REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: All rules

Friday, July 10, 2015

Commission's next meeti mmijssion has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
has not been a determi
inquire concerning the staff

In reviewing these rules, the
made:

On the Submission for Permanent Rule M
17, 2015. | note that was the last day ofN\the

adopted by the Board after 5 p.m. that day.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to 11 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

tate that these rules were adopted on June
m riod. Please confirm these rules were

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015
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21 NCAC 37D .0202 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0202

INITIAL LICENSURE FEE

Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial licensure non-refundable fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00)

when the applicant ha
of this Subchapter.

History Note:

ccessfully passed the examinations required by the Board under Sections .0600 and .0700

Readopted ct ecember 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. D ber

Temporary Ame . , 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9,

1982;
Amended Eff. February 1
Transferred and Recodified fro
Amended Eff. August 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15,4996;

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July™L, 20
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.




REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0303

DEADLINE FO . Friday, July 10, 2015

jon staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the

ommission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there

whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
dation.

Commission's next
has not been a det
inquire concernin

In reviewing these rule
made:

ined that the following technical changes need to be

| recommend turning this Rule iAo two P,

(b) would be lines 6 — 9.

graphs. Paragraph (a) would be lines 4- 6. Paragraph

9

On line 5, are you still relying upon the 2003 ¥€rsi
incorporated by reference under G.S. 150B-21.

On line 4, please insert a comma after “

f th¥S course? Also, | believe this should be

On line 8, what exactly is meant by this? The ap
courses in lieu of the required course, but the applica
examination that cover that subject area?

t permission to use college
est out” of the portions of the

In the History Note, can you please change the period after “A semicolon?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

op&xChurch Road,

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015
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21 NCAC 37D .0303 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0303 REQUIRED COURSE

The course prescribed by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90-278(1)c shall be comprised of in-class, field and
correspondence compghents substantially equivalent to the 2003 description of the Basic Nursing Home

rovided by the School of Public Health at UNC-Chapel Hill. An applicant with a health care

st in writing that the Board approve college courses as substantially equivalent to

Administrator Cour,
administration d
d the applicant tests out of portions of the required course with a passing

History Note:  Authority G
Eff. April 1,199




21 NCAC 37D .0402 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT)

(@) The applicant shall submit to the Board an application containing:
1)
2
(©)
4)
©®)
(6)

(c) The applicant shall submit th
this Subchapter:

(D) the Employer Reference ddress of employment and duties assigned; and
) the Character Reference Form how this individual knows the applicant and whether

the applicant is capable to supervise nts of a skilled facility. No character reference

shall be from a relative of the applican

(d) The applicant shall submit an official transcript issued by itutign indicating the courses completed and
hours earned, specifying whether semester or quarter hours. Th upply documentation of his or her
supervisory experience in a nursing home if the applicant is utilizi i substitute for the education

requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b.
(e) The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the Board for a personal 4

(f) The preceptor shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview:

Q) a Facility Survey Form stating the facility license number, address aRd the nu of beds;
2 a letter accepting individual as an AIT;
3) a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of years the individual has served as an administrator

and number of AlTs precepted;

4) a curriculum outline for the AIT program that provides the AIT with job experience in each
department. A curriculum outline shall include each department in the facility and the information
that will be covered, including the recommended number of weeks in the program as outlined on
the AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form;

(5) an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form shall be based on education and experience of the
AIT applicant. The preceptor shall be responsible for providing a rationale for all subject areas with
the recommended number of weeks for the AIT; and

(6) the directions to the facility.
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(9) The owner or governing board of the facility shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview
a letter of approval for the AIT applicant to train in the facility.

(h) A non-refundable processing fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) shall be submitted with the application.
(i) An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current residential mailing address with the Board office.

(J) The applicant may40btain an application and forms from the Board's website or from the Board office.

History Note: i . 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01;

ust @p1977; April 8, 1977;
Real . egbb, 1977,

Amended E
Readopted Eff.
Amended Eff. Aughst 95; Algust 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;

Amended Eff. July 1, 201
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015




REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0404

DEADLINE FO, . Friday, July 10, 2015

jon staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the

ommission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there

whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to
dation.

Commission's next
has not been a det
inquire concernin

In reviewing these rule
made:

ined that the following technical changes need to be

In (a), who approves this list a here &t found?

%ﬁce at 1711 New Hope Church Road,

In (c), line 8, change “must” to “shal

Please retype the rule accordingly and r
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015
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21 NCAC 37D .0404 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0404 ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING SELECTION OF PRECEPTOR
(a) From an approved list of preceptors, the AIT applicant shall select a preceptor prior to submitting application to
the Board.

(b) It shall be the r ibility of the AIT applicant to contact a preceptor to ensure that the preceptor accepts the

AIT applicant.
(c) The AIT ny change in preceptor. Any change in preceptor shall be from the approved

list.

History Note:  Authority G
Eff. February 1,

Amended Eff. August 2, 1
Transferred and Recodified fro
Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; Apri
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.




REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0602

DEADLINE FO . Friday, July 10, 2015

jon staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
ommission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to

Commission'Snext
has not been a det
inquire concernin
In reviewing these rule ined that the following technical changes need to be
made:
On line 4, how is it submitted e to this third party? s this in another Rule? How does
your public know how to submit it?

You do not state what “NAB” stands for @ 06Q3. Does your regulated public know what
this stands for, or should you spell it out heke
What is your authority for the second sentenc this R The History Note cites to 90-285,

which states: &
8 90-285. Functions and duties of the Board.
The Board shall meet at least once annually in Raleigh or a 0
ons

designated by the chairman and shall have the following fu

1) Develop, impose and enforce rules and regulations setting out s
which must be met by individuals in order to receive and hold a lice
nursing home administrator, which standards shall be designed to insure that
nursing home administrators shall be individuals who are of good character and
who are otherwise suitable, by education, training and experience in the field of
institutional administration, to serve as nursing home administrators.

(2 Develop and apply appropriate methods and procedures, including
examination and investigations, for determining whether individuals meet such
standards, and administer an examination at least twice each year at such times
and places as the Board shall designate.

3) Issue licenses to qualified individuals consistent with G.S. 90-278 and
G.S. 90-287 and any rules adopted by the Board implementing those provisions.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015



10

4) Establish and implement procedures designed to insure that individuals
licensed as nursing home administrators will, during any period that they serve
as such, comply with the requirements of such standards.

(5) Receive, investigate, and take appropriate action with respect to any
charge or plaint filed with the Board to the effect that any individual
licensed @§a nursing home administrator has failed to comply with the

ing study and investigation of nursing homes and
tratds within the State in order to make improvements in
thealicensing of administrators and of procedures and
methods for the e
nursing home a

accessibility to residents of this S g finds that there are sufficient
courses conducted by others with State. AP lieu thereof the Board may

necessary for the proper performance of its dutre
as may be necessary to enable the State to meet th

promulgated thereunder, and other pertinent federal authori

9) Receive and disburse any funds appropriated or given to oar
including any federal funds, to carry out the purposes of this ArtiCle.

(10)  Maintain a register of all applications for licensing and registration of
nursing home administrators, which register shall show: the place or residence,
name and age of each applicant; the name and address of employer or business
connection of each applicant; the date of application; information of educational
and experience qualifications; the action taken by the Board and the dates; the
serial number of the license issued to the applicant; and such other pertinent
information as may be deemed necessary.

(11)  Develop an administrator-in-training program to insure that nursing
home administrators have adequate training and experience prior to

licensure. (1969, c. 843, s. 1; 1981, c. 722, ss. 10, 11; 1981 (Reg. Sess., 1982),
c. 1234, s. 3; 2013-346, s. 4.)

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015



That statute does not confer the authority to levy fees. | note that G.S. 90-280 gives the Board
authority to create fees; however, is the NAB exam administered by the Board such that you can
collect the fee under 90-280(a)?

8 90-280. Fees; display of license; duplicate license; inactive list.

($1,000). A lice ha the thirtieth day of September of the second
year following its is Il be renewable biennially upon payment of a
renewal fee set by th

(© Each person licensed C administrator shall display his or
her license certificate, along With ghiiCertificate of renewal, in a
conspicuous place in his or her p

(d)  Any person licensed as a nursing e ad
duplicate license or verification of license by p
not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100.00).

have his or her name placed on an inactive list for such*peri
exceed four years upon payment of a fee set by the Board

for one additional year.

()] Any person having a temporary license issued pursuant to G.S. 90-278(3)
shall pay a fee in an amount set by the Board not to exceed five hundred dollars
($500.00). If the Board renews the temporary license, no further fee shall be
required.

(9) The Board may set fees not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for
conducting and administering initial training and continuing education courses,
and may set a fee not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100.00) per hour for
certifying a course submitted for review by another individual or agency wishing
to offer such courses or may set an annual fee not to exceed four thousand dollars
($4,000) for certifying a course provider in lieu of certifying each course offered
by the provider. (1969, c. 843, s. 1; 1977, c. 652; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1282; 1981

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

11



(Reg. Sess., 1982), c. 1234, s. 4; 1983, c. 215; 1995 (Reg. Sess., 1996), c. 645, s.
1;1999-217, s. 1; 2013-346, s. 2.)

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,
Raleigh, North Caglina 27609.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

12
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21 NCAC 37D .0602 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0602 NATIONAL EXAM APPLICATION
To sit for the National Exam, a person shall submit an exam application electronically to the NAB. In order to

release the results of
($50.00).

AB exam score, the applicant shall pay to the Board a processing fee of fifty dollars

History Note:

Readopted

13
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21 NCAC 37D .0703 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37D .0703 STATE EXAMINATION ADMINISTRATION
(a) The State Examination shall be administered on dates to be determined and published by the Board on the State

Examination Applicati@n form located on the Board's website. It may also be offered to reciprocity applicants and to

website and in the information pa

(d) An applicant shall pass the St ithin}@he year of the date of completion of the AIT program.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280; 9
Eff. April 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July I}

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015. ’

14



REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37E .0101

DEADLINE FO . Friday, July 10, 2015

jon staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
ommission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to

Commission's next
has not been a det
inquire concernin

In reviewing these rule
made:

ined that the following technical changes need to be

In Paragraph (a), line 5, define
On line 6, what is “satisfactory to th
| suggest rewording Paragraph (a), begi in state:

“...evidence that the applicant for licensure:

(1) has personal qualifications...
(2) is licensed...;
(3) holds a valid...; and
(4) shall appear..”
In (a)(1), line 7, please insert a comma after “training”

Also in (a)(1), generally “at least” is not favored in rule language, as tif¢’rules the minimum
standards. Do you need “at least” on lines 7 and 8? | don’t think you do, b ou believe it is
necessary, please retain it.

| see that you refer to the term as “reciprocity/endorsement” but the statute establishing the
process says “reciprocity.” Is there a reason for the dual term in the Rule?

§ 90-287. Reciprocity with other states.

The Board may issue a nursing home administrator's license to any person who
holds a current license as a nursing home administrator from another jurisdiction,
provided that the Board finds that the standards for licensure in such other
jurisdiction are at least the substantial equivalent of those prevailing in this State
and that the applicant has passed the national and the State examinations
administered by the Board and is otherwise qualified. (1969, c. 843, s. 1; 2013-
346, s. 6.)

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

15



In Paragraph (@), is the Board making a determination of unusual circumstances preventing
compliance with licensure?

§ 90-278. Qualifications for licensure.

3) iceqge may be issued under requirements and conditions
person to act or serve as administrator of a nursing
home withoUt meeti irements for full licensure, but only when there are
unusual circumstahces u@compliance with the procedures for licensing
elsewhere provided i The temporary license shall be issued by the
chairman only for th the next meeting of the Board, at which time
the Board may renew s y license for a further period only up to one
A981, c. 722, ss. 5-7; 1981 (Reg.
Sess., 1982), c. 1234, s. 2; 19 €. 492,s.1;1991, c. 710, s. 1;

2013-346,s. 1)
What is your authority for Subparagraph (a)(2)?

In Subparagraph (a)(3), line 12, please state “he or

In Paragraph (b), line 14, it would be clearer to simply 4
not submit the information required by Subparagraphs (a)(1) o

applicant for reciprocity does

On line 15, since the Board “may’ issue a temporary license, when

So that | understand, in Paragraph (b) if the Board issues a temporary i
of the conditions?

Il require one

To be consistent with the rest of the Rule, please begin Subparagraphs®(b)(1) and (2) with
lowercase letters.

In Subparagraph (b)(1), this condition is met after the expiration of the license? How does that
work?

In Subparagraph (b)(2), what is the Board basing the decision upon? The missing components
of the individual's education or background? You do not have to say what will be decided in Rule,
but you do need to give some guidance on how the Board will decide what is required.

The language on lines 22 through 26 is cluttered and not easy to understand. What exactly are
you trying to say here?

In Paragraph (c), on line 29, who determines it is no longer applicable? The applicant? And when
will this occur?

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

16



Also in (c), if the condition imposed the first time was (b)(1), how will the Board determine the
courses to require? At a meeting?

In (c)(4), line 37, why is “Federal Surveying” capitalized? (Note the same question for (d)(4) on
Page 2, line 10)

So that | under, in Paragraph (c), if the applicant says the conditions no longer apply,
[ posed. In Paragraph (d), if the applicant says they could not comply
with the con oard will not impose a new condition? Is this a correct interpretation?
Please retype the r ingi’and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road,

Raleigh, North Ca

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

17
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21 NCAC 37E .0101 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37E .0101 APPLICATION PROCESS
(@) The Board may issue a license to a nursing home administrator who holds a nursing home administrator license

issued by the proper orities of any other state, upon payment of the current licensing fee, successful completion

of the state examinatl®n, and submission of evidence satisfactory to the Board as to the following:

(2) i shaPbe licensed in another state that gives similar recognition and
3) rocity/endorsement holds a valid active license as a nursing home
hich he is transferring; and

4) i the Board for a personal interview.

conditions:

(1)

iprocal license, submission of a statement that

the temporary licensee has administer e nursi e in a manner satisfactory to the nursing

home owner or representative of the owner; o
) Completion of Continuing Education course(s) y require as a condition of issuance
of a temporary reciprocal license.

If the applicant for temporary reciprocal license does not submit evidenc e Board as required by

of Continuing Education course(s) as a condition of issuance of a temporary reciprocal lice
(c) If a temporary reciprocal license is issued pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule and the applicant notifies the
Board prior to the expiration of the six-month term that the circumstances have changed such that the condition(s)
imposed is no longer applicable, the Board may extend the temporary reciprocal license for an additional period not
to exceed six months and require the applicant to fulfill the other condition from Paragraph (b) of this Rule not

originally imposed, upon consideration of the following:

(1) the period of extension requested;

2 the extent of control the applicant had over the situation causing the request for extension;

3) the applicant's good faith effort at compliance with the original term imposed;

4) if condition Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule was imposed, any issues arising during the term of the

applicant at the facility identified during a survey conducted by the Division of Health Service

Regulation or a Federal Surveying agency.

18
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(d) If a temporary reciprocal license is issued pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule and the applicant notifies the
Board prior to the expiration of the six-month term that the applicant was unable to fulfill the condition within the six-
month time period, the Board may extend the temporary reciprocal license for an additional period not to exceed six
months upon consideration of the following:
()
2
®)
4)

History Note:
Eff. February 1,
Readopted Eff. December 15 7;

u

Amended Eff. February 18980;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 198
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; Al , 19 ary 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 N 37A .0 ff. April 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000; Apri ;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.

19
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21 NCAC 37E .0102 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37E .0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS
An applicant for reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the following items that shall be received by the Board three

weeks prior to the ne

heduled Board Meeting posted on the Board's website:

(D) pleted application;
)
®)

@] rms‘ne employer and two character) located on the Board's website as set forth

elative of the applicant.

(5) a licensing questionnaire(s) fro re the applicant held a license. The questionnaire

(6) a non-refundable processing fee of twodundred fif

) a fingerprint card, necessary forms, and requij iminal background check. Information

regarding the forms and fees for the criminal is available in the Board office.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; 90-288.01;

20

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;

Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;

Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff. April 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.




21 NCAC 37F .0102 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37F .0102 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE

(a) An applicant for a temporary license shall submit the following items:

4)

®)

at the next exam date to retain the temporary license. Infor
background check is available in the Board office.

(c) A temporary license may be extended at the discretion of the Bodkd'i ith the requirements of Rule
.0101(d) of this Section.
(d) A temporary license shall be issued to the applicant to permit him or her to the nursing home to
which the applicant is assigned on the date of issuance.

(e) If the Board extends the temporary license, no further fee shall be required.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01;
Eff. February 1, 1980;
Amended Eff. April 15, 1980;
Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;
Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982;
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April 1, 1996;
Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.

21
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21 NCAC 37G .0102 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE

Upon making application for renewal, a licensee shall pay a biennial licensure fee of five hundred dollars ($500.00).

History Note:

22

ority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286;

1, 1976;

1,1977; April 8, 1977;
ecem@er 15, 1977;

Rea ff.@etober 1, 1981;
Temporary
Amended ETt. F

Transferred an

; May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982;
1 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April 1, 1996;
Temporary Amendment

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; “
Temporary Amendment Eff. Aug 199
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 04; Jul 00;

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.

13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 1982;
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21 NCAC 37G .0201 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37G .0201 INACTIVE REQUIREMENTS

(a) An administrator who desires to be placed on the inactive list shall make a written request on the biennial renewal
form provided by the rd and submit a non-refundable inactive fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per year fee
to the Board.

(b) A request to

e inactive list shall be submitted to the Board no later than 30 days after expiration of
is Subchapter. Failure to submit the request and payment of the fee within 30
days after expiration sh auto‘tic expiration of the license retroactive to the expiration date.

placed on the inactive list pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, an
administrator may remain on period not to exceed four years provided the licensee pays an

inactive fee of one hundred dollar: . ach additional year prior to expiration of the inactive period.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 90-2
Eff. February 1, 1976;
Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;
Readopted Eff. December 15, 19
Readopted with Change Eff. October 1 1;
Amended Eff. February 1, 1991;

Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 3
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000.
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.

23



REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37G .0401

DEADLINE FO . Friday, July 10, 2015

jon staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the
ommission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there
whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to

Commission's next
has not been a det
inquire concernin

made:

On line 5, do you really mean “may
what circumstances will the Board refuse
submitted such evidence?

This is simply a suggestion, but | think Paragragh’(b) wo better in the Rule if reorganized
slightly. “Licensees seeking a duplicate certificate foll@Wisg a l€gal name change from the name
Ic

an “shall’? If you mean “may,” then under
2 a_duplicate license when the licensee has

under which the individual was licensed shall furnish

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our e 7 ew Hope Church Road,

Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Amanda J. Reeder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: June 26, 2015

24
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21 NCAC 37G .0401 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37G .0401 DUPLICATE LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

(&) Upon receipt of satisfactory evidence that a license or certificate of registration has been lost, mutilated, or
destroyed, the Board
dollars ($25.00).

(b) If a licensee'

issue a duplicate license or certificate of registration upon payment of a fee of twenty five

Ily changed from the name under which the individual was originally licensed by the

of the documents legally authorizing the name change, along with the twenty-

History Note:

Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;
Readopted Eff. August 1, 2015.
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21 NCAC 37H .0102 is readopted without change as published in 29:19 NCR 2247

21 NCAC 37H .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS OF STUDY

(a) The Board shall certify and administer courses in continuing education for the professional development of nursing

home administrators to enable persons to meet the requirements of the Rules in this Chapter. The licensee shall

keep a record of hi er continuing education hours. Certified courses, including those sponsored by the Board, an

accredited unive

(1)

community college, associations, professional societies, or organizations shall:

f one classroom hour of academic work and not more than eight classroom
-hou@period; and

2 i i n more of the following general subject areas or their equivalents:

(A)

(B) Human

(© Financ

(D)

(E)
(b) In lieu of certifying each course offered by ard may certify the course provider for an annual
fee not to exceed four thousand dollars ($4,000.00). hall conduct a review annually of the number
of courses each provider presented in the prior year. The @ifual fee set at one hundred dollars ($100.00) for
every course offered in the prior year. The course provider sha it a 1188 of courses offered for credit and agree

to comply with the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
(c) Certified courses not administered by the Board shall be:
Q) submitted to the Board for approval 30 days prior to the of the program; and

(2) accompanied with a processing fee to cover the cost of reviewi records associated

by the continuing education program. The fee schedule is as follows:
(A) any course submitted for review, up to and including six hotrs, shall
non-refundable fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00); and
(B) the sponsor shall pay ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional hour for any course submitted
for review that is greater than six hours.
(d) Courses shall be approved for a period of one year from the date of initial presentation.
(e) In order to receive Board approval for distance learning programs that are via printed material, cd, dvd, videotape,
or web-based, the course shall have tests before and after the session. For every credit hour claimed, the course shall
include five questions on each test administered before and after the course. These questions may be the same.
(f) Continuing education credit for licensees may include up to 10 hours for participation in distance learning courses
only if:
Q) the distance learning course is approved by the Board or the National Association of Boards of
Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB). The NAB is a certifying association of

continuing education across the nation; and
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2 the approved course sponsor sends to the Board a verification of the individual's completion of the
distance learning course.
(9) The Board shall charge a fee covering the cost of continuing education courses it sponsors, not to exceed five
hundred dollars ($500.00).

History Note:
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Amended E ruary 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; February 1, 1986;
Transferred’and ifi 21 NCAC 37A .0404 Eff. April 1, 1996;
Temporary Ame : t 15, 1999;

Amended Eff. July 1,2014; mb. 2004; July 1, 2000;

Readopted Eff. August 1,
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