1 21 NCAC 10 .0202, as published in the N.C. Register, vol. 32, issue 7, page 662, is amended with changes as follows: 2 3 21 NCAC 10.0202 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 4 (a) General. Application for licensure shall be made in writing upon forms provide by the Board. The secretary shall 5 furnish the necessary forms to prospective applicants upon request. Application forms and instructions may be found 6 on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. 7 (b) Description of Forms. The written application shall consist of two forms, the Application Form and the Character 8 Reference Form. The following information shall be required to complete each form: 9 Application Form: The application form shall include the personal background of the applicant; his (1) 10 educational history; a recent photograph; and a statement confirming that he the applicant has read, 11 understands, and will abide by the General Statutes and administrative rules governing chiropractic. 12 (2) Character Reference Form: The character reference form shall include the statements of three 13 persons not related to the applicant attesting to his the applicant's good moral character. 14 (c) Deadlines for Filing Applications. Applications for the North Carolina examination must shall be received at the 15 Board office of the Board no later than 15 days before the scheduled next examination dates date as provided in 21 16 NCAC 10.0203(b). Rule .0203(b) of this [Chapter.] Section. 17 (d) Application Fee. A non-refundable application fee of three hundred dollars (\$300.00) must shall accompany each 18 application. This fee shall be paid in cash, or by certified check or money order made payable to the North Carolina 19 Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Personal checks shall not be accepted. may be paid by credit card through the 20 Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by check made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic 21 Examiners. Cash shall not be accepted. 22 23 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-145; 90-146; 90-149 24 Eff. February 1, 1976; 25 Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 26 Amended Eff. October 17, 1980; 27 Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. December 17, 1982; 28 Curative Amendment Eff. December 30, 1982; 29 Amended Eff.January 1, 1983; 30 Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 31 Curative Amendment Eff. February 28, 1983; 32 Amended Eff. January 1, 1989; 33 Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003 34 Temporary Amendment Expired October 31, 2003; 35 Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; February 1, 2004

1 21 NCAC 10 .0203, as published in the N.C. Register, vol. 32, issue 7, pages 662-3, is amended with changes as follows:

21 NCAC 10 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA EXAMINATION

- (a) Eligibility. Only those applicants who meets meet the requirement requirements of this Rule and G.S. 90 143, or
 G.S. 90-143 or, in the case of reciprocity applicants, G.S. 90 143.1, G.S. 90-143.1 and who have submitted a timely and complete written application and paid the non-refundable application fee pursuant to Rule 21 NCAAC 10 .0202 shall be allowed to take the North Carolina examination.
 - (b) Dates of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall be given four times at least once each year, on the fourth Saturday in January, April, July and October. and additional examination dates may be scheduled based on the number of applications received. The Board shall announce an examination date not less than 90 days in advance, and the date, [time] time, and location of upcoming examinations shall be published on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. Eligible applicants shall be notified The Board shall also individually notify an eligible applicant of the exact date, time time, and location of the next examination as soon as possible after their written applications have been approved by the Board. the applicant's non-refundable application fee has been paid and the written application completed.
 - (c) National Boards. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, in order to take the North Carolina examination, an applicant who has never been licensed in this state or who is not a reciprocity applicant shall first achieve a score of 375 or higher on each of the following examinations given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners: Part I, Part II (WCCE) and the elective examination (termed "Physiotherapy" by the National Board). In addition, the applicant shall achieve a score of 475 or higher on Part IV of the National Board examination.
- (d) Report of Scores. The applicant shall arrange for his <u>or her</u> test results from any National Board examination to
 be reported to the North Carolina Board in a timely manner. Board. Failure to comply with this provision shall be a
 basis for delaying the issuance of a license.
 - (e) Waiver of National Boards. The Board recognizes that many established practitioners completed their professional education prior to the introduction of one or more National Board examinations. Notwithstanding the requirements of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant who submits National Board examinations in conformity with the following schedule shall not be disqualified from licensure in North Carolina:
 - (1) If the An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college before July 1, 1966, 1966 he shall not be required to submit a score from any National Board examination;
 - (2) If the An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1986, 1986 he shall be required to submit scores of 375 or higher on National Board Part I, Part II, and the elective examination termed "Physiotherapy"; "Physiotherapy" but he shall not be required to submit a score on Part III (WCCE) or Part IV.
- 35 (3) If the An applicant who graduated from chiropractic college between July 1, 1986 and June 30, 36 1997, 1997 he shall be required to submit scores of 375 or higher on National Board Part I, Part II,

1 the elective examination termed "Physiotherapy" and Part III (WCCE); (WCCE) but he shall not be 2 required to submit a score on Part IV. 3 In order to receive a license, an applicant who qualifies for a waiver of any National Board score must shall take and 4 pass the SPEC examination and the North Carolina Examination and satisfy all other requirements for licensure. 5 (f) SPEC Examination. In order to take the North Carolina examination, a reciprocity applicant, a waiver applicant 6 pursuant to Paragraph (d) of this Rule, or an applicant previously licensed in this State whose license has been 7 cancelled pursuant to G.S. 90-155 for more than 180 days must shall first take and pass the Special Purpose 8 Examination for Chiropractic ("SPEC"). 9 (g) Nature of Examination. The North Carolina examination is shall be a written test of an applicant's knowledge of 10 North Carolina chiropractic jurisprudence. No part of the examination is shall be open-book, and no reference material 11 of any kind shall be allowed in the examination area. The passing grade is shall be 75. 75 percent. 12 (h) Review of Examination Results. Examination. An applicant who has been denied licensure because he failed the 13 North Carolina examination may request a review of his or her answers provided his examination if the request is 14 made in writing and received by the Secretary Board not later than 20 days after issuance of the examination results. 15 Unless the applicant specifically requests to review his or her answers in person, the review shall be limited to a re-16 tabulation of the applicant's score to make certain no clerical errors were made in grading. If the applicant requests to 17 review his or her answers in person, he the applicant shall be permitted to do so at the Board office of the Board in the 18 presence of a representative of the Board and for a period of not more than 30 minutes. The applicant shall not be 19 permitted to discuss his the examination with any member of the Board, grader grader, or test administrator. 20 21 Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-144; 90-145; 90-146; History Note: 22 Eff/ February 1, 1976; 23 Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 24 Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; October 17, 1980; 25 Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 26 Curative Amendment Eff. February 18, 1983; 27 Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1998; 28 Amended Eff. February 1, 2009; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1995; December 1, 1988.

1 21 NCAC 10 .0205, as published in the N.C. Register, vol. 32, issue 7, pages 663-4, is amended with changes as follows:

21 NCAC 10 .0205 RENEWAL OF LICENSE

- (a) General. The renewal, cancellation, and restoration of a license are governed by G.S. 90 155. G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current license that is not renewed shall be [automatically] cancelled 30 days after the Tuesday immediately following the first Monday in January of the ensuing year. A licentiate desiring license renewal shall submit to the Board, on or before the date of [automatic] cancellation, a completed license renewal form accompanied by the renewal fee as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. [The preferred method of payment for the renewal fee is by credit card through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. The Board shall accept checks made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners but shall not accept cash.] The renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
 - (b) License Renewal Notification and Form. On or about December 1st October 15th each year, the Board shall mail to each licentiate, at the licentiate's current office address on file with the Board, an individualized a license renewal form with renewal instructions. A secure electronic version of the form shall also be available at www.nechiroboard.com. The license renewal form with instructions shall also be available at the Board's website, www.nechiroboard.com, or upon request at the Board's office. A licentiate desiring license renewal shall note on the form any changes in name, address, specialty, employment circumstances, and history of criminal convictions. convictions since the last renewal form was submitted to the Board. The licentiate shall also note continuing education obtained as set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. on the form any professional development continuing education for which the licentiate seeks credit pursuant to Rule .0210(d) of this Chapter. The licentiate shall submit the completed form and the renewal fee prescribed in Paragraph (d) of this Rule to the Board before the deadline imposed by G.S. 90-155.
 - (c) Continuing Education. The license renewal form issued by the Board shall recite the cumulative hours of continuing education reported to the Board and credited to the individual licentiate for the current year. If the licentiate wishes to receive credit for continuing education obtained but not reported to the Board, the licentiate shall note on the license renewal form the name, date, sponsor, and duration of any unreported educational session. The Board shall not award credit for the session until the sponsor confirms the licentiate's attendance or participation. The licentiate shall note on the license renewal form any professional development continuing education for which the licentiate seeks credit pursuant to 21 NCAC 10 .2109d). As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of continuing education shall be is defined as shall mean nine hours. Any licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement shall make written application to the Board explaining the nature and circumstances of the hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that timely compliance with the continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the Board, in its discretion, may waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" includes protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended absence from the United States. Except as provided in Paragraphs (d), (e) and (f) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking license renewal shall obtain

eighteen hours ("two days" two days) of Board-approved continuing education each calendar year. At least ten hours shall be obtained by attending in-person educational sessions. As many as eight hours may be obtained in the manner set forth in Rule .0210 of this Chapter. [The Board has created a secure portal on its website to help licentiates keep track of continuing education hours earned over the course of the year. The Board also maintains a list of approved continuing education courses on its website.] The Board shall not award credit for any continuing education hours until the sponsor or licentiate submits to the Board the sponsor's certificate of attendance or course completion.

(d) First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time

(d) First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to renew his or her license for the ensuing year without obtaining continuing education but shall be required to submit a license renewal form and pay the renewal fee. In subsequent years, a licentiate shall not be permitted to renew his or her license until the continuing education requirements set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule are satisfied.

(e) Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of the continuing education requirement shall make written application to the Board no later than December 15th of the current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that timely compliance with the continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the Board, Board in its discretion, may waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" includes shall include protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended absence from the United States.

- (f) Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the armed forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B 15(a) grants an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an identical extension of time to complete
 the continuing education required for license renewal.
- 21 (g) Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for renewal.
 - (h) Restoration of Cancelled License; Evidence of Proficiency. In order to provide evidence of proficiency, any a former licentiate whose license has been cancelled for 180 or fewer days due to non-compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall pay the non-refundable application fee prescribed in 21 NCAC 10 .0202(d) Rule .0202(d) of this [Chapter] to cover the cost of re examination. Chapter. A former licentiate whose license has been cancelled for more than 180 days shall comply with Rule .0203(f) of this Chapter in addition to this Paragraph. Payment of the application fee shall not constitute payment of the statutory reinstatement fee. fee of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) mandated by G.S. 90-155.

29 (\$25.00) mandated by G.S. 90-155

```
    31 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 93B-15;
    32 Eff. February 1, 1976;
    33 Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978;
    34 Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; October 17, 1980;
    35 Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983;
    36 Curative Amended Eff. February 18, 1983;
    37 Amended Eff. June 1, 2015; July 1, 2011; January 4, 1993; December 1, 1988.
```

21 NCAC 10 .0206, as published in the N.C. Register, vol. 32, issue 6, pages 664-5, is amended with changes as follows:

21 NCAC 10 .0206 CERTIFICATION OF RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS

- (a) In order to be certified competent pursuant to G.S. 90 143.2, a person employed in a chiropractic office whose duties include the production of x rays or other diagnostic images must:
 - (1) Complete a Board approved course in radiologic technology. To be approved by the Board, a radiologic technology course shall be at least 50 hours in length and provide sufficient instruction—in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy the standards of acceptable care governing the production of X rays; and
- Application Procedure. After completing the education program described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, a person desiring certification as a radiologic technologist shall [complete an application form available on the Board's website (www.nechiroboard.com).] pass a competency examination administered by or under the authority of the [Board,] Board. The applicant shall complete an application form available on the Board's website, www.nechiroboard.com, and confirm and submit that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, a high school graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of good moral character. A photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate, driver's [license] license, or government-issued identification card shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's age. A photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma, transcript, or general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's graduation from high school. An affidavit attesting to good moral character and signed by a chiropractic physician or other responsible party who knows the applicant and is not related to the applicant shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's good moral character. [Along with the completed application form, the applicant shall pay to the Board an initial certification fee in the amount of twenty dollars (\$20.00). The preferred method of payment is by credit eard through the Board's website. The Board shall accept checks made payable to the N.C. Board of Chiropractic Examiners but shall not accept cash.]
- (b) Any person registered as "active" with the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic Technologists is deemed to have satisfied the educational requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. Approved Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a radiological technologist education program shall be at least 50 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, based on education and experience, are [deemed] competent [by the Board] to teach the portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. The education program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy all applicable standards of care governing the production of X-rays. To obtain approval of an education program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the didactic [training,] training and a curriculum vitae for each instructor.
- (c) A certificate of competency issued pursuant to G.S. 90 143.2 expires at the end of the calendar year in which it was issued but may be renewed upon a showing that the certificate holder completed six hours of Board approved

- 1 continuing education in radiologic technology during the year. Any person whose initial certificate expires less than
- 2 12 months after issuance is not required to obtain continuing education until entering the second year of certification.
- 3 A.C.R.R.T. Exemption. Any person registered as "active" with the American Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic
- 4 Technologists [is] shall be deemed to have satisfied the educational requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
- 5 (d) Any person seeking to renew a certificate of competency shall complete and submit the renewal application form
- 6 provided by the Board of Examiners and pay to the Board a renewal fee in the amount of twenty dollars (\$20.00).
- 7 Competency Examination. The competency examination shall be administered in person at least three times per year.
- 8 The Board shall publish on its website, www.ncchiroboard.com, the date, [time] time, and location of the examination
- 9 at least 90 days in advance. The Board may authorize additional testing sessions based on the number of applications
- 10 <u>received. The minimum passing score is 70 percent.</u>
- 11 (e) The holder of a certificate issued pursuant to this Rule must display the certificate in the x ray room of the
- 12 chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location where the certificate may be easily viewed by patients.
- 13 Certificate Expiration and Renewal. A certificate of competency issued pursuant to G.S. 90-143.2 shall expire at the
- 14 end of the calendar year in which it was issued but may be renewed upon a showing that the certificate holder
- 15 completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education in radiologic technology during the year. A radiologic
- 16 <u>technologist whose initial certificate expires less than 12 months after issuance</u> [is not] shall not be required to obtain
- 17 <u>continuing education until</u> [entering] the second calendar year of certification but shall be required to pay the renewal
- 18 <u>fee at the end of the initial year of certification.</u> A radiologic technologist seeking to renew a certificate of competency
- 19 <u>shall</u> [complete and submit the renewal application form available on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com,]
- 20 <u>submit evidence that the applicant has completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A certificate of</u>
- 21 attendance or completion issued by the course sponsor and filed with the Board shall constitute *prima facie* evidence
- 22 that the applicant has completed the number of hours recited in the certificate. [and] The applicant shall pay a renewal
- 23 fee in the amount of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00). [The preferred method of payment is by credit card through the
- 24 Board's website. The Board shall accept checks made payable to the N.C. Board of Chiropractic Examiners but shall
- 25 not accept cash.] The renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit card through the Board's website,
- 26 www.ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
- 27 (f) Other than licensed doctors of chiropractic, only those persons maintaining current certifications of competency
- 28 in conformity with this Rule may produce x rays or other diagnostic images in chiropractic offices. A chiropractor
- 29 who permits the production of x rays or other diagnostic images by a non certified employee or an employee whose
- 30 certification has expired shall be deemed in violation of G.S. 90-154.3.
- 31 <u>Displaying Certificate</u>. The holder of a certificate issued pursuant to this Rule must shall display the certificate in the
- 32 x-ray room of the chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location where the certificate may be easily
- viewed by patients.
- 34 (g) If a certificate of competency has lapsed due to non renewal and the lapse does not exceed 12 months, the
- 35 certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by demonstrating completion of six hours of Board approved continuing
- 36 education during or attributed to the preceding calendar year. If the lapse is greater than 12 months, no make up
- 37 continuing education is required, but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency examination described

in Paragraph (a)(2) of this Rule. Regardless of the length of lapse, any person seeking reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall comply with Paragraph (d) of this Rule. Compliance. Other than licensed doctors of chiropractic, only those persons maintaining current certifications of competency in conformity with this Rule may produce x-rays or other diagnostic images in chiropractic offices. A chiropractor who permits the production of x-rays or other diagnostic images by a non-certified employee or an employee whose certification has expired shall be deemed in violation of G.S. 90-154.3.

(h) Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 12 months, 60 days, the certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by demonstrating completion of six hours of Board-approved continuing education during or attributed to the preceding calendar year. and paying the renewal fee set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule. If the lapse is greater than 12 months, 60 days, no make-up continuing education is shall be required, required but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency competency examination described in Paragraph (a)(d) of this Rule. Rule and pay the initial certification fee set forth in Paragraph (a) of this [Rule to cover the cost of the examination.] Rule. Regardless of the length of lapse, any person seeking reinstatement of a lapsed certificate shall comply with Paragraph (d) (e) of this Rule.

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-143.2; 90-154.3

17 Eff. February 1, 1993;

18 Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003;

19 Temporary Amendment Expired October 31, 2003;

20 Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; January 1, 2004.

1 21 NCAC 10 .0213, as published in the N.C. Register, vol. 32, issue 7, pages 665-6, is amended with changes as follows:

21 NCAC 10.0213 CERTIFICATION OF CLINICAL ASSISTANTS

- (a) Classification of Applicants. The Board hereby establishes the following categories of applicants for clinical assistant competency certification. Applicants for clinical assistant competency certification shall be classified as follows. Different certification requirements shall apply to each category.
 - (1) Grandfathered applicants. A "grandfathered applicant" is an applicant who is currently employed as a clinical assistant, who has been trained by the applicant's employing physician to perform the duties of a clinical assistant as defined in G.S. 90-143.4(a), and who shall have amassed at least 500 working hours in the capacity of a clinical assistant as of the effective date of this Rule. (Note: this category is temporary; the opportunity to be grandfathered shall expire 120 days after the effective date of this Rule.)
 - (2) (1) Reciprocity applicants. A "reciprocity applicant" is means an applicant who is currently certified or registered as a clinical assistant in another state whose requirements for certification or registration are substantially similar to or more stringent than the requirements for certification in North Carolina.
 - (3) (2) New applicants. A "new applicant" is means any applicant who is not a grandfathered applicant or a reciprocity applicant.
- (b) Requirements for Certification. Every applicant, regardless of classification, shall complete an application form provided by the Board and available on the Board's website (available at www.ncchiroboard.com) and requiring the applicant to confirm and submit documentary evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant is at least 18 years of age, a high school graduate or the equivalent, and possessed of good moral character. A photocopy of the applicant's birth certificate, driver's license license, or government-issued identification card shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's age. A photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma, transcript, or general equivalency diploma (G.E.D.) shall constitute prima facie evidence of the applicant's graduation from high school. An affidavit attesting to good moral character and signed by a chiropractic physician or other responsible party who knows the applicant and is not related to the applicant shall constitute *prima facie* evidence of the applicant's good moral character. Every applicant, regardless of classification, shall pay to the Board an initial certification fee in the amount of twenty dollars (\$20.00). The preferred method of payment is by credit card through the Board's website. The Board shall accept checks made payable to the N.C. Board of Chiropractic Examiners but shall not accept cash.] The initial certification fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit care through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners. In addition to the foregoing general <u>certification</u> requirements, an applicant shall satisfy the requirements for the applicant's individual category, appropriate category of certification, as follows:
 - (1) Grandfathered Applicants. A grandfathered applicant shall submit, on a form provided by the Board (available at www.nechiroboard.com), an attestation signed by the applicant's employing physician confirming that the applicant is currently employed as a clinical assistant, has received sufficient on the job training, in the judgment of the employer, to perform the duties of a clinical assistant, and has amassed at least 500 hours of work

- experience in the capacity of a clinical assistant as of the effective date of this Rule. In addition, a grandfathered applicant shall take and pass a refresher proficiency examination administered by or under the authority of the Board, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. (Note: grandfathered applications shall only be accepted for 120 days after the effective date of this Rule.)
- (2) (1) Reciprocity Applicants. A reciprocity applicant shall submit a copy of the applicant's current certification or registration as a clinical assistant in a state with which North Carolina reciprocates and shall also submit written confirmation from the state's certifying authority or registrar that the applicant is in good standing in said that state.
- (3) (2) New Applicants. A new applicant shall submit evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has completed an approved clinical assistant education program as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. A certificate of completion filed with the Board by the program sponsor shall constitute *prima facie* evidence that the applicant has obtained the required education. A new applicant shall also take and pass the standard proficiency examination administered by or under the authority of the Board, as described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule.
- (c) Education Programs. In order to be approved by the Board, a clinical assistant education program for new applicants shall be at least 24 hours in length, of which at least six hours shall be in-person didactic training with an instructor or instructors who, based on education and experience, are deemed competent by the Board to teach the portion of the curriculum they have been assigned. Credit for online coursework shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online coursework shall precede didactic training. At a minimum, the The education program shall provide sufficient instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all applicable standards of care. To obtain approval of an education program, the program sponsor shall submit to the Board, at least 30 60 days prior to the proposed starting date, all instructional materials to be used in the program, including a syllabus of the didactic training, and a *curriculum vitae* for each instructor.
- (d) Examinations. The refresher proficiency examination shall emphasize the practical skills possessed by grandfathered applicants and shall be available online. The standard proficiency examination for new applicants shall assess both academic knowledge and practical skills acquired through education programs and shall be administered in person at least four times per year on the fourth Saturday in January, April, July and October. dates and at locations to be announced by the Board at least 90 days in advance and published on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. on the fourth Saturday in January, April, July and October. In its discretion, the Board may authorize additional testing sessions based on the number of applications received. The minimum passing score on the examination is 75 percent. (Note: the refresher proficiency examination for grandfathered applicants shall be discontinued 120 days after the effective date of this Rule.)
- (e) Certificate Expiration and Renewal. Unless renewed, a certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the second third year following the year in which it was issued. A certificate holder seeking to renew shall complete a renewal application form provided by the Board (available at www.nechiroboard.com) and shall submit evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has completed six hours of Board-approved continuing education. A certificate of attendance or completion issued by the course sponsor and filed with the Board by the program sponsor

- shall constitute *prima facie* evidence that the applicant has completed the number of hours recited in the certificate.
- 2 The applicant shall pay to the Board a renewal fee in the amount of ten dollars (\$10.00) twenty-five dollars (\$25.00).
- 3 [The preferred method of payment is by credit card through the Board's website. The Board shall accept checks made
- 4 payable to the N.C. Board of Chiropractic Examiners but shall not accept cash.] The renewal fee shall not be paid in
- 5 cash and may be paid by credit card through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by a check made payable
- 6 to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners.
- 7 (f) Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 12
- 8 months, 60 days, the certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the accrued deficiency in continuing
- 9 education. If the lapse is greater than 12 months, 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, but the
- 10 certificate holder shall re-take and pass the standard proficiency examination for new applicants. Regardless of the
- length of lapse, a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay to the Board a the renewal fee in the amount of ten
- dollars (\$10.00). set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule.
- 13 (g) Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges
- 14 who are serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are deemed by the Board to have satisfied all
- requirements imposed by this Rule and are declared shall be deemed competent to perform the duties of a clinical
- assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 120
- 17 180 days shall submit an the application form to the Board asserting described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and note
- 18 the claim of exempt status status. (form available at www.ncchiroboard.com) but Exempt persons shall not be required
- 19 to submit pay a certification fee.

20

- 21 *History Note: Authority G.S.* 90-142; 90-143.4;
- 22 Eff. July 1, 2014.