1 12 NCAC 09B .0101 is proposed for amendment as follows: 2 3 4 SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 5 **TRAINING** 6 7 SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 8 9 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 12 NCAC 09B .0101 10 Every criminal justice officer employed by an agency in North Carolina shall: 11 (1) be a citizen of the United States; 12 (2) be at least 20 years of age; 13 (3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 17C-10 and as evidenced by the following: 14 not having been convicted of a felony; (a) 15 (b) not having been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0111(1) for five 16 years or the completion of any corrections supervision imposed by the courts, whichever 17 is later; 18 not having been convicted of an offense that, under 18 U.S.C. 922, incorporated by (c) 19 reference with subsequent amendments and editions (found at no cost at 20 (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18-partl-chap44-sec922.pdf), would 21 prohibit the possession of a firearm or ammunition; 22 (d) having submitted to and produced a negative result on a drug test within 60 days of 23 employment or any in-service drug screening required by the appointing agency that meets 24 the certification standards of the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal 25 Workplace Drug Testing Programs. A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this 26 requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at (https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-27 campaigns/drug-free-workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-testing/certified-lab-list); 28 (e) submitting to a background investigation consisting of the verification of age and education 29 and a criminal history check of local, state, and national files; 30 (f) being truthful in providing information to the appointing agency and to the Standards 31 Division for the purpose of obtaining probationary or general certification; 32 not having pending or outstanding felony charges that, if convicted of such charges, would (g) 33 disqualify the applicant from holding such certification, pursuant to North Carolina 34 General Statute 17C-13; and 35 (h) not engage in any conduct that brings into question the truthfulness or credibility of the 36 officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral Turpitude" is conduct that is contrary to 37 justice, honesty, or morality, including conduct as defined in: re Willis, 299 N.C. 1, 215

1		S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); in re State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6
2		S.E. 2d 854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re Applicants for
3		License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130
4		(1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions
5		that cite these cases as authority.
6	(4)	have been fingerprinted and a search made of local, state, and national files to disclose any criminal
7		record;
8	(5)	have been examined and certified by a licensed physician or surgeon surgeon, physician, physician
9		assistant, or nurse practitioner to meet physical requirements necessary to properly fulfill the
10		officer's particular responsibilities and shall have produced a negative result on a drug screen
11		administered according to the following specifications:
12		(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an
13		immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas
14		chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory
15		tests as may, from time to time, be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health
16		and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
17		(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual
18		discarding of the specimen;
19		(c) the drug screen shall test for the presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine
20		(PCP), opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites;
21		(d) the test threshold values meet the requirements established by the Department of Health
22		and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR
23		7920 (2017) incorporated by reference, including later amendments and editions (found at
24		no cost at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2017/01/23/2017-
25		00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs);
26		(e) the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the
27		laboratory reports the results to the date of employment;
28		(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall be certified for federal workplace drug testing
29		programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations, and guidelines
30		pertaining to the handling, testing, storage, and preservation of samples;
31	(6)	have been administered a psychological screening examination by a clinical psychologist or
32		psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist
33		authorized to practice in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed
34		Forces within one year prior to employment by the employing agency to determine the officer's
35		mental and emotional suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities of the position;
36	(7)	have been interviewed personally by the Department head or his representative or representatives to
37	` '	determine such things as the applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate;
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

(8)

notify the Standards Division of all criminal offenses that the officer is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of as well as Domestic Violence Orders (50B) that are issued by a judicial official. This shall include all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and shall specifically include any offense of Driving Under The Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for purposes of this Subparagraph, as an offense for which the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or less. Other offenses under Chapter 20 (Motor Vehicles) of the General Statutes of North Carolina or similar laws of other jurisdictions which shall be reported to the Standards Division expressly include G.S. 20-139 (persons under influence of drugs), G.S. 20-28(b) (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The notifications required under this Subparagraph shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the final disposition, and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Subparagraph shall be received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the date of arrest or charge and of case disposition. The requirements of this Subparagraph shall be applicable at all times during which the officer is certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants for certification. Officers required to notify the Standards Division under this Subparagraph shall also make the same notification to their employing or appointing executive officer within 20 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The executive officer, provided he has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of all arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from either the officer or the executive officer, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Subparagraph.

25 History Note:

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;

Eff. January 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995;

November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990.

29 30

26

27

28

3 of 3

1	12 NCAC 09B .	0104 is proposed for amendment as follows:
2		
3	12 NCAC 09B.	0104 MEDICAL EXAMINATION
4	(a) Each applic	ant for employment as a criminal justice officer shall complete the Commission's Medical History
5	Statement Form	within one year prior to employment by the employing agency and shall be examined by either a
6	physician or sur	rgeon surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner licensed to practice medicine in
7	North Carolina	or by a physician or surgeon surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner authorized
8	to practice medi	cine in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces to help determine
9	the applicant's fi	tness in carrying out the physical requirements of the criminal justice officer position.
10	(b) The examin	ing physician surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner shall record the results of
11	the examination	on the Commission's Medical Examination Report Form and shall record any evidence of past or
12	present defects,	diseases, injuries, operations.
13	(c) An applican	t for employment as a law enforcement officer seeking general certification may not be employed or
14	placed in a swor	n law enforcement position prior to the date on which the employing agency receives the report of the
15	results of the me	edical examination unless all of the following requirements are met:
16	(1)	The applicant has completed and signed the applicant's certificate (Section A) of the Commission's
17		Report of Appointment, wherein the applicant's temporary employment and probationary law
18		enforcement officer certification is acknowledged to be contingent on a report to the Commission
19		of the completion of the drug screening of the individual being issued general certification.
20	(2)	The requirements of this Paragraph shall be met within 60-days of the law enforcement officer being
21		issued general certification.
22		
23	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
24		Eff. January 1, 1981;
25		Amended Eff. <u>April 1, 2018</u> ; October 1, 2017; November 1, 1993; February 1, 1991; March 1, 1990;
26		April 1, 1985.
27		
28		

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0106

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 7 – replace "which" with "that"

Line 13 – delete the comma

Line 13 - replace "from" with "in"

Line 14 – delete the comma

Line 14 – replace "are not" with "shall not be"

12 NCAC 09B .0106 is proposed for amendment as follows:

1 2 3

7

12 NCAC 09B .0106 DOCUMENTATION OF EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

- 4 (a) Each applicant for employment as a criminal justice officer shall furnish to the employing agency documentary evidence that the applicant has met the educational requirements for the criminal justice field of expected employment.
- 6 (b) Documentary evidence of educational requirements shall consist of official transcripts of courses completed or
 - diplomas received from a school which meets the approval guidelines of either the North Carolina Department of
- 8 Public Instruction, the Division of Non-Public Instruction, or a comparable out-of-state agency. Documentary
- 9 evidence of college or university graduation consists of diplomas or transcripts from colleges or universities accredited
- by the Department of Education of the state in which the institution is located, from an accredited body recognized by
- either the U.S. Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation, or from the state
- university of the state in which the institution is located. High school diplomas earned through correspondence
- 13 enrollment enrollment, from an entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no education
- or coursework to obtain a high school diploma, are not recognized toward these minimum educational requirements.
 - (c) Documentary evidence of having received a high school equivalency credential from the issuing state shall be

satisfied by a certified copy of a high school equivalency credential from the issuing state.

16 17

15

18 *History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;*

19 Eff. January 1, 1981;

20 Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; June 1, 2012; August 1, 2000.

22

21

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0203

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Page 2, line 4 – delete the comma

Page 2, line 4 – replace "from" with "in"

Page 2, line 5 – delete the comma

Page 2, line 5 - replace "are not" with "shall not be"

12 NCAC 09B .0203 is proposed for amendment as follows:

1 2 3

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES

- 4 (a) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
- 5 Course who is not a citizen of the United States.
- 6 (b) The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic
- 7 criminal justice training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment
- 8 as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the
- 9 Director of the Standards Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 years of
- age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course.
- 11 (c) The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-
- time employment with criminal justice agencies.
- 13 (d) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training
- 14 Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under Rule .0302
- 15 of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State Comprehensive
- 16 Examination.
- 17 (e) The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the
- 18 Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Basic Law
- 19 Enforcement Training Course, places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a
- 20 result of taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test
- 21 as approved by the State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014,
- 22 (http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the
- 23 reading component of a nationally standardized test within one year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement
- 24 Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of this Rule:
- 25 (1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold, or have held within 12 months prior to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304.
- 27 (2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that:
 - (A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and
- 29 (B) compares student test results to a national norm.
- 30 (f) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
- 31 Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a
- 32 physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to determine
- the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The Director of the Standards
- 34 Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of the physical
- 35 fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the
- 36 trainee.

- 1 (g) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
- 2 Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school equivalency
- 3 credential recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned through correspondence enrollment
- 4 enrollment, from an entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no education or
- 5 <u>coursework to obtain a high school diploma</u>, are not recognized toward the educational requirements.
- 6 (h) The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course
- 7 unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state records for
- 8 the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided since
- 9 becoming an adult. An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state
- 10 criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement.
- 11 (i) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
- 12 Course who has been convicted of the following:
- 13 (1) a felony;

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

37

- (2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years;
- (3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission;
 - (4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of conviction;
 - (5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment;
 - (6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.
- (j) Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, but completion of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)

1 (fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious 2 name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-3 111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), 4 G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets 5 and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The 6 notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense, the court in which 7 the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Order 8 (G.S. 50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be 9 received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The requirements of this 10 Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. 11 The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 13 14 Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; History Note: 15 Eff. January 1, 1981; 16 Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; March 1, 2015; 17 January 1, 2015; June 1, 2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 1, 2004; July 1, 2004; 18 August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985.

10 3 of 3

1 12 NCAC 09B .0204 is proposed for amendment as follows: 2 3 12 NCAC 09B .0204 TRAINING COURSE ENROLLMENT 4 (a) Any school offering a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall have enrolled 10 trainees in the offering. 5 (b) Any school may make written request to the Director of the Standards Division to deliver the Basic Law 6 Enforcement Training Course with no fewer than eight enrolled trainees. The Director shall approve the request if it 7 includes a summary of the efforts the school has made to notify its respective community of the availability of the 8 course and the reasons supporting the school's need to enroll fewer than 10 trainees. 9 (c) The school may not enroll any trainee later than the initial day of delivery of a certified training course unless the 10 trainee's enrollment is pursuant to an authorization of limited enrollment in a subsequent course pursuant to Rule .0405 11 of this Subchapter or pursuant to prescribed supplementary or remedial training required pursuant to Rule .0402 of 12 this Subchapter. 13 (d) The school may not enroll more than 16 18 trainees in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training 14 Course" as constituted under Rule .0209 of this Section. 15 16 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17 Eff. January 1, 1981; 18 Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; April 1, 2017; August 1, 2005; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1985; 19 November 1, 1981. 20 21

1 of 1

12 NCAC 09B .0205 is proposed for amendment as follows:

1 2 3

6

12 NCAC 09B .0205 BASIC LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING

- 4 (a) The basic training course for law enforcement officers shall consist of instruction designed to provide the trainee 5 with the skills and knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function in law enforcement.
- (b) The course entitled "Basic Law Enforcement Training" shall consist of a minimum of 632 hours of instruction 7 and shall include the following identified topical areas and minimum instructional hours for each:

8	(1)	LEGA	L UNIT	
9		(A)	Motor Vehicle Laws	20 Hours
10		(B)	Preparing for Court and Testifying in Court Controlled Substance	12 Hours
11		(C)	Elements of Criminal Law	24 Hours
12		(D)	Juvenile Laws and Procedures	8 Hours
13		(E)	Arrest, Search and Seizure/Constitutional Law	28 Hours
14		(F)	Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC)Laws and Procedures	4 Hours
15		UNIT	TOTAL	96 Hours
16	(2)	PATR	OL DUTIES UNIT	
17		(A)	Techniques of Traffic Law Enforcement	24 Hours
18		(B)	Explosives and Hazardous Materials Emergencies	12 Hours
19		(C)	Traffic Crash Investigation	20 Hours
20		(D)	In-Custody Transportation	8 Hours
21		(E)	Crowd Management	12 Hours
22		(F)	Patrol Techniques	28 Hours
23		(G)	Law Enforcement Communication and Information Systems	8 Hours
24		(H)	Anti-Terrorism	4 Hours
25		(I)	Rapid Deployment	8 Hours
26		UNIT	TOTAL	124 Hours
27	(3)	LAW I	ENFORCEMENT COMMUNICATION UNIT	
28		(A)	Responding to Victims and the Public	10 Hours
29		(B)	Domestic Violence Response	12 Hours
30		(C)	Ethics for Professional Law Enforcement	4 Hours
31		(D)	Individuals with Mental Illness and Developmental Disabilities	24 Hours
32		(E)	Crime Prevention Techniques	6 Hours
33		(F)	Communication Skills for Law Enforcement Officers	8 Hours
34		<u>(G)</u>	Preparing for Court and Testifying in Court	12 hours
35		UNIT	TOTAL	64 <u>76</u> Hours
36	(4)	INVES	STIGATION UNIT	
37		(A)	Fingerprinting and Photographing Arrestee	6 Hours
38		(B)	Field Note-taking and Report Writing	12 Hours

1		(C)	Criminal Investigation	34 Hours
2		(D)	Interviews	16 Hours
3		(E)	Controlled Substances	12 Hours
4		(F) <u>(E)</u>	Human Trafficking	2 Hours
5		UNIT	ГОТAL	82 <u>70</u> Hours
6	(5)	PRACT	FICAL APPLICATION UNIT	
7		(A)	First Responder	32 Hours
8		(B)	Firearms	48 Hours
9		(C)	Law Enforcement Driver Training	40 Hours
10		(D)	Physical Fitness (classroom instruction)	8 Hours
11		(E)	Fitness Assessment and Testing	12 Hours
12		(F)	Physical Exercise 1 hour daily, 3 days a week	34 Hours
13		(G)	Subject Control Arrest Techniques	40 Hours
14		UNIT	ГОТAL	214 Hours
15	(6)	SHERI	FF-SPECIFIC UNIT	
16		(A)	Civil Process	24 Hours
17		(B)	Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Detention Duties	4 Hours
18		(C)	Sheriffs' Responsibilities: Court Duties	6 Hours
19		UNIT	ГОТAL	34 Hours
20	(7)	COUR	SE ORIENTATION	2 Hours
21	(8)	TESTI	NG	16 Hours
22		TOTAI	L COURSE HOURS	632 Hours
23				
24	(c) The "Basic	Law Enfo	orcement Training Manual" published by the North Carolin	na Justice Academy shall be used
25	as the curriculu	ım for this	training course. Copies of this publication may be inspect	ed at the office of the agency:
26			Criminal Justice Standards Division	
27			North Carolina Department of Justice	
28			1700 Tryon Park Drive	
29			Post Office Drawer 149	
30			Raleigh, North Carolina 27602	
31	and may be ob	tained at t	he cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina J	ustice Academy at the following
32	address:			
33			North Carolina Justice Academy	
34			Post Office Drawer 99	
35			Salemburg, North Carolina 28385	

1 (d) The "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice 2 Academy shall be used by school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic training courses. Copies 3 of this guide may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the Justice Academy. 4 5 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 6 Eff. January 1, 1981; 7 Temporary Amendment Eff. December 14, 1983 for a period of 120 days to expire on April 12, 8 1984; 9 Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; July 1, 2017; July 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; 10 February 1, 2014; July 1, 2011; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 11 November 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; January 1, 1995; February 1, 1991; July 1, 1989. 12

1	12 NCAC 09B	.0209 is proposed for amendment as follows:	
2			
3	12 NCAC 09B	.0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING	
4	(a) The instruc	tor training course required for general instructor certification shall co	onsist of a minimum of 78 hours
5	of instruction p	resented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks.	
6	(b) Each instru	actor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the s	skills and knowledge to perform
7	the function of	a criminal justice instructor.	
8	(c) Each instru	ctor training course shall include the following identified topic areas a	nd minimum instructional hours
9	for each area:		
10	(1)	Orientation and Pre-Test	3 Hours
11	(2)	Instructional Systems Design (ISD)	6 Hours
12	(3)	Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities	3 Hours
13	(4)	Instructional Leadership Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership	4 Hours
14	(5)	Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources	3 Hours
15	(6)	Lesson Plan Development: Format and Objectives Lesson Plan Dev	velopment and Formatting
16			4Hours
17	(7)	Adult Learning	4- 6 Hours
18	(8)	Instructional Styles and Platform Skills	4– <u>5</u> Hours
19	(9)	Classroom Management	4– <u>5</u> Hours
20	(10)	Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises	6 Hours
21	(11)	The Evaluation of Learning	4 Hours
22	(12)	Principles of Instruction: Audio Visual Aids Audio Visual Aids	4 Hours
23	(13)	Student 8-Minute Talk and Video Critique	6 <u>5</u> Hours
24	(14)	Student Performance: First 30-Minute Presentation	5 Hours
25		Second 30-Minute Presentation	5 Hours
26		Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review	12 <u>8</u> Hours
27	(15)	Course Closing and Post-test	1 <u>2</u> Hour
28	(d) The "Instru	actor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Acad	emy shall be the curriculum for
29	instructor traini	ing courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency	:
30		Criminal Justice Standards Division	
31		North Carolina Department of Justice	
32		1700 Tryon Park Drive	
33		Post Office Drawer 149	
34		Raleigh, North Carolina 27602	
35	and may be pur	chased at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the fo	llowing address:
36		North Carolina Justice Academy	
37		Post Office Drawer 99	

1 of 2

1		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
2		
3	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
4		Eff. January 1, 1981;
5		Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009; August 1, 2005;
6		November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985.
7		
8		

16 2 of 2

1	12 NCAC 09C .0)306 is p	roposed for amendment as follows:
2			
3	12 NCAC 09C .0	0306	LATERAL TRANSFER OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS
4	(a) A law enfor	cement o	officer with general certification from either the Criminal Justice Education and Training
5	Standards Comm	nission o	r the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission may transfer from one law
6	enforcement agen	ncy to an	other law enforcement agency with less than a 12 month break in law enforcement service.
7	Prior to employing	ng the of	ficer, the employing agency shall:
8	(1)	verify t	he certification of the officer with the Criminal Justice Standards Division or the Sheriffs'
9		Standar	ds Division;
10	(2)	submit	a new fingerprint check to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in compliance
11		with the	e requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0103(a) and (b), in the same manner as prescribed
12		for non	a-certified new applicants. No certification shall be transferred if the holder has been
13		convict	ed since initial certification of any offense for which revocation or suspension of certification
14		is autho	rized;
15	(3)	advise t	he officer that he will be serving under a probationary appointment with the agency for one
16		year; an	nd .
17	(4)	notify t	he Commission by submitting a Report of Appointment that the officer is being employed
18		and stat	ing the date on which employment will commence.
19	(b) Prior to trans	fer of ce	rtification, the law enforcement officer shall:
20	(1)	comple	te a Medical History Statement Form within one year prior to the transfer to the employing
21		agency;	
22	(2)	submit	to examination by a physician surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner
23		licensec	d to practice medicine in North Carolina in the same manner prescribed for non-certified new
24		applica	nts in 12 NCAC 09B .0104 within one year prior to the transfer to the employing agency;
25	(3)	submit	results of the physical examination to the employing agency for placement in the officer's
26		•	ent personnel file;
27	(4)	produce	e a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the specifications outlined in
28		12 NCA	AC 09B .0101(5); and
29	(5)	either:	
30		(A)	submit a copy of the Commission's annual in-service training report form to the employing
31			agency for placement in the officer's permanent personnel file when the duty and off duty
32			weapons remain the same as those previously used to qualify. Such in-service training
33			compliance shall have occurred within the 12 month period preceding transfer; or
34		(B)	satisfactorily complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as
35			prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106.

1 of 2

1	(c) Officers previously certified who were not previously required to meet the educational or basic training
2	requirements shall not be required to meet such requirements when laterally transferring to another agency with le
3	than a 12-month break in law enforcement service.
4	(d) For currently certified full time officers with no break in service, upon written request from the department her
5	of the hiring agency, the Division shall waive for a period of no more than 60-days from the receipt of the Report
6	Appointment by the Standards Division the requirements of Subparagraphs of (b)(1), (b)(2), (b)(3), (b)(4), and (b)(2)
7	of this Rule. The Report of Appointment Form is located on the agency's websit
8	http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/64d263a3-a598-4c45-9541-04ef088cf288/F-5A-(DJJDP)6-11.aspx.
9	
10	History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
11	Eff. January 1, 1981;
12	Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; May 1, 2009; July 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; July
13	1989; July 1, 1982.
14	

2 of 2

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09E .0106

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 10 – what does "administrative or evidentiary issues" mean?

Lines 10-11 – what does "an issue of weapon maintenance or malfunction" mean?

Lines 10-11 – is the phrase "due to administrative or evidentiary issues or an issue of weapon maintenance or malfunction" necessary? Consider deleting it.

Line 11 – replace "must" with shall"

Line 14 – do not use italics

1	12 NCAC 09E .0106 is proposed for amendment as follows, the italic text was approved by RRC September
2	2017 with an effective date of January 1, 2019:
3	
4	12 NCAC 09E .0106 ANNUAL IN-SERVICE FIREARMS QUALIFICATION SPECIFICATIONS
5	(a) All certified law enforcement officers shall qualify for both day and night use with their individual and department-
6	approved service handgun(s) handguns at least once each calendar year. For the purpose of this specification, service
7	handgun shall include any semi-automatic pistol or revolver. In addition to the requirements specified in Rule 09E
8	.0105 of this Subchapter, the course of fire shall not be less stringent than the "Basic Training Law Enforcement
9	Officers" course requirements for firearms qualification.
10	(b) If an officer's duty handgun is replaced due to administrative or evidentiary issues or an issue of weapon
11	maintenance or malfunction, the officer must qualify both day and night with the new handgun within 15 days of
12	<u>issuance.</u>
13	(c) All certified law enforcement officers who are issued or authorized to use a shotgun, rifle rifle, or automatic weapon
14	shall qualify with each weapon respectively for both day and night use at least once each calendar year.
15	(e) (d) The qualifications required by Paragraphs (a) and (b) through (c) of this Rule shall be completed with duty
16	equipment and duty ammunition or ballistic equivalent ballistic-equivalent ammunition ammunition, to include
17	including lead-free ammunition that meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the duty
18	ammunition, ammunition for all weapons.
19	(d) (e) All certified law enforcement officers who are authorized to carry an off duty handgun(s) off-duty handguns
20	shall qualify with each such handgun consistent with the specifications $\frac{1}{100}$ outlined in Rules .0105(1) and .0106(a) and
21	(g) (h) of this Section.
22	(e) (f) To satisfy the training requirements for all in-service firearms qualifications, an officer shall attain at least 70
23	percent accuracy with each weapon.
24	(f) (g) The qualifications required by Paragraphs (a) and (b) (c) of this Rule must shall be achieved at least once in a
25	single day in no more than three attempts in a single day for each course of fire and for each weapon for which
26	qualification is required. Individuals not qualifying in a single day for each course of fire or for a certain weapon for
27	which qualification is required shall be deemed as having failed and 12 NCAC 09E .0103(4) and (5) shall apply. Rule
28	0103(4) and (5) of this Section shall apply.
29	(g) (h) The In-Service Firearms Qualification Manual as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be
30	applied as a guide for conducting the annual in-service firearms qualification. Copies of this publication may be
31	inspected at the office of the agency:
32	Criminal Justice Standards Division
33	North Carolina Department of Justice
34	114 West Edenton Street
35	Old Education Building
36	1700 Tryon Park Drive
37	Post Office Drawer 149

20 1 of 2

l		Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 27610
2	and may be view	wed and downloaded at no cost from the Academy's website at the following address:
3		http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA
1		
5	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
6		Eff. July 1, 1989;
7		Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; March 1, 1992.

2 of 2 **21**

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09F .0105

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

The formatting of this rule needs correcting – there are extra spaces and odd hanging indents.

Line 5 – do not capitalize "have"

Line 6 – end this line with a semicolon

Line 9 – replace "under" with "required by"

Line 10 – replace "any" with "all" if that is what is meant

Line 10 – replace "modification(s)" with "modifications"

Line 13 - replace "by" with "of"

Line 16 – delete "as"

Line 20 – replace "which shall demonstrate" with "that demonstrates"

Line 21 - delete "actual"

Lines 22 and – replace "shall fire" with "fires"

Line 24 – add "and" after the semicolon

Line 25 - delete "must"

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Jason Thomas
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: Wednesday, February 21, 2018

1	12 NCAC U9F .0	105 is proposed for amendment as follows:
2		
3	12 NCAC 09F .0	105 INSTRUCTOR RESPONSIBILITIES
4	In delivering the	"Concealed Carry Handgun Training" course the instructor shall:
5	<u>(1)</u>	Have a valid Concealed Carry Handgun instructor certification issued by the Criminal Justice
6	Star	ndards Division
7	(1) <u>(2)</u>	file a copy of the proposed firearms course description, outline, and proof of instructor certification
8		along with a written request to conduct the "Concealed Carry Handgun Training" course for
9		approval by the Commission prior to delivery of any instruction under G.S. 14-415.12;
10	(2) <u>(3)</u>	file a copy of any modification(s);
11	(3) <u>(4)</u>	be issued by Commission staff a quantity of certificates as requested by the instructor for course
12		participants which shall bear the instructor's name, the instructor's assigned number, be sequentially
13		numbered, and bear the raised seal by the Commission;
14	(4) <u>(5)</u>	affix the student's name to one certificate and issue that certificate to the student who successfully
15		completes the "Concealed Carry Handgun Training" course;
16	(5) <u>(6)</u>	conduct the training consistent with the guidelines as established in 12 NCAC 09F .0102;
17	(6) <u>(7)</u>	administer a written examination to the student on the legal issues block of instruction to
18		demonstrate that the student is knowledgeable in the laws of this State governing the carrying of a
19		concealed handgun and the use of deadly force; and
20	(7) <u>(8)</u>	administer a proficiency examination which shall demonstrate that the student is competent in
21		the actual firing and safe handling of a handgun. Such examination shall include the following:
22		(a) The student shall fire 30 rounds of ammunition at a bulls-eye or silhouette target from
23		three, five and seven yard distances;
24		(b) At each yard distance the student shall fire ten rounds;
25		(c) 21 of the 30 rounds fired by the student must hit the target.
26		
27	History Note:	Authority G.S. 14-415.12; 14-415.13;
28		Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1995;
29		Eff. May 1, 1996;
30		Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; May 1, 2004.
31		

1 of 1 23

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09F .0106

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

The formatting of this rule needs correcting – there are extra spaces and lines.

Lines 4 and 9 – replace "when" with "if"

Line 19 – delete "or"

Line 20 – delete the period and end this line with "; or"

Line 27 – what determines whether a license is suspended or revoked? Is there a rule that governs this that could be cited here?

1	12 NCAC 09F .0	106 is proposed for amendment as follows:
2		
3	12 NCAC 09F .0	106 SANCTIONS
4	(a) The Commiss	sion shall suspend an approved course when the Commission finds that the course has failed to meet
5	or maintain the re	equired standards for approval, pursuant to Rule .0103 of this Section.
6	(b) The Commis	sion, through the Standards Division, shall randomly conduct unannounced audits of a Concealed
7	Carry Handgun co	ourse taught by a certified Concealed Carry Handgun instructor for compliance with the requirements
8	of this Subchapte	r.
9	(c) The Commiss	sion shall deny, suspend, or revoke the certification of instructor status when the Commission finds
10	that the instructor	:
11	(1)	failed to meet or maintain the required course and instruction standards approved by the
12		Commission as set forth in 12 NCAC 09F .0102 or 12 NCAC 09F .0105;
13	(2)	failed to submit modification of courses or change in instructor status;
14	(3)	submitted any non-sufficient funds check;
15	(4)	falsified any record of completion with a passing score of an approved course;
16	(5)	distributed any certificate provided by the Commission without the named permittee undertaking
17		the approved course from that instructor;
18	(6)	taught any Concealed Carry Handgun course or approved certification while the instructor's
19		certification was suspended by the Commission; or
20	(7)	is ineligible to receive and possess a firearm under federal or North Carolina state law.
21	<u>(8)</u>	instructs a class without having a valid Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor Certification as
22		established in 12 NCAC 09F .0104
23		
24	(d) Instructors w	ho have lost certified status pursuant to Subparagraphs (1), (2), or (3) of Paragraph (c) of this Rule
25	may reapply for co	ertification upon documentation of compliance after one year has elapsed from the date of suspension
26	of the instructor's	certification by the Commission. Instructors who have lost certified status pursuant to Subparagraphs
27	(4), (5), (6), or (7)	of Paragraph (c) of this Rule shall have their certification suspended or permanently revoked by the
28	Commission.	
29		
30	History Note:	Authority G.S. 14-415.12; 14-415.13;
31		Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 1995;
32		Eff. May 1, 1996;
33		Amended Eff. <u>April 1, 2018;</u> May 1, 2016; February 1, 2007; September 1, 2005; May 1, 2004.

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0204

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 11 – add "with" before "documentary"

Line 16 – replace "regionally accredited" with "regionally-accredited"

Line 17 – delete the comma

Line 17 – replace "from" with "in"

Line 18 – delete the comma

Line 18 – replace "are not" with "shall not be"

1	12 NCAC 09G .0204 is proposed for amendment as follows:				
2					
3	12 NCAC 09G	.0204 EDUCATION			
4	(a) Every perso	on employed as a correctional officer by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of			
5	Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall be a high school, college, or university graduate or have received a high				
6	school equivalency credential as recognized by the issuing state.				
7	(b) Every person employed as a probation and parole officer by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety,				
8	Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall be a graduate of a regionally accredited college or university				
9	and have attained the baccalaureate degree.				
10	(c) Each applicant for employment as a corrections officer shall furnish to the North Carolina Department of Public				
11	Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice documentary evidence that the applicant has met the				
12	educational requirements for the corrections field of expected employment.				
13	(1)	Documentary evidence of educational requirements shall consist of official transcripts of courses			
14		completed or diplomas received from a school that meets the requirements of the Division of Non-			
15		Public Instruction of the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, a comparable out-of-state			
16		agency, or is a regionally accredited college or university. High school diplomas earned through			
17		correspondence enrollment enrollment, from an entity that charges a fee and requires the individual			
18		to complete little or no education or coursework to obtain a high school diploma, are not recognized			
19		toward these minimum educational requirements.			
20	(2)	Documentary evidence of high school equivalency shall be satisfied by a certified copy of a high			
21		school equivalency credential as recognized by the issuing state.			
22					
23	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;			
24		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;			
25		Eff. August 1, 2002;			
26		Amended Eff. <u>April 1, 2018</u> ; February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004.			
27					

28

1 of 1 27

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0414

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, March 7, 2018

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 11 – delete "as a minimum"

1	12 NCAC 09G .0414 is proposed for amendment as follows:							
2								
3	12 NCAC 09G	.0414	INSTRUCTOR TRAINING					
4	(a) The instructor training course required for general instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 hours							
5	of instruction p	of instruction presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks.						
6	(b) Each instru	(b) Each instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform						
7	the function of a criminal justice instructor.							
8	(c) Each instructor training course shall include as a minimum the following identified topic areas and minimum							
9	instructional hours for each area:							
10	(1)	Orient	ation and Pretest;	3 hours				
11	(2)	Instruc	ctional Systems Design (ISD);	6 hours				
12	(3)	Law E	inforcement Instructor					
13		Liabili	ties and Legal Responsibilities;	3 hours				
14	(4)	Instruc	etional Leadership Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership	4 hours				
15	(5)	Lesson	n Plan Preparation: Professional Resources;	3 hours				
16	(6)	Lesson	n Plan Development: Format and Objective and Formatting	4 hours				
17	(7)	Adult	Learning;	4- <u>6</u> hours				
18	(8)	Instruc	ctional Style and Platform Skills;	4 <u>5</u> hours				
19	(9)	Classr	oom Management;	4 <u>5</u> hours				
20	(10)	Active	Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises;	6 hours				
21	(11)	The Ev	valuation Process of Learning;	4 hours				
22	(12)	Princip	ples of Instruction: Audio-Visual Aids;	4 hours				
23	(13)	Studer	nt 8-Minute Talk and Video Critique; and	6- <u>5</u> hours				
24	(14)	Studer	nt Performance:					
25		First 3	0-Minute Presentation;	5 hours				
26		Second	d 30-Minute Presentation; and	5 hours				
27		Final 7	70-Minute Presentation and Review;	12 <u>8</u> hours				
28	(15)	Course	e Closing and Post Test	1 <u>2 hours</u>				
29	(d) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the basic							
30	curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:							
31			Criminal Justice Standards Division					
32			North Carolina Department of Justice					
33			1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149					
34			Raleigh, North Carolina 27602					
35	and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following							
36	address:							
37			North Carolina Justice Academy					

38		Post Office Drawer 99
39		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
40		
41	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
42		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
43		Eff. August 1, 2002;
44		Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015.
45		