1	21 NCAC 25 .0202 is amended as published in NC register 39:06 with changes as follows::				
2					
3	21 NCAC 25 .02	THE APPLICATION PACKAGE AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE			
4	(a) An applicant	t for licensure shall submit the following materials to the Board:			
5	(1)	A completed, signed, and dated application in the format provided by the Board;			
6	(2)	A clear, two-inch by two-inch, passport-style photograph of the head and shoulders of the applicant,			
7		made within two years of the date of application;			
8	(3)	A legible, fully-completed finger print card obtained from a local law enforcement agency;			
9	(4)	The applicant's signed, written consent to a criminal record check;			
10	(5)	One or more cashier's checks, certified checks or money orders made payable to the North Carolina			
11		Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amounts necessary to cover the cost of charged			
12		by the Department of Public Safety for all necessary local, State and federal criminal record checks;			
13		and			
14	(6)	A cashier's check, certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina Interpreter			
15		and Transliterator Licensing Board in the amount specified by Rule .0203 of this Section.			
16	(b) An applica	nt for an initial license under S.L. 2002 182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003 56, shall submit the			
17	following materials to the Board:				
18	(1)	Written verification that the applicant was actively engaged as an interpreter or transliterator in this			
19		State for at least 200 hours for each of the two years immediately preceding 31 October 2002. The			
20		written verification must be signed by the individual who paid or approved payment for the services			
21		or the individual who supervised the applicant when the services were rendered;			
22	(2)	Letters of recommendation from any two individuals who are:			
23		(A) Interpreters who hold valid National Association of the Deaf level 4 or 5 certifications; or			
24		(B) Interpreters who are nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc.;			
25		OF			
26		(C) Transliterators who have national certifications recognized by the National Cued Speech			
27		Association ("NCSA"); or			
28		(D) Interpreters who hold quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System			
29		("NCICS") level A or B classifications in effect on January 1, 2000; or			
30		(E) Consumers of interpreter or transliterator services who have observed the applicant's			
31		performance as an interpreter or transliterator; or			
32		(F) The parent or legal guardian of a deaf consumer of interpreter or transliterator services who			
33		has observed the applicant's performance as an interpreter or transliterator.			
34	(c) (b) Upon ap	plication to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may			
35	shall grant an Applicant a full license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of the following				
36	qualifications:				
37	(1)	Is 18 years of age or older.			

38	(2)	Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's			
39		eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an			
40		applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a			
41		license if there is clear and convincing evidence the applicant lacks good moral character, including			
42		possessing the characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and respect for the			
43		rights of others, as more fully discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d			
44		771, appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In			
45	re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143				
46	635 (1906); In re Scott Dillingham's Application, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); Sta				
47		Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions.			
48	(3)	Meets one of the following criteria:			
49		(A) Is nationally certified by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc., (RID).			
50		(B) Holds a valid Testing, Evaluation and Certification Unit, Inc. (TECUnit) national			
51		certification in cued language transliteration.			
52		(C) Holds a current Cued Language Transliterator State Level Assessment (CLTSLA) level 3			
53		or above classification.			
54		(D) Holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Advanced or above.			
55		(E) A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary			
56		certificate level IV or above.			
57	(d) (c) Upon app	c) Upon application to the Board and payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), the Board may			
58	shall grant an Applicant a one-time provisional license as an interpreter or transliterator if the applicant meets all of				
59	the following qu	alifications:			
60	(1)	Is 18 years of age or older.			
61	(2)	Is of good moral character as determined by the Board presumptively established by the applicant's			
62		eligibility under 21 NCAC 25 .0302. If the Board determines there is probable cause to question an			
63		applicant's moral character, and after notice to the applicant and a hearing, the Board shall deny a			
64		license if there is clear and convincing evidence the applicant lacks good moral character, including			
65		possessing the characteristics of honesty, maturity, discipline, attention to detail, and respect for the			
66		rights of others, as more fully discussed and interpreted in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d			
67		771, appeal dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In			
68		re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E.			
69		635 (1906); In re Scott Dillingham's Application, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v.			
70		Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions.			
71	(3)	Completes two continuing education units approved by the Board. These units must be			
72		completed for each renewable year.			
73	(4)	Holds at least a two-year associate degree in interpreting from an accredited a post-secondary			
74		institution and satisfies one the following:			

75		(A)	Holds a quality assurance North Carolina Interpreter Classification System (NCICS) level			
76			C classification.			
77		(B)	Holds a valid National Association of the Deaf (NAD) level 2 or 3 certification.			
78		<u>(C)</u>	Holds a current Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment (EIPA) level 3.5 or above			
79			classification.			
80		<u>(D)</u>	Holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) assessment of Basic.			
81		<u>(E)</u>	A Deaf Interpreter who holds a Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) intermediary			
82			certificate level III.			
83	((e) (d) Upon a	Upon application to the Board, payment of the required fees under 21 NCAC 25 .0203(a), and meeting the				
84	requirements fo	requirements for a provisional license under subdivisions (1) and (2) of subsection paragraph (c) of this section rule,				
85	is 18 years of age or older, and is of good moral character as determined by the Board, the Board may shall also issue					
86	a provisional license to any of the following categories of persons seeking a one-time provisional license:					
87	(1)	A deaf	interpreter who completes 16 hours of training in interpreting coursework or workshops			
88		provide	d by the North Carolina Division of Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, including			
89		role an	d function or ethics, and 20 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding the date of			
90		applica	tion in the provision of interpreting services.			
91	(2)	An oral interpreter who completes a total of 40 hours of training in interpreting coursework or				
92		worksh	ops related to oral interpreting.			
93	(3)	A cued language transliterator who holds a current TECUnit Cued language Transliterator State				
94		Level A	Assessment (CLTSLA) level 2 or above classification.			
95	<u>(4)</u>	A perso	on providing interpreting or transliterating services who has a recognized credential from			
96		another	state's licensing body in the field of interpreting or transliterating.			
97	<u>(5)</u>	An inte	rpreter or transliterator who has accumulated at least 200 hours per year in the provision of			
98		interpre	eting or transliterating services, in this State or another state, totaling at least 400 hours for			
99		the two	years immediately preceding the date of the application. An applicant must provide			
100		docume	entation of hours when applying for a provisional license under this category, subject to			
101		verifica	tion by the Board.			
102	.,.,		osections (c) (e) (b) (d) applies to licenses and provisional licenses issued or renewed by the			
103	North Carolina	Interprete	r and Transliterator Licensing Board on or after October December 1, 2023.			
104						
105	History Note:	Authori	ty G.S. 90D-6; 90D-7; 90D-10; S.L. 2002-182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2003-56;			
106		Eff. Ma	rch 21, 2005;			
107		Authori	ty G.S. 90D 7, 90D 8; S.L. 2002 182, s. 7, as amended by S.L. 2023 137; Eff. December 1,			
108		2023 ; <u>A</u>	Imended Eff December 1, 2023:			
109		Pursua	nt to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. July 22,			
110		2017.				
111		<u>Tempor</u>	ary Amendment Eff. July 5, 2024			

Amended Eff February 1, 2025