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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is amended as published in Vol. 30, Issue 23, pages. 2440-2442:

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES
(@) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course who is not a citizen of the United States.
(b) The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic
criminal justice training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enroliment
as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the
Director of the Standards Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 years of
age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course.
(c) The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-
time employment with criminal justice agencies.
(d) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor
Training Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under
Rule .0302 of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State
Comprehensive Examination.
(e) The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of
the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course, places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as
a result of taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement
test as approved by the State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014,
(http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the
reading component of a nationally standardized test within one year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement
Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of this Rule:

1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold, or have held within 12 months

prior to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304.

2 A "nationally standardized test" means a test that:
(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and
(B) compares student test results to a national norm.

(f) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a
physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to
determine the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The Director of
the Standards Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the
commencement of the physical fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due

to neglect on the part of the trainee.
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(9) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school
equivalency credential recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned through correspondence
enrollment are not recognized toward the educational requirements.

(h) The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state
records for the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided
since becoming an adult. An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state
criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement.

(i) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training

Course who has been convicted of the following:

()] a felony;
2 a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years;
?3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the

date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission;

@) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of
conviction;
(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may

be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of enroliment;
(6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the
date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.
(i) Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, but completion of
the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice
officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued.
Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall
notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to,
pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial
official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses
except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While
Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic offense™ is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the
maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or
similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under
the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)

(fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious
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name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S.
20-111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue
lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing
on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of
accident). The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense,
the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the
Domestic Violence Order (G.S. 50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required
under this Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in
court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required
under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; March 1, 2015; January 1,
2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1,
2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985.



STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

Mailing address: Street address:
6714 Mail Service Center 1711 New Hope Church Rd
Raleigh, NC 27699-6700 Raleigh, NC 27609-6285

September 15, 2016

Trevor Allen
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
Sent via electronic mail to TJAllen@ncdoj.gov

Re: Objection to Rule 12 NCAC 09B .0203
Dear Mr. Allen:

At its meeting this morning, the Rules Review Commission objected to the above-
referenced rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.

The Commission objected to the Rule because the agency failed to comply with the
Administrative Procedure Act, as it adopted the Rule before the close of the comment
period.

Please respond to this letter in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12. If you
have any questions regarding the Commission’s actions, please let me know.

L,Bj?uo/\'

,ﬁman J. Reeder
L_/ Commission Counsel

Sincﬁfely,

cc: Charminique Branson, Rulemaking Coordinator

Administration Rules Division Judges and Clerk’s Office Rules Review Civil Rights
919/431-3000 919/431-3000 Assistants 919/431-3000 Comimission Division
fax:919/431-3100 fax: 919/431-3104 919/431-3000 fax: 919/431-3100 919/431-3000 919/431-3036
fax: 919/431-3100 fax: 919/431-3104 fax: 919/431-3103

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer



RRC STAFF OPINION

PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC
STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE
CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER
CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR OWN
COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION.

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0203
RECOMMENDED ACTION:
Approve, but note staff's comment
X Object, based on:
Lack of statutory authority
Unclear or ambiguous
Unnecessary
X Failure to comply with the APA

Extend the period of review

COMMENT:

The Commission published this Rule in the June 1, 2016 Register. A 60-day comment period
would’ve ended on August 1, 2016. However, the Commission filed a Notice of Text stating the
comment period would end August 15, 2016. G.S. 150B-21.2(f) states that an agency must accept
comments for a period of at least 60 days; however, the agency is allowed to lengthen the comment
period. The agency did so here, and submitted notice of a 75-day comment period. As such, the
North Carolina Register, following the notice submitted by the agency, stated the comment period
would end August 15, 2016.

The Commission adopted the Rule at its August 12, 2016 meeting. Therefore, the Rule was
adopted before the close of the comment period set by the Commission and published in the NC
Register. G.S. 150B-21.2(g) states, “An agency shall not adopt a rule until the time for commenting
on the proposed text of the rule has elapsed[.]”

Staff recommends the Commission object to the Rule, as it was not adopted in compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act because it was adopted by the agency prior to the close of the
comment period.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Issued August 28, 2016



REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Criminal Justice Training and Standards Commission
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0203
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, September 9, 2016

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made:

On the Submission for Permanent Rule form, Box 6, you state that the agency adopted the Rule
on August 12, 2016. However, the comment period did not end until August 15, 2016. | am
assuming this is a typographical error, so please submit a revised form with the correct date.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: August 25, 2016
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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is amended as published in Vol. 30, Issue 23, pages. 2440-2442:

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES
(@) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course who is not a citizen of the United States.
(b) The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic
criminal justice training course. Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enroliment
as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the
Director of the Standards Division. The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 years of
age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course.
(c) The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-
time employment with criminal justice agencies.
(d) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor
Training Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under
Rule .0302 of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State
Comprehensive Examination.
(e) The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of
the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course, places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as
a result of taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement
test as approved by the State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014,
(http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the
reading component of a nationally standardized test within one year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement
Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent. For the purposes of this Rule:

1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold, or have held within 12 months

prior to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304.

2 A "nationally standardized test" means a test that:
(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and
(B) compares student test results to a national norm.

(f) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a
physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to
determine the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer. The Director of
the Standards Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the
commencement of the physical fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due

to neglect on the part of the trainee.
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(9) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school
equivalency credential recognized by the issuing state. High school diplomas earned through correspondence
enrollment are not recognized toward the educational requirements.

(h) The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training
Course unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state
records for the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided
since becoming an adult. An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state
criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement.

(i) The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training

Course who has been convicted of the following:

()] a felony;
2 a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years;
?3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the

date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission;

@) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of
conviction;
(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may

be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of enroliment;
(6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the
date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.
(i) Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, but completion of
the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice
officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued.
Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall
notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to,
pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial
official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present. This includes all criminal offenses
except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While
Impaired (DWI). A "minor traffic offense™ is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the
maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer. Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or
similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under
the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5)

(fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious
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name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S.
20-111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue
lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing
on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of
accident). The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense,
the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the
Domestic Violence Order (G.S. 50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof. The notifications required
under this Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in
court. The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic
Law Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required
under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8).

History Note:  Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
Eff. January 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2016; February 1, 2016; November 1, 2015; March 1, 2015; January 1,
2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1,
2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985.
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