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10A NCAC 13F .0703 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13F .0703 TUBERCULOSIS TEST, MEDICAL EXAMINATION AND IMMUNIZATIONS 3 

(a)  Upon admission to an adult care home each resident shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with 4 

the control measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including 5 

subsequent amendments and editions.  Copies of the rule are available at no charge by contacting the Department of 6 

Health and Human Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 7 

27699-1902.  8 

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by a licensed physician or physician extender prior to 9 

admission to the facility and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, “physician extender” means a licensed 10 

physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed prior to admission shall be used 11 

by the facility to determine if the facility can meet the needs of the resident.   12 

(c)  The results of the complete examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule are to be entered on the FL-2, North 13 

Carolina Medicaid Program Long Term Care Services, or MR-2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Mental 14 

Retardation Services, which shall comply with the following:   15 

(1) The examining date recorded on the FL-2 or MR-2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the person's 16 

admission to the home.   17 

(2) The FL-2 or MR-2 shall be in the facility before admission or accompany the resident upon 18 

admission and be reviewed by the facility before admission except for emergency admissions. 19 

(3) In the case of an emergency admission, the medical examination and completion of the FL-2 or MR-20 

2 as required by this rule shall be within 72 hours of admission as long as current medication and 21 

treatment orders are available upon admission or there has been an emergency medical evaluation, 22 

including any orders for medications and treatments, upon admission. 23 

(4) If the information on the FL-2 or MR-2 is not clear or is insufficient, the facility shall contact the 24 

physician for clarification in order to determine if the services of the facility can meet the 25 

individual's needs.   26 

(5) The completed FL-2 or MR-2 shall be filed in the resident's record in the home. 27 

(6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility shall have a completed FL-2 or MR-2 or a transfer 28 

form or discharge summary with signed prescribing practitioner orders upon the resident's return to 29 

the facility from the hospital. 30 

The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the resident’s admission to the facility, 31 

except in the case of emergency admission.  32 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the medical examination of the resident shall be conducted 33 

within 72 hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the facility shall obtain current medication and 34 

treatment orders from a licensed physician or physician extender. 35 

(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North 36 

Carolina Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no cost on the Department’s Medicaid website 37 
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at https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the 1 

physician or physician extender completing the medical examination. The medical examination shall include the 2 

following:  3 

(1) resident’s identification information, including the resident’s name, date of birth, sex, admission 4 

date, county and Medicaid number, current facility and address, physician’s name and address, a 5 

relative’s name and address, current level of care, and recommended level of care; 6 

(2) resident’s admitting diagnoses, including primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of onset; 7 

(3) resident’s current medical information, including orientation, behaviors, personal care assistance 8 

needs, frequency of physician visits, ambulatory status, functional limitations, information related 9 

to activities and social needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder functioning status, manner of 10 

communication of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and nutritional status including orders 11 

for therapeutic diets; 12 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, physical 13 

therapy, range of motion exercises, a bowel and bladder program, a restorative feeding program, 14 

speech therapy, and restraints; 15 

(5) resident’s medications, including the name, strength, dosage, frequency and route of administration 16 

of each medication; 17 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined by the physician or physician extender to be 18 

necessary information related to the resident’s care needs; and 19 

(7) additional information as determined by the physician or physician extender to be necessary for the 20 

care of the resident.  21 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear or is insufficient, or information provided to the 22 

facility related to the resident’s condition or medications after the completion of the medical examination conflicts 23 

with the information provided on the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician or physician 24 

extender for clarification in order to determine if the facility can meet the individual's needs. 25 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in the resident’s record in accordance with Rule .1201 26 

of this Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 27 

(h) Upon a resident’s return to the facility from a hospitalization, the facility shall obtain and review the hospital 28 

discharge summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge medication orders. If the facility identifies 29 

discrepancies between the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility shall clarify the discrepancies 30 

with the resident’s physician or physician extender. 31 

(d)(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal disease and annually against influenza virus according 32 

to G.S. 13D-9, except as otherwise indicated in this law. 33 

(e)The facility shall make arrangements for any resident, who has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 34 

months before entering the home and who does not have a current plan for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local 35 

physician or a physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission and to have a plan for psychiatric 36 

follow-up care when indicated. 37 
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(j)  The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, 1 

licensed physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric care within 30 days of admission or re-2 

admission to the facility when the resident: 3 

(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months prior to admission to the facility and 4 

does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care; or 5 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, or other 6 

psychiatric symptoms that required hospitalization within 12 months prior to admission to the 7 

facility and does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care.  8 

 9 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 10 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 2003; 11 

Eff. June 1, 2004. 2004; 12 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 13 
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10A NCAC 13F .0704 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13F .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT, INFORMATION ON HOME FACILITY, AND 3 

RESIDENT REGISTER 4 

(a)  An adult care home administrator or administrator-in-charge or their management designee shall furnish and 5 

review with the resident or responsible person the resident’s authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this 6 

Subchapter information on the home facility upon admission and when changes are made to that information. The 7 

facility shall involve the resident in the review of the resident contract and information on the facility unless the 8 

resident is cognitively unable to participate in the discussion. A statement indicating that this information has been 9 

received upon admission or amendment as required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person to whom it 10 

is given and retained in the resident's record in the home facility. The information shall include the following: 11 

(1) the resident contract to which the following applies: 12 

(A) the contract shall specify rates charges for resident services and accommodations, 13 

including the cost of different levels of service, if applicable, description of levels of care 14 

and services, and any other charges or fees; 15 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health needs or conditions that the facility has determined it 16 

cannot meet pursuant to G.S. 131D-2(a1)(4); meet; 17 

(C) the contract shall be signed and dated by the administrator or administrator-in-charge 18 

management designee and the resident or responsible person, the resident’s authorized 19 

representative, a copy given to the resident or responsible person the resident’s authorized 20 

representative and a copy kept in the resident's record; 21 

(D) the resident or responsible person the resident’s authorized representative shall be notified 22 

as soon as any change is known, but not less than 30 days before the change for rate changes 23 

initiated by the facility, of any changes in the contract given a written 30-day notice prior 24 

to any change in charges for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of 25 

different levels of service, description of level of care and services, and any other charges 26 

or fees, and be provided an amended contract or an amendment to the contract for review 27 

and signature; confirmation of receipt; 28 

(E) gratuities in addition to the established rates shall not be accepted; and 29 

(F) the maximum monthly adult care home rate that may be charged to Special Assistance 30 

recipients is as established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission and the 31 

North Carolina General Assembly.  32 

Note:  Facilities may accept payments for room and board from a third party, such as family member, charity or faith 33 

community, if the payment is made voluntarily to supplement the cost of room and board for the added benefit of a 34 

private room or a private or semi-private room in a special care unit. 35 

(2) a written copy of all house rules, including facility policies on smoking, alcohol consumption, 36 

visitation, refunds and the requirements for discharge of residents consistent with the rules of this 37 
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Subchapter, and amendments disclosing any changes in the house rules; rules. The house rules shall 1 

be in compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 2 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights as found in G.S. 131D-21; 3 

(4) a copy of the home's facility’s grievance procedures which that shall indicate how the resident is to 4 

present complaints and make suggestions as to the home's facility’s policies and services on behalf 5 

of himself or herself or others; and 6 

(5) a statement as to whether the home facility has signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of 7 

Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions, 8 

Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also indicate that, if the home facility does not choose 9 

to comply or is found to be in non-compliance, non-compliant, the residents of the home facility 10 

would not be able to receive State-County Special Assistance for Adults and the home facility would 11 

not receive supportive services from the county department of social services. 12 

(b)  The administrator or administrator-in-charge their management designee and the resident or the resident's 13 

responsible person representative shall complete and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of 14 

the resident's admission to the facility and revise the information on the form as needed. in accordance with G.S. 15 

131D-2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the completion of the Resident Register unless the resident is 16 

cognitively unable to participate. The Resident Register shall include the following: 17 

(1) resident’s identification information including the resident’s name, date of birth, sex, admission 18 

date, medical insurance, family and emergency contacts, advanced directives, and physician’s name 19 

and address; 20 

(2) resident’s current care needs including activities of daily living and services, use of assistive aids, 21 

orientation status; 22 

(3) resident’s preferences including personal habits, food preferences and allergies, community 23 

involvement, and activity interests; 24 

(4) resident’s consent and request for assistance including the release of information, personal funds 25 

management, personal lockable space, discharge information, and assistance with personal mail;  26 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident who is to receive a copy of the notice of discharge 27 

per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 28 

(6) resident’s consent including a signature confirming the review and receipt of information contained 29 

in the form. 30 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf or at 31 

no charge from the Division of Health Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section, 2708 Mail Service Center, 32 

Raleigh, NC 27699-2708. charge. The facility may use a resident information form other than the Resident Register 33 

as long as it contains at least the same information as the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register shall 34 

be kept updated and maintained in the resident’s record. 35 

 36 

History Note: Authority 131D-2.15; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 37 
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Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2004; 1 

Eff. July 1, 2005. 2 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2022. 2022; 3 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 4 
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10A NCAC 13F .1103 is amended as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13F .1103 LEGAL AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE 3 

(a)  In situations where a resident of an adult care home is unable to manage his their monetary funds, the administrator 4 

shall contact a family member or the county department of social services regarding the need for a legal representative 5 

or payee. an authorized representative. For the purposes of this Rule, an “authorized representative” shall mean a 6 

person who is legally authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or her behalf in the management 7 

of their funds. The administrator and other staff of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's legal authorized 8 

representative, payee, or executor of a will, except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 9 

(b)  In the case of funds administered by the Social Security Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other 10 

federal government agencies, the administrator of the home facility may serve as a payee when so authorized as a 11 

legally constituted authority by the respective federal agencies. 12 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized representative or payee receipts for any monies received 13 

on behalf of the resident. 14 

 15 

History Note: Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 16 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 17 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 18 

2018. 2018; 19 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2024. 20 
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10A NCAC 13F .1104 is amended as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13F .1104 ACCOUNTING FOR RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 3 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special Assistance personal needs allowance after payment 4 

of the cost of care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures. 5 

resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For residents who have been 6 

adjudicated incompetent, the signature of the resident’s authorized representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot 7 

include the staff handling the residents’ personal funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home. 8 

facility. 9 

(b)  Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal representative or payee, their authorized representative, 10 

an administrator administrator, or the administrator's designee may handle the personal money for a resident, provided 11 

an accurate accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is available upon request of the 12 

resident or his legal representative or payee. their authorized representative during the facility’s established business 13 

days and hours. 14 

(c)  A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this 15 

Rule shall be signed by the resident, legal resident of the resident’s authorized representative or payee or marked by 16 

the resident, if not adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' signatures resident at least monthly verifying the 17 

accuracy of the disbursement of personal funds. If marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For 18 

residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident’s authorized representative 19 

with a copy of the monthly resident’s funds statement and shall obtain verification of receipt. The record records shall 20 

be maintained in the home. facility. 21 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with facility funds. The facility shall not commingle the 22 

personal funds of residents in an interest-bearing account. 23 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be available to the resident or his legal representative or 24 

payee their authorized representative upon request during regular office hours, the facility’s established business days 25 

and hours except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter. Section. 26 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to the resident'' resident’s account within 24 hours of the 27 

check being deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds being available in the facility’s resident 28 

personal funds account. 29 

 30 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 31 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 32 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 33 

2018. 2018; 34 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2024. 35 
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10A NCAC 13F .1106 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13F .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF CARE 3 

(a)  If a resident of an adult care home, after being notified by the facility of its intent to discharge the resident in 4 

accordance with Rule .0702 of this Subchapter, moves out of the facility before the period of time specified in the 5 

notice has elapsed, the facility shall refund the resident an amount equal to the cost of care for the remainder of the 6 

month minus any nights spent in the facility during the notice period. The refund shall be made within 14 days after 7 

the resident leaves the facility. For the purposes of this Rule, “cost of care” means any monies paid by the resident or 8 

the resident’s legal representative in advance for room and board and services provided by the facility as agreed upon 9 

in the resident’s contract. 10 

(b)  If a resident moves out of the facility without giving notice, as may be required by the facility according to Rule 11 

.0702(h) .0702(i) of this Subchapter, or before the facility's required notice period has elapsed, the resident owes the 12 

facility an amount equal to the cost of care for the required notice period.  If a resident receiving State-County Special 13 

Assistance moves before the facility's required notice period has elapsed, the former facility is entitled to the required 14 

payment for the notice period before the new facility receives any payment.  The facility shall refund the resident the 15 

remainder of any advance payment following settlement of the cost of care.  The refund shall be made within 14 days 16 

from the date of notice or, if no notice is given, within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility. 17 

(c)  When there is an exception to the notice, as provided in Rule .0702(h) .0702(i) of this Subchapter, to protect the 18 

health or safety of the resident or others in the facility, or when there is a sudden, unexpected closure of the facility 19 

that requires the resident to relocate, the resident is only required to pay for any nights spent in the facility.  A refund 20 

shall be made to the resident by the facility within 14 days from the date of notice. 21 

(d)  When a resident gives notice of leaving the facility, as may be required by the facility according to Rule .0702(h) 22 

.0702(i) of this Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the facility shall refund the resident the 23 

remainder of any advance payment within 14 days from the date of notice.  If notice is not required by the facility, the 24 

refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the facility. 25 

(e)  When a resident leaves the facility with the intent of returning to it, the following apply: 26 

(1) The facility may reserve the resident's bed for a set number of days with the written agreement of 27 

the facility and the resident or his or her responsible person and thereby require payment for the 28 

days the bed is held. 29 

(2) If, after leaving the facility, the resident decides not to return to it, the resident or someone acting 30 

on his or her behalf may be required by the facility to provide up to a 14-day written notice that he 31 

is not returning. 32 

(3) Requirement of a notice, if it is to be applied by the facility, shall be a part of the written agreement 33 

and explained by the facility to the resident and his or her family or responsible person before 34 

signing. 35 

(4) On notice by the resident or someone acting on his or her behalf that he will not be returning to the 36 

facility, the facility shall refund the remainder of any advance payment to the resident or his or her 37 
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responsible person, minus an amount equal to the cost of care for the period covered by the 1 

agreement.  The refund shall be made within 14 days after notification that the resident will not be 2 

returning to the facility. 3 

(5) In no situation involving a recipient of State-County Special Assistance may a facility require 4 

payment for more than 30 days since State-County Special Assistance is not authorized unless the 5 

resident is actually residing in the facility or it is anticipated that he or she will return to the facility 6 

within 30 days. 7 

(6) Exceptions to the two weeks' 14-day notice, if required by the facility, are cases where returning to 8 

the facility would jeopardize the health or safety of the resident or others in the facility as certified 9 

by the resident's physician or approved by the county department of social services, and in the case 10 

of the resident's death.  In these cases, the facility shall refund the rest of any advance payment 11 

calculated beginning with the day the facility is notified. 12 

(f)  If a resident dies, the administrator of his estate or the Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for his or 13 

her estate has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost of care for the month minus any nights spent 14 

in the facility during the month.  This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's death. 15 

 16 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165; 17 

Eff. July 1, 2005. 2005; 18 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 19 
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10A NCAC 13G .0702 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .0702 TUBERCULOSIS TEST AND MEDICAL EXAMINATION EXAMINATION, AND 3 

IMMUNIZATIONS 4 

(a)  Upon admission to a family care home each resident shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance with 5 

the control measures adopted by the Commission for Public Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205 including 6 

subsequent amendments and editions.  Copies of the rule are available at no charge by contacting the Department of 7 

Health and Human Services, Tuberculosis Control Program, 1902 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 8 

27699-1902. 9 

(b)  Each resident shall have a medical examination completed by a licensed physician or physician extender prior to 10 

admission to the home and annually thereafter. For the purposes of this Rule, “physician extender” means a licensed 11 

physician assistant or licensed nurse practitioner. The medical examination completed prior to admission shall be used 12 

by the facility to determine if the facility can meet the needs of the resident. 13 

(c)  The results of the complete examination are to be entered on the FL-2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Long 14 

Term Care Services, or MR-2, North Carolina Medicaid Program Mental Retardation Services, which shall comply 15 

with the following: 16 

(1) The examining date recorded on the FL-2 or MR-2 shall be no more than 90 days prior to the person's 17 

admission to the home.   18 

(2) The FL-2 or MR-2 shall be in the facility before admission or accompany the resident upon 19 

admission and be reviewed by the administrator or supervisor-in-charge before admission except 20 

for emergency admissions. 21 

(3) In the case of an emergency admission, the medical examination and completion of the FL-2 or MR-22 

2 shall be within 72 hours of admission as long as current medication and treatment orders are 23 

available upon admission or there has been an emergency medical evaluation, including any orders 24 

for medications and treatments, upon admission. 25 

(4) If the information on the FL-2 or MR-2 is not clear or is insufficient, the administrator or 26 

supervisor-in-charge shall contact the physician for clarification in order to determine if the services 27 

of the facility can meet the individual's needs.   28 

(5) The completed FL-2 or MR-2 shall be filed in the resident's record in the home. 29 

(6) If a resident has been hospitalized, the facility shall have a completed FL-2 or MR-2 or a transfer 30 

form or discharge summary with signed prescribing practitioner orders upon the resident’s return to 31 

the facility from the hospital. 32 

The medical examination shall be completed no more than 90 days prior to the resident’s admission to the facility, 33 

except in the case of emergency admission.  34 

(d)  In the case of an unplanned, emergency admission, the medical examination of the resident shall be conducted 35 

within 72 hours after admission. Prior to an emergency admission, the facility shall obtain current medication and 36 

treatment orders from a licensed physician or physician extender. 37 
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(e)  The result of the medical examination required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be documented on the North 1 

Carolina Medicaid Adult Care Home FL-2 form which is available at no cost on the Department’s Medicaid website 2 

at https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/6549/open. The Adult Care Home FL-2 shall be signed and dated by the 3 

physician or physician extender completing the medical examination. The medical examination shall include the 4 

following:  5 

(1) resident’s identification information, including the resident’s name, date of birth, sex, admission 6 

date, county and Medicaid number, current facility and address, physician’s name and address, a 7 

relative’s name and address, current level of care, and recommended level of care; 8 

(2) resident’s admitting diagnoses, including primary and secondary diagnoses and dates of onset; 9 

(3) resident’s current medical information, including orientation, behaviors, personal care assistance 10 

needs, frequency of physician visits, ambulatory status, functional limitations, information related 11 

to activities and social needs, neurological status, bowel and bladder functioning status, manner of 12 

communication of needs, skin condition, respiratory status, and nutritional status including orders 13 

for therapeutic diets; 14 

(4) special care factors, including physician orders for blood pressure, diabetic urine testing, physical 15 

therapy, range of motion exercises, a bowel and bladder program, a restorative feeding program, 16 

speech therapy, and restraints; 17 

(5) resident’s medications, including the name, strength, dosage, frequency and route of  administration 18 

of each medication; 19 

(6) results of x-rays or laboratory tests determined by the physician or physician extender to be 20 

necessary information related to the resident’s care needs; and 21 

(7) additional information as determined by the physician or physician extender to be necessary for the 22 

care of the resident. 23 

(f)  If the information on the Adult Care Home FL-2 is not clear or is insufficient, or information provided to the 24 

facility related to the resident’s condition or medications after the completion of the medical examination conflicts 25 

with the information provided on the Adult Care Home FL-2, the facility shall contact the physician or physician 26 

extender for clarification in order to determine if the facility can meet the individual's needs.  27 

(g)  The results of the medical examination shall be maintained in the resident’s record in accordance with Rule .1201 28 

of this Subchapter. Discharge medication orders shall be clarified in accordance with Rule .1002(a) of this Subchapter. 29 

(h) Upon a resident’s return to the facility from a hospitalization, the facility shall obtain and review the hospital 30 

discharge summary or discharge instructions, including any discharge medication orders. If the facility identifies 31 

discrepancies between the discharge orders and current orders at the facility, the facility shall clarify the discrepancies 32 

with the resident’s physician or physician extender. 33 

(d)(i)  Each resident shall be immunized against pneumococcal disease and annually against influenza virus according 34 

to G.S. 131D-9, except as otherwise indicated in this law. 35 

(e)  The home shall make arrangements for any resident, who has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 36 

months before entering the home and who does not have a current plan for psychiatric care, to be examined by a local 37 
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physician or a physician in a mental health center within 30 days after admission and to have a plan for psychiatric 1 

follow-up care when indicated. 2 

(j) The facility shall make arrangements for a resident to be evaluated by a licensed mental health professional, licensed 3 

physician or licensed physician extender for follow-up psychiatric care within 30 days of admission or re-admission 4 

to the facility when the resident: 5 

(1) has been an inpatient of a psychiatric facility within 12 months prior to admission to the facility and 6 

does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care; or 7 

(2) has been hospitalized due to threatening or violent behavior, suicidal ideation or self-harm, or other 8 

psychiatric symptoms that required hospitalization within 12 months prior to admission to the 9 

facility and does not have a current plan for follow-up psychiatric care. 10 

 11 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 12 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 13 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 14 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984;  15 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 16 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004. 2004; 17 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 18 
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10A NCAC 13G .0703 is repealed through readoption as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .0703 RESIDENT REGISTER 3 

 4 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 5 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 6 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 7 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 8 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 9 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2022; July 1, 2005. 2005; 10 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2024. 11 



  06/15/23 

1 of 3 

10A NCAC 13G .0704 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .0704 RESIDENT CONTRACT AND INFORMATION ON HOME CONTRACT, 3 

INFORMATION ON FACILITY, AND RESIDENT REGISTER 4 

(a)  The administrator or supervisor-in-charge shall furnish and review with the resident or his responsible person the 5 

resident’s authorized representative as defined in Rule .1103 of this Subchapter information on the family care home 6 

facility upon admission and when changes are made to that information. The facility shall involve the resident in the 7 

review of the resident contract and information on the facility unless the resident is cognitively unable to participate 8 

in the discussion. A statement indicating that this information has been received upon admission or amendment as 9 

required by this Rule shall be signed and dated by each person to whom it is given. This statement shall be retained in 10 

the resident's record in the home. facility.  The information shall include: include the following: 11 

(1) a copy of the home's resident contract specifying rates for resident services and accommodations, 12 

including the cost of different levels of service, if applicable, any other charges or fees, and any 13 

health needs or conditions the home has determined it cannot meet pursuant to G.S. 131D-2(a1)(4).  14 

In addition, the following applies: the resident contract to which the following applies: 15 

(A) the contract shall specify charges for resident services and accommodations, including the 16 

cost of different levels of service, description of levels of care and services, and any other 17 

charges or fees; 18 

(B) the contract shall disclose any health needs or conditions that the facility has determined it 19 

cannot meet; 20 

(a)(C) The the contract shall be signed and dated by the administrator or supervisor-in-charge and 21 

the resident or his responsible person the resident’s authorized representative and a copy 22 

given to the resident or his responsible person; the resident’s authorized representative and 23 

a copy kept in the resident’s record; 24 

(b)(D) The the resident or his responsible person the resident’s authorized representative shall be 25 

notified as soon as any change is known, but not less than 30 days for rate changes initiated 26 

by the home, of any rate changes or other changes in the contract affecting the resident 27 

services and accommodations given a written 30-day notice prior to any change in charges 28 

for resident services and accommodations, including the cost of different levels of service, 29 

description of level of care and services, and any other charges or fees, and be provided an 30 

amended copy of the contract for review and signature; confirmation of receipt; 31 

(c) A copy of each signed contract shall be kept in the resident's record in the home; 32 

(d)(E) Gratuities gratuities in addition to the established rates shall not be accepted; and 33 

(e)(F) The maximum monthly rate that may be charged to Special Assistance recipients is as 34 

established by the North Carolina Social Services Commission and the North Carolina 35 

General Assembly; 36 
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 Note:  Facilities may accept payments for room and board from a third party, such as family 1 

member, charity or faith community, if the payment is made voluntarily to supplement the 2 

cost of room and board for the added benefit of a private room. 3 

(2) a written copy of any house rules, including the conditions for the discharge and transfer of residents, 4 

the refund policies, and the home's facility’s policies on smoking, alcohol consumption and 5 

visitation consumption, visitation, refunds, and the requirements for discharge of residents 6 

consistent with the rules in this Subchapter and amendments disclosing any changes in the house 7 

rules; rules. The house rules shall be in compliance with G.S. 131D-21; 8 

(3) a copy of the Declaration of Residents' Rights as found in G.S. 131D-21; 9 

(4) a copy of the home's facility’s grievance procedures which that shall indicate how the resident is to 10 

present complaints and make suggestions as to the home's facility’s policies and services on behalf 11 

of self or others; and 12 

(5) a statement as to whether the home facility has signed Form DSS-1464, Statement of Assurance of 13 

Compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 for Other Agencies, Institutions, 14 

Organizations or Facilities, and which shall also indicate that if the home facility does not choose 15 

to comply or is found to be in non-compliance non-compliant the residents of the home facility 16 

would not be able to receive State-County Special Assistance for Adults and the home facility would 17 

not receive supportive services from the county department of social services. 18 

(b)  A family care home's administrator or supervisor-in-charge and the resident or the resident's responsible person 19 

shall complete and sign the Resident Register initial assessment within 72 hours of the resident's admission to the 20 

facility in accordance with G.S. 131D-2.15. The facility shall involve the resident in the completion of the Resident 21 

Register unless the resident is cognitively unable to participate. The Resident Register shall include the following: 22 

(1) resident’s identification information including the resident’s name, date of birth, sex, admission 23 

date, medical insurance, family and emergency contacts, advanced directives, and physician’s name 24 

and address; 25 

(2) resident’s current care needs including activities of daily living and services, use of assistive aids, 26 

orientation status; 27 

(3) resident’s preferences including personal habits, food preferences and allergies, community 28 

involvement, and activity interests; 29 

(4) resident’s consent and request for assistance including the release of information, personal funds 30 

management, personal lockable space, discharge information, and assistance with personal mail; 31 

(5) name of the individual identified by the resident who is to receive a copy of the notice of discharge 32 

per G.S. 131D-4.8; and 33 

(6) resident’s consent including a signature confirming the review and receipt of information contained 34 

in the form. 35 

The Resident Register is available on the internet website, https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/resregister.pdf, at no 36 

charge. The facility may use a resident information form other than the Resident Register as long as it contains same 37 
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information as the Resident Register. Information on the Resident Register shall be kept updated and maintained in 1 

the resident’s record. 2 

 3 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165;  4 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 5 

Amended Eff; July 1, 1990; April 1, 1987; 6 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 7 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005. 2005; 8 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 9 
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10A NCAC 13G .1102 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .1102  LEGAL AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE OR PAYEE 3 

(a)  In situations where a resident of a family care home is unable to manage his funds, their monetary funds the 4 

administrator shall contact a family member or the county department of social services regarding the need for a legal 5 

representative or payee. authorized representative. For the purposes of this Rule, an “authorized representative” shall 6 

mean a person who is legally authorized or designated in writing by the resident to act on his or her behalf in the 7 

management of their funds. The administrator and other staff of the home facility shall not serve as a resident's legal 8 

authorized representative, payee, or executor of a will, except as indicated in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 9 

(b)  In the case of funds administered by the Social Security Administration, the Veteran's Administration or other 10 

federal government agencies, the administrator of the home facility may serve as a payee when so authorized as a 11 

legally constituted authority by the respective federal agencies. 12 

(c)  The administrator shall give the resident's legal authorized representative or payee receipts for any monies received 13 

on behalf of the resident. 14 

 15 

History Note: Authority G.S. 35A-1203; 108A-37; 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 16 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 17 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 18 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, 1984. 1984; 19 

Effective January 1, 2024. 20 
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10A NCAC 13G .1103 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .1103 ACCOUNTING FOR RESIDENT'S PERSONAL FUNDS 3 

(a)  To document a resident's receipt of the State-County Special Assistance personal needs allowance after payment 4 

of the cost of care, a statement shall be signed by the resident or marked by the resident with two witnesses' signatures. 5 

resident. If the statement is marked by the resident, there shall be one witness signature. For residents who have been 6 

adjudicated incompetent, the signature of the resident’s authorized representative shall be required. Witnesses cannot 7 

include the staff handling the residents’ personal funds transactions. The statement shall be maintained in the home. 8 

facility.  9 

(b)  Upon the written authorization of the resident or his legal representative or payee, their authorized representative, 10 

an administrator or the administrator's designee may handle the personal money for a resident, provided an accurate 11 

accounting of monies received and disbursed and the balance on hand is available upon request of the resident or his 12 

legal representative or payee. their authorized representative during the facility’s established business days and hours. 13 

(c)  A record of each transaction involving the use of the resident's personal funds according to Paragraph (b) of this 14 

Rule shall be signed by the resident, legal representative or payee the resident or the resident’s authorized 15 

representative, or marked by the resident, if not adjudicated incompetent, with two witnesses' signatures resident, at 16 

least monthly verifying the accuracy of the disbursement of personal funds. If marked by the resident, there shall be 17 

one witness signature. For residents who have been adjudicated incompetent, the facility shall provide the resident’s 18 

authorized representative with a copy of the monthly resident’s funds statement and shall obtain verification of receipt.  19 

The record records shall be maintained in the home. facility. 20 

(d)  A resident's personal funds shall not be commingled with facility funds.  The facility shall not commingle the 21 

personal funds of residents in an interest-bearing account. 22 

(e)  All or any portion of a resident's personal funds shall be available to the resident or his legal their authorized 23 

representative or payee upon request during regular office hours, the facility’s established business days and hours 24 

except as provided in Rule .1105 of this Subchapter. 25 

(f)  The resident's personal needs allowance shall be credited to the resident's account within 24 hours of the check 26 

being deposited following endorsement. one business day of the funds being available in the facility’s resident personal 27 

funds account. 28 

 29 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 30 

Eff. April 1, 1984; 31 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; April 1, 1987. 1987; 32 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 33 
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10A NCAC 13G .1106 is readopted as published in 37:24 NCR 2219-2227 as follows: 1 

 2 

10A NCAC 13G .1106 SETTLEMENT OF COST OF CARE 3 

(a)  If a resident of a family care home, after being notified by the home facility of its intent to discharge the resident 4 

in accordance with Rule .0705 of this Subchapter, moves out of the home before the period of time specified in the 5 

notice has elapsed, the home facility shall refund the resident an amount equal to the cost of care for the remainder of 6 

the month minus any nights spent in the home facility during the notice period.  The refund shall be made within 14 7 

days after the resident leaves the home. facility. For the purposes of this Rule, “cost of care” means any monies paid 8 

by the resident or the resident’s legal representative in advance for room and board and services provided by facility 9 

as agreed upon in the resident’s contract.  10 

(b)  If a resident moves out of the home facility without giving notice, as may be required by the home facility 11 

according to Rule .0705(h) .0705(i) of this Subchapter, or before the home's facility’s required notice period has 12 

elapsed, the resident owes the home facility an amount equal to the cost of care for the required notice period.  If a 13 

resident receiving State-County Special Assistance moves without giving notice or before the notice period has 14 

elapsed, the former home facility is entitled to the required payment for the notice period before the new home facility 15 

receives any payment.  The home facility shall refund the resident the remainder of any advance payment following 16 

settlement of the cost of care.  The refund shall be made within 14 days from the date of notice or, if no notice is given, 17 

within 14 days of the resident leaving the home. facility. 18 

(c)  When there is an exception to the notice as provided in Rule .0705(h) .0705(i) of this Subchapter to protect the 19 

health or safety of the resident or others in the home, facility, or when there is a sudden, unexpected closure of the 20 

facility that requires the resident to relocate, the resident is only required to pay for any nights spent in the home. 21 

facility. A refund shall be made to the resident by the home facility within 14 days from the date of notice. 22 

(d)  When a resident gives notice of leaving the home, facility, as may be required by the home facility according to 23 

Rule .0705(h) .0705(i) of this Subchapter, and leaves at the end of the notice period, the home facility shall refund the 24 

resident the remainder of any advance payment within 14 days from the date of notice.  If notice is not required by the 25 

home, facility, the refund shall be made within 14 days after the resident leaves the home. facility. 26 

(e)  When a resident leaves the home facility with the intent of returning to it, the following apply: 27 

(1) The home facility may reserve the resident's bed for a set number of days with the written agreement 28 

of the home facility and the resident or his or her responsible person and thereby require payment 29 

for the days the bed is held. 30 

(2) If, after leaving the home, facility, the resident decides not to return to it, the resident or someone 31 

acting on his or her behalf may be required by the home facility to provide up to a 14-day written 32 

notice that he or she is not returning. 33 

(3) Requirement of a notice, if it is to be applied by the home, facility, shall be a part of the written 34 

agreement and explained by the home facility to the resident and his or her family or responsible 35 

person before signing. 36 
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(4) On notice by the resident or someone acting on his or her behalf that he or she will not be returning 1 

to the home, facility, the home facility shall refund the remainder of any advance payment to the 2 

resident or his or her responsible person, minus an amount equal to the cost of care for the period 3 

covered by the agreement.  The refund shall be made within 14 days after notification that the 4 

resident will not be returning to the home. facility. 5 

(5) In no situation involving a recipient of State-County Special Assistance may a home facility require 6 

payment for more than 30 days since State-County Special Assistance is not authorized unless the 7 

resident is actually residing in the home facility or it is anticipated that he or she will return to the 8 

home facility within 30 days. 9 

(6) Exceptions to the two weeks' 14-day notice, if required by the home, facility, are cases where 10 

returning to the home facility would jeopardize the health or safety of the resident or others in the 11 

home facility as certified by the resident's physician or approved by the county department of social 12 

services, and in the case of the resident's death.  In these cases, the home facility shall refund the 13 

rest of any advance payment calculated beginning with the day the home facility is notified. 14 

(f)  If a resident dies, the administrator of his or her estate or the Clerk of Superior Court, when no administrator for 15 

his or her estate has been appointed, shall be given a refund equal to the cost of care for the month minus any nights 16 

spent in the home facility during the month.  This is to be done within 30 days after the resident's death. 17 

 18 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-165; 19 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 20 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 21 

Amended Eff.  July 1, 1990; June 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 22 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 23 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 13, 2001; 24 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005. 2005; 25 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2024. 26 
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