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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0704. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 17, 2022 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC  27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Detention Officers seeking 

certification with the Sheriffs' Commission must comply with 

basic training requirements set forth by the Commission.  One 

such requirement is mandated by 12 NCAC 10B .0704.  This rule 

requires that the Detention Officer Certification Course (DOCC) 

must be taught in consecutive weeks. However, continuing a 

course when there is an outbreak of COVID-19, any of its 

variants, or any other unforeseen public emergency poses a threat 

to the safety, health and well-being for the students and staff. 

Likewise a delay in a detention officer receiving this important 

training, as well as the understaffing of a jail facility when officers 

are away attending training, may also threaten the safety of both 

officers and inmates.   

 

These courses are delivered various locations across the state. 

The Commission is proposing this rule change so that the Division 

Director may waive this requirement under certain circumstances 

in the event of a lawfully declared State of Emergency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, 1700 Tryon 

Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 662-4375; email 

dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0700 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICER SCHOOLS AND TRAINING PROGRAMS OR 

COURSES OF INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0704 RESPONSIBILITIES: SCHOOL 

DIRECTORS, DETENTION OFFICER COURSE 

(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each 

commission-certified Detention Officer Certification Course, the 

school director shall: 

(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum 

in accordance with the curriculum standards 

established by the rules in this Chapter. 

(A) The Detention Officer Certification 

Course shall be presented with a 

minimum of 40 hours of instruction 

each week during consecutive 

calendar weeks until course 

requirements are completed, with the 

exception of weeks in which there are 

regularly scheduled holidays. 

(B) In the event of exceptional or 

emergency circumstances, the 

Director shall, upon written finding of 

justification, grant a waiver of the 

minimum hours requirement. 

(C) the Director may allow additional 

breaks in a specific course delivery 

when the Director determines that 

doing so is necessary based on 

circumstances related to a lawfully 

declared State of Emergency. 
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(2) Select and schedule instructors who are 

properly certified by the Commission. The 

selecting and scheduling of instructors is 

subject to special requirements as follows: 

(A) No single individual may be scheduled 

to instruct more than 35 percent of the 

total hours of the curriculum during 

any one delivery except as set forth in 

Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule. 

(B) Where the school director shows 

exceptional or emergency 

circumstances and the school director 

documents that an instructor is 

properly certified to instruct more than 

35 percent of the total hours of the 

curriculum, the Director of the 

Division shall grant written approval 

for the expansion of the individual 

instructional limitation. 

(C) The appropriate number of instructors 

for specific topic areas shall be 

scheduled as required in 12 NCAC 

10B .0703. 

(3) Provide each instructor with a 

commission-approved course outline and all 

necessary additional information concerning 

the instructor's duties and responsibilities. 

(4) Review each instructor's lesson plans and other 

instructional materials for conformance to the 

rules in this Chapter and to minimize repetition 

and duplication of subject matter. 

(5) Arrange for the timely availability of 

appropriate audiovisual aids and materials, 

publications, facilities and equipment for 

training in all topic areas as required in the 

"Detention Officer Certification Course 

Management Guide". 

(6) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any 

supplemental rules, regulations, and 

requirements determined by the school to be 

necessary or appropriate for: 

(A) Effective course delivery; 

(B) Establishing responsibilities and 

obligations of agencies or departments 

employing course trainees; and 

(C) Regulating trainee participation and 

demeanor and ensuring trainee 

attendance and maintaining 

performance records. 

A copy of such rules, regulations and requirements shall be 

submitted to the Director as an attachment to the Pre-Delivery 

Report of Training Course Presentation, Form F-7A. A copy of 

such rules shall also be given to each trainee and to the sheriff of 

each trainee's employing agency at the time the trainee enrolls in 

the course. 

(7) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining 

facilities for trainees. 

(8) Not less than 30 days before commencing 

delivery of the course, submit to the 

Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training 

Course Presentation (Form F-7A) along with 

the following attachments: 

(A) A comprehensive course schedule 

showing arrangement of topical 

presentations and proposed 

instructional assignments; 

(B) A copy of any rules, regulations, and 

requirements for the school and, when 

appropriate, completed applications 

for certification of instructors. The 

Director shall review the submitted 

Pre-Delivery Report together with all 

attachments to ensure that the school 

is in compliance with all commission 

rules; if school's rules are found to be 

in violation, the Director shall notify 

the school director of deficiency, and 

approval shall be withheld until all 

matters are in compliance with the 

Commissions' rules. 

(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance 

with the rules in this Chapter and ensure that the 

training offered is as effective as possible. 

(10) Monitor or designate a certified instructor to 

monitor the presentations of all probationary 

instructors during course delivery and prepare 

written evaluations on their performance and 

suitability for subsequent instructional 

assignments. A person holding General 

Instructor Certification under the Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission may evaluate instructors teaching 

any lecture portion of the course. However, if a 

Limited Lecturer is evaluated during the 

practical portion of a block of instruction, 

he/she must be evaluated by either the School 

Director or another instructor holding the 

equivalent type of certification. These 

evaluations shall be prepared on commission 

forms and forwarded to the Division at the 

conclusion of each delivery. Based on this 

evaluation the school director shall recommend 

approval or denial of requests for Detention 

Officer Instructor Certification, Limited 

Lecturer Certification or Professional Lecturer 

Certification. The observations shall be of 

sufficient duration to ensure the instructor is 

using the Instructional System Development 

model, as taught in Criminal Justice Instructor 

Training set out in 12 NCAC 09B .0209, and 

that the delivery is objective based, documented 

by and consistent with a Commission-approved 

lesson plan. For each topic area, the school 

director's or designee's evaluation shall be 

based on the course delivery observations, the 

instructor's use of the approved lesson plan, and 

the results of the students evaluations of the 

instructor. 
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(11) Monitor or designate a certified instructor to 

monitor the presentations of all other instructors 

during course delivery and prepare written 

evaluations on their performance and suitability 

for subsequent instructional assignments. A 

person holding General Instructor Certification 

under the Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission may evaluate 

instructors teaching any lecture portion of the 

course. However, if a Limited Lecturer is 

evaluated during the practical portion of a block 

of instruction, he/she must be evaluated by 

either the School Director or another instructor 

holding the equivalent type of certification. 

Instructor evaluations shall be prepared on 

commission forms in accordance with the rules 

in this Chapter. These evaluations shall be kept 

on file by the school for a period of three years 

and shall be made available for inspection by a 

representative of the Commission upon request. 

The observations shall be of sufficient duration 

to ensure the instructor is using the Instructional 

System Development model, as taught in 

Criminal Justice Instructor Training set out in 

12 NCAC 09B .0209, and that the delivery is 

objective based, documented by and consistent 

with a Commission-approved lesson plan. For 

each topic area, the school director's or 

designee's evaluation shall be based on the 

course delivery observations, the instructor's 

use of the approved lesson plan, and the results 

of the students evaluations of the instructor. 

(12) Ensure that any designated certified instructor 

who is evaluating the instructional presentation 

of another holds certification in the same 

instructional topic area as that being taught. 

(13) Administer or designate a person to administer 

appropriate tests as determined necessary at 

various intervals during course delivery. 

(14) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and 

control over the performance of all persons to 

whom any portion of the planning, 

development, presentation, or administration of 

a course has been delegated. 

(15) During a delivery of the Detention Officer 

Certification Course, make available to 

authorized representatives of the Commission 

three hours of scheduled class time and 

classroom facilities for the administration of a 

written examination to those trainees who have 

satisfactorily completed all course work. 

(16) Not more than ten days after receiving from the 

Commission's representative the Report of 

Examination Scores, submit to the Commission 

a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course 

Presentation (Form 7-B). 

(b)  In addition to the requirements in 12 NCAC 10B .0704(a), the 

school director shall be readily available to students and Division 

staff at all times during course delivery by telephone, pager, or 

other means. The means, and applicable numbers, shall be filed 

with the commission-certified training delivery site and the 

Division prior to the beginning of a scheduled course delivery. 

 

Authority G.S. 17E-4. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission intends 

to amend the rule cited as 12 NCAC 10B .0713. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/sheriffs/all-

commission-forms-publications/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 17, 2022 

Time:  9:00 a.m. 

Location:  1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC  27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Admission into the Detention 

Officer Certification Course (DOCC) and the Telecommunicator 

Certification Course (TCC) requires that the trainee must be 

administered the reading component of a standardized test. The 

majority of standardized reading tests no longer report a reading 

grade level as currently required by this rule. The Sheriffs' 

Commission wishes to maintain the requirement for this 

standardized test, without the reading grade level requirement. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Diane Konopka, 1700 Tryon 

Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 662-4375; email 

dkonopka@ncdoj.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0700 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR JUSTICE 

OFFICER SCHOOLS AND TRAINING PROGRAMS OR 

COURSES OF INSTRUCTION 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0713 ADMISSION OF TRAINEES 

(a)  The school director shall not admit any individual as a trainee 

in any commission-certified basic training course who is not a 

citizen of the United States. 

(b)  The school shall not admit any individual younger than 21 

years of age as a trainee in the Detention Officer Certification 

Course and shall not admit any individual younger than 18 years 

of age as a trainee in the Telecommunicator Certification Course 

without the prior written approval of the Director of the Standards 

Division. The Director shall approve those individuals who will 

turn 21 years of age prior to the end of the Detention Officer 

Certification Course and, those individuals who will turn 18 years 

of age prior to the end of the Telecommunicator Certification 

Course. 

(c)  The school shall not admit any individual who has not 

provided documentation that he or she meets the educational 

requirement set out in 12 NCAC 10B .0302. 

(d)  The school shall give priority admission in commission-

certified basic training courses to individuals holding full-time 

employment with criminal justice agencies. 

(e)  The school shall administer the reading component of a 

standardized test that reports a grade level for each trainee 

participating in either the Telecommunicator or Detention Officer 

Certification Course. The specific test instrument shall be 

determined by the school director and shall be administered 

within the first week of the Course. The grade level results for 

each trainee shall be submitted to the Commission on each 

trainee's Report of Student Course Completion. 

(f)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in a 

presentation of the Detention Officer Certification Course or the 

Telecommunicator Certification Course unless the individual has 

provided to the School Director a Medical Examination Report 

Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) in 

compliance with 12 NCAC 10B .0304. The Medical Examination 

Report Form (F-2) and the Medical History Statement Form (F-1) 

required by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission shall be recognized by the 

Commission for the purpose of complying with this Rule. 

(g)  The school shall not admit any individual trainee in 

commission-certified basic training courses unless the individual 

has provided the School Director a certified criminal record check 

for local and state records where the trainee has resided within the 

past 10 years and where the trainee attended high school. An 

Administrative Office of the Courts criminal record check or a 

comparable out-of-state criminal record check shall satisfy this 

requirement. If an individual trainee has received a probationary 

certificate from the Commission at the time of enrollment, this 

records check requirement shall be waived. 

(h)  The school shall not admit any individual as a trainee in 

commission-certified basic training courses who has been 

convicted of the following: 

(1) a felony; 

(2) a crime for which the punishment could have 

been imprisonment for more than two years; 

(3) a crime or unlawful act defined as a "Class B 

Misdemeanor" within the five year period prior 

to the date of appointment; 

(4) four or more crimes or unlawful acts as defined 

as "Class B Misdemeanors" regardless of the 

date of conviction; 

(5) four or more crimes or unlawful acts defined as 

"Class A Misdemeanors" except the trainee 

may be enrolled if the last conviction occurred 

more than two years prior to the date of 

enrollment; or 

(6) a combination of four or more "Class A 

Misdemeanors" or "Class B Misdemeanors" 

regardless of the date of conviction. 

(i)  Individuals charged with crimes specified in this Paragraph 

that were dismissed or the person was found not guilty may be 

admitted into the commission-certified basic training courses, but 

completion will not ensure that certification as a justice officer 

through the Commission will be issued. Every individual who is 

admitted as a trainee in a presentation of the Commission-certified 

Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall notify the School 

Director of all criminal offenses that the trainee is arrested for, 

charged with, pleads no contest to, pleads guilty to, or is found 

guilty of, and shall notify the School Director of all Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact Orders (50C) 

that are issued by a judicial official that provide an opportunity 

for both parties to be present, including all criminal offenses 

except minor traffic offenses. A minor traffic offense is defined 

for purposes of this Paragraph as any offense under G.S. 20 or 

similar laws of other jurisdictions except those Chapter 20 

offenses published in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual. Other 

traffic offenses under laws of other jurisdictions that shall be 

reported to the School Director include driving while impaired if 

the maximum allowable punishment is for a term of more than six 

months but not more than two years and driving while license 

permanently revoked or permanently suspended. The 

notifications required under this Paragraph shall be in writing and 

shall specify the nature of the offense, the court in which the case 

was handled, the date of the arrest or criminal charge, the date of 

issuance of the Domestic Violence Order (G.S 50B) or Civil No 

Contact Order (G.S. 50C), and the final disposition and the date 

thereof. The notifications required under this Paragraph shall be 

received by the School Director within 30 days of the date the case 

was disposed of in court. The requirements of this Paragraph shall 

apply at all times during which the trainee is enrolled in a Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Course. The requirements of this 

Paragraph shall be in addition to the notifications required under 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 and 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8). 

 

Authority G.S. 17C-4; 17E-7. 
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TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0203, .0404, .0706, .0806, .0904, .0911, 

.1306 and .1406. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/about-dps/boards-commissions/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 22, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  One rule amendment establishes 

a new procedure to allow character letters to be submitted 

electronically; a second amendment requires a Private 

Investigator to have proof that a requested written report was 

provided to a client; a third amendment repeals an antiquated 

provision requiring payment of a fee for a criminal history record 

check for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate; further, all 

renewed rules (i.e., .0203, .0706, .0806, .0904, .0911, .1306 and 

.1406)  are amended to allow Board staff to hold a renewal 

application if there is a deniable criminal charge pending. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 4, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919)788-5320; email 

Paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  April 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. process; and 

(7) five letters attesting to the good character and 

reputation of the applicant using the online 

character letter submission process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 
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Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a license or trainee permit shall 

submit an online renewal application on the website provided by 

the Board. This online application shall be submitted not less than 

30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current license or 

trainee permit and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 24 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) for license applicants, proof of liability 

insurance as set out in G.S. 74C-10(e). 

(b)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 

application is made within three years of the expiration date and 

the following documentation is submitted to the Board: 

(1) an online Application For Reinstatement of an 

Expired License; 

(2) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(4) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) proof of liability insurance as set out in G.S. 

74C-10(e); and 

(7) payment to the State Bureau of Investigations 

to cover the cost of criminal record checks 

performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigations, with payment to be paid online 

through the Board's online application process. 

(c)  A member of the armed forces whose license is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military 

order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service 

or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-9. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR: 

ELECTRONIC COUNTERMEASURES 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in G.S. 74C-12(a)(20), private 

investigators shall make and offer to each client a written report 

containing the findings and details of the investigation within 30 

days after the completion of the investigation for which the client 

has paid the investigator for the services. The licensee shall retain 

a copy of the written report. report, and if provided to the client, 

proof of such delivery. 

(b)  Descriptive reports, chronological reports, cover letters, and 

itemized invoices to the client shall be personally signed by a 

licensee. The file copy shall reflect the names of all participating 

employees and a description of the work performed by each one. 

These documents shall be retained by the licensee who signed the 

report. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5. 

 

SECTION .0700 - SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0706 RENEWAL OF UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a registration identification card 

or his or her employer shall complete an online form on the 

website provided by the Board. This online form shall be 

submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration of the 

applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 
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where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) upload a completed affidavit form and public 

notice statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form on the website provided by the Board. 

This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)(e)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(e)(f)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board shall, upon written request to the Director, 

extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 days beyond the 

effective period of the state of emergency. Any registration 

renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued conditionally 

and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if requalification 

requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2022 

1299 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

24 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)(d)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)(e)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(e)(f)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board shall, upon written request to the Director, 

extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 days beyond the 

effective period of the state of emergency. Any registration 

renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued conditionally 

and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if requalification 

requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0911 RENEWAL OF AN UNARMED 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate. 

In addition, the applicant shall include the following: 

(1) the renewal fee set forth in Rule .0903(a)(3) of 

this Section and collected online as part of the 

application process; 

(2) a certificate of completion of a minimum of 16 

hours of Board developed armed or unarmed 

instruction performed during the current 

unarmed trainer certification period; and 

(3) a statement verifying the classes taught during 

the current unarmed trainer certification period 

on a form provided by the Board as part of the 

online application process. process; and 

(4) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 24 

months. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return are granted that same extension of time to pay 

the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue must be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-8; 74C-9; 74C-11; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1300 – ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION (UNARMED) 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1306 RENEWAL OR REISSUE OF 

UNARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an unarmed armored car service 

guard registration identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form provided by the Board. This online form 

shall be submitted not fewer than 90 days prior to the expiration 

of the applicant's current registration and shall be accompanied 

by: 

(1) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search 

obtained from the reporting service designated 

by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for 

each state where the applicant has resided 

within the preceding 12 months; 

(2) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee. 

(3) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 
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within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with application submission; and 

(4) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

or reissue shall give the applicant a copy of the online application, 

including the completed affidavit form, that shall serve as a record 

of application for renewal or reissue and shall retain a copy of the 

online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the 

employer's office. 

(c)(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 78C-8.1(a). 

 

SECTION .1400 - ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE 

GUARDS FIREARM REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1406 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed armored car service 

guard firearm registration permit identification card his or her 

employer or designee shall complete an online form provided by 

the Board. This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 

days nor fewer than 30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's 

current armed registration and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of the 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  If there is a criminal charge pending against the applicant for 

renewal that constitutes a deniable offense under G.S. 74C-

8(d)(2), consideration of the application shall be deferred until the 

criminal charge is adjudicated. The deadline for completion of any 

requirement mandated by the Board's law and rules, such as 

continuing education or firearms re-qualification, will be stayed 

during the period of deferral. 

(b)(c)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and 

completed application, including the completed affidavit form, to 

serve as a record of application for renewal and shall retain a copy 

of the online application and affidavit in the guard's personnel file 

in the employer's office. 

(c)(d)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 02 – BOARD OF ARCHITECTURE AND 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Architecture and Registered Interior Designers intends 

to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0306, amend the rules 

cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0106, .0108, .0109, .0201, .0203-.0206, 

.0210, .0213-.0215, .0217, .0302, .0303, .0901, .0903-.0910, and 

repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 02 .0102, .0202, .0208, .0209, 

.0212 and .0218. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbarch.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 3, 2022 

Time:  3:15 p.m. 

Location:  

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85611915483?pwd=YVVmTHM2UVl

1azVLajR2YjFnMk9Udz09 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Updates to include registration 

for interior designers as set forth in SB 188. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Cathe Evans, 434 Fayetteville 

St, Suite 2005, Raleigh, NC 27601 

 

Comment period ends:  April 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0102 ORGANIZATION OF BOARD 

AND OFFICERS 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-2; 83A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0106 SEAL OF BOARD 

The Board has adopted a seal, which is circular in shape and 

contains the words, "North Carolina Board of Architecture." The 

seal is maintained in the Board's office under the care, custody 

and charge of the Executive Director. The seal shall be used at the 

direction of the Board to authenticate any official action or report 

of the Board. The absence of the seal shall not automatically imply 

the lack of authentication of any document issued by the Board. 

The official seal adopted by the Board is the Great Seal of the 

State of North Carolina with the inscription of the Board name on 

the perimeter. 

 

Authority G.S. 83-5; 83A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES 

The fees required by the Board Board, are payable in advance and 

are set forth below: 

Initial Registration Application by Exam  

Residents and Non-Residents   $ 50.00 

Firm Registration     $ 75.00 

Annual license renewal 

Individual     $ 50.00 

Firm      $100.00 

Late renewal Penalty    $ 50.00 

Reciprocal registration    $150.00 

Initial License to Practice Architecture: 

By Exam     $50.00 

By Reciprocity     $150.00 

Firm License     $75.00 

 

Annual License to Practice Architecture Renewal: 

Individual     $50.00 

Firm      $100.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Individual Architects and Firms: 

Up-to-30 days     $50.00 

30 days to 1 year     $100.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired License: 

Architect     $250.00 

Firm      $250.00 

 

Initial Registration to Practice Interior Design: 

By Reciprocity     $150.00 

Firm Registration     $75.00 

 

Annual Registration to Practice Interior Design Renewal: 

Individual     $50.00 

Firm      $100.00 

 

Late Renewal Penalty for Interior Designers and Interior Design 

Firms: 

Up-to-30 days     $50.00 

30 days to 1 year     $100.00 

 

Reinstatement of Expired Registration 

Interior Designer     $250.00 

Interior Design Firm    $250.00 

 

Individual or Firm Reinstatement shall be the fee as described in 

G.S. 83A-11 and G.S. 55B-10. 

All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable. 

Other publications and services provided by the Board are 

available on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-10; 83A-4; 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0109 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the statutory definitions in G.S. 83A-1, as used in 

these Rules, the following terms shall have the following 

meanings: 
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(1) "Delinquent" is the status of a license 

registration that has not been renewed in 

accordance with 21 NCAC 02 .0213(b) for 

individuals and 21 NCAC 02 .0214(d) 21 

NCAC 02 .0214(c) for firms. 

(2) "Licensed" means holding a license to practice 

architecture in the State of North Carolina as 

defined by North Carolina General Statute 

Chapter 83A.  "Registered" has the same 

meaning as licensed. "Licensed" means holding 

a license to practice architecture in the State of 

North Carolina as defined by G.S. 83A. 

"Registered" has the same meaning as 

'registered interior designer' as set forth in G.S. 

83A. 

(3) "Fictitious name" is any assumed name, style 

style, or designation other than the proper legal 

name of the entity as registered with the 

Secretary of State. using such name.  The 

surname of a person, standing alone or coupled 

with words that describe the business, is not a 

fictitious business name.  The inclusion of 

words that suggest additional owners, such as 

"Company," "& Company," "& Sons," "& 

Associates," makes the name an assumed or 

fictitious name. For partnerships, the last name 

of all partners must be listed listed, or the 

fictitious name definition applies. 

(4) "Responsible control" has the meaning 

described in Rule .0206(d). "Architectural 

Firm" means any Professional Corporation or 

Professional Limited Liability Company 

approved by the Board and engaged in the 

practice of architecture. "Registered Interior 

Design Firm" means any Business Corporation 

or Limited Liability Company approved by the 

Board and engaged in registered interior design 

services. 

(5) "Firm" or "Architectural Firm" means any 

Professional Corporation or Professional 

Limited Liability Company approved by the 

Board and engaged in the practice of 

architecture. 

(6)(5) "Procurement" means purchasing or pricing of 

materials to construct a building or structure. 

(7)(6) Direct Supervision as used in North Carolina 

General Statute 83A means responsible control. 

control as defined in 21 NCAC 02 .0203. 

(8)(7) "Continuing Competency" as used in North 

Carolina General Statute 83A-6(a)(5) means 

continuing education obtained post licensure 

that enables a registered architect to increase or 

update knowledge of and competence in 

technical and professional subjects related to 

the practice of architecture to safeguard the 

public's health, safety and welfare. "Continuing 

Competency" as used in North Carolina 

General Statute 83A-6(a)(5) means continuing 

education obtained post licensure or 

registration that enables an architect or 

registered interior designer to increase or 

update knowledge of and competence in 

technical and professional subjects related to 

the practice of architecture and interior design 

to safeguard the public's health, safety and 

welfare. 

(9)(8) "Health, safety and welfare" (HSW) as used in 

North Carolina General Statute 83A-6 (a)(5) 

means technical and professional subjects that 

according to these rules safeguard the public 

and that are necessary for the proper evaluation, 

design, construction and utilization of buildings 

and the built environment.  

(9) "Architect-of-record" or "Designer-of-record" 

means persons or entities whose seals appear on 

plans, specifications, and contract documents. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6. 

 

SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF ARCHITECTURE 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0201 ARCHITECT, REGISTERED 

INTERIOR DESIGNER, FIRM OR PARTNERSHIP 

CONTACT INFORMATION AS ON FILE WITH THE 

BOARD 

(a)  Every individual licensee and registrant shall keep the Board 

advised of his/her his or her preferred current contact information. 

information, Current contact information includes a including 

physical mailing address, email and phone numbers, principle 

place of business and electronic mail address email, phone 

numbers, and the name of the firm or partnership where he/she is 

he or she is employed. 

(b)  Each firm or partnership shall shall, within 30 days days, 

notify the Board of all changes in ownership, of association, 

contact information, electronic email email, or physical address. 

Upon the dissolution of a firm, the architect or registered interior 

designer in responsible control of the firm at the time of 

dissolution shall notify the Board within 30 days notify the Board 

concerning such dissolution, dissolution and of the succeeding 

status and addresses of the architects and registered interior 

designers employed by the firm. and addresses of the firm. This 

requirement is in addition to registration, listing and renewal 

requirements set out elsewhere in rules of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-5; 83A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0202 APPLICABILITY OF BOARD 

RULES 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0203 GENERAL OBLIGATIONS OF 

PRACTICE RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

As a primary obligation and responsibility, the architect shall 

conduct his office and all aspects of his practice in such manner 

as to "safeguard life, health and property" as provided in G.S. 

83A-12. All persons licensed or registered under the provisions of 

Chapter 83A of the North Carolina General Statutes are charged 
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with having knowledge of the rules of this Chapter and are 

deemed to be familiar with their provisions and to understand 

them. Each licensed or registered person and entity shall sign a 

statement on the renewal notice affirming understanding of the 

laws and rules. 

(1) Licensees and registrants shall conduct their 

practice in order to protect the public health, 

safety, or welfare. The licensee or registrant 

shall always recognize the primary obligation to 

protect the public in the performance of the 

professional duties. The architect or registered 

interior designer acts as a professional adviser 

to their client and their advice shall not be 

prejudiced. If the licensee or registrant's 

professional judgment is overruled under 

circumstances where the safety, health and 

welfare of the public are endangered, the 

licensee or registrant shall inform the employer, 

the client, the contractor, other affected parties, 

and any appropriate regulatory agency of the 

possible consequences of the situation. 

(2) In designing a project, the licensee or registrant 

shall consider all applicable federal, State and 

municipal building laws and rules. A licensee 

or registrant shall undertake to perform 

professional services only when they, together 

with those whom the licensee or registrant may 

engage as consultants, are qualified by 

education, training and experience in the 

specific technical areas involved. While a 

licensee or registrant may rely on the advice of 

other professionals such as attorneys, engineers 

or other qualified persons as to the intent and 

meaning of such laws and rules, once having 

obtained advice, a licensee or registrant shall 

not design a project in violation of laws and 

rules. 

(3) In practicing architecture or interior design, the 

licensee or registrant shall act with reasonable 

care and competence and shall apply the 

technical knowledge and skill which is 

ordinarily applied by architects or interior 

designers of good standing, practicing in the 

same locality. 

In addition, an architect is also charged with the following 

personal and professional obligations of good practice: 

(1) The concern and purpose of the profession of 

architecture are the creation of a physical 

environment of use, order, and beauty through 

the resources of design, economics, technology, 

and management. The physical environment 

includes a spectrum of elements serving man, 

from the artifact and the building to the 

community and the region. 

(2) The profession of architecture calls for 

individuals of the highest integrity, judgment, 

business capacity and artistic and technical 

ability. An architect's honesty of purpose must 

be above suspicion. An architect acts as 

professional adviser to his client and his advice 

must be unprejudiced. 

(4) Responsible Control. No architect or registered 

interior designer shall affix his or her seal and 

signature to contract documents developed by 

others not under the architect's or registered 

interior designer's responsible control. 

"Responsible control" means that amount of 

control over and professional knowledge of the 

content of technical submissions during their 

preparation as is exercised by an architect or 

registered interior designer applying the 

required professional standard of care, 

including: 

(a) dissemination of programmatic 

requirements; 

(b) ongoing coordination and correlation 

of services with other aspects of the 

total design of the project; 

(c) verification with consultant that 

owner's requirements are being met; 

(d) authority over the services of those 

who assisted in the preparation of the 

documents; 

(e) assumption of responsibility for the 

services; 

(f) incorporation of services and technical 

submissions into design documents to 

be issued for permitting purposes; and 

(g) incorporation and integration of 

information from manufacturers, 

suppliers, installers, the architect's or 

registered interior designer's 

consultants, owners, contractors, or 

other sources the architect or 

registered interior designer trusts that 

is incidental to and intended to be 

incorporated into the architect's or 

registered interior designer's technical 

submissions if the architect or 

registered interior designer has 

coordinated and reviewed such 

information. 

(5) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not deliberately make a false statement or 

deliberately fail to disclose a fact requested in 

connection with their application for license or 

registration renewal. 

(6) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not in assist the application for licensure or 

registration of a person known by the architect 

or registered interior designer to be unqualified 

with respect to education, training, experience, 

or character. 

(7) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

issue public statements only in an unbiased and 

truthful manner and: 

(a) shall be objective and truthful in all 

professional reports, statements, or 
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testimony. The architect or registered 

interior designer shall include all 

relevant and pertinent information in 

such reports, statements or testimony; 

(b) when serving as an expert or technical 

witness before any court, commission, 

or other tribunal, shall express an 

opinion only when it is founded upon 

adequate knowledge of the facts at 

issue, upon a background of technical 

competence in the subject matter, and 

upon honest conviction of the 

accuracy and propriety of the 

individual's testimony; 

(c) shall issue no statements, criticisms, or 

arguments on architectural or interior 

design matters connected with public 

policy which are inspired or paid for 

by an interested party, or parties, 

unless the architect or registered 

interior designer has prefaced the 

comment by explicitly identifying 

their name, by disclosing the identities 

of the party or parties on whose behalf 

the architect or registered interior 

designer is speaking, and by revealing 

the existence of any pecuniary interest 

the architect or registered interior 

designer may have in the matters; and 

(d) shall not attempt to harm the 

professional reputation, prospects, 

practice, or employment of another 

architect or registered interior 

designer, nor indiscriminately criticize 

another architect's or registered 

interior designer's work. 

Indiscriminate criticism includes 

statements without valid basis or cause 

or that are not objective and truthful or 

that fail to include all factual 

information. If the architect or 

registered interior designer believes 

that another architect or registered 

interior designer is in violation of G.S. 

83A or the Rules of this Chapter, such 

information shall be presented to the 

North Carolina Board of Architecture 

and Registered Interior Designers in 

writing. 

(8) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

avoid conflicts of interest and: 

(a) shall inform the employer or client, 

and any reviewing agency, of any 

business association, interests, or 

circumstances that attempts to 

influence the judgment or the quality 

of services of the architect or 

registered interior designer. If, in the 

course of their work on a project, an 

architect or registered interior designer 

becomes aware of a decision taken by 

their employer or client, against their 

advice, which violates applicable State 

or municipal building laws and 

regulations and which will, in their 

judgment, affect adversely the safety 

to the public of the finished project, 

the architect or registered interior 

designer shall: 

(i) report the decision to the 

local building inspector or 

other public official charged 

with the enforcement of the 

applicable State or municipal 

building laws and 

regulations; 

(ii) refuse to consent to the 

decision; 

(iii) in circumstances where the 

architect or registered 

interior designer reasonably 

believes that other such 

decisions will be taken 

notwithstanding his or her 

objection, terminate their 

services with reference to the 

project; and 

(iv) in the case of termination in 

accordance with clause in 

Sub-Item (a)(iii) of this Rule, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall have 

no liability to their client or 

employer on account of such 

termination. 

(b) shall not accept compensation, 

financial or otherwise, from more than 

one party for services on the same 

project, or for services pertaining to 

the same project, unless the 

circumstances are disclosed to, and 

agreed to, in writing, by all interested 

parties; 

(c) shall not solicit or accept financial or 

other valuable considerations from 

material, furniture, fixtures, or 

equipment suppliers for specifying 

their products unless disclosed to the 

client; 

(d) shall not pay or offer to pay, a 

commission, political contribution, 

gift, or other consideration in order to 

secure work. Gifts of nominal value 

including reasonable entertainment 

and hospitality are permitted; 

(e) when in public service as a member, 

advisor, or employee of a 

governmental body or department, 
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shall not participate in considerations 

or actions with respect to services 

provided by the licensee or registrant 

or the licensee's or registrant's firm in 

private architectural or registered 

interior design practices; 

(f) shall not engage in any false, 

deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading 

advertising; 

(g) shall not attempt to supplant another 

architect or registered interior designer 

on a specific project after becoming 

aware that the other has been selected 

for the employment; 

(h) when acting as the interpreter of 

building contract documents and the 

judge of contract performance, an 

architect or interior designer shall 

render decisions in an impartial 

manner; 

(j) if an architect or registered interior 

designer has any business association 

or financial interest which is 

substantial enough to influence their 

judgment in connection with the 

performance of professional services, 

they shall disclose in writing to their 

client or employer the nature of the 

business association or financial 

interest, and if the client or employer 

objects to such association or financial 

interest, they will either terminate such 

association or interest or offer to give 

up the commission or employment; 

(k) an architect or registered interior 

designer making public statements on 

architectural or interior design 

questions shall disclose when they are 

being compensated for making such 

statements. 

(9) A licensee or registrant shall solicit or accept 

work on the basis of qualifications and: 

(a) shall not offer to pay any commission, 

political contribution, gift, or other 

consideration in order to secure work, 

exclusive of securing salaried 

positions through employment 

agencies; 

(b) shall not solicit or submit proposals for 

professional services containing a 

false, fraudulent, misleading, 

deceptive, or unfair statement or claim 

regarding the cost, quality or extent of 

services to be rendered; 

(c) shall, with regard to fee bidding on 

public projects, comply with the 

provisions of G.S. 143-64.31 Article D 

(or for federal projects, the Brooks 

Act, 40 U.S.C. 541 et seq.) and shall 

not knowingly cooperate in a violation 

of any provision of G.S. 143-64.31 

Article D (or of 40 U.S.C. 541 et seq.); 

(d) shall not falsify or permit 

misrepresentation of academic or 

professional qualifications and shall 

only report educational qualifications 

when a degree or certificate was 

awarded unless it is stated that no 

degree or certificate was awarded; and 

(e) shall represent to a prospective or 

existing client or employer their 

qualifications and the scope of their 

responsibility in connection with work 

for which they are claiming credit. 

Misrepresentation shall be found if 

any of the following is not complied 

with: 

(i) Each licensee or registrant 

shall state their prior 

professional experience and 

the firm they are representing 

while presenting 

qualifications to all 

prospective clients. If the 

licensee or registrant uses 

visual representations of 

prior projects or experience, 

all designers or architects of 

record shall be identified. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who has 

been an employee of another 

firm may not claim credit for 

projects contracted for in the 

name of the previous 

employer. They shall 

indicate, next to the listing 

for each project, that 

individual experience gained 

in connection with the project 

was acquired as an employee 

and identify the previous 

firm. The architect or 

registered interior designer 

shall also describe the nature 

and extent of their 

participation in the project. 

(iii) An architect or registered 

interior designer who 

presents a project that has 

received awards or public 

recognition shall comply 

with the requirements in this 

Sub-Item with regard to 

project presentation to the 

public and prospective 

clients. 
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(iv) Projects that remain 

unconstructed and are listed 

as credits in presentation 

items shall be listed as 

"unbuilt" or a similar 

designation, as determined 

by the architect or registered 

interior designer. 

(10) A licensee or registrant shall perform services 

in compliance with all of the provisions of this 

Chapter and any federal, State, and municipal 

laws or regulations that apply and: 

(a) shall not knowingly associate with or 

permit the use of the licensee's or 

registrant's name or firm name in a 

business venture by any person or firm 

which the licensee or registrant knows, 

or has reason to believe, is engaging in 

business or professional practices of a 

fraudulent or dishonest nature or is not 

licensed or registered; 

(b) if the licensee or registrant has 

knowledge or reason to believe that 

another person or firm may be in 

violation of the Rules of this Chapter 

or of the North Carolina Architectural 

and Registered Interior Design 

Practice Act (G.S. 83A), they shall 

present such information to the Board 

in writing and shall cooperate with the 

Board in furnishing further 

information or assistance as may be 

required by the Board. 

(c) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall cooperate with the 

Board in connection with any inquiry 

it shall make. Cooperation includes 

responding to all inquiries from the 

Board or its representative and 

claiming correspondence from the U. 

S. Postal Service, or other delivery 

service, sent to the licensee or 

registrant from the Board in a timely 

manner. The Board shall utilize 

electronic mail as its primary method 

of communication with licensees and 

registrants. "Timely" is defined as 

within the time specified in the 

correspondence, or if no time is 

specified, within 15 business days of 

receipt. 

(11) An architect or registered interior designer who 

has received a reprimand or civil penalty or 

whose professional license or registration is 

revoked, suspended, denied, refused renewal, 

refused reinstatement, put on probation, 

restricted, or surrendered as a result of 

disciplinary action by another jurisdiction is 

subject to discipline by the Board if the 

licensee's or registrant's action constitutes a 

violation of G.S. 83A or the Rules of this 

Chapter adopted by the Board. 

(12) In addition to the grounds stated in G.S. 83A-

14 and G.S. 83A-15(3), the following acts or 

omissions may be deemed to be 

"unprofessional conduct" and to be cause for 

the levy of a civil penalty or for denial, 

suspension, or revocation of a license or 

registration or firm certificate of licensure or 

registration to practice architecture or 

registered interior design: 

(a) An architect or registered interior 

designer shall not, in the conduct of 

their professional practice, knowingly 

violate any State or federal criminal 

law. A criminal conviction shall be 

deemed prima facie evidence of 

knowingly violating the law. 

(b) Evasion of professional duties. 

(i) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not, 

through employment by 

contractors whether or not 

the contractors are licensed 

under G.S. 87, or by another 

individual or entity not 

holding an individual or firm 

registration from the Board, 

enable the employer to offer 

or perform architectural 

services or registered interior 

design services. In 

design/build arrangements, 

the architect or registered 

interior designer shall not be 

an employee of a person or 

firm not holding a license to 

practice architecture or 

registered interior design in 

North Carolina. 

(ii) An architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

furnish limited services in 

such manner as to enable 

owners, draftsmen, or others 

to evade the public health and 

safety requirements of 

Chapter 83A, G.S. 133-2, 

G.S. 153A, G.S. 153A-357, 

G.S. 160A-412, or G.S. 

160A-417. 

(iii) When building plans are 

begun or contracted for by 

persons not licensed or 

registered and qualified, an 

architect or registered 

interior designer shall not 

take over, review, revise, or 
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sign or seal such drawings or 

revisions thereof for such 

persons or do any act to 

enable either persons or the 

project owners to evade the 

requirements of Chapter 

83A, G.S. 133-2, G.S. 153A-

357, or G.S. 160A-417. 

(c) It is unprofessional conduct for an 

architect or registered interior designer 

to be found by a court to have 

infringed upon the copyrighted works 

of other architects, registered interior 

designers or other design 

professionals. 

(13) An architect, registered interior designer or firm 

shall not maintain or represent by sign, listing, 

or other manner that they have a physical 

presence in North Carolina unless such office 

employs a licensed architect or registered 

interior designer who is a resident in North 

Carolina whose principal place of business 

takes place in that office. This item does not 

apply to on-site project offices during 

construction of a project. 

(14) An architect or registered interior designer shall 

not knowingly continue to offer or render 

architectural or registered interior design 

services as set forth in G.S. 83A after their 

license or registration expires, is placed on 

delinquent status, is revoked, or suspended for 

failure to renew. 

(15) Architects or registered interior designers 

preparing plans for building permits shall 

submit plans that are complete and buildable. 

Such plans shall conform with the State 

Building Code and local plan submission 

requirements. Professional judgment shall be 

exercised to reflect sufficient documentation 

necessary for plan approval. Provided, 

however, this Rule does not alter any standard 

of liability applicable to licensees or registrants. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15; 83A-16. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0204 FORMS OF PRACTICE 

(a)  The practice of architecture shall be carried out by one of the 

following types of entities: 

(1) sole practitioners; 

(2) professional limited liability companies that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 57C; 

G.S. 57D-2-02; 

(3) limited liability partnerships that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 59-

84.2; 

(4) professional corporations that are established 

under the provisions of G.S. 55B; or 

(5) general partnerships. 

(b)  The practice of registered interior design shall be carried out 

by one of the following types of entities: 

(1) sole practitioners; 

(2) limited liability companies that are established 

under the provisions of G.S. 57D; 

(3) limited liability partnerships that are 

established under the provisions of G.S. 59-

84.2; 

(4) business corporations that are established under 

the provisions of G.S. 55; or 

(5) general partnerships. 

Each limited liability partnership and each general partnership 

engaged in the practice of architecture or registered interior design 

in North Carolina shall keep a current list of all resident and non-

resident partners of the partnership.  One annual listing by a 

representative of the partnership shall satisfy the requirement of 

this Paragraph for all partners in the firm; however, each partner 

shall remain responsible for compliance with the rules.  Changes 

in the information required by this Paragraph shall be filed with 

the Board office within 30 days after the change occurs. 

(b)  All individuals who practice through entities described in 

Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall be licensed 

to practice architecture. 

(c)  All individuals who practice architecture through entities 

described in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall 

be licensed to practice architecture. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B; 57C; 59-84.2; 83A-4; 83A-6; 83A-8. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0205 NAME OF FIRM 

(a)  A licensee or registrant shall not engage in the practice of 

architecture or registered interior design under a firm name which 

is misleading or deceptive in any way as to the legal form of the 

firm or the persons who are partners, officers, members, or 

shareholders in the firm. The Board shall approve all firm names 

to be used in this State. Examples of misleading or deceptive firm 

names include the following: 

(1) Use use of the plural "architects" or "registered 

interior designers" when the number of 

architects or registered interior designers in a 

firm does not warrant such use; 

(2) Use use of the name of an employee unless that 

employee is a licensed or registered partner, 

licensed or registered officer, licensed or 

registered member or licensed or registered 

shareholder; 

(3) Use use of the name of a deceased architect or 

registered interior designer in order to benefit 

from their reputation, when that architect or 

registered interior designer was not a former 

partner, officer, member or shareholder in the 

present firm; 

(4) Use use a name which is deceptively similar to 

that of an existing firm name; and 

(5) Use use of a fictitious or assumed name by a 

sole proprietor. 

(b)  Failure of the firm to register a fictitious name shall be prima 

facie evidence of the name being misleading or deceptive. 
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Authority G.S. 55B-5; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-9; 83A-12. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0206 REQUIREMENT FOR AND USE 

OF PROFESSIONAL SEAL BY AN ARCHITECT OR 

REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNER 

(a)  An architect shall seal his or her work whether or not the work 

is for an exempt project as defined in G.S. 83A-13. An architect 

shall not sign nor seal drawings, specifications, reports, or other 

professional work that were not prepared by the architect or under 

his or her responsible control. Documents shall be sealed as 

follows: 

(1) An architect may seal those portions of the 

professional work that: 

(A) were prepared by or under the 

responsible control of persons who are 

registered licensed architects in this 

State if the architect has reviewed in 

whole or in part such portions and has 

either coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into his or her work; 

and 

(B) are not required by law to be prepared 

by or under the responsible control of 

an architect if the architect has 

reviewed and adopted in whole or in 

part such portions and has integrated 

them into his or her work. 

(2) A registered interior designer may seal those 

portions of the professional work that were 

prepared by or under the responsible control of 

persons who are registered interior designers in 

this State if the registered interior designer has 

reviewed in whole or in part such portions and 

has either coordinated their preparation or 

integrated them into their work. 

(2)(3) Individual Architect Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 

specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric circles in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

licensee are placed within the 

outermost circle and in which the 

license number of the licensee and 

"Registered "Licensed Architect" 

placed within the innermost circle. 

The size shall be 1 ½ to 1 ¾ inches in 

diameter. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of an the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper copies are not 

permitted in lieu of actual handwritten 

and hand dated signatures. 

(3)(4) Architecture Firm Seal Design shall be as 

follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to paper drawings 

or sets of specifications. The design of 

the seal shall be two concentric circles 

in which the Architectural Firm's 

approved name and "North Carolina" 

shall be between the inner and outer 

circles and the firm's license 

registration number is placed within 

the innermost circle. The size shall be 

1 ½ to 1 ¾ inches in diameter. 

(B) The design of the firm seal shall be 

two concentric circles in which the 

architectural firm's approved name 

shall be between the inner and outer 

circles and the firm's license number is 

placed within the innermost circle. 

The size shall be 1½ to 1¾ inches in 

diameter. For a Professional 

Corporation the words "Architectural 

Corporation, North Carolina" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. For a Professional Limited 

Liability Company, the words 

"Architectural Company" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. 

(B) For a Professional Corporation the 

words "Registered Architectural 

Corporation, North Carolina" shall be 

along the inside perimeter of the inner 

circle. For a Professional Limited 

Liability Company, the words 

"Registered Architectural Company" 

shall be along the inside perimeter of 

the inner circle. 

A sole proprietorship is not required to have 

firm seal and shall seal all work with 

the individual seal as set forth in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph. 
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(4)(5) The use of pre-printed documents bearing a pre-

printed facsimile of the signed and dated seal is 

prohibited. Individual Registered Interior 

Designer Seal Design shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to original paper 

drawings or sets of specifications for 

use in this State. For the purposes of 

this Rule, the term "for use in this 

State" means drawings and sets of 

specifications prepared for bidding, 

procurement, permitting, or for 

construction. For purposes of this 

Rule, "original" means the version of 

drawings and sets of specifications 

from which all paper copies can be 

made. 

(B) The standard design of the seal shall 

be two concentric ovals in which 

"North Carolina" and the name of the 

registrant are placed within the 

outermost oval and in which the 

registration number of the registrant 

and "Registered Interior Designer" be 

placed within the innermost oval. The 

dimensions shall be two inches tall by 

2.75 inches wide. 

(C) The original, handwritten signature of 

the individual named on the seal shall 

be considered part of the individual 

seal and shall appear across the face of 

each original seal imprint along with 

the date of affixation. The use of 

signature reproductions such as rubber 

stamps, computer generated, or other 

facsimiles on paper are not permitted 

in lieu of actual handwritten and hand 

dated signatures. 

(6) Registered Interior Design Firm Seal Design 

shall be as follows: 

(A) The seal may be a rubber stamp, 

embossed seal, computer-generated 

seal, or other facsimile that becomes a 

permanent addition to drawings or sets 

of specifications. 

(B) The design of the seal shall be two 

concentric ovals in which the 

registered interior design firm's 

approved name shall be between the 

inner and outer ovals and the firm's 

registration number is placed within 

the innermost oval. The size shall be 2 

to 2¾ inches in diameter. For a 

Corporation the words "Registered 

Interior Design Corporation, North 

Carolina" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner circle. For a 

Limited Liability Company, the words 

"Registered Interior Design 

Company" shall be along the inside 

perimeter of the inner oval. 

(5)(7) Architects and registered interior designers 

shall affix their seal on one original of all their 

drawings and sets of specifications prepared by 

them for use in this State as follows: 

(A) on the cover sheet of each design and 

on each drawing prepared by the 

architect or registered interior designer 

for the design; 

(B) on the index page identifying each set 

of specifications; and 

(C) on the index page of all other technical 

submissions. For the purposes of this 

Rule, "technical submissions" refer to 

plans, drawings, specifications, 

studies, addenda, and other technical 

reports prepared in the course of 

practicing architecture or registered 

interior design. architecture. 

(6)(8) Presentation documents, such as renderings 

created by an architect or registered interior 

designer used to communicate conceptual 

information, shall not be sealed or signed. 

(7)(9) Documents considered incomplete by the 

architect or registered interior designer may be 

released for interim review without the 

architect's or registered interior designers seal 

or signature affixed, but shall be dated, bear the 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

name, and be marked or designated to indicate 

the documents are for interim review and not 

intended for bidding, procurement, permit, or 

construction purposes. as follows "Incomplete - 

for interim review only and not intended for 

bidding, procurement, permit, or construction 

purposes." 

(8)(10) Those sheets or pages prepared by licensed 

professional consultants, such as structural, 

mechanical or electrical engineers, retained by 

the architect or registered interior designer shall 

bear the seal and registration or license number 

of the consultant responsible therefore and shall 

not be sealed by the architect or registered 

interior designer. architect. 

(9) Original Signature. The use of signature 

reproductions such as rubber stamps, computer 

generated, or other facsimiles are not permitted 

in lieu of actual handwritten and hand dated 

signatures. However, a digital signature as 

defined in Paragraph (e) of this Rule may be 

used in lieu of a handwritten signature and 

handwritten date. 

(10)(11) The use of the prescribed seal on paper is an 

individual act whereby the architect or 

registered interior designer must personally 

sign over the imprint of the seal. By sealing 
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documents for use in this State, an architect or 

registered interior designer is representing that 

he or she is in responsible control over the 

content of such documents and has applied the 

required professional standard of care. The 

architect or registered interior designer is 

responsible for security of the seal when not in 

use. 

(11)(12) Use of Firm Seal. The use of the firm seal does 

not replace the statutory requirement for an 

architect's or registered interior designer's 

individual seal as required in Paragraph (d). 

Rule .0203(4) of this Chapter. The firm seal 

must be affixed in addition to the individual seal 

on the cover sheet. 

(b)  Prototypical Building design documents prepared by 

architects or registered interior designers who are licensed or 

registered in this State or in their state of origin may be sealed by 

a succeeding licensed architect or registered interior designer 

registered in North Carolina provided: 

(1) the seal of the original architect or registered 

interior designer appears on the documents to 

authenticate authorship; 

(2) the words "Prototypical Design Documents/Not 

for Construction" appear on each sheet of the 

documents by the original architect; architect or 

registered interior designer; 

(3) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer identifies all 

modifications to the standard design 

documents; 

(4) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer assumes 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina and 

for the design conforming with applicable 

building codes, local conditions, site condition; 

and 

(5) the succeeding North Carolina architect or 

registered interior designer affixes his or her 

seal to the prototypical design documents with 

a statement as follows: "These documents have 

been examined by the undersigned. I have 

determined that they comply with existing local 

North Carolina codes, and I assume 

responsibility for the adequacy of the design for 

the specific application in North Carolina." 

(c)  Post Construction record drawings prepared by an architect or 

registered interior designer, but based upon representations of 

contractors, are not plans that are for "bidding, procurement, 

permit, or construction purposes" and therefore shall not be sealed 

by the architect or registered interior designer. as long as the Post 

construction record drawings documents shall bear the name of 

the architect or registered interior designer and include language 

that states stating "these drawings are post construction record 

drawings and are based in part upon the representations of others 

and are not for bidding, procurement, permit, or construction 

purposes". 

(d)  Responsible Control. No architect shall affix his or her seal 

and signature to contract documents developed by others not 

under the architect's responsible control. "Responsible control" 

means that amount of control over and professional knowledge of 

the content of technical submissions during their preparation as is 

exercised by an architect applying the required professional 

standard of care, including: 

(1) Dissemination of programmatic requirements; 

(2) Ongoing coordination and correlation of 

services with other aspects of the total design of 

the project; 

(3) Verification with consultant that owner's 

requirements are being met; 

(4) Authority over the services of those who 

assisted in the preparation of the documents; 

(5) Assumption of responsibility for the services; 

(6) Incorporation of services and technical 

submissions into design documents to be issued 

for permitting purposes; and 

(7) Incorporation and integration of information 

from manufacturers, suppliers, installers, the 

architect's consultants, owners, contractors, or 

other sources the architect trusts that is 

incidental to and intended to be incorporated 

into the architect's technical submissions if the 

architect has coordinated and reviewed such 

information 

(e)  The procedure for digitally signing and electronically sealing 

electronically transmitted plans, specifications, reports, or other 

documents prepared for use in this State in the course of practicing 

architecture is as follows: 

(1) Information stored in electronic files 

representing plans or specifications that must be 

sealed under the provisions of G.S. 83A-10 

shall be signed, dated, and sealed by the 

architect in responsible control. 

(A) A scanned image of an original 

signature shall not be used in lieu of a 

digital or electronic signature. 

(B) The date that the electronic signature 

file was created or the digital signature 

was placed in to the document must 

appear on the document in the same 

manner as date is required to be 

applied when a licensee uses the 

manual sealing procedure set out in 

Subparagraph (a)(5) of this Rule. 

(d)(2) An architect utilizing a digital signature to seal electronic 

documents for use in this State shall ensure that the digital 

signature is: Documents to be electronically transmitted beyond 

the direct control of the licensee or registrant that are signed using 

a digital signature, shall contain the authentication procedure in a 

secure mode and a list of the hardware, software and parameters 

used to prepare the document(s). Secure mode means that the 

authentication procedure has protective measures to prevent 

alteration or overriding of the authentication procedure. The term 

"digital signature" shall be an electronic authentication process 

that is attached to or logically associated with an electronic 

document. The digital signature shall be: 
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(A)(1) Unique to the person using it; 

(B)(2) Capable of verification; 

(C)(3) Under the sole control of the person using it; 

and 

(D)(4) Linked to a document in such a manner that the 

digital signature is invalidated if any data in the 

document is changed. 

(3) Each electronically signed file shall have an 

authentication code defined as a "message 

digest," as set forth in the Federal Information 

Processing Standards (FIPS)180-4, "Secure 

Hash Standard," amended August 2015. The 

standard is incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and may 

be accessed at no cost at 

http://nvlpubs.nist.gov/nistpubs/FIPS/NIST.FI

PS.180-4.pdf. 

(e)(4) The architect is responsible for the security of the digital 

seal. Documents for use in this state, that are transmitted 

electronically beyond the direct control of the licensee or 

registrant shall have the computer-generated image of the seal 

removed from the original file, unless signed with a digital 

signature as defined in this Rule. After removal of the image of 

seal the electronic media shall have the following inserted in lieu 

of the signature and date: "This document was originally issued 

and sealed by (name of sealer), (license or registration number), 

on (date of sealing). This medium shall not be considered a 

certified document." Hardcopy documents containing the original 

seal, signature and date of the licensee or registrant may be 

duplicated by photocopy or electronic scanning processes and 

distributed either in hardcopy or electronic medium. The scanned 

digital files of certified documents are not subject to the 

requirements of this Paragraph. The electronic transmission 

beyond the direct control of the licensee or registrant of Computer 

Aided Design (CAD), vector or other files subject to easy editing 

are subject to the requirements of this paragraph. Easy editing is 

based on the file consisting of separate elements that can be 

individually modified or deleted. Documents that are excepted 

from certification by a statement meeting the following 

requirements are not subject to the requirements of this Paragraph: 

(1) "Preliminary - Do not use for construction"; 

(2) "Progress Drawings - Do not use for 

construction"; 

(3) "Final Drawing - Not released for 

construction"; 

(4) "Final Drawing - For Review Purposes Only"; 

(5) "Not a Certified Document – This document 

was originally issued and sealed by (name of 

licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document 

shall not be considered a certified document"; 

(6) "Not a Certified Document as to the Original 

Document but Only as to the Revisions - This 

document originally issued and sealed by (name 

of licensee or registrant), (license or registration 

number), on (date of sealing). This document is 

only certified as to the revisions". 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-10; 83A-12. 

21 NCAC 02 .0208 DISHONEST CONDUCT 

 

Authority G.S. 14-353; 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0210 INCOMPETENCE 

(a)  In practicing architecture, an architect shall act with 

reasonable care and competence and shall apply the technical 

knowledge and skill which is ordinarily applied by architects of 

good standing, practicing in the same locality. 

(b)  In designing a project, an architect shall take into account all 

applicable state and municipal building laws and rules. While an 

architect may rely on the advice of other professionals (e.g., 

attorneys, engineers and other qualified persons) as to the intent 

and meaning of such laws and rules, once having obtained such 

advice, an architect shall not design a project in violation of such 

laws and rules. 

(c)  An architect shall undertake to perform professional services 

only when he, together with those whom the architect may engage 

as consultants, are qualified by education, training and experience 

in the specific technical areas involved. 

(d)  No person shall be permitted to practice architecture if such 

person's professional competence is substantially impaired by 

physical or mental disabilities. 

(e)  Architects preparing plans for building permits for projects 

not exempt under G.S. 83A- 13 shall submit plans that are 

complete and buildable. Such plans shall conform with the State 

Building Code and local plan submission requirements. 

Professional judgment shall be exercised to reflect sufficient 

documentation necessary for plan approval. Provided, however, 

this Rule does not alter any standard of liability applicable to 

licensees. 

An individual's license to practice architecture or interior design 

registration shall be revoked if found insane or incompetent by a 

court of law. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-14; 83A-15. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0212 INDEPENDENT JUDGMENT 

AND DISCLOSURE 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-16; 83A-17. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0213 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES AND 

REGISTRATIONS 

(a)  Renewal. License registration The license to practice 

architecture or interior design registration must be renewed on or 

before the first day in July each year. No less than 30 days prior 

to the renewal date, the Board shall send a notice of renewal to 

each individual licensee or registrant via electronic mail. It shall 

be the professional responsibility of the licensee or registrant to 

renew the license or registration on or before the 30th day of July 

each year. Continued practice after such date shall constitute 

unlawful practice as set forth in G.S. 83A-12 and may be grounds 

for disciplinary action. The licensee shall complete the current 

license renewal documentation required by the Board. The 
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licensee or registrant shall submit to the Board the completed 

license or registration renewal documentation, along with the 

annual license or registration renewal fee. The Board shall not 

accept incomplete renewal documentation. If the accompanying 

payment in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the 

architect's licensee or registrant's drawee bank for any reason, the 

Board shall suspend the license or registration until the renewal 

fees and check charges are paid. When the annual renewal has 

been completed according to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, as 

well as Section .0900 of this Chapter, the Executive Director shall 

approve renewal of the license or registration for the current 

license renewal year. Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(b)  Late Renewal. If the Board has not received the annual 

renewal fee and completed renewal documentation on or before 

the first day of July, each year the license or registration shall 

expire and be placed on delinquent status. For the purpose of this 

Rule, "delinquent status" means an administrative revocation 

suspension and is not considered discipline. The license or 

registration may be renewed at any time within one year of being 

deemed delinquent, upon the return of the completed renewal 

documentation, the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal 

penalty and demonstration of compliance with Section .0900 of 

this Chapter. 

(c)  Reinstatement. After one year from the date of expiration, the 

Board shall revoke the license or registration for failure to renew. 

Reinstatement shall occur pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 and Sections 

.0300 and .0900 of this Chapter. 

(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed by or registered by 

and in good standing with the Board who is serving in the armed 

forces of the United States shall not be subject to late fees, 

suspension or revocation for failure to renew licensure on or 

before the first day July each year, provided that the individual 

has been granted an extension of time to file a tax return as set 

forth in G.S. 105-249.2. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-11; 93B-15(b). 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0214 FIRM PRACTICE OF 

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR 

DESIGN 

(a)  Registration. Prior to offering and rendering architectural or 

registered interior design services as set forth in G.S. 83A and 21 

NCAC 02 Rule .0204(a) and Rule .0204(c) of this Chapter, all 

firms shall submit an application for firm licensure or registration 

and be granted licensure or registration by the Board. Application 

for firm licensure or registration to practice of architecture or 

registered interior design within the State of North Carolina shall 

be made upon forms provided on the Board web site at 

www.ncbarch.org and include the required application fee as set 

forth in Rule .0108 of this Chapter. Certificates Licensure for firm 

practice of architecture shall be issued only under the provisions 

of the Professional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B, except as provided 

in Subsection (b) of this Rule 55B and G.S 57D-2-02. 57C. 

Registration for firm practice of interior design shall be issued 

only under the provisions of the Business Corporation G.S. 55 and 

G.S 57D. 

(b)  Architectural Corporations Under G.S. 55, the Business 

Corporation Act. Applications for certificate of registration as 

exempt from the Professional Corporation Act under the 

provisions of G.S. 55B-15 shall be made upon forms provided by 

the Board. Completed applications shall be accompanied by the 

corporate application fee. To be eligible as an exempt corporation 

under the provisions of G.S. 55B-15, the following conditions 

must exist: 

(1) The corporation must have been incorporated 

prior to June 5, 1969 as a business corporation; 

(2) Prior to and since June 5, 1969, the corporation 

must have been a bona fide architectural or 

architectural-engineering firm with services 

limited to the practice of architecture or 

architecture-engineering and ancillary services 

within the State of North Carolina; and 

(3) The corporation must have applied to be an 

exempt corporation before October 1, 1979. 

(c)(b)  Renewal of Certificate. Architecture firm Firm registration 

licensure and interior design firm registration shall be renewed on 

or before December 31st of each year. If the Board has not 

received the annual renewal fee and completed application on or 

before December 31st of each year, the architecture firm license 

or interior design firm registration shall expire. No less than 30 

days prior to the renewal date, the The Board shall send a notice 

of renewal to each licensed and registered firm. firm no less than 

30 days prior to the renewal date. Renewal documentation shall 

be accompanied by the renewal fee. If the accompanying draft or 

check in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the firm's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the firm 

license or registration until the renewal fees and returned check 

charges are paid. When the annual renewal has been complete 

completed according to the provision provisions of G.S. 83A-11, 

the Executive Director shall approve renewal for the firm for the 

current renewal year. Upon completion of the firm annual 

renewal, the Board may randomly audit the compliance of firm 

licenses and registrations and require proof in the form of 

corporate records maintained pursuant to North Carolina General 

Statute 55B. 55B or 57D. Such records must shall be maintained 

for a period of seven years after the renewal is submitted. Renewal 

fees are non-refundable. 

(d)(c)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of 

the expiration, the firm license or registration may be renewed at 

any time, upon the return of the completed renewal documents, 

the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After one year 

from the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal 

fee the licensee or registrant shall seek reinstatement, as allowed 

by G.S. 83A-11. The Board may reinstate the firms' license or 

certificate of registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11. 

(e)(d)  Seal. Each licensed or registered corporation firm shall 

adopt a seal pursuant to 21 NCAC 02 .0206(a)(3). Rule .0206 of 

this Chapter. 

(f)  Approval of Name. In addition to the requirements and 

limitations of G.S. 55 and 55B, the firm name used by an 

architectural corporation shall conform with Rule .0205 and be 

approved by the Board before being used. This Rule shall not 

prohibit the continued use of any firm name adopted in conformity 

with the General Statutes of North Carolina and Board Rules in 

effect at the date of such adoption. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-10. 
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21 NCAC 02 .0215 OUT OF STATE FIRMS 

(a)  Incorporation in Other States. Architectural and interior 

design firms from other states may shall be granted firm 

certificates of licensure or registration for practice in this State 

upon receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the 

submission of a certified copy of their firm charter, or other 

corresponding documents, amended as may be necessary to insure 

ensure compliance with all requirements of Chapter 55B, the 

Professional Corporation Act for architectural firms and Chapter 

55, the Business Corporation Act for registered interior design 

firms. of the State of North Carolina, and the payment of the firm 

application fee. In addition to the other requirements as set out in 

G.S. 83A-8, foreign out of state interior design firms shall, must, 

prior to registration, receive from the Secretary of State of North 

Carolina a certificate of authority to do business within the state. 

A Architectural firms shall obtain a certificate for filing for a 

certificate of authority must be obtained by the from the Board 

prior to submitting application to the Secretary of State. State for 

a Certificate of Authority. 

(b)  Designated Individuals. Foreign entities may be permitted to 

practice architecture within the State of North Carolina provided 

that it complies with G.S. Chapter 55B. If a foreign an out of state 

entity offers both architectural and engineering services, then it 

must shall comply with requirements set forth in G.S. 89C. A 

foreign An out of state entity must shall have at least one officer, 

director and shareholder licensed as an individual architect in this 

state. Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding shares of the 

foreign out of state corporations must shall be owned by licensed 

architects or engineers who are licensed to practice their 

profession in a jurisdiction of the United States. However, the firm 

must shall designate at least one architect who is licensed in the 

State of North Carolina to be in responsible charge control for the 

firm practice of architecture within the State of North Carolina. 

Notwithstanding the requirements of this Rule, an individual 

architect who is licensed under G.S. Chapter 83A-7 may practice 

as an individual. A registered interior design firm shall designate 

one registered interior designer to be in responsible control of all 

interior design work offered and performed by that firm in this 

State. 

(c)  Partnerships. An out of state architectural or registered interior 

design partnership may practice architecture, architecture or 

registered interior design, if every partner in the firm is licensed 

or registered as an individual in this state under Rule .0213 and 

the partnership complies with Paragraph (f) this Rule . 

(d)  Limited Liability Companies. An out of state Limited 

Liability Company may practice architecture, architecture or 

registered interior design if the Limited Liability Company 

complies with G.S. 57C 57D and at least one member and one 

owner are licensed or registered as in individuals an individual 

under Rule .0213 and comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Limited Liability Partnerships. An out of state Limited 

Liability Partnership may practice architecture, architecture or 

registered interior design, if the Limited Liability Partnership 

complies with G.S. 59, and at least one partner is licensed or 

registered as an individual under Rule .0213. 

(f)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. If the Board has not 

received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application 

on or before December 31st each year the firm license or 

registration shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm 

registration may be renewed at any time within one year, upon the 

return of the completed application, the annual renewal fee and 

the late renewal fees. After one year from the date of expiration 

for non-payment of the annual renewal fee, the license or 

registration shall be automatically revoked. The Board may 

reinstate the firm's certificate of license or registration, as allowed 

by G.S. 83A-11. 

 

Authority G.S. 55B-6; 55B-16; 83A-6; 83A-8; 83A-9. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0217 ARCHITECT EMERITUS 

Resident architects who have been registered in this state State 

who are retired from active practice or other related professional 

activities in any jurisdictions whatsoever, may apply for 

"Emeritus Status" by submitting a form provided by the Board 

showing compliance with the requirements of this Section. 

"Retired" means that the architect no longer practices architecture 

in that he/she no longer seals and certifies documents with his/her 

seal or otherwise offers to practice or practices architecture as 

defined in G.S. 83A-1. G.S. 83A-1 as amended. Nonresident 

architects who have been continuously certified by NCARB the 

National Council of Architecture Registration Boards who are 

retired from active practice [or or other related professional 

activities activities] in any jurisdictions whatsoever, jurisdiction 

and who are "emeritus", inactive or retired in every other 

jurisdiction in which they are licensed may also apply for 

"Emeritus Status" by submitting a form provided by the Board 

showing compliance with the requirements of this Section. Any 

such "architect emeritus" must renew that status on forms 

provided by the Board on or before the first day of July in each 

year. Any reference to an architect on "Emeritus Status" on any 

letter, title, sign, card card, or other device shall list such architect 

individual as "Architect Emeritus." Emeritus". 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-4; 83A-6; 83A-11; 83A-12. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0218 LIMITED LIABILITY 

COMPANIES 

 

Authority G.S. 57C-2-01; 83A-6. 

 

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION PROCEDURES 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0302 ARCHITECTURAL LICENSURE 

BY EXAMINATION 

(a)  The Board became a Direct Registration State with the 

National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) 

on July 25, 2016. Those individuals who wish to take the 

Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) must shall contact the 

National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) 

NCARB directly to obtain exam eligibility to take the ARE. Upon 

completion of all requirements set forth in the NCARB 

Architecture Experience Program (AXP), a candidate seeking 

license registration licensure by exam in North Carolina must 

shall direct NCARB to transmit a completed AXP record to the 

North Carolina Board of Architecture. Architecture and 

Registered Interior Designers. 

(b)  Upon passing all sections of the NCARB ARE NCARB, 

fulfillment of all NCARB AXP requirements, and completion of 
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the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited 

degree, NCARB, as directed by the candidate, will transmit a 

completed AXP file to the Board for review. Upon notification of 

receipt of a completed AXP file from the Board, an individual 

may submit the application for Candidate Record Review to 

determine compliance with G.S. 83A-7(a)(1)a. G.S. General 

Statute 83A-7(a)(1)a. shall be deemed satisfied through 

completion of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (5) of this Paragraph. The Board shall grant licensure by 

exam to those individuals who: 

(1) are of good moral character as defined in G.S. 

83A-1(5); 

(2) are at least 18 years of age; 

(3) have completed a NAAB accredited 

professional degree in architecture or who have 

completed a NAAB accredited degree program 

that is identified as an NCARB endorsed 

Integrated Path To Architectural Licensure 

Degree Program; 

(4) have completed the NCARB AXP; and 

(5) submits submit the Application for Licensure 

by Exam and fee. 

(c)  Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination 

in North Carolina. 

(1) Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on 

any part of the ARE remain valid for a period 

of time established by the exam provider, 

NCARB. 

(2) Scores received on any part of the ARE prior to 

July 1, 2006 are invalid. 

(d)  Practical training pursuant to G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means 

practical experience and diversified training as defined by the 

Architectural Experience Program through the NCARB. 

(e)  During the application process, Board members, in order to 

augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview 

the applicant regarding qualifications required in Paragraph (b) of 

this Rule. The Board shall determine whether an interview is 

needed on a case-by-case basis, based upon information in the 

application, including any academic or professional discipline. 

(f)  To complete the ARE, an exam candidate shall receive a 

passing grade in each division of the ARE. Information regarding 

NCARB grading methods and procedures can be found on their 

web site at www.ncarb.org. 

(g)  A person currently employed under the responsible control of 

an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB 

accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB AXP 

record or has completed the NCARB AXP may use the title 

"Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect" in conjunction with 

his or her current employment. 

(h)  The fees for examination, or parts thereof, are set and 

collected by the NCARB. Fee information is available on the 

NCARB web site www.ncarb.org. 

(i)  The standards of the National Council of Architecture 

Registration Boards and its components are hereby incorporated 

by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and 

can be accessed at no charge at www.ncarb.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-1; 83A-6; 83A-7; 83A-12. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0303 ARCHITECTURE LICENSURE 

BY RECIPROCITY 

(a)  An individual who holds a current license in good standing 

from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards 

(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council 

Certificate (also known as "Blue Cover") issued by NCARB may 

shall qualify for licensure by reciprocity. Upon reciprocity upon 

receipt of a certified record from NCARB and the Board 

application for licensure by reciprocity and fee fee, the Board may 

issue a license to an applicant as provided in G.S. 83A-7(b). 

Revocation of the certificate by NCARB shall automatically 

suspend the architect's license to practice in North Carolina until 

such time as the certificate is reinstated by NCARB. 

(b)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, The the Board may interview with the applicant to 

satisfy the Board, or its designee ensure that the applicant has had 

sufficient recent architectural practice experience to be able to 

competently practice architecture in this State. state. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6; 83A-7. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0306 INTERIOR DESIGNER 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Those individuals who wish to become registered to practice 

as a registered interior designer in North Carolina, shall 

demonstrate that they have satisfied the educational and 

professional experience eligibility requirements adopted by the 

Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) to sit for the 

National Council for Interior Design Qualification Examination 

(NCIDQ), shall successfully complete the NCIDQ Examination 

and submit the Board application for registration and fee. 

Revocation of the certificate by CIDQ shall automatically 

suspend the interior designer's registration to practice in North 

Carolina until such time as the certificate is reinstated by CIDQ. 

(b)  An architect may be granted registration to practice interior 

design so long as they are currently licensed and in good standing 

in the State of North Carolina and submit the Board application 

for registration and fee. 

(c)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or 

application, the Board may interview the applicant to ensure that 

the applicant has had sufficient interior design experience to be 

able to practice registered interior design in this State. 

(d)  The standards of the CIDQ and its components are hereby 

incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and 

editions and can be accessed at no charge at www.cidq.org. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-7. 

 

SECTION .0900 - CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0901 SCOPE 

The rules in this Section set forth the continuing education 

requirements to be complied with by licensees or registrants. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 
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21 NCAC 02 .0903 REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Every licensee and registrant shall obtain 12 contact hours of 

continuing education for each calendar year. "Contact Hour" 

means a minimum of 50 minutes contact. 

(b)  The contact hours shall be obtained in structured educational 

activities intended to increase or update the architect's or 

registered interior designer's knowledge and competence in 

technical and professional architectural and interior design 

subjects directly related to safeguarding public health, safety and 

welfare("HSW"). "Structured educational activities" are activities 

in which at least 75 percent of an activity's content and 

instructional time is devoted to HSW subjects related to the 

practice of architecture, including courses of study or other 

activities under the areas identified as HSW by individuals or 

organizations, whether delivered by direct contact or distance 

learning methods. 

(c)  Registrants Licensees and registrants shall not carry forward 

any contact hours into the subsequent period. 

(d)  Registrants Licensees and registrants shall certify completion 

of the contact hours for the previous calendar year with annual 

registration renewal. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0904 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT 

(a)  The Board has final authority with respect to approval of 

courses, programs, and contact hours. 

(b)  The Board may randomly audit the compliance of individual 

licensees and registrants and require proof in the form of records 

maintained pursuant to Rule .0905 of this Section of participation 

in courses or programs that conform with the content and contact 

hours calculation requirements contained in G.S. 83A-6(a) and 

these Rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0905 RECORD KEEPING 

(a)  The licensee or registrant shall maintain records to support 

credits claimed. Records required include: 

(1) A a self-made log showing the type of activity 

claimed, sponsoring organization, location, 

duration, the name of the instructor or speaker 

and contact hours earned; or 

(2) Attendance attendance certificates or other 

evidence of participation that includes the type 

of activity claimed, sponsoring organization, 

location, duration, the name of the instructor or 

speaker and contact hours earned; or 

(3) Records records maintained by the American 

Institute of Architects Continuing Education 

system(AIA/CES. System(AIA/CES) or the 

International Design Continuing Education 

Council (IDCEC). 

(b)  Records shall be retained by the licensee or registrant for a 

period of six years after the credit is claimed and provided to the 

Board upon request. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0906 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

EXCEPTIONS 

A licensee or registrant shall be exempt from the continuing 

education requirements for any of the following reasons: 

(1) New licensees or registrants by way of 

examination or reciprocity for the calendar year 

in which they become licensed; licensed or 

registered; 

(2) A registrant serving on temporary active duty in 

the armed forces of the United States for a 

period of time exceeding 90 consecutive days 

in a year or as provided by statute, whichever is 

greater; Architects or registered interior 

designers currently licensed by or registered 

and in good standing with the Board (whose 

license or registration is not suspended or 

revoked) who are serving in the armed forces of 

the United States and who are eligible for an 

extension of time to file a tax return pursuant to 

G.S. 105-249.2 are granted a waiver of their 

mandatory continuing education requirements 

for the time period disregarded pursuant to the 

Internal Revenue Code 26 U.S.C. 7508; 

(3) Registrants experiencing physical disability or 

illness if supporting documentation is approved 

by the Board.  Such documentation shall be in 

the form of a statement by the registrant, a 

statement from a physician, or medical records 

which show that the disability or illness 

prevented registrant's participation in a course 

which the registrant had enrolled, or prevented 

registrant's participation in the continuing 

education program for at least 90 consecutive 

days in a year; and The Board shall exempt a 

licensee or registrant if the Board determines 

that the licensee or registrant is experiencing 

physical disability, illness, or other extenuating 

circumstances that prevent the licensee or 

registrant from continuing education. 

Supporting documentation must be furnished to 

the Board. 

(4) Registrants Licensees who receive emeritus 

status from the Board.  In order to return to 

active practice, registrants licensees shall 

complete continuing education requirements 

for each exempted year not to exceed two years. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0907 REINSTATEMENT 

A former licensee or registrant may only apply for reinstatement 

pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 if he has he or she has earned all 

delinquent contact hours within the 12 months preceding the 

application. However, if the total number of contact hours 

required to become current exceeds 24, then 24 shall be the 

maximum number required. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 
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21 NCAC 02 .0908 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECIPROCITY 

The continuing education requirements of North Carolina shall be 

deemed satisfied by a non-resident licensee or registrant provided: 

(1) Registrant's The licensee or registrant's resident 

jurisdiction has a comparable similar 

continuing education program; and 

(2) The same jurisdiction accepts the North 

Carolina continuing education requirements as 

satisfying their requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0909 FORMS DOCUMENTATION 

AND AUDITS 

All renewal applications shall require the completion of a 

continuing education certification provided by the Board 

documenting the contact hours claimed for the renewal period. 

The Upon request by the Board, the licensee or registrant shall 

supply sufficient detail documentation as set forth in Rule .0905 

of this Chapter to permit audit verification. verification and shall 

certify and sign the continuing education certification with the 

renewal application and fee. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11. 

 

21 NCAC 02 .0910 NON-COMPLIANCE 

(a)  If any credits are disallowed by the Board, then the licensee 

or registrant shall have 60 calendar days after notification from 

the date on the notice to substantiate the original claim or obtain 

other contact hours to meet the minimum requirements. 

(b)  Licensees or registrants who fail to complete the continuing 

education requirement by the end of the previous calendar year 

shall have his or her license placed on probation and shall 

complete the outstanding continuing education by December 31st 

of the current calendar year. If the licensee or registrant fails to 

complete the outstanding continuing education requirements his 

or her license shall be suspended for 60 days or until such time as 

compliance is demonstrated if prior to 60 days. If the licensee or 

registrant fails to complete the outstanding continuing education 

within the 60 days suspension period period, his or her license or 

registration shall be revoked. 

 

Authority G.S. 83A-6(a)(4); 83A-6(a)(5); 83A-11; 83A-15. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 65 – BOARD OF RECREATIONAL THERAPY 

LICENSURE 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure intends to amend the 

rule cited as 21 NCAC 65 .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncbrtl.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be 

requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit written 

comments to becky@ncbrtl.org, or PO Box 2655, Durham, NC 

27715 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

-Professional standards have increased as well as content and 

number of courses have increased in universities therefore 

NCBRTL sees the need to also require additional coursework for 

basic competencies to six Recreational therapy content courses 

-NCBRTL is clarifying education and training is a part of 

recreational therapy practice so all recreational therapy content 

courses must be taught by a licensed recreational therapist. 

-Update process for applying when internship supervisor cannot 

be located and remove outdated date. 

-Clarify internship supervisor must be licensed throughout the 

entire internship. A person with an expired license cannot 

supervise a recreational therapy intern. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Becky Garrett, PO Box 2655, 

Durham, NC 27715; phone (336) 212-1133; email 

becky@ncbrtl.org 

 

Comment period ends:  April 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SECTION .0300 – REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE 

 

21 NCAC 65 .0301 MINIMUM LEVEL OF 

EDUCATION AND COMPETENCY FOR LICENSED 

RECREATIONAL THERAPIST 

(a)  For the purposes of G.S. 90C-27(a), a candidate for licensure 

as a recreational therapist shall have graduated from an accredited 

college or university with a baccalaureate degree or higher and 

with a major or specialization in recreational therapy or 
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therapeutic recreation. The academic major or specialization shall 

be verified by an official transcript. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms mean: 

(1) An "academic major" is defined as a degree in 

recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation. 

(2) A "specialization in recreational therapy or 

therapeutic recreation" is defined as a degree in 

recreation and leisure studies, or recreation, or 

health and physical education, or health and 

human performance with a specialization, also 

known as an option, emphasis, or 

concentration, in therapeutic recreation or 

recreational therapy. 

(3) An "accredited college or university" is defined 

as a college or university accredited by an 

accreditation body recognized by the United 

States Department of Education or by the 

Committee on Accreditation of Recreational 

Therapy Education (CARTE) under the 

Commission of Accreditation of Allied Health 

Education (CAAHEP). 

(c)  An academic major or specialization is defined by the 

following components: 

(1) Coursework for a degree or specialization in 

recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation 

shall reflect five six courses, three hours per 

course in which the title, course description, 

and course outline reflects recreational therapy 

or therapeutic recreation content related to the 

"APIE "APIE(D) Process" Process". including 

Assessment/Evaluation, Planning and 

Implementation, and Advancement of the 

Profession. Course titles may include 

Introduction or Foundations, Assessment, 

Planning, Implementation, Evaluation, 

Research, and Advancement of the Profession. 

Topics that should be addressed in classes 

should include Ethics, Standards of Practice, 

and documentation. Recreational 

Therapy/Therapeutic Recreation coursework 

offered in North Carolina must be taught by a 

licensed recreational therapist (LRT) or out of 

state by a Certified Therapeutic Recreation 

Specialist (CTRS). For candidates for licensure 

who have passed the NCTRC examination and 

were certified by the National Council for 

Therapeutic Recreation Certification, a 

therapeutic recreation or recreational therapy 

content course taught is considered the same as 

a therapeutic recreation or recreational therapy 

content course taken. 

(2) "Supportive coursework" are courses, not 

including the recreational therapy or 

therapeutic recreation content courses, that 

provide knowledge necessary to develop the 

ability to practice recreational therapy or 

therapeutic recreation and are required for the 

major or specialization in recreational therapy 

or therapeutic recreation. Supportive courses 

provide knowledge about human development, 

human functioning, health, health care and 

human services, illness and disabling 

conditions. Supportive courses for a degree or 

specialization in recreational therapy or 

therapeutic recreation shall include three 

semester hours of anatomy and physiology, 

three semester hours of abnormal psychology, 

three semester hours of human growth and 

development across the lifespan, and nine 

semester hours in the area of health and human 

services. Health and human services 

coursework may include content in the areas of 

education, ethics, and other supportive courses 

related to the practice of recreational therapy. 

(3) In addition to the coursework required in 

Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (2) of this Rule, a 

field placement course shall be required for a an 

academic major or specialization in therapeutic 

recreation or recreational therapy. 

(A) A "field placement course," 

sometimes called an "internship 

course," is a course taken for college 

or university credit and shall require 

clinical education in an agency 

providing therapeutic recreation 

services to clients. The field placement 

or internship course shall meet the 

criteria for a field placement set forth 

by the NCTRC in the NCTRC 

Standards publication herein 

incorporated by reference including 

any subsequent amendments and 

editions. A copy of the NCTRC field 

placement requirements may be 

obtained at no cost on the National 

Council for Therapeutic Recreation 

Certification (NCTRC) website at: 

http://www.nctrc.org. 

(B) A "university supervisor" of a field 

placement course is defined as the 

university faculty assigned to 

supervise the student and course from 

the university. If the university is 

located in North Carolina, University 

supervisors shall be licensed by the 

North Carolina Board of Recreational 

Therapy Licensure (NCBRTL) 

throughout the entire internship 

experience. 

(C) An "agency supervisor" is the 

recreational therapist or therapeutic 

recreation specialist, in an agency 

providing therapeutic recreation or 

recreational therapy services to 

patients or clients, assigned to provide 

clinical supervision to the field 

placement student from the agency. 

Supervisors of students completing 
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field placements in North Carolina 

shall be licensed by the North Carolina 

Board of Recreational Therapy 

Licensure (NCBRTL). (NCBRTL) 

throughout the entire internship 

experience. 

(D) "Successful performance" in a field 

placement course is defined as a grade 

of D or Pass awarded by the university 

supervisor. "Successful performance 

from the agency supervisor" is defined 

by an overall rating of "Achieves 

Expectations" documented on the 

Clinical Performance Appraisal and 

Summary Reference Form, 

(CPASRF) that may be accessed at the 

Board's website, www.ncbrtl.org or by 

contacting the Board. The CPASRF 

includes the content and performance 

criteria from the ATRA SOP, as set 

forth in Rule .0203 of this Chapter. 

The CPASRF is provided by the Board 

or at the Board's website 

www.ncbrtl.org. 

(d)  Candidates for licensure who have been certified as a 

Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, (CTRS™) by the 

National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification 

(NCTRC) since 1990 and have completed all recreational therapy 

or therapeutic recreation content courses, and all support content 

course requirements, but have not completed an internship or field 

placement course cannot locate their internship supervisor, shall 

file an Internship Supervisor Location Appeals Form and shall be 

issued a license to practice as a recreational therapist if they verify 

a minimum of one year of successful performance as a 

recreational therapist or therapeutic recreation specialist during 

which time they were a " CTRS™ by the NCTRC. Successful 

work performance shall be verified to the NCBRTL on a CPASRF 

provided by NCBRTL. "Successful performance" is defined as an 

overall rating completed by the agency supervisor of "Achieves 

Expectations" on the CPASRF provided by the NCBRTL. 

(e)  Successful passage of the NCTRC examination shall be 

determined by the NCTRC. Applicants for licensure shall submit 

evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC examination to the 

NCBRTL. Evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC 

examination shall be copy of his or her NCTRC certificate or a 

successful passage notification letter from 

NCTRC. 

 

Authority G.S. 90C-22(2)(i); 90C-22(7); 90C-24(13); 90C-27(a). 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on December 16, 2021 Meeting. 
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0509 FOOD SERVICE ORIENTATION 

(a)  The food service supervisor and adult care home dietary staff 

who prepare and serve food shall complete a food service 

orientation training that provides an overview of food service in 

adult care homes, including the preparation of therapeutic diets, 

established by the Department or an equivalent that contains at 

least the same information as required in the training approved by 

the Department within 30 days of hire. The food service 

orientation training is available at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/foodsrvman.pdf, at no cost. 

(b)  Licensed dietitian/nutritionists are exempt from this 

orientation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Temporary Adoption Expired March 12, 2005; 

Eff. June 1, 2005; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1213 AVAILABILITY OF 

CORRECTIVE ACTION AND SURVEY REPORTS 

An adult care home shall make available to residents and their 

families or responsible persons and to prospective residents and 

their families or responsible persons, upon request and in a 

location accessible to residents and visitors in the home the 

following: 

(1) the most recent annual or biennial and 

subsequent facility survey reports issued by the 

Adult Care Licensure Section of the Division of 

Health Service Regulation; 

(2) any other reports issued by the Adult Care 

Licensure Section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation within the past 12 months; 

and 

(3) corrective action reports issued by the county 

department of social services within the past 12 

months. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0509 FOOD SERVICE ORIENTATION 

Family care home staff who prepare and serve food shall complete 

a food service orientation training that provides an overview of 

food service in adult care homes, including the preparation of 

therapeutic diets, established by the Department or an equivalent 

that contains at least the same information as required in the 

training approved by the Department within 30 days of hire. The 

food service orientation training is available at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/pdf/foodsrvman.pdf, at no cost. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Temporary Adoption Expired March 12, 2005; 

Eff. June 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 
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10A NCAC 13G .1214 AVAILABILITY OF 

CORRECTIVE ACTION AND SURVEY REPORTS 

A family care home shall make available to residents and their 

families or responsible persons and to prospective residents and 

their families or responsible persons, upon request and in a 

location accessible to residents and visitors in the home the 

following: 

(1) the most recent annual or biennial and 

subsequent facility survey reports issued by the 

Adult Care Licensure Section of the Division of 

Health Service Regulation; 

(2) any other survey reports issued by the Adult 

Care Licensure Section of the Division of 

Health Service Regulation within the past 12 

months; and 

(3) corrective action reports issued by the county 

department of social services within the past 12 

months. 

 

History Note: Authority 131D-2.16; 143B-165; 

Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1601 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Angiography procedures" means procedures 

performed using cardiac catheterization 

equipment that are not cardiac catheterization 

services. 

(2) "Approved cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that 

was issued a certificate of need but is not being 

used to provide cardiac catheterization services 

as of the application deadline for the review 

period. 

(3) "Cardiac catheterization equipment" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(2f). 

(4) "Cardiac catheterization services" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(2g). 

(5) "Diagnostic-equivalent cardiac catheterization 

procedures" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(6) "Existing cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

being used to offer cardiac catheterization 

services as of the application deadline for the 

review period. 

(7) "Fixed cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

not mobile or shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment. 

(8) "Fixed cardiac catheterization equipment 

service area" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(9) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

cardiac catheterization equipment provides 

cardiac catheterization services. 

(10) "Mobile cardiac catherization equipment" 

means cardiac catheterization equipment that is 

moved weekly to provide cardiac 

catheterization services at two or more host 

sites. 

(11) "Mobile cardiac catheterization equipment 

service area" shall have the same meaning as 

defined in the annual State Medical Facilities 

Plan in effect as of the first day of the review 

period. 

(12) "Proposed cardiac catheterization equipment" 

means the cardiac catheterization equipment 

proposed in the certificate of need application. 

(13) "Shared fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment" means fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment that is used to perform cardiac 

catheterization procedures and angiography 

procedures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; February 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2001 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective April 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1603 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of 

the review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity and located 

in the proposed fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity and located 
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in the proposed fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the cardiac 

catheterization equipment identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed fixed cardiac catheterization 

equipment during each of the first three full 

fiscal years of operation following completion 

of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the cardiac catheterization 

equipment identified in Subparagraphs (1) and 

(2) of this Paragraph and the proposed fixed 

cardiac catheterization equipment shall perform 

900 or more diagnostic-equivalent cardiac 

catheterization procedures per unit of cardiac 

catheterization equipment during the third full 

fiscal year of operation following completion of 

the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of 

the review period shall: 

(1) provide projected utilization of the proposed 

shared fixed cardiac catheterization equipment 

during each of the first three full fiscal years of 

operation following completion of the project; 

(2) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph; and 

(3) project that the proposed shared fixed cardiac 

catheterization equipment shall perform 225 or 

more diagnostic-equivalent cardiac 

catheterization and angiography procedures 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to acquire mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment pursuant to a need determination in the 

State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity that provides 

cardiac catheterization services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment service area; 

(2) identify the approved mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment owned or operated 

by the applicant or a related entity that will 

provide cardiac catheterization services at host 

sites located in the proposed mobile cardiac 

catheterization equipment service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the cardiac 

catheterization equipment identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed mobile cardiac catheterization 

equipment during each of the first three full 

fiscal years of operation following completion 

of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph; and 

(5) project that the cardiac catheterization 

equipment identified in Subparagraphs (1) and 

(2) of this Paragraph and the proposed mobile 

cardiac catheterization equipment shall perform 

225 or more diagnostic-equivalent cardiac 

catheterization procedures per unit of cardiac 

catheterization equipment during the third full 

fiscal year of operation following completion of 

the project. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; February 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2001 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved heart-lung bypass machine" means 

a heart-lung bypass machine that was issued a 

certificate of need but is not being used as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Existing heart-lung bypass machine" means a 

heart-lung bypass machine that is being used as 

of the application deadline for the review 

period. 

(3) "Health service facility" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-176(9b). 

(4) "Heart-lung bypass machine" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(10a). 

(5) "Open-heart surgical procedure" means one 

visit by a patient to an operating room for open 

heart surgery services. 
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(6) "Open-heart surgery services" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(18b). 

(7) "Proposed heart-lung bypass machine" means 

the heart-lung bypass machine proposed in the 

application under review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. January 1, 1987; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000 and shall expire on 

the date on which the permanent amendment to this Rule, 

approved by the Rules Review Commission on November 17, 

1999, becomes effective; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; November 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1901 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved LINAC" means a linear accelerator 

(LINAC) that was issued a certificate of need 

but is not being used to provide services as of 

the application deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Equivalent Simple Treatment Visit (ESTV)" 

shall have the same meaning as defined in the 

annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect as 

of the first day of the review period. 

(3) "Existing LINAC" means a LINAC that is 

being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(4) "LINAC service area" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period. 

(5) "Linear accelerator (LINAC)" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in G.S. 131E-

176(14g). 

(6) "Proposed LINAC" means the LINAC 

proposed in the application under review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999 expired October 12, 

1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .1903 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

An applicant proposing to acquire a LINAC pursuant to a need 

determination in the annual State Medical Facilities Plan in effect 

as of the first day of the review period shall: 

(1) identify the existing LINACs owned or 

operated by the applicant or a related entity and 

located in the proposed LINAC service area; 

(2) identify the approved LINACs owned or 

operated by the applicant or a related entity and 

located in the proposed LINAC service area; 

(3) provide projected utilization of the LINACs 

identified in Items (1) and (2) of this Rule and 

the proposed LINAC during each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(4) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

for the projected utilization required by Item (3) 

of this Rule; 

(5) project that the LINACs identified in Items (1) 

and (2) of this Rule and the proposed LINAC 

shall perform during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project 

either: 

(a) 6,750 or more ESTVs per LINAC; or 

(b) serve 250 or more patients per 

LINAC. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 1999 expired 

October 12, 1999; 

Temporary Amended Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006. 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. March 15, 2002; January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 
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Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2301 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2303 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1994; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2401 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Catchment area" means as defined in G.S. 

122C-3(4). 

(2) "Intermediate care facility for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities" means as defined in 

G.S. 131E-176(14a). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-177(5); 

131E-183; 

Eff. December 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; September 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2403 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to add intermediate care facility for 

individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID) beds to an 

existing facility shall not be approved unless the average 

occupancy, over the six months immediately preceding the 

submittal of the application, of the total number of ICF/IID beds 

within the facility in which the new beds are to be operated was 

at least 90 percent. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to establish new ICF/IID beds shall 

not be approved unless occupancy is projected to be at least 90 

percent for the total number of ICF/IID beds proposed to be 

operated in the entire facility, no later than one year following the 

completion of the proposed project. 

(c)  An applicant proposing to establish new ICF/IID beds shall 

comply with one of the following models: 

(1) a residential community based freestanding 

facility with six beds or less, i.e., group home 

model; or 

(2) a community-based facility with 7 to 15 beds if 

documentation is provided that a facility of this 

size is necessary because adequate residential 

community based freestanding facilities are not 

available in the Area Authority catchment area 

to meet the needs of the population to be served. 

(d)  No more than three ICF/IID facilities housing a combined 

total of 18 persons shall be developed on contiguous pieces of 

property. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-177(5); 

131E-183; 

Eff. November 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2501 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183; 

Eff. March 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1996; October 1, 1984. 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2503 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. November 1, 1996; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2007; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2601 DEFINITIONS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Eff. May 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2009; November 1, 1989; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2603 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183; 

Eff. November 1, 1996; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Adjusted MRI procedure" shall have the same 

meaning as defined in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the 

review period. 

(2) "Approved MRI scanner" means a magnetic 

resonance imaging (MRI) scanner that was 

issued a certificate of need but is not being used 

to provide services as of the application 

deadline for the review period. 
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(3) "Existing MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 

(4) "Fixed MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is not a mobile MRI scanner. 

(5) "Fixed MRI scanner service area" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(6) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

MRI scanner provides services. 

(7) "Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scanner" 

shall have the same meaning as defined in G.S. 

131E-176(14m). 

(8) "Mobile MRI scanner" means an MRI scanner 

that is moved weekly to provide services at two 

or more host sites. 

(9) "Mobile MRI scanner service area" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(10) "Proposed MRI scanner" means the MRI 

scanner proposed in the application under 

review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 

12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2001 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2009; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .2703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity and located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(4) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed fixed MRI 

scanner service area; 

(5) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

fixed MRI scanner during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(6) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (5) of this Paragraph; 

(7) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed fixed MRI scanner shall perform 

during the third full fiscal year of operation 

following completion of the project as follows: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C) 2,883 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(D) 2,643 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E) 1,201 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 

are no existing fixed MRI scanners in 
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the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

and 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph 

shall perform 3,328 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per mobile MRI scanner during the 

third full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile MRI scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area during the 12 months 

before the application deadline for the review 

period; 

(2) identify the approved mobile MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide mobile MRI services at 

host sites located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing fixed MRI scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

that are located in the proposed mobile MRI 

scanner service area; 

(4) identify the approved fixed MRI scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will be located in the proposed 

mobile MRI scanner service area; 

(5) identify the existing and proposed host sites for 

each mobile MRI scanner identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed mobile MRI scanner; 

(6) provide projected utilization of the MRI 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

mobile MRI scanner during each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(7) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph; 

(8) project that the mobile MRI scanners identified 

in Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph 

and the proposed mobile MRI scanner shall 

perform 3,328 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner during the third 

full fiscal year of operation following 

completion of the project; and 

(9) project that the fixed MRI scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (3) and (4) of this Paragraph 

shall perform during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project 

as follows: 

(A) 3,364 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are four or more fixed MRI 

scanners in the fixed MRI scanner 

service area; 

(B) 3,123 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are three fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(C) 2,883 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there are two fixed MRI scanners in 

the fixed MRI scanner service area; 

(D) 2,643 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per fixed MRI scanner if 

there is one fixed MRI scanner in the 

fixed MRI scanner service area; or 

(E) 1,201 or more adjusted MRI 

procedures per MRI scanner if there 

are no fixed MRI scanners in the fixed 

MRI scanner service area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. February 1, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 1999 Expired on October 

12, 1999; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2000 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective August 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2001 amends and 

replaces a permanent rulemaking originally proposed to be 

effective April 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002 amends and replaces 

the permanent rule effective, August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2008; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3701 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to all rules in this Section: 

(1) "Approved PET scanner" means a positron 

emission tomography (PET) scanner that was 

issued a certificate of need but is not being used 

to provide services as of the application 

deadline for the review period. 

(2) "Existing PET scanner" means a PET scanner 

that is being used to provide services as of the 

application deadline for the review period. 
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(3) "Fixed PET scanner" means a PET scanner that 

is not mobile. 

(4) "Fixed PET scanner service area" shall have the 

same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(5) "Host site" means the location where the mobile 

PET scanner provides services. 

(6) "Mobile PET scanner" means a PET scanner 

that is moved weekly to provide services at two 

or more host sites. 

(7) "Mobile PET scanner service area" shall have 

the same meaning as defined in the annual State 

Medical Facilities Plan in effect as of the first 

day of the review period. 

(8) "Positron emission tomography scanner" shall 

have the same meaning as defined in G.S. 

131E-176(19a). 

(9) "Proposed PET scanner" means the PET 

scanner proposed in the application under 

review. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

10A NCAC 14C .3703 PERFORMANCE STANDARDS 

(a)  An applicant proposing to acquire a fixed PET scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing fixed PET scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area; 

(2) identify the approved fixed PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity and located in the proposed fixed PET 

scanner service area; 

(3) identify the existing mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided services at host sites 

located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area during the 12 months before the 

application deadline for the review period; 

(4) identify the approved mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide services at host sites 

located in the proposed fixed PET scanner 

service area; 

(5) provide projected utilization of the PET 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

fixed PET scanner during each of the first three 

full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(6) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (5) of this Paragraph; and 

(7) project that the PET scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (4) of this Paragraph 

and the proposed fixed PET scanner shall 

perform 2,080 or more procedures per PET 

scanner during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project. 

(b)  An applicant proposing to acquire a mobile PET scanner 

pursuant to a need determination in the annual State Medical 

Facilities Plan in effect as of the first day of the review period 

shall: 

(1) identify the existing mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that provided services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile PET scanner 

service area during the 12 months before the 

application deadline for the review period; 

(2) identify the approved mobile PET scanners 

owned or operated by the applicant or a related 

entity that will provide services at host sites 

located in the proposed mobile PET scanner 

service area during the first three full fiscal 

years following completion of the project; 

(3) identify the existing fixed PET scanners owned 

or operated by the applicant or a related entity 

and located in the proposed mobile PET 

scanner service area; 

(4) identify the approved fixed PET scanners 

owned and operated by the applicant or a 

related entity and located in the proposed 

mobile PET scanner service area; 

(5) identify the existing and proposed host sites for 

each mobile PET scanner identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) and (2) of this Paragraph and 

the proposed mobile PET scanner; 

(6) provide projected utilization of the PET 

scanners identified in Subparagraphs (1) 

through (4) of this Paragraph and the proposed 

mobile PET scanner during each of the first 

three full fiscal years of operation following 

completion of the project; 

(7) provide the assumptions and methodology used 

to project the utilization required by 

Subparagraph (6) of this Paragraph; and 

(8) project that the PET scanners identified in 

Subparagraphs (1) through (4) of this Paragraph 

and the proposed mobile PET scanner shall 

perform 2,080 or more procedures per PET 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

36:15 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER FEBRUARY 1, 2022 

1329 

scanner during the third full fiscal year of 

operation following completion of the project. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-177(1); 131E-183(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. September 1, 1993 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Eff. January 4, 1994; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; January 1, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment effective January 1, 2002 amends and 

replaces the permanent rule effective August 1, 2002; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 1, 2006; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2006; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0205 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of the sanction shall be 

permanent where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense, 

except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a); 

(2) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

for which punishment is authorized by law to 

included imprisonment for more than two 

years, except as provided by G.S. 17C-13(a); or 

(3) the second suspension of an officer's 

certification for any of the causes requiring a 

five-year period of suspension pursuant to 12 

NCAC 09A .0204. 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be not less 

than five years; however, the Commission may reduce or suspend 

the period of sanction or substitute a period of probation in lieu of 

suspension of certification, or impose a combination of reduction, 

suspension, or probation as determined on a case-by-case basis 

following a consent order or an administrative hearing, where the 

cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a criminal offense 

other than those listed in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule; 

(2) refusal to submit to the applicant or lateral 

transferee drug screen required by these Rules; 

(3) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 

09C .0310, where the positive result cannot be 

explained to be in compliance with the law; 

(4) material misrepresentation of any information 

required for certification or accreditation; 

(5) obtaining, attempting to obtain, aiding another 

person to obtain, or aiding another person to 

attempt to obtain credit, training or certification 

by any means of false pretense, deception, 

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating; 

(6) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09B .0101(8); 

(7) removal from office under the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(8) performing activities or duties for which 

certification by the Commission is required 

without having first obtained the appropriate 

certification; or 

(9) commission or conviction of four or more 

crimes or unlawful acts defined as "Class B 

misdemeanors" in 12 NCAC 09A .0103(24)(b), 

regardless of the date of conviction. 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a criminal justice officer, the period of sanction shall be for an 

indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training 

requirements pursuant to 12 NCAC 09B .0205, 

0225, .0235, and 0236; 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards of employment pursuant to 09B 

.0101, .0111, .0114, .0116, .0117; 

(3) discharge from a criminal justice agency for 

impairment of physical or mental capabilities; 

or 

(4) failure to meet or satisfy the in-service training 

requirements as prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; August 1, 2001; November 1, 

1993; July 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; October 1, 1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; July 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0235 BASIC TRAINING – JUVENILE COURT COUNSELORS AND CHIEF COURT COUNSELORS 

(a)  The basic training course for Juvenile Court Counselors and Chief Court Counselors shall consist of a minimum of 151 hours of 

instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform those tasks essential to function as a Juvenile Court 

Counselor and a Chief Court Counselor. 

(b)  Each basic training course for Juvenile Court Counselors shall include training in the following topic areas: 

(1) Juvenile Justice Common Core: 

(A) Basic Individual Counseling Skills    8 hours 

(B) Interpersonal Communication Skills   8 hours 

(C) Working with Families 3 hours 
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(D) Characteristics of Delinquents    4 hours 

(E) Unlawful Workplace Harassment    2 hours 

(F) Career Survival: Integrity and Ethics in the North Carolina  

Department of Public Safety Workplace   2 hours 

(G) Staff and Juvenile Relationships    4 hours 

(H) Gang Awareness      4 hours 

(I) Situational Awareness and Risk Assessment   4 hours 

(J) Restraints, Controls, and Defensive Techniques  28 hours 

(K) Mechanical Restraints     4 hours 

(L) Mental Health      8 hours 

(M) CPR       4 hours 

(N) First Aid       4 hours 

(O) Employee Fitness and Wellness    4 hours 

(P) Trauma and Delinquents     6 hours 

(Q) Driver and Secure Transport Safety    8 hours 

(R) DMC- Addressing DMC within the JJ System  2 hours 

(S) Verbal De-escalation for Juvenile Justice   4 hours 

Total Hours        111 hours 

(2) Juvenile Court Counselor Specific: 

(A) Roles and Responsibilities     8 hours 

(B) Juvenile Law      8 hours 

(C) Intake       8 hours 

(D) Assessing Risk and Needs     4 hours 

(E) Report Writing and Documentation    12 hours 

Total Hours        40 hours 

Total Course Hours      151 hours 

 

(c)  The "Juvenile Court Counselor Basic Training Manual" as 

published by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety 

shall be applied as the curriculum for delivery of Juvenile Court 

Counselor basic training courses. Copies of this publication may 

be inspected at or purchased at the cost of printing and postage 

from the office of the agency: 

The Office of Staff Development and Training 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety 

2211 Schieffelin Road 

Apex, North Carolina 27502 

(d)  Upon completion of a Commission-certified training course 

for Juvenile Court Counselors and Chief Court Counselors, the 

Director of the school conducting the course shall notify the 

Commission of training completion by submitting a Report of 

Training Course Completion for each trainee. The Report of 

Training Completion Form is located on the agency's website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getattachment/fbf3480c-05a1-4e0c-a81a-

04070dea6199/F-11-Form_10-2-14.pdf.aspx. 

(e)  Employees of the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice who have completed the minimum 151 hour training 

program accredited by the Commission pursuant to Rule .0236 of 

this Section after January 1, 2013 who transfer from a Juvenile 

Justice Officer position to a Juvenile Court Counselor position 

shall be required to complete only the portions of the course 

identified as specific to the duties and responsibilities of a 

Juvenile Court Counselor under Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-2; 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. April 15, 2003; 

Eff. April 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; May 1, 

2014; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0305 TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 

SPECIALIZED INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION  

(a)  An applicant meeting the requirements for Specialized 

Instructor Certification as set forth in Rule .0304 of this Section 

shall be issued a certification to expire three years from the date 

of issuance. The applicant shall apply for certification as a 

Specialized Instructor within 60 days after the date the applicant 

achieved a passing score on the state comprehensive exam for the 

respective Specialized Instructor training course. 

(b)  Where certification for both General Probationary Instructor 

as set forth in Rule .0303 of this Section and Specialized Instructor 

Certification are issued on the same date, the instructor is required 

to instruct, within three years after certification, a minimum of 12 

hours in each of the topics for which Specialized Instructor 

Certification was granted, and that instruction was provided in a 

Commission-accredited basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, 

or .2005. The instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Instructor certification by teaching any 

specialized topic for which certification has been issued. 

(c)  When Specialized Instructor Certification is issued during an 

existing period of General Probationary Instructor Certification, 

the specialized instructor may satisfy the teaching requirement for 

the General Probationary Certification by teaching the specialized 

subject for which certification has been issued. 

(d)  The term of certification as a specialized instructor shall be 

three years. An application for renewal shall contain, in addition 
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to the requirements listed in Rule .0304 of this Section, 

documentary evidence that the applicant has remained active in 

the instructional process during the previous three-year period. 

Such documentary evidence shall include the following: 

(1) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

instructed at least 12 hours in each of the topics 

for which Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted, and that instruction was provided 

in a Commission-accredited basic training, 

Specialized Instructor Training, Commission-

recognized in-service training course, or 

training course delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 

10B .0601, .1302, or .2005. Acceptable 

documentary evidence shall include official 

Commission records submitted by School 

Directors or In-Service Training Coordinators 

and written certification from a School Director 

or In-Service Training Coordinator; 

(2) proof that the applicant has, within the three-

year period preceding application for renewal, 

attended and completed all instructor updates 

that have been issued by the Commission. 

Acceptable documentary evidence shall include 

official Commission records submitted by 

School Directors or In-Service Training 

Coordinators, or copies of certificates of 

completion issued by the institution which 

provided the instructor updates; and 

(A) a favorable written recommendation 

from a School Director or In-Service 

Training Coordinator completed on a 

Commission Renewal of Instructor 

and Professional Lecturer 

Certification Form (Form F-12A) 

stating the instructor taught at least 12 

hours in each of the topics for which 

Specialized Instructor Certification 

was granted. The teaching shall have 

been provided in a Commission-

accredited basic training, Specialized 

Instructor Training course, pursuant to 

Rule 12 NCAC 09C .0401, 

Commission-recognized in-service 

training course, or training course 

delivered pursuant to 12 NCAC 09F 

.0101, 12 NCAC 09H, 12 NCAC 10B 

.0601, .1302, or .2005; 

(B) a favorable written evaluation by a 

School Director, Qualified Assistant, 

In-Service Training Coordinator, or 

another Specialized Instructor 

certified in the same specialized 

subject, based on an on-site classroom 

evaluation of a presentation by the 

instructor in a Commission-accredited 

basic training, Specialized Instructor 

Training, Commission-recognized in-

service training course, or in-service 

training course delivered pursuant to 

12 NCAC 10B .0601, .1302, or .2005 

during the three-year period of 

Specialized Instructor Certification. 

Such evaluation shall be certified on a 

Criminal Justice Instructor Evaluation 

Form F-16, located on the agency's 

website: 

http://www.ncdoj.gov/getdoc/c2eba6a

a-12bc-4303-bf4b-5fa0431ef5a1/F-

16-6-11.aspx; 

(C) proof that the applicant has met the 

requirement set forth in Rule .0303(d) 

of this Section; 

(D) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Firearms 

Instructor has achieved a minimum 

score of 92 on the day and night Basic 

Law Enforcement Training firearms 

qualification courses, administered by 

a certified Specialized Firearms 

Instructor, within the three-year period 

preceding the application for renewal; 

and 

(E) proof that the individual applying for 

renewal as a Specialized Physical 

Fitness Instructor has passed the Basic 

Law Enforcement Training Police 

Officer Physical Abilities Test, 

administered by a certified Specialized 

Physical Fitness Instructor, within the 

three-year period preceding the 

application for renewal. 

(e)  Certification as a Specialized Instructor in the First 

Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosive and Hazardous Materials, 

and Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topic areas as outlined 

in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) of this Section shall 

remain in effect for 36 months from the date of issuance. During 

the 36 month term all non-Commission certificates required in 

Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and (j)(1) for Specialized 

Instructor certification in the First Responder, Physical Fitness, 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and Juvenile Justice Medical 

Emergencies topical areas shall be maintained. 

(f)  Those individuals who have previously held Specialized 

Instructor Certification and have not exceeded a three year time 

period from when his or her Specialized Instructor Certification 

expired are eligible to reapply for re-issuance of the previously 

held Specialized Instructor Certification. An application for re-

issuance shall contain documentation that the applicant: 

(1) holds a current General Instructor certification; 

(2) has completed all pre-qualification 

requirements for that specialty; 

(3) has passed the state examination for that 

specialty with a minimum score of 75; 

(4) has completed eight hours of evaluated 

instruction in the specialty where re-issuance of 

certification is taught, as documented on an F-

16 located on the agency's website: 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement 
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training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/. The eight hours of instruction 

shall be taught within 60 days of the Specialized 

Instructor Certification being reissued and 

evaluated by a Specialized Instructor certified 

in that specialty. Failure to complete the 

required eight hours of evaluated instruction 

will result in the reissued Specialized Instructor 

Certification being revoked; and 

(5) has maintained non-Commission certificates 

required in Rule .0304(d)(1), (g)(2), (i)(1), and 

(j)(1) for Specialized Instructor certification in 

the First Responder, Physical Fitness, 

Explosive and Hazardous Materials, and 

Juvenile Justice Medical Emergencies topical 

areas.  

(g)  Applicants for re-issuance of the Specialized Instructor 

Certification shall have one opportunity to pass the 

prequalification skills assessment and the state examination for 

that specialty. Should an applicant not achieve a passing score on 

either the prequalification skills assessment or the state 

examination for that specialty, the applicant shall complete the 

specific Specialized Instructor Course in its entirety. 

(h)  Applicants whose Specialized Instructor Certification is 

suspended or revoked shall not qualify for re-issuance. The 

applicant shall complete the specific Specialized Instructor 

Course in its entirety. 

(i)  The use of guest participants in a delivery of the "Basic Law 

Enforcement Training Course" shall be permissible. However, 

such guest participants are subject to the on-site supervision of a 

Commission-certified instructor and shall be authorized by the 

School Director. A guest participant shall be used only to 

complement the primary certified instructor of the block of 

instruction and shall not replace the primary instructor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; August 1, 2015; 

May 1, 2014; June 1, 2012; November 1, 2007; January 1, 2006; 

December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; July 1, 1991; 

July 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; February 1, 1987; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; January 1, 2020; August 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0505 PERIOD OF SUSPENSION: 

REVOCATION: OR DENIAL 

(a)  When the Commission revokes or denies the certification of 

a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 of this 

Section, the period of the sanction shall be 10 years where the 

cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a felony offense; 

(2) the second suspension of an officer's 

certification for any of the causes requiring a 

three-year period of suspension; or 

(3) revocation or denial of certification by the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission based on 

grounds that would constitute a violation of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a corrections officer pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G .0504 of this 

Section, the period of sanction, shall be not less than three years; 

however, the Commission may either reduce or suspend the 

period of sanction substitute a period of probation in lieu of 

suspension of certification, or impose a combination of reduction, 

suspension, or probation following an administrative hearing, 

where the cause of sanction is: 

(1) commission or conviction of a misdemeanor as 

defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102; 

(2) discharge by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and 

Juvenile Justice pursuant to 12 NCAC 09G 

.0504(b)(4) and (b)(5) of this Section; 

(3) refusal to submit to the applicant drug screen 

required by the Rules in this Subchapter; 

(4) production of a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission under 12 NCAC 

09G .0206, where the positive result cannot be 

explained to the Commission's satisfaction. For 

the purposes of this Rule, "to the Commission's 

satisfaction" shall be determined on a case-by-

case basis, and the use of a prescribed drug shall 

be satisfactory; 

(5) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(6) has knowingly and willfully obtained, 

attempted to obtain, aided another person to 

obtain, or aided another person attempt to 

obtain credit, training or certification by any 

means of false pretense, deception, 

defraudation, misrepresentation or cheating; 

(7) failure to make either of the notifications as 

required by 12 NCAC 09G .0302; 

(8) removal from office under the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or the provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

or 

(9) certification revoked or denied by the North 

Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training 

Standards Commission, if such certification 

was revoked or denied based on grounds that 

would constitute a violation of Section 09G of 

these Rules. 

(c)  When the Commission suspends or denies the certification of 

a corrections officer, the period of sanction shall be for an 

indefinite period, but continuing so long as the stated deficiency, 

infraction, or impairment continues to exist, where the cause of 

sanction is: 

(1) failure to meet or satisfy relevant basic training 

requirements; 

(2) failure to meet or maintain the minimum 

standards for certification; or 

(3) discharge from the North Carolina Department 

of Correction for impairment of physical or 

mental capabilities. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; December 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one set of classifiable fingerprints on an 

applicant fingerprint card that shall be mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in favor 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 

74C-12; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form on the website provided by the Board. 

This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 
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(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(e) During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board shall, upon written request to the Director, 

extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 days beyond the 

effective period of the state of emergency. Any registration 

renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued conditionally 

and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if requalification 

requirements have not been met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; December 1, 1995; 

February 1, 1990; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0806 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an 

extension of time to file a tax return shall receive that same 

extension of time to pay the certification renewal fee and to 

complete any continuing education requirements prescribed by 

the Board. A copy of the military order or the extension approval 

by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(e)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying, 

the Board shall, upon written request to the Director, extend the 

deadline for requalification up to 60 days beyond the effective 

period of the state of emergency. Any certificate renewed 

pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued conditionally and shall 

automatically expire on the 60th day if requalification 

requirements have not been met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; October 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; 

December 1, 1995; December 1, 

1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0904 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; October 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

(a)  Each licensee shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing 

education training during each two year renewal period. 

(b)  Credit shall be given only for classes that have been approved 

by the Board as set forth in Rule .1203 of this Section. 
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(c)  A licensee who attends a complete meeting of a regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Board shall receive two credit hours for 

each meeting that the licensee attends, with credit being given for 

a maximum of two meetings per year with no more than four 

credit hours per year and eight credit hours per renewal period. 

(d)  No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a 

renewal period for online courses. However, during a national or 

State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits a 

licensee from attending live continuing education courses or a 

meeting of the Board, all required hours may be obtained online 

and credit shall be given upon written request to the Director. 

(e)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2014; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1302 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0106 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions set forth in G.S. 143-215.21, the 

following definitions shall apply to this Subchapter: 

(1) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Water Resources. 

(2) "Division" means the Division of Water 

Resources. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-87; 143-215.14; 143-215.21; 

Eff. March 1, 1985; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0107 DELEGATION 

(a)  The Director is delegated the authority to grant, modify, 

revoke or deny permits under G.S. 143-215.15 and G.S. 143-

215.16. 
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(b)  The Director may delegate any permitting function given by 

the Rules of this Subchapter. 

(c)  The Director is delegated the authority to assess civil penalties 

and request the Attorney General to institute civil actions under 

G.S. 143-215.17. 

(d)  The Director is delegated the authority to process applications 

and collect fees for registration of water withdrawals and transfers 

under G.S. 143-215.22H and G.S. 143- 215.3(a)(1b). 

(e)  The Director may delegate any water withdrawal or transfer 

registration processing functions given by the Rules of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.3(a)(4); 

Eff. March 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 14, 1991 for a Period of 180 

Days to Expire on April 11, 1992; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; September 1, 1994; April 1, 1992; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0301 APPLICATION; PROCESSING 

FEES 

(a)  Any person subject to G.S. 143-215.22H, shall complete, sign, 

and submit an application for registration, on a form provided by 

the Department, to the Director of the Division of Water 

Resources. The registration application and registration 

processing fee as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall be 

mailed to the Division of Water Resources, North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality. The mailing address shall 

be provided by Division of Water Resources. 

(b)  Except as otherwise provided in this Rule, a non-refundable 

registration processing fee in the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00) 

shall be paid when the registration application form is submitted. 

(1) No registration application form is complete 

until the registration processing fee is paid. 

(2) The penalty pursuant to G.S. 143-215.22H(e) 

shall stop accruing on the date of receipt of the 

completed registration application by the 

Division of Water Resources. 

(3) Payment of the registration processing fee may 

be by check or money order made payable to 

the "N.C. Department of Environmental 

Quality." The check or money order shall refer 

to the water withdrawal or transfer registration 

application. 

(c)  Except as otherwise provided in this Rule, upon receipt of a 

completed application form and the registration processing fee, 

the applicant shall be issued a receipt of registration. 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 143-215.3(a)(la), and G.S. 143-215.22H, no 

fees, including late registration fees for failing to register or 

update registrations in a timely manner, are required to be paid 

under this Rule by a farmer whose activities are directly related or 

incidental to the production of crops, fruits, vegetables, 

ornamental and flowering plants, dairy products, livestock, 

poultry, and other agricultural products, or to the creation or 

maintenance of waterfowl impoundments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1a); 

143-215.3(a)(1b); 143-215.22H ; 

Temporary Rule Eff. October 14, 1991 for a Period of 180 Days 

to Expire on April 11, 1992; 

Eff. April 1, 1992; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0501 DECLARATION AND 

DELINEATION OF CENTRAL COASTAL PLAIN 

CAPACITY USE AREA 

The area encompassed by the following 15 North Carolina 

counties and adjoining creeks, streams, and rivers is hereby 

declared and delineated as the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use 

Area: 

(1) Beaufort 

(2) Carteret 

(3) Craven 

(4) Duplin 

(5) Edgecombe 

(6) Greene 

(7) Jones 

(8) Lenoir 

(9) Martin 

(10) Onslow 

(11) Pamlico 

(12) Pitt 

(13) Washington 

(14) Wayne; and 

(15) Wilson. 

The use of ground water requires coordination and limited 

regulation in this delineated area for protection of the public 

interest. The intent is to protect the long-term productivity of 

aquifers within the designated area and to allow the use of ground 

water for uses at rates which do not exceed or threaten to exceed 

the recharge rate of the aquifers within the designated area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.13; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0502 WITHDRAWAL PERMITS 

(a)  Permits are not required for surface water use under Section 

.0500 of this Subchapter in the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use 

Area as delineated in Rule .0501 of this Section. 

(b)  No person shall withdraw ground water in excess of 100,000 

gallons per day by a well, group of wells operated as a system, or 

sump for any purpose unless he or she obtains a water use permit 

from the Director.  

(c)  Ground water withdrawals shall be governed by the following 

standards: 

(1) Adverse impacts of ground water withdrawals 

shall be avoided or minimized. Adverse 

impacts include, but are not limited to: 

(A) dewatering of aquifers; 

(B) encroachment of salt water; 

(C) land subsidence or sinkhole 

development; or 

(D) declines in aquifer water levels that 

indicate that aggregate water use 
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exceeds the aquifer replenishment 

rate. 

(2) Adverse impacts on other water users from 

ground water withdrawals shall be corrected or 

minimized through efficient use of water and 

development of sustainable water sources. 

(3) In determining the importance and necessity of 

a proposed withdrawal the efficiency of water 

use and implementation of conservation 

measures shall be considered. 

(d)  An application for a water use permit must be submitted on a 

form to the North Carolina Division of Water Resources. The 

application shall describe the purpose or purposes for which water 

shall be used, shall set forth the method and location of 

withdrawals, shall justify the quantities needed, and shall 

document water conservation measures to be used by the 

applicant to ensure efficient use of water and avoidance of waste. 

Any other information necessary to determine whether to grant or 

deny an application as requested by the Division shall be 

submitted to the Division within 30 days of the request. 

Withdrawal permit applications shall include the following 

information: 

(1) location by latitude and longitude of all wells to 

be used for withdrawal of water and all other 

wells within 1500 feet of the applicant's wells; 

(2) specifications for design and construction of 

existing and proposed production and 

monitoring wells including well diameter, total 

depth of well, depths of all open hole or 

screened intervals that will yield water to the 

well, depth of pump intake(s), size, capacity, 

and type of pump, depth to gravel pack, and 

depth measurements shall be within accuracy 

limits of plus or minus 0.10 feet and referenced 

to a known land surface elevation; exceptions 

may be made where specific items of 

information are not critical, as determined by 

the Director based upon site specific conditions, 

to manage the ground water resource; 

(3) withdrawal permit applications for use of 

ground water from the Cretaceous aquifer 

system shall be reviewed protecting the 

Cretaceous aquifer system zones. Cretaceous 

aquifer system wells shall be identified using 

the specifications in Rule .0502(d)(1) and 

.0502(d)(2) of this Section and the 

hydrogeological framework; 

(4) withdrawal permit applications for dewatering 

of mines, pits, or quarries shall include a 

dewatering or depressurization plan that 

includes: 

(A) the current withdrawal rate or 

estimates of the proposed withdrawal 

rate; 

(B) the location, designs, and 

specifications of any sumps, drains, or 

other withdrawal sources including 

wells and trenches; 

(C) the lateral extent and depth of the 

zone(s) to be dewatered or 

depressurized; 

(D) location by latitude and longitude of 

all wells within 1500 feet of the 

excavation boundary; 

(E) a monitoring plan that provides data to 

delineate the nature and extent of 

dewatering or depressurization; and 

(F) certification of all engineering plans 

and hydrogeological analyses 

prepared to meet these requirements 

consistent with professional licensing 

board statutes and rules governing 

such activities. 

Exceptions may be made where specific items 

of information are not critical, as determined by 

the Director based upon site specific conditions, 

to manage the ground water resource; and 

(5) the applicant shall provide information on 

existing conservation measures and 

conservation measures to be implemented 

during the permit period as follows: 

(A) Public water supply systems shall 

develop and implement a water 

conservation plan incorporating, at a 

minimum, the following components. 

Each component shall be described, 

including a timetable for 

implementing each component that 

does not already exist. 

(i) adoption of a water 

conservation-based rate 

structure, such as flat rates, 

increasing block rates, 

seasonal rates, or quantity-

based surcharges;  

(ii) implementation of a water 

loss reduction program if 

unaccounted for water is 

greater than 15 percent of the 

total amount produced, as 

documented annually using a 

water audit. Water loss 

reduction programs shall 

consist of annual water 

audits, in-field leak 

detection, and leak repair;  

(iii) adoption of a water 

conservation ordinance for 

irrigation, such as time-of-

day and day-of-week 

restrictions on lawn and 

ornamental irrigation or 

automatic irrigation system 

shut-off devices;  

(iv) implementation of a retrofit 

program that makes available 

indoor water conservation 
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devices to customers, such as 

showerheads, toilet flappers, 

and faucet aerators;  

(v) implementation of a public 

education program, such as 

water bill inserts, school and 

civic presentations, water 

treatment plant tours, and 

public services 

announcements; and  

(vi) evaluation of the feasibility 

of water reuse as a means of 

conservation, where 

applicable. 

(B) Users of water for commercial 

purposes, other than irrigation of crops 

and forestry stock, shall develop and 

implement a water conservation plan 

as follows: 

(i) an audit of water use by type 

of activity, such as process 

make up water and non-

contact cooling water, 

including existing and 

potential conservation and 

reuse measures for each type 

of water use; and 

(ii) an implementation schedule 

for feasible measures 

identified in the above item 

for conservation and reuse of 

water at the facility. 

(C) Users of water for irrigation of crops 

and forestry stock shall provide the 

following information: 

(i) total acreage with irrigation 

available; 

(ii) types of crops that may be 

irrigated; 

(iii) method of irrigation such as 

wells that supply water to 

canals, ditches or central 

pivot systems or any other 

irrigation method using 

ground water); and 

(iv) a statement that the applicant 

uses conservation practice 

standards for irrigation as 

defined by the Natural 

Resources Conservation 

Service. 

(6) if an applicant intends to operate an aquifer 

storage and recovery program (ASR), the 

applicant shall provide information on the 

storage zone, including the depth interval of the 

storage zone, lateral extent of the projected 

storage area, construction details of wells used 

for injection and withdrawal of water, and 

performance of the ASR program. 

(e)  Persons holding a permit shall submit signed water usage and 

water level reports to the Director not later than 30 days after the 

end of each permit reporting period as specified in the permit. 

Monitoring report requirements shall include: 

(1) amounts of daily withdrawal from each well;  

(2) pumping and static water levels for each supply 

well as measured with a steel or electric tape, or 

an alternative method as specified in the permit, 

at time intervals specified in the permit;  

(3) static water levels in observation wells at time 

intervals specified in the permit;  

(4) annual sampling by applicants located in the 

salt water encroachment zone and chloride 

concentration analysis by a State certified 

laboratory; and  

(5) any other information the Director determines 

to be pertinent and necessary to the evaluation 

of the effects of withdrawals during the 

application review process. 

(f)  Water use permit holders shall not add new wells without prior 

approval from the Director through a permit modification. 

(g)  The Director may require permit holders to construct 

observation wells to observe water level and water quality 

conditions before and after water withdrawals begin if there are 

concerns about adverse impacts to the aquifer based on the 

withdrawal amount and location. Aquifer monitoring may be 

necessary to assess the impact of the withdrawal on the aquifer. 

(h)  For all water uses other than dewatering of mines, pits, or 

quarries, withdrawals shall be permitted only from wells that are 

constructed such that the pump intake or intakes are at a shallower 

depth than the top of the uppermost confined aquifer that yields 

water to the well. Confined aquifer tops are established in the 

hydrogeological framework. Where wells in existence as of 

August 1, 2002 are not in compliance with the requirements of 

this provision, the permit shall include a compliance schedule for 

retrofitting or replacement of non-compliant wells. Withdrawals 

from unconfined aquifers shall not lower the water table by an 

amount large enough to decrease the effective thickness of the 

unconfined aquifer by more than 50 percent. 

(i)  For withdrawals to dewater mines, pits, or quarries, the permit 

shall delimit the extent of the area and depths of the aquifer(s) to 

be dewatered or depressurized. Maximum withdrawal rates and 

the permissible extent of dewatering or depressurization shall be 

determined by the Director using data provided by the applicant, 

data related to permits under G.S. 74-50, and other publicly 

available information. Withdrawal rates that do not cause adverse 

impacts, as defined in Paragraph (c) of this Rule, shall be 

approved. 

(j)  Withdrawals of water that cause changes in water quality such 

that the available uses of the resource are adversely impacted, by 

dewatering or salt water encroachment, shall not be permitted.  

(k)  General permits may be developed by the Division and issued 

by the Director for categories of withdrawal that involve the same 

or substantially similar operations, have similar withdrawal 

characteristics, require the same limitations or operating 

conditions, and require similar monitoring. 

(l)  Permitted water users may withdraw and sell or transfer water 

to other users provided that their permitted withdrawal limits are 

not exceeded. 
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(m)  A permitted water user may sell or transfer to other users a 

portion of his permitted withdrawal. To carry out such a transfer, 

the original permittee must request a permit modification to 

reduce his permitted withdrawal and the proposed recipient of the 

transfer must apply for a new or amended withdrawal permit.  

(n)  The Director shall issue a temporary permit when the 

following conditions are met: 

(1) an applicant or permit holder demonstrates that 

compliance with water withdrawal limits 

established pursuant to this Section is not 

possible because of construction schedules, 

requirements of other laws, or other reasons 

beyond the control of the applicant or permit 

holder;  

(2) the applicant or permit holder has made efforts 

to conserve water and develop other water 

sources; and  

(3) the applicant or permit holder provides data 

from monitoring wells that support a higher 

withdrawal rate which does not exceed the 

recharge rate. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.14; 143-215.15; 143-

215.16; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0503 PRESCRIBED WATER USE 

REDUCTIONS IN CRETACEOUS AQUIFER ZONES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.15; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0504 REQUIREMENTS FOR ENTRY 

AND INSPECTION 

(a)  The Division may enter and inspect property in order to 

evaluate wells, pumps, metering equipment, or other withdrawal 

or measurement devices and records of water withdrawals and 

water levels, if: 

(1) Persons conduct an activity that the Division 

believes requires the use of water at quantities 

that subject the person pursuant to Rule 

.0502(b) of this Section. 

(2) A permittee or applicant has not provided data 

or information on use of water and wells and 

other water withdrawal facilities as required by 

these Rules; or 

(3) Water levels and chloride concentrations at the 

person's facility, or at nearby facilities or 

monitoring stations, indicate that aquifers may 

be damaged by overpumping, salt water 

encroachment, or other adverse impacts that 

may be attributed to withdrawal by the person. 

(b)  All information submitted to fulfill the requirements of these 

Rules, or to obtain a permit under these Rules, or obtained by 

inspection under these Rules, shall be treated as Confidential 

Business Information, if requested by the applicant, and found to 

be such by the Division pursuant to G.S. 143-215.19(e). Reports 

defined in Rule .0502(e) of this Section are not considered 

Confidential Business Information. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.19; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0505 ACCEPTABLE WITHDRAWAL 

METHODS THAT DO NOT REQUIRE A PERMIT 

(a)  Any person who is not subject to Rule .0502 of this Section 

and withdraws more than 10,000 gallons per day from surface or 

ground water in the Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area, 

shall register such withdrawals on a form supplied by the Division 

pursuant to G.S. 143-355(k) and comply with the following 

provisions: 

(1) construct new wells such that the pump intake 

or intakes are above the top of the uppermost 

confined aquifer that yields water to the well. 

Confined aquifer tops are established in the 

hydrogeological framework; 

(2) report surface and ground water use to the 

Division of Water Resources on an annual basis 

on a form supplied by the Division; and 

(3) withdraw water in a manner that does not 

damage the aquifer, cause salt water 

encroachment, or other adverse impacts. 

(b)  Requirements of this Rule shall not apply to withdrawals to 

supply an individual domestic dwelling. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.14;  

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0506 CENTRAL COASTAL PLAIN 

CAPACITY USE AREA STATUS REPORT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.14; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0507 DEFINITIONS 

The following is a list of definitions for terms found in Section 

.0500 of this Subchapter: 

(1) Approved base rate: The larger of a person's 

January 1, 1997 through December 31, 1997 or 

August 1, 1999 through July 31, 2000 annual 

water use rate from the Cretaceous aquifer 

system, or an adjusted water use rate 

determined by the Division based upon 

documentation of the following information:  

(a) water use reductions made since 

January 1, 1992; 

(b) use of wells for which funding has 

been approved or for which plans have 

been approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality by August 1, 

2002; 

(c) the portion of a plant nursery operation 

using low volume micro-irrigation; or 
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(d) other information pertaining to water 

use during the time periods specified. 

(2) Aquifer: Water-bearing earth materials that are 

capable of yielding water in usable quantities to 

a well or spring. 

(3) Aquifer recharge: The addition of water to the 

zone of saturation. 

(4) Aquifer storage and recovery program (ASR): 

Controlled injection of water into an aquifer 

with the intent to store water in the aquifer for 

subsequent withdrawal and use. 

(5) Confining unit: A geologic formation that does 

not yield usable quantities of water to wells or 

springs. Confining units separate aquifers and 

slow the movement of ground water. 

(6) Cretaceous aquifer system: A system of 

aquifers in the North Carolina coastal plain that 

is comprised of water-bearing earth materials 

deposited during the Cretaceous period of 

geologic time. The extent of the Cretaceous 

Aquifer System is defined in the 

hydrogeological framework and includes the 

Peedee, Black Creek, Upper Cape Fear, and 

Lower Cape Fear aquifers. 

(7) Cretaceous aquifer system zones: Regions 

established in the fresh water portion of the 

Cretaceous aquifer system that delimit zones of 

salt water encroachment, dewatering, and 

declining water levels. These zones are 

designated on the paper and digital map entitled 

"Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area 

Cretaceous Aquifer Zones" (CCPCUA) on file 

in the Office of the Secretary of State. These 

zones encompass areas sensitive to over-

development because aquifer withdrawal rates 

can exceed recharge rates and includes the 

regions where, between August 1, 2002 and 

July 31, 2019, Cretaceous Aquifer system zone 

users were required to reduce withdrawals from 

their Approved Base Rates up to 30 percent in 

the declining water level zone and up to 75 

percent in the dewatering and salt water 

encroachment zones. Intermittent users and 

users of wells exclusively screened or open to 

the Peedee aquifer were not required to reduce 

withdrawals. 

(8) Dewatering: Dewatering occurs when aquifer 

water levels are depressed below the top of a 

confined aquifer or water table declines 

adversely impact the resource. 

(9) Flat rates: Unit price remains the same 

regardless of usage within customer class. 

(10) Fresh water: Water containing chloride 

concentrations less than 250 milligrams per 

liter. 

(11) Gravel pack: Sand or gravel sized material 

inside the well bore and outside the well screen 

and casing. 

(12) Ground water: Water in pore spaces or void 

spaces of subsurface sediments or consolidated 

rock. 

(13) Hydrogeological framework: A three-

dimensional representation of aquifers and 

confining units that is stored in Division data 

bases and may be adjusted by applicant 

supplied information. 

(14) Increasing block rates: Unit price increases with 

additional usage. 

(15) Intermittent users: Persons who withdraw 

ground water less than 60 days per calendar 

year or who withdraw less than 15 million 

gallons of ground water in a calendar year; or 

aquaculture operations registered by the Board 

of Agriculture in accordance with G.S. 106-761 

using water for the initial filling of ponds or 

refilling of ponds no more frequently than every 

five years. 

(16) Observation well: A non-pumping well 

screened in a particular aquifer where water 

levels can be measured and water samples can 

be obtained. 

(17) Pumping water level: The depth to ground 

water in a pumping well as measured from a 

known land surface elevation. Measurements 

shall be made four hours after pumping begins. 

Measurements shall be within accuracy limits 

of plus or minus 0.10 feet. 

(18) Quantity based surcharges: Surcharges billed 

with usage over a certain determined quantity. 

(19) Recharge rate: The rate of which water 

replenishes an aquifer.  

(20) Salt water: Water containing chloride 

concentrations equal to and in excess of 250 

milligrams per liter. 

(21) Salt water encroachment: The lateral or vertical 

migration of salt water toward areas occupied 

by fresh water. This may occur in aquifers due 

to natural or man-made causes. 

(22) Seasonal rates: Unit price changes according to 

the season. 

(23) Static water level: The depth to ground water in 

a non-pumping well as measured from a known 

land surface elevation. Measurements shall be 

made after pumping has ceased for 12 hours. 

Measurements shall be within accuracy limits 

of plus or minus 0.10 feet. 

(24) Unaccounted for water: The difference between 

the total water entering the system, including 

produced and purchased, and the total metered 

or otherwise accounted for water usage. 

(25) Water table: The water level in an unconfined 

aquifer. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.14; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 
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15A NCAC 02E .0601 SCOPE 

The purpose of this Section is to minimize harmful impacts of 

drought and water supply emergencies on public health and 

safety, environmental quality, and the economy by establishing 

minimum standards and practices for water shortage response 

planning, water use reporting, water conservation, and water reuse 

during droughts and water supply emergencies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-354(a)(8); 

S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0602 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply for the purposes of this 

Section: 

(1) "Council" and "NCDMAC" mean the North 

Carolina Drought Management Advisory 

Council. 

(2) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 

(3) "Drought Advisory" means an advisory issued 

by the NCDMAC that delineates the geographic 

extent and severity of a water deficit significant 

enough to have social, environmental, or 

economic effects. Drought Advisories shall be 

designated as Abnormally Dry, Moderate 

Drought, Severe Drought, Extreme Drought, 

and Exceptional Drought to indicate the 

severity of conditions from least to most severe, 

respectively. 

(4) "Effective" means producing the desired or 

intended result. 

(5) "Efficient" achieving maximum productivity 

with minimum wasted effort or expense. 

(6) "Efficient use" is reducing water wastage by 

measuring the amount of water required for a 

particular purpose and the amount of water used 

or delivered. 

(7) "Essential water use" means the use of water 

necessary for fire fighting, health, and safety 

purposes; water needed to sustain human and 

animal life; and water necessary to satisfy 

federal, state, and local public health, safety, or 

environmental protection requirements. 

(8) "Industry Best Management Practices" are 

methods that are the most effective and 

practical means of completing a task. 

(9) "Industry Standards" are a set of criteria within 

an industry relating to the standard functioning 

and carrying out of operations in their 

respective fields of production. 

(10) "Normal Operating Procedures (NOPs)" is a set 

of step-by-step instructions compiled by an 

organization to help workers carry out routine 

operations. NOPs aim to achieve efficiency, 

quality output, and uniformity of performance, 

while reducing miscommunication and failure 

to comply with industry regulations. 

(11) "Non-essential water use" means categories of 

water use, other than essential water use, that 

may be curtailed during droughts and water 

emergencies. 

(12) "Person" means any individual, corporation, 

company, association, partnership, unit of local 

government, state agency, federal agency, or 

other legal entity. 

(13) "Privately owned" are water systems that can be 

for-profit systems managed by investors or 

shareholders. 

(14) "Publicly owned" are water systems that are 

non-profit entities managed by local or state 

governments, for which rates are set by a 

governing board. 

(15) "State agencies" includes all agencies of the 

executive branch of the government of North 

Carolina, the General Assembly, the General 

Court of Justice, and the University of North 

Carolina. 

(16) "Syringing" means the application of 0.10 inch 

or less of water, near midday to correct plant 

water deficits, reduce plant tissue temperatures, 

and reduce the heat stress on turfgrass plants. 

(17) "Unit of local government" means a county, 

city, town, incorporated village, consolidated 

city-county, sanitary district or other local 

political subdivision, or authority or agency of 

local government. 

(18) "Water" means any waters of the State located 

on or below the land surface as well as water 

contained within a water treatment and 

distribution system. 

(19) "Water delivery system" means any open or 

closed conveyance system used to move water 

for potable or non-potable purposes from its 

point of origin to a point of use, including: 

municipal water systems; residential, 

commercial, industrial, and commercial 

plumbing systems; irrigation systems; water 

using equipment; and flexible hoses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(8); S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0603 GENERAL INFORMATION 

(a)  The provisions of this Section apply to the following classes 

of water users: 

(1) Publicly owned and privately owned water 

supply systems; 

(2) State agencies; 

(3) Units of local government; 

(4) Business and industrial water users; and 

(5) Agricultural and horticultural water users. 

(b)  All owners and operators of a water delivery system may 

develop, implement, and require more stringent standards than 

those set forth in Rules .0612 through .0614 of this Section in 

response to droughts or emergency water shortages. 
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(c)  All established and new uses of reclaimed water, consistent 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02U .0100 and any successive 

rules and amendments that define and the use of reclaimed water, 

as administered by the Department's Division of Water Resources, 

shall be exempt from the requirements set forth in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0604 ANNUAL REPORTING OF 

WATER USE DATA 

In order to improve the availability of data for the development of 

the State water supply plan to be used when managing water 

resources during drought and water supply emergencies and to 

provide a basis for evaluating the effectiveness of emergency 

water conservation measures, the following data reporting 

requirements have been established: 

(1) Water systems that are required to prepare a 

Local Water Supply Plan under G.S. 143-355(l) 

shall, irrespective of the issuance of a drought 

advisory, annually report to the Department the 

following information: 

(a) Water system identification 

information; 

(b) Annual average daily water use (total 

amount of surface and ground water 

withdrawn as well as water supplied 

by another system) by the water 

system, in million gallons per day 

(MGD); 

(c) The average daily water use (total 

amount of surface and ground water 

withdrawn as well as water supplied 

by another system) for each month of 

the prior calendar year, in million 

gallons per day (MGD); 

(d) The number of connections for 

residential, industrial, commercial, 

and institutional metered and non-

metered water use, as of December 

31st of the reporting year; 

(e) The annual average daily water use in 

million gallons per day (MGD) 

categorized by residential, industrial, 

commercial, institutional water uses, 

and sales to other systems to the extent 

that this information by category is 

available; and 

(f) Water used by the system, in addition 

to the amount delivered to customers, 

to meet water treatment and 

distribution requirements, in million 

gallons per day (MGD). 

(2) All persons that are required to register water 

withdrawals and transfers under G.S. 143-

215.22H, who are not subject to Item (1) of this 

Rule, shall annually report to the Department 

monthly average water use in million gallons 

per day (MGD) for each month. The following 

information shall be reported: 

(a) Owner and facility identification 

information; 

(b) Sources of water withdrawn; 

(c) Number of days water was withdrawn 

for each month; and 

(d) Average daily withdrawal for the 

actual number of days water was 

withdrawn each month, in million 

gallons per day (MGD). 

(3) Data shall be submitted electronically. Water 

users that exhibit to the Division of Water 

Resources an inability to submit data 

electronically may submit data in writing on a 

form supplied by the Department. 

(4) Data shall be submitted to the Department by 

April 1st of each year for the period of January 

1st to December 31st of the prior year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-355(k); 143-355(l); 143-

354(a); 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0605 WATER USE REDUCTION 

REPORTING, NEW WATER WITHDRAWAL 

REPORTING AND REGIONAL COORDINATION 

DURING DROUGHTS 

In order to promote regional cooperation for the equitable use of 

water resources during a drought or other water supply 

emergency, all persons, as specified below, shall comply with the 

following reporting and coordination procedures: 

(1) Publicly and privately owned community water 

systems and units of local government shall 

report to the Division of Water Resources the 

implementation of mandatory water 

conservation measures within 72 hours of their 

initial enactment. 

(2) All persons that intend to make a new water 

withdrawal that have not previously been 

registered under G.S. 143-215.22H, of 100,000 

gallons or more in an area designated by the 

Council as suffering from Extreme or 

Exceptional Drought shall report to the 

Division of Water Resources, by the same 

means outlined in Rule .0604(3) of this Section, 

the following information at least seven days 

prior to the withdrawal: 

(a) Contact information for the person 

making the water withdrawal; 

(b) Source(s) of water to be withdrawn; 

(c) Number of days water is anticipated to 

be withdrawn; and 

(d) Anticipated average daily withdrawal 

in million gallons per day (MGD). 

(3) All persons that withdraw water shall monitor 

drought and water supply conditions and shall 

participate in regional coordination for the 
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management of water resources, evaluation of 

the cumulative effects of water withdrawals on 

regional water resources, and the development 

of alternative water supply sources. Based on an 

assessment of drought severity and regional 

water supply conditions, the Department may 

contact water systems within the affected 

region to arrange a consultation meeting 

between water systems and relevant state and 

local agencies. The Department shall moderate 

these consultations and provide technical 

assistance. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(8); 143-355(k); S.L. 

2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0606 WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE 

PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

All classes of water users shall prepare a Water Shortage 

Response Plan in accordance with Rules .0607-.0611 of this 

Section. The purpose of these Water Shortage Response Plans is 

to plan for an effective course of action to minimize harmful 

impacts of drought and water supply emergencies on public health 

and safety, environmental quality, and the economy. Water 

Shortage Response Plans shall take into account the specific 

characteristics of the water sources and the water uses for which 

the plan is prepared. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-355(l); S.L. 

2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0607 PUBLICLY AND PRIVATELY 

OWNED WATER SYSTEM WATER SHORTAGE 

RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Units of local governments and large community water 

systems that are required to prepare a Local Water Supply Plan 

under G.S. 143-355(l) shall include the following information in 

their local Water Shortage Response Plans for review by the 

Division of Water Resources: 

(1) The designation of a staff position or 

organizational unit responsible for the 

implementation of their Water Shortage 

Response Plan; 

(2) Notification procedures that will be used to 

inform employees and water users about the 

implementation of the plan and required water 

conservation response measures; 

(3) Tiered levels of response actions to be taken to 

reduce water use based on the severity of water 

shortage conditions; 

(4) Specific measurements of available water 

supply, water demand, and system conditions 

that will be used to determine the severity of 

water shortage conditions and to initiate water 

use reduction measures and the movement 

between various levels; 

(5) Procedures that will be used to regulate 

compliance with the provisions of the plan; 

(6) Procedures for affected parties to review and 

comment on the plan prior to final adoption; 

(7) Procedures to receive and review applications 

for variances from specific requirements of the 

plan and the criteria that will be considered in 

the determination to issue a variance; 

(8) An evaluation method to determine the actual 

water savings accomplished and the 

effectiveness of the Water Shortage Response 

Plan when implemented; and 

(9) Procedures for revising and updating Water 

Shortage Response Plans to improve plan 

effectiveness and adapt to new circumstances. 

(b)  Units of local governments and large community water 

systems that are required to prepare a Local Water Supply Plan 

shall submit a copy of their Water Shortage Response Plan and 

any subsequent revisions of the plan to the Division of Water 

Resources for review every five years with the full Local Water 

Supply Plan, as required by G.S. 143-355(l). 

(c)  Publicly and privately owned water systems not required to 

prepare a Local Water Supply Plan shall: 

(1) Assess their vulnerability to drought and water 

shortage emergencies; and 

(2) Prepare a written plan for responding to water 

shortage emergencies and drought using the 

provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Publicly and privately owned water systems that depend on 

the water storage in a private or public impoundment that they do 

not own and operate under a contract for the withdrawal of water 

issued by the owner of an impoundment shall prepare a written 

plan for responding to water shortages that is consistent with the 

provisions of the contract and shall comply with all Water 

Shortage Response Plan provisions established by the owner of 

the impoundment. 

(e)  Water Shortage Response Plans shall provide for water users 

who have made improvements to maximize water use efficiency 

in their daily operations and may face hardships when making 

further water use reductions. Water Shortage Response Plans shall 

avoid restricting efficient water users in ways that would 

undermine incentives for water users to seek continued 

improvements in water use efficiency and shall honor locally 

approved certification programs that recognize efficient water 

users who meet industry standards for water use efficiency and 

water conservation. 

(f)  When the NCDMAC issues a drought advisory designating an 

area of the state as currently suffering from drought, publicly and 

privately owned water systems that depend on water from the 

designated area shall for the duration of the designation: 

(1) Implement the provisions of their Water 

Shortage Response Plan, as determined by the 

specific indicators established in the plan for 

initiating response measures; 

(2) Monitor and document water supply 

conditions; 
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(3) Educate customers and employees on the need 

to conserve water and how to prepare for 

potential drought conditions; 

(4) Inspect water delivery system components and 

ensure that existing equipment is operating as 

efficiently as possible; 

(5) Stay informed on drought and water shortage 

emergency conditions and participate in 

regional coordination for the management of 

water resources; and 

(6) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); 143-355(l); S.L. 

2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0608 STATE AGENCY WATER 

SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  State agencies that supply their own water shall prepare a 

written plan for responding to water shortages using the 

provisions of Rule .0607(a) of this Section. 

(b)  State agencies that are supplied water by a publicly or 

privately owned water system shall: 

(1) Review normal operating procedures and water 

use to identify options to reduce water use and 

maximize water use efficiency during water 

supply emergencies, including changes to 

normal operating procedures; 

(3) Provide information to their water purveyor(s) 

upon request to support development of the 

purveyor's Water Shortage Response Plan(s), 

including the agency's ability to reduce water 

use and limitations to reducing water use during 

droughts and water emergencies; 

(4) Develop procedures for informing employees 

of drought designations, water emergency 

declarations, and response measures; and 

(5) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0609 LOCAL GOVERNMENT WATER 

SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Units of local government that provide water to the public 

shall meet the requirements of Rule .0607(a) of this Section. 

(b)  Units of local government that do not provide water to the 

public shall: 

(1) Review normal water use for the types and 

number of facilities operated to identify options 

to reduce water use and maximize water use 

efficiency by local government operations 

during water shortage emergencies, including 

possible changes to normal operating 

procedures; 

(2) Cooperate with local water purveyor(s) on the 

development and implementation of the 

purveyor's Water Shortage Response Plan(s); 

(3) Establish a procedure for informing citizens of 

drought designations, recommended 

conservation activities, and mandatory 

response measures to reduce water use during 

droughts and water shortage emergencies; 

(4) Provide a mechanism whereby residents can 

apply for and receive a variance from specific 

water use reduction requirements implemented 

by local governments; 

(5) Consider hardships that water shortage 

response policies and ordinances may cause 

water users who have already made 

improvements to maximize water use 

efficiency in their daily operations; and 

(6) Evaluate the feasibility of reclaiming and 

recycling water to meet water needs. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0610 BUSINESS AND INDUSTRIAL 

WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE PLANNING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Self-supplied business and industrial water users subject to 

the water withdrawal registration requirements of G.S. 143-

215.22H shall prepare a written plan, for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with industry water efficiency and 

drought response guidelines, that incorporate the relevant 

provisions of Rule .0607(a) of this Section. 

(b)  Business and industrial water users that depend on the water 

storage of a privately or publicly owned impoundment or 

withdraw water under a contract issued by the owner of an 

impoundment shall have a written plan for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with the provisions of the contract and 

with any Water Shortage Response Plan provisions established by 

the owner of the impoundment. 

(c)  Business and industrial water users that are supplied water by 

a publicly or privately owned water system shall establish a 

procedure for responding to water shortages that is 

complementary to their water purveyor's Water Shortage 

Response Plan. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-354(a)(1); S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0611 AGRICULTURAL AND 

HORTICULTURAL WATER SHORTAGE RESPONSE 

PLANNING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Agricultural and horticultural water users subject to the water 

withdrawal registration requirements of G.S. 143-215.22H shall 

develop a written plan for responding to water shortages to 

maximize water use efficiency and reduce water usage to the 

maximum extent possible. Any of the guidance documents on best 

management practices for the efficient use of water in agricultural 
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and horticultural operations developed by the United States 

Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation 

Service, the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services (NCDA&CS), the NCDA&CS Division of 

Soil and Water Conservation, North Carolina State University, the 

North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service, or other industry 

trade organizations may be used to assist agricultural and 

horticultural water users identify the most appropriate water use 

efficiency measures that they may incorporate into the plan for 

their particular operational needs. 

(b)  When a region of the State is designated as suffering from 

Severe Drought, Extreme Drought, or Exceptional Drought by a 

NCDMAC drought advisory, agricultural and horticultural water 

users shall reexamine and maintain water delivery systems to 

minimize water loss and maximize water use efficiency. 

(c)  Agricultural and horticultural water users that depend on the 

water storage of a privately or publicly owned impoundment or 

withdraw water under a contract issued by the owner of an 

impoundment shall have a written plan for responding to water 

shortages that is consistent with the provisions of the contract and 

with any Water Shortage Response Plan provisions established by 

the owner of the impoundment. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0612 DEFAULT WATER SHORTAGE 

RESPONSE PLANNING MEASURES 

Publicly or privately owned water systems that are required to 

prepare a Local Water Supply Plan under G.S. 143-355(l) that do 

not have a written Water Shortage Response Plan, as outlined in 

Rule .0607 of this Section, shall implement the default water use 

reduction measures of Rules .0613 and .0614 of this Section when 

their water system or water source is located in an area designated 

as suffering from Extreme or Exceptional Drought by the Council. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0613 DEFAULT WATER USE 

REDUCTION MEASURES DURING NCDMAC 

EXTREME DROUGHT DESIGNATIONS 

When the NCDMAC designates a region of the state as suffering 

from Extreme Drought, the following water use reduction 

standards shall apply to water users in the designated area, as 

indicated in Rule .0612 of this Section: 

(1) Water users shall reduce water use by at least 

10% below the amount used in the month prior 

to a NCDMAC Extreme Drought designation in 

the affected area. 

(2) All water users shall minimize non-essential 

use of water. 

(3) Outdoor irrigation is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Watering lawns less than one inch of 

water per week, between the hours of 

8:00 PM and 8:00 AM; 

(b) Maintaining newly installed 

landscapes, lawns, and erosion control 

projects that were initiated prior to the 

issuance of an Extreme Drought 

advisory, not to exceed the minimum 

rate necessary on the day of 

installation and for 60 days following 

installation, by means designed and 

operated to maximize water use 

efficiency and to prevent run-off and 

excessive watering; 

(c) Using spray irrigation by wastewater 

effluent treatment systems from the 

NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designated area(s) according to permit 

conditions under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 02U .0100 and any 

successive rules and amendments; 

(d) Maintaining athletic fields with less 

than one inch of water per week 

between the hours of 8:00 PM and 

8:00 AM; 

(e) Maintaining personal food gardens; 

(f) Maintaining existing landscape 

plantings at the minimum rate 

necessary, between the hours of 8:00 

PM and 8:00 AM, using a hand held 

container or hose with an automatic 

shutoff or using drip irrigation; 

(g) Watering golf course tees, fairways, 

and greens by means of an automated 

irrigation system between the hours of 

8:00 PM and 8:00 AM with less than 

one inch of water per week; 

(h) Syringing golf course tees and greens 

exhibiting visible signs of stress 

between the hours of 12:00 PM and 

4:00 PM, at the minimum rate 

necessary; and 

(i) Maintaining plant inventories, by 

means designed and operated to 

maximize water use efficiency, at 

retail garden centers, garden centers 

within mass merchant stores, or other 

businesses with live plants as their 

stock in trade. 

(4) The use of water for washing or cleaning of 

mobile equipment including automobiles, 

trucks, boats, and fleet vehicles is prohibited, 

except for: 

(a) Operating commercial car washes that 

utilize the industry's best management 

practices for the efficient use of water 

and those that recycle, reclaim, or 

reuse a portion of their wash water in 

their daily operations and have 

reduced total water consumption by 

10% below the amount used in the 
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month prior to a NCDMAC Extreme 

Drought designation in the affected 

area; 

(b) Washing with a hand-held hose with 

an automatic shutoff device using less 

than five gallons per vehicle; 

(c) Cleaning new and used vehicles using 

less than five gallons per vehicle to 

prepare for display in a dealer's show 

room, upon receipt from the 

manufacturer or prior owner, and 

following a sale prior to delivery to the 

purchaser; and 

(d) Cleaning of construction, emergency, 

transport, or public transportation 

vehicles if necessary to preserve the 

functioning and operation of the 

vehicle. 

(5) The use of water for washing impervious and 

paved surfaces is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Prewashing in preparation for 

painting, recoating, or sealing; and 

(b) Applying at the minimum rate 

necessary for sanitation and public 

health purposes. 

(6) The use of water for ornamental fountains, 

artificial waterfalls, misting machines, 

reflecting pools, and ornamental ponds is 

prohibited, except for the minimum amount of 

make-up water necessary to maintain aquatic 

life. 

(7) The use of water for power washing of 

buildings and other structures is prohibited 

except when necessary to meet federal, state, 

and local public health and safety requirements. 

(8) The use of water for flushing sewer lines is 

prohibited except when necessary to meet 

public health and safety standards. 

(9) The use of water from fire hydrants is 

prohibited, except for: 

(a) Fighting fire and fire protection 

purposes; 

(b) Testing or training if it is necessary to 

protect public safety and has been 

approved by the applicable water 

purveyor; and 

(c) Flushing of potable water lines to 

protect the public health. 

(10) The filling of family, public, or private 

swimming pools, including hot tubs, spas, and 

whirlpool tubs, is prohibited, except: 

(a) For health and rehabilitative purposes 

as prescribed by a medical doctor or 

administered by a medical facility; and 

(b) For the minimal amount of make-up 

water necessary to maintain a pool's 

structural integrity and filtration 

system. 

(11) The serving of water in eating and drinking 

establishments shall be done on customer 

request only. 

(12) Water shall be applied at the minimum rate 

necessary to maintain effective dust and erosion 

control during the construction of roads and 

highways initiated prior to the declaration of an 

Extreme Drought by the NCMDAC. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0614 DEFAULT WATER USE 

REDUCTION MEASURES DURING NCDMAC 

EXCEPTIONAL DROUGHT DESIGNATIONS 

When the NCDMAC designates a region of the state as suffering 

from Exceptional Drought, the following water use reduction 

standards shall apply to water users in the designated area, as 

indicated in Rule .0612 of this Section: 

(1) Water users shall reduce water use by at least 

20% below the amount used in the month prior 

to the most recent NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designation in the affected area. 

(2) Non-essential water use shall be minimized by 

the maximum extent possible. 

(3) Outdoor irrigation is prohibited, except for: 

(a) Using spray irrigation by wastewater 

effluent treatment systems in 

NCDMAC Exceptional Drought 

designated areas according to permit 

conditions under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 

15A NCAC 02U .0100 and any 

successive rules and amendments; 

(b) Watering personal food gardens by 

hand with a container or hand held 

hose with an automatic shutoff device 

or using drip irrigation between the 

hours of 8:00 PM and 8:00 AM; 

(c) Maintaining existing landscape 

plantings at the minimum rate 

necessary, between the hours of 8:00 

PM and 8:00 AM, using a hand held 

container or hose with an automatic 

shutoff or using drip irrigation; 

(d) Watering golf course tees, fairways 

and greens, athletic fields, and lawns 

between the hours of 8:00 PM and 

8:00 AM with less than one half inch 

of water per week; 

(e) Syringing of golf course tees and 

greens exhibiting visible signs of 

stress between the hours of 1:00 PM 

and 4:00 PM, at the minimum rate 

necessary; 

(f) Maintaining newly installed 

landscapes, lawns, and erosion control 

projects that were initiated prior to the 
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issuance of an Extreme Drought 

advisory, not to exceed the minimum 

rate necessary on the day of 

installation and for 28 days following 

installation, by means designed and 

operated to maximize water use 

efficiency and to prevent run-off and 

excessive watering; and 

(g) Maintaining plant inventories, by 

means designed and operated to 

maximize water use efficiency, at 

retail garden centers, garden centers 

within mass merchant stores, or other 

businesses with live plants as their 

stock in trade. 

(4) The use of water for washing or cleaning 

mobile equipment including automobiles, 

trucks, boats, and fleet vehicles is prohibited, 

except for: 

(a) Operating commercial car washes that 

utilize the industry's best management 

practices for the efficient use of water 

and those that recycle, reclaim, or 

reuse a portion of their wash water and 

have reduced total water consumption 

by 20% below the amount used in the 

month prior to the most recent 

NCDMAC Extreme Drought 

designation in the affected area; 

(b) Cleaning of new and used vehicles in 

preparation for display in a dealer's 

show room, using less than five 

gallons per vehicle; and 

(c) Using the minimum amount of water 

necessary to clean construction, 

emergency, transport, or public 

transportation vehicles, if required to 

preserve the functioning and operation 

of the vehicle as required by law. 

(5) The use of water for washing impervious and 

paved surfaces is prohibited except for using 

the minimum amount of water necessary for 

sanitation and public health purposes. 

(6) The use of water for power washing of 

buildings and other structures is prohibited. 

(7) The use of water for flushing sewer lines is 

prohibited except when necessary to meet 

public health and safety standards. 

(8) The use of water from fire hydrants is 

prohibited, except for: 

(a) Fighting fire and fire protection 

purposes; and 

(b) Flushing of drinking water lines to 

protect public health and safety. 

(9) The filling of family, public, or private 

swimming pools, including hot tubs, spas, and 

whirlpool tubs, is prohibited except for health 

and rehabilitative purposes as prescribed by a 

medical doctor or administered by a medical 

facility. 

(10) The use of water for ornamental fountains, 

artificial waterfalls, misting machines, 

reflecting pools, and ornamental ponds is 

prohibited, except for the minimum amount of 

make-up water necessary to maintain aquatic 

life. 

(11) The serving of water in eating and drinking 

establishments shall be done on customer 

request only. 

(12) Water shall be applied at the minimum rate 

necessary to maintain effective dust and erosion 

control during the construction of roads and 

highways initiated prior to the declaration of an 

Extreme Drought by the NCDMAC. 

 

History Note: Authority S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 02E .0615 WATER REUSE DURING 

DROUGHTS AND WATER SHORTAGE EMERGENCIES 

Water users may use reclaimed water under the provisions of 

North Carolina Administrative Code 15A NCAC 02U .0100 and 

any successive rules and amendments, during droughts and other 

water shortage emergencies as defined by G.S. 143-350 to reduce 

withdrawals of surface water and ground water and to extend 

available water supplies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.1; 143-215.3(a)(1); 

143-355.5; S.L. 2002-167; 

Eff. March 19, 2007; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0201 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

LICENSURE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 

150B-9(d); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; July 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 
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21 NCAC 10 .0204 LICENSURE; RENEWAL OF 

LICENSE 

(a)  Initial Licensure. The initial license awarded to an applicant 

who passed the examination shall be mailed to the address 

appearing on the application form. 

(b)  Change of Contact Information. The licentiate shall inform 

the Board of any change in his or her contact information. 

Updated contact information shall be forwarded to the Board 

office email at ncboce@ncchiroboard.com within 30 days after 

any such change. 

(c)  General. The renewal, inactivation, and restoration of a 

license are governed by G.S. 90-155 and this Rule. A current 

license that is not renewed shall be placed on inactive status on 

January 30th of the following year. A licentiate desiring license 

renewal shall submit to the Board, on or before the date of 

inactivation, a completed license renewal form accompanied by 

the renewal fee as provided in Paragraph (i) of this Rule. The 

renewal fee shall not be paid in cash and may be paid by credit 

card through the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com, or by 

a check made payable to the North Carolina Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners. 

(d)  License Renewal Notification and Form. On or before 

December 1 of each year, the Board shall email to each licentiate, 

at the licentiate's current email address on file with the Board, 

license renewal instructions. The license renewal form with 

instructions shall also be available at the Board's website, 

www.ncchiroboard.com, or upon request at the Board's office. A 

licentiate desiring license renewal shall note on the form changes 

in name, address, specialty, employment circumstances, and 

criminal convictions since the last renewal form was submitted to 

the Board. The licentiate shall also note on the form any 

professional development continuing education for which the 

licentiate seeks credit pursuant to Rule .0210(d) of this Chapter. 

(e)  Continuing Education. As used in G.S. 90-155, one "day" of 

continuing education shall mean nine hours. Except as provided 

in Paragraphs (f), (g) and (h) of this Rule, a licentiate seeking 

license renewal shall obtain 18 hours (2 days) of Board-approved 

continuing education each calendar year. At least 10 hours shall 

be obtained by attending in-person educational sessions. As many 

as eight hours may be obtained in the manner set forth in Rule 

.0210 of this Chapter. The Board shall not award credit for any 

continuing education hours until the sponsor or licentiate submits 

to the Board the sponsor's certificate of attendance or course 

completion. 

(f)  First-Year Continuing Education Exemptions. A licentiate 

who was enrolled in chiropractic college at any time during the 

year of initial licensure or a licentiate initially licensed after 

September 1st of the current year shall be permitted to renew his 

or her license for the ensuing year without obtaining continuing 

education but shall be required to submit a license renewal form 

and pay the renewal fee. In subsequent years, a licentiate shall not 

be permitted to renew his or her license until the continuing 

education requirements set forth in Paragraph (e) of this Rule are 

satisfied. 

(g)  Hardship Waivers. A licentiate seeking a hardship waiver of 

the continuing education requirement shall make written 

application to the Board no later than December 15th of the 

current year explaining the nature and circumstances of the 

hardship. Upon the applicant's showing that compliance with the 

continuing education requirement poses an undue hardship, the 

Board may waive the requirement in whole or part or grant an 

extension of time within which to comply. "Undue hardship" shall 

include protracted medical illness, natural disaster, or extended 

absence from the United States. 

(h)  Military Hardship. A licentiate who is serving in the Armed 

Forces of the United States and to whom G.S. 93B-15(a) grants 

an extension of time to pay a renewal fee shall also be granted an 

identical extension of time to complete the continuing education 

required for license renewal. 

(i)  Renewal Fee. A renewal fee in the maximum amount allowed 

by G.S. 90-155 shall be paid by each licentiate applying for 

renewal. 

(j)  Restoration of Inactive License. Evidence of Proficiency. In 

order to provide evidence of proficiency, a former licentiate 

whose license has been inactive for 180 or fewer days due to non-

compliance with G.S. 90-155 shall be re-examined and shall pay 

the non-refundable application fee prescribed in Rule .0202(d) of 

this Chapter and shall demonstrate compliance with continuing 

education requirements. A former licentiate whose license has 

been inactive for more than 180 days shall comply with Rule 

.0203(f) of this Chapter in addition to this Paragraph. Payment of 

the application fee shall not constitute payment of the 

reinstatement fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) mandated by 

G.S. 90-155. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-145; 90-155; 90-

148; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 28, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0205 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; October 17, 1980; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 18, 1983; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; June 1, 2015; July 1, 2011; January 

4, 1993; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0206 CERTIFICATION OF 

RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGISTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-143.2; 90-154.3; 

Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2003; 

Temporary Amendment Expired October 31, 2003; 
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Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; July 1, 2010; January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2020; 

Repealed Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0213 CERTIFIED CHIROPRACTIC 

ASSISTANTS 

(a)  Designation. The Board shall classify Certified Chiropractic 

Assistants as follows: 

(1) Level 1 – Clinical 

(2) Level 2 – X-ray 

For purposes of this Rule, a Certified Chiropractic Assistant – 

Level 1 is the same as a "chiropractic clinical assistant" as defined 

in G.S. 90-143.4(a). For purposes of this Rule, a Certified 

Chiropractic Assistant – Level 2 is the same as a "diagnostic 

imaging technician" as defined in G.S. 90-143.2 and may be 

referred to as a "radiologic technologist", "X-ray tech", and "X-

ray technician." 

(b)  Application Procedure. Anyone seeking to be certified as a 

Chiropractic Assistant shall submit an application found on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. All applicants shall: 

(1) Be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) Demonstrate that he or she graduated from high 

school or the equivalent; 

(3) Possess good moral character as determined by 

the Board; and 

(4) Submit an application fee of thirty-five dollars 

($35.00). 

(c)  New Applicants – Level 1. 

(1) Education. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, new 

applicants shall submit evidence of completion 

of a clinical assistant education program at least 

24 hours in length, of which at least 6 hours 

shall be in-person didactic training with an 

instructor or instructors who, based on 

education and experience, are competent to 

teach the portion of the curriculum they have 

been assigned. Credit for online coursework 

shall not exceed 18 hours, and all online 

coursework shall precede didactic training. The 

education program shall provide sufficient 

instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 

90-143.4(c) to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care. To obtain approval 

of an education program, the program sponsor 

shall submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior 

to the proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a 

syllabus of the didactic training, and a 

curriculum vitae for each instructor. 

(2) Examination. The proficiency examination for 

new applicants shall assess both academic 

knowledge and practical skills acquired through 

education programs and shall be administered 

at least four times per year on dates and at 

locations to be announced by the Board at least 

30 days in advance and published on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com. In 

its discretion, the Board may authorize 

additional testing sessions based on the number 

of applications received. The minimum passing 

score on the examination is 75 percent. 

(d)  New Applicants – Level 2. 

(1) Education. In addition to the requirements set 

forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, new 

applicants shall complete a radiological 

technologist education program at least 50 

hours in length, of which at least 6 hours shall 

be in-person didactic training with an instructor 

or instructors who, based on education and 

experience, are competent to teach the portion 

of the curriculum they have been assigned, and 

completion of the practical requirement as set 

forth in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this Rule. The 

education program shall provide sufficient 

instruction in the five subjects set forth in G.S. 

90-143.2 to enable its graduates to satisfy all 

applicable standards of care governing the 

production of X-rays. To obtain approval of an 

education program, the program sponsor shall 

submit to the Board, at least 60 days prior to the 

proposed starting date, all instructional 

materials to be used in the program, including a 

syllabus of the didactic training and a 

curriculum vitae for each instructor. Any 

person registered as "active" with the American 

Chiropractic Registry of Radiologic 

Technologists shall be deemed to have satisfied 

the educational requirements of this paragraph. 

(2) Practical Requirement. Upon completion of the 

training set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this 

Rule, a person desiring certification as a 

Certified Chiropractic Assistant – Level 2 shall 

undergo a Practical whereby the person is 

evaluated by his or her program sponsor on the 

following competencies while performing x-

ray examinations under the in-person 

observation of a sponsor for four different 

patients: 

(A) Image quality; 

(B) Marking sides of the body; 

(C) Technique input to controller; 

(D) Tube/focal film distance; 

(E) Bucky/tube alignment; 

(F) Patient positioning; 

(G) Gonad shielding; 

(H) Ability to name additional views in the 

series; and 

(I) Collimation. 

The person shall submit written documentation 

of the Practical evaluation on a form prescribed 

by the Board that is available on the Board's 

website at https://ncchiroboard.com/x-ray-

technician. 

(3) Examination. The competency examination 

shall be administered at least three times per 
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year. The Board shall publish on its website, 

https://ncchiroboard.com, the date, time, and 

location of the examination at least 30 days in 

advance. In its discretion, the Board may 

authorize additional testing sessions based on 

the number of applications received. The 

minimum passing score is 75 percent. 

(e)  Reciprocity Applicants. A "reciprocity applicant" means an 

applicant who is currently certified or registered as a clinical 

assistant or X-ray technician in another state whose requirements 

for certification or registration are substantially similar to or more 

stringent than the requirements for certification in North Carolina. 

A reciprocity applicant shall submit a copy of the applicant's 

current certification or registration as a clinical assistant in a state 

with which North Carolina reciprocates and shall also submit 

written confirmation from the state's certifying authority or 

registrar that the applicant is in good standing in that state. 

(f)  Certification Expiration and Renewal. Starting with 

certifications issued or renewed on or after July 1, 2022, a 

certificate of competency shall expire on June 30th of the second 

year following the year in which it was issued unless otherwise 

renewed. A certificate holder seeking to renew shall submit 

evidence that the applicant has completed six hours of Board-

approved continuing education. A Level 2 certificate holder shall 

complete six hours of education applicable to a Level 1 renewal 

plus six hours in radiologic technology. A certificate of attendance 

or completion issued by the course sponsor and filed with the 

Board shall constitute prima facie evidence that the applicant has 

completed the number of hours recited in the certificate. The 

applicant shall pay to the Board a renewal fee in the amount of 

fifty dollars ($50.00). 

(g)  Lapsed Certificates. If a certificate of competency has lapsed 

due to non-renewal and the lapse does not exceed 60 days, the 

certificate holder may obtain reinstatement by making up the 

accrued deficiency in continuing education. If the lapse is greater 

than 60 days, no make-up continuing education shall be required, 

but the certificate holder shall re-take and pass the proficiency 

examination for new applicants. Regardless of the length of lapse, 

a certificate holder seeking reinstatement shall pay the renewal fee 

set forth in Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  Exemptions. Graduates of accredited chiropractic colleges 

and students enrolled in accredited chiropractic colleges who are 

serving college-sponsored preceptorships in North Carolina are 

deemed by the Board to have satisfied all requirements imposed 

by this Rule and shall be deemed competent to perform the duties 

of a clinical assistant. Any person who qualifies for exemption 

and who works as a clinical assistant in this state for more than 

180 days shall submit the applicant pursuant to this Rule and note 

the claim of exempt status. Exempt persons shall not be required 

to pay a certification fee. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"accredited" shall mean colleges accredited by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education. 

(i)  Displaying Certificate. The holder of a Level 1 certificate 

issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the certificate in the 

chiropractic clinic in which the holder is employed in a location 

where the certificate may be viewed by patients. The holder of a 

Level 2 certificate issued pursuant to this Rule shall display the 

certificate in the x-ray room of the chiropractic clinic in which the 

holder is employed in a location where the certificate may be 

viewed by patients. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143.2; 90-143.4; 90-

154.3; 

Eff. July 1, 2014; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0304 DESIGNATION OF 

SPECIALTIES 

(a)  Definitions. For purposes of this Rule, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

(1) Claim of Specialization: any use of the 

designations listed in this Rule or any 

representation stating or implying that, by 

virtue of additional training, a licentiate 

possesses greater expertise in any aspect of 

health care than is possessed by chiropractic 

physicians who have not had additional 

training. The mere recitation of academic 

degrees awarded to a licentiate does not 

constitute a claim of specialization. 

(2) Publication: representations regarding any 

claim of specialization made by a licentiate 

which may include representations made in 

advertising, whether printed or broadcast; 

written representations appearing on 

professional stationery, business cards, 

curriculum vitae, or office signage; and oral 

representations made in judicial proceedings. 

(b)  Recognized Specialties. The Board of Examiners recognizes 

the specialties in the following fields of practice: 

(1) Chiropractic Orthopedics; 

(2) Chiropractic Radiology; 

(3) Chiropractic Neurology; 

(4) Chiropractic Internal Disorders; 

(5) Chiropractic Pediatrics; 

(6) Chiropractic Sports Injuries; 

(7) Chiropractic Nutrition; and 

(8) Chiropractic Rehabilitation. 

(c)  Any licentiate wishing to request a specialty designation not 

listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule shall first submit a written 

request to the Board and provide evidence that the designation 

meets the criteria set forth in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. A 

licentiate shall not publish the specialty designation until the 

Board has approved, in writing, the specialty designation 

requested. 

(d)  Criteria for approval. In order to publish a claim of 

specialization as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule or upon 

request of a specialty pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule, a 

licentiate shall demonstrate the following: 

(1) Evidence of completion of a post-graduate 

course of study in the specialty requested at 

least 300 hours in length and offered by a 

college approved by the Council on 

Chiropractic Education; and 
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(2) Evidence that the licentiate has passed an 

examination offered by a 501(c)(3) 

organization whose testing for specialization is 

recognized by the House of Delegates of the 

American Chiropractic Association or an exam 

deemed by the Board to be an equivalent. 

(e)  Claim of Specialty. Any published claim of specialization 

outside the recognized specialties or any published claim of 

specialization made by or at the behest of a licentiate who has not 

satisfied all applicable provisions of this Rule constitutes false or 

misleading advertising. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-154; 90-154.2(5); 

Eff. November 1, 2007; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0202 CLASSIFICATION 

(a)  A general contractor shall be certified in one of the following 

five classifications: 

(1) Building Contractor. This classification covers 

all building construction and demolition 

activity including: commercial, industrial, 

institutional, and all residential building 

construction. It includes parking decks; all site 

work, grading and paving of parking lots, 

driveways, sidewalks, and gutters; storm 

drainage, retaining or screen walls, and 

hardware and accessory structures; and indoor 

and outdoor recreational facilities including 

natural and artificial surface athletic fields, 

running tracks, bleachers, and seating. It also 

covers work done under the specialty 

classifications of S(Concrete Construction), 

S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction), 

S(Marine Construction), S(Masonry 

Construction), S(Roofing), S(Metal Erection), 

S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos), and 

S(Wind Turbine). 

(2) Residential Contractor. This classification 

covers all construction and demolition activity 

pertaining to the construction of residential 

units that are required to conform to the 

residential building code adopted by the 

Building Code Council pursuant to G.S. 143-

138; all site work, driveways, sidewalks, and 

water and wastewater systems ancillary to the 

aforementioned structures and improvements; 

and the work done as part of such residential 

units under the specialty classifications of 

S(Insulation), S(Interior Construction), 

S(Masonry Construction), S(Roofing), 

S(Swimming Pools), and S(Asbestos). 

(3) Highway Contractor. This classification covers 

all highway construction activity including: 

grading, paving of all types, installation of 

exterior artificial athletic surfaces, relocation of 

public and private utility lines ancillary to a 

principal project, bridge construction and 

repair, culvert construction and repair, parking 

decks, sidewalks, curbs, gutters and storm 

drainage. It also includes installation and 

erection of guard rails, fencing, signage and 

ancillary highway hardware; covers paving and 

grading of airport and airfield runways, 

taxiways, and aprons, including the installation 

of fencing, signage, runway lighting and 

marking; and work done under the specialty 

classifications of S(Boring and Tunneling), 

S(Concrete Construction), S(Marine 

Construction), S(Railroad Construction), and 

H(Grading and Excavating). 

(4) Public Utilities Contractor. This classification 

includes operations that are the performance of 

construction work on water and wastewater 

systems and on the subclassifications of 

facilities set forth in G.S. 87-10(b)(3). The 

Board shall issue a license to a public utilities 

contractor that is limited to any of the 

subclassifications set forth in G.S. 87-10(b)(3) 

for which the contractor qualifies. A public 

utilities contractor license covers work done 

under the specialty classifications of S(Boring 

and Tunneling), PU(Communications), 

PU(Fuel Distribution), PU(Electrical-Ahead of 

Point of Delivery), PU(Water Lines and Sewer 

Lines), PU(Water Purification and Sewage 

Disposal), and S(Swimming Pools). 

(5) Specialty Contractor. This classification covers 

all construction operation and performance of 

contract work outlined as follows: 

(A) H(Grading and Excavating). This 

classification covers the digging, 

moving, and placing of materials 

forming the surface of the earth, 

excluding air and water, in such a 

manner that the cut, fill, excavation, 

grade, trench, backfill, or any similar 

operation may be executed with the 

use of hand and power tools and 

machines used for these types of 

digging, moving, and material placing. 

It covers work on earthen dams and 

the use of explosives used in 

connection with all or any part of the 

activities described in this 

Subparagraph. It also includes 

clearing and grubbing, and erosion 

control activities. 

(B) S(Boring and Tunneling). This 

classification covers the construction 

of underground or underwater 
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passageways by digging or boring 

through and under the earth's surface, 

including the bracing and compacting 

of such passageways to make them 

safe for the purpose intended. It 

includes preparation of the ground 

surfaces at points of ingress and 

egress. 

(C) PU (Communications). This 

classification covers the installation of 

the following: 

(i) all types of pole lines, and 

aerial and underground 

distribution cable for 

telephone systems; 

(ii) aerial and underground 

distribution cable for cable 

TV and master antenna TV 

systems capable of 

transmitting R.F. signals; 

(iii) underground conduit and 

communication cable 

including fiber optic cable; 

and 

(iv) microwave systems and 

towers, including 

foundations and excavations 

where required, when the 

microwave systems are being 

used for the purpose of 

transmitting R.F. signals; and 

installation of PCS or cellular 

telephone towers and sites. 

(D) S(Concrete Construction). This 

classification covers the construction, 

demolition, and installation of 

foundations, pre-cast silos, and other 

concrete tanks or receptacles, 

prestressed components, and gunite 

applications, but excludes bridges, 

streets, sidewalks, curbs, gutters, 

driveways, parking lots, and 

highways. 

(E) PU(Electrical-Ahead of Point of 

Delivery). This classification covers 

the construction, installation, 

alteration, maintenance, or repair of an 

electrical wiring system, including 

sub-stations or components thereof, 

which is or is intended to be owned, 

operated, and maintained by an 

electric power supplier, such as a 

public or private utility, a utility 

cooperative, or any other properly 

franchised electric power supplier, for 

the purpose of furnishing electrical 

services to one or more customers. 

(F) PU(Fuel Distribution). This 

classification covers the construction, 

installation, alteration, maintenance, 

or repair of systems for distribution of 

petroleum fuels, petroleum distillates, 

natural gas, chemicals, and slurries 

through pipeline from one station to 

another. It includes all excavating, 

trenching, and backfilling in 

connection therewith. It covers the 

installation, replacement, and removal 

of above ground and below ground 

fuel storage tanks. 

(G) PU(Water Lines and Sewer Lines). 

This classification covers construction 

work on water and sewer mains, water 

service lines, and house and building 

sewer lines, as defined in the North 

Carolina State Building Code, and 

covers water storage tanks, lift 

stations, pumping stations, and 

appurtenances to water storage tanks, 

lift stations and pumping stations. It 

includes pavement patching, backfill, 

and erosion control as part of 

construction. 

(H) PU(Water Purification and Sewage 

Disposal). This classification covers 

the performance of construction work 

on water and wastewater systems; 

water and wastewater treatment 

facilities; and all site work, grading, 

and paving of parking lots, driveways, 

sidewalks, and curbs and gutters that 

are ancillary to such construction of 

water and wastewater treatment 

facilities. It covers the work done 

under the specialty classifications of 

S(Concrete Construction), 

S(Insulation), S(Interior 

Construction), S(Masonry 

Construction), S(Roofing), and 

S(Metal Erection) as part of the work 

on water and wastewater treatment 

facilities. 

(I) S(Insulation). This classification 

covers the installation, alteration, or 

repair of materials classified as 

insulating media used for the non-

mechanical control of temperatures in 

the construction of residential and 

commercial buildings. It does not 

include the insulation of mechanical 

equipment, and ancillary lines and 

piping. 

(J) S(Interior Construction). This 

classification covers the installation 

and demolition of acoustical ceiling 

systems and panels, load bearing and 

non-load bearing partitions, lathing 

and plastering, flooring and finishing, 
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interior recreational surfaces, window 

and door installation, and installation 

of fixtures, cabinets, and millwork. It 

includes the removal of asbestos and 

replacement with non-toxic 

substances. 

(K) S(Marine and Freshwater 

Construction). This classification 

covers all marine and freshwater 

construction and repair activities and 

all types of marine and freshwater 

construction and demolition in deep-

water installations and in harbors, 

inlets, sounds, bays, channels, canals, 

rivers, lakes, ponds, or any navigable 

waterway; it covers dredging, 

construction, and installation of 

pilings, piers, decks, slips, docks, and 

bulkheads. It does not include other 

structures that may be constructed on 

docks, slips, and piers. 

(L) S(Masonry Construction). This 

classification covers the demolition 

and installation, with or without the 

use of mortar or adhesives, of the 

following: 

(i) brick, concrete block, 

gypsum partition tile, pumice 

block, or other lightweight 

and facsimile units and 

products common to the 

masonry industry; 

(ii) installation of fire clay 

products and refractory 

construction; and 

(iii) installation of rough cut and 

dressed stone, marble panels 

and slate units, and 

installation of structural 

glazed tile or block, glass 

brick or block, and solar 

screen tile or block. 

(M) S(Railroad Construction). This 

classification covers the building, 

construction, and repair of railroad 

lines including: 

(i) the clearing and filling of 

rights-of-way; 

(ii) shaping, compacting, setting, 

and stabilizing of road beds; 

(iii) setting ties, tie plates, rails, 

rail connectors, frogs, switch 

plates, switches, signal 

markers, retaining walls, 

dikes, fences, and gates; and 

(iv) construction and repair of 

tool sheds and platforms. 

(N) S(Roofing). This classification covers 

the installation, demolition, and repair 

of roofs and decks on residential, 

commercial, industrial, and 

institutional structures requiring 

materials that form a water-tight and 

weather-resistant surface. The term 

"materials" for purposes of this 

Subparagraph includes cedar, cement, 

asbestos, clay tile and composition 

shingles, all types of metal coverings, 

wood shakes, single ply and built-up 

roofing, protective and reflective roof 

and deck coatings, sheet metal valleys, 

flashings, gravel stops, gutters and 

downspouts, and bituminous 

waterproofing. 

(O) S(Metal Erection). This classification 

covers: 

(i) the field fabrication, 

demolition, erection, repair, 

and alteration of architectural 

and structural shapes, plates, 

tubing, pipe and bars, not 

limited to steel or aluminum, 

that are or may be used as 

structural members for 

buildings, equipment, and 

structure; and 

(ii) the layout, assembly and 

erection by welding, bolting, 

riveting, or fastening in any 

manner metal products as 

curtain walls, tanks of all 

types, hoppers, structural 

members for buildings, 

towers, stairs, conveyor 

frames, cranes and crane 

runways, canopies, carports, 

guard rails, signs, steel 

scaffolding as a permanent 

structure, rigging, flagpoles, 

fences, steel and aluminum 

siding, bleachers, fire 

escapes, and seating for 

stadiums, arenas, and 

auditoriums. 

(P) S(Swimming Pools). This 

classification covers the construction, 

demolition, service, and repair of all 

swimming pools. It includes: 

(i) excavation and grading; 

(ii) construction of concrete, 

gunite, and plastic-type 

pools, pool decks, and 

walkways, and tiling and 

coping; and 

(iii) installation of all equipment 

including pumps, filters, and 

chemical feeders. It does not 

include direct connections to 
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a sanitary sewer system or to 

portable water lines, nor the 

grounding and bonding of 

any metal surfaces or the 

making of any electrical 

connections. 

(Q) S(Asbestos). This classification 

covers renovation or demolition 

activities involving the repair, 

maintenance, removal, isolation, 

encapsulation, or enclosure of 

Regulated Asbestos Containing 

Materials (RACM) for any 

commercial, industrial, or institutional 

building, whether public or private. It 

also covers all types of residential 

building construction involving 

RACM during renovation or 

demolition activities. This specialty is 

required only when the cost of 

asbestos activities as described herein 

are equal to or exceed thirty thousand 

dollars ($30,000). 

(R) S(Wind Turbine). This classification 

covers the construction, demolition, 

installation, and repair of wind 

turbines, wind generators, and wind 

power units. It includes assembly of 

blades, generator, turbine structures, 

and towers. It also includes ancillary 

foundation work, field fabrication of 

metal equipment, and structural 

support components. 

(b)  An applicant may be licensed in more than one classification 

of general contracting provided the applicant meets the 

qualifications for the classifications, which includes passing the 

examinations for the classification requested by the applicant. The 

license granted to an applicant who meets the qualifications for 

all of the classifications set forth in the rules of this Section shall 

be designated "unclassified." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; June 1, 1992; May 1, 1989; January 

1, 1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. February 18, 1997; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; June 1, 2011; September 1, 2009; 

April 1, 2004; April 1, 2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 2001; 

August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0202 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0501 LICENSE GRANTED 

(a)  License numbers shall be included on all contracts and bids. 

(b)  If a licensee files Articles of Dissolution or the N.C. 

Department of the Secretary of State withdraws the licensee's 

Certificate of Authority, the Board shall archive the license. 

(c)  A licensee shall notify the Board within 30 days of a change 

in ownership or a filing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary 

of State that amends or changes the corporate structure of the 

licensed entity. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-10; 87-12; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0501 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0203 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

PROVIDER APPROVAL 

(a)  The Board may deny or withdraw approval of any continuing 

education provider upon finding that the provider or the 

continuing education coordinator in the employ of the provider: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for course or 

provider approval or renewal; 

(2) made any false statements in course 

advertisement or promotional materials; 

(3) provided false, incomplete, or incorrect 

information in connection with any reports the 

continuing education provider is required to 

submit to the Board; 

(4) delivered CE course content that infringed upon 

copyright or any intellectual property right of 

another; 

(5) provided the Board a check or credit card for 

required fees that was not honored by a 

financial institution or bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(6) collected money from licensees and qualifiers 

for a continuing education course but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(7) intentionally provided false, incomplete, or 

misleading information relating to general 

contractors licensing, education matters, or the 

qualifier's education requirements or license 

status; 

(8) failed to submit the CE Roster Reports as 

required by Rule .0206 of this Subchapter; 

(9) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by 21 NCAC 12A .0304; or 

(10) failed to comply with any other provision of this 

Chapter. 

(b)  A licensed general contractor and its qualifier(s) shall be 

subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 87-11 if the licensee or its 

qualifier(s) engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper conduct 

in connection with the operations of a continuing education course 

provider if that licensee or qualifier(s): 
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(1) has an ownership interest in the course 

provider; 

(2) is the designated continuing education 

coordinator for the course provider; or 

(3) is an instructor for the course provider. 

(c)  When ownership of an approved continuing education 

provider is transferred to a separate legal entity, the provider's 

approval is not transferable and shall terminate on the effective 

date of the transfer. All courses shall be completed by the effective 

date of the transfer. The transferring owner shall report course 

completion(s) to the Board. The new entity shall obtain an original 

continuing education provider approval as required by Rule .0202 

of this Subchapter prior to advertising courses, registering 

students, accepting tuition, conducting courses, or otherwise 

engaging in any provider operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (c); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0302 APPROVAL AND RENEWAL OF 

ELECTIVE COURSE 

(a)  Prior to obtaining the Board's written approval of a continuing 

education elective course, providers shall not offer, advertise, or 

otherwise represent that any continuing education elective course 

is, or may be, approved for continuing education credit in North 

Carolina. 

(b)  A provider seeking initial approval of a proposed elective 

course shall complete an application on a form available on the 

Board's website that requires the applicant to set forth the 

following: 

(1) title of the proposed elective course; 

(2) provider's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) continuing education coordinator's name; 

(4) provider's ID number, if previously approved; 

(5) credit hours awarded for completing the course; 

(6) subject matter of the course as evidenced by 

course outlines, PowerPoint slides, videos, or 

other similar materials; 

(7) identity of the course content owner; 

(8) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(9) certification that the course content does not 

infringe upon any copyright or any intellectual 

property right of another; 

(10) identity of prospective instructors; and 

(11) signature of the provider or its legal designee. 

(c)  The application for initial approval shall be accompanied by 

a copy of the elective course guide, which shall include course 

objectives, learning objectives for each topic, a timed outline, 

instructional methods and aids to be employed, and all materials 

that will be provided to students. 

(d)  A provider seeking approval to offer an already approved 

elective course shall complete an application on a form available 

on the Board's website that requires the applicant to submit the 

following: 

(1) title of the elective course; 

(2) applicant's legal name, address, and telephone 

number; 

(3) applicant's continuing education coordinator's 

name; 

(4) applicant's continuing education provider code, 

if previously approved; 

(5) identity of the course content owner; 

(6) written permission of the course content owner, 

if other than the applicant; 

(7) certification that the course content does not 

infringe upon any copyright or any intellectual 

property right of another; 

(8) identity of prospective instructors; 

(9) signature of the provider or its legal designee; 

and 

(10) certification that there have been no changes to 

the course materials since the course was last 

approved. 

(e)  If the course will be taught by any method other than live, in-

person, in-class instruction, the provider shall, if requested, make 

the presentation available and accessible to the Board at no cost 

to the Board during the Board's operating hours. In case of an 

internet-based course, the Board shall be provided access to the 

course at a date and time set by the Board and shall not be charged 

any fee for such access. 

(f)  All applications for approval and renewal of elective courses 

shall be accompanied by fees as required by 21 NCAC 12A .0304. 

(g)  Board approval of all continuing education elective courses 

shall expire on December 1 of each year. 

(h)  In order to obtain approval for an expired continuing 

education elective, a course provider shall submit an application 

for initial approval. 

(i)  Courses offered prior to Board approval shall not be eligible 

for continuing education credit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0401 APPLICATION AND CRITERIA 

FOR INITIAL INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  A provider seeking initial instructor approval shall submit an 

application on a form available on the Board's website that 

requires the instructor applicant to indicate the course(s) for which 

he or she is seeking approval and set forth the instructor 

applicant's: 

(1) legal name, address, email address, and 

telephone number; 

(2) general contractor's license number, qualifier 

ID number, and instructor ID number, if any, 

assigned by the Board; 

(3) education background, including specific 

general contracting education; 

(4) experience in the general contracting industry; 

(5) professional licenses or certifications held by 

the prospective instructor; 

(6) teaching experience, if any; and 

(7) signature of the prospective instructor. 
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(b)  Prior to teaching the Mandatory course, an instructor shall 

attend the Board's Mandatory Instructor Seminar for the 

designated license year. 

(c)  Approved instructors who are also qualifiers shall receive one 

hour of CE credit for each one hour of class instruction. Approved 

instructors shall only receive instruction credit once per course. 

Course providers shall be responsible for payment of all CE fees 

for instructors seeking CE credit. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(b) and (d); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 26 – BOARD OF LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0101 AUTHORITY: NAME AND 

LOCATION OF BOARD 

The "North Carolina Landscape Architecture Act," G.S. Chapter 

89A, establishes and authorizes the "North Carolina Board of 

Landscape Architects," hereafter called the "Board." Unless 

otherwise directed, all communications shall be addressed to the 

Board at Post Office Box 41225, Raleigh, North Carolina 27629. 

Applications and other information are available on the Board's 

website: www.ncbola.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; July 2, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0105 FEES 

(a)  The fee for any initial license application shall be one hundred 

dollars ($100.00). 

(b)  Examination fees payable to the Board shall be paid prior to 

the examination and in accordance with G.S 89A-6. 

(c)  The initial fee for a license by examination or comity shall be 

one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00). 

(d)  The initial fee for a corporate certificate of registration shall 

be two hundred dollars ($200.00). 

(e)  The fee for the annual renewal of any certificate of registration 

of any person, firm, or corporation shall be one hundred dollars 

($100.00). 

(f)  Annual renewal fees received after June 30th of each year shall 

be subject to a late fee of fifty dollars ($50.00). Lapse of license 

renewal in excess of one year shall require an application for 

reinstatement and an application fee of one hundred dollars 

($100.00). 

(g)  The fee for re-issue of a lost or damaged certificate shall be 

twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

(h)  If the accompanying payment in the amount of the renewal 

fee is dishonored by the firm's drawee bank for any reason, the 

Board shall suspend the firm registration until the renewal fee is 

paid. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-5; 89A-6;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1994; June 1, 1991; April 1, 1990; 

July 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 1997; 

Temporary Amendment Expired July 12, 1998; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; August 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0107 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions in G.S. 89A-1, for purposes of this 

Section, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Board Executive" means the administrator of 

the Board. 

(2) "CLARB" means the Council of Landscape 

Architectural Registration Boards. 

(3) "Contact hour" means 60 continuous minutes. 

(4) "CEAC" means the Continuing Education 

Advisory Committee of the Board. 

(5) "Direct Supervision" means the level of 

supervision by a licensed professional 

overseeing the work of another in which both 

work in circumstances where professional 

contact is relevant and routine, and the 

supervisor has both control over and detailed 

professional knowledge of the work prepared 

under his or her supervision. 

(6) "Education Activity" means an activity that 

increases the professional knowledge or skills 

of a licensee and relates to the protection or 

enhancement of the health, safety and welfare 

of the public and is approved by the Board. 

(7) "Examination" means the process by which the 

Board determines the experience, academic or 

other qualifications and fitness for practice of 

an applicant, and may include a written 

examination administered by the Board or a 

third party. 

(8) "Foreign Corporation" means a foreign 

corporation as defined in G.S. 55B-16(b). 

(9) "LAAB" means the Landscape Architecture 

Accreditation Board. 

(10) "LARE" means the Landscape Architecture 

Registration Exam administered by the 

CLARB. 

(11) "License" means registration with the Board 

and use of "RLA" as a designator for Registered 

Landscape Architect shall denote licensure by 

the Board. 

(12) "License Year" means July 1st through June 

30th. 

(13) "Resident licensed professional" means a 

licensee who spends a majority of the licensee's 

normal working time in a specifically identified 

place of business within North Carolina. Such 

time shall not be less than a majority of the 

operating hours of the business. A licensed 
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professional shall be the resident licensee at 

only one place of business at one time unless 

each business is at least one- third owned by the 

resident professional and is approved by the 

Board after a determination that the businesses 

are integrated in operation, ownership, office 

location, and that the licensee will be in 

responsible charge of the professional services. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(2); 89A-5; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0201 BOARD LISTING OF 

INDIVIDUAL AND FIRM NAMES 

Every individual licensee, partnership, firm or corporation shall 

keep the Board advised of his, her or its current mailing address 

and other contact information and the name or names under which 

he, she or it is practicing landscape architecture. Each licensee or 

firm shall keep current its online profile and changes of 

association, address or contact information. Upon the dissolution 

or change of a professional relationship, the member or members 

thereof shall notify the Board in writing concerning such 

dissolution, and of the succeeding status and addresses of the 

individual or firm. Notice to the Board required by this Rule shall 

be provided within 10 days of the change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(2); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0206 NAME OF FIRM 

(a)  The name of a landscape architectural firm shall not include 

the proper name of any officer or employee who is not a licensed 

landscape architect, architect, geologist, soil scientist, land 

surveyor or professional engineer. 

(b)  The word "associate" may be used only with reference to a 

licensee who is a principal or regular employee of the firm. The 

plural form may be used only when justified by the number of 

licensees in addition to those licensees whose proper names are 

included in the firm name as follows: 

(1) Example: Proper Name and (&) Associates 

shall refer to a principal landscape architect and 

at least two licensed landscape architectural 

employees. 

(2) Example: Proper Name Associates shall refer to 

at least one principal landscape architect and at 

least one licensed landscape architectural 

employee. 

(3) Example: Assumed Name Associates shall 

refer to at least one principal landscape 

architect and at least one licensed landscape 

architectural employee, or two or more 

principal landscape architects. 

(c)  This Rule shall not be construed to require any firm to seek 

approval of, or to change, any name duly adopted in conformity 

with Board Rules in effect at the date of such adoption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 89A-3.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

A licensee shall not: 

(1) allow his or her name to be associated with an 

undertaking in any professional capacity 

without having served specifically in that 

capacity; 

(2) accept compensation in whole or in part from 

fees, commissions, earnings, commercial or 

speculative profit deriving from sales of 

materials or services provided to a Landscape 

Architect's client by others; 

(3) make exaggerated or misleading statements or 

claims about any personal qualifications, 

experience or performance; 

(4) fail to disclose to a client or employer the 

existence of any financial interest which bears 

upon the landscape architectural services or 

project in any way; 

(5) fail to respond within 30 calendar days to any 

inquiry from the Board; or 

(6) fail to supervise his or her practice. Each office 

maintained for the preparation of drawings, 

specifications, reports or other professional 

work shall have a registered landscape architect 

employed in that office who shall have direct 

knowledge and supervisory control of such 

work, except field offices maintained only for 

the purpose of project construction 

administration shall have at least one employee 

present with the supervising landscape architect 

maintaining control and making periodic visits. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-7; 

Eff. August 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; March 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0210 DISHONEST PRACTICE 

(a)  A licensee shall not: 

(1) knowingly make any deceptive or false 

statement about another's professional work or 

maliciously injure or attempt to injure the 

prospects, practice, or employment position of 

those so engaged; 

(2) knowingly make any deceptive or false 

statements in an application for examination or 

in any other statements or representations to the 

Board, to any public agency, to a prospective or 
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actual client, or to another Landscape Architect; 

or 

(3) fail to notify the Board of disciplinary action by 

a landscape architect licensing, registration or 

certification entity in another jurisdiction 

within five business days of that jurisdiction's 

final action in the matter. 

(b)  Because of the inherent conflict of interest with construction 

services, a landscape architect shall not provide contracting 

services, including combined design and construction (design-

build) practice, unless he or she does the following: 

(1) uses the term "limited landscape architectural 

services" in all representations to the public and 

the client; and 

(2) affixes a notation on each construction drawing 

and the cover of technical specifications stating: 

"These construction drawings and technical 

specifications represent the full extent of the 

limited landscape architectural services 

provided for this project." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 89A-7; 

Eff. August 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; March 1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0212 SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

The scope of practice as defined by G.S. 89A-1(3) and G.S. 89A-

2(b) shall be limited only by the licensee possessing the requisite 

knowledge and experience to provide the service. Consistent with 

the North Carolina State Building Code, a licensee shall not 

design any retaining wall greater than five vertical feet in height 

from the finished grade unless the licensee has the requisite 

knowledge and experience to determine the appropriate 

construction material and calculate the embedment, vertical load, 

backfill and other criteria. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-1(c); 89A-3.1; 

Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0303 LICENSE BY COMITY 

(a)  To assure that the requirements of the other state are at least 

equivalent to those of this state, an applicant for a license by 

comity shall show education and experience equal to those 

required of applicants who seek licensure by examination. 

(b)  An application for a license by comity shall be made on the 

on-line form available on the Board's website: www.ncbola.org 

and shall be accompanied by the fee. 

(c)  To be approved for a license by comity the applicant shall 

meet the following requirements: 

(1) Provide evidence of having successfully 

completed the written examination established 

by the CLARB or hold a certificate issued by 

the CLARB; 

(2) Provide certification from the proper official of 

any state having a landscape architectural 

licensure or registration act that the individual 

is currently certified, licensed, or registered and 

in good standing in that state; 

(3) Submit such additional information concerning 

the applicant's qualifications as may be 

requested by the Board; and 

(4) Submit examples of work upon request. 

(d)  In lieu of the requirements of Subparagraph (c)(1) of this 

Rule, an applicant for licensure by comity who was licensed prior 

to the adoption of a national written examination shall show proof 

of having met the requirements of his or her licensing state at the 

time of their licensure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(3); 89A-4(c); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; January 1, 2008; August 1, 1988; 

July 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0306 REINSTATEMENT AFTER 

REVOCATION 

Any person whose license is revoked shall be reinstated at any 

time by majority vote of the Board if there is a finding that the 

cause for revocation no longer exists. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0308 DUTIES AND FUNCTIONS OF 

CONTINUING EDUCATION ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

(CEAC) 

(a)  CEAC members shall be reimbursed per diem and travel 

expenses for official meetings at rates equivalent to rates allowed 

for Board members. 

(b)  CEAC members shall serve at the discretion of the Board. The 

Board Chair shall appoint the CEAC Chair who shall serve at the 

discretion of the Board Chair. 

(c)  Each continuing education activity recommended for 

approval by the Board shall, in the opinion of a majority of the 

members of the CEAC, have a direct relationship to the practice 

of landscape architecture as defined in Chapter 89A of the General 

Statutes of North Carolina and contain elements that will enhance 

the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of North Carolina 

served by North Carolina licensed landscape architects. 

(d)  The CEAC shall meet at least once during each three month 

quarter of the year and act on each course, seminar, webinar, 

session, or program submitted for its review through the licensee 

or provider's secure online profile. The CEAC shall review 

submissions in accordance with Paragraph (c) of this Rule. Each 

program shall be recommended for approval, recommended for 

disapproval, or deferred for lack of information. Programs 

recommended for approval shall be accompanied by a brief 

statement of findings by the committee of how the program meets 

the criteria established by this Rule. 
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(e)  An activity may be recommended for pre-approval by the 

CEAC before it actually occurs by following the same procedure 

for submission as utilized for post-activity approval. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0309 EXEMPTIONS AND EXTENSION 

OF TIME 

(a)  A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for any of the following reasons: 

(1) New licensees by way of examination or comity 

for the current registration year; 

(2) A licensee serving on temporary active duty in 

the armed forces of the United States for a 

period of time exceeding 90 consecutive days 

in a year or as provided by G.S. 93B-15(b), 

whichever is greater; 

(3) A licensee experiencing physical disability or 

illness if supporting documentation is approved 

by the Board. Such documentation shall be in 

the form of a sworn statement by the licensee, a 

statement from a physician, or medical records 

which show that the disability or illness, 

prevented the licensee's participation in a 

course that the licensee had enrolled, or 

prevented the licensee's participation in the 

continuing education program for at least 90 

consecutive days in a year; or 

(4) A licensee with emeritus status from the Board. 

(b)  In order to return to active practice, licensees who have 

received an exemption shall complete continuing education 

requirements for each exempted year, not to exceed two years. 

(c)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a licensee from obtaining by active 

participation in Board approved continuing education, the Board 

may extend the compliance period if requested by the licensee up 

to 90 days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. 

Any license renewed in reliance on this exemption shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 90th day if 

compliance is not documented in the licensee's secure online 

profile by that date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 93B-15;  

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. June 12, 2021; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0310 REINSTATEMENT CRITERIA 

(a)  A former licensee may only apply for reinstatement pursuant 

to G.S. 89A-5 if he or she has earned all delinquent contact hours 

within the 12 months preceding the application. However, if the 

total number of contact hours required to become current exceeds 

30, then upon application, the Board shall determine the number 

of hours required. 

(b)  An application for reinstatement shall be made on the form 

provided by the Board on its website: www.ncbola.org and shall 

be accompanied by the fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0311 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

REQUESTS FOR APPROVAL 

(a)  Renewal applications require the completion of a continuing 

education form through the licensee's secure online profile 

specifying credit claimed. The licensee shall report and supply 

sufficient detail to permit audit verification, certify the continuing 

education by signature, and submit with the license renewal and 

the fee. 

(b)  The following schedule for submittal of hours shall apply: 

(1) Application for approval of continuing 

education shall be submitted through the 

licensee's secure online profile. 

(2) The deadline for submittal of an application 

shall be seven days prior to the regularly 

scheduled meeting of the CEAC. 

(3) Renewal requests submitted after May 15th 

cannot be guaranteed approval within the 

license renewal year. 

(4) Requests for approval of continuing education 

shall be completed in full and the answers to the 

essay questions contained in the application 

shall be in complete sentences, using proper 

grammar. 

(5) Administrative staff, the CEAC, and the Board 

may defer any request deemed incomplete and 

return it to the licensee for further information 

or if the request does not meet the requirements 

set forth in this Section. It is the responsibility 

of the licensee to submit sufficient information 

to satisfy the requirements of this Section. 

(6) Failure of a licensee to complete the continuing 

education requirements, or failure to file a 

report of completed continuing education are 

grounds for denial of license renewal, possible 

suspension of license, or denial of consideration 

for future license reinstatement. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0312 COMPLIANCE 

(a)  Compliance with annual continuing education requirements 

shall be determined through an audit process conducted by the 

Board. Determination of individuals to be audited shall be 

accomplished through a random selection process or as the result 

of information received or obtained by the Board that gives rise to 

the need for an audit. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide 

the Board with attendance verification records in the form of 

transcripts, completion certificates, or other documents 

supporting evidence of attendance. 
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(b)  Attendance records shall be maintained by individual 

licensees for a period of three years for audit verification 

purposes. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(6); 89A-5; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amendment Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0313 INDIVIDUAL LICENSES 

(a)  A licensee shall be renewed on or before June 30th of each 

year. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, the Board 

shall send a renewal reminder to each individual licensee. The 

licensee shall complete the current license renewal documentation 

required by the Board and found in the licensee's secure online 

profile. The licensee shall submit to the Board the completed 

license renewal documentation, along with the annual license 

renewal fee. The Board shall not accept incomplete renewal 

documentation. If the accompanying charge, draft, or check in the 

amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the landscape 

architect's drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend 

the license until the renewal fee is paid. When the annual renewal 

has been completed according to the provisions of G.S. 89A-5 and 

Rule .0307 of this Section, the Board Executive shall approve 

renewal of the license for the current license year. 

(b)  If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and 

completed renewal documentation, before the first day of July 

each year the license shall expire and be delinquent. The license 

may be renewed at any time within one year of being deemed 

delinquent, upon the completion of the renewal process, payment 

of the annual renewal fee and the late renewal fee, along with 

demonstration of compliance with Rule .0307 of this Section. 

After one year from the date of delinquency the license may no 

longer be renewed, but the licensee shall seek reinstatement. 

Reinstatement shall occur according to the provisions of G.S. 

89A-5 and Rule .0301 of this Section. 

(c)  Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed by and in good 

standing with the Board who is serving in the armed forces of the 

United States shall not be subject to late fees, suspension, or 

revocation for failure to renew licensure on or before June 30th 

each year, provided that the individual has been granted an 

extension of time to file a tax return as set forth in G.S. 105-249.2. 

The licensee shall, however, comply with the continuing 

education requirement of Rule .0310 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-5; 89A-6; 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0314 CORPORATE PRACTICE OF 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE 

(a)  Prior to offering and rendering landscape architectural 

services as set forth in G.S. 89A and Rule .0206 of this Chapter, 

all corporations shall, submit an application for registration and 

must be granted registration by the Board. Application for 

registration to practice landscape architecture within the State of 

North Carolina shall be made on the appropriate application for 

organization certificate of registration for a corporation or a PLLC 

provided by the Board on its website and include the required 

application fee. Certificates for corporate practice may be issued 

only under the provisions of G.S. Chapter 55B, except as provided 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule and G.S. Chapter 57D. 

(b)  Applications for certificate of registration as exempt from the 

Professional Corporation Act under the provisions of G.S. 55B-

15 shall be made through the Board's website: www.ncbola.org 

accompanied by the corporate application fee. To be eligible as an 

exempt corporation under the provisions of G.S. 55B-15, the 

following conditions shall exist: 

(1) The corporation or limited liability company 

must have been incorporated or organized prior 

to June 5, 1969 and permitted by law to render 

professional services, or must be a corporate 

successor to such corporation or limited 

liability company as defined by G.S. 55B-15; or 

(2) The corporation or limited liability company 

must have been incorporated or organized prior 

to October 1, 1979 and must have been a bona 

fide firm engaged in the practice of landscape 

architecture and such services as may be 

ancillary thereto within the State of North 

Carolina prior to that date. 

(c)  Firm registration must be renewed on or before June 30th. If 

the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and completed 

application on or before June 30th, the firm license shall expire 

and be delinquent. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, 

the Board shall send a notice of renewal to each registered firm. 

The firm shall designate a firm manager to complete the renewal 

documentation required by the Board. The Board shall not accept 

incomplete renewal documentation. Renewal documentation shall 

be accompanied by the renewal fee. If the accompanying payment 

in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the firm's 

drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the firm 

registration until the renewal fee is paid. When the annual renewal 

has been completed according to the provisions of G.S. 89A-5, 

the Board Executive shall approve renewal for the firm 

registration for the current renewal year. The firm registration 

shall not be renewed until the individual landscape architect in 

responsible charge for the firm has completed the individual 

renewal process. 

(d)  Within one year of expiration, the firm registration may be 

renewed at any time upon the return of the completed renewal 

documents, the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fee. After 

one year from the date of expiration for non-payment of the 

annual renewal fee, the registered firm shall not be eligible to seek 

renewal, as set forth in G.S. 89A-5, and the Board may reinstate 

the firms' certificate of registration only as allowed by G.S. 89A-

4. 

(e)  Renewal fees are non-refundable. 

(f)  A registered corporation may adopt a seal pursuant to Rule 

.0207 of this Chapter. 

(g)  In addition to the requirements and limitations of G.S. Chapter 

55 and G.S. Chapter 55B, the firm name used by a landscape 

architectural corporation shall conform with Rule .0206 of this 

Chapter and be approved by the Board before being used. This 

Rule shall not prohibit the continued use of any firm name 

adopted in conformity with the General Statutes of North Carolina 

and the Board's rules in effect at the date of such adoption. 
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(h)  Landscape architects may practice in this State through duly 

authorized limited liability companies only as provided under 

G.S. 57D-2-01(c). Any limited liability company that offers to 

practice or practices landscape architecture in this State shall 

comply with the same requirements applicable to professional 

corporations under Rules .0201, .0206, .0214, .0218 and .0219 of 

this Chapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 89A-

3.1(4);  

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0315 OUT-OF-STATE ENTITIES 

(a)  Landscape architectural entities from other states may be 

granted certificates of registration for practice in this State upon 

receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the 

submission of a certified copy of its corporate charter, or other 

corresponding documents, amended as may be necessary to 

ensure compliance with all requirements of Chapter 55B, the 

Professional Corporation Act of the State of North Carolina, and 

the payment of the firm application fee. In addition to the other 

requirements as set out in G.S. 89A-2(a1), out-of-state (or 

"foreign") entities shall, prior to registration, receive from the 

Secretary of State of North Carolina a certificate of authority to 

do business within the State. A certificate for filing for a 

certificate of authority shall be obtained from the Board prior to 

submitting the application to the Secretary of State. 

(b)  An out-of-state entity may be permitted to practice landscape 

architecture within the State of North Carolina provided that it 

complies with G.S. 55B. If an out-of-state entity offers landscape 

architectural services, then it shall comply with requirements set 

forth in G.S. 89A. An out-of-state entity shall have at least one 

officer or director licensed in the State as a landscape architect. 

Two-thirds of the issued and outstanding shares of the out-of-state 

corporations shall be held by a landscape architect, architect, 

geologist, soil scientist, engineer, or land surveyor licensed to 

practice the profession in a jurisdiction of the United States. 

However, the entity shall designate at least one landscape 

architect who is licensed in the State of North Carolina to be in 

responsible charge for the entity's practice of landscape 

architecture within the State of North Carolina. Notwithstanding 

the requirements of this Rule, an individual landscape architect 

who is licensed under G.S. Chapter 89A, et seq., may practice as 

an individual. 

(c)  An out-of-state limited liability company may practice 

landscape architecture, if the limited liability company complies 

with G.S. Chapter 57D and at least one member and one manager 

or member/manager is licensed as a landscape architect, architect, 

geologist, soil scientist, engineer, or land surveyor to comply with 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  An out of state limited liability partnership may practice 

landscape architecture, if the limited liability partnership 

complies with G.S. 59-84.2, and at least one partner is licensed in 

this State as an individual pursuant to Rule .0301 of this Section. 

(e)  If the Board has not received the annual firm renewal fee and 

completed application on or before June 30th, the firm registration 

shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm registration may 

be renewed at any time within 

one year upon the payment of the annual renewal fee and the late 

renewal fees. After one year from the date of expiration for non-

payment of the annual renewal fee, the license shall be 

automatically revoked. The Board may reinstate the firm's 

certificate of registration, as allowed by Rule .0301 of this 

Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-6; 83A-6; 89A-2(a1); 

Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

21 NCAC 26 .0510 COMPLAINTS AND 

DISCIPLINARY REVIEW PROCESS 

(a)  Any person may file a complaint against a licensed Landscape 

Architect for an alleged violation of G.S. Chapter 89A or 21 

NCAC 26 on a form provided on the Board's website: 

www.ncbola.org which may also be requested from the Board 

staff. 

(b)  The complaint shall set forth the facts upon which the 

complaint is based and the complainant shall confirm he or she 

believes the facts stated are true and that he or she is prepared to 

prove them at a hearing. Supporting documents may be provided. 

(c)  Allegations or evidence of a violation of the Landscape 

Architecture Licensing Act or the rules in this Chapter shall be 

preliminarily reviewed by the Board Chair and legal counsel to 

the Board. Upon a determination that evidence of a violation 

exists, the matter shall be subject to Board investigation and may 

ultimately be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. 

(d)  An investigation shall be initiated by a written notice and 

explanation of the allegation being forwarded to the licensee or 

entity against whom the charge is made and a response shall be 

requested of the licensee or firm so charged within 30 days of 

receipt of said notice to show compliance with all requirements 

for retention of the license. Notice of the charge and of the alleged 

facts or alleged conduct shall be given personally or by certified 

mail, return receipt requested. 

(e)  In the discretion of the Board Chair, a field investigation may 

be performed. 

(f)  After additional evidence has been obtained, the Board Chair 

shall either: 

(1) recommend dismissal of the charge; or 

(2) refer the matter to the Disciplinary Review 

Committee. 

(g)  If the Board Chair recommends dismissal, the Chair shall give 

a summary report to the Board and a vote shall be called to dismiss 

the complaint. If the Board does not vote to dismiss the complaint, 

the matter shall be forwarded to the Disciplinary Review 

Committee for further consideration. 

(h)  The Disciplinary Review Committee shall be made up of a 

minimum of one member of the Board, the Board Chair, and legal 

counsel to the Board. 

(i)  Upon review of the evidence, and further investigation if 

necessary, the Disciplinary Review Committee shall present to the 

Board a written recommendation that may include the following: 

(1) The charge be dismissed as unfounded or that 

the Board is without jurisdiction over the 

matter; 

(2) The charge is admitted as true, whereupon the 

Board may accept the admission of guilt by the 
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licensee or entity charged and discipline the 

licensee or entity accordingly; 

(3) The Board may accept a proposed settlement 

negotiated in an effort to resolve the alleged 

violations; or 

(4) The charge be presented to the full Board for a 

hearing and determination of sanctions by the 

Board in accordance with the substantive and 

procedural requirements of the provisions of 

G.S. 150B, Article 3A. 

(j)  A consultant to the Disciplinary Review Committee shall be 

designated by the legal counsel of the Board if the Chair of the 

Disciplinary Review Committee determines that it needs 

assistance. The consultant shall be a currently licensed landscape 

architect selected from former Board members or other licensed 

professionals who are knowledgeable with the Board's processes 

and have expressed an interest in serving as a consultant. The 

consultant shall review all case materials and assist the 

Disciplinary Review Committee in making a recommendation as 

to the merits of the case. 

(k)  At least 15 days written notice of the date of consideration by 

the Board of the recommendations of the Disciplinary Review 

Committee shall be given to the licensee or entity against whom 

the charges have been brought and the person submitting the 

complaint. 

(l)  When the Board issues a notice of hearing against the licensee 

or entity the licensee or entity may request in writing a settlement 

conference to pursue resolution of the issue(s) through informal 

procedures. If, after the completion of a settlement conference, the 

person or entity and the Board's Disciplinary Review Committee 

do not agree to a resolution of the dispute for the full Board's 

consideration, the original disciplinary review process shall 

commence. During the course of the settlement conference, no 

sworn testimony shall be taken. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89A-3.1(7),(8),(9); 89A-7;  

Eff. December 1, 2005; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32R .0102 APPROVED CATEGORIES OF 

CME 

(a)  Category 1 CME providers are: 

(1) Institutions or organizations accredited by the 

Accreditation Council on Continuing Medical 

Education (ACCME) and reciprocating 

organizations; 

(2) The American Osteopathic Association (AOA); 

(3) A state medical society or association; 

(4) The American Medical Association (AMA); 

(5) Specialty boards accredited by the American 

Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the 

AOA, or Royal College of Physicians and 

Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC;) and 

(6) The Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional 

Continuing Education. 

(b)  Category 1 CME education shall be presented, offered, or 

accredited by a Category 1 provider as set forth in Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule and shall include: 

(1) Educational courses; 

(2) Scientific or clinical presentations or 

publications; 

(3) Printed, recorded, audio, video, online, or 

electronic educational materials for which 

CME credits are awarded by the provider; 

(4) Journal-based CME activities within a peer-

reviewed, professional journal; 

(5) Skill development; 

(6) Performance improvement activities;  

(7) Interprofessional continuing education; or 

(8) Cultural competency or implicit bias training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1; 

Eff. January 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2012; July 1, 2007; January 1, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0216 CONTINUING MEDICAL 

EDUCATION 

(a)  A physician assistant shall complete at least 50 hours of 

Continuing Medical Education (CME) every two years. The CME 

shall be recognized by the National Commission on Certification 

of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) as Category I CME. The 

physician assistant shall provide CME documentation for 

inspection by the Board or its agent upon request. The two-year 

period shall begin on the physician assistant's birthday following 

the issuance of his or her license. 

(b)  A physician assistant who prescribes controlled substances 

shall complete at least two hours of CME, from the required 50 

hours, designed specifically to address controlled substance 

prescribing practices. The controlled substance prescribing CME 

shall include instruction on controlled substance prescribing 

practices and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain 

management. CME that includes recognizing signs of the abuse 

or misuse of controlled substances, or non-opioid treatment 

options shall qualify for purposes of this Rule. 

(c)  A physician assistant who possesses a current certification 

with the NCCPA shall be deemed in compliance with the 

requirement of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. The physician assistant 

shall attest on his or her annual renewal he or she is currently 

certified by the NCCPA. Physician assistants who attest he or she 

possesses a current certificate with the NCCPA shall not be 

exempt from the controlled substance prescribing CME 

requirement of Paragraph (b) of this Rule. A physician assistant 

shall complete the required two hours of controlled substance 

CME unless the CME is a component part of their certification 

activity. 

(d)  Courses pertaining to interprofessional continuing education 

and courses pertaining to cultural competency or implicit bias 

training shall qualify for any CME hours required under this Rule 

so long as such courses are approved by the NCCPA. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-5.1(a)(10); 90-

18.1; S.L. 2015-241, 12F.16(b) and 12F.16(c); 

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2015; November 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; April 1, 2020; September 1, 2016. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission February 17, 2022 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 February 17, 2022 April 21, 2022 
 March 17, 2022 May 19, 2022 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, February 17, 2022, 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Soil and Water Conservation Commission - 02 NCAC 59A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, 

.0203, .0204, .0301, .0302 (May) 
B. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09B .0101; 09G .0205 

(May) 
C. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02L .0202 (May) 
D. Marine Fisheries Commission - 15A NCAC 03I .0108, .0115, .0122; 03J .0103, .0104, .0106, .0111, 

.0202, .0208, .0401, .0402;  03L .0207, .0210, .0301, .0302; 03M .0301, .0302, .0511, .0516, .0519; 
18A .0134, .0136, .0137, .0138, .0139, .0144, .0145, .0147, .0148, .0149, .0151, .0152, .0153, .0156, 
.0157, .0158, .0161, .0162, .0164, .0165, .0166, .0168, .0173, .0174, .0175, .0176, .0177, .0178, .0181, 
.0182, .0183, .0184, .0185, .0186, .0187, .0191 (May) 

E. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .1101, .1102, .1103, .1104, .1105, .1801, .1802, 
.1803, .1804, .1805 (Liebman) 

F. Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors – 21 NCAC 18B .0308 (Liebman) 
G. Board of Pharmacy - 21 NCAC 46 .1417, .1816 (May) 
H. Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors – 21 NCAC 50 .0415 

(Liebman) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between December 21, 2021 through January 20, 2022 

• Department of Administration (Liebman) 

• Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (May) 

• Private Protective Services Board (Liebman) 

• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 

• Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 
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• Board of Dental Examiners (Liebman) 

• Board of Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters (Liebman) 

• Building Code Council (Liebman) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC 
Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: March 17, 2022  
 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

December 21, 2021 through January 20, 2022 
 

ADMINISTRATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 5 concern purchase and contract.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 5A concern the division of purchase and contract. 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 01 NCAC 05A .0112 

The rules in Subchapter 5B concern purchase procedures including requisitioning (.0100); specifications (.0200); 
procurement authorization and procedures (.0300); rejection of offers (.0500); purchase of used items (.0600); removal 
of certain items from general construction (.0700); inspection and testing (.0900); guarantees and warranties (.1000); 
term contracts (.1100); partial and multiple awards (.1200); waiver of competition (.1400); miscellaneous provisions 
(.1500) exemptions, emergencies and special delegations (.1600); inventories and stores (.1800); and records of the 
division of purchase and contract (.1900). 

Contracting Requirements 
Amend* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0301 

Solicitation Documents 
Amend* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0314 

Terms and Conditions 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0318 

Contract Terms 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0319 

Contract Extensions 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0320 

Factors for Contract Extension or Renewal 
Adopt* 

 01 NCAC 05B .0321 

General Delegations 
Repeal* 

 01 NCAC 05B .1604 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Subchapter 13B concern parks and recreation areas including general provisions (.0100); preservation of 
the park (.0200); bathing (.0300); refuse and rubbish (.0400); traffic and parking (.0500); boating and camping (.0600); 
sports and games (.0700); hunting and fishing (.0800); firearms, explosives, fires, etc. (.0900); disorderly conduct, public 
nuisance, etc. (.1000); commercial enterprises, advertising, meetings, exhibitions, etc. (.1100); and miscellaneous 
(.1200). 
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Definition of Terms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0101 

Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0104 

Rock Climbing 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0204 

Bicycles 
Adopt* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0507 

Camping 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0602 

Sports and Games: When Permitted 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0701 

Horses 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0702 

Firearms: Weapons: Explosives 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0901 

Smoking 
Adopt* 

 07 NCAC 13B .0905 

Animals at Large 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1004 

Commercial Enterprises 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1101 

Commercial Photography, Filming and Recording 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1102 

Public Assemblies and Meetings; Special Activity Permit 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1105 

Closing and Opening Hours; Restricted Use Areas 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1201 

Aviation 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1204 

Reservations 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 13B .1205 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0103 

Complaints 
Adopt* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0115 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Assumed Name Application  21 NCAC 12A .0209 
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Amend* 

Building Projects 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0210 

Application for Licensure 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0303 

Reporting Criminal Convictions and Disciplinary Actions 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0508 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14A are the Cosmetic Art Board of Examiners departmental rules including organizational rules 
(.0100); and license renewal waiver for armed forces (.0400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14A .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 14G give the requirements for the establishment of cosmetic art schools. 

School Affiliation with Cosmetic Art Shops and Other Busi... 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14G .0114 

Failure to Comply with Rules 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14G .0115 

The rules in Subchapter 14J cover the cosmetology curriculum including the beginners' department (.0100); the 
advanced department (.0200); combined studies (.0300); the course of study (.0400); and credit for study outside of 
North Carolina (.0500). 

Equipment for Beginner Department 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0106 

Live Model/Mannequin Performance Requirements 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0207 

Internships 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0208 

Equipment 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0302 

Students' Personal Supplies 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0303 

Course Work Requirements for Beginners and Advanced 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0306 

Tests 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0307 

Approval of Credit for Cosmetology Instruction/Another State 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14J .0501 

The rules in Subchapter 14L deal with teacher qualifications and examinations (.0100) and teacher program and 
curriculum (.0200). 

Application to Take Examination 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14L .0106 

The rules in Subchapter 14N deal with examinations including general provisions (.0100), cosmetologist exam (.0200), 
manicurist exam (.0300), cosmetologist teacher exam (.0400), and manicurist teach examination (.0500), esthetician 
examination (.0600), and esthetician teacher examination (.0700). 

Re-examination 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 14N .0113 
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The rules in Subchapter 14T concern cosmetic art schools including the scope of the rules and school applications 
(.0100); physical requirements for cosmetic art schools (.0200); school equipment and supplies (.0300); student 
equipment (.0400); record keeping (.0500); curricula for all cosmetic art disciplines (.0600); school licensure, operations, 
closing and relocating schools (.0700); school inspections (.0800); and disciplinary actions (.0900). 

New School Applications 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0102 

All Cosmetic Art Schools 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0201 

Equipment for All Cosmetic Art Schools 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0301 

Instruction Guidelines 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0612 

Teacher Trainees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0617 

School Operations/Licensure Maintenance 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0701 

School Approval Changes and School Closing 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0706 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 16U concern investigations including procedures (.0100); and complaints (.0200). 

Reports from the Controlled Substance Reporting System 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 16U .0103 

HEARING AID DEALERS AND FITTERS BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 22A concern the board's definitions (.0400); and fees and applications (.0500). 

Definitions and Interpretations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 22A .0401 

The rules in Subchapter 22F concern general examination and license provisions. 

Sponsors' Duties 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 22F .0302 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Information Required 
Amend* 

 106.3.1 

2018 NC Administrative Code/Building Code Summary 
Amend* 

 
106.3.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Definitions 
Amend* 

 R202 

2018 NC Residential Code/Townhouses 
Amend* 

 R302.2 

2018 NC Residential Code/Minimum Height 
Amend* 

 R305.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Townhouse Automatic Fire Sprinkl... 
Repeal* 

 R313.1 

2018 NC Residential Code/Lofts 
Repeal* 

 R328 
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2018 NC Residential Code/Tiny Houses 
Adopt* 

 Appendix Q 

2018 NC Residential Code/Fastener Corrosion Resistance 
Amend* 

 R4606 

 

 

 

 


