
^\'^^/-7^V4/,/q^/^.

The
NORTH CAROLINA

REGISTER

IN THIS ISSUE

CORRECTION

FINAL DECISION LETTER

RECEfVERf

NOV 3 1968

PROPOSED RULES

Agriculture

Cultural Resources

Dental Examiners

Insurance

N.C. Board of Nursing

NRCD

FINAL RULES

Revenue

Transportation

ISSUE DATE: NOVEMBER 1, 1988

Volume 3 • Issue 15 • Pages 687-728



INFORMATION ABOUT THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER

The North Carolina Register is published bi-monthly
and contains information relating to agency, executive,

legislative and judicial actions required by or affecting

Chapter 150B of the General Statutes. All proposed, ad-

ministrative rules and amendments filed under Chapter
150B must be published in the Register. The Register

will topically comprise approximately fifty pages per
issue of legal text.

State law requires that a copy of each issue be pro-

vided free of charge to each county in the state and to

\arious state officials and institutions. The North
Carolina Register is available by yearly subscription at

a cost of ninety-five dollars ($95.00) for 24 issues.

Requests for subscriptions to the North Carolina

Register should be directed to the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings, P. O. Drawer 11666, Raleigh, N.

C. 27604, Attn: Subscriptions.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF
RULES

An agency intending to adopt, amend, or repeal a rule

must first publish notice of the proposed action in the

North Carolina Register. The notice must include the

time and place of the public hearing; a statement of how
public comments may be submitted to the agency either

at the hearing or otherwise; the text of the proposed
rule or amendment; a reference to the Statutory
Authority for the action and the proposed effective date.

The Director of the Office of Administrative Hearings
has authority to publish a summary, rather than the

full text, of any amendment which is considered to be
too lengthy. In such case, the full text of the rule con-

taining the proposed amendment will be available for

public inspection at the Rules Division of the Office of

Administrative Hearings and at the office of the pro-

mulgating agency.

Unless a specific statute provides otherwise, at least

30 days must elapse following publication of the pro-

posal in the North Carolina Register before the agency
may conduct the required public hearing and take ac-

tion on the proposed adoption, amendment or repeal.

When final action is taken, the promulgating agency
must file any adopted or amended rule for approval by
the Administrative Rules Re\'iew Commission. Upon ap-

proval of ARRC, the adopted or amended rule must be
filed with the Office of Administrati\'e Hearings. If it

differs substantially from the proposed form published
as part of the public notice, upon request by the agen-

cy, the adopted version will again be published in the

North Carolina Register.

A rule, or amended rule cannot become effective

earlier than the first day of the second calendar month
after the adoption is filed with the Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings for publication in the NCAC.
Proposed action on rules may be withdrawn by the

promulgating agency at any time before final action is

taken by the agency.

TEMPORARY RULES

Under certain conditions of an emergency nature,

some agencies may issue temporary rules. A temporary
rule becomes effective when adopted and remains in

effect for the period specified in the rule or 180 days,^
whichever is less. An agency adopting a temporary ruleJ
must begin normal rule-making procedures on the per-'

manent rule at the same time the temporary rule is

adopted.

NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
The North Carolina Administrative Code (NCAC) is

a compilation and index of the administrative rules of

25 state agencies and 38 occupational licensing boards.
The NCAC comprises approximately 15,000 letter size,

single spaced pages of material of which approximate-
ly 35% is changed annually. Compilation and publica-

tion of the NCAC is mandated by G.S. 150B-63(b).

The Code is divided into Titles and Chapters. Each
state agency is assigned a separate title which is fur-

ther broken down by chapters. Title 21 is designated
for occupational licensing boards.
The NCAC is available in two formats.

(1) Single pages may be obtained at a minimum
cost of two dollars and 50 cents ($2.50) for 10

pages or less, plus fifteen cents ($0.15) per each
additional page.

(2) The full publication consists of 52 volumes,
totaling in excess of 15,000 pages. It is sup-

plemented monthly with replacement pages. A
one year subscription to the full publication in-

cluding supplements can be purchased for

seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750.00). In-

dividual volumes may also be purchased with

supplement service. Renewal subscriptions for

supplements to the initial publication available.

Requests for pages of rules or volumes of the NCAC
should be directed to the Office of Administrative
Hearings.

NOTE
The foregoing is a generalized statement of the pro-

cedures to be followed. For specific statutory language,'

it is suggested that Articles 2 and 5 of Chapter 150B of

the General Statutes be examined carefully.

CITATION TO THE NORTH CAROLINA
REGISTER

The North Carolina Register \s cited by volume, issue,

page number and date. 1:1 NCR 101-201, April 1, 1986

refers to Volume 1, Issue 1, pages 101 through 201 of

the North Carolina Register issued on April 1, 1986

North Carolina Register. Published bi-monthly by
the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

Subscriptions ninety-five dollars ($95.00) per year.

North Carolina Administrative Code. Published

in looseleaf notebooks with supplement ser\'ice by
the Office of Administrative Hearings, P.O.

Drawer 1 1666, Raleigh, North Carolina 27604, pur-

suant to Chapter 150B of the General Satutes.

Subscriptions seven hundred and fifty dollars

($750.00). Individual volumes a\'ailable.
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
Publication Deadlines and Schedules

(September 1988 - March 1989)

Issue Last Day Last Day Earliest

Date for for Date for Earliest

Filing Electronic Public Effective

Filing Hearing &
Adoption by
Agency

Date

++*+++++ ++++++* +++++++ ++++++ +++<
09/01/88 08/11,88 08/18/88 10/01/88 01/01/89

09/15/88 08/26/88 09/02/88 10/15/88 01/01/89

10/03/88 09/12/88 09/19/88 11/02/88 02/01/89

10/14/88 09/26/88 10/03/88 11/13/88 02/01/89

11/01/88 10/11/88 10/18/88 12/01/88 03/01/89

11/15/88 10/26/88 11,02/88 12/15/88 03/01/89

12/01/88 11/07/88 11/15/88 12/31/88 04/01/89

12/15/88 11 '23/88 12/02/88 01/14/89 04/01/89

01/02/89 12/08/88 12/15/88 02/01/89 05/01/89

01/16/89 12/27/88 01/03/89 02/15/89 05/01/89

02/01/89 01/10/89 01/17/89 03/03/89 06/01/89

02/15/89 01/26/89 02/02/89 03/17/89 06/01/89

03/01/89 02/08/89 02/15/89 03/31/89 07/01/89

03/15/89 02/21/89 03/02/89 04/14/89 07/01/89

* The "Earliest Effecth'e Date" is computed assuming that the public hearing

and adoption occur in the calendar month immediately following the "Issue

Date", that the agency files the rule with The Administrative Rules Review
Commission by the 20th of the same calendar month and that ARRC approves

the rule at the next calendar month meeting.



CORRECTION

CORRECTION TO NOTICE AS PUBLISHED IN THE NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AT
3:14 NCR 656 SHOULD READ:

TITLE 15 DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT

lyotice is hereby gh'en in accordance with G.S. ISOB- 12 that the N. C. Environmental Management
Commission intends to amend nde(s) cited as 15 NCAC 2J .0002.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is March 1 , 1989.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00 a.m. on November 21 , 1988 at Ground Floor Hearing
Room, Archdale Bldg., 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina.

O ommenl Procedures: Any person interested in this matter is irn-ited to attend. Comments, statements,

data, and other information may be submitted in writing prior to, during, or within ten days after the

hearing or may be presented orally at the hearing. Oral statements may be limited at the discretion of
the hearing officer. For more information and copies of the proposed rule, please contact Mr. Paul
Wilms, Director, Division of Environmental Management, P. O. Box 27687, Raleigh, NC 27611, (919)
733-7015.

NOR TH CAROLINA REGISTER 687



VOTING RIGHTS ACT FINAL DECISION LETTER

[G.S. J2Q-30.9H, effeclh'e July 16, 1986, requires that all letters and other documents issued by the

Attorney General of the United States in which a final decision is made concerning a "change af-

fecting voting" under Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 be published in the North Carolina

Register. /

U.S Department of Justice

Civil Rights Division

\VBR:MAP;CM:rac
DJ 166-012-3 Voting Section

W4626 P.O. Box 66128
Washington, D.C. 20035-6128

October 4, 1988

Robert C. Cogswell, Jr., Esq.

City Attomev
P. O. Box L^'l3

Fayetteville, North Carolina 28302-1513

Dear Mr. C\igswell:

This refers to the increased compensation for elected officials for the City of Fayetteville in

Cumberkmd County, North Carolina, submitted to the Attorney General pursuant to Section 5 of the

Votmg Riiilits Act of 1965, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 1973c. We received your submission on August

5, 1988.

The Attorney General does not interpose any objection to the change in question. However, we
feel a responsibihty to point out that Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act expressly provides that the

failure of the Attorney General to object does not bar any subsequent judicial action to enjoin the

enforcement of such change. See the Procedures for the Administration of Section 5 (28 C.F.R. 51.41).

Sincerely,

Wm. Bradford Reynolds
Assistant Attorney General

Civil Rights Division

By:

Gerald W. Jones

Chief, Voting Section

6S8 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



PROPOSED RULES

TI ILK 2 - DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

J\ otice is herebv given in accordance with G.S.

1SOB- 12 that the N. C. Gasoline and Oil In-

spection Board intends to amend rule (sJ cited as

2 NCAC 42 .0/02, .0201. and .0504.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

March I, I9S9.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 2, 1988 at Board Room, Agri-

culture Bldg.. I W. Edenton St.. Raleigh, N.C.

Co_- ommcnl Procedures: Interested persons may
present statements either orally or in writing at the

public hearing or in writing prior to the hearing

by mail addressed to N. David Smith, Secretary

of the \orth Carolina Gasoline and Oil Inspection

Board. P.O. Box 27647, Raleigh, Sorth Carolina

27611.

CHAPTER 42 - N. C. GASOLINE AMI OIL
INSF'ECTION BOARD

SECTION .0100 - PLRPOSE AND DEFINITIONS

.0102 DEFINITIONS
Except as otherwise defined in Chapter 119,

North Carolina General Statutes, the definitions

applicable in this Chapter are as follows:

(2) "jVnhydrouo donaturod i^thyl uloohol

(othunol)" mt'angi nominal ^W pro of ethanol

te which b*j bcon added » maKimum »f frve

volumes ef approved donaturant(o) to 4-00

volumoo &f ethanol aft4 containing fte*- moro
than 4-r3^ percent wator hf wcitjit a* deter

H«ft^ ]fff ASTM ¥e**' Method C 30,1.

"Denatured fuel ethanol" means ethanol

meeting the provisions of ASTM D-4806,
"Standard Specifications for Denatured I'uel

Fthanol to be Blended with (lasolines for

Use as an Automotive Spark- Ignition En-
gine Fuel."

(9) "Leaded" means any gasoline or

gasoUne oxygenate blend which contains not

less than 0.05 grams lead per U.S. gallon

(0.013 grams lead per liter).

( 16) "Regular" when used as part of a brand

name and or as a grade desi.gnation for gas-

oline or gasoline ox\genate blend shall be

construed to mean a leaded regular grade

commercial automotive gasoline or

gasc^line oxygenate blend unless the brand
name and or grade desi.gnation also contams

the word "Unleaded" or a word or term of
equivalent meaning.

(19) "Linleaded" means any gasoline or blond

ef gaoolino witl* oxygenates as defined ttt tkk
Chapter containing gasoline/oxygenate

blend to which no lead or phosphorus
compounds have been intentionally added
and which contains not more than 0.05

grams lead per U.S. gallon (0.013 grams lead

per liter) and not more than 0.005

phosphorus per U.S. gallon (0.0013 grams
phosphorous per liter).

Statutory Authority G.S. 119-26.

SECTION .0200 - QUALITY OF LIQLID FLEL
PRODUCTS

.0201 STANDARD SPECIFICATIONS
(a) Gasoline sbaii conform to ASTM
D '139 85a, The board hereby adopts by refer-

ence in accordance with G.S. 150B-14c, AST.M
D-4814. "Standard Specification for Automotive
Gasoline. Spark- Ignition Engine Fuel" as stand-

ard specification for gasoline with the following

modifications:

(1) Applications for temporary exceptions to

vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio

specifications as provided in this Subpar-
agraph may be made to the director. Said

applications shall contain evidence satis-

factory to the director that outlets mar-
keting gasoline in North Carolina carmot
feasibly be supplied from bulk terminals

furnishing specified volatility level gasoline

or that customary sources of supply have

been temporarily interrupted by product

shortage and alternate sources furnishing

specified volatility level gasoline are not

available. Such temporary exceptions

granted shall apply only until the next

meeting of the board at which time the

board shall establish the duration of the

exception;

(2) Octane rating shall not be less than the

octane index certified on the brand name
registration as required by 2 NCAC 42
.0500;

(3) Reid vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio

seasonal specifications as listed in this

Subparagraph may be extended for a

maximum period of 15 days to allow for

the disbursement of old stocks. However,
new stocks of a higher volatility classi-

fication shall not be offered for retail sale

prior to the effective date of the higher

volatility classification.

NORTH CAROLISA REGISTER 689



PROPOSED RULES

(b) Ganolino oxvgonate blonds ohall conform te-

ASTM D '1 JQ S5"a^ The board hereby adopts by
referencL' in accordance with G.S. 15QB-14c,

ASrVt n-4S14, "Standard Specification for Au-
tomotive GaGoIino, Spark-Igiition Engine Fuel"

as standard specification for gasoline/oxygenate

blends with the following modifications:

(1) A vapor pressure tolerance not exceeding

one pound per square inch may be al-

lowed for gasohol, leaded gasohol, and
gasoline-oxygenate blends; as dotorminod

b¥ *4** ambient tomporuturo procoduro,

a'STM D 32J 79;

f3) Vapor liquid ratio cpocificationo fof

gu !.ohol, leaded gaoohol, aR4 gaoolino

oxygcnuto blcndo Vi411- b<* '.' ai'i od ponding

do*, olopmont ef appropriate k»s* mothodo
by i\STM afi4 oubooquont adoption by
Ae board;

f^ (2} Reid \apor pressure and vapor/Uquid

ratio seasonal specifications as listed in

this Subparagraph may be extended for a

maximum period of 15 days to allow for

the disbursement of old stocks. However,
new stocks of a higher volatility classi-

fication shall not be offered for retail sale

prior to the effective date of the higher

\olatLlity classification;

(4^ t^ Applications for temporary exceptions

to vapor pressure and vapor/liquid ratio

specifications as provided in this Subpar-

agraph may be made to the director. Said

apphcations shall contain evidence satis-

factory to the director that outlets mar-
keting gasoline in North Carolina cannot

feasibly be supplied from bulk terminals

furnishing specified volatility level gasoline

or that customary sources of supply have

been temporarily interrupted by product

shortage and alternate sources furnishing

specified volatility level gasoline are not

available. Such temporary exceptions

granted shall apply only until the next

meeting of the board at which time the

board shall establish the duration of the

exception;

{Pf (4| Distillation Rango (ASTM G-^ sb^
h% tfee oamo as opocifiod fof gaoohno ift fa)

»f this Rulo oxoopt ^Pi» The minimum
temperature at 50 percent evaporated shall

be 158 degrees F. (70 degrees C.) as de-

termined bv ASTM Test Method D-86;

f4) {2X Octane rating shall not be less than the

octane index certified on the brand name
registration as required hv 2 NCAC 42

.0500;

f?) (6} Oxygenate Content. Gas liquid

chromatocraphio procoduroo wiU b« con

oidorod a* official fef tfee determination ef

oxygenato oontont.

(A) Gasohol and leaded gasohol shall con-

tain 10 plus/minus 0.5 volume percent

anhydrouG denatured fuel ethanol.

(B) Gasoline-oxygenate blends not other-

wise defmed in this Chapter, may contain,

maximum or minimum as appropriate,

the percentage and type of oxygenates as

certified on the brand name registration

as required by 2 NCAC 42 .0500, subject

to compliance with other specifications as

provided in this Subparagraph;

{^ (7} Water tolerance shall be such that no
phase separation occurs when subjected

to a temperature equal to the lowoot ejt-

poctod ambiont tomporaturo baood eft

seasonal volatility clasi iilicationo as opooi

Iw4 ift ASTM D 130 85a temperatures

specified in Table 4, ASTM D-4814.
(c) DiecKjl motor fo#i shall conform te ASTM
D 975 8 1

,

The board hereby adopts bv reference

in accordance with G.S. 150B-l-tc, ASTM
D-975, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel

Oils" as standard specification for diesel motor
fuels with the foUowing modifications: moditi-

cation: fof For diesel motor fuel number grade

2-D, a the minimum flash point as determined

bx f ASTM Tesl Method D-56 ) »f shall be 1 15

degrees F. (46 degrees C).
(d) P«^ ©4 sbaU conform to ASTM D 396 81,

The board hereby adopts by reference in accord-

ance with G.S. 150B-14c, ASTM D-396,
"Standard Specification for Fuel Oil" as standard

specification for fuel oils.

(e) Koroseno shall conform te The board hereby

adopts by reference in accordance with G.S.

150B-14C, ASTM D-3699, "Standard Specifica-

tion for Kerosene" as standard specification for

kerosenes with the following specifications:

modification: For grade 2-K, the presence or

absence of coloring matter shall in no-way be

determinative of whether a substance meets the

requirements of this grade of kerosene.

(44 t>ieT 1 K. A special

kerosene suitable fof

le¥^ sulfur grade

Hse ift nonflue

connected korosono burner appUoncos afi4

f&f wse ift wick fed iUuininating lamps,

afi4 which shall meet all requirements as

set forth m ASTM D 3699 S3.

(3) rV^r 3 K. A regular grade kerosene suit

aWe fof «se i» flue comiected burner ap-

plianoes afi4 fof Hse wt \\\c\i. fed

illuminating lamps, aft4 which shall meet

aH roquiremonts as set forth m ASTM
D 3699 83, except tl»t the presence ef

absence ef coloring matter shall i» ro way-

be determinative ©f whether a substance

690 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER



PROPOSED RULES

mt^L'tG tb© roquiremenls »f Ais grade »f

korosono.

(g) ASTM documents adopt adopted by refer-

ence herein are available for inspection in the

Office of the Director of the Standards Division

and may be obtained at a cost as determined by
the publisher by contactmg ASTM, 1916 Race
Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103.

Statutory Authority G.S. 119-26: 150B-14.

SECTION .0500 - REGISTRATION AND
BRANDING

.0504 REGISTRATION PROVISIONS
(e) The director may establish and maintain a

normal prevailing range of quality specifications

of motor fuels for similar or customary classi-

fications, grades, or designations of motor fuels

intended for the same use or application aft4 m
HO ease shall Ae octano indox be le* tteft *^
For automotive gasolines and gasoline oxygenate

blends, the minimum octane index shall be 87

except that for those designated as "Premium"
or bv a word or term of equivalent meaning, the

minimum octane index shall be 91.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1 19-26.

TITLE 7 - DEPARIMENT OF CLLTLRAL
RESOURCES

J\ otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 1 2 that the Department of Cultural Re-
sources, Division of Archives and History intends

to amend rule(s) cited as 7 NCAC 4N .0102.

1 he proposed effecth'e dale of this action is

March I, I9S9.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December I . I9SS at Room 305, Archives

and History-State Library Building. 109 E. Jones

Street, Raleigh, .V. C.

y^omment Procedures: Written comments may
be submitted by November 28, 1988. to the Divi-

sion of Archives and History, Room 305, 109 E.

Jones Street, Raleigh, A'. C. Attn: William S.

Price, Jr.

CHAPTER 4 - ARCHIVES AND HISTORY

SLBCHAPTER 4N - HISTORIC SITE
REGLL.ATIONS

SECTION .0100 - HISTORIC SITE
REGLL.\TIONS

.0102 ACTIVITIES PROHIBITED ON STATE
HISTORIC SITE PROPERTY

(15) bathe, wade, or swim in any waters in any
state historic site, except at such times and in

such places as the department may designate as

swimming areas. In this Rule, "swimming
area" means any beach or water area designated

by the department as a place for swimming,
wading, or bathing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 121-4(8); 121-4(9)-
I43B-62(2)d.

TITLE 1 1 - DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

ly otice is hereby gii'en in accordance with G.S.
1SOB- 12 that the Department of Insurance intends

to amend r~ule(s) cited as 11 NCAC 4 .0115 -

.0118, .0312 - .0315, .0319, .0320, .0416, .0418,

.0419, .0421, .0423; and adopt rule(s) cited as 11

NCAC 4 .0119, .0424 - .0429.

I he proposed effective date of this action is

.March I, 1989.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 1, 1988 at Third Floor Hearing
Room, Dobbs Building, 430 N. Salisbury Street,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611.

(_ omment Procedures: Written comments should
be directed to Tony Higgins at P. O. Box 26387,

Raleigh, N.C. 27611. He may be reached by

telephone at (919) 733-2004. Oral comments
may be made at the hearing.

CHAPTER 4 - CONSUMER SERVICES
DIVISION

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0115 DIVISION PROCEDURES
(*^ Adminiotrativo Porsormol. Thoro shall be

efie aooiotant deputy commiooionor who go dutioo

shall includo bet- »»* be limited te- t4ie provision

ef ouponioion te- section ouponisoro aft4 tfee

complaint anolysto. yVlso

,

the asoiotant deputy
commissioner handles some &f tfee more oomph
oatod complaints e* inquiries, conducts special

research aft4 studios aft4 adviooo the deputy
oommissionor as te pohcies, prinoiplos aft4 prac

tioe s ia^i olved m tl*e operation ef insuranco

companies aft4 insurance contracts.

\^ I
LTL.V l!» .111 U 111 'VI ? rJUl J. ^^^^^^S CTTTCOT t^O O^^^TTTTT

superilsors f»f the division whose duties shall

mclude b«t ftet- be limited to- assignment e#
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PROPOSED RULES

complaintB aft4 inquiriofi (oaceo) \» analyoto, f%-

ad'i'ioe from A<* deputy commissioner, assistant

doputy oommissionor ef othur divisiono whon
nocL'ooar/ t© rosolvo a caoo.

(e) Complaint iVnalyoto. Thero shall be com
plaint analysts fof y*e division whoso duties shall

include btrt Het be limited te rocoi'i ing aft4 com
piling aii information related te the case , con
tacting the insurer ef ite representative involved

ift the inquir>' &f against whom the complaint has

been lodged, requesting a report e» tbe matter,

aft4 acknowledging aft4 responding te- tbe re-

ports, ' ' hen necessary, i^nalysts shall ake have
the responsibility ef reviewing att information

aft4 recommending a course ©f action which wiH
rosolvo the complaint ef inquir>^ as^ reporting

same to the party who originated the complaint

ef inquiry.

(4^ Market Conduct iVnalysts. There shall be
market conduct analysts fof tbe division ' 'hose

duties shall include fiei4 examination, invosti

gation, analysis. aft4 evaluation ef domestic e*

foreign insurers' »f their representatives' market

conduct pursuant te the market conduct exam
ination program ©f the National Association ef

Insurance Commissioners.

(ei (a) Complamt Handling Procedure. Com-
plaints will be processed in the following manner:

(1) Analyst will request explanation from
company, agent or adjuster;

(2) If he fmds that the complaint has been
improperly handled, then he will recom-

mend that proper action be taken;

(3) If the issue is not resolved, the deputy
commissioner may arrange a conference

with company representatives to resolve

the problem.

(^ (b) Hearings. If a conference does not re-

solve a disputed issue, the deputy commissioner
may recommend to the commissioner that ap-

propriate legal action be taken to insure compU-
ance with the statutes, rules and regulations

administered by the department. Such legal

action may include the convening of a pubUc
hearing to review, in light of the conduct wliich

occasioned the complaint, the necessity of enter-

ing an order against the party complained of.

Orders entered a* a result ©f proven violations ef

regulations which construe provisions ef /Vrticle

^A ef Chapter ^ ©f the General Statut e s shall

be cease aft4 desist orders. Orders entered as a

result ©f proven violations ©f a statute which
i.-~ r^.-^,^t f < "t .-- !-..-. «-. /"i j-L -! 1 1 T f T .". r- 4 V^ . -> in.-il'-itij-iri t V-> .i t-.i r^ 4 J- V-. -^ 1 I

J l_ '^^ 1 1 1 \_' L.' I IIU l-'^- 1 IU.1 1 J l\Jl \.H\J TTTTTtTTTTTTT L 1 1 \_ I I.' l^ 1 •Jl ILL^

be *j prescribed by the statute.

(g^ (c} Complaints Represented by Counsel.

The division will not investigate a complaint

which is also the subject matter of a pending

lawsuit fded by an attorney representing the

complainant. If a lawsuit has not been filed but

the complainant has retained an attorney, the di-

vision will investigate the complaint according to

its normal procedures provided it has first ob-

tained the attorney's consent.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-1; 57-4; 57B-4;
57B-I8; 58-9; 58-9.2; 58-18; 58-25; 58-25. /;

58-26; 58-27; 58-39; 58-618.

.0116 INQUIRIES AND INFORMATION
The division maintains facilities and personnel

to receive inquiries and complaints by telephone,

letter or personal visit. The telephone number
of the division is (919) 733-2032. The mailmg
address of the division is: North Carolina De-
partment of Insurance, Post Office Box 26387,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27611, (Attention:

Consumer Services Division). The street address

of the division is: Room 507*7 3040 Dobbs
Building, 430 North Sahsbury Street, Raleigh,

North Carolina.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-7.3; 58-9.

.0117 STATEMENT OF ACTION
(a) When an insurer denies a claim after re-

ceiving written notice thereof from the claimant

sufficiently informative to enable the insurer to

identify the specific coverage involved, the insur-

er's denial shall be in writing and, m connection

with first party claims, shall reasonably explain

the basis m the poUoy m relation t© the facts fof

the denial, shall cite specific policy provisions

or legal basis relied upon in denying the claim.

(b) When an insurer offers to settle a claim after

receiving written notice thereof from the claimant

sufficiently informative to enable the insurer to

identify the specific coverage involved, the insur-

er's offer of compromise settlement shall be in

writing aft47 m connection witl* first party claimo,
f- V-i n 1 1 t-i-\ ri L j-i. Vi '-i\~tl\ t iw r-\l nt r^ *J^i Wn etc Ui tl^^ ^»-lj-i t n-i w^ i^i^
^^TC^n r^.fl-1 ..W-'llUUxT ^'Hl'HMII im? I^-ILJILJ III 11 l\J LI 1UU I Ul 1V^/

pohcy ift relation t© the facts fof the offor ©f

compromise settlement, and shall cite specific

policy provision or legal basis relied upon in

support of the compromise.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-4; 57B-I2; 57B-I8;

5S-9; 58-39; 58-54.4.

.01 18 INSURANCE CARRIERS AS LENDERS
Any lender who offers an insurance product to

a consumer, either directly or indirectly through

a subsidiary or affiliate in conjunction with an
extension of credit shall inform the consumer of

the protections afforded by G.S. 58-51.5. Noth-

ing in this Regulation shall limit the right of the
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lender, for purposes of protecting the interest of

the lender, to require insurance in connection

with a loan. This Regulation shall not apply

where the extension of credit arises out of a life

insurance contract itself or where the extension

of credit is subject to the provisions of Regu-

lation Z (12 CFR 226), or other federal statutes

or regulations requiring comparable disclosures.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9(2); 5S-5J.5; 58-54.

.0119 INSLRER DEFINKO
For the purposes of this Chapter "insurer" shall

mean any entity governed by the pro\isions of

Chapter 57, 57B and 58.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-1; 57B-I8; 58-9.

SECTION .0300 - LIFE: ACCIDENT AND
HEALTH

.0312 INFORMATION LSED IN CLAIM
SETTLEMENTS

(a) Any information (including medical infor-

mation) used in whole or in part as the basis of

settling a life, accident health or disability claim

shall be furnished to the department as necessary

in connection with specific complaints and in-

quiries. As used in tliis Section, "furnished" shall

include either mailing claim settlement informa-

tion to the department or exhibiting such infor-

mation to the appropriate complaint analyst

division personnel at a time and place oonvement
set b^ to the analyst, division personnel.

(b) To the extent permitted by law, the de-

partment shall treat medical information as con-

fidential.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-4; 57-10; 57B-I2;

57B-18; 58-9; 58-11; 58-16; 58-25.1; 58-26;

58-27; 58-54.5.

.0313 PROVISIONS OF CONTRACTS
In order to prevent unfair discrimination among

insureds, the following phrases and provisions

commonly found in life, accident, health and
disability contracts, if not expressly defmed in

such contracts, shall be construed by the depart-

ment in the following manner:

(1) House Confmement. As used in disability

contracts, "house confmement" shall be

considered a description of the extent of ill-

ness rather than a restriction of the insured's

conduct or activities. The insured's partic-

ipation in activities which are considered by

his physician to be for therapeutic rather

than for business or personal reasons shall

not prevent recovery under such disability

contracts.

(2) Offsets Against Social Security Awards.

As used in disability contracts, "offsets

against social security awards" shall be con-

strued as permitting the inouranco company
insurer to offset only the amount of the ori-

ginal social security award and not subse-

quent cost of hving increases.

(3) Regular Care and Attendance of a Physi-

cian. As used in life, accident and health

and disability poUcies, "regular care and at-

tendance of a physician" shall not be con-
strued to require insureds to see or be under
the care of a physician on a regular basis if

it can be shown that the insured has reached
his maximum point of recovery yet is still

disabled under the terms of the insurance

contract. This requirement shall not, how-
ever, restrict the right of the company, at

company expense, to periodically examine
or cause to have examined the insured ac-

cording to the terms of the contract of in-

surance.

(4) Premature Baby. A premature baby shall

not be considered a well baby. The pro-

tection afforded newborn infants under G.S.
58-251.4 shall be provided to premature ba-

bies.

(5) Medical Necessity. "Medical necessity"

shall be construed as including treatment

which restores not only the insured's phys-

ical but also his mental well-being. As used

in this Section, "restoration of mental well-

being" does not require coverage of psychi-

atric disorders when such disorders are

excluded under the express terms of the

contract.

(6) Sound Health. The question, "Are you in

sound health:" shall be considered ambig-
uous, and therefore answers to that question

on an insurance apphcation shall not be

used as the basis for rescission of a policy

or denial of a claim.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-1; 57-4; 57B-8;

57B-I2; 57B-I8; 58-9; 58-54; 58-54.4; 58-249;

.0314 PREMIUM NOTICES: PAYMENTS AND
REFUNDS

The commissioner shall consider an unfair trade

practice the failure by an inouranco company
insurer to adhere to any of the following proce-

dures concerning premium notices, payments and
refunds on life, accident, health, or disability

policies when such failure is so frequent as to in-

dicate a general business practice:

(1) Premium Notices. Any inouranco company
insurer which makes a practice of sending

premium notices should shall maintain rc-

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 693



PROPOSED RULES

cords sufTicicnt to show that it mailed or

otherwise delivered such notice to an indi-

vidual insured or policy owner.

(2) Timely Remittance. Insurance companies
ihould shall use date of mailing, rather than

date of receipt, to detemiine whether the in-

sured has made timely remittance of pre-

mium, provided the premium payment is

recci\ed within thruo seven days after either

the termination date of the policy or the last

day of its grace period, whichever is later.

(3) Right to Return Policy. When such right

is given by contract or statute, ft# inouronoo

company insurer should shall abridge or

frustrate the right of the insured to return a

policy within 10 days after he receives it for

a fuU refund of premiums paid. Evidence

of such delivery shall be signed statements

from the policyowner of the date of delivery

or copies of signed certified mail receipt.

(4) Unearned Premium Refund. When such

right is given by contract or statute, no tH-

surance company insurer should shall

abridge or frustrate the right of the insured

to receive a refund of unearned premium.

(5) Unearned Premium on Health Policies.

WTien an insured covered by an accident,

health or disability policy dies during the

term of the policy, his intiurance compajiy

insurer should shall refund the unearned

premium to his estate.

(6) Commintding. No licensed person mav
commingle premiums, insurance deposits or

other such funds. Such funds are considered

to have been received in a fiduciary capacity

on behalf of policyowners and must be im-

mediately forwarded to the proper insurers

or be deposited into an authorized account

which is separate and distinct from the per-

son's operating and or personal accounts.

The account shall be used to receive and
disburse premiums paid for insurers, return

premiums to policyowners, bank charges for

the account and transfer of earned commis-
sions or fees.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-4; 57B-8; 57B-/2;

57B-/8; 58-9: 58-26; 58-54.9, 58-250.1; 58-251.1.

.0315 ISSL.VNCE OF CONTRACTS
The commissioner shall consider an unfair trade

practice the failure by an inouranoo company
insurer to adhere to any of the following proce-

dures with respect to the issuance of life, acci-

dent, health, or disability policies when such

failure is so frequent as to indicate a general

business practice:

(1) Policies to Cover Newborn Infants. No
health application or requirements of

insurability ohould shall be used to circum-
vent the requirements of North Carolina

General Statute 58-251.4.

(2) Rating of Guaranteed Issue Coverages.

There should shall be no rating of policies

where guaranteed issue at a specified rate is

represented. When only guaranteed issue is

represented, the insurer should shall disclose

in writing to any applicant subjected to in-

dividual rating the fact that his rate deviates

from the standard rates for such coverage.

This Section shall not apply to individual

policies issued to employees under a con-
tract between their employer and his insurer.

(3) Replacement of Existing Coverage. With
respect to individual accident, health and
disability coverages, when an insurer's agent,

by misrepresenting the new pohcy as a sup-

plement or addition to the existing policy,

induces an insured to assent to the replace-

ment of his existing policy with a new policy

from ti*e samo insure r, new waiting periods

should shaU be decreased by the amount of

time coverage was afforded under the exist-

ing policy.

(4) Continuous Coverage Under Credit Life,

Accident and Health PoHcies. In a series of

credit life or credit accident and health in-

surance transactions where the insured, the

lender, and the insurance company insurer

are the same and where is no appreciable

lapse in coverage between transactions, the

waiting periods of the insurance agreements

should shall run from the date of the first

insurance contract, at least to the extent of

the amount and term of the indebtedness

outstanding at the time of renewal or refi-

nancing.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-4; 578-8; 578-12;

578-18; 58-9; 58-44.4; 58-54; 58-54.9; 58-251.4;

58-624.

.0319 CLAIMS PRACTICES: LIFE: ACCIDENT
AND HEALTH INSURANCE

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie

violative of G.S. 58-54.4(1 1) the failure by an »-
surance company insurer to adhere to the fol-

lowing procedures concerning settlement of life,

accident, health and disability claims when such

failure is so frequent as to indicate a general

business practice:

(1) Examining Physician's Opinion. When the

patient's health is in question, an insurer

should shall give greater weight to the opin-

ion of a physician who has examined the
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patient than to the opinion of a physician

who has not examined the patient and
whose opinion is based solely on a review

of the examining physician's notes or re-

ports. As used in this Section, "examination

of the patient" shall include the interpreta-

tion by a specialist of the results of diagnos-

tic tests performed on the patient by others.

(2) Settlement Offers. Initial offers of settle-

ment or compromise made by an insurer or

its representative iihould shall remain open
for a reasonable period of time.

(3) .Multiple Health Impairments. When an

insured is confined to the hospital with

multiple health impairments some of which
ma\ be excluded from coverage, the insurer

or Its representative should shall make pro

rata payments where treatment for excluded

conditions can be separated.

(4) .Assignment of Benefits. If an accident,

health or disabilit> contract does not pro-

hibit assignment of benefits and a proper

assignment (including notice to the insurer

prior to the payment of the claim) is made,

the insurer Hihould shall honor the assign-

ment even though it may have erroneously

paid the insured. Submission of a com-
pleted claims form G33H and its

successor(s) indicating that an assignment is

on file should shall be treated as though it

were submission of the actual assignment.

(5) Claim Status Reports. If benefits claimed

under an accident, health or disabihtv con-

tract have not been paid within 30 days after

receipt of the initial claim by the insurer, the

insurer shall at that time mail a claim status

report to the insured.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-/; 57-4; 57B-I2;

57B-/8; 58-9; 58-54.4.

.0320 STUDENT LOANS
Whenever a life in -iuranco company insurer of-

fers an insurance product that has associated with

it the possibility of that guaranteed student loan

through the Federal Higher Education Act in

connection with the solicitation or sale of the Life

insurance product, said agent of company and

applicant shall execute a form to be approved by
the department. Said form shall set out the nghts

of the apphcant under General Statute 58-51.5,

and, among other things, also shall state that the

purchase of life insurance is not necessar> to ob-

tain a federal guaranteed student loan and that

information on alternative sources of such loans

can be had by contacting student fmance officers

at institutions of higher learning. Once this form

is executed, one copy of the same shall be left

with the applicant and the insurance carrier, is-

suing the insurance product, shall keep a copy
of the form in their its records for a period of at

least three years.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-Q: 58-51.5; 58-54.

SECTION .0400 - PROPERTY AND LIABILITY

.0416 BILLING PROCEDURES FOR
Al TOMOBILE INSURANCE

(a) With respect to new business, an insurer

shall take no more than 90 days from the effec-

tive date of the policy to make any investigation

other than review of the initial application and
to biU the insured for proper classification or

sub-classification.

(b) With respect to renewal business, an insurer

shall not bill for any additional premium after the

renewal quotation is made (for any condition

which existed at the time of renewal and which
is on the dnser's motor vehicle record), unlnus

th<* incured dour, b^ prosidt' complotn infonna

t+»ft neoeoL .ary <«• undfrvi ritij Ae pohuy ef malce s

a» L'ffurt te- '
.sithhold rating information ef unloos

tfee billing is made to corroot a olorioal error.

(c) With respect to renewal business, if the in-

sured does not provide complete rating informa-

tion necessary to underwrite the policy or makes
an effort to withhold rating information, the

insurer shall take no more than 90 days from the

effective date of the renewal to make inquiry of

the insured, to make any other investigation and
to bin the insured for proper classification and
sub-classification.

(d) When an insurer obtains information from
sources other than the Department of Motor
Vehicles for use in underwriting an automobile

policy and the insured alleges that such informa-

tion is incorrect, the insurer shall verify the ac-

curacy of such information.

(e) Unearned premium refunds e» auto habihty

afi4 phy i;aoal damage pohoios shall be determined

from the tiate tfee conoumor givoo direct notice te-

a company »f a» agent »f the company ef ouch

oancollation. etfective date of canceUation re-

quested by the insured. In the case of physical

damage insurance where there is a loss payee, the

efl'ective date of cancellation for the purposes of

determirung unearned premium refund shall be

10 days from the date cancellation notice was
given directly to a company or a company's

agent . I lowevor, if th© conoumer eaft Fihow proof

t4«t within U*« W day period m Ai* Rule where

cancellation invoh'oo a less payee; that- tfeat- thi*

conoumer ]pt&^ obtained replacement phyoical

damage coverage which included A» less payee,

then determination ©f thi* cancellation date fef
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purpo!:.es &f dotL'rmining unoamod promium f©-

^^^rWI ^TWITT T^^ nCCTT? r^T^^TT ^^^W KlUT UU.T.v LTF CoT^T ICT^^^^

» cos'erage fof tfe« lee* payoo during Ae -W day

lap CO. Ghall fe^ dL'tormirn^ as if fte less payoo was
involved.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9; 58-248.34.

.0417 DRIVE-IN CLAIM SERVICE FACILITIES
No insurer shall require any claimant to use a

drive-in claim service operated by the insurer.

The claimant's voluntary utilization of a drive-in

claim service shall not prejudice the right of ei-

ther party to obtain independent appraisals and
negotiate settlement on the basis of such ap-

praisals.

Statutory .-luthority G.S. 58-9; 58-54.4;

.0418 TOTAL LOSSES ON .MOTOR
VEHICLES

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie

violative of G.S. 58-54.4(11) the failure by an
insurer to adhere to the following procedures

concerning settlement of covered "total loss"

motor vehicle claims submittod by fifst- party

claimanto when such failure is so frequent as to

indicate a general business practice:

(1) If the insurer and the claimant are initially

unable to reach an agreement as to the \alue

of the vehicle, the insurer should shall base

any further settlement offer not only on
published national average values of similar

vehicles, but also on the value of the vehicle

in the local market. Local market value

should shall be determined by using either

the local market price of a comparable ve-

hicle or, if no comparable vehicle can be

found, quotations from at least two qualified

dealers within the local market area who
have actually inspected the damage vehicle.

Additionally, if the claimant represents that

the vehicle actually owned by him was in

better than average condition, the insurer

should shall give due consideration to the

condition of the claimant's vehicle prior to

the accident.

(2) \Vhere the insurer has the right to elect to

replace the vehicle and does so elect, the re-

placement vehicle should shall be available

without delay, similar to the lost vehicle, and
paid for by the insurer, subject only to the

deductible and to the value of any enhance-

ments acceptable to the insured.

(3) If the insurer makes a deduction for the

salvage value of a "total loss" vehicle re-

tained by the claimant, the insurer, if so re-

quested by the claimant, should shall furnish

the claimant with the name and address of

a salvage dealer who will purchase the sal-

vage for the amount deducted. The insurer

shall be responsible for all reasonable towing
and storage charges and no insurer shall

abandon the salvage of a motor vehicle to a

towing and/or storage service without the

agreed permission of the ser^'ice involved.

In instances where the towing and storage

charges are paid to the owner, the check or
draft for the amount of such charges shall

be payable jointly to the owner and the

towing/storage service.

(4) If a written statement is requested by the

claimant, a total loss payment by an insurer

should shall be accompanied by a written

statement listing the estimates, evaluations

and deductions used in calculating the pay-

ment, if any, and the source of these values.

(5) When a motor vehicle is damaged i» an
amount which equals or exceeds IS 60 per-

cent of the preaccident actual cash value, an
insurance carrier, upon the request of the

owner of the vehicle, shall "total loss" the

automobile by paying the insured the pre-

accident value, and; in return, receiving pos-

session of the legal title of the salvage of said

automobile. At the election of the insured,

or in those circumstances where the insur-

ance carrier will be unable to obtain an un-

encumbered title to the damaged vehicle;

then the insurance carrier shall have the right

to deduct the value of the salvage of the total

loss from the actual value of the vehicle and
leave such salvage with the insured; subject

to the insurance carrier abiding by Subpara-

graph (3) of this Regulation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9; 58-54.4.

.0419 MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR
ESTIM.\TES

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie

violative of G.S. 58-54.4(11) the failure by an
insurer to adhere to the following procedures

concerning repair estimates on covered motor
vehicle damage claims submitted by fos* party

claimants when such failure is so frequent as to

indicate a general business practice:

(1) If the insurer requires the claimant to obtain

more than two estimates of property dam-
age, the cost, if any, of such additional esti-

mates should shall be borne by the insurer.

(2) No insurer should shall refuse to inspect the

damaged vehicle if a personal inspection is

requested by the claimant. However, if the

damaged vehicle is situated other than where
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it is normally used or cannot easily be

moved, the insurer may satisfy the require-

ments of this Section by having a competent

local appraiser inspect the damaged vehicle.

(3) When the insurer elects to have the claim-

ant's property repaired, the insurer ohould,

shall, if so requested by the claimant, furnish

the claimant with a legible front and back
copy of its estimate. This estimate ohould

shall contain the name and address of the

insurer and the name and address of the re-

pair scr\ice making the estimate. If there is

a dispute concerning pre-existing damage to

the vehicle which the insurer does not intend

to have repaired, the extent of such damage
tihould shall be clearly stated in the estimate.

(4) No insurer uhould shall require a claimant

to utihze a particular repair service.

(5) No insurer shall refuse to provide the

claimant with copies of an estimate it uses

to offer a settlement.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9; 58-54.4.

.042r HWDLING OF LOSS AND
CI AIM PAYMENTS

The commissioner shall consider as prima facie

violative of G.S. 58-39 and 58-54.4(11) failure by
an insurer to adhere to the following procedures

concerning loss and claim payments when such

failure is so frequent as to indicate a general

business practice:

(1) Loss and claim payments should shall be

mailed or otherwise delivered promptly after

the claim is settled.

(2) Unless the insured consents, no insurer

should shall deduct from a loss or claim

payment made under one policy premiums
owed by the insured on another policy.

(3) No insurer uhould shall withhold the entire

amount of a loss or claim payment because

the insured owes premium or other monies
in an amount less than the loss or claim

payment.

(4) If a release or full payment of claim is exe-

cuted by an insured or claimant, involving a

repair to a motor vehicle, prior to or at the

time of the repair, it shall not bar the riglit

of the claimant to promptly assert a claim

for property damages unknown to either the

claimant or to the insurance carrier prior to

the repair of the vehicle or a claim for di-

minished value, directly caused by the acci-

dent which could not be determined or

known until after the repair or attempted

repair of the motor vehicle. Claims asserted

withm 30 days after repair for diminished

value and 30 days after discovery of un-

known damage shall be considered promptly
asserted.

(5) Except in the total loss situations, the

insurer shall be liable for the full cost of

agreed upon repairs less policy deductibles.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9; 58-39; 58-54.4.

.0423 ETHICAL STANDARDS
(a) Every agoncy, agent, limited representative,

broker, adjuster, appraiser, or other insurer's

representative shall, when in contact with the

public:

(1) promptly identify himself and his occupa-
tion;

(2) carry the license issued to him by the De-
partment of Insurance while performing
his duties and display it upon request to

any insured or claimant, any repairer at

which he is investigating a claim or loss,

any department representative, or any
other person with whom he has contact

while performing his duties;

(3) conduct himself in such a manner as to

inspire confidence by fair and honorable
dealings.

(b) No adjuster or appraiser shall:

(1) recommend the utilization of a particular

motor vehicle repair service without

clearly informing the claimant that he is

under no obligation to use the recom-
mended repair service and may use the

service of his choice;

(2) accept any gratuity or other form of

remuneration from a repair service for re-

commending that repair service to claim-

ants;

(3) purchase salvage from a first party claim-

ant whose claim he is adjusting or ap-

praising without first disclosing to the

claimant the nature of his interest in the

transaction;

(4) Intimidate intimidate or discourage any
claimant from seeking legal advice and
counsel by withdrawing and reducing a

settlement offer previously tendered to the

claimant or threatening to do so if the

claimant seeks legal advice or counsel.

No adjuster shall advise a claimant of the

advisability of seeking or not seeking legal

counsel nor shall recommend any legal

counsel to any claimant under any cir-

cumstance.

Statutory Authority G.S. 57-4; 58-9; 58-54(4);

58-57; 58-611; 58-614; 58-6/5.

.0424 PURPOSE

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 697



PROPOSED RULES

The purpose of this Rule is to set forth stand-

ards for prompt, fair, and equitable settlements

of motor vehicle physical damage insurance

claims with regard to the use of after market

parts.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0425 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Section the following terms shall

be construed as follows:

( 1) ",'Vfter market part" means a part made by
a nonoriginal manufacturer.

(2) "Insurer" includes any person authorized

to represent the insurer with respect to a

claim and who is acting within the scope of

the person's authority.

(3) "Nonoriginal manufacturer" means any

manufacturer other than the original man-
ufacturer of a part.

(4) "Part" means a sheet metal or plastic part

that generally is a component of the exterior

of a motor vehicle, including an inner or

outer panel.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0426 IDENTIFICATION
Ever> after market part that is subject to this

Rule and that is manufactured after November
1, 1988, shall carr>' sufficient permanent identifi-

cation of its manufacturer. Such identification

shall be accessible, to the extent physically pos-

sible, after installation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0427 LIKE KIND AND QUALITY
No insurer shall require the use of an after

market part in the repair of a motor vehicle un-

less the after market part is at least equal to the

original part in terms of fit, quality, and per-

formance. Insurers specifying the use of after

market parts shall consider the costs of any
modifications that may become necessary when
making repairs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0428 DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS
(a) Every insurer that writes motor vehicle

physical damage insurance in this state and that

intends to require or specify the use of after

market parts must disclose to its policyholders in

writing, either in the pohcy or on a sticker at-

tached thereto, the following information in no
smaller print than 10 point type;

IN THE REPAIR OF YOUR COV-
ERED AUTO UNDER THE PHYS-
ICAL DAMAGE COVERAGE
PROVISIONS OF THIS POLICY, WE
MAY REQUIRE OR SPECIFY THE
USE OF AUTOMOBILE PARTS NOT
MADE BY THE ORIGINAL MAN-
UFACTURER. THESE PARTS ARE
REQUIRED TO BE AT LEAST
EQUAL IN TERMS OF FIT, QUAL-
ITY, AND PERFORMANCE TO THE
ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER
PARTS THEY REPLACE.

(b) An insurer must disclose to a claimant in

writing, either on the estimate or on a sepa-

rate document attached to the estimate, the

following information in no smaller print

than 10 point type:

THIS ESTIMATE HAS BEEN PRE-
PARED BASED ON THE USE OF
AUTOMOBILE PARTS NOT MADE
BY THE ORIGINAL MANUFAC-
TURER. PARTS USED IN THE RE-
PAIR OF YOUR VEHICLE BY
OTHER THAN THE ORIGINAL
MANUFACTURER ARE REQUIRED
TO BE AT LEAST EQUAL IN TERMS
OF FIT, QUALITY, AND PER-
FORMANCE TO THE ORIGINAL
MANUFACTURER PARTS THEY
ARE REPLACING.

All after market parts installed on a motor vehicle

shall be clearly identified on the estimate and in-

voice for such repair.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

.0429 ENFORCEMENT
A violation of this Rule is deemed by the com-

missioner to be an unfair trade practice under

Article 3A of General Statute Chapter 58.

Statutory Authority G.S. 58-9.

TITLE 15 - DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES AND CO^L\IL^MTY

DEVELOPMENT

lyotice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

I50B-I2 that the Division of Environmental Man-
agement intends to adopt rule(s) cited as 15

NCAC 2M .0101 - .0802.
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1 he proposed effective date of this action is

March I, 1989.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 2:00

p.m. on December I, I9S8 at Archdale Building,

Ground Floor Hearing Room, 512 N. Salisbury

Street, Raleigh, NC.

y^omment Procedures: Any person or organiza-

tion desiring to make oral comments at the hear-

ing should register to do so at the hearing.

Statements will be limited to JO minutes and one

typewritten copy of any such statement should be

submitted to the panel conducting the hearing.

Any additional comments on the rules should be

forwarded to the Division of Environmental Man-
agement by December 1 , 1988:

Cov M. Batten,

NRCD, P.O. Box 27687
Raleigh, NC 27611,

(919) 733-6900.

CHAPTER 2 - ENVIRONMENTAL
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 2M - NORTH CAROLINA
WATER POLLUTION CONTROL REVOLVING

FUND

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

.0101 PURPOSE
(a) For the purposes of this Chapter, the "Final

Initial Guidance for State Revolving Funds"
published by the United States Environmental
Protection Agency in January 1988 is hereby

adopted by reference to include later amend-
ments pursuant to G.S. 150B- 14(c).

(b) Loans for wastewater treatment facilities

and interceptor sewers from the Water Pollution

Control Revolving Fund established by the

North Carolina Clean Water Revolving Fund
Grant Act of 1987, G.S. 159G, shall be made in

accordance with this Chapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. 1SOB- 14(c); I59G-I5.

.0102 DEFINITIONS
In addition to the defmitions in G.S. 159G-3,

the following defmitions will apply to this Chap-
ter:

(1) "Act" means North Carolina Clean Water
Revolving Loan and Grant Act of 1987,

G.S. 159G.

(2) "Award" means the offer by the receiving

agency to enter into a loan commitment for

a specilied amount.

(3) "Award of contract" means the award by
the loan recipient to a contractor of a con-

tract to construct the project as bid.

(4) "Bid" means the amount of money for

which a contractor offers to construct a
project.

(5) "Contingency costs" means unforeseen
costs or situations not included in the esti-

mate of project costs.

(6) "Commitment" means a binding agree-

ment to pay loan funds at intervals as ex-

penses are incurred.

(7) "Date of Completion" means the date on
which operations of the treatment works are

initiated or capable of being initiated,

whichever is earlier.

(8) "Environmental Protection Agency"
means the Federal agency established pur-

suant to Reorganization Plan No. 3 of 1970,

effective December 1, 1970.

(9) "Federal capitalization grant" means a

grant by the Environmental Protection

Agency to the state for the purpose of pro-

viding loan funds to fmance publicly owned
wastewater facilities.

(10) "Federal Clean Water Act" (CWA) means
the Act of Congress designated as P.L.

92-500, approved October 18, 1972, as

amended from time to time.

(11) "Inspection" means inspection or in-

spections of a project to determine percent-

age completion of the project; conformance
with plans and specifications; and compli-

ance with applicable federal, state, and local

laws.

(12) "Intended Use Plan" means an aimual
plan to identily the proposed uses of the

amounts available in the Water Pollution

Control Revolving Fund.

(13) "Project" means the work described in the

application for a loan under this Chapter.

(14) "Receiving Agency" means the Con-
struction Grants Section of the Division of

Environmental Management.

Statutory Authority G.S. J59G-3; 159G-I5.

.0103 PROCEDURES
Operating procedures for loans made from the

Water Pollution Control Revolving Fund have

been developed according to Federal guidelines

and are maintained and implemented by the re-

ceiving agency.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59G-5(c).

SECTION .0200 - APPLICABLE ACTIVITIES

NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER 699



PROPOSED RULES

.0201 LOAN ACTIVITIES
(a) Loans shall be available for the construction

of publicly owned wastewater treatment works
that appear on the state's priority list and as they

are defined in Section 212 of the I-ederal Clean

Water Act, except for wastewater collection sew-

ers.

(b) Loans may be available for implementation

of a non-point source pollution control manage-
ment program under Section 319 of the Federal

Clean Water Act; and
(c) Loans may be available for development

and implementation of an estuary conser\-ation

and management plan under Section 320 of the

Federal Clean Water Act.

Statutory Authority G.S. 159G-5(c): I59G-I5.

.0202 ADMIMSTR.ATIVE E.XPENSES
(a) Funds in the Water Pollution Control Re-

volving Fund account shall be used for the rea-

sonable costs of administering the fund, not to

exceed four percent of the Federal capitalization

grant award received by the account. These

funds shall be used for this purpose alone, and
may accrue until expended for administrative

purposes.

(b) Agreement to a debt instrument by loan

applicants shall include the payment of a two
percent closing fee. These funds shall accrue, to

be used only for the reasonable costs of admin-
istenng the Water Pollution Control Revolving

Fund.

Statuton- Authority G.S. l59G-5(c): J59G-6(d):
159G-15.

SECTION .0300 - ELIGIBILITY
REQUIREMENTS

.0301 EI IGIBLE PROJECT COSTS
Loans to local umts of government for the

construction of publicly owned wastewater

projects may be up to 100 percent of allowable

project costs as defined in Section 212 of the

CWA, being limited only to the following:

(1) costs necessary to meet permit limits;

(2) costs necessary" to meet twenty years' do-

mestic growlh:

(3) costs to pro\ide for 10 percent unspecified

industrial growth; and

(4) contingency costs to represent 10 percent

of the estimated construction costs.

Statutory Authority G.S. 159G-5(ci; I59G-I5.

.0302 LIMIT.VriON OF DOLBLE BENEFITS
(a) A project which is receiving a Federal con-

struction grant under 201(2) of the Federal Clean

Water Act is prohibited from receiving a loan

from the Water Pollution Control Revolving

fund for the non-Federal share of the project's

costs.

(b) Loans may be made for subsequent phases

or segments of wastewater facilities that previ-

ously received Federal grant assistance for earlier

phases or segments of the same facility.

(c) Loans may also be made to cover ineligible

portions of Federal grant projects such as reser\'e

capacity, major rehabilitation, or advanced treat-

ment components declared grant inehgible.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59G-5(cj; I59G-I5.

.0303 LIMIT.\TION OF LO.ANS
The maximum principal amount of loan made

to any one local government unit during any fis-

cal year shall be seven and one-half million dol-

lars'($7,500,000).

Statutory Authority G.S. 159G-5(c); 159G-15.

SECTION .0400 - APPLICATIONS

.0401 APPLICATION FILING DEADLINES
.Applications for loans made from the Water

Pollution Control Revolving Fund must be

postmarked or delivered to the Division of Envi-

ronmental Management on or before .March 31

of each year, in order to be approved for loan

funds available during the following fiscal year.

Applications must be sufficiently complete and
contain adequate information to permit the

agency to establish realistic schedules and project

costs. Any application that does not contain

such sufficient information shall be by-passed for

that review period.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I59G-I5.

I59G-5(c); I59G-8;

.0402 GENERAL PROVISIONS
(aj Applications for loans under this Chapter

shall be submitted on the appropriate forms and

accompanied by all documentation, assurances

and other information called for in the in-

structions for completing and filing applications.

Information concerning any grant or loan funds

from any other source that the applicant has ap-

plied for or recei\'ed for the project shall be dis-

closed on the application.

(b) An applicant shall furnish information in

addition to or -supplemental to the information

contained in its application and supporting doc-

umentation upon request by the recei\ing

agency.
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(c) Any application that does not contain in-

formation sufficient to permit the receiving

agency to review and approve the project for

inclusion on the Intended Use Plan may be by-

passed.

(d) An application may not be filed with the

receiving agency after the award of contract on a

project.

(e) An application may be withdrawn from
consideration upon request of the applicant, but

if resubmitted shall be considered as a new ap-

phcation.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I59G-I5.

I59G-8: I59G-9:

Federal Clean Water Act for loans made
for projects constructed in whole or in

part with funds made directly available by
the Federal capitalization grant.

(4) Consideration shall also be given to ap-

phcable cross cutting Federal authorities,

(b) The categorical elements and items to be
considered in assigning priorities to each appli-

cation for which loan funds are sought, and the

points to be awarded to each categorical element
and item, are set forth in 15 NCAC 2F,
.0102(b)(l)-(3), and .0103.

Statutory Authority G.S.

I59G-I5.

I59G-5; I59G-8;

.0403 PROJECT SCHEDULE AND
RESOLLTION

(a) Every appUcation shall be accompanied by
a project schedule which specifies dates for mile-

stone events including submission of a facility

plan, construction drawings and specifications, a

draft user charge system and sewer use ordinance,

proposed dates for bid tabulation and award, a

construction start date, and a proposed project

completion date.

(b) Every appUcation shall be accompanied by
an adopted resolution as required by G.S.

159G-9(3) stating that the unit of government
has complied or will substantially comply with

all apphcable federal, state and local laws or rules.

Such resolution shall be certified or attested to

as a true and correct copy as adopted.

Statutory Authority G.S. 159G-5(c); I59G-9;
I59G-15.

SECTION .0500 - CRITERIA FOR EVALUATION
OF ELIGIBLE APPLICATIONS

SECTION .0600 - LO.\N AWARD:
COiMMITMENT AND DISBURSEMENT OF

LOANS

.0601 DETERMINATION OF LOAN AWARDS
(a) All funds appropriated to the Water Pol-

lution Control Revolving Fund account under
this Chapter for a fiscal year will be available that

particular fiscal year.

(b) Loans principal repayments and interest

payments from loans made from the Water Pol-

lution Control Revolving Fund account, will ac-

crue to this account. These funds, along with

interest earned on them, will be available as they

accumulate.

(c) The funds available in the Water Pollution

Control Revolving Fund will be awarded to ap-

plicants on the approved state priority list as they

are scheduled on the Intended Use Plan.

(d) Upon a recipient's acceptance of a loan of-

fer and its conditions, funds are reserved for a

particular project as per Section 602(b)(3) of the

CWA.

.0501 GENERAL CRITERIA
(a) In determining the priority to be assigned

each eligible application, the Environmental

Management Commission will give consideration

to the following factors;

(1) Consideration shall be given to all projects

submitting applications for loans for

wastewater treatment systems under the

Act as per 159G-8.

(2) Primary consideration shall be given to the

first use of the funds for the enforceable

requirements of the Federal Clean Water
Act. This injunction applies to the use

of funds from the Federal capitalization

grant, the state match, and the repayment

of the first loans awarded from the Water
Pollution Control Revolving Fund.

(3) Consideration shall also be given to the

specific statutory requirements of the

Statutory Authority G.S. l59G-5(c); 159G-I5.

.0602 CERTIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY
AND NOTIFICATION OF LOAN
COMMITMENT

(a) The receiving agency shall forward to the

Office of State Budget and Management a certif-

icate of eligibility and notification of commit-
ment for each application for which a loan

commitment has been made.
(b) The certificate of eligibility shall indicate

that the applicant meets all eligibility criteria and
that all other requirements of the Act and of the

rules governing the account have been met.

(c) The notification of commitment shall indi-

cate the amount and the fiscal year of the loan

commitment.

Statutory Authority G.S. I59G-I2; I59G-I5.
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.0603 CRITERIA FOR LOAN ADJUSTMENTS
(a) Upon receipt of bids the debt instrument is

negotiated. It may adjust the loan commitment
as follows:

(1) The loan commitment may be decreased,

provide the project cost as bid is less than

the estimated project cost, and the receiv-

ing agency approves the loan commitment
decrease.

(2) Loan commitments may be increased, to

a maximum of 10 percent or five thousand
dollars ($500,000), whichever is greater,

provided;

(A) the project cost as bid is greater than

the estimated project cost;

(B) the project as bid is in accordance with

the project for which the loan commit-
ment was made;

(C) the receiving agency has reviewed the

bids and determined that substantial cost

savings would not be available through

project revisions without jeopardizing the

integrity of the project; and
(D) adequate funds are available in the ac-

count from which the loan was awarded.

Increases greater than 10 percent of the loan

commitment shall be approved by the Local

Government Commission and the Office of State

Budget and Management.

Statutory Authority G.S. I59G-12; 159G-I5.

.0604 DISBLRSEMENT OF LOANS
(a) Disbursement of loan monies shall be made

at inter\'als as work progresses and expenses are

incurred. No disbursement shall be made until

the receiving agency receives satisfactory doc-

umentation of incurred costs. At no time shall

disbursement exceed the allowable costs which
have been incurred at that time.

(b) Project inspection will confirm work
progress, and a fmal inspection is required prior

to fmal disbursement of loan monies.

(c) The receiving agency will notify the Office

of State Budget and Management to make loan

disbursements. A check in the amount of the

disbursement authorized by the receiving agency

will be forwarded to the loan recipient by the

OtTice of State Budget and Management. The
receiving agency will be notified by the Office of

State Budget and Management as disbursements

are made.

Statutory Authority G.S. /59G-5(c): I59G-I2:

I59G-I5.

.0605 TERMINATION OF LOANS

Loan commitments may be terminated by the

Environmental Management Conmiission when
recipients do not meet project schedules, if they

fail to award contracts within one year, or if they

fail to comply with applicable Federal require-

ments.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59G-5(c); I59G-II-
I59G-I5.

SECTION .0700 - LOAN REPAYMENTS

.0701 INTEREST RATES
The interest rate to be charged on loans under

this Chapter will be set on March 3 1 of each year
at the lesser of four percent per annum or one-
half the prevailing national market rate as derived

from the Bond Buyer's 20-Bond Index in ac-

cordance with G.S. 159G-4(c). The interest rate

will be the same for all loans awarded from this

account during any given fiscal year.

Statutory Authority G.S. J59G-4(cJ; J59G-5(c);
I59G-15.

.0702 REPAYMENT OF PRINCIPAL AND
INTEREST ON LOANS

(a) The debt instrument setting the terms and
conditions of repayment of loans under this

Chapter will be established after the receipt of

bids. Adjustments to the loan may only be made
under Rule .0603 of this Chapter.

(b) The maximum maturity on any loan under
this Chapter shall not exceed 20 years.

(c) Interest on the debt instrument shall begin

to accrue on the original date that a project's

contracts are scheduled to be completed. Ex-
tensions of this deadline are not allowed.

(d) All principal payments will be made armu-

aUy on or before May 1. The first principal

payment is due not earlier than six months after

the date of completion of the project.

(e) All interest payments wiU be made semian-

nually on or before May 1 and November 1 of

each year. The first interest payment is due not

earlier than six months after the date of com-
pletion of the project.

(f) All principal and interest payments shall be

made payable to the Water PoUution Control

Revolving Fund, and submitted to the Office of

State Budget and Management.

Statutory Authority G.S. J59G-/3; J59G-J5;

I59G-I8.

SECTION .0800 - INSPECTION AND ALDIT

.0801 INSPECTION
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Inspection of a project to which a loan has been
committed under this Chapter may be made to

determine the percentage of completion of the

project for installment disbursements, conform-

ance with approved plans and specifications, and
for compliance with all applicable laws and rules.

Statutory Authority G.S. I59G-14; I59G-15.

.0802 AUDIT OF PROJECTS
(a) Loan recipients are required to maintain

project accounts in accordance with generally

accepted government accounting standards.

(b) .\11 projects to which a loan has been
committed under this Chapter will be audited in

accordance with G.S. 159-34.

Statutory Authority G.S. l59G-5(c); I59G-I5.

1\ otice is hereby gi\'en in accordance with G.S.

ISOB- 12 that the Division of Coastal Management
intends to adopt rule(s) cited as 15 NCAC 7H
.1901 - .1905.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

March I, I9S9.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 1 , I9SS at The North Carolina

Aquarium, Roanoke Island, Airport Road,
Manteo, N.C.

(^ omment Procedures: A II persons interested in

this matter are im'iled to attend the public hearing.

The Coastal Management Division will receive

written comments up to the date of the hearing.

Any person desiring to present lengthy comments
is requested to submit a written statement for
inclusion in the record ofproceedings at the public

hearing. Additional information concerning the

hearing or the proposal may be obtained by con-

tacting Portia Rochelle, Division of Coastal Man-
agement, P.O. Box 27687, Raleigh, NC 27611,

(919) 733-22S3.

CHAPTER 7 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER 7H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR
AREAS OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN

SECTION .1900 - GENERAL PERMIT TO
ALLOW FOR TEMPORARY STRUCTURES
WITHIN ESTUARINE AND OCEAN HAZARD

AECS

.1901 PURPOSE

This permit will allow for the placement of

temporary structures within estuarine and ocean

hazard AEC's according to the provisions pro-

vided in Subchapter 7J .1100 and according to

the guidelines in this Subchapter.

Statutory Authority G.S. Il3-229(cl);

II3A-I07(a)(b); ll3A-II3(b); II3A-118.I.

.1902 APPROVAL PROCEDURES
(a) The applicant must contact the Division of

Coastal Management and complete a general

permit application form requesting approval for

development. Applicants shall provide informa-

tion on site location, dimensions of the project

area, proposed activity, name, address, and tele-

phone number.
(b) The applicant must provide confirmation

that a written statement has been obtained,

signed by the adjacent riparian property owners,

indicating that they have no objections of the

proposed work.

(c) No work shall begin until an onsite meeting
is held with the applicant and a Division of

Coastal Management representative to inspect

and mark the site of construction of the proposed
development. Written authorization to proceed
with the proposed development may be issued

by the division during this visit. All work must
be completed and the structure removed within

1 80 days following the day written authorization

is issued.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-229(cl);

II3A-I07(a)(b); II3A-1 13(b); II3A-II8.I.

.1903 PERMIT FEE
No fee will be assessed for this permit.

Statutory Authority G.S. 113-229(cl);

Il3.4-107(a)(b); II3A-I13(b): I13A-II8.I.

.1904 GENERAL CONDITIONS
(a) Temporar)' structures for the purpose of

this general permit are those which are con-

structed within the ocean hazard or estuarine

system AEC's and because of dimensions or

functions do not meet the criteria of the existing

general permits (i.e. are not a bulkhead, pier,

rip-rap, groin, etc.).

(b) There must be no encroachment oceanward
of the first line of stable \egetation within the

ocean hazard AEC by the structure.

(c) There can be no fill activity below the plane

of mean high water associated with the structure.

(d) The structure must not be located in such

a manner that will directly or indirectly adversely

impact coastal wetlands.
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(e) The structure must not disrupt the move-
ment of those species of aquatic life indigenous

to the waterbody.

(f) Individuals shall allow authorized represen-

tatives of the Department of NRCD to make
periodic inspections at any time necessary to en-

sure that the activity being performed under au-

thority of this general permit is in accordance

with the terms and conditions prescribed herein.

(g) This general permit may either be amended
or repealed in whole or in part according to the

provisions of G.S. 113A-107 if the conmiission

determines that such action would be in the best

public interest.

(h) This general permit will not be applicable

to proposed structures when the department de-

termines that the proposed activity may signif-

icantly affect the quality of the environment or

unnecessarily endanger adjoining properties.

(i) This general permit wiU not be apphcable

to proposed structures when the department de-

termines that the proposed activity would ad-

versely affect areas which possess historic,

cultural, scenic, conversation or recreational val-

ues.

(j) The department may determine in some
cases that tliis general permit is not applicable to

a specific structural proposal. In such cases an

indi\'idual permit application and review of the

proposed project may be initiated using the ap-

plication forms, fees, and procedures required by

15 NCAC 7J.

(k) This permit does not eliminate the need to

obtain any other state, local or federal authori-

zation, nor, to abide by regulations adopted by

any federal or other state agency.

(1) Development carried out under this permit

must be consistent with aU local requirements,

AEC guidelines, and local land use plans current

at the time of authorization.

(4) The proposed activity must not involve the

disruption of normal navigation and trans-

portation charmels.

(5) The proposed project must not serve as a

habitable place of residence.

(6) There will be no adverse disturbance of ex-

isting dune structures.

Statutory Authority G.S. II3-229(cl);

II3A-I07(a)(b); II3A-Il3(b); II3A-1I8.I.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING
BOARDS

ly otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.

J508- J2 that the North Carolina State Board of
Dental Examiners intends to adopt rule(s) cited

as 21 NCAC I6Q .0101 - .0501.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is July

I, 1989.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 9, I9SS at Offices of the North
Carolina State Board of Dental Examiners, 3716
National Dri\'e, Suite 221, Raleigh, North
Carolina.

\^ omment Procedures: Any person interested in

these rules may present oral comments relevant to

the proposals at the public hearing or deliver

written comments to the board prior to January

9, 1989. .Anyone wishing to address the board at

the public hearing should notify the board by noon
on December 8, J 988, that they wish to speak on

the proposals. Oral presentations will be limited

to frve minutes per speaker. The board's mailing

address is: Post Office Box 32270, Raleigh,

North Carolina 27622-2270.

Statutory: Authority G.S. 1 13-229(cl );
]13A-107(a)(b): 113A- 113(b): 113A-I18.1.

.1905 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS
Proposed temporary structures must meet each

of the following specific conditions to be eligible

for authorization by the general permit:

(1) All aspects of the structure must be re-

moved from the site at the termination of

this general pennit and full restoration ac-

complished.

(2) There can be no work within any produc-

tive shellfish beds.

(3) The proposed project must not involve the

excavation of any marsh, submerged aquatic

vegetation, or other wetlands.

CHAPTER 16 - DENTAL EXAMJNERS

SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA

SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS

.0101 PURPOSE
For the purposes of these rules relative to the

administration of general anesthesia and sedation,

by or under the direction of a licensed dentist, the

following definitions shall apply:

(1) "General .'Vnesthesia" is the intended con-

trolled state of depressed consciousness

produced by a pharmacologic agent and ac-

companied by a partial or complete loss of

protective refle.xes including the inability to

maintain an airway and respond
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purposefully to physical stimulation or

verbal command.
(2) "Sedation" is the intravenous, intramuscu-

lar, subcutaneous, submuscosal, or rectal

administration of pharmacological agents,

with the intent to obtain a depressed level

of consciousness that retains the patient's

ability to independently and continuously

maintain an airway and respond appropri-

ately to physical stimulation or verbal com-
mand.

(3) "Nitrous Oxide Inhalation Conscious Se-

dation (Dental Analgesia)" is the adminis-

tration by inhalation of a combination of

nitrous oxide and oxygen produced with an
intent to obtain an altered level of con-

sciousness that retains the patient's ability to

independently and continuously maintain an
airway and respond appropriately to phys-

ical stimulation or verbal command.
(4) "Local Anesthesia" is the loss of sensation

of pain in a specific area of the body gener-

ally produced by a topically applied agent

or an injected agent without intentionally

affecting the level of consciousness.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

SECTION .0200 - TIMETABLE FOR
REGULATIONS

.0201 GENERAL ANESTHESIA
Twenty-four months after the effective date of

these rules and regulations, a dentist licensed in

this state shall have the right to administer or di-

rect the administration of general anesthesia in

the practice of dentistry if that dentist has met the

requirements for administration of general anes-

thesia as specified by the State Board of Dental

Examiners.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

.0202 SEDATION
Twenty-four months after the effective date of

these rules and regulations, a dentist licensed in

this state shall have the right to administer or di-

rect the administration of sedation in the practice

of dentistry if that dentist has met the require-

ments for administration of sedation as required

by the State Board of Dental Examiners.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

SECTION .0300 - CREDENTIALS NECESSARY
FOR ADMINISTRATION OF GENERAL

ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION

.0301 GENERAL ANESTHESIA CREDENTIALS

Credentials may be satisfied by a licensed dentist

to use general anesthesia on an outpatient basis

for dental patients provided the dentist meets the

following criteria as outlined below:

(1) Required Criteria:

(a) The dentist has completed a minimum of
one year of advanced training or the

equivalent in anesthesiology and related

academic subjects beyond the undergrad-

uate dental school level in a training pro-

gram approved by the board; or

(b) Any individual who is a graduate of an
ADA certified program in oral and
maxillofacial surgery or as diplomate of
the American Board of Oral and
Maxillofacial Surgery, or is eligible for ex-

amination by the American Board of Oral

and Maxillofacial Surgery, has by defi-

nition met the requirements to administer

general anesthesia.

(c) Is a Fellow of the American Dental Soci-

ety of Anesthesiology; or

(d) Is a licensed dentist who has been utilising

general anesthesia in a competent manner
for the five years preceding the effective

date of this Rule and who passes an on-

site examination and inspection of office

facilities by qualified representatives of the

North Carolina State Board of Dental

Examiners.

(e) The dentist may have the preanesthetic

evaluation and anesthetic administration

done by a qualified anesthesiologist li-

censed to practice in North Carolina. The
anesthesiologist would monitor the pa-

tient until discharge from the dental office.

The anesthesiologist and the dentist

would be responsible for insuring the

standard of care for the dental office to the

North Carolina State Board of Dental

Examiners.

(f) A dentist qualified to administer general

anesthesia may have the anesthesia ad-

ministered in collaboration with a certified

nurse anesthetist. The dentist and the

nurse anesthetist would be responsible for

insuring standard of care for the dental

office to the State Board of Dental Ex-

aminers.

(2) A dentist using general anesthesia shall

maintain a properly equipped facility for the

administration of general anesthesia staffed

with supervised auxiliary personnel. The
clinical persormel shall have the capacity to

effectively manage the procedure, as well as

any problems or emergency incidents that

may occur as result of the general anesthetic
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or secondary to an unexpected medical

complication.

(3) A dentist and his auxiliary personnel using

general anesthesia shall be trained in and
capable of administering basic life support.

(4) A dentist qualified to administer general

anesthesia under this Rule may administer

sedation under Rule .0302.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

.0302 SEDATION CREDENTIALS
Credentials may be satisfied by a licensed dentist

to use sedation on an outpatient basis on dental

patients provided the dentist meets the following

criteria:

(1) The dentist has received formal training and
certification in a program approved by the

State Board of Dental Examiners which in-

cluded physical evaluation, I.V. sedation,

airway management, monitoring basic life

support, and emergency training hours as

well as the amount of didactic and patient

contact hours invohed in his or her training.

The minimum number of didactic hours will

be 60 hours. The minimum number of pa-

tient contact hours will be 20 hours to in-

clude a minimum of 10 patients. The
formal training program shall be sponsored

by or atTiliated with a university, a teaching

hospital, an organization, or be a part of the

undergraduate curriculum of an accredited

dental school. Any sponsoring organization

not affiUated with a university or teaching

hospital shall be approved by the State

Board of Dental Examiners.

(2) The dentist may have the presedation eval-

uation and the sedation administration done
by a quahfied anesthesiologist licensed to

practice in North Carolina. The
anesthesiologist would monitor the patient

until f'ischarge from the dental office. The
anesthesiologist and the dentist would be

responsible for insuring the standard of care

for the dental office to the North Carolina

Board of Dental Examiners.

(3) A dentist qualified to administer sedation

may have the sedation administered in col-

laboration with a certified nurse anesthetist.

The dentist and the anesthetist would be re-

sponsible for insuring standard of care for

the dental office to the North Carolina

Board of Dental Examiners.

(4) A dentist administering sedation shall

maintain a properly equipped facility for the

administration of sedation staffed with

supervised au,xiliar>' personnel. The clinical

personnel shall be capable of reasonably

handling procedure, problems, and emer-

gencies incident thereto.

(5) A dentist administering sedation and his

auxiliary personnel shall be proficient in

basic Ufe support.

(6) A dentist who has been administering se-

dation on an outpatient in a competent and
efficient manner for the three years preceding

the effective date of these rules and regu-

lations who has not had the benefit of
formal education as outlined in these rules

may continue use, provided the dentist ful-

fills the provisions set forth in Paragraphs
(d) and (e) of this Rule.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

.0303 NITROUS OXIDE INHAL.\TION
CONSCIOUS SED.^TION (DENTAL
ANALGESIA) CREDENTIALS

There will be no additional requirements or

credentials necessary for a licensed dentist in

North Carolina to administer nitrous oxide

inhalation conscious sedation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

.0304 LOCAL ANESTHESIA CREDENTIALS
There will be no additional requirements or

credentials necessary for a licensed dentist in

North Carolina to administer local anesthesia.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

SECTION .0400 - METHOD OF
CREDENTIALING

.0401 REVIEW OF CREDENTIALS
No dentist shall use or assume responsibility for

the use of general anesthesia or sedation in a

dental office of dental patients unless the dentist

has met the qualifications required by the North
Carolina Board of Dental Examiners. Dentists

so qualified shall be subject to review and their

facilities subject to inspection by members or

representatives of the board as deemed appropri-

ate by the board. Credentials must be reviewed

biannuaUy. Continuing education is encouraged:

(1) Within one year of the effective date of

these rules, each dentist who has been ad-

ministering or responsible for the adminis-

tration of general anesthesia shall submit

credentials on the appropriate form to the

North Carolina Board of Dental Examiners

if that dentist desires to continue to admin-

ister or be responsible for the administration

of general anesthesia to dental patients on
an outpatient basis. This form must include

a fee of one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00)
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as well as evidence indicating compliance

with Section .0300 - General Anesthesia

Credentials. Prior to the acceptance of cre-

dentials, the board may, at its discretion, re-

quire an on-site inspection of facilities,

equipment, personnel, and procedures to

determine if the requirements have been

met. This evaluation shall be carried out

by the board or by a team of consultants

appointed by the board.

(2) Within one year of the effective date of

these rules, each dentist who has been ad-

ministered or responsible for the adminis-

tration of sedation shall submit credentials

on the appropriate form to the North
Carohna Board of Dental Examiners if that

dentist desires to continue to administer or

be responsible for the administration of se-

dation to dental patients on an outpatient

basis. The form must be accompanied by a

one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00) fee as

well as evidence of compliance with Section

.0400 - Sedation Credentials. Prior -to the

acceptance of credentials, the board may, at

its discretion, require an on-site inspection

of facilities, equipment, personnel, and pro-

cedures to determine if the requirements

ha\e been met. This evaluation shall be

carried out by the board or by a team of

consultants appointed by the board.

(3) Temporary approval may be granted for the

new applicant based solely on credentials

until all processing and investigation have

been completed. Temporary approval shall

not exceed 12 months.

(4) Biannual approval of credentials will be

considered following submission of the

proper form and may involve board reeval-

uation of credentials, facilities, equipment,

personnel, and procedures of a previously

qualified dentist to determine if the dentist

is still qualified. A renewal fee of fifty dol-

lars ($50.00) must accompany this form.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

SECTION .0500 - REPORTS REQUIRED

.0501 REPORTS REQUIRED
All licensed dentists engaged in the act or prac-

tice of dentistry while administered general anes-

thesia or sedation must submit a report within a

30 day period to the North Carolina Board of

Dental Examiners regarding any known mortality

or serious unusual incident which occurs in a

dental facility or during the 24 hour period after

the patient leaves the facility, if the incident

produces temporary or permanent physical or

mental injury of the patient as a direct resuh of

the administration of general anesthesia or se-

dation.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-28.

IS otice is hereby given in accordance with G.S.
ISOB- 12 that the North Carolina Board of Nurs-
ing intends to adopt rule(s) cited as 21 NCAC 36
.0401 -.0404.

1 he proposed effective date of this action is

March 1, 1989.

1 he public hearing will be conducted at 10:00

a.m. on December 1, 1988 at Plaza Hotel,

Raleigh, North Carolina.

K^-omment Procedures: Any person wishing to

present oral testimony relevant to proposed rules

may register at the door before the hearing begins

and present hearing officer with a written copy of
testimony. Written statements may be directed

five days prior to the hearing date to the North
Carolina Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 2129,

Raleigh, N.C. 27602.

CHAPTER 36 - BOARD OF NURSING

SECTION .0400 - UNLICENSED PERSONNEL -

NURSE AIDES

.0401 ROLES
(a) The license nurse. Registered and Practical,

may delegate nursing care activities to unlicensed

personnel, regardless of title, appropriate to the

level of knowledge and skill of the unlicensed care

provider, and which are within the legal scope of

practice for unlicensed persormel. The licensed

nurse is responsible for supervision of the unli-

censed personnel and maintains legal account-

ability and responsibility for nursing care given

by all personnel to whom that care is delegated.

(b) Those activities which may be delegated to

unlicensed personnel are determined by the fol-

lowing variables:

(1) educational preparation of the unlicensed

care provider which includes both basic

educational preparation (Level I) and
training added through additional educa-

tional preparation and training (Level II);

(2) verification of clinical competence of the

unlicensed care provider;
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(3) stability of the patient's clinical condition

which involves predictability, risk of

complication, and rate of change, and
thereby: excludes delegation of nursing

care activities which require nursing

assessment/judgement by a licensed nurse

during the performance of the activity;

(4) the unlicensed care provider's knowledge

and skill;

(5) the variables in each service setting which

include but are not limited to;

(A) the complexity and frequency of nurs-

ing care needed by a given patient popu-
lation;

(B) the proximity of patients to staff;

(C) the number and qualifications of staff;

(D) the accessible resources; and
(E) established policies, procedures, prac-

tices, and channels of communication
which lend support to types of nursing

activities being delegated, or not delegated,

to unlicensed personnel.

Statutory Authority G.S.

(4) (5) (7): 90-17143(4).
90-l7I.20(b)(f)(g)

.0402 QUALIFICATIONS
(a) As of January 1, 1990, a service agency shall

not use any unlicensed individual, regardless of

title, who provides nursing care activities, as de-

fmed in .0404 of these rules, to patients/residents

for longer than the first four months following

initial hiring, who has not successfuUy completed

a Board of Nursing approved nurse aide training

and competency evaluation program or a board

approved competency evaluation program, un-

less the facility has inquired of the Board of

Nursing as to information in the Nurse Aide

Registry' concerning the individual and has con-

firmed with the Board of Nursing that the indi-

vidual is listed on the Nurse Aide Registry.

(b) As of the date that these rules are effective,

service agencies shall not use for longer than one
month, any unlicensed individual at the Nurse

Aide Level II, who has not successfully com-
pleted a Board of Nursing approved Level II

nurse aide training and competency evaluation

program, unless the facility has inquired of the

Board of Nursing as to information in the Nurse

Aide Registry' concerning the individual and

confirms with the Board of Nursing that the in-

dividual is listed on the Nurse Aide Registry as a

Nurse Aide, Level II.

Statutory Authority G.S. 90-171 .20(b){f)(g)

(4)(5)(7); 90-17143(4).

.0403 REGISTR.ATION

(a) As of the date that these rules are effective,

the Board of Nursing shall maintain a list of

nurse aides who are qualified in accordance with

the requirements of .0402 of these rules in the

Nurse Aide Registry.

(b) All nurse aides, regardless of working titles,

employed or assigned in a service agency for the

purpose of providing nursing care activities, upon
successful completion of a nurse aide training and
competency evaluation program or a nurse aide

competency evaluation program shall submit an
application to the Board of Nursing for place-

ment on the Nurse Aide Registry.

(c) A nurse aide that has completed, before

July 1, 1989, a nurse aide training and compe-
tency evaluation program, shall successfully

complete a board-approved competency evalu-

ation program and shall submit an application to

the Board of Nursing for placement on the Nurse
Aide Registry.

(d) Each nurse aide shall renew his/her regis-

tration on a biennial basis on forms provided by
the board.

(e) ."Vny nurse aide who has had a continuous

period of 24 months during which no nursing

care activities were performed for monetary
compensation, shall successfully complete a new
training and competency evaluation program and
submit an application for the Nurse Aide Regis-

try.

(f) The state agency responsible for surveys,

licensure, and certification of facilities and any
other agency responsible for investigation com-
plaints related to nurse aides, shall notify the

Board of Nursing, following a timely review and
investigation of allegations of patient/resident

neglect and abuse and misappropriation of resi-

dent property, if the agency determines that the

nurse aide has neglected or abused a

patient/resident or misappropriated resident

property within 10 business days of such deter-

mination;

The investigating agency's findings indi-

cating a nurse aide has neglected or

abused a patient/resident or misappropri-

ated resident property shall be available to

the public upon inquiry' to the Nurse Aide

Registry. Any information disclosed

concerning such a fmding shall include

disclosure of the fmdings and if the indi-

vidual has disputed the fmdings.

Statutory Authority G.S.

(4)(5)(7): 90-17143(4).

90-17 1.20(b) (f)(g)

.0404 APPROVAL OF NURSE AIDE
EDUCATION PROGRAMS
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(a) The North Carolina Board of Nursing shall

approve nurse aide training and competency
evaluation programs and nurse aide competency
evaluation programs which prepare two levels of

nurse aides:

(1) Nurse aide training and competency eval-

uation programs and nurse aide compe-
tency evaluation programs may be offered

by an individual, agency, or educational

institution once the program is approved

by the board:

(A) Each entity desiring to offer a nurse

aide training and competency evaluation

program or competency evaluation pro-

gram shall submit the program for ap-

proval at least 60 days prior to offering the

program.

(B) Nurse aide training and competency
evaluation programs and competency
evaluation programs shall be submitted

for reapproval when the program is

changed substantially, or at least every

two years.

(C) The Board of Nursing representatives

may survey nurse aide training and com-
petency evaluation programs, competency
evaluation programs, and associated clin-

ical ser\'ice agencies to determine the pro-

gram's compliance with the requirements

of the board.

(D) The Board of Nursing may approve a

nurse aide training and competency eval-

uation program or nurse aide competency
evaluation program which is approved by
another state agency, if the Board of

Nursing has reviewed the state agency's

process and criteria of approval of nurse

aide education programs and determines

the process and criteria ensure that the

Board of Nursing's requirements are met.

(2) The board shall identify and publish the

minimum course content, minimum
hours of instruction (not less than 75

hours), and retraining requirements for

Level I and Level II nurse aides education

programs on an annual basis.

(3) Each Nurse Aide Level I course must in-

clude:

(A) Basic nursing skills;

(B) Personal care skills;

(C) Recognition of mental health and social

service needs;

(D) Basic restorative services;

(E) Resident's rights;

(F) Body mechanics;

(G) Nutrition;

(H) Elimination;

(I) Safety;

(J) Communication and documentation;

(K) Special procedures;

(L) Roles of members of the Health Care
Team.

(4) Each Nurse .\ide Level II course must
include content identified as appropriate

for the Level II Nurse Aides by the Board
of Nursing.

(5) Each competency evaluation program
shall include content to verify the know-
ledge and skills of the nurse aide who
successfully completes the course as being

comparable for the appropriate level of
nurse aide.

(6) The board shall identify and publish min-
imum competencies and qualifications for

faculty on an annual basis for Nurse Aide,

I^vel I and Level II Training and Com-
petency Evaluation Programs and Com-
p)etency Evaluation Programs.

(7) Each Nurse Aide Training and Compe-
tency Program and each Competency
Evaluation Program shall fde with the

board such records, data, and reports as

may be required in order to furnish infor-

mation concerning operation of the pro-

gram as required by the board and
concerning any individual who success-

fully completes the program.

(8) When an approved nurse aide training and
competency evaluation program or a

competency evaluation program closes,

the board shall be notified in writing.

(9) Nursing students currently enrolled in

Board of Nursing approved nursing pro-

grams desiring registration as a nurse aide

shall submit:

(A) An application, and
(B) Verification form completed by the

nursing program director indicating suc-

cessful completion of course work equiv-

alent in content and clinical hours as

required for a nurse aide.

Statutorv Authority G.S.

(4)(5)(7); 90-171.43(4).

90-l71.20(b)(f)(g)
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LJport request from the adopting agency, the

text of rules will be published in this section.

W hen the text of any adopted rule is iden-

tical to the text of that as proposed, adoption

of the rule will be noted in the "List of Rules

Affected" and the text of the adopted rule

will not be republished.

/i. dopted rules filed by the Departments of
Correction. Re\enue and Transportation are

published in this section. These departments

are not subject to the provisions ofG.S. J508,

Article 2 requiring publication of proposed

rules.

TITLE 17 DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

CHAPTER 6 - INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX
DIVISION

SUBCHAPTER 6B - INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX

SECTION .0300 - PERSONAL EXEMPTION

.0301 GENERAL
G.S. 105-149 provides the personal exemptions

for individuals.

History \ote: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149: 105-262;

Eff February I, 1976:

Amended Eff. November 1 , 19S8:

April 19, 1 98 1.

.0302 ONE THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED
DOLLAR PERSONAL EXEMPTION

Each individual (with the exception of one who
moves into or out of North Carolina, or who
resides outside of North Carolina and derives

only a portion of his income in North Carolina)

is entitled to at least a one thousand one hundred

dollar ($1,100) personal exemption.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- i49: 105-262:

Eff February 1, 1976:

Amended Eff. November 1 , I9S8.

.0303 TWO THOUSAND TWO HUNDRED
DOLLAR PERSONAL EXEMPTION

(a) An individual may claim only one two
thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) basic

personal exemption even though he may meet
more than one set of qualifications.

(b) In the case of a married couple living to-

gether on the last day of the year the spouse with

the larger adjusted gross income is allowed a two
thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) ex-

emption and the other spouse a one thousand
one hundred dollars ($1,100) exemption. By
agreement the spouse with the smaller adjusted

gross income may claim the two thousand two
hundred dollars ($2,200) exemption if the other

spouse files a return and claims only one thou-

sand one hundred dollars ($1,100). If one spouse
dies during a taxable year, the spouse with the

larger adjusted gross income for that year will be
allowed two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption except that if a return claim-

ing one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100)

exemption is filed for the spouse with the larger

adjusted gross income, the other spouse may
claim the two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption.

The exemption of the two spouses may not be
combined and neither spouse may claim a de-

pendency exemption for the other spouse.

A married individual who is otherwise entitled

to claim two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption will not be denied such ex-

emption because of temporary separation of the

two spouses for such reasons as military service,

fmancial reasons, or other expediencies.

A common law marriage is not recognized in

North Carolina for income tax purposes; there-

fore, a man and woman living together as com-
mon law husband and wife are not entitled to the

two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) ex-

emption allowed to a married couple, except

when a man and woman move into this state

from a state which recognized their common law

marriage and who continue to live together as

common law man and wife after becoming North
Carolina residents.

(c) To qualify for her two thousand two hun-
dred dollars ($2,200) widow's exemption, the

widow is not required to have custody of the

child nor to provide support for the child. If

support is provided for the child and if the child

qualifies as a dependent by meeting the require-

ments of 17 NCAC 6B .0308, the widow may
claim the dependency exemption in addition to

the widow's two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption. When a widow's child is

under 18 years of age at the beginning of the year

but is over 18 on the last day of the year the

widow's two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption may not be claimed even

though the child's birthday is in the last half of

the year. The widow may, however, be entitled

to the two thousand tw'o hundred dollars

($2,200) head of household exemption if the re-
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quirements of Subdivision (f) of this Rule are

met for the major part of the year.

(d) A widower having a minor child has the

same exemption as a widow.
(e) A divorced individual having sole custody

of his or her minor child (a child under 18 years

of age) may claim the two thousand two hundred

dollars ($2,200) personal exemption provided the

divorced individual does not receive any alimony

payments for the support of herself or himself

and does not receive any support payments for

the child or children. If the divorced individual's

two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) ex-

emption is denied because of the receipt of either

alimony or child support payments, the divorced

individual may still qualify for the two thousand

two hundred dollars ($2,200) head of household
exemption if the requirements of Subdivision (f)

of this Rule are met.

An individual does not have to be legally di-

vorced to be considered a divorced individual for

income tax exemption purposes. Estranged

couples separated with the intent to remain sep-

arate and apart are considered for personal ex-

emption purposes to be divorced individuals.

(f) A personal exemption of two thousand two
hundred dollars ($2,200) as head of household
exemption may be claimed by a single individual,

a widow, a widower, or a divorced individual

who maintains a household which constitutes the

principal place of abode for himself, herself, or

his or her closely related dependent provided the

following conditions are met:

(1) The individual must have provided more
than half the cost of maintaining the

household for the year.

(2) The household must have been the prin-

cipal place of abode for the individual or

his or her closely related dependent for

183 days or more during the year.

(3) The household must have been a place of

abode having those facilities normally re-

quired for both eating and sleeping.

The closely related dependent must be one of

those individuals listed at 17 NCAC 6B
.0308(a)(3)(A) for whom a eight hundred dollars

($800.00) dependency exemption is allowable.

The cost of maintaining a household includes

the expenses incurred for the benefit of the oc-

cupant or for the mutual benefit of the occupants

thereof by reason of its operation as the principal

place of abode of the occupant or occupants for

the taxable year. These expenses include prop-

erty taxes, mortgage interest, rent, upkeep and
repairs, utility charges, domestic help, insurance

on the dwelling and premises, and food con-

sumed in the home.
The cost of maintaining a household does not

include the cost of clothing, education, medical

treatment, vacations, life insurance, transporta-

tion, rental value of the taxpayer's home or the

value of his service or those of a member of his

household.

Only one head of household exemption is al-

lowable with respect to any one household, and
no individual is entitled to more than one head
of household exemption. A head of household
exemption cannot be claimed based on a multi-

ple maintenance agreement.

When an individual marries during the year after

having qualified as a head of household for the

major portion of the year ( 1 83 days) and has the

smaller adjusted gross income of the married
couple, he or she is entitled to the two thousand
two hundred dollars ($2,200) head of household
exemption and the other spouse is entitled to the

two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) ex-

emption allowed for the spouse of the marriage
having the larger adjusted gross income. If the

spouse who qualified as the head of household
for the major portion of the year has the larger

adjusted gross income, that spouse is entitled

only to the two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) married person's exemption and if he
or she by agreement allows the other spouse to

claim the two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) married person's exemption, then the

spouse with the larger adjusted gross income is

entitled to only a one thousand one hundred
dollars ($1,100) personal exemption and is not
entitled to the two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) head of household exemption. When a

married individual dies before the major portion

of the year has passed and he or she has the larger

adjusted gross income of the married couple, he

or she is entitled to the two thousand two hun-
dred dollars ($2,200) married person's exemption
and the other spouse may be entitled to the two
thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) head of

household exemption provided the other spouse

maintained a household for 183 days or more
during the year after his or her spouse died. If

the surviving spouse who qualified as the head
of household for the major portion of the year

has the larger adjusted gross income, that spouse

is entitled only to the two thousand two hundred
dollars ($2,200) married person's exemption and
if he or she by agreement with the deceased

spouse's representative allows the deceased

spouse to claim the two thousand two hundred
dollars ($2,200) married person's exemption,

then the surviving spouse is entitled to only a one
thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) personal

exemption and is not entitled to the two thou-

sand two hundred dollars ($2,200) head of

household exemption.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.
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I05-I49(a)(2): I05-I49(a)(4); I05-I49(a)(7):

105- 149 (a) (2a): 105-135; 105-262:

Eff. February I, 1976:

Amended Eff. November 1 , 1988:

August I, 1986: May I, 1984: June 1, 1982.

.0304 BLIND PERSONS
(a) An individual who is totally blind or whose

visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better

eye with correcting lenses, or whose widest di-

ameter of visual field subtends an angle of no
greater than 20 degrees, is entitled to claim one
thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) personal

exemption in addition to any other allowable

exemption. The extra one thousand one hun-

dred dollars ($1,100) blind exemption appUes

only to the taxpayer and not to the spouse or any
dependent of the taxpayer.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-i49(a)(8): 105-262:

Eff. February I. 1976:

Amended Eff. November 1, 19SS:

February 21. 1979.

.0305 INDI\ IDLALS AGE 65 OR OVER
An individual who has reached the age of 65

years on or before the last day of his taxable year

is entitled to claim one thousand one hundred
dollars ($1,100) personal exemption in addition

to all other allowable exemptions. This addi-

tional one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100)

personal exemption apphes only to the taxpayer

and not to a spouse or any dependent of the

taxpayer.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- 149(a) (9): 105-262:

Eff February I. 1976:

Amended Eff November I. 1988.

.0306 SEVERELY RETARDED DEPENDENT
A parent or guardian who provides over half the

support during the year for a person with an in-

telhgence quotient (I.Q.) below 40 may claim an

additional two thousand two hundred dollars

($2,200) exemption. In order to qualify for this

additional exemption there must be attached to

the income tax return a statement signed by a li-

censed physician, psychologist, or psychological

examiner verifying that the dependent's intelli-

gence quotient is below 40.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- /49(a) (W): 105-262:

Eff February I. 1976:

Amended Eff November /, 1988:

February 4, 1978.

.0307 HEMOPHILIACS
A taxpayer who is a hemophiliac wLU be allowed

an additional one thousand one hundred dollars

($1,100) exemption for himself and a taxpayer

will be allowed an additional one thousand one
hundred dollars ($1,100) exemption for each de-

pendent who is a hemophiliac. Eligible

hemophiliacs must submit a certificate from a

physician or county health department to the di-

vision of health services of the North Carolina

Department of Human Resources certifying that

their condition meets the criteria set out in G.S.
105- 149(a) and must attach a supporting state-

ment to the North Carolina income tax return

verifying that such certificate has been obtained

and submitted. This exemption may be claimed
for a certified spouse who meets the requirements

for a dependent even though a dependency ex-

emption may not be claimed.

Historv Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(a)(8a): 105-262:

Eff February 1, 1976:

Amended Eff November 1, 1988:

April 19, 1981.

.0308 EXEMPTION FOR DEPENDENTS
(a) In addition to the basic exemption of one

thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) or two
thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) an ex-

emption of eight hundred doOars ($800.00) may
be claimed for each qualified dependent. To
claim an Lndi\ idual as a dependent the following

three tests must be met:

(1) Over one-half the support for the year must
be furnished by the taxpayer.

(2) The gross income of the individual claimed

must be less than one thousand dollars

($1,000) during the year (except a child

or stepchild of the taxpayer who was a

full-time student or under 19 years of age).

(3) The individual must fall within one of the

following classes:

(A) related to the taxpayer as follows: son,

daughter, stepchild, mother, father,

grandparent, brother, sister, grandchild,

stepbrother, stepsister, stepmother,

stepfather, mother-in-law, father-in-law,

brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law,

daughter-in-law, and the following if re-

lated by blood: aunt, uncle, nephew,

niece;

(B) a member of the same household who
was related to the taxpayer by blood, af-

finity or adoption, the taxpayer's foster

child, or an individual of whom the tax-

payer had legal custody during the taxable

year;
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(C) a former member of the same household

as the taxpayer who otherwise qualifies as

a dependent who for the taxable year re-

ceives institutional care required by reason

of a physical or mental disability.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

I05-/49(aJ(5); 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. November I, 1988;

Mav I, 1984; April 19, 1981;

February 4, 1978.

.0309 DEPENDENT IN INSTITUTION
OF HIGHER LEARNING

An exemption of six hundred sixty doUars

($660.00) in addition to all other exemptions is

allowed for a dependent who is a full-time stu-

dent at an accredited college or university or

other institution of higher learning. For this

purpose, a full-time student means a dependent

enroUed for full-time study on the last day of the

income year or enrolled for full-time study for a

period of at least five months (whether or not

consecutive) during the income year. Depen-
dents for this purpose are individuals listed in 17

NCAC 6B .0308(a)(3). Attendance as a full-time

student at one of the following institutions, for

purposes other than to secure a high school di-

ploma, will meet the requirements for claiming

the additional six hundred sixty dollars ($660.00)

exemption:

(1) any accredited four-year or two-year college

or university,

a technical institute,

a business college,

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

a beauty school,

a barber college,

a nurses school

program).

The additional six

(including a nondegree

hundred sixty dollars

($660.00) exemption may not be claimed by a

taxpayer for himself or herself. Neither a hus-

band or wife may claim the additional six hun-
dred sixty dollars ($660.00) by reason of the other

spouse being cnroDed fuU-time in an institution

of higher learning.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

I05-I49(a}(5); 105-262;

Eff February I. 1976;

Amended Eff November 1 , 1988;

April 19, 1981.

.0310 DECEASED OR INCOMPETENT
INDIVIDUALS

A fiduciary filing a return for an individual who
has died during the year may claim the same
basic one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100)

or two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200)

personal exemption to which the taxpayer would
have otherwise been entitled plus any applicable

allowance for dependents.

A fiduciary filing a return for an incompetent

individual may claim the same exemption to

which the individual would otherwise be entitled.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- 149(a) (6); 105-262;

Eff February f 1976;

Amended Eff. November I, 1988.

.0312 OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
The status on the last day of the income year

determines the right of the individual to the ex-

emption with the foUowing exceptions:

(1) An individual is entitled to the exemptions
for a husband, wife or dependents who died

during the year.

(2) j\n individual who shall have been divorced

or separated or who shall have ceased to be

head of household during the income year

may claim the same exemption to which he

or she would have been entitled if the change

had not occurred, provided the status re-

mained unchanged for the major portion of

the income year.

Note: A married individual entitled to claim a

two thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200) ex-

emption who separated from his or her spouse

after the major portion of the year had passed

may for that year claim a two thousand two
hundred dollars ($2,200) exemption although for

the next year the exemption may be one thou-

sand one hundred dollars ($1,100). In this case,

the individual with the larger adjusted gross in-

come for the taxable year will be entitled to two
thousand two hundred dollars ($2,200). An in-

dividual making such a claim must be able to

submit factual information that his or her income
was the larger.

The last day of the income year for an in-

dividual who has died is the date of death;

therefore, the major portion of the income
year for a deceased individual who was di-

vorced or was a head of household is the

major portion of the period from the first

day of the income year to the date of death.

(3) A ta.xpayer shall be entitled to claim an ex-

emption for an indi\idual who qualified as

a dependent during the year even though on
the last day of the year the status was not

such as to meet the dependency require-

ments, provided that the support furnished

constituted over half of his or her support

for the year.
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A child bom alive at any time during the

year may be claimed as a dependent even

though such child lived only a short time.

A still-bom child cannot be claimed as a

dependent.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- 149(c): 105-262:

Eff. February I. 1976:

Amended Eff. November I, I9S8:

May I. I9S4: March II, 1978.

.0313 DEAF INDIVIDLALS
An individual who has a loss of hearing in the

speech frequencies (500 to 2000 Hertz) in the

better ear that averages 86 decibels (I.S.O.) or

more is entitled to claim an additional exemption

of one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100).

The additional exemption applies only to the

taxpayer and not to the spouse or a dependent.

A supporting statement from a physician must
be attached to the return.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(a)(8b): 105-262:

Eff February 11. 1978:

Amended Eff November 1 , 1988.

.0314 RENAL DISE.VSE

A taxpayer who suffers from chronic irreversible

renal disease and whose condition requires the

use of dialysis is entitled to an additional one
thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100) ex-

emption and a taxpayer is entitled to an addi-

tional one thousand one hundred dollars ($1,100)

for each dependent with such disease. EUgible

individuals must submit a certificate from a phy-

sician or county health department to the Divi-

sion of Health Ser\ices of the North Carohna
Department of Human Resources certilVing that

their condition meets the criteria set out in G.S.

105- 149(a) and must attach a supporting state-

ment to the return verifying that such certificate

has been submitted. This exemption may be

claimed for a qualified spouse who meets the re-

quirements for a dependent even though a de-

pendency exemption may not be claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-I49(a)(8c): 105-262:

Eff February 11, 1978:

Amended Eff. November 1 , 1988:

April 19, 1981.

.0315 PARAPLEGICS
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent who is a

paraplegic or who is disabled to the extent that

he must use a wheelchair to move about and to

function effectively or who is a double-leg

amputee above the ankle. This exemption may
be claimed for a qualified spouse who meets the

requirements for a dependent even though a de-

pendency exemption may not be claimed. A
supporting statement from a physician must be
attached to the return.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(a)(8d): 105-262:

Eff April 19, 1981:

Amended Eff November 1, 1988;

February 1, 1988.

.0316 CYSTIC FIBROSIS
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent who has
cystic fibrosis. To qualify for the exemption, el-

igible individuals must submit with their income
tax return a certificate from the Division of

Health Services of the North Carolina Depart-

ment of Human Resources. This exemption
may be claimed for a qualified spouse who meets
the requirements for a dependent even though a

dependency exemption may not be claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(aj (8eJ: 105-262:

Eff August 1, 1986:

Amended Eff. November 1 , 1988.

.0317 SPINA BIFIDA
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent who has

spina bifida, an open neural tube defect. To
qualify for the exemption, eligible individuals

must submit with their income tax return a cer-

tificate from the Division of Health Services of

the North Carolina Department of Human Re-
sources. This exemption may be claimed for

qualified spouse who meets the requirements for

a dependent even though a dependency ex-

emption may not be claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105- 149(a) (8f): 105-262:

Eff August I, 1986:

Amended Eff November 1, 1988.

.0318 MLLTIPLE SCLEROSIS
.\n additional one thousand one hundred dollar

($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the tax-

payer or the taxpayer's dependent who has mul-

tiple sclerosis. To qualify for the exemption,

eligible indi\iduals must submit with their in-

come tax retum a supporting statement from a
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physician or county health department. This

exemption may be claimed for a qualified spouse

who meets the requirements for a dependent even

though a dependency exemption may not be

claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

IOS-l49(a)(Sg); 105-262;

Eff. August I, 1986;

Amended Eff. November 1 , 1988.

.0319 SEVERE HEAD INJLRY
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer's dependent who is in either (1) a

vegetative state or (2) a severely disabled condi-

tion as assessed by the Glasgow Outcome Scale.

To qualify for the exemption, a supporting

statement from a physician must be attached to

the income tax return verifying that the depend-

ent has one of these conditions. This exemption
may be claimed for a qualified spouse who meets

the requirements for a dependent even though a

dependency exemption may not be claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

I05-I49(a)(8h); 105-262;

Eff August I, 1986;

Amended Eff November I, 1988.

.0320 MLSCLLAR DYSTROPHY
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent who has

multiple sclerosis. To qualify for the exemption,

ehgibie individuals must submit with their in-

come tax return a supporting statement from the

physician or county health department. This

exemption may be claimed for a qualified spouse

who meets the requirements for a dependent even

though a dependency exemption may not be
claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(a); 105-262;

Eff November I, 1988.

.0321 ORGAN AND TISSUE TRANSPLANTS
An additional one thousand one hundred dol-

lars ($1,100) exemption may be claimed for the

taxpayer or the taxpayer's dependent who is re-

quired to take immunosuppressant drugs for the

remainder of their lives because of an organ or

tissue transplant. To qualify for the exemption,
a supporting statement from a physician or

county health department must be attached to

the income tax return certifying that the taxpayer

or his dependent is the recipient of an organ or

tissue transplant and is required to take

immunosuppressant drugs for the remainder of

his life to suppress rejection of a transplanted

organ or tissue. This exemption may be claimed

for a qualified spouse who meets the require-

ments for a dependent even though a dependency
exemption may not be claimed.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-149(a); 105-262;

Eff November 1, 1988.

SECTION .0400 - ANNUITIES AND PENSIONS

.0408 FEDERAL EMPLOYEES PENSIONS
(a) For taxable years beginning on or after

January 1, 1989, in the case of a pension received

under a federal employee retirement program to

which an employee made contributions during

his working years, the recipient of the pension
payments is allowed to exclude four thousand
dollars ($4,000) each year. If the employee will

recover his cost within three years, he is allowed

to recover his cost tax free and after recovery of

cost, four thousand dollars ($4,000) of the

amount received each year is exempt. If the

employee will not recover his cost within three

years, he is allowed to exclude an amount as cost

recovery each year under the general rule stated

at 17 NCAC 6B .0402 and also four thousand
dollars ($4,000) of the excess over the cost re-

covery portion received each year. The four

thousand dollar ($4,000) exclusion applies to aO

benefit payments, both disability and regular, af-

ter the taxpayer has recovered his cost. State law
does not exclude a portion of the payment be-

cause of permanent and total disability.

When there is an increase in the amount of the

benefits paid on a federal employee's pension, the

amount previously determined as the annual ex-

clusion is not changed. The increased benefit

increases the reportable income each year from
the pension.

(b) Each beneficiary receiving a portion of a

deceased federal employee's pension is allowed

to exclude up to four thousand dollars ($4,000)

of the amount received from the pension each

year.

A retired serviceman may exclude four thousand

dollars ($4,000) each year of the retired or

retainer pay received as a result of service in any
of the armed forces of the United States. Since

armed forces retirement pay is not payable to a

survivor or beneficiar>' there is no application of

the four thousand dollar ($4,000) exclusion to

them.

(c) All amounts received under a retired

serviceman's family protection plan may be ex-

cluded from gross income until the amount ex-

cluded equals any amount of the consideration
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for the contract which the retired serviceman has

not previously recovered by exclusion from state

income taxation under G.S. 105-141(b)(20).

In addition there may be excluded any amount
treated as additional consideration paid by the

employee under G.S. 105-141(b)(l 1).

(d) The consideration for the contract which

may be excluded under G.S. 105-141(b)(20j by
the retired serviceman, or under G.S. 105-141. l(i)

by the beneficiaPv' or beneficiaries, is the total of

the reduction in the retired or retainer pay of the

retired ser\iccman used to provide the annuity

plus an\' amounts deposited by the ser\'iceman

with the U.S. Treasury pursuant to the annuity

or to his election to receive veterans benefits in

lieu of some or all of his retirement pay.

(e) If an indi\idual receives separate retirement

payments as a retired federal employee and as a

retired ser\'iceman he is entitled to separate ex-

clusions up to four thousand dollars ($4,000)

each.

WTien an individual who is receiving payments
subject to a four thousand doUar ($4,000) exclu-

sion moves into or out of North Carolina during

the year, the exclusion for that year must be

prorated according to the number of reportable

monthly payments for the year which are re-

portable to North Carolina. A retired federal

civil service worker who moves into North

Carolina during a year when he is recovering his

cost under the three year rule makes the pro-

ration on the basis of the number of months in

which payments are received after he has recov-

ered his costs. (See also Exempt Income.)

History Sole: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-141.1; 105-141(b)(14);

105-141(b)(18): 105-141 {b)(20); 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff. November I, 19SS;

June 1, 19,82; .March 22, 1981;

February 11, 1978.

SECTION .0600 - OLT-OF-ST.\TE INCOME
AND TAX CREDITS

.0602 RESIDENTS
(a) G.S. 105-135(13) defmes residents for any

income year as "individuals who, at any time

during such income year, are domiciled in this

state, or who, whether regarding their domicile

as in tliis state or not, reside within this state for

other than a temporary or transitory purpose."

Domicile has been defined as the place where an
individual has a true, fixed, permanent home and
principal establishment, and to which place,

whene\'er he is absent, he has the intention of

returning. There are other definitions of

domicile, and this definition is presented solely

for use as a guide in determining residency.

In many cases, a determination must be made
as to when or whether a domicile has been
abandoned. A long standing principle in tax ad-

ministration, repeatedly upheld by the courts, is

that a man can have but one domicile; and, once
established, it is not legally abandoned until a

new one is established. A taxpayer may have
several places of abode in a year, but at no time
can an individual have more than one domicile.

A mere intent or desire to make a change in

domicile is not enough; voluntary and positive

action must be taken.

(h) In the United States the taxable situs of
intangible property, such as bank deposits,

stocks, bonds, etc., is usually considered to be the

residence of the owner if the owner is an indi-

\idual. Intangible property used in a trade or

business would acquire a taxable situs at the lo-

cation of the business. The physical location of
the bank, the corporation, the stock certificates,

etc., does not determine taxing jurisdiction over
the intangible property or income derived there-

from. North Carolina taxes a resident on income
he derives from any intangible property which
he owns and does not allow credit for tax paid

to another state thereon.

Some foreign countries, however, tax any in-

come or property over which they exercise con-

trol. In some cases they may levy and collect an
income tax on dividends, interest, etc., when
these items are paid. A North Carolina resident

who receives dividends or similar payments from
sources within foreign countries from which in-

come tax has been withheld may be entitled to a

tax credit.

History Note: Statutory .iuthoritv G.S.

105-135(13); 105-141(a); 105-147(9);
105- 149(b); 105-151; 105-262;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff November 1, 1988;

August 1, 1986; May 1, 1984;

June 1, 1982.

.0603 NONRESIDENTS
(b) A nonresident individual is required to re-

port to North Carolina all income which is at-

tributable to the ovs'nership of any interest in real

or tangible personal property in this state or

which is from a business, trade or profession, or

occupation carried on in this state. No tax credit

is allowed by North Carolina to a nonresident for

tax paid to another state or country. For indi-

vidual income tax purposes, the term "business

carried on in this state" means the operation of

any activity within North Carolina regularly,

continuously, and systematically for the purpose
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of income or profit. A sporadic activity, a

hobby, or an amusement diversion does not

come within the defmition of a business carried

on in this state. Income from an intangible

source which is received in the course of a busi-

ness operation in this state so as to have a taxable

situs here (including such income which is in-

cluded in the distributive share of partnership in-

come, whether distributed or not) is taxable to

nonresidents.

A nonresident may claim a deduction on his

North Carolina income tax return for business

expenses paid in connection with the earning of

income in North Carolina. Also, a nonresident

may claim itemized nonbusiness deductions or

the standard deduction on the basis that his

North Carolina adjusted gross income relates to

his total adjusted gross income, provided the

nonresident's state of residence allows similar

apportionment to North Carolina residents.

Residents of states not having an income tax will

be allowed itemized nonbusiness deductions on
their North Carolina income tax return. From
information available, residents of the other 49

states and the District of Columbia would be al-

lowed apportioned nonbusiness deductions or

the standard deduction when filing a North
Carolina tax return.

G.S. 105-142(c) provides that if an established

business in North Carolina is owned by a non-
resident individual or by a partnership having one
or more nonresident members and if the business

is operating in one or more other states, the net

income of the business attributable to North
Carolina for the purpose of computing the North
Carolina income tax liability of the nonresident

individual or nonresident partner must be deter-

mined by multiplying the total net income of the

business by the allocation ratio ascertained under

the provisions of G.S. 105-130.4. (I'his allo-

cation of income does not effect the reporting of

income by the resident individual or resident

partner because he is taxable on his share of the

net income of the business whether or not any
portion of it is attributable to another state or

country.)

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-130.4; 105-134; 105-135(13);

105-I42(c); 105-147(18); 105-151;

105-262;

Eff. Febr-uary I, 1976;

Amended Eff. November I, 198S;

August I. 1986; May 1, 1984;

June 1, 1982.

SECTION .1700 - EXEMPT INCOME

.1750 FOSIER PARENTS REIMBURSEMENT

Payments to a foster parent by a child-placing

agency are not taxable income provided the pay-

ments received do not exceed the expenses in-

curred for taking care of the child in your home.
If the individual's expenses exceed the pay-

ments, a deduction for a charitable contribution

may be claimed for the excess expenses, provided

the participating organization on behalf of which
the expenses are incurred is a qualified organiza-

tion to which contributions are otherwise
deductible for income tax purposes.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-141 (a); 105-262;

Eff August 1, 1986;

Amended Eff November 1, 1988.

SECTION .2700 - INTEREST DEDUCTION

.2704 HUSBAND AND WIFE
When nonbusiness property is jointly owned by
husband and wife or is owned by them as a

tenancy by the entirety the spouse actually pay-

ing the interest may claim the deduction.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-/47(5); 105-262;

Eff February I, 1976;

Amended Eff November 1, 1988.

SECTION .2800 - TAXES PAID

.2803 WHO MAY CLAIM THE DEDUCTION
A taxpayer may deduct only those taxes im-

posed upon him or her.

Note: Real estate taxes are deductible only

by the owner of the property. When non-
business property is jointly owned by hus-

band and wife or is owned by them as a

tenancy by the entirety, taxes attributable to

the property are deductible by the spouse

actually paying the taxes.

Tenant-shareholders in a cooperative housing,

condominium, or apartment corporation may
deduct amounts paid to the corporation repres-

enting their proportionate share of the real estate

taxes the corporation paid or incurred on the

property. If the corporation leases the land and
buildings and is required to pay the real estate

taxes under the terms of the lease agreement, the

shareholder's portion of such taxes is not

deductible.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-147(6); 105-262;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Ejf. November 1, 1988.

SECTION .3000 - CONTRIBUTIONS
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.3007 NONDEDUCTIBLE CONTRIBUTIONS
Some contributions which are not deductible

axe as follows:

(1) gifts to relatives, friends, or other individ-

uals;

(2) donations to propaganda organizations;

(3) contributions to civic leagues and social

clubs;

(4) contributions to labor unions;

(5) contributions to chambers of commerce;

(6) payments to a hospital for the care of a

particular patient;

(7) payment of tuition earmarked for a specific

individual or for specific individuals;

(8) blood donated to the Red Cross or other

blood banks;

(9) the value of the use of property by a char-

itable organization;

(10) dues to Y.M.C.A. or other organizations

for which personal benefits are received;

(11) contributions (an estimated amount)
based on a certain percentage of income;

(12) that portion of the fair market value of

property allowed as a tax credit for contrib-

uting property for certain public purposes

(See Tax Credits);

(13) contributions to the United States Gov-
ernment or any other state or its

instrumentalities or its political subdivisions

are not deductible.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-147(15); 105-147(16); 105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988;

April 5, 1 981.

SECTION .3500 - PARTNERSHIPS

.3525 TEN.4NCY BY THE ENTIRETY
(b) For taxable years beginning on and after

January 1, 1983, there cannot be a valid partner-

ship in respect to the income or loss from prop-

erty owned as tenants by the entirety unless the

property is actually transferred to a partnership

so that it is no longer owned as tenants by the

entirety. The law specifically provides how the

income or loss from property owned as tenants

by the entirety shall be reported for State Income
Tax purposes. (See Tenancy By the Entirety.)

If there is a valid partnership agreement and the

property is transferred so that it is no longer

owned as entireties' property but is owned by a

partnership, the partnership income must be re-

ported as pro\ided by the partnership agreement

and a partnership return would be required to be

filed.

History Note: Statutoiy Authority G.S.

105- 142(c); 105- 152(a) (3); 105- 154(b);

105-262;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff November I, 1988;

May 1, 1984.

SECTION .3800 - MISCELLANEOUS RULES

.3802 DEDUCTIONS
(g) When a taxpayer uses a portion of his home

regularly and exclusively either as his principal

place of business; or as a place of business that

is used by patients, clients, or customers in

meeting and dealing with him in the normal
course of his trade or business, he may deduct a

pro rata portion of the operating and depreci-

ation expense. In determining whether or not
the expenses are allowable deductions, the de-

partment follows those federal rules and regu-

lations in effect during the income year, except

that North Carolina has no provision for reduc-

ing such expenses by two percent of adjusted

gross income as required for federal tax purposes,

or for Limiting the home office expense deduction

to the amount of gross income from the business.

For state tax purposes, the entire home office

expense is deductible in the year of payment
without any carryover as allowed for federal tax

purposes.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-147(1);I05-147(2);

105-147(7); 105-I47(9)a;105-I47( 10);
105-147(24); 105-147(28); 105-148(1);

105-148(2); 105-/48(8); 105-262;

Eff Februan' 1, 1976;

Amended Eff November 1, 1988;

February 1, 1988; April I, 1987;

February 1, 1987.

.3803 OTHER ITEMS
(1) When an individual checks "Yes" to the

question, "Do you want $1.00 to go to this fund

(North Carolina Pohtical Parties Financing

Fund):" on his tax return, the total funds desig-

nated will be distributed to political parties in

North Carolina on a pro rata basis according to

voter registrations. Checking "Yes" will neither

increase his tax nor reduce his refund.

(r) Effective for income tax years beginning on
or after January' 1, 1988, an mdividual may elect

to contribute all or any portion of his income tax

refund, at least one doOar ($1.00) or more, to the

North Carolina Candidates Financing Fund.

Once the election is made to contribute, the

election cannot be revoked after the return has

been filed.

The amount contributed may be claimed as a

contribution on the following years income tax
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return provided the individual itemizes his non-

business deductions.

The contributions will be used in the political

campaigns of certified candidates for the North

Carolina Council of State.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

8-45.3: I05-I42(a): I05-I44(a);

105-144.3; I05-I47(l)h; I05-I47(9)a;

105-147(17); 105-147(19); 105-148(1);

105-159. 1; 105-163. 16(c); 105-163. 16(e);

105-251; 105-262; 147-77;

Eff. February I, 1976;

Amended Eff. November 1 , 1988;

February I, 1988; February I. 1987;

August I, 1986.

SUBCHAPTER 6C - WITHHOLDING

SECTION .0100 - WITHHOLDING INCOME
TAXES

.0110 COMMON CARRIERS
Under the provisions of Federal Public L^w

91-569, withholding of state income tax from
wages of employees who cross state lines in the

operation of interstate commerce common carri-

ers or on private motor vehicle carriers of prop-

erty or as roadway maintenance employees of

railroads is restricted to only one state, usually

the state of residence of the employees; however,

if the employee earns more than 50 percent of

his wages in a nonresident state, tax may only be

withheld for the nonresident state. The 50 per-

cent factor is determined by mileage in the case

of railroad and motor vehicle operating persormel

and by time worked or scheduled flight time for

employees of other common carriers. With-

holding for the nonresident state will apply only

if the employer's payroll records for the preceding

year show that the employee earned more than

50 percent of his total compensation in the non-

resident state.

Under the Federal Aviation Act (49

USCS-1512), a nonresident airline employee
rendering services on an aircraft would not be li-

able for North Carolina income tax unless his

scheduled flight time in North Carolina is more
than 50 percent of his total scheduled flight time

during the calendar year. If the employee's flight

logs show that more than 50 percent of the

scheduled flight time is in North Carolina, the

amount of income reportable to this state would
be based on the percentage that his North
Carolina flight time is to his total flight time for

the year.

Hi.Uory Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

105-163.2; 105-163.18; 105-262;

49 U.S.C. Sec. 26; 49 U.S.C. Sec. 30/A;

49 U.S.C. Sec. 923;

49 U.S.C. Sec. 1512;

Eff February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff November I, 1988.

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF STATE
TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 2 - DIVISION OF HIGHWAYS

SUBCHAPTER 2E - MISCELLANEOUS
OPERATIONS

SECTION .0200 - OUTDOOR ADVERTISING

.0203 OUTDOOR ADVERTISING ON
INTERSTATE AND FEDERAL AID
HWYS.

The following standards shall apply to the

erection and maintenance of outdoor advertising

signs in all zoned and unzoned commercial and
industrial areas located within 660 feet of the

nearest edge of the right of way of interstate and
tederal-aid primary highways. The standards

shall not apply to those signs enumerated in G.S.
136- 129(1), (2), and (3), which are directional and
other official signs and notices, signs advertising

the sale or lease of property upon which they are

located, and signs which advertise activities con-

ducted on the property upon which they are lo-

cated:

(1) Size of Signs:

(a) The maximum area for any one sign shall

be 1,200 square feet with a maximum
height of 30 feet and maximum length of

60 feet, inclusive of any border and trim

but excluding the base or apron, supports,

and other structural members.
(b) The area shall be measured by the smallest

square rectangle, triangle, circle, or com-
bination thereof which will encompass the

entire sign.

(c) The maximum size limitations shall apply

to each side of a sign structure; the signs

may be placed back-to-back, side-by-side,

or in V-type construction with not more
than two displays to each facing, and such

sign structure shall be considered as one
sign.

(d) Side-by-side signs shall be structurally tied

together to be considered as one sign

structure.

(e) V-type and back-to-back signs will not be

considered as one sign if located more
than 15 feet apart at their nearest points.

(2) Spacing of Signs:

(a) Interstate and Federal-aid Primary High-

ways. Signs may not be located in such

a manner as to obscure, or otherwise

physically interfere with the effectiveness
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of any official traffic sign, signal, or device,

obstruct or physically interfere with the

driver's view of approaching, merging, or

intersecting traffic.

(b) Interstate highways and freeways on the

federal-aid primary system:

(i) No two structures shall be spaced less

than 500 feet apart.

(ii) Outside of incorporated towns and

cities, no structure may be located within

500 feet of an interchange, collector dis-

tributor, intersection at grade, safety rest

area or informaticm center. The 500 feet

shall be measured from the point at which

the pavement widens and the direction of

measurement shall be along the edge of

pavement away from the interchange,

collector distributor, intersection at grade,

safety rest area or information center, as

shown in Exhibit lA. In those inter-

changes where a quadrant does not have

a ramp, the 500 feet for the quadrant

without a ramp shall be measured along

the outside edge of pavement for the

interstate or freeway highway as follows:

(A) Where a route is bridged over the

freeway or interstate highway, the 500

foot measurement shall begin on the

outside edge of pavement of the freeway

highway or interstate at a point directly

below the edge of the bridge. The di-

rection of measurement shall be along

the edge of pavement away from the

interchange, as shown in Exhibit IB.

(B) Where a freeway or interstate high-

way is bridged over another route, the

500 foot measurement shall be made
from the end of the bndge in the quad-

rant. The direction of measurement

shall be along the edge of pa\ement
away from the bridge, as shown in Ex-

hibit IC.

(C) Where the routes involved are both

freeway or interstate routes, measure-

ments on both routes will be made ac-

cording to (1) and or (2), whichever

applies.

Should there be a situation where there is

more than one point at which the pave-

ment widens along each road within a

quadrant, the measurement shall be made
from the pavement widening which is

furthest from the intersecting roadways.

(c) Non-frccway federal-aid primar>' high-

ways:

(i) Outside of incorporated towns and cities

-- no two structures shall be spaced less

than 300 feet apart.

(ii) Within incorporated towns and cities —
no two structures shall be spaced less than

100 feet apart.

(d) The foregoing provisions for the spacing

of signs do not apply to structures sepa-

rated by buildings or other obstructions in

such a manner that only one sign facing

located within the above spacing distances

is visible from the highway at any one
time.

(e) Official and "on-premise" signs, as per-

mitted under the provisions of G.S.
136-129(1) to (3), and structures that are

not lawfully maintained shall not be
counted nor shall measurements be made
from them for purposes of determining

compliance with spacing requirements.

(f) The minimum distance between structures

shall be measured along the nearest edge

of the pavement between points directly

opposite the signs along each side of the

highway and shall apply only to structures

located on the same side of the highways.

(3) Lighting of Signs: Restrictions:

(a) Signs which contain, include, or are illu-

minated by any Hashing, intermittent, or

moving light or lights are prohibited, ex-

cept those giving public service informa-

tion such as time, date, temperature,

weather, or similar information.

(b) Signs which are not etTecti\ely shielded as

to prevent beams or rays of light from
being directed at any portion of the trav-

eled ways of the interstate or federal-aid

primary" highway and which are of such

intensity or briUiance as to cause glare or

to impair the vision of the driver of any
motor vehicle, or which otherwise inter-

fere with any driver's operation of a motor
vehicle are prohibited.

(c) No sign shall be so iUuminated that it in-

terferes with the effectiveness of, or ob-

scures an official traffic sign, device, or

signal.

(d) All such lighting shall be subject to any

other provisions relating to ligliting of

signs presently applicable to all highways

under the jurisdiction of the state.

(e) Illumination shall not be added to non-

conforming signs or signs confonning by
virtue of the grandfather clause.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

136-130;

Eff. July 1. 1978:

.Amended Eff. .Xovember I, I98S.

CHAPTER 3 - DIVISION OF MOTOR
VEHICLES
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SUBCHAPTER 3D - LICENSE AND THEFT
SECTION

SECTION .0500 - GENERAL INFORMATION
REGARDING SAFETY INSPECTION OF

MOTOR VEHICLE

.0515 SAFETY INSPECTION
LICENSING AND PROCEDURES

(a) The Attorney General of North Carolina

has determined that publication of the complete

regulations governing licensing as a North
Carolina Safety Equipment Inspection Station,

and the requirements and procedures for such

inspections are impracticable, and that the sub-

stance of this Rule should be summarized in ac-

cordance with the provisions of G.S. 150A-63(c).

(b) The regulations and procedures governing

the licensing of Safety Equipment Inspection

Stations for all counties arc contained in a man-
ual entitled "Safety Equipment Emission In-

spections, Windshield Certificate Replacement
Regulations Manual." This manual includes all

procedures and forms to be used in the process

of the safety inspection required by law.

(c) Official copies of these manuals are avail-

able upon request from the Enforcement Section,

Division of Motor Vehicles, Department of

Transportation, 1100 New Bern Avenue,
Raleigh, N. C. 27697.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S.

20-1; 20-1 17.1(a): 20-122; 20-122.1; 20-123.1; 20-

20-125.1; 20-126; 20-/27; 20-128; 20- 128.1;

20-/29; 20-/29./; 20-/30; 20-/30./; 20-/30.2;

20-/30.3; 20-/3/ through 20-/34; 20-/83.2;

20-/83.3; 20-/83.4; 20-/83.5; 20-/83.6;

20-/83.7; 20-/83.8; /50A-63(c);

Eff. Januarv /, /983;

Amended Eff. November /, /988.

SECTION .0800 - SAFETY RULES AND
REGULATIONS

.0801 SAFETY OF OPERATION AND
EQUIPMENT

(a) The rules and regulations adopted by the

U.S. Department of Transportation relating to

safety of operation and equipment (49 CFR
Parts 390-398 - formerly Parts 290-298 - and
amendments thereto) shall apply to all for-hire

motor carrier vehicles engaged in interstate com-
merce and intrastate commerce over the high-

ways of the State of North Carolina, whether
common carriers, contract carriers or exempt
carriers.

(b) The rules and regulations adopted by the

U.S. Department of Transportation relating to

safety of operation and equipment (49 CFR
Parts 390-398 and amendments thereto) shall

also apply to all private motor carriers engaged
in the transportation of hazardous waste and ra-

dioactive waste in interstate and intrastate com-
merce over the highways of the State of North
Carolina,

(c) The rules and regulations adopted by the

U.S. Department of Transportation relating to

safety of operation and equipment (49 CFR
Parts 390-398 and amendments thereto) shall

apply to all private motor carrier vehicles on the

highways of the State of North Carolina used in

commerce to transport passengers or cargo:

(1) if such vehicle has a gross vehicle weight
rating of 10,000 pounds or more; or

(2) if such vehicle is used in the transportation

of materials f(nind to be hazardous in ac-

cordance with the Hazardous Materials

Transportation y\ct as amended in Title

49, Code of Federal Regulations.

49 CFR Part 395 Mb) shaU not apply to any
private motor carrier engaged in a seasonal en-

terprise whenever any current seven or eight

consecutive days, as defined by Part 395.2 (c) and
(d), has been preceded by any 24-hour off-duty

period as defmed by Part 395.2(e) and the driver

is on duty within a radius of 100 air miles of the

point at which he reports for duty; and provided
the driver has not been on duty more than 70
hours in any seven consecutive days or more
than 80 hours in any eight consecutive days. 49
CFR Part 391.11 (b) (1), (b) (2), and (b) (6) shall

not apply to drivers employed by private motor
/2dir^ri^^o hold a valid North Carolina Driver's

License as of June 1, 1988, or until such time that

Part 383 (The Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety

Act of 1986) shall be adopted by North Carolina.

49 CFR Part 395.3(b) shall not apply to any
intrastate motor carrier engaged in a seasonal

enterprise whenever any current seven or eight

consecutive days, as defined by Part 395.2(c) and
(d) has been preceded by any 24-hour off-duty

period as defined by Part 395.2(e) and the driver

is on duty within a radius of 100 air miles of the

point at which he reports for duty; and provided

the driver has not been on duty more than 70
hours in any seven consecutive days or more
than 80 hours in any eight consecutive days. 49
CFR Part 391.11(b)(1), (b)(2), and (b)(6) shall

not apply to drivers employed by intrastate mo-
tor carriers who hold a valid North Carolina

Driver's License as of June 1, 1988, or until such

time that Part 383 (The Commercial Motor Ve-
hicle Safety Act of 1986) shall be adopted by
North Carolina.

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-384;

Eff. December /, /9S3;

Amended Eff November /, /988; July /, 1988;

June /, /988.
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SECTION .0900 - APPROVAL OF SLN
SCRKEMNG DEVICES

.0904 APPROVAL, AND LABELING OF
DEMCES

(a) No devices manufactured with a luminous

reflectance of more than 20 percent or a light

transmittance of less than 50 percent will be ap-

proved for use on vehicles registered in this State.

(b) After approval of the device by the com-
missioner, each manufacturer shall pro\ide an

appro\ed label with a means for permanent and
legible installation between the device and each

glazing surface to which it is applied. Each label

shall contain the following information:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(c)

The name and address of the manufac-
turer;

The registration number assigned to the

device by the division; and

The words, "complies with G.S. 20-127".

Each manufacturer shall include in-

structions with the device for proper installation,

including the affixing of the label specified in

Paragraph (b). The label shall be placed as re-

quired by G.S. 20- 127(d).

History Note: Statutory Authority G.S. 20-39;

20-127;

Eff. Januan' I. 1988;

Amended Eff. November 1, 1988.
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TITLE/MAJOR DIVISIONS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA ADMINISTRATFV E CODE

TITLE DEPARTMENT

1

2

3

4
5

6
7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14A
15

16

17

18

19A
20

*21

22

23

24

25

26

Administration, Department of

Agriculture, Department of

Auditor, Department of State

Commerce, Department of

Corrections, Department of

Council of State

Cultural Resources, Department of

Elections, State Board of

Governor, Office of the

Human Resources, Department of

Insurance, Department of

Justice, Department of

l^bor. Department of

Crime Control and Public Safety, Department of

Natural Resources and Community Development, Department of

Hducation, Department of

Revenue, Department of

Secretary of State, Department of

Transportation, Department of

Treasurer, Department of State

Occupational Licensing Boards
Administrative Procedures

Community Colleges, Department of

Housing I'inance Agency
State Personnel, Office of

Administrative Hearings, Office of

NOTE: Title 2 1 contains the chapters of the various occupational licensing boards.

CHAPTER LICENSING BOARDS

2

4

6

8

10

12

14

16

18

20

21

22

26

28

31

32

33

34

36

37

38

40

42

Architecture, Board of

Auctioneers, Commission for

Barber Examiners, Board of

Certified Public Accountant Examiners, Board of

Chiropractic Examiners, Board of

Contractors, Licensing Board for

Cosmetic Art Examiners, Board of

Dental Examiners, Board of

Electrical Contractors, Board of Examiners of

Eorcsters, Board of Registration for

Geologists, Board of

Hearing Aid Dealers and Litters Board
Landscape /Vrchitects, Licensing Board of

Landscape Contractors, Registration Board of

Martial & Eamily Therapy Certification Board
Medical Examiners, Board of

Midwifery Joint Committee
Mortuary Science, Board of

Nursing, Board of

Nursing Home Administrators, Board of

Occupational Therapists, Board of

Opticians, Board of

Optometry, Board of Examiners in
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44 Osteopathic Examination and Registration, Board of

46 Pharmacy, Board of

48 Physical Therapy, Examining Committee of

50 Plumbing and Heating Contractors, Board of

52 Podiatry Exammers, Board of

53 Practicing Counselors, Board of

54 Practicing Psychologists, Board of

56 Professional Engineers and l.and Surveyors, Board of

58 Real Estate Commission
60 Refrigeration Examiners, Board of

62 Sanitarian Examiners, Board of

63 Social Work, Certification Board for

64 Speech and Language Pathologists and
Audiologists, Board of Examiners of

66 Veterinary Medical Board
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CUMULA TIVE INDEX
(April 1988 - March 1989)

1988 - 1989

Pages Issue

1 - 25 1 - April

26 - 108 2 - April

109 - 118 3 - May
119 - 145 4 - May
146 - 184 5 - June
185 - 266 6 - June
267 - 294 7 - July

295 - 347 8 - July

348 - 400 9 - August
401 - 507 10 - August
508 - 523 11 - September
524 - 593 12 - September
594 - 606 13 - October
607 - 686 14 - October
687 - 728 15 - November

AO - Administrative Order

AG - Attorney General's Opinions

C - Correction

E - Errata

EO - Executive Order

FDL - Final Decision Letters

FR - Final Rule

GS - General Statute

JO - Judicial Orders or Decision

ERA - List of Rules Affected

M - Miscellaneous

NP - Notice of Petitions

PR - Proposed Rule

SO - Statements of Organization

TR - Temporary Rule

ADMINISTRATION
Administrative Analysis Division, 447 PR
Auxiliary Services, 270 PR
Departmental Rules, 270 PR
Human Relations Council, 609 PR
State Construction, 187 PR
Youth Advocacy and Involvement Office, 148 PR

ADMINISTRATrV E HEARINGS
General, 579 PR
Hearings Division, 76 PR, 581 PR
Rules Division, 580 PR
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ADMINISTRATIVE ORDKR
Administrative Order, 369 AO

AGRICULTURE
Food and Drug Protection Division, 271 PR
N.C. Gasoline and Oil Inspection Board, 689 PR
N.C. Pesticide Board, 524 PR
N.C. State Fair, 451 PR
Plant Industr) , 453 PR
Standards Division, 452 PR
Structural Pest Control Committee, 296 PR

COMMERCE
.'Mcoholic Beverage Control Commission, 276 PR
Departmental Rules, 612 PR
Milk Comrmssion, 120 PR, 190 PR
Se;ifood Industnal Park Authority, 613 PR

COMMUMIV COLLEGES
Community Colleges, 287 PR, 557 PR

CORRECnON
Division of Prisons, 490 FR

CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY
Alcohol Law Enforcement, 47 PR

CI I rURAL RESOURCES
Di\ision of /Archives and History, 691 PR

ELECTIONS
State Board of Flections, 120 PR

XECUTLV E ORDERS
Executive Orders 68 - 71, 1 FO

72, 119 EO
73, 146 EO

74 - 75, 508 EO
76 - 77, 594 EO

FINAL DECISION LETIERS
Votmc Ridits Act, 5 FDL, 26 FDL, 185 FDL, 267 FDL, 295 FDL, 370 FDL,
401 I-DL, 511 FDL, 597 FDL, 608 FDL, 688 FDL

GENERAL STATUTES
Chapter 7A, 348 GS
Chapter 143B, 350 GS
Chapter 150B, 352 GS

HUMAN RESOl RCES
Division of Aging, 229 PR
Drug Commission, 113 FR
Facility Ser\ices, 455 PR, 524 PR, 614 PR
Health Ser\ices, 7 PR, 220 PR, 296 PR, 616 PR
Medical Assistance, 7 PR, 30 PR, 109 PR, 121 PR, 237 PR, 303 PR, 461 PR
Mental Health: General, 457 PR, 530 PR,
Mental Heahh: Hospitals, 459 PR
Mental Health: Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 629 PR
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Mental Health: Other Programs, 530 PR,
Office of the Secretary, 31 PR
Social Ser\ices Commission, 27 PR, 531 PR
Vocational Rehabilitation Services, 371 PR

rsDEPENDENT AGENCIES
Housing Finance, 21 PR, 134 PR, 255 PR, 518 PR

ESSLRANCE
Agent Ser\'ices Division, 238 PR, 636 PR
Company Operations Division, 470 PR
Consumer Services, 691 PR
Fire and Casualty Division, 32 PR, 461 PR
Fire and Rescue Services Division, 122 PR, 149 PR
Life: Accident and Health Division, 534 PR

JUSTICE
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards, 304 PR
Private Protective Services, 303 PR

LABOR
Boiler and Pressure Vessel, 598 PR
Elevator and /Vmusement Device Division, 599 PR
Notice, 607 C
Office of Occupational Safety and Health, 598 PR

LICENSING BOARDS
Cosmetic /\rt Exammers, 283 PR, 473 PR
CPA, 73 PR, 472 PR
Dental Examiners, 704 PR
Examiners of Electrical Contractors, 151 PR
Hearing Aid Dealers, 77 FR
Nursing, 376 PR, 477 PR, 704 PR
Podiatry Examiners, 377 PR

LIST OE RULES AFFECTED
April 1, 1988, 102 LRA
May 1, 1988, 137 LRA
June 1, 1988, 260 LRA
July 1, 1988, 335 LRA
August 1, 1988, 496 LRA
September 1, 1988, 585 LRA
October 1, 1988, 675 LRA

NATURAL RESOURCES AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
Coastal Management, 11 PR, 67 PR, 254 PR, 281 PR, 703 PR
Community Assistance, 69 PR, 555 PR
Division of Economic Opportunity, 556 PR
Environmental Management, 241 PR, 278 PR, 599 PR, 656 PR, 698 PR
Forest Resources, 68 PR
Marine Fisheries, 62 PR
Soil and Water Conservation, 111 PR
Wildlife Resources and Water Safety, 111 PR, 282 PR, 470 PR, 513 PR, 555 PR,
599 PR, 656 PR

REVENUE
Individual Income Tax, 710 FR
License and Excise Tax, 1 13 FR
Motor Fuels Tax, 258 FR
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Sales and Use Taxes, 386 FR, 584 FR

SFXRETARY OF SI ATE
Securities Division, 125 PR, 656 PR

STATE PERSONNEL
State Personnel Commission, 135 PR, 333 PR, 559 PR

STATE IREASL RER
Escheats and Abandoned Property, 328 PR
Local Government Commission, 18 PR
Retirement Systems, 513 PR

STATEMENTS OF ORGANIZATION
Statements of Organization, 403 SO

TRANSPORTATION
Division of Highwavs, 719 FR
Division of Motor Vehicles, 172 FR, 258 FR, 720 FR
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with replacement pages. A one year subscription to the full publication including supplements can be
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January 1, 1989.
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Volume Title Chapter Subject

New
Subscription*

Total

Quantity Price

1 - 52 FuU Code
1

2

2

3

4
4
5

5

6

7

8

9

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

10

11

1 - 37

1 - 24

25- 52

1 -4
1 - 2

3- 17

1 -2
3-4
1 -4
1 - 11

1 - 9

1 -4
1 -2
3A-3K
3L- 3R

3S- 3U
4- 6

7

8- 9

10

11-14
15- 17

18

19-30
31 -33
34-41
42
43- 50

1 - 15

AH titles $750.00

Administration 90.00

Agriculture 75.00

Agriculture 75.00

Auditor 10.00

Commerce (includes ABC) 45.00

Commerce 90.00

Corrections 60.00

Corrections 30.00

Council of State

Cultural Resources 60.00

Elections 10.00

Governor 45.00

Human Resources 30.00

Human Resources 90.00

Human Resources

(includes CON) 45.00

Human Resources 30.00

Human Resources 30.00

Human Resources

(includes Breathali/er) 30.00

Human Resources 60.00

Human Resources 90.00

Human Resources 60.00

Human Resources 45.00

Human Resources 75.00

Human Resources 90.00

Human Resources 30.00

Human Resources 60.00

Human Resources 45.00

Human Resources 90.00

Insurance 90.00

1

2
3

4
5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22
23

24

25

26

27

28
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New
Subscription* Quantity

Total

Price

29 12

13

13

13

14A

15

15

15

15

15

15

16

17

17

18

19

20

21

21

21

22
23

24

25

26

1 - 12

1 - 6

7

8- 15

1 - 11

1 - 2

3-6
7

8- 9

10

11-22
1 - 6

1 - 6

7- 11

1 - 7

1 - 6

1 - 9

1 - 16

17-37
38-70
1 - 2

1 - 2

1

1

1 -4

Justice

Labor
OSHA
Labor
Crime Control and
Public Safety

NRCD (includes EMC)
NRCD
Coastal Management
NRCD
WUdlife

NRCD
Lducation
Revenue
Revenue
Secretary of State

Transportation

Treasurer

Licensing Boards

Licensing Boards
Licensing Boards
Administrative Procedures

Community Colleges

Housing Finance

State Personnel

Administrative Hearings

90.00

30.00

45.00

45.00

45.00

90.00

45.00

45.00

30.00

45.00

60.00

30.00

75.00

60.00

30.00

90.00

45.00

75.00

75.00

75.00

10.00

10.00

60.00

10.00

Total

30

31

32

33

34
35

36

37

38

39

40
41

42
43
44
45
46
47
48

49
50

51

52

(Make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings.)

This price includes the title in its current form plus supplementation for the subscription year.

Subscription years are January I through December 31.

MAIL TO:

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
POST OFFICE DRAWER 11666

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27604
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NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER
ORDER FORM

H Please enter my subscription for the North Carolina Register to start with the issue.

($95.00)/year subscription)

m Renew North Carolina Register

H Check Enclosed D Please bill me

i'lease make checks payable to Office of Administrative Hearings

^AME ADDRESS

:iTY STATE ZIP

HONE

Return to Office of Administrative Hearings - fold at line, staple at bottom and affix postage.)



CHANGE OF ADDRESS:

1. Present Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

2. New Address

NAME

ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

Office of Administrative Hearings
p. O. Drawer 11666

Raleigh, North Carolina 27604

FIRST CLASS

"SAFE
.HE -

Nov-rsa

eI2

UNIU. OF NORTH ZmilM
AT CHAPEL HILL LIB
n^ HECKE-UETTACH BLDG. 06^ A
CHAPEL HILL

N'C 2^514


