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21 NCAC 25 .0202 The Application Package and Requirements for Licensure
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The North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board is submitting these temorary rules to align with what is required in the statute 
changes, as outline in HB 600, to implement the provisions of act. The statute directs the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board
to make temporary rules
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21 NCAC 25 .0202 IS ADOPTED UNDER TEMPORARY PROCEDURES AS FOLLOWS: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 25 .0202 THE APPLICATION PACKAGE AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE 3 
(a)  An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board: 4 

(1) A completed, signed, and dated application in the format provided by the Board; 5 
(2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant, 6 

made within two years of the date of application; 7 
(3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency; 8 
(4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check; 9 
(5) One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina 10 

Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts necessary to cover the cost of all 11 
necessary local, State and federal criminal record checks; and 12 

(6) A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter 13 
and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section. 14 

(b)  An applicant for an initial license under S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56, shall submit the 15 
following materials to the Board: 16 

(1) Written verification that the applicant was actively engaged as an interpreter or transliterator in this 17 
State for at least 200 hours for each of the two years immediately preceding 31 October 2002. The 18 
written verification must be signed by the individual who paid or approved payment for the services 19 
or the individual who supervised the applicant when the services were rendered; 20 

(2) Letters of recommendation from any two individuals who are: 21 
(A) Interpreters who hold valid National Association of the Deaf level 4 or 5 certifications; or 22 
(B) Interpreters who are nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc.; 23 

or 24 
(C) Transliterators who have national certifications recognized by the National Cued Speech 25 

Association ("NCSA"); or 26 
(D) Interpreters who hold quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System 27 

("NCICS") level A or B classifications in effect on January 1, 2000; or 28 
(E) Consumers of interpreter or transliterator services who have observed the applicant's 29 

performance as an interpreter or transliterator; or 30 
(F) The parent or legal guardian of a deaf consumer of interpreter or transliterator services who 31 

has observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator. 32 
(c)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant 33 
an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:  34 
 (1) Is 18 years of age or older. 35 
 (2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board. 36 
 (3) Meets one of the following criteria:  37 

(A) Is nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., (RID).  38 
(B) Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) national 39 

certification in cued language transliteration.  40 
(C) Holds a current Cued Language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 3 41 

or above classification.  42 
(D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Advanced or above.  43 
(E)  A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary 44 

certificate level IV or above.     45 
(d)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant 46 
an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following 47 
qualifications:  48 
 (1) Is 18 years of age or older. 49 
 (2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board. 50 

(3) Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board.  These unites must be completed 51 
for each renewable year.  52 

(4) Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from an accredited institution and satisfies 53 
one the following:   54 
(A) Holds a quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System (NCICS) level 55 

C classification. 56 



(B) Holds a valid National Association of the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 certification.  57 
(C) Holds a current Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) level 3.5 or above 58 

classification.  59 
(D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Basic.  60 
(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary 61 

certificate level III.      62 
(e)  Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), is 18 years of age or 63 
older, and is of good moral character as determined by the Board, the Board may also issue a provisional license to 64 
any of the following categories of persons seeking a one-time provisional license:   65 

(1) A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops, 66 
including role and function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the date 67 
of application in the provision of interpreting services.  68 

(2) An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or 69 
workshops related to oral interpreting.   70 

(3)  A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State 71 
Level Assessment ( CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification. 72 

(4) A person providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from 73 
another state in the field of interpreting or transliterating.  74 

(5) An interpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of 75 
interpreting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for 76 
the two years immediately preceding the date of the application.   An applicant must provide 77 
documentation of hours when applying for a provisional license under this category, subject to 78 
verification by the Board.     79 

(f)  Subsections (c)-(e) applies to licenses and provisional licenses issued or renewed by the North Carolina Interpreter 80 
and Transliterator Licensing Board on or after October 1, 2023.  81 
  82 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56; 83 

Eff. March 21, 2005;  84 
Authority G.S. 90D-7, 90D-8; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2023-137; Eff. December 11, 85 
2023; 86 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 87 
2017. 88 
Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2024 89 

 90 

 91 


