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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is amended without notice pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.5(a)(5): 1 
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12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 3 

(a)  The school director shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement 4 

Training Course who is not a citizen of the United States. 5 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic 6 

criminal justice training course.  Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment 7 

as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the 8 

Director of the Standards Division.  The Director shall approve early enrollment as long as the individual turns 20 9 

years of age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course. 10 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-11 

time employment with criminal justice agencies. 12 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor 13 

Training Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under 14 

Rule .0302 of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State 15 

Comprehensive Examination. 16 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of 17 

the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to Basic law 18 

Enforcement Training, places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of 19 

taking the Reading and English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as 20 

approved by the State Board of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014 21 

http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the 22 

reading component of a nationally standardized test within one year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement 23 

Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the equivalent.  For the purposes of this Rule: 24 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold general certification or who have 25 

held general certification within 12 months prior to the date of enrollment. 26 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that: 27 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and 28 

(B) compares student test results to a national norm. 29 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 30 

Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a 31 

physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to 32 

determine the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer.  The Director of 33 

the Standards Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the 34 

commencement of the physical fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due 35 

to neglect on the part of the trainee. 36 
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(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 1 

Course unless the individual is a high school graduate or has passed the General Educational Development Test 2 

indicating high school equivalency.  High school diplomas earned through correspondence enrollment are not 3 

recognized toward the educational requirements. 4 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 5 

Course unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state 6 

records for the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided 7 

since becoming an adult.  An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state 8 

criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement. 9 

(i)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 10 

Course who has been convicted of the following: 11 

(1) a felony; 12 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 13 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior to 14 

the date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through 15 

the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission; 16 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as  "Class A B Misdemeanors," regardless of the date 17 

of conviction; 18 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class A Misdemeanors" Misdemeanors,” except 19 

the trainee may be enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the 20 

date of enrollment; 21 

(6) a combination of four or more "Class A Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of 22 

the date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North 23 

Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 24 

(j)  Individuals charged with crimes as specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule, and such offenses were dismissed or 25 

the person was found not guilty, may be admitted into the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course but completion 26 

of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or 27 

justice officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be 28 

issued. Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 29 

Course shall notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no 30 

contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a 31 

judicial official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present.  This includes all criminal 32 

offenses except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving 33 

While Impaired (DWI).  A "minor traffic offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where 34 

the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer.  Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or 35 

similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under 36 

the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5) 37 
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(fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious 1 

name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 2 

20-111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue 3 

lights), G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing 4 

on streets and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of 5 

accident).  The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing, specify the nature of the offense, the 6 

court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic 7 

Violence Order (G.S. 50B), the final disposition, and the date thereof.  The notifications required under this 8 

Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court.  The 9 

requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law 10 

Enforcement Training Course.  The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 11 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 12 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 14 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 15 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; 16 

December 1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 17 

1992; July 1, 1989; January 1, 1985. 18 
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