1	12NCAC 10B .0	301 is a	amended <u>WITH CHANGES</u> as published in 37:01 NCR 17-19 as follows:			
2						
3	12 NCAC 10B.		MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE OFFICERS			
4	Every Justice Officer justice officer employed or certified in North Carolina shall:					
5	(1)	be a c	itizen of the United States;			
6	(2)	be 21	at least 20 years of age for all deputies and detention officers [and or be at least 18 years of			
7		age fo	r all telecommunicators;			
8	(3)	be a h	igh school graduate, or the equivalent (GED); as defined in 12 NCAC 10B .0302;			
9	(4)	have b	peen fingerprinted by the employing agency; <u>agency</u> <u>in the manner provided in 12 NCAC 10B</u>			
10		.0303;				
11	(5)	have h	nad a medical examination as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0304;			
12	(6)	have	produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following			
13		specif	ications: as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0410;			
14		(A)	the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an			
15			immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas			
16			chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other initial and confirmatory tests as may			
17			be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal			
18			Workplace Drug Testing Programs [https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace];			
19		(B)	a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual			
20			discarding of the specimen;			
21		(C)	the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine			
22			(PCP), opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites;			
23		(D)	the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for			
24			Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are incorporated by reference, including			
25			subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of this information may be obtained from the			
26			National Institute on Drug Abuse, 5600 Fisher Lane, Rockville, Maryland 20857			
27			[http://www.drugabuse.gov/] at no cost;			
28		(E)	the test results shall be dated no more than 60 days before employment or appointment,			
29			whichever is earlier;			
30		(F)	the laboratory conducting the test shall be certified for federal workplace drug testing			
31			programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations, and guidelines			
32			pertaining to the handling, testing, storage, and preservation of samples; and			
33		(G)	each drug test laboratory report shall be reviewed by a medical review officer (MRO), who			
34			shall be a licensed physician;			
35	(7)	make	the following notifications:			
36		(A)	within five business days, notify the Standards Division and the appointing department			
37			head in writing of all criminal offenses with which the officer is charged. This shall include			

1		all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense means an
2		offense under G.S. 20 or similar laws of other jurisdictions; except those Chapter 20
3		offenses defined as either a Class A or B Misdemeanor in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(10). The
4		initial notification required must specify the nature of the offense, the date of offense, and
5		the arresting agency. Within five business days, notify the Standards Division of al
6		Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are
7		issued by a judicial official against the justice officer and that provide an opportunity fo
8		both parties to be present;
9		(B) within 20 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the appointing department head of
10		the adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civi
11		No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C). The department head, provided he or she has knowledge o
12		the officer's charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil No Contact Order
13		(G.S. 50C), shall also notify the Division within 30 days of the date the case or order wa
14		disposed of in court.
15		(C) within 30 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the Standards Division of the
16		adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civi
17		No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C);
18		(D) the required notifications of adjudication shall specify the nature of the offense, the cour
19		in which the case was handled, and the date of disposition and shall include a certified copy
20		of the final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication;
21		(E) receipt by the Standards Division of timely notification of the initial offenses charged and
22		of adjudication of those offenses, from either the officer or the department head, shall be
23		sufficient notice for compliance with this Subparagraph;
24	<u>(7)</u>	have been administered a psychological screening examination as [described by] in accordance with
25		G.S. 17E-7. This psychological screening examination shall be valid for a period of one year from
26		the date on which it was administered;
27	(8)	be of good moral character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), appear
28		dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 32:
29		N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In
30		re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 64
31		(1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority;
32	(8)	have been interviewed as described in 12 NCAC 10B .0306;
33	(9)	have a background investigation conducted by the employing [agency] agency, including a persona
34		interview prior to employment as required by Rules .0305 and .0306 of this Section. as required by
35		12 NCAC 10B .0305;
36	(10)	not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0307:

T	<u>(11)</u>	for personnel who are authorized to carry a lifearm in the execution of their duties, satisfactority
2		complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as prescribed in 12 NCAC
3		10B .2103 and .2104. Such firearms training compliance must have occurred prior to submission of
4		the application for appointment to the Commission and must be completed using the agency
5		approved service [handgun(s)] handguns and any other [weapons(s)] weapons that the applicant has
6		been issued or authorized to use by the agency; and
7	<u>(12)</u>	be of good moral character as defined in: In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); State v.
8		Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); In re [Willis, Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771
9		(1975), [appeal dismissed] <u>appeal dismissed</u> 423 U.S. 976 (1975); [State v. Harris,] <u>State v. Harris,</u>
10		216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); [In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989);] In re
11		Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); [in] In re [Applicants for License,] Applicants for
12		<u>License</u> 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); [In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State
13		v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions.
14	<u>(13)</u>	make the following notifications:
15		(a) within five business days of the qualifying event, [outlined in this section of the Rule,
16		notify the Standards Division and the appointing agency head in writing of all criminal
17		offenses for which the officer is [eharged or arrested.] charged, arrested, pleads no contest.
18		pleads guilty or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic offenses
19		identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence
20		(DUI) or driving while impaired [(DWI);] (DWI).
21		[(b)] [within five business days of the qualifying event, notify the Standards Division and the
22		appointing agency head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer pleads no
23		contest, pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic
24		offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the
25		influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI);
26		[(e)] (b) within five business days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all
27		<u>Domestic Violence Protective Order</u> [(G.S. 50B)] pursuant to G.S. 50B and any Civil No
28		Contact [Orders (G.S. 50C)] Order pursuant to G.S. 50C that are issued by a judicial official
29		against the officer;
30		(d) within five business days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the agency head.
31		provided he or she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final
32		dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of arrests or criminal charges and final
33		disposition;
34		[(e)] (d) within five business days of the issuance of all Domestic Violence Protective [Orders (G.S.
35		50B) Orders pursuant to G.S. 50B and Civil No Contact [Orders (G.S. 50C), Orders
36		pursuant to G.S. 50C, the agency head, provided he or she has knowledge of the order.
37		shall also notify the Standards Division of these orders.

1		[(f)] (e) The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the
2		offense or order, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal
3		charge, or service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall include a
4		certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition from the Clerk of
5		Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this Item shall be applicable at all
6		times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also
7		apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single
8		notification, from the officer or the agency head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance
9		with this Item.
10	(b) <u>(14)</u>	The [the] requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applications for certification and shall also
11		apply at all times during which the justice officer is certified by the Commission.
12		
13	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17E-7;
14		Eff. January 1, 1989;
15		Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; August 1,
16		2002; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; January
17		1, 1990;
18		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,
19		2018;
20		Amended Eff. January 1, 2023.
21		[Amended Eff. January 1, 2023.]