AGENCY: Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 10B .0301

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, October 11, 2017

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 10 - delete "at least" twice

Line 14 – replace "set out in" with "required by"

Line 19 – delete "reliable"

Line 25 – add a comma after "opiates"

Lines 25-26 – delete "however, individual agencies may specify other drugs to be tested;"

Line 27 – in what document are these "threshold values" published? What reference, specifically, are you incorporating?

Lines 28-29 - revise as follows:

Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions.

Line 31 – confirm that the webpage is current and links to the specific material referenced in the rule.

Lines 31-32 – delete "at the time of adoption of this Rule"

Lines 35 and 36 - replace "must" with "shall" twice

Line 36 – add a comma after "regulations"

Line 37 – add a comma after "storage"

Page 2, lines 1-3 – revise Part (G) as follows:

Jason Thomas
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 27, 2017

- (G) each drug test laboratory report shall be reviewed by a medical review officer (MRO), who shall be a licensed physician;
- Page 2, line 7 replace "is" with "means"
- Page 2, line 9 delete "as set out"
- Page 2, lines 12 and 13 replace "which" with "that" twice
- Page 2, lines 16, 18, and 22 add a comma after "(G.S. 50B)" in each of these lines
- Page 2, line 18 replace "charge(s)" with "charges"
- Page 2, lines 24 and 25 replace "must" with "shall" twice
- Page 2, line 25 add a comma after "handled" and delete the comma after "disposition"
- Page 2, line 28 replace "is" with "shall be"
- Page 2, line 34 replace "and their progeny" with "and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority"
- Page 2, line 35 replace "to include" with "including"
- Page 2, line 36 replace "set out in" with "required by"
- Page 2, line 37 delete "as"
- Page 3, line 1 replace "be applicable" with "apply"

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

1	12 NCAC 10E	.0301 IS	S AMMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN VOLUME 32, ISSUE 02, PAGES 65-70 OF THE
2	NORTH CAR	ROLINA	PUBLIC REGISTER, AS FOLLOWS:
3			
4	SECTION .	.0300 – N	MINIMUM STANDARDS FPR FOR EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A
5			JUSTICE OFFICER
6			
7	12 NCAC 10E	3 .0301	MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE OFFICERS
8	(a) Every Just	ice Office	er employed or certified in North Carolina shall:
9	(1)	be a c	ritizen of the United States;
10	(2)	be at 1	east 21 years of age; age for all deputies and detention officers and be at least 18 years of age for
11		all tel	ecommunicators;
12	(3)	be a h	nigh school graduate, or the equivalent (GED);
13	(4)	have l	been fingerprinted by the employing agency;
14	(5)	have l	had a medical examination as set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0304;
15	(6)	have	produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the following
16		specif	fications:
17		(A)	the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an
18			immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas
19			chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory tests
20			as may be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health and Human Services for
21			Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs [http://workplace.samhsa.gov/];
22		(B)	a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual
23			discarding of the specimen;
24		(C)	the drugs whose use shall be tested for shall include cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine (PCP),
25			opiates and amphetamines or their metabolites; however, individual agencies may specify
26			other drugs to be tested;
27		(D)	the test threshold values established by the Department of Health and Human Services for
28			Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs are hereby incorporated by reference, and shall
29			include any later amendments and editions of the referenced materials. Copies of this
30			information may be obtained from the National Institute on Drug Abuse, 5600 Fisher Lane,
31			Rockville, Maryland 20857 [http://www.drugabuse.gov/] at no cost at the time of adoption of
32			this Rule;
33		(E)	the test results shall be dated no more than 60 days before employment or appointment,
34			whichever is earlier;
35		(F)	the laboratory conducting the test must be certified for federal workplace drug testing
36			programs, and must adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations and guidelines pertaining
37			to the handling, testing, storage and preservation of samples; and

ORIGINAL 09/20/2017 1 3

1		(G)	every agency head shall make arrangements for the services of a medical review officer
2			(MRO) for the purpose of review of drug tests reported by the laboratory and such officer
3			shall be a licensed physician;
4	(7)	make t	the following notifications:
5		(A)	within five business days, notify the Standards Division and the appointing department head
6			in writing of all criminal offenses with which the officer is charged. This shall include all
7			criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense is any offense under
8			G.S. 20 or similar laws of other jurisdictions; except those Chapter 20 offenses defined as
9			either a Class A or B Misdemeanor as set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0103(10). The initial
10			notification required must specify the nature of the offense, the date of offense, and the
11			arresting agency. Within five business days, notify the Standards Division of all Domestic
12			Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) which are issued by a
13			judicial official against the justice officer and which provide an opportunity for both parties
14			to be present;
15		(B)	within 20 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the appointing department head of
16			the adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil
17			No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C). The department head, provided he or she has knowledge of
18			the officer's charge(s), Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders
19			(G.S. 50C), shall also notify the Division within 30 days of the date the case or order was
20			disposed of in court.
21		(C)	within 30 days of the date the case was disposed, notify the Standards Division of the
22			adjudication of these criminal charges, Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No
23			Contact Orders (G.S. 50C);
24		(D)	the required notifications of adjudication must specify the nature of the offense, the court in
25			which the case was handled and the date of disposition, and must include a certified copy of
26			the final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication;
27		(E)	receipt by the Standards Division of timely notification of the initial offenses charged and of
28			adjudication of those offenses, from either the officer or the department head, is sufficient
29			notice for compliance with this Subparagraph;
30	(8)	be of g	good moral character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), appeal
31		dismis	sed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325
32		N.C. 6	58, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re
33		Dilling	gham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647
34		(1983)	); and their progeny;
35	(9)	have a	background investigation conducted by the employing agency, to include a personal interview
36		prior to	o employment as set out in Rules .0305 and .0306 of this Section;
37	(10)	not ha	ve committed or been convicted of a crime or crimes as specified in 12 NCAC 10B .0307.

(b) The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applications for certification and shall also be applicable at all times during which the justice officer is certified by the Commission.
History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7;
Eff. January 1, 1989;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2014; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; January 1, 1996; January 1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; January 1, 1990.

ORIGINAL 09/20/2017 3 5

AGENCY: Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 10B .0304

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, October 11, 2017** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Line 5 – add a comma after "sign"

Line 7 – revise as follows: "physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, or other licensed independent practitioner"

Line 9 - replace "his/her" with "his or her"

Line 9 – replace "in carrying" with "to carry" if that is what is meant

Line 10 - delete "but"

Line 11 – replace the semicolon with a comma, and delete the comma after "and"

Lines 15-16 – revise as follows: "physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, or other licensed independent practitioner"

Line 19 –delete "at the time of adoption of this Rule"

Line 21 - delete "and"

Line 24 – revise as follows: "physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, or other licensed independent practitioner"

Line 25 – add "shall" before "sign"

Line 27-28 – revise as follows if this is what is meant: "shall be valid for one year after the date"

Line 28 - replace "are" with "shall be"

Lines 32-34 – delete these lines entirely.

Jason Thomas
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 27, 2017

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

# 12 NCAC 10B .0304 IS AMMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN VOLUME 32, ISSUE 02, PAGES 65-70 OF

### THE NORTH CAROLINA PUBLIC REGISTER, AS FOLLOWS:

2	
3	
4	

1

12 NCAC 10B .0304	MEDICAL	EXAMINATION
14 11 /41 101 20204		L'AAMINA LICH

- 5 (a) Each applicant for certification or enrollee in a Commission-certified basic training course shall complete, sign and
- date the Commission's Medical History Statement Form (F-1) and shall be examined by a either a physician, surgeon,
- 7 physician's assistant or nurse practitioner or other licensed independent practitioner who is licensed in North Carolina or
- 8 who is authorized to practice medicine in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces to
- 9 help determine his/her fitness in carrying out the physical requirements of the position of justice officer. Effective
- January 1, 2018, Telecommunicators who have not previously held certification with this Commission, but who have
- been continuously employed by an entity other than a Sheriff's Office; and, who have previously provided a valid
- Medical History Statement (F-1) and Medical Examination Report (F-2) for admission into a Commission accredited
- 13 <u>Telecommunicator Certification Course shall not be required to submit additional F-1 and F-2 forms for the purpose of</u>
- 14 <u>obtaining certification.</u>
- 15 (b) Prior to conducting the examination, the physician, surgeon, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner or other
- licensed independent practitioner shall:
- 17 (1) read the "Medical Screening Guidelines Implementation Manual for Certification of Justice Officers"
  18 in the State of North Carolina as published by the North Carolina Department of Justice. Copies of
  19 this publication may be obtained at no cost at the time of the adoption of this Rule by contacting the
  20 North Carolina Department of Justice, Sheriffs' Standards Division, PO Box 629, Raleigh, North
- 21 Carolina 27602; and
- 22 (2) read, sign, and date the Medical History Statement Form (F-1); and
- 23 (3) read the F-2A Form attached to the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2).
- 24 (c) The examining physician, surgeon, physician's assistant or nurse practitioner or other licensed independent
- 25 practitioner shall record the results of the examination on the Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and sign and date
- the form.
- 27 (d) The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) shall be valid one year
- from the date the examination was conducted and are completed prior to:
- 29 (1) the applicant's beginning the Detention Officer Certification Course, the Basic Law Enforcement
- Training Course, or the Telecommunicator Certification Course; and
- 31 (2) the applicant's applying to the Commission for Certification.
- 32 Note: Although not presently required, it is recommended by the Commission that each candidate for the position of
- 33 justice officer be examined by a licensed psychiatrist or clinical psychologist, or be administered a psychological
- evaluation test battery, to determine his/her suitability to perform the essential job functions of a justice officer.

35

- 36 History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7;
- 37 Eff. January 1, 1989;

1	Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1991; January 1, 1990;
2	Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 1998;
3	Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; August 1, 1998.
4	

ORIGINAL 09/20/2017

AGENCY: Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 10B .0713

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, October 11, 2017** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Lines 7, 8, and 13 - replace "may" with "shall" twice

Lines 10-12 – revise as follows if this is what is meant:

The Director shall approve those individuals seeking Detention Officer Certification who will turn 21 years of age before the end of the Detention Officer Certification Course and those individuals seeking Telecommunicator Certification who will turn 18 years of age prior to the end of the Telecommunicator Certification Course.

Line 14 - delete "as"

Line 17 – what specific test or type of test is a "standardized test that reports a grade level"? Identify this test or type of test specifically or, at least, clearly.

Line 18 – delete "type of" if that is what is meant.

Line 20 - replace "on each" with "for each"

Lines 23 and 28-29 – delete "as a prerequisite"

Line 29 – delete "certified" if this word is unnecessary.

Line 30 – delete "for the time period"

Line 32 - replace "will" with "shall"

Line 33 – replace "is" with "shall be"

Page 2, line 9 – delete "as"

Page 2, line 10 – add a comma after "courses"

Jason Thomas
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 27, 2017

Page 2, line 12 – what does this mean: "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course commission-certified basic training courses"? Is this repetitive?

Page 2, lines 13-14 – revise as follows: "of all criminal offenses that the trainee is arrested for, charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and shall notify the School Director..."

Page 2, lines 15 and 18 - replace "which" with "that"

Page 2, lines 15-16 – revise as follows: "opportunity for both parties to be present, including all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses."

Page 2, lines 17-18 – what is the "Class B Misdemeanor Manual"? Are you incorporating it be reference?

Page 2, line 19 – delete "either first or subsequent offenses of"

Page 2, line 20 – delete the comma after "years"

Page 2, line 21 - replace "must" with "shall" twice

Page 2, line 21 – replace the comma with "and"

Page 2, line 24 – replace "must" with "shall"

Page 2, line 25 – replace "are applicable" with "shall apply"

Page 2, line 26 - replace "are" with "shall be"

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

## 12 NCAC 10B .0713 IS AMMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN VOLUME 32, ISSUE 02, PAGES 65-70 OF THE

2 NORTH CAROLINA PUBLIC REGISTER, AS FOLLOWS:

3

1

#### 12 NCAC 10B .0713 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES

- 5 (a) The school director shall not admit any individual as a trainee in any commission-certified basic training course who
- 6 is not a citizen of the United States.
- 7 (b) The school may not admit any individual younger than 21 years of age as a trainee in any commission certified basic
- 8 training course the Detention Officer Certification Course and may not admit any individual younger than 18 years of age
- 9 <u>as a trainee in the Telecommunicator Certification Course</u> without the prior written approval of the Director of the
- 10 Standards Division. The Director shall approve those individuals who will turn 21 years of age during the Detention
- Officer Certification Course eourse, but prior to the ending date; and, those individuals who will turn 18 years of age
- 12 <u>during the Telecommunicator Certification Course</u>, but prior to the ending date.
- 13 (c) The school may not admit any individual who has not provided documentation that he or she meets the educational
- requirement as set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0302.
- 15 (d) The school shall give priority admission in commission-certified basic training courses to individuals holding full-
- time employment with criminal justice agencies.
- 17 (e) The school shall administer the reading component of a standardized test that reports a grade level for each trainee
- 18 participating in either the Telecommunicator or Detention Officer Certification Course. The specific type of test
- instrument shall be determined by the school director and shall be administered within the first week of the Course. The
- 20 grade level results on each trainee shall be submitted to the Commission on each trainee's Report of Student Course
- 21 Completion.
- 22 (f) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Detention Officer Certification Course
- 23 or the Telecommunicator Certification Course unless as a prerequisite the individual has provided to the certified school
- director a Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) in compliance with 12
- 25 NCAC 10B .0304. The Medical Examination Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) required
- by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission shall be recognized by the
- 27 Commission for the purpose of complying with this Rule.
- 28 (g) The school shall not admit any individual trainee in commission-certified basic training courses unless as a
- 29 prerequisite the individual has provided the certified School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state
- 30 records for the time period where the trainee has resided within the past 10 years and where the trainee attended high
- 31 school. An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state criminal record check
- 32 will satisfy this requirement. If an individual trainee has received a probationary certificate from the Commission at the
- 33 time of enrollment, this records check requirement is waived.
- 34 (h) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in commission-certified basic training courses who has been
- 35 convicted of the following:
- 36 (1) a felony;
- 37 (2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years;

- 1 (3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior to the date of appointment;
- four or more crimes or unlawful acts as defined as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the date of conviction;
  - (5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class A Misdemeanors" except the trainee may be enrolled if the last conviction occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment; or
  - (6) a combination of four or more "Class A Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the date of conviction.

(i) Individuals charged with crimes as specified in this Paragraph that were dismissed or the person was found not guilty may be admitted into the commission-certified basic training courses but completion will not ensure that certification as a justice officer through the Commission will be issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course commission-certified basic training courses shall notify the School Director of all criminal offenses which the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to or is found guilty of, and notify the School Director of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (50C) which are issued by a judicial official that provide an opportunity for both parties to be present. This shall include all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense is defined for purposes of this Paragraph as any offense under G.S. 20 or similar laws of other jurisdictions except those Chapter 20 offenses published in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual. Other traffic offenses under laws of other jurisdictions which shall be reported to the School Director include either first or subsequent offenses of driving while impaired if the maximum allowable punishment is for a term of more than six months but not more than two years, and driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended. The notifications required under this Paragraph must be in writing, must specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Order (G.S 50B) or Civil No Contact Order (G.S. 50C), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph must be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8).

272829

32

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

```
History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-4; 17E-7;
```

30 Eff. April 1, 2001;

31 Amended Eff. <u>January 1, 2018</u>; <u>January 1, 2013</u>; <u>January 1, 2007</u>; <u>January 1, 2005</u>.

ORIGINAL 09/20/2017 2

AGENCY: Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission

RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 10B .2005

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, October 11, 2017** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Lines 5-6 – the first sentence of Paragraph (a) appears to allow a Sheriff or Department Head to use any lesson plan that he or she wants. Is that your intention?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

### 12 NCAC 10B .2005 IS AMMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN VOLUME 32, ISSUE 02, PAGES 65-70 OF THE NORTH

**CAROLINA PUBLIC REGISTER, AS FOLLOWS:** 

3 4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

23

24

26

27

28

31

1

2

## 12 NCAC 10B .2005 MINIMUM TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

- (a) A Sheriff or Department Head may use a lesson plan developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or a lesson plan for any of the topic areas developed by another entity. The Sheriff or Department Head may also use a lesson plan developed by a certified instructor, provided that the instructor develops the lesson plan in accordance with the Instructional Systems Development model as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor Training and as described in 12 NCAC 09B .0209. Lesson plans shall be designed to be delivered in hourly increments. A student who completes the training shall receive the number of credits that correspond to the number of hours assigned to the course, regardless of the amount of time the student spends completing the course, where each hour of instruction shall be worth one credit (e.g., "Legal Update" is designed to be delivered in four hours and will yield four credits). With the exception of Firearms Training and Requalification, successful completion of training shall be demonstrated by passing tests as developed by the delivering agency or as written by the North Carolina Justice Academy. A written test comprised of at least five questions per hour of training shall be developed by the delivering agency, or the agency may use the written test developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy, for each in-service training topic. A student shall pass each test by achieving 70 percent correct answers. Firearms Training and Requalification shall be demonstrated qualification with a firearm as set out in Section .2100 of this Subchapter.
- 20 (b) The 2016 Law Enforcement In Service Training Program requires 24 credits of training and successful completion in the following topic areas:
- 22 (1) Legal Update;
  - (2) Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training: The color of Justice;
  - (3) Human Trafficking Awareness;
- 25 (4) NC Firearms Law: Citizens with Guns;
  - (5) Firearms Training and Requalification for deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of this Subchapter; and
  - (6) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing.
- (c) The 2016 Detention Officer In Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful
   completion in the following topic areas:
  - (1) Career Survival: Stop! Think About What You Are Doing;
- 32 (2) Communicable Diseases;
- 33 (3) Detention Intelligence Update; and
- 34 (4) Understanding PREA; and
- 35 (5) Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
- 36 (d) The 2016 Telecommunicator In Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful
   37 completion in the following topic areas:

1	(1)	Communicating Effectively with Crisis Callers;
2	(2)	Becoming a Leader in the Communications Center;
3	(3)	Handling Suicidal Callers; and
4	(4)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
5	(e) (b) The 201	17 Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program requires 24 credits of training and successful
6	completion in t	the following topic areas:
7	(1)	Legal Update;
8	(2)	Positively Impacting Today's Youth;
9	(3)	Domestic Violence: Protecting Victims of Domestic Violence;
10	(4)	Improving Decision Making Skills;
11	(5)	Firearms Training and Requalification for deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of
12		this Subchapter; and
13	(6)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing.
14	(f) (c) The 20	17 Detention Officer In-Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful
15	completion in t	the following topic areas:
16	(1)	Detention Legal Update;
17	(2)	Detention Intelligence Update;
18	(3)	Recognizing Substance Abuse and Withdrawal;
19	(4)	Improving Decision-Making Skills; and
20	(5)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
21	$\frac{(g)}{(d)}$ The 201	7 Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful
22	completion in t	the following topic areas:
23	(1)	Post Critical Incident Stress Management;
24	(2)	Protecting Victims of Domestic Violence;
25	(3)	Improving Decision Making Skills;
26	(4)	Law Enforcement Intelligence Update; and
27	(5)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
28	(e) The 2018	Law Enforcement In-Service Training Program requires 24 credits of training and successful
29	completion in	the following topic areas:
30	<u>(1)</u>	Legal Update:
31	(2)	Strategies to Improve Law Enforcement Interactions and Relationships with Minority Youth;
32	(3)	Equality in Policing:
33	<u>(4)</u>	Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis – De-escalation Techniques;
34	<u>(5)</u>	Firearms Training and Requalification for deputy sheriffs as set out in Section .2100 of this
35	<u>Subchapt</u>	
36	(6)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's choosing.
37	(f) The 2018	B Detention Officer In-Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful

1	completion in	the following topic areas:
2	(1)	Recognizing Warning Signs and Strategies Associated with Mental Illness;
3	(2)	Equality in Detention Practices;
4	(3)	Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis – De-escalation Techniques;
5	<u>(4)</u>	Career Survival; and
6	<u>(5)</u>	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
7	(g) The 2018	Telecommunicator In-Service Training Program requires 16 credits of training and successful
8	completion in t	he following topic areas:
9	<u>(1)</u>	Communications Center Trainer;
10	<u>(2)</u>	Equality in Policing:
11	<u>(3)</u>	Communications Skills With Persons In Crisis - De-escalation Techniques; and
12	(4)	Any topic areas of the Sheriff's or Department Head's choosing.
13		
14	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7;
15		Eff. January 1, 2007;
16		Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1, 2016; January 1, 2015; February 1
17		2014; January 1, 2013; February 1, 2012; January 1, 2011; January 1, 2010; January 1, 2009;
18		January 1, 2008.