12 NCAC 09B .0101 is amended with changes as published in 34:19 NCAC 1760-1773 as follows: 1 2 3 SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 4 **TRAINING** 5 6 SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 7 8 12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 9 Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received a conditional offer of employment for a certified 10 position employed by an agency in North Carolina shall: 11 (1) be a citizen of the United States; 12 (2) be at least 20 years of age; 13 (3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 17C-10 and as evidenced by the following: 14 (a) not having been convicted of a felony; 15 (b) not having been convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0111(1) for five 16 years or the completion of any corrections supervision imposed by the courts, whichever 17 is later; 18 not having been convicted of an offense that, that would prohibit the possession of a firearm (c) 19 or ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, which is hereby incorporated by reference with subsequent amendments and editions (found and can be found at no cost at 20 21 (http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE 2011 title18 partl chap44 sec922.pdf), 22 https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2018-title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-23 partI-chap44.pdf; would prohibit the possession of a firearm or ammunition; 24 (d) having submitted to and produced a negative result on a drug test within 60 days of 25 employment or any in-service drug screening required by the appointing agency that meets the certification standards of the Department of Health and Human Services for Federal 26 27 Workplace Drug Testing Programs. A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this 28 requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-29 campaigns/drug-free-workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-testing/certified-lab-list; (https://www.samhsa.gov/programs campaigns/drug free workplace/guidelines-30 resources/drug testing/certified lab list); 31 32 submitting to a background investigation consisting of the verification of age and education (e) 33 and a criminal history check of local, state, and national files; 34 (f) being truthful in providing information to the appointing agency and to the Standards 35 Division for the purpose of obtaining probationary or general certification;

1		(g)	not having pending or outstanding felony charges that, if convicted of such charges, would
2			disqualify the applicant from holding such certification, pursuant to North Carolina
3			General Statute G.S. 17C-13; and
4		(h)	not having engaged in any conduct that brings into question the truthfulness or
5			credibility of the officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral turpitude" Turpitude" is
6			conduct that is contrary to justice, honesty, or morality, including conduct as defined in: $\underline{\text{In}}$
7			re Willis 288 re Willis, 299-N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975);
8			in re-State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); in In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386
9			S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); in In re
10			Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.
11			2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as authority.
12	(4)		been fingerprinted and a search made of local, state, and national files to disclose any criminal
13		record	
14	(5)		been examined and certified by a licensed surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse
15		•	tioner to meet physical requirements necessary to properly fulfill the officer's particular
16		-	nsibilities and shall have produced a negative result on a drug screen administered according
17		to the	following specifications:
18		(a)	the drug screen shall be a urine test consisting of an initial screening test using an
19			immunoassay method and a confirmatory test on an initial positive result using a gas
20			chromatography/mass spectrometry (GC/MS) or other reliable initial and confirmatory
21			tests as may, from time to time, be authorized or mandated by the Department of Health
22			and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs;
23		(b)	a chain of custody shall be maintained on the specimen from collection to the eventual
24			discarding of the specimen;
25		(c)	the drug screen shall test for the presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, phencyclidine
26			(PCP), opiates, and amphetamines or their metabolites;
27		(d)	the test threshold values meet the requirements established by the Department of Health
28			and Human Services for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR
29			7920 (2017) incorporated by reference, including later amendments and editions found at
30			no cost at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2017/01/23/2017-
31			00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-federal-workplace-drug-testing-programs;
32		(foun	d at no cost at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2017/01/23/2017-
33			00979/mandatory guidelines for federal workplace drug testing programs);
34		(e)	the test conducted shall be not more than 60 days old, calculated from the time when the
35			laboratory reports the results to the date of employment; and

2

1	
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	

- (f) the laboratory conducting the test shall be certified for federal workplace drug testing programs, and shall adhere to applicable federal rules, regulations, and guidelines pertaining to the handling, testing, storage, and preservation of samples;
- have been administered a psychological screening examination by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist authorized to practice in accordance with the rules and regulations of the United States Armed Forces within one year prior to employment by the employing agency to determine the officer's mental and emotional suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities of the position;
- (7) have been interviewed personally by the Department department head or his the department head representative or representatives to determine such things as the applicant's appearance, demeanor, attitude, and ability to [communicate:] communicate: and [make the following notifications]

(8) make the following notifications:

(8)

(a) within thirty days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department head in writing of all criminal offenses that for which the officer is arrested for or charged or arrested. This shall include traffic offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired [(DWI).] (DWI):

(b) within thirty days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to or of which the officer is found guilty. guilty of as well as Domestic Violence Orders (50B) that are issued by a judicial official. This shall include all criminal offenses except minor traffic offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI); and shall specifically include any offense of Driving Under The Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI). A minor traffic offense is defined, for purposes of this Subparagraph, as an offense for which the maximum punishment allowable by law is 60 days or less. Other offenses under Chapter 20 (Motor Vehicles) of the General Statutes of North Carolina or similar laws of other jurisdictions which shall be reported to the Standards Division expressly include G.S. 20-139 (persons under influence of drugs), G.S. 20 28(b)(driving while license permanently revoked or permanently suspended), and G.S. 20 166 (duty to stop in event of accident). The notifications required under this Subparagraph shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the final disposition, and the date thereof. The notifications required under this Subparagraph shall be received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the date of arrest or charge and of case disposition. The requirements of this Subparagraph shall be applicable at all times during which the officer is certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants for

3

3

certification. Officers required to notify the Standards Division under this Subparagraph shall also make the same notification to their employing or appointing executive officer within 20 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The executive officer, provided he has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of all arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from either the officer or the executive officer, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Subparagraph.

(c) within thirty days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all Domestic Violence Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are issued by a judicial official against the officer:

(d) within thirty days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the department head, provided he or she has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall also notify the Standards Division of arrests or criminal charges and final disposition;

[(e)(d)] within thirty days of the issuance of all Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S.50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S.50C), the department head, provided he or she has knowledge of the order, shall also notify the Standards Division of these orders.

(9) [(8)] The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense or order, the court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, or service of the order, and the final disposition. The notification shall include a certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this [subparagraph] item shall be applicable at all times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from the officer or the department head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this subparagraph.

of honesty, truthfulness, or credibility, the officer may not testify in court as a law enforcement officer. This provision shall apply only to notifications (1) made in writing by a superior court judge, district court judge, federal judge, district attorney, assistant district attorney, United States Attorney, Assistant United States Attorney, or the officer's department head, or (2) made in open court by a superior court judge, district court judge, or federal judge. The officer's notification to the Standards Division shall be in writing and shall state who notified the officer that the officer may not testify in court as a law enforcement officer and when the officer was so notified. An officer required to notify the Standards Division under this subparagraph shall make the same notification to his or her department head within thirty days of being notified that he or she may not testify in court as a law enforcement officer. A department head who is notified that an officer in his or her

1		agency has been notified that the officer may not testify in court as a law enforcement officer shall
2		also notify the Standards Division within thirty days of the department head's receipt of such notice.
3		Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from either the officer or the department
4		head, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this subparagraph.]
5	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
6		Eff. January 1, 1981;
7		Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995;
8		November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990;
9		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
10		2019.
11		Amended Eff. October 1, 2020.

1	12 NCAC 09B .0	0202 is amended as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows:
2		
3	12 NCAC 09B.	0202 RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE SCHOOL DIRECTOR
4	(a) In planning,	developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-certified criminal justice training course,
5	the School Direc	ctor shall:
6	(1)	Formalize and schedule the course curriculum in accordance with the curriculum standards
7		established in this Subchapter;
8	(2)	Select and schedule instructors who are certified by the Commission;
9	(3)	Provide each instructor with a current Commission course outline and all necessary additional
10		information concerning the instructor's duties and responsibilities;
11	(4)	Notify each instructor that he or she shall comply with the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course
12		Management Guide and provide him or her access to the most current version of the Course
13		Management Guide;
14	(5)	Review each instructor's lesson plans and other instructional materials for conformance to
15		Commission standards and to minimize repetition and duplication of subject matter;
16	(6)	Arrange for the availability of appropriate audiovisual aids and materials, publications, facilities,
17		and equipment for training in all topic areas;
18	(7)	Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any supplemental rules and requirements determined by
19		the school to be necessary or appropriate for:
20		(A) effective course delivery;
21		(B) establishing responsibilities and obligations of agencies or departments employing or
22		sponsoring course trainees; and
23		(C) regulating trainee participation and demeanor, ensuring trainee attendance, and
24		maintaining performance records;
25	(8)	If appropriate, recommend housing and dining facilities for trainees;
26	(9)	Administer the course delivery in accordance with Commission procedures and standards, give
27		consideration to advisory guidelines issued by the Commission; Commission, and ensure that the
28		training offered is safe and effective;
29	(10)	Maintain direct supervision, direction, and control over the performance of all persons to whom any
30		portion of the planning, development, presentation, or administration of a course has been delegated.
31		The comprehensive final examination shall be administered by the Criminal Justice Education and
32		Training Standards Commission; and
33	(11)	Report the completion of each presentation of a Commission-certified criminal justice training
34		course to the Commission.
35	(12)	All forms required for submission to the Commission are located on the Agency's website:
36		http://www.ncdoj.gov/About-DOJ/Law-Enforcement-Training-and-Standards/Criminal-Justice-Double and the control of the control
37		Education-and-Training-Standards/Forms-and-Publications.aspx.

37

1 (b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-2 certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School Director shall: 3 (1) Deliver training in accordance with the most current version of the Basic Law Enforcement Training 4 Course Management Guide as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy; 5 (2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 hours of instruction each week during consecutive calendar weeks, except that there may be as many as three one-week breaks until course 6 7 requirements are completed; 8 (3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified by the Commission to teach those high-liability areas 9 as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as assistant instructors 10 or role players; 11 (4) With the exception of the First Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous Materials, 12 and topical areas outlined in Rule .0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one specialized instructor 13 certified by the Commission for every six trainees while actively engaged in a practical performance 14 exercise; 15 (5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by the Commission for every eight trainees while 16 actively engaged in a practical performance exercise in the topical area "Subject Control Arrest 17 Techniques;" 18 Schedule no single individual to instruct more than 35 percent of the total hours of the curriculum (6) 19 during any one delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course presentation; 20 (7) Not less than 30 days before commencing delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, 21 submit to the Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation pursuant to 12 22 NCAC 09C .0211. The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall indicate a requested date and 23 location for the administration of the state comprehensive exam, and include the following 24 attachments: 25 a course schedule showing the arrangement of topical presentations and proposed (A) 26 instructional assignments; and 27 (B) a copy of any rules and requirements for the school. A copy of such rules shall also be 28 given to each trainee and to the executive officer of each trainee's employing or sponsoring 29 agency or department at the time the trainee enrolls in the course; 30 (8)Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by the Commission to monitor, a presentation of each 31 instructor once during each three year certification period in each topic taught by the instructor and 32 prepare a written evaluation on the instructor's performance and suitability for subsequent 33 instructional assignments. The observations shall be of sufficient duration to ensure that the 34 instructor is using the Instructional System Design model, and that the delivery is objective-based, 35 documented by, and consistent with a Commission-approved lesson plan. For each topic area, the 36 School Director's evaluation shall be based upon the course delivery observations, the instructor's

2 of 5

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results of the student evaluations of the instructor. For

1		probationary instructors, the evaluations conducted by another instructor shall be prepared on the
2		Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the Commission. Based of
3		this evaluation, the School Director shall recommend approval or denial of requests for General
4		Instructor Certification. For all other instructors, these evaluations shall be prepared on the Crimina
5		Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be kept on file by the school for a period of three years
6		and shall be made available for inspection by a representative of the Commission upon request. I
7		the event the evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or her performance was less that
8		acceptable, the School Director shall forward a copy of the evaluation to the Commission. An
9		instructor who is evaluating the instructional presentation of another instructor shall hole
10		certification in the same instructional topic area as that for which the instructor is being evaluated:
11	(9)	Administer or designate a staff person to administer appropriate tests during course delivery:
12		(A) to determine and record the level of trainee comprehension and retention of instructions
13		subject- matter;
14		(B) to provide a basis for a final determination or recommendation regarding the minimum
15		degree of knowledge and skill of each trainee to function as an inexperienced law
16		enforcement officer; and
17		(C) to determine subject or topic areas of deficiency for the application of Rule .0405(a)(3) of
18		this Subchapter; and
19	(10)	Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement
20		Training, submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation (Form
21		F-10B) that shall include:
22		(A) a "Student Course Completion" form for each individual enrolled on the day of orientation
23		(B) a "Certification and Test Score Release" form;
24		(C) the "Police Officer Physical Ability Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final form; and
25		(D) Orientation class enrollment roster.
26	(c) In addition to	o Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission
27	certified "Crimin	nal Justice Instructor Training Course," the School Director shall:
28	(1)	Schedule course presentation to include a minimum of 78 hours of instruction during the time period
29		the class is taught until course requirements are completed.
30	(2)	Schedule at least one evaluator for each six trainees, as follows:
31		(A) no evaluator shall be assigned more than six trainees during a course delivery;
32		(B) each evaluator, as well as the instructors, shall have completed a Commission-certifie
33		instructor training course or an equivalent instructor training course utilizing th
34		Instructional Systems Design model, an international model with applications in education
35		military training, and private enterprise; and
36		(C) each instructor and evaluator shall document successful participation in a program
37		presented by the North Carolina Justice Academy for purposes of familiarization and

1		supplementation relevant to delivery of the instructor training course and trainee
2		evaluation.
3	(3)	Not fewer than 30 days before commencing delivery of the course, submit to the Commission a Pre-
4		Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with the following
5		attachments:
6		(A) a course schedule showing the arrangement of topical presentations and proposed
7		instructional assignments;
8		(B) the names and last four digits of the social security numbers of all instructors and
9		evaluators; and
10		(C) a copy of any rules, and requirements for the school; and
11	(4)	Not more than 10 days after course completion, submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery Report
12		[Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the following:
13		(A) class enrollment roster;
14		(B) a course schedule with the designation of instructors and evaluators utilized in delivery;
15		(C) scores recorded for each trainee on the 70 minute skill presentation; and
16		(D) designation of trainees who completed the course in its entirety and whom the School
17		Director finds to be competent to instruct.
18	(d) In addition to	Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
19	certified RADA	R, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed measurement operator training
20	course or re-cert	ification course, the School Director shall:
21	(1)	select and schedule speed measurement instrument instructors who are certified by the Commission
22		as instructors for the specific speed measurement instruments in which the trainees are to receive
23		instruction as follows:
24		(A) provide to the instructor the Commission form(s) for motor skill examination on each
25		trainee;
26		(B) require the instructor to complete the motor skill examination form on each trainee
27		indicating the level of proficiency obtained on each specific instrument; and
28		(C) require each instructor to sign each individual form and submit the original to the School
29		Director;
30	(2)	not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled starting date, submit to the Director of the Standards
31		Division a Pre-Delivery Report of Speed Measuring Instrument Course Presentation [Form F-10A
32		(SMI)] that shall contain a period of course delivery including the proposed starting date, course
33		location, requested date and location for the administration of the state exam, and the number of
34		trainees to be trained on each type of approved speed measurement instrument. The Director of the
35		Standards Division shall review the request and notify the School Director within thirty business
36		days if the request is approved or denied; and

1	(3)	upon completing delivery of the Commission-certified course, and not more than 10 days after the
2		conclusion of a school's offering of a certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time
3		Distance, or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-certification course, the
4		School Director shall notify the Commission regarding the progress and achievements of each
5		trainee by submitting a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]
6		This report shall include the original motor-skill examination form(s) completed and signed by the
7		certified instructor responsible for administering the motor-skill examination to the respective
8		trainee.
9		
10	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
11		Eff. January 1, 1981;
12		Amended Eff. November 1, 1981;
13		Readopted w/change Eff. July 1, 1982;
14		Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; June 1, 2013; April 1, 2009; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006
15		May 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; January 1, 1996; November 1, 1993; December 1, 1987; January 1
16		1985;
17		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25
18		2019.
19		Amended Eff. <u>January 1, 2021; July 1, 2020.</u>
20		
21		

10 5 of 5

1 12 NCAC 09B .0209 is amended with changes as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows: 2 3 12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 4 (a) The instructor training Instructor Training course required for general instructor General Instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 78 90 hours of instruction, as defined in Paragraph (c), within 15-business days. fa 15 5 6 day period.] hours of instruction presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. [instructions.] 7 (b) Each instructor training Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and 8 knowledge to perform the function functions of a criminal justice instructor. 9 (c) Each instructor training Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 10 instructional hours for each area: 11 (1) Orientation and Pre-Test 34 Hours 12 (2) 68 Hours Instructional Systems Design (ISD) 13 (3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities 3 Hours 14 **(4)** Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership 4 Hours 15 (5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources 3 Hours 16 (6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting 4 Hours 17 Adult Learning 64 Hours **(7)** 18 Instructional Styles and Platform Skills (8) 58 Hours 19 (9)34 Hours Classroom Management 20 (10)Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises 68 Hours 21 (11)The Evaluation Process of Learning 45 Hours 22 (12)Audio Visual Aids 46 Hours 23 (13)Student 8-Minute Introductions and Video Critique 5 Hours 24 (14)Student Performance: First 35-Minute Presentation 6 Hours 25 Second 35-Minute Presentation 6 Hours 26 Final 70-Minute Presentation and Review 8 Hours 27 (15)Course Closing and Post-test 24 Hours 28 (d) The Instructor Course shall be completed in one of the following two methods: (1) Completion of all topics specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule within a fifteen day period; or 29 30 (2) individual may complete topics contained in Paragraph (c)(3), (e)(4), and (c)(5) of this Rule by either in person or online delivery via a Commission accredited delivery site within 60 days prior to the delivery of topics 31 32 specified in paragraph (c)(1), (c)(2), and (c)(6) thru (c)(15) of this Rule.] 33 (d) [(d)(e)]The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum 34 for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency: 35 Criminal Justice Standards Division 36 North Carolina Department of Justice 37 1700 Tryon Park Drive

1		Post Office Drawer 149
2		Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
3	and may be pur	chased at the cost of printing and postage from the Academy at the following address:
4		North Carolina Justice Academy
5		Post Office Drawer 99
6		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
7		
8	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
9		Eff. January 1, 1981;
10		Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; December 1, 2009;
11		August 1, 2005; November 1, 1998; January 1, 1995; March 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; January 1,
12		1985;
13		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
14		2019.
15		January 1, 2021.

12 2 of 2

(5)

37

1 12 NCAC 09B .0301 is amended as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows: 2 3 SECTION .0300 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTORS 4 5 12 NCAC 09B .0301 CERTIFICATION OF INSTRUCTORS 6 (a) A person participating in a Commission-certified criminal justice training course or program as an instructor, 7 teacher, professor, lecturer, or other participant making presentations to the class shall first be certified by the 8 Commission as an instructor. 9 (b) The Commission shall certify instructors under the following categories: General Instructor Certification, 10 Specialized Instructor Certification, or Professional Lecturer Certification as outlined in Rules .0302, .0304 and 0306 11 of this Section, Section, Instructor certification shall be granted on the basis of documented qualifications of 12 experience, education, and training in accordance with the requirements of this Section section and as stated 13 on the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form. 14 (c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section, each instructor certified by the Commission to teach in a 15 Commission-certified course shall remain competent in his or her specialized areas. Such competence shall include 16 remaining current in the instructor's area of expertise, which shall be demonstrated by attending and completing all 17 updated instructor training courses required by the Commission. 18 (d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is found to have knowingly and willfully violated any 19 provision or requirement of the Rules rules in this Subchapter, subchapter, Subchapter, the Commission shall take 20 action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation does not recur, including: 21 (1) issuing an oral warning and request for compliance; 22 (2) issuing a written warning and request for compliance; 23 (3) issuing an official written reprimand; 24 **(4)** suspending the individual's certification for a specified period of time or until acceptable corrective 25 action is taken by the individual; and 26 (5) revoking the individual's certification. 27 (e) The Commission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's certification when the Commission finds that the 28 person: 29 (1) has failed to meet and maintain any of the requirements for qualification; 30 (2) has failed to remain competent in the person's areas of expertise; 31 (3) has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the instructor lesson plans outlined in the "Instructor Training Manual" as found in Rule rule Rule .0209 of this Subchapter; subchapter; 32 33 Subchapter; 34 (4) has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined in the "Basic Law Enforcement Training Course Management Guide" as found in Rule rule Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; subchapter; Subchapter; 35 36 has demonstrated "unprofessional personal" unprofessional personal conduct in the delivery of

> 13 1 of 4

Commission approved or mandated Commission mandated training. For the purposes of this

1		Subparagraph, unprofessional personal conduct <u>is identified as: means an act that is: job related</u>
2		conduct that constitutes a violation of State or federal law; conviction or commission of a criminal
3		offense, as set out in 12 NCAC 09A .0204; the willful violation of Rules of this Chapter; conduct
4		that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's mandated courses; the abuse of a client or
5		student whom the instructor is teaching or supervising or falsification of an instructor application or
6		in other employment documentation. For purposes of this Chapter, conduct is "detrimental to
7		instruction" if the conduct is demeaning or disruptive to the learning environment, thus impeding
8		the students' ability to learn;
9		(a) job-related conduct that constitutes a violation of state or federal law;
10		(b) a conviction or commission of a criminal offense, as set out in [12 NCAC 09A.0204;]
11		Rule .0204 of this Section;
12		(c) the willful violation of Rules [rules] of this Chapter; [chapter;]
13		(d) conduct that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's mandated courses.
14		Conduct is "detrimental to instruction" if the conduct is demeaning or disruptive to the
15		learning environment:
16		(e) the physical [and/or] or verbal abuse of a client or student who the instructor is teaching
17		or supervising; or
18		(f) falsification of an instructor application or other employment documentation;
19	(6)	is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant and [Assistant:] is involved in the instruction
20		of (for instructors) or oversight of (for School Directors and Qualified Assistants) a student with
21		whom the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant has a close personal relationship such
22		as, familial, financial, dating, or sexual, [relationship,] even if consensual; and fails to take
23		immediate and appropriate corrective action. Appropriate corrective action requires the instructor,
24		School Director, or Qualified Assistant to notify his or her managing personnel in writing of the
25		relationship and requires the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant to stop instructing
26		or overseeing the student with whom the relationship exists:
27		(A) [(a)] the written notice to managing personnel shall include:
28		(i) [School/]school/agency name;
29		(ii) Name of course;
30		(iii) [Name] name of the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant;
31		(iv) [Name] name of student;
32		(v) Name of managing personnel, and
33		(vi) [Nature]-nature of the relationship;
34		(B) [(b)] the written notice from the school/agency managing personnel to the Standards
35		Division shall be submitted within ten days of receipt of notice from the instructor, School
36		Director, or Qualified Assistant and shall include:
37		(i) School/Jschool/agency name;

14 2 of 4

1		(ii) Name of course;
2		(iii) [Name] name of the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant;
3		(iv) [Name] name of student;
4		(v) Name name of managing personnel;
5		(vi) Nature nature of the relationship, and;
6		(vii) [Explanation] explanation of action taken to ensure the named instructor,
7		School Director, or Qualified Assistant is not in violation of this Rule;
8	<u>(7)(6)</u>	has demonstrated instructional incompetence;
9	<u>(8)(7)</u>	has knowingly and willfully obtained or attempted to obtain instructor certification by deceit, fraud,
10		or misrepresentation;
11	<u>(9)(8)</u>	has failed to meet or involve moral turpitude maintain good moral character as defined in: In re
12		Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v.
13		Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); In re
14		Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E.
15		130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that
16		cite these cases as authority, and as required to discharge the duties of a criminal justice instructor;
17	<u>(10)(9)</u>	has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement
18		Officers Firearms Qualification Certification Program as found in 12 NCAC 09H .0102;
19	<u>(11)(10)</u>	has knowingly and willfully aided or attempted to aid any person in obtaining qualification or
20		certification under the Qualified Retired Law Enforcement Officers Firearms Qualification
21		Certification Program by deceit, fraud, or misrepresentation;
22	<u>(12)(11)</u>	has committed or been convicted of an offense that which could result in the denial, suspension, or
23		revocation of an officer's law enforcement certification, pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504; or
24	<u>(13)(12)</u>	has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or
25		accreditation.
26	(f) When a person	son certified as a law enforcement officer by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and
27	Training Standa	rds Commission (Commission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and Training Standards
28	Commission (Sh	eriffs' Commission), the North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire Marshal, Fire
29	Rescue Commiss	sion (Fire Commission), Office of Emergency Medical Services North Carolina Company/Campus
30	Police Program;	or a North Carolina, out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency agency; has been
31	denied certificati	on or had his or her certification suspended or revoked by their respective Commission, or agency
32	the State or local	law enforcement officer shall report the suspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards
33	<u>Division</u> within	ive 5 five-days. He or she shall also have his or her The General Instructor Certification (if applicable)
34	shall be automati	cally suspended or revoked for the same time period as his or her respective Commission certification.
35	certification in ac	ecordance with the following:

3 of 4 15

1	(1)	this This suspension or revocation of the General Instructor certification shall also include
2		suspension or revocation to any Commission recognized Specialized or additional
3		instructor certification, as outlined in Rule 304 of this Subchapter: 12 NCAC 09B .0304.
4	(2)	if If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds the expiration date of the instructor's initial
5		certification expiration date, he or she shall forfeit their certifications as a General Instructor and
6		Specialized Instructor and shall be required to obtain certification pursuant to the requirements of
7		Rule rule Rule .0302 of this Subchapter section Section before any instruction may be delivered in
8		any Commission-approved or mandated training, including the completion of a subsequent General
9		Instructor's training course in its entirety, entirety; and
10	(3)	if # the term of suspension or revocation does not exceed the expiration date of the instructor's initial
11		certification expiration date, the instructor shall be reinstated as a General Instructor only upon
12		reinstatement of his or her law enforcement officer certification by the Commission. The terms of
13		renewal for the existing General Instructor and Specialized Instructor certifications shall remain
14		subject to all renewal requirements pursuant to Paragraph (d) of Rule .0303 of this Subchapter 12
15		NCAC 09B .0303(d) by the next immediate expiration date.
16		
17	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
18		Eff. January 1, 1981;
19		Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; October 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; April 1, 1999;
20		July 1, 1991; January 1, 1985;
21		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
22		2019;
23		Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; August 1, 2019.
24		

16 4 of 4

1 12 NCAC 09B .0410 is proposed for amendment as follows: 2 12 NCAC 09B .0410 3 CRIMINAL JUSTICE INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE 4 (a) To successfully complete the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" the trainee shall: 5 (1) satisfactorily complete all of the required coursework, specifically including each of the introductory 6 trainee presentations with video taping, playback, and critique as specified in the "Instructor 7 Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy, course work pursuant to 12 8 NCAC 09B .0209. All trainee presentations shall have met the criteria and conditions specified in 9 the course orientation of the "Instructor Training Manual;" Manual as published by the North 10 Carolina Justice Academy; and 11 (2) attain the passing score on each performance area as specified in the course abstract of the 12 "Instructor Manual" for the final written lesson plan and final 70-minute presentation. 13 (b) Should a trainee fail to meet the minimum criteria on the final lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he 14 or she shall be authorized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies by the end of the original two week 15 course. 16 17 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 18 Eff. January 1, 1985; 19 Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; January 1, 1995; February 1, 1987; 20 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 21 2019. 22 Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

I	12 NCAC 09G .0302 is amended as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows:
2	
3	12 NCAC 09G .0302 NOTIFICATION OF CRIMINAL CHARGES/CONVICTIONS
4	(a) (a) Every person employed and certified as a correctional officer or probation/parole officer shall make the
5	following notifications: notify the Standards Division of all criminal offenses for which the officer is charged,
6	arrested, pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or of which the officer is found guilty. Criminal offenses shall include all
7	felony offenses and shall include those misdemeanor offenses delineated in 12 NCAC 09G .0102.
8	(1) within thirty days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department
9	head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer is [changed]-charged or arrested;
10	(2) within thirty days of the qualifying event notify the Standards Division and the appointing department
11	head in writing of all criminal offenses for which the officer pleads no contest, pleads guilty, or of which the
12	officer is found guilty. This shall include traffic offenses identified in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual and
13	offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI);
14	(3) within thirty days of service, officers shall notify the Standards Division of all Domestic Violence
15	Protective Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are issued by a judicial official
16	against the officer;
17	(b) The notifications required under this Rule shall be in writing, specify the nature of the offense, the court in which
18	the case was handled, the date of arrest or criminal charge, the final disposition, and the date thereof. The notifications
19	required under this Paragraph shall be received by the Standards Division within 30 days of the date the case was
20	disposed of in court.
21	(c) The requirements of this Rule shall be applicable at all times during which the officer is certified by the
22	Commission.
23	(d) Officers required to notify the Standards Division under this Rule shall also make the same notification to their
24	employing or appointing executive officer within 20 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. The executive
25	officer, provided he or she has knowledge of the officer's arrest(s), criminal charge(s), or final disposition(s), shall
26	also notify the Standards Division of all arrests or criminal convictions within 30 days of the date of the arrest and
27	within 30 days of the date the case was disposed of in court. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification,
28	from either the officer or the executive officer, shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this Rule.
29	(b) The Department Head shall make the following notifications:
30	(1) within thirty days of the date the case was disposed of in court, the department head, provided he or she
31	has knowledge of the officer's arrests or criminal charges and final dispositions, shall also notify the Standards
32	Division of arrests or criminal charges and final disposition; and
33	(2) within thirty days of the issuance of a Domestic Violence Protective Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No
34	Contact Orders (G.S. 50C), the department head, provided he or she has knowledge of the order, shall also
35	notify the Standards Division of these orders.
36	(c) The required notifications in this Rule shall be in writing and shall specify the nature of the offense or order, the
37	court in which the case was handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, or service of the order, and the final

18 1 of 2

1112

2019.

Amended Eff. October 01, 2020.

1 disposition. The notification shall include a certified copy of the order or court documentation and final disposition 2 from the Clerk of Court in the county of adjudication. The requirements of this subparagraph shall be applicable at 3 all times during which the officer is employed and certified by the Commission and shall also apply to all applicants 4 for certification. Receipt by the Standards Division of a single notification, from the officer or the department head, 5 shall be sufficient notice for compliance with this subparagraph.] Rule. 6 History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 7 Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 8 Eff. August 1, 2002; 9 Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; August 1, 2004; 10 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,

1	12 NCAC 09G	6.0307 is amended with changes as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows:
2	12 NG A C 000	2 0207 CEDTIFICATION OF INSTRUCTORS
3	12 NCAC 090	
4		articipating in a Commission-accredited corrections training course or program as an instructor, teacher,
5	-	arer, or other participant making presentations to the class shall first be certified by the Commission as
6	an instructor.	
7		nmission shall certify instructors under the following categories: General Instructor Certification,
8		F Specialized Instructor Certification or Professional Lecturer Certification as outlined [in, rules] in
9	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	308, .0310, and .0311 of this Section. [section] Section. Instructor certification shall be granted on the
10	basis of documented qualifications of experience, education, and training in accord with the requirements of this	
11 12	Section and as stated on the applicant's Request for Instructor Certification Form. (c) In addition to all other requirements of this Section, Section each instructor certified by the Commission	
13		ommission-certified course shall remain competent in his/her-his or her specific or specialty areas. Such
13		cludes remaining current in the instructor's area of expertise, which may be demonstrated by attending
15	-	g any instructor all updated instructor training courses required by the Commission.
16		
17	(d) If a person certified as an instructor by the Commission is found to have knowingly and willfully violated any	
18	provision or requirement of the Rules [rules] Rules in this Subchapter, [subchapter,] Subchapter, the Commission shall take action to correct the violation and to ensure that the violation does not recur, including:	
19	(1)	issuing an oral warning and request for compliance;
20	(2)	issuing a written warning and request for compliance;
21	(3)	issuing an official written reprimand;
22	(4)	suspending the individual's certification for a specified period of time or until acceptable corrective
23	(1)	action is taken by the individual; or
24	(5)	revoking the individual's certification.
25	` ´	nission shall deny, suspend, or revoke an instructor's certification when the Commission finds that the
26	person:	
27	(1)	has failed to meet and maintain any of the requirements for qualification;
28	(2)	has failed to remain currently knowledgeable in the person's areas of expertise by failing to attend
29		trainings as required by the Rules rules in this Chapter. [chapter.] Chapter:
30	(3)	has failed to deliver training in a manner consistent with the instructor lesson plans outlined in the
31		"Basic Instructor Training Manual" as found in 12 NCAC 09G.0414; Rule .0414;
32	(4)	has failed to follow specific guidelines outlined in the basic corrections officers' training manual set
33		out in Rules [rules] Rules .0411 through, through .0416 of this Subchapter; [subchapter;]
34		Subchapter;
35	(5)	has demonstrated unprofessional personal conduct in the delivery of commission mandated
36		Commission approved or mandated training. For the purposes of this Subparagraph, [subparagraph,]
37		Subparagraph unprofessional personal conduct "unprofessional personal conduct" means an act

20 1 of 4

1		that is: is identified as: job related conduct which constitutes a violation of State or federal law;
2		conviction or commission of a criminal offense, as set out in 12 NCAC 09G .0504; the willful
3		violation of Rules of this Chapter; conduct that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's
4		mandated courses; the abuse of a client or student whom the instructor is teaching or supervising;
5		falsification of an instructor application or in other employment documentation;
6		(a) job-related conduct that constitutes a violation of state or federal law;
7		(b) conviction or commission of a criminal offense as set out in 12 NCAC 09G. 0504;
8		Rule .0504;
9		(c) the willful violation of [rules] Rules of this [chapter;] Chapter:
10		(d) conduct that is detrimental to instruction in the Commission's mandated courses. For
11		purposes of this Chapter, conduct is "detrimental to instruction" if the conduct is
12		demeaning or disruptive to the learning environment; fenvironment, thus impeding the
13		students' ability to learn;
14		(e) the physical [and/or] or verbal abuse of a client or student who the instructor is teaching
15		or supervising; or
16		(f) falsification of an instructor application or other employment documentation;
17	<u>(6)</u>	is an instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant and [Assistant;] is involved in the
18		instruction of (for instructors) or oversight of (for School Directors and Qualified Assistants) a
19		student with whom the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant has a close personal
20		relationship such as, familial, financial, dating, or sexual [relationship,] even if consensual; and fails
21		to take immediate and appropriate corrective action. Appropriate corrective action requires the
22		instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant to notify his or her managing personnel in writing
23		of the relationship and requires the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant to stop
24		instructing or overseeing the student with whom the relationship [exists:] exists and
25		(A) [(a)] the written notice to managing personnel shall include:
26		(i) School/school/agency name;
27		(ii) <mark>[Name] name</mark> of course;
28		(iii) Name name of the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant;
29		(iv) Name name of student;
30		(v) Name name of managing personnel, and; peronnel; and
31		(vi) Nature nature of the relationship;
32		(B) [(b)] the written notice from the school/agency managing personnel to the Standards
33		Division shall be submitted within ten days of receipt of notice from the instructor, School
34		Director, or Qualified Assistant and shall include:
35		(i) School/Jschool/agency name;
36		(ii) <mark>[Name] name</mark> of course;
37		(iii) [Name] name of the instructor, School Director, or Qualified Assistant;

2 of 4 21

1		(iv) [Name] name of student;
2		(v) Name name of managing personnel;
3		(vi) Nature nature of the relationship, and;
4		(vii) [Explanation] explanation of action taken to ensure the named instructor,
5		School Director, or Qualified Assistant is not in violation of this Rule:
6	(6) <u>(7)</u>	has demonstrated instructional incompetence;
7	(7) (<u>8)</u>	has knowingly and willfully obtained, or attempted to obtain instructor certification by deceit, fraud,
8		or misrepresentation;
9	(8) <u>(9)</u>	has failed to meet or maintain good moral character as defined in: In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215
10		S.E.2d 771, appeal dismissed dismissed, 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6
11		S.E.2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174 (1989); In re Applicants for License,
12		143 N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v.
13		Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later court decisions that cite these cases as
14		authority, and as required to discharge the duties of a criminal justice instructor;
15	(9) <u>(10)</u>	has committed or been convicted of an offense which that could result in the denial, suspension, or
16		revocation of an officers certification pursuant to Rules .0204 or .0504 of this Subchapter;
17		subchapter;
18	(10) (11)	has knowingly made a material misrepresentation of any information required for certification or
19		accreditation.
20	(f) When a pers	on certified as an officer by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards
21	Commission (Co	ommission), the North Carolina Sheriffs Education and Training Standards Commission (Sheriffs'
22	Commission), th	e North Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire Marshal, Fire Rescue Commission
23	(Fire Commissio	n), Office of Emergency Medical Services and the North Carolina Company/Campus Police Program;
24	or a similar Nort	h Carolina, out of state or federal approving, certifying or licensing agency agency; has been denied
25	certification or ha	ad his or her certification suspended or revoked by their respective Commission or agency the officer
26	shall report the su	uspension or revocation to the Criminal Justice Standards <u>Division</u> within <mark>five 5 <u>five</u> d</mark> ays. <mark>They shall</mark>
27	also have their <u>T</u>	<mark>he</mark> General Instructor certification <mark>shall be</mark> (if applicable) automatically suspended or revoked for the
28	same time period	as their respective Commission eertification. in accordance with the following:
29	(1)	this This suspension or revocation of the General Instructor certification shall also include
30		suspension or revocation to any Commission recognized Specialized or additional
31		instructor certification, as outlined in Rule .0310 of this Section. Section:
32	(2)	if If the term of suspension or revocation exceeds the expiration date of the instructor's initial
33		certification expiration date, they shall forfeit their certifications as a General Instructor and
34		Specialized Instructor and shall be required to obtain certification pursuant to the requirements of
35		Rule .0304 of this Section before any instruction may be delivered in any Commission-approved or
36		mandated training, including the completion of a subsequent General Instructor's training course in
37		its entirety. entirety; and

22 3 of 4

1	(3)	if H the term of suspension or revocation does not exceed the expiration date of the instructor's initial
2		certification expiration date, the instructor shall be reinstated as a General Instructor only upon
3		reinstatement of his or her law enforcement officer certification by the Commission. The terms of
4		renewal for the existing General Instructor and Specialized Instructor certifications shall remain
5		subject to all renewal requirements pursuant to Rule .0309(c) of this Section by the next expiration
6		date.
7		
8	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10;
9		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
10		Eff. August 1, 2002;
11		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
12		2019;
13		Amended Eff. <u>October 1, 2020,</u> August 1, 2019.
14		
15		

4 of 4 23

1	12 NCAC 09G .	0313 is amended with changes as published in 34:19 NCR 1760-1773 as follows:
2		
3	12 NCAC 09G	.0313 CORRECTIONS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING COURSE
4	(a) To successful	ully complete Corrections Instructor Training, the trainee shall:
5	(1)	satisfactorily complete all of the required course work, specifically including each of the trainee
6		presentations with videotaping, playback, and critique as specified work pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B
7		[.0209]0209. in the "Basic Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice
8		Academy. All trainee presentations shall have met the criteria and conditions specified in the course
9		orientation of the "Basic Instructor Training Manual;" "Instructor Training Manual", as published
10		by the North Carolina Justice Academy; [Academy;"] and
11	(2)	attain the passing the minimum score on each performance area as specified in the course abstract
12		of the "Basic Instructor Manual" Instructor Training Manual for the final written lesson plan and
13		final 80 minute 70-minute presentation, presentation; and
14	(3)	achieve a score of 75 percent correct answers on the comprehensive written examination.
15	(b) If a trainee	fails to meet the minimum criteria on the final lesson plan or the final 70-minute presentation, he or
16	she shall be aut	horized one opportunity to correct either of these deficiencies by the end of the original two week
17	course.	
18		
19	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
20		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
21		Eff. January 1, 2018; August 1, 2002;
22		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
23		2019.
24		Amended Eff. January 1, 2021.

24 1 of 1

1	12 NCAC 09G .0414 is amended with changes as published in 34:19 NRC 1760-1773 follows:	WS:	
2			
3	12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING		
4	(a) The instructor training Instructor Training course required for general instructor Gener		
5	shall consist of a minimum of 78 90 hours of instruction presented during a continuous per	iod of not more than two	
6	weeks. [instruction]. of instruction as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209 (c) to be completed with	thin 15 business days. [a	
7	15 day period.]		
8	(b) Each instructor training Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the training training instructor training	rainee with the skills and	
9	knowledge to perform the functions of a criminal justice instructor.		
10	(c) Each instructor training [Instructor Training] course shall include the following iden	<mark>ttified topic areas [areas,</mark>	
11	delivery methods,] and minimum instructional hours for each area: [pursuant to 12 NCAC 0	9 B .0209 (c) and (d).]	
12	(1) Orientation and Pre test;	3 hours	
13	(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD);	6 hours	
14	(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities;	3 hours	
15	(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership	4 hours	
16	(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources;	3 hours	
17	(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting	4 hours	
18	(7) Adult Learning;	6 hours	
19	(8) Instructional Style and Platform Skills;	5 hours	
20	(9) Classroom Management;	3 hours	
21	(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises;	6 hours	
22	(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning;	4 hours	
23	(12) Principles of Instruction: Audio Visual Aids;	4 hours	
24	(13) Student 8 Minute Introduction and Video Critique; and	5 hours	
25	(14) Student Performance:		
26	First 35 Minute Presentation;	6 hours	
27	Second 35 Minute Presentation; and	6 hours	
28	Final 70 Minute Presentation and Review;	8 hours	
29	(15) Course Closing and Post Test	2 hours	
30	(c) (d) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academ		
31	basic curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected	at the agency:	
32	Criminal Justice Standards Division		
33	North Carolina Department of Justice		
34	1700 Tryon Park Drive Post Office Drawer 149		
35	Raleigh, North Carolina 27602		
36	and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice A	Academy at the following	
37	address:		

1		North Carolina Justice Academy
2		Post Office Drawer 99
3		Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
4		
5	History Note:	Authority G.S. 17C-6;
6		Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001;
7		Eff. August 1, 2002;
8		Amended Eff. July 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; January 1, 2018; January 1, 2015;
9		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25
10		2019.
11		January 1, 2021.
12		
13		

26 2 of 2