## **REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE**

AGENCY: North Carolina Board of Pharmacy

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 46 .2201

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, February 10, 2017

## <u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

In (d), are the contents of the form set forth elsewhere in Rule or Statute? If not, what are the contents of the form and where can it be found?

In (e), how is it determined how much of the 5 hours the pharmacist will receive? I understand that the student must be with the pharmacist for at least 160 hours, but will the pharmacist receive the 5 hours of credit at that 160 hour mark? Is there a sliding scale? If not, should "up to" be removed?

In (g), please add a comma after "however"

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Of course, this will also require conforming changes to the attached copies of the rule. Please check to see that this paperwork is in order and is returned along with the revised rule.

Amber Cronk May Commission Counsel January 27, 2017 1 2

## 21 NCAC 46 .2201 is amended as published in 31:08 NCR 746 as follows:

## 3 21 NCAC 46 .2201 HOURS: RECORDS: PROVIDERS: CORRESPONDENCE: RECIPROCITY

- 4 (a) As a condition of license renewal, a pharmacist shall accumulate 15 hours of continuing education annually.
- 5 (b) Eight Five of these continuing education hours shall be obtained through contact programs. Contact programs are
- 6 those in which there is an opportunity for live two-way communication between the presenter and attendee. An on-
- 7 line continuing education course may satisfy this contact-hour requirement provided that the <u>continuing education</u>
- 8 <u>course includes live two-way communication between the presenter and attendee</u>. standard is met.
- 9 (c) A pharmacist who accumulates more than the required 15 hours of continuing education in a single year may carry
- 10 forward up to five surplus hours to be applied to the following year's continuing education requirements.
- 11 (d) (c) A pharmacist shall preserve all continuing education records for three years. If a continuing education provider
- 12 approved in Paragraph (e) of this Rule maintains an electronic database of all pharmacists granted continuing
- 13 education credits accredited by the provider, then the storage of that information in the provider's database shall be
- 14 <u>deemed to satisfy the pharmacist's recordkeeping requirement.</u>
- 15 (e) (d) Upon license renewal, the pharmacist shall report continuing education hours on a form approved and provided

16 by the Board. The Board may require a pharmacist to submit records, reports of accredited hours and certificates of

- 17 credit on a random basis pursuant to a continuing education audit.
- (f) (e) All continuing education shall be obtained through continuing education courses accredited by the
  Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists. Pharmacists may
- 20 <u>also acquire up to five hours continuing education credit for precepting, for at least 160 hours, a student enrolled in</u>
- 21 the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy, the Campbell University College of Pharmacy and
- Health Sciences, the Wingate University School of Pharmacy, or the High Point University Fred Wilson School of

23 Pharmacy as part of these schools' academic program. The Board shall approve continuing education courses as

- 24 accredited if they provide education on matters that will maintain or increase the participant's professional competence
- 25 and proficiency as a pharmacist.
- 26 (f) A pharmacist shall be exempt from the requirements of this Rule if:
- 27 (1) The pharmacist is eligible for a waiver of continuing education requirements under 21 NCAC
  28 <u>46.1613; or</u>
- 29 (2) For the entire year preceding license renewal, the pharmacist resided in another state, did not
  30 practice pharmacy in North Carolina, and satisfied the state of residence's continuing education
  31 requirements for pharmacist licensure.
- 32 (g) Continuing education shall not serve as a barrier to reciprocity; however all licensees by reciprocity must observe
- 33 the continuing education standards specified in (a), (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f) of this Rule within the first renewal period
- 34 after licensure in this state.
- 35

36 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.17; 90-85.18;
 37 Eff. January 1, 1985;

Amended Eff. <u>January, 1, 2018;</u> January 1, 2008; April 1, 2005; August 1, 2004; August 1, 1998; September 1, 1993; May 1, 1989.

1

2