
21 NCAC 37B .0101 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37B .0101 AUTHORITY:  NAME & LOCATION OF BOARD 3 
The "North Carolina State Board of Examiners for Nursing Home Administrators," subsequently herein referred to 4 
as the "Board" Board,” is established and authorized by G.S. 90, Article 20.  The Board's physical location and 5 
mailing address is:  3733 National Drive, Suite 228, 110, Raleigh, North Carolina 27612.  The Board’s website 6 
address is www.ncbenha.org. 7 
 8 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-277; 9 

Eff. April 1, 1996; 10 
  Amend Eff. July 1, 2014. 11 
 12 
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21 NCAC 37D .0202 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37D .0202 INITIAL LICENSURE FEE 3 
The applicant shall send to the Board, prior to licensure, Prior to licensure, the applicant shall send an initial 4 
licensure non-refundable fee of four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425.00) five hundred dollars ($500.00) when the 5 
applicant has successfully passed the examinations as required by the Board under Sections .0600 and .0700 of this 6 
Subchapter. 7 
 8 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 9 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 10 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; 11 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; December 15, 1977; 12 
Amended Eff. December 30, 1981; 13 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 14 
1982; 15 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; October 1, 1982;  16 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0302 Eff. April 1, 1996; 17 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; 18 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; 19 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 20 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 21 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000. 22 
 23 
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 27 
 28 
 29 
 30 
 31 
 32 
 33 
 34 
 35 
 36 
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21 NCAC 37D .0402 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37D .0402 APPLICATION TO BECOME ADMINISTRATOR-IN-TRAINING (AIT) 3 
(a)  The applicant shall submit to the Board an application, which shall contain such information as name, education, 4 
employment history, questions pertaining to moral character, [and any other information the Board may require to 5 
process an application according to these Rules,] [criminal history,] and an affidavit stating that the applicant if 6 
granted a license, shall obey the laws of the state and the rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor and dignity 7 
of the profession. application containing: 8 
 (1) name; 9 
 (2) education; 10 
 (3) employment history; 11 
 (4) questions pertaining to moral character; 12 
 (5) criminal history; and 13 
 (6) an affidavit stating that the applicant if granted a license, shall obey the laws of the state and the  14 
  rules of the Board, and shall maintain the honor and dignity of the profession. 15 
(b)  The applicant shall submit a background resume indicating the areas in which he is competent or lacking. 16 
resume. 17 
(c)  The applicant shall submit three reference forms (one employer and two character) as required and defined by 18 
set forth in Rule .0203 of this Subchapter. Subchapter: 19 
 (1) the Employer Reference Form shall [includes] include the address of employment and duties  20 
  assigned; and 21 

(2) the Character Reference Form shall [includes] include how this individual knows the applicant and 22 
whether the applicant is capable to supervise the care of residents of a skilled facility.  No 23 
character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant. 24 

(d)  The applicant shall supply a certified copy of each college transcript submit an official transcript issued by the 25 
institution indicating the courses completed and hours earned, specifying whether semester or quarter hours.  The 26 
applicant shall supply documentation of his or her supervisory experience in a nursing home if he the applicant is 27 
utilizing the experience substitute for the education requirement as allowed by G.S. 90-278(1)b. 28 
(e)  The applicant and the preceptor shall appear before the Board for a personal interview. 29 
(f)   The preceptor shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the personal interview: 30 

(1) a Facility Survey Form stating the facility license number, address and the number of beds; 31 
(2) Letter a letter accepting individual as an AIT; 32 
(3) a Preceptor Disclosure Form stating number of years the individual has served as an administrator 33 

and number of AITs precepted; 34 
(3)(4) An individualized curriculum [Curriculum Outline] a curriculum outline for the AIT program that 35 

provides the AIT with on the job experience in the subject areas as outlined in Rule .0605 of this 36 
Subchapter, each department.  A [basic] curriculum outline shall include each department in the 37 

3



 2 

facility and the information that will be [covered] covered, including the recommended number of 1 
weeks in the program as outlined on the AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form; 2 

(4)(5) Based an AIT Curriculum Request and Rationale Form shall be based on the education or and 3 
experience of the AIT applicant, applicant. the The preceptor shall be responsible for providing a 4 
rationale for any all subject area areas with in which the recommended number of weeks for the 5 
AIT is less than the number of weeks provided on the Form; AIT; and 6 

(5)(6) Map to facility or directions.  [Directions] the directions to the facility. 7 
(g)  The owner of the facility or governing board of the facility shall submit to the Board three weeks prior to the 8 
personal interview, interview a letter of approval for the AIT applicant to train in their the facility. 9 
(h)  A non-refundable processing fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) shall 10 
be submitted with the application. 11 
(i)   An AIT applicant shall maintain at all times a current residence residential mailing address with the Board 12 
office. 13 
(j)  The applicant may obtain an application and forms from the Board’s website or from the Board office. 14 
 15 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01 16 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 17 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; 18 
Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 19 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1980; 20 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 21 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; 22 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0502 Eff. April 1, 1996; 23 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; April 1, 1996. 24 
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21 NCAC 37D .0703 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2210 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37D .0703 STATE EXAMINATION ADMINISTRATION 3 
(a)  The State Examination shall be administered on dates to be determined and published by the Board on the State 4 
Examination Application form located on the Board’s website.  It may also be offered on different dates to 5 
reciprocity applicants and to AIT applicants who have passed the National Examination but have previously failed 6 
the State Examination on different dates [who] if the applicants show good cause  cause, such as unavailability due 7 
to illness, inclement weather, employment, [survey, etc..] or survey. 8 
(b)  An applicant shall pay a non-refundable processing fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) one hundred fifty dollars 9 
($150.00) each time he the applicant takes the State Examination. 10 
(c)  To sit for the State Examination, the applicant shall submit a Test Confidentiality and Attestation [Form] Form, 11 
which is a release form stating [to] the applicant will keep test questions confidential.  This form is provided by the 12 
Board on the website and in the information package. 13 
(d)  An applicant shall sit for and pass the State Exam within one year of the date of completion of the AIT program. 14 
 15 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 16 
  Eff. April 1, 1996; 17 
  Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004. 18 
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21 NCAC 37E .0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37E .0102 APPLICATION CONTENTS 3 
An applicant for reciprocity/endorsement shall submit the following items which must that shall be received by the 4 
Board three weeks prior to the personal interview next scheduled Board Meeting [which is] posted on the Board’s 5 
website: 6 

(1) a completed application; 7 
(2) background a resume; 8 
(3) certified college transcript(s); 9 
(4) three reference forms (one of which shall be from an employer) from individuals not related to the 10 
 applicant who shall certify the good moral character of the applicant as defined in 21 NCAC 37D 11 
 .0203;   three reference forms (one employer and two character) located on the Board’s website as 12 
 set forth in [Subchapter 37D Rule .0203:] Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203: 13 

(a) the Employer Reference Form [includes] shall include the address of employment and 14 
 duties [assigned.] assigned; and  15 
(b) the Character Reference Form [includes] shall include how [this] the individual knows 16 
the applicant and whether the applicant is capable [to supervise] of supervising the care of 17 
residents of a skilled facility.  No character reference shall be from a relative of the applicant. 18 

(5) a licensing questionnaire(s) [which is provided on the Board’s website ] from every state where 19 
 the applicant has held a license; and license.  The questionnaire is available on the Board’s 20 
 website; 21 
(6) a two hundred dollars ($200.00) application fee a non-refundable processing fee of two hundred 22 
 fifty dollars ($250.00); and 23 
(7) [submission of] a fingerprint card, necessary [forms] forms, and required fee for criminal 24 
 background check. Information regarding the forms and fees for the criminal background check is 25 
 available in the Board office. 26 

 27 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-287; 90-288.01; 28 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 29 
Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 30 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1980; 31 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 32 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; 33 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0912(b) Eff. April 1, 1996; 34 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; 35 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 36 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2004; July 1, 2000. 37 
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21 NCAC 37F .0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37F .0102 ISSUANCE AND RENEWAL OF TEMPORARY LICENSE 3 
(a)  An applicant for a temporary license shall request, in writing, a temporary license package from the Board, 4 
submit the following items: provide a letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issue of such license 5 
for the facility, stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of a temporary license, and submit a completed 6 
application package including of a two hundred dollar ($200.00) fee. 7 
 (1) a completed application; 8 
 (2) a resume; 9 

(3) three reference forms (one employer and two character) located on the Board’s website as set forth 10 
  in [Subchapter 37D, Rule .0203:] Rule 21 NCAC 37D .0203: 11 

[(a)](A) the Employer Reference Form[ includes] shall include the address of employment and 12 
duties assigned; and 13 

[(b)](B) the Character Reference Form [includes] shall include how [this] the individual knows 14 
the applicant and whether the applicant is capable [to supervise] of supervising the care 15 
of residents of a skilled facility.  No character reference shall be from a relative of the 16 
applicant; 17 

(4) a letter from the owner or regional manager requesting the issuance of a Temporary License for 18 
the facility stating the circumstances necessitating the issuance of the license; and  19 

(5) the processing fee of three hundred dollars ($300.00). 20 
(b)  After an applicant is issued a temporary license he or she shall submit a fingerprint card, necessary [forms] 21 
forms, and the required fee for a criminal background [check] check, and successfully pass the state examination as 22 
administered by the Board at the next scheduled testing period at the next exam date to retain the temporary license.  23 
Information regarding the forms and fees for the criminal background check is available in the Board office. 24 
(c)  A temporary license may be renewed extended at the discretion of the Board for an additional period not to 25 
exceed a total of six months subject to in accordance with the requirements of 21 NCAC37F .0101(d).[ this 26 
Subchapter.] 27 
(d)  A temporary license shall be issued to the licensee applicant to permit him or her to practice only in the nursing 28 
home to which he the applicant is assigned on the date of issuance. 29 
(e)  If the Board renews extends the temporary license, no further fee shall be required. 30 
 31 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-288.01; 32 

Eff. February 1, 1980; 33 
Amended Eff. April 15, 1980; 34 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 1981; 35 
Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; 36 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .1003 Eff. April 1, 1996; 37 
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Amended Eff. April 1, 1996; 1 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 2 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000. 3 

 4 
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21 NCAC 37G .0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37G .0102 RENEWAL FEE 3 
Upon making application for a new certificate of registration renewal, a licensee shall pay a biennial licensure fee of 4 
four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425.00). five hundred dollars ($500.00). 5 
 6 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 90-286; 7 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 8 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1977; April 8, 1977; 9 
Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 10 
Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981; 11 
Temporary Amendment Eff. July 13, 1982 for a period of 120 days to expire on November 9, 12 
1982; 13 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; December 1, 1983; October 1, 1982; 14 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0904 Eff. April 1, 1996; 15 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1996; 16 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1996; 17 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; 18 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 19 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000. 20 
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21 NCAC 37G .0201 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2211 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37G .0201 INACTIVE STATUS REQUIREMENTS 3 
(a)  An inactive list of administrators who are not practicing in this state shall be maintained by the Board.  An 4 
administrator who desires to be placed on the inactive status list shall make a written request on the biennial renewal 5 
form provided by the Board and submit a fifty dollar ($50.00) non-refundable inactive fee of one hundred dollars 6 
($100.00) per year fee to the Board.  Inactive status shall only be granted on a prospective basis. 7 
(b)  A request to be placed on the inactive status list shall be submitted to the Board no later than 30 days after 8 
expiration of the license under 21 NCAC 37G .0101(a). Rule .0101(a) of this Subchapter.   Failure to submit the 9 
request and payment of the fee within this time 30 days after expiration shall result in automatic expiration of the 10 
license retroactive to the expiration date. 11 
(c)  If an administrator makes a request to be placed on the inactive list pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, An an 12 
administrator may remain on the inactive list for a period not to exceed four years provided he the licensee pays a 13 
fifty dollar ($50.00) fee an inactive fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) in advance for each additional year. year 14 
prior to expiration of the inactive period. 15 
 16 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-280; 90-285; 17 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 18 
Amended Eff. April 8, 1977; 19 
Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 20 
Readopted with Change Eff. October 1, 1981; 21 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1991; 22 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0906 Eff. April 1, 1996; 23 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; 24 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 25 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; July 1, 2000. 26 
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21 NCAC 37H .0102 is amended with changes as published in 28:18 NCR 2212 as follows: 1 
 2 
21 NCAC 37H .0102 CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS OF STUDY 3 
(a)  The Board shall certify and administer courses in continuing education for the professional development of 4 
nursing home administrators and to enable persons to meet the requirements of the Rules in this Chapter.  The  5 
licensee shall keep a record of his or her continuing education hours.  Certified courses, including those sponsored  6 
by the Board, an accredited university, college or community college, associations, professional societies, or 7 
organizations shall: 8 

(1) contain a minimum of one classroom hour of academic work and not more than eight classroom 9 
 hours within a 24-hour period; and 10 
(2) include instruction in one or more of the following general subject areas or their equivalents: 11 

  (A)  Resident Care and Quality of Life; 12 
  (B)  Human Resources; 13 
  (C)  Finance; 14 
  (D)  Physical Environment and Atmosphere; or 15 
  (E)  Leadership and Management. 16 
(b)  In lieu of certifying each course offered by a provider, the Board may certify the course provider for an  17 
annual fee not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) four thousand dollars ($4,000.00). The Board Office shall 18 
conduct a review annually of the number of courses each provider presented in the prior year. The annual fee [is]  19 
shall be [based on the number of courses] set at one hundred dollars ($100.00) for every course offered in the prior  20 
year.  (so long as the The course provider submits shall submit a list of courses offered for credit and agrees agree to  21 
comply with the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule). Rule.  [Providers will be reviewed annually.]  22 
(c)  Certified courses not administered by the Board shall: shall be: 23 
 (1) be submitted to the Board for approval at least 30 days prior to the presentation of the program;  24 
  and 25 

(2) be accompanied with a processing fee to cover the cost of reviewing and maintaining records 26 
associated with by the continuing education program.  The fee schedule is as follows: 27 
(A) Any any course submitted for review, up to and including five six hours, shall be 28 

accompanied by a non-refundable fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) one hundred 29 
dollars ($100.00); and 30 

(B) Courses [Any course] submitted for review of at least [is greater than] six hours, and up 31 
to and including nine hours shall be accompanied by a fee of ninety dollars ($90.00);  the sponsor 32 
shall pay ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional [hour.] hour for any course submitted for review 33 
that is greater than six hours. 34 
(B) Courses submitted for review of 10 hours or more shall be accompanied by a fee of one 35 

hundred dollars ($100.00). 36 
(3) be approved for a period of one year from the date of initial presentation. 37 
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 2 

(d)  Courses from an accredited university or community college shall meet all requirements as 1 
outlined in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule.  A licensee submitting such courses for continuing education credit 2 
shall submit a copy of the final grade for said course work.  Continuing education credit hours granted by the Board 3 
shall be the same as those granted by the institution.  Courses [will] shall be approved for a period of one year from 4 
the date of initial presentation. 5 
(e)  Credit may be earned for participating in teleconferenced course only if there is a third party representative of 6 
the course sponsor or the Board present to verify the licensee's attendance throughout the course.  In order to receive 7 
Board approval for distance learning programs that are via printed material, cd, dvd, videotape, [printed material] or 8 
web-based, the course shall have tests [are required] before and after the session.  For every credit hour claimed, the 9 
course shall include five [pre test] questions [and five post test questions.] on each test administered before and after 10 
the course.  [Pre and post test questions may be the same.]  These questions may be the same. 11 
(f)  Up to ten (10) hours of credit may be earned for participation in correspondence courses, only if, Continuing 12 
education credit for licensees may include up to 10 hours for participation in distance learning courses only if:   13 

(1) the correspondence distance learning course is approved by the Board or the National Association 14 
of Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB); (NAB).  The NAB is a 15 
certifying association of continuing education across the nation; and 16 

(2) the approved course planner sponsor sends to the Board a verification of the individual’s 17 
completion of the correspondence distance learning course. 18 

(g)  The Board shall charge a registration fee covering the cost of continuing education courses it sponsors, not to 19 
exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). five hundred dollars ($500.00). 20 
 21 
History Note: Authority G.S. 12-3.1(c)(3); 90-278; 90-280; 90-285; 90-286; 22 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 23 
Amended Eff. April 8, 1977; 24 
Readopted Eff. December 15, 1977; 25 
Readopted w/change Eff. October 1, 1981; 26 
Amended Eff. August 2, 1993; February 1, 1991; May 1, 1989; February 1, 1986; 27 
Transferred and Recodified from 21 NCAC 37A .0404 Eff. April 1, 1996; 28 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 15, 1999; 29 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; September 1, 2004; July 1, 2000. 30 
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