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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Notice of Application for a new Innovative Approval of a Wastewater System for On-site Subsurface Use 

 

Pursuant to NCGS 130A-343(g), the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) shall publish a Notice in the 

NC Register that a manufacturer has submitted a request for approval of a wastewater system, component, or device for on-site 

subsurface use. The following applications have been submitted to DHHS: 

 

Application by:    Todd Harrell 

         Prinsco 

          1717 16th St NE 

         Willmar, MN  56201 

 

 For:        New Innovative Approval for Chamber Trench Systems 

 

DHHS Contact: Jon Fowlkes 

1-919-707-5875 

Fax:  919-845-3973 

jon.fowlkes@dhhs.nc.gov 

  

 

These applications may be reviewed by contacting the applicant or Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, at 5605 Six Forks Rd, Raleigh, NC, On-

Site Water Protection Branch, Environmental Health Section, Division of Public Health.  Draft proposed innovative approvals and 

proposed final action on the application by DHHS can be viewed on the On-Site Water Protection Branch web site: 

http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/oswp/. 

 

Written public comments may be submitted to DHHS within 30 days of the date of the Notice publication in the North Carolina Register. 

All written comments should be submitted to Mr. Jon Fowlkes, Branch Head, On-site Water Protection Branch, 1642 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1642, jon.fowlkes@dhhs.nc.gov, or fax 919-845-3973. Written comments received by DHHS in accordance 

with this Notice will be taken into consideration before a final agency decision is made on the innovative subsurface wastewater system 

application. 

 

 

mailto:jon.fowlkes@dhhs.nc.gov
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 02 – DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Pesticide Board intends to adopt the rules cited as 02 NCAC 09L 

.0530 and .1112. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncagr.gov/SPCAP/pesticides/board.htm 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Any person may 

request a public hearing on the proposed rules by submitting a 

request in writing no later than March 15, 2022 to James W., 

Burnette, Jr., Secretary, NC Pesticide Board, 1090 Mail Service 

Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1090 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  State pesticide regulatory 

agencies issue certifications to pesticide applicators who 

demonstrate, under a US Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA)-approved program, that they can use the products safely. 

Under EPA’s 2017 final rule for certification of pesticide 

applicators(40 CFR Part 171), States with existing EPA-

approved plans are required to submit proposed modifications to 

comply with the federal standards. This action is required of the 

NC Pesticide Board by the EPA in order for North Carolina’s 

state plan for certification of pesticide applicators, operators, 

dealers, pest control consultants and private pesticide applicators 

to remain in compliance with 40 CFR 171.303 (7): 

(7) The application for Agency approval of a State certification 

plan must include a complete copy of all State laws and 

regulations relevant to the State certification plan. In addition, 

the application for Agency approval of a State plan must include 

citations to the specific State laws and regulations that 

demonstrate specific legal authority for each of the following: 

(i) Provisions for and listing of the acts which would constitute 

grounds for denying, suspending, and revoking certification of 

applicators. Such grounds must include, at a minimum, misuse of 

a pesticide, falsification of any records required to be maintained 

by the certified applicator, a criminal conviction under section 

14(b) of FIFRA, a final order imposing civil penalty under section 

14(a) of FIFRA, and conclusion of a State enforcement action for 

violations of State laws or regulations relevant to the State 

certification plan. 

Sections 14(a) and (b) of Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and 

Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) (7 USC 136l(a) and (b)) 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  James W., Burnette, Jr., 

Secretary, NC Pesticide Board, 1090 Mail Service Center, 

Raleigh NC 27699-1090 email james.burnette@ncagr.gov 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - FOOD AND DRUG PROTECTION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09L - PESTICIDE SECTION 

 

SECTION .0500 - PESTICIDE LICENSES 

 

02 NCAC 09L .0530 PROHIBITED ACTS 

A final order imposing civil liability under Section 14(a) of the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA)(7 

USC 136l(a)) against any pesticide dealer, pesticide applicator, 

public operator, or pest control consultant, or a criminal 

conviction, entry of a plea of guilty, or of nolo contendere under 

Section 14(b) of FIFRA (7 USC 136l(b)) by any pesticide dealer, 

pesticide applicator, public operator, or pest control consultant 

shall constitute grounds for the denial, suspension, or revocation 

of any license or certification issued by the board. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-437; 143-451(a)(3); 143-456(a)(5); 143-

461(1). 

 

SECTION .1100 - PRIVATE PESTICIDE APPLICATOR 

CERTIFICATION 
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02 NCAC 09L .1112 PROHIBITED ACTS 

A final order imposing civil liability under Section 14(a) of the 

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA)(7 

USC 136l(a)) against any private pesticide applicator, or a 

criminal conviction, entry of a plea of guilty, or of nolo 

contendere under Section 14(b) of FIFRA (7 USC 136l(b)) by any 

private pesticide applicator, shall constitute grounds for the 

denial, suspension, or revocation of any license or certification 

issued by the board. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-437(1); 143-451(a)(3); 143-456(a)(5); 143-

461(1). 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 

intends to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 09G .0205. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 11, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Wake Technical Community College Public Safety 

Center, 321 Chapanoke Rd., Raleigh, NC 27603 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To ensure compliance with pre-

employment psychological examination screening. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, 

1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602; email 

cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 11, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been examined and certified within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice by a 

physician licensed in North Carolina, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet the physical requirements to fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities as stated in the essential job 

functions. 

(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been administered within one year prior to employment 

with the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice a psychological screening 

examination by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to 

practice in North Carolina to determine the officer's mental and 

emotional suitability to fulfill the officer's particular 

responsibilities as stated in the essential job functions. a 

psychological screening examination in accordance with G.S. 

17C-10(c). The psychological screening shall be valid for a period 

of one year to the criminal justice officer's initial appointment and 

applies to any criminal justice officer seeking initial or 

probationary certification. 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Commission for Public Health intends to adopt the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 18A .2545 and amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A 

.2508. 
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 11, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code required). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Session Law 2021-77, Section 

8.(a) amended G.S. 130A-280 to include “spas operating for 

display at temporary events” within the term “public swimming 

pool,” effective July 1, 2022. The proposed rules establish a 

framework to regulate these spas for protection of the public 

health and safety. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2500 - PUBLIC SWIMMING POOLS  

 

15A NCAC 18A .2508 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply throughout this Section: 

(1) "Department" means North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(2) "Equipment replacement" means replacement 

of individual components of the hydraulic and 

disinfection systems such as pumps, filters, and 

automatic chemical feeders. 

(3) "Public swimming pool" means public 

swimming pool as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 

Public swimming pools are divided into five 

types: 

(a) "Swimming pools" are public 

swimming pools used primarily for 

swimming. 

(b) "Spas" are public swimming pools 

designed for recreational and 

therapeutic use that are not drained, 

cleaned, or refilled after each 

individual use. Spas may include units 

designed for hydrojet circulation, hot 

water, cold water mineral bath, air 

induction bubbles, or any combination 

thereof. Common terminology for 

spas includes "therapeutic pool," 

"hydrotherapy pool," "whirlpool," 

"hot spa," and "hot tub." 

(c) "Wading pools" are public swimming 

pools designed for use by children, 

including wading pools for toddlers 

and children's activity pools designed 

for casual water play ranging from 

splashing activity to the use of 

interactive water features placed in the 

pool. 

(d) "Water recreation attractions" are 

pools designed for special purposes 

that differentiate them from 

swimming pools, wading pools, and 

spas. They include: 

(i) water slide plunge pools and 

run out lanes, which transfer 

the kinetic energy of the 

users' velocity through 

friction to the slide; 

(ii) wave pools; 

(iii) rapid rides; 

(iv) lazy rivers; 

(v) interactive play attractions 

that incorporate devices 

using sprayed, jetted, or other 

water sources contacting the 

users and that do not 

incorporate standing or 

captured water as part of the 

user activity area; 

(vi) training pools deeper than a 

24 inch deep wading pool 

and shallower than a 36 inch 

deep swimming pool; and 

(vii) artificial swimming lagoons 

as defined in G.S. 130A-280. 
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(e) "Special purpose and therapy pools" 

are pools designed and used for 

therapeutic treatments or physical 

training and fitness outside of a 

licensed medical facility or practice of 

a licensed physical therapist. They 

include: 

(i) float tanks used for float 

therapy in a salt brine 

solution; 

(ii) swim spa training pools 

which use jetted water for 

stationary swimming against 

a water current; 

(iii) exercise therapy and 

treadmill pools equipped for 

water resistance exercise 

therapy; and 

(iv) scuba pools designed and 

used for training swimmers 

to use self-contained 

underwater breathing 

apparatus. 

(f) "Display spa at a temporary event" or 

"DSTE" is a portable, above ground 

spa that contains water but is not used 

for body immersion and is displayed at 

a temporary event. 

(4) "Registered Design Professional" means an 

individual who is registered or licensed to 

practice engineering as defined by G.S. 89C or 

architecture as defined by G.S. 83A. 

(5) "Remodeled" means renovated in a manner 

requiring disruption of the majority of the pool 

shell or deck, changes in the pool profile, or 

redesign of the pool hydraulic system. 

(6) "Repair" means returning existing equipment to 

working order, replastering or repainting of the 

pool interior, replacement of tiles or coping, 

and similar maintenance activities. This term 

includes replacement of pool decks where the 

Department has determined that no changes are 

needed to underlying pipes or other pool 

structures. 

(7) "Safety vacuum release system" means a 

system or device capable of providing vacuum 

release at a suction outlet caused by a high 

vacuum occurrence due to suction outlet flow 

blockage. 

(8) "Splash zone" means the area of an interactive 

play attraction that sheds water to a surge tank 

or container to be recirculated. 

(9) "Temporary event" means a transitory fair, 

carnival, circus, festival, or public exhibition. 

(9)(10) "Unblockable drain" means a drain of any size 

and shape that a human body cannot 

sufficiently block to create a suction entrapment 

hazard. 

(10)(11) "Water feature" means any component within a 

public swimming pool that pumps, jets, or 

sprays water above the waterline. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2019-88; S.L. 2021-77. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2545 DISPLAY SPA AT A 

TEMPORARY EVENT 

A display spa at a temporary event (DSTE) shall not be required 

to comply with the rules of this Section except as specified in this 

Rule. 

(1) A DSTE shall not operate without a permit that 

has been issued by the local health department 

that serves the county in which the temporary 

event is located. The duration of a permit for a 

DSTE shall be no more than 21 consecutive 

calendar days. The applicant may apply for 

additional permits to operate a DSTE for 

multiple 21-day periods at the same temporary 

event. 

(2) One permit application shall be submitted for 

each DSTE. The applicant shall submit the 

application for a permit at least 15 calendar 

days before commencing operation of a DSTE. 

The application form shall be submitted to the 

local health department that serves the county 

in which the temporary event is located and 

shall include the following information: 

(a) applicant's name, address, and phone 

number; 

(b) name of the temporary event; 

(c) street address of the temporary event; 

(d) proposed operating dates; and 

(e) signature of the applicant. 

(3) A DSTE shall meet the requirements of Rule 

.2535 of this Section, except as follows: 

(a) automatic chemical feeders shall not 

be required; 

(b) written records shall only be required 

to include disinfectant concentration, 

pH, and the type and amount of 

chemicals added to the DSTE; 

(c) disinfectant residual shall be measured 

every day before opening the DSTE to 

the public; 

(d) disinfectant concentrations shall be 

maintained at or above 4 ppm free 

chlorine or 8 ppm free bromine; and 

(e) pH shall be maintained between 7.0- 

7.8. 

(4) A sign shall be posted on each permitted DSTE 

that states: "DISPLAY SPA – ONLY HANDS 

AND FOREARMS ALLOWED IN WATER." 

The text on the sign shall be at least two inches 

in height. 

(5) When the water in a DSTE does not meet the 

water quality standards set out in the rules of 

this Section, the DSTE shall be kept closed with 

a latched or locked cover that prevents the 
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public from coming into contact with the DSTE 

water. The applicant shall post a sign on the 

DSTE that states: "SPA CLOSED." The text on 

the sign shall be at least two inches in height. 

(6) The applicant shall keep water quality records 

on site during the temporary event and for six 

months after the completion of the temporary 

event. The applicant shall provide water quality 

records to the local health department that 

issued the DSTE permit and the Department 

upon request. 

(7) All pool chemicals stored on-site at the 

temporary event shall be stored in a water 

resistant, covered container in an area that is not 

used by the public. 

(8) When the applicant or applicant's designee is 

not available to supervise a DSTE, the DSTE 

shall be kept closed with a latched or locked 

cover that prevents the public from coming into 

contact with the DSTE water. 

(9) The permit for each DSTE shall be posted for 

the duration of the temporary event in a location 

that is visible to the public. 

(10) The applicant or the applicant's designee shall 

report any death, serious injury, or complaint of 

illness attributed to the applicant's DSTE in 

accordance with Rule .2540 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-280; 130A-282; S.L. 2021-77. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Commission for Public Health intends to 

readopt with substantive changes the rule cited as 15A NCAC 18A 

.2901. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://cph.publichealth.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 1, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 715-0769 (no access code required). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  This rule is proposed for 

readoption in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A and, as part of 

that process, is being updated to clarify existing language and add 

new language to establish a methodology for distributing funds to 

local health departments impacted by certain disasters, 

emergencies, or events. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Virginia Niehaus, CPH 

Rulemaking Coordinator, 1931 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 

27699-1931; email cphcomment@lists.ncmail.net 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 

 

SECTION .2900 - RESTAURANT AND LODGING FEE 

COLLECTION AND INVENTORY PROGRAM 

 

15A NCAC 18A .2901 DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following definitions shall 

apply: 

(1) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(2) "Disaster" means when a declaration has been 

made by the President of the United States 

under 44 C.F.R. Part 206, Subpart B, which is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent editions or amendments, or by 

the Governor of North Carolina under G.S. 

166A-19.3(3). 

(3) "Emergency" means when a state of emergency 

declaration has been issued under G.S. 166A-

19.3(19). 

(4) "Event" means a National Special Security 

Event designated by the President of the United 

States under 18 U.S.C. 3056(e)(1), which is 

hereby incorporated by reference, including 

any subsequent editions or amendments. 

(5) "Rate of compliance" means the number of 

inspections for food and lodging establishments 

conducted by the local health department 

during the previous state fiscal year divided by 

the number of inspections mandated to be 
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conducted by the local health department per 

state fiscal year pursuant to G.S. 130A-249 and 

10A NCAC 46 .0213, not to exceed a value of 

1. 

(b)  Fees collected pursuant to G.S. 130A-248(d), minus state 

expenses budgeted for the collection and inventory program, shall 

be distributed to local health departments for the support of local 

public health programs and activities as follows: 

(1) Seven seven hundred and fifty dollars 

($750.00) to each county; and 

(2) the remaining balance of funds that remain after 

the distribution described in Subparagraph 

(b)(1) of this Rule shall be distributed to each 

county in accordance with the following 

formula: formula provided in Part (b)(2)(A) of 

this Rule. After the distribution of funds 

pursuant to Part (b)(2)(A) of this Rule, the 

balance of any funds that remain shall be 

distributed in accordance with the formula 

provided in Part (b)(2)(B) of this Rule to the 

counties that have one hundred percent 

compliance with the inspection requirements 

for food and lodging establishments as set out 

in G.S. 130A-249 and 10A NCAC 46 .0213 in 

the immediately preceding state fiscal year: 

(a)(A) [the remaining balance of funds after 

distribution in Paragraph 

(1)Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule] 

multiplied by (the number of facilities 

in the county divided by the number of 

facilities in the state) multiplied by 

(the (the county's percentage rate of 

compliance compliance) with 

mandatory inspection requirements 

for food and lodging establishments in 

G.S. 130A-249 and 15A NCAC 25 

.0213 for the previous fiscal year, not 

to exceed 100 percent) equals the 

allocation to the county; and 

(b)(B) distribution of remaining funds to 

counties with 100 percent compliance 

with mandatory inspection 

requirements for food and lodging 

establishments in G.S. 130A-249 and 

15A NCAC 25 .0213 during the 

previous fiscal year shall be made in 

accordance with the following: [total 

amount of remaining funds after 

distribution in Paragraph Part 

(b)(2)(A)] (2)(a)] multiplied by (the 

number of facilities in the county 

divided by the number of facilities in 

all counties with 100 percent 

compliance with mandatory 

inspection requirements for food and 

lodging establishments as set forth in 

G.S. 130A-249 and 15A10A NCAC 

2546 .0213 during the previous fiscal 

year) equals the additional allocation 

to the county. 

(c)  Notwithstanding the definition of rate of compliance in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the total amount of funds distributed to 

a local health department shall be calculated in accordance with 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, but using the local health department's 

rate of compliance from the last state fiscal year that was 

completed immediately prior to a disaster, emergency, or event, 

when: 

(1) one or more counties served by the local health 

department is named in a disaster or emergency 

declaration or in an event designation; 

(2) the local health director or the local health 

director's designee submits a written attestation 

to the State Environmental Health Director that 

includes the following: 

(A) an explanation of how disruption 

caused by the disaster, emergency, or 

event is such that inspections that are 

required pursuant to G.S. 130A-249 

and 10A NCAC 46 .0213 for food and 

lodging establishments cannot be 

carried out as planned because of the 

local health department's involvement 

in the response to the disaster, 

emergency, or event; and 

(B) a statement that the loss of funds as a 

result of the local health department's 

decreased rate of compliance is 

expected to result in a financial 

hardship to the local health 

department's environmental health 

program; and 

(3) the Department determines that sufficient funds 

are available to make a disbursement to the 

local health department in accordance with this 

Paragraph. 

(d)  Attestations written pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

shall be submitted to the State Environmental Health Director by 

mail at 5605 Six Forks Road, 1632 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1632. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-9; 130A-248; 130A-249. 

 

 

TITLE 16 – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Board of Education intends to adopt the rule cited as 16 

NCAC 06D .0403. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.dpi.nc.gov/about-dpi/state-board-education/rules-

apa 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 24, 2022 
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Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  https://ncgov.webex.com/meet/lou.martin 1+415-655-

0003 US Toll Access code: 615 950 383 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Required by G.S. 115C-12(47). 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Thomas Ziko, Rulemaking 

Coordinator, SBE, 6302 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-

6302; phone (984) 236-2249; fax (984) 236-2249; email 

thomas.ziko@dpi.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 06 - ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY 

EDUCATION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 06D - INSTRUCTION 

 

SECTION .0400 - BEP SUPPORT SERVICES 

 

16 NCAC 06D .0403 PROVIDE INFORMATION ON 

CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

Each public school unit shall provide to students in grades 6 

through 12 the information on child abuse and neglect, including 

age-appropriate information on sexual abuse, specified in G.S. 

115C-12(47). 

 

Authority G.S. 115C-12(47). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited 

as 21 NCAC 10 .0803 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 

.0503. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncchiroboard.com 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  October 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 22, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Join Zoom Meeting: 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82670271726 Meeting ID: 826 7027 

1726 One tap mobile +13017158592,,82670271726# US 

(Washington DC);+13126266799,,82670271726# US (Chicago) 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 10 .0503 - To update the probable cause process and 

to clarify that it is an informal conference rather than a "hearing." 

21 NCAC 10 .0803 - To consolidate all fees into one rule. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Dr. Joe Siragusa, NC Board 

of Chiropractic Examiners, 9121 Anson Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, 

NC 27615 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0500 - INVESTIGATION OF COMPLAINTS 
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21 NCAC 10 .0503 DETERMINATION OF 

PROBABLE CAUSE 

(a)  General. Complaints deemed likely to have occurred, based 

on the findings of the Investigative Report, shall be referred to the 

Chiropractic Review Committee. The committee shall hold a 

hearing to determine whether there is probable cause to believe a 

violation of the laws governing Chiropractic has occurred. 

(b)  Composition of Chiropractic Review Committee. The 

committee shall be composed of: 

(1) the secretary of the Board of Examiners. If the 

secretary is unable to attend a specific probable 

cause hearing, he or she may designate another 

physician member of the Board to serve and 

assume his or her duties at said hearing; 

(2) an alternate Board member. "Alternate Board 

member" means: 

(A) a former Board member selected by 

the secretary; 

(B) a current Board member selected by 

the secretary; or 

(C) a licensee selected by the secretary 

from among those who, at any election 

held pursuant to Rule .0103(c) of this 

Chapter, have been elected nominees 

for Board membership but not 

appointed to the Board. 

(c)  Notice of hearing. The secretary shall provide notice of the 

probable cause hearing in accordance with G.S. 150B-38(b). 

(d)  Conduct of Probable Cause Hearing. The secretary, or 

designee per Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule, shall preside over 

the probable cause hearing. The Chiropractic Review Committee 

may consider evidence at the probable cause hearing that would 

not be admissible if offered at the hearing in a contested case. 

(e)  Action by the Chiropractic Review Committee. After 

examining the evidence presented at the probable cause hearing, 

the Chiropractic Review Committee shall dispose of each charge 

in a complaint as follows: 

(1) If no probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, the 

charge shall be dismissed; 

(2) If probable cause exists to believe that a 

violation of G.S. 90-154 has occurred, and if the 

Committee and licensee at issue fail to resolve 

the matter through settlement, the case shall be 

considered a "contested case" and set for 

hearing before either the Board, or an 

Administrative Law Judge at the NC Office of 

Administrative Hearings, in accordance with 

G.S. 150B-40. 

(a)  General. Complaint allegations deemed likely to have 

occurred, based on the findings of the Investigative Report, shall 

be referred to the Disciplinary Review Committee (DRC). The 

DRC shall conduct an informal conference with the party in order 

to consider the possibility of resolving the complaint. 

(b)  Composition of the DRC. The DRC shall be composed of: 

(1) The Board Secretary; and 

(2) Either a former Board member or a licensee 

from among those who, at any election held 

pursuant to Rule .0103(c) of this Chapter, have 

been elected nominees for Board membership 

but not appointed to the Board. The Board 

Secretary shall select the second DRC member. 

(c)  The Board Secretary shall preside over the conference. 

(d)  Action by the DRC. The DRC shall dispose of each complaint 

charge as follows: 

(1) Dismissal of the complaint with no action; 

(2) Resolution by settlement; or 

(3) Scheduling for contested case hearing and 

whether the case shall be set before either the 

Board or an Administrative Law Judge in 

accordance with G.S. 150B-40(e). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-141; 90-143; 90-154. 

 

SECTION .0800 - MISCELLANEOUS 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0803 FEE SCHEDULE 

(a)  The Board shall charge the following fees: 

(1) License application: $300.00; 

(2) License renewal: $300.00; 

(3) Certification of Competence: $35.00; 

(4) Renewal of Certification of Competence: 

$50.00; 

(5) Corporate registration: $50.00; 

(6) Corporate registration renewal: $25.00; and 

(7) Predetermination request: $45.00. 

(b)  All fees charged by the Board are non-refundable. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 90-143.2; 90-143.4; 90-155; 

93B-8.1. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 25 - INTERPRETER AND 

TRANSLITERATOR LICENSING BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board intends to amend 

the rule cited as 21 NCAC 25 .0205. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncitlb.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 31, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:   

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81262280421?pwd=N1JWam9VMVk

1TzhnV1VvUmJSZ1VRUT09  

Meeting ID: 812 6228 0421  

Password: 366307 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Through an amendment in 2016, 

the NCITLB removed the then-existing 21 NCAC 25 .0205(f), 

which prohibited the NCITLB from renewing a provisional 

license for a sixth time. That change was necessary at that time 
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due to a testing moratorium preventing provisional licensees on a 

major pathway to full licensure from taking the examination 

required to become fully licensed. However, that moratorium has 

since been lifted. An additional moratorium regarding testing for 

interpreters who are deaf has also been effectively lifted by a new 

test that is now available. 

Since the prohibition was removed in 2016, the number of 

provisional licensees seeking renewal for a sixth time and beyond 

(rather than obtaining full licensure) has increased. In 2021 

alone, approximately 20 provisional licensees would not qualify 

for an extension of their provisional license under the pre-2016 

version of 21 NCAC 25 .0205(f). 

The Deaf and Hard of Hearing Community, which the licensees 

of the NCITLB serve as interpreters, has expressed concern over 

the poor quality of the interpreting skills of the provisional 

licensees seeking multiple renewals/extensions of their 

provisional licenses. In fact, a person currently seeking a 

provisional license need only obtain an Associate’s Degree in 

interpreting to qualify for a provisional license under one 

pathway to licensure. That person need not pass any separate 

skills test to determine the accuracy of the words correctly 

interpreted in order to obtain a provisional license. At present, 

such person can linger for years as a provisional licensee without 

developing the accuracy and skills necessary to become fully 

licensed. Interpreting accuracy and skill are of paramount 

importance during medical appointments, financial transactions, 

and numerous other interpreting situations. 

The NCITLB finds that there is a compelling need to protect both 

the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Community and the hearing 

community, which also relies upon accurate interpreting, by 

requiring provisional interpreters to advance to full licensure in 

an expedient manner by limiting the number of provisional license 

extensions allowable. In this regard, the NCITLB also finds that 

there is a compelling need to motivate provisional licensees to 

increase their skills to become full licensees in a timely manner in 

order to improve the quality of interpreting necessary for the 

protection of the health, safety, and welfare of the members of the 

public who rely upon interpreters. 

The NCITLB further finds that the standards for becoming a 

provisional licensee contained in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 90D-8, while 

in need of improvement, mean that a person holding a provisional 

license must (or should) already have basic interpreting skills, 

education, and training, such that the marginal advancement to 

full licensee should not take unlimited or even several years. 

Limiting renewals to four at most in the proposed amendment 

means that a provisional licensee would have an initial 

provisional license lasting up to a year and then up to four 

additional renewal years in which to progress from provisional 

licensee to full licensee. The Board finds that such is ample time, 

it is just and reasonable, and that the benefit to, and protection of, 

the deaf and hearing consumers of interpreting services 

substantially outweighs any burden to provisional licensees 

affected by this amendment. 

Finally, the NCITLB has considered the impact of Covid-19 and 

the months during which testing was not conducted. However, 

during those months, most provisional licensees could have been 

working on their skills at home and/or through online resources 

and/or otherwise to improve their skills for obtaining full 

licensure when testing resumed. At present, testing has been 

generally available for at least several months. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Caitlin Schwab-Falzone, 

Board Administrator, North Carolina Interpreter and 

Transliterator Licensing Board, P.O. Box 98328, Raleigh, NC 

27624; 701 Exposition Place, Suite 206, Raleigh, NC 27615; 

phone 919-779-5709; email ncitlb@caphill.com 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 – LICENSING 

 

21 NCAC 25 .0205 RENEWAL OF A PROVISIONAL 

LICENSE 

(a)  An application for the renewal of a provisional license is not 

timely filed unless it is received by the Board on or before the 

expiration date of the license being renewed. 

(b)  If a licensee does not timely file an application for the renewal 

of a provisional license, the licensee shall not practice or offer to 

practice as an interpreter or transliterator for a fee or other 

consideration, represent himself or herself as a licensed interpreter 

or transliterator, or use the title "Licensed Interpreter for the 

Deaf," "Licensed Transliterator for the Deaf," or use any other 

title or abbreviation to indicate that the person is a licensed 

interpreter or transliterator until he or she receives either a 

renewed provisional license, as described in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, or an initial full license. 

(c)  An application to renew an expired provisional license shall 

be approved by the Board if it is received by the Board within one 

year after the provisional license expired and if the application 

demonstrates that the applicant continues to qualify for a 

provisional license. A provisional license shall not be renewed 

after it has expired a second time. 
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(d)  If the license being renewed has been suspended by the Board, 

any renewal license issued to the applicant shall also be suspended 

until the term of the suspension has expired. 

(e)  The Board shall renew a provisional license no more than 

three times upon receipt of timely applications that demonstrate 

that the applicant continues to qualify for a provisional license. 

The Board may extend a provisional license on an annual basis 

after the third renewal if the applicant timely files an application 

prior to the expiration of the third renewal, and on an annual basis 

thereafter if further extension is sought by the applicant, that 

demonstrates that the applicant's progress toward full licensure 

was delayed by: 

(1) a life-altering event, such as the birth or 

adoption of a child to the applicant or the 

applicant's spouse or an acute or chronic illness 

suffered by either the applicant or a member of 

the applicant's immediate family; 

(2) active military service; 

(3) a catastrophic natural event, such as a 

pandemic, flood, hurricane, or tornado; or 

(4) the certifying organization s identified in G.S. 

90D-7 having imposed a moratorium on testing 

or certification that has prevented the applicant 

from sitting for the qualifying examination and 

obtaining the results thereof prior to the 

expiration of the provisional license or any 

annual extension. extension thereof; provided, 

however, that a provisional license that has 

been extended because of a moratorium may be 

extended one additional time following the end 

of the moratorium to allow sufficient time for 

the applicant to take the qualifying examination 

and to receive the results thereof, but it shall not 

be extended thereafter on the basis of the 

moratorium. 

(f)  The Board shall not for any reason renew or extend a 

provisional license for a fifth time. 

(f)(g)  The Board shall not issue an initial provisional license to 

anyone who has previously held a provisional license. 

(g)(h)  The Board shall extend the deadline for filing a license 

renewal application for any individual who currently holds a 

provisional license and is in good standing with the Board, if the 

individual is serving in the armed forces of the United States and 

if G.S. 105-249.2 grants the individual an extension of time to file 

a tax return. The extension shall be in effect for any period that is 

disregarded under Section 7508 of the Internal Revenue Code in 

determining the taxpayer's liability for a federal tax. 

 

Authority G.S. 90D-6; 90D-8; 90D-11; 90D-12; 93B-15. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32A 

.0112. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  May 2, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely via 

teleconference: 1-919-518-9840; Conference ID: 232 308 023# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To promote judicial economy by 

providing that the Board will decline to issue declaratory rulings 

for matters that are currently under investigation or are the 

subject of public disciplinary charges.  The proposed amendments 

reflect the exhaustion of administrative remedies doctrine. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32A - ORGANIZATION 

 

21 NCAC 32A .0112 DISPOSITION OF REQUEST 

(a)  Upon receipt of a Request for Declaratory Ruling, the Board 

shall determine whether a ruling is appropriate under the facts 

stated. 

(b)  When the Board determines that the issuance of a declaratory 

ruling is inappropriate, the Board shall notify, in writing, the 

person requesting the ruling, stating the reasons for the denial of 

the request. 

(c)  The Board shall decline to issue a declaratory ruling where: 
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(1) there has been a similar controlling factual 

determination made by the Board in a contested 

case; 

(2) the rule-making record shows that the factual 

issues raised by the request were specifically 

considered prior to adoption of the rule; or  

(3) the subject-matter of the request is involved in 

pending litigation in any state or federal court 

in North Carolina; 

(4) the subject-matter of the request involves 

matters which are currently being investigated 

by the Board; 

(5) the subject matter of the request involves 

matters which are currently being adjudicated 

in a noticed disciplinary or denial hearing heard 

by the Board or the Office of Administrative 

Hearings; or 

(4)(6) the petitioner fails to show that the 

circumstances are so changed since the 

adoption of the statute or rule that a ruling is 

warranted. 

 

Authority G.S. 150B-4. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32U 

.0102 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 32U .0101. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 28, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  The public hearing will be held remotely.  The public 

may participate on Teams at https://tinyurl.com/2p8czkmb or may 

call 336-604-5350, conference ID 232 964 29# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 32U .0101: Session Law 2021-110 required the Board 

of Pharmacy and the Medical Board to adopt “a statement of 

ethics for immunizing pharmacists.” Moreover, Session Law 

2021-110 adopted “unprofessional conduct” as a new ground of 

discipline for pharmacists (and, by extension, pharmacies) in G.S. 

90-85.38. The Boards have jointly proposed adoption of the 

American Pharmacists Association Code of Ethics to define 

professional conduct, including but not limited to that conduct by 

immunizing pharmacists. This reflects an approach taken by 

numerous licensing boards in adopting an established industry set 

of conduct standards as reflecting appropriate professional 

practice.  

Proposed new rule 21 NCAC 46 .1820 would adopt that code of 

ethics by reference, and the amendments to Rule .2507 would 

refer to that rule as specifically governing pharmacists’ 

immunization activities. The Medical Board has proposed 

amending 21 NCAC 32U .0101 to effectively adopt the 

amendments to Rule .2507 by reference (and also thereby the 

application of new Rule .1820 to immunization). 

 

21 NCAC 32U .0102: Session Law 2021-3, Section 2.9.(a), 

permits “immunizing pharmacists” (as defined by statute) to 

administer long-acting injectable medications to adults pursuant 

to prescription. The law became effective on October 1, 2021, and 

the Board of Pharmacy adopted a temporary rule (21 NCAC 46 

.2514) to implement the section, as permitted by the statute. 

Because of the placement of the longacting injectable authority in 

the “immunizing pharmacist” statute (90-85.15B), a permanent 

rule governing the administration of these drugs must be 

approved by both the Board of Pharmacy and the Medical Board. 

The Board of Pharmacy has proposed adoption of a permanent 

version of Rule .2514. The proposed rule would put appropriate 

standards in place for training, recordkeeping and other 

requirements needed to ensure that the drugs are administered 

with adequate protection of the public health, safety, and welfare. 

The requirements in the proposed rule are largely imported from 

21 NCAC 46 .2507, which governs immunizing pharmacist 

administration of vaccines, so that the regulated pharmacists will 

already be familiar with these requirements. Moreover, the 

proposed permanent rule does not vary in any substantial way 

from the temporary rule that has been operating without any 

known incident since October 1, 2021. The Medical Board has 

proposed a new rule (21 NCAC 32U .0102) that would adopt 

proposed permanent Rule .2514 by reference. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

mailto:rules@ncmedboard.org
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SUBCHAPTER 32U - PHARMACISTS VACCINATIONS 

AND ADMINISTRATION OF LONG-ACTING 

INJECTABLES 

 

SECTION .0100 - PHARMACISTS VACCINATIONS AND 

ADMINSTRATION OF LONG-ACTING INJECTABLES 

 

21 NCAC 32U .0101 ADMINISTRATION OF 

VACCINES BY PHARMACISTS 

Pharmacist personnel may administer vaccines in accordance with 

21 NCAC 46 .2507. 

(a) An Immunizing Pharmacist shall administer only those 

vaccines or immunizations permitted by G.S. 90-85.15B and shall 

do so subject to all requirements of that statute and this Rule. 

(b) The following words and terms, when used in this Rule, have 

the following meanings: 

(1) "Administer" means the direct application of a 

drug to the body of a patient by injection, 

inhalation, ingestion, or other means by: 

(A) an Immunizing Pharmacist or a 

Pharmacy Intern who is under the 

direct, in-person supervision of an 

Immunizing Pharmacist; or 

(B) the patient at the direction of either an 

Immunizing Pharmacist or a health 

care provider authorized by North 

Carolina law to prescribe the vaccine. 

(2) "Immunizing Pharmacist" shall have the 

meaning provided in G.S. 90-85.3(i1). 

(3) "Pharmacy Intern" shall have the meaning 

provided in 21 NCAC 46 .1317(28). 

(4) "Physician" means an M.D. or D.O. currently 

licensed with the North Carolina Medical Board 

who is responsible for the supervision of the 

Immunizing Pharmacist pursuant to the Written 

Protocol between the Immunizing Pharmacist 

and the Physician. 

(5) RESERVED 

(6) RESERVED 

(7) RESERVED 

(8) RESERVED 

(9) RESERVED 

(10) RESERVED 

(11) RESERVED 

(12) "Written Protocol" is a document prepared, 

signed, and dated by the Physician and 

Immunizing Pharmacist that shall contain the 

following: 

(A) the name of the Physician responsible 

for authorizing the Written Protocol; 

(B) the name of the Immunizing 

Pharmacist authorized to administer 

vaccines; 

(C) the immunizations or vaccinations that 

may be administered by the 

Immunizing Pharmacist; 

(D) the screening questionnaires and 

safety procedures that shall at least 

include the then-current minimum 

standard screening questionnaire and 

safety procedures adopted by the 

Medical Board, the Board of Nursing, 

and the Board of Pharmacy pursuant to 

S.L. 2013-246, s. 6, and available at 

the North Carolina Medical Board's 

office and on its website 

(www.ncmedboard.org). 

(E) the procedures to follow, including 

any drugs required by the Immunizing 

Pharmacist for treatment of the 

patient, in the event of an emergency 

or adverse event following vaccine 

administration; 

(F) the reporting requirements by the 

Immunizing Pharmacist to the 

Physician, including content and time 

frame; and 

(G) the locations at which the Immunizing 

Pharmacist may administer 

immunizations or vaccinations. 

The Physician and the Immunizing Pharmacist shall review the 

Written Protocol at least annually and revise it if necessary. 

(c) An Immunizing Pharmacist who, because of physical 

disability, is unable to obtain a current provider level CPR 

certification pursuant to G.S. 90-85.3(i1)(1), may administer 

vaccines in the presence of a pharmacy technician or pharmacist 

who holds a current provider level CPR certification. 

(d) With each dose of vaccine, either the Immunizing Pharmacist 

or a Pharmacy Intern shall give the most current vaccine 

information regarding the purpose, risks, benefits, and 

contraindications of the vaccine to the patient or legal 

representative. The Immunizing Pharmacist or Pharmacy Intern 

must ensure that the patient or legal representative has the 

opportunity to read, or to have read to him or her, the information 

provided and to have any questions answered prior to 

administration of the vaccine. 

(e) In agreeing to serve as a supervising Physician, the Physician 

shall agree to meet the following requirements: 

(1) be responsible for the formulation or approval 

of the Written Protocol and review the Written 

Protocol and the services provided to patients 

under the Written Protocol, as set out in 

Subparagraph (b)(12) of this Rule; 

(2) be accessible to the Immunizing Pharmacist or 

be available through direct telecommunication 

for consultation, assistance, direction, and 

provide back-up coverage; and 

(3) receive a periodic status reports from the 

Immunizing Pharmacist, including any 

problems or complications encountered. 

(f) The following requirements pertain to drugs administered by 

an Immunizing Pharmacist: 

(1) Drugs administered by an Immunizing 

Pharmacist under the provisions of this Rule 

shall be in the legal possession of: 

(A) a pharmacy, which shall be the 

pharmacy responsible for drug 

accountability, including the 
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maintenance of records of 

administration of the immunization or 

vaccination; or 

(B) the Physician, who shall be 

responsible for drug accountability, 

including the maintenance of records 

of administration of the immunization 

or vaccination; 

(2) Drugs shall be transported and stored at the 

proper temperatures indicated for each drug; 

(3) Immunizing Pharmacists, while engaged in the 

administration of vaccines under the Written 

Protocol, shall have in their custody and control 

the vaccines identified in the Written Protocol 

and any other drugs listed in the Written 

Protocol to treat adverse events; and 

(4) After administering vaccines at a location other 

than a pharmacy, the Immunizing Pharmacist 

shall return all unused prescription medications 

to the pharmacy or Physician responsible for 

the drugs. 

(g) Record Keeping and Reporting. 

(1) An Immunizing Pharmacist shall maintain the 

following information, readily retrievable, in 

the pharmacy records in accordance with the 

applicable rules and statute regarding each 

administration: 

(A) the name, address, and date of birth of 

the patient; 

(B) the date of the administration; 

(C) the administration site of injection 

(e.g., right arm, left leg, right upper 

arm); 

(D) route of administration of the vaccine; 

(E) the name, manufacturer, lot number, 

and expiration date of the vaccine; 

(F) dose administered; 

(G) the name and address of the patient's 

primary health care provider, as 

identified by the patient; and 

(H) the name or identifiable initials of the 

Immunizing Pharmacist. 

(2) An Immunizing Pharmacist shall document the 

annual review with the Physician of the Written 

Protocol as required in this Rule. 

(3) An Immunizing Pharmacist shall report adverse 

events associated with administration of a 

vaccine to either the prescriber, when 

administering a vaccine pursuant to G.S. 90-

85.15B(a), or the patient's primary care 

provider, if the patient identifies one, when 

administering a vaccine pursuant to G.S. 90-

85.15B(b). 

(h) The Immunizing Pharmacist shall maintain written policies 

and procedures for handling and disposal of used or contaminated 

equipment and supplies. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-85.3(r); 90-85.15B. 

 

21 NCAC 32U .0102 ADMINISRATION OF LONE-

ACTING INJECTABLES 

Pharmacists may administer long-acting injectables in accordance 

with 21 NCAC 46 .2514. 

 

Authority SL 2021-110. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 53 – BOARD OF LICENSED CLINICAL 

MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELORS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Licensed Clinical Mental Health Counselors intends to 

amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 53 .0204-.0206, .0308, .0601, 

.0602, .0604, .0701 and .0902. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncblcmhc.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  April 7, 2022 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  7 Terrace Way, Greensboro, NC 27403 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 53 .0204 - This proposed change updates the process 

to allow for online submission of Professional Disclosure 

Statement. 

21 NCAC 53 .0205 - This proposal reflects legislative update 

regarding reciprocity agreements and clarifies the requirements 

for out of state licensees. 

21 NCAC 53 .0206 - This proposal reflects legislative updates 

regarding graduate counseling experience, clarifies the 

requirements for internship, practicum, and clinical mental health 

settings, and states the contents of Verification of Graduate 

Counseling Experience Form. 

21 NCAC 53 .0308 - This proposal clarifies the definition of 

receipt of application by the Board and sets additional 

requirements for provision of an email address and for documents 

verifying the name change. 

21 NCAC 53 .0601 - This proposal adds a requirement that 

licensees shall be notified by email or mail of licensure renewal 

within 45 days before the license expiration.  

21 NCAC 53 .0602 - This proposal sets an additional requirement 

for a current email address to be provided and for additional 

documents to be provided verifying the name change. 

21 NCAC 53 .0604 - This proposal adds the licensee’s extended 

family members whose major illness or death can be the basis for 

renewal extension; adds the requirement that the major illness be 

documented by a licensed healthcare provider;  

21 NCAC 53 .0701 - This proposal reflects legislative update 

regarding the educational requirements and course work for 

licensed clinical mental health counselor associates;  

21 NCAC 53 .0902 - This proposal adds that a notification for 

renewal of professional corporation or professional limited 

liability company can be sent by electronic mail. 
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Comments may be submitted to:  Melonie Davis, 2C Terrace 

Way, Greensboro, NC 27403; phone (336) 217-6007; email 

NCFAQ@ncblcmhc.org 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0200 - DEFINITIONS AND CLARIFICATION 

OF TERMS 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0204 PROFESSIONAL DISCLOSURE 

STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR LCMHCAS 

LCMHCA AND LCMHC 

A Professional Disclosure Statement is a printed document that 

includes the following information: 

(1) name of licensee or applicant; 

(2) the licensee's or applicant's highest relevant 

degree, year degree received, discipline of 

degree (e.g., counseling, school counseling), 

and name of institution granting the degree; 

(3) names and numbers of all relevant credentials 

(licenses, certificates, or registrations); 

(4) number of years of counseling experience; 

(5) description of services offered and clientele 

(populations) served; 

(6) length of sessions, specific fee or range of fees 

charged per session (if no fee is charged, a 

statement to that effect), and methods of 

payments for services, including information 

about billing or insurance reimbursement; 

(7) an explanation of confidentiality, including 

responsibilities and exceptions (e.g., child or 

elder abuse, court order); 

(8) a statement of procedure for registering 

complaints, including the full name, address, 

and telephone number of the Board's office; 

(9) signature and date spaces for both the client and 

licensee; and 

(10) level of licensure and whether the licensee is 

under supervision. If under supervision, include 

name of supervisor. 

A current copy of this statement shall be provided to each client 

prior to the performance of professional counseling services. An 

updated Professional Disclosure Statement shall be submitted at 

the time of renewal to the Board's office at 2-C Terrace Way, 

Greensboro, NC 27403. 27403 or electronically by uploading on 

the Board's website at https://portal.ncblcmhc.org/. The counselor 

shall retain a file copy of the Professional Disclosure Statement 

signed by each client. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334; 90-334(h); 90-343. 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0205 COUNSELING EXPERIENCE 

(a)  The counseling experience required by G.S. 90-336(c)(2) 

shall include a minimum of 2000 hours of supervised professional 

practice hours of direct counseling experience. Direct counseling 

experience "Direct Counseling Experience" shall consist consists 

of live contact with individuals, groups, or families through 

counseling as defined in G.S. 90-330(a)(3)a and b, G.S. 90-

330(a)(3)a, b, and d. Experience shall be gained at a rate of no 

more than 40 hours per week. At least 100 hours of clinical 

supervision, as defined in Rule .0210 and Rule .0211 of this 

Section, shall be documented during the minimum of 3000 hours 

of supervised professional practice, as defined in Rule .0208 of 

this Section. No less than three-quarters of the hours of clinical 

supervision shall be individual clinical supervision. 

(b)  Out of state applicants shall satisfy the requirements 

determined by the Board to be substantially similar to or 

exceeding those established under Chapter 90 Article 24 and these 

Rules, endorsements as stated in Rule .0304, or reciprocity 

agreements, if applicable. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, the term "reciprocity" means the 

ability of a mental health counselor with an active independent 

license that does not require supervision and is in good standing, 

to practice mental health counseling in another state or U.S. 

jurisdiction. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-330(a)(3); 90-334(h),(i); 90-336(c). 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0206 GRADUATE COUNSELING 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Applicants enrolled in master's programs before July 1, 2015, 

a separate practicum and an internship shall be completed as part 

of the graduate course of study with at least 17 hours of graduate 

counseling supervision, as defined in Rules .0210 and .0211 of 

this Section. Supervised graduate counseling shall be verified by 

a university faculty member on forms available on the Board's 

website, www.ncblcmhc.org, and shall consist of a minimum of 

300 hours of supervised graduate counseling experience at a rate 

of not less than one hour of clinical supervision per 40 hours of 

graduate counseling experience, as defined by Rule .0701(2)(b) of 

this Chapter. At least 180 hours of this counseling experience 
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shall be direct counseling experience as defined in Rule .0205 of 

this Section. 

(b)(a)  For Applicants applicants who enroll in a master's program 

on or after apply prior to July 1, 2015, 2022, graduate counseling 

experience shall consist of the following separate courses: 

(1) one or more courses in practicum totaling at 

least three semester hours or five quarter hours; 

(2) one or more courses in internship totaling at 

least three semester hours or five quarter hours; 

and 

(3) at least 17 hours of graduate counseling 

supervision as defined in Rules .0210 and .0211 

of this Section. 

Supervised graduate counseling shall comply with the 

requirements of Rule .0212 of this Section, shall be verified by a 

university faculty member on the Verification of Graduate 

Counseling Experience Form as described in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  For applicants who apply on or after July 1, 2022, graduate 

counseling experience shall consist of the following separate 

courses: 

(1) one or more courses in practicum that meet the 

standards related to practicum of the current 

version of the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs 

(CACREP), available at www.cacrep.org, at the 

time of the receipt of application as defined in 

Rule .0308(a). The practicum courses shall 

include graduate counseling supervision as 

defined by the current version of the CACREP 

Standards at the time of application; and 

(2) one or more courses in internship that meet the 

standards related to internship of the current 

version of the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs 

(CACREP), available at www.cacrep.org, at the 

time of the receipt of application as defined in 

Rule .0308(a). The internship courses shall 

include graduate counseling supervision as 

defined by the current version of the CACREP 

Standards at the time of application. 

All internship experiences shall be in a clinical mental health 

setting that provides substantial opportunities to diagnose, treat, 

appraise, and assess mental disorders and shall consist of "direct 

counseling experience" as defined in Rule .0205(a) of this 

Section. Clinical mental health settings may include private 

practices, college counseling centers, community agencies, 

managed behavioral health care organizations, integrated delivery 

systems hospitals, employee assistance programs, or specialty 

treatment centers. Verification of Graduate Counseling 

Experience Forms, as described in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, shall 

identify the type of clinical mental health setting. 

(c)  Verification of Graduate Counseling Experience Form shall 

contain: 

(1) the name, title, contact information and 

signature of the person verifying graduate 

counseling experience; 

(2) the name of agency where graduate counseling 

experience occurred; 

(3) information regarding university supervisor for 

the graduate counseling experience; 

(4) the name, title and credentials of the site 

supervisor; 

(5) total hours of individual and group clinical 

supervision received during graduate 

counseling experience; 

(6) whether the experience is practicum or 

internship; 

(7) the beginning and end dates of clinical 

experience; 

(8) the total number of direct and indirect hours, as 

defined by CACREP; and 

(9) the total hours of direct and indirect client 

contact as defined by CACREP. 

The form is available on the Board's website at 

www.ncblcmhc.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-332.1(a)(3); 90-334(h),(i); 90-336(b)(1). 

 

SECTION .0300 – HOW TO OBTAIN LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0308 RECEIPT OF APPLICATION 

(a)  All requirements for applications shall be satisfied in 

accordance with Article 24 of G.S. 90 and the rules of this Chapter 

within two years from the date of receipt of the application or the 

application shall be denied by the Board. Application shall be 

deemed to be received by the Board when the Board's office 

receives the application and processes the application fee. The 

applicant may reapply for licensure and shall be subject to the 

requirements at the time of reapplication. 

(b)  Change of Address. The applicant shall inform the Board of 

any change in his or her their mailing address or email address 

within 60 days after any change. Updated address information 

shall be submitted on forms available on the Board's website, 

www.ncblcmhc.org. 

(c)  Change of Name. The applicant shall inform the Board of any 

change in his or her their name within 60 days after any change. 

A name change form shall be submitted on forms available on the 

Board's website, www.ncblcmhc.org and shall include any 

required legal documentation, such as a marriage certificate, 

certificate accompanied by the documents verifying the name 

change, divorce decree or court order. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(a). 

 

SECTION .0600 – RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0601 RENEWAL PERIOD 

Newly issued licenses shall be effective upon the date of issuance 

by the Board and shall expire on the second June 30 thereafter. At 

least 45 days prior to expiration of each license, the Board shall 

mail by regular U.S. mail or electronic mail a notice for license 

renewal to the person licensed for the current licensure period. 

The renewal period for a newly issued license may be less than 

two years. Following the first renewal of a newly issued license, 

the renewal period shall be two years and shall run from July 1 in 

the first year through June 30 in the second year. A licensee whose 
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license has been suspended shall not practice until the license is 

renewed. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-339. 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0602 RENEWAL FOR LICENSURE 

FORM; ADDRESS CHANGE; NAME CHANGE 

(a)  License renewal information shall be on the Renewal for 

Licensure forms available on the Board's website 

www.ncblcmhc.org and submitted either electronically or mailed 

in paper format to the Board's office as set forth in Rule .0204 of 

this Chapter. The licensee shall provide general contact 

information, including the licensee's email address, licensure or 

credentials, and all continuing counselor education information 

for the past two years. All requested information shall be provided 

and the forms shall be signed and dated. Documents that shall be 

included with the renewal form are the following: 

(1) certificate of completion of the jurisprudence 

examination for the level of license that is being 

renewed; 

(2) the ethics attestation statement; 

(3) an updated Professional Disclosure Statement; 

and 

(4) payment of renewal fee. 

(b)  Change of Address. The licensee shall inform the Board of 

any change in his or her their mailing address or email address 

within 60 days after any change. Updated address information 

shall be submitted on forms available on the Board's website, 

www.ncblcmhc.org. 

(c)  Change of Name. The licensee shall inform the Board of any 

change in his or her their name within 60 days after any change. 

A name change form shall be submitted on forms available on the 

Board's website, www.ncblcmhc.org and shall include any 

required legal documentation, such as a marriage certificate, 

certificate accompanied by the documents verifying the name 

change, divorce decree or court order. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(g); 90-336(a); 90-339(b). 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0604 FAILURE TO SECURE 

SUFFICIENT CONTINUING EDUCATION/RENEWAL 

OF LICENSE 

Licensed clinical mental health counselor associates, licensed 

clinical mental health counselors, and licensed clinical mental 

health counselor supervisors who fail to document sufficient 

continuing counselor education to renew their licenses by the 

expiration date of June 30 shall be notified in writing by the Board 

of the deficiencies, that their licenses have expired, and that the 

licensee shall not practice until it is renewed. Licensed clinical 

mental health counselor associates, licensed clinical mental health 

counselors, and licensed clinical mental health counselor 

supervisors who are unable to provide documentation of sufficient 

continuing counselor education to renew their licenses have the 

following options: 

(1) Within one year of expiration, licensed clinical 

mental health counselor associates, licensed 

clinical mental health counselors, and licensed 

clinical mental health counselor supervisors 

shall complete the required hours of continuing 

counselor education and an additional 20 hours 

of continuing counselor education for the 

purpose of renewal of the expired license. 

Continuing counselor education acquired 

during this additional time period for the 

purpose of renewal of an expired license shall 

not applied to the next renewal period. Once 

these requirements have been met, the license 

shall be renewed. 

(2) Request an extension in writing from the Board. 

Requests shall be received by the Board no later 

than May 1st of the year of expiration. An 

extension shall be granted for: 

(a) military deployment; 

(b) major illness documented by a 

licensed healthcare provider, lasting 

longer than three months of self, 

partner, or child; or of self or a 

member of an immediate family, such 

as a partner, child, parent, sibling, or 

dependent; or 

(c) death of partner or child. a member of 

an immediate family, such as partner, 

child, parent, sibling, or dependent. 

Extensions shall be granted for a period of up to 

one year. If the extension is approved, any 

continuing counselor education acquired during 

the extension shall not be applied to the next 

renewal period. Once these requirements have 

been met, the license shall be renewed and the 

licensee may resume practice. 

Failure to complete one of the above listed options shall mean that 

a license shall be reissued only upon a new application for a 

license, and all current licensure requirements shall apply to the 

new application. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(g),(h); 90-339. 

 

SECTION .0700 – LICENSED CLINICAL MENTAL 

HEALTH COUNSELOR ASSOCIATE 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0701 LICENSED CLINICAL MENTAL 

HEALTH COUNSELOR ASSOCIATE 

A license as a licensed clinical mental health counselor associate 

shall be granted by the Board to persons preparing for the practice 

of counseling who have: 

(1) if applied before July 1, 2022, completed 

graduate training as defined in G.S. 90-

336(b)(1); G.S. 90-336(b1); and  

(2) completed a minimum of three semester hours 

or five quarter hours in each of the required 

coursework areas of study as follows: 

(a) Coursework in Helping Relationships 

in Counseling. Studies in this area 

provide an understanding of 

counseling and consultation 

processes, including the following: 

(i) counseling and consultation 

theories, including both 
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individual and systems 

perspectives, as well as 

coverage of relevant research 

and factors considered in 

applications; 

(ii) basic interviewing, 

assessment, and counseling 

skills; 

(iii) counselor or consultant 

characteristics and behaviors 

that influence mental health 

counseling relationships, 

including age, gender, and 

ethnic differences; verbal and 

nonverbal behaviors; 

personal behaviors; and 

personal characteristics, 

orientations, and skills; 

(iv) client or consultee 

characteristics and behaviors 

that influence mental health 

counseling relationships, 

including age, gender, and 

ethnic differences; verbal and 

nonverbal behaviors; and 

personal behaviors; personal 

characteristics, orientations 

and skills; and 

(v) ethical considerations. 

(b) Coursework in Practicum and 

Internship. Practicum and internship 

experience should be provided in a 

supervised graduate counseling 

experience in a regionally accredited 

program of study. This graduate 

counseling experience shall be 

completed as defined in Rule .0206 of 

this Chapter. 

(c) Coursework in Professional 

Orientation to Counseling. Studies in 

this area provide an understanding of 

all aspects of professional functioning, 

including history, roles, organizational 

structures, ethics, standards, and 

credentialing, including the following: 

(i) history of the counseling 

profession, including 

significant factors and 

events; 

(ii) professional roles and 

functions of counselors, 

including similarities and 

differences with other types 

of professionals; 

(iii) professional organizations 

(primarily the ACA, its 

divisions, branches and 

affiliates), including 

membership benefits, 

activities, services to 

members, and current 

emphases; 

(iv) ethical standards of the 

National Board for Certified 

Counselors (NBCC) or ACA 

and related ethical and legal 

issues, and their applications 

to various professional 

activities (e.g., appraisal, 

group work); 

(v) clinical mental health 

counselor preparation 

standards, their evolution, 

and current applications; 

(vi) clinical mental health 

counselor credentialing, 

including counselor 

certification, licensure and 

accreditation practices and 

standards, and the effects of 

public policy on these issues; 

(vii) public policy processes, 

including the role of the 

clinical mental health 

counselor advocating on 

behalf of the profession and 

its clientele; and 

(viii) ethical considerations. 

(d) Coursework in Human Growth and 

Development Theories in Counseling. 

Studies in this area provide an 

understanding of the nature and needs 

of individuals at all developmental 

levels, relevant to counseling practice, 

including the following: 

(i) theories of individual and 

family development, and 

transitions across the life 

span; 

(ii) theories of learning and 

personality development; 

(iii) human behavior, including 

an understanding of 

developmental crises, 

disability, addictive 

behavior, psychopathology, 

and environmental factors as 

they affect both normal and 

abnormal behavior; 

(iv) counseling strategies for 

facilitating development over 

the life span; and 

(v) ethical considerations. 

(e) Coursework in Social and Cultural 

Foundations in Counseling. Studies in 

this area provide an understanding of 

issues and trends in a multicultural and 

diverse society that impact clinical 
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mental health counselors and the 

counseling profession, including, the 

following: 

(i) multicultural and pluralistic 

trends, including 

characteristics and concerns 

of counseling individuals 

from diverse groups; 

(ii) attitudes and behavior based 

on factors such as age, race, 

religious preferences, 

physical disability, sexual 

orientation, ethnicity and 

culture, family patterns, 

gender, socioeconomic 

status, and intellectual 

ability; 

(iii) individual, family, and group 

counseling strategies with 

diverse populations; and 

(iv) ethical considerations. 

(f) Coursework in Group Counseling 

Theories and Processes. Studies in this 

area provide an understanding of 

group development, dynamics, and 

counseling theories; group counseling 

methods and skills; and other group 

work approaches, including the 

following: 

(i) principals of group 

dynamics, including group 

counseling components, 

developmental stage 

theories, and group members' 

roles and behaviors; 

(ii) group leadership styles and 

approaches, including 

characteristics of various 

types of group leaders and 

leadership styles; 

(iii) theories of group counseling, 

including commonalities, 

distinguishing 

characteristics, and pertinent 

research and literature; 

(iv) group counseling methods, 

including group counselor 

orientations and behaviors, 

ethical standards, appropriate 

selection criteria, and 

methods of evaluation of 

effectiveness; 

(v) approaches used for other 

types of group work in 

counseling, including task 

groups, support groups, and 

therapy groups; and 

(vi) ethical considerations. 

(g) Coursework in Career Counseling and 

Lifestyle Development. Studies in this 

area provide an understanding of 

career counseling, development, and 

related life factors, including the 

following: 

(i) career-counseling theories 

and decision-making 

process; 

(ii) career, avocational, 

educational, and labor market 

information resources; visual 

and print media; and 

computer-based career 

information systems; 

(iii) career-counseling program 

planning, organization, 

implementation, 

administration, and 

evaluation; 

(iv) interrelationships among 

work, family, and other life 

roles and factors, including 

multicultural and gender 

issues as related to career 

counseling; 

(v) career and educational 

placement counseling, 

follow-up, and evaluation; 

(vi) assessment instruments and 

techniques relevant to career 

counseling; 

(vii) computer-based career-

development applications 

and strategies, including 

computer-assisted career-

counseling systems; 

(viii) career-counseling processes, 

techniques and resources, 

including those applicable to 

specific populations; and 

(ix) ethical considerations. 

(h) Coursework in Assessment in 

Counseling. Studies in this area 

provide an understanding of 

individual and group approaches to 

assessment and evaluation in 

counseling practice, including the 

following: 

(i) theoretical and historical 

bases for assessment 

techniques in counseling; 

(ii) validity, including evidence 

for establishing content, 

construct, and empirical 

validity; 

(iii) reliability, including methods 

of establishing stability, 
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internal, and equivalence 

reliability; 

(iv) appraisal methods, including 

environmental assessment, 

performance assessment, 

individual and group test and 

inventory methods, 

behavioral observations, and 

computer-managed and 

computer-assisted methods; 

(v) psychometric statistics, 

including types of 

assessment scores, measures 

of central tendency, indices 

of variability, standard 

errors, and correlations; 

(vi) age, gender, ethnicity, 

language, disability, and 

cultural factors related to the 

use of assessment and 

evaluation in counseling 

services; 

(vii) strategies for selecting, 

administering, interpreting 

and using assessment and 

evaluation instruments, and 

techniques in counseling; and 

(viii) ethical considerations. 

(i) Coursework in Research and Program 

Evaluation. Studies in this area 

provide an understanding of types of 

research methods, basic statistics, and 

ethical and legal consideration in 

research, including the following: 

(i) basic types of research 

methods to include 

qualitative and quantitative 

research designs; 

(ii) basic parametric and 

nonparametric statistics; 

(iii) principles, practices, and 

applications of needs 

assessment and program 

evaluation; 

(iv) uses of computers for data 

management and analysis; 

and 

(v) ethical and legal 

considerations. 

considerations; or 

(2) If applied on or after July 1, 2022, completed 

graduate training as defined in G.S. 90-336(b2) 

and the required courses of the current version 

of the Council for Accreditation of Counseling 

and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), 

available at www.cacrep.org, at the time of the 

receipt of application as defined in Rule 

.0308(a). The graduate coursework shall 

include, but is not limited to, a minimum of 

three semester hours or five quarter hours in 

each of the required coursework areas of study 

as follows: 

(a) Theories of counseling and 

psychotherapy; 

(b) Evaluation and appraisal procedures; 

(c) Group dynamics, theories and 

techniques; 

(d) Counseling techniques and helping 

skills; 

(e) Multicultural counseling; 

(f) Professional issues and ethics; 

(g) Research; 

(h) Career counseling; 

(i) Psychosocial and human development 

across the lifespan; 

(j) Clinical practicum and clinical mental 

health internship; and 

(k) Use and application of the current 

version of Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), 

appraisal and assessment of mental 

disorders, psychopathology, 

diagnosis, treatment and treatment 

planning, and evidence-based 

intervention and practice; and 

(3) passed an examination as defined in Rule .0305 

of this Chapter; and 

(4) submitted a complete application for licensed 

clinical mental health counselor associate. 

To prevent a lapse in licensure, licensed clinical mental health 

counselor associates who desire to become licensed clinical 

mental health counselors shall complete the application process 

for the licensed clinical mental health counselor licensure no 

earlier than 60 days prior to expiration of their licensed clinical 

mental health counselor associate license or upon completion of 

the supervised professional practice hours as set forth in Rule 

.0208 of this Chapter to allow for administrative processing and 

Board action. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-334(h); 90-336(a); 90-336(b); 90-336 (b1); 90-

336 (b2). 

 

SECTION .0900 – REGISTRATION FOR A 

PROFESSIONAL ENTITY 

 

21 NCAC 53 .0902 RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 

OF REGISTRATION FOR A PROFESSIONAL ENTITY 

A notification for renewal of professional corporation or 

professional limited liability company shall be sent by either U.S. 

mail or electronic mail to each registered entity a minimum of 60 

days prior to the December 31 expiration date. The Board shall 

renew the certificate of registration upon receipt of the completed 

written renewal application of the holder and the renewal fee. 

Failure to renew by the due date shall result in notification to the 

Secretary of State's Office to suspend the Articles of Incorporation 

or Articles of Organization. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-11; 57D-2-01(c); 90-334(h). 
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TITLE 25 – OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

State Human Resources Commission intends to amend the rule 

cited as 25 NCAC 01C .1007. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://oshr.nc.gov/about-oshr/state-hr-commission/proposed-

rulemaking 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  September 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 17, 2022 

Time:  1:00 to 2:00 p.m. 

Location:  STATEOP_MEETME_150 919-662-4657 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Describe circumstances when an 

employee may be separated from state employment by their 

employing agency and detailed notice process to do so.  The rule 

describes in detail when an employee may be separated when 

unable to perform their position’s essential duties listed in the job 

description or designated work schedule and the employee and 

agency are unable to reach agreement on a return to work 

arrangement that meets the needs of the agency and employee’s 

condition in either of the following situations: 

1. Due to medical condition or vagueness of medical prognosis; 

2. Due to court order, loss of required credentials, loss of other 

required certification, or other extenuating circumstances; or 

3. Due to work-related injury if employee has reached maximum 

medical improvement and agency is unable to accommodate the 

employee’s permanent work restrictions related to such injury or 

12 months after the date of the employee’s work-related injury. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Blake Thomas, 116 West 

Jones Street, Raleigh, NC 27511; phone (984) 236-0822; email 

Blake.Thomas@nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  May 2, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN 

RESOURCES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01C – PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION 

 

SECTION .1000 - SEPARATION 

 

25 NCAC 01C .1007 SEPARATION 

(a)  An employee may be separated when: 

(1) the employee remains unavailable for work 

after all applicable leave credits and leave 

benefits have been exhausted and agency 

management does not grant leave without pay, 

as defined in 25 NCAC 01E .1101, if the 

employee is unable to return to all of the 

position's essential duties as set forth in the 

employee's job description or designated work 

schedule due to a medical condition or the 

vagueness of a medical prognosis, and the 

employee and agency are unable to reach 

agreement on a return to work arrangement that 

meets both the needs of the agency and the 

employee's condition; 

(2) notwithstanding any unexhausted applicable 

leave credits and leave benefits, the employee 

is unable to return to all of the position's 

essential duties as set forth in the employee's 

job description or designated work schedule 

due to a court order, due to a loss of required 

credentials, due to a loss of other required 

certification, due to the employee's presence at 

work exposing others to a condition recognized 

as a direct threat by the EEOC, or due to other 

extenuating circumstances that renders the 

employee unable to perform the position's 

essential duties as set forth in the employee's 

job description or designated work schedule, 

and the employee and the agency are unable to 

reach agreement on a return to work 

arrangement that meets both the needs of the 

agency and the employee's situation; or 

(3) notwithstanding any unexhausted applicable 

leave credits and leave benefits, when an 

employee is on workers' compensation leave of 

absence, or when an employee is working with 

temporary or permanent work restrictions due 

to a work-related injury, and the employee is 

unable to return to all of the position's essential 

duties as set forth in the employee's job 

description or designated work schedule due to 

a medical condition or the vagueness of a 
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medical prognosis, and the employee and the 

agency are unable to reach agreement on a 

return to work arrangement that meets both the 

needs of the agency and the employee's medical 

condition, a separation may occur on the 

earliest of the following dates: 

(A) after the employee has reached 

maximum medical improvement for 

the work related injury for which the 

employee is on workers' compensation 

leave of absence and the agency is 

unable to accommodate the 

employee's permanent work 

restrictions related to such injury; or 

(B) 12 months after the date of the 

employee's work related injury. 

(b)  The employing agency shall send the employee written notice 

of the proposed separation in a Pre Separation Letter. The letter 

shall include the employing agency's planned date of separation, 

the efforts undertaken to avoid separation, and why the efforts 

were unsuccessful. This letter shall be sent to the employee at least 

15 calendar days prior to the employing agency's planned date of 

separation. This letter shall include a deadline for the employee to 

respond in writing no less than five calendar days prior to the 

employing agency's planned date of separation. 

(c)  If the agency and employee are unable to agree on terms of 

continued employment or the employee does not respond to the 

Pre Separation letter, the employing agency shall send the 

employee written notice in a Letter of Separation. The letter shall 

be sent no earlier than 20 calendar days after the Pre Separation 

letter is sent to the employee. The Letter of Separation shall state 

the actual date of separation, specific reasons for the separation 

and set forth the employee's right of appeal. Such a separation 

shall not be considered a disciplinary dismissal as described in 

G.S. 126-34.02 or G.S. 126-35. It is an involuntary separation and 

may be grieved or appealed. The burden of proof on the agency in 

the event of a grievance is not to demonstrate just cause as that 

term exists in G.S. 126-34.02 or G.S. 126-35. Rather, the agency's 

burden shall be to prove that the employee was unavailable, that 

efforts were undertaken to avoid separation, and why the efforts 

were unsuccessful. 

(d)  "Applicable leave credits and benefits" is defined as the sick, 

vacation, bonus, incentive, and compensatory leave that the 

employee may earn, but does not include short-term or long-term 

disability. 

 

Authority G.S. 126-4(7a); 126-35. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Rule-making Agency: Criminal Justice Education Training and 

Standards Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  12 NCAC 09B .0101, 12 NCAC 09G .0205 

 

Effective Date:  February 15, 2022 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  February 

7, 2022 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. Session Law 2021-138 

Senate Bill 300 Section 7(c)., effective September 2, 2021. Senate 

Bill 300 is a comprehensive criminal justice reform that 

specifically requires psychological screening examination for 

criminal justice officers prior to employment. Section VII Law 

Enforcement Officer Entry Requirements, Ongoing Requirements, 

and Create a Physical Fitness Study, Section 7(c) states "the 

Commission, by rules and regulations, shall fix other 

qualifications for the employment, training, and retention of 

criminal justice officers including minimum age, education, 

physical and mental standards, citizenship, good moral 

character, experience, and such other matters as relate to the 

competence and reliability of persons to assume and discharge 

the responsibilities of criminal justice officers, and the officers". 

 

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL 

JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND 

TRAINING 

 

SECTION .0100 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received 

a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an 

agency in North Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 

17C-10 as evidenced by the following: 

(a) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(b) not having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 

09B .0111(1) for five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 

(c) not having been convicted of an 

offense that would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

which is hereby incorporated by 

reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and can be 

found at no cost at 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg

/USCODE-2018-

title18/pdf/USCODE-2018-title18-

partI-chap44.pdf; 

(d) having submitted to and produced a 

negative result on a drug test within 60 

days of employment or any in-service 

drug screening required by the 

appointing agency that meets the 

certification standards of the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs. A list of certified 

drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no 

cost, at 

https://www.samhsa.gov/programs-

campaigns/drug-free-

workplace/guidelines-resources/drug-

testing/certified-lab-list; 

(e) submitting to a background 

investigation consisting of the 

verification of age and education and a 

criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(f) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency 

and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or 

general certification; 

(g) not having pending or outstanding 

felony charges that, if convicted of 

such charges, would disqualify the 

applicant from holding such 

certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; 

and 

(h) not having engaged in any conduct 

that brings into question the 

truthfulness or credibility of the 

officer, or involves "moral turpitude." 

"Moral turpitude" is conduct that is 

contrary to justice, honesty, or 
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morality, including conduct as defined 

in: In re Willis 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 

771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 

N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); in re 

Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 

N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 

v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 

647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these cases as authority. 

(4) have been fingerprinted and a search made of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(5) have been examined and certified by a licensed 

surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet physical 

requirements necessary to fulfill the officer's 

particular responsibilities and shall have 

produced a negative result on a drug screen 

administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other initial and 

confirmatory tests authorized or 

mandated by the Department of Health 

and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drug screen shall test for the 

presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values meet the 

requirements established by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 

7920 (2017) incorporated by 

reference, including later amendments 

and editions found at no cost at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu

ments/2017/01/23/2017-

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-

federal-workplace-drug-testing-

programs; 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; and 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination in accordance with G.S. 

17C-10(c). examination, including a face-to-

face, in-person interview conducted by a 

licensed psychologist to determine the criminal 

justice officer's psychological suitability to 

fulfill the responsibilities of the criminal justice 

officer. 

(a) If a face-to-face, in-person interview is 

not practicable, the face-to-face 

evaluation can be virtual as long as 

both the audio and video allow for a 

professional clinical evaluation in a 

clinical environment. 

(b) The psychological screening 

examination shall be given prior to the 

initial certification or prior to the 

criminal justice officer performing any 

action requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(c) The psychological screening shall be 

valid for a period of one year prior to 

the criminal justice officer's initial 

appointment and applies to any 

criminal justice officer seeking initial 

or probationary certification. 

have been administered a psychological 

screening examination by a clinical 

psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to practice 

in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist authorized to practice in 

accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces within one year 

prior to employment by the employing agency 

to determine the officer's mental and emotional 

suitability to properly fulfill the responsibilities 

of the position; 

(7) have been interviewed personally by the 

department head or the department head 

representative or representatives to determine 

such things as the applicant's appearance, 

demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate; 

and 

(8) make the following notifications: 

(a) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer is charged or arrested. This 

shall include traffic offenses identified 

in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual 

and offenses of driving under the 
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influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(b) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer pleads no contest pleads guilty 

or of which the officer is found guilty. 

This shall include traffic offenses 

identified in the Class B Misdemeanor 

Manual and offenses of driving under 

the influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(c) within 30 days of service, officers 

shall notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Protective 

Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer; 

(d) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(e) within 30 days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact 

Orders (G.S. 50C), the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the order, shall also 

notify the Standards Division of these 

orders. 

(9) The required notifications in this Rule shall be 

in writing and shall specify the nature of the 

offense or order, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, 

or service of the order, and the final disposition. 

The notification shall include a certified copy of 

the order or court documentation and final 

disposition from the Clerk of Court in the 

county of adjudication. The requirements of 

this Item shall be applicable at all times during 

which the officer is employed and certified by 

the Commission and shall also apply to all 

applicants for certification. Receipt by the 

Standards Division of a single notification, 

from the officer or the department head, shall 

be sufficient notice for compliance with this 

Item. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001; 

April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2022. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS 

EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION 

 

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CERTIFICATION OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS, AND 

PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been examined and certified within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice by a 

physician licensed in North Carolina, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet the physical requirements to fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities as stated in the essential job 

functions. 

(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been administered within one year prior to employment 

with the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of 

Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice a psychological screening 

examination by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist licensed to 

practice in North Carolina to determine the officer's mental and 

emotional suitability to fulfill the officer's particular 

responsibilities as stated in the essential job functions. a 

psychological screening examination in accordance with G.S. 

17C-10(c). examination, including a face-to-face, in-person 

interview conducted by a licensed psychologist to determine the 

criminal justice officer's psychological suitability to fulfill the 

responsibilities of the criminal justice officer. 

(1) If a face-to-face, in-person interview is not 

practicable, the face-to-face evaluation can be 

virtual as long as both the audio and video allow 

for a professional clinical evaluation in a 

clinical environment. 

(2) The psychological screening examination shall 

be given prior to the initial certification or prior 

to the criminal justice officer performing any 

action requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(3) The psychological screening shall be valid for a 

period of one year prior to the criminal justice 

officer's initial appointment and applies to any 

criminal justice officer seeking initial or 

probationary certification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 
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Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 15, 2022. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on January 20, 2022 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Qualification of Food Service Supervisor 10A NCAC 13F .0405* 35:24 NCR 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .1703 36:02 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Reporting Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0110 36:04 NCR 

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 14B NCAC 16 .0501 36:04 NCR 

Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0807 36:04 NCR 

Fees for Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0903 36:04 NCR 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203 36:04 NCR 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Importation of Gray Foxes 15A NCAC 10B .0102 36:05 NCR 

Shining Lights in Deer Areas 15A NCAC 10B .0115* 36:05 NCR 

Wild Bird Exceptions 15A NCAC 10B .0121 36:05 NCR 

Prohibited Hunting on State Fish Hatcheries 15A NCAC 10B .0122* 36:05 NCR 

Importation of Animal Parts 15A NCAC 10B .0124* 36:05 NCR 

Release of Mute Swans 15A NCAC 10B .0125* 36:05 NCR 

Bear 15A NCAC 10B .0202* 36:05 NCR 

Quail 15A NCAC 10B .0208* 36:05 NCR 

Wild Turkey 15A NCAC 10B .0209 36:05 NCR 

Ruffed Goose 15A NCAC 10B .0210* 36:05 NCR 

Ring-Necked Pheasant (Nonnative Varieties) 15A NCAC 10B .0211* 36:05 NCR 

Groundhog 15A NCAC 10B .0213 36:05 NCR 

Bobcat 15A NCAC 10B .0214 36:05 NCR 

Crows 15A NCAC 10B .0215 36:05 NCR 

Coyote 15A NCAC 10B .0219* 36:05 NCR 

Nutria 15A NCAC 10B .0220* 36:05 NCR 

Striped Skunk 15A NCAC 10B .0221 36:05 NCR 

Armadillo 15A NCAC 10B .0222 36:05 NCR 

Elk 15A NCAC 10B .0225 36:05 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 10B .0301* 36:05 NCR 

Identification 15A NCAC 10C .0201* 36:05 NCR 

Fish Hatcheries 15A NCAC 10C .0212* 36:05 NCR 

Snagging Fish 15A NCAC 10C .0213 36:05 NCR 

Public Access for Anglers Only 15A NCAC 10C .0217* 36:05 NCR 

Controlled Rabbit Hunting Preserves 15A NCAC 10H .1601* 36:07 NCR 
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0405 QUALIFICATIONS OF FOOD 

SERVICE SUPERVISOR 

Each facility shall have a food service supervisor that is 

experienced in food service in commercial, healthcare, or 

congregate care settings who shall consult with a licensed 

dietitian/nutritionist as necessary to meet the dietary needs of the 

residents in accordance with Rule .0904 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1987; April 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  A health service facility that proposes to develop a new open-

heart surgery service shall: 

(1) provide the projected number of open-heart 

surgical procedures to be performed during 

each of the first three full fiscal years of 

operation following completion of the project; 

(2) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Paragraph; and 

(3) project to perform 150 or more open-heart 

surgical procedures in the third full fiscal year 

of operation following completion of the 

project. 

(b)  A health service facility that proposes to acquire a heart-lung 

bypass machine, excluding a heart-lung bypass machine proposed 

to be acquired pursuant to Policy AC-6 in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period, shall: 

(1) provide the number of existing heart-lung 

bypass machines owned or operated by the 

health service facility; 

(2) provide the number of approved heart-lung 

bypass machines that will be owned or operated 

by the health service facility; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the existing and 

approved heart-lung bypass machines 

identified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of 

this Paragraph and the proposed heart-lung 

bypass machine during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (b)(3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the existing and approved heart-

lung bypass machines identified in 

Subparagraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) of this 

Paragraph and the proposed heart-lung bypass 

machine will be used during the third full fiscal 

year of operation following completion of the 

project: 

(A) to perform 200 or more open-heart 

surgical procedures per heart-lung 

bypass machine; or 

(B) for 900 hours or more per heart-lung 

bypass machine, including time in use 

and time spent on standby, for all types 

of procedures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Eff. January 1, 1999 expired October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000 and shall expire on 

the date the permanent amendment to this rule, approved by the 

Rules Review Commission on November 17, 1999, becomes 

effective; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; November 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  If any registrant, trainee, certificate holder, employee, 

subcontractor, or any other person providing private protective 

services on behalf of a licensee is charged with any criminal 

offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke 

a permit, registration or certificate under this Chapter, the licensee 

shall report the criminal charge to the Board either in person or by 

telephone no later than the first business day following knowledge 

of the charge. The licensee shall provide a copy of the charging 

document and a written explanation to the Board within five 

business days. 

(b)  If any licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder, or any 

employee, subcontractor, or any other person providing services 

on behalf of a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder is 

charged with any criminal offense that would constitute grounds 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, registration, or certificate 

under this Chapter, the licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate 

holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the charge. The licensee, trainee, registrant, or 

certificate holder shall provide a copy of the charging document 

and a written explanation to the Board within five business days. 
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(c)  If a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder, or any 

employee, subcontractor, or any other person providing services 

on behalf of a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder 

discharges a firearm while engaged in the private protective 

services business, the licensee shall notify the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report 

to the Board within five business days of the incident. In the 

report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who 

discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the 

location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating 

the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and 

any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall 

not apply to a weapon that is discharged during a training course 

that has been approved by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0112 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0501 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS 

FOR A POLYGRAPH LICENSE 

(a)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, applicants for a polygraph license shall: 

(1) pass an examination and a performance test 

administered by a panel of polygraph examiners 

appointed by an entity designated by the Board; 

(2) successfully complete a course of instruction at 

any polygraph school approved by the 

American Polygraph Association, the 

American Association of Police Polygraphists, 

or the Board; and 

(3) have either: 

(A) one year of verifiable polygraph 

experience; or 

(B) complete at least six months of 

training as a holder of a polygraph 

trainee permit, and have administered 

no fewer than 50 polygraph 

examinations; or 

(4) establish to the Board's satisfaction a military 

occupational specialty and two years of 

verifiable experience within the past five years 

in the U.S. Armed Forces performing polygraph 

examinations. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Section .0200 of this 

Chapter, an applicant for a polygraph license who is the spouse of 

an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces shall establish 

to the Board's satisfaction: 

(1) the spouse holds a current license, certification, 

or registration from another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction's requirements are 

substantially equivalent to or exceed the 

Board's requirements; and 

(2) the spouse has two years of verifiable 

experience within the past five years 

performing polygraph examinations. 

(c)  Applicants for a polygraph license may take the examination 

required in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule no more than twice 

within a 12 month period. All portions of the examination must 

be completed within that 12 month period. Any applicant who 

fails the polygraph examination four times shall retake the 

polygraph course of instruction required in Subparagraph (a)(2) 

of this Rule before taking the polygraph examination again. 

(d)  Polygraph operators who are duly licensed in another state 

may perform up to three examinations in this State without being 

licensed, provided that those examinations are for the purpose of 

an evaluation of that examiner and the Director has given 

authorization for this evaluation in advance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 93B-15.1; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; October 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0501 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0807 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall first complete the basic unarmed security guard 

training course set forth in Rule .0707 of this Chapter. 

(b)  Private investigator licensees applying for an armed security 

guard firearm registration permit shall first complete a five-hour 

training course consisting of the courses set forth in Rule 

.0707(a)(1) and (2) of this Chapter and all additional training 

requirements set forth in that Rule. 

(c)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall complete a basic training course for armed security 

guards which consists of at least 20 hours of classroom instruction 

including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules and 

regulations relating to armed security guards 

(minimum of four hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) handgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum of four hours). 

Subparagraph (c)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (c)(3), and 

Subparagraph (c)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(d)  Applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

firearms range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office, once in three consecutive attempts. Should a 
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student fail to attain a score of 80 percent accuracy, the student 

may be given a second opportunity to qualify once in three 

consecutive attempts on the course of fire the student did not pass. 

Failure to qualify after the second series of attempts shall require 

the student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed 

security guards. All attempts must take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. For rifle qualification 

all shots shall be located on the target. 

(e)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be completed 

no more than 90 days prior to the date of issuance of the armed 

security guard firearm registration permit. 

(f)  All applicants for an armed security guard firearm registration 

permit shall obtain training under the provisions of this Section 

using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or ballistic 

equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition that 

meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil of the 

duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(g)  No more than six new or renewal armed security guard 

applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing line at 

any one time during firearms range training for armed security 

guards. 

(h)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit shall complete a basic recertification 

training course for armed security guards that consists of at least 

four hours of classroom instruction and is a review of the 

requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of 

this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 180 days after 

completion of the course. Applicants for recertification of an 

armed security guard firearm registration permit shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(i)  An armed guard registered with one company may be 

registered with a second company. The registration shall be 

considered "dual." The registration with the second company shall 

expire at the same time that the registration expires with the first 

company. An updated application shall be required to be 

submitted by the applicant, along with the digital photograph, 

updated criminal records checks, and a forty dollar ($40.00) 

registration fee. If the guard will be carrying a firearm of the same 

make, model, and caliber, then no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

(j)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed security guard, an 

applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements of 

Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of this Rule, six hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotgun 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of two hours); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour). 

Subparagraph (j)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (j)(3), and 

Subparagraph (j)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to the 

applicant's participation in range firing. 

(k)  An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a 

time after the initial training in this Rule. If the shotgun training 

is completed at a later time, the shotgun certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraph (j) of this Rule, applicants 

shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a shotgun 

range qualification course adopted by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the Director's office. 

(l)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete one hour 

of classroom training covering the topics set forth in Paragraph (j) 

of this Rule and shall also complete the requirements of Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(m)  To be authorized to carry a rifle in the performance of his or 

her duties as an armed security guard, an applicant shall complete, 

in addition to the requirements of Paragraphs (a), (c), and (d) of 

this Rule, 16 hours of classroom training which shall include the 

following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of rifles (minimum 

of one hour); 

(2) rifle safety, including range firing procedures 

(minimum of one hour); 

(3) rifle operation and maintenance (minimum of 

two hours); 

(4) rifle fundamentals (minimum of ten hours); and 

(5) night firing (minimum two hours). 

Subparagraph (m)(2), "operation" under Subparagraph (m)(3), 

and Subparagraph (m)(4) of this Rule shall be completed prior to 

the applicant's participation in range firing. 

(n)  The applicant shall pass a skills course that tests each basic 

rifle skill and the test of each skill shall be completed within three 

attempts. 

(o)  An applicant may take the additional rifle training at a time 

after the initial training in this Rule. If the rifle training is 

completed at a later time, the rifle certification shall run 

concurrent with the armed registration permit. In addition to the 

requirements set forth in Paragraphs (m) and (n) of this Rule, 

applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent accuracy on a 

rifle range qualification course adopted by the Board and the 

Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on file in the 

Director's office. 

(p)  Applicants for rifle recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training covering the topics set 

forth in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and shall also complete the 

requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(q)  Upon written request, an applicant for an armed security guard 

firearm registration permit who possesses a current firearms 

trainer certificate shall be given a firearms registration permit that 

will run concurrent with the trainer certificate upon completion of 

an annual qualification with the applicant's duty firearms as set 

forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(r)  An armed security guard is required to qualify annually both 

for day and night firing with his or her duty handgun, shotgun, 

and rifle, if applicable. If the security guard fails to qualify on any 
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course of fire, the security guard shall not carry the firearm until 

such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. Upon 

failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the security 

guard that he or she is no longer authorized to carry the firearm 

and the firearm instructor shall notify the employer and the Private 

Protective Services Board staff on the next business day. 

(s)  A firearm training certificate of an armed security guard 

remains valid even if the guard leaves the employment of one 

company for the employment of another. The range qualifications 

shall remain valid if the guard will be carrying a firearm of the 

same make, model, and caliber and no additional firearms training 

shall be required. The licensee shall submit a letter stating the 

guard will be carrying the same make and model firearm. If the 

guard will be carrying a firearm of a different make and model, 

the licensee shall submit a letter to the Board advising of the 

make, model, and caliber of the firearm the guard will be carrying 

and the guard shall be required to qualify at the firing range on 

both the day and night qualification course. The qualification 

score is valid for 180 days after completion of the course. 

However, nothing herein shall extend the period of time the 

qualification is valid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1990; July 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 14, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 

February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0807 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2016; October 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0903 FEES FOR TRAINER 

CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Trainer certificate fees are as follows: 

(1) fifty-dollar ($50.00) non-refundable initial 

application fee for firearms trainer applicants; 

(2) fifty-dollar ($50.00) non-refundable initial 

application fee for an unarmed trainer 

applicant; and 

(3) twenty-five dollar ($25.00) biennial fee for a 

renewal or replacement trainer certificate. 

(b)  Fees shall be paid online by credit card or other form of 

electronic funds transfer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-9; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2005; January 1, 2004; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0903 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course content changes or the course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 
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Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022; January 1, 2022; July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0102 IMPORTATION OF GRAY 

FOXES 

The importation of gray foxes into Anson, Avery, Burke, 

Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Davidson, Gaston, 

Lincoln, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, 

Moore, Richmond, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Union and 

Yancey Counties is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.3; 

113-291.4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0115 SHINING LIGHTS IN DEER 

AREAS 

(a)  Intentionally shining a light upon a deer or sweeping a light 

in search of deer between the hours of 11:00 p.m. and one-half 

hour before sunrise is prohibited in the following counties: 

(1) Beaufort;  

(2) Bladen;  

(3) Brunswick;  

(4) Camden;  

(5) Chowan;  

(6) Currituck;  

(7) Duplin;  

(8) Franklin;  

(9) Gates;  

(10) Greene;  

(11) Hertford;  

(12) Hyde;  

(13) Jones;  

(14) Lenoir;  

(15) Martin;  

(16) Nash;  

(17) Pamlico;  

(18) Pasquotank;  

(19) Pender;  

(20) Perquimans;  

(21) Pitt;  

(22) Sampson;  

(23) Tyrrell;  

(24) Vance;  

(25) Wake;  

(26) Warren;  

(27) Washington; and  

(28) Wayne.  

(b)  Intentionally shining a light upon a deer or sweeping a light 

in search of deer between the hours of one-half hour after sunset 

and one-half hour before sunrise is prohibited in the following 

counties or portions thereof: 

(1) Alamance;  

(2) Alexander;  

(3) Alleghany;  

(4) Anson;  

(5) Ashe;  

(6) Avery; -- that portion south and east of 

Highway 221; 

(7) Buncombe;  

(8) Burke;  

(9) Cabarrus;  

(10) Caswell;  

(11) Catawba;  

(12) Chatham;  

(13) Cherokee;  

(14) Clay;  

(15) Cleveland;  

(16) Cumberland;  

(17) Davidson;  

(18) Davie;  

(19) Durham;  

(20) Edgecombe;  

(21) Forsyth;  

(22) Gaston;  

(23) Granville;  

(24) Guilford;  

(25) Halifax;  

(26) Harnett;  

(27) Henderson;  

(28) Hoke;  

(29) Iredell;  

(30) Johnston;  

(31) Lee;  

(32) Lincoln;  

(33) Macon;  

(34) McDowell;  

(35) Mecklenburg;  

(36) Mitchell;  

(37) Montgomery;  

(38) Northampton;  

(39) Orange;  

(40) Person;  

(41) Polk;  

(42) Randolph;  

(43) Robeson;  

(44) Rockingham;  

(45) Rowan;  

(46) Rutherford;  

(47) Stanly;  

(48) Stokes;  

(49) Surry;  

(50) Swain;  

(51) Transylvania;  

(52) Union;  

(53) Watauga; and  

(54) Yancey.  
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(c)  Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule shall not be construed to 

prevent: 

(1) the lawful hunting of raccoon or opossum 

during open season with artificial lights 

designed or commonly used in taking raccoon 

and opossum at night; 

(2) the necessary shining of lights by landholders 

on their own lands; 

(3) the shining of lights necessary to normal travel 

by motor vehicles on roads or highways; or 

(4) the use of lights by campers and others who are 

legitimately in areas specified in Paragraphs (a) 

and (b) for other reasons and who are not 

attempting to attract or to immobilize deer by 

the use of lights. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; S.L. 1981, 

c. 410; S.L. 1981 (Second Session 1982), c. 1180; 

Eff. November 11, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; April 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; 

November 1, 1995; March 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0121 WILD BIRD EXCEPTIONS 

The following wild birds are excluded from the definition of "wild 

birds" contained in G.S. 113-129(15a):  

(1) English sparrow (Passer domesticus); 

(2) Eurasian collared dove (Streptopelia decaocto); 

(3) pigeon (Columba livia); 

(4) mute swan (Cygnus olor); and 

(5) starling (Sturnus vulgaris). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 

Eff. December 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2010; May 1, 2006; October 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0122 PROHIBITED HUNTING ON 

STATE FISH HATCHERIES 

Possessing a loaded firearm within a posted restricted zone or 

discharging a firearm into or across a restricted zone on any State-

owned fish hatchery is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 

Eff. September 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0124 IMPORTATION OF ANIMAL 

PARTS 

(a)  It is unlawful to import, transport, or possess a cervid carcass 

or carcass part originating from outside of North Carolina except: 

(1) meat that has been boned out such that no 

pieces or fragments of bone remain; 

(2) caped hides with no part of the skull or spinal 

column attached; 

(3) antlers, antlers attached to cleaned skull plates, 

or skulls free from meat or brain tissue; 

(4) cleaned lower jawbones with teeth or cleaned 

teeth; or 

(5) finished taxidermy products and tanned hides. 

(b)  Any cervid carcass, carcass part, or container of cervid meat 

or carcass parts listed in Subparagraph (a)(1) through (4) of this 

Rule shall be labeled or identified with the following information: 

(1) the individual's name and address; 

(2) the state, Canadian province, or foreign country 

of origin; and 

(3) the date the cervid was killed and the 

individual's hunting license number, permit 

number, or equivalent identification from the 

state, Canadian province, or foreign country of 

origin. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-291.2; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0125 RELEASE OF MUTE SWANS 

(a)  Individuals shall not release mute swans (Cygnus olor) into 

the public waters of North Carolina.  

(b)  Any individual who releases mute swan into privately 

controlled waters, possesses, or confines mute swans or any 

progeny of mute swans on their property, shall ensure that the 

animal has been pinioned. 

(c)  For the purposes of this Rule, "privately controlled waters" 

means: 

(1) a body of water lying wholly upon a single tract 

of privately owned land or a body of water lying 

entirely within private property, even if that 

property is comprised of multiple tracts owned 

by one or multiple individuals; and 

(2) waters to which the public does not have access 

without permission of one or more of the 

private landowners surrounding the water(s). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-292(d); 

Eff. July 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR 

(a)  Open Seasons for hunting bear shall be from the: 

(1) Monday on or nearest October 15 through the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving and the third 

Monday after Thanksgiving through January 1 

in and west of Surry, Wilkes, Caldwell, Burke, 

and Cleveland counties; 

(2) second Monday in November through January 

1 in Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, 

Cumberland, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, 

Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, and Sampson 

counties; 

(3) second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Beaufort, Bertie, Craven, 

Hertford, Jones, Martin, and Washington 

counties; 
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(4) second Saturday in November through the third 

Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell 

counties; 

(5) second Saturday in November through the 

second Sunday thereafter and the third Saturday 

after Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday 

after Thanksgiving in Currituck, Gates, and 

Perquimans counties; 

(6) second Sunday in November through the 

following Sunday, when November 1 falls on a 

Sunday the season shall be from the third 

Sunday in November through the following 

Sunday, and the third Saturday after 

Thanksgiving through the fifth Sunday after 

Thanksgiving in Camden, Chowan, and 

Pasquotank counties; 

(7) third Saturday in November though the fifth 

Sunday thereafter in Edgecombe, Greene, 

Halifax, Lenoir, Nash, Northampton, Pitt, 

Wayne, and Wilson counties; and 

(8) concurrent with the open season for all lawful 

weapons for hunting deer as specified in 15A 

NCAC 10B .0203(a)(1) in Alamance, 

Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 

Catawba, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Durham, 

Franklin, Forsyth, Gaston, Granville, Guilford, 

Harnett, Hoke, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Orange, 

Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, 

Rowan, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Union, 

Vance, Wake, Warren, and Yadkin counties. 

(b)  Restrictions 

(1) For purposes of this Paragraph, "bait" means 

any natural, unprocessed food product that is a 

grain, fruit, nut, vegetable, or other material 

harvested from a plant crop that is not modified 

from its raw components. 

(2) Bears shall not be taken with the use or aid of: 

(A) any processed food product as defined 

in G.S. 113-294(r), any animal, animal 

part or product, salt, salt lick, honey, 

sugar, sugar-based material, syrups, 

candy, pastry, gum, candy block, oils, 

spices, peanut butter, or grease; 

(B) any extracts of substances identified in 

Part (A) of this Subparagraph; 

(C) any substances modified by 

substances identified in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph, including any extracts 

of those substances; or 

(D) any bear bait attractant, including 

sprays, aerosols, scent balls, and scent 

powders. 

(3) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait from the 

Monday on or nearest October 15 to the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving in the counties in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

(4) Bears may be taken with the aid of bait during 

the entire open season in the counties identified 

in Subparagraphs (a)(2) through (a)(8) of this 

Rule. 

(5) Bears shall not be taken while in the act of 

consuming bait as specified in G.S. 113-

291.1(b)(2). 

(6) Hunters shall not take bears using dogs in the 

following counties: Alamance south of 

Interstate 85, Anson west of N.C. Hwy 742, 

Cabarrus, Chatham, Davie, Davidson, Franklin, 

Forsyth, Gaston, Guilford, Lee, Lincoln, 

Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange south of 

Interstate 85, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, 

Stanly, Union, and Wake south of N.C. Hwy 

98. In all other counties and parts of counties, 

hunters may take bears using dogs and may 

release dogs in the vicinity of bait. 

(c)  No Open Season. It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted 

bear sanctuaries except when authorized by permit issued by the 

Commission. See 15A NCAC 10D .0106 for posted bear 

sanctuaries. 

(d)  The daily bag limit for bear is one, the possession limit is one, 

and the season limit is one. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

113-291.7; 113-305; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; September 1, 1995; July 1, 1995; July 

1, 1994; April 14, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amendment Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. December 27, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2015; August 1, 2014; August 1, 2012; 

August 1, 2010; May 1, 2009; May 1, 2008; May 1, 2007; May 1, 

2006; June 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; August 1, 2016; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2019; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0208 QUAIL 

(a)  The open season for quail is the Saturday before Thanksgiving 

through the last day of February. 

(b)  The daily bag limit is six, the possession limit is 12, and there 

is no season limit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 

1985; July 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

36:17 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER MARCH 1, 2022 

1463 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0209 WILD TURKEY 

(a)  The open season for wild turkey is from the second Saturday 

in April through the fourth Saturday thereafter on bearded or male 

turkeys only. 

(b)  The daily bag limit is one, the possession limit is two, and the 

season limit is two. 

(c)  The use of dogs for hunting wild turkeys is prohibited. 

(d)  The following shall apply to Spring Youth Only Wild Turkey 

Season: 

(1) the open season is from the first Saturday in 

April through the Friday thereafter on bearded 

or male wild turkeys only. 

(2) the season limit is one. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 

113-291.2; 113-291.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; July 1, 1997; July 1, 1996; July 1, 

1995; July 1, 1994; July 1, 1993; July 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 1999; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002 (approved by RRC on 06/21/01 and 

04/18/02); 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2018; August 1, 2017; January 1, 2013; 

May 1, 2009; May 1, 2007; November 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0210 RUFFED GROUSE  

(a)  The open season for taking ruffed grouse is the Monday on or 

nearest October 15 through the last day of February. 

(b)  The daily bag limit is three, the possession limit is six, and the 

season limit is 30. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 1985; July 1, 

1984; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0211 RING-NECKED PHEASANT  

(a)  The open season for taking ring-necked pheasant shall be the 

Saturday before Thanksgiving Day to February 1 on male 

pheasant only. 

(b)  The daily bag limit for ring-necked pheasants is three, the 

possession limit is six, and the season limit is 30. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2018; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1986; July 1, 

1985; July 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0213 GROUNDHOG 

(a)  There is no closed season for groundhogs. 

(b)  There is no bag limit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0214 BOBCAT 

(a)  The open season for hunting bobcat is the Monday on or 

nearest October 15 through the last day in February. 

(b)  There is no bag limit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1996; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; July 1, 

1986; July 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0215 CROWS 

(a)  Open seasons for hunting crows are as follows: Wednesday, 

Friday, and Saturday of each week from the first Wednesday in 

June through the last day of February and on the following 

holidays: July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New 

Years, and Martin Luther King, Jr., except when those days occur 

on a Sunday. 

(b)  There is no bag limit.  

(c)  Hunters may use electronic calls to take crows. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

50 C.F.R. 20.133; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2009; May 1, 2006; June 1, 2005; July 1, 

1991; July 1, 1987; July 1, 1984; July 1, 1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2017; January 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0219 COYOTE 

(a)  When taking coyotes, the following shall apply: 

(1) There is no closed season for taking coyotes. 

(2) There is no bag limit. 

(2) Coyotes may be taken on private lands anytime 

during the day or night. 

(3) Coyotes may be taken on public lands without 

a permit from the hours of one-half hour before 

sunrise until one-half hour after sunset.  

(4) Coyotes may be taken on public lands with a 

permit from one-half hour after sunset to one-

half hour before sunrise. 

(5) Hunters may use electronic calls and artificial 

lights to take coyotes. 

(b)  In the counties of Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrell, and 

Washington, the following shall apply: 

(1) Coyote hunting on public lands is prohibited, 

except that coyotes may be taken on State-

owned game lands by the holder of a permit for 

a specific special hunt opportunity for coyotes 

authorized by G.S 113-264(d).  
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(2) Any special hunt for coyotes pursuant to G.S. 

113-264(d) shall only allow hunting from the 

hours of one-half hour before sunrise until one-

half hour after sunset. 

(3) Contests or competition coyote hunts on public 

lands are prohibited. 

(4) If, within a calendar year, two or more red 

wolves are shot by one or more hunters with a 

valid special hunt permit for coyotes on State 

game lands within the five counties identified 

in this Paragraph, all special hunts for coyotes 

on State game lands within those five counties 

shall be suspended for one calendar year. 

(5) Coyotes may be taken on private lands by 

permit only, and any take shall be reported 

within 24 hours to the by phone at 919-707-

0040 or online at www.ncwildlife.org. 

(6) There is no closed season for taking coyotes on 

private lands. Coyotes may be taken on private 

lands from hours of one-half hour before 

sunrise until one-half hour after sunset only. 

(4) Coyote hunting permits are in addition to 

hunting licenses. Individuals exempted from 

license requirements under the provisions 

specified in G.S. 113-276 shall acquire the 

coyote hunting permits to hunt coyotes in the 

counties specified in this Paragraph. Coyote 

hunting permits are valid for one calendar year 

and are subject to annual renewal. These 

permits are non-transferable. Permit holders 

shall submit their harvest reports in order to be 

eligible for permit renewal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.1; 

113-291.2; 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2012; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 1, 2014 and shall remain in 

effect until amendments expire as specified in G.S. 150B-21.1(d) 

or the United States District Court for the Eastern District of 

North Carolina's court order number 2:13-CV-60-BOs signed on 

May 13, 2014 is rescinded, whichever date is earlier. The court 

order is available at www.ncwildlife.org; 

Amended Eff. July 26, 2013; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 27, 2015; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0220 NUTRIA 

(a)  There is no closed season for taking nutria by hunting. 

(b)  There is no bag limit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2; 113-

291.1(a); 

Eff. July 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0221 STRIPED SKUNK 

(a)  There is no closed season for taking striped skunk by hunting. 

(b)  There is no bag limit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0222 ARMADILLO 

(a)  There is no closed season for taking armadillo by hunting. 

(b)  There is no bag limit.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 

Eff. August 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0225 ELK 

(a)  The season for taking elk is October 1 through November 1. 

(b)  Hunting shall be by permit only. 

(c)  The bag limit is one per permit. 

(d)  Elk may be taken by any legal weapon as specified in G.S. 

113-291.1. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291; 113-291.1; 

113-291.2; 

Eff. August 1, 2016; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0301 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Breakaway device" means any device 

incorporated into a snare or snare component 

that allows the loop to break open, and an 

animal to escape completely free of the snare, 

when a specified amount of force is applied. 

(2) "Collarum™-type trap" means any power-

activated snare that is activated when the trigger 

is pulled and that is designed to capture and 

restrain the animal by a cable around the neck. 

(3) "Leghold" and "foothold" mean any trap 

designed to hold an animal by the foot. 

(4) "Loop stop" means a device that is attached to 

the snare cable to prevent the loop from closing 

beyond a specified point. 

(5) "Power-activated" means a snare on which the 

speed or direction of the loop closure is initiated 

or augmented by some type of powering device 

like a spring.  

(6) "Relaxing lock" means a snare lock that allows 

the snare loop to release constriction pressure 

on the captured animal when the cable is not 

taut. 

(7) "Snare" means any cable restraining device. 

(8) "Steel-jaw" means any leghold or foothold trap 

in which the jaw(s) are made of metal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.6; 

Eff. January 1, 2011; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 10C .0201 IDENTIFICATION 

An individual shall have means of identification on their person 

indicating their current residence while fishing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-276.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0212 FISH HATCHERIES 

(a)  Fishing by any method at any time in the waters of Bones 

Creek from the Lake Rim Dam to the US 401 Bypass (Raeford 

Road) or upon any property used in conjunction with any State 

fish hatchery is prohibited, except that fishing shall be allowed:  

(1) In McKinney Lake; and 

(2) at any fishing event conducted by the 

Commission 

(b)  On Lake Rim it shall be unlawful to: 

(1) use motorized boats, except those powered by 

electric motors; 

(2) swim or bathe at any time; or 

(3) use, or have in one's possession, any minnows, 

or other species of fish except golden shiners 

for use as bait. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-292; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1998; May 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004 (this amendment replaces the 

amendment approved by RRC on July 17, 2003); 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0213 SNAGGING FISH 

Snagging by means of pulling or jerking a device equipped with 

one or more hooks through the water for the purpose of impaling 

fish is prohibited in all inland fishing waters. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1989; January 1, 1981; January 1, 1979; 

January 1, 1978; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0217 PUBLIC ACCESS FOR 

ANGLERS ONLY 

(a)  By accepting and posting the Public Access for Fishing Only 

sign from the Wildlife Resources Commission on their property, 

a landowner: 

(1) agrees to allow any member of the public with 

a valid fishing license and any accompanying 

youth to cross his or her property in order to 

access public waters for the purpose of fishing; 

and 

(2) designates the Wildlife Resources Commission 

as an agent as described in G.S. 14-159.6. As an 

agent, the Commission confers access to any 

member of the public with a valid fishing 

license and any accompanying youth. 

(b)  Anglers who access property under the terms of this Rule are 

prohibited from engaging in any of the following activities while 

on the private property unless otherwise posted: 

(1) building fires; 

(2) littering; 

(3) swimming; 

(4) launching or retrieving boats; 

(5) camping; 

(6) causing property damage; 

(7) entering before 7:00 a.m.; and 

(8) remaining on the property after 9:00 p.m. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 14-159.6; 113-134; 113-305; 

Eff. August 1, 2014; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 10H .1601 CONTROLLED RABBIT 

HUNTING PRESERVES 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, a controlled rabbit hunting 

preserve ("preserve") shall mean an area of any size that is 

completely and permanently enclosed with a fence designed to 

prevent the escape or entry of wild rabbits at any time, where wild 

rabbits are pursued with dogs. 

(b)  For the purpose of this Rule, "wild rabbits" means eastern 

cottontail (Sylvilagus floridanus), Appalachian cottontail 

(Sylvilagus obscurus), marsh rabbits (Sylvilagus palustris), and 

species indistinguishable from these species. 

(c)  The following conditions shall apply to the take of wild rabbits 

on controlled rabbit hunting preserves: 

(1) take of wild rabbits shall be authorized year-

round; 

(2) dogs shall be the only authorized manner of 

take; and 

(3) unless otherwise exempt from license 

requirements, every person participating in the 

pursuit of rabbits on a controlled rabbit hunting 

preserve shall have a valid resident or 

nonresident hunting license or a controlled 

hunting preserve hunting license in his or her 

possession, in accordance with 15A NCAC 10B 

.0114. 

(d)  Any individual wanting to operate a controlled rabbit hunting 

preserve shall first obtain a controlled rabbit hunting preserve 

operator license from the Commission. 

(e)  One controlled hunting preserve operator license is required 

for each enclosure, except that one license is permitted for the 

same operator on properties not greater than 100 acres of 

contiguous acres of land regardless of the number of enclosures. 

(f)  Applicants for a controlled hunting preserve operator license 

shall show proof of ownership or lease of the land contained in 

the proposed controlled rabbit hunting preserve. 

(g)  Application for a controlled rabbit hunting preserve operator 

license shall be made online at www.ncwildlife.org or at the 

Commission headquarters located at 1751 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, 

NC 27606-2576. Information required from the applicant shall 

include: 

(1) the applicant's name, address, telephone 

number, date of birth; and 
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(2) the preserve name, address, county, acreage, 

and number of enclosures. 

(h)  License holders shall keep an accurate record of all rabbits 

released into or removed from the preserve on a form provided by 

the Commission. Records shall contain the following information: 

(1) the number of rabbits released into the preserve; 

(2) the county of origin; and 

(3) name, address, and applicable hunting license 

number of the individual that provided the 

rabbits to the preserve. 

(i)  Records required in Paragraph (h) of this Rule shall be: 

(1) available for inspection by representatives of 

the Commission upon request; and 

(2) submitted to and received by the Commission 

annually by May 1. 

(j)  In accordance with season and bag limits in 15A NCAC 10B 

.0207, rabbits may be box trapped inside an enclosure and moved 

between enclosures with a valid controlled rabbit hunting 

preserve operator license or valid hunting license. 

(k)  Controlled hunting preserve operator licenses shall not be 

transferable, either by transferring the license or by relocating the 

site of the preserve. 

(l)  Upon receipt of an application accompanied by the license fee, 

the Commission shall issue a controlled rabbit hunting preserve 

operator license, provided the rules in this Section regarding 

establishment of such areas have been complied with. 

(m)  Representatives of the Commission shall be permitted to 

enter the premises of any licensed controlled rabbit hunting 

preserve upon request or during the preserve's operating hours for 

inspection, enforcement, or scientific purposes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273(g); 113-

276(k); 

Eff. February 1, 2022. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission March 17, 2022 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 March 17, 2022 May 19, 2022 
 April 21, 2022 June 16, 2022 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, March 17, 2022, 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02L .0202 (May) 
B. Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 03I .0108, .0115, .0122; 03J .0103, .0104, .0106, .0111, 

.0202, .0208, .0401, .0402;  03L .0207, .0210, .0301, .0302; 03M .0301, .0302, .0511, .0516, .0519; 
18A .0134, .0136, .0137, .0138, .0139, .0144, .0145, .0147, .0148, .0149, .0151, .0152, .0153, .0156, 
.0157, .0158, .0161, .0162, .0164, .0165, .0166, .0168, .0173, .0174, .0175, .0176, .0177, .0178, .0181, 
.0182, .0183, .0184, .0185, .0186, .0187, .0191 (May) 

C. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1801, .1802, 
.1803, .1804, .1805 (Liebman) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between January 21, 2022 through February 21, 2022 

• DHHS - Division of Health Benefits (Duke) 

• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 

• Department of Labor (Duke) 

• Environmental Management Commission (Liebman) 

• Board of Barber Examiners (Liebman) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC 
Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

• Review of Reports 
1. 16 NCAC 06 – State Board of Education (Duke) 
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VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: April 21, 2022  
 

 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

January 21, 2022 through February 21, 2022 
 

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 21 concern medical assistance administration.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 21A concern appeals (.0300). 

Conducting Department Appeal Hearings by Telephone or Ele... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 21A .0304 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Responsibilities of the School Director 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0202 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0209 

Radar Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0210 

Time-Distance Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0211 

Certification Training for Radar Operators 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0212 

Certification Training for Radar/Time-Distance Operators 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0213 

Certification Training for Time-Distance Operators 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0214 

Specialized Firearms Instruction Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0226 

Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor ... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0232 

Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0233 

LIDAR Instructor Training Course 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0237 

Certification Training for LIDAR Operators 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0238 

Certification Training for Radar/Lidar Operators  12 NCAC 09B .0242 
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Amend* 

Certification Training for Radar/Time-Distance/LIDAR Oper... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0244 

Trainee Attendance 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0404 

Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0417 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Instructor Training 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0414 

Corrections Specialized Instructor Training - Firearms 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0415 

Corrections Specialized Instructor Training - Controls, R... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0416 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B govern the commission organization and procedure (.0100); enforcement rules (.0200); 
minimum standards for employment as a justice officer (deputy or jailer) (.0300); certification of justice officers (.0400); 
standards and accreditation for justice officers schools, training programs, and the instructors (.0500-.0900); certificate 
and awards programs for sheriffs, deputies, justice officers, jailers, reserve officers, and telecommunicators (.1000-
.1700); in-service training (.2000); and firearms in-service training and re-qualification (.2100). 

Report of Separation 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 10B .0405 

LABOR, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 13 concern boiler and pressure vessel including definitions (.0100); administration (.0200); 
enforcement of standards (.0300); general requirements (.0400); non-standard boilers and pressure vessels (.0500); 
and nuclear energy systems (.0700). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0101 

Incorporated - Standards 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0103 

Name: Address 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0201 

Inspector Qualification 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0202 

North Carolina Commission 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0203 

Owner-User Inspection Organization 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0205 

Inspection Reports 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0207 

Shop Inspections and National Board "R" Certifi... 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0210 
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Certificate Inspections 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0211 

Certificate and Inspection Fees 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0213 

Extended Pressure Equipment Operating Certificates 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0214 

Inspections Revealing Deficiencies 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0303 

Design and Construction Standards 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0401 

North Carolina Stamping and Registration 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0402 

Pressure Relief Devices 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0405 

High Pressure or Temperature Limit Control 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0406 

Automatic Low-Water Fuel Cutoff Controls and Water-Feedin... 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0409 

Firing Mechanism Controls 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0420 

Exhibition Boilers 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0422 

Model Hobby Boilers 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0423 

Standards 
Amend* 

 13 NCAC 13 .0701 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 2H concern procedures for permits: approvals including point source discharges to the surface 
waters (.0100); waste not discharged to surface waters (.0200); coastal waste treatment disposal (.0400); water quality 
certification (.0500); laboratory certification (.0800); local pretreatment programs (.0900); stormwater management 
(.1000); biological laboratory certification (.1100); special orders (.1200); discharges to isolated wetlands and isolated 
waters (.1300); and discharges to federally non-jurisdictional wetlands and federally non-jurisdictional classified surface 
waters (.1400). 

Scope and Purpose 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1301 

Scope and Purpose 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1401 

Filing Applications 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1402 

Public Notice and Public Hearing 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1403 

Decision on Application for Permits or Certificates of Co... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1404 

Review of Applications 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 02H .1405 

BARBER EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 6F concern barber schools. 
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Physical Structure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06F .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 6L concern barber shops. 

Equipment 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06L .0103 

Sanitary Ratings and Posting of Ratings 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06L .0118 

The rules in Subchapter 6N establish fees and provide for the use of various forms.  

Fees, Access to Forms, and Renewals 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 06N .0101 

 

 

 

 


