

North Carolina Department of Commerce

Pat McCrory, Governor

Sharon Allred Decker, Secretary

REVISEDJuly 18, 2014

E-Mail: currin@law.campbell.edu

VIA E-MAIL ONLY

Margaret Currin, Chair N.C. Rules Review Commission N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings 6714 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-6714

Re: N.C. Department of Commerce

Periodic Review of Existing Rules Request for Extension of Time

26 NCAC 05 .0204

Professor Currin:

I am writing to you pursuant to 26 NCAC 05 .0204(a) to request an extension of time within which to file the Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules Report for Submission to the Rules Review Commission form for the Division of Employment Security (04 NCAC 24).

The N.C. Department of Commerce is a large agency divided into various divisions. For purposes of administrative rulemaking, the Department has historically had separate rulemaking coordinators for the various divisions. In an effort to consolidate matters and work in a more consistent manner, I have asked my General Counsel, John Hoomani, to coordinate all the rulemaking actions for the Department through his office, including the ongoing periodic review of existing rules.

The periodic review for our Division of Employment Security (04 NCAC 24) was the first such review for the Department, and was due to be reviewed by the Commission at its August 2014 meeting. As a result, the attached report was due from the Department by July 15, 2014.

Margaret Currin, Chair N.C. Rules Review Commission N.C. Office of Administrative Hearings July 18, 2014 Page 2 of 2

Allud Decker

However, due to this change in staffing the deadline was missed. I apologize for these delays, and assure you that we will put measures in place to ensure this does not happen again.

For this reason, I am hereby requesting the Commission grant an extension of time for the Department to submit the attached report for the Division of Employment Security (04 NCAC 24), in accordance with 26 NCAC 05 .0204(a)(1) and (a)(3).

I appreciate your attention to this matter, and look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Sharon A. Decker

Secretary of Commerce

cc: Jay Hemphill, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Garth K. Dunklin, 1st Vice Chair, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Stephanie Simpson, 2nd Vice Chair, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Jeffrey T. Hyde, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Faylene Whitaker, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Anna Baird Choi, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Jeanette Doran, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Ralph A. Walker, Member, N.C. Rules Review Commission
Molly Masich, Codifier of Rules
Amanda J. Reeder, Counsel, N.C. Rules Review Commission