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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 3 

 4 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 5 

Course who is not a citizen of the United States. 6 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic 7 

criminal justice training course.  Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment 8 

as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the 9 

Director of the Standards Division.  The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 years of 10 

age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course. 11 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-12 

time employment with criminal justice agencies. 13 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training 14 

Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under Rule .0302 15 

of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State Comprehensive 16 

Examination. 17 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the 18 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Basic Law 19 

Enforcement Training Course, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM Skills Inventory for English 20 

or places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of taking the Reading and 21 

English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the State Board 22 

of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, (http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-23 

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading component of a nationally standardized test within one 24 

year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the 25 

equivalent.  For the purposes of this Rule: 26 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold, or have held within 12 months prior 27 

to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 28 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that: 29 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and 30 

(B) compares student test results to a national norm. 31 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 32 

Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a 33 

physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to determine 34 

the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer.  The Director of the Standards 35 

Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of the physical 36 
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fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the 1 

trainee. 2 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 3 

Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school equivalency 4 

credential recognized by the issuing state.  High school diplomas earned through correspondence enrollment in an 5 

entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no education or coursework to obtain a high 6 

diploma shall not be recognized toward the educational requirements. 7 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 8 

unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state records for 9 

the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided since 10 

becoming an adult.  An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state 11 

criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement. 12 

(i)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 13 

Course who has been convicted of the following: 14 

(1) a felony; 15 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 16 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the 17 

date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the 18 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission; 19 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of 20 

conviction; 21 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may be 22 

enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment; 23 

enrollment; or  24 

(6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the 25 

date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina 26 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 27 

(j)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law 28 

Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, but completion of 29 

the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice 30 

officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued.  31 

Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall 32 

notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, 33 

pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a 34 

judicial official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present.  This includes all criminal 35 

offenses except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving 36 

While Impaired (DWI).  A "minor traffic offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where 37 
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the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer.  Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or 1 

similar laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under 2 

the influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5) 3 

(fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious 4 

name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-5 

111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), 6 

G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets 7 

and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident).  The 8 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense, the court in which 9 

where the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence 10 

Protective Order (G.S. 50B),  (50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof.  The notifications required under 11 

this Paragraph shall be received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court.  12 

The requirements of this Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law 13 

Enforcement Training Course.  The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 14 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 15 

 16 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 17 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 18 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 19 

2015; March 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 20 

1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 21 

1989; January 1, 1985. 22 

 23 

 24 

 25 
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12 NCAC 09B .0301 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 3 

 4 

12 NCAC 09B .0301 CERTIFICATION OF INSTRUCTORS 5 

(a)  A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal justice training course or program as an instructor, 6 

teacher, professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to the class shall first be certified by the 7 

Commission as an instructor. 8 

(b)  The Commission shall certify instructors under the following categories: General Instructor Certification, 9 

Specialized Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and 0306 10 

of this Section. Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of documented qualifications of experience, 11 

education, and training in accord with the requirements of this Section and as stated on the applicant's Request for 12 

Instructor Certification Form. 13 

(c)  In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a 14 

Commission-certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized areas. Such competence shall include 15 

remaining current in the instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by attending and successfully 16 

completing all updated instructor training courses required by the Commission. 17 

(d)  If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is found to have knowingly and willfully violated any 18 

provision or requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall take action to correct the violation and 19 

to ensure that the violation does not recur, including: 20 

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for compliance; 21 

(2) issuing a written warning and request for compliance; 22 

(3) issuing an official written reprimand; 23 

(4) suspending the individual's certification for a specified period of time or until acceptable corrective 24 

action is taken by the individual; and 25 

(5) revoking the individual's certification. 26 

(e)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's certification if the Commission finds that the 27 

person: 28 

(1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the requirements for qualification; 29 

(2) has failed to remain knowledgeable in the person's areas of expertise; 30 

(3) has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the instructor lesson plans outlined in the 31 

"Basic Instructor Training Manual" “Instructor Training Manual” as found in 12 NCAC 09B .0209; 32 

(4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 33 

Management Guide" as found in 12 NCAC 09B .0205; 34 

(5) has demonstrated unprofessional personal conduct in the delivery of commission-mandated  35 

Commission-mandated training. For the purposes of this Subparagraph, unprofessional personal 36 

conduct means an act that is: job-related conduct which that constitutes a violation of State or federal 37 
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law; conviction or commission of a criminal offense, as set out in 12 NCAC 09A .0204; the willful 1 

violation of Rules of this Chapter; conduct that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's 2 

mandated courses; the abuse of a client or student whom the instructor is teaching or supervising or 3 

falsification of an instructor application or in other employment documentation; 4 

(6) has demonstrated instructional incompetence; 5 

(7) has knowingly and willfully obtained or attempted to obtain instructor certification by deceit, fraud, 6 

or misrepresentation; 7 

(8) has failed to meet or maintain good moral character as defined in: re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 8 

2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975);  in re State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 9 

(1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 10 

55 S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 11 

N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority, and as 12 

required to effectively discharge the duties of a criminal justice instructor; 13 

(9) has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement 14 

Officers Firearms Qualification Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC 09H .0102; or 15 

(10) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted to aid any person in obtaining qualification or 16 

certification under the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 17 

Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation; 18 

(11) has committed or been convicted of an offense which could result in the denial, suspension, or 19 

revocation of an officer's law enforcement certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 02A .0204 or 12 20 

NCAC 09G .0504; or 21 

(12) has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or 22 

accreditation. 23 

(f)  When a person certified as a law enforcement officer by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 24 

Training Standards Commission (Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and Training Standards 25 

Commission (Sheriffs' Commission), or the North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire Marshal, 26 

Fire Rescue Commission (Fire Commission) (Fire Commission), and or Office of Emergency Medical Services has 27 

his or her law enforcement officer or fire and rescue certification suspended or revoked by their respective 28 

Commission, that person shall report the suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards within 30-days. 29 

30 days. They He or she shall also have their his or her General Instructor certification Certification (if applicable) 30 

similarly and automatically suspended or revoked for the same time period as their his or her respective Commission 31 

certification. 32 

(1) This suspension or revocation of the General Instructor certification shall also include suspension 33 

or revocation to any Commission recognized Specialized or additional instructor certification, as 34 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0304.  35 

(2) If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds the expiration date of the instructor's initial 36 

certification expiration date, they he or she shall forfeit their certifications as a General Instructor 37 
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and Specialized Instructor and shall be required to obtain certification pursuant to the requirements 1 

of 12 NCAC 09B .0302 before any instruction may be delivered in any commission approved 2 

Commission-approved or mandated training, including the completion of a subsequent General 3 

Instructor's training course in its entirety. 4 

(3) If the term of suspension or revocation does not exceed the expiration date of the instructor's initial 5 

certification expiration date, the instructor shall be reinstated as a General Instructor only upon 6 

reinstatement of his or her law enforcement officer certification by the Commission. The terms of 7 

renewal for the existing General Instructor and Specialized Instructor certifications shall remain 8 

subject to all renewal requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0303(c) by the next immediate 9 

expiration date. 10 

 11 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 12 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 13 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; [October 1, 2018;] October 1, 2017; October 1, 2009; August 1, 14 

2004; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1991; January 1, 1985. 15 

 16 

 17 
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12 NCAC 09G .0102 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0102 DEFINITIONS 3 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter only: 4 

(1) "Commission of an offense" means a finding by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 5 

Training Standards Commission or an administrative body that a person performed the acts 6 

necessary to satisfy the elements of a specified offense. 7 

(2) "Convicted" or "Conviction" means, the entry of: 8 

(a) a plea of guilty; 9 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, judge, magistrate, or other duly constituted, 10 

established adjudicating body, tribunal, or official, either civilian or military; or 11 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, or the equivalent. 12 

(3) "Correctional Officer" means an employee of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, 13 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, responsible for the custody of inmates or 14 

offenders. 15 

(4) "Corrections Officer" means either or both of the two classes of officers employed by the North 16 

Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice: 17 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer. 18 

(5) "Criminal Justice System" means the whole of the State and local criminal justice agencies including 19 

the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 20 

(6) "Director" means the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina 21 

Department of Justice. 22 

(7) "Educational Points" means points earned toward the State Correction Officers' Professional 23 

Certificate Program for studies completed, with passing scores achieved, for semester hour or 24 

quarter hour credit at a regionally accredited institution of higher education.  Each semester hour of 25 

college credit equals one educational point and each quarter hour of college credit equals two-thirds 26 

of an educational point. 27 

(8) "High School" means a high school that meets the compulsory attendance requirements in the 28 

jurisdiction in which the school is located. 29 

(9) "In-Service Training Coordinator" means a person designated by a Criminal Justice Agency head to 30 

administer the agency's In-Service Training program. 31 

(10) "Misdemeanor" for corrections officers means those criminal offenses not classified under the laws, 32 

statutes, or ordinances as felonies.  Misdemeanor offenses for corrections officers are classified by 33 

the Commission as the following as set forth in G.S. or other state or federal law: 34 

(a) 14-2.5  Punishment for attempt (offenses that are Class A-1 misdemeanor) 35 
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(b) 14-27.7 Intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims (If 1 

 defendant is school personnel other than a teacher, school administrator, 2 

 student teacher, or coach) 3 

[(c)] (b) 14-32.1(f) Simple Assault on handicapped persons 4 

[(d)] [(c)]14-32.2(b)(4) Patient abuse and neglect, punishments 5 

[(e)] [(d)]14-32.3 Exploitation by caretaker of disabled/elder adult in domestic setting; 6 

 resulting in loss of less than one thousand dollars ($l000) (August 1, 7 

 2001-December 1, 2005.  Repealed December 1, 2005) 8 

(f)  [(e)](c)14-33(b)(9) Assault, battery against sports official 9 

(g) [(f)] (d)14-33(c) Assault, battery with circumstances 10 

(h) [(g)] (e)14-34  Assault by pointing a gun 11 

[(i)]  [(h)]14-34.6(a) Assault on Emergency Personnel 12 

(j)  (i) 14-54  Breaking or Entering into buildings generally (14-54(b)) 13 

(k) [(j)] (f) 14-72  Larceny of property; receiving stolen goods etc.; not more than one 14 

 thousand dollars ($1000.00)(14-72(a)) 15 

(l)  [(k)] (g)14-72.1 Concealment of merchandise (14-72.1(e); third or subsequent offense) 16 

(m) [(l)] (h)14-76  Larceny, mutilation, or destruction of public records/papers 17 

(n) [(m)] (i) CH 14 Art. 19A False/fraudulent use of credit device (14-113.6) 18 

(o)  [(n)] (j) CH 14 Art. 19B Financial transaction card crime (14-113.17(a)) 19 

(p)  [(o)](k) 14-114(a) Fraudulent disposal of personal property on which there is a security 20 

 interest 21 

(q)  [(p)] (l) 14-118 Blackmailing 22 

(r)  [(q)]  (m) 14-118.2 Obtaining academic credit by fraudulent means (14-118.2(b)) 23 

(s)  [(r)]  (n)  14-122.1 Falsifying documents issued by a school (14-122.1(c)) 24 

(t)   [(s)] (o)14-127 Willful and wanton injury to real property 25 

(u)  (t) (p) 14-160  Willful and wanton injury to personal property greater than two hundred 26 

 dollars ($200.00)(14-160(b)) 27 

(v)  [(u)](q) 14-190.5 Preparation of obscene photographs 28 

(w) [(v)] (r) 14-190.9 Indecent Exposure 29 

(x)  [(w)] (s) 14-190.14 Displaying material harmful to minors (14-190.14(b)) 30 

(y)  [(x)] (t)14-190.15 Disseminating harmful material to minors (14-190.15(d)) 31 

(z)  [(y)] (u)14-202.2 Indecent liberties between children 32 

(aa) [(z)] 14-202.4  Taking indecent liberties with a student 33 

(bb) [(aa)](v)14-204 Prostitution (14-207; 14-208) 34 

(cc) [(bb)] (w)14-223 Resisting officers 35 

(dd) [(cc)](x)14-225(a) False, etc., reports to law enforcement agencies or officers 36 

(ee) [(dd)](y)14-230 Willfully failing to discharge duties 37 
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(ff) [(ee)](z)14-231 Failing to make reports and discharge other duties 1 

(gg) [(ff)] (aa)14-232 Swearing falsely to official records 2 

(hh) [(gg)] (bb)14-239 Allowing prisoners to escape escape; punishment 3 

(ii)  [(hh)] (cc) 14-255 Escape of working prisoners from custody 4 

(jj)  [(ii)] (dd)14-256 Prison breach and escape 5 

(kk) [(jj)](ee)14-258.1(b) Furnishing certain contraband to inmates 6 

(ll) [(kk)](ff)14-259 Harboring or aiding certain persons persons; misdemeanants 7 

(mm) [(ll)] (gg) CH 14 Art. 34Persuading inmates to escape; harboring fugitives (14-268) 8 

(nn) [(mm)] (hh)14-269.2 Weapons on campus or other educational property (14-269.2(d), (e) and 9 

 (f)) 10 

(oo) [(nn)] (ii) 14-269.3(a) Weapons where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed 11 

(pp) [(oo)] (jj)14-269.4  Weapons on state property and in courthouses 12 

(qq) [(pp)] (kk)14-269.6 Possession and sale of spring-loaded projectile knives prohibited (14-13 

 269.6(b)) 14 

(rr) [(qq)] (ll) 14-277 Impersonation of a law-enforcement or other public officer verbally, by 15 

 displaying a badge or insignia, or by operating a red light (14-277 (d1) 16 

 and (e)) 17 

(ss) [(rr)](mm)14-277.2(a) Weapons at parades, etc., prohibited 18 

(tt) [(ss)]  (nn) 14-277.3A  Stalking (14-277.3(b)) 19 

(uu) [(tt)] (oo)14-288.2(b) Riot 20 

(vv) [(uu)] (pp)14-288.2(d)Inciting to riot 21 

(ww)[(vv)] (qq)14.288.6(a) 14-288.6(a) Looting; trespassing during emergency 22 

(xx) 14-288.7(c) Transporting weapon or substance during emergency 23 

(yy) 14-288.9(c) Assault on emergency personnel; punishments  24 

(zz) [(ww)] (rr) 14-315(a) Selling or giving weapons to minors 25 

(aaa) [(xx)] (ss) 14-315.1 Storage of firearms to protect minors 26 

(bbb) [(yy)] (tt) 14-316.1 Contributing to delinquency 27 

(ccc)  [(zz)] (uu) 14-318.2 Child abuse 28 

(ddd) [(aaa)] (vv) 14-360(a)Cruelty to animals 29 

(eee) [(bbb)] (ww)14-361 Instigating or promoting cruelty to animals 30 

(fff) [(ccc)] (xx)14-401.14 Ethnic intimidation; teaching any technique to be used for (14-401.14(a) 31 

 and (b)) 32 

(ggg) [(ddd)] (yy) 14-454(a) or (b)Accessing computers less than $1000 in damges 33 

(hhh) [(eee)] (zz) 14-458 Computer trespass (Damage less than two thousand five hundred dollars 34 

dollars) ($2500.00) 35 

(iii) 15A-266.11 Unauthorized use of DNA databank; willful disclosure (15A-266.11(a) 36 

 and (b))  37 
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(jjj) [(fff)] (aaa)15A-287  Interception and disclosure of wire etc. communications 1 

(kkk) [(ggg)] (bbb)15B-7(b) Filing false or fraudulent application for compensation award 2 

(lll) [(hhh)] (ccc)18B-902(c) False statements in application for ABC permit (18B-102(b)) 3 

(mmm) [(ddd)] 20-37.8(a) & (c)Fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification card 4 

(nnn) [(jjj)] (eee)20-102.1 False report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle 5 

(ooo) [(kkk)] (fff) 20-111(5) Fictitious name or address in application for registration 6 

(ppp) [(lll)] (ggg) 20-130.1 Use of red or blue lights on vehicles prohibited (20-130.1(e)) 7 

(qqq) [(mmm)] (hhh) 20-137.2 Operation of vehicles resembling law-enforcement vehicles 8 

 (20-137.2(b)) 9 

(rrr) [(nnn)] (iii) 20-138.1 Driving while impaired (punishment level 1 (20-179(g))or 2 (20-179(h)) 10 

(sss) [(ooo)] (jjj) 20-138.2I 20-138.2(e) Impaired driving in commercial vehicle (20-138.2(e)) [((20- 11 

138.2(e))] 12 

(ttt) [(ppp)] (kkk) 20-141.5(a) Speeding to elude arrest 13 

(uuu) [(qqq)] (lll) 20-166(b) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 14 

(vvv) [(rrr)] (mmm) 20-166(c) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 15 

(www) [(sss)] (nnn) 20-166(c1) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 16 

(xxx) [(ttt)] (ooo) 50B-4.1 (a) Knowingly violating valid protective order 17 

(yyy) [(uuu)] (ppp) 58-33-105 False statement in applications for insurance 18 

(zzz) [(vvv)] (qqq) 58-81-5 Careless or negligent setting of fires 19 

(aaaa) [(www)] (rrr) 62A-12 [14.111.4] 14-111.4 Misuse of 911 system 20 

(bbbb) [(xxx)] (sss) 90-95(d)(2) Possession of schedule II, III, IV 21 

(cccc) [(yyy)] (ttt) 90-95(d)(3) Possession of Schedule V 22 

(dddd) [(zzz)] (uuu) 90-95(d)(4) Possession of Schedule VI (when punishable as Class 1 23 

misdemeanor) 24 

(eeee) [(aaaa)] (vvv) 90-95(e)(4) Conviction of 2 or more violations of Art. 5 25 

(ffff) [(bbbb)] (www) 90-95(e)(7) Conviction of 2 or more violations of Art. 5 26 

(gggg) [(cccc)] (xxx) 90-113.22 Possession of drug paraphernalia (90-113.22(b)) 27 

(hhhh) [(dddd)] (yyy) 90-113.23 Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia (90-113.23(c)) 28 

(iiii) [(eeee)] (zzz) 97-88.2(a) Misrepresentation to get worker's compensation payment less 29 

than four hundred dollars ($400.00) 30 

(jjjj) [(ffff)] (aaaa) 108A-39(a) Fraudulent misrepresentation of public assistance 31 

(kkkk) [(gggg)] (bbbb) 108A-53 Fraudulent misrepresentation of foster care and adoption 32 

assistance payments electronic food and nutrition benefits 33 

(llll) [(hhhh)] (cccc) 108A-64(a) Medical assistance recipient fraud; less than four hundred 34 

dollars  ($400.00)(108-64(c)(2)) 35 

(mmmm) [(iiii)] (dddd) 108A-80 Recipient check register/list of all recipients of AFDC and state-36 

county  special assistance (108A-80(b)) 37 
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(nnnn) [(jjjj)] (eeee) 108A-80 Recipient check register/ list of all recipients of AFDC and 1 

state-county special assistance; political mailing list (108A-2 

80(c)) 3 

(oooo) [(kkkk)] (ffff) 113-290.1(a)(2)Criminally negligent hunting; no bodily disfigurement 4 

(pppp) [(llll)] (gggg) 113-290.1(a)(3)Criminally negligent hunting; bodily disfigurement 5 

(qqqq) [(mmmm)] (hhhh) 113-290.1(a)(4) Criminally negligent hunting; death results 6 

(rrrr) [(nnnn)] (iiii) 113-290.1(d) Criminally negligent hunting; person convicted/suspended 7 

license 8 

(ssss) [(oooo)] (jjjj) 143-58.1(a) Use of public purchase or contract for private benefit (143-9 

58.1(c)) 10 

(tttt) [(pppp)] (kkkk) 148-45(d) Aiding escape or attempted escape from prison 11 

(uuuu) [(qqqq)] (llll) 162-55 Injury to prisoner by jailer 12 

(vvvv) [(rrrr)] (mmmm) Common-Law misdemeanors: 13 

(i) Going Armed to the Terror of the People 14 

(ii) Common-Law Mayhem 15 

(iii) False Imprisonment 16 

(iv) Common-Law Robbery 17 

(v) Common-Law Forgery 18 

(vi) Common-Law Uttering of Forged paper 19 

(vii) Forcible Trespass 20 

(viii) Unlawful Assembly 21 

(ix) Common-Law Obstruction of Justice 22 

(wwww) [(ssss)] (nnnn) Those offenses occurring in other jurisdictions that are comparable to the 23 

offenses specifically listed in (a) through [(vvvv)] (rrrr) of this Rule. 24 

(xxxx) [(tttt] (oooo) Any offense proscribed by 18 U.S.C. 922 (1996), 25 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-26 

chap44-sec922.pdf), that would prohibit possessing a firearm or ammunition. 27 

(11) "Pilot Courses" means those courses approved by the Education and Training Committee, consistent 28 

with 12 NCAC 09G .0404, which are used to develop new training course curricula. 29 

(12) "Probation/Parole Officer" means an employee of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, 30 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, whose duties include supervising, evaluating, or 31 

otherwise instructing offenders placed on probation, parole, post release supervision, or assigned to 32 

any other community-based program operated by the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 33 

Justice. 34 

(13) "Qualified Assistant" means an additional staff person designated as such by the School Director to 35 

assist in the administration of a course when a certified institution or agency assigns additional 36 
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responsibilities to the certified School Director during the planning, development, and 1 

implementation of a certified course. 2 

(14) "School" means an institution, college, university, academy, or agency that offers penal or 3 

corrections training for correctional officers or probation/parole officers.  "School" includes the 4 

corrections training course curricula, instructors, and facilities. 5 

(15) "School Director" means the person designated by the Secretary of the North Carolina Department 6 

of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice to administer the School. 7 

(16) "Standards Division" means the Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina 8 

Department of Justice. 9 

(17) "State Corrections Training Points" means points earned toward the State Corrections Officers' 10 

Professional Certificate Program by successful completion of Commission-approved corrections 11 

training courses.  Twenty classroom hours of Commission-approved corrections training equals one 12 

State Corrections training point. 13 

 14 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 153A-217; 15 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 16 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 17 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; [October 1, 2018;] January 1, 2017; January 1, 2015; April 1, 18 

2009; August 1, 2004. 19 

 20 

 21 
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12 NCAC 09G .0504 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0504 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 3 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a correctional officer or probation/parole officer when the 4 

Commission finds that the officer has committed or been convicted of a felony offense. 5 

(b)  The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case, suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a 6 

corrections officer when the Commission finds that the applicant for certification or the certified officer: 7 

(1) has not enrolled in and completed with passing scores the required basic training course in its 8 

entirety within prescribed time periods in time periods prescribed in 12 NCAC 09G .0400 relevant 9 

or applicable to a specified position or job title; 10 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the employment standards required by 12 NCAC 09G .0200 11 

for the category of the officer's certification or fails to meet or maintain one or more of the training 12 

standards required by 12 NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the officer's certification; 13 

(3) has committed or been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102 after 14 

certification; 15 

(4) has been discharged by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 16 

Correction and Juvenile Justice for: 17 

(A) commission or conviction of a motor vehicle offense requiring the revocation of the 18 

officer's drivers license; or 19 

(B) commission or conviction of any other offense involving moral character, as defined in: re 20 

Willis, 299 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (9175); in re State v. 21 

Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 22 

174(1989); in re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 23 

188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 24 

(1983); lack of good moral character as defined in  12 NCAC 09G .0206; 25 

(5) has been discharged by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 26 

Correction and Juvenile Justice because the officer lacks the mental or physical capabilities to fulfill 27 

the responsibilities of a corrections officer; 28 

(6) has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or 29 

accreditation; 30 

(7) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation, 31 

or cheating whatsoever, obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training, or certification from the 32 

Commission; 33 

(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of false pretense, deception, fraud, misrepresentation, 34 

or cheating whatsoever, aided another person in obtaining or attempting to obtain credit, training, 35 

or certification from the Commission; 36 
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(9) has failed to notify the Standards Division of all criminal charges or convictions as required by 12 1 

NCAC 09G .0302; 2 

(10) has been removed from office by decree of the Superior Court in accord with the provisions of G.S. 3 

128-16 or has been removed from office by sentence of the court in accord with the provisions of 4 

G.S. 14-230; 5 

(11) has refused to submit to an applicant drug screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or has refused 6 

to submit to an in-service drug screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in the Drug Screening 7 

Implementation Guide as required by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction 8 

and Juvenile Justice;  9 

(12) has produced a positive result on a drug screen reported to the Commission as specified in 12 NCAC 10 

09G .0206(3), where the positive result cannot be explained to the Commission's satisfaction; 11 

satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, “to the Commission’s satisfaction” shall be determined 12 

on a case-by-case basis, and the use of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; or 13 

(13) has been denied certification or had such certification suspended or revoked by a previous action of 14 

the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, the North 15 

Carolina Company Police Program, the North Carolina Campus Police Program, the North Carolina 16 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission, or a similar North Carolina, out of state 17 

state, or federal approving, certifying, or licensing agency whose function is the same or similar to 18 

the aforementioned agencies if such the certification was denied, suspended, or revoked based on 19 

grounds that would constitute a violation of this Subchapter. 20 

(c)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's certification, the person shall not remain employed or 21 

appointed as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any authority of a corrections officer during a 22 

period for which the person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 23 

 24 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 25 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 26 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 27 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; [October 1, 2018;] January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; December 1, 28 

2004; August 1, 2004. 2004; [October 1, 2018;] 29 

 30 

 31 
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12 NCAC 09G .0505 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0505 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 3 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 4 

of this Section, the period of the sanction shall be 10 years where the cause of sanction is: 5 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense; or 6 

(2) the second suspension of an officer's certification for any of the causes requiring a three year three-7 

year period of suspension; or 8 

(3) revocation or denial of certification by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 9 

Standards Commission based on grounds that would constitute a violation of Section 09G 10 

Subchapter 09G of these Rules. 11 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G 12 

.0504 of this Section, the period of sanction shall be not less than three years; however, the Commission may either 13 

reduce or suspend the period of sanction under Paragraph (c) of this Rule or substitute a period of probation in lieu of 14 

suspension of certification following an administrative hearing, where the cause of sanction is: 15 

(1) commission or conviction of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102; 16 

(2) discharge by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of Adult 17 

Correction and Juvenile Justice pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504(b)(4) and (b)(5) of this Section; 18 

(3) refusal to submit to the applicant drug screen required by the Rules in this Subchapter; 19 

(4) production of a positive result on a drug screen reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 09G 20 

.0206(3), where the positive result cannot be explained to the Commission's satisfaction; 21 

satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, “to the Commission’s satisfaction” shall be determined 22 

on a case-by-case basis, and the use of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; 23 

(5) has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or 24 

accreditation; 25 

(6) has knowingly and willfully obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding obtained, attempted to obtain, 26 

aided another person to obtain, or aiding aided another person attempt to obtain credit, training or 27 

certification by any means of false pretense, deception, defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating; 28 

(7) failure to make either of the notifications as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0302; 29 

(8) removal from office under the provisions of G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; or 30 

(9) certification revoked or denied by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 31 

Commission, if such certification was revoked or denied based on grounds that would constitute a 32 

violation of Section 09G of these Rules. 33 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of a corrections officer, the period of sanction shall be 34 

for an indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, infraction, or impairment continues to exist, 35 

where the cause of sanction is: 36 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training requirements; or 37 
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(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum standards for certification; or 1 

(3) discharge from the North Carolina Department of Correction for impairment of physical or mental 2 

capabilities. 3 

 4 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 5 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 6 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 7 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; [October 1, 2018;] December 1, 2004. 2004; [October 1, 2018] 8 

 9 

 10 
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12 NCAC 09G .0701 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0700 - FORMS 3 

 4 

12 NCAC 09G .0701 REPORT: APPLICATION: AND CERTIFICATION FORMS 5 

(1) The following are Commission approved forms to be used by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 6 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice in making reports, applications, or requests for certification 7 

to the Commission: 8 

(a) The Medical History Statement.  The Medical History Statement is a questionnaire to be completed 9 

by an applicant.  The form includes seeks to facilitate the applicant's medical examination by listing 10 

information pertinent to the applicant's present and past physical condition, injuries, diseases, or 11 

operations. 12 

(b) The Medical Examination Report.  The Medical Examination Report is a form provided to the 13 

examining physician to record the results of the applicant's medical examination. The Medical 14 

Examination Report is form that includes the following information regarding the applicant: 15 

1. contact information; 16 

2. date of birth; and  17 

3. medical information. 18 

(c) The Request for School Accreditation Form.  The Request for School Accreditation Form provides 19 

the means for an agency or institution to become certified to conduct corrections training and to 20 

affiliate with the Criminal Justice Education and Training System. It seeks information on the 21 

physical, financial, and staff support provided to the school by the agency or institution. 22 

(d) The Request for Training Course Accreditation Form.  The Request for Training Course 23 

Accreditation Form is used to obtain accreditation for a school's particular offering of a corrections 24 

training course.  It requests information regarding the administration of the course, the particular 25 

facilities to be used, and the proposed curriculum of the course. 26 

(e) The Report of Appointment/Application for Certification.  The Report of Appointment/Application 27 

for Certification is used for reporting the appointment of correctional officers, officers and 28 

probation/parole officers, officers, and probation/parole officers-surveillance and indicating the 29 

applicant's progress toward completing the requirements for certification.  The questions, at a 30 

minimum, seek information regarding the applicant's work, residential, military history, arrest 31 

history, and references. The Report of Appointment/Application for Certification form includes the 32 

following information: 33 

1. type of certification; 34 

2. applicant contact information; 35 

3. criminal history;  36 

4. military history; 37 
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5. applicant appointment date and position title; and  1 

6. medical information. 2 

 3 

(f) Notice of Transfer.  The Notice of Transfer form is used to notify the Standards Division of an 4 

officer's change in the type of corrections officer certification. The Notice of Transfer form includes 5 

the following information: 6 

1. applicant information;  7 

2. transfer information; 8 

3. employment date and title; and  9 

4. education completed. 10 

(g) Report of Separation.  The North Carolina Department of Correction, Public Safety, Division of 11 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, when separating a person from employment as a correctional 12 

officer, officer or probation/parole officer officer, or probation/parole officer-surveillance, shall 13 

forward to the Commission a properly completed Report of Separation or Department of Public 14 

Safety Personnel Action Form within 30 days of separation. The Report of Separation form includes 15 

the following information: 16 

1. type of certification; 17 

2. applicant contact information; 18 

3. criminal history; and  19 

4. applicant appointment date and position title. 20 

(h) The Request for Instructional Certification Form.  The Request for Instructional Certification Form 21 

is used by persons seeking certification as general instructors.  It seeks information regarding 22 

personal and professional background as well as documentation of the specific criteria for 23 

certification certification. The Request for Instructional Certification form includes: 24 

1. applicant contact information;  25 

2. certification type; 26 

3. employment date and title; 27 

4. education completed; 28 

5. practical experience; and  29 

6. recommendation 30 

(i) The Recommendation for General Instructor Certification Form.  The Recommendation for General 31 

Instructor Certification Form is completed by a School Director or agency head after an instructor 32 

has finished the required probationary period.  In the form the official recommends that the 33 

instructor receive General Instructor Certification and certifies that the official has observed and 34 

evaluated the instructor to be a teaching professional. The Recommendation for General 35 

Instructional Certification form includes: 36 

1. applicant contact information;  37 
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2. certification type; 1 

3. employment date and title; 2 

4. education completed; 3 

5. practical experience; and  4 

6. recommendation 5 

(j) The Application for Award of State Corrections Certificate.  The Application For Award of State 6 

Corrections Certificate requests information regarding the education, training, and experience 7 

qualifying the applicant for various levels of certification under the State Corrections Officers' 8 

Professional Certificate Program.  9 

 The Application for Award of State Corrections Certificate form includes: 10 

1. applicant contact information;  11 

2. certificate type; 12 

3. employment date and title; 13 

4. education completed; 14 

5. practical experience; and  15 

6. recommendation 16 

(2) All forms contained in this Rule may be accessed on the agency’s website at http://ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-17 

Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-18 

Publications.aspx  19 

 20 

History Note: Authority 17C-6; 21 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 22 

Eff. December 1, 2018; [October 1, 2018;] August 1, 2002. 2002; [October 1, 2018] 23 

 24 

 25 
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Burgos, Alexander N

Subject: FW: [External] Rules for Extension

From: Williams, Charminique [mailto:cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov]  
Sent: Wednesday, October 24, 2018 10:03 AM 
To: Reeder, Amanda J <amanda.reeder@oah.nc.gov> 
Subject: [External] Rules for Extension 
 

CAUTION: External email. Do not click links or open attachments unless verified. Send all suspicious email as an attachment to 
Report Spam. 

 
Good morning Amanda, 
CJETS are withdrawing 12 NCAC 09B .0101 from the rule‐making process.  
Thank you, 
Charminique 
 

 

Charminique D. Williams 
Research and Planning Specialist  
BLET Administrator 
Criminal Justice Training and Standards 
(919) 779-8206 
(919) 779-8210 
cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 
1700 Tryon Park Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 
ncdoj.gov 
 
Please note messages to or from this address may be public records. 
 

 
The Criminal Justice Standards Division is committed to providing excellent customer service while implementing the standards set forth 
by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.  If you believe you have received less than exceptional service, 
please share your experience with our management team by calling Deputy Director Michelle Schilling at (919) 779-8205. 
 
 

 
Email correspondence to and from this address may be subject to the North Carolina Public Records Law and may be disclosed to third parties by an authorized 
state official. 
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Burgos, Alexander N

Subject: FW: [External] Rules for Extension

 

From: Williams, Charminique [mailto:cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov]  
Sent: Monday, November 05, 2018 11:11 AM 
To: Reeder, Amanda J <amanda.reeder@oah.nc.gov> 
Subject: RE: [External] Rules for Extension 
 

CAUTION: External email. Do not click links or open attachments unless verified. Send all suspicious email as an attachment to 
Report Spam. 

 
Hi Amanda, 
We are withdrawing 09G .0304 from the rule‐making process. We decided to take the rule back to the agency for 
discussion with your comments. That is the last rule considered for extension.  
Thank you, 
Charminique 
 

 

Charminique D. Williams 
Research and Planning Specialist  
BLET Administrator 
Criminal Justice Training and Standards 
(919) 779-8206 
(919) 779-8210 
cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 
1700 Tryon Park Drive 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610 
ncdoj.gov 
 
Please note messages to or from this address may be public records. 
 

 
The Criminal Justice Standards Division is committed to providing excellent customer service while implementing the standards set forth 
by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.  If you believe you have received less than exceptional service, 
please share your experience with our management team by calling Deputy Director Michelle Schilling at (919) 779-8205. 
 
 

 

 
Email correspondence to and from this address may be subject to the North Carolina Public Records Law and may be disclosed to third parties by an authorized 
state official. 
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Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0203 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
In (e), line 20, what is this Skills Inventory?  How does one take it?  How does one register to take 
it?  Is there a cost? 
 
In (g), Page 2, line 6, who determines what is “little” coursework? 
 
In (i)(5), line 23, insert an “or” after “enrollment;” 
 
In (j), line 33, I believe the term is “Domestic Violence Protective Orders”  
 
On Page 3, line 8, what do you mean by “court in which the case was handled”?  Do you mean 
the county or the level?  And I suggest replacing “in which” with “where” 
 
On line 9, I believe the term is “Domestic Violence Protective Orders” 
 
On line 10, why do you have “G.S.” before 50B, when you don’t do that in Rule .0101? 
 
So that I’m clear – since line 11 says the notification must be received after disposition in courts, 
any arrest that does not result in court action will not be reported? 
 
On line 13, how does a cross-reference to Rule 12 NCAC 10B apply here?  Those are candidates 
seeking certification from a different agency. 
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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12 NCAC 09B .0203 is amended as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09B .0203 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 3 

 4 

(a)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 5 

Course who is not a citizen of the United States. 6 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 20 years of age as a trainee in any non-academic basic 7 

criminal justice training course.  Individuals under 20 years of age may be granted authorization for early enrollment 8 

as trainees in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course with prior written approval from the 9 

Director of the Standards Division.  The Director shall approve early enrollment if the individual will be 20 years of 10 

age prior to the date of the State Comprehensive Examination for the course. 11 

(c)  The school shall give priority admission in certified criminal justice training courses to individuals holding full-12 

time employment with criminal justice agencies. 13 

(d)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training 14 

Course" who does not meet the education and experience requirements for instructor certification under Rule .0302 15 

of this Subchapter within 60 days of successful completion of the Instructor Training State Comprehensive 16 

Examination. 17 

(e)  The school shall not admit an individual, including partial or limited enrollees, as a trainee in a presentation of the 18 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course unless the individual, within one year prior to admission to the Basic Law 19 

Enforcement Training Course, scores at or above mastery level on the NROC EdreadyTM Skills Inventory for English 20 

or places into course DRE 098 or above at a North Carolina Community College as a result of taking the Reading and 21 

English component of the North Carolina Diagnostic Assessment and Placement test as approved by the State Board 22 

of Community Colleges on October 17, 2014, (http://www.nccommunitycolleges.edu/state-board-community-23 

colleges/meetings/october-17-2014), or has taken the reading component of a nationally standardized test within one 24 

year prior to admission to Basic Law Enforcement Training and has scored at or above the tenth grade level or the 25 

equivalent.  For the purposes of this Rule: 26 

(1) Partial or limited enrollee does not include enrollees who hold, or have held within 12 months prior 27 

to the date of enrollment, general certification pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0304. 28 

(2) A "nationally standardized test" means a test that: 29 

(A) reports scores as national percentiles, stanines, or grade equivalents; and 30 

(B) compares student test results to a national norm. 31 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 32 

Course unless the individual has provided to the School Director a medical examination report, completed by a 33 

physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, a physician's assistant, or a nurse practitioner, to determine 34 

the individual's fitness to perform the essential job functions of a criminal justice officer.  The Director of the Standards 35 

Division shall grant an exception to this standard for a period of time not to exceed the commencement of the physical 36 
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fitness topical area when failure to receive the medical examination report is not due to neglect on the part of the 1 

trainee. 2 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 3 

Course unless the individual is a high school, college, or university graduate or has received a high school equivalency 4 

credential recognized by the issuing state.  High school diplomas earned through correspondence enrollment in an 5 

entity that charges a fee and requires the individual to complete little or no education or coursework to obtain a high 6 

diploma shall not be recognized toward the educational requirements. 7 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 8 

unless the individual has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check for local and state records for 9 

the time period since the trainee has become an adult and from all locations where the trainee has resided since 10 

becoming an adult.  An Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a comparable out-of-state 11 

criminal record check shall satisfy this requirement. 12 

(i)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 13 

Course who has been convicted of the following: 14 

(1) a felony; 15 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have been imprisonment for more than two years; 16 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a Class B Misdemeanor within the five year period prior to the 17 

date of application for employment, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the 18 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission; 19 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class B Misdemeanors, regardless of the date of 20 

conviction; 21 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as Class A Misdemeanors, except the trainee may be 22 

enrolled if the last conviction date occurred more than two years prior to the date of enrollment; 23 

(6) a combination of four or more Class A Misdemeanors or Class B Misdemeanors regardless of the 24 

date of conviction, unless the individual intends to seek certification through the North Carolina 25 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. 26 

(j)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in Paragraph (i) of this Rule may be admitted into the Basic Law 27 

Enforcement Training Course if such offenses were dismissed or the person was found not guilty, but completion of 28 

the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course does not ensure that certification as a law enforcement officer or justice 29 

officer through the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission will be issued.  30 

Every individual who is admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall 31 

notify the School Director of all criminal offenses the trainee is arrested for or charged with, pleads no contest to, 32 

pleads guilty to, or is found guilty of, and of all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) that are issued by a judicial 33 

official after a hearing that provides an opportunity for both parties to be present.  This includes all criminal offenses 34 

except minor traffic offenses and includes any offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While 35 

Impaired (DWI).  A "minor traffic offense" is defined, for the purposes of this Paragraph, as an offense where the 36 

maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or fewer.  Other offenses under G.S. 20 (Motor Vehicles) or similar 37 
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laws of other jurisdictions that shall be reported to the School Director are G.S 20-138.1 (driving while under the 1 

influence), G.S. 20-28 (driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), G.S. 20-30(5) 2 

(fictitious name or address in application for license or learner's permit), G.S. 20-37.8 (fraudulent use of a fictitious 3 

name for a special identification card), G.S. 20-102.1 (false report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle), G.S. 20-4 

111(5) (fictitious name or address in application for registration), G.S. 20-130.1 (unlawful use of red or blue lights), 5 

G.S. 20-137.2 (operation of vehicles resembling law enforcement vehicles), G.S. 20-141.3 (unlawful racing on streets 6 

and highways), G.S. 20-141.5 (speeding to elude arrest), and G.S. 20-166 (duty to stop in event of accident).  The 7 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and specify the nature of the offense, the court in which 8 

the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of issuance of the Domestic Violence Order 9 

(G.S. 50B), and the final disposition and the date thereof.  The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be 10 

received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court.  The requirements of this 11 

Paragraph are applicable at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course.  12 

The requirements of this Paragraph are in addition to the notifications required under 12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 13 

NCAC 09B .0101(8). 14 

 15 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 16 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 17 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; November 1, 18 

2015; March 1, 2015; January 1, 2015; June 1 ,2012; February 1, 2011; June 1, 2010; December 19 

1, 2004; July 1, 2004; August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1992; July 1, 20 

1989; January 1, 1985. 21 

 22 

 23 

 24 
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Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09B .0301 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
In (b), line 11, what is required to “document” this? 
 
In (c), line 16, define “successfully” 
 
In (d), line 18 and elsewhere these terms are used, what are “knowingly” and “willfully”? 
 
In (e)(3), line 32, the name of the manual in Rule 09B .0209 is “Instructor Training Manual” 
 
In (e)(5), line 35, please capitalize “Commission” in “Commission-mandated” 
 
Consider breaking the language on lines 36 to page 2, line 4, further down into a list. 
 
On line 37, replace “which” with “that” 
 
On Page 2, line 1, what is the use of the cross reference to 09A .0204?  What do you mean here? 
 
In (8), line 8, why is this written differently from Rule 09B .0101(3)(h)?  That rule states that the 
case defines “moral turpitude” Which is correct? 
 
On line 9, should this read “in re State v. Harris” like it does in Rule .0101(3)(h)? 
 
On line 13, define “effectively” 
 
In (11), line 20, Rule 12 NCAC 02A .0204 has never existed.  What cross-reference do you intend 
to cite to here? 
 
In (12), line 22, define “material” 
 
In (f), what authority are you relying upon to have the Commission require all certified law 
enforcement officers, even those not certified by them, to require this reporting?  Are you relying 
upon G.S. 17C-6(a)(1)? 
 
On line 26, you state “or” and on line 27, you state “and”.  Should the initial “or” be deleted and 
the “and” be replaced with “or”? 

28



Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

On line 29, remove the hyphen between “30” and “days” 
 
Also on line 29, since you refer to a “person” (singular) on line 24, replace “They” with “He or she” 
 
On line 30, you do not capitalize “certification” following “General Instructor” but you do on Page 
1, line 9.  Shouldn’t they be the same? 
 
On line 31, replace “their” with “his or her” 
 
On line 34, I do not understand this cross-reference. That Rule only addresses Specialized 
Instructor Certification.   
 
In (f)(2), line 36, replace “they” with “he or she” 
 
On Page 3, line 1, capitalize “Commission” and hyphenate the term “Commission-approved” 
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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12 NCAC 09B .0301 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 3 

 4 

12 NCAC 09B .0301 CERTIFICATION OF INSTRUCTORS 5 

(a)  A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal justice training course or program as an instructor, 6 

teacher, professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to the class shall first be certified by the 7 

Commission as an instructor. 8 

(b)  The Commission shall certify instructors under the following categories: General Instructor Certification, 9 

Specialized Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and 0306 10 

of this Section. Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of documented qualifications of experience, 11 

education, and training in accord with the requirements of this Section and as stated on the applicant's Request for 12 

Instructor Certification Form. 13 

(c)  In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a 14 

Commission-certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized areas. Such competence shall include 15 

remaining current in the instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by attending and successfully 16 

completing all updated instructor training courses required by the Commission. 17 

(d)  If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is found to have knowingly and willfully violated any 18 

provision or requirement of the rules in this Subchapter, the Commission shall take action to correct the violation and 19 

to ensure that the violation does not recur, including: 20 

(1) issuing an oral warning and request for compliance; 21 

(2) issuing a written warning and request for compliance; 22 

(3) issuing an official written reprimand; 23 

(4) suspending the individual's certification for a specified period of time or until acceptable corrective 24 

action is taken by the individual; and 25 

(5) revoking the individual's certification. 26 

(e)  The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's certification if the Commission finds that the 27 

person: 28 

(1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the requirements for qualification; 29 

(2) has failed to remain knowledgeable in the person's areas of expertise; 30 

(3) has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the instructor lesson plans outlined in the 31 

"Basic Instructor Training Manual" as found in 12 NCAC 09B .0209; 32 

(4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course 33 

Management Guide" as found in 12 NCAC 09B .0205; 34 

(5) has demonstrated unprofessional personal conduct in the delivery of commission-mandated training. 35 

For the purposes of this Subparagraph, unprofessional personal conduct means an act that is: job-36 

related conduct which constitutes a violation of State or federal law; conviction or commission of a 37 
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criminal offense, as set out in 12 NCAC 09A .0204; the willful violation of Rules of this Chapter; 1 

conduct that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's mandated courses; the abuse of a 2 

client or student whom the instructor is teaching or supervising or falsification of an instructor 3 

application or in other employment documentation; 4 

(6) has demonstrated instructional incompetence; 5 

(7) has knowingly and willfully obtained or attempted to obtain instructor certification by deceit, fraud, 6 

or misrepresentation; 7 

(8) has failed to meet or maintain good moral character as defined in: re Willis, 299 288 N.C. 1, 215 8 

S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (9175);(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 9 

854 (1940); in re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re Applicants for License, 143 10 

N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); in re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 11 

309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority, 12 

and as required to effectively discharge the duties of a criminal justice instructor; 13 

(9) has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement 14 

Officers Firearms Qualification Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC 09H .0102; or 15 

(10) has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted to aid any person in obtaining qualification or 16 

certification under the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification 17 

Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation; 18 

(11) has committed or been convicted of an offense which could result in the denial, suspension, or 19 

revocation of an officer's law enforcement certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 02A .0204 or 12 20 

NCAC 09G .0504; or 21 

(12) has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or 22 

accreditation. 23 

(f)  When a person certified as a law enforcement officer by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 24 

Training Standards Commission (Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and Training Standards 25 

Commission (Sheriffs' Commission), or the North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire Marshal, 26 

Fire Rescue Commission (Fire Commission) and Office of Emergency Medical Services has his or her law 27 

enforcement officer or fire and rescue certification suspended or revoked by their respective Commission, that person 28 

shall report the suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards within 30-days. They shall also have their 29 

General Instructor certification (if applicable) similarly and automatically suspended or revoked for the same time 30 

period as their respective Commission certification. 31 

(1) This suspension or revocation of the General Instructor certification shall also include suspension 32 

or revocation to any Commission recognized Specialized or additional instructor certification, as 33 

outlined in 12 NCAC 09B .0304.  34 

(2) If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds the expiration date of the instructor's initial 35 

certification expiration date, they shall forfeit their certifications as a General Instructor and 36 

Specialized Instructor and shall be required to obtain certification pursuant to the requirements of 37 
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12 NCAC 09B .0302 before any instruction may be delivered in any commission approved or 1 

mandated training, including the completion of a subsequent General Instructor's training course in 2 

its entirety. 3 

(3) If the term of suspension or revocation does not exceed the expiration date of the instructor's initial 4 

certification expiration date, the instructor shall be reinstated as a General Instructor only upon 5 

reinstatement of his or her law enforcement officer certification by the Commission. The terms of 6 

renewal for the existing General Instructor and Specialized Instructor certifications shall remain 7 

subject to all renewal requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0303(c) by the next immediate 8 

expiration date. 9 

 10 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 11 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 12 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; April 1, 1999; 13 

July 1, 1991; January 1, 1985. 14 

 15 

 16 
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Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0102 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
In Item (10), what are you doing?  Reclassifying the crimes?  I ask because (10)(c), Page 2, line 
5, is classified as a felony in statute.  There are others that are only felonies in the NC General 
Statutes.  So, what is the intent here and what is your authority to do this? 
 
In (10)(d), Page 2, lines 7-8, what is the use of the language in parenthesis? 
 
In (m), line 18, and (n), line 19, why are you citing to the overall Article but then the specific statute 
beside it? 
 
In (ll), Page 3, line 8, why are you citing to the entire article but then giving a specific statute? 
 
In (mm), line 9, why aren’t you citing to (d), (e), and (f) with the initial citation, like you do in (nn) 
on line 11. 
 
On line 11, please underline the addition of “(nn)” 
 
In (vv), line 22, please correct the citation and state “14-288.6” 
 
In (ccc), lines 31-32, you are specifying (a) and (b), but that is the entire statute. Why are you 
breaking them out here? 
 
In (eee), lines 34-35, you are missing a parenthesis.  
 
In (ooo), Page 4, line 11, there is no G.S. 20-138.2I.  What is the proper citation? 
 
In (www), line 19, please correct the citation to “14-111.4” And do you not want to move this to 
the portion of the Rule that sets forth the G.S. 14 crimes? 
 
In (zzz), line 22, so that I’m clear – you won’t consider this a misdemeanor when it’s a Class 3 
misdemeanor as set forth in the statute? 
 
In (ssss), Page 5, line 18, update the cross-reference to “(vvvv)” to “(rrrr)” 
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Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

In (17), Page 6, line 4, what is “successful”? 
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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12 NCAC 09G .0102 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0102 DEFINITIONS 3 

The following definitions apply throughout this Subchapter only: 4 

(1) "Commission of an offense" means a finding by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 5 

Training Standards Commission or an administrative body that a person performed the acts 6 

necessary to satisfy the elements of a specified offense. 7 

(2) "Convicted" or "Conviction" means, the entry of: 8 

(a) a plea of guilty; 9 

(b) a verdict or finding of guilt by a jury, judge, magistrate, or other duly constituted, 10 

established adjudicating body, tribunal, or official, either civilian or military; or 11 

(c) a plea of no contest, nolo contendere, or the equivalent. 12 

(3) "Correctional Officer" means an employee of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, 13 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, responsible for the custody of inmates or 14 

offenders. 15 

(4) "Corrections Officer" means either or both of the two classes of officers employed by the North 16 

Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice: 17 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer. 18 

(5) "Criminal Justice System" means the whole of the State and local criminal justice agencies including 19 

the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 20 

(6) "Director" means the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina 21 

Department of Justice. 22 

(7) "Educational Points" means points earned toward the State Correction Officers' Professional 23 

Certificate Program for studies completed, with passing scores achieved, for semester hour or 24 

quarter hour credit at a regionally accredited institution of higher education.  Each semester hour of 25 

college credit equals one educational point and each quarter hour of college credit equals two-thirds 26 

of an educational point. 27 

(8) "High School" means a high school that meets the compulsory attendance requirements in the 28 

jurisdiction in which the school is located. 29 

(9) "In-Service Training Coordinator" means a person designated by a Criminal Justice Agency head to 30 

administer the agency's In-Service Training program. 31 

(10) "Misdemeanor" for corrections officers means those criminal offenses not classified under the laws, 32 

statutes, or ordinances as felonies.  Misdemeanor offenses for corrections officers are classified by 33 

the Commission as the following as set forth in G.S. or other state or federal law: 34 

(a) 14-2.5  Punishment for attempt (offenses that are Class A-1 misdemeanor) 35 
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(b) 14-27.7 Intercourse and sexual offenses with certain victims (If 1 

 defendant is school personnel other than a teacher, school administrator, 2 

 student teacher, or coach) 3 

(c) (b) 14-32.1(f) Assault on handicapped persons 4 

(d) (c) 14-32.2(b)(4) Patient abuse and neglect, punishments 5 

(e) (d) 14-32.3 Exploitation by caretaker of disabled/elder adult in domestic setting; 6 

 resulting in loss of less than one thousand dollars ($l000) (August 1, 7 

 2001-December 1, 2005.  Repealed December 1, 2005) 8 

(f)  (e) 14-33(b)(9) Assault, battery against sports official 9 

(g) (f) 14-33(c)  Assault, battery with circumstances 10 

(h) (g) 14-34  Assault by pointing a gun 11 

(i)  (h) 14-34.6(a) Assault on Emergency Personnel 12 

(j)  (i) 14-54  Breaking or Entering into buildings generally (14-54(b)) 13 

(k) (j) 14-72 Larceny of property; receiving stolen goods etc.; not more than one 14 

 thousand dollars ($1000.00)(14-72(a)) 15 

(l)  (k) 14-72.1  Concealment of merchandise (14-72.1(e); third or subsequent offense) 16 

(m) (l) 14-76  Larceny, mutilation, or destruction of public records/papers 17 

(n) (m) CH 14 Art. 19A False/fraudulent use of credit device (14-113.6) 18 

(o)  (n) CH 14 Art. 19B Financial transaction card crime (14-113.17(a)) 19 

(p)  (o) 14-114(a) Fraudulent disposal of personal property on which there is a security 20 

 interest 21 

(q)  (p) 14-118  Blackmailing 22 

(r)  (q)   14-118.2               Obtaining academic credit by fraudulent means (14-118.2(b)) 23 

(s)  (r)    14-122.1  Falsifying documents issued by a school (14-122.1(c)) 24 

(t)   (s) 14-127  Willful and wanton injury to real property 25 

(u)  (t) 14-160 Willful and wanton injury to personal property greater than two hundred 26 

 dollars ($200.00)(14-160(b)) 27 

(v)  (u) 14-190.5  Preparation of obscene photographs 28 

(w) (v) 14-190.9  Indecent Exposure 29 

(x)  (w) 14-190.14 Displaying material harmful to minors (14-190.14(b)) 30 

(y)  (x) 14-190.15 Disseminating harmful material to minors (14-190.15(d)) 31 

(z)  (y) 14-202.2  Indecent liberties between children 32 

(aa) (z) 14-202.4  Taking indecent liberties with a student 33 

(bb) (aa) 14-204  Prostitution (14-207; 14-208) 34 

(cc) (bb) 14-223  Resisting officers 35 

(dd) (cc) 14-225  False, etc., reports to law enforcement agencies or officers 36 

(ee) (dd) 14-230  Willfully failing to discharge duties 37 
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(ff) (ee) 14-231  Failing to make reports and discharge other duties 1 

(gg) (ff) 14-232  Swearing falsely to official records 2 

(hh) (gg) 14-239  Allowing prisoners to escape escape; punishment 3 

(ii)  (hh) 14-255  Escape of working prisoners from custody 4 

(jj)  (ii) 14-256  Prison breach and escape 5 

(kk) (jj) 14-258.1(b) Furnishing certain contraband to inmates 6 

(ll) (kk) 14-259  Harboring or aiding certain persons 7 

(mm) (ll)CH 14 Art. 34 Persuading inmates to escape; harboring fugitives (14-268) 8 

(nn) (mm)14-269.2 Weapons on campus or other educational property (14-269.2(d), (e) and 9 

 (f)) 10 

(oo) (nn) 14-269.3(a) Weapons where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed 11 

(pp) (oo)14-269.4  Weapons on state property and in courthouses 12 

(qq) (pp) 14-269.6 Possession and sale of spring-loaded projectile knives prohibited (14-13 

 269.6(b)) 14 

(rr) (qq) 14-277 Impersonation of a law-enforcement or other public officer verbally, by 15 

 displaying a badge or insignia, or by operating a red light (14-277 (d1) 16 

 and (e)) 17 

(ss) (rr) 14-277.2(a) Weapons at parades, etc., prohibited 18 

(tt) (ss) 14-277.3 A Stalking (14-277.3(b)) 19 

(uu) (tt) 14-288.2(b) Riot 20 

(vv) (uu) 14-288.2(d) Inciting to riot 21 

(ww)(vv)14.288.6(a) Looting; trespassing during emergency 22 

(xx) 14-288.7(c) Transporting weapon or substance during emergency 23 

(yy) 14-288.9(c) Assault on emergency personnel; punishments  24 

(zz) (ww)14-315(a) Selling or giving weapons to minors 25 

(aaa) (xx)14-315.1 Storage of firearms to protect minors 26 

(bbb) (yy)14-316.1 Contributing to delinquency 27 

(ccc) (zz)14-318.2 Child abuse 28 

(ddd) (aaa)14-360 Cruelty to animals 29 

(eee) (bbb)14-361 Instigating or promoting cruelty to animals 30 

(fff) (ccc)14-401.14 Ethnic intimidation; teaching any technique to be used for (14-401.14(a) 31 

 and (b)) 32 

(ggg) (ddd)14-454(a) or (b)Accessing computers 33 

(hhh) (eee) 14-458 Computer trespass (Damage less than two thousand five hundred dollars34 

 ($2500.00) 35 

(iii) 15A-266.11 Unauthorized use of DNA databank; willful disclosure (15A-266.11(a) 36 

 and (b))  37 
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(jjj) (fff) 15A-287  Interception and disclosure of wire etc. communications 1 

(kkk) (ggg)15B-7(b) Filing false or fraudulent application for compensation award 2 

(lll) (hhh)18B-902(c) False statements in application for ABC permit (18B-102(b)) 3 

(mmm) (iii)20-37.8(a) & (c)Fraudulent use of a fictitious name for a special identification card 4 

(nnn) (jjj)20-102.1 False report of theft or conversion of a motor vehicle 5 

(ooo) (kkk)20-111(5) Fictitious name or address in application for registration 6 

(ppp) (lll)20-130.1 Use of red or blue lights on vehicles prohibited (20-130.1(e)) 7 

(qqq) (mmm)20-137.2 Operation of vehicles resembling law-enforcement vehicles  (20-8 

 137.2(b)) 9 

(rrr) (nnn)20-138.1 Driving while impaired (punishment level 1 (20-179(g))or 2 (20-179(h)) 10 

(sss) (ooo)20-138.2I Impaired driving in commercial vehicle (20-138.2(e)) 11 

(ttt) (ppp)20-141.5(a) Speeding to elude arrest 12 

(uuu) (qqq)20-166(b) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 13 

(vvv) (rrr)20-166(c) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 14 

(www) (sss)20-166(c1) Duty to stop in event of accident or collision 15 

(xxx) (ttt)50B-4.1  Knowingly violating valid protective order 16 

(yyy) (uuu)58-33-105 False statement in applications for insurance 17 

(zzz) (vvv)58-81-5 Careless or negligent setting of fires 18 

(aaaa) (www)62A-12 14.111.4 Misuse of 911 system 19 

(bbbb) (xxx) 90-95(d)(2) Possession of schedule II, III, IV 20 

(cccc) (yyy)90-95(d)(3) Possession of Schedule V 21 

(dddd) (zzz)90-95(d)(4) Possession of Schedule VI (when punishable as Class 1 misdemeanor) 22 

(eeee) (aaaa)90-95(e)(4) Conviction of 2 or more violations of Art. 5 23 

(ffff) (bbbb)90-95(e)(7) Conviction of 2 or more violations of Art. 5 24 

(gggg) (cccc)90-113.22 Possession of drug paraphernalia (90-113.22(b)) 25 

(hhhh) (dddd)90-113.23 Manufacture or delivery of drug paraphernalia (90-113.23(c)) 26 

(iiii) (eeee)97-88.2(a) Misrepresentation to get worker's compensation payment 27 

(jjjj) (ffff)108A-39(a) Fraudulent misrepresentation of public assistance 28 

(kkkk) (gggg)108A-53 Fraudulent misrepresentation of foster care and adoption assistance 29 

 payments electronic food and nutrition benefits 30 

(llll) (hhhh)108A-64(a) Medical assistance recipient fraud; less than four hundred dollars 31 

 ($400.00)(108-64(c)(2)) 32 

(mmmm) (iiii)108A-80 Recipient check register/list of all recipients of AFDC and state-county 33 

 special assistance (108A-80(b)) 34 

(nnnn) (jjjj)108A-80 Recipient check register/ list of all recipients of AFDC and state-county 35 

 special assistance; political mailing list (108A-80(c)) 36 

(oooo) (kkkk)113-290.1(a)(2)Criminally negligent hunting; no bodily disfigurement 37 
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(pppp) (llll)113-290.1(a)(3)Criminally negligent hunting; bodily disfigurement 1 

(qqqq) (mmmm)113-290.1(a)(4) Criminally negligent hunting; death results 2 

(rrrr) (nnnn)113-290.1(d) Criminally negligent hunting; person convicted/suspended license 3 

(ssss) (oooo)143-58.1(a) Use of public purchase or contract for private benefit (143-58.1(c)) 4 

(tttt) (pppp)148-45(d) Aiding escape or attempted escape from prison 5 

(uuuu) (qqqq)162-55 Injury to prisoner by jailer 6 

(vvvv) (rrrr) Common-Law misdemeanors: 7 

(i) Going Armed to the Terror of the People 8 

(ii) Common-Law Mayhem 9 

(iii) False Imprisonment 10 

(iv) Common-Law Robbery 11 

(v) Common-Law Forgery 12 

(vi) Common-Law Uttering of Forged paper 13 

(vii) Forcible Trespass 14 

(viii) Unlawful Assembly 15 

(ix) Common-Law Obstruction of Justice 16 

(wwww) (ssss)Those offenses occurring in other jurisdictions that are comparable to the offenses 17 

specifically listed in (a) through (vvvv) of this Rule. 18 

(xxxx) (tttt) Any offense proscribed by 18 U.S.C. 922 (1996), 19 

(http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-20 

chap44-sec922.pdf), that would prohibit possessing a firearm or ammunition. 21 

(11) "Pilot Courses" means those courses approved by the Education and Training Committee, consistent 22 

with 12 NCAC 09G .0404, which are used to develop new training course curricula. 23 

(12) "Probation/Parole Officer" means an employee of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, 24 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, whose duties include supervising, evaluating, or 25 

otherwise instructing offenders placed on probation, parole, post release supervision, or assigned to 26 

any other community-based program operated by the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 27 

Justice. 28 

(13) "Qualified Assistant" means an additional staff person designated as such by the School Director to 29 

assist in the administration of a course when a certified institution or agency assigns additional 30 

responsibilities to the certified School Director during the planning, development, and 31 

implementation of a certified course. 32 

(14) "School" means an institution, college, university, academy, or agency that offers penal or 33 

corrections training for correctional officers or probation/parole officers.  "School" includes the 34 

corrections training course curricula, instructors, and facilities. 35 

(15) "School Director" means the person designated by the Secretary of the North Carolina Department 36 

of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice to administer the School. 37 
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(16) "Standards Division" means the Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina 1 

Department of Justice. 2 

(17) "State Corrections Training Points" means points earned toward the State Corrections Officers' 3 

Professional Certificate Program by successful completion of Commission-approved corrections 4 

training courses.  Twenty classroom hours of Commission-approved corrections training equals one 5 

State Corrections training point. 6 

 7 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 153A-217; 8 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 9 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 10 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; January 1, 2017; January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004. 11 

 12 

 13 
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Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0103 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
In (a), line 4, are these procedures in G.S. 150B-20? 
 
On line 5, how are these submitted?  Electronically or via mail?  What is the contact information 
for this? 
 
In (a)(1), line 6, consider beginning this with an article 
 
On line 6, insert a comma after “address” 
 
G.S. 150B-20 requires rulemaking to establish the procedure for the public to submit the petition 
and the procedure the agency will use to consider the petition.  What is the procedure the 
Commission will use?  Is it set forth in another Rule? 
 
What is your statutory authority to require (a)(3) through (7), especially in light of G.S. 150B-19.1? 
 
In (b), I take it the Commission considers itself to be an occupational licensing agency because it 
is specifically mentioned in G.S. 93B? 
 
In (b)(2) and (3), lines 16 and 17, either state who will determine this relevance or delete “insofar 
as relevant” 
 
In (c), line 19, delete “incorporated by the Office of Administrative Hearings as” 
 
On line 21, why are you citing to G.S. 150B-38(h) here? 
 
On lines 21-22, replace the sentence you have with “These rules are incorporated by reference, 
including subsequent amendments and editions.” 
 
On line 22, delete “Provided, however, that” and begin the sentence “If” 
 
On lines 24-25, please review the rules in 26 NCAC 03 to determine if this is the reference you 
want.  Please note there is no 03 .0101(2) or .0102(a)(1). 
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In (d), line 26, what is your authority to set the appeal deadline at 30 days?  I note that G.S. 150B-
23(f) states: 

§ 150B-23.  Commencement; assignment of administrative law judge; hearing 
required; notice; intervention. 

 (f)        Unless another statute or a federal statute or regulation sets a time limitation for 
the filing of a petition in contested cases against a specified agency, the general limitation 
for the filing of a petition in a contested case is 60 days. The time limitation, whether 
established by another statute, federal statute, or federal regulation, or this section, shall 
commence when notice is given of the agency decision to all persons aggrieved who are 
known to the agency by personal delivery or by the placing of the notice in an official 
depository of the United States Postal Service wrapped in a wrapper addressed to the 
person at the latest address given by the person to the agency. The notice shall be in 
writing, and shall set forth the agency action, and shall inform the persons of the right, 
the procedure, and the time limit to file a contested case petition. When no informal 
settlement request has been received by the agency prior to issuance of the notice, any 
subsequent informal settlement request shall not suspend the time limitation for the filing 
of a petition for a contested case hearing. 

I realize that the statute I cited is in Article 3 of G.S. 150B, but where is your authority to set a 30 
day deadline? 
 
In the History Note, delete the reference to G.S. 150B-21.6. 
 
In the History Note, line 31, this is not the proper way to insert the amended effective date. Put 
the newest date first.   
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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12 NCAC 09G .0103 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0103 RULE-MAKING AND ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 3 

(a)  In addition to the procedures set out in G.S. 150B-20, Petitions for Rule-Making shall be submitted to the 4 

Commission and shall contain: 5 

(1) petitioner's name, address and telephone number; 6 

(2) a draft of the proposed rule or rule change; 7 

(3) the reason for its proposal; 8 

(4) the effect of the proposal on existing rules or decisions; 9 

(5) data supporting the proposal; 10 

(6) practices likely to be affected by the proposal; and 11 

(7) a list or description of persons likely to be affected by the proposed rule. 12 

(b)  Administrative hearings in contested cases conducted by the Commission or an Administrative Law Judge (as 13 

authorized in G.S. 150B-40) shall be governed by: 14 

(1) procedures set out in G.S. 150B, Article 3; 15 

(2) insofar as relevant, the Rules of Civil Procedure as contained in G.S. 1A-1; 16 

(3) insofar as relevant, the General Rules of Practice for the Superior and District Courts as authorized 17 

by G.S. 7A-34 and found in the Rules Volume of the North Carolina General Statutes. 18 

(c)  The rules establishing procedures for contested cases incorporated by the Office of Administrative Hearings as 19 

contained in 26 NCAC 03 are hereby incorporated by reference for contested cases for which this agency has authority 20 

to adopt rules under G.S. 150B-38(h).  All such incorporations by reference shall automatically include any later 21 

amendments and editions of the incorporated material as provided by G.S. 150B-21.6.  Provided, however, that if the 22 

case is conducted under G.S. 150B-40(b), the presiding officer shall have the powers and duties given to the Chief 23 

Administrative Law Judge or the presiding Administrative Law Judge in 26 NCAC 03 and that 26 NCAC 03 .0101(2); 24 

.0102(a)(1) and .0103(b) shall not apply. 25 

(d)  An applicant for certification or a certified officer shall have 60 30 days from the date of receipt of a notice of 26 

proposed action by the Commission to request a contested case hearing. 27 

 28 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 150B-20; 150B-21.6; 150B-38(h); 150B-40; 29 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 30 

Eff. August 1, 2002. 2002; October 1, 2018 31 

 32 

 33 
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Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0505 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
In (a)(1), line 6, delete the “or” at the end of the line. 
 
Also in (a)(1), what part of Rule .0504 specifically refers to a felony? 
 
In (a)(2), line 7, please hyphenate “three-year” 
 
In (a)(3), line 10, do you mean a Section or the entire Subchapter of 09G?  And what are these 
grounds? 
 
In (b) and (c), I take it the determination of the length of the sanction will be made by the 
Commission on a case-by-case basis? 
 
In (b)(4), line 21, what is “Commission’s satisfaction”? 
 
In (b)(5), line 22, what is “material”? 
 
In (b)(9), what authority are you relying upon to impose this reciprocal discipline? 
 
In (c)(1), line 34, delete the “or” at the end of the line.  
 
In the History Note, Page 2, line 5, this is not the proper way to insert the amended effective date. 
Put the newest date first.   
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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12 NCAC 09G .0505 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0505 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 3 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 4 

of this Section, the period of the sanction shall be 10 years where the cause of sanction is: 5 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense; or 6 

(2) the second suspension of an officer's certification for any of the causes requiring a three year period 7 

of suspension; or 8 

(3) revocation or denial of certification by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 9 

Standards Commission based on grounds that would constitute a violation of Section 09G of these 10 

Rules. 11 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G 12 

.0504 of this Section, the period of sanction shall be not less than three years; however, the Commission may either 13 

reduce or suspend the period of sanction under Paragraph (c) of this Rule or substitute a period of probation in lieu of 14 

suspension of certification following an administrative hearing, where the cause of sanction is: 15 

(1) commission or conviction of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102; 16 

(2) discharge by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public Safety, Division of Adult 17 

Correction and Juvenile Justice pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504(b)(4) and (b)(5) of this Section; 18 

(3) refusal to submit to the applicant drug screen required by the Rules in this Subchapter; 19 

(4) production of a positive result on a drug screen reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 09G 20 

.0206(3), where the positive result cannot be explained to the Commission's satisfaction; 21 

(5) material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or accreditation; 22 

(6) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another person to obtain, or aiding another person attempt to 23 

obtain credit, training or certification by any means of false pretense, deception, defraudation, 24 

misrepresentation or cheating; 25 

(7) failure to make either of the notifications as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0302; 26 

(8) removal from office under the provisions of G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; or 27 

(9) certification revoked or denied by the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards 28 

Commission, if such certification was revoked or denied based on grounds that would constitute a 29 

violation of Section 09G of these Rules. 30 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of a corrections officer, the period of sanction shall be 31 

for an indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, infraction, or impairment continues to exist, 32 

where the cause of sanction is: 33 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training requirements; or 34 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum standards for certification; or 35 

(3) discharge from the North Carolina Department of Correction for impairment of physical or mental 36 

capabilities. 37 
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 1 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 2 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 3 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 4 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2004. 2004; October 1, 2018 5 

 6 

 7 

46



Amanda J. Reeder 
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  August 27, 2018 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
 
AGENCY: Criminal Justice Education Training Standards Commission 
 
RULE CITATION: 12 NCAC 09G .0701 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends the following technical changes be made: 
  
Throughout this Rule, the agency appears to be attempting to comply with G.S. 150B-2(8a)(d), 
which states: 

(8a)      "Rule" means any agency regulation, standard, or statement of general 
applicability that implements or interprets an enactment of the General Assembly 
or Congress or a regulation adopted by a federal agency or that describes the 
procedure or practice requirements of an agency. The term includes the 
establishment of a fee and the amendment or repeal of a prior rule. The term does 
not include the following: 

d.         A form, the contents or substantive requirements of which are prescribed 
by rule or statute. 

It appears you are attempting to address some of the substantive requirements of each form.  
However, you do not seem to list everything that is required for each form.  You need to do so in 
this Rule. 
 
Where are these forms found?  How does DPS get a copy of them?  Please state this in the Rule. 
 
In (a), line 10, delete “seeks to facilitate the applicant’s medical examination by listing” with 
“requires” or “lists” 
 
On line 11, what is “pertinent”? 
 
In (b), what are the contents of this form? 
 
In (c), lines 15-17, do you need to explain the purpose of the form?  Please note this question 
elsewhere where you list the purpose of the form, followed by the requirements of the form.  
 
In (e), line 24, remove the comma after “officers” 
 
On line 25, replace “indicating” with “stating”  
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On line 26, what do you mean by “at a minimum”? In this Rule, please state what is required by 
this form. 
 
In (f), what are the contents? 
 
In (g), line 32, delete the comma after “officer” both places 
 
On line 33, define “properly”  
 
On line 33, completed by whom? 
 
On lines 33-34, what is this Action Form?   
 
In (h), line 36, what do you mean by “seeks”?   
 
On Page 2, line 1, what are the “personal and professional background”? 
 
What is required for this documentation? 
 
What do you mean by “specific”? 
 
In (i), what if the Director would not recommend the instructor receive the certification?  There 
doesn’t seem to be an option for denying this. 
 
On line 6, what do you mean by “certifies”?  Is this sworn or notarized? 
 
In the History Note, line 15, this is not the proper way to insert the amended effective date. Put 
the newest date first.   
 
Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
 

 

48



08.17.18 
 

1 of 2 

12 NCAC 09G .0701 is amended with changes as published in 32: 24 NCR 2644-2661 as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0700 - FORMS 3 

 4 

12 NCAC 09G .0701 REPORT: APPLICATION: AND CERTIFICATION FORMS 5 

The following are Commission approved forms to be used by the North Carolina Department of Correction Public 6 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice in making reports, applications, or requests for certification 7 

to the Commission: 8 

(a) The Medical History Statement.  The Medical History Statement is a questionnaire to be completed 9 

by an applicant.  The form seeks to facilitate the applicant's medical examination by listing 10 

information pertinent to the applicant's present and past physical condition, injuries, diseases, or 11 

operations. 12 

(b) The Medical Examination Report.  The Medical Examination Report is a form provided to the 13 

examining physician to record the results of the applicant's medical examination. 14 

(c) The Request for School Accreditation Form.  The Request for School Accreditation Form provides 15 

the means for an agency or institution to become certified to conduct corrections training and to 16 

affiliate with the Criminal Justice Education and Training System. It seeks information on the 17 

physical, financial, and staff support provided to the school by the agency or institution. 18 

(d) The Request for Training Course Accreditation Form.  The Request for Training Course 19 

Accreditation Form is used to obtain accreditation for a school's particular offering of a corrections 20 

training course.  It requests information regarding the administration of the course, the particular 21 

facilities to be used, and the proposed curriculum of the course. 22 

(e) The Report of Appointment/Application for Certification.  The Report of Appointment/Application 23 

for Certification is used for reporting the appointment of correctional officers, and probation/parole 24 

officers, and probation/parole officers-surveillance and indicating the applicant's progress toward 25 

completing the requirements for certification.  The questions, at a minimum, seek information 26 

regarding the applicant's work, residential, military history, arrest history, and references. 27 

(f) Notice of Transfer.  The Notice of Transfer form is used to notify the Standards Division of an 28 

officer's change in the type of corrections officer certification. 29 

(g) Report of Separation.  The North Carolina Department of Correction, Public Safety, Division of 30 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, when separating a person from employment as a correctional 31 

officer, or probation/parole officer, or probation/parole officer-surveillance, shall forward to the 32 

Commission a properly completed Report of Separation or Department of Public Safety Personnel 33 

Action Form within 30 days of separation. 34 

(h) The Request for Instructional Certification Form.  The Request for Instructional Certification Form 35 

is used by persons seeking certification as general instructors.  It seeks information regarding 36 
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personal and professional background as well as documentation of the specific criteria for 1 

certification. 2 

(i) The Recommendation for General Instructor Certification Form.  The Recommendation for General 3 

Instructor Certification Form is completed by a School Director or agency head after an instructor 4 

has finished the required probationary period.  In the form the official recommends that the 5 

instructor receive General Instructor Certification and certifies that the official has observed and 6 

evaluated the instructor to be a teaching professional. 7 

(j) The Application for Award of State Corrections Certificate.  The Application For Award of State 8 

Corrections Certificate requests information regarding the education, training, and experience 9 

qualifying the applicant for various levels of certification under the State Corrections Officers' 10 

Professional Certificate Program. 11 

 12 

History Note: Authority 17C-6; 13 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 14 

Eff. August 1, 2002. 2002; October 1, 2018 15 

 16 

 17 
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