I	15A NCAC 10D .0106 is amended with changes as published in 36:11 NCAC 937-938 as follows:
2	
3	15A NCAC 10D .0106 <u>DESIGNATED</u> BEAR <u>SANCTUARIES MANAGEMENT AREAS</u>
4	(a) Bear may be taken on posted designated bear management areas specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule during the
5	open season by permit only. Individuals may apply for permits on or after July 1 online at newildlife.org, by phone,
6	or in person at a wildlife service agent location. The number of permits issued annually will be based on achieving
7	population management objectives of the Commission. The Commission shall issue available bear management area
8	permits to applicants selected at random by computer. Permits shall be non-transferrable. All applicable laws and rules
9	regarding the taking of bear shall apply.
10	It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this rule, except when
11	authorized by permit issued by the Commission on sanctuaries specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
12	(b) The following shall be posted designated bear sanetuaries: management areas:
13	Bachelor Bay designated bear sanctuaries management area – Bertie and Washington counties
14	Columbus County <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Brunswick and Columbus counties
15	Croatan designated bear sanctuaries management area — Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties
16	Daniel Boone <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties
17	Dare <u>designated</u> bear sanctuaries <u>management area</u> – Dare and Hyde counties
18	Fires Creek <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Clay County
19	Flat Top <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Mitchell and Yancey counties
20	Green Swamp <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Brunswick County
21	Gull Rock <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Hyde County
22	Harmon Den designated bear sanctuaries management area – Haywood County
23	Juniper Creek <u>designated</u> bear sanctuaries <u>management area</u> – Brunswick and Columbus counties
24	Mt. Mitchell designated bear sanctuaries management area – McDowell and Yancey counties
25	North River <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Camden and Currituck counties
26	Panthertown – Bonas Defeat designated bear sanetuaries management area – Jackson County
27	Pisgah <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania
28	Pungo River <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Hyde County
29	Rich Mountain <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Madison County
30	Sherwood <u>designated</u> bear sanctuaries <u>management area</u> – Haywood County
31	Suggs Mill Pond <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Bladen and Cumberland counties
32	Standing Indian <u>designated</u> bear <del>sanctuaries</del> <u>management area</u> – Macon County
33	Thurmond Chatham <u>designated</u> bear sanctuaries management area — Allegheny and Wilkes counties
34	Wayah designated bear sanctuaries management area — Macon County
35	(c) It shall be lawful to take bear on the following sanetuaries designated management areas when authorized by
36	permit issued by the [Commission: Commission in accordance with G.S. 113-264(d):
37	Daniel Boone <mark>designated</mark> hear <del>canctuaries</del> management area – Avery Burke, and Caldwell counties

```
Dare designated bear sanctuaries management area – Dare and Hyde counties
 1
 2
               Mt. Mitchell designated bear sanetuaries management area – McDowell and Yancey counties
               <u>Panthertown – Bonas Defeat designated bear [sanetuary] management area – Jackson County</u>
 3
               <u>Pisgah designated bear [sanetuary] management area</u> – Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania
 4
 5
               Standing Indian designated bear [sanctuary] management area – Macon County
      (d) Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on designated bear sanetuaries. management areas.
 6
 7
      (e) Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15
 8
      on designated bear sanetuaries management areas located in and west of the counties and parts of counties described
 9
      in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.
10
                       Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-305;
11
      History Note:
12
                       Eff. August 1, 2019.
13
                       Amended Eff. August 1, 2022.
14
```