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The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission 

Notice 

 

The ABC Commission has cancelled the public hearing on the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules scheduled for July 8, 2020 

at 10:00 a.m. at the ABC Commission Office at 400 E. Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610.  The public hearing on these rules is rescheduled 

for August 12, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. at the same location.  The public comment period for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, 

which currently run through July 8, 2020, will be extended until August 12, 2020 at 10:00 a.m. 

 

The proposed rules for the ABC Store Spirituous Liquor Tasting Rules, 14B NCAC 15C .1301, .1303 - .1305 and .1307, were published 

in North Carolina Register, Volume 34, Issue 19, page 1773 on April 1, 2020. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 20 – DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Local Government Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 

20 NCAC 03 .0508 and amend the rules cited as 20 NCAC 03 

.0502 and .0505. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.nctreasurer.com/office-state-treasurer/nc-

administrative-code-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  November 1, 2020 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  July 21, 2020 

Time:  2:00-3:00pm 

Location:  Conference line: 1-877-402-9757; Access code: 

4354283 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Implementation of the proposed 

rule changes will promote conformity to auditing best practices 

and improve financial transparency by ensuring that auditors will 

present findings and fiscal issues identified in an annual audit 

report to units and the public and by ensuring that all units receive 

relevant information in a consistent manner through the auditor’s 

presentation, regardless of the auditor employed. Additionally, 

the proposed rule changes will simplify the audit contract and 

audit fee business processes and streamline the responsibilities of 

the Local Government Commission staff in receiving and 

reviewing units’ responses to audit findings and corrective action 

plans. 

 

The LGC is proposing to revise rules updating:  

• the requirements related to the submission and 

presentation of audit reports to local governments and 

public authorities, and  

• the submission and approval of audit invoices.  

 

The LGC is proposing a new rule regarding:  

• the process for units that are required to provide 

responses and corrective action plans to the LGC as a 

result of audit findings and financial indicators of 

concern. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Laura Rowe, 3200 Atlantic 

Ave, Raleigh, NC 27604; email dst.ncac@nctreasurer.com 

 

Comment period ends:  August 31, 2020 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - LOCAL GOVERNMENT COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0500 - AUDIT CONTRACTS 

 

20 NCAC 03 .0502 AUDIT CONTRACT 

(a)  The Secretary may promulgate a standard audit contract 

designed to include the specific requirements in Subdivision (c) 

of this Rule. The Secretary may revise the standard audit 

contract from time to time as circumstances require provided 

that the contract continues to include the requirements of this 

Section. The requirements may be included in the contract either 

specifically or by reference to this Section. 

(b)  Governmental units and their independent auditors may 

submit contracts on their own forms provided that the form 

includes all requirements, either specifically or by reference, in 

Subdivision (c) of this Rule. 

(c)  The following requirements and conditions shall be included 

in all contracts for governmental units: 

(1) The scope of the audit shall include all funds 

and ledgers of the governmental unit, and the 

requirement that the audit shall be conducted in 

accordance with generally accepted auditing 

standards and shall include such tests of the 

accounting records and such other procedures 

(including direct confirmation of tax, utility and 

other receivables) as are considered by the 

auditor to be necessary in the circumstances. 

Exceptions to the scope of the audit may be 

made only by specific approval of the Secretary 

or a deputy secretary and only for reasons that 
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are fully explained as to the circumstances of 

the particular situation. 

(2) The audit shall include a review of the internal 

control system of the governmental unit as 

provided by generally accepted auditing 

standards. The auditor shall forward a 

management letter to the unit, detailing his the 

auditor's findings and his recommendations for 

improvement. The auditor shall forward a copy 

of the management letter to the Secretary. 

Commission. 

(3) Information based on the audited financial 

statements shall be submitted to the Secretary 

for the purpose of identifying Financial 

Performance Indicators and Financial 

Performance Indicators of Concern. 

(3)(4) The auditor shall, after the completion of his or 

her examination, submit to the governing body 

a report of the audit with as many copies as 

requested in the contract. The report shall 

include all funds and ledgers included in the 

scope of the audit, and an expression of opinion 

on the financial statements included therein. If 

the expression of opinion is in any way 

modified qualified or if an opinion is 

disclaimed or not included for any reason, 

sufficient reasons therefor shall be included in 

the report of audit. Copies of the audit report 

and any special reports issued as a result of the 

audit engagement shall be transmitted forthwith 

to the Secretary Commission. 

(4)(5) The fee for the audit engagement shall be 

stated. All audit engagement fees and terms 

shall be clearly stated and shall allow for the 

computation of a final fee. The fee may be 

stated as a fixed dollar amount or as a rate per 

hour or day, either with or without a maximum. 

(6) The auditor shall present the audited financial 

statements including any compliance reports to 

the unit's governing body or audit committee in 

an official meeting in open session as soon as 

the audited financial statements are available 

but not later than 45 days after the submission 

of the audit report to the Secretary. The 

auditor's presentation to the unit's governing 

body or audit committee must include: 

(A) the description of each finding, 

including all material weaknesses and 

significant deficiencies, and any other 

issues related to the internal controls 

or fiscal health of the unit as disclosed 

in the management letter, the Single 

Audit or Yellow Book reports, or any 

other communications regarding 

internal controls as required by current 

auditing standards set by the 

Accounting Standards Board or its 

successor; 

(B) the status of the prior year audit 

findings; 

(C) the values of Financial Performance 

Indicators based on information 

presented in the audited financial 

statements; and 

(D) notification to the governing body that 

the governing body must develop a 

"Response to the Auditor's Findings, 

Recommendations, and Fiscal 

Matters," if required under Rule 20 

NCAC 03 .0508.  

The Secretary shall verify auditors' compliance 

with the presentation requirement of 

Paragraph (c)(6) of this Rule. 

(5)(7) The auditor shall promptly notify the governing 

body and the Secretary commission, if 

circumstances disclosed by during the audit call 

for a an expanded scope of work more detailed 

investigation by the auditor beyond that than 

necessary under ordinary conditions indicated 

by the auditor's audit planning and risk 

assessment. 

(6)(8) No agreement(s) relating to the audit 

engagement but not attached to and referenced 

in the audit contract shall be enforceable by any 

party to said agreement(s). 

(d)  Form LGC-205 shall be provided for the convenience of those 

auditors and units who wish to use the form.  

(e)  The Commission is the state's agency charged with the duty 

of advising and assisting unit officials in all phases of fiscal 

management, and with promoting sound fiscal management, 

careful borrowing, and sound debt management practices as 

described in Rule 20 NCAC 03 .0101. To fulfill these duties, and 

pursuant to its authority under G.S. 159-34(b), the Commission 

may establish relevant criteria for gathering financial data to 

timely assist and identify units that are facing or may face fiscal 

management challenges or distress. For purposes of this Section, 

the following definitions apply: 

(1) Financial Performance Indicators are values 

derived from information included in the 

audited financial statements that assist the 

Secretary in improving the comparability of 

reporting a given unit's financial condition and 

financial performance. These criteria include, 

but are not limited to, adequacy of a unit's fund 

balance; liquidity or the ability to meet short-

term obligations; solvency or the ability to meet 

long-term obligations; debt service coverage; 

leverage; and such other indicators of financial 

condition and financial performance as the 

Secretary may from time to time establish. 

(2) Financial Performance Indicators of Concern 

are Financial Performance Indicators with 

values which may indicate inadequate financial 

conditions or fiscal management concerns 

within the unit. 

 

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-34. 
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20 NCAC 03 .0505 AUDIT BILLINGS 

(a)  All invoices for services rendered in an audit engagement as 

defined in Rule 20 NCAC 03 .0503 shall be submitted to the 

Commission for approval before any payment is made. Payment 

before approval is a violation of law. 

(b)  Invoices to be approved shall be submitted in duplicate to the 

Secretary. Secretary at the mailing address of the Commission. 

(c)  Invoices shall be approved only under the following 

circumstances: 

(1) There is a valid contract; 

(2) The report of audit has been received; 

(3) The audit billing and the report of audit 

conform conforms to the requirements of the 

contract and of this Section; 

(4) Except in the case of a fixed fee, the The audit 

billing shows all calculations necessary to 

compute the fee from the rates and terms shown 

in the contract; and 

(5) There are no circumstances known to the 

secretary Secretary indicating that the audit 

report may fail to conform to the requirements 

of the contract and of this Section. a failure on 

the part of the auditor to perform the audit as 

provided in this Section. 

Notwithstanding the above, the Commission may approve interim 

billings up to a maximum of 75 percent of a fixed or maximum 

fee, or, in the case where there is no fixed or maximum fee, up to 

a maximum of 75 percent of the last year's billings for the last 

annual audit of the subject unit. unit submitted to the Secretary. 

Provided however, that the Secretary or a deputy secretary may 

approve a higher or lower amount, on an interim billing amount if 

he or she finds that such would be more equitable under a 

particular set of circumstances. 

 

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-34. 

 

20 NCAC 03 .0508 RESPONSE TO THE 

INDEPENDENT AUDITOR'S FINDINGS, 

RECOMMENDATIONS, AND FISCAL MATTERS 

(a)  If the governing body of a unit of local government or public 

authority is notified by its independent auditor that the audited 

financial statements presented to the governing body included one 

or more significant deficiencies, material weaknesses, other 

findings or if the auditor determined that Financial Performance 

Indicators of Concern were identified based on information 

presented in the audited financial statements, then the governing 

body shall develop a "Response to the Auditor's Findings, 

Recommendations and Fiscal Matters" ("Response") signed by a 

majority of the members of the governing body and forward a 

copy of this response to the Secretary within 60 days of the 

auditor's presentation. 

(b)  The Response shall address each significant deficiency, 

material weaknesses and other finding(s) presented to the 

governing body and shall provide a financial plan to address each 

Financial Performance Indicator of Concern reported to the 

governing body and shall include the following: 

(1) Audit Findings 

(A) A written description of the procedure 

or process developed by the local 

government to address each finding, 

including all material weaknesses and 

significant deficiencies, and any other 

issues related to the internal controls 

or fiscal health of the unit as disclosed 

in the management letter, the Single 

Audit or Yellow Book reports, or any 

other communications regarding 

internal controls as required by current 

auditing standards set by the 

Accounting Standards Board or its 

successors. 

(B) The description must provide 

sufficient detail that the governing 

body and the auditor can determine 

that the procedure or process will 

reasonably address the specific audit 

finding and is being properly 

implemented. The description may 

include such information as the date 

for implementation, the position titles 

responsible for implementation, the 

positions performing the procedures 

or processes, the frequency of 

performance, and other matters 

necessary to evaluate the success of 

the procedure or process. 

(C) If the governing body disagrees with 

an audit finding, it shall fully describe 

its disagreement and explain the 

factors that support this determination. 

(2) Financial Performance Indicators of Concern 

(A) A written description of the plan 

developed by the governing body to 

address each Financial Performance 

Indicator of Concern. 

(B) The plan must provide sufficient detail 

that the governing body and the 

auditor can determine that it will 

reasonably address the specific 

Financial Performance Indicator(s) of 

Concern. The description may include 

such information as the time period 

required for improvement, any 

governing body action required for 

implementation, the steps to increase 

revenue or reduce expenses, the 

frequency of performance evaluation, 

and other matters necessary to 

evaluate the success of the plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 159-3(f); 159-34. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 11 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Industrial Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  11 NCAC 23G .0104 

 

Effective Date:  June 16, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier: June 8, 

2020  

 

Reason for Action:  11 NCAC 23G .0104, as currently written, 

requires physical in-person attendance of all parties and other 

persons required to attend a mediation, unless all such parties and 

persons and the mediator agree to waive the physical in-person 

attendance requirement, or unless the physical in-person 

attendance requirement is waived by order of the Industrial 

Commission upon motion of a party and notice to all parties and 

persons required to attend the mediation. 

Mediations in workers’ compensation cases are held indoors in 

offices where air may not circulate freely and where there may not 

be adequate space to allow mediation participants to stay 6 feet 

apart. These mediations often require the attendance of people 

who fall into a high-risk category for complications from COVID-

19. Additionally, some mediations involve multiple defendants, 

thereby increasing the number of mediation participants to 

potentially more than 10 people. It is not uncommon for one party 

to refuse to agree to waive the physical in-person attendance 

requirement of the rule and it is not guaranteed that a motion to 

waive the physical in-person attendance requirement will be 

granted. Therefore, the current rule may result in gatherings 

contrary to the current social distancing and other 

recommendations of the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Dept. of Health and Human Services, including those 

recommendations contained in Executive Order 141, which 

currently is in effect. 

As further evidence of why an emergency amended mediation 

attendance rule is needed, it should be noted that the North 

Carolina Supreme Court entered an order dated June 3, 2020 

which approved an amended mediation rule for use in Superior 

Court cases that changes the presumptive physical in-person 

attendance requirement to a presumptive remote attendance 

requirement. G.S. 97-80(c) requires the Industrial Commission’s 

mediation rules to be “substantially similar” to the mediation 

rules approved by the Supreme Court for use in Superior Court 

cases. The Industrial Commission’s emergency amended 

mediation attendance rule will bring the Commission’s rule in 

conformity with the mediation attendance rule for use in Superior 

Court cases, which the Supreme Court deemed necessary to 

change in order to keep mediation participants safe during the 

COVID-19 pandemic. Based on the foregoing, an emergency rule 

is needed to protect the public health and safety. 

CHAPTER 23 - INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 23G – NORTH CAROLINA INDUSTRIAL 

COMMISSION RULES FOR MEDIATED SETTLEMENT 

AND NEUTRAL EVALUATION CONFERENCES 

 

SECTION .0100 – MEDIATION AND SETTLEMENT 

 

11 NCAC 23G .0104 DUTIES OF PARTIES, 

REPRESENTATIVES, AND ATTORNEYS 

(a)  Attendance. The following persons shall physically attend the 

mediated settlement conference: 

(1) all individual parties; 

(2) in a workers' compensation case, a 

representative of the employer at the time of 

injury if: 

(A) the employer, instead of or in addition 

to the insurance company or 

administrator, has decision-making 

authority with respect to settlement; 

(B) the employer is offering the claimant 

employment and the suitability of that 

employment is in issue; 

(C) the employer and the claimant have 

agreed to simultaneously mediate non-

compensation issues arising from the 

injury; or 

(D) the Commission orders the employer 

representative to attend the conference 

if the representative's physical 

attendance is necessary to resolve 

matters in dispute in the subject action; 

(3) an officer, employee or agent of any party that 

is not a natural person or a governmental entity 

who is not such party's outside counsel and who 

has the authority to decide on behalf of such 

party whether and on what terms to settle the 

action; 

(4) in a workers' compensation case, an employee 

or agent of any party that is a governmental 

entity who is not such party's outside counsel or 

Attorney General's counsel responsible for the 

case and who has the authority to decide on 

behalf of such party and on what terms to settle 

the action. 

(5) when the governing law prescribes that the 

terms of a proposed settlement may be 

approved only by a Board, an employee or 

agent who is not such party's outside counsel or 

Attorney General's counsel responsible for the 

case and who has the authority to negotiate on 

behalf of and to make a recommendation to the 



 EMERGENCY RULES 

 

 

35:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2020 

32 

Board. Because G.S. 143-295 provides the 

Attorney General with settlement authority on 

behalf of governmental entities and agencies for 

state tort claims, an employee or agent of the 

named governmental entity or agency is not 

required to attend the mediated settlement 

conference; the Attorney General shall attempt 

to make an employee or agent of the named 

governmental entity or agency in a state tort 

claim available via telecommunication, and 

mediation shall not be delayed due to the 

absence or unavailability of the employee or 

agent of the named governmental entity or 

agency. 

(6) The counsels of record; provided, that 

appearance by counsel does not dispense with 

or waive the required attendance of the parties 

listed in Subparagraphs (1) through (4); 

(7) a representative of each defendant's primary 

workers' compensation or liability insurance 

carrier or self-insured that may be obligated to 

pay all or part of any claim presented in the 

action. Each carrier or self-insured shall be 

represented at the conference by an officer, 

employee or agent who is not such party's 

outside counsel and who has the authority to 

decide on behalf of the carrier or self-insured 

whether and on what terms to settle the action, 

or who has been authorized to negotiate on 

behalf of such carrier or self-insured and can 

communicate during the conference with 

persons who have such decision making 

authority; and 

(8) by order of the Commission, other 

representatives of parties, employers or 

carriers, who may be obligated to pay all or part 

of any claim presented in the action and who are 

not required to attend the conference pursuant 

to Subparagraphs (1) through (6) of this Rule, if 

the Commission determines that the 

representative's attendance is necessary for 

purposes of resolving the matters in dispute in 

the subject action. Any employer or carrier who 

may be obligated to pay all or part of any claim 

presented in the action and who is not required 

to physically attend the mediated settlement 

conference pursuant to Subparagraphs (1) 

through (6) of this Rule or by Commission 

orders, may attend the conference if the 

employer or carrier elects to attend. If, during 

the conference, the mediator determines that the 

physical attendance of one or more additional 

persons is necessary to resolve the matters in 

dispute in the subject action, the mediator may 

recess the conference and reconvene the 

conference at a later date and time to allow the 

additional person or persons to physically 

attend. 

(b)  Any party or person required to attend a mediated settlement 

conference shall physically attend the conference until an 

agreement is reduced to writing and signed as provided in 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule, or until an impasse has been declared. 

Attendance shall mean physical in-person attendance whenever 

the mediation rules approved by the North Carolina Supreme 

Court that are in effect, either temporarily or permanently, for use 

in the Superior Court division require physical in-person 

attendance. During any time that attendance means physical in-

person attendance, any Any such party or person person, 

including the mediator, may have the physical in-person 

attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all 

parties and persons persons, including the mediator, required to 

attend the conference, conference and the mediator, or by order of 

the Commission in the interests of justice upon motion of a party 

and notice to all parties and persons persons, including the 

mediator, required to attend the conference. Attendance shall 

mean attendance using remote technology whenever the 

mediation rules approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court 

that are in effect, either temporarily or permanently, for use in the 

Superior Court division require attendance through the use of 

remote technology. During any time that attendance means 

attendance through the use of remote technology, any party or 

person, including the mediator, may have the remote technology 

attendance requirement excused or modified by agreement of all 

parties and persons, including the mediator, required to attend the 

conference, or by order of the Commission in the interests of 

justice upon motion of a party and notice to all parties and 

persons, including the mediator, required to attend the conference. 

All parties and persons, including the mediator, shall comply with 

all public health and safety requirements set forth in the mediation 

rules approved by the North Carolina Supreme Court that are in 

effect, either temporarily or permanently, for use in the Superior 

Court division. 

(c)  In appropriate cases the Commission or the mediator, with the 

consent of the parties, may allow a party or insurance carrier 

representative who is required to physically attend a mediated 

settlement conference under this Rule to attend the conference by 

telephone, conference call, speaker telephone or 

videoconferencing; provided that, the party or representative so 

attending shall bear all costs of such telephone calls or 

videoconferencing, the mediator may communicate directly with 

the insurance representative with regard to matters discussed in 

mediation, and the mediator may set a subsequent mediated 

settlement conference at which all parties and representatives 

shall physically attend. The failure to properly appear by 

telephone or videoconferencing in accordance with this Paragraph 

shall subject the responsible party(ies) or representative(s) to 

sanctions pursuant to Rule .0105 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Notice of Mediation Order. Within seven days after the receipt 

of an order for a mediated settlement conference, the carrier or 

self-insured named in the order shall provide a copy of the order 

to the employer and all other carriers who may be obligated to pay 

all or part of any claim presented in the workers' compensation 

case or any related third-party tortfeasor claims, and shall provide 

the mediator and the other parties in the action with the name, 

address and telephone number of all such carriers. 

(e)  Finalizing Agreement. If an agreement is reached in the 

mediated settlement conference, the parties shall reduce the 
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agreement to writing, specifying all terms of the agreement that 

bear on the resolution of the dispute before the Commission, and 

shall sign the agreement along with their counsel. The parties may 

use IC Form MSC8, Mediated Settlement Agreement, or MSC9, 

Mediated Settlement Agreement – Alternative Form, for this 

purpose. Execution by counsel of a mediated settlement 

agreement for an employer or carrier who does not physically 

attend the mediated settlement conference shall be deemed to be 

in compliance with this Rule and 11 NCAC 23A .0502. By 

stipulation of the parties and at the parties' expense, the agreement 

may be electronically or stenographically recorded. All 

agreements for payment of compensation shall be submitted for 

Commission approval in accordance with 11 NCAC 23A .0501 

and .0502. 

(f)  Payment of Mediator's Fee. The mediator's fee shall be paid at 

the conclusion of the mediated settlement conference, unless 

otherwise provided by Rule .0107 of this Subchapter, or by 

agreement with the mediator. 

(g)  Related Cases. Upon application by any party or person and 

upon notice to all parties, the Commission may, in the interests of 

justice, order an attorney of record, party or representative of an 

insurance carrier who may be liable for all or any part of a claim 

pending in a Commission case to attend a mediated settlement 

conference that may be convened in another pending case, 

regardless of the forum in which the other case may be pending, 

provided that all parties in the other pending case consent to the 

attendance ordered pursuant to this Paragraph. Any disputed 

issues concerning such an order shall be addressed to the 

Commission's Dispute Resolution Coordinator. Unless otherwise 

ordered, any attorney, party or carrier representative who attends 

a mediated settlement conference pursuant to this Paragraph shall 

not be required to pay any of the mediation fees or costs related 

to that conference. Requests that a party, attorney of record, or 

insurance carrier representative in a related case attend a mediated 

settlement conference in a Commission case shall be addressed to 

the court or agency in which the related case is pending, provided 

that all parties in the Commission case consent to the requested 

attendance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80(a),(c); 143-295; 143-296; 

143-300; Rule 4 of Rules Implementing Statewide Mediated 

Settlement Conference in Superior Court Civil Actions; 

Eff. January 16, 1996; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1998; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10A .0616; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2011; June 1, 2000; 

Recodified from 04 NCAC 10G .0104 Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 16, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Alarm Systems Licensing Board 

 

Rule Citation:  14B NCAC 17 .0201 

 

Effective Date:  June 9, 2020 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  June 1, 

2020 

 

Reason for Action:  On March 10, 2020, the Governor of North 

Carolina, by issuing Executive Order No. 116, declared a state of 

emergency to coordinate a response and enact protective 

measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.  The COVID-

19 is a respiratory disease that can result in serious illness or 

death.  The COVID-19, previously unidentified in humans, 

spreads easily from person to person.  Once an outbreak of the 

COVID-19 begins, it is difficult to contain.  The World Health 

Organization, the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 

and the United States Department of Health and Human Services 

have declared COVID-19 a public health threat and emergency.  

On March 12, 2020, the Governor of North Carolina and the NC 

Department of Health and Human Services recommended high 

risk persons stay at home, that schools implement plans for 

distance or e-learning, that employers and employees use 

teleworking technologies, and that mass gatherings should 

cancel, postpone, and modify these events or offer online 

streaming services.  On March 14, 2020, the Governor issued 

Executive Order No. 117 that prohibited mass gatherings, closed 

schools, and urged social distancing.  On May 20, 2020 the 

Governor issued Executive Order 141 which relaxed some 

restrictions but citizens were still dissuaded from travel and 

"social distancing" still encouraged.  These various Orders, as 

well as similar orders in other states, have limited travel. 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. 

fingerprint card provided by the Board and 

mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 
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Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a 

National or State declared state of emergency which restricts or 

prohibits travel the personal meeting requirement may be waived 

in lieu of alternative means of communication. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 

74D-7; 74D-8; 

Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days to 

expire on May 7, 1984; 

Eff. May 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; February 1, 2012; January 1, 

2007; September 1, 2006; March 1, 1993; July 1, 1987; January 

1, 1986; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. June 9, 2020. 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

35:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2020 

35 

This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on May 21, 2020 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

STRUCTURAL PEST CONTROL COMMITTEE 

Application for Licenses and Cards: Examination 02 NCAC 34 .0302* 34:11 NCR 

Recertification 02 NCAC 34 .0309* 34:11 NCR 

Records: Pesticides and Application Equipment Used 02 NCAC 34 .0328* 34:11 NCR 

Ancillary Activities 02 NCAC 34 .0331* 34:11 NCR 

Wood-Destroying Insects: Excluding Subterranean Termites 02 NCAC 34 .0501* 34:11 NCR 

Pesticides for Subterranean Termite Prevention and/or Con... 02 NCAC 34 .0502* 34:11 NCR 

Subterranean Termite Control: Buildings After Constructed 02 NCAC 34 .0503* 34:11 NCR 

Reporting Damage: Infestation: Uninspected Areas 02 NCAC 34 .0504* 34:11 NCR 

Subterranean Termite Preventions/Res Bldgs Under Const 02 NCAC 34 .0505* 34:11 NCR 

Min Require/Subterranean Termite Prev/Commercial Bldgs Un... 02 NCAC 34 .0506* 34:11 NCR 

Wood-Destroying Insects and Other Organism Reports 02 NCAC 34 .0602* 34:11 NCR 

Written Records of Household Pest Control 02 NCAC 34 .0703* 34:11 NCR 

Decision of Committee 02 NCAC 34 .1206 34:11 NCR 

PARKS AND RECREATION AUTHORITY 

Eligible Participants 07 NCAC 13K .0102* 34:14 NCR 

Funding Cycle 07 NCAC 13K .0103* 34:14 NCR 

Evaluation of Applications 07 NCAC 13K .0105* 34:14 NCR 

Grant Agreement 07 NCAC 13K .0106* 34:14 NCR 

Matching Requirements 07 NCAC 13K .0107* 34:14 NCR 

Eligible Projects and Costs 07 NCAC 13K .0108* 34:14 NCR 

Site Control and Dedication 07 NCAC 13K .0109* 34:14 NCR 

Inspections 07 NCAC 13K .0110* 34:14 NCR 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

Voting Procedures 08 NCAC 10B .0103* 31:23 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The License 10A NCAC 13F .0202* 34:06 NCR 

Applying for a License to Operate a Facility not Currentl... 10A NCAC 13F .0204* 34:06 NCR 

Renewal of License 10A NCAC 13F .0208* 34:06 NCR 

Conditions for License Renewal 10A NCAC 13F .0209 34:06 NCR 

Denial or Revocation of License 10A NCAC 13F .0212 34:06 NCR 

The License 10A NCAC 13G .0202* 34:06 NCR 

Application for a License to Operate a Home not Currently... 10A NCAC 13G .0204* 34:06 NCR 

Renewal of License 10A NCAC 13G .0208* 34:06 NCR 

Conditions for License Renewal 10A NCAC 13G .0209 34:06 NCR 

Denial and Revocation of License 10A NCAC 13G .0212 34:06 NCR 

Appeal of Licensure Action 10A NCAC 13G .0213 34:06 NCR 
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PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Rulemaking and Administrative Hearing Procedures 14B NCAC 16 .0109* 33:15 NCR 

Investigation for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0704* 33:15 NCR 

SEDIMENTATION CONTROL COMMISSION 

Who May Assess 15A NCAC 04C .0103* 34:02 NCR 

Criteria 15A NCAC 04C .0106* 34:02 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

Selective Vegetation Removal Permit Required to Remove Ve... 19A NCAC 02E .0601* 34:13 NCR 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for a F... 19A NCAC 02E .0602* 34:13 NCR 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit... 19A NCAC 02E .0603* 34:13 NCR 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Fac... 19A NCAC 02E .0604* 34:13 NCR 

Requests for Selective Vegetation Removal Permits for Out... 19A NCAC 02E .0608* 34:13 NCR 

Issuance or Denial of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit... 19A NCAC 02E .0609* 34:13 NCR 

Conditions of Selective Vegetation Removal Permit for Out... 19A NCAC 02E .0610* 34:13 NCR 

Beautification and Replanting Requirements for Selective ... 19A NCAC 02E .0611* 34:13 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110* 34:15 NCR 

License Application and Fee 21 NCAC 58A .0302 34:15 NCR 

Petition for Predetermination 21 NCAC 58A .0305 34:15 NCR 

Provisional Broker to be Supervised by Broker 21 NCAC 58A .0506 34:15 NCR 

Procedures for Requesting Hearings When Applicant's Chara... 21 NCAC 58A .0616 34:15 NCR 

Equivalent Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1708 34:15 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Continuing Education Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1710 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Required of Nonresident Brokers 21 NCAC 58A .1711 34:15 NCR 

Extensions of Time to Complete Postlicensing Education 21 NCAC 58A .1903 34:15 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Postlicensing Education Credit 21 NCAC 58A .1904 34:15 NCR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 58H .0101* 34:15 NCR 

Applicability 21 NCAC 58H .0201 34:15 NCR 

Application for Education Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0202* 34:15 NCR 

Education Director 21 NCAC 58H .0203 34:15 NCR 

Policies and Procedures Disclosure 21 NCAC 58H .0204 34:15 NCR 

Course Materials 21 NCAC 58H .0205* 34:15 NCR 

Advertising and Recruitment Activities 21 NCAC 58H .0206 34:15 NCR 

Course Completion Certificates and Reports 21 NCAC 58H .0207* 34:15 NCR 

Education Provider Records 21 NCAC 58H .0208 34:15 NCR 

Expiration and Renewal of Provider Certification 21 NCAC 58H .0209* 34:15 NCR 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 21 NCAC 58H .0210 34:15 NCR 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing Roster Reporting 21 NCAC 58H .0211 34:15 NCR 

School Records 21 NCAC 58H .0212 34:15 NCR 

Evaluations of Instructor Performance 21 NCAC 58H .0213 34:15 NCR 

Expiration and Renewal of a School Approval or License 21 NCAC 58H .0214 34:15 NCR 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of School Approval or ... 21 NCAC 58H .0215 34:15 NCR 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Update Course Instructor... 21 NCAC 58H .0301* 34:15 NCR 

Application and Criteria for Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0302 34:15 NCR 
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Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0303* 34:15 NCR 

Instructor Conduct and Performance 21 NCAC 58H .0304 34:15 NCR 

Digital Video Recordings 21 NCAC 58H .0305 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 21 NCAC 58H .0402* 34:15 NCR 

Commission Created Update Courses 21 NCAC 58H .0403* 34:15 NCR 

Course Scheduling 21 NCAC 58H .0404* 34:15 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Sponsor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0405 34:15 NCR 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 58H .0406 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Elective Course Requirements 21 NCAC 58H .0407 34:15 NCR 

Commission Created Update Courses 21 NCAC 58H .0408 34:15 NCR 

Records and Commission Review 21 NCAC 58H .0409 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Course Scheduling and Notification 21 NCAC 58H .0410 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Course Attendance 21 NCAC 58H .0411 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 58H .0412 34:15 NCR 

Continuing Education Course Cost, Cancellation, and Refunds 21 NCAC 58H .0413 34:15 NCR 

Advertising 21 NCAC 58H .0414 34:15 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0302 APPLICATION FOR LICENSES 

AND CARDS: EXAMINATION 

(a)  Application for licenses under the provisions of G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (c): 

(1) Application for examination shall be on a 

regular form prescribed by the Division. The 

Committee shall approve applications if a 

complete application was submitted to the 

Division and all criteria under G.S. 106-65.26 

has been met. 

(2) Upon approval of the application for 

examination, the Committee secretary shall 

notify the applicant of said approval and 

provide the necessary form(s) for the applicant 

to pre-register for the examination as required 

in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(3) Applications to take the examination shall be 

either typed or printed in ink and sworn to 

before a notary public or some other official 

authorized by law to administer oaths. 

(4) A high-resolution, full-face, head, and shoulder 

photograph of the applicant, taken within the 

preceding 12 months of the date of application, 

and not less than two and one-half inches 

square, shall be attached to the application. 

(5) All applications to take the examination shall be 

retained by the office of the Committee 

secretary. All documents filed in support of an 

application shall be kept by the office of the 

Committee secretary; provided, however, that 

the Committee shall permit such documents to 

be withdrawn upon substitution of a true copy. 

All examinations shall remain the property of 

the Committee. 

(6) An applicant who fails to pass the license 

examination within 12 months of the approval 

of his or her application shall be required to 

provide current information concerning his or 

her qualifications to take the examination to 

ensure that the applicant is still qualified to take 

the examination. 

(7) An applicant who gives or receives 

unauthorized assistance in answering test 

questions from anyone who is not employed by 

the Division during an examination shall be 

dismissed from the examination and his or her 

markings or results shall be voided and said 

applicant's examination fee shall be forfeited. 

Such applicant shall not be permitted to take a 

reexamination for a period of six months from 

the date of the examination. 

(8) No person shall be admitted to the examination 

room except members of the Committee, the 

attorney for the Committee, the examining 

personnel, employees of the Structural Pest 

Control Division, and the applicants for 

licensure. 

(9) Any applicant making a score of 70 percent or 

more on any license examination(s) shall be 

issued a license in that phase(s) of structural 

pest control after submitting a completed 

application with all required fees and insurance 

documents therefor. 

(10) The applicant shall furnish the information 

required by G.S. 106-65.26 and this Rule to 

establish that said applicant possesses 

qualifications as specified in G.S. 106-65.26 of 

the Act for the particular license(s) which he or 

she seeks. The Committee or its authorized 

representatives may, based upon their review of 

the contents of an application, make such 
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investigations as the Committee deems 

necessary to review an applicant's 

qualifications. 

(11) All applicants passing the examination(s) for 

licenses shall apply for said licenses within six 

months from the date on which the 

examinations were taken. If such applicants fail 

to make application for said licenses, within the 

specified period, such applicants shall be 

required to take and pass reexaminations 

covering phases of structural pest control work 

for which licenses were applied before said 

licenses are issued. 

(12) If an applicant for a license fails an 

examination, he or she may review the 

examination at the next scheduled review 

session. 

(b)  Application for certified applicator's identification card under 

the provisions of G.S. 106-65.26(a) and (b): 

(1) Applications filed pursuant to G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (b) shall be on a form 

prescribed by the Division. 

(2) An applicant for a certified applicator's 

identification card in any phase of structural 

pest control shall furnish information as 

specified in G.S. 106-65.26 of the Act to 

establish that said applicant possesses 

qualifications for the particular certified 

applicator's identification card which he or she 

seeks. The Committee or its authorized 

representatives may, based upon their review of 

the contents of an application, make such 

investigations as it deems necessary with 

respect to the applicant's qualifications. 

(3) All applications for certified applicator's 

identification cards under the provisions of G.S. 

106-65.26(a) and (b) shall be retained by the 

office of the Committee secretary. All 

documents filed in support of an application 

shall be kept by the office of the Committee 

secretary; provided, however, that the 

Committee shall at its discretion permit such 

documents to be withdrawn upon substitution 

of a true copy. All examinations shall remain 

the property of the Committee. 

(4) Any applicant making a score of 70 percent or 

more on the core certification examination and 

on any certified applicator's examination(s) 

shall be issued a certified applicator's 

identification card in that phase of structural 

pest control after submitting a completed 

Division's Certified Applicator Card 

application with required fees therefor. 

(5) All applicants passing the examination(s) for 

certified applicator's identification cards shall 

apply for said cards within six months from the 

date on which the examinations were taken. If 

such applicants fail to make application for said 

certified applicator's identification cards within 

the specified period, such applicants shall be 

required to take and satisfactorily pass 

reexaminations covering phases of structural 

pest control work for which certified 

applicator's identification cards were applied 

before said cards are issued. 

(6) If an applicant fails to obtain a certified 

applicator's identification card within 12 

months of passing the core examination the 

applicant shall take and pass a reexamination 

before being eligible for the card. 

(7) Upon receipt of the application for 

examination, the Committee secretary shall 

provide the necessary exam pre-registration 

forms for the applicant to pre-register for the 

examination as required in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(8) If an applicant for a certified applicator's card 

fails an examination, he or she may review the 

examination at the next scheduled review 

session. 

(9) Subparagraphs (a)(2), (5), (7), and (8) of this 

Rule shall also apply to all applicants for 

certified applicator's identification cards. 

(10) Completion of the Registered Technician 

School shall be a prerequisite for the 

certification examination. 

(c)  Pre-registration for license and certified applicator 

examination applicants: 

(1) All applicants for the license or certified 

applicator's examination(s) shall pre-register 

with the Committee secretary for said 

examination(s) no less than 10 days prior to the 

date of the examination. 

(2) Applicants who fail to pre-register shall not be 

permitted to take the examination. 

(3) Pre-registration shall include a completed 

application for examination. 

(d)  Frequency of examination by license applicant limited: 

(1) An applicant who fails to pass the license 

examination on his or her first attempt may 

retake the examination at any subsequent 

scheduled examination. 

(2) An applicant who fails to pass the second 

license examination shall wait a minimum of 

one examination between each subsequent 

examination: except that, in the event of a death 

of a licensee the applicant intending to succeed 

the deceased licensee may take the examination 

a third time prior to the first one examination 

waiting period. 

(3) No applicant shall be permitted to take the 

examination more than six times per year nor 

more than two times in consecutive months, 

except as provided for in Subparagraph (d)(2) 

of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 
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Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; August 3, 1992; January 1, 1991; 

January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0309 RECERTIFICATION 

(a)  Certified applicators and licensees shall be certified for a five-

year period. At the end of said five-year period, a certified 

applicator or licensee, at his or her discretion, may be recertified 

for another five-year period by choosing one of the following 

options: 

(1) reexamination taken between January 1, prior 

to the expiration of the five-year recertification 

period, and June 30; 

(2) for recertification after July 1, 2002: earning 

Continuing Certification Units during the five 

years immediately preceding the expiration 

date of his certification. The number of CCUs 

required shall be as follows: 

(A) recertification in any one phase: 10 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the phase in which 

recertification is desired; 

(B) recertification in any two phases: 15 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase and 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(C) recertification in all three phases: 20 

CCUs total, five of which shall be 

solely applicable to the first phase, 

five solely applicable to the second 

phase, and five solely applicable to the 

third phase in which recertification is 

desired; 

(D) licensees and noncommercial certified 

applicators shall earn at least one of 

the required continuing certification 

units established in Subparagraph 

(a)(3) of this Rule in at least four years 

of the five- year recertification period; 

(E) commercial certified applicators shall 

earn at least one of the required 

continuing certification units 

established in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 

this Rule in at least three years of the 

five-year recertification period; 

(F) continuing certification units shall not 

be carried forward beyond the five-

year recertification period. 

(b)  Licensees holding an inactive license shall be subject to the 

requirements of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; January 1, 1989; August 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

02 NCAC 34 .0328 RECORDS: PESTICIDES AND 

APPLICATION EQUIPMENT USED 

(a)  All structural pest control records required by this Chapter, 

pesticides, and application equipment used by the licensee or 

noncommercial certified applicator shall be maintained at the 

office location to which the license or certified applicator's card is 

issued. During inspections the licensee or his or her employee 

shall be present to provide access to all structural pest control 

records, pesticides, and application equipment, upon request by 

the Division. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule, a licensee may request permission from the Division to 

maintain records, pesticides, and application equipment in a 

location other than the office location specified in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. The Division shall grant permission if its ability to 

regulate the licensee as required in Paragraph (c) of this Rule will 

not be impeded by granting the request. Any such request shall be 

submitted annually. 

(c)  All such records, pesticides, and equipment shall be made 

available for inspection during regular business hours, Monday – 

Friday, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, upon request by the Division. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. August 1, 1980; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0331 ANCILLARY ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Persons engaged in ancillary activities in association with 

control of household pests or wood-destroying organisms as 

indicated in Paragraph (c) of this Rule may be an employee, 

independent contractor, or otherwise, for one or more structural 

pest control licensees and are exempt from structural pest control 

license requirements. 

(b)  Persons conducting ancillary activities shall not engage in any 

duties involving pesticides. 

(c)  Ancillary activities are limited to the following duties: 

(1) Moving of furniture or bedding as defined in 

G.S. 106-65.95. 

(2) Cleaning, maintenance, or repair of property. 

(3) Removing of wood debris and cellulose 

material. 

(4) Removing and replacing of insulation with 

exclusion of removing and replacing insulation 

that is registered as pesticide by the N.C. 

Pesticide Board pursuant to G.S. 143-442. 

(5) Moving of heaters and fans while they are 

powered off, before and after treatment. 

(6) Core drilling of soil, concrete, or other surfaces 

of locations marked for termite bait system 

installation. 

(7) Trenching or excavation of soil, only for 

preparation of termiticide application. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; S.L. 2014-100, s. 

13.10.(b); 

Eff. May 19, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 
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02 NCAC 34 .0501 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECTS: 

EXCLUDING SUBTERRANEAN TERMITES 

(a)  Determining Active Infestations of Wood-Destroying Beetles. 

The licensee, certified applicator, or his or her representative(s) 

making the inspection for wood-destroying beetles shall each be 

responsible for determining the presence or absence of an active 

infestation(s). Before any work is performed for the treatment of 

wood-destroying insects under Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule, 

the licensee or his or her employee shall provide the property 

owner or agent a written proposal including, in addition to that 

information in 02 NCAC 34 .0605, the name(s) of the 

wood-destroying insects(s) to be controlled, that part of the 

structure to be covered under the agreement such as the entire 

structure, understructure only, entire interior of the garage, etc., 

and the basis on which the licensee, certified applicator, or his or 

her representative(s) determined the infestation to be active or 

inactive as set forth herein below: 

(1) Powder Post Beetle(s)(Anobiidae, Bostrichidae 

and Lyctidae) 

(A) The presence of frass, the color of 

fresh cut wood, shall be acceptable as 

evidence of an active infestation of 

powder post beetles. 

(B) The presence of holes alone or holes 

and dull colored frass shall not be 

acceptable evidence of an active 

infestation of powder post beetles 

except in cases where live larvae or 

pupae are found in wood members. 

(C) If an active infestation of powder post 

beetles is found by the Division in any 

structure treated for said beetles, 

during or after the first complete adult 

beetle emergence period within 18 

months of the treatment date, the 

licensee or certified applicator 

responsible for said treatment shall 

retreat the infested areas of the 

structure within 30 days of written 

notice from the Division. Retreatment 

for an active infestation of Powder 

Post Beetles as indicated in Parts (A) 

and (B) of this Subparagraph shall be 

performed, upon request of the 

Division, in the presence of a 

structural pest control inspector. 

(D) If a licensee provides a guarantee, 

warranty, or service agreement in 

connection with a treatment for 

powder post beetles, the period of 

initial liability with regard to active 

infestation shall be 18 months from the 

original treatment date. 

(2) Old House Borer (Hylotrupes bajulus). The 

presence of old house borer or oval exit holes 

with sawdust-like frass consisting of fine 

powder with tiny pellets in oval galleries in pine 

or other softwoods shall constitute evidence of 

an active infestation of the old house borer. The 

sound of feeding larvae of the old house borer 

without the presence of frass shall not constitute 

sufficient evidence of an active infestation. 

(b)  Identifying Other Wood-Destroying Insects. Before 

recommending treatment or selling a service for the prevention or 

control of wood-destroying insects, other than powder post 

beetles or old house borer, the licensee, certified applicator, or 

their representative(s) shall identify the wood-destroying insect(s) 

in question and inform the property owner or his authorized 

representative of the identity and habits of the wood-destroying 

insect(s) in question. 

(c)  Any reapplication of pesticides under this Rule shall be in 

accordance with the label of the pesticide used. 

(d)  Pesticide applications for the prevention of wood-boring 

beetles shall be performed only after informing the property 

owner or their authorized agent in writing of the biology and 

conditions supporting an infestation and survival of said insects. 

Such notice shall include an evaluation of the condition of the 

structure(s) to be treated and a statement as to whether or not such 

condition will support an infestation by wood-boring beetles. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1989; 

August 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0502 PESTICIDES FOR 

SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE PREVENTION AND/OR 

CONTROL 

(a)  Only those products which bear an EPA-approved label for 

such use and for which the Committee has received the following 

information from the Pesticide Registrant or Manufacturer shall 

be used for subterranean termite control: 

(1) A written statement from the pesticide 

registrant that the termiticide is intended either 

for use: 

(A) as a supplement to or in combination 

with other treatment(s); or 

(B) by itself, as the sole source of termite 

control; and 

(2) For termiticides under Part (a)(1)(B) of this 

Rule: 

(A) data to support all efficacy claims 

made on the label, labeling, and any 

promotional materials distributed by 

the registrant or manufacturer; and 

(B) if the Committee approves a 

termiticide under Part (a)(1)(B) and 

the Directions for Use differ from the 

requirements of Rules .0503, .0505, or 

.0506 of this Section, the Committee 

may determine that treatments with 

those termiticides are exempt from all 

or part of the requirements of Rules 

.0503(a)(4) and (6) through (11), 

.0505, or .0506 of this Section, 

provided that the product is labeled for 
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protection of the entire structure and 

the licensee provides a warranty for 

the control of subterranean termites on 

the entire structure. 

(b)  Only those products approved by the Committee based on the 

data submitted pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule shall 

be used for the prevention or control of subterranean termites as 

the sole source of termite control or prevention. The Committee 

shall approve the product if the data submitted supports the 

efficacy claims. 

(c)  Termiticides intended for use as a supplement to or in 

combination with other termiticides shall not be used alone 

without first disclosing the registrants' recommendations to the 

property owner or agent. 

(d)  A list of approved termiticides may be obtained by writing the 

North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, Structural Pest Control and Pestcides Division, 1090 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1090, or by calling (919) 

733-6100. The list can also be obtained online at 

https://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/publications.htm. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; July 1, 1998; 

August 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0503 SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

CONTROL: BUILDINGS AFTER CONSTRUCTION 

(a)  The following standards and requirements apply to the 

treatment of a building for subterranean termite control after 

construction if the building has a basement or crawl space: 

(1) Access openings shall be provided to permit 

inspection of all basement and crawl space 

areas of a building and all open porches. 

(2) Clean up and remove all wood debris and 

cellulose material, such as wood, paper, and 

cloth, contacting soil in all crawl space areas. 

This excludes shavings or other cellulose 

material too small to be raked with the tines of 

an ordinary garden rake. Remove all visible 

stumps from all crawl space areas. Remove all 

visible form boards in contact with soil. 

(3) Remove all earth which is within 12 inches of 

the bottom edges of floor joists or within eight 

inches of the bottom edges of subsills or 

supporting girders, but not below footings of 

foundation walls. If foundation footings are less 

than 12 inches below the bottom edges of joists, 

subsills, or supporting girders, a bank of soil 12 

inches to 18 inches wide shall be left adjacent 

to footings for the purpose of support. 

Clearance shall be adequate to provide passage 

of a person to all crawl space areas of a 

building. 

(4) All visible termite tubes or tunnels on pillars, 

pilasters, foundation walls, chimneys, step 

buttresses, sills, pipes, and other structures 

below the sill line shall be removed. 

(5) Eliminate all wooden parts making contact with 

the building and soil, either outside or inside, as 

follows: 

(A) No wood of any access opening shall 

be in contact with the soil. 

(B) Where wood parts such as door 

frames, partition walls, posts, stair 

carriages, or other wood parts can be 

ascertained to be making direct soil 

contact through concrete or where 

there is evidence of termite activity or 

damage, such wood parts shall be cut 

off above the ground or floor level, the 

wood shall be removed from the 

concrete, and the resulting hole shall 

be filled with concrete or covered with 

a metal plate after the point of contact 

has been treated with a termiticide. 

(C) Where wood parts such as vertical 

wood supports or other wood parts 

under a building or steps outside a 

building are not resting on solid 

masonry or concrete bases extending 

at least two inches above the soil 

surface or are in direct soil contact and 

such supports or steps are not 

removed, the supports and steps shall 

be cut off and set on a solid masonry 

or concrete footing extending at least 

two inches above the ground after the 

point of contact has been treated with 

a termiticide. 

(D) When wood skirting and lattice work 

are suspended, there shall be at least a 

two-inch clearance between the top of 

the soil and the bottom edges of the 

wood skirting or lattice work. If the 

two-inch clearance is not acceptable to 

the property owner, it may be closed 

with solid masonry or concrete, but a 

minimum clearance of one-fourth of 

one inch shall be provided between the 

masonry or concrete and wood. 

(E) Where houses or decks are built on 

pressure-treated wood pilings, pillars, 

or all-weather wood foundations, such 

pilings, pillars, and wood foundation 

members, including wood step 

supports, are not subject to Parts 

(a)(5)(A), (B), or (C) of this Rule. 

(6) Where evidence of either past or present 

subterranean termite infestation exists, drill and 

treat all voids in multiple masonry foundation 

and bearing walls and all voids created by their 

placement at and a minimum distance of four 

feet in all directions from such evidence. Porch 

foundation walls shall be drilled and treated to 
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a distance of three feet from the main 

foundation wall and the point of contact with 

any wooden members. Drill as follows: 

(A) The distance between drill holes shall 

not exceed 16 lineal inches and holes 

shall be no more than 16 inches above 

the footing or, for footings deeper than 

16 inches, above the lowest soil level. 

(B) Test drill the main foundation wall 

behind any porch or slab area to 

determine if the porch or slab is 

supported by a wall whose placement 

creates a void between itself and the 

main foundation wall. If test reveals 

that a void exists, drill and treat all 

voids therein as specified in this Rule. 

(7) Where evidence of either past or present 

subterranean termite infestation exists, drill and 

treat all voids in all multiple masonry pillars, 

pilasters, chimneys, and step buttresses 

associated or in contact with such evidence and 

any void created by their placement. Drill as 

follows: 

(A) The distance between drill holes shall 

not exceed 16 lineal inches and shall 

be no more than 16 inches above the 

footing or, for footings deeper than 16 

inches, immediately above the lowest 

soil level. 

(B) Drilling is not required if solid 

concrete masonry footings of pillars, 

pilasters, chimneys, or step buttresses 

extend eight inches or more above the 

soil surface. 

(8) Where concrete slabs over dirt-filled areas are 

at the level of, above the level of, or in contact 

with wood foundation members, treat dirt-filled 

areas with a termiticide as follows: 

(A) Drill vertically three-eighths of one 

inch or larger holes in the slab, no 

more than six inches from the building 

foundation at no more than 12-inch 

intervals, and treat soil below slab 

from the bottom of the slab to the top 

of the footing; or 

(B) Drill horizontally three-eighths of one 

inch or larger holes in the foundation 

wall of the concrete slab, no more than 

six inches from the building 

foundation every 16 vertical inches 

starting immediately below the bottom 

of the slab, and rod treat all soil 

adjacent to building foundation from 

the bottom of the slab to the lowest 

outside grade. 

(9) Trench or trench and rod treat soil to establish a 

continuous termiticide barrier in the soil 

adjacent to, but not more than six inches from: 

(A) all pillars, pilasters, chimneys, 

pressure-treated wood supports, and 

step buttresses; 

(B) inside of foundation walls; 

(C) outside of foundation walls; and 

(D) the outside of foundation walls of 

concrete slabs over dirt-filled areas, 

and the entire perimeter of a slab 

foundation wall from the top of the 

grade to the top of the footing or to a 

minimum depth of 30 inches, 

whichever is less. 

Where footings are exposed, treatment shall be 

performed adjacent to the footing but not below 

the bottom of the footing. The trench shall be 

no less than six inches in depth or to the bottom 

of the footing, whichever is less. Where outside 

concrete slabs adjacent to the foundation 

prevent trenching of soil, drill three-eighths of 

one inch or larger holes, not more than 12 

inches apart and within six inches of the 

foundation wall, through slabs or through 

adjoining foundation wall, and rod treat soil 

below slabs as indicated above to establish a 

continuous termiticide barrier at all known 

points of entry. The soil around pipes and other 

utility conduits making contact with the 

structure shall be treated. 

(10) Where stucco or similar materials, including 

extruded or expanded rigid foam insulation or 

similar materials, are installed on wood and 

extend to or below grade, trench soil to a depth 

below and under the edge of the stucco or 

similar materials and treat soil to establish a 

continuous termiticide barrier in the soil. After 

the soil has been treated, a masonry barrier wall 

may be erected to hold back the soil from 

making direct contact with the stucco or similar 

materials. Where outside slabs on grade 

adjacent to foundation prevent trenching of soil, 

drill three-eighths of one inch or larger holes 

through slabs within six inches of the 

foundation wall or through adjoining 

foundation wall, not more than 12 inches apart, 

and rod treat soil below slabs. Where drain tile, 

french drains, or other foundation drainage 

systems present a hazard of contamination 

outside the treatment zone, treatment shall be 

performed in a manner that will not introduce 

termiticide into the drainage system. 

(11) The requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule shall be followed if applicable to 

basement or crawl space construction. 

(b)  The following standards and requirements shall apply to the 

treatment of a building for subterranean termite control after 

construction if the building has a slab-on-ground construction: 

(1) Treat soil to establish a continuous termiticide 

barrier in, under, and around all traps and 

openings in the slab. 
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(2) Drill vertically three-eighths inch or larger 

holes at all visible or known expansion and 

construction joints, cracks, and crevices in slab 

and around all utility conduits in the slab at no 

more than 12-inch intervals and rod treat soil 

below slab to establish a continuous termiticide 

barrier from the bottom of the slab to a depth of 

30 inches or to the top of the footing, whichever 

is less, at all known points of entry. Where 

wooden structural members are in contact with 

concrete or masonry floors which have joints or 

cracks beneath the wooden structural members, 

including wall plates in utility or storage rooms 

adjoining the main building, the concrete or 

masonry shall be drilled and treated in order to 

achieve treatment of the soil beneath them; 

however, expansion and construction joints at 

the perimeter of the exterior wall may be rod 

treated by drilling through the foundation wall 

at no more than 12-inch intervals directly below 

the bottom of the slab. 

(3) The requirements set forth in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule shall also be followed, where 

applicable. 

(c)  Reapplication of Pesticide(s) to a Structure Previously Treated 

for Subterranean Termite Control: 

(1) Termiticide shall be reapplied if soil test by the 

Division reveals that the soil is deficient in the 

termiticide which was applied to the soil. 

(2) Any reapplication of pesticides under this Rule 

shall be in accordance with the label of the 

pesticide used. 

(d)  A licensee may enter into a written agreement for the control 

or prevention of subterranean termites in a building after it has 

been constructed without having to comply with Paragraphs (a) 

and (b) of this Rule provided that: 

(1) The licensee has written proof that he or she or 

his or her authorized agent treated the entire 

building for subterranean termites at the time of 

its construction as required in 02 NCAC 34 

.0505 or 02 NCAC 34 .0506 (or comparable 

rules in effect at the time of treatment); and 

(2) A written agreement is issued in compliance 

with 02 NCAC 34 .0605. 

(e)  Paragraphs (a)(3), (a)(6) through (a)(11) and (b) of this Rule 

shall not apply to subterranean termite treatment performed using 

termite bait(s) labeled for protection of the entire structure if the 

licensee provides a warranty for the control of subterranean 

termites on the entire structure. 

(f)  If the licensee uses a termiticide that has been approved by the 

Committee pursuant to 02 NCAC 34 .0502(a)(2)(B) and the 

licensee complies with the requirements of that Part, the licensee 

shall not be required to comply with 02 NCAC 34 .0503(a)(4) and 

(a)(6) through (11). For a list of termiticides the Committee has 

approved under 02 NCAC 34 .0502(a)(2)(B), see 

http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/documents/TTermiticid

esApprovedForUseInNorthCarolinapdf.pdf. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.24; 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1980; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. August 24, 1987 for a period of 30 days to 

expire on September 22, 1987; 

Temporary Repeal Expired Eff. September 22, 1987; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 10, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. October 31, 1997; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; July 1, 2010; August 1, 2002; July 

1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0504 REPORTING DAMAGE: 

INFESTATION: UNINSPECTED AREAS 

(a)  When inspecting for wood-destroying insects or wood-decay 

organisms or both, all wood members of a structure which can be 

ascertained by visual inspection to be damaged shall be brought 

to the attention of the property owner or his authorized agent and 

shall also be indicated in writing, in the contract or agreement, by 

the licensee or his authorized agent. 

(b)  The licensee or his authorized agent shall indicate in writing, 

in the contract or agreement, whether or not he or she is 

responsible for the replacement, repair, or reinforcement of any or 

all of the wood members which were ascertained by visual 

inspection to be damaged. 

(c)  Any visible evidence of infestation of wood-destroying 

organisms in, on, under, or in contact with, a structure shall be 

brought to the attention of the property owner or his authorized 

agent and shall be specified, in writing, in the contract or 

agreement, by the licensee or his authorized agent. 

(d)  The licensee or his or her authorized agent shall indicate and 

describe, in writing, on the contract or agreement, any area(s) of 

the building or crawl space of the building which have not been 

inspected and give the reasons for not making such inspection(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; August 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0505 SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

PREVENTION/RES BLDGS UNDER CONST 

(a)  All treatments performed pursuant to this Rule shall only be 

performed at the label recommended rate and concentration. 

(b)  The following standards and requirements shall apply to the 

treatment of a building for subterranean termite control during 

construction if the building has a basement, crawl space, or slab: 

(1) Establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

by trenching or trenching and rodding along the 

inside of the main foundation wall; the entire 

perimeter of all multiple masonry chimney 

bases, pillars, pilasters, and piers; and both 

sides of partition or inner walls with a 

termiticide from the top of the grade to the top 

of the footing or to a minimum depth of 30 

inches, whichever is less. Where footings are 

exposed, treatment shall be performed adjacent 
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to the footing but not below the bottom of the 

footing. The trench shall be no less than six 

inches in depth or to the bottom of the footing, 

whichever is less. Where drain tile, french 

drains, or other foundation drainage systems 

present a hazard of contamination outside the 

treatment zone, treatment shall be performed in 

a manner that will not introduce termiticide into 

the drainage system. 

(2) After a building or structure has been 

completed and the excavation filled and leveled 

so that the final grade has been reached along 

the outside of the main foundation wall, 

establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

by trenching or trenching and rodding adjacent 

to the outside of the main foundation wall with 

a termiticide from the top of the grade to the top 

of the footing or to a minimum depth of 30 

inches, whichever is less. Where footings are 

exposed, treatment shall be performed adjacent 

to the footing and not below the bottom of the 

footing. The trench shall be no less than six 

inches in depth or to the bottom of the footing, 

whichever is less. Where drain tile, french 

drains, or other foundation drainage systems 

present a hazard of contamination outside the 

treatment zone, treatment shall be performed in 

a manner that will not introduce termiticide into 

the drainage system. 

(3) Establish a horizontal termiticide barrier in the 

soil within three feet of the main foundation, 

under slabs, such as patios, walkways, 

driveways, terraces, gutters, etc., attached to the 

building. The treatment shall be performed 

before slab is poured but after fill material or fill 

dirt has been spread. 

(4) Establish a horizontal termiticide barrier in the 

soil under the entire surface of floor slabs, such 

as basements, porches, entrance platforms, 

garages, carports, breezeways, and sun rooms. 

The treatment shall be performed before slab is 

poured but after fill material or fill dirt has been 

spread. 

(5) Establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

around all critical areas, such as expansion and 

construction joints and plumbing and utility 

conduits, at their point of penetration of the slab 

or floor or, for crawl space construction, at the 

point of contact with the soil. 

(6) If concrete slabs are poured prior to treatment, 

treatment of slabs shall be performed as 

required by 02 NCAC 34 .0503(a) or (b) except 

that the buyer of the property or his or her 

authorized agent may release the licensee from 

further treatment of slab areas under this Rule 

provided such release is obtained in writing on 

the Subterranean Termite Sub-Slab Release 

Form provided by the Division. This form shall 

contain; 

(A) the name of the builder; 

(B) the address of the property; 

(C) an identification of the slab areas not 

treated; 

(D) the name and address of the structural 

pest control company; and 

(E) shall be signed by the company 

representative and the home buyer. 

This form may be obtained by writing the North 

Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, Structural Pest Control and 

Pesticides Division, 1090 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh, NC 27699-1090 or by calling (919) 

733-6100. The form may also be obtained 

online at 

https://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/docu

ments/TERMITICIDESAPPROVEDFORUSE

INNORTHCAROLINA04222019.pdf. 

(c)  Slab-on-Ground Construction. The requirements set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be followed, as applicable, in 

treating slab-on-ground construction. 

(d)  All treating requirements specified in this Rule shall be 

completed within 60 days following the completion of the 

structure, as described in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall not apply to 

subterranean termite treatment performed using termite bait(s) 

labeled for protection of the entire structure if the licensee 

provides a warranty for the control of subterranean termites on the 

entire structure. 

(f)  Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule shall not apply to 

subterranean termite treatment performed using EPA registered 

topically applied wood treatment termiticides labeled for the 

protection of the entire structure if the licensee applies the 

material according to labeled directions and provides a warranty 

for the control of subterranean termites on the entire structure. 

(g)  No later than the date of the completion of any treatment 

performed under this Rule, the licensee or his or her employee 

shall place a durable sticker or label, no less than three inches 

square, on the meter base, circuit breaker box, inside surface of 

kitchen cabinet door, or other readily noticeable location 

providing the following information: 

(1) The statement: "This structure was treated for 

the prevention of subterranean termites. A 

warranty has been issued to the builder. If you 

did not receive your copy of this warranty at 

closing, contact your builder or the company 

below for additional warranty information." in 

boldface type; 

(2) The name, address, and telephone number of 

the company performing the treatment; and 

(3) The date of final treatment. 

(h)  If the licensee uses a termiticide that has been approved by 

the Committee pursuant to 02 NCAC 34 .0502(a)(2)(B) and the 

licensee complies with the requirements of that Part, the licensee 

shall not be required to comply with this Rule. For a list of 

termiticides the Committee has approved under 02 NCAC 

34.0502(a)(2)(B), see 

http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/documents/TTermiticid

esApprovedForUseInNorthCarolinapdf.pdf. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1980; 

Temporary Repeal Eff. August 24, 1987 for a period of 30 days to 

expire on September 22, 1987; 

Temporary Repeal Expired Eff. September 22, 1987; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; 

April 1, 2001; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1991; January 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0506 MIN 

REQUIRE/SUBTERRANEAN TERMITE 

PREV/COMMERCIAL BLDGS UNDER CONST 

(a)  All treatments performed for subterranean termite prevention 

in commercial buildings under construction shall be performed at 

the label recommended rate and concentration only. 

(b)  Licensees shall meet the following Minimum Treatment 

Requirements: 

(1) Establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

by trenching or trenching and rodding along the 

inside of the main foundation wall; the entire 

perimeter of all multiple masonry chimney 

bases, pillars, pilasters, and piers; and both 

sides of partition or inner walls with a 

termiticide from the top of the grade to the 

bottom of the footing or a minimum depth of 30 

inches, whichever is less. Where footings are 

exposed, treatment shall be performed adjacent 

to the footing but not below the bottom of the 

footing. The trench shall be no less than six 

inches in depth or to the bottom of the footing, 

whichever is less. Where drain tile, french 

drains, or other foundation drainage systems 

present a hazard of contamination outside the 

treatment zone, treatment shall be performed in 

a manner that will not introduce termiticide into 

the drainage system. 

(2) After a building or structure has been 

completed and the excavation filled and leveled 

so that the final grade has been reached along 

the outside of the main foundation wall, 

establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

adjacent to the outside of the main foundation 

wall by trenching or trenching and rodding with 

a termiticide from the top of the grade to the top 

of the footing or to a minimum depth of 30 

inches, whichever is less. Where footings are 

exposed, treatment shall be performed adjacent 

to the footing and not below the bottom of the 

footing. The trench shall be no less than six 

inches in depth or to the bottom of the footing, 

whichever is less. Where drain tile, french 

drains, or other foundation drainage systems 

present a hazard of contamination outside the 

treatment zone, treatment shall be performed in 

a manner that will not introduce termiticide into 

the drainage system. 

(3) Establish a horizontal termiticide barrier in the 

soil within three feet of the main foundation, 

under slabs, such as patios, walkways, 

driveways, terraces, and gutters. The treatment 

shall be performed before slab is poured but 

after fill material or fill dirt has been spread. 

(4) Establish a vertical termiticide barrier in the soil 

around all critical areas, such as expansion and 

construction joints and plumbing and utility 

conduits, at their point of penetration of the slab 

of floor, or for crawl space construction, at the 

point of contact with the soil. 

(5) If concrete slabs are poured prior to treatment, 

treatment of slabs shall be performed as 

required by 02 NCAC 34 .0503(a) or (b). 

(c)  Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not apply to subterranean 

termite treatment performed using termite bait(s) labeled for 

protection of the entire structure if the licensee provides a 

warranty for the control of subterranean termites on the entire 

structure. 

(d)  Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall not apply to subterranean 

termite treatments using EPA registered topically applied wood 

treatment termiticides labeled for the protection of the entire 

structure and the licensee applies the material according to labeled 

directions and provides a warranty for the control of subterranean 

termites on the entire structure. When foundation areas contain no 

wood or cellulose components and the wood treatment termiticide 

cannot be applied according to label directions, then applications 

specified in Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule shall be required. 

(e)  If the licensee uses a termiticide that has been approved by 

the Committee pursuant to 02 NCAC 34 .0502(a)(2)(B) and the 

licensee complies with the requirements of that subsection, the 

licensee shall not be required to comply with this Rule. For a list 

of termiticides the Committee has approved under 02 NCAC 34 

.0502(a)(2)(B), see 

http://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/structural/documents/TTermiticid

esApprovedForUseInNorthCarolinapdf.pdf. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0602 WOOD-DESTROYING INSECT 

AND OTHER ORGANISM REPORTS 

(a)  Any written statement as to the presence or absence of 

wood-destroying insects or organisms or their damage in 

buildings or structures for sale shall be on the Wood-Destroying 

Insect Information Report (WDIR 100). An incomplete or 

inaccurate WDIR-100 shall not be acceptable and the issuance of 

such a report is grounds for disciplinary action by the Committee. 

No WDIR-100 shall be issued before an inspection of the building 

or structure is made. Each WDIR-100 issued by a licensee shall 

be kept in the files of said licensee and made available for 

inspection upon request of the Division. 

(b)  If during the inspection of a structure, a licensee or his or her 

authorized agent finds live subterranean termites or visible 

evidence of past or present infestation of subterranean termites 
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such as tubes, damage, cast wings, infested wood scraps, or other 

cellulose materials, etc. in the structure and there is no visible 

evidence that said structure has been treated for subterranean 

termites, the licensee shall treat said structure for subterranean 

termites prior to the issuance of a WDIR-100 on the structure 

which states that the structure is free from subterranean termites 

or that a previous infestation is inactive. 

(c)  If a treatment is performed in conjunction with a WDIR-100, 

a copy of the written agreement and warranty, if any, shall be 

included with or attached to and become a part of the WDIR-100. 

(d)  A licensee, certified applicator, or registered technician shall 

not remove or destroy, or cause the removal or destruction of, any 

wood-destroying organism evidence discovered in, on, under, or 

in or on debris under a structure inspected pursuant to this Rule 

except as required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; September 1, 1987; August 1, 1980; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 10, 1997; 

Temporary Expired Eff. October 31, 1997; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .0703 WRITTEN RECORDS OF 

HOUSEHOLD PEST CONTROL 

(a)  Written records on the treatment for the control of all 

household pests shall be maintained by the licensee and made 

available for inspection at any time during regular business hours 

upon request from the Division. Such records shall include the 

following information: 

(1) Name(s) and address(es) of the property 

owner(s) or his or her authorized 

representative(s); 

(2) Name and address of company represented by 

the certified applicator or licensee or their 

authorized representatives and the license 

number of licensee responsible for the 

treatment; 

(3) Address(es) of property(ies) treated, type(s) of 

treatment(s), and date(s) treatment(s) 

performed; 

(4) Common name(s) of pest(s) to be controlled or 

covered by the initial agreement or any 

subsequent treatments; 

(5) EPA approved brand name of pesticide used; 

(6) Information required by EPA; 

(7) Name of licensee, certified applicator, or 

registered technician making the application; 

and 

(8) For "restricted use pesticides," as defined in 

G.S. 106-65.24(21), the information required 

by Subparagraphs (a)(5), (a)(6), and (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall also be included on the 

customer's copy of the written agreement or 

service record. 

(b)  Noncommercial certified applicators shall maintain and make 

available for inspection the following records of pesticides 

applied: 

(1) EPA approved brand name of all pesticides 

applied; 

(2) Target pest(s); 

(3) Site of application; 

(4) Date of application; 

(5) Name of certified applicator or registered 

technician making the application; and 

(6) Information required by EPA. 

(c)  Records shall be retained for two years beyond the last date 

of treatment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 

Eff. July 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. November 22, 1977; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1989; 

August 20, 1980; August 1, 1980; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

02 NCAC 34 .1206 DECISION OF COMMITTEE 

(a)  The form and content of the Committee's decision in a 

contested case shall be as prescribed by G.S. 150B-42(a), and its 

decision shall be served upon the parties in a manner consistent 

with said statute. 

(b)  The official record of the hearing in a contested case shall 

contain those items specified in G.S. 150B-42(b). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-65.29; 150B-38; 

Eff. May 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0102 ELIGIBLE APPLICATIONS 

All county governments and incorporated municipalities of the 

State are eligible to submit applications. Public authorities, as 

defined by G.S. 159-7, are eligible applicants if they are 

authorized to acquire land or develop facilities for public 

recreation purposes. Eligible applicants may apply jointly for a 

project. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 9, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0102 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0103 FUNDING CYCLE 

Annual funding schedule dates shall be the following: 
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(1) An announcement letter setting the application 

deadline and how to apply shall be mailed to all 

eligible applicants, as described in Rule .0102 

of this Section, by November 1. This 

information shall be made available to other 

interested parties who contact the Department 

of Natural and Cultural Resources 

(Department) at: NC Division of Parks and 

Recreation, 1615 MSC, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-1615, as well as on the 

following website: 

http://www.ncparks.gov/partf. 

(2) Eligible applicants, as described in Rule .0102 

of this Section, shall not request more than five 

hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) in Parks 

and Recreation Trust Fund (PARTF) assistance 

with each application. 

(3) Applications shall be received by the 

Department or its designee or postmarked no 

later than the deadline date stated in the 

announcement letter for the current grant cycle 

pursuant to Item (1) of this Rule. The Parks and 

Recreation Authority will set the deadline date 

for between January 31 and May 30. If the 

deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, 

applications shall be received by the 

Department or postmarked no later than the 

following business day. 

(4) The Authority shall meet within 180 days of the 

application deadline to select projects for 

funding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 143B-135.200; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; June 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0103 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0105 EVALUATIONS OF 

APPLICATIONS 

(a)  In order for an application to be considered complete, an 

application shall include: 

(1) Applicant's basic facts, such as applicant name 

and contact information; 

(2) Description and justification for the project; 

(3) Project costs; 

(4) Source and amount of matching funds; 

(5) Geographic location of the project; 

(6) For projects that include the construction or 

renovation of facilities: 

(A) Project site plan; 

(B) Environmental review; and 

(C) Certification of site control by the 

applicant's attorney, unless the 

construction or renovation is located 

on the property acquired as part of the 

project; and 

(7) For projects that include the acquisition of land: 

(A) Project conceptual plan; 

(B) Identification and legal description of 

the property to be acquired; 

(C) Valuation of the property to be 

acquired; and 

(D) For donated property, a history of the 

property's conveyances. 

(b)  The Department shall review all applications for 

completeness. Each completed application shall be evaluated by 

the Department on the information provided in the application and 

in accordance with the PARTF criteria described in Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule. The Department shall make a recommendation to the 

Authority based on this evaluation. Incomplete applications shall 

be returned to the applicant. 

(c)  The Authority shall review the project evaluations and other 

data prepared by the applicant and by Department staff. Based on 

its review, the Authority shall determine which projects to 

approve for funding. 

(d)  The following criteria shall be used to evaluate projects: 

(1) Public recreation facilities to be constructed or 

renovated as part of the project; 

(2) Documentation of local recreational planning 

for the project;  

(3) The acquisition or the conservation of unique 

natural, cultural, recreational, or scenic 

resources; 

(4) The level of public involvement in developing 

and supporting the project; 

(5) The applicant's commitment to operating and 

maintaining the project, determined by the level 

of staff or volunteer participation devoted to 

operation and maintenance of the project; and 

(6) The suitability of the site for the proposed 

project development. 

(e)  The Authority shall also consider the following factors to 

evaluate projects: the geographic distribution of projects, the 

presence or absence of other funding sources, the population of 

the applicant, the level of compliance with prior grant agreements, 

the amount of funds available, and the amount of funds requested. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2006; August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0105 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0106 GRANT AGREEMENT 

(a)  Upon Authority approval, a written agreement shall be 

executed between the grant recipient(s) and the Department. 

(b)  The agreement shall define the Department's and grant 

recipient's responsibilities and obligations, the project period, 

project scope, and the amount of grant assistance. 
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(c)  The approved application shall become a part of the grant 

agreement. 

(d)  Projects judged to have a significant environmental impact, 

determined in accordance with the State Environmental Policy 

Act (SEPA), found in G.S. 113A, shall submit an environmental 

assessment to the State Environmental Review Clearinghouse for 

review. Any comments received as a result of this submission 

shall be addressed by the applicant prior to execution of the 

project agreement.  

(e)  The grant agreement may be amended upon consent and 

approval by the Department and the grant recipient(s). In order to 

request an amendment, the grant recipient(s) shall submit a 

written request to the Department. The Department shall approve 

the amendment if local circumstances justify the amendment 

request. 

(f)  Projects shall not begin until the Department and grant 

recipient(s) sign the agreement. However, if an applicant submits 

a written request for a waiver for a land acquisition project that 

requires action prior to the anticipated signing of the agreement, 

the Department may grant a waiver, with advice from the 

Authority. A waiver shall be in effect for 24 months from the date 

of approval. A project receiving a waiver shall not receive 

preferential treatment in funding decisions. 

(g)  Following execution of the grant agreement, the Department 

shall reimburse the grant recipient for expenditures related to the 

project scope, as described in the grant agreement. All 

reimbursements shall be approved by the Department and shall 

total an amount that is less than or equal to the grant amount. The 

Department shall approve reimbursement requests for 

expenditures that are related to the project scope and occur during 

the project period.  

(h)  Accounting records that document all expenditures and 

requests for reimbursement shall be submitted by the grant 

recipient(s) to the Department for approval prior to or at the time 

of the close-out inspection, as described in Rule .0110 of this 

Section. The Department shall approve the accounting when the 

records are consistent with the project agreement and budget. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 4, 2000; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2006; April 1, 2003; April 1, 2001; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0106 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0107 MATCHING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The donor of any land must be an individual or private 

organization. 

(b)  If a landowner sells land to the applicant for less than the 

appraised value, the amount of the donation shall be the difference 

between the appraised value and the amount paid by the applicant. 

(c)  The value of capital improvements that are located on the 

donated land and will be used for public recreation may be 

included in the value of the donation. 

(d)  Land that is transferred to the applicant due to a statute or rule 

shall not be considered a donation. 

(e)  The applicant must sign the grant agreement before taking title 

to donated land, unless a waiver, as described in Rule .0106(f) of 

this Section, has been approved. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Eff December 9, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0107 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0108 ELIGIBLE PROJECTS AND 

COSTS 

(a)  PARTF grants shall be awarded to grantees for projects that 

are for the sole purpose of providing local park and recreation 

opportunities to the public. Grantees may receive funds for the 

following types of projects: 

(1) Acquisition. Fee simple acquisition of real 

property for future recreational development 

and to protect areas with natural or scenic 

resources. 

(A) Grantees acquiring property for 

recreation development shall have up 

to five years from when the Authority 

and the applicant sign the grant 

agreement to begin developing 

recreation facilities. 

(B) Grantees acquiring property to protect 

areas with natural or scenic resources 

must open these areas to the general 

public to the extent that the resources 

will not be impaired. 

(2) Development. Projects for the construction, 

expansion, and renovation/repair of the 

following: 

(A) Primary facilities, including outdoor 

and indoor recreation facilities. 

Examples include camping facilities, 

picnic facilities, sports and playfields, 

trails, swimming facilities, 

boating/fishing facilities, spectator 

facilities, and gymnasiums. 

(B) Support facilities and improvements 

such as roads, parking areas, 

accessibility features, utilities, 

landscaping, and other infrastructure 

projects that would have little or no 

recreational value without the primary 

recreation facilities. 

(b)  Other criteria for determining eligible projects and costs 

include: 
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(1) Only development on or acquisition of a single 

project site or a contiguous trail corridor is 

eligible for PARTF assistance. 

(2) Utility lines developed with PARTF assistance 

shall be placed underground. 

(3) The following costs are eligible within the 

limits that are identified below: 

(A) Land acquisition costs such as 

appraisals, surveys, title work, and 

attorney fees. 

(B) Construction costs such as site 

planning, design drawings, 

construction drawings, preparing cost 

estimates, architectural and 

engineering fees, permits, 

construction management, and project 

inspection. 

(C) The cost of preparing an application. 

(D) The costs in Parts (A) through (C) of 

this Subparagraph shall not exceed 20 

percent of the total cost of the project 

or 20 percent of the maximum grant 

amount, whichever is less. These costs 

may be incurred within two years of 

the application deadline as well as 

during the project period. 

(E) A contingency may be included in the 

development cost estimates, but shall 

not exceed five percent of total 

development costs or five percent of 

the maximum grant amount, 

whichever is less. 

(4) PARTF-assisted facilities on school property 

shall not be recreational facilities provided by 

the school for the use of their students. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2006; April 1, 2003; August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0108 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0109 SITE CONTROL AND 

RESTRICTION 

(a)  Land acquired with PARTF assistance shall be restricted in 

perpetuity for local park and recreation purposes for the use and 

benefit of the general public. The restriction shall be recorded in 

the public property records by the grantee. 

(b)  The site of a PARTF project for development shall be 

controlled, such as through fee simple ownership or long-term 

lease, by the grantee by the closing date of the application 

submission period. Any lease agreement shall extend for a 

minimum of 25 years unless the property is the subject of a 

federal, State, or local leasing arrangement that provides 

assurance that 25 years of public recreational use will be 

maintained. 

(c)  Grantees shall assure that PARTF-assisted development 

facilities are maintained and managed for public recreation use for 

a minimum period of 25 years after the completion date set forth 

in the grant agreement. 

(d)  PARTF-assisted land and facilities shall not be converted to 

uses that are other than public recreation without approval by the 

Department, in the following manner: 

(1) A grant recipient shall request approval from 

the Department before any conversion occurs. 

(2) The grant recipient shall receive public 

comments for a period of 30 days regarding the 

proposed conversion and address comments 

received prior to forwarding a conversion 

request to the Department. 

(3) The Department shall deny the request if 

approval would impede access to or result in a 

net loss of recreational opportunities for the 

surrounding community. 

(4) All conversions shall be mitigated with 

measures determined by the Department and 

the grant recipient and approved by the 

Department with advice from the Parks and 

Recreation Authority. 

(5) The primary mitigation measure for a 

conversion is to have the grantee replace, at its 

own expense, land acquired with PARTF 

assistance with land of equal current fair market 

value and recreational usefulness. Recreational 

usefulness shall be determined by public 

recreational need in the surrounding 

community by the grantee, with approval by the 

Department. Facilities built with PARTF 

assistance shall be replaced with facilities of 

equal current replacement value, and 

recreational usefulness. Replacement areas 

shall also: 

(A) be within the grantee's jurisdictional 

boundaries; 

(B) provide or be part of a recreation area; 

and 

(C) be consistent with all application 

requirements for a new PARTF 

application. 

(6) Replacement property and facilities shall be 

encumbered by the same obligations as 

specified in the project agreement and rules of 

this Section for the converted property or 

facility. 

(7) If the Department determines that the local 

government cannot replace the land or 

facilities, the Department may mitigate the 

conversion by the grantee repaying PARTF 

with funds equal to the current value of the land 

or facilities. 

(8) The Department shall include provisions on 

conversions in all grant agreements. 

(e)  If PARTF-assisted facilities are built on public school 

property, the applicant(s) shall submit an agreement with the 

application describing that the facilities will be available to the 
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general public during non-school hours. Projects on land owned 

by a school shall have sign(s) installed informing the public that 

the facilities are open to the general public. These signs shall also 

state the times when the facilities are reserved exclusively for 

school use. 

(f)  Failure by the grantee(s) to comply with the rules of this 

Section or the project agreement may result, in addition to any 

other legal remedies, in the Authority declaring the grantee(s) 

ineligible for further participation in the PARTF until such time 

as compliance has been obtained. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2007; August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0109 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

07 NCAC 13K .0110 INSPECTIONS 

(a)  The Department shall perform progress inspections and a 

close-out inspection of the project site to ensure compliance with 

the grant agreement and eligibility of the grantee(s) for future 

program participation. 

(b)  Grantees shall be responsible for conducting periodic 

inspections, occurring at least once every five years, to ensure 

compliance with the grant agreement and Paragraphs (c) and (f) 

of 07 NCAC 13K .0109.  

(c)  The Department or its designee shall conduct random 

inspections to verify program compliance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-135.56; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1994, for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; 

Transferred from 15A NCAC 12K .0110 Eff. April 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 08 – STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

 

08 NCAC 10B .0103 VOTING PROCEDURES 

(a)  From the time the polls are opened on Election Day until the 

precinct count has been completed, the returns signed, and the 

results declared, no person shall take or remove from the voting 

enclosure election supplies and materials, including official 

ballots, containers of official ballots, provisional official ballots, 

spoiled ballots, the pollbook or voter authorization slips, the 

registration records or any voting units or devices that are part of 

the voting system, except as authorized by G.S. 163-166.9 or 08 

NCAC 10B .0108 to accommodate curbside voters. Provisions for 

removal of election supplies and materials at any time are 

permissible under the emergency management plan of a county 

board of elections in the cases of natural or man-made 

emergencies, pursuant to 08 NCAC 10B .0106. 

(b)  A person seeking to vote shall enter the voting enclosure at 

the voting place through the designated entrance and shall 

communicate the person's name and place of residence to one of 

the election officials. The election official may prompt the voter 

to provide this information. In a primary election, the voter shall 

also state the political party with which the voter affiliates and in 

whose primary the voter desires to vote, or if the voter is an 

unaffiliated voter permitted to vote in the primary of a particular 

party, the voter shall state the name of the authorizing political 

party in whose primary the voter wishes to vote. Unaffiliated voter 

participation in party primaries is subject to authorization by the 

respective State party executive committees pursuant to G.S. 163-

119. Unaffiliated voters who are otherwise qualified may always 

participate in non-partisan primaries. This information, including 

the political party's primary in which the voter elected to 

participate, provided by the voter shall be recorded in the precinct 

pollbook or on the voter authorization slip. The election official 

to whom the voter gives this information shall announce the name 

and residence of the voter so that the information may be heard 

by other officials and observers. After examining the precinct 

registration records, the election official shall state whether the 

person seeking to vote is registered. The election official shall not 

presume the name, address, or party affiliation of any person 

seeking to vote. 

(c)  If the person is found to be registered and is not challenged 

pursuant to G.S. 163-87 or if the challenge is overruled pursuant 

to G.S. 163-88(a), the election official shall provide the voter with 

each official ballot the voter is entitled to vote. In a primary 

election the voter shall be allowed to vote the political party 

ballots the voter is entitled to vote and no others. Unaffiliated 

voters may choose to participate in only one party's primary and 

no others in the same election, or they may choose to vote a 

nonpartisan ballot. In the case of a second primary, unaffiliated 

voters who participated in a party's primary in the first primary 

may only vote that party's ballot in the second primary. However, 

if an unaffiliated voter did not participate in the first primary, the 

voter may choose which party's primary to participate in during 

the second primary.  

(d)  No person shall be denied the option to vote a provisional 

ballot. Reasons a person may vote a provisional ballot include that 

the person: 

(1) is a registered voter in the county and has 

moved into the precinct 30 days or more prior 

to the election and has not reported the change 

to the board of elections;  

(2) claims to have applied for voter registration in 

the county but there is no record of the person's 

name on the registration records;  

(3) was removed from the list, but the person 

maintains eligibility to vote within the county;  

(4) disputes the ballot style to which the person has 

been assigned; or 

(5) on Election Day the person is found not to be 

registered to vote in the precinct and the 

responsible election official learns from the 

person that the person resides in a different 

precinct. In this case, the responsible election 

official shall inform the person that the person 

may vote a provisional ballot at the precinct or 
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may go to the proper precinct under G.S. 163-

55, G.S. 163-57, and G.S. 163-82.15(e). 

(e)  It is the duty of the election official to gather any voter 

information regarding changes of name and address in order to 

assist the county board of elections in updating voter records. If 

the county board of elections has identified a voter's record as 

lacking information or requiring updated information, the 

responsible election official shall require the voter to update the 

information. 

(f)  It is the duty of the election officials to give any voter any 

technical information the voter desires in regard to ballot items. 

In response to questions asked by the voter, the election official 

shall communicate to the voter only technical information 

necessary to enable the voter to vote the ballot. Technical 

information may include the number of pages the ballot contains 

or confirmation that the voter received the correct ballot style. 

(g)  On Election Day the Chief Judge shall assign two precinct 

officials, one from each political party if possible, to keep the 

pollbook or other voting record and to keep the registration list. 

The names of all persons voting shall be checked on the 

registration record and entered on the pollbook or other voting 

record. In an election where observers may be appointed pursuant 

to G.S. 163-45, each voter's party affiliation shall be entered in the 

proper column of the pollbook or other record approved by the 

State Board opposite the voter's name. The designated official 

shall make each entry at the time the ballots are handed to the 

voter. The information about the voter's political party registration 

shall be obtained from the registration record and not from the 

voter. 

(h)  Election officials must ensure that registration records are 

kept secure and do not leave the voting enclosure for any purpose. 

Observers appointed pursuant to G.S. 163-45 are entitled to obtain 

a list of the persons who have voted in the precinct so far in that 

election day at least at the following times: 10 a.m., 2 p.m. and 4 

p.m. Counties using authorization to vote documents as opposed 

to traditional pollbooks may comply with the requirement by 

permitting each observer to inspect election records so that the 

observer may create a list of persons who have voted in the 

precinct.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 163-22; 163-166.7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 23, 2019; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0202 THE LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 131D-2.4, the 

Department shall issue an adult care home license to any person 

who submits the application material according to Rule .0204 of 

this Section and the Department determines that the applicant 

complies with the provisions of all State adult care home licensure 

statutes and rules of this Subchapter. All applications for a new 

license shall disclose the names of individuals who are co-owners, 

partners, or shareholders holding an ownership or controlling 

interest of five percent or more of the applicant entity. 

(b)  The license shall be posted in a publicly viewable place in the 

home. 

(c)  When a provisional license is issued according to G.S. 131D-

2.7, the administrator shall post the provisional license and a copy 

of the notice from the Division of Health Service Regulation 

identifying the reasons for it, in a publicly viewable place in the 

home and in place of the full license. 

(d)  The license is not transferable or assignable. 

(e)  An adult care home shall be licensed only as an adult care 

home and not for any other level of care or licensable entity or 

service. The license shall be terminated when the home is licensed 

to provide a higher level of care or a combination of a higher level 

of care and adult care home level of care. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.7; 131D-

2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0204 APPLYING FOR A LICENSE TO 

OPERATE A FACILITY NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED 

(a)  Prior to submission of a license application, all Certificate of 

Need requirements shall be met according to G.S. 131E, Article 

9. 

(b)  In applying for a license to operate an adult care home to be 

constructed or renovated, or in an existing building that is not 

currently licensed, the applicant shall submit the following to the 

Division of Health Service Regulation: 

(1) the Initial License Application that is available 

online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/fcchgapp.

pdf at no cost and includes the following:  

(A) contact person, facility site and 

mailing addresses, and administrator; 

(B) operation disclosure including names 

and contact information of the 

licensee, management company, and 

building owner; 

(C) ownership disclosure including names 

and contact information of owners, 

principals, affiliates, shareholders, and 

members; and 

(D) bed capacity including that of any 

special care unit for Alzheimer's and 

Related Disorders; 

(2) plans and specifications as required in Section 

.0300 of this Subchapter and a construction 

review fee according to G.S. 131E-267 to be 

calculated and invoiced by the DHSR 

Construction Section; 

(3) an approved fire and building safety inspection 

report from the local fire marshal to be 
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submitted upon completion of construction or 

renovation; 

(4) an approved sanitation report or a copy of the 

permit to begin operation from the sanitation 

division of the county health department to be 

submitted upon completion of construction or 

renovation; 

(5) a nonrefundable license fee as required by G.S. 

131E-272; and 

(6) a certificate of occupancy or certification of 

compliance from the local building official to 

be submitted upon completion of construction 

or renovation. 

(c)  Issuance of an adult care home license shall be based on the 

following: 

(1) completion of and approval in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the Division of Health Service Regulation's 

Construction Section's recommendation of 

licensure based on compliance with rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter; 

(3) a compliance history review of the facility and 

its principals and affiliates according to G.S. 

131D-2.4; 

(4) approval by the Adult Care Licensure Section 

of the facility's operational policies and 

procedures based on compliance with the rules 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the facility's demonstration of compliance with 

Adult Care Home statutes and rules of this 

Subchapter as determined by a pre-licensing 

survey of the facility by the Adult Care 

Licensure Section. 

(d)  The Adult Care Licensure Section shall notify in writing the 

applicant licensee and the county department of social services of 

the decision to license or not to license the adult care home based 

on compliance with adult care home statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter within 14 days from the decision to license or not to 

license the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0208 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  The licensee shall file a license renewal application annually 

on a calendar year basis on the forms provided by the Department 

at no cost with a nonrefundable annual license fee according to 

G.S. 131D-2.5. The renewal application form includes the 

following: 

(1) contact person, facility site and mailing address, 

and administrator; 

(2) operation disclosure including names and 

contact information of the licensee, 

management company, and building owner; 

(3) ownership disclosure including names and 

contact information of owners, principals, 

affiliates, shareholders, and members holding 

an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity; 

(4) bed capacity including that of any special care 

unit for Alzheimer's and Related Disorders; and 

(5) population and census data. 

(b)  In determining whether to renew a license under G.S. 131D-

2.4, the Department shall take into consideration at least the 

following: 

(1) the compliance history of the applicant facility 

with the provisions of all State adult care home 

licensure statutes and rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) the compliance history of the owners, 

principals, and affiliates of the applicant facility 

in operating other adult care homes in the State; 

(3) the extent to which the conduct of the licensee, 

including owners, principals, affiliates, and 

persons and those with indirect control as 

defined in Rule .0201 of this Section, is likely 

to affect the quality of care at the applicant 

facility; and 

(4) the hardship on residents of the applicant 

facility if the license is not renewed. 

(c)  When violations of licensure rules or statutes are documented 

by the Department and have not been corrected by the facility 

prior to license expiration, the Department shall either approve a 

continuation or extension of a plan of correction, issue a 

provisional license, or deny the license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0209 CONDITIONS FOR LICENSE 

RENEWAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 143B-

165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2020. 
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10A NCAC 13F .0212 DENIAL OR REVOCATION OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  A license may be denied by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation for failure to comply with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Denial of a license by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation shall be effected by mailing to the applicant licensee, 

by registered mail, a notice setting forth the particular reasons for 

such action. 

(c)  A license may be revoked by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation in accordance with G.S. 131D-2.7(b) and G.S. 131D-

29. 

(d)  When a facility receives a notice of revocation, the 

administrator shall inform each resident and the resident's 

responsible person in writing of the notice and the basis on which 

it was issued within five calendar days of the notice of revocation 

being received by the licensee of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-

4.3; 131D-29; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0202 THE LICENSE 

(a)  Except as otherwise provided in G.S. 131D-2.4, the 

Department of Health and Human Services shall issue a family 

care home license to any person who submits the application 

material according to Rule .0204 of this Section and the 

Department determines that the applicant complies with the 

provisions of all State adult care home licensure statutes and rules 

of this Subchapter. All applications for a new license shall 

disclose the names of individuals who are co-owners, partners, or 

shareholders holding an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity. 

(b)  The license shall be posted in a publicly viewable place in the 

home. 

(c)  When a provisional license is issued according to G.S. 131D-

2.7, the administrator shall post the provisional license and a copy 

of the notice from the Division of Health Service Regulation 

identifying the reasons for it, in a publicly viewable place in the 

home and in place of the full license. 

(d)  The license is not transferable or assignable. 

(e)  A family care home shall be licensed only as a family care 

home and not for any other level of care or licensable entity or 

service. The license shall be terminated when the home is licensed 

to provide a higher level of care or a combination of a higher level 

of care and family care home level of care. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.7; 131D-

2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0204 APPLYING FOR A LICENSE TO 

OPERATE A HOME NOT CURRENTLY LICENSED 

(a)  An application for a license to operate a family care home for 

adults in an existing building where no alterations are necessary 

as determined by the Construction Section of the Division of 

Health Service Regulation or a family care home that is to be 

constructed, added to, or renovated shall be made at the county 

department of social services in the county where the licensed 

family care home will be located. 

(b)  The applicant shall submit the following material to the 

county department of social services for submission to the 

Division of Health Service Regulation within 10 business days of 

receipt by the county department of social services: 

(1) the Initial Licensure Application that is 

available online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/acchgapp

.pdf at no cost and includes the following: 

(A) contact person, facility site and 

mailing addresses, and administrator; 

(B) operation disclosure including names 

and contact information of licensee, 

management company, and building 

owner; 

(C) ownership disclosure including names 

and contact information of owners, 

principals, affiliates, shareholders, and 

members; and 

(D) bed capacity; 

(2) an approval letter from the local zoning 

jurisdiction for the proposed location; 

(3) a photograph of each side of the existing 

structure and at least one of each of the interior 

spaces if an existing structure; 

(4) a set of blueprints or a floor plan of each level 

indicating the following: 

(A) the layout of all rooms; 

(B) the room dimensions (including 

closets); 

(C) the door widths (exterior, bedroom, 

bathroom, and kitchen doors); 

(D) the window sizes and window sill 

heights; 

(E) the type of construction; 

(F) the use of the basement and attic; and 

(G) the proposed resident bedroom 

locations including the number of 

occupants and the bedroom and 

number (including the ages) of any 

non-resident who will be residing 

within the home; 

(5) a cover letter prepared by the adult home 

specialist of the county department of social 

services stating the following: 
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(A) the prospective home site address; 

(B) the name of the contact person 

(including address, telephone 

numbers, email address); and 

(C) the name and address of the applicant 

(if different from the contact person); 

and 

(6) a non-refundable license fee as required by G.S. 

131E-272. 

(c)  Issuance of a family care home license shall be based on the 

following: 

(1) completion of and approval in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(6) of this 

Rule; 

(2) the Division of Health Service Regulation's 

Construction Section's recommendation of 

licensure based on compliance with rules in 

Section .0300 of this Subchapter; 

(3) a compliance history review of the facility and 

its principals and affiliates according to G.S. 

131D-2.4; 

(4) approval by the Adult Care Licensure Section 

of the facility's operational policies and 

procedures based on compliance with the rules 

of this Subchapter; and 

(5) the facility's demonstration of compliance with 

Adult Care Home statutes and rules of this 

Subchapter as determined by a pre-licensing 

survey of the facility by the Adult Care 

Licensure Section. 

(d)  The Adult Care Licensure Section shall notify in writing the 

applicant licensee and the county department of social services of 

the decision to license or not to license the adult care home based 

on compliance with adult care home statutes and the rules of this 

Subchapter within 14 days from the decision to license or not to 

license the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.5; 131D-

2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 

ARRC Objection Lodged November 14, 1990; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1991; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; July 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0208 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  The licensee shall file a license renewal application annually 

on a calendar year basis on the forms provided by the Department 

at no cost with a nonrefundable annual license fee according to 

G.S. 131D-2.5. The renewal application includes the following: 

(1) contact person, facility site and mailing address, 

and administrator; 

(2) operation disclosure including names and 

contact information of the licensee, 

management company, and building owner; 

(3) ownership disclosure including names and 

contact information of owners, principals, 

affiliates, shareholders, and members holding 

an ownership or controlling interest of five 

percent or more of the applicant entity; 

(4) bed capacity; and 

(5) population and census data. 

(b)  In determining whether to renew a license under G.S. 131D-

2.4, the Department shall take into consideration at least the 

following: 

(1) the compliance history of the applicant facility 

with the provisions of all State adult care home 

licensure statutes and rules of this Subchapter; 

(2) the compliance history of the owners. principals 

and affiliates of the applicant facility in 

operating other adult care homes in the State; 

(3) the extent to which the conduct of the licensee, 

including owners, principals, affiliates, and 

persons and those with indirect control as 

defined in Rule .0201 of this Section, is likely 

to affect the quality of care at the applicant 

facility; and 

(4) the hardship on residents of the applicant 

facility if the license is not renewed. 

(c)  When violations of licensure rules or statutes are documented 

by the Department and have not been corrected by the facility 

prior to license expiration, the Department shall either approve a 

continuation or extension of a plan of correction, issue a 

provisional license, or deny the license. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 131D-

4.5; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; 

April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0209 CONDITIONS FOR LICENSE 

RENEWAL 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 131D-

4.5; 143B-165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0212 DENIAL AND REVOCATION OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  A license may be denied by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation for failure to comply with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Denial of a license by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation shall be effected by mailing to the applicant licensee, 

by registered mail, a notice setting forth the particular reasons for 

such action. 
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(c)  A license may be revoked by the Division of Health Service 

Regulation in accordance with G.S. 131D-2.7(b) and G.S. 131D-

29. 

(d)  When a facility receives a notice of revocation, the 

administrator shall inform each resident and the resident's 

responsible person in writing of the notice and the basis on which 

it was issued within five calendar days of the notice of revocation 

being received by the licensee of the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.7; 131D-2.16; 131D-

4.3; 131D-29; 143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1984; May 1, 1981; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0213 APPEAL OF LICENSURE 

ACTION 

 

History Note: Authority 131D-2.4; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

150B-23; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0109 RULEMAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 

Eff. May 1, 1988; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0111 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0704 INVESTIGATION FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0704 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 04C .0103 WHO MAY ASSESS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-55; 113A-64; 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

15A NCAC 04C .0106 CRITERIA 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-54(b); 113A-55; 

113A-64(a); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; April 1, 1978; 

Repealed Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0601 SELECTIVE VEGETATION 

REMOVAL PERMIT REQUIRED TO REMOVE 

VEGETATION FROM STATE HIGHWAY RIGHT-OF-

WAY 

Selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of vegetation 

within highway rights-of-way may be permitted only for opening 

views to business facilities and legally erected forms of outdoor 

advertising that are located adjacent to State highway rights-of-

way, as described in G.S. 136-93(b). For purposes of selective 

vegetation removal permitting, "business facilities," hereinafter 

referred to as "facilities," are defined as office, institutional, 

commercial, and industrial buildings. In accordance with G.S. 

136-93.3, agritourism activities, as defined in G.S. 99E-30, are 

considered facilities under this Section. The following 

requirements apply to facilities under this Section: 

(1) all facilities, except for agritourism activities, 

shall include at least one permanent structural 

building; 

(2) the building shall have all required local and 

State permits, be related to the facility's 

function, and be open and operational on a year-

round basis; and 

(3) any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

vegetation allowed pursuant to G.S. 136-93(b) 

shall be performed by the permittee or his or her 

agent at no cost to the Department of 

Transportation and shall comply with this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-

18(9); 136-93(b); 136-93.3; 

Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 

Expire on June 1, 1982; 

Eff. June 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; November 1, 2012; June 2, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0602 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR A FACILITY 

(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 

pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) at a facility shall be 

made by the owner of the facility and sent to the Division 

Engineer of the North Carolina Department of Transportation 

(NCDOT), Division of Highways. Applications shall be 

submitted in both printed and electronic form. Application 

submittal information for each county is found on the NCDOT 
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Selective Vegetation Removal website 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/resources/roadside/Pages/Selective-

Vegetation-Removal-Permits.aspx. Applications for selective 

vegetation removal permits shall include the following 

information: 

(1) the applicant contact information; 

(2) the name and location of the facility; 

(3) the indication of request for either a business 

facility or agritourism activity; 

(4) a municipal review indication, if applicable; 

(5) the requested use of and site access for power-

driven equipment in accordance with Rule 

.0604(21) of this Section; 

(6) a performance bond or certified check or 

cashier's check pursuant to G.S. 136-93; 

(7) if using a contractor for vegetation removal 

work, identify the contractor and his or her 

qualifications if the contractor is not listed on 

the Department's website directory of qualified 

transportation firms; 

(8) a payment of non-refundable two hundred 

dollar ($200.00) permit fee, pursuant to G.S. 

136-18.7; 

(9) a certificate of liability, and proof of worker's 

compensation and vehicle liability insurance 

coverage; 

(10) a geographic information system document and 

property tax identification number to verify 

location of the facility in relation to municipal 

limits; 

(11) a verification of on-site marking and tree-

tagging requirements; 

(12) a sketch, or amended sketch of the requested cut 

zone and information about trees to be cut, 

thinned, pruned, or removed in accordance with 

Rule .0604(10) of this Section; 

(13) if applicable, certification that the applicant has 

permission from the adjoining landowner(s) to 

access their private property for the purpose of 

conducting selective vegetation removal permit 

activities; 

(14) a certification that the facility qualifies as an 

agritourism activity as required by G.S. 136-

93.3; and 

(15) the applicant's notarized signature. 

(b)  Selective vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal for 

opening views to facilities shall be permitted only for the 

permittee's facilities adjacent to highway right-of-way at locations 

where the facilities have been constructed or where agritourism 

activities are carried out as set forth in G.S. 136-93.3 and Rule 

.0601 of this Section. Complete removal of all trees and other 

vegetation shall not be permitted. Dogwood trees and redbud trees 

shall be preserved. Other trees shall be preserved if they are not 

screening the facility from view, and when measured at six inches 

above the ground, equal four or more caliper inches in diameter. 

Trees, shrubs, and other vegetation less than four caliper inches in 

diameter may be removed. Trees, shrubs, and other vegetation that 

are four or more caliper inches in diameter, as measured at six 

inches above the ground, and not to be preserved, may be cut, 

thinned, pruned, or removed if approved by the Division Engineer 

having jurisdiction or that Division Engineer's designee. All 

vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal shall be in 

accordance with the current edition of the American National 

Standard for Arboricultural Operations-Safety Requirements 

ANSI Z133 that is hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of the Standard may 

be obtained from the International Society of Arboriculture (ISA) 

for a twenty dollars ($20.00) cost. The ISA may be contacted at 

270 Peachtree Street NW, Suite 1900, Atlanta, GA 30303 or by 

accessing the website: http:/www.isa-

arbor.com/store/product/122. 

(c)  Applications shall be accompanied by a sketch showing the 

requested limits of the selective cutting, thinning, pruning, or 

removal of vegetation. For facilities, the limits of selective 

cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal shall be restricted to one 

area of right-of-way adjacent to frontage property of the facility, 

but not to exceed 1,000 contiguous linear feet. Facilities with 

frontage property on opposite sides of the State highway right-of-

way may split the maximum vegetation removal distance between 

the two sides of the highway, resulting in a total of two contiguous 

cutting or removal distances along frontage property, with the 

total of the two sides not exceeding 1,000 linear feet. The 

permitted limits of the selective vegetation removal permit shall 

not be altered for subsequent applications. The applicant shall also 

include on the sketch the location, species, and caliper inches of 

all trees desired for cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal, that 

have a diameter of four or more caliper inches, as measured six 

inches above ground level, at the time of the application. . 

(d)  The selective vegetation removal request may be reviewed on 

site by Department personnel and a representative of the 

applicant. 

(e)  In accordance with G.S. 136-93(d), if the application for 

vegetation cutting is for a site located within the corporate limits 

of a municipality and the municipality has previously advised the 

Division Engineer in writing of its desire to review such 

applications, the applicant shall deliver the application to the 

municipality at least 30 days prior to submitting the application to 

the Department, so the municipality may be given the opportunity 

to review the application. Information regarding whether a 

municipality desires to review vegetation removal applications 

may be found on the Department's Selective Vegetation Removal 

website or by contacting the Division Engineer's office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-

18(9); 136-18.7; 136-93; 136-93.3;  

Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 

Expire on June 1, 1982; 

Eff. June 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 16, 1991; December 1, 1990; August 1, 

1985; June 2, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 16, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 
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19A NCAC 02E .0603 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF 

SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR A 

FACILITY 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 136-133.2, within 30 days following receipt 

of the application for a selective vegetation removal permit for a 

facility, including the fee set out in G.S. 136-18.7, the Division 

Engineer shall approve or deny the application. The applicant, as 

part of the application, shall state in writing the date that he or she 

has delivered a copy of the application, with required attachments, 

to a municipality that has previously advised the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation (NCDOT) in writing that it seeks to 

provide comments regarding such applications. The applicant 

shall deliver the application to the municipality at least 30 days 

prior to submitting the application to the Department. The list of 

municipalities requesting to review applications shall be 

maintained and updated by the Department on the NCDOT 

Selective Vegetation Removal website 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/resources/roadside/Pages/Selective-

Vegetation-Removal-Permits.aspx. If written notice of approval 

or denial is not given to the applicant within the 30-day 

Department review period, then the application shall be deemed 

approved. If the application is denied, the Division Engineer shall 

advise the applicant, in writing, of the reasons for denial. 

(b)  The application shall be denied by the Division Engineer if: 

(1) the application is for the opening of view to a 

facility that does not meet the requirements of 

Rule .0601 of this Section; 

(2) it is determined by Department personnel that 

the facility is not screened from view; 

(3) the application is for the opening of view to 

undeveloped property or to a facility that, due 

to obstructions off the right-of-way, is screened 

from view from the travel way regardless of the 

presence or absence of trees and other 

vegetation on the highway right-of-way; 

(4) it is determined by Department personnel that 

removal of vegetation shall diminish a planting 

installed for headlight screening and affect the 

safety of the traveling public; 

(5) the application is solely for providing visibility 

to on-premise signs; 

(6) the application is for the removal of vegetation 

planted in accordance with a local, State, or 

federal beautification project. However, this 

Subparagraph shall not apply if a mitigation 

replanting plan related to the site for which the 

vegetation permit request is made as set forth in 

Rule .0611 of this Section, except for the 

provisions in Paragraph (d) and Subparagraph 

(g)(11); and is agreed upon in writing by the 

applicant, the Department, and, if applicable, 

the Federal Highway Administration; 

(7) on two previous occasions, the applicant failed 

to meet the requirements of a selective 

vegetation removal permit, unless the applicant 

engages a landscape contractor to perform the 

current work; 

(8) the application is for removal of vegetation that 

will open views to junkyards; 

(9) the applicant fails to complete the requirements 

of the application as set forth in Rule .0602 of 

this Section; 

(10) any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

vegetation encompassing the entirety of the 

maximum vegetation cutting or removal zone is 

prohibited due to conditions affecting the right-

of-way to which the State is subjected or agrees 

in writing to subject itself, including 

conservation agreements, or due to the 

application at any time of State or federal rules, 

regulations, or statutes, including any 

conditions mandated as part of the issuance of 

a permit to the Department for a construction 

project by a State or federal agency with 

jurisdiction over the project; or 

(11) an unlawful destruction or illegal cutting of 

vegetation has occurred within the highway 

right-of-way to create, increase, or improve a 

view to the facility from the travel way 

including acceleration and deceleration ramps. 

The Department shall not issue a selective 

vegetation removal permit at the requested site 

for a period of five years that shall begin on the 

date the Department resolves the "unlawful 

destruction" or "illegal cutting" incident by 

settlement agreement with the responsible 

party, or the Department administratively 

closes the case. For the purposes of this 

Subparagraph, "unlawful destruction or illegal 

cutting" is defined as the destruction or cutting 

of trees, shrubs, or other vegetation on the 

State-owned or State-maintained rights-of-way 

by anyone other than the Department or its 

authorized agents, or without written 

permission of the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 99E-30; 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 

136-18(9); 136-93; 136-93.3; 136-130; 

Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 

Expire on June 1, 1982; 

Eff. June 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; November 1, 1991; December 1, 

1990; August 1, 1985; June 2, 1982; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; November 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0604 CONDITIONS OF SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR FACILITIES 

The following apply to the conditions of selective vegetation 

removal permit for facilities: 

(1) Selected vegetation, within the approved limits 

as set forth in Rule .0602(c) of this Section may 

be cut, thinned, pruned, or removed by the 

permittee in accordance with the standards set 

out in G.S. 136-133.4; 

(2) The permittee shall furnish a Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check made 
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payable to North Carolina Department of 

Transportation (NCDOT) for the sum of two 

thousand dollars ($2,000). The Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check shall 

cover all restoration of the right-of-way to the 

condition prior to the occurrence of the damage 

caused by the permittee or the permittee's agent, 

if damage occurs during the permitted selective 

vegetation removal. The Performance Bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check shall be paid 

with the application before each permit to cut 

vegetation is issued. The Performance Bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check shall run 

concurrently with the permit. The Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check shall 

be released after a final inspection of the work 

by the Department reveals that all work 

provided for and specified by the permit is 

found to be completed and, if damage is caused 

by the permittee or the permittee's agent, all 

damages to the right-of-way, including damage 

to fencing and other structures within the right-

of-way, have been repaired or restored; 

(3) Companies that plan to apply for two or more 

permits may provide continuing bonds for the 

sum of one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) and that type of bond shall be kept 

on file by the Utilities Unit of the Department; 

(4) If the work is to be performed by any entity 

other than the permittee, either the permittee or 

the other entity shall furnish the Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check, as 

described in this Rule, for all work provided for 

and specified by the permit. Required forms for 

all bonds are available upon request from the 

Department and may be found on the NCDOT 

Selective Vegetation Removal website: 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/resources/roadside/P

ages/Selective-Vegetation-Removal-

Permits.aspx. Bonds shall be furnished with the 

selective vegetation removal application form, 

and to the official assigned to receive selective 

vegetation removal applications at the local 

North Carolina Department of Transportation, 

Division of Highways Office; 

(5) The permittee shall provide proof of liability 

insurance coverage of five million dollars 

($5,000,000). Whoever performs the work, the 

permittee, his or her contractor, or agent, shall 

maintain workers' compensation and vehicle 

liability insurance coverage. The permittee, his 

or her contractor, and agent shall be liable for 

any losses due to the negligence or willful 

misconduct of his or her agents, assigns, and 

employees. The permittee, in lieu of providing 

proof of liability insurance as described in this 

Item, may be shown as an additional insured on 

the general liability policy of the approved 

contractor or agent to perform the permitted 

work if the contractor or agent's policy provides 

five million dollars ($5,000,000) in coverage, 

and the permittee provides the Department with 

proof of the coverage. The permittee, 

contractor, or agent providing the coverage 

shall also name the Department as an additional 

insured on its general liability policy, and 

provide the Department with a copy of the 

certificate showing the Department named as an 

additional insured. The required limit of 

insurance may be obtained by a single general 

liability policy, the combination of a general 

liability and excess liability, or an umbrella 

policy; 

(6) The permittee shall provide a document 

verifying the requested selective vegetation 

removal site location in relationship to 

corporate limits of a municipality. The 

document shall be a current geographic 

information system map of the nearest 

municipality, with color-coded boundary lines, 

a corresponding key or legend indicating 

corporate limits and territorial jurisdiction 

boundaries, and indicating the precise location 

of the business facility. The permittee shall also 

provide the property tax identification number 

for the parcel where the facility is located. The 

Department may require additional information 

if the boundary or facility location remains in 

question; 

(7) Access from the highway main travel way shall 

be allowed only for surveying or delineation 

work in preparation for and processing of an 

application for a selective vegetation removal 

permit; 

(8) The permittee shall perform site marking of the 

maximum vegetation cut or removal zone. The 

applicant shall mark the permitted cutting 

distances according to Rule .0602(c) of this 

Section. The two maximum points along the 

right-of-way boundary (or fence if there is a 

control of access fence) shall be marked with 

visible flagging tape. The two maximum points, 

corresponding to the beginning point and the 

ending point along the edge of the pavement of 

the travel way, perpendicular to the maximum 

points marked along the right-of-way 

boundary, shall be marked with spray paint. If 

the facility is located next to an acceleration or 

deceleration ramp, the two corresponding 

maximum points shall be marked along the 

edge of the pavement of the travel way of the 

ramp instead of the mainline of the roadway; 

(9) The permittee shall perform tagging of trees. 

The permittee shall tag with visible material or 

flagging any trees that screen the facility from 

view, have been requested to be cut, thinned, 

pruned, or removed within the maximum 

vegetation cut or removal zone, and have a 
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diameter of four or more caliper inches, as 

measured at six inches above the ground and at 

the time of the application. Trees tagged for 

cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal shall 

match the trees shown on the required sketch of 

the requested vegetation cut or removal zone; 

(10) The Department may disapprove the requested 

cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

selected trees that do not screen the facility 

from view from the roadway, and have a 

diameter of four or more caliper inches, as 

measured at six inches above the ground, at the 

time of the application. The Department shall 

make this determination by allowing selective 

thinning of tree density that opens the view to 

the facility or agritourism activities across the 

entire length of the maximum cut or removal 

zone, without complete removal of all trees and 

other vegetation. The Department shall 

disapprove cutting, thinning, pruning, or 

removal of trees that may have been tagged in 

error. If trees are disapproved for cutting, 

thinning, pruning, or removal, the Department 

shall specify those trees to the applicant during 

the site review. The applicant shall remove the 

tree flagging for the disapproved trees and 

submit to the Department, by electronic means 

(including electronic mail or facsimile), an 

amended version of the original sketch of the 

site, indicating the changes on the sketch, 

initialing, and dating the changes thereon; 

(11) If any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

vegetation from any portion of the entirety of 

the maximum vegetation cutting or removal 

zone is prohibited due to conservation 

easements, conditions, other restrictions 

affecting the right-of-way to which the State is 

subjected, written agreements, State or federal 

rules, regulations, statutes, or permits, the 

permittee shall comply with applicable 

easements, rules, regulations, statutes, or 

permits for those portions of vegetation: 

(a) If applicable easements, rules, 

regulations, statutes, or permits allow 

certain degrees and methods of 

cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal 

for portions of vegetation, the 

permittee shall comply with 

applicable easements, State or federal 

rules, regulations, statutes, or permits, 

including equipment type 

specifications for those portions of 

vegetation; and 

(b) Portions of the maximum cutting or 

removal zone not within an easement, 

nor applicable to rules, regulations, 

statutes, or permits regulating 

vegetation removal, and other 

activities shall be governed by 

standards set out in G.S. 136-93; 

(12) The permittee shall adhere to erosion control 

requirements, pursuant to G.S. 113, Article 4; 

entitled:  

(13) A Division of Highways Inspector may be 

present while work is underway. The presence 

or absence of a Division of Highways inspector 

at the work site does not lessen the permittee's 

responsibility for conformity with the 

requirements of the permit. If a present 

inspector fails to acknowledge or identify work 

that does not conform with the requirements, 

this failure shall not prevent later notification to 

the permittee that the work is noncompliant 

with the permit; 

(14) A selective vegetation removal permit shall be 

secured for each applicable facility prior to 

performing any vegetation removal work. The 

permittee, its contractor, or agent shall have a 

copy of the selective vegetation removal permit 

on the work site at all times during any phase of 

selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 

trimming, pruning, removal, or planting 

operations; 

(15) If the Division Engineer or his or her 

representative observes unsafe operations, 

activities, or conditions, the Engineer shall 

suspend work. Work shall not resume until the 

unsafe operations, activities, or conditions have 

been eliminated or corrected. Failure to comply 

with any of the federal and State laws, 

ordinances, rules, or regulations governing 

safety and traffic control shall result in 

suspension of work. The permittee shall adhere 

to safety requirements, pursuant to G.S. 95, 

Article 16. Traffic control shall be in 

accordance with G.S. 136-30 and 19A NCAC 

02B .0208; 

(16) The permittee, its contractor, or agent shall take 

measures to locate and protect utilities located 

within the highway right-of-way and within the 

work area of the selective vegetation removal 

zone. The permittee may be responsible for 

restoration of any losses or damages to utilities 

caused by any actions of the permittee, its 

contractors, or agents, and to the satisfaction of 

the utility owner; 

(17) Permits are valid for a period of one year and 

the permittee may cut, thin, prune, or remove 

vegetation more than one time during the 

permit year. If the applicant applies for and is 

approved for another permit at the same site 

during an existing permit year, the previous 

permit shall become null and void at the same 

time the new permit is issued; 

(18) The permittee shall provide to the Department 

a 48-hour notification before entering the right-

of-way for any work covered by the conditions 
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of the permit. The permittee shall schedule all 

work with the Department. The permittee shall 

notify the Department in advance of work 

scheduled for nights, weekends, and State 

holidays. The Department may modify the 

permittee's work schedule for nights, weekends, 

and State holidays. When the Department 

restricts construction in work zones for the 

safety of the traveling public, the Department 

shall deny access to the right-of-way for 

selective vegetation removal; 

(19) If work is planned in an active work zone, the 

permittee shall receive written permission from 

the contractor or the Department, if the 

Department's employees are performing the 

work. The permittee shall provide the Division 

Engineer with a copy of the written permission; 

(20) Sites with vegetation not presenting a hazard 

from falling tree parts and follow-up work shall 

be restricted to individual and manual-operated 

power equipment and hand-held tools; 

(21) The Department may allow use of power-driven 

vegetation removal equipment (such as 

excavator-based land clearing attachments, 

skid-steer cutters, and bucket trucks) if the 

Department determines that the use of such 

equipment will not cause safety hazards, any 

erosion, or damage to the right-of-way, and 

may allow access from the private property side 

to the right-of-way. Tree removal that presents 

a hazard from falling tree parts shall be 

performed in accordance with the current 

edition and subsequent amendments and 

editions of the American National Standard for 

Arboricultural Operations-Safety 

Requirements ANSI Z133;  

(22) The height of stumps remaining after tree 

removal shall not exceed four inches above the 

surrounding ground level. At the end of each 

workday, all vegetation that has been cut, 

thinned, or pruned at the site shall be removed 

or chipped and spread in accordance with G.S. 

136-133.4; and  

(23) Upon completion of all work, the Department 

shall notify the permittee in writing of 

acceptance, terminate the permit, and return the 

Performance Bond, certified check, or cashier's 

check to the permittee. For replanting work, a 

different bond release schedule shall be 

applicable according to Rule .0611 of this 

Section. The permittee may terminate the 

permit at any time and request that the 

Department return the Performance Bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check. The 

termination and request for return of the 

Performance Bond, certified check, or cashier's 

check shall be made in writing and sent to the 

Division Engineer. 

 

History Note: Authority 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-18(9); 

136-30; 136-93; 136-93.3; 136-133.4;  

Temporary Rule Eff. April 13, 1982 for a Period of 48 Days to 

Expire on June 1, 1982; 

Eff. June 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; November 1, 2012; August 1, 

2000; November 1, 1991; August 1, 1985; August 1, 1982; June 

2, 1982; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0608 REQUESTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR 

ADVERTISING 

(a)  Applications for selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 

pruning, or removal (exclusive of grasses) shall be made by the 

owner of an outdoor advertising sign permitted under G.S. 136-

129(4) or (5), to the Division Engineer of the North Carolina 

Department of Transportation (NCDOT), Division of Highways. 

Applications shall be submitted in both printed and electronic 

form. Application submittal information for each county is found 

on the NCDOT Selective Vegetation Removal website: 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/resources/roadside/Pages/Selective-

Vegetation-Removal-Permits.aspx. For sites within the corporate 

limits of a municipality that has previously advised the 

Department in writing that it seeks to review such applications, 

the applicant shall deliver the application to the municipality at 

least 30 days prior to submitting the application to the 

Department. Applications for selective vegetation removal 

permits shall include the following information consistent with 

G.S. 136-133.1: 

(1) the applicant contact information; 

(2) the outdoor advertising permit tag number and 

location of the sign; 

(3) if the sign is located on a ramp, the application 

shall indicate whether cut zone is modified or 

normal; 

(4) if an application is eligible for municipal 

review, and as a prerequisite to municipal 

review submittal, the application shall indicate 

the year the sign was erected. Upon request, the 

Department shall furnish the year of sign 

erection to the applicant. The Department may 

require additional proof if the year of the sign 

erection remains in question; 

(5) an indication of appropriate maximum cutting 

distance; 

(6) the applicant's desire to remove existing trees, 

if present. If existing trees are to be removed, 

such trees require compensation by either 

monetary reimbursement, removal of two 

nonconforming outdoor advertising signs, or a 

beautification and replanting plan as set out in 

Rule .0611 of this Section, and by submitting 

the Existing Tree Compensation Agreement 

form found on the NCDOT Selective 

Vegetation Removal website; 

(7) the site plan, if existing trees are to be cut, 

thinned, pruned, or removed; 
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(8) if existing trees are to be cut, thinned, pruned, 

or removed, the additional required form 

includes applicant contact information, permit 

tag number, sign location, the number, caliper 

inches, and monetary value of existing trees to 

be cut, thinned, pruned, or removed, as 

determined by G.S. 136-93.2, and indication of 

compensatory choice; 

(9) the additional form for existing tree removal, 

based on the compensatory choice made, also 

requires submittal of either a payment check in 

the amount of the tree loss monetary value, 

indication of the two nonconforming outdoor 

advertising signs to be surrendered, or 

agreement to submit a beautification replanting 

plan to the Department. Compliance with the 

compensatory choice shall be required before 

the selective vegetation removal permit can be 

approved; 

(10) a municipal review indication, if applicable; 

(11) the requested use of and site access for power-

driven equipment in accordance with Rule 

.0610(23) of this Section; 

(12) the performance bond or certified check or 

cashier's check pursuant to G.S. 136-93; 

(13) if using a contractor for vegetation removal 

work, identify the contractor and his or her 

qualifications if the contractor is not listed on 

the Department's website directory of qualified 

transportation firms; 

(14) a payment of the non-refundable two hundred 

dollar ($200.00) permit fee, pursuant to G.S. 

136-18.7; 

(15) the certificate of liability, proof of workers' 

compensation, and vehicle liability insurance 

coverage; 

(16) the geographic information system document, 

property tax identification number to verify 

location of sign in relation to municipal limits, 

and territorial jurisdiction boundary; 

(17) a verification of on-site marking and tree-

tagging requirements; 

(18) if the cutting request is for a modified cut zone 

along a highway ramp, a diagram of the cut 

zone is required unless the diagram is included 

on a site plan, and calculations are required 

comparing the modified cut zone to the normal 

cut zone; 

(19) if the Department disputes the site plan, the 

Department may request additional information 

pursuant to G.S. 136-133.1(c); 

(20) if applicable, certification that the applicant has 

permission from the adjoining landowner(s) to 

access their private property for the purpose of 

conducting selective vegetation removal permit 

activities; and 

(21) the applicant's notarized signature. 

(b)  The selective vegetation removal request may be reviewed on 

site by Department personnel and a representative of the 

applicant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-

18(9); 136-18.7; 136-93; 136-130; 136-133.1; 136-133.2; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Eff. November 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0609 ISSUANCE OR DENIAL OF 

SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMIT FOR 

OUTDOOR ADVERTISING 

(a)  Pursuant to G.S. 136-133.2, within 30 days following receipt 

of the application for a selective vegetation removal permit for 

outdoor advertising, including the fee set out in G.S. 136-18.7, the 

Division Engineer shall approve or deny the application. 

(b)  The application shall be denied by the Division Engineer if: 

(1) the application is for an outdoor advertising 

location where the outdoor advertising permit is 

less than two years old pursuant to G.S. 136-

133.2; 

(2) the application is for the opening of a view to a 

sign that has been declared illegal pursuant to 

G.S. 136-134, whose permit has been revoked, 

or is currently involved in litigation with the 

Department; 

(3) it is determined by Department personnel that 

removal of vegetation shall diminish a planting 

installed for headlight screening and affect the 

safety of the traveling public; 

(4) the application is for the removal of vegetation 

planted in accordance with a local, State, or 

federal beautification project prior to 

September 1, 2011 or prior to the issuance of an 

outdoor advertising permit for the erection of 

the applicable outdoor advertising structure, 

whichever date is later, unless a mitigating 

replanting plan related to the site for which the 

vegetation permit request is made, as set forth 

in Rule .0611 of this Section, except for the 

provisions in Paragraph (d) and Subparagraph 

(g)(11); and is agreed upon in writing by the 

applicant, the Department, and, if applicable, 

the Federal Highway Administration; 

(5) on two previous occasions, the applicant failed 

to meet the requirements of a selective 

vegetation removal permit, unless the applicant 

engages a landscape contractor to perform the 

current work; 

(6) the application is for removal of vegetation that 

will open views to junkyards; 

(7) the requested site is subject to a five-year 

moratorium for willful failure to substantially 

comply with all requirements specified in a 

prior selective vegetation removal permit 

pursuant to G.S. 136-133.4(e); 
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(8) the applicant fails to complete the requirements 

of the application as set forth in Rule .0608 of 

this Section; 

(9) any cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal of 

vegetation encompassing the entirety of the 

maximum vegetation cutting or removal zone is 

prohibited due to conditions affecting the right-

of-way to which the State is subjected or agrees 

in writing to subject itself, including 

conservation agreements, prior to September 1, 

2011 or prior to the issuance of an outdoor 

advertising permit for the erection of the 

applicable outdoor advertising structure, 

whichever date is later, or due to the application 

at any time of State statutes or rules or federal 

statutes or regulations, including any conditions 

mandated as part of the issuance of a permit to 

the Department for a construction project by a 

federal or State agency with jurisdiction over 

the construction project. The Department may 

mitigate within the right-of-way in the cut zone 

of a permitted outdoor advertising structure so 

long as trees and other plant materials for 

mitigation may not be of a projected mature 

height to decrease the visibility of a sign face, 

and such mitigation vegetation may not be cut 

or removed pursuant to a selective vegetation 

removal permit; or 

(10) a modified vegetation removal zone application 

request along acceleration or deceleration 

ramps is not in accordance with G.S. 136-

133.1(a1) or Rule .0612 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-

18(9); 136-93; 136-130; 136-133.1(a1); 136-133.2; 136-133.3; 

136-133.4; 136-134; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Eff. February 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0610 CONDITIONS OF 

SELECTIVE VEGETATION REMOVAL 

PERMITS FOR OUTDOOR ADVERTISING 

The following apply to the conditions of selective vegetation 

removal permits for outdoor advertising: 

(1) Selected vegetation, as defined in G.S. 136-

133.1(b), may be cut, thinned, pruned, or 

removed in accordance with the standards set 

out in G.S. 136-133.4; 

(2) The permittee shall furnish a Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check made 

payable to North Carolina Department of 

Transportation (NCDOT) for the sum of two 

thousand dollars ($2,000). The Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check shall 

cover all restoration of the right-of-way to the 

condition prior to the occurrence of the damage 

caused by the permittee or the permittee's agent, 

if damage occurs during the permitted selective 

vegetation removal. The Performance Bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check shall be paid 

with the application before each permit to cut 

vegetation is issued. The Performance bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check shall run 

concurrently with the permit. The Performance 

Bond, certified check, or cashier's check shall 

be released after a final inspection of the work 

by the Department reveals that all work 

provided for and specified by the permit is 

found to be completed and, if damage is caused 

by the permittee or the permittee's agent, all 

damages to the right-of-way, including damage 

to fencing and other structures within the right-

of-way, have been repaired or restored;  

(3) Companies that plan to apply for two or more 

permits may provide continuing bonds for the 

sum of one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) and that type of bond shall be kept 

on file by the Utilities Unit of the Department; 

(4) If the work is to be performed by any entity 

other than the sign owner or permittee, either 

the permittee or the other entity shall furnish the 

Performance Bond, certified check, or cashier's 

check, as described in this Rule, for all work 

provided for and specified by the permit. 

Required forms for all bonds are available upon 

request from the Department, or on the NCDOT 

Selective Vegetation Removal website: 

https://connect.ncdot.gov/resources/roadside/P

ages/Selective-Vegetation-Removal-

Permits.aspx. Bonds shall be furnished with the 

selective vegetation removal application form 

to the official assigned to receive selective 

vegetation removal applications at the local 

North Carolina Department of Transportation, 

Division of Highways Office; 

(5) The permittee shall provide proof of liability 

insurance coverage of five million dollars 

($5,000,000). Whoever performs the work, the 

permittee, his or her contractor, or agent shall 

maintain workers' compensation and vehicle 

liability insurance coverage. The permittee, his 

or her contractor, and agent shall be liable for 

any losses due to the negligence or willful 

misconduct of his or her agents, assigns, or 

employees. The permittee, in lieu of providing 

proof of liability insurance as described in this 

Item, may be shown as an additional insured on 

the general liability policy of the approved 

contractor or agent to perform the permitted 

work if the contractor or agent's policy provides 

five million dollars ($5,000,000) in coverage, 

and the permittee provides the Department with 

proof of the coverage. The permittee, 

contractor, or agent providing the coverage 

shall also name the Department as an additional 

insured on its general liability policy, and 
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provide the Department with a copy of the 

certificate showing the Department named as an 

additional insured. The required limit of 

insurance may be obtained by a single general 

liability policy, the combination of a general 

liability and excess liability, or an umbrella 

policy; 

(6) The permittee shall provide a document 

verifying the requested selective vegetation 

removal site location in relationship to 

corporate limits of a municipality, pursuant to 

G.S. 136-133.1(a)(5). The document shall be a 

current geographic information system map of 

the nearest municipality, with color-coded 

boundary lines, a corresponding key or legend 

indicating corporate limits, territorial 

jurisdiction boundaries, and indicating the 

precise location of the outdoor advertising 

structure. The permittee shall provide the 

property tax identification number for the 

parcel where the outdoor advertising structure 

is located. The Department may require 

additional information if the boundary or sign 

location remains in question; 

(7) The permittee shall perform site marking of the 

maximum vegetation cut or removal zone. The 

applicant shall mark the proper permitted 

cutting distances according to G.S. 136-

133.1(a)(1) – (6). Points A & B along the right-

of-way boundary (or fence if there is a control 

of access fence) shall be marked with visible 

flagging tape. Points C, D, and E along the edge 

of the pavement of the travel way shall be 

marked with spray paint, including the actual 

distances. If the sign is located at an 

acceleration or deceleration ramp, points C, D, 

and E shall be marked along the edge of the 

pavement of the travel way of the ramp instead 

of the mainline of the roadway; 

(8) The permittee shall perform tagging of trees. 

The permittee shall tag with a visible material 

or flagging all trees, including existing trees and 

other trees that are, at the time of the selective 

vegetation removal application, greater than 

four inches in diameter as measured six inches 

from the ground and requested to be cut, 

thinned, pruned, or removed. The applicant 

shall tag the existing trees (the exact same 

existing trees as on the site plan) that are desired 

to be cut, thinned, pruned, or removed with 

visible material or contrasting colored flagging. 

The permittee shall denote on the site plan or 

application the colors of flagging used to mark 

each category of trees; 

(9) If there are existing trees requested for removal, 

the permittee shall satisfy the following before 

any work may be performed: 

(a) submit the reimbursement to the 

Department pursuant to G.S. 136-

133.1(d) in a cashier's check or 

certified check; 

(b) fully disassemble two non-conforming 

outdoor advertising signs, their 

supporting structures, and return the 

outdoor advertising permits tags to the 

Department pursuant to G.S. 136-

133.1(d); or 

(c) obtain Departmental approval for the 

replanting plan in accordance with 

G.S. 136-133.1(e) and Rule .0611 of 

this Section; 

(10) Should the vegetation removal permit be 

approved and tree removal is scheduled, the 

sign owner shall cut all disputed tree stumps in 

a level, horizontal manner, uniformly across the 

stump, and at a four inch height, so that tree 

rings may be counted, by the applicant or the 

Department, to determine the age of the tree; 

(11) After a tree is removed and the applicant or the 

Department discovers, based on the number of 

rings in the tree stump, an error in the tree 

survey report or site plan, the Department shall 

request an amendment to the tree survey report 

or site plan, a redetermination shall be made by 

the Department, pursuant to G.S. 136-133.1(d) 

and (e), and the applicant shall be subject to that 

redetermination; 

(12) For purposes of this Rule, the portion of the cut 

or removal zone means that the cut or removal 

zone shall be less than the entirety of the cut or 

removal zone. Where any portion of the cut or 

vegetation removal zone is restricted for the 

following reasons in this Item, the permittee 

shall comply with applicable conditions, 

mitigation requirements, rules, statutes, or 

permit requirements related to cutting, thinning, 

pruning, or removal of vegetation within the 

right-of-way:  

(a) the State is subjected to or agrees in 

writing to subject itself to conditions 

affecting the right-of-way, including 

conservation agreements, prior to 

September 1, 2011, or prior to the 

issuance of an outdoor advertising 

permit for the erection of the 

applicable outdoor advertising 

structure, whichever date is later; 

(b) applicable State or federal statutes, 

rules, or regulations, including any 

conditions mandated as part of the 

issuance of a permit to the Department 

for a construction project by a federal 

or State agency with jurisdiction over 

the construction project prohibit 

vegetation removal;  

(c) mitigation within the right-of-way in 

the cut zone of a permitted outdoor 

advertising structure prohibits 
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vegetation removal; however, trees 

and other plant materials for 

mitigation may not be of a projected 

mature height to decrease the visibility 

of a sign face; or 

(d) If the reasons set forth in Sub-items 

(12)(a), (b), and (c) of this Rule allow 

certain degrees and methods of 

cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal 

for portions of vegetation, the 

permittee shall comply with the 

conditions of this Item, including 

equipment type for those portions of 

the cutting or removal zone. 

Vegetation removal for portions of the 

maximum cutting or removal zone not 

affected by the reasons set forth in 

Sub-items (12)(a), (b) and (c) of this 

Rule shall be governed by standards 

set out in G.S. 136-93; 

(13) The permittee shall adhere to erosion control 

requirements, pursuant to G.S. 113A, Article 4; 

(14) A Division of Highways Inspector may be 

present while work is underway. The presence 

or absence of a Division of Highways inspector 

at the work site does not lessen the permittee's 

responsibility for conformity with the 

requirements of the permit. If a present 

inspector fails to acknowledge or identify work 

that does not conform with the requirements, 

this failure shall not prevent later notification to 

the permittee that the work is noncompliant 

with the permit; 

(15) A selective vegetation removal permit shall be 

secured for each applicable outdoor advertising 

site prior to performing any vegetation removal 

work; 

(16) If the Division Engineer or his or her 

representative observes unsafe operations, 

activities, or conditions, the Engineer shall 

suspend work. Work shall not resume until the 

unsafe operations, activities, or conditions have 

been eliminated or corrected. Failure to comply 

with any of the federal and State laws, 

ordinances, rules, and regulations governing 

safety and traffic control shall result in 

suspension of work. The permittee shall adhere 

to safety requirements, pursuant to G.S. 95, 

Article 16. Traffic control shall be in 

accordance with G.S. 136-30 and 19A NCAC 

02B .0208; 

(17) The applicant shall certify that he or she has 

permission from the adjoining landowner(s) to 

access the private property for the purpose of 

conducting activities related to the selective 

vegetation removal permit application; 

(18) The permittee, its contractor, or agent shall 

have a copy of the selective vegetation removal 

permit on the work site at all times during any 

phase of selective vegetation cutting, thinning, 

trimming, pruning, removal, or planting 

operations; 

(19) The permittee, its contractor, or agent shall take 

measures to locate and protect utilities within 

the highway right-of-way and within the work 

area of the selective vegetation removal zone. 

The permittee may be responsible for 

restoration of any losses or damages to utilities 

caused by any actions of the permittee, its 

contractors, or agents, and to the satisfaction of 

the utility owner; 

(20) Permits are valid for a period of one year and 

the permittee may cut, thin, prune, or remove 

vegetation more than one time during the 

permit year. If the applicant applies for and is 

approved for another permit at the same site 

during an existing permit year, the previous 

permit shall become null and void at the same 

time the new permit is issued; 

(21) The permittee shall provide to the Department 

a 48-hour notification before entering the right-

of-way for any work covered by the conditions 

of the permit. The permittee shall schedule all 

work with the Department. The permittee shall 

notify the Department in advance of work 

scheduled for nights, weekends and State 

holidays. The Department may modify the 

permittee's work schedule for nights, weekends, 

and State holidays. When the Department 

restricts construction in work zones for the 

safety of the traveling public, the Department 

shall deny access to the right-of-way for 

selective vegetation removal; 

(22) If work is planned in an active work zone, the 

permittee shall receive written permission from 

the contractor or the Department if the 

Department's employees are performing the 

work. The permittee shall provide the Division 

Engineer with a copy of the written permission; 

(23) An applicant shall be allowed to use individual 

and manual-operated power equipment and 

hand held tools at any site during initial cutting 

or removal of vegetation or while maintaining a 

site during the duration of a selected vegetation 

removal permit. The Department may allow use 

of power-driven vegetation removal equipment 

(such as excavator-based land clearing 

attachments, skid-steer cutters, and bucket 

trucks) if the Department determines that the 

use of such equipment will not cause safety 

hazards, any erosion, or damage to the right-of-

way, and may allow access from the private 

property side to the right-of-way. Tree removal 

that presents a hazard from falling tree parts 

shall be performed in accordance with the 

current edition of the American National 

Standard for Arboricultural Operations-Safety 

Requirements ANSI Z133;  
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(24) The height of stumps remaining after tree 

removal shall not exceed four inches above the 

surrounding ground level. At the end of each 

workday, the work site shall be left with all 

vegetation cut, thinned, or pruned at the site 

either removed or chipped and spread in 

accordance with G.S. 136-133.4; and 

(25) Upon completion of all work, the Department 

shall notify the permittee in writing of 

acceptance, terminate the permit, and return the 

Performance Bond, certified check, or cashier's 

check to the permittee. For replanting work, a 

different bond release schedule shall be 

applicable according to Rule .0611 of this 

Section. The permittee may terminate the 

permit at any time and request that the 

Department return of the Performance Bond, 

certified check, or cashier's check. The 

termination and request for return of the 

Performance Bond, certified check, or cashier's 

check shall be made in writing and sent to the 

Division Engineer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 136-18(5); 136-18(7); 136-

18(9); 136-93; 136-93.2; 136-127; 136-130; 136-133.1; 136-

133.2; 136-133.3; 136-133.4;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Eff. February 1, 2013; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

19A NCAC 02E .0611 BEAUTIFICATION AND 

REPLANTING REQUIREMENTS FOR SELECTIVE 

VEGETATION REMOVAL PERMITS 

(a)  Any site with a valid selective vegetation removal permit 

issued pursuant to G.S. 136-93(b) qualifies for a beautification 

and replanting plan as set forth in G.S. 136-133.1(e). 

(b)  For future selective vegetation removal applications at 

replanted sites, replanted materials may be removed only if 

partially blocking the view to a sign face. In this case, the 

Department shall require plant substitutions on a one-for-one 

basis. All requests for plant substitutions shall be approved by the 

Department and installed according to the rules in this Section. 

(c)  Submittal of a site plan shall be in accordance with G.S. 

136.133.1(c). 

(d)  This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans except 

mitigating replanting plans as specified in Rules .0603(b)(6) and 

.0609(b)(4) of this Section. The caliper inches of existing trees to 

be removed, according to the applicant's site plan, shall equal the 

caliper inches to be replanted, by the applicant at the outdoor 

advertising site, and from which existing trees are requested to be 

removed. If the caliper inches of existing trees from the site plan 

exceed the density of the Department's replanting site design, the 

excess caliper inches of trees shall be delivered by the applicant 

to the Department according to the schedule described in 

Subparagraph (g)(6) of this Rule. If plant material other than trees 

is proposed, the Department may consider such substitution for 

the required caliper inches. 

(e)  For sites that qualify according to the replanting criteria 

described in this Rule, the Department shall consult with the 

applicant and any local government that has requested to review 

and provide comments on selective vegetation removal 

applications pursuant to G.S. 136-93(d), or has notified the 

Department of its desire to review and provide comments on 

beautification and replanting plans. The local government shall be 

given 15 days to review and provide comments on beautification 

and replanting plans. If the local government provides comments 

on a beautification and replanting plan, the Department shall take 

the comments into consideration. If the local government does not 

make a request for a review, the criteria stated in the rules in this 

Section shall be followed for replanting determination. 

(f)  In consideration of differences in outdoor advertising sign 

structure heights, business facilities, or agritourism activities, the 

Department shall maintain on file regionalized landscape design 

plans and plant lists as a guide for applicants. The applicant may 

submit one of the Department's plans or a proposed beautification 

and replanting plan prepared and sealed by a North Carolina 

licensed landscape architect. The Department's written approval 

shall be based upon the current edition of the American Standard 

for Nursery Stock ANSI Z60.1 for a minimum of a 1.5 caliper 

inch replanted tree, of the beautification, replanting, and 

maintenance plan shall allow the applicant to proceed with 

requested vegetation cutting, thinning, pruning, or removal at the 

site. If plant material other than trees is proposed, the Department 

may consider such substitution for the required caliper inches. The 

American Standard for Nursery Stock ANSI Z60.1, approved by 

the American National Standards Institute and published by the 

American Horticulture Association is hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions. The 

document may be accessed at no cost at 

americanhort.org/page/standards. The mailing address for 

AmericanHort is 2130 Stella Ct, Columbus, OH 43215. 

(g)  The approved beautification and replanting plan becomes a 

part of the selective vegetation removal permit pursuant to G.S. 

136-93(b) and 136-133.1(e). All permit requirements shall 

continue to apply until all replanting and establishment 

requirements are satisfied and accepted in writing by the 

Department. The Department shall approve the replanting portion 

of the selective vegetation removal permit in writing and detail 

the requirements of the beautification and replanting plan. The 

following shall be required: 

(1) The work for initial plantings and all future 

replacements by the permittee or any of their 

employees, agents, or assigns shall be in 

accordance with the current edition of the 

American National Standard for Tree Care 

Operations-Transplanting ANSI A300 (Part 6), 

Planting and Transplanting except as stipulated 

in this Rule. The American National Standard 

for Tree Care Operations-Transplanting ANSI 

A300 (Part 6), approved by the American 

National Standards Institute and published by 

the Tree Care Industry Association, Inc. is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies 

of the Standard may be obtained from the Tree 

Care Industry Association, Inc. for a twenty 
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dollar ($20.00) cost. The Tree Care Industry 

Association, Inc. (TCIA) can be contacted at 

670 North Commercial Street, Suite #201, 

Manchester, NH 03101 or at this website: 

www.tcia.org/TCIA/SHOP. Initial and 

replacement planting may be considered 

acceptable if the plants have been placed in the 

plant hole, backfilled, watered, mulched, 

staked, and guyed. All plants of one species that 

are shown on the plans to be planted within a 

bed, shall be planted concurrently and the entire 

group shall be completed before any plant 

therein is considered acceptable. Replacement 

planting consists of replacing those plants that 

are not in a living and healthy condition as 

defined in Subparagraph (7) of this Paragraph; 

(2) The permittee shall adhere to erosion control 

requirements, according to G.S. 113A, Article 

4; 

(3) All plant materials shall be approved in writing 

by the Department prior to arrival at the site or 

prior to excess trees being furnished and 

delivered to the Department. The approval shall 

be based on the current edition and subsequent 

amendments and editions of the American 

Standard for Nursery Stock ANSI Z60.1; 

(4) All work is subject to Division of Highways 

inspection, scheduled with the Department. A 

minimum 48-hour notification shall be 

provided to the Department by the permittee 

before entering the right-of-way for any 

beautification and replanting plan 

requirements; 

(5) Grinding or other mechanical removal of all cut 

stumps (to a minimum depth of four inches 

below ground level) shall be completed in the 

area of replanting during the preparation of the 

site, prior to initial planting; 

(6) All initial and replacement plantings shall be 

installed during the first planting season 

(November 1 to March 15) contemporaneous 

with or following the selective vegetation 

removal. If replanting cannot be completed by 

the March 15 deadline, the replanting shall 

occur during the next planting season. The same 

dates (November 1 to March 15) shall apply 

when the permittee provides the Department 

with excess plant material at a site where 

existing caliper inches exceeds the site design 

capacity; 

(7) The permittee shall contact the Department to 

schedule a final replanting acceptance 

inspection upon completion of any plant 

material installation. For one year from the date 

of the initial planting acceptance for the entire 

replanting plan, the permittee shall establish all 

plant materials according to these provisions. 

Establishment for all initial or replacement 

plants shall begin after they are planted. The 

permittee shall be responsible for the area 

around plantings for a distance of six feet 

beyond the outside edges of the mulch. 

Establishment shall include: cutting of grass 

and weeds; watering; replacement of mulch; 

repair or replacement of guy stakes, guy wires, 

and water rings; and other work to encourage 

the survival and growth of plant material. The 

permittee shall remove and dispose of dead 

plants from the replanting plan site during the 

establishment period. Prior to the end of the 

one-year establishment period, the permittee is 

responsible for contacting the Department to 

schedule a site meeting with Departmental 

officials to identify plants to be replaced that are 

not in a living and healthy condition. Plants do 

not meet the living and healthy condition 

requirement and need replacement if 25 percent 

or more of the crown is dead, if the main leader 

is dead, or if an area of the plant has died 

leaving the character of its form compromised, 

lopsided, or disfigured. The permittee shall 

replace, during the planting period, plant 

material needed to restore the planting to the 

original quantity, size, and species of plant 

material. Any desired changes in plant material 

proposed by the permittee shall be requested in 

writing to the Department. The Department 

shall notify the permittee in writing of the 

approved changes to the replacement plantings; 

(8) At the conclusion of the one-year establishment 

period, the Department shall issue a written 

acceptance of the permittee's work and release 

the bond. Then a one-year observation period 

shall begin during which the permittee shall 

maintain stability of the original and 

replacement plantings to promote their 

continued livability and healthy growth. The 

permittee is responsible for replacement of 

plants not meeting the living and healthy 

condition requirement during the observation 

period. Replacement shall occur in accordance 

with the dates of planting as stated in 

Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph; 

(9) After the one-year observation period 

concludes, the Department shall notify the 

permittee if the permit requirement conditions 

have been met successfully; 

(10) Replanted materials may be pruned according 

to the current edition and subsequent 

amendments and editions of the American 

National Standard for Tree Care Operations-

Pruning ANSI A300 (Part 1) – Planting and 

Transplanting; however, topping of trees or 

other vegetation is not allowed; 

(11) This Paragraph applies to all replanting plans 

except mitigating replanting plans as specified 

in Rules .0603(b)(6) and .0609(b)(4) of this 

Section. Excess plants or trees furnished and 
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delivered to the Department shall receive care 

and handling in accordance with digging, 

loading, transporting, unloading, planting, or 

otherwise handling plants. The permittee shall 

exercise care to prevent: windburn; injury to or 

drying out of the trunk, branches, or roots; or 

freezing of the plant roots. The solidity of the 

plant ball shall be preserved. Delivery of excess 

plant material shall be scheduled with the 

Department, allowing a minimum three days 

notification for each delivery. The permittee's 

responsibility for the furnished excess plants or 

trees ends at the time the plant material is 

delivered to, inspected by, and accepted by the 

Department; 

(12) For mitigating replanting plans according to 

Rule .0609(b)(4) of this Section, trees and other 

plant material for a proposed beautification and 

replanting plan taken from the Department's 

landscape design plans and plant lists or 

prepared and sealed by a North Carolina 

licensed landscape architect, may be of a 

projected mature height to reduce visibility 

limitations to outdoor advertising sign faces. As 

an alternative to replanting, mitigation by 

pruning for vegetative crown reduction at an 

existing beautification project may be allowed, 

if mutually agreed upon in writing by the 

Department and permittee. All pruning shall be 

performed by removing the fewest number of 

branches necessary to accomplish the desired 

objective but in consideration of normal 

seasonal regrowth for the type of vegetation. 

All pruning for purposes of mitigation shall be 

in accordance with the current edition and 

subsequent amendments and editions of the 

American National Standards for Tree Care 

Operations-Pruning ANSI A300 (Part 1) – 

Planting and Transplanting. In the case of 

vegetation mortality caused by pruning, 

replacement plantings shall be required 

according to this Rule; 

(13) Should the outdoor advertising structure related 

to the selective vegetation permit be sold or 

transferred, the new owner or permit holder is 

subject to the requirements in the General 

Statutes and rules in this Section, including 

those regarding planting, establishment, 

replacement or renovation plantings, minimum 

living and healthy condition, and observation; 

and 

(14) Willful failure to substantially comply with the 

requirements of this Rule for the beautification 

and replanting plan shall subject the permittee 

to penalties prescribed in G.S. 136-133.4. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 99E-30; 136-93; 136-93.3; 136-

130; 136-133.1; 136-133.4;  

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 2012; 

Eff. November 1, 2012; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. June 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  Every real estate firm shall designate one BIC for its principal 

office and one BIC for each of its branch offices. No office of a 

firm shall have more than one designated BIC. A BIC shall not 

serve as BIC for more than one office unless each of those offices 

share the same physical office space and delivery address. 

(b)  Every sole proprietorship shall designate a BIC if the sole 

proprietorship: 

(1) engages in any transaction where a broker is 

required to deposit and maintain monies 

belonging to others in a trust account; 

(2) engages in advertising or promoting services as 

a broker in any manner; or 

(3) has one or more other brokers affiliated with the 

sole proprietorship in the real estate business. 

(c)  A licensed real estate firm shall not be required to have a BIC 

if it: 

(1) is organized for the sole purpose of receiving 

compensation for brokerage services furnished 

by its qualifying broker through another firm or 

broker; 

(2) is treated for tax purposes as a pass-through 

business by the United States Internal Revenue 

Service; 

(3) has no principal or branch office; and 

(4) has no licensed person associated with it other 

than its qualifying broker. 

(d)  A broker who maintains a trust or escrow account for the sole 

purpose of holding residential tenant security deposits received by 

the broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with 

G.S. 42-50 shall not be required to be a BIC. 

(e)  In order for a broker to designate as a BIC for a sole proprietor, 

real estate firm, or branch office, a broker shall apply for BIC 

Eligible status by submitting an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website. The BIC Eligible status form shall 

include the broker's: 

(1) name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) telephone number; 

(4) email address; 

(5) criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions; 

(6) certification of compliance with G.S. 93A-4.2, 

including that: 

(A) his or her broker license is on active 

status; 

(B) the broker has obtained at least two 

years of real estate brokerage 

experience equivalent to 40 hours per 
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week within the previous five years or 

shall be a North Carolina licensed 

attorney with a practice that consisted 

primarily of handling real estate 

closings and related matters in North 

Carolina for three years immediately 

preceding application; and 

(C) the broker completed the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course no earlier 

than one year prior to application and 

no later than 120 days after 

application; and 

(7) signature. 

(f)  A broker who holds BIC Eligible status shall submit a form to 

become the designated BIC for a sole proprietor, real estate firm, 

or branch office. The BIC designation form shall include: 

(1) the broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) telephone number; 

(D) email address; and 

(E) criminal history and history of 

occupational license disciplinary 

actions; and 

(2) the firm's: 

(A) name; and 

(B) license number, if applicable; 

(g)  A designated BIC shall: 

(1) assure that each broker employed at the office 

has complied with Rules .0503, .0504, and 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(2) notify the Commission of any change of firm's 

business address or trade name and the 

registration of any assumed business name 

adopted by the firm for its use; 

(3) be responsible for the conduct of advertising by 

or in the name of the firm at such office; 

(4) maintain the trust or escrow account of the firm 

and the records pertaining thereto; 

(5) retain and maintain records relating to 

transactions conducted by or on behalf of the 

firm, including those required to be retained 

pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Section; 

(6) supervise provisional brokers associated with 

or engaged on behalf of the firm at such office 

in accordance with the requirements of Rule 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(7) supervise all brokers employed at the office 

with respect to adherence to agency agreement 

and disclosure requirements;  

(8) notify the Commission in writing that he or she 

is no longer serving as BIC of a particular office 

within 10 days following any such change; and 

(9) complete the Commission's Basic Trust 

Account Procedures Course within 120 days of 

opening a trust account in accordance with G.S. 

93A-6(g). 

(h)  A broker holding BIC Eligible status shall take the Broker-in-

Charge Update Course during the license year of designation, 

unless the broker has satisfied the requirements of Rule .1702 of 

this Subchapter prior to designation. 

(i)  A broker's BIC Eligible status shall terminate if the broker: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(2) fails to complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(3) fails to renew his or her broker license pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter, or the broker's 

license has been suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered; or 

(4) fails to complete the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course and a four credit hour elective course 

pursuant to Rules .1702 and .1711 of this 

Subchapter, if applicable. 

(j)  In order to regain BIC Eligible status after a broker's BIC 

Eligible status terminates, the broker shall complete the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course prior to application and then submit a 

BIC Eligible status form pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(k)  A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under 

the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act as 

or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or office in 

North Carolina. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-

4.1; 93A-4.2; 93A-9; 

Eff. September 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; July 1, 

2009; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2004; 

April 1, 2004; September 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; October 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0302 LICENSE APPLICATION AND 

FEE 

(a)  The fee for an original application of a broker or firm license 

shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  An applicant shall update information provided in connection 

with a license application in writing to the Commission or submit 

a new application form that includes the updated information 

without request by the Commission to ensure that the information 

provided in the application is current and accurate. Failure to 

submit updated information prior to the issuance of a license may 

result in disciplinary action against a broker or firm in accordance 

with G.S. 93A-6(b)(1). Upon the request of the Commission, an 

applicant shall submit updated information or provide additional 

information necessary to complete the application within 45 days 

of the request or the license application shall be canceled. 

(c)  The license application of an individual shall be canceled if 

the applicant fails to: 

(1) pass a scheduled license examination within 

180 days of filing a complete application 

pursuant to Rule .0301 of this Section; or 

(2) appear for and take any scheduled examination 

without having the applicant's examination 
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postponed or absence excused pursuant to Rule 

.0401 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-6(b)(1); 93A-9; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; April 1, 

2004; July 1, 2003; October 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 1, 

1998; July 1, 1996; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0305 PETITION FOR 

PREDETERMINATION 

(a)  An individual who wishes to file a petition for a 

predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will 

likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a real estate license 

shall submit a petition on the Commission's website. 

(b)  The petition shall include the petitioner's: 

(1) legal name; 

(2) mailing, physical, and email addresses; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) date of birth; 

(5) telephone number; 

(6) places of residence for the past seven years; 

(7) employment history since the date the crime 

was committed; 

(8) criminal record report prepared no more than 60 

days prior to the date of petition; 

(9) written statement describing the circumstances 

surrounding the commission of the crime(s); 

(10) written statement of any rehabilitation efforts, 

if applicable; 

(11) rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatments, if 

applicable; 

(12) Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 

15A-173.2, if applicable; 

(13) affidavits or other written documents, including 

character references, that the petitioner intends 

to submit for review; 

(14) certification; and 

(15) signature. 

(c)  The fee for a petition for predetermination shall be forty-five 

dollars ($45.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93B-8.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 3, 2019; 

Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0506 PROVISIONAL BROKER TO BE 

SUPERVISED BY BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  A provisional broker may engage in or hold himself or herself 

out as engaging in activities requiring a real estate license only 

while his or her license is on active status pursuant to Rule .0504 

of this Section and he or she is supervised by the broker-in-charge 

of the real estate firm or office with which the provisional broker 

is affiliated. A provisional broker shall be supervised by only one 

broker-in-charge at a time except that a provisional broker may be 

supervised by no more than two brokers-in-charge of two licensed 

affiliated firms located in the same physical location and acting as 

co-listing or co-selling agents in real estate transactions. When a 

provisional broker is supervised by more than one broker-in-

charge, both brokers-in-charge shall bear all supervision 

responsibility at all times. 

(b)  Upon a provisional broker's affiliation with a real estate 

broker or brokerage firm, the broker-in-charge of the office where 

the provisional broker will be engaged in the real estate business 

shall file with the Commission a License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form that sets forth the: 

(1) provisional broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number, type of license, and 

current license status; 

(C) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(D) public and private phone numbers; 

(E) completed Postlicensing courses, if 

necessary; 

(F) completed continuing education 

courses, if necessary; and 

(G) signature. 

(2) broker-in-charge's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) firm's name and license number; 

(D) physical, mailing, and emailing 

addresses; 

(E) public and private phone numbers; and 

(F) signature. 

(c)  Upon the submission of the License Activation and Broker 

Affiliation form, the provisional broker may engage in real estate 

brokerage activities requiring a license under the supervision of 

the broker-in-charge; however, if the provisional broker and 

broker-in-charge do not receive from the Commission a written 

acknowledgment of the provisional broker supervision 

notification and, if appropriate, the request for license activation, 

within 30 days of the date shown on the form, the provisional 

broker shall cease all real estate brokerage activities pending 

receipt of the written acknowledgment from the Commission. 

(d)  A broker-in-charge shall supervise the provisional broker in a 

manner that assures that the provisional broker performs all acts 

for which a real estate license is required in accordance with the 

Real Estate License Law and Commission rules. A supervising 

broker who fails to supervise a provisional broker as prescribed in 

this Rule may be subject to disciplinary action pursuant to Rule 

.0110 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Upon the termination of the supervisory relationship between 

a provisional broker and his or her broker-in-charge, the 

provisional broker and the broker-in-charge shall provide written 

notification of the date of termination to the Commission not later 

than 10 days following the termination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2(a1); 93A-2(a2); 93A-3; 

93A-9; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 
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Amended Eff. April 1, 2013; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 

2004; October 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0616 PROCEDURES FOR 

REQUESTING HEARINGS WHEN APPLICANT'S 

CHARACTER IS IN QUESTION 

(a)  When the moral character of an applicant for licensure or 

approval is in question, the applicant shall not be licensed or 

approved until the applicant has affirmatively demonstrated that 

the applicant possesses the requisite honesty, truthfulness, 

integrity, good moral character, and general fitness, including 

mental and emotional fitness, necessary to protect the public 

interest and promote public confidence in the real estate brokerage 

business. For the purposes of this Rule, applicant means any 

person or entity making application for licensure as a real estate 

broker or for licensure or approval as an instructor. 

(b)  When the applicant is an entity, it shall be directed and 

controlled by persons who possess the requisite honesty, 

truthfulness, integrity, good moral character, and general fitness, 

including mental and emotional fitness, necessary to protect the 

public interest and promote public confidence in the real estate 

brokerage business. 

(c)  When the character of an applicant is in question, the 

Commission shall defer action upon the application until the 

applicant is notified by letter. The letter informing the applicant 

that his or her moral character is in question shall be sent by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address shown upon 

the application. The applicant shall have 60 days from the date of 

receipt of this letter to request a hearing before the Commission. 

If the applicant fails to request a hearing within this time or if a 

properly addressed letter is returned to the Commission 

undelivered, applicant's right to a hearing shall be considered 

waived and the application shall be deemed denied. If the 

applicant makes a timely request for a hearing in accordance with 

the provisions of this Rule, the Commission shall provide the 

applicant with a Notice of Hearing and hearing as required by G.S. 

150B, Article 3A. 

(d)  Nothing in this Rule shall be interpreted to prevent an 

unsuccessful applicant from reapplying for licensure or approval 

if such application is otherwise permitted by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 

Eff. September 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; April 1, 2006; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1708 EQUIVALENT CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education 

credit for teaching a Commission Update Course. A broker 

seeking continuing education credit for teaching a Commission 

Update Course shall submit a form, available on the 

Commission's website, that requires the broker to set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, instructor 

number, address, telephone number, and email 

address; 

(2) Update Course number; 

(3) education provider's name and number; 

(4) education provider's address; and 

(5) date the course was taught. 

(b)  The Commission shall award a broker continuing education 

elective credit for teaching a Commission approved continuing 

education elective for the first time any given continuing 

education elective is taught. A broker seeking continuing 

education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a form, 

available on the Commission's website, that requires the broker to 

set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address; 

(2) course title; 

(3) course number; 

(4) education provider's name and number; 

(5) education provider's address; and 

(6) date the course was taught. 

(c)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for completion of an unapproved course that the 

Commission finds equivalent to the elective course component of 

the continuing education requirement set forth in 21 NCAC 58H 

.0402. The broker shall submit a course completion certificate 

issued by the education provider, a copy of the course description 

or course outline, and a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each course 

for which the broker seeks credit. A broker seeking continuing 

education credit for a course that is not approved by the 

Commission shall submit a form, available on the Commission's 

website, that requires the broker to set forth the: 

(1) broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address; 

(2) course title; 

(3) number of instructional hours; 

(4) course instructor's name; and 

(5) education provider's name, address, telephone 

number, and email address. 

(d)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for developing a continuing education elective course that 

is approved by the Commission pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0401. 

However, a broker shall only receive credit for the year in which 

the continuing education elective is approved. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 

broker shall submit the course title, the course number, the date of 

the course approval, and a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each course 

for which the broker seeks credit. 

(e)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for authoring a real estate textbook. However, a broker shall 

receive credit for any single textbook only once. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 

broker shall submit the title page of the textbook, showing the 
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title, publisher, and publication date, the table of contents, and a 

fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each textbook for which the licensee 

seeks credit. 

(f)  The Commission may award continuing education elective 

credit for authoring of a scholarly article on a real estate topic 

published in a professional journal or periodical. A broker shall 

receive credit for any single article only once. A broker seeking 

continuing education credit under this Paragraph shall submit a 

form, available on the Commission's website, that requires the 

broker to set forth the broker's name, license number, address, 

telephone number, and email address. Along with the form, the 

broker shall submit a copy of the article, proof of publication, and 

a fifty dollar ($50.00) fee for each article for which the broker 

seeks credit. 

(g)  In order for any application for equivalent credit to be 

considered and credits applied to the current licensing period, a 

complete application, the appropriate fee, and all supporting 

documents shall be received by the Commission no later than 5:00 

p.m. on June 17. 

(h)  Any equivalent continuing education credit awarded under 

this Rule shall be applied first to make up any continuing 

education deficiency for the previous license period and then to 

satisfy the continuing education requirement for the current 

license period; however, credit for an unapproved course or 

educational activity, other than teaching an approved elective 

course, that was completed during a previous license period shall 

not be applied to a subsequent license period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2001; July 1, 

2000; March 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1710 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission shall deny continuing education credit 

claimed by a broker or reported by an education provider for a 

broker, and shall withdraw continuing education credit previously 

awarded by the Commission to a broker upon finding that the 

broker: 

(1) or education provider provided incorrect or 

incomplete information to the Commission 

concerning continuing education completed by 

the broker; 

(2) failed to comply with the attendance 

requirement established by Rule .1705 of this 

Section; or 

(3) was mistakenly awarded continuing education 

credit due to an administrative error. 

(b)  If an administrative error or an incorrect report by an 

education provider results in the denial or withdrawal of 

continuing education credit for a broker, the Commission shall, 

upon the written request of the broker, grant the broker an 

extension of time to satisfy the continuing education requirement. 

(c)  A broker who obtains or attempts to obtain continuing 

education credit through misrepresentation of fact, dishonesty, or 

other improper conduct shall be subject to disciplinary action 

pursuant to G.S. 93A-6. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1711 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUIRED OF NONRESIDENT BROKERS 

(a)  To be considered a nonresident for continuing education 

purposes, a real estate broker licensed in North Carolina shall not 

have a North Carolina business address, mailing address, or 

residence address at the time he or she applies for license renewal 

if he or she seeks to renew his or her license on active status. A 

nonresident North Carolina broker who wishes to renew his or her 

license on active status may satisfy the continuing education 

requirement by any one of the following means: 

(1) A nonresident broker may, at the time of license 

renewal, hold a real estate license on active 

status in another state and certify on a form 

prescribed by the Commission that the broker 

holds such license. If at any time after renewal 

there is a change in the status of the out-of-state 

license, the nonresident broker shall notify the 

Commission within 10 days and request that his 

or her North Carolina license be placed on 

inactive status, or provide evidence to the 

Commission that he or she has satisfied 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule or the 

requirements of Rule .1702 of this Section. 

(2) A nonresident broker may, within one year 

preceding license expiration, complete the 

Commission-prescribed Update course plus 

one Commission-approved continuing 

education elective course, or complete two 

Commission-approved continuing education 

elective courses. 

(b)  When a nonresident broker's license has been on inactive 

status for more than two years and the broker is satisfying the 

requirements of Rule .1703(c) of this Subchapter, if a distance 

education Postlicensing course is unavailable, a nonresident 

broker may apply for equivalent education credit for a 

Postlicensing course by submitting a written request that includes 

a course completion certificate or transcript evidencing the 

completion of an education program in another state that: 

(1) consisted of at least 30 hours of instruction; 

(2) was completed within six months prior to 

application; and 

(3) is parallel to the topics and timings described in 

the Commission's Postlicensing course syllabi. 

(c)  No carry-over credit to a subsequent license period shall be 

awarded for a course taken in another state that has not been 

approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission as an 

elective course pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0406. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 
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Eff. July 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; April 

1, 2006; October 1, 2000; March 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1903 EXTENSIONS OF TIME TO 

COMPLETE POSTLICENSING EDUCATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .1904 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

POSTLICENSING EDUCATION CREDIT 

(a)  The Commission may deny Postlicensing education credit 

claimed by a provisional broker or reported by an education 

provider for a provisional broker, and may withdraw 

Postlicensing education credit previously awarded by the 

Commission to a provisional broker and make appropriate license 

status changes for that broker upon finding that the provisional 

broker: 

(1) or education provider provided incorrect or 

incomplete information to the Commission 

concerning Postlicensing education completed 

by the provisional broker; 

(2) failed to comply with the attendance 

requirement pursuant to 21 NCAC 58H .0207; 

or 

(3) was mistakenly awarded Postlicensing 

education credit due to an administrative error. 

(b)  When Postlicensing education credit is denied or withdrawn 

by the Commission under Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

provisional broker shall remain responsible for satisfying the 

Postlicensing education requirement in G.S. 93A-4(a1). 

(c)  A broker who obtains or attempts to obtain Postlicensing 

education credit through misrepresentation of fact, dishonesty or 

other improper conduct is subject to disciplinary action pursuant 

to G.S. 93A-6. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 

Eff. April 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0101 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter and 

to all forms prescribed pursuant to this Chapter: 

(1) "Blended learning" means a combination of 

Distance education and in-person methods of 

instruction. 

(2) "Branch location" means any location in 

addition to the principal address of an education 

provider that offers Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing Courses. 

(3) "Continuing Education" means a continuing 

education elective or Update Course. 

(4) "Distance education" means a method of 

instruction accomplished through the use of 

media whereby teacher and student are 

separated by distance and time. 

(5) "End-of-course examination" means an 

examination administered at the conclusion of 

a course that tests students' knowledge and 

mastery of all course subjects mandated by the 

Commission prescribed course syllabus. 

(6) "Instructional hour" means 50 minutes of 

instruction and 10 minutes of break time. 

(7) "Instructor development program" means 

courses of instruction designed to assist real 

estate instructors in the performance of 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Continuing 

Education instructor duties or in the 

development of teaching skills. 

(8) "License Examination Performance Record" 

means the percentage of an instructor's or 

school's students who, within 30 days of 

completing a Prelicensing course pursuant to 21 

NCAC 58H .0210(a), take and pass the license 

examination, as defined in 21 NCAC 58A 

.0402, on their first attempt. 

(9) "Postlicensing course" means any one of the 

courses comprising the 90 hour Postlicensing 

education program pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a1) 

and 21 NCAC 58A .1902. 

(10) "Prelicensing course" means a single course 

consisting of at least 75 hours of instruction on 

subjects prescribed by the Commission 

pursuant to G.S. 93A-4(a). 

(11) "Public education provider" means any 

proprietary business or trade school licensed by 

the State Board of Community Colleges under 

G.S. 115D-90 or approved by the Board of 

Governors of the University of North Carolina 

that conducts approved real estate courses. 

(12) "Synchronous distance-learning" means the 

instructor and students are separated only by 

distance and not time, allowing for real-time 

monitoring of student participation. 

(13) "Update Courses" mean the General Update 

Course and the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-32; 93A-33; 93A-

38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0201 APPLICABILITY 

This Section applies to all real estate education providers offering 

approved real estate courses. Public education providers shall be 
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exempt from the rules in this Section unless the rule specifically 

requires compliance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0202 APPLICATION FOR 

EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  Any community college, junior college, or university located 

in this State and accredited by the Southern Association of 

Colleges and Schools seeking education provider certification 

shall apply to the Commission on a form available on the 

Commission's website and shall set forth the: 

(1) education provider's name; 

(2) education director's name and contact 

information; 

(3) education director's email address; 

(4) education provider's address; 

(5) education provider's telephone number; 

(6) education provider's website address; 

(7) type of public institution; 

(8) Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 

Education courses to be offered by the 

applicant; and 

(9) a signed certification by the education director 

that courses shall be conducted in compliance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Any other person or entity seeking education provider 

certification shall apply to the Commission on a form available on 

the Commission's website and shall set forth the following criteria 

in addition to the requirements in G.S. 93A-34(b1): 

(1) the website, physical and mailing address, and 

telephone number of the principal office of the 

education provider; 

(2) the education director's license number, if 

applicable, email and mailing address, and 

telephone number; 

(3) the North Carolina Secretary of State 

Identification Number, if applicable; 

(4) the physical address of each proposed branch 

location, if applicable; 

(5) the type of ownership entity; 

(6) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings form available on the Commission's 

website, if a foreign entity; 

(7) the Prelicensing, Postlicensing, and Continuing 

Education courses to be offered by the 

applicant; and 

(8) a signed certification by the education director 

that courses shall be conducted in compliance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The certification application fee for an education provider 

applying under Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) for each proposed education provider location. 

Provided however, education providers shall not be required to 

obtain a certification for every location a Continuing Education 

course is offered. 

(d)  If any education provider relocates any location or opens 

additional branch locations during any licensing period, the 

education director shall submit an original application for 

certification of that location pursuant to this Rule. 

(e)  In the event that any education provider advertises or operates 

in any manner using a name different from the name under which 

the education provider is certified, the education provider shall 

first file an assumed name certificate in compliance with G.S. 66-

71.4 and shall notify the Commission in writing of the use of such 

an assumed name. An education provider shall not advertise or 

operate in any manner that would mislead a consumer as to the 

education provider's actual identity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0203 EDUCATION DIRECTOR 

(a)  All education providers shall designate an education director, 

who shall: 

(1) supervise all education provider operations 

related to the conduct of offering Prelicensing, 

Postlicensing, and Continuing Education 

courses; 

(2) ensure that each approved instructor meets the 

requirements of Rule .0302 of this Subchapter; 

(3) ensure that each continuing education elective 

course instructor meets the requirements of 

Rule .0402(a)(5) of this Subchapter; 

(4) ensure each course utilizes course materials 

pursuant to Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(5) sign course completion certificates; 

(6) submit to the Commission all required fees, 

rosters, reports, and other information; 

(7) submit to the Commission the name and the 

instructor number of each course instructor 

within 10 days of employment; 

(8) ensure compliance with all statutory and rule 

requirements governing the certification and 

operation of the education provider; 

(9) take steps to protect the security and integrity of 

course examinations at all times; and 

(10) act as the education provider's liaison to the 

Commission. 

(b)  Public education providers shall designate one permanent 

employee to serve as the education director. 

(c)  The education director shall approve a guest lecturer prior to 

the guest lecturer teaching a course session. Education directors 

shall ensure that all guest lecturers possess experience related to 

the particular subject area the guest lecturer is teaching. Guest 

lecturers may be utilized to teach collectively up to one-fourth of 

any Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(d)  The education director shall ensure all instructors that teach 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing courses by methods other than 

distance education are observed at least once annually for a 

minimum of one hour of live uninterrupted instruction by either 

the education director or a Commission-approved Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing instructor present in the classroom. Education 

directors who are also instructors may, upon written request to the 
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Commission, be evaluated by a Commission monitor. The 

evaluation shall be based on the instructor's teaching abilities 

pursuant to Rule .0304 of this Subchapter. The instructor shall 

receive the written evaluation of his or her instructional 

performance within 30 days of observation. 

(e)  The education director for any education provider shall view 

the Commission's Education Director video electronically within 

30 days of initial designation and annually within 45 days 

immediately preceding expiration of education provider 

certification. 

(f)  Education providers shall notify the Commission within 10 

days of any change in education director during the certification 

period. 

(g)  The education director shall admit any Commission 

authorized representative to monitor any class or provide access 

to a distance education course without prior notice. Such 

representatives shall not be required to register or pay any fee and 

shall not be reported as having completed the course. 

(h)  An education director shall dismiss a student from the course 

who is found to have cheated in any manner on a course 

examination and shall not award a passing grade or any partial 

completion of the course. The education director shall report the 

cheating incident in writing to the Commission within 10 days. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0204 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

DISCLOSURE 

(a)  An education provider shall publish a Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure. 

(b)  In addition to the information required by G.S. 93A-34(c)(5), 

an education provider's Policies and Procedures Disclosure shall 

include: 

(1) the name and address of the Commission, along 

with a statement that any complaints 

concerning the education provider or its 

instructors should be directed to the 

Commission; 

(2) a statement that the education provider shall not 

discriminate in its admissions policy or practice 

against any person on the basis of age, sex, race, 

color, national origin, familial status, handicap 

status, or religion; 

(3) the education provider's most recent annual 

License Examination Performance Record and 

the Annual Summary Report data as published 

by the Commission; 

(4) the all-inclusive tuition and fees for a particular 

course; 

(5) a written course cancellation and refund policy; 

and 

(6) a signed certification acknowledging the 

student's receipt of the Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure prior to payment of any portion of 

tuition or registration fee without the right to a 

full refund. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0205 COURSE MATERIALS 

(a)  Course materials shall cover current North Carolina real estate 

related laws, rules, and practices. The nature and depth of subject 

matter coverage shall be consistent with the competency and 

instructional levels prescribed by the syllabus for the course for 

which approval is sought. 

(b)  Postlicensing courses shall utilize the current edition of the 

North Carolina Real Estate Manual. The North Carolina Real 

Estate Manual may be purchased on the Commission's website in 

electronic format for twenty five dollars ($25.00) per license year 

and as a print publication for fifty dollars ($50.00). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0206 ADVERTISING AND 

RECRUITMENT ACTIVITIES 

(a)  Any education provider utilizing its License Examination 

Performance Record or Annual Summary Report for advertising 

or promotional purposes shall only use the most recent annual 

License Examination Performance Record or Annual Summary 

Report as published on the Commission's website in a manner that 

is not misleading or false. 

(b)  Education providers shall not make or publish, by way of 

advertising or otherwise, any false or misleading statement 

regarding employment opportunities that may be available as a 

result of completion of a course offered by that education provider 

or acquisition of a real estate license. 

(c)  Education providers shall not use endorsements or 

recommendations of any person or organization for advertising or 

otherwise unless such person or organization has consented in 

writing to the use of the endorsement or recommendation. In no 

case shall any person or organization be compensated for an 

endorsement or recommendation. 

(d)  Education providers shall not offer Postlicensing courses only 

for brokers affiliated with a particular real estate broker, firm, 

franchise, or association. 

(e)  Education providers may offer and advertise courses in 

addition to those approved by the Commission pursuant to this 

Subchapter provided that references to such courses are not made 

or published in a manner that implies approval by the 

Commission. 

(f)  Instructional time and materials shall be utilized for 

instructional purposes only. 

(g)  All Continuing Education course advertisements and 

promotional materials shall specify the number of Continuing 

Education credit hours to be awarded by the Commission for the 

course. 

(h)  The education provider name shall be used in all publications 

and advertising. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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21 NCAC 58H .0207 COURSE COMPLETION 

CERTIFICATES AND REPORTS 

(a)  For each Prelicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate within 180 days of 

enrollment that is signed by the education director to each student 

that:  

(1) attends at least 80 percent of all scheduled 

instructional hours; and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(b)  For each Postlicensing course taught, an education provider 

shall provide a course completion certificate signed by the 

education director to each student that: 

(1) attends at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

instructional hours; and 

(2) obtains a grade of at least a 75 percent on the 

end-of-course examination. 

(c)  The end-of-course examination shall be proctored and 

students shall not use textbooks or other materials on the end-of-

course examination. End-of-course examinations administered in 

a distance education, blended learning, or synchronous distance-

learning course shall include proctoring or other security 

measures designed to verify the identity of the student taking the 

examination and ensure that students are not using textbooks or 

other materials on the end-of-course examination. 

(d)  For each Continuing Education course taught, an education 

provider shall provide a course completion certificate signed by 

the education director to each student that meets the requirements 

of 21 NCAC 58A .1705. 

(e)  The course completion certificate shall identify the course, 

date of completion, student, and instructor. 

(f)  An education director shall submit a Course Completion 

Report within seven calendar days of any student completing any 

real estate course pursuant to the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure. The Course Completion Report shall 

include: 

(1) each student's legal name; 

(2) each student's email address and telephone 

number; 

(3) each student's unique identification number, if 

reporting a Prelicensing course; 

(4) each student's real estate broker license number, 

if applicable; 

(5) the course completion date; 

(6) the education provider's name and number; 

(7) the course number; and 

(8) the instructor's name and number; 

(g)  For each Prelicensing or Postlicensing course taught, an 

education director shall submit a Summary Report no later than 

the fifth day of the month. The Summary Report shall contain the 

previous month's data. The Summary Report shall include the: 

(1) name of the instructor(s); 

(2) title of course(s); 

(3) number of students who paid tuition in each 

course and did not receive a refund; 

(4) number of students who met all course 

requirements pursuant to Paragraph (a) and (b) 

of this Rule; and 

(5) number of students who satisfied Subparagraph 

(a)(1) and (b)(1) of this Rule but did not satisfy 

Subparagraph (a)(2) and (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(h)  Education providers shall electronically submit the per 

student fee prescribed by G.S. 93A-4(a2) and G.S. 93A-38.5(d). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0208 EDUCATION PROVIDER 

RECORDS 

All education provider records shall be retained for three years by 

the education provider and be made available to the Commission 

during an investigation or application process. Education provider 

records shall include: 

(1) enrollment and attendance records; 

(2) each student's end-of-course examination with 

grade and graded answer sheet; 

(3) a master copy of each end-of-course 

examination with its answer key, course title, 

course dates and name of instructor; 

(4) all instructor evaluations pursuant to Rule 

.0203(d) of this Section; 

(5) advertisements; 

(6) ARELLO or IDECC certifications; 

(7) bulletins, catalogues, Policies and Procedures 

Disclosure, and other official publications; 

(8) course schedules; 

(9) student course materials; 

(10) signed certifications pursuant to Rule 

.0204(b)(6) of this Section; and 

(11) statements of consent pursuant to Rule .0206(c) 

of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0209 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF EDUCATION PROVIDER CERTIFICATION 

(a)  All education provider and public education provider 

certifications shall expire annually on June 30 following 

certification. 

(b)  An education provider or public education provider seeking 

renewal of its certification shall submit an electronic application 

which shall include the following information: 

(1) the education provider or public education 

provider's: 

(A) name; 

(B) number; 

(C) mailing address; 

(D) telephone number; and 

(E) website address, if applicable; and 

(2) the education director's name and signature; 

(3) all approved real estate courses offered; 

(4) a copy of the education provider's Policies and 

Procedures Disclosure, if applicable; and 
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(5) proof of bond as required in G.S. 93A-36, if 

applicable. 

(c)  Public education providers shall not be charged any fees to 

renew the education provider certification or course renewal. 

(d)  The education provider certification renewal fee shall be one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) for each education provider location. 

(e)  The renewal fee for an education provider to offer a 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course at any of its locations during 

the licensed period shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per 

Prelicensing or Postlicensing course. 

(f)  The renewal fee for an education provider to renew an 

approved continuing education elective course shall be fifty 

dollars ($50.00) per elective course. 

(g)  The materials fee for an education provider to renew an 

Update course approval shall be one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(h)  If an education provider or public education provider 

certification has expired, the education provider shall submit an 

application for original certification pursuant to Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. 

(i)  Commission approval of all Continuing Education courses 

shall expire on June 30. In order to obtain approval for an expired 

Continuing Education course, an education provider shall submit 

an original application pursuant to Rule .0401 of this Subchapter. 

(j)  If an education provider transfers an aggregate of 50 percent 

or more of the ownership interest, the education provider shall 

notify the Commission in writing within 10 days of the transfer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-

34(b); 93A-35(b); 93A-36; 93A-38.5(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF EDUCATION PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw certification of an 

education provider or suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of the 

certification of an education provider upon finding that an 

education provider: 

(1) official was found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal law; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(3) failed to provide or provided false, incomplete, 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

report the education provider is required to 

submit to the Commission; 

(4) presented to its students or prospective students 

false or misleading information relating to its 

instructional program, to the instructional 

programs of other institutions, or related to 

employment opportunities; 

(5) collected money from students but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by G.S. 93A-4(a2) or 93A-38.5(d); 

(7) refused at any time to permit authorized 

representatives of the Commission to inspect 

the education provider's facilities or audit its 

courses; 

(8) or education director violated the rules of this 

Subchapter or was disciplined by the 

Commission under G.S. 93A-6; 

(9) obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10) failed to provide to the Commission a written 

plan describing the changes the education 

provider made or intends to make in its 

instructional program including instructors, 

course materials, methods of student 

evaluation, and completion standards to 

improve the performance of the education 

provider's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 

(11) provided the Commission a fee that was 

dishonored by a bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(12) Certificate of Authority was revoked, subject to 

a revenue suspension, or subject to 

administrative dissolution by the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(13) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(14) failed to submit reports pursuant to Rule .0207 

of this Section; 

(15) provided false, incomplete, or misleading 

information relating to real estate licensing, 

education matters, or the broker's education 

needs or license status; or 

(16) refused or failed to comply with the provisions 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A broker shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 93A-

6 if the broker engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper 

conduct in connection with the operations of an education 

provider if that broker: 

(1) has an ownership interest in the education 

provider; 

(2) is the education director; or 

(3) is an instructor for an education provider. 

(c)  The Commission shall withdraw an education provider's 

certification when its annual License Examination Performance 

Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two 

license years. Following withdrawal, the education provider shall 

be ineligible to apply for certification for a period of one year. 

(d)  When ownership of a certified education provider is 

transferred and the education provider ceases to operate as the 

certified entity, the certification is not transferable and shall 

terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be 

completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring 

owner shall report course completion(s) to the Commission. The 

new entity shall obtain an original certification for each location 

where the education provider will conduct courses as required by 

G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this Section prior to advertising 
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courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting 

courses, or otherwise engaging in any education provider 

operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-34(c); 93A-

35(c); 93A-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0211 PRELICENSING AND 

POSTLICENSING ROSTER REPORTING 

21 NCAC 58H .0212 SCHOOL RECORDS 

21 NCAC 58H .0213 EVALUATIONS OF 

INSTRUCTOR PERFORMANCE 

21 NCAC 58H .0214 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 

OF A SCHOOL APPROVAL OR LICENSE 

21 NCAC 58H .0215 DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF SCHOOL APPROVAL OR LICENSE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 93A-

35; 93A-36; 93A-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019; July 1, 2018; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0301 PRELICENSING, 

POSTLICENSING, AND UPDATE COURSE 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Approval of an instructor to teach Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses shall authorize the instructor to teach 

courses only in conjunction with and at certified education 

providers pursuant to Rule .0202 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  An instructor approved to teach Prelicensing and 

Postlicensing courses may elect to also teach Update courses upon 

initial approval, renewal, or any time while holding such approval. 

(c)  Approved instructors may teach Update courses for any 

certified education provider pursuant to Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter. An approved instructor may not independently 

conduct an Update course unless the instructor has also obtained 

certification as an education provider. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0302 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  An individual seeking original instructor approval shall 

submit an application on a form available on the Commission's 

website that shall require the instructor applicant to indicate the 

course(s) for which he or she is seeking approval and set forth the 

instructor applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) real estate license number and instructor 

number, if any, assigned by Commission; 

(3) criminal and occupational licensing history, 

including any disciplinary actions; 

(4) education background, including specific real 

estate education; 

(5) experience in the real estate business; 

(6) real estate teaching experience, if any; 

(7) a signed Consent to Service of Process and 

Pleadings for nonresident applicants; and 

(8) signature. 

(b)  An instructor applicant shall demonstrate that he or she 

possesses good reputation and character pursuant to G.S. 93A-

34(c)(9) and has: 

(1) a North Carolina real estate broker license that 

is not on provisional status; 

(2) completed continuing education sufficient to 

activate a license under 21 NCAC 58A .1703; 

(3) completed 60 semester hours of college-level 

education at an institution accredited by any 

college accrediting body recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education; 

(4) completed the New Instructor Seminar within 

the previous six months; and 

(5) within the previous seven years has either: 

(A) two years full-time experience in real 

estate brokerage with at least one year 

in North Carolina; 

(B) three years of instructor experience at 

a secondary or post-secondary level; 

(C) real estate Prelicensing or 

Postlicensing instructor approval in 

another jurisdiction; or 

(D) qualifications found to be equivalent 

by the Commission, including a 

current North Carolina law license and 

three years' full time experience in 

commercial or residential real estate 

transactions or representation of real 

estate brokers or firms. 

(c)  In order to complete the New Instructor Seminar, a broker 

shall: 

(1) attend at least ninety percent of all scheduled 

hours; and 

(2) demonstrate the ability to teach a 15-minute 

block of a single Prelicensing topic in a manner 

consistent with the course materials. 

(d)  Prior to teaching any Update course, an approved instructor 

shall take the Commission's annual Update Instructor Seminar for 

the current license period. The Update Instructor Seminar shall 

not be used to meet the requirement in Rule .0306(b)(4) of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(f); 93A-4; 93A-10; 93A-

33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw approval of any 

instructor applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the 

instructor or instructor applicant: 
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(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0302 of this Section or the 

criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0306 of this Section at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Commission; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Commission any 

report, course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach a 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update couse in 

a manner consistent with the course materials; 

(5) taught a Prelicensing course and failed to 

provide to the Commission a written plan 

describing the changes the instructor has made 

or intends to make in his or her instructional 

program to improve the performance of the 

instructor's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 

(6) has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 

pleaded no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; 

(7) has been found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal regulation 

prohibiting discrimination; 

(8) has obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or 

use, in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(9) has failed to take steps to protect the security of 

end-of-course examinations; 

(10) failed to take any corrective action set out in the 

plan described in Subparagraph (a)(5) of this 

Rule or as otherwise requested by the 

Commission; 

(11) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct;  

(12) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

(13) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Commission shall withdraw an instructor's approval 

when their annual License Examination Performance Record fails 

to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two license years. 

Following withdrawal, the instructor shall be ineligible to apply 

for approval for a period of one year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0304 INSTRUCTOR CONDUCT AND 

PERFORMANCE 

(a)  All instructors shall ensure that class sessions are conducted 

at the scheduled time and for the full amount of time that is 

scheduled or required. Instructors shall conduct courses in 

accordance with the Commission's rules, and any applicable 

course syllabi, instructor guide, or course plan. Instructors shall 

conduct classes demonstrating the ability to: 

(1) state student learning objectives at the 

beginning of the course and present accurate 

and relevant information; 

(2) communicate correct grammar and vocabulary; 

(3) utilize a variety of instructional techniques that 

require students to analyze and apply course 

content, including teacher-centered approaches, 

such as lecture and demonstration, and student-

centered approaches, such as lecture discussion, 

reading, group problem solving, case studies, 

and scenarios; 

(4) utilize instructional aids, such as: 

(A) whiteboards; 

(B) sample forms and contracts; 

(C) pictures; 

(D) charts; and 

(E) videos. 

(5) utilize assessment tools, such as: 

(A) in-class or homework assignments, 

and 

(B) quizzes and midterm examinations for 

Prelicensing and Postlicensing 

courses. 

(6) avoid criticism of any other person, agency, or 

organization; 

(7) identify key concepts and correct student 

misconceptions; and 

(8) maintain control of the class. 

(b)  Instructors shall not obtain, use, or attempt to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real estate license 

examination questions. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0305 DIGITAL VIDEO RECORDINGS 

(a)  Upon request of the Commission during an investigation, an 

education provider or approved instructor shall submit a digital 

video recording depicting an instructor teaching a specified 

course topic. 

(b)  Any digital video recording submitted to the Commission 

shall: 

(1) have been made within 12 months of the date of 

submission; 

(2) be recorded either on a digital video disc 

(DVD), USB drive, or similar medium; 

(3) be unedited; 

(4) display a visible date and time stamp during the 

entire video recording; 
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(5) include a label identifying the instructor, the 

course title, subject being taught, and dates of 

the video instruction; 

(6) include student materials used in the production 

of the video recording; 

(7) have visual and sound quality to allow 

reviewers to see and hear the instructor; and 

(8) show at least a portion of the students present in 

a live audience. 

(c)  The deadline for any digital video recording requested during 

an investigation shall be 30 days after the date of the next 

scheduled course, but no later than 120 days after the 

Commission's request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

ELECTIVE COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Continuing education elective courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to real estate 

brokerage practice and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable brokers to better serve 

real estate consumers and the public interest; 

(2) consist of at least four hours of instruction; 

(3) offer four continuing education credit hours; 

(4) include handout materials for students that 

provide the information to be presented in the 

course; and 

(5) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

at least one of the following: 

(A) a baccalaureate or higher degree in a 

field related to the subject matter of 

the course; 

(B) three years' full-time work experience 

within the previous 10 years that is 

related to the subject matter of the 

course; 

(C) three years' full-time experience 

within the previous 10 years teaching 

the subject matter of the course; or 

(D) education or experience or both found 

by the education director to be 

equivalent to one of the above 

standards. 

(b)  Education providers shall notify the Commission in writing 

before making any changes in the content of an elective course. 

However, changes in course content that are technical in nature 

do not require written notification during the approval period, but 

shall be reported at the time the education provider requests 

renewal of course approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0403 COMMISSION CREATED 

UPDATE COURSES 

(a)  The Commission shall annually develop Update courses and 

shall produce instructor and student materials for use by education 

providers. 

(b)  An education provider shall submit a one hundred dollar 

($100.00) materials fee to offer the Update course. 

(c)  An education provider seeking approval to offer a modified 

Update course pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule shall also 

submit the written permission of each of the course owners, if 

other than the applicant. 

(d)  Education providers shall use the Commission-developed 

course materials to conduct Update courses. Education providers 

shall provide a copy of the course materials to each broker taking 

an Update course. 

(e)  All Update course materials developed by the Commission 

are the sole property of the Commission and are subject to the 

protection of copyright laws. Violation of the Commission's 

copyright with regard to these materials shall be grounds for 

disciplinary action or other action as permissible by law. 

(f)  With advance approval from the Commission, education 

providers and approved instructors may make modifications to the 

Update course when the Update course is being promoted to and 

conducted for a group of brokers that specialize in a particular 

area of real estate brokerage. Such modifications shall relate to 

the same general subject matter addressed in the prescribed 

Update course and the Update course as modified shall achieve 

the same educational objectives as the unmodified Update course. 

Where certain subject matter addressed in the prescribed Update 

course is not directly applicable to the group of brokers who 

specialize in the particular area of real estate brokerage being 

targeted, different subject matter and education objectives may be 

substituted with the prior written consent of the Commission. All 

modified Update course materials shall be the joint property of the 

Commission and the education provider or approved instructor 

approved to make such modifications, or as otherwise determined 

by written agreement. Violation of the Commission's copyright 

with regard to these materials shall be grounds for disciplinary 

action or other action as permitted by law. 

(g)  The Update Course shall be offered by education providers 

only as an in-person and synchronous distance-learning course. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0404 COURSE SCHEDULING 

(a)  Continuing Education courses shall be scheduled and 

conducted in a manner that limits class sessions to a maximum of 

eight instructional hours in any given day. The maximum 

permissible class session without a break shall be 90 minutes. 

Courses scheduled for more than four instructional hours in any 

given day shall include a meal break of at least one hour. 

(b)  An education provider shall not offer, conduct, or allow a 

student to complete any continuing education course between 

June 11 and June 30, inclusive. 

(c)  An education provider offering a distance education 

Continuing Education course shall require students to complete 

the course within 30 days of the date of registration or the date the 
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student is provided the course materials and permitted to begin 

work, whichever is the later date.  

(d)  Education providers shall not utilize a scheduling system that 

allows students to enroll late for a course and then complete their 

course work in a subsequently scheduled course. Late enrollment 

shall be permitted only if the enrolling student can satisfy the 

minimum attendance requirement set forth in Rule .0207 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Education providers shall notify the Commission of all 

scheduled course offerings no later than 10 days prior to a 

scheduled course beginning date. 

(f)  The notice required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule shall include: 

(1) the education provider name; 

(2) the education provider number; and 

(3) for each scheduled course: 

(A) the name and course number; 

(B) the scheduled beginning and ending 

dates, if applicable; 

(C) the course meeting days and times, 

including any scheduled lunch breaks; 

and 

(D) the name of the instructor and 

instructor number. 

(g)  If there is a change or cancellation within five days of the 

scheduled course date, then the education director shall provide 

notice to the Commission within 24 hours of the change or 

cancellation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0405 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

SPONSOR APPROVAL 

21 NCAC 58H .0406 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

21 NCAC 58H .0407 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

ELECTIVE COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

21 NCAC 58H .0408 COMMISSION CREATED 

UPDATE COURSES 

21 NCAC 58H .0409 RECORDS AND COMMISSION 

REVIEW 

21 NCAC 58H .0410 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE SCHEDULING AND NOTIFICATION 

21 NCAC 58H .0411 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE ATTENDANCE 

21 NCAC 58H .0412 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

ROSTER REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

21 NCAC 58H .0413 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

COURSE COST, CANCELLATION, AND REFUNDS 

21 NCAC 58H .0414 ADVERTISING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-

6(a)(15); 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2020. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission July 16, 2020 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 

Jeff Hyde (Chair) Jeanette Doran (1st Vice Chair) 
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins 

Margaret Currin Anna Baird Choi (2nd Vice Chair) 
Brian P. LiVecchi Paul Powell 

W. Tommy Tucker, Sr. Garth Dunklin 
  

COMMISSION COUNSEL 
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 
Ashley Snyder    984-236-1941 
Karlene Turrentine   984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

      July 16, 2020 August 20, 2020  
 September 17, 2020         October 15, 2020 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, JULY 16, 2020 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Pesticide Board - 02 NCAC 09L .0101, .0102, .0103, .0308, .0310, , .0317,.0318, .0402 , .0502, .0503, 

.0504, .0505, .0509, .0515, .0516, .0519, .0520, .0522, .0523, .0524, .0525, .0526, .0527, .0529, .0602, 

.0603, .0701, .0702, .0703, .0705, .0707, .0810, .1001, .1002, .1003, .1005, .1006, .1009, .1102, .1103, 

.1104, .1105, .1107, .1108, .1109, .1111, .1201, .1202, .1302, .1303, .1305, .1306, .1401, .1402, .1404, 

.1805, .1806, .1901, .1902, .1905, .1906, .1907, .1908, .1909, .1913, .1914, .2001, .2002, .2003, .2004, 

.2201, .2202, .2203 (Snyder) 
B. Commission for the Blind - 10A NCAC 63C .0203, .0204, .0403, .0601 (Reeder) 
C. Crime Victims Compensation Commission – 14B NCAC 09 .0301, .0302, 0303, .0304, .0305 (Snyder) 
D. Private Protective Services Board - 14B NCAC 16 .1001, .1002, .1003, .1207, .1304, .1404 (Reeder) 
E. Building Code Council - Residential Code, N1106.2 (R406.2); Energy Conservation Code, R202;  

Energy Conservation Code R406.2 (Reeder)  

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between May 21, 2020 through June 22, 2020 

• Commerce/Division of Employment Security (Turrentine) 

• State Board of Elections (Reeder) 

• Code Officials Qualification Board (Reeder) 

• Alarm Systems Licensing Board (Reeder) 

• State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06B (Snyder) 

• State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06C (May) 

• State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06D,E,G (Snyder) 

• State Board of Education 16 NCAC 06H,K (Reeder) 

• Medical Board/Perfusion Advisory Committee (Reeder) 
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• Board of Funeral Service (Reeder) 

• Board of Pharmacy (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Readoptions 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: Thursday, August 20, 2020 
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

May 21, 2020 through June 22, 2020 

COMMERCE - EMPLOYMENT SECURITY, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 24 concern the Division of Employment Security.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 24A concern general information (.0100); requests for documents and public records unrelated 
to contested claim (.0200); petitions for rulemaking (.0300); and requests for documents, hearing recordings, and 
transcripts related to pending appeal or contested case (.0500). 

Addresses for Filing Claims, Appeals, Exceptions, Request... 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0104 

Method of Payment 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0206 

Written Request Required 
Adopt* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0501 

Indigency 
Adopt* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0502 

Invoice and Fees 
Adopt* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0503 

Disclosure of Records Related to Pending Appeal or Contested Case 
Adopt* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0504 

Official Forms 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24A .0601 

The rules in Subchapter 24B concern benefits including claims for unemployment insurance benefits (.0100); interstate 
claims (.0200); work search requirements (.0300); adjudication (.0400); labor disputes (.0500); unemployment insurance 
benefit overpayments (.0600); request for waiver of overpayment (.0700); interstate overpayment recovery (.0800); 
setoff debt collection act (.0900); treasury offset program (.1000); national directory of new hires (.1100). 

Notice Requirement for Overpayment 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24B .0601 

The rules in Subchapter 24C concern initial appeals from determination including general initial appeals information 
(.0100); initial appeals hearing (.0200); legal representation for initial appeals (.0300); subpoenas for initial appeals 
(.0400); higher authority review of appeals decision (.0500); and post-decision relief (.0600). 

Administrative Proceedings 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24C .0301 

The rules in Subchapter 24D concern tax administration including account charge protests (.0100); request for 
noncharging of benefits payments (.0200); adequacy (.0300); voluntary election and payments (.0400); records (.0500); 
reports (.0600); transfer of experience rating to related entity successor account (.0700); agreements to compromise 
(.0800); special tax investigations (.0900); requests and hearings to review and redetermine tax rate (.1000); treasury 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2020 

83 

offset program and employer setoff debt collection (.1100); seasonal pursuits (.1200); collection methods of employer 
debt (.1300); and records (.1400). 

General Format of Reports and Forms and Methods of Submis... 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24D .0601 

Requirements for Transfer of Experience 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24D .0702 

Late Notice of Transfer 
Adopt* 

 
04 NCAC 24D .0703 

Special Tax Investigations 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24D .0901 

Division's Obligations 
Amend* 

 
04 NCAC 24D .1002 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 21 are department rules concerning reporting (.0100) and noncompliance (.0200); use of 
contributions (.0300). 

Expenditures for Residential Real Property 
Adopt* 

 
08 NCAC 21 .0301 

CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 8 are the engineering and building codes including the approval of school maintenance electricians 
(.0400); qualification board-limited certificate (.0500); qualification board-probationary certificate (.0600); qualification 
board-standard certificate (.0700); disciplinary actions and other contested matters (.0800); manufactured housing 
board (.0900); NC Home Inspector Licensure Board (.1000); home inspector standards of practice and code of ethics 
(.1100); disciplinary actions (.1200); home inspector continuing education (.1300); Manufactured Housing Board 
continuing education (.1400); and alternate designs and construction appeals (.1500). 

Nature of Probationary Certificate 
Amend* 

 
11 NCAC 08 .0602 

Nature of Standard Certificate 
Amend* 

 
11 NCAC 08 .0702 

Residential Changeout Inspector 
Adopt* 

 
11 NCAC 08 .0734 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 17 are from the N.C. Alarm Systems Licensing Board and cover the organization and general 
provisions (.0100); provisions for licensees (.0200); provisions for registrants (.0300); the recovery fund (.0400); and 
continuing education for licensees (.0500). 

Application for License 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 17 .0201 

Renewal or Reinstatement of License 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 17 .0204 

Application for Registration 
Amend* 

 
14B NCAC 17 .0301 
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EDUCATION, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 6 cover elementary and secondary education including transportation, personnel, curriculum, 
textbooks, testing, students, public relations, and federal programs. The rules in Subchapter 6B concern the student 
transportation system. 

School Bus Passengers 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06B .0111 

Purchase of School Bus Equipment 
Adopt** 

 
16 NCAC 06B .0112 

Activity Bus Drivers 
Adopt** 

 
16 NCAC 06B .0113 

School Bus and Activity Bus Inspections 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06B .0114 

The rules in Subchapter 6C concern personnel including general provisions (.0100); teacher education (.0200); 
licensure and educator Preparation Programs (EPPS) (.0300); annuities and pensions (.0400); performance appraisal 
system (.0500); code of professional practice and conduct for North Carolina educators (.0600); and educator 
employment (.0700). 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0334 

NC Educator License for Area of Assignment 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0335 

License Levels for a NC Educator License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0336 

Basic Entity Data to Apply for a NC Educator License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0337 

Licensure Transaction Checklist to Apply for a NC Educato... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0338 

Requirements to be Issued a Continuing Professional Licen... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0339 

Requirements to be Issued an Initial Professional License... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0340 

Requirements to be Issued a Residency License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0341 

Requirements to Add a Provisional Teaching Area to a Nort... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0342 

Degree Level Requirements to be Issued a Provisional Lice... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0343 

Requirements to be Issued a Provisional Student Services ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0344 

Requirements to be Issued a Provisional License for Princ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0345 

Requirements to be Issued a Permit to Teach 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0346 

Recommendation to be Issued an Initial Professional License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0347 

Enrollment and Employment Requirements for a Residency Li... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0348 

Comparability for Out-of-State Licensure Exams 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0349 

Duration of an Initial Professional License  16 NCAC 06C .0350 
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Adopt* 

Testing Requirements to Convert an Expired License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0351 

Testing Requirements to Convert a Lateral Entry License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0352 

Deadline for Licensure Testing Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0353 

Effectiveness Data Requirements to Qualify for a Continui... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0354 

Teaching Experience Requirements to be Issued a NC Educat... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0355 

Content Area Examination and Coursework Requirements to b... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0356 

Requirements to be Issued an International Faculty License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0357 

Restrictions to be Issued an Alternative License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0358 

Restrictions for an Emergency License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0359 

Application Eligibility to be Issued a Lifetime License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0360 

Requirements for an Educator to be Placed on a Mandatory ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0361 

Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0362 

Renewal Credit Requirements to Renew a Continuing Profess... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0363 

Experience/Degree Credit for Salary Purposes 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0364 

Non-Teaching Work Experience Credit Requirements for Nort... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0365 

Experience Credit Requirements for Career and Technical E... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0366 

Experience Credit Requirements for Junior Reserve Officer... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0367 

Requirements to be Awarded the Corporal Pruitt Rainey Bra... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0368 

Requirements for an Educator to be Granted Master's Degre... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0369 

Experience Credit Restrictions Enforced by the Appeals Panel 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0370 

Licensure Fees for North Carolina Educators 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0371 

Denying a License Application or Suspension or Revocation... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0372 

Reporting Requirements for Suspected Child Abuse by a Loc... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0373 

Investigation Requirements to Determine Reasonable Cause ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0374 

Voluntary Surrender of an Educator License 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0375 

Reinstatement or Issuance for an Educator with a Suspende...  16 NCAC 06C .0376 
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Adopt* 

Notification to Other States Involving Denial, Suspension... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0377 

Procedure for Seeking Exception from Licensure Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0378 

One-Year Extension Process for Coursework Requirements to... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0379 

Decision of the State Board of Education for a Requested ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0380 

Beginning Teacher Support Program Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0381 

Beginning Teacher Support Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0382 

Beginning Teacher Professional Development Plan 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0383 

Mentor Program Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0384 

Standards that Determine Teacher Ratings 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0385 

School Administrator Preparation Program Coursework Requi... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0386 

School Administrator Preparation Program Curriculum Requi... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0387 

School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Requi... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0388 

School Administrator Preparation Program Internship Site ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0389 

School Administrators Preparation Program Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0390 

Testing Exemptions for Admission into an Educator Prepara... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0391 

Testing Requirements for Admission into an Educator Prepa... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0392 

Mathematics Instructional Requirements for Educator Prepa... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0393 

Standards of Practice for Innovative or Experimental Prog... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0394 

Process for Filing a Complaint Against and Educator Prepa... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0395 

Restrictions on the Authority of the State Board of Educa... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0396 

Educator Preparation Program Coursework Requirements for ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0397 

Model Teacher Contracts for Teachers 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06C .0701 

The rules in Subchapter 6D cover instruction including curriculum (.0100), textbooks (.0200), testing programs (.0300), 
and accountability standards and graduation requirements (.0500). 

Textbook Evaluation Criteria and Invitation to Submit 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0211 

Textbook Publishers Registry 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0212 
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Test Administration in Public Schools 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0307 

Role of the Testing Coordinator 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0308 

Requirements of End-of-Course Assessments 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0309 

Appropriate Use of State Tests 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0310 

Testing Code of Ethics 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0311 

Use of State-Designated Assessments for the NC Teacher Ev... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06D .0313 

The rules in Subchapter 6E concern students including attendance (.0100); school athletics and sports medicine (.0200); 
and driver training (.0300); 

Definition of Student Chronic Absenteeism Rate 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06E .0106 

School Violence Acts Defined and the Annual Report of The... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06E .0107 

Interscholastic Athletes 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06E .0204 

Concussion Safety Requirements for Interscholastic Compet... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06E .0205 

Athletic Trainers 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06E .0206 

The rules in Subchapter 6G relate to education agency relations including rules about the school-based management 
and accountability program (.0300) and charter schools (.0500). 

Alternative Schools' Accountability Models 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0314 

Accountability Annual Performance Standards 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0315 

Purpose of SBE's Compliance Commission for Accountability 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0316 

Charter School Accountability Requirements 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0503 

Charter Schools Student Admissions 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0504 

Charter Schools Financial Noncompliance - Impact of Finan... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0505 

Charter Schools Governance Noncompliance 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0506 

Charter School Renewal Process 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0507 

Charter School Application and Review Process 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0508 

Planning Year for New Preliminary Charter Schools 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0509 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0510 

Charter Amendments for Existing Public Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0511 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

35:01 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JULY 1, 2020 

88 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0512 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0513 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0514 

Fast Track Replication of High Quality Charter Schools - ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0515 

Virtual Charter Schools Attendance and Membership - Appli... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0516 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Purpose a... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0517 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Eligibility 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0518 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Application 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0519 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Applicati... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0520 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Review an... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0521 

Alternative Charter School Designation Policy - Terminati... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0522 

Management Organizations and Support Organizations 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0523 

Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Pe... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06G .0524 

The rules in Subchapter 6H concern federal programs. 

Nutrition Standards for Elementary Schools 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06H .0113 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - Defini... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06H .0114 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - LEA Di... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06H .0115 

Dispute Resolution Process for Homeless Students - State ... 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06H .0116 

Operations of Federal Programs 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06H .0117 

The rules in Subchapter 6K concern the education services for the deaf and blind (EDSB). 

School Security 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06K .0101 

Standard Course of Study (SCOS) 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06K .0103 

Placement Procedures 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06K .0104 

Weapons Prohibited on School Property 
Adopt* 

 
16 NCAC 06K .0105 
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MEDICAL BOARD/PERFUSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

The rules in Subchapter 32V are rules covering licensure of perfusionists and the practice of perfusion. Perfusion 
primarily concerns operating cardiopulmonary bypass systems during cardiac surgery cases. 

Practice During a Disaster 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 32V .0111 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Right to Hearing 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2001 

Request for Hearing 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2004 

Granting or Denying Hearing Request 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2005 

Notice of Hearing 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2006 

Who Shall Hear Contested Cases 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2007 

Informal Procedures 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2008 

Petition for Intervention 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2009 

Types of Intervention 
Repeal* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2010 

Disqualification of Board Members 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2011 

Subpoenas 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2013 

Witnesses 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2014 

Final Decision 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2015 

Proposals for Decisions 
Amend* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2016 

Reapplications, Reinstatement, Rehearing and Reconsideration 
Adopt* 

 
21 NCAC 46 .2017 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

JULIAN MANN, III 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   Selina Malherbe 

Don Overby    J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Tenisha Jacobs 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

19 DHR 02961 4/28/2020 Learning Early 

Childhood Center 

LLC 

v. Division of Child Development and 

Early Education- Department of Health 

and Human Services 

Ward 

19 DHR 06158 4/22/2020 Bridges of Hope Inc v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Benefits 

Bawtinhimer 

19 DHR 06607 4/15/2020 Marika Bright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services 

Ward 

        

19 DOJ 04778 4/9/2020 Stephanie McGhee v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

19 DOJ 05064 4/27/2020 Lamar Krider v. North Carolina Sheriffs Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Jacobs 

19 DOJ 06722 4/17/2020 Matthew Joseph 

Jankowski 

v. North Carolina Alarm Systems 

Licensing Board 

Jacobs 

        

19 INS 04536 4/13/2020 Kelly Kavit v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

Jacobs 

19 INS 05717 4/22/2020 Elizabeth Nickels v. North Carolina State Health Plan Lassiter 

        

19 OSP 05480 4/1/2020 Wei Wen Gou v. North Carolina State University Bawtinhimer 

19 OSP 05604 4/8/2020 Amie Roberts v. Transylvania County Department of 

Social Services Director Darrell 

Renfroe 

Sutton 

        

19 SOS 06198 4/17/2020 Linda Verdi Rice v. NC Department of the Secretary of State Lassiter 

19 SOS 06568 4/21/2020 Gardenia Johnson v. NC Department of the Secretary of State 

Attn: Ann Wall General Counsel 

Malherbe 

        

19 UNC 03351 4/16/2020 Kim Smith v. University of North Carolina Hospitals Ward 
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    Unpublished    

20 ABC 00178 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Casey Lynn Smith T/A Caseys Cove May 

20 ABC 00402 4/3/2020 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Naeem Ahmed Bhatti T/A Washington 

Quick Mart 

May 

        

20 CPS 00358 4/14/2020 Tina B Cline v. North Carolina Crime Victims 

Compensation Commission 

Malherbe 

        

19 CSE 05598 4/7/2020 Nathan J Trautman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05719 4/27/2020 Christopher Harrell v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Jacobs 

19 CSE 05796 4/27/2020 Fritz S Chevalier v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05805 4/28/2020 Aslam Tawhid v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05833 4/21/2020 David L Wright v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05906 4/22/2020 Ian Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 05955 4/3/2020 James Scott 

Whitaker 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 05964 4/15/2020 Ariel J Moreiras v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06001 3/19/2020; 

4/30/2020 

Geoffrey R Vincent v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Malherbe 

19 CSE 06004 4/21/2020 Jeffrey B Sluder v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06005 4/6/2020 William J Matson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Service 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06023 4/2/2020 Kenneth J Wolford v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Culpepper 

19 CSE 06024 4/15/2020 Joshua C Nelson v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06055 4/6/2020 Fredrick L Williams v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Lassiter 

19 CSE 06128 4/21/2020 Thomas J Weaver v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Services 

Sutton 
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19 CSE 06131 4/30/2020 Marcel A Pestano Jr v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06134 4/22/2020 Calop Thomason v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

19 CSE 06177 4/23/2020; 

4/27/2020 

Jermaine A McNair v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06253 4/27/2020 Johan Rosario v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Ward 

19 CSE 06261 4/3/2020 Fernando A rivera v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06343 4/7/2020 William E Smith v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

19 CSE 06382 4/13/2020 Howard Michael 

Stein Jr 

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Bawtinhimer 

19 CSE 06475 4/8/2020 Joe Nelms v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Ward 

        

19 DCS 06057 4/16/2020 Ronald L Waterman v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

Culpepper 

        

19 DHR 06026 4/8/2020 Lori Ann Buie v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Jacobs 

20 DHR 00728 4/22/2020 Dr Edward A 

Patterson 

v. DOCD Mann 

20 DHR 00729 4/1/2020 Aqcrevcia Japhuer 

Jones 

v. Golden Year Nursing Home 

Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Overby 

20 DHR 01242 4/17/2020 Jeffrey Levenbook v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

        

20 EHR 00470 4/8/2020 KG Plaza LLC v. NC Department of Environmental 

Quality 

Jacobs 

20 EHR 00761 4/24/2020 Derrick Stroud v. North Carolina Department of 

Environmental Quality 

Overby 

        

20 OAH 00087 4/22/2020 Cheryl A Jenkins v. Office of Administrative Hearings Mann 

        

20 SOS 00426 4/21/2020 Rhondra Simpson v. Department of the Secretary of State Malherbe 

20 SOS 00548 4/21/2020 Samantha E Foster v. North Carolina Department of the 

Secretary of State Notary Public 

Division 

Malherbe 

 

 




