AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: All rules

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

<u>NOTE WELL:</u> This request when viewed on computer extends several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

On the Submission for Permanent Rule Form, you must provide the link to the agency website in Box 6 where it asks for "Link to Agency Notice." The publication in the Register indicates that was www.ncbenha.org. Assuming that is correct, please use that link.

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37B .0101

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

This particular does not establish or create a fee. On the Submission for Permanent Rule Form, do not check yes. Check no.

In the Rule text, on line 5, properly insert a comma after Board before the punctuation mark. It should look like this:

<mark>Board" <u>Board,"</u></mark>

21 NCAC 37B .0101 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows:

3 21 NCAC 37B .0101 AUTHORITY: NAME & LOCATION OF BOARD

The "North Carolina State Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators," subsequently herein referred to as the "Board" is established and authorized by G.S. 90, Article 20. The Board's physical location and mailing address is: 3733 National Drive, Suite 228, 110, Raleigh, North Carolina 27612. The Board's website address is www.ncbenha.org. Authority G.S. 90-277; History Note: *Eff. April 1, 1996;* Amend Eff. July 1, 2014.

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0202

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

Delete the "as" on line 6 before "required"

21 NCAC 37D .0202 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37D	.0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE
4	The applicant sh	nall send to the Board, prior to licensure, Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial
5	licensure non-re	fundable fee of four hundred twenty five dollars (\$425.00) five hundred dollars (\$500.00) when the
6	applicant has su	ccessfully passed the examinations as required by the Board under Sections .0600 and .0700 of this
7	Subchapter.	
8		
9	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-280;
10		Eff. February 1, 1976;
11		Amended Eff. August 1, 1977;
12		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977;
13		Amended Eff. December 30, 1981;
14		Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9,
15		1982;
16		Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1982;
17		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0302 Eff. April 1, 1996;
18		Amended Eff. August 1, 1996;
19		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996;
20		Amended Eff. July 1, 1998;
21		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
22		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		
37		

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0402

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

In (a), line 4, delete the comma after "application" and replace "which" with "that"

Is the Board providing the application in (a)? If so, tell how or where they can get it.

In (a), I am partial to lists and think this would read better as a list.

"The applicant shall submit an application containing:

(1) name;

(2) education;..."

Please not throughout this Rule and all rules submitted that when using lists, while it is not required, it is preferred that the subparts begin with lowercase letters.

If you decide not to make the list, in (a), line 6, insert a comma after "applicant"

In (c), where does someone get these forms?

In (c), line 11, do not delete "three"

End (c), line 12, with a colon, not a period.

In (c), you state the references are required by Rule .0203 of the Subchapter, which states:

21 NCAC 37D .0203 REFERENCES

A candidate for licensure shall submit with his application three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the candidate who shall certify to the good moral character of the applicant. It shall be prima facie evidence of good moral character if a candidate has not violated any standards stated in G.S. 90-285.1.

It seems that (c)(1) and (2) require more than what is in 37D .0203. Is this by design? Wouldn't it be better to amend Rule 37D .0203?

In (c)(1) and (2), begin with an article "The" and state "shall include"

End (c)(1) with "and"

In (c)(2), will the individual be able to give an opinion on the ability to supervise the care of the residents? Are you anticipating it will be submitted by colleagues? Or do you just want someone's opinion on the matter?

In (d), I take it you mean "certified" as an official transcript by the institution?

In (f)(1) through 6, begin with an article where you can, i.e. "A Facility Survey form..."

Where can someone find the forms in (f)(1), (3), (4) and (5)?

In (f)(2) and elsewhere, I take it "AIT" means "Administrator in Training" Is this correct?

In (f)(3), do you mean "the number of years the individual has served as an administrator..."?

In (f)(4), what is the "Curriculum Outline"? Why is it capitalized? In line 29, you refer to a "basic outline." Is that the same as the "Curriculum Outline"?

Also in (f)(4), what is a "department"? And on line 30, insert a comma after "covered"

On Page 2, (g), line 2, delete the comma after "interview" and replace "their" with "the" before facility.

- 21 NCAC 37D .0402 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37D .	0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING			
4	(a) The applicar	nt shall submit to the Board an application, which shall contain such information as name, education,			
5	employment hist	employment history, questions pertaining to moral character, and any other information the Board may require to			
6	process an applic	process an application according to these Rules, criminal history, and an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted			
7	a license, shall o	bey the laws of the state and the rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor and dignity of the			
8	profession.				
9	(b) The applican	nt shall submit a background resume indicating the areas in which he is competent or lacking.			
10	resume.				
11	(c) The applicant shall submit three reference forms (one employer and two character) as required and defined by				
12	<u>set forth in</u> Rule	.0203 of this Subchapter.			
13	<u>(1)</u>	Employer Reference Form includes the address of employment and duties assigned;			
14	<u>(2)</u>	Character Reference Form includes how this individual knows the applicant and whether the			
15		applicant is capable to supervise the care of residents of a skilled facility. No character reference			
16		shall be from a relative of the applicant.			
17	(d) The applicar	nt shall supply a certified copy of each college transcript indicating the courses completed and hours			
18	earned, specifying whether semester or quarter hours. The applicant shall supply documentation of his or her				
19	supervisory experience in a nursing home if he the applicant is utilizing the experience substitute for the education				
20	requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b.				
21	(e) The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the Board for a personal interview.				
22	(f) The precepted	or shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview:			
23	(1)	Facility Survey Form stating the facility license number, address and the number of beds;			
24	(2)	Letter accepting individual as an AIT;			
25	<u>(3)</u>	Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of years as an administrator and number of AITs			
26		precepted;			
27	(3)<u>(4)</u>	An individualized curriculum Curriculum Outline for the AIT program that provides the AIT with			
28		on the job experience in the subject areas as outlined in Rule .0605 of this Subchapter, each			
29		department. A basic outline shall include each department and the information that will be			
30		covered including the recommended number of weeks in the program as outlined on the AIT			
31		Curriculum Request and Rationale Form;			
32	(4)<u>(5)</u>	Based AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form shall be based on the education or and			
33		experience of the AIT applicant, applicant. the The preceptor shall be responsible for providing a			
34		rationale for any all subject area areas with in which the recommended number of weeks for the			
35		AIT is less than the number of weeks provided on the Form; AIT; and			
36	(5)<u>(6)</u>	Map to facility or directions. Directions to the facility.			

- 1 (g) The owner of the facility or governing board of the facility shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the
- 2 personal interview, a letter of approval for the AIT applicant to train in their facility.
- 3 (h) A <u>non-refundable processing</u> fee of one hundred fifty dollars (\$150.00) two hundred fifty dollars (\$250.00) shall
- 4 be submitted with the application.
- 5 (i) An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current residence residential mailing address with the Board
- 6 office.

7	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; <u>90-288.01</u>
8		Eff. February 1, 1976;
9		Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977;
10		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;
11		Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;
12		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;
13		Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;
14		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0502 Eff. April 1, 1996;
15		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2004; April 1, 1996.
16		
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24		
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		
37		

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37D .0703

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

In (a), lines 4 and 5, where can I find the State Examination Application form?

In (a), line 6, delete "have" both places.

In (a), line 7, insert a comma after "cause" Insert an "or" before "survey" and end the sentence there. Don't use "etc."

In (c), line 10, insert a comma after "Form" and where can I get it?

The sentence on lines 10 and 11 isn't a complete sentence. Is it a release form stating the applicant will keep the test questions confidential?

In (d), do you need "sit for and"? Wouldn't "An applicant shall pass the State Exam..." suffice?

1	21 NCAC 37D .	0703 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 37D .	0703 STATE EXAMINATION ADMINISTRATION
4	(a) The State Ex	amination shall be administered on dates to be determined and published by the Board on the State
5	Examination Ap	plication form. It may also be offered on different dates to reciprocity applicants and to AIT
6	applicants who h	nave passed the National Examination but have previously failed the State Examination on different
7	dates who show	good cause such as unavailability due to illness, inclement weather, employment, survey, etc
8	(b) An applican	t shall pay a non-refundable processing fee of seventy five dollars (\$75.00) one hundred fifty dollars
9	(\$150.00) each t	ime he the applicant takes the State Examination.
10	(c) To sit for the	e State Examination, the applicant shall submit a Test Confidentiality and Attestation Form which is
11	a release form st	ating to keep test questions confidential. This form is provided by the Board on the website and in
12	the information	package.
13	(d) An applican	t shall sit for and pass the State Exam within one year of the date of completion of the AIT program.
14		
15	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285;
16		Eff. April 1, 1996;
17		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2004.
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
24 25		
23 26		
20		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		
37		

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37E .0102

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

In (a), line 4, replace "which" with "that"

Also in (a), line 5, delete "which is" so it reads,

"next scheduled Board meeting [which is] posted"

Begin Items (1), (2), (5) and (6) with "a"

In Item (4), lines 12 and 13, do not have a space between the period and the rule citation. Further, state "Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203"

In Item (4), begin "three reference forms..."

In Sub-Item (4)(a), state "<u>the</u> Employer Reference Form<u>shall</u> include..." End the sentence with a semicolon and "and"

In Sub-Item (4)(b), state "the Character Reference Forms shall include how the individual..."

Also in (4)(b), will the individual be able to give an opinion on the ability to supervise the care of the residents? Are you anticipating it will be submitted by colleagues? Or do you just want someone's opinion on the matter?

And where does one get the forms in Sub-Items (4)(a) and (b)?

Also in Item (4), you state the references are required by Rule .0203 of the Subchapter, which states:

21 NCAC 37D .0203 REFERENCES

A candidate for licensure shall submit with his application three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the candidate who shall certify to the good moral character of the applicant. It shall be prima facie evidence of good moral character if a candidate has not violated any standards stated in G.S. 90-285.1.

It seems that (4)(a) and (b) require more than what is in 37D .0203. Is this by design? Wouldn't it be better to amend Rule 37D .0203?

In Item (5), line 18, I'd prefer: "a licensing questionnaire(s) from every state where the applicant held a license. The questionnaire is on the Board's website;"

If you don't make that change, state "<u>a</u> licensing questionnaire(s) [which is] <u>provided</u> <u>on</u>..." and delete "has" on line 19.

In Item (7), how do people know the fee and the forms?

21 NCAC 37E .0102 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37E	.0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS	
4	An applicant for	reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the following items which must shall be received by the	
5	Board three weeks prior to the personal interview next scheduled Board Meeting which is posted on the Board's		
6	website:		
7	(1)	a completed application;	
8	(2)	background-resume;	
9	(3)	certified college transcript(s);	
10	(4)	three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the	
11		applicant who shall certify the good moral character of the applicant as defined in 21 NCAC 37D-	
12		.0203; reference forms (one employer and two character) as set forth in Subchapter 37D Rule .	
13		<u>0203:</u>	
14		(a) Employer Reference Form includes the address of employment and duties assigned.	
15		(b) Character Reference Form includes how this individual knows the applicant and whether	
16		the applicant is capable to supervise the care of residents of a skilled facility. No	
17		character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant.	
18	(5)	licensing questionnaire(s) which is provided on the Board's website from every state where the	
19		applicant has held a license; and	
20	(6)	a two hundred dollars (\$200.00) application fee non-refundable processing fee of two hundred	
21		fifty dollars (\$250.00); and	
22	<u>(7)</u>	submission of fingerprint card, necessary forms and required fee for criminal background check.	
23			
24	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; <u>90-288.01;</u>	
25		Eff. February 1, 1976;	
26		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;	
27		Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;	
28		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;	
29		Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;	
30		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff. April 1, 1996;	
31		Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;	
32		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;	
33		Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.	
34			
35			
36			
37			

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37F .0102

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

Begin Subparagraphs (a)(1), (2), (4) with "a"

In Subparagraph (a)(3), line 10, begin <u>"three</u> reference forms..." Further, state "Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203" and end with a colon.

In Subparagraph (a)(3), it should be "(a)(3)(\underline{A})" and "(\underline{B})"

In Subparagraph (a)(3)(a), state "<u>the</u> Employer Reference Form<u>shall</u> include..." End the sentence with an "and"

In Subparagraph (a)(3)(b), state "the Character Reference Forms shall include how the individual..."

Also in (a)(3)(b), will the individual be able to give an opinion on the ability to supervise the care of the residents? Are you anticipating it will be submitted by colleagues? Or do you just want someone's opinion on the matter?

And where does one get the forms in Subparagraphs (3)(a) and (b)?

Also in (3), you state the references are required by Rule .0203 of the Subchapter, which states:

21 NCAC 37D .0203 REFERENCES

A candidate for licensure shall submit with his application three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the candidate who shall certify to the good moral character of the applicant. It shall be prima facie evidence of good moral character if a candidate has not violated any standards stated in G.S. 90-285.1.

It seems that (4)(a) and (b) require more than what is in 37D .0203. Is this by design? Wouldn't it be better to amend Rule 37D .0203?

Begin (a)(5) with "the"

In Paragraph (b), how do people know the fee and the forms?

In Paragraph (c), why are you changing the citation to the Subchapter? Currently, there are only two rules in the Subchapter: this one and .0101.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

21 NCAC 37F .0102 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37F	.0102 ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF TEMPORARY LICENSE		
4	(a) An applicar	nt for a temporary license shall request, in writing, a temporary license package from the Board,		
5	submit the following items: provide a letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issue of such license			
6	for the facility,	stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of a temporary license, and submit a completed		
7	application pack	kage including of a two hundred dollar (\$200.00) fee.		
8	<u>(1</u>)	completed application:		
9	<u>(2</u>)	<u>resume;</u>		
10	<u>(3)</u>	reference forms (one employer and two character) as set forth in Subchapter 37D, Rule .0203:		
11		(a) Employer Reference Form includes the address of employment and duties assigned;		
12		(b) Character Reference Form includes how this individual knows the applicant and whether		
13		the applicant is capable to supervise the care of residents of a skilled facility. No		
14		character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant;		
15	<u>(4)</u>	letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issuance of a Temporary License for the		
16		facility stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of the license; and		
17	<u>(5)</u>	processing fee of three hundred dollars (\$300.00).		
18	(b) After an applicant is issued a temporary license he or she shall submit a fingerprint card, necessary forms and			
19	required fee for a criminal background check and successfully pass the state examination as administered by the			
20	Board at the nex	Board at the next scheduled testing period at the next exam date to retain the temporary license.		
21	(c) A temporar	prary license may be renewed extended at the discretion of the Board for an additional period not to		
22	exceed a total o	exceed a total of six months subject to in accordance with the requirements of 21 NCAC37F .0101(d) this		
23	Subchapter.			
24	(d) A temporar	(d) A temporary license shall be issued to the licensee applicant to permit him to practice only in the nursing home		
25	to which he the applicant is assigned on the date of issuance.			
26	(e) If the Board renews extends the temporary license, no further fee shall be required.			
27				
28	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; <u>90-288.01;</u>		
29		Eff. February 1, 1980;		
30		Amended Eff. April 15, 1980;		
31		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;		
32		Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982;		
33		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April 1, 1996;		
34		Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;		
35		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;		
36		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2000.		
37				

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37G .0102

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

On line 4, what is a "new certificate of registration"?

Insert a comma after "registration" on line 4.

21 NCAC 37G .0102 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:

21 NCAC 37G .0102 **RENEWAL FEE** Upon making application for a new certificate of registration a licensee shall pay a biennial licensure fee of four hundred twenty five dollars (\$425.00). five hundred dollars (\$500.00). Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286; History Note: *Eff. February 1, 1976;* Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981; Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 1982; Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April 1, 1996; Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37G .0201

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

In (a), the Board will provide the form. Does the administrator request it from the Board?

I don't fully understand the second sentence of Paragraph (b). Wouldn't the license have already expired? I note that Rule .0101(a) of the Subchapter states:

21 NCAC 37G .0101 RENEWAL

(a) A license shall expire on the 30th day of September of the second year following its issuance.

Is the second sentence necessary?

In (c), I read G.S. 90-280(e) as requiring not just a fee but a request from the individual to remain on the inactive list. I think it would be helpful to make it clear in the Rule.

In (c), line 13, how far in advance must this be paid?

- 21 NCAC 37G .0201 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37G	.0201 INACTIVE STATUS REQUIREMENTS			
4	(a) An inactive	list of administrators who are not practicing in this state shall be maintained by the Board. An			
5	administrator w	ho desires to be placed on the inactive status list shall make a written request on the biennial renewal			
6	form provided b	by the Board and submit a fifty dollar (\$50.00) non-refundable inactive fee of one hundred dollars			
7	(<u>\$100.00</u>) per ye	ear fee to the Board. Inactive status shall only be granted on a prospective basis.			
8	(b) A request to	be placed on the inactive status list shall be submitted to the Board no later than 30 days after			
9	expiration of the	e license under 21 NCAC 37G .0101(a). Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter. Failure to submit the			
10	request and pay	request and payment of the fee within this time shall result in automatic expiration of the license retroactive to the			
11	expiration date.				
12	(c) An adminis	trator may remain on the inactive list for a period not to exceed four years provided he the licensee			
13	pays a fifty doll	ar (\$50.00) fee an inactive fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00) in advance for each additional year.			
14					
15	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285;			
16		Eff. February 1, 1976;			
17		Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;			
18		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;			
19		Readopted with Change Eff. October 1, 1981;			
20		Amended Eff. February 1, 1991;			
21		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0906 Eff. April 1, 1996;			
22		Amended Eff. April 1, 1999;			
23		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;			
24		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2000.			
25					
26					
27					
28					
29					
30					
31					
32					
33					
34					
35					
36					
37					

AGENCY: Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 37H .0102

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Monday, June 9, 2014

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the rule will be approved. You may call this office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing these rules, the staff determined that the following technical changes need to be made:

I note that G.S. 90-286 requires the Board to keep a record of the courses successfully completed by the licensee. By requiring the licensees to keep a list, is this how you're doing it?

In (a)(1), we usually don't like the use of "minimum" in rules, as the rules set the minimum standard. Do you have a compelling reason to keep it here?

In (a)(2), can this be done in one hour? Do you mean online 11 "include instruction in <u>one or more of</u> the following..."

Also in (a)(1)(A) through (E), why do these begin with uppercase letters? Are these topic titles?

In (b), when will the fees be less than \$4000? I see on lines 18 and 19, you're saying it's based on the number of courses offered in the prior year, but I don't understand the formula you're using. Is it what is in Subparagraph (c)(2)? And state "annual fee <u>shall</u> <u>be</u> based on..."

On line 20, replace "agrees" with "agree"

On line 21, what do you mean by this?

In (c), I suggest inserting "be" after "shall:" and deleting "be" on lines 23 and 24.

In (c)(1), line 23, delete "at least" unless you have a compelling reason to keep it.

Also on line 23, insert an "and" at the end of the line.

In (c)(2), line 24, replace "with" with "by"

Be consistent with the capitalization within the Rule. In (c)(2)(A) and (B), begin with a lowercase letter.

Subparagraph (c)(2)(B) doesn't read well. Why not, "the sponsor shall pay ten (\$10.00) for each additional hour for any course submitted for review that is greater than six hours."?

In Paragraph (d) on Page 2, line 1, state "Courses shall be..."

Paragraph (e) is missing language. Should it read, "In order to receive Board approval for distance learning programs that are via printed material, cd, dvd, videotape, or web-based, the course shall have tests before and after the session."?

Also in (e), I believe "pretest" and "post-test" are written like this. It might be easier to avoid the issue by simply saying "The course shall include five questions on each test administered before and after the course. These questions may be the same."

In (f)(1), if you're adding the information about the NAB to make it clear why you're using them to have approval, that's fine. Is that why you are using this?

In (f)(2), who is the approved course planner?

In Paragraph (g), I take it this fee is G.S. 90-280(g), which states:

The Board may set fees not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for conducting and administering initial training and continuing education courses, and may set a fee not to exceed one hundred dollars (\$100.00) per hour for certifying a course submitted for review by another individual or agency wishing to offer such courses or may set an annual fee not to exceed four thousand dollars (\$4,000) for certifying a course provider in lieu of certifying each course offered by the provider.

Is this correct?

Why is G.S. 12-3.1(c)(3) in the History Note?

21 NCAC 37H .0102 is amended as published in 28:18 NCR 2212 as follows:

3	21 NCAC 37H .0	0102	CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS OF STUDY	
4	(a) The Board sh	all certif	y and administer courses in continuing education for the professional development of	
5	nursing home administrators and to enable persons to meet the requirements of the Rules in this Chapter. The			
6	licensee shall kee	p a reco	rd of his or her continuing education hours. Certified courses, including those sponsored	
7	by the Board, an a	accredite	ed university, college or community college, associations, professional societies, or	
8	organizations sha	11:		
9	(1)	contain	a minimum of one classroom hour of academic work and not more than eight classroom	
10		hours w	ithin a 24-hour period; and	
11	(2)	include	instruction in the following general subject areas or their equivalents:	
12		(A) Re	sident Care and Quality of Life;	
13		(B) Hu	man Resources;	
14		(C) Fin	ance;	
15		(D) Ph	ysical Environment and Atmosphere; or	
16		(E) Lea	adership and Management.	
17	(b) In lieu of cert	tifying e	ach course offered by a provider, the Board may certify the course provider for an	
18	annual fee not to exceed two thousand dollars (\$2,000.00) four thousand dollars (\$4,000.00). The annual fee is			
19	based on the number of courses offered in the prior year. (so long as the The course provider submits shall submit a			
20	list of courses offered for credit and agrees to comply with the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule). Rule.			
21	Providers will be reviewed annually.			
22	(c) Certified courses not administered by the Board shall:			
23	(1)	be subn	nitted to the Board for approval at least 30 days prior to the presentation of the program;	
24	(2)	be acco	mpanied with a processing fee to cover the cost of reviewing and maintaining records	
25		associat	ed with the continuing education program. The fee schedule is as follows:	
26		(A)	Any course submitted for review, up to and including five six hours, shall be	
27			accompanied by a non-refundable fee of seventy five dollars (\$75.00) one hundred	
28			dollars (\$100.00); and	
29		(B)	Courses Any course submitted for review of at least is greater than six hours, and up to	
30			and including nine hours shall be accompanied by a fee of ninety dollars (\$90.00); the	
31			sponsor shall pay ten dollars (\$10.00) for each additional hour.	
32		(C)	Courses submitted for review of 10 hours or more shall be accompanied by a fee of one	
33			hundred dollars (\$100.00).	
34	(3)	be appr	oved for a period of one year from the date of initial presentation.	
35	(d) Courses from	an accr	edited university or community college shall meet all requirements as	
36	outlined in Parage	raphs (a)	and (b) of this Rule. A licensee submitting such courses for continuing education credit	
37	shall submit a cop	py of the	final grade for said course work. Continuing education credit hours granted by the Board	

1	shall be the same	e as those granted by the institution. Courses will be approved for a period of one year from the date	
2	of initial presentation.		
3	(e) Credit may be earned for participating in teleconferenced course only if there is a third party representative of		
4	the course spons	or or the Board present to verify the licensee's attendance throughout the course. Board approval	
5	for distance learn	ning programs that are cd, dvd, videotape, printed material or web-based, tests are required before	
6	and after the ses	sion. For every credit hour claimed, the course shall include five pre test questions and five post test	
7	questions. Pre a	nd post test questions may be the same.	
8	(f) Up to ten (10) hours of credit may be earned for participation in correspondence courses, only if, Continuing		
9	education credit	for licensees may include up to 10 hours for participation in distance learning courses only if:	
10	(1)	the correspondence distance learning course is approved by the Board or the National Association	
11		of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB); (NAB). The NAB is a	
12		certifying association of continuing education across the nation; and	
13	(2)	the approved course planner sends to the Board a verification of the individual's completion of the	
14		correspondence distance learning course.	
15	(g) The Board s	hall charge a registration fee covering the cost of continuing education courses it sponsors, not to	
16	exceed two hund	lred fifty dollars (\$250.00). five hundred dollars (\$500.00).	
17			
18	History Note:	Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c)(3); 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-286;	
19		Eff. February 1, 1976;	
20		Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;	
21		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;	
22		Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981;	
23		Amended Eff. August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; February 1, 1986;	
24		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0404 Eff. April 1, 1996;	
25		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;	
26		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.	
27			
28			
29			
30			
31			
32			
33			
34			
35			
36			