or Provisional No... 10A NCAC 09 .2204* 32:14 NCR
Probationary License 10A NCAC 09 .2205* 32:14 NCR
Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2206* 32:14 NCR
Special Provisional Child Care Facility License or Specia... 10A NCAC 09 .2207* 32:14 NCR
Civil Penalties: Scope and Purpose 10A NCAC 09 .2208 32:14 NCR
Revocation of a Child Care Facility License or an Order t... 10A NCAC 09 .2209* 32:14 NCR
Summary Suspension 10A NCAC 09 .2213* 32:14 NCR
Amount of Civil Penalties for Child Care Facilities 10A NCAC 09 .2216* 32:14 NCR
Schedule of Civil Penalties for Child Care Centers 10A NCAC 09 .2217* 32:14 NCR
PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR

Reportable Diseases and Conditions 10A NCAC 41A .0101* 32:23 NCR
BLIND, COMMISSION FOR THE

Non-Discrimination 10A NCAC 63A .0101 32:22 NCR
Purpose and Definitions 10A NCAC 63C .0101* 32:22 NCR
Division Responsibility 10A NCAC 63C .0102* 32:22 NCR
Business Enterprises Facility Equipment: Merchandise and ... 10A NCAC 63C .0103* 32:22 NCR
Training Program 10A NCAC 63C .0104 32:22 NCR
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Issuance of Licenses 10A NCAC 63C .0201* 32:22 NCR
Eligibility for Licensing 10A NCAC 63C .0202* 32:22 NCR
Contractual Agreement Between Division and Operator 10A NCAC 63C .0205* 32:22 NCR
Confidential Information 10A NCAC 63C .0206* 32:22 NCR
Temporary Closing 10A NCAC 63C .0302 32:22 NCR
Purpose 10A NCAC 63C .0401* 32:22 NCR
Policy 10A NCAC 63C .0402* 32:22 NCR
Election 10A NCAC 63C .0501 32:22 NCR
Organization and Operation 10A NCAC 63C .0506* 32:22 NCR
Functions 10A NCAC 63C .0508* 32:22 NCR
Subcommittees 10A NCAC 63C .0509 32:22 NCR
Committee Initiative 10A NCAC 63C .0511* 32:22 NCR
Division Responsibility and Relationship with Committee 10A NCAC 63C .0512* 32:22 NCR
Security 10A NCAC 63C .0603* 32:22 NCR
Reports 10A NCAC 63C .0604 32:22 NCR
Minimum Fair Return and Definitions 10A NCAC 63C .0701 32:22 NCR
Set-Aside 10A NCAC 63C .0702* 32:22 NCR
Income from Vending Machines on Federal Property 10A NCAC 63C .0704* 32:22 NCR
Eligibility for and Authorization of Services 10A NCAC 63F .0101* 32:22 NCR
Training and Training Materials 10A NCAC 63F .0102* 32:22 NCR
Economic Needs Policies 10A NCAC 63F .0402* 32:22 NCR
HOME INSPECTOR LICENSURE BOARD

Definitions 11 NCAC 08 .1101* 32:22 NCR
Standards of Practice 11 NCAC 08 .1102 32:22 NCR
Purpose and Scope 11 NCAC 08 .1103* 32:22 NCR
General Limitations 11 NCAC 08 .1104 32:22 NCR
General Exclusions 11 NCAC 08 .1105* 32:22 NCR
Structural Components 11 NCAC 08 .1106* 32:22 NCR
Exterior 11 NCAC 08 .1107* 32:22 NCR
Roofing 11 NCAC 08 .1108 33:22 NCR
Plumbing 11 NCAC 08 .1109* 32:22 NCR
Electrical 11 NCAC 08 .1110* 32:22 NCR
Heating 11 NCAC 08 .1111* 32:22 NCR
Air Conditioning 11 NCAC 08 .1112* 32:22 NCR
Interiors 11 NCAC 08 .1113 32:22 NCR
Insulation and Ventilation 11 NCAC 08 .1114* 32:22 NCR
Built-in Kitchen Appliances 11 NCAC 08 .1115* 32:22 NCR
Code of Ethics 11 NCAC 08 .1116* 32:22 NCR
Continuing Education Required for Renewal of Active License 11 NCAC 08 .1302* 32:22 NCR
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Applicability 11 NCAC 16 .0101* 32:23 NCR
Nonfleet Private Passenger Automobile Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0103* 32:23 NCR
Physicians And Surgeons Professional Liability Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0105* 32:23 NCR
Single or Dual Interest Automobile Physical Damage Insurance 11 NCAC 16 .0108* 32:23 NCR
Minimum Loss Ratio Standards 11 NCAC 16 .0201* 32:23 NCR
Accident and Health Insurance Renewability Definitions 11 NCAC 16 .0202* 32:23 NCR
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Conditionally Renewable Stated Reason Prohibited
Optionally Renewable Prohibited

Data Requirements for Rate Revision Submission

Class Definition Restriction

Common Block

Annual Actuarial Certifications for Long-Term Care Forms
Definitions

General Submission Requirements

Calculation Procedure and Data Requirements for Rate Devi...
Minimum Incurred Loss Ratio

Definitions

General Submission Requirements

Calculation Procedure and Demonstration of Compliance
Definitions

HMO General Filing Requirements

HMO Rate Filing Data Requirements

Initial HMO Rate Filing Data Requirements And Standards
HMO Expansion Request Data Requirements

HMO Data Revision Filing Data Requirements

HMO Incurred Loss Ratio Standards

Definitions

Claims

Claim Reserve Filing Requirements

Claim Reserve Data and Format Requirements

Claim Reserve Methodology and Actuarial Certification
Small Employer Group Health Insurance Actuarial Certifica...

11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC
11 NCAC

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION

Basic Law Enforcement Training

Certification Training for School Resource Officer

Divulging Personnel Information

Report of Separation

Report of Separation

Agency Reporting of Drug Screening Results

Basic Criminal Justice Certificate

Minimum Training Specifications: Annual In-Service Training
Basic State Corrections Certificate

WELL CONTRACTORS CERTIFICATION COMMISSION
Petition for Rulemaking

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF
North Carolina Examination

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF
Complaints

The following rules are subject to Legislative Review.

12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC
12 NCAC

15A NCAC

21 NCAC

21 NCAC

16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16
16

09B
09B
09C
09C
09C
09C
09D
09E
09G

27

10

30

.0203*
.0204*
.0205*
.0206*
.0207*
.0208*
.0401~
.0402*
.0403*
.0501

.0502*
.0503*
.0504*
.0601*
.0602*
.0603*
.0604*
.0605*
.0606*
.0607*
.0701*
.0702*
.0703*
.0704~*
.0705

.0801*

.0205*
.0313*
.0103*
.0208*
.0305
.0310*
.0203
.0105*
.0603

.0120*

.0203*

.0902

32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR
32:23 NCR

32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR
32: 24 NCR

32:19 NCR

32:23 NCR

32:18 NCR
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INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF
Credit Property Insurance
Nonfiling Insurance

MASSAGE AND BODYWORK THERAPY, BOARD OF
Display of License

Address of Record

Place of Practice

Continuing Education Requirements

Continuing Education Definitions

Scope of Qualified Activities for Maintaining Continuing ...
Disciplinary Sanctions

Establishment of License Required

Term of License

Initial Application for Licensure

Establishment Operations

Client Records Retention and Ownership

Inspections

Change of Trade Name

Change of Location

Continuing Duty to Report Certain Crimes and Civil Suits
License Renewal

Address of Record

11 NCAC 16 .0106* 32:23 NCR
11 NCAC 16 .0107* 32:23 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0302* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0401* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0405* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0701* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0702* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0703* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .0905* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1001* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1002 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1003* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1004* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1005* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1006* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1007* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1008* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1011* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1012* 32:18 NCR
21 NCAC 30 .1013* 32:18 NCR

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

02 NCAC 20B .0103 ADVERTISING MATTER

(@) Distribution of advertising material of any kind, nature, or
description by concessionaires, exhibitors, patrons attending
annual exhibitions on the State Fairgrounds, political parties, or
by any person shall be prohibited on the State Fairgrounds unless
distributed from the designated space and shall have been
approved by the State Fair Manager or his or her designee.
Advertising material shall be on the counter or display area and
may be handed out when requested by fair patrons.

(b) Operation of a sound truck or other mobile vehicle equipped
with a public address system or sign, whether in motion or parked
on the fair grounds, whether within or without the fenced-off area,
is prohibited.

(c) For the purpose of enforcing this Rule, the State Fair grounds
shall consist of the land in Wake County bounded on the south by
Hillsborough Street, on the east by Blue Ridge Road, on the north
by Trinity Road, and on the west by the Gov. James B. Hunt, Jr.
Horse Complex, and includes the area without as well as within
the fenced portion.

(d) The prohibitions and restrictions in this Rule shall not apply
to service trucks with writing on the sides advertising its products
while making deliveries of merchandise or service to
concessionaires or exhibitors on the State Fair grounds, or the
advertising on bumper stickers and window decals of vehicles.

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-503;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. October 1, 1993; July 17, 1981;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. September 19, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

skosk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok sk ok sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok ok

02 NCAC 43L .0337 ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES

(@) The possession, sale, or consumption of any alcoholic
beverage shall be in compliance with the State alcoholic beverage
control laws set forth in G.S. 18B and rules set forth in 14B NCAC
15.

(b) The sampling or sale of alcoholic beverages at an event on the
Western NC Agricultural Center, including the Mountain State
Fair, shall require approval by the Manager of the Western NC
Agricultural Center or his or her designee in negotiation and at the
time of the signing of the contract to rent the premises. In making
this determination, the Manager of the Western NC Agricultural
Center Manager shall consider the following factors:

@ the nature of the event;
2 the time of the event;
3 the number of attendees at the event;

@) the age of the attendees at the event;
(5) prior history of the event;
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(6) other events on Western NC Agricultural
Center property at that time;

@) security needed and available at the time of the
event; and

(8) the health, safety, and welfare of all patrons on

Western NC Agricultural Center property.

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1994;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. September 23, 2017;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 106-530;

TITLE 07 - DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND
CULTURAL RESOURCES

07 NCAC 13H .0404 NATURAL HERITAGE
PROGRAM FEES; INVENTORY DATA,
ENVIRONMENTAL SERVICES, AND DATA

(@ Individuals may obtain access to Natural Heritage Program
(NHP) data by purchasing a  subscription at
https://ncnhde.natureserve.org/ as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule.

(b) Data subscriptions shall be available in accordance with the
following fee schedules:

@ Annual subscription for online project review:
six hundred dollars ($600.00) per individual
user. Annual subscription shall include 12
months of access to reports and maps of rare
species, natural areas, and nature preserves
related to a user specified geographic location.
Reviews conducted by NHP shall not be
included with an annual subscription. Access
shall last for 12 months from the purchase date
of the subscription.

(2) Online project review with no annual
subscription: one hundred dollars ($100.00) per
project review request. Online project review
with no annual subscription shall include a
generated map of a rare species, natural
community, natural area, and nature preserves
for user specified geographic location.

3) Customized environmental review services:
sixty-five  dollars  ($65.00) per hour.
Customized environmental review services
shall include a report and a map, prepared by
NHP of rare species, natural communities,
natural areas, and nature preserves related to a
user specified geographic location.

4) Electronic Geographic Information Systems
(GIS) files of natural heritage element
occurrence records: one hundred dollars
($100.00) per county, species, or eight digit
hydrologic unit code (HUC) established by the
U.S. Geological Survey. NHP shall provide
updated GIS files upon request for the same
county, species, or eight digit HUC for a 12-

month period from delivery of the initial GIS
files.

(5) Biological field surveys: sixty-five dollars
($65.00) per hour. Biological field surveys shall
include an observation summary and habitat
assessment of maps, rare species, natural
communities, natural areas, and nature
preserves for the user specified project area.

(c) Federal, State, local government, and nonprofit agencies using
natural heritage data to establish or manage nature preserves in
accordance with this Section shall be exempt from fees set forth
in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.256; 143B-135.272;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

TITLE 08 - BOARD OF ELECTIONS

08 NCAC 01 .0104
COMMITTEES
(@ All bank accounts, safety deposit boxes, and other
depositories utilized by political committees and listed on the
statement of organization as required by G.S. 163A-1412(b)(8) or
G.S. 163A-1414(b) must be maintained in North Carolina.

(b) Whenever a political committee or referendum committee
fails to file with the State Board any report required to be filed
under the provisions of G.S. 163A-1418 or G.S. 163A-1419, the
Board, by certified mail, shall issue a formal Notice of
Noncompliance to the political treasurer of the committee and
shall order that the report be filed within 20 days of issuance. In
the event the committee does not file its report within 20 days of
the issuance of the Notice of Noncompliance, the Board by
certified mail shall issue a Notice of Termination of Active Status,
which shall render the committee ineligible to receive or make
contributions until such time as it has filed the delinquent report
and has satisfied any statutory penalty incurred pursuant to G.S.
163A-1451.

PROCEDURES FOR POLITICAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163A-1412; 163A-1414; 163A-
1439; 163A-1440; 163A-1441; 163A-1445; 163A-1451;

Eff. December 1, 1982;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1990;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

08 NCAC 01 .0106 EMERGENCY POWERS OF
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
() In exercising his or her emergency powers and determining
whether the "normal schedule™ for the election has been disrupted
in accordance with G.S. 163A-750, the Executive Director shall
consider whether one or more components of election
administration has been impaired. The Executive Director shall
consult with State Board members when exercising his or her
emergency powers if feasible given the circumstances set forth in
this Rule.
(b) For the purposes of G.S. 163A-750, the following shall apply:
1) A natural disaster or extremely inclement
weather include a:
(A) Hurricane;
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(B) Tornado;

© Storm or snowstorm;

(D) Flood;

(E) Tidal wave or tsunami;

(F) Earthquake or volcanic eruption;

(©)] Landslide or mudslide; or

(H) Catastrophe arising from natural
causes resulted in a disaster

declaration by the President of the
United States or the Governor.

2 An armed conflict includes mobilization, pre-
deployment, or deployment of active or reserve
members of the United States armed forces or
National Guard during a national emergency or
time of war.

(c) The Executive Director acting under G.S. 163A-750 to
conduct an election in a district where the normal schedule for the
election is disrupted must ensure that remedial measures are
calculated to offset the nature and scope of the disruption(s). In
doing so, the Executive Director shall consider the following
factors:

@ Geographic scope of disruption;

)] Effects on contests spanning affected and non-
affected areas;

3 Length of forewarning and foreseeability of
disruption;

4) Availability of alternative registration or voting

opportunities;
(5) Duration of disruption;

(6) Displacement of voters or election workers;

(7 Access to secure voting locations;

(8) Sufficiency of time remaining for the General
Assembly and the Governor to adopt
emergency legislation  addressing  the
disruption;

9 Detrimental effects on election integrity and

ballot security; and
(10) Aggregate effects on important Federal and
State certification deadlines.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 163A-750;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

ok ok kok %k ok ok ok ok ok ok %k ok ok % ok ok %

08 NCAC 02 .0114
PROTEST FILINGS
(@ The county board of elections shall dismiss any matter
purporting to arise as an election protest under G.S. 163A-1177
on the following bases:

1) The matter fails to contest the manner in which
votes were counted or results tabulated, or fails
to allege a violation of election law or
irregularity or misconduct sufficient to cast
doubt on the results of the election;

2 The individual submitting the matter was
neither a registered voter eligible to participate
in the protested contest within the county nor a

DISMISSAL OF IMPROPER

candidate for nomination or election in the
protested contest;

?3) The matter was not filed in accordance with
G.S. 163A-1177 or was not filed on the form
prescribed in 08 NCAC 02 .0111;

(@) The protest is duplicative or was made for the
purpose of delay;

(5) The protest filing, taking into account the
totality of the circumstances, fails to include
evidence which, if true, substantiates the
probable occurrence of an  outcome-
determinative defect in the manner in which
votes were counted or results tabulated, or the
probable occurrence of an  outcome-
determinative violation of election law,
irregularity, or misconduct; or

(6) The matter, including the initial filing and all
subsequent oral or written submissions, fails to
allege facts sufficient to constitute substantial
evidence of the occurrence of an
outcome-determinative violation of election
law, irregularity, or misconduct.

The State Board may consider protests in accordance with G.S.
163A-1180.

(b) If the matter is filed with a county board of elections, the
county director of elections shall review the allegations and
evidence presented in or attached to the filing. If the director of
elections finds that the filing must be dismissed pursuant to
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the director shall transmit his or her
administrative recommendation that the matter be dismissed,
citing applicable defects and the requirements of this Rule. The
director's administrative recommendation shall be transmitted in
writing to the county board members and the executive director
of the State Board no later than two business days after the matter
was filed. The director of elections shall confirm that the county
board members have received all filings and the director's
administrative recommendation before proceeding to issue a
notice of dismissal. Nothing in this Paragraph shall delay the
county board of elections in proceeding to consider the protest as
required under G.S. 163A-1178. If, after two calendar days
following the transmission required under this Paragraph, neither
a county board member nor the executive director of the State
Board has raised any oral or written objection to the county
director's recommendation for administrative dismissal, the
county director shall issue a written notice of administrative
dismissal to the individual(s) who has filed the matter. The notice
shall:

(8] Be sent by certified mail or commercial courier
such that the date of delivery may be verified,
unless the recipient has agreed in writing to
receive notice by electronic means;

2) State that the matter was provided to the county
board of elections members, but will not be
heard by the county board;

3 State that the matter has been dismissed
administratively, citing this rule and all
applicable bases listed in Paragraph (b) of this
Rule; and
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4) Enclose an appeal form
Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

If within two calendar days, any county board member or the
executive director of the State Board raises any oral or written
objection to the recommendation for administrative dismissal by
the county director, the county board of elections shall proceed to
hear the matter. An objection raised under this Subparagraph shall
in no way affect or limit the county board of elections' authority
to dismiss the matter under Paragraph (b) of this Rule or any other
basis permitted by law.

(c¢) Individuals subject to an administrative dismissal entered by
the director of elections may appeal the decision to the executive

required under

director of the State Board. All appeals brought under this
Paragraph shall be in writing on a form prescribed under this
Paragraph (available at ncsbe.gov) and must be received by the
State Board office no later than five business days after receipt of
the written notice of administrative dismissal from the county
director. The State Board shall be deemed to have received the
written appeal when it receives the physical form required under
this Paragraph either by U.S. mail, courier service, or hand
delivery. All appeals shall be made on a form that includes the
following statements:

1) I am appealing from an administrative dismissal of a matter that | filed at the [county name] Board of Elections on
[date].
(2) I received an administrative notice of dismissal on [date].
3) I have enclosed a copy of my original materials filed with the county board of elections.
YES NO
4) I have enclosed a copy of the written notice of administrative dismissal.
YES NO
(5) This matter should be heard for the following reasons:
(6) I request notice of any action on this appeal at the following address:

Mailing Address:

Phone Number:

Email Address:

(d) The executive director of the State Board shall inspect all
appeals filed under Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Within two
business days after the receipt of an appeal, the executive director
shall transmit a copy of the appeal to the State Board members
along with a written statement indicating the executive director's
administrative determination either to grant or to deny the appeal.
(D) If the executive director's administrative
determination is to grant the appeal, the
executive director shall issue written notice to
the county board of elections and to the
appealing party indicating that the matter is
remanded to the county board of elections for a
hearing. The executive director's administrative
determination under this Subparagraph shall in
no way affect the county board of elections'
authority to dismiss the matter under Paragraph
(a) of this Rule or any other basis permitted by
law.
If the executive director's administrative
determination is to deny the appeal, but any
State Board member raises any oral or written
objection within three calendar days, the
executive director shall grant the appeal, issue
a written notice, and remand the matter to the

)

08 NCAC 10B .0108 CURBSIDE VOTING

county board of elections. If no State Board
member raises any oral or written objection
within three calendar days, the executive
director shall issue a written notice to the
appealing party and to the county board of
elections stating that the appeal is denied.
Dismissal under this Subparagraph shall be
considered a final agency action for purposes of
seeking judicial review.
(e) If the matter is filed with the State Board, the executive
director of the State Board shall proceed in a manner outlined in
Paragraph (b) of this Rule, including distribution to the State
Board members, the opportunity to interpose an objection, and the
issuance of notice, except that there shall be no right of appeal
under Paragraph (c) of this Rule and that the executive director
may administratively remand the matter for hearing by the county
board of elections in the manner prescribed under Subparagraph
(d) of this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-1180;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

sk ok sk ok sk ok sk ook sk ok sk ok sk sk %k sk ok sk ok ook

Pursuant to G.S. 163A-1140, curbside voting shall take place under the following procedures:

1)
chief judge that shall be in the following form:

The county board of elections shall have printed and numbered a supply of affidavits to be distributed to each precinct
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Affidavit of Person Voting Outside Voting Place or Enclosure

State of North Carolina

County of

| do solemnly swear (or affirm) that | am a registered voter in

precinct. That because of age or

physical disability | am unable to enter the voting place to vote in person without physical assistance. That | desire to vote outside the
voting place and enclosure. | understand that a false statement as to my condition will be in violation of North Carolina law.

Date Signature of VVoter
Address
Signature of precinct election official who administered oath;

(2) The chief judge or a judge may designate one and one-stop curbside ballots are tabulated
of the assistants to attend the voter, or assist the separately from each other and from other
voter himself or herself. Upon arrival outside precincts and/or reporting groups.
the voting place, the voter shall execute the
affidavit after being sworn by a precinct History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-1140;
election official. The ballot shall then be Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002;
delivered to the voter who shall mark the ballot Eff. August 1, 2004;
and hand it to the assisting precinct election Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.
official. The ballot shall then be delivered to
one of the judges of elections who shall deposit 08 NCAC 10B .0109 VOTING SITE UNIFORMITY
the ballot in the proper boxes. The affidavit  (a) Station Set-Up. All equipment and furniture in the voting
shall be delivered to a different judge of  enclosure shall be arranged so that it can be seen from the public
election. space of the voting enclosure. Each voting enclosure shall contain

3) The voter and any assisting person shall be at a minimum:
entitled to the same assistance and subject to the @ Check-in station, where voters may provide
same restrictions in marking the ballot as set identification information if required pursuant
forth in G.S. 163A-1139 and 08 NCAC 10B to G.S. 163A-1144 and declare their intent to
.0107. vote. The check-in station shall include the

(@) The affidavit executed by the voter shall be following:
retained by the county board of elections for a (A) Voter lists or pollbooks. If the voting
period of six months. site utilizes an electronic pollbook, the

(5) In those precincts using voting machines, the site. must also maintain a backup
county board of elections shall furnish paper hardcopy for use in the event of
ballots of each kind for use by persons in technical difficulty or disruption;
accordance with this Rule and G.S. 163A-1140. (B) Authorization to Vote Forms and

(6) In any precinct using direct record electronic labels on Election Day or One-Stop
voting equipment, the county board of elections Absentee Applications during the one-
may provide for all such paper ballots to be stop early voting period, and all such
transported upon closing of the polls to the other supplies as may be required by
office of the county board of elections for the Executive Director of the State
counting. Those ballots may be transported Board; and
only by the chief judge, judge, or assistant and © Guides, signage, and all other
shall be tracked using a ballot control form. materials as may be required by the
Upon receipt by the county board of elections, Executive Director of the State Board
these ballots shall be counted and canvassed in for the effective administration of
the same manner as one-stop ballots cast under elections, displayed in the manner
G.S. 163A-1300 except that the count shall specified;
commence when the board has received from 2 Ballot station, where elections officials
each precinct either that precinct's ballots or distribute official ballot and provide ballot-
notification that no such ballots were cast. marking instructions to voters who have
Ballots counted by the county board of completed required vote-authorization
elections under this Paragraph shall be document(s);
tabulated so that election-day curbside ballots
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3) Help station, where voters can receive
assistance if there is any issue checking in the
voter, pursue provisional voting, and where
voter challenges shall be heard;

4) Voting stations (or "booths™) shall be situated
in a manner that ensures the privacy of the
voter's selections and shall be maintained in an
manner clear of electioneering materials and
sample ballots. The number of booths shall not
be fewer than a minimum number determined
by the county board of elections, unless a
greater number is specified by the Executive
Director of the State Board based on expected
voter turnout or other factors;

(5) Exit station, where an election official ensures
ballots are appropriately placed in the tabulator
or ballot box; and

(6) Curbside station, where qualified voters may
vote curbside in accordance with 08 NCAC
10B. 0108.

(b) Technology and Connectivity. Every voting enclosure must
have access to a phone or other device, including a cell phone
when service is available in the building, that facilitates
communication with the county board of elections office and
emergency services. The county board of elections office shall
keep a record of contact information for each voting enclosure
within the county and ensure all elections officials have contact
information for the county board of elections office and
emergency services. Elections officials shall monitor the phone or
device.

(c) Check-in Station. Persons seeking to vote shall enter the
voting enclosure through the entrance and present at the Check-in
Station. The election official at the check-in station shall:

@ Ask the voter to state their current name (as
required by G.S. 163A-1137(a)). If, due to
disability, a voter is unable to state his or her
name, he or she may otherwise signal to the
elections official, including by way of a person
providing assistance or through documents;

(2) Ask the voter to state the address where he or
she resided for at least 30 days as of Election
Day (as required by G.S. 163A-1137(a));

(3) If the election is a partisan primary: Ask the
voter to indicate his or her party affiliation or,
if the voter is unaffiliated, to state which of the
available primary ballots he or she prefers;

(@) If required under G.S. 163A-1144, ask the voter
to provide acceptable identification. Examine
identification document presented by the voter;

(5) Search for and correctly identify the voter in the
pollbook or its equivalent;

(6) Make any updates or corrections to the voter's
name in the voter record;
@) Update the voter's address in the voter record

(or alternately, complete documentation to
make that change if the process is not
automatic), if the voter has moved to a new
address in the county and will have lived at the

address for at least 30 days as of the date of the
election;

(8) If the voter does not present acceptable
identification necessary to verify the identity of
a previously unverified voter:

(A) Provide the help referral
provided by the State Board; and
(B) Direct the voter to the Help Station;

9 Provide the voter with an authorization to vote
document or one-stop application and ask the
voter to confirm the information and sign the
document. The vote-authorizing documents
should be numbered sequentially to aid in the
voting site's required ballot reconciliation
process;

(10) Sign the authorization to vote document or one-
stop application before directing the voter to the
ballot station where, provided the voter is duly
registered and has not been successfully
challenged, the official assigned to distribute
the official ballots shall hand the voter the
official ballot that voter is entitled to vote, or
that voter shall be directed to the voting
equipment that produces the official ballot; and

(11) If a voter is not found to be registered or cannot
be directed to the ballot station:

(A) Provide the help referral
provided by the State Board; and
(B) Refer the voter to the help station for
the purpose of receiving alternate
voting options.
(d) Ballot Station. The ballot station official shall accept the vote-
authorizing document from the voter and review the form and
ensure that it is signed by the voter. For counties using paper
ballots, the official shall retrieve the ballot style listed on the vote-
authorizing document. If the voting site has more than one ballot
style, the official must scan the barcode on the ballot style
retrieved and then scan the barcode on the vote-authorizing
document to ensure that the voter is issued the correct ballot.
During one-stop absentee voting, before issuing the ballot to the
voter, the precinct official shall record the absentee application
number on the ballot. For counties whose paper ballots are coded
by style the official must record the precinct/voter tabulation
district number on the ballot. The official shall sequentially

form

form

number the authorization to vote document or one-stop
application. Next, the precinct official shall:

(8] Direct the voter to the voting equipment and
provide instructions for use of the equipment as
necessary;

2) Instruct the voter to mark the ballot before
placing the ballot into the tabulator;

?3) Provide the wvoter with any technical

information the voter desires as necessary to
enable voting; and
(@) If a voter makes a mistake and asks for a new
ballot, the ballot station official shall follow
procedures pursuant to 08 NCAC 10B. 0104.
(e) Help Station. The help station is the location in the voting
enclosure for discussion with voters about irregular situations
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including provisional voting or precinct transfers. A voter may be
sent to the help station if there is some issue with the voter's
registration or the voter is unable to receive a regular ballot. Each
individual help station shall have:

(1) A Voting Site Station Guide available and on
display, as provided by the Executive Director
of the State Board;

(2) Supplies as specified by the Executive Director
of the State Board; and

3) At least one voting booth set up at or near the
station for provisional voters to mark their
ballots.

(f) Exit Station. An election official shall be posted at the exit
point of a voting enclosures where paper ballots are used and shall
ensure only official ballots are deposited into the tabulator or
ballot box. The exit station official shall ensure that no provisional
ballots are placed in the ballot box and that voters do not leave the
voting enclosure with a ballot.

(9) Curbside Station. Every voting site in the state shall have an
area where qualified voters may vote curbside in accordance with
08 NCAC 10B. 0108.

History Note:
1168;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-1137; 163A-
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08 NCAC 20 .0101 ELECTION OBSERVERS

(a) Observer Lists. The chair of each political party in a county
may designate two precinct-specific observers to attend each
voting place on Election Day and each one-stop site during a
primary or general election in accordance with this Rule. The
party chair may designate 10 additional at-large observers who
may attend any voting place in the county. The list of observers
for one-stop must designate the names of the observers who will
be present on each day of early voting and, for precinct-specific
observers, at each one-stop site. At-large observers may serve at
any one-stop site.

(b) Submission of Lists. The party chair shall submit a written,
signed list of at-large observers to the county director of elections,
with two copies provided to the chair of the county board of
elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day prior to Election
Day. The party chair shall submit a written, signed list of the
observers appointed for each precinct to the chief judge of each
precinct, with two copies provided to the chair of the county board
of elections, prior to 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day prior to Election
Day; the list may be delivered in care of the county director of
elections. The party chair shall submit the list of observers for
one-stop before 10:00 a.m. on the fifth day before the observer is
to observe. The party chair may provide the list by facsimile or
email provided the letters are signed. The list of at-large observers
to serve on Election Day may be amended prior to Election Day
to substitute one or all of the at-large observers. The list of at-large
observers who serve during early voting and the list of precinct-
specific observers may not be amended after the submission
deadline.

(c) Observers at Voting Place. No more than two precinct-
specific observers from each political party may be in the voting

enclosure at any time. Only one at-large observer from each
political party may be in the voting enclosure at any time, even if
no precinct-specific observers are present. All observers, whether
precinct-specific or at-large, may be relieved after serving no less
than four hours. An observer may leave the voting place without
having served for four hours, but the observer cannot be replaced
by a new observer until at least four hours have passed since the
first observer began serving. An observer who leaves the voting
place for any reason may be prohibited by the chief judge from
returning if the observer's return would cause a disruption in the
voting enclosure.

(d) Observer Conduct. Observers in the voting enclosure are
prohibited from engaging in certain activities. Observers who
engage in prohibited conduct after receiving a warning may be
required by the chief judge to leave the voting enclosure.
Prohibited activities by observers include:

1) Wearing or distributing campaign material or
electioneering;

) Impeding or disrupting the voting process or
speaking with voters or election assistants;

©) Interfering with the privacy of the voter,

including positioning themselves in such a way
that they can view confidential voter
information on poll books or laptops or
standing in such a way that they can view the
contents of ballots inserted into a tabulator;

@) Using an electronic device to film or take
photographs inside the voting enclosure;

(5) Taking photographs, videos, or recording a
voter without the consent of the voter and the

chief judge;

(6) Entering the voting booth area or attempting to
view voted ballots;

) Boarding a vehicle containing curbside voters;
and

(8) Providing voter assistance.

(e) Eligibility. No person who is a candidate on the ballot in a
primary or general election may serve as an observer or runner in
that primary or that general election. No person who serves as an
observer or runner in a primary or general election may serve as a
precinct official or one-stop election official in that primary or that
general election.

(f)  Observers for unaffiliated candidates. An unaffiliated
candidate or the candidate's campaign manager may appoint two
observers at each voting place as set forth in this Rule.

(g) The use of the term "chief judge" includes one-stop site
managers.

History Note: Authority G.S. 163A-741; 163A-821; 163A-
1136; 163A-1137;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES
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10A NCAC 09 .0401
FACILITIES

PROVISIONAL LICENSES FOR

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88(6); 110-99; 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1986;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; April 1, 1992; August 1, 1990; July 1,
1988; January 1, 1987,

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 09 .1904 ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS
History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88(5); 110-88(6a);
110-102.2; 110-103.1; 143B-168.3; 150B-3; 150B-23;

Eff. January 1, 1986;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 1990; November 1, 1989;
July 1, 1988;

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 09 .2201 ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS
GENERAL PROVISIONS

(&) Upon a finding that a child care facility operator has violated
any provision of G.S. 110, Article 7, the rules of this Chapter, or
10A NCAC 10, the Secretary or his or her designee may order one
or more administrative actions. The administrative actions
include:

@ a written reprimand as set forth in Rule .2202 of
this Section;

(2) a written warning as set forth in Rule .2203 of
this Section;

3) a provisional child care facility license or

provisional notice of compliance not to exceed
12 months as set forth in Rule .2204 of this
Section;

(@) a special provisional child care facility license
or special provisional notice of compliance not
to exceed six months and may include a limited
enrollment restriction as set forth in Rule .2207
of this Section;

(5) a probationary child care facility license or
probationary notice of compliance not to
exceed 12 months as set forth in Rule .2205 of
this Section;

(6) revocation of the child care facility license, or
an order to cease operation to operate a child
care facility as set forth in Rule .2209 of this
Section;

@) summary suspension of the child care facility
license, notice of compliance, or other permit to
operate a child care facility that results in
immediate closure of the facility as set forth in
Rule .2213 of this Section;

(8) denial of an application or child care facility
license as set forth in Rule .2215 of this Section;
and

9) suspension of the child care facility license,

notice of compliance, or other permit to operate
a child care facility not to exceed 12 months and
results in closure of the facility on the date of

the order as set forth in Rule .2206 of this
Section.
(b) The Division shall consider the following factors when
determining whether to issue an administrative action or what
type of administrative action to be issued, including:

1) the severity of the violation or incident;

) the probability of recurrence of the violation or
incident;

?3) all prior administrative actions issued to the
facility;

4 all prior incidents where the Division has

determined that abuse, neglect, or child
maltreatment occurred at the facility;

(5) the operator's response to the violation or
incident, including actions taken to prevent
recurrence, such as revision to facility policies

and procedures or additional staff training;

(6) a self- report of the violation or incident was
submitted to the Division by the operator; and
@) information or records received from local,

State, or federal agencies relevant to the

violation or incident.

(c) For purposes of this Section, the following definitions shall
apply:
(8] "Pattern of noncompliance” means violations of

G.S. 110, Article 7, this Chapter, or 10A NCAC

10 documented during a time period of 18

months or less involving situations or incidents

for which technical assistance has been
provided and the operator continues to
demonstrate noncompliance.

2 "Harm" as referenced in G.S. 110-105.3(b)(3)
means:

(A) physical, psychological, or emotional
injury to a child by a caregiver;

B) an act of omission or commission to a
child by a caregiver that is likely to
result in or that results in permanent
limitations or disability;

© sexual abuse; or

(D) the death of a child.

(d) In accordance with G.S. 150B-3(b) the Division shall issue a
prior notice of administrative action to the operator or prospective
operator regarding the determination to issue a provisional child
care facility license or notice of compliance, special provisional
child care facility license or notice of compliance, probationary
child care facility license or notice of compliance, revocation of
the child care facility license, order to cease operation, suspension
of the child care facility license or notice of compliance, or denial
of a child care facility license or notice of compliance. The
operator or prospective operator shall be given an opportunity to
respond in writing as to why the administrative action should not
be taken. The written response shall be submitted to the Division
within 15 days of receiving the prior notice of administrative
action. Upon receiving a written request from an owner or
operator, the Division shall grant an extension of time not to
exceed an additional 15 days, so long as the request is received
before the initial response time has ended.
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(e) The Division may issue a different type of administrative
action based upon the operator's or prospective operator's written
response in accordance with Paragraph (d) of this Rule.

() The Division shall issue a final notice of administrative action
to the operator or prospective operator. The final notice of
administrative action shall describe the reasons for its issuance
including identification of the statutes or rules violated.

(@) When a corrective action plan is included in the notice of
administrative action, it shall describe those actions necessary for
the operator to be in full compliance with requirements of G.S.
110, Article 7, this Chapter, or 10A NCAC 10, and shall specify
a time period for completion of additional requirements that may
prevent recurrence, such as training or policy implementation.
Corrective action plans may be issued only with a written
warning, provisional child care facility license or notice of
compliance, special provisional child care facility license or
notice of compliance, and probationary child care facility license
or notice of compliance. Subject to the exceptions in Paragraph (i)
of this Rule, corrective action plans are stayed during the
pendency of an appeal.

(h) Protection plans and immediate corrective action plans as set
forth in G.S. 110-105.3(e) and (f) and restrictions that prohibit
new enrollment as set forth in G.S. 110-105.6(f) shall not be
stayed during the pendency of an appeal.

(i) Following the issuance of any administrative action the
operator shall post the administrative action, cover letter, and
corrective action plan, if applicable, received from the Division in
a location visible to parents and visitors near the entrance of the
child care facility during the pendency of an appeal and
throughout the effective time period of an administrative action.
The effective time period shall end as follows:

@ three months from receipt of a final notice of
administrative action containing a written
reprimand;

2 three months and upon receipt of a closure letter

from the Division stating that the corrective
action plan has been completed for a final
notice of administrative action containing a
written warning;
3) upon issuance of a star rated license following
a final notice of administrative action
containing a special provisional child care
facility license, a provisional child care facility
license, or a probationary child care facility
license; or
(@) upon re-issuance of a notice of compliance
following a final notice of administrative action
containing a special provisional notice of
compliance, a provisional notice of compliance,
or a probationary notice of compliance.
(i) Following the issuance of an administrative action other than
a written reprimand, the Division shall monitor the child care
facility for compliance with:

1) the following health and safety requirements:
(A) supervision of children;
(B) discipline, nurture, or care of children;

(© staff/child ratio;
(D) group size;
(E) licensed capacity;

() permit restriction;

(G) CPR training;

(H) First Aid training;

m ITS-SIDS training; and

) criminal record check requirements
regarding pre-service and three-year
reassessments in accordance with G.S.
110-90.2(b).

2 protection plans and immediate corrective
action plans as set forth in G.S. 110-105.3(e)
and (f), restrictions that prohibit new
enrollment as set forth in G.S. 110-105.6(f), and
license restrictions during the time period of the
administrative action, including administrative
actions that may be stayed pending appeal; and

3 the terms of the administrative action, including
license restrictions and completion of the
corrective action plan, except for administrative
actions that are stayed pending appeal.

(k) If the operator fails to achieve compliance during the specified
time period of an administrative action, the Division may assess a
civil penalty or take additional administrative action to achieve
compliance.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-90; 110-
102.2; 110-103.1; 110-105.3; 110-105.5; 110-105.6; 143B-
168.3; 150B-3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; January 1, 2006; April 1, 2001,
November 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 09 .2202 WRITTEN REPRIMANDS

A written reprimand may be issued to an operator for any of the
criteria set forth in Rule .2203 of this Section for which the
Division has determined that no corrective action plan is required
using the factors contained in Rule .2201(b) of this Section.

History Note:
143B-168.3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 1990; November 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2;

10A NCAC 09 .2203 WRITTEN WARNINGS

A written warning, which shall include a corrective action plan,
may be issued to an operator in regard to any violation including,
but not limited to, these situations:

(8] a substantiation of one or more violations as a
result of a complaint that do not meet the
criteria for a maltreatment finding in
accordance with G.S. 110-105.3(b)(3) but for
which corrective action is needed,;

2) citation of 16 or more violations of separate
rules in a single visit where the operator does
not meet the criteria of other administrative
actions set forth in this Section; or

3 citation of one of the following violations on
two consecutive visits:
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@ supervision of children;

(b) discipline, nurture, or care of children;

(© staff/child ratio;

(d) group size;

(e) licensed capacity;

) permit restriction;

(9) CPR training;

(h) First Aid training;

M ITS-SIDS training; and

() criminal record check requirements
regarding pre-service and three-year
reassessments in accordance with G.S.
110-90.2(b).

History Note:
143B-168.3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;
Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2;

10A NCAC 09 .2204 PROVISIONAL CHILD CARE
FACILITY LICENSE OR PROVISIONAL NOTICE OF
COMPLIANCE

A provisional child care facility license or provisional notice of
compliance may be issued to an operator for any period of time
not to exceed 12 months for, among other things, the following
reasons:

(1) a substantiation of one or more violations as a
result of a complaint that do not meet the
criteria for a maltreatment finding pursuant to
G.S. 110-105.3(b)(3) but for which more than
three months is needed to monitor for corrective
action implementation;

)] to allow a time period for correcting a violation
of the building, fire, or sanitation requirements,
provided that the inspector documents that the
violation is not hazardous to the health or safety

of the children, including lead hazard
remediation;
3) to allow a time period for correction of an

administratively dissolved corporation status
from the North Carolina Secretary of State;

4) when the compliance history of the facility
drops below the minimum requirement set forth
in G.S. 110-90;

(5) change of location of a child care facility

without proper notification to the Division as
specified in Rules 10A NCAC 09 .0204(b),
.0403(a), and .1702(d); or

(6) pattern of noncompliance.

History Note:
143B-168.3;
Eff. February 1, 2019.

Authority G.S. 110-88(6); 110-90; 110-99;

10A NCAC 09 .2205 PROBATIONARY LICENSE OR
PROBATIONARY NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE

A probationary license or probationary notice of compliance may
be issued to an operator for any period of time not to exceed 12

months in accordance with the factors listed in 10A NCAC 09
.2201(b) for the following reasons:

(D) a violation of any section of the G.S. 110,
Article 7 of this Chapter that has been willful,
continual, or hazardous to the health or safety
of children;

) the operator has failed to comply with the terms
of a corrective action plan issued with a written
warning or provisional license or notice of
compliance; or

?3) when, in accordance with G.S. 110-105.3, the
Division determines that child maltreatment
occurred in a child care facility and there is a
pattern of noncompliance.

History Note:
143B-168.3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;
Amended. Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC
09 .2204).

Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2;

10A NCAC 09 .2206 SUSPENSION

A suspension of a license or suspension of a notice of compliance
may be issued to an operator for a time period not to exceed 12
consecutive months for the following reasons:

1) the operator of the child care facility is a
corporate entity that has been placed under
revenue suspension by the North Carolina
Secretary of State;

2) when the Division has issued a provisional
child care facility license or notice of
compliance related to building, fire, or
sanitation requirements and the operator has
failed to comply; or

3) to allow a specific time period for correcting a
violation of building, fire, or sanitation
requirements, provided that the appropriate
inspector documents that closure of the child
care facility is necessary to protect health or
safety of children during correction.

The suspension of a child care facility license or suspension of a
notice of compliance shall not be stayed during the pendency of
an appeal.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2;
143B-168.3; 150B-3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1989;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC
09 .2205).

10A NCAC 09 .2207 SPECIAL PROVISIONAL CHILD
CARE FACILITY LICENSE OR SPECIAL
PROVISIONAL NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE

(&) When the Division determines that child maltreatment has
occurred in accordance with G.S. 110-105.3, the Division may
issue a special provisional license or special provisional notice of
compliance to an operator for a period not to exceed six months.
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(b) A limited enrollment restriction may be included on the
special provisional child care facility license or special
provisional notice of compliance that prevents new children from
being enrolled during the special provisional time period until the
Division is satisfied that unsafe conditions no longer exist.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-105.3;
110-105.6; 143B-168.3;
Eff. February 1, 2019.

10A NCAC 09 .2208
PURPOSE

CIVIL PENALTIES: SCOPE AND

History Note: G.S.
143B-168.3;

Eff. January 1, 1986;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1, 1989; January 1, 1987;

Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019.

Authority 110-90(9);  110-103.1;

10A NCAC 09 .2209 REVOCATION OF A CHILD
CARE FACILITY LICENSE OR AN ORDER TO CEASE
OPERATION
Revocation of a child care facility license or an order to cease
operation may be issued to an operator for the following reasons:
@ child maltreatment has occurred in a child care
facility and harm occurred as set forth in Rule
.2201(c)(2) of this Section;
more than two determinations of child
maltreatment have occurred at a child care
facility within three years;
violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7
or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10
has been willful or continual as evidenced by:
@ a pattern of noncompliance, and the
operator has not made efforts to
correct repeated violations or is unable
to comply; or
the operator has failed to comply with
the terms of a corrective action plan
issued with a special provisional or
probationary license or notice of
compliance;
violation of any section of G.S. 110, Article 7
or the Rules of this Chapter or 10A NCAC 10
is hazardous to health or safety of children;
the operator fails to comply with an
implemented protection plan as set forth in G.S.
110-105.3(e);
the operator falsifies information in violation of
G.S. 110-91(14);
the compliance history of the facility drops
below the minimum requirement set forth in
G.S. 110-90 and the conditions at the facility
are hazardous to the health and safety of the
children or staff;
receipt of a disapproved  sanitation
classification that is not corrected with a
provisional or approved sanitation
classification; or

()

3)

(b)

(4)

()

(6)
(")

(8)

9 the operator of the child care facility is a
corporate entity that has been placed under
revenue suspension from the North Carolina
Secretary of State that has not been corrected
within one year of issuance of a Suspension as

set forth in Rule .2206 of this Section.

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-102.2;
143B-168.3; 150B-3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; August 1, 1990; November 1, 1989;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC
09 .2206).

10A NCAC 09 .2213 SUMMARY SUSPENSION

The Division may issue a summary suspension of a child care
facility license or notice of compliance to an operator if the
agency finds that the public health, safety, or welfare requires
emergency action. The order shall be effective on the date on the
date specified in the order or on service of the certified copy of
the order, whichever is later, in accordance with G.S. 150B-3. The
order shall be effective during proceedings to suspend or revoke
the child care facility license or during proceedings to cease
operation of a facility with a notice of compliance. Administrative
actions summarily suspending a child care facility license, notice
of compliance, or other permit to operate a child care facility shall
not be stayed during the pendency of an appeal pursuant to G.S.
150B-3(c).

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90; 110-105.6;
143B-168.3; 150B-3;

Eff. July 1, 1988;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; November 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC
09 .2207).

10A NCAC 09 .2216 AMOUNT OF CIVIL PENALTIES
FOR CHILD CARE FACILITIES

(&) The amount of the penalty assessed to an operator shall be
based upon the following:

1) willful or negligent noncompliance by the
operator;

2) extent of deviation from the rule or law;

3) evidence of effort to comply;

4) harm or risk of harm to children; and

5) any other factors relevant to the situation.

(b) A separate penalty may be imposed for each violation.
(c) A civil penalty in an amount up to one thousand dollars
(%$1,000) may be imposed for the following violations:

1) Noncompliance with the rules and laws for:

(A) staff-child ratios;

(B) adequate supervision of children;

© transportation of children;

(D) use of swimming pools and other
swim areas;

(BE) administration of medication;

(P discipline, nurture, or care of children;
or

(G) medical action plan requirements;
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(2) Disapproved fire safety, building or sanitation QD acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
inspection reports; - 24 hours;
(3) Exceeding licensed capacity of center, or use of (2) anthrax - immediately;
unauthorized space; (3)  botulism - immediately;
4) Change of ownership or relocation of center 4) brucellosis - 7 days;
without prior notification to the Division; o )
(5) Determination of child maltreatment at the Eg; éi?g?g;gi‘;ir Igzeﬁgtj)rns; 24 hours;
center as set forth in G.S. 110-105.3; o ' .
(6) Willful, repeated noncompliance with any @) ?gébs)pen;?r;sffs'§tant Enterobacteriaceae
requirement; or - '
(7 Denial of entry to a representative of the ®) chancroid - 24 hours;
Department or Division. 9 chikungunya virus infection - 24 hours;
(d) A civil penalty in an amount up to five hundred dollars (10) chlamydial infection (laboratory confirmed) - 7
($500.00) may be imposed for the following violations: days;
(1) Noncompliance with the rules and laws for: (11) cholera - 24 hours;
(A) staff health requirements; (12)  Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease — 7 days;
(B) staff qualifications; (13)  cryptosporidiosis — 24 hours;
© children's hgglth requirements; (14) cyclosporiasis — 24 hours;
(D) proper nutrition; _ (15)  dengue - 7 days;
(E) [Sjarlgcl;ttact:fsn and  personal hygiene (16)  diphtheria - 24 hours;
Ices; . . . . .
G indoor or outdoor space; a7 E;E?:-“Chla coli, shiga toxin-producing - 24
(G) emergency medical plan; or L )
)] Failure to comply with a corrective action plan. (18) ehrllch|0_5|§ -7 da)(s, )
(e) A civil penalty in an amount up to two hundred fifty dollars (19) encephalitis, arbowral i ! da){s, .
($250.00) may be imposed for the following violations: (20)  foodborne disease, including ~Clostridium
(1) Noncompliance with the rules and laws for: perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus,
(A) safe environment: and other and unknown causes - 24 hours;
(B) age-appropriate activities; or (21)  gonorrhea - 24 hours;
© staff development; (22) granuloma inguinale - 24 hours;
2 Failure to post current child care license or (23)  Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease - 24
notice of compliance to operate a child care hours;
center; or (24) Hantavirus infection — 7 days;
3) Failure to maintain records as set forth in Rule (25) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome — 24 hours;
.2318 of this Chapter. (26)  Hemorrhagic fever virus infection —
) ) immediately;
History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90(9); 110-103.1; 27 hepatitis A - 24 hours;
é?fliaﬁify L 1989: (28)  hepatitis B - 24 hours;
Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from 10A NCAC (29) hepat!t!s B carriage - 7 da}/s,
09 .2209). (30) hepatitis C acute — 7 (_ja_ys, _
(31) human  immunodeficiency  virus  (HIV)
infection confirmed - 24 hours;
é%%ﬁf?&ggFéﬁéHlLschfgg ICEE,\?-FECRISVIL (32) Lnfluenza virus infection causing death — 24
ours;
History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-90(9); 110-103.1; (33)  legionellosis - 7 days;
143B-168.3; (34)  leprosy —7 days;
Eff. January 1, 1986; (35)  leptospirosis - 7 days;
Amended eff. April 1, 2001, October 1, 1991; (36) listeriosis — 24 hours;
Repealed Eff. February 1, 2019 (Transferred from .2213). (37) Lyme disease - 7 days;
(38) Lymphogranuloma venereum - 7 days;
sk oskosk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk sk ok . i
(39) malaria - 7 days;
10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND Ejg; 2??:?; t(irsutr))t;(zj?mfjc:;urs,? days:
CONDITIONS : ’
(a) The following named diseases and conditions are declared to (42)  meningococcal disease - 24 hours;
be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made reportable (43)  Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) - 24
within the time period specified after the disease or condition is hours;
reasonably suspected to exist: (44)  monkeypox — 24 hours;
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(45) mumps - 7 days; (B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type).

(46)  nongonococcal urethritis - 7 days; (C)  Bacillus anthracis, the cause of

(47)  novel influenza virus infection — immediately; anthrax. .

(48) plague - immediately: (D) B(r)]rdet_ella per;u?sw,t th_e) cause of

(49) paralytic poliomyelitis - 24 hours; Whooping COugn (Pertussts).

(50) pelvic inflammatory disease — 7 days; (E) Eorrella} burgdorfe.rl, the cause of

. . ’ yme disease (confirmed tests).
gg gs:ct:/(:r)ms?fd;;sa}ys, (F) Brucella spp., the causes of
) ' brucellosis.

(53)  rabies, human - 24 hours; (G) Campylobacter spp., the causes of

(54) Rocky Mountain spotted fever - 7 days; campylobacteriosis.

(55)  rubella - 24 hours; (H) Candida auris.

(56)  rubella congenital syndrome - 7 days; M Carbapenem-Resistant

(57) salmonellosis - 24 hours; Enteroba(_:terlaceae (CRE)'

(58) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) — 24 Q) Chlgmydla trachomgtls, the.causg of
hours: gen!tal ' __chlamydlal infection,

(59) shigellosis - 24 hours; ;ﬁg{lur:gtr:;gt:)sfﬁgxlt}oﬂg nenborm)and

(60)  smallpox - immediately; _ (K)  Clostridium botulinum, a cause of

(61) Staphylococcus  aureus  with  reduced botulism.
susceptibility to vancomycin — 24 hours; (L) Clostridium tetani, the cause of

(62) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive tetanus.
disease - 7 days; (M)  Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the

(63)  syphilis - 24 hours; cause of diphtheria.

(64) tetanus - 7 days; (N) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q fever.

(65)  toxic shock syndrome - 7 days; 0) Cryptosporidium parvum, the cause of

(66) trichinosis - 7 days; human cryptosporidiogis.

(67) tuberculosis - 24 hours; (P) S%cll(;)sspp;rizs;::\yetanesm, the cause of

(68) tularemia — immediately; o '

(69)  typhoid - 24 hours; Q Er?rrllil(?r?ilélsis spp., the causes  of

(70) typhoid ca_rriag(_e (Salmonella typhi) - 7 days; (R) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia

(71)  typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) - 7 days; coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis,

(72)  vaccinia— 24 hours; hemolytic uremic syndrome, and

(73) vibrio infection (other than cholera) — 24 hours; thrombotic thrombocytopenic

(74) whooping cough — 24 hours; and purpura.

(75) yellow fever - 7 days. (S) Francisella tularensis, the cause of

(b) For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human tularemia.

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection™ is defined as a positive (M Hepatitis B virus or any component
virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by thereof, such as hepatitis B surface
western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, positive antigen.

nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed testing (9)] Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the
method approved by the Director of the State Public Health cause of AIDS.

Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990. In selecting V) Legionella spp., the causes of
additional tests for approval, the Director of the State Public legionellosis.

Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have been (W) Leptospira spp., the causes of
approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, leptospirosis.

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and X) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of
Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health listeriosis.

Laboratories. ) Middle East respiratory syndrome
(c) In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium virus.

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in G.S. 2) Monkeypox.

130A-139, laboratories shall report using electronic laboratory (AA)  Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of
reporting (ELR), secure telecommunication, or paper reports. leprosy.

1) Isolation or other specific identification of the (BB)  Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae,
following organisms or their products from P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of
human clinical specimens: malaria in humans.

(A) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever (CC)  Poliovirus (any), the cause of
virus. poliomyelitis.
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@)

®3)

(4)

(DD)  Rabies virus.

(EE)  Rickettsia rickettsii, the cause of
Rocky Mountain spotted fever.

(FF) Rubella virus.

(GG) Salmonella spp., the causes of
salmonellosis.

(HH)  Shigella spp., the causes of shigellosis.

) Smallpox virus, the cause of smallpox.

(J9) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced
susceptibility to vanomycin.

(KK)  Trichinella spiralis, the cause of
trichinosis.

(LL)  Vaccinia virus.

(MM)  Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera and
other vibrioses.

(NN)  Yellow fever virus.

(O0)  Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague.

Isolation or other specific identification of the
following organisms from normally sterile
human body sites:

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes
(group A streptococci).

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b.

© Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of

meningococcal disease.
Positive serologic test results, as specified, for
the following infections:

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or
equivalent changes in serum antibody
titers to:

(i) Any arthropod-borne viruses
associated with meningitis or
encephalitis in a human.

(i) Any hantavirus or
hemorrhagic fever virus.

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the cause
of psittacosis.

(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause
of Q fever.

(v) Dengue virus.

(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of
ehrlichiosis.

(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus.

(viii) ~ Mumps virus.

(ix) Rickettsia  rickettsii, the
cause of Rocky Mountain
spotted fever.

x) Rubella virus.

(xi) Yellow fever virus.

(B) The presence of IgM serum antibodies

to:

(i) Chlamydia psittaci.

(if) Hepatitis A virus.

(iii) Hepatitis B virus core antigen.

(iv) Rubella virus.

(v) Rubeola (measles) virus.

(vi) Yellow fever virus.
Laboratory results from tests to determine the
absolute and relative counts for the T-helper

®)

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results
from tests to determine HIV viral load.
Identification of CRE from a clinical specimen
associated with either infection or colonization,
including all susceptibility results and all
phenotypic or molecular test results.

(d) Laboratories utilizing electronic laboratory reporting (ELR)
shall report in addition to those listed under Paragraph (c) of this

All positive laboratory results from tests used to
diagnosis chronic Hepatitis C Infection,
including the following:

(A) Hepatitis C virus antibody tests
(including the test specific signal to
cut-off (s/c) ratio);

(B) Hepatitis C nucleic acid tests;

© Hepatitis C antigen(s) tests; and

(D) Hepatitis C genotypic tests.

All HIV genotypic test results, including when

available:

(A) The entire nucleotide sequence; or

B) The pol region sequence (including all
regions: protease (PR)/reverse
transcriptase (RT) and integrase (INI)
genes, if available).

For the purposes of reporting, Carbapenem-Resistant

Enterobacteriaceae (CRE) are defined as:

Rule:
(1)
(2)
(e)
(1)
(2)

History Note:
139; 130A-141;

Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Klebsiella spp
positive for a known carbapenemase resistance
mechanism or positive on a phenotypic test for
carbapenemase production; or

Enterobacter spp, E.coli or Kilebsiella spp
resistant to any carbapenem in the absence of
carbapenemase resistance mechanism testing or
phenotypic  testing for  carbapenemase
production.

Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 2002;
February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004;

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 2006;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010;
Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 2, 2014;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2015;

Emergency Amendment Eff. March 1, 2016;
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2016;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; October 1, 2016;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A,
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018;
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Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.
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10ANCAC 63A .0101 NON-DISCRIMINATION

No individual seeking or receiving services through any program
administered by the Division of Services for the Blind shall be
discriminated against on the basis of race, national origin, gender,
religion, or disabling condition.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-157;
Eff. August 1, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0101
As used in this Subchapter:
(1) "Blind person” or "legally blind" means a
person who meets the criteria defined in 34
CFR 395.1(c) and G.S. 111-11.

PURPOSE AND DEFINITIONS

(2) "Division" or "DSB" means Division of
Services for the Blind.
3 "Blind licensee™ or "licensee™ means a blind

person licensed by the Division to operate a
Business Enterprises facility on federal, State,
or other property.

(@) "Blind operator" or "operator” means a blind
licensee who is operating a Business
Enterprises facility on federal, State, or other
property.

(5) The "Business Enterprises Program (BEP)"
means a program that provides training and the
opportunity for blind individuals to achieve
self-employment through the operation of
vending and food service facilities on federal,
State, and other properties.

(6) "Business Enterprises facility" "or facility"
means any vending and food service facility
operated by the North Carolina Business
Enterprises Program as defined in 34 CFR
395.1.

(7 "Elected Committee of Blind Vendors
(ECBV)" means a committee as defined in 34
CFR 395.14 whose members are elected by the
Business Enterprises operators.

(8) "Active participation” means communications
and negotiations between the Elected
Committee of Blind Vendors and the Division
in matters pertaining to major administrative
decisions and policy and program development
decisions affecting the overall administration of
the Business Enterprises Program prior to
implementation.

9) "Host facility" means the sponsor or owner of a
site upon which a Business Enterprises facility
is located.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1986; October 1, 1978;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Amended Eff.October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0102 RESPONSIBILITY
(a) The Division shall assure that:

(D) each operator is provided access to all program
and financial data of the Division relevant to the
operation of the Business Enterprises Program,
including quarterly and annual financial
reports, to the extent that such disclosure does
not violate applicable federal and state laws
pertaining to the disclosure of confidential

information;

2 insofar as practicable such data shall be made
available on tape, disk, large print, and Braille;
and

3) at the request of an operator, the Division will

arrange a convenient time to assist in the
interpretation of such data.
(b) The Division shall furnish to each operator copies of
documents relevant to the operation of the Business Enterprises
facility, including the rules, regulations and program manuals, a
written description of the arrangements for providing services,
and the agreement and permit covering the operation of the
Business Enterprises facility, and shall, upon request, explain
these documents to each operator. Documents shall be made
available in the requested accessible format.
(c) The Division shall supervise and manage each Business
Enterprises facility in accordance with the rules and regulations
governing the Business Enterprises Program.
(d) The Division shall assist the Elected Committee of Blind
Vendors in planning meetings and instructional conferences upon
request.

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; October 1, 1978;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0103 BUSINESS ENTERPRISES
FACILITY EQUIPMENT: MERCHANDISE: AND
SUPPLIES

(a) The Division shall furnish each Business Enterprises facility
with the equipment, initial stock, and initial supplies that are
necessary to operate the unit.

(b) Except as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the right, title
to, and interest in Business Enterprises equipment, merchandise,
petty cash, and all other assets used in the program shall be vested
in the Division only and may be used and disposed of by the
Division for program purposes only, and in accordance with state
and federal law.

(c) Ifthe Division and operator agree in writing that the right, title
to, and interest in Business Enterprises stock will be vested in the
operator, then the Division shall retain a first option to repurchase
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such stock and, in the event the operator dies, for any other reason
ceases to be an operator, or transfers to another vending facility,
the ownership of such stock shall become vested in the Division
for transfer to a successor operator subject to an obligation of the
Division to pay to such operator or the operator's heirs the fair
value of the stock. The Division's obligation to pay the fair value
of the stock to the operator or the operator's heirs under this Rule
shall be reduced by the amount of any outstanding debt owed by
the operator to the Division.

(d) The Division shall maintain all Business Enterprises
equipment in good repair and in attractive condition, and shall
replace worn-out or obsolete equipment as required to assure the
continued successful operation of the facility. The licensed
operator of a facility shall take the initiative in identifying needed
equipment repairs and replacement.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.6; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0104 TRAINING PROGRAM

The Division shall provide for the training of legally blind
individuals according to the requirements of 34 CFR 395.11 and
for the training and retraining of blind operators with assistance
from the Elected Committee of Blind VVendors.

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.11; 34 C.F.R. 395.14; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1986;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0201  ISSUANCE OF LICENSES

The Division, through the Business Enterprises Program, shall
license blind individuals who meet eligibility requirements for the
Business Enterprises Program. The licensee shall signify
acceptance of the licensing by placing their signature or mark on
the license. This license shall be issued for an indefinite period
but shall be subject to suspension or termination if, after affording
the operator or licensee an opportunity for a full evidentiary
hearing, the Business Enterprises facility is not being operated in
accordance with the rules in this Subchapter, the terms and
conditions of the facility permit, contract or agreement and the
terms and conditions of the operator agreement.

History Note:
U.S.C. Sec. 107;
Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.7; 20

10A NCAC 63C .0202 ELIGIBILITY FOR LICENSING
(a) The Division shall interview prospective licensees as referred
by the vocational rehabilitation program and shall make written
recommendations to the Chief of the Business Enterprises
Program concerning the potential of the referral commensurate
with the specific job requirements of the Business Enterprises
Program.

(b) To be considered for training and licensure, the prospective
licensee shall:

(D) meet the definition of legally blind in 34 CFR
395.1(c) and G.S. 111-11;

2 be at least 21 years of age;

?3) be physically able to perform all the duties as
further detailed in this Subchapter;

4 be evaluated for and demonstrate proficiency of
skill in basic mobility, mathematics, basic
computer  skills, verbal and  written
communications, reading comprehension, and
basic food service practices;

(5) be familiar with the rules and regulations for
Business Enterprises Program, successfully
complete the Business Enterprises training
program sponsored by the Division, and be
certified by the Division as capable of operating
a Business Enterprises facility;

(6) be a citizen of the United States and reside in
North Carolina;

@) not have previous convictions of misdemeanors
involving crimes of dishonesty or of any felony;
and

8) submit to and pass a drug and alcohol screening

provided by the Division.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395; 20
U.S.C. sec. 107; 143B-157;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1990;
February 1, 1986; June 1, 1982;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0205 CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT
BETWEEN DIVISION AND OPERATOR
(a) Each licensee or operator who accepts a Business Enterprises
assignment shall enter into an operating agreement with the
Division upon initial placement and upon subsequent
reassignment.
(b) When a permit or contract with a host facility is developed, it
shall become a part of the operator agreement and the operator
shall conduct the business in accordance with the provisions of
that permit or contract.
(c) The operator agreement shall include provisions which
specify:
1) responsibilities of the licensed operator
required by the rules in this Subchapter;
2 responsibilities of the Division required by the
rules in this Subchapter;
3 the licensed operator will receive the net
proceeds in accordance with 34 CFR 395.9
from the Business Enterprises facility he or she
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operates in accordance with Section .0700 of
this Subchapter;

4) the operator's right to terminate the agreement
at any time;

(5) the agreement will terminate upon termination
of the permit or contract with the host facility;

(6) that the agreement will terminate upon failure

of the licensed operator to operate the Business
Enterprises facility in accordance with the
agreement or the rules in this Subchapter or
applicable federal, State, or local laws or

regulations;

@) the agreement will terminate upon the closing
of a facility that offers no possibility of being
profitable.

History Note: ~ Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.1; 34
C.F.R. 395.3; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1984; February 1,
1983;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0206
INFORMATION

All information and records pertaining to participants in the
Business Enterprises Program shall be confidential and may not
be revealed except in the administration of the program, by the
consent of the participant, or as otherwise required by law.

CONFIDENTIAL

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 361.49; 20
U.S.C. Sec. 107a et seq., as amended;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Recodified from .0409(f) effective May 30, 1984;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1986;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10ANCAC 63C .0302 TEMPORARY CLOSING
History Note:
U.S.C. sec. 107;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1990; February 1, 1986;
October 1, 1978;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Repealed Eff October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.4; 20

10A NCAC 63C .0401 PURPOSE

History Note: Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.4; 34 C.F.R. 395.13; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1984;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0402 POLICY

(&) Every operator or licensee or the ECBV has the right to
present a problem or appeal free from interference, restraint,
coercion, discrimination, or reprisal. This Rule shall be covered
fully during orientation procedures for new operators or licensees.
(b) When presenting an appeal, an operator or licensee or the
ECBV may be accompanied by a person or persons of his or her
choice.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.4; 34 C.F.R. 395.13; 20 U.S.C. sec 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1984, February 1, 1981;

Recodified Paragraph (f) to Rule .0212 Eff. May 30, 1984;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; August 1, 1990;
February 1, 1986;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0501 ELECTION

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.14; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1986;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0506
OPERATION

(a) The Division shall provide for the biennial election of a State
Elected Committee of Blind Vendors (ECBV) that, to the extent
possible, shall be fully representative of all blind licensees and
operators in the Business Enterprises Program on the basis of such
factors as geography and vending facility type, with a goal of
providing for proportional representation of blind vendors on
federal property and blind vendors on other property.
Participation by any blind vendor in any election shall not be
conditioned upon the payment of dues or any other fees.

(b) The ECBV membership shall be composed of operators who
represent all licensees and operators in the Business Enterprises
Program, as elected based on the four geographic regions and the
one federal region that encompasses all federal facilities. Two
representatives shall be elected from each designated ECBV
region.

(c) The term of office for ECBV members shall be two years
beginning on April 1 following the election. Each region shall
have one term expire in even-numbered years and one term expire
in odd-numbered years. The ECBV members may serve unlimited
terms.

(d) Unexpired terms in the elective offices shall be filled by
majority vote of the ECBV. Filling an unexpired term on the
ECBV shall not be considered countable time toward the two-year
term of office.

(e) The officers of the ECBV shall be a chair and a vice-chair, as
elected by the ECBV from among ECBV members.

(f) The ECBV chair and vice-chair may serve unlimited terms.
(g) The ECBV shall hold quarterly business meetings and at other
times upon the call of the chair with majority approval of the
ECBV. The chair shall provide the Business Enterprises Program

ORGANIZATION AND
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with a written meeting agenda ten business days before each
meeting.

1) The chair shall preside over all business
meetings of the ECBV.

(2) The chair shall conduct meetings according to
Roberts Rules of Order.

3) A majority shall constitute a quorum.

4) The chair shall create subcommittees as the

business of the ECBV warrants, excluding
those subcommittees specifically required in
Paragraph (h) of this Rule.

(5) In the absence or disability of the chair, the
vice-chair shall assume all the duties of the
chair.

(h) The ECBV chair shall serve as a non-voting ex-officio
member of all subcommittees. The ECBV shall maintain the
following standing subcommittees: Operator  Relations
Subcommittee, Transfer and Promotion Subcommittee and the
Training and Retraining Subcommittee.

(1) Operator Relations Subcommittee, whose
function is to receive and transmit appeals at the
verbal or written request of an operator or
licensee.

(A) This subcommittee shall be elected by
the ECBV from its members.

(B) The ECBV chair shall appoint
temporary replacements to this
subcommittee to fill vacancies until a
new member is elected.

© The ECBV chair shall appoint a
temporary  replacement for an
Operator Relations  Subcommittee
member who has filed an appeal and
whose appeal is pending before the
Operator Relations Subcommittee.

2 Transfer and Promotion Subcommittee, whose
function is to actively participate with the
Division in the development and administration
of a system for the transfer and promotion of
operators; and

3) Training and Retraining Subcommittee, whose
function is to actively participate with the
Division in the development of training and
retraining programs and to assist the Division in
sponsoring  meetings and instructional
conferences for the operators and licensees.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.14; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1984;
February 1, 1983;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0508 FUNCTIONS

(@) The ECBV shall actively participate with the Division in
major administrative decisions and policy and program
development decisions affecting the overall administration of the

Business Enterprises Program. The Division and the ECBV shall
comply with 34 C.F.R. 395.14.

(b) The ECBV shall participate in drafting Business Enterprises
Program rules. The Division and ECBV shall work together in
good-faith effort to come to agreement in matters related to
Business Enterprises Program rule and policy changes.

(c) ECBYV relationship to operators and licensees.

1) Operators and licensees who elect the members
of the ECBV shall ensure that those elected
represent all operators and licensees.

2 The ECBYV shall act as advocates for operators
and licensees.

?3) The ECBV, ECBYV officers, ECBV members,

operators, employees of an operator, or
licensees shall not be employees of the
Division.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.14; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1984;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0509 SUBCOMMITTEES

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395.14; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1984;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2108.

10A NCAC 63C .0511 COMMITTEE INITIATIVE
The committee may initiate matters for consideration and its
views and positions shall be considered by the Division.

History Note:
U.S.C. Sec. 107;
Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.14; 20

10A NCAC 63C .0512 DIVISION RESPONSIBILITY
AND RELATIONSHIP WITH COMMITTEE

The Division shall be responsible for the administration of the
Business  Enterprises Program. It shall consider all
recommendations forthcoming from the Elected Committee of
Blind Vendors. If the Division does not adopt the views and
positions of the Elected Committee of Blind Vendors on a
particular issue, it shall give written notice to the committee of the
decision reached, the actions taken, and the reasons therefore.

History Note:
U.S.C. Sec. 107;
Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.14; 20
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10A NCAC 63C .0603 SECURITY

The operator shall ensure that security and safety measures are
carried out in accordance with good business practice and the
requirements of each location.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.7; 20
U.S.C. sec. 107a et seq., as amended;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1984; October 1, 1978;

Readopted Eff October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0604 REPORTS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R.
395; 20 U.S.C. Sec. 107;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; February 1, 1996;
February 1, 1984; October 1, 1978;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0701
DEFINITIONS

MINIMUM FAIR RETURN AND

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.8; 34
C.F.R. 395.9; 20 U.S.C. sec. 107,

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1990; October 1, 1978;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 23, 2015;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0702 SET-ASIDE

(a) "Set-aside" and "Net Proceeds" are used as defined in 34 CFR
395.1.

(b) The Division shall set aside funds from the net proceeds of
each business enterprises facility to be used for the purposes
outlined in 34 C.F.R. 395.9.

(c) The set-aside shall not exceed an amount determined to be
reasonable by the Commissioner of the Rehabilitation Services
Administration, as set forth in 34 C.F.R. 395.9.

(d) Any set-aside collected in excess of the amount needed to
cover the purposes in this Rule and in excess of any reasonable
reserve necessary to assure that such purposes can be achieved on
a consistent basis shall be refunded on a pro rata basis.

(e) Set-aside rates may be adjusted based on the set-aside fund
balance and program goals and objectives and shall be determined
by the Division after consultation with the operators and the NC
Commission for the Blind.

(f) The Division shall, with the active participation of the ECBV,
develop an annual set-aside authorized budget for the Business
Enterprises Program subject to Office of State Budget
Management approval.

(9) The Division shall provide to the operators an annual report
with full and complete disclosure of all set-aside expenditures of
the Business Enterprises Program.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-12.5; 111-13; 111-27; 111-
50; 143B-157; 34 C.F.R. 395.8; 34 C.F.R. 395.9; 20 U.S.C. sec.
107;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; May 1, 1996; January 1, 1990; July
1, 1987; February 1, 1986; July 1, 1980;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63C .0704 INCOME FROM VENDING
MACHINES ON FEDERAL PROPERTY

34 C.F.R. 395.8 is incorporated by reference with subsequent
amendments and editions, and may be found at no cost at
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/CFR-2018-title34-
vol2/pdf/CFR-2018-title34-vol2-sec395-8.pdf.

History Note:
U.S.C. Sec. 107;
Eff. October 1, 1978;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; February 1, 1986;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 111-27; 34 C.F.R. 395.14; 20

10A NCAC 63F .0101 ELIGIBILITY FOR AND
AUTHORIZATION OF SERVICES

(a) An Individualized Plan for Employment shall be developed to
provide services to applicants to the vocational rehabilitation
program who meet the following criteria:

1) the applicant for services has a physical or
mental impairment;
2) the physical or mental impairment constitutes

or results in a substantial impediment to
employment for the applicant; and

©) the applicant requires vocational rehabilitation
services in order to prepare for, secure, retain,
advance in, or regain employment.

(b) It shall be presumed that the applicant can benefit in terms of
an employment outcome from the provision of vocational
rehabilitation services unless it can be demonstrated through clear
and convincing evidence that the applicant is incapable of
benefiting in terms of an employment outcome from vocational
rehabilitation services due to the severity of the disability.

(c) Applicants who have been determined eligible for Social
Security benefits under Title 1l or Title XV1 of the Social Security
Act shall be presumed eligible for vocational rehabilitation
services; however, the applicant shall intend to achieve an
employment outcome.

(d) Authorization of Services:

(8] The Division shall issue a written authorization
for services prior to or simultaneously with the
provision of the service. A copy of the
authorization shall be retained in the case file.

2) The Division shall authorize services that are
required for a consumer to participate in an
assessment to determine eligibility for services.
The Division shall also authorize services
required for a consumer to complete the goals
identified on his or her Individualized Plan for
Employment (IPE).
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3) Authorizations shall be issued based on

availability of funds.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 134B-157; 34 C.F.R. 361.1; 34
C.F.R. 361.3; 34 C.F.R. 361.42(a); 34 C.F.R. 361.45;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. November 8, 1976; June 25, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63F .0102
MATERIALS

(@) The Division shall furnish training to all eligible individuals
to the extent necessary to achieve their vocational rehabilitation
outcome and to the extent that entry level qualifications of the job,
profession, or employment are achieved.

(b) Training provided by the Division shall include vocational,
prevocational, personal adjustment training, and other
rehabilitation training that contributes to the determination of the
rehabilitation potential or to the individual's personal and
vocational adjustment and it shall cover training provided directly
by the Division or procured from other public or private training
facilities, including community rehabilitation programs.

(c) The Division shall provide necessary books and other training
materials to applicants accepted for evaluation of the
rehabilitation potential and to financially eligible consumers.

(d) The Division shall provide financial support for post-
secondary education of consumers under the following terms and
conditions:

1) Financial support for consumers attending
institutions of higher learning shall not exceed
the maximum rate for tuition and fees
established at State-supported colleges and
universities in North Carolina.

2 Requests for support shall be considered only
when the consumer has applied for grants and
scholarships at the accepting institution. The
Division shall deduct the grant amount from the
consumer's training allotment.

3) Consumers who are sponsored for an
undergraduate degree shall not receive more
than 10 semesters or 15 quarters of sponsorship
to complete their undergraduate degree or five
semesters/eight quarters to complete a
community college program. The Division may
grant an exception to the semester or quarter
requirements when necessary to accommodate
the special training needs of consumers with
severe disabilities.

4) Consumers  who are  sponsored  for
undergraduate programs shall maintain a grade
point average (GPA) of 2.0. Agency
sponsorship shall be withdrawn from any
consumer in an undergraduate program whose
GPA falls below 2.0 for two consecutive
semesters or quarters. If the consumer
continues in the educational institution under
his or her own sponsorship and brings his or her

TRAINING AND TRAINING

cumulative GPA to 2.0, the consumer may
again be considered for sponsorship through the
VR Program of the agency. Consumers under
agency sponsorship for graduate or professional
programs shall maintain a grade point average
commensurate with the standards established
by the educational institution they are attending
for degree requirements. Agency sponsorship
shall be withdrawn from any consumer in
graduate or professional programs whose GPA
falls below the standards established by the
educational institution for degree requirements
for two consecutive semesters or quarters. If the
consumer continues in the educational
institution under his own sponsorship and
brings his cumulative GPA to the standard
established by the educational institution, the
consumer may again be considered for
sponsorship through the VR Program of the
agency. Consumers may receive agency
sponsorship for vocational training or on-the-
job training outside of programs offered in
undergraduate, graduate, and professional
schools. A consumer who is participating in
such a program shall maintain grades or
standards of performance commensurate with
the standards established by the institution or
trainer for satisfactory completion of the
training program within an established time
frame. The agency shall not sponsor a consumer
in a vocational training or on-the-job training
program for more than one additional unit of
time as defined by the particular institution or
trainer in order to complete the program. The
Division may grant an exception to the length
of training sponsorship when necessary to
accommodate the special training needs of
consumers with severe disabilities.

(5) The Division may provide graduate training for
consumers when the training is required to enter
a position. The consumer's case file shall
contain a letter from an official of the
appropriate graduate school of higher learning
designating the number of semesters or quarters
required to achieve the graduate degree. The
Division shall not sponsor consumers in excess
of one quarter or one semester above that
specified in the letter as a time required to
receive the graduate degree. The Division may
grant an exception to the length of training
when necessary to accommodate the special
training needs of consumers with severe
disabilities.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 111-28; 34 C.F.R. 361.42; 34
C.F.R. 361.47; C.F.R. 361.48(f);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1982;
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Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

10A NCAC 63F .0402

ECONOMIC NEEDS POLICIES

(@ The Division of Services for the Blind shall establish the
economic need of each eligible consumer either simultaneously
with or prior to the provision of those services for which the
Division requires a needs test. The financial need of a consumer
shall be determined by the financial needs test specified in Rule
.0403 of this Section. If the consumer has been determined
eligible for Social Security benefits under Title 1l or XV1 of the
Social Security Act, (SSA), the Division of Services for the Blind
shall not apply a financial needs tests or require the financial
participation of the consumer. A financial needs test shall be
applied for all consumers determined eligible to receive services

through the

Independent

Living Rehabilitation Program

regardless of SSA Title 11 or Title XV1 eligibility.
(b) The Division of Services for the Blind shall furnish the
following services not conditioned on economic need:

1)

()

®3)

(4)
(%)

(6)

an assessment for determining eligibility and
priority for services, except those non-assessed
services that are provided during an exploration
of the applicant's abilities, capabilities, and
capacity to perform in work situations through
the use of trial work experiences or an extended
evaluation and an assessment by personnel
skilled in rehabilitation technology;

an assessment for determining rehabilitation

needs by a qualified vocational rehabilitation

counselor;

vocational rehabilitation counseling and

guidance, including information and support

services to assist an applicant or consumer in
exercising informed choice; and
tuition and supplies for

Rehabilitation Program training;

tuition and fees for:

(A) community college and university
educational and vocational programs
up to the catalog rate; and

(B) post-secondary education up to the
maximum rate charged for the North
Carolina public university system.

The Division shall require eligible consumers

applying for training programs listed in Parts

(b)(5)(A) and (B) of this Rule to first apply for

all available grants and financial aid. The

Division may grant an exception to the rate for

tuition and required fees for post-secondary

education specified in Part (b)(5)(B) of this

Rule when necessary to accommodate the

special training needs of severely disabled

individuals who must be enrolled in special
programs designed for severely physically
disabled students;

interpreter services, including sign language

and oral interpreter services for applicants or

consumers who are deaf or hard of hearing, and

Community

U]
®)

©)

(10)

(11)
(12)

(13)

(14

(15)
(16)

(17

(18)

(19)

(20)

tactile interpreting services for applicants or
consumers who are deaf-blind;

reader services, rehabilitation teaching
services, and orientation and mobility services;
job-related services, including job search, job
placement employment assistance, and job
retention services;

DSB Rehabilitation Center services or
fundamental independent living rehabilitation
adjustment services, including transportation
and training supplies, contingent on a
consumer's participation in the program;
diagnostic transportation;

on-the-job training;

training and associated maintenance and
transportation costs for Business Enterprises
Program trainees;

upward mobility training and associated
maintenance and transportation costs for
Business Enterprises Program trainees;
equipment and initial stocks and supplies for
state-owned (Randolph-Sheppard) vending
stands;

supported employment services;

personal assistance services provided while a
consumer with a disability is receiving
vocational rehabilitation services;

referral and other services designed to assist
applicants or consumers with disabilities in
securing needed services from other agencies
through agreements developed under Section
101(a)(11) of Rehabilitation Act Amendments
(the Act, P.L. 102-569), if such services are not
available under this Act, and to advise those
individuals about client assistance programs
established under the Act;

transition services for students with disabilities
that facilitate the achievement of the
employment outcome identified in the student's
individualized plan for employment, except for
those services based on economic need;
technical assistance and other consultation
services to consumers who are pursuing self-
employment, telecommuting, or establishing a
business operation as an employment outcome;
and

provision of pre-employment transition
services to students with disabilities who are
14-21 years of age, whether they are presently
a VR client or a potentially eligible individual.

(c) The following services shall be provided by the Division of
Services for the Blind and shall be conditioned on economic need:

M
@
@)

physical and mental restoration services that are
medical services other than diagnostic;
maintenance for additional costs incurred while
participating in rehabilitation;

transportation in connection with rendering any
vocational rehabilitation service except where
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(4)

()

(6)
(")

(8)

(9)

necessary in connection with determination of
eligibility or nature and scope of services;
services to members of a disabled consumer's
family necessary to the adjustment or
rehabilitation of the consumer with a disability;
post-employment services necessary to assist
consumers with visual disabilities to maintain,
regain, or advance in employment, except for
those services not conditioned on economic
need listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule;

fees necessary to obtain occupational licenses;
tools, equipment, and initial stocks and supplies
for items listed in Subparagraphs (1) through
(7) of this Paragraph;

expenditures for short periods, not to exceed 30
days of medical care for acute conditions
arising during the course of vocational
rehabilitation that if not cared for, will
constitute a hazard to the achievement of the
vocational rehabilitation objective; and

other goods and services not prohibited by the
Act (P.L. 102-569) that can reasonably be
expected to benefit an individual with a
disability in terms of his employability or
independent living skill development.

(d) Notwithstanding Paragraph (c) of this Rule, the following
services shall not be subject to economic need for individuals
being served through the Vocational Rehabilitation Program:

(1)
()

books and other training materials required for
post-secondary training; and

rehabilitation technology, including
telecommunications, sensory aids, and other
technological aids and devices for consumers
who have an Individualized Plan for
Employment (IPE) who are working toward an
employment goal that requires specified
technology to attain, regain, or maintain
employment and who have the capability to use
the equipment.

(e) The Division of Services for the Blind shall publish the
standard for measuring the financial need of consumers with
respect to normal living requirements, for determining their
financial ability to meet the cost of necessary rehabilitation

Services,

and for

determining the amount of agency

supplementation required to procure the necessary services.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 111-28; 34 C.F.R. 361.5; 34

C.F.R. 361.48; 34 C.F.R. 361.52; 34 C.F.R. 361.54; P.L. 102-
569, Section 103; S.L. 2009-475;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. November 16, 1977;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; June 1, 1993; October 1, 1990;

April 1, 1990;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002;

Emergency Amendment Eff. September 23, 2009;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 16, 2009 to expire on June
30, 2012(See G.S. 150B-21.1B);

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

11 NCAC 08 .1101

DEFINITIONS

The following definitions apply to this Section;

M

@

@)

(4)

®)

(6)

U]

®)

©)

(10)

(11)

(12)

"Abnormal" means nontypical or unusual
conditions that could cause damage to systems
and components of the home.

"Automatic safety controls" means devices
designed and installed to protect systems and
components from excessively high or low
pressures and temperatures, excessive electrical
current, loss of water, loss of ignition, fuel
leaks, fire, freezing, or other unsafe conditions
as stated in manufacturer's instructions.
"Central air conditioning” means a system that
uses ducts to distribute cooled or dehumidified
air to more than one room or uses pipes to
distribute chilled water to heat exchangers in
more than one room, and that is not plugged
into an electrical convenience outlet.
"Component" means a readily accessible and
visible aspect of a system, such as a floor, or
wall, but not individual pieces such as boards or
nails where many similar pieces make up the
component.

"Cosmetic damage™ means blemishes or defects
that do not interfere with the functionality of the
component or system.

"Cross connection" means any physical
connection or arrangement between potable
water and any source of contamination.
"Dangerous or adverse situations” means
situations that pose a threat of injury to the
inspector, or those situations that require the use
of special protective clothing or safety
equipment.

"Describe" means report in writing a system or
component by its type, or other inspected
characteristics, to distinguish it from other
systems or components used for the same
purpose.

"Dismantle" means to take apart or remove any
component, device, or piece of equipment that
is bolted, screwed, or fastened by other means
and that would not be disassembled by a
homeowner in the course of routine household
maintenance

"Enter" means to go into an area to inspect all
visible components.

"Functional drainage” means a drain that
empties at a rate equal to or greater than the
supply water flow to the fixture.

"Functional flow" means a usable flow at the
highest fixture in a dwelling when another
fixture is operated simultaneously.
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(13)

(14)
(15)
(16)
(17)

(18)

(19)
(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

(24)

(25)

(26)

(27)

"Habitable space” means a space in a building
for living, sleeping, eating or cooking.
"Habitable space™ does not mean a bathroom,
toilet room, closet, or any space used or
designed for storage.

"Harmful" means conditions that cause damage
to systems and components of the home.
"Inspect™" means to make a visual examination.
"Installed" means attached or connected such
that an item requires tools for removal.
"Normal operating controls" means homeowner
operated devices such as a thermostat, wall
switch, or safety switch.

"On-site water supply quality" means water
quality based on the bacterial, chemical,
mineral, and solids content of the water.
"On-site water supply quantity" means the rate
of flow of on-site well water.

"Operate" means to cause systems or equipment
to function.

"Readily accessible™ means approachable or
enterable for visual inspection without the risk
of damage to any property or alteration of the
accessible space, equipment, or opening.
"Readily openable access panel” means a panel
provided for homeowner inspection and
maintenance that has removable or operable
fasteners or latch devices in order to be lifted
off, swung open, or otherwise removed by one
person; and its edges and fasteners are not
painted in place. This definition is limited to
those panels within reach standing on the floor
or from a four-foot stepladder, and that are not
blocked by stored items, furniture, or building
components.

"Readily visible" means seen by using natural
or artificial light without the use of equipment
or tools other than a flashlight.

"Representative number" means, for multiple
identical components such as windows and
electrical outlets, one such component per
room; and, for multiple identical exterior
components, one such component on each side
of the building.

"Roof drainage systems" means gutters,
downspouts, leaders, splash blocks, and similar
components used to carry water off a roof and
away from a building.

"Shut down" means a piece of equipment or a
system that cannot be operated by the device or
control provided for homeowner operation. If
its safety switch or circuit breaker is in the "off"
position, or its fuse is missing or blown, the
inspector is not required to reestablish the
circuit for the purpose of operating the
equipment or system.

"Solid fuel heating device" means any wood,
coal, fossil, or other similar organic fuel
burning device, including fireplaces whether

masonry or factory built, fireplace inserts and
stoves, wood stoves (room heaters), central
furnaces, and combinations of these devices.

(28) "Structural component” means a component
that supports non-variable forces or weights
(dead loads) and variable forces or weights (live
loads).

(29) "System" means a combination of interacting or
interdependent components, assembled to carry
out one or more functions.

(30) "Technically exhaustive" means an inspection
involving the use of measurements,
instruments, testing, calculations, and other
means to develop scientific or engineering
findings, conclusions, and recommendations.

(31) "Under floor crawl space" means the area
within the confines of the foundation and
between the ground and the underside of the
lowest floor structural component.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1102 STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
This Section sets forth the minimum standards of practice
required of licensed home inspectors. In this Section, the term
"home inspectors™ means licensed home inspectors.

History Note:
151.49(a)(13);
Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S.  143-151.49(a)(2);  143-

11 NCAC 08 .1103 PURPOSE AND SCOPE

(&) Home inspections performed according to this Section shall
provide the client with an understanding of the property
conditions, as inspected at the time of the home inspection.

(b) Home inspectors shall:

(8] provide a written contract, signed by the client,
before the home inspection is performed that
shall:

(A) State that the home inspection is in
accordance with the Standards of
Practice of the North Carolina Home
Inspector Licensure Board as set forth
in this Section;

(B) State what services shall be provided
and the cost; and
© When an inspection is for only one or

a limited number of systems or
components, state that the inspection
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)

3)

(4)

is limited to only those systems or
components;

inspect readily visible and readily accessible

installed systems and components described in

Rules .1106 through .1115 of this Section;

submit a written report pursuant to G.S. 143-

151.58(a), to the client that shall:

(A) Describe  those  systems  and
components required to be described
in Rules .1106 through .1115 of this
Section;

(B) State which systems and components
present at the home and designated for
inspection in this Section were not
inspected, and the reason for not
inspecting;

© State any systems or components
inspected that do not function as
intended, allowing for normal wear
and tear, or appear not to function as
intended, based upon documented
tangible evidence;

(D) Describe each system or component,
pursuant to Part (b)(3)(C) of this Rule;
state how the condition is defective;
explain the implications of defective
conditions reported; and direct the
client to a course of action for repair,
monitoring, or further investigation by

a specialist;

(E) State the name, license number, and
signature of the person conducting the
inspection.

submit a summary page(s) pursuant to G.S.
143-151.58(al).

(c) Home inspectors may:

1)

)

History Note:

report observations and conditions, including
safety or habitability concerns, or render
opinions of items in addition to those required
in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; or

exclude systems and components from the
inspection if requested by the client, and so
stated in the written contract.

Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.58;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2014; October 1, 2011; March 1, 2010;
February 1, 2009; February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;

July 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1104

GENERAL LIMITATIONS

(&) Home inspections done in accordance with this Section are
not technically exhaustive.

(b) This Section applies to buildings with four or fewer dwelling
units, and individually owned residential units within multi-
family buildings, and their attached garages or carports.

History Note:

Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2010;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1105

GENERAL EXCLUSIONS

(a) Home inspectors are not required to report on:

o)
2
®)
(4)

©®)

(6)
)
@)
)
(10)

11)

Life expectancy of any component or system;
The causes of the need for a repair;
The methods, materials, and
corrections;

The suitability of the property for any
specialized use;

Compliance or non-compliance with codes,
ordinances, statutes, regulatory requirements,
or restrictions;

The market value of the property or its
marketability;

The advisability or inadvisability of purchase of
the property;

Any component or system that was not
inspected;

The presence or absence of pests such as wood
damaging organisms, rodents, or insects;
Cosmetic damage, underground items, or items
not installed; or

The presence or absence of systems installed to
control or remove suspected hazardous
substances listed in Subparagraph (b)(7) of this
Rule.

costs of

(b) Home inspectors are not required to:

)
O]

©)

(4)
©)
(6)

U]

Offer warranties or guarantees of any kind;
Calculate the strength, adequacy, or efficiency
of any system or component;

Enter any area or perform any procedure that
may damage the property or its components or
be dangerous to or adversely affect the health or
safety of the home inspector or other persons;
Operate any system or component that is shut
down or otherwise inoperable;

Operate any system or component that does not
respond to normal operating controls;

Move personal items, panels, furniture,
equipment, plant life, soil, snow, ice, or debris
that obstructs access or visibility;

Determine the presence or absence of any
suspected adverse environmental condition or
hazardous substance, including mold, toxins,
carcinogens, noise, contaminants in the
building or in soil, water, and air;
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(8) Determine the effectiveness of any system
installed to control or remove suspected
hazardous substances;

9) Determine House Energy Ratings (HER),
insulation R values, system or component
efficiencies;

(10) Inspect heat recovery and similar whole house
ventilation systems;

(11) Predict future condition, including failure of
components;

(12) Project operating costs of components;

(13) Evaluate acoustical characteristics of any
system or component;

(14) Inspect special equipment or accessories that
are not listed as components to be inspected in
this Section; or

(15) Disturb insulation, except as required in Rule
.1114 of this Section.

(c) Home inspectors shall not:

(1) Offer or perform any act or service contrary to
law; or
)] Offer or perform engineering, architectural,

plumbing, electrical or any other job function
requiring an occupational license in the
jurisdiction where the inspection is taking
place, unless the home inspector holds a valid
occupational license. In that case the home
inspector shall inform the client that the home
inspector is so licensed, and therefore qualified
to go beyond this Section and perform
additional inspections beyond those within the
scope of the Standards of Practice.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1106 STRUCTURAL COMPONENTS
(@ The home inspector shall inspect structural components
including:

(D) Foundation;

2 Floors;

3 Walls;

(@) Columns or piers;
(5) Ceilings; and

(6) Roofs.

(b) The home inspector shall describe the type of:
1) Foundation;

(2) Floor structure;

3) Wall structure;

4) Columns or piers;

(5) Ceiling structure; and
(6) Roof structure.

(c) The home inspector shall:

QD Probe structural components  where
deterioration is suspected;
2 Enter under floor crawl spaces, basements, and

attic spaces except when access is obstructed,
when entry could damage the property, or when
dangerous or adverse situations are suspected;

3 Report the methods used to inspect underfloor
crawl spaces and attics; and
4 Report signs of abnormal or harmful water

penetration into the building or signs of
abnormal or harmful condensation on building
components.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2005; July 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1107 EXTERIOR
(a) The home inspector shall inspect:
(8] Wall cladding, flashings, and trim;

2 Entryway doors and a representative number of
windows;

3 Garage door operators;

(@) Decks, balconies, stoops, steps, areaways,
porches, and appurtenant railings;

(5) Eaves, soffits, and fascias;

(6) Driveways, patios, walkways, and retaining
walls; and

) Vegetation, grading, and drainage with respect
only to their effect on the condition of the

building.
(b) The home inspector shall:
D Describe wall cladding materials;
2 Operate all entryway doors;
3 Operate garage doors manually or by using
installed controls for any garage door operator;
(@) Report whether or not any garage door operator

will automatically reverse or stop when meeting
reasonable resistance during closing; and
5) Probe exterior wood components where
deterioration is suspected.
(c) The home inspector is not required to inspect:

(8] Storm windows, storm doors, screening,
shutters, and awnings;

2 Fences;

3 For the presence of safety glazing in doors and
windows;

()] Garage door operator remote control
transmitters;

(5) Geological conditions;

(6) Soil conditions;

@) Recreational facilities (including spas, saunas,

steam baths, swimming pools, tennis courts,
playground equipment, and other exercise,
entertainment, or athletic facilities), except as
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otherwise required in 11 NCAC 08
.1109(d)(5)(F);

(8) Detached buildings or structures; or

(9) For the presence or condition of buried fuel

storage tanks.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1108 ROOFING
(@) The home inspector shall inspect:
(1) Roof coverings;
2 Roof drainage systems;
3) Flashings;
4) Skylights, chimneys, and roof penetrations; and
(5) Signs of leaks or abnormal condensation on
building components.
(b) The home inspector shall:
@ Describe the type of roof covering materials;
and
)] Report the methods used to inspect the roofing.
(c) The home inspector is not required to:
(1) Walk on the roofing; or
(2) Inspect attached accessories including solar
systems, antennae, and lightning arrestors.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2005; July 1, 1998;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1109 PLUMBING
(@) The home inspector shall inspect:

1) Interior water supply and distribution system,
including: piping materials, supports, and
insulation; fixtures and faucets; functional
flow; leaks; and cross connections;

2 Interior drain, waste, and vent system,
including: traps; drain, waste, and vent piping;
piping supports and pipe insulation; leaks; and
functional drainage;

3 Hot water systems including: water heating
equipment; normal operating controls;
automatic safety controls; and chimneys, flues,
and vents;

4) Fuel storage and distribution systems including:

interior fuel storage equipment, supply piping,
venting, and supports; leaks; and
(5) Sump pumps.
(b) The home inspector shall describe:
(1) Water supply and distribution piping materials;
(2) Drain, waste, and vent piping materials;

?3) Water heating equipment, including fuel or
power source, storage capacity or tankless point
of use demand systems, and location; and

4 The location of any main water supply shutoff
device.

(c) The home inspector shall operate all plumbing fixtures,
including their faucets and all exterior faucets attached to the
house, except where the flow end of the faucet is connected to an
appliance.

(d) The home inspector is not required to:

(D) State the requirement for or effectiveness of
anti-siphon devices;
2 Determine whether water supply and waste

disposal systems are public or private or the
presence or absence of backflow devices;

3 Operate automatic safety controls;
(@) Operate any valve except water closet flush
valves, fixture faucets, and hose faucets;
(5) Inspect:
(A) Water conditioning systems;
B) Fire and lawn sprinkler systems;
© On-site water supply quantity and
quality;
(D) On-site waste disposal systems;
(B) Foundation irrigation systems;
R Bathroom spas, whirlpools, or air jet

tubs except as to functional flow and
functional drainage;

(G) Swimming pools;
(H) Solar water heating equipment; or
m Fixture overflow devices or shower
pan liners;

(6) Inspect the system for proper sizing, design, or
use of approved materials;

@) Report on the absence or presence of thermal
expansion tanks; or

(8) Report on the adequacy of the reported water

heater capacity.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1110 ELECTRICAL
(a) The home inspector shall inspect:

1) Electrical service entrance conductors;
2 Electrical service equipment, grounding
equipment, main overcurrent device, and

interiors of panelboard enclosures unless unsafe
conditions are reported;

3 Amperage and voltage ratings of the electrical
service;
@) Branch circuit conductors, their overcurrent

devices, and the compatibility of their
ampacities at the interiors of panelboard
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enclosures unless unsafe conditions are
reported;

(5) The operation of a representative number of
installed ceiling fans, lighting fixtures,
switches, and receptacles located inside the
house, garage, and on the dwelling's exterior
walls;

(6) The polarity and grounding of all receptacles
within six feet of interior plumbing fixtures, and
all receptacles in the garage or carport, and on

the exterior of inspected structures;

@) The operation of ground fault circuit
interrupters; and

(8) Smoke detectors and installed carbon monoxide
alarms.

(b) The home inspector shall describe:

1) Electrical service amperage and voltage;

(2) Electrical service entry conductor materials;

3) The electrical service type as being overhead or
underground; and

(@) The location of main and distribution panels.

(c) The home inspector shall report in writing the presence of any
readily accessible single strand aluminum branch circuit wiring.

(d) The home inspector shall report in writing on the presence or
absence of smoke detectors, and installed carbon monoxide
alarms in any homes with fireplaces, fuel fired appliances or
attached garages, and operate their test function, if readily
accessible, except when detectors are part of a central alarm

system.
(e) The home inspector is not required to:

(1) Insert any tool, probe, or testing device inside
the panels;

)] Test or operate any overcurrent device except
ground fault circuit interrupters;

3 Dismantle any electrical device or control other
than to remove the covers of panelboard
enclosures; or

4) Inspect:

(A) Low voltage systems;
(B) Security systems and heat detectors;

© Telephone, security, cable TV,
intercoms, or other ancillary wiring
that is not a part of the primary
electrical distribution system;

(D) Built-in vacuum equipment;

(E) Back up electrical generating
equipment;

(F) Other alternative electrical generating

or renewable energy systems such as
solar, wind, or hydro power;

(©)] Battery or electrical automotive
charging systems; or

(H) Electrical systems to swimming pools
or spas, including bonding and
grounding.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.58;
Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. September 1, 2013; February 1, 2007; April 1,
2005;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1111 HEATING
(@ The home inspector shall inspect permanently installed
heating systems including:

(D) Heating equipment;

2 Normal operating controls;

?3) Automatic safety controls;

4 Chimneys, flues, and vents, where readily
visible;

(5) Solid fuel heating devices;

(6) Heat distribution systems including fans,
pumps, ducts and piping, with supports,
insulation, air filters, registers, radiators, fan
coil units, convectors; and

@) The presence or absence of an installed heat
source for each habitable space.

(b) The home inspector shall describe the:

(8] Energy source; and

2 Heating equipment and distribution type.

(c) The home inspector shall operate the systems using normal
operating controls appropriate to weather conditions at the time of
the inspection.

(d) The home inspector shall open readily openable access panels
provided by the manufacturer or installer for routine homeowner
maintenance. The home inspector shall report the method of
inspection used to inspect the heating system and whether or not
access panels were removed.

(e) The home inspector is not required to:

(8] Operate heating systems when weather
conditions or other circumstances may cause
equipment damage or when inappropriate to
weather conditions at the time of inspection;

2) Operate automatic safety controls;
3) Ignite or extinguish solid fuel fires;
4 Ignite a pilot light; or
5) Inspect:
(A) The interior of flues;
(B) Fireplace insert flue connections;
© Heat exchangers;
(D) Humidifiers;
(B) Electronic air filters;

(3] The uniformity or adequacy of heat
supply to the various rooms; or
(G) Solar space heating equipment.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.
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11 NCAC 08 .1112 AIR CONDITIONING
(@) The home inspector shall inspect:
1) Central air conditioning and through-the-wall
ductless installed cooling systems including:
(A) Cooling and air handling equipment;

and
(B) Normal operating controls.
(2) Cooling distribution systems including:

(A) Fans, pumps, ducts and piping, with
associated supports, dampers,
insulation, air filters, registers, fan-
coil units; and

(B) The presence or absence of an

installed cooling source for each
habitable space.
(b) The home inspector shall describe the:

(1) Energy sources; and

2 Cooling equipment type.

(c) The home inspector shall operate the systems using normal
operating controls appropriate to weather conditions at the time of
the inspection.

(d) The home inspector shall open readily openable access panels
provided by the manufacturer or installer for routine homeowner
maintenance. The home inspector shall report the method used to
inspect the air conditioning system and whether or not access
panels were removed.

(e) The home inspector is not required to:

(1) Operate cooling systems when weather
conditions or other circumstances may cause
equipment damage;

(2) Inspect window air conditioners; or

3 Inspect the uniformity or adequacy of cool-air
supply to the various rooms.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1113 INTERIORS
(&) The home inspector shall inspect:

(D) Walls, ceiling, and floors;

2 Steps, stairways, balconies, and railings;

3 Counters and a representative number of built-
in cabinets; and

(@) A representative number of doors and windows.

(b) The home inspector shall:

1) Operate a representative number of windows
and interior doors; and

(2) Report signs of water penetration into the

building or signs of abnormal or harmful
condensation on building components.
(c) The home inspector is not required to inspect:
(1) Paint, wallpaper, and other finish treatments on
the interior walls, ceilings, and floors;
(2) Carpeting;

?3) Draperies, blinds, or other window treatments;
or
4 Coatings on and hermetic seals between panes

of glass in windows and doors.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1114 INSULATION AND

VENTILATION
(&) The home inspector shall inspect:
1) Insulation and vapor retarders in unfinished
spaces;
) Ventilation of attics and foundation areas;
3) Kitchen, bathroom, and laundry venting
systems; and
4) The operation of any readily accessible attic

ventilation fan, and, when temperature permits,
the operation of any readily accessible
thermostatic control.
(b) The home inspector shall describe:
1) Insulation in unfinished spaces; and
2) The absence of insulation in unfinished space at
conditioned surfaces.
(c) The home inspector is not required to report on:
1) Concealed insulation and vapor retarders; or
2 Venting equipment for household appliances
that are not required to be inspected pursuant to
the North Carolina Home Inspector Standards

of Practice.
(d) The home inspector shall:
D Move insulation where readily visible evidence
indicates a problem; and
2) Move floor insulation where plumbing

drain/waste pipes penetrate floors, adjacent to
earth-filled stoops or porches, and at exterior
doors.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49;
Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;
Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;
Eff. July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 1, 2003;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.
11 NCAC 08 .1115 BUILT-IN KITCHEN
APPLIANCES
(@) The home inspector shall inspect and operate the basic
functions of the following kitchen appliances:
@ Installed, dishwasher(s) through a complete
cycle;
2 Range(s), cook
installed oven(s);

top(s), and permanently
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3) Trash compactor(s);
4) Garbage disposal(s);

(5) Ventilation equipment or range hood(s); and
(6) Installed microwave oven(s).
(b) The home inspector is not required to inspect:

(1) Clocks, timers, self-cleaning oven functions, or
thermostats for calibration or automatic
operation;

2 Non built-in appliances; or

3) Refrigeration units.

(c) The home inspector is not required to operate:

1) Appliances in use; or

2 Any appliance that is shut down or otherwise
inoperable.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2005;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1116 CODE OF ETHICS
(@) Licensees shall discharge their duties with fidelity to the
public and to their clients, with fairness and impartiality to all.
(b) Opinions expressed by licensees shall be based only on their
education, experience, and honest convictions.
(c) Alicensee shall not disclose any information about the results
of an inspection without the approval of the client for whom the
inspection was performed, or the client's representative.
() No licensee shall accept compensation or any other
consideration from more than one interested party for the same
service without the written consent of all interested parties.
(e) No licensee shall compensate, either financially or through
other services or benefits, realty agents or other parties with a
financial interest in closing or settlement of real estate
transactions for the following:

(1) Referral of inspections; or

(2) Inclusion on a list of recommended inspectors

or preferred providers.

() No licensee shall express, within the context of an inspection,
an appraisal or opinion of the market value of the inspected
property.
(g) Before the execution of a contract to perform a home
inspection, a licensee shall disclose to the client any interest he or
she has in a business that may create a conflict of interest for the
home inspector. No licensee shall allow his or her interest in any
business to affect the quality or results of the inspection work that
the licensee may be called upon to perform.
(h) A licensee shall not solicit for repairs of systems or
components found defective in the course of a home inspection
performed by the licensee or that licensee's company.
(i) Licensees shall not engage in false or misleading advertising
or otherwise misrepresent any matters to the public.
(J) Licensees shall not inspect properties under contingent
arrangements whereby any compensation or future referrals are
dependent on reported findings or on the sale of a property.

(k) A licensee shall not impugn the professional reputation or
practice of another home inspector, nor criticize another
inspector's reports.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143-151.49;

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria for
temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996;

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996;

Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 08 .1302 CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIRED FOR RENEWAL OF ACTIVE LICENSE
(a) In order to renew an active home inspector license, for the
licensee shall complete 12 credit hours during the license renewal
period, except as described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
(b) In order to renew an active home inspector license, home
inspectors licensed pursuant to G.S. 143-151.51(a)(5), who have
not completed the pre-licensing education program or its
equivalent pursuant to Rule .1004(c) of this Chapter, shall
complete 16 hours of continuing education per year for the first
three years of licensure that include the following:

(8] Four hours of a Board-approved course

consisting of the following:

(A) for the first year, a Board-approved
course on the Standards of Practice
and Report Writing; and

(B) for the second and third years, a
Board-approved course of the home
inspector's choosing.

2 Four hours of the update course component
described in Rule .1309 of this Chapter; and
©) Eight hours of Board approved elective courses.

(c) Alicensee who is newly licensed on or after June 1 is exempt
from this Section for the initial license period.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.51; 143-
151.55; 143-151.64;

Eff. August 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2014; February 1, 2011; July 18, 2002;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

%ok ok k ok ok ok ok ok ok % ok ok % ok % ok ok % %

11 NCAC 16 .0101 APPLICABILITY
The following Rules describe statistical data that shall be
submitted to the Actuarial Services Division.

(8] 11 NCAC 16 .0103 shall apply to all companies
that write North Carolina nonfleet private
passenger automobile insurance and to all
statistical organizations that collect data
relating to that line of insurance.

2 11 NCAC 16 .0105 shall apply to all companies
that provide professional liability insurance to
more than two percent of the insured physicians
and surgeons in North Carolina.
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History Note:

®3)

(4)

11 NCAC 16 .0106 shall apply to all companies
that write North Carolina credit property
insurance.

11 NCAC 16 .0107 shall apply to all companies
that write North Carolina nonfiling insurance.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-2-190;

Eff. December 1, 1990;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2011;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0103

NONFLEET PRIVATE

PASSENGER AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE

All companies writing North Carolina nonfleet private passenger
automobile insurance shall collect the statistical data described in
this Rule and shall report such data to their statistical agent. The
statistical agents shall thereupon provide the data on a combined
basis to the Actuarial Services Division.

1)

)

Premium, Exposure, Loss, and Claim
Experience. Provide written and earned
exposures, written and earned premiums,
number of paid and incurred claims, and paid
and incurred total limit losses biannually for
each of the latest six accident or calendar
half-years in the following detail:

@ by coverage as follows: bodily injury,
property damage, medical payments,
uninsured  motorist, underinsured
motorist, comprehensive, or collision;

(b) by type of exposure as follows:
voluntary, or involuntary;

(© by territory;

(d) by class;

(e) by basic or increased limit or
deductible; and
(j)] by cause or type of loss for

comprehensive coverage.
Loss and Premium Experience by Zip Code.
Provide data by zip code annually in the
following detail:

€)] calendar year written premium for all
coverages combined,;
(b) accident year incurred losses and

incurred claims valued at 15 months
for bodily injury and property damage
coverages;

(© calendar year incurred losses and
incurred claims for comprehensive
and collision coverages;

(d) calendar year voluntary written
exposures separately for bodily injury
and property damage, comprehensive,

and collision;

(e calendar year involuntary written
exposures for bodily injury and
property damage;

(f calendar year substandard written
exposures for comprehensive and
collision; and

®)

(9) calendar year written exposures for

bodily and property damage by class.
Loss Trend Experience. Provide earned
exposures, earned premiums, number of paid or
incurred claims, paid or incurred losses, loss
frequency, and loss severity for each of the
latest 16 three-month and twelve-month
calendar periods ending quarterly in the
following detail:

(a) for bodily injury coverage:

) basic limits and total limits
paid trends including
allocated loss adjustment
expense;

(i) basic limits and total limits
paid  trends  excluding
allocated loss adjustment
expense;

(iii) basic limits and total limits
incurred trends including
allocated loss adjustment

expense; and

(iv) basic limits and total limits
incurred trends excluding
allocated loss adjustment
expense.

(b) for property damage coverage, the
same trends required for bodily injury.

(c) for medical payments coverage, total
limits paid trend excluding allocated
loss adjustment expense.

(d) for uninsured motorist bodily injury
coverage:

0] total limits paid trend
excluding allocated loss
adjustment expense; and

(i) total limits incurred trend

excluding allocated loss

adjustment expense.

(e) for comprehensive coverage:
) paid trend excluding
allocated loss adjustment

expense for exposures with
no deductible;

(i) paid trend excluding
allocated loss adjustment
expense  separately  for

exposures with deductibles
of fifty dollars ($50.00), one
hundred dollars ($100.00),
two hundred dollars
($200.00), two hundred fifty
dollars  ($250.00), five
hundred dollars ($500.00),
and one thousand dollars
($1000.00); and
(iii) paid trend
allocated loss

excluding
adjustment
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(4)

expense for all exposures not
otherwise included.

{j] for collision coverage:
(M paid trend excluding
allocated loss adjustment
expense  separately  for

exposures with deductibles
of fifty dollars ($50.00), one
hundred dollars ($100.00),
two hundred dollars
($200.00), two hundred fifty
dollars  ($250.00), five
hundred dollars ($500.00),
and one thousand dollars
($1000.00); and

(ii) paid trend excluding
allocated loss adjustment
expense for all exposures not
otherwise included.

Liability Loss Development Experience.

Provide loss and earned exposure data for fiscal
accident years ending June 30 and December 31
at annual evaluation dates from 15 to 63 months
for at least ten years in the following detail:

@ for bodily injury and property damage
coverages, separately detail the
coverages for voluntary business and
for business ceded to the North
Carolina Reinsurance Facility and also
provide the total for both types of
business:

0] basic limits paid losses;

(i) basic limits incurred losses;

(iii) total limits paid losses;

(iv) total limits incurred losses;

(v) paid claims;

(vi) incurred claims;

(vii) earned premium for the
corresponding calendar year;
and

(viii)  earned exposures for the
corresponding calendar year.

(b) for medical payments coverage,
separately detail the coverages for
voluntary business and for business
ceded to the North Carolina
Reinsurance Facility and also provide
the total for both types of business:

0] total limits paid losses;

(i) total limits incurred losses;

(iii) paid claims;

(iv) incurred claims;

(v) earned premium for the
corresponding calendar year;
and

(vi) earned exposures for the
corresponding calendar year.

(c) for uninsured and underinsured

motorist coverage:

®)

History Note:

) total limits paid losses;

(i) total limits incurred losses;

(iii) paid claims;

(iv) incurred claims;

v) estimated (actual if available)
earned premium for the
corresponding calendar year;
and

(vi) estimated (actual if available)

earned exposures for the

corresponding calendar year.
Physical Damage Age and Symbol Trend
Experience. Provide the average age and
symbol value for each of the latest twenty
half-year periods ending June 30 and December
31 for the following coverages:

(@) full coverage comprehensive;

(b) comprehensive coverage with a fifty
dollar ($50.00) deductible;

(c) comprehensive coverage with a one
hundred dollar ($100.00) deductible;

(d) collision coverage with a one hundred
dollar ($100.00) deductible;

(e) collision coverage with a two hundred

fifty dollar ($250.00) deductible; and
(f collision coverage with a five hundred
dollar ($500.00) deductible.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-190;

Eff. December 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0105

PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS

PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE

Companies that insure more than two percent of the insured
physicians and surgeons in North Carolina shall submit the
following data upon request, evaluated as of December 31 to the
Actuarial Services Division:

o)
0]
@)
(4)

©)

History Note:
58-41-50(e)(14);

number of insured doctors by speciality;

basic limits losses and ultimate claims for the
most recent ten accident or report years;

class one frequency, basic limits severity, and
basic limits pure premium for the most recent
ten accident or report years;

exposure distributions separately by class, by
maturity, and by increased limits factor for the
most recent ten calendar years; and

percentage of claims closed with neither a loss
payment nor an allocated loss adjustment
payment and the percentage of claims closed
with only an allocated loss adjustment payment
for the most recent ten calendar and for the most
recent ten accident or report years.

G.S. 58-2-190;

Authority 58-2-40(1);

Eff. December 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.
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11 NCAC 16 .0106
INSURANCE
Each writer of North Carolina credit property insurance shall
submit the data described in this Rule upon request to the
Actuarial Services Division.

CREDIT PROPERTY

(1) North Carolina premium, loss, and expense:

(@) written premium;

(b) earned premium;

(© paid losses and claims;

(d) incurred losses and claims;

(e) paid loss adjustment expense;

(j] incurred loss adjustment expense;

(9) incurred commissions and brokerage
expenses;

(h) incurred other acquisition costs;

(i) incurred premium taxes;

() other incurred expenses;

(k) incurred loss and loss adjustment
expense ratio;

M incurred  loss, loss  adjustment
expense, and other underwriting
expense ratio;

(m) dividends paid;

(n) retrospective rate credits paid; and

(0) commissions paid.

)] Investment income on loss, loss expense, and
unearned premium reserves:

€)] loss reserve at the beginning of the
year;

(b) loss reserve at the end of the year;

(© loss expense reserve at the beginning
of the year;

(d) loss expense reserve at the end of the
year;

(e) unearned premium reserve at the
beginning of the year;

(j)] unearned premium reserve at the end
of the year; and

9) investment income earned on loss, loss
expense, and unearned premium
reserves.

3) Nonrefundable fees collected.

€)] total number of transactions;

(b) transactions involving insured values
less than two hundred fifty dollars
($250.00);

(© transactions involving insured values
of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00)
or more but less than five hundred
dollars ($500.00); and

(d) transactions involving insured values
of five hundred dollars ($500.00) or
more.

4) Insured values:

€)] insured values for single interest
insurance at the beginning of the year;

(b) insured values for single interest

insurance at the end of the year;

(c) insured values for dual interest
insurance at the beginning of the year;
and

(d) insured values for dual interest

insurance at the end of the year.

(5) Supplementary information:

(@) identification of the Page 14 Annual
Statement line under which the
experience is reported; and

(b) explanations of any change in the

amounts reported in Subparagraphs
(1)(@), (1)(k) and (1)(I) of this Rule
that is greater than 50 percent of the
previous calendar year's value.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-90(b);
Eff. December 1, 1990;

Amended Eff. September 1, 1991;

Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review

11 NCAC 16 .0107 NONFILING INSURANCE
Writers of North Carolina nonfiling insurance shall submit the
following information upon request to the Actuarial Services
Division:

(8] written premium;

2 earned premium;

3 earned exposures;

4) incurred losses;

(5) number of incurred claims; and
(6) incurred expenses.

History Note: Authority G.S. 53-177; 58-2-40(1);
Eff. December 1, 1990;
Readopted Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

11 NCAC 16 .0108 SINGLE OR DUAL INTEREST
AUTOMOBILE PHYSICAL DAMAGE INSURANCE
Writers of North Carolina Single or Dual Interest Automobile
Physical Damage Insurance shall submit the following data
described in this Rule upon request to the Actuarial Services
Division.

M

North Carolina premium, loss, and expense:

@) written premium and car year
exposures;

(b) earned premium and car year
exposures;

(c) paid losses and claims;

(d) incurred losses and claims;

(e) paid loss adjustment expense;

) incurred loss adjustment expense;

(9) incurred commissions and brokerage
expenses;

(h) incurred other acquisition costs;

Q) incurred premium taxes;

) other incurred expenses;

(k) incurred loss and loss adjustment

expense ratio;
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()] incurred loss, loss adjustment expense
and other underwriting expense ratio;
and

(m) policyholder dividends paid.

(2) Investment income on loss, loss expense, and
unearned premium reserves:

(@) loss reserve at the beginning of the
year;

(b) loss reserve at the end of the year;

(© loss expense reserve at the beginning
of the year;

(d) loss expense reserve at the end of the
year;

(e) unearned premium reserve at the
beginning of the year;

()] unearned premium reserve at the end
of the year; and

) investment unearned income earned

on loss, loss expense, and unearned
premium reserves.

3 Insured values:

@ insured values for single interest
insurance at the beginning of the year;

(b) insured values for single interest
insurance at the end of the year;

(© insured values for dual interest
insurance at the beginning of the year;
and

(d) insured values for dual interest
insurance at the end of the year.

4) Supplementary information: identification of

the Annual Statement line of business under
which the experience is reported on the state
page of the NAIC Annual Statement.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-100;
Eff. September 1, 1991;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0201
STANDARDS

(@ For individual accident and health insurance policies and
riders delivered in this State, the standard minimum guideline loss
ratio for conditionally renewable, guaranteed renewable, and non-
cancelable medical expense, loss of income, and other type
coverages, but not including long-term care insurance policies
issued in this State on or after February 1, 2003, shall be as
promulgated by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) for such coverages as of the issue date of
such policies and riders.

(b) If a company fails to satisfy NAIC minimum future or lifetime
loss ratio standards for a particular type of coverage, then to
comply with the loss ratio standards in Paragraph (a) of this Rule,
the company shall:

1) combine the experience of such policy forms
with other forms with similar type of coverage
for which the pooling of experience is
actuarially justified;

(2) provide premium credits or refunds;

MINIMUM LOSS RATIO

?3) decrease premium rates for one or more
subsequent rating periods; or

4 implement an actuarially justified alternative
proposal.

History Note:
58-63-15(7)b;
Eff. March 1, 1992;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-275; 58-51-95;

11 NCAC 16 .0202 ACCIDENT AND HEALTH
INSURANCE RENEWABILITY DEFINITIONS

With respect to all individual accident and health insurance in this
State, the following renewability definitions or substantively
similar wording as the Commissioner approves shall be used:

1) Conditionally Renewable - Renewal may be
declined for stated reasons, except for the
deterioration of health of an individual insured,
provided that the declination applies to all
insureds in this state insured under the same
policy or rider.

2 Guaranteed Renewable - Renewal may not be
declined by an insurance company for any
reason, but the insurance company may revise
rates on a class basis.

3 Non-cancelable - Renewal may not be declined
nor may rates be revised by an insurance
company.

History Note:
58-63-15(7)b.;
Eff. March 1, 1992;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-51-95;

11 NCAC 16 .0203 CONDITIONALLY
RENEWABLE STATED REASON PROHIBITED

For policies or riders permitting the adjustment of premiums for
which the insurer retains the right to nonrenew, no insurer shall
exercise a right not to renew for the following reason or any
synonymous reason:

"The insurer is prevented by any law, or any regulation, or any
ruling of a government agency from using a table of premium
rates that the insurer has certified as being reasonable in relation
to the benefits provided under the policy."

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-51-20;
Eff. March 1, 1992;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0204
PROHIBITED

No policy of accident, health, or accident and health insurance
shall contain a provision that permits the insurer to refuse to renew
the coverage of an individual insured based upon the deterioration
of health of an individual insured or based upon the claim
experience of an individual insured. As used in this Rule, "policy"
shall include an endorsement, rider, or any amendment to a policy.

OPTIONALLY RENEWABLE
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History Note:
58-63-15(7)b;

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-51-95;

Eff. March 1, 1992;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0205

DATA REQUIREMENTS FOR

RATE REVISION SUBMISSION

(a) With respect to any individual accident and health insurance
policy governed by G.S. 58, Articles 1 through 64, for which an
adjustment of premium rate is allowed by law, the insurer shall
submit an actuarial memorandum describing and demonstrating
the development of any requested premium rate revision. The
actuarial memorandum shall contain a subsection identified as
"Additional Data Requirements." The initial rate revision filing
shall be submitted to the Department's Life and Health Division.
An insurer shall submit all data required by this Rule within 45
days after the date that the initial rate revision filing is stamped
received by the Division. Subsequent data submissions on
incomplete initial rate revision filings shall be made directly to the
Department's Actuarial Services Division within the 45 day
period. The "Additional Data Requirements” subsection shall

include:

1)

)

3)
(4)

()

(6)
()

(8)

(9)

(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

identification of the submitted data as North
Carolina or countrywide and consistent use of
this data identification throughout this Section;
identification of all previously approved policy
forms included in the rate revision submission,
by North Carolina policy form number;

the month, year, and percentage amount of all
previous rate revisions;

the month and year that the rate revision is
scheduled to be implemented (hereinafter
referred to as the "implementation date");

the type of renewability provision contained in
each policy form; such as guaranteed
renewable;

the type of coverage provided by each policy
form; such as medical expense;

identification of the type of rating
methodology; such as issue age, attained age, or
community rate;

the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners minimum guideline loss ratio
and, if different, the insurer's minimum
guideline loss ratio;

the average annual premium for North Carolina
and countrywide before and after the
implementation date;

the number of North Carolina and countrywide
policyholders affected by the rate revision;

the requested rate revision percentage
attributable to experience;
the requested rate revision percentage

attributable to changes in benefits promulgated
by Medicare, if applicable, and the calculation
used to develop this percentage;

identification and actuarial justification of all
groupings of policy forms;

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17)

(18)

(19)

(20)

(21)

(22)

(23)

the historical calendar year earned premium
divided by duration and expressed on an actual
and a current premium rate basis for the period
of time from the earliest date that experience is
recorded to the most recent date that experience
is recorded,;

the "expected" incurred loss ratios by duration
based upon original pricing assumptions for all
policy durations considered in the original
pricing;

the "expected" lapse rates by duration based
upon original pricing assumptions for all policy
durations considered in the original pricing,
including assumptions for voluntary lapse rates
and mortality rates;

the "actual™ lapse rates for duration one through
the duration coinciding with the calendar year
for which the most recent experience is
recorded;

the historical calendar year incurred claims, for
other than Medicare supplement insurance,
covering the period of time from the earliest
date that experience is recorded to the most
recent date that experience is recorded;

the historical calendar year incurred claims, for
Medicare supplement insurance, expressed on
an actual and a current benefit level basis
covering the period of time from the earliest
date experience is recorded to the most recent
date that experience is recorded;

a count of the number of incurred claims for
each calendar year of data provided. The count
shall be calculated by adding the total number
of claims reported during the calendar year,
whether paid or in the process of payment, plus
the number of incurred but not reported claims
at the end of the calendar year, minus the
number of incurred but not reported claims at
the beginning of the calendar year. For
disability income insurance, only the initial
claim payment for each period of disablement
shall be counted. For each type of medical
expense benefit, only the initial claim payment
per cause shall be counted; for example,
payments for continuation of a claim, such as
refills on a prescription drug, shall be excluded
from the incurred claim count;

an estimation of the amount of policy year
exposure contributed by all policyholders
within each calendar year of data provided;

a statement declaring whether this is an open
block of business or a closed block of business;
an estimation of the annual earned premium on
new issues stated at the current premium rate
basis for the period of time from the date that
the most recent experience is last recorded to a
date not exceeding the fifth year following the
implementation date;
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(24) the number of months that the rate will be
guaranteed to an individual policyholder;

(25) the rate revision implementation method, such
as the next premium due date following a given
date, the next policy anniversary date, or
otherwise. If otherwise, an explanation shall be
included:;

(26) a statement declaring the month and year of the
earliest anticipated date of the next rate
revision;

27) an explanation and actuarial justification of the
apportionment of the aggregate rate revision
within each policy form or between policy
forms that have been grouped and a
demonstration that the apportionment of the
aggregate rate revision vyields the same
premium income as if the rate revision had been
applied uniformly;

(28) an explanation and actuarial justification, if
applicable, for changing any factor that affects
the premium;

(29) an explanation of the effect that the rate revision
will have on the incurred loss ratio on those
policies in force for three years or more as
exhibited in the Medicare Supplement
Experience Exhibit of the Annual Statement;
and

(30) the name, address, and telephone number of an
insurance company representative who will be
available to answer questions relating to the rate
revision.

(b) For the following individual accident and health policies,
except Medicare supplement and long-term care, data shall not be
required to be subdivided by policy year duration and the data in
Subparagraphs (a)(15), (a)(16), and (a)(17) of this Rule may be
omitted:

(D) short term non-renewable; e.g., airline trip,
student, or accident;

(2) annual renewable term that are repriced every
year; and

3) any closed block of business for which all in
force policies have exceeded the seventh year
duration.

History Note:
15(7)b;

Eff. June 1, 1992;
Amended Eff. August 1, 2005; February 1, 1994; October 1, 1993;
January 1, 1993;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-51-95; 58-63-

11 NCAC 16 .0206
RESTRICTION

With respect to individual accident and health insurance policies
for which the adjustment of premium rates is allowed by law, the
insurer shall not establish, for rate revision purposes, a class
within a policy form or group of policy forms so as to eliminate
the possibility of new entrants into the class. This Rule shall not
preclude actuarially justified apportionments of aggregate rate

CLASS DEFINITION

revisions on either open or closed blocks of business between
classes established at the time the policy form or group of policy
forms were approved by the Commissioner.

History Note: 58-51-95;
58-63-15(7)b;

Eff. June 1, 1992;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority  G.S.  58-2-40(1);

11 NCAC 16 .0207 COMMON BLOCK

(a) As used in this Rule, "Common Block" means a grouping of
similar policy form types for which the pooling of experience is
actuarially justified and for which the rate revisions are based
upon the common experience. A Common Block may include
both open and closed policy form types.

(b) If a company establishes a Common Block for compliance
with G.S. 58-51-95(h), with respect to all future rate revision
filings, the company shall request a common uniform rate revision
to apply to all policy forms in the Common Block and shall not
request an apportionment by form. If policy forms are grouped
into a Common Block, they shall remain grouped for future rate
filings. Actuarially justified apportionments of the common rate
increase, due to differences in benefits between forms, shall be
allowed.

(c) If a company establishes a Common Block for compliance
with G.S. 58-51-95(h), the Closed Block portion of policy forms
that make up the Common Block shall comply with G.S. 58-3-
275.

History Note:
58-63-15(7)b;
Eff. July 1, 2006;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-275; 58-51-95;

11 NCAC 16 .0208 ANNUAL ACTUARIAL
CERTIFICATIONS FOR LONG-TERM CARE FORMS
For actuarial certifications required by G.S. 58-51-95(i):

1) The actuarial certification shall be made by an
individual who is either a Fellow or an
Associate of the Society of Actuaries, a Fellow
or an Associate of the Casualty Actuarial
Society, or a member of the American
Academy of Actuaries.

2 For a policy form which becomes closed, but
for that no corrective action is currently
required, or for other situations for which no
corrective action is currently required, the
actuary shall, in lieu of the plan of corrective
action required by G.S. 58-51-95(i)(2), provide
a certification that the actuary has reviewed the
historical experience for the policy form and
that, in the actuary's opinion, a rate revision is
not currently justified.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-171; 58-3-275;
58-51-95; 58-63-15(7)b;

Eff. July 1, 2006;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.
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11 NCAC 16 .0401

DEFINITIONS

As used in this Section:

(1)

)

3)

(4)

()

(6)

"Class of Business" means one of the following
determined by the source of the business:
€)] Credit Unions;

(b) Commercial Banks and Savings and
Loan Associations;

(c) Finance Companies;

(d) Motor Vehicle Dealers;

(e Other Sales Finance; or

(j] All Others.

"Account"” means the aggregate credit life

insurance, credit accident and health insurance,

or credit unemployment insurance coverage for

a single plan of insurance and for a single class

of business written through a single creditor,

whether coverage is written on a group or
individual basis.

"Case" means either a "Single Account Case"

or a "Multiple Account Case" as follows:

@ "Single Account Case" means an
account that is at least 25% credible or,
at the option of the insurer, any higher
percentage as determined by the
Credibility Formula as defined in Item
(6) of this Rule; and

(b) "Multiple Account Case" means two
or more accounts of the same plan of
insurance and class of business having
similar underwriting characteristics,
excluding single account cases defined
in Sub-item (3)(a) of this Rule, and
that when combined, are at least as
credible as the minimum level of
credibility elected in Sub-item (3)(a)

of this Rule.

"Plan of Insurance” means:

€)] decreasing term credit life insurance
on single or joint lives;

(b) level term credit life insurance on
single or joint lives;

(© credit accident and health insurance on

single or joint lives, with single
premiums that vary by waiting period
and retroactive or nonretroactive
benefits; and

(d) credit Unemployment insurance on
single or joint lives.

"Credibility Factor" means the degree to which

the past experience of a case is expected to

occur in the future.

"Credibility Formula"” means the following

process used to calculate the credibility factor:

@ determine the incurred claim count
during the experience period,;

(b) divide Sub-item (6)(a) of this Rule by
1082;

(c) take the square root of Sub-item (6)(b)
of this Rule; and

Y]

®)

©)

(10)

11)

(12)

(13)

(14

(15)

(16)

(d) the credibility factor is the lesser of the
number one and the results of
Sub-item (6)(c) of this Rule.

"Earned Premium at Current Approved Rate"

means North Carolina earned premium, during

the experience period, restated as though the
current North Carolina approved rate had been
charged.

“Incurred Losses" means North Carolina

incurred losses during the experience period

including the increase in provision for incurred
losses, whether reported or not, from the
beginning to the end of the period.

"Expense Ratio" means the ratio of the insurer's

operating expenses for a class of business and

plan of insurance to its earned premium for that
class of business and plan of insurance.

"Operating Expenses" means any combination

of the following expenses:

@) commissions;

(b) other acquisition;

(c) general Administration;

(d) taxes, licenses, and fees; and
(e) profit and contingency margin.

"Benchmark Loss Ratio™ means the percentage
of premium that is expected to be used to pay
losses. It is calculated by subtracting the
expense loss ratio from the number one.

"Rate Adjustment Factor" means the result of
the calculations in 11 NCAC 16 .0403(15).
"Experience Period" means the period of time
for which experience is reported, but not for a
period longer than the most recent three years.
"Incurred Claim Count” means the number of
North Carolina claims incurred for the case
during the experience period. This means the
total number of claims reported during the
experience period, whether paid or in the
process of payment, plus any claims incurred
but not reported at the end of the experience
period less the number of claims incurred but
not reported at the beginning of the experience
period. If a debtor has been issued more than
one certificate for the same plan of insurance,
then only one claim shall be counted. If a debtor
receives  credit  disability or  credit
unemployment benefits, then only the initial
claim payment for that period of disability or
period of unemployment is counted.

"Incurred Loss Ratio at Current Approved
Rate" means the ratio of incurred losses, as
defined in Item (8) of this Rule, to earned
premium at current North Carolina approved
rate, as defined in Item (7) of this Rule.

"Class of Business Incurred Loss Ratio at
Current Approved Rate" means the ratio of
incurred losses, as defined in Item (8) of this
Rule, to earned premium at current North
Carolina approved rate, as defined in Item (7)
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of this Rule, for the class of business and plan
of insurance associated with the case.

@an "Qualified Actuary" means an individual who
is a member of the American Academy of
Actuaries, an Associate or Fellow of the Society
of Actuaries, or an Associate or Fellow of the
Casualty Actuarial Society.

(18) "Maximum Approved Rate" means the current
North Carolina approved rate for the case
multiplied by the prima facie rate adjustment
factor as defined in Item (12) of this Rule.

History Note:
70;
Eff. January 1, 1994;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-35(a); 58-57-

11 NCAC 16 .0402
REQUIREMENTS
(@) All rate deviation requests, including the data required by Rule
.0403 of this Section, shall be submitted to the Life and Health
Division. All rate deviation requests shall be submitted no later
than March 31, of each calendar year to become effective during
the calendar year of submission.

(b) All experience used in the calculation of the rate deviation
shall only be North Carolina experience.

(c) All rate deviations shall be submitted, in accordance with this
Rule, to the Life and Health Division each succeeding year for
reevaluation.

(d) All rate deviation calculations shall be performed by or under
the supervision of a qualified actuary.

(e) The following information shall be submitted in regards to the
qualified actuary:

GENERAL SUBMISSION

@ the name of the qualified actuary;

2 the professional designations of the qualified
actuary, e.g. A.S.A., F.S.A., ACAS, FCAS, or
M.AAA;

3) the name and address of the company or
actuarial consulting firm employing the

qualified actuary; and
4) the telephone number, including extension, of
the qualified actuary.
(f) The qualified actuary shall include in the credit rate deviation
request a written statement certifying the following:
(D) that the qualified actuary has reviewed Rules
.0401 through .0403 of this Section;
2 that the qualified actuary certifies that all
submitted calculations and data preparation are
in conformity with Rules .0401 through .0403
of this Section; and
3) that all data submitted are accurate and in
conformity with Rule .0401 of this Section.

History Note:
70;
Eff. January 1, 1994;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-35(a); 58-57-

11 NCAC 16 .0403 CALCULATION PROCEDURE
AND DATA REQUIREMENTS FOR RATE DEVIATIONS
An insurer requesting a rate deviation shall submit to the
Department of Insurance the following information, the results of
each calculation as follows, and the corresponding data required
to perform each calculation in accordance with this Rule,
identified for each case for which the insurer is requesting a rate
deviation:

(D) identification of the class of business and plan
of insurance associated with the case;
2 identification of the single or multiple account

case and, for a multiple account case,
identification of each case;

?3) for the case, calculate the incurred loss ratio at
the current North Carolina approved rate as
defined in Rule .0401(15) of this Section;

4 for the case, calculate the credibility factor
using the credibility formula as defined in 11
NCAC 16 .0401(6);

(5) multiply Item (3) of this Rule by Item (4) of this
Rule;

(6) for the class of business, calculate the class of
business incurred loss ratio at current North
Carolina approved rate as defined in 11 NCAC
16. 0401(16);

) for the class of business, calculate the
credibility factor using the credibility formula
as defined in 11 NCAC 16.0401(6);

8) multiply Item (7) of this Rule by the quantity
one minus Item (4) of this Rule, as in the
following formula: Item (7) of this Rule x [1 -
Item (4) of this Rule];

9 multiply Item (6) of this Rule by Item (8) of this
Rule;

(10) multiply the quantity one minus Item (4) of this
Rule by the quantity one minus Item (7) of this
Rule, as in the following formula: [1 - Item (4)
of this Rule] x [1 - Item (7) of this Rule];

(11) multiply .60 by Item (10) of this Rule;

(12) add Items (5), (9) and (11) of this Rule;

(13) calculate the expense ratio as defined in 11
NCAC 16. 0401(9);

(14) calculate the benchmark loss ratio as defined in
11 NCAC 16. 0401(11);

(15) the rate adjustment factor is equal to Item (12)
of this Rule divided by Item (14) of this Rule;
however, if the rate adjustment factor is greater
than or equal to 0.95 and less than or equal to
1.05, then the rate adjustment factor shall be set
equal to the number one; and

(16) the maximum approved rate in effect for a
period of 12 months is equal to the current
North Carolina approved rate for the case
multiplied by Item (15) of this Rule.

History Note
70;
Eff. January 1, 1994;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2008;

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-35(a); 58-57-
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Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0501
RATIO

The premium rates charged for credit unemployment insurance
shall be reasonable in relation to the benefits provided as indicated
by a minimum annual incurred loss ratio of 60%.

MINIMUM INCURRED LOSS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-110(a);
Eff. January 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. November 11, 2011;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0502
As used in this Section:
(1) "Earned Premium" means North Carolina credit
unemployment earned premium, during the
experience period, restated as though the
current North Carolina credit unemployment
rate had been charged.
)] "Incurred Claims" means North Carolina credit
unemployment incurred losses during the
experience period.
3 "Experience Period" means the period of time
for which experience is reported, but not for a
period longer than the most recent three years.
4) "Incurred Claim Count" means the number of
North Carolina credit unemployment claims
incurred during the experience period. This
means the total number of claims reported
during the experience period, whether paid or in
the process of payment, plus any claims
incurred but not reported at the end of the
experience period less the number of claims
incurred but not reported at the beginning of the
experience period. Only the initial claim
payment for that period of unemployment shall
be counted.
(5) "Credibility Factor" means the degree to which
the past experience is expected to occur in the
future.
(6) "Credibility Formula"” means the following
process used to calculate the credibility factor:
@ determine the incurred claim count
during the experience period;

(b) divide Sub-item (6)(a) of this Rule by
1082;

(© take the square root of Sub-item (6)(b)
of this Rule; and

(d) the credibility factor is the lesser of the
number one and the results of
Sub-item (6)(c) of this Rule.

(7 "Qualified Actuary" means an individual who
is a member of the American Academy of
Actuaries, an Associate or Fellow of the Society
of Actuaries, or an Associate or Fellow of the
Causality Actuarial Society.

(8) "Incurred Loss Ratio at Current Credit
Unemployment Rate" means the ratio of

DEFINITIONS

incurred losses, as defined in Item (2) of this
Rule, to earned premium, as defined in Item (1)
of this Rule.

History Note: 58-2-40; 58-57-70;

58-57-110(a);

Eff. January 1, 1994;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S.

11 NCAC 16 .0503
REQUIREMENTS
(@ All credit unemployment minimum incurred loss ratio
compliance demonstrations shall be submitted to the Life and
Health Division upon request.

(b) All experience used in the demonstration of compliance shall
be only North Carolina experience.

(c) All compliance demonstrations shall be submitted, in
accordance with this Rule, to the Life and Health Division each
succeeding year for reevaluation.

(d) The following information shall be submitted in regards to the
qualified actuary:

GENERAL SUBMISSION

(8] the name of the qualified actuary;

2 the professional designations of the qualified
actuary;

©) the name and address of the company or
actuarial consulting firm employing the

qualified actuary; and
(@) the telephone number, including extension, of
the qualified actuary.
(e)  The qualified actuary shall include in the credit
unemployment rate request a written statement certifying the
following:
(8] that the qualified actuary has reviewed Rules
.0501 through .0504 of this Section;
2 that the qualified actuary certifies that all
submitted calculations and data preparation are
in conformity with Rules .0501 through .0504
of this Section; and
3 that all data submitted are accurate and in
conformity with Rule .0502 of this Section.

History Note:
110(a);

Eff. January 1, 1994;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2011;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-70; 58-57-

11 NCAC 16 .0504 CALCULATION PROCEDURE
AND DEMONSTRATION OF COMPLIANCE
Each credit unemployment insurer shall submit to the Department
of Insurance the results of each calculation as follows and the
corresponding data required to perform each calculation in
accordance with this Rule:
1) calculate the incurred loss ratio at current credit
unemployment rate as defined in 11 NCAC 16
.0502(8);
2 calculate the credibility factor using the
credibility formula as defined in 11 NCAC 16
.0502(6);
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3) multiply Item (1) of this Rule by Item (2) of this
Rule;

4) multiply .60 by the quantity one minus Item (2)
of this Rule;

(5) add Items (3) and (4) of this Rule; and

(6) divide Item (5) of this Rule by .60. Compliance
with 11 NCAC 16 .0501 shall be satisfied if this
quotient is equal to or greater than one. If this
quotient is less than one, then in order to satisfy
11 NCAC 16 .0501 the insurer shall decrease
the current credit unemployment rate until the
quotient is equal to or greater than one.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-57-70;
58-57-110(a);

Eff. January 1, 1994;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0601 DEFINITIONS

(@) The definitions contained in G.S. 58-67-5 shall apply in this
Section.
(b) As used in this Section:

@ "Adjusted community rating” means a rating
method that allows an HMO to prospectively
establish premium rates based upon the
expected revenue requirements for individual
groups and to take into account a group's

historical ~utilization, intensity, or cost
experience.
(2) "Capitated" means covered health care services

are provided by an HMO, medical group, or
institution based on a prepaid fixed amount per
enrollee regardless of the actual value of those
services.

3 "Community rating" means a general method of
establishing premiums for financing health care
in which an individual's rate is based on the
actual or anticipated average cost of health
services used by all HMO members in a
specified service area.

4) "Community rating by class" means a
modification of community rating whereby
individual groups may have different rates
depending on the composition by age, gender,

number of family members covered,
geographic area, or industry.
(5) "Contingency reserve" means the unassigned

funds held over and above any known or
estimated liabilities of an HMO for the
protection of its enrollees against the
insolvency of the HMO.

(6) "Contract type" means a classification of the
members into categories, usually based on
enrolled dependent status, such as subscriber
only, subscriber with one dependent, and
subscriber with two or more dependents.

(7) "Credibility rating" means a rating method that
establishes premium rates based upon the
assignment of a level of credibility to an HMO

group's historical utilization, intensity, or cost
experience.

(8) "Fee-for-service” means payment for health
care services is made on a retrospective basis
based on the actual value of those services.

9) "Full-service HMO" means an HMO that
provides a comprehensive range of medical

services, including hospital and physician
services.
(10) "HMO expansion request” means all materials

submitted for the purpose of obtaining authority
to operate an HMO in a new or expanded
geographic area in this State.

(11) "HMO model type" means a classification that
describes the manner in which physicians are
affiliated with the HMO and the contractual and
payment arrangements with hospitals, and
includes types such as group, network, staff,
independent practice association, and point-of-
service.

(12) "HMO rate filing" means an initial HMO rate
filing, an HMO expansion request, or an HMO
rate revision filing.

(13) "HMO rate revision filing" means all materials
submitted for the purpose of making a revision
to an existing schedule of premiums.

(14) "Incurred loss ratio" means the ratio of total
medical expenses, including the change in

claim reserves to total earned premium
revenues.
(15) "Initial HMO rate filing" means all materials

submitted for the purpose of obtaining a
certificate of authority to operate an HMO in
this State.

(16) "Single-service HMO" means an HMO that
undertakes to provide or arrange for the
delivery of a single or limited type of health
care service to a defined population on a
prepaid basis.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-67-50(b); 58-67-150;
Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0602
REQUIREMENTS
(a) All schedules of premiums for enrollee coverage for health
care services and all amendments to schedules of premiums that
are filed with the Department shall be submitted to and stamped
received by the Life and Health Division and shall indicate
whether the filing is an original or amended filing. All data
requirements prescribed by this Section shall be submitted within
30 days after the date that the filing is stamped received, or the
filing will be deemed to be disapproved. Subsequent data
submissions for rate filings deemed to be in non-compliance with
this Section shall be made directly to the Department's Actuarial
Services Division within the 30 day period.

(b) All filings shall be accompanied by:

HMO GENERAL FILING
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1) A certification by a qualified actuary that the
premiums applicable to an enrollee are not
individually determined based on the status of
their health and that such premiums are
established in accordance with actuarial
principles for various categories of enrollees
and are not excessive, inadequate, or unfairly
discriminatory.

2 Actuarial data supporting the schedule of
premiums as prescribed by 11 NCAC 16 .0603,
11 NCAC 16 .0604, 11 NCAC 16 .0605, 11
NCAC 16 .0206 and 11 NCAC 16 .0207.

(c) As used in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, "qualified actuary"
means an individual who is a member of the American Academy
of Actuaries, an Associate or Fellow of the Society of Actuaries,
or an Associate or Fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society, and
has at least three years of substantive experience in the HMO or
another managed health care field.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-67-50(b); 58-67-150;
Eff. April 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0603
REQUIREMENTS
All HMO rate filings shall include the following data:

HMO RATE FILING DATA

(1) identification and a brief description of the
HMO model type;

(2) identification of the enrollee issue basis,
whether individual or group;

3 identification and a brief description of the type

of rating methodology, such as community
rating, community rating by class, adjusted
community rating, credibility rating, or other;

(@) identification and listing of all rate
classification factors, such as age, gender,
geographic area, industry, group size, or
effective date;

(5) a brief, summary description and numerical
demonstration of the development of the
capitated rate, including a listing of sources
used;

(6) a brief, summary description and numerical
demonstration of the development of any
portion of the premium rate developed for fee-
for-service claims, including a listing of sources
used;

@) a brief, summary description of the claim
reserving methodology and the incorporation of
claim reserves into the premium rate;

(8) a brief, summary description of the procedure
and assumptions used to convert the total per
member per month cost to the proposed
premium rates, including assumptions for the
distribution of community rated contracts by
contract type, the ratios by tier to the single rate,
and the average number of members in each
contract type;

9 the projected monthly incurred loss ratios for
the period of time equal to the number of
months for which the rates will be in effect, plus
the number of months the rates will be
guaranteed; and

(10) the percentage of the per member per month
premium for administrative expenses and for
surplus.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-67-50(b); 58-67-150;
Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0604 INITIAL HMO RATE FILING
DATA REQUIREMENTS AND STANDARDS

(@) All initial HMO rate filings shall include, in addition to the
data required by 11 NCAC 16 .0603, the following data:

1) a comparison of the rates to other HMO rates
with the same effective date in North Carolina
for similar benefit plans; and

2 a three-year financial projection, provided by
the Department's Actuarial Services Division,
that details total membership, revenues, and
expenses, and that includes a statement of cash
flow, a balance sheet, and a statement of
working capital and net worth.

(b) All initial HMO rate filings shall use in the rate development
a total retention loading of:

1) no greater than 25.0% of the total premium rate
for full-service HMO products issued on a
group basis;

2 no greater than 35.0% of the total premium rate
for single-service HMO products issued on a
group basis;

3) no greater than 35.0% of the total premium rate
for full-service HMO products issued on an
individual basis; or

4 no greater than 45.0% of the total premium rate
for single-service HMO products issued on an
individual basis.

(c) If an HMO uses a total retention loading that is less than the
maximum limit cited in Paragraph (b) of this Rule minus 15.0%,
then the following supporting documentation shall be included in
the filing:

(8] a listing of each of the specific components that
make up the total retention loading expressed as
a percentage of premium;

2 a brief description of the methodology
employed to obtain each of the components that
make up the total retention loading;

?3) a brief explanation as to why any of the
components which make up the total retention
loading have changed and a statement of
opinion from an officer of the HMO that these
changes are permanent in nature;

(@) a brief, summary description of the impact of
any special fee negotiations or contract
arrangements that affect the premium rates.
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Identification of specific hospitals or physician
groups shall not be required; and
(5) a comparison of the rates to other HMO rates
with similar benefit plans.
(d) All HMO's must project a positive net income after taxes in
each of the last 12 months of the three year financial projection.

History Note:
58-67-150;

Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-67-10(d)(1); 58-67-50(b);

11 NCAC 16 .0605 HMO EXPANSION REQUEST
DATA REQUIREMENTS

All HMO expansion requests shall include, in addition to the data
required by 11 NCAC .0603, the following data:

(1) a comparison of the actual financial results,
including total membership, revenues, and
expenses, to the projected financial results for
at least the most recent 12-month period; and

)] a three-year financial projection, provided by
the Department's Actuarial Services Division,
that details total membership, revenues, and
expenses, and that includes a statement of cash
flow, a balance sheet, and a statement of
working capital and net worth for both the
existing service area and the proposed area of
expansion.

History Note:
58-67-150;

Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-67-10(d)(1); 58-67-50(b);

11 NCAC 16 .0606 HMO RATE REVISION FILING
DATA REQUIREMENTS

All HMO rate revision filings shall include, in addition to the data
required by 11 NCAC 16 .0603, the following data:

1) a brief, summary description of the scope and
reason for any rate revision, including the
methodology employed to determine the
revised rates;

(2) the number of months the rates will be in effect
and the number of months the rates will be
guaranteed;

3 the dates and average percentage amounts of:
@ all prior rate revisions in North

Carolina during the preceding three
years; and
(b) the current rate revision request;
and quarterly rate increases shall be shown in comparison to both
the immediately preceding quarter and the corresponding quarter
of the previous 12-month period;

4) the North Carolina average annual per member
per month premium revenue before and after
the rate revision;

(5) a brief, summary explanation of all deviations
in actual versus expected utilization rates or

medical costs that may be used to justify a
premium rate revision;

(6) identification and a brief, summary description
of the derivation of all trend factors used to
project medical expenses;

@) a comparison of the actual financial results,
including total membership, revenues, and
expenses, to the projected financial results for
at least the most recent 12-month period; and

(8) a financial projection for the period of time
equal to the number of months the rates will be
in effect plus the number of months the rates
will be guaranteed, provided by the Department
Actuarial Services Division, that details total
membership, revenues, and expenses, and that
includes a statement of cash flow, a balance
sheet, and a statement of working capital and
net worth.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-67-50(b); 58-67-150;
Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0607 HMO INCURRED LOSS RATIO

STANDARDS
(a) The following shall apply to all HMO rate revision filings:
1) The application of a requested rate increase or

decrease shall result in an average incurred loss

ratio projected for North Carolina over the

period required in 11 NCAC 16 .0606(8) of this

Section that is not less than:

(A) 75.0% for full-service HMO products
issued on a group basis;

B) 65.0% for single-service HMO
products issued on a group basis;

© 65.0% for full-service HMO products
issued on an individual basis; or

(D) 55.0% for single-service HMO
products issued on an individual basis.

2) If the average incurred loss ratio projected for

North Carolina over the period required in 11

NCAC 16 .0606(8) of this Section is greater

than the minimum limit cited in Subparagraph

(@)(1) of this Rule plus 15.0%, then the

following supporting documentation shall be

included in the filing:

(A) a list of each of the specific
components that make up the total
retention loading expressed as a
percentage of premium;

(B) a brief description of the methodology
employed to obtain each of the
components that make up the total
retention loading;

© a brief explanation as to why any of
the components that make up the total
retention loading have changed and a
statement of opinion from an officer of

33:09

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

NOVEMBER 1, 2018




APPROVED RULES

the HMO that these changes are
permanent in nature;

(D) a brief, summary description of the
impact of all special fee negotiations
or contract arrangements that affect
the premium rates. Identification of
specific hospitals or physician groups
shall not be required; and

(E) a comparison of the rates to other
HMO rates with similar benefit plans.

(b) The following shall apply to all initial HMO rate filings and
HMO expansion requests:

1) The average incurred loss ratio projected for
North Carolina over the last 12 months of the
three year financial projection period shall be
no less than:

(A) 75.0% for full-service HMO products
issued on a group basis;

(B) 65.0% for single-service HMO
products issued on a group basis;

© 65.0% for full-service HMO products
issued on an individual basis; or

(D) 55.0% for single-service HMO
products issued on an individual basis.

)] If the average incurred loss ratio projected for
North Carolina over the last 12 months of the
three year financial projection is greater than
the minimum limit cited in Subparagraph (b)(1)
of this Rule plus 15.0%, then the following
supporting documentation shall be included in
the filing:

(A) a list of each of the specific
components that make up the total
retention loading expressed as a
percentage of premium;

(B) a brief description of the methodology
employed to obtain each of the
components that make up the total
retention loading;

© a brief explanation as to why any of
the components that make up the total
retention loading have changed and a
statement of opinion from an officer of
the HMO that these changes are
permanent in nature;

(D) a brief, summary description of the
impact of any special fee negotiations
or contract arrangements that affect
the premium rates. Identification of
specific hospitals or physician groups
shall not be required; and

(E) a comparison of the rates to other
HMO rates with similar benefit plans.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-67-50(b); 58-67-150;
Eff. April 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0701
As used in this Section:
(D) "Claim reserves" means reserves or liabilities
held for claims incurred on or before the
valuation date, but unpaid as of the valuation
date. Claim reserves include both reported and
unreported claims. Claim reserves are
established for both accrued and unaccrued
benefits.
2 "Valuation date” means the date at which
reserves are estimated.

DEFINITIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-67-135(b);
Eff. February 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0702 CLAIMS

(@ When an HMO has been informed that a claim has been
incurred, if the date reported is on or before the valuation date, the
claim shall be considered as a reported claim.

(b) When an HMO has not been informed, on or before the
valuation date, concerning a claim that has been incurred on or
before the valuation date, the claim shall be considered as an
unreported claim.

(c) The date on which a claim is determined to be a liability of an
HMO is the incurred date. For example: The incurred date for
charges for inpatient hospital and physician visits in hospital shall
be the date of admission, for outpatient hospital charges shall be
the date of service, and for surgical expenses shall be the date of
the surgery.

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-67-135(b);
Eff. February 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0703
REQUIREMENTS
(@) A quarterly claim reserve data filing shall be made by any
HMO that has been in operation for more than one full calendar
year but less than three full calendar years.
(b) An annual claim reserve data filing shall be made by any
HMO that satisfies either of the following conditions:
1) for the most recent quarterly valuation the net
worth less the contingency reserve is less than
the statutory minimum stated in G.S. 58-67-
110(c) or G.S. 58-67-110(d); or
2 for the most recent annual valuation the sum of
the following exceeds 110 percent of the
estimated liability of wunpaid claims on
December 31 of the previous year:
(A) total of claims paid during the year and
incurred in previous years; and
(B) claims unpaid at December 31 of the
current year on claims incurred in
previous years.
(c) A triennial claim reserve data filing shall be made by all
HMOs.

CLAIM RESERVE FILING
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(d) All annual and triennial claim reserve data filings shall be sent
to the Actuarial Services Division by March 1 of the reporting
year.

(e) All quarterly claim reserve data filings shall be sent to the
Actuarial Services Division within 45 days after the end of each
calendar quarter.
History Note: 58-2-40;
58-67-150;

Eff. February 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. April 1, 1997;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority  G.S. 58-67-135(b);

11 NCAC 16 .0704 CLAIM RESERVE DATA AND
FORMAT REQUIREMENTS

(@) The data requirements in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be
recorded for the following types of claims:

1) inpatient Claims;
2 physician Claims;
3) referral Claims; and
(@) other.

(b) For the most recent 24-month period immediately preceding
and including the valuation date, the following "monthly"
historical data shall be recorded by the month in which the claim
or payment was incurred and by the following:

@ cumulative number of claims reported through
the 24-month period,;

(2) cumulative number of claims paid through the
24-month period,;

3) cumulative dollar amount of claims paid
through the 24-month period; and

(@) cumulative dollar amount of claims incurred

through the 24-month period.
(c) The following monthly historical data shall be recorded for
the most recent 24-month period immediately preceding and
including the valuation date:

(D) earned premiums by calendar month;

(2) total number of enrollees at the beginning and
end of each month; and

3) data on claim amounts greater than or equal to

one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000).

History Note:
58-67-150;
Eff. February 1, 1995;

Amended Eff. December 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-67-135(b);

11 NCAC 16 .0705 CLAIM RESERVE
METHODOLOGY AND ACTUARIAL CERTIFICATION
(@) A written description of the claim reserve methodology and a
numerical verification of the claim reserves submitted in 11
NCAC 16 .0704(d) shall be included with each annual filing.

(b) Each annual filing shall contain an actuarial certification
signed by an actuary stating that the actuary has examined the
claim reserves listed in Schedule - H, Section |1, and affirms that
these claim reserves are calculated in accordance with generally
accepted actuarial principles and practices and in the actuary's
opinion are adequate.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-67-135(b);
Eff. February 1, 1995;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

11 NCAC 16 .0801 SMALL EMPLOYER GROUP
HEALTH INSURANCE ACTUARIAL CERTIFICATION
(a) Each small employer group carrier, as defined in G.S. 58-50-
110(23), shall use the following language in its actuarial
certification:

(D) The opening paragraph shall state either of the
following, as applicable:

(A) For a carrier actuary, the opening
paragraph shall state:
"I, (name and title of actuary), am an
(officer, employee) of (name of
carrier) and am a member of the
American Academy of Actuaries. | am
familiar with G.S. 58-50-130."

(B) For a consulting actuary, the opening
paragraph shall state:
"I, (name and title of consulting
actuary), am associated with (name of
actuarial consulting firm) and am a
member of the American Academy of
Actuaries. | have been involved in the
preparation of the small employer
group health insurance premium rates
for the (name of carrier) and am
familiar with G.S. 58-50-130."

2) A scope paragraph shall be included, which

shall include the following language:
"l have examined the actuarial assumptions and
methodology used by (name of carrier) in used
by (name of carrier) in implementing the small
employer group health benefit plan rating
provisions of G.S. 58-50-130.

3 If the actuary has examined the underlying

records, the scope paragraph shall include the
following language:
"l have examined the underlying records and
summaries of data used by (name of carrier) in
determining small employer group health
benefit plan premium rates and procedures used
by (name of carrier) in implementing the small
employer group health benefit plan rating
provisions of G.S. 58-50-130."

4) If the actuary has not examined the underlying
records, but has relied upon listings and
summaries of data prepared by an officer of the
company, the scope paragraph shall include the
following language:

"l have not examined the underlying records
used by (name of carrier) in determining small
employer group health benefit plan premium
rates and procedures used by (name of carrier)
in implementing the small employer group
health benefit plan rating provisions of G.S. 58-
50-130. | have relied upon listings and
summaries of data prepared by (name and title
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(5)

of company officer) as certified in the attached
statement."

The certification paragraph shall state:

"l certify that for the period from January 1,
(year) to December 31, (year) the rating
method(s) of (name of carrier) are actuarially
sound and that:

(A)

(B)

(©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(©)

(H)

(1

The rating factors used by (name of
carrier) in its adjusted community
rating (ACR) methodology are being
applied consistently, are not being
applied individually in the final
premium rate charged to an employee,
and are being applied uniformly to the
premium rate charged to all eligible
employee enrollees in a small
employer group.

Periodic adjustment factors that give
recognition to medical claim or
medical inflation trends are based on
(name of carrier)'s entire small
employer group health benefit plan
business, the same in a given month
for a new and a renewing small
employer group with the exception of
Part (J) of this Subparagraph, and the
same for 12 consecutive months for a
given small employer group.

All small employer groups within a
given medical care system have the
same medical care system factor.

The medical care system factors
produce rates that are not excessive,
are not inadequate, are not unfairly
discriminatory in the medical care
system areas, and are revenue neutral
to the small employer group carrier for
its small group business in North
Carolina.

The medical care system factors
reflect only the relative differences in
expected costs.

Rate  differences  because  of
differences in health benefit plan
design only reflect benefit differences.
Participation and contribution
requirements do not vary by policy
form.

Stop loss, catastrophic, or reinsurance
coverage provided to small employers
complies with the underwriting,
rating, and other applicable standards
in G.S. 58-50-100 through G.S. 58-50-
156.

The percentage increase in the
premium rate charged to a small
employer for a new rating period does
not exceed the sum of the following:
the percentage change in the ACR as

©)

(K)

L

(M)

(N)

©)

P)

Q

(R)

measured from the first day of the
previous rating period to the first day
of the new rating period; any
adjustment, not to exceed 15 percent
annually, because of claim experience,
health status, or duration of coverage
of the employees or dependents of the
small employer; and any adjustment
because of change in coverage or
change in case characteristics of the
small employer group.

Any adjustment because of duration of
coverage only reflects a difference
between first year and renewal
coverage.

(Name of carrier) uses an ACR
methodology as prescribed in G.S. 58-
50-130(b)(1) and the premium rates
charged during a rating period to small
employer groups with similar case
characteristics for the same coverage
do not deviate from the adjusted
community rate by more than 25
percent for any reason, including
differences in administrative costs and
claims experience.

Differences in administrative costs,
defined as all non-medical care costs,
within a policy form are reflected
within the 25 percent deviation from
the ACR.

(Name of carrier) only uses the
following demographic factors, as
prescribed by G.S. 58-50-130(b)(2):
age, gender, family size, medical care
system, and industry.

All small employer group health
benefit plans are guaranteed issue as
prescribed by G.S. 58-68-40.

The industry rate factor associated
with any industry classification
divided by the lowest industry rate
factor associated with any other
industry classification shall not exceed
1.2,

All small employer group health
benefit plan premium rates are
guaranteed for 12 months as
prescribed in G.S. 58-50-130(b)(3).
All small employer group health
benefit plan premium rate increases
include a common premium rate
increase shared by all small employer
group business.

The premium rates exhibit a
reasonable relationship to the benefits
provided by the policies and are not
excessive, are not inadequate, and are
not unfairly discriminatory."
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(b) The certifying actuary shall include a description and a sample
numerical demonstration of how the small employer group health
benefit plan premium rates were tested for compliance.

(c) If the certifying actuary has not examined the underlying
records or summaries, the person or persons who performed the
examination of the underlying records or summaries shall provide
the following certification, which shall be signed, dated, and
attached to the actuarial certification:

"I, (name and title of certifying officer), am (title) of (hame of
insurer). | hereby affirm that the listings and summaries of data
for (name of carrier) prepared for and submitted to (name of
certifying actuary) were prepared under my direction and, to the
best of my knowledge and belief, are accurate and complete.”

(d) If the certifying actuary submits a qualified certification, the
following information shall be attached to the small employer

QD a description of the incident or incidents that
resulted in the certifying actuary submitting a
qualified certification; and

2 a submission of a remedial plan to bring the
incidents described in Paragraph (d)(1) of this
Rule into compliance with G.S. 58-50-130(b).

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-50-130;
Eff. December 1, 2007;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2018.

group actuarial certification:

12 NCAC 09B .0205

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING (EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2019)

(&) The basic training course for law enforcement officers shall consist of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and

knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function in law enforcement.

(b) The course entitled "Basic Law Enforcement Training™ shall consist of a minimum of 640 hours of instruction and shall include the

following identified topical areas and minimum instructional hours for each:
1) LEGAL UNIT

(A) Motor Vehicle Laws 20 Hours
(B) Controlled Substance 12 Hours
© Elements of Criminal Law 24 Hours
(D) Juvenile Laws and Procedures 8 Hours
(E) Arrest, Search and Seizure/Constitutional Law 28 Hours
(F) Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC)Laws and Procedures 4 Hours
UNIT TOTAL 96 Hours
(2) PATROL DUTIES UNIT
(A) Techniques of Traffic Law Enforcement 24 Hours
(B) Explosives and Hazardous Materials Emergencies 12 Hours
© Traffic Crash Investigation 24 Hours
(D) In-Custody Transportation 8 Hours
(E) Crowd Management 12 Hours
(F) Patrol Techniques 28 Hours
(©)] Law Enforcement Communication and Information Systems 8 Hours
(H) Anti-Terrorism 4 Hours
0] Rapid Deployment 8 Hours
UNIT TOTAL 128 Hours
(3) LAW ENFORCEMENT COMMUNICATION UNIT
(A) Responding to Victims and the Public 10 Hours
(B) Domestic Violence Response 16 Hours
© Ethics for Professional Law Enforcement 4 Hours
(D) Individuals with Mental Iliness and Developmental Disabilities 24 Hours
(E) Crime Prevention Techniques 6 Hours
(F) Communication Skills for Law Enforcement Officers 8 Hours
(©)] Preparing for Court and Testifying in Court 12 hours
UNIT TOTAL 80 Hours
4) INVESTIGATION UNIT
(A) Fingerprinting and Photographing Arrestee 6 Hours
(B) Field Note-taking and Report Writing 12 Hours
© Criminal Investigation 34 Hours
(D) Interviews 16 Hours
(E) Human Trafficking 2 Hours
UNIT TOTAL 70 Hours
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(5) PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT
(A) First Responder

(B) Firearms

© Law Enforcement Driver Training

(D) Physical Fitness (classroom instruction)
(E) Fitness Assessment and Testing

(F) Physical Exercise 1 hour daily, 3 days a week

(©)] Subject Control Arrest Techniques
UNIT TOTAL

(6) SHERIFF-SPECIFIC UNIT
(A) Civil Process

(B) Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Detention Duties
© Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Court Duties

UNIT TOTAL
(7)  COURSE ORIENTATION
(8)  TESTING

TOTAL COURSE HOURS

32 Hours
48 Hours
40 Hours
8 Hours
12 Hours
34 Hours
40 Hours
214 Hours

24 Hours
4 Hours

6 Hours
34 Hours
2 Hours
16 Hours
640 Hours

(c) The "Basic Law Enforcement Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum
for this training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(d) The "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used
by school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic training courses. Copies of this guide may be obtained at the cost

of printing and postage from the Justice Academy.

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. January 1, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 14, 1983 for a period of 120 days to expire on April 12, 1984;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; July 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; July 1, 2017; July 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1, 2014; July 1,
2011; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; November 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; January 1, 1995; February 1,

1991; July 1, 1989.

12 NCAC 09B .0313 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICER
(@ The School Resource Officer training course for law
enforcement officers shall provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource
Officer. The course shall be for a period of 40 hours.
(b) The "School Resource Officer Training" course published by
the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the
curriculum for this training course. Copies of this publication may
be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

(c) Law Enforcement officers assigned by their agency to perform
duties as a School Resource Officer shall:
(8] have been issued general certification by the
NC Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission as a law enforcement
officer; and
2 have completed, or complete within one year
after being assigned as a School Resource
Officer, the School Resource Officer the
"School Resource Officer Training" course
pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. October 1, 2018.
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12 NCAC 09C .0103
INFORMATION
(@) The head of a criminal justice agency may request in writing
and with the appropriate authorization for release, information in
the Standards Division files regarding the suitability or
qualifications of a criminal justice officer for employment or
retention.

(b) The Director of the Standards Division shall evaluate the
request to determine what, if any, information the Standards
Division files contain that is necessary to the retention or
employment of the officer or applicant.

(c) The Director shall divulge the information in the Standards
Division files in accordance with State personnel laws. The
information shall be provided to the head of the criminal justice
agency in writing by personal delivery or personally addressed
first class mail.

(d) The Standards Division shall maintain a copy of the letter
divulging such information in the personnel file of the subject
officer or applicant.

DIVULGING PERSONNEL

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-9;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2018.

12 NCAC 09C .0208 REPORT OF SEPARATION

(a) The Affidavit of Separation and Report of Separation shall be
used for reporting the date of and reason for the separation of a
criminal justice officer from the employing agency. The date of
separation shall be the date the criminal justice officer resigned or
the date the employing agency terminated the employee.

(b) An agency separating a person from employment or
appointment as a criminal justice officer shall, not later than 10
days after separation, forward to the Commission a completed
Affidavit of Separation and Report of Separation.

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; August 1, 2002.
12 NCAC 09C .0305 REPORT OF SEPARATION
History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;

Eff. January 1, 1981;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

12 NCAC 09C .0310 AGENCY REPORTING OF
DRUG SCREENING RESULTS

(&) Each agency shall report in writing to the Criminal Justice
Standards Division all refusals and all positive results of required
drug screening obtained from applicants and lateral transfers. If
the positive result were explained to the satisfaction of the
agency's medical review officer, who shall be a licensed
physician, the positive results are not required to be reported.

(b) Each agency, if it conducts a drug screen for in-service
officers, shall report in writing positive results or refusals to
submit to an in-service drug screening to the Criminal Justice
Standards Division within 30 days of the positive result or refusal,
unless the positive result has been explained to the satisfaction of

the agency's medical review officer to the extent the drug screen
conducted conforms to the specifications of 12 NCAC 09B
.0101(5)(a), (b), (c), (d), and ().

(c) For reporting purposes, a result is considered "positive" only
in those cases where the drug screen reveals the presence of an
illegal drug at a level equal to or greater than the threshold value
as established by the Department of Health and Human Services
for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs and incorporated
by reference in 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5)(d).

(d) All written reports required to be submitted to the Criminal
Justice Standards Division by this Rule shall contain the
individual's name, date of birth, either the date the test was
administered or the date of the refusal, and a copy of the drug
screen panel with the results of the medical officer review.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1990;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; May 1, 2009;

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

12 NCAC 09D .0203
CERTIFICATE

BASIC CRIMINAL JUSTICE

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6;
Eff. August 15, 1981;
Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

12 NCAC 09E .0105 MINIMUM TRAINING
SPECIFICATIONS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING
(EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2019)
(@) The following topics, specifications, and hours shall be
included in each law enforcement officer's annual in-service
training courses. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a credit shall
be equal to one hour of traditional classroom instruction. All
sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a minimum of 24
in-service training credits. The following topics, totaling 20
credits, shall be specifically required:
D 2019 Firearms Training and Qualification (4
credits);
2) 2019 Legal Update (4 credits);
3 2019 Juvenile Law Update (2 credits);
4 Individual Wellness: Coping with Stress &
PTSD (2 credits);
5) 2019 Best Practices for Officers During
Community Dissent (2 credits);
(6) 2019 Law Enforcement Intelligence Update:
Gangs and Divisive Groups (2 credits);
@) 2019 Domestic Violence: Law and Procedure
Update (2 credits);
(8) 2019 Opioid Awareness and Response (2
credits).
(b) All sworn law enforcement officers shall complete a
minimum of 4 in-service credits, in topics identified by their
respective agency heads. The agency head may choose any topic,
provided the lesson plan is written in Instructional Systems
Design format and is taught by an instructor who is certified by
the Commission. Topics delivered pursuant to Rule .0104(1) of
this Section and National Certification Programs administered by
the International Association of Directors of Law Enforcement
Standards and Training (IADLEST) completed during the
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mandated in-service year, shall satisfy in part or in whole the topic
requirements set forth by the agency head. To satisfy this
requirement these topics shall not be required to be written in
Instructional Systems Design format or delivered by an instructor
certified by the Commission.
(c) The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual"
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied
as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms training
program. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office
of the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(d) The "In-Service Lesson Plans" published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum
curriculum for conducting the annual in-service training program.
Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(e) Lesson plans are designed to be delivered in hourly
increments. A student who completes an online in-service training
topic shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the
number of hours of traditional classroom training, regardless of
the amount of time the student spends completing the course.
(f) Completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing a
written test for each in-service training topic, as follows:

(1) A written test comprised of at least five
questions per credit shall be developed by the
agency or the North Carolina Justice Academy
for each in-service training topic requiring
testing. Written courses that are more than four
credits in length shall include a written test
comprising of a minimum of 20 questions. The
Firearms Training and Qualifications in-service
course and topics delivered pursuant to Rule
.0104(1) of this Section shall be exempt from
this written test requirement;

2) A student shall pass each test by achieving 70
percent correct answers; and

3) A student who completes a topic of in-service
training in a traditional classroom setting or
online and fails the end of topic exam shall be
given one attempt to re-test. If the student fails
the exam a second time, the student shall
complete the in-service training topic in a

traditional classroom setting before taking the
exam a third time.

History Note:
Eff. July 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; November 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005;

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017;
July 1, 2016; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1,
2014; June 1,2012; February 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; April 1,
2009; April 1, 2008; February 1, 2007; January 1, 2006.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

12 NCAC 09G .0603
CERTIFICATE

BASIC STATE CORRECTIONS

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6;
Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
Eff. August 1, 2002;

Repealed Eff. October 1, 2018.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

15A NCAC 27 .0120 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING
(&) Any person wishing to request that the Commission adopt,
amend, or repeal a rule shall make the request in a petition
addressed to offices of the Commission:

NC Well Contractors Certification Commission
1653 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1653

(b) Additional contact information for the Commission may be
found online at www.wellcontractors.nc.gov.
(c) The petition shall contain the following information:
@ the text of the proposed rule(s) for adoption or
amendment;
2 a statement of the reasons for adoption of the
proposed rules(s) or the amendment or repeal of
an existing rule(s);

3) the name(s) and address(es) of the petitioner(s);
and
(@) a request to present the petition to the

Commission, if desired.
(d) The petitioner may include the following additional
information:

@ the statutory authority for the agency to
promulgate the rule(s);

2 a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s)
on existing practices in the area involved,
including cost factors for persons affected by
the proposed rule(s);

3 a statement explaining the computation of the
cost factors;

(@) a description, including the names and
addresses, of those most likely to be affected by
the proposed rule(s); and
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(5) documents and data supporting the proposed
rule(s).
(e) In its review of the petition, the Commission shall consider:
(1) whether it has authority to adopt the rule;

(2) the effect of the proposed rule on existing rules,
programs, and practices;
(3) costs of the proposed rule; and

4) the impact of the rule on the public and
regulated entities.
(f) The Commission shall return petitions that do not contain the
information required by Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-301.11; 150B-20;
Eff. October 1, 2018.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 10 - BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC
EXAMINERS

21 NCAC 10 .0203
EXAMINATION
(@) Eligibility. Only those applicants who meet the requirements
of this Rule and G.S. 90-143 or, in the case of reciprocity
applicants, G.S. 90-143.1, and who have submitted a written
application and paid the non-refundable application fee pursuant
to Rule 21 NCAC 10 .0202 shall be allowed to take the North
Carolina examination.
(b) Dates of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall
be given at least once each year, and additional examination dates
may be scheduled based on the number of applications received.
The Board shall announce an examination date not less than 90
days in advance, and the date, time, and location of upcoming
examinations shall be published on the Board's website,
www.ncchiroboard.com. The Board shall also individually notify
an eligible applicant of the date, time, and location of the next
examination as soon as possible after the applicant's non-
refundable application fee has been paid and the written
application completed.
(c) National Boards. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this
Rule, in order to take the North Carolina examination, an
applicant who has never been licensed in this State or who is not
a reciprocity applicant shall first achieve a score of 375 or higher
on each of the following examinations given by the National
Board of Chiropractic Examiners: Part I, Part Il, Part I1l (WCCE),
the elective examination (termed "Physiotherapy" by the National
Board), and Part IV.
(d) Report of Scores. The applicant shall arrange for his or her
test results from any National Board examination to be reported
to the North Carolina Board. Failure to comply with this provision
shall be a basis for delaying the issuance of a license.
(e) Waiver of National Boards. Notwithstanding the requirements
of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant who submits National
Board examinations in conformity with the following schedule
shall not be disqualified from licensure in North Carolina;

(1) An applicant who graduated from chiropractic

college before July 1, 1966 shall not be required

NORTH CAROLINA

to submit a score from any National Board
examination.
2 An applicant who graduated from chiropractic
college between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1986
shall be required to submit scores of 375 or
higher on National Board Part I, Part 1, and the
elective examination termed "Physiotherapy"
but shall not be required to submit a score on
Part 111 (WCCE) or Part IV.
?3) An applicant who graduated from chiropractic
college between July 1, 1986 and June 30, 1997
shall be required to submit scores of 375 or
higher on National Board Part I, Part Il, the
elective examination termed "Physiotherapy,"
and Part 111 (WCCE) but shall not be required
to submit a score on Part 1V.
In order to receive a license, an applicant who qualifies for a
waiver of any National Board score shall take and pass the SPEC
examination and the North Carolina Examination and satisfy all
other requirements for licensure.
(f) SPEC Examination. In order to take the North Carolina
examination, a reciprocity applicant, a waiver applicant pursuant
to Paragraph (e) of this Rule, or an applicant previously licensed
in this State whose license has been cancelled pursuant to G.S. 90-
155 for more than 180 days shall first take and pass the Special
Purpose Examination for Chiropractic ("SPEC"). The SPEC exam
is administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
The passing score shall be 375 or higher.
(9) Nature of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall
be a written test of an applicant's knowledge of North Carolina
chiropractic jurisprudence. No part of the examination shall be
open-book, and no reference material of any kind shall be allowed
in the examination area. The passing grade shall be 75 percent.
(h) Review of Examination. An applicant who has failed the
North Carolina examination may request a review of his or her
examination if the request is made in writing and received by
Board not later than 20 days after issuance of the examination
results. Unless the applicant requests to review his or her answers
in person, the review shall be limited to a re-tabulation of the
applicant's score to make certain no clerical errors were made in
grading. If the applicant requests to review his or her answers in
person, the applicant shall be permitted to do so at the Board
office in the presence of a representative of the Board and for a
period of not more than 30 minutes. The applicant shall not be
permitted to discuss the examination with any member of the
Board, grader, or test administrator.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-
144; 90-145; 90-146; 93B-8;

Eff/ February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978;

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; October 17, 1980;

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983;

Curative Amendment Eff. February 18, 1983;

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; February 1, 2009;
July 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1995; December 1, 1988.

B S i I
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CHAPTER 30 - BOARD OF MASSAGE AND (1)
BODYWORK THERAPY

21 NCAC 30.0302 DISPLAY OF LICENSE

Licensees shall display their Board-issued original license at the
licensees' primary place of practice so as to be visible for
inspection by the public. Licensees providing massage and
bodywork therapy outside their primary place of practice, or at the
location of clients, shall have a Board-issued original license or
wallet card available for inspection upon request by the public.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9);

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. September 2, 2005;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 12, 2014;

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .0401 ADDRESS OF RECORD

(a) Each licensee shall notify the Board in writing within 30 days

of any change of the licensee's current residence street address and

primary place of practice. The licensee shall provide in writing to

the Board his or her mailing address, email address, and telephone

number for the purposes of receiving communication from the 2
Board and for listing in the registry of licensees.

(b) "Primary place of practice" shall mean:

(1) a licensed establishment owned by the licensee
where the licensee provides massage and
bodywork therapy; or

(2) a licensed establishment where the licensee
provides massage and bodywork therapy,
whether as an employee or independent
contractor.

(c) If the licensee provides massage and bodywork therapy only
at the location of clients, the primary place of practice is the
residence address of the licensee.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9);

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 3

Continuing Education:

(A)

(B)

©

Includes attendance and participation
at a live presentation by an approved
provider pursuant to Rule .0702(7) of
this Chapter such as a workshop,
seminar, conference, or in-service
educational program. It may also
include  participation in  other
continuing education activities that
require a formal assessment of
learning, such as an evaluation or
survey. Examples include distance
learning, electronic, or Web-based
COUrses;

There are no maximum contact hours
in this category; however, distance
learning shall not comprise more than
12 contact hours in this category; and
Documentation  shall include a
certificate of completion or similar
documentation including the name of
the course, date, author/instructor,
sponsoring organization, location, and
number of contact hours attended.

Academic Coursework:

(A)

(B)
©

Includes participation in on-site or
distance learning academic courses
from a university, college, or
vocational technical adult education
course in anatomy, physiology,

pathology, psychology,
pharmacology, massage and
bodywork therapy or business
management;

There are no maximum contact hours
in this category; and

Documentation shall include an
original transcript indicating
completion of the course, date, and a
description of the course from the
school catalogue or course syllabus.

Small Group Study:

substantive public interest Eff. November 12, 2014; (A) Includes on-site, in-person review and
Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. discussion, by at least two licensed
practitioners, of professional medical
21 NCAC 30 .0405 PLACE OF PRACTICE journal articles, clinical videotapes or
Licensees may only engage in the practice of massage and audiotapes related to the practice of
bodywork therapy at a massage and bodywork therapy massage and bodywork therapy;
establishment that is licensed by the Board or at a location that is B) There is a maximum of two contact
exempt from establishment licensure as set forth in G.S. 90- hours in this category; and
622(3a). © Documentation shall include title,
author, publisher, time spent, and date
History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9)b.2; of completion. The licensee shall must
Eff. Pending Legislative Review. complete the Small Group Study Form
provided by the Board on its website
21 NCAC 30 .0701 CONTINUING EDUCATION at www.bmbt.org and include a
REQUIREMENTS statement that describes how the
(@) For the purposes of this Section, "approved continuing review and discussion relates to the
education™ means a course offered as follows:
33:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2018
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(4)

Q)

licensee's current or anticipated roles
and responsibilities.

Mentorship Agreement:

(A)

(B)

Participation as a Mentee;

(i) Participation in a formalized
mentorship agreement with a
mentor currently licensed by
the Board with at least two
years of professional
experience and as defined by
a signed contract between the
mentor and mentee provided
by or approved by the Board
that outlines goals and
objectives and designates the
plan of activities that are to
be met by the mentee. These
activities must be related to
massage and  bodywork
therapy skills, knowledge, or
practice;

(i) There is a maximum of five
contact hours in  this
category; and

(iii) Documentation shall include
name of mentor and mentee,
copy of signed contract,
dates, hours spent and focus
of mentorship activities, and
outcomes of  mentorship

agreement.
Participation as Mentor:
0] Participation in a formalized

mentorship agreement with a
mentee as defined by a
signed contract between the
mentor and mentee that
designates the
responsibilities of the mentor
and goals and objectives that
are to be met by the mentee.
These activities must be
related to massage and
bodywork therapy skills,
knowledge, or practice;

(i) There is a maximum of five
contact hours in  this
category; and

(iii) Documentation shall include
name of mentor and mentee,
copy of signed contract,
dates, hours spent and focus
of mentorship activities, and
outcomes of  mentorship
agreement.

Professional Writing:

(A)

Publication or written acceptance for
publication of a book, chapter, or
article evaluated by experts in and

related to massage and bodywork
therapy;

(B) During the year written or edited a
licensee may earn;

(i) 15 contact hours as author of
a book;

(i) 10 contact hours as author of
a chapter;

(iii) Five contact hours as author
of an article; or
(iv) Five contact hours as listed
editor of a book.
© Documentation shall consist of full
reference for publication including
title, author, editor, and date of
publication; or copy of acceptance
letter, if not yet published; and
(D) Credit for submitted items shall be
given for one licensure period only.
(6) Presentation and Instruction:
(A) Presentation for the first time of an
academic course, workshop, or
seminar related to massage and

bodywork therapy;

B) There is a maximum of five contact
hours in this category; and

© Documentation  shall include a

syllabus and the date and hours of
presentation.
@) Professional Meetings and Activities:

(A) Consistent with Rule .0703 of this
Section, participation in board or
committee work with agencies or
organizations to promote and enhance
the practice of massage and bodywork

therapy;

B) There is a maximum of five contact
hours in this category; and

© Documentation shall include the name

of the committee or board, the name of
the agency or organization, purpose of
service, and description of licensee's
role. Participation and hours shall be
documented in writing by an officer or
representative of the organization or

committee.
(8) Research and Grants:
(A) Development of or participation in a

research project or grant proposal
related to massage and bodywork
therapy;

(B) A licensee may earn one contact hour
for each three hours spent working on
a research project or grant proposal.
There is a maximum of five contact
hours in this category; and

© Documentation includes verification
stating the name of the research
project, dates of participation, major
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hypotheses or objectives of the
project, and licensee's role in the
project or name of grant proposal,
name of grant source, purpose and
objectives of the project, and
verification from the grant author
regarding licensee's role in the
development of the grant if the
licensee is not the author.
(b) Distance learning, as defined in Rule .0702 of this Section,
shall not comprise more than 12 hours of the required continuing
education hours per licensure period.
(c) Licensees shall document that they have completed at least
three contact hours of continuing education in professional ethics
as defined in Rule .0702 of this Section, out of the minimum of
24 hours of approved continuing education required for license
renewal. This may be obtained through supervised classroom
instruction or distance learning.
(d) Business management, as defined in Rule .0702 of this
Section, shall not comprise more than eight hours of the minimum
24 hours of approved continuing education required for license
renewal.
(e) Licensees shall ensure that each continuing education course
for which they claim credit on their application for renewal of
licensure complies with this Section.
() The Board shall audit licensees at random to assure
compliance with these requirements.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 90-630.5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; September 2, 2005;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2015;

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .0702 CONTINUING EDUCATION

DEFINITIONS
The following definitions apply to this Section:
(1) Continuing education -- Learning experiences

that develop, maintain, enhance, and expand the
performance skills, interpersonal abilities,
critical reasoning skills, ethical reasoning skills,
knowledge, and attitudes of massage and
bodywork therapists that enable them to render
competent professional service to clients, the
profession, and the public.

2 Distance learning -- Courses taken by home
study that are produced by an approved
provider, whether delivered by videotape,
audiotape, printed materials, or computer-based
means. The licensee shall demonstrate
achievement of learning objectives and
completion of course requirements to the
provider before credit is given.

3) One "contact hour" of continuing education --
At least 50 minutes of any one clock hour
during which the student participates in a
learning activity in the physical presence of an
instructor, or in a distance learning activity

designed by an approved provider. One
semester credit hour at a post-secondary
institution shall be equivalent to 21 contact
hours.

4 Professional ethics -- A system of conduct
guided by principles that are intended to ensure
the safe and effective practice of massage and
bodywork therapy. Acceptable subject matter
for required professional ethics courses may
include: compliance with the Practice Act and
Rules of the Board, management of the
client/therapist relationship, boundary
functions, professional communication skills,
conflict resolution, cultural diversity issues, and
standards of practice.

(5) Business management -- Courses that enable
licensees to learn business skills to apply to
their practice.

(6) Post secondary institution of higher learning —
A degree granting institution accredited by an
accrediting agency recognized by the United
States Department of Education.

) Approved provider -- One that has been
approved by any entity with which the Board
has reached a contractual agreement for the
approval of continuing education providers and
courses. A list of accrediting entities with which
the Board has entered into a contractual
agreement is available on the Board's website at
www.bmbt.org. The provider shall have this
designation when the course begins and shall
maintain this designation continuously until the
course is completed. The Board shall not
recognize any retroactive designation of
provider approval. The provider shall follow all
regulations set forth by its accrediting agency.
The Board may also recognize a continuing
education provider outside the United States or
its territories that is a post-secondary institution
of higher learning approved by the educational
regulation authority of that foreign country.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 90-630.5;
Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2015; April 1, 2005;
Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30.0703 SCOPE OF QUALIFIED
ACTIVITIES FOR MAINTAINING CONTINUING
EDUCATION
(a) To be approved by the Board, continuing education activities
shall be related to roles and responsibilities in massage and
bodywork therapy and serve to protect the public by enhancing
the licensee's continuing competence.
(b) Subject matter for approved activities include:

(D) research;

2 theoretical or practical content related to the

practice of massage and bodywork therapy; or
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3) the development, administration, supervision,
and teaching of clinical practice or service
delivery programs by massage and bodywork
therapists.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 90-630.5;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30.0902 COMPLAINTS
A complaint regarding a violation of the Practice Act or the rules
in this Chapter shall be submitted in writing and shall document:
1) the name of the licensed massage and
bodywork therapist, licensed establishment,
school, person, or other entity involved:;

2 a description of the alleged behavior or
incident; and
3) the name, mailing address, and phone number

of the person filing the complaint.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(13);

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. September 2, 2005;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 12, 2014;

Amended Eff. Pending Delayed Effective Date.

21 NCAC 30 .0905 DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

(@ The following types of disciplinary sanctions regarding
licensed massage and bodywork therapists and massage and
bodywork therapy establishments (licensees) may be utilized by
the Board:

@ Denial of Application: Refusal to license the
applicant;
2 Letter of Reprimand: This formal expression of

disapproval will be retained in the licensee's file
but shall not be publicly announced. It is not
published, but is released upon request by the
public;

3) Probation: A period of time where restrictions
or conditions are imposed on a licensee.
Continued licensure is subject to fulfillment of
specified conditions;

(@) Suspension of license: A condition of
probation. Loss of license for a period after
which the licensee shall be required to reapply
for licensure or remain on probation;

(5) Refusal of License Renewal: A refusal to
reinstate or renew a license;

(6) Revocation of license: An involuntary
termination of a license;

(7 Injunction: A court action prohibiting or
compelling conduct by a licensee; or

(8) Assessment of a civil penalty.

(b) The following types of disciplinary sanctions regarding
schools of massage and bodywork therapy may be utilized by the
Board:
(1) Denial of Application: Refusal
approval to the applicant school;

to grant

2 Letter of Reprimand: A formal expression of
disapproval will be retained in the school's file
but shall not be publicly announced. It is not
published, but is released upon request by the
public;

3 Probation: A period of time where restrictions
or conditions are imposed on an approved
school. Continued approval is subject to
fulfillment of specified conditions;

4 Suspension of approval: A condition of
probation. Loss of approval status for a period
after which the school shall be required to
reapply for approval or remain on probation;

(5) Refusal of Approval: A refusal to reinstate or
renew a school's approval status;

(6) Revocation of Approval: An involuntary
termination of school's approval status;

@) Injunction: A court action prohibiting or
compelling conduct by a school; or
(8) Assessment of a civil penalty.

(c) During an investigation, the Board may request information
from professional associations, professional review organizations
(PROs), hospitals, clinics or other institutions in which a licensee
performs professional services, regarding chemical abuse or
incompetent or unethical behavior.

(d) During an investigation, the Board may request information
from state regulatory agencies, accrediting commissions, or other
institutions that oversee the activities of a school.

(e) The Board shall provide notice of sanction taken by it to other
public entities to ensure that other state boards, national
certification boards, professional associations, enforcement
authorities, and accrediting agencies receive the names of
licensees and schools disciplined.

History Note:
90-634.1;
Temporary Adoption Eff. February 15, 2000;

Eff. April 1, 2001;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2005;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. November 12, 2014;

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

Authority G.S. 90-626(4), 90-626(14); 90-633;

21 NCAC 30.1001
REQUIRED

(a) For purposes of the rules in this Chapter, “establishment"
means "massage and bodywork therapy establishment" as defined
in G.S. 90-622.

(b) An establishment license granted by the Board shall be for a
single location. An owner who intends to operate additional
locations shall submit an application for licensure for each
location.

(c) Establishments already in operation on the date this Section
becomes effective shall have 180 days from the effective date to
submit an application for licensure to the Board.

ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9)b.2; 90-632.10;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.
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21 NCAC 30 .1002 TERM OF LICENSE

(@) Initial establishment license applications submitted between
October 1 and December 31 shall be granted for two years, plus
an additional period of up to three months. Initial establishment
license applications submitted between January 1 and September
30 shall be granted for two years, minus the period following
January 1.

(b) Pursuant to G.S. 90-630.5, an establishment license shall be
renewed for a term of two years, beginning on January 1 following
the initial expiration date.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-630.5(a);
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .1003
LICENSURE

A massage and bodywork therapy establishment seeking initial
licensure shall submit an application on a form provided by the
Board containing the information set forth in G.S. 90-632.11 and

INITIAL APPLICATION FOR

(a) comply with State and local building
code requirements, State fire safety
codes, and State health inspection
codes;

(b) provide for the use of clients and
therapists a restroom with at least one
toilet and one sink with running water.
The facilities shall be equipped with
toilet tissue, a soap dispenser with
soap or other hand cleaning materials,
sanitary towels or other hand drying
device such as a wall-mounted electric
blow dryer, and waste receptacle.
Restroom and shower facilities shall
be lighted, ventilated, and maintained.
Establishments located in buildings
housing multiple businesses under one
roof, such as shopping malls,
terminals, or hotels, may substitute

the following: centralized toilet facilities;
@ Ownership information, including: (c) if equipped with a whirlpool bath,
@ type of ownership structure; sauna, steam cabinet, or steam room,
(b) names, residence addresses, phone maintain shower facilities on the
numbers, and email addresses of all premises; and
persons who have an ownership (d) display the original Massage and
interest in the establishment, including Bodywork Therapy Establishment
parent corporations; and License, and the licenses of all
(© if the operator is not the owner, the LMBTs in a place at the establishment
operator shall provide the information S0 as to be visible for inspection by the
required in Rule .1004. public.
(2) Location information, including: 2 Safety and sanitary requirements:
@ Physical address of the establishment, (@) provide for human passage in the
and mailing address if different; public areas of the premises;
(b) Website address, if any; and (b) provide for removal of garbage;
(© Business phone number. (c) provide for storage or removal of
3 Trade name of establishment, if different from flammable materials;
owner's name; (d) exterminate all wvermin, insects,
4) List of all LMBTs hired as employees or termites, and rodents on the premises;
contracted with as independent contractors to (e) maintain all equipment used to
provide treatment to clients, if known, or, if not perform massage and bodywork
known, submit to the Board within 60 days therapy services on the premises.
following granting of a license to operate; Clean sheets, towels, or other
(5) Copy of lease or name, address, phone number coverings shall be used to cover the
and email address of lessor, if establishment massage table for each client; and
does not own its facility; (f maintain a supply of clean drapes,
(6) Copy of city or county business license, if towels, gowns, or sheets, for the
required; and purpose of draping each client while
@) Completed self-evaluation inspection report the client is being massaged, and
demonstrating compliance with Rule .1004. launder before reuse all linens
furnished for the personal use of the
History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-632.11; 90-632.13; client.
Eff. Pending Legislative Review. ?3) Treatment requirements:
@) All massage and bodywork therapy
21 NCAC 30.1004 ESTABLISHMENT treatments shall be administered by
OPERATIONS LMBTSs licensed in North Carolina;
Licensed establishments shall comply with the following and
requirements: (b) The establishment is responsible for
(1) Facility requirements: ensuring that the Standards of
Professional Conduct set forth in
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Section .0500 of this Chapter are
maintained in its facility by all owners,

employees, and independent
contractors.
4) Business and advertising requirements:
(@) notify the Board in writing of all

assumed name certificates filed by the
establishment owner with any county
register of deeds pursuant to the
requirements of G.S. 66-71.1 through
66-71.15;

(b) notify the Board within 30 days of
changes to the LMBT staff who
provide massage and bodywork
therapy services at the establishment,
including employees and independent
contractors; and

(c) advertisement of massage and
bodywork therapy services shall
include the establishment's name and
license number.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-632.12(b); 90-632.13;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .1005
AND OWNERSHIP
(a) Records shall be maintained by the establishment or the LMBT
in compliance with Rules .0504 and .0505 of this Chapter.
(b) Records stored electronically shall be maintained with a
weekly back-up system.
(c) Client records are the property of the:

@ Establishment; or

)] LMBT, when working at an establishment.
(d) Release of Records:

(D) Client records shall be released within 30 days
from being requested and authorized by the
client in writing or when compelled by law or
rule; and

(2) The establishment or LMBT may charge cost
for duplicating client records pursuant to G.S.
90-411.

CLIENT RECORDS RETENTION

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-632.13(3);
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .1006 INSPECTIONS

(a) Upon receipt of an application for a massage and bodywork
therapy establishment license, employees or representatives of the
Board may inspect the location upon allegations of violations of
the Practice Act and Rules to verify Rules .1003 and .1004 of this
Chapter are satisfied.

(b) The Board may inspect all licensed establishments upon
allegations of violations of the Practice Act and Rules to ensure
compliance with the Practice Act. Inspectors shall respect the
client's safety, comfort, and privacy.

(c) During any inspection, if the posted establishment license is
expired, suspended, or revoked, the establishment license shall be
removed from the establishment by the inspector and returned to

the Board, and the owner whose license was expired, suspended,
or revoked shall be notified by the Board. During any inspection,
if any license for a massage and bodywork therapist posted in the
establishment is expired, suspended, or revoked, the massage and
bodywork therapist license shall be removed from the
establishment and shall be returned to the Board by the inspector.
The person whose license was expired, suspended, or revoked
shall be notified and a hearing scheduled if requested by that
person.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-632.13(5);
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .1007 CHANGE OF TRADE NAME
When there is no change of owner or location, the owner may
change the trade name of the establishment in compliance with
Rules .0402 and .0403 of this Chapter. The owner shall notify the
Board in writing of the change of name. A new trade name shall
not be used until the establishment is in compliance with this Rule.
When an establishment trade name is changed without a change
in owner or location, a new establishment facility inspection shall
not be required.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-632.12; 90-632.13(6);
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30 .1008 CHANGE OF LOCATION

An establishment license shall not be transferable when there is a
change in the physical location of the establishment. The owner
shall submit a new application for licensure. The Board may issue
temporary operating approval to the owner for the new location
for a period of 90 days if the establishment held a valid license
prior to the change, and the Board finds that the new location will
qualify for licensure upon preliminary review of the application.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-632.13(6);
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30.1011 CONTINUING DUTY TO
REPORT CERTAIN CRIMES AND CIVIL SUITS

(a) Establishment licensees shall report to the Board any charges,
convictions of, or pleas of guilty or no contest to the following
criminal offenses, whether committed by themselves, employees,
independent contractors, or by other licensees:

(8] felonies;

2 crimes that involve moral turpitude;
3) alcohol or drug-related offenses;
4) sexual-related offenses; and

5) assault.

(b) Establishment licensees shall report to the Board if they are
named as a defendant in a civil suit arising out of a licensee's
practice of massage and bodywork therapy or out of the practice
of massage and bodywork therapy by any employee or
independent contractor.

(c) Establishment licensees shall report a charge, conviction, plea
in a criminal case, or involvement as a defendant in a civil suit, as
set forth in Paragraphs (a) or (b) of this Rule, within 30 days after
the licensee obtains knowledge.
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-626(9); 90-626(9)b.2; 90-
632.10; 90-632.15(a)(5); 90-632.17; 90-632.18; 90-633(a)(6);
90-634(b3);

Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30.1012 LICENSE RENEWAL

(@) Any establishment licensee renewing a license shall comply
with all requirements for licensure and shall submit the required
renewal fee pursuant to G.S. 90-632.14(a)(3).

(b) An establishment license that has not been renewed prior to
its expiration date is expired and shall submit an initial application
for licensure pursuant to Rule .1003 of this Chapter.

(c) Any owner whose establishment license has expired and who
engages in or permits any massage and bodywork therapy
activities governed by the Practice Act shall be subject to the
penalties prescribed in G.S. 90-634 and G.S. 90-634.1.

(d) Members of the armed forces whose establishment licenses
are in good standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an
extension of time to file a tax return shall be granted that same
extension of time to pay the establishment license renewal fee. A

copy of military orders and the extension approval by the Internal
Revenue Service shall be furnished to the Board to be granted the
extension of time to pay the renewal fee.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-630.5; 90-632.14; 93B-15;
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.

21 NCAC 30.1013 ADDRESS OF RECORD

Each licensed establishment shall notify the Board in writing
within 30 days of any change of the street address of the licensee's
current place of practice and the owner's residence or business
address. The establishment shall provide to the Board the mailing
address and telephone number of the owner for the purposes of
receiving communication from the Board and for listing in the
registry of licensed establishments.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-632.11(a)(5)
Eff. Pending Legislative Review.
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 15, 2018 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeff Hyde (15t Vice Chair) Garth Dunklin (Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins
Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi
Jeffrey A. Poley Paul Powell
Brian P. LiVecchi Jeanette Doran (2" Vice Chair)

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079
Jason Thomas (919)431-3081

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
November 15, 2018 December 13, 2018
January 17, 2019 February 21, 2018

AGENDA
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION
THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2018 9:00 A.M.
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609

l. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 163A-159(e)
Il. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting
M. Follow-up matters

A. Commission of Navigation and Pilotage for the Cape Fear River and Bar — 04 NCAC 15 .0119, .0121 .0123,
.0124, .0127, .0128 (Thomas)

B. Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement - 08 NCAC 02 .0112, .0113; 03 .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105,

.0106, .0201, .0202, .0301, .0302; 04 .0302, .0304, .0305, .0306, .0307; 06B .0103, .0104, .0105; 08 .0104;

09 .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109; 10B .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107 (May)

DHHS/Division of Medical Assistance — 10A NCAC 22F .0301; 22J .0106 (May)

Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Thomas)

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09B .0101, .0203, .0301; 09G

.0102, .0103, .0304, .0504, .0505, .0701 (Reeder)

F. Department of Public Safety - 14B NCAC 01C .0401, .0402; 07A .0104, .0105, .0106, .0107, .0108, .0109,
.0110, .0111, .0112, .0113, .0114, .0115, .0116, .0118, .0119 (Reeder)

G. Water Pollution Control System Operators Certification Commission — 15A NCAC 08F .0406; 08G .0802
(Reeder)

moo

H. Commission for Public Health — 15A NCAC 18E .0601, .0602, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0901, .0902, .0903, .0904,
.0905, .0906, .0907, .0908, .0909, .0910, .0911, .1001, .1002, .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1106, .1201,
1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, .1206, .1302, .1303, .1304, .1305, .1306, .1307, .1701, .1702, .1703, .1704, .1705,
1706, .1707, .1709, .1710, .1711, .1712, .1713 (May)

I. Board of Registration for Foresters - 21 NCAC 20 .0103, .0104 (Reeder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed September 21, 2018 through October 22, 2018
e Pre-Reviewed Rules
= DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (Reeder)
= Environmental Management Commission 02K (Reeder)
= Environmental Management Commission 13B (May)
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=  Water Treatment Facility Operators Certification Board (Reeder)
= Medical Board (May)

= Non Pre-Reviewed Rules

Department of Insurance (May)

Industrial Commission (May)

Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission (May)

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission (May)

Board of Nursing (Thomas)

Building Code Council (Reeder)

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting

VI. Existing Rules Review
e Review of Reports
1. 10A NCAC 14C - DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (Reeder)
2. 11 NCAC 05 — Department of Insurance (Reeder)
3. 11 NCAC 07 — Department of Insurance (Reeder)
o Readoption
4. 15A NCAC 070 - Department of Environmental Quality (May)

VII. Commission Business
J. Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Readoption Schedule
e Next meeting: Thursday, December 13, 2018

Commission Review
Log of Permanent Rule Filings
September 21, 2018 through October 22, 2018

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.

The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive
care services (.1300), neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care
facilities (.1500), cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery
services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900),
home health services (.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200),
computed tomography equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner
(.2700), rehabilitation services (.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation
services (.3000), major medical equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive
care services (.3400), oncology treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner
(.3700), acute care beds (.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities
(.3900), and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000).

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2101
Amend*
Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2103
Amend*

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

The rules in Chapter 10 are from the property and casualty division and include general provisions (.0100);
interpretations (.0300); fire and casualty rating organizations (.0400); consent to rate (.0600); insurance in unlicensed
foreign and alien companies (.0700); licensing of rating organizations (.0800); licensing of advisory organizations
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(.0900); licensing of joint underwriting organizations (.1000); rate filings (.1100); forms filings (.1200); NC Joint
Underwriting Association (.1300); NC Insurance Underwriting Association (.1400); prospective loss costs filings (.1600);
and licensing of statistical organizations (.1700).

Consent to Rate Procedures: Rate Bureau Coverages 11 NCAC 10 .0602
Amend*
Consent to Rate Procedures: Commercial Coverages 11 NCAC 10 .0603
Amend*
Consent to Rate Auto Liability Coverage 11 NCAC 10 .0605
Amend*
Consent to Rate Procedures 11 NCAC 10 .0606
Repeal*

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 23A concern workers' compensation rules including administration (.0100); notice of act (.0200);
insurance (.0300); disability, compensation, fees (.0400); agreements (.0500); claims administration and procedures
(.0600); appeals (.0700); rules of the commission (.0800); report of earnings (.0900); and preauthorization for medical
treatment (.1000).

Location of Main Office and Hours of Business 11 NCAC 23A .0101
Amend*

Official Forms 11 NCAC 23A .0102
Amend*

Notice of Accident and Claim of Injury or Occupational Di... 11 NCAC 23A .0103
Amend*

Electronic Filings with the Commission; How to File 11 NCAC 23A .0108
Amend*

Required Contact Information from Carriers 11 NCAC 23A .0302
Amend*

Safety Rules 11 NCAC 23A .0411
Amend*

Notice of Last Payment Filing Requirement 11 NCAC 23A .0503
Amend*

Request for Hearing 11 NCAC 23A .0602
Amend*

Responding to a Party's Request for Hearing 11 NCAC 23A .0603
Amend*

Statement of Incident Leading to Claim 11 NCAC 23A .0608
Amend*

Medical Motions and Emergency Medical Motions 11 NCAC 23A .0609A
Amend*

Pre-Trial Agreement 11 NCAC 23A .0610
Amend*

Hearings Before the Commission 11 NCAC 23A .0611
Amend*

Disqualification of a Commissioner or Deputy Commissioner 11 NCAC 23A .0618
Repeal*

SHERIFFS EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
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The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200);
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400);
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100).

Documentation of Educational Requirement 12 NCAC 10B .0302
Amend*

Evaluation for Training Waiver 12 NCAC 10B .0505
Amend*

Training for School Resource Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510
Adopt*

Minimum Training Requirements 12 NCAC 10B .2005
Amend*

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 15A concern organization rules: policies and procedures including general provisions (.0100);
structure (.0200); publications, records, copies (.0300); rule-making (.0400); emergency rules (.0500); declaratory
rulings (.0600); personnel policies: commission (.0700); adjudication: contested cases (.0800); fiscal rules for local
boards (.0900); local abc board: personnel policies (.1000); local abc boards: relationship with state commission (.1100);
openings and discontinuance of stores (.1200); storage and distribution of spirituous liquors: commercial transportation
(.1300); purchase of alcoholic beverages by local boards (.1400); pricing of spirituous liquor (.1500); warehouse storage
of spirituous liquors (.1600); retail sales of alcoholic beverages (.1700); purchase transportation permits for individuals
and mixed beverages permittees (.1800); sales of liquor to mixed beverages permittees (.1900); local board training
(.2000); distillery permit holders' sale of spirituous liquor distilled on premises to visitors of the distillery for consumption
off the premises (.2100); and special one-time permits (.2200).

Definitions 14B NCAC 15A .2201
Adopt*
Collector Transport or Sale Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2202
Adopt*
Permissible Sales Under Collector Transport or Sale Permit 14B NCAC 15A .2203
Adopt*
Special Auction Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2204
Adopt*
Conditions of Sale Under Special Auction Permits 14B NCAC 15A .2205
Adopt*

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

The rules in Subchapter 2K concern dam safety including general provisions (.0100); obtaining approval for dam
construction: repair: or removal (.0200); inspections: dam safety orders (.0300); and minimum stream flows to maintain
aquatic habitat (/0500).

Additional Design Requirements 15A NCAC 02K .0212
Readopt with Changes*

The rules in Chapter 13 concern Solid Waste Management. The rules in Subchapter 13B concern Solid Waste
Management including general provisions (.0100); permits for solid waste management facilities (.0200); treatment and
processing facilities (.0300); transfer facilities (.0400); disposal sites (.0500); monitoring requirements (.0600);
administrative penalty procedures (.0700); septage management (.0800); yard waste facilities (.0900); solid waste
management loan program (.1000); scrap tire management (.1100); medical waste management (.1200); disposition of
remains of terminated pregnancies (.1300); municipal solid waste compost facilities (.1400); standards for special tax
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treatment of recycling and resource recovery equipment and facilities (.1500); requirements for municipal solid waste
landfill facilities (.1600); and requirements for beneficial use of coal combustion by-products (.1700).

Definitions 15A NCAC 13B .1101
Readopt with Changes*

Application Fee and Annual Permit Fee 15A NCAC 13B .1102
Repeal*

Generator of Scrap Tires 15A NCAC 13B .1103
Readopt with Changes*

General Conditions 15A NCAC 13B .1104
Readopt with Changes*

Permit Required 15A NCAC 13B .1105
Readopt with Changes*

Scrap Tire Collection Site Permit Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1106
Readopt with Changes*

Scrap Tire Collection Site Operational Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1107
Readopt with Changes*

Scrap Tire Disposal Site Permit and Operational Requirements 15A NCAC 13B .1108
Repeal*

Closure of Non-Conforming Sites 15A NCAC 13B .1109
Readopt with Changes*

Scrap Tire Processing Facilities 15A NCAC 13B .1110
Repeal*

WATER TREATMENT FACILITY OPERATORS CERTIFICATION BOARD

The rules in Chapter 18 deal with environmental health.

The rules in Subchapter 18D concern water treatment facility operators including general policies (.0100); qualification
of applicants and classification of facilities (.0200); applications and fees (.0300); issuance of certificate (.0400); rule-
making procedures (.0500); contested cases (.0600) and operation and management (.0700).

Certified Operator Required 15A NCAC 18D .0206
Readopt with Changes*

MEDICAL BOARD
The rules in Subchapter 32Y concern the controlled substance reporting system.

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 32Y .0101
Amend*

NURSING, BOARD OF

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners
(.0800).

Selection and Qualifications of Nurse Members 21 NCAC 36 .0109
Readopt with Changes*
Determination of Vacancy 21 NCAC 36 .0112

Readopt with Changes*
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Determination of Qualifications
Readopt with Changes*

Definitions
Amend*

Regular Renewal
Amend*

Inactive and Retired Status
Readopt with Changes*

Reinstatement of Lapsed License
Readopt with Changes*

Verification to Another State
Amend*

Change of Name
Amend*

Licensure by Examination
Readopt with Changes*

Reexamination
Readopt with Changes*

Investigations; Disciplinary Hearings

Amend*

Licensure Without Examination (By Endorsement)

Readopt with Changes*

Temporary License
Readopt with Changes*
Refresher Course
Readopt with Changes*
License Required
Readopt with Changes*

Continuing Education Programs
Readopt with Changes*

Components of Nursing Practice for the Reqgistered Nurse

Readopt with Changes*

Components of Nursing Practice for the Licensed Practical...

Readopt with Changes*

Nurse Anesthesia Practice
Readopt with Changes*

Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice
Readopt with Changes*
Continuing Competence
Readopt with Changes*

Out of State Students

Readopt with Changes*

Establishment of a Nursing Program - Initial Approval

Readopt with Changes*

Existing Nursing Program
Readopt with Changes*
Process for Program Closure
Readopt without Changes*

Administration
Readopt with Changes*

Faculty
Readopt with Changes*
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Students 21 NCAC 36 .0320
Readopt with Changes*

Curriculum 21 NCAC 36 .0321
Readopt with Changes*

Facilities 21 NCAC 36 .0322
Readopt without Changes*

Records and Reports 21 NCAC 36 .0323
Readopt with Changes*

Roles of Unlicensed Personnel 21 NCAC 36 .0401
Amend*

Coordination with Division of Health Service Requlation 21 NCAC 36 .0402
Amend*

Qualifications 21 NCAC 36 .0403
Readopt with Changes*

Listing and Renewal 21 NCAC 36 .0404
Readopt with Changes*

Approval of Nurse Aide Education Programs 21 NCAC 36 .0405
Readopt with Changes*

Medication Aide Training Requirements 21 NCAC 36 .0406
Readopt with Changes*

Name of Professional Corporation 21 NCAC 36 .0502
Amend*

Prerequisites for Incorporation 21 NCAC 36 .0503
Amend*

Certificate of Reqistration 21 NCAC 36 .0504
Amend*

General and Administrative Provisions 21 NCAC 36 .0505
Amend*

Forms 21 NCAC 36 .0506
Amend*

Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0507
Amend*

Name of Limited Liability Company 21 NCAC 36 .0601
Amend*

Prerequisites for Organization 21 NCAC 36 .0602
Amend*

Certificate of Reqistration 21 NCAC 36 .0603
Amend*

General and Administrative Provisions 21 NCAC 36 .0604
Amend*

Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0605
Amend*

Definitions 21 NCAC 36 .0801
Readopt without Changes*

Scope of Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0802
Readopt without Changes*

Nurse Practitioner Registration 21 NCAC 36 .0803
Readopt without Changes*

Process for Approval to Practice 21 NCAC 36 .0804
Readopt without Changes*

Education and Certification Requirements for Registration... 21 NCAC 36 .0805

Readopt without Changes*
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Annual Renewal 21 NCAC 36 .0806
Readopt without Changes*
Continuing Education (CE) 21 NCAC 36 .0807
Readopt without Changes*
Inactive Status 21 NCAC 36 .0808
Readopt without Changes*
Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 36 .0809
Readopt without Changes*
Quality Assurance Standards for a Collaborative Practice ... 21 NCAC 36 .0810
Readopt without Changes*
Method of Identification 21 NCAC 36 .0811
Readopt without Changes*
Disciplinary Action 21 NCAC 36 .0812
Readopt without Changes*
Fees 21 NCAC 36 .0813
Readopt without Changes*
Practicing During a Disaster 21 NCAC 36 .0814
Readopt without Changes*
Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 36 .0815

Readopt without Changes*

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Residential Code/Tying and bracing of wood piles R4603.6
Amend*

2018 NC Residential Code/Girder Connection to Side of Post AM105.1
Amend*

2018 NC Fire Prevention Code/Vehicles 314.4
Amend*

2018 NC Building Code/Stairway Doors 1010.1.9.11
Amend*

2017 NC Electrical Code/Definition. Closet Storage Space 410.2
Amend*

2017 Electrical Code/Luminaires in Clothes Closets 410.16
Amend*

33:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2018

998



CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential.
Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case
decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 919-431-3000.

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Chief Administrative Law Judge
JULIAN MANN, 11

Senior Administrative Law Judge
FRED G. MORRISON JR.

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES

Melissa Owens Lassiter A. B. Elkins I

Don Overby Selina Malherbe

J. Randall May J. Randolph Ward
David Sutton Stacey Bawtinhimer

Tenisha Jacobs

Year | Code | Number Date Petitioner Respondent ALJ
Decision
Filed
PUBLISHED
18 ABC | 01238 9/19/2018 Venue Card LLC v. | NC Alcoholic Beverage Control | Ward
Commission
18 CPS | 03962 9/12/2018 Heather Johana | v. | Crime Victims Compensation Malherbe
Bachelder
17 DOJ | 01088 9/12/2018 Robert Herman | v. | NC Sheriffs Education and Training | ElKins
Peaden IlI Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 02976 9/19/2018 Jamie S Hodges v. | NC Sheriffs Education and Training | May
Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 04254 9/13/2018 LaVotta Teresa | v. | NC Private Protective Services Board Lassiter
Jennings
18 DST | 03260 9/28/2018 Jay H Fortenbery v. | NC Department of State Treasurer, | Lassiter
Retirement Systems Division
18 INS | 02257 9/6/2018 Rachael Dalisay v. | NC State Health Plan for Teachers Malherbe
18 SAP | 03126 9/20/2018 North Carolina | v. | Charlotte Elizabeth Garnes Overby
Substance  Abuse
Professional Practice
Board
18 SOS | 02195 9/14/2018 Kelly Abayomi | v. | North Carolina Department of the | Lassiter
Akinjole Secretary of State
18 SOS | 02677 9/18/2018 NC Department of | v. | Patriots Energy Group Inc Lassiter
the  Secretary of
State, Securities
Division
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18 SOS | 04787 9/6/2018 Matthew Shaffer NC Secretary of State Sutton
UNPUBLISHED
18 ABC | 04072 9/5/2018 NC Alcoholic Regina Ann Leonard T/A Just One More | May
Beverage  Control Tavern
Commission
18 ABC | 04151 9/12/2018 NC Alcoholic Jerry Dean Oxedine T/A Jeco Kwik Shop | Malherbe
Beverage  Control
Commission
18 CPS | 04404 9/11/2018 Anthony M Leary NC Dept of Public Safety NC Crime | Overby
Victims Compensation Commission
18 CRA | 03531 9/18/2018 Donald McDaniel Jr NC Department of Health and Human | May
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
17 CSE | 07327 9/4/2018 Anthony L Crudup NC Department of Health and Human | May
Jr Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
17 CSE | 07867 9/20/2018 Trenton L Harris Jr NC Department of Health and Human | Malherbe
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
17 CSE | 07963 9/27/2018 Corey Anderson NC Department of Health and Human | Ward
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 01939 9/19/2018 | Thomas J NC Department of Health and Human | Elkins
Mahlmeister Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 02118 9/4/2018 Roosevelt D NC Department of Health and Human | May
Williams Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement Section
18 CSE | 04080 9/6/2018 Rodney Thompson Kristen Sigmon Tracy Buchanon | Malherbe
Mecklenburg County Child Support
Enforcement
18 CSE | 04200 9/19/2018 Jason A Wells NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
Services, Division of Social Services,
Child Support Enforcement
18 DCS | 03000 9/18/2018 Shalawn S Covert Division of Social Services, Child | Overby
Support Enforcement and North Carolina
Department of Health and Human
Services
18 DHR | 03118 9/4/2018 Kimberly D Lincoln County DSS May
McSwain
18 DHR | 03686 9/11/2018 Julian P Heggie 11 Dept of Health & Human Services Office | Elkins
of Legal Affairs Adams Building
18 DHR | 03891 9/11/2018 Rebecca DeGregory Division of Child Development and | Mann
Early Education-Department of Health
and Human Services
18 DHR | 04112 9/7/2018 Senetra Reynolds Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation, Adult Care Licensure
Section
33:09 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER NOVEMBER 1, 2018

1000




CONTESTED CASE DECISIONS

18 DHR | 04113 9/10/2018 Senetra Reynolds Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation, Adult Care Licensure
Section
18 DHR | 04114 9/10/2018 Senetra Reynolds Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation, Adult Care Licensure
Section
18 DHR | 04163 9/6/2018 Brittany Davis NC Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 DHR | 04302 9/5/2018 Linda Darlene Davis Department of Health and Human | Overby
Services, Division of Health Service
Regulation
18 DHR | 04492 9/6/2018 Shamaine L Bright NC Department of Health and Human | Jacobs
Services
18 DHR | 04635 9/19/2018 Valorie R Lassiter NC Dept of Health and Human Services | Overby
18 DHR | 04691 9/24/2018 | Super Global Mart NC Department of Health and Human | Sutton
LLC Stephen Kim Services
18 DHR | 04752 9/26/2018 HAL-013-038 NC Division of Health Service | Malherbe
Raintree Healthcare Regulation NC Department of Health
of Concord LLC and Human Services
DBA Concord
House
18 DOJ | 02604 9/19/2018 Camron Joseph North Carolina Sheriffs Education and | May
Wathen Training Standards Commission
18 DOJ | 04487 9/12/2018 Robert Harris Jr NC Criminal Justice Education and | Malherbe
Training Standards Commission
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