AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48A .0103

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 9 references a "form provided by the Board." What information is required by the form? Where is the form located? What is the name of the form? Please clarify.

1 21 NCAC 48A .0103 has been amended with changes as published in 29:02 NCR 171-172 as follows: 2 3 21 NCAC 48A .0103 MEMBERSHIP OF BOARD 4 (a) Selection of Board Members. Nominations for members of the Board shall be sought from licensees residing in 5 North Carolina. The ballots that are distributed to each licensee licensees in North Carolina shall list each nominee's 6 place and location of employment and practice setting. The completed ballots shall be forwarded to the President of 7 the North Carolina Physical Therapy Association. Association within the 30-day deadline indicated on the ballot. 8 (b) Qualification of Nominees. Each nominee for a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant position on the 9 Board shall, on a form provided by the Board, attest to meeting the qualifications specified in G.S. 90-270.25. 10 (c) Actively Engaged in Practice. Each physical therapist and physical therapist assistant member of the Board shall, during incumbency, be employed or otherwise actively engaged in a position that includes at least 1000 hours 11 12 annually devoted to review, oversight, supervision, administration, teaching, or providing physical therapy services for patients, clients, or the public. 13 14 (b)(d) Decisions. Decisions shall be reached by a majority of the Board Members present and eligible to participate 15 provided that a quorum consists of five Board Members. 16 17 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.25; 90-270.26; 18 Eff. February 1, 1976; 19 Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 20 Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; April 1, 1989; May 1, 1988; 21 December 30, 1985; October 28, 1979.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48B .0104

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 5 references a "form approved by the Board." What is the name of the form? Please clarify.

Line 7 indicates that the exemption expires "one year after it is granted." G.S. 90-270.34 provides that licenses that are not renewed in January of every year will automatically lapse. This is confirmed in 21 NCAC 48G .0201. How is this rule extending the renewal date to "one year after it is granted"? Please clarify.

1	21 NCAC 48B .0104 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 171 as follows:
2	
3	<u>21 NCAC 48B .0104</u> <u>EXEMPTIONS</u>
4	A person seeking an exemption from licensure requirements pursuant to G.S. 90-270.34(a)(8) or (9) shall submit an
5	application on a form approved by the Board (www.ncptboard.org), or a written request that includes license number
6	and contact information. An exemption issued pursuant to G.S. 90-270.34(a)(8) or (9) expires on the next annual
7	renewal date, or one year after it is granted, whichever occurs later.
8	
9	<u>History Note:</u> <u>Authority G.S. 90-270.34;</u>
10	Eff. February 1, 2015.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48C .0102

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 8, is "PT" supposed to be "physical therapist"

Line 9, what is meant by "PTA"? Please clarify.

Line 20, define or delete "immediately"

Lines 24 thru 26, how is this number of assistive personnel determined? Are there any known benchmarks or standards to incorporate?

Page 2, line 5, should the sentence read as follows:

"analysis of clinical signs, symptoms, and response to treatment..."

Page 2, line 14, delete the comma after "treatment"

21 NCAC 48C .0102 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 171-172 as follows:

123

21 NCAC 48C .0102 RESPONSIBILITIES

- 4 (a) A physical therapist must shall determine the patient care plan and the elements of that plan appropriate for
- 5 delegation.
- 6 (b) A physical therapist must shall determine that those persons acting under his or her supervision possess the
- 7 competence to perform the delegated activities.
- 8 (c) A physical therapist may delegate responsibilities to physical therapist assistants, including supervising PT or
- 9 PTA students.
- 10 (d) A physical therapist must shall enter and review chart documentation, reexamine and reassess the patient
- 11 <u>patient</u>, and revise the patient care plan if necessary, based on the needs of the patient.
- 12 (e) A physical therapist must shall establish a discharge plan that includes a discharge summary or episode of care
- for each patient.
- 14 (f) The physical therapist must shall provide all therapeutic interventions that will require the physical therapist's
- expertise, and may delegate to a physical therapist assistant or physical therapy aide the delivery of service to the
- patient when it is safe and effective for the patient.
- 17 (g) A physical therapist's responsibility for patient care management includes first-hand knowledge of the health
- status of each patient and oversight of all documentation for services rendered to each patient, including awareness
- of fees and reimbursement structures.
- 20 (h) A physical therapist must shall be immediately available directly in person or by telecommunication to a
- 21 physical therapist assistant supervising a physical therapy aide or student engaging in patient care.
- 22 (i) A physical therapist who is supervising a physical therapy aide or student must shall be present in the same
- facility when patient care is provided.
- 24 (j) A physical therapist shall clinically supervise only that number of assistive personnel, including physical
- 25 therapists assistants, physical therapy aides, and students completing clinical requirements, as the physical therapist
- determines is appropriate for providing safe and effective patient interventions at all times.
- 27 (k) A If a physical therapist assistant or physical therapy aide is involved in the patient care plan, a physical
- therapist must shall reassess a patient every 60 days or 13 visits, whichever occurs first.
- 29 (I) A physical therapist must shall document every evaluation and intervention or treatment including the following
- 30 elements:
- 31 (1) Authentication authentication (signature and designation) by the physical therapist who performed the service:
- 33 (2) Date date of the evaluation or treatment;
- 34 (3) Length length of time of total treatment session or evaluation;
- 35 (4) Patient patient status report;
- 36 (5) Changes changes in clinical status;

1	(6)	Identification identification of specific elements of each intervention or modality provided.
2		Frequency, intensity, or other details may be included in the plan of care and if so, do not need to
3		be repeated in the daily note;
4	(7)	Equipment equipment provided to the patient; and
5	(8)	Interpretation interpretation and analysis of clinical signs and symptoms and response to treatment
6		based on subjective and objective findings, including any adverse reactions to an intervention.
7	(m) At the time	of reassessment the physical therapist must shall document:
8	(1)	The the patient's response to therapy intervention;
9	(2)	The the patient's progress toward achieving goals; and
10	(3)	Justifications justifications for continued treatment.
11	(n) A physical th	erapist shall, upon request by the patient of record, provide original or copies of the patient's treatment
12	record to the patie	ent, or to the patient's designee. As permitted by G.S. 90-411, a fee may be charged for the cost of
13	reproducing copie	es. The documents requested shall be provided within 30 days of the request and shall not be contingent
14	upon current, pas	t, or future physical therapy treatment, or payment of services.
15		
16	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.24; 90-270.26; 90-270.31; 90-270.34; 90-411;
17		Eff. December 30, 1985;
18		Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; July 1, 2013; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1,
19		1998; January 1, 1991.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48C .0104

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 4, add a comma within the quotation marks after "Trigger Point Dry Needling"

Line 14, replace "cannot" with "shall not"

1	21 NCAC 48C	.0104 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 172 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48C	.0104 DRY NEEDLING
4	(a) "Dry Needli	ng," "Intramuscular Manual Therapy," "Trigger Point Dry Needling" and "Intramuscular Needling
5	are used intercha	angeably to describe a technique using the insertion of a solid filament needle, without medication,
6	into or through t	he skin to treat various impairments.
7	(b) Prior to a ph	nysical therapist performing dry needling in North Carolina, the physical therapist shall submit an
8	application to th	e Board containing proof of completion of a course of study approved by the Board. The course of
9	study shall inclu	de:
10	<u>(1)</u>	a minimum of 54 hours of in person classroom education;
11	<u>(2)</u>	instruction in clinical techniques of dry needling:
12	<u>(3)</u>	instruction in indications and contraindications of dry needling; and
13	<u>(4)</u>	certification of completion of all program requirements.
14	(c) Dry needlin	g cannot be delegated to physical therapist assistants or physical therapy aides.
15	(d) The Board s	hall maintain a list of programs approved to provide the required dry needling training for physical
16	therapists. This	information shall be available on the Board's website (www.ncptboard.org).
17		
18	History Note:	<u>Authority G.S.90-270.24; 90-270.26;</u>
19		Eff. February 1, 2015.
20		

AGENCY: **Board of Physical Therapy Examiners**

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48D .0109

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 10, replace "is" with "shall be"

Lines 10 and 11 indicates that an applicant may take the exam as limited by the Federation. Please provide a more specific website and indicate how frequently this limitation is changed by the Federation, as this is the frequently asked question and answer found on the Federations' website:

How often can I take the examination? This varies by jurisdiction. However, FSBPT will only allow you to take the examination a maximum of three times in any 12-month period.

See http://www.fsbpt.org/ExamCandidates/NationalExam(NPTE)/RetakeExam.aspx

Consider rewriting this rule to specify that "An applicant is limited to taking the examination three times in any 12-month period."

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

1 21 NCAC 48D .0109 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 172 as follows: 2 3 21 NCAC 48D .0109 RETAKING EXAMINATION 4 (a) Arrangements for Retake. To retake the examination, the applicant shall notify the Board in writing, executive 5 director and pay the retake fee as specified in Rule 48F.0102 of this Chapter, and the The examination cost at that 6 time. as set forth by the Federation (www.fsbpt.org) is hereby incorporated by reference and includes subsequent 7 amendments and editions. A copy of the retake application may be obtained from the Board's website at no charge. 8 (b) Retake Examination. The Board shall administer a particular form of the examination to an applicant only one 9 time. 10 (c) Limitations. An applicant is limited to taking the examination the number of times allowed by the Federation as 11 indicated on the Federation's website (www.fsbpt.org). 12 13 History Note: Filed as an Emergency Regulation Eff. July 23, 1979, for a period of 120 days to expire on 14 November 20, 1979; 15 Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-270.30; 90-270.33; 16 Made Permanent Eff. November 20, 1979; 17 Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; August 1, 1988; February 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; May 1, 18 1988.

AGENCY: **Board of Physical Therapy Examiners**

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48E .0110

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 7 references the "CAPTE." The statutory reference in G.S 90-270.29(2) is the following:

If an applicant for physical therapy licensure, has been graduated from a physical therapy program accredited by an agency recognized by either the U.S. Office of Education or the Council on Postsecondary Accreditation;

Please clarify where "CAPTE" comes from in this Rule.

Line 14 references the Federation's Coursework Tool. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.6.

Line 37 references the Federation's score requirement on the TOEFL. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with <u>G.S. 150B-21.6</u>.

Page 2, line 14 references a CFR. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with <u>G.S. 150B-21.6</u>.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

1	21 NCAC 48E .0110 ha	as been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 172-173 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48E .0110	FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL THERAPISTS THERAPIST APPLICANT BY
4		EXAMINATION
5	(a) This Rule applies to	a physical therapist who has graduated from a program located outside the United States
6	which that has not been a	accredited in accordance with G.S. 90 270.29 G.S. 90-270.29(2), [currently, currently, the
7	Commission on Accredit	tation of Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)]. (CAPTE), and does not hold an active
8	license in another State of	or Territory of the United States.
9	(b) English Translations	All application forms and supporting documents must shall be in English or accompanied
10	by an English translation	ı.
11	(c) If the applicant does	not meet the requirements of G.S. 90-270.29(2), the Board shall examine For the
12	applicant's educational b	ackground to be determined determine if the general and professional education is
13	substantially equivalent	to that obtained by an applicant for licensure under G.S. 90-270.29(2), as follows: the
14	applicant shall meet the	standards of the Federation's most recent Coursework Tool (CWT) (www.fsbpt.org).
15	(1) For car	ndidates graduating prior to December 31, 2002, a minimum of 120 semester hours of
16	college	e education at the freshman through senior level is required, which includes a minimum of
17	60 sen	nester hours of professional curriculum, including basic health sciences, clinical sciences
18	and eli	nical education, and a minimum of 42 semester hours of general education. Up to 21 hours
19	may be	e substituted for actual course work by obtaining a passing score on College Level
20	Exami	nation Program (CLEP) examinations.
21	(2) For car	ndidates graduating after December 31, 2002, the applicant's educational background must
22	be sub	stantially equivalent to a Post Baccalaureate degree from a CAPTE approved physical
23	therap	y educational program. In order for a foreign trained applicant's educational background to
24	be dete	ermined substantially equivalent to a post baccalaureate degree from a CAPTE approved
25	progra	m, the general and professional education must satisfy the requirements for the first
26	profes	sional degree as determined by the course work evaluation tool developed by the Federation
27	of Stat	e Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), or its successor organization. Up to one half (1/2)
28	of the	general education credit hours may be substituted for actual course work by obtaining a
29	passing	g score on CLEP examinations.
30	(d) The applicant must s	shall make arrangements to have the credentials evaluated by FCCPT (Foreign Credentialing
31	Commission on Physica	al Therapy, Inc.), or a service with a physical therapist consultant on its staff that is
32	determined by the Board	d to be equivalent. equivalent, and which must have a physical therapist consultant on its
33	staff. The Board shall	may make its own review of an applicant's educational program and is not bound by the
34	findings of the credential	ling service.
35	(e) The applicant must s	shall provide the following information: information to the Board:
36	(1) proof t	that the applicant has demonstrated English language proficiency by meeting the most recen
37	Test of	f English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) score requirement as defined by the Federation;

1		For examinations administered prior to August 1, 1998, proof that a score of 210 on the TSE (Test
2		of Spoken English) or the SPEAK (Speaking Proficiency English Assessment Kit) examination
3		was obtained;
4	(2)	For examinations administered on or after August 1, 1998, and prior to January 1, 2007, proof that
5		a minimum score of 50 on the TSE examination or the SPEAK examination was obtained, a
6		minimum score on the Test of Written English (TWE) of 4.5 was obtained, and a minimum score-
7		of 560 on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) was obtained;
8	(3)	For examinations administered on or after September 25, 2005, proof that the applicant obtained
9		the following minimum standard scale scores in each of the four scoring domains (Listening,
10		Reading, Writing, and Speaking), and the total score of the iBT/Next Generation TOEFL: Writing
11		24, Speaking: 26, Reading Comprehension: 21, Listening Comprehension: 18, Total Score: 89; or
12	(4) <u>(2)</u>	Proof proof that coursework was taught in the English language; or English is the applicant's
13		primary language.
14	<u>(3)</u>	documentation for exemption as per USCIS CFR § 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/).
15		
16	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-270.30; 90-270.31;
17		Eff. December 30, 1985;
18		Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; August 1, 1991;
19		Temporary Amendment Eff. July 21, 1995, for a period of 180 days or until the permanent Rule
20		becomes effective, whichever is sooner;
21		Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; November 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August
22		1, 1998; February 1, 1996; October 1, 1995.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48E .0111

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 7 references the "CAPTE." The statutory reference in G.S 90-270.29(2) is the following:

If an applicant for physical therapy licensure, has been graduated from a physical therapy program accredited by an agency recognized by either the U.S. Office of Education or the Council on Postsecondary Accreditation;

Please clarify where "CAPTE" comes from in this Rule.

Line 12 references the Federation's Coursework Tool. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.6.

Line 12 specifies "for the applicant's year of graduation." This language is not set forth in 21 NCAC 48E .0110 or 21 NCAC 48E .0112. Is this intentional? Please clarify.

Lines 18 through 34 do not track 21 NCAC 48E .0110 or 21 NCAC 48E .0112. Is this intentional? Please clarify.

Line 36 references a CFR. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.6.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

1	21 NCAC 48E	.0111 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 173-174 follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48E	.0111 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL THERAPIST APPLICANT BY
4		ENDORSEMENT
5	(a) This Rule a	pplies to a physical therapist who has graduated from a program located outside the United States
6	that has not bee	en accredited in accordance with G.S. 90-270.29(2), currently, the Commission on Accreditation of
7	Physical Therap	y Education (CAPTE), and holds an active physical therapist license in another State or Territory of
8	the United State	<u>s.</u>
9	(b) All applicati	on forms and supporting documents shall be in English or accompanied by an English translation.
10	(c) For the app	blicant's educational background to be determined substantially equivalent to that obtained by an
11	applicant for 1	icensure under G.S. 90-270.29(2) the applicant shall meet the standards of the Federation's
12	Coursework Too	ol (CWT) (www.fsbpt.org) for the applicant's year of graduation.
13	(d) The applica	ant shall make arrangements to have the credentials evaluated by FCCPT (Foreign Credentialing
14	Commission on	Physical Therapy, Inc.), or a service with a physical therapist consultant on its staff that is
15	determined by	the Board to be equivalent. The Board may make its own review of an applicant's educational
16	program and is a	not bound by the findings of the credentialing service.
17	(e) The applican	nt shall provide the following information to the Board:
18	<u>(1)</u>	for examinations administered prior to August 1, 1998, proof that a score of 210 on the TSE (Test
19		of Spoken English) or the SPEAK (Speaking Proficiency English Assessment Kit) examination
20		was obtained (www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/):
21	<u>(2)</u>	for examinations administered on or after August 1, 1998, and prior to January 1, 2007, the
22		following proof shall be provided:
23		(a) minimum score of 50 on the TSE examination or the SPEAK examination;
24		(b) minimum score on the Test of Written English (TWE) of 4.5; and
25		(c) minimum score of 560 on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL).
26	<u>(3)</u>	for examinations administered on or after January 1, 2007, proof shall be provided that the
27		applicant obtained the following minimum standard scale scores in each of the four scoring
28		domains (Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking), and the total score of the iBT/Next
29		Generation TOEFL:
30		(a) Writing: 24;
31		(b) Speaking: 26;
32		(c) Reading Comprehension: 21;
33		(d) Listening Comprehension: 18; and
34		(e) Total Score: 89.
35	<u>(4)</u>	proof that coursework was taught in the English language; or
36	<u>(5)</u>	documentation for exemption as per USCIS CFR § 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/).
37		

- 1 <u>History Note:</u> <u>Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-270.30; 90-270.31;</u>
- <u>Eff. February 1, 2015.</u>

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48E .0112

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 5, replace "which" with "that"

Line 6 references the "CAPTE." The statutory reference in G.S 90-270.29(2) is the following:

If an applicant for physical therapy licensure, has been graduated from a physical therapy program accredited by an agency recognized by either the U.S. Office of Education or the Council on Postsecondary Accreditation;

Please clarify where "CAPTE" comes from in this Rule.

Line 8 differs in terminology from 21 NCAC 48E .0110 or 21 NCAC 48E .0111. Is this intentional? Please clarify.

Line 11 references the Federation's Coursework Tool. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with <u>G.S. 150B-21.6</u>.

Line 18 references the Federation's score requirement on the TOEFL. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with <u>G.S. 150B-21.6</u>.

Line 20 references a CFR. This standard should be incorporated in accordance with <u>G.S. 150B-21.6</u>.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

т	21 NCAC 40E	.0112 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCK 1/4 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48E	.0112 FOREIGN-TRAINED PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICANT
4	(a) This Rule a	pplies to a physical therapist assistant who has graduated from a program located outside the United
5	States which h	as not been accredited in accordance with G.S. 90-270.29(2), currently, the Commission on
6	Accreditation of	f Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
7	(b) All applicat	ion forms and supporting documents shall be in English or accompanied by an English translation.
8	(c) If the applic	ant does not meet the requirements of G.S. 90-270.29(3), the Board shall examine the applicant's
9	educational bac	kground to determine if the general and professional education is substantially equivalent to that
10	obtained by an a	applicant for licensure under G.S. 90-270.29(2) who shall satisfy the requirements as determined by
11	the Coursework	Tool (CWT) developed by the Federation.
12	(d) The applic	ant shall make arrangements to have the credentials evaluated by FCCPT (Foreign Credentialing
13	Commission or	Physical Therapy, Inc.), or a service with a physical therapist consultant on its staff that is
14	determined by	the Board to be equivalent. The Board shall make its own review of an applicant's educational
15	program and is	not bound by the findings of the credentialing service.
16	(e) The applica	nt shall provide the following information to the Board:
17	<u>(1)</u>	proof that the applicant has demonstrated English language proficiency by meeting the most recent
18		Test of English as a Foreign Language (TEOFL) score requirement as defined by the Federation;
19	<u>(2)</u>	proof that coursework was taught in the English language; or
20	<u>(3)</u>	documentation for exemption as per USCIS CFR § 212.15 (http://www.uscis.gov/).
21		
22	<u>History Note:</u>	Authority G.S. 90-270.26; 90-270.29; 90-270.30; 90-270.31;
23		Eff. February 1, 2015.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48E .0113

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 4, delete "be required to"

Line 5, how is the "manner approved by the North Carolina Department of Justice" known to the public? Please clarify.

1	21 NCAC 48E .0113 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 174 as follows:	
2		
3	21 NCAC 48E .0113 CRIMINAL HISTORY	
4	(a) At the applicant's expense, an Applicant for licensure shall be required to consent to a criminal history record	
5	check, and furnish fingerprints to the Board in a manner approved by the North Carolina Department of Justice.	
6	(b) If an applicant is denied licensure based on the refusal to consent to a criminal history record check or the	
7	contents of the criminal history record check, upon written notice delivered to the Board within 15 business days of	
8	the Board's denial, applicant shall have the right to appear before the Board at its next regularly scheduled meeting	
9	to appeal the Board's decision.	
10		
11	<u>History Note:</u> <u>Authority G.S. 90-270.29A; 93B-8.1; 114-19.33;</u>	
12	Eff. February 1, 2015.	

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0109

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Lines 7, 8, 14, 20, 26, 32; page 2, lines 2, 6, 7, 11, and 36; page 3, lines 5, 9, and 19; page 4, line 18; and page 5, lines 1, 3, 9, 11, and 14; replace "is" with "shall be"

Line 14, add a comma after "better"

Line 15, why is "Pass/Fail" capitalized?

Page 2, line 11, correct the spacing between "licensee shall"

Page 2, lines 15, 19, and 24; and page 3, lines 21 and 33; replace "are" with "shall be"

Page 3, line 31, replace "may be earned" with "shall be allowed"

Page 4, line 4, correct the spacing between "subject related"

Page 4, line 8, add a comma after "reviewers"

Page 4, line 12, should "book" be before "review"? Please clarify.

Page 4, lines 22 and 27 reads awkwardly. Is there a term missing in "owner of a practice that clinical practice during the year"?

Page 5, line 11, delete "that shall be"

Page 5, lines 16 and 17, should the punctuation be as follows:

"physical therapy services committee, physical therapy services task force member, or delegate to a national assembly..."

Page 6, line 17, add a comma after "participation"
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

21 NCAC 48G .0109 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 174-178 as follows:

21 NCAC 48G .0109 CONTINUING COMPETENCE ACTIVITIES

- (a) Continuing Education activities are eligible for points as follows:
 - (1) A registered attendee at courses or conferences offered live, in real time by approved providers earns one point for each contact hour. The maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period is 29. The maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period for an interactive course offered through electronic media is 15. Credit shall not be given for the same course or conference more than once during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit the Certificate of Attendance issued by the approved provider.
 - (2) For registered participation in an academic course related to physical therapy offered for credit in a post-baccalaureate program unless the course is required for licensure, one class hour earns one point, one semester hour earns 15 points, and the maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period is 29. The licensee must shall obtain a letter grade of "C" or better or "P" if offered on a Pass/Fail basis. Credit shall not be given for the same course more than one time. The licensee shall submit a transcript the course description published by the approved provider. provider or furnished by the academic institution.
 - (3) For attendance or participation in an activity related to physical therapy for which no assessment is received, two contact hours earns one point. The maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period is five. Credit shall not be given for the same activity more than one time. The licensee shall submit a certificate of completion, or if that is not available, a summary of the objectives of the activity and the time spent in the activity.
 - (4) For registered participation in a non-interactive course offered by an approved provider by videotape, satellite transmission, webcast, DVD DVD, or other electronic media, one hour of participation earns one point. The maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period is 10. Credit shall not be given for the same course more than once during a reporting period. The licensee shall submit a certificate of completion provided by the course provider.
 - (5) For participation in a study group consisting of at least three licensees conducted either live or in real time through electronic media, whose purpose is to advance the knowledge and skills of the participants related to the practice of physical therapy, two hours of participation in the study group earns one point. The maximum number of points allowed during any reporting period is 10. The licensee shall submit a biography of each participant, a statement of the goals of the study group, attendance records for each participant, assignments for each participant and an analysis by each participant specifying the knowledge and skills enhanced by participating in the study group.
 - (6) For participation in a self-designed home study program designed to advance the knowledge and skill of the participant related to the practice of physical therapy, three hours of home study

1		earns one point. The maximum number of points allowed for home study during any reporting
2		period is five. The licensee shall submit a description of the plans and objectives of the home
3		study, an analysis of the manner in which the plans and objectives were met, and a certification of
4		the time spent on the project.
5	(7)	For participation in continuing education required by credentialed residencies and fellowships,
6		one point is granted for each contact hour. The maximum number of points for each reporting
7		period is 29. The licensee shall submit the certificate of attendance issued by the American
8		Physical Therapy Association ("APTA") credentialed residency or fellowship.
9	(8)	For completion of a home study physical therapy program furnished by an approved provider, one
10		hour of home study earns one point. The maximum number of points during any one reporting
11		period allowed is 10. The licensee shall submit a certificate of completion issued by the approved
12		provider.
13	(b) Points are a	awarded for advanced training as follows:
14	(1)	For fellowships conferred by organizations credentialed by the APTA in a specialty area of the
15		practice of physical therapy, 10 points are awarded for each full year of clinical participation, up to
16		a maximum of 20 points for this activity. The licensee shall submit the certificate conferred on the
17		licensee. licensee or evidence that all requirements of the fellowship program have been met.
18	(2)	For completion of a residency program in physical therapy offered by an APTA credentialed
19		organization, 10 points are awarded for each full year of clinical participation, up to a maximum of
20		20 points for this activity. The licensee shall submit evidence that all requirements of the
21		residency program have been met. The licensee shall submit the certificate conferred on the
22		licensee or evidence that all requirements of the residency program have been met.
23	(3)	For specialty certification or specialty recertification by the American Board of Physical Therapy
24		Specialization ("ABPTS"), or its successor organization, 20 points are awarded upon receipt of
25		such certification or recertification during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit evidence
26		from ABPTS that the certification or recertification has been granted.
27	(4)	For a physical therapist assistant, Advanced Proficiency designation by the APTA for the PTA
28		earns 19 points. The licensee shall submit evidence from APTA that the designation has been
29		awarded.
30	(c) Achieving	a passing score on the FBPT's Federation's Practice Review Tool ("PRT") earns 10 points. Taking
31	the PRT withou	at achieving a passing score earns five points. The licensee shall submit the certificate of completion
32	and performance	re report. Points shall be awarded only one time for any specific practice area.
33	(d) Clinical Ed	ucation activities are eligible for points as follows:
34	(1)	For completion of a course offered by an approved provider for a licensee to become a
35		Credentialed Clinical Instructor recognized by APTA, one course hour earns one point, and the
36		maximum number of points awarded during any reporting period is 29. The licensee shall submit a

- credential certificate issued by the approved provider. Credit for completing the same course shall be given only once.
 - (2) For enrollment in a course offered by APTA for a licensee to become a Credentialed Clinical Instructor Trainer, one course hour earns one point, and the maximum number of points awarded during any reporting period is 29. The licensee shall submit a Trainer certificate issued by APTA. Credit for completing the same course shall be given only once.
 - (3) For serving as a Clinical Instructor for a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant student, resident resident, or fellow for a period of at least 80 hours, 40 hours of direct on-site supervision earns one point, and the maximum number of points awarded during any reporting period is eight.

 a maximum credit of eight points is allowed during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit verification of the clinical affiliation agreement with the accredited educational program for the student supervised and a log showing the number of hours spent supervising the student.
 - (e) Presenting or teaching for an accredited physical therapy educational program; program; a transitional Doctor of Physical Therapy ("DPT") program, program; an accredited program for health care practitioners licensed under the provisions of Chapter 90 of the North Carolina General Statutes; Or a state, national national, or international workshop, seminar or professional health care conference earns two points for each hour of presentation or teaching. The licensee shall submit written materials advertising the presentation or teaching, or other evidence of the date, subject subject, and goals and objectives of the presentation presentation, and any written materials prepared by the licensee. A maximum of six points is allowed during any reporting period, and credit shall not be given for teaching or presenting the same subject matter more than one time during any reporting period.
 - (f) Research and published books or articles are eligible to accumulate up to a maximum of 15 points as follows:
 - (1) Submission of a request to a funding agency for a research grant as a Principal or Co-Principal Investigator earns 10 points. The licensee shall submit a copy of the research grant that must shall include the title, an abstract, the funding agency agency, and the grant period. Points shall be awarded only one time during any reporting period.
 - (2) Having a research grant funded as a Principal Investigator or Co-Principal Investigator earns 10 points. The licensee shall submit a copy of the research grant that must shall include the title, an abstract, the funding agency, the grant period and documentation of the funding received and for what in a given period. Points shall be awarded only one time during a reporting period.
 - (3) Service as a Grants Reviewer earns one point for each two hours of grant review and a maximum of five points may be earned. The licensee shall submit a description of all grants reviewed and any reports generated in connection with the reviews, including the dates of service, the agency for whom the review was performed performed, and the hours spent on the grant review. Points are awarded only once for each grant reviewed during the reporting period.
 - (4) The author or editor of a book published by a third party entity dealing with a subject related to the practice of physical therapy earns 10 points. The licensee shall submit a copy of the published

book and a list of consulted resources. Points shall be awarded only one time during any reporting 2 period. 3 (5) The author or editor of a chapter in a book published by a third party entity dealing with a 4 subject related to the practice of physical therapy earns five points. The licensee shall submit a 5 copy of the published book and a list of consulted resources. Points shall be awarded only one 6 time during any reporting period. 7 (6) The author of a published peer-reviewed article relating to the practice of physical therapy 8 earns 10 points. The licensee shall submit the article, names and employers of the reviewers and a 9 list of consulted resources. Points shall be awarded only one time during any reporting period. 10 The author of a published non peer-reviewed article or book-review or abstract relating to the (7) 11 practice of physical therapy earns four points. The licensee shall submit the article and a list of 12 consulted resources. Each article, review, or abstract earns four points one time only. A maximum 13 of four points shall be awarded during any reporting period. 14 (8) The author of a published peer-reviewed abstract, book review, or peer-reviewed abstract for a 15 earns five points for a presentation, up to a maximum of 15 points during any reporting period, 16 and credit for the same poster or presentation shall not be awarded more than one time. The 17 licensee shall submit a copy of the poster or presentation and a list of consulted resources. 18 (g) Clinical practice is eligible for points as follows: 19 (1) For each year during the reporting period that a licensee is engaged in full time clinical practice, 20 practice for 1,750 hours or more, three points shall be awarded. The licensee shall submit 21 certification from the licensee's employer(s) including year and hours worked or documentation of 22 practice hours as owner of a practice that clinical practice during the year; year reached or 23 exceeded 1750 hours. 24 (2) For each year during the reporting period that a licensee is engaged in part time clinical practice, 25 practice for at least 1,000 hours but less than 1,750 hours, two points shall be awarded. The 26 licensee shall submit a certification from the licensee's employer(s) including year and hours 27 worked or documentation of practice hours as owner of a practice that clinical practice during the 28 year; and year reached or exceeded 1000 hours. 29 (3) For each year during the reporting period that a licensee is engaged in clinical practice for at least 30 200 hours, 200 hours but less than 1,000 hours, one point shall be awarded. The licensee shall 31 submit a certification from the employer(s) including year and hours worked for whom the 32 services were performed or documentation of practice hours as owner of a practice. 33 (h) Professional Self-Assessment earns five points for completion of an approved Reflective Practice Exercise. This 34 exercise shall be approved if it is a process for a licensee to evaluate current professional practice abilities, to 35 establish goals to improve those abilities, to develop a plan to meet those goals goals, and to document that the 36 objectives are being accomplished. The licensee shall submit evidence of completion of all elements of the 37 Reflective Practice Exercise. Points shall be awarded only one time during any reporting period.

1 (i) Workplace Education is eligible for points as follows:

- (1) Presentation or attendance at an in-service session related to the practice of physical therapy, including health care issues related to the practice of physical therapy, is allowed. The licensee shall submit a roster or certificate of attendance signed by a representative of the employer. Two hours of attendance earns one point. One hour of presentation earns one point. A maximum of five points may be earned during any one reporting period. Credit for the same in-service shall not be granted more than one time.
- (2) Presentation or attendance at an in-service session devoted to general patient safety, emergency procedures, or governmental regulatory requirements is allowed. The licensee shall submit a roster or certificate of attendance signed by a representative of the employer. Two contact hours of inservice are equivalent to one point, which is the maximum credit that shall be granted during any reporting period. Credit for the same in-service shall not be granted more than one time during any reporting period.
- (j) Professional Service is eligible for points as follows:
 - (1) Participation in a national physical therapy or interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) organization as an officer or chair of a physical therapy services committee or physical therapy services task force member or delegate to a national assembly earns five points for each full year of participation, up to a maximum of 10 points during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit organizational materials listing the licensee's participation, a statement of the responsibilities of the position position, and a summary of the activities of the licensee.
 - (2) Participation in a state physical therapy or interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) organization as an officer or chair of a physical therapy services committee earns four points for each full year of participation, up to a maximum of eight points during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit organizational materials listing the licensee's participation, a statement of the responsibilities of the position position, and a summary of the activities of the licensee.
 - (3) Participation in a local or regional physical therapy or interdisciplinary (including physical therapy) organization as an officer or chair of a physical therapy service committee earns two points for each full year of participation, up to a maximum of four points during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit organizational materials listing the licensee's participation, a statement of the responsibilities of the position position, and a summary of the activities of the licensee.
 - (4) Participation as a member of a physical therapy professional organization committee involved with physical therapy services earns one point for each full year of participation, up to a maximum of two points during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit organizational materials listing the licensee's participation, a statement of the responsibilities of the committee, and a summary of the work of the committee.

1	(5)	Participation in unpaid volunteer service to the general public and healthcare professionals related
2		to physical therapy earns one point for at least 20 hours spent on service activities during each
3		year, up to a maximum of two points during any reporting period. The licensee shall submit
4		published materials describing the service activity.
5	(6)	Membership in the APTA for one year earns one point. A point may be earned for each year of
6		membership. membership during the reporting period. The licensee shall submit proof of
7		membership in the APTA.
8	(7)	Membership in an APTA Section for one year earns one-half point. The licensee shall submit
9		proof of membership in the APTA Section. Points shall not be awarded for membership in more
LO		than one Section.
L1	(8)	Selection by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) for participation as an
L2		item writer of exam questions for the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) or by the
L3		American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) earns five points for each year of
L4		participation. The licensee shall submit documentation of participation by the FSBPT Federation
L5		or ABPTS.
L6	(9)	Participation in clinical research, clinical trials trials, or research projects related to the practice of
L7		physical therapy earns 1 point for each hour of participation up to a maximum of 10 hours per
L8		reporting period. The licensee shall submit a log of hours of participation including date, activity
L9		performed, location of the research research, and primary investigator.
20	(k) During each	n reporting period, every licensee must shall complete a jurisprudence exercise provided by the
21	Board. The juris	sprudence exercise shall be available online at the Board's website, at http://www.ncptboard.org and
22	a certificate of c	completion shall be issued to a licensee at the conclusion of the exercise, at which time one point
23	shall be awarded	d to the licensee. The maximum number of points allowed during a reporting period is three.
24		
25	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-270.26(3a); <u>90-270.26;</u>
26		Eff. January 1, 2009;
7		Amended Eff. February 1, 2015: January 1, 2014

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0110

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 5, replace "may" with "shall"

Line 21, what is the purpose of "and granted by"? Consider deleting.

1 21 NCAC 48G .0110 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 178 as follows: 2 3 EVIDENCE OF COMPLIANCE 21 NCAC 48G .0110 4 (a) Each licensee shall submit a completed Continuing Competence Reporting Form with an application for license 5 renewal. The form ean may be found on the Board's website at http://www.ncptboard.org. 6 (b) Licensees shall retain evidence of compliance with continuing competence requirements for a period of four years 7 following the end of the reporting period for which credit is sought for an activity. 8 (c) Documentary evidence for Continuing Education continuing education activities shall include the following for each 9 activity: 10 (1) Name name of approved provider; 11 Name name of accrediting organization; (2) 12 Title; title; (3) 13 Date; date; (4) 14 (5) Hours hours for presentation; and 15 (6) Record <u>record</u> of attendance or participation by provider. 16 (d) The Board shall conduct random audits to ensure continuing competence compliance. Within 30 days from receipt of 17 an Audit Notice from the Board, the licensee must shall furnish the Board with the documentary evidence required by 18 Rule 48G .0109 of this Subchapter the rules in this Subchapter showing completion of the points required for the audited 19 reporting period. 20 (e) Requests for extensions of time for up to an additional 30 days to respond to the Audit Notice shall be submitted to 21 and granted by the Board's Executive Director. For circumstances beyond the control of the licensee related to physical or 22 medical hardship sustained by the applicant or his or her immediate family, the Board shall grant an additional period of 23 time to respond to the Audit Notice. 24 (f) If the results of the audit show a licensee has not completed the required points, and the number of additional points 25 needed by the licensee is 10 or fewer, the licensee shall complete the remaining points within 90 days from the date the 26 Board notifies the licensee by eertified electronic communication or U.S. Postal Service mail of the deficiency. For 27 circumstances beyond the control of the licensee or for personal hardship, the Board shall grant an additional period of 28 time to respond to the Audit Notice. 29 (g) Failure to respond to the Board's Audit Notice in a timely fashion, or failure to provide the necessary documentary 30 evidence of compliance pursuant to this Rule shall subject the licensee to disciplinary action pursuant to 21 NCAC 48G 31 .0601(a)(10).

32 33

34

35

History Note:

Authority G.S. 90-270.26(3a);

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; January 1, 2014.

Eff. January 1, 2009;

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0504

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 8, replace "might" with "may"

Line 9, replace "has" with "may have"

There are several places throughout this Rule where the term "committee" is used. If the intent is to reference the "investigative committee," please be consistent and use the same term throughout this Rule. As examples, please see lines 12, 22, 24, 25, and 26.

Line 18 cites only Paragraph (b). It seems as though the investigation would also include information set forth in Paragraph (a), correct? Please correct to reflect both paragraphs.

Line 22, replace "would justify" with "justifies"

Line 34, replace "is deleted or" with "shall." When altering public records, the normal procedure is to redact the information. I think the inclusion of "deleted or" is incorrect and should be deleted from this Rule.

Page 2, line 3, add "as follows:" after "factors"

Page 2, lines 3 and 4, replace the commas after "public" and "conduct" with semicolons

Page 2, line 6, is the hearing provided by "this Section" or by "this Rule"?

Page 2, lines 10 and 11, why is there no sworn testimony or record created for the informal hearing?

Page 2, line 21, replace "such" with "the"

Page 2, lines 22 and 23, what is the purpose of the statement that the attorney may communicate with the "Board members about other matters"? Is there a belief that because of the investigation, that the attorney is screened from providing any other legal assistance to the Board?

1	21 NCAC 48G	.0504 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 178-179 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48G	.0504 COMPLAINTS AND INVESTIGATIONS
4	(a) In order to	file a complaint with the Board, the following information shall be submitted to the Board in writing:
5	(1)	The the name and address of person alleged to have violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act;
6	(2)	A a statement of conduct giving rise to complaint; and
7	(3)	The the name, address and telephone number of complainant.
8	(b) Upon receip	t of a written complaint alleging misconduct that might subject a licensee to disciplinary action, or
9	upon the receip	t of the information that a violation of the Physical Therapy Practice Act has occurred, the Board
10	shall investigate	the matter to determine whether probable cause exists to institute disciplinary proceedings.
11	(c) The executive	ve director Executive Director of the Board and a member appointed by the Chair shall serve as an
12	investigative co	mmittee. This committee may be assisted by:
13	(1)	The the Board's attorney;
14	(2)	An an investigator;
15	(3)	A <u>a</u> former member of the Board; or
16	(4)	A <u>a</u> consultant retained by the committee who possesses expertise that will assist the committee in
17		its investigation.
18	(d) The investig	ative committee shall investigate the complaint or information set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
19	In conducting it	s investigation, the Board Chair (or executive director Executive Director, if designated by the
20	Chair) may issu	e subpoenas in the committee's name for the production of documents pursuant to the provisions of
21	Rule .0512 of th	nis Section. The committee shall determine whether there is probable cause to believe that the
22	licensee has vio	lated any statute or Board rule that would justify a disciplinary hearing. If the committee determines
23	probable cause	does not exist, the complaint shall be dismissed, and the complainant shall be notified of the
24	committee's act	ion and its reasons. If the committee determines that probable cause exists, the committee shall offer
25	to confer with the	he licensee in an attempt to settle the matter through informal means. If the committee and the
26	licensee reach a	n agreement on the disposition of the matter under investigation, the committee shall cause to be
27	drafted a propos	sed settlement agreement that shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law, and consent order,
28	for presentation	to and consideration by the Board. The settlement agreement shall be presented to and approved by
29	the licensee bef	ore it is presented to the Board for consideration and approval.
30	(e) Prior to a de	ecision rendered by the Board, any materials generated or obtained by the Board in conducting an
31	investigation sh	all be considered confidential investigation records not subject to the Public Records Act (Chapter
32	132 of the Gene	eral Statutes); however, copies of such materials may be provided to a licensee subject to disciplinary
33	action, or to the	licensee's attorney, so long as identifying information concerning the treatment or delivery of
34	professional ser	vices to a patient who has not consented to its public disclosure is deleted or redacted.
35	(e) (f) If the inv	estigative committee and the licensee are not able to settle the matter under investigation by informal
36	means, the licer	see may request a contested case hearing pursuant to Rule .0502 of this Section or the Board shall

give notice of a disciplinary or contested case hearing.

- 1 (f) (g) If probable cause is found, but it is determined that license suspension or revocation is not warranted, the
- 2 committee shall recommend that the Board place the licensee on probation, or issue a warning to the licensee. In
- 3 making this determination, the investigative committee shall consider factors as harm to the public, nature of the
- 4 conduct, and prior record of discipline. The committee shall mail a copy of its recommendation to the licensee.
- 5 (g) (h) Within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the licensee may refuse the probation or warning and
- 6 request a contested case hearing pursuant to this Section. The refusal and request shall be filed with the Board. The
- 7 legal counsel for the Board shall thereafter prepare, file, and serve a Notice of Hearing.
- 8 (h) (i) In the alternative, within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the licensee may request an informal
- 9 meeting with the Board to discuss the basis of the committee's recommendation and present reasons why the Board
- should not follow the committee's recommendation. There shall be no sworn testimony presented, nor shall there be
- a formal record of the proceedings.
- 12 (i) (j) If the licensee does not request a contested case hearing or an informal meeting with the Board, the Board
- shall still determine whether to accept the committee's recommendation.
- 14 (j) (k) Participation by a current Board member in the investigation of a complaint shall disqualify that Board
- member from participating in the decision making process of a contested case hearing.
- 16 (k) (l) Subsequent to the issuance of a notice of hearing, the attorney prosecuting the contested case for the Board
- may not communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue of fact or question of law, with any party,
- including the members of the Board assigned to make a decision or to make findings of fact and conclusions of law
- in the contested case, except on notice and opportunity for all parties to participate. However, the attorney
- 20 prosecuting the matter for the Board may continue to communicate concerning such contested case with the
- 21 members of the investigative committee who investigated such matter, with persons not parties to the contested case
- who may be called as witnesses including the person who filed the complaint complaint, and with the Board
- 23 members about other matters.

- 25 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26; G.S. 90-270.26(10); 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40;
- 26 Eff. October 1, 1995;
- 27 Amended Eff. <u>February 1, 2015</u>; July 1, 2013; August 1, 2002; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996.

AGENCY: **Board of Physical Therapy Examiners**

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0512

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 23, a term may not be both underlined and struckthrough. Please correct for "records"

Lines 23 thru 24 are repetitive of lines 31 and 32. Please delete lines 31 thru 32

Line 33, specify the Rule of Civil Procedure that is being used for service.

Page 2, line 2, move "with the Board's office" to line 1, between "objection within"

Page 2, line 2, replace "Such" with "The"

Page 2, line 11, delete "allowed by the Board." It does not seem that at the time of the requesting party for the subpoena filing a response that the Board will have granted, thereby "allowing" the objection yet.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

21 NCAC 48G .0512 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 179-180 as follows:

1 2 3

20

22

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

21 NCAC 48G .0512 SUBPOENAS

- 4 (a) Requests for subpoenas for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or for the production of documents, either
- 5 pursuant to an investigation, a Board proceeding, at a hearing hearing, or for the purposes of discovery, discovery
- 6 shall be made in writing to the Board, shall identify any document sought with specificity, and shall include the full
- 7 name name, and home or business address of all persons to be subpoenaed, and and, if known, the date,
- 8 time, and place for responding to the subpoena. The Board may deny the issuance of any subpoena that is
- 9 determined by the Board to have the intent of harassing or intimidating a witness. The Board Chair (or Executive
- 10 Director, if designated by the Chair) or Executive Director of the Board shall issue the requested subpoenas within
- three <u>business</u> days of receipt of the request.
- 12 (b) Subpoenas shall contain: the caption of the case; the name and address of the person subpoenaed; the date, hour
- 13 and location of the hearing in which the witness is commanded to appear; a particularized description of the books,
- 14 papers, records or objects the witness is directed to bring to the hearing, if any; the identity of the party on whose
- application the subpoena was issued; the date of issue; the signature of the presiding officer or his designee; and a
- 16 "return of service". The "return of service" form, as filled out, shows the name and capacity of the person serving the
- 17 subpoena, the date on which the subpoena was delivered to the person directed to make service, the date on which
- 18 service was made, the person on whom service was made, the manner in which service was made, and the signature
- 19 of the person making service.
 - (1) the caption of the case or the name of the licensee or matter being investigated;
- 21 (2) the name and address of the person subpoenaed;
 - (3) the date, hour and location of the hearing in which the witness is commanded to appear;
- 23 (4) a particularized description of the books, papers, records, or objects the witness is directed
 24 to bring to the hearing, if any;
 - (5) the identity of the party on whose application the subpoena was issued;
 - (6) the date of issue; the signature of the presiding officer or his designee; and
 - (7) a "return of service". The "return of service" form, as filled out, shows the name and capacity of the person serving the subpoena, the date on which the subpoena was delivered to the person directed to make service, the date on which service was made, the person on whom service was made, the manner in which service was made, and the signature of the person making service.
 - (c) Subpoenas for the production of documents for copying or inspection, the subpoena shall contain a
- 32 particularized description of the books, papers, records or objects to be produced.
- 33 (e) (d) Subpoenas shall be served as provided by the Rules of Civil Procedure, G.S. 1A-1. The cost of service, fees,
- and expenses of any witnesses or any documents subpoenaed shall be paid by the party requesting the subpoena. The
- subpoena shall be issued in duplicate, with a "return of service" form attached to each copy. A person serving the
- 36 subpoena shall fill out the "return of service" form for each copy and properly return one copy to the Board with the
- attached "return of service" form completed.

- 1 (d) (e) Any person receiving a subpoena from the Board may object thereto by filing a written objection within 10
- 2 <u>business days of receipt of to the subpoena with the Board's office.</u> Such objection shall include a <u>concise concise</u>,
- 3 but complete, statement of reasons why the subpoena should be quashed or modified. These reasons may include
- 4 lack of relevancy of the evidence sought, or any other reason sufficient in law for holding the subpoena invalid, such
- 5 as that the evidence is privileged, that appearance or production would be <u>unduly burdensome as determined by the</u>
- 6 Board so disruptive as to be unreasonable in light of the significance of the evidence sought, or other undue
- 7 hardship.
- 8 (e) (f) Any objection to a subpoena must shall be served on the party who requested the subpoena simultaneously
- 9 with the filing of the objection with the Board.
- 10 (f) (g) The party who requested the subpoena may file a written response to the objection within such time period $\underline{10}$
- business days after receipt of the objection allowed by the Board. The written response shall be filed with the Board
- and served by the requesting party on the objecting witness.
- 13 (g) (h) After receipt of the objection and response thereto, if any, the Board shall issue a notice to the party who
- requested the subpoena and the party challenging objecting to the subpoena, and may notify any other party or
- parties of an open hearing before the presiding officer, to be scheduled as soon as practicable. At the hearing,
- evidence and testimony may be presented, limited to the narrow questions raised by the objection and response.
- 17 (h) (i) Promptly Within 30 days after the close of such hearing, the presiding officer will shall rule on the challenge
- 18 and issue a written decision. A copy of the decision will be issued to all parties and made a part of the record.

19

- 20 *History Note:* Authority G.S. 90-270.26; <u>90-270.26(10)</u>; 150B-39; 150B-40;
- 21 *Eff. October 1, 1995;*
- 22 Amended Eff. <u>February 1, 2015</u>; August 1, 2002.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0601

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 5, add a comma after "(8)"

Lines 26 and 27, please correct the spacing.

Line 33, replace "which" with "that"

Page 2, line 32, add a comma after "hearing"

1	21 NCAC 48G.	0601 has been amended as published in 29:02 NCR 180-181 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48G .	0601 PROHIBITED ACTIONS
4	(a) Behaviors an	d activities which that may result in disciplinary action by the Board pursuant to G.S. 90-270.36(1)
5	(6), (7), (8) and (9) and G.S. 90-270.35(4) include the following:
6	(1)	recording false or misleading data, measurements measurements, or notes regarding a patient;
7	(2)	delegating responsibilities to a person when the licensee delegating knows or has reason to know
8		that the competency of that person is impaired by physical or psychological ailments, or by
9		alcohol or other pharmacological agents, prescribed or not;
10	(3)	practicing or offering to practice beyond the scope permitted by law;
11	(4)	accepting and performing professional responsibilities which the licensee knows or has reason to
12		know that he or she is not competent to perform;
13	(5)	performing, without adequate supervision as described in the rules in this Chapter, professional
14		services that the licensee is authorized to perform only under the supervision of a licensed
15		professional, except in an emergency situation where a person's life or health is in danger;
16	(6)	harassing, abusing, inappropriately touching, as defined in Rule 48A .0105(7) of this Chapter or
17		intimidating a patient either physically or verbally;
18	(7)	failure to exercise supervision over persons who are authorized to practice only under the
19		supervision of the licensed professional;
20	(8)	promoting an unnecessary device, treatment intervention, nutritional supplement, product product
21		or service for the financial gain of the practitioner or of a third party as determined by the
22		investigative committee;
23	(9)	offering, giving, soliciting, or receiving receiving, or agreeing to receive, receive any fee or other
24		consideration to or from a third party for the referral of a client;
25	(10)	failure to file a report, filing a false report report, or failure to respond to an inquiry from the
26		Board within 30 days from the date of issuance, required by law or
27		the rules in this Subchapter, or impeding or obstructing such filing or inducing another person to
28		do so;
29	(11)	revealing identifiable data, or information obtained in a professional capacity, without prior
30		consent of the patient, except as authorized or required by law;
31	(12)	guaranteeing that a patient will benefit from the performance of professional services;
32	(13)	altering a license or renewal card by changing any information appearing thereon;
33	(14)	using a license or renewal card which has been altered;
34	(15)	permitting or allowing another person to use his or her license or renewal card for the practice of

physical therapy;

1	(16)	delegating professional responsibilities to a person when the licensee delegating such
2		responsibilities knows or has reason to know that such a person is not qualified by training, by
3		experience, or by licensure to perform such responsibilities;
4	(17)	violating any term of probation, condition, or limitation imposed on the licensee by the Board;
5	(18)	soliciting or engaging in any activities of a sexual nature, including kissing, fondling fondling, or
6		touching any person while the person is under the care of a physical therapist or physical therapist
7		assistant;
8	(19)	billing or charging for services or treatment not performed;
9	(20)	making treatment recommendations or basing a patient's continued treatment on the extent of third
10		party benefits instead of the patient's condition;
11	(21)	willfully or intentionally communicating false or misleading information regarding a patient;
12	(22)	harassing, abusing, or intimidating any person, either physically or verbally, while engaged in the
13		practice of physical therapy;
14	(23)	using a form of a license or renewal card that was not issued by the Board or is not current;
15	(24)	failing to record patient data within a reasonable period of time following evaluation, assessment
16		assessment, or intervention;
17	(25)	failing to pay the costs of investigation or otherwise to comply with an order of discipline;
18	(26)	failing to maintain legible patient records that contain an evaluation of objective findings, a
19		diagnosis, a plan of care including desired outcomes, the treatment record including all elements
20		of 21 NCAC 48C .0102(l) or 21 NCAC 48C .0201(f), a discharge summary or episode of care
21		including the results of the intervention, and sufficient information to identify the patient and the
22		printed name and title of each person making an entry in the patient record;
23	(27)	charging fees not supported by documentation in the patient record;
24	(28)	furnishing false or misleading information on an application for licensure and licensure renewal;
25		and
26	(29)	engaging in misrepresentation or deceit deceit, or exercising undue influence over a patient or
27		former patient for the financial gain of the licensee.
28	(b) When a pers	son licensed to practice physical therapy is also licensed in another jurisdiction and that other
29	jurisdiction take	s disciplinary action against the licensee, the North Carolina Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
30	will-shall determ	nine whether the conduct found by the other jurisdiction also violates the North Carolina Physical
31	Therapy Practice	e Act. The Board may impose the same or lesser disciplinary action upon receipt of the other
32	jurisdiction's act	ions. The licensee may request a hearing. At the hearing the issues shall be limited to:
33	(1)	whether the person against whom action was taken by the other jurisdiction and the North
34		Carolina licensee are the same person;
35	(2)	whether the conduct found by the other jurisdiction also violates the North Carolina Physical
36		Therapy Practice Act; and
37	(3)	whether the sanction imposed by the other jurisdiction is lawful under North Carolina law.

- 1 (c) In accordance with G.S. 150B-3(c) a license may be summarily suspended if the Board determines the public
- 2 health, safety, or welfare requires emergency action.
- 3 (d) When the Board receives a notice from a Clerk of Superior Court that the license of a physical therapist or a
- 4 physical therapist assistant has been forfeited pursuant to G.S. 15A-1331A, the licensee shall surrender the license to
- 5 the Board within 24 hours and shall not engage in the practice of physical therapy during the period of forfeiture.
- 6 Forfeiture under this Section shall not limit the Board's authority to take further disciplinary action against the
- 7 licensee in accordance with the Board's rules.

8

- 9 *History Note:* Authority G.S. 15A-1331A; 90-270.24; 90-270.26; 90-270.35(4); 90-270.36; 150B-3;
- 10 Eff. October 1, 1995;
- 11 Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; July 1, 2013; December 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; August 1,
- 12 1998; February 1, 1996.

AGENCY: Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0701

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 11, is the correct term "health care practitioners" or "licensees"? Is the use of "health care practitioners" to allow the Board to use a Program established and operated by another Board?

1	21 NCAC 48G .0701 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 181 as follows:
2	
3	SUBCHAPTER 48G - RETENTION OF LICENSE
4	
5	SECTION .0700 – IMPAIRED LICENSEE
6	
7	21 NCAC 48G .0701 DEFINITIONS
8	(a) "Impairment" is a condition caused by substance abuse or mental illness that impacts a licensee's ability to
9	provide physical therapy services.
10	(b) "Participant" is a licensee enrolled in a Program designed to treat substance abuse or mental illness.
11	(c) "Program" is a specific course of action for health care practitioners who suffer from substance abuse or mental
12	illness to the extent it impairs professional competence.
13	
14	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26(11);
15	Eff. February 1, 2015.

1	21 NCAC 48G.	0702 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 181 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 48G.	0702 PROGRAMS
4	(a) Before partic	cipating in a Program, a licensee shall be referred to the Program by the Board.
5	(b) If the Board	does not offer a Program, it may make arrangements for licensees with impairments to participate
6	in Programs ad	ministered by other North Carolina health care licensing boards or by other physical therapy
7	licensing boards	that are members of the Federation. Such Programs shall provide for:
8	<u>(1)</u>	investigation, review and evaluation of records, reports, complaints, litigation, and other
9		information about the practice and practice patterns of licensed physical therapists and physical
10		therapist assistants as may relate to impaired physical therapists and physical therapist assistants;
11	(2)	identification, intervention, treatment, referral, and follow up care of impaired physical therapists
12		and physical therapist assistants; and
13	(3)	due process rights for any subject physical therapist or physical therapist assistant.
14	(c) Any licensee	enrolled in a Program shall comply with its requirements. Any licensee terminated by a Program
15	before successfu	lly completing the Program may be subject to disciplinary action.
16		
17	History Note:	<u>Authority G.S. 90-270.26(11);</u>
18		Eff. February 1, 2015.
19		

1	21 NCAC 48G .0703 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCK 181-182 as follows:
2	
3	21 NCAC 48G .0703 <u>INFORMATION OF IMPAIRMENT</u>
4	(a) When information of suspected impairment of a licensee is received by the Board, the Board shall conduct an
5	investigation and routine inquiries to determine the validity of the report prior to referring the licensee to a Program.
6	(b) Licensees suspected of impairment may be required to submit to personal interviews if the investigation and
7	inquiries indicate the report of impairment may be valid.
8	
9	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26(11);
10	Eff. February 1, 2015.

1	21 NCAC 48G .0704 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 182 as follows:	
2		
3	21 NCAC 48G .0704 CONFIDENTIALITY	
4	Information received by the Program shall remain confidential in accordance with the Program's police	ies and
5	procedures. However, information received as a result of a Board referral shall be freely exchanged with the	e Board
6	or its authorized agents.	
7		
8	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26(11);	
9	Eff. February 1, 2015.	

AGENCY: **Board of Physical Therapy Examiners**

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0705

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Lines 7, 9, and 11, uncapitalize the first term of the line.

Line 11, define or delete "reasonably"

1	21 NCAC 48G .0705 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 182 as follows:
2	
3	21 NCAC 48G .0705 REPORTS
4	Following an investigation, intervention, treatment, or upon receipt of a complaint or other information, a program
5	participating with the Board pursuant to Rule .0702(b) of this Section shall report to the Board detailed information
6	about any physical therapist or physical therapist assistant licensed by the Board, if it is determined that:
7	(a) The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant constitutes an imminent danger to the public or
8	himself or herself; or
9	(b) The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant refuses to cooperate with the Program, refuses to
10	submit to treatment, or is still impaired after treatment and exhibits professional incompetence; or
11	(c) It reasonably appears that there are other grounds for disciplinary action.
12	
13	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.26(11);
14	Eff. February 1, 2015.

AGENCY: **Board of Physical Therapy Examiners**

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 48G .0706

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, January 9, 2015

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made. Approval of any rule is contingent upon making technical changes as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.10.

Line 4, define or delete "regularly"

Lines 6 thru 8, uncapitalize the first term of the line.

1	21 NCAC 48G .0706 has been adopted as published in 29:02 NCR 182 as follows:
2	
3	21 NCAC 48G .0706 PROGRAM STANDARDS
4	Any Program receiving referrals of licensees from the Board shall be regularly monitored to determine its ability to
5	provide:
6	(1) Adequate staffing to supervise participants in the Program;
7	(2) Appropriate referrals for treatment to professionals, group counseling and facilities; and
8	(3) Appropriate post-treatment support.
9	
10	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-2701.26(11);
11	Eff. February 1, 2015.