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For questions or concerns regarding the Administrative Procedure Act or any of its components, consult with 
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 Lindsay Woy, Editorial Assistant  lindsay.woy@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3078 
 
 

 

Rule Review and Legal Issues 
Rules Review Commission 

1711 New Hope Church Road   (919) 431-3000 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27609   (919) 431-3104 FAX 
 

contact:  Amber Cronk May, Commission Counsel amber.cronk@oah.nc.gov  (919) 431-3074 

 Abigail Hammond, Commission Counsel abigail.hammond@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3076 

  Amanda Reeder, Commission Counsel amanda.reeder@oah.nc.gov (919) 431-3079 
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Contact:  Anca Grozav, Economic Analyst  osbmruleanalysis@osbm.nc.gov (919) 807-4740 
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215 North Dawson Street 
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Joint Legislative Administrative Procedure Oversight Committee 
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Raleigh, North Carolina 27611   (919) 715-5460 FAX 
 

contact:  Karen Cochrane-Brown,  Staff Attorney  Karen.cochrane-brown@ncleg.net 

 Jeff Hudson, Staff Attorney  Jeffrey.hudson@ncleg.net 
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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 

 

 

GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the 

schedule, the day of publication of the North Carolina 

Register is not included.  The last day of the period so 

computed is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 

or State holiday, in which event the period runs until 

the preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first 

and fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of 

the month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday 

for employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is 

a Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State 

employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 

 
FIRST LEGISLATIVE DAY OF THE NEXT REGULAR 

SESSION OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY:  This date is 

the first legislative day of the next regular session of 

the General Assembly following approval of the rule 

by the Rules Review Commission.  See G.S. 150B-

21.3, Effective date of rules. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a 

later date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published 

notice, the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 

days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 

the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09A 

.0103; 09B .0203; 09G .0101-.0102, .0202-.0206, .0301-.0304, 

.0306, .0412, .0504, .0602; and repeal the rule cited as 12 

NCAC 09G .0413. 

 

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on:       

  RRC certified on:  June 19, 2014 – 12 NCAC 09A 

.0103; 12 NCAC 09B .0203; 12 NCAC 09G .0101, .0102, 

.0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0301, .0302, .0303, 

.0304, .0306, .0413, .0504, .0602 

August 21, 2014 – 12 NCAC 09G .0412 

  Not Required 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-

and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-Training-

Standards/Forms-and-Publications.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2015 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  November 13, 2014 

Time:  10:30 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College – Public Safety 

Training Center, 321 Chapanoke Road, Raleigh, NC 27502 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   
12 NCAC 09B .0203 – The rule revision allows the NC 

Community College System to administer an optional test (NC 

Diagnostic Assessment and Placement – NCDAP) assessment to 

prospective students in meeting the 10
th

 grade reading level 

requirement of this rule.  The NCDAP is not a nationally 

standardized test, as required in the current rule, but was 

formally approved as an assessment mechanism by the State 

Board of Community Colleges on July 8, 2014. 

12 NCAC 09A .0103; 12 NCAC 09G .0101, .0102, .0202, .0203, 

.0204, .0205, .0206, .0301, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0306, .0413, 

.0504 .0602 – The rules are being revised in order to accurately 

reflect the correct job classifications and corresponding agency 

throughout the rules.  The Department of Public Safety removed 

the Probation/Parole Intermediate classification, which is being 

removed with these revisions.  Also, the Department of 

Correction is being revised to the Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

12 NCAC 09G .0412 – The Department of Public Safety, Office 

of Staff Development and Training revised the curriculum of the 

basic probation/parole training course.  The revisions were 

made to keep the training current with industry trends, and 

include the number of hours of training (increased from 160 to 

207); as well as the instructional components of the course.  The 

rule is further revised to reflect the correct title of the agency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Trevor Allen, P.O. Drawer 

149, Raleigh, NC 27602-0149; phone (919) 779-8205; fax (919) 

779-8210; email tjallen@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 13, 2014 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 

Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 

Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 

objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 

150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 

approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 

G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 

objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 

facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected – 12 NCAC 09A .0103; 12 NCAC 

09G .0101, .0102, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0301, 

.0302, .0303, .0304, .0306, .0413, .0504 .0602 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 – 12 

NCAC 09B .0203, 12 NCAC 09G .0412 

 

CHAPTER 09 – CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09A – CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION 

AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0100 – COMMISSION ORGANIZATION AND 

PROCEDURES 
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12 NCAC 09A .0103 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout Subchapters 12 

NCAC 09A through 12 NCAC 09F, except as modified in 12 

NCAC 09A .0107 for the purpose of the Commission's rule-

making and administrative hearing procedures: 

(1) "Agency" or "Criminal Justice Agency" means 

those state and local agencies identified in 

G.S. 17C-2(2). 

(2) "Alcohol Law Enforcement Agent" means a 

law enforcement officer appointed by the 

Secretary of the Department of Crime Control 

and Public Safety as authorized by G.S. 18B-

500. 

(3) "Chief Court Counselor" means the person 

responsible for administration and supervision 

of juvenile intake, probation and post-release 

supervision in each judicial district, operating 

under the supervision of the Department of 

Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention. 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice. 

(4) "Commission of an offense" means a finding 

by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission or an administrative body that a 

person performed the acts necessary to satisfy 

the elements of a specified criminal offense. 

(5) "Convicted" or "Conviction" means and 

includes, means, for purposes of this Chapter, 

the entry of: 

(a) a plea of guilty; 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, 

judge, magistrate, or other 

adjudicating body, tribunal, or 

official, either civilian or military; or 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, 

or the equivalent. 

(6) "Criminal Justice Officer(s)" means those 

officers identified in G.S. 17C-2(3) 17C-2(3), 

and excluding Correctional officers; officers 

and Probation/parole probation/parole officers, 

and Probation/parole officers intermediate. 

officers. The term "Probation/parole officers 

intermediate," as used in this Chapter has the 

same meaning as “Probation/parole officers-

surveillance” used in G.S. 17C-2(3). 

(7) "Criminal Justice System" means the whole of 

the State and local criminal justice agencies 

described in Item (1) of this Rule. 

(8) "Department Head" means the chief 

administrator of any criminal justice agency 

agency, and specifically includes any chief of 

police or agency director.  "Department Head" 

also includes a designee appointed in writing 

by the Department head. 

(9) "Director" means the Director of the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division of the North 

Carolina Department of Justice. 

(10) "Educational Points" means points earned 

toward the Professional Certificate Programs 

for studies satisfactorily completed completed, 

with passing scores achieved, for semester 

hour or quarter hour credit at a regionally 

accredited institution of higher learning. Each 

semester hour of college credit equals one 

educational point and each quarter hour of 

college credit equals two-thirds of an 

educational point. 

(11) "Enrolled" means that an individual is 

currently actively participating in an on-going 

presentation of a Commission-certified basic 

training course that has not been concluded on 

the day probationary certification expires. The 

term "currently actively participating" as used 

in this definition means: 

(a) for law enforcement officers, that the 

officer is then attending an approved 

course presentation averaging a 

minimum of 12 hours of instruction 

each week; and 

(b) for Department of Juvenile Justice 

and Delinquency Prevention Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice personnel, that 

the officer is then attending the last or 

final phase of the approved training 

course necessary for fully satisfying 

the total course completion 

requirements. 

(12) "High School" means graduation from a high 

school that meets the compulsory attendance 

requirements in the jurisdiction in which the 

school is located. 

(13) "In-Service Training" means any and all 

training prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0102 

09B .0105 that must be satisfactorily 

completed completed, with passing scores 

achieved, by all certified law enforcement 

officers during each full calendar year of 

certification. 

(14) "In-Service Training Coordinator" means the 

person designated by a law enforcement 

agency head to administer the agency's in-

service training program. 

(15) "Lateral Transfer" means the employment of a 

criminal justice officer, at any rank, by a 

criminal justice agency, based upon the 

officer's special qualifications or experience, 

without following the usual selection process 

established by the agency for basic officer 

positions. 

(16) "Law Enforcement Code of Ethics" means that 

the code adopted by the Commission on 

September 19, 1973, that reads: reads as 

follows: 

As a law enforcement officer, my fundamental 

duty is to serve the community; to safeguard 
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lives and property; to protect the innocent 

against deception, the weak against oppression 

or intimidation, and the peaceful against 

violence or disorder; and to respect the 

constitutional rights of all to liberty, equality, 

and justice. 

I will keep my private life unsullied as an 

example to all, and will behave in a manner 

that does not bring discredit to me or to my 

agency.  I will maintain courageous calm in 

the face of danger, scorn, or ridicule; develop 

self-restraint; and be constantly mindful of the 

welfare of others.  Honest in thought and deed 

both in my personal and official life, I will be 

exemplary in obeying the law and the 

regulations of my department. Whatever I see 

or hear of a confidential nature or that is 

confided to me in my official capacity will be 

kept ever secret unless revelation is necessary 

in the performance of my duty. 

I will never act officiously or permit personal 

feelings, prejudices, political beliefs, 

aspirations, animosities or friendships to 

influence my decisions.  With no compromise 

for crime and with relentless prosecution of 

criminals, I will enforce the law courteously 

and appropriately without fear or favor, malice 

or ill will, never employing unnecessary force 

or violence and never accepting gratuities. 

I recognize the badge of my office as a symbol 

of public faith, and I accept it as a public trust 

to be held so long as I am true to the ethics of 

the police service.  I will never engage in acts 

or corruption or bribery, nor will I condone 

such acts by other police officers.  I will 

cooperate with all legally authorized agencies 

and their representatives in the pursuit of 

justice. 

I know that I alone am responsible for my own 

standard of professional performance and will 

take every reasonable opportunity to enhance 

and improve my level of knowledge and 

competence. 

I will constantly strive to achieve these 

objectives and ideals, dedicating myself before 

God to my chosen profession...law 

enforcement. 

(17) "Juvenile Court Counselor" means a person 

responsible for intake services and court 

supervision services to juveniles under the 

supervision of the chief court counselor. 

(18) "Juvenile Justice Officer" means persons 

designated by the Secretary of the Department 

of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

Prevention Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice to provide for 

the care and supervision of juveniles placed in 

the physical custody of the Department. 

(19) "Law Enforcement Officer" means an 

appointee of a criminal justice agency or of the 

State or of any political subdivision of the 

State who, by virtue of his office, is 

empowered to make arrests for violations of 

the laws of this State.  Specifically excluded 

from this title the title of "Law Enforcement 

Officer" are sheriffs and their sworn 

appointees with arrest authority who are 

governed by the provisions of G.S. 17E. 

(20) "Law Enforcement Training Points" means 

points earned toward the Law Enforcement 

Officers' Professional Certificate Program by 

successful completion of Commission-

approved law enforcement training courses. 

Twenty classroom hours of Commission-

approved law enforcement training equals one 

law enforcement training point. 

(21)  "LIDAR" means a speed-measuring 

instrument that electronically computes, from 

transmitted infrared light pulses, the speed of a 

vehicle under observation. 

(22) "Local Confinement Personnel" means any 

officer, supervisor or administrator of a local 

confinement facility in North Carolina as 

defined in G.S. 153A-217; any officer, 

supervisor or administrator of a county 

confinement facility in North Carolina as 

defined in G.S. 153A-218; or, any officer, 

supervisor or administrator of a district 

confinement facility in North Carolina as 

defined in G.S. 153A-219. 

(23) "Misdemeanor" means those criminal offenses 

not classified under the laws, statutes, or 

ordinances as felonies. Misdemeanor offenses 

are classified by the Commission as follows: 

(a) "Class A Misdemeanor" means a 

misdemeanor committed or omitted 

in violation of any common law, duly 

enacted ordinance ordinance, or 

criminal statute of this state State that 

is not classified as a Class B 

Misdemeanor pursuant to Sub-item 

(23)(b) of this Rule.  Class A 

Misdemeanor also includes any act 

committed or omitted in violation of 

any common law, duly enacted 

ordinance, criminal statute, or 

criminal traffic code of any 

jurisdiction other than North 

Carolina, either civil or military, for 

which the maximum punishment 

allowable for the designated offense 

under the laws, statutes, or ordinances 

of the jurisdiction in which the 

offense occurred includes 

imprisonment for a term of not more 

than six months.  Specifically 

excluded from this grouping of "Class 
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A Misdemeanor" criminal offenses 

for jurisdictions other than North 

Carolina, are motor vehicle or traffic 

offenses designated as misdemeanors 

under the laws of other jurisdictions, 

or duly enacted ordinances of an 

authorized governmental entity with 

the exception of the offense of 

impaired driving which that is 

expressly included herein as a Class 

A Misdemeanor if the offender could 

have been sentenced for a term of not 

more than six months.  Also 

specifically included herein as a Class 

A Misdemeanor is the offense of 

impaired driving, if the offender was 

sentenced under punishment level 

three [G.S. 20-179(i)], level four 

[G.S. 20-179(j)], or level five [G.S. 

20-179(k)].  Class A Misdemeanor 

shall also include acts committed or 

omitted in North Carolina prior to 

October 1, 1994 in violation of any 

common law, duly enacted ordinance 

ordinance, or criminal statute, of this 

state State for which the maximum 

punishment allowable for the 

designated offense included 

imprisonment for a term of not more 

than six months. 

(b) "Class B Misdemeanor" means an act 

committed or omitted in violation of 

any common law, criminal statute, or 

criminal traffic code of this state State 

that is classified as a Class B 

Misdemeanor as set forth in the Class 

B Misdemeanor Manual as published 

by the North Carolina Department of 

Justice which is hereby incorporated 

by reference and shall automatically 

include any later amendments and 

editions of the incorporated material 

as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6.  

Copies of the publication may be 

obtained from the North Carolina 

Department of Justice, Post Office 

Box 629, Raleigh, North Carolina 

27602.  The publication is available 

from the Commission's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12

ca-47c0-48cb-a0e3-

6095183c4c2a/Class-B-

Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspx. 

There is no cost per manual at the 

time of adoption of this Rule. Class B 

Misdemeanor also includes any act 

committed or omitted in violation of 

any common law, duly enacted 

ordinance, criminal statute, or 

criminal traffic code of any 

jurisdiction other than North 

Carolina, either civil or military, for 

which the maximum punishment 

allowable for the designated offense 

under the laws, statutes, or ordinances 

of the jurisdiction in which the 

offense occurred includes 

imprisonment for a term of more than 

six months but not more than two 

years.  Specifically excluded from 

this grouping of "Class B 

Misdemeanor" criminal offenses for 

jurisdictions other than North 

Carolina, are motor vehicle or traffic 

offenses designated as being 

misdemeanors under the laws of other 

jurisdictions with the following 

exceptions:  Class B Misdemeanor 

does expressly include, either first or 

subsequent offenses of driving while 

impaired if the maximum allowable 

punishment is for a term of more than 

six months but not more than two 

years, driving while license 

permanently revoked or permanently 

suspended, and those traffic offenses 

occurring in other jurisdictions which 

are comparable to the traffic offenses 

specifically listed in the Class B 

Misdemeanor Manual. "Class B 

Misdemeanor" shall also include acts 

committed or omitted in North 

Carolina prior to October 1, 1994 in 

violation of any common law, duly 

enacted ordinance, criminal statute, or 

criminal traffic code of this state State 

for which the maximum punishment 

allowable for the designated offense 

included imprisonment for a term of 

more than six months but not more 

than two years. 

(24) "Qualified Assistant" means an additional staff 

person designated as such by the School 

Director to assist in the administration of a 

course when a certified institution or agency 

assigns additional responsibilities to the 

certified School Director during the planning, 

development, and implementation of a 

certified course. 

(25) "Radar" means a speed-measuring instrument 

that transmits microwave energy in the 10,500 

to 10,550 MHZ frequency (X) band band, or 

transmits microwave energy in the 24,050 to 

24,250 MHZ frequency (K) band band, and 

either of which operates in the stationary or 

moving mode.  "Radar" further means a speed-

measuring instrument that transmits 

microwave energy in the 33,400 to 36,000 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12ca-47c0-48cb-a0e3-6095183c4c2a/Class-B-Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspx
http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12ca-47c0-48cb-a0e3-6095183c4c2a/Class-B-Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspx
http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12ca-47c0-48cb-a0e3-6095183c4c2a/Class-B-Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspx
http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/60bb12ca-47c0-48cb-a0e3-6095183c4c2a/Class-B-Misdemeanor-Manual-2005.aspx
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MHZ (Ka) band and operates in either the 

stationary or moving mode. 

(26) "Resident" means any youth committed to a 

facility operated by the Department of Juvenile 

Justice and Delinquency Prevention. Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice. 

(27) "School" or "criminal justice school" means an 

institution, college, university, academy, or 

agency that offers criminal justice, law 

enforcement, or traffic control and 

enforcement training for criminal justice 

officers or law enforcement officers. "School" 

includes the criminal justice training course 

curriculum, instructors, and facilities. 

(28) "School Director" means the person designated 

by the sponsoring institution or agency to 

administer the criminal justice school. 

(29) "Speed-Measuring Instruments" (SMI) means 

those devices or systems, including radar time-

distance, and LIDAR, approved under 

authority of G.S. 17C-6(a)(13) for use in North 

Carolina in determining the speed of a vehicle 

under observation and particularly includes all 

named devices or systems as specifically 

referenced in the approved list of 12 NCAC 

09C .0601. 

(30) "Standards Division" means the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division of the North 

Carolina Department of Justice. 

(31) "Time-Distance" means a speed-measuring 

instrument that electronically computes, from 

measurements of time and distance, the 

average speed of a vehicle under observation. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 153A-217. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF 

INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school director shall not admit any individual as a 

trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 

Course who is not a citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 

years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic criminal 

justice training course.  Individuals under 20 years of age may 

be granted authorization for early enrollment as trainees in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

with prior written approval from the Director of the Standards 

Division.  The Director shall approve early enrollment as long as 

the individual turns 20 years of age prior to the date of the State 

Comprehensive Examination for the course. 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal 

justice training courses to individuals holding full-time 

employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" 

who does not meet the education and experience requirements 

for instructor certification under Rule .0302 of this Subchapter 

within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor 

Training State Comprehensive Examination. 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or 

limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course unless the individual individual, 

within one year prior to admission to Basic law Enforcement 

Training, places into course DRE 098 at a North Carolina 

Community College as a result of taking the Reading and 

English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic 

Assessment and Placement test as approved by the State Board 

of Community Colleges on July 18, 2014 

(http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/sites/default/files/state-

board/minutes/approved_minutes_-_16may2014_-_bwj_edits_-

_7.8.14.pdf), or has taken the reading component of a nationally 

standardized test within one year prior to admission to Basic 

Law Enforcement Training and has scored at or above the tenth 

grade level or the equivalent.  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include 

enrollees who currently hold general 

certification or who have held general 

certification within 12 months prior to the date 

of enrollment. 

(2) A nationally standardized test is a test that: 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, 

stanines stanines, or grade 

equivalents; and 

(B) compares student test results to a 

national norm. 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided to the School Director a 

medical examination report, completed by a physician licensed 

to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or 

a nurse practitioner, to determine the individual's fitness to 

perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer.  

The Director of the Standards Division shall grant an exception 

to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the 

commencement of the physical fitness topical area when failure 

to timely receive the medical examination report is not due to 

neglect on the part of the trainee. 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual is a high school graduate or has passed the 

General Educational Development Test indicating high school 

equivalency.  High school diplomas earned through 

correspondence enrollment are not recognized toward the 

educational requirements. 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

unless the individual has provided the certified School Director a 

certified criminal record check for local and state records for the 

time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all 

http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/sites/default/files/state-board/minutes/approved_minutes_-_16may2014_-_bwj_edits_-_7.8.14.pdf
http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/sites/default/files/state-board/minutes/approved_minutes_-_16may2014_-_bwj_edits_-_7.8.14.pdf
http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/sites/default/files/state-board/minutes/approved_minutes_-_16may2014_-_bwj_edits_-_7.8.14.pdf
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locations where the trainee has resided since becoming an adult. 

An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or 

a comparable out-of-state criminal record check will satisfy this 

requirement. 

(i)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 

who has been convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

Misdemeanor" within the five year period 

prior to the date of application for employment 

unless the individual intends to seek 

certification through the North Carolina 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 

Commission; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined 

as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the 

date of conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined 

as "Class A Misdemeanors" except the trainee 

may be enrolled if the last conviction date 

occurred more than two years prior to the date 

of enrollment; 

(6) a combination of four or more "Class A 

Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" 

regardless of the date of conviction unless the 

individual intends to seek certification through 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education 

and Training Standards Commission. 

(j)  Individuals charged with crimes as specified in Paragraph (i) 

of this Rule, and such offenses were dismissed or the person was 

found not guilty, may be admitted into the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course but completion of the Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification 

as a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as 

a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course shall notify the School Director of all criminal 

offenses which the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads 

no contest to, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of, and of all 

Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) which that are issued by a 

judicial official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for 

both parties to be present.  This includes all criminal offenses 

except minor traffic offenses and specifically includes any 

offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While 

Impaired (DWI).  A minor traffic offense is defined, for the 

purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the maximum 

punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer.  Other 

offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar laws of other 

jurisdictions which shall be reported to the School Director are 

G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under the influence), G.S. 20-28 

(driving while license permanently revoked or permanently 

suspended), G.S. 20-30(5) (fictitious name or address in 

application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 

(fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification 

card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a 

motor vehicle), G.S. 20-111(5) (fictitious name or address in 

application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red 

or blue lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling 

law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on 

streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), 

and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident).  The 

notifications required under this Paragraph must shall be in 

writing, must specify the nature of the offense, the court in 

which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal 

charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Order 

(G.S. 50B), the final disposition, and the date thereof.  The 

notifications required under this Paragraph must shall be 

received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the 

case was finally disposed of in court.  The requirements of this 

Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is 

enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course.  The 

requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications 

required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B 

.0101(8). 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G – STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – SCOPE, APPLICABILITY, AND 

DEFINITIONS 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0101 SCOPE AND APPLICABILITY  

OF SUBCHAPTER 

This Subchapter governs the implementation of minimum 

standards for employment, training, and certification of three 

two classes of corrections officers: correctional officers, officers 

and probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-

intermediate officers, as well as the standards for corrections 

schools and the state corrections certificate program. Definitions 

and procedures contained within 12 NCAC 09A through 09F do 

not apply to these classes of corrections officers, unless 

specifically referenced; referenced. only Only rules specifically 

included in Subchapter 09G apply to these employees of the 

North Carolina Department of Correction. Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-1; 17C-6. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0102 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter only: 

(1) "Commission of an offense" means a finding 

by the North Carolina Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission or an administrative body that a 

person performed the acts necessary to satisfy 

the elements of a specified offense. 

(2) "Convicted" or "Conviction" means and 

includes, means, for purposes of this 

Subchapter, the entry of: 

(a) a plea of guilty; 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, 

judge, magistrate, or other duly 



PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

29:05                                                             NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                SEPTEMBER 2, 2014 

499 

constituted, established adjudicating 

body, tribunal, or official, either 

civilian or military; or 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, 

or the equivalent. 

(3) "Correctional Officer" means an employee of 

the North Carolina Department of Correction, 

Division of Prisons, Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, 

responsible for the custody of inmates or 

offenders. 

(4) "Corrections Officer" means any or all either 

or both of the three two classes of officers 

employed by the North Carolina Department 

of Correction: Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice: correctional 

officer; officer or probation/parole officer; and 

probation/parole officer-intermediate. officer. 

(5) "Criminal Justice System" means the whole of 

the State and local criminal justice agencies 

including the North Carolina Department of 

Correction. Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

(6) "Director" means the Director of the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division of the North 

Carolina Department of Justice. 

(7) "Educational Points" means points earned 

toward the State Correction Officers' 

Professional Certificate Program for studies 

satisfactorily completed with passing grades 

for semester hour or quarter hour credit at a 

regionally accredited institution of higher 

education.  Each semester hour of college 

credit equals one educational point and each 

quarter hour of college credit equals two-thirds 

of an educational point. 

(8) "High School" means graduation from a high 

school that meets the compulsory attendance 

requirements in the jurisdiction in which the 

school is located. 

(9) "Misdemeanor" for corrections officers means 

those criminal offenses not classified under the 

laws, statutes, or ordinances as felonies.  

Misdemeanor offenses for corrections officers 

are classified by the Commission as follows: 

the following as set forth in G.S. or otherwise 

stated: 

(a) 14-2.5  Punishment for 

attempt (offenses that are Class A-1 

misdemeanor) 

(b) 14-27.7  Intercourse and 

sexual offenses with certain victims 

(If defendant is school personnel  

other than a teacher, school 

administrator, student teacher or 

coach) 

(c) 14-32.1(f) Assault on 

handicapped persons 

(d) 14-32.2(b)(4) Patient abuse and 

neglect, punishments 

(e) 14-32.3  Exploitation by 

caretaker of disabled/elder adult in 

domestic setting; resulting in loss  

of less than one thousand dollars 

($l000) (August 1, 2001-December 1, 

2005. Repealed December 1, 2005) 

(f) 14-33(b)(9) Assault, battery 

against sports official 

(g) 14-33(c)  Assault, battery 

with circumstances 

(h) 14-34  Assault by pointing 

a gun 

(i) 14-34.6(a) Assault on 

Emergency Personnel 

(j) 14-54  Breaking or 

Entering into buildings generally (14-

54(b)) 

(k) 14-72  Larceny of 

property; receiving stolen goods etc.; 

not more than one thousand dollars  

($1000.00) (14-72(a)) 

(l) 14-72.1  Concealment of 

merchandise (14-72.1(e); 3rd or 

subsequent offense) 

(m) 14-76  Larceny, 

mutilation, or destruction of public 

records/papers 

(n) CH 14 Art. 19A False/fraudulent use 

of credit device (14-113.6) 

(o) CH 14 Art. 19B Financial 

transaction card crime (14-113.17(a)) 

(p) 14-114(a) Fraudulent disposal 

of personal property on which there is 

a security interest 

(q) 14-118  Blackmailing 

(r) 14-118.2  Obtaining academic 

credit by fraudulent means (14-

118.2(b)) 

(s) 14-122.1  Falsifying 

documents issued by a school (14-

122.1(c)) 

(t) 14-127  Willful and wanton 

injury to real property 

(u) 14-160  Willful and wanton 

injury to personal property greater 

than two hundred dollars  

($200.00) (14-160(b)) 

(v) 14-190.5  Preparation of 

obscene photographs 

(w) 14-190.9  Indecent Exposure 

(x) 14-190.14 Displaying material 

harmful to minors (14-190.14(b)) 

(y) 14-190.15 Disseminating 

harmful material to minors (14-

190.15(d)) 

(z) 14-202.2  Indecent liberties 

between children 
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(aa) 14-202.4  Taking indecent 

liberties with a student 

(bb) 14-204  Prostitution (14-

207; 14-208) 

(cc) 14-223  Resisting officers 

(dd) 14-225  False, etc., reports 

to law enforcement agencies or 

officers 

(ee) 14-230  Willfully failing to 

discharge duties 

(ff) 14-231  Failing to make 

reports and discharge other duties 

(gg) 14-232  Swearing falsely to 

official records 

(hh) 14-239  Allowing prisoners 

to escape punishment 

(ii) 14-255  Escape of working 

prisoners from custody 

(jj) 14-256  Prison breach and 

escape 

(kk) 14-258.1(b) Furnishing certain 

contraband to inmates 

(ll) 14-259  Harboring or aiding 

certain persons 

(mm) CH 14 Art. 34 Persuading inmates 

to escape; harboring fugitives (14-

268) 

(nn) 14-269.2  Weapons on 

campus or other educational property 

(14-269.2(d), (e) and (f)) 

(oo) 14-269.3(a) Weapons where 

alcoholic beverages are sold and 

consumed 

(pp) 14-269.4  Weapons on state 

property and in courthouses 

(qq) 14-269.6  Possession and sale 

of spring-loaded projectile knives 

prohibited (14-269.6(b)) 

(rr) 14-277  Impersonation of a 

law-enforcement or other public 

officer verbally, by displaying a 

badge or insignia, or by operating a 

red light (14-277 (d1) and (e)) 

(ss) 14-277.2(a) Weapons at 

parades, etc., prohibited 

(tt) 14-277.3  Stalking (14-

277.3(b)) 

(uu) 14-288.2(b) Riot 

(vv) 14-288.2(d) Inciting to riot 

(ww) 14.288.6(a) Looting; 

trespassing during emergency 

(xx) 14-288.7(c) Transporting 

weapon or substance during 

emergency 

(yy) 14-288.9(c) Assault on 

emergency personnel; punishments 

(zz) 14-315(a) Selling or giving 

weapons to minors 

(aaa) 14-315.1  Storage of firearms 

to protect minors 

(bbb) 14-316.1  Contributing to 

delinquency 

(ccc) 14-318.2  Child abuse 

(ddd) 14-360  Cruelty to animals 

(eee) 14-361  Instigating or 

promoting cruelty to animals 

(fff) 14-401.14 Ethnic intimidation; 

teaching any technique to be used for 

(14-401.14(a) and (b)) 

(ggg) 14-454(a) or (b) Accessing 

computers 

(hhh) 14-458  Computer trespass 

(Damage less than two thousand five 

hundred dollars ($2500.00) 

(iii) 15A-266.11 Unauthorized use 

of DNA databank; willful disclosure 

(15A-266.11(a) and (b)) 

(jjj) 15A-287  Interception and 

disclosure of wire etc. 

communications 

(kkk) 15B-7(b) Filing false or 

fraudulent application for 

compensation award 

(lll) 18B-902(c) False statements in 

application for ABC permit (18B-

102(b)) 

(mmm) 20-37.8(a) & (c) Fraudulent use of a 

fictitious name for a special 

identification card 

(nnn) 20-102.1  False report of theft 

or conversion of a motor vehicle 

(ooo) 20-111(5) Fictitious name or 

address in application for registration 

(ppp) 20-130.1  Use of red or blue 

lights on vehicles prohibited (20-

130.1(e)) 

(qqq) 20-137.2  Operation of 

vehicles resembling law-enforcement 

vehicles (20-137.2(b)) 

(rrr) 20-138.1  Driving while 

impaired (punishment level 1 (20-

179(g)) or 2 (20-179(h)) 

(sss) 20-138.2I Impaired driving in 

commercial vehicle (20-138.2(e)) 

(ttt) 20-141.5(a) Speeding to elude 

arrest 

(uuu) 20-166(b) Duty to stop in 

event of accident or collision 

(vvv) 20-166(c) Duty to stop in 

event of accident or collision 

(www) 20-166(c1) Duty to stop in 

event of accident or collision 

(xxx) 50B-4.1  Knowingly 

violating valid protective order 

(yyy) 58-33-105 False statement in 

applications for insurance 
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(zzz) 58-81-5  Careless or 

negligent setting of fires 

(aaaa) 62A-12  Misuse of 911 

system 

(bbbb) 90-95(d)(2) Possession of 

schedule II, III, IV 

(cccc) 90-95(d)(3) Possession of 

Schedule V 

(dddd) 90-95(d)(4) Possession of 

Schedule VI (when punishable as 

Class 1 misdemeanor) 

(eeee) 90-95(e)(4) Conviction of 2 or 

more violations of Art. 5 

(ffff) 90-95(e)(7) Conviction of 2 or 

more violations of Art. 5 

(gggg) 90-113.22 Possession of drug 

paraphernalia (90-113.22(b)) 

(hhhh) 90-113.23 Manufacture or 

delivery of drug paraphernalia (90-

113.23(c)) 

(iiii) 97-88.2(a) Misrepresentation 

to get worker's compensation 

payment 

(jjjj) 108A-39(a) Fraudulent 

misrepresentation of public assistance 

(kkkk) 108A-53  Fraudulent 

misrepresentation of foster care and 

adoption assistance payments 

(llll) 108A-64(a) Medical assistance 

recipient fraud; less than four 

hundred dollars ($400.00) (108-

64(c)(2)) 

(mmmm)108A-80 Recipient check 

register/list of all recipients of AFDC 

and state-county special assistance 

(108A-80(b)) 

(nnnn) 108A-80  Recipient check 

register/ list of all recipients of AFDC 

and state-county special assistance; 

political mailing list (108A-80(c)) 

(oooo) 113-290.1(a)(2) Criminally 

negligent hunting; no bodily 

disfigurement 

(pppp) 113-290.1(a)(3) Criminally 

negligent hunting; bodily 

disfigurement 

(qqqq) 113-290.1(a)(4) Criminally 

negligent hunting; death results 

(rrrr) 113-290.1(d) Criminally 

negligent hunting; person 

convicted/suspended license 

(ssss) 143-58.1(a) Use of public 

purchase or contract for private 

benefit (143-58.1(c)) 

(tttt) 148-45(d) Aiding escape or 

attempted escape from prison 

(uuuu) 162-55  Injury to prisoner 

by jailer 

(vvvv) Common-Law misdemeanors: 

(i) Going Armed to the Terror 

of the People 

(ii) Common-Law Mayhem 

(iii) False Imprisonment 

(iv) Common-Law Robbery 

(v) Common-Law Forgery 

(vi) Common-Law Uttering of 

Forged paper 

(vii) Forcible Trespass 

(viii) Unlawful Assembly 

(vix) Common-Law Obstruction 

of Justice 

(wwww) Those offenses occurring in other 

jurisdictions which that are 

comparable to the offenses 

specifically listed in (a) through 

(vvvv) of this Rule. 

(xxxx) Any offense proscribed by 18 USC 

922(g)(8) [Lautenburg Amendment] 

U.S.C. 922 (1996), 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USC

ODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-

2011-title18-partI-chap44-

sec922.pdf), that would prohibit 

possessing a firearm or ammunition. 

(10) "Pilot Courses" means those courses approved 

by the Education and Training Committee, 

consistent with 12 NCAC 09G .0404, which 

are utilized to develop new training course 

curricula. 

(11) "Probation/Parole Officer" means an employee 

of the North Carolina Department of 

Correction, Division of Community 

Corrections, Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice whose duties 

include supervising, evaluating, or otherwise 

instructing offenders placed on probation, 

parole, post release supervision, or assigned to 

any other community-based program operated 

by the Division of Community Corrections. 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

(12) "Probation/Parole Officer-Intermediate" means 

an employee of the North Carolina Department 

of Correction, Division of Community 

Corrections, other than a regular 

probation/parole officer who is trained in 

corrections techniques, and is an authorized 

representative of the courts of North Carolina 

and the Department of Correction, Division of 

Community Corrections, whose duties include 

supervising, investigating, reporting, and 

surveillance of serious offenders in an 

intensive probation, parole, or post release 

supervision program operated by the Division 

of Community Corrections. 

(13)(12) "Qualified Assistant" means an additional staff 

person designated as such by the School 

Director to assist in the administration of a 

course when a certified institution or agency 
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assigns additional responsibilities to the 

certified School Director during the planning, 

development, and implementation of a 

certified course. 

(14)(13) "School" means an institution, college, 

university, academy, or agency which offers 

penal or corrections training for correctional 

officers, officers or probation/parole officers, 

officers. or probation/parole officers-

intermediate.  "School" includes the 

corrections training course curricula, 

instructors, and facilities. 

(15)(14) "School Director" means the person designated 

by the Secretary of the North Carolina 

Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice to administer the "School." 

(16)(15) "Standards Division" means the Criminal 

Justice Standards Division of the North 

Carolina Department of Justice. 

(17)(16) "State Corrections Training Points" means 

points earned toward the State Corrections 

Officers' Professional Certificate Program by 

successful completion of Commission-

approved corrections training courses. 20 

classroom hours of Commission-approved 

corrections training equals one State 

Corrections training point. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 153A-217. 

 

SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0202 CITIZENSHIP 

Every person employed as a correctional officer, or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

be a citizen of the United States. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0203 AGE 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer, officer or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

be at least 20 years of age. 

(b)  Candidates shall document age through documents issued by 

any county, State, state, or federal government agency. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0204 EDUCATION 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer by the 

North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall be a high 

school graduate or have passed the General Educational 

Development Test indicating high school equivalency. 

(b)  Every person employed as a probation/parole officer by the 

North Carolina Department of Correction shall be a graduate of 

a regionally accredited college or university and have attained at 

least the baccalaureate degree. 

(c)  Every person employed as a probation/parole officer-

intermediate by the North Carolina Department of Correction 

shall be a high school graduate or have passed the General 

Educational Development Test indicating high school 

equivalency. 

(d)(c)  Each applicant for employment as a corrections officer 

shall furnish to the North Carolina Department of Correction 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

documentary evidence that the applicant has met the educational 

requirements for the corrections field of expected employment. 

(1) Documentary evidence of educational 

requirements shall consist of official 

transcripts of courses completed or diplomas 

received from a school which that meets the 

requirements of: of the North Carolina 

Department of Public Instruction, the Division 

of Non-Public Instruction, a comparable out-

of-state agency, or is a regionally accredited 

college or university.  The Director of the 

Standards Division shall determine whether 

other types of documentation will may be 

permitted in specific cases consistent with this 

rule. Rule.  High school diplomas earned 

through correspondence enrollment are not 

recognized toward these minimum educational 

requirements. 

(2) Documentary evidence of completion of the 

General Educational Development "GED" 

Test shall be satisfied by a certified copy of 

GED test results showing successful 

completion.  A certified copy of a military 

GED diploma may be used as alternate 

evidence of GED completion. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL  

STANDARDS 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer, officer or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

have been examined and certified within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Correction 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

by a licensed physician, physician's assistant, or nurse 

practitioner to meet the physical requirements to fulfill properly 

the officer's particular responsibilities as stated in the essential 

job functions. 

(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer, officer or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 
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Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

have been administered within one year prior to employment 

with the North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice a 

psychological screening examination by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina to 

determine the officer's mental and emotional suitability to fulfill 

properly the officer's particular responsibilities as stated in the 

essential job functions. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0206 MORAL CHARACTER 

Every person employed as a correctional officer, officer or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice shall demonstrate good moral 

character as evidenced by, but not limited to: by the following: 

(1) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(2) not having been convicted of a misdemeanor 

as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(9) for three 

years or the completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts whichever 

is later; 

(3) not having been convicted of an offense that, 

under 18 USC 922, 

(http://codes.lp.findlaw.com/uscode/18/I/44/92

2) U.S.C. 922 (1996), 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-

2011-title18-partl-chap44-sec922.pdf), would 

prohibit the possession of a firearm or 

ammunition; 

(4) having submitted to and produced a negative 

result on a drug test within 60 days of 

employment or any in-service drug screening 

required by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice which that meets the certification 

standards of the Department of Health and 

Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs.  A list of certified drug 

testing labs labs that meet this requirement 

may be obtained obtained, from National 

Institute on Drug Abuse, 5600 Fisher Lane, 

Rockville, Maryland 20857 at no cost, 

(http://workplace.samhsa.gov/DrugTesting/Le

vel_1_Pages/CertifiedLabs.html) to detect the 

illegal use of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; at no cost, 

at 

http://workplace.samhsa.gov/DrugTesting/Lev

el_1_Pages/CertifiedLabs.html. 

(5) submitting to a background investigation 

consisting of: of the following: 

(a) verification of age; 

(b) verification of education; and 

(c) criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; and 

(6) being truthful in providing all required 

information as prescribed by the application 

process. to the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or general 

certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0300 - CERTIFICATION OF 

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE 

OFFICERS, AND INSTRUCTORS 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0301 CERTIFICATION OF  

CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS AND  

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS 

Every person employed as a correctional officer, officer or 

probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-intermediate 

officer shall be certified as prescribed by the Rules of this 

Section.  The Commission shall certify an officer as either a 

probationary officer or general officer based on the officer's 

qualifications and experience. experience, as specified in Rule 

.0303 and Rule .0304 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0302 NOTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL  

CHARGES/CONVICTIONS 

(a)  Every person employed and certified as a correctional 

officer, officer or probation/parole officer, or probation/parole 

officer-intermediate officer shall notify the Standards Division 

of all criminal offenses for which the officer is charged, arrested, 

pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found 

guilty.  Criminal offenses shall include all felony offenses and 

shall specifically include those misdemeanor offenses delineated 

in 12 NCAC 09G .0102. 

(b)  The notifications required under this Rule must shall be in 

writing, must specify the nature of the offense, the court in 

which the case was handled, the date of arrest or criminal 

charge, the final disposition disposition, and the date thereof. 

The notifications required under this Subparagraph must shall be 

received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the date the 

case was disposed of in court. 

(c)  The requirements of this Rule shall be applicable at all times 

during which the officer is certified by the Commission.  

(d)  Officers required to notify the Standards Division under this 

Rule shall also make the same notification to their employing or 

appointing executive officer within 20 days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court.  The executive officer, provided he has 

knowledge of the officer's arrest(s), or criminal charge(s), and or 

final disposition(s), shall also notify the Standards Division of 

all arrests or criminal convictions within 30 days of the date of 

the arrest and within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of 

in court.  Receipt by the Standards Division of a single 

notification, from either the officer or the executive officer, is 

shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-sec922.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-sec922.pdf
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12 NCAC 09G .0303 PROBATIONARY  

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  A prospective employee may commence active service as a 

correctional officer, officer or probation/parole officer, or 

probation/parole officer-intermediate officer at the time of 

employment. 

(b)  Within 90 days of appointment to a position for which the 

commission Commission requires certification, the North 

Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall submit a completed 

Report of Appointment/Application for Certification to the 

Standards Division.  The form may be accessed on the Standards 

Division's website at: http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-

Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-

Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-

Publications.aspx. 

(c)  The Commission shall certify as a probationary officer a 

person meeting the standards for certification when the North 

Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice submits a completed 

Report of Appointment/Application for Certification to the 

Standards Division. 

(d)  The Standards Division shall issue the person's officer's 

Probationary Certification to the North Carolina Department of 

Correction. Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice. 

(e)  The officer's Probationary Certification shall remain valid 

for one year from the date the certification is issued by the 

Standards Division unless sooner suspended or revoked pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter or the officer has attained 

General Certification. 

(f)  Documentation of Probationary Certification shall be 

maintained with the officer's personnel records with the North 

Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice and the Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0304 GENERAL CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall grant an officer General Certification 

when evidence is received by the Standards Division that an 

officer has successfully completed the training requirements of 

12 NCAC 09G .0410, .0411, .0412, or .0413 within the officer's 

probationary period and the officer has met all other 

requirements for General Certification. as specified in Rules 

.0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0302, and .0303 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  General Certification is continuous from the date of 

issuance, so long as the certified officer remains continuously 

employed as a correctional officer, officer or probation/parole 

officer, officer or probation/parole officer-intermediate in good 

standing with the North Carolina Department of Correction 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

and the certification has not been suspended or revoked pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter. 

(c)  Certified officers who, through promotional opportunities, 

move into non-certified positions within the Department, may 

have their certification reinstated without re-completion of the 

basic training requirements of 12 NCAC 09G .0410, .0411, 

.0412, or .0413, and are exempted from reverification of 

employment standards of 12 NCAC 09G .0202 through .0206 

when returning to a position requiring certification if they have 

maintained continuous employment within the Department. 

(d)  Documentation of General Certification shall be maintained 

with the officer's personnel records with the North Carolina 

Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice and the Commission. 

(e)  Upon transfer of a certified officer from one type of 

corrections officer to another, the North Carolina Department of 

Correction Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice shall submit a Notice of Transfer to the 

Standards Division. 

(1) Upon receipt of the Notice of Transfer, the 

Standards Division shall cancel the officer's 

current General Certification and upon receipt 

of documentary evidence that the officer has 

met the requisite standards for the specified 

type of corrections officer certification, the 

Commission shall issue Probationary 

Certification reflecting the officer's new 

corrections position. 

(2) The Commission shall grant an officer General 

Certification as the new type of corrections 

officer when evidence is received by the 

Standards Division that an officer has 

successfully completed the training 

requirements of 12 NCAC 09G .0410, .0411, 

.0412, or .0413 within the officer's 

probationary period and the officer has met all 

other requirements for General Certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0306 RETENTION OF RECORDS OF  

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall place in 

the officer's certification file the official notification from the 

Commission of either Probationary or General Certification for 

each correctional officer, probation/parole officer, officer and 

probation/parole officer-intermediate employed or appointed by 

the North Carolina Department of Correction. Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. The 

certification file shall also contain: 

(1) the officer's Report of 

Appointment/Application for Certification 

Certification, including the State Personnel 

Application; Department of Public Safety 

Personnel Action Form; 

(2) the officer's Medical History Statement and 

Medical Examination Report;  

(3) documentation of the officer's drug screening 

results; 

(4) documentation of the officer's educational 

achievements; 

(5) documentation of all corrections training 

completed by the officer; 
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(6) documentation of the officer's psychological 

examination results; 

(7) documentation and verification of the officer's 

age; 

(8) documentation and verification of the officer's 

citizenship; 

(9) documentation of any prior criminal record; 

and 

(10) miscellaneous documents to include, but not 

limited to, including letters, investigative 

reports, and subsequent charges and 

convictions. 

(b)  All files and documents relating to an officer's certification 

shall be available for examination and utilization at any 

reasonable time by representatives of the Commission for the 

purpose of verifying compliance with the Rules in this 

Subchapter. These records shall be maintained in compliance 

with the North Carolina Department of Correction's Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice's 

Records Retention Schedule. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6. 

 

SECTION .0400 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0412 BASIC TRAINING FOR  

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS 

(a)  The basic training course for probation/parole officers shall 

consist of at least 160 207 hours of instruction, as approved by 

the Commission, designed to provide the trainee with the skills 

and knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function as a 

probation/parole officer. The instructional components of this 

course must shall be listed in the "Basic Probation/Parole Officer 

Training Manual," and shall include firearms training; 

administrative matters, review and testing; controls, restraints, 

and defensive techniques; court processes; case processing and 

management; arrest procedures; basic life support; employee 

wellness; professional ethics; personal and professional conduct; 

and contemporary correctional theory. 

(b)  The "Basic Probation/Parole Officer Training Manual" as 

published by the North Carolina Department of Correction 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

is to shall be applied as the basic curriculum for delivery of 

probation/parole officer basic training courses. courses specified 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Copies of this publication may be 

inspected at the office of the agency: 

The Office of Staff Development and Training 

North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

2211 Schieffelin Road 

Apex, North Carolina 27502 

With mailing address: 

MSC 4213 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4213 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

Department of Correction. Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0413 BASIC TRAINING FOR  

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-INTERMEDIATE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements for Basic Training for 

Probation/Parole Officers contained in Rule .0412 of this 

Section, every probation\parole officer-intermediate shall 

complete a supplemental course which shall consist of at least 80 

hours of instruction, as approved by the Commission, designed 

to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform 

those tasks essential to function as a probation/parole officer-

intermediate. The instructional components of this course must 

be listed in the "Basic Probation/Parole Officer-Intermediate 

Training Manual," and shall include firearms training; controls, 

restraints, and defensive techniques; officer/offender 

relationships; advanced arrest, search and seizure; DCC 

specialized equipment operations; and administrative matters, 

review, and testing. 

(b)  The "Basic Probation/Parole Officer-Intermediate Training 

Manual," as published by the North Carolina Department of 

Correction is to be applied as the basic curriculum for delivery 

of probation/parole officer-intermediate basic training courses. 

Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the 

agency: 

The Office of Staff Development and Training 

North Carolina Department of Correction 

2211 Schieffelin Road 

Apex, North Carolina 27502 

With mailing address: 

MSC 4213 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-4213 

and may be obtained at cost from the Department of Correction. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0500 – ENFORCEMENT OF RULES 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0504 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION:  

OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a 

correctional officer, officer or probation/parole officer, or officer 

probation/parole officer-intermediate when the Commission 

finds that the officer has committed or been convicted of a 

felony offense. 

(b)  The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case, 

suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a corrections officer 

when the Commission finds that the applicant for certification or 

the certified officer: 

(1) has not enrolled in and satisfactorily 

completed the required basic training course in 

its entirety within prescribed time periods 

relevant or applicable to a specified position or 

job title; 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the 

employment standards required by 12 NCAC 
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09G .0200 for the category of the officer's 

certification or fails to meet or maintain one or 

more of the training standards required by 12 

NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the 

officer's certification; 

(3) has committed or been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0102 after certification; 

(4) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice for: 

(A) commission or conviction of a motor 

vehicle offense requiring the 

revocation of the officer's drivers 

license; or 

(B) commission or conviction of any 

other offense involving moral 

turpitude; character, as defined in: re 

Willis, 299 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 

appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(9175); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 

N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in 

re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 

55 S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 

188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); 

State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 

S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and their 

progeny. 

(5) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Correction Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice because the officer lacks the mental or 

physical capabilities to fulfill the 

responsibilities of a corrections officer; 

(6) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(7) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation misrepresentation, or 

cheating whatsoever, obtained or attempted to 

obtain credit, training training, or certification 

from the Commission; 

(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation misrepresentation, or 

cheating whatsoever, aided another person in 

obtaining or attempting to obtain credit, 

training, or certification from the Commission; 

(9) has failed to notify the Standards Division of 

all criminal charges or convictions as required 

by 12 NCAC 09G .0302; 

(10) has been removed from office by decree of the 

Superior Court in accord with the provisions 

of G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from 

office by sentence of the court in accord with 

the provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(11) has refused to submit to an applicant drug 

screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or 

has refused to submit to an in-service drug 

screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in 

the Drug Screening Implementation Guide as 

required by the Department of Correction; 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice; 

(12) has produced a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission as specified in 12 

NCAC 09G .0206(3), where the positive result 

cannot be explained to the Commission's 

satisfaction; or 

(13) has been denied certification or had such 

certification suspended or revoked by a 

previous action of the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission, the North Carolina 

Company/Campus Company Police Program, 

the North Carolina Campus Police Program, 

the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission, or a similar 

North Carolina, out of state or federal 

approving, certifying or licensing agency 

whose function is the same or similar to the 

aforementioned agencies if such certification 

was denied, suspended or revoked based on 

grounds that would constitute a violation of 

Subchapter 09G. this Subchapter. 

(c)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's 

certification, the person shall not remain employed or appointed 

as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any 

authority of a corrections officer during a period for which the 

person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

SECTION .0600 – PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATE 

PROGRAM 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0602 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

(a)  In order to be eligible for one or more of the professional 

awards, an officer shall first meet the following preliminary 

qualifications: 

(1) The officer shall presently hold a general 

correctional officer certification.  A person 

serving under a probationary certification is 

not eligible for consideration. An officer 

subject to suspension or revocation 

proceedings or under investigation for possible 

decertification action by the Commission, the 

North Carolina Company and Campus Police 

Program, the North Carolina Campus Police 

Program, or the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission shall not be eligible for 

professional awards for the pendency of the 

proceeding. 



PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

29:05                                                             NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                SEPTEMBER 2, 2014 

507 

(2) The officer shall hold general certification 

with the Commission in one of the following 

categories: 

(A) correctional officer; officer; or 

(B) probation/parole officer; or officer. 

(C) probation/parole officer-intermediate. 

(3) The officer shall be a permanent, full-time, 

paid employee of the Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction. 

Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

(4) Permanent, paid employees of the Department 

of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 

and Juvenile Justice who have successfully 

completed a Commission-certified corrections 

officer basic training program and have 

previously held general certification as 

specified in 12 NCAC 09G .0602(a)(1) and 12 

NCAC 09G .0602(a)(2), but are presently, by 

virtue of promotion or transfer, serving in 

positions not subject to certification are 

eligible to participate in the professional 

certificate program.  Eligibility for this 

exception requires continuous employment 

with the Department of Public Safety, Division 

of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice from 

the date of promotion or transfer from a 

certified position to the date of application for 

a professional certificate. 

(b)  Awards are based upon a formula which that combines 

formal education, corrections training, and actual experience as a 

corrections officer.  Points are computed in the following 

manner: 

(1) each semester hour of college credit shall 

equal one point and each quarter hour shall 

equal two-thirds of a point; 

(2) 20 classroom hours of Commission-approved 

corrections training shall equal one point; and 

(3) only experience as a permanent, paid 

employee of the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice or the equivalent experience as 

determined by the Commission shall be 

acceptable of consideration. 

Point requirements for each award are described in 12 NCAC 

09G .0604 and .0605. 

(c)  Certificates shall be awarded in an officer's area of expertise 

only.  The State Corrections Certificate is appropriate for 

permanent, paid corrections employees employed by the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction. 

Correction and Juvenile Justice. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 

the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 10B .2005 and 

.2006. 

 

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on:       

  RRC certified on:  July 18, 2014 

  Not Required 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-

Standards/Sheriffs-Education-and-Training-Standards/All-

Commission-Forms-and-Publications.aspx 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2015 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  September 17, 2014 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The revisions set out what will 

be required for in-service training in 2015.  These in-service 

training programs began in 2005 with deputies completing 4 

hours of domestic violence training.  Since 2006 deputies have 

been required to complete 24 hours of in-service training.  Since 

2007 detention officers and telecommunicators have been 

required to complete 16 hours.  In 2015, deputies must likewise 

complete approximately 24 hours, and detention officers and 

telecommunicators must complete 16 hours.  Effective in 2013, 

the in-service requirement was no longer based upon hours of 

instruction received, but based upon the person completion the 

training and showing proficiency in the topics by passing tests.  

The purpose of required in-service training is to improve 

performance, reduce errors and reduce the number of lawsuits, 

and protect public health, safety and welfare by ensuring each 

officer remains knowledgeable in the relevant subject areas of 

enforcement, corrections, or communications. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Julia Lohman, Sheriffs' 

Standards Division, P.O. Box 629, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone 

(919) 779-8213; fax (919) 662-4516; email jlohman@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 3, 2014 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 

Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the 

Rules Review Commission receives written and signed 

objections after the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 

150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 

approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 

G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 

objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 

facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 
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Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

CHAPTER 10 – SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING 

STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B – NC SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .2000 – IN-SERVICE TRAINING FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICERS 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING  

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan 

developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson 

plan for any of the topical areas developed by another entity.  

The Sheriff or Department Head may also use a lesson plan 

developed by a certified instructor, provided that the instructor 

develops the lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional 

Systems Development model as taught in Criminal Justice 

Instructor Training in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans shall 

be designed to be delivered in hourly increments.  A student who 

completes the training shall receive the number of credits that 

correspond to the number of credits assigned to the number of 

hours, regardless of the amount of time the student spends 

completing the course where each hour shall be worth one credit 

(e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four hours 

and will yield four credits).  With the exception of Firearms 

Training and Requalification, successful completion of training 

shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the 

delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy.  A written test comprised of at least five questions per 

hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or 

the agency may use the written test developed by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic.  A 

student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct 

answers.  Firearms Training and Requalification shall be 

demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section 

.2100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  The 2013 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training: Don't 

Press Send; 

(3) Domestic Violence:  The Children are 

Watching; 

(4) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(c)  The 2013 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Inmate Sexual Assaults; 

(2) Detention Officer Legal Update; 

(3) Awareness of Issues Surrounding Returning 

Military Personnel; and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(d)  The 2013 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Officer Involved Shootings; 

(2) Radio Demeanor and Broadcast Techniques; 

and 

(3) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(b)(e)  The 2014 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training: A 

Juvenile – What Now; 

(3) Officer Safety:  The First Five Minutes; 

(4) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(c)(f)  The 2014 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Surviving In Custody Death; 

(2) Detention Officer Intelligence Update; and 

(3) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(d)(g)  The 2014 Telecommunicator In-Service Training 

Program requires 16 credits of training and successful 

completion in the following topical areas: 

(1) Hitting the Wall: Avoiding Complacency; 

(2) Customer Service and the 911 Professional; 

and 

(3) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(e)  The 2015 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program 

requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training: What 

does it have to do with me?; 

(3) Domestic Violence:  Teen Dating Violence; 

(4) Firearms Training and Requalification for 

deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of 

this Subchapter; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing. 

(f)  The 2015 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Legal Update; 

(2) Documenting the Incident;  
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(3) Emotional Survival for Detention Officers; 

and 

(4) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

(g)  The 2015 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program 

requires 16 credits of training and successful completion in the 

following topical areas: 

(1) Crisis Negotiation; 

(2) Interpersonal Communications:  Team 

Building; 

(3) Emotional Survival; 

(4)  Tactical Dispatch; and 

(5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department 

Head's choosing. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

12 NCAC 10B .2006 IN-SERVICE TRAINING  

PROGRAM SPECIFICATIONS 

Justice officers who have been active as a deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator between January and 

June of each calendar year must complete the respective In-

Service Training Program(s) established by 12 NCAC 10B .2002 

by December of each calendar year.  For each justice officer 

holding multiple certifications from the Commission, the Sheriff 

shall designate the officer's primary duties for the purpose of 

selecting which one of the in-service training programs the 

officer must complete for a calendar year.  A justice officer who 

fails to complete in-service training as required, but is either 

separated or made inactive prior to the end of the calendar year, 

may be re-activated after completing the in-service training 

program prescribed for the year immediately preceding the year 

in which the officer is being activated.  Persons applying to 

receive deputy certification who have prior service as a criminal 

justice officer as defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(6) between 

January and June of a prior year who failed to complete in-

service training for that year, must complete the in-service 

training program prescribed for the year immediately preceding 

the year in which the officer is being activated as a deputy. 

(a) Justice officers who have been active as a deputy sheriff, 

detention officer, or telecommunicator between January and July 

of each calendar year shall complete the respective In-Service 

Training Program(s) established by 12 NCAC 10B .2002 by the 

end of December of each calendar year. 

(b) For each justice officer holding multiple certifications from 

the Commission with the same office, the Sheriff shall designate 

the officer's primary duties for the purpose of selecting which 

one of the in-service training programs the officer shall complete 

for a calendar year. 

(c)  A justice officer who fails to complete in-service training as 

required, but is either separated or made inactive prior to the end 

of the calendar year, may be re-activated after completing the in-

service training program prescribed for the year immediately 

preceding the year in which the officer is being activated. 

(d)  Persons who have prior service as a criminal justice officer 

as defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(6) between January and July 

of the current year, and who then become an active deputy 

sheriff are required to complete the in-service training program 

for that year, unless the person is also either a detention officer 

or telecommunicator with the same Sheriff’s Office and the 

Sheriff has designated the officer's primary function to be either 

a detention officer or telecommunicator. 

(e) Persons who have prior service as a criminal justice officer as 

defined in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(6) between January and July of 

a prior year who failed to complete in-service training for that 

year, shall complete the in-service training program prescribed 

for the year immediately preceding the year in which the officer 

is being activated as a deputy, unless the person was also 

reported to this Commission as a telecommunicator with the 

same agency and completed the telecommunicator in-service 

training for that year. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that 

the Board of Nursing intends to amend the rule cited as 21 

NCAC 36 .0228 with changes from the proposed text noticed in 

the Register, Volume 28 Issue 19, pages 2312-2314. 

 

Agency obtained G.S. 150B-19.1 certification: 

  OSBM certified on:       

  RRC certified on:       

  Not Required 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbon.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date: January 1, 2015 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Proposed amendments to 21 

NCAC 36 .0228 Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) Practice will 

substitute mandatory for voluntary recognition and will clarify 

the qualifications and scope of the CNS.  The Board of Nursing 

held a Public Hearing on May 30, 2014 and received both 

written and oral comments on proposed amendments to 21 NCA 

36 .0228 Clinical Nurse Specialist Practice as published in the 

NC Register 28:19 pages 2312-2314.  Based on comments 

received, on July 24, 2014, the Board approved proposed 

substantial changes to the Rule as follows:  change in effective 

date from March 1 to July 1, 2015; clarify link between 

educational qualifications and accreditation by an approved  

national credentialing body; change from 5 years to 2 years for 

required refresher course; change from reference to paper 

applications to administrative costs; change in amended 

effective date from August 1, 2014 to January 1, 2015; and 

minor edits related to references within Rule.  The Board is 

republishing the Rule and accepting additional comment. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Angela H. Ellis, APA 

Coordinator, NC Board of Nursing, P.O. Box 2129, Raleigh, NC 

27602-2129; phone (919) 782-3211 x259; email 

angela@ncbon.com 
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Comment period ends:  November 3, 2014 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of 

the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the 

Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission 

receives written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 

150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting 

review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission 

approves the rule, the rule will become effective as provided in 

G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 

objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the 

Commission approves the rule. The Commission will receive 

those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or 

facsimile transmission. If you have any further questions 

concerning the submission of objections to the Commission, 

please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 

 

Fiscal impact (check all that apply). 

 State funds affected 

 Environmental permitting of DOT affected 

 Analysis submitted to Board of Transportation 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (≥$1,000,000) 

 No fiscal note required by G.S. 150B-21.4 

 

Note:  The text in bold indicates the changes to the Rule after the 

initial public comment period. 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0228 CLINICAL NURSE SPECIALIST  

PRACTICE 

(a)  A Effective MarchJuly 1, 2015, only a registered nurse who 

meets the qualifications as outlined in Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

may shall be recognized by the Board as a clinical nurse 

specialist, and to perform advanced practice registered nursing 

activities at an advanced skill level as outlined in Paragraph (c) 

(f)of this Rule. 

(b)  In order to be recognized as a Clinical Nurse Specialist, the 

The Board of Nursing shall require recognize an applicant to 

meet the following qualifications: who: 

(1) has an unrestricted license to practice as a 

registered nurse in North Carolina or a party 

state;  

(2) has an unrestricted previous approval, 

registration or license as a clinical nurse 

specialist if previously approved, registered, or 

licensed as a clinical nurse specialist in 

another state, territory, or possession of the 

United States; 

(2)(3) has successfully completed a master's or 

higher degree program consisting of a 

minimum of 500 hours of clinical experience 

in the clinical nursing specialty as defined in 

21 NCAC 36 .0120(41) and consistent with 

G.S. 90-171.21(d)(4).  For a dual track 

graduate program, if less than 500 hours per 

track, a requirement that there must be 

documentation of any crossover which would 

justify less than an additional 500 hours for the 

second track; and accredited by a nursing 

accrediting body approved by the U.S. United 

States Secretary of Education or the Council 

for Higher Education Accreditation; and 

Accreditation and meets the qualifications 

for clinical nurse specialist certification by 

an approved national credentialing body 

under Part (b)(4)(A) of this Rule; and 
(4) either: 

(3) (A) has current certification in the as a 

clinical nursing specialty nurse 

specialist from a national 

credentialing body approved by the 

Board of Nursing, as defined in 

Paragraph (e) (g) (h) of this Rule and 

21 NCAC 36 .0120(26). 36 

.0120(26); or 

(B) if no clinical nurse specialist 

certification is available in the 

specialty, meets requirements 

determined by the Board to be 

equivalent to national certification.  

The Board shall determine 

equivalence based on consideration of 

an official transcript and course 

descriptions validating Subparagraph 

(b)(3) of this Rule, current curriculum 

vitae, work history and professional 

recommendations indicating evidence 

of at least 1,000 hours of clinical 

nurse specialist practice, and 

documentation of certificates 

indicating 75 contact hours of 

continuing education applicable to 

clinical nurse specialist practice 

during the previous five years. 

(c)  An applicant certified as a clinical nurse specialist by a 

national credentialing body prior to January 1, 2007 and who has 

maintained that certification and active clinical nurse specialist 

practice, and holds a master's or higher degree in nursing or a 

related field shall be recognized by the Board as a clinical nurse 

specialist. 

(d)  New graduates seeking first-time clinical nurse specialist 

recognition in North Carolina shall hold a Master's, post-master's 

or higher degree from a clinical nurse specialist program 

accredited by a nursing accrediting body approved by the U.S. 

Secretary of Education or the Council for Higher Education 

Accreditation as acceptable by the Board, and meets all 

requirements in Subparagraphs (b)(1), (2), (3) and Part 

(b)(4)(A)Subparagraph (b)(1) and Part (g)(5)(A) of this Rule. 

(e)  A clinical nurse specialist seeking Board of Nursing 

recognition who has not practiced as a clinical nurse specialist in 

more than fivetwo years shall complete a clinical nurse specialist 

refresher course approved by the Board of Nursing in 

accordance with 21 NCAC 36 .0220(o) and (p) and consisting of 

common conditions and their management directly related to the 

clinical nurse specialist's area of education and certification.  A 
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clinical nurse specialist refresher course participant shall be 

granted clinical nurse specialist recognition that is limited to 

clinical activities required by the refresher course. 

(c)(f)  The scope of practice of aClinical clinical nurse specialist 

scope of practice incorporates the basic components of nursing 

practice as defined in Rule .0224 of this Section as well as the 

understanding and application of nursing principles at an 

advanced practice registered nurse level in his/her the area of 

clinical nursing specialization in which the clinical nurse 

specialist is educationally prepared and for which competency 

has been maintained which includes:  

(1) assessing clients' health status, synthesizing 

and analyzing multiple sources of data, and 

identifying alternative possibilities as to the 

nature of a healthcare problem; 

(2) diagnosing and managing clients' acute and 

chronic health problems within a an advanced 

practice nursing framework; 

(3) assessing for and monitoring the usage and 

effect of pharmacologic agents within an 

advanced practice nursing framework; 

(3)(4) formulating strategies to promote wellness and 

prevent illness; 

(4)(5) prescribing and implementing therapeutic and 

corrective nursing measures; non-

pharmacologic nursing interventions; 

(5)(6) planning for situations beyond the clinical 

nurse specialist's expertise, and consulting 

with or referring clients to other health care 

providers as appropriate; 

(6)(7) promoting and practicing in collegial and 

collaborative relationships with clients, 

families, other health care professionals and 

individuals whose decisions influence the 

health of individual clients, families and 

communities; 

(7)(8) initiating, establishing and utilizing measures 

to evaluate health care outcomes and modify 

nursing practice decisions; 

(8)(9) assuming leadership for the application of 

research findings for the improvement of 

health care outcomes; and 

(9)(10) integrating education, consultation, 

management, leadership and research into the 

advanced clinical nursing nurse specialist role. 

(d)(g)  The A registered nurse who seeks seeking recognition by 

the Board as a clinical nurse specialist shall: 

(1) complete the appropriate application, which 

shall include: 

(A) evidence of the appropriate masters, 

post-master's certificate or doctoral 

degree as set out in Subparagraph 

(b)(2) (b)(3) or (d) of this Rule; and 

and, either 

(B) evidence of current certification in a 

clinical nursing specialty from a 

national credentialing body as set out 

in (b)(3) Part (b)(4)(A) of this Rule; 

or 

(C) meet requirements as set out in Part 

(b)(4)(B) of this Rule. 

(2) submit any additional information necessary to 

evaluate the application as requested by the 

Board. 

(2)(3) submit a processing fee of twenty-five dollars 

($25.00) to cover the costs of duplicating and 

distributing the application materials; and 

administrative costs; 
(4) renew the recognition every two years at the 

time of registered nurse renewal; and, 

(5) either: 

(3)(A) submit evidence of initial certification 

and re-certification by a national 

credentialing body at the time such 

occurs in order to maintain Board of 

Nursing recognition consistent with 

Paragraphs (b) and (e)(h) of this Rule. 

Rule; or 

(B) if subject to Part (b)(4)(B) of this 

Rule, submit evidence of at least 

1,000 hours of practice and 75 

contact hours of continuing education 

every five years. 

(e)(h)  The Board of Nursing may shall may approve those 

national credentialing bodies offering certification and 

recertification in a clinical nursing specialty which have 

established the following minimum requirements: 

(1) an unencumbered registered nurse license; and 

(2) certification as a clinical nurse specialist is 

limited to masters, post-master's certificate or 

doctoral doctorally prepared applicant 

applicant.effective January 1, 2010.  

 

Authority G.S. 90-171.20(4); 90-171.20(7); 90-171.21(d)(4); 90-

171.23(b); 90-171.27(b); 90-171.42(b). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The 

rules that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was 

required to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-

21.17. 

 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on July 17, 2014. 
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Prison Fingerprint Card 12  NCAC  04F  .0303  28:18 NCR 

Dissemination of CCH Records 12  NCAC  04F  .0401  28:18 NCR 

Accessing of CCH Records 12  NCAC  04F  .0402  28:18 NCR 

Use of CCH for Criminal Justice Employment 12  NCAC  04F  .0403  28:18 NCR 

Individual's Rights to Review 12  NCAC  04F  .0404  28:18 NCR 

CCH Licensing and Non-Criminal Justice Employment 
Purposes 

12  NCAC  04F  .0405  28:18 NCR 

Restrictive Use of CCH for Employment Purposes 12  NCAC  04F  .0406  28:18 NCR 

Research Use and Access of CCH Records 12  NCAC  04F  .0407  28:18 NCR 

Limitation Requirements 12  NCAC  04F  .0408  28:18 NCR 

Expungements 12  NCAC  04F  .0501  28:18 NCR 

Purges 12  NCAC  04F  .0502  28:18 NCR 

Automated Fingerprint Identification System 12  NCAC  04F  .0601  28:18 NCR 

Eligibility for Full or Limited Access to the AFIS Network 12  NCAC  04F  .0602  28:18 NCR 

AFIS Agreement 12  NCAC  04F  .0603  28:18 NCR 

Available Data 12  NCAC  04F  .0604  28:18 NCR 

Dissemination of Driver History Information 12  NCAC  04F  .0701  28:18 NCR 

Audits 12  NCAC  04F  .0801  28:18 NCR 

Definitions 12  NCAC  04G  .0101  28:18 NCR 

Penalty Provisions 12  NCAC  04G  .0102  28:18 NCR 

Notice of Violation 12  NCAC  04G  .0201  28:18 NCR 

Informal Hearing Procedure 12  NCAC  04G  .0301  28:18 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION  

Applicability of Radar/TDS Standards Pre 7/1/82 12 NCAC 09A .0108 28:15 NCR 

Certified Instructors Pre 7/1/82 12 NCAC 09B .0311 28:15 NCR 

Application for Law Enforcement Employment 12 NCAC 09C .0217 28:15 NCR 

Form Order Blank 12 NCAC 09C .0218 28:15 NCR 

Acquisition of Forms 12 NCAC 09C .0220 28:15 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION  

Technical Standards for Beach Fill Projects 15A NCAC 07H .0312* 28:14 NCR 

General Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1204* 28:14 NCR 

Specific Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1205* 28:14 NCR 

Specific Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1305* 28:14 NCR 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF  

License Waiver for Armed Forces 21 NCAC 14A .0401* 28:12 NCR 

Issuance of Declaratory Ruling 21 NCAC 14B .0504  28:12 NCR 

Licensees and Students 21 NCAC 14H .0401* 28:12 NCR 

Systems of Grading Beauty Establishments 21 NCAC 14H .0504* 28:12 NCR 

Rule Compliance and Enforcement Measures 21 NCAC 14H .0505* 28:12 NCR 

Application/Licensure/Individuals Who Have Been 
Convicted... 

21 NCAC 14I .0401* 28:12 NCR 

Live Model Performances 21 NCAC 14K .0107* 28:12 NCR 

Live Model Performances 21 NCAC 14O .0106  28:12 NCR 
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Operations of Schools of Cosmetic Art 21 NCAC 14P .0113* 28:12 NCR 

Continuing Education 21 NCAC 14R .0105* 28:12 NCR 

Esthetics Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0604* 28:12 NCR 

Manicuring Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0605* 28:12 NCR 

Natural Hair Care Styling Curriculum 21 NCAC 14T .0606* 28:12 NCR 

Field Trips 21 NCAC 14T .0615* 28:12 NCR 

Additional Hours 21 NCAC 14T .0616* 28:12 NCR 

Teacher Trainees 21 NCAC 14T .0617* 28:12 NCR 

School Operations/Licensure Maintenance 21 NCAC 14T .0701* 28:12 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF  

Medication in Health Departments 21 NCAC 46 .2401* 28:18 NCR 

Drugs and Devices to be Dispensed 21 NCAC 46 .2403* 28:18 NCR 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS, BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR  

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0501* 28:14 NCR 

Application Procedure: Individual 21 NCAC 56 .0502* 28:14 NCR 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0503* 28:14 NCR 

Requirements for Licensing 21 NCAC 56 .0601* 28:14 NCR 

Application Procedure: Individual 21 NCAC 56 .0602* 28:14 NCR 

Examinations 21 NCAC 56 .0603* 28:14 NCR 

Procedure 21 NCAC 56 .0802* n/a G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(3) 

Offices 21 NCAC 56 .0901* 28:14 NCR 

Opportunity for Licensee or Applicant to have Hearing 21 NCAC 56 .1402* 28:14 NCR 

Surveying Procedures 21 NCAC 56 .1602* 28:14 NCR 

Classification of Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1603* 28:14 NCR 

Mapping Requirements for Boundary Surveys 21 NCAC 56 .1604* 28:14 NCR 

Specifications for Topographic and Planimetric Mapping, I... 21 NCAC 56 .1606* 28:14 NCR 

Classification/Land Information System/Geographic 
Informa... 

21 NCAC 56 .1608* 28:14 NCR 

Requirements 21 NCAC 56 .1703* 28:14 NCR 

Units 21 NCAC 56 .1704 28:14 NCR 

Determination of Credit 21 NCAC 56 .1705* 28:14 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION  

Extensions of Time to Complete Continuing Education 21 NCAC 58A .1709*. 28:15 NCR 
  

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13D .3201 REQUIRED SPACES 

(a)  In a facility, the floor area of a single bedroom shall not be 

less than 100 square feet and the floor area of a room for more 

than one bed shall not be less than 80 square feet per bed. The 80 

square feet and 100 square feet requirements shall be exclusive 

of closets, toilet rooms, vestibules, or wardrobes.  When a 

designated single room exceeds 159 net square feet in floor area, 

it shall remain a single bedroom and shall not be used as a multi-

bedroom unless approved in advance by the Division as meeting 

the requirements of G.S. 131E, Article 9. 

(b)  The total space set aside for dining, activity, and other 

common use shall not be less than 25 square feet per bed for a 

nursing facility and 30 square feet per bed for the adult care 

home portion of a combination facility. Physical therapy, 

occupational therapy and rehabilitation space shall not be 

included in this total. 
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(c)  In nursing facilities, included in the total square footage 

required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule, a separate dining area or 

areas with a minimum of 10 square feet per bed shall be 

provided and a separate activity area or areas with a minimum of 

10 square feet per bed shall be provided.  The remainder of the 

total required space for dining and activities square footage 

required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule may be in a separate area 

or combined with either of the separate dining and activity areas 

required by this Paragraph.  If a facility is designed with patient 

and resident household units for 30 or less patients and residents, 

the dining and activity areas in the household units are not 

required to be separate. 

(d)  In combination facilities, included in the total square footage 

required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule, a separate dining area or 

areas with at least 14 square feet per adult care home bed shall 

be provided. The adult care home dining area or areas may be 

combined with the nursing facility dining area or areas.  A 

separate activity area or areas for adult care home beds shall be 

provided with at least 16 square feet per adult care home bed. 

The adult care home activity area shall not be combined with the 

activity area or areas required for nursing beds. 

(e)  Dining, activity, and living space shall be designed and 

equipped to provide accessibility to both patients or residents 

confined to wheelchairs and ambulatory patients or residents.  

Dining, activity, and living areas required by Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule shall have windows with views to the outside.  The 

gross window area shall not be less than eight percent of the 

floor area required for each dining, activity, or living space.  

(f)  Closets and storage units for equipment and supplies shall 

not be included as part of the dining, activity, and living floor 

space area required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(g)  Outdoor areas for individual and group activities shall be 

provided and shall be accessible to patients and residents with 

physical disabilities. 

(h)  For nursing beds, separate bedroom closets or wardrobes 

shall be provided in each bedroom to provide each 

occupant with a minimum of 36 cubic feet of clothing storage 

space at least half of which is for hanging clothes. 

(i)  For adult care home beds, separate bedroom closets or 

wardrobes shall be provided in each bedroom to provide each 

adult care home resident with a minimum of 48 cubic feet of 

clothing storage space at least half of which is for hanging 

clothes. 

(j)  Some means for patients and residents to lock personal 

articles within the facility shall be provided. 

(k)  A toilet room shall be directly accessible from each patient 

and resident room and from each central bathing area without 

going through the general corridor.  One toilet room may serve 

two patient or resident rooms but not more than eight beds.  The 

lavatory may be omitted from the toilet room if one is provided 

in each patient and resident room.  One tub or shower shall be 

provided for each 15 beds not individually served.  For each 120 

beds or fraction thereof the following shall be provided: 

(1) at least one bathtub or a manufactured walk-in 

bathtub or a similar manufactured bathtub 

designed for easy transfer of patients and 

residents into the tub.  All bathtubs must be 

accessible on three sides; and 

(2) a roll-in shower designed and equipped for 

unobstructed ease of shower chair entry and 

use. 

(l)  For each nursing unit, or fraction thereof on each floor, the 

following shall be provided: 

(1) a medication preparation area with a counter, a 

sink, a medication refrigerator, eye level 

medication storage, cabinet storage and a 

double locked narcotic storage area under the 

visual control of nursing staff. The sink shall 

be trimmed with valves that can be operated 

without hands.  If the sink is equipped with 

blade handles, the blade handles shall not be 

less than four and one half inches in length.  

The sink water spout shall be mounted so that 

its discharge point is a minimum of 10 inches 

above the bottom of the sink basin; 

(2) a clean utility room with a counter, sink, and 

storage.  The sink shall be trimmed with 

valves that can be operated without hands.  If 

the sink is equipped with blade handles, the 

blade handles shall not be less than four and 

one half inches in length.  The sink water 

spout shall be mounted so that its discharge 

point is a minimum of 10 inches above the 

bottom of the sink basin; 

(3) a soiled utility room with a counter, sink, and 

storage.  The sink shall be trimmed with 

valves that can be operated without hands.  If 

the sink is equipped with blade handles, the 

blade handles shall not be less than four and 

one half inches in length.  The sink water 

spout shall be mounted so that its discharge 

point is a minimum of 10 inches above the 

bottom of the sink basin. The soiled utility 

room shall be equipped for the cleaning and 

sanitizing of bedpans as required by 15A 

NCAC 18A .1312 Toilet: Handwashing: 

Laundry: And Bathing Facilities. 

(4) a nurses' toilet and locker space for personal 

belongings; 

(5) a soiled linen storage room.  If the soiled linen 

storage room is combined with the soiled 

utility room, a separate soiled linen storage 

room is not required; 

(6) a clean linen storage room; 

(7) a nourishment station in an area enclosed with 

walls and doors which contains work space, 

cabinets and refrigerated storage, and a small 

stove, microwave oven, or hot plate.  If a 

facility is designed with patient and resident 

household units, a patient and resident dietary 

area located within the patient and resident 

household unit may substitute for the 

nourishment station.  The patient and resident 

dietary area shall include cooking equipment, 

a kitchen sink, refrigerated storage and storage 

areas and shall be for the use of staff, patients, 

residents, and families; 
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(8) an audio-visual nurse-patient call system 

arranged to ensure that a patient's or resident's 

call in the facility readily notifies and directs 

staff to the location where the call was 

activated. 

(9) a control point with an area for charting patient 

and resident records, space for storage of 

emergency equipment and supplies, and nurse-

patient call and alarm annunciation systems; 

and 

(10) a janitor's closet. 

(m)  Clean linen storage shall be provided in a separate room 

from bulk supplies.  Clean linen for nursing units may be stored 

in closed carts, cabinets in the clean utility room, or a linen 

closet on the unit floor. 

(n)  The kitchen area and laundry area each shall have a janitor's 

closet.  Administration, occupational and physical therapy, 

recreation, personal care, and employee areas shall be provided 

janitor's closets and may share one as a group. 

(o)  Stretcher and wheelchair storage shall be provided. 

(p)  Bulk storage shall be provided at the rate of at least five 

square feet of floor area per licensed bed.  This storage space 

shall be either in the facility or within 500 feet of the facility on 

the same site.  This storage space shall be in addition to the other 

storage space required by this Rule. 

(q)  Office space shall be provided for business transactions.  

Office space shall be provided for persons holding the following 

positions:  

(1) administrator; 

(2) director of nursing; 

(3) social services director; 

(4) activities director; and  

(5) physical therapist. 

(r)  Each combination facility shall provide a minimum of one 

residential washer and residential dryer in a location accessible 

by adult care home staff, residents, and residents' families. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-104; 

Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; October 1, 2008. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 41A .0101 REPORTABLE DISEASES AND 

CONDITIONS 

(a)  The following named diseases and conditions are declared to 

be dangerous to the public health and are hereby made 

reportable within the time period specified after the disease or 

condition is reasonably suspected to exist: 

(1) acquired immune deficiency syndrome 

(AIDS) - 24 hours; 

(2) anthrax - immediately; 

(3) botulism - immediately; 

(4) brucellosis - 7 days; 

(5) campylobacter infection - 24 hours; 

(6) chancroid - 24 hours; 

(7) chlamydial infection (laboratory 

confirmed) - 7 days; 

(8) cholera - 24 hours; 

(9) Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease – 7 days;  

(10) cryptosporidiosis – 24 hours; 

(11) cyclosporiasis – 24 hours; 

(12) dengue - 7 days; 

(13) diphtheria - 24 hours; 

(14) Escherichia coli, shiga toxin-producing - 24 

hours; 

(15) ehrlichiosis – 7 days; 

(16) encephalitis, arboviral - 7 days; 

(17) foodborne disease, including Clostridium 

perfringens, staphylococcal, Bacillus cereus, 

and other and unknown causes - 24 hours; 

(18) gonorrhea - 24 hours; 

(19) granuloma inguinale - 24 hours; 

(20) Haemophilus influenzae, invasive disease - 24 

hours; 

(21) Hantavirus infection – 7 days; 

(22) Hemolytic-uremic syndrome – 24 hours; 

(23) Hemorrhagic fever virus infection – 

immediately; 

(24) hepatitis A - 24 hours; 

(25) hepatitis B - 24 hours; 

(26) hepatitis B carriage - 7 days; 

(27) hepatitis C, acute – 7 days; 

(28) human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 

infection confirmed - 24 hours;  

(29) influenza virus infection causing death – 24 

hours; 

(30) legionellosis - 7 days; 

(31) leprosy – 7 days; 

(32) leptospirosis - 7 days; 

(33) listeriosis – 24 hours; 

(34) Lyme disease - 7 days; 

(35) lymphogranuloma venereum - 7 days; 

(36) malaria - 7 days; 

(37) measles (rubeola) - 24 hours; 

(38) meningitis, pneumococcal - 7 days; 

(39) meningococcal disease - 24 hours; 

(40) monkeypox – 24 hours;  

(41) mumps - 7 days; 

(42) nongonococcal urethritis - 7 days; 

(43) novel influenza virus infection – immediately; 

(44) plague - immediately; 

(45) paralytic poliomyelitis - 24 hours; 

(46) pelvic inflammatory disease – 7 days; 

(47) psittacosis - 7 days; 

(48) Q fever - 7 days; 

(49) rabies, human - 24 hours; 

(50) Rocky Mountain spotted fever - 7 days; 

(51) rubella - 24 hours; 

(52) rubella congenital syndrome - 7 days; 

(53) salmonellosis - 24 hours; 

(54) severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) – 

24 hours; 

(55) shigellosis - 24 hours; 

(56) smallpox - immediately; 

(57) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vancomycin – 24 hours; 
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(58) streptococcal infection, Group A, invasive 

disease - 7 days; 

(59) syphilis - 24 hours; 

(60) tetanus - 7 days; 

(61) toxic shock syndrome - 7 days; 

(62) trichinosis - 7 days; 

(63) tuberculosis - 24 hours; 

(64) tularemia – immediately; 

(65) typhoid - 24 hours; 

(66) typhoid carriage (Salmonella typhi) - 7 days; 

(67) typhus, epidemic (louse-borne) - 7 days;  

(68) vaccinia – 24 hours;  

(69) vibrio infection (other than cholera) – 24 

hours; 

(70) whooping cough – 24 hours; and 

(71) yellow fever - 7 days. 

(b)  For purposes of reporting, "confirmed human 

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection" is defined as a positive 

virus culture, repeatedly reactive EIA antibody test confirmed by 

western blot or indirect immunofluorescent antibody test, 

positive nucleic acid detection (NAT) test, or other confirmed 

testing method approved by the Director of the State Public 

Health Laboratory conducted on or after February 1, 1990.  In 

selecting additional tests for approval, the Director of the State 

Public Health Laboratory shall consider whether such tests have 

been approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration, 

recommended by the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention, and endorsed by the Association of Public Health 

Laboratories. 

(c)  In addition to the laboratory reports for Mycobacterium 

tuberculosis, Neisseria gonorrhoeae, and syphilis specified in 

G.S. 130A-139, laboratories shall report: 

(1) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms or their products from 

human clinical specimens: 

(A) Any hantavirus or hemorrhagic fever 

virus. 

(B) Arthropod-borne virus (any type). 

(C) Bacillus anthracis, the cause of 

anthrax. 

(D) Bordetella pertussis, the cause of 

whooping cough (pertussis). 

(E) Borrelia burgdorferi, the cause of 

Lyme disease (confirmed tests). 

(F) Brucella spp., the causes of 

brucellosis. 

(G) Campylobacter spp., the causes of 

campylobacteriosis. 

(H) Chlamydia trachomatis, the cause of 

genital chlamydial infection, 

conjunctivitis (adult and newborn) 

and pneumonia of newborns. 

(I) Clostridium botulinum, a cause of 

botulism. 

(J) Clostridium tetani, the cause of 

tetanus. 

(K) Corynebacterium diphtheriae, the 

cause of diphtheria. 

(L) Coxiella burnetii, the cause of Q 

fever. 

(M) Cryptosporidium parvum, the cause 

of human cryptosporidiosis. 

(N) Cyclospora cayetanesis, the cause of 

cyclosporiasis. 

(O) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(P) Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli, a cause of hemorrhagic colitis, 

hemolytic uremic syndrome, and 

thrombotic thrombocytopenic 

purpura. 

(Q) Francisella tularensis, the cause of 

tularemia. 

(R) Hepatitis B virus or any component 

thereof, such as hepatitis B surface 

antigen. 

(S) Human Immunodeficiency Virus, the 

cause of AIDS. 

(T) Legionella spp., the causes of 

legionellosis. 

(U) Leptospira spp., the causes of 

leptospirosis. 

(V) Listeria monocytogenes, the cause of 

listeriosis. 

(W) Monkeypox. 

(X) Mycobacterium leprae, the cause of 

leprosy. 

(Y) Plasmodium falciparum, P. malariae, 

P. ovale, and P. vivax, the causes of 

malaria in humans. 

(Z) Poliovirus (any), the cause of 

poliomyelitis. 

(AA) Rabies virus. 

(BB) Rickettsia rickettsii, the cause of 

Rocky Mountain spotted fever. 

(CC) Rubella virus. 

(DD) Salmonella spp., the causes of 

salmonellosis. 

(EE) Shigella spp., the causes of 

shigellosis. 

(FF) Smallpox virus, the cause of 

smallpox. 

(GG) Staphylococcus aureus with reduced 

susceptibility to vanomycin. 

(HH) Trichinella spiralis, the cause of 

trichinosis. 

(II) Vaccinia virus. 

(JJ) Vibrio spp., the causes of cholera and 

other vibrioses. 

(KK) Yellow fever virus. 

(LL) Yersinia pestis, the cause of plague. 

(2) Isolation or other specific identification of the 

following organisms from normally sterile 

human body sites: 

(A) Group A Streptococcus pyogenes 

(group A streptococci). 

(B) Haemophilus influenzae, serotype b. 
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(C) Neisseria meningitidis, the cause of 

meningococcal disease. 

(3) Positive serologic test results, as specified, for 

the following infections: 

(A) Fourfold or greater changes or 

equivalent changes in serum antibody 

titers to: 

(i) Any arthropod-borne viruses 

associated with meningitis or 

encephalitis in a human. 

(ii) Any hantavirus or 

hemorrhagic fever virus. 

(iii) Chlamydia psittaci, the 

cause of psittacosis. 

(iv) Coxiella burnetii, the cause 

of Q fever. 

(v) Dengue virus. 

(vi) Ehrlichia spp., the causes of 

ehrlichiosis. 

(vii) Measles (rubeola) virus. 

(viii) Mumps virus. 

(ix) Rickettsia rickettsii, the 

cause of Rocky Mountain 

spotted fever. 

(x) Rubella virus. 

(xi) Yellow fever virus. 

(B) The presence of IgM serum 

antibodies to: 

(i) Chlamydia psittaci. 

(ii) Hepatitis A virus. 

(iii) Hepatitis B virus core 

antigen. 

(iv) Rubella virus. 

(v) Rubeola (measles) virus. 

(vi) Yellow fever virus. 

(4) Laboratory results from tests to determine the 

absolute and relative counts for the T-helper 

(CD4) subset of lymphocytes and all results 

from tests to determine HIV viral load. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 130A-134; 130A-135; 130A-

139; 130A-141; 

Temporary Rule Eff. February 1, 1988, for a period of 180 days 

to expire on July 29, 1988; 

Eff. March 1, 1988; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1997; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 13, 2003; October 1, 

2002; February 18, 2002; June 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 1, 2003; May 16, 2003;  

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; April 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2008; November 1, 2007; October 1, 

2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2010; 

Temporary Amendment Expired September 11, 2011; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2013; April 1, 2011. 

 

 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 08 .1103 PURPOSE AND SCOPE 

(a)  Home inspections performed according to this Section shall 

provide the client with an understanding of the property 

conditions, as inspected at the time of the home inspection. 

(b)  Home inspectors shall: 

(1) provide a written contract, signed by the client, 

before the home inspection is performed that 

shall: 

(A) State that the home inspection is in 

accordance with the Standards of 

Practice of the North Carolina Home 

Inspector Licensure Board as set forth 

in this Section; 

(B) Describe what services shall be 

provided and the cost; and 

(C) State, when an inspection is for only 

one or a limited number of systems or 

components, that the inspection is 

limited to only those systems or 

components; 

(2) inspect readily visible and readily accessible 

installed systems and components described in 

Rules .1106 through .1115 of this Section; and 

(3) submit a written report and summary, pursuant 

to G.S. 143-151.58(a1), to the client that shall: 

(A) Describe those systems and 

components required to be described 

in Rules .1106 through .1115 of this 

Section; 

(B) State which systems and components 

present at the home and designated 

for inspection in this Section were not 

inspected, and the reason for not 

inspecting; 

(C) State any systems or components 

inspected that do not function as 

intended, allowing for normal wear 

and tear, or appear not to function as 

intended, based upon documented 

tangible evidence; 

(D) Describe the system or component; 

state how the condition is defective; 

explain the implications of conditions 

listed in the summary; and direct the 

client to a course of action for repair, 

further investigation by a specialist, 

or subsequent observation; and  

(E) State the name, license number, and 

signature of the person conducting 

the inspection. 

(c)  This Section does not limit home inspectors from: 

(1) reporting observations and conditions, 

including safety or habitability concerns, or 

rendering opinions of items in addition to 

those required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; or 
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(2) excluding systems and components from the 

inspection if requested by the client, and so 

stated in the written contract. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.49; 143-151.58; 

Codifier determined that agency findings did not meet criteria 

for temporary rule Eff. October 15, 1996; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 24, 1996; 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2014; October 1, 2011; March 1, 

2010; February 1, 2009; February 1, 2007; April 1, 2005; May 

1, 2003; July 1, 2000. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0101 NAME AND LOCATION 

12 NCAC 04E .0102 FUNCTION OF DCI 

12 NCAC 04E .0103 ADVISORY POLICY BOARD 

12 NCAC 04E .0104 DEFINITIONS 

12 NCAC 04E .0105 FORMS 

12 NCAC 04E .0106 MANUALS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1995; October 1, 

1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0201 ELIGIBILITY FOR FULL OR 

LIMITED ACCESS TO THE DCI NETWORK 

12 NCAC 04E .0202 MANAGEMENT CONTROL 

REQUIREMENTS 

12 NCAC 04E .0203 NON-TERMINAL ACCESS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0204 SBI TASK FORCE 

MANAGEMENT CONTROL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0301 USER AGREEMENT 

12 NCAC 04E .0302 USER ACCESS FEE 

AGREEMENT 

12 NCAC 04E .0303 SERVICING AGREEMENT 

12 NCAC 04E .0304 MANAGEMENT CONTROL 

AGREEMENT 

12 NCAC 04E .0305 DISCLOSURE AGREEMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0401 DCI TERMINAL OPERATOR 

12 NCAC 04E .0402 CERTIFICATION AND 

RECERTIFICATION OF DCI OPERATORS 

12 NCAC 04E .0403 SUSPENSION AND 

REVOCATION OF OPERATOR CERTIFICATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 150B-3(b); 

150B-23(f); 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; October 1, 1994; August 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04E .0404 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION 

12 NCAC 04E .0405 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

DCI TERMINAL OPERATORS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0101 SECURITY OF DCI 

EQUIPMENT 

12 NCAC 04F .0102 OFFICIAL USE OF DCI 

INFORMATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0201 DOCUMENTATION AND 

ACCURACY 

12 NCAC 04F .0202 VALIDATIONS 

12 NCAC 04F .0203 HIT CONFIRMATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0301 ARREST FINGERPRINT CARD 

12 NCAC 04F .0302 FINAL DISPOSITION 

INFORMATION 

12 NCAC 04F .0303 PRISON FINGERPRINT CARD 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-502; 15A-1381; 15A-1382; 

15A-1383; 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0401 DISSEMINATION OF CCH 

RECORDS 

12 NCAC 04F .0402 ACCESSING OF CCH RECORDS 

12 NCAC 04F .0403 USE OF CCH FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

12 NCAC 04F .0404 INDIVIDUAL'S RIGHT TO 

REVIEW 
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12 NCAC 04F .0405 CCH LICENSING AND 

NON-CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES 

12 NCAC 04F .0406 RESTRICTIVE USE OF CCH 

FOR EMPLOYMENT PURPOSES 

12 NCAC 04F .0407 RESEARCH USE AND ACCESS 

OF CCH RECORDS 

12 NCAC 04F .0408 LIMITATION REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 114-16; 114-

19; 114-19.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0501 EXPUNGEMENTS 

12 NCAC 04F .0502 PURGES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-145; 15A-146; 90-96; 90-

113.14; 114-10; 114-10.1; 

150B-19(5)b.,e.; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0601 AUTOMATED FINGERPRINT 

IDENTIFICATION SYSTEM 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-502; 114-10; 114-10.1; 

114-16; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0602 ELIGIBILITY FOR FULL OR 

LIMITED ACCESS TO THE AFIS NETWORK 

12 NCAC 04F .0603 AFIS AGREEMENT 

12 NCAC 04F .0604 AVAILABLE DATA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 15A-502; 114-10; 114-10.1; 

114-16; 

Eff. October 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0701 DISSEMINATION OF DRIVER 

HISTORY INFORMATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04F .0801 AUDITS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04G .0101 DEFINITIONS 

12 NCAC 04G .0102 PENALTY PROVISIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1994; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04G .0201 NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 150B-3(b); 

150B-23(f); 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1992; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 04G .0301 INFORMAL HEARING 

PROCEDURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 114-10; 114-10.1; 150B-3(b); 

150B-23(f); 

Eff. November 1, 1991; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0108 APPLICABILITY OF 

RADAR/TDS STANDARDS PRE 7/1/82 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0311 CERTIFIED INSTRUCTORS PRE 

7/1/82 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0217 APPLICATION FOR LAW 

ENFORCEMENT EMPLOYMENT 

12 NCAC 09C .0218 FORM ORDER BLANK 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 150B-11; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

12 NCAC 09C .0220 ACQUISITION OF FORMS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 150B-11; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
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15A NCAC 07H .0312 TECHNICAL STANDARDS FOR 

BEACH FILL PROJECTS 

Placement of sediment along the oceanfront shoreline is referred 

to in this Rule as "beach fill."  Sediment used solely to establish 

or strengthen dunes or to re-establish state-maintained 

transportation corridors across a barrier island breach in a 

disaster area as declared by the Governor is not considered a 

beach fill project under this Rule. Beach fill projects including 

beach nourishment, dredged material disposal, habitat 

restoration, storm protection, and erosion control may be 

permitted under the following conditions: 

(1) The applicant shall characterize the recipient 

beach according to the following 

methodology: 

(a) Characterization of the recipient 

beach is not required for the 

placement of sediment directly from 

and completely confined to a 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system; 

(b) Sediment sampling and analysis shall 

be used to capture the three-

dimensional spatial variability of the 

sediment characteristics including 

grain size, sorting and mineralogy 

within the natural system; 

(c) Shore-perpendicular topographic and 

bathymetric surveying of the recipient 

beach shall be conducted to determine 

the beach profile.  Topographic and 

bathymetric surveying shall occur 

along a minimum of five shore-

perpendicular transects evenly spaced 

throughout the entire project area.  

Each transect shall extend from the 

frontal dune crest seaward to a depth 

of 20 feet (6.1 meters) or to the shore-

perpendicular distance 2,400 feet 

(732 meters) seaward of mean low 

water, whichever is in a more 

landward position.  Transect spacing 

shall not exceed 5,000 feet (1,524 

meters) in the shore-parallel direction.  

Elevation data for all transects shall 

be referenced to the North American 

Vertical Datum of 1988 (NAVD 88) 

and the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD 83); 

(d) No fewer than 13 sediment samples 

shall be taken along each beach 

profile transect. At least one sample 

shall be taken from each of the 

following morphodynamic zones 

where present: frontal dune, frontal 

dune toe, mid berm, mean high water 

(MHW), mid tide (MT), mean low 

water (MLW), trough, bar crest and at 

even depth increments from 6 feet 

(1.8 meters) to 20 feet (6.1 meters) or 

to a shore-perpendicular distance 

2,400 feet (732 meters) seaward of 

mean low water, whichever is in a 

more landward position.  The total 

number of samples taken landward of 

MLW shall equal the total number of 

samples taken seaward of MLW; 

(e) For the purpose of this Rule, 

"sediment grain size categories" are 

defined as "fine" (less than 0.0625 

millimeters), "sand" (greater than or 

equal to 0.0625 millimeters and less 

than 2 millimeters), "granular" 

(greater than or equal to 2 millimeters 

and less than 4.76 millimeters) and 

"gravel" (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 

millimeters).  Each sediment sample 

shall report percentage by weight of 

each of these four grain size 

categories; 

(f) A composite of the simple arithmetic 

mean for each of the four grain size 

categories defined in Sub-Item (1)(e) 

of this Rule shall be calculated for 

each transect.  A grand mean shall be 

established for each of the four grain 

size categories by summing the mean 

for each transect and dividing by the 

total number of transects.  The value 

that characterizes grain size values for 

the recipient beach is the grand mean 

of percentage by weight for each 

grain size category defined in Sub-

Item (1)(e) of this Rule;  

(g) Percentage by weight calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite of all sediment samples 

along each transect defined in Sub-

Item (1)(d) of this Rule.  The value 

that characterizes the carbonate 

content of the recipient beach is a 

grand mean calculated by summing 

the average percentage by weight 

calcium carbonate for each transect 

and dividing by the total number of 

transects.  For beaches on which fill 

activities have taken place prior to the 

effective date of this Rule, the 

Division of Coastal Management 

shall consider visual estimates of 

shell content as a proxy for carbonate 

weight percent; 

(h) The total number of sediments and 

shell material greater than or equal to 

three inches (76 millimeters) in 

diameter, observable on the surface of 



APPROVED RULES 

 

 

29:05                                                             NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER                                SEPTEMBER 2, 2014 

522 

the beach between mean low water 

(MLW) and the frontal dune toe, shall 

be calculated for an area of 50,000 

square feet (4,645 square meters) 

within the beach fill project 

boundaries.  This area is considered a 

representative sample of the entire 

project area and referred to as the 

"background" value;  

(i) Beaches that received sediment prior 

to the effective date of this Rule shall 

be characterized in a way that is 

consistent with Sub-Items (1)(a) 

through (1)(h) of this Rule and shall 

use data collected from the recipient 

beach prior to the addition of beach 

fill.  If such data were not collected or 

are unavailable, a dataset best 

reflecting the sediment characteristics 

of the recipient beach prior to beach 

fill shall be developed in coordination 

with the Division of Coastal 

Management; and 

(j) All data used to characterize the 

recipient beach shall be provided in 

digital and hardcopy format to the 

Division of Coastal Management 

upon request. 

(2) The applicant shall characterize the sediment 

to be placed on the recipient beach according 

to the following methodology: 

(a) The characterization of borrow areas 

including submarine sites, upland 

sites, and dredged material disposal 

areas shall be designed to capture the 

three-dimensional spatial variability 

of the sediment characteristics 

including grain size, sorting and 

mineralogy within the natural system 

or dredged material disposal area; 

(b) The characterization of borrow sites 

shall include sediment 

characterization data provided by the 

Division of Coastal Management 

where available. These data can be 

found in individual project reports 

and studies, and shall be provided by 

the Division of Coastal Management 

upon request and where available; 

(c) Seafloor surveys shall measure 

elevation and capture acoustic 

imagery of the seafloor. Measurement 

of seafloor elevation shall cover 100 

percent of each submarine borrow site 

and use survey-grade swath sonar 

(e.g. multibeam or similar 

technologies) in accordance with 

current US Army Corps of Engineers 

standards for navigation and 

dredging. Seafloor imaging without 

an elevation component (e.g. sidescan 

sonar or similar technologies) shall 

also cover 100 percent of each 

borrow site and be performed in 

accordance with US Army Corps of 

Engineers standards for navigation 

and dredging.  Because shallow 

submarine areas can provide technical 

challenges and physical limitations 

for acoustic measurements, seafloor 

imaging without an elevation 

component may not be required for 

water depths less than 10 feet (3 

meters).  Alternative elevation 

surveying methods for water depths 

less than 10 feet (3 meters) may be 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

Elevation data shall be tide- and 

motion-corrected and referenced to 

NAVD 88 and NAD 83. Seafloor 

imaging data without an elevation 

component shall be referenced to the 

NAD 83. All final seafloor survey 

data shall conform to standards for 

accuracy, quality control and quality 

assurance as set forth by the US 

Army Corps of Engineers (USACE). 

The current surveying standards for 

navigation and dredging can be 

obtained from the Wilmington 

District of the USACE. For offshore 

dredged material disposal sites, only 

one set of imagery without elevation 

is required.  Sonar imaging of the 

seafloor without elevation is not 

required for borrow sites completely 

confined to maintained navigation 

channels, sediment deposition basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system; 

(d) Geophysical imaging of the seafloor 

subsurface shall be used to 

characterize each borrow site and 

shall use survey grids with a line 

spacing not to exceed 1,000 feet (305 

meters). Offshore dredged material 

disposal sites shall use a survey grid 

not to exceed 2,000 feet (610 meters) 

and only one set of geophysical 

imaging of the seafloor subsurface is 

required.  Survey grids shall 

incorporate at least one tie point per 

survey line.  Because shallow 

submarine areas can pose technical 

challenges and physical limitations 

for geophysical techniques, 

subsurface data may not be required 
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in water depths less than 10 feet (3 

meters), and the Division of Coastal 

Management shall evaluate these 

areas on a case-by-case basis. 

Subsurface geophysical imaging shall 

not be required for borrow sites 

completely confined to maintained 

navigation channels, sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system, or upland sites.  All final 

subsurface geophysical data shall use 

accurate sediment velocity models for 

time-depth conversions and be 

referenced to NAD 83; 

(e) Sediment sampling of all borrow sites 

shall use a vertical sampling device 

no less than 3 inches (76 millimeters) 

in diameter.  Characterization of each 

borrow site shall use no fewer than 

five evenly spaced cores or one core 

per 23 acres (grid spacing of 1,000 

feet or 305 meters), whichever is 

greater.  Characterization of borrow 

sites completely confined to 

maintained navigation channels or 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system shall use no fewer than five 

evenly spaced vertical samples per 

channel or sediment basin, or sample 

spacing of no more than 5,000 linear 

feet (1,524 meters), whichever is 

greater.  Two sets of sampling data 

(with at least one dredging event in 

between) from maintained navigation 

channels or sediment deposition 

basins within the active nearshore, 

beach or inlet shoal system may be 

used to characterize material for 

subsequent nourishment events from 

those areas if the sampling results are 

found to be compatible with Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule.  In submarine 

borrow sites other than maintained 

navigation channels or associated 

sediment deposition basins within the 

active nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system where water depths are no 

greater than 10 feet (3 meters), 

geophysical data of and below the 

seafloor are not required, and 

sediment sample spacing shall be no 

less than one core per six acres (grid 

spacing of 500 feet or 152 meters). 

Vertical sampling shall penetrate to a 

depth equal to or greater than 

permitted dredge or excavation depth 

or expected dredge or excavation 

depths for pending permit 

applications. All sediment samples 

shall be integrated with geophysical 

data to constrain the surficial, 

horizontal and vertical extent of 

lithologic units and determine 

excavation volumes of compatible 

sediment as defined in Item (3) of this 

Rule;  

(f) For offshore dredged material 

disposal sites, the grid spacing shall 

not exceed 2,000 feet (610 meters). 

Characterization of material deposited 

at offshore dredged material disposal 

sites after the initial characterization 

are not required if all of the material 

deposited complies with Sub-Item 

(3)(a) of this Rule as demonstrated by 

at least two sets of sampling data with 

at least one dredging event in 

between; 

(g) Grain size distributions shall be 

reported for all sub-samples taken 

within each vertical sample for each 

of the four grain size categories 

defined in Sub-Item (1)(e) of this 

Rule. Weighted averages for each 

core shall be calculated based on the 

total number of samples and the 

thickness of each sampled interval.  A 

simple arithmetic mean of the 

weighted averages for each grain size 

category shall be calculated to 

represent the average grain size 

values for each borrow site.  Vertical 

samples shall be geo-referenced and 

digitally imaged using scaled, color-

calibrated photography;  

(h) Percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate shall be calculated from a 

composite sample of each core.  A 

weighted average of calcium 

carbonate percentage by weight shall 

be calculated for each borrow site 

based on the composite sample 

thickness of each core. Carbonate 

analysis is not required for sediment 

confined to maintained navigation 

channels or associated sediment 

deposition basins within the active 

nearshore, beach or inlet shoal 

system; and 

(i) All data used to characterize the 

borrow site shall be provided in 

digital and hardcopy format to the 

Division of Coastal Management 

upon request. 
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(3) The Division of Coastal Management shall 

determine sediment compatibility according to 

the following criteria: 

(a) Sediment completely confined to the 

permitted dredge depth of a 

maintained navigation channel or 

associated sediment deposition basins 

within the active nearshore, beach or 

inlet shoal system is considered 

compatible if the average percentage 

by weight of fine-grained (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) sediment is less 

than 10 percent;  

(b) The average percentage by weight of 

fine-grained sediment (less than 

0.0625 millimeters) in each borrow 

site shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of fine-grained 

sediment of the recipient beach 

characterization plus five percent; 

(c) The average percentage by weight of 

granular sediment (greater than or 

equal to 2 millimeters and less than 

4.76 millimeters) in a borrow site 

shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of coarse-sand 

sediment of the recipient beach 

characterization plus 10 percent; 

(d) The average percentage by weight of 

gravel (greater than or equal to 4.76 

millimeters and less than 76 

millimeters) in a borrow site shall not 

exceed the average percentage by 

weight of gravel-sized sediment for 

the recipient beach characterization 

plus five percent; 

(e) The average percentage by weight of 

calcium carbonate in a borrow site 

shall not exceed the average 

percentage by weight of calcium 

carbonate of the recipient beach 

characterization plus 15 percent; and 

(f) Techniques that take incompatible 

sediment within a borrow site or 

combination of sites and make it 

compatible with that of the recipient 

beach characterization shall be 

evaluated on a case-by-case basis by 

the Division of Coastal Management. 

(4) Excavation and placement of sediment shall 

conform to the following criteria: 

(a) Sediment excavation depths for all 

borrow sites shall not exceed the 

maximum depth of recovered core at 

each coring location; 

(b) In order to protect threatened and 

endangered species, and to minimize 

impacts to fish, shellfish and wildlife 

resources, no excavation or placement 

of sediment shall occur within the 

project area during times designated 

by the Division of Coastal 

Management in consultation with 

other State and Federal agencies. The 

time limitations shall be established 

during the permitting process and 

shall be made known prior to permit 

issuance; and  

(c) Sediment and shell material with a 

diameter greater than or equal to three 

inches (76 millimeters) is considered 

incompatible if it has been placed on 

the beach during the beach fill 

project, is observed between MLW 

and the frontal dune toe, and is in 

excess of twice the background value 

of material of the same size along any 

50,000-square-foot (4,645 square 

meter) section of beach. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-229; 113A-102(b)(1); 

113A-103(5)(a); 113A-107(a); 113A-113(b)(5) and (6); 113A-

118; 113A-124; 

Eff. February 1, 2007; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2013; April 1, 2008. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1204 GENERAL CONDITIONS 

(a)  Piers and docking facilities authorized by the general permit 

set forth in this Section shall be for the exclusive use of the land 

owner, or occupant and shall not be leased, rented, or used for 

any commercial purpose.  Piers and docking facilities shall 

provide docking space for no more than two boats. Docking 

facilities providing docking space for more than two boats shall 

be reviewed through the major permitting process because of 

their greater potential for adverse impacts and, therefore, are not 

authorized by this general permit, excluding the exceptions 

described in Rule .1205 of this Section. 

(b)  Individuals shall allow representatives of the Department of 

Environment and Natural Resources to make inspections at any 

time deemed necessary in order to be sure that the activity being 

performed under the authority of the general permit set forth in 

this Section is in accordance with the terms and conditions 

prescribed herein. 

(c)  There shall be no interference with navigation or use of the 

waters by the public by the existence of piers and docking 

facilities. 

(d)  The permit set forth in this Section shall not be applicable to 

proposed construction where the Department determines that the 

proposed activity will endanger adjoining properties or 

significantly affect historic, cultural, scenic, conservation or 

recreation values, identified in G.S. 113A-102 and G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4). 

(e)  The permit set forth in this Section does not eliminate the 

need to obtain any other required state, local, or federal 

authorization. 

(f)  Development carried out under the permit set forth in this 

Section shall be consistent with all local requirements, AEC 
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Guidelines, and local land use plans current at the time of 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 19, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; August 1, 1998; July 

1, 1994. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1205 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  Piers and docking facilities may extend or be located up to a 

maximum of 400 feet waterward from the normal high water 

line or the normal water level, whichever is applicable.  

(b)  Piers and docking facilities shall not extend beyond the 

established pier length along the same shoreline for similar use.  

This restriction shall not apply to piers and docking facilities 100 

feet or less in length unless necessary to avoid interference with 

navigation or other uses of the waters by the public such as 

blocking established navigation routes or interfering with access 

to adjoining properties as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. The length of piers and docking facilities shall be 

measured from the waterward edge of any wetlands that border 

the water body. 

(c)  Piers and docking facilities longer than 200 feet shall be 

permitted only if the proposed length gives access to deeper 

water at a rate of at least one foot at each 100 foot increment of 

pier length longer than 200 feet, or if the additional length is 

necessary to span some obstruction to navigation.  

Measurements to determine pier and docking facility lengths 

shall be made from the waterward edge of any coastal wetland 

vegetation, that borders the water body. 

(d)  Piers shall be no wider than six feet and shall be elevated at 

least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as measured 

from the bottom of the decking. 

(e)  The total square footage of shaded impact for docks and 

mooring facilities (excluding the pier) allowed shall be 8 square 

feet per linear foot of shoreline with a maximum of 800 square 

feet.  In calculating the shaded impact, uncovered open water 

slips shall not be counted in the total. 

(f)  The maximum size of any individual component of the 

docking facility authorized by this General Permit shall not 

exceed 400 square feet. 

(g)  Docking facilities shall not be constructed in a designated 

Primary Nursery Area with less than two feet of water at normal 

low water level or normal water level under the general permit 

set forth in this Section without prior approval from the Division 

of Marine Fisheries or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(h)  Piers and docking facilities located over shellfish beds or 

submerged aquatic vegetation (as defined by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission) may be constructed without prior 

consultation from the Division of Marine Fisheries or the 

Wildlife Resources Commission if the following two conditions 

are met: 

(1) Water depth at the docking facility location is 

equal to or greater than two feet of water at 

normal low water level or normal water level; 

and 

(2) The pier and docking facility is located to 

minimize the area of submerged aquatic 

vegetation or shellfish beds under the structure 

as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(i)  Floating piers and floating docking facilities located in 

Primary Nursery Areas, over shellfish beds, or over submerged 

aquatic vegetation shall be allowed if the water depth between 

the bottom of the proposed structure and the substrate is at least 

18 inches at normal low water level or normal water level. 

(j)  Docking facilities shall have no more than six feet of any 

dimension extending over coastal wetlands and shall be elevated 

at least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as 

measured from the bottom of the decking. 

(k)  The width requirements established in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule shall not apply to pier structures in existence on or before 

July 1, 2001 when structural modifications are needed to prevent 

or minimize storm damage.  In these cases, pilings and cross 

bracing may be used to provide structural support as long as they 

do not extend more than two feet on either side of the principal 

structure.  These modifications shall not be used to expand the 

floor decking of platforms and piers. 

(l)  Boathouses shall not exceed a combined total of 400 square 

feet and shall have sides extending no further than one-half the 

height of the walls as measured in a downward direction from 

the top wall plate or header and only covering the top half of the 

walls.  Measurements of square footage shall be taken of the 

greatest exterior dimensions.  Boathouses shall not be allowed 

on lots with less than 75 linear feet of shoreline. 

(m)  The area enclosed by a boat lift shall not exceed 400 square 

feet. 

(n)  Piers and docking facilities shall be single story.  They may 

be roofed but shall not allow second story use. 

(o)  Pier and docking facility alignments along federally 

maintained channels shall also meet Corps of Engineers 

regulations for construction pursuant to Section 10 of the Rivers 

and Harbors Act of 1899 (33 U.S.C. 403). 

(p)  Piers and docking facilities shall in no case extend more 

than 1/4 the width of a natural water body, human-made canal or 

basin.  Measurements to determine widths of the water body, 

human-made canals, or basins shall be made from the waterward 

edge of any coastal wetland vegetation which borders the water 

body.  The 1/4 length limitation shall not apply when the 

proposed pier and docking facility is located between longer 

structures within 200 feet of the applicant's property.  However, 

the proposed pier and docking facility shall not be longer than 

the pier head line established by the adjacent piers and docking 

facilities nor longer than 1/3 the width of the water body. 

(q)  Piers and docking facilities shall not interfere with the 

access to any riparian property, and shall have a minimum 

setback of 15 feet between any part of the pier and docking 

facility and the adjacent property lines extended into the water at 

the points that they intersect the shoreline.  The minimum 

setbacks provided in this Paragraph may be waived by the 

written agreement of the adjacent riparian owner(s), or when two 

adjoining riparian owners are co-applicants. Should the adjacent 

property be sold before construction of the pier commences, the 

applicant shall obtain a written agreement with the new owner 

waiving the minimum setback and submit it to the Division of 
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Coastal Management prior to initiating any development of the 

pier or docking facility.  The line of division of areas of riparian 

access shall be established by drawing a line along the channel 

or deep water in front of the property, then drawing a line 

perpendicular to the line of the channel so that it intersects with 

the shore at the point the upland property line meets the water's 

edge.  Application of this Rule may be aided by reference to the 

approved diagram in Paragraph (t) of this Rule illustrating the 

rule as applied to various shoreline configurations.  Copies of the 

diagram may be obtained from the Division of Coastal 

Management website at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net.When shoreline 

configuration is such that a perpendicular alignment cannot be 

achieved, the pier or docking facility shall be aligned to meet the 

intent of this Rule to the maximum extent practicable. 

(r)  Piers and docking facilities shall provide docking space for 

no more than two boats (a boat is defined in 15A NCAC 07M 

.0602(a) as a vessel or watercraft of any size or type specifically 

designed to be self-propelled, whether by engine, sail, oar, 

paddle or other means, which is used to travel from place to 

place by water) except when stored on a platform that has 

already been accounted for within the shading impacts condition 

of this general permit.  Boats stored on floating or fixed 

platforms shall not count as docking spaces. 

(s)  Applicants for authorization to construct a pier or docking 

facility shall provide notice of the permit application to the 

owner of any part of a shellfish franchise or lease over which the 

proposed pier or docking facility would extend. The applicant 

shall allow the lease holder the opportunity to mark a navigation 

route from the pier to the edge of the lease. 

 

(t)  The diagram shown below illustrates various shoreline configurations: 

 
 

(u)  Shared piers or docking facilities shall be allowed and 

encouraged provided that in addition to complying with 

Paragraphs (a) through (t) of this Rule the following shall also 

apply: 

(1) The shared pier or docking facility shall be 

confined to two adjacent riparian property 

owners and the landward point of origination 

of the structure shall overlap the shared 

property line. 

(2) Shared piers and docking facilities shall be 

designed to provide docking space for no more 

than four boats. 

(3) The total square footage of shaded impact for 

docks and mooring facilities shall be 

calculated using Paragraph (e) of this Rule and 
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in addition shall allow for combined shoreline 

of both properties. 

(4) The property owners of the shared pier shall 

not be required to obtain a 15-foot waiver from 

each other as described in Paragraph (q) of this 

Rule as is applies to the shared riparian line for 

any work associated with the shared pier, 

provided that the title owners of both 

properties have executed a shared pier 

agreement that has become a part of the permit 

file. 

(5) The construction of a second access pier or 

docking facility not associated with the shared 

pier shall not be authorized under the general 

permit set forth in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. March 18, 1993; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 23, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 20, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; April 1, 2003. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1305 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  Boat ramps shall be no wider than 15 feet and shall not 

extend more than 20 feet waterward of the normal high water 

level or normal water level. 

(b)  Excavation and ground disturbing activities above and 

below the normal high water level or normal water level will be 

limited to that absolutely necessary to establish adequate ramp 

slope and provide a ramp no greater in size than specified by this 

general permit. 

(c)  Placement of fill materials below normal high water level, or 

normal water level, will be limited to the ramp structure and any 

associated riprap groins.  Boat ramps may be constructed of 

concrete, wood, steel, clean riprap, marl, or any other suitable 

equivalent materials approved by the Division of Coastal 

Management. No coastal wetland vegetation shall be excavated 

or filled at any time during construction. 

(d)  The permit set forth in this Section allows for up to a six-

foot wide launch access dock (fixed or floating) immediately 

adjacent to a new or existing boat ramp. The length shall be 

limited to the length of the permitted boat ramp (with a 

maximum length of 20 feet waterward of the normal high water 

level or normal water level). No permanent slips are authorized 

by this permit. 

(e)  Groins shall be allowed as a structural component on one or 

both sides of a new or existing boat ramp to reduce scouring.  

The groins shall be limited to the length of the permitted boat 

ramp (with a maximum length of 20 feet waterward of the  

normal high water level or normal water level). 

(f)  The height of sheetpile groins shall not exceed one foot 

above normal high water level or normal water level and the 

height of riprap groins shall not exceed two feet above normal 

high water level or normal water level. 

(g)  Riprap groins shall not exceed a base width of five feet. 

(h)  Material used for groin construction shall be free from loose 

dirt or any other pollutant.  Riprap material must be of sufficient 

size to prevent its movement from the approved alignment by 

wave action or currents. 

(i)  "L" and "T" sections shall not be allowed at the end of 

groins. 

(j)  Groins shall be constructed of granite, marl, concrete without 

exposed rebar, timber, vinyl sheet pile, steel sheet pile, or other 

suitable equivalent materials approved by the Division of 

Coastal Management. 

(k)  Boat ramps and their associated structures authorized under 

this permit shall not interfere with the access to any riparian 

property and shall have a minimum setback of 15 feet between 

any part of the boat ramp or associated structures and the 

adjacent property owners' areas of riparian access.  The 

minimum setbacks provided in the rule may be waived by the 

written agreement of the adjacent riparian owner(s), or when two 

adjoining riparian owners are co-applicants.  Should the adjacent 

property be sold before construction of the boat ramp or 

associated structures commences, the applicant shall obtain a 

written agreement with the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the Division of Coastal Management 

prior to initiating any development of the boat ramp or 

associated structures authorized under this permit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 14 – BOARD OF COSMETIC ART 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 14A .0401 LICENSE WAIVER FOR ARMED 

FORCES 

(a)  Licensees in good standing and serving in the armed forces 

of the United States or the spouse of an individual in good 

standing and serving in the armed forces of the United States are 

allowed an extension on the license renewal payment and 

required continuing education hours as permitted G.S. 93B-15. 

(b)  Individuals holding current and valid licensure as 

determined by G.S. 93B-15.1 may apply for licensure with the 

Board by providing a copy of the current and valid license along 

with a the license application, fees and documentation of 

military experience or training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93B-15; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14B .0504 ISSUANCE OF DECLARATORY 

RULING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-17; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 
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Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0401 LICENSEES AND STUDENTS 

(a)  Notwithstanding Rule .0201 in this Subchapter, this Rule 

applies to licensees and students in practice in cosmetic art 

schools and shops.  Each licensee and student shall wash his or 

her hands with soap and water or an equally effective cleansing 

agent immediately before and after serving each client. 

(b)  Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and 

shoes while serving patrons. 

(c)  Licensees or students shall not use or possess in a cosmetic 

art school or shop any of the following: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer, a.k.a. 

MMA; 

(2) razor-type callus shavers designed and 

intended to cut growths of skin including skin 

tags, corns, and calluses; 

(3) FDA rated Class III devices; 

(4) carbolic acid (phenol) over two percent 

strength; 

(5) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(6) a variable speed electrical nail file on a natural 

nail unless it has been designed for use on a 

natural nail. 

(d)  A licensee or student shall not: 

(1) use any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's 

intended use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer; 

(2) treat any medical condition unless referred by 

a physician; 

(3) provide any service unless trained prior to 

performing the service; 

(4) perform services on a client if the licensee has 

reason to believe the client has any of the 

following: 

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) an inflamed, infected, broken, raised, 

or swollen skin or nail tissue in the 

area to be worked on; or 

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; 

(5) alter or duplicate a license issued by the 

Board; 

(6) advertise or solicit clients in any form of 

communication in a manner that is false or 

misleading; 

(7) use any FDA rated Class II device without the 

documented supervision of a licensed 

physician; 

(8) use any product that will penetrate the dermis; 

or 

(9) make any statement to a member of the public 

either verbally or in writing stating or 

implying action is required or forbidden by 

Board rules when such action is not required 

or forbidden by Board rules.  A violation of 

this prohibition is considered practicing or 

attempting to practice by fraudulent 

misrepresentation.   

(e)  In using a disinfectant, the user shall wear any personal 

protective equipment, such as gloves, recommended by the 

manufacturer in the Material Safety Data Sheet. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-24; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013. 

 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0504 SYSTEMS OF GRADING BEAUTY ESTABLISHMENTS 

The system of grading the sanitary rating of cosmetic art schools and shops based on the rules set out in this subchapter shall be as 

follows, setting out areas to be inspected and considered, and the maximum points given for compliance: 

Sanitation Point Value 

Each licensee and student shall wash his or her hands with soap and water or an equally effective cleansing 

agent immediately before and after serving each client. 2 

Each licensee and student shall wear clean garments and shoes while serving patrons. 2 

The cosmetic art facility shall be kept clean. 3 

Waste material shall be kept in receptacles with a disposable liner.  The area surrounding the waste receptacles 

shall be maintained in a sanitary manner. 4 

All doors and windows shall be kept clean. 2 

Furniture, equipment, floors, walls, ceilings and fixtures shall be clean and in good repair. 3 

Clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and towels shall be used for each patron. 3 

After a cape, drape, linen, or towel has been in contact with a patron's skin, it shall be placed in a clean, closed 

container until laundered with soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer. 5 

Any paper or nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be discarded after one use. 2 

There shall be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and towels at all times. 2 

Clean drapes, capes, linens, and towels shall be stored in a clean area. 5 

Bathroom facilities shall be kept cleaned. 3 
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All implements shall be washed with warm water and a cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove debris and 

dried. 2 

All implements shall be disinfected. 10 

All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean area. 2 

Disposable and porous implements and supplies shall be discarded after use or upon completion of the service. 10 

Any product that comes into contact with the patron shall be discarded upon completion of the service. 3 

Disinfected implements shall be kept in a clean closed cabinet or clean closed container and shall not be stored 

with any implement or item that has not been disinfected. 10 

Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be disposed in puncture-resistant containers. 1 

The presence of animals or birds. Fish in an enclosure and animals trained for the purpose of accompanying 

disabled persons are exempt. 1 

All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin shall 

be kept in clean, closed containers and dispensed in a sanitary manner.  No product dispensed in portions shall 

be returned to the container. 10 

After each patron's use each whirlpool or footspa shall be cleaned and disinfected. 10 

The water in a vaporizer machine shall be emptied daily and the unit disinfected daily. 2 

The area where services are performed that come in contact with the patron's skin including chairs, tables, and 

beds shall be disinfected between patrons. 3 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-23; 88B-26; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14H .0505 RULE COMPLIANCE AND 

ENFORCEMENT MEASURES 

(a)  The use of or possession of the following products or 

equipment in a school or shop shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of three hundred dollars ($300.00) per container of 

product or piece of equipment: 

(1) Methyl Methacrylate Liquid Monomer a.k.a. 

MMA; or 

(2) razor-type callus shavers designed and 

intended to cut growths of skin including skin 

tags, corns, and calluses. 

(b)  The use of or possession of the following in a school or shop 

shall result in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) per use or possession: 

(1) animals including insects, fish, amphibians, 

reptiles, birds, or non-human mammals to 

perform any service; or 

(2) variable speed electrical nail file on the natural 

nail unless it has been designed for use on the 

natural nail. 

(c)  The action of any student or licensee to violate the Board 

rules in the following manner shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per instance of each 

action: 

(1) use of any product, implement, or piece of 

equipment in any manner other than the 

product's, implement's, or equipment's 

intended use as described or detailed by the 

manufacturer;  

(2) treatment of any medical condition unless 

referred by a physician;  

(3) use of any product that will penetrate the 

dermis; 

(4) provision of any service unless trained prior to 

performing the service;  

(5) performance of services on a client if the 

licensee has reason to believe the client has 

any of the following:  

(A) fungus, lice, or nits; 

(B) inflamed infected, broken, raised, or 

swollen skin or nail tissue in the area 

to be worked on; or  

(C) an open wound or sore in the area to 

be worked on; or 

(6) alteration of or duplication of a license issued 

by the Board;  

(7) advertisement or solicitation of clients in any 

form of communication in a manner that is 

false or misleading; or 

(8) use of any FDA rated Class II device without 

the documented supervision of a licensed 

physician. 

(d)  The failure to record the date and time of each cleaning and 

disinfecting of a footspa in a cosmetic art school or shop as 

required by this Subchapter including the date, time, reason, and 

name of the staff member who performed the cleaning or the 

failure to keep or make such record available for at least 90 days 

upon request by either a patron or inspector shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

footspa. 

(e)  The failure to clean and disinfect a footspa in a cosmetic art 

shop or school as required by this Subchapter shall result in civil 

penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per 

footspa. 

(f)  The failure to maintain in a cosmetic art shop and school 

antiseptics, gloves or finger guards, and sterile bandages 

available to provide first aid shall result in civil penalty in the 

amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per item. 
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(g)  The failure to maintain a sink with hot and cold running 

water in the clinic area, separate from restrooms, shall result in 

civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(h)  The failure to provide ventilation at all times in the areas 

where patrons are serviced in cosmetic art shops shall result in 

civil penalty in the amount of twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

(i)   The failure to screen all doors and windows open for 

ventilation shall result in civil penalty in the amount of twenty-

five dollars ($25.00). 

(j)  The failure to maintain equipment and supplies necessary to 

perform any cosmetic art service offered in the shop shall result 

in civil penalty in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(k)  The failure to maintain a sanitation grade of 80 percent or 

higher shall result in a civil penalty in the amount of two 

hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(l)  Repeated violations of the rules in this Subchapter exceeding 

three written notifications of any one rule documented to any 

one individual, shop, or school shall result in a mandatory 

disciplinary hearing in accordance with 21 NCAC 14C. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 88B-23; 

88B-24; 88B-26; 88B-27; 88B-29; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14I .0401 APPLICATION/ 

LICENSURE/INDIVIDUALS WHO HAVE BEEN 

CONVICTED OF FELONY 

(a)  Any applicant convicted of a felony or charged with a felony 

that is still pending may apply for Board approval upon 

enrollment in a cosmetic art school.  All documentation 

submitted shall have no effect on an individual's ability to attend 

a cosmetic art school, take an examination administered by the 

Board, or apply for a license. 

(b)  The applicant shall supply the following; 

(1) a statement of facts of the crime, accompanied 

by a certified copy of the indictment (or, in the 

absence of an indictment, a copy of the 

"information" that initiated the formal judicial 

process), the judgment and any commitment 

order for each felony for which there has been 

a conviction; 

(2) at least three letters attesting to the applicant's 

character from individuals unrelated by blood 

or marriage; 

(3) a summary of the applicant's personal history 

since conviction including, if applicable, date 

of release, parole or probation status, 

employment, and military service; 

(4) records of any cosmetology, esthetics, natural 

hair care, or manicurist school disciplinary 

actions; or a statement from the school 

indicating no disciplinary actions were taken; 

and 

(5) any other information that in the opinion of the 

applicant would be useful or pertinent to the 

consideration by the Board of the applicant's 

request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-24(1); 

Eff. June 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2010; December 1, 

2008; April 1, 2001; August 1, 1998.  

 

21 NCAC 14K .0107 LIVE MODEL PERFORMANCES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1991; December 1, 1990; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; December 1, 2008; April 1, 2001; 

August 1, 2000; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014 

 

21 NCAC 14O .0106 LIVE MODEL PERFORMANCES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14P .0113 OPERATIONS OF SCHOOLS OF 

COSMETIC ART 

(a)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to record student's 

hours of daily attendance is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  warning ($100.00) 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $200.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $300.00 

(b)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to report 

withdrawal or graduation of a student within 30 working days is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(c)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to submit 

cosmetology enrollments within 30 working days or manicurist, 

natural hair care specialist and esthetician enrollments within 15 

working days is: 

(1) 1st offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(d)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to display a copy of 

the sanitation rules is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $100.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $200.00 

(e)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to post consumer 

sign "Cosmetic Art School - Work Done Exclusively by 

Students" is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $100.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $200.00 

(f)  The presumptive civil penalty for allowing a cosmetic art 

shop to operate within a cosmetic art school is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  $200.00 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $400.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $600.00 

(g)  The presumptive civil penalty for a cosmetic art school that 

is not separated from a cosmetic art shop or other business by a 
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solid wall, floor to ceiling, with an separate entrance and a door 

that stays closed at all times is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  $200.00 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $400.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $600.00 

(h)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to have any student 

wear a clean washable uniform or identification is: 

(1) 1st offense   warning ($50.00) 

(2) 2nd offense  $100.00 

(3) 3rd offense  $200.00 

(i)  The presumptive civil penalty for failure to renew or file 

school bond or bond alternative is: 

(1) 1
st
 offense  $200.00 

(2) 2
nd

 offense  $400.00 

(3) 3
rd

 offense  $600.00 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-29; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; 

December 1, 2008; April 1, 2004.  

 

21 NCAC 14R .0105 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  This Rule pertains to all cosmetic art licensees.  Each 

licensee wishing to maintain his or her license shall obtain 

continuing education during each licensing period. The licensee 

shall maintain records of attendance at a continuing education 

course including the following information: 

(1) course title and description; 

(2) date conducted; 

(3) address of location where the course was 

conducted; and 

(4) continuing education hours earned. 

(b)  At least one-half of the required continuing education hours 

for each licensee shall be in the cosmetic arts profession in 

which he or she is licensed. 

(c)  Each cosmetic art teacher must ensure at least 50 percent of 

the subject matter in a course taken for the purpose of license 

renewal relates to teacher training techniques and enhances the 

ability to communicate. 

(d)  Continuing education courses shall be approved by the 

Board providing the courses meet the requirements above. 

(e)  The Board or an agent of the Board may conduct audits of 

the licensee's continuing education at any time.  Upon the 

Board's request, each licensee shall provide completed records to 

the Board to support the last affirmation given pursuant to 

Subparagraph (j)(3) of this Rule.  Records must be maintained 

until the end of the next renewal cycle after the affirmation for 

audit purposes.  

(f)  Continuing education courses completed prior to an 

individual's being licensed by the Board shall not qualify for 

continuing education credit. 

(g)  Apprentices do not need to earn continuing education for 

license renewal. 

(h)  Licensees are exempt from the eight hours of continuing 

education requirement until the licensing period commencing 

after their initial licensure. 

(i)  After completion of the continuing education requirements 

for any licensing cycle, the licensee shall forward to the Board 

the following: 

(1) the license renewal application;  

(2) the license renewal fee; and  

(3) affirmation of the following pledge:  "I hereby 

certify that I have obtained all continuing 

education hours required in accordance with 

the G.S. 88B-21 and Board rules. I am aware 

that 1) false or dishonest misleading 

information may be grounds for disciplinary 

action against my license; and further that 2) 

false statements are punishable by law." 

(j)  Failure to produce documents or file a response to a request 

for audit from the Board within 30 days of the request shall 

result in a civil penalty to the licensee in the amount of two 

hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). 

(k)  The presentation of fraudulent continuing education 

documentation to the Board by a licensee shall result in a civil 

penalty of five hundred dollars ($500.00). 

(l)  Licensees in inactive status may reactivate licensure by 

taking no fewer than eight hours of continuing education per 

year of inactivity up to 24 total hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-21; 88B-24; 

88B-29; 

Eff. April 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; March 1, 2013. 

 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0604 ESTHETICS CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, an esthetician training course shall consist of at least 600 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

 

Theory and Performance Requirements Hours Services 

Beginners: anatomy/physiology, hygiene, disinfection, first aid, 

chemistry, draping, facial/body treatment (cleansing, manipulations, 

masks), hair removal, basic dermatology, machines, electricity, 

apparatus, aromatherapy, nutrition, make-up/color theory,  

40 

  

 Advanced: Styles and techniques of esthetics services including 

facials, makeup application, performing skin care, hair removal, 

eyelash extensions and applying brow and lash color; business 

management; and professional ethics 

560 
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Performance Requirements 

 

Mannequin Live Model 

Facials Manual (skin analysis, cleansing, surface  manipulations, packs 

and masks) 

 

10 30 

Facials Electronic (the use of electrical modalitus, including dermal 

lights, and electrical apparatus for facials and skin care including 

galvanic and faradic) 

 

 
30 

Eyebrow arching 

 

5 15 

Hair removal (hard wax, soft wax, depilitories) 

 

5 25 

Makeup application (skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup) 

 

10 20 

Eyelash extensions 

 

5 5 

Brow and lash color 

 

5 5 

     

(b)  A minimum of 40 hours of theory shall be required prior to conducting live model performances on the public. 

(c)  Certification of live model or mannequin performance completions shall be required, along with the graduation form and 

application for the Board's examination. 

(d)  A live model may be substituted for a mannequin for any mannequin service. 

(e)  All mannequin services may be performed using a simulated product. 

(f)  Simulated product shall not be allowed for credit for live model performance. 

(g)  Mannequin services shall not be substituted for live model services. 

(h)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.   

(i)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;  

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0605 MANICURING CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a manicurist training course must consist of at least 300 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

Theory and Performance Requirements Hours Services 

Beginners: Manicuring theory, disinfection, first aid, trimming, filing,  

shaping, decorating, arm and hand manipulation, sculptured and 

artificial nails; and pedicuring 

25 

 

 Advance: Styles and techniques for the care, treatment and decoration 

of fingernails, toenails, cuticles, nail extensions and artificial nails; 

electric file; business management; and professional ethics  

275 

 

 
Performance Requirements 

 

Mannequin Live Model 

Manicures including trimming, filing, shaping, decorating, and arm 

and hand manipulations 

 

5 10 

Applications or repair of sculptured or artificial nail sets 

 

5 15 

Pedicures 

 
 

10 

 

(b)  A minimum of 25 hours theory shall be required prior to conducting live model performances on the public. 

(c)  Certification of live model or mannequin performance completions shall be required, along with the graduation form and 

application for the Board's examination. 

(d)  A live model may be substituted for a mannequin for any mannequin service. 

(e)  All mannequin services may be performed using a simulated product. 

(f)  Simulated product shall not be allowed for credit for live model performance. 

(g)  Mannequin services shall not be substituted for live model services. 

(h)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed.   

(i)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(j)  A "nail set" means one hand including all four fingers and thumb. 
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History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0606 NATURAL HAIR CARE CURRICULUM 

(a)  To meet the approval of the Board, a natural hair care styling training course must consist of 300 hours of instruction in theory and 

practical application, divided as follows: 

Theory Hours Services 

Beginners: Sanitation, bacteriology, disinfection, first aid, shampooing, 

draping, anatomy, disorders of the hair and scalp, client consultation. 
25 

  Advanced: Styles and techniques of natural hair styling including 

twisting, wrapping, extending, locking, blowdry and thermal iron; 

business management; and professional ethics. 

275 

  Performance Requirements 

 

Mannequin Live Model 

Braids 

 

5 5 

Twists 

 

5 5 

Knots 

 

3 2 

Corn rows 

 

3 2 

Hairlocking 

 

5 5 

Artificial hair and decorations 

 

5 5 

Blow dry and thermal iron 

 

5 5 

Braid Removal 

 

5 5 

(b)  A minimum of 25 hours of theory shall be required prior to conducting live model performances on the public. 

(c)  Certification of live model or mannequin performance completions shall be required, along with the graduation form and 

application for the Board's examination. 

(d)  A live model may be substituted for a mannequin for any mannequin service. 

(e)  All mannequin services may be performed using a simulated product. 

(f)  Simulated product shall not be allowed for credit for live model performance. 

(g)  Mannequin services shall not be substituted for live model services. 

(h)  Sharing of performance completions shall not be allowed, unless the live model service consists of 20 or more lengths of hair. 

(i)  Credit for a performance shall be given to only one student. 

(j)  A performance shall consist of 10 or more lengths of hair. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0615 FIELD TRIPS 

(a)  Cosmetic art schools shall notify the Board prior to any field 

trip and record the field trip hours of each student.  Cosmetic Art 

Educational Field Trips include the following locations or 

activities: 

(1) cosmetic art shops; 

(2) cosmetic art conventions; 

(3) competition training;  

(4) other Schools; 

(5) state Board Office; 

(6) supply Houses; 

(7) college or Career Day at School; 

(8) fashion Shows; 

(9) rest Homes/Nursing Homes; 

(10) hospitals; and 

(11) funeral Homes. 

(b)  An instructor shall be present during the educational field 

trips listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule for credit to be given to 

students, with a ratio of one instructor per 25 students present. 

(c)  The maximum number of hours a student may earn for field 

trips is 40 credit hours for cosmetology students, 20 credit hours  

for esthetician students, and 10 credit hours for manicurist or 

natural hair care students. 

(d)  Students may earn up to four additional hours of credit for 

curriculum requirements for interviews at a licensed cosmetic art 

shop. 

(e)  Students may not earn credit for any service performances 

completed outside of the school.   

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0616 ADDITIONAL HOURS 

(a)  Notwithstanding any other provision of the rules in this 

Subchapter, pursuant to G.S. 88B-18(d) a cosmetologist, 

apprentice, esthetician, manicurist, natural hair care specialist, or 

teacher candidate who has failed either section of the 

examination three times, shall complete the following amounts 

of study at an approved cosmetic art school before the Board 

may accept an application:   

(1) Cosmetologist 200 hours; 
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(2) Apprentice 150 hours;  

(3) Esthetician 80 hours; 

(4) Manicurist 40 hours; 

(5) Natural Hair Care Specialist 40 hours; and 

(6) Teacher: 

(A) cosmetology 100 hours; 

(B) esthetician 80 hours; and 

(C) manicurist 40 hours. 

(b)  Schools shall evaluate students returning to complete 

additional hours in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this Rule 

and shall provide remedial assistance or training in the areas of 

deficiency. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

88B-18; 

Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0617 TEACHER TRAINEES 

(a)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee may not perform clinical 

services on a client at the cosmetic art school.  

(b)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee shall be supervised by a 

cosmetic art teacher at all times when the trainee is at a cosmetic 

art school except as set out in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  A manicurist, natural hair care or esthetician teacher may 

supervise a cosmetic art teacher trainee with regard to 

manicuring, natural hair care, or esthetics. 

(d)  A cosmetic art teacher trainee program may be a full time 

program or a part time program.  A cosmetic art teacher trainee, 

however, may not receive credit for more than 10 hours per day. 

(e)  Teacher trainees may present lessons they have prepared 

under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetic art teacher as 

long as the supervising teacher is present in the classroom. 

(f)  Persons receiving teacher training in a cosmetic art school 

shall be furnished a teacher's manual and shall spend all of their 

training time under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetic 

art teacher and shall not be left in charge of students or the 

school at any time. 

 

History Note:  Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 

Eff. January 1, 2012;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014. 

 

21 NCAC 14T .0701 SCHOOL OPERATIONS/ 

LICENSURE MAINTENANCE 

(a)  No individual shall be given credit for any hours earned in a 

cosmetic art school before the date the school is granted a 

license, before the student is enrolled, or after graduation or 

withdrawal of the student without a new enrollment. 

(b)  All Cosmetic Art schools shall submit hours of operation per 

cosmetic art discipline to the Board. Any changes to the hours of 

operation shall be submitted to the Board.  A school will be 

considered open by the Board when cosmetic art instruction, 

services, or performances are provided.  

(c)  Students may be required to clean and disinfect work areas, 

reception areas, implements, and the dispensary. Students shall 

not be required to perform regular maintenance. 

(d)  All cosmetic art schools shall adhere to all Board sanitation 

regulations located in 21 NCAC 14H Sanitation.  

(e)  Cosmetic art schools may permit students to leave the 

cosmetic art school during instructional time to visit on campus 

libraries and other educational resource rooms such as computer 

labs for research and study under the supervision of a cosmetic 

art instructor. 

(f)  Cosmetic art schools shall use the following grading scale as 

a minimum for passing grades: 

Grade A 100-90 

Grade B 80-89 

Grade C 70-79 

Grade F (Fail) 0-69 

(g)  Cosmetic art schools shall not graduate any student who has 

not met the minimum school and Board requirements for 

graduation. 

(h)  Examinations shall be administered in all subjects of the 

cosmetic art curriculum. 

(i)  Students present at school shall be supervised by a cosmetic 

art teacher at all times.  If a guest lecturer is leading a class, at 

least one cosmetic art teacher must be present in the lecture.  

(j)  All cosmetic art schools shall provide: 

(1) One teacher for every 25 students enrolled in 

the beginner department; 

(2) One teacher for every 20 students during 

practical work on live models in the advanced 

department; and  

(3) Cosmetic art teachers at a ratio of 1:25 teacher 

to teacher trainees; or  

(A) one teacher and up to 25 beginner 

cosmetic art students and 5 teacher 

trainees; or  

(B) one teacher and up to 20 cosmetic art 

students in practice on the clinic floor 

and 5 teacher trainees. 

(k)  In theory classes, the teacher-student ratio may exceed the 

ratios established in this Rule. 

(l)  The teacher student ratios established in this Rule shall be 

adhered to when schools are in operation. 

(m)  A teacher may administer instruction to up to 10 students 

enrolled in beginner and advanced departments at the same time. 

A teacher shall not administer instruction to more than 10 

students enrolled in beginner and advanced departments at the 

same time.   

(n)  At no time can any one teacher be simultaneously 

responsible for students in a theory class and students in practice 

on the clinic floor. 

(o)  In cases of change in teaching staff, the school shall notify 

the Board of the change in writing prior to beginning instruction.  

A change in teaching staff includes any substitution for the 

regularly scheduled teacher and any change, scheduled or 

otherwise, in the list of teachers last given to the Board. 

(1) All courses in a cosmetic art school shall be 

taught by a licensed cosmetology teacher, 

except as follows:  

(A) manicuring courses may be taught by 

either a licensed cosmetology teacher 

or a licensed manicurist teacher; 

(B) natural hair care courses may be 

taught by either a licensed 
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cosmetology teacher or a licensed 

natural hair care teacher; 

(C) esthetics courses may be taught by 

either a licensed cosmetology teacher 

or a licensed esthetician teacher. 

(2) A licensed cosmetologist not licensed as a 

cosmetology teacher may substitute for a 

cosmetology, esthetician, natural hair care or 

manicurist teacher; a licensed manicurist not 

licensed as a manicurist teacher may substitute 

for a manicurist teacher; a licensed natural hair 

care specialist not licensed as a natural hair 

care teacher may substitute for a natural hair 

care teacher; and a licensed esthetician not 

licensed as an esthetician teacher may 

substitute for an esthetician teacher. 

(p)  In no event may any cosmetic art licensee substitution last 

for more than 15 consecutive working days per year per teacher.  

If any teacher substitution is 16 consecutive days or longer, the 

school shall provide a new cosmetic art teacher.  

(q)  Enrolled students may earn a maximum of 10 hours per day 

per discipline of cosmetic art and a maximum of 48 hours per 

week per discipline.  A student enrolled in more than one 

cosmetic art discipline may not earn hours or complete 

performances concurrently. 

(r)  A cosmetic art student must complete at least 1/3 of the 

minimum required hours in the cosmetic art school certifying his 

or her application for the state board examination. 

(s)  Upon written petition by the student and the school, the 

Board shall make an exception to the requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (r) of this Rule if the student shows that 

circumstances beyond the student's control prohibited him or her 

from completing a minimum of 1/3 hours at the school certifying 

his or her application. 

(t)  The Board shall certify student hours for any North Carolina 

cosmetic art school that is closed.  The Board shall not certify 

student hours between any North Carolina open cosmetic art 

schools.  The Board shall certify student hours earned at North 

Carolina cosmetic art schools to other state boards and schools 

open outside of the state of North Carolina as set forth in Rule 

.0502 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16;  

Eff. February 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; June 1, 2013; October 1, 2012   

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2401 MEDICATION IN HEALTH 

DEPARTMENTS 

A registered nurse employed by a local health department may 

dispense prescription drugs or devices under the following 

conditions: 

(1) Drugs or devices may be dispensed only to 

health department patients, with the exception 

of opioid antagonists, which may be dispensed 

either to health department patients or to 

others as permitted by G.S. 90-106.2; 

(2) No drugs or devices may by dispensed except 

at health department clinics; 

(3) The health department shall secure the services 

of a pharmacist-manager who shall be 

responsible for compliance with all statutes, 

rules, and regulations governing the practice of 

pharmacy and dispensing of drugs at the health 

department; 

(4) Only the general categories of drugs or devices 

listed in Rule .2403 may be dispensed by a 

health department registered nurse; 

(5) All drugs or devices dispensed pursuant to 

G.S. 90-85.34A and these rules shall be 

packaged, labeled, and otherwise dispensed in 

compliance with state and federal law, and 

records of dispensing shall be kept in 

compliance with state and federal law.  The 

pharmacist-manager shall verify the accuracy 

of the records at least weekly, and where 

health department personnel dispense to 30 or 

more patients in a 24-hour period per 

dispensing site, the pharmacist-manager shall 

verify the accuracy of the records within 24 

hours after dispensing occurs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.34A; 90-106.2; 

Eff. March 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 1989. 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2403 DRUGS AND DEVICES TO BE 

DISPENSED 

(a)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 90-85.34A(a)(3), 

prescription drugs and devices included in the following general 

categories may be dispensed by registered nurses in local health 

department clinics when prescribed for the indicated conditions: 

(1) Anti-tuberculosis drugs, as recommended by 

the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services in the North Carolina 

Tuberculosis Policy Manual (available at 

www.ncdhhs.gov), when used for the 

treatment and control of tuberculosis; 

(2) Anti-infective agents used in the control of 

sexually-transmitted diseases as recommended 

by the United States Centers for Disease 

Control in the Sexually Transmitted Diseases 

Treatment Guidelines (available at 

www.cdc.gov); 

(3) Natural or synthetic hormones and 

contraceptive devices when used for the 

prevention of pregnancy; 

(4) Topical preparations for the treatment of lice, 

scabies, impetigo, diaper rash, vaginitis, and 

related skin conditions; 

(5) Vitamin and mineral supplements; and 

(6) Opioid antagonists prescribed pursuant to G.S. 

90-106.2. 
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(b)  Regardless of the provisions set out in this Rule, no drug 

defined as a controlled substance by the United States Controlled 

Substances Act, 21 U.S. Code 801 through 904, or regulations 

enacted pursuant to that Act, 21 CFR 1300 through 1308, or by 

the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act, G.S. 90-86 

through 90-113.8, may be dispensed by registered nurses 

pursuant to G.S. 90-85.34A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.34A; 90-106.2; 

Eff. March 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 1989. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 56 – BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR 

ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0501 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education.  The education of an applicant shall be 

considered in determining eligibility for licensing as a 

Professional Engineer.  The terms used by the Board for the 

specific educational requirements to be eligible to be licensed as 

a Professional Engineer are defined as follows: 

(1) "Engineering curriculum of four or more years 

approved by the Board" is defined as a 

program that has been accredited by the 

Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) 

of the Accreditation Board for Engineering 

and Technology (ABET).  This program is 

incorporated by reference including 

subsequent amendments and editions.  This 

material is available at 

www.abet.org/accreditation-criteria-policies-

documents/ or for inspection at the office of 

the North Carolina Board of Examiners for 

Engineers and Surveyors.  Copies may be 

obtained at the Board office at a cost of five 

dollars ($5.00) per copy. 

(2) "Engineering or related science curriculum of 

four or more years other than ones approved 

by the Board" is defined as a curriculum, 

although not accredited by ABET, of technical 

courses which contains engineering or 

scientific principles. 

(3) "Equivalent education satisfactory to the 

board" is defined as: 

(A) A graduate degree in Engineering 

from an institution in which the same 

discipline undergraduate engineering 

program has been accredited by 

ABET (EAC) shall be considered 

equivalent to an engineering 

curriculum of four or more years 

approved by the Board. 

(B) A bachelor's degree in Engineering 

Technology, whether or not 

accredited by the Technology 

Accreditation Commission (TAC) of 

ABET, shall be considered equivalent 

to an engineering or related science 

curriculum of four or more years 

other than one approved by the 

Board. 

(C) Until June 30, 2016, an associate 

degree in an engineering related 

curriculum with an additional two 

years of progressive engineering 

experience shall be considered 

equivalent to an engineering or 

related science curriculum of four or 

more years other than one approved 

by the Board and may be used until 

that date as a basis for admission to 

the principles and practice of 

engineering examination.  Once 

admitted to the examination, an 

applicant may continue to re-take the 

examination until required to submit 

a new application as set out in Rule 

.0503 of this Section.  After June 30, 

2016 an associate degree shall no 

longer be used as a basis for 

admission to that examination, unless 

the individual has passed the 

fundamentals of engineering 

examination prior to June 30, 2016, in 

which case the individual may 

continue the process to take the 

principles and practices exam based 

upon the associate degree and it will 

not be necessary to qualify for 

admission to the principles and 

practice of engineering examination 

prior to June 30, 2016. 

(D) Foreign degrees are considered 

equivalent only after receipt of an 

evaluation report that the degree is 

substantially equivalent to an 

EAC/ABET accredited engineering 

curriculum from the Center for 

Professional Engineering Education 

Services, an affiliate of the National 

Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), 

or from the American Association of 

Collegiate Registrars and Admissions 

Officers (AACRAO).  The Board 

shall equate the degree to an 

EAC/ABET accredited engineering 

curriculum of four or more years 

approved by the Board in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule if it 

receives a substantially equivalent 

evaluation. 

(b)  Experience.  The experience of an applicant shall be 

considered in determining whether an applicant is eligible to be 

licensed as a Professional Engineer.  
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(1) Required Experience.  In evaluating the work 

experience required, the Board shall consider 

the total experience record and the progressive 

nature of the record.  Not less than half of 

required engineering experience shall be of a 

professional grade and character, and shall be 

performed under the responsible charge of a 

licensed Professional Engineer, or if not, a 

written explanation shall be submitted 

showing why the experience should be 

considered acceptable and the Board shall 

approve if satisfied of the grade and character 

of the progressive experience.  Experience 

gained under the technical supervision of an 

unlicensed individual shall be considered if the 

appropriate credentials of the unlicensed 

supervisor are submitted to the Board.  

Experience gained in the armed services, 

usually while serving in an engineering or 

engineering related group, shall be considered 

if of a character equivalent to that which 

would have been gained in the civilian sector 

doing similar work. 

(2) Definition.  The terms "progressive nature of 

the record," "progressive engineering 

experience" or "progressive experience on 

engineering projects" mean that during the 

period of time that an applicant has made a 

practical utilization of acquired knowledge, 

continuous improvement, growth and 

development have been shown in the 

utilization of that knowledge as revealed in the 

complexity and technical detail of the work 

product or work record.  The applicant shall 

show continuous assumption of greater 

individual responsibility for the work product 

over that period of time.  The progressive 

experience on engineering projects shall be of 

a grade and a character that indicates to the 

Board that the applicant is competent to 

practice engineering. 

(3) Specific Credit for Experience.  In evaluating 

progressive engineering experience, the Board 

shall give credit for experience in the 

following areas of work: 

(A) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of a master's degree from an 

institution that offers EAC/ABET-

accredited programs – one year; 

(B) Graduate schooling or research in an 

engineering program resulting in 

award of an earned doctoral degree in 

engineering from an institution that 

offers EAC/ABET-accredited 

programs – two years, with or 

without a master's degree, but 

includes the one year for the master's 

degree, if obtained;  

(C) Progressive land surveying - 

maximum two years; and 

(D) Teaching of engineering subjects at 

the university level in an engineering 

program offering a four year or more 

degree approved by the Board. 

The Board shall not accept combinations of the 

categories in this Subparagraph as fulfilling all the 

necessary statutory experience requirements.  Every 

applicant for licensure as a Professional Engineer, as 

part of the total experience requirement, shall show a 

minimum of one year experience of a progressive 

engineering nature in industry, government, or under a 

licensed Professional Engineer offering service to the 

public. 

Full-time engineering faculty members who teach in an 

engineering program offering a four year or more 

degree approved by the Board, may request and shall be 

granted waiver of the minimum one year experience in 

industry, government, or private practice if they 

demonstrate consulting or research work of at least one 

year's duration, which was pursued to fruition, and 

which is of a progressive engineering nature.  The 

faculty applicant shall document the work and 

demonstrate that the work meets the Board's 

requirement. 

(5) Other experience is considered if it is: 

(A) Experience obtained prior to 

graduation as part of an ABET 

accredited engineering program 

shown on the transcript, with a 

maximum credit of one year; or  

(B) Experience obtained in a foreign 

country that is performed under direct 

supervision of a Professional 

Engineer licensed with a member 

Board of the National Council of 

Examiners for Engineering and 

Surveying (NCEES). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; November 2, 

1992; April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .0502 APPLICATION PROCEDURE:  

INDIVIDUAL 

(a)  General.  A person desiring to become licensed as a 

Professional Engineer must make application to the Board on a 

form prescribed and furnished by the Board. 

(b)  Request.  A request for an appropriate application form may 

be made to the Board office or obtained from the website. 

(c)  Applicable Forms: 

(1) Engineer Intern Certification Form.  After 

passing the fundamentals of engineering 

examination an applicant may make 

application to the Board to become certified as 
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an "Engineer Intern."  This form requires the 

applicant to set forth personal history, 

educational background, engineering 

experience, and character references. A 

passport-type photographic quality portrait that 

is adequate for current identification purposes 

is also required.  

(2) Professional Engineer Form: 

(A) All persons, including comity 

applicants and certified Engineer 

Interns, shall apply for licensure 

using the Professional Engineer form.  

The submission of this form shall 

signify that the applicant seeks 

licensure, and shall result in seating 

for the principles and practice of 

engineering examination, when the 

applicant has met the requirements as 

set out in Rule .0501 of this Section.  

This form requires the applicant to set 

forth personal and educational 

background, engineering experience 

and character references.  A passport-

type photographic quality portrait that 

is adequate for current identification 

purposes is required.  

(B) Persons who previously completed 

the fundamentals examination by use 

of the Engineering Intern 

Certification Form shall submit the 

Professional Engineer Certification 

Form to request licensure when 

qualified to take the examination. 

(3) Supplemental Form.  Persons who initially 

applied for the fundamentals of engineering 

exam using the Professional Engineer form 

shall supplement the initial application with 

this form upon applying for the principles and 

practice examination.  The supplemental form 

requires that engineering experience from the 

date of the initial application until the date of 

the supplemental application be listed.  Five 

references shall be submitted that are current 

to within one year of the examination date. 

(4) Reference Forms: 

(A) Persons applying for certification as 

an Engineer Intern shall submit to the 

Board names of three individuals who 

are familiar with the applicant's work, 

character and reputation, one of 

whom is a professional engineer.  

Persons applying to take the 

examination for principles and 

practice of engineering shall submit 

to the Board names of five 

individuals who are familiar with the 

applicant's work, character and 

reputation.  Three of these individuals 

shall be Professional Engineers. 

(B) In addition to the applicant 

submitting names to the Board of 

individuals familiar with the 

applicant's work, character and 

reputation, those individuals listed 

shall submit to the Board their 

evaluations of the applicant on forms 

supplied to them by the applicant. 

(C) The reference form requires the 

individual evaluating the applicant to 

state the evaluating individual's 

profession, knowledge of the 

applicant and information concerning 

the applicant's engineering 

experience, character and reputation. 

(D) The Board shall provide the reference 

forms to the applicant with the 

application.  The reference forms 

shall then be distributed by the 

applicant to the persons listed on the 

application as references. The 

applicant shall ensure that the 

individuals listed as references return 

the reference forms to the Board prior 

to the filing deadline for the 

examination. 

(d)  Fees: 

(1) Engineer Intern Certification Form.  Once the 

applicant passes the examination on the 

fundamentals of engineering and makes 

application to the Board to become certified as 

an "Engineer Intern" the application fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) is payable. 

(2) Professional Engineer Form.  The application 

fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) is 

payable with the filing of the application. 

(3) Comity.  The licensure fee of one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) is payable with the filing of 

the application.  

(4) Examination.  The examination fee for any 

applicant is payable to the National Council of 

Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 

(NCEES) at the time of registering to take the 

exam in accordance with G.S. 89C-14. 

(e)  The Board shall accept the records maintained by the 

National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 

(NCEES) as evidence of licensure in another state.  For comity 

licensure, the NCEES record shall be accepted in lieu of 

completing the experience, education and references sections of 

the application.  A comity application, with or without a NCEES 

record, shall be administratively approved by the Executive 

Director based upon evidence of current licensure in another 

jurisdiction based on comparable qualifications, required 

references and no record of disciplinary action, without waiting 

for the next regular meeting of the Board at which time the 

action shall be reported to the Board for final approval. 

(f)  Model Law Engineer.  The term "Model Law Engineer" 

refers to a person who meets the requirements of this Section by 

meeting the requirements of NCEES and has a current NCEES 
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record on file and is designated as a "Model Law Engineer."  A 

"Model Law Engineer" application shall be administratively 

approved by the Executive Director based upon the designation, 

without waiting for the next regular meeting of the Board at 

which time the action shall be reported to the Board for final 

approval. 

(g)  Personal interview.  During the application process, the 

applicant may be interviewed by the Board members if the 

members have questions regarding the applicant's education, 

experience or character, based upon the information submitted in 

the application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-14; 89C-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1994; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; 

December 1, 1984; 

RRC Objection due to lack of Statutory Authority Eff. November 

17, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1995.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .0503 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  Fundamentals of Engineering.  This examination is designed 

to test the applicant's proficiency and knowledge of the 

fundamentals of engineering.  

(b)  Principles and Practice of Engineering.  This examination is 

designed to test the applicant's proficiency and knowledge of 

engineering principles and practices.  

(c)  Examination Aids.  Examinees may utilize examination aids 

as specified by the exam preparer. 

(d)  Preparation of Examination.  The examinations in the 

fundamentals of engineering and in the principles and practice of 

engineering are national examinations provided by the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), 

of which the Board is a member. 

(e)  Examination Sequence.  Before the applicant shall be 

permitted to be examined on the principles and practice of 

engineering, the applicant shall pass the examination on the 

fundamentals of engineering, unless the applicant can evidence 

20 years of progressive engineering experience, or as a full-time 

engineering faculty member, or possesses an earned doctoral 

degree in engineering to be exempt from taking the 

fundamentals of engineering exam. NCEES administers the 

fundamentals of engineering examination as a computer-based 

exam.  Application shall be made directly to NCEES to take the 

exam. 

(f)  Examination Filing Deadline.  The applicant who wishes to 

take the principles and practice of engineering examination shall 

deliver the completed application, including all necessary 

references, transcripts, and verifications, to the Board office 

prior to August 1 for Fall examinations and January 2 for Spring 

examinations. 

(g)  Seating Notice.  After approval of an application the 

applicant shall be sent a seating notice.  This notice shall inform 

the applicant of the date, time and location of the examination 

and the seat number assigned. 

(h)  Unexcused Absences.  After a seating notice has been issued 

for a scheduled examination by the Board, if the applicant fails 

to appear, that applicant's record shall reflect "unexcused 

absence," unless the absence was for jury duty or the applicant 

was not physically able to be present, as indicated by a doctor's 

certificate.  The examination fee shall be forfeited. 

(i)  Re-Examination.  A person who failed an examination may 

apply to take the examination again at the next regularly 

scheduled examination period by making written request and 

submitting the required exam fee.  A person having a combined 

record of three failures or unexcused absences shall be eligible 

only after submitting a new application with appropriate 

application fee, and shall be considered by the Board for 

reexamination at the end of 12 months.  After the end of the 12-

month period, the applicant may take the examination no more 

than once every calendar year.  The applicant shall demonstrate 

to the Board that actions, such as additional courses of study, 

have been taken to improve the applicant's chances for passing 

the exam. 

(j)  Reasonable Accommodation.  An applicant may make a 

written request, before the application deadline, for reasonable 

accommodation for the exam.  Reasonable accommodation shall 

be granted based upon meeting the Guidelines for Requesting 

Religious and ADA Accommodations published by the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), 

which are hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions.  Copies are available at no 

cost at www.ncees.org. 

(k)  Exam Results.  Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail.  No results will be given in any other manner. 

(l)  Review of Failed Exams.  An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on an exam shall receive an exam analysis by 

NCEES. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-14; 89C-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; September 1, 2009; May 1, 2009; 

April 1, 2001; August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1982. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0601 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSING 

(a)  Education.  The terms used by the Board for the specific 

education requirements to be eligible to be licensed as a 

Professional Land Surveyor are defined as follows: 

(1) "B.S. in surveying or other equivalent 

curriculum." These degrees shall contain a 

minimum of 45 semester hours, or their 

quarter-hour equivalents, of subjects directly 

related to the practice of surveying.  Of the 45 

semester hours, a minimum of 12 semester 

hours of surveying fundamentals, 12 semester 

hours of applied surveying practice and 12 

semester hours of advanced or theoretical 

surveying courses are required.  The remainder 

of the required surveying courses may be 
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elective-type courses directly related to 

surveying; and 

(2) "Associate degree in surveying technology."  

This degree shall contain a minimum of 20 

semester hours, or quarter-hour equivalents, of 

subjects directly related to the practice of 

surveying.  Courses in surveying practices, 

subdivision design and planning, surface 

drainage and photogrammetry must be 

completed with a passing grade. 

(b)  Experience: 

(1) Definition.  As used in the North Carolina 

Engineering and Land Surveying Act, the term 

"progressive practical surveying experience" 

means that during the period of time in which 

an applicant has made a practical utilization of 

the knowledge of the principles of geometry 

and trigonometry in determining the shape, 

boundaries, position and extent of the earth's 

surface, continuous improvement, growth and 

development in the utilization of that 

knowledge have been shown.  In addition, the 

applicant shall show the continuous 

assumption of greater individual responsibility 

for the work product over that period of time. 

(2) Experience Accepted.  In evaluating the work 

experience required, the Board shall consider 

the total experience record and the progressive 

nature of the record.  Half or more of the 

required land surveying experience shall be of 

a professional grade and character, performed 

under the responsible charge of a Professional 

Land Surveyor. If the work was not under the 

responsible charge of a Professional Land 

Surveyor, the applicant shall submit a written 

explanation to the Board explaining why the 

experience should be considered acceptable 

and the Board shall approve if satisfied of the 

grade and character of the progressive 

experience. 

(3) Other Experience.  Work done in the following 

areas requires evidence to the Board of its 

equivalency to land surveying: 

(A) construction layout; 

(B) engineering surveying; or 

(C) part-time surveying work.  

(c)  Exhibits, Drawings, Plats: 

(1) Required Exhibit Before Principles and 

Practice of Surveying Examination: 

(A) General.  The applicant shall submit, 

along with the application, an actual 

plat of a boundary survey of an actual 

project prepared by, or under the 

direct supervision of, the applicant 

that shows that applicant is 

knowledgeable of the contents of the 

Standards of Practice for Land 

Surveying in North Carolina as set 

forth in Section .1600 of this Chapter, 

and is able to apply this knowledge 

by preparing a plat in accordance 

with the various legal and 

professional requirements of land 

surveying. 

(B) Physical Requirement.  The map 

submitted shall be a clean, clear, 

legible print of an original map in the 

file of a Professional Land Surveyor. 

(2) Specific Requirements.  The specific details 

that shall be evaluated are those applicable to 

the particular project as described in the 

Standards of Practice for Land Surveying in 

North Carolina as set forth in Section .1600 of 

this Chapter, and as described in G.S. 47-30.  

In addition, the exhibit shall contain a 

statement that the field work, calculation and 

mapping were performed by the applicant 

under the supervision of a Professional Land 

Surveyor, attested to by that Professional Land 

Surveyor. 

(3) Requirements for Comity Applicant.  The map 

submitted by an applicant under comity may 

be a sample plat of a project or work 

performed in the state of licensure.  It shall be 

evaluated in accordance with legal 

requirements of North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 47-30; 89C-10; 89C-13; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; December 1, 

1984; January 1, 1982. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0602 APPLICATION PROCEDURE:  

INDIVIDUAL 

(a)  General.  A person desiring to become a Professional Land 

Surveyor must make application to the Board on a form 

prescribed and furnished by the Board. 

(b)  Request.  A request for the application form may be made to 

the Board office or obtained from the website. 

(c)  Application Forms:   

(1) Surveyor Intern Certification Form.  After 

passing the fundamentals of surveying 

examination an applicant may make 

application to the Board to become certified as 

a "Land Surveyor Intern."  This form requires 

the applicant to set forth personal history, 

educational background, surveying experience, 

character references and exhibit.  A passport-

type photographic quality portrait that is 

adequate for current identification purposes is 

also required. 

(2) Professional Land Surveyor Form: 

(A) All persons, including comity 

applicants and certified Land 

Surveyor Interns, shall apply for 

licensure using the Professional Land 
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Surveyor form.  The submission of 

this form shall signify that the 

applicant seeks licensure, and shall 

result in seating for the principles and 

practice of surveying examination, 

when the applicant has met the 

requirements as set out in Rule .0601 

of this Section. This form requires the 

applicant to set forth personal and 

educational background, surveying 

experience, character references and 

exhibit.  A passport-type 

photographic quality portrait that is 

adequate for current identification 

purposes is also required. 

(B) Persons who have previously 

completed the fundamentals 

examination by use of the Land 

Surveying Intern Application Form 

shall submit the Professional Land 

Surveyor Application Form to request 

licensure when qualified to take the 

examination. 

(d)  Supplemental Form.  Persons who applied for licensure as a 

land surveyor, but were not eligible to be admitted to the 

examination for principles and practice of surveying shall 

supplement their initial applications upon applying for the 

examination.  The applicant shall supplement the initial 

application by using the supplemental form, which requires the 

listing of land surveying experience from the date of the initial 

application to the date of the supplemental application.  Five 

references shall be submitted that are current to within one year 

of the examination date. 

(e)  Reference Forms: 

(1) Persons applying to be certified as a Surveyor 

Intern or to take the examination for principles 

and practice shall submit to the Board names 

of individuals who are familiar with the 

applicant's work, character and reputation.  

The names shall be submitted by the applicant 

on the application form. 

(2) Persons applying for certification as a 

Surveyor Intern must submit three references, 

one of whom shall be a Professional Land 

Surveyor.  Persons applying for the principles 

and practice examination shall submit five 

references, three of whom shall be 

Professional Land Surveyors. 

(3) In addition to the applicant submitting names 

to the Board of such individuals, those 

individuals shall submit to the Board their 

evaluations of the applicant on reference forms 

supplied them by the applicant. 

(4) The reference form requires the individual 

evaluating the applicant to state the evaluating 

individual's profession, knowledge of the 

applicant and information concerning the 

applicant's land surveying experience, 

character and reputation. 

(5) The Board shall provide the reference forms to 

the applicant along with the application for 

licensure.  The reference forms shall then be 

distributed by the applicant to the persons 

listed on the application as references. The 

applicant shall ensure that the individuals 

listed as references return the forms to the 

Board prior to the filing deadline for the 

examination applied for by the applicant. 

(f)  Fees: 

(1) Land Surveyor Intern Certification Form.  

Once the applicant passes the examination on 

the fundamentals of surveying and makes 

application to the Board to become certified as 

a "Land Surveyor  Intern" the application fee 

of one hundred dollars ($100.00) is payable.  

(2) Professional Land Surveyor Form.  The 

application fee of one hundred dollars 

($100.00) and examination fee for those 

applying for licensure based upon 

examination, experience, character and exhibit 

are payable with the filing of the application. 

(3) Comity.  The licensure fee of one hundred 

dollars ($100.00) and appropriate examination 

fee for those applying for licensure based upon 

comity are payable with the filing of the 

application. 

(4) Examination.  The examination fee for any 

applicant shall be payable to the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and 

Surveying (NCEES) at the time of registering 

to take the exam in accordance with G.S. 89C-

14. 

(g)  The Board shall accept the records maintained by the 

National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying 

(NCEES) as evidence of licensure, in another state.  For comity 

licensure the NCEES record shall be accepted in lieu of 

completing the experience, education and references sections of 

the application.  A comity application, with or without a NCEES 

record, shall be administratively approved by the Executive 

Director based upon evidence of current licensure in another 

jurisdiction based on comparable qualifications, required 

references, and having passed the two-hour North Carolina 

portion of the exam and no record of disciplinary action, without 

waiting for the next regular meeting of the Board.  At that time 

the action shall be reported to the Board for final approval. 

(h)  Personal Interview.  During the application process, the 

applicant may be interviewed by Board members if the members 

have questions regarding the applicant's education, experience or 

character, based upon the information submitted in the 

application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-13; 89C-14; 89C-

15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; May 1, 1994; April 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1982.  
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21 NCAC 56 .0603 EXAMINATIONS 

(a)  Fundamentals of Surveying.  This examination is designed 

to test the applicant's proficiency and knowledge of the 

fundamentals of surveying.  Reference to Fundamentals of 

Surveying is the revised name of the national exam that is the 

Fundamentals of Land Surveying in G.S. 89C. 

(b)  Principles and Practice of Surveying.  This examination is 

designed to test the applicant's proficiency and knowledge of 

land surveying practices and procedures generally and 

specifically within North Carolina. 

(c)  Examination Aids.  Examinees may utilize examination aids 

as specified by the national exam preparer. 

(d)  Preparation of Examination.  The examination in the 

fundamentals of surveying and of the examination in the 

principles and practice of surveying are national examinations 

provided by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering 

and Surveying (NCEES), of which the Board is a member, or 

other examinations as adopted by the Board. The North Carolina 

portion of the principles and practice of surveying examination 

shall be provided by the Board. NCEES administers the 

fundamentals of surveying examination as a computer-based 

exam.  Application is made directly to NCEES to take the exam. 

(e)  Examination Filing Deadline.  The applicant who wishes to 

take the principles and practice of surveying examination shall 

deliver the completed application, including all necessary 

references, transcripts, and verifications, to the Board office 

prior to August 1 for Fall examinations and January 2 for Spring 

examinations. 

(f)  Seating Notice.  After approval of an application, the 

applicant shall be sent a seating notice by NCEES. This notice 

shall inform the applicant of the date, time and location of the 

examination and the seat number assigned. 

(g)  Unexcused Absences.  After a seating notice for a scheduled 

examination has been issued, if applicant fails to appear, the 

applicant's record shall reflect "unexcused absence," unless the 

absence was for jury duty or the applicant was not physically 

able to be present, as indicated by a doctor's certificate.  The 

examination fee shall be forfeited. 

(h)  Re-Examination.  A person who failed an examination may 

apply to take the examination again at the next regularly 

scheduled examination period by making written request and 

submitting the required exam fee.  A person having a combined 

record of three failures or unexcused absences shall be eligible 

only after submitting a new application with appropriate 

application fee, and shall be considered by the Board for re-

examination at the end of 12 months.  After the end of the 12-

month period, the applicant may take the examination no more 

than once every calendar year.  The applicant shall demonstrate 

to the Board that actions, such as additional courses of study, 

have been taken to improve the applicant's chances for passing 

the exam. 

(i)  Reasonable Accommodation.  An applicant may make a 

written request, before the application deadline, for reasonable 

accommodation for the exam.  Reasonable accommodation shall 

be granted based upon meeting the Guidelines for Requesting 

Religious and ADA Accommodations published by the National 

Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). 

(j)  Exam Results.  Exam results shall be supplied in writing as 

pass or fail.  No results shall be given in any other manner. 

(k)  Review of Failed Exams.  An applicant who fails to make a 

passing score on an exam shall receive an exam analysis.  An 

applicant who fails to make a passing score on the two-hour 

North Carolina portion of the exam may request in writing 

within thirty days of receiving the result to have an opportunity 

to review that portion of the exam.  The review shall be done in 

the Board Office under supervision of staff and is limited to one 

hour. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; April 1, 2001; 

August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; April 1, 1989; January 1, 

1982.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .0802 PROCEDURE 

(a)  Professional Corporations and Limited Liability Companies: 

(1) Request.  A request for an application for 

licensure as a professional corporation or 

professional limited liability company engaged 

in the practice of engineering or land 

surveying may be made at the Board office at 

4601 Six Forks Road, Suite 310, Raleigh, NC 

27609 or obtained from the website at 

www.ncbels.org. 

(2) Applicable Form.  All professional 

corporations and professional limited liability 

companies complying with the statutory 

requirements of G.S. 89C, G.S. 55B and G.S. 

57D that desire to practice engineering or land 

surveying shall apply by using a form prepared 

by the Board.  This form shall require the 

applicant, by and through an officer, director 

and shareholder of the professional 

corporation or limited liability company who 

is licensed with the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors in a 

profession of the services to be offered, to 

certify that it and the stockholders of the 

corporation or members of the limited liability 

company have complied with the provisions of 

the applicable provisions of the General 

Statutes.  The form shall also require that the 

officers, directors, shareholders, members and 

professional employees be listed on that 

application. 

(3) Certificate of Licensure: 

(A) Upon receiving the application with 

application fee of one hundred dollars 

($100.00), the Board, after 

determining that the firm has 

complied with the statutory 

requirements, shall issue a certificate 

of compliance. 

(B) The firm shall forward the certificate 

of compliance to the Secretary of 

State along with its articles of 
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incorporation or articles of 

organization. 

(C) Upon approval by the Secretary of 

State, the firm shall forward to the 

Board a certified copy of its articles 

of incorporation or articles of 

organization. 

(D) Upon receipt of the certified copy of 

the articles of the firm, if all statutory 

requirements have been met, the 

Board shall approve the application 

and issue the firm a certificate of 

licensure. 

(b)  Business Firms and Chapter 87 Corporations: 

(1) Request.  A request for an application for 

licensure as a business firm or Chapter 87 

corporation, as defined in G.S. 55B-15(a)(2), 

engaged in the practice of engineering or land 

surveying may be made at the Board office or 

obtained from the website.  A sole 

proprietorship owned and operated by the 

individual licensee in the licensee's name as 

reflected in the Board's records is exempt from 

firm licensure. 

(2) Applicable Form.  All business firms or 

Chapter 87 corporations that desire to practice 

engineering or land surveying shall apply by 

using a form prepared by the Board.  The form 

shall require the applicant, through a principal 

officer, partner or owner, to certify that the 

business firm will be operated in compliance 

with the laws of the State of North Carolina 

and the rules of the North Carolina Board of 

Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors. 

(3) Certificate of Licensure.  Upon receiving the 

application with application fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100.00), the Board, after 

determining that the firm has complied with 

the statutory requirements, shall issue a 

certificate of licensure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-4; 55B-10; 55B-15; 57D-

2-02; 89C-10; 89C-24; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2000; February 1, 1996; May 1, 1994; April 1, 1989; 

January 1, 1982. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .0901 OFFICES 

(a)  Professional Engineering Services.  Every firm, partnership, 

corporation or limited liability company that performs or offers 

to perform engineering services in the State of North Carolina 

shall have a resident Professional Engineer in responsible charge 

in each separate office located in North Carolina where 

professional engineering services are performed or offered to be 

performed.  Out-of-state office locations where engineering 

services are performed or offered to be performed for North 

Carolina projects shall have Professional Engineers in 

responsible charge of only the specific projects in compliance 

with Rule .0701(c)(3) of this Chapter. 

(b)  Land Surveying Services.  Every firm, partnership, 

corporation or limited liability company that performs or offers 

to perform land surveying services in the State of North Carolina 

shall have a resident Professional Land Surveyor in responsible 

charge in each separate office located in North Carolina where 

land surveying services are performed or offered to be 

performed.  Out-of-state office locations where surveying 

services are performed or offered to be performed for North 

Carolina projects are only required to have Professional Land 

Surveyors in responsible charge of the specific projects in 

compliance with Rule .0701(c)(3) of this Chapter. 

(c)  Resident.  The terms "resident Professional Engineer" or 

"resident Professional Land Surveyor" as used in this Rule, 

means a licensee who spends a majority of the licensee's normal 

working time in that office.  Such time shall not be less than a 

majority of the operating hours of the business.  A Professional 

Engineer or Professional Land Surveyor shall be the resident 

licensee at only one place of business at one time unless each 

business is at least one-third owned by the resident professional. 

This arrangement shall be specifically approved by the Board 

after a determination that the businesses are integrated in 

operation, ownership, office location and that the licensee will 

be in responsible charge of the professional services. 

(d)  No firm, partnership, corporation or limited liability 

company shall practice, offer to practice, or market either land 

surveying or engineering unless there is a licensed resident for 

that service in responsible charge at that office.  Advertisements, 

signs, letterheads, business cards, directories, or any other form 

of representation shall avoid any reference to any service that 

cannot be provided under the responsible charge of a properly 

qualified resident professional. The licensed entity shall give 

notice to the Board of a change of resident professional within 

30 days after the change and shall not practice, offer to practice, 

or market the professional service during any period of time 

without a resident professional. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 57D-2-02: 89C-10; 89C-24; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

August 1, 1998; May 1, 1994; January 1, 1992; April 1, 1989. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1402 OPPORTUNITY FOR LICENSEE 

OR APPLICANT TO HAVE HEARING 

Every licensee or applicant for a license shall be afforded notice 

and an opportunity to be heard on any action, where the effect 

would be: 

(1) to deny permission to take an examination for 

licensing for which application has been duly 

made; 

(2) to deny a license based on comity; 

(3) to deny a license after an applicant has taken 

and passed an examination; 

(4) to require re-examination for licensing; 

(5) to withhold the renewal of a license for any 

cause other than failure to pay a statutory 

renewal fee; 
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(6) to suspend a license; 

(7) to revoke a license; 

(8) to impose a civil penalty;  

(9) to issue a reprimand; 

(10) to refuse to renew; 

(11) to refuse to reinstate; or 

(12) to require additional education. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-21; 89C-22; 

150B-38; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; April 1, 1989; January 1, 1982. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1602 SURVEYING PROCEDURES 

(a)  A Professional Land Surveyor shall spend the necessary 

time and effort to make investigation to determine if there are 

encroachments, gaps, lappages, or other irregularities along each 

line surveyed.  Points may be placed on the line from closed or 

verified traverses and the necessary investigations made from 

these points.  If these investigations are not made, then the 

surveyor shall not certify to an actual survey of that line and the 

plat shall contain the appropriate qualifications in accordance 

with the rules in this Section. 

(b)  Any and all visible or determined encroachments or 

easements on the property being surveyed shall be accurately 

located and indicated. 

(c)  With respect to investigation of property boundaries and 

recorded easements, the surveyor shall examine the most recent 

deeds and recorded plats adjacent to the subject property as well 

as all deeds and plats recorded after the date of the deed or plat 

upon which the survey is being based (the survey reference deed 

or plat). 

(d)  Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of the Rule, metal 

stakes or materials of comparable permanence shall be placed at 

all corners. 

(e)  Where a corner falls in a right-of-way, tree, stream, or on a 

fence post, boulder, stone, or similar object, one or more 

monuments or metal stakes shall be placed in the boundary so 

that the inaccessible point may be located accurately on the 

ground and the map.   

(f)  The results of a survey shall be reported to the user of that 

survey as a map or report of survey and, whether in written or 

graphic form, shall be prepared in a clear and factual manner.  

All reference sources shall be identified.  Artificial monuments 

called for in such reports shall be described as found or set.  

When no monument is found or set for points described in 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule, that fact shall be noted. 

(g)  Tie lines defined. Where the results of a survey are reported 

in the form of a plat or a written description, one or more corners 

shall, by a system of azimuths or courses and distances, be 

accurately tied to and coordinated with a horizontal control 

monument of some United States or State Agency survey 

system, such as the North Carolina Geodetic Survey, where such 

monument is within 2000 feet of the subject property, right-of-

way, easement or other surveyed entity.  Where the North 

Carolina grid system coordinates of said monument are on file in 

the Department of Public Safety, Emergency Management, 

Geodetic Survey office, the coordinates of both the referenced 

corner or point and the monument(s) shall be shown in X 

(easting) and Y (northing) coordinates on the plat or in the 

written description or document.  The coordinates shall be 

identified as based on "NAD 83," indicating North American 

Datum of 1983 or as "NAD 27," indicating North American 

Datum of 1927. The datums of the National Geodetic Survey 

(NGS) are incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be accessed free of charge at 

www.ngs.noaa.gov.  The tie lines to the monuments shall be 

sufficient to establish true north or grid north bearings for the 

plat or description if the monuments exist in pairs.  Control 

monuments within a previously recorded subdivision may be 

used in lieu of grid control.  In the interest of bearing 

consistency with previously recorded plats, existing bearing 

control may be used where practical.  In the absence of grid 

control, other natural or artificial monuments or landmarks shall 

be used.  In all cases, the tie lines shall be sufficient to accurately 

reproduce the subject lands from the control or reference points 

used. 

(h)  Area is to be computed by double meridian distance or 

equally accurate method and shown on the face of the plat, 

written description, or other document.  Area computations by 

estimation, by planimeter, by scale, or by copying from another 

source are not acceptable methods, except in the case of tracts 

containing inaccessible areas and in these areas the method of 

computation shall be stated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012 (see S.L. 2012-

143, s.1.(f)); September 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .1603 CLASSIFICATION OF 

BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

General.  "Boundary surveys" are defined as surveys made to 

establish or to retrace a boundary line on the ground, or to obtain 

data for constructing a map, plat, or report showing a boundary 

line.  For the purpose of this Rule, the term refers to all surveys, 

including "loan" or "physical" surveys, that involve the 

determination or depiction of property lines.  For the purpose of 

specifying minimum allowable surveying standards for 

boundary surveys, the following four general classifications of 

lands in North Carolina are established from the standpoint of 

their real value, tax value, or location.  Each map shall contain a 

statement of the calculated ratio of precision before adjustments 

or a statement of positional accuracy. 

(1) Local Control Network Surveys (Class AA).  

Local control network surveys are traverse 

networks utilizing permanent points for the 

purpose of establishing local horizontal control 

networks for future use by local surveyors.  

For Class AA boundary surveys in North 

Carolina, the angular error of closure shall not 

exceed ten seconds times the square root of the 

number of angles turned.  The ratio of 

precision shall not exceed an error of closure 

of one foot per 20,000 feet of perimeter of the 

parcel of land (1:20,000).  When using 
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positional accuracy standards for Class AA 

control and boundary surveys, neither axis of 

the 95 percent confidence level error ellipse 

for any control point or property corner shall 

exceed 0.05 feet or 0.015 meters measured 

relative to the position(s) of the horizontal 

control points used and referenced on the 

survey. 

(2) Urban Land Surveys (Class A).  Urban surveys 

include lands that normally lie within a town 

or city. For Class A boundary surveys in North 

Carolina, the angular error of closure shall not 

exceed 20 seconds times the square root of the 

number of angles turned.  The ratio of 

precision shall not exceed an error of closure 

of one foot per 10,000 feet of perimeter of the 

parcel of land (1:10,000). When using 

positional accuracy standards for Class A 

control and boundary surveys, neither axis of 

the 95 percent confidence level error ellipse 

for any control point or property corner shall 

exceed 0.10 feet or 0.030 meters measured 

relative to the position(s) of the horizontal 

control points used and referenced on the 

survey. 

(3) Suburban Land Surveys (Class B).  Suburban 

surveys include lands in or surrounding the 

urban properties of a town or city.  For Class B 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 25 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned.  The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 

7,500 feet of perimeter of the parcel of land 

(1:7,500). When using positional accuracy 

standards for Class B control and boundary 

surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.12 feet 

or 0.037 meters measured relative to the 

position(s) of the horizontal control points 

used and referenced on the survey. 

(4) Rural and Farmland Surveys (Class C).  Rural 

and farmland surveys include lands located in 

rural areas of North Carolina and generally 

outside the suburban properties.  For Class C 

boundary surveys in North Carolina, the 

angular error of closure shall not exceed 30 

seconds times the square root of the number of 

angles turned.  The ratio of precision shall not 

exceed an error of closure of one foot per 

5,000 feet of perimeter of the parcel of land 

(1:5,000).  When using positional accuracy 

standards for Class C control and boundary 

surveys, neither axis of the 95 percent 

confidence level error ellipse for any control 

point or property corner shall exceed 0.15 feet 

or 0.046 meters measured relative to the 

position(s) of the horizontal control points 

used and referenced on the survey. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; November 2, 1992; January 1, 1992. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1604 MAPPING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR BOUNDARY SURVEYS 

(a)  The size of a map shall be such that all details are legible on 

a copy. 

(b)  Any lines that are not actually surveyed shall be indicated on 

the map and a statement included revealing the source of 

information from which the line is derived. 

(c)  All surveys based on the North Carolina grid system shall 

contain a statement identifying the coordinate system referenced 

datum used. 

(d)  All plats (maps), unless marked as "Preliminary Plat - Not 

for recordation, conveyances, or sales" shall be sealed, signed 

and dated by the Professional Land Surveyor and shall contain 

the following: 

(1) An accurately positioned north arrow 

coordinated with any bearings shown on the 

plat.  Indication shall be made as to whether 

the north index is true, magnetic, North 

Carolina grid ('NAD 83' and realization (date 

of adjustment of coordinate system) or 

'NAD27'), or is referenced to old deed or plat 

bearings.  If the north index is magnetic or 

referenced to old deed or plat bearings, the 

date and the source (if determined) shall be 

indicated. 

(2) The azimuth or courses and distances of every 

property line surveyed shall be shown.  

Distances shall be in feet or meters and 

decimals thereof.  The number of decimal 

places shall be appropriate to the class of 

survey required in Rule .1603 of this Section. 

(3) All plat lines shall be horizontal or grid 

measurements.  All lines shown on the plat 

shall be correctly plotted to the scale shown.  

Enlargements of portions of a plat are 

acceptable in the interest of clarity, where 

shown as inserts.  Where the North Carolina 

grid system is used, the combined grid factor 

shall be shown on the face of the plat.  If grid 

distances are used, they shall be shown on the 

plat. 

(4) Where a boundary is formed by a curved line, 

the following data must be given: actual 

survey data, or as a series of subchords with 

bearings and distances around the curve.  If 

standard curve data is used, the bearing and 

distance of the long chord (from point of 

curvature to point of tangency) must be shown 

on the face of the plat. 

(5) Where a subdivision of land is set out on the 

plat, all streets and lots shall be accurately 
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plotted with dimension lines indicating widths 

and all other information pertinent to retracing 

all lines in the field.  This shall include 

bearings and distances sufficient to form a 

continuous closure of the entire perimeter. 

(6) Where control corners have been established 

in compliance with G.S. 39-32.1, 39-32.2, 39-

32.3, and 39-32.4, as amended, the location 

and information as required in the referenced 

statute shall be shown on the plat.  All other 

corners that are marked by monument or 

natural object shall be so identified on all 

plats, and where practical, all corners of 

adjacent owners along the boundary lines of 

the subject tract that are marked by monument 

or natural object shall be shown. 

(7) The surveyor shall show one of the following 

where they could be determined: 

(A) The names of adjacent land owners;  

(B) The lot, block, parcel and subdivision 

designations; or 

(C) Other legal reference where 

applicable. 

(8) All visible and apparent rights-of-way, 

easements, watercourses, utilities, roadways, 

and other such improvements shall be 

accurately located where crossing or forming 

any boundary line of the property shown. 

(9) Tie lines as required and defined in Rule 

.1602(g) of this Section shall be accurately 

shown on the face of the plat, whether or not 

the plat is to be recorded. 

(10) A vicinity map (location map) shall appear on 

the face of the plat. 

(11) Each map shall contain: 

(A) the property designation; 

(B) the name of owner or prospective 

owner; 

(C) the location (including township, 

county, and state); 

(D) the date or dates the survey was 

conducted; 

(E) a scale of the drawing listed in words 

or figures; 

(F) a bargraph; 

(G) the title source; and 

(H) a legend depicting nomenclature or 

symbols not otherwise labeled. 

(12) Any map not certified for recording under G.S. 

47-30, and all reports of survey, shall contain 

this certificate signed by the Professional Land 

Surveyor in substantially the following form: 

"I certify that this map was drawn under my 

supervision from an actual survey made under 

my supervision (deed description recorded in 

Book ______, page ______ or other reference 

source ____________________); that the 

boundaries not surveyed are indicated as 

drawn from information in Book ______, page 

______ or other reference source 

____________________; that the ratio of 

precision or positional accuracy is 

___________________; and that this map 

meets the requirements of The Standards of 

Practice for Land Surveying in North Carolina 

(21 NCAC 56. 1600)." 

This ______ day of ______________, 2_____. 

Seal__________________________________ 

Professional Land Surveyor 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-16; 89C-20; 

Eff. July 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; November 2, 1992; January 

1, 1992. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1606 SPECIFICATIONS FOR 

TOPOGRAPHIC AND PLANIMETRIC MAPPING, 

INCLUDING GROUND, AIRBORNE, AND 

SPACEBORNE SURVEYS 

(a)  General. 

(1) "Topographic surveys" are defined as surveys 

that have as their major purpose the 

determination of the configuration (relief) of 

the earth (ground) and the location of natural 

or artificial objects thereon. 

(2) "Planimetric mapping" is defined as producing 

a map that presents the horizontal positions 

only for the features represented.  This is 

distinguished from a topographic map by the 

omission of relief in measurable form. 

(3) "Airborne and spaceborne surveys" are defined 

as the use of photogrammetry, LIDAR, 

IFSAR, or other similar measurement 

technologies for obtaining reliable information 

about physical objects and the environment, 

including terrain surface, through the process 

of recording, measuring, and interpreting 

images and patterns of electromagnetic radiant 

energy and other phenomena.  This Rule 

establishes minimum allowable 

photogrammetric production procedures and 

standards for photogrammetric mapping and 

digital data production. 

(b)  Production procedures for topographic and planimetric 

mapping surveys shall be in accordance with the standards 

established by Part 3 of the Federal Geographic Data Committee 

(FGDC) Geospatial Positioning Accuracy Standard and 

applicable extensions and revisions.  These standards are 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions.  The material is available from the FGDC at 

www.fgdc.gov at no cost.  Reporting accuracy shall be in 

accordance with Part 1 of the FGDC geospatial standards. 

(c)  Topographic or planimetric maps, orthophotos, and related 

electronic data, unless marked as "Preliminary Map," shall meet 

one of the below classes, as contractually specified to FGDC 

Standards, or National Agriculture Imagery Program of the US 

Department of Agriculture (NAIP) Standards, or to State 
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adopted base mapping standards for horizontal and vertical 

accuracies.  The NAIP imagery standards are incorporated by 

reference including subsequent amendments and editions and 

may be accessed free of charge at 

http://www.fsa.usda.gov/Internet/FSA_File/naip_info_sheet_201

3.pdf. In the absence of a specified standard, the surveyor shall 

conform the survey to the requirements for a Class B survey.  

(1) For horizontal accuracy, the five general 

classifications are: 

(A) Class AA surveys.  For Class AA 

surveys in North Carolina, the 

relative accuracy shall be equal to or 

no less than 0.033 meter (0.10 feet); 

(B) Class A surveys.  For Class A surveys 

in North Carolina, the relative 

accuracy shall be equal to or less than 

0.5 meter (1.64 feet); 

(C) Class B surveys.  For Class B surveys 

in North Carolina, the relative 

accuracy shall be equal to or less than 

1.0 meter (3.28 feet); 

(D) Class C surveys.  For Class C surveys 

in North Carolina, the relative 

accuracy shall be equal to or less than 

2 meters (6.56 feet); and 

(E) Class D surveys.  For Class D surveys 

in North Carolina, the relative 

accuracy shall be equal to or less than 

5 meters (16.40 feet). 

(2) For vertical accuracy, the three general 

classifications are: 

(A) Urban and suburban vertical control 

surveys (Class A).  Urban and 

suburban vertical control surveys 

include lands that lie within or adjoin 

a town or city.  For Class A vertical 

control surveys in North Carolina, the 

vertical error in feet shall not exceed 

0.10 times the square root of the 

number of miles run from the 

reference datum. 

(B) Other vertical control surveys (Class 

B).  Other vertical control surveys 

include all lands which are not 

covered by Class A as described in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph.  For 

Class B vertical control surveys in 

North Carolina, the vertical error in 

feet shall not exceed 0.20 times the 

square root of the number of miles 

run from the reference datum. 

(C) Trigonometric vertical control 

surveys (Class C).  Trigonometric 

vertical control surveys shall be used 

for vertical control for aerial and 

topographic mapping.  The vertical 

error in feet shall not exceed 0.3 

times the square root of the number 

of miles run from the reference 

datum. 

(d)  When the resulting product is a digital (electronic) data set, 

or a map or document that consists of more than one sheet or 

otherwise cannot be certified, a project report shall be certified.  

The report shall be marked "Preliminary" if applicable. 

(e)  Ground control for topographic and planimetric mapping 

projects shall be in North Carolina State Plane Coordinate 

System grid coordinates and distances when the project is tied to 

grid.  A minimum of one permanent project vertical control 

point shall be shown. 

(f)  The project map or report shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Date of original data acquisition; 

(2) Altitude of sensor and sensor focal length, as 

applicable; 

(3) Date of document or data set compilation; 

(4) If hard copy product is produced, the maps 

shall contain a north arrow, map legend, final 

document scale, including bargraph, and 

contour interval, as applicable; 

(5) Coordinate system for horizontal and vertical 

denoting SI or English units (i.e., NAD83, 

assumed, or other coordinate system); 

(6) A list or note showing the control points used 

for the project.  The minimum data shown for 

each point shall include: physical attributes 

(e.g. iron rod, railroad spike), latitude and 

longitude (or X and Y Grid coordinates), and 

elevation, as applicable; 

(7) If other data is included, the source and 

accuracy of those items shall be indicated; 

(8) For topographic maps or data sets, contours in 

areas obscured by man-made or natural 

features shall be uniquely identified or 

enclosed by a polygon identifying the 

obscured area.  The accuracies of the contours 

or of features in this obscured area shall be 

noted "No reliance is to be placed on the 

accuracy of these contours;" 

(9) A vicinity map depicting the project location 

on the first sheet of all hard copy maps or in 

the report accompanying digital files; and 

(10) The name of the client for whom the project 

was conducted. 

(g)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to negate or replace 

the relative accuracy standards found in Rules .1601 through 

.1608 of this Section. 

(h)  A certificate, substantially in the following form, shall be 

affixed to all maps or reports: 

" I, ______________________, certify that this project was 

completed under my direct and responsible charge from an 

actual  survey made under my supervision; that 

this_______________ (insert as appropriate: ground, airborne or 

spaceborne) survey was performed at the ___ percent confidence 

level  to meet Federal Geographic Data Committee Standards; 

that this survey was performed to meet the requirements for a 

topographic/planimetric survey to the accuracy of Class ____ 

and vertical accuracy when applicable to the Class ___ standard, 
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and that the original data was obtained on 

_____(date)__________; that the survey was completed on 

___(date)_______; that contours shown as [broken lines] may 

not meet the stated standard; and all coordinates are based 

on____________________________ 'NAD 83' and realization 

(date of adjustment of coordinate system) or 'NAD 27' and all 

elevations are based on ________________ (NGVD 29, NAVD 

88, or other)." 

(i)  Documents transmitted electronically shall have the 

computer-generated seal removed from the original file and a 

copy of the project report shall be certified and sent to the client.  

The electronic data shall have the following inserted in lieu of 

the signature and date: 

"This document originally issued and sealed by (name of sealer), 

(license number), on (date of sealing).  This electronic media 

shall not be considered a certified document.  See the project 

report for certificate and seal." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-16; 89C-20; 

Eff. November 2, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .1608 CLASSIFICATION/LAND 

INFORMATION SYSTEM/GEOGRAPHIC 

INFORMATION SYSTEM SURVEYS 

(a)  General:  "Land Information System/Geographic 

Information System (LIS/GIS)" surveys are defined as the 

measurement of existing surface and subsurface features for the 

purpose of determining their accurate geospatial location for 

inclusion in an LIS/GIS database.  All LIS/GIS surveys as they 

relate to property lines, rights-of-way, easements, subdivisions 

of land, the position for any survey monument or reference 

point, the determination of the configuration or contour of the 

earth's surface or the position of fixed objects thereon, and 

geodetic surveying that includes surveying for determination of 

the size and shape of the earth both horizontally and vertically 

and the precise positioning of points on the earth utilizing 

angular and linear measurements through spatially oriented 

spherical geometry, shall be performed by a Land Surveyor who 

is a licensee of this Board unless exempt by G.S. 89C-25.  For 

the purpose of specifying minimum allowable surveying 

standards, five general classifications of LIS/GIS surveys are 

established, any of which may be specified by the client.  In the 

absence of a specified standard, the surveyor shall conform the 

survey to the requirements for a Class B survey.   

(1) For horizontal accuracy, the five general 

classifications are: 

(A) Class AA LIS/GIS Surveys.  For 

Class AA LIS/GIS surveys in North 

Carolina, the relative accuracy shall 

be equal to or no less than 0.033 

meter (0.10 feet); 

(B) Class A LIS/GIS surveys.  For Class 

A LIS/GIS surveys in North Carolina, 

the relative accuracy shall be equal to 

or less than 0.5 meter (1.64 feet); 

(C) Class B LIS/GIS surveys.  For Class 

B LIS/GIS surveys in North Carolina, 

the relative accuracy shall be equal to 

or less than 1.0 meter (3.28 feet); 

(D) Class C LIS/GIS surveys.  For Class 

C LIS/GIS surveys in North Carolina, 

the relative accuracy shall be equal to 

or less than 2 meters (6.56 feet); and 

(E) Class D LIS/GIS surveys.  For Class 

D LIS/GIS surveys in North Carolina, 

the relative accuracy shall be equal to 

or less than 5 meters (16.40 feet). 

(2) For vertical accuracy, the three general 

classifications are: 

(A) Urban and suburban vertical control 

surveys (Class A).  Urban and 

suburban vertical control surveys 

include lands that lie within or adjoin 

a town or city.  For Class A vertical 

control surveys in North Carolina, the 

vertical error in feet shall not exceed 

0.10 times the square root of the 

number of miles run from the 

reference datum. 

(B) Other vertical control surveys (Class 

B).  Other vertical control surveys 

include all lands which are not 

covered by Class A as described in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph.  For 

Class B vertical control surveys in 

North Carolina, the vertical error in 

feet shall not exceed 0.20 times the 

square root of the number of miles 

run from the reference datum. 

(C) Trigonometric vertical control 

surveys (Class C).  Trigonometric 

vertical control surveys shall be used 

for vertical control for aerial and 

topographic mapping.  The vertical 

error in feet shall not exceed 0.3 

times the square root of the number 

of miles run from the reference 

datum.  The vertical error in Global 

Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) 

surveys shall not exceed five 

centimeters relative to the referenced 

benchmark(s) at the 95 percent 

confidence level (2 sigma) accuracy 

as defined in Federal Geographic 

Data Committee Standards.  

(b)  Nothing in this Rule negates or replaces the relative 

accuracy standards found in Rules .1601 through .1607 of this 

Section. 

(c)  The Professional Land Surveyor in responsible charge of the 

LIS/GIS boundary or geodetic control survey shall certify all of 

the following in either written or digital form: 

(1) Class of LIS/GIS survey.  The method of 

measurement used to evaluate the accuracy 

shall be described as either statistical testing or 

least squares adjustment results, comparison 

with values of higher accuracy, and repeat 
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measurements.  The reporting standard in the 

horizontal component is the radius of a circle 

of uncertainty, such that the true or theoretical 

location of the point falls within that circle 95 

percent of the time; 

(2) Method of measurement (i.e. global navigation 

satellite systems, electronic scanners, 

theodolite and electronic distance meter, 

transit and tape); 

(3) Date(s) of the survey; and 

(4) Datum used for the survey. 

(d)  A certificate, substantially in the following form, shall be 

affixed to all maps or reports: 

"I, ______________________, certify that this project was 

completed under my direct and responsible charge from an 

actual survey made under my supervision; that this survey was 

performed to meet the requirements for an LIS/GIS survey [21 

NCAC 56.1608] to the accuracy of Class ____ and vertical 

accuracy; when applicable  to the Class ___ standard  method 

used to evaluate the accuracy was _______________; method of 

measurement ______________; date(s) of survey ___________; 

datum used for survey __________; and all coordinates are 

based on ______________ ['NAD 83' and realization (date of 

adjustment of coordinate system) or 'NAD 27'] and all elevations 

are based on ________________  (NGVD 29, NAVD 88, or 

other)." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10; 89C-20; 

Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; July 1, 2009; 

May 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000.  

 

21 NCAC 56 .1703 REQUIREMENTS 

Every licensee shall obtain 15 PDH units during the renewal 

period.  If a licensee exceeds the annual requirement in any 

renewal period, a maximum of 15 PDH units may be carried 

forward into the subsequent renewal period.  Selection of 

courses and activities that meet the requirements of Rule 

.1702(4) of this Section is the responsibility of the licensee.  

Licensees may select courses other than those offered by 

sponsors.  Post evaluation of the courses may result in non-

acceptance by the Board.  PDH units may be earned as follows: 

(1) Completion of college courses; 

(2) Completion of continuing education courses, 

seminars, or workshops; 

(3) Completion of correspondence, televised, 

Internet, videotaped, audiotaped, and other 

courses or tutorials, provided an exam is 

required for completion.  No exam is required 

for attendance at a webinar presentation if 

attendance is documented; 

(4) Presenting or attending seminars, in-house 

courses, workshops, or professional or 

technical presentations made at meetings, 

conventions or conferences; 

(5) Teaching or instructing in Items (1) through 

(4) of this Rule; 

(6) Authoring published papers, articles, or books; 

(7) Active participation in professional or 

technical societies as defined in Rule .1705(f) 

of this Section; 

(8) Patents; 

(9) Authoring exam questions accepted for use in 

the engineering or land surveying exams; or 

(10) Active participation on boards, commissions, 

committees or councils of private, local, state 

or federal government entities as defined in 

Rule .1705(g) of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17; 

Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1704 UNITS 

The conversion of units of credit set forth in Rule .1703 of this 

Section to PDH units is as follows: 

(1) 1 College or unit semester hour.     45 PDH 

(2) 1 College or unit quarter hour.     30 PDH 

(3) 1 Continuing Education Unit.     10 PDH 

(4) 1 Contact hour of professional development in 

course work, seminars, or professional or 

technical presentations made at meetings, 

conventions or conferences, and for 

correspondence, televised, Internet, 

videotaped, audiotaped, and other courses or 

tutorials.  Contact hours equal the actual time 

of instruction and shall be credited to the 

nearest one-third of an hour.     1 PDH 

(5) For teaching in Items (1) – (4) of this Rule, 

PDH credits are doubled.  Teaching credit is 

valid for teaching a course or seminar for the 

first time only.  Teaching credit does not apply 

to full-time faculty, as defined by the 

institution where a licensee is teaching. 

(6) Each published paper, article or book. 10 PDH 

(7) Active participation in professional and 

technical society.  (Each society)       2 PDH 

(8) Each patent.       10 PDH 

(9) Each question used.        2 PDH 

(10) Active participation on boards, commissions, 

committees or councils of private, local, state 

or federal government entities.  (Each entity) 

          2 PDH 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17; 

Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; May 1, 2009; August 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998. 

 

21 NCAC 56 .1705 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT 

(a)  The Board of Examiners has final authority with respect to 

approval of courses, sponsors, credit, PDH value for courses, 

and other methods of earning credit.  Such determination shall 

meet Rule .1702(4) of this Section. 

(b)  Credit for college or community college courses shall be 

based upon course credit established by the college. 
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(c)  Credit for continuing education courses, seminars and 

workshops shall be based on one PDH unit for each hour of 

attendance.  Attendance at programs presented at professional 

and technical society meetings shall earn PDH units for the 

actual time of each program. 

(d)  Credit for correspondence, televised, Internet, videotaped, 

audiotaped, and other courses or tutorials, provided an exam is 

required for completion, shall be based upon one PDH unit for 

each hour assigned to the course, provided such hours are a 

reasonably estimated time for an average professional to 

complete the course. 

(e)  Credit determination for published papers, articles and books 

and obtaining patents is the responsibility of the licensee. 

(f)  Credit for active participation in professional and technical 

societies (limited to 2 PDH per society), requires that a licensee 

serve as an officer or participate in a committee of the society.  

PDH credits are not earned until the end of each year of service 

is completed. 

(g)  Credit for active participation on boards, commissions, 

committees or councils of private, local, state or federal 

government entities (limited to 2 PDH per entity) requires 

utilizing engineering or land surveying knowledge (as 

applicable) in the active participation.  PDH credits are not 

earned until the end of each year of service is completed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89C-10(a); 89C-17; 

Eff. December 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; May 1, 2009; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 58 – REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1709 EXTENSIONS OF TIME TO 

COMPLETE CONTINUING EDUCATION 

(a)  A broker on active status may request and be granted an 

extension of time to satisfy the continuing education requirement 

for a particular license period if the broker provides evidence to 

the Commission that he or she was unable to obtain the 

necessary education due to an incapacitating illness, military 

deployment, or other circumstance that existed for a substantial 

portion of the license period and that constituted a severe 

hardship evidenced by supporting documentation, such as a 

written physician's statement, deployment orders, or other 

corroborative evidence, such that compliance with the 

continuing education requirement would have been impossible 

or burdensome. 

(b)  The Commission shall not grant an extension of time to 

satisfy the continuing education requirement for reasons of 

business or personal conflicts.   

(c)  The Commission shall not grant such an extension of time 

when the broker's inability to obtain the required education in a 

timely manner was unreasonable delay on the part of the broker 

in obtaining such education. 

(d)  If an extension of time is granted, the broker shall be 

permitted to renew his or her license on active status but the 

license shall be automatically changed to inactive status at the 

end of the extension period unless the broker satisfies the 

continuing education requirement prior to that time. 

(e)  If an extension of time is not granted, the broker may either 

satisfy the continuing education requirement prior to expiration 

of the license period or renew his or her license on inactive 

status. 

(f)  In no event shall an extension of time be granted that extends 

the continuing education deadline beyond June 10 of the license 

year following the license year in which the request is made. 

(g)  The broker's request for an extension of time shall be 

submitted on a form prescribed by the Commission and must be 

received by the Commission on or before June 10 of the license 

year for which the extension is sought.  The form for requesting 

an extension of time to satisfy the continuing education 

requirement shall include the broker's name, mailing address, 

license number, telephone number, email address, and a 

description of the incapacitating illness or other circumstance 

upon which the request for extension of time is based.  The form 

can be obtained on the Commission's website at www.ncrec.gov, 

or upon request to the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; October 1, 2000. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission on September 18, 2014 at 1711 New 

Hope Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before 

the Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 919-431-3000.  Anyone wishing to 

address the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2
nd

 business day before 

the meeting.  Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Margaret Currin (Chair) Garth Dunklin (1

st
 Vice Chair) 

Jeff Hyde Stefanie Simpson (2
nd

 Vice Chair) 
Jay Hemphill Jeanette Doran 

Faylene Whitaker Ralph A. Walker 
 Anna Baird Choi 

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amanda Reeder (919)431-3079 
Abigail Hammond (919)431-3076 
Amber Cronk May (919)431-3074 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

September 18, 2014 October 16, 2014 
  November 20, 2014 December 18, 2014 

 

 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, September 18, 2014 10:00 a.m. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters: 
A. Department of Public Safety – 14B NCAC 07A .0116 (Reeder) 

B. Dental Examiners, Board of – 21 NCAC 16D .0104, 0103, .0104, (Reeder) 

IV. Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between July 22, 2014 and August 20, 2014. 

 Office of the Commissioner of Banks (Hammond) 

 State Board of Elections (May) 

 Commissioner of Insurance (May) 

 Coastal Resources Commission (May) 

 Department of Transportation (Hammond) 

 Board of Podiatry Examiners (May) 

 Respiratory Care Board (Hammond) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC 
Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 
C. 04 NCAC 24 - Seafood Industrial Park Authority 
D. 15A NCAC 01A - Environment and Natural Resources 

 E. 15A NCAC 01S - Office of Environmental Education 
 F. 18 NCAC 03 - Publications Division 
 G.  18 NCAC 05 - Uniform Commercial Code Division 
 H.  21 NCAC 01 - Acupuncture Licensing Board 
 I. 21 NCAC 30 - Massage and Bodywork Therapy, Board Of 
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 J.  21 NCAC 45 - Examiners Of Fee-Based Practicing Pastoral Counselors 

 Not Scheduled For Review This Month 

 04 NCAC 14 – Department of Commerce 

VII. Commission Business 

 Next meeting:  Thursday, October 16, 2014 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

July 22, 2014 through August 20, 2014 

BANKS, OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF 

The rules in Subchapter 3C concern banks including organization and chartering (.0100); branches and limited service 
facilities (.0200); change of location (.0300); consolidation of banks (.0400); operations (.0900); loan administration and 
leasing (.1000); capital (.1100); bank personnel (.1300); legal reserve (.1400); fees (.1600); nonresident banks (.1700); 
and courier services (.1800). 

Application 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0101  

Examination by Commissioner 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0102  

Report to Banking Commission 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0103  

Review by Banking Commission 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0104  

Bank Certificate 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0107  

National Bank Conversion 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0111  

Elimination of Director Liability 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0112  

Establishment of Branches 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0201  

Investigation 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0403  

Order 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0404  

Review by the Banking Commission 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0405  

Waiver by Commissioner 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0407  

Books and Records 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0901  

Required Accounts 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0902  

Retention: Reproduction and Disposition of Bank Records 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0903  

Letters of Credit 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0904  

Investment Authority 
Adopt/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .0905  
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Loan Documentation 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1001  

Leasing of Personal Property 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1002  

Basis for Computation and Maintenance 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1402  

Fees, Copies and Publication Costs 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1601  

Establishment of a Non-Branch Banking Business Office (NBBO) 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1702  

Establishment of Courier Services 
Amend/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1801  

Compliance and Disclosure Requirements 
Repeal/*  

04  NCAC  03C  .1802  

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 15 concern rulemaking. 

Instruction for Filing a Petition for Rule-making 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  15  .0101  

Declaratory Rulings: Availability 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  15  .0102  

The rules in Chapter 16 concern multipartisan assistance teams. 

Multipartisan Assistance Teams 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  16  .0101  

Team Members 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  16  .0102  

Training and Certification of Team Members 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  16  .0103  

Visits by Multipartisan Assistance Teams 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  16  .0104  

Removal of Team Members 
Adopt/*  

08  NCAC  16  .0105  

INSURANCE, COMMISSIONER OF 

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Agent Services Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6A cover general provisions (.0100); forms (.0200); examinations (.0300); licensing (.0400); 
license renewals and cancellations (.0500); license denials (.0600); prelicensing education (.0700); continuing 
education (.0800); and public adjusters (.0900). 

Approval of Courses 
Amend/*  

11  NCAC  06A  .0809  

The rules in Chapter 11 are from the Department of Insurance and concern financial evaluation of insurance 
companies. The rules in Subchapter 11F are actuarial rules including general provisions (.0100); health insurance 
minimum reserve standards (.0200); actuarial opinion and memorandum (.0300); commissioner's reserve valuation 
method (.0400); new annuity valuation mortality tables (.0500); recognition of the 2001 CSO mortality table for use in 
determining minimum reserve liabilities and non-forfeiture benefits (.0600); determining minimum reserve liabilities for 
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credit life insurance (.0700); and preferred class structure mortality table (.0800). 

Definitions 
Repeal/*  

11  NCAC  11F  .0501  

Individual Annuity or Pure Endowment Contracts 
Repeal/*  

11  NCAC  11F  .0502  

Group Annuity or Pure Endowment Contracts 
Repeal/*  

11  NCAC  11F  .0503  

Application of the 1994 GAR Table 
Repeal/*  

11  NCAC  11F  .0504  

Model Rule for Recognizing a New Annuity Mortality Table ... 
Adopt/*  

11  NCAC  11F  .0505  

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies 
(.0400); natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs 
(.1900); authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters 
and ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement 
of existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands 
(.2300); placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of 
structures; the reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, 
basins, channels, or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of 
wetland, stream and buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North 
Carolina Wetlands Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in 
estuarine and public trust waters (.2700).  

Purpose 
Amend/*  

15A  NCAC  07H  .2601  

Approval Procedures 
Amend/*  

15A  NCAC  07H  .2602  

General Conditions 
Amend/*  

15A  NCAC  07H  .2604  

Specific Conditions 
Amend/*  

15A  NCAC  07H  .2605  

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 2 are from the Division of Highways. The rules in Subchapter 2E concern miscellaneous 
operations including tort claims (.0100); outdoor advertising (.0200); junkyard control (.0300); general ordinances 
(.0400); selective vegetation removal policy (.0600); professional or specialized services (.0700); solicitation of 
contributions for religious purposes at rest areas (.0800); distribution of newspapers from dispensers at rest areas and 
welcome centers (.0900); scenic byways (.1000); tourist-oriented directional sign program (.1100); private property 
owners (.1200). 
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Eligibility for Program 
Amend/*  

19A  NCAC  02E  .0219  

Solicitation and Award of Contract 
Amend/*  

19A  NCAC  02E  .0702  

Prequalifying to Award - Professional Services Firms 
Adopt/*  

19A  NCAC  02E  .0703  

PODIATRY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 52 concern Board of Podiatry Examiners including organization of the Board (.0100); examination 
and licensing (.0200); professional corporations (.0300); revocation or suspension of license (.0400); certification of 
podiatric assistants (.0500); general provisions (.0600); petitions for rules (.0700); notice of rulemaking hearings 
(.0800); rulemaking hearings (.0900); declaratory rulings (.1000); administrative hearing procedures (.1100); 
administrative hearings decisions related rights and procedures (.1200); nominations for podiatrist members of the 
board of podiatry examiners; the board of podiatry examiners constituting a board of podiatry elections; and procedures 
for holding an election (.1300); and scope of practice (.1400). 

Temporary License for Clinical Residency/Fellowship 
Adopt/*  

21  NCAC  52  .0213  

Forms and Applications 
Amend/*  

21  NCAC  52  .0611  

RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 61 are from the Respiratory Care Board and concern organization and definitions (.0100); 
application for license (.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education requirements for license holders (.0400); 
miscellaneous provisions (.0500); rulemaking and declaratory rulings (.0600); and administrative hearing procedures 
(.0700). 

Board Office 
Amend/*  

21  NCAC  61  .0102  
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This Section contains the full text of some of the more significant Administrative Law Judge decisions along with an index to 

all recent contested cases decisions which are filed under North Carolina's Administrative Procedure Act.  Copies of the 

decisions listed in the index and not published are available upon request for a minimal charge by contacting the Office of 

Administrative Hearings, (919) 431-3000.  Also, the Contested Case Decisions are available on the Internet at 

http://www.ncoah.com/hearings. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   A. B. Elkins II 

Don Overby    Selina Brooks 

J. Randall May    Craig Croom 

     J. Randolph Ward 
 

 

AGENCY 
CASE 

NUMBER 
DATE 

PUBLISHED 

DECISION 

REGISTER 

CITATION 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL COMMISSION    
ABC Commission v. Noble 6 Enterprises LLC, T/A Peppermint Rabbit 13 ABC 20226 08/13/14  

    

ABC Commission v. Demetrius Earl Smith, T/A Smith's Convenient Store 14 ABC 01354 08/18/14  

Melody Locklear McNair v. ABC Commission 14 ABC 02323 06/25/14  

Marcus L. Bellamy T/A Bellas Grill v. ABC Commission 14 ABC 03485 07/24/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF CRIME CONTROL AND PUBLIC SAFETY    
Carl John Perkinson v. Department of Public Safety 14 CPS 02245 06/24/14  

Waheeda Ammeri v. Department of Public Safety 14 CPS 03254 07/21/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES    

Senior Home Care Services, Inc. v. DHHS 12 DHR 09750 08/13/14  

    

AHB Psychological Services v. DHHS and Alliance Behavioral Healthcare 13 DHR 00115 01/06/14 29:02 NCR 202 

Albert Barron, Sr. v. Eastpointe Human Services Local Management Entity 13 DHR 00784 04/22/14 29:04 NCR 444 

AHB Psychological Services v. DHHS and Alliance Behavioral Healthcare 13 DHR 08874 01/06/14 29:02 NCR 202 

Sheryl A. Lyons v. DHHS 13 DHR 10228 05/12/14 29:05 NCR 559 

Kenneth Terrell Ford v. DHHS, Division of Facility Services 13 DHR 10745 02/12/14 29:03 NCR 356 

Tricare Counseling and Consulting, Inc. v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 13 DHR 14221 12/31/13 29:04 NCR 460 

J. Mark Oliver DDS, PLLC v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance 13 DHR 14369 02/19/14 29:02 NCR 206 

Genesis Project 1 Inc. v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance and its agent, Mecklink 

 Behavioral Healthcare 

13 DHR 17094 12/16/13 29:01 NCR 70 

Ervin Smith v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Health Care Personnel 

 Registry 

13 DHR 17560 07/30/14  

Estate of Earlene W. Alston, Lewis E. Alston v. DHHS, DMA 13 DHR 17909 04/08/14 29:02 NCR 211 

Susan Arrowood, OLPC v. DHHS, Division of Medical Assistance and its agent Partners 

 Behavioral Health Management 

13 DHR 19981 01/08/14 29:03 NCR 366 

Rosemary Nwankwo v. DHHS 13 DHR 20013 08/13/14  

Marilyn Sherrill v. DHHS 13 DHR 20086 08/13/14  

    

Jacqueline Marie Jackson v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation, Health Care 

 Personnel Registry 

14 DHR 00460 07/10/14  

Nadiah Porter v. Durham County Department of Social Services (DSS) (Formerly Durham's 

 Alliance for Child Care Access, DACCA) 

14 DHR 01309 06/30/14  

Wittner Wright and Lisa Wright v. DHHS 14 DHR 01510 07/21/14  
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Elizabeth Mitchell v. Durham DSS 14 DHR 01982 06/23/14  

Wayne Mitchell v. Durham DSS 14 DHR 02044 06/23/14  

Prince Onwuka, Roda V. Onwuka v. Division of Child Development and Early Education 14 DHR 02636 07/24/14  

Andrea Cook v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 14 DHR 02947 07/29/14  

Faisal Saed Ismail v. New Hanover County DSS 14 DHR 03089 08/01/14  

Peter K. Kagwanja, owner Lighthouse Foodmart v. DHHS, Division of Public Health 14 DHR 03335 07/03/14  

Jennifer Lyn McKinney v. DHHS, Division of Health Service Regulation 14 DHR 03521 08/07/14  

Juan Wilbornx v. DHHS 14 DHR 03585 08/18/14  

Harold Eku John Coker v. Office of Administrative Hearings 14 DHR 03644 08/01/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE    

Stephen James Riley v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 09572 10/30/13 29:04 NCR 465 

William Dale Aaronson v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 11693 01/07/14 29:03 NCR 373 

Jose Monserrate Acosta v. NC Private Protective Services 13 DOJ 15271 12/11/13 29:02 NCR 213 

Kent Patrick Locklear v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 15368 01/03/14 29:01 NCR 74 

Michael Keith Fox v. NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 15453 05/27/14 29:05 NCR 572 

Michael Tyler Nixon v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing Board 13 DOJ 16246 11/25/13 29:01 NCR 79 

Garrett Dwayne Gwin v. NC Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards 

 Commission 

13 DOJ 17240 06/10/14  

Howard Ron Simons v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 19148 06/20/14  

Keith Lavon Mallory, Jr. v. NC Sheriff's Education and Training Standards Commission 13 DOJ 19152 08/20/14  

Janet Staricha v. University of NC at Chapel Hill 13 DOJ 19693 06/06/14  

    

Scott Eric Smithers v. NC Private Protective Services Board 14 DOJ 00728 07/31/14  

Lisa Paulette Childress v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 00869 07/07/14  

Angela Renee Joyner v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 00873 06/23/14  

Jeremy Samuel Jordan v. NC Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission 14 DOJ 01203 06/12/14  

Kenneth Lamont McCoy v. NC Alarm Systems Licensing Board 14 DOJ 03904 07/17/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER    
Reza M. Salami v. NC A&T State University, Retirement Systems Division 13 DST 09273 06/26/14  

    

Ozie L. Hall v. Department of State Treasurer, Retirement Systems Division, Teachers' and 

 State Employees Retirement System 

14 DST 02877 07/07/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES    
Certain Teed Corporation v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of 

 Water Resources 

13 EHR 13548 06/30/14  

Certain Teed Corporation v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of 

 Water Resources 

13 EHR 14024 6/30/14  

NC Coastal Federation, Cape Fear River Watch, Penderwatch and Conservancy, Sierra Club 

 v. Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Division of Air Quality and 

 Carolinas Cement Company LLC 

13 EHR 17906 07/01/14  

    

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMISSION    
Shannon S. Smith v. Housing Authority of the Town of Mt. Airy 14 HRC 03220 08/20/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE    
Sandy T. Moore v. Blue Cross/Blue Shield NC, State Health Plan 14 INS 00275 08/07/14  

    

OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES (formerly OFFICE OF STATE 

PERSONNEL) 

   

Azlea Hubbard v. Department of Commerce, Division of Workforce Solutions 12 OSP 08613 05/19/14  

    

Mark Smagner v. Department of Revenue 13 OSP 05246 12/05/13 29:04 NCR 471 

Antonio Asion v. Department of Public Safety, et. al. 13 OSP 10036 05/09/14 29:05 NCR 593 

Antonio Asion v. Department of Public Safety, et. al. 13 OSP 11386 05/09/14 29:05 NCR 593 

Ricky Ward v. Department of Public Safety 13 OSP 11968 05/14/14 29:05 NCR 615 

Chauncey John Ledford v. Department of Public Safety 13 OSP 12223 12/31/13 29:03 NCR 381 

Harold Leonard McKeithan v. Fayetteville State University 13 OSP 13380 12/03/13 29:05 NCR 637 

Vicki Belinda Johnson v. DHHS 13 OSP 13603 08/08/14  

Lenton Credelle Brown v. Department of Public Safety, W. Ellis Boyle General Counsel 13 OSP 13729 05/16/14  

Kenneth Shields v. Department of Public Safety 13 OSP 15762 02/26/14 29:01 NCR 84 

Tammy Cagle v. Swain County Consolidated Human Services Board 13 OSP 15763 12/19/13 29:04 NCR 480 

Rena Pearl Bridges v. Department of Commerce 13 OSP 15896 02/19/14 29:01 NCR 95 
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Barbara Hinton v. Surry County Health and Nutrition Center 13 OSP 16230 02/12/14 29:03 NCR 388 

    

Joseph Vincoli v. Department of Public Safety 14 OSP 00389 04/10/14 29:02 NCR 218 

Rose Marie Johnson v. Durham County Department of Social Services 14 OSP 01317 07/21/14  

Craig Williams v. Billy Deaver NCCU Superintendent, NC Central University of Building 

 Trades 

14 OSP 02111 06/06/14  

Crystal McLean v. Alicia Lopez, NC SCO/DOA, NC State Construction Office/Department 

 of Administration 

14 OSP 02944 07/01/14  

Teresa Wheeler v. County of Currituck-Currituck County Fire/EMS Department 14 OSP 03688 08/12/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE    
Cyril Broderick, Jr. v. Department of Revenue 14 REV 01773 06/24/14  

P&P of Holden Beach Inc. or Rockfish Ventures 1 Inc. 14 REV 03901 08/05/14  

C-Co Mini Mart Inc. v. Department of Revenue 14 REV 10490 08/01/14  

    

DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE    
Tonya Denise Pettaway v. Department of the Secretary of State 14 SOS 02369 08/05/14  

    

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION    

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, Inc., Jacob Matthew Norris, and Julie 

 Coveleski v. North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission and Gordon Myers, 

 as Executive Director, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission 

14 WRC 01045 08/01/14  

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, Inc., Jacob Matthew Norris, and Julie 

 Coveleski v. North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission and Gordon Myers, 

 as Executive Director, North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission 

14 WRC 01348 08/01/14  
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