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12 NCAC 10B .0601 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED WITH CHANGES IN VOLUME 30, ISSUE 20 OF THE 1 

NORTH CAROLINA PUBLIC REGISTER, PAGES 2135-2136: 2 

 3 

12 NCAC 10B .0601 DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE 4 

(a)  This Section establishes the current standard by which Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall 5 

receive detention officer training.  The Detention Officer Certification Course shall consist of a minimum of 172 174 6 

hours of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge necessary to perform those tasks 7 

considered essential to the administration and operation of a confinement facility. 8 

(b)  Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 9 

instructional hours for each area: 10 

(1) LEGAL UNIT 11 

(A) Orientation         3 hours 12 

(B) Criminal Justice Systems        2 hours 13 

(C) Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision   14 hours 14 

(D) Introduction to Rules and Regulations      2 hours 15 

(E) Ethics          3 hours 16 

UNIT TOTAL        24 Hours 17 

(2) PHYSICAL UNIT 18 

(A) Contraband/Searches        6 hours 19 

(B) Patrol and Security Function of the Jail      5 hours 20 

(C) Key and Tool Control        2 hours 21 

(D) Investigative Process in the Jail       8 hours 22 

(E) Transportation of Inmates        7 hours 23 

(F) Prison Rape Elimination Act       2 hours 24 

UNIT TOTAL                  8 30 Hours 25 

(3) PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT 26 

(A) Processing Inmates        8 hours 27 

(B) Supervision and Management of Inmates      5 hours 28 

(C) Suicides and Crisis Management       5 hours 29 

(D) Aspects of Mental Illness        6 hours 30 

(E) Fire Emergencies           4 hours 31 

(F) Notetaking and Report Writing       6 hours 32 

(G) Communication Skills        5 hours 33 

UNIT TOTAL        39 hours 34 

(4) MEDICAL UNIT 35 

(A) First Aid and CPR        8 hours 36 

(B) Medical Care in the Jail        6 hours 37 
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(C) Stress          3 hours 1 

(D) Subject Control Techniques     32 hours 2 

(E) Physical Fitness for Detention Officers    22 hours 3 

UNIT TOTAL        71 hours 4 

(5) REVIEW AND TESTING         7 hours 5 

(6) STATE EXAM          3 hours 6 

TOTAL HOURS               172 174 HOURS 7 

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in the "Detention Officer 8 

Certification Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the developer of the Detention Officer 9 

Certification Course curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as approval for the developer to 10 

conduct pilot Detention Officer Certification Courses.  Individuals who complete such a pilot Detention Officer 11 

Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement. 12 

(d)  The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 13 

used as the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification Course.  Copies of this manual may be obtained by 14 

contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. The cost of 15 

this manual, CD, indexes and binder is fifty-one dollars and seventy-five cents ($51.75) at the time of adoption of this 16 

Rule was last amended. 17 

(e)  The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy 18 

is hereby incorporated by reference and shall include any later amendments or editions of the incorporated matter to be 19 

reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be used by school directors in planning, 20 

implementing implementing, and delivering basic detention officer training. The standards and requirements established 21 

by the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" must shall be adhered to by the school director.  The 22 

Justice Academy shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at the time of certification at no cost to 23 

the certified school. 24 

 25 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4(a); 26 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 27 

Amended Eff.  August 1, 2016; February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; October 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; 28 

August 2, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; 29 

January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991. 30 
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