
21 NCAC 25 .0202 is amended as published in NC register 39:06 with changes as follows:: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 25 .0202 THE APPLICATION PACKAGE AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE 3 

(a)  An applicant for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board: 4 

(1) A completed, signed, and dated application in the format provided by the Board; 5 

(2) A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant, 6 

made within two years of the date of application; 7 

(3) A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency; 8 

(4) The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check; 9 

(5) One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina 10 

Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts necessary to cover the cost of  charged 11 

by the Department of Public Safety for all necessary local, State and federal criminal record checks; 12 

and 13 

(6) A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter 14 

and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section. 15 

(b)  An applicant for an initial license under S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56, shall submit the 16 

following materials to the Board: 17 

(1) Written verification that the applicant was actively engaged as an interpreter or transliterator in this 18 

State for at least 200 hours for each of the two years immediately preceding 31 October 2002. The 19 

written verification must be signed by the individual who paid or approved payment for the services 20 

or the individual who supervised the applicant when the services were rendered; 21 

(2) Letters of recommendation from any two individuals who are: 22 

(A) Interpreters who hold valid National Association of the Deaf level 4 or 5 certifications; or 23 

(B) Interpreters who are nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc.; 24 

or 25 

(C) Transliterators who have national certifications recognized by the National Cued Speech 26 

Association ("NCSA"); or 27 

(D) Interpreters who hold quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System 28 

("NCICS") level A or B classifications in effect on January 1, 2000; or 29 

(E) Consumers of interpreter or transliterator services who have observed the applicant's 30 

performance as an interpreter or transliterator; or 31 

(F) The parent or legal guardian of a deaf consumer of interpreter or transliterator services who 32 

has observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator. 33 

(c) (b)  Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may 34 

grant an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following 35 

qualifications:  36 

 (1) Is 18 years of age or older. 37 



(2) Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's 38 

eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302.  If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an 39 

applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a 40 

license if there exists clear and convincing evidence rebutting the presumption that the applicant is 41 

of good moral character. 42 

 (3) Meets one of the following criteria:  43 

(A) Is nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., (RID).  44 

(B) Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) national 45 

certification in cued language transliteration.  46 

(C) Holds a current Cued Language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 3 47 

or above classification.  48 

(D) Holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Advanced or above.  49 

(E)  A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary 50 

certificate level IV or above.     51 

(d) (c) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may 52 

grant an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the 53 

following qualifications:  54 

 (1) Is 18 years of age or older. 55 

(2)  Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's 56 

eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302.  If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an 57 

applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a 58 

license if there exists clear and convincing evidence rebutting the presumption that the applicant is 59 

of good moral character. 60 

(3) Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board.  These unites units must be 61 

completed for each renewable year.  62 

(4) Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from an accredited institution and satisfies 63 

one the following:   64 

(A) Holds a quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System (NCICS) level 65 

C classification. 66 

(B) Holds a valid National Association of the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 certification.  67 

(C) Holds a current Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) level 3.5 or above 68 

classification.  69 

(D) Holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Basic.  70 

(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary 71 

certificate level III.      72 

((e) (d)  Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), and meeting the 73 

requirements for a provisional license under subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsection (c) of this section, is 18 years of 74 



age or older, and is of good moral character as determined by the Board, the Board may shall also issue a provisional 75 

license to any of the following categories of persons seeking a one-time provisional license:   76 

(1) A deaf interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops, 77 

including role and function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the date 78 

of application in the provision of interpreting services.  79 

(2) An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or 80 

workshops related to oral interpreting.   81 

(3)  A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State 82 

Level Assessment ( CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification. 83 

(4) A person providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from 84 

another state in the field of interpreting or transliterating.  85 

(5) An interpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of 86 

interpreting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for 87 

the two years immediately preceding the date of the application.   An applicant must provide 88 

documentation of hours when applying for a provisional license under this category, subject to 89 

verification by the Board.     90 

(f) (e)  Subsections (c)-(e) (b)–(d) applies to licenses and provisional licenses issued or renewed by the North Carolina 91 

Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board on or after October 1, 2023.  92 

  93 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56; 94 

Eff. March 21, 2005;  95 

Authority G.S. 90D-7, 90D-8; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2023-137; Eff. December 1, 96 

2023; Amended Eff December 1, 2023; 97 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 22, 98 

2017. 99 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 5, 2024 100 

Amended Eff February 1, 2025 101 

 102 

 103 
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