21 NCAC 25 .0202 IS AMENDED UNDER TEMPORARY PROCEDURES AS FOLLOWS:

21 NCAC 25 .0202 THE APPLICATION PACKAGE AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE

- (a) An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board:
 - (1) A completed, signed, and dated application in the format provided by the Board;
 - (2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant, made within two years of the date of application;
 - (3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency;
 - (4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check;
 - One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts necessary to cover the cost of charged by the Department of Public Safety for all necessary local, State and federal criminal record checks; and
 - (6) A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section.
- (b) An applicant for an initial license under S.L. 2002 182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003 56, shall submit the following materials to the Board:
 - (1) Written verification that the applicant was actively engaged as an interpreter or transliterator in this State for at least 200 hours for each of the two years immediately preceding 31 October 2002. The written verification must be signed by the individual who paid or approved payment for the services or the individual who supervised the applicant when the services were rendered;
 - (2) Letters of recommendation from any two individuals who are:
 - (A) Interpreters who hold valid National Association of the Deaf level 4 or 5 certifications; or
 - (B) Interpreters who are nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc.;
 - (C) Transliterators who have national certifications recognized by the National Cued Speech Association ("NCSA"); or
 - (D) Interpreters who hold quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System ("NCICS") level A or B classifications in effect on January 1, 2000; or
 - (E) Consumers of interpreter or transliterator services who have observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator; or
 - (F) The parent or legal guardian of a deaf consumer of interpreter or transliterator services who has observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator.
- (e) (b) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:
 - (1) Is 18 years of age or older.
 - (2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a license if there exists clear and convincing evidence rebutting the presumption that the applicant is of good moral character.
 - (3) Meets one of the following criteria:
 - (A) Is nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., (RID).
 - (B) Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) national certification in cued language transliteration.
 - (C) Holds a current Cued Language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 3 or above classification.
 - (D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Advanced or above.
 - (E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary certificate level IV or above.
- (d) (c) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may grant an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following qualifications:
 - (1) Is 18 years of age or older.

57	(2)	Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's
58		eligibility under 21 NCAC 25.0302. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an
59		applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a
60		license if there exists clear and convincing evidence rebutting the presumption that the applicant is
61		of good moral character.
62	(3)	Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board. These units must be
63		completed for each renewable year.
64	<u>(4)</u>	Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from an accredited institution and satisfies
65		one the following:
66		(A) Holds a quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System (NCICS) level
67		<u>C classification.</u>
68		(B) Holds a valid National Association of the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 certification.
69		(C) Holds a current Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) level 3.5 or above
70		classification.
71		(D) Holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Board for Evaluation of Interpreters
72		(BEI) assessment of Basic.
73		(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board of Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Board for
74 75	(() (1) II	Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary certificate level III.
75 76		application to the Board, payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), and meeting the
76 77		r a provisional license under subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsection (c) of this section, is 18 years of the Board state of good moral character as determined by the Board, the Board may shall also issue a provisional
77 78		f the following categories of persons seeking a one-time provisional license:
78 79	(1)	A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops,
80	(1)	including role and function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the date
81		of application in the provision of interpreting services.
82	(2)	An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or
83	<u>\—,/</u>	workshops related to oral interpreting.
84	(3)	A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State
85	\- /	Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification.
86	<u>(4)</u>	A person providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from
87		another state in the field of interpreting or transliterating.
88	<u>(5)</u>	An interpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of
89		interpreting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for
90		the two years immediately preceding the date of the application. An applicant must provide
91		documentation of hours when applying for a provisional license under this category, subject to
92		verification by the Board.
93		ons (c) (e) (b) (d) applies to licenses and provisional licenses issued or renewed by the North Carolina
94	Interpreter and '	<u>Transliterator Licensing Board on or after October 1, 2023.</u>
95		
96	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56;
97		Eff. March 21, 2005;
98		Authority G.S. 90D 7, 90D 8; S.L. 2002 182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2023 137; Eff. December 1,
99		2023; Amended Eff December 1, 2023;
100		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 22,
101		2017.
102		<u>Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2024</u>
103		