21 NCAC 37B .0101 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 21 NCAC 37B .0101 **AUTHORITY: NAME & LOCATION OF BOARD** The "North Carolina State Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators," subsequently herein referred to as the "Board," is established and authorized by G.S. 90, Article 20. The Board's physical location and mailing address is: 3733 National Drive, Suite 228, 110, Raleigh, North Carolina 27612. The Board's website address is www.ncbenha.org. History Note: *Authority G.S.* 90-277; Eff. April 1, 1996; Amend Eff. July 1, 2014.

21 NCAC 37D .0202 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 21 NCAC 37D .0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE The applicant shall send to the Board, prior to licensure, Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial licensure non-refundable fee of four hundred twenty five dollars (\$425.00) five hundred dollars (\$500.00) when the applicant has successfully passed the examinations as required by the Board under Sections .0600 and .0700 of this Subchapter. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; Eff. February 1, 1976; Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977; Amended Eff. December 30, 1981; Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 1982; Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1982; Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0302 Eff. April 1, 1996; Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

1	21 NCAC 37D .0	0402 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 37D.	0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT)
4	(a) The applican	nt shall submit to the Board an application, which shall contain such information as name, education,
5	<mark>employment hist</mark>	ory, questions pertaining to moral character, [and any other information the Board may require to
6	process an applic	cation according to these Rules,] [criminal history,] and an affidavit stating that the applicant if
7	granted a license	, shall obey the laws of the state and the rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor and dignity
8	of the profession	- application containing:
9	<u>(1)</u>	name;
10	(2)	education;
11	(3)	employment history:
12	<u>(4)</u>	questions pertaining to moral character;
13	<u>(5)</u>	criminal history; and
14	<u>(6)</u>	an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted a license, shall obey the laws of the state and the
15		rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor and dignity of the profession.
16	(b) The applicar	nt shall submit a background resume indicating the areas in which he is competent or lacking.
17	resume.	
18	(c) The applican	at shall submit three reference forms (one employer and two character) as required and defined by
19	set forth in Rule	.0203 of this Subchapter. Subchapter:
20	<u>(1)</u>	the Employer Reference Form shall [includes] include the address of employment and duties
21		assigned; and
22	<u>(2)</u>	the Character Reference Form shall [includes] include how this individual knows the applicant and
23		whether the applicant is capable to supervise the care of residents of a skilled facility. No
24		character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant.
25	(d) The applicar	nt shall supply a certified copy of each college transcript submit an official transcript issued by the
26	<u>institution</u> indica	ting the courses completed and hours earned, specifying whether semester or quarter hours. The
27	applicant shall su	apply documentation of his or her supervisory experience in a nursing home if he the applicant is
28	utilizing the expe	erience substitute for the education requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b.
29	(e) The applican	at and the preceptor shall appear before the Board for a personal interview.
30	(f) The preceptor	or shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview:
31	(1)	a Facility Survey Form stating the facility license number, address and the number of beds;
32	(2)	Letter a letter accepting individual as an AIT;
33	<u>(3)</u>	a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of years the individual has served as an administrator
34		and number of AITs precepted;
35	(3) (4)	An individualized curriculum [Curriculum Outline] a curriculum outline for the AIT program that
36		provides the AIT with on the job experience in the subject areas as outlined in Rule .0605 of this
37		Subchapter, each department. A [basic] curriculum outline shall include each department in the

1		facility and the information that will be tecovered covered, including the recommended number of
2		weeks in the program as outlined on the AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form;
3	(4) (5)	Based an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form shall be based on the education or and
4		experience of the AIT applicant, applicant. the The preceptor shall be responsible for providing a
5		rationale for any all subject area areas with in which the recommended number of weeks for the
6		AIT is less than the number of weeks provided on the Form; AIT; and
7	(5) (6)	Map to facility or directions. [Directions] the directions to the facility.
8	(g) The owner	of the facility or governing board of the facility shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the
9	personal intervi	ew, <u>interview</u> a letter of approval for the AIT applicant to train in <mark>their <u>the</u> facility.</mark>
10	(h) A non-refur	ndable processing fee of one hundred fifty dollars (\$150.00) two hundred fifty dollars (\$250.00) shall
11	be submitted wi	ith the application.
12	(i) An AIT app	plicant shall maintain at all times a current residence residential mailing address with the Board
13	office.	
14	(j) The applicat	nt may obtain an application and forms from the Board's website or from the Board office.
15		
16	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01
17		Eff. February 1, 1976;
18		Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977;
19		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;
20		Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;
21		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;
22		Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;
23		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0502 Eff. April 1, 1996;
24		Amended Eff <u>. July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2004; April 1, 1996.
25		
26		
27		
28		
29		
30		
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		

21 NCAC 37D .0703 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: STATE EXAMINATION ADMINISTRATION 21 NCAC 37D .0703 (a) The State Examination shall be administered on dates to be determined and published by the Board on the State Examination Application form located on the Board's website. It may also be offered on different dates to reciprocity applicants and to AIT applicants who have passed the National Examination but have previously failed the State Examination on different dates [who] if the applicants show good cause cause, such as unavailability due to illness, inclement weather, employment, [survey, etc..] or survey. (b) An applicant shall pay a non-refundable processing fee of seventy five dollars (\$75.00) one hundred fifty dollars (\$150.00) each time he the applicant takes the State Examination. (c) To sit for the State Examination, the applicant shall submit a Test Confidentiality and Attestation [Form] Form, which is a release form stating [te-] the applicant will keep test questions confidential. This form is provided by the Board on the website and in the information package. (d) An applicant shall sit for and pass the State Exam within one year of the date of completion of the AIT program. History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; Eff. April 1, 1996; Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004.

1	21 NCAC 37E	.0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:
2 3	21 NGA C 27E	0102 A DDI 1CA TION CONTENTS
3 4	21 NCAC 37E	.0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS or reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the following items which must that shall be received by the
5	11	eks prior to the personal interview next scheduled Board Meeting [which is] posted on the Board's
6	website:	eks prior to the personal interview hext scheduled board Meeting which is posted on the board's
7	<u>website</u> . (1)	a completed application;
8	(2)	background a resume;
9	(3)	certified college transcript(s);
10	(4)	three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the
11	(1)	applicant who shall certify the good moral character of the applicant as defined in 21 NCAC 37D
12		.0203; three reference forms (one employer and two character) located on the Board's website as
13		set forth in [Subchapter 37D Rule .0203:] Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:
14		(a) the Employer Reference Form [includes] shall include the address of employment and
15		duties [assigned.] assigned; and
16		(b) the Character Reference Form [includes] shall include how [this] the individual knows
17		the applicant and whether the applicant is capable [to supervise] of supervising the care of
18		residents of a skilled facility. No character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant.
19	(5)	<u>a</u> licensing questionnaire(s) { which is provided on the Board's website } from every state where
20		the applicant has held a license; and license. The questionnaire is available on the Board's
21		website;
22	(6)	a two hundred dollars (\$200.00) application fee a non-refundable processing fee of two hundred
23		fifty dollars (\$250.00); and
24	<u>(7)</u>	[submission of] a fingerprint card, necessary [forms] forms, and required fee for criminal
25		background check. Information regarding the forms and fees for the criminal background check is
26		available in the Board office.
27		
28	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; <u>90-288.01;</u>
29		Eff. February 1, 1976;
30		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;
31		Amended Eff. February 1, 1980;
32		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;
33		Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989;
34		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff. April 1, 1996;
35		Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;
36		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
37		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

1	21 NCAC 37F.	0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 37F	.0102 ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF TEMPORARY LICENSE
4	(a) An applican	nt for a temporary license shall request, in writing, a temporary license package from the Board,
5	submit the follo	wing items: provide a letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issue of such license
6	for the facility,	stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of a temporary license, and submit a completed
7	application pack	kage including of a two hundred dollar (\$200.00) fee.
8	<u>(1)</u>	a completed application;
9	<u>(2)</u>	a resume;
10	<u>(3)</u>	three reference forms (one employer and two character) located on the Board's website as set forth
11		in [Subchapter 37D, Rule .0203:] Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203:
12		[(a)](A) the Employer Reference Form includes] shall include the address of employment and
13		duties assigned; and
14		(the Character Reference Form tincludes) shall include how this the individual knows
15		the applicant and whether the applicant is capable [to supervise] of supervising the care
16		of residents of a skilled facility. No character reference shall be from a relative of the
17		applicant;
18	<u>(4)</u>	a letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issuance of a Temporary License for
19		the facility stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of the license; and
20	<u>(5)</u>	the processing fee of three hundred dollars (\$300.00).
21	(b) After an app	plicant is issued a temporary license he <u>or she</u> shall submit a fingerprint card, necessary [forms]
22	forms, and the r	equired fee for a criminal background [check] check, and successfully pass the state examination as
23	administered by	the Board at the next scheduled testing period at the next exam date to retain the temporary license.
24	Information reg	arding the forms and fees for the criminal background check is available in the Board office.
25	(c) A temporar	y license may be renewed extended at the discretion of the Board for an additional period not to
26	exceed a total o	f six months subject to in accordance with the requirements of 21 NCAC37F .0101(d).[-this
27	Subchapter.]	
28	(d) A temporar	y license shall be issued to the licensee applicant to permit him or her to practice only in the nursing
29	home to which	he the applicant is assigned on the date of issuance.
30	(e) If the Board	l renews extends the temporary license, no further fee shall be required.
31		
32	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; <u>90-288.01;</u>
33		Eff. February 1, 1980;
34		Amended Eff. April 15, 1980;
35		Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981;
36		Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982;
37		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April 1, 1996;

1	Amended Eff. April 1, 1996;
2	Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
3	Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000.
4	

21 NCAC 37G .0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE Upon making application for a new certificate of registration renewal, a licensee shall pay a biennial licensure fee of four hundred twenty five dollars (\$425.00). five hundred dollars (\$500.00). Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286; History Note: Eff. February 1, 1976; Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981; Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 1982; Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April 1, 1996; Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.

1 21 NCAC 37G .0201 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 2 3 21 NCAC 37G .0201 **INACTIVE STATUS REQUIREMENTS** 4 (a) An inactive list of administrators who are not practicing in this state shall be maintained by the Board. An 5 administrator who desires to be placed on the inactive status list shall make a written request on the biennial renewal 6 form provided by the Board and submit a fifty dollar (\$50.00)-non-refundable inactive fee of one hundred dollars 7 (\$100.00) per year fee to the Board. Inactive status shall only be granted on a prospective basis. 8 (b) A request to be placed on the inactive status list shall be submitted to the Board no later than 30 days after 9 expiration of the license under 21 NCAC 37G .0101(a). Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter. Failure to submit the 10 request and payment of the fee within this time 30 days after expiration shall result in automatic expiration of the 11 license retroactive to the expiration date. 12 (c) If an administrator makes a request to be placed on the inactive list pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, An-an 13 administrator may remain on the inactive list for a period not to exceed four years provided he the licensee pays a 14 fifty dollar (\$50.00) fee an inactive fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00) in advance for each additional year. year 15 prior to expiration of the inactive period. 16 17 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 18 Eff. February 1, 1976; 19 Amended Eff. April 8, 1977; 20 Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 21 Readopted with Change Eff. October 1, 1981; 22 Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; 23 Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0906 Eff. April 1, 1996; 24 Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 25 Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 26 Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000. 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

1	21 NCAC 37H	.0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2212 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 37H	1.0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS OF STUDY
4	(a) The Board	shall certify and administer courses in continuing education for the professional development of
5	nursing home a	administrators and to enable persons to meet the requirements of the Rules in this Chapter. The
6	licensee shall k	eep a record of his <u>or her</u> continuing education hours. Certified courses, including those sponsored
7	by the Board, a	in accredited university, college or community college, associations, professional societies, or
8	organizations s	hall:
9	(1)	contain a minimum of one classroom hour of academic work and not more than eight classroom
10		hours within a 24-hour period; and
11	(2)	include instruction in one or more of the following general subject areas or their equivalents:
12		(A) Resident Care and Quality of Life;
13		(B) Human Resources;
14		(C) Finance;
15		(D) Physical Environment and Atmosphere; or
16		(E) Leadership and Management.
17	(b) In lieu of certifying each course offered by a provider, the Board may certify the course provider for an	
18	annual fee not	to exceed two thousand dollars (\$2,000.00) <u>four thousand dollars (\$4,000.00)</u> . The Board Office shall
19	conduct a revie	w annually of the number of courses each provider presented in the prior year. The annual fee [is]
20	<u>shall be [based</u>	on the number of courses] set at one hundred dollars (\$100.00) for every course offered in the prior
21	year. (so long	as the <u>The c</u> ourse provider submits <u>shall submit</u> a list of courses offered for credit and agrees agree to
22	comply with th	e requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule). Rule. [Providers will be reviewed annually.]
23	(c) Certified co	ourses not administered by the Board shall: shall be:
24	(1)	be submitted to the Board for approval at least 30 days prior to the presentation of the program;
25		<mark>and</mark>
26	(2)	be-accompanied with a processing fee to cover the cost of reviewing and maintaining records
27		associated with by the continuing education program. The fee schedule is as follows:
28		(A) Any any course submitted for review, up to and including five six hours, shall be
29		accompanied by a non-refundable fee of seventy five dollars (\$75.00) one hundred
30		dollars (\$100.00); and
31		(B) Courses [Any course] submitted for review of at least [is greater than] six hours, and up
32		to and including nine hours shall be accompanied by a fee of ninety dollars (\$90.00); the sponsor
33		shall pay ten dollars (\$10.00) for each additional [hour.] hour for any course submitted for review
34		that is greater than six hours.
35		(B) Courses submitted for review of 10 hours or more shall be accompanied by a fee of one
36		hundred dollars (\$100.00).
37	(3)	be approved for a period of one year from the date of initial presentation.

1	(d) Courses fro	m an accredited university or community college shall meet all requirements as
2	outlined in Para	graphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. A licensee submitting such courses for continuing education credit
3	shall submit a co	opy of the final grade for said course work. Continuing education credit hours granted by the Board
4	shall be the sam	e as those granted by the institution. Courses [will] shall be approved for a period of one year from
5	the date of initia	al presentation.
6	(e) Credit may	be earned for participating in teleconferenced course only if there is a third party representative of
7	the course spons	sor or the Board present to verify the licensee's attendance throughout the course. <mark>In order to receive</mark>
8	Board approval	for distance learning programs that are via printed material, cd, dvd, videotape, [printed material] or
9	web-based, the	course shall have tests fare required before and after the session. For every credit hour claimed, the
10	course shall incl	lude five [pre test] questions [and five post test questions.] on each test administered before and after
11	the course. [Pre	and post test questions may be the same.] These questions may be the same.
12	(f) Up to ten (1	0) hours of credit may be earned for participation in correspondence courses, only if, Continuing
13	education credit	for licensees may include up to 10 hours for participation in distance learning courses only if:
14	(1)	the correspondence distance learning course is approved by the Board or the National Association
15		of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB); (NAB). The NAB is a
16		certifying association of continuing education across the nation; and
17	(2)	the approved course planner sponsor sends to the Board a verification of the individual's
18		completion of the correspondence distance learning course.
19	(g) The Board s	shall charge a registration fee covering the cost of continuing education courses it sponsors, not to
20	exceed two hun-	dred fifty dollars (\$250.00). five hundred dollars (\$500.00).
21		
22	History Note:	Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c)(3); 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-286;
23		Eff. February 1, 1976;
24		Amended Eff. April 8, 1977;
25		Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977;
26		Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981;
27		Amended Eff. August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; February 1, 1986;
28		Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0404 Eff. April 1, 1996;
29		Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999;
30		Amended Eff. <u>July 1, 2014;</u> September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000.
31		
32		
33		
34		
35		
36		
37		