1	2 NCAC 09B .0209 is proposed for amendment with changes as published in 32:18 NCR pages. 1743-1745 as
2	ollows:

3

4 12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

- 5 (a) The instructor training course required for general instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 hours
- 6 of instruction presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks.
- 7 (b) Each instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform
- 8 the function of a criminal justice instructor.
- 9 (c) Each instructor training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours 10 for each area:

11	(1)	Orientation and Pre-Test	3 Hours
12	(2)	Instructional Systems Design (ISD)	6 Hours
13	(3)	Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities	3 Hours
14	(4)	Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership	4 Hours
15	(5)	Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources	3 Hours
16	(6)	Lesson Plan Development and Formatting	4 Hours
17	(7)	Adult Learning	6 Hours
18	(8)	Instructional Styles and Platform Skills	5 Hours
19	(9)	Classroom Management	<u>3</u> 5 Hours
20	(10)	Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises	6 Hours
21	(11)	The Evaluation Process of Learning	4 Hours
22	(12)	Audio Visual Aids	4 Hours
23	(13)	Student 8-Minute Introductions Talk and Video Critique	5 Hours
24	(14)	Student Performance: First 30 Minute 35-Minute Presentation	5 <u>6</u> Hours
25		Second 30 Minute 35-Minute Presentation	5 <u>6</u> Hours
26		Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review	8 Hours
27	(15)	Course Closing and Post-test	2 <mark>Hour <u>Hours</u></mark>
28	(d) The "Instru	ctor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Acader	ny shall be the cu

(d) The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for 28

29	instructor training c	ourses. Copies of	this publication may	y be inspected at the agency:
----	-----------------------	-------------------	----------------------	-------------------------------

30	Criminal Justice Standards Division
31	North Carolina Department of Justice
32	1700 Tryon Park Drive
33	Post Office Drawer 149
34	Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
35	and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the following address:
36	North Carolina Justice Academy

Post Office Drawer 99 37

1		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
2		
3	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
4		Eff. January 1, 1981;
5		Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009;
6		August 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985.
7		
8		

2 3 12 NCAC 09B .0406 **COMPREHENSIVE** WRITTEN **EXAMINATION** BASIC LAW _ 4 ENFORCEMENT TRAINING 5 (a) Within 60 days of the conclusion of a school's offering of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the 6 Commission shall administer a comprehensive written examination to each trainee who has completed all of the 7 required course work pursuant to Rule .0405 of this Section. A trainee shall not be administered the comprehensive 8 written examination until such time as all of the course work is completed. completed or he or she is granted a medical 9 waiver by the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards [Division.] Division in accordance with Paragraph (f) of this 10 Rule. 11 (b) The examination shall be comprised of six units as specified in 12 NCAC 09B .0205(b). 12 (c) The Commission's representative shall submit to the school director within five business days of the administration 13 of the examination a report of the results of the test for each trainee examined. 14 (d) A trainee shall have achieved achieve a passing score on the comprehensive written examination upon achieving 15 a minimum of 70 percent correct answers answering a minimum of 70 percent of the questions correctly on each of 16 the six units as prescribed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 17 (e) A trainee who has participated in a scheduled delivery of an accredited training course and has achieved a passing 18 score in each motor-skill or performance area of the course curriculum but has failed to achieve the minimum score 19 of 70 percent on no more than two units of the Commission's comprehensive written examination may request the 20 Director of the Standards Division to authorize a re-examination of the trainee in only those units for which he or she 21 failed to make a passing score of 70 percent: 22 (1)The trainee's request for re-examination shall be made in writing on the Commission's Re-23 Examination Request form and shall be received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the 24 The Re-examination Request form is located on the agency's website: examination. http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/b38b7eee e311 4ee3 8f9c bd8fd58f6281/SMI 6 Reexam 6 11.aspx. 25 26 http://ncdoj.gov/getdoc/dcb72ee9-fa01-4664-a7a0-ef33ac0941ee/Exam-Admission-Form F-23 4-19-17.aspx. The examination request form shall include the following information: 27 28 a. <u>first-time examination training type;</u> 29 b. trainee information; and 30 c. <u>school information and appropriate signatures.</u> 31 (2)The trainee's request for re-examination shall include the favorable recommendation of the school 32 director who administered the course(s). 33 (3) A trainee shall have, within 60 days of the original examination(s), only one opportunity for 34 re-examination and shall achieve a passing score on the subsequent unit examination. 35 (4)The trainee shall be assigned in writing by the Director of the Standards Division a place, time, and

12 NCAC 09B .0406 is amended as published in Vol: 32 Issue 18 pgs. 1743-1745 as follows:

1

35 (4) The trainee shall be assigned in writing by the Director of the Standards Division a place, time, and
36 date for re-examination.

1	(5)	Should the trainee on re-examination not achieve a minimum score of 70 percent on the
2		examination, the trainee shall not be eligible for probationary certification, as prescribed in 12
3		NCAC 09C .0303(d). The trainee may shall enroll and complete a subsequent offering of the Basic
4		Law Enforcement Training Course before further examination is permitted.
5	(f) A trainee w	ho sustains injury prior to the final POPAT attempt and who achieved a passing score on the last
6	[attempt and me	eeting] attempt, who has completed the required coursework [the prerequisites specified in 12 NCAC
7	<mark>09B .0405,]</mark> wit	th the exception of the final POPAT, may request from the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards
8	Division a med	ical waiver to take the comprehensive written examination prior to completion of the final POPAT.
9	<mark>[examination.]</mark>	The request shall consist of a memorandum from the School Director justifying a medical waiver.
10	Providing copi	es of the last POPAT assessment, medical documentation from a surgeon, physician, physician
11	assistant, or nur	se practitioner showing the diagnosis of the injury and the estimated medical release date. The School
12	Director shall st	ubmit the medical waiver approval with the comprehensive examination admission form. The trainee
13	must complete t	the final POPAT attempt within 120 calendar days of the original state written examination date.] The
14	medical wavier	request shall include the following information:
15	<u>(1)</u>	a memorandum from the School Director justifying a medical wavier; [waiver Providing]
16	<u>(2)</u>	copies of the last POPAT assessment; and fassessment,]
17	<u>(3)</u>	medical documentation from a surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner showing
18		the diagnosis of the injury and the estimated medical release date.
19		
20	Upon receipt of	the information contained in this Paragraph, the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division
21	<u>shall approve th</u>	ne medical waiver request. The School Director shall submit the medical waiver approval from the
22	Director of the	Criminal Justice Standards Division with the comprehensive examination admission form. The trainee
23	must complete t	the final POPAT attempt within 120 calendar days of the original state written examination date.
24		
25	(f) (g) A traine	we who fails to achieve a passing score of 70 percent on three or more of the units as prescribed in 12
26	<u>as set forth in R</u>	ule .0205(b) of this Section NCAC 09B .0406(b) shall not be given the opportunity for re-examination
27	on those units; a	and shall enroll in and complete a subsequent offering of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course
28	before further e	xamination is permitted.
29	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
30		Eff. January 1, 1981;
31		Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1989; July 1, 1985; January
32		1, 1983.
33		
34		

1 2 12 NCAC 09G .0414 is amended with changes as published in Vol. 32, Issue 12; pages. 1193-1202 as follows:

3	12 NCAC 09G .0414	INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

4 (a) The instructor training course required for general instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 hours

5 of instruction presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks.

6 (b) Each instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform

7 the function of a criminal justice instructor.

8 (c) Each instructor training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours9 for each area:

11(2)Instructional Systems Design (ISD);6 hours12(3)Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities;3 hours13(4)Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership4 hours		
13(4)Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership4 hours		
14(5)Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources;3 hours		
15(6)Lesson Plan Development and Formatting4 hours		
16(7)Adult Learning;6 hours		
17(8)Instructional Style and Platform Skills;5 hours		
18(9)Classroom Management; <u>3</u> hours		
19(10)Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises;6 hours		
20 (11) The Evaluation Process of Learning; 4 hours		
21(12)Principles of Instruction: Audio-Visual Aids;4 hours		
22 (13) Student 8-Minute Talk Introduction and Video Critique; and 5 hours		
23(14)Student Performance:		
24First 30-Minute 35-Minute Presentation;5 6 hours		
25 Second <u>30-Minute 35-Minute</u> Presentation; and <u>56 hours</u>		
26Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review;8 hours		
27(15)Course Closing and Post Test2 hours		
28 (d) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the b	isic	
29 curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:		

30	Criminal Justice Standards Division
31	North Carolina Department of Justice
32	1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149
33	Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
34	and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following
35	address:
36	North Carolina Justice Academy

36	North Carolina Justice Academy
37	Post Office Drawer 99

38		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
39		
40	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
41		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
42		Eff. August 1, 2002;
43		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2018;</u> April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015.
44		