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AN ACT AMENDING THE LAWS PERTAINING TO THE PRACTICE OF FUNERAL 

SERVICE. 

 

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 

 

SECTION 1.  G.S. 90-210.25 reads as rewritten: 

"§ 90-210.25.  Licensing. 

(a) Qualifications, Examinations, Resident Traineeship and Licensure. – 

(1) To be licensed for the practice of funeral directing under this Article, a person 

must:an applicant for licensure bears the burden of substantiating to the 

satisfaction of the Board that the applicant: 

a. Be Is at least 18 years of age. 

b. Be Is of good moral character. 

c. Be a graduate of a Funeral Director Program at a mortuary science 

college approved by the Board or a school of mortuary science 

accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. Have 

completed a minimum of 32 semester hours or 48 quarter hours of 

instruction, including the subjects set out in sub-part e.1. of this 

subdivision, as prescribed by a mortuary science college approved by 

the Board or a school of mortuary science accredited by the American 

Board of Funeral Service Education.Possesses a degree in mortuary 

science or has graduated from a Funeral Director Program, or the 

equivalent, from a program approved by the Board and accredited by 

the American Board of Funeral Service Education. 

d. Have Within the last three years, has completed 12 months of resident 

traineeship as a funeral director, pursuant to the procedures and 

conditions set out in G.S. 90-210.25(a)(4), either before or after 

satisfying the educational requirement under sub-subdivision c. of this 

subdivision. 

e. Have passed an oral or written funeral director examination on Within 

the last three years, has obtained passing scores on all of the following 

subjects:examinations: 

1. Psychology, sociology, pathology, funeral directing, business 

law, funeral law, funeral management, and 

accounting.Entry-level examination in funeral directing 

administered by The International Conference of Funeral 

Service Examining Boards. 

2. Repealed by Session Laws 1997-399, s. 5. 

3. Laws Examination of the laws of North Carolina Carolina, the 

standards set forth in Funeral Industry Practices, 16 C.F.R. § 

453 (1984), pursuant to its most recent version, and rules of the 
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(h) The simultaneous cremation of the human remains of more than one person within 

the same cremation chamber is forbidden.forbidden, provided that the following human remains 

may be cremated simultaneously upon the express written direction of the authorized agent: 

(1) The human remains of multiple fetuses from the same mother and the same 

birth. 

(2) The human remains of multiple persons up to the age of one year old from the 

same mother and the same birth. 

…." 

SECTION 18.  G.S. 90-210.132(a) reads as rewritten: 

"(a) The By rule, the Board may set and collect fees not to exceed the following amounts 

from crematory and hydrolysis licensees, crematory and hydrolysis manager permit holders, and 

applicants:applicants not to exceed the following amounts: 

(1) Licensee application fee. ................................................. $400.00 

(2) Annual renewal fee.  .......................................................... 150.00 

(3) Late renewal fee.  ................................................................. 75.00 

(4) Reinspection fee.  .................................................... 100.00150.00 

(5) Per cremation or hydrolysis fee.  ......................................... 10.00 

(6) Late fee, per cremation.cremation or hydrolysis.  ............... 10.00 

(7) Late fee, cremation or hydrolysis report.  ............................ 75.00 per month 

(8) Crematory or hydrolysis manager permit 

application fee.  .................................................................. 150.00 

(9) Annual crematory or hydrolysis manager 

permit renewal fee. .............................................................. 40.00." 

SECTION 20.  Article 13F of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes is amended by 

adding a new section to read: 

"§ 90-210.136.  Hydrolysis of human remains. 

(a) The following definitions shall apply in this section: 

(1) Alkaline hydrolysis. – The technical process using water, heat, and other 

chemicals to destroy, dissolve, or reduce human remains to simpler or 

essential elements. 

(2) Hydrolysis container. – A container, other than a casket, designed to enclose 

human remains and made of suitable material to be easily destroyed during 

hydrolysis and to resist spillage and leakage. A hydrolysis container may be a 

cremation container or any other container that meets the requirements of this 

subdivision. 

(3) Hydrolysis licensee. – A person or entity licensed to hydrolyze human remains 

and perform hydrolysis. 

(4) Liquid waste. – Any liquid remaining after hydrolysis that does not contain 

any trace elements of human tissue. 

(b) No person, cemetery, funeral establishment, corporation, partnership, joint venture, 

voluntary organization, or other entity shall hydrolyze human remains without first obtaining a 

license from the Board. 

(c) Except as otherwise provided by this section, a license for the hydrolysis of human 

remains shall have the same requirements and fees as for the licensing of crematories under this 

Article. The hydrolysis of human remains shall be conducted in compliance with all requirements 

for cremation, and the licensee shall pay the same fees for monthly reports for each hydrolysis 

as crematories under this Article. 

(d) The Board shall have the same powers to regulate, enforce, discipline, and inspect 

hydrolysis licensees and the practice of hydrolysis that have been granted under this Article for 

the regulation, enforcement, discipline, and inspection of crematories and the practice of 

cremation. 
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(e) Any solid remains or residue remaining after hydrolysis shall be treated and disposed 

of as cremated remains under this Article. Disposal of liquid waste shall be subject to all 

applicable health and environmental laws and regulations. 

(f) Human remains shall be hydrolyzed in a hydrolysis container and shall not be required 

to be hydrolyzed in a casket. 

(g) Unless specified otherwise by the manufacturer of the equipment used for hydrolysis, 

human remains may be hydrolyzed without first removing a pacemaker or other material or 

implant that would be potentially hazardous if cremated. 

(h) The Board shall promulgate rules necessary to effectuate the licensing of alkaline 

hydrolysis." 

SECTION 21.  G.S. 130A-415 reads as rewritten: 

"§ 130A-415.  Unclaimed bodies; bodies claimed by the Lifeguardianship Council of the 

Association for Retarded Citizens of North Carolina; disposition. 

(a) Any person, other than a person licensed as a funeral director or funeral service 

licensee in this State, including officers, employees and agents of the State or of any unit of local 

government in the State, undertakers doing business within the State, hospitals, nursing homes 

or other institutions, having physical possession of a dead body shall make reasonable efforts to 

contact relatives of the deceased or other persons who may wish to claim the body for final 

disposition. If the body remains unclaimed for final disposition for 10 days, disposition, the 

person having possession shall notify the Commission of Anatomy. Upon request of the 

Commission of Anatomy, the person having possession shall deliver the dead body to the 

Commission of Anatomy at a time and place specified by the Commission of Anatomy or shall 

permit the Commission of Anatomy to take and remove the body. 

(a1) A dead body shall be deemed unclaimed if either of the following conditions apply: 

(1) No individual notifies the person in possession of the dead body within 10 

days of the date of death that the individual wishes to dispose of the dead body. 

(2) All individuals who have expressed interest in arranging for disposition of the 

dead body have (i) ceased communicating with the person in possession of the 

dead body for five days, (ii) at least 10 days have passed from the date of 

death, and (iii) the person in possession of the dead body has used reasonable 

efforts to contact all individuals interested in arranging for final disposition. 

(b) All Unless the provisions of subsection (j) of this section apply, all dead bodies not 

claimed for final disposition within 10 days of the decedent's death may be received and delivered 

by the Commission of Anatomy pursuant to the authority contained in G.S. 130A-33.30 and this 

Part and in accordance with the rules of the Commission of Anatomy. Upon receipt of a body by 

the Commission of Anatomy all interests in and rights to the unclaimed dead body shall vest in 

the Commission of Anatomy. The recipient to which the Commission of Anatomy delivers the 

body shall pay all expenses for the embalming and delivery of the body, and for the reasonable 

expenses arising from efforts to notify relatives or others. 

(b1) The 10-day period periods referenced in subsections (a) and (b) subdivisions (1) and 

(2) of subsection (a1) of this section may be shortened by the county director of social services 

upon determination that a dead body will not be claimed for final disposition within the 10-day 

period. 

(c) Should Unless the provisions of subsection (j) of this section apply, if the Commission 

of Anatomy decline declines to receive a dead body, the person with possession shall inform the 

director of social services of the county in which the body is located. The that is responsible for 

the expense of the final disposition of the decedent. Upon notification, all interests in and rights 

to the abandoned dead body shall vest in the director of social services of that county county, 

who then shall arrange for prompt final disposition of the body, either by cremation cremation, 

hydrolysis, or burial. 
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(b1) A person who does not exercise his or her right to dispose of the decedent's body 

under subsection (b) of this section within five days of notification or 10 days from the date of 

death, whichever is earlier, shall be deemed to have waived his or her right to authorize 

disposition of the decedent's body or contest disposition in accordance with this section. Under 

G.S. 130A-415(c) or (j), upon such a waiver, and upon the Commission of Anatomy declining 

or failing to request delivery of the abandoned dead body, the director of social services of the 

county in which the dead body is located shall become vested with all interests and rights to the 

dead body and shall authorize and arrange for disposition by cremation, hydrolysis, or burial. 

(b2) Once the burial of an individual is completed under the provisions of this section, the 

method and location of disposition shall not be changed unless otherwise authorized by law or 

by a court order upon a showing of good cause. 

…." 

SECTION 23.  If any provision of this act or its application is held invalid, the 

invalidity does not affect other provisions or applications of this act that can be given effect 

without the invalid provisions or application, and, to this end, the provisions of this act are 

severable. 

SECTION 24.  Section 17 and Section 24 of this act are effective when they become 

law. G.S. 90-210.25(f)(2), as enacted by Section 1 of this act, becomes effective December 1, 

2018. The remainder of this act becomes effective October 1, 2018. 

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of June, 2018. 

 

 

 s/  Bill Rabon 

  Presiding Officer of the Senate 

 

 

 s/  David R. Lewis 

  Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives 

 

 

 s/  Roy Cooper 

  Governor 

 

 

Approved 10:43 a.m. this 25th day of June, 2018 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: All Rules  
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

The versions of the Rule submitted do not track changes made in accordance with OAH 
formatted Rules.  Please use the version of the Rules that OAH staff emailed on March 
18, 2019 to make any changes.   

Please note the formatting instructions on page 1.  

On your forms, please type the information for the agency head in Box 10.   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0102  
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please consider revising as follows:   

When any provision of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General Statutes or 
any rule in this Subchapter requires a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to obtain any death 
certificate, report, authorization, waiver, statement or other document prior to cremation or 
hydrolysis, it shall be deemed that such requirements are complied with if the crematory 
or hydrolysis licensee receives the applicable  may accept  the document or documents, in 
the time specified, in the form of the original, a photocopy, or by electronic or facsimile 
transmission. 

 

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0102 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0102 FORM OF DOCUMENTS 3 

When any provision of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General Statutes or any rule in this Subchapter 4 

requires a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to obtain any death certificate, report, authorization, waiver, statement or 5 

other document prior to cremation or hydrolysis, it shall be deemed that such requirements are complied with if the 6 

crematory or hydrolysis licensee receives the applicable document or documents, in the time specified, in the form of 7 

the original, a photocopy, or by electronic or facsimile transmission. 8 

 9 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 10 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 11 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 12 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 13 

2017. 14 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 15 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0103 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please consider putting lines 5-8 in list form.  It would look something like the following:   

(a)  All applications for a crematory or hydrolysis license shall be made on forms provided by the 
Board. The application shall state the following information:  
(1) the name of the applicant;  
(2) address;  
(3) type of business entity;  
(4) location of crematory; crematory or hydrolysis facility;  
(5) description of crematory, crematory or hydrolysis facilities and equipment;  
(6) name and address of each crematory or hydrolysis technician; name and address of the 

crematory or hydrolysis manager; and 
(7) any criminal convictions of the applicant and manager. manager; and other information the 

Board deems necessary as required by law.  
(b) Three affidavits of the moral character of the owners, partners, or officers and of the manager 

in compliance with G.S. 90-210.26 shall accompany the application. 
 

What is meant by “other information the Board deems necessary as required by law”?  Is 
this language necessary?  If so, what could this be and how will the Board determine it 
needs it.  Please note that I have deleted it in my suggestion.   

What is the intent of (b)?  Must an applicant submit three affidavits for all of the listed 
persons?   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0103 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0103 APPLICATION FORM FOR CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS LICENSE 3 

All applications for a crematory or hydrolysis license shall be made on forms provided by the Board. The application 4 

shall state the name of the applicant; address; type of business entity; location of crematory or hydrolysis facility; 5 

description of crematory or hydrolysis, facilities and equipment; name and address of each crematory or hydrolysis 6 

technician; name and address of the crematory or hydrolysis manager; any criminal convictions of the applicant and 7 

manager; and other information the Board deems necessary as required by law. Three affidavits of the moral character 8 

of the owners, partners, or officers and of the manager in compliance with G.S. 90-210.26 shall accompany the 9 

application. 10 

 11 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 12 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 13 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 14 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 15 

2017. 16 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 17 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0104 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Is the responsibility on the Board to demonstrate or must the applicant demonstrate to the 
Board that it is compliance with your Rules?  As written, this Rule is putting the onus on 
the Board.   

On line 5, what are “the requirements for a crematory or hydrolysis license”?  Do you mean 
the Rules of this Chapter?   

Overall in this Rule, do you mean something like “The Board shall issue each crematory 
or hydrolysis licensee a certificate to operate a crematory or hydrolysis facility upon a 
finding that the licensee has complied with the Rules of this Chapter”?   

Is the last sentence necessary?  Isn’t the Board responsible for completing this and 
providing the certificate, as opposed to the licensee?  If it is necessary, please provide the 
contents of the form.   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0104 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0104 CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS LICENSE CERTIFICATE 3 

The Board shall issue each crematory or hydrolysis licensee a certificate forto operate a crematory or hydrolysis 4 

facility upon demonstrating that all requirements for a crematory or hydrolysis license have been satisfied. All 5 

crematory or hydrolysis license certificates shall be issued on certificate forms provided by the Board. 6 

 7 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 8 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 9 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 10 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 11 

2017. 12 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 13 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0105 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

What is the overall intent of this Rule?  As written, it appears to only provide that inspectors 
of the Board will complete forms for the Board.  It does not appear to provide any directives 
to your regulated public.  Is the intent here to say that licensees shall allow inspections?    
Overall, I’m not sure that this Rule does anything not already covered by 90-210.123. 

Who is responsible for the inspections?  The Board?   

Are the contents of the form set forth elsewhere in Rule or Statute?  If not, please provide 
the substantive requirements of the Form.  I note that this language is already in 90-
210.123. 

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0105 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0105 CREMATORY OR HYDROLYSIS INSPECTION FORM 3 

The findings of all crematory or hydrolysis facility inspections shall be recorded and filed on report forms provided 4 

by the Board. The crematory licensee shall furnish the name and address of the crematory, names of the owner and 5 

manager, acknowledgement of the findings of the inspector, the date for compliance, verification by the crematory 6 

licensee that any violations have been corrected, the date of the verification, and other information the Board deems 7 

necessary as required by law. Verifications by the crematory licensee that any violations have been corrected must be 8 

received by the Board no later than seven days after the date for compliance. 9 

 10 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.123; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 11 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 12 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 13 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 14 

2017. 15 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 16 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0106 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please format this Rule in accordance with 26 NCAC 02C .0108.  Specifically, please 
space this Rule with 1.5 line spacing.   

Throughout this Rule consider changing “shall be deemed synonymous terms for” to “shall 
have the same meaning as” 

On line 5, please change “and/or” to “and” or “or”  

In (c), change “and which meets the same minimum” to “that” and remove the comma 
after hydrolysis.   

In (e), what is meant by “Upon the written direction of the authorizing agent, hydrolyzed 
remains may take various forms”?  How is this determination made by the authorizing 
agent and what could the “various forms” be?   

(f) is not a definition – it appears to be a directive.  Would this be more appropriate 
elsewhere in your Rules?   

In (i), what is meant by “single congruous premise”?  Please delete or define.  

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0106 is adopted as temporary rule as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0106 DEFINITIONS 3 

The following definitions shall apply for purposes of complying with the provisions of Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the 4 
North Carolina General Statutes and/or any rule in Chapter 34, Title 21 of the North Carolina Administrative Code: 5 

(a)  “Hydrolysis operator” shall have the same meaning as the term “hydrolysis licensee” as defined by G.S. 6 
90-210.136(a)(3). 7 
(b)  “Aquamation” and “resomation” shall be deemed synonymous terms for “alkaline hydrolysis” as defined  8 
by G.S. 90-210.136(a)(1). 9 
(c)  “Certificate of hydrolysis” means a certificate provided by the hydrolysis manager who performed the 10 
hydrolysis, and which meets the same minimum requirements for a “certificate of cremation” as set forth in 11 
G.S. 90-210.121(5). 12 
(d)  “Cremation center” shall be deemed a synonymous term for “crematory” or “crematorium” as defined 13 
by G.S. 90-210.121(11). 14 
(e)  “Final disposition” of human remains that have been hydrolyzed means the hydrolysis and the ultimate 15 
interment, entombment, inurnment, or scattering of the hydrolyzed remains or the return of the hydrolyzed 16 
remains by the hydrolysis licensee to the authorizing agent or such agent’s designee as provided by Article 17 
13F, Chapter 90 of the North Carolina General Statutes. Upon the written direction of the authorizing agent, 18 
hydrolyzed remains may take various forms. 19 
(f)  “Hydrolysis container,” as defined by G.S. 90-210.136(a)(2), shall be made of biodegradable material 20 
and also shall comply with the provisions of G.S. 90-210.121(9)f. 21 
(g)  “Hydrolysis chamber,” “hydrolysis unit,” or “hydrolysis vessel” means the enclosed space within which 22 
the hydrolysis process occurs. Hydrolysis chambers regulated by Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North 23 
Carolina General Statutes shall be used exclusively for the hydrolysis of human remains. 24 
(h)  “Hydrolyzed remains” means all human remains recovered after the completion of the hydrolysis process, 25 
including pulverization, that leaves only bone fragments reduced to unidentifiable dimensions. 26 
(i)  “Hydrolysis facility” or “hydrolysis center” means the building or buildings, or portion of a building or 27 
buildings, on a single congruous premise  that houses the hydrolysis equipment, the holding and processing 28 
facilities, the business offices, and any other components of the hydrolysis business. 29 
(j)  “Hydrolysis interment container” means a rigid outer container composed of concrete, steel, fiberglass, 30 
or some similar material in which an urn is placed prior to being interred in the ground and which is designed 31 
to withstand prolonged exposure to the elements and to support the earth above the urn. 32 
(k)  “Hydrolysis manager” means the person who is responsible for the management and operation of the 33 
hydrolysis facility. A hydrolysis manager shall meet the same minimum requirements for a “crematory 34 
manager” as set forth in G.S. 90-210.121(13). 35 
(l)  “Hydrolysis society” means any person, firm, corporation, or organization that is affiliated with a 36 
hydrolysis licensee licensed under Article 13F, Chapter 90, of the North Carolina General Statutes and 37 
provides hydrolysis information to consumers. 38 
(m) “Hydrolysis technician” means any employee of a hydrolysis licensee who has a certificate confirming 39 
that the hydrolysis technician has attended a training course approved by the Board. 40 
 41 
Authority G.S. 90-210.136; 42 
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 24, 2019. 43 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0201 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

In (a) and (b), are these intended to apply to the licensees or the facilities?  Please review 
and clarify if necessary.   

In (a)(1) and (b)(1), please change “which” to “that” in “which are” and in (b)(2) in “which 
meets”  

Please begin (a)(1) through (3), (a)(1)(A) through (E), (a)(3)(A) through (C); and (b)(1) 
through (3), (b)(2)(A)through (C) with lower case letters.   

Please end (a)(1) through (a)(3)(B) and (b)(1) through (b)(2)(B) with semi-colons.   

In (a)(2), (a)(2)(A), (a)(3), (b)(2), and (b)(2)(A), delete or define “specifically”  

In (a)(2)(B), delete or define “qualified”  

Add an “and” at the end of (a)(2)(D), (a)(2)(E); and (b)(2)(A) and (b)(2)(B).   

In (a)(2)(E) and (b)(2)(B), either change the language to “approval by a testing agency, 
such as Underwriters Laboratory” or say how the Board will determine whether a testing 
agency is “comparable”   

In (a)(3), change “and/or” to either “and” or “or”, whichever is intended.  

In your History Note, 90-210.41. 90-210.45, and 90-210.50 have been recodified.  Please 
provide the correct statutory reference.   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0201 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0200 - EQUIPMENT AND PROCESSING 3 

 4 
21 NCAC 34C .0201 HOLDING FACILITY; CREMATION OR HYDROLYSIS UNIT; PROCESSORS 5 

(a)  Every crematory licensee shall have the following: 6 

(1) A holding facility of suitable size to accommodate all human remains which are retained and 7 

awaiting cremation. 8 

(2) A commercially-manufactured cremation unit, within the crematory facility, made specifically for 9 

the cremation of human remains, meeting the following minimum standards: 10 

(aA) An ash collection pan that is designed specifically for the purpose of removing cremated 11 

remains from the cremation unit and to minimize the commingling of cremated remains of 12 

one human remains with another. 13 

(bB) A hearth or floor that has been maintained in accordance with recommended maintenance 14 

requirements specified by the machine’s manufacturer or other qualified maintenance 15 

service representative. without depressions so as to minimize commingling of cremated 16 

remains of one human remains with another. 17 

(cC) A door safety switch to stop the burner operation when the front charging door is opened. 18 

(dD) A pollution monitoring system to monitor and detect smoke when the density exceeds 19 

applicable federal and state standards, whereupon the system will automatically stop the 20 

burner operation on a time setting of not less than three minutes. 21 

(eE) Approval by Underwriters Laboratory or a comparable testing agency. 22 

(3) A commercially-manufactured processor, within the crematory facility, made specifically for the 23 

pulverization of cremated and/or hydrolyzed remains, meeting the following minimum standards: 24 

(aA) Capable of consistently processing cremated and/or hydrolyzed remains to unidentifiable 25 

dimensions. 26 

(bB) A dust-resistant processing chamber. 27 

(cC) An exterior surface made of easily cleaned, non-corrosive material. 28 

(b)  Every hydrolysis licensee shall have the following: 29 

(1) A holding facility of suitable size to accommodate all human remains which are retained and 30 

awaiting hydrolysis. 31 

(2) A commercially-manufactured hydrolysis unit, within the hydrolysis facility, made specifically for 32 

hydrolyzing human remains, and which meets the following minimum standards: 33 

(A)   A collection pan, tray, or other device that is designed specifically for the purpose of 34 

removing hydrolyzed remains from the hydrolysis unit and to minimize the commingling 35 

of hydrolyzed remains of one human remains with another. 36 

(B) Approval by Underwriters Laboratory or a comparable testing agency. 37 
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(3) A commercially-manufactured processor, within the hydrolysis facility, that shall meet the same 1 

minimum standards set forth in Subsection (a)(3) of this Rule. 2 

 3 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.41(9),(12); 90-210.45(d),(e); 90-210.50(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 4 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 5 

Recodified from Rule .0202 Eff. July 7, 1992; 6 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 7 

2017. 8 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 9 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0202 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please break this Rule up into Paragraphs. I would suggest lines 5-13 as (a), lines 4-5 
(“Embalmed… refrigeration unit”) as (b), and lines 14-15 as (c).   

Please remove the commas before and after “capable of storing at least three adult human 
bodies” on line 6.   

Also, what is meant by “three adult human bodies”?  Human bodies vary greatly.   

Please begin (1) through (3) with lower case letters, and end (1) and (2) with semi-colons.  

In (1) and (2) delete or define “easily cleaned”  

On line 15, what is meant by “single congruous site”?  I note that elsewhere, you’ve used 
“single congruous premise”   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0202 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0202 REFRIGERATION 3 

Unembalmed human remains retained in the custody of a crematory or hydrolysis licensee for more than 24 hours 4 

prior to cremation or hydrolysis shall be kept in a refrigeration unit. Crematory and hydrolysis licensees shall have a 5 

refrigeration unit, capable of storing at least three adult human bodies, in the holding facility. Each refrigeration unit 6 

required by this Rule shall meet the following minimum standards: 7 

(1) Capable of maintaining an interior temperature of 40 degrees Fahrenheit while loaded with the 8 

maximum number of bodies for which it is designed. 9 

(2) Sealed concrete, stainless steel, galvanized, aluminum or other easily cleaned flooring in walk-in 10 

units. 11 

(3) Stainless steel, aluminum or other non-corrosive and easily cleaned materials for the remainder of 12 

the interior of all units. 13 

The provisions of this Rule shall not be construed to require a crematory facility and hydrolysis facility that share 14 

common ownership and are located on a single congruous site to maintain more than one refrigeration unit. 15 

 16 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.121(9),(12); 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 17 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 18 

Recodified from Rule .0201 Eff. July 7, 1992; 19 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 20 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 21 

2017. 22 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 23 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0205 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please add a comma after “hydrolysis” on line 7. 

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0205 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0205 LABELS 3 

In addition to the requirements of G.S. 90-210.29A, the crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall attach a typed or printed 4 

label to the temporaryinitial container, urn or other permanent container at the time the cremated or hydrolyzed 5 

remains are placed therein. If an inside and outside container are used, then both shall be labelled. The label shall 6 

contain the name of the decedent, the date of cremation or hydrolysis and the name of the crematory or hydrolysis 7 

licensee. 8 

 9 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.126; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 10 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 11 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2004; 12 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 13 

2017. 14 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 15 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0206 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

On lines 6 and 7, what is meant by “good repair” and “sanitary condition”?  Unless defined 
elsewhere, please define.   

In your History Note, 90-210.41 and 90-210.50 has been recodified.  Please update with 
the correct statutory citation.   

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0206 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0206 CLEANLINESS 3 

All areas of the crematory and holdingor hydrolysis licensee facilityies devoted to the reception, storage and cremation 4 

or hydrolysis of human remains and to the pulverization and delivery of cremated or hydrolyzed remains, and all 5 

equipment located therein, shall be kept in good repair and in a sanitary condition and subject to inspection by the 6 

Board or its agents at all times. 7 

 8 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.41(9),(12); 90-210.50(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 9 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 10 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 11 

2017. 12 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 13 

42



43



44



Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0207 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

Please format this Rule in accordance with 26 NCAC 02C .0108.  Specifically, please 
space this Rule with 1.5 line spacing.   

In (a) and (b), change “it shall not be permissible” to “No person other than an individual 
who is licensed by the Board as either an embalmer or funeral service licensee shall…” 
You may also want to consider providing (a) and (b) in list form since they address the 
same people.     

In (a), what is meant by “deemed hazardous”?  By whom and how?  

In (a), what is meant by “ay statutes or rules enforced by any proper regulating agency”?   

In (c), change “it shall not be permissible” to “A hydrolysis licensee shall not remove…”  

In (c), delete or define “reasonably” 

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 

  

45



1 of 1 

21 NCAC 34C .0207 is adopted as temporary rule as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0207 REMOVAL OF PACEMAKERS OR OTHER IMPLANTED DEVICES; 3 
AUTOPSIED REMAINS; COMMUNICABLE DISEASES 4 

 5 
(a)  It shall not be permissible for any person other than an individual who is licensed by the Board as either an 6 
embalmer or funeral service licensee to remove a pacemaker, defibrillator, or any other implanted device or material 7 
that must be removed from human remains prior to cremation or hydrolysis as set forth in G.S. 90-210.129(d); 8 
provided, however, that any such device or material deemed hazardous shall be removed in accordance with the 9 
guidelines set by the manufacturer thereof and any statutes or rules enforced by any proper regulating agency. 10 
(b)  It shall not be permissible for any person other than an individual who is licensed by the Board as either an 11 
embalmer or funeral service licensee to handle, treat, or otherwise prepare for cremation or hydrolysis the viscera 12 
removed from human remains as the result of an autopsy. 13 
(c)  It shall not be permissible for a hydrolysis licensee to remove from the outer case required by G.S. 130A-395(b) 14 
and 10 NCAC 41A .0212, or to hydrolyze, any decedent who is known or reasonably suspected to have been infected 15 
with the plague, smallpox, or severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), without first obtaining the written consent 16 
of the local health director. 17 
 18 
Authority G.S. 90-210.125; 90-210.129; 90-210.134; 90-210.136(d),(h);  19 
Temporary Adoption Eff. May 24, 2019. 20 
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

REQUEST FOR TECHNICAL CHANGE 
 
AGENCY:  North Carolina Board of Funeral Service     
 
RULE CITATION: 21 NCAC 34C .0303 
 
DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT: Friday, May 10, 2019  
 
PLEASE NOTE: This request may extend to several pages.  Please be sure you have reached the 
end of the document. 
 
The Rules Review Commission staff has completed its review of this Rule prior to the 
Commission's next meeting.  The Commission has not yet reviewed this Rule and therefore there 
has not been a determination as to whether the Rule will be approved.  You may call our office to 
inquire concerning the staff recommendation. 
 
In reviewing this Rule, the staff recommends that the following technical changes be made: 
 

In (a), are the contents of the forms set in lines 10?  IF so, please consider providing some 
sort of introduction to the language and provide in list form.  A suggestion is as follows:    

(a) All crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall complete receipts for human remains on Board forms. The receipts 
shall include the following information:  The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish  

1. the name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee; licensee, full  
2. name of the decedent; decedent,  
3. date and time of death; death,  
4. date and time the human remains waswere delivered to the crematory or hydrolysis licensee; 

licensee,  
5. any affiliation by the person delivering remains with a funeral establishment or an individual 

licensed to practice funeral service [under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2),] or any [such] 
affiliation with the crematory or hydrolysis licensee; and  [licensee,]  

6. the name and signature of the employee or agent of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee who 
received the human remains. remains, and any other information the Board deems necessary as 
required by law.  

Every crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish this receipt to the person who delivers the human 
remains to the crematory or hydrolysis licensee.  
 
Please note the list suggestion for (b), (c), and (d) as well.   

In (a), (b), (c), and (d), delete or define “full” in “full name”  

In (a), (b), (c), and (f), I don’t understand the reference to 90-210.25(a2)(2).  Do you need 
this reference?  If so, do you mean 90-210.25(a2)? 

In (a), (b), (c), and (d), what is meant by “any other information the Board deems necessary 
as required by law”?  Please either provide this information or delete this language.   

In (b) and (c), what is meant by “… evidence by signature, postal receipt or its equivalent”?  
Who are they providing this to?  What is  an equivalent of a postal receipt?  Do you mean 
something like “the licensee shall provide…”   
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Amber May  
Commission Counsel 

Date submitted to agency:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019 
 

In (d), page 2, line 3, hydrolyzed is spelled “hyrodolyzed”  

In (f), how long must they retain these forms?  

In (a), (b), (c), and and (f), I don’t understand the reference to 90-210.25(a2)(2).  Do you 
need this reference?  If so, do you mean 90-210.25(a2)? 

In (f), what is the intent of lines 11-14?  Specifically, what is meant by “unless otherwise 
permitted by this Rule?  I’m not sure that I understand what is going on here.  

Please retype the rule accordingly and resubmit it to our office at 1711 New Hope Church Road, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27609. 
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21 NCAC 34C .0303 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0303 RECORDS OF CREMATION OR HYDROLYSIS AND DELIVERY 3 

(a)  All crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall complete receipts for human remains on Board forms. The crematory 4 

or hydrolysis licensee shall furnish the name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee, full name of the decedent, date 5 

and time of death, date and time the human remains waswere delivered to the crematory or hydrolysis licensee, any 6 

affiliation by the person delivering remains with a funeral establishment or an individual licensed to practice funeral 7 

service under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2), or any such affiliation with the crematory or hydrolysis licensee, 8 

the name and signature of the employee or agent of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee who received the human 9 

remains, and any other information the Board deems necessary as required by law. Every crematory or hydrolysis 10 

licensee shall furnish this receipt to the person who delivers the human remains to the crematory or hydrolysis licensee. 11 

(b)  All records documenting the release of human remains from a crematory or hydrolysis licensee to the person who 12 

receives the cremated or hydrolyzed remains shall be completed on Board forms. The crematory or hydrolysis licensee 13 

shall furnish the name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee, the full name of the decedent, the date and time of 14 

release, the name of the person who received the cremated or hydrolyzed remains, the place where cremated or 15 

hydrolyzed remains were received, any affiliation by the person receiving remains with a funeral establishment or an 16 

individual licensed to practice funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) or other entity, the 17 

signatures of the person delivering the remains and the recipient of remains, any mailing or handling instructions, and 18 

any other information the Board deems necessary as required by law. Crematory and hydrolysis licensees must provide 19 

evidence by signature, postal receipt or its equivalent, of the receipt of the cremated or hydrolyzed remains. 20 

(c)  All records documenting the release of human remains from a funeral establishment or an individual licensed to 21 

practice funeral service under the provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2)(2) (“unaffiliated practitioner”) to the person who 22 

receives the cremated or hydrolyzed remains shall be completed on Board forms. The funeral establishment or 23 

unaffiliated practitioner shall furnish the name of the funeral establishment or unaffiliated practitioner, the full name 24 

of the decedent, the date and time of release, the person to whom the remains were released, the type of container in 25 

which the remains were released, the signatures of the parties delivering and receiving remains, any shipping or special 26 

handling instructions, and any other information the Board deems necessary as required by law. Funeral 27 

establishments must provide evidence by signature, postal receipt or its equivalent, of the receipt of the cremated or 28 

hydrolyzed remains. The provisions of this Paragraph shall not apply when the funeral establishment and crematory 29 

or hydrolysis licensee share common ownership and are physically located within one or more buildings on contiguous 30 

premises that would qualify the funeral establishment to use “crematory,” “crematorium,” “cremation center,” 31 

“hydrolysis facility,” or “hydrolysis center” in its operating name; provided, however, that the crematory or hydrolysis 32 

licensee shall comply with Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) or (e) of this Rule. 33 

(d)  In order to track the human remains through the cremation or hydrolysis process from the time the remains are 34 

received at the crematory or hydrolysis licensee facility until the cremated or hydrolyzed remains are delivered, all 35 

crematory or hydrolysis licensees shall keep records on Board forms. The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall 36 

furnish the name of the crematory or hydrolysis licensee, full name of the decedent, description of the cremation or 37 
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hydrolysis container used, time and date the decedent was placed into the crematoryion or hydrolysis unit, person who 1 

placed the deceased in the crematoryion or hydrolysis unit, time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed remains were 2 

removed from the crematoryion or hydrolysis unit, type of container in which the cremated or hyrdolyzed remains 3 

were placed, time and date the cremated or hydrolyzed remains were processed, the name and signature of the person 4 

who processed the cremated or hydrolyzed remains and placed them into a container, and any other information the 5 

Board deems necessary as required by law. 6 

(e)  In lieu of the separate forms required by Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) of this Rule, a crematory or hydrolysis licensee 7 

may use a form prescribed by the Board that combines all information required by Paragraphs (a), (b), and (d) of this 8 

Rule. 9 

(f)  The crematory or hydrolysis licensee shall retain the completed forms required by this Rule and shall produce all 10 

crematoryion or hydrolysis forms for inspection or copying by the Board or its agents upon request. Unless otherwise 11 

permitted by this Rule, Tthe funeral establishment or individual licensed to practice funeral service under the 12 

provisions of G.S. 90-210.25(a2(2) shall retain the completed form required by Paragraph (c) of this Rule and shall 13 

produce the form for inspection or copying to the Board or its agents upon request. 14 

 15 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 16 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 17 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 18 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 19 

2017. 20 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 21 
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21 NCAC 34C .0306 is adopted as temporary amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

21 NCAC 34C .0306 RETENTION OF RECORDS 3 

A copy of all death certificates, authorizations, waivers, statements, reports and other documents required by G.S. 90-4 

210.120 through G.S. 90-210.134 and by the rules in this Subchapter shall be retained by the crematory or hydrolysis 5 

licensee for a period of three years and shall, during that period, be subject to inspection by the Board or its agents. 6 

 7 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-210.127; 90-210.134(a); 90-210.136(d),(h); 8 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 9 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; July 1, 2004; 10 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 11 

2017. 12 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 24, 2019. 13 
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