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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Department of Labor intends to amend the rules cited as 13 NCAC 

01B .0101, .0102 and repeal the rule cited as 13 NCAC 01B .0103. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.labor.nc.gov/rules-and-regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  January 18, 2022 

Time:  10:30 a.m. 

Location:  Virtual: https://call.lifesizecloud.com/12571003 or +1 

(312) 584-2401, 12571003# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To modernize the rule and make 

it concurrent with the Administrative Procedures Act, NC General 

Statutes Chapter 150B. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Jill F. Cramer, 1101 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101; email 

jill.cramer@labor.nc.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  March 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 01 - DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 01B - RULE-MAKING AND 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING PROCEDURES 

 

SECTION .0100 - PETITIONS FOR RULES 

 

13 NCAC 01B .0101 INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING A 

PETITION FOR RULE-MAKING HEARINGS 

Any person wishing to submit a petition requesting the adoption, 

amendment or repeal of a rule by the Commissioner of Labor shall 

submit the petition in writing to: Rule-making Coordinator, N.C. 

Department of Labor, 1101 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-1101. The exterior of the envelope or container 

of the petition shall clearly bear the notation: RULE-MAKING 

PETITION. 

(a)  Any person may petition the Department to adopt a new 

permanent rule, or amend or repeal an existing permanent rule by 

submitting a rule-making petition to the Department at 1101 Mail 

Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101. The petition shall be 

titled "Petition for Rule-making" and shall include the following 

information: 

(1) the name and address of the person submitting 

the petition; 

(2) a citation to any rule for which an amendment 

or repeal is requested; 

(3) the text of any proposed rule or amended rule; 

(4) an explanation of why the new rule or 

amendment or repeal of an existing rule is 

requested and the effect of the new rule, 

amendment, or repeal on the Department; 

(5) the statutory authority for the agency to 

promulgate the rule(s); 

(6) a statement of the effect of the proposed rule(s) 

on existing practices in the area involved, 

including cost factors for persons affected by 

the proposed rule(s); 

(7) a statement explaining the computation of the 

cost factors; 

(8) a description, including the entities, if known, 

of those most likely to be affected by the 

proposed rule(s); 

(9) documents and data supporting the proposed 

rule(s); and 

(10) any other information the person submitting the 

petition considers relevant. 

(b)  The Department shall decide whether to grant or deny a 

petition for rule-making within 120 days of receiving the petition. 

In making the decision, the Department shall consider the 

information submitted with the petition and any other relevant 

information. 
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(c)  In its review of the proposed permanent rule, the Department 

shall consider whether it has authority to adopt the rule; the effect 

of the proposed rule on existing rules, programs, and practices; 

probable costs and cost factors of the proposed rule; and the 

impact of the rule on the public and regulated entities. 

(d)  When the Department denies a petition for rule-making, a 

written notice of the denial shall be sent to the person who 

submitted the request. The notice shall state the reason for the 

denial. 

(e)  When the Department grants a rulemaking petition, the 

Department shall initiate permanent rule-making proceedings and 

send written notice of the proceedings to the person who 

submitted the request. 

(f)  Filings that do not contain the information required by this 

Rule shall not be accepted and shall be returned by the 

Department to the person making the filing. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-4(2). 

 

13 NCAC 01B .0102 CONTENTS OF PETITION 

MAILING LIST 

The petition shall include the following: 

(1) an indication of the subject area to which the 

petition is directed and, if known, the number 

of the North Carolina Administrative Code 

provision for which an amendment is proposed 

or the section of the North Carolina 

Administrative Code to which the new 

proposed rule is proposed to be added; 

(2) a printed copy of the text of the proposed 

amendment or rule and a computer disk 

containing the proposed text in WordPerfect7 

or MSWORD7 or other word-processing 

program convertible to WordPerfect or 

MSWORD. The requirement for a computer 

disk shall be waived upon a showing of lack of 

access to such a word-processing program; 

(3) reasons for the proposal; 

(4) the effect of the proposed amendment or rule 

including: 

(a) the effect on existing rules; 

(b) the effect on local government, if any, 

as described in G.S. 150B-21(c) and 

150B-21.4(b); 

(c) whether the proposed amendment or 

rule would have a substantial 

economic impact as defined in G.S. 

150B-21.4(b1) and an estimation of 

such impact and how the estimate was 

derived; and 

(d) the primary types of employees, 

businesses or other entities on which 

there would be an effect; 

(5) any supporting data or other materials such as 

examples and research; and 

(6) names, telephone and facsimile numbers and 

address(es) including e-mail address(es) of the 

petitioner(s). If petitioner(s) represent 

organizations or entities, the name(s) and 

addresses of the represented organizations shall 

also be provided. 

(a)  Any person or agency desiring to be placed on the mailing list 

for the Department's rule-making notices issued pursuant to G.S. 

150B-21.2 may file a request in writing to the Commissioner of 

the Department at 1101 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-

1101. 

(b)  The request shall: 

(1) include the person's name and address; 

(2) specify the subject areas within the authority of 

the Department for which notice is requested; 

and  

(3) state the calendar year(s) for which the notice is 

desired. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-4(2); 150B-16. 

 

13 NCAC 01B .0103 DISPOSITION OF PETITIONS 

(a)  The rule-making coordinator designated under G.S. 150B-21 

or the commissioner's designee shall review the request. If the 

requirements of 13 NCAC 01B .0102 regarding the contents of 

the petition are not met, the petition shall not be accepted and shall 

be returned to the petitioner(s) with the deficiencies noted. 

Additional information may be requested from the petitioner(s). 

(b)  Complete petition(s) and accompanying materials shall be 

reviewed to determine whether the petition(s) will be granted or 

denied. Review of a petition may include additional information 

gathered by the department. Petitioner(s) shall be notified of the 

decision of the department in accordance with G.S. 150B-20. 

 

Authority G.S. 95-4(2); 150B-16. 

 

 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 14B NCAC 15C .0307. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://abc.nc.gov/ 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 9, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  ABC Commission Hearing Room, 400 East Tryon 

Road, Raleigh, NC 27610 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  To amend a permanent rule to 

expand the maximum allowable growler size for malt beverages 

and unfortified wine from 2 liters to 4 liters, as directed by the 

General Assembly in S.L. 2021-150, Sec. 7. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Walker Reagan, 400 East 

Tryon Road, Raleigh, NC 27610; phone (919) 984-7947; fax 

(919) 661-6165; email walker.reagan@abc.nc.gov 
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Comment period ends:  March 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 15 - ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL 

COMMISSION 

 

SUBCHAPTER 15C - INDUSTRY MEMBERS: 

RETAIL/INDUSTRY MEMBER RELATIONSHIPS: SHIP 

CHANDLERS: AIR CARRIERS: FUEL ALCOHOL 

 

SECTION .0300 - PACKAGING AND LABELING OF 

MALT BEVERAGES AND WINE 

 

14B NCAC 15C .0307 GROWLERS 

(a)  As used in this Section, a "growler" is a rigid glass, ceramic, 

plastic, aluminum, or stainless steel container with a closure or 

cap with a secure sealing that is no larger than 2 liters (0.5283 

gallons) 4 liters (1.0567 gallons) into which a malt beverage or 

unfortified wine is prefilled, filled, or refilled for off-premises 

consumption. 

(b)  Malt beverages may be sold in growlers as follows: 

(1) Holders of only a brewery permit may sell, 

deliver, and ship growlers prefilled with the 

brewery's malt beverage for off-premises 

consumption provided a label is affixed to the 

growler that provides the information as 

required by Rules .0303(a) and .0305 of this 

Section. 

(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1001(1), (2), or (16) who do not hold a brewery 

permit shall not prefill growlers with malt 

beverage. 

(3) Holders of a brewery permit who also have 

retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1) 

may fill or refill growlers on demand with the 

brewery's malt beverage for off-premises 

consumption, provided the label as required by 

Rules .0303(b) and (c) and .0305 of this Section 

is affixed to the growler. 

(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1001(1), (2), or (16) may fill or refill growlers 

on demand with draft malt beverage for off-

premises consumption, provided the label as 

required by Rules .0303(b) and (c) and .0305 of 

this Section is affixed to the growler. 

(c)  Unfortified wine may be sold in growlers as follows: 

(1) Holders of only an unfortified winery permit 

may sell, deliver, and ship growlers prefilled 

with the winery's unfortified wine for off-

premises consumption provided a label is 

affixed to the growler that provides the 

information as required by Rules .0304(a), (b), 

and (c), and .0305 of this Section. 

(2) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1001(3), (4), or (16) who do not hold an 

unfortified winery permit shall not prefill 

growlers with unfortified wine. 

(3) Holders of an unfortified winery permit who 

also have retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1001(3) may fill or refill growlers on demand 

with the winery's unfortified wine for off-

premises consumption, provided the label as 

required by Rules .0304(d) and (e) and .0305 of 

this Section is affixed to the growler. 

(4) Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-

1001(3), (4), or (16) may fill or refill growlers 

on demand with unfortified wine for off-

premises consumption, provided the label as 

required by Rules .0304(d) and (e) and .0305 of 

this Section is affixed to the growler. 

(d)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), 

(3), (4), or (16) shall affix a label as required by Rules .0303(b) 

and (c), .0304(d) and (e), and .0305 of this Section to the growler 

when filling or refilling a growler. 

(e)  Holders of retail permits pursuant to G.S. 18B-1001(1), (2), 

(3), (4), or (16), may, in their discretion, refuse to fill or refill a 

growler, except in matters of discrimination pursuant to G.S. 18B-

305(c). 

 

Authority G.S. 18B-100; 18B-206(a); 18B-207; 18B-305; 18B-

1001. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Coastal Resources Commission intends to adopt the rule cited as 

15A NCAC 07M .0310, amend the rules cited as 15A NCAC 07H 

.0208, .0306, .0308, .1205, .1801, .1805; 07J .0403, .0404; 07K 

.0208; 07M .0302, .0307, and repeal the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

07M .0301, .0303, .0306 and .0308. 
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 

impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 

the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available 

on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-

regulations/proposed-main/proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 10, 2022 

Time:  1:30 p.m. 

Location:  Beaufort Hotel, 2440 Lennoxville Road, Beaufort, NC 

28516 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 07H .0208 and  .1205: The CRC is proposing 

amendments to allow the permitting of structural boat covers.  

15A NCAC 07H .0306 and 07K .0208: The CRC is proposing 

amendments to clarify when a permit is needed for the elevation 

of structures.  

15A NCAC 07J .0403 and .0404: The CRC is proposing 

amendments to lengthen the initial expiration date of most Major 

Permits. 

15A NCAC 07H .0308, .1801, and  .1805: The CRC is proposing 

amendments to extend the use of a beach bulldozing General 

Permit or Emergency Permit to oceanfront areas inside an inlet 

hazard area. 

15A NCAC 07M .0300: The CRC is proposing amendments to 

address implementation aspects of the CAMA Public Beach and 

Coastal Waterfront Access Program as well as reorganize some 

of the rules based on grant administration, local government 

requirements, and project selection. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Braxton Davis, 400 

Commerce Avenue, Morehead City, NC 28557; phone (252) 808-

2808 

 

Comment period ends:  March 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 07 - COASTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07H - STATE GUIDELINES FOR AREAS 

OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN 

 

SECTION .0200 – THE ESTUARINE AND OCEAN 

SYSTEMS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0208 USE STANDARDS 

(a)  General Use Standards 

(1) Uses that are not water dependent shall not be 

permitted in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, 

and public trust areas. Restaurants, residences, 

apartments, motels, hotels, trailer parks, private 

roads, factories, and parking lots are examples 

of uses that are not water dependent. Uses that 

are water dependent include: utility crossings, 

wind energy facilities, docks, wharves, boat 

ramps, dredging, bridges and bridge 

approaches, revetments, bulkheads, culverts, 

groins, navigational aids, mooring pilings, 

navigational channels, access channels and 

drainage ditches; 

(2) Before being granted a permit, the CRC or local 

permitting authority shall find that the applicant 

has complied with the following standards: 

(A) The location, design, and need for 

development, as well as the 

construction activities involved shall 

be consistent with the management 

objective of the Estuarine and Ocean 

System AEC (Rule .0203 of this 

subchapter) and shall be sited and 

designed to avoid significant adverse 

impacts upon the productivity and 

biologic integrity of coastal wetlands, 

shellfish beds, submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the Marine 

Fisheries Commission, and spawning 

and nursery areas; 

(B) Development shall comply with State 

and federal water and air quality rules, 

statutes and regulations; 

(C) Development shall not cause 

irreversible damage to documented 

archaeological or historic resources as 

identified by the N.C. Department of 

Cultural resources; 

(D) Development shall not increase 

siltation; 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(E) Development shall not create stagnant 

water bodies; 

(F) Development shall be timed to avoid 

significant adverse impacts on life 

cycles of estuarine and ocean 

resources; and 

(G) Development shall not jeopardize the 

use of the waters for navigation or for 

other public trust rights in public trust 

areas including estuarine waters. 

(3) When the proposed development is in conflict 

with the general or specific use standards set 

forth in this Rule, the CRC may approve the 

development if the applicant can demonstrate 

that the activity associated with the proposed 

project will have public benefits as identified in 

the findings and goals of the Coastal Area 

Management Act, that the public benefits 

outweigh the long range adverse effects of the 

project, that there is no reasonable alternate site 

available for the project, and that all reasonable 

means and measures to mitigate adverse 

impacts of the project have been incorporated 

into the project design and shall be 

implemented at the applicant's expense. 

Measures taken to mitigate or minimize adverse 

impacts shall include actions that: 

(A) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by 

limiting the magnitude or degree of the 

action; 

(B) restore the affected environment; or 

(C) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute 

resources. 

(4) "Primary nursery areas" are defined as those 

areas in the estuarine and ocean system where 

initial post larval development of finfish and 

crustaceans takes place. They are usually 

located in the uppermost sections of a system 

where populations are uniformly early juvenile 

stages. Primary nursery areas are designated 

and described by the N.C. Marine Fisheries 

Commission (MFC) and by the N.C. Wildlife 

Resources Commission (WRC); 

(5) "Outstanding Resource Waters" (ORW) are 

defined as those estuarine waters and public 

trust areas classified by the N.C. Environmental 

Management Commission (EMC). In those 

estuarine waters and public trust areas classified 

as ORW by the EMC no permit required by the 

Coastal Area Management Act shall be 

approved for any project which would be 

inconsistent with applicable use standards 

adopted by the CRC, EMC, or MFC for 

estuarine waters, public trust areas, or coastal 

wetlands. For development activities not 

covered by specific use standards, no permit 

shall be issued if the activity would, based on 

site specific information, degrade the water 

quality or outstanding resource values; and 

(6) Beds of "submerged aquatic vegetation" (SAV) 

are defined as those habitats in public trust and 

estuarine waters vegetated with one or more 

species of submergent vegetation. These 

vegetation beds occur in both subtidal and 

intertidal zones and may occur in isolated 

patches or cover extensive areas. In either case, 

the bed is defined by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission. Any rules relating to SAVs shall 

not apply to non-development control activities 

authorized by the Aquatic Weed Control Act of 

1991 (G.S. 113A-220 et seq.). 

(b)  Specific Use Standards 

(1) Navigation channels, canals, and boat basins 

shall be aligned or located so as to avoid 

primary nursery areas, shellfish beds, beds of 

submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the 

MFC, or areas of coastal wetlands except as 

otherwise allowed within this Subchapter. 

Navigation channels, canals and boat basins 

shall also comply with the following standards: 

(A) Navigation channels and canals may 

be allowed through fringes of 

regularly and irregularly flooded 

coastal wetlands if the loss of wetlands 

will have no significant adverse 

impacts on fishery resources, water 

quality or adjacent wetlands, and if 

there is no reasonable alternative that 

would avoid the wetland losses; 

(B) All dredged material shall be confined 

landward of regularly and irregularly 

flooded coastal wetlands and 

stabilized to prevent entry of 

sediments into the adjacent water 

bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(C) Dredged material from maintenance of 

channels and canals through 

irregularly flooded wetlands shall be 

placed on non-wetland areas, remnant 

spoil piles, or disposed of by a method 

having no significant, long-term 

wetland impacts. Under no 

circumstances shall dredged material 

be placed on regularly flooded 

wetlands. New dredged material 

disposal areas shall not be located in 

the buffer area as outlined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0209(d)(10); 

(D) Widths of excavated canals and 

channels shall be the minimum 

required to meet the applicant's needs 

but not impair water circulation; 

(E) Boat basin design shall maximize 

water exchange by having the widest 

possible opening and the shortest 

practical entrance canal. Depths of 
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boat basins shall decrease from the 

waterward end inland; 

(F) Any canal or boat basin shall be 

excavated no deeper than the depth of 

the connecting waters; 

(G) Construction of finger canal systems 

are not allowed. Canals shall be either 

straight or meandering with no right 

angle corners; 

(H) Canals shall be designed so as not to 

create an erosion hazard to adjoining 

property. Design may include 

shoreline stabilization, vegetative 

stabilization, or setbacks based on soil 

characteristics; and 

(I) Maintenance excavation in canals, 

channels and boat basins within 

primary nursery areas and areas of 

submerged aquatic vegetation as 

defined by the MFC shall be avoided. 

However, when essential to maintain a 

traditional and established use, 

maintenance excavation may be 

approved if the applicant meets all of 

the following criteria: 

(i) The applicant demonstrates 

and documents that a 

water-dependent need exists 

for the excavation; 

(ii) There exists a previously 

permitted channel that was 

constructed or maintained 

under permits issued by the 

State or Federal government. 

If a natural channel was in 

use, or if a human-made 

channel was constructed 

before permitting was 

necessary, there shall be 

evidence that the channel was 

continuously used for a 

specific purpose; 

(iii) Excavated material can be 

removed and placed in a 

disposal area in accordance 

with Part (b)(1)(B) of this 

Rule without impacting 

adjacent nursery areas and 

submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the 

MFC; and 

(iv) The original depth and width 

of a human-made or natural 

channel shall not be 

increased to allow a new or 

expanded use of the channel. 

(2) Hydraulic Dredging 

(A) The terminal end of the dredge 

pipeline shall be positioned at a 

distance sufficient to preclude erosion 

of the containment dike and a 

maximum distance from spillways to 

allow settlement of suspended solids; 

(B) Dredged material shall be either 

confined on high ground by retaining 

structures or deposited on beaches for 

purposes of renourishment if the 

material is suitable in accordance with 

the rules in this Subchapter, except as 

provided in Part (G) of this 

Subparagraph; 

(C) Confinement of excavated materials 

shall be landward of all coastal 

wetlands and shall employ soil 

stabilization measures to prevent entry 

of sediments into the adjacent water 

bodies or coastal wetlands; 

(D) Effluent from diked areas receiving 

disposal from hydraulic dredging 

operations shall be contained by pipe, 

trough, or similar device to a point 

waterward of emergent vegetation or, 

where local conditions require, below 

normal low water or normal water 

level. 

(E) When possible, effluent from diked 

disposal areas shall be returned to the 

area being dredged; 

(F) A water control structure shall be 

installed at the intake end of the 

effluent pipe. 

(G) Publicly funded projects shall be 

considered by review agencies on a 

case-by-case basis with respect to 

dredging methods and dredged 

material disposal in accordance with 

Subparagraph (a)(3) of this Rule; and 

(H) Dredged material from closed 

shellfish waters and effluent from 

diked disposal areas used when 

dredging in closed shellfish waters 

shall be returned to the closed shellfish 

waters. 

(3) Drainage Ditches 

(A) Drainage ditches located through any 

coastal wetland shall not exceed six 

feet wide by four feet deep (from 

ground surface) unless the applicant 

shows that larger ditches are 

necessary; 

(B) Dredged material derived from the 

construction or maintenance of 

drainage ditches through regularly 

flooded marsh shall be placed 

landward of these marsh areas in a 

manner that will insure that entry of 

sediment into the water or marsh will 

not occur. Dredged material derived 
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from the construction or maintenance 

of drainage ditches through irregularly 

flooded marshes shall be placed on 

non-wetlands wherever feasible. 

Non-wetland areas include relic 

disposal sites; 

(C) Excavation of new ditches through 

high ground shall take place landward 

of an earthen plug or other methods to 

minimize siltation to adjacent water 

bodies; and 

(D) Drainage ditches shall not have a 

significant adverse impact on primary 

nursery areas, productive shellfish 

beds, submerged aquatic vegetation as 

defined by the MFC, or other estuarine 

habitat. Drainage ditches shall be 

designed so as to minimize the effects 

of freshwater inflows, sediment, and 

the introduction of nutrients to 

receiving waters. Settling basins, 

water gates and retention structures 

are examples of design alternatives 

that may be used to minimize sediment 

introduction. 

(4) Nonagricultural Drainage 

(A) Drainage ditches shall be designed so 

that restrictions in the volume or 

diversions of flow are minimized to 

both surface and ground water; 

(B) Drainage ditches shall provide for the 

passage of migratory organisms by 

allowing free passage of water of 

sufficient depth; and 

(C) Drainage ditches shall not create 

stagnant water pools or changes in the 

velocity of flow. 

(5) Marinas. "Marinas" are defined as any publicly 

or privately owned dock, basin or wet boat 

storage facility constructed to accommodate 

more than 10 boats and providing any of the 

following services: permanent or transient 

docking spaces, dry storage, fueling facilities, 

haulout facilities and repair service. Excluded 

from this definition are boat ramp facilities 

allowing access only, temporary docking and 

none of the preceding services. Expansion of 

existing facilities shall comply with the 

standards of this Subparagraph for all 

development other than maintenance and repair 

necessary to maintain previous service levels. 

Marinas shall comply with the following 

standards: 

(A) Marinas shall be sited in non-wetland 

areas or in deep waters (areas not 

requiring dredging) and shall not 

disturb shellfish resources, submerged 

aquatic vegetation as defined by the 

MFC, or wetland habitats, except for 

dredging necessary for access to 

high-ground sites. The following four 

alternatives for siting marinas are 

listed in order of preference for the 

least damaging alterative; marina 

projects shall be designed to have the 

highest of these four priorities that is 

deemed feasible by the permit letting 

agency: 

(i) an upland basin site requiring 

no alteration of wetland or 

estuarine habitat and 

providing flushing by tidal or 

wind generated water 

circulation or basin design 

characteristics; 

(ii) an upland basin site requiring 

dredging for access when the 

necessary dredging and 

operation of the marina will 

not result in significant 

adverse impacts to existing 

fishery, shellfish, or wetland 

resources and the basin 

design shall provide flushing 

by tidal or wind generated 

water circulation; 

(iii) an open water site located 

outside a primary nursery 

area which utilizes piers or 

docks rather than channels or 

canals to reach deeper water; 

and 

(iv) an open water marina 

requiring excavation of no 

intertidal habitat, and no 

dredging greater than the 

depth of the connecting 

channel. 

(B) Marinas that require dredging shall not 

be located in primary nursery areas nor 

in areas which require dredging 

through primary nursery areas for 

access. Maintenance dredging in 

primary nursery areas for existing 

marinas shall comply with the 

standards set out in Part (b)(1)(I) of 

this Rule; 

(C) To minimize coverage of public trust 

areas by docks and moored vessels, 

dry storage marinas shall be used 

where feasible; 

(D) Marinas to be developed in waters 

subject to public trust rights (other 

than those created by dredging upland 

basins or canals) for the purpose of 

providing docking for residential 

developments shall be allowed no 

more than 27 square feet of public 
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trust areas for every one linear foot of 

shoreline adjacent to these public trust 

areas for construction of docks and 

mooring facilities. The 27 square feet 

allocation does not apply to fairway 

areas between parallel piers or any 

portion of the pier used only for access 

from land to the docking spaces; 

(E) To protect water quality in shellfishing 

areas, marinas shall not be located 

within areas where shellfish 

harvesting for human consumption is 

a significant existing use or adjacent to 

such areas if shellfish harvest closure 

is anticipated to result from the 

location of the marina. In compliance 

with 33 U.S. Code Section 101(a)(2) 

of the Clean Water Act and North 

Carolina Water Quality Standards 

(15A NCAC 02B .0200) adopted 

pursuant to that section, shellfish 

harvesting is a significant existing use 

if it can be established that shellfish 

have been regularly harvested for 

human consumption since November 

28, 1975 or that shellfish are 

propagating and surviving in a 

biologically suitable habitat and are 

available and suitable for harvesting 

for the purpose of human 

consumption. The Division of Coastal 

Management shall consult with the 

Division of Marine Fisheries 

regarding the significance of shellfish 

harvest as an existing use and the 

magnitude of the quantities of 

shellfish that have been harvested or 

are available for harvest in the area 

where harvest will be affected by the 

development; 

(F) Marinas shall not be located without 

written consent from the leaseholders 

or owners of submerged lands that 

have been leased from the state or 

deeded by the State; 

(G) Marina basins shall be designed to 

promote flushing through the 

following design criteria: 

(i) the basin and channel depths 

shall gradually increase 

toward open water and shall 

never be deeper than the 

waters to which they connect; 

and 

(ii) when possible, an opening 

shall be provided at opposite 

ends of the basin to establish 

flow-through circulation; 

(H) Marinas shall be designed so that the 

capability of the waters to be used for 

navigation or for other public trust 

rights in estuarine or public trust 

waters are not jeopardized while 

allowing the applicant access to deep 

waters; 

(I) Marinas shall be located and 

constructed so as to avoid adverse 

impacts on navigation throughout all 

federally maintained channels and 

their boundaries as designated by the 

US Army Corps of Engineers. This 

includes mooring sites (permanent or 

temporary); speed or traffic 

reductions; or any other device, either 

physical or regulatory, that may cause 

a federally maintained channel to be 

restricted; 

(J) Open water marinas shall not be 

enclosed within breakwaters that 

preclude circulation sufficient to 

maintain water quality; 

(K) Marinas that require dredging shall 

provide areas in accordance with Part 

(b)(1)(B) of this Rule to accommodate 

disposal needs for future maintenance 

dredging, including the ability to 

remove the dredged material from the 

marina site; 

(L) Marina design shall comply with all 

applicable EMC requirements (15A 

NCAC 02B .0200) for management of 

stormwater runoff. Stormwater 

management systems shall not be 

located within the 30-foot buffer area 

outlined in 15A NCAC 07H .0209(d); 

(M) Marinas shall post a notice prohibiting 

the discharge of any waste from boat 

toilets and listing the availability of 

local pump-out services; 

(N) Boat maintenance areas shall be 

designed so that all scraping, 

sandblasting, and painting will be 

done over dry land with collection and 

containment devices that prevent entry 

of waste materials into adjacent 

waters; 

(O) All marinas shall comply with all 

applicable standards for docks and 

piers, shoreline stabilization, dredging 

and dredged material disposal of this 

Rule; 

(P) All applications for marinas shall be 

reviewed by the Division of Coastal 

Management to determine their 

potential impact to coastal resources 

and compliance with applicable 

standards of this Rule. Such review 
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shall also consider the cumulative 

impacts of marina development in 

accordance with G.S. 113A-

120(a)(10); and 

(Q) Replacement of existing marinas to 

maintain previous service levels shall 

be allowed provided that the 

development complies with the 

standards for marina development 

within this Section. 

(6) Piers and Docking Facilities. 

(A) Piers shall not exceed six feet in width. 

Piers greater than six feet in width 

shall be permitted only if the greater 

width is necessary for safe use, to 

improve public access, or to support a 

water dependent use that cannot 

otherwise occur; 

(B) The total square footage of shaded 

impact for docks and mooring 

facilities (excluding the pier) allowed 

shall be eight square feet per linear 

foot of shoreline with a maximum of 

2,000 square feet. In calculating the 

shaded impact, uncovered open water 

slips shall not be counted in the total. 

Projects requiring dimensions greater 

than those stated in this Rule shall be 

permitted only if the greater 

dimensions are necessary for safe use, 

to improve public access, or to support 

a water dependent use that cannot 

otherwise occur. Size restrictions shall 

not apply to marinas; 

(C) Piers and docking facilities over 

coastal wetlands shall be no wider than 

six feet and shall be elevated at least 

three feet above any coastal wetland 

substrate as measured from the bottom 

of the decking; 

(D) A boathouse shall not exceed 400 

square feet except to accommodate a 

documented need for a larger 

boathouse and shall have sides 

extending no farther than one-half the 

height of the walls as measured from 

the Normal Water Level or Normal 

High Water and covering only the top 

half of the walls. Measurements of 

square footage shall be taken of the 

greatest exterior dimensions. 

Boathouses shall not be allowed on 

lots with less than 75 linear feet of 

shoreline. Shoreline, except that 

structural boat covers utilizing a 

frame-supported fabric covering can 

be permitted on properties with less 

than 75 linear feet of shoreline when 

using screened fabric for side walls. 

Size restrictions do not apply to 

marinas; 

(E) The total area enclosed by an 

individual boat lift shall not exceed 

400 square feet except to 

accommodate a documented need for 

a larger boat lift; 

(F) Piers and docking facilities shall be 

single story. They may be roofed but 

shall not be designed to allow second 

story use; 

(G) Pier and docking facility length shall 

be limited by: 

(i) not extending beyond the 

established pier or docking 

facility length along the same 

shoreline for similar use. 

This restriction does not 

apply to piers 100 feet or less 

in length unless necessary to 

avoid unreasonable 

interference with navigation 

or other uses of the waters by 

the public; 

(ii) not extending into the 

channel portion of the water 

body; and 

(iii) not extending more than one-

fourth the width of a natural 

water body, or human-made 

canal or basin. Measurements 

to determine widths of the 

water body, canals or basins 

shall be made from the 

waterward edge of any 

coastal wetland vegetation 

that borders the water body. 

The one-fourth length 

limitation does not apply in 

areas where the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, or a local 

government in consultation 

with the Corps of Engineers, 

has established an official 

pier-head line. The one-

fourth length limitation shall 

not apply when the proposed 

pier is located between 

longer piers or docking 

facilities within 200 feet of 

the applicant's property. 

However, the proposed pier 

or docking facility shall not 

be longer than the pier head 

line established by the 

adjacent piers or docking 

facilities, nor longer than 

one-third the width of the 

water body. 
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(H) Piers or docking facilities longer than 

400 feet shall be permitted only if the 

proposed length gives access to deeper 

water at a rate of at least 1 foot each 

100 foot increment of length longer 

than 400 feet, or, if the additional 

length is necessary to span some 

obstruction to navigation. 

Measurements to determine lengths 

shall be made from the waterward 

edge of any coastal wetland vegetation 

that borders the water body; 

(I) Piers and docking facilities shall not 

interfere with the access to any 

riparian property and shall have a 

minimum setback of 15 feet between 

any part of the pier or docking facility 

and the adjacent property owner's 

areas of riparian access. The line of 

division of areas of riparian access 

shall be established by drawing a line 

along the channel or deep water in 

front of the properties, then drawing a 

line perpendicular to the line of the 

channel so that it intersects with the 

shore at the point the upland property 

line meets the water's edge. The 

minimum setback provided in the rule 

may be waived by the written 

agreement of the adjacent riparian 

owner(s) or when two adjoining 

riparian owners are co-applicants. If 

the adjacent property is sold before 

construction of the pier or docking 

facility commences, the applicant 

shall obtain a written agreement with 

the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the permitting 

agency prior to initiating any 

development of the pier. Application 

of this Rule may be aided by reference 

to the approved diagram in 15A 

NCAC 07H .1205(t) illustrating the 

rule as applied to various shoreline 

configurations. Copies of the diagram 

may be obtained from the Division of 

Coastal Management. When shoreline 

configuration is such that a 

perpendicular alignment cannot be 

achieved, the pier shall be aligned to 

meet the intent of this Rule to the 

maximum extent practicable as 

determined by the Director of the 

Division of Coastal Management; and 

(J) Applicants for authorization to 

construct a pier or docking facility 

shall provide notice of the permit 

application to the owner of any part of 

a shellfish franchise or lease over 

which the proposed dock or pier would 

extend. The applicant shall allow the 

lease holder the opportunity to mark a 

navigation route from the pier to the 

edge of the lease. 

(7) Bulkheads 

(A) Bulkhead alignment, for the purpose 

of shoreline stabilization, shall 

approximate the location of normal 

high water or normal water level; 

(B) Bulkheads shall be constructed 

landward of coastal wetlands in order 

to avoid significant adverse impacts to 

the resources; 

(C) Bulkhead backfill material shall be 

obtained from an upland source 

approved by the Division of Coastal 

Management pursuant to this Section, 

or if the bulkhead is a part of a 

permitted project involving 

excavation from a non-upland source, 

the material so obtained may be 

contained behind the bulkhead; 

(D) Bulkheads shall be permitted below 

normal high water or normal water 

level only when the following 

standards are met: 

(i) the property to be bulkheaded 

has an identifiable erosion 

problem, whether it results 

from natural causes or 

adjacent bulkheads, or it has 

unusual geographic or 

geologic features, e.g. steep 

grade bank, which will cause 

the applicant unreasonable 

hardship under the other 

provisions of this Rule; 

(ii) the bulkhead alignment 

extends no further below 

normal high water or normal 

water level than necessary to 

allow recovery of the area 

eroded in the year prior to the 

date of application, to align 

with adjacent bulkheads, or 

to mitigate the unreasonable 

hardship resulting from the 

unusual geographic or 

geologic features; 

(iii) the bulkhead alignment will 

not adversely impact public 

trust rights or the property of 

adjacent riparian owners; 

(iv) the need for a bulkhead 

below normal high water or 

normal water level is 

documented by the Division 

of Coastal Management; and 
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(v) the property to be bulkheaded 

is in a non-oceanfront area. 

(E) Where possible, sloping rip-rap, 

gabions, or vegetation shall be used 

rather than bulkheads. 

(8) Beach Nourishment 

(A) Beach creation or maintenance may be 

allowed to enhance water related 

recreational facilities for public, 

commercial, and private use consistent 

with the following: 

(i) Beaches may be created or 

maintained in areas where 

they have historically been 

found due to natural 

processes; 

(ii) Material placed in the water 

and along the shoreline shall 

be clean sand and free from 

pollutants. Grain size shall be 

equal to that found naturally 

at the site; 

(iii) Beach creation shall not be 

allowed in primary nursery 

areas, nor in any areas where 

siltation from the site would 

pose a threat to shellfish 

beds; 

(iv) Material shall not be placed 

on any coastal wetlands or 

submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by 

MFC; 

(v) Material shall not be placed 

on any submerged bottom 

with significant shellfish 

resources as identified by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries 

during the permit review; and 

(vi) Beach construction shall not 

create the potential for filling 

adjacent navigation channels, 

canals or boat basins. 

(B) Placing unconfined sand material in 

the water and along the shoreline shall 

not be allowed as a method of 

shoreline erosion control; 

(C) Material from dredging projects may 

be used for beach nourishment if: 

(i) it is first handled in a manner 

consistent with dredged 

material disposal as set forth 

in this Rule; 

(ii) it is allowed to dry prior to 

being placed on the beach; 

and 

(iii) only that material of 

acceptable grain size as set 

forth in Subpart (b)(8)(A)(ii) 

of this Rule is removed from 

the disposal site for 

placement on the beach. 

Material shall not be placed 

directly on the beach by 

dredge or dragline during 

maintenance excavation. 

(D) Beach construction shall comply with 

State and federal water quality 

standards; 

(E) The renewal of permits for beach 

nourishment projects shall require an 

evaluation by the Division of Coastal 

Management of any adverse impacts 

of the original work; and 

(F) Permits issued for beach nourishment 

shall be limited to authorizing beach 

nourishment only one time. 

(9) Groins 

(A) Groins shall not extend more than 25 

feet waterward of the normal high 

water or normal water level unless a 

longer structure is justified by site 

specific conditions and by an 

individual who meets any North 

Carolina occupational licensing 

requirements for the type of structure 

being proposed and approved during 

the application process; 

(B) Groins shall be set back a minimum of 

15 feet from the adjoining riparian 

lines. The setback for rock groins shall 

be measured from the toe of the 

structure. This setback may be waived 

by written agreement of the adjacent 

riparian owner(s) or when two 

adjoining riparian owners are 

co-applicants. Should the adjacent 

property be sold before construction of 

the groin commences, the applicant 

shall obtain a written agreement with 

the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the permitting 

agency prior to initiating any 

development of the groin; 

(C) Groins shall pose no threat to 

navigation; 

(D) The height of groins shall not exceed 

one foot above normal high water or 

normal water level; 

(E) No more than two structures shall be 

allowed per 100 feet of shoreline 

unless the applicant provides evidence 

that more structures are needed for 

shoreline stabilization. 

(F) "L" and "T" sections shall not be 

allowed at the end of groins; and 

(G) Riprap material used for groin 

construction shall be free from loose 
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dirt or any other pollutant and of a size 

sufficient to prevent its movement 

from the site by wave and current 

action. 

(10) "Freestanding Moorings". 

(A) A "freestanding mooring" is any 

means to attach a ship, boat, vessel, 

floating structure or other water craft 

to a stationary underwater device, 

mooring buoy, buoyed anchor, or 

piling as long as the piling is not 

associated with an existing or 

proposed pier, dock, or boathouse; 

(B) Freestanding moorings shall be 

permitted only: 

(i) to riparian property owners 

within their riparian 

corridors; or 

(ii) to any applicant proposing to 

locate a mooring buoy 

consistent with a water use 

plan that is included in either 

the local zoning or land use 

plan. 

(C) All mooring fields shall provide an 

area for access to any mooring(s) and 

other land based operations that shall 

include wastewater pumpout, trash 

disposal and vehicle parking; 

(D) To protect water quality of 

shellfishing areas, mooring fields shall 

not be located within areas where 

shellfish harvesting for human 

consumption is a significant existing 

use or adjacent to such areas if 

shellfish harvest closure is anticipated 

to result from the location of the 

mooring field. In compliance with 

Section 101(a)(2) of the Federal Water 

Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 

(a)(2), and North Carolina Water 

Quality Standards adopted pursuant to 

that section, shellfish harvesting is a 

significant existing use if it can be 

established that shellfish have been 

regularly harvested for human 

consumption since November 28, 

1975 or that shellfish are propagating 

and surviving in a biologically suitable 

habitat and are available and suitable 

for harvesting for the purpose of 

human consumption. The Division of 

Marine Fisheries shall be consulted 

regarding the significance of shellfish 

harvest as an existing use and the 

magnitude of the quantities of 

shellfish that have been harvested or 

are available for harvest in the area 

where harvest will be affected by the 

development; 

(E) Moorings shall not be located without 

written consent from the leaseholders 

or owners of submerged lands that 

have been leased from the state or 

deeded by the State; 

(F) Moorings shall be located and 

constructed so as to avoid adverse 

impacts on navigation throughout all 

federally maintained channels. This 

includes mooring sites (permanent or 

temporary), speed or traffic 

reductions, or any other device, either 

physical or regulatory, which may 

cause a federally maintained channel 

to be restricted; 

(G) Open water moorings shall not be 

enclosed within breakwaters that 

preclude circulation and degrade water 

quality in violation of EMC standards; 

(H) Moorings and the associated land 

based operation design shall comply 

with all applicable EMC requirements 

for management of stormwater runoff; 

(I) Mooring fields shall have posted in 

view of patrons a notice prohibiting 

the discharge of any waste from boat 

toilets or any other discharge and 

listing the availability of local pump-

out services and waste disposal; 

(J) Freestanding moorings associated 

with commercial shipping, public 

service or temporary construction or 

salvage operations may be permitted 

without a public sponsor; 

(K) Freestanding mooring buoys and piles 

shall be evaluated based upon the arc 

of the swing including the length of 

the vessel to be moored. Moorings and 

the attached vessel shall not interfere 

with the access of any riparian owner 

nor shall it block riparian access to 

channels or deep water, which allows 

riparian access. Freestanding 

moorings shall not interfere with the 

ability of any riparian owner to place a 

pier for access; 

(L) Freestanding moorings shall not be 

established in submerged cable or pipe 

crossing areas or in a manner that 

interferes with the operations of an 

access through any bridge; 

(M) Freestanding moorings shall be 

marked or colored in compliance with 

U.S. Coast Guard and the WRC 

requirements and the required marking 

maintained for the life of the 

mooring(s); and 
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(N) The type of material used to create a 

mooring must be free of pollutants and 

of a design and type of material so as 

to not present a hazard to navigation or 

public safety. 

(11) Filling of Canals, Basins and Ditches - 

Notwithstanding the general use standards for 

estuarine systems as set out in Paragraph (a) of 

this Rule, filling canals, basins and ditches shall 

be allowed if all of the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) the area to be filled was not created by 

excavating lands which were below 

the normal high water or normal water 

level; 

(B) if the area was created from wetlands, 

the elevation of the proposed filling 

does not exceed the elevation of said 

wetlands so that wetland function will 

be restored; 

(C) the filling will not adversely impact 

any designated primary nursery area, 

shellfish bed, submerged aquatic 

vegetation as defined by the MFC, 

coastal wetlands, public trust right or 

public trust usage; and 

(D) the filling will not adversely affect the 

value and enjoyment of property of 

any riparian owner. 

(12) "Submerged Lands Mining" 

(A) Development Standards. Mining of 

submerged lands shall meet all the 

following standards: 

(i) The biological productivity 

and biological significance of 

mine sites, or borrow sites 

used for sediment extraction, 

shall be evaluated for 

significant adverse impacts 

and a protection strategy for 

these natural functions and 

values provided with the 

State approval request or 

permit application; 

(ii) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 

artificial reefs, seaweed 

communities, and significant 

benthic communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the WRC 

shall be avoided; 

(iii) Mining shall avoid 

significant archaeological 

resources as defined in Rule 

.0509 of this Subchapter; 

shipwrecks identified by the 

Department of Cultural 

Resources; and unique 

geological features that 

require protection from 

uncontrolled or incompatible 

development as identified by 

the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Mining activities shall not be 

conducted on or within 500 

meters of significant 

biological communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the 

WRC, such as high relief 

hard bottom areas. "High 

relief" is defined for this Part 

as relief greater than or equal 

to one-half meter per five 

meters of horizontal distance; 

(v) Mining activities shall be 

timed to minimize impacts on 

the life cycles of estuarine or 

ocean resources; and 

(vi) Mining activities shall not 

affect potable groundwater 

supplies, wildlife, 

freshwater, estuarine, or 

marine fisheries. 

(B) Permit Conditions. Permits for 

submerged lands mining may be 

conditioned on the applicant 

amending the mining proposal to 

include measures necessary to ensure 

compliance with the provisions of the 

Mining Act and the rules for 

development set out in this 

Subchapter. Permit conditions shall 

also include: 

(i) Monitoring by the applicant 

to ensure compliance with all 

applicable development 

standards; and 

(ii) A determination of the 

necessity and feasibility of 

restoration shall be made by 

the Division of Coastal 

Management as part of the 

permit or consistency review 

process. Restoration shall be 

necessary where it will 

facilitate recovery of the pre-

development ecosystem. 

Restoration shall be 

considered feasible unless, 

after consideration of all 

practicable restoration 

alternatives, the Division of 

Coastal Management 

determines that the adverse 
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effects of restoration 

outweigh the benefits of the 

restoration on estuarine or 

ocean resources. If 

restoration is determined to 

be necessary and feasible, 

then the applicant shall 

submit a restoration plan to 

the Division of Coastal 

Management prior to the 

issuance of the permit. 

(C) Dredging activities for the purposes of 

mining natural resources shall be 

consistent with the development 

standards set out in this Rule; 

(D) Mitigation. Where mining cannot be 

conducted consistent with the 

development standards set out in this 

Rule, the applicant may request 

mitigation approval under 15A NCAC 

07M .0700; and 

(E) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 

that conflict with the standards in this 

Subparagraph, but provide a public 

benefit, may be approved pursuant to 

the standards set out in Subparagraph 

(a)(3) of this Rule. 

(13) "Wind Energy Facilities" 

(A) An applicant for the development and 

operation of a wind energy facility 

shall provide: 

(i) an evaluation of the proposed 

noise impacts of the turbines 

to be associated with the 

proposed facility; 

(ii) an evaluation of shadow 

flicker impacts for the 

turbines to be associated with 

the proposed facility; 

(iii) an evaluation of avian and 

bat impacts of the proposed 

facility; 

(iv) an evaluation of viewshed 

impacts of the proposed 

facility; 

(v) an evaluation of potential 

user conflicts associated with 

development in the proposed 

project area; and 

(vi) a plan regarding the action to 

be taken upon 

decommissioning and 

removal of the wind energy 

facility. The plan shall 

include estimates of 

monetary costs, time frame 

of removal and the proposed 

site condition after 

decommissioning. 

(B) Development Standards. 

Development of wind energy facilities 

shall meet the following standards in 

addition to adhering to the 

requirements outlined in Part 

(a)(13)(A) of this Rule: 

(i) Natural reefs, coral outcrops, 

artificial reefs, seaweed 

communities, and significant 

benthic communities 

identified by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the WRC 

shall be avoided; 

(ii) Development shall not be 

sited on or within 500 meters 

of significant biological 

communities identified by 

the Division of Marine 

Fisheries or the WRC, such 

as high relief hard bottom 

areas. High relief is defined 

for this standard as relief 

greater than or equal to one-

half meter per five meters of 

horizontal distance; 

(iii) Development shall not cause 

irreversible damage to 

documented archeological 

resources including 

shipwrecks identified by the 

Department of Cultural 

Resources and unique 

geological features that 

require protection from 

uncontrolled or incompatible 

development as identified by 

the Division of Energy, 

Mineral, and Land Resources 

pursuant to G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4)(g); 

(iv) Development activities shall 

be timed to avoid significant 

adverse impacts on the life 

cycles of estuarine or ocean 

resources, or wildlife; 

(v) Development or operation of 

a wind energy facility shall 

not jeopardize the use of the 

surrounding waters for 

navigation or for other public 

trust rights in public trust 

areas or estuarine waters; and 

(vi) Development or operation of 

a wind energy facility shall 

not interfere with air 

navigation routes, air traffic 

control areas, military 

training routes or special use 

airspace and shall comply 
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with standards adopted by the 

Federal Aviation 

Administration and codified 

under 14 CFR Part 77.13. 

(C) Permit Conditions. Permits for wind 

energy facilities may be conditioned 

on the applicant amending the 

proposal to include measures 

necessary to ensure compliance with 

the standards for development set out 

in this Rule. Permit conditions may 

include monitoring to ensure 

compliance with all applicable 

development standards; and 

(D) Public Benefits Exception. Projects 

that conflict with these standards, but 

provide a public benefit, may be 

approved pursuant to the standards set 

out in Subparagraph (a)(3) of this 

Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107(b); 113A-108; 113A-113(b); 113A-124. 

 

SECTION .0300 - OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 

otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 

in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 

according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 

be measured in a landward direction from the 

vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the 

measurement line, whichever is applicable. 

(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 

hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 

With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1301(d), in no case shall new development be 

sited seaward of the development line. In areas 

with a Static Line Exception approved in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200 and a 

Development Line approved in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 07J .1300, the petitioner shall 

notify the Division of Coastal Management 

which one of the two approaches will be 

utilized and applied to the entire large-scale 

project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0305(a)(7). 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 

or established on State-owned lands or 

oceanward of the mean high water line or 

perpetual property easement line, whichever is 

more restrictive. 

(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 

by both the size of development and the 

shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 

Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" 

is defined by total floor area for structures and 

buildings or total area of footprint for 

development other than structures and 

buildings. Total floor area includes the 

following: 

(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 

(B) The total square footage of parking 

elevated above ground level; and 

(C) The total square footage of non-heated 

or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 

above ground level, excluding attic 

space that is not designed to be load-

bearing. 

Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways 

shall not be included in the total floor area 

unless they are enclosed with material other 

than screen mesh or are being converted into an 

enclosed space with material other than screen 

mesh. 

(5) With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 

no development, including any portion of a 

building or structure, shall extend oceanward of 

the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof 

overhangs and elevated structural components 

that are cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 

extended beyond the support of pilings or 

footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 

established based on the following criteria: 

(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 

setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 

greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 

less than 10,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 

less than 20,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 

less than 40,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(E) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 

less than 60,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 
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times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 

less than 80,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 

less than 100,000 square feet requires 

a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 100,000 square feet 

requires a minimum setback of 180 

feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 

rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 

such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 

access such as boardwalks and 

sidewalks, and utilities providing for 

the transmission of electricity, water, 

telephone, cable television, data, 

storm water, and sewer requires a 

minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 

5,000 square feet require a setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, a 

building or other structure greater than 

or equal to 5,000 square feet in a 

community with a static line exception 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 

.1200 requires a minimum setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate in place at the time of 

permit issuance, whichever is greater. 

The setback shall be measured 

landward from either the static 

vegetation line, the vegetation line, or 

measurement line, whichever is 

farthest landward; and 

(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 

replacement of single-family or 

duplex residential structures with a 

total floor area greater than 5,000 

square feet, and commercial and 

multi-family residential structures 

with a total floor area no greater than 

10,000 square feet, shall be allowed 

provided that the structure meets the 

following criteria: 

(i) the structure was originally 

constructed prior to August 

11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 

not exceed the original 

footprint or square footage; 

(iii) it is not possible for the 

structure to be rebuilt in a 

location that meets the ocean 

hazard setback criteria 

required under Subparagraph 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(iv) the structure as replaced 

meets the minimum setback 

required under Part (a)(5)(A) 

of this Rule; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 

landward on the lot as 

feasible. 

(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or 

landward of the lot where the development is 

proposed, the development shall be landward of 

the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 

setback, or development line, whichever is 

farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 

line, or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. For existing lots, however, where 

setting the development landward of the crest 

of the primary dune would preclude any 

practical use of the lot, development may be 

located oceanward of the primary dune. In such 

cases, the development may be located 

landward of the ocean hazard setback, but shall 

not be located on or oceanward of a frontal dune 

or the development line. The words "existing 

lots" in this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land 

that, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described 

in a recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 

combining the lot or tract of land with a 

contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 

ownership. 

(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 

does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 

where the development is proposed, the 

development shall be set landward of the frontal 

dune, ocean hazard setback, or development 

line, whichever is farthest from the vegetation 

line, static vegetation line, or measurement line, 

whichever is applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 

the AEC on or landward of the lot where 

development is proposed, the structure shall be 

landward of the ocean hazard setback or 

development line, whichever is more 

restrictive. 

(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 

or total floor area of a building or structure 

represent expansions to the total floor area and 

shall meet the setback requirements established 
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in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 

development landward of the applicable 

setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 

structurally, attached to an existing structure 

that does not conform with current setback 

requirements. 

(10) Established common law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of public trust lands 

and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(11) Development setbacks in areas that have 

received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 

from the static vegetation line as defined in this 

Section, unless a development line has been 

approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 

07J .1300. 

(12) In order to allow for development landward of 

the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 

meet the setback requirements from the static 

vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 

meet the setback requirements from the 

vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

and (a)(5) of this Rule, a local government, 

group of local governments involved in a 

regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 

association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 

that has the authority to approve the locations 

of structures on lots within the territorial 

jurisdiction of the association and has 

jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 

shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 

Commission for a "static line exception" in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 

static line exception shall apply to development 

of property that lies both within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 

boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 

This static line exception shall also allow 

development greater than 5,000 square feet to 

use the setback provisions defined in Part 

(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 

the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 

project. If the request is approved, the Coastal 

Resources Commission shall allow 

development setbacks to be measured from a 

vegetation line that is oceanward of the static 

vegetation line under the following conditions: 

(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 

defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 

calculated from the shoreline erosion 

rate in place at the time of permit 

issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 

including roof overhangs and elevated 

portions that are cantilevered, knee 

braced, or otherwise extended beyond 

the support of pilings or footings, 

extends oceanward of the landward-

most adjacent building or structure. 

When the configuration of a lot 

precludes the placement of a building 

or structure in line with the landward-

most adjacent building or structure, an 

average line of construction shall be 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management on a case-by-case basis 

in order to determine an ocean hazard 

setback that is landward of the 

vegetation line, a distance no less than 

30 times the shoreline erosion rate or 

60 feet, whichever is greater; 

(D) With the exception of swimming 

pools, the development defined in 

Rule .0309(a) of this Section shall be 

allowed oceanward of the static 

vegetation line; and 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 

the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 

of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 

or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 

that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 

within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 

development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 

disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 

extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 

(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic 

architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the 

local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of 

Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 

Registry. 

(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 

back requirements established by local regulations. 

(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood 

area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 

1, 1979. 

(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 

objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0303. 

(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 

of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 

of damage to public trust areas. 

(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid 

or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall 

be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 

actions that: 

(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 

the magnitude or degree of the action; 

(2) restore the affected environment; or 
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(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 

(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 

ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 

from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 

applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 

hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 

permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 

Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 

the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 

development. 

(j)  All The relocation or elevation of structures shall require 

permit approval. Structures relocated with public funds shall 

comply with the applicable setback line and other applicable AEC 

rules. Structures, including septic tanks and other essential 

accessories, relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be 

relocated the maximum feasible distance landward of the present 

location. Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the 

primary structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 

applicable local and state rules. 

(1) Structures relocated landward with public funds 

shall comply with the applicable ocean hazard 

setbacks and other applicable AEC rules. 

(2) Structures relocated landward entirely with 

non-public funds that do not meet current 

applicable ocean hazard setbacks may be 

relocated the maximum feasible distance 

landward of its present location. Septic tanks 

shall not be relocated oceanward of the primary 

structure. 

(3) Existing structures shall not be elevated if any 

portion of the structure is located seaward of the 

vegetation line. 

(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be 

relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened 

by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 

07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated or 

dismantled within two years of the time when it becomes 

imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse or 

subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 

takes place within two years of the time the structure becomes 

imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 

imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 

at that time. This permit condition shall not affect the permit 

holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 

measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 113A-124. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: 

(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion 

Control Activities: 

(A) All oceanfront erosion response 

activities shall be consistent with the 

general policy statements in 15A 

NCAC 07M .0200. 

(B) Permanent erosion control structures 

may cause significant adverse impacts 

on the value and enjoyment of 

adjacent properties or public access to 

and use of the ocean beach, and, 

therefore, unless specifically 

authorized under the Coastal Area 

Management Act, are prohibited. Such 

structures include bulkheads, 

seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins 

and breakwaters. 

(C) Rules concerning the use of 

oceanfront erosion response measures 

apply to all oceanfront properties 

without regard to the size of the 

structure on the property or the date of 

its construction. 

(D) Shoreline erosion response projects 

shall not be constructed in beach or 

estuarine areas that sustain substantial 

habitat for fish and wildlife species, as 

identified by natural resource agencies 

during project review, unless 

mitigation measures are incorporated 

into project design, as set forth in Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(E) Project construction shall be timed to 

minimize adverse effects on biological 

activity. 

(F) Prior to completing any erosion 

response project, all exposed remnants 

of or debris from failed erosion control 

structures must be removed by the 

permittee. 

(G) Permanent erosion control structures 

that would otherwise be prohibited by 

these standards may be permitted on 

finding by the Division that: 

(i) the erosion control structure 

is necessary to protect a 

bridge that provides the only 

existing road access on a 

barrier island, that is vital to 

public safety, and is 

imminently threatened by 

erosion as defined in Part 

(a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

to protect public health and 

safety; and 

(iii) the proposed erosion control 

structure will have no 

adverse impacts on adjacent 

properties in private 

ownership or on public use of 

the beach. 
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(H) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

protect a state or federally 

registered historic site that is 

imminently threatened by 

shoreline erosion as defined 

in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

and practicable to protect the 

site; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to protect the site; 

and 

(iv) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(I) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

maintain an existing 

commercial navigation 

channel of regional 

significance within federally 

authorized limits; 

(ii) dredging alone is not 

practicable to maintain safe 

access to the affected 

channel; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to maintain the 

channel; 

(iv) the structure shall not have 

significant adverse impacts 

on fisheries or other public 

trust resources; and 

(v) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of any significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(J) The Commission may renew a permit 

for an erosion control structure issued 

pursuant to a variance granted by the 

Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The 

Commission may authorize the 

replacement of a permanent erosion 

control structure that was permitted by 

the Commission pursuant to a variance 

granted by the Commission prior to 1 

July 1995 if the Commission finds 

that: 

(i) the structure will not be 

enlarged beyond the 

dimensions set out in the 

permit; 

(ii) there is no practical 

alternative to replacing the 

structure that will provide the 

same or similar benefits; and 

(iii) the replacement structure 

will comply with all 

applicable laws and with all 

rules, other than the rule or 

rules with respect to which 

the Commission granted the 

variance, that are in effect at 

the time the structure is 

replaced. 

(K) Proposed erosion response measures 

using innovative technology or design 

shall be considered as experimental 

and shall be evaluated on a case-by-

case basis to determine consistency 

with 15A NCAC 07M .0200 and 

general and specific use standards 

within this Section. 

(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures: 

(A) Permittable temporary erosion control 

structures shall be limited to sandbags 

placed landward of mean high water 

and parallel to the shore. 

(B) Temporary erosion control structures 

as defined in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph may be used to protect 

only imminently threatened roads and 

associated right of ways, and buildings 
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and their associated septic systems. A 

structure is considered imminently 

threatened if its foundation, septic 

system, or right-of-way in the case of 

roads, is less than 20 feet away from 

the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads 

located more than 20 feet from the 

erosion scarp or in areas where there is 

no obvious erosion scarp may also be 

found to be imminently threatened 

when site conditions, such as a flat 

beach profile or accelerated erosion, 

increase the risk of imminent damage 

to the structure. 

(C) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall be used to protect only the 

principal structure and its associated 

septic system, but not appurtenances 

such as pools, gazebos, decks or any 

amenity that is allowed under Rule 

.0309 of this Section as an exception 

to the erosion setback requirement. 

(D) Temporary erosion control structures 

may be placed waterward of a septic 

system when there is no alternative to 

relocate it on the same or adjoining lot 

so that it is landward of or in line with 

the structure being protected. 

(E) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall not extend more than 20 feet past 

the sides of the structure to be 

protected except to align with 

temporary erosion control structures 

on adjacent properties, where the 

Division has determined that gaps 

between adjacent erosion control 

structures may result in an increased 

risk of damage to the structure to be 

protected. The landward side of such 

temporary erosion control structures 

shall not be located more than 20 feet 

waterward of the structure to be 

protected, or the right-of-way in the 

case of roads. If a building or road is 

found to be imminently threatened and 

at an increased risk of imminent 

damage due to site conditions such as 

a flat beach profile or accelerated 

erosion, temporary erosion control 

structures may be located more than 

20 feet waterward of the structure 

being protected. In cases of increased 

risk of imminent damage, the location 

of the temporary erosion control 

structures shall be determined by the 

Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management or the Director's 

designee in accordance with Part (A) 

of this Subparagraph. 

(F) Temporary erosion control structures 

may remain in place for up to eight 

years for a building and its associated 

septic system, a bridge or a road. The 

property owner shall be responsible 

for removal of any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

exposed above grade within 30 days of 

the end of the allowable time period. 

(G) An imminently threatened structure or 

property may be protected only once, 

regardless of ownership, unless the 

threatened structure or property is 

located in a community that is actively 

pursuing a beach nourishment project, 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with Part (H) of 

this Subparagraph. Existing temporary 

erosion control structures may be 

permitted for additional eight-year 

periods provided that the structure or 

property being protected is still 

imminently threatened, the temporary 

erosion control structure is in 

compliance with requirements of this 

Subchapter, and the community in 

which it is located is actively pursuing 

a beach nourishment or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project in 

accordance with Part (H) of this 

Subparagraph. In the case of a 

building, a temporary erosion control 

structure may be extended, or new 

segments constructed, if additional 

areas of the building become 

imminently threatened. Where 

temporary structures are installed or 

extended incrementally, the time 

period for removal under Part (F) or 

(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at 

the time the initial erosion control 

structure was installed. For the 

purpose of this Rule: 

(i) a building and its septic 

system shall be considered 

separate structures, 

(ii) a road or highway may be 

incrementally protected as 

sections become imminently 

threatened. The time period 

for removal of each 

contiguous section of 

temporary erosion control 

structure shall begin at the 

time that the initial section 

was installed, in accordance 

with Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 
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(H) For purposes of this Rule, a 

community is considered to be 

actively pursuing a beach nourishment 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with G.S. 113A-

115.1 if it: 

(i) has been issued an active 

CAMA permit, where 

necessary, approving such 

project; or 

(ii) has been identified by a U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers' 

Beach Nourishment 

Reconnaissance Study, 

General Reevaluation 

Report, Coastal Storm 

Damage Reduction Study, or 

an ongoing feasibility study 

by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers and a commitment 

of local or federal money, 

when necessary; or 

(iii) has received a favorable 

economic evaluation report 

on a federal project; or 

(iv) is in the planning stages of a 

project designed by the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers or 

persons meeting applicable 

State occupational licensing 

requirements and initiated by 

a local government or 

community with a 

commitment of local or state 

funds to construct the project 

or the identification of the 

financial resources or 

funding bases necessary to 

fund the beach nourishment, 

inlet relocation or 

stabilization project. 

If beach nourishment, inlet relocation 

or stabilization is rejected by the 

sponsoring agency or community, or 

ceases to be actively planned for a 

section of shoreline, the time 

extension is void for that section of 

beach or community and existing 

sandbags are subject to all applicable 

time limits set forth in Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(I) Once a temporary erosion control 

structure is determined by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

unnecessary due to relocation or 

removal of the threatened structure, it 

shall be removed to the maximum 

extent practicable by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. If the 

temporary erosion control structure is 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management to be unnecessary due to 

the completion of a storm protection 

project constructed by the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, a large-scale 

beach nourishment project, or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project, any 

portion of the temporary erosion 

control structure exposed above grade 

shall be removed by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. 

(J) Removal of temporary erosion control 

structures is not required if they are 

covered by sand. Any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

that becomes exposed above grade 

after the expiration of the permitted 

time period shall be removed by the 

property owner within 30 days of 

official notification from the Division 

of Coastal Management. 

(K) The property owner shall be 

responsible for the removal of 

remnants of all portions of any 

damaged temporary erosion control 

structure. 

(L) Sandbags used to construct temporary 

erosion control structures shall be tan 

in color and three to five feet wide and 

seven to 15 feet long when measured 

flat. Base width of the temporary 

erosion control structure shall not 

exceed 20 feet, and the total height 

shall not exceed six feet, as measured 

from the bottom of the lowest bag. 

(M) Soldier pilings and other types of 

devices to anchor sandbags shall not 

be allowed. 

(N) Existing sandbag structures may be 

repaired or replaced within their 

originally permitted dimensions 

during the time period allowed under 

Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach 

nourishment shall be compatible with existing 

grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of 

this Section. 

(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined 

as the process of moving natural beach material 

from any point seaward of the first line of stable 
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vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to 

obtain material for any other purpose) is 

development and may be permitted as an 

erosion response if the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) The area on which this activity is 

being performed shall maintain a slope 

of adequate grade so as to not 

endanger the public or the public's use 

of the beach and shall follow the pre-

emergency slope as closely as 

possible. The movement of material 

utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader, 

backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth 

moving or construction equipment 

shall not exceed one foot in depth 

measured from the pre-activity surface 

elevation; 

(B) The activity shall not exceed the 

lateral bounds of the applicant's 

property unless he has permission of 

the adjoining land owner(s); 

(C) Movement of material from seaward 

of the mean low water line will require 

a CAMA Major Development and 

State Dredge and Fill Permit; 

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion 

on neighboring properties and shall 

not have an adverse effect on natural 

or cultural resources; 

(E) The activity may be undertaken to 

protect threatened on-site waste 

disposal systems as well as the 

threatened structure's foundations. 

(b)  Dune Establishment and Stabilization. 

(1) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to 

the greatest extent possible with existing 

adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same 

configuration as adjacent natural dunes. 

(2) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, 

except for beach nourishment and emergency 

situations, be broadened or extended in an 

oceanward direction. 

(3) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such 

a manner that the damage to existing vegetation 

is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted 

or temporarily stabilized until planting can be 

completed. 

(4) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall 

be of the same general characteristics as the 

sand in the area in which it is to be placed. 

(5) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard 

areas. Reconstruction or repair of existing dune 

systems as defined in Rule .0305 of this Section 

and within an Inlet Hazard Area is permittable. 

(6) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the 

frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot 

or tract of land to the maximum extent 

practicable and may be redistributed within the 

Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not 

placed any farther oceanward than the crest of 

a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a 

frontal dune. 

(7) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed 

when other techniques of construction can be 

utilized and alternative site locations exist to 

avoid dune impacts. 

(c)  Structural Accessways: 

(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across 

primary or frontal dunes so long as they are 

designed and constructed in a manner that 

entails negligible alteration of the primary or 

frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be 

considered threatened structures for the purpose 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail 

negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes 

provided that: 

(A) The accessway is exclusively for 

pedestrian use; 

(B) The accessway is a maximum of six 

feet in width; 

(C) Except in the case of beach matting for 

a local, State, or federal government's 

public access, the accessway is raised 

on posts or pilings of five feet or less 

depth, so that wherever possible only 

the posts or pilings touch the dune. 

Where this is deemed by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

impossible due to any more restrictive 

local, State, or federal building 

requirements, the structure shall touch 

the dune only to the extent necessary. 

Beach matting for a local, State, or 

federal government's public access 

shall be installed at grade and not 

involve any excavation or fill of the 

dune; and 

(D) Any areas of vegetation that are 

disturbed are revegetated as soon as 

feasible. 

(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) 

and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted 

only if it meets a public purpose or need which 

cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part 

(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are 

not prohibited provided all other applicable 

standards of this Rule are met. 

(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of 

primary and frontal dunes a structural 

accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be 

provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or 

emergency vehicle access. Such accessways 

shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and 

may be constructed of wooden sections 

fastened together, or other materials approved 

by the Division, over the length of the affected 
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dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall 

be done in a manner that will preserve the 

dune's function as a protective barrier against 

flooding and erosion by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. 

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no 

more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 

of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 

not interfere with public trust rights and 

emergency access along the beach. Structural 

accessways are not restricted by the 

requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 

described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section. 

(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction 

and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of 

this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the 

following standards: 

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all 

development shall be designed and placed so as 

to minimize damage due to fluctuations in 

ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year 

storm. Any building constructed within the 

ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant 

sections of the North Carolina Building Code 

including the Coastal and Flood Plain 

Construction Standards and the local flood 

damage prevention ordinance as required by the 

National Flood Insurance Program. If any 

provision of the building code or a flood 

damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent 

with any of the following AEC standards, the 

more restrictive provision shall control. 

(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be 

on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter 

if round or eight inches to a side if square. 

(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater 

than eight feet below the lowest ground 

elevation under the structure. For those 

structures so located on or seaward of the 

primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five 

feet below mean sea level. 

(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable 

during applicable fluctuations in ground 

elevation and wave forces during a 100-year 

storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall 

meet the requirements of this Part or shall be 

designed to break-away without structural 

damage to the main structure. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-

113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124. 

 

SECTION .1200 - GENERAL PERMIT FOR 

CONSTRUCTION OF PIERS AND DOCKING 

FACILITIES: IN ESTUARINE AND PUBLIC TRUST 

WATERS AND OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1205 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  Piers and docking facilities may extend or be located up to a 

maximum of 400 feet waterward from the normal high water line 

or the normal water level, whichever is applicable. 

(b)  Piers and docking facilities shall not extend beyond the 

established pier length along the same shoreline for similar use. 

This restriction shall not apply to piers and docking facilities 100 

feet or less in length unless necessary to avoid interference with 

navigation or other uses of the waters by the public such as 

blocking established navigation routes or interfering with access 

to adjoining properties as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. The length of piers and docking facilities shall be 

measured from the waterward edge of any wetlands that border 

the water body. 

(c)  Piers and docking facilities longer than 200 feet shall be 

permitted only if the proposed length gives access to deeper water 

at a rate of at least one foot at each 100 foot increment of pier 

length longer than 200 feet, or if the additional length is necessary 

to span some obstruction to navigation. Measurements to 

determine pier and docking facility lengths shall be made from the 

waterward edge of any coastal wetland vegetation that borders the 

water body. 

(d)  Piers shall be no wider than six feet and shall be elevated at 

least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as measured 

from the bottom of the decking. 

(e)  The total square footage of shaded impact for docks and 

mooring facilities (excluding the pier) allowed shall be 8 square 

feet per linear foot of shoreline with a maximum of 800 square 

feet. In calculating the shaded impact, uncovered open water slips 

shall not be counted in the total. 

(f)  The maximum size of any individual component of the 

docking facility authorized by this general permit shall not exceed 

400 square feet. 

(g)  Docking facilities shall not be constructed in a designated 

Primary Nursery Area with less than two feet of water at normal 

low water level or normal water level under the general permit set 

forth in this Section without prior approval from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(h)  Piers and docking facilities located over shellfish beds or 

submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission may be constructed without prior consultation from 

the Division of Marine Fisheries or the Wildlife Resources 

Commission if the following two conditions are met: 

(1) Water depth at the docking facility location is 

equal to or greater than two feet of water at 

normal low water level or normal water level; 

and 

(2) The pier and docking facility is located to 

minimize the area of submerged aquatic 

vegetation or shellfish beds under the structure 

as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(i)  Floating piers and floating docking facilities located in 

Primary Nursery Areas, over shellfish beds, or over submerged 

aquatic vegetation shall be allowed if the water depth between the 

bottom of the proposed structure and the substrate is at least 18 

inches at normal low water level or normal water level. 

(j)  Docking facilities shall have no more than six feet of any 

dimension extending over coastal wetlands and shall be elevated 
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at least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as measured 

from the bottom of the decking. 

(k)  The width requirements established in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule shall not apply to pier structures in existence on or before 

July 1, 2001 when structural modifications are needed to prevent 

or minimize storm damage. In these cases, pilings and cross 

bracing may be used to provide structural support as long as they 

do not extend more than two feet on either side of the principal 

structure. These modifications shall not be used to expand the 

floor decking of platforms and piers. 

(l)  Boathouses shall not exceed a combined total of 400 square 

feet and shall have sides extending no further than one-half the 

height of the walls as measured in a downward direction from the 

top wall plate or header to the Normal Water Level or Normal 

High Water and only covering the top half of the walls. 

Measurements of square footage shall be taken of the greatest 

exterior dimensions. Boathouses shall not be allowed on lots with 

less than 75 linear feet of shoreline. Structural boat covers, 

utilizing frame-supported fabric covering, can be permitted on 

properties with less than 75 linear feet of shoreline when using 

screened fabric for side walls. 

(m)  The area enclosed by a boat lift shall not exceed 400 square 

feet. 

(n)  Piers and docking facilities shall be single story. They may be 

roofed but shall not allow second story use. 

(o)  Pier and docking facility alignments along federally 

maintained channels shall also meet Corps of Engineers 

regulations for construction pursuant to Section 10 of the Rivers 

and Harbors Act of 1899 (33 U.S.C. 403). 

(p)  Piers and docking facilities shall in no case extend more than 

1/4 the width of a natural water body, human-made canal, or 

basin. Measurements to determine widths of the water body, 

human-made canals, or basins shall be made from the waterward 

edge of any coastal wetland vegetation which borders the water 

body. The 1/4 length limitation shall not apply when the proposed 

pier and docking facility is located between longer structures 

within 200 feet of the applicant's property. However, the proposed 

pier and docking facility shall not be longer than the pier head line 

established by the adjacent piers and docking facilities nor longer 

than 1/3 the width of the water body. 

(q)  Piers and docking facilities shall not interfere with the access 

to any riparian property, and shall have a minimum setback of 15 

feet between any part of the pier and docking facility and the 

adjacent property lines extended into the water at the points that 

they intersect the shoreline. The minimum setbacks provided in 

this Paragraph may be waived by the written agreement of the 

adjacent riparian owner(s), or when two adjoining riparian owners 

are co-applicants. Should the adjacent property be sold before 

construction of the pier commences, the applicant shall obtain a 

written agreement with the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the Division of Coastal Management prior 

to initiating any development of the pier or docking facility. The 

line of division of areas of riparian access shall be established by 

drawing a line along the channel or deep water in front of the 

property, then drawing a line perpendicular to the line of the 

channel so that it intersects with the shore at the point the upland 

property line meets the water's edge. Application of this Rule may 

be aided by reference to the diagram in Paragraph (t) of this Rule 

illustrating the Rule as applied to various shoreline 

configurations. Copies of the diagram may be obtained from the 

Division of Coastal Management website at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net.When shoreline 

configuration is such that a perpendicular alignment cannot be 

achieved, the pier or docking facility shall be aligned to meet the 

intent of this Rule to the maximum extent practicable. 

(r)  Piers and docking facilities shall provide docking space for no 

more than two boats, as defined in 15A NCAC 07M .0602(a), 

except when stored on a platform that has already been accounted 

for within the shading impacts condition of this general permit. 

Boats stored on floating or fixed platforms shall not count as 

docking spaces. 

(s)  Applicants for authorization to construct a pier or docking 

facility shall provide notice of the permit application to the owner 

of any part of a shellfish franchise or lease over which the 

proposed pier or docking facility would extend. The applicant 

shall allow the lease holder the opportunity to mark a navigation 

route from the pier to the edge of the lease. 

(t)  The diagram shown below illustrates various shoreline 

configurations: 

 

 
 

(u)  Shared piers or docking facilities shall be allowed, provided 

that in addition to complying with Paragraphs (a) through (t) of 

this Rule the following shall also apply: 
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(1) The shared pier or docking facility shall be 

confined to two adjacent riparian property 

owners and the landward point of origination of 

the structure shall overlap the shared property 

line. 

(2) Shared piers and docking facilities shall be 

designed to provide docking space for no more 

than four boats. 

(3) The total square footage of shaded impact for 

docks and mooring facilities shall be calculated 

using Paragraph (e) of this Rule and in addition 

shall allow for combined shoreline of both 

properties. 

(4) The property owners of the shared pier shall not 

be required to obtain a 15-foot waiver from 

each other as described in Paragraph (q) of this 

Rule as is applies to the shared riparian line for 

any work associated with the shared pier, 

provided that the title owners of both properties 

have executed a shared pier agreement that has 

become a part of the permit file. 

(5) The construction of a second access pier or 

docking facility not associated with the shared 

pier shall not be authorized under the general 

permit set forth in this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 113A-113(b); 113A-

118.1; 113A-124. 

 

SECTION .1800 - GENERAL PERMIT TO ALLOW 

BEACH BULLDOZING IN THE OCEAN HAZARD AEC 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1801 PURPOSE 

This permit will allow beach bulldozing needed to reconstruct or 

repair dune systems, as defined in Rule .0305 of this Subchapter. 

For the purpose of this general permit, "beach bulldozing" is 

defined as the process of moving natural beach material from any 

point seaward of the first line of stable vegetation to repair 

damage to frontal or primary dunes. This general permit is subject 

to the procedures outlined in Subchapter 07J .1100 and shall apply 

only to the Ocean Erodible AEC. This general permit shall not 

apply to the Inlet Hazard AEC. 07J .1100, and shall not apply 

where a town or community has a Major Permit for either an 

ongoing beach bulldozing project, or project completed within 30 

days of a request for a General Permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107;113A-113(b); 113A-118.1. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1805 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  The area where this activity is being performed shall maintain 

a slope that follows the pre-emergency slopes as closely as 

possible so as not to endanger the public or the public's use of the 

beach. The movement of material by a bulldozer, front-end loader, 

backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth moving or construction 

equipment shall not exceed one foot in depth measured from the 

pre-activity surface elevation. 

(b)  The activity shall not exceed the lateral bounds of the 

applicant's property without the written permission of the 

adjoining landowner(s). 

(c)  The permit shall not authorize movement of material from 

seaward of the mean low water line. 

(d)  The activity shall not increase erosion on neighboring 

properties. 

(e)  Adding sand to dunes shall be accomplished in such a manner 

that the damage to existing vegetation is minimized. Upon 

completion of the project, the fill areas shall be replanted with 

native vegetation, such as Sea Oats (Uniola paniculata), or if 

outside the planting season, shall be stabilized with sand fencing 

until planting can occur. 

(f)  In order to minimize adverse impacts to nesting sea turtles, 

threatened and endangered species, no bulldozing shall occur 

inside the Ocean Hazard AEC within the period of April 1 through 

November 15 of any year year, or anytime inside an Inlet Hazard 

AEC without the prior approval of the Division of Coastal 

Management, in coordination with the North Carolina Wildlife 

Resources Commission, the United States Fish and Wildlife 

Service, and the United States Army Corps of Engineers, that the 

work can be accomplished without significant adverse impact to 

sea turtle nests or suitable nesting habitat. Engineers. 

(g)  If one contiguous acre or more of oceanfront property is to be 

excavated or filled, an erosion and sedimentation control plan 

shall be filed with the Division of Energy, Mineral, and Land 

Resources, or appropriate local government having jurisdiction. 

This plan must be approved prior to commencing the land 

disturbing activity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-229(cl); 113A-107; 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07J - PROCEDURES FOR PROCESSING 

AND ENFORCEMENT OF MAJOR AND MINOR 

DEVELOPMENT PERMITS, VARIANCE REQUESTS, 

APPEALS FROM PERMIT DECISIONS, 

DECLARATORY RULINGS, AND STATIC LINE 

EXCEPTIONS 

 

SECTION .0400 - FINAL APPROVAL AND 

ENFORCEMENT 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0403 DEVELOPMENT 

PERIOD/COMMENCEMENT/CONTINUATION 

(a)  New dredge and fill permits and CAMA permits, excepting 

Major permits shall expire five years from the date of permit 

issuance, with the exception of publicly-sponsored, multi-phased 

beach nourishment projects, which shall expire 10 years from the 

date of permit issuance. Minor permits, except those authorizing 

beach bulldozing when authorized through issuance of a CAMA 

minor permit, shall expire on December 31 of the third year 

following the year of permit issuance. 

(b)  CAMA minor permit permits authorizing beach bulldozing 

shall expire 30 days from the date of permit issuance. Following 

permit expiration, the applicant may request permit holder is 

entitled to request an extension in accordance with Rule .0404(a) 

of this Section. 

(c)  Development After Permit Expiration. Any development 

undertaken after permit expiration shall be considered 

unpermitted and shall constitute a violation of G.S. 113A-118 or 

G.S. 113-229. Any development to be undertaken after permit 
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expiration shall require either a new permit, or extension of the 

original permit according to 15A NCAC 07J .0404 with the 

exception of Paragraph (e) of this Rule. a new permit. 

(d)  Commencement of Development in Ocean Hazard AEC. No 

development shall begin until the oceanfront setback requirement 

can be met established in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H .0306. 

When the permit holder or an individual receiving an exception to 

the permit requirement is ready to begin development, they shall 

arrange an onsite meeting with the Division of Coastal 

Management or Local Permitting Officer to determine the 

oceanfront setback. This setback determination shall replace the 

one completed at the time the permit was processed and approved 

and development shall begin within of 60 days from the date of 

that meeting. In the case of a shoreline change that alters the 

location of the permitted development a new setback 

determination may be required. reduces the determined setback; a 

new setback determination may be required. To determine if a 

new setback is required, additional coordination with the Division 

of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer shall be 

required. Upon completion of the measurement, the Division of 

Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer will issue a 

written statement to the permittee certifying the same. required 

before development begins. 

(e)  Continuation of Development in the Ocean Hazard AEC. 

Once permitted development has begun, development in the 

Ocean Hazard AEC may continue beyond the authorized 

development period if, in the opinion of the Division of Coastal 

Management or Local Permitting Officer, substantial progress has 

been made and is continuing according to customary and usual 

building standards and schedules. Substantial progress is defined 

as beginning with the placement of foundation pilings, and proof 

of the local building inspector's certification that the installed 

pilings have passed a floor and foundation inspection. 

(f)(e)  Any permit that has been stayed suspended as a result of 

litigation shall be extended at the permit holder's written request 

for a period equivalent to the period of permit suspension, but not 

to exceed the development period authorized under Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-118; 113A-124(c)(8). 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0404 DEVELOPMENT PERIOD 

EXTENSION 

(a)  For CAMA minor permits authorizing beach bulldozing, the 

permit holder may is entitled to request a one-time 30-day permit 

extension. No additional extensions shall be granted after the 30-

day extension has expired. Notwithstanding this Paragraph, the 

permit holder may is eligible to apply for another minor permit 

authorizing beach bulldozing following expiration of the 30-day 

permit extension. 

(b)  Where no development has been initiated during the 

development period, the Division of Coastal Management or 

Local Permit Officer shall extend the authorized development 

period for no more than two years upon receipt of a signed and 

dated request from the applicant containing the following: 

(1) a statement of the intention of the applicant to 

complete the work. 

(2) a statement of the reasons why the project will 

not be completed before the expiration of the 

current permit; 

(3) a statement that there has been no change of 

plans since the issuance of the original permit 

other than changes that would have the effect of 

reducing the scope of the project or previously 

approved permit modifications; 

(4) notice of any change in ownership of the 

property to be developed and a request for 

transfer of the permit, if appropriate; and 

(5) a statement that the project is in compliance 

with all conditions of the current permit. 

Where substantial development, either within or outside the AEC, 

has begun and is continuing on a permitted project, the permitting 

authority shall grant as many two year extensions as necessary to 

complete the initial development. For the purpose of this Rule, 

"substantial development" shall be deemed to have occurred on a 

project if the permittee can show that development has progressed 

beyond basic site preparation, such as land clearing and grading, 

and construction has begun and is continuing on the primary 

structure or structures authorized under the permit. For purposes 

of residential subdivision, installation of subdivision roads 

consistent with an approved subdivision plat shall constitute 

substantial development. Renewals for maintenance and repairs 

of previously approved projects may be granted for periods not to 

exceed 10 years. 

(b)  All other CAMA permits may be extended where substantial 

development, either within or outside the AEC, has begun or is 

continuing. The permitting authority shall grant as many 2-year 

extensions as necessary to complete the initial development, with 

the exception that multi-phased beach nourishment projects may 

be granted 10-year extensions to allow for continuing project 

implementation. Renewals for maintenance of previously 

approved dredging projects may be granted for periods not to 

exceed five years, For the purpose of this Rule, substantial 

development shall be deemed to have occurred on a project if the 

permit holder can show that development has progressed beyond 

basic site preparation, such as land clearing and grading, and 

construction has begun and is continuing on the primary structure 

or structures authorized under the permit. For elevated structures 

in Ocean Hazard Areas, substantial development begins with the 

placement of foundation pilings, and proof of the local building 

inspector's certification that the installed pilings have passed a 

floor and foundation inspection. For residential subdivisions, 

installation of subdivision roads consistent with an approved 

subdivision plat shall constitute substantial development. 

(c)  To request an extension pursuant to Paragraphs (a) and (b) of 

this Rule, the permit holder shall submit a signed and dated 

request containing the following: 

(1) a statement of the completed and remaining 

work; 

(2) a statement that there has been no change of 

plans since the issuance of the original permit 

other than changes that would have the effect of 

reducing the scope of the project, or previously 

approved permit modifications; 
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(3) notice of any change in ownership of the 

property to be developed and a request for 

transfer of the permit if appropriate; and 

(4) a statement that the project is in compliance 

with all conditions of the current permit. 

(c)(d)  When an extension request For extension requests where 

substantial development has not met the criteria of occurred in 

accordance with Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Division of 

Coastal Management may circulate the request to the commenting 

State resource agencies along with a copy of the original permit 

application. Commenting State resource agencies will be given 

three weeks 30 days in which to comment on the extension 

request. Upon the expiration of the commenting period the 

Division of Coastal Management will notify the applicant permit 

holder of its actions on the extension request. 

(d)(e)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (b) and (c)(d) of this Rule, an 

extension request may be denied on making findings as required 

in either G.S. 113A-120 or G.S. 113-229(e). Changes in 

circumstances or in development standards shall be considered 

and applied by the Division of Coastal Management in making a 

decision on an extension request. 

(e)(f)  The applicant for a major development extension request 

shall submit, with the request, a check or money order payable to 

the Department in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(f)  Modifications to extended permits may be considered 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 07J .0405. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-119; 113A-119.1; 113A-124(c)(8). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07K - ACTIVITIES IN AREAS OF 

ENVIRONMENTAL CONCERN WHICH DO NOT 

REQUIRE A COASTAL AREA MANAGEMENT ACT 

PERMIT 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLASSES OF MINOR MAINTENANCE 

AND IMPROVEMENTS WHICH SHALL BE EXEMPTED 

FROM THE CAMA MAJOR DEVELOPMENT PERMIT 

REQUIREMENT 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0208 SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES 

EXEMPTED 

(a)  All single family residences constructed within the Coastal 

Shorelines Area of Environmental Concern that are more than 40 

feet landward of normal high water or normal water level, and 

involve no land disturbing activity within the 40 feet buffer area 

are exempted from the CAMA permit requirement as long as this 

exemption is consistent with all other applicable CAMA permit 

standards and local land use plans and rules in effect at the time 

the exemption is granted. 

(b)  This exemption allows for the construction of a generally 

shore perpendicular access to the water, provided that the access 

shall be no wider than six feet. The access may be constructed out 

of materials such as wood, composite material, gravel, paver 

stones, concrete, brick, or similar materials. Any access 

constructed over wetlands shall be elevated at least three feet 

above any wetland substrate as measured from the bottom of the 

decking. 

(c)  Within the AEC for estuarine shorelines contiguous to waters 

classified as Outstanding Resource Waters (ORW), no CAMA 

permit shall be required if the proposed development is a 

single-family residence that has a built upon area of 25 percent or 

less and is at least 40 feet from waters classified as ORW. 

(d)  Before beginning any work under this exemption, the CAMA 

local permit officer or the Department of Environmental Quality 

representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow 

on-site review. Notification may be by telephone at (252) 808-

2808, in person, or in writing to the North Carolina Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 

28557. Notification shall include: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

landowner and the location of the work, 

including the county, nearest community, and 

water body; and 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed project, 

including proposed landscaping and the 

location of normal high water or normal water 

level. 

(e)  In eroding areas, this exemption shall apply only when the 

local permit officer has determined that the house has been located 

the maximum feasible distance back on the lot but not less than 

forty feet. 

(f)  Construction of the structure authorized by this exemption 

shall be completed by December 31 of the third year of the 

issuance date of this exemption. 

(g)  The elevation of existing structures within the Coastal 

Shorelines AEC is exempt from CAMA permit requirements as 

long as the structure is elevated entirely within the existing 

footprint and is consistent with all other applicable permit 

standards, local land use plans and rules in effect at the time the 

exemption is granted. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 07M - GENERAL POLICY GUIDELINES 

FOR THE COASTAL AREA 

 

SECTION .0300 - SHOREFRONT ACCESS POLICIES 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0301 DECLARATION OF GENERAL 

POLICY 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.1; 113A-134.3. 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0302 DEFINITIONS 

As used in this Section, the Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront 

Access Program is to provide public access to the public trust 

beaches and waters as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(1) and 

15A NCAC 07H .0207(a) in the 20 coastal counties described in 

G.S. 113A-103(2). 

(1) "Beach" is defined as described in 15A NCAC 

07H .0305(a)(1). 

(2) "Coastal Waterfront Access" includes the 

acquisition and improvement of properties 

located in the 20-county area under the Coastal 

Area Management Act (CAMA) jurisdiction as 

described in G.S. 113A-103(2) that are adjacent 

or proximate to coastal waterways to which the 

public has rights of access or public trust rights. 
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(3) "Handicapped Accessible" is defined as 

meeting the standards of the State Building 

Code for handicapped accessibility. 

(4) "Improvements" are facilities that are added to 

promote public access at an access site. 

Common improvements include dune 

crossovers, piers, boardwalks, litter receptacles, 

parking areas, restrooms, gazebos, boat ramps, 

canoe/kayak launches, bicycle racks, and foot 

showers. 

(5) "Inlet Beach Access" includes the acquisition 

and improvement of properties located within 

Inlet Hazard Areas as defined in 15A NCAC 

07H .0304(2). 

(6) "Local Access Sites" include those public 

access points that offer no facilities. These 

accessways provide only a dune crossover or 

pier, if needed, litter receptacles, and public 

access signs. Vehicle parking is not available at 

these access sites. However, bicycle racks may 

be provided by local governments. 

(7) "Maintenance" is the upkeep and repair of 

public access sites and their facilities in such a 

manner that public health and safety is ensured. 

Where the local government uses or has used 

access funds administered by the Division of 

Coastal Management (DCM), the local 

government shall provide operation and 

maintenance of the facility for the useful life of 

that facility as set forth in the individual grant 

contract. 

(8) "Multi-regional Access Sites" are larger than 

regional accessways but smaller than State 

parks. Such facilities may be undertaken and 

constructed with the involvement and support 

of State and local government agencies. 

Multi-regional accessways provide parking for 

a minimum of 80 vehicles, restrooms with 

indoor showers and changing rooms, and 

concession stands. 

(9) "Neighborhood Access Sites" includes those 

public access areas offering parking for 5 to 25 

vehicles, a dune crossover or pier, litter 

receptacles, and public access signs. Restroom 

facilities may be installed. 

(10)(3) "Ocean Beach Access" includes the acquisition 

and improvement of properties adjacent or 

proximate to the Atlantic Ocean for parking and 

public passage to the oceanfront. 

(11)(4) "Public Trust Areas" is defined in 15A NCAC 

07H .0207(a). 

(12) "Regional Access Sites" are of such size and 

offer such facilities that they serve the public 

from throughout an island or community 

including day visitors. These sites provide 

parking for 25 to 80 vehicles, restrooms, a dune 

crossover, pier, foot showers, litter receptacles, 

and public access signs. 

(13) "Urban Waterfront Access Projects" improve 

public access to deteriorating urban 

waterfronts. Such projects include the 

establishment or rehabilitation of boardwalk 

areas, shoreline stabilization measures such as 

the installation or rehabilitation of bulkheads, 

and the placement or removal of pilings for the 

purpose of public safety and increased access 

and use of the urban waterfront. 

(5) A "Local Waterfront Access Plan" identifies 

access needs and opportunities for public 

access, determines access and facility 

requirements, establishes standards, develops 

project design plans or guidelines, establishes 

priorities, considers financial resource 

availability (such as grants, impact fees, or 

occupancy taxes) and construction timing, and 

provides a system for evaluation of the plan. 

(6) "Certified CAMA Land Use Plan" is defined in 

15A NCAC 07B. A local government may 

identify access needs, develop a local 

waterfront access plan, and develop local 

policies to pursue access funding through its 

land use plan. 

(7) "Tier 1 communities" include Tier 1 counties as 

determined annually by the North Carolina 

Department of Commerce as outlined in G.S. 

143B-437.08, and the counties respective 

municipalities. The Division shall use the Tier 

1 designation to encourage economic activity in 

economically distressed communities. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0303 STANDARDS FOR PUBLIC 

ACCESS 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.1; 113A-134.3; 153A-

277(a); 160A-314(a). 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0306 LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND 

STATE INVOLVEMENT IN ACCESS 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0307 ELIGIBILITY, SELECTION 

CRITERIA AND MATCHING REQUIREMENTS PUBLIC 

BEACH AND COASTAL WATERFRONT ACCESS 

PROGRAM 

(a)  The Division of Coastal Management (DCM) has primary 

responsibility for administering the Public Beach and Coastal 

Waterfront Access Program. Subject to the availability of funds, 

the DCM shall annually solicit pre-application proposals from 

local governments and shall select competitive projects for final 

application submittal. Projects from these final applications shall 

be selected for funding based on criteria in Paragraph (h) of this 

Rule. 

(b)  The DCM may use available funds on a non-competitive basis 

to plan for and provide public access through acquisition and 
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improvements. Prior to expending the funds, the DCM shall hold 

a public meeting or hearing at a regularly scheduled meeting of 

the Commission to discuss its proposal. Members of the public 

shall be invited to comment to the Coastal Resources Commission 

(CRC) for 60 days prior to the expenditure of non-competitive 

money by the DCM. 

(a)(c)  Local governments have responsibility for the selection of 

public access sites within their jurisdiction. Any local government 

in the 20-county coastal region having ocean beaches or estuarine 

or public trust waters within its jurisdiction may apply for access 

funds for the development of beach or coastal waterfront access 

facilities with associated improvements. Boat ramps, or 

canoe/kayak launch areas may also be developed provided that the 

access facilities incorporate pedestrian access to coastal waters. 

acquisition and development of beach or coastal waterfront access 

facilities. 

(d)  Prior to submitting its final application for a Public Beach and 

Coastal Waterfront Access grant in accordance with Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule from the DCM, the local government shall hold a 

public meeting or hearing at a regularly scheduled meeting of the 

Commission to discuss its proposal. The local government shall 

consider public comments prior to its decision to apply for funds 

from the State. 

(b)(e)  Eligible projects include: 

(1) Land acquisition, including acquisition of 

unbuildable lots as described in G.S. 113A-

134.3(a); 

(2) Local access sites; Development of 

improvements at new or existing sites that 

provide public access, such as dune crossovers, 

piers, boardwalks, parking areas, restrooms, 

showers, benches, litter receptacles, and bicycle 

racks; 

(3) Neighborhood access sites or improvements; 

Development of improvements to public access 

at deteriorating urban waterfronts. Such 

projects include the establishment or 

rehabilitation of boardwalk areas, shoreline 

stabilization measures such as the installation or 

rehabilitation of bulkheads, and the placement 

or removal of pilings for the purpose of public 

safety and increased access and use of the urban 

waterfront; 

(4) Regional access sites or improvements; 

(5) Multi-regional access sites or improvements; 

(6) Urban waterfront development access projects; 

(7)(4) Reconstruction Reconstruction, replacement or 

relocation of existing, damaged facilities; 

(8) Reconstruction or replacement of facilities; and 

(9)(5) Offsite parking areas servicing access sites 

within the local government's jurisdiction. 

jurisdiction; 

(6) Boat ramps and canoe/kayak launch areas 

provided that the public access facility 

incorporates pedestrian access to coastal 

waters; or 

(7) Maintenance of previously funded access sites. 

This project category is available only to Tier 1 

communities. Such projects include repair and 

maintenance of access site facilities and 

amenities to ensure public health and safety. 

Repair and maintenance does not include 

activities such as trash removal, grounds 

keeping, or custodial services, nor can it be used 

to pay local government staff salaries. 

(f)  All projects must meet the standards of handicapped 

accessibility for individuals with disabilities according to the 

North Carolina Building Code. Exceptions may be granted where 

site characteristics impede accessibility improvements. 

(c)(g)  The following criteria shall be used to select projects that 

may receive financial assistance: 

(1) The applicant demonstrates a need for the 

project due to a high demand for public access 

and limited availability within the local 

government jurisdiction. jurisdiction; 

(2) The project is identified in the local land use 

plan certified CAMA Land Use Plan or local 

access plan; 

(3) The applicant has not received previous 

assistance from the Public Beach and Coastal 

Waterfront Access Program grant program or 

the applicant has received assistance and 

demonstrated its ability to complete previous 

projects with funds from the grant program; 

(4) The applicant's commitment of matching funds 

exceeds the required local share of the total 

project cost provided in Paragraphs (d) and (e) 

Paragraph (h) of this Rule; 

(5) The project proposal includes multiple funding 

sources; and 

(6) The project location includes donated land with 

physical limitations, or it has been deemed 

unbuildable as described in G.S. 113A-

134.3(a). 

(7) Priority shall be given to the acquisition of 

lands that meet G.S. 113A-134.3(a); 

(8) The project acquires land for future access 

improvements; 

(9) The project creates handicapped accessible 

facilities at new access sites, adds handicapped 

accessible facilities to existing sites, or replaces 

deteriorating facilities; and 

(10) The project's location is within a Tier 1 

community. 

(d)  The North Carolina Department of Commerce's Tier 

designations, as outlined by G.S. 143B-437.08 shall be used to 

determine the economic status of counties. Land acquisition, 

including acquisition of unbuildable lots, shall include a local 

government contribution of at least 15 percent of the acquisition 

cost, except for Tier 1 and Tier 2 counties as designated by the 

N.C. Department of Commerce, and their respective 

municipalities, which shall have a contribution of at least 10 

percent. At least one-half of the local contribution shall be cash 

match, the remainder may be in-kind match. 

(e)  Local government contributions for access site improvements 

shall be at least 25 percent of the project costs, except for Tier 1 

and Tier 2 designated counties and their respective municipalities, 

which shall have a local government contribution of at least 10 
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percent of the project costs. At least one half of the local 

contribution shall be cash match; the remainder may be in-kind 

match. 

(h)  The applicant's matching requirements are based on project 

type and their designations as a Tier 1 community. March 

requirements are as follows: 

(1) Local government contributions for land 

acquisition shall be at least 15 percent of the 

acquisition cost, except for Tier 1 communities 

which shall have a local government 

contribution of at least 10 percent of the project 

cost. At least one-half of the local contribution 

shall be cash match, the remainder may be in-

kind match. 

(2) Local government contributions for access site 

improvements shall be at least 25 percent of the 

project costs, except for Tier 1 communities 

which shall have a local government 

contribution of at least 10 percent of the project 

costs. At least one-half of the local contribution 

shall be cash match, the remainder may be in-

kind match. 

(3) Local government contributions for 

maintenance of previously funded access sites 

shall be at least 10 percent of the maintenance 

project costs. At least one-half of the local 

government contribution shall be cash match, 

the remainder may be in-kind match. This 

project type is only available to Tier 1 

communities. 

(f)(i)  Federal and other State funds may be used as the local 

government cash contribution, provided such funds are not 

already being used as matching funds for other State programs. 

(g)(j)  Multi-phase projects shall be considered on their own 

merits within the pool of applications being reviewed in any year. 

(k)  Projects selected for funding may not begin until the 

Department of Environmental Quality and grant recipient sign a 

contract. An exception may be granted for land acquisition 

projects when a waiver has been requested by the applicant in 

writing and approved by the Division of Coastal Management. A 

waiver shall be in effect for 18 months from the date of approval. 

A project receiving a waiver shall not receive preferential 

treatment in funding decisions. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0308 PUBLIC 

INVOLVEMENT/NOTICE 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.3. 

 

15A NCAC 07M .0310 STANDARDS FOR PUBLIC 

ACCESS 

(a)  Public access projects funded through the Public Beach and 

Coastal Waterfront Access program shall be consistent with 

public access policies contained in the local government's land use 

plan as required under 15A NCAC 07B .0702(d)(2)(A), its local 

waterfront access plan, or a local recreation plan that addresses 

public access. 

(b)  Land acquired with Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront 

Access program funds shall be dedicated in perpetuity for public 

access and benefit of the general public, and the dedication shall 

be recorded in the local Register of Deeds by the grantee. Any 

lease or easement agreement shall extend at least 25 years. If land 

acquired or improved with Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront 

Access Program grant funds is sold or otherwise disposed of, the 

local government shall reimburse the State at a percentage equal 

to the percentage of grant funds provided for the original purchase 

or improvement, at current market value at the time of the sale or 

disposition. 

(c)  Local governments that receive or have received funding 

through this grant program shall operate and maintain the public 

access sites and their facilities in such a manner that public health 

and safety is ensured for the useful life of that facility as set forth 

in the individual grant contract. 

(d)  Local governments with public access sites funded by the 

Division of Coastal Management pursuant to G.S. 113A-134.3 

may charge user fees as long as those fees are used exclusively 

for the operation, maintenance, and enhancement of existing 

public access sites, including trash removal, law enforcement and 

public safety, beach nourishment projects or the provision of new 

public access sites through acquisition or easement. Local 

governments shall prepare annual accounting reports for fees 

generated by Public Beach and Coastal Waterfront Access 

Program funded access sites and shall make the report available 

upon request. Any local government that has not made the most 

recent required accounting report available shall not receive 

further funding under this program until the inconsistency is 

corrected. 

 

Authority G.S. 113A-124; 113A-134.1; 113A-134.3; 153A-

277(a); 160A-314(a). 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Board of Dental Examiners intends to adopt the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16Q .0103-.0105, .0702 and amend the rules cited as 21 

NCAC 16Q .0202, .0302, .0405 and .0703. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncdentalboard.org 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  February 3, 2022 

Time:  6:30 p.m. 

Location:  2000 Perimeter Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, 

NC  27560 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 16Q .0103 is proposed to address the practice 

requirements for a permit holder to administer general 
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anesthesia, moderate conscious sedation, and moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0104 is proposed to address requirements for 

facility inspections and evaluations. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0105 is proposed to set out requirements related 

to dedicated sedation monitoring and sedation providers. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0202 is proposed for amendment to set out 

modified requirements for a general anesthesia permit applicant 

or holder. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0302 is proposed for amendment to set out 

modified requirements for a moderate conscious sedation permit 

applicant or holder. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0405 is proposed for amendment to set out 

modified requirements for a moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation permit applicant or holder. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0702 is proposed to address adverse event 

tracking. 

21 NCAC 16Q .0703 is proposed for amendment to change 

requirements for adverse occurrence reporting. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Bobby White, 2000 Perimeter 

Park Drive, Suite 160, Morrisville, NC 27560 

 

Comment period ends:  March 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 16Q - GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND 

SEDATION 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0103 EQUIPMENT, PERSONNEL, 

AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS TO ADMINISTER 

ANESTHESIA OR MODERATE SEDATION 

(a)  Before administering general anesthesia, moderate conscious 

sedation, or moderate pediatric conscious sedation ("anesthesia or 

moderate sedation"), or supervising a CRNA to administer or RN 

employed to deliver anesthesia or moderate sedation, a dentist 

shall hold an unexpired permit issued by the Board in accordance 

with this Subchapter permitting the dentist to administer that level 

of sedation. 

(b)  Before performing sedation procedures in a facility other than 

a hospital or credentialed surgery center, the permit holder shall 

ensure that the Board has been notified that the permit holder 

intends to administer anesthesia or moderate sedation at the 

facility and shall ensure that the facility has passed a facility 

inspection by the Board in accordance with this Subchapter. 

(c)  The permit holder shall ensure that the facility where the 

sedation procedure is to be performed meets the following 

requirements at the time of the procedure: 

(1) The permit holder shall ensure the facility is 

equipped with the following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients, and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) a blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) an EKG monitor; 

(I) a pulse oximeter; 

(J) an automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) a capnograph; 

(L) a thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) a laryngoscope with working 

batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 
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(2) The permit holder shall ensure all monitoring 

and other equipment in the facility receives 

preventive maintenance no less frequently than 

once per year, including safety and function 

checks per the manufacturers' 

recommendations. The permit holder shall 

maintain documentation of all preventive 

maintenance performed, and shall ensure 

equipment is replaced upon its expiration or as 

clinically required. 

(3) The permit holder shall ensure the following 

unexpired drugs are maintained in the facility 

and are accessible from the operatory and 

recovery rooms: 

(A) epinephrine; 

(B) atropine; 

(C) an antiarrhythmic; 

(D) an antihistamine; 

(E) an antihypertensive; 

(F) a bronchodilator; 

(G) an antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) a vasopressor; 

(I) a corticosteroid; 

(J) an anticonvulsant; 

(K) appropriate reversal agents; 

(L) nitroglycerine; 

(M) an antiemetic; and 

(N) dextrose. 

(4) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols 

accessible from the operatory and recovery 

rooms. The written emergency manual shall 

include a protocol for activation of emergency 

management services for life-threatening 

complications along with the information set 

out in Rule .0101(17) of this Section. 

(5) The permit holder shall satisfy any additional 

facility requirements applicable to the level of 

the permit, as set out in Rule .0202, .0206, 

.0302, or .0405 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  The permit holder shall ensure that the following staffing, 

education, and training requirements are met prior to performing 

a sedation procedure: 

(1) The permit holder shall provide training to 

familiarize all auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies including those set out in 

Rule .0702(d) of this Subchapter, and shall 

review and practice responding to clinical 

emergencies with all auxiliaries as a team and 

in person every six months. 

(2) All auxiliaries in the facility shall be BLS 

certified. 

(3) Unless the permit holder is dedicated to patient 

care and monitoring regarding anesthesia or 

moderate sedation throughout the sedation 

procedure and is not performing the surgery or 

other dental procedure, the permit holder shall 

ensure that an auxiliary meeting the education 

and training requirements of this Subchapter is 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

anesthesia or sedation data throughout the 

sedation procedure. 

(4) The permit holder and any auxiliary dedicated 

to patient monitoring shall complete a training 

course every two years offered by a Board-

approved continuing education course sponsor 

as set out in 21 NCAC 16R .0202, which the 

permit holder may apply toward fulfillment of 

the continuing education required each calendar 

year for license renewal, that includes the 

following topics: 

(A) patient assessment and selection; 

(B) appropriate medications and dosages, 

including those for moderate 

conscious sedation; 

(C) proper patient monitoring; 

(D) effective airway management; and 

(E) recognizing, diagnosing, and 

effectively managing medical 

emergencies. 

(5) The permit holder shall complete one hour of 

continuing education on substance abuse issues 

each calendar year, which the permit holder 

may apply toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required for license renewal. 

(6) The permit holder shall satisfy any additional 

staffing, education, and training requirements 

applicable to the level of the permit, as set out 

in Rule .0202, .0302, or .0405 of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Before starting any sedation procedure, the permit holder 

shall: 

(1) evaluate the patient for health risks as follows: 

(A) a patient who is medically stable and 

who is ASA I or II shall be evaluated 

by reviewing the patient's current 

medical history and medication use; or 

(B) a patient who is not medically stable or 

who is ASA III or higher shall be 

evaluated by the permit holder's 

consultation with the patient's primary 

care physician or consulting medical 

specialist regarding the potential risks 

posed by the planned dental 

procedure; 

(2) evaluate the patient's food and fluid intake 

following the ASA guidelines for pre-operative 

fasting applicable to elective procedures 

involving the administration of anesthesia or 

moderate sedation. The ASA guidelines are 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, and may 

be accessed at https://www.asahq.org at no 

cost; and 

(3) perform a "time out" immediately prior to 

starting the sedation procedure, including 

verifying: 

(A) correct patient; 
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(B) correct procedure; 

(C) correct site; 

(D) correct medication and dosage based 

on the patient's pertinent health 

history, medical conditions, and body 

mass index; 

(E) availability of special equipment that 

may be needed; and 

(F) necessary documentation in the 

treatment record as set out in 

Subparagraphs (h)(2) and (3) of this 

Rule. 

(f)  During the sedation procedure: 

(1) The permit holder shall not administer or cause 

to be administered anesthetic or sedative agents 

in amounts exceeding the manufacturers' 

maximum recommended dosages. 

(2) Prescriptions intended to accomplish 

procedural sedation, including enteral dosages, 

shall be administered only under the direct 

supervision of the permit holder. 

(3) When IV sedation is used, IV infusion shall be 

administered before the start of the procedure 

and maintained until the patient is ready for 

discharge. 

(4) Capnography shall be used to monitor patients. 

The permit holder shall ensure the patient's base 

line vital signs are taken and recorded, 

including temperature, SPO2, blood pressure, 

and pulse. The permit holder shall ensure the 

patient's blood pressure, oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2, pulse, and respiration rates are monitored 

continuously and are recorded in intervals of 

five minutes or less during the procedure. All 

vital sign information monitored and recorded 

shall be printed, downloaded, or otherwise 

retained as part of the sedation record. A permit 

holder's failure to maintain the vital sign 

documentation produced by capnograph shall 

be deemed a failure to monitor the patient as 

required pursuant to the rules of this 

Subchapter. 

(5) If a patient immobilization device is used, the 

permit holder shall ensure that: 

(A) the device is applied to avoid airway 

obstruction or chest restriction; 

(B) the patient's head position and 

respiratory excursions are checked 

frequently to ensure airway patency; 

(C) a hand or foot is kept exposed; and 

(D) the patient is attended at all times. 

(6) The permit holder shall satisfy any additional 

requirements applicable to the level of the 

permit, as set out in Rule .0202, .0302, or .0405 

of this Subchapter. 

(g)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge shall include the 

following: 

(1) The permit holder or an auxiliary under his or 

her direct supervision shall monitor the patient's 

post-operative vital signs until the patient is 

recovered and is ready for discharge from the 

office. Recovery from anesthesia or moderate 

sedation shall include documentation of the 

following: 

(A) stable cardiovascular function; 

(B) uncompromised airway patency; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate with minimal 

assistance, if applicable; and 

(H) for a special needs patient, the pre-

sedation level of responsiveness or the 

level as close as possible for that 

patient shall be achieved. 

(2) Before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the permit holder shall determine that the 

patient has met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (g)(1) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written post-operative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by or responsible 

for the patient is available to transport 

the patient after discharge, and for a 

patient for whom a motor vehicle 

restraint system is required, an 

additional responsible individual is 

available to attend to the patient. 

(h)  The permit holder shall maintain the following in the patient 

treatment records for 10 years: 

(1) the patient's current written medical history 

including known allergies and previous 

surgeries; 

(2) a pre-operative assessment as set out in 

Subparagraphs (e)(1) and (2) of this Rule; 

(3) consent to the procedure and to the anesthesia 

or sedation, signed by the patient or guardian, 

identifying the procedure and its risks and 

benefits, the level of anesthesia or sedation and 

its risks and benefits, and the date signed; 

(4) a copy or description of any prescription used 

for sedation, including medication administered 

enterally, along with the instructions given to 

the patient or person responsible for the patient; 

(5) the anesthesia or sedation record that shall 

include: 
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(A) the patient's base line vital signs, 

including temperature, SPO2, blood 

pressure, and pulse; 

(B) real-time documentation, in intervals 

of five minutes or less, of the patient's 

vital signs including capnography 

documentation pursuant to 

Subparagraph (f)(4) of this Rule; 

(C) documentation of a "time out" as set 

out in Subparagraph (e)(3) of this 

Rule; 

(D) procedure start and end times; 

(E) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(F) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration, with 

separate entries for each increment of 

medication that is titrated to effect; 

(G) documentation of the individualized 

patient effect of administered drugs 

and the patient's level of 

consciousness and responsiveness; 

(H) documentation of complications, 

morbidity, or adverse events and 

clinical responses as set out in Rule 

.0702(d) of this Subchapter, and their 

treatment; and 

(I) status of patient upon discharge, 

including documentation of satisfying 

the requirements set out in Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule; and 

(6) any additional documentation applicable to the 

level of the permit, as set out in Rule .0202, 

.0302, or .0405 of this Subchapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0104 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

INSPECTIONS AND EVALUATIONS 

(a)  During a facility inspection pursuant to the rules of this 

Subchapter, for a dentist applying for or holding a permit to 

administer general anesthesia, moderate conscious sedation, or 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate satisfaction of the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0103(c) and (d) of this Section. 

(b)  During an evaluation, for a dentist applying for or holding a 

permit to administer general anesthesia, moderate conscious 

sedation, or moderate pediatric conscious sedation, the applicant 

or permit holder shall demonstrate the administration of 

anesthesia or sedation in accordance with the level of the permit, 

and shall demonstrate competency including but not limited to the 

following areas: 

(1) pre-operative patient evaluation and 

procedures, including the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0103(e) of this Section; 

(2) operative procedures, including the deployment 

of an intravenous delivery system and the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0103(f) of this 

Section; 

(3) post-operative patient monitoring and 

discharge, including the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0103(g) of this Section; and 

(4) treatment of the clinical emergencies set out in 

Rule .0702(d) of this Subchapter. 

(c)  During the evaluation, the applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

The applicant shall obtain a passing score on the written 

examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the applicant fails to obtain a passing score 

on the written examination, he or she may be re-examined in 

accordance with Rule .0204(h), .0306(h), or .0408(h) of this 

Subchapter. 

(d)  The permit holder shall be subject to re-evaluation every five 

years. Each facility where the permit holder administers 

anesthesia or sedation shall be subject to a facility inspection upon 

annual renewal of the permit. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0105 REQUIREMENTS FOR 

DEDICATED ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION 

MONITORING 

(a)  During a sedation procedure involving the administration of 

general anesthesia, moderate conscious sedation, or moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation, the permit holder performing the 

surgical or other dental treatment shall utilize either a dedicated 

sedation provider or a dedicated sedation auxiliary as set out in 

this Rule. The dedicated sedation provider or dedicated sedation 

auxiliary shall not perform the surgical or dental treatment or any 

other dental assisting tasks during the sedation procedure. 

(b)  The permit holder shall utilize a dedicated sedation provider 

to administer any medication that is contraindicated for 

administration by the person performing the surgical or other 

dental treatment, as indicated by either the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration or the manufacturer. 

(c)  For purposes of this Rule, a "dedicated sedation provider" 

shall mean a practitioner who is dedicated to administering the 

anesthesia or sedation and monitoring the patient's well-being 

throughout the sedation procedure. The dedicated sedation 

provider shall be: 

(1) a dentist holding an itinerant (mobile) permit in 

accordance with Rules .0206, .0304, or .0406 of 

this Subchapter; 

(2) a dentist holding a permit in accordance with 

Rules .0201, .0301, or .0404 of this Subchapter, 

and who has satisfied the requirements of Rule 

.0103(b) of this Section to administer the 

anesthesia or sedation level at the facility where 

the sedation procedure is performed; 

(3) an anesthesiologist licensed and practicing in 

accordance with the rules of the North Carolina 

Medical Board; or 

(4) a CRNA licensed and practicing in accordance 

with the rules of the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing, under the supervision and direction of 

the permit holder who shall ensure the level 
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sedation administered does not exceed the level 

of the sedation allowed by the permit holder's 

permit. 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, a "dedicated sedation auxiliary" 

shall mean an auxiliary with an unexpired ACLS certification who 

is dedicated to patient monitoring and recording anesthesia or 

sedation data throughout the sedation procedure. The dedicated 

sedation auxiliary shall be: 

(1) an RN licensed and practicing in accordance 

with the rules of the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing; or 

(2) a dental assistant with proof of an unexpired 

dental anesthesia assistant certification from the 

Dental Anesthesia Assistant National 

Certification Examination program offered by 

the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons, or from another Board-

approved dental anesthesia assistant 

certification program. A list of approved 

programs is available on the Board's website at 

www.ncdentalboard.org. 

(e)  The permit holder shall ensure that each dedicated sedation 

auxiliary completes the training course set out in Rule .0103 of 

this Section every two years in addition to the training set out in 

this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0202 GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

EQUIPMENT AND CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  A dentist administering holding or applying for a permit to 

administer general anesthesia shall ensure that the facility where 

the general anesthesia is administered meets the following 

requirements: be subject to the requirements set out in Section 

.0100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  In addition to the drugs listed in Rule .0103(c)(3) of this 

Subchapter, an unexpired neuromuscular blocking agent shall be 

maintained in the facility and be accessible from the operatory and 

recovery rooms. 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients, and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(4) The permit holder shall maintain the following 

records for 10 years: 

(A) Patient's current written medical 

history, including a record of known 

allergies and previous surgeries; 

(B) Consent to general anesthesia, signed 

by the patient or guardian, identifying 

the risks and benefits, level of 

anesthesia, and date signed; 

(C) Consent to the procedure, signed by 

the patient or guardian identifying the 

risks, benefits, and date signed; and 

(D) Patient base line vital signs, including 

temperature, SPO2, blood pressure, 

and pulse. 
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(5) The anesthesia record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity. 

(6) The facility shall be staffed with at least two 

BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

general anesthesia or sedation data throughout 

the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph 

shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and monitoring 

regarding general anesthesia or sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of anesthesia while 

the evaluator observes, and shall demonstrate competency in the 

following areas: 

(1) monitoring of blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) syncope; 

(9) allergic reactions; 

(10) convulsions; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0204(h) of this Section. 

(e)  A general anesthesia permit holder shall evaluate a patient for 

health risks before starting any anesthesia procedure. 

(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge shall include the 

following: 

(1) the permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined by Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office; and 

(2) recovery from general anesthesia shall include 

documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved; and 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0300 - MODERATE CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0302 MODERATE PARENTERAL 

AND ENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL 

REQUIREMENTS AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering holding or applying for a permit to 

administer moderate conscious sedation or supervising any 

CRNA employed to administer or RN employed to deliver 
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moderate conscious sedation shall ensure that the facility where 

the sedation is administered meets the following requirements: be 

subject to the requirements set out in Section .0100 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  In addition to the drugs listed in Rule .0103(c)(3) of this 

Subchapter, an unexpired muscle relaxant shall be maintained in 

the facility and be accessible from the operatory and recovery 

rooms. 

(c)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder shall not use: 

(1) drugs designed by the manufacturer for use in 

administering general anesthesia or deep 

sedation; or 

(2) drugs contraindicated for use in moderate 

conscious sedation. 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies; 

(4) The dentist shall maintain the following records 

for at least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; and 

(C) a sedation record; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; 

(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(F) consent form, signed by the patient or 

guardian, identifying the procedure, 

risks and benefits, level of sedation, 

and date signed; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) The facility shall be staffed with at 

least two BLS certified auxiliaries, one 

of whom shall be dedicated to patient 

monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) If IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the start 
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of the procedure and maintained until 

the patient is ready for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of moderate 

conscious sedation on a patient, including the deployment of an 

intravenous delivery system, while the evaluator observes. During 

the demonstration, the applicant or permit holder shall 

demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, ET CO2 if 

capnography is utilized, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency to the evaluator in the 

treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(e)  A moderate conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate a 

patient for health risks before starting any sedation procedure as 

follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use or; 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge: 

(1) the permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(2) recovery from moderate conscious sedation 

shall include documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or patient 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(3) before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

the time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0400 - PEDIATRIC MODERATE CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0405 MODERATE PEDIATRIC 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS 

AND EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A dentist administering holding or applying for a permit to 

administer moderate pediatric conscious sedation shall ensure that 

the facility where the sedation is administered meets the following 

requirements: be subject to the requirements set out in Section 

.0100 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  In addition to the drugs listed in Rule .0103(c)(3) of this 

Subchapter, an unexpired muscle relaxant shall be maintained in 

the facility and be accessible from the operatory and recovery 

rooms. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements set out in Rule .0103(c)(4) of 

this Subchapter, the permit holder's emergency manual shall 

include assignments to be performed in the event of emergency 

by a BLS-certified auxiliary with PALS or comparable training. 
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(d)  In addition to the requirements set out in Rule .0103(e) and 

(f) of this Subchapter, the permit holder shall ensure that patients 

who have been administered moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation are monitored for alertness, responsiveness, breathing, 

and skin coloration during waiting periods before operative 

procedures by the permit holder or an auxiliary dedicated to 

patient monitoring. 

(e)  In addition to the requirements set out in Rule .0103(h) of this 

Subchapter, the permit holder shall maintain documentation of 

pre-sedation instructions and information provided to the patient 

or person responsible for the patient, which shall include: 

(1) objectives of the sedation; 

(2) anticipated changes in patient behavior during 

and after sedation; 

(3) instructions to person responsible for a patient 

transported in a car seat regarding patient head 

position to avoid airway obstruction; 

(4) a 24-hour telephone number for the permit 

holder or his or her BLS-certified auxiliaries; 

and 

(5) instructions on limitations of activities and 

dietary precautions. 

(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder shall 

not use: 

(1) drugs designed by the manufacturer for use in 

administering general anesthesia or deep 

sedation; or 

(2) drugs contraindicated for use in moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation. 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) EKG monitor; 

(I) pulse oximeter; 

(J) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(K) precordial stethoscope or capnograph; 

(L) thermometer; 

(M) vascular access set-up as necessary for 

specific procedures, including 

hardware and fluids; 

(N) laryngoscope with working batteries; 

(O) intubation forceps and advanced 

airway devices; 

(P) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

(Q) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures; and 

(R) tourniquet and tape. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) Epinephrine; 

(B) Atropine; 

(C) antiarrhythmic; 

(D) antihistamine; 

(E) antihypertensive; 

(F) bronchodilator; 

(G) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(H) vasopressor; 

(I) corticosteroid; 

(J) anticonvulsant; 

(K) muscle relaxant; 

(L) appropriate reversal agents; 

(M) nitroglycerine; 

(N) antiemetic; and 

(O) Dextrose. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies; 

(4) The following records are maintained for at 

least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; 

(C) a sedation record; and 

(D) a consent form, signed by the patient 

or a guardian, identifying the 

procedure, risks and benefits, level of 

sedation, and date signed; 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, ET 

CO2 if capnography is utilized, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15 minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) gauge of needle and location of IV on 

the patient, if used; 

(D) status of patient upon discharge; and 
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(E) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(6) The following conditions shall be satisfied 

during a sedation procedure: 

(A) the facility shall be staffed with at least 

two BLS certified auxiliaries, one of 

whom shall be dedicated to patient 

monitoring and recording sedation 

data throughout the sedation 

procedure. This Subparagraph shall 

not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and 

monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and 

is not performing the surgery or other 

dental procedure; and 

(B) when IV sedation is used, IV infusion 

shall be administered before the 

commencement of the procedure and 

maintained until the patient is ready 

for discharge. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, applicants and permit 

holders who use intravenous sedation shall demonstrate the 

administration of moderate pediatric conscious sedation on a live 

patient, including the deployment of an intravenous delivery 

system, while the evaluator observes. Applicants and permit 

holders who do not use IV sedation shall describe the proper 

deployment of an intravascular delivery system to the evaluator 

and shall demonstrate the administration of moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation on a live patient while the evaluator observes. 

(c)  During the demonstration, all applicants and permit holders 

shall demonstrate competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, and 

respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(d)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency in the treatment of the 

following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(e)  During the evaluation, the permit applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of 

this Rule. The permit applicant must obtain a passing score on the 

written examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the permit applicant fails to obtain a passing 

score on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be re-examined in accordance with Rule 

.0408(h) of this Section. 

(f)  A moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder shall 

evaluate patients for health risks before starting any sedation 

procedure as follows: 

(1) a patient who is medically stable and who is 

ASA I or II shall be evaluated by reviewing the 

patient's current medical history and medication 

use; or 

(2) a patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated by a 

consultation with the patient's primary care 

physician or consulting medical specialist 

regarding the potential risks posed by the 

procedure. 

(g)  Patient monitoring: 

(1) Patients who have been administered moderate 

pediatric conscious sedation shall be monitored 

for alertness, responsiveness, breathing, and 

skin coloration during waiting periods before 

operative procedures. 

(2) The permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(3) Recovery from moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation shall include documentation of the 

following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or a 

patient incapable of the usually 

expected responses, the pre-sedation 

level of responsiveness or the level as 

close as possible for that patient shall 

be achieved. 

(4) Before allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the dentist shall determine that the patient has 

met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (g)(3) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 
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(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable, and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to a person 

responsible for the patient at time of 

discharge; and 

(C) a person responsible for the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge, and for the patient for 

whom a motor vehicle restraint system 

is required, an additional responsible 

individual is available to attend to the 

patient. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

SECTION .0700 – COMPLIANCE AND REPORTING 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0702 TRACKING OF ADVERSE 

EVENTS 

(a)  A dentist who holds a permit to administer general anesthesia 

or sedation shall maintain an adverse event record, separate from 

patient treatment records, in which the permit holder tracks all 

adverse events during sedation procedures, including the permit 

holder's interventions to respond to each adverse event. 

(b)  On a quarterly basis, the permit holder shall examine all 

adverse events for assessment of risk reduction, including 

modification of procedures or equipment, or completion of 

relevant training or continuing education by the permit holder and 

all auxiliaries involved in sedation procedures. 

(c)  Each adverse event and risk reduction assessment shall be 

documented and maintained in the permit holder's adverse event 

record for 10 years. The permit holder's adverse event record shall 

be made available during a Board conducted facility inspection or 

evaluation. 

(d)  For purposes of this Rule, the term "adverse event" shall 

include the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) airway obstruction; 

(2) allergic reactions; 

(3) angina pectoris; 

(4) apnea; 

(5) bradycardia; 

(6) bronchospasm; 

(7) cardiac arrest; 

(8) convulsions; 

(9) emesis and aspiration; 

(10) hypertensive crisis, including rise in blood 

pressure to 180/120 mm Hg or higher; 

(11) hypoglycemia; 

(12) hypotension, including drop in blood pressure 

to 90/60 mm Hg or lower; 

(13) hypoventilation and respiratory arrest; 

(14) hypoxemia and hypoxia; 

(15) laryngospasm; 

(16) myocardial infarction; and 

(17) syncope. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-48. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0703 REPORTS OF ADVERSE 

OCCURRENCES 

(a)  A dentist who holds a permit to administer general anesthesia 

or sedation shall report to the Board within 72 hours after each 

adverse occurrence related to the administration of general 

anesthesia or sedation that results in the death of a patient if the 

patient dies or has permanent organic brain dysfunction within 24 

hours of after the procedure. administration of general anesthesia 

or sedation. Sedation permit Permit holders shall cease 

administration of general anesthesia or sedation until the Board 

has investigated the death or permanent organic brain dysfunction 

and approved resumption of permit privileges. General anesthesia 

permit holders shall cease administration of general anesthesia 

and sedation until the Board has reviewed the incident report and 

approved resumption of permit privileges. 

(b)  A dentist who holds a permit to administer general anesthesia 

or sedation shall report to the Board within 30 days after each 

adverse occurrence related to if the patient is admitted to a 

hospital for a medical emergency or physical injury within 24 

hours after the administration of general anesthesia or sedation. 

sedation that results in permanent organic brain dysfunction of a 

patient occurring within 24 hours of the procedure or that results 

in physical injury or severe medical emergencies, causing 

hospitalization of a patient occurring within 24 hours of the 

procedure. 

(c)  The adverse occurrence report shall be in writing and shall 

include the following: 

(1) dentist's name, license number and permit 

number; 

(2) date and time of the occurrence; 

(3) facility where the occurrence took place; 

(4) name and address of the patient; 

(5) surgical procedure involved; 

(6) type and dosage of sedation or anesthesia 

utilized in the procedure; 

(7) circumstances involved in the occurrence; and 

(8) anesthesia records. 

(d)  Upon receipt of any such report, report submitted pursuant to 

this Rule, the Board shall investigate and shall take disciplinary 

action if the evidence demonstrates that a licensee has violated the 

Dental Practice Act set forth in Article 2 of G.S. Chapter 90 of the 

General Statutes or the Board's rules of this Chapter. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-41; 90-48. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Medical Board intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 32B 

.1303, .1350, .1402; and 32S .0213. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

www.ncmedboard.org/about_the_board/rule_changes 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  May 1, 2022 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 3, 2022 

1143 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  March 3, 2022 

Time:  10:00 a.m. 

Location:  Public Hearing will be held via teleconference: 1-919-

518-9840; Conference ID: 436 577 690# 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

21 NCAC 32B .1303, .1350, .1402: To eliminate all USMLE Step 

2 CS and COMLEX Level 2 PE licensure requirements to all 

license applications. 

21 NCAC 32S .0213: To clarify supervisory exemptions if 

multiple supervising physicians are involved in postgraduate 

training. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Wanda Long, P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619-0007; email rules@ncmedboard.org 

 

Comment period ends:  March 4, 2022 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32B – LICENSE TO PRACTICE 

MEDICINE 

 

SECTION .1300 - GENERAL 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1303 APPLICATION FOR PHYSICIAN 

LICENSE 

(a)  In order to obtain a physician license, an applicant shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, attesting under 

oath or affirmation that the information on the 

application is true and complete and authorizing 

the release to the Board of all information 

pertaining to the application; 

(2) submit a photograph that shows a front view of 

your face; photograph, two inches by two 

inches, affixed to the oath or affirmation that 

has been attested to by a notary public; 

(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(4) supply a certified copy of applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the U.S. 

or a certified copy of a valid and unexpired U.S. 

passport. If the applicant does not possess proof 

of U.S. citizenship, the applicant must provide 

information about applicant's immigration and 

work status that the Board will use to verify 

applicant's ability to work lawfully in the U.S.; 

(5) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education and received a medical degree. 

However, the Board shall waive the 130-week 

requirement if the applicant has been certified 

or recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, FRCP, 

FRCS, or AOA approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(6) for an applicant who has graduated from a 

medical or osteopathic school approved by the 

LCME, the CACMS, or COCA, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.1; 

(7) for an applicant graduating from a medical 

school not approved by the LCME, meet the 

requirements set forth in G.S. 90-9.2; 

(8) provide proof of passage of an examination 

testing general medical knowledge. In addition 

to the examinations set forth in G.S. 90-10.1 (a 

state board licensing examination, NBME, 

USMLE, FLEX, or their successors), the Board 

accepts the following examinations (or their 

successors) for licensure: 

(A) COMLEX; 

(B) NBOME; and 

(B)(C) MCCQE; and 

(C) Current certification or current 

recertification by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, ABOMS or other 

Board approved speciality board. 

(9) submit proof that the applicant has completed 

graduate medical education as required by G.S. 

90-9.1 or 90-9.2, as follows: 

(A) A graduate of a medical school 

approved by LCME, CACMS, or 

COCA shall have completed at least 

one year of graduate medical 

education approved by ACGME, 

CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; 

(B) A graduate of a medical school not 

approved by LCME shall have 

completed three years of graduate 

medical education approved by 

ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC, or AOA; 

(C) An applicant may satisfy the graduate 

medical education requirements of 

Parts (A) or (B) of this Subparagraph 
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by showing proof of current 

certification by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, or AOA; 

(10) submit a FCVS profile: 

(A) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school approved by LCME, 

CACMS, or COCA, and the applicant 

previously has completed a FCVS 

profile; or 

(B) If the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those 

approved by LCME, COCA, or 

CACMS; 

(11) if a graduate of a medical school other than 

those approved by LCME, AOA, COCA, or 

CACMS, furnish an original ECFMG 

certification status report of a currently valid 

certification of the ECFMG. The ECFMG 

certification status report requirement shall be 

waived if: the applicant has passed the ECFMG 

examination and successfully completed an 

approved Fifth Pathway program (original 

ECFMG score transcript from the ECFMG 

required); 

(12) submit an AMA Physician Profile and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit an AOA Physician Profile; 

(13) if applying on the basis of the USMLE, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the FSMB showing a 

score on USMLE Step 1, both portions 

of Step 2 (clinical knowledge and 

clinical skills) and Step 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

each step within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three-attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, American Board 

of Oral Maxillofacial Surgery 

("ABOMS") approved specialty board 

within the past 10 years; 

(14) if applying on the basis of COMLEX, submit: 

(A) a transcript from the NBOME 

showing a score on COMLEX Level 

1, both portions of Level 2 (cognitive 

cognitive evaluation and performance 

evaluation) and Level 3; and 

(B) proof that the applicant has passed 

COMLEX within three attempts. 

However, the Board shall waive the 

three-attempt requirement if the 

applicant has been certified or 

recertified by an ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, or ABOMS 

approved specialty board within the 

past 10 years; 

(15) if applying on the basis of any other board-

approved examination, submit a transcript 

showing a passing score; 

(16) submit two completed fingerprint record cards; 

cards supplied by the Board; 

(17) submit a signed consent allowing a search of 

local, state, and national files for any criminal 

record; 

(18) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or marital relationship to the 

applicant. These references shall be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of the 

submission of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

writer; 

(19) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(20) upon request, supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(b)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 

(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination, 

NBOME, USMLE, COMLEX, or 

MCCQE or their successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMVEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past 10 years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

or CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA or American 

Board of Maxillofacial Surgery; 

(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC, or 

AOA; or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(c)  All reports must be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source. 

(d)  An applicant shall appear in person for an interview with the 

Board or its agent, if the Board determines it needs more 
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information to evaluate the applicant based on the information 

provided by the applicant and the Board's concerns. 

(e)  An application must be completed within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 

application fee, plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-9.2; 90-13.1. 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1350 REINSTATEMENT OF 

PHYSICIAN LICENSE 

(a)  "Reinstatement" is for a physician who has held a North 

Carolina license, but whose license either has been inactive for 

more than one year, or whose license became inactive as a result 

of disciplinary action (revocation or suspension) taken by the 

Board. It also applies to a physician who has surrendered a license 

prior to charges being filed by the Board. 

(b)  All applicants for reinstatement shall: 

(1) submit a completed application, that can be 

found on the Board's website in the application 

section at 

http://www.ncmedboard.org/licensing, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application; 

(2) submit a photograph that shows a front view of 

your face; 

(2)(3) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3)(4) supply a certified copy of the applicant's birth 

certificate if the applicant was born in the U.S. 

or a certified copy of a valid and unexpired U.S. 

passport. If the applicant does not possess proof 

of U.S. citizenship, the applicant shall provide 

information about the applicant's immigration 

status that the Board shall use to verify the 

applicant's legal presence in the U.S. 

Applicants who are not physically present in the 

U.S. and who do not plan to practice by being 

physically present in the U.S. shall submit a 

written statement to that effect; 

(4)(5) furnish an original ECFMG certification status 

report of a currently valid certification of the 

ECFMG if the applicant is a graduate of a 

medical school other than those approved by 

LCME, AOA, COCA, or CACMS. The 

ECFMG certification status report requirement 

shall be waived if: the applicant has passed the 

ECFMG examination and completed an 

approved Fifth Pathway program (original 

ECFMG score transcript from the ECFMG 

required); 

(5) submit the AMA Physician Profile; and, if the 

applicant is an osteopathic physician, also 

submit the AOA Physician Profile; 

(6) submit documentation of CME obtained in the 

last three years; 

(7) submit two completed fingerprint cards; cards 

supplied by the Board; 

(8) submit a signed consent allowing a search of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(9) provide two original references from persons 

with no family or marital relationship to the 

applicant. These references shall be: 

(A) from physicians who have observed 

the applicant's work in a clinical 

environment within the past three 

years; 

(B) on forms supplied by the Board; 

(C) dated within six months of submission 

of the application; and 

(D) bearing the original signature of the 

author; 

(10) pay to the Board a non-refundable fee pursuant 

to G.S. 90-13.1(a), plus the cost of a criminal 

background check; and 

(11) upon request, provide any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's qualifications. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

the applicant shall submit proof that the applicant has: 

(1) within the past 10 years taken and passed either: 

(A) an exam listed in G.S. 90-10.1 (a state 

board licensing examination, 

NBOME, USMLE, COMLEX, or 

MCCQE or their successors); 

(B) SPEX (with a score of 75 or higher); 

or 

(C) COMLEX (with a score of 75 or 

higher); 

(2) within the past ten years: 

(A) obtained certification or recertification 

of CAQ by a specialty board 

recognized by the ABMS, CCFP, 

FRCP, FRCS, AOA, or American 

Board of Oral Maxillofacial Surgery; 

(B) met requirements for ABMS MOC 

(maintenance of certification) or AOA 

OCC (Osteopathic continuous 

certification); 

(3) within the past 10 years completed GME 

approved by ACGME, CFPC, RCPSC or AOA; 

or 

(4) within the past three years completed CME as 

required by 21 NCAC 32R .0101(a), .0101(b), 

and .0102. 

(d)  All reports shall be submitted directly to the Board from the 

primary source. 

(e)  An applicant shall be required to appear in person for an 

interview with the Board or its agent to evaluate the applicant's 

competence and character if the Board determines it needs more 

information to evaluate the applicant based on the information 

provided by the applicant and the Board's concerns. 

(f)  An application must be complete within one year of 

submission. If not, the applicant shall be charged another 
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application fee plus the cost of another criminal background 

check. 

(g)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this Rule, the licensure 

requirements established by rule at the time the applicant first 

received his or her equivalent North Carolina license shall apply. 

Information about these Rules is available from the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-8.1; 90-9.1; 90-10.1; 90-13.1. 

 

SECTION .1400 – RESIDENT'S TRAINING LICENSE 

 

21 NCAC 32B .1402 APPLICATION FOR 

RESIDENT'S TRAINING LICENSE 

(a)  In order to obtain a Resident's Training License, an applicant 

shall: 

(1) submit a completed application which can be 

found on the Board's website in the application 

section at 

http://www.ncmedboard.org/licensing, 

attesting under oath or affirmation that the 

information on the application is true and 

complete, and authorizing the release to the 

Board of all information pertaining to the 

application; 

(2) submit documentation of a legal name change, 

if applicable; 

(3) submit a photograph that shows a front view of 

your face; photograph, two inches by two 

inches, affixed to the oath or affirmation which 

has been attested to by a notary public; 

(4) submit proof on the Board's Medical Education 

Certification form that the applicant has 

completed at least 130 weeks of medical 

education; education to P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619 or 

license@ncmedboard.org. 

(5) furnish an original ECFMG certification status 

report of a currently valid ECFMG certification 

if the applicant is a graduate of a medical school 

other than those approved by LCME, AOA, 

COCA, or CACMS. The ECFMG certification 

status report requirement shall be waived if: 

(A) if the applicant has passed the ECFMG 

examination and successfully 

completed an approved Fifth Pathway 

program (the applicant shall provide 

an ECFMG score transcript from the 

ECFMG); or 

(B) the applicant has been licensed in 

another state on the basis of a written 

examination before the establishment 

of the ECFMG in 1958; 

(6) submit an appointment letter from the program 

director of the GME program or his or her 

appointed agent verifying the applicant's 

appointment and commencement date; 

(7) submit two completed fingerprint record cards; 

cards supplied by the Board to P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619; 

(8) submit a signed consent form allowing a search 

of local, state, and national files for any 

criminal record; record to P.O. Box 20007, 

Raleigh, NC 27619. 

(9) pay a non-refundable fee pursuant to G.S. 90-

13.1(b), plus the cost of a criminal background 

check; 

(10) provide proof that the applicant has taken and 

passed within three attempts: 

(A) COMLEX Level 1, each component of 

COMLEX Level 2 (cognitive 

evaluation and performance 

evaluation) and, if taken, COMLEX 

Level 3; or 

(B) USMLE Step 1, each component of 

USMLE Step 2 (Clinical Knowledge) 

Knowledge and Clinical Skills) and, if 

taken USMLE Step 3; or 

(C) MCCQE Part 1 and, if taken, MCCQE 

Pat 2; 

(11) In the event any of the above required 

information should indicate a concern about the 

applicant's qualifications, upon request, the 

applicant shall supply any additional 

information the Board deems necessary to 

evaluate the applicant's competence and 

character. 

(b)  In the event any of the above required information should 

indicate a concern about the applicant's qualifications, an 

applicant shall be required to appear in person for an interview 

with the Board or its agent to evaluate the applicant's competence 

and character, if the Board needs more information to complete 

the application. 

(c)  If the applicant previously held a North Carolina residency 

training license, the licensure requirements established by rule at 

the time the applicant first received his or her North Carolina 

residency training license shall apply. Information about these 

Rules is available from the Board. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-12.01; 90-13.1; 90-14(a). 

 

SUBCHAPTER 32S - PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

 

SECTION .0200 – PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 

REGISTRATION 

 

21 NCAC 32S .0213 PHYSICIAN SUPERVISION OF 

PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

(a)  A physician wishing to serve as a primary supervising 

physician shall exercise supervision of the physician assistant in 

accordance with rules adopted by the Board. 

(b)  A physician assistant may perform medical acts, tasks, or 

functions only under the supervision of a physician. Supervision 

shall be continuous but, except as otherwise provided in the rules 

of this Subchapter, shall not be construed as requiring the physical 

presence of the supervising physician at the time and place that 

the services are rendered. 

(c)  Each team of physician(s) and physician assistant(s) shall 

ensure: 
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(1) the physician assistant's scope of practice is 

identified; 

(2) delegation of medical tasks is appropriate to the 

skills of the supervising physician(s) as well as 

the physician assistant's level of competence; 

(3) the relationship of, and access to, each 

supervising physician is defined; and 

(4) a process for evaluation of the physician 

assistant's performance is established. 

(d)  Each supervising physician and physician assistant shall sign 

a statement, as defined in Rule .0201(9) of this Subchapter, that 

describes the supervisory arrangements in all settings. The 

physician assistant shall maintain written prescribing instructions 

at each site. This statement shall be kept on file at all practice sites, 

and shall be available upon request by the Board. 

(e)  A primary supervising physician and a physician assistant in 

a new practice arrangement shall meet monthly for the first six 

months to discuss practice relevant clinical issues and quality 

improvement measures. Thereafter, the primary supervising 

physician and the physician assistant shall meet at least once every 

six months. A written record of these meetings shall be signed and 

dated by both the supervising physician and the physician 

assistant, and shall be available upon request by the Board. The 

written record shall include a description of the relevant clinical 

issues discussed and the quality improvement measures taken. 

(f)  Physician assistants enrolled and participating in a 

postgraduate training program shall designate on their intent to 

practice form as required by Rule .0203 of this Subchapter a single 

physician as their primary supervising physician as determined by 

the postgraduate training program. For purposes of this Rule, a 

postgraduate training program shall mean a professional 

development program of at least 12 months sponsored or co-

sponsored by a licensed hospital and healthcare system in which 

the participants rotate through at least three or more distinct 

medical specialties. As the participants rotates through the 

program's various specialties, all other supervising physicians 

shall be designated as a backups. 

 

Authority G.S. 90-9.3; 90-18(c)(13); 90-18.1. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on November 18, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR 

Schedule I 10A NCAC 26F .0102* n/a G.S. 90-88(d) 

Schedule II 10A NCAC 26F .0103* n/a G.S. 90-88(d) 

Schedule IV 10A NCAC 26F .0105* n/a G.S. 90-88(d) 

Schedule V 10A NCAC 26F .0106* n/a G.S. 90-88(d) 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Division Procedures 11 NCAC 04 .0115* 35:14 NCR 

Policy or Service Fees 11 NCAC 04 .0120* 35:14 NCR 

Premium Notices: Payments and Refunds 11 NCAC 04 .0314* 35:14 NCR 

Issuance of Contracts 11 NCAC 04 .0315* 35:14 NCR 

Contestability Clause and Rescission 11 NCAC 04 .0316* 35:14 NCR 

Sex Discrimination: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 11 NCAC 04 .0317* 35:14 NCR 

Life Insurance Sales: Financing First Year Premium 11 NCAC 04 .0318* 35:14 NCR 

Claims Practices: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 11 NCAC 04 .0319* 35:14 NCR 

Safe Driver Incentive Plan 11 NCAC 04 .0415* 35:14 NCR 

Disclosure Requirements 11 NCAC 04 .0427* 35:14 NCR 

Commingling 11 NCAC 04 .0429 35:14 NCR 

Refund of Excess Premium on Scheduled Items 11 NCAC 04 .0432* 35:14 NCR 

Refund of Auto Insurance Premium on New Business 11 NCAC 04 .0433 35:14 NCR 

Scope and Definitions 11 NCAC 04 .0501* 35:14 NCR 

Assumed Expenses and Current Scale 11 NCAC 04 .0502* 35:14 NCR 

Illustrated Policies 11 NCAC 04 .0503* 35:14 NCR 

General Rules 11 NCAC 04 .0504* 35:14 NCR 

Standards and Basic Illustrations 11 NCAC 04 .0505* 35:14 NCR 

Standards for Supplemental Illustrations 11 NCAC 04 .0506* 35:14 NCR 

Delivery of Illustration and Record Retention 11 NCAC 04 .0507* 35:14 NCR 

Annual Reports and Notices to Policy Owners 11 NCAC 04 .0508* 35:14 NCR 

Annual Certifications 11 NCAC 04 .0509* 35:14 NCR 

CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD 

Residential Changeout Inspector 11 NCAC 08 .0734 35:23 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0306 35:20 NCR 

Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0308* 35:20 NCR 

Purpose 15A NCAC 07H .1201* 34:09 NCR 

Approval Procedures 15A NCAC 07H .1202* 34:09 NCR 

Permit Fee 15A NCAC 07H .1203 34:09 NCR 

General Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1204* 34:09 NCR 
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Specific Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1205* 34:09 NCR 

Application Procedures 15A NCAC 07J .1105* 34:09 NCR 

Permit Conditions 15A NCAC 07J .1106* 34:09 NCR 

Permit Compliance 15A NCAC 07J .1107* 34:09 NCR 

Requesting the Development Line 15A NCAC 07J .1301* 35:20 NCR 

Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0207* 35:20 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Statement of Purpose 15A NCAC 07O .0101* 36:02 NCR 

Definitions as used in this Subchapter 15A NCAC 07O .0102* 36:02 NCR 

Responsibilities: Duties of The Coastal Reserve Program 15A NCAC 07O .0103 36:02 NCR 

State and Local Coastal Reserve Advisory Committees 15A NCAC 07O .0104* 36:02 NCR 

Reserve Components 15A NCAC 07O .0105 36:02 NCR 

Management Plan 15A NCAC 07O .0201* 36:02 NCR 

Reserve Use Requirements 15A NCAC 07O .0202* 36:02 NCR 

Special Activity Authorization 15A NCAC 07O .0203* 36:02 NCR 

TREASURER, DEPARTMENT OF STATE 

Correspondence 20 NCAC 01F .0102 36:04 NCR 

Petition for Rulemaking 20 NCAC 01F .0111 36:04 NCR 

Form of Requests 20 NCAC 01F .0203 36:04 NCR 

Who Makes Ruling 20 NCAC 01F .0204 36:04 NCR 

Ruling Procedures 20 NCAC 01F .0207 36:04 NCR 

Declaratory Rulings 20 NCAC 01F .0208 36:04 NCR 

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Temporary Appointment 25 NCAC 01C .0405* 36:02 NCR 

Temporary Part-time Appointment 25 NCAC 01C .0407 36:02 NCR 

 

The following rules are subject to legislative review. 
 
MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Infection Prevention and Control Policies and Procedures 10A NCAC 13F .1801* 35:19 NCR 

Reporting and Notification of a Suspected or Confirmed Co... 10A NCAC 13F .1802* 35:19 NCR 

Infection Prevention and Control  10A NCAC 13G .1701* 35:19 NCR 

Reporting and Notification of a Suspected or Confirmed Co... 10A NCAC 13G .1702* 35:19 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1801 INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211(a)(4) of this Subchapter and 

G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement 

infection prevention and control policies and procedures 

consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) published guidelines on infection prevention 

and control. The Department shall approve a set of policies and 

procedures for infection prevention and control consistent with 

the federal CDC published guidelines on infection prevention and 

control that shall be made available on the Division of Health 

Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section website at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/acforms.html at no cost. The 

facility shall either: 

(1) utilize the set of policies and procedures for 

infection prevention and control approved by 

the Department; 

(2) develop policies and procedures for infection 

prevention and control that are consistent with 

the set of Department approved policies and 

procedures; or 

(3) develop policies and procedures for infection 

prevention and control that are based on 
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nationally recognized standards in infection 

prevention and control that are consistent with 

the federal CDC published guidelines on 

infection prevention and control. 

(b)  The facility's infection and control policies and procedures 

shall be implemented by the facility and shall address the 

following: 

(1) Standard and transmission-based precautions, 

including: 

(A) respiratory hygiene and cough 

etiquette; 

(B) environmental cleaning and 

disinfection; 

(C) reprocessing and disinfection of 

reusable resident medical equipment; 

(D) hand hygiene; 

(E) accessibility and proper use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 

and 

(F) types of transmission-based 

precautions and when each type is 

indicated, including contact 

precautions, droplet precautions, and 

airborne precautions; 

(2) When and how to report to the local health 

department when there is a suspected or 

confirmed reportable communicable disease 

case or condition, or communicable disease 

outbreak in accordance with Rule .1802 of this 

Section; 

(3) Measures for the facility to consider taking in 

the event of a communicable disease outbreak 

to prevent the spread of illness, such as isolating 

infected residents; limiting or stopping group 

activities and communal dining; limiting or 

restricting outside visitation to the facility; 

screening staff, residents, and visitors for signs 

of illness; and use of source control as tolerated 

by the residents; and 

(4) Strategies for addressing potential staffing 

issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs 

of the residents during a communicable disease 

outbreak. 

(c)  When a communicable disease outbreak has been identified 

at the facility or there is an emerging infectious disease threat, the 

facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's infection 

prevention and control policies and procedures, and when issued, 

guidance or directives specific to the communicable disease 

outbreak or emerging infectious disease threat that have been 

issued in writing by the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services or local health department. 

(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 

131D-4.4A(b)(4), the facility shall ensure all staff are trained 

within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures 

listed in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff 

working at the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 143B-

165; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 30, 2020; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .1802 REPORTING AND 

NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK 

(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed 

communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and 

in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health 

as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A 

.0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(b)  The facility shall provide the residents and their 

representative(s) and staff with an initial notice within 24 hours 

following confirmation by the local health department of a 

communicable disease outbreak. The facility, in its initial 

notification to residents and their representative(s), shall: 

(1) not disclose any personally identifiable 

information of the residents or staff; 

(2) provide information on the measures the facility 

is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of 

transmission, including whether normal 

operations of the facility will change; and 

(3) provide information to the resident(s) 

concerning measures they can take to reduce 

the risk of spread or transmission of infection. 

(c)  Following the initial notice to residents and their 

representative(s) of a communicable disease outbreak, the facility 

shall provide the following: 

(1) an update every two weeks until the 

communicable illness within the facility has 

resolved, as determined by the local health 

department; and 

(2) an update that the communicable illness within 

the facility has resolved, as determined by the 

local health department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-

4.5; 143B-165; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 30, 2020; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1701 INFECTION PREVENTION AND 

CONTROL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 

(a)  In accordance with Rule .1211(a)(4) of this Subchapter and 

G.S. 131D-4.4A(b)(1), the facility shall establish and implement 

infection prevention and control policies and procedures 

consistent with the federal Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention (CDC) published guidelines on infection prevention 

and control. The Department shall approve a set of policies and 

procedures for infection prevention and control consistent with 

the federal CDC published guidelines on infection prevention and 

control that will be made available on the Division of Health 

Service Regulation, Adult Care Licensure Section website at 
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https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/acls/acforms.html at no cost. The 

facility shall either: 

(1) utilize the set of policies and procedures for 

infection prevention and control approved by 

the Department; 

(2) develop policies and procedures for infection 

and prevention and control that are consistent 

with the set of Department approved policies 

and procedures; or 

(3) develop policies and procedures for infection 

prevention and control that are based on 

nationally recognized standards in infection 

prevention and control that are consistent with 

the federal CDC published guidelines on 

infection prevention and control. 

(b)  The facility's infection and control policies and procedures 

shall be implemented by the facility and shall address the 

following: 

(1) Standard and transmission-based precautions, 

including: 

(A) respiratory hygiene and cough 

etiquette; 

(B) environmental cleaning and 

disinfection; 

(C) reprocessing and disinfection of 

reusable resident medical equipment; 

(D) hand hygiene; 

(E) accessibility and proper use of 

personal protective equipment (PPE); 

and 

(F) types of transmission-based 

precautions and when each type is 

indicated, including contact 

precautions, droplet precautions, and 

airborne precautions; 

(2) When and how to report to the local health 

department when there is a suspected or 

confirmed reportable communicable disease 

case or condition, or communicable disease 

outbreak in accordance with Rule .1702 of this 

Section; 

(3) Measures for the facility to consider taking in 

the event of a communicable disease outbreak 

to prevent the spread of illness, such as isolating 

infected residents; limiting or stopping group 

activities and communal dining; limiting or 

restricting outside visitation to the facility; 

screening staff, residents, and visitors for signs 

of illness; and use of source control as tolerated 

by the residents; and 

(4) Strategies for addressing potential staffing 

issues and ensuring staffing to meet the needs 

of the residents during a communicable disease 

outbreak. 

(c)  When a communicable disease outbreak has been identified 

at the facility or there is an emerging infectious disease threat, the 

facility shall ensure implementation of the facility's infection 

prevention and control policies and procedures, and when issued, 

guidance or directives specific to the communicable disease 

outbreak or emerging infectious disease threat that have been 

issued in writing by the North Carolina Department of Health and 

Human Services or local health department. 

(d)  In accordance with Rule .1211 of this Subchapter and G.S. 

131D-4.4A(b)(4), the facility shall ensure all staff are trained 

within 30 days of hire and annually on the policies and procedures 

listed in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(e)  The policies and procedures listed in Paragraph (b) of this 

Rule shall be maintained in the facility and accessible to staff 

working at the facility. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4A; 143B-

165; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 30, 2020; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .1702 REPORTING AND 

NOTIFICATION OF A SUSPECTED OR CONFIRMED 

COMMUNICABLE DISEASE OUTBREAK 

(a)  The facility shall report suspected or confirmed 

communicable diseases and conditions within the time period and 

in the manner determined by the Commission for Public Health 

as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0101 and 10A NCAC 41A 

.0102(a)(1) through (a)(3), which are hereby incorporated by 

reference, including subsequent amendments. 

(b)  The facility shall provide the residents and their 

representative(s) and staff with an initial notice within 24 hours 

following confirmation by the local health department of a 

communicable disease outbreak. The facility, in its initial 

notification to residents and their representative(s), shall: 

(1) not disclose any personally identifiable 

information of the residents or staff; 

(2) provide information on the measures the facility 

is taking to prevent or reduce the risk of 

transmission, including whether normal 

operations of the facility will change; and 

(3) provide information to the resident(s) 

concerning measures they can take to reduce 

the risk of spread or transmission of infection. 

(c)  Following the initial notice to residents and their 

representative(s) of a communicable disease outbreak, the facility 

shall provide the following: 

(1) an update every two weeks until the 

communicable illness within the facility has 

resolved, as determined by the local health 

department; and 

(2) an update that the communicable illness within 

the facility has resolved, as determined by the 

local health department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.4B; 131D-

4.5; 143B-165; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. October 23, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 30, 2020; 

Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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10A NCAC 26F .0102 SCHEDULE I 

(a)  Schedule I shall consist of the drugs and other substances, by 

whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical name, 

or brand name designated and as specified in G.S. 90-89. Each 

drug or substance has been assigned the Drug Enforcement 

Administration controlled substances code number set forth in the 

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 21, Section 1308.11. 

(b)  The Commission for MH/DD/SAS may add, delete, or 

reschedule substances within Schedules I-VI as specified in G.S. 

90-88. 

(c)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds the following substance within Schedule I for Stimulants: 

(1) 2, 5 - Dimethoxy-4-(n)-  

propylthiophenethylamine; and 

(2) N-Benzylpiperazine. 

(d)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds the following substance within Schedule I for 

Hallucinogenic substances: 

(1) Alpha-Methyltryptamine; 

(2) 5-Methoxy-N, N-diisopropyltryptamine; 

(3) methyl 2-(1-(4-fluorobenzyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido)-3-methylbutanoate, (FUB-

AMB, MMB-FUBINACA, AMB-

FUBINACA) DEA controlled substances code 

number 7021; 

(4) methyl 2-(1-(cyclohexylmethyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido)-3-methylbutanoate (Other 

names: MMB-CHMICA; AMB-CHMICA) 

DEA controlled substances code number 7044; 

(5) N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-

fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamide 

(Other name: 5F-AB-PINACA) DEA 

controlled substances code number 7025; 

(6) Naphthalen-1-yl 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-

3-carboxylate (Other names: NM2201; 

CBL2201) DEA controlled substances code 

number 7221; 

(7) 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-

1H-pyrrolo[2,3-b]pyridine-3-carboxamide 

(Other name: 5F-CUMYL-P7AICA) DEA 

controlled substances code number 7085; 

(8) 1-(4-cyanobutyl)-N-(2-phenylpropan-2-yl)-

1H-indazole-3-carboxamide (Other names: 4-

CN-CUMYL-BUTINACA; 4-cyano-CUMYL-

BUTINACA; 4-CN-CUMYL BINACA; 

CUMYL-4CN-BINACA; SGT-78) DEA 

controlled substances code number 7089; 

(9) N-ethylpentylone (Other names: ephylone, 1-

(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)pentan-

1-one) DEA controlled substances code number 

7543; and 

(10) 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-methylpropan-2-

amine (other names: para-

methoxymethamphetamine, PMMA) DEA 

controlled substances code number 1245. 

(e)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds the following substance within Schedule I for Opiates: 

(1) para-Methoxybutyryl fentanyl (N-(4-

methoxyphenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)butyramide) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9837; 

(2) Cyclopentyl fentanyl (N-(1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylcyclopentanecarboxamide)DEA 

controlled substances code number 9847; 

(3) Isobutyryl fentanyl (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-

4-yl)-N-phenylisobutyramide) DEA controlled 

substances code number 9827; 

(4) para-Chloroisobutyrvl fentanyl (N-(4-

chlorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)isobutyramide) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9826; 

(5) Crotonyl fentanyl ((E)-N-(1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N-phenylbut-2-

enamide) DEA controlled substances code 

number 9844; 

(6) Phenyl fentanyl (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)-N-phenylbenzamide; also known as 

benzoyl fentanyl) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9841; 

(7) para-Methylfentanyl (N-(4-methylphenyl)-N-

(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)propionamide; also 

known as 4-methylfentanyl) DEA controlled 

substances code number 9817; 

(8) ortho-Methyl methoxyacetyl fentanyl (2-

methoxy-N-(2-methylphenyl)-N-(1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)acetamide; also known 

as 2-methyl methoxyacetyl fentanyl) DEA 

controlled substances code number 9820; 

(9) ortho-Methyl acetylfentanyl (N-(2-

methylphenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)acetamide; also known as 2-methyl 

acetylfentanyl) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9848; 

(10) Thiofuranyl fentanyl (N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-

4-yl)-N-phenylthiophene-2-carboxamide; also 

known as 2-thiofuranyl fentanyl; thiophene 

fentanyl) DEA controlled substances code 

number 9839; 

(11) beta-Methyl fentanyl (N-phenyl-N-(1-(2-

phenylpropyl)piperidin-4-yl)propionamide; 

also known as β-methyl fentanyl) DEA 

controlled substances code number 9856; 

(12) beta'-Phenyl fentanyl (N-(1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)-N,3-

diphenylpropanamide; also known as β'-phenyl 

fentanyl; 3-phenylpropanoyl fentanyl) DEA 

controlled substances code number 9842; 

(13) 2'-Fluoro ortho-fluorofentanyl (N-(1-(2-

fluorophenethyl)piperidin-4-yl)-N-(2- 

fluorophenyl)propionamide; also known as 2'-

fluoro 2-fluorofentanyl) DEA controlled 

substances code number 9855; 

(14) 4′-Methyl acetyl fentanyl (N-(1-(4-

methylphenethyl)piperidin-4-yl)-N-

phenylacetamide) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9819; 
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(15) ortho-Fluorobutyryl fentanyl (N-(2-

fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)butyramide; also known as 2-fluorobutyryl 

fentanyl) DEA controlled substances code 

number 9846; 

(16) Fentanyl carbamate (ethyl (1-

phenethylpiperidin-4-yl)(phenyl)carbamate) 

DEA controlled substances code number 9851; 

(17) ortho-Fluoroacryl fentanyl (N-(2-

fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)acrylamide) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9852; 

(18) para-Fluoro furanyl fentanyl (N-(4-

fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)furan-2-carboxamide) DEA controlled 

substances code number 9854; and 

(19) ortho-Fluoroisobutyryl fentanyl (N-(2-

fluorophenyl)-N-(1-phenethylpiperidin-4-

yl)isobutyramide) DEA controlled substances 

code number 9853. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-89; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2005; July 1, 1995; November 1, 

1994; April 1, 1994; January 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 26F .0103 SCHEDULE II 

(a)  Schedule II shall consist of the drugs and other substances by 

whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical name, 

or brand name designated and as specified in G.S. 90-90. Each 

drug or substance has been assigned the Drug Enforcement 

Administration controlled substances code number set forth in the 

Code of Federal Regulations, Title 21, Section 1308.12. 

(b)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds Lisdexamfetamine, its salts, isomers, and salts of its isomers 

to Schedule II for Stimulants. 

(c)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds Tapendatol, its esters, ethers, salts, isomers and salts of its 

isomers, esters and ethers to Schedule II for Opiates. 

(d)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds fentanyl immediate precursor chemical, N-phenyl-N-

(piperidin-4-yl) propionamide (norfentanyl), DEA controlled 

substances code number 8366, its esters, ethers, salts, isomers and 

salts of its isomers, esters and ethers, to Schedule II for Opiates. 

(e)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds Oliceridine (N-[(3-methoxythiophen-2-yl)methyl]({2-

[(9R)-9-(pyridin-2-yl)-6-oxaspiro[4.5]decan-9-yl]ethyl})amine), 

DEA controlled substances code number 9245, its esters, ethers, 

salts, isomers and salts of its isomers, esters and ethers, to 

Schedule II for Opiates. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-90; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1994; April 1, 1993; August 1, 1991; 

August 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 13, 1997; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2010; June 1, 2009; August 1, 2002; 

July 1, 1998; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 26F .0105 SCHEDULE IV 

(a)  Schedule IV shall consist of the drugs and other substances 

by whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical 

name, or brand name designated and listed in either G.S. 90-92 or 

this Rule. Each drug or substance has been assigned the Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) controlled substances code 

number set forth in the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 21, 

Section 1308.l4. 

(b)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds the following substances within Schedule IV for 

Depressants: 

(1) Dichloralphenazone - DEA controlled 

substances code number 2467; 

(2) Zopiclone - DEA controlled substances code 

number 2784; 

(3) Fosporopol - DEA controlled substances code 

number 2138;  

(4) Carisoprodol - DEA controlled substances code 

number 8192; 

(5) Lemborexant - DEA controlled substances code 

number 2245; and 

(6) Remimazolam - DEA controlled substances 

code number 2846. 

(c)  As specified in G.S. 90-88, the Commission for MH/DD/SAS 

adds the following substances within Schedule IV for Stimulants: 

Serdexmethylphenidate – DEA controlled substances code 

number 1729. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-92; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1993; January 1, 1989; December 1, 1987; 

August 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 28, 1998; 

Temporary Amendment Expired March 12, 1999; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 1, 2002; February 15, 2001; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; November 1, 2005; April 

1, 2003; August 1, 2002; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 26F .0106 SCHEDULE V 

(a)  Schedule V shall consist of the drugs and other substances by 

whatever official name, common or usual name, chemical name, 

or brand name designated and listed in either G.S. 90-93 or this 

Rule. Each drug or substance is set forth in this Rule with its 

corresponding Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) 

controlled substances code number set forth in the Code of 

Federal Regulations, Title 21, Section 1308.l5. 

(b)  Narcotic drugs containing non-narcotic active medicinal 

ingredients. Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing 

any of the following narcotic drugs, or their salts calculated as the 
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free anhydrous base or alkaloid, in limited quantities as set forth 

in this Paragraph, which shall include one or more non-narcotic 

active medicinal ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer 

upon the compound, mixture, or preparation valuable medicinal 

qualities other than those possessed by narcotic drugs alone: 

(1) not more than 200 milligrams of codeine per 

100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(2) not more than 100 milligrams of 

dihydrocodeine per 100 milliliters or per 100 

grams, 

(3) not more than 100 milligrams of ethylmorphine 

per 100 milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(4) not more than 2.5 milligrams of diphenoxylate 

and not less than 25 micrograms of atropine 

sulfate per dosage unit, 

(5) not more than 100 milligrams of opium per 100 

milliliters or per 100 grams, 

(6) not more than 0.5 milligrams of difenoxin and 

not less than 25 micrograms atropine sulfate per 

dosage unit. 

(c)  Stimulants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a stimulant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts, isomers and salts of isomers: 

Pyrovalerone - DEA controlled substances code number 1485. 

(d)  Depressants. Unless specifically exempted or excluded or 

unless listed in another schedule, any material, compound, 

mixture, or preparation which contains any quantity of the 

following substances having a depressant effect on the central 

nervous system, including its salts: 

(1) Lacosamide – DEA controlled substances code 

number 2746;  

(2) Ezogabine – DEA controlled substances 

number 2779; 

(3) Cenobamate – DEA controlled substances 

number 2720; and 

(4) Lasmiditan – DEA controlled substances 

number 2790. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-88; 90-93; 143B-147; 

Eff. June 30, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; February 1, 2010; April 1, 1992; 

August 1, 1988; December 1, 1987; April 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021; March 1, 2021; January 1, 

2019. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0115 DIVISION PROCEDURES 

(a)  Complaints arising from insurance products, companies, 

insurance agents, adjusters, brokers, producers, and motor vehicle 

damage appraisers regulated under G.S. Chapter 58 will be 

processed in the following manner: 

(1) The analyst will request an explanation from 

company, agent, appraiser, or adjuster. 

(2) If the analyst finds that the issue has been 

handled in a manner that does not comply with 

statute, rule or policy contract, then the analyst 

will require that corrective action taken be to 

resolve the complaint. 

(3) If the issue is not resolved, the Deputy 

Commissioner may arrange a conference with 

the company representatives to resolve the 

problem. 

(b)  If a conference does not resolve a disputed issue, the Deputy 

Commissioner may recommend to the Commissioner that legal 

action as outlined in G.S. Chapter 58 be taken to ensure 

compliance with the statutes and rules, administered by the 

Department. Alternatively, this Division may refer issues to other 

Divisions for further investigation and regulatory action. 

(c)  The Division will not investigate a complaint that is also the 

subject matter of a pending lawsuit filed by an attorney 

representing the complainant. If a lawsuit has not been filed but 

the complainant has retained an attorney, as indicted on the 

complaint form or other correspondence submitted relating to the 

complaint, the Division will investigate the complaint provided it 

has first obtained the attorney's written consent solicited through 

the complainant. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-50; 58-2-155; 58-

2-185; 58-2-190; 58-2-195; 58-2-200; 58-3-100; 58-33-45; 58-

65-1; 58-65-40; 58-67-20; 58-67-150; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0120 POLICY OR SERVICE FEES 

An insurer, agent, broker, or limited representative who deals with 

an applicant and who intends to charge a policy or service fee in 

accordance with G.S. 58-33-85(b) shall not do so unless he or she 

complies with the following: 

(1) A sign that shall be displayed and visible using 

large and bolded print so as to be seen and read 

by the public from any part of the office lobby 

that informs the applicant that a policy or 

service fee of [amount] will be charged. 

(2) The applicant's written consent shall be 

obtained on a separate form each time a policy 

or service fee is charged. The form, created by 

the insurer, agent, broker or limited 

representative, shall be entitled, "Policy or 

Service Fee Consent" and shall include the date 

and amount of each fee charged. 

(3) A dated receipt for the payment of a policy or 

service fee shall be issued either separately 

from the policy premium receipt or stated 

separately on the receipt issued for the policy 

premium. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195; 58-33-

85(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 
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11 NCAC 04 .0314 PREMIUM NOTICES: 

PAYMENTS AND REFUNDS 

The Commissioner shall consider an unfair trade practice the 

failure by an insurer to adhere to any of the following procedures 

concerning premium notices, payments and refunds on life, 

accident, health, or disability policies pursuant to G.S. 58-63-15:  

(1) Premium Notices. Any insurer that makes a 

practice of sending premium notices shall 

maintain records to show that it mailed or 

otherwise delivered the notice to an individual 

insured or policy owner. 

(2) Timely Remittance. Insurance companies shall 

use date of mailing, rather than date of receipt, 

to determine whether the insured has made 

timely remittance of premium, provided the 

premium payment is received within seven days 

after either the termination date of the policy or 

the last day of its grace period, whichever is 

later. 

(3) Right to Return Policy. When this right is given 

by contract or statute, no insurer shall abridge 

or frustrate the right of the insured to return a 

policy within 10 days after he or she receives it 

for a full refund of premiums paid. Evidence of 

such delivery shall be signed statements from 

the policyowner of the date of delivery, copies 

of signed certified mail receipt, certification of 

mailing, or firm mailing book entry. 

(4) Unearned Premium Refund. When this right is 

given by contract or statute, no insurer shall 

abridge or frustrate the right of the insured to 

receive a refund of unearned premium. 

(5) Unearned Premium on Health Policies. When 

an insured covered by an accident, health or 

disability policy dies during the term of the 

policy, his or her insurer shall refund the 

unearned premium. 

(6) Commingling. No licensed person may 

commingle premiums, insurance deposits or 

other such funds. These funds are received in a 

fiduciary capacity on behalf of policyowner and 

must be immediately forwarded to the proper 

insurers or be deposited into an authorized 

account that is separate and distinct from the 

person's operating or personal accounts. The 

account shall be used to receive and disburse 

premiums paid for insurers, return premiums to 

policyowner, pay bank charges for the account, 

and transfer of earned commissions or fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195; 58-51-10; 

58-51-15; 58-63-65; 58-65-40; 58-67-50; 58-67-65; 58-67-150; 

58-63-40; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0315 ISSUANCE OF CONTRACTS 

The Commissioner shall consider an unfair trade practice the 

failure by an insurer to adhere to any of the following procedures 

with respect to the issuance of life, accident, health, or disability 

policies pursuant to G.S. 58-63-15: 

(1) Policies to Cover Newborn Infants. No health 

application or requirements of insurability shall 

be used to circumvent the requirements of 

North Carolina General Statute 58-51-30. 

(2) Rating of Guaranteed Issue Coverages. There 

shall be no rating of policies where guaranteed 

issue at a specified rate is to the public. When 

only guaranteed issue is presented for sale, the 

insurer shall disclose in writing to any applicant 

subjected to individual rating because the 

applicant did not qualify for guaranteed issue, 

the fact that his or her rate deviates from the 

specified rate for the guaranteed issue coverage. 

This Item shall not apply to individual policies 

issued to employees under a contract between 

their employer and his or her insurer. 

(3) Replacement of Existing Coverage. With 

respect to individual accident, health and 

disability coverages, when an insurer's agent, 

by misrepresenting the new policy as a 

supplement or addition to the existing policy, 

induces an insured to consent to the 

replacement of his or her existing policy with a 

new policy, new waiting periods shall be 

decreased by the amount of time coverage was 

afforded under the existing policy. 

(4) Continuous Coverage Under Credit Life, 

Accident and Health Policies. In a series of 

credit life or credit accident and health 

insurance transactions where the insured, the 

lender, and the insurer are the same and there is 

no lapse in coverage between transactions, the 

waiting periods of the insurance agreements 

shall run from the date of the first insurance 

contract, at least to the extent of the amount and 

term of the indebtedness outstanding at the time 

of renewal or refinancing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-125; 58-3-150; 

58-33-75; 58-51-30; 58-63-40; 58-65-40; 58-67-50; 58-67-65; 

58-67-150; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; April 1, 1989; December 15, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. December 1. 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0316 CONTESTABILITY CLAUSE 

AND RESCISSION 

If an insurer does not attempt to rescind an accident, health, or 

disability policy upon becoming aware that the insured's 

application contained false statements, the insurer may not 

subsequently use such false statements as a basis for attempted 

rescission or alteration of the policy. The Commissioner shall 

consider failure to adhere to this principle an unfair trade practice 

pursuant to G.S. 58-63-15.  
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History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-40; 58-65-1; 58-

63-15; 58-65-40; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0317 SEX DISCRIMINATION: LIFE: 

ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURANCE 

(a)  Prohibited Practices. The Commissioner shall consider unfair 

discrimination the denial of life, accident, health or disability 

insurance on the basis of the insured's or prospective insured's sex 

or marital status. The amount of benefits payable on any term, 

condition or type of coverage shall not be restricted, modified, 

excluded or reduced on the basis of the sex or marital status of the 

insured or prospective insured. All underwriting criteria shall be 

applied in all instances of similar circumstances without regard to 

the sex or marital status of the insured or prospective insured, 

except to the extent that the amount of the benefits, terms, 

conditions or type of coverage vary as a result of the application 

of rate or premium differentials not prohibited under this Chapter, 

such as differentials for life insurance or annuities derived from 

sex-based life expectancy tables. Nothing in this Paragraph shall 

prohibit an insurer from taking marital status into account for the 

purpose of determining persons eligible for dependent benefits. 

Examples of the practices prohibited by this Section include: 

(1) denying coverage to females employed at 

home, employed part-time or employed by 

relatives when coverage is offered to males 

similarly employed; 

(2) denying policy riders to females when the riders 

are available to males; 

(3) denying maternity coverage to unmarried 

females covered under a policy or contract if 

maternity coverage is available to married 

females covered under that policy or contract; 

(4) denying, under group contracts, dependent 

coverage to husbands of female employees, 

when dependent coverage is available to wives 

of male employees; 

(5) denying disability income contracts to 

employed women when coverage is offered to 

men similarly employed; 

(6) treating complications of pregnancy differently 

from any other illness or sickness under the 

contract; 

(7) restricting, reducing, modifying, or excluding 

benefits payable for disorders of the genital 

organs of only one sex; 

(8) offering lower maximum monthly benefits to 

women than to men who are in the same 

classification under a disability income 

contract; 

(9) offering more restrictive benefit periods and 

more restrictive definitions of disability to 

women than to men in the same classifications 

under a disability income contract; 

(10) establishing different conditions by sex under 

which the policyholder may exercise benefit 

options contained in the contract; and 

(11) limiting the amount of coverage an insured or 

prospective insured may purchase based upon 

the insured's or prospective insured's marital 

status unless such limitation is for the purpose 

of defining persons eligible for dependent 

benefits. 

(b)  Applicability and Scope. This Rule shall apply to all contracts 

delivered or issued for delivery in this State by an insurer on or 

after the effective date of this Rule and to all existing group 

contracts which are amended or renewed on or after the effective 

date of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-120; 58-63-1; 58-

63-65; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0318 LIFE INSURANCE SALES: 

FINANCING FIRST YEAR PREMIUM 

(a)  The Commissioner shall consider an unfair trade practice the 

failure by an insurance company to adhere to the following 

procedures concerning the sale of life insurance contracts for 

which the first year's premium or any portion thereof is financed 

through a device suggested by the insurer or its agent with the 

insurance policy itself being assigned as security: 

(1) Minimum Down-Payment Required. A 

minimum down-payment of twenty five dollars 

($25.00) in cash or by valid and currently 

collectible check of the applicant is required for 

the insurance. Under no circumstances shall a 

company or an agent directly or indirectly 

either furnish this down-payment or waive this 

requirement. 

(2) Financing Device to be Explained in Policy 

Application. The furnishing of a promissory 

note in connection with financing part of the 

first year's premium must be explained in the 

policy application. The explanation must be 

clear and complete and shall specify the 

principal sum of the note or notes, the interest 

payable, the due date, the amount payable on 

that due date, the interest rate and the annual 

percentage rate. 

(3) Execution of Promissory Note. All blank spaces 

in a promissory note form or an assignment of 

an insurance policy form subsequently 

executed by the insured must be filled in by the 

handwriting of the insured except blank spaces 

relating to the policy number to be issued, and 

the signatures of witnesses and co-makers. No 

agent or anyone acting under his or her 

direction or control other than the insured shall 

write in such spaces. 

(4) Promissory Note May be Sold Only With 

Recourse. If a promissory note is taken to 

finance part of the first year's premium, the note 

may be sold or otherwise transferred by the 

payee with recourse only, and this fact must 

appear in bold print on the face of the note. 
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(5) Note to be Retained Until Policy Acceptance is 

Executed. Any promissory note given by the 

applicant in connection with an application for 

a policy shall not be sold or otherwise 

transferred by the agent or company, nor any 

commissions on the sale paid to the agent until 

15 days after a properly executed policy 

acceptance form has been received in the home 

office of the insurance company issuing the 

policy. 

(6) Copy of Note to be Furnished Applicant. A 

copy of the note executed by the applicant must 

be attached to the policy when delivered. 

(7) Policy Acceptance to be Executed on Delivery 

of the Policy; Contract Rescission. Upon 

delivery of the policy, a policy acceptance form 

must be executed that recites the following: 

(a) The policy has been issued as 

represented; 

(b) The applicant acknowledges and 

understands the provisions and 

obligations of the debt he has incurred 

in connection with applying for the 

policy and the terms are set forth in the 

record; 

(c) The applicant understands that he or 

she may cancel the policy and his or 

her promissory note and his or her 

down-payment will be returned if he 

or she refuses to accept delivery of the 

policy and sign the acceptance form, 

and the applicant understands that at 

any time within 10 days after the 

execution of the policy acceptance 

form he or she shall be allowed to 

rescind the agreement, and the 

promissory note, together with the 

total amount of his or her 

down-payment, shall be returned to 

the applicant; 

(d) The applicant further understands that 

the rescission or rejection must be 

communicated to the company by mail 

and return of the policy within the 10 

day period; and 

(e) The applicant acknowledges that the 

obligations of the debt cannot be 

altered by a cancellation of the policy 

at his or her request unless properly 

cancelled within 10 days, in writing, 

mailed to the company at the address 

specified. The policy acceptance form 

shall contain a number designation 

corresponding to the policy issued and 

shall not be made available to the 

agent until the application is received 

in the home office. The provisions of 

Sub-items (7)(c) and (d) of this Item 

shall be printed in bold type upon the 

face of the policy. 

(8) Insured to be Notified of Assignment. The 

insurer, the note purchaser, assignee or 

company shall notify the note maker (insured) 

and all co-makers regarding the purchase, 

transfer or assignment of the note, after such 

transfer, inviting any questions relative to the 

note or the policy that is used as collateral 

security for the note. 

(9) Requests for Cancellation to be Handled 

Promptly. The company and its agents shall 

give prompt and complete cooperation to the 

insured and the Department when requests to 

cancel the policy and premium financing 

arrangements are received. 

(10) Special Rule in Event Applicant is Under 

Eighteen Years of Age. If the applicant is a 

minor and executes a promissory note for the 

payment of part or all of the first year's 

premium, the note must be witnessed by at least 

one of the applicant's parents or guardian. 

(11) Disclosure of Extended Obligations. The agent 

shall clearly disclose to the insured that the 

cancellation of the note may reduce the cash 

surrender value of the policy in direct 

proportion to the amount of the promissory 

note. The agent shall not use terms such as 

"bonus payment", "free insurance", or any other 

term that induces the applicant to believe that 

the promissory note will be paid by monies 

other than his or her policy cash values. Terms 

leading the applicant to believe that he is 

receiving free insurance by deferring the 

premium payment for the first year shall not be 

employed. 

(12) Cash Values. Cash values shown at the 

presentation shall be based on the policy 

offered. The cash values shown at the time of 

presentation shall be a specimen of the policy 

being offered and not for a larger policy. 

(13) Cancellation of Existing Insurance. The 

disturbing of any permanent insurance, 

including the partial or total replacement of any 

provisions of an existing policy for the purpose 

of placing additional insurance, or "twisting" as 

defined in G.S. 58-3-115, will be cause for 

investigation and review by the Department of 

Insurance. 

(14) Licensed Agents. Only licensed agents are 

eligible to sell life insurance. No person other 

than a licensed agent shall participate in or 

receive commission or any other valuable 

consideration in connection with the 

solicitation, negotiation, procurement, or 

making of life insurance contracts in this State. 

(15) Agent Identification. An agent or field 

representative who is licensed by this State as a 

life insurance agent shall not represent, refer to, 
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or hold himself or herself out to the public 

under any special title that would obscure the 

fact that he is a licensed agent of the company. 

Identification as an agent or representative of a 

special division may be permitted providing 

such a division actually exists and the agency 

relationship is disclosed. 

(b)  This Rule shall not apply to life insurance policies financed 

in conformity with G.S. 58, Article 35. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-115; 58-63-40; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0319 CLAIMS PRACTICES: LIFE: 

ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURANCE 

The Commissioner shall consider as prima facie violative of G.S. 

58-63-15(11) the failure by an insurer to adhere to the following 

procedures concerning settlement of life, accident, health and 

claims: 

(1) Examining Physician's Opinion. When the 

patient's health is in question, an insurer shall 

give greater weight to the opinion of a physician 

who has examined the patient than to the 

opinion of a physician who has not examined 

the patient and whose opinion is based solely on 

a review of the examining physician's notes or 

reports. As used in this Item, "examination of 

the patient" shall include the interpretation by a 

specialist of the results of diagnostic tests 

performed on the patient by others. 

(2) Settlement Offers. Initial offers of settlement or 

compromise made by an insurer or its 

representative shall remain open for a period of 

time of not less than 30 calendar days. 

(3) Multiple Health Impairments. When an insured 

is confined to the hospital with multiple health 

impairments some of which are excluded from 

coverage, the insurer or its representative shall 

make pro rata payments where treatment for 

excluded conditions can be separated. 

(4) Assignment of Benefits. If an accident, health, 

or disability contract does not prohibit 

assignment of benefits and an assignment 

including notice to the insurer prior to the 

payment of the claim, is made, the insurer shall 

honor the assignment, even though it may have 

erroneously paid the insured. Submission of a 

completed claims form indicating that an 

assignment is on file shall be treated as though 

it were submission of the actual assignment. 

(5) Claim Status Reports. Health insurance claims 

subject to 58-3-225 shall be processed in 

accordance with the provisions of that statute. 

Otherwise, if benefits claimed under an 

accident, health, or disability contract have not 

been paid within 45 days after receipt of the 

initial claim by the insurer, the insurer shall at 

that time mail a claim status report to the 

insured. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-225; 58-63-15; 

58-63-65; 58-65-1; 58-65-40; 58-65-125; 58-67-65; 58-67-150; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; April 8, 2002; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0415 SAFE DRIVER INCENTIVE 

PLAN 

The following are Department of Insurance provisions regarding 

the Safe Driver Incentive Plan ("SDIP"): 

(1) License revocation for refusal to submit to 

chemical tests shall not be considered 

conviction of a moving traffic violation. 

(2) A conviction for driving the wrong way on a 

one-way street is not a conviction for driving on 

the wrong side of the road. 

(3) The revocation or suspension of a driver's 

license solely because of the accumulation of 

motor vehicle points shall not be considered a 

conviction. 

(4) When new operators are added to an 

automobile policy, their SDIP points may be 

added to the policy at the same time coverage is 

extended to them. 

(5) SDIP points for an operator whose license has 

been suspended or revoked may be added only 

at the date the operator again becomes eligible 

for license. However, SDIP points may be 

charged at the inception date of the current 

policy if the operator has previously been 

convicted of a moving traffic violation while 

his or her license was suspended or revoked or 

if there is evidence that the operator does 

operate a motor vehicle. 

(6) If an operator dies or permanently leaves an 

insured's household during the policy period, 

the operator's SDIP points shall be removed at 

the time of his or her death or departure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-36-65; 58-36-75; 

Eff. December 15, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0427 DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS 

Every insurer that writes motor vehicle insurance in this State and 

that intends to require or specify the use of after market parts must 

disclose to its policyholders in writing, either in the policy or on 

a sticker attached thereto, the following information in all capital 

letters and font size no smaller than ten-point:  

 

IN THE REPAIR OF YOUR COVERED 

AUTO UNDER THE PHYSICAL DAMAGE 

COVERAGE PROVISIONS OF THIS 

POLICY, WE MAY REQUIRE OR SPECIFY 

THE USE OF AUTOMOBILE PARTS NOT 
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MADE BY THE ORIGINAL 

MANUFACTURER. THESE PARTS ARE 

REQUIRED TO BE AT LEAST EQUAL IN 

TERMS OF FIT, QUALITY, 

PERFORMANCE AND WARRANTY TO 

THE ORIGINAL MANUFACTURER PARTS 

THEY REPLACE. 

 

All after market parts installed on a motor vehicle shall be 

identified on the estimate and invoice for such repair. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 

Eff. April 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0429 COMMINGLING 

The accounting records maintained by agents, brokers, and 

limited representatives shall be separate and apart from any other 

business records and demonstrate at all times that collected funds 

due to insurers and return premiums due to policyholders are 

available at all times. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195; 

Eff. February 1, 1993; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0432 REFUND OF EXCESS PREMIUM 

ON SCHEDULED ITEMS 

If an insured has any scheduled item listed for additional 

insurance covered by a homeowner's or personal inland marine 

insurance policy, and that item is replaced for less than the 

scheduled amount of coverage, the insurer shall refund the insured 

the difference in premium charged between the scheduled amount 

of coverage and the actual amount of the loss paid by the insurer, 

if the refund per policy term is greater than five dollars ($5.00). 

Any refund shall be computed from the date of issuance of the 

policy or five years, whichever is less. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0433 REFUND OF AUTO INSURANCE 

PREMIUM ON NEW BUSINESS 

If an insured asks an insurer to cancel a newly issued motor 

vehicle insurance policy on or before the premium billing due 

date, the unearned premium refund made by the insurer shall be 

made on a pro rata rather than a short rate basis, and the refund 

shall be based on the premium initially quoted by the insurer if 

both of the following conditions are met: 

(1) The insured provided the insurer with accurate 

and complete rating information. 

(2) The insurer subsequently calculated the 

premium to be greater than the premium 

initially quoted. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-36-85; 58-63-65; 

Eff. April 1, 1995; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0501 SCOPE AND DEFINITIONS 

(a)  These Rules apply to all policies sold on and after the effective 

dates of these Rules and to all certificates issued under those 

policies. 

(b)  As used in this Section, the following terms have the 

following meanings: 

(1) "Actuarial Standards Board" means the board 

established by the American Academy of 

Actuaries to develop and promulgate standards 

of actuarial practice. 

(2) "Basic illustration" means a ledger or proposal 

used in the sale of a policy that shows both 

guaranteed and non-guaranteed elements. 

(3) "Contract premium" means the gross premium 

that is required to be paid under a fixed 

premium policy, including the premium for a 

rider for which benefits are shown in the 

illustration. 

(4) "Currently payable scale" means a scale of 

non-guaranteed elements in effect for a policy 

as of the preparation date of the illustration or 

declared to become effective within the next 95 

days. 

(5) "Disciplined current scale" means a scale of 

non-guaranteed elements constituting a limit on 

illustrations currently being illustrated by an 

insurer that is based on actual recent historical 

experience, as certified annually by an 

illustration actuary designated by the insurer. 

(6) "Guaranteed elements" means the premiums, 

benefits, values, credits, or charges under a 

policy that are guaranteed and determined at 

issue. 

(7) "Illustrated scale" means a scale of 

non-guaranteed elements currently being 

illustrated that is not more favorable to the 

policy owner than the lesser of: 

(A) The disciplined current scale; or 

(B) The currently payable scale. 

(8) "Illustration" means a presentation or depiction 

that includes non-guaranteed elements of a 

policy over a period of years and that is either a 

basic illustration, in-force illustration, or a 

supplemental illustration. 

(9) "In force illustration" means an illustration 

furnished at any time after the policy that it 

depicts has been in force for one year or more. 

(10) "Illustration actuary" means an actuary meeting 

the requirements of 11 NCAC 04 .0509 who 

certifies to illustrations based on the standard of 

practice promulgated by the Actuarial 

Standards Board. 

(11) "Lapse-supported illustration" means an 

illustration of a policy failing the test of 

self-supporting as defined in this Subparagraph 

(b)(16) of this Rule, under a modified 
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persistency rate assumption using persistency 

rates underlying the disciplined current scale 

for the first five years and 100 percent policy 

persistency thereafter. 

(12) "Non-guaranteed elements" means the 

premiums, benefits, values, credits, or charges 

under a policy that are not guaranteed or not 

determined at issue. 

(13) "Policy" means a group or individual life 

insurance policy or certificate. "Policy" does 

not include: 

(A) A variable life insurance policy or 

certificate. 

(B) An annuity contract. 

(C) A credit life insurance policy or 

certificate. 

(D) A life insurance policy with no 

illustrated death benefit on any 

individual exceeding ten thousand 

dollars ($10,000). 

(14) "Policy owner" means the owner named in a 

policy or the certificate holder in the case of a 

group policy. 

(15) "Premium outlay" means the amount of 

premium assumed to be paid by the policy 

owner or other premium payer out-of-pocket. 

(16) "Self-supporting illustration" means an 

illustration of a policy for which it can be 

demonstrated that, when using experience 

assumptions underlying the disciplined current 

scale, for all illustrated points in time on or after 

the fifteenth policy anniversary or the twentieth 

policy anniversary for second-or-later-to-die 

policies (or upon policy expiration if sooner), 

the accumulated value of all policy cash flows 

equals or exceeds the total policy owner value 

available. For this purpose, policy owner value 

will include cash surrender values and any other 

illustrated benefit amounts available at the 

policy owner's election. 

(17) "Supplemental illustration" means an 

illustration furnished in addition to a basic 

illustration that meets the applicable 

requirements of this Section, and that may be 

presented in a format differing from the basic 

illustration, but may only depict a scale of 

non-guaranteed elements that is permitted in a 

basic illustration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0502 ASSUMED EXPENSES AND 

CURRENT SCALE 

(a)  An insurer may choose to designate each year the method of 

determining assumed expenses for all policies from the following: 

(1) Fully allocated expenses. 

(2) Marginal expense. 

(3) A table of fully allocated expenses developed 

by the Actuarial Standards Board and approved 

by the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

Marginal expenses may be used only if greater than a generally 

recognized expense table. If no generally recognized expense 

table is approved, fully allocated expenses must be used. 

(b)  Further guidance in determining the disciplined current scale 

as contained in standards established by the Actuarial Standards 

Board may be relied upon if the standards: 

(1) Are consistent with all provisions of this 

Section. 

(2) Limit a disciplined current scale to reflect only 

actions that have been taken on events that have 

already occurred. 

(3) Do not permit a disciplined current scale to 

include any projected trends of improvements 

in experience or any assumed improvements in 

experience beyond the illustration date. 

(4) As used in this Rule, "minimum assumed 

expenses" means the minimum expenses used 

in the calculation of the disciplined current 

scale for a policy. Do not permit assumed 

expenses to be less than minimum assumed 

expenses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0503 ILLUSTRATED POLICIES 

(a)  Each insurer marketing policies regulated by this Section shall 

notify the Commissioner whether a policy form is to be marketed 

with or without an illustration. For all policy forms being 

marketed on the effective date of this Section, the insurer shall 

identify in writing those policy forms and whether or not an 

illustration will be used with them. For policy forms filed after the 

effective date of this Section, the identification shall be made at 

the time of filing. Any previous identification may be changed by 

notice to the Commissioner. 

(b)  If the insurer identifies a policy form as one to be marketed 

without an illustration, any use of an illustration before the first 

policy anniversary for any policy form using that policy is 

prohibited. 

(c)  If a policy form is identified by an insurer as one to be 

marketed with an illustration, the insurer shall prepare and deliver 

a basic illustration in accordance with this Section, except that a 

basic illustration need not be provided to individual members of a 

single employer group or to individuals insured under multiple 

lives coverage issued to a single applicant unless the coverage is 

marketed to those individuals. The illustration furnished to an 

applicant for a group policy issued to a single applicant on 

multiple lives may be either an individual or composite 

illustration representative of the coverage on the lives of members 

of the group or the multiple lives covered. 

(d)  As used in this Paragraph, "non-term group life" means a 

group policy or individual policies of traditional permanent or 
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universal life insurance issued to members of a single employer 

group where: 

(1) Every plan of coverage was selected by the 

employer. 

(2) The premium is paid by the employer or 

through payroll deduction. 

(3) Group underwriting or simplified underwriting 

is used. 

Potential enrollees for policies and certificates of non-term group 

life subject to this Section shall be furnished a quotation with the 

enrollment materials. The quotation shall show potential policy 

values for sample ages and policy years on a guaranteed and 

non-guaranteed basis appropriate to the group and the coverage. 

This quotation shall not be considered an illustration for purposes 

of this Section, but all information provided shall be consistent 

with the illustrated scale. A basic illustration shall be provided at 

delivery of the policy or certificate to enrollees for non-term group 

life who enroll for more than the minimum premium necessary to 

provide pure death benefit protection. In addition, the insurer shall 

make a basic illustration available to any non-term group life 

enrollee who requests it. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0504 GENERAL RULES 

(a)  As used in this Rule, "generic name" means a title descriptive 

of the policy being illustrated, such as "whole life", "term life", or 

"flexible premium adjustable life." An illustration used in the sale 

of a policy shall satisfy the requirements of this Section, be 

labeled "life insurance illustration" and contain the following 

information: 

(1) Name of insurer; 

(2) Name and business address of producer or 

insurer's authorized representative, if any; 

(3) Name, age and sex of proposed insured, except 

where a composite illustration is permitted 

under this Section; 

(4) Underwriting or rating classification upon 

which the illustration is based; 

(5) Generic name of the policy, the company 

product name, if different, and policy form 

number; 

(6) Initial death benefit; and 

(7) Dividend option election or application of 

non-guaranteed elements, if applicable. 

(b)  When using an illustration in the sale of a policy, an insurer 

or its agents or other authorized representatives shall not: 

(1) Represent the policy as anything other than a 

life insurance policy; 

(2) Use or describe non-guaranteed elements in a 

manner that is misleading; 

(3) State or imply that the payment or amount of 

non-guaranteed elements is guaranteed; 

(4) Use an illustration that does not comply with 

the requirements of this Section; 

(5) Use an illustration that at any policy duration 

depicts policy performance more favorable to 

the policy owner than that produced by the 

illustrated scale of the insurer whose policy is 

being illustrated; 

(6) Provide an applicant with an incomplete 

illustration; 

(7) Represent in any way that premium payments 

will not be required for each year of the policy 

in order to maintain the illustrated death 

benefits, unless that is the fact; 

(8) Use the term "vanish" or "vanishing premium", 

or a similar term that implies the policy 

becomes paid up, to describe a plan for using 

non-guaranteed elements to pay a portion of 

future premiums; 

(9) Except for policies that can never develop 

nonforfeiture values, use an illustration that is 

"lapse-supported"; or 

(10) Use an illustration that is not "self-supporting." 

(c)  If an interest rate used to determine the illustrated 

non-guaranteed elements is shown, it shall not be greater than the 

earned interest rate underlying the disciplined current scale. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0505 STANDARDS FOR BASIC 

ILLUSTRATIONS 

(a)  Format. A basic illustration shall conform with the following 

requirements: 

(1) The illustration shall be labeled with the date on 

which it was prepared. 

(2) Each page, including any explanatory notes or 

pages, shall be numbered and show its 

relationship to the total number of pages in the 

illustration (e.g., the fourth page of a 

seven-page illustration shall be labeled "page 4 

of 7 pages"). 

(3) The assumed dates of payment receipt and 

benefit pay-out within a policy year shall be 

clearly identified. 

(4) If the age of the proposed insured is shown as a 

component of the tabular detail, it shall be issue 

age plus the numbers of years the policy is 

assumed to have been in force. 

(5) The assumed payments on which the illustrated 

benefits and values are based shall be identified 

as premium outlay or contract premium, as 

applicable. For policies that do not require a 

specific contract premium, the illustrated 

payments shall be identified as premium outlay. 

(6) Guaranteed death benefits and values available 

upon surrender, if any, for the illustrated 

premium outlay or contract premium shall be 

shown and clearly labeled guaranteed. 
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(7) If the illustration shows any non-guaranteed 

elements, they shall not be based on a scale 

more favorable to the policy owner than the 

insurer's illustrated scale at any duration. These 

elements shall be clearly labeled 

non-guaranteed. 

(8) The guaranteed elements, if any, shall be shown 

before corresponding non-guaranteed elements 

and shall be specifically referred to on any page 

of an illustration that shows or describes only 

the non-guaranteed elements (e.g., "see page 

one for guaranteed elements"). 

(9) The account or accumulation value of a policy, 

if shown, shall be identified by the name this 

value is given in the policy being illustrated and 

shown in close proximity to the corresponding 

value available upon surrender. 

(10) The value available upon surrender shall be 

identified by the name this value is given in the 

policy being illustrated and shall be the amount 

available to the policy owner in a lump sum 

after deduction of surrender charges, policy 

loans and policy loan interest, as applicable. 

(11) Illustrations may show policy benefits and 

values in graphic or chart form in addition to the 

tabular form. 

(12) Any illustration of non-guaranteed elements 

shall be accompanied by a statement indicating 

that: 

(A) The benefits and values are not 

guaranteed; 

(B) The assumptions on which they are 

based are subject to change by the 

insurer; and 

(C) Actual results may be more or less 

favorable. 

(13) If the illustration shows that the premium payer 

may have the option to allow policy charges to 

be paid using non-guaranteed values, the 

illustration must clearly disclose that a charge 

continues to be required and that, depending on 

actual results, the premium payer may need to 

continue or resume premium outlays. Similar 

disclosure shall be made for premium outlay of 

lesser amounts or shorter durations than the 

contract premium. If a contract premium is due, 

the premium outlay shall not be left blank or 

show zero unless accompanied by an asterisk or 

similar mark to draw attention to the fact that 

the policy is not paid up. 

(14) If the applicant plans to use dividends or policy 

values, guaranteed or non-guaranteed, to pay all 

or a portion of the contract premium or policy 

charges, or for any other purpose, the 

illustration may reflect those plans and the 

effect on future policy benefits and values. 

(b)  Narrative Summary. A basic illustration shall include the 

following: 

(1) A brief description of the policy being 

illustrated, including a statement that it is a life 

insurance policy. 

(2) A brief description of the premium outlay or 

contract premium, as applicable, for the policy. 

For a policy that does not require payment of a 

specific contract premium, the illustration shall 

show the premium outlay that must be paid to 

guarantee coverage for the term of the policy, 

subject to maximum premiums allowable to 

qualify as a life insurance policy under the 

applicable provisions of the Internal Revenue 

Code. 

(3) A brief description of any policy features, riders 

or options, guaranteed or non-guaranteed, 

shown in the basic illustration and the effect 

they may have on the benefits and values of the 

policy. 

(4) Identification and a brief definition of column 

headings and key terms used in the illustration. 

(5) A statement containing the following: This 

illustration assumes that the currently 

illustrated non-guaranteed elements will 

continue unchanged for all years shown. This is 

not likely to occur. Actual results may be more 

or less favorable than those shown. 

(c)  Numeric Summary. 

(1) Following the narrative summary, a basic 

illustration shall include a numeric summary of 

the death benefits and values and the premium 

outlay and contract premium, as applicable. For 

a policy that provides for a contract premium, 

the guaranteed death benefits and values shall 

be based on the contract premium. This 

summary shall be shown for at least policy 

years 5, 10 and 20 and at age 70, if applicable, 

on the three bases shown below. For multiple 

life policies the summary shall show policy 

years 5, 10, 20 and 30. The columns of the 

numeric summary shall be as follows: 

(A) Policy guarantees; 

(B) Insurer's illustrated scale; and 

(C) Insurer's illustrated scale used but with 

the non-guaranteed elements reduced 

as follows: 

(i) Dividends at 50 percent of 

the dividends contained in 

the illustrated scale used; 

(ii) Non-guaranteed credited 

interest at rates that are the 

average of the guaranteed 

rates and the rates contained 

in the illustrated scale used; 

and 

(iii) All non-guaranteed charges, 

including but not limited to, 

term insurance charges, 

mortality and expense 

charges, at rates that are the 
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average of the guaranteed 

rates and the rates contained 

in the illustrated scale used. 

(2) In addition, if coverage would cease before 

policy maturity or age 100, the year when 

coverage ceases shall be identified for each of 

the three bases. 

(d)  Statements. Statements substantially similar to the following 

shall be included on the same page as the numeric summary and 

signed by the applicant, or the policy owner in the case of an 

illustration provided at time of delivery, as required in this 

Section. 

(1) A statement to be signed and dated by the 

applicant or policy owner reading as follows: "I 

have received a copy of this illustration and 

understand that any non-guaranteed elements 

illustrated are subject to change and could be 

either higher or lower. The agent has told me 

they are not guaranteed." 

(2) A statement to be signed and dated by the 

insurance producer or other authorized 

representative of the insurer reading as follows: 

"I certify that this illustration has been 

presented to the applicant and that I have 

explained that any non-guaranteed elements 

illustrated are subject to change. I have made no 

statements that are inconsistent with the 

illustration." 

(e)  Tabular Detail. 

(1) A basic illustration shall include the following 

for at least each policy year from one to 10 and 

for every fifth policy year thereafter ending at 

age 100, policy maturity or final expiration, and 

except for term insurance beyond the 20th year, 

for any year in which the premium outlay and 

contract premium, if applicable is to change: 

(A) The premium outlay and mode the 

applicant plans to pay and the contract 

premium, as applicable; 

(B) The corresponding guaranteed death 

benefit, as provided in the policy; and 

(C) The corresponding guaranteed value 

available upon surrender, as provided 

in the policy. 

(2) For a policy that provides for a contract 

premium, the guaranteed death benefit and 

value available upon surrender shall correspond 

to the contract premium. 

(3) Non-guaranteed elements may be shown if 

described in the policy. In the case of an 

illustration for a policy on which the insurer 

intends to credit terminal dividends, they may 

be shown if the insurer's current practice is to 

pay terminal dividends. If any non-guaranteed 

elements are shown they must be shown at the 

same durations as the corresponding guaranteed 

elements, if any. If no guaranteed benefit or 

value is available at any duration for which a 

non-guaranteed benefit or value is shown, a 

zero shall be displayed in the guaranteed 

column. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0506 STANDARDS FOR 

SUPPLEMENTAL ILLUSTRATIONS 

(a)  A supplemental illustration may be provided as long as: 

(1) It is appended to, accompanied by or preceded 

by a basic illustration that complies with Rule 

.0505 of this Section; 

(2) The non-guaranteed elements shown are not 

more favorable to the policy owner than the 

corresponding elements based on the scale used 

in the basic illustration; 

(3) It contains the same statement required of a 

basic illustration that non-guaranteed elements 

are not guaranteed; and 

(4) For a policy that has a contract premium, the 

contract premium underlying the supplemental 

illustration is equal to the contract premium 

shown in the basic illustration. For policies that 

do not require a contract premium, the premium 

outlay underlying the supplemental illustration 

shall be equal to the premium outlay shown in 

the illustration. 

(b)  The supplemental illustration shall include a notice referring 

to the basic illustration for guaranteed elements. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0507 DELIVERY OF ILLUSTRATION 

AND RECORD RETENTION 

(a)  If a basic illustration is used by an insurance agent or other 

authorized representative of the insurer in the sale of a policy and 

the policy is applied for as illustrated, a copy of that illustration, 

signed in accordance with this Rule, shall be submitted by an 

insurance agent or other authorized representative to the insurer 

and the applicant at the time of policy application.  

(b)  If the policy is issued other than as applied for, a revised basic 

illustration conforming to the policy as issued shall be sent with 

the policy. The revised illustration shall conform to the 

requirements of this Rule, shall be labeled "Revised Illustration" 

and shall be signed and dated by the applicant or policy owner and 

insurance agent or other authorized representative of the insurer 

no later than the time the policy is delivered. A copy shall be 

provided to the insurer and the policy owner. 

(c)  If no illustration is used by an insurance agent or other 

authorized representative in the sale of a policy or if the policy is 

applied for other than as illustrated, the producer or representative 

shall certify to that effect in writing on a form provided by the 

insurer. On the same form the applicant shall acknowledge that no 

illustration conforming to the policy applied for was provided and 
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shall further acknowledge an understanding that an illustration 

conforming to the policy as issued will be provided no later than 

at the time of policy delivery. This form shall be submitted to the 

insurer at the time of policy application. 

(d)  If the policy is issued, a basic illustration conforming to the 

policy as issued shall be sent with the policy and signed no later 

than the time the policy is delivered. A copy shall be provided to 

the insurer and the policy owner. 

(e)  If the basic illustration or revised illustration is sent to the 

applicant or policy owner by mail directly from the insurer, it shall 

include instructions for the applicant or policy owner to sign the 

duplicate copy of the numeric summary page of the illustration for 

the policy issued and return the signed copy to the insurer. The 

insurer's obligation under this Paragraph shall be satisfied if it can 

demonstrate that it has made a diligent effort to secure a signed 

copy of the numeric summary page. The requirement to make a 

diligent effort shall be deemed satisfied if the insurer includes in 

the mailing a self-addressed postage prepaid envelope with 

instructions for the return of the signed numeric summary page. 

(f)  A copy of the basic illustration and a revised basic illustration, 

if any, signed if required by rule, along with any certification that 

either no illustration was used or that the policy was applied for 

other than as illustrated, shall be retained by the insurer until three 

years after the policy is no longer in force. A copy need not be 

retained if no policy is issued. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 04 .0508 ANNUAL REPORTS AND 

NOTICES TO POLICY OWNERS 

(a)  In the case of a policy designated as one for which an 

illustration will be issued, the insurer shall provide each policy 

owner with an annual report on the status of the policy that shall 

contain the information specified in this Rule. 

(b)  For universal life policies, the report shall include the 

following: 

(1) The beginning and end date of the current report 

period; 

(2) The policy value at the end of the previous 

report period and at the end of the current report 

period; 

(3) The total amounts that have been credited or 

debited to the policy value during the current 

period, identifying each by type (e.g., interest, 

mortality, expense and riders); 

(4) The current death benefit at the end of the 

current report period on each life covered by the 

policy; 

(5) The net cash surrender value of the policy as of 

the end of the current report period; 

(6) The amount of outstanding loans, if any, as of 

the end of the current report period; and 

(7) Either: 

(A) For fixed premium policies: If, 

assuming guaranteed interest, 

mortality, expense loads and 

continued scheduled premium 

payments, the policy's net cash 

surrender value is such that it would 

not maintain insurance in force until 

the end of the next reporting period, a 

notice to this effect shall be included 

in the report; or 

(B) For flexible premium policies: If, 

assuming guaranteed interest, 

mortality and expense loads, the 

policy's net cash surrender value will 

not maintain insurance in force until 

the end of the next reporting period 

unless further premium payments are 

made, a notice to this effect shall be 

included in the report. 

(c)  For all other policies, where applicable, the report shall 

contain: 

(1) Current death benefit; 

(2) Annual contract premium; 

(3) Current cash surrender value; 

(4) Current dividend; 

(5) Application of current dividend; and 

(6) Amount of outstanding loan. 

(d)  Insurers writing policies that do not build nonforfeiture values 

shall only be required to provide an annual report with respect to 

these policies for those years when a change has been made to 

nonguaranteed policy elements by the insurer. 

(e)  If the annual report does not include an in force illustration, it 

shall contain the following notice in boldface print with a 

capitalized heading "IMPORTANT POLICY OWNER NOTICE: 

You should consider requesting more detailed information about 

your policy to understand how it may perform in the future. You 

should not consider replacement of your policy or make changes 

in your coverage without requesting a current illustration of your 

policy. You may annually request, without charge, such an 

illustration by calling [insurer's phone number], writing to 

[insurer's name] at [insurer's address] or contacting your agent. If 

you do not receive an illustration of your policy within 30 days 

from your request, you should contact your State insurance 

department." The insurer may vary the sequential order of the 

methods for obtaining an in force illustration. 

(f)  Upon the request of the policy owner, the insurer shall furnish 

an in force illustration of current and future benefits and values 

based on the insurer's present illustrated scale. This illustration 

shall comply with the requirements of 11 NCAC 04 .0504(a), 

.0504(b), .0505(a), and .0505(e). No signature or other 

acknowledgment of receipt of this illustration shall be required. 

(g)  If an adverse change in any non-guaranteed element that could 

affect the policy has been made by the insurer since the last annual 

report, the annual report shall contain a notice of that fact and a 

description of the change. The notice and description shall be 

printed in boldface print in a type at least two points larger than 

the report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-58-1; 58-58-40; 58-

60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 
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11 NCAC 04 .0509 ANNUAL CERTIFICATIONS 

(a)  The board of directors of each insurer shall appoint one or 

more illustration actuaries. 

(b)  The illustration actuary shall certify that the disciplined 

current scale used in illustrations is in conformity with the 

Actuarial Standard of Practice for Compliance with the NAIC 

Model Regulation on Life Insurance Illustrations promulgated by 

the Actuarial Standards Board, and that the illustrated scales used 

in insurer-authorized illustrations meet the requirements of this 

Section. 

(c)  The illustration actuary shall: 

(1) Be a member in good standing of the American 

Academy of Actuaries; 

(2) Be knowledgeable of the standard of practice 

regarding life insurance policy illustrations; 

(3) Not have been found by the Commissioner, 

following appropriate notice and opportunity 

for hearing to have: 

(A) Violated any provision of, or any 

obligation imposed by, the insurance 

law or other law in the course of his or 

her dealings as an illustration actuary; 

(B) Been found guilty of fraudulent or 

dishonest practices; 

(C) Demonstrated his or her 

incompetence, lack of cooperation, or 

untrustworthiness to act as an 

illustration actuary; or 

(D) Resigned or been removed as an 

illustration actuary within the past five 

years as a result of acts or omissions 

indicated in any adverse report on 

examination or as a result of a failure 

to adhere to generally acceptable 

actuarial standards; 

(4) Notify the Commissioner of any action taken by 

an insurance regulator of another state with 

laws similar to that under Subparagraph (c)(3) 

of this Rule; 

(5) Disclose in the annual certification whether, 

since the last certification, a currently payable 

scale applicable for business issued within the 

previous five years and within the scope of the 

certification has been reduced for reasons other 

than changes in the experience factors 

underlying the disciplined current scale. If 

nonguaranteed elements illustrated for new 

policies are not consistent with those illustrated 

for similar in force policies, this shall be 

disclosed in the annual certification. If 

nonguaranteed elements illustrated for both 

new and in force policies are not consistent with 

the nonguaranteed elements actually being 

paid, charged, or credited to the same or similar 

form, this shall be disclosed in the annual 

certification; and 

(6) Disclose in the annual certification which of the 

following methods are used to allocate 

overhead expenses for all illustrations: 

(A) Fully allocated expenses; 

(B) Marginal expenses; or 

(C) A table of fully allocated expenses 

developed by the Actuarial Standards 

Board and approved by the National 

Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

(d)  The illustration actuary shall file a certification with the board 

and with the Commissioner: 

(1) Annually for all policies for which illustrations 

are used; and 

(2) Before a new policy is illustrated. 

At the time an error in a previous certification is discovered, the 

illustration actuary shall notify the board of directors of the insurer 

and the Commissioner. 

(e)  If an illustration actuary is unable to certify the scale for any 

policy illustration the insurer intends to use, the actuary shall 

notify the board of directors of the insurer and the Commissioner 

of his or her inability to certify. 

(f)  An officer of the insurer, other than the illustration actuary, 

shall certify annually that the illustration formats meet the 

requirements of this Rule and that the scales used in 

insurer-authorized illustrations are those scales certified by the 

illustration actuary and that the company has provided its agents 

with information about the expense allocation used by the 

company in its illustrations and disclosed as required in 

Subparagraph (c)(6) of this Rule. 

(g)  The annual certifications shall be provided to the 

Commissioner each year by a date determined by the insurer. 

(h)  At the time an insurer changes the illustration actuary 

responsible for all or a portion of the company's policies, the 

insurer shall notify the Commissioner of that fact and disclose the 

reason for the change. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-171; 58-58-1; 58-

58-40; 58-60-15; 58-60-20; 58-63-15; 58-63-65; 

Eff. January 1, 1997; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 08 .0734 RESIDENTIAL CHANGEOUT 

INSPECTOR 

(a)  Qualifications and types: 

(1) A residential changeout inspector shall be 

authorized to inspect the replacement of a 

residential appliance as described in 

Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph for one-and-

two family dwellings, and individual residential 

units of condominiums and apartments 

provided the individual residential appliance 

serves only that residential dwelling unit. 

(2) A residential changeout inspector may inspect 

the replacement of heating and air conditioning 

appliances and water heaters, provided that all 

of the following apply: 
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(A) the new appliance requires no 

alterations to the existing ducting, fuel 

type, or piping systems other than that 

required for transitioning to the new 

appliance; 

(B) any venting associated with the new 

appliance shall be allowed to be 

installed, replaced, and repaired where 

such venting does not pass through a 

rated assembly; 

(C) any new gas appliance shall be of the 

same category as the appliance being 

replaced; 

(D) the new appliance does not require 

relocation, excluding minor 

adjustments in the same general 

vicinity; 

(E) the installation of the new appliance 

does not require the relocation or 

addition to the existing electrical 

system, except the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit overcurrent 

device, or the replacement of the 

appliance's branch circuit where such 

circuit does not pass through a rated 

assembly shall be allowed; and 

(F) the electrical branch circuit serving the 

appliance is single phase. 

(b)  The inspection performance log referenced in this Rule is 

available on the Office of State Fire Marshal website. The 

inspection performance log shall describe the criteria for 

authenticating the applicant and supervisors' qualifications, and 

the inspections performed. 

(c)  Every applicant shall: 

(1) provide documentation that the applicant 

possesses a minimum of a high school 

education or a high school equivalency 

certificate; 

(2) provide notarized certification by a city or 

county manager, clerk, or director of inspection 

department that the applicant will be 

performing "code enforcement," as defined in 

G.S. 143-151.8(a)(3), as an employee of that 

city or county; or provide certification by the 

head of the Engineering and Building Codes 

Division of the North Carolina Department of 

Insurance that the applicant will be performing 

"code enforcement," as defined in G.S. 143-

151.8(a)(3), for a State department or agency; 

(3) successfully complete courses developed by the 

Board. All applicants must successfully 

complete a law and administration course and a 

residential changeout inspections course. For 

the purpose of entry into the written 

examination administered by the Board, 

courses must be completed within five years of 

the exam in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph. 

These courses shall be administered and taught 

in the N.C. Community College System or 

other educational agencies accredited by a 

regional accrediting association. The North 

Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal may administer and teach 

certification courses for the purposes of 

developing program content and professional 

development. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"successful completion" is defined as 

attendance of a minimum of 80 percent of the 

hours taught and achieving a minimum score of 

70 percent on the course exam; and 

(4) achieve a passing grade of 70 percent on the 

written examination administered by the Board. 

(d)  Residential Changeout Inspector. A standard certificate, 

residential changeout inspector, shall be issued to any applicant 

who possesses a probationary residential changeout inspection 

certificate pursuant to Rule 11 NCAC 08 .0602, complies with 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule, and one of the following education and 

experience qualifications: 

(1) possess any level standard certificate as an 

electrical inspector, mechanical inspector, or 

plumbing inspector; or 

(2) all the following: 

(A) at least six months of conducting 

residential changeout inspections with 

a probationary residential changeout 

inspection certificate; and 

(B) completion and submission of an 

inspection performance log as 

administered by the North Carolina 

Department of Insurance, Office of 

State Fire Marshal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-151.12; 143-151.13; 

Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0306 GENERAL USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  In order to protect life and property, all development not 

otherwise specifically exempted or allowed by law or elsewhere 

in the Coastal Resources Commission's rules shall be located 

according to whichever of the following is applicable: 

(1) The ocean hazard setback for development shall 

be measured in a landward direction from the 

vegetation line, the static vegetation line, or the 

measurement line, whichever is applicable. 

(2) In areas with a development line, the ocean 

hazard setback shall be set in accordance with 

Subparagraphs (a)(3) through (9) of this Rule. 

With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07J 

.1301(d), in no case shall new development be 

sited seaward of the development line. In areas 

with a Static Line Exception approved in 
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accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200 and a 

Development Line approved in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 07J .1300, the petitioner shall 

notify the Division of Coastal Management 

which one of the two approaches will be 

utilized and applied to the entire large-scale 

project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0305(a)(7). 

(3) In no case shall a development line be created 

or established on State-owned lands or 

oceanward of the mean high water line or 

perpetual property easement line, whichever is 

more restrictive. 

(4) The ocean hazard setback shall be determined 

by both the size of development and the 

shoreline long term erosion rate as defined in 

Rule .0304 of this Section. "Development size" 

is defined by total floor area for structures and 

buildings or total area of footprint for 

development other than structures and 

buildings. Total floor area includes the 

following: 

(A) The total square footage of heated or 

air-conditioned living space; 

(B) The total square footage of parking 

elevated above ground level; and 

(C) The total square footage of non-heated 

or non-air-conditioned areas elevated 

above ground level, excluding attic 

space that is not designed to be load-

bearing. 

Decks, roof-covered porches, and walkways 

shall not be included in the total floor area 

unless they are enclosed with material other 

than screen mesh or are being converted into an 

enclosed space with material other than screen 

mesh. 

(5) With the exception of those types of 

development defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0309, 

no development, including any portion of a 

building or structure, shall extend oceanward of 

the ocean hazard setback. This includes roof 

overhangs and elevated structural components 

that are cantilevered, knee braced, or otherwise 

extended beyond the support of pilings or 

footings. The ocean hazard setback shall be 

established based on the following criteria: 

(A) A building or other structure less than 

5,000 square feet requires a minimum 

setback of 60 feet or 30 times the 

shoreline erosion rate, whichever is 

greater; 

(B) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 5,000 square feet but 

less than 10,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 120 feet or 60 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(C) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 10,000 square feet but 

less than 20,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 130 feet or 65 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(D) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 20,000 square feet but 

less than 40,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 140 feet or 70 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(E) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 40,000 square feet but 

less than 60,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 150 feet or 75 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(F) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 60,000 square feet but 

less than 80,000 square feet requires a 

minimum setback of 160 feet or 80 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(G) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 80,000 square feet but 

less than 100,000 square feet requires 

a minimum setback of 170 feet or 85 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(H) A building or other structure greater 

than or equal to 100,000 square feet 

requires a minimum setback of 180 

feet or 90 times the shoreline erosion 

rate, whichever is greater; 

(I) Infrastructure that is linear in nature, 

such as roads, bridges, pedestrian 

access such as boardwalks and 

sidewalks, and utilities providing for 

the transmission of electricity, water, 

telephone, cable television, data, 

storm water, and sewer requires a 

minimum setback of 60 feet or 30 

times the shoreline erosion rate, 

whichever is greater; 

(J) Parking lots greater than or equal to 

5,000 square feet require a setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate, whichever is greater; 

(K) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, a 

building or other structure greater than 

or equal to 5,000 square feet in a 

community with a static line exception 

in accordance with 15A NCAC 07J 

.1200 requires a minimum setback of 

120 feet or 60 times the shoreline 

erosion rate in place at the time of 

permit issuance, whichever is greater. 
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The setback shall be measured 

landward from either the static 

vegetation line, the vegetation line, or 

measurement line, whichever is 

farthest landward; and 

(L) Notwithstanding any other setback 

requirement of this Subparagraph, 

replacement of single-family or 

duplex residential structures with a 

total floor area greater than 5,000 

square feet, and commercial and 

multi-family residential structures 

with a total floor area no greater than 

10,000 square feet, shall be allowed 

provided that the structure meets the 

following criteria: 

(i) the structure was originally 

constructed prior to August 

11, 2009; 

(ii) the structure as replaced does 

not exceed the original 

footprint or square footage; 

(iii) it is not possible for the 

structure to be rebuilt in a 

location that meets the ocean 

hazard setback criteria 

required under Subparagraph 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(iv) the structure as replaced 

meets the minimum setback 

required under Part (a)(5)(A) 

of this Rule; and 

(v) the structure is rebuilt as far 

landward on the lot as 

feasible. 

(6) If a primary dune exists in the AEC on or 

landward of the lot where the development is 

proposed, the development shall be landward of 

the crest of the primary dune, the ocean hazard 

setback, or development line, whichever is 

farthest from vegetation line, static vegetation 

line, or measurement line, whichever is 

applicable. For existing lots, however, where 

setting the development landward of the crest 

of the primary dune would preclude any 

practical use of the lot, development may be 

located oceanward of the primary dune. In such 

cases, the development may be located 

landward of the ocean hazard setback, but shall 

not be located on or oceanward of a frontal dune 

or the development line. The words "existing 

lots" in this Rule shall mean a lot or tract of land 

that, as of June 1, 1979, is specifically described 

in a recorded plat and cannot be enlarged by 

combining the lot or tract of land with a 

contiguous lot or tract of land under the same 

ownership. 

(7) If no primary dune exists, but a frontal dune 

does exist in the AEC on or landward of the lot 

where the development is proposed, the 

development shall be set landward of the frontal 

dune, ocean hazard setback, or development 

line, whichever is farthest from the vegetation 

line, static vegetation line, or measurement line, 

whichever is applicable. 

(8) If neither a primary nor frontal dune exists in 

the AEC on or landward of the lot where 

development is proposed, the structure shall be 

landward of the ocean hazard setback or 

development line, whichever is more 

restrictive. 

(9) Structural additions or increases in the footprint 

or total floor area of a building or structure 

represent expansions to the total floor area and 

shall meet the setback requirements established 

in this Rule and 15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). New 

development landward of the applicable 

setback may be cosmetically, but shall not be 

structurally, attached to an existing structure 

that does not conform with current setback 

requirements. 

(10) Established common law and statutory public 

rights of access to and use of public trust lands 

and waters in ocean hazard areas shall not be 

eliminated or restricted. Development shall not 

encroach upon public accessways, nor shall it 

limit the intended use of the accessways. 

(11) Development setbacks in areas that have 

received large-scale beach fill as defined in 15A 

NCAC 07H .0305 shall be measured landward 

from the static vegetation line as defined in this 

Section, unless a development line has been 

approved by the Coastal Resources 

Commission in accordance with 15A NCAC 

07J .1300. 

(12) In order to allow for development landward of 

the large-scale beach fill project that cannot 

meet the setback requirements from the static 

vegetation line, but can or has the potential to 

meet the setback requirements from the 

vegetation line set forth in Subparagraphs (a)(1) 

and (a)(5) of this Rule, a local government, 

group of local governments involved in a 

regional beach fill project, or qualified "owners' 

association" as defined in G.S. 47F-1-103(3) 

that has the authority to approve the locations 

of structures on lots within the territorial 

jurisdiction of the association and has 

jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 

shoreline, may petition the Coastal Resources 

Commission for a "static line exception" in 

accordance with 15A NCAC 07J .1200. The 

static line exception shall apply to development 

of property that lies both within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner and the 

boundaries of the large-scale beach fill project. 

This static line exception shall also allow 

development greater than 5,000 square feet to 
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use the setback provisions defined in Part 

(a)(5)(K) of this Rule in areas that lie within the 

jurisdictional boundary of the petitioner, and 

the boundaries of the large-scale beach fill 

project. If the request is approved, the Coastal 

Resources Commission shall allow 

development setbacks to be measured from a 

vegetation line that is oceanward of the static 

vegetation line under the following conditions: 

(A) Development meets all setback 

requirements from the vegetation line 

defined in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and 

(a)(5) of this Rule; 

(B) Development setbacks shall be 

calculated from the shoreline erosion 

rate in place at the time of permit 

issuance; 

(C) No portion of a building or structure, 

including roof overhangs and elevated 

portions that are cantilevered, knee 

braced, or otherwise extended beyond 

the support of pilings or footings, 

extends oceanward of the landward-

most adjacent building or structure. 

When the configuration of a lot 

precludes the placement of a building 

or structure in line with the landward-

most adjacent building or structure, an 

average line of construction shall be 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management on a case-by-case basis 

in order to determine an ocean hazard 

setback that is landward of the 

vegetation line, a distance no less than 

30 times the shoreline erosion rate or 

60 feet, whichever is greater; 

(D) With the exception of swimming 

pools, the development defined in 

Rule .0309(a) of this Section shall be 

allowed oceanward of the static 

vegetation line; and 

(E) Development shall not be eligible for 

the exception defined in Rule .0309(b) 

of this Section. 

(b)  No development shall be permitted that involves the removal 

or relocation of primary or frontal dune sand or vegetation thereon 

that would adversely affect the integrity of the dune. Other dunes 

within the ocean hazard area shall not be disturbed unless the 

development of the property is otherwise impracticable. Any 

disturbance of these other dunes shall be allowed only to the 

extent permitted by 15A NCAC 07H .0308(b). 

(c)  Development shall not cause irreversible damage to historic 

architectural or archaeological resources as documented by the 

local historic commission, the North Carolina Department of 

Natural and Cultural Resources, or the National Historical 

Registry. 

(d)  Development shall comply with minimum lot size and set 

back requirements established by local regulations. 

(e)  Mobile homes shall not be placed within the high hazard flood 

area unless they are within mobile home parks existing as of June 

1, 1979. 

(f)  Development shall comply with the general management 

objective for ocean hazard areas set forth in 15A NCAC 07H 

.0303. 

(g)  Development shall not interfere with legal access to, or use 

of, public resources, nor shall such development increase the risk 

of damage to public trust areas. 

(h)  Development proposals shall incorporate measures to avoid 

or minimize adverse impacts of the project. These measures shall 

be implemented at the applicant's expense and may include 

actions that: 

(1) minimize or avoid adverse impacts by limiting 

the magnitude or degree of the action; 

(2) restore the affected environment; or 

(3) compensate for the adverse impacts by 

replacing or providing substitute resources. 

(i)  Prior to the issuance of any permit for development in the 

ocean hazard AECs, there shall be a written acknowledgment 

from the applicant to the Division of Coastal Management that the 

applicant is aware of the risks associated with development in this 

hazardous area and the limited suitability of this area for 

permanent structures. The acknowledgement shall state that the 

Coastal Resources Commission does not guarantee the safety of 

the development and assumes no liability for future damage to the 

development. 

(j)  All relocation of structures shall require permit approval. 

Structures relocated with public funds shall comply with the 

applicable setback line and other applicable AEC rules. 

Structures, including septic tanks and other essential accessories, 

relocated entirely with non-public funds shall be relocated the 

maximum feasible distance landward of the present location. 

Septic tanks shall not be located oceanward of the primary 

structure. All relocation of structures shall meet all other 

applicable local and state rules. 

(k)  Permits shall include the condition that any structure shall be 

relocated or dismantled when it becomes imminently threatened 

by changes in shoreline configuration as defined in 15A NCAC 

07H .0308(a)(2)(B). Any such structure shall be relocated or 

dismantled within two years of the time when it becomes 

imminently threatened, and in any case upon its collapse or 

subsidence. However, if natural shoreline recovery or beach fill 

takes place within two years of the time the structure becomes 

imminently threatened, so that the structure is no longer 

imminently threatened, then it need not be relocated or dismantled 

at that time. This permit condition shall not affect the permit 

holder's right to seek authorization of temporary protective 

measures allowed pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

113A-124; 

Eff. September 9, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; March 1, 1988; September 1, 

1986; December 1, 1985; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. January 24, 1992; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1992; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 21, 1992; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1993; October 1, 1992; June 19, 1992; 
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RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 18, 1995; 

Amended Eff. August 11, 2009; April 1, 2007; November 1, 2004; 

June 27, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 3, 2013; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; February 1, 2017; April 1, 

2016; September 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .0308 SPECIFIC USE STANDARDS 

FOR OCEAN HAZARD AREAS 

(a)  Ocean Shoreline Erosion Control Activities: 

(1) Use Standards Applicable to all Erosion 

Control Activities: 

(A) All oceanfront erosion response 

activities shall be consistent with the 

general policy statements in 15A 

NCAC 07M .0200. 

(B) Permanent erosion control structures 

may cause significant adverse impacts 

on the value and enjoyment of 

adjacent properties or public access to 

and use of the ocean beach, and, 

therefore, unless specifically 

authorized under the Coastal Area 

Management Act, are prohibited. Such 

structures include bulkheads, 

seawalls, revetments, jetties, groins 

and breakwaters. 

(C) Rules concerning the use of 

oceanfront erosion response measures 

apply to all oceanfront properties 

without regard to the size of the 

structure on the property or the date of 

its construction. 

(D) Shoreline erosion response projects 

shall not be constructed in beach or 

estuarine areas that sustain substantial 

habitat for fish and wildlife species, as 

identified by natural resource agencies 

during project review, unless 

mitigation measures are incorporated 

into project design, as set forth in Rule 

.0306(h) of this Section. 

(E) Project construction shall be timed to 

minimize adverse effects on biological 

activity. 

(F) Prior to completing any erosion 

response project, all exposed remnants 

of or debris from failed erosion control 

structures must be removed by the 

permittee. 

(G) Permanent erosion control structures 

that would otherwise be prohibited by 

these standards may be permitted on 

finding by the Division that: 

(i) the erosion control structure 

is necessary to protect a 

bridge that provides the only 

existing road access on a 

barrier island, that is vital to 

public safety, and is 

imminently threatened by 

erosion as defined in Part 

(a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

to protect public health and 

safety; and 

(iii) the proposed erosion control 

structure will have no 

adverse impacts on adjacent 

properties in private 

ownership or on public use of 

the beach. 

(H) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

protect a state or federally 

registered historic site that is 

imminently threatened by 

shoreline erosion as defined 

in Part (a)(2)(B) of this Rule; 

(ii) the erosion response 

measures of relocation, beach 

nourishment or temporary 

stabilization are not adequate 

and practicable to protect the 

site; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to protect the site; 

and 

(iv) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(I) Structures that would otherwise be 

prohibited by these standards may also 

be permitted on finding by the 

Division that: 

(i) the structure is necessary to 

maintain an existing 
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commercial navigation 

channel of regional 

significance within federally 

authorized limits; 

(ii) dredging alone is not 

practicable to maintain safe 

access to the affected 

channel; 

(iii) the structure is limited in 

extent and scope to that 

necessary to maintain the 

channel; 

(iv) the structure shall not have 

significant adverse impacts 

on fisheries or other public 

trust resources; and 

(v) a permit for a structure under 

this Part may be issued only 

to a sponsoring public agency 

for projects where the public 

benefits outweigh the 

significant adverse impacts. 

Additionally, the permit shall 

include conditions providing 

for mitigation or 

minimization by that agency 

of any significant adverse 

impacts on adjoining 

properties and on public 

access to and use of the 

beach. 

(J) The Commission may renew a permit 

for an erosion control structure issued 

pursuant to a variance granted by the 

Commission prior to 1 July 1995. The 

Commission may authorize the 

replacement of a permanent erosion 

control structure that was permitted by 

the Commission pursuant to a variance 

granted by the Commission prior to 1 

July 1995 if the Commission finds 

that: 

(i) the structure will not be 

enlarged beyond the 

dimensions set out in the 

permit; 

(ii) there is no practical 

alternative to replacing the 

structure that will provide the 

same or similar benefits; and 

(iii) the replacement structure 

will comply with all 

applicable laws and with all 

rules, other than the rule or 

rules with respect to which 

the Commission granted the 

variance, that are in effect at 

the time the structure is 

replaced. 

(K) Proposed erosion response measures 

using innovative technology or design 

shall be considered as experimental 

and shall be evaluated on a case-by-

case basis to determine consistency 

with 15A NCAC 07M .0200 and 

general and specific use standards 

within this Section. 

(2) Temporary Erosion Control Structures: 

(A) Permittable temporary erosion control 

structures shall be limited to sandbags 

placed landward of mean high water 

and parallel to the shore. 

(B) Temporary erosion control structures 

as defined in Part (A) of this 

Subparagraph may be used to protect 

only imminently threatened roads and 

associated right of ways, and buildings 

and their associated septic systems. A 

structure is considered imminently 

threatened if its foundation, septic 

system, or right-of-way in the case of 

roads, is less than 20 feet away from 

the erosion scarp. Buildings and roads 

located more than 20 feet from the 

erosion scarp or in areas where there is 

no obvious erosion scarp may also be 

found to be imminently threatened 

when site conditions, such as a flat 

beach profile or accelerated erosion, 

increase the risk of imminent damage 

to the structure. 

(C) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall be used to protect only the 

principal structure and its associated 

septic system, but not appurtenances 

such as pools, gazebos, decks or any 

amenity that is allowed under Rule 

.0309 of this Section as an exception 

to the erosion setback requirement. 

(D) Temporary erosion control structures 

may be placed waterward of a septic 

system when there is no alternative to 

relocate it on the same or adjoining lot 

so that it is landward of or in line with 

the structure being protected. 

(E) Temporary erosion control structures 

shall not extend more than 20 feet past 

the sides of the structure to be 

protected except to align with 

temporary erosion control structures 

on adjacent properties, where the 

Division has determined that gaps 

between adjacent erosion control 

structures may result in an increased 

risk of damage to the structure to be 

protected. The landward side of such 

temporary erosion control structures 

shall not be located more than 20 feet 
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waterward of the structure to be 

protected, or the right-of-way in the 

case of roads. If a building or road is 

found to be imminently threatened and 

at an increased risk of imminent 

damage due to site conditions such as 

a flat beach profile or accelerated 

erosion, temporary erosion control 

structures may be located more than 

20 feet waterward of the structure 

being protected. In cases of increased 

risk of imminent damage, the location 

of the temporary erosion control 

structures shall be determined by the 

Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management or the Director's 

designee in accordance with Part (A) 

of this Subparagraph. 

(F) Temporary erosion control structures 

may remain in place for up to eight 

years for a building and its associated 

septic system, a bridge or a road. The 

property owner shall be responsible 

for removal of any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

exposed above grade within 30 days of 

the end of the allowable time period. 

(G) An imminently threatened structure or 

property may be protected only once, 

regardless of ownership, unless the 

threatened structure or property is 

located in a community that is actively 

pursuing a beach nourishment project, 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with Part (H) of 

this Subparagraph. Existing temporary 

erosion control structures may be 

permitted for additional eight-year 

periods provided that the structure or 

property being protected is still 

imminently threatened, the temporary 

erosion control structure is in 

compliance with requirements of this 

Subchapter, and the community in 

which it is located is actively pursuing 

a beach nourishment or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project in 

accordance with Part (H) of this 

Subparagraph. In the case of a 

building, a temporary erosion control 

structure may be extended, or new 

segments constructed, if additional 

areas of the building become 

imminently threatened. Where 

temporary structures are installed or 

extended incrementally, the time 

period for removal under Part (F) or 

(H) of this Subparagraph shall begin at 

the time the initial erosion control 

structure was installed. For the 

purpose of this Rule: 

(i) a building and its septic 

system shall be considered 

separate structures, 

(ii) a road or highway may be 

incrementally protected as 

sections become imminently 

threatened. The time period 

for removal of each 

contiguous section of 

temporary erosion control 

structure shall begin at the 

time that the initial section 

was installed, in accordance 

with Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(H) For purposes of this Rule, a 

community is considered to be 

actively pursuing a beach nourishment 

or an inlet relocation or stabilization 

project in accordance with G.S. 113A-

115.1 if it: 

(i) has been issued an active 

CAMA permit, where 

necessary, approving such 

project; or 

(ii) has been identified by a U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers' 

Beach Nourishment 

Reconnaissance Study, 

General Reevaluation 

Report, Coastal Storm 

Damage Reduction Study, or 

an ongoing feasibility study 

by the U.S. Army Corps of 

Engineers and a commitment 

of local or federal money, 

when necessary; or 

(iii) has received a favorable 

economic evaluation report 

on a federal project; or 

(iv) is in the planning stages of a 

project designed by the U.S. 

Army Corps of Engineers or 

persons meeting applicable 

State occupational licensing 

requirements and initiated by 

a local government or 

community with a 

commitment of local or state 

funds to construct the project 

or the identification of the 

financial resources or 

funding bases necessary to 

fund the beach nourishment, 

inlet relocation or 

stabilization project. 
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If beach nourishment, inlet relocation 

or stabilization is rejected by the 

sponsoring agency or community, or 

ceases to be actively planned for a 

section of shoreline, the time 

extension is void for that section of 

beach or community and existing 

sandbags are subject to all applicable 

time limits set forth in Part (F) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(I) Once a temporary erosion control 

structure is determined by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

unnecessary due to relocation or 

removal of the threatened structure, it 

shall be removed to the maximum 

extent practicable by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. If the 

temporary erosion control structure is 

determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management to be unnecessary due to 

the completion of a storm protection 

project constructed by the U.S. Army 

Corps of Engineers, a large-scale 

beach nourishment project, or an inlet 

relocation or stabilization project, any 

portion of the temporary erosion 

control structure exposed above grade 

shall be removed by the property 

owner within 30 days of official 

notification from the Division of 

Coastal Management regardless of the 

time limit placed on the temporary 

erosion control structure. 

(J) Removal of temporary erosion control 

structures is not required if they are 

covered by sand. Any portion of the 

temporary erosion control structure 

that becomes exposed above grade 

after the expiration of the permitted 

time period shall be removed by the 

property owner within 30 days of 

official notification from the Division 

of Coastal Management. 

(K) The property owner shall be 

responsible for the removal of 

remnants of all portions of any 

damaged temporary erosion control 

structure. 

(L) Sandbags used to construct temporary 

erosion control structures shall be tan 

in color and three to five feet wide and 

seven to 15 feet long when measured 

flat. Base width of the temporary 

erosion control structure shall not 

exceed 20 feet, and the total height 

shall not exceed six feet, as measured 

from the bottom of the lowest bag. 

(M) Soldier pilings and other types of 

devices to anchor sandbags shall not 

be allowed. 

(N) Existing sandbag structures may be 

repaired or replaced within their 

originally permitted dimensions 

during the time period allowed under 

Part (F) or (G) of this Subparagraph. 

(3) Beach Nourishment. Sand used for beach 

nourishment shall be compatible with existing 

grain size and in accordance with Rule .0312 of 

this Section. 

(4) Beach Bulldozing. Beach bulldozing (defined 

as the process of moving natural beach material 

from any point seaward of the first line of stable 

vegetation to create a protective sand dike or to 

obtain material for any other purpose) is 

development and may be permitted as an 

erosion response if the following conditions are 

met: 

(A) The area on which this activity is 

being performed shall maintain a slope 

of adequate grade so as to not 

endanger the public or the public's use 

of the beach and shall follow the pre-

emergency slope as closely as 

possible. The movement of material 

utilizing a bulldozer, front end loader, 

backhoe, scraper, or any type of earth 

moving or construction equipment 

shall not exceed one foot in depth 

measured from the pre-activity surface 

elevation; 

(B) The activity shall not exceed the 

lateral bounds of the applicant's 

property unless he has permission of 

the adjoining land owner(s); 

(C) Movement of material from seaward 

of the mean low water line will require 

a CAMA Major Development and 

State Dredge and Fill Permit; 

(D) The activity shall not increase erosion 

on neighboring properties and shall 

not have an adverse effect on natural 

or cultural resources; 

(E) The activity may be undertaken to 

protect threatened on-site waste 

disposal systems as well as the 

threatened structure's foundations. 

(b)  Dune Establishment and Stabilization. 

(1) Any new dunes established shall be aligned to 

the greatest extent possible with existing 

adjacent dune ridges and shall be of the same 

configuration as adjacent natural dunes. 

(2) Existing primary and frontal dunes shall not, 

except for beach nourishment and emergency 
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situations, be broadened or extended in an 

oceanward direction. 

(3) Adding to dunes shall be accomplished in such 

a manner that the damage to existing vegetation 

is minimized. The filled areas shall be replanted 

or temporarily stabilized until planting can be 

completed. 

(4) Sand used to establish or strengthen dunes shall 

be of the same general characteristics as the 

sand in the area in which it is to be placed. 

(5) No new dunes shall be created in inlet hazard 

areas. 

(6) Sand held in storage in any dune, other than the 

frontal or primary dune, shall remain on the lot 

or tract of land to the maximum extent 

practicable and may be redistributed within the 

Ocean Hazard AEC provided that it is not 

placed any farther oceanward than the crest of 

a primary dune, if present, or the crest of a 

frontal dune. 

(7) No disturbance of a dune area shall be allowed 

when other techniques of construction can be 

utilized and alternative site locations exist to 

avoid dune impacts. 

(c)  Structural Accessways: 

(1) Structural accessways shall be permitted across 

primary or frontal dunes so long as they are 

designed and constructed in a manner that 

entails negligible alteration of the primary or 

frontal dune. Structural accessways shall not be 

considered threatened structures for the purpose 

of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(2) An accessway shall be considered to entail 

negligible alteration of primary or frontal dunes 

provided that: 

(A) The accessway is exclusively for 

pedestrian use; 

(B) The accessway is a maximum of six 

feet in width; 

(C) Except in the case of beach matting for 

a local, State, or federal government's 

public access, the accessway is raised 

on posts or pilings of five feet or less 

depth, so that wherever possible only 

the posts or pilings touch the dune. 

Where this is deemed by the Division 

of Coastal Management to be 

impossible due to any more restrictive 

local, State, or federal building 

requirements, the structure shall touch 

the dune only to the extent necessary. 

Beach matting for a local, State, or 

federal government's public access 

shall be installed at grade and not 

involve any excavation or fill of the 

dune; and 

(D) Any areas of vegetation that are 

disturbed are revegetated as soon as 

feasible. 

(3) An accessway that does not meet Part (2)(A) 

and (B) of this Paragraph shall be permitted 

only if it meets a public purpose or need which 

cannot otherwise be met and it meets Part 

(2)(C) of this Paragraph. Public fishing piers are 

not prohibited provided all other applicable 

standards of this Rule are met. 

(4) In order to preserve the protective nature of 

primary and frontal dunes a structural 

accessway (such as a "Hatteras ramp") may be 

provided for off-road vehicle (ORV) or 

emergency vehicle access. Such accessways 

shall be no greater than 15 feet in width and 

may be constructed of wooden sections 

fastened together, or other materials approved 

by the Division, over the length of the affected 

dune area. Installation of a Hatteras ramp shall 

be done in a manner that will preserve the 

dune's function as a protective barrier against 

flooding and erosion by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. 

(5) Structural accessways may be constructed no 

more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 

of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 

not interfere with public trust rights and 

emergency access along the beach. Structural 

accessways are not restricted by the 

requirement to be landward of the FLSNV as 

described in Rule .0309(a) of this Section. 

(d)  Building Construction Standards. New building construction 

and any construction identified in .0306(a)(5) of 

this Section and 15A NCAC 07J .0210 shall comply with the 

following standards: 

(1) In order to avoid danger to life and property, all 

development shall be designed and placed so as 

to minimize damage due to fluctuations in 

ground elevation and wave action in a 100-year 

storm. Any building constructed within the 

ocean hazard area shall comply with relevant 

sections of the North Carolina Building Code 

including the Coastal and Flood Plain 

Construction Standards and the local flood 

damage prevention ordinance as required by the 

National Flood Insurance Program. If any 

provision of the building code or a flood 

damage prevention ordinance is inconsistent 

with any of the following AEC standards, the 

more restrictive provision shall control. 

(2) All building in the ocean hazard area shall be 

on pilings not less than eight inches in diameter 

if round or eight inches to a side if square. 

(3) All pilings shall have a tip penetration greater 

than eight feet below the lowest ground 

elevation under the structure. For those 

structures so located on or seaward of the 

primary dune, the pilings shall extend to five 

feet below mean sea level. 

(4) All foundations shall be designed to be stable 

during applicable fluctuations in ground 
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elevation and wave forces during a 100-year 

storm. Cantilevered decks and walkways shall 

meet the requirements of this Part or shall be 

designed to break-away without structural 

damage to the main structure. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b)(6)a.,b.,d.; 113A-115.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. June 1, 1979; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 20, 1989, for a period of 180 

days to expire on December 17, 1989; 

Amended Eff. August 3, 1992; December 1, 1991; March 1, 1990; 

December 1, 1989; 

RRC Objection Eff. November 19, 1992 due to ambiguity; 

RRC Objection Eff. January 21, 1993 due to ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1993; December 28, 1992; 

RRC Objection Eff. March 16, 1995 due to ambiguity; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; May 4, 1995; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 3, 2000; May 22, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2019; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; April 1, 

2008; February 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1201 PURPOSE 

A permit under this Section shall allow the construction of piers 

and docking facilities, including pile supported or floating, in the 

Estuarine and Public Trust Waters AECs and construction of piers 

and docks within Coastal Wetland AECs according to the 

authority provided in Subchapter 07J .1100 and according to the 

rules in this Section. This permit shall not apply to oceanfront 

shorelines or to waters and shorelines adjacent to the Ocean 

Hazard AEC with the exception of those shorelines that feature 

characteristics of the Estuarine Shoreline AEC. Such features 

include the presence of wetland vegetation, lower wave energy, 

and lower erosion rates than the adjacent Ocean Erodible Area. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2009; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1202 APPROVAL PROCEDURES 

(a)  An applicant for a General Permit under this Subchapter shall 

contact the Division of Coastal Management and request approval 

for development.  

(b)  The applicant shall provide: 

(1) the site location, dimensions of the project area 

and name, and his or her address; and 

(2) confirmation that a written statement has been 

obtained signed by the adjacent riparian 

property owners indicating that they have no 

objections to the proposed work; or 

(3) confirmation that the adjacent riparian property 

owners have been notified by certified mail of 

the proposed work. The notice shall instruct 

adjacent property owners to provide any 

comments on the proposed development in 

writing for consideration by permitting officials 

to the Division of Coastal Management within 

10 days of receipt of the notice and indicate that 

no response will be interpreted as no objection. 

Division staff shall review all comments and 

determine, based on their relevance to the 

potential impacts of the proposed project, if the 

proposed project can be approved by a General 

Permit. If Division staff finds that the 

comments are worthy of more in-depth review, 

the Division shall notify the applicant that he or 

she must submit an application for a major 

development permit. 

(c)  No work shall begin until an on-site meeting is held with the 

applicant and a Division of Coastal Management representative to 

review the proposed development. A permit to to proceed with the 

proposed development shall be issued if the Division 

representative finds that the application meets all the requirements 

of this Subchapter. Construction shall be completed within 120 

days of the issuance of the general permit or the authorization 

shall expire and it shall be necessary to re-examine the proposed 

development to determine if the general permit may be reissued. 

(d)  Any modification or addition to the permitted project shall 

require prior approval from the Division of Coastal Management. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2007; August 1, 1998; January 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1203 PERMIT FEE 

The applicant shall pay a permit fee of two hundred dollars 

($200.00) by check or money order payable to the Department. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b); 

113A-118.1; 113A-119; 113-119.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2006; August 1, 2000; March 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1204 GENERAL CONDITIONS 

(a)  Piers and docking facilities authorized by the general permit 

set forth in this Section shall be for the exclusive use of the land 

owner or occupant and shall not be leased, rented, or used for any 

commercial purpose. Piers and docking facilities shall provide 

docking space for no more than two boats. Docking facilities 

providing docking space for more than two boats shall be 

reviewed through the major permitting process due to their greater 

potential for adverse impacts and, therefore, are not authorized by 

this general permit, excluding the exceptions described in Rule 

.1205 of this Section. 

(b)  Individuals shall allow representatives of the Department of 

Environmental Quality to make inspections at any time in order 

to ensure that the activity being performed under the authority of 

the general permit set forth in this Section is in accordance with 

the terms and conditions prescribed herein. 
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(c)  There shall be no interference with navigation or use of the 

waters by the public through the existence of piers and docking 

facilities. 

(d)  The permit set forth in this Section shall not be applicable to 

proposed construction where the Department determines that the 

proposed activity will endanger adjoining properties or 

significantly affect historic, cultural, scenic, conservation or 

recreation values, identified in G.S. 113A-102 and G.S. 113A-

113(b)(4). 

(e)  The permit set forth in this Section does not eliminate the need 

to obtain any other required State, local, or federal authorization. 

(f)  Development carried out under the permit set forth in this 

Section shall be consistent with all State, federal, local 

requirements, and local land use plans current at the time of 

authorization. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. May 19, 1994; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; August 1, 1998; July 

1, 1994; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07H .1205 SPECIFIC CONDITIONS 

(a)  Piers and docking facilities may extend or be located up to a 

maximum of 400 feet waterward from the normal high water line 

or the normal water level, whichever is applicable. 

(b)  Piers and docking facilities shall not extend beyond the 

established pier length along the same shoreline for similar use. 

This restriction shall not apply to piers and docking facilities 100 

feet or less in length unless necessary to avoid interference with 

navigation or other uses of the waters by the public such as 

blocking established navigation routes or interfering with access 

to adjoining properties as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. The length of piers and docking facilities shall be 

measured from the waterward edge of any wetlands that border 

the water body. 

(c)  Piers and docking facilities longer than 200 feet shall be 

permitted only if the proposed length gives access to deeper water 

at a rate of at least one foot at each 100 foot increment of pier 

length longer than 200 feet, or if the additional length is necessary 

to span some obstruction to navigation. Measurements to 

determine pier and docking facility lengths shall be made from the 

waterward edge of any coastal wetland vegetation that borders the 

water body. 

(d)  Piers shall be no wider than six feet and shall be elevated at 

least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as measured 

from the bottom of the decking. 

(e)  The total square footage of shaded impact for docks and 

mooring facilities (excluding the pier) allowed shall be 8 square 

feet per linear foot of shoreline with a maximum of 800 square 

feet. In calculating the shaded impact, uncovered open water slips 

shall not be counted in the total. 

(f)  The maximum size of any individual component of the 

docking facility authorized by this general permit shall not exceed 

400 square feet. 

(g)  Docking facilities shall not be constructed in a designated 

Primary Nursery Area with less than two feet of water at normal 

low water level or normal water level under the general permit set 

forth in this Section without prior approval from the Division of 

Marine Fisheries or the Wildlife Resources Commission. 

(h)  Piers and docking facilities located over shellfish beds or 

submerged aquatic vegetation as defined by the Marine Fisheries 

Commission may be constructed without prior consultation from 

the Division of Marine Fisheries or the Wildlife Resources 

Commission if the following two conditions are met: 

(1) Water depth at the docking facility location is 

equal to or greater than two feet of water at 

normal low water level or normal water level; 

and 

(2) The pier and docking facility is located to 

minimize the area of submerged aquatic 

vegetation or shellfish beds under the structure 

as determined by the Division of Coastal 

Management. 

(i)  Floating piers and floating docking facilities located in 

Primary Nursery Areas, over shellfish beds, or over submerged 

aquatic vegetation shall be allowed if the water depth between the 

bottom of the proposed structure and the substrate is at least 18 

inches at normal low water level or normal water level. 

(j)  Docking facilities shall have no more than six feet of any 

dimension extending over coastal wetlands and shall be elevated 

at least three feet above any coastal wetland substrate as measured 

from the bottom of the decking. 

(k)  The width requirements established in Paragraph (d) of this 

Rule shall not apply to pier structures in existence on or before 

July 1, 2001 when structural modifications are needed to prevent 

or minimize storm damage. In these cases, pilings and cross 

bracing may be used to provide structural support as long as they 

do not extend more than two feet on either side of the principal 

structure. These modifications shall not be used to expand the 

floor decking of platforms and piers. 

(l)  Boathouses shall not exceed a combined total of 400 square 

feet and shall have sides extending no further than one-half the 

height of the walls as measured in a downward direction from the 

top wall plate or header and only covering the top half of the walls. 

Measurements of square footage shall be taken of the greatest 

exterior dimensions. Boathouses shall not be allowed on lots with 

less than 75 linear feet of shoreline. 

(m)  The area enclosed by a boat lift shall not exceed 400 square 

feet. 

(n)  Piers and docking facilities shall be single story. They may be 

roofed but shall not allow second story use. 

(o)  Pier and docking facility alignments along federally 

maintained channels shall also meet Corps of Engineers 

regulations for construction pursuant to Section 10 of the Rivers 

and Harbors Act of 1899 (33 U.S.C. 403). 

(p)  Piers and docking facilities shall in no case extend more than 

1/4 the width of a natural water body, human-made canal, or 

basin. Measurements to determine widths of the water body, 

human-made canals, or basins shall be made from the waterward 

edge of any coastal wetland vegetation which borders the water 

body. The 1/4 length limitation shall not apply when the proposed 

pier and docking facility is located between longer structures 

within 200 feet of the applicant's property. However, the proposed 
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pier and docking facility shall not be longer than the pier head line 

established by the adjacent piers and docking facilities nor longer 

than 1/3 the width of the water body. 

(q)  Piers and docking facilities shall not interfere with the access 

to any riparian property, and shall have a minimum setback of 15 

feet between any part of the pier and docking facility and the 

adjacent property lines extended into the water at the points that 

they intersect the shoreline. The minimum setbacks provided in 

this Paragraph may be waived by the written agreement of the 

adjacent riparian owner(s), or when two adjoining riparian owners 

are co-applicants. Should the adjacent property be sold before 

construction of the pier commences, the applicant shall obtain a 

written agreement with the new owner waiving the minimum 

setback and submit it to the Division of Coastal Management prior 

to initiating any development of the pier or docking facility. The 

line of division of areas of riparian access shall be established by 

drawing a line along the channel or deep water in front of the 

property, then drawing a line perpendicular to the line of the 

channel so that it intersects with the shore at the point the upland 

property line meets the water's edge. Application of this Rule may 

be aided by reference to the diagram in Paragraph (t) of this Rule 

illustrating the Rule as applied to various shoreline 

configurations. Copies of the diagram may be obtained from the 

Division of Coastal Management website at 

http://www.nccoastalmanagement.net.When shoreline 

configuration is such that a perpendicular alignment cannot be 

achieved, the pier or docking facility shall be aligned to meet the 

intent of this Rule to the maximum extent practicable. 

(r)  Piers and docking facilities shall provide docking space for no 

more than two boats, as defined in 15A NCAC 07M .0602(a), 

except when stored on a platform that has already been accounted 

for within the shading impacts condition of this general permit. 

Boats stored on floating or fixed platforms shall not count as 

docking spaces. 

(s)  Applicants for authorization to construct a pier or docking 

facility shall provide notice of the permit application to the owner 

of any part of a shellfish franchise or lease over which the 

proposed pier or docking facility would extend. The applicant 

shall allow the lease holder the opportunity to mark a navigation 

route from the pier to the edge of the lease. 

(t)  The diagram shown below illustrates various shoreline 

configurations:

 
 

(u)  Shared piers or docking facilities shall be allowed, provided 

that in addition to complying with Paragraphs (a) through (t) of 

this Rule the following shall also apply: 

(1) The shared pier or docking facility shall be 

confined to two adjacent riparian property 

owners and the landward point of origination of 

the structure shall overlap the shared property 

line. 

(2) Shared piers and docking facilities shall be 

designed to provide docking space for no more 

than four boats. 

(3) The total square footage of shaded impact for 

docks and mooring facilities shall be calculated 

using Paragraph (e) of this Rule and in addition 

shall allow for combined shoreline of both 

properties. 

(4) The property owners of the shared pier shall not 

be required to obtain a 15-foot waiver from 

each other as described in Paragraph (q) of this 

Rule as is applies to the shared riparian line for 

any work associated with the shared pier, 

provided that the title owners of both properties 
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have executed a shared pier agreement that has 

become a part of the permit file. 

(5) The construction of a second access pier or 

docking facility not associated with the shared 

pier shall not be authorized under the general 

permit set forth in this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107(a); 113A-107(b); 

113A-113(b); 113A-118.1; 113A-124; 

Eff. March 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; 

RRC Objection due to ambiguity Eff. March 18, 1993; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 23, 1993; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 20, 2001; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2014; July 1, 2009; April 1, 2003; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1105 APPLICATION PROCEDURES 

Authorization to initiate development covered by the general 

permit shall comply with the procedures outlined in each permit. 

The procedures shall be established to explain in detail the 

application process, notification requirements, and permit fees.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 113-

229(c2); 

Eff. September 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1106 PERMIT CONDITIONS 

Each general permit shall have a set of general and specific 

conditions. Additionally, the Division of Coastal Management 

may add conditions to each instrument of authorization if 

necessary to protect the public interest. The Division of Coastal 

Management may, on a case-by-case basis, override the general 

permit and require an individual application and review if this 

individual review is deemed to be in the public interest. Provisions 

for individual review by State agencies of requests for general 

permit authorization may be made for each category if this review 

is deemed necessary to protect coastal resources or other aspects 

of public interest. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 113-

229(c2); 113-229(e); 113A-120(b); 

Eff. September 1, 1983; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1107 PERMIT COMPLIANCE 

All development authorized through the general permit must be 

done in compliance with all conditions listed on the permit. 

Development undertaken without a Coastal Area Management 

Act or Dredge and Fill permit or in violation of permit conditions 

or failure to comply with operational permit conditions shall be a 

violation subject to the penalties set out in G.S. 113A-126 or G.S. 

113-229. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-118.1; 113-

229(c2); 

Eff. September 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .1301 REQUESTING THE 

DEVELOPMENT LINE 

(a)  Any local government, group of local governments involved 

in a regional beach fill project, or qualified owner's association 

with territorial jurisdiction over an area that is subject to ocean 

hazard area setbacks pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0305 may 

petition the Coastal Resources Commission for a development 

line for the purpose of siting oceanfront development in 

accordance with the provisions of this Section. A "qualified 

owner's association" is an owner's association, as defined in G.S. 

47F-1-103(3), that has authority to approve the locations of 

structures on lots within the territorial jurisdiction of the 

association and has jurisdiction over at least one mile of ocean 

shoreline. 

(b)  A development line request shall apply to the entire large-

scale project area as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305(a)(7) and, 

at the petitioner's request, may be extended to include the entire 

oceanfront jurisdiction or legal boundary of the petitioner. 

(c)  In determining where to position a requested development 

line, the petitioner shall use an adjacent neighbor sight-line 

approach, resulting in an average line of structures. In areas where 

the seaward edge of existing development is not linear, the 

petitioner may determine an average line of construction on a 

case-by-case basis. In no case shall a development line be 

established seaward of the most seaward structure within the 

petitioner's oceanfront jurisdiction. 

(d)  The following types of development shall be permitted 

seaward of the development line if all other provisions of this 

Subchapter and other State and local regulations are met: 

(1) campsites; 

(2) beach accessways consistent with 15A NCAC 

07H .0308(c); 

(3) unenclosed, uninhabitable gazebos with a 

footprint of 200 square feet or less; 

(4) uninhabitable, single-story storage sheds with a 

foundation or floor consisting of wood, clay, 

packed sand or gravel, and a footprint of 200 

square feet or less; 

(5) temporary amusement stands, consistent with 

15A NCAC 07H .1900; and 

(6) sand fences consistent with 15A NCAC 07H 

.0311. 

In all cases, this development shall be permitted only if it is 

landward of the vegetation line, measurement line, or static 

vegetation line, whichever is applicable; involves no alteration or 

removal of primary or frontal dunes that would compromise the 

integrity of the dune as a protective landform or the dune 

vegetation; has overwalks to protect any existing dunes; is not 

essential to the continued existence or use of an associated 

principal development, such as septic systems and utilities; and is 

not required to satisfy minimum requirements of local zoning, 

subdivision, and health regulations. 

(e)  An existing structure that is oceanward of an approved 

development line may remain in place until damaged greater than 

50 percent in accordance with Rule .0210 of this Subchapter. At 

that time it may only be replaced landward of the development 
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line and shall meet the applicable ocean hazard setback 

requirements as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0306(a). 

(f)  A request for a development line or amendment shall be made 

in writing by the petitioner and submitted to the CRC by sending 

the written request to the Director of the Division of Coastal 

Management. A complete request shall include the following: 

(1) A detailed survey of the development line using 

on-ground observation and survey or aerial 

imagery along the oceanfront jurisdiction or 

legal boundary, including; 

(A) The development line, static 

vegetation line, mean high water line, 

and any other information necessary 

for a review of the petitioner's 

proposed development line, such as a 

pre-nourishment project mean high 

water line, local ordinances, or 

easements; and 

(B) Surveyed development line spatial 

data in a geographic information 

systems (GIS) format referencing 

North Carolina State Plane North 

American Datum 83 US Survey Foot, 

to include Federal Geographic Data 

Committee (FGDC) compliant 

metadata; 

(2) All local regulations associated with the 

development line; 

(3) A record of local adoption of the development 

line by the petitioner; and 

(4) Documentation of incorporation of a 

development line into local ordinances or rules 

and regulations of an owner's association. 

(g)  Once a development line is approved by the Coastal 

Resources Commission, only the petitioner may request a change 

or reestablishment of the position of the development line. 

(h)  A development line request shall be submitted to the Director 

of the Division of Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, 

Morehead City, NC 28557. Written acknowledgement of the 

receipt of a completed development line request, including 

notification of the date of the meeting at which the request will be 

considered by the Coastal Resources Commission, shall be 

provided to the petitioner by the Division of Coastal Management. 

(i)  The Coastal Resources Commission shall consider a 

development line request no later than the second scheduled 

meeting following the date of receipt of a complete request by the 

Division of Coastal Management, unless the petitioner and the 

Division of Coastal Management agree upon a later date. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-107; 113A-113(b)(6); 

113A-124; 

Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. September 1, 2021; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0207 STRUCTURAL ACCESSWAYS 

OVER FRONTAL DUNES EXEMPTED 

(a)  The North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission exempts 

from the CAMA permit requirement all structural pedestrian 

accessways, including beach matting installed by a local, State, or 

federal government to provide public access over primary and 

frontal dunes when such accessways can be shown to meet the 

following criteria: 

(1) The accessway shall not exceed six feet in 

width and shall be for private residential or for 

public access to an ocean beach. This 

exemption does not apply to accessways for 

commercial use or for motor-powered vehicular 

use. 

(2) The accessway shall be constructed so as to 

make no alterations to the frontal dunes that are 

not necessary to construct the accessway. This 

means that the accessway shall be constructed 

over the frontal dune without any alteration of 

the dunes. In no case shall the dune be altered 

so as to diminish its capacity as a protective 

barrier against flooding and by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. Driving of pilings into the 

dune or a local, State, or federal government's 

use of beach matting for public access that is 

installed at grade and involves no excavation or 

fill shall not be considered alteration of a frontal 

dune for the purposes of this Rule. 

(3) The accessway shall conform with any 

applicable local or State building code 

standards. 

(4) Structural accessways may be constructed no 

more than six feet seaward of the waterward toe 

of the frontal or primary dune, provided they do 

not interfere with public trust rights and 

emergency access along the beach. Structural 

accessways are not restricted by the 

requirement to be landward of the First Line of 

Stable and Natural Vegetation as described in 

15A NCAC 07H .0309(a). 

(5) Damaged, non-functioning, or portions of 

accessways that become non-compliant with 

Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph shall be 

removed by the property owner. 

(b)  Before beginning any work under this exemption the CAMA 

local permit officer or Department of Environmental Quality 

representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow 

on-site review of the proposed accessway. Notification can be by 

telephone, in person, or in writing and must include: 

(1) name, address, and telephone number of 

landowner and location of work including 

county and nearest community; and 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed structural 

accessway. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021; 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

36:13 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER JANUARY 3, 2022 

1180 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0101 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE 

The principal purposes of the North Carolina Coastal Reserve and 

supporting programs are to: 

(1) preserve coastal ecosystems representative of 

the various biogeographic regions and 

typologies in North Carolina and to make them 

available for continuous future study of the 

processes, functions, and influences which 

shape and sustain the coastal ecosystems; 

(2) provide new information on coastal ecosystem 

processes to decisionmakers as a basis for the 

promotion of management of coastal resources; 

(3) provide a focal point for educational activities 

that increase the public awareness and 

understanding of coastal ecosystems, effects of 

humans on them, and the importance of coastal 

systems to the state and the Nation; 

(4) accommodate traditional uses, and other uses of 

the Reserve as long as they do not disturb the 

Reserve environment and are compatible with 

the research and educational activities within 

the Reserve components.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.2; 

143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0102 DEFINITIONS AS USED IN THIS 

SUBCHAPTER 

Definitions as used in this Subchapter are: 

(1) "Coastal Reserve" or "Reserve" means those 

coastal land and water areas, which include land 

and water portions of an estuary and adjacent 

transitional areas and uplands, set aside as a 

natural field laboratory and classroom to be 

maintained in their natural state to provide for 

long-term opportunities for research, education 

and compatible traditional uses and enjoyment 

of natural and scenic beauty. The Coastal 

Reserve includes the North Carolina National 

Estuarine Research Reserve. Coastal Reserve 

components are identified in 15A NCAC 07O 

.0105. 

(2) "Estuary" means that part of a river or stream or 

body of water having unimpaired connection 

with the open sea, where sea water is 

measurably diluted with fresh water derived 

from land drainage. 

(3) "Traditional uses" means public trust uses as 

defined in G.S. 1-45.1, including fishing, 

hunting, navigation, and recreation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.2; 

143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0103 RESPONSIBILITIES: DUTIES 

OF THE COASTAL RESERVE PROGRAM 

The Coastal Reserve Program of the Division of Coastal 

Management shall be responsible for managing and protecting the 

North Carolina Coastal Reserve; promoting and coordinating 

research and educational programs at the components while 

allowing for compatible traditional uses; maintaining a 

management plan for the Reserve; maintaining cooperative 

agreements with scientific, educational, and resource 

management agencies and private citizens that will assist in the 

management of the Reserve; and providing new information on 

coastal processes to coastal management decisionmakers. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.1-3; 

143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0104 STATE AND LOCAL COASTAL 

RESERVE ADVISORY COMMITTEES 

Advisory committees shall be established for each Reserve 

component and shall advise Reserve staff regarding program 

activities and component management. Members of the 

committees shall include researchers, educators, managers, 

partner agencies and organizations, and citizens that use or are 

affected by the Reserve and its components. The committees shall 

be appointed by the Secretary of the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.2; 

143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; April 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0105 RESERVE COMPONENTS 

(a)  The North Carolina Coastal Reserve includes the following 

components: 

(1) Zeke's Island; 

(2) Rachel Carson; 

(3) Currituck Banks; 

(4) Masonboro Island; 

(5) Permuda Island; 

(6) Buxton Woods; 

(7) Bald Head Woods; 

(8) Kitty Hawk Woods; 

(9) Bird Island; and 

(10) Emily and Richardson Preyer Buckridge. 

The North Carolina National Estuarine Research Reserve includes 

components in Subparagraphs (a)(1) - (4) of this Rule. 

(b)  Detailed boundary maps for each component are maintained 

and available for inspection at the Division of Coastal 

Management, 400 Commerce Avenue, Morehead City NC 28557. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.2; 

113A-129.3; 143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1991; 

April 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. August 19, 2017; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0201 MANAGEMENT PLAN 

The Division of Coastal Management shall prepare a management 

plan for the Reserve. The management plan shall contain policies 

for research, education, natural resource management, and 

traditional uses at each component and can be found at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/coastal-management/nc-

coastal-reserve/about-reserve/management-plans. The Secretary 

of the Department of Environmental Quality shall approve the 

management plan and its revisions. The Division of Coastal 

Management shall seek input from the local advisory committees, 

the Coastal Resources Commission, and the public on revisions to 

the management plan. The Division of Coastal Management shall 

monitor and manage Reserve components and report to the 

Secretary violations of the approved plan and any other situations 

that may be harmful to the natural resources of the Reserve. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113A-129.2; 

113A-129.3; 143-341; 143-342; 143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1990; April 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0202 RESERVE USE 

REQUIREMENTS 

The following use requirements shall apply to the lands and 

waters within the boundaries of the components of the Reserve: 

(1) The natural character of the Reserve shall be 

maintained. 

(2) Traditional uses within each component shall 

be allowed to continue as long as the activities 

are consistent with 15A NCAC 07O .0101(4). 

Incompatible traditional uses are prohibited and 

shall include: 

(a) fishing, hunting, or trapping activities 

not allowed by federal, state, and local 

rules; 

(b) target shooting; and 

(c) mechanical clam dredging.  

(3) Disturbing a research or natural resource 

monitoring project or research equipment in 

place at the Reserve that is authorized by the 

Division of Coastal Management is prohibited. 

(4) Camping or any form of habitation on the 

uplands or wetlands of the Reserve is prohibited 

except on the uplands at the Masonboro Island 

Reserve, where camping is allowed for no more 

than two consecutive nights. 

(5) Fires are prohibited except at the Masonboro 

Island Reserve on sand at least 15 feet from 

vegetation. 

(6) Disturbing or removing any live animals, 

except those allowed by local or state hunting, 

trapping, and fishing rules as they apply to the 

Reserve, or vegetation, fungi, or cultural 

resources within the Reserve unless such action 

is part of a research or educational project 

authorized by the Division of Coastal 

Management is prohibited. 

(7) Persons wishing to engage in scientific research 

and monitoring, or collection of natural and 

cultural materials for scientific purposes within 

the Reserve shall secure written authorization 

from the Division of Coastal Management prior 

to beginning said activity. Written 

authorization does not eliminate the need to 

obtain any other federal, state, or local 

authorization, nor to abide by regulations 

adopted by any federal, state, or local agency. 

Application for authorization shall be made by 

contacting Reserve staff at the Division of 

Coastal Management. 

(8) Producing noise disruptive to local wildlife or 

the aesthetic enjoyment of the Reserve as a 

natural area is prohibited. 

(9) Conducting or engaging in acts or uses which 

are detrimental to the maintenance of the 

Reserve in its natural condition is prohibited 

including, disturbances of the soil, mining, 

commercial or industrial uses, timber 

harvesting, ditching and draining, and 

deposition of waste materials. 

(10) The following requirements pertain to littering, 

dumping, deposition, and pollution: 

(a) Leaving any personal property 

unattended within the boundaries of 

any Reserve component longer than 

24 hours is prohibited, at which point 

it shall be considered litter in 

accordance with G.S. 14-399 and 

subject to removal at the owner's 

expense. Owner may also be subject to 

prosecution. 

(b) Abandoning or allowing to be 

abandoned any vessels of any kind 

within the boundaries of any Reserve 

component is prohibited. Vessels not 

removed within 30 days shall be 

considered litter in accordance with 

G.S. 14-399 and subject to removal at 

the owner's expense. Owner may also 

be subject to prosecution. 

(c) Disposing of any litter, as described in 

G.S. 14-399, within the boundaries of 

any Reserve component is prohibited. 

(d) Dumping, depositing, placing, or 

allowing to be abandoned any autos, 

appliances, trash, debris, garbage, 

shell, or discarded material(s) of any 
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kind within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component is prohibited. 

(e) Conducting or engaging in activities 

that pollute any land, wetland, stream, 

creek, or other body of water within 

the boundaries of any Reserve 

component is prohibited, in 

accordance with G.S. 75A-10, 76-40. 

(11) The following requirements pertain to vehicles 

and parking: 

(a) Motorized vehicles as defined in G.S. 

20-4.01(23) are prohibited within the 

boundaries of any Reserve component 

while not engaged in a Reserve-based 

activity, Reserve business, or an 

activity authorized by the Division of 

Coastal Management. 

(b) Motorized vehicles are prohibited 

outside of designated corridors within 

the boundaries of Reserve components 

where vehicles are allowed for upland 

transportation according to the 

management plan. 

(c) Allowing a motorized vehicle to block 

traffic, gates, driveways, or 

emergency vehicle access is 

prohibited. 

(d) Parking a motorized vehicle within the 

boundaries of any Reserve component 

overnight, or allowing a motorized 

vehicle to remain anywhere within the 

boundaries of any Reserve component 

unattended or abandoned for longer 

than 12 hours is prohibited, except at 

the Currituck Banks Reserve parking 

lot where there is a 2 hour limit. 

(e) The Division or its agents may 

immobilize or tow any motorized 

vehicle that is in violation of this Rule 

at the owner's expense. 

(f) Non-motorized vehicles are prohibited 

where the use of the vehicle will 

damage natural resources and on 

pedestrian trails not designated for this 

use.  

(12) The Division staff and its authorized agents are 

exempt from this Rule when engaged in 

management activities, such as incorporation of 

natural materials, beneficial use of dredged 

materials, or other engineering practices that 

protect, restore, or enhance the natural character 

of the Reserve. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113-264; 113A-

129.2; 143B-10; 

Eff. July 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; December 1, 1991; April 1, 1988; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

15A NCAC 07O .0203 SPECIAL ACTIVITY 

AUTHORIZATION 

The following Items shall apply to special activity authorization 

within the boundaries of the components of the Reserve: 

(1) Written authorization is required for organized 

events, commercial activities, and other special 

activities or uses within the boundaries of any 

Reserve component not included in the primary 

uses of research, education, and compatible 

traditional uses. 

(2) A request for written authorization shall be 

made by contacting Reserve staff at the 

Division of Coastal Management. Written 

authorization does not eliminate the need to 

obtain any other federal, state, or local 

authorization, nor to abide by regulations 

adopted by any federal, state, or local agency. 

(3) A request for written authorization shall be 

made a minimum of 30 days prior to and up to 

one year in advance of the activity or use. The 

request shall include: 

(a) the name, address, and phone number 

of the applicant; 

(b) the name of the organization (if any);

  

(c) the name, address, and phone number 

of a contact person; 

(d) the date, time, duration, nature, and 

location of the proposed activity or 

use; 

(e) the estimated number of persons 

expected to participate; 

(f) the equipment to be used during the 

activity; and 

(g) other information necessary to allow 

for evaluation of an application. 

(4) The Reserve Manager or designee shall provide 

written authorization unless one or more of the 

following apply: 

(a) A prior request for a written 

authorization for a similar activity or 

use has been made and granted; and 

the activities or uses authorized by the 

written authorization do not allow 

multiple activities or uses of that 

location during the same timeframe; 

(b) The activity or use will threaten the 

health, safety, and welfare of persons 

using the Reserve; 

(c) The activity or use is of such a nature 

or duration that it cannot be conducted 

or performed in the location due to: 

(i) the potential for damage to 

the Reserve or facilities; 

(ii) interference with research or 

education programs, or site 

management activities of the 

Reserve; 
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(iii) disturbance of wildlife, 

habitats, or other natural 

features of the Reserve; or 

(iv) burden placed on public 

agencies by the activity; 

(d) The activity or use conflicts with the 

principal purposes of the Reserve as 

defined in 15A NCAC O70 .0101; or 

(e) The activity or use does not comply 

with the Reserve use requirements 

found in Rule .0202 of this 

Subchapter, dedicated nature preserve 

letters of allocation under G.S. 143B 

Article 2 Part 42 Nature Preserves Act, 

or would constitute a violation of other 

applicable law or regulation. 

(5) The written authorization may contain 

conditions consistent with protection and use of 

the Reserve for the purposes for which it is 

operated. 

(6) The authorized user shall not transfer or assign 

authorization, or grant any part of an authorized 

use, to any person not indicated on the written 

authorization request. 

(7) If a request is denied, the applicant shall be 

informed in writing, with the reason(s) for the 

denial. 

(8) Participants engaged in activities authorized 

under this Rule shall also be subject to the rules 

of this Subchapter.  

(9) A written authorization only authorizes uses or 

activities that conform to the terms contained in 

the authorization or in applicable federal, state, 

and local rules and laws. Violation of the terms 

and conditions of a written authorization, 

including engaging in any activities or uses not 

expressly authorized, shall result in revocation 

of the authorization by the Division of Coastal 

Management. Violations shall be subject to any 

other civil penalties prescribed by law. 

Violations may also be subject to criminal 

penalties. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113-3; 113-8; 113-264; 113A-

129.2; 113A-129.3; 143B-10; 

Eff. February 1, 2022. 

 

 

TITLE 20 - DEPARTMENT OF STATE TREASURER 

 

20 NCAC 01F .0102 CORRESPONDENCE 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143A-31; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 15, 1977; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 5, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

20 NCAC 01F .0111 PETITION FOR RULEMAKING 

(a)  All petitions requesting the adoption, amendment, or repeal 

of a rule shall be in writing and mailed to the attention of the 

Rulemaking Coordinator at the address specified in Rule 20 

NCAC 01A .0101. 

(b)  The petition for rulemaking shall: 

(1) contain the names and addresses of petitioners; 

(2) identify the agency, board, or commission to 

whom the petition is directed for consideration; 

and 

(3) for petitions to adopt or amend a rule, draft text 

of the proposed rule or amendment and a 

statement of the effect of the requested rule 

change. 

(c)  The petition may contain the following information: 

(1) the reason for the proposal; 

(2) anticipated cost factors; or 

(3) any additional data supporting the petition. 

(d)  If the State Treasurer is the appropriate rulemaking body to 

consider the petition, within 30 days of submission of the petition, 

the State Treasurer, or deputy pursuant to G.S. 147-75, shall 

render a final decision. If the decision is to deny the petition, the 

petitioner shall be notified in writing, stating the reasons for the 

denial. If the decision is to grant the petition, written notice of the 

decision shall be provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and 

rulemaking proceedings shall be initiated. 

(e)  If a board or commission within the Department of State 

Treasurer is the appropriate rulemaking body to consider the 

petition, the petition shall be forwarded to the chair of the board 

or commission. Within 120 days of submission of the petition, the 

board or commission shall render a final decision. If the decision 

is to deny the petition, the petitioner shall be notified by the board 

or commission in writing, stating the reasons for the denial. If the 

decision is to grant the petition, written notice of the decision shall 

be provided as set forth in G.S. 150B-20(c) and rulemaking 

proceedings shall be initiated. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-20; 

Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

20 NCAC 01F .0203 FORM OF REQUESTS 

20 NCAC 01F .0204 WHO MAKES RULING 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-17; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 15, 1977; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 5, 2016;  

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

20 NCAC 01F .0207 RULING PROCEDURES 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-17; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 15, 1977; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 5, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2021. 
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20 NCAC 01F .0208 DECLARATORY RULINGS 

(a)  All requests for declaratory rulings shall be in writing and 

mailed to the attention of the Rulemaking Coordinator at the 

address specified in Rule 20 NCAC 01A .0101. 

(b)  The request for declaratory ruling shall: 

(1) contain the name and address of the requestor; 

(2) identify the agency, board, or commission to 

whom the request is directed for consideration; 

(3) identify the statute, rule, or order to which the 

request relates; and 

(4) contain a statement of the manner in which the 

requestor is affected, or thinks that the requestor 

may be affected, by the statute, rule, or order 

and its application to the requestor. 

(c)  A decision to grant or deny a request for a declaratory ruling 

will be made by the State Treasurer, a deputy pursuant to G.S. 

147-75, or board or commission within 30 days of receipt. The 

requestor shall be notified in writing of a decision to grant or deny 

the request. 

(d)  A request for declaratory ruling shall be denied by the State 

Treasurer, deputy, or appropriate board or commission if: 

(1) the request does not meet the requirements set 

forth in this Rule; 

(2) a declaratory ruling has previously been issued 

on same or similar facts; 

(3) a controlling decision has already been issued 

on same or similar facts in a contested case; 

(4) the facts underlying the request were 

considered at the time of adoption of the rule; 

or 

(5) the subject matter of the request is involved in 

pending litigation. 

(e)  If the request is granted, the State Treasurer, deputy, or 

appropriate board or commission shall issue a written ruling 

within 45 days of the decision to grant the request. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 150B-4; 

Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 25 - OFFICE OF STATE HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

25 NCAC 01C .0405 TEMPORARY APPOINTMENT 

(a)  A temporary appointment is an appointment to fill a 

workforce need for a limited period of time. Temporary 

employees may not be used to permanently expand the workforce 

beyond authorized levels. Temporary appointments shall not 

exceed 11 consecutive months, subject to the following 

exemptions: 

(1) Full-time students, defined as those 

undergraduate students taking at least 12 credit 

hours or graduate students taking at least 9 

credit hours; 

(2) Retired employees, defined as those individuals 

drawing a retirement income or Social Security 

benefits and having signed a statement that they 

are not available for, nor seeking, permanent 

employment;  

(3) Inmates that are on a work-release program; 

(4) Interns, defined as those students who, 

regardless of the number of credit hours 

enrolled, work to gain occupational experience 

for a period of time not to exceed three months; 

and 

(5) Externs, defined as those students who, 

regardless of the number of credit hours 

enrolled, are employed as part of a written 

agreement between the State and an academic 

institution through which the student is paid and 

earns course credit. 

(b)  Employees with a temporary appointment shall not earn or 

accrue leave or receive total State service credit, retirement credit, 

severance pay, or priority reemployment consideration. 

(c)  This Rule applies to all temporary employees employed by 

the State. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4(5); 126-4(6); 126-4(7a); 

126-4(19); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; November 1, 1991; December 1, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2021. 

 

25 NCAC 01C .0407 TEMPORARY PART-TIME 

APPOINTMENT 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 126-4; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1995; November 1, 1991; December 1, 

1978; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Repealed Eff. December 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission January 20, 2022 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 January 20, 2022 March 17, 2022 
 February 17, 2022 April 21, 2022 

 

 
 

AGENDA 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

Thursday, January 20, 2022, 9:00 A.M. 
1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

 
I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Soil and Water Conservation Commission - 02 NCAC 59A .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0201, .0202, .0203, 

.0204, .0301, .0302 (May) 
B. Environmental Management Commission - 15A NCAC 02L .0202 (May) 
C. Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors – 21 NCAC 18B .0308 (Liebman) 
D. Pharmacy, Board of - 21 NCAC 46 .1417, .1816 (May) 
E. Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors – 21 NCAC 50 .0415 (Liebman) 

IV. Review of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between November 23, 2021 through December 20, 2021 

• DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (May) 

• Private Protective Services Board (May) 

• Marine Fisheries Commission 15A NCAC 03 (May) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (Liebman) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Liebman) 

• Marine Fisheries Commission 15A NCAC 18A (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC 
Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review 

VII. Review of the 2022 State Medical Facilities Plan (Liebman) 

VIII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: February 17, 2022  
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

November 23, 2021 through December 20, 2021 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and 
review process (.0200); exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria 
and standards for nursing facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive 
care services (.1300), neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care 
facilities (.1500), cardiac catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery 
services and heart-lung bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900), 
home health services (.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200), 
computed tomography equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance 
abuse/chemical dependency treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner 
(.2700), rehabilitation services (.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation 
services (.3000), major medical equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive 
care services (.3400), oncology treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner 
(.3700), acute care beds (.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities 
(.3900), and hospice inpatient facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1703 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Reporting Requirements 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0110 

Experience Requirements for a Polygraph License 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0501 

Training Requirements for Armed Security Guards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0807 

Fees for Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0903 

Accreditation Standards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 3I are general and miscellaneous rules. 

Ocean Fishing Piers 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03I .0108 

Replacement Costs of Marine and Estuarine Resources - Fish 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03I .0115 

User Conflict Resolution 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03I .0122 
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The rules in Subchapter 3J concern the use of nets in general (.0100) and in specific areas (.0200); the use of pots, 
dredges, and other fishing devices (.0300); fishing gear (.0400); and pound nets (.0500). 

Gill Nets, Seines, Identification, Restrictions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0103 

Trawl Nets 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0104 

Channel Nets 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0106 

Fyke or Hoop Nets 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0111 

Atlantic Ocean 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0202 

New River 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0208 

Fishing Gear 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0401 

Fishing Gear Restrictions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03J .0402 

The rules in Subchapter 3L concern shrimp (.0100); crabs (.0200); and lobsters (.0300). 

Horseshoe Crabs 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03L .0207 

Repacking of Foreign Crab Meat Prohibited 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 03L .0210 

American Lobster (Northern Lobster) 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03L .0301 

Spiny Lobster 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03L .0302 

The rules in Subchapter 3M cover harvesting of finfish including general rules (.0100); striped bass (.0200); mackerel 
(.0300); menhaden and Atlantic herring (.0400); and other finfish (.0500). 

Spanish and King Mackerel 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 03M .0301 

Purse Gill Net Prohibited 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03M .0302 

Bluefish 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 03M .0511 

Cobia 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 03M .0516 

Shad 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03M .0519 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7H are the state guidelines for areas of environmental concern (AECs) including introduction 
and general comments (.0100); the estuarine system (.0200); ocean hazard areas (.0300); public water supplies (.0400); 
natural and cultural resource areas (.0500); development standards (.0600); general permits for construction or 
maintenance of bulkheads and the placement of riprap for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.1100); piers, docks and boat houses in estuarine and public trust waters (.1200); general permit to construct boat 
ramps along estuarine and public trust shorelines and into estuarine and public trust waters (.1300); groins in estuarine 
and public trust waters (.1400); excavation within or connecting to existing canals, channels, basins, or ditches in 
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estuarine waters, public trust waters, and estuarine shoreline AECs (.1500); aerial and subaqueous utility lines with 
attendant structures in coastal wetlands, estuarine waters, public trust waters and estuarine shorelines (.1600); 
emergency work requiring a CAMA or a dredge and fill permit (.1700); beach bulldozing landward of the mean high-
water mark in the ocean hazard AEC (.1800); temporary structures within the estuarine and ocean hazard AECs (.1900); 
authorizing minor modifications and repair to existing pier/mooring facilities in estuarine and public trust waters and 
ocean hazard areas (.2000); construction of sheetpile sill for shoreline protection in estuarine and public trust waters 
(.2100); construction of freestanding moorings in established waters and public trust areas (.2200); replacement of 
existing bridges and culverts in estuarine waters, estuarine shorelines, public trust areas and coastal wetlands (.2300); 
placement of riprap for wetland protection in estuarine and public trust waters (.2400); replacement of structures; the 
reconstruction of primary or frontal dune systems; and the maintenance excavation of existing canals, basins, channels, 
or ditches, damaged, destroyed, or filled in by hurricanes or tropical storms (.2500); construction of wetland, stream and 
buffer mitigation sites by the North Carolina Ecosystem Enhancement Program or the North Carolina Wetlands 
Restoration Program (.2600); and the construction of riprap sills for wetland enhancement in estuarine and public trust 
waters (.2700).  

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1101 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1102 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1103 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1104 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1105 

Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1801 

Approval Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1802 

Permit Fee 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1803 

General Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1804 

Specific Conditions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07H .1805 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10B are hunting and trapping rules and cover general hunting and wildlife provisions (.0100), 
hunting specific animals (.0200), trapping (.0300), and tagging furs (.0400). 

Importation of Gray Foxes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0102 

Shining Lights in Deer Areas 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0115 

Wild Birds Defined 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0121 

Prohibited Hunting on State Fish Hatcheries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0122 

Importation of Animal Parts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0124 

Release of Mute Swans 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0125 

Bear  15A NCAC 10B .0202 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Quail 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0208 

Wild Turkey 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0209 

Ruffed Goose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0210 

Pheasant (Nonnative Varieties) 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0211 

Groundhog 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0213 

Wildcat (Bobcat) 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0214 

Crows 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0215 

Coyote 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0219 

Nutria 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0220 

Striped Skunk 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0221 

Armadillo 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0222 

Elk 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0225 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10B .0301 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); 
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600). 

Identification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0201 

Fish Hatcheries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0212 

Snagging Fish 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0213 

Public Access for Anglers Only 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0217 

The rules in Subchapter 10H concern activities regulated by the Commission including controlled hunting preserves for 
domestically raised game birds (.0100), holding wildlife in captivity (.0300), commercial trout ponds (.0400), fish 
propagation (.0700), falconry (.0800), game bird propagators (.0900), taxidermy (.1000), furbearer propagation (.1100), 
controlled fox hunting preserves (.1200), reptiles and amphibians (.1300), wildlife captivity and rehabilitation (.1400), 
wildlife and alligator control agents (.1500). 

Controlled Rabbit Hunting Preserves 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 10H .1601 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D).  
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The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) 
and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants 
(.0600); depuration mechanical purification facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters 
(.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass 
gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities (.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies 
(.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and 
breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); 
public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day 
care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead 
poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules 
governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0134 

Applicability of Rules 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0136 

General Requirements for Operation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0137 

Supervision 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0138 

Facility Flooding 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0139 

Insect Control 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0144 

Rodent and Animal Control 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0145 

Water Supply 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0147 

Ice 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0148 

Plumbing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0149 

Toilets 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0151 

Solid Waste 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0152 

Person Hygiene 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0153 

Equipment and Utensil Construction 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0156 

Facility and Equipment Sanitation 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0157 

Equipment Storage 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0158 

Crustacea Cooking 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0161 

Cooked Crustacea Air-Cool 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0162 

Cooked Crustacea Picking 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0164 

Packing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0165 

Picked Crustacea Meat  15A NCAC 18A .0166 
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Readopt with Changes* 

Single-Service Containers 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0168 

Repacking 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0173 

Pasteurization Process 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0174 

Preparation of Crustacea Meat for Pasteurization 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0175 

Pasteurization of Crustacea Meat 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0176 

Labeling of Pasteurized Crustacea Meat 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0177 

Interfacility Pasteurization 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0178 

Embargo or Disposal of Cooked Crustacea or Crustacea Meat 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0181 

Bacteriological and Contamination Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0182 

Alternative Labeling 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0183 

Thermal Processing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0184 

Thermal Processing of Crustacea and Crustacea Meat 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0185 

Labeling of Thermally Processed Crustacea and Crustacea Meat 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0186 

Interfacility Thermal Processing Procedures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0187 

Monitoring Records 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .0191 

 

 
 

 


