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For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult with the 
agencies below.  The bolded headings are typical issues which the given agency can address, but are not inclusive. 

 
Rule Notices, Filings, Register, Deadlines, Copies of Proposed Rules, etc. 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-2817 
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 Julie Edwards, Editorial Assistant  julie.edwards@ncmail.net  (919) 733-2696 
 Felicia Williams, Editorial Assistant felicia.williams@ncmail.net (919) 733-3361 
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End of required 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
GENERAL 

 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) notices of rule-making proceedings; 
(3) text of proposed rules; 
(4) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(5) notices of receipt of a petition for municipal 

incorporation, as required by G.S. 120-165; 
(6) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(7) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; 

(8) orders of the Tax Review Board issued under 
G.S. 105-241.2; and 

(9) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the 
schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina 
Register is not included.  The last day of the period so 
computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 
or State holiday, in which event the period runs until 
the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first 
and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of 
the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday 
for employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is 
a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State 
employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR 
SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY:  This date is 
the first legislative day of the next regular session of 
the General Assembly following approval of the rule 
by the Rules Review Commission.  See G.S. 150B-
21.3, Effective date of rules. 
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Note from the Codifier: This Section contains public notices that are required to be published in the Register or have been 
approved by the Codifier of Rules for publication. 

 
 

North Carolina Department of Labor 
Division of Occupational Safety and Health 

4 West Edenton Street 
Raleigh, NC 27601 

 
(919) 807-2875 

 
 

NOTICE OF VERBATIM ADOPTION OF FEDERAL STANDARDS 
 
In consideration of G.S. 150-B-21.5(c) the Occupational Safety and Health Division of the Department of Labor hereby gives notice 
that: 
 

- rule changes have been submitted to update the North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07F.0101, 13 
NCAC 07F .0201, and 13 NCAC 07F.0501 to incorporate by reference the occupational safety and health related 
provisions of Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations Part 1910, 1915, and 1926 promulgated as of August 24, 
2006, except as specifically described, and  

 
- the North Carolina Administrative Code at 13 NCAC 07A .0301 automatically includes amendments to certain parts 

of the Code of Federal Regulations, including Title 29, Part 1904—Recording and Reporting Occupational Injuries 
and Illnesses. 

 
This update encompasses recent verbatim adoptions concerning: 
 

- Assigned Protection Factors 
 (71 FR 50122 - 50192, August 24, 2006) 

 
The Federal Register (FR), as cited above, contains both technical and economic discussions that explain the basis for each change. 
 
For additional information, please contact: 
 
  Bureau of Education, Training and Technical Assistance 
  Occupational Safety and Health Division 
  North Carolina Department of Labor 
  1101 Mail Service Center 
  Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101 
 
For additional information regarding North Carolina’s process of adopting federal OSHA Standards verbatim, please contact: 
 
  A. John Hoomani, General Counsel 
  North Carolina Department of Labor 
  Legal Affairs Division 
  1101 Mail Service Center 
  Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 
later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 
notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 
days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 
 

TITLE 01 – DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Secretary for the Department of Administration intends to 
adopt the rules cited as 01 NCAC 41D .0101 - .0102, .0201 - 
.0203, .0301 - .0304, and .0401. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 8, 2007 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  N.C. Department of Administration, Administration 
Building, 5th Floor, Commission Conference Room in Room 
5034, 116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, North Carolina  27603 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Secretary of Administration 
is directed to adopt rules to implement N.C.G.S. 143-58.4 and 
143-58.5 which allow State departments, institutions, and 
agencies to use monies generated by the sale of EPAct credits to 
purchase alternative fuel, develop related refueling 
infrastructure and purchase alternative fuel vehicles. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Written objections may be submitted to Larry 
Shirley, Director, North Carolina Department of Administration, 
State Energy Office.  Objections may be received by mail, 
delivery service, hand delivery or facsimile transmission.  
Objections may be directed to Larry Shirley, Director, 1340 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1340.  Fax:  (919) 
733-2953. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Larry Shirley, Director, NC 
Department of Administration, State Energy Office, 1340 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1340, phone (919) 733-
2230, fax (919) 733-2953, email Larry.Shirley@ncmail.net 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 

objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact: A copy of the fiscal note can be obtained from 
the agency. 

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 41 – STATE ENERGY OFFICE 

 
SUBCHAPTER 41D - ENERGY POLICY ACT CREDIT 

BANKING AND SELLING PROGRAM 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0101 PURPOSE AND  
ORGANIZATION 
Pursuant to G.S. 143-58.4 the State Energy Office has 
established a credit banking and selling program to allow State 
departments, institutions, and agencies to use monies generated 
by the sale of EPAct credits to purchase alternative fuel, develop 
related refueling infrastructure and purchase alternative fuel 
vehicles.  Pursuant to G.S. 143-58.5, the State Energy Office has 
established an Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund generated from 
the sale of EPAct credits. These funds may to be used to 
purchase alternative fuel, develop related refueling infrastructure 
and purchase alternative fuel vehicles for use by State 
departments, institutions, and agencies. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0102 DEFINITIONS 
For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "AFV" means an original equipment 
manufactured vehicle or U.S. EPA certified 
retrofit that operates on compressed natural 
gas, propane, or electricity.  "AFV" also means 
a hybrid electric vehicle that derives its 
transportation energy from gasoline and 
electricity.  

(2) "Alternative fuel" means biodiesel, ethanol, 
compressed natural gas, propane, and 
electricity used as a transportation fuel in 
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blends or in a manner as defined by the Energy 
Policy Act. 

(3) "Biodiesel Fuel Use Credit" means an EPAct 
credit given by the U.S. DOE for each 450 
gallons of pure biodiesel purchased for use in 
blends of 20% or higher. No credit is granted 
for the petroleum portion of biodiesel fuel 
blends. 

(4) "B20" means a blend of 20% by volume 
biodiesel fuel and 80% by volume 
petroleum-based diesel fuel. 

(5) "Department" means the Department of 
Administration. 

(6) "Energy Policy Act" means the federal Energy 
Policy Act of 1992, Pub. L. No. 102-486, 106 
Stat. 2782, 42 U.S.C. 13201, et seq. 

(7) "EPAct credit" means a credit issued pursuant 
to the Energy Policy Act. 

(8) "EPC" means the Energy Policy Council, an 
appointed advisory group that provides 
direction to the State Energy Office. 

(9) "E85" means a blend of 85% by volume 
ethanol and 15% by volume gasoline. E85 
content may be lowered to 70% ethanol in 
winter months to avoid cold start problems. 

(10) "FFV" means a flexible fuel vehicle that is 
capable of operating on E85 and/or gasoline. 

(11) "Incremental fuel cost" means the difference in 
cost between an alternative fuel and 
conventional petroleum fuel at the time the 
fuel is purchased. 

(12) "Incremental vehicle cost" means the 
difference in cost between an AFV and 
conventional vehicle of the same make and 
model. For vehicles with no comparable 
conventional model, incremental vehicle cost 
means the generally accepted difference in 
cost between an AFV and a similar 
conventional model. 

(13) "LDV" means a light duty vehicle that has less 
than an 8,500 lb gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR). 

(14) "NC Alternative Fuel Consortium" means a 
voluntary group of state agencies, institutions 
and interested entities that meet at least 
quarterly and is hosted by the State Energy 
Office to coordinate alternative fuel and 
petroleum displacement activities in North 
Carolina. 

(15) "OEM" means original equipment 
manufacturer. 

(16) "U.S. DOE" means the United States 
Department of Energy. 

(17) "U.S. EPA" means the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 

SECTION .0200 - CREDIT BANKING AND SELLING 
PROGRAM PROVISIONS 

 
01 NCAC 41D .0201 PROGRAM 
The State Energy Office shall establish and administer an energy 
credit banking and selling program in cooperation with State 
departments, institutions and agencies. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0202 BANKING 
(a)  EPActs credits shall be accrued and banked according to the 
following: 

(1) The U.S. DOE Alternative Fuel Transportation 
Program (10 CFR Part 490) requires that 75% 
of LDVs acquired by state fleets shall be 
FFVs, compressed natural gas vehicles, 
propane vehicles or electric vehicles. 

(2) One credit is earned for each OEM or EPA 
certified retrofit FFV, compressed natural gas, 
propane and electric vehicle purchased. 

(3) Credits that exceed the annual minimum state 
AFV acquisition requirements may be banked 
through the U.S. DOE Office of Freedom Car 
and Vehicle Technologies Program to meet 
future year requirements or traded. 

(4) State fleets can earn Biodiesel Fuel Use 
Credits to meet 50% of their annual AFV 
acquisition requirements by purchasing and 
using biodiesel.  

(5) Biodiesel Fuel Use Credits cannot be traded or 
banked. 

(b)  Credits are determined by state agencies in cooperation with 
the State Energy Office in the following manner: 

(1) Each year by December 1st every State 
department, institution and agency subject to 
EPAct requirements shall provide the State 
Energy Office with the types of vehicles 
purchased, the vehicle identification numbers 
and the dates of purchase to determine the 
number of EPAct credits generated by the 
State. 

(2) The SEO shall submit annual EPAct credit 
report to the U.S. DOE by December 31st. 

(c)  The following provisions shall be used in determining 
credits: 

(1) EPAct credits eligible for sale include FFVs if 
the FFVs are operating on E85.  

(2) EPAct credits generated through the use of 
B20 are not directly eligible for sale or 
transfer, however, they shall be used by the 
State to meet 50% of Energy Policy Act 
requirements, therefore supporting the State in 
generating EPAct credits to sell. 

(3) State agencies and institutions that purchase 
FFVs shall record the use of E85 for the FFVs 
from which credits will be sold. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
21:12                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                              DECEMBER 15, 2006 

1065 

 
01 NCAC 41D .0203 SELLING 
(a)  The State Energy Office shall sell EPAct credits in 
accordance with the provisions of the Energy Policy Act. 
(b)  The State Energy Office shall form a Credit Selling Work 
Group to determine the number of excess credits (if any) to be 
sold. 

(1) The Credit Selling Work Group will determine 
the asking price for credits that are deemed in 
the best interest of the State to sell. 

(2) The Credit Selling Work Group shall consist 
of: 
(A) Department of Administration Motor 

Fleet Management designee; 
(B) Department of Transportation 

Equipment Unit designee; 
(C) State Energy Office designee (s); and 
(D) Designees of other state agencies and 

institutions that generate EPAct 
credits. 

(c)  The State Energy Office shall undertake the following when 
conducting the sale of credits:  seek approval from the Secretary 
of Administration prior to selling credits: 

(1) Credits shall be sold through direct sale or 
broker facilitated sale. 

(2) The State Energy Office shall negotiate all 
credit sales and report credit transfer to the 
U.S. DOE. 

(3) The EPAct credit transfer/sale will be 
documented through the U.S. DOE Office of 
Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy 
"Alternative Fuel Transportation Program 
Proof of Credit Transfer." 

(4) Contributing agencies shall be notified within 
five days after credits are sold. 

 
Authority 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 

SECTION .0300 - PROCEEDS AND DISTRIBTUTION 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0301 PROCEEDS AND  
DISTRIBUTION 
(a)  Funds generated by the sale or transfer of EPAct credits by 
the Department shall be deposited into the Alternative Fuel 
Revolving Fund. 
(b)  The following will be undertaken to determine the 
distribution of proceeds from the Alternative Fuel Revolving 
Fund: 

(1) The State Energy Office shall annually inform 
the NC Alternative Fuel Consortium of the 
amount of revenue accrued to the Alternative 
Fuel Revolving Fund and the percentage of 
these funds that were generated by 
participating state agencies, institutions or 
entities. 

(2) The State Energy Office shall organize 
meetings of the NC Alternative Fuel 
Consortium and the Credit Selling Work 

Group to discuss and prioritize distribution of 
funds. 

(3) Fund distribution shall be prioritized based on 
maximizing benefits to the State for the 
purchase of alternative fuel, related refueling 
infrastructure and AFV purchases. 

(4) State Departments, institutions and agencies 
that plan to utilize Funds from the sale of 
EPAct credits must submit a description of 
eligible project, estimate of cost to implement 
and projected timetable to complete before 
consideration and approval are granted by the 
State Energy Office and the Energy Policy 
Council. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0302 ALTERNATIVE FUEL  
REVOLVING FUND 
(a)  The Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund shall be set up to 
receive and disperse funds from EPAct credit sales. 
(b)  The Fund shall be held by the State Energy Office and 
contain the following attributes: 

(1) The Fund shall consist of monies received 
from the sale of EPAct credits under G.S. 143-
58.4, any monies appropriated to the Fund by 
the General Assembly, and any monies 
obtained or accepted by the Department. 

(2) No portion of the Fund shall be transferred to 
the General Fund, and any appropriation made 
to the Fund shall not revert. 

(3) The State Treasurer shall invest monies in the 
Fund in the same manner as other funds are 
invested. Interest and monies earned on such 
investments shall be credited to the Fund. 

(4) Funds distributed through the Alternative Fuel 
Revolving Fund shall not exceed the amount 
of funds held by the Fund in any given year. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0303 THE ALTERNATIVE FUEL  
REVOLVING FUND CRITERIA 
The Fund may be used for any of the following: 

(1) To offset the incremental cost of B20 and/or 
E85; 

(2) The incremental cost of purchasing AFVs; 
(3) For the development of alternative fuel 

refueling infrastructure; 
(4) For the costs of administering the Fund; and 
(5) For projects approved by the Energy Policy 

Council. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0304 FUND DISBURSEMENTS 
Revenue from the Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund shall be 
dispersed given the following considerations:  
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(1) The Alternative Fuel Consortium and Credit 
Selling Work Group shall each meet annually 
to develop recommendations for the State 
Energy Office on dispersing revenue accrued 
to the Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund. 
(a) Based on recommendations of the 

Alternative Fuel Consortium, the 
Credit Selling Work Group shall 
develop an annual plan to prioritize 
eligible projects. 

(b) The Credit Selling Work Group shall 
undertake a consensus building 
process in making recommendations 
on the distribution of Funds. 

(c) Final recommendations of the 
Alternative Fuel Consortium and 
Credit Selling Work Group shall be 
approved by the State Energy Office 
and the Energy Policy Council. 

(d) The Energy Policy Council will 
resolve any disagreements that may 
arise over the designation of Funds.  

(2) The SEO shall instruct the Department's 
Controller on the dispersion of monies accrued 
to the Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund. 

(3) Benefits and control over the benefits from the 
sale of EPAct credits shall be distributed to 
State departments, institutions and agencies in 
proportion to the number of EPAct credits 
generated by each.  A State department, 
institution or agency may designate the 
distribution of its percentage of benefits to 
another State department, institution or agency 
to maximize the overall benefits to the State. 

(4) Only state departments, institutions and 
agencies are eligible to utilize Alternative Fuel 
Revolving Funds. 

(5) An annual plan for the dispersion of 
Alternative Fuel Revolving Funds will be 
prepared by the State Energy Office based on 
recommendations from the Alternative Fuels 
Consortium and a vote by the Credit Selling 
Work Group. 

(6) The annual plan will be brought by the State 
Energy Office for review and approval by the 
Energy Policy Council. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 

SECTION .0400 - REPORTS 
 
01 NCAC 41D .0401 REPORTS 
Progress reports will be submitted biannually by State 
departments, agencies, and institutions that receive funds from 
the Alternative Fuel Revolving Fund.  The progress report shall 
include a description of the current project, number of gallons of 
alternative fuel or vehicles purchased, challenges and successes, 
and forecast of expectation or deviation from the planned 
schedule. 

 
Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5. 
 
 

TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Office of Commissioner of Banks intends to 
amend the rules cited as 04 NCAC 03C .1001 - .1002 and repeal 
the rules cited as 04 NCAC 03C .0701 - .0703, .1101 - .1102, 
and .1301. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date: January 16, 2007 
Time: 10:00 a.m. 
Location: Office of the Commissioner of Banks, Hearing Room, 
316 W. Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
04 NCAC 03C .1001 - .1002 need to be amended to remove out-
of-date and meaningless requirements and to modify money 
thresholds which are no longer correct. 
04 NCAC 03C .0701 - .0703 and .1301 are no longer helpful 
because their purpose and function has largely been supplanted 
by the Uniform Bank Performance Report and by long-standing 
examination protocols.  
04 NCAC 03C .1101 - .1102 are no longer helpful because the 
marketplace itself, supervised by the Securities Exchange 
Commission, dictates what a bank may prudently do in issuing 
capital notes and debentures, far more effectively than a state 
regulation. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Comments in writing on the proposed rule 
changes are welcomed via letter, fax, or email to the Rule-
making Coordinator at the address shown in this Notice.  Also, 
written and in-person comments will be solicited at the public 
hearing, the time and location of which is set forth in this Notice.  
Comments received may be reproduced and made available, as 
submitted to interested persons. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Daniel E. Garner, 316 W. 
Edenton Street, 4309 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-
4309, phone (919) 733-3016, fax (919) 733-6918, email 
dgarner@nccob.org 
 
Comment period ends: February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
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G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 03 - BANKING COMMISSION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 03C – BANKS 

 
SECTION .0700 - REPORTS REQUIRED BY 

COMMISSIONER OF BANKS 
 
04 NCAC 03C .0701 EXAMINING COMMITTEE  
REPORT 
(a)  The board of directors of each state bank, on a form 
provided by the Office of the Commissioner of Banks, shall 
submit the results of an annual examination by an examining 
committee appointed by the bank's board of directors pursuant to 
G.S. 53-83.  The form contains a balance sheet and a 
questionnaire covering various statutory and regulatory 
requirements and is required to be filed annually and is due not 
later than June 30 for the preceding year.  The form shall be 
obtained from and filed with: 

Office of the Commissioner of Banks 
316 West Edenton Street 
4309 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-4309. 
(b)  In lieu of the examination by a committee of directors 
required in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Board may engage a 
certified public accounting firm to conduct an examination 
sufficiently broad in scope so as to allow the accounting firm to 
render an opinion on the bank's financial statement.  The Board 
may attach this report to the examination form provided by the 
Office of the Commissioner of Banks and file the same, together 
with the accounting firm's management letter and management's 
response, to the Commissioner of Banks at the address in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule, not later than June 30 for the 
preceding year. 
 
Authority G.S. 53-83; 53-92; 53-99. 
 
04 NCAC 03C .0702 REPORTS OF CONDITION AND  
INCOME 
Every state bank shall submit a report of condition and income 
to the Commissioner of Banks no later than 30 days after the end 
of each calendar quarter.  The report of condition and income 
form shall be obtained from and submitted to: 

Office of the Commissioner of Banks 
316 West Edenton Street 
4309 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-4309. 
 
Authority G.S. 53-92; 53-105. 
 
04 NCAC 03C .0703 PUBLISHER'S COPY, REPORT  
OF CONDITION AND INCOME 
Every state bank shall submit along with each report of 
condition and income a summary of the report which has been 
published in a newspaper of general circulation where the bank 
is located.  If there is no newspaper published or circulated in the 
place where the bank is located, then the report summary must 
be published in a newspaper of general circulation nearest the 
bank.  Proof of publication shall be furnished the Commissioner 
of Banks in the form of a certificate or affidavit of publication.  
A form shall be obtained from and submitted to: 

Office of the Commissioner of Banks 
316 West Edenton Street 
4309 Mail Service Center 

Raleigh, North Carolina  27699-4309. 
 
Authority G.S. 53-92; 53-105. 
 

SECTION .1000 - LOAN ADMINISTRATION AND 
LEASING 

  
04 NCAC 03C .1001 LOAN DOCUMENTATION 
Unless otherwise provided, each bank, or any branch thereof, 
where notes are held must maintain on file the appropriate 
supporting documents as follows: 

(1) Financial Statements.  Financial statements 
shall be required from any borrower who is a 
maker, co-maker, guarantor, endorser or surety 
on any unsecured loans or other unsecured 
extensions of credit in an amount of twenty 
fifty thousand dollars ($20,000.00)($50,000) 
or more in the aggregate.  Financial statements 
required by this Item shall: 
(a) be signed or otherwise properly 

executed; 
(b) be dated within 18 months preceding 

the origination date of the credit 
obligation; 

(c) be renewed within 18 months after 
the date of the last financial statement 
on file; 

(d) be addressed to, or made specifically 
for, the lending bank; and 

(e) include such information as will 
adequately reflect the assets, 
liabilities, net worth and income of 
the borrower. 

(2) Financial Statement Exceptions.  A bank may 
waive the financial statement required by Item 
(1) of this Rule for credit granted under a 
credit card.  Additionally, a bank may elect to 
substitute in the place of a current financial 
statement a current credit bureau report for 
consumer loans scheduled to be repaid in at 
least quarterly installments. 
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(3) Personal Property Appraisals.  Appraisals on 
personal property used as collateral for a loan 
shall be obtained and shall be completed as 
follows: 
(a)  Generally.  Except as otherwise 

provided below, a written appraisal of 
personal property used to collateralize 
any loan must be made by the 
executive committee or loan 
committee of the bank, or any branch 
thereof, or other reliable persons 
familiar with the value of the 
property.  Except as provided, all 
appraisals must be renewed every 12 
24 months. 

(b) Requirements.  The appraisal required 
by this Item must include: 
(i) the name of the borrower; 
(ii) the date the appraisal was 

made; 
(iii) the value of the collateral; 
(iv) the signatures of at least two 

persons making the 
appraisal; 

(v) a brief description of the 
property; 

(vi) the amount of any prior lien 
and holder of the lien, if any; 
and 

(vii) the original amount or 
outstanding balance of the 
loan which the property is 
used to secure. 

(c) Appraisal Exceptions.  No appraisal 
shall be required under the following 
circumstances: 
(i) on collateral to notes of less 

than twenty fifty thousand 
dollars 
($20,000.00);($50,000); 

(ii) on loans fully secured by 
obligations of the United 
States or the State of North 
Carolina; 

(iii) on loans fully secured by 
deposits in the bank 
maintaining the loan 
account; 

(iv) on loans fully secured by the 
cash surrender or loan value 
of life insurance policies; 

(v) on loans fully secured by 
bonded warehouse receipts;  

(vi) on floor plan loans to dealers 
fully secured by new 
automobiles, stationwagons, 
vans, and trucks; 

(vii) on discounted notes for a 
dealer where the note is 

given as the purchase price 
of an automobile or other 
consumer goods; or 

(viii) on loans fully secured by 
listed securities, unless such 
loans are within the 
provisions of the Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934 as 
defined by Regulation "U," 
as amended from time to 
time by the Board of 
Governors of the Federal 
Reserve System.  On loans 
secured by such collateral, 
appraisal must be made and 
kept on file until the loan is 
fully paid. 

(d) Renewal Exceptions.  Appraisals 
need not be renewed annually where 
an automobile, stationwagon, mobile 
home, or where a truck or van not 
exceeding 8,000 pounds empty 
weight, is the sole or partial collateral 
for a loan. 

(e) Single Signature Exception.  An 
appraisal may be signed by only one 
person where an automobile, 
stationwagon, mobile home, or where 
a truck or van not exceeding 8,000 
pounds empty weight, is the sole 
collateral for a loan. 

(4) Real Estate Appraisals.  Unless otherwise 
provided, all real estate taken as security for 
loans shall be appraised in the form and 
manner set forth in Sub-item (4)(a) through 
(4)(c) of this Rule.  In addition, the appraisal 
must be independent in that the appraiser is not 
involved in the loan transaction secured by the 
property being appraised and has no interest, 
financial or otherwise, in the property.  
(a) The bank may elect to waive the 

requirement for an appraisal of real 
estate given as security for loans of 
twenty fifty thousand dollars 
($20,000.00)($50,000) or less.  
Appraisals of real estate given as 
security for loans over twenty fifty 
thousand dollars ($20,000.00), 
($50,000), but not exceeding two 
hundred fifty thousand dollars 
($250,000), whether directly or 
indirectly pledged shall be prepared 
by any one of the following methods: 
(i) Two members of the 

executive or loan committee 
who are familiar with real 
estate values in the 
community where the 
property is located. 
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(ii) Two bank employees who 
are familiar with real estate 
values in the community 
where the property is 
located, provided that one of 
the two employees must not 
be involved in the loan 
transaction secured by the 
property being appraised. 

(iii) A state-licensed real estate 
appraiser or state-certified 
real estate appraiser or a 
person certified as a real 
estate appraiser by an 
appraisal trade organization 
approved by the bank to 
perform the appraisal. 

(iv) In lieu of an appraisal as 
provided by Sub-items 
(4)(a)(i) through (iii) of this 
Rule, for loans less than two 
hundred fifty thousand 
dollars ($250,000), a bank 
may elect to accept a bona 
fide copy of the most recent 
real property tax notice from 
the tax administrator's office 
in the county in which the 
property is located provided 
that such notice states the 
assessed ad valorem tax 
value of the real estate, and 
any improvements thereon, 
separate from the personal 
property; and provided 
further, the loan officer shall 
include with the tax notice a 
memorandum to file that he 
or she has obtained the 
notice from the county tax 
administrator and is of the 
opinion that such notice 
accurately reflects the real 
property values. 

(b) Except as noted, appraisals required 
by Sub-item (4)(a)(i), (ii), and (iii)  of 
this Rule shall be in writing, and 
signed and dated by the person or 
persons making the appraisal.  
Additionally, the appraisal must 
identify the loan transaction for 
which it was made, the current 
balance of prior lien and holder of the 
lien, if any, disclosed by the 
attorney's title certificate, segregate 
values of improvements from values 
of the land, and describe the property 
so as to make it easily identifiable.  If 
a professional appraisal form is used 

which does not include this 
information, the bank must complete 
and attach to such appraisal its own 
appraisal form disclosing the required 
information.  The appraisal must state 
the basis or approach used to 
determine the value of the property.  
Acceptable approaches to 
determining the value of real property 
are: 
(i) The current cost of replacing 

a property, less depreciation 
relating to deterioration in 
functional and economic 
obsolescence. 

(ii) The value indicated by 
recent sales of comparable 
properties in the market and 
other market factors such as 
listings and offers to sell. 

(iii) The value that the property's 
net earning power will 
support, based on a 
capitalization of net income. 

(c) All real estate given as security to 
loans in an amount over two hundred 
fifty thousand dollars ($250,000.00), 
whether directly or indirectly pledged 
shall be appraised and such appraisal 
shall be subject to the provisions of 
12 C.F.R. 321.1 through 12 C.F.R. 
323.7, which are herein incorporated 
by reference.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-
21.6, any reference to 12 C.F.R. 
323.1 through 12 C.F.R. 323.7 shall 
automatically include any later 
amendments or additions to those 
rules. 

(5) Certificate of Title.  For loans secured 
primarily by real property, property 
and only secondarily by the 
borrower's general credit worthiness 
and projected income, a certificate of 
title furnished by an attorney at law 
or, title insurance issued by a 
company licensed by the 
Commissioner of Insurance, or other 
insurance coverage that provides to 
the bank substantially similar 
protection against loss from title 
defects or errors/omissions at closing 
or other loan-related risks, must 
accompany each deed of trust or 
mortgage given as security on loans 
of twenty fifty thousand dollars 
($20,000.00)($50,000) or more.  
Provided that any loan which is based 
primarily on the borrower's general 
creditworthiness and projected 
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income, whether or not accompanied 
by a deed of trust or mortgage, is not 
considered a loan secured by real 
property, and the first sentence of this 
Item shall not apply to any such loan. 

(6) Stock Certificate/Powers.  Where 
stock certificates, or similar 
securities, are accepted as collateral 
to loans, each certificate must be 
endorsed and witnessed in ink, or 
accompanied by a stock power signed 
and witnessed in ink.  Where such 
collateral is in the name of another, 
other than the maker or endorser of 
the note, there must be on file in the 
bank written authority from the 
owner permitting the hypothecation 
of the collateral. 

(7) Corporate Resolutions.  Loans made 
directly to corporations must be 
supported by certified copies of 
resolutions of the board of directors 
of the corporation, authorizing the 
making of such loans. 

(8) Partnership Declaration.  Loans made 
directly to partnerships must be 
supported by a declaration by the 
partners showing the composition of 
the partnership and unless all partners 
sign the note, the authority of the 
partner(s) executing the note to bind 
the partnership. 

(9) Limited Liability Company 
Certification.  Loans made directly to 
limited liability companies must be 
supported by a certification of a 
manager thereof that the loan is 
authorized and is obtained for the 
carrying on in the usual way the 
business of the limited liability 
company. 

(9)(10) Unlisted Securities.  Full credit 
information on all unlisted securities, 
now owned or hereafter purchased or 
acquired, must be secured and kept 
on file in the bank. 

  
Authority G.S. 53-92; 53-104; 53-110. 
  
04 NCAC 03C .1002 LEASING OF PERSONAL  
PROPERTY 
Each bank or branch thereof acquiring and leasing personal 
property or personal property subject to an existing lease 
together with the lessor's interest therein and incurring such 
additional obligations as may be incident to becoming an owner 
and lessor of such property may do so only when subject to the 
following restrictions: 

(1) Before the acquisition thereof upon the 
specific request and for the use of the customer 

the prospective lessee shall execute an 
agreement to lease such property. 

(2) During the minimum period of the lease, terms 
require payment to the bank rentals which in 
the aggregate will exceed the total 
expenditures by the bank for or in connection 
with the ownership, maintenance, and 
protection of the property.  In determining the 
total expenditures under this Regulation, a 
bank may deduct a realistic residual value in 
determining the rentals to be charged during 
the term of a lease agreement.  Any 
unguaranteed portion of the estimated residual 
value relied upon by the bank to calculate total 
expenditures under this Regulation may not 
exceed 25 percent of the original cost of the 
property to the lessor.  The amount of any 
estimated residual value guaranteed by a 
manufacturer, the lessee, or a third party, 
which is not an affiliate of the bank, may 
exceed 25 percent of the original cost of the 
property where the bank has determined, and 
can provide full, supporting documentation, 
that the guarantor has the resources to meet the 
guarantee. 

(3) The total leasing obligations or rentals to any 
bank of any person, partnership association, or 
corporation  corporation; or limited liability 
company shall at no time exceed the legal limit 
permitted by G.S. 53-48. 

(4) The overall investment of the bank in such 
property leased to all lessees shall at no time 
exceed 200 percent of its unimpaired capital 
fund as defined in G.S. 53-1(9). 

(5) The bank shall at all times maintain adequate 
protection by way of insurance or indemnity 
provided by the lessee. 

(6) No such lease or other agreement shall 
obligate the bank to maintain, repair, or 
service personal property in connection with 
any lease held by it. 

(7) No personal property acquired pursuant to the 
ownership or lease of personal property shall 
be included in the computable investment in 
fixed assets under G.S. 53-43(3). 

(8) Rental payments collected by the bank under 
lease arrangements shall be rent and shall not 
be deemed to be interest or compensation for 
the use of money loaned. 

(9) Upon expiration of any lease whether by virtue 
of the lease agreement or by virtue of the 
retaking of possession by the bank, such 
personal property shall be re-let, sold, or 
otherwise disposed of, or charged off within 
one year from the time of expiration of such 
lease. 

(10) Upon written request and for good cause 
shown, the Commissioner may waive or 
modify any of the foregoing restrictions.  In 
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evaluating such a request, the Commissioner 
shall consider such factors as: 
(a) the bank's size, profitability, capital 

sufficiency, risk profile, market, and 
operational capabilities, especially 
with a view towards the bank's 
involvement in lease financing; 

(b) current best practices of financial 
institutions engaged in lease 
financing; 

(c) the nature, size, duration, aggregate 
amount, and other risks attendant to 
the bank's lease financing 
transactions; 

(d) the risk of significant loss to the bank 
if the Commissioner does not grant 
the request.  

 
Authority G.S. 53-92; 53-104. 
 

SECTION .1100 - CAPITAL 
 
04 NCAC 03C .1101 DEFINITIONS: ISSUANCE OF  
CAPITAL NOTES AND DEBENTURES 
For the purposes of this Section, the following definitions 
shall apply: 

(1) Capital Note.  Any unsecured note or 
debenture issued by a bank that qualifies as 
capital pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 53-
1(9). 

(2) Convertible Debentures.  A debenture which 
is convertible into the capital stock of the 
issuing bank. 

(3) Debenture.  An unsecured promise to pay 
issued under the terms of a deed of trust or 
indenture. 

(4) Long-Term Note or Debentures.  Any note 
or debenture having a maturity of more than 
seven years. 

(5) Medium-Term Note or Debentures.  Any 
note or debenture having a maturity of not 
less than one or more than seven years. 

(6) Non-convertible Debentures.  A debenture 
which may not be converted into the shares 
of the capital stock of the issuing bank. 

(7) Subordinated Debentures.  Debentures 
which are subordinated to and junior in right 
of payment to a banker's obligations to its 
depositors, its obligations under banker's 
acceptances and letters of credit, its 
obligations to any Federal Reserve Bank and 
any similar obligations to its other creditors, 
which, in the event of insolvency, 
receivership, conservatorship, 
reorganization, readjustment of debt, 
marshaling of assets and liabilities or like 
proceedings, or in any liquidation or 

winding up of or relating to the bank, 
whether voluntary or involuntary, shall be 
entitled to be paid in full before any amount 
shall be made on account of the principal of, 
or premium, if any, or interest on the 
debentures or notes. 

 
Authority G.S. 53-43.4; 53-92; 53-104. 
 
04 NCAC 03C .1102 CAPITAL DEBENTURES AND  
NOTES 
(a)  Application for the issuance of such long-term debentures or 
notes shall be in such form as the Commissioner of Banks may 
prescribe and each applicant will furnish to the Commissioner all 
information which he requests, together with a full statement and 
explanation of the need for the funds proposed to be borrowed, 
and the use proposed to be made of such funds. 
(b)  The Commissioner of Banks shall not pass upon any 
application for nor give his approval to the issuance of any 
long-term nonconvertible debentures or notes unless and until 
the same shall have been approved by the bank's board of 
directors.  Approval by stockholders is not required in 
connection with the issuance of any long-term nonconvertible 
debentures or notes. 
The Commissioner of Banks shall not pass upon any application 
for nor give his approval to the issuance of any long-term 
convertible debentures unless and until the same shall have been 
approved at a stockholders' meeting by the holders of two-thirds 
of the outstanding capital stock of the bank.  Prior to any 
meeting of the shareholders, at which approval of long-term 
convertible debentures is sought, a copy of the proposed 
debenture or agreement shall be mailed or otherwise delivered to 
each stockholder together with full and adequate notice that such 
proposal is to be submitted at the meeting. 
(c)  The indebtedness of the bank evidenced by any long-term 
debentures or notes, including the principal thereof and 
premium, if any, and interest thereon, shall be subordinate and 
junior in right of payment to its obligations to its depositors, its 
obligations under banker's acceptances and letters of credit, its 
obligations to any Federal Reserve Bank and any similar 
obligations to its other creditors, whether now outstanding or 
hereafter incurred, in that in case of any insolvency, 
receivership, conservatorship, reorganization, readjustment of 
debt, marshaling of assets and liabilities, or similar proceedings 
or any liquidation or winding up of or relating to the bank, 
whether voluntary or involuntary, all such obligations shall be 
entitled to be paid in full before any payment shall be made on 
account of the principal of, or premium, if any, or interest on the 
debentures or notes.  The provisions of this Paragraph shall be 
incorporated in every long-term debenture, note, and agreement 
with respect to the purchase or sale of such debentures or notes. 
(d)  No long-term debentures or notes shall be issued in an 
amount in excess of 50 percent of the combined capital stock 
and unimpaired surplus of the bank. 
(e)  The terms and conditions of any issue of or prepayment of 
capital debentures or notes must have the prior approval of the 
Commissioner of Banks affirming that in his opinion such issue 
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or prepayment is in the best interest of the depositors, creditors 
and stockholders of the bank. 
(f)  Such long-term debentures or notes shall not be subject to 
being converted into capital stock of the issuing bank without 
prior consent of the Commissioner of Banks and under 
conditions as he may approve. 
(g)  Such long-term debentures or notes may be treated as 
meeting the requirements of the unimpaired capital fund as 
defined in G.S. 53-1(9) provided such debentures or notes shall 
have an average original maturity of at least seven years and 
have been specifically designated as part of the bank's 
unimpaired capital fund by resolution duly adopted by the Board 
of directors of the bank.  Such debentures or notes shall not be 
treated as meeting any capital requirements for branching 
authority. 
(h)  Any bank chartered by the State of North Carolina which 
issues long-term debentures or notes shall not acquire or hold 
any such of its own debentures or notes in carrying out its duties 
in investing any funds which it holds in trust, or in its own 
assets.  Any bank with the prior approval of the Commissioner 
of Banks may purchase any of its own outstanding debentures 
provided they are immediately retired. 
 
Authority G.S. 53-1; 53-43.4; 53-92; 53-104. 
 

SECTION .1300 - BANK PERSONNEL 
04 NCAC 03C .1301 ANNUAL VACATION 
(a)  Every bank or branch thereof, under the supervision of 
the Commissioner of Banks, must grant to each officer and 
employee an annual vacation period of at least five working 
days.  The annual vacation period must be granted on 
consecutive working days and each officer and employee 
must remain absent from his duties continuously throughout 
the vacation period.  This Rule shall not apply to any 
specified individual, officer or employee or group or class of 
officers or employees, upon application by any bank or 
branch thereof and with the approval of the Commissioner of 
Banks. 
(b)  This Rule does not apply to those officers and employees 
who have been in a bank's employment for a period of less 
than one year.  Neither does this Regulation apply to 
employees of a bank's incorporated subsidiary when the 
employee does not perform any banking services or duties for 
the parent bank. 
 
Authority G.S. 53-92; 53-104. 
 
 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Code Officials Qualification Board/ NC Department of 
Insurance intends to amend the rules cited as 11 NCAC 08 .0713 
and .0720. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date: January 23, 2007 
Time: 1:00 p.m. 
Location: 322 Chapanoke Road, Room 100, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Technical amendments for 
continuing education requirements and approved courses. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The Code Officials Qualification Board/ NC 
Department of Insurance will accept written objections to these 
rules until the expiration of the comment period on February 13, 
2007. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Ellen K. Sprenkel, 1201 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1201, phone (919) 733-
4529, fax (919) 733-6495, email esprenke@ncdoi.net 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 08 - ENGINEERING AND BUILDING CODES 

DIVISION 
 
SECTION .0700 - QUALIFICATION BOARD-STANDARD 

CERTIFICATE 
 
11 NCAC 08 .0713 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  To be eligible to renew a certificate, whether active standard 
or active limited, a Code Enforcement Official (CEO) shall have 
completed the requisite number of credit hours by June 30, 2007, 
and each June 30 thereafter. 
(b)  A credit hour is 60 50 minutes of class contact course 
instruction or 60 50 minutes of distance learning time. 
(c)  A CEO with an active limited certificate must shall complete 
six hours of continuing education courses per renewal year in 
each technical area for which the limited certificate is valid.  A 
CEO with an active standard certificate must shall complete six 
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hours of continuing education courses per renewal year for each 
standard certificate.  A CEO with a limited and a standard 
certificate valid for the same technical area must shall complete 
only six hours for that technical area. 
(d)  A CEO with only a probationary certificate and no standard 
or limited certificate is not required to complete any continuing 
education courses. 
(e)  If a course exceeds the number of credit hours specified for 
renewal of a technical area certificate, the excess credit hours 
may be carried forward into the following renewal year of that 
technical area certificate.  The number of carry over carry-
forward credit hours may shall not exceed six. 
(f)  Within 180 days prior to or subsequent to the effective date 
of a new edition of the Building Code, each CEO must complete 
Building Code coursework offered by the Engineering and 
Building Codes Division of the Department of Insurance, or 
offered by a course sponsor approved in accordance with 11 
NCAC 08 .0718.  In order to meet this requirement, the CEO 
must complete two credit hours of coursework in each area in 
which that CEO holds certificates.  The coursework shall 
address Code changes appearing in the new edition of the Code.  
The credit hours received for completion of this coursework 
shall be credited towards the continuing education requirements 
for a CEO.  Any additional credit hours of coursework taken 
may be applied towards the continuing education requirement 
for that renewal year or towards carry-over credit subject to the 
limitations of Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-151.13A(b); 143-151.13A(f)(1); 143-
151.13A(f)(4); 143-151.13A(f)(5); 143-151.16(b). 
 
11 NCAC 08 .0720 APPROVED COURSES 
(a)  To be approved for credit in the continuing education 
program, a course must shall be directly related to State Building 
Codes, inspection, administration, or enforcement of State 
Building Codes; construction or design of buildings or electrical, 
mechanical, plumbing, or fire prevention systems; or 
certification courses approved for CEOs. 
(b)  Credit shall be given only for courses that have been 
approved by the Board.  Continuing education courses for other 
State occupational licenses must be specifically approved to 
satisfy the Board's continuing education requirements.  Courses 
from approved sponsors must be specifically approved before 
being offered. 
(c)  Some courses shall be approved for credit in more than one 
area of certification.  A CEO with multiple certificates may 
apply the credit to any certificate for which the course is 
approved.  If the course hours are greater than required for one 
certificate, the remaining hours may be applied to other 
certificates for which the course is approved or the remaining 
hours may be carried over in accordance with 11 NCAC 08 
.0713(e). 
(d)  A CEO shall only receive credit for the same course once 
within any three-year period. 
(e)  A course shall contain a minimum of one credit hour. 
(f)  A CEO may select a course other than one offered by an 
approved provider.  In order to obtain approval for the course, 
the CEO shall, upon completion of the course, submit an 
application for approval on a form provided by the Board.  The 

application shall include: The topic, content of lecture material, 
date, time, location, name and qualifiers of the instructor, and 
the number of course contact hours received upon completion of 
the course.  In lieu of the form, the CEO may submit a course 
brochure that contains all of the information required by the 
form. The CEO shall also provide verification of attendance 
from the course instructor.  The Board shall not accept any 
applications for course approval under this paragraph after April 
30 of each year. 
(g)  Approved instructors shall receive twice the number of 
course credit hours for each instructional hour in an approved 
course.  An instructor shall only receive twice the number of 
course credit hours for the same course once within any two-
year period. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-151.13A(f)(1); 143-151.13A(f)(4). 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Department of Insurance intends to adopt 
the rule cited as 11 NCAC 11F .0801. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 4, 2007 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  3rd Floor Hearing Room, Dobbs Building, 430 North 
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC   
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To be consistent with NAIC 
standards 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The Department of Insurance will accept 
written objections to this rule until the expiration of the comment 
period on February 13, 2007. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Ellen K. Sprenkel, 1201 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1201, phone (919) 733-
4529, fax (919) 733-6495, email esprenke@ncdoi.net 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
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concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 11 - FINANCIAL EVALUATION DIVISION 

 
SUBCHAPTER 11F - ACTUARIAL 

 
SECTION .0800 – PREFERRED CLASS STRUCTURE 

MORTALITY TABLE 
 
11 NCAC 11F .0801 MODEL REGULATION  
PERMITTING THE RECOGNITION OF PREFERRED  
MORTALITY TABLES FOR USE IN DETERMINING  
MINIMUM RESERVE LIABILITIES 
(a)  The North Carolina Department of Insurance incorporates by 
reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, the 
National Association of Insurance Commissioners Model No. 
815, Model Regulation Permitting the Recognition of Preferred 
Mortality Tables for Use in Determining Minimum Reserve 
Liabilities.  Copies of Model No. 815 may be obtained from:  
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners, 2301 
McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108-1662; the North 
Carolina Department of Insurance, Actuarial Services Division, 
1201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1201; and from 
the Department of Insurance web page at  
http://www.ncdoi.com/. 
(b)  For purposes of this Rule, Section 2 of Model No. 815 shall 
read as follows: 

The purpose of this regulation  is to recognize, permit 
and prescribe the use of mortality tables that reflect 
differences in mortality between Preferred and Standard 
lives in determining minimum reserve liabilities in 
accordance with G.S. 58-58-50(c)(2)(a), 11 NCAC 11F 
.0403(a), and 11 NCAC 11F .0403(b). 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, Section 4 of Model No. 815 shall 
read as follows: 

At the election of the company, for each calendar year 
of issue, for any one or more specified plans of 
insurance and subject to satisfying the conditions stated 
in this regulation, the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 
Structure Mortality Table may be substituted in place of 
the 2001 CSO Smoker or Nonsmoker Mortality Table 
as the minimum valuation standard for policies issued 
on or after January 1, 2007. No such election shall be 
made until the company demonstrates that at least 20% 
of the business to be valued on this table is in one or 
more of the preferred classes. A table from the 2001 
CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table used in 
place of a 2001 CSO Mortality Table, pursuant to the 
requirements of this regulation, will be treated as part of 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table only for purposes of 
reserve valuation pursuant to the requirements of 11 

NCAC 11F .0601, 11 NCAC 11F .0602, 11 NCAC 11F 
.0603, and 11 NCAC 11F .0604. 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, Paragraph C of Section 3, and 
Paragraph C of Section 5 of Model No. 815 are not applicable. 
 
Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-50(k). 
 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the 
rule cited as 12 NCAC 11 .0210. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 17, 2007 
Time:  1:00 p.m. 
Location:  Conference Room, ASLB Office, 1631 Midtown 
Place, #104, Raleigh, NC  27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The Board determined in 1995 
that it was important for any firm, association, corporation, 
department, division, or branch office to employ an individual 
who holds an electrical license.  The Board proposes to amend 
the rule to require that the electrical licensee be employed full-
time. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections should be submitted in writing to 
Director Terry Wright, Alarm Systems Licensing Board, 1631 
Midtown Place, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC  27609.  All written 
comments should be submitted on or before the expiration of the 
public comment period. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Terry Wright, 1631 Midtown 
Place, Suite #104, Raleigh, NC  27609, phone (919) 875-3611 
 
Comment period ends:  March 5, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  
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 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 11 - NORTH CAROLINA ALARM SYSTEMS 

LICENSING BOARD 
 

SECTION .0200 - PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 
 
12 NCAC 11 .0210 ELECTRICAL CONTRACTING  
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
Each firm, association, corporation, department, division, or 
branch office required to be licensed pursuant to G.S. 74D-2(a) 
must maintain at all times employ on a full-time basis a licensee 
or registered employee who holds a license for either a SP-LV, 
limited, intermediate or unlimited examination as administered 
by the North Carolina Board of Examiners of Electrical 
Contractors.  Pursuant to 12 NCAC 11 .0206, each firm, 
association, corporation, department, division, or branch office 
must maintain in its records a copy of the licensee's or registered 
employee's Electrical Contractors License.  In the event the 
licensee holding the electrical contractor's license ceases to 
perform his duties, the business entity shall notify the Board in 
writing within 10 working days.  The business entity must obtain 
a substitute electrical contractor licensee within 30 days after the 
original electrical licensee ceases to serve. 
 
Authority G.S. 74D-2(a); 74D-5. 
 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Department of Labor intends to amend the 
rule cited as 13 NCAC 15 .0703. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 17, 2007 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  4 West Edenton Street, Raleigh, NC 27699 (Room 
249) 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Department of Labor 
proposes to amend 13 NCAC 15 .0703 in order to clarify the fee 
for inspection of rock walls.  Certain rock walls are considered 
"amusement devices" pursuant to the NCGS 95.111.3(a), and 
have been inspected as such in the past.  This proposed rule 
would clarify the fee that is charged for those inspections and is 
consistent with what has been charged for those inspections in 

the past.  Additionally, The Amusement Device Safety Act 
authorizes the Commissioner of Labor to establish fees "not to 
exceed $250.00 for the inspection and issuance of certificates of 
operation."  The current fees were established through 
temporary rulemaking on October 17, 2001 and became 
permanent on July 1, 2003.  Since that time, expenses associated 
with the inspection of amusement devices throughout the State 
have increased such that it is necessary to increase the fees 
charged for said inspections. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections to the proposed rules may be 
submitted, in writing, to Erin T. Gould, Assistant Rulemaking 
Coordinator, via United States mail at the following address:  
1101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101; 
or via facsimile at (919) 733- 4235.  Objections may also be 
submitted during the public hearings conducted on this rule, 
which is noticed above.  Objections shall include the specific 
rule citation(s) for the objectionable rule(s), the nature of the 
objection(s), and the complete name(s) and contact information 
for the individual(s) submitting the objection.  Objections must 
be received by 5:00 p.m. on February 13, 2007. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Erin T. Gould, 1101 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1101, phone (919) 733-
7885, fax (919) 733-4235, email erin.gould@nclabor.com 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 

 
CHAPTER 15 - ELEVATOR AND AMUSEMENT DEVICE DIVISION 

 
SECTION .0700 – FEES 

 
13 NCAC 15 .0703 AMUSEMENT DEVICE  
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INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 
Inspection fees for amusement devices shall be as follows: 

Equipment       Unit Fee  Inspection Required 
(a) Inflatables and Rock Walls     $100.00  Annually 
(b) Kiddie Rides (48" maximum height restriction) 

or Go Karts       $30.00$45.00 Every setup, except  
           in permanent parks,  
           which shall be  
           inspected annually 
(c) Major Rides (including water slides)    $60.00 $90.00 Every setup, except 
           permanent parks, 
           which shall be 
           inspected annually 
(d) Roller Coasters, other than mobile or 

portable roller coasters      $250.00  Annually 
 
Authority G.S. 95-107; 95-111.4(19). 
 
 
TITLE 14A – DEPARTMENT OF CRIME CONTROL AND 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Crime Control and Public Safety/State Highway Patrol 
intends to amend the rules cited as 14A NCAC 09H .0308, .0310 
- .0311, .0313 - .0317, and .0320 - .0324. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 18, 2007 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  SHP Troop C Headquarters, 1831 Blue Ridge Road, 
Raleigh, NC  27607 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Agency desires to improve 
existing rules. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  The agency will accept written objections to the 
proposed rule amendments until the expiration of the comment 
period on February 13, 2007. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Joseph P. Dugdale, General 
Counsel, 4702 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27609-4702, 
phone (919) 733-5007, fax (919) 733-1189, email 
dpdugdale@ncshp.org 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 

G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 09 - STATE HIGHWAY PATROL 

 
SUBCHAPTER 09H - ENFORCEMENT REGULATIONS 

 
SECTION .0300 - WRECKER SERVICE 

 
14A NCAC 09H .0308 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply to the words and phrases 
found in this Chapter.  

(1) Applicant.  A person or corporation owning a 
wrecker service and applying for inclusion on 
the Patrol Rotation Wrecker List.  

(2) Wrecker Service.  A person or corporation 
engaged in the business of, or offering the 
services of, and owning a wrecker service or 
towing service whereby motor vehicles are or 
may be towed or otherwise removed from one 
place to another by the use of a motor vehicle 
manufactured and designed for the primary 
purpose of removing and towing disabled 
motor vehicles.  

(3) Car Carrier or "Rollback".  A vehicle transport 
designed to tow or carry vehicles damage-free.  
The truck chassis shall have a minimum gross 
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 14,500 
pounds.  Two lift cylinders, minimum two and 
one-half inch bore; Individual power winch 
pulling capacity of not less than 8,000 pounds; 
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50 feet of 5/16 inch cable a sufficient length of 
wire rope (cable) on winch drum; drum with a 
working load limit (WLL) that meets or 
exceeds the pulling capacity of the power 
winch utilized; and four tie down hook safety 
chains.  The carrier bed shall be a minimum of 
16 feet in length and a minimum of 84 inches 
in width inside side rails.  A cab protector, 
constructed of aluminum or steel, must extend 
a minimum of 10 inches above the height of 
the bed.  A "rollback" is not considered a small 
or large wrecker. 

(4) Computerized Rotation Wrecker List.  The 
names of those Wrecker Services that have 
been approved by the District First Sergeant to 
be included on the Patrol Rotation Log and 
entered in the Computer Assisted Dispatch 
(CAD) System.  There shall be separate 
rotation wrecker lists for large and small 
wreckers for each Rotation Wrecker Zone. 

(5) Debris. Includes, but is not limited to, any 
parts of a vehicle or material that may be 
strewn upon the surface of the roadway or 
highway right-of-way as a result of the 
collision and which may reasonably be cleared 
or removed. This definition shall also include 
any mud, soil, antifreeze, transmission, brake 
or other liquids/fluids that have been deposited 
onto the surface of the roadway as a result of a 
vehicle collision.  Debris does not include 
cargo from property hauling vehicles.   

(6)(5) Large Wrecker.  A truck chassis having a 
minimum gross vehicle weight (GVWR) of 
26,001 pounds and a boom assembly having a 
minimum lifting capacity of 40,000 pounds as 
rated by the manufacturer; tandem axles or cab 
to axle length of no less than 102 inches; 150 
feet or more of 5/8 inch or larger cable a 
sufficient length of wire rope (cable) with a 
working load limit (WLL) that meets or 
exceeds the pulling capacity of the power 
winch utilized on each drum; airbrake so 
constructed as to lock wheels automatically 
upon failure; and additional safety equipment 
as specified by these Rules.  Any wrecker 
service, which was on the list as of June 9, 
2000, be allowed to remain on the large list 
until the vehicle is replaced or until January 1, 
2003, which ever occurs first. 

(7)(6) Manual Rotation Wrecker List.  A list of 
names of those wreckers that have been 
approved by the District First Sergeant to be 
included on the Patrol Rotation Wrecker List 
and entered into a Manual list that is to be used 
only when the CAD System is down.  There 
shall be separate manual lists for large and 
small wreckers for each Rotation Wrecker 
Zone.  These lists shall be maintained by the 
Troop Communications Center. 

(8)(7) Minor Violations.  Violations of these 
regulations which do not require removal for a 
definitive time, may be readily corrected, and 
do not involve a criminal act or pose a threat to 
the safety and well being of the public. 

(9)(8) Major Violations.  All violations of the 
regulations not determined to be minor. 

(10) Open Enrollment Period.  The period of time 
between November 1st – November 30th each 
calendar year in which applications or 
reapplications for inclusion to the Highway 
Patrol Rotation Wrecker List for the next 
calendar year may be submitted.  

(11)(9) Rotation Wrecker List.  A list of wrecker 
services that have met the rules of the Patrol 
and whose vehicles are properly registered 
with the Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(12)(10) Removal.  Being taken off the Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List for a determinate or 
indeterminate period of time. 

(13)(11) Storage Facility.  A sufficiently lighted off 
street storage facility secured by a minimum 6 
foot high chain link fence, or a fence of similar 
strength, or other barrier sufficient to deter 
trespassing or vandalism; and where all 
entrances and exits are secure from public 
access.  Storage facilities located on the 
property of another business must be separated 
by a minimum six-foot chain link fence, or a 
fence of similar strength, or other barrier 
sufficient to deter trespassing or vandalism; 
have separate entrances and exits; and be 
utilized solely for the business.  The lot shall 
be of sufficient size to accommodate all 
vehicles towed by the wrecker service for the 
Patrol.  Storage facilities shared by two or 
more wrecker services may not be used to 
satisfy the facility requirement in Section 
.0321(a)(2). 

(14)(12) Small Wrecker means a truck chassis having a 
minimum gross vehicle weight (GVWR) 
rating of 10,000 pounds and a maximum 
GVWR of that does not exceed 26,000 
pounds; a boom assembly having a minimum 
lifting power of 8,000 pounds as rated by the 
manufacturer; an 8,000 pound rated winch 
with at least 100 feet of 3/8 inch cable; a 
sufficient length of wire rope (cable) on winch 
drum with a working load limit (WLL) that 
meets or exceeds the pulling capacity of the 
power winch utilized; a belt-type tow plate or 
tow sling assembly; a wheel-lift with a 
retracted lifting capacity of no less than 3,500 
pounds; dual rear wheels; and additional safety 
equipment as specified by the rules.  

(15)(13) Rotation Wrecker Zone means a geographic 
area which may encompass all or part of a 
District of a Troop. 
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(16)(14) Member means all uniformed personnel of the 
Patrol who are charged with enforcement 
duties, including troopers and officers, 
noncommissioned and commissioned. duties.  

 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0310 SECURING VEHICLES WHEN  
OPERATOR IS ARRESTED 
Upon arresting or placing a vehicle operator in custody a 
member shall: 

(1) With consent of owner, operator, or legal 
possessor, allow another licensed, competent 
individual to drive or move the vehicle to a 
position off the roadway; or 

(2) If no licensed, competent operator is present, 
or if the owner, operator, or legal possessor 
will not consent to such removal: 
(a) Move the vehicle, if necessary, to a 

position off the roadway, lock the 
vehicle and return the key to the 
owner, operator, or legal possessor; 
possessor, except that, in any case 
where the operator if the vehicle is 
arrested for DWI, a member shall 
either turn the keys over to the 
magistrate/jailer or, when appropriate, 
to a sober, responsible person; or 

(b) With or without consent of the owner, 
operator, or legal possessor, transport 
and store vehicle in accordance with 
14A NCAC 09H .0311. 

 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0311 VEHICLES TRANSPORTED  
AND STORED OVER OBJECTION OF OWNER 
A member may transport and store a vehicle over the objection 
or without consent of the owner, operator, or legal possessor 
when: 

(1) The vehicle cannot be lawfully parked off the 
roadway; or 

(2) The vehicle is lawfully parked off the roadway 
but creates a hazard; or 

(3) The owner, operator, or legal possessor refuses 
or is unable to remove the vehicle from the 
roadway; or 

(4) The vehicle is subject to seizure pursuant to 
G.S. 20-28.3 or other lawful authority. 
authority; 

(5) The vehicle is being held pursuant to G.S. 20-
96. 

 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0313 TRANSPORTING AND  
STORING VEHICLES 
(a)  A member shall arrange transportation and safe storage of a 
vehicle pursuant to this wrecker service Directive. 

(b)  A member who authorizes the transportation and storage of 
a vehicle shall, in every case, immediately notify the appropriate 
Communications Center and request a wrecker service in 
accordance with these rules and furnish information necessary to 
complete a Signal 4 (Report of Vehicle Stored or Recovered).  
The member shall notify the Communications Center in any case 
where a rollback should not be dispatched. 
(c)  A member shall notify the Communications Center 
whenever he transports or stores a vehicle.  If the vehicle is 
towed, stored, or removed to the shoulder of the road and left at 
the scene at the request of or with the consent of the owner, 
operator, or legal possessor, the member shall mark the 
applicable entries on the HP-305 and obtain the signature of the 
person making the request or giving the consent.  Refusal to sign 
the HP-305 shall be deemed a withdrawal of the consent or 
request to tow.  In such a situation, members shall be governed 
by Rule .0311 of this Section. 
(d)  A member shall, when notified by a magistrate of a hearing 
regarding payment of towing or storage fees, appear in person at 
the hearing or file HP-305.1 "Affidavit" with the magistrate prior 
to the hearing. 
(e)  When necessary for accident reconstruction or a criminal 
investigation in which multiple vehicles are involved in an 
incident a single storage location may be designated.  The 
storage facility of the first wrecker service dispatched shall be 
used unless otherwise designated by a supervisor. 
(f)  When necessary for an accident reconstruction or a criminal 
investigation, a member may designate at which indoor or other 
appropriate storage facility a vehicle shall be stored to ensure 
preservation of the evidence.  The storage facility shall be the 
first wrecker service dispatched unless otherwise designated by a 
supervisor. 
(g)  DWI seized vehicles shall be towed and stored in 
accordance with instructions from the County School Board or 
state or regional contractor. 
(h)  Vehicles stored pursuant to G.S. 20-96 shall be held by the 
towing/storage company until all civil assessment(s) have been 
satisfied and release is approved by the investigating member. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0314 NOTIFICATION 
(a)  Unless exempted by vehicle seizure law, a registered owner 
must be notified of the vehicle being towed and stored.  In order 
to accomplish this, the authorizing member shall immediately 
notify the appropriate Troop Communications Center of the 
following: 

(1) a description of the vehicle; 
(2) the place where the vehicle is stored; 
(3) the procedure the owner must follow to have 

the vehicle returned to him; and 
(4) the procedure the owner must follow to 

request a probable cause hearing on the 
towing. 

(b)  Upon notification by theA member who authorized the 
towing and/or storage of a vehicle in the absence of the 
registered owner, the Troop Communications Center shall, as 
soon as practicable, attempt to notify the owner of such towing 
and/or storage.  The member The Troop Communications Center 
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shall attempt to contact the owner by telephone or request a 
Telecommunicator to attempt to contact the owner by telephone 
and provide the owner with the location of the vehicle.  At least 
three attempts must be made for vehicles registered in North 
Carolina and one attempt for vehicles registered out-of-state.  A 
member or the The Telecommunicator must record the person 
contacted or the attempts made. 
(c)  Whether or not the owner is reached by telephone, a copy of 
the HPC-305.2 (Vehicle Towing/Notification, which is 
computer-generated at the Troop Communications Center) shall 
be mailed to the last registered owner by the Troop 
Communications Center.  In the absence of an HP-305 signed by 
the registered owner, Form HPC-305.2 shall be mailed to the 
owner within 24 hours.  A duplicate copy of the HPC-305.2 is 
also computer-generated and will print automatically in the 
District office of the member. 
(d)  Whenever a vehicle with neither a valid registration plate 
nor registration is towed, in the absence of an HP-305 signed by 
the registered owner, the authorizing member shall make 
reasonable efforts, including checking the vehicle identification 
number, to determine the last known registered owner of the 
vehicle and to notify him of the information listed in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule. 
(e)  If a vehicle is seized pursuant to G.S. 20-28.3, the 
appropriate DMV notification form shall be completed and 
forwarded to DMV and to the statewide contractor within 72 24 
hours. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-28.3; 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0315 RELEASE OF VEHICLES 
Unless the vehicle is seized,If no justification to hold the vehicle 
exists, a member shall immediately authorize the release of a 
stored vehicle to the owner upon proof of ownership.ownership 
if no other justification to hold the vehicle exists. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0316 VEHICLE INVENTORY  
(a)  A member who authorizes the transportation and storage of a 
vehicle in the absence of Form HP-305 signed by the owner, 
operator, or legal possessor shall take reasonable precautions to 
protect all property in and on the vehicle. vehicle prior to 
removal from the scene. 
(b)  An HP-305 signed by the owner, operator, or legal possessor 
is documentation that the vehicle was not removed from the 
possession of such person; therefore, the completion of a vehicle 
inventory is not required. 
(c)  The storage and security of the vehicle and its contents 
become the responsibility of the towing company when the 
vehicle is towed from the scene and stored at the wrecker service 
storage facility.  If the vehicle is to be seized for subsequent 
forfeiture or stored at a Patrol facility, the arresting storing 
member may shall conduct an inventory, itemizing all property 
contained in the vehicle.vehicle and the estimated value. 
(d)  All vehicles which are inventoried under the above 
guidelines shall be inventoried at the time of storage unless an 
emergency situation dictates otherwise. 

(1) The inventory must be thorough and complete, 
listing all items that are toxic, explosive, 
flammable, or of monetary value. 

(2) Unless locked or security securely wrapped, 
all containers in the vehicle, whether open or 
closed, shall be opened to determine contents 
unless evidence is discovered to indicate that 
opening the container may subject the member 
to exposure of toxic, flammable, or explosive 
substances.  Locked or securely wrapped 
luggage, packages, and containers shall not be 
opened except as otherwise authorized by law 
or by owner consent, but shall be indicated on 
the inventory list as locked or securely 
wrapped items. 
(A) Any evidence found in plain view is 

admissible.  Locked or securely 
wrapped containers (luggage, attache 
attaché cases, etc.) are considered as 
units of inventory and cannot be 
searched without obtaining consent or 
a search warrant unless there is 
evident danger to the member or 
public. 

(B) The member may consider obtaining 
a search warrant when there is 
probable cause for a thorough search 
of the vehicle or its contents when 
time and conditions permit. 

 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0317 REIMBURSEMENT OF  
WRECKER OPERATORS 
(a)  A member shall promptly obtain a statement of 
transportation and storage fees from the wrecker operator 
involved when the court orders the release of any vehicle 
without payment of transportation and storage costs.  The 
member shall promptly transmit to the appropriate Zone 
Director, Director of Field Operations, through the chain-of-
command, the statement and a copy of the HP-305.1 in addition 
to any other relevant information. 
(b)  The Zone Director The Director of Field Operations shall, in 
consultation with the Patrol Commander, determine whether to 
appeal the action of the magistrate. 
(c)  The Patrol shall compensate the wrecker operator for 
reasonable transportation and storage fees in cases where no 
appeal is taken.  When an appeal is taken, the Patrol shall not 
compensate wrecker operators until all appeals are exhausted. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0320 ROTATION, ZONE, CONTRACT,  
AND DEVIATION FROM SYSTEM 
(a)  The Troop Commander shall arrange for the 
Telecommunications Center to maintain a rotation wrecker 
system within each District of the Troop which shall include the 
following: 
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(1) Separate computerized large and small rotation 
wrecker lists and manual rotation lists for the 
entire District whereby wrecker services are 
called in the order they appear on a list; 

(2) A zone system within the District with a 
rotation wrecker list being maintained in each 
Rotation Wrecker Zone; 

(3) A zone, contract or other system operated in 
conjunction with one or more local agencies; 
or 

(4) A combination of any such system. 
(b)  It is the policy of the Patrol to use the wrecker service 
requested by the vehicle owner or person in apparent control of 
the motor vehicle to be towed.  Patrol members shall not attempt 
to influence the person's choice of wrecker services, but may 
answer questions and provide factual information.  If no such 
request is made, the Patrol system in place in the Rotation 
Wrecker Zone will be used, absent an emergency or other 
legitimate reason. 
(c)  The Troop Commander, in his discretion, may deviate from 
any of these rules in emergency situations if there are 
insufficient wrecker services of the type needed within a District 
to meet the needs of the Patrol. 
(d)  The Telecommunicator shall enter in the computerized log 
the name of the wrecker service contacted and the response by 
the service to the request.  The date and time of the call is 
automatically recorded in the computerized log as well as the 
identification number of the Telecommunicator making the 
entry. 
(e)  In the event the computerized rotation wrecker list is not in 
service (CAD down), the member requesting wrecker service 
shall be notified and a wrecker from the manual rotation wrecker 
list will be utilized.  The Telecommunicator shall refer to the 
manual list that is maintained by the Telecommunicator Center 
Supervisor at each Communication Center.  The wrecker service 
name shall be entered on the slip log, the slip log will indicate 
CAD DOWN. 
(f)  Pursuant to G.S. 20-161(f), whenever a controlled-access 
highway is closed or partially blocked by a wrecked, abandoned, 
disabled, unattended, burned, or partially dismantled vehicle, 
cargo, or other personal property interfering with the regular 
flow of traffic, the priority shall be to clear the roadway as soon 
as possible. 
(g) Whenever vehicles are removed pursuant to Paragraph (f) of 
this Rule, investigating member(s) are authorized to request the 
closest available zone rotation wrecker service and/or available 
Department of Transportation (DOT) resource for the purpose of 
removing the obstruction from the roadway.  Members shall 
ensure that the requested wrecker service is capable of 
responding without delay, and is properly staffed and equipped 
to handle the request for service.  All requests for assistance 
from DOT shall be made through the appropriate 
Telecommunications Center, where a list of on-duty/recall DOT 
personnel with the authority to concur with the decision to 
implement Quick Clearance shall be maintained. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-161(f); 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0321 ROTATION WRECKER  

SERVICE REGULATIONS 
(a)  In order to assure that the needs of the Patrol are met, The 
Highway Patrol recognizes the need to utilize private wrecker 
services to remove abandoned, seized, damaged, or disabled 
vehicles from public roadways as part of its public safety 
responsibility. In order to assure that this public safety 
responsibility is accomplished, the Troop Commander shall 
include on the Patrol Rotation Wrecker List only those wrecker 
services which agree in writing to adhere to the following 
conditions: 

(1) Upon application for inclusion to the Patrol 
Rotation Wrecker List the owner of the 
wrecker service must complete a wrecker 
application form.  A Highway Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List shall be valid for the calendar 
year.  A wrecker service desiring to be 
included on the Highway Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List shall, on an annual basis 
complete a wrecker application on a form 
designated by the Patrol.  Once included, 
wrecker services that desire to remain on the 
Highway Patrol Rotation Wrecker List shall be 
required to reapply for inclusion annually on a 
form as may be designated by the Patrol.  All 
initial applications and reapplications shall be 
submitted to the appropriate District First 
Sergeant during the annual "Open Enrollment" 
period of November 1st – November 30th each 
calendar year.  Applications or reapplications 
for inclusion to the Highway Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List will only be accepted during the 
annual "Open Enrollment" period. 

(2) In order to be listed on a rotation wrecker list 
within a zone, a wrecker service must have a 
full-time business office within that Rotation 
Wrecker Zone that is manned staffed and open 
during normal business hours of 8:00 a.m. to 
5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding 
holidays, for business at least eight hours per 
day, five days per week, and a storage 
facility. A Storage facility for a small wrecker 
shall be located within the assigned zone. For 
wrecker services with large wreckers the 
storage facility for vehicles towed with the 
large wrecker may be located anywhere within 
the county. To be listed on the large rotation 
wrecker list, a wrecker service must have in 
operation at least one large wrecker. To be 
listed on the small rotation wrecker list, a 
wrecker service must have in operation at least 
one small wrecker. The Wrecker service must 
have someone available to accept telephone 
calls from the Patrol, and to allow access to 
towed vehicles, or to retrieve towed vehicles 
by the registered owner, operator, or legal 
possessor during business hours. The business 
office may not be the same physical address as 
the owner's residence unless zoned for 
commercial purposes and distinctly advertised 
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as a business property.  A representative from 
the wrecker service shall be available on call 
on a 24-hour basis, for emergencies and to 
allow the towed vehicle to be retrieved by the 
person having control over the towed vehicle.  
An individual (registered owner, legal 
possessor, or operator) shall not be charged a 
storage fee for days that he/she could not 
retrieve his/her vehicle as a result of an action 
or omission on the part of the wrecker service 
(such as where the wrecker service was not 
open, did not answer the telephone or a 
representative was not available to release the 
vehicle. 

(3) Wrecker service facilities and equipment, 
including vehicles, office, telephone lines, 
office equipment and storage facilities may not 
be shared with or otherwise located on the 
property of another wrecker service and must 
be independently insured.  Vehicles towed at 
the request of the Patrol must be placed in the 
approved storage owned and operated by the 
wrecker service on the rotation list. A storage 
facility for a small wrecker shall be located 
within the assigned zone.  For wrecker 
services with large wreckers the storage 
facility for vehicles towed with the large 
wrecker may be located anywhere within the 
county.  To be listed on the large rotation 
wrecker list, a wrecker service must have at 
least one approved large wrecker.  To be listed 
on the small rotation wrecker list, a wrecker 
service must have at least one small wrecker.  
In any case where husband and wife or other 
family members are engaged in the business of 
towing vehicles and desire to list each business 
separately on the Patrol wrecker rotation list, 
the burden will be on the wrecker service to 
establish that it is separate legal entity for 
every purpose, including federal and state tax 
purposes. 

(4)(3) Each wrecker must be equipped with legally 
required lighting and other safety equipment to 
protect the public and such equipment must be 
in good working order. 

(5)(4) Each wrecker on the Patrol Rotation Wrecker 
List must be equipped with the equipment 
required on the application list and such 
equipment must, at all times, be operating 
properly.  

(6)(5) The wrecker service operator must remove all 
debris, other than hazardous materials, from 
the highway and the right-of-way prior to 
leaving the incident/collision scene. This 
service must be completed as a part of the 
required rotation service and shall not be 
charged as an extra service provided. 
Hazardous materials consist of those materials 
and amounts that are required by law to be 

handled by local Hazardous Materials Teams.  
Hazardous Materials or extensive road clean-
up other than debris may be billed in quarter 
hour increments after the first hour on scene. 

(7)(6) The wrecker service must be available to the 
Patrol for rotation service on a 24 hour 24-
hour per day basis and accept collect calls (if 
applicable) from the Patrol.  Calls for service 
must not go unanswered for any reason.reason; 
failure to respond to calls for service may 
result in removal from the rotation wrecker 
list. 

(8)(7) Consistently respond, under normal 
conditions, in a timely manner.  Failure to 
respond in a timely manner may result in a 
second rotation wrecker being requested.  If 
the second wrecker is requested before the 
arrival of the first rotation wrecker, the initial 
requested wrecker will forfeit the call and will 
immediately leave the collision/incident scene. 

(9)(8) For Patrol-involved incidents, respond only 
upon request from proper Patrol authority or at 
the request of the person in apparent control of 
the vehicle to be towed. 

(10)(9) Impose reasonable charges for work 
performed and present one bill to the owner or 
operator of any towed vehicle.  Towing, 
storage and related fees charged may not be 
greater than fees charged for the same service 
for non-rotation calls. Wrecker services may 
secure assistance from another rotation 
wrecker service when necessary, but only one 
bill is to be presented to the owner or operator 
of the vehicle for the work performed.  A price 
list for recovery, towing and storage shall be 
established and kept on file at the place of 
business.  A price list for all small wreckers 
and rollbacks with a GVWR of less than 
26,001 pounds shallis to be furnished, in 
writing on a Patrol approved form, to the 
District First Sergeant during the annual 
"Open Enrollment" period with an effective 
date of January 1st of the following year.year 
and made available to customers upon request. 
The wrecker service shall notify the District 
First Sergeant in writing prior to any price 
change.  The District First Sergeant shall cause 
this price list to be filed under the appropriate 
wrecker service file located in the district 
office for review as necessary.  Vehicle 
storage per day indicated on the price list for 
all small wreckers and rollbacks with a 
GVWR of less than 26,001 pounds shall not 
exceed the maximum amount allowed by G.S. 
20-28.3 Storage fees shall not begin to accrue 
until the next calendar day following the initial 
towing of the vehicle.  Wrecker service towing 
fees for recovery and transport of vehicles 
after 5:00 p.m. and on weekends may not 
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exceed approved towing fees for recovery and 
transport of vehicles charged during regular 
"Business Hours" by more than 10%. A 
mileage fee may only be charged if the 
customer requests the vehicle to be towed to a 
location outside of the assigned wrecker zone 
or county.  If a mileage fee is warranted, the 
wrecker driver shall inform the owner, 
operator or legal possessor of the vehicle of 
any additional charge for mileage prior to 
towing.  Each Troop Commander shall 
designate a Troop Lieutenant to serve as a 
Rotation Wrecker Liaison for their respective 
Troop.  Price lists for all small wreckers and 
rollbacks with a GVWR of less than 26,001 
pounds shall then be forwarded to the 
appropriate Rotation Wrecker Liaison 
Lieutenant who shall review all price lists 
submitted for consideration in their respective 
Troop based upon a median of all proposed 
fees submitted in that Troop. Wrecker Services 
that submit fees that are determined to exceed 
the median fee by more than 15% shall be 
notified by the appropriate District First 
Sergeant and will be afforded the opportunity 
to resubmit fees only one additional time 
within five business days of notification.  Re-
submission of a price list that continues to 
exceed the median fee by more than 15% will 
disqualify the wrecker service from the 
Highway Patrol's Rotation Wrecker System 
until the next "Open Enrollment" which will 
commence on 1 November of the following 
year.  Upon approval, the individual price list 
for each respective wrecker service will be in 
effect beginning 1 January for the next 
calendar year and shall be made available to 
customers upon request.  Copies of the 
approved price list be maintained within each 
wrecker and shall be given to the owner, 
operator or legal possessor of a vehicle being 
towed as a result of a Highway Patrol rotation 
wrecker call by the wrecker driver, if the 
owner, operator or legal possessor of the 
vehicle being towed is present at the scene.  
Prices indicated on this form shall be the 
maximum amount that will be charged for a 
particular service and may not be increased 
during the specific calendar year in which they 
were approved; however, this does not prevent 
charges of a lesser amount for said service.   

(11)(10) Ensure that all wrecker operators have a valid 
drivers license for the type of vehicles driven; 
a limited driving privilege shall not be 
allowed. 

(12)(11) Wrecker owners/operators/employees shall not 
be abusive, disrespectful, or use profane 
language when dealing with the public or any 

member of the Patrol.  They shall cooperate at 
all times with members of the Patrol. 

(13)(12) Adhere to all Federal and State laws and local 
ordinances and regulations related to 
registration and operation of wrecker service 
vehicles and have insurance as required by 
G.S. 20-309(a). 

(14)(13) Employ only wrecker operators who 
demonstrate an ability and desire to perform 
required services in a safe, timely, efficient 
and courteous manner. manner and who satisfy 
all of the requirements for wrecker drivers 
established or referenced herein. 

(15)(14) The wrecker service must immediately notify 
the District First Sergeant of any insurance 
lapse or change.  Wrecker Services shall 
ensure the NC Highway Patrol is listed as 
"Certificate Holder" on the Certificate of 
Liability Insurance, in c/o the District First 
Sergeant, complete with the current mailing 
address for the Highway Patrol District Office 
tasked with the responsibility for ensuring 
compliance with Highway Patrol policy 
regarding the respective wrecker service. 

(16)(15) Notify the Patrol without delay whenever the 
wrecker service is unable to respond to calls. 

(17)(16) Notification of rotation wrecker calls will be 
made to the owner/operator or employee of the 
wrecker service.  Notification will not be made 
to any answering service, pager or answering 
machine. 

(18)(17) Mark each wrecker service vehicle on each 
side with the wrecker service name in at least 
three inch letters, and the city and state.  No 
magnetic or stick-on signs shall be used.  
Decals are permissible.  The wrecker service 
operator shall provide a business card to the 
investigating officer or person in apparent 
control of the vehicle before leaving the scene. 

(19)(18) Each wrecker service vehicle must be 
registered with the Division of Motor Vehicles 
in the name of the wrecker service and insured 
by the wrecker service.  Dealer tags shall not 
be displayed on wreckers that respond to 
rotation calls. 

(20)(19) Secure all personal property at the scene of a 
collision to the extent possible, and preserve 
personal property in a vehicle which is about 
to be towed. 

(21)(20) Upon application to the Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List, the owner shall ensure that the 
owner and each wrecker driver has not been 
convicted of, pled guilty to, or received a 
prayer for judgment continued (PJC): 
(A) Within the last five years of: 

(i) A first offense under G.S. 
20-138.1, G.S. 20-138.2, 
G.S. 20-138.2A or G.S. 20-
138.2B; 
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(ii) Any misdemeanor involving 
an assault, an affray, 
disorderly conduct, being 
drunk and disruptive, 
larceny or fraud; 

(iii) Misdemeanor Speeding to 
Elude Arrest; and 

(iv) A violation of G.S. 14-223, 
Resist, Obstruct, Delay. 

(B) Within the last ten years of: 
(i)  Two or more offenses in 

violation of G.S. 20-138.1, 
G.S. 20-138.2, G.S. 20-
138.2A or G.S. 20-138.2B; 

(ii) Felony speeding to elude 
arrest; and or 

(iii) Any Class F, G, H or I 
felony involving sexual 
assault, assault, affray, 
disorderly conduct, being 
drunk and disruptive, fraud, 
larceny, misappropriation of 
property or embezzlement. 

(C) At any time of: 
(i) Class A, B1, B2, C, D, or E 

felonies; 
(ii) Any violation of G.S. 14-

34.2, Assault with deadly 
weapon on a government 
officer or employee, 14-
34.5, Assault with firearm 
on a law enforcement 
officer; or G.S. 14-34.7, 
Assault on law enforcement 
officer inflicting injury; and 
injury; 

(iii) Any violation of G.S. 20-
138.5, Habitual DWI.  For 
convictions occurring in 
federal court, another state 
or country or for North 
Carolina convictions for 
felonies which were not 
assigned a class at the time 
of conviction, the North 
Carolina offense which is 
substantially similar to the 
federal or out of state 
conviction or the class of 
felony which is substantially 
similar to the North Carolina 
felony shall be used to 
determine whether the owner 
or driver is eligible.  Any 
question concerning a 
criminal record should be 
discussed with the First 
Sergeant or his designee. 
designee; and 

(iv) Convicted of or pled guilty 
to three felony offenses in 
any federal or state court or 
combination thereof.  The 
commission of a felony shall 
not be considered to be a 
second or subsequent felony 
unless it is committed after 
the conviction or guilty plea 
to the previous felony.  

(22)(21) Immediately upon employment or upon the 
request of the District First Sergeant, the 
owner of the wrecker service agrees to shall 
supply the Patrol with the full name, current 
address, date of birth, social security number, 
driver's license number and state of issuance 
for the owner and wrecker driver(s). photo 
copy of drivers license, Social Security Card, 
valid work VISA, or other appropriate INS 
Documentation for all wrecker drivers and 
owner(s) in order for the Patrol to obtain 
criminal history information.  The Wrecker 
Service shall also provide a certified copy of 
the driving record for the owner and each 
driver authorized to drive on rotation upon 
initial application and re-hire. Following this 
initial request the Wrecker Service shall 
provide a certified copy of the driving record 
for the owner and each rotation wrecker driver 
under their employment at the time of periodic 
wrecker inspections. This obligation is a 
continuing obligation.  If the owner or a driver 
is charged with, convicted of, enters a plea of 
guilty or no contest to, or receives a prayer for 
judgment continued (PJC) for any of the above 
crimes after a wrecker service is placed on the 
rotation, it is the responsibility of the wrecker 
service to inform the District First 
SergeantPatrol immediately.  Upon 
notification that a driver or owner was charged 
with any of the above crimes, the Patrol may 
conduct an independent administrative 
investigation and, based on the result of such 
investigation, may take appropriate action.  
Willful failure to notify the District First 
Sergeant as required herein shall result in 
removal from the rotation wrecker service for 
a minimum of 12 months. 

(23)(22) Upon request or demand, the rotation wrecker 
shall return personal property stored in or with 
a vehicle, whether or not the towing, repair, 
and/or storage fee on the vehicle has been or 
will be paid.  Personal property, for purposes 
of this provision, includes any goods, wares, 
freight, or any other property having any value 
whatsoever other than the functioning vehicle 
itself. 

(24)(23) Tow disabled vehicles to any destination 
requested by the vehicle owner or other person 
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with apparent authority, after financial 
obligations have been finalized. 

(25) Unless the vehicle is being preserved by the 
Patrol as evidence, the wrecker service shall 
allow insurance adjusters access to and allow 
inspection of the vehicle at any time during 
normal working hours. 

(26)(24) Being called by the Patrol, to tow a vehicle, 
does not create a contract with or obligation on 
the part of Patrol or Patrol personnel to pay 
any fee or towing charge except when towing 
a vehicle owned by the Patrol, a vehicle that is 
later forfeited to the Patrol, or if a court 
determines that the Patrol wrongfully 
authorized the tow and orders the Patrol to pay 
transportation and storage fees. 

(27)(25) Being placed on the Patrol Rotation Wrecker 
List does not guarantee a particular number or 
quantity of calls, does not guarantee an 
equivalent number of calls to every wrecker 
service on the rotation wrecker list, and no 
wrecker service shall be entitled to any 
compensation as a consequence for not being 
agree that they will not receive compensation 
when not called in accordance with the list or 
when removed from the rotation wrecker list. 

(28)(26) The failure to respond to a call by the Patrol 
will result in being placed at the bottom of any 
rotation wrecker list.list and the wrecker 
service shall then be "automatically by-passed" 
when that wrecker service comes up for its 
next rotation call. A wrecker service must 
respond to at least 75 percent of the Patrol 
rotation wrecker calls within the previous 12-
month period. 

(29)(27) Rotation wreckers and facilities are subject to 
periodic or unannouncedinspection inspections 
by the District First Sergeant or his designee 
during normal business hours.at any time. 

(30)(28) A rotation wrecker service, upon accepting a 
call for service from the Patrol, must use their 
wrecker.  Wrecker companies cannot refer a 
call to another wrecker company or substitute 
for each other. 

(31)(29) If a rotation wrecker service moves its 
business location or has a change of address, 
the owner of the wrecker service must notify 
the District First Sergeant of the new address 
or location.  Notification shall be made by 
mail in writing, no later than ten days prior to 
the projected move.  The wrecker service shall 
not be entitled to receive rotation calls prior to 
inspection of the new facility.    

(32)(30) A wrecker service may not send a car carrier 
"rollback" in response to a Patrol rotation in 
any case where the wrecker service is notified 
that a "rollback" should not be dispatched. 
shall have the discretion to dispatch either a 
wrecker or a car carrier "rollback" in response 

to a Patrol rotation wrecker call, except in 
those limited circumstances where the wrecker 
service is advised by a particular type of 
recovery vehicle is needed due to existing 
circumstances. 

(33)(31) A rotation wrecker driver or employee shall 
not respond to a Patrol related incident with 
the odor of alcohol on his/her breath or while 
under the influence of alcohol, drugs or any 
impairing substance. 

(34)(32) Have in effect a valid hook or cargo insurance 
policy issued by a company authorized to do 
business in the State of North Carolina in the 
amount of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for 
each small wrecker and one hundred fifty 
thousand dollars ($150,000) for each large 
wrecker.wrecker or as otherwise required by 
Federal regulation, whichever is greater.  In 
addition, each wrecker service shall have a 
garage keep keeper's insurance policy from an 
insurance company authorized to do business 
in the State of North Carolina covering towed 
vehicles in the amount of one hundred 
thousand dollars ($100,000). 

(b)  The District First Sergeant shall conduct an investigation of 
each wrecker service desiring to be placed on the Patrol Rotation 
Wrecker List and determine if the wrecker service meets the 
requirements set forth herein.  If the District First Sergeant 
determines that a wrecker service fails to satisfy one or more of 
the requirements set forth herein, the First Sergeant shall notify 
the wrecker service owner of the reason(s) for refusing to place 
it on the rotation wrecker list.  Once placed on the rotation 
wrecker list, a wrecker service shall remain on that list for the 
remainder of the calendar year.  Any wrecker service that fails to 
comply with the requirements of these rules shall may be 
removed from the rotation wrecker list.  
(c)  The Troop Commander or designee shall ensure that a 
wrecker service will only be included once on each rotation 
wrecker list.  Exceptions to this requirement may be made for 
specialized or large capacity wreckers when none are available 
for a County or zone.   
(d)  If the Troop Commander or designee chooses to use a 
contract, zone, or other system administered by a local agency, 
the local agency rules govern the system. 
(e)  If a wrecker service responds to a call it shall be placed at 
the bottom of the rotation wrecker list unless the wrecker service 
service, through no fault of its own, is not used or and receives 
no compensation for the call.  In that event, it will be placed 
back at the top of the rotation list. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0322 RECORDING WRECKER  
REQUESTS/INCIDENTS 
(a)  Members investigating collisions shall enter on the Collision 
Report Form the authorization for removal of vehicles from the 
scene. 
(b)  Troop Commanders shall require members to submit written 
verification of wrecker requests on Patrol Form HP-305. 
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(c)  Members observing any violations of the rotation wrecker 
rules and regulations shall notify the District First Sergeant. 
(d) Complaints concerning any wrecker service on the rotation 
wrecker list, whether instituted by the public or by a member, 
shall be investigated by the District First Sergeant.Sergeant or 
designee. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0323 SANCTIONS FOR VIOLATIONS 
(a)  If a District First Sergeant determines that a violation of 
these rules has occurred, the First Sergeant may: 

(1) Issue a written warning and request for 
compliance; 

(2) Remove the wrecker service from the rotation 
wrecker list until proper corrective measures 
have been taken to bring the wrecker service 
into compliance with these rules and 
verification of such compliance has been 
demonstrated; or 

(3) If the violation is major, or in the case of 
repeat violations, in consultation with the 
Troop Commander, remove Remove the 
wrecker service from the rotation wrecker list 
for a specific period of time.time not to exceed 
one year.  

(b)  The severity of the sanction imposed shall be commensurate 
with the nature of the violation and prior record of the wrecker 
service. 
(c)  If a wrecker service owner commits, is convicted of, pleads 
guilty to or receives a prayer for judgment continued for any of 
the offenses specified in 14A NCAC 09H .0321(20), the wrecker 
service shall be removed from the rotation wrecker list for the 
designated period of time as set out in that section.  If a wrecker 
service owner is charged with any of the offenses specified in 14 
NCAC 09H .0321(20), the wrecker service may be removed 
from the rotation wrecker list for the designated period of time 
prior to conviction only if an administrative investigation by the 
Patrol corroborates the commission of the offense.  In such 
cases, the period of ineligibility shall commence on the date of 
removal. 
(d)  A wrecker service shall not employ or continue to employ, 
as a driver, any person who commits, is convicted of, pleads 
guilty to or receives a prayer for judgment continued for any of 
the offenses specified in 14A NCAC 09H .0321(20).  This 
prohibition is for the designated period of time as set out in that 
section.  A wrecker service that willfully violates this provision 
shall be removed from the rotation wrecker list. list for a 
minimum of 12 months. 
(e)  A wrecker service driver or owner who responds to a Patrol 
related incident with an odor of alcohol on his/her breath shall 
immediately be removed from the rotation wrecker list for one 
year. not less than 12 months. If the owner was not the driver 
and had no knowledge that the driver had been drinking, the 
wrecker service shall not be removed if the driver is prohibited 
from responding to Patrol calls for one year.not less than 12 
months.  This period of removal is in addition to any removal 
that may result from any violation of as a consequence of a 

conviction, plea of guilty or prayer for judgment continued 
(PJC) pursuant to 14A NCAC 09H .0321(20). 
(f)  A wrecker service driver or owner who responds to a Patrol 
related incident with an odor of alcohol on his/her breath, and 
who refuses to submit to any requested chemical analysis, shall 
immediately be removed from the rotation wrecker list for a 
period of five years.  If the owner was not the driver and had no 
knowledge that the driver had been drinking, the wrecker service 
shall not be removed if the driver is prohibited from responding 
to Patrol calls for one year.  This period of removal is in addition 
to any removal that may result as a consequence of a conviction, 
plea of guilty or prayer for judgment continued (PJC) pursuant 
tofrom any violation of 14A NCAC 09H .0321(20). 
(g)  A willful misrepresentation of any material fact shall be 
considered to be a major violation of these rules and may result 
in removal from the rotation wrecker list. 
(h)  For any violation of these rules for which no specific period 
of removal or disqualification is established, a wrecker service 
shall be removed, at a minimum, until the violation is corrected. 
(i)  A wrecker service that is removed from the rotation wrecker 
list does not become eligible remains ineligible for reinstatement 
merely because even if ownership has been transferred to a 
family member. 
(j)  A wrecker service which is removed from the rotation list 
must demonstrate compliance with all rules in order to be 
reinstated. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
14A NCAC 09H .0324 HEARING PROCEDURES 
(a)  If, the District First Sergeant refuses to include a wrecker 
service on the rotation wrecker list, the wrecker service may 
appeal the First Sergeant's decision, in writing, to the Troop 
Commander or designee within 20 calendar days of receipt of 
the decision.  The Troop Commander or designee may, in his 
their discretion, conduct a hearing or review the record.  In either 
event, he the Troop Commander or designee shall render a 
decision, in writing, within 10 calendar days of receipt of the 
appeal.  The Troop Commander's Commander or designee's 
decision, if unfavorable, may be appealed to the Office of 
Administrative Hearings (OAH) (OAH), within 30 calendar days 
of receipt of the decision, pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 
150B. 
(b)  If a District First Sergeant issues a written warning to a 
wrecker service for a violation of any of these Rules, the 
wrecker service may, within 20 days of receipt of the warning, 
submit a written response to the First Sergeant in mitigation, 
explanation or rebuttal.  After considering the mitigation, 
explanation or rebuttal, the First Sergeant may reconsider, and 
remove the written warning.  Written warnings may not be 
appealed.  
(c)  If a District First Sergeant determines that a violation of 
these rules has occurred, and determines that removal from the 
rotation wrecker list may be warranted, he the District First 
Sergeant shall notify the affected wrecker service, in writing, of 
this determination and afford the wrecker service an opportunity 
to be heard.  The hearing shall take place within 10 calendar 
days of actual notice or, if notice is by first class mail, within 13 
days of the date the notice is placed in the mail.  The hearing 
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shall take place within 10 calendar days of the request for 
hearing and not less than three days written notice.  If a District 
First Sergeant removes a wrecker service from the rotation 
wrecker list, the wrecker service may appeal the removal to the 
Troop Commander (or his designee), or designee, in writing, 
within 20 calendar days of receipt of the notice.  The Troop 
Commander, Commander or designee, in his their discretion, 
may conduct a hearing or review the record.  If the Troop 
Commander or designee decides to conduct a hearing, he they 
will give the wrecker service not less than 10 calendar days 
notice.  He The Troop Commander or designee shall render a 
decision, in writing, within 10 calendar days of receipt of the 
appeal or date of the hearing, whichever occurs last.  The Troop 
Commander's Commander or designee's decision, if unfavorable, 
may be appealed to the Office of Administrative Hearings 
(OAH) (OAH), within 30 calendar days, pursuant to the 
provisions of G.S. 150B. 
(d)  Hearings conducted by District First Sergeants and/or Troop 
Commanders or their designee's shall be informal and no party 
shall be represented by legal counsel. 
(e)  A wrecker service that is removed from the rotation wrecker 
list and subsequently placed back on the list, for any reason, 
shall not be entitled to additional calls, priority listing or any 
other form of compensation. 
(f)  Ordinarily, a wrecker service shall may remain on the 
rotation wrecker list pending a final decision of the Troop 
Commander. Commander or designee.  A District First Sergeant, 
with the concurrence of the Troop Commander, Commander or 
designee, may, however, summarily remove a wrecker service 
from the rotation wrecker list in those cases where there exists 
reasonable grounds to believe a violation enumerated in 14A 
NCAC 09H .0321(a)(12), (a)(20), or (a)(31) or any other 
violation relating to licensing, registration, insurance 
requirements or the safe and proper operation of the business or 
which may jeopardize the public health, safety or welfare. 
 
Authority G.S. 20-184; 20-185; 20-187; 20-188. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend 
the rules cited as 15A NCAC 02R .0101, .0201, .0203, .0401 - 
.0402. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: May 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date: January 8, 9, and 11, 2007 
Time: 6:30 p.m. 
Location:  
New Bern, NC (Jan. 8 – Craven County Cooperative Extension); 
300 Industrial Drive, New Bern, NC 
Raleigh, NC (Jan. 9 – Archdale Building; Ground Floor 
Hearing Room), 512 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 

Morganton, NC (Jan. 11 – Western Piedmont Community 
College), 1001 Burkemont Avenue, Morganton, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To revise fees associated with 
stream and wetland restoration and the fee for monitoring and 
maintenance of casements (not associated with restoration) to 
reflect the actual costs for these activities being incurred by the 
program. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  You may attend the public hearing and make 
relevant verbal comments, and /or submit written comments, 
data or other relevant information by February 13, 2007.  The 
Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may speak 
at the public hearing, if necessary, so that all those who wish to 
speak may have an opportunity to do so.  The EMC is very 
interested in all comments pertaining to the proposed fee 
revisions.  All persons interested and potentially affected by the 
proposal are strongly encouraged to read this entire notice and 
make comments on the proposed revisions.  The EMC may not 
adopt a rule that differs substantially from the text of the 
proposed rule published in this notice unless the EMC publishes 
the text of the proposed different rule and accepts comments on 
the new text (see General Statute 150B 21.2 (g)).  Written 
comments may be submitted to Suzanne Klimek of the Ecosystem 
Enhancement Program at the postal address, e-mail address, or 
fax number listed in the notice. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Suzanne Klimek, 1652 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1652, phone (919) 715-
1835, fax (919) 715-2219, email Suzanne.klimek@ncmail.net 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 15A NCAC 02R .0402 
 Local 15A NCAC 02R .0402 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 15A NCAC 02R .0402 
 None 15A NCAC 02R .0101, .0201, .0203, and .0401 

 
CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 
SUBCHAPTER 02R - WETLANDS RESTORATION 
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PROGRAM 
 

SECTION .0100 - PURPOSE AND DEFINITIONS  
 
15A NCAC 02R .0101 PURPOSE  
This Section establishes the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program Ecosystem Enhancement Program pursuant 
to G.S. 143-214.8 through 143-214.13. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.8; 143-214.9; 143-215.3. 
 

SECTION .0200 - BASINWIDE RESTORATION PLANS 
 
15A NCAC 02R .0201 PURPOSE  
The purpose of the Basinwide Restoration Plans is to identify 
wetlands and riparian areas within each of the 17 major river 
basins of the state that have the potential, through restoration, 
enhancement, creation or preservation, to contribute to the goals 
of the Wetlands Restoration Program.  Ecosystem Enhancement 
Program. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.10; 143-215.3.  
 
15A NCAC 02R .0203 PUBLIC INVOLVEMENT; 

AVAILABILITY 
(a)  The Secretary, or the Secretary's designee, shall provide 
interested parties an opportunity to review and comment on the 
proposed Basinwide Restoration Plans. 
(b)  The Basinwide Restoration Plans shall be available for 
review in the offices of the Wetlands Restoration Program, 
Division of Water Quality, 512 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, 
NC 27604 through the Ecosystem Enhancement Program's 
website at www.nceep.net. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.10; 143-215.3. 
 

SECTION .0400 - WETLANDS RESTORATION FUND 
 
15A NCAC 02R .0401 PURPOSE 
This Section establishes the Wetlands Ecosystem Restoration 
Fund pursuant to G.S. 143-214.12. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.11; 143-214.12; 143-215.3. 
 
15A NCAC 02R .0402 SCHEDULE OF FEES 
(a)  The amount of payment into the Fund necessary to achieve 
compliance with compensatory mitigation requirements shall be 
determined in accordance with Subparagraphs (1) through (3) 
(6) of this Paragraph.Paragraph (b). The fee shall be based on the 
acres and types of compensatory mitigation specified in the 
approved certifications issued by the Department under 33 USC 
1341; and permits or authorizations issued by the United States 
Army Corps of Engineers under 33 USC 1344. Payments shall 
be rounded up in increments of linear feet for streams and in 
0.25 acre increments for wetlands, e.g. for streams, 520.3 linear 
feet of compensatory mitigation would be considered as 521 
feet, and for wetlands, 2.35 acres of required compensatory 
mitigation would be considered as 2.5 acres for the purpose of 
calculating the amount of payment. 

(b)  Payments made pursuant to Subparagraphs (4) and (5) of 
this Paragraph will be subject to the following fee categories: 
Urban, Coastal and Rural. 

(1) Urban fees shall be applied to the following 
counties: Alamance, Alexander, Buncombe, 
Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, 
Chatham, Cumberland, Davidson, Davie, 
Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, 
Gaston, Guilford, Harnett, Haywood, 
Henderson, Hoke, Mecklenburg, Nash, 
Orange, Pitt, Randolph, Rowan, Stokes, 
Union, Wake, Wayne 

(2) Coastal fees shall be applied to the following 
counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Camden, 
Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Jones 
New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, 
Pender, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington 

(3) Rural fees shall be applied to all counties not 
defined in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (2) as 
Urban or Coastal 

(1)(4) Classified surface waters other than wetlands 
as defined in 15A NCAC 02B .0202.  The 
payment shall be be:two hundred dollars 
($200.00) per linear foot of stream.  
(A) Three hundred and thirty-two dollars 

($332.00) per linear foot of stream in 
Urban counties; 

(B) Two hundred and thirty-two dollars 
($232.00) per linear foot of stream in 
Coastal counties; 

(C) Two hundred and thirty-two dollars 
($232.00) per linear foot of stream in 
Rural counties. 

(2)(5) Class WL wetlands as defined in 15A NCAC 
02B .0101(c)(8).  The payment shall be: 
(A) Twelve thousand dollars ($12,000.00) 

per acre for For non-riparian 
wetlands. wetlands: 
(i) Twenty-one thousand dollars 

($21,000) per acre in Urban 
counties; 

(ii) Twenty-one thousand dollars 
($21,000) per acre in Rural 
counties; 

(iii) Twenty-four thousand 
dollars ($24,000) per acre in 
Coastal counties. 

(B) Twenty four thousand dollars 
($24,000.00) per acre for For riparian 
wetlands. wetlands: 
(i) Fifty-six thousand dollars 

($56,000) per acre in Urban 
counties; 

(ii) Thirty-two thousand dollars 
($32,000) per acre in Rural 
counties; 

(iii) Thirty-eight thousand dollars 
($38,000) per acre in Coastal 
counties. 
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(3)(6) Class SWL wetlands as defined in 15A NCAC 
02B .0101(d)(4). The payment shall be one 
hundred twenty thousand dollars 
($120,000.00) one hundred and thirty-nine 
thousand and two hundred and thirty-five 
dollars ($139,235) per acre. 

(b)(c)  The fees outlined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) (b)(4) through 
(a)(3) (b)(6) and Paragraph (d)(e) of this Rule shall be reviewed 
annually by the Department and compared to the actual cost of 
restoration activities conducted by the Department, including 
planning, monitoring and maintenance costs. Based upon this 
annual review, revisions to Paragraph (a)(b) of this Rule shall be 
recommended to the Commission when adjustments to this 
Schedule of Fees are deemed necessary to ensure that the 
Schedule of Fees reflects the actual costs of restoration 
activities. 
(c)(d)  The fees outlined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) (b)(4) through 
(a)(3) (b)(6) of this Rule shall be adjusted for inflation on an 
annual basis using the Civil Works Construction Cost Index 
System published by the US Army Corps of Engineers.  This 
adjustment shall occur at the end of each calendar year as 
follows: the fees in Subparagraphs (a)(1) (b)(4) through (a)(3) 
(b)(6) and Paragraph (d)(e) of this Rule for each year shall be 
multiplied by the annual composite Civil Works Construction 
Cost Index yearly percentage change issued in September of 
each year and the result shall be the increase to that fee for the 
next fiscal year. The revised fees shall be made available via the 
NC Wetland Restoration Ecosystem Enhancement Program's 
web site (h2o.enr.state.nc.us/wrp/index.htm) (www.nceep.net) 
and become effective on the following July 1st.  The first 
adjustment shall be made at the close of calendar year 2003 to 
become effective July 1, 2004.  This process shall continue 
annually thereafter. 
(d)(e)  For properties and easements donated to the NC Wetlands 
Restoration Program, Department of Environment and Natural 
Resources, a fee of three hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) per acre shall be charged at the time 
the land or easement is transferred to the program Department's 
Conservation Grant Fund Endowment to cover costs of long-
term management of the property.  For properties that are less 
than one acre in size, the minimum payment shall be one 
thousand dollars ($1,000).  This charge applies only to properties 
and easements donated to the program for the sole purpose of 
property or easement maintenance.  This does not apply to 
properties or easements donated to the program in association 
with restoration projects conducted by the program. 
 
Authority G.S. 143-214.11; 143-214.12; 143-215.3. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission intends to 
amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1001; 10F .0327 and 
.0350. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 

Date: January 3, 2007 
Time: 10:00 a.m. 
Location: Wildlife Resources Commission 5th floor conference 
room, 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
15A NCAC 10A .1001 is amended to add to the list of offenses 
for which a warning may be issued. 
15A NCAC 10F .0327 is amended to add two new no wake 
zones to Lake Tillery. 
15A NCAC 10F .0350 is amended to add a no wake zone at 
Falls Lake. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Any person who wishes to object to a proposed 
rule may do so by writing (or emailing) the person specified in 
connection with a given rule within the public comment period 
set up for this rule.  For this rule, the contact person is Joan 
Troy. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Joan Troy, 1701 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1701 
 
Comment period ends: February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
COMMISSION 

 
SECTION .1000 - WARNING TICKETS 

 
15A NCAC 10A .1001 PARTICULAR OFFENSES 
(a)  Warning Tickets Prohibited.  Wildlife Enforcement Officers 
shall not issue warning tickets for the following offenses, classes 
of offenses or offenses committed in a particular manner: 
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(1) second offense of a similar charge; 
(2) hunting, fishing, or trapping without a license, 

except as listed in this Rule; 
(3) exceeding bag or creel limits; 
(4) taking fish or wildlife by use of poison, 

explosives, or electricity; 
(5) hunting, fishing, or trapping in closed season; 
(6) hunting on Game Lands during closed days; 
(7) firelighting deer; 
(8) unlawful taking or possession of antlerless 

deer; 
(9) unlawful taking or possession of bear or wild 

turkey; 
(10) unlawful purchase or sale of wildlife; 
(11) unlawful taking of fox; or 
(12) taking wildlife with the aid of or from a motor 

vehicle or boat under power or while in 
motion. 

(b)  Warning Tickets Permitted.  In accordance with the 
conditions provided in G.S. 113-140(c) and where there is a 
contemporaneous occurrence of more than three violations of the 
motorboat statutes or administrative rules, Wildlife Enforcement 
Officers may issue a citation on the two most serious violations 
and a warning ticket on the lesser violation(s).  In addition, 
Wildlife Enforcement Officers may issue warning tickets for the 
following offenses: 

(1) Boating Violations: 
(A) number missing, lack of contrast, not 

properly spaced or less than three 
inches in height; 

(B) no validation decal affixed or 
incorrect placement; 

(C) fire extinguisher not charged or 
non-approved; 

(D) no fire extinguisher on boats with 
false bottoms not completely sealed 
to hull or filled with flotation 
material; 

(E) failure to notify North Carolina 
Wildlife Resources Commission of 
change of address of boat owner; 

(F) personal flotation device not Coast 
Guard approved; 

(G) failure to display navigation lights 
when there is evidence that lights 
malfunctioned while underway; 

(H) no sound device (on Class I boats 
only); 

(I) muffler not adequate; 
(J) loaded firearm on access area; 
(K) parking on access area in other than 

designated parking area, provided 
traffic to ramp not impeded; 

(L) motorboat registration expired 10 
days or less; 

(M) no Type IV throwable personal 
flotation device on board, but other 
personal flotation device 
requirements met;  

(N) violation of no-wake speed zone 
when mitigating circumstances 
present; 

(O) running lights on motorboat are 
obstructed, not visible or improperly 
configured; 

(P) personal flotation device is not 
readily accessible on board 
motorboat; 

(Q) failure to wear a kill-switch lanyard 
on personal watercraft; 

(R) exceeding capacity of personal 
watercraft while towing a skier; 

(S) allowing youth under the age of 12 to 
operate a personal watercraft while 
accompanied by an adult; or 

(T) wearing an inflatable personal 
flotation device while operating a 
personal watercraft. 

(2) License Violations: 
(A) persons under 16 hunting, trapping, 

or trout fishing without meeting 
statutory requirements; 

(B) senior citizens hunting or fishing 
without valid license(s) (Senior 
citizens are those persons 65 years 
old or older); 

(C) when it appears evident that the 
wrong license was purchased or 
issued by mistake; 

(D) failure to carry required license or 
identification on person, if positive 
identification can be established; 

(E) non-resident hunting, fishing, or 
trapping with resident license, if 
domicile is established, but not 60 
days;  

(F) hunting, fishing, or trapping on Game 
Lands or fishing in Designated Trout 
Waters that are not properly posted or 
have been posted for no more than 30 
days;  

(G) persons who are 18 years or older or 
who do not reside with their parents, 
when such persons are taking wildlife 
upon their parent's land without a 
license as required by G.S. 113-
270.2, 113-270.3(b) except for 
subdivision (5), 113-270.5, 113-271, 
or 113-272. 113-272; 

(H) failure to comply with a statutorily 
enacted license requirement that has 
been in effect for less than a year; or 

(I) license expiration of 10 days or less. 
(3) Game Lands Violations: 

(A) camping on Game Lands in other 
than designated area; or 
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(B) possession of weapons readily 
available for use while on game land 
thoroughfare, during closed season. 

(4) Trapping Violations: 
(A) improper chain length at dry land 

sets; 
(B) trap tag not legible; 
(C) trap tag missing, but with a group of 

properly tagged traps; 
(D) trap tag missing, but evidence that 

animal destroyed; 
(E) improper jawsize; 
(F) failure to comply with "offset" jaw 

requirement for traps with jaw spread 
of more than 5 ½ inches; 

(G) failure to attend traps daily, during 
severe weather (ice, high water, 
heavy snow); or 

(H) no written permission, but on 
right-of-way of public road. 

(5) Miscellaneous Violations: 
(A) allowing dogs, not under the control 

of the owner to chase deer during 
closed season; 

(B) attempting to take deer with dogs, or 
allowing dogs to chase deer in 
restricted areas; 

(C) using dogs to track wounded deer 
during primitive weapon season; 

(D) failure to report big game kill to 
nearest cooperator agent, when game 
is tagged and subject is enroute to 
another agent; 

(E) training dogs or permitting them to 
run unleashed on Game Lands west 
of I-95 during the period of April 1 
through August 15; 

(F) violation of newly adopted 
regulations, when not readily 
available to the public; 

(G) violation of local laws, when 
information not available to the 
public; 

(H) all permits (except for fox 
depredation permit); 

(I) closed season, if misprinted in digest 
or suddenly changed; 

(J) minor record violation (taxidermist);  
(K) failure to put name and address on 

marker (trotline); or 
(L) failure to put name and address on 

nets. 
(c)  Special Consideration.  Special consideration may be given 
in local areas where the offender is hunting or fishing out of his 
normal locality and is unfamiliar with the local law.  
Consideration may also be given for violations on newly opened 
or established Game Lands and on reclassified or newly 
Designated Mountain Trout Waters.  Special consideration may 
be given to offenders under 18 years of age. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-140. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 
SAFETY 

 
SECTION .0300 - ANNUAL REGULATIONS 

PROCEDURE 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 
(a)  Regulated Areas.  This Rule applies to the waters and 
portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake: 
(A) Lakeshore Drive Cove as delineated 

by appropriate markers. 
(B) Entrance to fueling site and marina 

west of the main channel of Lake 
Forest Drive Cove. 

(C) Gar Creek. 
(D) Beyer's Island waterfront channel 

facing the mainland  
(2) Lake Tillery: 

(A) Woodrun Cove as delineated by 
appropriate markers. 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove as delineated by 
appropriate markers. 

(C) Cove at Fairway Shores as delineated 
by appropriate markers. 

(D) Cove at Emerald Shores as delineated 
by appropriate markers. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. 
(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities.  No person shall operate 
a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 
marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 
storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 
regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(c)  Speed Limit.  No person shall operate a vessel at greater 
than no-wake speed within any regulated area described in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(d)  Restricted Swimming Areas.  No person operating or 
responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter 
any marked public swimming area established with the approval 
of the Wildlife Resources Commission on the waters of the 
regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
(e)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers.  The Board of 
Commissioners of Montgomery County is hereby designated a 
suitable agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 
implementing this Rule in accordance with the Uniform System. 
 
Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0350 DURHAM AND WAKE  
COUNTIES  
(a)  Definitions.  In addition to the definitions set forth in 
Paragraph (b) of Rule .0301 of this Section, the following 
definitions apply for the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) Corps - Corps of Engineers, United States 
Army; 
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(2) State Parks - Division of Parks and Recreation, 
N. C. Department of Environment, Health, and 
Natural Resources; 

(3) Regulated Area - Those portions of Falls Lake 
located within the boundaries of Durham and 
Wake Counties. 

(b)  Speed Limit.  No person shall operate a vessel at greater 
than no-wake speed: 

(1) while within a designated mooring area 
established on the regulated area by or with the 
approval of the Corps and State Parks; 

(2) within 50 yards of any public boat launching 
ramp or boat service facility, including docks 
used for fueling or boat repair, located on the 
regulated area; 

(3) within 50 yards of any state road bridge 
crossing over that portion of Falls Lake 
located within the boundaries of Wake 
County. County; 

(4) within 50 yards of the area marked as the 
Holly Point Recreation Swim and boat launch 
area and the New Light Road Bridge. 

(c)  Restricted Zones.  No person operating or responsible for the 
operation of any vessel, surfboard or water skis shall permit the 
same to enter: 

(1) any marked swimming area located on the 
regulated area; 

(2) any areas near the dam structures located on 
the regulated area that shall be marked by or 
with the approval of the Corps against entry by 
vessels. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers.  The Board of 
Commissioners of Durham County and the Board of 
Commissioners of Wake County are designated suitable 
agencies for placement and maintenance of markers 
implementing this Rule within their respective counties, subject 
to the approval of the Corps.  Provided the said boards exercise 
their supervisory responsibilities, they may delegate the actual 
placement and maintenance of markers to some other 
responsible agency.  With regard to marking of the regulated 
area described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all of the 
Supplementary standards listed in Paragraph (g) of Rule .0301 of 
this Section shall apply. 
  
Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the Commission for Health Services intends to adopt the rule 
cited as 15A NCAC 18A .2646 and amend the rules cited as 15A 
NCAC 18A .2601, .2606. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  
!5A NCAC 18A .2646 – April 1, 2007 
15A NCAC 18A .2601 and .2606 – July 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date: January 4, 2006 

Time: 10:30 a.m. 
Location: 1A224, 2728 Capital Blvd., Raleigh, NC 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  These rules offer food service 
establishments the option of submitting supporting 
documentation to the Department for review and, if accepted, 
utilize an alternative method of food handling without penalty. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Contact Susan Grayson, Branch Head, DENR 
Environmental Health Services Section, 1632 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1632, email 
sue.grayson@ncmail.net or telephone (919) 715-0926 or (919) 
733-2905. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Sue Grayson, 1632 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-1632, phone (919) 715-
0926, fax (919) 715-4739, email sue.grayson@ncmail.net 
 
Comment period ends: February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 
SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 
SECTION .2600 – THE SANITATION OF FOOD 

SERVICE ESTABLISHMENTS 
 
NOTE: The text in italics represents previously proposed 
amendments to this Rule as published in Volume 21, Issue 09 
of the NC Register. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2601 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply in the interpretation and 
enforcement of this Section: 

(1) "Approved" means procedures and equipment 
determined by the Department to be in 
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compliance with this Section. Food equipment 
that is certified for sanitation by an American 
National Standards Institute (ANSI) – 
accredited program shall be approved.  ANSI 
sanitation standards are incorporated by 
reference including subsequent amendments 
and editions.  These standards may be obtained 
from ANSI, 1819 L Street, NW, 6th Floor, 
Washington, DC 20036, at a cost of six-
hundred sixty-five dollars ($665.00) and are 
also available for inspection at the Division of 
Environmental Health. 

(2) "Branch Head" means the person in charge of 
the Dairy and food Protection Branch of the 
North Carolina Department of Environment 
and Natural Resources or the superiors of the 
Branch Head.  This term does not include the 
authorized representative of the Department. 

(2)(3) "Catered elderly nutrition site" means an 
establishment or operation where food is 
served, but not prepared on premises, operated 
under the rules of the N.C. Department of 
Human Resources, Division of Aging. 

(3)(4) "Commissary" means a food stand that 
services mobile food units and pushcarts.  The 
commissary may or may not serve customers 
at the food stand's location. 

(5)(4) "Critical Violation" means a violation relating 
to any one of the five risk factors that directly 
contribute to foodborne disease outbreaks: 
(a) improper hot and cold holding, 

cooling or reheating potentially 
hazardous foods; 

(b) inadequate cooking; 
(c) poor personal hygiene of food 

handlers; 
(d) cross-contamination; or 
(e) food from unapproved sources. 

(6) "Critical control point" means the steps of the 
process in a specific food system in which 
controls can be applied to prevent, reduce, or 
eliminate a food safety hazard and where loss 
of control may result in an adverse health risk. 

(7) "Critical limit" means the maximum or 
minimum value to which a physical, 
biological, or chemical parameter must be 
controlled at a critical control point to 
minimize the risk that the identified food 
safety hazard may occur. 

(8) "Cure accelerator" means compounds such as 
ascorbic acid or erythorbic acid or their 
derivatives, sodium ascorbate and sodium 
erythorbate as defined for use in 9 CFR 424.21 
which shortens the time required for the 
distinctive pink color to develop in cured meat 
and poultry products. 

(9) "Curing" means the process of preserving meat 
by the addition of salt alone or the 
combination of one or more ingredients such 

as sodium nitrate, sugar, curing accelerators, 
and seasonings and is characterized by the 
interaction of nitrate and meat pigment 
resulting in the development of a "cured" pink 
color. 

(5)(10) "Department of Environment and Natural 
Resources" or "Department" means the North 
Carolina Department of Environment and 
Natural Resources.  The term also means the 
authorized representative of the Department.  
For purposes of any notices required pursuant 
to the rules of this Section, notice shall be 
mailed to "Division of Environmental Health, 
Environmental Health Services Section, North 
Carolina Department of Environment and 
Natural Resources," 1632 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, NC  27699-1632. 

(6)(11) "Drink stand" means those establishments in 
which only beverages are prepared on the 
premises and are served in multi-use 
containers, such as glasses or mugs. 

(7)(12) "Employee" means any person who handles 
food or drink during preparation or serving, or 
who comes in contact with any eating, 
cooking, or processing utensils or equipment, 
or who is employed at any time in a room in 
which food or drink is prepared or served. 

(8)(13) "Environmental Health Specialist" means a 
person authorized to represent the Department 
on the local or state level in making 
inspections pursuant to state laws and rules. 

(9)(14) "Equipment" means refrigeration, including 
racks and shelving used in refrigeration, 
utensil cleaning and culinary sinks and 
drainboards, warewashing and dishwashing 
machines, food preparation tables, counters, 
stoves, ovens, and other food preparation and 
holding appliances. 

(10)(15) "Food" means any raw, cooked, or processed 
edible substance including meat, meat food 
products, poultry, poultry products, ice, 
beverage, or ingredient used or intended for 
use or for sale in whole or in part for human 
consumption. 

(16) "Food Additive" has the meaning stated in the 
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act 201(s) 
and 21 CFR 170. 

(11)(17) "Food service establishment" means any 
establishment or operation where food is 
prepared or served at wholesale or retail for 
pay, or any other establishment or operation 
where food is prepared or served that is subject 
to the provisions of G.S. 130A-248.  The term 
does not include establishments which only 
serve such items as dip ice cream, popcorn, 
candied apples, or cotton candy. 

(12)(18) "Food stand" means a food service 
establishment which prepares or serves foods 
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and which does not provide seating facilities 
for customers to use while eating or drinking.   

(13)(19) "Good repair" means that the item in question 
can be kept clean and used for its intended 
purpose. 

(20) "HACCP plan" means a written document that 
delineates the formal procedures for following 
the Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point 
principles developed by The National 
Advisory Committee on Microbiological 
Criteria for Foods. 

(21) "Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or 
physical property that may cause an adverse 
consumer health risk. 

(14)(22) "Hermetically sealed container" means a 
container designed and intended to be secure 
against the entry of micro-organisms and to 
maintain the commercial sterility of its 
contents after processing. 

(15)(23) "Highly susceptible population" means 
persons who are more likely than other 
persons in the general population to experience 
foodborne disease because they are: 
(a) immunocompromised, preschool age 

children or adults, 55 years of age or 
older; and 

(b) obtaining food as a patient or client at 
a facility that provides services such 
as custodial care, health care or 
assisted living, such as an adult day 
care center, kidney dialysis center, 
hospital or nursing home, or 
nutritional or socialization services 
such as a senior center. 

(16)(24) "Limited food service establishment" means a 
food service establishment as described in G.S. 
130A-247(7). 

(17)(25) "Local health director" means the 
administrative head of a local health 
department or his authorized representative. 

(18)(26) "Meat" or "meat food products" means meat 
and meat food products as defined in G.S. 106-
549.15(14). 

(19)(27) "Meat market" means those food service 
establishments as defined in G.S. 130A-
247(1)(v). 

(20)(28) "Mobile food unit" means a vehicle-mounted 
food service establishment designed to be 
readily moved. 

(29) "Package" means to bottle, can, carton, 
securely bag, or securely wrap a food in a food 
service establishment or a processing plant.  It 
does not include the use of a wrapper, carry-
out box, or other non-durable container used to 
containerize food with the purpose of 
facilitating food protection during service and 
receipt of the food by the consumer. 

(21)(30) "Person" means any individual, firm, 
association, organization, partnership, business 
trust, corporation, or company. 

(22)(31) "Potentially hazardous food" means a food that 
requires time and temperature control for 
safety (TCS) to limit pathogenic 
microorganism growth or toxin formation. any 
food or ingredient, natural or synthetic, in a 
form capable of supporting the growth of 
infectious or toxigenic microorganisms, 
including Clostridium botulinum.  This term 
includes raw or heat treated foods of animal 
origin, raw seed sprouts, and treated foods of 
plant origin. The term does not include foods 
which have a pH level of 4.6 or below or a 
water activity (Aw) value of 0.85 or less. 
(a) "Potentially hazardous food (time and 

temperature control for safety 
food)"includes: 
(i) An animal food that is raw 

or heat-treated; a plant food 
that is heat-treated or 
consists of raw seed sprouts, 
cut melons, or garlic-in-oil 
mixtures that are not 
modified in a way that 
results in mixtures that do 
not support pathogenic 
microorganism growth or 
toxin formation; and 

(ii) Except as specified in 
Subparagraph (3)(d) of this 
definition, a food that 
because of the interaction of 
its AW and pH values is 
designated as Product 
Assessment Required (PA) 
in Table A or B of this 
definition: 

 
 

Table A.  Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores in food heat-treated to 
destroy vegetative cells and subsequently packaged 

pH values Aw values 4.6 or less >4.6 – 5.6 > 5.6 

<=0.92 Non-PHF*/non 
TCS food** 

Non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

Non-PHF/non-TCS 
food 

>0.92 - .95 Non-PHF/non- Non-PHF/non- PA*** 
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TCS food TCS food 

>0.95 Non-PHF/non-
TCS food PA PA 

* PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
** TCS food means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 
*** PA means Product Assessment required 

 
Table B.  Interaction of pH and Aw for control of vegetative cells and spores in 
food not heat-treated or heat-treated but not packaged 

pH values Aw values <4.2 4.2 – 4.6 >4.6 – 5.0 >5.0 
<0.88 non-PHF*/non-

TCS food 
non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

0.88 – 0.90 non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-PHF/non-
TCS food PA *** 

>0.90 – 0.92 non-PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-PHF/non-
TCS food PA PA 

>0.92 non-PHF/non-
TCS food PA PA PA 

* PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
** TCS food means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 
*** PA means Product Assessment required 

 
(b) "Potentially hazardous food (time and 

temperature control for safety food)" 
does not include: 
(i) An air-cooled hard-boiled 

egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is 
not hard-boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all 
viable salmonellae; 

(ii) A food in an unopened 
hermetically sealed 
container that is 
commercially processed to 
achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under 
conditions of non-
refrigerated storage and 
distribution; 

(iii) A food that because of its 
pH or AW value, or 
interaction of AW and pH 
values, is designated as a 
non-PHF/non-TCS food in 
Table A or B of this 
definition; 

(iv) A food that is designated as 
Product Assessment 
Required (PA) in Table A or 
B of this definition and has 
undergone a Product 
Assessment showing that the 
growth or toxin formation of 
pathogenic microorganisms 
that are reasonably likely to 

occur in that food is 
precluded due to: 
(A) Intrinsic factors 

including added or 
natural 
characteristics of 
the food such as 
preservatives, 
antimicrobials, 
humectants, 
acidulants, or 
nutrients, 

(B) Extrinsic factors 
including 
environmental or 
operational factors 
that affect the food 
such as packaging, 
modified 
atmosphere such as 
reduced oxygen 
packaging, shelf 
life and use, or 
temperature range 
of storage and use, 
or 

(C) A combination of 
intrinsic and 
extrinsic factors; or 

(v) A food that does not support 
the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic 
microorganisms in 
accordance with one of the 
Subparagraphs (2)(a) - (d) of 
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this definition even though 
the food may contain a 
pathogenic microorganism 
or chemical or physical 
contaminant at a level 
sufficient to cause illness or 
injury. 

(23)(32) "Poultry" or "poultry products" means poultry 
and poultry products as defined in G.S. 106-
549.51(25) and (26). 

(24)(33) "Private club" means a private club as defined 
in G.S. 130A-247(2). 

(25)(34) "Pushcart" means a mobile piece of equipment 
or vehicle which serves hot dogs or foods 
which have been prepared, pre-portioned, and 
individually pre-wrapped at a restaurant or 
commissary. 

(27)(35) "Responsible person" means the individual 
present in a food service establishment who is 
the apparent supervisor of the food service 
establishment at the time of inspection.  If no 
individual is the apparent supervisor, then any 
employee is the responsible person. 

(28)(36) "Restaurant" means a food service 
establishment which prepares or serves food 
and which provides seating. 

(37) "Reduced oxygen packaging" means: 
(a) the reduction of the amount of 

oxygen in a package by removing 
oxygen; displacing oxygen and 
replacing it with another gas or 
combination of gases; or otherwise 
controlling the oxygen content to a 
level below that normally found in 
the surrounding 21% oxygen 
atmosphere; and 

(b) A process as specified in 
Subparagraph (A) of this definition 
that involves a food for which the 
hazards Clostridium botulinum or 
Listeria monocytogenes require 
control in the final packaged form. 

(38) "Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse 
health effect will occur within a population as 
a result of a hazard in a food. 

(26)(39) "Risk Factor" means a contributing factor that 
increases the change of developing foodborne 
illness as it relates to food safety issues within 
a food service establishment, such as approved 
sources, cooking temperatures, personal 
hygiene, contamination and holding. 

(29)(40) "Sanitize" means the approved bactericidal 
treatment by a process which meets the 
temperature and chemical concentration levels 
in 15A NCAC 18A .2619. 

(30)(41) "Sewage" means the liquid and solid human 
body waste and liquid waste generated by 
water-using fixtures and appliances, including 
those associated with foodhandling.  The term 

does not include industrial process wastewater 
or sewage that is combined with industrial 
process wastewater. 

(31)(42) "Shellstock" means any shellfish which 
remains in their shells.  Shellfish which are 
shucked or on the half-shell shall not be 
considered shellstock. 

(32)(43) "Single service" means cups, containers, lids, 
closures, plates, knives, forks, spoons, stirrers, 
paddles, straws, napkins, wrapping materials, 
toothpicks, and similar articles intended for 
one-time, one person use and then discarded. 

(44) "Smoking" means the process of exposing 
food products to smoke as a means of 
preserving the food.   

(33)(45) "Substantially similar" means similar in 
importance, degree, amount, placement or 
extent. 

(34)(46) "Temporary food establishment" means those 
food or drink establishments which operate for 
a period of 15 days or less, in connection with 
a fair, carnival, circus, public exhibition, or 
other similar gathering. 

(35)(47) "Utensils" means any kitchenware, tableware, 
glassware, cutlery, containers and similar 
items with which food or drink comes in 
contact during storage, preparation, or serving. 

 
Authority G.S. 130A-248. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2606 GRADING 
(a)  The sanitation grading of all restaurants, food stands, drink 
stands and meat markets shall be based on a system of scoring 
wherein all establishments receiving a score of at least 90 
percent shall be awarded Grade A; all establishments receiving a 
score of at least 80 percent and less than 90 percent shall be 
awarded Grade B; all establishments receiving a score of at least 
70 percent and less than 80 percent shall be awarded a Grade C.  
Permits shall be revoked for establishments receiving a score of 
less than 70 percent.  The Sanitation Inspection of Restaurants or 
other Food Handling Establishments shall be used to document 
points assessed for violation of the rules of this Section as 
follows: 

(1) Violation of Rules .2608, .2612, .2615, or 
.2622 of this Section related to food from 
approved sources, free of spoilage, 
adulteration or contamination shall equal no 
more than 5 percent.  

(2) Violation of Rules .2608, .2609, .2610, .2611, 
.2612, .2613, .2614, .2622, or .2632 or .2646 
of this Section related to potentially hazardous 
food temperatures or time requirements for 
food during storage, preparation, display, 
service or transportation shall equal no more 
than 5 percent. 

(3) Violation of Rules .2608, .2609, .2610, .2611, 
.2612, .2613, .2614, .2622, or .2632 or .2646 
of this Section related to food storage, 
thawing, and preparation, cooking, handling, 
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display, service, or transportation in a manner 
to prevent contamination, adulteration, or 
spoilage shall equal no more than 5 percent.   

(4) Violation of Rule .2611 of this Section related 
to re-serving food shall equal no more than 5 
percent. 

(5) Violation of Rule .2609 of this Section related 
to accurate thermometer availability shall 
equal no more than 3 percent. 

(6) Violation of Rule .2610 of this Section related 
to written notice to customers about use of 
clean plates for return trips to buffet shall 
equal no more than 1 percent. 

(7) Violation of Rule .2610 of this Section related 
to properly labeling or storage of dry food 
shall equal no more than 2 percent. 

(8) Violation of Rule .2616 of this Section related 
to personnel with infections or communicable 
diseases restricted shall equal no more than 5 
percent. 

(9) Violation of Rule .2609 of this Section related 
to proper handwashing or good hygienic 
practices shall equal no more than 5 percent. 

(10) Violation of Rule .2616 of this Section related 
to clean clothes or hair restraints shall equal no 
more than 1 percent. 

(11) Violation of Rules .2618 or .2619 of this 
Section related to food contact surfaces 
cleaned or sanitized by approved methods, 
sanitizing solution required shall equal no 
more than 5 percent.   

(12) Violation of Rules .2618, or .2619 of this 
Section related to approved utensil-washing 
facilities of sufficient size, with accurate 
thermometers or test methods available or used 
shall equal no more than 3 percent.   

(13) Violation of Rules .2617, .2618, or .2622, of 
this Section related to food contact surfaces 
shall equal no more than 3 percent.   

(14) Violation of Rules .2601, .2608, .2617 or 
.2621 of this Section related to food service 
equipment NSF or equal or approved utensils 
shall equal no more than 2 percent.  

(15) Violation Rule .2618 of this Section related to 
air-drying clean equipment or utensils shall 
equal no more than 3 percent. 

(16) Violation of Rule .2620 of this Section related 
to the storage of single service utensils shall 
equal no more than 2 percent. 

(17) Violation of Rules .2617 or .2622 of this 
Section related to non-food contact surfaces 
clean or in good repair shall equal no more 
than 2 percent.  . 

(18) Violation of Rules .2618 or .2623 of this 
Section related to source of water supply, hot 
or cold water under pressure, or meets water 
temperature requirements shall equal no more 
than 5 percent.   

(19) Violation of Rule .2623 of this Section related 
to cross connections or other potential sources 
of contamination shall equal no more than 5 
percent. 

(20) Violation of Rules .2624, or .2625 of this 
Section related to lavatory or toilet facilities 
approved, accessible, or in good repair shall 
equal no more than 4 percent.   

(21) Violation of Rules .2609, .2624, or .2625 of 
this Section related to lavatory facilities or 
toilet facilities with self-closing doors, fixtures 
or rooms clean, mixing faucet, soap, towels, 
dryer, or sign shall equal no more than 2 
percent.   

(22) Violation of Rules .2612, .2613, or .2626 of 
this Section related to wastewater discharged 
into approved, properly operating wastewater 
treatment and disposal system: other by-
products disposed of properly shall equal no 
more than 5 percent.   

(23) Violation of Rule .2626 of this Section related 
to garbage cans, containerized systems 
properly maintained, cleaning facilities 
provided or contract maintained for cleaning 
shall equal no more than 2 percent. 

(24) Violation of Rule.2633 of this Section related 
to animal or pest presence shall equal no more 
than 4 percent.  

(25) Violation of Rule .2633 of this Section related 
to self-closing doors or screened windows 
shall equal no more than 2 percent. 

(26) Violation of Rule .2633 of this Section related 
to pest breeding places or rodent harborages 
shall equal no more than 1 percent. 

(27) Violation of Rules .2613, .2624, .2627, or 
.2628 of this Section related to floors, walls, or 
ceilings properly constructed shall equal no 
more than 2 percent.   

(28) Violation of Rules .2613, .2624, .2627, or 
.2628 of this Section related to floors, walls, or 
ceilings clean or in good repair shall equal no 
more than 1 percent.   

(29) Violation of Rule .2630 of this Section related 
to lighting or ventilation that meets 
illumination or shield requirements shall equal 
no more than 1 percent. 

(30) Violation of Rule .2631 of this Section related 
to ventilation clean or in good repair shall 
equal no more than 1 percent. 

(31) Violation of Rule .2633 of this Section related 
to storage or labeling of toxic substances shall 
equal no more than 5 percent. 

(32) Violation of Rules .2620, 2632, or .2633 of 
this Section related to storage spaces clean or 
storage above the floor shall equal no more 
than 1 percent.  

(33) Violation of Rule .2633 of this Section related 
to storage space not used for domestic purpose 
shall equal no more than 1 percent. 
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(34) Violation of Rule .2633 of this Section related 
to work clothing and linen properly handled or 
stored and proper storage of mops, brooms and 
hoses shall equal no more than 1 percent. 

One half of the percent value may be assessed for any rule 
violation in this Section based on the severity or recurring nature 
of the violation. violation, except that violations of .2646(a)(2) 
and (f) shall be assessed at full percentage value.  
(b)  The grading of restaurants, food stands, drink stands and 
meat markets shall be based on the standards of operation and 
construction as set forth in Rules .2607 through .2644 of this 
Section.  An establishment shall receive a credit of two points on 
its score for each inspection if a manager or other employee 
responsible for operation of that establishment and who is 
employed full time in that particular establishment has 
successfully completed in the past three years a food service 
sanitation program approved by the Department.  Request for 
approval of food service sanitation programs shall be submitted 
in writing to the Division of Environmental Health.  The course 
shall include a minimum of 12 contact  hours and provide 
instruction in the following subject areas: 

(1) basic food safety; 
(2) requirements for food handling personnel; 
(3) basic HACCP; 
(4) purchasing and receiving food; 
(5) food storage; 
(6) food preparation and service; 
(7) facilities and equipment; 
(8) cleaning and sanitizing; 
(9) pest management program; and 
(10) regulatory agencies and inspections. 

Evidence that a person has completed such a program shall be 
maintained at the establishment and provided to the 
Environmental Health Specialist upon request.  An 
establishment shall score at least 70 percent on an inspection in 
order to be eligible for this credit. 
(c)  The posted numerical grade shall not be changed as a result 
of a food sampling inspection. 
(d)  The posted grade card shall be black on a white background.  
All graphics, letters, and numbers for the grade card shall be 
approved by the State.  The alphabetical and numerical 
sanitation score shall be 1.5 inches in height. No other public 
displays representing sanitation level of the establishment may 
be posted by the local health department, except for sanitation 
awards issued by the local health department.  Sanitation awards 
shall be in a different color and size from the grade card and 
must be clearly labeled as an award. 
(e)  Nothing herein shall affect the right of a permit holder to a 
reinspection pursuant to Rule .2604 of this Section. 
(f)  Nothing herein shall prohibit the Department from 
immediately suspending or revoking a permit pursuant to G.S. 
130A-23(d). 
 
Authority G.S. 130A-248. 
 
15A NCAC 18A .2646 ALTERNATE METHODS AND  
SPECIALIZED FOOD PROCESSES 
(a)  A food service establishment shall obtain an approval from 
the Branch Head before: 

(1) the use of alternate methods of compliance for 
specific food uses; or 

(2) utilizing the following specialized processing 
methods: 
(A) using food additives or adding 

components such as vinegar as a 
method of food preservation rather 
than as a method of flavor 
enhancement, or to render a food so 
that it is not potentially hazardous 
(time/temperature control for safety 
food); 

(B) packaging food using reduced oxygen 
packaging (ROP); 

(C) smoking food as a method of food 
preservation rather than as a method 
of flavor enhancement; 

(D) curing food; and 
(E) sprouting seeds or beans. 

(b)  The Branch Head may approve alternate methods or 
specialized food processes for compliance with these rules if in 
the opinion of the Branch Head the alternate methods or 
specialized food processes will result in safe, unadulterated food 
products. 
(c)  Before a request is approved, an application shall be 
provided to the Branch Head by the person requesting the 
approval.  The application shall include: 

(1) a statement of the proposed alternate method 
or specialized food process that differs from 
the rule requirement, citing relevant rule 
section numbers; 

(2) an analysis of the rationale for how the 
potential public health hazards and nuisances 
addressed by the relevant rule sections will be 
alternatively controlled by the proposal; and 

(3) a HACCP plan if required as specified under 
Paragraph (d) of this Rule that includes the 
information specified under Paragraph (e) of 
this Rule as it is relevant to the request. 

(d)  An applicant must submit a HAACP plan along with an 
application to the Branch Head if: 

(1) an approval is required as specified under 
Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule; or 

(2) the Branch Head determines that a food 
preparation or processing method requires an 
approval based on a plan submittal specified 
under 15A NCAC 18A .2607, an inspectional 
finding, or a request from an applicant. 

(e)  For an application that is required under Paragraph (d) of 
this Rule to have a HACCP plan, the HACCP plan shall include: 

(1) a categorization of the types of potentially 
hazardous foods  that are specified in the menu 
such as soups and sauces, salads, and bulk, 
solid foods such as meat roasts, or of other 
foods that are specified by the regulatory 
authority; 

(2) a flow diagram by specific food or category 
type identifying critical control points and 
providing information on the following: 
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(A) ingredients, materials and equipment 
used in the preparation of that food; 
and  

(B) formulations or recipes that delineate 
methods and procedural control 
measures that address the food safety 
concerns involved. 

(3) a food employee and supervisory training plan 
that addresses the food safety issues of 
concern; and 

(4) a statement of standard operating procedures 
for the plan under consideration including 
clearly identifying: 
(A) each critical control point; 
(B) the critical limits for each critical 

control point; 
(C) the method and frequency for 

monitoring and controlling each 
critical control point by the food 
employee designated by the 
responsible person; 

(D) the method and frequency for the 
responsible person to routinely verify 
that the food employee is following 
standard operating procedures and 
monitoring critical control points; 

(E) action to be taken by the responsible 
person if the critical limits for each 
critical control point are not met, and 

(F) records to be maintained by the 
responsible person, for a length of 
time specific to the hazard associated 
with the process, to demonstrate that 
the HACCP plan is properly operated 
and managed. 

(5) additional scientific data or other  information, 
as required by the Branch Head, supporting the 
determination that food safety is not 
compromised by the proposal. 

(f)  If the Branch Head approves a request for an alternate 
method or specialized food process, the food service 
establishment shall: 

(1) comply with the specifications of the Alternate 
Method approval or HACCP plans and 
procedures that are submitted as specified 
under Paragraph (d) of this Rule and approved 
by the Branch Head; 

(2) maintain and provide to the Department, upon 
request, records specified under .2646(3) that 
demonstrate the following are routinely 
employed; 
(A) procedures for monitoring critical 

control points; 
(B) monitoring of the critical control 

point; 
(C) verification of the effectiveness of an 

operation or process; and 

(D) necessary documentation of 
corrective actions if there is failure at 
a critical control point. 

(3) submit to the Branch Head any significant 
changes in the product or manufacturing 
process that may affect the accuracy of the 
HACCP plan. 

(g) If the food service establishment receiving the approval fails 
to comply with the conditions of approval for an alternate 
method of compliance or specialized food process, the Branch 
Head may suspend or rescind the approval for the food service 
establishment immediately.  Nothing in this rule prohibits the 
Department from taking any other enforcement action. 
(h)  The Department shall treat as confidential in accordance 
with law, information that meets the criteria specified in law for 
a trade secret and is contained on inspection report forms and in 
the plans and specifications submitted as specified under 
Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S 130A-24. 
 
 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC EDUCATION 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the State Board of Education intends to amend the rule cited as 
16 NCAC 06G .0312. 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 4, 2007 
Time:  2:00 p.m. 
Location:  Room 224 South, Education Building, 301 North 
Wilmington Street, Raleigh, NC   
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Amendments are needed to 
comply with testing requirements in the federal No Child Left 
Behind Act. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Persons may submit objections regarding the 
proposed rules to Harry Wilson, Staff Attorney, State Board of 
Education, 6302 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-6302. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Harry E. Wilson, 6302 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699-6302, phone (919) 807-
3406, fax (919) 807-3198, email hwilson@dpi.state.nc.us 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
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approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 
 

SUBCHAPTER 06G - EDUCATION AGENCY 
RELATIONS 

 
SECTION .0300 -SCHOOL-BASED MANAGEMENT AND 

ACCOUNTABILITY PROGRAM 
 
16 NCAC 06G .0312 ANNUAL PERFORMANCE  
STANDARDS 
(a)  In carrying out its duty under G.S. 115C-105.35 to establish 
annual performance goals for each school, the SBE shall use 
both growth standards and performance standards. (NOTE: see 
SBE policy HSP-C-020, which lists the components of the 
ABCs Accountability Program including Adequate Yearly 
Progress (AYP).) 

(1) In grades 3-8, when two previous assessments 
are available, the expectation for student 
performance in the change scale shall be the 
average of the two previous assessments minus 
the results of multiplying the average by the 
factor for regression to the mean.  When only 
one previous assessment is available, the 
expectation for student performance shall be 
the previous assessment score on the change 
scale minus the result of multiplying the 
previous score by the factor for regression to 
the mean as defined in 16 NCAC 06G .0305.  

(2) The expectation for EOC scores shall be the 
average of the two previous assessments as 
specified below (should they be available) or 
the one assessment specified below minus the 
result of multiplying the regression to the 
mean as defined in 16 NCAC 06G .0305 by 
either the average of the two previous 
assessments or the previous assessment. The 
expected performance for each EOC subject 
shall be based upon previous performance on 
the EOG or EOC scores as follows:  
(A) For Biology, use EOG Reading Grade 

8 and English I, if available, or EOG 
Reading Grade 8 if English I is not 
available. 

(B) For Physical Science, use EOG 
Mathematics Grade 8.  

(C) For Physics, use Chemistry and 
Geometry score.  

(D) For Chemistry, use Biology score.  
(E) For Algebra II, use Algebra I score.  
(F) For Algebra I, use EOG Mathematics 

Grade 8.  
(G) For Geometry, use Algebra I and 

EOG Mathematics Grade 8 if 
available, or Algebra I only, if EOG 
Mathematics Grade 8 is not available.  

(H) For English I, use EOG Reading 
Grade 8. 

(I) For US History, use English I and 
Biology if available, or Biology only, 
if English I is not available. 

(J) For Civics & Economics, use English 
I and Biology if available, or English 
I only, if Biology is not available. 

(3) To be included in accountability measures for 
the growth standard, a student must: 
(A) have a pre-test score and a post-test 

score as listed in subdivision (2) 
above or the previous two years EOG 
assessments if available, or last year's 
assessment if two years are not 
available. 

(B) have been in membership for the full 
academic year, which is defined as 
140 of 180 days as of the time of 
EOG or EOC testing in a school on 
traditional schedule, or 70 of 90 days 
as of the time of EOC testing in a 
school on block schedule. 

(4) Students shall be included in the performance 
composite without reference to pretest scores 
or length of membership. 

(b)  All eligible students shall take the SBE-adopted tests. If a 
school fails to test at least 95 percent of its eligible students for 
two consecutive school years, the SBE may designate the school 
as low-performing and may target the school for assistance and 
intervention. Each school shall make public the percent of 
eligible students that the school tests. 
(c)  Demographic information from the state student information 
management system shall be used for each student. In the case of 
disagreement between the information coded on an answer 
document and the state student information system used by the 
LEA, the information in the student information management 
system shall be used. In the event that required demographic 
information is not a part of the state student information 
management system, the LEA shall comply with data requests, 
in electronic format or by coding on answer documents as 
required by the SBE.  
(d)  Students identified as limited English proficient shall be 
included in the statewide testing program as follows: standard 
test administration, standard test administration with 
accommodations, or the state-designated alternate assessments. 
assessment. 
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(1) Students identified as limited English 
proficient who have been assessed on the state 
identified English language proficiency tests 
as below Intermediate High in reading and 
who have been enrolled in United States 
schools for less than two years may participate 
in the state designated alternate assessment in 
the areas of reading and mathematics at grades 
3-8 and 10, writing at grades 4, 7, and 10, 
science at grades 5 and 8, and in high school 
courses in which an end-of-course assessment 
is administered. Students identified as limited 
English proficient who have been assessed on 
the state identified English language 
proficiency tests (SBE policy HSP-A-011) as 
below Superior in writing and who have been 
enrolled in U.S. schools for less than two years 
may participate in the state designated 
alternate assessment in writing for grades 4, 7, 
and 10.  

(2) To be identified as limited English proficient 
students must be assessed using the state 
identified English language proficiency tests at 
initial enrollment. All students identified as 
limited English proficient must be assessed 
using the state identified English language 
proficiency test annually thereafter during the 
window of February 1 to April 30. spring 
testing window. A student who enrolls after 
January 1 does not have to be retested during 
the same school year.  

(3) Schools shall: 
(A) continue to administer state reading, 

mathematics, science, EOC 
assessments, and writing assessments 
for students identified as LEP who 
score at or above Intermediate High 
on the state English language 
proficiency reading test during their 
first year in US schools. Results from 
these assessments shall be included in 
the ABCs and AYP. 

(B) not require students identified as LEP 
who score below Intermediate High 
on the state English language 
proficiency reading test in their first 
year in US schools to be assessed on 
the reading end-of-grade assessments, 
high school comprehensive test in 
reading, the writing assessment, the 
state designated alternate assessment 
for reading, or the state designated 
alternate assessment for writing. 
(i) Scores from students who 

are in their first year in U.S. 
schools and who have scored 
below Intermediate High on 
the reading section of the 
state identified English 

language proficiency test 
shall not be included in 
either growth, the 
performance composite or 
AYP determinations for 
reading or mathematics.   

(ii) For purposes of determining 
participation, the state 
identified English language 
proficiency reading test will 
be used as reading 
participation for the students 
identified in this section and 
participation in the state 
identified English language 
proficiency writing test will 
be used as writing 
participation for students 
identified in this section. 

(C) include students previously identified 
as LEP, who have exited LEP 
identification during the last two 
years, in the calculations for 
determining the status of the LEP 
subgroup for AYP only if that 
subgroup already met the minimum 
number of 40 students required for a 
subgroup. 

(e)  All students with disabilities including those identified under 
Section 504 in membership in grades 3-8 and 10 and in high 
school courses in which an end-of-course assessment is 
administered shall be included in the statewide testing program 
through the use of state assessments with or without 
accommodations or an alternate assessment. 

(1) The student's IEP team shall determine 
whether a student can access the assessment 
without accommodations, with one or more 
accommodations, or whether the student 
should be assessed using a state-designed 
alternate assessment. 

(2) Students with disabilities in grades 3-8 and 10 
with the most significant cognitive disabilities 
may participate  in a state designated alternate 
assessment based on alternate achievement 
standards. 
(A) For the purposes of ABCs 

performance composite and AYP 
these students shall be evaluated by 
alternate achievement standards. 

(B) Only students with the most 
significant cognitive disabilities may 
be deemed proficient against alternate 
achievement standards. LEAs shall be 
held to having a maximum of 1% of 
their total number of students in the 
assessed grades (3 through 8 and 10) 
deemed proficient based on alternate 
achievement standards for AYP and 
ABCs purposes. This prohibition 



PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
21:12                                                               NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                              DECEMBER 15, 2006 

1101 

shall not apply to student level 
accountability.  If an LEA finds that 
greater than 1% of its students in 
these grades are proficient based on 
alternate achievement standards, the 
LEA superintendent may apply to the 
state superintendent for an exception 
as prescribed in the Federal Register 
Vol. 68 No. 236 page 68703 RIN 
1810-AA95. 

(C) If an LEA does not receive an 
exception to the 1% limit and it has 
exceeded this limit, the state shall 
randomly reassign enough proficient 
student scores for students held to 
alternate achievement standards to 
non-proficient such that the LEA will 
fall within the 1% limitation. This 
process shall be done using a 
statistically random process across 
schools in the LEA and shall apply to 
AYP and ABCs statuses but not to 
students. 

(3) Students with disabilities in grades 3-8 and 10 
with persistent academic disabilities as 
referenced in the NC Accountability 
Workbook (as accepted by the US Department 
of Education) may participate in a state 
designated alternate assessment.   
(A) For the purposes of ABCs 

performance composite and AYP 
these students shall be evaluated by 
modified achievement standards. 

(B) LEAs shall be held to having a 
maximum of 2% of their total number 
of students in the assessed grades 
deemed proficient based on modified 
achievement standards for AYP and 
ABCs purposes. This prohibition 
shall not apply to student level 
accountability.  If an LEA finds that 
greater than 2% of its students in 
these grades are proficient based on 
modified achievement standards, the 
LEA superintendent may apply to the 
state superintendent for an exception 
as prescribed in the Federal Register 
Vol. 68 No. 236 page 68703 RIN 
1810-AA95. 

(C) If an LEA does not receive an 
exception to the 2% limit and it has 
exceeded this limit, the state shall 
randomly reassign enough proficient 
student scores for students held to 
modified achievement standards to 
non-proficient such that the LEA will 
fall within the 2% limitation. This 
process shall be done using a 
statistically random process across 

schools in the LEA and shall apply to 
AYP and ABCs statuses but not to 
students. 

(f)  The SBE shall calculate a school's attainment of growth in 
student performance using the following process: 

(1) Convert all student scores to the change scale. 
(2) Calculate the difference between the 

expectation for each student using the previous 
assessments as outlined in this policy 
(including the factor for regression to the 
mean) and the student's actual performance in 
the current year's assessments. 

(3) Average together all differences from all 
grades and subjects encompassed in the 
school. This is the Academic Change term. 

(4) The SBE shall calculate a school's growth 
component in college university prep/college 
tech prep using the following process: 
(A) Compute the percent of graduates 

who receive diplomas (minus the 
diploma recipients who completed the 
Occupational Course of Study) who 
completed either course of study in 
the current accountability year. 
Students shall be counted only once if 
they complete more than one course 
of study. 

(B) Find the baseline, which is the 
average of the two prior school years' 
percent of graduates who received 
diplomas and who completed a 
course of study (except for the 
Occupational Course of Study). 

(C) Subtract the baseline from the current 
year's percentage. 

(D) Subtract 0.1, unless the percentages 
are both 100. If both percentages are 
100, the gain is zero. 

(E) Divide by 10.0, which is the 
associated standard deviation. The 
result is the standard growth for 
college university prep/college tech 
prep. This number is then multiplied 
by the number of graduates for 
inclusion in the growth standards. 

(5) The SBE shall calculate a school's growth 
component in the competency passing rate by 
comparing the grade 10 competency passing 
rate to the grade 8 passing rate for the group of 
students in grade 10 who also took the 8th 
grade end-of-grade assessment. 
(A) Subtract the grade 8 rate from the 

grade 10 rate. 
(B) Subtract 0.1. 
(C) Divide by 12.8, which is the standard 

deviation. The result is the standard 
growth in competency passing rate. 
Multiply this number by the number 
of 10th graders included in the 
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calculation for inclusion in the 
growth standards. 

(6) The SBE shall calculate a school's growth 
component in the drop-out rate by comparing 
the average percent of dropouts from the two 
most recent years prior to the current drop-out 
rate to the current drop out rate for the school. 
(A) Subtract the current year drop-out rate 

from the average of the two previous 
years' drop-out rate. 

(B) Divide by 2.1 (the standard 
deviation). The result is the standard 
growth in drop-out rate.  Multiply this 
number by ¼ the school ADM for 
inclusion in the growth standards. 

(7) For expected growth, multiply the Academic 
Change for the school by the number of scores 
used in 2 and 3 above, add to that the results 
from 4, 5 and 6 above.  Divide by the number 
of students included in 2 and 3 above plus the 
number of graduates, plus the number of 10th 
graders from 5 above plus the ¼ ADM from 6 
above. If the resulting number is "0.00" or 
above, the school has met the expected growth 
standard. 

(8) The SBE shall compute high growth using as 
the high growth standard a c-ratio of 1.50 or 
greater when the school has already met the 
expected growth standard. 

(g)  If school officials believe that the school's growth standards 
were unreasonable due to specific, compelling reasons, the 
school may appeal its growth standards to the SBE. The SBE 
shall appoint the compliance commission to review written 
appeals from schools. The school officials must document the 
circumstances that made the goals unrealistic and must submit 
its appeal to the SBE within 30 days of receipt of notice from the 
Department of the school's performance. The appeals committee 
shall review all appeals and shall make recommendations to the 
SBE. The SBE shall make the final decision on the 
reasonableness of the growth goals. 
(h)  In compliance with the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 
(P.L. 107-110), its subsequent final regulations (34 CFR Part 
200) released November 26, 2002, and pursuant to GS 115C-
105.35 the SBE shall incorporate adequate yearly progress 
(AYP) as the "closing the achievement gap" component of the 
ABCs. The calculations shall use forty (40) students' scores as 
the minimum number of scores for a group to be statistically 
reliable and valid for AYP purposes along with the use of a 
confidence interval around the percentage of students scoring 
proficient on the assessments. 
(i)  Upon written request by the Department, the SBE may waive 
specific factors in the accountability measures used to set growth 
expectations in this Rule upon consideration of: 

(1) the need for the waiver; 
(2) the degree of public benefit; and 
(3) whether the Department had control over the 

circumstances that required the requested 
waiver. 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(9)c4. 
 
 
TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 28 - REGISTRATION BOARD OF 
LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the NC Landscape Contractors Registration Board intends to 
amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 28 .0301 and .0304. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date: January 8, 2007 
Time: 10:00 a.m. - noon 
Location: 7419 Knightdale Blvd., Suite 112, Knightdale, NC  
27545 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 28 .0301 – To set a definite period in which the 
applicant can complete the requirements to become a Registered 
Landscape Contractor.  This rule change will insure that no 
substantial changes occur in the applicant's professional 
intentions, work history, or conduct of character between time of 
application and completion of requirements to become a NC 
Registered Landscape Contractor. 
21 NCAC 28 .0304 – To encourage NC Registered Landscape 
Contractors to maintain their registration while working in 
landscape contracting. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Send written comment to NCLCRB, P.O. Box 
1578, Knightdale, NC  27545; fax comments to (919) 266-6050; 
email comments to nclcrb@msn.com; or attend a Public 
Hearing on January 8, 2007, at the offices of NCLCRB, 7419 
Knightdale Boulevard, Suite 112, Knightdale, NC  27545. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Sandra L. Kelly, P.O. Box 
1578, Knightdale, NC  27545, phone (919) 266-8070, fax (919) 
266-6050, email nclcrb@msn.com 
 
Comment period ends:  February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
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facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION AND LICENSING 

PROCEDURES 
 
21 NCAC 28 .0301 APPLICATIONS AND  
EXAMINATION 
(a)  Notice.  The Board shall hold at least one examination 
during each year and may hold such additional examinations as 
may appear necessary.  The secretary-treasurer shall give public 
notice of the time and place for each examination at least 90 
days in advance of the date set for the examination. 
(b)  Applications.  Applications on forms prescribed by the 
Board and accompanied by the required application fee must be 
filed with the Board at least 60 days prior to the date of 
examination. 
(c)  Education and Experience Equivalents.  Applicants for 
examination shall be given credit for education and experience 
to meet the statutory requirements as follows: 

(1) Education Equivalents.  Credit for educational 
attainment shall be credited as follows: 
(A) Graduation from a four-year program 

in Landscape Architecture, 
Landscape Horticulture, or 
Horticulture: 
Maximum Credit - 1.5 years; 

(B) Graduation from a four-year 
curriculum in any other field: 
Maximum Credit - 6 months; 

(C) Graduation from a two-year program 
in Horticulture or similar curriculum 
in a land grant institution or 
community college: 
Maximum Credit - 1 year. 

(2) Experience Equivalents.  Time spent in the 
jobs listed shall be credited as follows: 
(A) Landscape Crew Leader  

    
  100% credit 

(B) Landscape Designer or Landscape 
Architect   
   100% 
credit 

(C) Landscape Estimator or Landscape 
Sales Person   
  100% credit 

(D) Landscape Project Manager 
    
  100% credit 

(E) Landscape Crew Member  
    
    75% credit 

(F) Nursery retail sales person  
    
    75% credit 

(G) Grading operator   
    
    50% credit 

(H) Irrigation installer  
    
    50% credit 

(I) Nursery worker   
    
    50% credit 

(J) Turfgrass installer or turfgrass 
maintenance worker  
    50% credit 

(d)  Certificate.  After each examination, the Board shall notify 
each examinee of the result of the examination and the Board 
shall issue certificates of title to all persons successfully 
completing the examination. 
(e)  Applicants who have not met registration requirements 
within a period of three years from date of initial application to 
the Board will be considered inactive.  Inactive applications will 
be destroyed after giving 30 days notice to the last known 
address of the applicant. 
 
Authority G.S. 89D-4(c); 89D-5(a); 89D-5(b). 
 
21 NCAC 28 .0304 REINSTATEMENT AFTER  
REVOCATION 
(a)  Any person whose license is suspended or revoked may, at 
the discretion of the Board, be relicensed or reinstated at any 
time without an examination by majority vote of the Board on 
written application made to the Board showing cause justifying 
relicensing or reinstatement. 
(b)  If a registration has lapsed for a period of five years or more, 
the individual must complete and submit a new application.  
Once the application is approved, the applicant must pass the 
Registration Board exam requirements and a new registration 
number will be assigned. 
 
Authority G.S. 89D-4(c); 89D-7. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 61 - NORTH CAROLINA RESPIRATORY 
CARE BOARD 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina Respiratory Care Board intends to amend 
the rule cited as 21 NCAC 61 .0401. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2007 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date: January 24, 2007 
Time: 1:00 p.m. 
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Location:  NC Respiratory Care Board, 1100 Navaho Drive, 
Suite 242, Raleigh, NC  27609 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  To increase the continuing 
education hourly requirements to the national average for 
Respiratory Care Practitioners.  To allow for other 
opportunities to meet the annual continuing education 
requirements. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  A person may object to the Board on a 
proposed rule by sending a written objection addressed to Floyd 
Boyer, RCP Executive Director, North Carolina Respiratory 
Care Board, 1100 Navaho Drive, Suite 242, Raleigh, NC  27609. 
(919) 878-5595 (Phone), (919) 878-5565 (Fax), 
fboyer@ncrcb.org (e-mail). 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Floyd Boyer, RCP, 1100 
Navaho Drive, Suite 242, Raleigh, NC  27609, phone (919) 878-
5595, fax (919) 878-5565, email fboyer@ncrcb.org 
 
Comment period ends:  March 1, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
SECTION .0400 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE HOLDERS 

 
21 NCAC 61 .0401 CONTINUING EDUCATION  
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  Each year on or before the expiration date of the respiratory 
care practitioner's license, each respiratory care practitioner who 
is in active practice in the State of North Carolina shall complete 
continuing education as outlined in either Subparagraph (1) or 
(2) of this Paragraph: 

(1) Provide proof of completion of 10 hours each 
year of Category I Continuing Education (CE) 
to the Board.  "Category I" Continuing 
Education is defined as participation in an 

educational activity directly related to 
respiratory care, which includes any one of the 
following: 
(A) Lecture – a discourse given for 

instruction before an audience or 
through teleconference. 

(B) Panel – a presentation of a number of 
views by several professionals on a 
given subject with none of the views 
considered a final solution. 

(C) Workshop – a series of meetings for 
intensive, hands-on study, or 
discussion in a specific area of 
interest. 

(D) Seminar – a directed advanced study 
or discussion in a specific field of 
interest. 

(E) Symposium – a conference of more 
than a single session organized for the 
purpose of discussing a specific 
subject from various viewpoints and 
by various presenters. 

(F) Distance Education –includes such 
enduring materials as text, Internet or 
CD, provided the proponent has 
included an independently scored test 
as part of the learning package. 

(2) Retake the certified respiratory therapist 
(CRT) examination with a passing score, or 
take and pass the Registry Examination for 
Advanced Respiratory Therapists (RRT), the 
Neonatal/Pediatric Respiratory Care Specialty 
Examination, the Certification Examination 
for Entry Level Pulmonary Function 
Technologists (CPFT), or the Registry 
Examination for Advanced Pulmonary 
Function Technologist (RPFT).  Licensees 
may take the examination anytime during the 
year prior to the expiration of their respiratory 
care practitioner license. 

(b)  Licensees shall list on a form provided by the Board, the 
Category I CE courses completed that meet the 10-hour 
requirement, as well as specified subject matter of the courses 
completed.  Space shall be provided on the form for listing the 
number of hours, course names, dates and providers, as well as 
the general subject matter of the courses.  If the practitioner 
takes an examination in lieu of the CE requirements, a notation 
of the examination taken with the date taken is to be placed on 
the form. 
(c)  CE course work must be completed through one or more of 
the providers of CE as identified in this Section of the Rules or 
CE programs approved by the Board.  
(d)  All CE course work must be directly related to the practice 
of respiratory care or to expanding the scope of practice for 
respiratory care practitioners. 
(e)  CE courses approved by the American Association for 
Respiratory Care or the Accreditation Council for Continuing 
Medical Education (ACCME) are approved for Respiratory Care 
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Practitioners to receive continuing education credit and are not 
required to make application to the Board or pay a fee.  
(f)  The following Certification Programs are approved for 
Respiratory Care Practitioners to receive continuing education 
credit. The sponsor is not required to make application to the 
Board or pay a fee. Certification or recertification as an 
instructor in ACLS, PALS, or NRP shall receive the same CE 
credit as listed. 

(1) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) (10 
hours for Initial certification and 5 hours for 
re-certification)  

(2) Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) (10 
hours for Initial certification and 5 hours for 
re-certification)  

(3) Neonatal Resuscitation Protocol (NRP) (8 
hours for Initial certification and 4 hours for 
re-certification) 

(4) Basic Life Support (BLS) Instructor (8 hours 
for Initial certification and 4 hours for re-
certification)  

(g)  The Board shall charge the following fees to all other 
providers of CE for approval of continuing education programs: 

(1) Programs approved for 1 to 2 hours of CE: 
Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, ten dollars ($10.00); For Profit 
Organizations, twenty dollars ($20.00). 

(2) Programs approved for 3 to 5 hours of CE: 
Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, twenty dollars ($20.00); For Profit 
Organizations, forty dollars ($40.00). 

(3) Programs approved for 6 to 10 hours of CE: 
Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, forty dollars ($40.00); For Profit 
Organizations, eighty dollars ($80.00). 

(4) Programs approved for 11 or more hours of 
CE: Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, eighty dollars ($80.00); For Profit 
Organizations, one hundred fifty dollars 
($150.00). 

(h)  Verification of Compliance with Continuing Education 
Requirements.  The Board may randomly audit the continuing 
education documentation forms submitted and confirm the 
validity of all information on the form with the appropriate 
parties. 
(i)  The Board shall grant requests for extensions of the 
continuing education requirements due to personal 
circumstances as follows. The Board shall require 
documentation of the circumstances surrounding the licensee's 
request for extension. 

(1) having served in the regular armed services of 
the United States at least 6 months of the 12 
months immediately preceding the license 
renewal date; or  

(2) having suffered a serious or disabling illness 
or physical disability that prevented 
completion of the required number of 
continuing education hours during the twelve 
months immediately preceding the licensee 
renewal date. 

(a)  Upon application for license renewal, the licensee shall attest 
to having completed one or more of the following learning 
activity options during the preceding renewal cycle and be 
prepared to submit evidence of completion if requested by the 
Board: 

(1) Retake the Certified Respiratory Therapist 
Examination (CRT)  with a passing score, or 
take and pass the Registry Examination for 
Advanced Respiratory Therapists (RRT), the 
Neonatal/Pediatric Respiratory Care Specialty 
Examination (NPS), the Certification 
Examination for Entry Level Pulmonary 
Function Technologists (CPFT), the Registry 
Examination for Advanced Pulmonary 
Function Technologist (RPFT), the Registry 
Examination for Polysomnographic 
Technologist (RPSGT) or the Asthma 
Educators Certification Examination (AE-C). 

(2) Completion of a minimum of 12 contact hours 
of continuing education activities directly 
related to the licensee's practice of respiratory 
care and currently approved by the Board, the 
American Association for Respiratory Care 
(AARC) or the Accreditation Council for 
Continuing Medical Education (ACCME).  

(3) Completion of a Board approved Respiratory 
Care refresher course. 

(4) Completion of a minimum of three semester 
hours of post-licensure respiratory care 
academic education leading to a baccalaureate 
or masters degree in Respiratory Care.  

(5) Presentation of a Respiratory Care Research 
study at a national continuing education 
conference. 

(6) Authoring a published Respiratory Care book 
or Respiratory Care article published in a 
medical peer review journal.  

(b)  Licensees approved by the Board to provide advanced 
practice Respiratory Care procedures must complete a minimum 
five hours of Board approved continuing education directly 
related to the advanced respiratory care practice. 
(c)  The completion of certification or recertification in 
Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), Pediatric Advanced 
Life Support (PALS) and/or Neonatal Resuscitation Protocol 
(NRP) may count for a maximum of five hours of continuing 
education for each renewal period. 
(d)  A licensee shall retain supporting documentation to provide 
proof of completion of the option chosen in Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule for a period of no less than three years. A licensee 
approved by the Board to provide advanced practice Respiratory 
Care procedures shall retain supporting documentation to 
provide proof of completion of the continuing education in 
Paragraph (b) of this Rule for a period of no less than three 
years.  
(e)  A licensee shall maintain a file at his or her practice facility 
that contains the documents required in Paragraph (d) of this 
Rule and include a copy of the RCP licensee, a copy of a current 
Basic Cardiac Life Support (BCLS) certification, a copy of 
advanced life support certifications, a copy of annual skills 
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evaluations required by the facility and a copy of all credentials 
issued by the National Board for Respiratory Care. 
(f)  A licensee may be subject to random audit for proof of 
compliance with the Board's requirements for continuing 
education.  
(g)  The Board shall inform licensees of their selection for audit 
upon notice of license renewal or request for reinstatement. 
Evidence shall be submitted to the Board no later than 30 days 
of receipt of the audit notice.  
(h)  Failure of a licensee to meet the requirements of this Rule 
shall result in disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 90-666. 
(i)  The Board shall charge the following fees for providers of 
continuing education that apply for approval of continuing 
education programs: 

(1) Programs approved for one to two hours of 
CE: Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, ten dollars ($10.00); For Profit 
Organizations, twenty dollars ($20.00). 

(2) Programs approved for three to five hours of 
CE: Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, twenty dollars ($20.00); For Profit 
Organizations, forty dollars ($40.00). 

(3) Programs approved for six to 10 hours of CE: 
Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, forty dollars ($40.00); For Profit 
Organizations, eighty dollars ($80.00). 

(4) Programs approved for 11 or more hours of 
CE: Non Profit Organizations and Government 
Agencies, eighty dollars ($80.00); For Profit 
Organizations, one hundred fifty dollars 
($150.00). 

(j)  The Board may grant requests for extensions of the 
continuing education requirements due to personal 
circumstances as follows. The Board shall require 
documentation of the circumstances surrounding the licensee's 
request for extension. 

(1) Having served in the regular armed services of 
the United States at least six months of the 12 
months immediately preceding the license 
renewal date; or  

(2) Having suffered a serious or disabling illness 
or physical disability that prevented 
completion of the required number of 
continuing education hours during the twelve 
months immediately preceding the licensee 
renewal date. 

 
Authority G.S. 90-652(2)(13); 90-660(b)(9). 
 
 

TITLE 23 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY 
COLLEGES 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 
the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges intends 
to amend the rule cited as 23 NCAC 02E .0204. 
 
Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2007 

 
Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 
requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Requests for 
public hearing should be made in writing to the Rule-making 
Coordinator at the following address:  North Carolina 
Community College System, 5001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
NC  27699-5001. 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The State Board of Community 
Colleges seeks minor editorial changes to clarify Special Credit 
and Seminar Courses, and add flexibility in the "other required" 
category of the program of study.  The "other required" category 
of the program of study is currently restricted to courses 
required for graduation (example:  orientation courses, intro 
computer courses).  The removal of this restriction would allow 
colleges to utilize the other required area to incorporate any 
course(s) up to a maximum of seven hours in the AAS, four hours 
in the diploma and one hour in the certificate. 
 
Procedure by which a person can object to the agency on a 
proposed rule:  Objections must be in writing and received by 
the North Carolina Community College System Office no later 
than 5:00 p.m. on the last day of the written comment period.  
Written objections postmarked on the last day of the written 
comment period shall be deemed received by 5:00 p.m. on the 
last day of the written comment period.  Written objections 
should be addressed as follows:  President, NC Community 
College System Office, 5001 MSC, Raleigh, NC  27699-5001. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  David J. Sullivan, 5001 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC  27699, email 
sullivand@nccommunitycolleges.edu 
 
Comment period ends: February 13, 2007 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 
the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 
Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 
receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 
150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 
review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 
approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 
G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 
Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 
those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 
facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 
concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 
please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-733-2721. 
 
Fiscal Impact:  

 State 
 Local 
 Substantive (>$3,000,000) 
 None 

 
CHAPTER 02 - COMMUNITY COLLEGES 
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SUBCHAPTER 02E – EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 
 

SECTION .0200 - EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 
 
23 NCAC 02E .0204 COURSES AND STANDARDS  
FOR CURRICULUM PROGRAMS 
The Combined Course Library and curriculum standards for 
associate degree, diploma, and certificate programs shall be as 
follows: 

(1) Combined Course Library. 
(a) The Combined Course Library shall 

contain the following elements for all 
curriculum program credit and 
developmental courses approved for 
the North Carolina Community 
College System. 
(i) Course prefix; 
(ii) Course number; 
(iii) Course title; 
(iv) Classroom hours and 

laboratory, clinical, and 
work experience contact 
hours, if applicable; 

(v) Credit hours; 
(vi) Prerequisites and 

corequisites, if applicable; 
and, 

(vii) Course description 
consisting of three 
sentences. 

(b) A The numbering system for 
curriculum courses within the 
Combined Course Library is as 
follows: 
(i) The numbers 050-099 shall 

be assigned to 
developmental courses. 

(ii) The numbers 100-109 and 
200-209 shall be assigned to 
courses approved only at the 
certificate and diploma 
level.level courses.  These 
courses shall not be included 
in associate degree 
programs. 

(iii) The numbers 110-199 and 
210-299 shall be used for 
courses approved at 
theassigned to associate 
degree level.level courses.  
These courses may also be 
included in certificate and 
diploma programs. 

(iv) The numbers 190-199 and 
290-299 shall be assigned to 
seminar or selected topic 
courses which may be 
offered for a single term and 
which courses offer content 

not found in existing 
courses.  In order to offer the 
course content after the 
initial term, a new course 
must be approved for 
inclusion in the Combined 
Course Library. 

(c) TheA college shall use the course 
information (prefix, number, title, and 
classroom, laboratory, clinical, work 
experience, and credit hours; 
prerequisites and corequisites; and 
course description) as listed in the 
Combined Course Library. 
(i) The A college may add a 

fourth sentence to the course 
description to clarify 
instructional content or 
instructional methodology. 

(ii) A college may divide 
courses into incremental 
units for greater flexibility in 
providing instruction to part-
time students or to provide 
shorter units of study for 
abbreviated calendars.  Each 
of the following criteria shall 
apply to courses divided into 
incremental units: 
(A) A curriculum 

program course 
may be divided into 
two or three units, 
which are 
designated with an 
additional suffix 
following the 
course prefix and 
number. 

(B) The units shall 
equal the entire 
course of 
instruction, without 
omitting any 
competencies. 

(C) The combined 
contact and credit 
hours for the units 
shall equal the 
contact and credit 
hours for the 
course. 

(D) If the course is a 
prerequisite to 
another course, the 
student shall 
complete all 
component parts 
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before enrolling in 
the next course. 

(E) If the course is a 
co-requisite to 
another course it 
must be taken 
before or in 
conjunction with 
that course. 

(E)(F) The components of 
a split curriculum 
program course 
shall not be used to 
supplant training 
for occupational 
extension. 

(d) The Community College System 
Office shall revise and maintain 
courses in the Combined Course 
Library. 

(e) When a student receives credit for a 
Combined Course Library course, 
this credit shall be transferable to any 
college in the North Carolina 
Community College System. 

(2) Development Revision of Curriculum 
Standards.  The standards for each curriculum 
program title shall be established jointly by the 
Community College System Office and the 
institution(s) proposing to offer the curriculum 
program based on criteria established by the 
State Board of Community Colleges.  A 
revision of curriculum standard requires that 
two thirds of colleges approved to offer that 
curriculum program concur, in writing with 
the revision. Upon their concurrence Changes 
changes in curriculum standards shall be 
approved become effective after approval by 
the State Board of Community Colleges.  
Requests for changes in the standards shall be 
made to the State Board of Community 
Colleges under the following conditions: 
(a) A request is made to the Community 

College System Office to change the 
standards for a curriculum program 
title; and, 

(b) A two-thirds majority of institutions 
approved to offer the curriculum 
program title must concur with the 
request. 

(3) Criteria for Curriculum Standards.  The 
standards for each curriculum program title 
shall be based on the following criteria 
established by the State Board of Community 
Colleges for the awarding of degrees, 
diplomas, and certificates. 
(a) Associate in Applied Science Degree.  

The associate in applied science 
degree shall be granted for a planned 

program of study consisting of a 
minimum of 64 and a maximum of 76 
semester hours of credit from courses 
at the 110-199 and 210-299 levels.  
Within the degree program, the 
institution college shall include 
opportunities for the achievement of 
competence in reading, writing, oral 
communication, fundamental 
mathematical skills, and basic use of 
computers. The requirements for the 
Associate in Applied Science Degree 
are as follows: 
(i) The associate in applied 

science degree curriculum 
program shall include a 
minimum of 15 semester 
hours of credit from general 
education curriculum 
courses selected from the 
Combined Course Library, 
including six hours in 
communications, three hours 
in humanities/fine arts, three 
hours in social/behavioral 
sciences, and three hours in 
either natural sciences or 
mathematics. 

(ii) The associate in applied 
science degree curriculum 
program shall include a 
minimum of 49 semester 
hours of credit from major 
courses selected from the 
curriculum courses in the 
Combined Course Library. 
Library assigned numbers 
from 110-199 and 210-299.  
Major courses are those 
which offer specific job 
knowledge or skills.  Criteria 
for the major hours category 
are as follows:     
(A) Major Core Hours.  

The major hours 
category shall be 
comprised of 
identified core 
courses or subject 
areas or both which 
are required for 
each curriculum 
program.  Subject 
areas or core 
courses shall be 
based on 
curriculum 
competencies and 
shall teach essential 
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skills and 
knowledge 
necessary for 
employment.  The 
number of credit 
hours required for 
the core shall not be 
less than 12 
semester hours of 
credit. 

(B) Major 
Concentration 
Hours.  The major 
hours category may 
also include hours 
required for a 
concentration of 
study.  A 
concentration of 
study is a group of 
courses required 
beyond the core for 
a specific related 
employment field.  
A concentration 
shall include a 
minimum of 12 
semester hours, and 
the majority of the 
course credit hours 
shall be unique to 
the concentration. 

(C) Other Major Hours.  
Other major hours 
shall be selected 
from prefixes 
identified on the 
curriculum 
standard.  A 
maximum of nine 
semester hours of 
credit may be 
selected from any 
prefix listed, with 
the exception of 
prefixes listed in 
the core or 
concentration. 
concentration, or 
unique prefixes as 
noted on the 
standard. 

(D) Work Experience 
Hours.  The major 
hours category may 
include up to a 
maximum of eight 
semester hours 
credit for work 

experience, 
including 
cooperative 
education, 
practicum's, and 
internships.  Under 
a curriculum 
standard 
specifically 
designed for select 
associate degree 
programs, work 
experience shall be 
included in a 
curriculum up to a 
maximum of 16 
semester hours of 
credit.  The select 
associate degree 
programs shall be 
based on a program 
of studies registered 
under the North 
Carolina 
Department of 
Labor 
Apprenticeship 
programs.  Only 
eight semester 
hours of credit of 
work experience 
shall earn budget 
FTE.  The 
Community 
College System 
Office shall 
implement the Pilot 
Work Experience 
Project and shall 
submit to the State 
Board of 
Community 
Colleges a report, 
including the 
number of students 
involved and 
associated costs, 
one year after this 
Rule as revised is 
effective. 

(iii) An associate in applied 
science degree curriculum 
program may include a 
maximum of seven other 
required hours to complete 
college graduation 
requirements.  semester 
hours of credit from 
curriculum courses.  These 
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curriculum courses shall be 
selected from the Combined 
Course Library.Library, and 
must be approved by the 
System Office prior to 
implementation of the 
program.  Restricted, unique 
or free elective courses may 
not be included as other 
required courses. 

(iv) Selected topics or seminar 
courses may be included in 
an associate in applied 
science degree program up 
to a maximum of three 
semester hours of credit.  
Selected topics or seminar 
courses shall not substitute 
for required general 
education or major core 
courses.  Such courses shall 
be listed on a program of 
study as other major hours.  
Selected topics and seminar 
courses shall not be used 
more than once in a 
program. 

(b) Associate in Arts Degree. The 
associate in arts degree shall be 
granted for a planned program of 
study consisting of a minimum of 64 
and a maximum of 65 semester hours 
of credit from approved college 
transfer courses at the 110-199 and 
210-299 levels.  Within the degree 
program, the college shall include 
opportunities for the achievement of 
competence in reading, writing, oral 
communication, fundamental 
mathematical skills, and basic use of 
computers.  Certificates are not 
allowed under this degree program. 
The requirements for the Associate in 
Arts Degree are as follows:     
(i) The associate in arts degree 

program shall include a 
minimum of 44 semester 
hours of general education 
curriculum core courses 
selected from the Combined 
Course Library and 
approved for transfer to the 
University of North Carolina 
constituent institutions.  The 
general education core shall 
include: 
(A) Six semester hours 

of English 
composition; 

(B) 12 semester hours 
of humanities/fine 
arts; 

(C) 12 semester hours 
of social/behavioral 
sciences; 

(D) Six semester hours 
of mathematics; 
and, 

(E) Eight semester 
hours of natural 
sciences. 

(ii) The associate in arts degree 
programs shall include a 
minimum of 20 and a 
maximum of 21 additional 
semester hours of credit 
selected from curriculum 
courses in the Combined 
Course Library which have 
been approved for transfer to 
the University of North 
Carolina constituent 
institutions.  A non-college 
transfer course of one 
semester hour of credit may 
be included in a 65 semester 
hour credit associate in arts 
program.  This course will 
receive transfer evaluation 
by the receiving institution. 

(iii) A college may award a 
diploma under an approved 
associate in arts degree 
program for a series of 
courses taken from the 
approved associate in arts 
degree program of study.  
This diploma shall include a 
minimum of 44 and a 
maximum of 47 semester 
hours of general education 
curriculum core courses 
selected from the Combined 
Course Library and 
approved for transfer to the 
University of North Carolina 
constituent institutions.  The 
diploma shall include a 
minimum of: 
(A) Six semester hours 

of English 
composition; 

(B) 12 semester hours 
of humanities/fine 
arts; 

(C) 12 semester hours 
of social/behavioral 
sciences; 
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(D) Six semester hours 
of mathematics; 
and, 

(E) Eight semester 
hours of natural 
sciences.  

A non-college transfer 
course of one semester hour 
of credit may be included in 
a 47 semester hour credit 
diploma program.  This 
course will receive transfer 
evaluation by the receiving 
institution. 

(c) Associate in Science Degree.  The 
associate in science degree shall be 
granted for a planned program of 
study consisting of a minimum of 64 
and a maximum of 65 semester hours 
of credit from approved college 
transfer courses at the 110-199 and 
210-299 levels.  Within the degree 
program, the college shall include 
opportunities for the achievement of 
competence in reading, writing, oral 
communication, fundamental 
mathematical skills, and basic use of 
computers.  Certificates are not 
allowed under this degree program. 
The requirements for Associate in 
Science Degree are as follows: 
(i) The associate in science 

degree program shall include 
a minimum of 44 semester 
hours of general education 
curriculum core courses 
selected from the Combined 
Course Library and 
approved for transfer to the 
University of North Carolina 
constituent institutions.  The 
general education core shall 
include: 
(A) Six semester hours 

of English 
composition; 

(B) Nine semester 
hours of 
humanities/fine 
arts; 

(C) Nine semester 
hours of 
social/behavioral 
sciences; and, 

(D) 20 semester hours 
of mathematics and 
natural sciences 
that shall include a 
minimum of six 

semester hours in 
mathematics and a 
minimum of eight 
semester hours in 
natural sciences. 

(ii) The associate in science 
degree program shall include 
a minimum of 20 and a 
maximum of 21 additional 
semester hours of credit 
selected from curriculum 
courses in the Combined 
Course Library which have 
been approved for transfer to 
the University of North 
Carolina constituent 
institutions.    A non-college 
transfer course of one 
semester hour of credit may 
be included in a 65 semester 
hour credit associate in 
science program.  This 
course will receive transfer 
evaluation by the receiving 
institution. 

(iii) A college may award a 
diploma under an approved 
associate in science degree 
program for a series of 
courses taken from the 
approved associate in 
science degree program of 
study.  This diploma shall 
include a minimum of 44 
and a maximum of 47 
semester hours of general 
education curriculum core 
courses selected from the 
Combined Course Library 
and approved for transfer to 
the University of North 
Carolina constituent 
institutions.  The diploma 
shall include a minimum of: 
(A) Six semester hours 

of English 
composition; 

(B) Nine semester 
hours of 
humanities/fine 
arts; 

(C) Nine semester 
hours of 
social/behavioral 
sciences; and, 

(D) 20 semester hours 
of natural sciences 
and mathematics 
that shall include a 
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minimum of six 
hours in 
mathematics and a 
minimum of eight 
hours in natural 
sciences.   

A non-college transfer course of one 
semester hour of credit may be 
included in a 47 semester hour credit 
program.  This course will receive 
transfer evaluation by the receiving 
institution. 

(d) Associate in Fine Arts Degree.  The 
associate in fine arts degree shall be 
granted for a planned program of 
study consisting of a minimum of 64 
and a maximum of 65 semester hours 
of credit from approved college 
transfer courses at the 110-199 and 
210-299 levels.  Within the degree 
program, the college shall include 
opportunities for achievement of 
competence in reading, writing, oral 
communication, fundamental 
mathematical skills, and basic use of 
computers.  Diplomas and certificates 
are not allowed under this degree 
program. The requirements for the 
Associate in Fine Arts Degree are as 
follows: 
(i) The associate in fine arts 

degree programs shall 
include a minimum of 28 
semester hours of general 
education curriculum core 
courses selected from the 
Combined Course Library 
and approved for transfer to 
the University of North 
Carolina constituent 
institutions.  The general 
education core shall include: 
(A) Six semester hours 

of English 
composition; 

(B) Six semester hours 
of humanities/fine 
arts; 

(C) Nine semester 
hours of 
social/behavioral 
sciences; 

(D) Three semester 
hours of 
mathematics; and, 

(E) Four semester 
hours from the 
natural sciences. 

(ii) The associate in fine arts 
degree programs shall 
include a minimum of 36 
and a maximum of 37 
additional semester hours of 
credit from curriculum 
courses in the Combined 
Course Library which have 
been approved for transfer to 
the University of North 
Carolina constituent 
institutions.  A non-college 
transfer course of one 
semester hour of credit may 
be included in a 65 semester 
hour credit associate in fine 
arts program.  This course 
will receive transfer 
evaluation by the receiving 
college. 

(e) Associate in General Education.  The 
associate in general education shall be 
granted for a planned program of 
study consisting of a minimum of 64 
and a maximum of 65 semester hours 
of credit from courses at the 110-199 
and 210-299 levels.  Within the 
degree program, the institution 
college shall include opportunities for 
the achievement of competence in 
reading, writing, oral communication, 
fundamental mathematical skills, and 
the basic use of computers. 
computers.  Diplomas and certificates 
are not allowed under this degree 
program. The requirements for the 
Associate in General Education 
Degree are as follows: 
(i) The associate in general 

education degree curriculum 
program shall include a 
minimum of 15 semester 
hours of credit from general 
education curriculum 
courses selected from the 
Combined Course Library, 
including six hours in 
communications, three hours 
in humanities/fine arts, three 
hours in social/behavioral 
sciences, and three hours in 
natural sciences or 
mathematics. 

(ii) The remaining hours in the 
associate in general 
education degree curriculum 
program shall consist of 
additional general education 
curriculum courses selected 
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from the Combined Course 
Library.  A maximum of 
seven semester hours of 
credit in health, physical 
education, and college 
orientation or study skills 
courses may be included.  
Selected topics or seminar 
courses may be included in a 
program of study up to a 
maximum of three semester 
hours credit. 

(iii) Selected topics or seminar 
courses may be included in 
an associate in general 
education program up to a 
maximum of three semester 
hours of credit.  Selected 
topics and seminar courses 
shall not substitute for 
required general education 
or major core courses.  
Courses must appear on a 
program of study as Other 
Major Hours. 

(f) Diploma.  The A Diploma shall be 
granted for a planned program of 
study consisting of a minimum of 36 
and a maximum of 48 semester hours 
of credit from courses at the 100-299 
level. The requirements for the 
diploma curricula are as follows: 
(i) Diploma curricula shall 

include a minimum of six 
semester hours of general 
education curriculum 
courses selected from the 
Combined Course Library.  
A minimum of three 
semester hours of credit 
shall be in communications, 
and a minimum of three 
semester hours of credit 
shall be selected from 
courses in humanities/fines 
arts, social/behavioral 
sciences, or natural sciences 
and mathematics. 

(ii) Diploma curricula shall 
include a minimum of 30 
semester hours of major 
courses selected from 
curriculum courses in the 
Combined Course Library. 

(A)(iii) A diploma curriculum 
program which is a stand-
alone curriculum program 
title shall include identified 
designated core courses or 

core subject areas or both 
within the major hours 
category. 

(B)(iv) Courses for other major 
hours in a stand-alone 
diploma curriculum program 
title shall be selected from 
prefixes identified on the 
curriculum standard.  A 
maximum of nine semester 
hours of credit may be 
selected from any prefix 
listed, with the exception of 
prefixes listed in the core or 
concentration.concentration 
or unique prefixes as noted 
on the curriculum standard. 

(C)(v) Work experience, including 
cooperative education, 
practicums, and internships, 
may be included in a 
diploma curriculum program 
up to a maximum of eight 
four semester hours of 
credit. 

(iii)(vi) A diploma curriculum 
program may include a 
maximum of four other 
required hours to complete 
college graduation 
requirements.  hours. These 
courses shall be selected 
from curriculum courses in 
the Combined Course 
Library. Library, and must 
be approved by the System 
Office staff prior to 
implementation of the 
program.  Restricted, unique 
or free elective courses may 
not be included as other 
required courses. 

(iv)(vii) An institution  college may 
award a diploma under an 
approved associate in 
applied science degree 
curriculum program for a 
series of courses taken from 
the approved associate 
degree curriculum program 
of study. unless prohibited 
by the standard. 
(A) A diploma 

curriculum program 
offered under an 
approved associate 
degree curriculum 
program shall meet 
the standard general 
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education and 
major course 
requirements for 
the diploma 
credential. 

(B) A college may 
substitute general 
education courses 
at the 100-109 100-
299 level for the 
associate-degree 
level general 
education courses 
in a diploma 
curriculum program 
offered under an 
approved degree 
program. 

(C) The A diploma 
curriculum program 
offered under an 
approved associate 
degree curriculum 
program shall 
require a minimum 
of 12 semester 
hours of credit from 
courses extracted 
from the required 
core courses and 
and/or subject areas 
of the respective 
associate in applied 
science degree 
curriculum 
program. 

(D) A diploma program 
offered under an 
approved associate 
degree 
concentration 
program shall 
require the 
utilization of all 
core courses and a 
minimum of a 12 
semester hours of 
credit from 
concentration 
courses. 

(v)(viii) Selected topics or seminar 
courses may be included in a 
diploma program up to a 
maximum of three semester 
hours of credit.  Selected 
topics and seminar courses 
shall not substitute for 
required general education 
or major core courses.  

Courses must be on a 
program of study as other 
major hours. 

(g) Certificate Programs.  The  A 
certificate shall be granted for a 
planned program of study consisting 
of a minimum of 12 and a maximum 
of 18 semester hours of credit from 
courses at the 100-299 level. The 
requirements for the Certificate 
Programs are as follows: 
(i) General education is 

optional in certificate 
curricula. 

(ii) Certificate curricula shall 
include a minimum of 12 
semester hours of major 
courses selected from 
curriculum courses in the 
Combined Course Library. 
(A) A certificate 

curriculum program 
which is a stand-
alone curriculum 
program title or 
which is the highest 
credential level 
awarded under an 
approved associate 
in applied science 
degree or diploma 
program shall 
include a minimum 
of 12 semester 
hours of credit from 
core courses or 
and/or subject areas 
or both within the 
major hours 
category. 

(B) Courses for other 
major hours in a 
stand-alone 
certificate 
curriculum program 
shall be selected 
from prefixes 
identified on the 
curriculum 
standard.  A 
maximum of nine 
semester hours of 
credit may be 
selected from any 
prefix listed, with 
the exception of 
prefixes listed in 
the core or 
concentration. 
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(C) Work experience, 
including 
cooperative 
education, 
practicums, and 
internships, may be 
included in a 
certificate program 
up to a maximum 
of two semester 
hours of credit. 

(iii) A certificate curriculum 
program may include a 
maximum of one other 
required hour. hour of credit 
to complete college 
graduation requirements.  
This curriculum course shall 
be selected from the 
curriculum courses in the 
Combined Course 
Library.Library, and must be 
approved by the System 
Office prior to 
implementation of the 
program.  Restricted, unique, 
or free elective courses may 
not be included as other 
required courses. 

(iv) An institution may award a 
certificate under an approved 
degree or diploma 
curriculum program for a 
series of courses totaling a 
minimum of 12 semester 
hours of credit and a 
maximum of 18 semester 
hours of credit taken from 

the approved associate 
degree or diploma 
curriculum program of 
study. 

(v) Selected topics or seminar 
courses may be included in a 
certificate program up to a 
maximum of three semester 
hours of credit. 

(4) Curriculum Standards Compliance.  Each 
institution college shall select curriculum 
program courses from the Combined Course 
Library in order to comply with the standards 
for each curriculum program title the 
institution college is approved to offer.  The 
selected courses shall comprise the college's 
program of study for that curriculum program.  
The initial and revised program shall be filed 
with and approved by the System Office prior 
to implementation. 
(a) Each institution shall maintain on file 

with the Community College System 
Office a copy of the official program 
of study approved by the institution's 
board of trustees. 

(b) When requesting approval to offer a 
curriculum program title, an 
institution shall submit a program of 
study for that curriculum program 
title. 

(c) A copy of each revised program of 
study shall be filed with and approved 
by the Community College System 
Office prior to implementation at the 
institution. 

 
Authority G.S. 115D-5; S.L. 1995, c. 625. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to the 
Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 
This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 
and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

 
TITLE 04 – DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 

 
Rule-making Agency:  North Carolina Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Commission 
 
Rule Citation:  04 NCAC 02S .0237 
 
Effective Date:  December 1, 2006 
 
Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 
16, 2006 
 
Reason for Action:  Without the above rule, the sale and 
purchase of malt beverages in kegs will be illegal starting 
December 1, 2006.  Pursuant to NCGS 18B-403.1, the North 
Carolina Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission shall provide 
a keg purchase-transportation permit form to retailers for the 
purchase and transportation of kegs of malt beverages by 
patrons by December 1, 2006.  The statute requires that the 
Commission adopt rules specifying the content of the permit 
form.  The form will enable the tracking of the keg purchases 
and may deter the distribution of malt beverages by of-age 
purchasers to persons under the legal age to purchase and 
consume alcohol. 
 

CHAPTER 02 - BOARD OF ALCOHOLIC CONTROL 
 

SUBCHAPTER 02S - RETAIL BEER: WINE: MIXED 
BEVERAGES: BROWNBAGGING: ADVERTISING:  

SPECIAL PERMITS 
 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL RULES AFFECTING 
RETAILERS AND BROWNBAGGING PERMITTEES 

 
04 NCAC 02S .0237 KEG PURCHASE- 
TRANSPORTATION PERMIT 
(a)  Retail Permittee to Issue. Whenever a person chooses to 
purchase and transport a keg designed to hold and dispense 7.75 
gallons or more of malt beverages, the person shall apply to the 
retail permittee from whom such purchase will be made for a 
Keg Purchase-Transportation Permit. The retail permittee from 
whom the keg is purchased shall issue the purchaser such permit 
following G.S. 18B-403.1. 
(b)  The Keg Purchase-Transportation Permit shall specify the 
following information on the face of the permit:  

(1) Date of issue; 
(2) Name and address of the retail business from 

which the purchase is made; 
(3) Purchaser's name, address, and driver's license, 

North Carolina ID, Military ID or passport 
number; 

(4) Address of destination of keg(s); 
(5) Total number of kegs purchased; 
(6) Underage responsibility warning; and 
(7) Signatures of the purchaser and an authorized 

retail employee. 
(c)  The retailer shall retain a copy of the permit at the retail 
location where the purchase was made for 90 days unless 
requested by any individual in writing to the retailer to retain the 
copy for a specified period longer than 90 days but not longer 
than 180 days. The permit shall accompany the keg during its 
transport and usage and shall be exhibited to any law 
enforcement officer upon request.  
(d)  The Commission shall provide Keg Purchase-Transportation 
Permits to any retailer who requests such permits.  Permittees 
may also download a copy of the Keg Purchase-Transportation 
Permit from the Commission's website (www.ncabc.com). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 18B-207; 18B-403.1; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 2006. 
 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 
Rule-making Agency:  NC Department of Labor 
 
Rule Citation:  13 NCAC 20 .0101, .0302 - .0303 
 
Effective Date:  November 30, 2006 
 
Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 
16, 2006 
 
Reason for Action:  Effective August 27, 2006, Section 52(b) of 
Senate Bill 602/S.L. 2006-264 (=H668) provides that the 
Department of Labor shall adopt temporary rules to clarify the 
procedural requirements for the administration of controlled 
substance examinations.  Effective August 27, 2006, Senate Bill 
602/S.L. 2006-264 (=H668) amends the procedural 
requirements for the administration of controlled substance 
examinations as set fort in NCGS 95, Article 20.  Any delay in 
the effective date presents an unforeseen threat to employee/ 
employer welfare as 13 NCAC 20 .0101 does not currently 
include definitions pertinent to the interpretation and 
understanding of the procedural requirements set forth in NCGS 
95, Article 20. 
 

CHAPTER 20 – CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 
EXAMINATION REGULATION 

 
SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 
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13 NCAC 20 .0101 DEFINITIONS 
As used in G.S. 95, Article 20 and this Chapter: 

(1) "All actions" means procedures performed on 
the sample to detect, identify, or measure 
controlled substances.   Examples include, but 
are not limited to, "examinations and screening 
for controlled substances," "controlled 
substances testing," "drug testing," 
"screening," "screening test," "confirmation," 
and "confirmation test". 

(2) "Chain of custody" means the process of 
establishing the history of the physical custody 
or control of the sample from the time the 
examiner provides the container for the sample 
to the examinee through the later of: 
(a) The reporting of the negative result to 

the examiner; 
(b) The 90 day period specified in G.S. 

95-232(d); or 
(c) The completion of the retesting 

described in G.S. 95-232(f). 
(3) "On-site" means any location, other than an 

approved laboratory, at which a screening test 
is performed on prospective employees.  For 
example, "on-site" locations include, but are 
not limited to, the examiner's place of business 
or a hospital, physician's office, or third-party 
commercial site operated for the purpose of 
collecting samples to be used in controlled 
substance examinations. 

(4) "Sample" means the examinee's urine, blood, 
hair or oral fluids obtained in a minimally 
invasive manner and determined to meet the 
reliability and accuracy criteria accepted by 
laboratories for the performance of drug 
testing. 

(5) "Employer or person charged" means an 
examiner found by the Commissioner to have 
violated G.S. 95, Article 20. 

(6) "Preliminary screening procedure" means a 
controlled substance examination that uses a 
single-use test device that: 
(a) Is portable and can be administered 

on-site; 
(b) Meets the requirements of the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration for 
commercial distribution contained in 
Title 21, Part 807 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations; and 

(c) Meets the generally accepted cutoff 
levels contained in the Mandatory 
Guidelines for Federal Workplace 
Drug Testing Programs adopted by 
the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services' Substance Abuse 
and Mental Health Services 
Administration in 69 FR 19644. 

(7) "Single-use test device" means the reagent-
containing unit of a test system that: 
(a) Is in the form of a sealed container or 

cartridge that has a validity check, a 
nonresealable closure, or an 
evidentiary tape that ensure detection 
of any tampering; 

(b) Is self-contained and individually 
packaged; 

(c) Is discarded after each test; and 
(d) Does not allow any test component or 

constituent of a test system to interact 
between tests. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 95-231; 95-232; 95-234; 
Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. January 16, 2002; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2003; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2006. 
 

SECTION .0300 - USE OF CONTRACTORS 
 
13 NCAC 20 .0302 CURRENT EMPLOYEES 
The examiner shall contract with an approved laboratory to 
perform the screening and confirmation test for current 
employees. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 95-232; 95-234; 
Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2006. 
 
13 NCAC 20 .0303 PROSPECTIVE EMPLOYEES 
The examiner may perform the screening test for prospective 
employees or may contract with an approved laboratory for the 
screening test for prospective employees.  The examiner shall 
contract with an approved laboratory for the confirmation test 
for prospective employees. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 95-232; 95-234; 
Eff. April 1, 2001; 
Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2006. 
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 
all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 
decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, (919) 733-2698.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at 
http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 
 OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 
 Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 
 
 Senior Administrative Law Judge 
 FRED G. MORRISON JR. 
 
 ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 
 

Sammie Chess Jr.      Beecher R. Gray 
Beryl E. Wade      Selina Brooks 
Melissa Owens Lassiter     A. B. Elkins II 
Joe Webster      Don Overby 

 
 
  CASE  DATE OF PUBLISHED DECISION 
 AGENCY NUMBER ALJ DECISION REGISTER CITATION 
 
 
ALCOHOL BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION 
Santos Ferman T/A Paraiso vs. ABC Commission 05 ABC 1828 Chess 05/31/06 
Owl's Eyes of Asheville, LLC, T/A Hooters v. ABC Commission 05 ABC 1989 Chess 06/07/06 
 
Carlos Salas T/A Boom Boom Boom Night Club, 1205 Elgin Avenue 06 ABC 0719 Chess 08/07/06 
   Hight Point, NC  27262 v. ABC Commission 
ABC Commission v. T/A Minit Shop  06 ABC 0862 Morrison 10/17/06 
 
CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION 
Timothy P. Webber v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 05 CPS 1568 Lassiter 06/08/06 21:01 NCR 109 
 
Valerie Joy McGill v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 0038 Gray 06/08/06 
Torrey Charles v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 0051 Chess 09/21/06 
Charles Leon Champion v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 0155 Elkins 06/08/06 
Sharron Smith v. Crime Control and Public Safety 06 CPS 0708 Gray 07/12/06 
Elaine B. Deloatch v. Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 0736 Wade 08/15/06 
Christopher Lee Vess v. Crime Control Victims Compensation Services 06 CPS 0890 Gray 08/23/06 
   Division 
Chris K. Daniels v. Crime Control and Public Safety, Div. of Victim 06 CPS 0909 Lassiter 08/01/06 
   Compensation Commission 
Tamika L. Howard-Smith v. Crime Victims Compensation 06 CPS 1161  09/06/06 
Pervis R. Owens Sr v. OAH, Crime Victims Compensation Commission 06 CPS 1492 Morrison 09/28/06 
 
A list of Child Support Decisions may be obtained by accessing the OAH Website:  www.ncoah.com/decisions. 
 
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 
Shacond Muse Bey v. Dept. of Agriculture  06 DAG 0985 Morrison 08/16/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF CULTURAL RESOURCES 
William H. Miller v. Cultural Resources, State Historic Preservation 05 DCR 0439 Mann 07/03/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Andrea Green, Parent, on behalf of her Miner Child, Andrew Price 01 DHR 2149 Gray 06/29/06 
 
Michael Eugene Dalton v. DHHS, DFS  02 DHR 1456 Lassiter 10/06/06 
Marquelle's Enrichment Center for Edith James and Wilhelmenia 
   Bridges v. Div. Child Development Regulatory Services Section 02 DHR 1537 Gray 08/21/06 
 
Michael Eugene Dalton v. DHHS, DFS  04 DHR 0288 Lassiter 10/06/06 
Gerald Wanamaker v. Ms Satana T. Deberry General Coun. DHHS 04 DHR 1513 Lassiter 06/14/06 
Michael Eugene Dalton v. DHHS, DFS  04 DHR 1662 Lassiter 10/06/06 
Rebecca Hamilton, Beck's Play and Learn v. DHHS, Div. of Child 04 DHR 1866 Lassiter 10/02/06 
   Development 
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Restoration Church of God in Christ, d/b/a Restoration's Joys of the Heart 05 DHR 0097 Elkins 08/30/06 
   Child Care Center v. DHHS, Div. of Child Development 
Restoration Church of God in Christ Inernation, d/b/a Joys of the Heart 05 DHR 0124 Elkins 08/30/06 
   Child Care Center v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health, Child and Adult Care 
   Food Program 
Handa of the Future, Sheila Martin v. DHHS, Child and Adult Care 05 DHR 0457 Wade 06/27/06 
   Food Program 
Patricia Filyaw's FCCH vs. Div. of Child Development 05 DHR 0803 Gray 05/30/06 
Amanda M. Walters v. DHHS, DFS, Health Care Personnel Registry Section 05 DHR 1121 Chess 05/30/06 
Carolyn W. Cooper, Happy Days Child Care v. Div. of Child Development 05 DHR 1255 Lassiter 09/12/06 
Shari Ann Torain v. DHHS   05 DHR 1317 Elkins 06/08/06 
Delfina Harris v. DHHS, DFS   05 DHR 1344 Wade 10/11/06 
County of Buncombe & NC Radiation Therapy Management Services, Inc. 05 DHR 1369 Gray 05/26/06 21:01 NCR 115 
   d/b/a 21st Century Oncology v. DHHS, DFS, Certificate of Need Section, 
   & Asheville Hematology and Oncology Associates, P.A. 
Jamie Bluto, Guardian of Heather Bluto v. Mecklenburg County Area Mental 05 DHR 1427 Chess 05/17/06 
   Health and Developmental Disabilities 
United Home Care, Inc v. DHHS, DFS, CON Section and Liberty Home 05 DHR 1456 Wade 06/19/06 
   Care II, LLC, Total Care Home Health of NC, INC.,  
Total Care Home Health of NC, INC., v. DHHS, DFS, CON Section 05 DHR 1464 Wade 06/19/06 
   and Liberty Home , Care II, LLC, Total Care Home Health of NC, INC.,  
Brookside Montessori School v. DHHS, Div. of Child Development 05 DHR 1465 Gray 06/28/06 
Novant Health, Inc. and Forsyth Memorial Hospital, Inc. 05 DHR 1490 Lassiter 05/31/06 
   d/b/a Forsyth Medical , Center v. DHHS, DFS, Certificate of Need Section 
Duke University Health System d/b/a Durham Regional Hospital v. DHHS, 05 DHR 1491 Lassiter 05/31/06 
   DFS, Certificate of Need Section 
Duke University Health System d/b/a Durham Regional Hospital v. DHHS, 05 DHR 1492 Lassiter 05/31/06 
   DFS, Certificate of Need Section 
Community General Health Partners, Inc. d/b/a Thomasville Medical Center 05 DHR 1506 Lassiter 05/31/06 
   v. DHHS, DFS, Certificate of Need Section 
Shannon Woodell Glidewell v. DHHS, DFS  05 DHR 1514 Gray 09/29/06 
LaBrenda Perry Bennett v. Health Care Personnel Registry 05 DHR 1579 Morrison 07/13/06 
Lisa D. Smith-Perri on behalf of Gibson Price Smith, Brother 05 DHR 1982 Gray 06/26/06 
All Braxton, The Braxton Home II v, DHHS, DFS 05 DHR 1986 Mann 07/20/06 
Bertha Graham v. DHHS, DFS, Health Care Personnel Registry 05 DHR 2040 McCotter 06/08/06 
Jeanette Clark v. State Board of Nursing, Raleigh, NC 05 DHR 2076 Gray 07/10/06 
Yavonka Renee Vann v. DHHS, DFS  05 DHR 2108 Gray 07/12/06 
Janet Johnson v. Health Care Personnel Registry 05 DHR 2127 Gray 08/15/06 
Zion Hill Ame Zion Church, Child Development Center v. DHHS, Div. of  05 DHR 2184 Gray 07/12/06 
   Child Development 
Steven Thomas Safrit v. DHHS    05 DHR 2191 Mann 06/20/06 
Rosa Currie v. DHHS    05 DHR 2204 Elkins 09/26/06 
Ruben Perez v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health Women and Children's Health 05 DHR 2225 Lassiter 05/10/06 
   Section 
 
Hospice & Palliative Care Charlotte Region v. DHHS, DFS, CON Section, 06 DHR 0018 Elkins 09/28/06 
   Licensure and Certification Section and Liberty Home Care II, LLC 
Hospice & Palliative Care Charlotte Region v. DHHS, DFS, CON Section 06 DHR 0022 Elkins 09/14/06 21:07 NCR 674 
   and DHHS, DFS, Licensure and Certification Section 
Jacqueline Hall v. DHHS, Div. of Child Development 06 DHR 0025 Lassiter 08/31/06 
Joshua B. Worley, by and through his Guardian as Litem, Bertha Gail Levi 06 DHR 0033 Mann 09/11/06 
   v. DHHS, Div. of Medical Assistance 
Richard Wayne Baird v. DHHS, DMA  06 DHR 0177 Gray 06/15/06 
Rosemary Nwanko v. DHHS, DFS, Mental Health Licensure and  06 DHR 0186 Gray 07/12/06 
   Certification Section 
JoAnn Baldwin v. DHHS, DFS, Child and Adult Care Food Program 06 DHR 0208 Wade 06/27/06 
Joyce Moore v. DHHS    06 DHR 0212 Morrison 08/15/06 
Jansala Walker v. Healthcare Personnel Registry 06 DHR 0213 Wade 06/07/06 
Bobby Locklear v. DHHS, DFS, Adult Licensure Section 06 DHR 0215 Mann 06/20/06 
Linwood B. Cameron d/b/a New Millennium Management Services 06 DHR 0218 Elkins 06/08/06 
   v. DFS 
Selvia Chapel Child Care Center ID# 74000208, Bishop A. H. Hartsfield v. 06 DHR 0268 Gray 08/21/06 
   DHHS, Div. of Child Development 
Deloris Johnson v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health, Child and Adult Care 06 DHR 0271 Gray 05/17/06 
   Food Program 
Jack Williamson v. Div. of Medical Assistance Third Party Recovery 06 DHR 0300 Chess 08/04/06 
Shawqi Abdalla Ibtisam Omar v. OAH  06 DHR 0332 Gray 07/10/06 
Daniel Marshall v. DHHS   06 DHR 0340 Wade 06/27/06 
Katie Morris v. DHHS    06 DHR 0344 Gray 08/21/06 
Michael Glenn Shell v. Board of Health Care Workers Registry, DHHS 06 DHR 0358 Elkins 07/31/06 
Angel Allman v. Div. of Medical Assistance Medical Policy 06 DHR 0370 Wade 08/09/06 
Tammie L. Greene v. DHHS, Div. of Medical Assistance 06 DHR 0386 Chess 07/25/06 
Carol Denny v. DHHS    06 DHR 0395 Mann 09/05/06 
Myrna Diane Bunns v. DHHS, Division of Child Development 06 DHR 0399 Gray 06/19/06 
Joseph Randy Creech v. Dix, DHHS  06 DHR 0416 Mann 09/06/06 
Annette Alexander v. DHHS   06 DHR 0471 Elkins 06/23/06 
Bernice Norman v. Wash Co. Dept. of Social Services 06 DHR 0472 Elkins 06/23/06 
Daisey Fish v. Dorthea Dix Hospital  06 DHR 0473 Morrison 08/02/06 
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Delisa Jean Scott v. DHHS, DFS   06 DHR 0475 Elkins 06/23/06 
Deloris Johnson v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health, Child and Adult Care 06 DHR 0488 Gray 05/17/06 
   Food Program 
Myrna A. Batson v. Broughton Hospital  06 DHR 0503 Gray 07/12/06 
Digna A. Marte v. DHHS, Div. of Medical Assistance 06 DHR 0551 Mann 07/21/06 
Carolyn W. Cooper, Happy Days Child Care Center v. Div. of Child 06 DHR 0565 Lassiter 08/01/06 
   Development, DHHS 
Eric Becton v. DHHS    06 DHR 0594 Elkins 06/23/06 
Bibian Nwanguma v. Health Care Personnel Registry 06 DHR 0651 Wade 08/14/06 
Regina A McLean v. DHHS, Citizen Affairs/Administration 06 DHR 0691 Gray 06/27/06 
Regina A. Mclean v. Human Health Client Assistant Program 06 DHR 0692 Gray 07/20/06 
Christy Laws v. DHHS    06 DHR 0698 Elkins 09/07/06 
Kara Elmore v. DHHS, DFS   06 DHR 0702 Gray 08/23/06 
James Soules v. DHHS    06 DHR 0718 Gray 08/01/06 
DeJuana Byrd Heavenly Angels Child Center v. Child Abuse/ Neglect 06 DHR 0720 Lassiter 06/14/06 
Angela M. Rhodes v. New Hanover County DSS 06 DHR 0730 Mann 09/05/06 
Full Potential, LLC v. DHHS   06 DHR 0781 Gray 07/21/06 
Alberta Denise Murphy v. DHHS and Registry  06 DHR 0788 Elkins 09/07/06 
Bettie B. Woods v. Gardian Ad Litem, Angela Phillips, Lincoln County 06 DHR 0830 Gray 06/28/06 
   DSS/Catawba BAL 
Rockingham County Department of Social Services v. Medicaid/Value 06 DHR 0839 Lassiter 08/01/06 
   Options 
Denise Little v. Catawba County LME, John Hardy, Director 06 DHR 0860 Lassiter 06/23/06 
   Consultant Deanna Hoxworth 
Edna Cray - Kid's Academy v. DHHS, Div. of Public Health Child and  06 DHR 0887 Gray 06/13/06 
   Adult Care Food Program 
Norman Lavel Bracey, Jr., v. Social Services (Medicaid) 06 DHR 0955 Gray 07/21/06 
Ariel Horowitz, Minor, by her Parents David Horowitz and Rosalind Heiko 06 DHR 1064 Lassiter 08/21/06 
   v. Div. of Medical Assistance, MH/DD/SAS and DHHS 
Keira T. Williams v. Wake County Dept. of Social Services 06 DHR 1067 Lassiter 07/06/06 
Brentwood Child Care Center (92001147) v. DCD/Child Abuse Neglect 06 DHR 1100 Lassiter 10/12/06 
   Unit 
Angela Fay Carraway v. DHHS   06 DHR 1105 Morrison 08/21/06 
Ivory Jade Alson v. Wake Co. Dept. of Social Services 06 DHR 1106 Lassiter 07/10/06 
Play and Learn Childcare, Mary Ellen Helton v. DHHS, Div. of Public 06 DHR 1108 Gray 07/24/06 
   Health, Chalid and Adult Care Food Program 
RTTS, Inc v. DHHS, DFS, Mental Health Licensure and Cert. Section 06 DHR 1127 Lassiter 10/02/06 
Rhonda Bumgarner v. DHHS, Div. of Medical Assistance 06 DHR 1162 Gray 09/14/06 
Zabrina Johnson v. DHHS   06 DHR 1170 Gray 10/09/06 
Leea Holt, Tari Guevara v. Div. of Child Development, DHHS 06 DHR 1181 Morrison 10/13/06 
Beverly M. West v. DHHS   06 DHR 1238 Wade 09/26/06 
Sherri Groves v. Div. of Child Development  06 DHR 1252 Gray 09/14/06 
Graceland Food Mart, James C. McGirt, Owner v. DHHS 06 DHR 1266 Elkins 09/22/06 
Mary Jane Rutledge v. NCOAH   06 DHR 1331 Gray 09/12/06 
Aunt Alice Daycare Center, Alice Camara v. DHHS, Nutrition Program 06 DHR 1490 Lassiter 10/13/06 
Connie Lee Yates v. DHHS   06 DHR 1558 Morrison 09/27/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATION 
Corporate Express Office Products, Inc. v. NC Division of Purchase and 06 DOA 0112 Gray 05/17/06 21:01 NCR 163 
   Contract, & Office Depot, Inc. 
Hershel Sarraf, Oro Avanti, Inc. v. DOA, Div. of Purchase and Contract 06 DOA 0646 Wade 09/20/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 
Michael Eugene Hunt v. DOC   06 DOC 0498 Gray 06/20/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 
Steven Forrest Brubaker v. NC Criminal Justice Education and Training 05 DOJ 1405 Elkins 05/31/06 21:01 NCR 158 
   Standards Commission 
Jeffrey Michael Quinn v. Criminal Justice Training Standards Comm. 05 DOJ 1406 Elkins 08/04/06 
Christopher Paul Stanfield v. Criminal Justice and Training Standards 05 DOJ 1520 Wade 08/28/06 
   Commission and Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Comm. 
Christopher Paul Stanfield v. Criminal Justice and Training Standards 05 DOJ 1521 Wade 08/28/06 
   Commission and Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Comm. 
Todd Franklin Wyke v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 05 DOJ 2223 Lassiter 09/15/06 
   Commission 
 
Michael Edward Sutton v. NC Criminal Justice Education & Training 06 DOJ 0012 Morrison 05/09/06 
   Standards Commission 
Philip Lee Holdaway v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 0069 DeLuca 08/04/06 
Anthony Lee Davis v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 0070 Gray 08/26/06 
Todd Franklin Wyke v. DOJ, Company Police Program 06 DOJ 0146 Lassiter 09/15/06 
Angela Renee Lail v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 0228 Gray 08/06/06 21:06 NCR 514 
James Woodrow Jacobs v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 06 DOJ 0229 Gray 07/12/06 
   Comm. 
 
Jason Matthew Lish v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 06 DOJ 0579 Wade 09/12/06 
   Commission 
Christopher Brian Mingia v. Criminal Justice Education and Training 06 DOJ 0598 Wade 09/12/06 
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    Standards Commission 
Christopher S. Cummings v. DOJ, Company Police Program 06 DOJ 0696 Gray 08/11/06 
Allison M. Burdette v. Company Police Program 06 DOJ 0733 Wade 08/11/06 
Amber Lee Baldwin v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 0814 Gray 06/26/06 
Reginald Warren v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 06 DOJ 0880 Gray 09/08/06 
   Commission 
Betty Perry v. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 0881 Lassiter 09/20/06 
Danny Kaye Barham and NC Detective Agency, Inc v. Private Protective 06 DOJ 0870 Morrison 08/07/06 
   Services Board 
David L. Willams v. Private Protective Services Board 06 DOJ 0876 Morrison 07/18/06 
Donna G. Redding v. Private Protective Services Board 06 DOJ 0877 Morrison 08/01/06 
Joseph O. Smiley v. Private Protective Services Board 06 DOJ 0878 Morrison 08/01/06 
Amy Pearl King v. Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Comm. 06 DOJ 1295 Lassiter 10/10/06 
 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 
Percy E. Myers v. Retirement Systems Division, LGERS, 06 DST 0048 Chess 05/31/06 
Harry Whisnat v. Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System of  06 DST 0591 Gray 09/19/06 
   NC, A Corporation, Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State 
   Employees' Retirement System of NC, A body politic and Corporate,  
   DOT, Retirement Systems Div. and the State of NC 
 
EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 
Darrell Wayne Purcell v. State Board of Education 05 EDC 1861 Morrison 10/11/06 
Elizabeth Ann Mical v. Department of Public Instruction 05 EDC 1962 Morrison 08/04/06 
Margaret Frances Handest v. Dept. of Public Instruction, Center for 05 EDC 2057 Morrison 10/11/06 
   Recruitment and Retention 
 
Linda Ellis v. Dept. of Public Instruction – National Board – Certification 06 EDC 0002 Morrison 10/12/06 
Monica Robertson v. Department of Public Instruction 06 EDC 0359 Morrison 08/02/06 
Gail G. Brooks v. Department of Public Instruction 06 EDC 0437 Morrison 08/07/06 
Reginald Powe v. Public Schools of North Carolina, State Board of Educ. 06 EDC 1116 Elkins 10/03/06 
   Department of Public Instruction, Superintendent's Ethics Advisory  
   Committee 
 
DEPT. OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES 
Howard L. Hardy v. Co. of Craven Department of Health 00 EHR 0803 Gray 06/26/06 
 
Wheatly Oil Company, Inc v. DENR, Div. of Waste Management 03 EHR 0030 Gray 08/04/06 
Auddies, Inc v. DENR   03 EHR 1312 Lassiter 10/18/06 
Joe L. Wilson v. DENR   03 EHR 1641 Gray 10/09/06 
Ronald L. Preston v. Davidson County Health Department 03 EHR 2329 Gray 08/24/06 
 
Auddies, Inc v. DENR   04 EHR 0103 Lassiter 10/18/06 
Sandra M. Netting v. DENR   04 EHR 1768 Gray 09/29/06 
County of Davidson v. DENR, Div. of Air Quality 04 EHR 0362 Wade 09/01/06 
 
Laney Oil Company, Inc, UST# 04-049P, UST# 04-050P v DENR 05 EHR 0135 Gray 06/20/06 
Anton Tomassetti v. DENR, Div. of Air Quality 05 EHR 0321 Gray 06/12/06 
Raymond S. Carpenter v. DENR   05 EHR 2009 Bryan 08/28/06 
John Graham v. DENR, Div. of Air Quality  05 EHR 2029 Gray 05/08/06 
Samuel Buck Kiser v. DENR, Div. of Waste Management 05 EHR 2120 Chess 07/25/06 21:06 NCR 519 
 
Christopher S. Anderson, Jan HP Anderson v. Ashe County Health Dept. 06 EHR 0558 Elkins 07/31/06 
Heyward Ledford, Wolfpen Associates, Inc. v. DENR 06 EHR 0679 Gray 06/12/06 
Parnell-Kinlaw Group, Inc v. DENR, Div. of Land Quality 06 EHR 0743 Mann 09/26/06 
Danny Ray Thorpe v. Brunswick Co. Health Dept., Environmental  06 EHR 1041 Gray 08/07/06 
   Health Department 
Dianne D. Vereen v. Brunswick Co. Health Department 06 EHR 1126 Elkins 09/27/06 
C.F. Little and Patsy H. Little v. DENR  06 EHR 1340 Lassiter 09/22/06 
John P. Leonard, Agent for Magnolia Pointe LP v. County of Durham 06 EHR 1568 Gray 10/13/06 
   Engineering Department 
 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
James D. Kelly Jr. v. State Health Plan  06 INS 0013 Morrison 08/07/06 21:06 NCR 524 
Daniel C. Johnson v. Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive 06 INS 0353 Morrison 07/03/06 
   Major Medical Plan 
 
OFFICE OF STATE PERSONNEL 
Sgt. Gerry R. Mouzon v. Crime Control & Public Safety, NC State Highway 02 OSP 0392 Gray 06/15/06 
   Patrol, and Brian Beatty, Secretary CC & PS 
Sgt. Gerry R. Mouzon v. Crime Control & Public Safety, NC State Highway 02 OSP 1036 Gray 06/15/06 
   Patrol, and Brian Beatty, Secretary CC & PS 
Georgia Warren v. DOT   02 OSP 1911 Wade 08/08/06 
Georgia Warren v. DOT   02 OSP 2179 Wade 08/08/06 
 
Emily Flores v. College of Agriculture and Life Sciences NC State 04 OSP 1518 Lassiter 10/13/06 
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Charles H. Boykin, Jr. v. Halifax County Health Dept. 05 OSP 0851 Gray 09/15/06 
Tiffany Bowick-Richardson v. Fayetteville State University 05 OSP 0901 Lassiter 08/23/06 
Hank L. Silverthorne v. DOT, Bridge Maintenance (Division One) 05 OSP 0291 Gray 05/11/06 
Jeffrey Michael Quinn v. Dept. of Crime Control and Public Safety,  05 OSP 1012 Elkins 08/04/06 21:06 NCR 527 
   State Highway Patrol 
Deena Ward v. Columbus Co. Dept. of Social Services 05 OSP 1017 Lassiter 06/23/06 
Alma Chinita Trotter v. DHHS, Public Health Department 05 OSP 1183 Chess 06/01/06 
Tonita Derr Dawkins v. DOC, Alexander Correctional Institution 05 OSP 1449 Gray 07/27/06 
Thomas H. Jones v. NC State Highway Patrol, Dept. of Crime Control 05 OSP 1495 Chess 05/17/06 
   & Public Safety 
W. Frank Etheridge v. DOA, State Capital Police 05 OSP 1771 Lassiter 08/03/06 21:06 NCR 536 
Sandra Harris v. DOT    05 OSP 1886 Lassiter 07/13/06 
Marisa Lail Setzer v. Department of Public Instruction 05 OSP 1963 Morrison 08/02/06 
Melissa H. Bailey v. DOT   05 OSP 2119 Wade 06/28/06 
Michael D. Bognanowicz v. NC Wildlife Resources Commission 05 OSP 2024 Bryan 05/18/06 
 
Malcolm Shelton Davis v. DHHS   06 OSP 0015 Smith 09/12/106 
Kamaria Smith v. DHHS   06 OSP 0130 Mann 06/06/06 
Lisa A. Forbes v. Dorothea Dix Hospital  06 OSP 0134 Gray 03/29/06 
Lisa A. Forbes v. Dorothea Dix Hospital   06 OSP 0135 Gray 03/29/06 
Lelia J. Bailey v. Winston-Salem State University 06 OSP 0211 Chess 09/06/06 
Reginald Powe v. Public Schools of NC State Board of Education, Dept of 06 OSP 0238 Lassiter 05/09/06 
   Public Instruction 
Nita Bass v. Craven County Department of Social Services 06 OSP 0346 Lassiter 09/12/06 
Lisa Green v. DOC    06 OSP 0379 Lassiter 06/02/06 
James Walter Gibson v. DOT   06 OSP 0543 Gray 05/19/06 
Caria Faulk v. Columbus Co. Dept. of Social Services 06 OSP 0546 Lassiter 07/06/06 
Robin D. Long v. UNC Greensboro   06 OSP 0684 Lassiter 06/27/06 
Rena Coltraine McLeod v. Guilford Co. Dept. of Public Health 06 OSP 0703 Wade 06/28/06 
Jan-Lee Wells v. Fayetteville Sate   06 OSP 0731 Gray 08/10/06 
Timothy Scott Reynolds v. Morrison Correctional Institution 06 OSP 0803 Lassiter 07/26/06 
Geraldine Blackston-Ramos v. Maurice Boswell, Mary Washun, Cynthia 06 OSP 0831 Morrison 07/12/06 
   Chamblee, Phyllis Sharpe, Dennis Davis, Bill McNeal, Wake County 
   Public Schools/Human Resource Department/Preventive Services/ 
   Partnership for Educational Success 
Rick Van Kerkhove v. DOC   06 OSP 0851 Gray 08/25/06 
Odessa D. Gwynn v. Caswell County Senior Center 06 OSP 0863 Wade 08/26/06 
Juliana W. Smith v. Alamance-Caswell Area Mental Health, Developmental 06 OSP 1059 Lassiter 08/09/06 
   Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Authority 
Dr. Mirian W. McIntosh v. Durham Co. Health Department 06 OSP 1060 Lassiter 08/09/06 
Maria Olea-Lingg v. UNC-Health Care  06 OSP 1143 Lassiter 10/12/06 
Tamra M. Burroughs v. Div. of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 06 OSP 1280 Elkins 09/07/06 
James D. Abrams v. Craven Co. DOT  06 OSP 1358 Gray 10/13/06 
 
SECRETARY OF STATE 
Tisha L. Jones v. Dept. of Secretary of State  05 SOS 1987 Gray 05/19/06 
 
Temeka A. Brooks v. Dept of Secretary of State 06 SOS 0276 Mann 05/26/06 
Laksha England v. Dept. of SOS   06 SOS 0630 Mann 09/13/06 
Brendalyn D. Blackmon v. Dept. of Secretary of State 06 SOS 0701 Wade 08/11/06 
Jennifer Carol Daniels v. Dept. of SOS  06 SOS 1167 Lassiter 10/12/06 
 
UNC HOSPITALS 
Linda Sisco v. UNC Hospitals   05 UNC 0781 Gray 05/09/06 
 
Karen H. Moore v. UNC Hospitals   06 UNC 0351 Elkins 06/08/06 
Krista Singletary v. UNC Hospitals   06 UNC 0468 Mann 10/12/06 
Larry E. Rogers v. UNC Hospitals   06 UNC 0697 Elkins 07/31/06 
Cynthia Lodestro v. UNC Hospitals   06 UNC 0707 Wade 08/11/06 
Margaret Branham v. UNC Hospitals  06 UNC 0903 Elkins 09/07/06 
Ta-Wanda & David Wilson v. UNC Hospitals  06 UNC 1084 Lassiter 09/12/06 
Angel C. Carey v. UNC Hospitals   06 UNC 1146 Lassiter 09/07/06 
 
 
 
 
 


