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SUBJECT: Administrative Rules Waiver Request

In accordance with N.C.G.S. § 150B-21.1(a2), the North Carolina Child
Care Commission and the North Carolina Division of Child
Development and Early Education hereby request a waiver from the
210 day limitation found in N.C.G.S. § 150B-21.1(al). The waiver
request covers the following temporary rules:

10A NCAC 09.0604, .0608. 0705, .0706,.0707,.0801, .1701,.1702,
.1705,.1719, .1721, .1726,.1730 and .1731

The following sections address the statutory requirements for requesting a waiver.
Degree of Public Benefit

¢ The State of North Carolina receives approximately $191 million annually from
the Child Care Development Fund (CCDF) pursuant to The Child Care Block
Development Grant Act of 1990 (CCDBG). CCDF funds a portion of the
Subsidized Child Care Program, which permits more than 120,000 children from
disadvantaged families to attend quality child care facilities and little or no cost to
parents.

o CCDF monies will also be used to assist the State of North Carolina in promoting
family engagement, better serve homeless families, and ensure that unemployed

~—**Nothing Compares= .
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Notice to and Opposition by the Public

¢ The public was given notice and an opportunity to be heard at a public hearing or
submit written comments. Those comments are attached as Exhibit B hereto.

¢ The public has largely been supportive of the changes required. The North
Carolina Child Care Commission considered the comments and has made changes
to clarify language.

Need for Waiver

e Waiver is necessary in order to ensure that the State of North Carolina receives
' this large and important grant. Without waiver, North Carolina will not be in
compliance with federal directives given in conjunction with the CCDBG Act and
this $191 million a year funding source will be at risk.
» The children of North Carolina, and especially children whose families cannot
afford to send them to quality child care, will be at greater risk without the health,
safety, and training requirements contained in these temporary rules.

Previous Waiver Requests Submitted by the Agency

» DCDEE is unaware of any other past instance in which it requested a waiver
of the 210 day requirement,
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Administration | 1- Log No: CCDF-ACF-PI-2015-09 | 2. Issuance Date: December 17, 2015

for Children | 3. Originating Office: Office of Child Care (OCC)
and Families | 4. Key Words: Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) FY 2016-2018 Plan

Extension, Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act

To:

Subject:

References:

Purpose:

Background:

PROGRAM INSTRUCTION.

State and Territorial Lead Agencies administering the Child Care and Development
Fund (CCDF) program, as amended, and other interested parties.

This Program Instruction (PT) transmits the Final State/Territory Plan Preprint (ACF-
118) forthe Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program for Fiscal Year
2016-2018 tricnnium, and provides guidance for submitting the Plan. This Plan is
required by section 658E of the CCDBG Act.

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act (42 U.S.C. § 9858 et
seq.), as amended by the CCDBG Act of 2014 (Pub. L. 113-186); section 418§ of the
Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. § 618); 45 CFR Parts 98 and 99; 63 FR 39936-39998.

The CCDF Plan Preprint serves as the Lead Agency’s application for CCDF funds
by providing a description of how the program will be administered in accordance
with CCDF rules and regulation to provide high-quality child care services to
eligible families. Plans will be effective from June 1, 2016, through September 30,
2018. The State and Territory deadline for the submission of the Plan was extended
from July 1, 2015, to March 1, 2016; however, the extension did not extend the 3-
year period of the Plan, nor did it change the effective dates for statutory
reauthorization provisions, published in Program Instruction CCDF-ACF-PI-2015-
02, dated January 9, 2015.

The Plan has been revised to incorporate the changes made in the CCDBG Act of
2014 (the Act), which was signed into law by President Obama on November 19,
2014. The Act made expansive changes to protect the health and safety of children
in child care, promote continuity of access to subsidy for low-income families, better
inform parents and the general public about the child care choices available to them,
and improve the overall quality of early learning and afterschool programs.

The Office of Child Care (OCC) will determine compliance with requirements in the
Act through submission and approval of the FY 2016-2018 CCDF Plans, onsite
monitoring visits, audit reviews, and other appropriate means.




Guidance:

Since enactment of the Act, ACF has convened a number of listening sessions with
States and local and national organizations across the country; responded to
questions regarding the Act, including requests for clarification and additional
guidance, and -also received public comments on the Plan Preprint through three
separate Federal Register public comment periods published on January 30, May 27,
and September 24, 2015. Careful consideration was given to all comments and the
final Plan Preprint has been revised to reflect the comments as appropriate.

Lead Agencies’ Responsibilities: Section 658D(b)(1)(A) of the reauthorized
CCDBG Act requires the Lead Agency to “administer, directly or through other State
governmental or non-governmental agencies...” the funds received. The regulations
at 45 CFR 98.11 provide that, in addition to retaining overall responsibility for the
administration of the program, the Lead Agency must also (among other things)
promulgate all rules and regulations of the CCDF program; ensure compliance with
the approved Plan and all Federal requirements; oversee the expenditure of funds by
subgrantees and contractors; and ensure that any local or non-governmental entities
through which the State administers the program operate according to the rules
established for the CCDF.

Plan Submission; States and Territories must submit their FY 2016-2018 Plans to
the Administration for Children and Families (ACK) by the March 1, 2016, deadline.
The State and Territory CCDF Plan Preprint (ACF-118) is included as Attachment A
for reference purposes only. Lead Agencies will continue to use the online
submission tool via the web to submit the Plan to ACF. While this Program
Instruction provides brief guidance and clarification in a few areas, the electronic
submission (“‘e-submission”) process has allowed ACF to embed more guidance and
definitions directly into the Plan Preprint document and in the e-submission site.

Lead Agencies should consult Program Instruction CCDF-ACFE-PI-2015-04, dated
April 10, 2015, for specific requirements related to the Market Rate Survey or
Alternative Methodology; Public Hearing; and the new statutory consultation and
coordination requirements.

Effective Dates: The Act specifies particular dates when certain provisions are
effective. Below are provisions where specific effective dates are specified:
¢ Monitoring requirements, including requirements for annual inspections of
CCDF providers (under section 658E(c)(2)(K) of the Act) must be in place
by November 19, 2016. All child care providers eligible to provide CCDF
services as of November 19, 2016, must receive their annual inspection no
later than November 19, 2017 (and at least annually thereafter).
e Requirements for posting results of monitoring and inspection reports must
be in place, and the results must actually be posted, no later than November
19, 2017, or one year after monitoring requirements are in place, whichever
is earlier.
e Criminal background check requirements (658H) must be in place and
implemented by September 30, 2017. The Act specifies that all new and
existing child care staff must receive background checks by this date.
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Where the Act does not specify a date, the new requirements became cffective upon
the date of enactment and States/Territories have until September 30, 2016, to
implement the new statutory requirement(s). For example:

» States and Territories must have eligibility requirements in place consistent

~with the Act, including minimum 12-month eligibility, that apply to all new
eligibility determinations and re-determinations occurring after this date.

s States and Territories must have health and safety training requirements
(658(c)(2)(T)) and training and professional development requirements
(658(c)(2)(@)) in place by September 30, 2016. This means that all new
and existing caregivers and teachers must meet these training requirements
by this date. '

Implementation Plans and Plan Amendments: ACF has determined when a State
or Territory cannot certify compliance with a specific requirement at the time of
CCDF plan submission (March 1, 2016), the Lead Agency must provide a specific
implementation plan for achieving compliance with the provision of the Act. Ifa
State or Territory is not going to be in compliance with one or more provisions by
the deadline required in the Act, then the State/Territory must request a temporary
extension/waiver as well as complete an implementation plan (see guidance below .
for temporary extension/waiver requests).

The implementation plan must provide sufficient information to support approval of
the Plan for funding and include the following as outlined in the State/Territory Plan:
e overall target completion date (no later than the appropriate effective date
deadline);

e current status for any requirement;

s specific steps (activities) that will be taken to complete the implementation of
the unmet requirement;

o timeline for implementation, including start date and end date; and

e agency and partners responsible for completing implementation of the
activities.

ACF will work with States and Territories to monitor progress towards achievement
of the new requirements and will conduct ongoing reviews of implementation of
plans until fulfillment of the requirement. Once the requirement(s) has been met, the
Lead Agency must submit a Plan amendment to ACF for approval through the e-
submission site. Lead Agencies are reminded that any “substantial” change to their
approved Plan requires ACF approval via a Plan amendment. Plan amendments
must be submitted to ACF for approval within 60 days of the effective date.

e Written Extension/Waiver Request: The Act requires that State and
Territories submit waiver requests to ACF in writing. The written request
will:

o detail each sanction or provision that the State seeks relief from;



o describe how a waiver from that sanction or provision will, by itself,
improve the delivery of child care services for children in the
State/Territory;

o certify that the health, safety, and well-being of children served
through assistance received through CCDF will not be compromised
as a result of the waiver; and

o describe one or more conflicting or duplicative requirement(s)
preventing the effective delivery of child care services to justify the
waiver; extraordinary circumstances, such as a natural disaster or
financial crisis; or an extended period of time for a State legislature to
enact legislation to implement the provision of the Act.

Failure to include the required information could result in the disapproval of
the request. Waiver requests to ACF must be submitted by the designated

" official authorized to act on behalf of the Lead Agency. ACF must respond
to the State/Territory within 90 days after the receipt of the request.

Consideration for Extension/Waiver Approval: Scction 6581(c) of the
reauthorized CCDBG Act allows ACF to waive provisions or penalties up to
3 years (with an option of a 1-year extension) under certain limited
circumstances. The Act only allows for temporary extensions to give States
additional time to come into compliance with Federal CCDF requirements.
The Act does not give authority for permanent waivers. The consideration
for approval will be based on whether:
o such circumstances included in the request prevent the State/Territory
from complying with any statutory requirements;
o the waiver will, by itself, contribute to or enhance the State’s ability
to carry out the purposes of CCDF; and '
o the waiver will not contribute to inconsistency with the objectives of
the Act. ' ' '

‘Timeline for Submission of Extension/Waiver: Waiver requests should be
addressed to the Director, Office of Child Care, Administration for Children
and Families, and uploaded electronically through the ACF-118 electronic
submission site. All requests should include a copy to the respective OCC
Regional Program Manager. Waiver requests for requirements that must be
met in calendar year 2016 must be included as part of the Plan review and
approval process and therefore must be submitted by March 1, 2016. Waiver
requests for requirements due in 2017 may be submitted at a later date, but no
later than 90 days before the effective date of the requirement. However,
States and Territories must still submit complete implementation plans in the
Preprint for any requirements due in 2017. The timelines and activities in the
implementation plans for the later date requirements should reflect as much
accuracy as possible based on the availability or knowledge of information at
the time of submission.



Technical -
Assistance:

Questions:

Attachment:

- ACF will continue to provide technical assistance through various approaches

at the national level and through the ACF Regional Offices to support States
and Territories in meeting and implementing the requirements of the Act.
ACF will engage the technical assistance centers and specialists to support
the ongoing delivery of technical assistance to meet specific needs and
requests. ACF has compiled resources on reauthorization topics and cross-
walked those topics with major CCDF Plan sections. The collection of
resources can be found at https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/cedf-reauthorization.
As additional resources are developed, they will be added to the site and will
be flagged as new. Also, Better Kid Care, administered by Pennsylvania
State University, offers on-line training courses, including topics for training
required or recommended by the Act. These training courses are located at
http://extension.psu.edu/vouth/betterkidcare/early-care/cedbg.

Please direct inquiries to the Child Care Program Manager in the appropfiate
ACF Regional Office or e-mail inquiries to

cedf.reauthorization@acf hhs.gov.
FY 2016 — 2018 Plan Preprint

- Program Instruction (Key Statutory Required Implementation Dates) CCDEF-

ACF-PI-2015-02

Rachel Schumacher
Director
Office of Child Care



Comments Received for CCDBG Temporary Rules

The NC Child Care Commission propesed temporary rules to meet the requirements of the Child Care
and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014. These requirements are needed in order to
maintain federal funding for families with children in chiid care.

Rules: 10A NCAC 09 .0604, .0808, .0703-,0707, .0801, .1701, .1702, .1705, .1719,
1721, .1726, 1730, and-. 1731 -

Public Hearing Heid: August 9, 2018
Comment Period: August 2 - August 25, 2016

August 29, 2016



Alston, Dedra

From:
Sent:
To:
Subject:

Ms Alston,

‘Amancda Lambert <Amanda Lambert@transylvaniacounty.org>

Monday, August 15, 2016 9:39 AM
Alston, Dedra.
DCDEE rule changes

I'am writing this in support of leaving all the training rules they way that they are. As a CCHC, | find that mariy
times the online trainings are not comprehended as well as face to face. My concern with doing medication
administration, Emergency Preparedness,.etc online is that there is no one to make sure learning
competencies are met and check return demonstrations. This is a safety concern for our children, | urge you to
please leave all trainings as they currently are and not use online training at this time.

Amanda Lambert, RN
Transylvania Co CCHC



‘Alston, Dedra
L~ T . o

From: Kim Ward <kim@pfclg.com>

Sent: Monday. August 15, 2016 3:18 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: New Rule Proposals Regarding Online Training for Child Care Providers

Dear Ms. Alston,
| am a former child care provider and now a Technical Assistant with the

Lincoln/Gaston County Partnership for Children. 1 am writing you to voice my concern over the
proposed changes and inclusion of online training for child care providers.

While | do believe that online training has merit and can be convenient and
valuable. |am also aware that sometimes convenience comes with a price. | don't want the children
of North Carolina to pay that price.

Trainings for child care providers were put in place for a reason. One of those
reasons being our workforce caring for children will gain knowledge and enhanced skills to care for
and educate our future citizens. Online trainings take sel-discipline and | see the potential for some
caregivers not fully engaged with the subject matter, thus not leaming important skills needed for the
care of young children.

Below are specific bullet points regarding but not limited to all of the trainings
offered to providers. Please consider allowing continued face to face training with skilled

professionals. :

Thank You,

Kimberly Ward
Technical Assistant
Lincoin/Gaston Counties
704-922-0900

Bullet Points to consider:
Referring to training: .0708 (Centers) .1731 (Homes) Health and Safety Training Requirements

1. Addressing the proposal to have a 2 hour, online medication administration training:

§ Anyone who administers medication to a child in the child care setting should be required to
take an in-person medication administration training with a skills based sign-off to show proficiency.

§ The in-person training should involve a trained health professional, preferably a Child Care
Health Consultant, who can observe the individual's medication administration skills.

§ At least one person who has received this additional training should be on-site at the child care
alf times.

§ A two hour, online training is not sufficient to safely and adequately administer either basic or
emergency medication to a child, nor will it get in-person feedback on medication administration skills.
2. General comments based on maving the trainings online:

§ Any training should include North Carolina specific rules and address the actual violations
occurring in North Carolina Child Care facilities.

§ It an Early Childhood Educator has already taken a comparable training through from a field
based training provider, college class, or other source that an equivalency will be accepted so they
don’t have to do repeat training. ‘
§ We ask that DCDEE collaborate with the Child Care Health Consuitant network so CCHCs, can
support and facilitate whenever possible, these online trainings and he knowledgeable to answer

content-specific questions in the field.

10 | ! 4



Alston, Dedra .

From: Booth-Mills, Megan <MBooth@vidantheaith.com>
Sent: Monday, August 15, 2016 4:53 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: Mandatory online training for early childhood educators
Hi Ms. Alston,

| hope this email finds you well! | serve on the Chowan Leadership Team for early childhood education and [ heard about .
the DCDEE recommendation that ail early childhood educators be required to complete certain state-mandated
trainings using online modules. Online modules have many benefi ts, including being less expensive, user driven and easy

to track and verify.

I think this would be a great step forward for some health and safety modules, but perhaps not all health and safety
content is appropriately taught in this fashion. For example, identifying physical and building hazards might be a good
module topic, but something like medication administration would be better taught through face-to-face contact.

Additionally, I live in eastern North Carolina in Chowan County. Outside town limits, internet access is spotty as we do
not have broadband available everywhere. This makes it difficult to complete tasks as simple as online shopping, much
less reading a module then being tested on the content. | worry that requiring online modules will place a significant

burden on early childhood educators in Chowan County.

| urge the rulemaking committee to take these items into consideration before making a final ruling on this
racommendation. Thank you for your time!

Megan S. Booth-Mills, FACHE
Office: 252-482-1779
Cell: 252-339-6350

------------ The contents of this e-mail (and any attachments} are confidential, may be privileged and may

contain copyright material. You may only reproduce or distribute material if you are expressly authorized by us
to do s0. If you are not the intended recipient, any use, disclosure or copying of this email (and any attachments)
is unauthorized. If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender and immediately delete this e-

mail and any copies of it from your system. ===




Alston, Dedra

From: Julie Privatt <jdprivott@ecps.kl2.nc.us>
Sent; Monday, August 15, 2016 9:07 PM

To: Alston, Dedra '
Subject: online training

. 1 am a teacher at White Oak Elementary in Edenton. I have read that online trainings will be the only method to

receive some of the mandatory trainings. In our area this is a real problem. My own assistant does not have

- internet at home and their is really not time for her to take an online class or training while at work, Not sure the

best solution to this issue but wanted to make sure you and others were aware of the problems this creates for
rural areas.

Thanks,
Julie Privott

Julie Privott
PreK teacher
White Oak Elementary

12 | 1 | 4



Alston, Dedra ' :

From: Amy.Petersen@wakegov.com

Sent: . Wednesday, August 17, 2016 2:45 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject; - Proposed rule changes re: 0706 (Centers) 1731 (Homes) Health and Safety Training

Requirements

Hello Ms. Alston,

| am writing to you in regards to the proposed rules changes re: .0706 (Centers) .1731 (Homes}) Health and Safety
Training Requirements, :

Aé a Nurse and Child Care Health Consultant working in Wake County, | have the opportunity to work with child care
providers on a daily basis in the child care settings, whether it be homes or centers. As a health and safety resource |
provide training and technical assistance to the child care providers, as well as working with families of children with

chronic illnesses.

I believe that offering the medication training online presents a safety concern. Wake County Public School nurses are
required to give in person trainings to staff members who will be administering medications in pubiic schools. Why would

this not be the standard for our youngest students?

{ am writing to ask the DCDEE and the Child Care Commission to please consider the following points as they make the
final decision about these very important rules.

*Anyone who administers medication to a child in the child care setting should be required to take an in-person

medication administration training with a skills based sign-off to show proficiency. -
**The in-person training should involve a licensed heaith professional, preferably a Child Care Health Consultant, ifoneis
avallable in their county, or a nurse from a local health depariment. This will allow the trainer to observe the individual's

medication administration skills.
**At |east one person who has received this additional training should be on-sile at the child care all imes.

it is my belief that a two hdur, online training Is not sufficient to safely and adequately administer either basic or
emergency medication to a child, nor will it give the In-person feedback on medication administration skills. We want to
ensure that when asking chiid care providers to administer medications to young children that they are adequately and

propetly trained to ensure that every child is safe. One mistake is too many.
Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Amy Petersen, RN, BSN =
Child Care Health Consuftant
919-795-2234

amy.petersen@wakegov.com

E-mail carrespondence to and from this address is subject to the North Carolina Public Records Act and may be disclosed
to third parties uniess made confidential under applicable law. :
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Each Child. Every Community.

August 23, 2016

NC Child Care Commission
2201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2200

Dear Child Care Commission,

The North Carolina Partnership for Children {(NCPC) supports North Carolina’s proposed
Health and Safety Training Requirement rules drafted in response to CCDBG legislation
requiring states to establish educationat, health, and safety standards in 10 specific areas for
child care providers that receive CCOF funding. -

As CCDBG gives states discretion to determine the specific number of pre-service and
ongoing training hours child care providers must complete, NCPC would encourage the NC
Child Care Commission and the Division to consider implementing these trainings in a way
that supports not only increase in knowledge, but development of skills that support best
practice in protecting the health and safety of children in child care.

We understand the Division is considering offering the following trainings to providers in an
on-line format: .

Prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from

hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and

vehicular traffic; -

5. Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a
natural disaster, or a man caused event;

6. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio
contaminants:

7. Precautions in transporting children if applicable;

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head frauma;

9. CPR and First Aid training as required in Subparagraphs 0705(b) and (d) of this
Section; and _ '

10. Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment

sl

Aside from ensuring on-line training is cost effective and the technology accessible for ail
providers, we would recommend consideration be given to;

= Any training should include North Carolina specific rules and address comman
violations occurring in North Carolina Child Care facilities,

« As making an error when administering medication has the potential for harm to a
child, we would recommend the on-line Medication Administration is cornbined with
on-site training and technical assistance to assess staff understanding and skill
proficiency. '

The Narth Carotina Partnership for Children
1100 Wake Forest Road, Raleigh, NC 27604 - info@smartstart.org - 919.821.7999 - fax: $12.821.8050

& wwn.smartserrorg  g@/smantstart FPdncsmarrstars By rnesmartacant
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+ The Medication Administration on-site training and technical assistance should
involve a licensed health professional, when availabie, a Child Care Health
Consultant, to observe the individual’s medication administration skilis.

* We ask that DCDEE collaborate with the NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource
Center to assure technical assistance providers providing health and safety related
consultation can support and facllitate these online trainings and be knowledgeable
o answer content-specific questions in the field.

Caring for Qur Children (published by APHA/AAP/National Resource Center for Health and
Safety in Child Care and Early Education), the American Academy of Pediatrics, and Head
Start all require a similar requirement to their medication administration trainings:

¢ Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards
3.6.3.3: "Any caregiver/teacher who administers medication should complete a
standardized training course that includes skill and competency assessment in
medication administration. The trainer in medication administration should be a licensed
health professional. At a minimum, skill in competency shouid be monitored annually or
whenever medication administration error accurs.”

* America Academy of Pediatrics: Medication Administration In Child Care Observation

Checklist available at www.ecels—healthychildcarepa.org[tggls{chgg]gf';sts[Itgm[483-

medication-administration-observatjon-checklist ?highlight=WyJaGVia2xpc ==
* Head Start Program Performance Standards 1304.22(c):

(2} a trained staff member(s) or schoal hurse to administer, handle and store child

medications;

(6) Ensure that appropriate staff members can demonstrate proper techniques for

administering, handling, and storing medication, including the use of any necessary

equipment to administer medication

&
AL/

Cindy Watkins, President, The North Carolina Partnership for Children, Inc.

Sincerely,

2of2




Alston, Dedra .
m

'

From: Cindy Evans <cindy.evans@arhs-nc.org>
Sent: Monday, August 22, 2016 9:14 AM

To: ' Alston, Dedra

Ce: . Cindy Evans

Subject: Child Care Commission Proposed Rule
Debra,

The proposal to make early educators’ pre-service/orientation trainings ONLINE could create hardships and
barriers for child care agencies/individuals affected.

internet connection and service in rural northeastern North Carolina is not consistently dependable and
service providers are limited. If one does have internet, it might not support or accommodate the training
program, (downloads, uploads, etc.) with acceptable response time.

Also, consider the increased expense to facility overhead if internet capability is added or service updated, if
that is even possible.

In-person trainings keep the human connection viable. We have the innate need to connect with other people
beyond technology. In-person trainings provide opportunities for relationships to be established, networking
between peers and professionals, and opens/maintains lines of communication between child care providers
and state agencies.

Has anyone given childcare providers an opportunity to provide their insight as to pros and cons of online _
trainings before making a proposed rule? They are the ones who wiil be most affected. :

Who would benefit the most from online trainings? What might be cost effective for one could be a financial
hardship for another. Technology {online} might improve the efficiency of data collection and reporting for
one but might increase anxiety, frustration, and confusion for the other.

Why not give training options: in-person or online?

What effects the child care providers effects families.

Thank you for the opportunity to submit my concerns regarding the proposed rule.

Cindy

Cindy Evans, MAEd Science

Tripie P Speciallst

Albemarle Regional Health Services
Bertia County Health Department
102 Rhodes Ave,

Windsor, NC 27983

‘Office: 252-794-6225

Cell: 252-506-3609

Fax: 252-794-5321
cindy.evans@arhs-nc.org
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The Chowan/Perquimans Smart Start Partnership
409 Old Hertford Rd., Edenton, NC 27932
ph. 252-482-3035 website: www.cp-smartstart.org
email: snixon. cpssp@gmail.cotn

To:  Dedra Alston, Rulemaking Coordinator, NC Division of Child Development and Early
Education

Dedra. Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

From: Susan Nixon, Executive Director
Date: August 22, 2016
Re:  Proposed Changes to Child Care Rules in NC

The proposal to make early educators’ pre-service/orientation trainings online could create
hardships and barriers for child care agencies/individuals affected.

Internet connection and service in rural northeastern North Carolina is not consistently
dependable and service providers are limited. If one does have internet, it might not support or
accommodate the training program, (downloads, uploads, etc.) with acceptable response time.

Also, consider the increased expense to facility overhead if internet capability is added or service
updated, if that is even possible.

In-person trainings keep the human connection viable. We have the innate need to connect with
other people beyond technology. In-person trainings provide opportunities for relationships to
be established, networking between peers and professionals, and opens/maintains lines of
communication between child care providers and state agencies.

Please consider who will benefit the most from online trainings? What might be cost effective
for one could be a financial hardship for another. Offering online training only, may increase
anxiety, frustration, and confusion for some providers, especially those who are not computer

savvy.
Please consider giving individual agencies the option of providing training in-person. Perhaps

you could consider offering child care providers the option of completing training online, or in-
person.



Alston, Dedra “ : -

From: Juliana Whitaker <jwhitaker@lincolncounty.org>
Sent: Wednesday, August 24, 2016 1:34 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: Proposed Child Care Rules

Hi,

| have worked with child cares for the past 6 years as a Child Care Health Consultant, From my
- experiences working with child care providers, | believe that the proposed rule changes referring to
- online health and safety trainings be reconsidered. In person trainings with interaction and on the
spot feedback works best for health and safety topics. Online frainings are often done while
multitasking, or in pieces, health and safety is too important for this, and providers need to be 100%

focused on these topics.
Referring to training: .0706 (Centers) .1731 (Homes} Health and Safety Training Requirements

1. Addressing the proposal to have a 2 hour, online medication administration training:

§ Anyone who administers medication to a child in the child care setting should be required to
take an in-person medication administration training with a skills based sign-off to show proficiency.
§ The in-person training should involve a health professional, preferably a Child Care Health
Consultant, to observe the individual's medication administration skills.
§ At least one person who has received this additional training should be on-site at the child care
all times.

. § A two hour, online training is not sufficient to safely and adequately administer either basic or
emergency medication to a child, nor will it get in-person feedback on medication administration skills.

2. General comments based on moving the trainings online:

8§ Any training should inciude North Carolina specific rules and address the actual violations
occurring in North Carolina Child Care facilities.

§ If an Early Childhood Educator has already taken a comparable training through from a field
based training provider, college class, or other source that an equivalency will be accepted so they

don't have to do repeat training. \

§ We ask that DCDEE collaborate with the Child Care Health Consultant network so CCHCs, can
support and facilitate whenever possible, these anline trainings and be knowledgeable to answer
content-specific questions in the field.

Thank you for your consideration on this.

Juliana Whitaker

Child Care Health Consultant

Safe Kids Lincoln County Coordinator
Lincoln County Health Department
151 Sigmon Road

Lincolnton, NC 28092

Office (704) 732-3952
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‘ Alston, Dedra _ '

From: Sarah Williams. <swilliams@smartstart.org>

Sent: Wednesday, August 24, 2016 3.57 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: Child Care Commission Proposed Changes to Child Care Provider Training
Dedfa,

[ am writing to you to express concern of the proposed ONLINE-only trainings for child care providers.

Chowan County is one of many rural, economically stressed counties that this proposal would create immense barriers
for our child care providers. Internet connection and service in rural northeastern NC is not consistently dependable and
our choice of providers is extremely limited. At my home, | am only able to have internet through satellite and the
speed is not up-to-par for loading videos or even sometimes trying to send emalls {it can take up to 10 minutes to send a
‘reply}. Therefore, training madules may not be able to down- or up-loaded and may incur many glitches that result in
freezing and the loss of work done. It can be very frustrating to try to use the internet uniess within the town limits of
the county seat of Edenton. Some of the child care providers may not own internet-connected computers due to the
high cost of internet service and problems with that service. '

If trainings were to be delivered ONLINE only, the barriers to meet those training requirements might cause facilities to
" lose their licensing through inability to be able to comply.

With the work that ! have been doing in Chowan County and the ABLe Change framewaork, we are strong believers in
surveying the population that we are providing services to. That being said, have the child care providers been asked
their thoughts of making the trainings ONLINE only, as they are the ones who will have to comply with these changes?

In the rural Tier 1 counties, what affects the service agencies affects the families much harder as we have so few -
resources available to us.

Please reconsider this proposal for the sake of our child care providers and the chiidren and families that they serve.

Thank you,

Sarah C. Williams
Chowan County Implementation Coach
252, 482.3035

smart start

Fexeh T sy Covmtermicy,

Chowan/Perquimans Smart Start Partmership
409 Old Hertford Road, Edenton, NC 27932

smartstart.org | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Save the Dates May 1-4, The 2017 National Smart Start Conference
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«+ .| North Carolina Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center
* 1928 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1928

; Tel. 1-800-367-2229 Fax 919-870-4880
www.healthychildcarenc.org

The

Healthy
Chikd Care
North Carolina 8/25/2016
MEMOQ
TO: The North Carolina Child Care Commission
FRCM: Tamar Ringel-Kulka, MD, MPH, Director, NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center
: Assistant Professor, Maternal and Child Health ,
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health, UNC Chapel Hill
Jacqueline Simmons, MsPH, Coordinator, NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center
Sharon Brown, PhD}, MPH, MN, CCHC, Eastern CCHC Regional Coach
Mary Cleary, MPH, Training Specialist '
Jeannie Reardon, MPH, CCHC, CCHC Course instructor
Rhonda Rambeaut, RN, CCHC, Central CCHC Regional Coach
Theresa Stenersen, BSN, RN, CCHC, Western CCHC Regional Coach
SUBJECT: Proposed Temporary Rulemaking by the Child Care Commission

NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center, a project of the Department of Maternal and Child Health, UNC

Gillings School of Global Public Health, has worked collaboratively with the Division of Child Development and Early
Education for more than twenty years to promote safe and healthy environments for children in child care settings.

The
Con
imp

NC Resource Center provides health and safety trainings te a network of more than 55 Child Care Health
sultants (CCHCs) across North Carolina. In addition to training, the Resource Center works with CCHCs to teach and
lement best practices in health and safety, to provide technical assistance and support to facilities so they

consistently meet regulatory requirements, and to conduct one-on-one coaching to achieve positive behavior change

and

assure that facilities are effectively addressing the unigue needs of each child served.

In response to the proposed changes to rules 0706 and .1731 Health and Safety Training Requirements, the NC
Resource Center recommends that: '

Trainings address and inciude reference ta North Carolina specific rules and regulations.
New trainings include a plan for evaluation to determine fidelity, reliability, behavior change, and overall impact.
An equivalency be accepted in fleu of additional, redundant training if an Early Childhood Educator has already taken
a comparable training from a field-based training provider, college class, or other source.
Providing technical assistance or aternative learning opportunities to anyene not technologically proficient, has not
conducted online trainings befare, has a communication disability (such as low vision}, or has a language barrier that
would prevent them from accessing these online trainings.
Medication Administration training be conducted with in-person, hands-en practice opportunities, feedback, and
competency assessment included in the course design.

o At least ane person who has received the in-persen training be required to be on-site at a facility during all

hours of aperation.

The NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center, 3 service of the Department of Maternal and Chitd Health, UNC Gillings Schooal of Global Public Health

Funded by the NC Divisians of Public Health and Child Development and Early Education and by the NC Farinership for Children, Inc.
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o For administration of any medication not covered in the medication training, require a health consultant or
other health professional to provide and dacument additional training and ongoing supervision.
o Trainings incorporate and respond to reported medication administration violations in North Carolina.

The Resource Center believes that certain information regarding administering medication can be sufficiently attained
through standardized, online training (such as understanding expiration dates, or how to properly store a medicine),
however, there are companents to medication administration that require a skills-based, hands-on training under the
supervision and teaching of a licensed health professional, preferably a Child Care Health Consultant. A trainee’s
medication administration competency must be observed to ensure that all steps have been adequately mastered.
Participants also need to be able to ask questions and receive answers and feedhack on the steps involved in safe

administration of medication.

The NC Resource Center currently offers an in-person training, Medication Administration in Child Care Train-the-
Trainer. This five hour course includes opportunities to learn core principles involved in administering medication in
early care and education settings and also features hands-an practice, observation, and feedback, CCHCs train child care
providers, insuring that each participant has mastered the knowledge and skills necessary for accurate and safe
administration of medication to children. The curriculum was developed by a team of doctors, researchers, and
registered nurses with early childhood background and expertise in adult education principles. It was produced by the
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill with support from the NC Division of Child Development and Early Education
in 2006 and updated in 2014. The course prepares early childhood educators how ta:

s |dentify, measure, store and dispose of medication

s Practice administering medication

» Design a system for ensuring correct medication administration

¢ Develop a medication administration policy

» Develop teams of early educators/directors, health care professionals, and parent/guardians to ensure the safe

administration of medication to children in early care and education settings

We belleve that the hands-on, skills-based components of this training are critical to the safe administration of
medication in Child Care,

Caring for Our Children (published by APHA/AAP/National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early
Education), the American Academy of Pediatrics, and Head Start all require a similar requirement to their medication
administration trainings:

#  Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards 3.6.3.3: “Any caregiver/teacher who
administers medication should complete a standardized training course that includes skill and competency
assessment in medication administration. The trainer in medication administration shouid be a licensed health
professional. At a minimum, skill in competency should be monitored annually or whenever medication
administration error occurs.” .

*  America Academy of Pediatrics: Medication Administration in Child Care Observation Checkdist available
at www.ecels-healthychildcarepa.org/tools/checklists/item/483-medication-administration-observation-
checkiist?highlight=WyJljaGVija2xpc3QiXQ==

+ Head Start Program Performance Standards 1304.22(c):

(2) a trained staff member(s) or school nurse to administer, handle and store child medications;
(6) Ensure that appropriate staff members can demonstrate proper technigues for administering, handling, and
storing medication, including the use of any necessary equipment to administer medication.

Alsc included in this email are specific recommendations based on the language of the rules.

Attachiment

The NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center, a service of the Department of Maternal and Child Health, UNC Glllings Schiool of Glohal Public Health
Funded by the NC Divisions of Public Health and Child Development and Early Education and by the NC Partnership for Chifdren, Inc.
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Recommendations to the North Carolina Child Care Commission on Proposed
Temporary Rulemaking by the NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center

.0604 Safety Requirements
(o) After “Balloons”, we recommend stating “inciuding both Latex and Mylar” (if that is the intent).

(p) We recommend clarification as to whether the “written plan to ensure a safe and immediate
evacuation of the crib or other device” is to be included as part of the Emergency Preparedness and
Response Plan or as a separate document in addition to the EPR Plan.

{t) we recommend clarifying why the language is duplicated from .1003 (b) Safe Procedures,
transportation section. (Or has it been moved from the other location?)

{u) We recommend the term “bio-contaminant” be defined.

This comment also applies to the Family Child Care Home rule .1719 {a)(3)
NOTE: Refer to the following article from California on Standard Precautions, spec:ﬂcally the
section on “proper disposal of materials.”
hitp://cchp.ucsf.edu/sites/cchp.ucsf.edu/files/standardprecen020305_adr.pdf

0608 Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma
General comment: We recommend development of sample policy and technical assistance to support

implementation of these new rules.

0705 Special Training Requiremehts
(a) After “Recognize common symptoms of iliness,” we recommend adding “and injury”.

.0706 Health and Safety Training Requirements
(b)(2) We recommend that any staff member that administers medication (other than over-the-counter,

topical ointments, topical teething gel, insect repellents, lotions, creams, and powders such as sunscreen
or baby lotion) take a mandatory, skills-based, hands-on medication administration training to
accompany online learning. This training should involve a licensed health professional, preferably a Child
Care Health Consultant, to observe the individual’s medication administration skills.

We recommend including a provision stating at least one person who has received this additional
training should be on-site at a facility during all hours of operation.

These comments also apply to the Family Child Care Home rule .1731,

Family Child Care Homes
.1701 General provisions related to licensure of homes

() After “Unlimited access to the home during its operating hours,” we recommend adding the language
“except during a lockdown”,

.1705 Health and Training Requirements for Family Child Care Home Operators

The NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center, a service of the Department of Maternal and Child Health, UNC Gilfings School of Global Public Health
Funded by the NC Divisions of Public Health and Child Develapment and Early Education and by the NC Partnership for Children, Inc.
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(a)(3){4) We recommend aligning the wording for First Aid and CPR and courses in this section with
wording for Child Care Centers in .0705 (b).

{a){5) We recommend that this list be aligned with Child Care Center orientation and include orientation
on storage of hazardous materials and appropriate disposal of bio contaminants.

.1719 Requirements for a Safe indaor/Outdoor Environment

(7) We recommend aligning with wording in Child Care Center section on elecirical outlets .0604(c)
“When not in use, electrical outlets and power strips located in space used by the children shall
have approved safety outlets or be covered with safety plugs unless located behind furniture or
equipment that cannot be moved by a child.”

.1726 Prevention of Shaken Baby Syndrome and Abusive Head Trauma
General comment: We recommend development of sample policy and technical assistance to support

implementation of these new rules.

.1731 Additional Health and Safety Training Requirements
See .0706 Health and Safety Training Requirements

Additional comments:
We recommend that emergency medication storage in Family Child Care Homes align with requirements

for Child Care Centers to read “Designated emergency medications must be stored out of reach of
children, but are not required to be in locked storage” (.2820(d) Storage}. Currently, .1720(a}(3) states
that “to assure the safety of children in care, the operator shail keep all medicines in locked storage.”

The NC Child Care Health and Safety Resource Center, a service of the Dertment of Maternal and Child Health, UNC Gillings School of Glabal Pthh
Funded by the NC Divisions of Pubdic Health and Child Development and Early Education and by the NC Partnership for Children, Inc.
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KmderCo re,

CATIO

August 25, 2016

Ms. Dedra Alston, Rulemaking Coordinator

NC Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Child Development and Early Education
Submitted via email to: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

KinderCare Education has been serving children and families far over 40 years, and is best known for its
KinderCare Learning Centers. In addition to KinderCare, we also provide high-quality education and care
through Children’s Creative Learning Centers (CCLC), our employer-sponsored child develapment
centers, and through Champions, our programs for before, after-school, and summer learning. We offer
early childhood education and care through approximately 1,500 community-based centers and
employer partnerships, and before- and after-school academic enrichment programs and summer
camps through more than 400 sites nationwide. Our goal is that 100 percent of our eligible centers be
nationally accredited, and we have achieved this recognition at over 1300 of our centers, more than any
other provider in the United States. We also actively participate in and support state Quality Rating and
Improvement Systems (QRIS).

We are honored each day to provide high-quality education and care to over 150,000 children across the

United States, including more than 3,700 here in North Carolina, through our KinderCare, Knowledge
Beginnings, and Grove School programs. Qur children range in age from six weeks to 12 years of age. We
are committed to serving all children regardless of background and financial circumstance, and we are
proud of the diverse group of children we currently serve, Approximately 50 percent of our children in
North Carolina are from low-Income working families who receive assistance under the Child Care and
Development Block Grant {CCDBG), and each year in North Carolina we serve approximately 785,000
meals through the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP).

KinderCare Education strongly supported the reautherization of the Child Care and Development Block
Grant (CCDBG) Act in 2014; we were pleased to work with North Carolina in the development of their
Child Care Development Fund {CCDF) plan for 2016-2018. We continue to offer our support and input as
the state moves forward with legislation, regulations, and rules for the implementation of CCDBG.

KinderCare Education offers the following comments for 10A NCAC 09.1701 temporary ruies:
10A NCAC 09.0705 (b} & (d)
KinderCare Education supports the requirement for all staff (in direct contact with children) to obtain

First Aid and CPR. KinderCare Education employs nearly 450 staff in the state of North Carolina; the
state must review the capacity of training resources to ensure adequate opportunities for timely

o



compliance and extend the timeline if accessible and affordable opportunities to receive the training are
not available in all counties.

10A NCAC09.0705 (f)
KinderCare Education supports the requirement for child care providers scheduled to work in the infant

room to complete ITS-SIDS training. We support the inclusion of this topic as part of the hours needed to
meet ongoing training requirerments. We urge the state to review the capacity of training resources to
ensure adequate opportunities for timely compliance, including accessible and affordable opportunities
to receive the training in all counties. Current training resources are inadequate; we would support any
Department funding request to provide diversity in location, an increase In number of trainings offered,
and options for training at no cost to providers.

10A NCAC 09.0705 (g)

KinderCare Education supports the requirement for the completion of training regarding child abuse.
We strongly recommend the state clarify if the Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child
Mualtreatment is a specific, new training or a renamed, replacement training for current regulations. We
recommend the Department continue to accept aliernate training on this topic and include this
information on the Training Verification Form used by DCDEE child care consultants {child care licensing)

to determine compliance.

KinderCare Education is proud to provide high-quality care in North Carolina and appreciates the
apportunity to submit comments on the proposed temporary rules. We are encouraged by the
Department’s commitment to ensuring all children have access to affordable, high-guality child care. If
we can be of further assistance in the development or implementation of final rules, please do not
hesitate to contact us.

Thank you,

September Jones

Government Relations Manager
KinderCare Education, LLC
sejones@kc-education.com / 703-859-2618
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Alston, Dedra

From: Michael Rhodes <murhodes@outlook.coms>

Sent: Thursday, August 25, 2016 10:21 AM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject; Proposed Temporary Rule Chapter 09 Child Care Rules

Hello Ms. Alston,

I would like to applaud the North Carolina Child Care Commission for taking steps to up date the Child Care

" Rules in North Carolina. After reviewing the Proposed Temporary Rules, Section 0600 Safety Requirements for
Child Care Centers [ felt it appropriate to recommend wording be added to include rules requiring Tobacco
elimination from Child Care Facilities. I have included proposed wordmg below as well as some evidence based
information on tobacco produects..

Thank you for taking these comments and forwarding them to the Rules Commitiee.

Michael U. Rhodes, Director
. Greene County Health Department

The proposed rule needs to include all tobacco products and the policy language should be evidenced-based and
clearer for Child Care Centers. Further, it’s critical for the rule to also include evidence-based tobacco- ﬂee
policy language for all Family Child Care Home Operators.

o All childcare providers in centers and in home settings are responsible for the safety, health and wellbeing of
children.

»  Protecting the children under their care from secondhand smoke, thirdhand smoke, nicotine poisoning is part of
this responsibility.

» Healthy positive adult role modeling is important for young children.

Dangers of Tobacco Use
o Tobacco use is a major cause of preventable disease and death in N.C. and the nation.
» Smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke have been found to cause heart disease, cancer, asthma, bronchitis,

- and other respiratory problems,
s  Secondhand smoke contains 7000 chemicals and 70 known carcinogens. There is no safe level of secondhand

smoke,

s The residual contaminants from secondhand smoke (also known as “thirdhand smoke™) can linger on carpets,
upholstery, or other fabrics and surfaces long after the tobacco product has been extinguished.

o Infants and children, whose bodies are still developing, are espemally susceptible to the adverse health effects of

exposure to tobacco smoke

Nicotine Poisoning and Children:
« Nicotine is an acute foxin. Exposure to nicotine through cigarette butts, e-liquids or other tobacco waste can cause

nausea and vomiting, respiratory arrest, seizures, even death. _
+ Ingesting tobacco products is a major reason for toxic exposure in infants and children reported to pmson control

centers.
+  Calls to the Carolinas Poison Control Center for child-related exposures to electronic cigareties/e-liquids

increased from 8 in 2011 to 155 in 2015.

26 | : |
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E-cigarettes:
e Electronic cigarettes or e-cigarettes, closely resemble the act of smoking.
» They produce an aerosol that typically contain nicotine derived from tobacco, which is a highly addictive and

other harmful substances, especially for children.
o - The use of e-cigarettes threatens to re-normalize smoking to children, potentially jeopardizing tobacco use

prevention efforts of the past decade and the present.

Proposed Rules
SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
" 10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS

Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

»  Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco, inéluding but not
limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless fobacco, and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a
week in all indoor areas and on the property used or controlled by the child care center.

» ~ Prohibit all tobacco product‘use within any motor vehicie used by the center to transport children; and during field
trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions.

o Require that signage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify parénts,
guardians, and any other visitors, contractors or staff of this tobacco-free property policy.

e NOTE: This is consistent with therN.C. Tobacco-free Schools campus policy. G.8. 1/5C-407. Policy prohibiting
tobacco use in school buildings, grounds, and at school-sponsored events. ‘

s NOTE: The provision that “all smoking materials shall be kept in locked storage” may not be needed if all staff

and visitors are prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT

Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

s Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco, including but not
limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a

week in all indoor areas of the family child care home and on the provider’s cutdoor property during the hours of

operation.
»  Prohibit tobacco product use within any moter vehicle used by the family child care home to transport children.

e Prohibit all tobacco product use during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions during the

2 19

hours of operation,
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Keep all property free of cigarette butts and any other tobacco product and/or e-cigarette litter.

Keep any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and e-liquids, located on the property in locked storage during

the hours of operation. _
Post signage at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify parents, guardians, and any

other visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.
Disclose (both orally and in writing) to the parents or guardians of children cared for if smoking or any other

tobacco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of operation,



North Carolina

Alliance fOI‘ Health 3131 RDU Center Drive, Suite 100

Morrisville, North Carolina 27560
919.463.8329
info@ncailianceforhealth.org
www.ncallianceforhealth.org

August 25, 2016

Ms. Dedra Alston

Rufemaking Coordinator

NC Division of Child Development and Early Education
2201 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27639

Dear Vs, Alston;

The North Carolina Alliance for Health respectfully submits these comments for amendments to
the temporary child care rules proposed inaccordance with the Child Care and Development
Block Grant Act of 2014. } applaud the North Carolina Child Care Commission for proposinga
new rule to protect children from the harms of smokingand e-cigarettes. However, the
proposed rule should include all tobacco products. Additionally, the policy language should be
evidence-based and should be made clearer for Child Care Centers. Furthermore, it is critical

. that the rule alsoincludes evidence-based, tobacco-free policylanguage forall Family Child

Care Home Operators.

These changes ta the proposedrule are .especially impaortant because all childcare providersin
centers and in home settings are responsible forthe safety, health, and wellbeingof the
children for whom they provide care. Thus, they are also responsible forprotecting children
under their care from secondhand and thirdhand smoke and nicotine poisoning.

Tobacco use remains a major cause of preventable disease and death in North Carolinaand in
the nation. Infants and children, whose bodies are still developing, are especially susceptible to
the adverse health effects of exposure ta tobacco smoke, exposure to which has beenfoundto
cause heart disease, cancer, asthma, bronchitis, and other respiratory problems. There is no
safe leve! of exposure to secondhand smoke, and residual contaminants from secondhand
smoke, also known as thirdhand smoke, can linger on carpets, upholstery, and other fabrics and

surfaces longafter the tobacco product has been extinguished.

in addition to the dangers of secondhand and thirdhand smoke, nicotine, an acute toxin,
presentsa serious danger to children. Exposure to nicotine through cigarette butts, e -liquids,
and other tobacco waste can cause nausea and vomiting, respiratory arrest, seizures, and even
death. Ingestingtobacco products is a major reason for toxic exposure ininfants and children

1

N



reportedto poison control centers. In fact, calls to the Carolinas Poison Control Center for child-
related exposuresto e-cigarettesand e-liquidsincreased from 8in 2011 to 155 in 2015,

As you can see, the need for clear, evidence-based, policy language thatincludes all tobacco

- products is vital to providing safe, heaithy child care environments. The refore, the North
Carolina Alliance for Health urges the North Carolina Child Care Commission to consider making
the changes outlined below. '

Proposed Rules
SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS
Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

» Prohibitsmokingand the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from
tobacco, including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco,
and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a weekinallindoor areas and on the
property used or controlled by the child care center.

e Prohibitall tobacco product use withinany motor vehicle used by the centerto
transport children; and during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and
functions. ‘

¢ Require that signage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic
locationsto notify parents, guardians, and any other visitors, contractors or staff of this
tobacco-free praperty policy.

e NOTE: This is cansistent with the N.C. Tobacco-free Schools campus policy. G.5. 115C-
407. Policy prohibiting tobacco use in school buildings, grounds, and at school -
sponsored events.

e NOTE: The provision that “all smoking materials shall be kept inlocked storage” may not
be needed if all staff and visitors are prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT
Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

» Prohibit smokingand the use of any tobacco product containing, made or denvedfrom
tobaceo, including but not [imited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco,
and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas of the family
child care home and on the provider's outdoor property during the hours of operation.

* Prohibittobacco product use within any motor vehicle used bythe family chiid care
home to transport children.

¢ Prohibitall tobacco product use during fieldtrips, walks, or other off-property activities
and functions during the hours of operation.

o Keepall property free of cigarette butts and any other tobacco product andfore-
cigarette litter.

o Keepany tobacco products, including e-cigarettesand e-liquids, located onthe property
in focked storage during the hours of operation.

A



s Post signage at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify
parents, guardians, and any other visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.

s Disclose (both orally and in writing) to the parents or guardians of childrencared forif
smoking or any other tobacco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of

operation,

Thank you for your consideration and for the opportunity to provide comment,
Warmly,

Morgan Wittman Gramann
Managing Director
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Aliston, Dedra _

From: Mary Gillett <MGILLETT@myguilford.com>
Sent; Thursday, August 25, 2016 10:29 AM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: Day Care Rules feedback

Importance: . High

Dear Ms. Alston ~

[ am so happy to be allowed to provide input on the proposed rules for Family Child Care Home Operators. These rules
are so important for the health and safety of both children and staff.

On behalf of Guilford County DHHS, Health Division, | applaud your efforts, but would strongly advise that the proposed
rule also include all tobacco products and that the language be clearer. Providing a healthy and positive role modelis a
key factor in caring for young children and protecting them from secondhand and even third hand smoke and nicotine
poisoning is obviously an important part of providing a responsible and safe atmosphere,

What we know about the dangers of tobacco use is clear -

e Tobacco use is a major cause of preventable disease and death in N.C. and the nation.

o Smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke have been found to cause heart disease, cancer, asthma,
bronchitis, and other respiratory problems.

o Secondhand smoke contains 7000 chemicals and 70 known carcinogens. There is no safe level of secondhand
smoke.

e The residual contaminants from secandhand smoke (also known as “third hand smoke”) can linger on carpets,
upholstery, or other fabrics and surfaces long after the tobacco product has been extinguished.

e Infants and children, whose bodies are still developing, are especially susceptible to the adverse health effects of

exposure to tobacco smoke.

o Nicotine is an acute toxin. Exposure to nicotine through.cigarette butts, e-liquids cr other tobacco waste can
cause nausea and vomiting, respiratory arrest, seizures, even death.

e Ingesting tobacco products is a major reason for toxic exposure in infants and children reported to poison

control centers.
e Cails to the Carolinas Poison Control Center for child-related exposures 1o electronic cigarettes/e-liquids

increased from 8 in 2011 to 155 in 2015.

In addition, we have concerns about the newly emerging use of electronic cigarettes:
¢ Electronic cigarettes or e-cigarettes, closely resemble the act of smoking.
o They produce an aerosol that typically contains nicotine derived from tobacco, which is a highly addictive and

other harmful substances, especially for children.
o The use of e-cigareties threatens to re-normaiize smoking to children, potentially jeopardizing tobacco use
prevention efforts of the past decade and the present.

The following are evidence hased Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:
Proposed Rules

SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS
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e Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco, including but
not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days
a week in all indoor areas and on the property used or controlled by the child care center.

« Prohibit all tobacco product use within any motor vehicle used by the center to transpart children; and during
field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions.

o Require that signage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to natify parents,
guardians, and any other visitors, contractors or staff of this tobacco-free property policy.

« NOTE: This is consistent with the N.C. Tobacco-free Schools campus policy. G.S. 115C-407. Policy prohibiting
tobacco use in school buildings, grounds, and at school-sponsored events.

» NOTE: The provision that “all smoking materials shall be kept in locked storage” may not be needed if all staff
and visitors are prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT

- e Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco,
including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and haokah at all times
24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas of the family child care home and on the provider’s
outdoor property during the hours of operation.

o Prohibit tobacco product use within any motar vehicle used by the family child care home to transport
children. .

e Prohibit all tobacco product use during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions
during the hours of operation.

o Keep all property free of cigarette butts and any other tobacco product and/or e-cigarette litter.

» Keep any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and e-liquids, located on the property in locked
storage during the hours of operation.

s Post signage at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify parents, guardians,
and any other visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.

» Disclose (both orally and in writing) to the parents or guardians of children cared for if smoking or any
other tobacco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of operation.

Thank you so much for your consideration,

Mry

Mary Gillett, MS, Region Five Tobacco Prevention Manager

(Serving Alamance, Caswell, Chatham, Durham, Guilford, Orange, Person and Rockingham Gounties)
Guilford County DHHS, Division of Public Health

1203 Mapie Street

Greensboro, NC 27410

(336) 641-6000

Fax {338) 641-6971

maillett@myguilford. com

hitp:Hwwaw. myguilford com/humanservices/health

www.facebook.comiGLilfordCountyPublicHealth
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RICHARD 0. BRAJER

Secretary

DANIEL STALEY

BDirector, Division of Pulilfe Health

Public Health

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

August 25, 2016

Dedra Alston

Rulemaking Coordinator

NC Division of Child Development and Early Education
2201 Mail Service Center

Raleigh NC 27699-2200

Dear Ms. Alston:

Thank you so much for the opportunity to comment on the Proposed Temporary Rulemaking by
the NC Child Care Commission. The Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch of the NC
Division of Public Health is submitting comments to update the rules related to smoking and
other tobacco use at child care facilities. See attached recommended language to protect the
health of children in North Carolina’s child care homes and centers. The rationale for these

changes are as follows:

Childcare providers are responsible for the safety, health and wellbeing of children. Protecting the
children under their care from secondhand smoke, thirdhand smoke, nicotine poisoning is part of this
responsibility. Also, healthy positive adult role modeling is important for young children.

‘ Dangers of Tobacco Use and Secondhand Smoke

Tobacco use is a major cause of preventable disease and death in N.C. and the nation.

» Smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke have been found to cause heart disease, cancer,
asthma, bronchitis, and other respiratory problems.
Secondhand smoke contains 7000 chemicals and 70 known carcinogens.
There is no safe level of secondhand smoke.
‘The residual contaminants from secondhand smoke (also known as “thirdhand smoke™) can linger
on carpets, upholstery, clothing or other fabrics and surfaces long after the tobacco product has
been extinguished. It reacts with common indoor air compounds to create a cancer-causing mix
that can be breathed in or absorbed through the skin, Children are particularly at risk for damage
from third hand smoke.

o Infants and children, whose bodies are still developing, are ospecially susceptlble to the adverse
health effects of exposure to tobaceo smoke,

Nicotine Poisoning and Children:

¢ Nicotine is an acute toxin. Exposure to nicotine through cigarette butts, e-liquids from e-
cigarettes or other tobacco waste can cause nausea and vomiting, respiratory arrest, seizures, even

death.

Depariment of Health and Rusnan Services § Diviston of Pubfic Heollh
3505 $ix Forks Road | 1932 Mail Service Centeri Rafeigh. NC 2F694-1915
G707 5400 T HIGF0 4844 F
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May 31, 2016

Page #2
¢ Ingesting tobacco products is a major reason for toxic exposure in infants and children reported to
poison controf centers.
¢ (alls to the Carolinas Poison Control Center for child-related exposures to electronic cigarettes/e-
liquids increased from 8 in 2011 to 155 in 2015,
E-cigarettes:

Electronic cigarettes or e-cigarettes, closely resemble the act of smoking.

» They produce an aercsol that typically contain nicotine derived from tobacco, which is a highly
addictive and other harmful substances, especially for children.

¢ The use of e-cigareftes threatens to re-normalize smoking to children, potentially jeopardizing
tobacco use prevention efforts of the past decade and the present,

Please do not hesitate to contact Sally Herndon, Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch,
sally. herndon@dhhs ne.gov; 919-707-5401 or Jim Martin, Director of Policy and Programs;
jim.martin@dhhs.nc.gov; 919-707-3404 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
Sy ol

Sally Herdon, MPH
Head, Tobacco Prevention and Control Branch

Cc: Danny Staley
Maribeth Wooten
Chris Hoke
Sharon Rhyne

23
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Proposed Temporary Rule Language

SECTION -.0600 ---SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS

10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS

Smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco,

including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and
hookah is prohibited at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas and
on the property used or controlled by the child care center. All tobacco product use is
prohibited within any motor vehicle used by the center to transport children: and during

field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions. Signage must be posted

at doorways, on vehicles, o at any other strategic locations to notify parents, guardians,
and any other visitors, contractors or staff of this tobacco-free property policy.

Section .1700 — FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR
ENVIRONMENT

a) The operator of a family child care home shall maintain a safe indoor and outdoor
| environment for children in care. In addition, the operator shall:

1) Prohibit the use of smoking and the use of any tobacco product
containing, made or derived from tobacco, including but not
limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco,
and hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all
indoor areas of the family chiid care home and on the provider's

outdoor property during the hours of operation.

2%



2) Prohibit all tobaccg product use within any motor vehicle used
by the family child care home to transport children.
3) Prohibit alf tobacco product use during field trips, walks, or other

off-property activities and functions during the hours of
operation.

4) Keep all property free of cigarette butts and any other tobacco
product and/or e-cigarette litter,

5) Keep any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and e-liquids.
located on the property in locked storage during the hours of

operation.
6) Post signage at doorways. on vehicles. or at any other strateqgic

locations to notify parents, quardians, and any other visitors or

staff of this tobacco-free policy.



Alston, Dedra

From: Yahoo Mail <carltongriffin24@yahoo.com>
Sent: Thursday, August 25, 2016 12:42 PM

To: Alston, Dedra '

Subject: pre-service/orientations on line

[ feel strongly that these trainings be taught in person rather than on-line. Most of my staff work all day and do not have
computers at home to take the on-line training that is being proposed. The public library in our community closes at
5.00pm. This action will pose an inconvenience to all my staff including me. Would you please reconsider this action and

_ keep the in person training the way it is.
Thank you so much for your consideration!
Carlton Griffin/Director

C & N Basic Learning center :Edenton, N.C.
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August 24, 2016

Dedra Alston

Rulemaking Coerdinator

NC Rivision of Child Development and Early Education
2201 Mail Setvice Cehter

Raleigh, NC 27699»2200

RE: PROPOSED TEMPORARY RULES Eff. September 23, 2016

Chapter 09; Chilg-¢
Sectien: 0600 Safety-R equwements for'Child Care Centers

Dear Members.of the North Carolina Ghild Care Commission:

Thank you for this.oppertunity to provide public comment on the- propased temporary rufes in
accordance to the Chlld Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG)Act of 2014, We applaud the NC
Child Care Comriissionfar prepmsihg new rules that update existing rulesthat seek to-protect the safety
of our children. The American Heart Assoelation/Amerlcan Stroke. Association’s (AHA/ASA) mission Is to
bulld healthier lives, frée of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.

The AHA/ASA works to pramote policies and regulations that will ensure access to healthy envitonments

and adherence to nationally recognized guidelines to assure optimum health outcomes, The proposed

tamparary rules offer an opportunity for the NC Child Care Commission to align rules with the intent of

other statedegislation and rutes that seek to provide a healthy envirgnment for our children, guidelines -
~ for emergency response, and assurance that people are trajired in cardiopulmonary resuscitation..

AHAJASA supports protectmg children from the harms of stokingand e-cigatiettes, However, we
recemmend the rule include all tobaece products and the policy language should be evidenced-based
and clearer for Chiild Care Centers, Itis critical for the rule to also intlude evidence-based tobdcco-free-
policy language far all Family Chiid Care Home Operators. All childcare providers in centers.and in home
settings are responsible for the safety, health and wellbelng of children. Protecting the children-under
their-care from secondhand smole, thirdhand sinoke, nicatine peisening is partof-this responsibility.
Further healthy, positive adult rele modeling s impartant for young children.

SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS

The Child Care Center rule should:
»  Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product cantaining, made or derived from tobacco,
including but not limited to e- cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smolkeless tobaceo, and hodkah at
all times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas and on the property used or controlled

by the child care center.

"Bullding. healthier fives, o, _ , :
fiee of cardiovascular lite is why~  es por lavida» &%
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». Prohibif all tobacee product.use within any motor vehicle used by the center to transport
children; and during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions.

« Require that sighage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to
notify parents, guardlans, and any ather visitors, cantractor*s of staff of this tobacco-free

property policy.

This recommendation‘is consistent with the N.C. Tobacco-free Schoals.campus policy: G.8. J15C-40 -
Policy prohibiting tebacco use in school buildings, growunds, and at school-sponsored events. Further
with these suggested changes, the provision that “alf smoking materials shiall be kept In locked storage”
may not be needed If all staff and visitors are prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY'CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREVMENTS
10A-NGAC.09 1719 REGUIREMENTS FOR A.SAFE INDOOROUTDOER ENVIRONNENT

“The Family Child Care Home rule should;

»  PRrohibit sthcking ahd'the use of any-tobacco product contalning, made or detived fram tobacco,
including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tabaceo, and hookah at
all times 24 hours.a ddy/7 days a weelcin all indoor areas of the family child care home and on
thé provider's outdear propetty during the hours of operation,

'« Prohihit tobaceo preduct use within any motorvehicle used by the family child care horve to
transport children.

¢ Prohibit all tobaceo product use during field trips, walks, ar ather aff-property activities.and
funictions during the hours of operation.

s Keepall property free of cigarette buits and any other tobacco product and/or e-cigatette litter,

» Keep any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and e-liquids, located on the property in
locked storage during the hours of operation.

s Postsighage at dogrwiys, on-yehicles, or at any other strategic. lacations to notify parents,
guatdians, and any ather visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.

s Disclose {both orally and in'writing)te the parents or guardians of children cared for if smoking
or any-other tobécco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of operation.

SECTION .0700 « HEALTH AND OTHER STANDARDS FOR CENTER STAFF
10A NCAC 09..0705'SPECIAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

The AHA/ASA supports assuring all staff'in child care center be trained in-cardiopulmonary resyscitation
{CPR} and prepared to respond in a cardievascular'emergency. We recommiend that the rule in this
section clearly specify that training course be an Instructional program developed hy the American
Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or other nationally recognized programs that s based on the
most current national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular care guidelines for CPR. Specifying that
training must bie from national evidence-based emergency cardiovascular guidelines for CPR creates

"Building Healthier fives, T, N
froe-of cardiovassular life is why» esporlavida~ ZHEd~
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censistency with Section .1700 Family Child Care Home Requirements and Session Law 2012-197
Compietich of CPR ky Students Réquired, a requirement for high school gradijation,

SECTION .1700 ~ EAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQU IREMENTS
10A NCAC 69 .1705 HEALTH AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME
OPERATORS

In this section we recomrierid that [angusgs be amended to specify that the training course be an
instructional program developed by the American Heart Association, the American Red €ross, ar other
natfonally recognlzed programs that is baSed on the most eurrent hational evidence-based emergency
cardiovascular care guldelines for CPR, This will create consistehsy within the rutes and assure that care
givers are trained and 'prepared to respond in the event of a cardiac emergency.

The AHA/ASA appreciates the work of the NC €hild Care Commiission and efforts to update these rules.
We urge the Commission to further amend the propesed rules to reflect the recommendations
tentained in this letter. These rules seek to ensure the health and safety of chifdren and should be
evidence-based and consistent with national guidelines. '

Thank you fer this opportunity to provide comment.

Sinearely,

Betsy Vetter
Regional Vice President of Government Relations

"Butleing healthier Hves; o . _ _
free of caretiovasuiar life is why~ @8 por la vida~ &8
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 AMERICAN LUNG ASSOCIATION.

TN NORTH CAROLINA

August 24, 2016

Dedra Alston, Rulemaking Coordinater

NC Division of Child Development and Early Education
2201 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2200
Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov. .

RE: Proposed Temporary Rules - Chapter 09 - Child Care Rules
Section - .0600 — Safety Requirements For Child Care Centers

Dear Ms. Alston:

Thank you for the op'portunity to comment on the proposed rules. We would like to offer
comment on three concerns: tobacco products, asthma episode pravention, and air quality.

Tobacco products:

Thank you for proposing a new rule to protect children from the harms of smoking and e-cigarettes. We
request the proposed rule include all tobacco products and the policy language be evidenced-based and
clear for Child Care Centers and all Family Child Care Home Operators.

The harms from tobacco exposure are well documented. Tobacco use is a major cause of preventable
disease and death in N.C. and the nation. Smoking and exposure to secondhand smoke have been found
to cause heart disease, cancer, asthma, bronchitis, and other respiratory problems. Secondhand smoke
contains 7000 chemicals and 70 known carcinogens. There is no safe level of secondhand smoke, The
residual contaminants from secondhand smoke (alse known as ‘thirdhand smoke”) can linger on carpets,
upholstery, or other fabrics and surfaces long after the tobacco product has been extinguished. Infants and
children, whose bodies are still developing, are especially susceptible to the adverse health effects of
exposure to tobacco smoke.

As all childcare providers in centers and in home settings are responsible for the safety, health and
wellbeing of children, protecting children under their care from secondhand smoke, thirdhand smoke, and
nicotine poisening is part of this responsibility. We also believe that healthy positive adult role modeling is
important for young children. Proposed changes are noted below.

Asthma:

More than 8 million American children have been diagnosed with asthma. It causes millions of
lest school and work days every year and is the third leading cause of hospitalization among
children. It is an ongoing challenge to provide safe and healthy environments for these children.
Without proper education and awareness, asthma can be frightening not only for children living
with the disease, but aiso for the adults caring for them. We encourage parents and caregivers
to arm themselves with proper information about a child’s asthma in order to prevent asthma
aftacks and other emergencies.

We ask you to consider requiring every child with asthma have a written plan on file, listing
allergies and asihma triggers, medication schedule, and emergency instructions. A sample
asthma action plan is attached. We further request that part of worker fraining include basic
asthma information: identification of symptoms of asthma, warning signs that asthma is flaring
up, and how to recognize emergency situations; and that staff is trained to administer
medication and the use and care of nebulizers, inhalers, spacer and peak flow meters.

401 Hawthorne Lane, Suite 110 #298, Charlotte, NC 28207

Ph: 770.544.0520 F:770.319.0349 Lung.org
. June.Deen@LungSE.org

‘ 1-800-LUNGUSA | LUNG.org -




AMERICAN LUNG ASSOCIATION.

1N NORTH CARQLINA

Air Quality: :
Children face special risks from air pollution because their lungs are growing and because they are so
active. Eighty percent of their tiny air sacs develop after birth. Children are outside for longer periods of
time than aduits and are usually more active when outdoors. Consequently, they inhale more polluted

. outdoor air than adults typically do. Children should stay indoors when the air pollution index is very high.
We encourage awareness and use of the Air Quality Index, an Environmental Protection Agency index that
grades air quality in terms of associated health effects, and the use of EnviroFlash, an electronic
information system designed to alert the public about air quality forecasts via email, or use of the toll-free
line 1-888-RUN4NCAIR.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to provide these cdrnments and suggestions. Please contact the
American Lung Association whenever we can be of service. ‘

Sincerely

June Deen

Senior Vice President of Public Policy and Health Promotions
American Lung Association of the Southeast, inc.

on behalf of the American Lung Association in North Carolina.

attachments

401 Hawthorne Lane, Suite 110 #298, Charlotte, NC 28207
Ph: 770.544.0520 F:770.319.034% Lung.org
June.Deen@LlungSE.org

" '1-800-LUNGUSA | LUNG.org
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Proposed Rules
SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFETY REQUIREMENTS
Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

*  Prohibit smoking-and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco,
including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and hookah at all
times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas and on the property used or controlled by
the child care center. ‘

»  Prohibit all tobacce product use within any motor vehicle used by the center to transport children;
and during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions. ,

+ Require that signage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify
parents, guardians, and any other visitors, contractors or staff of this tobacco-free property policy.

- NOTE: This is consistent with the N.C. Tobacco-free Schools campus policy. G.S. 115C-407. Policy
prohibiting tobacco use in school buiidings, grounds, and at school-sponsored events.
NOTE: The provision that “all smoking materials shall be kept in locked storage” may not be needed
if all staff and visitors are prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT
Evidence-based Tobacco Use Policy Recommendations:

» Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco,
Including but ot limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little ¢ligars, smokeless tobacco, and hookah at all
times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas of the family child care home and on the
provider's outdoor property during the hours of operation.

+  Prohibit tobacco product use within any motor vehicle used by the family child care home to

_transport children. :

*  Prohibit all tobacco product use during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions
during the hours of operation.

-« Keep all property free of cigarstte butts and any other tobacco product and/or e-cigarette litter.

*» Keep any tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and e-liquids, focated on the property in locked
storage during the hours of operation.

« Post signage at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify parents,
guardians, and any other visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.

+ Disclose (both orally and in writing} to the parents or guardians of children cared for if smoking or
any other tobacco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of operation.

401 Hawthorne Lane, Sulte 210 #298, Charlotte, NC 28207 .
Piv 770.544.0520 F: 770.319.0349 Lung.org
June.Deen@LungSE.org

1-800-LUNGUSA | LUNG.brg
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Asthma Action Plan | 1:

ASSOCIATION.

General Information:

B Name

B Emergency contact

Phone numbers

B Physician/healthcare provider

Phone numbers

M Physician signature Date

QO Intermittent O Colds O Smoke 1, Premedication (how much and when)
O Moderate Persistent | O Weather O Exercise
O Miid Persistent O Dust O Air Pollution 2. Exercise modifications
QO Severe Persistent O Animals O Food
O Other |

TG O e LI

Green Zone: Doing Well Peak Flow Meter Personal Best =

Symptoms Control Medications:

W Breathing is good Medicine How Much to Take When to Take It
W No cough or wheeze '
M Can work and play
M Sleeps well at night

Peak Flow Meter
More than 80% of personal hest
or

Y]



Asthma Action P'Ia-mm—Page 2

Yellow Zone: Getting Worse

sl

o

Symptoms
M Some problems breathing

W Cough, wheeze, or chest tight
B Probiems working or playing
W Wake af night

Peak Flow Meter
Between 50% and 80% of parsonal best
or _to

Rd Zone: Medical Alert

Continue control medicines and add:

ontact physlclari ‘I'f using quick rellef more than

AMERICAN
LUNG
ASSOCIATION.

N

Medicine

How Much to Take When to Take it

IF your symptoms (and peak flow, if
used) return o Green Zone after one
hour of the quick-relief treatment, THEN

O Take quick-relief medication every
4 hours for 1 to 2 days.

O Change your fong-term control medicine

O Contact your physician for follow-up care,

IF your symptoms (and peak flow, if
used) DO NOT refurn to Green Zone
after one hour of the quick-relief
treatment, THEN

O Take quick-relief treatment again.

O Change yaur long-term cantrol
medicine by

O Call your physician/Healthcare 'pruvider
within hour(s} of modifying your -
medication routine,

Ambulance/Emergency Phone Number:

Symptoms

W Lots of problems breathing

B Canrnot work or play

W Gatting worse instead of better
M Medicine is not helping

Peak Flow Meter
Less than 50% of personal best
or_ to

46

Continue control medicines and add:

Medicine

How Much to Take When to Take It

Go to the hospital or call for an
ambulanee if:

O Siill in the red zone after 15 minutes.

O You have not been abie 1o reach your
physician/healthcare provider for help.

O

Call an ambulance immediately if the
following danger signs are present:

(3 Trouble walking/taiking due to
shoriness of breath.

O Lips or fingernails are blue,

3%



From: Brown, Juanita <Juanita.Brown@mecklenburgcountync.gov>
Sent; Thursday, August 25, 2016 4:25 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Cc: - Combo, Lawanda; Watson, Tisshue; Lamonica, Nicole
Subject: Proposed Rule Changes-Online Trainings

Hello Ms. Alston, : :

I am representing the Child Care Health Consultants in Mecklenburg County. Our role in helping child
care facilities in the areas of health and safety is extremely important to the team. We have spent the last few
days mulling over the proposed rule changes regarding required trainings and the possibility of making them
available online. After much discussion, we believe this would be a grave mistake for various reasons. The
purpose of this letter is to hopefully give you and other rule making entities at the NC DCDEE our view of why
this may be detrimental to child care providers in our state.

As Health Consultants, we have been provided several trainings to child care providers in the
community. We have seen the benefits of face to face trainings and hands on application are for the
facilities. To begin, I would like to address the benefit of any student having the opportunity to ask questions
and have them answered immediately. This allows for better understanding of information that may not have
been clear. In the midst of our trainings, it helps to be ablé to see each participant’s face to assess understanding
and comprehension. This allows us to reiterate a topic or give examples that illustrate the point irying to be
conveyed.

When using examples, many of the participants are able to share their own real life experiences. These
help the other students as well as the trainers. It gives us a repertoire of real life stories and scenarios which we
can adapt to the various learning styles of the caregivers that attend our classes. This can turn a training that
mitially seems daunting into a rich learning experience, encouraging a provider to learn more and seek to

- incorporate new skills into their daily routine. What was once just a required class becomes a source of new
and interesting information that helps caregivers to improve their facility and the care they provide to the
children of our community.

We, as Child Care Health Consultants, have a unique and special relationship with the providers we
serve in Mecklenburg County. It is important that we are present to help encourage providers to comply with
the rules. This sometimes means that we explain the importance of doing things correctly. In the past, we have
had instances where we corrected teachers who tried to avoid doing all the work necessary for an online
class. We stress what information is lost when they only take the test or don’t read through all of the
material. It is vital that providers understand the value of what they are attempting to learn. In a face to face
training, this is not an issue, They come together and learn rather than sitting in front of a screen alone.

Our team in Mecklenburg County wants it to be known that we are extremely concerned about what
online trainings would mean for the safety and health of our facilities in North Carolina. It is necessary when
addressing emergency medications, allergies and anaphylaxis, child maltreatment and many other important
issues that we have in person trainings and consultation. It would be defrimental to everyone if we were not
allowed to continue to provide this service to the community. :

Thank you for your time,
Mecklenburg County Child Care Health Consultants



Juanita b, Brown, RN, BSN

Child Care Health Consultant
Mecklenburg County Health Department
2845 Beatties Ford Road

Charlotte, NC 28216

cellular; 704.258.4718

office;: 980.314.9341 (new)

Juanita.brown@mecklenburgcountync.gov

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This message and any attachments included are from the Mecklenburg County Health
Department and are for sole use by the intended recipient(s). The information contained herein may inclide
confidential or priviteged information. Unauthorized review, forwarding, printing, copying, distributing, or using such
information is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful. If you received this message in error; or have reason to believe
you are not authorized to receive it, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original

message. Thank you!
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~ Alston, Dedra ' ' '
M

From: Linda Piper <linda@nclcca.org>

Sent: ~ Thursday, August 25, 2016 4:56 PM

To: Alston, Dedra

Cc Dr. Glenda Weinert; bladesemp@bgroup.net; jicbrownlee@carolina,rr.com; April Duvall

laurie morin; Charles McDowelll, II: Kay Lowrance; Elizabeth Gilleland; Melanie Gayle;
Zac Everhart; Lisa Humphreys; info@happyhandshappyfeet.info; Linda Vandevender:
Billy Walton; Kristin Weaver

Subject: NCLCCA Feedback on Temporary Rules . '

Members of the NC Child Care Commission,

We would like to share comments on the proposed temporary rules submitted to OAH on July 26,2016 for 10A
NCAC 09 .0705 and .0707.

First Aid and CPR time frame
Rules .0705 (b) and (d) require all staff to complete First Aid and CPR within six weeks of employment.

We support the requirement that at least one certified staff member be present at all times when children are in
care. However, we encourage you to extend the timef rame required for completion of First Aid and CPR.

This rule change is going to lead to a large number of child care staff needing to obtain First Aid and CPR
training. We can expect, at a minimum, longer delays to obtain training as classes fill up faster. There could
also be cost increases as the law of supply and demand kicks in, with more people needing to be trained in a

hurry.

Stnce the guidelines outlined in the Federal Register do not require these certifications to be completed within
the first six weeks, we hope you will reconsider. A phasing-in period, as other states are implementing based on
their CCDF plans, is an option that should be considered.

Completion of Orientation for New Employees

1 S\



Rule .0707 (a) includes new proposed language as follows: -

As part of this orientation. each new emplovee shall complete six clock hours of training within the first two
weeks of employment. ' _

"To address issues faced by providers who have immediate staffing needs but are waiting for criminal
background checks to be completed, we would like to be able to begin orientation earlier than is currently
allowed. Please consider adding a phrase that would allow orientation to begin sooner, such as “which may be
obtained prior to receipt of the criminal record check qualifying letter as long as training is completed in
the absence of children in care.” Another option might be to allow some portions of the training to be
completed off-site prior to receipt of the qualifying letter.

Allowance for Inservice Training Requirements

Additionally, rule .0707 (a) says:

Training required pursuant to this Rule shall not be counted toward annual ongoing training requircments,

We would like ydu to reconsider allowing some components of the training to be counted toward training
requirements. We believe other states DO allow these trainings to be counted for inservice training,

At a minimum, it should be counted for the first year of employment for new staff and for the first year that
the new training is required for existing staff,

Thank you for your consideration, and please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like further feedback.

Linda Piper

cell {252) 290-5717

office (252) 234-5945

NC Licensed Child Care Association

3801 Lake Boone Trail, Ste. 190, Raleigh, NC 27607
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Alston, Dedra ' |
m

From: . Cynthia Smith <mailcindy.cs@gmail.com>

Sent: Friday, August 26, 2016 12:21 AM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject; 2 hour online Medication Administration Training.

Addressing the proposal to have a 2 hour, online medication administration training:

To Whom It May Concern.

Anyone who administers medication to a child in the child care setting should be required to take
an in-person medication administration training with a skills based sign-off to show proficiency.

“The In-person training should Involve a licensed heaith professional, such as a child care heaith
consuitant, who would observe the individual’s medication administration skills.”

At least one person who has received this additional training should be on-site at the child care
all times.

~ A two hour, online training is not sufficient to safely and adequately administer either basic or
emergency medication to a child, nor will it get in-person feedback on medication administration

skills.

- Any training should include North Carolina specific ruies and address the actual vnolations
occurring in North Carolina Child Care facilities.

If an Early Childhood Educator has already taken a comparable training through from a field
based training provider, college class, or other source that an equivalency will be accepted so they
don’t have to do repeat training.

We ask that DCDEE collaborate with the Child Care Health Consultant network so CCHCs, can
support and facilitate whenever possible, these online trainings and be knowledgeable to answer
content-specific questions in the fleld.

Cindy M Smith

RN

Child Care Health Consulfant
Chowan Perquimans,

Tyrrell & Washington

252-482-3035
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Ms. Dedra Alston

Rulemaking Coordinator

NC Division of Child Development and Early Education
2201 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, North Carolina 27699

RE: Proposed Temporary Rules
Chapter 9: Child Care Rules
Section .0600 Safety Requirements for Child Care Centers

Dear Members of the North Carolina Child Care Commission:

Thank you for the oppartunity to provide public comment on the proposed temporary rules in accordance with
the Child Care and Development Black Grant Act of 2014. Furthermore, we thank the NC Child Care
Commission for proposing a new rule to protect children from the harms of smoking and e-cigarettes.

ACS CAN supports evidence-based policy and legislative salutions designed to eliminate cancer as a major
health problem. As such, we support your efforts to protect our children from exposure to smoking and e-
cigarettes. However, the proposed rile must include all tobacco products and the policy language should be:
evidenced-based and clearer for Child Care Centers. Additionally, it’s critical for the rule to also Include
evidence-based tobacco-free policy language for all Family Child Care Home Operators.

Tobacco use remains a major cause of preventable disease and death in North Carolina and in the nation.
Infants and children, whose bodies are still developing, are especially susceptible to the adverse health effects
of exposure to tobacco smoke, exposure to which has been found to cause cancer, heart disease, asthma,
bronchitis, and athet respiratory problems. There is no safe level of exposure to secondhand smoke, and
residual contaminants from secondhand smoke, also known as thirdhand smoke, can linger on carpets,
upholstery, and other fabrics and surfaces long after the tobacco product has been extinguished.

These changes to the proposed rule are so important because all childcare providers in centers and in home
settings are responsible for the safety, health and wellbeing of children, Protecting the children under their
care from secondhand smoke, thirdhand smaoke, and nicotine poisoning is part of this responsibility. Moreover,
healthy positive adult role modeling is important for young children.

SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD CARE CENTERS
10ANCAC 09.0604 SAFTETY REQUIREMENTS

The Child Care Center rule should:
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* Prohibit smaking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from tobacco,

including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and hookah at ail times
24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas and on the property used or controlled by the child.
care center. .

e Prohibit all tobacco product use within any motor vehicle used by the center to transport children; and
during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and functions.

» Require that signage is posted at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify

parents, guardians, and any other visitors, cantractors or staff of this tobacco-free property policy.

This recommendation is consistent with the N.C. Tobacco-free Schools campus policy. G.5. 115C-407. Policy
prohibiting tobacco use in school buildings, grounds, and at school-sponsored events, Further, with these
suggested changes the provision that “all smoking materials shall be kept in locked storage” may not be needed
since staff and visitors would be prohibited from tobacco use on the property.

FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS
10A NCAC 09.1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/QUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT

The Family Child Care Rule should:

' »  Prohibit smoking and the use of any tobacco product containing, made or derived from
tobacco, including but not limited to e-cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, smokeless tobacco, and
hookah at all times 24 hours a day/7 days a week in all indoor areas of the family child care
home and on the provider's outdoor property during the hours of operation.

¢ Prohibit tobacco product use within any mator vehicle used by the family child care home to
transport children. 7

»  Prohibit all tobacco product use during field trips, walks, or other off-property activities and
functions during the hours of operation.

s Keep all property free of cigarette butts and any other tobacco product and/or e-cigarette
litter,

» Keep any tobacco products, inciuding e-cigarettes and e-liquids, located on the property in
locked starage during the hours of operation.

¢ Post signage at doorways, on vehicles, or at any other strategic locations to notify parenté,

guardians, and any other visitors or staff of this tobacco-free policy.
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¢ Disclose (both orally and in writing) to the parents or guardians of children cared for if smoking
or any other tobacco use is permitted on the property outside of its hours of operation.

The American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network appreciates the work being done by the NC Child Care
Committee and their efforts to update these rules, We urge the Commission to amend the proposed rules by
adopting the recommendations Included in this letter. These evidence based rules will help to ensure the

health and safety of children. :

Thank you for the opportunity to provide comment.

Best regards,

Ray Riordan | North Carofina Grassroots Manager
American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Inc.
8300 Health Park Suite 10

‘Raleigh, NC 27615

Phone: 919.334.7203



Gmall The Ark <director.theark.childcare@gmail.com>
ONLINE ONLY TRAININGS —
The Ark <director.theark.childcare@gmail.com> - ' Thu, Aug 25, 2016 at 10:14 AM

Dratt To: dedra.alston@dhhs.ne.gov

Dear MS Alston,

| have recently been made aware of the fact that DCDEE has proposed that the Child Care Commission make a number
(actually 10) of child Care staff's required trainings be mads available ONLY ONLINE. Currently, we receive those
trainings on health and safety in person with our CCHC coordinator.

I personally feel CPR and First Aid Training needs to be hands onll! Also Emergency Prepardedness and Response
fraining is extensivell My GCHC trainer was essential in the process of completing our centers EPR Plan.

1 ALSO FEEL THAT THIS WOULD ADVERSELY AFFECT RURAL CdUNTIES. Too often the state does not take into
considaration the demographics of rural counties. In our case here in Chowan County, many middle-aged and older

individusls who make caring, loving child care employees are not computer literate. This proposal would put them and us
at a disadvantage. ' .

Jo Lichtenwainer. Diractar

The Avke” ohild Carve Center

Edenton United Methodist Church

P, O. Box 37, 225 Virginta Road
Edenton, NC 27932

ditector.thearic. childcare@gmail.com

252-482-1699

I"]l[/f!a{ Sénc/e‘hj '-7%,‘-5 me;ﬁ’dje vb)fau. an [ine j @’é‘dps z‘%rwe__
7'6" Thus T am ﬁhd?/&‘;:(] mny MoujAﬁzs

)/@ur wrvnj & il daﬂe’[ress C
‘{‘n)(au-. -ﬂ)r w[La.ﬂ' 7%0»7 are L-.DOI“M:
&hcereé‘//

—7

55
a3



Alston, Dedra - o

From: Dorothy Rawleigh <dorothy.rawleigh@chathamnc.org>
Sent: Friday, August 12, 2016 9:07 AM

To: Alston, Dedra

Subject: comments on child care rules proposal

Good morning Dedra,

{ arm a Child Care Health Consultant In Chatham County. | serve 53 licensed child care facifities. | am submitting comments in regard
to the proposed DCDEE rules referring to training .0706 (Centers) .1731 {Homes) Health and Safety Training Requirements

i am concerned about the proposal to have a 2 hour, online medication administratian training. Currently this training is only taught
in person. The trainer must recelve certification that they have received a in-person train the trainer on medication administration. A
registered nurse is required to teach or assist with teaching the training. The training is cu rrently a 4 hour training. The M.A. training
is one of the most important trainings 1 conduct. My co-trainer and | cover a lot of important information and teach knowledge, skills

and behavior that can save a child’s life.

It's a responsible and common sense plan to make this training required but reducing the guality of the training to only 2 hours and
in a online format is a dangerous and Irresponsible move. It’'s important with this training that child care providers have the
opportunity to ask questions, receive feedback from trained health educators and Aurses and be required to practice hands-on skills
with giving medication. Whenever | conduct this training | always have a lot of dialogue and questions from participants.
Administering medication is an important responsibility that can result is serious heaith risks, heneflts and liability depending on

how the materfal is taught.

| urge you to listen to the professionals who work most closely with the child care providers in North Carolina and require that the
medication administration training be taught in-person by a certified or licensed Child Care Heaith Consultant, with a skills based
sign-off to show proficlency and be covered in 4 training hours. At least one person wha has received this training should be an-site

at the child care at all times.

If this training is moved online despite recommendations agalnst doing that by Child Care Health Consultants and the NC CCHC
Association, | recommend:

- Any training should include North Carolina specific rules and address the actual violations occurring in Narth Carolina Child Care
facilities. .
- If an Early Childhood Educator has already taken a comparable training through from a field based training provider, college class,

or other source that an egquivalency will be accepted so they don't have to do repeat training.
~That DCDEE collaborate with the Child Care Health Consultant network so CCHCs, can support and facilitate whenever possible,

these online trainings and be knowledgeable te answer content-specific questions in the field.

Thank you,
Dorothy

Dorothy Rawleigh
Child Care Health Consultant
Certified Health Education Specialist
Health Promotion and Policy Division
Chatham County Public Health Department
80 East Street

“Pittsboro, NC 27312
phone: 919-545-8322
dorothy.rawleigh{@charhamne.or
www.chathamoc.org
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: Findings of Need Form
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: As soon as possible

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In box 5, please verify the date that notice was sent to your interested parties pursuant to
150B-21.1(a3)(2).

In box 6, please provide dates of the recent act of the General Assembly or U.S. Congress
or federal or state budgetary policy.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission

RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0604

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

58

In (e), is “preschool-age children” defined? Does “pre-school age children” include
infants and toddlers? | assume that you don’t want toddlers in particular to have access
to appliances with heating elements.

In (f), is it acceptable to allow “pre-school age children” access to electrical cords so long
as they are not attached to appliances with heating elements.

In (i), do you mean “shall be fitted with a protective screen that that is attached to
supports to prevent access...”, rather than “shall be provided"? | assume that you are
not requiring fuel burning heaters, fireplaces, or floor furnaces.

In (0), please add a comma in between “torn apart” and “such as.”

In (p), will the plan for ensuring a safe evacuation of the crib not going to be included in
the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan? Are the centers that do not meet
the Building Code and have an exit more than 8 inches required to write 2 plans
regarding the emergency evacuation of a crib?

In (p), it seems as though there is a word missing somewhere. Should lines 9-10 read
“For centers that do not meet NC Building Code for institutional occupancy and have an
exit that is more than eight inches above grade...” Also, where can the NC Building
Code be found?

In (u), please add a comma in between “locked areas” and “or shall be removed” and
delete the “or” before “shall be removed.” Please add a comma in between “the
premises” and “or otherwise inaccessible to children.”

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016



Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .0604 SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

3. Action: [] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: Amendments to this rule are necessary to implement the safety requirements of the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014.
This is one of the health and safety topics that’s required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014. This rule is a part of a group of
rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by
the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds
help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and
training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 L‘L’.

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .0604 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .0604 SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

(@) In child care centers, potentially hazardous items, sueh-as including [but-not-timited-to;] archenrequipment; hand
and power tools, nails, chemicals, propane stoves, lawn mowers, and gasoline or kerosene, whether or not intended
for use by children, shall be stored in locked areas, ershal-be removed from the premises premises, or otherwise
inaccessible to children.

(b) Firearms and ammunition are prohibited in a licensed child care facility unless carried by a law enforcement
officer.

(c) Electrical-outlets-notinuse-which-are When not in use, electrical outlets and power strips located in space used
by the children shall have [appreved] safety outlets or be covered with safety plugs unless located behind furniture or

equipment that cannot be moved by a child.

(d) Electric fans shall be mounted out of the reach of children or shall be fitted with a mesh guard to prevent access
by children.

(e) All electrical appliances shall be used only in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. For appliances with
heating elements, such as bottle warmers, crock pots, irons, coffee pots, or curling irons, neither the appliance nor the
any cord eoref-applicable; shall be accessible to preschool-age children.

(f) Electrical cords shall not be accessible to infants and toddlers. Extension cords, except as approved by the local
fire inspector, shall not be used. Frayed or cracked electrical cords shall be replaced.

(9) All materials used for starting fires, such as matches, matches-and lighters, and accelerants shall be kept in locked

storage. storage-orshall-be-stored-out-of the reach-of children:

(h) Sweking Smoking, including use of e-Cigarettes, by staff is not permitted in-space-used-by-children-when-children
are-present: on the premises of the child care center. All smoking materials shall be kept in locked storage. storage

or-out-of thereach-of-children:
(i) Fuel burning heaters, fireplaces, and floor furpaces furnaces, if applicable, shall be provided with a protective

screen attached seeurely to supports to prevent access by children and to prevent objects from being thrown into them.

(j) Toxic plants Plants shall be inaccessible to children. ehildren-thatare-toxic-shall-netbe-in-indoororoutdoorspace

that-is—used-by—oer-is—aceessible-to-children: A list of toxic plants may be found on the Division’s website at
http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf forms/form16b_bb.pdf .

(k) Air conditioning units shall be located so that they are not accessible to children or shall be fitted with a mesh
guard to prevent objects from being thrown into them.

(I Gas tanks and gas or charcoal grills shall be located-se-they-are-net-acecessible inaccessible to the children or shall
be in a protective enclosure. enclosure-orsurrounded-by-aprotective-guard:

(m) Cribs and playpens shall be placed so that the children occupying them shall not have access to cords or ropes,

such as venetian blind cords.
(n) Once aday, prior to initial use, the indoor and outdoor premises shall be checked for debris, vandalism, and broken

equipment. Debris shall be removed and dispesed- disposed of.
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(o) Plastic bags, toys, and toy parts small enough to be swallowed, and materials that can be easiy torn apart such as
foam rubber and styrofoam, shall not be accessible to children under three years of age—exceptthat age. However,
styrofoam plates and larger pieces of foam rubber may be used for supervised art activities and styrofoam plates may
be used for food service. Latex and rubberbaleens; Jump ropes and rubber bands shall not be accessible to children
under five years of age. age without adult supervision. Balloons shall be [prehibited] prohibited for children of all

ages.
(p) When non-ambulatory children are in care, a crib or other device shall be available for evacuation in case of fire

or other emergency. The crib or other device shall be fitted with wheels in order to be easily moveable, have a
reinforced bottom, and shall be able to fit through the designated fire exit. For centers that do not meet NC Building
Code for institutional occupancy, building-cede; and the exit is more than eight inches above grade, the center shall

develop a written plan to ensure a safe and-immediate evacuation of the crib or other device. The operator shall

physically demonstrate this written plan to the Division for review and approval. During the required fire, lockdown,

or shelter-in-place drills, an evacuation crib or other device shall be used in the manner described in the Emergency
Preparedness and Response Plan as defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0607(c).

(q) A firstaid First Aid kit shall always be available on site: site and [easHy] accessible to staff. Each staff member
shall be aware of the location of the [first-aid] First Aid Kit.

(r) Fire drills shall be practiced monthly in-accordance-with-10A-NCAC-09-0607(a) and records shall be maintained
as required by 10A NCAC 09 .0302(d)(5).

(s) A=x i = “shelter-in-place” or "lockdown drill" as defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102 shall be
conducted at least every three months and records shall be maintained as required by 10A NCAC 09 :08302(8)
.0302(d)(8).

(t) Each center shall establish safe procedures for pick-up and delivery of children. These procedures shall be

communicated to parents, and a copy shall be posted in the center where [they] it can be seen by the parents.
(u) In child care centers, potential [bie-contaminants] bio-contaminants shall be stored in locked areas or shall be

removed from the premises or otherwise inaccessible to children. [ehildren—and-disposed—of appropriately] For

purposes of this Rule, a “bio-contaminant” includes bodily fluids, soiled diapers and wipes, and medical waste such

as syringes.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-91(3),{6); 110-88; 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1991;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; November 1, 1991;
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; February 1, 2012; July 1, 2010; December 1, 2007; April 1, 2001;
July 1, 1998;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission

RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0608

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), please consider moving the definition of “staff” to (d). The definition does not
seem to fit in Paragraph (a).

In (a)(1), please change “recognizing, responding to, and reporting” to “how to
recognize, respond to, and report...”

In (a)(3), do you really intend the policy to only include how to care for infants? If so,
please make this a separate sub-paragraph.

In (a)(4), what do you mean by “developmentally appropriate™? | know that this phrase is
used throughout your rules, is this defined somewhere? Is your regulated public familiar
with this term?

In (b), are centers required to provide this information to families already enrolled at the
time of the Rule’s effective date? Also, what is your authority to require a parent sign the
statement? Should it instead read “the center shall obtain the parent’s signature”?

In (c), please change “must” to “shall.” Also, what is your authority to require a parent
sign the statement? Should it instead read “the center shall obtain the parent’s
signature™?

In (d), are centers required to provide this information to staff members already providing
care at the time of the Rule’s effective date?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.
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Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016



TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .0608 PREVENTION OF SHAKEN BABY SYNDROME AND ABUSIVE HEAD
TRAUMA

3. Action: X Adoption ] Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
a. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016
b. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016
d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016
. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016
f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

D

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The adoption of this rule is necessary to implement the safety requirements for the prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma.
This is one of the health and safety topics that’s required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014. This rule is a part of a group of
rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by
the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds
help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and
training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 .

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .0608 is adopted with changes under temporary procedures as follows:
10A NCAC 09.0608 PREVENTION OF SHAKEN BABY SYNDROME AND ABUSIVE HEAD TRAUMA

(a) Each child care center licensed to care for children up to five years of age shall develop and adopt policies to

prevent shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma. For purposes of this Rule, “staff” includes the operator,

additional caregivers, substitute providers, and uncompensated providers. The policy shall include [but-notbetimited

to] the following:
Q) Recognizing, responding to, and reporting the signs and symptoms of shaken baby syndrome and

abusive head trauma. Signs and symptoms include: irritability, difficulty staying awake, difficulty

breathing, inability to lift the head, seizures, lack of appetite, vomiting, and bruises;

2 Strategies to assist staff members in coping with a crying, fussing, or distraught child;

3) Strategies to ensure staff members understand the brain development of children up to five years of
age and how to [preperly] care for infants;

4) A list of prohibited behaviors that staff members shall follow in order to care for children in a [safe]

developmentally appropriate manner. Prohibited behaviors shall [iaclude] include, but not be

limited to, shaking a child, tossing a child into the air or into a crib, chair, or car seat, and pushing a
child into walls, doors, and furniture; and
(5) Resources to assist staff members and families in preventing shaken baby syndrome and abusive
head trauma.
(b) A copy of the policy shall be given and explained to the parents of children up to five years of age on or before
the first day the child receives care at the center. The parent shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and
explanation of the policy. The acknowledgement shall contain the following:
Q) The child’s name;
(2) The date the child first attended the center;

3) The date the operator’s policy was given and explained to the parent;
4 The parent’s name;
(5) The parent’s signature; and

(6) The date the parent signed the acknowledgment.
The child care center shall retain the acknowledgement in the child’s file.
(c) Ifachild care center changes the policy at any time, the child care center must give written notice of [sueh-a] the
change to the child’s parent 14 days prior to the implementation of the new policy and the parent [rust] shall sign a
statement that attests that a copy of the new policy was given to and discussed with him or her. This statement shall
be kept in the child’s file.
(d) Each child care center shall review the policy with staff members prior to the individual providing care to children.
The acknowledgement of this review shall contain:

) The individual’s name;

] [Fhe-date-the-individual-began-caring-for-children;]
[63)] (2) The date the center’s policy was given and explained to the individual;

1
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[€4)] (3) The individual’s signature; and

[€5)] (4) The date the individual signed the acknowledgment.
The child care center shall retain the acknowledgement in the staff member’s [personnel] file.
(e) If a child care center changes the policy at any time, the child care center shall review the revised policy with staff
members 14 days prior to the implementation of the new policy. The individual shall sign a statement that attests that

a copy of the new policy was given to and discussed with him or her. This statement shall be kept in the staff member’s

[personnel] file.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 143B-168.3;
Temporary Adoption Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0705
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), please indicate whether the incorporation by reference includes subsequent
amendments and editions pursuant to 150B-21.6.

In (b), please delete or define “successfully” on lines 13. Are basic first aid and basis
first aid appropriate for the ages of children in care different? If not, there appears to be
a conflict in requirements.

In (c), please delete or define “prominent.”

Just so I'm clear are the requirements in (b) for staff members who accompany children
off premises and (d) is for staff members who provided care at the center? Please
consider adding some additional clarification regarding these requirements. Please also
consider switching (c) and (d).

In (e), line 23, and (f), line 1, in what form will the verification be? Is this a certificate
given after completion of the training? By whom is the training conducted

In (f) and (g), are staff that are employed at the time of the effective date of this Rule
required to complete this training? If so, when?

In (g), in what form will the verification be?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016

69



TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09.0705 SPECIAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The amendment of this rule is necessary to implement the safety training requirements for staff who are caring for children in child care. This is one
of the health and safety topics that’s required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are
needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG
provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families
pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas
outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 med& xR Cuéﬂa.;ﬁ‘

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .0705 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09.0705 SPECIAL TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

- A copy
of Caring for Our Children: Appendix A shall be located in the child care facility for referral regarding common signs

and symptoms of illness. The book is incorporated by reference and is available free of charge online at

http://cfoc.nrckids.org.
(b)

All staff who provide direct care or accompany children when they are off premises shall successfully complete

certification in basic First Aid appropriate for the ages of children in care. The training shall be completed within six
weeks of [empleyment—hewever;] employment. At all times when children are in care at least one staff member

present must have successfully completed basic First Aid [trairing:] training, as evidenced by a certificate or card

from an approved training organization. First Aid training shall be renewed on or before expiration of the certification.

Verification of each required staff persen’s member’s completion of this course from an approved training organization
shall be maintained in the persen'sindividual staff member’s persennel file in the center. The Division shall post a list
of approved training organizations on its website at http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_sn2_ov_pd.asp. Fhe-basie

(c) A firstaid First Aid information sheet shall be posted in a prominent place for quick referral- referral by staff

members. A child care operator may request a First Aid information sheet An-aceeptable-form-may-berequested-free
ofcharge from the North Carolina Child Care Health and Safety Resource Senter: Center at 1-800-367-2229.

(d) Each-child-care-center-shall-have aast-one-pe on-on-the_premise al-times—and-at_least-one—pe
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staff member present must have successfully completed CPR training. The training shall be completed within six

weeks of employment. “Successfully completed” is defined as demonstrating competency, as evaluated by the

instructor, in performing CPR. All staff who provide direct care or accompany children when they are off premises

shall successfully complete certification in a cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course appropriate for the ages of

children in care. [

-] CPR training shall be
renewed on or before the expiration of the certification. Verification of each staff member’s completion of this course
from an approved training organization shall be maintained in the [persenr’s-individual-personnel] staff member’s file

in_the center. The Division shall post a list of approved training organizations on its website at

http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_sn2 ov_pd.asp.

(e) Staff shall complete at least four clock hours of training in safety. This training shall address playground safety
hazards, playground supervision, maintenance and general upkeep of the outdoor area, and age and developmentally
appropriate playground equipment. Staff counted to comply with this Rule shall have six months from the date of
employment, or from the date a vacancy occurs, to complete the required safety training. The number of staff required

to complete this training shall be as follows:

Q) In centers with a licensed capacity of less than 30 children, at least one staff person shall complete
this training.
2 In centers with a licensed capacity of 30 or more children, at least two staff, including the

administrator, shall complete this training.

Verification of each staff member’s completion of this course shall be maintained in the staff member’s file in the

center.

(f) In centers that are licensed to care for infants, infants-ages-12-months-and-younger—the-center-director-and-any

completion-of previousHFS-SIDS-training- the child care administrator and any child care provider scheduled to work

in the infant room shall complete ITS-SIDS training. ITS-SIDS training shall be completed within two months of an

individual assuming responsibilities in the infant room and every three years thereafter. Child care administrators, as

defined in G.S. 110-86(2a), shall complete ITS-SIDS training within two months of employment and every three years

thereafter. Completion of ITS-SIDS training may shall be included once every three years in the number of hours

needed to meet annualin-service ongoing training requirements in Section .0700 of this Chapter. At all times, at least

one child care provider who has completed ITS-SIDS training shall be present in the infant room while children are
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ion: Verification of each staff member’s

completion of this course shall be maintained in the staff member’s file in the center.

(q) The child care administrator and all staff members shall complete Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of

Child Maltreatment training within two months of employment and every three years thereafter. Completion of

Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training shall be included once every three years in

the number of hours needed to meet ongoing training requirements in Section .0700 of this Chapter. Recognizing and

Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training is available at

[https:Hwanpreventchildabusene-org:] hitps://www.preventchildabusenc.org/services/trainings-and-professional-

development/rrcourse. Verification of each staff member’s completion of this course shall be maintained in the staff

member’s file in the center.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 410-85; 110-88; 110-91(1),(8); 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. January 1, 1996; January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991; January 1, 1987; Temporary
Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2008; November 1, 2005; May 1, 2004; July 1, 1998;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0706
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (), how is this training to be offered? Will it be in-person? Online? Will the topics be
separate trainings?

In (b), please change “must” to “shall.”

In (b)(2), what is meant by “consistent with standards for parental consent”?

Why have cross-references been provided for some of the sub-paragraphs (b)(1)
through (b)(11), but not for all. Aren’t all of these required elsewhere in Rule? Please

note that | am not requesting that cross-references be provided for all topics.

In (c), by “may”, do you mean “shall"? If you do mean “may”, under what circumstances
will the training count toward in-service training?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09.0706 HEALTH AND SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

3. Action: X  Adoption [ ] Amendment [ ] Repeal
4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The adoption of this rule is necessary to implement the health and safety training requirements for child care administrators and staff who are caring
for children in child care. This rule lists the 11 topic areas required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 that must be completed
by June 2017. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or
continuing their education and training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in
place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in
the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 med.a_ & C\_Ana'.:?‘

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:

Temporary Rule 0500 — 11/2014 77



© 00 N O O b WO DN P

N RPN NRNONNDNRNDND R R R R R R B PR
© N U R WNRELPROOO®DW-NOOOMOWDNIEPRO

10A NCAC 09 .0706 is adopted with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .0706 HEALTH AND SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

(@) Child care administrators and staff members shall complete health and safety training offered by the Division no
later than June 30, 2017.

(b) The training must include the following topic areas:

(1)
()
3)
(4)

(5)

(6)

()

(8)

(©)

(10)

(11)

Prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection

from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular
traffic;

Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster,
or a man-caused event;

Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of [bio-centaminants] bio-

contaminants;

Precautions in transporting [ehidren] children, if applicable;

Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

CPR and First Aid training as required in Subparagraphs .0705(b) and (d) of this Section; [and]
Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment as required in Subparagraph
.0705(g) of this [Seetion:] Section; and

Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

(c) Training hours accrued for the completion of this requirement may count toward in-service training. However,

child care administrators and staff members must complete the health and safety training even if the number of hours

accrued exceeds required in-service training, as specified in Rule .0707 of this Section.

History Note:
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0707
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), do you mean that the “orientation training required pursuant to this Paragraph
shall not be counted toward annual ongoing training requirements as set forth in
Paragraph (c) of this Rule™?

In (a), please provide a cross-reference to the “annual ongoing training requirements.”

In (b), what are “appropriate precautions in transporting children™? Please delete or
define “appropriate.”

In (b), please delete or define “successfully” in “successfully complete CPR and First Aid
training.”

In (c), please change “facility” to “center” for purposes of consistency.

In (c)(4), what is meant by “arrangement™? Do you mean “licensed child care center or
home™?

In (d), what do you mean by “the option”? Do you mean Sub-Paragraph (c)(5)? Also, is
the intent really that a person either take 20 hours of the pro-rated amount? What about
for staff working less than 40 hours a week who has a 4-year degree and would only
need to take 5 hours of training. Please clarify.

In (e), by “may”, do you mean “shall”? If not, under what circumstances will the
coursework be counted toward in-service training requirements? |Is this left to the choice
of the staff member?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .0707 IN-SERVICE AND ORIENTATION TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The amendment of this rule is necessary to implement the health and safety training requirements during orientation for new employees who will be
caring for children in child care. This is one of the health and safety topics that’s required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule
is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF)
that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and
training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health
and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and
require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 C\/éf)'

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .0707 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .0707 IN-SERVICE AND ORIENTATION TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
(a) Each center shall assure ensure that each new employee who is expected to have contact with children receives a

minimum of 16 clock hours of on-site training and orientation within the first six weeks of employment. As part of

this orientation, each new employee shall complete six clock hours of training within the first two weeks of

employment. Training required pursuant to this Rule shall not be counted toward annual ongoing training

requirements. Fhis-training-and-orientation-shat-include:

T EE83SSEE B

Rule: Training topics for orientation shall include:

Within first two (2) weeks of employment Within first six (6) weeks of employment

neglect, or maltreatment pursuant to G.S. 110-105.4 and | operations
G.S. 7B-301

Recognizing, responding to, and reporting child abuse, | [Fist-hand] Firsthand observation of the center’s daily

Review of the center’s operational policies, including the | Instruction in the employee’s assigned duties

center’s safe sleep policy for infants, the Emergency

Preparedness and Response Plan, and the emergency

medical care plan

Adequate supervision of children in accordance with 10A | Instruction in the maintenance of a safe and healthy
NCAC 09 .0714 [-4864] environment; building and physical premises safety,

including identification of and protection from hazards that
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can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of

water, and vehicular traffic

Information regarding prevention of shaken baby | Instruction in the administration of medication to children in
syndrome and abusive head trauma accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .0803

Prevention and control of infectious diseases, including | [Review-efthe-center’spurpeses-and-goals]

immunization

Appropriate precautions in transporting children, if | Review of G.S. 110, Article 7 and 10A NCAC 09 [the-child

applicable

liconsin les]

An explanation of the role of State and local government

agencies in the requlation of child care, their impact on the

operation of the center, and their availability as a resource

An explanation of the employee’s obligation to cooperate

with representatives of State and local government agencies

during visits and investigations

Successfully complete CPR and First Aid training

Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and
allergic reactions

Review of the center’s handling and storage of hazardous
materials and the appropriate disposal of [bie-contaminants]
bio-contaminants

(c) The child care administrator and any staff who have responsibility for planning and supervising a child care

facility, as well

follows:

(1)

2

3)

(4)

(5)

as staff who work directly with children, shall participate in in-service training activities annually, as

persons with a four year degree or higher advanced degree in a child care related field of study from
a regionally accredited college or university shall complete five clock hours of training;

persons with a two year degree in a child care related field of study from a regionally accredited
college or university, or persons with a North Carolina Early Childhood Administration Credential
or its equivalent shall complete eight clock hours of training;

persons with a certificate or diploma in a child care related field of study from a regionally accredited
college or university, or persons with a North Carolina Early Childhood Credential or its equivalent
shall complete 10 clock hours of training;

persons with at least 10 years documented, professional experience as a teacher, director, or
caregiver in a licensed child care arrangement shall complete 15 clock hours of training; or

shall complete 20 clock hours of training.
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10
11
12

13
14

15
16
17
18

H(d) Any staff working less than 40 hours per week may choose the option for 20 hours of in-service training, or the

training requirement may be prorated as follows:

WORKING HOURS PER CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED

WEEK

0-10 5
11-20 10
21-30 15
31-40 20

(e) Coursework [appropriate-to-job-responsibilities] taken at [a+regionaky] an accredited college or university which

addresses staff development topic areas specified in G.S. 110-91(11) may be counted toward in-service training

requirements.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-91(11); 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; January 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; October 29, 1998; October 1, 1991;
November 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; January 1, 1987;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .0801
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), by “in care” do you mean “enrolled in a child care center"?

In (a)(6)(A), either add “any” before “dietary, environmental...” or delete “that are

applicable.”

Since it is not actually part of the application, please consider making (a)(6) it's own
paragraph, and reword to say “for any child with health care needs, such as allergies,
asthma, or other chronic conditions that require health services, a medical action plan
shall be attached to the application. The medical action plan shall be completed by the
child’s parent or a health care professional and including the following:...” If you chose
to do this, | would make (a)(6) into (b).

In (b), please consider making (b)(1) through (b)(3) into their own paragraphs. For
example, (b)(1) would read “Center administrators and staff shall release a child only to
an individual listed on the application.” (b)(2) would read “the information contained in
Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(8) of this Rule shall be accessible to caregiving staff
during the time the child is in care.”

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09.0801 APPLICATION FOR ENROLLMENT

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:

. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

o o

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The amendment of this rule sets the standards on what is included on the child’s enrollment application such as the emergency medical information,
the medical action plan, allergies and any health concerns that the child may have. These areas are included in the health and safety topics required by the Child
Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act
requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in
child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health
and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are
not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 -

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .0801 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .0801 APPLICATION FOR ENROLLMENT
(@) Each child in care shall have an individual application for enrollment completed and signed by the child's parent,
as defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102. legal-guardian—orful-time-custodian: The completed, signed application shall be

on file in the center on the first day the child attends and shall include the following information:

&

EeRE @

5!

B

BB

88

Emergency medical information as [speeified] set forth in Rule .0802(b) of this Section;

The child’s full name and the name the child is to be called:;
The child’s date of birth;
Any [aHergies-symptoms-ofand-the-type] allergies and the symptoms and type of response required

for allergic reactions;

Any health care needs or concerns, symptoms of and the type of response required for these health

care needs or concerns;

A completed medical action plan shall be attached to the application for children with health care

needs such as allergies, asthma, or other chronic conditions that require specialized health services.

The medical action plan shall be completed by the child’s parent or a health care professional and

include the following information:

(A) a list of the child’s [diagnesisidiagneses;] diagnosis or diagnoses including dietary,
[environmental] environmental, and activity considerations that are applicable;

(B) contact information for the health care professional(s);

© medications to be administered on a scheduled basis; and

(D) medications to be administered on an emergency basis with [elearly-stated-signs;
symptens] symptoms, and instructions.

The medical action plan shall be updated on an annual basis. Sample medical action plans may be

found on the Division’s website at http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_provideforms.asp;

Particular fears; fears or unique behavior characteristics that the child has; and

The names of individuals to whom the center may release the [ehild] child, as authorized by the

person who signs the application.
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(b)
children-are-present: Center administrators and staff members shall:
Q) [enly] release a child only to an individual listed on the application:;

2 have the information provided in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (8) of this Rule, contained within
the application, [readily] available and [easiy] accessible to caregiving staff during the time the
[ehildren-are] child is in care; and

3) use the information provided on the application to ensure that each individual child’s needs are met

during the time the child is in care.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 116-91(9); 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. November 1, 1989;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1701
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (g), please delete or define “immediately.”

In (h)(2), please delete “if needed.”

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09.1701 GENERAL PROVISIONS RELATED TO LICENSURE OF HOMES

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The amendment of this rule sets the standards for potential operators of family child care homes to obtain licensure. This rule covers the 11 areas that
are included in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are
needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG
provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families
pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas
outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 .

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1701 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

SECTION .1700 - FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME REQUIREMENTS

10A NCAC 09 .1701 GENERAL PROVISIONS RELATED TO LICENSURE OF
HOMES
(@ All family child care homes shall comply with the standards for licensure set forth in this Section. A one- star
rated license shall be issued to a family child care home operator who complies with the minimum standards for a
license contained in this Section and G.S. 110-91.
(b) An individual who provides care for five hours or more in a week; week during planned absences of the eperator;
operator shall be at least 21 years old, have a high school diploma or GED, have completed a first-aid First Aid and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) course as described in Rule .1705, Subparagraphs (a)(3), and (a)(4) (a}4);
b)) —and{b)3) of this Section, have completed a health questionnaire, have proof of negative results of a
tuberculosis test completed within 12 months prior to the first day of providing care, submit criminal records check
forms as required in 10A NCAC 09 :2702; .2703 and annual in-service training as described in Rule .1705(b)(5) of
this Section. While the individual provides care at a family child care home, copies of required information shall be
on file in the home available for review by the Division.
(c) Anindividual who provides care for less than five hours in a week; week during planned absences of the operator
shall meet all requirements listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, except the requirements for annual in-service training
and a high school diploma or GED. The individual shall be literate.
(d) The operator shall conduct 16 hours of orientation review-the appropriaterequirements found-in-this-Chapter;
including-the-Emergency-Preparedness-and-Response-Plan,-and-in-G-S—Chapter-110,-Article-7 with any caregivers,
including substitute [previders] providers, and volunteers, individuals who are providing care prior to the individuals
assuming-responsibitity-for individual being left alone with the ehildren- children as follows:
(€3] recognizing, responding to, and reporting child abuse, neglect, or maltreatment
pursuant to G.S. 110-105.4 and G.S. 7B-301;

(2 review of the home’s operational policies, including the written plan of care, safe sleep policy, and
the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan;

3) adequate supervision of children in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .1718(a);

4 information regarding prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

(5) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization:;

(6) firsthand [first-hand] observation of the home’s daily operations;

(€8] instruction regarding assigned duties;

(8) instruction in the maintenance of a safe and healthy environment;

9 instruction in the administration of medication to children in accordance with 10A NCAC 09
.1720(c);

(10) review of the home’s purposes and goals;

a1 review of G.S. 110, Article 7 and 10A NCAC 09;
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an explanation of the role of State and local government agencies in the regulation of child care,

their impact on the operation of the center, and their availability as a resource;

government agencies during visits and investigations;

(12)
(13) an explanation of the individual’s obligation to cooperate with representatives of State and local
(14)

completion of CPR and First Aid training; and

(15) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions.

The operator and individual providing care shall sign and date a statement which that attests that this review was
completed. This statement shall be kept on file in the home available for review by the Division.
(e) Anindividual who provides care during unplanned absences of the operator, such as medical emergencies, shall
be at least 18 years old and submit criminal records check forms as required in 10A NCAC 09 .2703(j). 2702
Paragraph-(j)- The children of an emergency caregiver shall not be counted in the licensed capacity for the first day of
the emergency caregiver's service.
(F) The provisions of G.S. 110-90.2 which that exclude persons with certain criminal records or personal habits or
behavior which may be harmful to children from operating or being employed in a family child care home are-hereby
incorporated-by reference-and shall also apply to any person on the premises with the operator's permission when the
children are present. This exclusion shall not apply to parents or other persons who enter the home only for the purpose
of performing parental responsibilities; nor does it include persons who enter the home for briefperiedsfor the purpose
of conducting business with the operator and who are not left alone with the children.
(g) The parent of a child enrolled in any family child care home subject to regulation under G.S. 110, Article 7 shall
be allowed unlimited access to the home during its operating hours for the purposes of contacting the child or
evaluating the home and the care provided by the operator. The parent shall notify the operator of his or her presence
immediately upon entering the premises.
(h) An operator licensed to care for children overnight may sleep during the nighttime hours when all the children are
asleep, provided:
Q) the operator and the children in care, excluding the operator's own children, are on ground level,
)] the operator can hear and respond guiekly to the children if needed; and
3) a battery operated smoke detector or an electrically operated (with a battery backup) smoke detector
is located in each room where children are sleeping.
(i) Each operator shall develop and adopt a written plan of care for completing routine tasks (including running
errands, meeting family and personal demands, and attending classes) to ensure that reutine the tasks shall not interfere
with the care of children during hours of operation. The plan shall:
(1) specify typical times for completing routine tasks and include those times on the written schedule,
or specify that routine tasks will not occur during hours of operation;
)] specify the names of any individuals, such as additional caregivers or substitutes, who will be
responsible for the care of children when the operator is attending to routine tasks;
3) specify how the operator shall maintain compliance with transportation requirements specified in
10A NCAC 09 .1723 if children are transported;
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4 specify how parents will be notified when children accompany the operator off premises for routine
tasks not specified on the written schedule;
(5) specify any other steps the operator shall take to ensure routine tasks will not interfere with the care
of children; and
(6) be given provided and explained to parents of children in care on or before the first day the child
attends the home. Parents shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation of the
plan. Parents shall also give written permission for their child to be transported by the operator for
specific routine tasks that are included on the written schedule. The acknowledgment and written
parental permission shall be retained in the child's record as long as the child is enrolled at the home
and a copy of each document shall be maintained on file for review by the Division.
(j) If the operator amends the written plan, the operator shall give written notice of the amendment to parents of all
enrolled children at least 30 days before the amended plan is implemented. Each parent shall sign a statement
acknowledging the receipt and explanation of the amendment. The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the
child's records as long as the child is enrolled in the home and a copy shall be maintained on file for review by the
Division.

History Note:  Authority G.S. £40-85; 110-85(1); $16-86(3); 110-88(1); 110-91; 4106-99: 110-105; 143B-168.3;
Eff. January 1, 1986;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; May 1, 2013; November 1, 2006; April 1, 2003; April 1, 1999; July 1,
1998; January 1, 1991; January 1, 1990; July 1, 1988; January 1, 1987;
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission

RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1702

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), what information is required in the application form? Are the contents set forth
elsewhere in rule or statute?

In (c)(5), what is to be included in the health questionnaire? Is this set forth elsewhere in
rule or statute?

In (c)(6), please delete or define “current.”

In (d), please delete or define “complete.” Please note that providing the information
requested above for (a) will eliminate this issue.

In (f)(6), who will substantiate the abuse, neglect, or maltreatment?

In (f)(7), how is an applicant or a household member disqualified? Pursuant to the
applicable rules and statutes?

In (f)(7), what is “FCCH"? | assume family child care homes, but this is the first time that
| have seen it abbreviated.

In (i), please change “is” to “shall be.”

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.
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Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016



TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1702 APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE FOR A FAMILY CHILD CARE
HOME

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
a. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016
b. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016
d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016
. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

= @

Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

«

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:

Effective date:

A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.

Effective date of change: November 19, 2014

A recent federal regulation.

Cite:

Effective date:

A recent court order.

Cite order:

State Medical Facilities Plan.

[] Other:

O o O x

Explaln: The amendment of this rule sets the guidelines and requirements needed in order to obtain a license for a family child care home for the potential
provider. This amendment requires documentation for IT-SIDs training to help with the prevention of sudden infant death syndrome. This rule covers some of the
topics listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are
needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG
provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families
pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas
outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 )

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[ ] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1702 amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .1702 APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE FOR A FAMILY CHILD CARE HOME

(@) Any person who plans to operate a family child care home (FCCH) shall apply for a license using a form provided

by the Division. Only one licensed family child care home shall operate at the location address of any home. The

form can be found on the Division’s website at http://ncchildcare.dhhs.state.nc.us/general/mb_customerservice.asp.

{e) (b) The applicant shall ensure that the family child care home complies with the following requirements:

(1)

)
®3)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

single-wide single-wide manufactured homes are limited to a maximum of three preschool-age
children {ret (no more than two may be two years of age or less) and two school-age children;

all children are kept on the ground level with an exit at grade;

all homes are equipped with an electrically operated (with a battery backup) smoke detector, or one
electrically operated and one battery operated smoke detector located next to each other;

all homes are provided with at least one five pound 2-A: 10-B: C type extinguisher for every 2,500
square feet of floor area;

heating appliances shall be installed and maintained according to NC Building Code Chapter
603.5.3;

all indoor areas used by children are heated when the temperature is below 65 degrees and ventilated
when the temperature is above 85 degrees; and

pipes or radiators that are hot enough to be capable of burning children and are accessible to the

children are covered or insulated.

{d) (c) The applicant shall also submit supporting documentation with the application for a license to the Division. The

supporting documentation shall include:

(1)
()

3)
$3)(4)
“4H(5)

a copy of a non-expired qualification letter in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .2702;
a copy of documentation of completion of a first-aid First Aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR) course;

a copy of documentation of completion of ITS-SIDS training;

proof of negative results of the applicant's tuberculosis test completed within the past 12 months;

a completed health questionnaire;

99



© 00 N O O b W DN P

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
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19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37

(5)(6)
&)1

H(8)
)9

a copy of current pet vaccinations for any pet in the home;
if a home has a private well, a negative well water bacteriological analysis; anralysis--the-home-has

copies of any inspections required by local ordinances; and

any other documentation required by the Division according to the rules in this Section to support

the issuance of a license.

{e) (d) Upon receipt of a complete application and supporting documentation, a Division representative shall make an

announced visit to each home. An announced visit is not required by a Division representative if the applicant is

subject to the circumstances in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. The issuance of a license applies as follows:

(1)

2

3)

if all applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Section are met, a license shall be
issued;

if the applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Section are not met, butthe-apphicant
has-the-potential-to-comply; the Division representative shall establish with the applicant a time
period for the home to achieve compliance. If the Division representative determines that all
applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Section are met within the established time
period, a license shall be issued; or

if all applicable requirements of G.S. 110, Article 7 and this Section are not met or cannot be met

within the established time, the Division shall deny the application.

€6 (e) The Division shall allow the applicant to operate prior to the Division representative's visit described in

Paragraph (e) of this Rule when the applicant is currently licensed as a family child care home operator, needs to

reloeate relocate, and notifies the Division of the relocation, and the Division representative is unable to visit before

the relocation occurs. An applicant shall not operate until he or she has received from the Division either temporary

permission to operate or a license.

{g} (f) The Secretary may deny the application for the license under the following circumstances:

(1)

2

)

(4)

100

if any child care facility license previously held by the applicant has been denied, revoked, or
summarily suspended by the Division;

if the Division initiated denial, revocation, or summary suspension proceedings against any child
care facility license previously held by the applicant and the applicant voluntarily relinquished the
license;

during the pendency of an appeal of a denial, revocation, or summary suspension of any other child
care facility license held by the applicant;

if the Division determines that the applicant has a relationship with an operator or former operator
who previously held a license under an administrative action described in Subparagraphs (g)(1), (2),
or (3) of this Rule. As used in this Rule, an applicant has a relationship with a former operator if
the former operator would be involved with the applicant's child care facility in one or more of the
following ways:

(A) would participate in the administration or operation of the facility;
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(5)

(6)

()

(B) has a financial interest in the operation of the facility;

(© provides care to the children at the facility;

(D) resides in the facility; or

(E) would be on the facility's board of directors, be a partner of the corporation, or otherwise
have responsibility for the administration of the business;

based on the applicant’s previous non-compliance as an operator with the requirements of G.S. 110,

Acrticle 7 or this Chapter;

if abuse-ernegleet abuse, neglect, or child maltreatment has been substantiated against the applicant

or ahousehold member; or

if the applicant is a disqualified child care provider or has a disqualified household member residing
in the FCCH.

) (9) In determining whether denial of the application for a license is warranted pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this

Rule, the Division shall consider:

(1)

()

)

(4)

(5)

any documentation provided by the applicant which that describes the steps the applicant will take
to prevent reoccurrence of noncompliance issues that led to any prior administrative action taken
against a license previously held by the applicant;

training certificates or original transcripts for any coursework from a nationally recognized
regionally accredited institution of higher learning related to providing guality child care, and that
was taken subsequent to any prior administrative action against a license previously held by the
applicant. “Nationally recognized” means that every state in this nation acknowledges the validity
of the coursework taken at higher education institutions that meet the requirements of one of the
accrediting bodies;

proof of employment in a licensed child care facility and references from the administrator or
licensee of the child care facility regarding work performance;

documentation of collaboration or mentorship with a licensed child care provider to obtain
additional knowledge and experience related to operation of a child care facility; and
documentation explaining relationships with persons meeting the criteria listed in Subparagraph
(9)(4) of this Rule.

£ (h) The license shall not be bought, sold, or transferred from one individual to another.

& (i) The license is valid only for the location address listed on it.

@ () The license must shall be returned to the Division in the event of termination, revocation, suspension, or

summary suspension.

& (k) A licensee shall notify the Division if a change occurs that affects the information shown on the license.

History Note:

Authority G.S. £16-85; 110-86; 110-88(5); 110-91; 410-94(4); 110-93; 110-99; 143B-168.3;

Eff. January 1, 1986;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2014; December 1, 2012; August 1, 2011; July 1, 2010; April 1, 2003; April
1, 2001; July 1, 1998; January 1, 1991; November 1, 1989; January 1, 1987;

3
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Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1705
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a)(1), how is it determined whether an operator's health may adversely affect the
care of the children. | understand that it will be based on observations and complaints,
but is there any additional information that can be provided.

In (a)(3) and (a)(4), please consider moving “within 12 months prior to applying for a
license” to after “children in care.”

In (b), upon what circumstances will the Division require written proof?

In (b)(5), when will the coursework count toward ongoing training requirements? Upon
request of the operator?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1705 HEALTH AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY CHILD
CARE HOME OPERATORS

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
a. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016
b. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016
d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016
. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016
f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

D

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: This amendment requires the potential provider to complete a pre-licensing orientation with the Division that includes training topics such as
recognizing, responding to, and reporting child abuse, neglect or maltreatment, the home’s operational policies, safe sleep policies, written plan of care and their
emergency response plan, etc.. This rule covers some of the topics listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant
(CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and
Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or
continuing their education and training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in
place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in
the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov me : @ (,\_/é_na,_:P"

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1705 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .1705 HEALTH AND TRAINING REQUIREMENTS FOR FAMILY

CHILD CARE HOME OPERATORS

() Prior to receiving a license, each family child care home operator shall:

106

(1)

)

3)

(4)

Complete and keep on file a health questionnaire which that attests to the operator's physical and
emotional ability to care for children. The Division may require a written statement or medical
examination report signed by a licensed physician or other authorized health professional if there is
reason to believe that the operator's health may adversely affect the care of the children based upon
observations and complaints made to the Division.

Obtain written proof that he or she is free of active tuberculosis. The results indicating the individual
is free of active tuberculosis shall be obtained within 12 months prior to applying for a license.

Successfully complete Cemplete within 12 months prior to applying for a license a basic first-aid

First Aid course appropriate for the ages of children in care. Successful completion shall be

evidenced by a certificate or card from an approved training organization. First Aid training shall

be renewed on or before expiration of the certification. Verification of completion of this course

from an approved training organization shall be maintained in the operator’s file. The Division shall

post a list of approved training organizations on its website at

http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/providers/pv_sn2_ov_pd.asp. that-shal-addressprinciplesforresponding

Successfully complete within 12 months prior to applying for a license a course by the American

Heart Association or the American Red Cross or other organizations approved by the Division in
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) appropriate for the ages of children in care. Other
organizations shall be approved if the Division determines that the courses offered are substantially

equivalent to those offered by the American Red Cross. Suecessfully-completed “Successfully
completed” is defined as demonstrating competency, as evaluated by the instructor, in performing

CPR. Documentation of successful completion of the course from an approved training organization

Division shall be on file in the home. The Division shall post a list of approved training

organizations on its website at http://ncchildcare.nc.qov/providers/pv_sn2 _ov_pd.asp.

Complete a pre-licensing orientation that will be scheduled by [with] a representative of the

[Bivisien:] Division upon receipt of the application. Training required pursuant to this Rule shall

not be counted toward annual [engeing] on-going training requirements. Training topics for

orientation shall include:
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(6)

(A) recognizing, responding to, and reporting child abuse, neglect, or maltreatment pursuant to
G.S. 110-105.4 and G.S. 7B-301;

(B) review of the home’s operational policies, including the written plan of care, safe sleep
policy, and the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan;

© adequate supervision of children in accordance with 10A NCAC 09 .1718(a);

(D) information regarding prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

(E) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization:;

[(3)] first hand observation of the home’s daily operations;

(G) instruction regarding assigned duties;

(H) instruction in the maintenance of a safe and healthy environment;

[())] instruction in the administration of medication to children in accordance with 10A NCAC

09 .1720(c);
[$] [reviewof the-home’s-purpeses-and-goals;]
) review of the child care licensing law and [rules:] rules set forth in G.S. 110, Article 7 and

10A NCAC 09;

(K) an explanation of the role of State and local government agencies in the regulation of child

care, their impact on the operation of the center, and their availability as a resource;

(L) an explanation of the operator’s obligation to cooperate with representatives of State and

local government agencies during visits and investigations; and

™M) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic [reactiens] reactions.

Documentation of the pre-licensing orientation shall be provided by the Division and kept on file in

the home.

Complete ITS-SIDS training if planning to be licensed to care for infants ages 12 months and

ounger.

(b) After receiving a license, an operator shall:

)

(@)

3)

(4)

Update the health questionnaire referenced set forth in Paragraph—(a) Subparagraph (a)(1) of this
Rule annually. The Division may require the operator to obtain written proof that he or she is free

of active tuberculosis.

Complete a firstaid First Aid course as referenced set forth in Paragraph-(a} Subparagraph (a)(3) of
this Rule. First aid Aid training shall be renewed on or before expiration of the certification,
Successfully complete a CPR course as refereneed set forth in Raragraph-(a)} Subparagraph (a)(4) of
this Rule. CPR training shall be renewed on or before the expiration of the certification.
If licensed to care for infants ages 12 months and younger, complete ITS-SIDS training withinfour
months-of receiving-the-license—and-complete-it-again every three years from the completion of

previous ITS-SIDS training. Completion of ITS-SIDS training may be included once every three
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()

(6)

()

years in the number of hours needed to meet the annual in-service training requirement in Paragraph
(b)(5) of this Rule.

Complete 12 clock hours of annual in-service training in the topic areas required by G.S. 110-91(11),
except that persons with at least 10 years work experience as a caregiver in a child care arrangement
regulated by the Division of Child Development and Early Education shall complete eight clock
hours of annual in-service training. Only training which that has been approved by the Division as
referenced in Rule .0708 of this Chapter shall count toward the required hours of annual in-service
training. The operator shall maintain a record of annual in-service training activities in which he or
she has participated. The record shall include the subject matter, the topic area in G.S. 110-91(11)
covered, the name of the training provider or organization, the date training was provided and the
number of hours of training completed. First aig Aid training may be counted no more than once

every three years. Coursework applicable [apprepriate] to job responsibilities taken at a regionally

accredited college or university may be counted toward ongoing training requirements. The operator

shall maintain a record of training activities, including copies of training certificates or official

documentation provided by the trainer. That record shall include the subject matter, topic area,

training provider, date provided, hours, and name of staff who completed the training. This
documentation shall be on file. [file-and-ecurrent:]

Within one year of the effective date of the license, complete the Emergency Preparedness and

Response in Child Care training:- Training. For the purposes of this Rule, the Emergency
Preparedness and Response in Child Care is a training approved by the Division on creating an
Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan and practicing, responding to, and recovering from
emergencies in child care facilities. EXxisting operators have two years as of the effective date of
this Rule to complete the Emergency Preparedness and Response in Child Care training.
Documentation of completion of the training shall be maintained in the operator's personnel file.

Upon completion of the Emergency Preparedness and Response in Child Care training. Training,

develop the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan. The Emergency Preparedness and
Response Plan means a written plan that addresses how a child care facility will respond to both
natural and man-made disasters, such as fire, tornado, flood, power failures, chemical spills, bomb
threats, earthquakes, blizzards, nuclear disaster, or a dangerous person in the vicinity, to ensure the
safety and protection of the ehildren children, and additional caregivers. This Plan must be on a

template provided by the Division of Emergency Management and is available at

https://rmp.nc.gov/portal/#, completed within four months of completion of the Emergency

Preparedness and Response in Child Care training; Training, and available for review: review by

the Division. The Plan shall include the following:

(A) written procedures for accounting for all in attendance, including the location of the
children, staff, volunteer and visitor attendance lists and the name of the person(s)

responsible for bringing the lists in the event of an emergency;
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33
34
35

(8)

©)

(10)

History Note:

(B) a description for how and when children shall be transported,;
©) methods for communicating with parents and emergency personnel or law enforcement;

(D) a description of how children's nutritional and health needs will be met;

(E) the relocation and reunification process;
(3] emergency telephone numbers;
(©)) evacuation diagrams showing how the operator, family members, children and any other

individuals who may be present will evacuate during an emergency;

(H) the date of the last revision of the plan;

()] specific considerations for non-mobile children and children with special reeds; needs, if
applicable; and

) the location of the Ready to Go File. A Ready-te-Ge-FHe “Ready to Go File” means a
collection of information on children, additional earegivers caregivers, and the facility, to
utilize, if an evacuation occurs. The file shall include, butis-net-Hmited-te; a copy of the

Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan, contact information for individuals to pick-

up children, each child's ApplicationferChild-Care; application for child care, medication
authorizations and instructions, any action plans for children with special health care needs,

a list of any known food allergies of children and additional earegiver-additional-caregiver

caregivers, additional caregivers’ contact information, Incident Report forms, an area map,

and emergency telephone numbers.
Review the Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan annually or when information in the plan
changes, to ensure all information is current.
Review the Family Child Care Home's Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan with additional
caregivers during orientation and on an annual basis- basis; and

The operator shall complete Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment

training within two months of licensure and every three years thereafter. Completion of Recognizing

and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training shall be included once every three

years in the number of hours needed to meet ongoing training requirements in 10A NCAC 09

.1705(b)(5). Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment training is available

at https://www.preventchildabusenc.org/.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91; 143B-168.3;

Eff. January 1, 1986;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; July 1, 2008; May 1, 2004; July 1, 1998; November 1, 1989; January
1, 1987;

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1719
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.
In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), what is meant by “a physically safe and healthy indoor and outdoor environment™?

In (a)(1), please delete or define “potentially hazardous.” Please consider adding
information from .0604(a).

In (a)(4), please delete or define “safely”

In (a)(5), please delete or define “firmly”

In In (2)(9), what is meant by “solid and safe indoor and outdoor stairs™?
In (a)(10), please delete or define “safely”

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: This amendment requires the operator of a FCCH to maintain a safe indoor and outdoor environment for children in care by ensuring bio-
contaminants are stored and/or removed properly and all hazardous material is kept in locked areas away from the reach of children. This rule covers some of the
topics listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are
needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG
provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families
pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas
outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 med& @ ('\/éﬂy,_:P"

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:

112 Temporary Rule 0500 — 11/2014



© 00 N O O b WO DN P

W W W W W W W WNDNDDNMDMNDNDNDNNMDMNDNNNDNNMNNNRERPERPRPPRPRERPEREPRPERERPRPBE
~N o ol A WON P OO oo N O, WONPFPE OO oo NO Ol WD - O

10A NCAC 09 .1719 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .1719 REQUIREMENTS FOR A SAFE INDOOR/OUTDOOR ENVIRONMENT
(@) The operator of a family child care home shall provide a physically maintain-a safe and healthy indoor and outdoor

environment that meets the developmental needs of children in care. ferthechildren-incare. In addition, the operator

shall:
@

2)(4)

$)5)

4H(6)
&)

(6)(8)

keep all areas used by the children, both indoors and outdoors, clean and orderly and free of items
which that are potentially hazardous to children. This includes the removal of items that a child can
swallow. In addition, loose nails or screws and splinters shall be removed on inside and outside
equipment;

all corrosive agents, pesticides, bleaches, detergents, cleansers, polishes, any product [whieh] that

is under pressure in an aerosol dispenser, and any substance [which] that may be hazardous to a

child if ingested, inhaled, or handled shall be kept in its original container or in another labeled

container, used according to the manufacturer's [#astruetions] instructions, and stored in a locked

area when not in use. Locked areas shall include those [which] that are unlocked with a combination,

[eleetronic] electronic, or magnetic device, key, or equivalent locking device. Unlocking devices

shall be kept out of the reach of a child and shall not be stored in the lock. Toxic substances shall be

stored below or separate from medications and food. Any product not listed in this [Paragraphs]

Paragraph of this Rule, [whieh] that is labeled "keep out of reach of children" without any other

[warnings;] warnings shall be kept inaccessible to children when not in use, but is not required to

be kept in locked storage. The product shall be considered inaccessible to children when stored on

a shelf or in an unlocked cabinet that is mounted a minimum vertical distance of five feet above the

finished floor;

ensure potential [bio-contaminants] bio-contaminants are stored in locked areas, or removed from
the premises or otherwise inaccessible to children. [ehildrenand-disposed-ofappropriately;]

For purposes of this Rule, a “bio-contaminant” includes bodily fluids, soiled diapers and wipes, and

medical waste such as syringes;

safely store equipment and supplies such as lawnmewers; lawn mowers, power tools, propane

stoves, gasoline, kerosene, or rails; nails so they are inaccessible to children;

ensure that all stationary outdoor equipment is firmly anchored and is not installed over concrete or
asphalt. Footings whieh that anchor the equipment shall not be exposed,;

seedrely mount electric fans out of the reach of children or have a mesh guard on each fan;

cover all electrical outlets not in use and remove eld; eracked cracked, or frayed cords in occupied
outlets;

ensure that, for appliances with heating elements, such as bottle warmers, crock pots, irons, coffee
pots, or curling irons, neither the appliance nor the any cord, ifapplicable; is accessible to preschool

children;
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)

(10)

have solid and safe indoor and outdoor stairs ard or steps if these are used by the children. tadeer
and-eutdeor stairs Stairs with more than two ermere steps which that are used by the children shall

be railed. Indoor stairs with more than two steps shall be made inaccessible to children in care who

are two years old or younger; and

safely store all combustible materials that may create a fire hazard.

(b) Prior to enrollment of children in a family child care home, and before new animals that will be in the home come

into the family child care home, a parent of each child must sign a form acknowledging the type of animal and where

the animal will be during operating hours. This documentation shall be maintained in each child’s file.

History Note:
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Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(3),(4),(5),(6);
Eff. July 1, 1998;

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; April 1, 2001,
Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.




REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1721
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.
In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.
Please see comments and suggestions for .0801.
In (a)(3)(F), is there a similar application requirement for in home child care? If so,
please provide a cross reference. If not, the reference to the application in (f)(3)(F)
seems to be misplaced.

There is a lot of information contained in this Rule. For purpose of future rule-making,
you may want to consider breaking this down further as you have for child care centers.

In (b)(3), please change “contains” to “shall contain”?
In (b)(5), by “categories”, do you mean “information”?
In (b)(6), please delete or define “accurate.”

Are there specific cross-references available for (c)(1) through (¢)(3)?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1721 REQUIREMENTS FOR RECORDS

3. Action: [ ] Adoption X Amendment [ ] Repeal

4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:

. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

o o

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: This amendment requires the operator of a FCCH to maintain health records for each enrolled child. The record shall include any allergies, the
medical action plan and any health concerns. These are some of the topics listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block
Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care
and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or
continuing their education and training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in
place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in
the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

%fmom & Cuénu:ﬁ'

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

Phone: 919-527-6502

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1721 is amended with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10ANCAC 09 .1721 REQUIREMENTS FOR RECORDS
(@) The operator shall maintain the following health records for each enrolled child, including his or her own preschool

child(ren):
@)
2
©)

118

a copy of the child's health assessment as required by G.S. 110-91(1);
a copy of the child's immunization record,;

a health and emergency information form that includes information set forth in this Subparagraph

of this Rule provided by the Division that is completed and signed by a child's parent: parent, as
defined in 10A NCAC 09 .0102. A copy of the form eanr may be found on the Division's website at
http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf_forms/DCD-0377.pdf. The completed form shall be on file the first

day the child attends. An operator may use another form other than the one provided by the Division,

as long as the form includes the following information:

>

emergency medical information as set forth in Rule .1720(c) of this Section;

EB23E ToEe:2

[€A)](B) the child’s full name and the name the child is to be called:;
[€BY](C) the child’s date of birth;

[€6)]1(D) any [aHergies;symptoms-ofand-the-type] allergies and the symptoms and type of response

required for allergic reactions;

[€B)](E) any health care needs or concerns, symptoms of and the type of response required for these

health care needs or concerns;

[€E)] (F) a completed medical action plan shall be attached to the application for children with health

care needs such as allergies, [asthma] asthma, or other chronic conditions that require

specialized health services. The medical action plan shall be completed by the child’s

parent or a health care professional and include the following information:
() a list of the child’s [diagresisidiagneses;] diagnosis or diagnoses including
dietary, [environmental] environmental, and activity considerations that are

applicable;
(i) contact information for the health care professional(s);
iii

medications to be administered on a scheduled basis; and
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10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37

(iv) medications to be administered on an emergency basis with [elearly-stated-signs;
symptems] symptoms, and instructions.
The medical action plan shall be updated on an annual basis. Sample medical action

plans may be found on the Division’s website at

http://ncchildcare.nc.qgov/providers/pv_provideforms.asp.

[€F)] (G)particular fears; fears or unique behavior characteristics that the child has;

[€&)](H) the names of individuals to whom the operator may release the [ehild] child as authorized

by the person who signs the application;

[€H)] (1) the names and phone numbers of persons to be contacted in an emergency situation:;

[€5] (J) the name and phone number of the child's physician; and

33 (K) authorization for the operator to seek emergency medical care in the parent's absence.
4) The operator shall:

(A)
(B)

(®)]

only release a child only to an individual listed on the form;

have the information [previded-in] required by Subparagraphs (3)(A) through (J) of this
[Rule;] Rule [readily] available and [easihy] accessible to additional caregivers and
substitute providers during the time the [ehildren-are] child is in care; and

use the information provided on the form to ensure that each individual child’s needs are

met during the time the child is in [eare:] care; and

4)(5) when medication is administered, authorization for the operator to administer the specific

medication according to the parent's or physician's instructions.

(b) The operator shall complete and maintain other records [whieh] that include:

Q) documentation of the operator's Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan on a template which

is provided by the Division of Emergency Management at http://rmp.nc.gov/portal/#;

)] documentation that monthly fire drills are practiced. The documentation shall include the date each

drill is held, the time of day, the length of time taken to evacuate the home, and the operator's

signature;

3) incident reports that are completed each time a child receives medical treatment by a physician,

nurse, physician's assistant, nurse practitioner, community clinic, or local health department;

department as a result of an incident occurring while the child is in the family child care home.

Each incident shall be reported on a form provided by the Division, signed by the operator and the

parent, and maintained in the child's file. The form contains the following information:

CEEERBER

facility identifying information;

date and time of the incident;

witness to the incident;

time the parent is notified of the incident and by who;

Piece of equipment involved;

Cause of injury;
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(4)

()

(6)

()

Type of injury;
Body part injured;

Where the child received medical treatment;

Description of how and where the incident occurred and first aid received;

Steps taken to prevent reoccurrence;

Signature of staff member and date form completed; and

Signature of parent and date.

>EEBEEEED

copy of the form can be found on the Division's website at
http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf_forms/DCDEE-0058.pdf. A copy shall be mailed to the Division
within seven calendar days after the incident occurs;

an incident log which that is filled out any time an incident report is completed. This log shall be
cumulative and maintained in a separate file and shall be available for review by the Division. This
log shall be completed on a form supplied by the Division. A copy of the form can be found on the
Division's website at http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf _forms/incident_log_i.pdf;

documentation that a monthly check for hazards on the outdoor play area is completed. This form

shall be supplied by the Division and shall be maintained in the family child care home for review

by the Division. The form shall include the following categories:

Name of facility, Time and date the form was completed;

Signature of individual completing form;

General inspection items;

Surfacing;
General hazard items; and

CRURCHCRCES

Deterioration of equipment

For items on the checklist the operator has to check if pass or fail, if fail identify the problem and

solution. A copy of the form can be found of the Division's website at
http://ncchildcare.nc.gov/pdf_forms/fcch_outdoor_inspection_checklist.pdf;

Acedrate accurate daily attendance records for all children in care, including the operator's own
preschool children. The attendance record shall indicate the date and time of arrival and departure
for each child; and

documentation of lockdown or shelter-in-place drills giving the date each drill is held, the time of
day, the length of time taken to get into designated locations and the signature of the person who
conducted the drill.

(c) Written records shall be maintained as follows:

120

(1)

All children's records as required in this Chapter, except medication permission slips as required in
Rule .1720(c)(13) of this Section, must be kept on file one year from the date the child is no longer
enrolled.
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()

3)

(4)

()

(6)

History Note:

Additional caregiver records as required in this Chapter shall be maintained on file one year from
the employee’s last date of employment.

Current program records as required in this Chapter shall be maintained on file for as long as the
license remains valid. Prior versions shall be maintained based on the time frame in the following
charts:

(A) A minimum of 30 days from the revision or replacement date:

Record Rule

Daily Schedule 1718(7)
Infant Feeding Schedule .1706(f)
SIDS Sleep Chart/Visual Check .1724(8)

(B) A minimum of one year from the revision or replacement date:
Record Rule
Attendance .1721(b)(6)
Emergency Numbers .1720(a)(8)
Emergency Preparedness and Response | .1721(b)(1)
Plan
Field Trip/Transportation 1723(1)
Permission
Fire Drill Log 1721(b)(2)
Lockdown or Shelter-in-Place Drill Log 1721(b)(7)
Incident Log .1721(b)(4)
Playground Inspection 1721(b)(5)
Pet Vaccinations .1720(d)(10)

Well-water analysis, pool inspection and inspections for local ordinances as referenced in Rules
.1720(d)(1), -AHE96A; .1730(j), and .1702(d) of this Section shall remain on file at the family child

care home for as long as the license remains valid.
Records may be maintained in a paper format or eleetrenically; electronically. exeeptthatrecords

All records required in this Chapter shall be available for review by the Division.

Authority G.S. 110-85; 110-88; 110-91(1),(9);
Eff. July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; July 1, 2010; July 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; April 1, 2001;

4
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Temporary Amendment Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1726
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (a), please consider moving the definition of “staff” to (d). The definition does not
seem to fit in Paragraph (a).

In (a)(1), please change “recognizing, responding to, and reporting” to “how to
recognize, respond to, and report...”

In (a)(3), do you really intend the policy to only include how to care for infants? If so,
please make this a separate sub-paragraph.

In (a)(3), please delete or define “properly.”

In (a)(4), what do you mean by “developmentally appropriate”? | know that this phrase is
used throughout your rules, is this defined somewhere? Is your regulated public familiar
with this term?

In (b), are centers required to provide this information to families already enrolled at the
time of the Rule’s effective date? Also, what is your authority to require a parent sign the
statement? Should it instead read “the center shall obtain the parent’s signature™?

In (c), please change “must” to “shall.” Also, what is your authority to require a parent
sign the statement? Should it instead read “the center shall obtain the parent’s
signature”?

In (d), are centers required to provide this information to staff members already providing
care at the time of the Rule’s effective date?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1726 PREVENTION OF SHAKEN BABY SYNDROME AND ABUSIVE HEAD
TRAUMA

3. Action: X Adoption [ ] Amendment [ ] Repeal
4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
a. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016
b. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016
d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016
. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016
f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

D

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The adoption of this rule requires for the operator of a FCCH to develop and adopt policies to prevent shaken baby syndrome and abusive head
trauma for children up to five years of age that are receiving child care. These areas are listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and
Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act
requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in
child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health
and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are
not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov wfm Le G? (,\_/ényL:P"

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1726 is adopted with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10A NCAC 09 .1726 PREVENTION OF SHAKEN BABY SYNDROME AND ABUSIVE HEAD
TRAUMA
(@) The operator of a family child care home licensed to care for children up to five years of age shall develop and

adopt policies to assist staff in preventing [prevent] shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma. For purposes of

this Rule, “staff”” includes the operator, additional caregivers, substitute providers, and uncompensated providers. The
policy shall_include: [include-but-notbe-limited-to:]
Q) Recognizing, responding to, and reporting the signs and symptoms of shaken baby syndrome and

abusive head [tratmma:] trauma. Signs and symptoms include: irritability, difficulty staying awake,

difficulty breathing, inability to lift the head, seizures, lack of appetite, vomiting, and bruises;

(2) Strategies to assist staff [themselves;additional-caregivers-and-substitute-providers] in coping with

a crying, fussing, or distraught child;

3) Strategies to ensure staff [that-they,additional-caregiversand-substitute-providers] understand the

brain development of children up to five years of age and how to properly care for infants;

4 A list of prohibited behaviors that staff [theyadditional-caregiversand-substitute-providers] shall

follow in order to care for children in a [safe] developmentally appropriate manner. Prohibited

behaviors shall [irelude] include, but not be limited to, shaking a child, tossing a child into the air
or into a crib, chair, or care seat, and pushing a child into walls, doors, and furniture; and
(5) Resources to assist staff [themselves;additional-caregivers-substitute-providers;] and families in
preventing shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma.
(b) A copy of the policy shall be given and explained to the parents of children up to five years of age on or before
the first day the child receives care at the home. The parent shall sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and
explanation of the policy. The acknowledgement shall contain the following:
Q) The child’s name;
)] The date the child first attended the home;

3) The date the operator’s policy was given and explained to the parent;
4) The parent’s name;
(5) The parent’s signature; and

(6) The date the parent signed the acknowledgment.
The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the child’s file.
(c) If an operator changes the policy at any time, the operator [rust] shall give written notice of [sueh-a] the change
to the child’s parent 14 days prior to the implementation of the new policy and the parent [must] shall sign a statement
that attests that a copy of the new policy was given to and discussed with him or her. This statement shall be kept in
the child’s file.
(d) The operator shall review the policy with staff [additional-caregivers—and-substitute—providers] prior to the

individual providing care to children. The acknowledgement of this review shall contain the following:
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(1) The individual’s name;

[®] [Thedatethe-individual-began-caringforchildren:]

[63)] (2) The date the operator’s policy was given and explained to the individual;

[€4)] (3) The individual’s signature; and

[€5)] (4) The date the individual signed the acknowledgment.
The operator shall retain the acknowledgement in the [irdividual’s] staff member’s file.
(e) If an operator changes the policy at any time, the operator shall review the revised policy with staff [additienal
caregiversand-substitute-providers] 14 days prior to the implementation of the new policy. The individual shall sign
a statement that attests that a copy of the new policy was given to and discussed with him or her. This statement shall
be kept in the staff member’s [individual’s] file.

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-168.3;
Temporary Adoption Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1730
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (c), how is other training determined to be equivalent to Red Cross training?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1730 ACTIVITIES INVOLVING WATER

3. Action: X Adoption [ ] Amendment [ ] Repeal
4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:
. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

o o

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016

c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The adoption of this rule sets the health and safety standards for children who participate in activities involving water while enrolled in a FCCH. This
area is listed in the health and safety topics required by the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of rules that are
needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by the CCDBG
provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds help families
pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and training areas
outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 -
Yfoata @ (horect-

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1730 is adopted with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10ANCAC 09.1730 ACTIVITIES INVOLVING WATER
(a) The requirements in this Rule apply to [aguatic-activities;] “aquatic activities,” which are defined as activities that

take place in a body of water such as swimming, swimming instruction, wading, and visits to water parks. Aquatic
activities do not include water play activities such as water table play, slip and slide activities, or playing in sprinklers.
(b) Agquatic activities involving the following are prohibited:

Q) hot tubs;

(2 spas;

3) saunas or steam rooms;

4 portable wading pools; and

(5) natural bodies of [water;] water and other unfiltered, nondisinfected containments of water.
(c) When children enrolled in a family child care home participate in aquatic activities, there shall be at least one
person who has a life guard training certificate issued by the Red Cross or other training determined by the Division
to be equivalent to the Red Cross training, appropriate for both the type of body of water and type of aquatic
[activities ] activity.
(d) Children under the age of three shall not participate in aquatic activities [except;] except to the extent [recessary;]
necessary to implement any child's Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) or Individualized Education Program
(IEP).
(e) The family child care home operator shall be responsible for adequately supervising the aquatic activity for the
duration of the activity. [Adeguate-supervision] “Adequate supervision” means that the operator shall be able to hear,
see, and respond [guickhy] to the children [whe-are-in-the-waterand-children-who-are] whether in or out of the water.

(f) Prior to children participating in aquatic activities, the operator shall develop policies that address the following:

(1) aquatic safety hazards;
)] pool and aquatic activity area [supervision] supervision, including restroom or changing room use;

3) how discipline [is] will be handled during aquatic activities;

4) the operator's specific field trip and transportation policies; and

(5) that children shall be directed to exit the water [ir—a—prompt-and-orderly-manner] during an
emergency.

(g) Parents must provide written permission for participation in aquatic activities. The written permission shall include
a statement that parents are aware of the operator’s aquatic policies specified in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The
operator shall maintain copies of written parental permission in each child’s file.

(h) Any outdoor swimming pool [which-is] located on the family child care home premises shall be enclosed by a
fence that is at least four feet high, [shal-be] separated from the remaining outdoor play area by that fence, and [sha
be] locked and inaccessible to children when not in use.

(i) Swimming pool safety rules shall be posted and [in-aprominentplace] visible to children and staff for any

swimming pool located on the child care facility premises. These rules shall state:
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(1) the location of a first-aid Kit;

2 that only water toys are permitted;

3) that children [shal] are not allowed to run or push one another;
4) that swimming is allowed only when the operator is present; and
(5) that glass objects are not allowed.

(1) All swimming pools used by children in care shall meet the "Rules Governing Public Swimming Pools" in

accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .2500 which are incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments. A

copy of these Rules can be found at http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/docs/rules/294306-9-2500.pdf and is available at

(k) Educational activities, such as observing tadpoles, exploring [mud] mud, or learning about rocks and [vegetation;]
vegetation are permitted around bodies of water. However, if children will be in the water for any part of the activity,
Paragraphs (a) through (g) of this Rule shall apply.

(I) Boating, rafting, and canoeing activities are permitted. Prior to participating in recreational activities conducted
on the water, children shall wear an age or size appropriate personal floatation device approved by the United States

Coast Guard. This personal floatation device shall be worn for the duration of the activity.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 110-88; 110-91(1), (3), (6); 143B-168.3;
Temporary Adoption Eff. September 23, 2016.
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REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE FOR TEMPORARY RULE

AGENCY: NC Child Care Commission
RULE CITATION: 10A NCAC 09 .1731
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Wednesday, September 14, 2016 — 12:00 p.m.

NOTE WELL: This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you
have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be
made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S.
150B-21.10.

In (), how is this training to be offered? Will it be in-person? Online? Will the topics be
separate trainings?

In (b), please change “must” to “shall.”
In (b)(2), what is meant by “consistent with standards for parental consent”?
In (c), by “may”, do you mean “shall"? If you do mean “may”, under what circumstances

will the training count toward in-service training?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amber Cronk May
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: September 13, 2016
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TEMPORARY RULE-MAKING OAH USE ONLY
FINDINGS OF NEED VOLUME:

[Authority G.S. 150B-21.1]
ISSUE:

1. Rule-Making Agency: NC CHILD CARE COMMISSION

2. Rule citation & name: 10A NCAC 09 .1731 ADDITIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

3. Action: X Adoption [ ] Amendment [ ] Repeal
4. Was this an Emergency Rule: [ ] Yes Effective date:
X No

5. Provide dates for the following actions as applicable:

. Proposed Temporary Rule submitted to OAH: July 26, 2016

. Proposed Temporary Rule published on the OAH website: August 2, 2016
c. Public Hearing date: August9, 2016

d. Comment Period: August 2-August 25, 2016

e. Notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.1(a3)(2): July 26, 2016

f. Adoption by agency on: September 12, 2016

o o

g. Proposed effective date of temporary rule [if other than effective date established by G.S. 150B- 21.1(b)
and G.S. 150B-21.3]: September 23, 2016

h. Rule approved by RRC as a permanent rule [See G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)]:

6. Reason for Temporary Action. Attach a copy of any cited law, regulation, or document necessary for the review.

[ ] Aserious and unforeseen threat to the public health, safety or welfare.
[] The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress.
Cite:
Effective date:
X A recent change in federal or state budgetary policy.
Effective date of change: November 19, 2014
[ ] A recent federal regulation.
Cite:
Effective date:
[ ] A recent court order.
Cite order:
[ ] State Medical Facilities Plan.
[] Other:

Explaln: The adoption of this rule requires operators, additional caregivers and substitute providers to complete additional health and safety training offered by
the Division by June 2017. The training include the 11 topic areas of the Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act. This rule is a part of a group of
rules that are needed to bring North Carolina into compliance with CCDBG Act requirements. The Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) that is authorized by
the CCDBG provides federal funding for low-income families with children in child care who are working or continuing their education and training. These funds
help families pay for child care services. North Carolina already has some health and safety requirements in place related to the eleven health and safety topics and
training areas outlined in the CCDF; however there are several topic areas that are not currently addressed in the child care requirements and require rulemaking.
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7. Why is adherence to notice and hearing requirements contrary to the public interest and the immediate adoption of the
rule is required?

Although the CCDBG Act was enacted in 2014, the regulations are still in the proposed rulemaking process. The September 30, 2016 deadline for certification was
announced in December of 2015 by email, however, there was a webinar given by Region IV to all states in May 2016 to clarify the new CCDGB health and safety
training requirements and the specified due date for implementing the training for all providers. The Division anticipated that the codified regulations would have
more details about how the law would be implemented, however the regulations have not been finalized. The comment period closed on February 22, 2016. If NC
cannot certify that it is compliant with the requirements of the CCDBG by the September 30 deadline, NC risks forfeiting millions of federal dollars it desperately
needs to maintain funding for low-income families with children in child care.

The Child Care Commission adopted this rule under the temporary rules process to help protect the health and safety of children in child care so that providers
would have access to the required training by the September 30 deadline. The training includes the following 11 topic areas:

1) prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

2) administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

3) prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

4) building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of
water, and vehicular traffic;

5) emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster, or a man-caused event;
6) handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;

7) precautions in transporting children, if applicable;

8) prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

9) CPR and First Aid training;

10) recognizing and responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment; and

11) prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

The federal register may be found at https://www.federalregister.gov/articles/2015/12/24/2015-31883/child-care-and-development-fund-ccdf-programé#h-4.

8. Rule establishes or increases a fee? (See G.S. 12-3.1)

L[] Yes
Agency submitted request for consultation on:
Consultation not required. Cite authority:

X No

9. Rule-making Coordinator: Dedra Alston 10. Signature of Agency Head™:

Phone: 919-527-6502 L\_/él)-

E-Mail: Dedra.Alston@dhhs.nc.gov

* If this function has been delegated (reassigned) pursuant
to G.S. 143B-10(a), submit a copy of the delegation with

this form.
Agency contact, if any: Same as above Typed Name: Glenda Weinert
Phone: Same as above Title: Chairperson of the Child Care Commission
E-Mail: Same as above E-Mail: Glenda.Weinert@gmail.com
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION USE ONLY
Action taken: Submitted for RRC Review:

[] Date returned to agency:
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10A NCAC 09 .1731 is adopted with changes under temporary procedures as follows:

10ANCAC 09 .1731 ADDITIONAL HEALTH AND SAFETY TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
(@) Child care operators, additional caregivers, and substitute providers shall complete health and safety training
offered by the Division no later than June 30, 2017.

(b) The training must include the following topic areas:

(1)
()
3)
(4)

(5)

(6)
()
(8)
©)
(10)

(11

Prevention and control of infectious diseases, including immunization;

Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent;

Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions;

Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from hazards that
can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic;
Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural disaster,
or a man-caused event;

Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio contaminants;
Precautions in transporting children if applicable;

Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma;

CPR and First Aid training as required in Rule .1705 of this Section; [and]

Recognizing and Responding to Suspicions of Child Maltreatment as required in Rule .1705(b)(10)
of this [Seetien:] Section; and

Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices.

(c) Training hours accrued for the completion of this requirement may count toward in-service training. However,

child care operators, additional caregivers, and substitute providers must complete the health and safety training even

if the number of hours accrued exceeds required in-service training, as specified in Rule .1705(b)(5) of this Section.

History Note:
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