12 NCAC 10B .0603 is proposed to be amended with <u>changes</u> as published in Volunte 37, Issue 2, pages 178 180 of the North Carolina public register as follows:

3

4 12 NCAC 10B .0603 EVALUATION FOR TRAINING WAIVER

5 (a) Only applicants <u>Applicants</u> for <u>detention officer</u> certification with prior detention or correctional officer 6 experience who have been employed and certified as a detention or correctional officer may seek a training waiver 7 evaluation pursuant to this <u>Rule. Section.</u>

8 (b) The Division shall use the following to evaluate a detention officer's training and experience to grant a waiver:

- 9 (1) Persons who separated from a detention officer position during the probationary period after 10 completion of a commission-certified detention officer training course Detention Officer 11 <u>Certification Course</u> and who have been separated from a detention officer position for more than 12 one year shall complete a subsequent commission-certified detention officer training course 13 <u>Detention Officer Certification Course</u> in its entirety and pass the State Comprehensive 14 Examination within the 12 month probationary period as set forth in Rule .0602(a) of this Section.
- 15 (2) Persons who separated from a detention officer position during their probationary period after 16 completion of a commission-certified detention officer training course Detention Officer 17 <u>Certification Course</u> and who have been separated from a detention officer position for one year or 18 less shall serve the remainder of the initial probationary period in accordance with G.S. 17E-7(b), 19 but need not complete an additional training program.
- 20(3)Persons who separated from a detention officer position during the probationary period without21completion of a commission-certified detention officer training course Detention Officer22Certification Course, or whose certification was suspended pursuant to Rule .0204(b)(1) of this23Subchapter and who have remained separated or suspended for over one year shall complete a24commission-certified detention officer training course Detention Officer Certification Course in its25entirety and pass the State Comprehensive Examination, and shall be allowed a 12 month26probationary period as prescribed in Rule .0602(a) of this Section.
- 27(4)Persons holding General Detention Officer Certification who completed a commission-certified28Detention Officer Certification Course detention officer training course and who separated from a29detention officer position for more than one year shall complete a subsequent commission-30certified Detention Officer Certification Course detention officer training course in its entirety and31pass the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 month probationary period as prescribed32in Rule .0602(a) of this Section.
- (5) Persons holding Grandfather Detention Officer Certification who separate from a detention officer
 position and remain separated from a detention officer position for more than one year shall
 complete a commission-certified <u>Detention Officer Certification Course</u> detention officer training
 program in its entirety and pass the State Comprehensive Examination within the 12 month
 probationary period as prescribed in Rule .0602(a) of this Section.

1	(6)	Persons transferring to a sheriff's office from another law enforcement	agency who hold a
2		detention officer certification issued by the North Carolina Criminal Ju	ustice Education and
3		Training Standards Commission are subject to evaluation of their prior train	ing and experience on
4		an individual basis. The Division shall review the training received against the	e training required by
5		Rule .0601 of this Section and determine whether that training is comparab	le to the requirements
6		set out in Rule .0601 based upon topics covered and determine what addition	onal training, if any is
7		required under Rule .0601.	
8	(c) The Division	shall use the following to evaluate evaluation a correction officer who holds	a general certification
9	as a correctional	officer training and experience to grant a waiver if the individual has gen	eral certification as a
10	correctional offic	er issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training St	andards Commission;
11	Commission:		
12	(1) <u>and</u> com	npleted training as a correctional officer between January 1, 1981 and August	1, 2002; <u>2002:</u>
13	<u>(1)</u> (2)	transfer transfers to a sheriff's office or a district confinement facility i	n a detention officer
14		position; and	
15	(2) (3)	has have had less than a one year break in service shall:	
16		(A) serve a 12-month probationary period as set forth in Rule .0602(a) of	f this Section; and
17		(B) take and successfully complete the State Comprehensive Examinat	tion state examination
18		in its entirety during that probationary period after completing the	following topic areas
19		in a commission-certified Detention Officer Certification Court	se: detention officer
20		certification course:	
		Orientation	2.1
21		Ononation	3 hours
21 22		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision	3 hours 14 hours
22		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision	14 hours
22 23		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail	14 hours 6 hours
22 23 24		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours
22 23 24 25		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours
22 23 24 25 26		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours
22 23 24 25 26 27		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours
22 23 24 25 26 27 28	(d) The Division	Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29		Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques TOTAL HOURS	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours a general certification
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	as a correctional	Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques TOTAL HOURS shall use the following to evaluate <u>evaluation</u> a correction officer who holds	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours a general certification eral certification as a
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	as a correctional correctional offic	Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques TOTAL HOURS shall use the following to evaluate evaluation a correction officer who holds officer training and experience to grant a waiver if the individual has gen	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours a general certification eral certification as a
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	as a correctional correctional offic who:(1) and comp	Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques TOTAL HOURS shall use the following to evaluate evaluation a correction officer who holds officer training and experience to grant a waiver if the individual has gen eer issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training S	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours a general certification eral certification as a tandards Commission
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	as a correctional correctional offic who:(1) and comp (2)(1)	Legal Aspects of Management & Supervision Medical Care in the Jail Investigative Process in the Jail Criminal Justice System Introduction to Rules and Regulations Governing Jails Subject Control Techniques TOTAL HOURS shall use the following to evaluate evaluation a correction officer who holds officer training and experience to grant a waiver if the individual has gen ter issued by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training S pleted training as a correctional officer after August 1, 2002 ; 2002:	14 hours 6 hours 8 hours 2 hours 2 hours 32 hours 67 hours a general certification eral certification as a tandards Commission

1	(A)	submit documentation of the training completed	as a correctional officer. The Division
2		shall review the training received against the training	aining required by Rule .0601 of this
3		Section and determine whether that training is con	mparable to the requirements set out in
4		Rule .0601 based upon topics covered and determ	nine what additional training, if any is
5		required under Rule .0601. The Division shall	notify the employing agency of the
6		resulting training requirements; and	
7	(B)	take and successfully complete the State Compre-	nensive Examination state examination
8		in its entirety during the probationary period afte	r completing the required training in a
9		commission-certified Detention Officer Certification	on <u>Course</u> .
10	(e) Applicants for dete	ntion officer certification who hold probationary or g	eneral deputy sheriff certification with
11	the North Carolina She	riffs' Education and Training Standards Commission	n; or a law enforcement officer issued
12	probationary or general	certification by the Criminal Justice Education and Th	raining Standards Commission, shall be
13	granted a training waive	er pursuant to this Section provided the individual:	
14	<u>(1) has su</u>	accessfully completed the NC Basic Law Enforcement	Training Course;
15	<u>(2)</u> has has	ad no break in service as a deputy sheriff or law enford	cement officer exceeding one year.
16	(3) serve	a 12-month probationary period as a detention officer	as set forth in Rule .0602(a) of this
17	Sectio	on; and	
18	<u>(4)</u> take a	nd successfully complete the State Comprehensive Ex	amination for the Detention Officer
19	Certif	ication Course in its entirety during that probationary	period after:
20	<u>(A)</u>	completing the following topic areas in a full deliv	ery of a commission-certified
21		Detention Officer Certification Course:	
22		Course Orientation	<u>3 hours</u>
23		Ethics	<u>3 hours</u>
24		Fire Emergencies	4 hours
25		Aspects of Mental Illness	<u>6 hours</u>
26		Review and Testing	7 hours
27		Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision	14 hours
28		Contraband/Searches	<u>6 hours</u>
29		Medical Care in the Jail	<u>6 hours</u>
30		Patrol and Security Function of the Jail	<u>5 hours</u>
31		Key and Tool Control	<u>2 hours</u>
32		Supervision and Management of Inmates	<u>5 hours</u>
33		Suicides and Crisis Management	<u>5 hours</u>
34		Introduction to Rules and Regulations	2 hours
35		Stress	3 hours
36		Prison Rape Elimination Act	2 hours
37		TOTAL HOURS	73 hours

1	or and the second s
2	(B) completing a commission certified truncated delivery of the Detention Officer
3	Certification Course that covers the following topic areas:
4	Course Orientation 3 hours
5	Ethics 3 hours
6	Fire Emergencies 4 hours
7	Aspects of Mental Illness 6 hours
8	Review and Testing 7 hours
9	Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision 14 hours
10	Contraband/Searches 6 hours
11	Medical Care in the Jail 6 hours
12	Patrol and Security Function of the Jail 5 hours
13	Key and Tool Control 2 hours
14	Supervision and Management of Inmates 5 hours
15	Suicides and Crisis Management 5 hours
16	Introduction to Rules and Regulations 2 hours
17	Stress 3 hours
18	Prison Rape Elimination Act 2 hours
19	TOTAL HOURS 73 hours
20	
21	(f) A truncated delivery of the Detention Officer Certification Course that only teaches blocks as specified in
22	Paragraph (e) of this Rule is hereby authorized and shall comply with the following requirements:
23	(1) The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual," including subsequent amendments and editions,
24	shall be used as the basic curriculum for the specified topics covered in the truncated delivery.
25	(2) The "Truncated Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North
26	Carolina Justice Academy is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and
27	editions, and shall be used by school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering the truncated
28	basic detention officer training.
29	(3) The standards and requirements established by the "Truncated Detention Officer Certification Course
30	Management Guide" shall be adhered to by the school director. The Justice Academy shall issue to each
31	certified school director a copy of the guide at the time of certification at no cost to the certified school.
32	(4) Each applicant shall complete form F-1 and pass the medical exam as required by 12 NCAC 10B .0304.
33	(5) Each executive officer or officers of the institution or agency sponsoring a truncated Detention Officer
34	Certification Course shall comply with the provisions of 12 NCAC 10B .0703 except for subsection
35	-0703(c)(3)(D), as the truncated course does not require instruction in Subject Control Techniques because
36	this is already provided in Basic Law Enforcement Training.

1	<mark>(6) Eac</mark>	h school director shall submit to the Commission a Pre Delivery Report of Training Course		
2	Presentation (Form F-7A) in compliance with 12 NCAC-10B .0704(8).			
3	(7) Each school director shall not more than ten days after receiving from the Commission's representative			
4	the Report of Examination Scores, submit to the Commission a Post Delivery Report of Training Course			
5	Presentation (Form 7-B) in compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0704(16).			
6	(8) The delivering institution or agency must be certified to deliver the Detention Officer Certification			
7	Course under 12 NCAC 10B .0802.			
8	<mark>(9) Eac</mark>	h presentation of the truncated Detention Officer Certification Course shall be reported to the		
9	Commission in compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0803.			
10	(10) All instructors, school directors, executive officers, or lecturers involved in teaching and administering			
11	a truncated Detention Officer Certification Course shall hold the same certifications and qualifications			
11				
12		l of instructors, school directors, executive officers, or lecturers in the full Detention Officer		
	requirec	I of instructors, school directors, executive officers, or lecturers in the full Detention Officer ation Course.		
12	requirec			
12 13	requirec			
12 13 14	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	a tion Course.		
12 13 14 15	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	ation Course. Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;		
12 13 14 15 16	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	ation Course. Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; Eff. January 1, 1989;		
12 13 14 15 16 17	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	ation Course. Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; Eff. January 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1,		
12 13 14 15 16 17 18	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	ation Course. Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; Eff. January 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991;		
12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19	<mark>requirec</mark> Certific	ation Course. Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; Eff. January 1, 1989; Amended Eff. February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991; Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,		

1 12 NCAC 10B .0713 is amended with changes as published in Volume 37, Issue 2, pages 186-187 of the North

- 2 Carolina public register as follows:
- 3

4 12 NCAC 10B .0713 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES

5 (a) The school director shall not admit any individual as a trainee in any commission-certified basic training course

- 6 who is not a citizen of the United States.
- 7 (b) The school shall not admit any individual younger than 21 20 years of age as a trainee in the any Detention Officer
- 8 Certification Course and shall not admit any individual younger than 18 years of age as a trainee in the
- 9 Telecommunicator Certification Course without the prior written approval of the Director of the Standards Division.
- 10 The Director shall approve those individuals who will turn 24 20 years of age prior to the end of the any Detention
- 11 Officer Certification Course and, those individuals who will turn 18 years of age prior to the end of the
- 12 Telecommunicator Certification Course.

13 (c) The school shall not admit any individual who has not provided documentation that he or she meets the educational

14 requirement set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0302.

15 (d) The school shall give priority admission in commission-certified basic training courses to individuals holding full-

- 16 time employment with criminal justice agencies.
- 17 (e) The school shall administer the reading component of a standardized test that reports a grade level for each trainee

18 participating in either the Telecommunicator or Detention Officer Certification Course. The specific test instrument

19 shall be determined by the school director and shall be administered within the first week of the Course. The grade

- 20 level results for each trainee shall be submitted to the Commission on each trainee's Report of Student Course
 21 Completion.
- 22 (f)(e) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the any Detention Officer Certification

23 Course or the Telecommunicator Certification Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a

24 Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) in compliance with 12 NCAC

- 25 10B .0304. The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) required by
- 26 the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission shall be recognized by the
- 27 Commission for the purpose of complying with this Rule.
- 28 (g)(f) The school shall not admit any individual trainee in commission-certified basic training courses unless the 29 individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state records where the 30 trainee has resided within the past 10 years and where the trainee attended high school. An Administrative Office of 31 the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement. If
- 32 an individual trainee has received a probationary certificate from the Commission at the time of enrollment, this
- 33 records check requirement shall be waived.
- (h)(g) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in commission-certified basic training courses who has
 been convicted of the following:
- **36** (1) a felony;
- 37 (2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years;

1	(3)	a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior to the
2		date of appointment;
3	(4)	four or more crimes or unlawful acts as defined as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the date
4		of conviction;
5	(5)	four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class A Misdemeanors" except the trainee may be
6		enrolled if the last conviction occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment; or
7	(6)	a combination of four or more "Class A Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of
8		the date of conviction.
9	(i)(h) Individua	als charged with crimes specified in this Paragraph that were dismissed or the person was found not
10	guilty may be	admitted into the commission-certified basic training courses, but completion will not ensure that
11	certification as	a justice officer through the Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee
12	in a presentation	n of the Commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall notify the School <mark>Director</mark>
13	of all criminal c	offenses that the trainee is arrested for, charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found
14	guilty of, and sh	all notify the School Director of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders
15	(50C) that are i	ssued by a judicial official that provide an opportunity for both parties to be present, including all
16	criminal offense	es except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense is defined for purposes of this Paragraph as
17	any offense und	der G.S. 20 or similar laws of other jurisdictions except those Chapter 20 offenses published in the
18	Class B Misder	neanor Manual. Other traffic offenses under laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the
19	School <mark>Director</mark>	include driving while impaired if the maximum allowable punishment is for a term of more than six
20	months but not	more than two years and driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended. The
21	notifications rec	quired under this Paragraph shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense, the court in
22	which the case	was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence
23	Order (G.S 50B) or Civil No Contact Order (G.S. 50C), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications
24	required under this Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed	
25	of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph shall apply at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic	
26	Law Enforceme	nt Training Course. The requirements of this Paragraph shall be in addition to the notifications required
27	under 12 NCAC	C 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8).
28		
29	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-4; 17E-7;
30		<i>Eff. April 1, 2001;</i>
31		Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2007; January 1, 2005;
32		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6,
33		2018;
34		Italicized Amendments have previously been published and are effective January 1, 2023.
35		<u>Amended Eff. January 1, 2023.</u>