1	21 NCAC 14A	.0104 ADDRESS IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2366 FOR
2		AMENDMENT AS FOLLOWS WITH CHANGES:
3	21 NCAC 14A	.0104 ADDRESS
4	The address for	the board is 1207-110 Front Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 121 Edinburgh South [Drive]
5	<u>Drive,</u> Suite [<mark>20</mark>	9 <mark>] 209</mark> , Cary, North Carolina 27511.
6		
7	History Note:	Authority G.S. 88-23;
8		Eff. February 1, 1976;
9		Amended Eff. September 1, 2021; January 1, 2015; August 1, 1998; December 6, 1991; January
10		1, 1989; April 1, 1988;
11		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January
12		13, 2015.
13		

1	21 NCAC 14A.	0404 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2366 AS FOLLOWS WITH
2		CHANGES:
3	21 NCAC 14A .	0404 FEES
4	(a) Fees and ci	vil penalties paid by personal checks that are returned for any reason shall be treated in the same
5	manner as thoug	th no fee had been tendered and the bank's returned check fee fee. not to exceed twenty five dollars
6	(\$25.00) thirty-1	ive dollars (\$35.00), shall be assessed to the account holder. All subsequent payments must be
7	submitted via cr	edit card, money order <u>order,</u> or certified check.
8	(b) All moneys	tendered in payment of fees shall be in the exact amount required for said fees. No part of a fee
9	submitted to the Board per [GS88B] GS88B-20 shall be refundable.	
10	(c) Licenses, co	ertifications, duplicates, inactivations, or reactivations will shall not be processed until all fees and
11	assessed civil pe	nalties are paid in full.
12		
13	History Note:	Authority G.S. 25-3-506; 88B-2; 88B-4;
14		Eff. September 1, 2012;
15		Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January
16		13, 2015;
17		Amended Eff. September 1, 2021.

1	21 NCAC 14H.	0403 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2366 AS FOLLOWS WITH
2		CHANGES:
3	21 NCAC 14H .	0403 DISINFECTION PROCEDURES
4	(a) Disinfectant	t, as applicable in this Subchapter, is defined as a disinfectant that is EPA registered as effective
5	against:	
6	(1)	bacteria including Staphylococcus aureus, MRSA and pseudomonas aeruginosa;
7	(2)	viruses including HIV, Hepatitis B and C;
8	(3)	fungi including Trichophyton mentagrophytes; and
9	(4)	human coronavirus.
10	(b) Disinfectants	s that meet the requirements of Subparagraph (a)(1), (2), and (3) of this Rule may be used if they are
11	listed on EPA lis	st N as effective against pathogen SARS-CoV-2.
12	(c) Infection Co	ntrol rules that apply to towels and cloths are as follows:
13	(1)	clean protective capes, drapes, linens, and towels shall be used for each patron;
14	(2)	after a protective cape has been in contact with a patron's neck it shall be placed in a clean, closed
15		container until laundered with soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer. Capes that cannot be
16		laundered and dried in a heater dryer may be disinfected in accordance with the manufacturer
17		directions; and
18	(3)	after a drape, linen, or towel has been in contact with a patron's skin it shall be placed in a clean,
19		covered container until laundered with soap and hot water and dried in a heated dryer. A covered
20		container may have an opening so soiled items may be dropped into the container.
21	(d) Any paper of	r nonwoven protective drape or covering shall be discarded after one use.
22	(e) There shall	be a supply of clean protective drapes, linens and towels at all times. Wet towels used in services
23	must be prepared	d fresh each day. Unused, prepared wet towels must be laundered daily.
24	(f) Clean drapes	, capes, linens, towels and all other supplies shall be stored in a clean area.
25	(g) Bathroom fa	cilities must be kept clean.
26	(h) All impleme	ents shall be cleaned and disinfected after each use in the following manner:
27	(1)	They shall be washed with warm water and a cleaning solution and scrubbed to remove debris and
28		dried.
29	(2)	They shall be disinfected with either:
30		(A) disinfectant that is mixed and used according to the manufacturer's directions. They shall
31		be rinsed with hot tap water and dried with a clean towel before their next use. They shall
32		be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or container until they are needed; or
33		(B) by UV-C, ultraviolet germicidal irradiation used in accordance with the manufacturer's
34		directions.
35	(3)	If the implement is shears, a razor, not immersible, or is not disinfected by UV-C irradiation, it
36		shall be cleaned by wiping it with a clean cloth moistened or sprayed with a disinfectant used in
37		accordance with the manufacturer's directions.

- 38 (i) All disinfected non-electrical implements shall be stored in a clean, closed cabinet or clean, closed container.
- 39 (j) All disinfected electrical implements shall be stored in a clean area separate from other clean implements.
- 40 (k) Disposable and porous implements and supplies must be discarded after use or upon completion of the service.
- 41 (l) Product that comes into contact with the patron must be discarded upon completion of the service.
- 42 (m) Containers with open faces may be covered or closed with plastic wrapping. Disinfected implements must not
- be stored with any implement or item that has not been disinfected.
- 44 (n) Lancets, disposable razors, and other sharp objects shall be disposed in puncture-resistant containers.
- 45 (o) All creams, lotions, wax, cosmetics, and other products dispensed to come in contact with patron's skin must be
- 46 kept in clean, closed containers, and must conform in all respects to the requirements of the Federal Food, Drug, and
- 47 Cosmetic Act as set forth in PL 75-717.52 accessible at www.fda.gov. Any product apportioned for use and
- 48 removed from original containers must be distributed in a sanitary manner that prevents contamination of product or
- 49 container. Any product dispensed in portions into another container must be dispensed into a clean container and
- 50 applied to patrons by means of a disinfected or disposable implement or other clean methods. Any product
- dispensed in portions not dispensed into another container must be used immediately and applied to patrons by
- 52 means of a disinfected or disposable implement or other clean methods. No product dispensed in portions may be
- returned to the original container.

57

58

59

60

61

63

64

65

66 67

68

69

70

- 54 (p) As used in this Rule whirlpool or footspa means any basin using circulating water.
- 55 (q) After use by each patron each whirlpool or footspa must be cleaned and disinfected as follows:
 - (1) all water must be drained and all debris removed from the basin;
 - (2) the basin must be disinfected by filling the basin with water and circulating a surfactant or enzymatic soap with a disinfectant used according to manufacturer's instructions through the unit for 10 minutes;
 - (3) the basin must be drained and rinsed with clean water; and
 - (4) the basin must be wiped dry with a clean towel.
- 62 (r) At the end of the day each whirlpool or footspa must be cleaned and disinfected as follows:
 - (1) the screen must be removed and all debris trapped behind the screen removed;
 - (2) the screen and the inlet must be washed with surfactant or enzymatic soap or detergent and rinsed with clean water;
 - (3) before replacing the screen it must be totally immersed in disinfectant in accordance to the manufacturer's instructions;
 - (4) the inlet and area behind the screen must be cleaned with a brush and surfactant soap and water to remove all visible debris and residue; and
 - (5) the spa system must be flushed with low sudsing surfactant or enzymatic soap and warm water for at least 10 minutes and then rinsed and drained.
- 72 (s) A record must be made of the date and time of each cleaning and disinfecting as required by this Rule including 73 the date, time, reason, and name of the staff member who performed the cleaning. This record must be made for

- each whirlpool or footspa and must be kept and made available for at least 90 days upon request by either a patron
- 75 or inspector.

- 76 (t) The water in a vaporizer machine must be emptied daily and the unit disinfected daily after emptying.
- 77 (u) The area where services are performed that come in contact with the patron's skin including treatment chairs,
- 78 treatment tables, and beds shall be disinfected between patrons.
- 79 (v) A manufacturers label for all <u>products</u>, [eleaners] cleaners, and disinfectant concentrate must be available at all
- 80 times. If a concentrate bottle is emptied, it must remain available until a new bottle is available.
- 81 (w) When mixed disinfectant concentrate is placed in a secondary container such as a spray bottle, tub or jar, that
- 82 container must be labeled to indicate what chemical is in the container. SDS sheets must be available for all
- 83 disinfectants in use at all times.
- 84 (x) Disinfectants must be stored and disposed of in accordance with all local, State, and federal requirements.
- 85 (y) The cabinet and supplies of a towel warmer machine must be emptied daily and the unit dried daily after 86 emptying.
- 88 History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-14; 89 Eff. April 1, 2012; 90 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 91 13, 2015;
- 92 Amended Eff. <u>September 1, 2021;</u> September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; March 1, 2018.

1	21 NCAC 14T .0201 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2371 PROPOSED FOR AMENDMENT		
2	AS FOLLOWS:		
3	SECTION .0200 - PHYSICAL REQUIREMENTS FOR COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS		
4			
5	21 NCAC 14T	.0201 ALL COSMETIC ART SCHOOLS	
6	(a) Cosmetolog	gy schools must have the following physical departments:	
7	(1)	Practice Department - a minimum of 200 square feet with a table or tables and or stands to	
8		accommodate at least 10 students and have at least 40 inches between each mannequin. Cosmetic	
9		art schools must provide an additional 5 square feet in the practice department for each student	
10		over the maximum of 10. This area shall have at least one mirror of a minimum of two square feet.	
11	(2)	Clinic Department – the clinic floor for performance of all cosmetic art services. Within the clinic	
12		area each school shall have:	
13		(A) 48 inches of space from the center to the center of each styling chair, esthetics table or	
14		manicuring table;	
15		(B) 24 inches from the center of the chair forward;	
16		(C) 48 inches from the backrest behind the chair to any other styling chair, esthetics table or	
17		manicuring table; and	
18		(D) at least 30 inches of space from the back of each styling chair, esthetics table to the wall	
19		of the school.	
20	(3)	Dispensary - a room or area to organize and maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection of all	
21		implements and a sink with hot and cold running water. All cosmetic art schools must have the	
22		required equipment to carry out disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404;	
23	(4)	Theory classroom - classroom with a minimum of 300 square feet to accommodate a maximum of	
24		25 students. Cosmetic art schools must provide an additional 8 square feet in the theory classroom	
25		for each student over the maximum of 25;	
26	(5)	Office - administrative office for the secure and locked facilitation of student records and files.	
27		This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of one desk and one chair;	
28	(6)	Reception area – a reception area for clients to wait prior to receiving services;	
29	(7)	Break room for student use;	
30	(8)	Restrooms for student and public use;	
31	(9)	Locker or dressing room - a locker or room for students to secure and lock personal belongings	
32		throughout the day; and	
33	(10)	All stations as defined in Rule .0302 of this Subchapter must be numbered numerically.	
34	(b) Manicuring	g, esthetics and natural hair care schools must have the following physical departments:	
35	(1)	Clinic Department – the clinic floor for performance of all cosmetic art services. Within the clinic	
36		area each school shall have:	

- 37 (A) 48 inches of space from the center to the center of each styling chair, esthetics table or manicuring table;
 - (B) 24 inches from the center of the chair forward;
- 40 (C) 48 inches from the backrest behind the chair to any other styling chair, esthetics table or manicuring table; and
 - (D) at least 30 inches of space from the back of each styling chair or esthetics table to the wall of the school.
 - (2) Dispensary a room or area to organize and maintain supplies, equipment for disinfection of all implements and a sink with hot and cold running water. All cosmetic art schools shall have the required equipment to carry out disinfection procedures per 21 NCAC 14H .0403 and .0404;
 - (3) Theory classroom a room or area with equipment for theory training appropriate to both practical and theory learning including desks and chairs.
 - (4) Office administrative office for the secure and locked facilitation of student records and files. This office shall be outfitted with a minimum of one desk and one chair;
 - (5) Reception area a reception area for clients to wait prior to receiving services;
- 52 (6) Break room for student use;
 - (7) Restrooms for student and public use;
- 54 (8) Locker or dressing room a locker or room for students to secure and lock personal belongings 55 throughout the day; and
 - (9) All stations as defined in Rule .0304 of this Subchapter must be numbered numerically.
- (c) Each cosmetic art school must display a sign in the reception area. The sign cannot be smaller than 12 inches by 18 inches, with lettering at least one and one half inches in size and must read as follows: "Cosmetic Art School Work Done Exclusively by Students."
- 60 (d) Each of the requirements listed within this Rule must be located within the same building with the exception of
- the theory classroom which may be located in an adjacent building or another building within 500 feet of the main
- 62 cosmetic art building and a proctored examination center, which may be located on the school campus. Theory
- 63 classrooms located in an adjacent building or another building within 500 feet of the main cosmetic art building
- shall not be used for student practice.
- 65 (e) All Cosmetic Art schools must post hours of operation per cosmetic art discipline and submit this information to
- the Board. Any changes to the hours of operation must be posted and submitted to the Board. A school shall be
- 67 considered open by the Board when cosmetic art instruction, services or performances are provided.
- 68 (f) Cosmetic art schools may not offer student hours or performances unless they are in compliance with Paragraph
- 69 (a) of this Rule.

42

43

44

45

46

47

48

49

50 51

53

- 70 (g) All cosmetic art schools must adhere to any federal, state and local government regulation or ordinance
- 71 regarding fire safety codes, plumbing and electrical work.
- 72 (h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a ventilation system with temperature control. During school operating
- hours the temperature must be maintained between 60 and 85 degrees Fahrenheit.

- 74 (i) All equipment in cosmetic art schools shall be in working order; kept in repair; and installed in such a manner as
- 75 to facilitate usage.

89

90

91

92

93

94

- 76 (j) All cosmetic art school buildings shall be maintained. Maintenance includes the safe and working condition of
- 77 the physical building, furniture, equipment and supplies.
- 78 (k) All cosmetic art schools must maintain a bulletin board in sight of the clinic floor. The bulletin board shall be
- used to display at all times the Board Infection Control rules in 21 NCAC 14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and
- the sanitation grade card issued to the school.
- 81 (l) All cosmetic art schools must post together the school letter of approval, the school license and all cosmetic art
- 82 licenses issued to the teachers on staff.
- 83 (m) Each room in a cosmetic art school must be labeled according to its assigned purpose.
- 84 (n) Each theory classroom shall be equipped with desks or chairs suitable for classroom work and one chair suitable
- 85 for demonstrating cosmetic art practices.
- 86 (o) When a school and a shop are under the same ownership:
- 87 (1) separate operation of the shop and school shall be maintained;
 - (2) if the school and shop are located in the same building, they must be separated by a solid wall of at least seven feet in height; separate entrances and visitor reception areas shall be maintained; and
 - (3) the school and shop shall have separate public information releases, advertisements, names and advertising signs.
 - (p) A cosmetic art school must maintain space and equipment appropriate to both practical and theory learning including desks and chairs, and station requirements so that each student in attendance has a location within which to complete assigned tasks. Each station or desk space shall be designated for only one student at a time.
- 96 History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
- 97 Eff. January 1, 2012;
- 98 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January
- 99 13, 2015;
- 100 Amended Eff. <u>September 1, 2021;</u> October 1, 2019; January 1, 2016.

1	21 NCAC 14T .0	1502 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2369 AS FOLLOWS WITH	
2		CHANGES:	
3	21 NCAC 14T .0	9502 PERMANENT RECORDS, FORMS AND DOCUMENTATION	
4	(a) Cosmetic art	schools must maintain locked storage for the permanent files of all enrolled students and students	
5	who have withda	rawn or graduated together in one room within the approved square footage of the cosmetic art	
6	school. Withdraw	val and graduation forms reviewed by the Board or an agent of the Board may be removed from this	
7	room. The perma	ment file shall include a copy of:	
8	(1)	Board Enrollment Form;	
9	(2)	Documentation of student receipt of <u>evaluation plans</u> , school policies, school and student contract;	
10		the Board Infection Control rules as set forth in 21 NCAC 14H .0200, .0300, .0400, and .0500 and	
11		21 NCAC 14I .0401, and 21 NCAC 14T .0703.	
12	(3)	All Board Withdrawal Forms;	
13	(4)	Social security card for any individual who has a social security number or tax ID card or student	
14		visa information;	
15	(5)	Government issued photo ID and proof of date of birth;	
16	(6)	Grades for all examinations and <u>performance</u> evaluation plans; performance <u>plans. Performance</u>	
17		evaluation plans should shall be dated, graded, and signed by a teacher; along with documentation	
18		for pass performances;	
19	(7)	Documentation for any leave of absence over 30 days; days. Documentation [should] shall include	
20		an anticipated return date and updated notes every 30 days if the return date exceeds the	
21		anticipated return [date.] date:	
22	(8)	Transfer of hours form documenting hours earned in other schools and hours accepted by current	
23		school; and	
24	(9)	Graduation Form.	
25	(b) The school s	hall keep onsite, records of hours earned daily including field trip hours and documentation of field	
26	trip hours update	d with a running grand total, as well as a total of the following through the prior week:	
27	(1)	A daily record of the actual number of hours of attendance;	
28	(2)	A daily record of the actual number of hours and educational achievements completed via online;	
29		and	
30	(3)	An updated Performance $\underline{\text{evaluation plan}}$ Record showing the actual date of the performance and	
31		the teacher who approved the performance evaluation plan; and	
32	<u>(4)</u>	A record of hours and subtotaled weekly.	
33	(c) When a stude	ent enrolled in a cosmetic art school withdraws from the school, the cosmetic art school shall report	
34	the withdrawal to the Board.		
35	(d) If a student	withdraws from a cosmetic art discipline within the first five days, the school need not submit the	
36	enrollment to the Board. The unsubmitted enrollment must be maintained in the student file until reviewed by the		
37	Board or an agent of the Board after which, it may be removed.		

- 38 (e) The graduation form documentation must be signed by on site school staff or on site school administrators and
- 39 must have the seal of the school affixed. The original graduation form documentation must be prepared on the Board
- 40 form and shall indicate that the applicable requirement of this Chapter have been met. The cosmetic art school shall
- 41 mail the graduation form to the Board at the Board's address set forth in Rule 14A .0104 or submit the graduation
- 42 form via the Board's school documents portal at www.nccosmeticarts.com within 30 days of the student's graduation
- 43 date.
- 44 (f) All forms submitted to the Board must be sealed originals or a digital scan of sealed originals and a copy shall be
- 45 maintained in the school permanent file storage. Except for student signatures, all forms submitted to the Board must
- 46 be completed by on site school staff or on site school administrators. Board forms shall be used for the sole purpose
- 47 of documenting to the Board student records and shall not be used to notify students of enrollment, transfer of hours,
- 48 withdrawal, or graduation.
- 49 (g) Changes or corrections made by the school to any Board form must be submitted to the Board with supporting
- 50 documentation.
- 51 (h) All cosmetic art schools must maintain on file at the school an original daily record of enrolled students' hours
- 52 and performances. This record must be kept in a secured location under lock and key but made available for review
- by the Board or its agent at any time.
- 54 (i) All records kept by a cosmetic art school on a student who has withdrawn or graduated must be kept in the
- 55 school's locked files for future reference until the date the student is accepted for the Board examination or five
- years after the date the student first enrolled in the school, whichever occurs earlier. Forms reviewed by the Board or
- an agent of the Board may be removed from this room.
- 58 (j) The record of all hours and performances performance evaluation plans must be documented in writing. Credit
- 59 issued to students that cannot be verified shall be eliminated from the student record by an agent of the Board.
- 60 (k) Access to student records must be limited to agents of the Board, teachers, and administrators of the school.
- Records shall not be altered offsite. Records that are altered must be altered onsite and must have documentation
- 62 supporting the change attached. The format, school name, and school code on Board forms cannot be altered.
- 63 (l) All individuals in a cosmetic art school receiving cosmetic art education, earning hours, or performing or
- practicing cosmetic art services must be enrolled in the school.
- 65 (m) Only teachers reported to the Board as employees of a cosmetic art school may grade practical student
- examinations and evaluate pass or fail of student performances. Only on site teachers, on site school administrators,
- or on site school staff shall record student hours and performances, grade examinations, and determine completion
- and record credit of live model and mannequin performances.
- 69 (n) Minimum scores required for examinations and the successful completion of live model and mannequin
- 70 performances as determined through the school's evaluation plan that is approved by the Board at the time of
- application shall be disclosed to students at the time of enrollment. <u>Teachers must use the evaluation plan approved</u>
- 72 by the Board to assess student competency. Passing grades and performances shall not be credited to students who
- fail to meet the requirements of the evaluation plan.

- 74 (o) Cosmetic art schools must provide to each student a copy of school policies and 21 NCAC 14I .0401. The
- school shall retain for the permanent file a copy of the student's acknowledgement of receipt of these documents.
- 76 (p) The names of students with unsatisfied academic obligations shall not be submitted to the Board as graduates
- but may be submitted as withdrawn.
- 78 (q) Cosmetic art schools shall not report to the Board the unsatisfied financial obligations of any cosmetic art
- 79 student. Cosmetic art schools shall not prevent the graduation of students who have met the Board minimum
- 80 requirements and passed all school academic requirements.
- 81 (r) Records of hours must be rounded to no more than the nearest quarter hour. Cosmetic art schools shall not give
- or deduct hours or performances as rewards or penalties.
- 83 (s) An applicant shall receive credit for instruction taken in another state if the applicant's record is certified by the
- state agency or department that issues licenses to practice in the cosmetic arts. If this agency or department does not
- 85 maintain any student records or if the state does not give license to practice in the cosmetic arts, then the records
- 86 may be certified by any state department or state agency that does maintain such records and is willing to certify
 - their accuracy. If no state department or board will certify the accuracy of the student's records, then the Board shall
- 88 review the student's records for validity on a case-by-case basis using the documentation provided by the student.
- 89 (t) Hours transferred between open North Carolina schools must be obtained by the submission of the Board
 - transfer form mailed directly from the school in which the hours are earned with the school seal affixed, with grades
- 91 for examinations and performances to the new school in which a student enrolls. Such original documentation shall
- 92 be submitted to the Board with enrollment. Transfer forms shall include the following:
- 93 (1) Student name and social security number;
- 94 (2) School code;

90

95

98

102

- (3) Course type and total number of live model and mannequin service performances;
- 96 (4) Enrollment date and last date of attendance;
- 97 (5) Number of hours and minutes completed;
 - (6) School owner name and signature; and
- 99 (7) School seal.
- 100 (u) A student must pass an entrance examination including mannequin evaluations given by the school to which the
- student is transferring for the hours to be transferred from one cosmetic art school to another.

```
103 History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-4; 88B-16;
```

104 Eff. January 1, 2012;

105 Amended Eff. January 1, 2014; June 1, 2013;

106 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January

107 13, 2015;

108 Amended Eff. September 1, 2021; September 1, 2020; October 1, 2019; December 1, 2016.

2 21 NCAC 14T .0616 ADDITIONAL HOURS (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of the rules in this Subchapter, Rule in this Subchapter, pursuant to G.S. 3 4 88B-18(d) a cosmetologist, apprentice, esthetician, manicurist, natural hair care specialist, or teacher candidate who 5 has failed either section of the examination three times, shall complete the following amounts of study at an 6 approved cosmetic art school before the Board may accept an application: an applicant may reapply: 7 Cosmetologist 200 100 hours; (1) 8 (2) Apprentice 150 75 hours; 9 Esthetician 80 40 hours; (3) 10 (4) Manicurist 40 20 hours; 11 (5) Natural Hair Care Specialist 40 20 hours; and 12 (6) Teacher: 13 (A) cosmetology 100 hours; 14 (B) esthetician 80 hours; and 15 manicurist 40 hours. (C) 16 (b) Schools shall evaluate students returning to complete additional hours in accordance with Paragraph (a) of this 17 Rule and shall provide remedial assistance or training in the areas of deficiency. 18 (c) Additional hours as required in paragraph (a) of this rule may be completed through online study or instruction. 19 20 History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17; 88B-18; 21 Eff. January 1, 2012; 22 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January 23 13, 2015; Amended Eff. September 1, 2021; August 1, 2014. 24

21 NCAC 14T .0616 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2370 AS FOLLOWS WITH CHANGES:

- 1 21 NCAC 14T .0706 IS AMENDED AS PUBLISHED IN 35:21 NCR 2371 FOR AMENDMENT AS
- 2 FOLLOWS WITH CHANGES:
- 3 21 NCAC 14T .0706 SCHOOL APPROVAL CHANGES AND SCHOOL CLOSING
- 4 (a) If the square footage, instructional layout or location of a cosmetic art school changes, changes or if there is a
- 5 transfer of majority ownership of a cosmetic art school, whether by sale, lease or otherwise lease, or otherwise, a
- 6 new approval application is required, the school owner shall submit a new application for approval in accordance
- 7 with Rule .0102 of this Subchapter.
- 8 (b) License and letters of approval issued to cosmetic art schools are not transferrable, and are valid only for the
- 9 location, square footage footage, and enrollment capacity for which issued, and to the owner to whom issued. The
- letter of approval shall contain the school name, school owner name, school location, date of approval, the signature
- of the Board members, the amount of approved square footage footage, and the maximum number of enrollments for
- which the school has been approved.
- 13 (c) Schools intending to close must notify the Board not less than 30 days in advance.
- 14 (d) Schools must make provisions for the long term storage of school documents, documents as set forth in rule
- 15 <u>.0502 of this Subchapter</u>, and facilitate the retrieval of any school documents upon the request of a student or the
- 16 Board. Schools shall notify the Board of the contact information for retrieval of any school information.
- 17 (e) Schools must facilitate and cooperate in the final inspection and processing of student hours.
- 18 (f) If the square footage or instructional layout of a cosmetic art school [ehanges] changes, the school shall notify the
- 19 Board of the change and submit a diagram of the new instructional [layout,] layout. Following receipt of the
- 20 notification of the change in the instructional layout or square footage, a Board inspector shall [an inspection shall]
- 21 be scheduled to verify the change.
- 22
- 23 History Note: Authority G.S. 88B-2; 88B-4; 88B-16; 88B-17;
- 24 Eff. January 1, 2012;
- 25 Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. January
- 26 13, 2015;
- 27 Amended Eff. September 1, 2021.