1	12 NCAC 09B	0235 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 6, pages 529-530 wi	<u>th changes</u> as follows:
2	12 NCAC 09B	.0235 BASIC TRAINING – JUVENILE COURT COUNSELO	RS AND CHIEF COURT
3		COUNSELORS	
4	(a) The basic t	raining course for juvenile court counselors Juvenile Court Counselo	<u>rs</u> and chief court counselors
5	Chief Court Co	unselors shall consist of a minimum of 144 160 hours of instruction de	esigned to provide the trainee
6	with the skills a	nd knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function as a Juvenile	Court Counselor and a Chief
7	Court Counselo	r.	
8		e training course for Juvenile Court Counselors shall include trainin	g in the following identified
9 10	topical-areas: (1)	Orientation to Basic Training	8 Hours
11	(2)	Juvenile Law	8 Hours
12	(3)	Roles and Responsibilities of Juvenile Court Counselors	6 Hours
13	(4)	Special Program Procedures	2 Hours
14	(5)	Report Writing, Documentation and Correspondence	8 Hours
15	(6)	Interpersonal Communication Skills	8 Hours
16	(7)	Interviewing	8 Hours
17	(8)	Basic Individual Counseling Skills	16 Hours
18	(9)	Working with Families of Delinquents	4 Hours
19	(10)	Risk and Needs Assessment	
20	(11)		
21	(12)	Safety Issues	4 Hours
22	(13)	First Aid/CPR and Blood Borne Pathogens	8 Hours
23	(14)	Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques	
24	(15)—	Defensive Driving	8 Hours
25		Secure Transportation	
26	(17)	Review and Examinations	8 Hours
27	<u>(1)</u>	Juvenile Justice Common Core:	
28		(A) Juvenile Justice Overview;	
29		(B) Counseling and Communication Skills;	
30		(C) Characteristics of Delinquents;	
31		(D) Unlawful Workplace Harassment;	
32		(E) Professional Ethics;	
33		(F) Staff and Juvenile Relationships;	
34 25		(G) Gang Awareness;	
35		(H) Situational Awareness and Risk Assessment;	
36		(I) Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques;	
37		(J) Secure Transportation;	
38		(K) Mental Health; and	

1	(L) Basic Life Support: CPR and First Aid; and
2	(2) Juvenile Court Counselor Specific:
3	(A) Roles and Responsibilities:
4	(B) Juvenile Law;
5	(C) Intake;
6	(D) Risk and Needs Assessment;
7	(E) Report Writing and Documentation;
8	(F) Interviewing; and
9	(G) Driver Safety.
10	(c) The "Juvenile Court Counselor Basic Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Department of
11	Public Safety shall be applied as the basic curriculum for delivery of Juvenile Court Counselor basic training
12	courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at or purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
13	office of the agency:
14	The Office of Staff Development and Training
15	North Carolina Department of Public Safety
16	2211 Schieffelin Road
17	Apex, North Carolina 27502
18	(c) (d) Upon successful completion of a Commission-certified training course for Juvenile Court Counselors and
19	Chief Court Counselors, the Director of the school conducting such course shall notify the Commission of the
20	satisfactory achievement of trainees by submitting a Report of Training Course Completion for each successful
21	trainee.
22	(e) Employees of the Division of Juvenile Justice who have successfully completed the minimum 160 hour training
23	program accredited by the Commission pursuant to Rule .0236 of this Section after January 1, 2013 who transfer
24	from a Juvenile Justice Officer position to a Juvenile Court Counselor position shall be required to successfully
25	complete only the portions of the course identified as specific to the duties and responsibilities of a Juvenile Court
26	Counselor under Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.
27	History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;
28	Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003;
29	<i>Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> April 1, 2004.</i>
30	

<u>1</u>	12 NCAC 09B	.0236 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 6, pages 530-531 with	changes as follows:
<u>2</u>	12 NCAC 09B	.0236 BASIC TRAINING - JUVENILE JUSTICE OFFICERS	
<u>3</u>	(a) The basic training course for Juvenile Justice Officers shall consist of a minimum of 160 hours of instruction		
<u>4</u>	designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function as		
<u>5</u>	juvenile justice	officer.	
<u>6</u>	(b) Each basic	training course for Juvenile Justice Officers shall include training in the	following identified topical
<u>7</u>	areas:		
<u>8</u>	(1)	Facility Specific Safety, Security and Supervision	24 Hours
<u>9</u>	(2)	Orientation, Roles and Responsibilities of the JJO	8 Hours
<u>10</u>	(3)	Interpersonal Communication Skills	12 Hours
<u>11</u>	(4)	Basic Group Leadership Skills	8 Hours
<u>12</u>	(5)	Adolescent Development	4 Hours
<u>13</u>	(6)	Characteristics of Delinquents	4 Hours
<u>14</u>	(7)	Gang Awareness	2 Hours
<u>15</u>	(8)	Basic Individual Counseling Skills	16 Hours
<u>16</u>	(9)	Effective Behavior Management of Juveniles	12 Hours
<u>17</u>	(10)	Crisis Intervention Techniques	8 Hours
<u>18</u>	(11)—	Working with Families of Delinquent Juveniles	4 Hours
<u>19</u>	(12)	Treatment Program Operation	6 Hours
<u>20</u>	(13)	Maintaining Documentation of Activities and Behaviors	8 Hours
<u>21</u>	(14)	First Aid/CPR and Blood Borne Pathogens	8 Hours
<u>22</u>	(15)	Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques	28 Hours
<u>23</u>	(16)	Review and Examinations	8 Hours
<u>24</u>	<u>(1)</u>	Juvenile Justice Common Core:	
<u>25</u>		(A) Juvenile Justice Overview;	
<u>26</u>		(B) Counseling and Communication Skills;	
<u>27</u>		(C) Characteristics of Delinquents;	
<u>28</u>		(D) Unlawful Workplace Harassment;	
<u>29</u>		(E) Professional Ethics;	
<u>30</u>		(F) Staff and Juvenile Relationships;	
<u>31</u>		(G) Gang Awareness:	
<u>32</u>		(H) Situational Awareness and Risk Assessment;	
<u>33</u>		(I) Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques;	
<u>34</u>		(J) Secure Transportation;	
<u>35</u>		(K) Mental Health; and	
<u>36</u>		(L) Basic Life Support: CPR and First Aid; and	
<u>37</u>	(2)	Juvenile Justice Officer Specific:	

<u>1</u>	(A) Treatment Program Operation;
<u>2</u>	(B) Maintaining Documentation of Activities and Behaviors;
<u>3</u>	(C) Basic Group Leadership Skills;
<u>4</u>	(D) Crisis Intervention Techniques;
<u>5</u>	(E) Effective Behavior Management;
<u>6</u>	(F) Health Services Overview; and
<u>7</u>	(G) Trauma and Delinquents.
<u>8</u>	(c) The "Juvenile Justice Officer Basic Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Department of Public
<u>9</u>	Safety shall be applied as the basic curriculum for delivery of Juvenile Justice Officer basic training courses. Copies
10	of this publication may be inspected at or purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the office of the agency:
<u>11</u>	The Office of Staff Development and Training
12	North Carolina Department of Public Safety
13	2211 Schieffelin Road
14	Apex, North Carolina 27502
<u>15</u>	(c) (d) Upon successful completion of a Commission-certified training course for Juvenile Justice Officers the
<u>16</u>	Director of the school conducting such course shall notify the Commission of the satisfactory achievement of
17	trainees by submitting a Report of Training Course Completion for each successful trainee.
18	(e) Employees of the Division of Juvenile Justice who have successfully completed the minimum 160 hour training
<u>19</u>	program accredited by the Commission under Rule .0235 of this Section after January 1, 2013 who transfer from a
<u>20</u>	Juvenile Court Counselor position to a Juvenile Justice Officer position shall be required to successfully complete
<u>21</u>	only the portions of the course identified as specific to the duties and responsibilities of a Juvenile Justice Officer
<u>22</u>	pursuant to Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule.
<u>23</u>	
<u>24</u>	
<u>25</u>	History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;
<u>26</u>	Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003;
<u>27</u>	Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> April 1, 2004.
28	

1	12 NCAC 09B .0241 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 4, page 326 with changes as follows:
2	12 NCAC 09B .0241 DJJDP JUVENILE JUSTICE SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR TRAINING –
3	RESTRAINT, CONTROL AND DEFENSE TECHNIQUES RESTRAINTS,
4	CONTROLS AND DEFENSIVE TECHNIQUES
5	(a) The instructor training course requirement for the Department of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
6	(DJJDP) Public Safety, Division of Juvenile Justice specialized Restraint, Control and Defense Restraints, Controls and
7	Defensive Techniques Specialized Instructor certification shall consist of at least 70 hours of instruction presented during
8	a continuous period of <u>not more than</u> two weeks.
9	(b) Each DJJDP Juvenile Justice specialized Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques Instructor training Specialized
10	Instructor Training - Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques course shall be designed to provide the trainee with
11	the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice Restraint, Control and Defense the Juvenile Justice
12	Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques Instructor in the "Basic Training for Juvenile Justice Officers" course and
13	the "Basic Training for Juvenile and Chief Court Counselors" courses, as well as in-service training courses for juvenile
14	justice officers and juvenile and chief court counselors.
15	(c) Each applicant for enrollment in the specialized Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques Instructor training
16	Specialized Instructor Training – Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques course shall:
17	(1) Have completed the criminal justice general instructor training course; and
18	(2) Possess a valid CPR certification that includes cognitive and skills testing.
19	(d) Each DJJDP specialized Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques Instructor training Juvenile Justice Specialized
20	Instructor Training - Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques course shall include the following identified topical
21	areas and minimum instructional hours for each area: areas:
22	(1) Orientation 1 Hour
23	(2) Skills Pre Test 1 Hour
24	(3) Physical Assessment 4 Hours
25	(4) Safety Guidelines 2 Hours
26	(5) Physical Fitness and Conducting Safe Warm Up Exercises 12 Hours
27	(6) Fundamentals of Professional Liability for Criminal Justice Instructors 4 Hours
28	(7) Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques Instructor Guidelines 2 Hours
29	(8) Restraint, Control and Defense Techniques Practical Skills and Instructional Methods 28 Hours
30	(9) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours
31	(10) RCDT Instructional Practicum 4 Hours
32	(11) Practical Skills Evaluation 4 Hours
33	(12) Comprehensive Examination/Course Closing 2 Hours
34	(1) Orientation;
35	(2) Introduction to Restraints, Controls and Defensive techniques;
36	(3) Physical Fitness/Warm-Up and Stretching Exercises;
37	(4) Response to Injury;

1	<u>(5)</u>	Restraints, Controls and Defensive Techniques Basic Techniques;
2	<u>(6)</u>	Restraint Applications; and
3	(7)	RCDT Program Student Evaluation and Testing
4	(e) <u>The</u> Commis	ssion-certified schools school that are is certified to offer the DJJDP "Specialized Restraint, Control and
5	Defense Techni	ques Instructor" Juvenile Justice Specialized Instructor Training – Restraints, Controls and Defensive
6	<u>Techniques</u> cou	rse are: The is the Office of Staff Development and Training Unit of the North Carolina Department of
7	Juvenile Justice	and Delinquency Prevention. Public Safety.
8		
9	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10;
10		Eff. December 1, 2004. 2004;
11		<u>Amended Eff. May 1, 2014</u>

1 2	12 NCAC 09B 12 NCAC 09B	.0305 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 2, pages 50-52 with changes as follows: .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION
3	(a) An applican	t meeting the requirements for Specialized Instructor Certification shall be issued a certification to run
4	concurrently wi	th the existing General Instructor Certification, except as set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. The
5	applicant must a	apply for certification as a specialized instructor Specialized Instructor within 60 days from the date of
6	completion of a	specialized instructor course.
7	(b) The require	ments for certification as a specialized instructor are determined by the expiration date of the existing
8	General Instruct	tor Certification. The following requirements apply during the initial period of certification:
9	(1)	where certification for both general probationary instructor General Probationary Instructor and
10		Specialized Instructor Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor is required to satisfy the
11		teaching requirement for only the general probationary instructor certification. The instructor may
12		satisfy the teaching requirement for the <mark>general probationary instructor</mark> <u>General Probationary Instructor</u>
13		certification by teaching any specialized topic for which certification has been issued;
14	(2)	when Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an existing period of General Instructor
15		Certification, either probationary status or full general status, the specialized instructor may satisfy the
16		teaching requirement for the general certification General Certification by teaching the specialized
17		subject for which certification has been issued;
18	(3)	where Specialized Instructor Certification becomes concurrent with an existing 36 month active period
19		of General Instructor Certification, and there are 12 months or more until the certifications' expiration
20		date, the instructor must teach 12 hours for each specialized topic for which certification has been
21		issued; and
22	(4)	where Specialized Instructor Certification becomes concurrent with an existing active period of
23		General Instructor Certification, and there are [less]fewer than 12 months until the certification
24		expiration date, the instructor is not required to teach any hours for the specialized subject.
25	(c) The term of	certification as a specialized instructor shall not exceed the 36 month period of full General Instructor
26	Certification. 7	The application for renewal shall contain, in addition to the requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this
27	Section, docum	entary evidence that the applicant has remained active in the instructional process during the previous
28	three-year perio	d. Such documentary evidence shall include the following:
29	(1)	proof that the applicant has, within the three year three-year period preceding application for renewal,
30		instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor Certification was
31		granted and such instruction must be that instruction was provided in a Commission-accredited
32		training course or a Commission-recognized in-service training course. Acceptable documentary
33		evidence shall include official Commission records submitted by School Directors or in service
34		training coordinators In-Service Training Coordinators and written certification from a School
35		Director or in service training coordinator; In-Service Training Coordinator;
36	(2)	proof that the applicant has, within the three year three-year period preceding application for renewal,
37		attended and successfully completed any instructor updates that have been issued by the Commission.

1	Accept	able documentary evidence shall include official Commission records submitted by School
2	Directo	ors or In-Service Training Coordinators, or copies of certificates of completion issued by the
3	institut	ion which provided the instructor updates; and
4	(3) either:	
5	(A)	a favorable written recommendation from a School Director or In-Service Training
6		Coordinator completed on a Commission Renewal of Instructor and Professional Lecturer
7		Certification Form that the instructor successfully taught at least 12 hours in each of the
8		topics for which Specialized Instructor Certification was granted. Such teaching must have
9		occurred in a Commission-certified training course or a Commission-recognized in-service
10		training course during the <mark>three year <u>three-year</u> period of Specialized Instructor Certification;</mark>
11		or
12	(B)	a favorable evaluation by a Commission or staff member, based on an on-site classroom
13		evaluation of a presentation by the instructor in a Commission-certified training course or a
14		Commission-recognized in-service training course, during the three-year period of
15		Specialized Instructor Certification. Such evaluation shall be certified on a Commission
16		Instructor Evaluation Form.
17	Upon submission of the re	equired documentation for renewal renewal, the Commission staff shall renew the certification
18	as a Specialized Instructo	r. Such renewal shall occur at the time of renewal of the General Instructor certification.
19	(d) Cartification as a space	vialized instructor Specialized Instructor in the First Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and
17	(u) Certification as a spee	Hanzed instructor <u>Spectanzed filstructor</u> in the First Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and
20		I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule $.0304(d)(1)$, (g)(2),
	Hazardous Materials, and	
20	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2),
20 21	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule $.0304(d)(1)$, $(g)(2)$, ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall
20 21 22	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d)	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule $.0304(d)(1)$, $(g)(2)$, ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates
20 21 22 23	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d)	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical
20 21 22 23 24	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical emain active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours
20 21 22 23 24 25	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re in each of the topic areas f	d Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical emain active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which
20 21 22 23 24 25 26	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas for the instructor failed to teac	d Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical emain active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which ch. Any specialized instructor Specialized Instructor
 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas for the instructor failed to teac the Commission for purp	d Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical emain active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which ch. Any specialized instructor Specialized Instructor oses of certification shall no longer be recognized if the instructor does not teach at least 12 main active during their period of specialized Instructor
 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas for the instructor failed to teach the Commission for purp hours in each of the special	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor <u>Specialized Instructor</u> certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical emain active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which ch. Any specialized instructor Specialized Instructor training courses previously accepted by oses of certification shall no longer be recognized if the instructor does not teach at least 12 alized topics during the three year three-year period for which certification was granted. Upon
 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas for the instructor failed to teach the Commission for purp hours in each of the special application for re-certific	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical .
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas f the instructor failed to tea the Commission for purp hours in each of the specia application for re-certific (f) The use of guest partic	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical main active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which ch. Any specialized instructor Specialized Instructor training courses previously accepted by oses of certification shall no longer be recognized if the instructor does not teach at least 12 alized topics during the three year three-year period for which certification was granted. Upon ation, such applicants shall meet the requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section.
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas f the instructor failed to tea the Commission for purp hours in each of the specia application for re-certific (f) The use of guest partic	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor <u>Specialized Instructor</u> certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas f the instructor failed to tea the Commission for purp hours in each of the special application for re-certific (f) The use of guest partice such guest participants ar authorized by the School 1	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor Specialized Instructor certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical main active during their period of certification. If an instructor does not teach at least 12 hours for which certification is granted, the certification shall not be renewed for those topics in which ch. Any specialized instructor Specialized Instructor fraining courses previously accepted by oses of certification shall no longer be recognized if the instructor does not teach at least 12 alized topics during the three year three-year period for which certification was granted. Upon ation, such applicants shall meet the requirements of Rule .0304 of this Section. Expansion in a delivery of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course" is permissible. However, re subject to the direct on-site supervision of a Commission-certified instructor and must be Director. A guest participant shall be used only to complement the primary certified instructor
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	Hazardous Materials, and (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this S remain in effect for 36 m required in Rule .0304(d) First Responder, Physical areas must be maintained (e) All instructors shall re- in each of the topic areas f the instructor failed to tea the Commission for purp hours in each of the special application for re-certific (f) The use of guest partice such guest participants ar authorized by the School 1	I Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical areas as outlined in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), ection, specifically those certifications not based upon General Instructor Certification, shall onths from the date of issuance. During the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates (1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for specialized instructor <u>Specialized Instructor</u> certification in the Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical

37 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6;

1 Eff	f. January 1, 1981;
2 An	nended Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> June 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; December 1, 2004;
3 Au	ugust 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991; July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; February 1, 1987.
4	

1 2	12 NCAC 09B . 12 NCAC 09B .	 0502 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 2, page 53 with changes as follows: 0502 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SCHOOL DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION
3	(a) The term of	certification as a school director is two years from the date the Commission issues the certification,
4	unless earlier ter	minated by action of the Commission. Upon application application, the certification may subsequently
5	be renewed by	the Commission for two-[three]three- year periods. The application for renewal shall contain
6	documentation r	neeting the requirements of Rule .0501(b)(2) and (3) of this Section.
7	(b) To retain ce	rtification as a school director, the school director shall:
8	(1)	Attend an annual school directors conference Participate in annual training conducted by commission
9		staff;
10	(2)	Maintain and comply with the current version of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course
11		Management Guide";
12	(3)	Maintain and ensure compliance with the current version of the "Basic Law Enforcement Training
13		Instructor Notebook" assigned to each certified school; and
14	(4)	Perform the duties and responsibilities of a school director as specifically required in Rule .0202 of
15		this Subchapter.
16		
17	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
18		Eff. January 1, 1985;
19		Amended Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> April 1, 2009.
20		

1	12 NCAC 09E .0	0104 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 4, pages 326-327 with changes as follows:
2	12 NCAC 09E .	0104 INSTRUCTORS: ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING
3	The following	requirements and responsibilities are hereby established for instructors who conduct the law
4	enforcement off	icers' annual in-service training program:
5	<mark>(1)</mark> Th	e instructor shall hold Instructor Certification issued by the Commission as outlined in 12 NCAC
6	09]	B .0302, 09B .0304, and 09B .0306, except for instructors delivering Incident Command System
7	tra	ining for NIMS (National Incident Management System) compliance. Those instructors must be
8	cer	tified through FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) as Incident Command Instructors.
9	[de	livering CPR certifications that include cognitive and skills testing, use of equipment training
10	<mark>coi</mark>	nducted by a manufacturer, manufacturer's representative or a service provider and documented
11	thr (1997)	ough a certificate of completion, or include Incident Command System training for NIMS (National
12	Inc	ident Management System) compliance who are certified through FEMA (Federal Emergency
13	<mark>Ma</mark>	magement Agency) as Incident Command Instructors.] instructors:
14		(A) delivering CPR certifications that include cognitive and skills testing;
15		(B) delivering use of equipment training conducted by a manufacturer, manufacturer's
16		representative or a service provider and documented through a certificate of completion; or
17		(C) delivering Incident Command System training for NIMS (National Incident Management
18		System) compliance who are certified through FEMA (Federal Emergency Management
19		Agency) as Incident Command Instructors.
20	<u>I</u> n addi	tion, each instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a Commission-certified course shall
21	remain	competent in his or her specific or specialty areas. Such competence includes remaining current in
22	the inst	ructor's area of expertise, which may be demonstrated by attending and successfully completing all
23	instruct	or updates issued by the Commission.
24	(2)	Instructors who teach a required in-service training topic must achieve a passing grade on a topic
25		specific test developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy or by the agency delivering the
26		training. Instructors who teach a required in-service training topic online, in addition to meeting
27		the above testing requirement, online must also complete the in-service training for the topic he or
28		she will be teaching. Instructors who teach an in-service training topic in a traditional classroom
29		format will receive credit toward their own in-service training requirements, provided that they
30		pass all required tests and have their instruction documented by the [department head or in service
31		training coordinator] Department Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once completed.
32	(3)	The instructor shall deliver the training consistent with the specifications as established in Rules
33		09E .0105 and .0106.
34	(4)	The instructor shall report the successful or unsuccessful completion of training for each officer to
35		the Department head. Head. Such reporting shall be on a Commission form.
36	(5)	Where When the officer fails to qualify with a weapon, the instructor shall inform the officer that
37		the officer did not qualify and the instructor shall deliver a Commission form to the officer which

1		shall be signed by the officer. This form shall instruct the officer not to use the weapon and shall
2		require the officer to notify the Department head Head or designated representative within 24
3		hours of the failure to qualify. The instructor shall personally deliver this form or send the form
4		by certified mail to the Department head or designated representative within 72 hours of the
5		failure to qualify.
6	<u>All Commissio</u>	n forms are available for download on the Criminal Justice Standards Division website:
7	<u>http://ncdoj.gov/</u>	About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-Training-
8	Standards/Forms	s-and-Publications.aspx.
9		
10	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
11		Eff. July 1, 1989;
12		Amended Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> February 1, 2013; April 1, 2008; January 1, 2006; January 1, 2005.
13		

1 2	12 NCAC 09G 12 NCAC 09G	.0311 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 2, pages 54-55 with changes as follows: .0311 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION
3	(a) An applicar	nt meeting the requirements for Specialized Instructor Certification shall be issued a certification to run
4	concurrently wi	th the existing General Instructor Certification. The applicant must apply for certification as a specialized
5	instructor within	n 60 days from the date of completion of a specialized instructor course.
6	(b) The terms	of certification as a specialized instructor shall be determined by the expiration date of the existing
7	General Instruc	tor Certification. The following requirements shall apply during the initial period of certification:
8	(1)	where certifications for both general probationary instructor General Probationary Instructor and
9		Specialized Instructor Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor shall only be required to
10		satisfy the teaching requirement for the general probationary instructor certification. The instructor
11		may satisfy the teaching requirement for the general probationary instructor General Probationary
12		Instructor certification by teaching any specialized topic for which certification has been issued;
13	(2)	when Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an existing period of General Instructor
14		Certification, either probationary status or full general status, the specialized instructor may satisfy the
15		teaching requirement for the General Certification by teaching the specialized subject for which
16		certification has been issued; and
17	(3)	where Specialized Instructor Certification becomes concurrent with an existing 36 month active period
18		of General Instructor Certification, and there are 12 months or more until the certifications' expiration
19		date, the instructor must teach 12 hours for each specialized topic for which certification has been
20		issued; and
21	<u>(4)</u>	where Specialized Instructor Certification becomes concurrent with an existing active period of
22		General Instructor Certification, and there are [less]fewer than 12 months until the certification
23		expiration date, the instructor is not required to teach any hours for the specialized subject.
24	(c) The term of	f certification as a specialized instructor shall not exceed the 36 month period of full General Instructor
25	Certification.	The certification may subsequently be renewed by the Commission at the time of renewal of the full
26	General Instruc	tor Certification. The application for renewal shall contain, in addition to the requirements listed in $\frac{12}{12}$
27	NCAC 09G .03	Rule .0310 of this Section, documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in the
28	instructional pr	ocess during the previous three year three-year period. Such documentary evidence shall include the
29	following:	
30	(1)	proof that the applicant has, within the three year three-year period preceding application for renewal,
31		instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor Certification was
32		granted and <mark>such instruction must be</mark> <u>that instruction was provided</u> in a Commission-certified training
33		course or a Commission-recognized in-service training course. Acceptable documentary evidence
34		shall include official Commission records submitted by School Directors and written certification from
35		a School Director; and
36	(2)	

1		(A)	a favorable written recommendation from a School Director accompanied by certification
2			that the instructor successfully taught at least 12 hours in each of the topics for which
3			Specialized Instructor Certification was granted. Such teaching must have occurred in a
4			Commission-certified training course or a Commission-recognized in-service training course
5			during the three year three-year period of Specialized Instructor Certification; or
6		(B)	a written evaluation by a staff member, based on an on-site classroom evaluation of a
7			presentation by the instructor in a Commission-certified training course or a Commission-
8			recognized in-service training course, during the three year three-year period of Specialized
9			Instructor Certification.
10	(d) If an instru-	ctor does	not teach at least 12 hours in each of the topic areas for which certification is granted, the
11	certification sha	ll not be :	renewed for those topics in which the instructor failed to successfully teach. Any specialized
12	instructor training	ng course	es previously accepted by the Commission for purposes of certification shall no longer be
13	recognized if the	einstructo	or does not successfully teach at least 12 hours in each of the specialized topics during the three
14	year <u>three-year</u> p	period for	which certification was granted. Upon application for re-certification, such applicants shall be
15	required to meet	t the requ	irements of 12 NCAC 09G .0310. Rule .0310 of this Section.
16			
17	History Note:	Author	ity G.S. 17C-6;
18		Tempo	rary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
19		Eff. Au	gust 1, 2002;
20		Amend	ed Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> June 1, 2012; January 1, 2006.
21			

1	12 NCAC 09G (0415 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 4, pages 327-328 with changes as follows:
2	12 NCAC 09G .	
3		or training course requirement for corrections specialized firearms instructor Corrections Specialized
4		ng – Firearms certification shall consist of at least 80 hours of instruction presented during a continuous
5	period of not mo	re than two <u>consecutive</u> weeks.
6	(b) Each correct	ions specialized firearms instructor training [Corrections Specialized Instructor Firearms] Corrections
7	Specialized Instr	uctor Training – Firearms course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge
8	to perform the fu	nction of a corrections firearms instructor in the "Basic Training Correctional Training – Correctional
9	Officer" course,	, "Basic Training-Probation/Parole Officer" course, "Basic Training Probation/Parole Officer-
10	Intermediate" co	ourse, and in-service training courses for correctional officers, PERT teams, and probation/parole
11	officers intermed	liate. officers and probation/parole officers.
12	(c) Each correc	tions specialized firearms instructor training <u>Corrections Specialized Firearms Instructor Training</u>
13	course shall inclu	ude the following topical areas:
14	(1)	-Overview;
15		(A) (1) Course Overview;
16		(B) (2) Legal Considerations for Firearm Instructors:
17		(C) (3) Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of Adult [Corrections]Correction Firearms
18		Training Courses:
19	(2) <u>(4)</u>	Firearms Safety;
20	(3) <u>(5)</u>	Range Operations;
21	(4) <u>(6)</u>	Medical Emergencies on the Range;
22	(5) <u>(7)</u>	Handgun - Operation, Use and Maintenance; Maintenance:
23		(A) Handgun Training-Classroom and Range:
24		(B) Standard Handgun Courses of Fire-Range
25		(C) (B) Introduction to Low/Limited Light (LLL) Fire Classroom and Range Handgun Low/Limited
26		Light [Fire;] Fire; and
27		(D) (C) Handgun Care and Maintenance:
28	(6) <u>(8)</u>	Advanced Handgun Training; Training – Classroom and Range:
29		(A) Advanced Handgun Training Classroom
30		(B) Advanced Handgun Courses of Fire Range
31	(7)	Handgun Night Firing;
32		Handgun Low/Limited Light Fire Classroom and Range
33	(8)	-Rifle Training and Qualification;
34		(A) Rifle Training Classroom
35		(B) Rifle Training Range
36		(C) Rifle Qualification and Low/Limited Light Fire Familiarization Course Range
37	(9)	Shotgun Training and Qualification; Operation, Use and [Maintenance;] Maintenance:

1		(A)	Shotgun Training – Classroom and Range:
-			
2		(B)	<u>Shotgun Training Range</u>
3		(C) (B)	Shotgun Low/Limited Light Fire – Range; Range; and
4	(10) (C	<u>()</u> Mainter	nance and Repair of Rifles and Shotguns; Shotgun Care and Maintenance;
5	(11)<u>(1(</u>	<u>))</u> Special	Techniques, Training Aids, and Methods; Methods:
6		Special	Techniques for the Reluctant/Frightened Shooter
7	(12)	Chemic	al Weapons;
8		Chemic	al Agents, Equipment, Tactics and Storage
9	(13)<u>(11</u>	<u>)</u> Situatio	onal Use of Firearms <mark>;:</mark>
10		(A)	The Shooting Decision:
11		(B)	Situational Use of Firearms:
12		(C)	Situational Exercises – Day: Day: and
13		(D)	Situational Exercises – Low/Limited Light: Light; and
14	(14)<u>(12</u>	2) Admini	strative Matters, Testing, and Evaluation: Evaluation.
15	(d) <u>The</u> Comm	<mark>iission-ac</mark>	eredited Commission certified schools school that are accredited is certified to offer the
16	"Corrections Sp	ecialized	Instructor Training - Firearms" course are: The is the Office of Staff Development and Training
17	of the North Car	rolina Dej	partment of Correction. of Public Safety.
18			
19	History Note:	Authori	ity G.S. 17C-6;
20		Tempor	rary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
21		Eff. Aug	gust 1, 2002;
22		Amende	ed Eff. <u>May 1, 2014;</u> April 1, 2008; February 1, 2006; August 1, 2004.
23			

1	12 NCAC 09G .0416 is amended as published in volume 28, issue 4, page 328 with changes as follows:				
2	12 NCAC 09G	.0416 CORRECTIONS SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR TRAINING - CONTROLS,			
3		RESTRAINTS, AND DEFENSIVE TECHNIQUES			
4	(a) The instruct	or training course requirement for corrections specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques			
5	(CRDT) instruc	tor certification shall consist of at least 80 hours of instruction presented during a continuous period of			
6	not more than ty	not more than two <u>consecutive</u> weeks.			
7	(b) Each correc	tions specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques instructor training course shall be designed			
8	to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a corrections controls, restraints, and				
9	defensive techniques instructor in the "Basic Training-Correctional Officer" course, "Basic Training-Probation/Parole				
10	Officer" course	, "Basic Training Probation/Parole Officer Intermediate" course, and in service training courses for			
11	correctional officers, PERT teams, probation/parole officer intermediate, and all Department of Juvenile Justice and				
12	Delinquency Prevention unarmed self defense courses. course, and in-service training courses for correctional officers				
13	and probation/p	arole officers.			
14	(c) Each corrections specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques instructor training course shall include the				
15	following topical areas:				
16	(1)	Introduction to Controls, Restraints, and Defensive Techniques;			
17	(2)	Patterns of Movement; Physical Fitness/Warm-up and Stretching;			
18	(3)	Response to Injury;			
19	(4)	Basic Controls and Techniques;			
20	(5)	Advanced Controls and Techniques;			
21	(6)	Restraint Applications; Applications; and			
22	(7)	Program Evaluation; and CRDT Program Student Evaluations and Testing.			
23	(8)	Advanced Instructional Techniques.			
24	(d) <u>The</u> Comm	nission-certified schools school that are is certified to offer the "Corrections Specialized Instructor			
25	Training/Contro	Training/Controls, Restraints, and Defensive Techniques" course are: The is the Office of Staff Development and			
26	Training of the	North Carolina Department of Correction. Public Safety.			
27					
28	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;			
29		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;			
30		Eff. August 1, 2002;			
31		Amended Eff. <u>May 1, 2014</u> November 1, 2005; August 1, 2004.			

32