1	12 NCAC 02J .0201 is amended as published in 37:20 NCR 2017-2019 as follows:		
2			
3	12 NCAC 02J .	0201 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CAMPUS POLICE OFFICERS	
4	Every campus	police officer must meet the following requirements to obtain and maintain a campus police	
5	commission:		
6	(1)	be a citizen of the United States;	
7	(2)	be a high school graduate or have passed the General Educational Development Test indicating high	
8		school equivalency. A specific exception to this educational requirement is granted to:	
9		(a) an applicant who was the holder of a valid campus police commission on June 30, 1972;	
10		or	
11		(b) an applicant properly certified as a law enforcement officer by the Criminal Justice	
12		Education and Training Standards Commission on March 14, 1973.	
13	In either case, the exception will not be applicable if the applicant has had more than a 12 month break in service;		
14	(3)	have attained a score of not less than 80 percent on a written examination of basic knowledge of	
15		laws of arrest, search, and investigation, and of these Rules to be administered by a representative	
16		of the North Carolina Department of Justice;	
17	Note: All examination questions will be based on the book Arrest, Search, and Investigation as published by and		
18	available from t	he Institute School of Government, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, North	
19	Carolina 27514	, and these Rules.	
20	Applicants will be advised in writing of test dates and sites at least five days prior to the examination. In the event at		
21	applicant fails to	o successfully complete the examination, only one re-test will be allowed. Upon an applicant's failure	
22	to successfully complete the second test, the applicant must successfully complete accredited Basic Law Enforcemen		
23	Training course	work prior to re-testing;	
24	(4)	meet the minimum standards for criminal justice officers established by the North Carolina Criminal	
25		Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, appearing in Title 12, Chapter 9 of the North	
26		Carolina Administrative Code; which Standards are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall	
27		automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material;	
28	(5)	applicants who do not hold general certification as a law enforcement officer issued by the Criminal	
29		Justice Education and Training Standards Commission or the North Carolina Sheriff's Education	
30		and Training Standards Commission, must submit to and successfully complete a polygraph	
31		examination administered by the State Bureau of Investigation;	
32	(6)	be at least 20 years of age;	
33	(7)	have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following	
34		specifications:	
35		(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an	
36		immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive test result using a gas	
37		chromatography mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory	

1		tests as may, from time to time, be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health
2		and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
3	(b)	a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual
4		discarding of the specimen;
5	(c)	the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include at least cannabis, cocaine,
6		phencyclidine (PCP), opiates and amphetamines or their metabolites;
7	(d)	the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for
8		Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall
9		automatically include any later amendments and editions of the referenced material. Copies
10		of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
11		Campus Police Program
12		North Carolina Department of Justice
13		114 West Edenton Street PO Drawer 179
14		Old Education Building
15		Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
16	and may be	obtained at no charge from the office of the agency:
17		Campus Police Program
18		North Carolina Department of Justice
19		Post Office Box 310 Drawer 179
20		Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
21	(e)	the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the
22		laboratory reports the results to the date of employment;
23	(f)	the laboratory conducting the test must be certified for federal workplace drug testing
24		programs, and must adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations and guidelines
25		pertaining to the handling, testing, storage and preservation of samples, except that
26		individual agencies may specify other drugs to be tested for in addition to those drugs set
27		out in Item (7)(c) of this Rule; and
28	(g)	every agency head shall be responsible for making adequate arrangements for the services
29		of a Medical Review officer (MRO) for the purpose of review of drug tests reported by the
30		laboratory and such officer shall be a licensed physician;
31	(8) not	ify the Campus Police Administrator in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is
32	arre	ested, pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or is found guilty of. This shall include all criminal
33	offe	enses except minor traffic offenses and shall specifically include any offense of Driving Under
34	the	Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for
35	pur	poses of this Item, as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable is 60 days or less.
36	The	e notifications required must specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was
37	han	dled and the date of the conviction if applicable. The notifications must be received by the

1		Campus Police Administrator within 30 5 days of the date of the case disposition. Applicants and
2		officers required to notify the Campus Police Administrator under this Item shall also make the
3		same notification to their Department Head within 20 5 days of the date the case was disposed of in
4		court. However, the notification to the Campus Police Administrator does not excuse the officer
5		from making an independent notification otherwise required by either the Criminal Justice
6		Education and Training Standards Commission or the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards
7		Commission. The notifications required by this section shall be required while the application is
8		pending as well as subsequent to a commission being issued;
9	(9)	be of good moral character as referred to in G.S. 17C-10(c); and
10	(10)	not have committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 2J .0209(b),
11		such that the applicant would be ineligible for commissioning as a Campus Police officer.
12		
13	History Note:	Authority G.S. 74G-4;
14		Eff. April 1, 2006;
15		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. October 4,
16		2016; Amended Eff. October 1, 2023.
17		