1	21 NCAC 68 .0216 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:	
2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .0216 BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION	
4	(a) Every applicant for an initial credential Registration issued pursuant to Article 5C of Chapter 90 of the Gene	ral
5	Statutes shall provide, at her or his expense, a completed complete a fingerprint eard background check a	nd
6	accompanying release of information form, provided by the Board, meeting the standards set by the State Bureau	of
7	Investigation and obtained within 60 days of the date the applicant submits all the prerequisites for his or her credential	al.
8	(b) The applicant shall provide any additional information regarding any pending charge or conviction as request	ed
9	by the Board.	
10	(c) An applicant shall submit a verified statement listing all criminal convictions received by the applicant, subseque	ent
11	to the date of the application. Failure to make full and accurate disclosure shall be grounds for immediate application	on
12	denial or other disciplinary action applicable to registration, certification, or licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-113.44.	
13	(d) Criminal histories from any jurisdiction shall be categorized as defined by North Carolina law.	
14	(e) The categories of crimes (committed as separate incidents) are as follows:	
15	(1) Category I. The following crimes:	
16	(A) Murder, attempted murder, or manslaughter of a child 16 or under; or	
17	(B) Sexual assault, including attempted sexual assault, rape, indecent liberties with a chi	<del>ld,</del>
18	molestation, or sexual assault of a child, or the attempt to commit any of t	<del>he</del>
19	<del>aforementioned crimes.</del>	
20	(2) Category II. Crimes that primarily result in bodily or emotional harm to others, including:	
21	(A) Manslaughter of a person over 16 years of age;	
22	(B) Kidnapping or attempted kidnapping;	
23	(C) Arson of an occupied dwelling;	
24	(D) Robbery with a dangerous weapon or attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon;	
25	(E) Felony assault other than a sexual assault;	
26	(F) First degree burglary;	
27	(G) Trafficking in controlled substances as it is defined in Article 5 of Chapter 90 of the Gene	<del>ral</del>
28	Statutes; or	
29	(H) Any other felony that results in bodily or emotional harm to another.	
30	(3) Category III. The following misdemeanors and felonies that do not primarily result in bodily	or
31	emotional harm to others:	
32	(A) Three or more DWIs within the most recent seven years;	
33	(B) Assault (misdemeanor);	
34	(C) Felony larceny;	
35	(D) Fraud, obtaining property by false pretenses, financial transaction card theft;	
36	(E) Unauthorized use of an aircraft;	
37	(F) Unlawfully carrying a weapon;	

1	(G) Theft of a vehicle;
2	(H) Falsification of government documentation (felony);
3	(I) Arson of an unoccupied dwelling or other building within the curtilage;
4	(J) Burglary other than in the first degree;
5	(K) Sale and delivery violations of the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act resulting in
6	a felony conviction;
7	(L) Embezzlement;
8	<del>(M) Forgery;</del>
9	(N) Any burning of property prosecuted as a felony;
10	(O) Robbery not with a dangerous weapon;
11	<del>(P) Perjury;</del>
12	(Q) Felony receiving and possessing stolen goods;
13	(R) Breaking and entering; or
14	(S) Any other felony not otherwise categorized.
15	(4) Category IV. The following misdemeanors:
16	(A) Any combination of three or more Category V offenses, except offenses occurring within
17	the same incident shall be considered a single offense;
18	(B) Two DWIs within the most recent seven years;
19	(C) Possession of a controlled substance;
20	(D) Injury or damage to property;
21	(E) Resisting arrest;
22	(F) Larceny;
23	(G) Prostitution;
24	(H) Criminal mischief;
25	(I) Driving while license suspended or revoked;
26	(J) Falsification of government documents;
27	(K) Any misdemeanor burning; or
28	(L) Any other misdemeanor not otherwise categorized.
29	(5) Category V. Category V offenses are:
30	(A) One DWI within the most recent seven years;
31	(B) Disorderly conduct;
32	(C) Intoxicated and disruptive in public;
33	(D) Three or more incidents resulting in worthless check convictions; or
34	(E) Shoplifting or concealment.
35	(f) The following sanctions have been established by the Board according to the categories of crimes:

1	<del>(1)</del>	An applicant with a Category I conviction shall have at least 15 years clapsed since the applicant
2		has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category I conviction
3		to be eligible for registration, certification, or licensure.
4	<del>(2)</del>	An applicant with a Category II conviction shall have at least 10 years elapsed since the applicant
5		has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category II conviction
6		to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category II conviction, an applicant
7		may be registered no sooner than five years following the date the applicant has completed all
8		aspects of his or her sentence.
9	<del>(3)</del>	An applicant with a Category III conviction shall have at least five years elapsed since the applicant
10		has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category III conviction
11		to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category III conviction, an applicant
12		may be registered immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or
13		<del>her sentence.</del>
14	<del>(4)</del>	An applicant with a Category IV conviction shall have at least three years elapsed since the applicant
15		has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category IV conviction
16		to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category IV conviction, an applicant
17		may register immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her
18		<del>sentence.</del>
19	<del>(5)</del>	An applicant with a Category V conviction shall have at least one year elapsed since the applicant
20		has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category V conviction
21		to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category V conviction, an applicant
22		may register immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her
23		<del>sentence.</del>
24	(g) If a waiting	period prior to licensure as a driver of a motor vehicle results from a conviction for a DWI offense,
25		iod shall not be considered an aspect of an applicant's sentence required to be completed prior to the
26	awarding of a cr	
27	. /	nal whose application is denied or whose registration is suspended or revoked may request a hearing
28	-	lure established in Article 5C of Chapter 90 and Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes
29	<del>and the North C</del>	arolina Administrative Code.
30		
31	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-113.33; 90-113.40; 90-113.41A; 90-113.44;
32		Temporary Adoption Eff. May 15, 2002;
33		Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2002;
34		Eff. April 1, 2003;
35		Amended Eff. <del>January 1, 2010.</del> <u>January 1, 2010;</u>
36		Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020.

1	21 NCAC 68 .02	227 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .0	227 CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY BASED ON MILITARY
4		SERVICE
5	(a) An applicar	t Applicants for a substance abuse substance use disorder professional credential by endorsement of
6	reciprocity base	d on military service shall have <mark>his or her</mark> <u>their</u> training honored automatically pursuant to the standards
7	of the Internat	ional Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated
8	Consortium (IC	<u>&amp;RC).</u> The applicant Applicants shall apply for a credential by using the Board's credentialing
9	software, Learn	ing Builder, and submit to the Board:
10	(1)	a reciprocity application form prescribed by the International Certification and Reciprocity
11		Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the Board as
12		found at its website: www.ncsappb.org that shall be found accompanying the reciprocity
13		information on the website;
14	<del>(2)</del>	the application fee required by rule applicable to the specific credential as set forth in this Chapter,
15	<del>(3)</del> <u>(2)</u>	written evidence demonstrating that the applicant has been awarded a military occupational
16		specialty as a substance abuse professional and that the applicant has engaged in practice as a
17		substance abuse use disorder professional for at least 1,500 clinical hours per year during at leas
18		two of the five years preceding the date of application; and
19	<del>(4)(3)</del>	a statement disclosing and explaining the commission of any act set out in G.S. 90-113.46A, any
20		disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice claims, state or federal agency complaints
21		judgments, settlements, or criminal charges.
22	(b) All informa	tion required shall be received by the Board office.
23	(c) All applica	nts shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of the applicant's fingerprints as described on the
24	Board's website	
25		
26	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-
27		15.1;
28		Eff. August 1, 2015. August 1, 2015;
29		Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020.

1	21 NCAC 68 .02	28 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .02	28 SUBSTANCE ABUSE USE DISORDER CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR
4		RECIPROCITY BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY SPOUSE
5	(a) An applicant	Applicants for a substance abuse use disorder credential by endorsement or reciprocity based on
6	their-the applicar	<del>nt's</del> status as a military spouse shall have <mark>his or her</mark> t <u>heir</u> training honored automatically pursuant to
7	the standards of	f the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse,
8	Incorporated. Co	onsortium (IC&RC). The applicant Applicants shall apply for a credential by using the Board's
9	credentialing soft	tware, Learning Builder, and submit to the Board:
10	(1)	a reciprocity application form prescribed by the International Certification and Reciprocity
11		Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the Board as
12		found at its website: http://www.ncsappb.org that shall be found accompanying the reciprocity
13		information on the website;
14	<del>(2)</del>	the application fee required by rule applicable to the specific credential as set forth in this Chapter;
15	<del>(3)</del> (2)	written evidence demonstrating that the applicant is married to an active member of the U.S. military
16		and that such applicant:
17		(A) holds a current substance abuse use disorder credential from another jurisdiction whose
18		standards for the credential are substantially equivalent to or greater than those required
19		for the credential described in G.S. 90, Article 5C, this Chapter, and is the subject of the
20		application; and
21		(B) has engaged in practice as a substance abuse use disorder professional demonstrating the
22		scope of practice as defined by G.S. 90-113.31B for at least 1,500 hours per year during at
23		least two of the five years preceding the date of application; and
24	<del>(4)</del> (3)	a statement disclosing and explaining the commission of an act set out in G.S. 90-113.46A, any
25		disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice claims, state or federal agency complaints,
26		judgments, settlements, or criminal charges.
27	(b) All informati	on required shall be received by the Board office.
28	(c) All applican	ts shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of the applicant's fingerprints as described on the
29	Board's website.	
30		
31	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.31B; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-
32		113.46A; 93B-15.1;
33		Eff. August 1, 2015. August 1, 2015;
34		Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020.



November 9, 2020

Rules Review Commission 1711 New Hope Church Road Raleigh NC, 27609

Dear Rules Review Commission:

The North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board concurs with the determination of the Rules Review Commission that 21 NCAC 68 .0708 is unnecessary because this language is already covered in NC G.S. 150B-38.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

Barden Culbreth

Executive Director / Rules Coordinator

**NCASPPB** 

I	21 NCAC 68 .0/08 was proposed for readopion in 34:24 NCR 2384 but is now repealed as follows:
2	
3	21 NCAC 68 .0708 TYPES OF INTERVENTION
4	(a) Intervention of Right. A petition to intervene of right, as provided in the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure
5	Rule 24, shall be granted if the petitioner meets the criteria of that rule and his or her petition is timely. If allowing
6	the petition shall cause substantial prejudice to the right of the parties, substantial added expense or compelling
7	serious inconvenience to the parties or the office of the Board, the petition to intervene shall be deemed untimely.
8	(b) Permissive intervention. A petition to intervene permissively as provided in the North Carolina Rules of Civ
9	Procedure, Rule 24, shall be granted if the petitioner meets the criteria of that rule and the Board determines that:
10	(1) There is sufficient legal or factual similarity between the petitioner's claimed rights, privileges of
11	duties and those of the parties to the hearing; and
12	(2) Permitting intervention by the petitioner as a party will aid the purpose of the hearing.
13	(c) The Board may allow discretionary intervention, with whatever limits and restrictions it deems appropriate. Upo
14	the filing of a timely petition, discretionary intervention will be deemed advisable if:
15	(1) The information the petitioner desires to present is relevant and not repetitious or cumulative; and
16	(2) The petitioner will lend added impact to the argument of the parties.
17 18	History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;
19	Eff. August 1, 1996. <u>August 1, 1996;</u>
20	Repealed Eff. December 1, 2020.



## STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

September 18, 2020

Barden Culbreth Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board Sent via email only: barden@ncaddictionsboard.org

Re: Objection to Rules 21 NCAC 68 .0216, .0227, .0228, and .0708

Dear Mr. Culbreth:

At its September 17, 2020 meeting, the Rules Review Commission objected to the above-referenced Rules in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.10.

The Commission objected to Rule 06H .0113 for lack of statutory authority. Paragraph (f) automatically subjects applicants to "sanctions" based on their criminal history. Depending on the crimes at issue, the Rule requires applicants to wait a set number of years since the applicant has completed his or her sentence to be eligible for licensure.

G.S. 93B-8.1 prohibits occupational licensing boards from automatically denying licensure to an applicant based upon the applicant's criminal history. G.S. 93B-8.1(b). Instead, G.S. 93B-8.1(b1) requires occupational licensing boards to consider a list of factors prior to denying licensure. Additionally, the Board is required to make written findings and provide a copy of those findings to the applicant in order to deny an applicant licensure on the basis of his or her criminal history. Therefore, the Commission objected to .0113 for lack of statutory authority.

The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 68 .0227 and .0228 for lack of statutory authority. Specifically, in .0227(a)(2) and .0228(a)(2), the Board states that applicants based on military service or status as a military spouse shall submit an application fee. Both rules list G.S. 93B-15.1 in their history notes. That statute was amended in 2017 to specifically forbid a licensing board from charging an application fee. Therefore, the requirement for these applicants to pay an application fee is beyond the statutory authority of the Board.

**Julian Mann, III**, Director Chief Administrative Law Judge **Fred G. Morrison, Jr.**Senior Administrative Law Judge

**Linda T. Worth** Deputy Director

An Equal Employment Opportunity Employer

1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, NC 27609 Telephone: (984) 236-1850 | Facsimile: (984) 236-1871 www.oah.nc.gov The Commission also objected to 21 NCAC 68 .0708 for lack statutory authority and necessity. Interventions in Article 3A hearings are already governed by G.S. 150B-38(f) and Rule 24 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, making the contents of this Rule unnecessary. The Rule also lacks statutory authority because the additional criteria added by the Board for permissive interventions in (b) are not contained in Rule 24. The agency has not provided authority to alter the requirements set in Rule 24.

Please respond to this letter in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 150B-21.12. If you have any questions regarding the Commission's actions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

Ashley Snyder

**Commission Counsel** 

ashly Snyeler

## REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: North Carolina Substance Abuse Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: All Rules

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: September 11, 2020** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

In your forms, your electronic signature looks different on .0101 than on all other rules. Please either correct the signature if this is an error or confirm this was intended as your electronic signature.

Throughout these Rules, please remove G.S. 90-113.37 from your history notes because it has been repealed.

Throughout these Rules, consider whether "Ethics Committee" should be capitalized.

In these Rules, you refer to the "Chair of the Board" and the "President of the Board." If both titles refer to the same individual, please revise for consistency.

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

## **RRC STAFF OPINION**

PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR OWN COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION.

AGENCY: Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 68 .0216

**RECOMMENDED ACTION:** 

Approve, but note staff's comment

X Object, based on:

X Lack of statutory authority

Unclear or ambiguous

Unnecessary

Failure to comply with the APA

Extend the period of review

#### COMMENT:

Staff recommends objection for lack of statutory authority. Paragraph (f) automatically subjects applicants to "sanctions" based on their criminal history. Depending on the crimes at issue, the Rule requires applicants to wait a set number of years since the applicant has completed his or her sentence to be eligible for licensure.

G.S. 93B-8.1, which was amended in 2019, prohibits occupational licensing boards from automatically denying licensure to an applicant based upon the applicant's criminal history. G.S. 93B-8.1(b). Instead, G.S. 93B-8.1(b1) requires occupational licensing boards to consider a list of factors prior to denying licensure. Additionally, the Board is required to make written findings and provide a copy of those findings to the applicant in order to deny an applicant licensure on the basis of his or her criminal history.

Therefore, staff recommends objection for lack of statutory authority for failure to comply with G.S. 93B-8.1.

## § 93B-8.1. Use of criminal history records.

- (a) The following definitions apply in this section:
  - (1) Applicant. A person who makes application for licensure from an occupational licensing board.
  - (2) Board. An occupational licensing board or a State agency licensing board as defined in G.S. 93B-1.
  - (3) Criminal history record. A State or federal history of conviction of a crime, whether a misdemeanor or felony, that bears upon an applicant's or a licensee's fitness to be licensed or disciplined.
  - (4) Licensee. A person who has obtained a license to engage in or represent himself or herself to be a member of a particular profession or occupation.
- (b) Unless federal law governing a particular board provides otherwise, a board may deny an applicant on the basis of a conviction of a crime only if the board finds that the applicant's criminal conviction history is directly related to the duties and responsibilities for the licensed occupation or the conviction is for a crime that is violent or sexual in nature. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a board shall not automatically deny licensure on the basis of an applicant's criminal history, and no board may deny an applicant a license based on a determination that a conviction is for a crime of moral turpitude. The board shall make its determination based on the factors specified in subsection (b1).
- (b1) Before a board may deny an applicant a license due to a criminal conviction under subsection (b) of this section, the board must specifically consider all of the following factors:
  - (1) The level and seriousness of the crime.
  - (2) The date of the crime.
  - (3) The age of the person at the time of the crime.
  - (4) The circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime, if known.
  - (5) The nexus between the criminal conduct and the prospective duties of the applicant as a licensee.
  - (6) The prison, jail, probation, parole, rehabilitation, and employment records of the applicant since the date the crime was committed.
  - (6a) The completion of, or active participation in, rehabilitative drug or alcohol treatment.
  - (6b) A Certificate of Relief granted pursuant to G.S. 15A-173.2.
  - (7) The subsequent commission of a crime by the applicant.
  - (8) Any affidavits or other written documents, including character references.
  - (b2) If the board denies an applicant a license under this section, the board shall:
    - (1) Make written findings specifying the factors in subsection (b1) of this section the board deemed relevant to the applicant and explaining the reason for the denial. The board's presiding officer must sign the findings.
    - (2) Provide or serve a signed copy of the written findings to the applicant within 60 days of the denial.
    - (3) Retain a signed copy of the written findings for no less than five years.
- (b3) Each board shall include in its application for licensure and on its public Web site all of the following information:
  - (1) Whether the board requires applicants to consent to a criminal history record check.

- (2) The factors under subsection (b1) of this section which the board shall consider when making a determination of licensure.
- (3) The appeals process pursuant to Chapter 150B of the General Statutes if the board denies an applicant licensure in whole or in part because of a criminal conviction.
- (b4) If a board requires an applicant to submit a criminal history record, the board shall require the provider of the criminal history record to provide the applicant with access to the applicant's criminal history record or otherwise deliver a copy of the criminal history record to the applicant. If an applicant's criminal history includes matters that will or may prevent the board from issuing a license to the applicant, the board shall notify the applicant in writing of the specific issues in sufficient time for the applicant to provide additional documentation supporting the application for consideration by the board prior to any final decision to deny the application. After being notified of any potential issue with licensure due to criminal conviction(s), an applicant shall have 30 days to respond by either correcting any inaccuracy in the criminal history record or submitting evidence of mitigation or rehabilitation for consideration by the board.
- (b5) If, following a hearing, a board denies an application for licensure, the board's written order shall include specific reference to any criminal conviction(s) considered as part or all of any basis for the denial and the rationale for the denial, as well as a reference to the appeal process and the applicant's ability to reapply. No applicant shall be restricted from reapplying for licensure for more than two years from the date of the most recent application.
- Notwithstanding any other provisions in the law, an individual with a criminal history may petition a board at any time, including before an individual starts or completes any mandatory education or training requirements, for a predetermination of whether the individual's criminal history will likely disqualify the individual from obtaining a license. This petition shall include a criminal history record report obtained by the individual from a reporting service designated by the board, the cost of which shall be borne by the applicant. Criminal history records relating to a predetermination petition shall not be considered public records under Chapter 132 of the General Statutes. A board may predetermine that the petitioner's criminal history is likely grounds for denial of a license only after the board has applied the requirements of subsection (b) of this section. Each board shall delegate authority for such a predetermination to its Executive Director or their equivalent, or a committee of the board, so that the predeterminations can be made in a timely manner. No board member having served on a predetermination committee for an individual shall be required to recuse in any later determinations or hearings involving the same applicant. The board shall inform the individual of the board's determination within 45 days of receiving the petition from the individual. The board may charge a fee to recoup its costs not to exceed forty-five dollars (\$45.00) for each petition. If the board determines an applicant would likely be denied licensure based on their criminal history, the board shall notify the individual in writing of the following:
  - (1) The grounds and reasons for the predetermination.
  - (2) That the petitioner has the right to complete any requirements for licensure and apply to the board and have their application considered by the board under its application process.
  - (3) That further evidence of rehabilitation will be considered upon application.
- (b7) A predetermination made under this section that a petitioner's criminal history would likely prevent them from licensure is not a final agency decision and shall not entitle the individual to any right to judicial review under Article 4 of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.

- (b8) A predetermination made under subsection (b6) of this section that a petitioner is eligible for a license shall be binding if the petitioner applies for licensure and fulfills all other requirements for the occupational license and the applicant's submitted criminal history was correct and remains unchanged at the time of application for a license.
- (c) The board may deny licensure to an applicant who refuses to consent to a criminal history record check or use of fingerprints or other identifying information required by the State or National Repositories of Criminal Histories.
- (d) This section does not apply to The North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission and the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission.

## REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 68 .0216

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: September 11, 2020** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

At line 4, why is "Registration" capitalized?

At line 11, please delete or define "immediate."

In (e), please consider removing the parentheses.

For the lists in (e)(1)-(5), please do not capitalize the first word in the list.

In (f), lines 12, 17, and 22, please delete or define "immediately."

In (f), given the categories and set number of years the Board is requiring to elapse, does the Board consider the list of factors in G.S. 90-113.46A(b)?

How does (f) comply with S.L. 2019-91, Sec. 4?

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

1	21 NCAC 68 .02	16 is rea	adopted as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:
2			
3	21 NCAC 68 .02	16	BACKGROUND INVESTIGATION
4	(a) Every application	ant for a	nn initial credential Registration issued pursuant to Article 5C of Chapter 90 of the General
5	Statutes shall pr	ovide, a	nt her or his expense, a completed complete a fingerprint eard background check and
6	accompanying re	lease of	information form, provided by the Board, meeting the standards set by the State Bureau of
7	Investigation and	obtaine	d within 60 days of the date the applicant submits all the prerequisites for his or her credential.
8	(b) The applican	ıt shall p	provide any additional information regarding any pending charge or conviction as requested
9	by the Board.		
10	(c) An applicant	shall sul	omit a verified statement listing all criminal convictions received by the applicant, subsequent
11	to the date of the	applicat	ion. Failure to make full and accurate disclosure shall be grounds for immediate application
12	denial or other di	sciplina	ry action applicable to registration, certification, or licensure pursuant to G.S. 90-113.44.
13	(d) Criminal hist	tories fro	om any jurisdiction shall be categorized as defined by North Carolina law.
14	(e) The categorie	es of cri	mes (committed as separate incidents) are as follows:
15	(1)	Catego	ry I. The following crimes:
16		(A)	Murder, attempted murder, or manslaughter of a child 16 or under; or
17		(B)	Sexual assault, including attempted sexual assault, rape, indecent liberties with a child,
18			molestation, or sexual assault of a child, or the attempt to commit any of the
19			aforementioned crimes.
20	(2)	Catego	ry II. Crimes that primarily result in bodily or emotional harm to others, including:
21		(A)	Manslaughter of a person over 16 years of age;
22		(B)	Kidnapping or attempted kidnapping;
23		(C)	Arson of an occupied dwelling;
24		(D)	Robbery with a dangerous weapon or attempted robbery with a dangerous weapon;
25		(E)	Felony assault other than a sexual assault;
26		(F)	First degree burglary;
27		(G)	Trafficking in controlled substances as it is defined in Article 5 of Chapter 90 of the General
28			Statutes; or
29		(H)	Any other felony that results in bodily or emotional harm to another.
30	(3)	Catego	ry III. The following misdemeanors and felonies that do not primarily result in bodily or
31		emotio	nal harm to others:
32		(A)	Three or more DWIs within the most recent seven years;
33		(B)	Assault (misdemeanor);
34		(C)	Felony larceny;
35		(D)	Fraud, obtaining property by false pretenses, financial transaction card theft;
36		(E)	Unauthorized use of an aircraft;
37		(F)	Unlawfully carrying a weapon;

1		(G)	Theft of a vehicle;
2		(H)	Falsification of government documentation (felony);
3		(I)	Arson of an unoccupied dwelling or other building within the curtilage;
4		(J)	Burglary other than in the first degree;
5		(K)	Sale and delivery violations of the North Carolina Controlled Substances Act resulting in
6			a felony conviction;
7		(L)	Embezzlement;
8		(M)	Forgery;
9		(N)	Any burning of property prosecuted as a felony;
10		(O)	Robbery not with a dangerous weapon;
11		(P)	Perjury;
12		(Q)	Felony receiving and possessing stolen goods;
13		(R)	Breaking and entering; or
14		(S)	Any other felony not otherwise categorized.
15	(4)	Categ	ory IV. The following misdemeanors:
16		(A)	Any combination of three or more Category V offenses, except offenses occurring within
17			the same incident shall be considered a single offense;
18		(B)	Two DWIs within the most recent seven years;
19		(C)	Possession of a controlled substance;
20		(D)	Injury or damage to property;
21		(E)	Resisting arrest;
22		(F)	Larceny;
23		(G)	Prostitution;
24		(H)	Criminal mischief;
25		(I)	Driving while license suspended or revoked;
26		(J)	Falsification of government documents;
27		(K)	Any misdemeanor burning; or
28		(L)	Any other misdemeanor not otherwise categorized.
29	(5)	Categ	ory V. Category V offenses are:
30		(A)	One DWI within the most recent seven years;
31		(B)	Disorderly conduct;
32		(C)	Intoxicated and disruptive in public;
33		(D)	Three or more incidents resulting in worthless check convictions; or
34		(E)	Shoplifting or concealment.
35	(f) The followi	ng sanct	ions have been established by the Board according to the categories of crimes:

(1) An applicant with a Category I conviction shall have at least 15 years elapsed since the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category I conviction to be eligible for registration, certification, or licensure.

- (2) An applicant with a Category II conviction shall have at least 10 years elapsed since the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category II conviction to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category II conviction, an applicant may be registered no sooner than five years following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence.
- (3) An applicant with a Category III conviction shall have at least five years elapsed since the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category III conviction to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category III conviction, an applicant may be registered immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence.
- (4) An applicant with a Category IV conviction shall have at least three years elapsed since the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category IV conviction to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category IV conviction, an applicant may register immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence.
- (5) An applicant with a Category V conviction shall have at least one year elapsed since the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence received as a result of the last Category V conviction to be eligible for certification or licensure. Notwithstanding a Category V conviction, an applicant may register immediately following the date the applicant has completed all aspects of his or her sentence.
- (g) If a waiting period prior to licensure as a driver of a motor vehicle results from a conviction for a DWI offense, this waiting period shall not be considered an aspect of an applicant's sentence required to be completed prior to the awarding of a credential.
- (h) An individual whose application is denied or whose registration is suspended or revoked may request a hearing under the procedure established in Article 5C of Chapter 90 and Chapter 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes and the North Carolina Administrative Code.

31 History Note: Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.31; 90-113.33; 90-113.40; 90-113.41A; 90-113.44; 32 Temporary Adoption Eff. May 15, 2002; 33 Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2002; 34 Eff. April 1, 2003; 35 Amended Eff. January 1, 2010;

18 3 of 3

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

1	21 NCAC 68 .0	0217 is readopted as publishe	ed in 34:24 NCR	2384 as f	follows:		
2							
3	21 NCAC 68 .0	0217 SUPERVISED	PRACTICUM	FOR	CRIMINAL	JUSTICE	ADDICTIONS
4		PROFESSIONA	L CERTIFICAT	ΓΙΟΝ			
5	(a) All applica	ents for the criminal justice a	addictions profess	sional cer	tification shall	complete 300	hours <del>practicum</del> .
6	practicum as se	et forth in G.S. § 90-113.40(d	<u>11)(2).</u> The application	eant supe	rvisor shall;		
7	(1)	Train the criminal justic	ee addictions pro	fessiona	and cover all	eriminal jus	stice performance
8		domains as set out in G.S	. 90-113.31B(6);				
9	(2)	Submit verification that	at least 10 hours	of pract	ice was provid	ed in each of	the performance
10		domains; and					
11	(3)	Provide verification of at	least one hour of	<del>supervisi</del>	on for every 10	hours of prac	t <del>ice in each one of</del>
12		the performance domains	on a supervisor e	valuation	form provided	by the Board	<del>.</del>
13	(b) The remain	ning hours of the practicum s	shall be in any of t	he perfo	mance domains	<del>l.</del>	
14	(c) Upon comp	pletion of 300 hours, the appl	licant supervisor s	<del>shall:</del>			
15	(1)	Complete an evaluation for	orm reviewing cri	minal jus	stice addictions	<del>professional's</del>	-development as a
16		<del>professional;</del>					
17	(2)	Document the 300 hours	of practice to incl	<del>ude 30 h</del>	ours of supervis	ion by the app	<del>plicant supervisor;</del>
18		<del>and</del>					
19	(3)	Submit this information to	<del>o the Board on a f</del>	form prov	rided by the Boa	<del>ırd.</del>	
20	(d) (b) The pra	cticum may be completed as	s part of an acade	mic cour	se of study in a	regionally acc	credited college or
21	university or it r	may be developed in the work	k setting <u>as a subs</u>	tance use	disorder profes	<u>sional</u> as long	as it is supervised
22	by an applicant	supervisor. The practicum	shall take place v	vithin a c	riminal justice a	ddiction prof	essional setting to
23	include a workp	place for law enforcement, the	he judiciary, or co	rrections	•		
24							
25	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.312	A; 90-113.31B(6)	; 90-113.	40; 90-113.40B	,	
26		Eff. January 1, 2010;					
27		Amended Eff. June 1, 201	1; <del>April 1, 2011.</del>	April 1, 2	<u> 2011;</u>		
28		Readopted Eff. October 1	<u>, 2020.</u>				

## **RRC STAFF OPINION**

PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR OWN COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION.

AGENCY: Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 68 .0227 and .0228

RECOMMENDED ACTION:

Approve, but note staff's comment

X Object, based on:

X Lack of statutory authority

Unclear or ambiguous

Unnecessary

Failure to comply with the APA

Extend the period of review

#### COMMENT:

Staff recommends objection to Rules .0227 and .0228 for lack of statutory authority. Specifically, in .0227(a)(2) and .0228(a)(2), the Board states that applicants based on military service or status as a military spouse shall submit an application fee. Both rules list G.S. 93B-15.1 in their history notes. That statute was amended in 2017 to specifically forbid a licensing board from charging an application fee in Subsection (k), which states:

# § 93B-15.1. Licensure for individuals with military training and experience; proficiency examination; licensure by endorsement for military spouses; temporary license.

(k) An occupational licensing board shall not charge a military-trained applicant or a military spouse an initial application fee for a license, certification, registration, or temporary practice permit issued pursuant to this section. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to prohibit an occupational licensing board from charging its ordinary fee for a renewal application or prohibit a third party from charging actual costs for a service such as a background check

Therefore, staff believes that the requirement for these applicants to pay an application fee is beyond the statutory authority of the Board.

Ashley Snyder Commission Counsel Amended September 8, 2020

2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .02	CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR RECIPROCITY BASED ON MILITARY
4		SERVICE
5	(a) An applican	t for a substance abuse substance use disorder professional credential by endorsement or reciprocity
6	based on militar	y service shall have <del>his or her</del> <u>their</u> training honored automatically pursuant to the standards of the
7	International Ce	rtification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated. Consortium
8	(IC&RC). The	applicant shall apply for a credential by using the Board's credentialing software, Learning Builder
9	and submit to the	e Board:
10	(1)	a reciprocity application form prescribed by the International Certification and Reciprocity
11		Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the Board as
12		found at its website: www.ncsappb.org that shall be found accompanying the reciprocity
13		information on the website;
14	(2)	the application fee required by rule applicable to the specific credential as set forth in this Chapter
15	(3)	written evidence demonstrating that the applicant has been awarded a military occupational
16		specialty as a substance abuse professional and that the applicant has engaged in practice as a
17		substance abuse use disorder professional for at least 1,500 clinical hours per year during at leas
18		two of the five years preceding the date of application; and
19	(4)	a statement disclosing and explaining the commission of any act set out in G.S. 90-113.46A, any
20		disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice claims, state or federal agency complaints
21		judgments, settlements, or criminal charges.
22	(b) All informat	ion required shall be received by the Board office.
23	(c) All applicar	nts shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of the applicant's fingerprints as described on the
24	Board's website.	
25		
26	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-113.46A; 93B-
27		15.1;
28		Eff. August 1, 2015. August 1, 2015;
29		Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0227 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:

1

2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .0	228 SUBSTANCE ABUSE USE DISORDER CREDENTIAL BY ENDORSEMENT OR
4		RECIPROCITY BASED ON STATUS AS MILITARY SPOUSE
5	(a) An applican	at for a substance abuse use disorder credential by endorsement or reciprocity based on the applicant's
6	status as a mili	tary spouse shall have his or her training honored automatically pursuant to the standards of the
7	International Co	ertification and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated. Consortium
8	(IC&RC). The	applicant shall apply for a credential by using the Board's credentialing software, Learning Builder,
9	and submit to th	ne Board:
10	(1)	a reciprocity application form prescribed by the International Certification and Reciprocity
11		Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse, Incorporated IC&RC and provided by the Board as
12		found at its website: http://www.ncsappb.org that shall be found accompanying the reciprocity
13		information on the website;
14	(2)	the application fee required by rule applicable to the specific credential as set forth in this Chapter;
15	(3)	written evidence demonstrating that the applicant is married to an active member of the U.S. military
16		and that such applicant:
17		(A) holds a current substance abuse use disorder credential from another jurisdiction whose
18		standards for the credential are substantially equivalent to or greater than those required
19		for the credential described in G.S. 90, Article 5C, this Chapter, and is the subject of the
20		application; and
21		(B) has engaged in practice as a substance abuse use disorder professional demonstrating the
22		scope of practice as defined by G.S. 90-113.31B for at least 1,500 hours per year during at
23		least two of the five years preceding the date of application; and
24	(4)	a statement disclosing and explaining the commission of an act set out in G.S. 90-113.46A, any
25		disciplinary actions, investigations, malpractice claims, state or federal agency complaints,
26		judgments, settlements, or criminal charges.
27	(b) All informa	tion required shall be received by the Board office.
28	(c) All applica	nts shall submit to the Board an electronic copy of the applicant's fingerprints as described on the
29	Board's website	
30		
31	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.31A(14); 90-113.31B; 90-113.33; 90-113.38; 90-113.39; 90-113.46; 90-
32		113.46A; 93B-15.1;
33		Eff. August 1, 2015. August 1, 2015;
34		Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

21 NCAC 68 .0228 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:

1

## **RRC STAFF OPINION**

PLEASE NOTE: THIS COMMUNICATION IS EITHER 1) ONLY THE RECOMMENDATION OF AN RRC STAFF ATTORNEY AS TO ACTION THAT THE ATTORNEY BELIEVES THE COMMISSION SHOULD TAKE ON THE CITED RULE AT ITS NEXT MEETING, OR 2) AN OPINION OF THAT ATTORNEY AS TO SOME MATTER CONCERNING THAT RULE. THE AGENCY AND MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO SUBMIT THEIR OWN COMMENTS AND RECOMMENDATIONS (ACCORDING TO RRC RULES) TO THE COMMISSION.

AGENCY: North Carolina Addiction Specialist Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 68 .0708

**RECOMMENDED ACTION:** 

Approve, but note staff's comment

- X Object, based on:
  - X Lack of statutory authorityUnclear or ambiguous
  - X Unnecessary

Failure to comply with the APA

Extend the period of review

#### COMMENT:

Staff recommends objection for lack statutory authority and necessity. Interventions in Article 3A hearings are already governed by G.S. 150B-38(f) and Rule 24 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure, making the contents of this Rule unnecessary.

Staff also recommends objection for lack of statutory authority because the additional criteria added by the Board for permissive interventions in (b) are not contained in Rule 24. The agency has not provided authority to alter the requirements set in Rule 24.

## § 150B-38. Scope; hearing required; notice; venue.

- (a) The provisions of this Article shall apply to:
  - (1) Occupational licensing agencies.
  - (2) The State Banking Commission, the Commissioner of Banks, and the Credit Union Division of the Department of Commerce.
  - (3) The Department of Insurance and the Commissioner of Insurance.
  - (4) The State Chief Information Officer in the administration of the provisions of Article 14 of Chapter 143B of the General Statutes.
  - (5) The North Carolina State Building Code Council.
  - (6) Repealed by Session Laws 2018-146, s. 4.4(b), effective December 27, 2018.

• • •

(f) Any person may petition to become a party by filing with the agency or hearing officer a motion to intervene in the manner provided by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 24. In addition, any person interested in a contested case under this Article may intervene and participate to the extent deemed appropriate by the agency hearing officer.

### Rule 24. Intervention.

- (a) Intervention of right. Upon timely application anyone shall be permitted to intervene in an action:
  - (1) When a statute confers an unconditional right to intervene; or
  - When the applicant claims an interest relating to the property or transaction which is the subject of the action and he is so situated that the disposition of the action may as a practical matter impair or impede his ability to protect that interest, unless the applicant's interest is adequately represented by existing parties.
- (b) Permissive intervention. Upon timely application anyone may be permitted to intervene in an action.
  - (1) When a statute confers a conditional right to intervene; or
  - (2) When an applicant's claim or defense and the main action have a question of law or fact in common. When a party to an action relies for ground of claim or defense upon any statute or executive order administered by a federal or State governmental officer or agency or upon any regulation, order, requirement, or agreement issued or made pursuant to the statute or executive order, such officer or agency upon timely application may be permitted to intervene in the action. In exercising its discretion the court shall consider whether the intervention will unduly delay or prejudice the adjudication of the rights of the original parties.
- (c) Procedure. A person desiring to intervene shall serve a motion to intervene upon all parties affected thereby. The motion shall state the grounds therefor and shall be accompanied by a pleading setting forth the claim or defense for which intervention is sought. The same procedure shall be followed when a statute gives a right to intervene, except when the statute prescribes a different procedure. Intervention as of right by both the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate pursuant to G.S. 1-72.2 shall be effected upon the filing of a notice of intervention of right in the trial or appellate court in which the matter is pending regardless of the stage of the proceeding.

## REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE

AGENCY: North Carolina Addictions Specialist Professional Practice Board

RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 68 .0708

**DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: September 11, 2020** 

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This request may extend to several pages. Please be sure you have reached the end of the document.

The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the Commission's next meeting. The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved. You may call our office to inquire concerning the staff recommendation.

In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made:

Why is this Rule necessary give G.S. 150B-38(f)? Pursuant to that statute, Rule 24 already applies.

If you keep this Rule, please define "timely" at line 5.

At line 6, define "substantial added expense."

At lines 6-7, define "compellingly serious inconvenience."

At lines 10 and 12, please do not capitalize "There" and "Permitting."

At line 10, please delete or define "sufficient."

Since Rule 24 applies, where is your statutory authority to add the criteria contained in (b)(1) and (2)?

At line 13, what limits and restrictions are deemed appropriate? How is this determination made? What factors are considered?

At line 14, please define "timely."

At lines 15 and 16, please do not capitalize "the."

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609.

Ashley Snyder
Commission Counsel
Date submitted to agency: August 27, 2020

1	21 NCAC 68 .0	708 is readopted with changes as published in 34:24 NCR 2384 as follows:
2		
3	21 NCAC 68 .0	708 TYPES OF INTERVENTION
4	(a) Intervention	of Right. A petition to intervene of right, as provided in the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure,
5	Rule 24, shall b	e granted if the petitioner meets the criteria of that rule and his or her petition is timely. If allowing
6	the petition sha	ll cause substantial prejudice to the right of the parties, substantial added expense or compellingly
7	serious inconve	nience to the parties or the office of the Board, the petition to intervene shall be deemed untimely.
8	(b) Permissive	intervention. A petition to intervene permissively as provided in the North Carolina Rules of Civil
9	Procedure, Rule	24, shall be granted if the petitioner meets the criteria of that rule and the Board determines that:
10	(1)	There is sufficient legal or factual similarity between the petitioner's claimed rights, privileges or
11		duties and those of the parties to the hearing; and
12	(2)	Permitting intervention by the petitioner as a party will aid the purpose of the hearing.
13	(c) The Board r	nay allow discretionary intervention, with whatever limits and restrictions it deems appropriate. Upon
14	the filing of a ti	mely petition, discretionary intervention will be deemed advisable if:
15	(1)	The information the petitioner desires to present is relevant and not repetitious or cumulative; and
16	(2)	The petitioner will lend added impact to the argument of the parties.
17 18	History Note:	Authority G.S. 90-113.30; 90-113.39; 90-113.40;
19		Eff. August 1, 1996. <u>August 1, 1996;</u>
20		Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020.

26 1 of 1