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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 03 – OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Office of the State Auditor intends to adopt the rule cited as 03 

NCAC 01 .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.auditor.nc.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 2, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Virtual:  

https://ncgov.webex.com/ncgov/j.php?MTID=m734c2fa63b8719

94462b673aecf568b3  

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Proposed rule is to provide a 

process to comply with NCGS 150B-20. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Judy Estevez, General 

Counsel, 20601 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-0600; 

phone (919) 807-7500; email judy_estevez@ncauditor.net 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

SECTION .0300 – PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

 

03 NCAC 01 .0301 PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  Any person may request the adoption of a new rule, or the 

amendment or repeal of an existing rule promulgated by the 

Office of the State Auditor by addressing a petition to the 

Rulemaking Coordinator, Office of the State Auditor, 20601 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, N.C. 27699-0600. 

(b)  The petition must be titled "Petition for Rulemaking" and 

contain the following information: 

(1) name, address and email address of each 

petitioner; 

(2) a citation to any rule petitioner desires to amend 

or repeal, a draft of the proposed rule or 

amendment, or a summary of the major 

elements of a proposed rule. 

(c)  The petition may contain the following information: 

(1) the reason for submitting the petition; 

(2) the anticipated cost factors; 

(3) any additional data supporting the petition. 

(d)  Within 30 days of submission of the petition, the State 

Auditor, or deputy pursuant to G.S. 147-64.10, shall render a final 

decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, the petitioner shall 

be notified in writing, stating the reasons for the denial and refer 

to the appeal rights set forth in G.S. 150B-20(d). If the decision is 

to grant the petition, written notice of the decision shall be 

provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and rulemaking 

proceedings shall be initiated. 

 

Authority G.S. 147-64.9, 150B-20. 

 

 

TITLE 07 – DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL AND 

CULTURAL RESOURCES 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources intends to amend 

the rules cited as 07 NCAC 02H .0303, .0305, .0306 and repeal 

the rule cited as 07 NCAC 02H .0307. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdcr.gov 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 24, 2022 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Time:  10:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m. 

Location:  This public hearing will be held by teleconference at 

(919) 814-6771 (no access code needed). 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The following rules are being 

amended to simplify and clarify procedures for the Accessible 

Books and Library Services: 07 NCAC 02H .0303, .0305, and 

.0306. The following rule is being repealed because it is no longer 

necessary because of proposed changes in the readopted rules: 

07 NCAC 02H .0307. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jonathan Avery, 1615 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1615; phone (919) 814-6771; 

email jonathan.avery@ncdcr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - STATE LIBRARY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02H - LIBRARY SERVICES 

 

SECTION .0300 – LIBRARY FOR THE BLIND AND 

PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0303 APPLICATION 

(a)  To obtain services from the Library for the Blind and 

Physically Handicapped, Accessible Books and Library Services, 

users shall submit an application to the Library, 1841 Capital 

Boulevard, Raleigh, North Carolina 27635. Applications shall be 

submitted on a form prepared by the Library and include the 

user's: 

(1) name, address, and telephone number; 

(2) county of residence; 

(3) date of birth; 

(4)(1) gender; applicant's basic facts, such as applicant 

name and contact information; 

(5)(2) name, address, and telephone number of a 

friend or relative; an alternative contact; 

(6)(3) status as an honorably discharged veteran of the 

Armed Forces of the United States; States 

military; 

(7)(4) qualifying disability; disability including: 

(A) blindness; 

(B) visual handicap; 

(C) physical handicap; 

(D) reading disability; or 

(E) deaf and blind; 

(8)(5) degree of hearing impairment of either: 

impairment, if any; 

(A) moderate – some difficulty 

understanding speech; or 

(B) profound – cannot hear or understand 

speech; 

(9) preferred items such as books recorded on 

digital cartridge with digital player, braille 

books, large print books, or music; 

(10) necessity for special attachments such as 

headphones, amplifier, breath switch, or remote 

control; 

(11) language preference; 

(12) service preference such as: 

(A) requested materials only; or 

(B) materials requested by the Library 

based upon selected reading 

preferences; 

(13) reading preferences such as Fiction, Non-

Fiction, Adventure, Aging/Retirement, Animal 

Stories, Arts, Best Sellers, Biography, Black 

Literature, Technology/Computers, Classics, 

Cooking/Homemaking, Current Events, 

Disabilities, Family Stories, Fantasy, 

Folklore/Fairy Tales, General Fiction, 

Health/Medicine, Historical Fiction, History-

US, History-World, Humor, Marriage/Family, 

Mysteries, Nature, North Carolina, 

Occult/Horror, Plays, Poetry, 

Politics/Government, Psychology, Religious 

Inspiration, Religion (scholarly), Romance, 

Science, Science Fiction, Sea Stories, Short 

Stories, Sports, Spy Stories, Business, Travel, 

War Stories, or Western; and 

(14)(6) reading restrictions such as strong language, 

violence, or explicit descriptions of sex. 

language, reading and service delivery method 

preferences. 

(b)  Applications shall be certified by a competent authority an 

individual authorized under 36 CFR 701.6 to certify an applicant's 

eligibility and shall include the competent authority's certifying 

individual's name, address and telephone number, title and 

occupation, and an original signature. A competent authority shall 

be defined as provided in 36 CFR 701.6(b)(2), which is 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions, and available for free at https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-
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bin/textidx?SID=56ff245ec016601b46b55f2331b4b7ee&mc=tru

e&node=se36.3.701_16&gn=di8. https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/text-idx?SID=56ff245ec016601b46b55f2331b4b7 

ee&mc=true&node=se36.3.701_16&rgn=div8. A competent 

authority The certifying individual shall not be relatives a relative 

of the applicant, even if otherwise qualified. 

 

Authority G.S. 125-2. 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0305 CIRCULATION 

(a)  The Library shall provide materials and playback equipment 

to users in accordance with the Library of Congress' NLS 

Network Library Manual hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions, and accessible to 

users free of charge at https://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/blind-print-

disabled/apply-services/loan-policies-and-handbook#nls-

administrative-procedures.  

(b)  The following violations by any Library user shall may result 

in the suspension of Library services: 

(1) failure to return materials within the borrowing 

period. The borrowing period for materials are 

as follows: 

(A) six weeks for books; 

(B) two weeks for magazines; and 

(C) three weeks for DVD and VHS tapes; 

(2) damage to equipment or materials; 

(3) unauthorized use of materials or equipment, 

such as loaning materials or equipment to an 

ineligible person or modification of items 

owned by the Library; or 

(4) exhibiting verbal or physical behavior toward 

Library staff that is abusive, offensive, or 

threatening, as determined by the Director of 

the Accessible Books and Library Services.  

(c)  The period of suspension shall not exceed six months as 

determined by the Director of the Accessible Books and Library 

Services. In setting the period of suspension, the Director shall 

consider the violation, the extent of harm to the Library's property, 

and any violations previously committed by the user. The Director 

shall send a letter of suspension to the user via U.S. Mail. The 

letter shall specify the violation and the period of suspension. 

Upon expiration of the suspension period, the user may contact 

the Library for resumption of services. 

 

Authority G.S. 125-2. 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0306 REPRODUCTION SERVICE 

The Library shall may reproduce in Braille or audio recording 

materials requested by Library patrons for their personal use as 

approved by the Regional Librarian Director based on staff 

availability and consideration of higher priority work. availability. 

 

Authority G.S. 125-2; 143B-10. 

 

07 NCAC 02H .0307 VOLUNTEERS 

 

Authority G.S. 125-2; 143B-10. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alarm Systems Licensing Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 17 .0201, and .0301. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/permits-licenses/alarm-

system-licensing-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 8, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Dr., Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  One rule amendment establishes 

a new procedure to allow character letters to be submitted 

electronically. The second amendment created a deadline for 

application completion. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Dr., Suite 4, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax (919) 

715-0370; email Paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 22, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 17 - ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 – PROVISIONS FOR LICENSEES 
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14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application 

on the website provided by the Board. When this online 

application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint 

card provided by the Board and mailed 

separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality 

for identification, taken within six months prior 

to the online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; and 

(4) a minimum of three letters attesting to the good 

character and reputation of the applicant using 

the online character letter submission process; 

and 

(4)(5) the applicant's application fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the 

third-party vendor and credit card transaction 

fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 

equivalent documentation. 

(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either 

a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board stating that the applicant has reviewed the information with 

the Board's representative and that the applicant understands G.S. 

74D and the administrative rules in this Chapter. During a national 

or State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits 

travel, the personal meeting requirement may be waived if 

requested by the applicant in favor of alternative means of 

communication. 

(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. This 

online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 

application fee. 

(e)  All photographs, record checks, proof of insurance, 

explanations of criminal charges, explanations of credit history, 

or requested documents shall be submitted online through the 

Board's website by any applicant for a permit, license, 

registration, or certificate within 60 days of the Board's receipt of 

the application form or a request from Board staff, whichever is 

later. Any failure to submit required or requested documents to 

complete the application process within this 60-day period shall 

void the application and require re-application. 

 

Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-5; 74D-7; 74D-8. 

 

SECTION .0300 – PROVISIONS FOR REGISTRANTS 

 

14B NCAC 17 .0301 APPLICATION FOR 

REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each licensee or qualifying agent shall submit an online 

application for the registration of his or her employee on the 

website provided by the Board. When this online application is 

submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on a standard F.B.I. 

fingerprint card mailed separately to the 

Board's office; 

(2) one original signed S.B.I. release of 

information form uploaded online and the 

original mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant of acceptable quality for 

identification, taken within six months prior to 

online submission, and uploaded with the 

application submission; 

(4) statements of the results of a statewide criminal 

history records search by the reporting service 

designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-

2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has 

resided within the preceding 60 months; 

(5) the registration fee required by Rule .0302 of 

this Section, along with a four dollar ($4.00) 

convenience fee charged by the third-party 

provider and credit card transaction fee charged 

by the applicant's credit card provider and 

collected online; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of an applicant who is currently registered with 

another alarm business shall complete an online application form 

provided by the Board. This form shall be accompanied by the 

applicant's multiple registration fee along with a four dollar 

($4.00) convenience fee charged by the third-party provider and 

credit card transaction fee charged by the applicant's credit card 

provider and collected online. This online application shall be 

accompanied by a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(c)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall print and 

retain a copy of the applicant's online application in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(d)  All photographs, record checks, proof of insurance, 

explanations of criminal charges, explanations of credit history, 

or requested documents shall be submitted online through the 

Board's website by any applicant for a permit, license, 

registration, or certificate within 60 days of the Board's receipt of 

the application form or a request from Board staff, whichever is 

later. Any failure to submit required or requested documents to 

complete the application process within this 60-day period shall 

void the application and require re-application. 

 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 18, 2022 

1202 

Authority G.S. 74D-2.1; 74D-5; 74D-8. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rules cited as 15A NCAC 02Q .0103, .0503-.0505, .0507-.0509, 

.0514, .0516, .0518, .0521, .0522, .0525 and .0526. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality/air-quality-

rules/rules-hearing-process 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 23, 2022 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:   

Cisco WebEx, Digital Hearing Link: https://bit.ly/3E1yOb2 

Meeting Password: NCDAQ  

Audio conference: To receive a call back, provide your phone 

number when you join the event, or call the number below and 

enter the access code. US TOLL +1-415-655-0003, Access code: 

2435 717 6335  

If you wish to speak at the digital public hearing, you must 

register, provide the required information, and follow instructions 

on ways to join the public hearing. Registration must be 

completed by 4:00 p.m. on February 23, 2022. To register, please 

go to https://forms.office.com/g/WNMUhmaaBr 

*For instructions on ways to join the public hearing, please refer 

to the following links: 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Air%20Quality/rules/hearing/instructi

ons-on-ways-to join-webex.pdf 

https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html 

*If you have technical difficulties, the following automated 

voicemail has been set up to receive your verbal comments: 919-

707-8403. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To receive comments on the 

proposed amendments to the Title V rules in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0103 and .0500. Also, to receive comment on the accompanying 

regulatory impact analysis for the proposed amendments. 

On August 31, 2001, the North Carolina Division of Air Quality 

(DAQ) obtained Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) approval 

of its Title V operating permit program. EPA conducted the first 

three Title V program reviews for North Carolina in 2005, 2010, 

and 2014. DAQ is proposing revisions to the Title V rules in 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0103 and .0500 to address comments received from 

EPA during the fourth program review, which began in 2020. The 

proposed revisions primarily include corrections to 

typographical and rule reference errors, revisions to align the 

rules with the requirements of 40 CFR Part 70, and revisions 

relating to procedural aspects of the Title V program, such as 

permit processing timeframes, the public participation process, 

and the submittal of documents to EPA. 

To allow the DAQ to address EPA’s comments on the Title V 

rules, the Environmental Management Commission (EMC) is 

proposing to revise the Title V rules in 15A NCAC 02Q .0103 and 

.0500. 

On November 18, 2021, the EMC approved proceeding to public 

comment on the proposed Title V Rule revisions.  

The text of the rules and regulatory impact analysis are available 

on the DAQ website: http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-

quality/air-quality-rules/rules-hearing-process. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Patrick Knowlson, 217 West 

Jones St., 1641 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1641; 

phone (919) 707-8711; fax (919) 715-0717; email 

daq.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov (Please type "Title V Rule 

Revisions" in the subject line) 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02Q - AIR QUALITY PERMITS 

PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0103 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Subchapter, the definitions in G.S. 

143-212 and G.S. 143-213 and the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Administrator" means, when it appears in any 

Code of Federal Regulation incorporated by 

reference in 15A NCAC 02Q, the Director of 

the Division of Air Quality unless: 

(a) a specific rule in this Subchapter 

specifies otherwise, or 
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(b) the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency in its delegation or approval 

states that a specific authority of the 

Administrator of the Environmental 

Protection Agency is not included in 

its delegation or approval. 

(2) "Air Pollutant" means an air pollution agent or 

combination of such agents, including any 

physical, chemical, biological, radioactive 

substance, or matter that is emitted into or 

otherwise enters the ambient air. Water vapor 

shall not be considered an air pollutant. 

(3) "Allowable emissions" means the maximum 

emissions allowed by the applicable rules set 

forth in 15A NCAC 02D or by permit 

conditions if the permit limits emissions to a 

lesser amount. 

(4) "Alter or change" means to make a 

modification. 

(5) "Applicable requirements" means: 

(a) any requirement of 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500; 

(b) any standard or other requirement 

provided for in the implementation 

plan approved or promulgated by EPA 

through rulemaking pursuant to Title I 

of the federal Clean Air Act, that 

implements the relevant requirements 

of the federal Clean Air Act including 

any revisions to 40 CFR Part 52; 

(c) any term or condition of a construction 

permit issued to a facility pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0530, .0531, or 

.0532; 

(d) any standard or other requirement 

pursuant to Section 111 or 112 of the 

federal Clean Air Act, but not 

including the contents of any risk 

management plan required pursuant to 

Section 112 of the federal Clean Air 

Act; 

(e) any standard or other requirement 

pursuant to Title IV of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

(f) any standard or other requirement 

governing solid waste incineration 

pursuant to Section 129 of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

(g) any standard or other requirement 

pursuant to Section 183(e), 183(f), or 

328 of the federal Clean Air Act; 

(h) any standard or requirement pursuant 

to Title VI of the federal Clean Air Act 

unless a permit for such requirement is 

not required pursuant to this Section; 

(i) any requirement pursuant to Section 

504(b) or 114(a)(3) of the federal 

Clean Air Act; or 

(j) any national ambient air quality 

standard or increment or visibility 

requirement pursuant to Part C of Title 

I of the federal Clean Air Act, but only 

as it would apply to temporary sources 

permitted pursuant to Section 504(e) 

of the federal Clean Air Act. 

(6) "Applicant" means a person who is applying for 

an air quality permit from the Division. 

(7) "Application package" means all elements or 

documents required to make an application 

complete. 

(8) "CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

(9) "Construction" means change in the method of 

operation or any physical change, including on-

site fabrication, erection, installation, 

replacement, demolition, or modification of a 

source, that results in a change in emissions or 

affects the compliance status. The following 

activities shall not be considered construction: 

(a) clearing and grading; 

(b) building access roads, driveways, and 

parking lots; 

(c) building and installing underground 

pipe work, including water, sewer, 

electric, and telecommunications 

utilities; or 

(d) building ancillary structures, 

including fences and office buildings 

that are not a necessary component of 

an air contaminant source, equipment, 

or associated air cleaning device for 

which a permit is required pursuant to 

G.S. 143-215.108. 

(10) "Director" means the Director of the Division 

of Air Quality. 

(11) "Division" means the Division of Air Quality. 

(12) "EPA" means the United States Environmental 

Protection Agency or the Administrator of the 

Environmental Protection Agency. 

(13) "EPA approves" means full approval, interim 

approval, or partial approval by EPA. 

(14) "Equivalent unadulterated fuels" means used 

oils that have been refined such that the content 

of toxic additives or contaminants in the oil are 

no greater than those in unadulterated fossil 

fuels. 

(15) "Facility" means all of the pollutant-emitting 

activities, except transportation facilities, that 

are located on one or more adjacent properties 

under common control. 

(16) "Federally enforceable" or 

"federal-enforceable" "Federally-enforceable" 

means enforceable by EPA. EPA, 

Administrator as defined in Item (1) of this 

Rule, and citizens under the federal Clean Air 

Act. 

(17) "Fuel combustion equipment" means any fuel 

burning source covered pursuant to 15A NCAC 
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02D .0503, .0504, .0536, or 40 CFR Part 60 

Subpart D, Da, Db, or Dc. 

(18) "Green wood" means wood with a moisture 

content of 18% or more. 

(19) "Hazardous air pollutant" means any pollutant 

that has been listed pursuant to Section 112(b) 

of the federal Clean Air Act. Pollutants listed 

only in 15A NCAC 02D .1104 (Toxic Air 

Pollutant Guidelines), but not pursuant to 

Section 112(b), shall not be included in this 

definition. 

(20) "Insignificant activities" means activities 

defined as insignificant activities because of 

category or as insignificant activities because of 

size or production rate pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0503. 

(21) "Lesser quantity cutoff" means: 

(a) for a source subject to the 

requirements of Section 112(d) or (j) 

of the federal Clean Air Act, the level 

of emissions of hazardous air 

pollutants below which the following 

are not required: 

(i) maximum achievable control 

technology (MACT) or 

generally available control 

technology (GACT), 

including work practice 

standards, pursuant to 

Section 112(d) of the federal 

Clean Air Act; 

(ii) a MACT standard 

established pursuant to 

Section 112(j) of the federal 

Clean Air Act; or 

(iii) substitute MACT or GACT 

adopted pursuant to Section 

112(l) of the federal Clean 

Air Act; 

(b) for modification of a source subject to, 

or that may be subject to, the 

requirements of Section 112(g) of the 

federal Clean Air Act, the level of 

emissions of hazardous air pollutants 

below which MACT is not required to 

be applied pursuant to Section 112(g) 

of the federal Clean Air Act; or 

(c) for all other sources, potential 

emissions of each hazardous air 

pollutant below 10 tons per year and 

the aggregate potential emissions of 

all hazardous air pollutants below 25 

tons per year. 

(22) "Major facility" means a major source as 

defined pursuant to 40 CFR 70.2. 

(23) "Modification" means any physical change or 

change in method of operation that results in a 

change in emissions or affects compliance 

status of the source or facility. 

(24) "Owner or operator" means any person who 

owns, leases, operates, controls, or supervises a 

facility, source, or air pollution control 

equipment. 

(25) "Peak shaving generator" means a generator 

that is located at a facility and is used only to 

serve that facility's on-site electrical load during 

peak demand periods for the purpose of 

reducing the cost of electricity; it does not 

generate electricity for resale. A peak shaving 

generator may also be used for emergency 

backup. 

(26) "Permit" means the binding written document, 

including any revisions thereto, issued pursuant 

to G.S. 143-215.108 to the owner or operator of 

a facility or source that emits one or more air 

pollutants and that allows that facility or source 

to operate in compliance with G.S. 

143-215.108. This document shall specify the 

requirements applicable to the facility or source 

and to the permittee. 

(27) "Permittee" means the person who has been 

issued an air quality permit from the Division. 

(28) "Potential emissions" means the rate of 

emissions of any air pollutant that would occur 

at the facility's maximum capacity to emit any 

air pollutant under its physical and operational 

design. Any physical or operational limitation 

on the capacity of a facility to emit an air 

pollutant shall be treated as a part of its design 

if the limitation is federally enforceable. Such 

physical or operational limitations shall include 

air pollution control equipment and restrictions 

on hours of operation or on the type or amount 

of material combusted, stored, or processed. 

Potential emissions shall include fugitive 

emissions as specified in the definition of major 

source in 40 CFR 70.2. Potential emissions 

shall not include a facility's secondary 

emissions such as those from motor vehicles 

associated with the facility and shall not include 

emissions from insignificant activities because 

of category as defined in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0503. If a rule in 40 CFR Part 63 uses a 

different methodology to calculate potential 

emissions, that methodology shall be used for 

sources and pollutants regulated pursuant to 

that rule. 

(29) "Portable generator" means a generator 

permanently mounted on a trailer or a frame 

with wheels. 

(30) "Regulated air pollutant" means: 

(a) nitrogen oxides or any volatile organic 

compound as defined pursuant to 40 

CFR 51.100; 

(b) any pollutant for which there is an 

ambient air quality standard pursuant 

to 40 CFR Part 50; 
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(c) any pollutant regulated pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02D .0524, .1110, or 

.1111; or 40 CFR Part 60, 61, or 63; 

(d) any pollutant subject to a standard 

promulgated pursuant to Section 112 

of the federal Clean Air Act or other 

requirements established pursuant to 

Section 112 of the federal Clean Air 

Act, including Section 112(g) (but 

only for the facility subject to Section 

112(g)(2) of the federal Clean Air 

Act), (j), or (r) of the federal Clean Air 

Act; or 

(e) any Class I or II substance listed 

pursuant to Section 602 of the federal 

Clean Air Act. 

(31) "Sawmill" means a place or operation where 

logs are sawed into lumber consisting of one or 

more of these activities: debarking, sawing, and 

sawdust handling. Activities that shall not be 

considered part of a sawmill include chipping, 

sanding, planning, routing, lathing, and drilling. 

(32) "Source" means any stationary article, machine, 

process equipment, or other contrivance, or 

combination thereof, from which air pollutants 

emanate or are emitted, either directly or 

indirectly. 

(33) "State-enforceable only" means terms and 

conditions that are not required under the Act or 

under any of its applicable requirements. Terms 

and conditions designated as State-enforceable 

only are not subject to the requirements of 40 

CFR Part 70. 

(33)(34) "Toxic air pollutant" means any of the 

carcinogens, chronic toxicants, acute systemic 

toxicants, or acute irritants that are listed in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1104. 

(34)(35) "Transportation facility" shall be considered a 

complex source as defined in G.S. 143-213(22). 

(35)(36) "Unadulterated fossil fuel" means fuel oils, 

coal, natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas to 

which no toxic additives have been added that 

may result in the emissions of a toxic air 

pollutant listed pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D 

.1104. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

SECTION .0500 - TITLE V PROCEDURES 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0503 DEFINITIONS 

For the purposes of this Section, the definitions in G.S. 143-212, 

G.S. 143-213, 15A NCAC 02Q .0103, and the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Affected States" means all states or local air 

pollution control agencies whose areas of 

jurisdiction are: 

(a) contiguous to North Carolina and 

located less than D=Q/12.5 from the 

facility, where: 

(i) Q = emissions of the 

pollutant emitted at the 

highest permitted rate in tons 

per year, and 

(ii) D = distance from the facility 

to the contiguous state or 

local air pollution control 

agency in miles unless the 

applicant can demonstrate 

that the ambient impact in the 

contiguous states or local air 

pollution control agencies is 

less than the incremental 

ambient levels in 15A NCAC 

02D .0532(c)(5); or 

(b) within 50 miles of the permitted 

facility. 

(2) "Complete application" means an application 

that provides all information described in 40 

CFR 70.5(c) and such other information that is 

necessary to determine compliance with all 

applicable federal and State requirements. 

(3) "Draft permit" means the version of a permit 

that the Division offers for public participation 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0521 or affected 

State state review pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0522. 

(4) "Emissions allowable under the permit" means 

an emissions limit (including a work practice 

standard) established by a federally enforceable 

permit term or condition, or a federally 

enforceable emissions cap that the facility has 

assumed to avoid an applicable requirement to 

which the facility would otherwise be subject. 

(5) "Final permit" means the version of a permit 

that the Director issues that has completed all 

review procedures required pursuant to this 

Section if the permittee does not file a petition 

pursuant to Article 3 of G.S. 150B that is related 

to the permit. 

(6) "Fugitive emissions" means those emissions 

which could not reasonably pass through a 

stack, chimney, vent, or other 

functionally-equivalent opening. 

(7) "Insignificant activities because of category" 

means: 

(a) mobile sources; 

(b) air-conditioning units used for human 

comfort that are not subject to 

applicable requirements pursuant to 

Title VI of the federal Clean Air Act 

and do not exhaust air pollutants into 

the ambient air from any 

manufacturing or other industrial 

process; 
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(c) ventilating units used for human 

comfort that do not exhaust air 

pollutants into the ambient air from 

any manufacturing or other industrial 

process; 

(d) heating units used for human comfort 

that have a heat input of less than 

10,000,000 Btu per hour and that do 

not provide heat for any 

manufacturing or other industrial 

process; 

(e) noncommercial food preparation; 

(f) consumer use of office equipment and 

products; 

(g) janitorial services and consumer use of 

janitorial products; 

(h) internal combustion engines used for 

landscaping purposes; 

(i) new residential wood heaters subject 

to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart AAA; and 

(j) demolition and renovation activities 

covered solely pursuant to 40 CFR 

Part 61, Subpart M. 

(8) "Insignificant activities because of size or 

production rate" means any activity whose 

emissions would not violate any applicable 

emissions standard and whose potential 

emission of particulate, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen 

oxides, volatile organic compounds, and carbon 

monoxide before air pollution control devices, 

are each no more than five tons per year and 

whose potential emissions of hazardous air 

pollutants before air pollution control devices, 

are each below 1000 pounds per year. 

(9) "Minor facility" means any facility that is not a 

major facility. 

(10) "Operation" means the use of equipment that 

emits regulated pollutants. 

(11) "Permit renewal" means the process by which a 

permit is reissued at the end of its term. 

(12) "Permit revision" means any permit 

modification pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0515, .0516, or .0517 or any administrative 

permit amendment pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0514. 

(13) "Proposed permit" means the version of a 

permit that the Director proposes to issue and 

forwards to EPA for review pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0522. 

(14) "Relevant source" means only those sources 

that are subject to applicable requirements. 

(15) "Responsible official" means a responsible 

official as defined in 40 CFR 70.2. 

(16) "Section 502(b)(10) changes" means changes 

that contravene an express permit term or 

condition. Such changes shall not include 

changes that would violate applicable 

requirements or contravene federally 

enforceable permit terms and conditions that 

are monitoring (including test methods), 

recordkeeping, reporting, or compliance 

certification requirements. 

(17) "Synthetic minor facility" means a facility that 

would otherwise be required to follow the 

procedures of this Section except that the 

potential to emit is restricted by one or more 

federally enforceable physical or operational 

limitations, including air pollution control 

equipment and restrictions on hours or 

operation, the type or amount of material 

combusted, stored, or processed, or similar 

parameters. 

(18) "Timely" means: 

(a) for a new facility or newly subject 

facility, 12 months from the date that 

the facility or source becomes subject 

to the Title V operating permit 

program pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500; one year after commencing 

operation; 

(b) for renewal of a permit previously 

issued pursuant to this Section, six 

months before the expiration of that 

permit; 

(c) for a minor modification pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0515, before 

commencing the modification; 

(d) for a significant modification pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0516 where the 

change would not contravene or 

conflict with a condition in the 

existing permit, 12 months after 

commencing operation; 

(e) for reopening for cause pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0517, as specified by 

the Director in a request for additional 

information by the Director; 

(f) for requests for additional 

information, as specified by the 

Director in a request for additional 

information by the Director; or 

(g) for modifications made pursuant to 

Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air 

Act, 18 months after EPA fails to 

promulgate a standard for that 

category of source pursuant to Section 

112 of the federal Clean Air Act by the 

date established pursuant to Section 

112(e)(1) or (3) of the federal Clean 

Air Act. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-212; 143-213; 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0504 OPTION FOR OBTAINING 

CONSTRUCTION AND OPERATION PERMIT 

(a)  Pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0501(c)(2).0501(b)(2) or 

(d)(2)(c)(2), the owner or operator of a new or modified facility 

subject to the requirements of this Section that chooses to obtain 
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a construction and operation permit before the facility must obtain 

a permit pursuant to this Section may file an application pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0300. 

(b)  The applicant shall state in his permit application that he or 

she wishes to follow the procedures in this Rule. 

(c)  If the option allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0501(b)(1) 

is used, then the application processing procedures for prevention 

of significant deterioration in 15A NCAC 02D .0530 and new 

source review for nonattainment areas in 15A NCAC 02D .0531 

do not apply. If the option allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0501(b)(2) is used, then the application processing procedures in 

this Section and in either of the following rules shall apply: 

(1) 15A NCAC 02D .0530 for prevention of 

significant deterioration; or 

(2) 15A NCAC 02D .0531 for new source review 

for nonattainment areas. 

(d)(c)  If the procedures in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 are followed, 

the permittee shall have one year 12 months after the facility or 

source becomes subject to the permit program in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0500 if the permittee is applying for a Title V permit first time. 

Otherwise, the permittee shall have from 12 months from the date 

of beginning operation of the modified facility or source to file an 

amended application following the procedures in this Section. The 

Director shall place a condition in the construction and operation 

permit stating this requirement. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0505 APPLICATION SUBMITTAL 

CONTENT 

If an applicant does not submit, the following information with its 

application package, the application package shall be returned: 

(1) for new facilities and modified facilities: 

(a) an application fee as required pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0200; 

(b) a consistency determination as 

required pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0507(d)(1); 

(c) the documentation required pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0507(d)(2); 

(d) a financial qualification or substantial 

compliance statement if required; and 

(e) applications as required pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0507(a) and (e) and 

signed as required by 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0520; 

(2) for renewals: applications as required pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02Q .0507(a) and (e) and signed 

as required by 15A NCAC 02Q .0520; 

(3) for a name change: three copies of a letter 

signed by a responsible official in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02Q .0520 indicating the 

current facility name, the date on which the 

name change will occur, and the new facility 

name; 

(4) for an ownership change: an application fee as 

required pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0200; 

and: and three copies of a letter bearing the 

signature of both the seller and buyer and 

containing a written agreement with a specific 

date for the transfer of permit responsibility, 

coverage, and liability between the current and 

new permittee; and 

(a) three copies of a letters signed by the 

seller and the buyer indicating the 

change; or 

(b) three copies of a letter bearing the 

signature of both the seller and buyer 

and containing a written agreement 

with a specific date for the transfer of 

permit responsibility, coverage, and 

liability between the current and new 

permittee; and 

(5) for corrections of typographical errors; changes 

of the name, address, or telephone number of 

any individual identified in the permit; changes 

in test dates or construction dates; or similar 

minor changes: three copies of a letter signed 

by a responsible official in accordance with 

15A NCAC 02Q .0520 describing the proposed 

change and explaining the need for the 

proposed change. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0507 APPLICATION 

(a)  Except for: 

(1) minor permit modifications covered pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0515; 

(2) significant modifications covered pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0516(c); or 

(3) renewals submitted pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0513; 

the owner or operator of a source shall have 12 months after the 

one year from the date of beginning of operation of a source that 

facility or source becomes subject to the Title V operating permit 

program pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0500 to file a complete 

application for a permit or permit revision. However, the owner 

or operator of a source shall not begin construction or operation 

of a source until he or she has obtained a construction and 

operation permit pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0501(c).0501(b) or 

(d)(c) and 15A NCAC 02Q .0504. 

(b)  An application shall include all the information described in 

40 CFR 70.3(d) and 70.5(c), including a list of insignificant 

activities because of size or production rate but not including 

insignificant activities because of category. An application shall 

be certified by a responsible official for truth, accuracy, and 

completeness. In an application submitted pursuant to this Rule, 

the applicant may attach copies of applications submitted 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0400 or 15A NCAC 02D .0530 or 

.0531 if the information in those applications contains information 

required in this Section and is current, accurate, and complete. 

(c)  Application for a permit, permit revision, or permit renewal 

shall be made in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0104 on forms 

of the Division and shall include plans and specifications giving 

all necessary data and information as required by this Rule. If the 
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information provided on these forms does not describe the source 

or its air pollution abatement equipment to the extent necessary to 

evaluate the application, the Director shall request that the 

applicant provide any other information necessary to evaluate the 

source and its air pollution abatement equipment. 

(d)  Along with filing a complete application, the applicant shall 

also file the following: 

(1) for a new facility or an expansion of existing 

facility, a consistency determination in 

accordance with G.S. 143-215.108(f) that: 

(A) bears the date of receipt entered by the 

clerk of the local government; or 

(B) consists of a letter from the local 

government indicating that all zoning 

or subdivision ordinances are met by 

the facility; 

(2) for a new facility or an expansion of an existing 

facility in an area without zoning, an affidavit 

and proof of publication of a legal notice as 

required pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0113; 

and 

(3) if required by the Director, information 

showing that: 

(A) the applicant is financially qualified to 

carry out the permitted activities; or 

(B) the applicant has substantially 

complied with the air quality and 

emissions standards applicable to any 

activity in which the applicant has 

previously been engaged and has been 

in substantial compliance with federal 

and state environmental laws and 

rules. 

(e)  The applicant shall submit copies of the application package 

as follows: 

(1) for sources subject to the requirements of 15A 

NCAC 02D .0530, .0531, or .1200, five copies 

plus one additional copy for each affected state 

that the Director has to notify pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0521 and 15A NCAC 02Q .0522; 

(2) for sources not subject to the requirements of 

15A NCAC 02D .0530, .0531, or .1200, three 

copies plus one additional copy for each 

affected state that the Director has to notify 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0521 and 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0522. 

(f)  Any applicant who fails to submit any relevant facts or who 

has submitted incorrect information in a permit application shall, 

upon becoming aware of such failure or incorrect submittal, 

submit such supplementary facts or corrected information. In 

addition, an applicant shall provide additional information as 

necessary to address any requirements that become applicable to 

the source after the date he the applicant filed a complete 

application but prior to release of a draft permit. 

(g)  The applicant shall submit the same number of copies of 

additional information as required for the application package. 

(h)  The submittal of a complete permit application shall not affect 

the requirement that any facility have a permit pursuant to 15A 

NCAC 02D .0530, .0531, or .0532 or pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0400. 

(i)  The Director shall give priority to permit applications 

containing early reduction demonstrations pursuant to Section 

112(i)(5) of the federal Clean Air Act. The Director shall take 

final action on such permit applications after receipt of the 

complete permit application. 

(j)  Except as specified in 15A NCAC 02Q .0203(i), a non-

refundable permit application processing fee, defined in 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0200, shall accompany each application. Each permit 

application shall be deemed incomplete until the permit 

application processing fee is received. 

(k)  The applicant shall retain for the duration of the permit term 

one complete copy of the application package and all information 

submitted in support of the application package. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 143-

215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0508 PERMIT CONTENT 

(a)  A permit shall specify and reference the origin and authority 

for each term or condition and shall identify any differences 

compared to the applicable requirement on which the term or 

condition is based. 

(b)  A permit shall specify emission limitations and standards, 

including operational requirements and limitations, that assure 

compliance with all applicable requirements at the time of permit 

issuance. 

(c)  Where an applicable requirement of the federal Clean Air Act 

is more stringent than an applicable requirement of rules 

promulgated pursuant to Title IV, both provisions shall be placed 

in a permit. A permit shall state that both provisions are 

enforceable by EPA. 

(d)  A permit for sources using an alternative emission limit 

established in 15A NCAC 02D .0501 (d) or 15A NCAC 02D 

.0952 shall contain provisions to ensure that any resulting 

emissions limit has been demonstrated to be quantifiable, 

accountable, enforceable, and based on replicable procedures. 

(e)  The expiration date of a permit shall be for a fixed term of 

five years for sources covered by Title IV and for a term of no 

more than five years from the date of issuance for all other sources 

including solid waste incineration units combusting municipal 

waste subject to standards in Section 129(e) of the federal Clean 

Air Act. 

(f)  A permit shall contain monitoring and related recordkeeping 

and reporting requirements as specified in 40 CFR 70.6(a)(3) and 

70.6(c)(1), including conditions requiring: 

(1) the permittee to submit reports of required 

monitoring at least every six months. The 

permittee shall submit reports: 

(A) on forms obtained from the Division at 

the address in 15A NCAC 02Q .0104; 

(B) in a manner as specified by a permit 

condition; or 

(C) on other forms that contain the 

information required by this 

Subchapter or as specified by a permit 

condition; 

(2) the permittee to report: 
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(A) malfunctions, emergencies, and other 

upset conditions as prescribed in 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .0535, .1110, or 

.1111; and 

(B) deviations quarterly from permit 

requirements not covered by 15A 

NCAC 02D .0524, .0535, .1110, or 

.1111. The permittee shall include the 

probable cause of such deviations and 

any corrective actions or preventive 

measures taken; and 

(3) the responsible official to certify all deviations 

from permit requirements. 

(g)  At the request of a permittee, the Director may allow records 

to be maintained in electronic form in lieu of maintaining paper 

records. The Director shall make this decision based on factors 

such as whether the electronic records contain the same 

information as the paper records and the availability of the 

electronic records for inspection to demonstrate compliance. 

(h)  A permit for facilities covered by 15A NCAC 02D .2100, Risk 

Management Program, shall contain: 

(1) a statement listing 15A NCAC 02D .2100 as an 

applicable requirement; and 

(2) conditions that require the owner or operator of 

the facility to submit: 

(A) a compliance schedule for meeting the 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.2100 by the dates provided in 15A 

NCAC 02D .2101(a); or 

(B) as part of the compliance certification 

required by Paragraph (n) of this Rule, 

a certification statement that the 

source is in compliance with all 

requirements of 15A NCAC 02D 

.2100, including the registration and 

submission of the risk management 

plan. 

The content of the risk management plan need not be incorporated 

as a permit term or condition. 

(i)  A permit shall: 

(1) contain a condition prohibiting emissions 

exceeding any allowances that a facility 

lawfully holds pursuant to Title IV but shall not 

limit the number of allowances held by a 

permittee. A permittee shall not use allowances 

as a defense to noncompliance with any other 

applicable requirement; 

(2) contain a severability clause so that various 

permit requirements will continue to be valid in 

the event of a challenge to any other portion of 

the permit; 

(3) state that noncompliance with any condition of 

the permit constitutes a violation of the Act and 

is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 

termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or for denial of a permit renewal 

application; 

(4) state that the permittee may not use as a defense 

in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 

activity in order to maintain compliance with 

the conditions of the permit; 

(5) state that the Director may reopen, modify, 

revoke and reissue, or terminate the permit for 

reasons specified in 15A NCAC 02Q .0517 or 

.0519 .0519; 

(6) state that the filing of a request by the permittee 

for a permit revision, revocation and reissuance, 

termination, notification of planned changes, or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 

permit condition; 

(7) specify the conditions in which the permit will 

be reopened before the expiration of the permit; 

(8) state that the permit does not convey any 

property rights of any sort, or any exclusive 

privileges; 

(9) state that the permittee will furnish to the 

Division, in a timely manner: 

(A) any information that the Director may 

request in writing to determine 

whether cause exists for modifying, 

revoking and reissuing, or terminating 

the permit or to determine compliance 

with the permit, and 

(B) copies of records required to be kept 

by the permit when such copies are 

requested by the Director.  

(The The permit shall also state that 

for information claimed to be 

confidential, the permittee may 

furnish such records directly to EPA 

along with a claim of confidentiality.) 

confidentiality; 

(10) contain a provision to ensure that the permittee 

pays fees required by 15A NCAC 02Q .0200; 

(11) contain a condition that authorizes the permittee 

to make Section 502(b)(10) changes, off-permit 

changes, or emission trades in accordance with 

15A NCAC 02Q .0523; 

(12) include all applicable requirements for all 

sources covered by the permit; 

(13) include fugitive emissions emissions, if 

regulated, in the same manner as stack 

emissions; 

(14) contain a condition requiring annual reporting 

of actual emissions as required by 15A NCAC 

02Q 0207; 

(15) include all sources including insignificant 

activities; and 

(16) contain other provisions the Director considers 

appropriate. 

(j)  A permit shall state the terms and conditions for reasonably 

anticipated operating scenarios identified by the applicant in the 

application. These terms and conditions shall: 

(1) require the permittee, contemporaneously with 

making a change from one operating scenario 

to another, to record in a log at the permitted 
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facility a record of the operating scenario in 

which it is operating; 

(2) extend the permit shield described in 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0512 to all terms and conditions in 

each such operating scenario; and 

(3) ensure that each operating scenario meets all 

applicable requirements of Subchapter 02D of 

this Chapter and of this Section. 

(k)  A permit shall identify which terms and conditions are 

enforceable by: by the Division only. 

(1) both EPA and the Division; 

(2) the Division only; and  

(3) EPA only and 

(4) citizens pursuant to the federal Clean Air Act. 

(l)  A permit shall state that the permittee will allow personnel of 

the Division to: 

(1) enter the permittee's premises where the 

permitted facility is located or 

emissions-related activity is conducted, or 

where records are kept by the conditions of the 

permit; 

(2) have access to and copy any records that are 

required to be kept by the conditions of the 

permit; 

(3) inspect any source, equipment (including 

monitoring and air pollution control 

equipment), practices, or operations regulated 

or required by the permit; and 

(4) sample or monitor substances or parameters, for 

the purpose of assuring compliance with the 

permit or applicable requirements. 

(m)  When a compliance schedule is required by 40 CFR 

70.5(c)(8) or by a rule contained in Subchapter 02D of this 

Chapter, the permit shall contain the compliance schedule and 

shall state that the permittee shall submit at least semiannually, or 

more frequently if specified in the applicable requirement, a 

progress report. The progress report shall contain: 

(1) dates for achieving the activities, milestones, or 

compliance required in the compliance 

schedule and dates when such activities, 

milestones, or compliance were achieved; and 

(2) an explanation of why any dates in the 

compliance schedule were not or will not be 

met and any preventive or corrective measures 

adopted. 

(n)  The permit shall contain requirements for compliance 

certification with the terms and conditions in the permit that are 

enforceable by EPA pursuant to Title V of the federal Clean Air 

Act, including emissions limitations, standards, and work 

practices. The permit shall specify: 

(1) the frequency (not less than annually or more 

frequently as specified in the applicable 

requirements) of submissions of compliance 

certifications; 

(2) a means for monitoring the compliance of the 

source with its emissions limitations, standards, 

and work practices; and 

(3) a requirement that the compliance certification 

include: 

(A) the identification of each term or 

condition of the permit that is the basis 

of the certification; 

(B) the status of compliance with the terms 

and conditions of the permit for the 

period covered by the certification, 

based on the methods or means 

designated in 40 CFR 

70.6(c)(5)(iii)(B). The certification 

shall identify each deviation and take 

it into account in the compliance 

certification. The certification shall 

also identify as possible exceptions to 

compliance any periods during which 

compliance was required and in which 

an excursion or exceedance as defined 

in 40 CFR 64 occurred; 

(C) whether compliance was continuous 

or intermittent; 

(D) the identification of the methods or 

other means used by the owner and 

operator for determining the 

compliance status with each term and 

condition during the certification 

period; these methods shall include the 

methods and means required in 40 

CFR Part 70.6(a)(3); 70.6(a)(3). If 

necessary, the owner or operator also 

shall identify any other material 

information that must be included in 

the certification to comply with 

Section 113(c)(2) of the federal Clean 

Air Act, which prohibits knowingly 

making a false certification or 

omitting material information; and 

(E) such other facts as the Director may 

require to determine the compliance 

status of the source; and 

(4) that all compliance certifications be submitted 

to EPA as well as to the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 143-215.66; 

143-215.107(a)(10); 143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0509 PERMITTING OF NUMEROUS 

SIMILAR FACILITIES 

(a)  The Director shall not issue a single permit to cover numerous 

similar facilities or sources unless a notice and opportunity for 

public participation has been provided as required by 15A NCAC 

02Q .0521. 

(b)  The Director shall not issue a single permit for numerous 

similar facilities and sources pursuant to this Rule unless: 

(1) there is no difference between the facilities or 

sources that would require special permit 

conditions for any individual facility or source; 

and 

(2) no unique analysis is required for any facility or 

source covered by the permit. 
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(c)  A permit issued pursuant to this Rule shall comply with all 

the requirements of this Section. 

(d)  A permit issued pursuant to this Rule shall identify criteria by 

which facilities or sources may qualify for the permit. To facilities 

or sources that qualify, the Director shall grant the terms and 

conditions of the permit. 

(e)  The facility or source shall be subject to enforcement action 

for operating without a permit if the facility or source is later 

determined not to qualify for the terms and conditions of the 

permit issued pursuant to this Rule. 

(f)  Sources subject to Title IV shall not be eligible for a permit 

issued pursuant to this Rule. 

(g)  The owner or operator of a facility or source that qualifies for 

a permit issued pursuant to this Rule shall apply for coverage by 

the terms of the permit issued pursuant to this Rule or shall apply 

for a standard permit for each facility or source pursuant to this 

Section. 

(h)  The Division need not repeat the public participation 

procedures pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0521 if it grants a request 

by a permit applicant to operate by a permit issued pursuant to this 

Rule. Rule, but such a grant shall not be a final permit action for 

purposes of judicial review. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0514 ADMINISTRATIVE PERMIT 

AMENDMENTS 

(a)  An "administrative permit amendment" means a permit 

revision that: 

(1) corrects typographical errors; 

(2) identifies a change in the name, address, or 

telephone number of any individual identified 

in the permit or provides a similar minor 

administrative change at the facility; 

(3) requires more frequent monitoring or reporting 

by the permittee; 

(4) changes test dates or construction dates 

provided that no applicable requirements are 

violated by the change in test dates or 

construction dates; 

(5) moves removes designation of State-

enforceable only from terms and conditions 

from the State-enforceable only portion of a 

permit to the State- and federal-enforceable 

portion of the permit provided that the terms 

and conditions being moved have become 

federally enforceable through Section 110, 111, 

or 112 or other parts of the federal Clean Air 

Act; 

(6) moves terms and conditions from the 

federal-enforceable only portion of a permit to 

the State- and federal-enforceable portion of the 

permit; 

(7)(6) changes the permit number without changing 

any portion of the permit that is federally 

enforceable that would not otherwise qualify as 

an administrative amendment; or 

(8)(7) removes references and non-applicable permit 

conditions; requirements for equipment that has 

been permanently removed from service. or 

(9) removes references to equipment that has been 

permanently removed from service. 

(b)  In making administrative permit amendments, the Director: 

(1) shall take final action on a request for an 

administrative permit amendment within 60 

days after receiving such request; 

(2) may make administrative amendments without 

providing notice to the public or any affected 

states pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0521(a), 

provided he or she designates any such permit 

revision as having been made pursuant to this 

Rule; and 

(3) shall submit a copy of the revised permit to 

EPA. 

(c)  The permittee may implement the changes addressed in the 

request for an administrative amendment immediately upon 

submittal of the request. 

(d)  Upon taking final action granting a request for an 

administrative permit amendment, the Director shall allow 

coverage by the permit shield pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0512 

for the administrative permit amendments made. 

(e)(d)  Administrative amendments for sources covered pursuant 

to Title IV shall be governed by rules in 15A NCAC 02Q .0400. 

(f)(e)  This Rule shall not apply to the state-enforceable only part 

of a Title V permit. For the state-enforceable State-enforceable 

only part of a Title V permit, 15A NCAC 02Q .0316 shall govern 

administrative permit amendments. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0516 SIGNIFICANT PERMIT 

MODIFICATION 

(a)  The procedures set out in this Rule shall apply to applications 

requesting permit modifications pursuant to this Rule or permit 

modifications that are not governed by 15A NCAC 02Q .0514, 

.0515, .0523, or .0524. 

(b)  An application for a significant permit modification that 

would contravene or conflict with an existing permit shall be 

processed following the procedure set out in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0501(c). 

(c)  An application for a significant permit modification that does 

not contravene or conflict with an existing permit shall be 

processed following the procedure set out in 15A NCAC 02Q 

.0501(b). 

(d)  This Rule shall not preclude the permittee from making 

changes consistent with this Section that would render existing 

permit compliance terms and conditions irrelevant. 

(e)  Except for the State-enforceable only portion of the permit, 

the procedures set out in 15A NCAC 02Q .0507, .0521, or .0522 

shall be followed to revise a permit pursuant to this Rule. If the 

State-enforceable only portion of the permit is revised, the 

procedures in 15A NCAC 02Q .0300 shall be followed. The 

proceedings shall affect only those parts of the permit related to 

the significant modification. 
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(f)  Significant permit modifications shall be covered by the 

permit shield in accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0512. 

(g)  Significant permit modifications shall be processed in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 02Q .0525. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0518 FINAL ACTION 

(a)  The Director may: shall: 

(1) issue a permit, permit revision, or renewal 

containing the conditions necessary to carry out 

the purposes of G.S. 143, Article 21B and the 

federal Clean Air Act; 

(2) rescind a permit upon request by the permittee; 

or 

(3) deny a permit application when necessary to 

carry out the purposes of G.S. 143, Article 21B 

and the federal Clean Air Act. 

(b)  The Director may shall not issue a final permit or permit 

revision, except administrative permit amendments pursuant to 

15A NCAC 02Q .0514, .0514 and .0524, until 15 days after the 

end of EPA's 45-day review period has expired or until EPA has 

notified the Director that EPA will not object to issuance of the 

permit or permit revision, whichever occurs first. The Director 

shall issue the permit or permit revision within five days of receipt 

of notification from EPA that it will not object to issuance or of 

the expiration of EPA's 45-day review period, whichever occurs 

first. 

(c)  If EPA objects to a proposed permit, the Director shall 

respond to EPA's objection within 90 days after receipt of EPA's 

objection. The Director shall not issue a permit pursuant to this 

Section over EPA's objection. 

(d)  If EPA does not object in writing to the issuance of a permit, 

any person may petition EPA to make such objections by 

following the procedures and meeting the requirements of 40 CFR 

70.8(d). 

(e)  No permit shall be issued, revised, or renewed pursuant to this 

Section unless all the procedures set out in this Section have been 

followed and all the requirements of this Section have been met. 

The Director shall not issue any permit, permit revision, or permit 

renewal pursuant to this Section by default. 

(f)  Notwithstanding the application processing schedules set forth 

in 15A NCAC 02Q .0514, .0515, and .0524, the Division shall 

take final action on each permit application, including a request 

for permit modification or renewal, within 18 months of receipt 

of a complete application. 

(f)(g)  Thirty days after issuing a permit, including a permit issued 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0509, that is not challenged by the 

applicant, the Director shall notice the issuance of the final permit. 

The notice shall be issued on the North Carolina Division of Air 

Quality web site at http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality. 

The notice shall include the name and address of the facility and 

the permit number. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 143-

215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0521 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION 

(a)  The Director shall give public notice with an opportunity for 

comments and a hearing on all draft permits and permit revisions 

except permit revisions issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0514, 

.0515, and .0524. The Director shall give public notice with an 

opportunity for comments and a hearing on draft permit revisions 

issued pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0514, .0515, and .0524 if the 

Director finds it is in the best interest of the public. 

(b)  Notice of any draft permit for an existing facility for which a 

public hearing is scheduled or for a new facility shall be given by 

publication in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where 

the facility is located, posted on the North Carolina Division of 

Air Quality web site at http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-

quality, http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality for the 

duration of the public comment period, and emailed to persons 

who are on the Division's emailing list for air quality permits. 

(c)  Notice for existing facilities for which a public hearing is not 

scheduled shall be given by posting the draft permit on the North 

Carolina Division of Air Quality web site at 

http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-quality for the duration of 

the public comment period and shall be emailed to persons who 

are on the Division's emailing list for air quality permit notices. 

(d)  The notice shall identify: 

(1) the affected facility; 

(2) the name and address of the permittee; 

(3) the name and address of the person to whom to 

send comments and requests for public hearing; 

(4) the name, address, and telephone number of 

Divisional staff from whom interested persons 

may obtain additional information, including 

copies of the permit draft, the application, 

compliance plan, monitoring and compliance 

reports, all other relevant supporting materials, 

and all other materials available to Division that 

are relevant to the permit decision; 

(5) the activity or activities involved in the 

permitted action; 

(6) any emissions change involved in any permit 

modification; 

(7) a brief description of the comment procedures; 

(8) the procedures to follow to request a hearing 

unless a hearing has already been scheduled; 

and 

(9) the time and place of all hearing that have 

already been scheduled. 

(e)  The Director shall send a copy of the notice to affected states 

and EPA. 

(f)  The notice shall allow 30 days for public comments. 

(g)  If the Director finds that a public hearing is in the best interest 

of the public, the Director shall require a public hearing to be held 

on a draft permit. Notice of a any public hearing shall be given at 

least 30 days before the hearing. 

(h)  The Division shall keep a record of the public participation 

process, including the following: 

(1) the names of all commenters; 

(2) the issues raised during the public participation 

process; and 

(3) all written comments submitted during the 

public participation process. 
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If EPA requests a record of the comments and of the issues raised 

during the public participation process, the Director shall provide 

EPA this record. 

(i)  The Division shall respond in writing to comments raised 

during the public participation process, including any such written 

comments submitted during the public comment period and any 

such comments raised during any public hearing on the permit. 

The response to comments shall be included in the statement of 

basis and a Hearing Officer's report, if applicable. 

(i)(j)  Persons who desire to be placed on the Division's email 

notification list for air quality permit notices shall subscribe to the 

permits email list serve at http://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/air-

quality. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1),(3); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108; 143-215.111(4). 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0522 REVIEW BY EPA AND 

AFFECTED STATES 

(a)  The Director shall provide EPA with a copy of each permit 

application, including any application for permit revision, the 

statement of basis required under Paragraph (b) of this Rule, each 

proposed permit, and each final permit issued pursuant to this 

Section. If EPA has informed the Director that a permit 

application summary and relevant portion of the permit 

application and compliance plan are sufficient, the Director may 

provide these documents instead of the complete application. 

(b)  The Division shall provide a statement that sets forth the legal 

and factual basis for the draft permit conditions, including 

references for the applicable statutory or regulatory provisions. 

The Division shall provide this statement to EPA and any other 

person who requests it. 

(c)  If comments are received during the public participation 

process, the written responses shall be provided to EPA through 

submittal of a statement of basis, required pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0521, with an explanation of how those public comments 

and the Division's responses are available to the public. 

(b)(d)  The Division shall retain for five years a copy of all permit 

applications, permits, and other related material submitted to or 

issued by the Division pursuant to this Section. 

(c)(e)  The Director shall provide notice to each affected state of 

each draft permit at or before the time notice is provided to the 

public pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0521. 

(d)(f)  The Director, in writing, shall notify EPA and any affected 

state of any refusal by the Division to accept all recommendations 

for the proposed permit that the affected state submitted during 

the public or affected state review period and shall state the 

reasons for not accepting any such recommendations. 

(g)  To the extent practicable, the information specified in 

Paragraphs (a) through (c) of this Rule shall be provided to EPA 

in a computer-readable format compatible with EPA's national 

database management system. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

143-215.108; 143-215.111(5). 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0525 APPLICATION PROCESSING 

SCHEDULE 

The Division shall adhere to the following schedule in processing 

permit applications: 

(1) The Division shall send written 

acknowledgment of receipt of an application to 

the applicant within 10 days of receipt of the 

application. 

(2) The Division shall review all permit 

applications within 60 days of receipt of the 

application to determine whether the 

application is complete or incomplete. The 

Division shall notify the applicant by letter: 

(a) stating that the application as 

submitted is complete and specifying 

the completeness date; 

(b) stating that the application is 

incomplete, requesting additional 

information, information necessary to 

conduct the technical review of the 

application, and specifying the date by 

which the requested information is 

required to be received by the 

Division; or 

(c) stating that the application is 

incomplete and requesting that the 

applicant rewrite and resubmit the 

application. 

If the Division does not notify the applicant by 

letter dated within 60 days of receipt of the 

application that the application is incomplete, 

the application shall be deemed complete. A 

completeness determination shall not prevent 

the Director from requesting additional 

information at a later date if such information is 

necessary to properly evaluate the source, its air 

pollution abatement equipment, or the facility. 

If the applicant has not provided the requested 

additional information by the date specified in 

the letter requesting additional information, the 

Director shall cease processing the application 

until additional information is provided. The 

applicant may request a time extension for 

submittal of the requested additional 

information. A completeness determination 

shall not be necessary for minor modifications 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0515. 

(3) The Division shall determine within 60 days of 

receipt of a complete application if any 

additional information is needed to conduct the 

technical review of the application. A technical 

completeness determination shall not prevent 

the Director from requesting additional 

information at a later date when such 

information is necessary to properly evaluate 

the source, its air pollution abatement 

equipment or the facility. The Division shall 

complete the technical review of significant 

modifications received pursuant to 15A NCAC 
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02Q .0516 in accordance with 40 CFR 

70.7(e)(4)(ii). within 270 days of receipt of a 

complete application or 10 days after receipt of 

requested additional information, whichever is 

later. 

(4) The Division shall provide for public 

participation in accordance with 15A NCAC 

02Q .0521. The Director shall send the public 

notice for public comment on the draft permit 

to affected states, to EPA, and to persons on the 

mailing list within 270 days after receipt of a 

complete application or 10 days after receipt of 

requested additional information, whichever is 

later. If a public hearing is required and 

approved by the Director for a draft permit, it 

shall be held within 45 days of the Director's 

decision to hold a public hearing. 

(5) If a public hearing is requested and approved by 

the Director for a draft permit, it shall be held 

within 45 days of the Director's decision to hold 

a public hearing. 

(6)(5) The Director shall complete the review of the 

record and send the proposed permit to EPA: 

EPA and affected states in accordance with 15A 

NCAC 02Q .0522. 

(a) within 30 days after the close of the 

public comment period if there is no 

public hearing on the draft permit; or 

(b) within 45 days after the close of the 

public hearing if there is a public 

hearing on the draft permit. 

(7) If EPA does not object to the proposed permit, 

the Director shall issue the permit within five 

days after: 

(a) expiration of EPA 45-day review 

period; or 

(b) receipt of notice from EPA that it will 

not object to issuance, whichever 

comes first. 

(8) If EPA objects to the proposed permit, the 

Director shall respond to EPA's objection 

within 90 days after receipt of EPA's objections 

(6) Final permit action shall be taken in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 02Q .0518. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 143-

215.108. 

 

15A NCAC 02Q .0526 112(J) CASE-BY-CASE MACT 

PROCEDURES 

(a)  An owner or operator of a source required to apply maximum 

achievable control technology (MACT) pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .1109 shall follow the permit procedures set out in this Rule. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the definitions in 15A NCAC 

02D .1109, 40 CFR 63.51, 40 CFR 63.2, and the following 

definitions apply: 

(1) "Equivalent emission limitation" means an 

emission limitation, established pursuant to 

Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act, that 

is equivalent to the MACT standard that EPA 

would have promulgated pursuant to Section 

112(d) or (h) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

(2) "Source category schedule for standards" 

means the schedule for promulgating MACT 

standards issued pursuant to Section 112(e) of 

the federal Clean Air Act. 

(3) "Title V permit" means a permit issued 

pursuant to this Section. 

(c)  Except as provided for in Paragraph (d) or (e) of this Rule, the 

owner or operator of a source required to apply MACT pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02D .1109 shall submit an application for a permit 

or for a significant permit revision, as applicable pursuant to this 

Section. 

(d)  Approval process for new and existing affected sources that 

are subject to Section 112(j) as of the Section 112(j) deadline. The 

requirements of Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (2) of this Paragraph 

shall apply to major sources that include, as of the Section 112(j) 

deadline, one or more sources in a category or subcategory for 

which the EPA has failed to promulgate an emission standard 

pursuant to 40 CFR Part 63 on or before an applicable Section 

112(j) deadline. Existing source MACT requirements (including 

relevant compliance deadlines), as specified in a Title V permit 

issued to the facility pursuant to the requirements of 40 CFR Part 

63, Subpart B, shall apply to such sources. 

(1) The owner or operator shall submit an 

application for a permit or for a revision to an 

existing Title V permit issued or a pending Title 

V permit that meets the requirements of 

Subparagraph (m)(1) of this Rule by the Section 

112(j) deadline if the owner or operator can 

reasonably determine that one or more sources 

at the facility belong in a category or 

subcategory subject to Section 112(j) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

(2) The owner or operator of a source that does not 

submit an application pursuant to Subparagraph 

(d)(1)(A)(d)(1) of this Rule and is notified in 

writing by the Division that one or more sources 

at the facility belong to a category or 

subcategory subject to Section 112(j) of the 

federal Clean Air Act shall submit an 

application for a Title V permit or for a revision 

to an existing Title V permit that meets the 

requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule 

within 30 days after being notified in writing by 

the Division. The Division shall not be required 

to make this notification. 

(3) The requirements in Parts (A) and (B) of this 

Subparagraph shall apply if the owner or 

operator has obtained a Title V permit that 

incorporates a Section 112(g) case-by-case 

MACT determination by the Division pursuant 

to 15A NCAC 02D .1112, but has not submitted 

an application for a Title V permit revision that 

addresses the emission limitation requirements 

of Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

(A) If the owner or operator has a Title V 

permit that incorporates a Section 
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112(g) case-by-case MACT 

determination pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .1112, the owner or operator shall 

submit an application that meets the 

requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of 

this Rule for a Title V permit revision 

within 30 days of the Section 112(j) 

deadline or within 30 days of being 

notified in writing by the Division that 

one or more sources at the major 

facility belong in such category or 

subcategory. The Division shall use 

the procedures in 40 CFR 63.52(e) to 

determine whether the emission 

limitations adopted pursuant to the 

prior 112(g) case-by-case MACT 

determination are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations 

that Division would otherwise adopt 

pursuant to Section 112(j) of the 

federal Clean Air Act for the source in 

question. If the Division determines 

the previously adopted 112(g) 

emission limitations are substantially 

as effective, then the Division shall 

retain the existing limitations in the 

permit to effectuate Section 112(j) of 

the federal Clean Air Act. If the 

Division does not retain the previously 

adopted 112(g) emission limitations, 

the MACT requirements of this Rule 

shall be satisfied upon issuance of a 

revised Title V permit incorporating 

any additional Section 112(j) 

requirements. 

(B) If the owner or operator that has 

submitted a Title V permit application 

that incorporates a Section 112(g) 

case-by-case MACT determination by 

the Division pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02D .1112, but has not received the 

permit incorporating the Section 

112(g) requirements, the owner or 

operator shall continue to apply for a 

Title V permit that addresses the 

requirements of Section 112(g) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. The owner or 

operator shall submit a permit 

application meeting the requirements 

of Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule 

within 30 days of issuance of that Title 

V permit. The Division shall use the 

procedures in 40 CFR 63.52(e) to 

determine whether the emissions 

limitations adopted pursuant to the 

prior 112(g) case-by-case MACT 

determination are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations 

that the Division would otherwise 

adopt pursuant to Section 112(j) of the 

federal Clean Air Act for the source in 

question. If the Division determines 

that the previously adopted 112(g) 

emission limitations are substantially 

as effective, then the Director shall 

retain the existing emission limitations 

to effectuate Section 112(j) of the 

federal Clean Air Act and revise the 

permit accordingly. If the Division 

does not retain the previously adopted 

112(g) emission limitations, the 

MACT requirements of this Rule shall 

be satisfied upon issuance of a revised 

Title V permit incorporating any 

additional Section 112(j) 

requirements. 

(e)  Sources that become subject to Section 112(j) of the federal 

Clean Air Act after the Section 112(j) deadline and that do not 

have a Title V permit addressing Section 112(j) requirements. The 

requirements of this Paragraph shall apply to sources that do not 

meet the criteria in Paragraph (d) of this Rule on the Section 112(j) 

deadline and are not subject to Section 112(j) of the federal Clean 

Air Act on that date, but subsequent to the Section 112 (j) deadline 

the source becomes subject to the requirements of this Rule and 

the source does not have a Title V permit that addresses the 

requirements of Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

(1) If one or more sources in a category or 

subcategory subject to the requirements of this 

Rule are installed at a major source or result in 

the source becoming a major source due to the 

installation, and the installation does not invoke 

Section 112(g) requirements in 15A NCAC 

02D .1112, the owner or operator shall submit 

an application meeting the requirements of 

Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule within 30 days of 

startup of the source. Existing source MACT 

requirements (including relevant compliance 

deadlines), as specified in a Title V permit 

issued pursuant to the requirements of this Rule, 

shall apply to such sources. The Division shall 

use the procedures in 40 CFR 63.52(e) to 

determine whether the emissions limitations 

adopted pursuant to the prior 112(g) case-by-

case MACT determination are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations that the 

Division would otherwise adopt pursuant to 

Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act for 

the source in question. If the Division 

determines the previously adopted 112(g) 

emission limitations are substantially as 

effective, then the Division shall retain the 

existing emission limitations to effectuate 

Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act and 

revise the permit accordingly. If the Division 

does not retain the previously adopted 112(g) 

emission limitations, the MACT requirements 

of this Rule shall be satisfied upon issuance of 
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a revised Title V permit incorporating any 

additional Section 112(j) requirements. 

(2) If one or more sources in a category or 

subcategory subject to 112(j) requirements are 

installed at a major source or result in the source 

becoming a major source due to the installation, 

and the installation requires 112(g) emission 

limitations to be established and permitted 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02Q .0528 and the 

owner or operator has not submitted an 

application for a Title V permit revision that 

addresses the emission limitation requirements 

of Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act, 

the owner or operator shall apply for and obtain 

a Title V permit that addresses the emission 

limitation requirements of Section 112(g) of the 

federal Clean Air Act. Within 30 days of 

issuance of that Title V permit, the owner or 

operator shall submit an application that meets 

the requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this 

Rule for a revision to the existing Title V 

permit. The Division shall determine whether 

the emissions limitations adopted pursuant to 

the prior 112(g) case-by-case MACT 

determination are substantially as effective as 

the emission limitations that the Division would 

otherwise adopt pursuant to Section 112(j) of 

the federal Clean Air Act for the source in 

question. If the Division determines the 

previously adopted 112(g) emission limitations 

are substantially as effective, then the Division 

shall retain the existing emission limitations to 

effectuate Section 112(j) of the federal Clean 

Air Act and revise the permit accordingly. If the 

Division does not retain the previously adopted 

112(g) emission limitations, the permit shall be 

revised to incorporate any additional Section 

112(j) requirements. 

(3) The owner or operator of an area source that, 

due to a relaxation in any federally enforceable 

emission limitation (such as a restriction on 

hours of operation) increases its potential to 

emit hazardous air pollutants such that the 

source becomes a major source that is subject to 

this Rule, shall submit an application meeting 

the requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this 

Rule within 30 days after the date that such 

source becomes a major source. The Director 

shall use the procedures in Paragraph (n) of this 

Rule in reviewing the application. The existing 

source MACT requirements (including relevant 

compliance deadlines) shall apply to such 

sources. 

(4) If EPA establishes a lesser quantity emission 

rate pursuant to Section 112(a)(1) of the Federal 

Clean Air Act that results in an area source 

becoming a major source that is subject to this 

Rule, then the owner or operator of such a major 

source shall submit an application that meets 

the requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this 

Rule on or before the date six months after the 

date that such source becomes a major source. 

Existing source MACT requirements 

(including relevant compliance deadlines), as 

specified in a Title V permit issued pursuant to 

the requirements of this Rule, shall apply to 

such sources. 

(f)  Sources that have a Title V permit addressing Section 112(j) 

requirements. The requirements of this Paragraph apply to major 

sources that include one or more sources in a category or 

subcategory for which EPA fails to promulgate an emission 

standard on or before the Section 112(j) deadline, the owner or 

operator has a permit meeting the Section 112(j) requirements, 

and if changes occur at the major source to equipment, activities, 

or both subsequent to the Section 112(j) deadline. 

(1) If the Title V permit already provides the 

requirements that address the events described 

in this Paragraph subsequent to the Section 

112(j) deadline, then the source shall comply 

with the applicable new source MACT or 

existing source MACT requirements as 

specified in the permit, and the Section 112(j) 

requirements shall be deemed satisfied. 

(2) If the Title V permit does not contain the 

requirements that address the events described 

in this Paragraph subsequent to the Section 

112(j) deadline, then the owner operator shall 

submit an application for a revision of the 

existing Title V permit that meets the 

requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule 

within 30 days of beginning construction. 

Existing source MACT requirements 

(including relevant compliance deadlines), as 

specified in a Title V permit issued pursuant to 

the requirements of this Rule, shall apply to 

such sources. 

(g)  Requests for applicability determination. An owner or 

operator who is unsure of whether one or more sources at a major 

source belong in a category or subcategory for which EPA has 

failed to promulgate an emission standard pursuant to 40 CFR Part 

63 may, on or before an applicable Section 112(j) deadline, 

request an applicability determination from the Division by 

submitting an application that meets the requirements of 

Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule by the applicable deadlines 

specified in Paragraphs (d), (e), or (f) of this Rule. 

(h)  An owner or operator who submits a Part 1 MACT application 

that meets the requirements of Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule shall 

submit a Part 2 MACT application that meets the requirements of 

Paragraph (m)(2) of this Rule no later than the applicable date 

specified in 40 CFR 63 Subpart B Table 1. The submission date 

specified in 40 CFR 63 Subpart B Table 1 for Miscellaneous 

Organic Chemical Manufacturing shall apply to sources in each 

of the source categories listed in 40 CFR 63 Subpart B Table 2. If 

an owner or operator is required by 15A NCAC 02D .1109 and 

this Rule to submit an application meeting the requirements of 

Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule by a date that is after the date for a 

Part 2 MACT application for sources in the category or 

subcategory in question established by 40 CFR 63 Subpart B 
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Table 1, the owner or operator shall submit a Part 2 MACT 

application meeting the requirements of Paragraph (m)(2) of this 

Rule within 60 additional days after the applicable deadline for 

submission of the Part 1 MACT application. The Part 2 

applications shall be reviewed by the Division according to the 

procedures established in 40 CFR 63.55. 

(1) Any owner or operator who submitted a request 

for an applicability determination on or before 

May 15, 2002, that remained pending as of May 

30, 2003, and who still wishes to obtain such a 

determination shall resubmit that request by the 

date that is 60 days after the Administrator 

publishes in the Federal Register a proposed 

standard pursuant to Section 112(d) or 112(h) 

of the Clean Air Act for the category or 

subcategory in question. Such a resubmitted 

request shall be supplemented to discuss the 

relation between the sources in question and the 

applicability provision in the proposed standard 

for the category or subcategory in question, and 

to explain why there may still be uncertainties 

that require a determination of applicability. 

The Director shall take action on each 

supplemented and resubmitted request within 

an additional 60 days after the applicable 

deadline for the resubmitted request. If more 

than three years remain on the current Title V 

permit, the owner or operator shall submit an 

application for a Title V permit revision to 

make any conforming changes in the permit 

required to adopt the existing emission 

limitations as the Section 112(j) MACT 

emission limitations. If less than three years 

remain on the current Title V permit, any 

required conforming changes shall be made 

when the permit is renewed. If the applicability 

determination is positive, the owner or operator 

shall submit a Part 2 MACT application 

meeting the requirements of Paragraph (m)(2) 

of this Rule by the date specified for the 

category or subcategory in question in 40 CFR 

63 Subpart B Table 1. If the applicability 

determination is negative, no further action by 

the owner or operator shall be necessary. 

(2) An owner or operator who has submitted an 

application that meets the requirements of 

Paragraph (m)(1) of this Rule may request a 

determination of whether emission limitations 

adopted pursuant to a prior case-by-case MACT 

determination pursuant to Section 112(g) that 

apply to one or more sources in a relevant 

category or subcategory are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations that the 

Division would otherwise adopt pursuant to this 

Rule for the source in question. Such a request 

must be submitted by the date for the category 

or subcategory in question specified in 40 CFR 

63 Subpart B Table 1. Each request for a 

determination pursuant to this Paragraph shall 

be construed as a complete application for an 

equivalent emission limitation pursuant to this 

Rule. If the Director determines that the 

emission limitations in the prior case-by-case 

MACT determination are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations the 

Director would otherwise adopt pursuant to this 

Rule, then the Director shall adopt the existing 

emission limitations in the permit as the 

emission limitations to effectuate Section 

112(j) for the source in question. If the Director 

determines that the emission limitations in the 

prior case-by-case MACT determination 

pursuant to Section 112(g) are not substantially 

as effective as the emission limitations that the 

Director would otherwise adopt for the source 

in question pursuant to this Rule, the Director 

shall make a new MACT determination and 

adopt a Title V permit incorporating an 

appropriate equivalent emission limitation 

pursuant to this Rule. The Division shall use the 

procedures in 40 CFR 63.52(e) to determine 

whether the emission limitations adopted 

pursuant to the prior 112(g) case-by-case 

MACT determination are substantially as 

effective as the emission limitations which 

Division would otherwise adopt pursuant to 

Section 112(j) of the federal Clean Air Act for 

the source in question. 

(i)  If the Director disapproves a permit application submitted 

pursuant to this Rule or determines that the application is 

incomplete, the owner or operator shall revise and resubmit the 

application to meet the Director's objections not later than six 

months after first receiving notification that the application has 

been disapproved or is incomplete. 

(j)  If the owner or operator of a source subject to this Rule has 

submitted a timely and complete application for a permit, 

significant permit revision, or administrative amendment required 

by this Rule, any failure to have this permit shall not be a violation 

of the requirements of this Rule unless the delay in final action is 

due to the failure of the applicant to submit, in a timely manner, 

information required or requested to process the application. 

(k)  The permit shall contain the items specified in 40 CFR 63.52 

including: 

(1) specification of the affected source and the new 

affected source; 

(2) emission limitations or emission standards 

equivalent to existing source MACT and 

emission limitations equivalent to new source 

MACT for control of emissions of hazardous 

air pollutants for that category or subcategory 

determined according to 40 CFR 63.55(a) on a 

case-by-case basis; 

(3) emission limits, production limits, operational 

limits, or other terms and conditions necessary 

to ensure practicable enforceability of the 

MACT emission limitation; 
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(4) notification, operation and maintenance, 

performance testing, monitoring, reporting, and 

recordkeeping requirements; and 

(5) compliance dates by which the owner or 

operator of an existing source is required to be 

in compliance with the MACT emission 

limitation and all other applicable terms and 

conditions of the permit, not to exceed three 

years from the date of issuance of the permit. 

The owner or operator of a new affected source 

shall comply with a new source MACT level of 

control immediately upon startup. 

(l)  Early reductions made pursuant to Section 112(i)(5)(A) of the 

federal Clean Air Act shall be achieved not later than the date on 

which the relevant standard should have been promulgated 

according to the source category schedule for standards. 

(m)  A permit application for a MACT determination shall consist 

of two parts. 

(1) The Part 1 application shall contain the 

information required by 40 CFR 63.53(a) and 

shall be submitted by the applicable deadline 

specified in Paragraph (d), (e), or (f) of this 

Rule. 

(2) The Part 2 application shall contain the 

information required by 40 CFR 63.53(b) and 

shall be submitted no later than the deadline in 

40 CFR 63 Subpart B Table 1. 

(n)  Permit application review. The Director shall follow 40 CFR 

63.55(a) in reviewing permit applications for MACT. The 

resulting MACT determination shall be incorporated into the 

facility's Title V permit according to the procedures established in 

this Section. Following submittal of a Part 1 or Part 2 MACT 

application, the Director may request, pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02Q .0507(c) and .0525(a), additional information from the owner 

or operator; and the owner or operator shall submit the requested 

information within 30 days. A Part 2 MACT application shall be 

deemed complete if it is sufficient to begin processing the 

application for a Title V permit addressing Section 112(j) 

requirements. If the Division disapproves a permit application or 

determines that the application is incomplete, the owner or 

operator shall revise and resubmit the application to meet the 

objections of the Division within the time period specified by the 

Division, which shall not exceed six months from the date that the 

owner or operator is first notified that the application has been 

disapproved or is incomplete. After receipt of a complete Part 2 

MACT application that is subsequently approved by the Division, 

the Director shall issue a Title V permit that meets Section 112(j) 

requirements, following the schedule in 15A NCAC 02Q .0525. 

(o)  The following requirements shall apply to case-by-case 

determinations of equivalent emission limitations when a MACT 

standard is subsequently promulgated: 

(1) If EPA promulgates an emission standard that 

is applicable to one or more sources within a 

major facility before the date a proposed permit 

pursuant to this Rule is approved, the permit 

shall contain the promulgated standard rather 

than the emission limitation determined 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1109, and the 

owner or operator of the source shall comply 

with the promulgated standard by the 

compliance date in the promulgated standard. 

(2) If EPA promulgates an emission standard that 

is applicable to a source after the date that a 

permit is issued pursuant to this Rule, the 

Director shall revise the permit on its next 

renewal to reflect the promulgated standard. 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of 15A NCAC 02Q .0517 

shall not apply to requirements established 

pursuant to this Rule. The Director shall 

establish a compliance date in the revised 

permit that assures that the owner or operator 

complies with the promulgated standard within 

a reasonable time, but no longer than eight 

years after such standard is promulgated or 

eight years after the date by which the owner or 

operator was first required to comply with the 

emission limitation established by permit, 

whichever is earlier. The period for compliance 

for existing sources shall not be shorter than 

that provided for existing sources in the 

promulgated standard. 

(3) Notwithstanding the requirements of 

Subparagraphs (1) or (2) of this Paragraph, if 

EPA promulgates an emission standard that is 

applicable to a source after the date a proposed 

permit is approved, the Director shall not be 

required to change the emission limitation in 

the permit to reflect the promulgated standard if 

the level of control required by the emission 

limitation in the permit is as effective as that 

required by the promulgated standard. If EPA 

promulgates an emission standard that is 

applicable to an affected source after the date a 

permit application is approved and the level of 

control required by the promulgated standard is 

less stringent than the level of control required 

by an emission limitation in the prior MACT 

determination, the Division shall not be 

required to incorporate a less stringent emission 

limitation of the promulgated standards after 

considering the effects on air quality. The 

Division may consider any more stringent 

provision of the MACT determination to be 

applicable legal requirements, as necessary to 

protect air quality, when issuing or revising 

such a Title V permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(10); 143-

215.108. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to amend the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 07H .0304-.0306, .0308-.0310; 07J .1201-.1206 

and repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 07H .0104; and 07J 

.1301-.1303. 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 10, 2022 

Time:  1:30 p.m. 

Location:  Beaufort Hotel, 2440 Lennoxville Road, Beaufort, NC 

28516 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 07J .1200 creates procedures requesting and 

approving Beach Management Plans for oceanfront communities 

constructing large-scale beach fill projects in order to provide 

regulatory relief from oceanfront development setback 

provisions. Amendments to 15A NCAC 07H .0306 are associated 

with the Beach Management Plan procedures.  

Amendments to 15A NCAC 07H .0104, .0304, .0305, .0308-.0310 

address inconsistencies and outdated provisions within the rules 

and provide clarifying language. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-

2808 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0100 - INTRODUCTION AND GENERAL 

COMMENTS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0104 APPLICATION OF EROSION 

RATE SETBACK FACTORS 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113; 113A-124. 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0304 AECS WITHIN OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS 

The ocean hazard AECs contain all of the following areas: 

(1) Ocean Erodible Area. This is the area where 

there exists a substantial possibility of 

excessive erosion and significant shoreline 

fluctuation. The oceanward boundary of this 

area is the mean low water line. The landward 

extent of this area is the distance landward from 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation line 

as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5) to the 

recession line established by multiplying the 

long-term annual erosion rate times 90; 

provided that, where there has been no 

long-term erosion or the rate is less than two 

feet per year, this distance shall be set at 180 

feet landward from the first line of stable and 

natural vegetation. vegetation line. For the 

purposes of this Rule, the erosion rates are the 

long-term average based on available historical 

data. The current long-term average erosion 

rate data for each segment of the North Carolina 

coast is depicted on maps entitled "North 

Carolina 2019 Oceanfront Setback Factors & 

Long-Term Average Annual Erosion Rate 

Update Study" and approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission on February 28, 2019 

(except as such rates may be varied in 

individual contested cases or in declaratory or 

interpretive rulings). In all cases, the rate of 

shoreline change shall be no less than two feet 

of erosion per year. The maps are available 

without cost from any Local Permit Officer or 

the Division of Coastal Management on the 

internet at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net. 

(2) Inlet Hazard Area. The inlet hazard areas are 

natural-hazard areas that are especially 

vulnerable to erosion, flooding, and other 

adverse effects of sand, wind, and water 

because of their proximity to dynamic ocean 

inlets. This area extends landward from the 

mean low water line a distance encompassing 

that area within which the inlet migrates, based 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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on statistical analysis, and shall consider such 

factors as previous inlet territory, structurally 

weak areas near the inlet, and external 

influences such as jetties, terminal groins, and 

channelization. The areas on the maps 

identified as Inlet Hazard Areas included in the 

report entitled INLET HAZARD AREAS, The 

Final Report and Recommendations to the 

Coastal Resources Commission, 1978, as 

amended in 1981, by Loie J. Priddy and Rick 

Carraway are incorporated by reference and are 

hereby designated as Inlet Hazard Areas, except 

for: 

(a) the location of a former inlet which 

has been closed for at least 15 years; 

(b) inlets that due to shoreline migration, 

no longer include the current location 

of the inlet; and 

(c) inlets providing access to a State Port 

via a channel maintained by the United 

States Army Corps of Engineers. 

In all cases, the Inlet Hazard Area shall be an extension 

of the adjacent ocean erodible areas and in no case shall 

the width of the inlet hazard area be less than the width 

of the adjacent ocean erodible area. This report is 

available for inspection at the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Division of Coastal 

Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, 

North Carolina or at the website referenced in Item (1) 

of this Rule. 

(3) Unvegetated Beach Area. Beach areas within 

the Ocean Hazard Area where no stable and 

natural vegetation is present may be designated 

as Unvegetated Beach Areas on either a 

permanent or temporary basis as follows: 

(a) An area appropriate for permanent 

designation as an Unvegetated Beach 

Area is a dynamic area that is subject 

to rapid unpredictable landform 

change due to wind and wave action. 

The areas in this category shall be 

designated following studies by the 

Division of Coastal Management. 

These areas shall be designated on 

maps approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission and available 

without cost from any Local Permit 

Officer or the Division of Coastal 

Management on the internet at the 

website referenced in Item (1) of this 

Rule. 

(b) An area that is unvegetated as a result 

of a hurricane or other major storm 

event may be designated by the 

Coastal Resources Commission as an 

Unvegetated Beach Area for a specific 

period of time, or until the vegetation 

has re-established in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(5). At the 

expiration of the time specified or the 

re-establishment of the vegetation, the 

area shall return to its pre-storm 

designation. 

(c) The Commission designates as 

temporary unvegetated beach areas 

those oceanfront areas of: 

(i) Surf City and North Topsail 

Beach in which the 

vegetation line as shown on 

the United States National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration imagery 

dated September 17, 2018 

was destroyed as a result of 

Hurricane Florence in 

September 2018; and 

(ii) Oak Island in which the 

vegetation line as shown on 

the United States National 

Oceanic and Atmospheric 

Administration and 

Geological Survey imagery 

dated August 4, 2020 was 

destroyed as a result of 

Hurricane Isaias in August 

2020. 

The designation AEC boundaries can 

be found on the Division's website at 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20

Management/GIS/unvegetated_beach

_aec.pdf and 

https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20

Management/GIS/unveg_beachAEC_

Oak_Island.zip. This designation shall 

continue until such time as the stable 

and natural vegetation has 

reestablished, or until the area is 

permanently designated as an 

unvegetated beach area pursuant to 

Sub-Item (3)(a) of this Rule. 

(4) State Ports Inlet Management Area. These are 

areas adjacent to and within Beaufort Inlet and 

the mouth of the Cape Fear River, providing 

access to a State Port via a channel maintained 

by the Unites States Army Corps of Engineers. 

These areas are unique due to the influence of 

federally-maintained channels, and the critical 

nature of maintaining shipping access to North 

Carolina's State Ports. These areas may require 

specific management strategies not warranted 

at other inlets to address erosion and shoreline 

stabilization. State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas shall extend from the mean low water 

line landward as designated on maps approved 

by the Coastal Resources Commission and 

available without cost from the Division of 

Coastal Management, and on the internet at the 

website at 
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https://files.nc.gov/ncdeq/Coastal%20Manage

ment/GIS/state_port_aec.pdf. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-107.1; 113A-113; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0305 GENERAL IDENTIFICATION 

DEFINITION AND DESCRIPTION OF LANDFORMS 

(a)  This Paragraph Rule describes natural and man-made features 

that are found within the ocean hazard area of environmental 

concern. 

(1) Ocean Beaches. Ocean beaches are lands 

consisting of unconsolidated soil materials that 

extend from the mean low water line landward 

to a point where either: 

(A)(a) the growth of vegetation occurs; or 

(B)(b) a distinct change in slope or elevation 

alters the configuration of the 

landform, whichever is farther 

landward. 

(2) Nearshore. The nearshore is the portion of the 

beach seaward of mean low water that is 

characterized by dynamic changes both in space 

and time as a result of storms. 

(3) Primary Dunes. Primary dunes are the first 

mounds of sand located landward of the ocean 

beaches having an elevation equal to the mean 

flood level (in a storm having a one percent 

chance of being equaled or exceeded in any 

given year) for the area plus six feet. Primary 

dunes extend landward to the lowest elevation 

in the depression behind that same mound of 

sand commonly referred to as the "dune 

trough". 

(4) Frontal Dunes. The frontal dune is the first 

mound of sand located landward of ocean 

beaches that has stable and natural vegetation 

present. 

(5) Vegetation Line. The vegetation line refers to 

the first line of stable and natural vegetation, 

which shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks. This line 

represents the boundary between the normal 

dry-sand beach, which is subject to constant 

flux due to waves, tides, storms and wind, and 

the more stable upland areas. The vegetation 

line is generally located at or immediately 

oceanward of the seaward toe of the frontal 

dune or erosion escarpment. The Division of 

Coastal Management or Local Permit Officer 

shall determine the location of the stable and 

natural vegetation line based on visual 

observations of plant composition and density. 

If the vegetation has been planted, it may be 

considered stable when the majority of the plant 

stems are from continuous rhizomes rather than 

planted individual rooted sets. Planted 

vegetation may be considered natural when the 

majority of the plants are mature and additional 

species native to the region have been recruited, 

providing stem and rhizome densities that are 

similar to adjacent areas that are naturally 

occurring. In areas where there is no stable and 

natural vegetation present, this line may be 

established by interpolation between the nearest 

adjacent stable natural vegetation by on-ground 

observations or by aerial photographic 

interpretation. 

(6) Static Pre-project Vegetation Line. In areas 

within the boundaries of a large-scale beach fill 

project, the vegetation line that existed within 

one year prior to the onset of project 

construction shall be defined as the "static "pre-

project vegetation line". The "onset of project 

construction" shall be defined as the date 

sediment placement begins, with the exception 

of projects completed prior to the original 

effective date of this Rule, in which case the 

award of the contract date will be considered 

the onset of construction. A static pre-project 

vegetation line shall be established in 

coordination with the Division of Coastal 

Management using on-ground observation and 

survey or aerial imagery for all areas of 

oceanfront that undergo a large-scale beach fill 

project. Once a static pre-project vegetation line 

is established, and after the onset of project 

construction, this line shall be used as the 

reference point for measuring oceanfront 

setbacks in all locations where it is landward of 

the vegetation line. In all locations where the 

vegetation line as defined in this Rule is 

landward of the static pre-project vegetation 

line, the vegetation line shall be used as the 

reference point for measuring oceanfront 

setbacks. A static pre-project vegetation line 

shall not be established where a static pre-

project vegetation line is already in place, 

including those established by the Division of 

Coastal Management prior to the effective date 

of this Rule. A record of all static pre-project 

vegetation lines, including those established by 

the Division of Coastal Management prior to 

the effective date of this Rule, shall be 

maintained by the Division of Coastal 

Management for determining development 

standards as set forth in Rule .0306 of this 

Section. Because the impact of Hurricane Floyd 

in September 1999 caused significant portions 

of the vegetation line in the Town of Oak Island 

and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach to be 

relocated landward of its pre-storm position, the 

static pre-project line for areas landward of the 

beach fill construction in the Town of Oak 

Island and the Town of Ocean Isle Beach, the 

onset of which occurred in 2000, shall be 

defined by the general trend of the vegetation 

line established by the Division of Coastal 
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Management from June 1998 aerial 

orthophotography. 

(7) Beach Fill. Beach fill refers to the placement of 

sediment along the oceanfront shoreline. 

Sediment used solely to establish or strengthen 

dunes shall not be considered a beach fill 

project under this Rule. A "large-scale beach 

fill project" shall be defined as any volume of 

sediment greater than 300,000 cubic yards or 

any storm protection project constructed by the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. 

(8) Erosion Escarpment. The normal vertical drop 

in the beach profile caused from high tide or 

storm tide erosion. 

(9) Measurement Line. The line from which the 

ocean hazard setback as described in Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section is measured in the 

unvegetated beach area of environmental 

concern as described in Rule .0304(3) of this 

Section. In areas designated pursuant to Rule 

.0304(3)(b) of this Section, the Division of 

Coastal Management shall establish a 

measurement line by: 

(A)(a) determining the average distance the 

pre-storm vegetation line receded at 

the closest vegetated site adjacent to 

the area designated by the 

Commission as the unvegetated beach 

AEC; and 

(B)(b) mapping a line equal to the average 

recession determination in Part (A) of 

this Subparagraph, Sub-Item (a) of this 

Item, measured in a landward 

direction from the first line of stable 

and natural vegetation line on the most 

recent pre-storm aerial photography in 

the area designated as an unvegetated 

beach AEC. 

(10) Development Line. The line established in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1300 by local 

governments representing the seaward-most 

allowable location of oceanfront development. 

In areas that have development lines approved 

by the CRC, the vegetation line or measurement 

line shall be used as the reference point for 

measuring oceanfront setbacks instead of the 

static vegetation line, subject to the provisions 

of Rule .0306(a)(2) of this Section. 

(b)  For the purpose of public and administrative notice and 

convenience, each designated minor development permit-letting 

agency with ocean hazard areas may designate, subject to CRC 

approval in accordance with the local implementation and 

enforcement plan as defined in 15A NCAC 07I .0500, an 

identifiable land area within which the ocean hazard areas occur. 

This designated notice area shall include all of the land areas 

defined in Rule .0304 of this Section. Natural or man-made 

landmarks may be considered in delineating this area. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 

otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 

in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 

according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 

be measured in a landward direction from the 

vegetation line, the static pre-project vegetation 

line, or the measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. 

(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 

hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 

With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1301(d), in no case shall new development be 

sited seaward of the development line. In areas 

with a Static Line Exception approved in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200 and a 

Development Line approved in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 07J .1300, the petitioner shall 

notify the Division of Coastal Management 

which one of the two approaches will be 

utilized and applied to the entire large-scale 

project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0305(a)(7). 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 

or established on State-owned lands or 

oceanward of the mean high water line or 

perpetual property easement line, whichever is 

more restrictive. 

(4)(2) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 

by both the size of development and the 

shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 

Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" 

is defined by total floor area for structures and 

buildings or total area of footprint for 

development other than structures and 

buildings. Total floor area includes the 

following: 

(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 

(B) The total square footage of parking 

elevated above ground level; and 

(C) The total square footage of non-heated 

or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 

above ground level, excluding attic 

space that is not designed to be load-

bearing. 

Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways 

shall not be included in the total floor area 

unless they are enclosed with material other 

than screen mesh or are being converted into an 

enclosed space with material other than screen 

mesh. 

(5)(3) With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 

15A NCAC 07H .0309(a), no development, 
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including any portion of a building or structure, 

shall extend oceanward of the ocean hazard 

setback. This includes roof overhangs and 

elevated structural components that are 

cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 

extended beyond the support of pilings or 

footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 

established based on the following criteria: 

(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 

setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 

greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 

less than 10,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 

less than 20,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 

less than 40,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(E) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 

less than 60,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 

less than 80,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 

less than 100,000 square feet requires 

a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 100,000 square feet 

requires a minimum setback of 180 

feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 

rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 

such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 

access such as boardwalks and 

sidewalks, and utilities providing for 

the transmission of electricity, water, 

telephone, cable television, data, 

storm water, and sewer requires a 

minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 

5,000 square feet require a setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 

construction of a new building or other 

structure greater than or equal to 5,000 

square feet in a community with a an 

unexpired static line exception or 

Beach Management Plan approved by 

the Commission in accordance with 

15A NCAC 07J .1200 requires a 

minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate in 

place at the time of permit issuance, 

whichever is greater. The setback shall 

be measured landward from either the 

static vegetation line, the vegetation 

line, line or measurement line, 

whichever is farthest landward; and 

(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 

replacement of single-family or 

duplex residential structures with a 

total floor area greater than 5,000 

square feet, and commercial and 

multi-family residential structures a 

structure with a total floor area no 

greater than 10,000 square feet, feet 

shall be allowed provided that the 

structure meets the following criteria: 

(i) the structure is in a 

community with an 

unexpired static line 

exception, Beach 

Management Plan approved 

by the Commission, or was 

originally constructed prior 

to August 11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 

not exceed the original 

footprint or square footage; 

(iii) it is not possible for the 

structure to be rebuilt in a 

location that meets the ocean 

hazard setback criteria 

required under Subparagraph 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(iv) the structure as replaced 

meets the minimum setback 

required under Part (a)(5)(A) 

of this Rule; a minimum 

setback of 60 feet or 30 times 
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the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 

landward on the lot as 

feasible. 

(6)(4) If a primary dune exists in the AEC AEC, on or 

landward of the lot where the development is 

proposed, the development shall be landward of 

the applicable ocean hazard setback and the 

crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 

setback, or development line, whichever is 

farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 

line, or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. dune. For existing lots, however, 

lots where setting the development landward of 

the crest of the primary dune would preclude 

any practical use of the lot, development may 

be located oceanward of the primary dune. In 

such cases, the development may be located 

landward of the ocean hazard setback, but and 

shall not be located on or oceanward of a frontal 

dune or the development line. The words dune. 

For the purposes of this Rule, "existing lots" in 

this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land that, 

as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described in a 

recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 

combining the lot or tract of land with a 

contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 

ownership. 

(7)(5) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 

does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 

where the development is proposed, the 

development shall be set landward of the frontal 

dune, dune or ocean hazard setback, or 

development line, whichever is farthest from 

the vegetation line, static pre-project vegetation 

line, or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 

the AEC on or landward of the lot where 

development is proposed, the structure shall be 

landward of the ocean hazard setback or 

development line, whichever is more 

restrictive. 

(9)(6) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 

or total floor area of a building or structure 

represent expansions to the total floor area and 

shall meet the setback requirements established 

in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 

development landward of the applicable 

setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 

structurally, cosmetically but not be structurally 

attached to an existing structure that does not 

conform with current setback requirements. 

(10)(7) Established common law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of public trust lands 

and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. restricted, nor shall 

such development increase the risk of damage 

to public trust areas. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(11)(8) Development setbacks in areas that have 

received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 

from the static pre-project vegetation line as 

defined in this Section, unless a development 

line an unexpired static line exception or Beach 

Management Plan approved by the 

Commission has been approved for the local 

jurisdiction by the Coastal Resources 

Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 

07J .1300. 15A NCAC 07J .1200. 

(12)(9) In order to allow for development landward of 

the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 

meet the setback requirements from the static 

vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 

meet the setback requirements from the 

vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

and (a)(5) of this Rule, a A local government, 

group of local governments involved in a 

regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 

association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 

that has the authority to approve the locations 

of structures on lots within the territorial 

jurisdiction of the association and has 

jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 

shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 

Commission for a "static line exception" in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 

static line exception shall apply to development 

of property that lies both within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 

boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 

This static line exception shall also allow 

development greater than 5,000 square feet to 

use the setback provisions defined in Part 

(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 

the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 

project. approval of a "Beach Management 

Plan" in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 

.1200. If the request for a Beach Management 

Plan is approved, the Coastal Resources 

Commission shall allow development setbacks 

to be measured from a vegetation line that is 

oceanward of the static pre-project vegetation 

line under the following conditions: 

(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 

defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(5)(a)(3) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 

calculated from the shoreline erosion 

rate in place at the time of permit 

issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 

including roof overhangs and elevated 
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portions that are cantilevered, knee 

braced, or otherwise extended beyond 

the support of pilings or footings, 

extends oceanward of the landward-

most adjacent habitable building or 

structure. The alignment shall be 

measured from the most oceanward 

point of the adjacent building or 

structure's roof line, including roofed 

decks, if applicable. An "adjacent" 

property is one that shares a boundary 

line with the site of the proposed 

development. When no adjacent 

buildings or structures exist, or the 

configuration of a lot lot, street, or 

shoreline precludes the placement of a 

building or structure in line with the 

landward-most adjacent building or 

structure, an average line of 

construction shall be determined by 

the Division of Coastal Management 

on a case-by-case basis in order to 

determine an ocean hazard setback 

that is landward of the vegetation line, 

a distance no less than 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate or 60 feet, 

whichever is greater; Director of the 

Division of Coastal Management 

based on an approximation of the 

average seaward-most positions of the 

rooflines of adjacent structures along 

the same shoreline, extending 500 feet 

in either direction. If no structures 

exist within this distance, the proposed 

structure must meet the applicable 

setback from the Vegetation Line but 

will not he held to the landward-most 

adjacent structure or an average line of 

structures. 

(D) With the exception of swimming 

pools, the development exceptions 

defined in Rule .0309(a) of this 

Section shall be allowed oceanward of 

the static vegetation line; and pre-

project vegetation line. 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 

the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 

of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 

or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 

that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 

within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 

development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 

disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 

extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 

(c)(b)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to 

historic architectural or archaeological resources as documented 

by the local historic commission, the North Carolina Department 

of Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 

Registry. 

(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 

back requirements established by local regulations. 

(e)(c)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard 

flood area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as 

of June 1, 1979. 

(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 

objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0303. 

(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 

of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 

of damage to public trust areas. 

(h)(d)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to 

avoid or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures 

shall be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 

actions that: 

(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 

the magnitude or degree of the action; 

(2) restore the affected environment; or 

(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 

(i)(e)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 

ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 

from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 

applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 

hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 

permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 

Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 

the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 

development. 

(j)(f)  All The relocation or elevation of structures shall require 

permit approval. Structures relocated with public funds shall 

comply with the applicable setback line and other applicable AEC 

rules. Structures, including septic tanks and other essential 

accessories, relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be 

relocated the maximum feasible distance landward of the present 

location. Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the 

primary structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 

applicable local and state rules. 

(1) Structures relocated landward with public funds 

shall comply with the applicable ocean hazard 

setbacks and other applicable AEC rules. 

(2) Structures relocated landward entirely with 

non-public funds that do not meet current 

applicable ocean hazard setbacks may be 

relocated the maximum feasible distance 

landward of its present location. Septic tanks 

shall not be relocated oceanward of the primary 

structure. 

(3) Existing structures shall not be elevated if any 

portion of the structure is located seaward of the 

vegetation line. 

(k)(g)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall 

be relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently 

threatened by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 

15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be 

relocated or dismantled within two eight years of the time when it 

becomes imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse 
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or subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 

takes place within two eight years of the time the structure 

becomes imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 

imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 

at that time. dismantled. This permit condition shall not affect the 

permit holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 

measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: 

(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion 

Control Activities: 

(A) All oceanfront erosion response 

activities shall be consistent with the 

general policy statements in 15A 

NCAC 07M .0200. 

(B) Permanent erosion control structures 

may cause significant adverse impacts 

on the value and enjoyment of 

adjacent properties or public access to 

and use of the ocean beach, and, 

therefore, unless specifically 

authorized under the Coastal Area 

Management Act, are prohibited. Such 

structures include bulkheads, 

seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins 

and breakwaters. 

(C) Rules concerning the use of 

oceanfront erosion response measures 

apply to all oceanfront properties 

without regard to the size of the 

structure on the property or the date of 

its construction. 

(D) Shoreline erosion response projects 

shall not be constructed in beach or 

estuarine areas that sustain substantial 

habitat for fish and wildlife species, as 

identified by natural resource agencies 

during project review, unless 

mitigation measures are incorporated 

into project design, as set forth in Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(E) Project construction shall be timed to 

minimize adverse effects on biological 

activity. 

(F) Prior to completing any erosion 

response project, all exposed remnants 

of or debris from failed erosion control 

structures must be removed by the 

permittee. 

(G) Permanent erosion control structures 

that would otherwise be prohibited by 

these standards may be permitted on 

finding by the Division that: 

(i) the erosion control structure 

is necessary to protect a 

bridge that provides the only 

existing road access on a 

barrier island, that is vital to 

public safety, and is 

imminently threatened by 

erosion as defined in Part 

(a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

to protect public health and 

safety; and 

(iii) the proposed erosion control 

structure will have no 

adverse impacts on adjacent 

properties in private 

ownership or on public use of 

the beach. 

(H) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

protect a state or federally 

registered historic site that is 

imminently threatened by 

shoreline erosion as defined 

in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

and practicable to protect the 

site; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to protect the site; 

and 

(iv) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(I) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 
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(i) the structure is necessary to 

maintain an existing 

commercial navigation 

channel of regional 

significance within federally 

authorized limits; 

(ii) dredging alone is not 

practicable to maintain safe 

access to the affected 

channel; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to maintain the 

channel; 

(iv) the structure shall not have 

significant adverse impacts 

on fisheries or other public 

trust resources; and 

(v) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of any significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(J) The Commission may renew a permit 

for an erosion control structure issued 

pursuant to a variance granted by the 

Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The 

Commission may authorize the 

replacement of a permanent erosion 

control structure that was permitted by 

the Commission pursuant to a variance 

granted by the Commission prior to 1 

July 1995 if the Commission finds 

that: 

(i) the structure will not be 

enlarged beyond the 

dimensions set out in the 

permit; 

(ii) there is no practical 

alternative to replacing the 

structure that will provide the 

same or similar benefits; and 

(iii) the replacement structure 

will comply with all 

applicable laws and with all 

rules, other than the rule or 

rules with respect to which 

the Commission granted the 

variance, that are in effect at 

the time the structure is 

replaced. 

(K) Proposed erosion response measures 

using innovative technology or design 

shall be considered as experimental 

and shall be evaluated on a case-by-

case basis to determine consistency 

with 15A NCAC 07M .0200 and 

general and specific use standards 

within this Section. 

(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures: 

(A) Permittable temporary erosion control 

structures shall be limited to sandbags 

placed landward of mean high water 

and parallel to the shore. 

(B) Temporary erosion control structures 

as defined in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph may be used to protect 

only imminently threatened roads and 

associated right of ways, and buildings 

and their associated septic systems. A 

structure is considered imminently 

threatened if its foundation, septic 

system, or right-of-way in the case of 

roads, is less than 20 feet away from 

the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads 

located more than 20 feet from the 

erosion scarp or in areas where there is 

no obvious erosion scarp may also be 

found to be imminently threatened 

when site conditions, such as a flat 

beach profile or accelerated erosion, 

increase the risk of imminent damage 

to the structure. 

(C) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall be used to protect only the 

principal structure and its associated 

septic system, but not appurtenances 

such as pools, gazebos, decks or any 

amenity that is allowed under Rule 

.0309 of this Section as an exception 

to the erosion setback requirement. 

(D) Temporary erosion control structures 

may be placed waterward of a septic 

system when there is no alternative to 

relocate it on the same or adjoining lot 

so that it is landward of or in line with 

the structure being protected. 

(E) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall not extend more than 20 feet past 

the sides of the structure to be 

protected except to align with 

temporary erosion control structures 

on adjacent properties, where the 

Division has determined that gaps 

between adjacent erosion control 

structures may result in an increased 

risk of damage to the structure to be 

protected. The landward side of such 
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temporary erosion control structures 

shall not be located more than 20 feet 

waterward of the structure to be 

protected, or the right-of-way in the 

case of roads. If a building or road is 

found to be imminently threatened and 

at an increased risk of imminent 

damage due to site conditions such as 

a flat beach profile or accelerated 

erosion, temporary erosion control 

structures may be located more than 

20 feet waterward of the structure 

being protected. In cases of increased 

risk of imminent damage, the location 

of the temporary erosion control 

structures shall be determined by the 

Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management or the Director's 

designee in accordance with Part (A) 

of this Subparagraph. 

(F) Temporary erosion control structures 

may remain in place for up to eight 

years for a building and its associated 

septic system, a bridge or a road. The 

property owner shall be responsible 

for removal of any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

exposed above grade within 30 days of 

the end of the allowable time period. 

(G) An imminently threatened structure or 

property may be protected only once, 

regardless of ownership, unless the 

threatened structure or property is 

located in a community that is actively 

pursuing a beach nourishment project, 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with Part (H) of 

this Subparagraph. Existing temporary 

erosion control structures may be 

permitted for additional eight-year 

periods provided that the structure or 

property being protected is still 

imminently threatened, the temporary 

erosion control structure is in 

compliance with requirements of this 

Subchapter, and the community in 

which it is located is actively pursuing 

a beach nourishment or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project in 

accordance with Part (H) of this 

Subparagraph. In the case of a 

building, a temporary erosion control 

structure may be extended, or new 

segments constructed, if additional 

areas of the building become 

imminently threatened. Where 

temporary structures are installed or 

extended incrementally, the time 

period for removal under Part (F) or 

(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at 

the time the initial erosion control 

structure was installed. For the 

purpose of this Rule: 

(i) a building and its septic 

system shall be considered 

separate structures, 

(ii) a road or highway may be 

incrementally protected as 

sections become imminently 

threatened. The time period 

for removal of each 

contiguous section of 

temporary erosion control 

structure shall begin at the 

time that the initial section 

was installed, in accordance 

with Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(H) For purposes of this Rule, a 

community is considered to be 

actively pursuing a beach nourishment 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with G.S. 113A-

115.1 if it: 

(i) has been issued an active 

CAMA permit, where 

necessary, approving such 

project; or 

(ii) has been identified by a U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers' 

Beach Nourishment 

Reconnaissance Study, 

General Reevaluation 

Report, Coastal Storm 

Damage Reduction Study, or 

an ongoing feasibility study 

by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers and a commitment 

of local or federal money, 

when necessary; or 

(iii) has received a favorable 

economic evaluation report 

on a federal project; or 

(iv) is in the planning stages of a 

project designed by the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers or 

persons meeting applicable 

State occupational licensing 

requirements and initiated by 

a local government or 

community with a 

commitment of local or state 

funds to construct the project 

or the identification of the 

financial resources or 

funding bases necessary to 

fund the beach nourishment, 
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inlet relocation or 

stabilization project. 

If beach nourishment, inlet relocation 

or stabilization is rejected by the 

sponsoring agency or community, or 

ceases to be actively planned for a 

section of shoreline, the time 

extension is void for that section of 

beach or community and existing 

sandbags are subject to all applicable 

time limits set forth in Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(I) Once a temporary erosion control 

structure is determined by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

unnecessary due to relocation or 

removal of the threatened structure, it 

shall be removed to the maximum 

extent practicable by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. If the 

temporary erosion control structure is 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management to be unnecessary due to 

the completion of a storm protection 

project constructed by the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, a large-scale 

beach nourishment project, or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project, any 

portion of the temporary erosion 

control structure exposed above grade 

shall be removed by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. 

(J) Removal of temporary erosion control 

structures is not required if they are 

covered by sand. Any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

that becomes exposed above grade 

after the expiration of the permitted 

time period shall be removed by the 

property owner within 30 days of 

official notification from the Division 

of Coastal Management. 

(K) The property owner shall be 

responsible for the removal of 

remnants of all portions of any 

damaged temporary erosion control 

structure. 

(L) Sandbags used to construct temporary 

erosion control structures shall be tan 

in color and three to five feet wide and 

seven to 15 feet long when measured 

flat. Base width of the temporary 

erosion control structure shall not 

exceed 20 feet, and the total height 

shall not exceed six feet, as measured 

from the bottom of the lowest bag. 

(M) Soldier pilings and other types of 

devices to anchor sandbags shall not 

be allowed. 

(N) Existing sandbag structures may be 

repaired or replaced within their 

originally permitted dimensions 

during the time period allowed under 

Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach 

nourishment shall be compatible with existing 

grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of 

this Section. 

(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined 

as the process of moving natural beach material 

from any point seaward of the first line of stable 

vegetation line to create a protective sand dike 

or to obtain material for any other purpose) is 

development and may be permitted as an 

erosion response if the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) The area on which this activity is 

being performed shall maintain a slope 

of adequate grade so as to not 

endanger the public or the public's use 

of the beach and shall follow the pre-

emergency slope as closely as 

possible. The movement of material 

utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader, 

backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth 

moving or construction equipment 

shall not exceed one foot in depth 

measured from the pre-activity surface 

elevation; 

(B) The activity shall not exceed the 

lateral bounds of the applicant's 

property unless he has permission of is 

obtained from the adjoining land 

owner(s); 

(C) Movement of material from seaward 

of the mean low water line will require 

a CAMA Major Development and 

State Dredge and Fill Permit; 

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion 

on neighboring properties and shall 

not have an adverse effect on natural 

or cultural resources; 

(E) The activity may be undertaken to 

protect threatened on-site waste 

disposal systems as well as the 

threatened structure's foundations. 

(b)  Dune Establishment Protection, Establishment, Restoration 

and Stabilization. 

(1) No development shall be permitted that 

involves the removal or relocation of primary 
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or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon that 

would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. 

Other dunes within the ocean hazard area shall 

not be disturbed unless the development of the 

property is otherwise impracticable. Any 

disturbance of these other dunes shall be 

allowed only to the extent permitted by this 

Rule. 

(1)(2) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to 

the greatest extent possible with existing 

adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same 

configuration as adjacent natural dunes. 

(2)(3) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, 

except for beach nourishment and emergency 

situations, be broadened or extended in an 

oceanward direction. 

(3)(4) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such 

a manner that the damage to existing vegetation 

is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted 

or temporarily stabilized until planting can be 

completed. 

(4)(5) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall 

be of the same general characteristics as the 

sand in the area in which it is to be placed. 

(5)(6) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard 

areas. Reconstruction or repair if existing dune 

systems ad defined in Rule .0305 of this Section 

and within the Inlet Hazard Area is permittable. 

(6)(7) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the 

frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot 

or tract of land to the maximum extent 

practicable and may be redistributed within the 

Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not 

placed any farther oceanward than the crest of 

a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a 

frontal dune. 

(7)(8) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed 

when other techniques of construction can be 

utilized and alternative site locations exist to 

avoid dune impacts. 

(c)  Structural Accessways: 

(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across 

primary or frontal dunes so long as they are 

designed and constructed in a manner that 

entails negligible alteration of the primary or 

frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be 

considered threatened structures for the purpose 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail 

negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes 

provided that: 

(A) The accessway is exclusively for 

pedestrian use; 

(B) The accessway is a maximum of six 

feet in width; 

(C) Except in the case of beach matting for 

a local, State, or federal government's 

public access, the accessway is raised 

on posts or pilings of five feet or less 

depth, so that wherever possible only 

the posts or pilings touch the dune. 

Where this is deemed by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

impossible due to dune, in accordance 

with any more restrictive local, State, 

or federal building requirements, the 

structure shall touch the dune only to 

the extent necessary. Requirements. 

Beach matting for a local, State, or 

federal government's public access 

shall be installed at grade and not 

involve any excavation or fill of the 

dune; and 

(D) Any areas of vegetation that are 

disturbed are revegetated as soon as 

feasible. 

(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) 

and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted 

only if it meets a public purpose or need which 

cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part 

(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are 

not prohibited allowed provided all other 

applicable standards of this Rule are met. 

(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of 

primary and frontal dunes a structural 

accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be 

provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or 

emergency vehicle access. Such accessways 

shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and 

may be constructed of wooden sections 

fastened together, or other materials approved 

by the Division, over the length of the affected 

dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall 

be done in a manner that will preserve the 

dune's function as a protective barrier against 

flooding and erosion by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. 

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no 

more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 

of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 

not interfere with public trust rights and 

emergency access along the beach. Structural 

accessways are not restricted by the 

requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 

described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section. 

(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction 

and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of 

this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the 

following standards: 

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all 

development shall be designed and placed so as 

to minimize damage due to fluctuations in 

ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year 

storm. Any building constructed within the 

ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant 

sections of the North Carolina Building Code 

including the Coastal and Flood Plain 

Construction Standards and the local flood 
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damage prevention ordinance as required by the 

National Flood Insurance Program. If any 

provision of the building code or a flood 

damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent 

with any of the following AEC standards, the 

more restrictive provision shall control. 

(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be 

on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter 

if round or eight inches to a side if square. 

(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater 

than eight feet below the lowest ground 

elevation under the structure. For those 

structures so located on or seaward of the 

primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five 

feet below mean sea level. 

(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable 

during applicable fluctuations in ground 

elevation and wave forces during a 100-year 

storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall 

meet the requirements of this Part or shall be 

designed to break-away without structural 

damage to the main structure. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-

113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0309 USE STANDARDS FOR OCEAN 

HAZARD AREAS: EXCEPTIONS 

(a)  The following types of development shall be permitted 

seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule .0306(a) 

of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter and other 

state and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) driveways and parking areas with clay, packed 

sand, or gravel; 

(3) elevated decks not exceeding a footprint of 500 

square feet; feet. Existing decks exceeding a 

footprint of 500 square feet may be replaced 

with no enlargement beyond their original 

dimensions; 

(4) beach accessways consistent with Rule 

.0308(c) of this Section; 

(5) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 

(6) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 

(7) temporary amusement stands consistent with 

Section .1900 of this Subchapter; 

(8) sand fences; and 

(9) swimming pools. pools; and 

(10) fill not associated with dune creation that is 

obtained from an upland source and is of the 

same general characteristics as the sand in the 

area in which it is to be placed. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 

landward of the vegetation line or static pre-project vegetation 

line, whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or removal of 

primary or frontal dunes which would compromise the integrity 

of the dune as a protective landform or the dune vegetation; has 

overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not essential to the 

continued existence or use of an associated principal 

development; is not required to satisfy minimum requirements of 

local zoning, subdivision or health regulations; and meets all other 

non-setback requirements of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Where application of the oceanfront setback requirements of 

Rule .0306(a) of this Section would preclude placement of 

permanent substantial structures on lots a structure on a lot 

existing as of June 1, 1979, buildings the structure shall be 

permitted seaward of the applicable setback line in ocean erodible 

areas and Ocean Erodible Areas, State Ports Inlet Management 

Areas, and Inlet Hazard Areas, but not inlet hazard areas or 

unvegetated beach areas, Unvegetated Beach Areas if each of the 

following conditions are met: 

(1) The development is set back from the ocean the 

maximum feasible distance possible on the 

existing lot and the development is designed to 

minimize encroachment into the setback area; 

(2) The development is at least 60 feet landward of 

the vegetation line or static vegetation line, 

measurement line, or pre-project vegetation 

line whichever is applicable; 

(3) The development is not located on or in front 

oceanward of a frontal dune, but is entirely 

behind the landward toe of the frontal dune; 

(4) The development incorporates each of the 

following design standards, which are in 

addition to those required by Rule .0308(d) of 

this Section. 

(A) All pilings shall have a tip penetration 

that extends to at least four feet below 

mean sea level; 

(B) The footprint of the structure shall be 

no more than 1,000 square feet, and 

the total floor area of the structure 

shall be no more than 2,000 square 

feet. For the purpose of this Section, 

roof-covered decks and porches that 

are structurally attached shall be 

included in the calculation of 

footprint; 

(C) Driveways and parking areas shall be 

constructed of clay, packed sand or 

gravel except in those cases where the 

development does not abut the ocean 

and is located landward of a paved 

public street or highway currently in 

use. In those cases concrete, asphalt, 

or turfstone may also cases, other 

material may be used; 

(D) No portion of a building's total floor 

area, including elevated portions that 

are cantilevered, knee braced or 

otherwise extended beyond the 

support of pilings or footings, may 

extend oceanward of the total floor 

area of the landward-most adjacent 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 18, 2022 

1232 

building. Habitable building or 

structure. The alignment shall be 

measured from the most oceanward 

point of the adjacent building or 

structure's roof line, including roofed 

decks, if applicable. An "adjacent" 

property is one that shares a boundary 

line with the site of the proposed 

development. When no adjacent 

building or structure exists, or the 

geometry or orientation of a lot or 

shoreline precludes the placement of a 

building in line with the landward 

most adjacent structure of similar use, 

an average line of construction shall be 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management on a case-by-case basis 

in order to determine an only by the 

Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management based on an 

approximation of the average 

seaward-most positions of the 

rooflines of adjacent structures along 

the same shoreline, extending 500 feet 

in either direction. If no structures 

exist within this distance, the proposed 

structure shall meet the applicable 

setback from the Vegetation Line but 

shall not he held to the landward-most 

adjacent structure or an average line of 

structures. The ocean hazard setback 

that is shall extend landward of the 

vegetation line, static vegetation line 

or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable, a distance no less than 60 

feet. 

(5) All other provisions of this Subchapter and 

other state and local regulations are met. If the 

development is to be serviced by an on-site 

waste disposal system, a copy of a valid permit 

for such a system shall be submitted as part of 

the CAMA permit application. 

(c)  The following types of water dependent development shall be 

permitted seaward of the oceanfront setback requirements of Rule 

.0306(a) of this Section if all other provisions of this Subchapter 

and other state and local regulations are met: 

(1) piers providing public access; and 

(2) maintenance and replacement of existing state-

owned bridges, and causeways and accessways 

to such bridges. 

(d)  Replacement or construction of a pier house associated with 

an ocean pier shall be permitted if each of the following 

conditions is met: 

(1) The ocean pier provides public access for 

fishing and other recreational purposes whether 

on a commercial, public, or nonprofit basis; 

(2) Commercial, non-water dependent uses of the 

ocean pier and associated pier house shall be 

limited to restaurants and retail services. 

Residential uses, lodging, and parking areas 

shall be prohibited; 

(3) The pier house shall be limited to a maximum 

of two stories; 

(4) A new pier house shall not exceed a footprint of 

5,000 square feet and shall be located landward 

of mean high water; 

(5) A replacement pier house may be rebuilt not to 

exceed its most recent footprint or a footprint of 

5,000 square feet, whichever is larger; 

(6) The pier house shall be rebuilt to comply with 

all other provisions of this Subchapter; and 

(7) If the pier has been destroyed or rendered 

unusable, replacement or expansion of the 

associated pier house shall be permitted only if 

the pier is being replaced and returned to its 

original function. 

(e)  In addition to the development authorized under Paragraph (d) 

of this Rule, small scale, non-essential development that does not 

induce further growth in the Ocean Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural oceanfront processes, 

shall be permitted on those non-oceanfront in the Ocean Hazard 

Area along those portions of shoreline that exhibit features 

characteristic of an Estuarine Shoreline. Such features include the 

presence of wetland vegetation, and lower wave energy and 

erosion rates than in the adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such 

development shall be permitted under the standards set out in Rule 

.0208 of this Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small scale 

is defined as those projects which are eligible for authorization 

under 15A NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 15A NCAC 07K .0203. 

(f)  Transmission lines necessary to transmit electricity from an 

offshore energy-producing facility may be permitted provided 

that each of the following conditions is met: 

(1) The transmission lines are buried under the 

ocean beach, nearshore area, and primary and 

frontal dunes, all as defined in Rule .0305 of 

this Section, in such a manner so as to ensure 

that the placement of the transmission lines 

involves no alteration or removal of the primary 

or frontal dunes; and 

(2) The design and placement of the transmission 

lines shall be performed in a manner so as not 

to endanger the public or the public's use of the 

beach. 

(g)  Existing stormwater outfalls as of the last amended date of 

this rule within the Ocean Hazard AEC that are owned or 

maintained by a State agency or local government, may be 

extended oceanward subject to the provisions contained within 

15A NCAC 07J .0200. Outfalls may be extended below mean low 

water and may be maintained in accordance with 15A NCAC 07K 

.0103. Shortening or lengthening of outfall structures within the 

authorized dimensions, in response to changes in beach width, is 

considered maintenance under 15A NCAC 07K .0103. Outfall 

extensions may be marked with signage and shall not prevent 

pedestrian or vehicular access along the beach. This Paragraph 

does not apply to existing stormwater outfalls that are not owned 

or maintained by a State agency or local government. 
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Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b)(6)a; 

113A-113(b)(6)b; 113A-113(b)(6)d; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0310 USE STANDARDS FOR INLET 

HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Inlet Hazard Areas of Environmental Concern as defined by 

Rule .0304 of this Section are subject to inlet migration, rapid and 

severe changes in watercourses, flooding and strong tides. Due to 

this the extremely hazardous nature of the Inlet Hazard Areas, all 

development within these areas shall be permitted in accordance 

with the following standards: 

(1) All development in the inlet hazard area shall 

be set back from the first line of stable natural 

vegetation line a distance equal to the setback 

required in the adjacent ocean hazard area; 

(2) Permanent structures shall be permitted at a 

density of no more than one commercial or 

residential unit per 15,000 square feet of land 

area on lots subdivided or created after July 23, 

1981; 

(3) Only residential structures of four units or less 

or non-residential structures of less than 5,000 

square feet total floor area shall be allowed 

within the inlet hazard area, except that access 

roads to those areas and maintenance and 

replacement of existing bridges shall be 

allowed; 

(4) Established common-law and statutory public 

rights of access to the public trust lands and 

waters in Inlet Hazard Areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways; 

(5) All other rules in this Subchapter pertaining to 

development in the ocean hazard areas shall be 

applied to development within the Inlet Hazard 

Areas. 

(b)  The inlet hazard area setback requirements shall not apply to 

the types of development exempted from the ocean setback rules 

in 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a), nor, to the types of development 

listed in 15A NCAC 07H .0309(c). 

(c)  In addition to the types of development excepted under Rule 

.0309 of this Section, small scale development that does not 

induce further growth in the Inlet Hazard Area, such as the 

construction of single-family piers and small scale erosion control 

measures that do not interfere with natural inlet movement, may 

be permitted on those portions of shoreline within a designated 

Inlet Hazard Area that exhibit features characteristic of Estuarine 

Shoreline. Such features include the presence of wetland 

vegetation, lower wave energy, and lower erosion rates than in the 

adjoining Ocean Erodible Area. Such development shall be 

permitted under the standards set out in Rule .0208 of this 

Subchapter. For the purpose of this Rule, small scale is defined as 

those projects which are eligible for authorization under 15A 

NCAC 07H .1100, .1200 and 07K .0203. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b); 

113A-124. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING 

AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR 

DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS, 

APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS, 

DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE 

EXCEPTIONS 

 

SECTION .1200 – STATIC AND VEGETATION LINE 

EXCEPTION BEACH MANAGEMENT PLAN 

APPROVAL PROCEDURES 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1201 REQUESTING THE STATIC 

LINE EXCEPTION BEACH MANAGEMENT PLAN 

APPROVAL 

(a)  A petitioner subject to a static pre-project vegetation line 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0305 may petition the Coastal 

Resources Commission for an exception to the static vegetation 

line to approve a Beach Management Plan in accordance with the 

provisions of this Section. A "petitioner" shall be defined as: 

(1) Any local government; 

(2) Any group of local governments involved in a 

regional beach fill project; project; or 

(3) Any qualified homeowner's association defined 

in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) that has the authority to 

approve the locations of structures on lots 

within the territorial jurisdiction of the 

association, and has jurisdiction over at least 

one mile of ocean shoreline; or shoreline. 

(4) A permit holder of a large-scale beach fill 

project. 

(b)  A petitioner shall be eligible to submit a request for a static 

vegetation line exception to approve a Beach Management Plan 

after the completion of construction of the initial large-scale beach 

fill project(s) as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305 that required 

the creation of a static pre-project vegetation line(s). For a static 

pre-project vegetation line in existence prior to the effective date 

of this Rule, the award-of-contract date of the initial large-scale 

beach fill project, or the date of the aerial photography or other 

survey data used to define the static pre-project vegetation line, 

whichever is most recent, shall be used in lieu of the completion 

of construction date. 

(c)  A static vegetation line exception request applies to the entire 

static vegetation line within the jurisdiction of the petitioner, 

including segments of a static vegetation line that are associated 

with the same large-scale beach fill project. If multiple static 

vegetation lines within the jurisdiction of the petitioner are 

associated with different large-scale beach fill projects, then the 

static vegetation line exception in accordance with 15A NCAC 

07H .0306 and the procedures outlined in this Section shall be 

considered separately for each large-scale beach fill project. A 

Beach Management Plan applies to all pre-project vegetation lines 

within the Ocean Hazard Area of the petitioner's jurisdiction. 

(d)  A static vegetation line exception request shall be made in 

writing by the petitioner. A complete static vegetation line 

exception request shall include the following: A complete Beach 

Management Plan shall consist of a comprehensive document 

with supporting appendices and data that includes the following: 

(1) A summary review of all beach fill projects in 

the area for which the exception is being 
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requested of the Beach Management Plan 

including the initial large-scale beach fill 

project associated with the static pre-project 

vegetation line, subsequent maintenance of the 

initial large-scale projects(s) and beach fill 

projects occurring prior to the initial large-scale 

projects(s). To the extent historical data allows, 

the summary shall include construction dates, 

contract award dates, volume of sediment 

excavated, total cost of beach fill project(s), 

funding sources, maps, design schematics, pre-

and post-project surveys and a project footprint; 

(2) Plans and related materials including reports, 

maps, tables and diagrams for the design and 

construction of the initial large-scale beach fill 

project that required the static vegetation line, 

subsequent maintenance that has occurred, and 

planned maintenance needed to achieve a 

design life providing no less than 30 years of 

shore protection from the date of the static line 

exception request. A review of the maintenance 

needed to achieve a design life of no less than 

30 years of shore protection. The plan shall 

include anticipated maintenance event volume 

triggers and schedules, long-term volumetric 

sand needs, annual monitoring protocols, an 

analysis of the impacts or any erosion control 

structures, and any relevant maps, tables, 

diagrams, studies or reports. The plans and 

related materials shall be designed and prepared 

by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or 

persons meeting applicable State occupational 

licensing requirements for said work; 

(3) Documentation, including maps, geophysical, 

and geological data, to delineate the planned 

location and volume of compatible sediment as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0312 necessary to 

construct and maintain the large-scale beach fill 

project defined in Subparagraph (d)(2) of this 

Rule over its design life. This documentation 

shall be designed and prepared by the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers or persons meeting 

applicable State occupational licensing 

requirements for said work; and 

(4) Identification of the financial resources or 

funding sources necessary to fund the large-

scale beach fill project over its design life. 

project, over the project design life, such as a 

dedicated percentage of occupancy taxes, 

special tax districts, or anticipated federal 

funding. 

(e)  Public Comment Requirements. The local jurisdiction shall 

provide an opportunity for public comments on the Beach 

Management Plan prior to submission to the Coastal Resources 

Commission for approval. Written comments on the Beach 

Management Plan shall be submitted by the local jurisdiction to 

the Division along with the request to approve the Beach 

Management Plan. 

(e)(f)  A static vegetation line exception request A request to 

approve a Beach Management Plan shall be submitted to the 

Director of the Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce 

Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557. Written acknowledgement of 

the receipt of a completed static vegetation line exception request, 

including notification of the date of the meeting at which the 

request will be considered by the Coastal Resources Commission, 

shall be provided to the petitioner by the Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(f)(g)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall consider a static 

vegetation line exception request request to approve a Beach 

Management Plan no later than the second scheduled meeting 

following the date of receipt of a complete request by the Division 

of Coastal Management, except when the petitioner and the 

Division of Coastal Management agree upon a later date. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1202 REVIEW OF THE STATIC LINE 

EXCEPTION BEACH MANAGEMENT PLAN 

APPROVAL REQUEST 

(a)  The Division of Coastal Management shall prepare a written 

report of the static line exception request Petitioner shall provide 

a summary of the Beach Management Plan to be presented to the 

Coastal Resources Commission. This report shall include: This 

summary shall include all of the elements required in 15A NCAC 

07J .1201. 

(1) A description of the area affected by the static 

line exception request; 

(2) A summary of the large-scale beach fill project 

that required the static vegetation line as well as 

the completed and planned maintenance of the 

project(s); 

(3) A summary of the evidence required for a static 

line exception; and 

(4) A recommendation to grant or deny the static 

line exception. 

(b)  The Division of Coastal Management shall provide the 

Commission a review of the Beach Management Plan including a 

recommendation to grant or deny the request. The Division shall 

provide the petitioner requesting the static line exception approval 

of a Beach Management Plan an opportunity to review the report 

recommendation prepared by the Division of Coastal 

Management no less than 10 days prior to the meeting at which it 

is to be considered by the Coastal Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1203 PROCEDURES FOR 

APPROVING THE STATIC LINE EXCEPTION A BEACH 

MANAGEMENT PLAN 

(a)  At the meeting at which the static line exception approval of 

a Beach Management Plan is considered by the Coastal Resources 

Commission, the following shall occur: 

(1) The Division of Coastal Management Petitioner 

shall orally present the report a summary of the 

Beach Management Plan described in 15A 

NCAC 07J .1202. 
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(2) A representative for the petitioner may provide 

written or oral comments about the static line 

exception request. The Chairman of the Coastal 

Resources Commission may limit the time 

allowed for oral comments in open session 

based upon the number of speakers wishing to 

speak. The Division of Coastal Management 

shall orally present its review of the Beach 

Management Plan and its recommendation to 

grant or deny the approval request. 

(3) Additional parties may provide written or oral 

comments about the static line exception 

request. The Chairman of the Coastal 

Resources Commission may limit the time 

allowed for oral comments in open session 

based upon the number of speakers wishing to 

speak. 

(b)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall authorize a static 

line exception request approve a Beach Management Plan if the 

request contains the information required and meets the criteria 

presented in 15A NCAC 07J .1201(d)(1) through (d)(4). (d)(4), 

the Division of Coastal Management recommendation, and public 

comments on the Beach Management Plan submitted with the 

request to approve the Beach Management Plan. The final 

decision of the Coastal Resources Commission shall be made at 

the meeting at which the matter is heard or in no case later than 

the next scheduled meeting. The final decision shall be 

transmitted to the petitioner by registered mail within 10 business 

days following the meeting at which the decision is reached. 

(c)  The decision to authorize or deny a static line exception 

approve or deny a Beach Management Plan is a final agency 

decision and is subject to judicial review in accordance with G.S. 

113A-123. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1204 REVIEW OF THE LARGE-

SCALE BEACH-FILL PROJECT AND APPROVED 

STATIC LINE EXCEPTIONS BEACH MANAGEMENT 

PLANS 

(a)  Progress Reports. The petitioner that received the static line 

exception a Beach Management Plan approval shall provide a 

progress report to the Coastal Resources Commission every five 

years from date the static line exception is authorized. Beach 

Management Plan is approved. The progress report shall address 

the criteria defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1201(d)(1) through (d)(4) 

and be submitted in writing to the Director of the Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, 

NC 28557. The Division of Coastal Management shall provide the 

petitioner with written acknowledgement of the receipt of a 

completed progress report, including notification of the meeting 

date at which the report will be presented to the Coastal Resources 

Commission. 

(b)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall review a static line 

exception authorized Beach Management Plan approved under 

15A NCAC 07J .1203 every five years from the initial 

authorization in order to renew its findings for the conditions 

defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1201(d)(2) through (d)(4). 15A 

NCAC 07J .1201(d) through (e). The Coastal Resources 

Commission shall also consider the following conditions: 

(1) Design changes to the initial large-scale beach 

fill project defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1201(d)(1) Updates to the Beach Management 

Plan, including performance of past projects 

and maintenance events, changes in conditions, 

and design changes to future projects, provided 

that the changes are designed and prepared by 

the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or persons 

meeting applicable State occupational licensing 

requirements for the work; 

(2) Design changes to the location and volume of 

compatible sediment, as defined by 15A NCAC 

07H .0312, necessary to construct and maintain 

the large-scale beach fill project defined in 15A 

NCAC 07J .1201(d)(2), including design 

changes defined in this Rule provided that the 

changes have been designed and prepared by 

the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or persons 

meeting applicable State occupational licensing 

requirements for the work; and 

(3) Changes in the financial resources or funding 

sources necessary to fund the large-scale beach 

fill project(s)defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1201(d)(2). If the project has been amended to 

include design changes defined in this Rule, 

then the Coastal Resources Commission shall 

consider the financial resources or funding 

sources necessary to fund the changes. 

(4) Local governments with an unexpired Static 

Line Exception approved by the Commission 

may petition the Commission for approval of a 

Beach Management Plan by supplementing 

information required under the Static Line 

Exception to be compliant with the provisions 

of 15A NCAC 07J .1200 prior to or upon the 

expiration of the previously approved Static 

Line Exception. 

(c)  The Division of Coastal Management shall prepare a written 

Petitioner shall orally present a summary of the progress report 

and present it to the Coastal Resources Commission no later than 

the second scheduled meeting following the date the report was 

received, except when a later meeting is agreed upon by the local 

government or community submitting the progress report and the 

Division of Coastal Management. This written summary The 

Division of Coastal Management shall include a recommendation 

from the Division of Coastal Management provide the Coastal 

Resources Commission with a review and recommendation of the 

progress report on whether the conditions defined in 15A NCAC 

07J .1201(d)(1) through (d)(4) have been met. The petitioner 

submitting the progress report shall be provided an opportunity to 

review the written summary recommendation prepared by the 

Division of Coastal Management no less than 10 days prior to the 

meeting at which it is to be considered by the Coastal Resources 

Commission. 

(d)  The following shall occur at the meeting at which the Coastal 

Resources Commission reviews the static line exception progress 

report: 
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(1) The Division of Coastal Management shall 

orally present the written summary of the 

progress report as defined in this Rule. 

(2) A representative for the petitioner may provide 

written or oral comments relevant to the static 

line exception progress report. The Chairman of 

the Coastal Resources Commission may limit 

the time allowed for oral comments in open 

session based upon the number of speakers 

wishing to speak. 

(3) Additional parties may provide written or oral 

comments relevant to the static line exception 

progress report. The Chairman of the Coastal 

Resources Commission may limit the time 

allowed for oral comments in open session 

based upon the number of speakers wishing to 

speak. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1205 REVOCATION AND 

EXPIRATION OF THE STATIC LINE EXCEPTION 

BEACH MANAGEMENT PLAN APPROVAL 

(a)  The static line exception Beach Management Plan approval 

shall be revoked if the Coastal Resources Commission 

determines, after the review of the petitioner's progress report 

identified in 15A NCAC 07J .1204, that any of the criteria under 

which the static line exception Beach Management Plan is 

authorized, as defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1201(d)(2) 15A NCAC 

07J .1201(d)(1) through (d)(4), are not being met. 

(b)  The static line exception shall expire at the end of the design 

life of the large-scale beach fill project defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1201(d)(2), including subsequent design changes to the project as 

defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1204(b). 

(c)(b)  In the event a progress report is not received by the 

Division of Coastal Management five years from either the static 

line exception initial approval of the Beach Management Plan or 

the previous progress report, the static line exception the Beach 

Management Plan approval shall be revoked automatically at the 

end of the five-year interval defined in 15A NCAC 07J .1204(b) 

for which the progress report was not received. 

(d)(c)  The revocation or expiration of a static line exception 

Beach Management Plan approval shall be a final agency decision 

and is subject to judicial review in accordance with G.S. 113A-

123. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1206 LOCAL GOVERNMENTS AND 

COMMUNITIES WITH STATIC VEGETATION LINES 

AND STATIC LINE EXCEPTIONS APPROVED BEACH 

MANAGEMENT PLANS 

A list of static vegetation lines in place for petitioners CRC 

approved Beach Management Plans and the conditions under 

which the static pre-project vegetation lines exist, including the 

date(s) the static pre-project vegetation line was defined, shall be 

maintained by the Division of Coastal Management. A list of 

static line exceptions in place for petitioners CRC approved Beach 

Management Plans and the conditions under which the exceptions 

Plans exist, including the date the exception was granted, Plan was 

approved, the dates the progress reports were received, the design 

life of the large-scale beach fill project and the potential expiration 

dates for the static line exception, Beach Management Plans shall 

be maintained by the Division of Coastal Management. Both the 

static pre-project vegetation line list and the static line exception 

CRC approved Beach Management Plan list shall be available for 

inspection at the Division of Coastal Management, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

SECTION .1300 – DEVELOPMENT LINE PROCEDURES 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1301 REQUESTING THE 

DEVELOPMENT LINE 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1302 PROCEDURES FOR 

APPROVING THE DEVELOPMENT LINE 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-123; 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1303 LOCAL GOVERNMENTS AND 

COMMUNITIES WITH DEVELOPMENT LINES 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 

intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10C .0325, .0326, 

.0409-.0430, .0701, .0702, .0801, amend the rules cited as 15A 

NCAC 10C .0301, .0302, .0305-.0308, .0313, .0314, .0319, .0321-

.0324, .0401, .0402, readopt with substantive changes the rules 

cited as 15A NCAC 10C .0103, .0104, .0106, .0107, .0110, .0304, 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

10C .0101, .0102, .0105, .0109, .0318, .0404-.0407, and repeal 

through readoption the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10C .0108 and 

.0111. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 15, 2022 

Time:  7:00 p.m. 

Location:  Register online here: https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_E1SApnj3Tair8wScIUZ

gDw 

Join by phone toll free (888-788-0099 or 877-853-5247) using 

Webinar ID: 160 349 4763 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, 

rules classified as "necessary with substantive public interest" are 

required to be readopted as part of the periodic review.  

Additionally, rules are proposed for amendment and adoption to 

clarify recreational fishing and inland game fish requirements. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0100 - JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES: 

CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0101 SCOPE AND PURPOSE 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0102 INLAND FISHING WATERS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0103 COASTAL FISHING WATERS 

(a)  Coastal fishing waters are the Atlantic Ocean, the various 

coastal sounds, and estuarine waters up to the dividing line 

between coastal fishing waters and inland fishing waters agreed 

upon by the Marine Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife 

Resources Commission. those defined in G.S. 113-129. All waters 

which are tributary to coastal fishing waters and which that are 

not otherwise designated by agreement between the Marine 

Fisheries Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission 

are coastal fishing waters. in rule shall be coastal fishing waters. 

(b)  The regulations regulation and licensing of fishing in coastal 

fishing waters is waters, excluding joint fishing waters, shall be 

under the jurisdiction of the Marine Fisheries Commission; except 

that the following inland game fish (exclusive of spotted sea trout, 

red drum, flounder, white perch, yellow perch, weakfish, and 

striped bass) are subject to regulations regulation by the Wildlife 

Resources Commission when found in coastal fishing waters. 

waters: 

(1) brown, brook, and rainbow trout; 

(2) muskellunge, chain, and redfin pickerel; 

(3) Alabama , largemouth, smallmouth, and 

spotted bass; 

(4) Roanoke and rock bass; 

(5) kokanee salmon; 

(6) black and white crappie; 

(7) bluegill, redbreast, redear, pumpkinseed, 

warmouth, flier, and all other species in the 

Centrarchidae family; and 

(8) walleye and sauger. 

(c)  Regulations Rules and laws administered by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission regarding fishing in coastal fishing waters 

are waters, excluding joint fishing waters, shall be enforced by 

marine fisheries inspectors. Regulations Rules and laws regarding 

inland game fish specified in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, when 

found in coastal fishing waters are waters, shall be enforced by 

wildlife protectors officers, unless otherwise agreed to by the 

Wildlife Resources Commission. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-132; 113-134; 113-182; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0104 JOINT FISHING WATERS 

(a)  Joint fishing waters are those coastal fishing waters, 

hereinafter set out, denominated defined in G.S. 113-129, adopted 

by agreement of both the Marine Fisheries Commission and the 

Wildlife Resources Commission pursuant to G.S. 113-132(e). 

113-132(e) as joint fishing waters. All waters which are tributary 

to joint fishing waters and which that are not otherwise designated 

by agreement between the Marine Fisheries Commission and the 

Wildlife Resources Commission are classified as in rule shall be 

joint fishing waters. The regulation and licensing of fishing in 

joint waters shall be as stated in 15A NCAC 10C .0106. 

(b)  Rules and laws regarding fishing in joint fishing waters may 

be enforced by both marine fisheries inspectors and wildlife 

officers. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-292. 
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15A NCAC 10C .0105 POSTING DIVIDING LINES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0106 APPLICABILITY OF 

REGULATIONS: RULES: JOINT FISHING WATERS 

(a)  All coastal fishing laws and regulations rules administered by 

the Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources 

Environmental Quality and the Marine Fisheries Commission 

shall apply to joint fishing waters except as otherwise provided 

and shall be enforced by fisheries enforcement officers. provided. 

(b)  The following inland fishing laws and regulations rules 

administered by the Wildlife Resources Commission shall apply 

to joint fishing waters and shall be enforced by wildlife 

enforcement officers: waters: 

(1) all laws and regulations rules pertaining to 

inland game fishes, fishes specified in Rule 

.0103 of this Section; 

(2) all laws and regulations pertaining to inland 

fishing license requirements for hook and line 

fishing, 

(3)(2) all laws and regulations rules pertaining to hook 

and line fishing except as hereinafter provided. 

provided; and 

(3) all laws and rules pertaining to fish, crustacea, 

and mollusks identified on the protected animal 

list, as defined in G.S. 113-331. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-271; 113-275; 113-182; 

113-292; 113-333. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0107 SPECIAL REGULATIONS: 

REGULATIONS FOR JOINT FISHING WATERS 

The following requirements shall apply in joint fishing waters and 

In order to effectively manage all fisheries resources in joint 

waters and in order to confer enforcement powers on both 

fisheries enforcement officers and wildlife enforcement officers 

with respect to certain rules, the Marine Fisheries Commission 

and the Wildlife Resources Commission deem it necessary to 

adopt special rules for joint waters. Such rules supersede any 

inconsistent rules of the Marine Fisheries Commission or the 

Wildlife Resources Commission that would otherwise be 

applicable in joint waters under the provisions of 15A NCAC 10C 

.0106: 

(1) Striped Bass 

(a) It is it shall be unlawful to possess any 

striped bass or striped bass hybrid that 

is less than 18 inches long (total 

length). 

(b) It is it shall be unlawful to possess 

striped bass or striped bass hybrids 

between the lengths of 22 and 27 

inches (total length) in joint fishing 

waters of the Central Southern 

Management Area as designated in 

15A NCAC 03R .0201. 

(c) It is it shall be unlawful to possess 

striped bass or striped bass hybrids 

May through September in the joint 

fishing waters of the Central Southern 

Management Area and the Albemarle 

Sound Management Area. 

(d) It is it shall be unlawful to possess 

striped bass or striped bass hybrids 

taken from the joint fishing waters of 

the Cape Fear River. 

(e) It is it shall be unlawful to possess 

more than one daily creel limit of 

striped bass or striped bass hybrids, in 

the aggregate, per person per day, 

regardless of the number of 

management areas fished. 

(f) Possession possession of fish shall be 

assessed for the creel and size limits of 

the management area in which the 

individual is found to be fishing, 

regardless of the size or creel limits for 

other management areas visited by 

that individual in a given day. 

(g) It is it shall be unlawful to engage in 

net fishing for striped bass or their 

hybrids in joint waters except as 

authorized by rules of the Marine 

Fisheries Commission. 

(2) Lake Mattamuskeet 

(a) It is it shall be unlawful to set or 

attempt to set any gill net in Lake 

Mattamuskeet canals designated as 

joint waters. 

(b) It is it shall be unlawful to use or 

attempt to use any trawl net or seines 

in Lake Mattamuskeet canals 

designated as joint waters. 

(3) Cape Fear River. It is shall be unlawful to use 

or attempt to use any net, net stakes or electrical 

fishing device within 800 feet of the dam at 

Lock No. 1 on the Cape Fear River. 

(4) Shad: It is unlawful to possess more than 10 

American shad or hickory shad, in the 

aggregate, per person per day taken by hook-

and-line. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-138; 113-182; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0108 SPECIFIC CLASSIFICATION OF 

WATERS 

 

Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-132; 113-134; 150B-14. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0109 PROTECTION OF SEA 

TURTLES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0110 MANAGEMENT 

RESPONSIBILITY FOR OF ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS 

IN JOINT WATERS THE ALBEMARLE SOUND AND 

ROANOKE RIVER MANAGEMENT AREAS 

(a)  The management areas for estuarine striped bass fisheries in 

coastal North Carolina are designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0201. 
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(b)(a)  In order to To effectively manage the recreational hook and 

line harvest in joint waters of the Albemarle Sound-Roanoke 

River stock of estuarine striped bass, the Marine Fisheries 

Commission and the Wildlife Resources Commission deem it 

necessary to establish two management areas: the Albemarle 

Sound Management Area and the Roanoke River Management 

Area as designated in 15A NCAC 03R .0201. 

(1) the Albemarle Sound Management Area is 

designated as Albemarle Sound and all its joint 

and inland water tributaries, (except for the 

Roanoke, Middle, Eastmost and Cashie rivers), 

Currituck, Roanoke and Croatan sounds and all 

their joint and inland water tributaries, 

including Oregon Inlet, north of a line 

beginning at a point 35° 48.5015' N - 75° 

44.1228' W on Roanoke Marshes Point, 

running southeasterly to a point 35° 44 .1710' N 

- 75° 31 .0520' W on the north point of Eagle 

Nest Bay. 

(2) the Roanoke River Management Area is 

designated as Roanoke River and its joint and 

inland tributaries, including Middle, Eastmost 

and Cashie rivers, up to the Roanoke Rapids 

dam. 

(b)  The Wildlife Resources Commission shall have principal 

management responsibility for the stock when it is in the joint and 

inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River Management 

Area. The Marine Fisheries Commission shall have principal 

management responsibility for the stock in the coastal, joint joint 

and inland waters of the Albemarle Sound Management Area. 

(c)  The annual quota for recreational harvest of the Albemarle 

Sound Roanoke River striped bass stock shall be divided equally 

between the two management areas. Each Commission shall 

implement management actions for recreational harvest within 

their respective management areas that shall be consistent with the 

North Carolina Estuarine Striped Bass Fishery Management Plan. 

areas. 

(d)  To preserve jurisdictional authority of each Commission, the 

following means are established through which management 

measures may be implemented in the following management 

areas: 

(1) in the Roanoke River Management Area, the 

exclusive authority to open and close seasons 

and areas, and establish size and creel limits, 

whether inland or joint fishing waters, shall be 

vested in the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(2) in the Albemarle Sound Management Area, the 

exclusive authority to open and close seasons 

and areas, and establish size and creel limits, 

whether coastal or joint fishing waters, shall be 

vested in the Marine Fisheries Commission. 

The season shall close by proclamation if the 

quota set by the North Carolina Estuarine 

Striped Bass Fishery Management Plan is 

projected to be taken. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-138; 113-182; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0111 IMPLEMENTATION OF 

ESTUARINE STRIPED BASS MANAGEMENT PLANS: 

RECREATIONAL FISHING 

 

Authority G.S. 113-132; 113-134; 113-138; 113-182; 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH 

 

SECTION .0300 – GAME FISH IN INLAND FISHING 

WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0301 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED 

(a)  The following fishes are classified and designated as inland 

game fishes: fishes in inland, joint, and coastal fishing waters: 

(1) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to rainbow, brown and brook trout; 

(2) muskellunge, chain (jack) and redfin pickerel; 

(3) yellow perch, when found in inland waters, 

walleye and sauger; 

(4) black bass, including Alabama, largemouth, 

smallmouth, spotted and redeye bass; 

(5) black and white crappie; 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow 

trout; 

(6) sauger and walleye; and 

(6)(7) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), pumpkinseed, warmouth, 

Roanoke bass, rock bass, bass (redeye), flier, 

Roanoke bass, warmouth, and all other species 

of the sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not 

specifically listed in this Rule; Rule. 

(b)  The following fishes are classified as inland game fishes when 

found in inland fishing waters: 

(7) spotted sea trout (speckled trout), when found 

in inland fishing waters; 

(8) flounder, when found in inland fishing waters; 

(9) red drum (channel bass, red fish, puppy drum), 

when found in inland fishing waters; 

(10) striped bass, white bass, white perch and 

Morone hybrids (striped bass-white bass), 

when found in inland fishing waters; 

(11)(1) American shad and hickory shad; shad, when 

found in inland fishing waters; 

(12) kokanee salmon; and 

(13)(2) black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat bullhead, 

snail bullhead, white catfish, and yellow 

bullhead; bullhead, when found in inland 

fishing waters. 

(3) flounder; 

(4) red drum (channel bass, red fish, puppy drum); 
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(5) spotted sea trout (spekeled trout); 

(6) striped bass, white bass, white perch, and 

Morone hybrids (striped bass-white bass); and 

(7) yellow perch. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0302 MANNER OF TAKING INLAND 

GAME FISHES 

(a)  Inland game fishes may only be taken with hook and line 

unless otherwise provided. 

(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and 

line. 

(c)  Game fishes taken incidental to: to 

(1) commercial fishing operations in joint fishing 

waters or coastal fishing waters shall be 

immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

(2) the use of special devices for taking nongame 

fishes from inland fishing waters as authorized 

in Rule .0402 of this Subchapter 15A NCAC 

10C .0402 or as authorized by 15A NCAC 10C 

.0407 by anglers licensed under G.S. 113-

272.2(c) shall be immediately returned to the 

water unharmed except: 

(A)(1) that a daily creel limit of American 

and hickory shad may be taken with 

dip nets and bow nets from March 1 

through April 30 in those waters where 

such gear may be lawfully used; and 

(B)(2) white perch may be taken when 

captured in a cast net being used to 

collect nongame fishes in all 

impounded waters west of Interstate 

95 and in the Tar River Reservoir 

(Nash County). 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken from Inland Fishing Waters shall not 

be sold. 

(d)(e)  In the inland waters of the Roanoke River upstream of U.S. 

258 bridge, only a single barbless hook or a lure with a single 

barbless hook may be used from 1 April to 30 June. "Barbless" as 

used in this Rule requires that the hook does not have a barb or 

the barb is bent down. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.3; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0304 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

INLAND GAME FISHES 

(a)  It is unlawful to take in one day more than the daily creel limit 

of those species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit; 

to possess more fish than the daily creel limit in effect on those 

waters being fished; to possess any fish outside of the size limit in 

effect on those waters being fished; to possess more fish than the 

daily creel limit while boating or afield; or to possess at any place 

more than three days creel limit. It is unlawful to destroy 

unnecessarily any inland game fish taken from public fishing 

waters. 

(a)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(b)  Individuals shall only possess on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(c)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(b)(d)  No person person, while fishing or afield, shall shall: 

remove the head or tail or otherwise change the appearance of any 

game fish having a minimum size limit so as to render it 

impracticable to measure its total original length. No person while 

fishing shall change the appearance of any game fish having a 

daily creel limit so as to obscure its identification or render it 

impracticable to count the number of fish in possession. 

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from inland fishing waters; 

(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any game fish having a size limit 

so to render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of any game fish having 

a daily creel limit so to obscure its identification 

or render it impracticable to count the number 

of fish in possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0305 LARGEMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is five fish, except 

in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (j), and (l)(d), (e), 

(f), (l), (m), and (n) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass, but only 

two of them may be less than 14 inches except in waters identified 

in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), and (l) (d) 

through (n) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraph (l) of this Rule. 

(b)(d)  In Lake Cammack in Alamance County, and Lake Holt in 

Granville County the daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass is 10 

fish and no more than two fish greater than 14 inches may be 

possessed. 

(c)(e)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily 

creel limit for Largemouth Bass and Smallmouth Bass less than 

14 inches. The daily creel limit for Largemouth Bass and 

Smallmouth Bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(d)(f)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass is 10 fish in aggregate. The minimum size limit for 

Largemouth Bass is 12 inches. 

(e)(g)  The minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches 

in the following: 

(1) Lake Raleigh in Wake County; 

(2) Lake Sutton in New Hanover County; 

(3) Pungo Lake in Washington and Hyde counties; 

(4) New Lake in Hyde County; and 

(5) Currituck, Roanoke, Croatan, Albemarle 

sounds, and all their tributaries including 

Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam, Chowan River, Meherrin River, Yeopim 

River, Pasquotank River, Perquimans River, 
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Little River, Big Flatty Creek, North River, 

Northwest River, Scuppernong River, Alligator 

River, including the Alligator/Pungo Canal east 

of the NC Hwy 264/45 bridge, and all other 

associated tributaries and canals in these river 

systems. 

(f)(h)  In Cane Creek Lake in Union County, and Buckhorn 

Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the minimum size limit 

for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches. 

(g)(i)  In Lake Phelps in Tyrrell and Washington counties, the 

minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 14 inches, and no fish 

between 16 and 20 inches may be possessed. 

(h)(j)  In Shearon Harris Reservoir in Chatham and Wake counties 

and Lake Hampton in Yadkin County, there is no minimum size 

limit for Largemouth Bass, but only two Largemouth Bass less 

than 14 inches and no Largemouth Bass between 16 and 20 inches 

may be possessed. 

(i)(k)  In Lake Thom-A-Lex in Davidson County, the minimum 

size limit for Largemouth Bass is 18 inches. 

(j)(l)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass is five 

fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Largemouth 

Bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may be 

possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, or 

Spotted Bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

(k)(m)  In Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in Hyde 

County, the minimum size limit for Largemouth Bass is 16 inches 

and only one Largemouth Bass greater than 20 inches may be 

possessed. 

(l)(n)  In Jean Guite Creek and associated canals within the Town 

of Southern Shores in Dare County and in the ponds associated 

with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, no Largemouth Bass 

may be possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0306 CRAPPIE 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Crappie, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f) (d) through (h) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for these fish, except for in 

waters identified in Paragraphs (d), (e), and (f). (f) through (h) of 

this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(b)(d)  In Buckhorn Reservoir in Wilson and Nash counties, the 

daily creel limit is 20 fish. 

(c)(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 30 

fish. 

(d)(f)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and 

the minimum size limit is 10 inches: 

(1) B. Everett Jordan Reservoir; 

(2) Roanoke River and its tributaries downstream 

of Roanoke Rapids dam; 

(3) Cashie River and its tributaries; 

(4) Middle River and its tributaries; 

(5) Eastmost River and its tributaries; and 

(6) Lake Mattamuskeet and associated canals in 

Hyde County. 

(e)(g)  In the following waters, the daily creel limit is 20 fish and 

the minimum size limit is eight inches: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Lake Hyco; 

(3) Lake Ramseur; 

(4) Cane Creek Lake (Union County); 

(5) Lake Hampton (Yadkin County); 

(6) Tar River downstream of Tar River Reservoir 

Dam and all tributaries; 

(7) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(8) Haw River downstream of Jordan Lake Dam 

and all tributaries; 

(9) Deep River downstream of Lockville Dam and 

all tributaries; 

(10) Cape Fear River and all tributaries; 

(11) Waccamaw River downstream of Lake 

Waccamaw Dam and all tributaries; 

(12) Lumber River including Drowning Creek and 

all tributaries; 

(13) all other public fishing waters east of Interstate 

95, except Tar River Reservoir in Nash County, 

Sutton Lake in New Hanover County, and 

waters listed in Paragraph (d)(f) of this Rule; 

and 

(14) all public waters west of Interstate 77, except 

Lake Chatuge. 

(f)(h)  In John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit is 25 fish 

and the minimum size limit is nine inches. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0307 FLOUNDER, SEA TROUT, AND 

RED DRUM FLOUNDER 

In inland fishing waters, Sea Trout (Spotted or Speckled), 

Flounder, and Red Drum (also known as Channel Bass, Red Fish 

or Puppy Drum) recreational seasons, size limits, and creel limits 

are the same as those established in the Rules of the Marine 

Fisheries Commission or proclamations issued by the Fisheries 

Director in adjacent joint or coastal fishing waters. 

(a)  The daily creel limit for flounder is four fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 15 inches. 

(c)  The season for taking and possessing flounder is September 1 

through September 14. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0308 KOKANEE SALMON 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Kokanee Salmon kokanee salmon is 

four fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. limit for Kokanee Salmon. 

(c)  There is no closed season. season for Kokanee Salmon. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0313 AMERICAN SHAD AND 

HICKORY SHAD (AMERICAN AND HICKORY) 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad hickory 

shad in the aggregate is 10 fish, only one of which may be an 
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American Shad, shad, except for waters identified in Paragraphs 

(b), (c) and (d) through (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. limit for these fish. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraph (e) (g) of this Rule. 

(b)(d)  In the inland waters of the Tar-Pamlico River, Pungo 

River, Pee Dee River, and their tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and Hickory Shad hickory shad is 10 in the aggregate. 

(c)(e)  In the inland waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries, the daily creel limit for American and Hickory Shad 

hickory shad is 10 in the aggregate, only five of which may be 

American Shad. shad. 

(d)(f)  In Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, Lake Gaston and John H. 

Kerr Reservoir, no American Shad shad may be possessed. 

(e)(g)  The season for taking American and Hickory Shad hickory 

shad with dip nets and bow nets is March 1 through April 30. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass striped bass and its 

hybrids is four fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in 

Paragraphs (b), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) (d), and (g) through (l) 

of this Rule. 

(b)  The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in 

waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), 

and (j) (d) through (l) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 

Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) (i) through (m) of this Rule. 

(b)(d)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with 

Bannister River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and 

in John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass 

striped bass and its hybrids is two in the aggregate and the 

minimum size limit is 20 inches from October 1 through May 31. 

From June 1 through September 30, the daily creel limit on 

Striped Bass striped bass and its hybrids is four in the aggregate 

with no minimum size limit. 

(c)(e)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the 

minimum size limit for Striped Bass striped bass and its hybrids 

is 20 inches from October 1 through May 31. There is no 

minimum size limit for these fish from June 1 through September 

30. 

(d)(f)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 

Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 

Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped 

Bass striped bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 

(e)(g)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 

in the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two 

may be greater than 22 inches. 

(f)(h)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 

tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass striped 

bass and its hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the 

minimum size limit is 18 inches. 

(g)(i)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar 

Pamlico rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 

impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 

in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 

in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) and (j) through (l) of this Rule, 

the daily creel limit for Striped Bass striped bass and its hybrids 

is two fish in the aggregate. The minimum size limit is 26 inches. 

In these waters, the season for taking and possessing Striped Bass 

striped bass is closed from May 1 through September 30. 

(h)(j)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 

tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds 

associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 

season for taking and possessing Striped Bass striped bass is 

closed year-round. 

(i)(k)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 

03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, .0110(a)(2), 

which includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers 

and their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing 

Striped Bass striped bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 

30 from the joint-coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle 

Sound upstream to Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open 

season, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass striped bass and its 

hybrids is two fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 

is 18 inches. No fish between 22 inches and 27 inches in length 

shall be possessed in the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger 

than 27 inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(j)(l)  In designated inland and joint fishing waters of Roanoke 

Sound, Croatan Sound, the Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, 

Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their 

tributaries (excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and 

their tributaries), Sound Management Area, as identified in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0110(a)(1), the Striped Bass striped bass fishing 

season, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by rules or proclamations of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission in adjacent joint or coastal fishing waters. 

(k)(m)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director 

may, by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line 

season for Striped Bass striped bass in the inland and joint waters 

of coastal rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the 

provisions of any proclamation issued under this authority. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0318 WHITE BASS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0319 WHITE PERCH 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for White Perch. white perch. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In and west of Haywood, Buncombe, and Rutherford 

counties, it is unlawful to transport, possess, or release live White 

Perch. white perch. 

(e)  White perch may be taken when captured in a cast net being 

used to collect nongame fishes for bait or personal consumption 

in all impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar River 

Reservoir (Nash County). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 
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15A NCAC 10C .0321 SMALLMOUTH BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Smallmouth Bass smallmouth bass is 

five fish, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) 

through (f) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass, 

smallmouth bass, but only two of them may be less than 14 inches 

except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (c), and (d) through 

(f) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(b)(d)  In Lake Santeetlah in Graham County, there is no daily 

creel limit for Largemouth Bass largemouth bass and Smallmouth 

Bass smallmouth bass less than 14 inches. The daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass largemouth bass and Smallmouth Bass 

smallmouth bass greater than 14 inches is five fish in aggregate. 

(c)(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and 

spotted bass is 10 fish in aggregate. There is no minimum size 

limit for Smallmouth Bass. smallmouth bass. 

(d)(f)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass 

largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish in 

aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Smallmouth Bass, 

smallmouth bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length 

may be possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth 

Bass, or Spotted Bass largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, or 

spotted bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0322 ALABAMA BASS AND SPOTTED 

BASS 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for Alabama Bass or Spotted Bass, 

bass or spotted bass, except for waters identified in Paragraphs 

(b)(d) and (c)(e) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit limit. 

(c)  There is no or closed season. 

(b)(d)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit for 

Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, Alabama Bass, and Spotted 

Bass largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, Alabama bass, and 

spotted bass is 10 fish in aggregate. 

(c)(e)  In the Alleghany County portion of New River downstream 

of Fields Dam (Grayson County, Virginia), the daily creel limit 

for Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, and Spotted Bass 

largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, and spotted bass is five fish in 

aggregate. There is no minimum size limit for Spotted Bass, 

spotted bass, but no fish between 14 and 22 inches in length may 

be possessed and only one Largemouth Bass, Smallmouth Bass, 

or Spotted Bass largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, or spotted 

bass greater than 22 inches may be possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0323 REDEYE BASS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Redeye Bass redeye bass is five fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit for Redeye Bass, redeye bass, 

but only two of them may be less than 14 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0324 CATFISH BULLHEADS 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Black Bullhead, Brown Bullhead, 

Flat Bullhead, Snail Bullhead, White Catfish, and Yellow 

Bullhead black bullhead, brown bullhead, flat bullhead, snail 

bullhead, white catfish, and yellow bullhead is 10 fish in 

aggregate. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit limit. 

(c)  There is no or closed season. season for Black Bullhead, 

Brown Bullhead, Flat Bullhead, Snail Bullhead, White Catfish, 

and Yellow Bullhead. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0325 SEA TROUT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for sea trout (spotted or speckled) is four 

fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0326 RED DRUM 

(a)  The daily creel limit for red drum (also known as channel bass, 

red fish or puppy drum) is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 18 inches and no fish over 27 

inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

SECTION .0400 – JURISDICTION OF AGENCIES: 

CLASSIFICATION OF WATERS NONGAME FISH IN 

INLAND FISHING WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0401 MANNER OF TAKING 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Except as permitted by the rules in this Section, it is unlawful 

no person shall to take nongame fishes from the inland fishing 

waters of North Carolina in any manner other than with hook and 

line, grabbling, or special device with a special device fishing 

license. license, or inland fishing license. 

(b)  Nongame fishes may be taken from inland fishing waters by 

hook and line, grabbling, or special device with a special device 

fishing license at any time without restriction as to size limits or 

creel limits, except as designated specified in this Rule. Section. 

(c)  Special devices may only be used to take nongame fishes with 

a special device fishing license shall only be used in those 

counties and waters with open season designated in Rule .0407 of 

this Section. 15A NCAC 10C .0407. 

(d)  Archery equipment may used with either a hunting license or 

inland fishing license may only be used to take nongame fishes 

year-round in all inland fishing waters, except: 

(1) for the take of catfish on in the Pee Dee River 

downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and in all tributaries. 

tributaries, where only catfish can be taken; 
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(2) in impounded waters located on the Sandhills 

Game Land; and 

(3) in public mountain trout waters. 

(e)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used to take 

nongame fishes as designated in 15A NCAC 10C .0206. 

(f)  The season for taking nongame fishes by hook and line in 

designated public mountain trout waters is the same as the trout 

fishing season. Trout seasons are designated in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0316. 

(g)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may be taken only from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(h)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point) and it is unlawful to possess more than 50 

crabs per person per day or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(i)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take river herring (alewife and blueback 

herring) that are greater than six inches in length, or possess such 

herring regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(j)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, it is unlawful to take channel or blue catfish by 

means other than hook and line; the daily creel limit for channel 

catfish is seven. Waters where this creel limit applies shall be 

posted on-site with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(k)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following waters: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Dan River (Downstream of the Union Street 

Dam in Danville, VA); 

(8) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(9) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(l)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee Dee 

River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina 

state line and all tributaries. 

(m)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25, and the minimum size limit is 9 inches. 

Eels greater than 9 inches in length and with a minimum body 

depth greater than ½ inch may be cut for use as bait. 

(n)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake James, 

Lookout Shoals Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, and Lake 

Wylie, except that one fish per day may be taken with archery 

equipment. 

(o)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed on Lake Norman 

and the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr Reservoir, except 

for scientific study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources 

Commission. 

(p)  In inland fishing waters, gray trout (weakfish) recreational 

seasons, size limits, and creel limits are the same as those 

established by Marine Fisheries Commission rule or 

proclamations issued by the Fisheries Director in adjacent joint or 

coastal fishing waters. 

(q)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish specified 

in Paragraphs (h), (i), (k), (m), and (p) of this Rule having a size 

limit so as to render it impractical to measure its total original 

length, except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule. No 

person while fishing shall change the appearance of any nongame 

fish specified in Paragraphs (g), (h), (j), (k), (l), (m), (n), (o), and 

(p) of this Rule having a daily creel limit so as to obscure its 

identification or render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except as provided in Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 

(r)(g)  Nongame fishes taken by hook and line, grabbling, or by 

special device with a special device fishing license may be sold, 

sold unless otherwise specified in this Section. with the following 

exceptions: 

(1) alewife and blueback herring, excluding those 

less than six inches in length collected from 

Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, and Warren 

counties); 

(2) blue crab; and 

(3) bowfin. 

(s)  Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed from inland fishing waters. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0402 TAKING NONGAME FISHES BY 

SPECIAL DEVICE FOR BAIT OR PERSONAL 

CONSUMPTION 

(a)  The use of equipment specified in this Rule requires a valid 

license that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(a)(b)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait or personal 

consumption in the inland waters of North Carolina using 

equipment other than: 

(1) a net of dip net design not greater than six feet 

across; 

(2) a seine of not greater than 12 feet in length 

(except in Lake Waccamaw in Columbus 

County where there is no length limitation) and 

with a bar mesh measure of not more than one-

fourth inch; 

(3) a cast net; 
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(4) a bow net for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of bow nets is authorized in 15A NCAC 

10C .0407; 

(5) a dip net when used in conjunction with a 

licensed hand-crank electrofisher; 

(6) a gig (except in Public Mountain Trout Waters); 

(7) up to three traps for the seasons and waters in 

which the use of traps is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(8) up to two eel pots; 

(9) a spear gun for the seasons and waters in which 

the use of a spear gun is authorized in 15A 

NCAC 10C .0407; 

(10) minnow traps not exceeding 12 inches in 

diameter and 24 inches in length, with funnel 

openings not exceeding one inch in diameter, 

from which all fish and animals are removed 

daily, and that are labeled with the user's 

Wildlife Resources Commission customer 

number or name and address; 

(11) a hand-held line with a single bait attached; 

(12) a single, multiple-bait line for taking crabs not 

to exceed 100 feet in length, marked on each 

end with a solid float no less than five inches in 

diameter, bearing legible and indelible 

identification of the user's name and address, 

and under the immediate control and attendance 

of the person using the device, with a limit of 

one line per person and no more than one line 

per vessel; or 

(13) a collapsible crab trap with the largest open 

dimension not greater than 18 inches and that 

by design is collapsed at all times when in the 

water, except when it is being retrieved or 

lowered to the bottom, with a limit of one trap 

per person. 

(b)  The use of equipment under this Rule requires a valid license 

that provides basic inland fishing privileges. 

(c)  It is unlawful to sell nongame fishes or aquatic animals taken 

under this Rule. 

(d)  Game fishes taken shall be returned unharmed to the water, 

except for the following: white perch may be taken when captured 

in a cast net being used to collect nongame fishes for bait or 

personal consumption in all impounded waters west of I-95 and 

in the Tar River Reservoir (Nash County). 

(1) American and hickory shad may be taken when 

captured with dip nets and bow nets from 

March 1 through April 30 subject to the size and 

creel limits specified in 15A NCAC 10C .0313. 

(2) white perch may be taken when captured in a 

cast net being used to collect nongame fishes 

for baitor personal consumption in all 

impounded waters west of I-95 and in the Tar 

River Reservoir (Nash County) subject to the 

size and creel limits specified in 15A NCAC 

10C .0319. 

(e)  No person shall take or possess during one day more than 200 

nongame fish, in aggregate, for bait or personal consumption 

subject to the consumption, accounting for species specific size 

and creel limits identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 Section .0400 

of this Subchapter. 

(f)  Any fishes taken for bait purposes are included within the 

daily possession limit for that species. 

(g)  It is unlawful to take nongame fish for bait from the following 

waters: 

(1) Public Mountain Trout Waters (except in 

impounded waters of power reservoirs and 

municipally-owned water supply reservoirs); 

(2) Bear Creek in Chatham County; 

(3) Deep River in Chatham, Lee, and Moore 

counties and downstream of Coleridge Dam in 

Randolph County; 

(4) Fork Creek in Randolph County; and 

(5) Rocky River in Chatham County. 

(i)  No person while fishing shall remove the head or tail or 

otherwise change the appearance of any nongame fish having a 

size limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to render it 

impractical to measure its total original length, except as provided 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0401(m). No person while fishing shall 

change the appearance of any nongame fish having a daily creel 

limit identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0401 so as to obscure its 

identification or render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except as provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0401(m). 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272; 113-272.3; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0404 SPECIAL DEVICES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0405 POSSESSION OF LICENSES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0406 TRAWLS AND DREDGES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0407 PERMITTED SPECIAL 

DEVICES AND OPEN SEASONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0409 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

NONGAME FISHES 

(a)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of nongame fish having a specified creel limit. 

(b)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit of the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(c)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(d)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any nongame fish specified in 

Section .0400 as having a size limit, so as to 

render it impractical to measure its total original 

length, except as provided in 15A NCAC 10C 

.0410. 
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(2) change the appearance of any nongame fish that 

has a species-specific daily creel limit in 

Section .0400, as to obscure its identification or 

render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except for American Eel as 

provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0410. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0410 AMERICAN EEL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for American eels taken from or 

possessed, regardless or origin, while boating on or fishing in 

inland fishing waters is 25. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is nine inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Eels greater than nine inches in length and with a minimum 

body depth greater than ½ inch may be cut for use as bait. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0411 ATLANTIC CROAKER 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Atlantic croaker is 50 fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Atlantic croaker shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0412 BLACK DRUM 

(a)  The daily creel limit for black drum is 10 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 14 inches and no fish over 25 

inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Black drum shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0413 BLUE CRAB 

(a)  Blue crabs shall have a minimum carapace width of five 

inches (point to point). 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than 50 crabs per person per 

day, or to exceed 100 crabs per vessel per day. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Blue crabs shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0414 BLUEFISH 

(a)  The daily creel limit for bluefish is three. 

(b)  There is no size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Bluefish shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0415 BOWFIN 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for bowfin. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Bowfin shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0416 BLUE CATFISH, CHANNEL 

CATFISH, AND FLATHEAD CATFISH 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for blue, channel, and flathead 

catfish, except for waters identified in Paragraphs (e), (f), and (g) 

of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, no person shall take channel or blue catfish by 

means other than hook and line. 

(e)  In waters that are stocked and managed for catfish and located 

on game lands, on Commission-owned property, or on the 

property of a cooperator, including waters within the Community 

Fishing Program, the daily creel limit for channel catfish is seven 

on waters posted with signs indicating the creel limit. 

(f)  The daily creel limit for blue catfish greater than 32 inches is 

one fish in the following waters: 

(1) Lake Norman; 

(2) Mountain Island Lake; 

(3) Lake Wylie; 

(4) Badin Lake; 

(5) Lake Tillery; 

(6) John H. Kerr Reservoir (North Carolina 

portion); 

(7) Dan River (Downstream of the Union Street 

Dam in Danville, VA); 

(8) Lake Gaston (North Carolina portion); and 

(9) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir. 

(g)  The daily creel limit is five catfish in aggregate on the Pee 

Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls Dam to the South 

Carolina state line and all tributaries. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0417 COBIA 

(a)  The daily creel limit for cobia is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 36 inches. 

(c)  The season for taking and possessing cobia is May 1 to 

December 31. 

(d)  Cobia shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0418 FRESHWATER MUSSELS 

(a)  Freshwater mussels, including the Asiatic clam (Corbicula 

fluminea), may only be taken from impounded waters, except 

mussels shall not be taken in: 

(1) Lake Waccamaw in Columbus County; and 

(2) University Lake in Orange County. 

(b)  The daily possession limit for freshwater mussels is 200 in the 

aggregate, except there is no daily possession limit for the Asiatic 

clam (Corbicula fluminea). 

(c)  There is no minimum size limit. 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 18, 2022 

1247 

(d)  There is no closed season. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0419 GRASS CARP 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for grass carp, except for waters 

identified in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed except that one fish 

per day may be taken with archery equipment on the following 

waters: 

(1) Lake James; 

(2) Lookout Shoals Lake; 

(3) Mountain Island Reservoir; and 

(4) Lake Wylie. 

(e)  Grass carp shall not be taken or possessed except for scientific 

study by permit issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission on 

the following waters: 

(1) Lake Gaston (S.L. 2009-261); 

(2) Roanoke Rapids Reservoir (S.L. 2009-261); 

(3) Lake Norman; and 

(4) the North Carolina portion of John H. Kerr 

Reservoir. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0420 KING MACKEREL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for king mackerel is three fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 24 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  King mackerel shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0421 MARGINED MADTOM AND 

TADPOLE MADTOM 

Margined madtom and tadpole madtom shall not be taken or 

possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0422 STRIPED MULLET AND WHITE 

MULLET 

(a)  The daily creel limit for striped mullet and white mullet is 200 

fish in aggregate. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0423 ALEWIFE AND BLUEBACK 

HERRING 

(a)  There is no daily creel limit for alewife or blueback herring 

(river herring), except for waters identified in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit, except for waters identified 

in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  While boating on or fishing in the following inland fishing 

waters, no person shall take alewife and blueback herring that are 

greater than six inches in length, or possess such herring 

regardless of origin in: 

(1) Roanoke River downstream of Roanoke Rapids 

Dam; 

(2) Tar River downstream of Rocky Mount Mill 

Dam; 

(3) Neuse River downstream of Falls Lake Dam; 

(4) Cape Fear River downstream of Buckhorn 

Dam; 

(5) Pee Dee River downstream of Blewett Falls 

Dam; 

(6) Lumber River, including Drowning Creek; 

(7) all the tributaries to the rivers listed above; and 

(8) all other inland fishing waters east of I-95. 

(e)  It shall be unlawful to transport, possess, or release live 

alewife or blueback herring, in the waters of the Little Tennessee 

River in and upstream of Lake Santeetlah and Cedar Cliff Lake, 

including all the tributaries and impoundments thereof, and on 

adjacent shorelines, docks, access ramps, and bridge crossings. 

(f)  Alewife and blueback herring, excluding those less than six 

inches in length collected from Kerr Reservoir (Granville, Vance, 

and Warren counties), may not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0424 SHARKS 

Sharks shall not be taken or possessed. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0425 SHEEPSHEAD 

(a)  The daily creel limit for sheepshead is 10 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 10 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Sheepshead shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0426 SPANISH MACKEREL 

(a)  The daily creel limit for Spanish mackerel is 15 fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 12 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Spanish mackerel shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0427 SPOT 

(a)  The daily creel limit for spot is 50 fish. 

(b)  There is no minimum size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Spot shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0428 TARPON 

Tarpon shall not be taken or possessed. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0429 WEAKFISH (GRAY TROUT) 

(a)  The daily creel limit for weakfish (gray trout) is one fish. 

(b)  The minimum size limit is 12 inches. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

(d)  Weakfish shall not be sold. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0430 OTHER FISHES 

(a)  For any nongame fish species not specifically listed in this 

Section, there is no daily creel limit. 

(b)  There is no size limit. 

(c)  There is no closed season. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 

 

SECTION .0700 - FISHES IN JOINT FISHING WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0701 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED IN JOINT FISHING WATERS 

(a)  For the purposes of this rule, the following fishes are classified 

and designated as inland game fishes in joint fishing waters: 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow 

trout; 

(6) Roanoke bass and rock bass (redeye); 

(7) sauger and walleye; and 

(8) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), warmouth, and all other species 

of the sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not 

specifically listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Inland game fishes shall not be taken by any method other 

than with hook and line, except that landing nets may be used to 

land fishes caught on hook and line. 

(c)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for inland game fishes in joint 

fishing waters shall be the same as those designated in Section 

.0300 of this Subchapter for inland fishing waters. 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken incidental to commercial fishing 

operations shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

(e)  Inland game fishes taken from joint fishing waters shall not 

be sold. 

(f)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(g)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from public fishing waters; 

(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any game fish having a size limit 

so to render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of any game fish having 

a daily creel limit so to obscure its identification 

or render it impracticable to count the number 

of fish in possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0702 TAKING AND POSSESSION OF 

OTHER FISHES BY HOOK AND LINE IN JOINT 

FISHING WATERS 

(a)  This Rule applies to fish taken by hook and line in joint fishing 

waters, excluding the species listed in 15A NCAC 10C .0701. 

(b)  Landing nets may be used to land fishes caught on hook and 

line. 

(c)  Set hooks, jug hooks, and trotlines may be used as designated 

in 15A NCAC 10C .0206 to take fishes in joint fishing waters. 

(d)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for fishes taken by hook and 

line in joint fishing waters shall be the same as those designated 

in Sections .0300 and .0400 of this Subchapter for inland fishing 

waters with the following exceptions: 

(1) In the joint fishing waters of the Tar-Pamlico 

River, Pungo River, and their tributaries, the 

daily creel limit for American and Hickory 

Shad is 10 in the aggregate. 

(2) In the joint fishing waters of the Cape Fear 

River and its tributaries, the daily creel limit for 

American and Hickory Shad is 10 in the 

aggregate, only five of which may be American 

Shad. 

(3) In the joint fishing waters of the Central 

Southern Management Area, as identified in 

15A NCAC 03R .0201, size, creel limits, and 

seasons for striped bass and its hybrids are 

listed in 15A NCAC 10C .0107. 

(4) In the joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 

Striped Bass Management Area, as identified in 

15A NCAC 10C .0110(a)(2), which includes 

the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost 

rivers and their tributaries, the open season for 

taking and possessing Striped Bass and its 

hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the 

joint-coastal fishing waters boundary at 

Albemarle Sound upstream to Roanoke Rapids 

Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 

creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 

two fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size 

limit is 18 inches. No fish between 22 inches 

and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in the 

daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 

inches may be possessed in the daily creel limit. 

(5) In designated inland and joint fishing waters of 

the Albemarle Sound Management Area, as 
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identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110(a)(1), the 

Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and 

creel limits are the same as those established by 

rules or proclamations of the Marine Fisheries 

Commission in adjacent coastal fishing waters. 

(e)  Fishes taken by hook and line in joint fishing waters may be 

sold except those fishes for which the sale is prohibited as 

designated in Sections .0300 and .0400 of this Subchapter for 

inland fishing waters. 

(f)  For fishes taken by hook and line in joint fishing waters, 

individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of fish having 

a specified creel limit. 

(g)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit of the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any fish taken by hook and line 

specified in Sections .0300 or .0400 of this 

Subchapter as having a size limit, so to render 

it impractical to measure its total original 

length, except for American Eel as provided in 

15A NCAC 10C .0410. 

(2) change the appearance of any fish taken by 

hook and line that has a species specific daily 

creel limit in Sections .0300 or .0400 of this 

Subchapter, as to obscure its identification or 

render it impractical to count the number of fish 

in possession, except for American Eel as 

provided in 15A NCAC 10C .0410. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

SECTION .0800 – GAME FISH IN COASTAL FISHING 

WATERS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0801 INLAND GAME FISHES 

DESIGNATED IN COASTAL FISHING WATERS 

(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, only the following fishes are 

classified and designated as inland game fishes in coastal fishing 

waters: 

(1) Alabama bass, largemouth bass, redeye bass, 

smallmouth bass, and spotted bass; 

(2) black crappie and white crappie; 

(3) chain pickerel (jack), muskellunge, and redfin 

pickerel; 

(4) kokanee salmon; 

(5) mountain trout, all species including but not 

limited to brook trout, brown trout, and rainbow 

trout; 

(6) Roanoke bass and rock bass (redeye); 

(7) sauger and walleye; and 

(8) sunfish, including bluegill (bream), flier, 

pumpkinseed, redbreast (robin), redear 

(shellcracker), warmouth, and all other species 

of the sunfish family (Centrarchidae) not 

specifically listed in this Rule. 

(b)  Inland game fishes shall not be taken by any method other 

than with hook and line, except that landing nets may be used to 

land fishes caught on hook and line. 

(c)  Size, creel limits, and seasons for inland game fishes in coastal 

fishing waters shall be the same as those in inland waters 

designated in Section .0300 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Inland game fishes taken incidental to commercial fishing 

operations shall be immediately returned to the water unharmed. 

(e)  Inland game fishes taken from coastal fishing waters shall not 

be sold. 

(f)  Individuals shall only take up to the daily creel limit of those 

species of inland game fish having a specified creel limit. 

(g)  Individuals shall only possess, on those waters being fished: 

(1) the specified daily creel limit for the species; 

(2) fish conforming to the size limit for the species; 

and 

(3) the daily creel limit while fishing or afield. 

(h)  Individuals shall only possess up to three days creel limit at 

any place. 

(i)  No person, while fishing or afield, shall: 

(1) unnecessarily destroy any inland game fish 

taken from public fishing waters; 

(2) remove the head or tail or otherwise change the 

appearance of any game fish having a size limit 

so to render it impracticable to measure its total 

original length; or 

(3) change the appearance of any game fish having 

a daily creel limit so to obscure its identification 

or render it impracticable to count the number 

of fish in possession. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-135; 113-135.1; 113-292. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 10F .0378, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10F 

.0317, .0323, .0327, .0333, .0336, .0354, and repeal the rules cited 

as 15A NCAC 10F .0312 and .0318. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 

available on the OAH website at 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  June 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 7, 2022 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Register online here: https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_Y9QFs1phS4aoXivOh0

9tTA  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Join by phone toll free (833 568 8864) using Webinar ID:  160 

989 2638 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 10F .0312 - After review from law enforcement, no 

wake zones in the area have proved to be impractical, 

unenforceable, and unnecessary. There have been no recorded 

boater safety hazards and none are expected moving forward. 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 - A no wake zone is being proposed on a 

portion of Lake Tillery at Morrow Mountain State Park, within 50 

yards of the shoreline. There are proposed technical amendments 

to the Rule to itemize all public and private Boating Access Areas 

in Stanly County on Badin Lake [10F .0317(a)(l)(B)(C)], Lake 

Tillery [10F .0317 (a)(2)(D)(E)], and Tuckertown Reservoir [10F 

.0317(a)(3)]. A technical amendment will identify the location of 

the existing Badin Swim Area [10F .0317(b)] 

15A NCAC 10F .0318 - Amendments for the Warren County no-

wake zones on Lake Gaston will be incorporated into 15A NCAC 

10F .0336 Northampton and Warren counties allowing for this 

rule to be repealed.  

15A NCAC 10F .0323 - No wake zones are being proposed 50 

yards northwest and southeast of the Mills Creek pedestrian 

bridge on Mills Creek at Lake James State Park on Lake James in 

Burke County to mitigate hazards to boater safety. 

15A NCAC 10F .0327 - Technical amendments are being 

proposed to accurately describe WRC Boating Access Areas. 

15A NCAC 10F .0333 - No wake zones are being proposed at 

Brown’s Cove on Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg County to mitigate 

hazards to boater safety. 

15A NCAC 10F .0336 - Proposed amendments incorporate 

requirements on Lake Gaston in Warren County currently 

codified in 15A NCAC 10F .0318 (proposed for repeal).  

15A NCAC 10F .0354 - No wake zones are being proposed at 

Barber Lake to mitigate hazards to boater safety. 

15A NCAC 10F .0378 - No wake zones are being proposed at an 

abandoned trestle is in a narrow channel where Deep Creek meets 

Roanoke Rapids Lake. There are also proposed WRC Boating 

Access Areas.  

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 

1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SECTION .0300 - LOCAL WATER SAFETY 

REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0312 HENDERSON COUNTY 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0317 STANLY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake, within 50 yards northeast and 

southwest of the section of railroad trestle 

designed for vessel traffic, northwest of the Old 

Whitney Boating Access Area near the Stanly-

Montgomery County line. Badin Lake. 

(A) within 50 yards northeast and 

southwest of the section of the railroad 

trestle designed for vessel traffic, 

northwest of the Old Whitney Boating 

Access Area near the Stanly-

Montgomery County line; 

(B) Old Whitney Boating Access Area on 

Old Whitney Road in New London; 

and 

(C) Badin Lake Boat Ramp, 293 NC 

Highway 740 in Badin. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) Turner Beach Cove shore to shore, 

south of a point at 35.22529 N, 

80.09318 W; and 

(B) The the waters within 50 yards of the 

fuel docks at the Boathouse and 

Marina at 712 Berry Hill Drive in 

Norwood. Norwood; 

(C) the waters within 50 yards of the 

shoreline at Morrow Mountain State 

Park, from a point north of the Morrow 

Mountain Boathouse at a point at 

35.38256 N, 80.06221 W, to a point 

south of the Morrow Mountain Boat 

Launch at 35.37919 N, 80.06114 W; 
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(D) Norwood Boating Access Area, 307-A 

Lakeshore Drive in Norwood; and 

(E) Stony Mountain Boating Access Area, 

22682-A Lake Tillery Road in 

Albemarle. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir, within 50 yards of the 

NC Highway 49 Boat Ramp at 36824 NC 

Highway 49 in New London. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat 

launching ramp while on the waters of a regulated area described 

in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)(b)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for 

the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of a regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. the waters of the Badin Swim Area. 

(d)(c)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater 

than no-wake speed within any of the regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the markers implementing 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. The Board of Commissioners of 

Stanly County shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing Parts (a)(2)(A) and (B) of this Rule. 

(e)(d)  Placement of Markers. 

(1) The North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 

(a)(2)(D), (E), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule. 

(2) The Board of Commissioners of Stanly County 

shall be the designated agency for placement of 

markers implementing Parts (a)(2)(A), (B) and 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(3) Morrow Mountain State Park shall be the 

designated agency for placement of markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0318 WARREN COUNTY 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0323 BURKE COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule applies only to the following 

waters or portions of waters in Burke County: 

(1) Lake Hickory; Hickory. 

(2) Lake James, delineated by markers consistent 

with Paragraph (e) of this Rule, at the following 

locations: Lake James at the following 

locations: 

(A) Holiday Shores Subdivision; 

(B) Lake James Campground; 

(C) Laurel Pointe Subdivision; 

(D) The the waters of Boyd Moore Cove 

shore to shore, north of a line from a 

point on the northwest shore at 

35.76667 N, 81.82337 W to a point on 

the southeast shore at 35.76558 N, 

81.82245 W; 

(E) East Shores development; 

(F) Eastern shore of Lake James at 

Mallard Cove; Mallard Cove shore to 

shore, southwest of a point at 

35.74437 N, 81.87053 W; 

(G) That the portion of Lake James shore 

to shore, beginning 385 yards 

northeast of the NC Highway 126 

bridge at a line from a point on the 

north shore at 35.74652 N, 81.88231 

W to a point on the south shore at 

35.74440 N, 81.88017 W, and ending 

at a line 550 yards southwest of the NC 

Highway 126 bridge and 50 yards 

south of the Canal Bridge Boating 

Access Area dock from a point on the 

northwest shore at 35.74163 N, 

81.88943 W to a point on the southeast 

shore at 35.73869 N, 81.88652 W; 

(H) The the waters within 50 yards of the 

end of the South Pointe Subdivision 

peninsula from a point east of the 

peninsula at 35.76399 N, 81.83768 W, 

and surrounding the peninsula from a 

point east of the peninsula at 35.76399 

N, 81.83768 W, and surrounding the 

peninsula to a point west of the 

peninsula at 35.76307 N, 81.83648 W; 

and 

(I) The the waters of Sherman's Hollow 

Cove shore to shore, and contiguous 

with those waters beginning at a point 

on the west shore of the mouth of 

Sherman's Hollow Cove at 35.76423 

N, 81.82748 W, extending northeast 

within 50 yards of Linville Point to a 

point on the northeast shore of Linville 

Point at 35.76596 N, 81.82432 W. W; 

and 

(J) the waters of Mills Creek at Lake 

James State Park, shore to shore from 

a point 50 yards northwest of the Cove 

bridge at 35.76469 N, 81.87703 W to 

a point 50 yards southeast of the 

bridge at 35.76406 N, 81.87637 W. 

(3) Lake Rhodhiss. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within 50 yards of any designated public boat 

launching ramp, bridge, marina, boat storage structure, boat 

service area, dock, or pier; or while on designated waters of the 

areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. the regulated areas 

described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 
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mooring area on the regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule. 

(d)  Restricted Swimming Areas. Swimming Area. No person 

operating or responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit 

it to enter any marked public swimming area on the regulated 

areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the 

waters of Paddy's Creek Swim Area at Lake James State Park 

Road in Nebo. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Burke 

County is the designated agency for placement of the markers 

implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the United 

States Coast Guard and the United States Army Corps of 

Engineers. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) the Board of Commissioners of Burke County, 

for the regulated areas designated in Parts 

(a)(2)(A) through (I) of this Rule; and 

(2) Lake James State Park for the regulated areas 

designated in Part (a)(2)(J) and Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0327 MONTGOMERY COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters and 

portions of waters described as follows: 

(1) Badin Lake. 

(A) the cove west of Lakeshore Drive and 

east of Strand Drive, southeast of a 

line at the mouth of the cove from a 

point on the east shore at 35.49242 N, 

80.09241 W to a point on the west 

shore at 35.49242 N, 80.09241 W; 

(B)(A) Lake Forest Drive Cove shore to 

shore, west of a point 50 yards east of 

the fueling site at the marina at 

35.48739 N, 80.10918 W; 

(C)(B) Garr Creek shore to shore, north of a 

line beginning at a point on the east 

shore at 35.47952 N, 80.13633 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.47946 N, 

80.13932 W; 

(D)(C) the channel between Beyer's Island 

and the mainland, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.49102 N, 

80.10221 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49230 N, 80.10241 W, ending at 

a line westward, from a point on 

Beyer's Island at 35.48988 N, 

80.10573 W to a point on the mainland 

at 35.49077 N, 80.10702 W; and 

(E)(D) within 50 yards of the fueling station 

at the Old North State Marina at the 

entrance to a cove within the Uwharrie 

Point community. community; 

(E) within 50 yards of the Circle Drive 

Boating Access Area, at 724 Shoreline 

Drive in New London; 

(F) within 50 yards of Lakemont Boating 

Access Area, at 241 Lakemont Road 

in New London; and 

(G) within 50 yards of the Cove Boat 

Ramp at 400 Cove Road in New 

London. 

(2) Lake Tillery. 

(A) the waters within 50 yards of the boat 

ramp in the south end of Woodrun 

Cove at 35.33113 N, 80.06277 W; 

(B) Carolina Forest Cove shore to shore 

and the waters within 50 yards of the 

boat ramps and boat slips at the end of 

Arroyo Drive in Carolina Forest 

Community, from a point on the south 

shore at 35.36276 N, 80.05386 W, 

northeast to a point on the north shore 

at 35.36405 N, 80.05304 W; and 

(C) Lilly's Bridge Boating Access Area 

shore to shore, from line 25 feet north 

of the SR 1110 bridge otherwise 

known as Lillys Bridge Road at a point 

on the east shore at 35.23223 N, 

80.06166 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23289 N, 80.06318 W, to a 

line 200 feet southwest of the Lilly's 

Bridge Boating Access Area, from a 

point on the east shore at 35.23067 N; 

80.06262 W, to a point on the west 

shore at 35.23156 N; 80.06437 W. 

80.06437 W; and 

(D) within 50 yards of Swift Island 

Boating Access Area at 4917 NC 

Highway 24/27 in Mount Gilead. 

(3) Tuckertown Reservoir. Pee Dee River, within 

50 yards of the Clarks Creek Boating Access 

Area at 177 Tillery Dam Road in Mount Gilead. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule  

(c)(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater 

than no-wake speed within any regulated area described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)(c)  Badin Lake Swimming Area. No person operating or 

responsible for the operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter the 

marked swimming area on Badin Lake at the Pinehaven Village 

beach area at 370 Pinehaven Drive in New London, within 50 feet 

of the shoreline between points at 35.49927 N, 80.11428 W; and 

35.49934 N, 80.11437 W. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of 

Montgomery County shall be the designated agency for 

placement of the markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), 
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(D), (E), (2)(A) and (B), and Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. The 

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the markers 

implementing Part (a)(2)(C) of this Rule. The Board of 

Commissioners of Montgomery County shall be the designated 

agency for placement and maintenance of the ropes and markers 

implementing Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(e)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement or placement and maintenance of the 

markers implementing this Rule, subject to the approval of the 

United States Coast Guard and United States Army Corps of 

Engineers: 

(1) The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery 

County for placement of the markers 

implementing Parts (a)(1)(A), (B), (C), (D), and 

(a)(2)(A), and (B) of this Rule; 

(2) The North Carolina Wildlife Resources 

Commission placement and maintenance of the 

markers implementing Parts (a)(1)(E), (F), 

(a)(2)(C), (D), and Subparagraph (a)(4) of this 

Rule; 

(3) The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery 

County shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the ropes and 

markers implementing Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule; and 

(4) The U.S. Forest Service for placement and 

maintenance of the markers implementing Part 

(a)(1)(G) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0333 MECKLENBURG AND GASTON 

COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

of Lake Wylie in Mecklenburg and Gaston Counties: 

(1) McDowell Park. The waters of the coves 

adjoining McDowell Park and the Southwest 

Nature Preserve in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, east of the mouth of the cove at a line 

from a point on the south shore at 35.10272 N, 

81.03026 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.10556 N, 80.02964 W; 

(2) Gaston County Wildlife Club Cove. The waters 

of the cove west of the Gaston County Wildlife 

Club on South Point Road in Belmont, north of 

a line at the mouth of the cove from a point on 

the east shore at 35.15628 N, 81.01427 W to a 

point on the west shore at 35.15628 N, 

81.01615 W; 

(3) Buster Boyd Bridge. The waters from a point 

250 feet east of the Buster Boyd Bridge on N.C. 

Highway 49 in Mecklenburg County at 

35.10293 N, 81.03932 W, to a point 150 feet 

west of the Buster Boyd Bridge at 35.10242 N, 

81.04089 W; 

(4) N.C. Highway 27 bridge. The waters shore to 

shore, from a point 50 yards north of the N.C. 

Highway 27 bridge in Mecklenburg and Gaston 

counties at 35.29849 N, 81.00346 W to a point 

190 yards south of the N.C. Highway 27 bridge 

at 35.29635 N, 81.00424 W; 

(5) Brown's Cove. The area beginning at the mouth 

of Brown's Cove in Mecklenburg County shore 

to shore, at a point at 35.16453 N, 81.00474 W, 

west to a point at 35.16480 N, 81.00309 W; 

(6) Paradise Point Cove. The waters of Paradise 

Point Cove in Gaston County between Paradise 

Circle and Lake Front Drive, west of a line from 

a point on the south shore at 35.18853 N, 

81.04036 W to a point on the north shore at 

35.18991 N, 81.04136 W; 

(7) Withers Cove. The waters from a point 50 feet 

southeast of the Withers Bridge on SR 1116, 

otherwise known as Shopton Road W. in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.14576 N, 81.00187 

W, to a point 50 feet northwest of the bridge at 

35.14599 N, 81.00222 W; 

(8) Sadler Island. The waters shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the west 

shore of Lake Wylie in Gaston County at 

35.27481 N, 81.0138 W east to a point on the 

east shore of the Lake in Mecklenburg County 

at 35.27423 N, 81.01111 W, extending south on 

the Lake west of Sadler Island to a line from a 

point on the west shore of the Lake in Gaston 

County at 35.27079 N, 81.01525 W, east to a 

point on the west side of Sadler Island in 

Mecklenburg County at 35.27051 N, 81.01396 

W, and the waters shore to shore east of Sadler 

Island in Mecklenburg County from a point at 

35.27441 N, 81.01185 W, south-southwest to a 

line from a point on the south shore of Sadler 

Island at 35.26635 N, 81.01432 W, south to a 

point on the Lake shore at 35.26494 N, 

81.01368 W; 

(9) Other bridges. The areas within 50 feet of any 

bridge in North Carolina that crosses the waters 

of Lake Wylie that is not otherwise specifically 

mentioned in this Paragraph; and 

(10) Yachtsman on Lake Wylie Community. The 

waters within 50 yards of the community piers 

near the terminus of Waterside Drive in 

Mecklenburg County, and northward to include 

the waters east of the island that is west of Point 

Lookout Road, ending at a line from a point on 

the northern end of the island at 35.12226 N, 

81.03306 W, east to a point on the shore at 

35.12253 N, 81.03190 W. 81.03190 W; and 

(11) Brown's Cove. The waters of Brown's Cove 

beginning at a line from a point on the east 

shore at 35.16892 N, 80.99702 W to a point on 

the west shore at 35.16948 N, 80.99783 W, 

northeast to a line from a point on the south 

shore at 35.16913 N, 80.99556 W to a point on 

the north shore at 35.17043 N, 80.99684 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit Near Ramps. No person shall operate a vessel at 

greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any public boat-
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launching ramp, dock, pier, marina, boat storage structure, or boat 

service area. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Marked Swimming or Mooring Areas. No 

person shall operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 

50 yards of any marked mooring area or marked swimming area. 

(d)  Placement and Maintenance of Markers. The Lake Wylie 

Marine Commission shall be the designated agency for placement 

and maintenance of markers implementing this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0336 NORTHAMPTON AND 

WARREN COUNTIES 

(a)  Regulated Area. This Rule shall apply to the waters of Lake 

Gaston in Northampton and Warren counties. No person shall 

operate a vessel at greater than no-wake speed in the following 

waters of Lake Gaston and the Roanoke River in Northampton 

and Warren counties. 

(1) Lake Gaston: 

(A) the cove on the north shore of Lake 

Gaston in Northampton County east of 

SR 1252 otherwise known as Vincent 

Lane, shore to shore from a point on 

the north shore at 36.51660 N, 

77.82226 W to a point on the south 

shore at 36.51578 N, 77.82269 W; 

(B) Jimmies Creek in Northampton 

County shore to shore, north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 

36.52450 N, 77.82600 W to a point on 

the west shore at 36.52445 N, 

77.82810 W; 

(C) within 50 yards of the Henrico Boating 

Access Area in Northampton County, 

142 Wildlife Landing Road, Henrico, 

N.C.; 

(D) within 50 yards of the Vultare Boating 

Access Area in Northampton County, 

773 Old Gaston Road, Gaston, N.C; 

(E) within 50 yards east and west of the 

N.C. Highway 903 Eaton Ferry Road 

Bridge in Warren County; 

(F) within 50 yards of the Hawtree Creek 

Boating Access Area in Warren 

County, 1200 Peete Farm Road, 

Warrenton, N.C.; 

(G) within 50 yards of the Salmons 

Landing Boating Access area in 

Warren County, 129 Salmon Landing 

Road, Littleton, N.C.; 

(H) within 50 yards of the Wildwood Point 

boat ramp in Warren County,184 N. 

Oak Drive, Littleton, N.C.; 

(I) within 50 yards of the Lizard Creek 

boat ramp in Warren County, 417 

Lizard Creek Road, Littleton, N.C.; 

(J) Songbird Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under 

N.C. Highway 903 at 36.53260 N, 

77.97330 W; and 

(K) Sixpound Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under 

SR 1704 otherwise known as Nocarva 

Road at 36.52950 N, 78.07283 W; 

(L) Lizard Creek in Warren County within 

50 yards of the culvert under SR 1362 

otherwise known as Lizard Creek 

Road at 36.52501 N, 77.91187 W; 

(M) within 50 yards of the Waters View 

Restaurant adjacent to the northwest 

end of the N.C. Highway 903 bridge in 

Warren County; 

(N) the cove west of the Pointe at Lake 

Gaston at the southwest end of the 

N.C. Highway 903 bridge in Warren 

County, south of a point at 36.50937 

N, 77.96644 W; 

(O) Camp Willow Run Canoe and Sail 

Cove in Warren County, beginning at 

a line shore to shore from a point on 

the southwest shore at 36.49355 N, 

77.91795 W, to a point on the north 

shore at 36.49534 N, 77.91508 W; and 

(P) the cove on Hubquarter Creek in 

Warren County, shore to shore 

beginning at a line from a point on the 

northeast shore at 36.50030 N, 

78.00474 W to a point on the 

southwest shore at 36.49947 N, 

78.00553 W. 

(2) Roanoke River. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed in 

Roanoke River in Northampton County within 

50 yards of the Gaston Boating Access Area, 

601 Roanoke Rapids Road, Gaston, N.C. 

(b)  Speed Limit in Mooring Areas. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed while within a marked 

mooring area on the waters of Lake Gaston within Northampton 

and Warren counties. 

(c)  Speed Limit Near Shore Facilities. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within 50 yards of any 

marked boat launching area, dock, pier, bridge, marina, boat 

storage structure, or boat service area on the waters of the 

regulated areas described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(d)  Speed Limit in specific waters. No person shall operate a 

vessel at greater than no-wake speed within the following bodies 

of water: 

(1) the cove on the north shore of Lake Gaston in 

Northampton County east of SR 1252 

otherwise known as Vincent Lane, shore to 

shore from a point on the north shore at 

36.51660 N, 77.82226 W to a point on the south 

shore at 36.51578 N, 77.82269 W; 

(2) Big Stone House Creek in Warren County 

within 50 yards of the culvert under N.C. 

Highway 903 at 36.48789 N, 77.95009 W; 
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(3) Songbird Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under N.C. Highway 903 at 

36.53260 N, 77.97330 W; 

(4) Sixpound Creek in Warren County within 50 

yards of the culvert under SR 1704 otherwise 

known as Nocarva Road at 36.52950 N, 

78.07283 W; 

(5) Lizard Creek in Warren County within 50 yards 

of the culvert under SR 1362 otherwise known 

as Lizard Creek Road at 36.52501 N, 77.91187 

W; and 

(6) Jimmies Creek in Northampton County shore to 

shore, north of a line from a point on the east 

shore at 36.52450 N, 77.82600 W to a point on 

the west shore at 36.52445 N, 77.82810 W. 

(e)  Swimming Areas. No person operating or responsible for the 

operation of a vessel shall permit it to enter any marked public 

swimming area on the waters of Lake Gaston in Northampton and 

Warren counties. 

(f)(c)  Placement of Markers. The Boards of Commissioners of 

Northampton County and Warren County shall be the designated 

agencies for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0354 PITT COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the waters described 

in this Paragraph: 

(1) the waters of Tar River, known as Hardee 

Creek, shore to shore, west of a line at its 

confluence with the main course of Tar River 

from a point on the north shore at 35.59878 N, 

77.31168 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.59813 N, 77.31157 W; and 

(2) the portion of Tranters Creek east of a line from 

a point on the north shore at 35.56961 N, 

77.09159 W to a point on the south shore at 

35.56888 N, 77.09118 W and north of a line 

from a point on the east shore at 35.56714 N, 

77.08941 W to a point on the west shore at 

35.56689 N, 77.09029 W. 77.09029 W; and 

(3) the waters of Barber Creek at Wildwood Park 

in the City of Greenville shore to shore, north 

of its confluence with Tar River at a point at 

35.60719 N, 77.32890 W. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within the regulated areas described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The Board of Commissioners of Pitt 

County shall be the designated agency for placement and 

maintenance of markers implementing this Rule, subject to the 

approval of the United States Coast Guard and United States 

Army Corps of Engineers. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The following agencies shall be 

responsible for placement of the markers implementing this Rule, 

subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and the 

United States Army Corps of Engineers: 

(1) The Board of Commissioners of Pitt County for 

those waters listed in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(2) of this Rule; and 

(2) The City of Greenville for the waters listed in 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

15A NCAC 10F .0378 HALIFAX COUNTY 

(a)  Regulated Areas. This Rule shall apply to the following waters 

in Halifax County: 

(1) Roanoke Rapids Lake. 

(A) within 50 yards north and south of the 

abandoned railroad trestle at the 

location where  Deep Creek meets 

Roanoke Raids Lake in Roanoke 

Rapids, northwest of Windsong Drive; 

(B) within 50 yards of the Thelma Boating 

Access Area, 1011 Van Warren Road, 

Roanoke Rapids; and 

(C) within 50 yards of the Fifth Street 

Landing Boating Access Area, 1919 

W. Fifth Street, Roanoke Rapids. 

(2) Roanoke River. 

(A) Within 50 yards of the Weldon 

Boating Access Area, 1090 Rockfish 

Lane, Weldon; and 

(B) within 50 yards of the Edwards Ferry 

Boating Access Area, 89 U.S. 

Highway 258, Scotland Neck. 

(3) Lake Gaston within 50 yards of Summit 

Boating Access Area at 432 Bluebird Lane, 

Littleton. 

(b)  Speed Limit. No person shall operate a vessel at greater than 

no-wake speed within any of the regulated areas described in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  Placement of Markers. The North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission shall be the designated agency for 

placement and maintenance of the markers implementing this 

Rule, subject to the approval of the United States Coast Guard and 

United States Army Corps of Engineers. 

 

Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-15. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners intends to amend the rules 

cited as 21 NCAC 48B .0102; 48F .0101; 48G .0105, .0203, .0504 

and repeal the rules cited as 21 NCAC 48E .0104; and 48F .0103. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncptboard.org/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 9, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Offices of NC Board of PT Examiners, 8300 Health 

Park Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  The NC Board of Physical 

Therapy Examiners proposes to amend rules in 21 NCAC 48B, 

48F and 48G, and repeal rules in 48E and 48F.  The changes to 

the aforementioned rules are being requested to make the rules 

consistent with current practice and policy by the NCBPTE. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Deborah Ragan, 8300 Health 

Park  Suite 233, Raleigh, NC 27615; phone (919) 490-6393; email 

dragan@ncptboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 21, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48B - TYPES OF LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 48B .0102 LICENSES BY ENDORSEMENT 

(a)  Endorsement. Each application for endorsement shall be 

considered on an individual basis. 

(b)  Examination Required. Only those persons initially licensed 

in another state by virtue of examination shall be considered for 

endorsement. Only the following examinations shall be 

considered: 

(1) For Physical Therapists: 

(A) Therapists licensed on the basis of a 

PT exam shall present total scores that 

meet the North Carolina passing level 

as set forth in 21 NCAC 48D .0105. 

.0105, in a format approved by the 

Board. If scores and information are 

not available from the other state, the 

applicant shall have the scores issued 

through the testing agency. If scores 

are no longer available or destroyed, 

the Board shall accept a notarized 

copy of exam scores from another 

state. If the total score on the 

examination is unsatisfactory, the 

exam shall be repeated. The cost of the 

examination shall be paid by the 

applicant. 

(B) If licensed in another state by an 

examination compiled by that Board, 

the applicant shall supply information 

for the Board to attempt to obtain the 

examination in order to determine if it 

meets the requirements set forth in 21 

NCAC 48D .0105. If it cannot be 

determined that the examination was 

equal to the North Carolina 

examination or if the scores received 

on an acceptable examination did not 

meet the North Carolina passing 

requirement, the applicant shall take 

the PT exam. The cost of the 

examination shall be paid by the 

applicant. 

(C) A physical therapist currently licensed 

in another state whose license in that 

state was granted on the basis of the 

American Registry of Physical 

Therapists Examination shall be 

considered for endorsement. 

(2) For Physical Therapist Assistants: Only those 

physical therapist assistants licensed in another 

state by a PTA exam shall be considered for 

endorsement. The examination score shall meet 

the North Carolina passing level as set forth in 

21 NCAC 48D .0105. If not, the applicant shall 

be required to take the PTA exam and pay the 

cost of the examination. 

(c)  Active License. An applicant for licensure by endorsement 

shall submit verification of licensure in effect on the date the 

application for North Carolina licensure was filed with the Board 

in accordance with 21 NCAC 48E .0105. 

(d)  Jurisprudence Exercise. All applicants for licensure by 

endorsement shall furnish proof of completion of the 

Jurisprudence Exercise 1 as set forth in 21 NCAC 48G .0105(7). 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.98(b); 90-270.100. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48E - APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
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SECTION .0100 - REQUIREMENTS 

 

21 NCAC 48E .0104 EXAMINATION SCORES 

Persons seeking licensure by endorsement shall have their 

examination scores sent to the executive director on a form 

authenticated by the reporting Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.98(b). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48F - CERTIFICATES: FEES: 

INVESTIGATIONS: RECORD OF LICENSEES 

 

SECTION .0100 - CERTIFICATES: FEES: 

INVESTIGATIONS: RECORD OF LICENSEES 

 

21 NCAC 48F .0101 LICENSURE CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Names: 

(1) A licensee's name will appear on the certificate 

as the name of the individual at the time of 

licensure, except in the case of a person taking 

the examination who is married during the time 

between the examination and the actual date of 

licensure. This person may elect to use her 

maiden name or her married name, if the 

marriage takes place prior to the date of 

licensure. 

(2) If a name is changed after the date of licensure, 

the licensee may request a new certificate to 

reflect the name change and pay the cost for a 

duplicate certificate. 

(3) The licensee shall use the name that is on the 

license certificate in the workplace. 

(b)  Date. The date of licensure shall be the day on which the 

person is given final approval of licensure by the Board. 

(c)  Replacements. Persons needing a replacement or a duplicate 

copy of a certificate will be charged a fee for it. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.98; 90-270.100. 

 

21 NCAC 48F .0103 INVESTIGATIONS 

Any complaint alleging violations of the North Carolina Physical 

Therapy Practice Act must be made in writing, signed by the 

person submitting the complaint, and include the complainant's 

address and telephone number. Complaints must be sent to the 

Executive Director. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.102; 90-270.103. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 48G - RETENTION OF LICENSE 

 

SECTION .0400 - FINAL APPROVAL AND 

ENFORCEMENT 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0105 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Approved provider" means an entity that has 

been approved by the Board to provide 

continuing competence activities for licensees 

as provided in the rules in this Section. 

(2) "Clinical Practice" means physical therapy 

consultation or patient care or client 

management or the supervision thereof. 

(3) "Contact Hour" means at least 50 60 

consecutive minutes of engagement in a 

continuing competence activity. 0.5 contact 

hour means at least 30 consecutive minutes of 

engagement in a continuing competence 

activity. Two segments of at least 25 

consecutive minutes each is equivalent to one 

contact hour. Breaks and meals are not included 

in contact hours. 

(4) "Continuing Competence" means the licensee's 

ongoing activities to augment knowledge, 

skills, behaviors, and abilities related to the 

practice of physical therapy. 

(5) "Continuing Education" means courses of study 

designed to provide learning experiences for 

physical therapy licensees. 

(6) "Documentation" means evidence of 

completion of continuing competence 

activities. 

(7) "Jurisprudence Exercise" is an online set of 

questions concerning the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act, Board rules and Position 

Statements posted on the Board's website at 

http://www.ncptboard.org. 

(8) "Licensee" means a physical therapist or 

physical therapist assistant licensed in North 

Carolina. 

(9) "Peer-reviewed" means judged by an 

independent panel of experts having special 

knowledge or skills in a particular field of 

study. 

(10) "Point" means a unit of continuing competence. 

(11) "Registered" means enrollment in a continuing 

competence activity. 

(12) "Reporting period" means a 25 month period 

commencing on January 1 during which the 

licensee must complete all continuing 

competence requirements. Points earned by a 

licensee may be counted toward completion 

during one reporting period only. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92. 

 

SECTION .0200 - LAPSED LICENSES 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0203 REVIVAL OF LAPSED LICENSE 

(a)  A license that has been lapsed less than one year may be 

revived by payment of the revival of lapsed license fee and the 

current year's renewal fee and by completion of the revival form. 

(b)  A license that has lapsed more than one year but less than five 

years may be revived by completion of the revival form, and: 

(1) completing 30 units (if reviving a physical 

therapist license) or 20 units (if reviving a 

physical therapist assistant license) of 

continuing competence as provided in the rules 

in this Subchapter; 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:14 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 18, 2022 

1258 

(2) payment of the revival of lapsed license fee; and 

(3) payment of the current year's renewal fee. 

(c)  A license that has lapsed more than five years may be revived 

by completion of the application forms; and 

(1) passing the "PT exam" (if trained as a physical 

therapist) or the "PTA exam" (if trained as a 

physical therapist assistant); 

(2) compiling at least 500 hours within the period 

of one year in the following manner: between 

50 and 200 class hours of course work (ie, 

refresher course, continuing education, 

pertinent college courses) approved by the 

Board as designed to demonstrate proficiency 

in current physical therapy theory and practice, 

and the remaining hours working as an aide 

under the supervision of a licensed physical 

therapist; or 

(d)(3)  endorsement Endorsement of a current license in another 

state as provided by 21 NCAC 48B .0102. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.99; 90-270.100. 

 

SECTION .0500 - CONTESTED CASE HEARINGS 

 

21 NCAC 48G .0504 COMPLAINTS AND 

INVESTIGATIONS 

(a)  In order to file a complaint with the Board, Board alleging 

violations of the North Carolina Physical Therapy Practice Act, 

the following information shall be submitted to the Board in 

writing, or by filing a complaint online at the Board's website 

www.ncptboard.org. 

(1) the name and address of person alleged to have 

violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) a statement of conduct that is the basis of the 

complaint; and 

(3) the name, address, signature and telephone 

number of complainant. 

(b)  Upon receipt of a written complaint alleging misconduct that 

may subject a licensee to disciplinary action, or upon the receipt 

of the information that a violation of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act may have occurred, the Board shall investigate the 

matter to determine whether probable cause exists to institute 

disciplinary proceedings. 

(c)  The Executive Director of the Board and a member appointed 

by the Chair shall serve as an investigative committee. This 

investigative committee may be assisted by: 

(1) the Board's attorney; 

(2) an investigator; or 

(3) a consultant, who is not a NC PT/PTA licensee, 

retained by the investigative committee who 

possesses expertise that will assist the 

investigative committee in its investigation. 

(d)  The investigative committee shall investigate the complaint 

or information set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule. In 

conducting its investigation, the Board Chair (or Executive 

Director, if designated by the Chair) may issue subpoenas in the 

investigative committee's name for the production of documents 

pursuant to the provisions of Rule .0512 of this Section. The 

investigative committee shall determine whether there is probable 

cause to believe that the licensee has violated any statute or Board 

rule that justifies a disciplinary hearing. If the investigative 

committee determines probable cause does not exist, the 

complaint shall be dismissed, and the complainant shall be 

notified of the investigative committee's action and its reasons. If 

the investigative committee determines that probable cause exists, 

the investigative committee shall offer to confer with the licensee 

in an attempt to settle the matter through informal means. If the 

investigative committee and the licensee reach an agreement on 

the disposition of the matter under investigation, the investigative 

committee shall cause to be drafted a proposed settlement 

agreement that shall include findings of fact, conclusions of law, 

and a consent order for presentation to and consideration by the 

Board. The settlement agreement shall be presented to and 

approved by the licensee before it is presented to the Board for 

consideration and approval. 

(e)  Prior to a decision rendered by the Board, any materials 

generated or obtained by the Board in conducting an investigation 

shall be considered confidential investigation records not subject 

to the Public Records Act, G.S. 132. However, copies of the 

materials may be provided to a licensee subject to disciplinary 

action, or to the licensee's attorney, so long as identifying 

information concerning the treatment or delivery of professional 

services to a patient who has not consented to its public disclosure 

shall be redacted. 

(f)  If the investigative committee and the licensee are not able to 

settle the matter under investigation by informal means, the 

licensee may request a contested case hearing pursuant to Rule 

.0502 of this Section or the Board shall give notice of a 

disciplinary or contested case hearing. 

(g)  If probable cause is found, but it is determined that license 

suspension or revocation is not warranted, the investigative 

committee shall recommend that the Board place the licensee on 

probation, or issue a warning to the licensee. In making this 

determination, the investigative committee shall consider such 

factors as harm to the public; nature of the conduct; and prior 

record of discipline. The investigative committee shall mail or 

email a copy of its recommendation to the licensee or the 

licensee's attorney. 

(h)  Within 20 days after receipt of the recommendation, the 

licensee may refuse the probation or warning and request a 

contested case hearing pursuant to this Rule. The refusal and 

request shall be filed with the Board. The legal counsel for the 

Board shall thereafter prepare, file, and serve a Notice of Hearing. 

(i)  In the alternative, within 20 days after receipt of the 

recommendation, the licensee may request an informal meeting 

with the Board to discuss the basis of the investigative 

committee's recommendation and present reasons why the Board 

should not follow the investigative committee's recommendation. 

There shall be no sworn testimony presented, nor shall there be a 

formal record of the proceedings. 

(j)  If the licensee does not request a contested case hearing or an 

informal meeting with the Board, the Board shall still determine 

whether to accept the investigative committee's recommendation. 

(k)  Participation by a current Board member in the investigation 

of a complaint shall disqualify that Board member from 

participating in the decision making process of a contested case 

hearing. 
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(l)  Subsequent to the issuance of a notice of hearing, the attorney 

prosecuting the contested case for the Board may not 

communicate, directly or indirectly, in connection with any issue 

of fact or question of law, with any party, including the members 

of the Board assigned to make a decision or to make findings of 

fact and conclusions of law in the contested case, except on notice 

and opportunity for all parties to participate. However, the 

attorney prosecuting the matter for the Board may continue to 

communicate concerning the contested case with the members of 

the investigative committee who investigated the matter, with 

persons not parties to the contested case who may be called as 

witnesses including the person who filed the complaint, and with 

the Board members about other matters. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 150B-38; 150B-39; 150B-40. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the 

Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative 

Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270th day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to 

the Rules Review Commission by the 270th day. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-21.1 

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 10A – DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Benefits 

 

Rule Citation:  10A NCAC 22Q .0101-.0106; 22R .0101-.0105 

 

Effective Date:  December 29, 2021 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  December 

16, 2021 

 

Reason for Action: G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(17) To maximize receipt 

of federal funds for Medicaid or NC Health Choice programs 

within existing State appropriations, to reduce Medicaid or NC 

Health Choice expenditures, and to reduce Medicaid and NC 

Health Choice fraud and abuse. These rules explain the 

mechanism for obtaining Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) 

funds for certified public expenditures from CMS and their 

distribution to replace supplemental payments for NC public and 

private hospitals providing services to Medicaid members and 

uninsured patients. Most supplemental payments are not 

permitted in managed care which launched on July 1, 2021. The 

process for certifying DSH and calculating distribution of those 

funds to qualifying hospitals is essential for ensuring maximum 

receipt of federal Medicaid funds. Given the financial strain 

placed on hospitals due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and 

Delta variant infections, financial distribution to the hospitals is 

vital to their continued operations and to the public health at 

large. These rules will enable prompt delivery of fiscal support to 

hospitals throughout the State. 

 

CHAPTER 22 - MEDICAL ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 22Q – DISTRIBUTION OF FEDERAL 

DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE ADJUSTMENT 

RECEIPTS ARISING FROM CERTIFIED PUBLIC 

EXPENDITURES 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0101 SCOPE 

This Subchapter establishes the requirements for the distribution 

of federal disproportionate share adjustment receipts as 

established by 42 CFR 447.298 arising from certified public 

expenditures. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Certifying Hospitals" means an institution that meets all of 

the following criteria: 

(1) meets the definition in G.S. 131E-176(13); 

(2) is licensed by the State of North Carolina; and 

(3) certifies as a public agency that its expenditures 

are eligible for Federal Financial Participation 

in accordance with 42 CFR 433.51(b), which is 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions. This 

document may be accessed at 

https://www.ecfr.gov at no charge. 

(b)  "Department" means the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

(c)  "Outpatient services" means those services as defined by 42 

CFR 440.20(a), which is hereby incorporated by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. This document 

can be accessed at https://www.ecfr.gov at no charge. 

(d)  "Uninsured patient" means medical care recipients who do not 

have health insurance, Medicaid or Medicare, or other third-party 

coverage. State or local government payments made to a hospital 

for services provided to indigent patients shall not be considered 

a source of third-party coverage. 

(e)  "Hospital Uncompensated Care Fund" means the fund 

established by G.S. 143C-9-9 and governed by 10A NCAC 22R. 

(f)  "Payment period" means the 12-month term ending September 

30th of each year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0103 DISTRIBUTIONS 

After distributions are made pursuant to the enacted State budget 

and the "Basic Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payment" 

section of the North Carolina Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 

4.19-A, which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions, and may be accessed free of charge at 

https://medicaid.ncdhhs.gov/media/973/download?attachment, 

the Department shall make distributions of the remaining DSH 

funds in the following order to: 

(1) Certifying hospitals; and 

(2) The Hospital Uncompensated Care Fund. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0104 CERTIFYING HOSPITAL 

DISTRIBUTION 

The Department shall distribute available funds to certifying 

hospitals in two parts: 

(1) An amount equal to 10 percent of expenditures 

certified by the hospital pursuant to 42 CFR 

433.51; and 

(2) An amount equal to the hospital's proportionate 

share, calculated pursuant to Rule .0106 of this 
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Section, of the available funds based on the 

hospital's share of outpatient costs for 

uninsured patients as a percentage of the 

Statewide aggregate of outpatient costs for 

uninsured patients. To be eligible for a 

proportionate share, a hospital shall file with the 

Department 90 days prior to the date of 

payment as determined by the Department, a 

form prescribed by the Department attesting to 

the hospital's: 

(a) Qualification for disproportionate 

share status under the 

"Disproportionate Share Hospital 

(DSH) Payment" section of the North 

Carolina Medicaid State Plan, 

Attachment 4.19-A; 

(b) Unreimbursed charges and payments 

for outpatient services provided to 

uninsured patients; and 

(c) Aggregate Medicaid outpatient cost-

to-charge ratio.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0105 CERTIFYING HOSPITALS' 

OUTPATIENT COSTS 

(a)  A certifying hospital's outpatient costs for uninsured patients 

will be determined by multiplying the hospital's outpatient cost-

to-charge ratio in Rule .0104(2)(c) of this Section by the hospital's 

outpatient charges for uninsured patients from Rule .0104(2)(b) 

of this Section. 

(b)  From the product calculated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

Department will then subtract payments that the hospital received 

from uninsured patients for outpatient services in Rule 

.0104(2)(b) of this Section. 

(c)  The Department will bring the uncompensated care cost data 

forward to the end of the payment period by applying the 

applicable Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' 

Prospective Payment System Hospital Input Price Indices, which 

are available at https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-

and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-

Reports/MedicareProgramRatesStats/MarketBasketData. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22Q .0106 CERTIFYING HOSPITAL'S 

PROPORTIONATE SHARE 

The Department shall calculate the certifying hospital's 

proportionate share of outpatient costs as follows: 

(1) Adding the certifying hospitals' outpatient costs 

and each of the eligible hospitals' (as defined in 

10A NCAC 22R .0103) eligible outpatient costs 

under 10A NCAC 22R .0104. The sum 

represents the total of the outpatient costs. 

(2) The sum of all certifying hospitals' outpatient 

costs under Rule .0105 of this Section shall be 

divided by the total outpatient costs in Item (1) 

of this Rule. The quotient represents the 

certifying hospitals' proportionate share, 

expressed as a decimal. 

(3) The amount of available funds shall be 

multiplied by the certifying hospitals' 

proportionate share in Item (2) of this Rule. The 

product represents the funds available for 

distribution to individual certifying hospitals. 

(4) A certifying hospital shall be eligible for a 

payment from funds available for distribution in 

Item (3) of this Rule. In each payment period, a 

certifying hospital shall receive a proportional 

payment of the available funds based on the 

certifying hospital's share of outpatient costs for 

uninsured patients as a percentage of the 

aggregate of outpatient costs for uninsured 

patients for certifying hospitals. 

(5) Hospitals receiving payments pursuant to this 

Subchapter shall be subject to the audit and 

reporting requirements of the North Carolina 

Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 4.19-A. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 108A-55(c); 143C-9-

9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 22R – DISTRIBUTION OF HOSPITAL 

UNCOMPENSATED CARE FUND 

 

10A NCAC 22R .0101 SCOPE 

This Subchapter establishes the requirements for the distribution 

of funds allocated to the Hospital Uncompensated Care Fund 

pursuant to G.S. 143C-9-9 after distributions of available funds 

have been made pursuant to 10A NCAC 22Q. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22R .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  "Department" means the North Carolina Department of 

Health and Human Services. 

(b)  "Eligible hospital" means an institution that meets the 

requirements of Rule .0103 of this Section. 

(c)  "Eligible hospital cost" means the values calculated pursuant 

to Rule .0104 of this Section. 

(d)  "Outpatient services" means the medical care and items as 

defined by 42 CFR 440.20(a), which is incorporated by reference 

in 10A NCAC 22Q .0102. 

(e)  "Uninsured patient" means a recipient of medical care who 

has no health insurance, Medicaid or Medicare, or other third-

party coverage. State and local government payments made to a 

hospital for services provided to indigent patients shall not be 

considered third-party coverage. 

(f)  "Payment period" means the 12-month term ending September 

30th of each year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 
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10A NCAC 22R .0103 ELIGIBLE HOSPITAL 

An institution licensed by the State of North Carolina that meets 

the definition in G.S. 131E-176 (13) is eligible for reimbursement 

from the Hospital Uncompensated Care Fund if it: 

(1) is not a public agency qualified to certify 

expenditures in accordance 42 CFR 433.51(b), 

which is incorporated by reference in 10A 

NCAC 22Q .0102; 

(2) received payment for more than 50 percent of 

their Medicaid inpatient discharges under the 

North Carolina Medicaid State Plan, 

Attachment 4.19-A discharge Diagnosis 

Related Groups methodology for the most 

recent payment period; 

(3) files with the Department 90-days prior to the 

date of payment under this Subchapter forms 

prescribed by the Department attesting to the 

hospital's: 

(a) qualification for disproportionate 

share status of the "Disproportionate 

Share Hospital (DSH) Payment" 

section of the North Carolina 

Medicaid State Plan, Attachment 

4.19-A; 

(b) unreimbursed charges and payments 

for outpatient services provided to 

uninsured patients; and 

(c) aggregate Medicaid outpatient cost-to-

charge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22R .0104 ELIGIBLE OUTPATIENT COSTS 

(a)  An eligible hospital's eligible outpatient costs for uninsured 

patients will be determined by multiplying the hospital's 

outpatient cost-to-charge ratio in Rule .0103(3)(c) of this Section 

by the hospital's outpatient charges for uninsured patients from 

Rule .0103(3)(b) of this Section. 

(b)  From the product calculated in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the 

Department will then subtract payments that the hospital received 

from uninsured patients for outpatient services from Rule 

.0103(3)(b) of this Section. 

(c)  The Department will bring the uncompensated care cost data 

forward to the end of the payment period by applying the 

applicable Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' 

Prospective Payment System Hospital Input Price Indices, which 

are available at https://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-

and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-

Reports/MedicareProgramRatesStats/MarketBasketData. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 22R .0105 DISTRIBUTION OF AVAILABLE 

FUNDS 

(a)  An eligible hospital satisfying the requirements of Rule .0103 

of this Section shall be eligible for a payment from funds available 

under this Subchapter. In a payment period, an eligible hospital 

shall receive a proportional payment of the available funds based 

on the eligible hospital's share of outpatient costs for uninsured 

patients as a percentage of the aggregate of outpatient costs for 

uninsured patients for all eligible hospitals. 

(b)  Based on the availability of funds, payments authorized by 

this Rule shall be made at least annually on a frequency 

determined by the Department in consultation with certifying 

hospitals. 

(c)  To confirm the hospital's eligibility to receive payments 

pursuant to this Subchapter and the accuracy of the hospital's 

attestation to unreimbursed charges for outpatient services 

provided to uninsured patients and the hospital's Medicaid 

outpatient cost-to-charge ratios, the Department may audit a 

hospital receiving more than two million dollars ($2,000,000) for 

compliance with the requirements of this Subchapter. Upon 

completion of the audit, the following shall occur when 

applicable: 

(1) If a hospital received payments pursuant to 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule in excess of the 

percentage determined by the audit, the excess 

payments shall be refunded to the Department. 

(2) The Department shall distribute any refunded 

amounts to eligible hospitals within 12 months 

of receipt using the distribution method set 

forth Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(3) No additional payment shall be made to eligible 

hospitals in connection with the audit except for 

the redistribution of amounts refunded after an 

audit conducted by the Division of Health 

Benefits. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-54; 143C-9-9; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 29, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 12 – DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Sherriff's Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

 

Rule Citation:  12 NCAC 10B .0301 

 

Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  December 

16, 2021 

 

Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the 

General Assembly or of the U.S. Congress. Session Law 2021-

138, Senate Bill 300, NCGS 17E-7(c) is amended to require the 

administration of a psychological screening examination prior to 

the justice officer's initial certification or prior to the justice 

officer performing any action requiring certification by the 

Commission. This change becomes effective 1/1/2022. 

 

CHAPTER 10 - SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 

TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - N.C. SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND 
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TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

 

SECTION .0300 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

EMPLOYMENT AND CERTIFICATION AS A JUSTICE 

OFFICER 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0301 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

JUSTICE OFFICERS 

(a)  Every Justice Officer employed or certified in North Carolina 

shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be 21 years of age for all deputies and detention 

officers and be at least 18 years of age for all 

telecommunicators; 

(3) be a high school graduate, or the equivalent 

(GED); 

(4) have been fingerprinted by the employing 

agency; 

(5) have had a medical examination as required by 

12 NCAC 10B .0304; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening examination as described by G.S. 

17E-7. 

(A) If a face-to-face, in-person interview is 

not practicable, the face-to-face may 

be virtual as long as both the audio and 

video allow for a professional clinical 

evaluation in a clinical environment. 

(B) The psychological screening 

examination shall be given prior to the 

initial certification or prior to the 

justice officer performing any action 

requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(C) The This psychological screening 

shall be valid for a period of one year 

prior to the justice's officer's initial 

appointment and applies to any justice 

officer seeking initial or probationary 

certification effective January 1, 2022 

or later. 

(6)(7) have produced a negative result on a drug 

screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(A) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other initial and 

confirmatory tests as may be 

authorized or mandated by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs 

[http://workplace.samhsa.gov/]; 

[https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace]; 

(B) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(C) the drugs whose use shall be tested for 

shall include cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(D) the test threshold values established by 

the Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs are incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. Copies of 

this information may be obtained from 

the National Institute on Drug Abuse, 

5600 Fisher Lane, Rockville, 

Maryland 20857 

http://www.drugabuse.gov/ at no cost; 

(E) the test results shall be dated no more 

than 60 days before employment or 

appointment, whichever is earlier; 

(F) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal rules, regulations, 

and guidelines pertaining to the 

handling, testing, storage, and 

preservation of samples; and 

(G) each drug test laboratory report shall 

be reviewed by a medical review 

officer (MRO), who shall be a licensed 

physician; 

(7)(8) make the following notifications: 

(A) within five business days, notify the 

Standards Division and the appointing 

department head in writing of all 

criminal offenses with which the 

officer is charged. This shall include 

all criminal offenses except minor 

traffic offenses. A minor traffic 

offense means any offense under G.S. 

20 or similar laws of other 

jurisdictions; except those Chapter 20 

offenses defined as either a Class A or 

B Misdemeanor in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0103(10). The initial notification 

required must specify the nature of the 

offense, the date of offense, and the 

arresting agency. Within five business 

days, notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 

50B) and Civil No Contact Orders 

(G.S. 50C) that are issued by a judicial 

official against the justice officer and 

that provide an opportunity for both 

parties to be present; 

(B) within 20 days of the date the case was 

disposed, notify the appointing 

department head of the adjudication of 
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these criminal charges, Domestic 

Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil 

No Contact Orders (G.S. 50C). The 

department head, provided he or she 

has knowledge of the officer's charges, 

Domestic Violence Orders (G.S. 50B), 

and Civil No Contact Orders (G.S. 

50C), shall also notify the Division 

within 30 days of the date the case or 

order was disposed of in court. 

(C) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed, notify the Standards 

Division of the adjudication of these 

criminal charges, Domestic Violence 

Orders (G.S. 50B), and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C); 

(D) the required notifications of 

adjudication shall specify the nature of 

the offense, the court in which the case 

was handled, and the date of 

disposition and shall include a 

certified copy of the final disposition 

from the Clerk of Court in the county 

of adjudication; 

(E) receipt by the Standards Division of 

timely notification of the initial 

offenses charged and of adjudication 

of those offenses, from either the 

officer or the department head, shall 

be sufficient notice for compliance 

with this Subparagraph; 

(8)(9) be of good moral character as defined in: In re 

Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E.2d 771 (1975), 

appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); State v. 

Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 (1940); In 

re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E.2d 174 (1989); 

In re Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 N.C. 

162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. Benbow, 309 

N.C. 538, 308 S.E.2d 647 (1983); and later 

court decisions that cite these cases as 

authority; 

(9)(10) have a background investigation conducted by 

the employing agency, including a personal 

interview prior to employment as required by 

Rules .0305 and .0306 of this Section; 

(10)(11) not have committed or been convicted of a 

crime or crimes specified in 12 NCAC 10B 

.0307. 

(b)  The requirements of this Rule shall apply to all applications 

for certification and shall also apply at all times during which the 

justice officer is certified by the Commission. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2018; February 1, 2014; January 1, 

2006; January 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; January 1, 1996; January 

1, 1994; January 1, 1993; January 1, 1992; July 1, 1990; January 

1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2022. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 16, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 
Lawrence Duke  984-236-1938 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 20, 2022 March 17, 2022 
 February 17, 2022 April 21, 2022 

 

 
 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING 
MINUTES 

December 16, 2021 
 

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, December 16, 2021, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church 
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx. 
 
Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Margaret Currin, Randy Overton, and Bob Rucho were 
present in the Commission Room. Commissioners present via WebEx were Wayne R. Boyles III, Jeff Hyde, Barbara 
Jackson, and Paul Powell. 
 
Staff members present were Alexander Burgos; Commission Counsel Brian Liebman and Amber May. 
 
The meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding. 
 
The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to 
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest. 
 
The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following items on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of 
the agenda: Temporary rules for Department of Health and Human Services, Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors, 
and Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors. 
 
APPROVAL OF MINUTES 
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the November 18, 2021, meeting. 
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed. 
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None.  
 
FOLLOW UP MATTERS 
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Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0226, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0238, .0242, .0244, .0417; 09G 
.0414, .0415, and .0416 – The rules were returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES) 
Soil and Water Conservation Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended as requested by the agency to address technical changes by 
roll-call vote ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret 
Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Medical Care Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Private Protective Services Board  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Environmental Management Commission  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
15A NCAC 02L .0202 - Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended as requested by the agency to address 
technical changes by roll-call vote ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, 
Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the 
negative: None. 
 
Marine Fisheries Commission  
The rules were withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners  
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Licensing Board for General Contractors 
Prior to the review of the rules from the Licensing Board for General Contractors, Commissioner Boyles recused himself 
and did not participate in any discussion or vote concerning the rules because in Rule 21 NCAC 12A .0202, page 4, lines 
4-10, has as their subject matter, railroad construction standards. He has a client who has a railroad that he represents in 
federal matters. Although this Rule pertains to State standards, he has abstained from voting for the potential of a conflict 
of interest.  
 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho 
– 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
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Board of Landscape Architects   
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul 
Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Medical Board    
Prior to the review of the rules from the Medical Board, Commissioner Atkins recused himself and did not participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning the rules because of a conflict. 
Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 8, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: 
Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob 
Rucho – 8. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
Board of Pharmacy   
Upon the call of the Chair, the period of review was extended as requested by the agency to allow the Board an opportunity 
to review comments received from the public by roll-call vote ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew 
Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and 
Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES) 
Department of Health and Human Service  
Upon the call of the Chair, 10A NCAC 22Q .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106; 22R .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, and 
.0105 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles 
III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in 
the negative: None. 
 
Curtis B. Venable with Ott, Cone, and Redpath, P.A., addressed the Commission. 
 
Anthony Okunak with the North Carolina Healthcare Association addressed the Commission. 
 
Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission  
12 NCAC 10B .0301 - Upon the call of the Chair, the rule was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
12 NCAC 10B .0704 was withdrawn at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission. 
 
Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 21 NCAC 18B .0308 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: 
Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, 
Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 18B .0308 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b) for lack of statutory authority. 
Specifically, the Commission found that the State Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors did not have authority under 
G.S. 87-1.1 to limit the percentage of plumbing, heating, or fire sprinkler contracting work in any bid submitted pursuant to 
that statute. 
 
Reed Fountain, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
 
Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors 
Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 21 NCAC 50 .0415 by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting 
in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy 
Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: None. 
 
The Commission objected to 21 NCAC 50 .0415 for lack of statutory authority. Specifically, the Commission found that the 
State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating, and Fire Sprinkler Contractors did not have authority under G.S. 87-1.1 to 
limit the percentage of electrical contracting work in any bid submitted pursuant to that statute. 
 
Reed Fountain, the rulemaking coordinator with the agency, addressed the Commission. 
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COMMISSION BUSINESS 
Upon the call of the Chair, the RRC voted to designate Amber May as the new rulemaking coordinator for the Commission 
by roll-call vote ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, 
Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho – 9. Voting in the negative: 
None. 
 
The Chair announced that the Rules Division is set to launch the new E-filing system on January 18, 2022. 
 
The Chair asked for any questions or concerns regarding the 2022 RRC meeting dates. There were none and the dates 
were approved as distributed. 
 
The meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m. 
 
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, January 20, 2022, at 9:00 a.m. 
 
 
      
      
Alexander Burgos, Paralegal 
 
 
      
Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission: 
Jeanette Doran, Chair 
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Rules Review Commission Meeting December 16, 2021 

Held Via WebEx 
 

 

Name   Agency  

Maria Bruner DOJ 

John Barr DEQ 

Calvin Kirven Landscape Contractors 

Elizabeth Robinson Retail Merchants 

Helen Landi DOT 

Kerri Johnson Chewy.com 

Jessica Adama Telepharm.com 

Paul Drake PPDFSU 

C Baker DHHS 

Anna Choi General Contractors 

Carrie Hollis OSBM 

Elizabeth Grady DHHS 

Diane Konopka SHETS 

Mike Ranck EMC 

Atul Bhikha DHHS 

Bridget Shelton DEQ 

Lara Klibansky DENR 

Hannah Jernigan DOT 

Laura Rowe Treasurer 

Shalisa Jones DHHS 

Curtis Venable Ott Cone & Redpath, P.A. 

C.Frank Wiesner General Contractors 

Christian Waters WRC 

Megan Lamphere DHHS 

Michael Briggs WRC 

Ademola Are Pillpack.com 

Reed Fountain Plumbing, Heating and Fire 

Ashley Pekrul WRC 

Micheala Mitchell DHHS 

Lisa Pittman DHHS 

Kathy Rawls DENR 

Catherine Blum EMC 

Shawn Maier DOJ 

Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR 

Alicia Palombo  

Charminique Williams CJETS 

Kim Harron DHHS 

Jennifer Everett DEQ 

Clint Pinyan Pharmacy 

Gabrielle Chianese DENR 
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES 

December 16, 2021 Meeting 

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Scope 10A NCAC 22Q .0101 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22Q .0102 

Distributions 10A NCAC 22Q .0103 

Certifying Hospital Distribution 10A NCAC 22Q .0104 

Certifying Hospitals' Outpatient Costs 10A NCAC 22Q .0105 

Certifying Hospitals' Proportionate Share 10A NCAC 22Q .0106 

Scope 10A NCAC 22R .0101 

Definitions 10A NCAC 22R .0102 

Eligible Hospital 10A NCAC 22R .0103 

Eligible Outpatient Costs 10A NCAC 22R .0104 

Distribution of Available Funds 10A NCAC 22R .0105 

 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Minimum Standards for Justice Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0301 

 

 

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES 

December 16, 2021 Meeting 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Qualification of Food Service Supervisor 10A NCAC 13F .0405 

Food Service Orientation 10A NCAC 13F .0509 

Availability of Corrective Action and Survey Reports 10A NCAC 13F .1213 

Food Service Orientation 10A NCAC 13G .0509 

Availability of Corrective Action and Survey Reports 10A NCAC 13G .1214 

 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .1601 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .1603 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .1701 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .1901 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .1903 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2301 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2303 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2401 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2403 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2501 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2503 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2601 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2603 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .2701 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .2703 

Definitions 10A NCAC 14C .3701 

Performance Standards 10A NCAC 14C .3703 
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CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09A .0205 

Basic Training - Juvenile Court Counselors and Chief Cour... 12 NCAC 09B .0235 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 12 NCAC 09B .0305 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 12 NCAC 09G .0505 

 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Required Continuing Education Hours 14B NCAC 16 .1202 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02E .0106 

Delegation 15A NCAC 02E .0107 

Application; Processing Fees 15A NCAC 02E .0301 

Declaration and Delineation of Central Coastal Plain Capa... 15A NCAC 02E .0501 

Withdrawal Permits 15A NCAC 02E .0502 

Prescribed Water Use Reductions in Cretaceous Aquifer Zones 15A NCAC 02E .0503 

Requirements for Entry and Inspection 15A NCAC 02E .0504 

Acceptable Withdrawal Methods that do not Require a Permit 15A NCAC 02E .0505 

Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area Status Report 15A NCAC 02E .0506 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02E .0507 

Scope 15A NCAC 02E .0601 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02E .0602 

General Information 15A NCAC 02E .0603 

Annual Reporting of Water Use Data 15A NCAC 02E .0604 

Water Use Reduction Reporting. New Water Withdrawal Repor... 15A NCAC 02E .0605 

Water Shortage Response Planning Requirements 15A NCAC 02E .0606 

Publicly and Privately Owned Water System Water Shortage ... 15A NCAC 02E .0607 

State Agency Water Shortage Response Planning Requirements 15A NCAC 02E .0608 

Local Government Water Shortage Response Planning Require... 15A NCAC 02E .0609 

Business and Industrial Water Shortage Response Planning ... 15A NCAC 02E .0610 

Agricultural and Horticultural Water Shortage Response Pl... 15A NCAC 02E .0611 

Default Water Shortage Response Planning Measures 15A NCAC 02E .0612 

Default Water Use Reduction Measures During NCDMAC  15A NCAC 02E .0613 

Default Water Use Reduction Measures During NCDMAC ... 15A NCAC 02E .0614 

Water Reuse During Droughts and Water Emergencies 15A NCAC 02E .0615 

 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Requirements for Licensure 21 NCAC 10 .0201 

Licensure; Renewal of License 21 NCAC 10 .0204 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 10 .0205 

Certification of Radiologic Technologists 21 NCAC 10 .0206 

Certified Chiropractic Assistants 21 NCAC 10 .0213 

Designation of Specialties 21 NCAC 10 .0304 
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GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Classification 21 NCAC 12A .0202 

License Granted 21 NCAC 12A .0501 

Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0203 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 21 NCAC 12B .0302 

Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 12B .0401 

 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF 

Authority: Name and Location of the Board 21 NCAC 26 .0101 

Fees 21 NCAC 26 .0105 

Definitions 21 NCAC 26 .0107 

Board Listing of Individuals and Firm Names 21 NCAC 26 .0201 

Name of Firm 21 NCAC 26 .0206 

Unprofessional Conduct 21 NCAC 26 .0209 

Dishonest Practice 21 NCAC 26 .0210 

Scope of Practice 21 NCAC 26 .0212 

License by Comity 21 NCAC 26 .0303 

Reinstatement After Revocation 21 NCAC 26 .0306 

Duties and Functions of Continuing Education Advisory Com... 21 NCAC 26 .0308 

Exemptions and Extension of Time 21 NCAC 26 .0309 

Reinstatement Criteria 21 NCAC 26 .0310 

Continuing Education Requests for Approval 21 NCAC 26 .0311 

Compliance 21 NCAC 26 .0312 

Individual Licenses 21 NCAC 26 .0313 

Corporate Practice of Landscape Architecture 21 NCAC 26 .0314 

Out-of-State Entities 21 NCAC 26 .0315 

Complaints and Disciplinary Review Process 21 NCAC 26 .0510 

 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Approved Categories of CME 21 NCAC 32R .0102 

Continuing Medical Education 21 NCAC 32S .0216 

 
 

 

 


