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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE

This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.
Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6.

GENERAL

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice
a month and contains the following information
submitted for publication by a state agency:

(1)  temporary rules;

(2)  text of proposed rules;

(3)  text of permanent rules approved by the Rules
Review Commission;

(4)  emergency rules

(5)  Executive Orders of the Governor;

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney
General concerning changes in laws affecting
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by
G.S. 120-30.9H; and

(7)  other information the Codifier of Rules
determines to be helpful to the public.

COMPUTING TIME: In computing time in the schedule,
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register
is not included. The last day of the period so computed
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State
holiday, in which event the period runs until the
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or
State holiday.

FILING DEADLINES

ISSUE DATE: The Register is published on the first and
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for
employees mandated by the State Personnel
Commission. If the first or fifteenth of any month is a
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees,
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be
published on the day of that month after the first or
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for
State employees.

LAST DAY FOR FILING: The last day for filing for any
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees.

NOTICE OF TEXT

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of
the hearing is published.

END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is
published or until the date of any public hearings held
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer.

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW
COMMISSION: The Commission shall review a rule
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month
by the last day of the next month.



IN ADDITION

Notice of Public Hearing
Department of Administration

Notice is hereby given in accordance with N.C.G.S. 150B-21.2, that the Department of Administration will conduct a public comment
hearing on Rules 01 NCAC 05A.0112,01 NCAC 05B .0301,.0314, .0318, .0319, .0320, .0321, .1604. The Notice of Text was published
in N.C. Register Volume 36, Issue 10, pages 855 — 862. The public hearing information is as follows:

Public Hearing:

Date: Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Time: 9:00-11:00 a.m.

Location: Via Webex at Meeting link: https://ncgov.webex.com/meet/shanon.gerger Meeting number (access code): 1783 46
8640

Join by phone Tap to call in from a mobile device (attendees only) +1-415-655-0003 US Toll +1-904-900-2303 United States
Toll (Jacksonville)

All remaining information originally published in the N.C. Register remains the same. This updated information will be posted on the
Department’s website at https://ncadmin.nc.gov/about-doa/administrative-rules-review/proposed-rules-and-public-comment.
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PROPOSED RULES

Statutory reference: G.S. 150B-21.2.

Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules. The agency
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice,
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days.

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND
CONSUMER SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the

Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rule cited as 02 NCAC

38.0705.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Submit a written
request by email to Rule-Making Coordinator, Anna Hayworth,
at Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov.

Reason for Proposed Action: This proposed change simply adds
email as an option for a company to provide written notification
to another company that they will be disconnecting one of their
tanks and replacing it with one of theirs.

Comments may be submitted to: Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699, phone (984) 236-4509; email
rulesreview@ncagr.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

I

X No fiscal note required
CHAPTER 38 - CONSUMER STANDARDS

SECTION .0700 - STANDARDS FOR STORAGE,
HANDLING AND INSTALLATION OF LP GAS

02 NCAC 38.0705 NOTIFICATION FOR
DISCONNECTION OF SERVICE

(a) This Rule contains additional standards relating to the
requirements for disconnection of service contained in G.S. 119-
58(b).

(b) To "notify the former supplier before disconnecting the
former service and connecting the new service," as required by
G.S. 119-58(b), means that the new supplier shall provide the
former supplier with written notice containing the new supplier's
name, address and telephone number, the consumer's name and
address, and stating the date and time after which service is to be
disconnected. The notice may be sent by mail, overnight mail,
facsimile, e-mail or by hand-delivery, so long as it is received
prior to the disconnection of the former service.

Authority G.S. 119-55.

% % sk k ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and
G.S. 150B-21.34(c)(2)g. that the Board of Agriculture intends to
adopt the rule cited as 02 NCAC 52J .0105, readopt with
substantive changes the rules cited as 02 NCAC 52J .0101-.0104,
.0201-.0210, .0301-.0304, .0401-.0403, .0406-.0408, .0410-
0419, .0501, .0702-.0705, .0801-.0803, readopt without
substantive changes the rules cited as 02 NCAC 52J .0404, .0405,
.0701, .0901, .0902, and repeal through readoption the rule cited
as 02 NCAC 527 .0409.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022
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PROPOSED RULES

Public Hearing:

Date: January 5, 2022

Time: /:30 p.m.

Location: NC State Fairgrounds - Martin Building: 4381 Trinity
Road, Raleigh, NC 27607

Reason for Proposed Action: The Animal Welfare Act (AWA)
rules are undergoing the statute mandated review and revision
process. The AWA rule revisions reflect changes in the guidelines
and best practices for animal shelters, boarding kennels, pet
shops, and euthanasia technicians. Many of the proposed
revisions address the changes in these regulated industries. In
addition, the AWA statutes were most recently modified in 2013.
These proposed revisions address those changes so that the rules
will be consistent with the modified statutes.

Comments may be submitted to: Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-4509; email
rulesreview@ncagr.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

4 I

CHAPTER 52 — VETERINARY DIVISION
SUBCHAPTER 52J - ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
SECTION .0100 - RECORD KEEPING AND LICENSING

02 NCAC 52J .0101
SHELTERS, ETC.
Operators of all animal shelters, pet shops, public auctions, and
dealers shall maintain records on all dogs and cats showing the
following:

RECORDS; ANIMAL

) origin of animals (including names and
addresses of consignors) and date animals were
received;

2) description of animals including species,

estimated age, sex, breed; breed or breed type,
and color markings;

3) location of antmal animal, including complete
address and contact information, if not kept at
the licensed or registered facility;

4) disposition of animals including name and
address of person to whom animal is sold,
traded traded, transferred, or adopted and the
date and time of such transaction; name and
address of intermediary transporter if used; in
the event of death, the record shall show the
date, signs of illness, er and cause of death if
identified; if euthanized, the record shall show
date and type of euthanasia; and

6) record of veterinary care including
medications, treatments, procedures, and
immunizatien- Immunizations. and-date—time;
| i’ L iniial ;E lg" .
any—produet—or—procedure: The record shall

include: diagnosis(es), diagnostic testing and
results, date and time of administration or
procedure, description of medication and

initials of person administering any product,
medication or procedure. The description of the

medication shall include the name, strength or
concentration, dosage, and dosing regimen. The
dosage regimen shall include the frequency,
duration to include the number of dosages or
days to be given and the reason for the
administration; and

(6) all records shall be created and/or updated
within 48 hours of the occurrence of
procedures, including but not limited to intake,
change of location, medication or treatment
administration and/or disposition. The record

shall be accurate; creation of a misleading
record or deliberate or non-incidental

falsification of a record including medication
administration documentation during or after an
investigation or inspection shall be considered
a violation of this regulation.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0102
KENNELS
Operators of boarding kennels shall maintain records of all dogs
and cats showing the following:

@9)] name and address of owner or person
responsible for animal, the date of entry and
signature of the person leaving the animal; and
the date of release and signature and address of
individual to whom animal is released; released
and-the-date-of release;

RECORDS; BOARDING
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PROPOSED RULES

2) description of animal including breed; breed or
breed type, sex, age and color marking; and

toys, blankets, food and water utensils, and
bedding.

3) veterinary care provided while boarded, which 2) "Adequate" means a condition which, when
shall include date, times; times of met, does not jeopardize an animal's comfort,
administration, description of medication safety or health. Adequate veterinary care
@neluding name—and—desage) and initials of means provision of veterinary care sufficient to
person administering product or procedure. The address the relief of pain and/or suffering
description of the medication shall include the experienced by the animal and sufficient to
name, strength or concentration, dosage, and address the medical condition.
dosing regimen. The dosage regimen shall 3) "Behavioral-control  device" means any
include the frequency, duration to include the apparatus used to control a pet animal's
number of dosages or days to be given and the behavior.
reason for the administration; 3)(4) "Cage" means a primary enclosure which is

“4) all records shall be created and/or updated at the enclosed on all sides and-alse-en including the
time of the occurrence such as intake, top and bottom.
medication or treatment administration and/or %) "Compatible group" means all animals in the
release. The record shall be accurate; creation roup comingle peacefully without the
of a misleading record or deliberate or non- presence of aggressive, harassing, and/or
incidental falsification of a record including agitating  behaviors toward any other
medication administration during or after an member(s) of the group.
investigation or inspection shall be considered (6) "Common area(s)" means areas of the facility
a violation of this Rule; in which multiple animals may have access

5) an incident file shall be kept within each facility such as walkway(s), facility lobby(ies),
for animals sustaining injury or illness requiring hallway(s)., area(s) around primary enclosures
veterinary care; animal death; and/or or any and exercise areas, and other such similar areas.
animal escape. Each report must include date of (@A) "Disposition" means the adoption, death,
incident, pet's name, breed or breed cuthanasia, release, sale, trade, or transfer from
type/species, age, owner's name and contact a facility.
information, description of incident and course 8) "Enrichment" means providing objects or
of action; and activities, appropriate to the needs of the

(6) in the event of either an animal death or escape, species as well as the age, size, and condition of
the licensee must notify the Animal Welfare the animal, that stimulates the pet and promotes
Section within 48 hours. the pet's well-being.

) Exercise area means an enclosed space in which

Authority G.S. 194-24. an animal(s) is confined, and which is large

enough for species-appropriate activity such as
02 NCAC 52J.0103 INSPECTION OF RECORDS walking,  running, climbing, jumping,
All operators of animal shelters, pet shops, boarding kennels, socialization and/or play to occur.
public auctions, and persons operating as dealers shall make all “)(10) "Husbandry" means the practice of daily care
required records available to the direetor Director or his or her administered to animals.
authorized representative on request, during the business and an "Impervious to moisture" means a surface that
cleaning hours listed on the license applieation: application and/or prevents the absorption of fluids and that can be
during an inspection of the facility or an investigation. The thoroughly and repeatedly sanitized, will not
operator must be able to match each animal to its record upon retain odors, and from which fluids bead up and
request. Records shall be maintained for a period of one year after run off or can be removed without being
the animal is released: released from a boarding kennel or sold absorbed into the surface material.
from a pet store or public auction. Animal shelters shall maintain a2) "Infirm" means not physically or mentally
records for a period of three years after the disposition of the strong, especially through age or illness.
animal. &)(13) "Isolation" means the setting-apart-of an-animal
Authority G.S. 194-24; 194-25. thefacility forthe-sele-purpese-ofpreventing

the-spread-ef-disease- separation, for the period
02 NCAC 52J .0104 DEFINITIONS of communicability, of infected animals from
As used in this Subchapter: others in such place and under such conditions

(1) "Accessories" means any objects used in to prevent the direct or indirect transmission of
cleaning and sanitizing primary enclosures, the infectious agent from those infected to those
exercise areas, or objects to which an animal that are susceptible or that may spread the agent
may have access, including, but not limited to to others.
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PROPOSED RULES

(14) "Isolation area" means a location where animals
infected with disease may be placed to contain,
control, and limit the spread of the disease.
"License period" means July 1 through June 30.
"Long term care" means the housing of an
animal for a period of more than 30 consecutive
days.
an "Potable" means suitable for drinking.
)(18) "Properly cleaned" means the removal of
carcasses, debris, food waste, excrement, urine,
dirty or soiled accessories and e other organic
material with adequate frequency.
"Social interaction" means friendly physical
contact or play between animals of the same
species or with a person. Physical contact or
play with the caretaker during cage cleaning
and/or sanitation is not considered social
interaction.
Special provisions — additional procedures,
protocols, and/or equipment used when caring
for, housing and/or transporting animals with
special needs. Examples of animals with
"special needs" include but are not limited to
brachycephalic breeds, very young or old
animals, animals with a medical condition
infirm animals, and/or animals that are
compromised or debilitated.
€6)(21) "Suitable method of drainage" means drainage
that allows for the elimination of water and
waste products, prevents contamination of
animals, allows animals to remain dry, and
complies with applicable building codes and
local ordinances.
&H(22) "Supervision ef-animals" means at least one
person (at least 16 years of age) present, at all
times, able to constantly, directly view all
animals within the entirety of each enclosure or
commen exercise area.
"Surgical procedure" for the purposes of this
Subchapter means any invasive procedure

6)(15)
€H(16)

20)

(23)

02 NCAC 527 .0105
REGISTRATIONS

All operators of an animal shelter, pet shop, public auction,

LICENSES AND

dealers, and boarding kennels must have a valid
license/registration.
(@8] Licenses and registrations are not transferable.

2) In the event of a change of ownership or

management of a regulated facility, the facility
shall notify the director of AWS in writing

within 10 days of the change. Submission of a
new license or registration application and a
facility inspection by AWS is required in the
event of such a change.

3) In the event of a change of name, address,
phone, email, or point of contact for the facility,
the facility shall notify the director by the
Change Form located on the AWS website or
other written documentation within 10 days of
change.

“) Renewal applications for license or registration
renewal shall be submitted yearly to the AWS
office between April 1st and June 15th. Current
application forms are located on the AWS
website and may change yearly.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

SECTION .0200 - FACILITIES AND OPERATING
STANDARDS

02 NCAC 527 .0201 GENERAL

(a) Housing facilities for dogs and cats shall be structurally sound
and maintained in good repair to protect the animals from injury,
contain the animals and restrict the entrance of other animals and
people.

(b) All light fixtures and electrical outlets in animal areas shall be
safe and in compliance with the State Building Code. Electrical
appliances, light fixtures, electrical outlets, and electrical cords

shall be located or protected in such a way that animals do not
have access to them.

performed on an animal to include but not be
limited to: procedures to spay or neuter, any

procedure that invades a body cavity and/or
requires suturing or repairing of tissues; and/or
any treatment of injuries or disorders of the
body by incision, manipulation or alteration of
organs or tissues with the hands or with
instruments. For the purposes of this

(c) Facilities shall have reliable and safe electric power as
necessary to comply with the Animal Welfare Act.

(d) Suppl  food_and_bedd hall 1 i faciliti

provided—for—supplies—of perishable food. Storage of food and

bedding:

Subchapter, insertion of a microchip is not
considered to be a surgical procedure.
"Veterinarian" means a veterinarian who is
currently licensed by North Carolina and/or an
adjacent state. The license must be valid and be
in good standing with the respective state Board
of Veterinary Medicine.

(24)

Authority G.S. 194-24.

(@8] food and bedding shall be stored in cabinets
and/or sealed containers which adequately
protect such supplies against infestation or

contamination by vermin and insects;
2) all open bags of food and edible treats shall be

stored in airtight containers with lids;

A3) refrigeration shall be provided for supplies of
perishable food including opened cans of food;
4) clean bedding and laundry shall be: stored in
cabinets and/or sealed containers; stored

separately from soiled laundry and materials;
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and stored separately from general housing

evacuation of animals in the event of a natural or manmade

areas for animals; and

5) in areas housing animals being observed or
treated for contagious disease, bedding shall

disaster.
(s) For the purposes of G.S. 19A-23(5a), written standards for an
"approved foster care provider" shall include but not be limited

only be stored in sealed cabinets if that clean

to: the application process; sanitation protocols; provision of daily

laundry is dedicated solely for the use for those
specific animals.
(e) Provisions shall be made for the daily removal and disposal
of animal and food waste, soiled bedding and debris from the
housing facility in accordance with local ordinances, to assure
facility will be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner.
(f) Hot and cold running, potable water must be available.
Facilities such as washroom, basin or sink shall be provided to
maintain cleanliness among animal caretakers, animals, and
animal food and water receptacles.
(g) Each facility shall have the ability to confirm ambient
temperature- temperature, a functional room thermometer shall be
present in each separate area of indoor enclosures, common areas
and exercise areas.
(h) A separate five-foot perimeter fence is required if any animals
animal(s) has or have unsupervised access to an outdoor primary

observation of the animals; feeding and watering protocols;
provision and documentation of veterinary care; provision and

documentation of human and same-species daily interaction,
exercise, play and environmental enrichment for animals in long
term care; requirements for inspection by the shelter; and
compliance by the foster care provider with the NC Animal
Welfare Act and it rules issued pursuant thereto.

(t) For the purposes of G.S. 19A-23(5b), written standards for an
"approved rescue organization" shall include but not be limited to:
the application process; sanitation protocols; provision of daily

observation of the animals; feeding and watering protocols;
provision and documentation of veterinary care of the shelter's

animals; provision and documentation of human and same-
species daily interaction, exercise, play and environmental

enrichment for the shelter's animals in long term care at the
rescue; requirements for inspection by the shelter; and compliance

enclosure, common area, and/or ineladingunsupervised exercise

areas area. Supervision of animals is required for any animal(s
within any outdoor enclosure, common area, or exercise area
without a separate five-foot perimeter fence.

(i) An adequate drainage system must be provided for the hoeusing
facility.

(j) All areas of a facility are subject to review or inspection by
North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services employees during normal business hours (8:00 a.m.
through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday).

(k) All animals in a facility are subject to the requirements of the
Animal Welfare Act, regardless of ownership.

() A licensee or registrant shall comply with all federal, state and
local laws, rules and ordinances relating to or affecting the welfare
of dogs and cats in its facility.

(m) A licensee or registrant and all agents of the facility shall
cooperate fully and truthfully with NCDA&CS employees during
all phases of inspections, reviews and/or investigations.

(n) Neither an applicant for a license or registration nor a licensee
or registrant or any agent of a facility may interfere with, threaten,
abuse (including verbally abuse), or harass any inspector, or state
official, while such inspectors or officials are carrying out their
duties.

(m)(0) No dog or cat shall be in a window display except during
business hours and then only in compliance with standards set
forth in this Section.

(p) Battery operated or electrical behavioral control devices, such
as shock collars, shock prods, or electrical fences, as well as
pinch-collars and prong-collars, may only be used on an animal in
a boarding kennel with the specific written consent of the owner
of that animal.

(q) All facilities shall be equipped with an operational smoke
alarm and carbon monoxide alarm and shall have a means of fire
suppression, such as functional fire extinguishers or a sprinkler
system on the premises.

(r) All licensed and registered facilities must develop and
maintain a plan of action for the continuity of care and/or

by the rescue with the NC Animal Welfare Act and it rules issued
pursuant thereto.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0202 INDOOR FACILITIES
(a) Heating and cooling of indoor facilities:

[@))] indoor heusing facilities for dogs and cats shall
be adequately heated and cooled when
neeessary to protect the dogs and cats from cold
and exeessive heat and provide for their health
and eemfort: comfort;

2) the ambient temperature shall not be allowed to
fall below 50 degrees F. or exceed 85 degrees
E F:and

3) Special provisions shall be provided to any
animal that cannot maintain its normal body
temperature. These special provisions shall be
sufficient for the animal to maintain its normal
body temperature and shall be documented in
the animal's record.

(b) Ventilation of indoor facilities:

@ Indeer indoor housing facilities for dogs and
cats shall be adequately ventilated to provide
for the health and comfort of the animals at all
times- times; The the facilities shall be provided
with fresh air either by means of windows,
doors, vents er and/or air conditioning and shall
be ventilated so as to minimize drafts: drafts;

2 air vents and/or air filters shall be cleaned

and/or changed as often as necessary to

minimize buildup of debris, dust and biological
material and as often as necessary to prevent

inhibition or restriction of air flow; and
A3) Adr air flow shall be adequate sufficient to
minimize odors and moisture condensation.
(c) Indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall have adequate
sufficient illumination to permit routine inspections, maintenance,
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cleaning and housekeeping of the facility and observation of the
animals. [llumination shall provide regular diurnal lighting cycles
of either natural or artificial light, uniformly diffused throughout
the animal facilities.

(d) Interior building surfaces of indoor facilities with which
animals come in contact shall be constructed and maintained so
that they are impervious to moisture and can be readily sanitized.
(e) Drainage of indoor housing facility:

a A-suitable-method-oef drainage drainage shall be
provided to rapidly eliminate excess water from
an indoor housing faetity- facility;

2) H if closed drain systems are used, they shall be
equipped with traps and installed to prevent
odors and backup of sewage- sewage; and

3 TFhe the drainage system shall be-eenstrueted
with barriers sufficient to prevent protect the
animals from cross-contamination ameng
animals: with urine and fecal material from

animals housed in adjacent and/or nearby
enclosures and/or exercise areas.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0203 OUTDOOR FACILITIES

(a) In outdoor facilities that are subject to the Animal Welfare
Act, primary enelestres enclosures, common areas and walkways
with which an animal comes in-eentaet contact:

[@0)] shall have flooring or groundcover be
constructed of sealed concrete or other surfaces
impervious to meistare: moisture; and/or

2) may use Gravel gravel may—be—used for
groundcover so long as it is #f maintained at a
minimum depth of six inches and kept in a
sanitary manner.

(b) Exercise areas of outdoor facilities:

a shall have flooring or groundcover constructed
of sealed concrete or other surfaces impervious
to moisture; and/or

2) use gravel for groundcover so long as it is

)(d) Dogs and cats kept in eutdeers outdoor primary enclosures
shall be provided housing to allow them to remain dry and
comfortable during inclement weather.

[@))] Heusing housing shall be constructed of
material which is impervious to moisture and
which can be disinfeeted: cleaned and easily
sanitized in accordance with Rule .0207 of this
Section;

2) One one house shall be available for each
animal within each primary enclosure.
enclosure-exceptfora-motherand-its unweaned
offspring. The house(s) shall be of adequate
size for the animal housed in the enclosure. In
the case of a mother and her unweaned
offspring, one house of adequate size to
comfortably house the mother and all the
offspring together shall be provided;

3) housing structures in outdoor facilities must
contain clean, dry bedding or a heat source
when the temperature falls below 32 degrees F;

4) special provisions shall be provided to any
animal that cannot maintain its normal body
temperature when housed outside. These
special provisions shall be sufficient for the

animal to maintain its normal body temperature
and shall be documented in the animal's record.

If the animal cannot maintain its normal body
temperature even with special provisions, then
that animal may not be housed outside. No

infirm animal may be housed outdoors; and
Ia in addition to housing, the enclosure shall

provide protection from excessive sun and
inclement weather.
(e) Dogs and cats placed in outdoor exercise areas shall be
protected from inclement weather and excessive sun. This
protection shall be sufficient to protect all animals simultaneously
in the exercise area. If an animal cannot maintain its normal body

temperature in an outdoor exercise area, the animal may not be
placed in an outside exercise area.

&)

maintained at a minimum depth of six inches

and kept in a sanitary manner; and/or
[€)) artificial turf may be allowed so long as it is

(f) _ Outdoor common areas used for play, enrichment and

elimination shall be maintained in good repair and be cleaned and
sanitized as set forth in Rule .0207 of this Section to protect the

maintained in good repair, is replaced when
damaged, and is cleaned and sanitized in

accordance with Rule .0207 of this Section;
and/or
“4) may contain established grass so long as the

animal(s) do not have access to bare dirt and the

grass covered area(s) must be kept clean and

animals from injury and/or illness.
H(g) Animal owners shall be advised at the time of reservation

and admission at a boarding kennel if the animal will be kept in
outside facilities. This shall be documented in the animal's record.
fey(h) A-suitable-methodof drainage Drainage shall be previded:
provided so that water is rapidly drained from the primary
enclosures, common areas, exercise areas and walkways and so

sanitary. In the event of a contagious disease
outbreak, the sanitation, management and use
of the grass area shall be addressed in the
veterinarian's written protocol required by 02
NCAC 52 .0210(b) and (¢).
(c) Sand and organic materials such as mulch, pine straw, or other
similar material shall not be used as ground cover in primary
enclosures, common areas, exercise areas and/or walkways.

that the animal(s) does/do not have access to standing water.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0204 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES

(a) Primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed so
as to prevent contamination from waste and wastewater from
animals in other enclosures. All surfaces with which an animal
comes in contact shall be impervious to meisture: moisture
excluding the ground cover options of gravel and grass allowed
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for in Rule .0203 of this Section.

(b) For primary enclosures and exercise areas placed into service
on or after January 1, 2005, no wood shall be within the animal's
reach. For primary enclosures and exercise areas in use in a
licensed or registered facility prior to January 1, 2005, any
damaged wood must be replaced in a manner that does not permit
contact with wood by the animal.

)(c) Primary enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats
shall be structurally sound and maintained in good repair and in a
manner to prevent injury to animals and keep other animals out.
(d) Primary enclosures shall be constructed so as to provide space
to allow each dog or cat to walk, srs turn about freely, and to
easily stand with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural pesition-

position with their limbs extended without touching other animals
within the enclosure or the sides or top covering of the enclosure.

(e) Exercise areas shall be constructed to provide adequate space

to allow each dog or cat to run and express natural play behaviors

easily stand with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural position
with their limbs extended without touching other animals within
the enclosure the sides or top covering of the enclosure and to
leave the whelping/queening area for exercise.

H(m) In addition to Paragraph(b) Paragraphs (d), (e) and (h) of
this Rule, each feline older than six months housed in any primary
enclosure or exercise area shall be provided a minimum of four
square feet of floor space which may include elevated resting
surfaces. Each feline younger than six months shall be provided
1.5 square feet.

(n) Not more than 12 cats shall be housed or confined in the same
primary enelesure. enclosure or exercise area.

£2)(0) In all cat primary enclosures and exercise areas, enclosures;
a clean receptacle containing clean litter shall be provided for
waste. A minimum of one receptacle per three cats is required:
required for each primary enclosure and exercise area.

(p) Pools in primary enclosures and/or exercise areas:

typical of the species.

)(f) The height of a primary enclosure_or an exercise area other
than a cage shall be no less than five feet.

(g) All primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed
to prevent the escape of animals.

€e}(h) Each primary enclosure and exercise area shall be provided
with a solid resting surface or surfaces adequate to comfortably
hold all occupants of the primary enclosure and exercise area at
the same time. All resting surfaces must be of a non-porous or
easily sanitized material, such as a solid floor, towel, or a
disposable material such as newspaper. The resting surface or
surfaces shall be elevated in primary enclosures housing two or
more cats.

€)(1) In addition to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, each dog shall be
provided a minimum square footage of floor space equal to the
mathematical square of the sum of the length of the dog in inches,
as measured from the tip of its nose to the base of its tail, plus six
inches, then divide the product by 144. The calculation is: (length
of dog in inches + 6) x (length of dog in inches + 6) = required
floor space in square inches. Required floor space in square inches
+ 144 = required floor space in square feet. The calculation shall
be expressed in square feet.

(J) Not more than four adult dogs shall be housed or confined in
the same primary enclosure or exercise area without supervision.
Dogs younger than six months of age may not be housed or
confined or comingled with adult dogs other than their dams
without supervision; this includes any animals owned by the staff
or operator of the facility.

€e)(k) If more than four dogs including animals owned by the
staff or operator of the facility are housed or confined in an
exercise area are-housed-in-a-commeon-area-or primary enclosure,
then there must be at least one person constantly supervising each
10 dogs housed or confined within each primary enclosure or
commen-exercise area. This supervision must be conducted from
within the exercise area or primary enclosure such that the

person(s) has/have immediate access to the animals in the event

of an emergency, aggression or fight between animals.
(1) Pregnant dogs and cats shall be housed singly in a primary

enclosure. Nursing dogs and cats shall be housed only with their
litter in a primary enclosure until the litter has been weaned. The

[@0)] Whenever water in a pool is deeper than the
height at the shoulder of the shortest dog in the

pool area, an ingress- egress area shall be

provided;
2) No dog may have access to the pool or pool area

other than a typical kiddie wading pool without
supervision;

3) Facilities must be constructed, maintained, and
managed to protect animals from illness, injury,
and death resulting from access to pools or pool
areas;

“) Pools with a capacity of less than 100 gallons
must have the water changed and be cleaned
and sanitized daily. Pools with a capacity of 100
gallons or more shall have commercially

manufactured filtration and cleaning systems
installed and the manufacturer

recommendations followed for cleaning,
sanitation and water quality; and

5) Typical kiddie wading pools are to be
considered accessories for the purposes of

cleaning, sanitation, repair and maintenance.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0205 FEEDING
(a) Adult PBegs dogs and cats and puppies and kittens older than
six months shall be fed at least once each 24-hour period period.

al he-dail > ; tionalvalue.
(b) Puppies and kittens less than six months of age shall be fed at
least twice in each 24-hour period. An eight-hour interval between
feedings is required if only two feedings are offered in a 24-hour
period.
(c) Should a veterinarian prescribe a feeding regime different

primary enclosure shall be of sufficient size to allow the dam and

from the ones described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section

all animals in the litter to walk, turn about freely, nurse, and to

for a specific animal, documentation of such veterinary care is
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required and shall include:
a the original veterinary directive signed by the
veterinarian issuing it;

2) the printed name of the veterinarian;

3) the reason for the restriction;

“4) the specific feeding directions;

(@) the origination and review dates of the
directive;

(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review
and renew the directive every 30 days until it is
no longer required;

(@A) the date of the cessation of the directive; and

8) documentation by the facility of each feeding as

prescribed by the veterinarian.
(d) Food shall be commercially prepared food which complies
with laws applicable to animal feed or the food shall be provided
by the owner.
(e) The food shall be free from contamination, wholesome,
palatable, and of sufficient quality and quantity appropriate of the
given size, age, and condition of an animal to meet the daily
requirements for nutritional value.
)(f) Food receptacles shall be accessible to all dogs or cats and
shall be located so as to minimize contamination by waste.
(g) For every adult animal, there must be at least one food
receptacle offered. When multiple animals are housed together,
caretakers shall observe each animal feeding to ensure that
animals have sufficient access to food.
(h) Food receptacles shall be durable and shall be kept clean and
sanitized.
(1) Uneaten food within food receptacles must be discarded after
24 hours or sooner if spoiled or contaminated.
(j) Damaged food receptacles shall be replaced. Disposable food
receptacles may be used but must be discarded after each feeding.
€e)(k) Food and water receptacles in outdoor facilities shall be
protected from the elements.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0206 WATERING

(a) Animals shall have continuous access to-fresh fresh, potable
water, except as might otherwise be required to provide adequate
veterinary care.

(b) Veterinary care for a specific animal that requires water to be

withheld, given in intervals, or any variation other than
continuous access by an animal can only be prescribed by a
veterinarian and shall be documented in writing by the facility.
The documentation shall include:
a the original veterinary directive signed by the
veterinarian issuing it;

2) the printed name of the veterinarian;

[€)) the reason for the restriction;

“4) the specific watering directions;

(@) the origination and review dates of the
directive;

(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review
and renew this directive every 30 days until it is
no longer required;

(@A) the date of the cessation of the directive; and

(8) documentation by the facility of each watering
as prescribed by the veterinarian.
(c) Water in receptables shall be changed daily and whenever
visibly soiled.
(d) Watering receptacles shall be durable and kept clean and
sanitized.
(e) Damaged receptacles shall be replaced.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0207 SANITATION

(a) Waste shall be removed from primary enelosures enclosures,
and exercise areas and common areas to prevent contamination of
the dogs or cats contained therein and to reduce disease hazards
and odors. Enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats must
be properly cleaned a minimum of two times per day. The animal
must be able to walk or lie down without coming in contact with
any waste or debris.

(b) When a hosing or flushing method is used for cleaning an
enclosure, dogs or cats contained therein shall be removed during
the cleaning process, and adequate measures shall be taken to
protect the animals in—ether—sueh clean enclosures from being
contaminated with water and other wastes.

(c) Cross contamination barriers shall be in place in primary

enclosures and be sufficient to prevent feces, urine and cleaning
waste water from entering another occupied primary enclosure.

)(d) Sanitation shall be as follows:
@9)] Prior to the introduction of dogs or cats into
empty primary enclosures previously occupied,
enclosures and accessories shall be sanitized in

the manner provided in Subparagraph
B3 (A)(3) of this Rule.
2) In addition to primary enclosures being

properly cleaned a minimum of two times per
day, enclosures and accessories shall be
sanitized a minimum of once every seven days
in the manner provided in Subparagraph
6¥3)(d)(3) of this Rule if the same animal is
housed in the same enclosure mere—than for
seven or more days.

3) Primary enclosures, €ages; cages, rooms and
hard-surfaced exercise areas, pens or runs and
exercise areas with artificial turf flooring shall
be sanitized by:

(A) washing them with hot water (180
degrees F.) and soap or detergent as in
a mechanical cage washer; or

(B) washing—all—soiled—surfaces—with—a
detergent——seolution—to—remove—all
organic——matter—folowed—by

Lieati : ; | offecti

disinfectant; removal of visible
organic matter, precleaning all soiled
surfaces with a detergent or degreaser
solution, followed by the application,
at the correct concentration, of an
animal-safe disinfectant labeled to be
effective against common pathogens.
The disinfectant is to be left on the
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surfaces for the time indicated by the
manufacturer. After such time, all
surfaces shall be thoroughly rinsed to
remove all residual chemical and then

02 NCAC 52J.0209
SEPARATION

Animals housed in the same primary enclosure and/or confined to
an exercise area shall be maintained in compatible groups, with

CLASSIFICATION AND

the area dried prior to returning the
animal(s) to this area; or

© cleaning all soiled surfaces with live
steam. The area is to be cooled and
dried prior to the return of the

animal(s).

“4) Common areas, any area accessible to multiple
animals and exercise areas not covered by
Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule shall be kept
clean and sanitary. These areas are to be
properly cleaned a minimum of two times per
day. Hard and/or impervious surfaces of these
areas shall be sanitized a minimum of once
every seven days in the manner provided in
Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule;
Food and water receptacles shall be sanitized
daily with hot water, detergent, and
disinfectant. The disinfectant shall be used
consistent with the manufacturer's directions;
Soiled linens and cloth products shall be
mechanically washed with detergent and
sanitized: sanitized;
Any area accessible to multiple animals shall be
kept clean and sanitary- sanitary; and
) Fans, including but not limited to floor fans,
ceiling fans, wall fans, vent fans, etc. shall be
cleaned routinely in intervals sufficient to
prevent the accumulation of debris, dust and/or
biological material.
fe)(e) Premises (buildings and grounds) shall be kept clean and
in good repair in order to protect the animals from injury and to
facilitate the prescribed husbandry practices set forth in this Rule.
Premises shall remain free of accumulations of trash, junk, waste
products, and discarded matter. Weeds, grasses, and bushes must
be controlled so as to facilitate cleaning of the premises and to
improve pest control, and to protect the health and well-being of
the animals.
() An effective program for the control of insects,
ectoparasites, and avian and mammalian pests shall be established
and maintained.

H(5)

(6

(1)

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0208 EMPLOYEES

A sufficient number of employees shall be utilized to sufficiently
care for the animals in the facility and maintain the prescribed
level of husbandry practices set forth in this Rule. Such practices
shall be under the supervision of an animal caretaker who has-a
baekgroundin—animal-husbandry-or—eare: is adequately trained

and/or experienced in animal husbandry and care and has read and
acknowledged their understanding of these Rules and the NC

Animal Welfare Act.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

the following additional restrictions:

) Females in season (estrus) shall not be housed
in the same primary enclosure or exercise area
with intact or neutered males, except for
planned breeding purposes. Breeding shall not
be allowed in animal shelters.

2) In boarding kennels, animals of different
owners shall not have contact with other
animals, unless written permission is obtained
from the animal's owner. The documentation of

this written permission shall be kept as part of

the animal's record for one year and must be
renewed yearly thereafter.

3) Any dog or cat exhibiting an aggressive
disposition shall be housed individually in a
primary enclosure. Housing of aggressive
animals shall be such that the animals are
prevented from biting or injuring another
animal or human.

Puppies or kittens less than feur six months of
age shall not be housed in the same primary
enclosure with adult dogs or cats other than
their dams, except when permanently
maintained in breeding colonies, or if requested
in writing, by the animals' owner, as in a
boarding kennel. Puppies or kittens between
four and 16 weeks of age shall have daily access
to human social interaction in addition to the
human interaction during the cleaning and
sanitation of the enclosures, excluding animals
which pose a danger to humans or other
animals.

Dogs shall not be housed in the same primary
enclosure with cats, nor shall dogs or cats be
housed in the same primary enclosure with any
other species of animals. Exceptions are
allowed at boarding kennels, if requested in
writing by the animals' owner.

All facilities shall designate an isolation area
for animals being treated or observed for
communicable diseases. Dogs or cats in
isolation that are being treated for a
communicable disease shall be separated from
other dogs or cats and other susceptible species
of animals in such a manner as to minimize
dissemination of such disease. A sign shall be
posted at the cage or isolation area when in use,
giving notice of a communicable disease-
disease, including the identification of the
disease. Accessories, cleaning equipment and
supplies used in isolation areas shall not be used
in other areas of the facility.

Animals in long term care which-are-intended

for—adeption—or—sale must be provided the
followdng: with human interaction other than

(4)

)

€)(6)

(1)
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interaction for enclosure cleaning, same species
social interaction, opportunity for play and

exercise, and environmental enrichment daily.

The provision of these daily interactions and

enrichment shall be appropriate for the animal's

species, age, size and behavior needs. In

addition:

(a) Daily-aceess-to-both-human-and-same
species——social—interaction=  The

provision of the daily social

application/renewal and must be approved by
the AWS Inspector assigned to the facility;

A3) The facility shall implement and follow the
PVC. Failure to follow the PVC shall be
considered a violation; and

4 Changes to the PVC shall be submitted for

approval to the Animal Welfare Section within
10 days of the effective date.

(b) If there is a disease problem that persists for more than seven
days at the facility, the facility operator shall consult with a

interactions and enrichment shall be

veterinarian for procedures to mitigate the problem. This

documented in the animal's records

consultation shall be documented by the facility.

and the records maintained for three

years; and

(b) Daily-aceess—to-—spacc—other—than—the
primary—enelosure: Exemptions from
these long-term care provisions are

b)(c) Ifthere is a disease problem that persists for more than 30
days at the facility, the facility operator shall obtain and follow a
veterinarian's written recommendations for correcting the
problem. These recommendations shall include, at a minimum:
sanitation of primary enclosures, common areas, exercise areas

allowed only for safety or health
reasons and must be approved by a
veterinarian. This exemption must be
reviewed and renewed every 30 days
if the continuation is necessary.
Documentation of the exemption must
include the reason for the exemption,

and accessories, and protocols for animal intake, evaluation,
isolation, disease recognition and treatment and euthanasia (in

animal shelters).
€e)(d) Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal

caretaker in charge, or by someone under his direct sapervision:

supervision who has training and/or experience in animal
husbandry. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats

the name and contact information of

the wveterinarian authorizing the

exemption, the original exemption
date _and the dates of review and

renewal and alternative(s) offered if
any.

All animals shall be confined in primary
enclosures or exercise areas. Primary
enclosures and exercise areas must be inspected
by AWS and in compliance with the rules of

this Subchapter before an animal can be
confined in the enclosure or area.

H@)

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J.0210 VETERINARY CARE

(a) A written program of veterinary care (PVC) to include disease
control and prevention, vaccination, euthanasia (animal shelters
only), disposition of diseased, ill, injured, infirm or deformed

shall be provided with adequate veterinary care in a timely manner
or be euthanized, provided that this the euthanasia shall not affect
compliance with any state or local law requiring the holding, for
a specified period, of animals suspected of being diseased. If an

animal cannot be euthanized due to a required holding period and
does not meet the criteria of G.S. 19A-32.1(b)(2), then adequate

veterinary care shall be provided to the animal.

(e) If euthanasia is performed at a certified facility, a list of
personnel approved to perform euthanasia shall be maintained in
a Policy and Procedure Manual as described in 02 NCAC 52J
.0800.

(f) Diseased Diseased, injured, infirm or deformed animals shall
be sold or adopted only under the policy set forth in the "Program

" PVC.
(g) Full written d1sclosure of the medical condition of the animal

shall-be-provided-to-the new—owner: and all veterinary medical
treatments provided to the animal shall be provided to the person
or organization receiving, adopting, purchasing or otherwise
acquiring the animal. Proof of written disclosure signed by the

person or organization receiving the animal shall be maintained
as part of the animal's record.

animals and provision of adequate routine and emergency
veterinary care shall be established with the assistance of a
licensed veterinarian by any person who is required to be licensed
or registered under the Animal Welfare Act, Article 3 of Chapter
19A of the General Statutes. The following is required of each
PVC:

(@8] The PVC for animal shelters and pet stores shall
be established with the assistance of a

veterinarian and the veterinarian's information
and signature shall be included in the
appropriate section of the license/registration
application/renewal application;

2) The PVC for boarding kennels shall be
submitted as part of the license/registration

(h) All animals in a licensed or registered facility shall be in
compliance with the North Carolina rabies law, G.S. 130A,
Article 6, Part 6. However, no shelter shall be disapproved
following inspection or otherwise cited for failure to inoculate any
dog or cat known to be less than 12 weeks old or until such
animals have been in the shelter at least 15 days.

(1) If surgical procedures are performed at the registered/licensed
facility, the facility shall:

(@8] only perform surgical procedures on animals
owned by the facility. The facility may not
perform surgery on animals owned by the
public unless the practice of veterinary
medicine at that facility falls under the
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jurisdiction of the NC Board of Veterinary
Medicine;

2) appoint a NC licensed veterinarian to be the
supervising veterinarian to direct, oversee and
be responsible for the performance of all
surgical procedures and for the condition of the
surgical facility;

3) ensure all surgical procedures are performed by
a NC licensed veterinarian and performed
within the designated surgical area;

“4) ensure that the designated surgical area meets
the minimum standards for surgery in 21
NCAC 66 .0207(b)(9)., the drug procedures
meet the minimum standards in 21 NCAC 66
.0207(b)(11) and the recordkeeping procedures
meet the minimum standards in 21 NCAC 66
.0207(b)(12);

(@) ensure that the minimum standards for after-
hours emergency service in 21 NCAC 66
.0207(b)(19) for the provision of after-hours
emergency veterinary care for an animal
receiving surgical procedure(s) are met; and

(6) surgical procedures are not performed until the
inspection of the surgical facility and
supporting procedures noted in this section has
occurred and all deficiencies have been
corrected.

Boarding facilities may not administer prescription
medications or tranquilizers, sedatives, or any pharmaceutical
drug designed to calm an animal unless the medication or drug is
administered under the direction of the animal's veterinarian, with
a written prescription from the animal's veterinarian, and with
written permission from the animal's owner. In the event a
boarding facility agrees to administer such medications or

substances, the medications must be in the original container

issued by a veterinarian or pharmacy and administered according
to label directions. The label must include: client name/pet name,

02 NCAC 527 .0302 PRIMARY ENCLOSURES USED
IN TRANSPORTING DOGS AND CATS

(a) Primary enclosures such as compartments or transport cages,
cartons, or crates used by persons subject to the Animal Welfare
Act to transport cats and dogs shall be constructed, ventilated and
designed to protect the health and insure the safety of the animals.
Such enclosures shall be constructed or positioned in the vehicle
in such a manner that:

)] Each animal in the vehicle has sufficient fresh
air for normal breathing.

2) The openings of such enclosures are always
easily accessible for emergency removals.
removalsatall-times:

3) The animals are adequately protected from the
elements.

“4) The ambient temperature within the holding

area shall be maintained between 50 degrees F
and 85 degrees F. A shelter shall be deemed as
being in compliance if its vehicles' animal
containmentunits holding areas are equipped
with operable heating and air-conditioning air-
eonditiening; or forced-air heating and cooling,
and—heating or other temperature control
mechanisms. A functional thermometer shall be
present in the animal holding area of the
vehicle.

(b) Animals transported in the same primary enclosure shall be

of the same species. Puppies or kittens less than four months of

age shall not be transported in the same primary enclosure with

adult dogs and cats other than their dams.

(c) Primary enclosures used to transport dogs and cats shall be

large enough for each animal to turn about freely, and to easily

stand, sit, or lie down in a natural position. Primary enclosures

used to transport dogs and cats shall be secured to the vehicle to

prevent sliding or tipping of the enclosure during transit.

(d) Special provisions during transport shall be provided to any

animal that cannot maintain its normal body temperature during

dosage, drug name, veterinarian's name, and date issued. The
administration of these medications or substances shall be
documented as required by 02 NCAC 52J .0102.

Authority G.S. 194-24.
SECTION .0300 - TRANSPORTATION STANDARDS

02 NCAC 527 .0301 VEHICLES

(a) Vehicles used in transporting dogs and cats shall be
mechanically sound and equipped to provide fresh air to all
animals transported. transperted-without-harmful-drafts:

(b) The animal cargo space shall be constructed and maintained
so as to prevent engine exhaust fumes from getting-to-the-animals:

entering the animal holding area.

(c) The interior of the animal earge holding space shall be kept
elean- cleaned after the transport of each animal. It shall be
sanitized daily or between shipments of animals if more than one
shipment occurs in a 24-hour period. Hshall-be—sanitized—as

deemed necessary-

Authority G.S. 194-24.

the transport. These special provisions shall be sufficient for the

animal to maintain its normal body temperature and shall be
documented in the animal's record.

¢d)(e) Animals shall not be placed in primary enclosures over
other animals in transit unless such enclosure is constructed se-as
to prevent animal excreta from entering lower enclosures.

€e)(f) All primary enclosures used to transport dogs and cats shall
be sanitized between use for shipments.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J.0303
REQUIREMENTS
If dogs and cats are transported for a period of more than 42 six
hours:

FOOD AND WATER

1) The vehicle shall stop at least once every 42 six
hours for a period of one hour. During the one
hour stop, potable water shall be continuously
provided for dogs and cats. If the transport lasts
for six hours or more, the enclosures containing
cats shall be equipped with a clean litter box
with litter.
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2) Adult dogs and cats shall be fed at least once
during each 24-hour period. Puppies and kittens
less than six months of age shall be fed every
six hours.

3) Dogs shall be removed from the vehicle, given
fresh water and given the opportunity for
exercise if they have been confined in the
vehicle for 36-heurs: six hours or longer.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0304 CARE IN TRANSIT

(a) It shall be the responsibility of the attendant or driver to
inspect animals frequently enough to assure health and comfort
and to determine if they need emergency care and to obtain it if
needed.

(b) If a transport lasts six hours or longer, the transporter shall log
the start and end times of the transport, the species, identification
of the transported animal(s), any visible injury, illness or other
medical condition, and care provided including but not limited to
stops, exercise, watering, feeding and/or veterinary care. This
documentation shall be kept for a minimum of one year after the
transport.

Authority G.S. 194-24.
SECTION .0400 - EUTHANASIA STANDARDS

02 NCAC 52J .0401 ADOPTION BY REFERENCE

A person required to obtain a certificate of registration pursuant
to G.S. 19A, Article 3 may use any method of euthanasia
approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association

AVMAHAVMA)., and/or the Humane Society of the United

States (HSUSYHSUS),—or—the—American Humane—Association
AHAY which are hereby incorporated by reference, including

subsequent amendments and editions. Copies of these documents
may be obtained as follows:
(1) AVMA Guidelines on Euthanasia may be
accessed at no cost on their website at
WWW.avma.org.
2) The HSUS Euthanasia Fraining Reference

Manual can be purchased-through-their-website
at-www-hsus.org—at-a—cost-of nineteen—dolars
and-ninety-five-cents($19-95): accessed at no

cost via the link:
https://humanepro.org/sites/default/files/docu
ments/euthanasia-reference-manual.pdf.
&) ication, - iction,
| f | Ly b thei y ]j.
doHars-($10-00):

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0402 AUTHORIZED PERSONS

Only a Certified Euthanasia Technician Fechnician; Probationary
Euthanasia—Technieian, or a veterinarian licensed to practice
veterinary medicine in North Carolina may euthanize an animal
in a certified animal shelter. A Certified Euthanasia Technician

shall not euthanize animals using a method for which he or she is
not currently certified except as specified in 02 NCAC 527 .0700.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0403 DEFINITIONS
As used in this Subchapter:
@) "Certified Euthanasia Technician" means a
person employed by a certified facility who has
been instructed in the proper methods of

humane euthanasia, security and record
keeping.
2) "Certified facility" means a eertified registered

animal shelter shelter, kennel-orpet-shop that

employs at least one Certified Euthanasia
Technician or NC licensed veterinarian to
perform euthanasia on animals at that eertified
facility.

3) "Approved Certified Euthanasia Technician
trainer" means a-persen-or-organizationthat an
individual who has received permission from
the Animal Welfare Section to provide training
to applicants or individuals seeking to be
Certified Euthanasia Technicians.

4) "Chemical Agent" means any chemical
approved by the American Veterinary Medical
Association Asseetation; and/ or the Humane
Society of the United States er-the-Awmerican
Humane Association® which is used to induce
death.

%) "Applicant” means a person seeking
certlﬁcatlon as a Euthanasia Technician.

, ¢ cuthanizinganimals, and whicl

"Conviction of a criminal offense" means being
found guilty, convicted, placed on probation or
entering a guilty plea that is accepted by the
court, forfeiture of bail, bond or collateral
deposited to secure one's own appearance in a
criminal proceeding or having received a
withheld judgment, prayer for judgment
continued or suspended sentence by a court of
competent jurisdiction in this state, in a federal
court or another state of any felony, as
described by federal or state law, or any
criminal act that in any way is related to
practicing as a Certified Euthanasia Technician.
(@A) Euthanasia by injection (EBI) means the
injection of an approved commercially-
manufactured euthanasia medication via an
intravenous, intraperitoneal or intracardiac
(subject to additional conditions) injection into
an animal to cause the death of that animal.

€H(6)

Authority G.S. 194-24.
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02 NCAC 52J .0404 CERTIFICATION
REQUIREMENTS FOR EUTHANASIA TECHNICIANS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

02 NCAC 52J .0405 CERTIFICATION STANDARDS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

02 NCAC 52J .0406
REQUIREMENTS
An applicant for certification shall:
(D submit a completed and signed application
form; and
2) provide a document from an approved Certified
Euthanasia Technician trainer establishing that
the applicant has completed an approved
course, passed the course written examination
and passed a practical examination in the

speeifie euthanasia by injection (EBI)

techniques for—which-the-applicant-is—seeking
certifieation; or provide separate

documentation of having taken an approved

course and passed the written examination and

having passed a practical examination given by

a different approved Certified Euthanasia

Technician trainer. trainer;-and

specify H he Eff.hﬂ fon—orm hE. SEEEiﬁ.E
. T . P

Authority G.S. 194-24.

APPLICATION

02 NCAC 52J .0407
EXAMINATIONS
(a) Training and examinations for euthanasia certification shall
consist of:

TRAINING AND

(D Classroom lecture covering the entire list of
subjects in Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
2) Earning a score of 80 percent correct on a

written test provided by the Animal Welfare
Section, demonstrating knowledge of the
subjects listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and
3) Passing a practical examination in eaeh-of the
euthanasia by injection techniques. methodsfor
(b) The Animal Welfare Section shall develop Certified
Euthanasia Technician training programs and materials or
accredit training programs and materials to be offered by other
individuals, schools, agencies or veterinary practices. The
programs and materials shall conform to the processes set forth
by the American Veterinary Medical Association Asseeiation;
and/or the Humane Society of the United States er-the-Awmerican
Humane-Asseeiation and shall include the following topics:
(1) The theory and history of euthanasia methods
and practice;
2) Relevant Animal animal anatomy;

3) Proper animal restraint, handling and methods
for controlling animal stress;
4) Proper chemical agent dosages, record keeping

and usage documentation, chemical agent,

instrument and equipment storage, handling
and disposal in accordance with rules and the
Code of Federal Regulations;
5) Proper injection techniques;
(6) Proper dosing for the
administration for the EBI;

specific _route of

(@A) Proper and accurate verification of lack of pain
perception;
Frof I chermical : f &

€H(8) Proper and accurate verification of animal
death;

€3(9) Proper record keeping; keeping including

documentation of justification for intracardiac
and for early euthanasia;

)(10) Proper disposal of euthanized animals;

@0)(11) Stress management for euthanasia personnel;

@BH(12) Proper methods and techniques of euthanasia
under extraordinary circumstances;

@2(13) Proper methods, techniques and chemicals
inducing anesthesia and sedation in animals
prior to euthanasia; and

3)(14) Proper methods, techniques and chemicals used
in the practical examination section for
Certified Euthanasia Technician.

(c) The Animal Welfare Section shall prepare written
examinations to be given to applicants. Following the classroom
training detailed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the applicant shall
take a written examination provided by the Animal Welfare
Section that will be used by the approved trainer. Notes or other

assistance are not allowed during the taking of the written
examination. Those passing the written examination for that

classroom training session are eligible to take fer the practical
examination ef the-methods-of euthanasiafor which-the-applicant
seeks—eertifieation- on the EBI techniques. Those failing this
written examination shall attend another classroom training
session and must pass a different written examination provided by
the Animal Welfare Section before they are eligible to take the

practical examination.
(d) The applicant must pass a practical examination on eaeh

method-of enthanasiafor which-he-or-sheseeks-certification- the
EBI techniques.

(e) Applicants for certification in Euthanasia by Injection shall
demonstrate the following knowledge and competencies:

(D) Correctly calculate chemical agent dosage
based upon the species, age, weight and
condition of the animal; animal and the route of
administration;

2) Correctly complete all required documentation:
documentation and demonstrate  proper

technique for scanning an animal for a

microchip;
3) Correctly draw the properly calculated

chemical dosage into a syringe and needle of a
type and size appropriate for the antmal; animal
and for the route of administration;

4) Correctly administer the chemical agent to the
animal;
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)

(6)

(7

)

)

Properly perform intravenous and

intraperitoneal  injections on dogs and

intravenous or intraperitoneal injections on

cats;

Knowledge of the current cuthanasia

guidelines, medical procedures including lack

of pain perception verification and drugs

necessary for an animal to be euthanized by

cardiac injection;

Demonstrate ability to verify death by: by a

combination of the following:

(A) lack of respiration;

(B) lack of ocular reflexes;

© lack of a heartbeat; heartbeat verified
by the use of a stethoscope;

(D) greying of mucous membranes;

(E) lack of response to firm toe pinch;

(F) rigor mortis.

Knowledge about the human health risks

associated with the use of chemical agents used

for euthanasia including signs and symptoms

associated with accidental exposure of the

Certified Euthanasia Technician; and

Proper first aid for a person accidentally

exposed to chemical agents used for euthanasia.

D—Applicantsforcertification-in-Euthanasia-by-Gas-Inhalation

X2

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0408 TRAINERS

(a) Certified Euthanasia Technician training shall be provided by
the Animal Welfare Section or by companies or individuals
meeting the following criteria:

(1) Possess working knowledge of euthanasia
conducted according to this Section;

2) Have actual experience in euthanasia of
animals;

3) Have experience training staff in euthanasia;
and

4) Provide references from individuals or
organizations previously #ained: trained or
individuals or organizations that can attest to
satisfactory euthanasia experience.

(b) Information taught shall conform to this Section and the
guidelines set forth by the American Veterinary Medical
Association Asseetation; and/or the Humane Society of the
United States. States-or-the-American-Humane-Association.

(c) Trainers shall disclose to their students and the Animal
Welfare Section any affiliations with suppliers of equipment or
supplies used in euthanasia.

(d) The Animal Welfare Section may make unannounced audit
of instruction and testing by trainers.

(e) Prior to providing euthanasia training leading to certification
as a Euthanasia Technician, the person or company shall obtain
approval before each class for its training program from the
Animal Welfare Section.

(f) Trainers shall return to the Animal Welfare Section office
copies of the written tests, notification of results for the written
examinations and notification of results for the practical

examinations within 10 days of the date of the tests. These results
shall include all examination outcomes for all applicants.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0409
TECHNICIANS

PROBATIONARY EUTHANASIA

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J.0410 EXAM REQUIRED
An individual who has not passed the written exam and the
practical examination may not serve as a Certified Euthanasia

Technician. Fechnician-or Probationary Euthanasia-Technictan:

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0411 NEW APPLICATION

H-the-individual-or-applicantfails-to-pass-the practical exam—a

fails-the-written-examination-twice. The Animal Welfare Section
shall cancel the application of any applicant who fails the written

examination twice and/or the practical examination twice. If the
individual wishes to apply for certification again, the individual

shall submit a new application to the Animal Welfare Section,
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attend a training program, pass the written examination and the
practical examination before a certification can be issued.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0412 ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATION
Upon the receipt of materials specified in this Section the Animal
Welfare Section shall issue a Euthanasia Technician Certificate.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0413 LENGTH OF CERTIFICATION
A Euthanasia Technician Certificate issued by the Animal
Welfare Section is valid for five years from the date of issuance

unless it is revoked pursuant to this Section or upon termination
of employment er-velunteerstatus as described in this Section.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0414
EMPLOYMENT

Upon termination of employment er—velunteer—status from a
certified facility, a Certified Euthanasia Technician shall not
perform animal euthanasia in a certified facility until recertified
by the Animal Welfare Section. The Certified Euthanasia
Technician's certification shall be canceled effectively upon
termination of employment. employment-or-volunteerstatus. No
later than 10 days from the date of the termination of a Certified
Euthanasia Technician's employment er—velunteer—status at that
certified facility the Certified Euthanasia Technician shall notify

complete—a—formnetifyying the Animal Welfare Section of the
termination of employment. employment-or-volunteerstatus—and
hall he £ | the Cortif | nal Welf
Seetion-

TERMINATION OF

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0415 NOTICE OF TERMINATION

A certified facility shall notify the Animal Welfare Section in
writing, no later than 10 days from the date of the termination of
a Certified Euthanasia Technician's employment er—velunteer
statas at that certified facility.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0416 RECERTIFICATION

@) If a former Certified Euthanasia Technician is employed e+-is
aceepted-as-a-volunteer at a certified facility before the expiration
of his or her certification, the fermer—CertifiedEuthanasia
TFeehnietan-or employer may request reinstatement of histher the
certification from the Animal Welfare Section. The reinstated
Certification shall be good for five years from the date of its initial
issue.

hicl i< less The & ertified Eu i Tochnici
. & . e ) ?

ortified Eutl o Tochnician. i : loved |

volanteer: The Certified Euthanasia Technician may not

euthanize animals until the certification has been reinstated by the
Animal Welfare Section.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0417 CERTIFICATION RENEWAL
(a) Certifications may be renewed every five years provided that:
)] within the 12 months immediately preceding
the application for certification renewal the
Certified Euthanasia Technician has taken and
passed a practical examination for-each-method

: | o & hich K
certification—renewal; in_ current EBI

techniques;

2 the applicant receives up-to-date information
about the-methed-ofeuthanasta—{for-which-the
applicant-is—seekingecertification; the current
standards and guidelines on EBI; and

3) the applicant receives training in
management.

(b) The applicant shall submit an application for certification
renewal to the Animal Welfare Section. The application shall be
on a form created by the Animal Welfare Section and shall include
a document from an approved Certified Euthanasia Technician
trainer establishing that the applicant has passed a practical

examination in the speetfic-euthanasia-techniquesforwhich-he-or
she-is-seekingeertifieation- techniques of EBL

Authority G.S. 194-24.

stress

02 NCAC 52J.0418 DUTIES
A Certified Euthanasia Technician may shall:

@9)] Prepare animals for euthanasia: cuthanasia,
including scanning for a microchip and
documentation of absence of microchip, or of
reasonable but unsuccessful attempts to reach
the owners associated with a microchip present
in an animal or of emergency circumstances
which precluded such attempts;

2) Accurately Reeerd record the identification
number of the animal, its species, sex, breed
description and date, dosages and route of
administration for drugs that are administered
for sedation and euthanasia and amounts for
drugs wasted;

3) Order euthanasia supplies;

4) Maintain the security of all controlled
substances and other drugs in accordance with

36:12
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)5

€H(6)
(1)

@)

Report to the appropriate government agencies
violations or suspicions of a violation of the
rules in this Subchapter or any abuse of drugs;

Euthanize animals; animals in accordance with
the rules of this Section;

Dispose of euthanized animals and expired or
unwanted chemical agent(s) or the containers,
instruments and equipment used in the
administration of drugs in accordance with all
applicable federal, state and local laws and
regulations; and

Notify the Animal Welfare Section as required
in this Section upon leaving employment e
volunteer—status—at—a—covered at a certified
facility.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0419 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE -
CERTIFIED EUTHANASIA TECHNICIANS

The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate the
certification of a Euthanasia Technician, or may deny, revoke,
suspend, sanction, or place on probation, impose other forms of
discipline, and enter into consent agreements and negotiated
settlements with Certified Euthanasia Technician pursuant to the
procedures set forth in G.S. 150B, Article 3, for any of the
following reasons:

(1)
2)

)

4)

)5
€H(6)

Failure to Carry Out Duties. Failure to carry out
the duties of a Certified Euthanasia Technician;
Abuse of Chemical Substances. Abuse of any
drug or chemical substance by:

(a) Selling, diverting or giving away
drugs or chemical substances;

(b) Stealing drugs or chemical substances;

(c) Misusing chemical substances; or

(d) Abetting anyone in the foregoing
activities;

Euthanizing animals without supervision as
required by this subchapter;
Allowing uncertified individuals to euthanize
animals;

lg.f .]3 deof the Certified
Eutl o Tochnician! | ;
Fraud, misrepresentation, or deception in
obtaining certification;
Unethical or  Unprofessional  Conduct.
Unethical or unprofessional conduct means to
knowingly engage in conduct of a character
likely to deceive or defraud the publie: public
and/or the Animal Welfare Section. Such
conduct includes working in conjunction with
any agency or person illegally practicing as a
Certified Euthanasia Technician; failing to
provide sanitary facilities or apply sanitary
procedures for the euthanizing of any animal;
euthanizing animals in a manner that endangers
the health or welfare of the public; gross
ignorance, incompetence or inefficiency in the

euthanizing of animals as determined by the
practices generally and currently followed and
accepted as approved by the American
Veterinary Medical Association Asseeiation;
and/or the Humane Society of the United States
or-the-American-Humane-Assoctation: and the
rules of this Section; intentionally performing a
duty, task or procedure involved in the
euthanizing of animals for which the individual
is not qualified; and swearing falsely in any
testimony or affidavits relating to practicing as
a Certified Euthanasia Fechnietan; Technician
and/or failing to provide requested information
or the provision of inaccurate or misleading
information during an investigation or
inspection by the Animal Welfare Section;

€)(7) Conviction of any criminal offense as described
in this Section;

(8) Improper Record Keeping. Failure to follow
proper record keeping procedures as outlined in
the rules in this Subehapter; Subchapter and/or
entering of inaccurate or misleading
information into the records of a certified
facility;

&0)9) Improper Security and Storage for Chemical
Agents. Failure to provide and maintain proper
security and storage for euthanasia and restraint
drugs as established under applicable United
States Drug Enforcement Administration and
North Carolina Department of Health and
Human Services statutes and rules;

@H(10) Improper Disposal of Chemical Agents and
Equipment. Failure to dispose of drugs and the
containers, instruments and equipment in a
manner permitted by this Subchapter;

@2(11) Improper Labeling of Approved Chemical
Agents. Failure to properly label approved
euthanasia and restraint chemical agents;

©3)(12) Revocation, Suspension or Limitation. The
revocation, suspension, limitation, of a license,
certificate or registration or any other
disciplinary action by another state or United
States jurisdiction or voluntary surrender of a
license, certificate or registration by virtue of
which one is licensed, certified or registered to
practice as a Certified Euthanasia Technician in
that state or jurisdiction on grounds other than
nonpayment of the renewal fee; and

“4)(13) Failure of any applicant or certificate holder to
cooperate with the North Carolina Department
of Agriculture and Consumer Services during
any investigation or inspection.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

SECTION .0500 - EUTHANASIA BY INJECTION
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02 NCAC 527 .0501 INTRACARDIAC INJECTION

I Liaciniection.shallonhl | mals that havel
Intracardiac injection for euthanasia may only be administered
under the following conditions:

(@8] due to injury or other medical condition, the
animal is unconscious, or the animal has been
rendered unconscious by administration of a
general anesthetic;

2) due to medical condition of the animal and/or
size of the animal, intravenous or
intraperitoneal administration is not practical or
humane;

3) the absence of a pain response has been verified
prior to the administration of the intracardiac
injection and this verification is documented in
the animal's record; and

“4) the justification for an intracardiac injection
rather than an intravenous or intraperitoneal
route of administration has been documented in
the animal's record.

Authority G.S. 194-24.
SECTION .0700 - EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCES

02 NCAC 527 .0701 METHODS OF EUTHANASIA
PERMITTED UNDER EXTRAORDINARY
CIRCUMSTANCES AND SITUATIONS (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

02 NCAC 52J.0702
METHODS

Under extraordinary circumstances and situations which occur
offsite from the shelter, a shelter employee trained in the
euthanasia method for that species may use gunshot or other
extreme method of euthanasia as set forth in the American
Veterinary Medical Association Asseeiation; and/or Humane
Society of the United States er-AmericanHumane-Assoeiation
Guidelines incorporated by reference in 02 NCAC 52J .0401.

GUNSHOT OR OTHER

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 527 .0703 METHODS AND STANDARDS
The Methods methods of euthanasia used by a certified facility
under an extraordinary circumstance or situation must be a
method approved by the American Veterinary Medical
Association Asseeiation; and/or the Humane Society of the
United States erthe- AmericanHumane -Asseeiation for use on that
species of animal and must conform to standards set forth by that
organization.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0704 TECHNICIAN NOT REQUIRED
If an extraordinary circumstance or situation occurs and

employee is trained in the euthanasia method for that species that
was used in the situation.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0705 REPORTS

A heensee certified facility or registrant shall prepare a report of
any euthanasia performed under extraordinary circumstances or
situations, and keep the report on file for at least two years. The
report shall include the date, time, identification of the animal, the
name of the person performing the final euthanasia, the method of
euthanasia and the reason for euthanasia of the animal as
permitted by this Section.

Authority G.S. 194-24.
SECTION .0800 — POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL

02 NCAC 52J .0801 MANUAL REQUIRED
Any animal-shelter certified facility performing euthanasia shall
have a current policy and procedure manual about euthanasia.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0802 CONTENTS
The policy and procedure manual shall set forth the shelter's
equipment, process, and-the procedures for-individual separation

ofanimals: and documentation requirements for the euthanasia of
animals.

Authority G.S. 194-24.

02 NCAC 52J .0803 ADDITIONAL CONTENTS
A certified facility's policy and procedure manual shall be kept
consistent with the publications listed below and reflect the
current information for each. The manual shall include:
€8 A copy of the current North Carolina Animal
Welfare Act and the rules in this Subchapter;

2 A copy of the 2000-Repeort-of-the—American

Veterinary—Medical —Association—Panel—on
Euthanasta most recent AVMA Guidelines for
the Euthanasia of Animals and any future
revisions, replacements, supplements or
changes thereto issued by that organization;
3) A eurrent copy of the most recent Euthanasia
Fraining Reference Manual of the Humane
Society of the United States;
P3 I I iation: >
)(4) Adistof-methodsofeuthanasia-allowed-at-the
hel g i l l ; ]
methed; A copy of the facility's policies and/or
procedures for euthanasia by injection;
A list of Certified Euthanasia Technicians
Technicians. 4 hods_of et .
whichthey-have received-training; and the date

6)(5)

euthanasia is necessary, the persen shelter employee performing of training; certification;

the euthanasia is not required to be a Certified Euthanasia

Technician at a certified faeility: facility so long as the shelter
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€H(6)

(1)

@)

(10)

(11)
(12)

(13)

(14)

(15)

(16)

(17

(18)

The name, address and contact information for
the veterinarian responsible for the Annual
Program of Veterinary Care;

The name, address and contact information for
veterinarians responsible for the veterinary
medical care of the animals. The contact
information shall include telephone numbers
for working hours, weekends, nights and
holidays;

Euthanasia procedure to use in emergencies,
after hours, holidays and weekends;
Procedures to follow if no Certified Euthanasia
Technician is present and euthanasia of an
animal is necessary;

Procedures to follow including the names(s) of

shelter manager designee(s) when the shelter
manager is not available to make the decisions
necessary and complete the required paperwork
when an animal is to be euthanized prior to the
end of the 72-hour holding period;

Methods of verifying death of an animal after a
euthanasia process is performed;

The name and contact information of the
supplier of materials. It shall include:

@) Bottled-gas-(if-applicable);

&) Manufactarer-of thechamberused-to
hani als by inhal

te)(a) Injectable euthanasia solution;

t)(b) Tranquilizer, sedation, e¢f and
anesthetic selution; medications;

Original of U.S. Drug Enforcement

Administration certification permitting the use
of controlled substances;

il safoty d | ; hesmical
gas-usedforeuthanasiain-thatshelter; Original
of the NC Health and Human Services
certificate permitting the storage and use of
controlled substances;

A-material Material safety data sheets sheet for
any—anesthetie—or—tranquilizer; all chemical,

anesthetic,  tranquilizing, sedation _ and
euthanasia medications used in that facility;

Netiee—of Information detailing the signs and
symptoms associated with human exposure to
the agents used for euthanasia at the facility;
Information detailing First Aid for people
accidentally exposed to the agents used for
euthanasia at the facility; and

Contact information of the physician or medical
facility providing medical treatment to
employees of the facility. The information shall
include the name of the medical facility, the
telephone number for both working and after-
hours contact and directions to the medical
facility from the certified facility including a
map. If the medical facility does not provide
service after-hours, on weekends or on
holidays, there must be contact information as

described in this item for the nearest medical
facility, urgent care clinic or emergency room
that does provide care during that time.

Authority G.S. 194-24.
SECTION .0900 - ANIMAL SHELTER SUPPORT FUND

02 NCAC 52J .0901 ELIGIBLE EXPENSES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

02 NCAC 52J .0902 APPLICATION GUIDELINES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

skosk sk sk sk ook sk sk sk ook sk sk sk sk %k sk sk sk ok sk

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC
52L.0101, .0102, .0104-.0106, .0109-.0113, .0201, .0301, .0401,
and repeal the rule cited as 02 NCAC 52L .0402.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available
on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index
htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be
requested in writing within 15 days of notice): Submit a written
request by email to Rule-Making Coordinator, Anna Hayworth,
at Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov.

Reason for Proposed Action: The farmed cervid rules are
proposed to be amended and repealed to align the North Carolina
Farmed Cervid Program with the United States Department of
Agriculture's Chronic Wasting Disease Program Standards.
Currently, the farmed cervid rules require official animal
identification, Chronic Wasting Disease testing, herd enrollment,
and inventory reporting beyond the requirements of the federal
rules for non-Chronic Wasting Disease susceptible cervid
species. These amendments and repeal of the rules will relax some
of the requirements for non-Chronic Wasting Disease susceptible
cervid species.

Comments may be submitted to: Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699, phone (984) 236-4509; email
rulesreview@ncagr.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
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Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOooo

CHAPTER 52 — VETERINARY DIVISION
SUBCHAPTER 52L - FARMED CERVIDS

SECTION .0100 - FARMED CERVID LICENSE AND
PERMIT

02 NCAC 52L .0101
REFERENCE
(a) For the purpose of the rules in this Subchapter, the following
regulations and standards are hereby incorporated by reference
including any subsequent amendments and editions:
(1) 9 C.F.R. Part 55;
2) 9 C.F.R. Part 81;
3) 9 C.F.R. Part 86; and
4) The United States Department of Agriculture's
Chronic Wasting Disease Program Standards
(May 2644)- 2019).
(b) The regulations and standards incorporated by reference in
Paragraph (a) of this Rule are available free of cost at
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collecti
onCode=CFR and

INCORPORATION BY

eervid—health—program:
https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/animal-
disease-information/cervid/cervids-cwd/cervids-voluntary-hcp.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L.0102 DEFINITIONS

(a) The definitions in the regulations and standards set forth in 02
NCAC 52L .0101 shall apply to such terms when used in this
Subchapter, to the extent that they do not conflict with G.S. 106-
549.97(a)(1) or Paragraph (b) of this Rule.

(b) The following definitions apply to this Subchapter:

M

2

3

“

(&)

(6)
O]

®)

€))
(10)
(11)

(12)

(13)

(14)
(15)

&5)(16)

G617

"APHIS" means the United States Department
of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health
Inspection Service.

"Carcass" means the head, the whole animal, or
tissue sample extracted in accordance with the
USDA Standards, 9 C.F.R. 55.8 and 9 C.F.R.
55.23(b).

"Certified Herd" means any herd that has
reached Certified status under an Approved
State  Chronic Wasting Disease Herd
Certification Program as determined by the
USDA in accordance with 9 C.F.R. 55.23(a)
and 9 C.F.R. 55.24(a).

"CWD Testing" means official Chronic
Wasting Disease ("CWD") testing in
accordance with the USDA Standards, (6.2)
Official CWD Test, and 9 C.F.R. 55.8.
"Diagnostic Laboratory" means the North
Carolina Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services Veterinary Diagnostic
Laboratory System.

"Facility" means a facility for farmed cervids.
"Fawns" or "Calves" means cervids under one
year of age.

"Herd Certification Program" means the North
Carolina Farmed Cervid Herd Certification
Program.

"ICVI" means interstate certificate of
veterinary inspection.

"Licensed Facility" means any facility
associated with a farmed cervid license.
"Licensee" means a person issued a farmed
cervid license in accordance with the rules of
this Subchapter and includes designees named
by the licensee.
reached—Certified——status—under—the North
P cor CWI b1 L
acecordance-with-02-NCAC-52L-0402: "Non-
susceptible species" means Cervidae that are
not known to be naturally susceptible to CWD.
"Officially Identified" means identification in
accordance with 9 CFR 55.25. the-attachment

ofa—tamper-resistant-ear-tagapproved-for-use
b the Veteri Divisi ; | o

"State" means the State of North Carolina.
"Susceptible species" means Cervidae that are
known to be naturally susceptible to CWD.
"Temporary Exhibit" means a public display of
farmed cervids including animal acts,
educational displays, carnivals, circuses,
parades, shopping center displays, and zoos,
whether operated for profit or not.

"Veterinary Division" means the Veterinary
Division of the North Carolina Department of
Agriculture and Consumer Services.

(c) Farmed cervids are livestock in accordance with 9 C.F.R.
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Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0104 FARMED CERVID LICENSE
(a) Farmed Cervid License.

(1)

2)

Persons interested in obtaining a farmed cervid

license shall apply with the Veterinary

Division. The application may be obtained from

the Veterinary Division by calling (919) 707-

3250 or by emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov.

The contents of the application shall include the

following:

(A) The applicant's name;

(B) The applicant's address;

©) The applicant's contact information,
including telephone numbers and
email addresses;

(D) The farm's name;
(E) The farm's address;
(F The farm's contact information,

including telephone numbers and
email addresses;

(G) A statement of whether the farm is
commercial, defined as a farmed
cervid facility that is or will be selling
deer cervid or deer cervid products as
a for-profit business, or private,
defined as non-commercial;

(H) a statement from the applicant
verifying the information provided is
accurate;

) The national premises identification
number; and

@) The applicant's signature.

Both licensees and persons interested in
obtaining a farmed cervid license shall comply
with 02 NCAC 52L .0401(c)(1) and-02-NCAC
52E—0402(hH Dby enrolling susceptible
species of farmed cervid herds in either the
Herd Certification Program. Pregram—er—the

(b) Terms of License and Inventory Report.

(1)

2)

A farmed cervid license shall be valid from July
1 through June 30 for the year in which it was
issued. If the new license is approved after July
1, it shall take effect on the date of issue.

Licensees may apply for renewal each year
during the renewal period of Fanuary October 1

(B) The farm name, address, and contact
information, including telephone
numbers and email addresses;

© a statement from the licensee verifying
the information provided is accurate;
and
(D) The licensee's signature.
3) Licensees shall submit a written inventory

report in spreadsheet form with their license
renewal. The inventory report shall include the:

(A) licensee's name, mailing address,
telephone number, and email address;

(B) licensed facility name, address, and
national  premises  identification
number;

© farmed cervid license number;

(D) for susceptible species, the species,

sex, and birth year of each susceptible
species of farmed cervid;

(E) for susceptible species, the animal
identification numbers for each
susceptible species of farmed cervid;
and

(F) for susceptible species, the date of
disposition or death of any susceptible
species of farmed eervid: cervid; and

G) for non-susceptible species, the total
number and the type and number of
each non-susceptible species of
farmed cervid as of the date of the
application or renewal.

4) The inventory report shall be accompanied by a
statement from the licensee verifying the
information provided is accurate.

(c) Renewal of Farmed Cervid License.

@) Existing farmed cervid licenses shall be
renewed as long as the applicant for renewal
continues to meet the licensing requirements of
this Subchapter.

2) A person whose license has lapsed shall not be
eligible for renewal, but may apply for a new
license.

(d) Only one license shall be associated with each farmed cervid
facility and national premises identification number.

(e) Each quarter, with the first quarter from January 1 to March
31, the second quarter from April 1 to June 30, the third quarter
from July 1 to September 30, and the fourth quarter from October

through Mareh December 31. If Mareh
December 31 falls on a weekend or holiday,
then the renewals must be received by the
Veterinary Division or postmarked by the next
business day. The contents of the renewal
application shall include:

1 to December 31, the licensee shall submit an updated inventory
report to the Veterinary Division if susceptible species of fawns
and calves were officially identified during that quarter. This
update, if applicable, shall be submitted within 30 days of a
quarter's end date.

(A) The licensee's name, address, and  Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).
contact information, including
telephone  numbers and email 02 NCAC 52L .0105 DENIAL OF FARMED CERVID
addresses; LICENSE
(a) Circumstances or purposes for which a farmed cervid license
shall not be issued or renewed include the following:
36:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2021
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(D failing to submit a complete application or
renewal;

2) submitting falsified information;

3) for the purpose of holding non-farmed cervids

or farmed cervids that were transported without
a valid transportation permit;

4 for the purpose of rehabilitating non-farmed
cervids;

) for the purpose of commingling farmed and
non-farmed cervids;

(6) keeping any farmed cervid for reasons other

than agricultural or commercial purposes, such
as buying, selling, and production of farmed

cervids, or for scientific, exhibition, and
educational purposes;

@) to an individual under the age of 18 years of
age;

(8) failing to have susceptible species of farmed

cervid herds enrolled in eithererbeth the Herd
Certification Program er-theMenitoredHerd
Certification—Program with the Veterinary
Division; or

) the applicant has violated State or Federal laws
or regulations for livestock or non-farmed
cervids, and the State Veterinarian determines,
in his or her experience, based upon the nature
of the violation, the applicant may not comply
with the requirements of the farmed cervid
license.

(b) Any person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been
revoked or suspended shall not be licensed within the period
during which the order of revocation or suspension remains in
effect.

(c) Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a
person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been revoked
or suspended and who was responsible for, participated in, or
worked for that person during the violation upon which the order
of revocation or suspension was based, shall not be licensed for
facilities owned by his or her employer or facilities in which he or
she worked for at the time of the revocation or suspension within
the period during which the order of revocation or suspension
remains in effect.

(d) The Department shall not issue a farmed cervid license until
a person has:

(1) constructed or acquired a facility for keeping
farmed cervids that complies with 02 NCAC
52L .0201; and

2) had the facility inspected and verified by the
Veterinary Division.

(e) No farmed cervid license shall be issued to any person in
possession of rehabilitative or non-farmed cervid.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0106
PERMIT

(a) Temporary exhibit permits shall not be issued for the buying,
selling, or production of farmed cervids.

TEMPORARY EXHIBIT

(b) A temporary exhibit permit shall only be issued for Reindeer
or Caribou.
(¢) Temporary exhibit permit applications shall be submitted to
the Veterinary Division. The application may be obtained from
the Veterinary Division by calling (919) 707-3250 or by emailing
farmedcervid@ncagr.gov. The contents of the application shall
include the following:

€8 The applicant's name;

2) The applicant's address;

3) The applicant's contact information, including
telephone numbers and email addresses;

@ The farm's name;

5) The farm's address;

(6) The farm's contact information, including

telephone numbers;

©) The date(s) of the exhibit;

®) The date of exhibit inspection by the Veterinary
Division, unless an exhibit facility plan was
previously approved and includes the date of
facility plan approval and approval number;

9 The purpose of the exhibit;

(10) The location of the exhibit, including the
county;

(11) The species to be exhibited,

(12) The sex, date of birth, species, and
identification number(s) for each cervid to be
exhibited;

(13) A statement from the applicant verifying the
information provided is accurate; and

(14) The applicant's signature.

(d) Temporary exhibit permits are only valid for the dates and
locations specified. Applicants shall apply to the Veterinary
Division:

) five business days prior to the date of exhibit if
the exhibitor previously submitted a detailed
exhibit facility plan that has been pre-approved
by the Veterinary Division. The detailed exhibit
facility plan shall include descriptions of how
the animals will be contained, the type of
fencing or containment utilized, whether the
public will be able to touch the animals,
whether the animals will move from a
containment area to a parade, and whether if
any physical restraints will be utilized, and
includes photographs or sketches of the display
and the display area; or

2) 60 days prior to the date of exhibit.

() The Veterinary Division shall only issue temporary exhibit
permits when the temporary exhibit area is inspected by the
Veterinary Division and meets the following criteria:

@9)] all farmed cervids to be exhibited are from a
certified herd and officially identified in
accordance with 02 NCACS52E—-0H2-and 9
C.F.R. 55.25;

2) the temporary exhibit enclosure, with the
exception for farmed cervids exhibited during
parades, shall:

(A) be an area of at least 10 feet by 10 feet;
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B) have fencing at least eight feet in
height with a ground clearance of no
greater than three inches and sufficient
in strength and stability to prevent

escape, unless the animals are
restrained to prevent escape;
© have an enclosure large enough to

ensure each animal has sufficient
room, based on the size and species of
the animal, to stand erect and lie
naturally; and
(D) have no exposed barbed wire, nails, or
other protrusions that may cause
injury to the animals shall be permitted
within the enclosure;
3) farmed cervids exhibited shall be secured so
that no farmed cervids may escape; and
4 the temporary exhibit complies with Aedin's
Law, G.S. 106-520.3A, and 02 NCAC 52K
when those laws and rules apply.
(f) All permit holders shall report any cervid escape, entry, or
death within 24 hours of discovery to the Veterinary Division in
accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0110.
(g) Circumstances or purposes for which a temporary exhibit
permit shall not be issued include:

(1) failing to submit a complete application;
2) submitting a falsified application;
3) for the purpose of holding non-farmed cervids

or farmed cervids that have been transported
without a transportation permit;

4) for the purpose of rehabilitating non-farmed
cervids;

5) for the purpose of commingling farmed and
non-farmed cervids; and

(6) to an individual under the age of 18 years of
age.

(h) Any person whose farmed cervid license or temporary exhibit
permit has been revoked or suspended shall not be issued a
temporary exhibit permit within the period during which the order
of revocation or suspension remains in effect.

(i) Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a
person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been revoked
or suspended and who is responsible for, participated in, or
worked for that person during the violation upon which the order
of revocation or suspension was based, shall not be issued a permit
for exhibits owned by his or her employer or exhibits in which he
or she worked for at the time of the revocation or suspension
within the period during which the order of revocation or
suspension remains in effect.

(j) No temporary exhibit permit shall be issued to any person in
possession of rehabilitative or non-farmed cervid.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L..0109 RECORDS AND INSPECTION
(a) Maintenance of Records.
(D) Each licensee shall maintain herd records for all
susceptible  species of farmed cervids,
regardless of whether tagged with animal

identification or not, as required by the USDA
Standards and 9 C.F.R. 55.23(b), and maintain
a copy of any documents related to susceptible
species of farmed cervids submitted to the
CWD Diagnostic Laboratory.
2 All records required by this Subchapter and any
ICVI as defined and required by 9 C.F.R. Part
86 shall be maintained by the licensee for a
period of five years.
(b) Inspection of Records. The licensee shall make all records
required under this Subchapter available for inspection and
copying by the Veterinary Division.
(c) Inspection and Inventory of Licensed Facility and Exhibit.
The licensee shall make all enclosures, exhibits, and any
susceptible species of farmed cervid available for inspection by
the Veterinary Division under conditions where all identification
on the animals may be safely read by the inspeeter- inspector
within a period of four hours. The licensee shall also make any
farmed cervid available for inspection to allow the Veterinary
Division to ascertain the species of any farmed cervid under the
same conditions. The licensee shall be responsible for all costs
incurred to present the animals for inspection and agree that any
liability or injury to the animals during handling rests with the
licensee.
(d) Fence Monitoring Requirement. The fence surrounding the
enclosure shall be monitored weekly for structural soundness and
stability by the licensee to prevent ingress and egress of any
cervid.
(e) Maintenance.
€8 Any opening or passage resulting from damage
or deterioration to the perimeter fence shall be
sealed by the licensee within 24 hours upon
detection or the animals secured until the fence
is repaired to prevent any farmed cervid escape.
2) Any damage to the enclosure fence that
threatens its stability shall be repaired by the
licensee within seven calendar days of
detection, or within 24 hours if there is an
imminent threat of farmed cervid escape.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0110 ESCAPE, DISAPPEARANCE, OR
BREACH OF FACILITY

(a) When a licensee discovers the escape or disappearance of any
farmed cervid, the licensee shall report the escape or
disappearance within 24 hours by contacting the Veterinary
Division by telephone at (919) 707-3250 or email at
farmedcervid@ncagr.gov.

) The report shall include for susceptible species
the identification numbers, species, sex, and
age of the animals involved and the estimated
time and date of escape or disappearance, and if
deceased, the estimated time and date of death.

2) A recaptured live farmed cervid shall be held in
quarantine by itself or with other escapees by
the licensee until the Veterinary Division
determines the disposition of the farmed cervid,
based on the risk of CWD transmission as a
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result of this escape. Failure to quarantine the
escaped farmed cervid to prevent commingling
with the herd shall result in the quarantine of the
entire herd.

3) The licensee shall be responsible for all costs
associated with CWD testing and disposal of
any escaped animal.

@) If live recapture is not possible, the licensee
shall harvest the escaped cervid if possible and
submit the deceased cervid to the Diagnostic
Laboratory for CWD testing.

(b) When a licensee discovers the entry of any non-farmed cervid
into the licensed facility, the licensee shall:

(1) Report the entry within 24 hours by contacting
the Veterinary Division by telephone or email
for further action or disposition of the non-
farmed cervid;

2) Obtain a wildlife depredation permit from the
North Carolina Wildlife Resources
Commission. Contact information can be found
at
http://www.ncwildlife.org/Licensing/Regulatio
ns/Nongame-and-Other-Regulations/Wildlife-
Depredation#5836327-wildlife-taken-with-a-
depredation-permit;

3) Take the non-farmed cervid in accordance with
the wildlife depredation permit; and

4 Submit the non-farmed cervid for CWD testing:
testing at no charge to the licensee.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0111 REPORTING CWD SYMPTOMS
AND FARMED CERVID DEATH
(a) CWD Symptom Reporting:

)(1) Each licensee shall notify the Veterinary
Division by telephone upon discovery if any
farmed cervid exhibits clinical symptoms of
CWD, including loss of body condition,
behavioral changes, excessive salivation,
increased drinking and urination, depression,
and eventual death. The Veterinary Division's
telephone number is (919) 707-3250.

5)(2) Farmed cervids that exhibit clinical symptoms
of CWD shall not be transported unless directed
by the Veterinary Division.

3 223

)(3) Regardless of age, the carcass of all farmed

cervids that exhibited clinical symptoms of

CWD shall be submitted to the Diagnostic

Laboratory for CWD testing unless instructed

otherwise by the Veterinary Division due to the

condition of the carcass.

6(4) In cases where animals escape or disappear and
are not available for tissue sampling and testing,
or when the samples are of such poor quality, as
determined in accordance with the USDA
Standards, including Part A 5-6)—Sample
Collection—Owner—Responsibility,—(57(5.3)
Sample Collection and Submission Procedures,
€5-9)—Quality —Centrol—(510)(5.4)
Consequences of Poor Quality and Missing
Samples, (6.4) Test Results, and (6.5)
Avtolyzed—Samples; Rejected Samples, that
they cannot be tested for CWD, the Veterinary
Division may investigate, in cases of repeated
unavailability of tissue sampling and testing,
whether the unavailability of animals or usable
samples for testing constitutes a failure to
comply with program requirements and may
affect the herd's status in the Herd Certification
Program.

€)(5) The Veterinary Division may require CWD
testing or quarantine, or both, at any facility if
the following circumstances or conditions
occur:

H(A) any herd or animal tested positive for
CWD within the facility;

2)(B) the facility received farmed cervid
from a facility that tested positive for
CWD within five years;

3)C) the facility may have been exposed to
any CWD positive or suspect farmed
cervid; or

(D) the facility transferred any farmed
cervid that tests positive for CWD
within five years of transfer.

(b) Reporting Death:

(@8] Licensees shall report to the Veterinary
Division using a form provided by the
Veterinary Division within 24 hours upon
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knowledge of the death of any susceptible
species of farmed cervid, including any
slaughtered susceptible species of farmed
cervid, whether sent to a slaughterhouse or
slaughtered at the farmed cervid facility for
personal use. The report form can be obtained
by contacting the Veterinary Division by
telephone or email at farmedcervid@ncagr.gov.

The report shall include the following

information:

(A) the licensee's name, mailing address,
telephone number, and email address;

(B) the licensee's facility name, address,
and national premises identification
number;

© the farmed cervid license number;

(D) the date of death;

(E) the species and sex of each susceptible
species of farmed cervid;

(F) the animal identification for each
susceptible species of farmed cervid;

(€3] the name and location of the

Diagnostic Laboratory where the

carcass of the susceptible specie of

farmed cervid is to be submitted for

CWD testing if testing is required; and
(H) a statement from the licensee verifying

the information provided is accurate.
The carcass of any known susceptible species
of farmed cervid that was 12 months of age or
older that died of any cause shall be submitted
by the licensee or the licensee's designee to the
Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing unless
instructed otherwise by the Veterinary Division
due to the condition of the carcass. Regardless
of whether a farmed cervid is required to be
tested or not, all deaths of susceptible species
are required to be reported.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0112

ANIMAL IDENTIFICATION

(a) Animal Identification Required.

(1

Q)

Licensees shall identify all susceptible species
of farmed cervid with—two—forms—of animal
identifieation in accordance with the USDA
Standards and 9 C.F.R. 55.25.

Susceptible species of farmed cervid Farmed
eervids born within a licensed facility shall be
officially identified on or before 12 months of
age. Fawns and calves of susceptible species

h3)

)(4)

shall be deemed a year old for purposes of the
rules in this Subchapter and shall be officially
identified by the first July 1 following their
birth, unless the farmed cervid licensee
maintains a record of the month and year the
calf or fawn was born.

All farmed cervids eervids;,regardless—of-age;
shall be officially identified before being
transported.

All susceptible species of farmed cervids shall
be identified and included in the inventory
report and records as required by 02 NCAC 52L
.0104(b) and 02 NCAC 52L .0109(a).

(b) Application for Animal Identification Tags.

@)

2

3

Applicants may request animal identification
tags from the Veterinary Division using a form
provided by the Veterinary Division, which can
be obtained by calling (919) 707-3250 or by
emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov, by
providing the following information:
(A) the applicant's name, mailing address,
telephone number, and email address;
(B) the licensed facility name, address,
and national premises identification
number;
©) the farmed cervid license number; and
(D) the species, sex, and birth year of the
farmed cervids.
The application shall be accompanied by a
statement from the licensee verifying that the
information provided is accurate.
The Veterinary Division may provide animal
identification tags, based on availability of
supplies, upon receipt of the completed
application.

(c) Replacement of Animal Identification Tags.

M
2

3

“

Lost Tags. The loss of a tag shall be reported to
the Veterinary Division by the licensee.
Unusable Tags. Tags that cannot be affixed to
the ear of a farmed cervid or unreadable
because of malformation or damage to the tags
shall be reported to the Veterinary Division by
the licensee.

Licensees may request replacement tags using
the same form as provided pursuant to
Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall include the
information required by Paragraph (b) of this
Rule. The Department may provide
replacement tags, based on availability of
supplies, upon receipt of the application.
Licensees shall update their records to reflect
any replacement of tags and notify the
Veterinary Division of the update when
submitting records during the license renewal
period.

If an animal identification is lost for any reason,
the licensee shall comply with the identification
requirements as soon as possible, but no later
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than the next annual inspection or prior to
transport, whichever is earlier.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0113 TRANSPORTATION PERMIT
(a) No person shall transport any farmed cervid within the State
unless that person first obtains a transportation permit from the
Veterinary Division.
(b) A transportation permit shall only be issued by the Veterinary
Division to an applicant to transport farmed cervids:

(1) from a Certified Herd;

2) not known to be susceptible to CWD; froema

herd Hed—i | NMoni I Herd

3) to and from a veterinary medical facility for
medical diagnosis or treatment;

@) to a slaughterhouse for slaughter;

(5) for export out of North Carolina, subject to 9
C.F.R.81.3;and

(6) for import into North Carolina, subject to 02

NCAC 52B .0213.

(c) All transportation permit applications shall be submitted to
the Veterinary Division using a form provided by the Veterinary
Division, which can be obtained by calling (919) 707-3250 or
emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov, except for transportation for
emergency veterinary treatment purposes in accordance with
Paragraph (h) of this Rule, and shall include the following
information:

(1) the applicant's name, mailing address,
telephone number, and email address;

2) the licensed facility or out-of-state facility
name, address, and national premises

identification number;
3) the farmed cervid license number or out-of-

statet CWD Herd Certification Program
identification number;

4) the species and sex of each farmed cervid;

%) the animal identification for each farmed
cervid;

(6) the destination name, address, telephone
number, and email address; and

@) the reason for the movement.

(d) Transportation permit applications shall include the following
information when applicable:

(D for any susceptible species of farmed cervid to
be moved for slaughter, the name and location
of the Diagnostic Laboratory where the carcass
of the farmed cervid is to be submitted for
CWD testing;

2) for transporting farmed cervids to an exhibit,
the exhibit permit number;

3) for importing farmed cervid into the State, a
copy of the ICVI as required by 9 C.F.R. Part
86; and

4 for importing into the State any CWD
susceptible farmed cervid, as identified by the
Veterinary Division or the USDA, a copy of the

negative antemortem CWD test result using a

method approved by the USDA.
(e) The transportation permit application shall be accompanied
by a statement from the applicant verifying that the information
provided is accurate.
() No €WD susceptible species of farmed cervids shall be
exported out of State unless the animals have reached Certified
status.
(g) Transportation permits shall be valid for 30 calendar days
unless otherwise stated on the permit.
(h) Emergency Veterinary Treatment. An applicant seeking to
transport any farmed cervid for veterinary treatment shall first
contact the Veterinary Division by telephone or email to seek
authorization. The telephone number is (919) 707-3250 and email
address is farmedcervid@ncagr.gov. At the time of the request,
the applicant shall provide to the Veterinary Division information
listed under Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
(1) No approval shall be issued for transportation of & susceptible
species of farmed cervid to a veterinary medical facility out-of-
state.
(j) Any verbal authorization from the Veterinary Division shall
only allow transportation of the farmed cervid to the specified
veterinary medical facility and directly back to the licensed
facility, and shall not be construed to permit intervening
destinations.
(k) Licensees shall notify the Veterinary Division in writing,
including the identification numbers of any farmed cervid not
transported in accordance with the transportation permit, within
seven calendar days after the expiration of the permit.
(1) Any person transporting any farmed cervid shall present the
transportation permit to any law enforcement officer or any
representative of the Department upon request, except that a
person transporting a farmed cervid by verbal authorization for
emergency veterinary treatment shall provide the Veterinary
Division's telephone number that the person contacted.
(m) The licensee shall be responsible for securing all farmed
cervids during transport so as to prevent escape.

Authority G.S. 106-307.5; 106-549.97(a2).
SECTION .0200 - ENCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS

02 NCAC 52L..0201 ENCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS
(a) The enclosure size for any farmed cervid, including any fawn
or calf, shall be at least half of one acre.
b} Pon densi . halll collows:

e, three—or—less—animals;—excluding—fawns—or

s h_additionalanimal_exchiding 6

)  afacility largerthantwo-acres-may-have-meore

£e)(b) Bodies of water and impassible areas shall not be counted
towards the minimum enclosure size or the area for pen density.
£é(c) The enclosure shall be surrounded by a fence:
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(D of sufficient strength and design to prevent
ingress or egress of both farmed and non-
farmed cervids under any circumstances;

2) be at least eight feet high; and

3) have a ground clearance of no greater than three
inches.

te)(d) Farmed cervids shall not be contained within or be allowed
to enter a place of residence, except for fawns or calves on a
temporary basis in the course of emergency veterinary treatment
in accordance with guidance from a licensed veterinarian.
Licensees shall be responsible for securing all farmed cervids so
as to prevent escape during transport or at the residence.

H(e) No exposed barbed wire, nails, or other protrusions that
may cause injury to the animals shall be permitted within the
enclosure.

€2)(f) If a person intends to maintain two or more separate herds,
that person shall maintain separate herd inventories, records,
working facilities, water sources, equipment, and land use. There
shall be a buffer zone of at least 30 feet between the perimeter
fencing around separate herds, and no commingling of animals
shall occur. Movement of animals between herds shall be
recorded as if they were separately owned herds.

(g) All additional farmed cervid enclosures added after a farmed
cervid license has been issued shall first be inspected by
NCDA&CS and comply with the enclosure requirements of this
Section prior to the housing of any farmed cervids.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).
SECTION .0300 - ENFORCEMENT

02 NCAC 52L .0301 LICENSE OR PERMIT
REVOCATION, FORFEITURE, AND DEPOPULATION
(a) The Veterinary Division may take one or more of the
following actions based on the nature of the violation against any
person for failure to comply with the requirements of G.S. 106-
549.97,9 C.F.R. Part 55, 9 C.F.R. Part 81, the USDA Standards,
or this Subchapter:

(1) issue warnings;

(2) revoke any license or permit issued under this
Subchapter;

3) cancel the enrollment in the Herd Certification
Program; or

4) reduce the status of a herd in accordance with

02 NCAC 52L .0401(g).

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Veterinary
Division may direct the disposition of any farmed cervid in
possession by a person without a valid farmed cervid license or
permit in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule and may
order any farmed cervid brought into this State illegally be
quarantined, tested for CWD, or terminated, or any combination
thereof.

(c) Violations of this Subchapter include the following
circumstances or conditions:

(1) providing inaccurate or false information to the
Veterinary Division;

(2) failing to comply with animal identification
requirements;

3) failing to comply with facility enclosure and
maintenance requirements;

4 failing to comply with monitoring or record-
keeping requirements;

5) failing to allow the Veterinary Division to
inspect any facility, farmed cervid, or record,;

(6) failing to report the death, escape, or
disappearance, of any farmed cervid; or

7N failing to submit deceased farmed cervid for
CWD testing.

(d) The Veterinary Division may revoke a farmed cervid license
or temporary exhibit permit, or both, under any of the following
circumstances or conditions:

€Y The farmed cervid licensee or temporary
exhibit permit holder fails to report symptoms
of chronic wasting disease in a farmed cervid to
the Veterinary Division as required by 02
NCAC 52L .0111;

2) The farmed cervid licensee or temporary
exhibit permit holder fails to transport and
submit a farmed cervid carcass to a Diagnostic
Laboratory for CWD testing as required by 02
NCAC 52L .0111; or

3) The farmed cervid licensee or temporary
exhibit permit holder has transported any
farmed cervid without a permit in accordance
with 02 NCAC 52L .0113.

(e) Disposition of Farmed Cervid.

) In the event of decommissioning a facility, all
farmed cervids shall be disposed of by the
owner in one or more of the following manners:

(A) sell or otherwise transfer ownership
and possession of any farmed cervid;
B) export out of state any farmed cervid;
or
©) terminate any remaining farmed
cervid.
2) In the event the Veterinary Division directed

the disposition of any farmed cervid and the
owner refuses to comply, the Veterinary
Division may terminate the farmed cervid, with
costs to be paid by the owner.

3) The release of any farmed cervid to the wild by

any person witheut—autherization—by—the

VeterinaryDivision-shall is be prohibited.
(f) Disposal of Dead Farmed Cervids.
(D Licensees shall be responsible for the disposal

of any dead farmed cervid -carcass in
accordance with applicable laws and
regulations and the costs associated with
disposal.

2) The carcass of farmed cervids that have been
designated by the Department as CWD-
positive, exposed, or suspect shall be disposed
of in accordance with the USDA Standards,
Part B (4-DSuitable Dispesal Metheds; (7)

Carcass Disposal, and using one of options

provided under the USDA Standards; Appendix
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3)

or-Ammals-of Unknown-Status: Standards.
The carcass of farmed cervids that have not
been designated by the Department as CWD-
positive, exposed, or suspect may be disposed
of in accordance with 02 NCAC 52C .0102.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

SECTION .0400 - HERD CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS

02 NCAC 52L .0401

NORTH CAROLINA FARMED

CERVID HERD CERTIFICATION PROGRAM
(a) Scope. This Rule shall only apply to ©WD-suseeptible

susceptible species of farmed cervids.

(b) Enrollment Qualifications.

(1)

2)

Only applicants that have a valid farmed cervid
license or have applied for one shall be eligible
to have herds enrolled in the Herd Certification
Program.

Applicants shall comply with all farmed cervid
license requirements and rules in this
Subchapter in order to have herds enrolled and
remain in the Herd Certification Program.

(c) Enrollment Application.

(1

)

Persons who possess any ©WD-suseeptible

susceptible species of farmed cervid in the State
shall apply with the Veterinary Division to have
herds enrolled in the Herd Certification
Program, if not already enrolled.
The Veterinary Division shall determine the
herd's enrollment eligibility and compliance
with all farmed cervid license rules, and may
request additional information regarding the
herd animals and operations, such as laboratory
reports, movement permits, animal species, and
slaughter records to verify the origination of the
animals and their status.

The Veterinary Division shall deny enrollment

if:

(A) the applicant submits an incomplete
farmed cervid license application;

(B) the applicant has provided false
information;

© the applicant fails to provide
additional information requested by
the Veterinary Division;

(D) the applicant previously violated State
or Federal laws or regulations for
livestock or non-farmed cervids, and
the State Veterinarian determines,
based on his or her experience, that the
nature of the violation indicates that
the applicant may not comply with the
requirements of the Herd Certification
Program,;

(E) the herd to be enrolled has been
designated as CWD-positive, exposed,
or suspect by the Veterinary Division

$H3)

or by an APHIS employee, and has not
yet entered into a valid herd plan;

(F) any pending or outstanding citation
exists against the applicant;

(G) the applicant has failed to comply with
any farmed cervid license
requirement; or

H) the applicant refuses inspection by the
Veterinary Division in accordance
with Paragraph (i) of this Rule.

Upon determining that a herd is eligible to

participate in the Herd Certification Program in

accordance with Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this

Rule, the Veterinary Division shall send the

applicant a notice of enrollment of the herd's

enrollment date.

(d) Enrollment Dates. The enrollment date for a herd that joins
the North Carolina Herd Certification Program after August 13,
2012, shall be the date the herd is approved for participation upon
inspection except:

M

2

3

&

For new herds that were formed from and
contain only animals from herds enrolled in an
Approved State CWD Herd Certification
Program, the enrollment date shall be the latest
enrollment date for any source herd for the
animals;

The first day that the herd participated in any
state program that APHIS at a later date
determines qualifies as an Approved State
CWD Herd Certification Program; or

1 the herd-was-enroledin-the MenitoredHerd
CertificationProgram;-then-the-enrellment date
shall—be—the—same—as—the Menitored—Herd
~ertification P 1 late subi

Any other exception provided under 9 C.F.R.
55.22(b).

(e) Initial and Subsequent Herd Status.

@)

2

When a herd is first enrolled in the Herd

Certification Program, it shall be placed in the

First Year status, unless the herd is composed

only of animals animals:

A obtained from herds already enrolled
in the Herd Certification Program, or
another USDA approved state CWD
herd certification program, the newly
enrolled herd shall have the same
status as the lowest status of any herd
that provided animals for the new
herd. herd;-or

By enroled—in—the —Meonitored—Herd
ostificati I 4 |

If the herd continues to meet the requirements
of this Subchapter, each year, on the
anniversary of the enrollment date, the herd
status shall be upgraded by one year as follows:
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3)

(A) First Year — starts on enrollment date
of the herd in the CWD Herd
Certification Program.

(B) Second Year — starts on the
anniversary date of the First Year.

©) Third Year — starts on the anniversary
date of the Second Year.

(D) Fourth Year — starts on the anniversary
date of the Third Year.

(E) Fifth Year — starts on the anniversary
date of the Fourth Year.

One year from the date a herd is placed in Fifth

Year status, the herd status shall be changed to

Certified, and the herd shall remain in Certified

status as long as it is enrolled in the program,

provided its status is not lost or suspended.

(f) Loss or Suspension of Herd Status.

(1)

2)

)

If the Veterinary Division determines that
animals from a herd enrolled in the Herd
Certification Program have commingled with
animals from a herd with a lower program
status, ineluding CWD-nen-suseeptible farmed
eervids; the herd with the higher program status
shall be reduced to the status of the herd with
which its animals commingled.

If a herd is designated a CWD-positive herd or

a CWD-exposed herd by the Veterinary

Division, it shall upon designation lose its

program status and may only reenroll after

entering into a herd plan.

If a herd is designated a CWD-suspect herd, a

trace back herd, or a trace forward herd by the

Veterinary Division, it shall upon designation

be placed in Suspended status pending an

epidemiologic investigation by the Veterinary

Division in accordance with the USDA

Standards. If the epidemiologic investigation:

(A) determines that the herd was not
commingled with a CWD-positive
animal, the herd shall be reinstated to
its former program status, and the time
spent in Suspended status shall count
toward its promotion to the next herd
status level;

(B) determines that the herd was
commingled with a CWD-positive
animal, the herd shall lose its program
status and shall be designated a CWD-
exposed herd;

©) is unable to make a determination
regarding the exposure of the herd,
because the necessary animal or
animals are no longer available for
testing (i.e., a trace animal from a
known positive herd died and was not
tested) or for other reasons, the herd
status shall continue as Suspended
until a herd plan is developed for the
herd in accordance with its definition

under 9 C.F.R. 55.1 and the USDA
Standards, Part B. Guidance on
Responding to CWD Affected Herds.
If a herd plan is developed and
implemented, the herd shall be
reinstated to its former program status,
and the time spent in Suspended status
shall count toward its promotion to the
next herd status level. If the
epidemiological investigation finds
that the licensee of the herd has not
complied with the rules of this
Subchapter for animal identification,
animal testing, and recordkeeping, the
herd shall be reinstated into the Herd
Certification Program at the First Year
status level, with a new enrollment
date set at the date the herd entered
into Suspended status. Any herd
reinstated after being placed in
Suspended status shall then comply
with the requirements of the herd plan
as well as the requirements of the Herd
Certification Program. The herd plan
shall require testing of all animals that
die in the herd for any reason,
regardless of the age of the animal;
whenever it is required by federal law,
may require movement restrictions for
animals in the herd based on
epidemiologic evidence regarding the
risk posed by the animals in question;
and whenever it is required by federal
law, may include other requirements
found necessary to control the risk of
spreading CWD.

(g) Cancellation of Enrollment and Reduction of Herd Status.

(1

2

3)

A licensee may cancel participation of any herd
in the Herd Certification Program by
surrendering the licensee's farmed cervid
license in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0108
and by decommissioning the facility in
accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0301(e)(1).
The Veterinary Division may cancel the
enrollment or reduce the herd status of an
enrolled herd after determining that the licensee
failed to comply with any rule of this
Subchapter, by giving written notice to the
licensee of the reasons for the cancellation or
reduction in status.

To appeal the designation of an animal as
CWD-positive, cancellation of enrollment of a
herd, or loss or suspension of herd status, the
procedures set forth under 9 CFR 55.24(c) shall
govern.

(h) Adding Animals to Existing Herd.

(M

A herd may add animals from herds with the
same or a higher herd status with no negative
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impact on the -certification status of the
receiving herd.

2) If animals are acquired from a herd with a lower
herd status, inelading—CWD—nen-susceptible
speeies; the receiving herd shall revert to the
program status of the sending herd.

3) If a herd participating in the Herd Certification
Program  acquires animals from a
nonparticipating herd, the receiving herd shall
revert to First Year status with a new enrollment
date as the date of acquisition of the animal.

(i) Inspection. If an inspection of any farmed cervid is needed as
a part of enrollment, including reinstating a suspended status, the
licensee shall be responsible for assembling, handling, and
restraining the farmed cervids. The licensee shall be responsible
for all costs incurred to present the animals for inspection and
agree that any liability or injury to the animals during handling
rests with the licensee in accordance with the USDA Standards,
24)(2.1) Participating Herd: Requirements for Enrollment.

(J)_A licensee may commingle non-susceptible species of farmed
cervid with susceptible species of farmed cervid without effecting
the herd status of the susceptible species. This exception shall not
apply to non-farmed cervids or to non-susceptible species that are
later determined by the Department to be CWD susceptible.

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

02 NCAC 52L .0402 NORTH CAROLINA
MONITORED HERD CERTIFICATION PROGRAM

Authority G.S. 106-549.97(a2).

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-
21.34(c)(2)g. that the Medical Care Commission intends to
readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 104 NCAC
13B 3801, .3903, 4103, .4104, .5408, readopt without
substantive changes the rules cited as 104 NCAC 13B .4106,
4305, 4603, 4801, .4805, .5102, .5105, .5406, and repeal
through readoption the rule cited as 104 NCAC 13B .5411.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless
the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are
available on the OAH website at
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed
for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be
published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ruleactions. html

Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2022

Public Hearing:

Date: January 5, 2022

Time: 70:00 a.m.

Location: By teleconference using telephone number 1-877-848-
7030; Access code: 5133201

Reason for Proposed Action: Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34,
Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are
reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result
of the periodic review of Subchapter 104 NCAC 13B, Licensing
of Hospitals, these 14 proposed readoption rules were part of the
40 rules determined as “Necessary With Substantive Public
Interest,” requiring readoption. Five rules are proposed for
readoption with substantive changes to update standard of
practice, revise requirements and clarify language, address Rules
Review Commission historical objections, add references to
General Statutes, add and update references to NC Administrative
Code rules, and address technical changes. Eight rules are
proposed for readoption without substantive changes to address
technical changes and clarify language, reorganize format of rule
text, update agency names and NC Administrative Code rule
references in the rules. One rule is proposed for repeal due to
requirements being addressed in another rule in the Subchapter,
therefore the rule is no longer necessary.

Comments may be submitted to: Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles
Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email
DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

4 I

CHAPTER 13 - NC MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

SUBCHAPTER 13B — LICENSING OF HOSPITALS
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PROPOSED RULES

SECTION .3800 - NURSING SERVICES

10A NCAC 13B .3801 NURSE EXECUTIVE

(a) Whether the facility utilizes a centralized or decentralized
organizational structure, a nurse executive shall be responsible for
the coordination of nursing organizational functions.

(b) A nurse executive shall develop facility wide patient care
programs, pelieies policies, and procedures that describe how the
nursing care needs of patients are assessed, met met, and
evaluated.

(c) The nurse executive shall develop and adopt, subject to the
approval of the facility, a set of administrative policies and
procedures to establish a framework to accomplish required
functions.

(d) There shall be scheduled meetings; meetings atleast every 60
days; days of the members of the nursing staff to evaluate the
quality and efficiency of nursing services. Minutes of these
meetings shall be maintained.

(e) The nurse executive shall be responsible for:

(1) the development of a written organizational
plan  which describes the levels of
accountability and responsibility within the
nursing organization;

2) identification of standards and policies and
procedures related to the delivery of nursing
care;

3) planning for and the evaluation of the delivery
of nursing care delivery system;

4 establishment of a mechanism to validate
qualifications, knowledge, and skills of nursing
personnel;

5) provision of orientation and educational

opportunities related to expected nursing

performanee; performance and maintenance of
records pertaining thereto;

(6) implementation of a system for performance
evaluation;
@) provision of nursing care services in

conformance with the Nerth-CarelinaNursing
PracticeAet; G.S. 90-171.20(7) and G.S. 90-

171.20(8);
(8) assignment of nursing staff to clinical or
managerial  responsibilities based upon

educational preparation, in conformance with
licensing laws and an assessment of current
competence; and

) staffing nursing units with saffieient personnel
in accordance with a written plan- plan of care
to meet the needs of the patients.

Authority G.S. 131E-75(b); 131E-79.
SECTION .3900 - MEDICAL RECORD SERVICES

10A NCAC 13B .3903
RECORDS

(a) The manager of medical records service shall maintain
medical records, whether original, computer media, or microfilm,

PRESERVATION OF MEDICAL

for a—minimum-of 11 years following the discharge of an adult
patient.
(b) The manager of medical records shall maintain medical
records of a patient who is a minor until the patient's 30th
birthday.
(c) If a hospital discontinues operation, its management shall
make known to the Division where its records are stored. Records
shall be stored in a business offering retrieval services for atleast
11 years after the closure date.
(&) ’ ; TRETgvepuo I .

) pet ; t ent. . .
f . i 1 .

) . . ) pe
i; I'I'i‘ﬁl C the facility.

¢e)(d) The manager of medical records may authorize the
microfilming of medical records. Microfilming may be done on
or off the premises. If done off the premises, the facility shall
provide for the confidentiality and safekeeping of the records. The
original of microfilmed medical records shall not be destroyed
until the medical records department has had an opportunity to
review the processed film for content.

H(e) Nothing in this Section shall be construed to prohibit the
use of automation in the medical records service, provided that all
of the provisions in this Rule are met and the information is
readily available for use in patient care.

)(f) Only personnel authorized by state State laws and Health
Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
regulations shall have access to medical records. Where the
written authorization of a patient is required for the release or
disclosure of health information, the written authorization of the
patient or authorized representative shall be maintained in the
original record as authority for the release or disclosure.

)(g) Medical records are the property of the hospital, and they
shall not be removed from the facility jurisdiction except through
a court order. Copies shall be made available for authorized
purposes such as insurance claims and physician review.

Authority G.S. 99-2120B; 131E-75(b); 131E-79; 131E-97.
SECTION .4100 - EMERGENCY SERVICES

10A NCAC 13B .4103
SERVICES

(a) Any ef-any facility providing emergency services shall
establish and maintain policies requiring apprepriate medical
screening, treatment and transfer services for any individual who
presents to the facility emergency department and on whose
behalf treatment is requested regardless of that person's ability to
pay for medical services and without delay to inquire about the
individual's method of payment.

(b) Any facility providing emergency services under the rules of
this Section shall install, eperate operate, and maintain, on a 24-
hour per day basis, an emergency two-way radio lieensed-by-the

PROVISION OF EMERGENCY

Serviee capable of establishing accessing the North Carolina
Voice Interoperability Plan for Emergency Responders (VIPER)
radio network for voice radie communication with ambulance
units EMS providers transporting patients to said the facility or
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b
squad—or—other—trained—medieal or provide on-line medical

direction for EMS personnel.
(c) All communication equipment shall be in compliance with

euﬁem the rules es{-&bhshed—b{yLNeﬁh—G&Fehna—Rbﬁes—fer—Baﬁe

set forth in 10A NCAC 13P, Emergency Medical Services and

Trauma Rules.
Authority G.S. 131E-75(b); 131E-79.

10A NCAC 13B 4104 MEDICAL DIRECTOR

(a) The governing body shall establish the qualifications, duties,

and authority of the director of emergency services. Appointments

shall be recommended by the medical staff and approved by the

governing body.

(b) The medical staff credentials committee shall approve the

mechanism for emergency privileges for physicians employed for

brief periods of time such as evenings, weekends weekends, or

holidays.

(c) Level I and II emergency services shall be directed and

supervised by a physician—with-experience—inemergency—eare:

physician.

(d) Level III services shall be directed and supervised by a

physiet 1 & 5. roug .
prnat; hall " : fical s,

physician.

Authority G.S. 131E-75(b); 131E-79; 131E-85(a).

10A NCAC 13B .4106 POLICIES AND PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)
SECTION .4300 - MATERNAL - NEONATAL SERVICES
10A NCAC 13B 4305 ORGANIZATION OF

NEONATAL SERVICES (READOPTION WITHOUT
SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .4600 - SURGICAL AND ANESTHESIA
SERVICES

10A NCAC 13B .4603 SURGICAL AND ANESTHESIA
STAFF (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE
CHANGES)

SECTION .4800 - DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING

10A NCAC 13B .4801 ORGANIZATION
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

10A NCAC 13B 4805 SAFETY (READOPTION
WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .5100 - INFECTION CONTROL

10A NCAC13B .5102 POLICY AND PROCEDURES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

10A NCAC 13B .5105 STERILE SUPPLY SERVICES
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

SECTION .5400 - COMPREHENSIVE INPATIENT
REHABILITATION

10A NCAC 13B .5406 DISCHARGE CRITERIA FOR
INPATIENT REHABILITATION FACILITIES OR UNITS
(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES)

10A NCAC 13B .5408 COMPREHENSIVE INPATIENT
REHABILITATION PROGRAM STAFFING
REQUIREMENTS
(a) The staff of the inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall
inelude-ata-minimum: include:
)] the inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall
be supervised by a rehabilitation nurse- nurse as
defined in Rule .5401 of this Section. The

facility shall identifir—the—nursing—skills
| s of the rehabilitati
patients-in-the-unit-and assign staff qualified to

meet those needs;

2 the minimum nursing hours per patient in the
rehabilitation unit shall be 5.5 nursing hours per
patient day. At no time shall direct care nursing
staff be less than two full-time equivalents, one
of which must be a registered nurse;

3) the inpatient rehabilitation unit shall employ or
provide by contractual agreements suffieient
therapist to provide a-minimum-of three hours
of specific (physical, occupational or speech) or
combined rehabilitation therapy services per
patient day;

“) physical therapy assistants and occupational
therapy assistants shall be supervised on-site by
physical therapists or occupational therapists;

®)] rehabilitation aides shall have documented
training appropriate to the activities to be
performed and the occupational licensure laws
of his or her supervisor. The overall
responsibility for the on-going supervision and
evaluation of the rehabilitation aide remains
with the registered nurse as identified in
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. Supervision
by the physical therapist or by the occupational
therapist is limited to that time when the
therapist is on-site and directing the
rehabilitation activities of the aide; and

(6) hours of service by the rehabilitation aide are
counted toward the required nursing hours
when the aide is working under the supervision
of the nurse. Hours of service by the
rehabilitation aide are counted toward therapy
hours during that time the aide works under the
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immediate, on-site supervision of the physical
therapist or occupational therapist. Hours of
service shall not be dually counted for both
services. Hours of service by rehabilitation
aides in performing nurse-aide duties in areas of
the facility other than the rehabilitation unit
shall not be counted toward the 5.5 hour
minimum nursing requirement described for the
rehabilitation unit.

(b) Additional personnel shall be provided as required to meet the

needs of the patient, as defined in the comprehensive inpatient

rehabilitation evaluation.

Authority G.S. 131E-75(b); 131E-79.

10A NCAC 13B .5411 PHYSICAL FACILITY
REQUIREMENTS/INPATIENT REHABILITATION
FACILITIES OR UNIT

Authority G.S. 131E-79.

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209-
L0214, .0226, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0238, .0242, .0244, .0404,
.0417; 09G .0414-.0416.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-
Justice/forms-and-publications/

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Public Hearing:

Date: February 14, 2022

Time: /0:00 a.m.

Location: Teleconference 1-888-808-6929 Access code:
4508949

Reason for Proposed Action: 7o allow the Criminal Justice
Standards Division, Director the ability to allow breaks in
Commission course training during a State of Emergency when
considering specific factors.

Comments may be submitted to: Charminique D. Williams,
1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602, phone (919) 779-
8206, email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

(I | |

CHAPTER 09 - CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND
TRAINING STANDARDS

SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL
JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND
TRAINING

SECTION .0200 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL
JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF
INSTRUCTION

12 NCAC 09B .0202
SCHOOL DIRECTOR
(a) In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each
Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School
Director shall:

(N Formalize and schedule the course curriculum
in accordance with the curriculum standards
established in this Subchapter;

2) Select and schedule instructors who are
certified by the Commission;

3) Provide each instructor with a current
Commission course outline and all necessary
additional  information  concerning the
instructor's duties and responsibilities;

4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall
comply with the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide and
provide him or her access to the most current
version of the Course Management Guide;

®)] Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission
approved lesson plans and instructional
materials;

(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate
audiovisual aids and materials, publications,
facilities, and equipment for training in all topic

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE

36:12
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®)
)

(10)

(11)

determined by the school to be necessary or

appropriate for:

(A) effective course delivery;

(B) establishing  responsibilities  and
obligations of agencies or departments
employing or sponsoring course
trainees; and

© regulating trainee participation and
demeanor, ensuring trainee
attendance, and maintaining

performance records;
If appropriate, recommend housing and dining
facilities for trainees;
Administer the course delivery in accordance
with Commission approved lesson plans and
course management guides;
Maintain direct supervision, direction, and
control over the performance of all persons to
whom any portion of the planning,
development, presentation, or administration of
a coursc has been delegated. The
comprehensive final examination shall be
administered by the Criminal Justice Education
and Training Standards Commission; and
Report the completion of each presentation of a
Commission-certified criminal justice training
course to the Commission, utilizing forms
required for submission, which are located on
the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-
enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-
and-publications/.

(b) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School

Director shall:

(1)

)

Deliver training in accordance with the most
current version of the Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course Management Guide as
published by the North Carolina Justice
Academy;
Schedule course presentation to include 12
hours of instruction each week during
consecutive calendar weeks, except that there
may be as many as three one-week breaks until
course requirements are completed; if the
Governor declares a State of Emergency
pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of
the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall
allow additional breaks in a specific course
delivery when the Director determines that
doing so is necessary based on consideration of
the following factors:

(A) Whether instruction has begun in the
course or whether course initiation
may be postponed;

(B) The risk of harm to students which
may be caused by continuation of the
course;

3

“

6))

(6)

O]

®)

(@) Whether those enrolled in the course
have been or will likely be called to
action to help address the State of
Emergency;

D) The specific need for the waiver; and

(E) The degree of benefit to the public in
allowing a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the
Section shall be posted on the CJETS website
https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted
pursuant to this Section shall only apply to
courses which began during the effective period
of the State of Emergency.

Schedule only specialized instructors certified

by the Commission to teach those high-liability

areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this

Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as

assistant instructors or role players;

With the exception of the First Responder,

Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous

Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule

.0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one

specialized instructor certified by the

Commission for every six trainees while

engaged in a practical performance exercise;

Schedule one specialized instructor certified by

the Commission for every eight trainees while

engaged in a practical performance exercise in
the topical area "Subject Control Arrest

Techniques"

Schedule no single individual to instruct more

than 35 percent of the total hours of the

curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic

Law Enforcement Training Course

presentation;

Not less than 30 days before commencing

delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement

Training Course, submit to the Commission a

Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course

Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211.

The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall

indicate a requested date and location for the

administration of the State comprehensive
exam, and include the following attachments:

(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments; and

(B) a copy of any rules and requirements

for the school. A copy of those rules
shall also be given to each trainee and
to the executive officer of each
trainee's employing or sponsoring
agency or department at the time the
trainee enrolls in the course;

Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by

the Commission to monitor, a presentation of

each instructor once during each three year

36:12
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)

(10)

certification period in each topic taught by the
instructor and prepare a written evaluation on
the instructor's performance and suitability for
subsequent instructional assignments. The
observations shall be of sufficient duration to
ensure that the instructor is wusing the
Instructional System Design model, and that the
delivery is objective-based, documented by,
and consistent with a Commission-approved
lesson plan. For each topic area, the School
Director's evaluation shall be based upon the
course delivery observations, the instructor's
use of the approved lesson plan, and the results
of the student evaluations of the instructor. For
probationary instructors, the evaluations
conducted by another instructor shall be
prepared on the Criminal Justice Instructor
Evaluation (Form F-16) and forwarded to the
Commission. Based on this evaluation, the
School Director shall recommend approval or
denial of requests for General Instructor
Certification. For all other instructors, these
evaluations shall be prepared on the Criminal
Justice Instructor Evaluation (Form F-16), be
kept on file by the school for a period of three
years, and shall be made available for
inspection by a representative of the
Commission upon request. In the event the
evaluation of an instructor indicates that his or
her performance was less than acceptable, the
School Director shall forward a copy of the
evaluation to the Commission. Any instructor
who is evaluating the instructional presentation
of another instructor shall hold certification in
the same instructional topic area as that for
which the instructor is being evaluated;

Administer or designate a staff person to

administer course specific tests during course

delivery:

(A) to determine and record the level of
trainee comprehension and retention
of instructional subject matter;

(B) to provide a basis for a final
determination or recommendation
regarding the minimum degree of
knowledge and skill of each trainee to
function as an inexperienced law
enforcement officer; and

©) to determine subject or topic areas of
deficiency for the application of Rule
.0405(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and

Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a

school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement

Training, submit to the Commission a Post-

Delivery Report of Training Course

Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include:

(A) a "Student Course Completion" form
for each individual enrolled on the day
of orientation;

B) a "Certification and Test Score
Release" form;

© the "Police Officer Physical Ability
Test (POPAT) Post-Course" final
form; and

(D) the orientation class enrollment roster.

(¢) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the
School Director shall:

(M
2

3)

“4)

Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule

.0209 of this Subchapter;
Schedule evaluators as follows:
(A) each evaluator, as well as the

instructors, shall have completed a
Commission-certified instructor
training course or an equivalent
instructor training course utilizing the
Instructional Systems Design model,
an  international model  with
applications in education, military
training, and private enterprise; and
(B) each instructor and evaluator shall
document successful participation in a
program presented by the North
Carolina  Justice Academy for
purposes of familiarization and
supplementation relevant to delivery
of the instructor training course and
trainee evaluation;
Not fewer than 30 days before commencing
delivery of the course, submit to the
Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training
Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with
the following attachments:

(A) a course schedule showing the
arrangement of topical presentations
and proposed instructional
assignments;

(B) the names and last four digits of the
social security numbers of all
instructors and evaluators; and

© a copy of any rules and requirements
for the school; and

Not more than 10 days after course completion,

submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery

Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the

following:

(A) class enrollment roster;

(B) a course schedule with the designation
of instructors and evaluators utilized
in delivery;

(©) scores recorded for each trainee on the
70 minute skill presentation; and

(D) designation of trainees who completed

the course in its entirety and whom the
School Director finds to be competent
to instruct.
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(d) In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning,
developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-
certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance,
or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall:

(1) select and schedule speed measurement
instrument instructors who are certified by the
Commission as instructors for the specific
speed measurement instruments in which the
trainees are to receive instruction as follows:
(A) provide to the instructor the

Commission form(s) for motor skill
examination on each trainee;

(B) require the instructor to complete the
motor skill examination form on each
trainee indicating the level of
proficiency obtained on each specific
instrument; and

© require each instructor to sign each
individual form and submit the
original to the School Director;

2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled
starting date, submit to the Director of the
Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of
Speed  Measuring  Instrument  Course
Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall
contain a period of course delivery including
the proposed starting date, course location,
requested date and location for the
administration of the State exam, and the
number of trainees to be trained on each type of
approved speed measurement instrument. The
Director of the Standards Division shall review
the request and notify the School Director
within thirty business days if the request is
approved or denied; and

3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-
certified course, and not more than 10 days after
the conclusion of a school's offering of a
certifitd RADAR, RADAR and Time-
Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed
measurement operator training course or re-
certification course, the School Director shall
notify the Commission regarding the progress
and achievements of each trainee by submitting
a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course
Presentation [Form F-10B (SMI)]. This report
shall include the original motor-skill
examination form(s) completed and signed by
the certified instructor responsible for
administering the motor-skill examination to
the respective trainee.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0209 CRIMINAL JUSTICE
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor
certification shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom

instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises,
student presentations, and post testing presented during a period
of no more than 15 business days. If the Governor declares a State
of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the
Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks
in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that
doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following
factors:

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called on action to help address
the State of Emergency;

4 The specific need for the waiver; and

%) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions
of a criminal justice instructor.

(c) Each Instructor Training course shall include the following
identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each
area:

€8 Orientation and Pre-Test 1 Hour
2 Instructional Systems Design (ISD)
5 Hours
3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and
Legal Responsibilities 2 Hours
4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership
4 Hours
®)] Lesson Plan  Preparation:  Professional
Resources 2 Hours
(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting
3 Hours
@) Adult Learning 2 Hours

®) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills

5 Hours
9) Classroom Management 3 Hours
(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical

Exercises 3 Hours

(1) The Evaluation Process of Learning

4 Hours
(12) Audio Visual Aids 5 Hours
(13) Course Closing and Post-test 1 Hour

(14) Completion of tasks associated with practical
exercises, student presentations, and post
testing; the number of hours required to
complete this portion of the curriculum shall be
based on the number of enrolled students,
available facilities, and number of instructors.

(d) The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor
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training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from
the Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0210
TRAINING COURSE
(a) The radar instructor training course shall be designed to
provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently
perform the function of a criminal justice radar instructor. This
course shall be for a period not to exceed six consecutive weeks.
If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S.
166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards
Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery
when the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on
consideration of the following factors:

[@0)] Whether instruction has begun in the course or

RADAR INSTRUCTOR

curriculum for the radar instructor training course for radar
instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(e) Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the
"Radar Instructor Training Course" are: The North Carolina
Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0211

TRAINING COURSE
(a) The time-distance instructor training course shall be designed
to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently
perform the function of a time-distance instructor. This course
shall be for a period not to exceed eight consecutive weeks. If the
Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-

TIME-DISTANCE INSTRUCTOR

whether course initiation may be postponed;
2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;
3 Whether those enrolled in the course have been

19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division

shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when
the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on

consideration of the following factors:

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
“4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) The radar instructor training course required for radar
instructor certification shall include the topic areas and minimum
number of hours as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training
Course. To qualify for radar instructor certification, an applicant
shall meet the requirements as outlined in the Radar Instructor
Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B
.0408 and .0409.
(c) Each applicant for radar instructor training shall:
(1) Present the endorsement of a
Commission-recognized school director or
agency executive officer or his designee.

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;

4 The specific need for the waiver; and

%) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Each applicant for the time-distance speed measurement
instrument instructor training course shall meet the requirements
of 12 NCAC 09B .0210(c)(1) and (2) and 12 NCAC 09B .0309.
The time-distance instructor training course required for time-
distance instructor certification shall include the topic areas and
minimum number of hours as outlined in the Time-Distance

2) Possess full criminal justice general instructor  Instructor Training Course. To qualify for time-distance instructor
certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined
.0302. in the Time-Distance Instructor Training Course and meet the

3) Possess a current and valid radar operator  requirement of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409.
certification. (c) The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published
(d) The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic
North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the criminal justice time-distance speed
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measurement instrument instructor training course for
time-distance speed measurement instructors as administered by
the Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at
the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(d) Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the
"Time Distance Instructor Training Course" are: The North
Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0212 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR RADAR OPERATORS
(a) The radar operator training course for law enforcement
officers shall be
designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
proficiently perform the function of a law enforcement radar
operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four
consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency
ursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal
Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a
specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing
s0 is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:
a Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;
2) The risk of harm to students which may be

course and without being currently certified in a probationary
status or hold general law enforcement certification. The radar
operator training course required for radar operator certification
shall include but not be limited to the topic areas and minimum
number of hours as outlined in the Radar Operator Training
Course. To qualify for radar operator certification, an applicant
shall meet the minimum requirements as outlined in the Radar
Operator Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC
09B .0408 and .0409.
(c) The "Radar Operator Training Course" as published by the
North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic
curriculum for the radar operator training course for radar
operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice

114 West Edenton Street

Old Education Building

Post Office Drawer 149

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0213 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS

(a) The radar/time-distance operator training course for law
enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with
the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a
radar/time-distance operator. This course shall be for a period not
to exceed four consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State
of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the

caused by continuation of the course;
[€)) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks
in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that

or will likely be called to action to help address

doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following

the State of Emergency;
“4) The specific need for the waiver; and
(&) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency shall be enrolled in the radar operator training course.
Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar operator until the
basic law enforcement training course has been successfully
completed and probationary or general law enforcement
certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and
federal law enforcement personnel, including but not limited to
armed forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate in the radar
operator training courses on a space available basis at the
discretion of the school director without having enrolled in or
having successfully completed the basic law enforcement training

factors:

@ Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
%) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency may be enrolled in the radar and time-distance speed
measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee
shall not be certified as a radar and time-distance speed
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measurement instrument operator until the basic law enforcement
training course has been successfully completed and probationary
or general law enforcement certification has been granted.
Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel,
including but not limited to armed forces personnel, shall be
allowed to participate in radar and time-distance speed
measurement instrument operator training courses on a space
available basis at the discretion of the school director without
having enrolled in or having successfully completed the basic law
enforcement training course and without being currently certified
in a probationary status or holding general law enforcement
certification. The radar/time-distance operator training course
required for radar/time-distance operator certification shall
include but not be limited to the topic areas and minimum number
of hours as outlined in the Radar/Time-Distance Operator
Training Course. To qualify for radar/time-distance operator
certification, an applicant shall meet the minimum requirements
as outlined in the Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course
and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 9B .0408 and .0409.
(¢) The "Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied
as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance operator training
course for radar/time-distance instrument operators as
administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication may
be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice

114 West Edenton Street

Old Education Building

Post Office Drawer 149

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0214 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR TIME-DISTANCE OPERATORS

(a) The time-distance operator training course for law
enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with
the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a
time-distance operator. This course shall not exceed four
consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency
pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal
Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a
specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing
so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:

[@0)] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
“4) The specific need for the waiver; and

5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing

a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency may be enrolled in the time-distance speed measurement
operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a
time-distance speed measurement operator until the basic law
enforcement training course has been successfully completed and
probationary or general law enforcement certification has been
granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and federal law enforcement
personnel, including but not limited to armed forces personnel,
shall be allowed to participate in time-distance speed
measurement operator training courses on a space available basis
at the discretion of the school director without having enrolled in
or having successfully completed the basic law enforcement
training course and without being currently certified in a
probationary status or holding general law enforcement
certification. The time-distance operator training course required
for time-distance operator certification shall include but not be
limited to the topic areas and minimum number of hours as
outlined in the Time-Distance Operator Training Course. To
qualify for time-distance operator certification, an applicant shall
meet the minimum requirements as outlined in the Time-Distance
Operator Training Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC
09B .0408 and .0409.

(¢) The "Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as published
by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic
curriculum for the time-distance operator training course for
time-distance operators as administered by the Commission.
Copies of this publication may be inspected at the office of the
agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:

North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0226 SPECIALIZED FIREARMS
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructor training course for Specialized Firearms
Instructor Training Certification shall consist of a minimum of 50
hours of classroom and range instruction plus time required to
complete the tasks associated with Range Operations presented
during a continuous period of not more than two weeks. If the
Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-
19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division
shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery when
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the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on
consideration of the following factors:

a Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

[€))] Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
“4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall be
designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to
perform the function of a criminal justice firearms instructor in a
Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Course or a law
enforcement officer in-service firearms training program.
(c) Each applicant for specialized firearms instructor training
shall:

(1) have completed the criminal justice instructor
training course;

2) present a written endorsement by either
(A) a certified school director indicating

the student may be utilized to instruct
firearms in the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Course; or
(B) a department head, certified school
director, or in-service training
coordinator, indicating the student
may be utilized to instruct firearms in
a law enforcement officer in-service
firearms training program; and
3) Once within 365 days prior to enrollment each
prospective  student  shall ~ demonstrate
proficiency during a qualification administered
by the North Carolina Justice Academy. To
successfully complete this qualification each
prospective student shall achieve a minimum
score of 92 percent 2 out of 3 times on both the
BLET Day and Night Courses of Fire while
using a 'Sam Browne' type belt and security
holster and agency-issued duty or ballistic-
equivalent ammunition,
(d) Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall
include the following identified topic areas and minimum
instructional hours for each area:

(D) Orientation/Pretest 2 Hours
2) Range Operations 2 Hours
3) Civil Liability 4 Hours
@) Night Firing 2 Hours
(5) Combat Shooting Classroom and Range

8 Hours
(6) Mental Conditioning 1 Hours
@) Shotgun Operation and Firing 4 Hours

®) Service Handgun - Operation and Use
8 Hours
9 Rifle - Operation and Maintenance 4 Hours
(10) Service Handgun - Maintenance and Cleaning
2 Hours

(11) Range Medical Emergencies 2 Hours
(12) In-Service Firearms Requirements 2 Hours
(13) BLET Lesson Plan Review 1 Hour
(14) Range Drills as defined in the Specialized
Firearms Instructor Training
Manual and the Specialized Firearms Instructor
Training Course
Management Guide 8 Hours
(15) Completion of tasks associated with Range
Operations. Completion of tasks associated
with Instructor Practicums hours determined by
number of students and instructors:
(A) Conduct a BLET Day Course of Fire
B) Conduct a BLET Night Course of Fire
© Conduct a Long Gun Course of Fire
(D) Develop a Combat Course of Fire
(e) The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual"
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for the Specialized Firearms Instructor Training
course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course is the North
Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0232 SPECIALIZED SUBJECT
CONTROL ARREST TECHNIQUES INSTRUCTOR
TRAINING

(a) The instructor training course required for Specialized Subject
Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Certification shall consist of
a minimum of 29 hours of classroom instruction plus time
required to complete the tasks associated with Subject Control
Arrest Techniques Instructional Methods and Demonstration
presented during a continuous period of not more than two weeks.
If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S.
166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards
Division shall allow additional breaks in a specific course delivery
when the Director determines that doing so is necessary based on
consideration of the following factors:

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;
2) The risk of harm to students which may be

caused by continuation of the course;
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3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;

“4) The specific need for the waiver; and

(&) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https:/ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b)  Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques
Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee
with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a
criminal justice Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques
Instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law
Enforcement Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program.

(c) Each applicant for Specialized Subject Control Arrest
Techniques Instructor Training shall:

(1) have completed the Criminal Justice Instructor
Training course;
(2) present a letter from a licensed physician stating

the applicant's physical fitness to participate in

the course;

3) present a written endorsement by either

(A) a certified School Director indicating
the student is qualified to instruct
subject control arrest techniques in
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Courses; or

(B) a Department Head, certified School
Director, or In-Service Training
Coordinator indicating the student
may be utilized to instruct subject
control arrest techniques for the Law
Enforcement Officers' Annual In-
Service Training program; and

4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the

Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor

Training course the prospective student shall

complete the following assessments

administered by the North Carolina Justice

Academy:

(A) a qualification requiring the individual
to  demonstrate 100 percent
proficiency on the Basic Law
Enforcement Training Subject Control
Arrest Techniques; and

(B) achieve at least the 60™ percentile on a
physical fitness assessment.

(d) Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques
Instructor Training course shall include the following identified
topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

(1) Orientation 1 Hour
(2) Response to Injury 4 Hours
3) Combat Conditioning 4 Hours
4) Safety Guidelines/Rules 2 Hours
5) Fundamentals of Professional Liability

4 Hours

(6) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours
7 Student Instructional Practicum 6 Hours
() BLET Lesson Plan Review 4 Hours
9) Completion of tasks associated with Subject
Control  Arrest Techniques Instructional

Methods and Demonstrations. The number of

hours required to complete this portion of the

curriculum shall be based on the number of

enrolled students, available facilities, and

number of instructors.
(e) The "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques
Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina
Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for the Specialized
Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course.
Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor
Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0233 SPECIALIZED PHYSICAL
FITNESS INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The instructor training course required for Specialized
Physical Fitness Instructor Certification shall consist of a
minimum of 47 hours of classroom and field instruction, plus the
tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise
Programs, and Instructional Methods, presented during a
continuous period of not more than two weeks. If the Governor
declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19),
the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow
additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director
determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of
the following factors:

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4 The specific need for the waiver; and
%) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CIETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
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(b) Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course
shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice physical
fitness instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or
a Law Enforcement Officers'’ Annual In-Service Training
Program.
(c) Each applicant for specialized physical fitness training shall:
(1) qualify through one of the following three
options:

(A) have completed the criminal justice
general instructor training course;

(B) hold a current and valid North
Carolina Teacher's Certificate, hold a
baccalaureate degree in physical
education, and be teaching in physical
education topics; or

© be presently instructing physical
education topics in a community
college, college, or university and
possess a baccalaureate degree in
physical education;

(2) present a written endorsement by either:

(A) a certified School Director indicating
the student may be utilized to instruct
physical fitness in Basic Law
Enforcement Training Courses; or

(B) a certified School Director, or In-
Service Training Coordinator
indicating the student may be utilized
to instruct physical fitness for the Law

Enforcement Officers' In-Service
Training Program;
3) present a letter from a physician stating fitness
to participate in the course; and
@) Within 365 days prior to enrollment complete a
qualification administered by the North

Carolina Justice
individual to:
(A) complete Scenario #1 of the Police
Officer Physical Abilities Test
(POPAT) in no more than six minutes;
(B) complete Scenario #2 of the POPAT in
no more than three minutes; and
©) complete a physical fitness assessment
achieve at a minimum percentile score
of 60.
(d) Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course
shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum
instructional hours for each area:

Academy requiring the

(1) Orientation 1 Hour
2) Physical Fitness Sessions 6 Hours
3) Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise
Programs, and Instructional Methods 14 Hours
@) Injury Care and Prevention 4 Hours
%) Nutrition 7 Hours
(6) Civil Liability 3 Hours
@) CVD Risk Factors 3 Hours

®) Developing In-Service Wellness Programs and
Validating Fitness Standards 4 Hours

9 Lesson Plan Review 2 Hours
(10) Exercise Leadership 3 Hours
(11) Completion of tasks associated with Physical
Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and
Instructional Methods. The number of hours
required to complete this portion of the
curriculum shall be determined by number of
students, number of instructors, and available
facilities.
(e) The "Physical Fitness Instructor Training Manual" as
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the
curriculum for specialized physical fitness instructor training
courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the
Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(f) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" course is the
North Carolina Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0237
TRAINING COURSE
(a) The Lidar Instructor Training Course shall be designed to
provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently
perform the function of a lidar instructor. This course shall be for
a period not to exceed six consecutive weeks. If the Governor
declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19),
the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow
additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director
determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of
the following factors:

LIDAR INSTRUCTOR

@ Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
%) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) The Lidar Instructor Training Course required for lidar
instructor certification shall include the topic areas and number of
hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To
qualify for lidar instructor certification, an applicant shall meet
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the requirements as outlined in The Lidar Instructor Training
Course and meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and
.0409.
(c) Each applicant for lidar instructor training shall:
(1) Present the endorsement of a
Commission-recognized school director or
agency executive officer or his designee.

2) Possess full criminal justice General Instructor
Certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B
.0302.

3) Possess a current and valid lidar operator
certification.

(d) The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the
North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic
curriculum for the lidar instructor training course for lidar
instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
(¢) Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the
Eidar LIDAR Instructor Training Course are: The North Carolina
Justice Academy.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0238 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR LIDAR OPERATORS
(a) The Lidar Operator Training Course for law enforcement
officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a law
enforcement lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not
to exceed four consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State
of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the
Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks
in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that
doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following
factors:

a Whether instruction has begun in the course or

whether course initiation may be postponed;
2) The risk of harm to students which may be

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency shall be enrolled in the Lidar Operator Training Course.
Such a trainee shall not be certified as a lidar operator until the
Basic Law Enforcement Training Course has been successfully
completed and probationary or general law enforcement
certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and
federal law enforcement personnel, including armed forces
personnel, shall be allowed to participate in the lidar operator
training courses on a space available basis at the discretion of the
school director without having enrolled in or having successfully
completed the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course and
without being currently certified in a probationary status or
holding general law enforcement certification. The Lidar
Operator Training Course required for lidar operator certification
shall include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in
the Lidar Operator Training Course. To qualify for lidar operator
certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined
in the Lidar Operator Training Course and meet the requirements
of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .04009.
(c) The "Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the
North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic
curriculum for the Lidar Operator Training Course for lidar
operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this
publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice

114 West Edenton Street

Old Education Building

Post Office Drawer 149

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0242 CERTIFICATION TRAINING
FOR RADAR/LIDAR OPERATORS
(a) The radar/lidar operator training course for law enforcement
officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a radar and lidar
operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four
consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency
ursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal
Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a

caused by continuation of the course;
[€)) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing
so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
“4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

@ Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
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5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing

determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of

a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency may be enrolled in the radar/lidar speed measurement
instrument operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be
certified as a radar and lidar speed measurement instrument
operator until the basic law enforcement training course has been
successfully completed and probationary or general law
enforcement certification has been granted. Sheriffs, deputy
sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel, including armed
forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate in a radar/lidar
speed measurement instrument operator training courses on a
space available basis at the discretion of the school director
without having enrolled in or having successfully completed the
basic law enforcement training course and without being currently
certified in a probationary status or holding general law
enforcement certification. The radar/lidar operator training course
required for radar and lidar operator certification shall include the
topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Radar/Lidar
Operator Training Course. To qualify for radar and lidar operator
certification, an applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined
in the Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course and meet the
requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409.
(¢) The "Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by
the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic
curriculum for the radar/lidar operator training course for radar
and lidar instrument operators as administered by the
Commission. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the
office of the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice

114 West Edenton Street

Old Education Building

Post Office Drawer 149

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09B .0244 CERTIFICATION TRAINING

FOR RADAR/TIME-DISTANCE/LIDAR OPERATORS

(a) The radar/time-distance/lidar operator training course for law
enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with
the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a
radar, time-distance, and lidar operator. This course shall be for a
period not to exceed four consecutive weeks. If the Governor
declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19).
the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow
additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director

the following factors:

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

[€)) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CIETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement
agency may be enrolled in the radar/time-distance/lidar speed
measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee
shall not be certified as a radar, time-distance, and lidar speed
measurement instrument operator until the basic law enforcement
training course has been successfully completed and probationary
or general law enforcement certification has been granted.
Sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and federal law enforcement personnel,
including armed forces personnel, shall be allowed to participate
in radar, time-distance, and lidar speed measurement instrument
operator training courses the on a space available basis at the
discretion of the school director without having enrolled in or
having successfully completed the basic law enforcement training
course and without being currently certified in a probationary
status or holding general law enforcement certification. The
radar/time-distance/lidar operator training course required for
radar, time-distance, and lidar operator certification shall include
the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in The
Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course. To qualify
for radar, time-distance, and lidar operator certification, an
applicant shall meet the requirements as outlined in The
Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course and meet
the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0408 and .0409.

(¢c) The "Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course"
as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be
applied as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance/lidar
operator training course for radar, time-distance, and lidar
instrument operators as administered by the Commission. Copies
of this publication may be inspected at the office of the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
114 West Edenton Street
Old Education Building
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be obtained at cost from the Academy at the following
address:

North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385
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Authority G.S. 17C-6.

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
COMPLETION OF TRAINING

12 NCAC 09B .0404 TRAINEE ATTENDANCE

(a) Each trainee enrolled in a certified Basic Law Enforcement
Training Course shall attend all class sessions. The school director
shall monitor the trainee's attendance at criminal justice training
courses in which the trainee is enrolled.

(b) The school director may excuse a trainee from attendance at
specific class sessions. However, in no case may excused
absences exceed five percent of the total class hours for the course
offering. A trainee shall not be eligible for administration of the
State comprehensive examination and shall be dismissed from the
course if the cumulative total of class absences exceeds five
percent regardless of the prior completion of make-up work.

(¢) If the school director grants an excused absence from a class
session, he or she shall schedule make-up work and ensure the
completion of such work during the current course presentation.
The school director shall schedule instructors and reimburse those
instructors for the purpose of completion of the make-up work.
Absences that occur during the last 40 hours of the training course
may be made up in a subsequent delivery; however, the school
director shall notify the Standards Division prior to scheduling the
make-up work.

(d) If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to
G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice
Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in instruction for
an individual trainee in a specific course delivery, not to exceed
90 hours, when the Director determines that doing so is necessary
based on consideration of the following factors:

a Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;:

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;

“4) The specific need for the waiver; and

(@) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(e) The School Director shall provide the following information
to the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division for
consideration:

[@0)] a memorandum justifying the absence waiver;

2) specific documentation related to the trainee's

request; and

[€)) a training completion plan pursuant to
Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

(H)d) A school director may terminate a trainee from course
participation or may deny certification of successful course
completion where the trainee is tardy to or departs early from class
meetings or field exercises.

(g)fe) Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12
NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0218, .0219, .0220,
.0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, or .0240, and the scheduled
course hours exceed the requirements of the Commission, the
trainee, upon the authorization of the school director, may be
deemed to have satisfactorily completed the required number of
hours for attendance provided the trainee's attendance is not less
than 100 percent of the instructional hours as required by the
Commission.

(h)H A trainee enrolled in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice
Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0209 of this Subchapter
shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent
of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive
successful course completion.

() A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Specialized
Firearms Instructor Training" course under Rule .0226 of this
Subchapter, the "Specialized Driver Instructor Training" course
under Rule .0227 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Subject
Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training" course under Rule
.0232 of this Subchapter, or the "Specialized Physical Fitness
Instructor Training" course under Rule .0233 of this Subchapter,
shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent
of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive
successful course completion. Make-up work must be completed
during the current course presentation for all absenteeism. The
Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division may grant a
waiver for completion of course requirements in a course delivery
scheduled within 12 months, for just cause based upon the
circumstances that created the need for the absence. For the
purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness,
emergency, or course cancellation that precluded the student from
completing the entire course in one continuous course delivery.
() A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "RADAR
Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0210 of this Subchapter,
the "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0211
of this Subchapter, or the "LIDAR Instructor Training Course"
under Rule .0237 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class
attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled
delivery period in order to receive successful course completion.
Make-up work must be completed during the current course
presentation for all absenteeism.

Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10.

12 NCAC 09B .0417 SPECIALIZED EXPLOSIVES
AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS INSTRUCTOR
TRAINING
(a) The instructor training course required for Specialized
Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Certification shall
consist of a minimum of 59 hours of classroom instruction plus
time required to complete Instructor Practicums presented during
a continuous period of not more than two weeks. If the Governor
declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19),
the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow
additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director
determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of
the following factors:

(@8] Whether instruction has begun in the course or

whether course initiation may be postponed;
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2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

(€]

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
The specific need for the waiver; and
(&) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-
training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials
Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee
with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a
criminal justice explosives and hazardous materials instructor in
a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course or a Law Enforcement
Officers' Annual In-Service Training Program.
(c) Each applicant for Specialized Explosives and Hazardous
Materials Instructor Training shall:

(D) have completed either:
(A) the criminal justice instructor training
course; or

(B) the Fire Service Instructor
Methodology Course or the equivalent
utilizing the Instructional Systems
Design model, an international model
with application in education, military
training, and private enterprise;

(2) present a written endorsement by either:

(A) a certified school director indicating
the student will be utilized to instruct
explosives and hazardous materials in
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Courses; or

(B) a department head, certified school
director, or in-service training
coordinator, indicating the student will
be utilized to instruct explosives and
hazardous materials training in the
Law Enforcement Officer's Annual In-
Service Training Program; and

3) present a completed OSHA Respirator Medical
Evaluation Questionnaire, accompanied by a
statement from a licensed medical professional
stating the applicant is physically fit to
participate in the course.
(d) Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials
Instructor Training course shall include the following identified
topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:

(D Orientation 2 Hours
2) Introduction to Hazardous Materials
1 Hour
3) Hazardous Materials Identification
2.5 Hours
@) Awareness Level Actions at Hazardous
Materials Incidents 1.5 Hours

5) Chemical Properties and Hazardous Materials
Behavior 3 Hours

(6) Incident Management 3 Hours
) Strategic Goals and Tactical Objectives

3.5 Hours
(8) Terrorist and Other Criminal Activity

5 Hours
9 Personal Protective Equipment 5 Hours
(10) Decontamination 5 Hours
(11 Product Control 4 Hours
(12) Air Monitoring and Sampling 1.5 Hours
(13) Victim Rescue and Recovery 4 Hours

(14) Evidence Preservation and Sampling

3 Hours
(15) Illicit Laboratories 2 Hours
(16) Introduction to Explosive Devices

1 Hour
a7 Improvised Explosive Device Anatomy

2 Hours
(18) Packaged Improvised Explosive Devices

1 Hour
(19) Suicide/Homicide  Improvised  Explosive

Devices 1 Hour

(20) Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices

1 Hour
21 Radio Controlled Improvised Explosive

Devices with Live Demonstration 5 Hours
(22) Improvised Explosive Device Threat Response
1 Hour

(23) Explosives and  Hazardous  Materials

Emergencies and BLET Lesson Plan

Review 1 Hour

(24) Completion of tasks associated with Instructor

Practicums. The number of required hours to

complete this portion of the curriculum shall be

based on the number of students and instructors.
(¢) The basic curriculum for delivery of the Specialized
Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course
shall be the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials
Instructor Training Manual," as published by the North Carolina
Justice Academy. Copies of these publications may be inspected
at the agency:

Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive

Raleigh, North Carolina 27610

and may be obtained at no cost to the student from the Academy
at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Box 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

(f) The North Carolina Justice Academy is certified to offer the
Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor
Training course.

Authority G.S. 17C-6, 17C-10.
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SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS
EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION

SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS,
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND
PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE

12 NCAC 09G .0414 INSTRUCTOR TRAINING

(a) The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor
certification shall consist of at least the minimum number of hours
of instruction as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209 to be completed
within 15 business days. If the Governor declares a State of
Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the
Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks

in a specific course delivery when the Director determines that
doing so is necessary based on consideration of the following

a_State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the
Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow
additional breaks in a specific course delivery when the Director
determines that doing so is necessary based on consideration of
the following factors:

@ Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been

or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;
4) The specific need for the waiver; and
5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.
Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

factors:

[@0)] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed:

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;

“4) The specific need for the waiver; and

(&) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b) Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide
the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions
of a criminal justice instructor.
(c) The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North
Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the curriculum for
instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be
inspected at the agency:
Criminal Justice Standards Division
North Carolina Department of Justice
1700 Tryon Park Drive
Post Office Drawer 149
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the
North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
North Carolina Justice Academy
Post Office Drawer 99
Salemburg, North Carolina 28385

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09G .0415 CORRECTIONS SPECIALIZED
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING - FIREARMS

(a) The instructor training course requirement for Corrections
Specialized Instructor Training — Firearms certification shall
consist of at least 80 hours of instruction presented during a period
of not more than two consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this

Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.

(b) Each Corrections Specialized Instructor Training — Firearms
course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and
knowledge to perform the function of a corrections firearms
instructor in the "Basic Training — Correctional Officer" course,
"Basic Training - Probation/Parole Officer" course, and in-service
training courses for correctional officers and probation/parole
officers.
(¢) Each Corrections Specialized Firearms Instructor Training
course shall include the following topical areas:

(1) Course Overview;

) Legal Considerations for Firearm Instructors;

3) Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult

Correction Firearms Training Courses;

4) Firearms Safety;

&) Range Operations;

6) Medical Emergencies on the Range;

) Handgun — Operation, Use and Maintenance:
(A) Handgun Training — Classroom and
Range;
B) Handgun Low/Limited Light Fire; and
© Handgun Care and Maintenance;
®) Advanced Handgun Training — Classroom and
Range;
©) Shotgun Operation, Use and Maintenance:
(A) Shotgun Training — Classroom and
Range;
B) Shotgun Low/Limited Light Fire —
Range; and

© Shotgun Care and Maintenance;

(10) Special Techniques, Training Aids, and
Methods:

(11) Situational Use of Firearms:
(A) The Shooting Decision;

(B) Situational Use of Firearms;
© Situational Exercises — Day; and
D) Situational Exercises — Low/Limited
Light; and
(12) Administrative ~ Matters,  Testing, and

Evaluation.
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(d) The Commission certified school that is certified to offer the
"Corrections Specialized Instructor Training - Firearms" course is
the Office of Staff Development and Training of the North
Carolina Department of Public Safety.

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

12 NCAC 09G .0416 CORRECTIONS SPECIALIZED
INSTRUCTOR TRAINING - CONTROLS, RESTRAINTS,
AND DEFENSIVE TECHNIQUES
(a) The instructor training course requirement for corrections
specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques (CRDT)
instructor certification shall consist of at least 80 hours of
instruction presented during a period of not more than two
consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergency
ursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal
Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in a
specific course delivery when the Director determines that doing
so is necessary based on consideration of the following factors:

[@0)] Whether instruction has begun in the course or
whether course initiation may be postponed;

2) The risk of harm to students which may be
caused by continuation of the course;

3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been
or will likely be called to action to help address
the State of Emergency;

“4) The specific need for the waiver; and

(&) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing
a break in instruction.

Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted
on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this
Section shall only apply to courses which began during the
effective period of the State of Emergency.
(b)  Each corrections specialized controls, restraints, and
defensive techniques instructor training course shall be designed
to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform
the function of a corrections controls, restraints, and defensive
techniques instructor in the "Basic Training - Correctional
Officer" course, "Basic Training - Probation/Parole Officer"
course, and in-service training courses for correctional officers
and probation/parole officers.
(c) Each corrections specialized controls, restraints, and
defensive techniques instructor training course shall include the
following topical areas:

(1) Introduction to Controls,

Defensive Techniques;

2) Physical Fitness/Warm-up and Stretching;

3) Response to Injury;

@) Basic Controls and Techniques;

(5) Advanced Controls and Techniques;

(6) Restraint Applications; and

(7N CRDT Program Student Evaluations and

Testing.

(d) The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the
"Corrections Specialized Instructor Training/Controls, Restraints,
and Defensive Techniques" course is the Office of Staff
Development and Training of the North Carolina Department of
Public Safety.

Restraints, and

Authority G.S. 17C-6.

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the
rule cited as 154 NCAC 13B .0832.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-
regulations/proposed-main/proposed-rules

Proposed Effective Date: Pending Legislative Review

Public Hearing:

Date: January 20, 2022

Time: 4:30 p.m.

Location: A4 virtual public hearing will be held by webinar as
follows:

WebEx Event Meeting Link:
https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/j. php? MTID=m8d8e13db
4c07el775d3a3094a7a544fa

Event number: 2437 299 9427

Event password: 1234

To join by phone: Call +1-415-655-0003 US TOLL, enter access
code

If you wish to attend the hearing, you must register before 5:00
p.m. on Wednesday, January 19, 2022.

The registration form can be found at the following link:
https://forms.office.com/g/W0qIwxabEQ

Reason for Proposed Action: The proposed amendment
changes the permit length for subsequent septage land
application sites and septage detention and treatment facility
permits from five years to ten years. This amendment was
required by S.L. 2021-83, s. 3. The Session Law also implemented
the change to the permit length directly, beginning July 1, 2021.

Comments may be submitted to: Adam Ulishney, 1646 M.S.C.,
Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; email
dwm.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Rule is automatically subject to legislative review: S.L. 2021-
83, 5. 3.(d)

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XX

CHAPTER 13 - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT
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SUBCHAPTER 13B - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT

SECTION .0800 - SEPTAGE MANAGEMENT

15A NCAC 13B .0832

GENERAL PROVISIONS

(a) General permitting requirements.

(1)

2

3)

(4)
©)

(6)
(7

(®)

No person shall manage septage, or any part of
septage, or operate a Septage Management
Firm without first obtaining a permit from the
Division as required under G.S. 130A-291.1(c);
The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c)
applies to persons who remove septage, and
other waste materials or spent media from
wastewater  systems permitted by the
Department of Health and Human Services,
under the authority of Article 11, Chapter 130A
of the North Carolina General Statutes;
The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c)
applies to persons who manage septage
generated from properties that they own, lease,
or manage as part of a business, such as mobile
homes, mobile home parks, restaurants, and
other residential and commercial property;

The Division may deny a permit application in

accordance with G.S. 130A-295.3(¢c);

The Division may require an applicant to

demonstrate  substantial compliance in

accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b2)(2);

Permits issued in accordance with this Section

shall be followed,;

Where specified in this Section, permit

applications or specific portions of applications

shall be prepared in accordance with Rule

.0202(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and

Initial septage land application site and

detention and treatment facility permits shall be

valid for one year. Subsequent permits shall be
valid for five 10 years. The Division may issue

a subsequent permit for less than five 10 years

based on any of the following factors:

(A) the duration of the landowner
authorization or wastewater treatment
plant authorization;

(B) the compliance history of the operator;

© if any of the information for the permit
application was received after the due
date; or

(D) to allow the due date for a subsequent

permit application to be the same date
as the septage firm permit application
due date.

(b) Portable sanitation permitting provisions.

(1)

A mobile or modular office that meets the
criteria of G.S. 130A-291.2 shall be considered
a chemical or portable toilet as defined in G.S.
130A-290(a)(1c). A storage tank at a mobile or
modular office shall not release septage onto
the ground. The owner and the lessee of the
mobile or modular office shall be considered to

2

3)

be the responsible parties and shall be subject to
the requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule.
No person shall rent or lease portable toilet(s)
or contract or subcontract to rent or lease
portable toilet(s) to another person or manage
or dispose of waste from portable toilet(s),
regardless of ownership of the toilet(s), unless
that person is permitted to operate a septage
management firm.

Placement of a chemical or portable toilet as
defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(1c) for potential
use in North Carolina shall be considered
operation of a septage management firm that
requires a permit.

(c) Recreational vehicle waste provisions.

M

2

3)

Domestic septage from a recreational vehicle
shall be managed in accordance with this
Section or shall flow directly into a wastewater
treatment system permitted by the Department
of Environmental Quality.

Wastewater from recreational vehicles that are
tied down, blocked up, or that are not relocated,
and that are not connected to an approved
wastewater system shall be managed in
accordance with Article 11, Chapter 130A of
the NC General Statutes.

Recreational vehicle dump stations that do not
discharge directly to a wastewater treatment
system permitted by the Department of
Environmental Quality shall be permitted as a
septage detention and treatment facility in
accordance with Rule .0837 of this Section.

(d) Alternate septage management method limitations.

M

2

3

“

Grease septage, or any part of grease septage,
shall not be introduced or reintroduced into a
grease trap, interceptor, separator, or other
appurtenance used for the purpose of removing
cooking oils, fats, grease, and food debris from
the waste flow generated from food handling,
preparation, and cleanup unless the Division
has received written approval from the
wastewater treatment plant operator or the
onsite wastewater system permitting authority
that reintroduction is acceptable.

Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be
reintroduced into an onsite wastewater system
unless approved pursuant to G.S. 130A-343(c).
Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be
placed in containers at restaurants designated
for yellow grease.

Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be
disposed of in a municipal solid waste landfill
unless the waste passes the Paint Filter Liquids
Test as defined by EPA S.W. 846 Test Method
9095B which can be accessed at no cost at
https://www.epa.gov/hw-sw846, and  the
landfill receiving the waste has provided the
Division written documentation that the
specific material will be accepted.
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5) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be
disposed of in a dumpster unless the waste
passes the Paint Filter Liquids Test and the
landfill receiving the waste is a permitted
municipal solid waste landfill, in accordance
with Section .1600 of this Subchapter.

(6) Septage, or any part of septage, managed
through subsurface disposal shall be considered
a treatment facility and shall require a permit in
accordance with this Section and G.S. 130A-
343.

(7 Facilities receiving septage, or any part of
septage, for composting shall be permitted in
accordance with Section .1400 of this
Subchapter.

(e) All training to meet the requirements of G.S. 130A-291.3(a)
and (b) shall be pre-approved by the Division. Approval by the
Division shall be based on whether the training is in accordance
with the rules in this Section.

(f) Waste from holding tanks not otherwise addressed in this
Section, and from wastewater systems pumped more often than
every 30 days, shall not be considered domestic septage and shall
not be land applied at a permitted septage land application site.
(g) Inspection and entry. The permit holder of a septage
management firm or facility shall allow a representative of the
Division to:

(1) enter the permit holder's premises where a
regulated facility or activity is located or
conducted;

2) access and copy any records required in
accordance with this Section or conditions of
the permit;

3) inspect any facilities, equipment (including
monitoring and control equipment), practices,
or operations regulated by the Division;

@) sample or monitor for the purposes of assuring
permit compliance or as otherwise authorized
by the Federal Clean Water Act or the North
Carolina Solid Waste Management Act, any
substances, parameters, or soils at any location;
and

(5) photograph for the purpose of documenting
times of compliance or noncompliance at
septage management facilities or to require the
permit holder to make such photos for the
Division.

(h) Washings from the interior of septage handling containers
such as pump trucks shall be managed as septage.

Authority G.S. 1304-291.1; 1304-291.2; 1304-295.3(c); 1304-
335.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND
COMMISSIONS

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC
46 .1503,.1612, .1613, and .1615.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Public Hearing:

Date: February 8, 2022

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: The public hearing will be held remotely. The public
can participate on Teams at https://tinyurl.com/jsuk4bjk or may
call 336-604-5350, conference ID 903 191 899#.

Reason for Proposed Action: The Pharmacy Practice Act
requires all applicants for initial licensure and certain
reinstatement and reciprocity candidates to complete practical
experience in order to be licensed, and further requires the Board
of Pharmacy to adopt regulations to "assure that the person
successfully completing the program will have gained practical
experience that will enable him to safely and properly practice
pharmacy.”" NCGS 90-85.14. Those gaining practical experience
are regularly and collectively referred to as "pharmacy interns."
The Board has proposed to amend Rule .1503 to provide for a
uniform system by which those gaining practical experience can
sign up with the Board and can easily document and verify their
practical experience hours through an on-line system. Moreover,
in recent years, a handful of individuals have falsely claimed to
be pharmacy students or recent graduates who were entitled to
work as pharmacy interns, who are allowed to engage in all acts
constituting the practice of pharmacy under the supervision of
pharmacists. These individuals who lacked pharmacy
educational training thereby created a risk of harm to the public
safety, health and welfare in order to defraud their employers.
This was made easier because, previously, in order to verify
whether an individual was entitled to work as a pharmacy intern,
that individual's prospective employer would have to contact
pharmacy schools directly. The new uniform system will make it
easier to ensure that only those who are entitled to work as
pharmacy interns are able to do so. In addition to amending Rule
.1503, the Board has proposed to adopt conforming amendments
to other rules to appropriately reference and account for the
changes to Rule .1503.

Comments may be submitted to: Jay Campbell, 6015
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517, fax (919)
246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
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legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

XOOMM

SECTION .1500 - ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS:
EXAMINATIONS

21 NCAC 46 .1503 EXPERIENCE IN PHARMACY
AND PHARMACY INTERNSHIP

(a) An applicant for license must show that he the applicant has
received 1500 hours of practical experience under the supervision
of a licensed pharmacist which has been acquired while enrolled
in a school of pharmacy accredited by the Accreditation Council

for Pharmacy Education. afterthesatisfactory-completion-oftwe
years-of college-work—The Board shall aceepthours-ofexperience
Fied byl hool 6 hich 4] % | | |

(b) All practical pharmacy experience gained within the State of
North Carolina to—be—aceeptable must be acquired under—the
general-conditionsapproved-by-the Beard as follows:

(D All practical pharmacy experience must be
validated through registration in the internship
program administered by the Board. A person
does not receive credit for any practical
experience unless and until that person is
registered with the Board as a pharmacy intern.

2) Persons—working —under—the—supervision—of

g f Xt g )
]g P il hin 6 | c

Practical experience shall be credited only
when it has been obtained in a location holding
a pharmacy permit, or a location approved by
the Board for that purpose, and only after the
pharmacy intern notifies the Board of the
location of the practical experience. If the
pharmacy intern's location of employment
changes, the pharmacy intern must notify the
Board of the change before commencing an

internship at the new location.
3) The person acquiring practical experience shall

disqualify the experience from counting toward
the minimum requirements.

The Board shall accept hours of experience
certified by the school from which the applicant
has graduated, provided that the applicant has
satisfied the foregoing Subparagraphs of
Paragraph (b). The Board shall not allow credit
for claims of practical experience required
under the pharmacy laws, unless such claims
can be corroborated by records on file in the
Board's office showing the beginning and the
ending of the practical experience claimed as
supplied by the applicant during this training
period.

) f . . . B
| it | . . g
the-Board-for that-purpese:
(c) A person is eligible to register or renew and be employed as a
pharmacy intern only if, and so long as. the person is:
(@8] Currently enrolled in a pharmacy school
accredited by the Accreditation Council for
Pharmacy Education. In order to qualify as
"enrolled" in a pharmacy school, the student
must be attending pharmacy school at the time,
or on a break between academic terms;
2) A graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy
who has successfully completed the Foreign

Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination
offered by the National Association of Boards

of Pharmacy and the Test of English as a
Foreign Language and who is acquiring the
practical experience required for licensure;

3) A pharmacist licensed in another state who is
gaining practical experience required for a
license by reciprocity under Rule .1602 of this
Chapter;

“) A pharmacist with an inactive North Carolina
license who is gaining practical experience
required for reinstatement of a license under
Rule .1612 of this Chapter;

(&) A graduate of a school of pharmacy who has not
been licensed in any State, who has not been
denied a license in any State, who has an active
application for licensure to practice pharmacy
in North Carolina and who has met all
requirements for licensure other than taking and
passing the North American Pharmacist
Licensure Examination and the Multistate
Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination, and who
is gaining practical experience to prepare for
the examination in order to achieve licensure.

(d) In order to register or renew as a pharmacy intern, an applicant
must submit proof of eligibility under Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
The applicant further must provide releases for the Board to verify

(4)

at all times comply with the Board's rules and
the laws governing the practice of pharmacy

the applicant's eligibility, including confirming enrollment in or
graduation from pharmacy school.

and the distribution of drugs. Failure of the

(e) Pharmacy intern registrations are valid until the September 1

pharmacist intern to do so is grounds to

immediately following registration. If the person remains eligible
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for registration as a pharmacy intern, the registration must be

(k) The practical experience hours gained prior to the effective

renewed during the month prior to the September 1 on which the

date of any amendment to this Rule are governed by the

registration expires. If the registration expires for a pharmacy

requirements of this Rule in effect at the time the hours were

intern, that person is not eligible to work as a pharmacy intern in

obtained.

the State of North Carolina unless and until the registration is
reinstated after a new application.

(f) If a pharmacy intern ceases to be eligible to be registered and
employed as a pharmacy intern under Paragraph (c) of this Rule,
that person must immediately cease working as a pharmacy intern,
and must notify the Board within five calendar days of a change
in status and request that the person's registration be made
inactive.

approval by-the Board:

td)(g) The Board may accept training in pharmacy gained in
another state pursuant to internship registration in this or another
state if the Board is satisfied that such training is equivalent.

(h) A registered pharmacy intern working under a pharmacist

preceptor or supervising pharmacist may, while under supervision
of that pharmacist, perform all acts constituting the practice of

pharmacy. Because the pharmacy intern may perform all acts

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.14, 90-85.15; 90-85.38.
SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS

21 NCAC 46 .1612 REINSTATEMENT OF
LICENSES AND PERMITS

(a) AlHicenses-andregistrations-issued-to-individuals Pharmacist
licenses, pharmacy technician registrations, dispensing physician
registrations, dispensing physician assistant registrations, and
dispensing nurse practitioner registrations that are not renewed by
March 1 of the succeeding year, lapse and are subject to the
maximum reinstatement and renewal fees set out in G.S. 90-85.24
in order to be reinstated.

(b) All pharmacy permits and device and medical equipment
permits—and-registrations—issued—te—loeations that are reinstated
after March 1 and prior to April 1 of the succeeding year are
subject to the maximum reinstatement and renewal fees set out in
G.S. 90-85.21A and 90-85.24. After March 31, permits—and

registrations—issued-to—loeations holders of lapsed permits shall

submit new applications and are subject to the maximum original

reglstratlon fees. %E—Rlﬂ%alse—&pphes—te»heemes—regts&&&eﬁ&

(c¢) Pharmacy intern registrations are governed by Rule .1503 of

constituting the practice of pharmacy under supervision under this

this Chapter.

provision, doing so without being registered with the Board is the

(d) In order to apply to have a license, permit or registration

unlicensed practice of pharmacy.
(1) A pharmacist preceptor or pharmacist-manager who causes or

reinstated following a voluntary surrender or disciplinary action,
the applicant must complete a reinstatement application and pay

permits a pharmacy intern to violate any laws, rules or regulations
applicable to the practice of pharmacy or the distribution of drugs

forfeits his or her right to supervise pharmacy interns for a period
of time determined by the Board and is subject to additional
disciplinary action. A pharmacist preceptor or pharmacist-

manager who violates any laws, rules or regulations applicable to
the supervision of pharmacy interns forfeits his or her right to

supervise pharmacy interns for a period of time determined by the
Board and is subject to additional disciplinary action. This
includes, but is not limited to, making false representations or
withholding material information about the pharmacy intern's
practical experience or employing a pharmacy intern who is not
registered with the Board. A pharmacist who has been found in
violation of laws, rules, or regulations governing the practice of
pharmacy and the distribution of drugs cannot serve as a preceptor
without the approval by the Board.

(j)_The Board may consider any of the acts set forth in G.S. 90-
85.38(a) that are committed by a pharmacy intern in considering

the maximum reinstatement fee allowed by G.S. 90-85.24.

¢e)(e) The Board shall require applicants for reinstatement of a
lapsed license who have not practiced pharmacy within two years
prior to application for reinstatement to obtain continuing
education in addition to that required by Rule .2201 of this
Chapter, practical pharmacy experience, successfully complete
one or more parts of the Board's licensure examination, or a
combination of the foregoing, as the Board deems necessary to
ensure that the applicant can safely and properly practice
pharmacy.

H(f) The Board shall also restrict licenses reinstated pursuant to
G.S. 90-85.19 for such period of time as the Board deems
necessary to ensure that the applicant can safely and properly
practice pharmacy.

(g) All applicants for reinstatement of a license shall submit to
the Board a signed release form, completed Fingerprint Record
Card, and such other form(s) required to perform a criminal
history check at the time of application. If the applicant withdraws

whether to grant that person a license to practice pharmacy or

the reinstatement application or the Board denies it, no fees will

what conditions are appropriate to ensure that the person can

be refunded to the applicant.

practice pharmacy safely.
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Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.154; 90-85.17; 90-85.19; 90-
85.21; 90-85.214; 90-85.22; 90-85.24.

21 NCAC 46 .1613 EXTENSION PERIOD FOR
CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES
(a) Definitions:

(1) "Eligible licensee" means a pharmacist who
holds a license in good standing from the Board
of Pharmacy, who serves the armed forces of
the United States, and who is eligible for an
extension of time in which to file a tax return
pursuant to G.S. 105-249.2. "Eligible licensee"
includes a pharmacist who holds a Clinical
Pharmacist Practitioner credential or who is a
pharmacist vaccinator.

2) "Eligible registrant" means a pharmacy intern,
pharmacy technician, dispensing physician,
dispensing nurse practitioner or dispensing
physician assistant who holds a registration in
good standing from the Board of Pharmacy,
who serves the armed forces of the United
States, and who is eligible for an extension of
time in which to file a tax return pursuant to

G.S. 105-249.2.

3) "Extension period" means the time period
specified in 26 U.S. Code 7508.

4 "Good standing" means a license or registration

that is not suspended, revoked or subject to a
current disciplinary order.
(b) Extension of time to pay license or registration renewal fee
and waiver of continuing education requirements:

(1) An eligible licensee or registrant shall notify the
Board of eligibility for the extension period
before his or her current license or registration
expires. Upon such notification, the Board shall
maintain the license or registration in active
status through the extension period.

2) If an eligible licensee or registrant fails to notify
the Board of eligibility for the extension period
before his or her current license or registration
expires, upon receipt and acceptance of a
renewal application within the extension period
and presentation of proof that the licensee or
registrant was an eligible licensee or registrant
on the date that is the deadline for renewal, the
expired license or registration shall be deemed
retroactively to have not expired.

3) Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46 .1612(a) and
.3301(a), an eligible licensee or registrant who
submits a renewal application and pays the
renewal fee required by the Board within the
extension period shall not be deemed to hold a
lapsed license or registration subject to
reinstatement fees.

4 Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46 .2201, .3101(d)
and .2507(d), an eligible licensee may renew
his or her license within the extension period
despite failing to complete the specified
continuing education requirements.

&) A licensee or registrant shall provide proof of
eligibility for the extension period when the
licensee or registrant submits the renewal
application.

Authority G.S. 90-18.1; 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 90-85.154; 90-85.17;
90-85.21(b); 90-85.24; 90-85.26A4; 93B-15.

21 NCAC 46 .1615 E-PROFILE NUMBER
REQUIRED FOR LICENSE, PERMIT, OR
REGISTRATION

(a) As part of the application for issuance or renewal of any in-
state or out-of-state pharmacy permit, device and medical
equipment permit, license to practice pharmacy, pharmacy intern
registration, or pharmacy technician registration issued by the
Board, the permittee, licensee, or registrant must report an e-
Profile number to the Board.

(b) An e-Profile number is a unique identifier for permittees,
licensees, and registrants that allows for the accurate
identification and collection of licensure, disciplinary, inspection,
and other information in a secured electronic profile.

(c) A An applicant, permittee, licensee, or registrant may obtain
an e-Profile number at no cost by contacting the National
Association of Boards of Pharmacy by phone at (847) 391-4406;
by mail at 1600 Feehanville Drive, Mount Prospect, Illinois
60056; or electronically at www.nabp.pharmacy.

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.14; 90-85.15; 90-85.154; 90-
85.17; 90-85.20; 90-85.21; 90-85.21A; 90-85.22.

% % sk k ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok ok

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC
46 .1606 and .1607.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Public Hearing:

Date: February 8, 2022

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Location: The public hearing will be held remotely. The public
can participate on Teams at https://tinyurl.com/jsuk4bjk or may
call 336-604-5350, conference ID 903 191 899#.

Reason for Proposed Action: The current rules require the
pharmacist-manager for each permit applicant to meet personally
with Board staff before the Board will grant a permit. These
meetings have traditionally been a means of imparting knowledge
about North Carolina pharmacy law and Board procedures.
These meetings are an inefficient way to provide that information,
and the result of that burden has been that out-of-state permit
applicants often have not named their actual pharmacist-manager
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as the pharmacist-manager on their North Carolina applications,
thereby creating a disconnect between the person who is legally
responsible for their compliance with North Carolina law and the
person who actually supervises the pharmacy. The principal
purposes of the proposed changes are to substitute an on-line
educational module in place of the in-person meeting, and to
require that the pharmacist-manager on the North Carolina
permit match the pharmacist-manager in the pharmacy's home
state. In addition, Rule .1607 concerning out-of-state pharmacy
permits has not been revised in 15 years. The Board has proposed
general updates to that Rule largely in order to (a) clarify and
emphasize certain matters that have been subject to periodic
questions from the regulated entities, (b) more accurately reflect
modern Board procedures and practices, (c) remove repetitive
requirements contained elsewhere, and (d) refer to other laws and
rules covering certain matters, rather than attempting to restate
them, which has resulted in incomplete, inconsistent and
confusing descriptions of those laws.

Comments may be submitted to: Jay Campbell, 6015
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517, fax (919)
246-1056; email nchboprulemaking@ncbop.org

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

4

SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS

21 NCAC 46 .1606 REQUIREMENT- OFPERSONAL
APPEARANCE NORTH CAROLINA-SPECIFIC

EDUCATION FOR PERMIT APPLICANTS
Prior to issuance of any original pharmacy permit or device and

medical equlpment permlt %h%fel—lewmg—pe%seﬂs—ﬂwst—appeaf

+H the pharmacist-manager for the applicant
pharmacy or pharmaey;-and

e the person in charge of the facility applying for
the device and medical equipment permit:
permit shall complete an educational module on
the North Carolina Pharmacy Practice Act and
its regulations that govern the operation of
permits. That educational module is available in
the on-line permit application section of the
Board's Licensure Gateway. The pharmacist-
manager or person in charge must personally
complete the educational module and may not
delegate this responsibility to any other person.

Authority G.S. 99181 90-18.2: 90-853¢a)fr): 90-85.6; 90-
85.21; 90-85.214; 90-85.22.

21 NCAC 46 .1607 OUT-OF-STATE PHARMACIES
(a) In order to protect the public health and safety and implement
G.S. 90-85.21A, the following provisions apply to out-of-state
pharmacies that ship, mail, or deliver in any manner a dispensed
legend drag drug, device, or medical equipment into this State.
(b) An out-of-state pharmacy may not ship, mail, or deliver in
any manner even a single dispensed legend drug, device, or
medical equipment into this State unless and until it receives a
permit from this Board. All unpermitted dispensing must be
disclosed on any permit application, and any permit applicant
must update any application within 24 hours of any dispensing
that occurs while a permit application is pending. The Board may
deny a permit based on that dispensing or on a failure to disclose
it.

b)(c) Pursuantto G.S. 90-85.21A, an out-of-state pharmacy must
comply with the provisions of the Pharmacy Practice Act and its
regulations, as well as the provisions of the laws of the state in
which the pharmacy is located. In addition, these Sueh pharmacies
shall:

residents;

Supply all information requested by the Board
in carrying out the Board's responsibilities
under the statutes and rules pertaining to out-of-
state pharmacies;

During the pharmacy's regular hours of
operation but not less than six days per week,
for a minimum of 40 hours per week, provide a
toll-free telephone service to facilitate
communication  between  patients and
pharmacists at the pharmacy who have access
to the patient's records. This toll-free number
must be disclosed on the label for each
dispensed drug, device, or medical equipment;

cFivod | ; di L :

Comply with all USP and FDA requirements
regarding the storage, packaging, and shipping
of drugs, devices and medical equipment;

o ications,

&)

Q2)

H3)
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54

)5

Develop policies governing:
(A) normal delivery protocols and times;
(B) the procedure to be followed if the
patient's medieation drug, device, or
medical equipment is not available at
the out-of-state pharmacy, or if
delivery will be delayed beyond the
normal delivery time;
© the procedure to be followed upon
receipt of a prescription for an acute
illness, which shall include a
procedure for delivery of the drug,
device, or medical equipment
medieation to the patient from the out-
of-state pharmacy at the -earliest
possible time (such as courier
delivery), or an alternative that assures
the patient the opportunity to obtain
the drug, device, or medical
equipment medieation at the carliest
possible time; and
(D) the procedure to be followed when the
out-of-state pharmacy is advised that
the patient's medieation drug, device,
or medical equipment has not been
received within the normal delivery
time and that the patient is out of
medieation the drug, device, or
medical equipment and requires
interim dosage until the pharmacy can
provide the drug, device, or medical
equipment; mai—preseription—drugs
become-avatlable;
Disclose the location, names, and titles, of all
officers prineipal—ecorporate—officers,—if
incorporated; and ifunincorporated;,—partaers;
or owners (whether direct or indirect) of the
pharmacy. Disclose the names and license
numbers of all pharmacists dispensing drugs,
devices, or medical equipment preseription
legend-drugs to an ultimate user in this State,
the names and, if available, license or
registration numbers of all suppertive
pharmacy personnel employed by the out-of-
state pharmacy who assist such pharmacists in
such dispensing. The pharmacist-manager for
the out-of-state permit issued by this Board
must be the same person as the pharmacist-
manager (whether called a pharmacist-
manager, a person-in-charge or otherwise) of
the pharmacy on the permit issued by the
pharmacy's home state. A report containing this
information shall be made on an annual basis
and within 30 days of each change of any

unincorporated,—partner pharmacist-manager,

€hH(6)

&)

officer, or owner (whether direct or indirect) of
the pharmacy. A new registration permit shall
be required under the circumstances set out in
Rule .1603 of this Section, and a new permit
must be secured before any legend drugs,
devices or medical equipment may be
dispensed into the State of North Carolina
following any of the enumerated changes in
circumstances. The existing permit becomes
void upon one of the events in Rule .1603 of
this Section, and any dispensing into the State
of North Carolina following one of those events
is unlawful and grounds for denial of a new
permit; for—a—change—of ownership—of—an
established-pharmacy—to-a-suceessor-business
) ine i i the sl ;g
Submit evidence of possession of a valid
license, permit, or registration as a pharmacy in
compliance with the laws of the state in which
the pharmacy is located; located—Such-evidence

A i ’ i

Designate a resident registered office and
registered agent in North Carolina for service of
preeess. process pursuant to Article 4 of
Chapter 55D of the North Carolina General
Statutes. The Board may serve or deliver any
notice or other document provided for under the
Pharmacy Practice Act or these Rules on that
registered agent. The Board may further serve
or deliver any notice or other document
provided for under the Pharmacy Practice Act
or these Rules on the Secretary of State when
the Secretary of State becomes an agent of the
entity pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 55D of
the North Carolina General Statutes; Any-saech
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(8) Notify the Board within five days of receipt of drugs:
any order or decision by a Board of Pharmacy &) madefalse-representations—in-conncetion—with
or other state or federal agency imposing the-practice—of pharmaeythat endangerorare
discipline of any sort on the pharmacy, or likelyto—endanger-the health-orsafetyof-the
receipt of any warning letter from the Food and publie;-or-that defraud-any person;

Drug Administration; and “H failed-to-comply-with-this Rule;

9 Within five days of receipt, provide the Board &) been—the——subjeet—ofa—negligence—complaint
with any inspection report from any other state's resulting—from—the—dispensing—of preseription
board of pharmacy or other agency that drugs-to-aresidentof North-Carelina-and based
regulates the pharmacy, the Food and Drug on—an—investigation—of such—complaint—been
Administration, or the National Association of found-to-benegligent:

Boards of Pharmacy. A by-the-Board-of Pharmacy-ol-the state
te)(d) The facilities and records of an out-of-state pharmacy shall in-which-the pharmaey-isloecated:
be subject to inspection by the Board; provided however, the By by—the—Neorth—Carelina—Beard—eof
Board may accept in lieu thereof satisfactery inspection reports Pharmaey-if the Board-of Pharmaey-of
by the licensing entity of the state in which the pharmacy is the—state—where—the—pharmaey—is
loeated: located or records transmitted by the pharmacy to the located—failed—to——initiate—an
Board offices. investigation-of such-complaint-within
D—An-out-of-state pharmaey-shall comply-with-the statutesand 45-days-after referral of the-complaint
(e) Any person who ships, mails, or delivers prescription drugs Pharmaey:or
to North Carolina residents from more than one out-of-state © by—the—Neorth—Carolina—Board—eof
pharmacy location shall register each pharmacy separately. Pharmacy-i'the Board-of Pharmacy-of
(f) An out-of-state permit holder may be disciplined pursuant to the—state—where—the—pharmaey—is
G.S. 90-85.38(b) based on the conduct of its pharmacy personnel, located—initiates—an—investisation—of
even if those pharmacy personnel are not licensed or registered such—complaint—within—45—days,—but
with the Board. The suspension or revocation of the pharmacy's lateradvises-the North-CarelinaBeard
home state permit will result in the immediate suspension or thatitwill netmake a-determinationof
revocation of the out-of-state permit issued by this Board. Prierte neglicence—or—that it has—madeno

| ol | horized otorrinati C e :

36:12 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 15, 2021
1055




PROPOSED RULES

(g) An out-of-state pharmacy registration permit shall expire
on December 31 of each year.

@o(h) The fees provided for in G.S. 90-85.21 A as maximum fees
which the Board is entitled to charge and collect are hereby
established as the fees for each original registration permit and for

annual renewal of each permit. registration:

Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.154; 90-85.214; 90-85.22; 90-
85.26,; 90-8528:-90-8529; 90-85.30; 90-85.32.

sk % sk ok % sk ok ok ok ok sk ok & ok %k ok ok % sk ok

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC
46 .2515.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c¢):
www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022

Public Hearing:

Date: February 8, 2022

Time: /0:00 a.m.

Location: The public hearing will be held remotely. The public
can participate on Teams at https://tinyurl.com/jsuk4bjk or may
call 336-604-5350, conference ID 903 191 899#.

Reason for Proposed Action: During the COVID public health
emergency, North Carolina pharmacy personnel have been able
to perform certain work outside the pharmacy under a Board of
Pharmacy Emergency Services Waiver. Further, some other
states' laws permit pharmacy personnel to perform remote work.
During a recent notice and comment period for other Board rules,
many commenters requested that the Board adopt the proposed
rule, in order to provide for permitted pharmacy locations in
North Carolina to allow remote work (other than physical acts in
the dispensing process) on a permanent basis and to approve out-
of-state permitted pharmacy locations to provide similar services
for North Carolina patients to the extent permitted by their home
states. The Board believes that the proposed rule will permit
alternative work environments while ensuring processes and
systems for patient safety.

Comments may be submitted to: Jay Campbell, 6015
Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517, fax (919)
246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

X0

SECTION .2500 - MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 46 .2515 REMOTE WORK BY
PHARMACY PERSONNEL

(a) Pharmacy personnel may perform pharmacy practice (other
than any physical acts in the dispensing process) remotely with
respect to drugs, devices, or medical equipment dispensed by the
permitted pharmacy location by which they are employed. The
pharmacist-manager must ensure that pharmacy personnel are
able to perform at the same level of competence, attention, and
proficiency as if the personnel were physically present in the
pharmacy, including having secure access to the pharmacy's
information system, and that all applicable state and federal laws
and regulations are followed.

(b) Out-of-state permit holders may permit remote pharmacy
practice by their own employees with respect to drugs, devices, or
medical equipment dispensed by those pharmacy locations only
to the extent permitted by the laws of the states in which they are
located.

(c) This Rule does not include services provided by someone who
is not an employee of the permitted pharmacy location that is
dispensing the drug, device or medical equipment. Any such
remote medication order entry services are governed by Rule
.1816 of this Chapter.

Authority G.S. 90-85.6;, 90-85.21; 90-85.214; 90-85.26; 90-
85.32; 90-85.34.
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CHAPTER 65 - BOARD OF RECREATIONAL THERAPY
LICENSURE

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure intends to amend the
rules cited as 21 NCAC 65 .0301 and .0701.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):
www.ncbrtl.org

Proposed Effective Date: April 1, 2022
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Public Hearing:

Date: January 14, 2022

Time: /0:00 a.m.

Location: Virtual Zoom Meeting
https./fus06web.zoom.us/j/82499667864?pwd=NnpTTFBTejdOY
WtDc3FJZWhoNzhtZz09C

Reason for Proposed Action:

21 NCAC 65 .0301 Professional standards have increased as well
as content and number of courses have increased in universities
therefore NCBRTL sees the need to also require additional
coursework for basic competencies to six Recreational therapy
content courses.

-NCBRTL is clarifying education and training is a part of
recreational therapy practice so all recreational therapy content
courses must be taught by a licensed recreational therapist.
-Update process for applying when internship supervisor cannot
be located and remove outdate date.

-Clarify internship supervisor must be licensed throughout the
entire internship. A person with an expired license can not
supervise a recreational therapy intern.

21 NCAC 65 .0701-Clarification of reasons for a lapsed license
due to nonpayment of Maintenance fees or non submission of
Renewal requirements since there is no “Late Fee” or late
forgiveness in the statute.

Comments may be submitted to: Becky Garrett, PO Box 2655,
Durham, NC 27715; phone (336) 212-1133; email
becky@ncbrtl.org

Comment period ends: February 14, 2022

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

4

SECTION .0300 - REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE

21 NCAC 65 .0301 MINIMUM LEVEL OF
EDUCATION AND COMPETENCY FOR LICENSED
RECREATIONAL THERAPIST

(a) For the purposes of G.S. 90C-27(a), a candidate for licensure
as a recreational therapist shall have graduated from an accredited
college or university with a baccalaureate degree or higher and
with a major or specialization in recreational therapy or
therapeutic recreation. The academic major or specialization shall
be verified by an official transcript.

(b) For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms mean:

€8 An "academic major" is defined as a degree in
recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation.
2 A '"specialization in recreational therapy or

therapeutic recreation" is defined as a degree in
recreation and leisure studies, or recreation, or
health and physical education, or health and
human performance with a specialization, also
known as an option, emphasis, or
concentration, in therapeutic recreation or
recreational therapy.

3) An "accredited college or university" is defined
as a college or university accredited by an
accreditation body recognized by the United
States Department of Education or by the
Committee on Accreditation of Recreational
Therapy Education (CARTE) under the
Commission of Accreditation of Allied Health
Education (CAAHEP).

(c) An academic major or specialization is defined by the
following components:

1) Coursework for a degree or specialization in
recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation
shall reflect six courses, three hours per course
in which the title, course description, and
course outline reflects recreational therapy or
therapeutic recreation content related to the
"APIE(D) Process". Course titles may include
Introduction or Foundations, Assessment,
Planning, Implementation, Evaluation,
Research, and Advancement of the Profession.
Topics that should be addressed in classes
should include Ethics, Standards of Practice,
documentation. Recreational
Therapy/Therapeutic Recreation coursework
offered in North Carolina must be taught by a
licensed recreational therapist (LRT) or out of
state by a Certified Therapeutic Recreation
Specialist (CTRS). For candidates for licensure
who have passed the NCTRC examination and
were certified by the National Council for
Therapeutic  Recreation  Certification, a
therapeutic recreation or recreational therapy
content course taught is considered the same as
a therapeutic recreation or recreational therapy
content course taken.

2) "Supportive coursework" are courses, not
including the recreational therapy or
therapeutic recreation content courses, that
provide knowledge necessary to develop the
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ability to practice recreational therapy or
therapeutic recreation and are required for the
major or specialization in recreational therapy
or therapeutic recreation. Supportive courses
provide knowledge about human development,
human functioning, health, health care and
human services, illness and disabling
conditions. Supportive courses for a degree or
specialization in recreational therapy or
therapeutic recreation shall include three
semester hours of anatomy and physiology,
three semester hours of abnormal psychology,
three semester hours of human growth and
development across the lifespan, and nine
semester hours in the area of health and human
services. Health and human services
coursework may include content in the areas of
education, ethics, and other supportive courses
related to the practice of recreational therapy.
3) In addition to the coursework required in

Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (2) of this Rule, a

field placement course shall be required for an

academic major or specialization in therapeutic
recreation or recreational therapy.

(A) A "field placement course,"
sometimes called an "internship
course," is a course taken for college
or university credit and shall require
clinical education in an agency
providing  therapeutic  recreation
services to clients. The field placement
or internship course shall meet the
criteria for a field placement set forth
by the NCTRC in the NCTRC
Standards publication herein
incorporated by reference including
any subsequent amendments and
editions. A copy of the NCTRC field
placement requirements may be
obtained at no cost on the National
Council for Therapeutic Recreation
Certification (NCTRC) website at:
http://www.nctrc.org.

(B) A "university supervisor" of a field
placement course is defined as the
university ~ faculty  assigned to
supervise the student and course from
the university. If the university is in
North Carolina, University
supervisors shall be licensed by the
North Carolina Board of Recreational
Therapy  Licensure =~ (NCBRTL)
throughout the entire internship
experience.

© An "agency supervisor" is the
recreational therapist or therapeutic
recreation specialist, in an agency
providing therapeutic recreation or
recreational therapy services to

patients or clients, assigned to provide
clinical supervision to the field
placement student from the agency.
Supervisors of students completing
field placements in North Carolina
shall be licensed by the North Carolina
Board of Recreational Therapy
Licensure (NCBRTL) throughout the
entire internship experience.

(D) "Successful performance" in a field
placement course is defined as a grade
of D or Pass awarded by the university
supervisor. "Successful performance
from the agency supervisor" is defined
by an overall rating of "Achieves
Expectations" documented on the
Clinical Performance Appraisal and
Summary Reference Form,
(CPASREF) that may be accessed at the
Board's website, www.ncbrtl.org or by
contacting the Board. The CPASRF
includes the content and performance
criteria from the ATRA SOP, as set
forth in Rule .0203 of this Chapter.
The CPASREF is provided by the Board
or at the Board's website
www.ncbrtl.org

(d) Candidates for licensure who have been certified as a
Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, (CTRS™) by the
National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification
(NCTRC) sinee1996 and have completed all recreational therapy
or therapeutic recreation content courses, and all support content
course requirements, but have-netcompleted-an-internship-orfield
placement-eourse cannot locate their internship supervisor, shall
file an Internship Supervisor Location Appeals Form and shall be
issued a license to practice as a recreational therapist if they verify
a minimum of one year of successful performance as a
recreational therapist or therapeutic recreation specialist during
which time they were a " CTRS™ by the NCTRC. Successful
work performance shall be verified to the NCBRTL on a CPASRF
provided by NCBRTL. "Successful performance" is defined as an
overall rating completed by the agency supervisor of "Achieves
Expectations" on the CPASRF provided by the NCBRTL.

(e) Successful passage of the NCTRC examination shall be
determined by the NCTRC. Applicants for licensure shall submit
evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC examination to the
NCBRTL. Evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC
examination shall be copy of his or her NCTRC certificate or a
successful passage notification letter from

NCTRC.

Authority G.S. 90C-22(2)(i); 90C-22(7); 90C-24(13); 90C-27(a).

SECTION .0700 —- REINSTATEMENT
21 NCAC 65 .0701 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED
LICENSE
(a) A recreational therapist or a recreational therapy assistant
whose license has lapsed and who desires reinstatement of that
license shall:
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(D Complete a reinstatement application form with
current contact and employment information
provided by the Board within 60 days of
expiration; expiration or missed submissions of
Record Maintenance Fee or Renewal fee and
application with continuing education;

2) Submit evidence of satisfaction of all court
conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or
felony conviction(s), if applicable;

3) Submit evidence of meeting education and
competency requirements pursuant to Rule
.0301 or Rule .0302 as applicable at the time of
reinstatement;

@) Submit evidence of meeting continuing
education requirements in accordance with
Rule .0601; and

5) Submit payment of application fee and any
missed Renewal or Maintenance licensure fees.

(b) Persons whose license is suspended for failure to renew must
not practice recreational therapy and must not hold themselves out
as licensed by the Board until they apply for and receive
reinstatement of their license by the Board.

(c) The Board shall inform the applicant in writing of the Board's
decision within 30 days after the application deadline and the
Board finds the complete application shows the requirements
have been met.

Authority G.S. 90C-24(a)(3); 90C-28; 90C-30.
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Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the
Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure intends to amend the
rule cited as 21 NCAC 65 .0501.

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2)
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule,
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1).
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m.
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule.
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850.

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
State funds affected

Local funds affected

Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
Approved by OSBM

No fiscal note required

(| |

SECTION .0500 — LICENSURE FEES

21 NCAC 65 .0501 LICENSURE FEES

(a) A cashier's check, money order, certified check, an employer's
check, or online payment is acceptable for the initial application
licensure fees.

(b) Fees are nonrefundable and payable to the North Carolina
Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure. A cashier's check,
money order, certified check, an employer's check, personal
checks, or online payment shall be accepted for payment of
renewal fee and record maintenance fee. The processing fee for
returned checks shall be the maximum allowed by law.

(c) The Board shall collect the following fees:

www.ncbrtl.org n Initial Application for Licensure Fee

(A) Licensed Recreational Therapist
Proposed Effective Date: July 1, 2022 $100.00

B) Licensed  Recreational = Therapy
Public Hearing: Assistant $50.00
Date: January 14, 2022 2) Licensure renewal fees (due every two years)
Time: 10:00 a.m. (A) Licensed Recreational Therapist
Location: Virtual Zoom Meeting $75-60 $85.00
https://us06web.zoom.us/j/82499667864?pwd=NnpTTFBTejdOY B) Licensed  Recreational = Therapy
WtDc3FJZWhoNzhtZz09C Assistant $35-00 $40.00

3) Inactive status $35.00 $45.00

Reason for Proposed Action: NCBRTL has not raised fees since 4) Record Maintenance fee (due non- renewal
2005 and needs to maintain even budget and meet expenses. year)

(A) Licensed Recreational Therapist
Comments may be submitted to: Becky Garrett, PO Box 2655, $75-60 $80.00
Durham, NC 27715, phone (336) 212-1133; email B) Licensed  Recreational  Therapy
becky@ncbrtl.org Assistant $35-00 $40.00
Comment period ends: February 14, 2022 Authority G.S. 90C-24(a)(3); 90C-24(a)(10); 90C-28.
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the
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the Rules Review Commission by the 270" day.

and 26 NCAC 02C .0500 for adoption and filing requirements.

Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are temporary rules reviewed and approved by the
Rules Review Commission (RRC) and have been delivered to the Codifier of Rules for entry into the North Carolina Administrative
Code. A temporary rule expires on the 270" day from publication in the Register unless the agency submits the permanent rule to

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of temporary rules that have expired. See G.S. 150B-21.1

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
QUALITY

Rule-making Agency: Wildlife Resources Commission
Rule Citation: /54 NCAC 10C .0314
Effective Date: November 30, 2021

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: November
18,2021

Reason for Action: G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(7)c. The estimated
pounds of Striped Bass harvested in the Roanoke River
Management Area in 2021 exceeded the Roanoke River Total
Allowable Landings (TAL), despite an 80 percent reduction in the
harvest season length. Reducing the daily creel limit for Striped
Bass from two fish to one fish in the Roanoke River Management
Area in combination with a shortened harvest season will
decrease the likelihood of exceeding the TAL in 2022.

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER
SAFETY

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH

15ANCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS

(a) The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four
fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b),
(e), (D), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit
for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in
Paragraphs (b), (¢), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule.
There is no closed season, except for waters identified in
Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule.

(b) In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister
River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H.
Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its
hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20
inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through
September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids
is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit.

(c) In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum
size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from
October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for
these fish from June 1 through September 30.

(d) In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island
Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake
Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped
Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches.

(e) In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in
the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may
be greater than 22 inches.

(f) In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its
tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South
Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its
hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit
is 18 inches.

(g) In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico
rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first
impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and
in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified
in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit
for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The
minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for
taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through
September 30.

(h) In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its
tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds
associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the
season for taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-
round.

(i) In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River
Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC
03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which
includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and
their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped
Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-
coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to
Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily
creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is twe one fish in-the
aggregate; and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish
between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in
the daily creel limit. Only-onefish-larger-than27-inches-may-be
() In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound,
Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck
Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries
(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their
tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel
limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations
of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal
fishing waters.

(k) Inaccordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may,
by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for
Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and
their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any
proclamation issued under this authority.

History Note:
113-305;
Eff. November 1, 2013,

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; [113-304;
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Amended Eff. June 1, 2018; August 1, 2016; August 1, 2015;
August 1, 2014,

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2019;

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2020,

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS
AND COMMISSIONS

Rule-making Agency: Board of Architecture and Registered
Interior Designers

Rule Citation: 2/ NCAC 02 .0102, .0106, .0108, .0109, .0201-
.0205, .0208-.0210, .0212-.0215, .0217, .0218, .0302, .0303,
.0306, .0901, .0903-.0910

Effective Date: November 30, 2021, except 21 NCAC 02 .0108
is pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1

Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission: November
18,2021

Reason for Action: The effective date of a recent act of the
General Assembly. S.L. 2021-81 went into effect June 30, 2021
and required NCBA/RIO to register interior designers by
December 31, 2021.

CHAPTER 02 - ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED
INTERIOR DESIGNERS

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL PROVISIONS

21 NCAC 02 .0102
AND OFFICERS
In addition to the annual meeting as prescribed in G.S. 83A-2,
other meetings of the Board may be called by the president or any
three four Board members. The officers of the Board shall be
elected at the annual meeting for terms of one year and until a
successor is elected. Vacancies in the officers' terms, occurring
from death, resignation, disability or expiration of Board service,
shall be filled by election at the next Board meeting following the
vacancy.

ORGANIZATION OF BOARD

History Note: Authority G.S. 834-2; 834-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0106 SEAL OF BOARD
The Board_has_adonted I_which_is eirenlar in s} !

The official seal adopted by the Board is the Great Seal of the
State of North Carolina with the inscription of the Board name on

the perimeter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 83-5; 834-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- May 1, 1989,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0108 FEES
The fees required by the Board Beard;-are-payable-inadvanee-and

are set forth below:

1 L5 Lication bv.E
Annual-Heenserenewal

Eirm $100.00
Late renewal Penalty $-50-00
License to Practice Architecture:

By Exam $50.00
By Reciprocity $150.00
Firm License $75.00
Annual License to Practice Architecture Renewal:

Individual $50.00
Firm $100.00
Late Renewal Penalty for Individual Architects and Firms:
Up-to-30 days $50.00
30 days to 1 year $100.00
Reinstatement of Expired License:

Architect $250.00
Firm $250.00
Registration to Practice Interior Design:

Individual Registration $1506-00 $100.00
Firm Registration $75.00

Annual Registration to Practice Interior Design Renewal:
Individual $50.00
Firm $50.00

Late Renewal Penalty for Interior Designers and Interior Design
Firms:

Up-to-30 days $50.00
30 days to 1 year $100.00
Reinstatement of Expired Registration

Interior Designer $250.00
Interior Design Firm $250.00
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IndividualorFirm Rei hall bethef teseribed i
All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable.
i blicati ’ . :dod byv_the_E |

History Note:  Authority G.S. 55B-10; 834-4; 834-11;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- July 1, 2014, December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995;
December 1, 1992; May 1, 1991; May 1, 1989, July 1, 1987,
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017,

Temporary Amendment Eff. Pending consultation pursuant to
G.S. 12-3.1.

21 NCAC 02 .0109 DEFINITIONS

In addition to the statutory definitions in G.S. 83A-1, as used in
these Rules, the following terms shall have the following
meanings:

(D "Delinquent" is the status of a license or
registration that has not been renewed in
accordance with 21 NCAC 02 .0213(b) for
individuals and 21+ NEAC—02—-0214(d) 21
NCAC 02 .0214(c) for firms.

2) "Licensed" means holding a license to practice
architecture in the State of North Carolina as
defined by North Carolina General Statute
Chapter 83A. "Registered" —has—the—same
meaning—as—licensed: "Registered" means
holdi . . e interiordesi
as—defined—by has the same meaning as
'registered interior designer' as set forth in G.S.
Chapter 83A.

3) "Fictitious name" is any assumed name, style or
designation other than the proper name of the
entity using such name. The surname of a
person, standing alone or coupled with words
that describe the business, is not a fictitious
business name. The inclusion of words that
suggest additional owners, such as "Company,"
"& Company," "& Sons," "& Associates,"
makes the name an assumed or fictitious name.
For partnerships, the last name of all partners
must be lsted listed, or the fictitious name
definition applies.

(49 " 1 "

&)(4) “Fam" "Architectural Firm" means any
Professional Corporation or Professional
Limited Liability Company approved by the
Board and engaged in the practice of
architecture. "Registered Interior Design Firm"
means any Business Corporation or Limited
Liability Company approved by the Board and
engaged in registered interior design services.
"Procurement" means purchasing or pricing of
materials to construct a building or structure.

)5

General Statute 83 A-meansresponsible-controk
Direet—Supervision "Direct Supervision" as
used in G.S. 83A means responsible control as
defined in 21 NCAC 02 .0203.
"Continuing Competency" as used in North
Carolina General Statute 83A-6(a)(5) means
continuing education obtained post licensure or
registration that enables a—registered an
architect or registered interior designer to
increase or update knowledge of and
competence in technical and professional
subjects related to the practice of architecture
and interior design to safeguard the public's
health, safety and welfare.
"Health, safety and welfare" (HSW) as used in
North Carolina General Statute 83A-6 (a)(5)
means technical and professional subjects that
according to these rules safeguard the public
and that are necessary for the proper evaluation,
design, construction and utilization of buildings
and the built environment.
) "Architect-of-record" or "Designer-of-record"
means persons or entities whose seals appear on
plans, specifications, and contract documents.

&)

(@)

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6;

Eff. November 1, 2010,

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

SECTION .0200 — PRACTICE OF ARCHITECTURE

21 NCAC 02 .0201 ARCHITECT, REGISTERED
INTERIOR DESIGNER, FIRM OR PARTNERSHIP
CONTACT INFORMATION AS ON FILE WITH THE
BOARD

(a) Every individual licensee and registrant shall keep the Board
advised of histher their preferred current contact information,
including physical mailing address, email and phone numbers,
principle place of business and electronic mail address and the
name of the firm or partnership where he/she—is they are
employed.

(b) Each firm or partnership shall within 30 days notify the Board
of all changes in ownership, of association, contact information,
electronic email or physical address. Upon the dissolution of a
firm, the architect or registered interior designer in responsible
control of the firm at the time of dissolution shall within 30 days
notify the Board concerning such dissolution, and of the
succeeding status and addresses of the firm. This requirement is
in addition to registration, listing and renewal requirements set out
elsewhere in rules of this Chapter.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-5; 834-6;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- November 1, 2010; June 1, 1995,
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Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0202
RULES

The Executive Director shall make available on the Board web
site at www.ncbarch.org Chapter 83A of the North Carolina
General Statutes and the rules of the Board adopted hereunder.
Rules adopted and published by the Board under the provisions of
Chapter 83A and Chapter 150B shall be binding upon every
individual holding a license or registration from the Board, and
upon all prefessional-corporations firms legally authorized to

offer or to perform archltectural or registered interior desuzn

APPLICABILITY OF BOARD

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014, June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0203 GENERAL-OBHIGATHONS OF
PRACTHICE RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT

" 1 "

83A-12. In order to safeguard the life, health, property and
welfare of the public and to establish and maintain a high standard
of integrity, skills, and practice in the practice of architecture and
registered interior design, the Rules of Professional Conduct in
this Rule are adopted in accordance with G.S. 83 A and are binding
upon every person holding a license to practice architecture
(licensee) or registered interior designer (registrant), and on all
firms authorized to offer or render architectural or registered
interior design services in this state. All persons licensed or
registered under the provisions of G.S. 83A are charged with
having knowledge of the Board Rules and are deemed to be
familiar with their provisions and to understand them. Each
licensed or registered person and entity shall affirm in their
renewals that they have read and understand the current laws and
rules.

(@8] Licensees and registrants shall conduct their
practice in order to protect the public health,

safety and welfare. The licensee or registrant
shall always recognize the primary obligation to
protect the public in the performance of the
professional duties. The architect or registered

2)

circumstances where the safety, health and
welfare of the public are endangered, the
licensee or registrant shall inform the employer,
the client, the contractor, other affected parties,
and any appropriate regulatory agency of the
possible consequences of the situation.

In designing a project, the licensee or registrant

shall consider all applicable federal, state and
municipal building laws and rules. A licensee

or registrant shall undertake to perform
professional services only when they, together
with those whom the licensee or registrant may
engage as consultants, are qualified by
education, training and experience in the
specific technical areas involved. While a
licensee or registrant may rely on the advice of
other professionals (e.g., attorneys, engineers
and other qualified persons) as to the intent and
meaning of such laws and rules, once having
obtained such advice, a licensee or registrant
shall not design a project in violation of such
laws and rules.

In practicing architecture or interior design, the
licensee or registrant shall act with reasonable
care_and competence and shall apply the
technical knowledge and skill which is

ordinarily applied by architects or interior
designers of good standing, practicing in the
same locality.

Responsible Control. No architect or registered
interior designer shall affix their seal and
signature to contract documents developed by
others not under the architect's or registered
interior _ designer's  responsible  control.
"Responsible control" means that amount of
control over and professional knowledge of the
content of technical submissions during their
preparation as is exercised by an architect or

interior designer acts as a professional adviser registered interior designer applying the
to their client and their advice must be required professional standard of care,
unprejudiced. If the licensee or registrant's including:
professional judgment is overruled under
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(a) Dissemination  of  programmatic (©) Shall issue no statements, criticisms,
requirements; or arguments on architectural or
(b) Ongoing coordination and correlation interior design matters connected with
of services with other aspects of the public policy which are inspired or
total design of the project; paid for by an interested party, or
(©) Verification with consultant that parties, unless the architect or
owner's requirements are being met; registered  interior _ designer _ has
(@ Authority over the services of those prefaced the comment by explicitly
who assisted in the preparation of the identifying their name, by disclosing
documents; the identities of the party or parties on
(e) Assumption of responsibility for the whose behalf the architect or
services; registered  interior  designer  is
(f) Incorporation of services and technical speaking, and by revealing the
submissions into design documents to existence of any pecuniary interest the
be issued for permitting purposes; and architect or registered interior designer
(2) Incorporation _and _integration of may have in the matters; and
information  from manufacturers, (@ Shall not attempt to injure, maliciously
suppliers, installers, the architect's or or falsely, directly or indirectly, the
registered interior designer's professional reputation, prospects,
consultants, owners, contractors, or practice_or employment of another
other sources the architect or architect or  registered  interior
registered interior designer trusts that designer, nor indiscriminately criticize
is_incidental to and intended to be another architect's or registered
incorporated into the architect's or interior designer's work in public.
registered interior designer's technical Indiscriminate  criticism __includes
submissions if the architect or statements without valid basis or cause
registered  interior _ designer _ has or that are not objective and truthful or
coordinated and reviewed  such that fail to include all relevant and
information. pertinent information. If the architect
[®)] An architect or registered interior designer shall or registered interior designer believes
not deliberately make a materially false that another architect or registered
statement or deliberately fail to disclose a interior  designer is  guilty of
material fact requested in connection with their misconduct or illegal practice, such
application for license or registration renewal. information shall be presented to the
(6) An architect or registered interior designer shall North Carolina Board of Architecture
not in assist the application for licensure or and Registered Interior Designers in
registration of a person known by the architect the form of a complaint.
or registered interior designer to be unqualified (8) An architect or registered interior designer shall

with respect to education, training, experience,

avoid conflicts of interest and:

or character. (a) Shall inform the employer or client,
(@A) An architect or registered interior designer shall and any reviewing agency, of any
issue public statements only in an objective and business association, interests, or
truthful manner and: circumstances which could influence
(a) Shall be objective and truthful in all judgment or the quality of services;
professional reports, statements, or (b) Shall not accept compensation,
testimony. The architect or registered financial or otherwise, from more than
interior designer shall include all one party for services on the same
relevant and pertinent information in project, or for services pertaining to
such reports, statements or testimony:; the same project, unless the
(b) When serving as an expert or technical circumstances are disclosed to, and
witness before any court, commission, agreed to, in writing, by all interested
or other tribunal, shall express an parties;
opinion only when it is founded upon (©) Shall not solicit or accept financial or
adequate knowledge of the facts in other valuable considerations from
issue, upon a background of technical material, furniture, fixtures, or
competence in the subject matter, and equipment suppliers for specifying
upon honest conviction of the their products unless disclosed to the
accuracy and propriety of the client;
individual's testimony:;
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An _architect or registered interior
designer shall not pay or offer to pay,
either directly or indirectly, any
commission, political contribution,
gift, or other consideration in order to
secure_work. Gifts of nominal value
including, reasonable entertainment
and hospitality) and securing salaried
positions through employment
agencies are permitted;

When in public service as a member,
advisor, or employee of a
governmental body or department,
shall not participate in considerations
or actions with respect to services
provided by the licensee or registrant
or the licensee's or registrant's firm in
private _architectural or registered
interior design practices;

Shall not engage in any false,
deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading

advertising; and

Shall not attempt to supplant another
architect or registered interior designer
in a particular employment after
becoming aware that the other has
been selected for the employment.
When acting as the interpreter of
building contract documents and the
judge of contract performance, an

architect or interior designer shall
render decisions impartially, favoring

neither party to the contract.
If, in the course of their work on a
project, an architect or registered
interior designer becomes aware of a
decision taken by their employer or
client, against their advice, which
violates applicable state or municipal
building laws and regulations and
which will, in their judgment,
materially affect adversely the safety
to the public of the finished project,
the architect or registered interior
designer shall:

(i) report the decision to the
local building inspector or
other public official charged
with the enforcement of the
applicable state or municipal
building laws and
regulations;

(ii) refuse to consent to the
decision;

111 in_circumstances where the
architect or registered
interior designer reasonably
believes that other such
decisions will be taken

&)

(1))

notwithstanding, his
objection, terminate their
services with reference to the

project; and
(iv) in the case of termination in

accordance with clause in
Sub-Item (i)(iii) of this Rule,
the architect or registered
interior designer shall have
no liability to their client or
employer on account of such
termination.
If an architect or registered interior
designer has any business association
or direct or indirect financial interest
which is substantial enough to
influence their judgment in connection
with the performance of professional
services, they shall fully disclose in
writing to their client or employer the
nature of the business association or
financial interest, and if the client or
employer objects to such association
or financial interest, they will either
terminate such association or interest
or offer to give up the commission or
employment.
An architect making public statements
on _architectural questions shall
disclose _when they are being

compensated for making such
statements.

A registered interior designer making
statements on _interior  design
questions shall disclose when they are
being  compensated  for  such
statements.

A licensee or registrant shall solicit or accept

work on the basis of qualifications and:

(a)

(b)

Shall not offer to pay, either directly or
indirectly, any commission, political
contribution, gift, or other
consideration in order to secure work,
exclusive of securing  salaried
positions through employment
agencies;

The licensee or registrant shall not
solicit or submit proposals for

professional services containing a

false, fraudulent, misleading,
deceptive or unfair statement or claim

regarding the cost, quality or extent of
services to be rendered;

Shall, with regard to fee bidding on
public projects, comply with the
provisions of G.S. 143-64.31 et seq.,
(or for federal projects, the Brooks
Act, 40 U.S. Code 541 et seq.) and
shall not knowingly cooperate in a
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violation of any provision of G.S. 143-
64.31 et seq. (or of 40 U.S. Code 541
et seq.); and
Shall not falsify or  permit
misrepresentation of academic or
professional qualifications and shall
only report educational qualifications
when a degree or certificate was
awarded unless it is stated that no
degree or certificate was awarded.
An _architect or registered interior
designer shall represent to a
prospective or existing client or
employer their qualifications and the
scope of their responsibility in
connection with work for which they
are claiming credit. Misrepresentation
shall be found if the following is not
complied with:

(i) Each licensee or registrant
shall state  their  prior
professional experience and
the firm they are representing
while presenting
qualifications to all
prospective clients. If the
licensee or registrant uses
visual representations _ of
prior projects or experience,
all designers or architects of
record shall be identified.

(ii) An architect or registered
interior designer who has
been an employee of another
firm may not claim credit for
projects contracted for in the
name of the previous
employer. They shall
indicate, next to the listing
for _each  project, that
individual experience gained
in connection with the project
was acquired as an employee
and identify the previous
firm. The architect or
registered interior designer
shall also describe the nature
and extent of  their
participation in the project.

iii An _architect or registered
interior designer who
presents a project that has
received awards or public
recognition shall comply
with the requirements in this
Item with regard to project
presentation to the public and
prospective clients.

a0)

an

(iv) Projects that remain
unconstructed and are listed
as credits in presentation
items shall be listed as
"unbuilt" or a  similar
designation, as determined
by the architect or registered

interior designer.

A licensee or registrant shall perform services

in an ethical manner, as required by this Rule,

and in a lawful manner and:

(a)

Shall not knowingly associate with or
permit the use of the licensee's or
registrant's name or firm name in a
business venture by any person or firm
which the licensee or registrant knows,
or has reason to believe, is engaging in
business or professional practices of a
fraudulent or dishonest nature or is not
properly licensed; and

If the licensee or registrant has
knowledge or reason to believe that
another person or firm may be in
violation of the Board Rules (21
NCAC 02) or of the North Carolina
Architectural and Registered Interior
Design Practice Act (G.S. 83A), they
shall present such information to the
Board in writing in the form of a
complaint and shall cooperate with the
Board in furnishing such further
information or assistance as may be
required by the Board.

An architect or registered interior
designer shall cooperate with the
Board in connection with any inquiry
it _shall make. Cooperation includes
responding to all inquiries from the
Board or its representative and
claiming correspondence from the U.
S. Postal Service, or other delivery
service, sent to the licensee or
registrant from the Board in a timely
manner. The Board shall utilize
electronic mail as its primary method
of communication with licensees and
registrants. Timely is defined as within
the time specified in the
correspondence, or if no time is
specified, within 30 days of receipt.

An architect or registered interior designer who

has received a reprimand or civil penalty or
whose professional license or registration is

revoked, suspended, denied, refused renewal,

refused

reinstatement, put on probation,

restricted, or surrendered as a result of

disciplinary action by another jurisdiction is

subject to discipline by the Board if the

licensee's or registrant's action constitutes a
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violation of G.S. 83A or the rules adopted by
the Board.
In addition to the grounds stated in G.S. 83A-
14 and G.S. 83A-15(3), the following acts or
omissions may be deemed to be
"unprofessional conduct" and to be cause for
the levy of a civil penalty or for denial,
suspension, or revocation of a license or
registration or firm certificate of licensure or
registration to  practice  architecture  or
registered interior design:

(a) An architect or registered interior
designer shall not, in the conduct of
their professional practice, knowingly
violate any state or federal criminal
law. A criminal conviction shall be
deemed prima facie evidence of
knowingly violating the law.

(b) Evasion.

(i) An_architect or registered
interior designer shall not,
through employment by
contractors (whether or not
the contractors are licensed
under G.S. 87), or by another
individual or entity not
holding an individual or firm
registration from the Board,
to _enable the employer to
offer or perform architectural
services or registered interior
design services, except as
provided in G.S. 83A-13. In
design/build arrangements,
the architect or registered
interior designer shall not be
an _employee of a person or
firm not holding a license to

practice __architecture _ or
registered interior design in
North Carolina.

(ii) An_architect or registered

interior designer shall not
furnish limited services in

such manner as to enable
owners, draftsmen, or others

as3)

14)

as)

(16)

History Note:

revisions thereof for such
persons or do any act to
enable either such persons or
the project owners to evade
the requirements of G.S.
83A,G.S. 133-2, G.S. 153A-
357, 0r G.S. 160A-417.
An architect, registered interior designer or firm
shall not maintain or represent by sign, listing,
or other manner that they have a physical
presence in North Carolina unless such office
employs a licensed architect or registered
interior designer who is a resident in North
Carolina whose principal place of business is in
that office. This Item does not apply to on-site
project offices during construction of a project.
It is unprofessional conduct for an architect or
registered interior designer to be found by a
court to have infringed upon the copyrighted
works of other architects, registered interior
designers or other design professionals.
An architect or registered interior designer shall
not knowingly continue to offer or render
architectural or registered interior design
services as set forth in G.S. 83A after their
license or registration expires, is placed on
delinquent status, is revoked, or suspended for
failure to renew.
Architects or registered interior designers
preparing plans for building permits shall
submit plans that are complete and buildable.
Such plans shall conform with the State
Building Code and local plan submission
requirements. Professional judgment shall be
exercised to reflect sufficient documentation
necessary for plan approval. Provided,
however, this Rule does not alter any standard
of liability applicable to licensees or registrants.

Authority G.S. 834-6;

Eff. February 1, 1976;
Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,
Amended Eff- May 1, 1989, November 1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34,

rule is necessary without

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;
Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

to evade the public health and
safety requirements of G.S.
83A, G.S. 133-2, G.S 153A,
G.S. 153A-357, G.S. 160A-
412, 0or G.S. 160A-417.

11l When building plans are
begun or contracted for by
persons _not licensed or
registered and qualified, an
architect or registered
interior designer shall not
take over, review, revise, or
sign or seal such drawings or

21 NCAC 02 .0204

FORMS OF PRACTICE

(a) The practice of architecture shall be carried out by one of the
following types of entities:

(M
2

3)

“

sole practitioners;

professional limited liability companies that are
established under the provisions of G-S-—57D;
G.S. 57D-2-02;

limited liability partnerships that are
established under the provisions of G.S. 59-
84.2;

professional corporations that are established
under the provisions of G.S. 55B; or
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5) general partnerships.
(b) The practice of registered interior design shall be carried out
by one of the following types of entities:

[@0)] sole practitioners;

2) limited liability companies that are established

under the provisions of G.S. 57D;

3) limited liability  partnerships that are
4

established under the provisions of G.S. 59-
84.2;
business corporations that are established under
the provisions of G.S. 55; or
5) general partnerships.
Each limited liability partnership and each general partnership
engaged in the practice of architecture or registered interior design
in North Carolina shall keep a current list of all resident and non-
resident partners of the partnership. One annual listing by a
representative of the partnership shall satisfy the requirement of
this Paragraph for all partners in the firm; however, each partner
shall remain responsible for compliance with the rules. Changes
in the information required by this Paragraph shall be filed with
the Board office within 30 days after the change occurs.
) (c) All individuals who practice architecture through entities
described in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall
be licensed to practice architecture.
(d) All individuals who practice registered interior design through
entities described in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this
Rule shall be registered to practice interior design.

History Note:
6, 834-8;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- October 1, 2012; December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 55B; 57C; 59-84.2; 834-4, 834-

21 NCAC 02 .0205 NAME OF FIRM

(a) A licensee or registrant shall not engage in the practice of
architecture or registered interior design under a firm name which
is misleading or deceptive in any way as to the legal form of the
firm or the persons who are partners, officers, members, or
shareholders in the firm. The Board shall approve all firm names
to be used in this State. Examples of misleading or deceptive firm
names include the following:

(D Use of "architects" or '"registered interior
designers" when the number of architects or
registered interior designers in a firm does not
warrant such use;

2) Use of the name of an employee unless that
employee is a licensed or registered partner,
licensed or registered officer, licensed or
registered member or licensed or registered
shareholder;

3) Use of the name of a deceased architect or
registered interior designer in order to benefit
from his their reputation, when that architect or
registered interior designer was not a former

partner, officer, member or shareholder in the
present firm;

4) Use of a name which is deceptively similar to
that of existing firm name; and
6) Use of a fictitious name by a sole proprietor.

(b) Failure of the firm to register a fictitious name shall be prima
facie evidence of the name being misleading or deceptive.

History Note: Authority G.S. 55B-5; 834-6,; 834-9, 834-12;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010, July 1, 2006; June 1, 1995, April
1, 1991; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0208 DISHONEST CONDUCT
History Note:
15;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006, December I,
1995; June 1, 1995, October 1, 1989; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Repeal Eff. December 13, 2021.

Authority G.S. 14-353; 834-6; 834-14; 834-

21 NCAC 02 .0209 UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT
History Note: Authority G.S. 834-6, 834-14; 834-15;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Amended Eff- February 24, 1976;

Readopted September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010, July 1, 2006, June 1, 1995; July
1, 1992, October 1, 1989; May 1, 1989;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff- November 1, 2017.

Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0210 INCOMPETENCE

{a)—In—practicing —architecture,—an—architectshall aet—with
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) No person shall be permitted to practice architecture or

registered interior design if sueh—person's—professional

disabilities- such person has been declared insane or incompetent

by a court of law.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6, 834-14; 834-15;

Eff. February 1, 1976,

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006, June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; November
1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0212 INDEPENDENT JUDGMENT
AND DISCLOSURE
History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6, 834-16; 834-17;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. June 1, 1995; May 1, 1989; November 1, 1979;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015.

Temporary Repeal Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0213
REGISTRATIONS

INDIVIDUAL LICENSES AND

(b) Late Renewal. If the Board has not received the annual
renewal fee and completed renewal documentation on or before
the first day of July, each year the license or registration shall
expire and be placed on delinquent status. For the purpose of this
Rule, "delinquent status" means an administrative revocation and
is not considered discipline. The license or registration may be
renewed at any time within one year of being deemed delinquent,
upon the return of the completed renewal documentation, the
annual renewal fee, and the late renewal penalty and
demonstration of compliance with Section .0900 of this Chapter.
(c) Reinstatement. After one year from the date of expiration, the
Board shall revoke the license or registration for failure to renew.
Reinstatement shall occur pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 and Sections
.0300 and .0900 of this Chapter.

(d) Any individual who is currently licensed by or registered by
and in good standing with the Board who is serving in the armed
forces of the United States shall not be subject to late fees,
suspension or revocation for failure to renew licensure on or
before the first day July each year, provided that the individual
has been granted an extension of time to file a tax return as set
forth in G.S. 105-249.2.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6; 834-11; 93B-15(b);

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- December 1, 2010; July 1, 2006, July 1, 1999; May
1, 1989; November 1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017,

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0214 FIRM PRACTICE OF
ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR
DESIGN

(a) Registration: Prior to offering and rendering architectural or
registered interior design services as set forth in G.S. 83A and 21

(a) Renewal. License—registration The license to practice

architecture or interior design registration must be renewed on or
before the first day in July each year. No less than 30 days prior
to the renewal date, the Board shall send a notice of renewal to
each individual licensee or registrant via electronic mail. It shall
be the professional responsibility of the licensee or registrant to
renew the license or registration on or before the 30th day of July
each year. Continued practice after such date shall constitute
unlawful practice as set forth in G.S. 83A-12 and may be grounds
for disciplinary action. The licensee or registrant shall complete
the current lieense renewal documentation required by the Board.
The licensee or registrant shall submit to the Board the completed
license or registration renewal documentation, along with the
annual license or registration renewal fee. The Board shall not
accept incomplete renewal documentation. If the accompanying
payment in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the
architeet's licensee or registrant's drawee bank for any reason, the
Board shall suspend the license or registration until the renewal
fees and check charges are paid. When the annual renewal has
been completed according to the provisions of G.S. 83A-11, as
well as Section .0900 of this Chapter, the Executive Director shall
approve renewal of the license or registration for the current
lieense renewal year. Renewal fees are non-refundable.

NCAC 02 .0204(a) and 21 NCAC 02 .0204(c), all firms shall
submit an application for firm licensure or registration and be
granted licensure or registration by the Board. Application for
firm licensure or registration to practice of architecture or
registered interior design within the State of North Carolina shall
be made upon forms provided on the Board web site at
www.ncbarch.org and include the required application fee as set
forth in Rule .0108 of this Chapter. Certificates Licensure for firm
practice of architecture shall be issued only under the provisions
of the Professional Corporation Act, G.S. 55B;-exeept-asprovided
n—Subsection—(b)-of this Rule 55B and G.S 57D-2-02. 57€.

Registration for firm practice of interior design shall be issued
only under the provisions of the Business Corporation G.S. 55 and

G.S 57D.
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3)  Thecorporation—must-have-applied to—-be—an

te)(b) Renewal-of Certificate. Architecture firm Firmregistration
licensure and interior design firm registration shall be renewed on
or before December 31st each year. If the Board has not received
the annual renewal fee and completed application on or before
December 31st each year, the architecture firm license or interior
design firm registration shall expire. No less than 30 days prior to
the renewal date, the Board shall send a notice of renewal to each
licensed and registered firm. Renewal documentation shall be
accompanied by the renewal fee. If the accompanying draft or
check in the amount of the renewal fee is dishonored by the firm's
drawee bank for any reason, the Board shall suspend the firm
license or registration until the renewal fees and returned check
charges are paid. When the annual renewal has been complete
according to the provision of G.S. 83A-11, the Executive Director
shall approve renewal for the firm for the current renewal year.
Upon completion of the firm annual renewal, the Board may
randomly audit the compliance of firm licenses and registrations
and require proof in the form of corporate records maintained
pursuant to North Carolina General Statute 55B- 55B or 57D.
Such records must be maintained for a period of seven years after
the renewal is submitted. Renewal fees are non-refundable.

€)(c) Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of
the expiration, the firm license or registration may be renewed at
any time, upon the return of the completed renewal documents,
the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After one year
from the date of expiration for non-payment of the annual renewal
fee the licensee or registrant shall seek reinstatement, as allowed
by G.S. 83A-11. The Board may reinstate the firms' license or

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0215 OUT OF STATE FIRMS

(a) Ineerperation—in-OtherStates: Architectural and registered
interior design firms from other states may be granted firm
certificates of licensure or registration for practice in this State
upon receipt by the Board of a completed application, fees, the
submission of a eertified copy of their firm charter, or other
corresponding documents, amended as may be necessary to insure
ensure compliance with all requirements of Chapter 55B, the
Professional Corporation Act for architectural firms and G.S. 55,
the Business Corporation Act for registered interior design firms.
of-theState—of North—Carelina,—and the paymentofthefirm
applieationfee- In addition to the other requirements as set out in
G.S. 83A-8, fereign out of state interior design firms must, prior
to registration, receive from the Secretary of State of North
Carolina a certificate of authority to do business within the state.
A Architectural firms must obtain a certificate for filing fera
eertificate-of authority must-be-obtained-by—the from the Board
prior to submitting application to the Secretary of State- State for
a Certificate of Authority.

(b) Designated Individuals. Eereign-entities-may be-permitted-to
practice-architecture-within-the State-of North-Carelinaprovided
thatitcomphieswith- G-S—Chapter 55B- If aforeign an out of state

entity offers both architectural and engineering services, then it
must comply with requirements set forth in G.S. 89C. Afereign
An out of state entity must have at least one officer, director and
shareholder licensed as an individual architect in this state. Two-
thirds of the issued and outstanding shares of the foreign
corporations must be owned by licensed architects or engineers
who are licensed to practice their profession in a jurisdiction of
the United States. However, the firm must designate at least one
architect who is licensed in the State of North Carolina to be in
responsible eharge control for the firm practice of architecture
within the State of North Carolina. Netwithstanding—the
requirements-of this Rule,an-individual-architeet-who-is licensed

registered interior design firm must designate one registered

eertifieate-of registration, as allowed by G.S. 83A-11.

€e)(d) Seal. Each licensed or registered eerperation firm shall
adopt a seal pursuant to 2+-NCAC02-0206(2)3)- 21 NCAC 02
.0206.

H(e) Approval of Name. In addition to the requirements and
limitations of G.S. 55 and 55B, the firm name used by an
architectural or registered interior design eerperation firm shall
conform with Rule .0205 and be approved by the Board before
being used. This Rule shall not prohibit the continued use of any
firm name adopted in conformity with the General Statutes of
North Carolina and Board Rules in effect at the date of such
adoption.

History Note:
834-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff- September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- July 1, 2014, December 1, 2010; July 1, 1993; May
1, 1989; November 1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015

Authority G.S. 55B-5; 55B-10; 55B-15; 834-6;

interior designer to be in responsible control of all interior design
work offered and performed by that firm in this State.

(c) Partnerships. An out of state architectural or registered interior
design partnership may practice arehiteeture; architecture or
registered interior design, if every partner in the firm is licensed
or registered as an individual in this state under Rule .0213 and
the partnership complies with Paragraph (f) this Rule.

(d) Limited Liability Companies. An out of state Limited
Liability Company may practice architeetare; architecture or
registered interior design if the Limited Liability Company
complies with G.S. 57€ 57D and at least one member and one
owner are licensed or registered as in—individuals an individual
under Rule .0213 and comply with Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

() Limited Liability Partnerships. An out of state Limited
Liability Partnership may practice architeeture; architecture or
registered interior design, if the Limited Liability Partnership
complies with G.S. 59, and at least one partner is licensed or
registered as an individual under Rule .0213.

(f) Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. If the Board has not
received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application
on or before December 31st each year the firm license or
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registration shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm
registration may be renewed at any time within one year, upon the
return of the completed application, the annual renewal fee and
the late renewal fees. After one year from the date of expiration
for non-payment of the annual renewal fee, the license or
registration shall be automatically revoked. The Board may
reinstate the firm's eertifieate-of license or registration, as allowed
by G.S. 83A-11.

History Note:  Authority G.S. 55B-6, 834-6, 8§34-8;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff. December 1, 2010; June 1, 1995; July 1, 1993; May
1, 1989; November 1, 1979;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0217 ARCHITECT EMERITUS

Resident architects who have been registered in this state who are
retired from active practice or other related professional activities
in any jurisdictions whatsoever, may apply for "Emeritus Status"
by submitting a form provided by the Board showing compliance
with the requirements of this Section. "Retired" means that the

architect no longer practices architecture #-that-he/sheno-longer
| | s d i i | ] e off

to-practice-or-practices—architecture as defined in G.S. 83A-1 as
amended. Nonresident architects who have been continuously
certified by NCARB who are retired from active practice [or other
related professional activities] in any jurisdictions whatsoever,
and who are "emeritus", inactive or retired in every other
jurisdiction in which they are licensed may also apply for
"Emeritus Status" by submitting a form provided by the Board
showing comphance w1th the requirements of this Section. A#y

year: Any reference to an architect on "Emerltus Status" on any
letter, title, sign, card or device shall list such architect as
"Architect Emeritus".

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-4,; 834-6,; 834-11; 834-12;
Eff. November 1, 1991,

Amended Eff. July 1, 2006,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0218
COMPANIES
Architects may practice in this state through duly authorized
limited liability companies only as provided under G-S—576-2-
0He)- G.S. 57D. Registered interior designers may practice in this
state through duly authorized limited liability companies only as
provided under G.S. 57D. Any limited liability company that
offers to practice or practices architecture or registered interior
design in this state must comply with the same requirements
applicable to professional corporations or business corporations
under Rules .0201, .0202, .0204, .0205, .0214, and .0215 of this
Chapter.

LIMITED LIABILITY

History Note:

Eff. June 1, 1995;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 57C-2-01; 834-6;

SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION PROCEDURES

21 NCAC 02 .0302
BY EXAMINATION

(a) The Boardbecame—aDirect Registration—State—with—the

National- Couneil-of Architecture Registration Boards-(INCARB)
on—July—25,201+6. Those individuals who wish to take the
Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) must contact NCARB

directly to obtain exam eligibility to take the ARE. Upon
completion of all requirements set forth in the NCARB
Architecture Experience Program (AXP), a candidate secking
license—registration licensure by exam in North Carolina must
direct NCARB to transmit a completed AXP record to the North
Carolina Board of Architeetare: Architecture and Registered
Interior Designers.

(b) Upon passing all sections of the NCARB ARE NCARB,
fulfillment of all NCARB AXP requirements, and completion of
the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited
degree, NCARB, as directed by the candidate, will transmit a
completed AXP file to the Board forreview—Upen-netification-of
reecipt-ol-a-completed-AXP{ilefrom-the Board.—an-individual

it Lcation_for_Candidate Record_Review fo
determine compliance with G.S. 83A-7(a)(l)a. G.S. 83A-

7(a)(1)a. shall be deemed satisfied through completion of the
requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (1) through (5) of this
Paragraph. The Board shall grant licensure by exam to those
individuals who:

ARCHITECTURAL LICENSURE

)] are of good moral character as defined in G.S.
83A-1(5);

2 are at least 18 years of age;

3) have completed a NAAB accredited

professional degree in architecture or who have
completed a NAAB accredited degree program
that is identified as an NCARB endorsed
Integrated Path To Architectural Licensure
Degree Program,;

4) have completed the NCARB AXP; and

%) submits the Application for Licensure by Exam
and fee.

(c) Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination
in North Carolina.

) Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on
any part of the ARE remain valid for a period
of time established by the exam provider,
NCARB.

2) Scores received on any part of the ARE prior to
July 1, 2006 are invalid.

(d) Practical training pursuant to G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means
practical experience and diversified training as defined by the
Architectural Experience Program through the NCARB.

(e) During the application process, Board members, in order to
augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview
the applicant regarding qualifications required in Paragraph (b) of
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this Rule. The Board shall determine whether an interview is
needed on a case-by-case basis, based upon information in the
application, including any academic or professional discipline.
(f) To complete the ARE, an exam candidate shall receive a
passing grade in each division of the ARE. Information regarding
NCARB grading methods and procedures can be found on their
web site at www.ncarb.org.

(g) A person currently employed under the responsible control of
an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB
accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB AXP
record or has completed the NCARB AXP may use the title
"Architectural Intern" or "Intern Architect”" in conjunction with
his-erher their current employment.

(h) The fees for examination, or parts thereof, are set and
collected by the NCARB. Fee information is available on the
NCARB web site www.ncarb.org.

(1) The standards of the National Council of Architecture
Registration Boards and its components are hereby incorporated
by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and
can be accessed at no charge at www.ncarb.org.

History Note: Authority G.S. 834-1; 834-6, 834-7; 834-12;
Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- March 1, 2016, July 1, 2014, November 1, 2010;
July 1, 2006, July 1, 2000; July 1, 1996, June 1, 1995; December
1, 1992; July 1, 1991;

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017,

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0303

BY RECIPROCITY
(a) An individual who holds a current license in good standing
from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards
(NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council
Certificate {alse-knownas"Blae-Cover") issued by NCARB may

shall qualify for licensure by reeiproeity—Upen reciprocity upon
receipt of a certified record from NCARB and the Board

application for licensure by reciprocity and fee fee; the Board-may
issue—a—teense—to—an—appheant as provided in G.S. 83A-7(b).
Revocation of the certificate by NCARB shall automatically
suspend the architect's license to practice in North Carolina until
such time as the certificate is reinstated by NCARB.
(b) In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or
application, Fhe the Board may interview with the applicant to
satisfy the Board, or its designee that the applicant has had
sufficientreeent architectural practice experience to be able to
competently practice architecture in this state.

ARCHITECTURE LICENSURE

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-6,; 834-7;

Eff. February 1, 1976;

Readopted Eff. September 29, 1977,

Amended Eff- July 1, 2014; November 1, 2010; July 1, 2006, July
1, 2000; October 1, 1995, May 1, 1989; October 1, 1984,
September 1, 1982;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

21 NCAC 02 .0306
REGISTRATION
(a) Those individuals who wish to become registered to practice
as a registered interior designer in North Carolina, shall
demonstrate that they have satisfied the educational and
professional experience eligibility requirements adopted by the
Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ) to sit for the
Council for Interior Design Qualification Examination (NCIDQ),
shall successfully complete the NCIDQ Examination and submit
the Board application for registration and fee. Revocation of the
certificate by NCIDQ shall automatically suspend the interior
designer’s registration to practice in North Carolina until such
time as the certificate is reinstated by NCIDQ.

(b) An architect may be granted registration to practice interior
design so long as they are currently licensed and in good standing
in the state State of North Carolina and submit the Board
application for registration and fee.

(¢)_The Board in order to augment the evidence submitted in an
application may interview with the applicant to satisfy the Board,
or its designee that the applicant has had sufficient reeent interior
design practice experience to be able to competently practice
registered interior design in this state.

(d) The standards of the CIDQ and NCIDQ and its components
are _hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent
amendments and editions, and can be accessed at no charge at

www.cidq.org.

INTERIOR DESIGN

History Note:  Authority G.S. 834-7;
Temporary Adoption Eff. date November 30, 2021.

SECTION .0900 - CONTINUING EDUCATION

21 NCAC 02 .0901 SCOPE
The rules in this Section set forth the continuing education
requirements to be complied with by licensees or registrants.

History Note:

11;

Eff July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff- July 1, 2006;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 83A4-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0903 REQUIREMENTS

(a) Every licensee and registrant shall obtain 12 contact hours of
continuing education for each calendar year. "Contact Hour"
means a minimum of 50 minutes contact.

(b) The contact hours shall be obtained in structured educational
activities intended to increase or update the architect's and
registered interior designer's knowledge and competence in
technical and professional architectural and interior design
subjects direetly related to safeguarding public health, safety and
welfare("HSW"). "Structured educational activities" are
activities in which at least 75 percent of an activity's content and
instructional time is devoted to HSW subjects related to the
practice of architecture, including courses of study or other
activities under the areas identified as HSW by individuals or
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organizations, whether delivered by direct contact or distance
learning methods.

(c) Registrants Licensees and registrants shall not carry forward
any contact hours into the subsequent period.

(d) Registrants Licensees and registrants shall certify completion
of the contact hours for the previous calendar year with annual

registration renewal.

History Note:

11;

Eff. July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 834-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0904 DETERMINATION OF CREDIT
The I | has final author ” L of
courses; programs;and-contacthours:
b} The Board may randomly audit the compliance of individual
licensees and registrants and require proof in the form of records
maintained pursuant to Rule .0905 of this Section of participation
in courses or programs that conform with the content and contact
hours calculation requirements contained in G.S. 83A-6(a) and
these Rules.

History Note:

11;

Eff. July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2006,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 834-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0905 RECORD KEEPING
(a) The licensee or registrant shall maintain records to support
credits claimed. Records required include:

(1) A log showing the type of activity claimed,
sponsoring organization, location, duration, the
name of the instructor or speaker and contact
hours earned; or

2) Attendance certificates or other evidence of
participation; or
3) Records maintained by the American Institute

of  Architects Continuing Education
System(AIA/CES) or the International Design
Continuing Education Council IDCEC).
(b) Records shall be retained by the licensee or registrant for a
period of six years after the credit is claimed and provided to the
Board upon request.

History Note:

11;

Eff. July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 834-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0906 EXCEPTIONS
A licensee or registrant shall be exempt from the continuing
education requirements for any of the following reasons:

) New licensees or registrants by—way—ef
examination-or reeiproeity for the calendar year
in which they become licensed or registered;

@) ) . .

. reg g porary
Y . . .

e d L lg! |
statate;—whichever —is—greater; Architects
currently licensed by and in good standing with
the Board (whose license is not suspended or
revoked) who are serving in the armed forces of
the United States and who are eligible for an
extension of time to file a tax return pursuant to
G.S. 105-249.2 are granted a waiver of their
mandatory continuing education requirements
for the time period disregarded pursuant to the
Internal Revenue Code 26 U.S.C. 7508.

3) Registrants—Licensees——or—registrants

90-consecutive-days-ina-year;and The Board

shall exempt a licensee or registrant if the Board
determines that the licensee or registrant is
experiencing physical disability, illness, or
other extenuating circumstances that prevent
the licensee or registrant from continuing
education. Supporting documentation must be
furnished to the Board.

4) Registrants Licensees who receive emeritus
status from the Board. In order to return to
active practice, licensees registrants shall
complete continuing education requirements
for each exempted year not to exceed two years.

History Note:

11;

Eff July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff- October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 83A4-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0907 REINSTATEMENT

A former licensee or registrant may only apply for reinstatement
pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 if he-has they have earned all delinquent
contact hours within the 12 months preceding the application.
However, if the total number of contact hours required to become
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current exceeds 24, then 24 shall be the maximum number
required.

History Note:

11;

Eff July 1, 1998;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 834-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0908 RECIPROCITY
The requirements of North Carolina shall be deemed satisfied by
a non-resident licensee or registrant provided:

(D Registrant's Licensee or registrant's resident
jurisdiction has a ecemparable similar
continuing education program; and

2) The same jurisdiction accepts the North
Carolina continuing education requirements as
satisfying their requirements.

History Note:
11;

Eff. July 1, 1998;
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 834-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0909 FORMS

All renewal applications shall require the completion of a
continuing education certification provided by the Board
documenting the contact hours claimed for the renewal period.
The licensee or registrant shall supply sufficient detail to permit
audit verification and shall certify and sign the continuing
education certification with the renewal application and fee.

History Note:

11;

Eff- July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012;

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 83A4-6(a)(5); 83A-

21 NCAC 02 .0910 NON-COMPLIANCE

(a) If any credits are disallowed by the Board, then the licensee
or registrant shall have 60 calendar days after notification to
substantiate the original claim or obtain other contact hours to
meet the minimum requirements.

(b) Licensees or registrants who fail to complete the continuing
education requirement by the end of the previous calendar year
shall have his-er-her their license placed on probation and shall
complete the outstanding continuing education by December 31
of the current calendar year. If the licensee or registrant fails to
complete the outstanding continuing education requirements his
or-her their license shall be suspended for 60 days or until such
time as compliance is demonstrated if prior to 60 days. If the
licensee or registrant fails to complete the outstanding continuing
education within the 60 days suspension period, his-er-her their
license or registration shall be revoked.

History Note:

11; 834-15;

Eff July 1, 1998;
Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; July 1, 2006,

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.34, rule is necessary without
substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015;

Temporary Amendment Eff. November 30, 2021.

Authority G.S. 834-6(a)(4); 83A4-6(a)(5); 83A-
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RULES REVIEW COMMISSION

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission November 18, 2021 at 1711 New Hope
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC. Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners. Specific
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850. Anyone wishing to address
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2" business day before the meeting.
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05.

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS

Appointed by Senate Appointed by House
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair)
Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2" Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, IlI
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson
Jeff Hyde Randy Overton
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell

COMMISSION COUNSEL
Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936
Brian Liebman 984-236-1948

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES
December 16, 2021 February 17, 2022
January 20, 2022 March 17, 2022

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
MINUTES
November 18, 2021

The Rules Review Commission met on Thursday, November 18, 2021, in the Commission Room at 1711 New Hope Church
Road, Raleigh, North Carolina, and via WebEx.

Commissioners Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Jeanette Doran, Margaret Currin, Randy Overton, and
Bob Rucho were present in the Commission Room. Commissioners present via WebEx were Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson,
and Paul Powell.

Staff members present were Alexander Burgos; Commission Counsel Brian Liebman, Amber May, and Amanda Reeder.
The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with Chair Doran presiding.

Chair Doran introduced OAH incoming Commission Counsel Brian Liebman to the Commission.

The Chair read the notice required by G.S. 138A-15(e) and reminded the Commission members that they have a duty to
avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of conflicts of interest.

The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of
the agenda: Temporary rules for Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES
The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the October 21, 2021 meeting.
There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.

Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

FOLLOW UP MATTERS
Department of Insurance
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11 NCAC 04 .0115, .0120, .0314,.0315, .0316, .0317, .0318, .0319, .0415, .0427, .0429, .0432, .0433, .0501, .0502, .0503,
.0504, .0505, .0506, .0507, .0508, and .0509 — Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9,
noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde,
Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Department of Insurance
11 NCAC 05B .0301 was returned at the request of the agency. No action was required by the Commission.

LOG OF FILINGS (PERMANENT RULES)

Medical Care Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Commission for Mental Health/DD/SAS

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Code Officials Qualification Board

Upon the call of the Chair, 11 NCAC 08 .0734 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton,
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Coastal Resources Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Department of Environmental Quality

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Department of State Treasurer

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

State Human Resources Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles lll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Building Code Council

Upon the call of the Chair, the rules were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative:
Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul
Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

LOG OF FILINGS (TEMPORARY RULES)

Wildlife Resources Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, 15A NCAC 10C .0314 was approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the
affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles IIl, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton,
Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in the negative: None.

Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission

Upon the call of the Chair, the Commission objected to 12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209, .0210, .0211, .0212, .0213, .0214,
.0226, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0238, .0242, .0244, .0417; 09G .0414, .0415, and .0416 in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.1(b).
Specifically, the Commission found the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (CJETS) did not
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meet the requirements for temporary rules as set forth in G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(1). Specifically, the Commission found that
CJETS had not shown that COVID was “unforeseen” at this time, which is required by that subsection to engage in
temporary rulemaking. Voting in the affirmative: Wayne R. Boyles Ill, Margaret Currin, Jeanette Doran, Jeff Hyde, Randy
Overton, and Bob Rucho - 6. Voting in the negative: Andrew Atkins, Bobby Bryan, Barbara Jackson, and Paul Powell - 4.
Leslie Cooley-Dismukes, with the Attorney General's Office and representing the agency, addressed the Commission.

Board of Architecture & Registered Interior Designers

Upon the call of the Chair, 21 NCAC 02. 0102, .0106, .0108, .0109, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0208, .0209, .0210,
.0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0217, .0218, .0302, .0303, .0306, .0901, .0903, .0904, .0905, .0906, .0907, .0908, .0909, and
.0910 were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles
[ll, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, and Bob Rucho — 9. Voting in
the negative: None.

COMMISSION BUSINESS
Outgoing OAH Commission Counsel Amanda Reeder, addressed the Commission.

The meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, December 16, 2021, at 9:00 a.m.

Alexander Burgos, Paralegal

Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
Jeanette Doran, Chair
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Rules Review Commission Meeting November 18, 2021
Held Via WebEx

Name Agency
Laura Rowe Treasurer
Jeff Horton NC Senior Living

Dennis Seavers

Barbers Examiners

Denise Baker DHHS
Carrie Hollis OSBM
Stella Bailey DHHS
Christine Goebel DEQ
Catherine Rowe

Jessica Macari DOJ

Kerry Sutton

Concrete.org

Joseph Gilroy

Ashley Pekrul WRC
Jennifer Everett DEQ
Shalisa Jones DHHS
Megan Lamphere DHHS
Loretta Peace-Bunch DOI

Ben Garner Treasurer
Rebecca Ellin DEQ
Nadine Pfeiffer DSHR
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November 18, 2021

Rules Review Commission
Meeting
Please Print Legibly
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LIST OF APPROVED TEMPORARY RULES
November 18, 2021 Meeting
WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION
Striped Bass 15ANCAC 10C .0314

ARCHITECTURE AND REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS, BOARD OF

Organization of Board and Officers 21 NCAC 02 .0102
Seal of Board 21 NCAC 02 .0106
Fees 21 NCAC 02 .0108
Definitions 21 NCAC 02 .0109
Architect, Registered Interior Designer, Firm or Partners... 21 NCAC 02 .0201
Applicability of Board Rules 21 NCAC 02 .0202
Rules of Professional Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0203
Forms of Practice 21 NCAC 02 .0204
Name of Firm 21 NCAC 02 .0205
Dishonest Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0208
Unprofessional Conduct 21 NCAC 02 .0209
Incompetence 21 NCAC 02 .0210
Independent Judgement and Disclosure 21 NCAC 02 .0212
Individual Licenses and Registrations 21 NCAC 02 .0213
Firm Practice of Architecture and Registered Interior Design 21 NCAC 02 .0214
Out of State Firms 21 NCAC 02 .0215
Architect Emeritus 21 NCAC 02 .0217
Limited Liability Companies 21 NCAC 02 .0218
Architectural Licensure by Examination 21 NCAC 02 .0302
Architecture Licensure by Reciprocity 21 NCAC 02 .0303
Interior Design Registration 21 NCAC 02 .0306
Scope 21 NCAC 02 .0901
Requirements 21 NCAC 02 .0903
Determination of Credit 21 NCAC 02 .0904
Record Keeping 21 NCAC 02 .0905
Exceptions 21 NCAC 02 .0906
Reinstatement 21 NCAC 02 .0907
Reciprocity 21 NCAC 02 .0908
Forms 21 NCAC 02 .0909
Non-Compliance 21 NCAC 02 .0910

LIST OF APPROVED PERMANENT RULES
November 18, 2021 Meeting

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION

Infection Prevention and Control Program 10A NCAC 13F .1801
Reporting and Notification of a Suspected or Confirmed Co... 10A NCAC 13F .1802
Infection Prevention and Control Program 10A NCAC 13G .1701
Reporting and Notification of a Suspected or Confirmed Co... 10A NCAC 13G .1702
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MENTAL HEALTH/DD/SAS, COMMISSION FOR

Schedule | 10ANCAC 26F .0102
Schedule |l 10ANCAC 26F .0103
Schedule IV 10ANCAC 26F .0105
Schedule V 10ANCAC 26F .0106
INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF

Division Procedures 11 NCAC 04 .0115
Policy or Service Fees 1M NCAC 04 .0120
Premium Notices: Payments and Refunds 11 NCAC 04 .0314
Issuance of Contracts 1M NCAC 04 .0315
Contestability Clause and Rescission 11 NCAC 04 .0316
Sex Discrimination: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 1M NCAC 04 .0317
Life Insurance Sales: Financing First Year Premium 1M NCAC 04 .0318
Claims Practices: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 11 NCAC 04 .0319
Safe Driver Incentive Plan 1M NCAC 04 .0415
Disclosure Requirements 11 NCAC 04 .0427
Commingling 11 NCAC 04 .0429
Refund of Excess Premium on Scheduled Items 11 NCAC 04 .0432
Refund of Auto Insurance Premium on New Business 11 NCAC 04 .0433
Scope and Definitions 11 NCAC 04 .0501
Assumed Expenses and Current Scale 11 NCAC 04 .0502
lllustrated Policies 1M NCAC 04 .0503
General Rules 11 NCAC 04 .0504
Standards and Basic lllustrations 1M NCAC 04 .0505
Standards for Supplemental lllustrations 11 NCAC 04 .0506
Delivery of lllustration and Record Retention 11 NCAC 04 .0507
Annual Reports and Notices to Policy Owners 1M NCAC 04 .0508
Annual Certifications 11 NCAC 04 .0509
CODE OFFICIALS QUALIFICATION BOARD

Residential Changeout Inspector 1M NCAC 08 .0734
COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION

General Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15A NCAC 07H .0306
Specific Use Standards for Ocean Hazard Areas 15ANCAC 07H .0308
Purpose 15A NCAC 07H .1201
Approval Procedures 15ANCAC 07H .1202
Permit Fee 15ANCAC 07H .1203
General Conditions 15A NCAC 07H .1204
Specific Conditions 15ANCAC 07H .1205
Application Procedures 15A NCAC 07 .1105
Permit Conditions 15ANCAC 07J .1106
Permit Compliance 15A NCAC 07 .1107
Requesting the Development Line 15ANCAC 07J .1301
Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted 15ANCAC 07K .0207
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ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF

Statement of Purpose 15A NCAC 070 .0101
Definitions as used in this Subchapter 15ANCAC 070 .0102
Responsibilities: Duties of The Coastal Reserve Program 15A NCAC 070 .0103
State and Local Coastal Reserve Advisory Committees 15ANCAC 070 .0104
Reserve Components 15A NCAC 070 .0105
Management Plan 15ANCAC 070 .0201
Reserve Use Requirements 15ANCAC 070 .0202
Special Activity Authorization 15A NCAC 070 .0203

TREASURER, DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Correspondence 20 NCAC 01F .0102
Petition for Rulemaking 20 NCAC 01F .01
Form of Requests 20 NCAC 01F .0203
Who Makes Ruling 20 NCAC 01F .0204
Ruling Procedures 20 NCAC 01F .0207
Declaratory Rulings 20 NCAC 01F .0208

STATE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMISSION
Temporary Appointment 25 NCAC 01C .0405
Temporary Part-time Appointment 25 NCAC 01C .0407

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL

2018 NC Existing Building Code/Repairs to Structural Conc... 606.1.1
2018 NC Building Code and NC Fire Code/Increased Occupant... 1004.2
2018 NC Fire Code/Permits 3103.4
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	Title 02 – Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rule cited as 02 NCAC 38 .0705.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit a written request by email to Rule-Making Coordinator, Anna Hayworth, at Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov.
	Reason for Proposed Action:  This proposed change simply adds email as an option for a company to provide written notification to another company that they will be disconnecting one of their tanks and replacing it with one of theirs.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-4509; email rulesreview@ncagr.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 38 - Consumer Standards
	SECTION .0700 - STANDARDS FOR STORAGE, HANDLING AND INSTALLATION OF LP GAS
	(a)  This Rule contains additional standards relating to the requirements for disconnection of service contained in G.S. 119-58(b).
	(b)  To "notify the former supplier before disconnecting the former service and connecting the new service," as required by G.S. 119-58(b), means that the new supplier shall provide the former supplier with written notice containing the new supplier's...
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Board of Agriculture intends to adopt the rule cited as 02 NCAC 52J .0105, readopt with substantive changes the rules cited as 02 NCAC 52J .0101-.0104, .0201...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be published. The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The Animal Welfare Act (AWA) rules are undergoing the statute mandated review and revision process.  The AWA rule revisions reflect changes in the guidelines and best practices for animal shelters, boarding kennels, pet sh...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-4509; email rulesreview@ncagr.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required


	Chapter 52 – Veterinary DIVISION
	SUBCHAPTER 52J - ANIMAL WELFARE SECTION
	SECTION .0100 - RECORD KEEPING AND LICENSING
	Operators of all animal shelters, pet shops, public auctions, and dealers shall maintain records on all dogs and cats showing the following:
	Operators of boarding kennels shall maintain records of all dogs and cats showing the following:
	All operators of animal shelters, pet shops, boarding kennels, public auctions, and persons operating as dealers shall make all required records available to the director Director or his or her authorized representative on request, during the business...
	As used in this Subchapter:
	All operators of an animal shelter, pet shop, public auction, dealers, and boarding kennels must have a valid license/registration.

	SECTION .0200 - FACILITIES AND OPERATING STANDARDS
	(a)  Housing facilities for dogs and cats shall be structurally sound and maintained in good repair to protect the animals from injury, contain the animals and restrict the entrance of other animals and people.
	(b)  All light fixtures and electrical outlets in animal areas shall be safe and in compliance with the State Building Code. Electrical appliances, light fixtures, electrical outlets, and electrical cords shall be located or protected in such a way th...
	(c)  Facilities shall have reliable and safe electric power as necessary to comply with the Animal Welfare Act.
	(d)  Supplies of food and bedding shall be stored in facilities which adequately protect such supplies against infestation or contamination by vermin and insects. All open bags of food shall be stored in airtight containers with lids. Refrigeration sh...
	(1) food and bedding shall be stored in cabinets and/or sealed containers which adequately protect such supplies against infestation or contamination by vermin and insects;
	(2) all open bags of food and edible treats shall be stored in airtight containers with lids;
	(3) refrigeration shall be provided for supplies of perishable food including opened cans of food;
	(4) clean bedding and laundry shall be: stored in cabinets and/or sealed containers; stored separately from soiled laundry and materials; and stored separately from general housing areas for animals; and
	(5) in areas housing animals being observed or treated for contagious disease, bedding shall only be stored in sealed cabinets if that clean laundry is dedicated solely for the use for those specific animals.

	(e)  Provisions shall be made for the daily removal and disposal of animal and food waste, soiled bedding and debris from the housing facility in accordance with local ordinances, to assure facility will be maintained in a clean and sanitary manner.
	(f)  Hot and cold running, potable water must be available. Facilities such as washroom, basin or sink shall be provided to maintain cleanliness among animal caretakers, animals, and animal food and water receptacles.
	(g)  Each facility shall have the ability to confirm ambient temperature. temperature, a functional room thermometer shall be present in each separate area of indoor enclosures, common areas and exercise areas.
	(h)  A separate five-foot perimeter fence is required if any animals animal(s) has or have unsupervised access to an outdoor primary enclosure, common area, and/or including unsupervised exercise areas area. Supervision of animals is required for any ...
	(i)  An adequate drainage system must be provided for the housing facility.
	(j)  All areas of a facility are subject to review or inspection by North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services employees during normal business hours (8:00 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday).
	(k)  All animals in a facility are subject to the requirements of the Animal Welfare Act, regardless of ownership.
	(l)  A licensee or registrant shall comply with all federal, state and local laws, rules and ordinances relating to or affecting the welfare of dogs and cats in its facility.
	(m)  A licensee or registrant and all agents of the facility shall cooperate fully and truthfully with NCDA&CS employees during all phases of inspections, reviews and/or investigations.
	(n)  Neither an applicant for a license or registration nor a licensee or registrant or any agent of a facility may interfere with, threaten, abuse (including verbally abuse), or harass any inspector, or state official, while such inspectors or offici...
	(m)(o)  No dog or cat shall be in a window display except during business hours and then only in compliance with standards set forth in this Section.
	(p)  Battery operated or electrical behavioral control devices, such as shock collars, shock prods, or electrical fences, as well as pinch-collars and prong-collars, may only be used on an animal in a boarding kennel with the specific written consent ...
	(q)  All facilities shall be equipped with an operational smoke alarm and carbon monoxide alarm and shall have a means of fire suppression, such as functional fire extinguishers or a sprinkler system on the premises.
	(r)  All licensed and registered facilities must develop and maintain a plan of action for the continuity of care and/or evacuation of animals in the event of a natural or manmade disaster.
	(s)  For the purposes of G.S. 19A-23(5a), written standards for an "approved foster care provider" shall include but not be limited to: the application process; sanitation protocols; provision of daily observation of the animals; feeding and watering ...
	(t)  For the purposes of G.S. 19A-23(5b), written standards for an "approved rescue organization" shall include but not be limited to: the application process; sanitation protocols; provision of daily observation of the animals; feeding and watering p...
	(a)  Heating and cooling of indoor facilities:
	(1) indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall be adequately heated and cooled when necessary to protect the dogs and cats from cold and excessive heat and provide for their health and comfort. comfort;
	(2) the ambient temperature shall not be allowed to fall below 50 degrees F. or exceed 85 degrees F. F; and
	(3) Special provisions shall be provided to any animal that cannot maintain its normal body temperature. These special provisions shall be sufficient for the animal to maintain its normal body temperature and shall be documented in the animal's record.

	(b)  Ventilation of indoor facilities:
	(1) Indoor indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall be adequately ventilated to provide for the health and comfort of the animals at all times. times; The the facilities shall be provided with fresh air either by means of windows, doors, vent...
	(2) air vents and/or air filters shall be cleaned and/or changed as often as necessary to minimize buildup of debris, dust and biological material and as often as necessary to prevent inhibition or restriction of air flow; and
	(3) Air air flow shall be adequate sufficient to minimize odors and moisture condensation.

	(c)  Indoor housing facilities for dogs and cats shall have adequate sufficient illumination to permit routine inspections, maintenance, cleaning and housekeeping of the facility and observation of the animals. Illumination shall provide regular diurn...
	(d)  Interior building surfaces of indoor facilities with which animals come in contact shall be constructed and maintained so that they are impervious to moisture and can be readily sanitized.
	(e)  Drainage of indoor housing facility:
	(1) A suitable method of drainage drainage shall be provided to rapidly eliminate excess water from an indoor housing facility. facility;
	(2) If if closed drain systems are used, they shall be equipped with traps and installed to prevent odors and backup of sewage. sewage; and
	(3) The the drainage system shall be constructed with barriers sufficient to prevent protect the animals from cross-contamination among animals. with urine and fecal material from animals housed in adjacent and/or nearby enclosures and/or exercise areas.

	(a)  In outdoor facilities that are subject to the Animal Welfare Act, primary enclosures enclosures, common areas and walkways with which an animal comes in contact contact:
	(1) shall have flooring or groundcover be constructed of sealed concrete or other surfaces impervious to moisture. moisture; and/or
	(2) may use Gravel gravel may be used for groundcover so long as it is if maintained at a minimum depth of six inches and kept in a sanitary manner.

	(b)  Exercise areas of outdoor facilities:
	(1) shall have flooring or groundcover constructed of sealed concrete or other surfaces impervious to moisture; and/or
	(2) use gravel for groundcover so long as it is maintained at a minimum depth of six inches and kept in a sanitary manner; and/or
	(3) artificial turf may be allowed so long as it is maintained in good repair, is replaced when damaged, and is cleaned and sanitized in accordance with Rule .0207 of this Section; and/or
	(4) may contain established grass so long as the animal(s) do not have access to bare dirt and the grass covered area(s) must be kept clean and sanitary. In the event of a contagious disease outbreak, the sanitation, management and use of the grass ar...

	(c)  Sand and organic materials such as mulch, pine straw, or other similar material shall not be used as ground cover in primary enclosures, common areas, exercise areas and/or walkways.
	(b)(d)  Dogs and cats kept in outdoors outdoor primary enclosures shall be provided housing to allow them to remain dry and comfortable during inclement weather.
	(1) Housing housing shall be constructed of material which is impervious to moisture and which can be disinfected. cleaned and easily sanitized in accordance with Rule .0207 of this Section;
	(2) One one house shall be available for each animal within each primary enclosure. enclosure except for a mother and its unweaned offspring. The house(s) shall be of adequate size for the animal housed in the enclosure. In the case of a mother and he...
	(3) housing structures in outdoor facilities must contain clean, dry bedding or a heat source when the temperature falls below 32 degrees F;
	(4) special provisions shall be provided to any animal that cannot maintain its normal body temperature when housed outside. These special provisions shall be sufficient for the animal to maintain its normal body temperature and shall be documented in...
	(c)(5) In in addition to housing, the enclosure shall provide protection from excessive sun and inclement weather.

	(e)  Dogs and cats placed in outdoor exercise areas shall be protected from inclement weather and excessive sun. This protection shall be sufficient to protect all animals simultaneously in the exercise area. If an animal cannot maintain its normal bo...
	(f)  Outdoor common areas used for play, enrichment and elimination shall be maintained in good repair and be cleaned and sanitized as set forth in Rule .0207 of this Section to protect the animals from injury and/or illness.
	(d)(g)  Animal owners shall be advised at the time of reservation and admission at a boarding kennel if the animal will be kept in outside facilities. This shall be documented in the animal's record.
	(e)(h)  A suitable method of drainage Drainage shall be provided. provided so that water is rapidly drained from the primary enclosures, common areas, exercise areas and walkways and so that the animal(s) does/do not have access to standing water.
	(a)  Primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed so as to prevent contamination from waste and wastewater from animals in other enclosures. All surfaces with which an animal comes in contact shall be impervious to moisture. moisture exc...
	(b)  For primary enclosures and exercise areas placed into service on or after January 1, 2005, no wood shall be within the animal's reach.  For primary enclosures and exercise areas in use in a licensed or registered facility prior to January 1, 2005...
	(b)(c)  Primary enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats shall be structurally sound and maintained in good repair and in a manner to prevent injury to animals and keep other animals out.
	(d)  Primary enclosures shall be constructed so as to provide space to allow each dog or cat to walk, urn turn about freely, and to easily stand with their tails erect, sit, or lie in a natural position. position with their limbs extended without touc...
	(e)  Exercise areas shall be constructed to provide adequate space to allow each dog or cat to run and express natural play behaviors typical of the species.
	(b)(f)  The height of a primary enclosure or an exercise area other than a cage shall be no less than five feet.
	(g)  All primary enclosures and exercise areas shall be constructed to prevent the escape of animals.
	(c)(h)  Each primary enclosure and exercise area shall be provided with a solid resting surface or surfaces adequate to comfortably hold all occupants of the primary enclosure and exercise area at the same time. All resting surfaces must be of a non-p...
	(d)(i)  In addition to Paragraph (b) of this Rule, each dog shall be provided a minimum square footage of floor space equal to the mathematical square of the sum of the length of the dog in inches, as measured from the tip of its nose to the base of i...
	(j)  Not more than four adult dogs shall be housed or confined in the same primary enclosure or exercise area without supervision. Dogs younger than six months of age may not be housed or confined or comingled with adult dogs other than their dams wit...
	(e)(k)  If more than four dogs including animals owned by the staff or operator of the facility are housed or confined in an exercise area are housed in a common area or primary enclosure, then there must be at least one person constantly supervising ...
	(l)  Pregnant dogs and cats shall be housed singly in a primary enclosure. Nursing dogs and cats shall be housed only with their litter in a primary enclosure until the litter has been weaned. The primary enclosure shall be of sufficient size to allow...
	(f)(m)  In addition to Paragraph (b) Paragraphs (d), (e) and (h) of this Rule, each feline older than six months housed in any primary enclosure or exercise area shall be provided a minimum of four square feet of floor space which may include elevated...
	(n)  Not more than 12 cats shall be housed or confined in the same primary enclosure. enclosure or exercise area.
	(g)(o)  In all cat primary enclosures and exercise areas, enclosures, a clean receptacle containing clean litter shall be provided for waste.  A minimum of one receptacle per three cats is required. required for each primary enclosure and exercise area.
	(p)  Pools in primary enclosures and/or exercise areas:
	(1) Whenever water in a pool is deeper than the height at the shoulder of the shortest dog in the pool area, an ingress- egress area shall be provided;
	(2) No dog may have access to the pool or pool area other than a typical kiddie wading pool without supervision;
	(3) Facilities must be constructed, maintained, and managed to protect animals from illness, injury, and death resulting from access to pools or pool areas;
	(4) Pools with a capacity of less than 100 gallons must have the water changed and be cleaned and sanitized daily. Pools with a capacity of 100 gallons or more shall have commercially manufactured filtration and cleaning systems installed and the manu...
	(5) Typical kiddie wading pools are to be considered accessories for the purposes of cleaning, sanitation, repair and maintenance.

	(a)  Adult Dogs dogs and cats and puppies and kittens older than six months shall be fed at least once each 24-hour period period. except as otherwise might be required to provide adequate veterinary care. Food shall be commercially prepared food whic...
	(b)  Puppies and kittens less than six months of age shall be fed at least twice in each 24-hour period. An eight-hour interval between feedings is required if only two feedings are offered in a 24-hour period.
	(c)  Should a veterinarian prescribe a feeding regime different from the ones described in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Section for a specific animal, documentation of such veterinary care is required and shall include:
	(1) the original veterinary directive signed by the veterinarian issuing it;
	(2) the printed name of the veterinarian;
	(3) the reason for the restriction;
	(4) the specific feeding directions;
	(5) the origination and review dates of the directive;
	(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review and renew the directive every 30 days until it is no longer required;
	(7) the date of the cessation of the directive; and
	(8) documentation by the facility of each feeding as prescribed by the veterinarian.

	(d)  Food shall be commercially prepared food which complies with laws applicable to animal feed or the food shall be provided by the owner.
	(e)  The food shall be free from contamination, wholesome, palatable, and of sufficient quality and quantity appropriate of the given size, age, and condition of an animal to meet the daily requirements for nutritional value.
	(b)(f)  Food receptacles shall be accessible to all dogs or cats and shall be located so as to minimize contamination by waste.
	(g)  For every adult animal, there must be at least one food receptacle offered. When multiple animals are housed together, caretakers shall observe each animal feeding to ensure that animals have sufficient access to food.
	(h)  Food receptacles shall be durable and shall be kept clean and sanitized.
	(i)  Uneaten food within food receptacles must be discarded after 24 hours or sooner if spoiled or contaminated.
	(j)  Damaged food receptacles shall be replaced. Disposable food receptacles may be used but must be discarded after each feeding.
	(c)(k)  Food and water receptacles in outdoor facilities shall be protected from the elements.
	(a)  Animals shall have continuous access to fresh fresh, potable water, except as might otherwise be required to provide adequate veterinary care.
	(b)  Veterinary care for a specific animal that requires water to be withheld, given in intervals, or any variation other than continuous access by an animal can only be prescribed by a veterinarian and shall be documented in writing by the facility. ...
	(1) the original veterinary directive signed by the veterinarian issuing it;
	(2) the printed name of the veterinarian;
	(3) the reason for the restriction;
	(4) the specific watering directions;
	(5) the origination and review dates of the directive;
	(6) the facility shall have the veterinarian review and renew this directive every 30 days until it is no longer required;
	(7) the date of the cessation of the directive; and
	(8) documentation by the facility of each watering as prescribed by the veterinarian.

	(c)  Water in receptables shall be changed daily and whenever visibly soiled.
	(d)  Watering receptacles shall be durable and kept clean and sanitized.
	(e)  Damaged receptacles shall be replaced.
	(a)  Waste shall be removed from primary enclosures enclosures, and exercise areas and common areas to prevent contamination of the dogs or cats contained therein and to reduce disease hazards and odors. Enclosures and exercise areas for dogs and cats...
	(b)  When a hosing or flushing method is used for cleaning an enclosure, dogs or cats contained therein shall be removed during the cleaning process, and adequate measures shall be taken to protect the animals in other such clean enclosures from being...
	(c)  Cross contamination barriers shall be in place in primary enclosures and be sufficient to prevent feces, urine and cleaning waste water from entering another occupied primary enclosure.
	(b)(d)  Sanitation shall be as follows:
	(1) Prior to the introduction of dogs or cats into empty primary enclosures previously occupied, enclosures and accessories shall be sanitized in the manner provided in Subparagraph (b)(3)(d)(3) of this Rule.
	(2) In addition to primary enclosures being properly cleaned a minimum of two times per day, enclosures and accessories shall be sanitized a minimum of once every seven days in the manner provided in Subparagraph (b)(3)(d)(3) of this Rule if the same ...
	(3) Primary enclosures, Cages, cages, rooms and hard-surfaced exercise areas, pens or runs and exercise areas with artificial turf flooring shall be sanitized by:
	(4) Common areas, any area accessible to multiple animals and exercise areas not covered by Subparagraph (d)(3) of this Rule shall be kept clean and sanitary. These areas are to be properly cleaned a minimum of two times per day. Hard and/or imperviou...
	(4)(5) Food and water receptacles shall be sanitized daily with hot water, detergent, and disinfectant. The disinfectant shall be used consistent with the manufacturer's directions;
	(5)(6) Soiled linens and cloth products shall be mechanically washed with detergent and sanitized. sanitized;
	(6)(7) Any area accessible to multiple animals shall be kept clean and sanitary. sanitary; and
	(8) Fans, including but not limited to floor fans, ceiling fans, wall fans, vent fans, etc. shall be cleaned routinely in intervals sufficient to prevent the accumulation of debris, dust and/or biological material.

	(c)(e)  Premises (buildings and grounds) shall be kept clean and in good repair in order to protect the animals from injury and to facilitate the prescribed husbandry practices set forth in this Rule. Premises shall remain free of accumulations of tra...
	(d)(f)  An effective program for the control of insects, ectoparasites, and avian and mammalian pests shall be established and maintained.
	A sufficient number of employees shall be utilized to sufficiently care for the animals in the facility and maintain the prescribed level of husbandry practices set forth in this Rule. Such practices shall be under the supervision of an animal caretak...
	Animals housed in the same primary enclosure and/or confined to an exercise area shall be maintained in compatible groups, with the following additional restrictions:
	(a)  A written program of veterinary care (PVC) to include disease control and prevention, vaccination, euthanasia (animal shelters only), disposition of diseased, ill, injured, infirm or deformed animals and provision of adequate routine and emergenc...
	(1) The PVC for animal shelters and pet stores shall be established with the assistance of a veterinarian and the veterinarian's information and signature shall be included in the appropriate section of the license/registration application/renewal app...
	(2) The PVC for boarding kennels shall be submitted as part of the license/registration application/renewal and must be approved by the AWS Inspector assigned to the facility;
	(3) The facility shall implement and follow the PVC. Failure to follow the PVC shall be considered a violation; and
	(4) Changes to the PVC shall be submitted for approval to the Animal Welfare Section within 10 days of the effective date.

	(b)  If there is a disease problem that persists for more than seven days at the facility, the facility operator shall consult with a veterinarian for procedures to mitigate the problem. This consultation shall be documented by the facility.
	(b)(c)  If there is a disease problem that persists for more than 30 days at the facility, the facility operator shall obtain and follow a veterinarian's written recommendations for correcting the problem. These recommendations shall include, at a min...
	(c)(d)  Each dog and cat shall be observed daily by the animal caretaker in charge, or by someone under his direct supervision. supervision who has training and/or experience in animal husbandry. Sick or diseased, injured, lame, or blind dogs or cats ...
	(e)  If euthanasia is performed at a certified facility, a list of personnel approved to perform euthanasia shall be maintained in a Policy and Procedure Manual as described in 02 NCAC 52J .0800.
	(f)  Diseased Diseased, injured, infirm or deformed animals shall be sold or adopted only under the policy set forth in the "Program of Veterinary Care." PVC.
	(g)  Full written disclosure of the medical condition of the animal shall be provided to the new owner. and all veterinary medical treatments provided to the animal shall be provided to the person or organization receiving, adopting, purchasing or oth...
	(d)(h)  All animals in a licensed or registered facility shall be in compliance with the North Carolina rabies law, G.S. 130A, Article 6, Part 6. However, no shelter shall be disapproved following inspection or otherwise cited for failure to inoculate...
	(i)  If surgical procedures are performed at the registered/licensed facility, the facility shall:
	(1) only perform surgical procedures on animals owned by the facility. The facility may not perform surgery on animals owned by the public unless the practice of veterinary medicine at that facility falls under the jurisdiction of the NC Board of Vete...
	(2) appoint a NC licensed veterinarian to be the supervising veterinarian to direct, oversee and be responsible for the performance of all surgical procedures and for the condition of the surgical facility;
	(3) ensure all surgical procedures are performed by a NC licensed veterinarian and performed within the designated surgical area;
	(4) ensure that the designated surgical area meets the minimum standards for surgery in 21 NCAC 66 .0207(b)(9), the drug procedures meet the minimum standards in 21 NCAC 66 .0207(b)(11) and the recordkeeping procedures meet the minimum standards in 21...
	(5) ensure that the minimum standards for after-hours emergency service in 21 NCAC 66 .0207(b)(19) for the provision of after-hours emergency veterinary care for an animal receiving surgical procedure(s) are met; and
	(6) surgical procedures are not performed until the inspection of the surgical facility and supporting procedures noted in this section has occurred and all deficiencies have been corrected.

	(j)  Boarding facilities may not administer prescription medications or tranquilizers, sedatives, or any pharmaceutical drug designed to calm an animal unless the medication or drug is administered under the direction of the animal's veterinarian, wit...

	SECTION .0300 - TRANSPORTATION STANDARDS
	(a)  Vehicles used in transporting dogs and cats shall be mechanically sound and equipped to provide fresh air to all animals transported. transported without harmful drafts.
	(b)  The animal cargo space shall be constructed and maintained so as to prevent engine exhaust fumes from getting to the animals. entering the animal holding area.
	(c)  The interior of the animal cargo holding space shall be kept clean. cleaned after the transport of each animal. It shall be sanitized daily or between shipments of animals if more than one shipment occurs in a 24-hour period. It shall be sanitize...
	(a)  Primary enclosures such as compartments or transport cages, cartons, or crates used by persons subject to the Animal Welfare Act to transport cats and dogs shall be constructed, ventilated and designed to protect the health and insure the safety ...
	(1) Each animal in the vehicle has sufficient fresh air for normal breathing.
	(2) The openings of such enclosures are always easily accessible for emergency removals. removals at all times.
	(3) The animals are adequately protected from the elements.
	(4) The ambient temperature within the holding area shall be maintained between 50 degrees F and 85 degrees F. A shelter shall be deemed as being in compliance if its vehicles' animal containment units holding areas are equipped with operable heating ...

	(b)  Animals transported in the same primary enclosure shall be of the same species. Puppies or kittens less than four months of age shall not be transported in the same primary enclosure with adult dogs and cats other than their dams.
	(c)  Primary enclosures used to transport dogs and cats shall be large enough for each animal to turn about freely, and to easily stand, sit, or lie down in a natural position. Primary enclosures used to transport dogs and cats shall be secured to the...
	(d)  Special provisions during transport shall be provided to any animal that cannot maintain its normal body temperature during the transport. These special provisions shall be sufficient for the animal to maintain its normal body temperature and sha...
	(d)(e)  Animals shall not be placed in primary enclosures over other animals in transit unless such enclosure is constructed so as to prevent animal excreta from entering lower enclosures.
	(e)(f)  All primary enclosures used to transport dogs and cats shall be sanitized between use for shipments.
	If dogs and cats are transported for a period of more than 12 six hours:
	(a)  It shall be the responsibility of the attendant or driver to inspect animals frequently enough to assure health and comfort and to determine if they need emergency care and to obtain it if needed.
	(b)  If a transport lasts six hours or longer, the transporter shall log the start and end times of the transport, the species, identification of the transported animal(s), any visible injury, illness or other medical condition, and care provided incl...

	SECTION .0400 - EUTHANASIA STANDARDS
	A person required to obtain a certificate of registration pursuant to G.S. 19A, Article 3 may use any method of euthanasia approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)(AVMA), and/or the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS)(HSUS...
	Only a Certified Euthanasia Technician Technician, Probationary Euthanasia Technician, or a veterinarian licensed to practice veterinary medicine in North Carolina may euthanize an animal in a certified animal shelter. A Certified Euthanasia Technicia...
	As used in this Subchapter:
	An applicant for certification shall:
	(a)  Training and examinations for euthanasia certification shall consist of:
	(1) Classroom lecture covering the entire list of subjects in Paragraph (b) of this Rule;
	(2) Earning a score of 80 percent correct on a written test provided by the Animal Welfare Section, demonstrating knowledge of the subjects listed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule; and
	(3) Passing a practical examination in each of the euthanasia by injection techniques. methods for which the applicant is seeking certification.

	(b)  The Animal Welfare Section shall develop Certified Euthanasia Technician training programs and materials or accredit training programs and materials to be offered by other individuals, schools, agencies or veterinary practices. The programs and m...
	(1) The theory and history of euthanasia methods and practice;
	(2) Relevant Animal animal anatomy;
	(3) Proper animal restraint, handling and methods for controlling animal stress;
	(4) Proper chemical agent dosages, record keeping and usage documentation, chemical agent, instrument and equipment storage, handling and disposal in accordance with rules and the Code of Federal Regulations;
	(5) Proper injection techniques;
	(6) Proper dosing for the specific route of administration for the EBI;
	(7) Proper and accurate verification of lack of pain perception;
	(6) Proper euthanasia techniques not utilizing injected chemical agents;
	(7)(8) Proper and accurate verification of animal death;
	(8)(9) Proper record keeping; keeping including documentation of justification for intracardiac and for early euthanasia;
	(9)(10) Proper disposal of euthanized animals;
	(10)(11) Stress management for euthanasia personnel;
	(11)(12) Proper methods and techniques of euthanasia under extraordinary circumstances;
	(12)(13) Proper methods, techniques and chemicals inducing anesthesia and sedation in animals prior to euthanasia; and
	(13)(14) Proper methods, techniques and chemicals used in the practical examination section for Certified Euthanasia Technician.

	(c)  The Animal Welfare Section shall prepare written examinations to be given to applicants. Following the classroom training detailed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the applicant shall take a written examination provided by the Animal Welfare Sectio...
	(d)  The applicant must pass a practical examination on each method of euthanasia for which he or she seeks certification. the EBI techniques.
	(e)  Applicants for certification in Euthanasia by Injection shall demonstrate the following knowledge and competencies:
	(1) Correctly calculate chemical agent dosage based upon the species, age, weight and condition of the animal; animal and the route of administration;
	(2) Correctly complete all required documentation; documentation and demonstrate proper technique for scanning an animal for a microchip;
	(3) Correctly draw the properly calculated chemical dosage into a syringe and needle of a type and size appropriate for the animal; animal and for the route of administration;
	(4) Correctly administer the chemical agent to the animal;
	(5) Properly perform intravenous and intraperitoneal injections on dogs and intravenous or intraperitoneal injections on cats;
	(6) Knowledge of the current euthanasia guidelines, medical procedures including lack of pain perception verification and drugs necessary for an animal to be euthanized by cardiac injection;
	(7) Demonstrate ability to verify death by: by a combination of the following:
	(8) Knowledge about the human health risks associated with the use of chemical agents used for euthanasia including signs and symptoms associated with accidental exposure of the Certified Euthanasia Technician; and
	(9) Proper first aid for a person accidentally exposed to chemical agents used for euthanasia.

	(f)  Applicants for certification in Euthanasia by Gas Inhalation shall meet the standards set forth in this Paragraph:
	(1) Demonstrate knowledge of the dangers and human health effects of exposure to carbon monoxide gas;
	(2) Demonstrate knowledge about which animals Euthanasia by Gas Inhalation is approved and which species, age, medical or physical conditions make it improper to use Euthanasia by Gas Inhalation;
	(3) Demonstrate proper techniques in placing animals into the chamber;
	(4) Demonstrate knowledge about the maintenance, operation and cleaning of the chamber, fittings, gas cylinder, valves, and other parts of the equipment;
	(5) Demonstrate proper operation of the chamber;
	(6) Demonstrate ability to verify death by:
	(7) Demonstrate knowledge about the human health risks associated with the use of carbon monoxide when used for euthanasia. Such knowledge shall also include signs and symptoms associated with accidental exposure of the Certified Euthanasia Technician;
	(8) Demonstrate knowledge of proper first aid for a person accidentally exposed to carbon monoxide used for euthanasia.

	(a)  Certified Euthanasia Technician training shall be provided by the Animal Welfare Section or by companies or individuals meeting the following criteria:
	(1) Possess working knowledge of euthanasia conducted according to this Section;
	(2) Have actual experience in euthanasia of animals;
	(3) Have experience training staff in euthanasia; and
	(4) Provide references from individuals or organizations previously trained. trained or individuals or organizations that can attest to satisfactory euthanasia experience.

	(b)  Information taught shall conform to this Section and the guidelines set forth by the American Veterinary Medical Association Association, and/or the Humane Society of the United States. States or the American Humane Association.
	(c)  Trainers shall disclose to their students and the Animal Welfare Section any affiliations with suppliers of equipment or supplies used in euthanasia.
	(d)  The Animal Welfare Section may make unannounced audit of instruction and testing by trainers.
	(e)  Prior to providing euthanasia training leading to certification as a Euthanasia Technician, the person or company shall obtain approval before each class for its training program from the Animal Welfare Section.
	(f)  Trainers shall return to the Animal Welfare Section office copies of the written tests, notification of results for the written examinations and notification of results for the practical examinations within 10 days of the date of the tests. These...
	An individual who has not passed the written exam and the practical examination may not serve as a Certified Euthanasia Technician. Technician or Probationary Euthanasia Technician.
	If the individual or applicant fails to pass the practical exam a second time and wishes to apply for certification again, the individual shall submit a new application to the Animal Welfare Section, attend a training program, pass the written exam an...
	Upon the receipt of materials specified in this Section the Animal Welfare Section shall issue a Euthanasia Technician Certificate.
	A Euthanasia Technician Certificate issued by the Animal Welfare Section is valid for five years from the date of issuance unless it is revoked pursuant to this Section or upon termination of employment or volunteer status as described in this Section.
	Upon termination of employment or volunteer status from a certified facility, a Certified Euthanasia Technician shall not perform animal euthanasia in a certified facility until recertified by the Animal Welfare Section. The Certified Euthanasia Techn...
	A certified facility shall notify the Animal Welfare Section in writing, no later than 10 days from the date of the termination of a Certified Euthanasia Technician's employment or volunteer status at that certified facility.
	(a)  If a former Certified Euthanasia Technician is employed or is accepted as a volunteer at a certified facility before the expiration of his or her certification, the former Certified Euthanasia Technician or employer may request reinstatement of h...
	(b)  If a former Certified Euthanasia Technician is employed or is accepted as a volunteer at a certified facility after the expiration of his certification, the former Certified Euthanasia Technician may only euthanize animals under the direct superv...
	(a)  Certifications may be renewed every five years provided that:
	(1) within the 12 months immediately preceding the application for certification renewal the Certified Euthanasia Technician has taken and passed a practical examination for each method of euthanasia for which they are seeking certification renewal; i...
	(2) the applicant receives up-to-date information about the method of euthanasia for which the applicant is seeking certification; the current standards and guidelines on EBI; and
	(3) the applicant receives training in stress management.

	(b)  The applicant shall submit an application for certification renewal to the Animal Welfare Section. The application shall be on a form created by the Animal Welfare Section and shall include a document from an approved Certified Euthanasia Technic...
	A Certified Euthanasia Technician may shall:
	The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or reinstate the certification of a Euthanasia Technician, or may deny, revoke, suspend, sanction, or place on probation, impose other forms of discipline, and enter into consent agreements and negotiated set...

	SECTION .0500 – EUTHANASIA BY INJECTION
	Intracardiac injection shall only be used on animals that have been anesthetized or heavily sedated.
	Intracardiac injection for euthanasia may only be administered under the following conditions:

	SECTION .0700 - EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCES
	Under extraordinary circumstances and situations which occur offsite from the shelter, a shelter employee trained in the euthanasia method for that species may use gunshot or other extreme method of euthanasia as set forth in the American Veterinary M...
	The Methods methods of euthanasia used by a certified facility under an extraordinary circumstance or situation must be a method approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association Association, and/or the Humane Society of the United States or the...
	If an extraordinary circumstance or situation occurs and euthanasia is necessary, the person shelter employee performing the euthanasia is not required to be a Certified Euthanasia Technician at a certified facility. facility so long as the shelter em...
	A licensee certified facility or registrant shall prepare a report of any euthanasia performed under extraordinary circumstances or situations, and keep the report on file for at least two years. The report shall include the date, time, identification...

	SECTION .0800 – POLICY AND PROCEDURE MANUAL
	Any animal shelter certified facility performing euthanasia shall have a current policy and procedure manual about euthanasia.
	The policy and procedure manual shall set forth the shelter's equipment, process, and the procedures for individual separation of animals. and documentation requirements for the euthanasia of animals.
	A certified facility's policy and procedure manual shall be kept consistent with the publications listed below and reflect the current information for each. The manual shall include:

	SECTION .0900 – Animal Shelter support fund
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Agriculture intends to amend the rules cited as 02 NCAC 52L .0101, .0102, .0104-.0106, .0109-.0113, .0201, .0301, .0401, and repeal the rule cited as 02 NCAC 52L .0402.
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise. The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/n...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  http://www.ncagr.gov/AdministrativeRules/ProposedRules/index.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Instructions on How to Demand a Public Hearing: (must be requested in writing within 15 days of notice):  Submit a written request by email to Rule-Making Coordinator, Anna Hayworth, at Anna.Hayworth@ncagr.gov.
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The farmed cervid rules are proposed to be amended and repealed to align the North Carolina Farmed Cervid Program with the United States Department of Agriculture's Chronic Wasting Disease Program Standards. Currently, the...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Anna Hayworth, 1002 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; phone (984) 236-4509; email rulesreview@ncagr.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 52 – Veterinary DIVISION
	SUBCHAPTER 52L – FARMED CERVIDS
	SECTION .0100 – FARMED CERVID LICENSE AND PERMIT
	(a)  For the purpose of the rules in this Subchapter, the following regulations and standards are hereby incorporated by reference including any subsequent amendments and editions:
	(1) 9 C.F.R. Part 55;
	(2) 9 C.F.R. Part 81;
	(3) 9 C.F.R. Part 86; and
	(4) The United States Department of Agriculture's Chronic Wasting Disease Program Standards (May 2014). 2019).

	(b)  The regulations and standards incorporated by reference in Paragraph (a) of this Rule are available free of cost at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionCfr.action?collectionCode=CFR and
	https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/animal-disease-information/sa_alternate_livestock/sa_cervid_health/sa_cwd/ct_cervid_health_program. https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/animalhealth/animal-disease-information/cervid/cervids...
	(a)  The definitions in the regulations and standards set forth in 02 NCAC 52L .0101 shall apply to such terms when used in this Subchapter, to the extent that they do not conflict with G.S. 106-549.97(a)(1) or Paragraph (b) of this Rule.
	(b)  The following definitions apply to this Subchapter:
	(1) "APHIS" means the United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
	(2) "Carcass" means the head, the whole animal, or tissue sample extracted in accordance with the USDA Standards, 9 C.F.R. 55.8 and 9 C.F.R. 55.23(b).
	(3) "Certified Herd" means any herd that has reached Certified status under an Approved State Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program as determined by the USDA in accordance with 9 C.F.R. 55.23(a) and 9 C.F.R. 55.24(a).
	(4) "CWD Testing" means official Chronic Wasting Disease ("CWD") testing in accordance with the USDA Standards, (6.2) Official CWD Test, and 9 C.F.R. 55.8.
	(5) "Diagnostic Laboratory" means the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory System.
	(6) "Facility" means a facility for farmed cervids.
	(7) "Fawns" or "Calves" means cervids under one year of age.
	(8) "Herd Certification Program" means the North Carolina Farmed Cervid Herd Certification Program.
	(9) "ICVI" means interstate certificate of veterinary inspection.
	(10) "Licensed Facility" means any facility associated with a farmed cervid license.
	(11) "Licensee" means a person issued a farmed cervid license in accordance with the rules of this Subchapter and includes designees named by the licensee.
	(12) "Monitored Herd" means any herd that has reached Certified status under the North Carolina Monitored Herd Certification Program for CWD non-susceptible species in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0402. "Non-susceptible species" means Cervidae that ar...
	(13) "Officially Identified" means identification in accordance with 9 CFR 55.25. the attachment of a tamper-resistant ear tag approved for use by the Veterinary Division on a farmed cervid.
	(14) "State" means the State of North Carolina.
	(15) "Susceptible species" means Cervidae that are known to be naturally susceptible to CWD.
	(15)(16) "Temporary Exhibit" means a public display of farmed cervids including animal acts, educational displays, carnivals, circuses, parades, shopping center displays, and zoos, whether operated for profit or not.
	(16)(17) "Veterinary Division" means the Veterinary Division of the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

	(c)  Farmed cervids are livestock in accordance with 9 C.F.R. 86.1.
	(a)  Farmed Cervid License.
	(1) Persons interested in obtaining a farmed cervid license shall apply with the Veterinary Division. The application may be obtained from the Veterinary Division by calling (919) 707-3250 or by emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov. The contents of the app...
	(2) Both licensees and persons interested in obtaining a farmed cervid license shall comply with 02 NCAC 52L .0401(c)(1) and 02 NCAC 52L .0402(d)(1) by enrolling susceptible species of farmed cervid herds in either the Herd Certification Program. Prog...

	(b)  Terms of License and Inventory Report.
	(1) A farmed cervid license shall be valid from July 1 through June 30 for the year in which it was issued. If the new license is approved after July 1, it shall take effect on the date of issue.
	(2) Licensees may apply for renewal each year during the renewal period of January October 1 through March December 31. If March December 31 falls on a weekend or holiday, then the renewals must be received by the Veterinary Division or postmarked by ...
	(3) Licensees shall submit a written inventory report in spreadsheet form with their license renewal. The inventory report shall include the:
	(4) The inventory report shall be accompanied by a statement from the licensee verifying the information provided is accurate.

	(c)  Renewal of Farmed Cervid License.
	(1) Existing farmed cervid licenses shall be renewed as long as the applicant for renewal continues to meet the licensing requirements of this Subchapter.
	(2) A person whose license has lapsed shall not be eligible for renewal, but may apply for a new license.

	(d)  Only one license shall be associated with each farmed cervid facility and national premises identification number.
	(e)  Each quarter, with the first quarter from January 1 to March 31, the second quarter from April 1 to June 30, the third quarter from July 1 to September 30, and the fourth quarter from October 1 to December 31, the licensee shall submit an updated...
	(a)  Circumstances or purposes for which a farmed cervid license shall not be issued or renewed include the following:
	(1) failing to submit a complete application or renewal;
	(2) submitting falsified information;
	(3) for the purpose of holding non-farmed cervids or farmed cervids that were transported without a valid transportation permit;
	(4) for the purpose of rehabilitating non-farmed cervids;
	(5) for the purpose of commingling farmed and non-farmed cervids;
	(6) keeping any farmed cervid for reasons other than agricultural or commercial purposes, such as buying, selling, and production of farmed cervids, or for scientific, exhibition, and educational purposes;
	(7) to an individual under the age of 18 years of age;
	(8) failing to have susceptible species of farmed cervid herds enrolled in either or both the Herd Certification Program or the Monitored Herd Certification Program with the Veterinary Division; or
	(9) the applicant has violated State or Federal laws or regulations for livestock or non-farmed cervids, and the State Veterinarian determines, in his or her experience, based upon the nature of the violation, the applicant may not comply with the req...

	(b)  Any person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been revoked or suspended shall not be licensed within the period during which the order of revocation or suspension remains in effect.
	(c)  Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been revoked or suspended and who was responsible for, participated in, or worked for that person during the violation upon which the ord...
	(d)  The Department shall not issue a farmed cervid license until a person has:
	(1) constructed or acquired a facility for keeping farmed cervids that complies with 02 NCAC 52L .0201; and
	(2) had the facility inspected and verified by the Veterinary Division.

	(e)  No farmed cervid license shall be issued to any person in possession of rehabilitative or non-farmed cervid.
	(a)  Temporary exhibit permits shall not be issued for the buying, selling, or production of farmed cervids.
	(b)  A temporary exhibit permit shall only be issued for Reindeer or Caribou.
	(c)  Temporary exhibit permit applications shall be submitted to the Veterinary Division. The application may be obtained from the Veterinary Division by calling (919) 707-3250 or by emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov. The contents of the application sha...
	(1) The applicant's name;
	(2) The applicant's address;
	(3) The applicant's contact information, including telephone numbers and email addresses;
	(4) The farm's name;
	(5) The farm's address;
	(6) The farm's contact information, including telephone numbers;
	(7) The date(s) of the exhibit;
	(8) The date of exhibit inspection by the Veterinary Division, unless an exhibit facility plan was previously approved and includes the date of facility plan approval and approval number;
	(9) The purpose of the exhibit;
	(10) The location of the exhibit, including the county;
	(11) The species to be exhibited;
	(12) The sex, date of birth, species, and identification number(s) for each cervid to be exhibited;
	(13) A statement from the applicant verifying the information provided is accurate; and
	(14) The applicant's signature.

	(d)  Temporary exhibit permits are only valid for the dates and locations specified. Applicants shall apply to the Veterinary Division:
	(1) five business days prior to the date of exhibit if the exhibitor previously submitted a detailed exhibit facility plan that has been pre-approved by the Veterinary Division. The detailed exhibit facility plan shall include descriptions of how the ...
	(2) 60 days prior to the date of exhibit.

	(e)  The Veterinary Division shall only issue temporary exhibit permits when the temporary exhibit area is inspected by the Veterinary Division and meets the following criteria:
	(1) all farmed cervids to be exhibited are from a certified herd and officially identified in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0112 and 9 C.F.R. 55.25;
	(2) the temporary exhibit enclosure, with the exception for farmed cervids exhibited during parades, shall:
	(3) farmed cervids exhibited shall be secured so that no farmed cervids may escape; and
	(4) the temporary exhibit complies with Aedin's Law, G.S. 106-520.3A, and 02 NCAC 52K when those laws and rules apply.

	(f)  All permit holders shall report any cervid escape, entry, or death within 24 hours of discovery to the Veterinary Division in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0110.
	(g)  Circumstances or purposes for which a temporary exhibit permit shall not be issued include:
	(1) failing to submit a complete application;
	(2) submitting a falsified application;
	(3) for the purpose of holding non-farmed cervids or farmed cervids that have been transported without a transportation permit;
	(4) for the purpose of rehabilitating non-farmed cervids;
	(5) for the purpose of commingling farmed and non-farmed cervids; and
	(6) to an individual under the age of 18 years of age.

	(h)  Any person whose farmed cervid license or temporary exhibit permit has been revoked or suspended shall not be issued a temporary exhibit permit within the period during which the order of revocation or suspension remains in effect.
	(i)  Any person who has been an officer, agent, or employee of a person whose farmed cervid license or permit has been revoked or suspended and who is responsible for, participated in, or worked for that person during the violation upon which the orde...
	(j)  No temporary exhibit permit shall be issued to any person in possession of rehabilitative or non-farmed cervid.
	(a)  Maintenance of Records.
	(1) Each licensee shall maintain herd records for all susceptible species of farmed cervids, regardless of whether tagged with animal identification or not, as required by the USDA Standards and 9 C.F.R. 55.23(b), and maintain a copy of any documents ...
	(2) All records required by this Subchapter and any ICVI as defined and required by 9 C.F.R. Part 86 shall be maintained by the licensee for a period of five years.

	(b)  Inspection of Records. The licensee shall make all records required under this Subchapter available for inspection and copying by the Veterinary Division.
	(c)  Inspection and Inventory of Licensed Facility and Exhibit. The licensee shall make all enclosures, exhibits, and any susceptible species of farmed cervid available for inspection by the Veterinary Division under conditions where all identificatio...
	(d)  Fence Monitoring Requirement. The fence surrounding the enclosure shall be monitored weekly for structural soundness and stability by the licensee to prevent ingress and egress of any cervid.
	(e)  Maintenance.
	(1) Any opening or passage resulting from damage or deterioration to the perimeter fence shall be sealed by the licensee within 24 hours upon detection or the animals secured until the fence is repaired to prevent any farmed cervid escape.
	(2) Any damage to the enclosure fence that threatens its stability shall be repaired by the licensee within seven calendar days of detection, or within 24 hours if there is an imminent threat of farmed cervid escape.

	(a)  When a licensee discovers the escape or disappearance of any farmed cervid, the licensee shall report the escape or disappearance within 24 hours by contacting the Veterinary Division by telephone at (919) 707-3250 or email at farmedcervid@ncagr....
	(1) The report shall include for susceptible species the identification numbers, species, sex, and age of the animals involved and the estimated time and date of escape or disappearance, and if deceased, the estimated time and date of death.
	(2) A recaptured live farmed cervid shall be held in quarantine by itself or with other escapees by the licensee until the Veterinary Division determines the disposition of the farmed cervid, based on the risk of CWD transmission as a result of this e...
	(3) The licensee shall be responsible for all costs associated with CWD testing and disposal of any escaped animal.
	(4) If live recapture is not possible, the licensee shall harvest the escaped cervid if possible and submit the deceased cervid to the Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing.

	(b)  When a licensee discovers the entry of any non-farmed cervid into the licensed facility, the licensee shall:
	(1) Report the entry within 24 hours by contacting the Veterinary Division by telephone or email for further action or disposition of the non-farmed cervid;
	(2) Obtain a wildlife depredation permit from the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission. Contact information can be found at http://www.ncwildlife.org/Licensing/Regulations/Nongame-and-Other-Regulations/Wildlife-Depredation#5836327-wildlife-tak...
	(3) Take the non-farmed cervid in accordance with the wildlife depredation permit; and
	(4) Submit the non-farmed cervid for CWD testing. testing at no charge to the licensee.

	(a)  CWD Symptom Reporting:
	(a)(1) Each licensee shall notify the Veterinary Division by telephone upon discovery if any farmed cervid exhibits clinical symptoms of CWD, including loss of body condition, behavioral changes, excessive salivation, increased drinking and urination,...
	(b)(2) Farmed cervids that exhibit clinical symptoms of CWD shall not be transported unless directed by the Veterinary Division.

	(c)  Licensees shall report to the Veterinary Division using a form provided by the Veterinary Division within 24 hours upon knowledge of the death of any farmed cervid, including any slaughtered farmed cervid, whether sent to a slaughterhouse or slau...
	(1) the licensee's name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address;
	(2) the licensee's facility name, address, and national premises identification number;
	(3) the farmed cervid license number;
	(4) the date of death;
	(5) the species and sex of each farmed cervid;
	(6) the animal identification for each farmed cervid;
	(7) the name and location of the Diagnostic Laboratory where the carcass of the farmed cervid is to be submitted for CWD testing; and
	(8) a statement from the licensee verifying the information provided is accurate.

	(d)  The carcass of any farmed cervid that was 12 months of age or older that died of any cause shall be submitted by the licensee to the Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing unless instructed otherwise by the Veterinary Division due to the condition...
	(e)(3) Regardless of age, the carcass of all farmed cervids that exhibited clinical symptoms of CWD shall be submitted to the Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing unless instructed otherwise by the Veterinary Division due to the condition of the carc...
	(f)(4) In cases where animals escape or disappear and are not available for tissue sampling and testing, or when the samples are of such poor quality, as determined in accordance with the USDA Standards, including Part A (5.6) Sample Collection: Owner...
	(g)(5) The Veterinary Division may require CWD testing or quarantine, or both, at any facility if the following circumstances or conditions occur:

	(b)  Reporting Death:
	(1) Licensees shall report to the Veterinary Division using a form provided by the Veterinary Division within 24 hours upon knowledge of the death of any susceptible species of farmed cervid, including any slaughtered susceptible species of farmed cer...
	(2) The carcass of any known susceptible species of farmed cervid that was 12 months of age or older that died of any cause shall be submitted by the licensee or the licensee's designee to the Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing unless instructed ot...

	(a)  Animal Identification Required.
	(1) Licensees shall identify all susceptible species of farmed cervid with two forms of animal identification in accordance with the USDA Standards and 9 C.F.R. 55.25.
	(2) As one form of animal identification, licensees shall use USDA official tamper-resistant ear tags approved for use by the Veterinary Division. The ear tags shall be affixed upon one ear of the farmed cervid by itself. Licensees shall inform the Ve...
	(3)(2) Susceptible species of farmed cervid Farmed cervids born within a licensed facility shall be officially identified on or before 12 months of age. Fawns and calves of susceptible species shall be deemed a year old for purposes of the rules in th...
	(4)(3) All farmed cervids cervids, regardless of age, shall be officially identified before being transported.
	(5)(4) All susceptible species of farmed cervids shall be identified and included in the inventory report and records as required by 02 NCAC 52L .0104(b) and 02 NCAC 52L .0109(a).

	(b)  Application for Animal Identification Tags.
	(1) Applicants may request animal identification tags from the Veterinary Division using a form provided by the Veterinary Division, which can be obtained by calling (919) 707-3250 or by emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov, by providing the following info...
	(2) The application shall be accompanied by a statement from the licensee verifying that the information provided is accurate.
	(3) The Veterinary Division may provide animal identification tags, based on availability of supplies, upon receipt of the completed application.

	(c)  Replacement of Animal Identification Tags.
	(1) Lost Tags. The loss of a tag shall be reported to the Veterinary Division by the licensee.
	(2) Unusable Tags. Tags that cannot be affixed to the ear of a farmed cervid or unreadable because of malformation or damage to the tags shall be reported to the Veterinary Division by the licensee.
	(3) Licensees may request replacement tags using the same form as provided pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule and shall include the information required by Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The Department may provide replacement tags, based on availabil...
	(4) Licensees shall update their records to reflect any replacement of tags and notify the Veterinary Division of the update when submitting records during the license renewal period.
	(5) If an animal identification is lost for any reason, the licensee shall comply with the identification requirements as soon as possible, but no later than the next annual inspection or prior to transport, whichever is earlier.

	(a)  No person shall transport any farmed cervid within the State unless that person first obtains a transportation permit from the Veterinary Division.
	(b)  A transportation permit shall only be issued by the Veterinary Division to an applicant to transport farmed cervids:
	(1) from a Certified Herd;
	(2) not known to be susceptible to CWD; from a herd enrolled in the Monitored Herd Certification Program;
	(3) to and from a veterinary medical facility for medical diagnosis or treatment;
	(4) to a slaughterhouse for slaughter;
	(5) for export out of North Carolina, subject to 9 C.F.R. 81.3; and
	(6) for import into North Carolina, subject to 02 NCAC 52B .0213.

	(c)  All transportation permit applications shall be submitted to the Veterinary Division using a form provided by the Veterinary Division, which can be obtained by calling (919) 707-3250 or emailing farmedcervid@ncagr.gov, except for transportation f...
	(1) the applicant's name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address;
	(2) the licensed facility or out-of-state facility name, address, and national premises identification number;
	(3) the farmed cervid license number or out-of-state CWD Herd Certification Program identification number;
	(4) the species and sex of each farmed cervid;
	(5) the animal identification for each farmed cervid;
	(6) the destination name, address, telephone number, and email address; and
	(7) the reason for the movement.

	(d)  Transportation permit applications shall include the following information when applicable:
	(1) for any susceptible species of farmed cervid to be moved for slaughter, the name and location of the Diagnostic Laboratory where the carcass of the farmed cervid is to be submitted for CWD testing;
	(2) for transporting farmed cervids to an exhibit, the exhibit permit number;
	(3) for importing farmed cervid into the State, a copy of the ICVI as required by 9 C.F.R. Part 86; and
	(4) for importing into the State any CWD susceptible farmed cervid, as identified by the Veterinary Division or the USDA, a copy of the negative antemortem CWD test result using a method approved by the USDA.

	(e)  The transportation permit application shall be accompanied by a statement from the applicant verifying that the information provided is accurate.
	(f)  No CWD susceptible species of farmed cervids shall be exported out of State unless the animals have reached Certified status.
	(g)  Transportation permits shall be valid for 30 calendar days unless otherwise stated on the permit.
	(h)  Emergency Veterinary Treatment. An applicant seeking to transport any farmed cervid for veterinary treatment shall first contact the Veterinary Division by telephone or email to seek authorization. The telephone number is (919) 707-3250 and email...
	(i)  No approval shall be issued for transportation of a susceptible species of farmed cervid to a veterinary medical facility out-of-state.
	(j)  Any verbal authorization from the Veterinary Division shall only allow transportation of the farmed cervid to the specified veterinary medical facility and directly back to the licensed facility, and shall not be construed to permit intervening d...
	(k)  Licensees shall notify the Veterinary Division in writing, including the identification numbers of any farmed cervid not transported in accordance with the transportation permit, within seven calendar days after the expiration of the permit.
	(l)  Any person transporting any farmed cervid shall present the transportation permit to any law enforcement officer or any representative of the Department upon request, except that a person transporting a farmed cervid by verbal authorization for e...
	(m)  The licensee shall be responsible for securing all farmed cervids during transport so as to prevent escape.
	(a)  The enclosure size for any farmed cervid, including any fawn or calf, shall be at least half of one acre.
	(b)  Pen density requirements shall be as follows:
	(1) three or less animals, excluding fawns or calves, for the first half of one acre;
	(2) each additional animal, excluding fawns or calves, requires an additional one fourth acre until the enclosure reaches two acres; and
	(3) a facility larger than two acres may have more than nine animals, provided animal husbandry practices are utilized to prevent dietary, environmental, behavioral, or other stresses.

	(c)(b)  Bodies of water and impassible areas shall not be counted towards the minimum enclosure size or the area for pen density.
	(d)(c)  The enclosure shall be surrounded by a fence:
	(1) of sufficient strength and design to prevent ingress or egress of both farmed and non-farmed cervids under any circumstances;
	(2) be at least eight feet high; and
	(3) have a ground clearance of no greater than three inches.

	(e)(d)  Farmed cervids shall not be contained within or be allowed to enter a place of residence, except for fawns or calves on a temporary basis in the course of emergency veterinary treatment in accordance with guidance from a licensed veterinarian....
	(f)(e)  No exposed barbed wire, nails, or other protrusions that may cause injury to the animals shall be permitted within the enclosure.
	(g)(f)  If a person intends to maintain two or more separate herds, that person shall maintain separate herd inventories, records, working facilities, water sources, equipment, and land use. There shall be a buffer zone of at least 30 feet between the...
	(g)  All additional farmed cervid enclosures added after a farmed cervid license has been issued shall first be inspected by NCDA&CS and comply with the enclosure requirements of this Section prior to the housing of any farmed cervids.

	SECTION .0300 – ENFORCEMENT
	(a)  The Veterinary Division may take one or more of the following actions based on the nature of the violation against any person for failure to comply with the requirements of G.S. 106-549.97, 9 C.F.R. Part 55, 9 C.F.R. Part 81, the USDA Standards, ...
	(1) issue warnings;
	(2) revoke any license or permit issued under this Subchapter;
	(3) cancel the enrollment in the Herd Certification Program or the Monitored Herd Certification Program; or
	(4) reduce the status of a herd in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0401(g).

	(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, the Veterinary Division may direct the disposition of any farmed cervid in possession by a person without a valid farmed cervid license or permit in accordance with Paragraph (e) of this Rule and may ord...
	(c)  Violations of this Subchapter include the following circumstances or conditions:
	(1) providing inaccurate or false information to the Veterinary Division;
	(2) failing to comply with animal identification requirements;
	(3) failing to comply with facility enclosure and maintenance requirements;
	(4) failing to comply with monitoring or record-keeping requirements;
	(5) failing to allow the Veterinary Division to inspect any facility, farmed cervid, or record;
	(6) failing to report the death, escape, or disappearance, of any farmed cervid; or
	(7) failing to submit deceased farmed cervid for CWD testing.

	(d)  The Veterinary Division may revoke a farmed cervid license or temporary exhibit permit, or both, under any of the following circumstances or conditions:
	(1) The farmed cervid licensee or temporary exhibit permit holder fails to report symptoms of chronic wasting disease in a farmed cervid to the Veterinary Division as required by 02 NCAC 52L .0111;
	(2) The farmed cervid licensee or temporary exhibit permit holder fails to transport and submit a farmed cervid carcass to a Diagnostic Laboratory for CWD testing as required by 02 NCAC 52L .0111; or
	(3) The farmed cervid licensee or temporary exhibit permit holder has transported any farmed cervid without a permit in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0113.

	(e)  Disposition of Farmed Cervid.
	(1) In the event of decommissioning a facility, all farmed cervids shall be disposed of by the owner in one or more of the following manners:
	(2) In the event the Veterinary Division directed the disposition of any farmed cervid and the owner refuses to comply, the Veterinary Division may terminate the farmed cervid, with costs to be paid by the owner.
	(3) The release of any farmed cervid to the wild by any person without authorization by the Veterinary Division shall is be prohibited.

	(f)  Disposal of Dead Farmed Cervids.
	(1) Licensees shall be responsible for the disposal of any dead farmed cervid carcass in accordance with applicable laws and regulations and the costs associated with disposal.
	(2) The carcass of farmed cervids that have been designated by the Department as CWD-positive, exposed, or suspect shall be disposed of in accordance with the USDA Standards, Part B (4.1) Suitable Disposal Methods, (7) Carcass Disposal, and using one ...
	(3) The carcass of farmed cervids that have not been designated by the Department as CWD-positive, exposed, or suspect may be disposed of in accordance with 02 NCAC 52C .0102.


	SECTION .0400 – HERD CERTIFICATION PROGRAMS
	(a)  Scope. This Rule shall only apply to CWD-susceptible susceptible species of farmed cervids.
	(b)  Enrollment Qualifications.
	(1) Only applicants that have a valid farmed cervid license or have applied for one shall be eligible to have herds enrolled in the Herd Certification Program.
	(2) Applicants shall comply with all farmed cervid license requirements and rules in this Subchapter in order to have herds enrolled and remain in the Herd Certification Program.

	(c)  Enrollment Application.
	(1) Persons who possess any CWD-susceptible susceptible species of farmed cervid in the State shall apply with the Veterinary Division to have herds enrolled in the Herd Certification Program, if not already enrolled.
	(2) The Veterinary Division shall determine the herd's enrollment eligibility and compliance with all farmed cervid license rules, and may request additional information regarding the herd animals and operations, such as laboratory reports, movement p...
	(3) The Veterinary Division shall deny enrollment if:
	(4)(3) Upon determining that a herd is eligible to participate in the Herd Certification Program in accordance with Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, the Veterinary Division shall send the applicant a notice of enrollment of the herd's enrollment d...

	(d)  Enrollment Dates. The enrollment date for a herd that joins the North Carolina Herd Certification Program after August 13, 2012, shall be the date the herd is approved for participation upon inspection except:
	(1) For new herds that were formed from and contain only animals from herds enrolled in an Approved State CWD Herd Certification Program, the enrollment date shall be the latest enrollment date for any source herd for the animals;
	(2) The first day that the herd participated in any state program that APHIS at a later date determines qualifies as an Approved State CWD Herd Certification Program; or
	(3) If the herd was enrolled in the Monitored Herd Certification Program, then the enrollment date shall be the same as the Monitored Herd Certification Program enrollment date, subject to 9 C.F.R. 55.22(b)(1)(i); or
	(4) Any other exception provided under 9 C.F.R. 55.22(b).

	(e)  Initial and Subsequent Herd Status.
	(1) When a herd is first enrolled in the Herd Certification Program, it shall be placed in the First Year status, unless the herd is composed only of animals animals:
	(2) If the herd continues to meet the requirements of this Subchapter, each year, on the anniversary of the enrollment date, the herd status shall be upgraded by one year as follows:
	(3) One year from the date a herd is placed in Fifth Year status, the herd status shall be changed to Certified, and the herd shall remain in Certified status as long as it is enrolled in the program, provided its status is not lost or suspended.

	(f)  Loss or Suspension of Herd Status.
	(1) If the Veterinary Division determines that animals from a herd enrolled in the Herd Certification Program have commingled with animals from a herd with a lower program status, including CWD non-susceptible farmed cervids, the herd with the higher ...
	(2) If a herd is designated a CWD-positive herd or a CWD-exposed herd by the Veterinary Division, it shall upon designation lose its program status and may only reenroll after entering into a herd plan.
	(3) If a herd is designated a CWD-suspect herd, a trace back herd, or a trace forward herd by the Veterinary Division, it shall upon designation be placed in Suspended status pending an epidemiologic investigation by the Veterinary Division in accorda...

	(g)  Cancellation of Enrollment and Reduction of Herd Status.
	(1) A licensee may cancel participation of any herd in the Herd Certification Program by surrendering the licensee's farmed cervid license in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0108 and by decommissioning the facility in accordance with 02 NCAC 52L .0301(e)...
	(2) The Veterinary Division may cancel the enrollment or reduce the herd status of an enrolled herd after determining that the licensee failed to comply with any rule of this Subchapter, by giving written notice to the licensee of the reasons for the ...
	(3) To appeal the designation of an animal as CWD-positive, cancellation of enrollment of a herd, or loss or suspension of herd status, the procedures set forth under 9 CFR 55.24(c) shall govern.

	(h)  Adding Animals to Existing Herd.
	(1) A herd may add animals from herds with the same or a higher herd status with no negative impact on the certification status of the receiving herd.
	(2) If animals are acquired from a herd with a lower herd status, including CWD non-susceptible species, the receiving herd shall revert to the program status of the sending herd.
	(3) If a herd participating in the Herd Certification Program acquires animals from a nonparticipating herd, the receiving herd shall revert to First Year status with a new enrollment date as the date of acquisition of the animal.

	(i)  Inspection. If an inspection of any farmed cervid is needed as a part of enrollment, including reinstating a suspended status, the licensee shall be responsible for assembling, handling, and restraining the farmed cervids. The licensee shall be r...
	(j)  A licensee may commingle non-susceptible species of farmed cervid with susceptible species of farmed cervid without effecting the herd status of the susceptible species. This exception shall not apply to non-farmed cervids or to non-susceptible s...
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	Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules, all rules are reviewed at least every 10 years, or they shall expire. As a result of the periodic review of Subchapter 10A NCAC 13B, Licensing ...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Nadine Pfeiffer, 809 Ruggles Drive, 2701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-2701; email DHSR.RulesCoordinator@dhhs.nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 13 - NC Medical Care Commission
	SUBCHAPTER 13B – LICENSING OF HOSPITALS
	SECTION .3800 - NURSING SERVICES
	(a)  Whether the facility utilizes a centralized or decentralized organizational structure, a nurse executive shall be responsible for the coordination of nursing organizational functions.
	(b)  A nurse executive shall develop facility wide patient care programs, policies policies, and procedures that describe how the nursing care needs of patients are assessed, met met, and evaluated.
	(c)  The nurse executive shall develop and adopt, subject to the approval of the facility, a set of administrative policies and procedures to establish a framework to accomplish required functions.
	(d)  There shall be scheduled meetings, meetings at least every 60 days, days of the members of the nursing staff to evaluate the quality and efficiency of nursing services. Minutes of these meetings shall be maintained.
	(e)  The nurse executive shall be responsible for:
	(1) the development of a written organizational plan which describes the levels of accountability and responsibility within the nursing organization;
	(2) identification of standards and policies and procedures related to the delivery of nursing care;
	(3) planning for and the evaluation of the delivery of nursing care delivery system;
	(4) establishment of a mechanism to validate qualifications, knowledge, and skills of nursing personnel;
	(5) provision of orientation and educational opportunities related to expected nursing performance, performance and maintenance of records pertaining thereto;
	(6) implementation of a system for performance evaluation;
	(7) provision of nursing care services in conformance with the North Carolina Nursing Practice Act; G.S. 90-171.20(7) and G.S. 90-171.20(8);
	(8) assignment of nursing staff to clinical or managerial responsibilities based upon educational preparation, in conformance with licensing laws and an assessment of current competence; and
	(9) staffing nursing units with sufficient personnel in accordance with a written plan. plan of care to meet the needs of the patients.


	SECTION .3900 - MEDICAL RECORD SERVICES
	(a)  The manager of medical records service shall maintain medical records, whether original, computer media, or microfilm, for a minimum of 11 years following the discharge of an adult patient.
	(b)  The manager of medical records shall maintain medical records of a patient who is a minor until the patient's 30th birthday.
	(c)  If a hospital discontinues operation, its management shall make known to the Division where its records are stored. Records shall be stored in a business offering retrieval services for at least 11 years after the closure date.
	(d)  The hospital shall give public notice prior to destruction of its records, to permit former patients or representatives of former patients to claim the record of the former patient. Public notice shall be in at least two forms: written notice to ...
	(e)(d)  The manager of medical records may authorize the microfilming of medical records. Microfilming may be done on or off the premises. If done off the premises, the facility shall provide for the confidentiality and safekeeping of the records. The...
	(f)(e)  Nothing in this Section shall be construed to prohibit the use of automation in the medical records service, provided that all of the provisions in this Rule are met and the information is readily available for use in patient care.
	(g)(f)  Only personnel authorized by state State laws and Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) regulations shall have access to medical records. Where the written authorization of a patient is required for the release or disclos...
	(h)(g)  Medical records are the property of the hospital, and they shall not be removed from the facility jurisdiction except through a court order. Copies shall be made available for authorized purposes such as insurance claims and physician review.

	SECTION .4100 - EMERGENCY SERVICES
	(a)  Any of any facility providing emergency services shall establish and maintain policies requiring appropriate medical screening, treatment and transfer services for any individual who presents to the facility emergency department and on whose beha...
	(b)  Any facility providing emergency services under the rules of this Section shall install, operate operate, and maintain, on a 24-hour per day basis, an emergency two-way radio licensed by the Federal Communications Commission in the Public Safety ...
	(c)  All communication equipment shall be in compliance with current the rules established by North Carolina Rules for Basic Life Support/Ambulance Service (10 NCAC 3D .1100) adopted by reference with all subsequent amendments. Referenced rules are av...
	(a)  The governing body shall establish the qualifications, duties, and authority of the director of emergency services. Appointments shall be recommended by the medical staff and approved by the governing body.
	(b)  The medical staff credentials committee shall approve the mechanism for emergency privileges for physicians employed for brief periods of time such as evenings, weekends weekends, or holidays.
	(c)  Level I and II emergency services shall be directed and supervised by a physician with experience in emergency care. physician.
	(d)  Level III services shall be directed and supervised by a physician with experience in emergency care or through a multi-disciplinary medical staff committee. The chairman of this committee shall serve as director of emergency medical services. ph...

	SECTION .4300 - MATERNAL - NEONATAL SERVICES
	SECTION .4600 - SURGICAL AND ANESTHESIA SERVICES
	SECTION .4800 - DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING
	SECTION .5100 - INFECTION CONTROL
	SECTION .5400 - COMPREHENSIVE INPATIENT REHABILITATION
	(a)  The staff of the inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall include at a minimum: include:
	(1) the inpatient rehabilitation facility or unit shall be supervised by a rehabilitation nurse. nurse as defined in Rule .5401 of this Section. The facility shall identify the nursing skills necessary to meet the needs of the rehabilitation patients ...
	(2) the minimum nursing hours per patient in the rehabilitation unit shall be 5.5 nursing hours per patient day. At no time shall direct care nursing staff be less than two full-time equivalents, one of which must be a registered nurse;
	(3) the inpatient rehabilitation unit shall employ or provide by contractual agreements sufficient therapist to provide a minimum of three hours of specific (physical, occupational or speech) or combined rehabilitation therapy services per patient day;
	(4) physical therapy assistants and occupational therapy assistants shall be supervised on-site by physical therapists or occupational therapists;
	(5) rehabilitation aides shall have documented training appropriate to the activities to be performed and the occupational licensure laws of his or her supervisor. The overall responsibility for the on-going supervision and evaluation of the rehabilit...
	(6) hours of service by the rehabilitation aide are counted toward the required nursing hours when the aide is working under the supervision of the nurse. Hours of service by the rehabilitation aide are counted toward therapy hours during that time th...

	(b)  Additional personnel shall be provided as required to meet the needs of the patient, as defined in the comprehensive inpatient rehabilitation evaluation.



	Title 12 – Department of Justice
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission intends to amend the rules cited as 12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209-.0214, .0226, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0238, .0242, .0244, .0404, ...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  To allow the Criminal Justice Standards Division, Director the ability to allow breaks in Commission course training during a State of Emergency when considering specific factors.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Charminique D. Williams, 1700 Tryon Park Drive, Raleigh, NC 27602; phone (919) 779-8206; email cdwilliams@ncdoj.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 09 - Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards
	SUBCHAPTER 09B - STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYMENT: EDUCATION: AND TRAINING
	SECTION .0200 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE SCHOOLS AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE TRAINING PROGRAMS OR COURSES OF INSTRUCTION
	(a)  In planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-certified criminal justice training course, the School Director shall:
	(1) Formalize and schedule the course curriculum in accordance with the curriculum standards established in this Subchapter;
	(2) Select and schedule instructors who are certified by the Commission;
	(3) Provide each instructor with a current Commission course outline and all necessary additional information concerning the instructor's duties and responsibilities;
	(4) Notify each instructor that he or she shall comply with the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course Management Guide and provide him or her access to the most current version of the Course Management Guide;
	(5) Ensure each instructor utilizes Commission approved lesson plans and instructional materials;
	(6) Arrange for the availability of appropriate audiovisual aids and materials, publications, facilities, and equipment for training in all topic areas;
	(7) Develop, adopt, reproduce, and distribute any supplemental rules and requirements determined by the school to be necessary or appropriate for:
	(8) If appropriate, recommend housing and dining facilities for trainees;
	(9) Administer the course delivery in accordance with Commission approved lesson plans and course management guides;
	(10) Maintain direct supervision, direction, and control over the performance of all persons to whom any portion of the planning, development, presentation, or administration of a course has been delegated. The comprehensive final examination shall be...
	(11) Report the completion of each presentation of a Commission-certified criminal justice training course to the Commission, utilizing forms required for submission, which are located on the Agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-trainin...

	(b)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, the School Director shall:
	(1) Deliver training in accordance with the most current version of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course Management Guide as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy;
	(2) Schedule course presentation to include 12 hours of instruction each week during consecutive calendar weeks, except that there may be as many as three one-week breaks until course requirements are completed; if the Governor declares a State of Eme...
	(3) Schedule only specialized instructors certified by the Commission to teach those high-liability areas as specified in Rule .0304(a) of this Subchapter as either the lead instructor or as assistant instructors or role players;
	(4) With the exception of the First Responder, Physical Fitness, Explosives and Hazardous Materials, and topical areas outlined in Rule .0304(a) of this Subchapter, schedule one specialized instructor certified by the Commission for every six trainees...
	(5) Schedule one specialized instructor certified by the Commission for every eight trainees while engaged in a practical performance exercise in the topical area "Subject Control Arrest Techniques"
	(6) Schedule no single individual to instruct more than 35 percent of the total hours of the curriculum during any one delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course presentation;
	(7) Not less than 30 days before commencing delivery of the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, submit to the Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation pursuant to 12 NCAC 09C .0211. The Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-10A) shall...
	(8) Monitor, or designate an instructor certified by the Commission to monitor, a presentation of each instructor once during each three year certification period in each topic taught by the instructor and prepare a written evaluation on the instructo...
	(9) Administer or designate a staff person to administer course specific tests during course delivery:
	(10) Not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a school's offering of Basic Law Enforcement Training, submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation (Form F-10B) that shall include:

	(c)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-certified "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course," the School Director shall:
	(1) Schedule course presentation pursuant to Rule .0209 of this Subchapter;
	(2) Schedule evaluators as follows:
	(3) Not fewer than 30 days before commencing delivery of the course, submit to the Commission a Pre-Delivery Report of Training Course Presentation [Form F-10A(ITC)] with the following attachments:
	(4) Not more than 10 days after course completion, submit to the Commission a Post-Delivery Report [Form F-10B(ITC)] containing the following:

	(d)  In addition to Paragraph (a) of this Rule, in planning, developing, coordinating, and delivering each Commission-certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or re-certification cour...
	(1) select and schedule speed measurement instrument instructors who are certified by the Commission as instructors for the specific speed measurement instruments in which the trainees are to receive instruction as follows:
	(2) not fewer than 30 days before the scheduled starting date, submit to the Director of the Standards Division a Pre-Delivery Report of Speed Measuring Instrument Course Presentation [Form F-10A (SMI)] that shall contain a period of course delivery i...
	(3) upon completing delivery of the Commission-certified course, and not more than 10 days after the conclusion of a school's offering of a certified RADAR, RADAR and Time-Distance, Time-Distance, or LIDAR speed measurement operator training course or...

	(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor certification shall consist of a minimum of 40 hours of classroom instruction, plus the time required to conduct practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing presented...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called on action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions of a criminal justice instructor.
	(c)  Each Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:
	(1) Orientation and Pre-Test  1 Hour
	(2) Instructional Systems Design (ISD)       5 Hours
	(3) Law Enforcement Instructor Liabilities and Legal Responsibilities  2 Hours
	(4) Criminal Justice Instructional Leadership      4 Hours
	(5) Lesson Plan Preparation: Professional Resources   2 Hours
	(6) Lesson Plan Development and Formatting      3 Hours
	(7) Adult Learning   2 Hours
	(8) Instructional Styles and Platform Skills      5 Hours
	(9) Classroom Management  3 Hours
	(10) Active Learning: Demonstration and Practical Exercises   3 Hours
	(11) The Evaluation Process of Learning       4 Hours
	(12) Audio Visual Aids  5 Hours
	(13) Course Closing and Post-test 1 Hour
	(14) Completion of tasks associated with practical exercises, student presentations, and post testing; the number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum shall be based on the number of enrolled students, available facilities, and...

	(d)  The "Instructor Training" manual published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:
	(a)  The radar instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a criminal justice radar instructor. This course shall be for a period not to exceed six consecuti...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  The radar instructor training course required for radar instructor certification shall include the topic areas and minimum number of hours as outlined in the Radar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for radar instructor certification, an appl...
	(c)  Each applicant for radar instructor training shall:
	(1) Present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized school director or agency executive officer or his designee.
	(2) Possess full criminal justice general instructor certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302.
	(3) Possess a current and valid radar operator certification.

	(d)  The "Radar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the radar instructor training course for radar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this public...
	(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the "Radar Instructor Training Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The time-distance instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a time-distance instructor. This course shall be for a period not to exceed eight consecut...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each applicant for the time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training course shall meet the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0210(c)(1) and (2) and 12 NCAC 09B .0309. The time-distance instructor training course required for time-dist...
	(c)  The "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the criminal justice time-distance speed measurement instrument instructor training course for time-distanc...
	(d)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the "Time Distance Instructor Training Course" are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The radar operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be
	designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a law enforcement radar operator. This course shall be for a period not to exceed four consecutive weeks. If the Governor declares a State of Emergen...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in the radar operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar operator until the basic law enforcement training course has been successfu...
	(c)  The "Radar Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic curriculum for the radar operator training course for radar operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication ...
	(a)  The radar/time-distance operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a radar/time-distance operator. This course shall be for ...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency may be enrolled in the radar and time-distance speed measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar and time-distance speed measur...
	(c)  The "Radar/Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance operator training course for radar/time-distance instrument operators as admini...
	(a)  The time-distance operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a time-distance operator. This course shall not exceed four con...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency may be enrolled in the time-distance speed measurement operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a time-distance speed measurement operator until the basic ...
	(c)  The "Time-Distance Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy is to be applied as basic curriculum for the time-distance operator training course for time-distance operators as administered by the Commission. Cop...
	(a)  The instructor training course for Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Certification shall consist of a minimum of 50 hours of classroom and range instruction plus time required to complete the tasks associated with Range Operations presente...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice firearms instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Course or a l...
	(c)  Each applicant for specialized firearms instructor training shall:
	(1) have completed the criminal justice instructor training course;
	(2) present a written endorsement by either
	(3) Once within 365 days prior to enrollment each prospective student shall demonstrate proficiency during a qualification administered by the North Carolina Justice Academy. To successfully complete this qualification each prospective student shall a...

	(d)  Each Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:
	(1) Orientation/Pretest  2 Hours
	(2) Range Operations   2 Hours
	(3) Civil Liability   4 Hours
	(4) Night Firing   2 Hours
	(5) Combat Shooting Classroom and Range     8 Hours
	(6) Mental Conditioning  1 Hours
	(7) Shotgun Operation and Firing 4 Hours
	(8) Service Handgun - Operation and Use     8 Hours
	(9) Rifle - Operation and Maintenance 4 Hours
	(10) Service Handgun - Maintenance and Cleaning    2 Hours
	(11) Range Medical Emergencies 2 Hours
	(12) In-Service Firearms Requirements 2 Hours
	(13) BLET Lesson Plan Review 1 Hour
	(14) Range Drills as defined in the Specialized Firearms Instructor Training
	Manual and the Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Course
	Management Guide  8 Hours
	(15) Completion of tasks associated with Range Operations. Completion of tasks associated with Instructor Practicums hours determined by number of students and instructors:

	(e)  The "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for the Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:
	(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Certification shall consist of a minimum of 29 hours of classroom instruction plus time required to complete the tasks associated with Subject Co...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instr...
	(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training shall:
	(1) have completed the Criminal Justice Instructor Training course;
	(2) present a letter from a licensed physician stating the applicant's physical fitness to participate in the course;
	(3) present a written endorsement by either
	(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment in the Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course the prospective student shall complete the following assessments administered by the North Carolina Justice Academy:

	(d)  Each Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:
	(1) Orientation   1 Hour
	(2) Response to Injury  4 Hours
	(3) Combat Conditioning  4 Hours
	(4) Safety Guidelines/Rules  2 Hours
	(5) Fundamentals of Professional Liability     4 Hours
	(6) Practical Skills Enhancement 4 Hours
	(7) Student Instructional Practicum 6 Hours
	(8) BLET Lesson Plan Review 4 Hours
	(9) Completion of tasks associated with Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructional Methods and Demonstrations. The number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum shall be based on the number of enrolled students, available fa...

	(e)  The "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for the Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training course. Copies of ...
	(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Specialized Subject Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Certification shall consist of a minimum of 47 hours of classroom and field instruction, plus the tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise Pro...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice physical fitness instructor in a Basic Law Enforcement Training Cour...
	(c)  Each applicant for specialized physical fitness training shall:
	(1) qualify through one of the following three options:
	(2) present a written endorsement by either:
	(3) present a letter from a physician stating fitness to participate in the course; and
	(4) Within 365 days prior to enrollment complete a qualification administered by the North Carolina Justice Academy requiring the individual to:

	(d)  Each Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:
	(1) Orientation   1 Hour
	(2) Physical Fitness Sessions  6 Hours
	(3) Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and Instructional Methods 14 Hours
	(4) Injury Care and Prevention 4 Hours
	(5) Nutrition   7 Hours
	(6) Civil Liability   3 Hours
	(7) CVD Risk Factors  3 Hours
	(8) Developing In-Service Wellness Programs and Validating Fitness Standards 4 Hours
	(9) Lesson Plan Review  2 Hours
	(10) Exercise Leadership  3 Hours
	(11) Completion of tasks associated with Physical Fitness Assessments, Exercise Programs, and Instructional Methods. The number of hours required to complete this portion of the curriculum shall be determined by number of students, number of instructo...

	(e)  The "Physical Fitness Instructor Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be the curriculum for specialized physical fitness instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the:
	(f)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Specialized Physical Fitness Instructor Training" course is the North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The Lidar Instructor Training Course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a lidar instructor. This course shall be for a period not to exceed six consecutive weeks. If the ...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  The Lidar Instructor Training Course required for lidar instructor certification shall include the topic areas and number of hours as outlined in the Lidar Instructor Training Course. To qualify for lidar instructor certification, an applicant sh...
	(c)  Each applicant for lidar instructor training shall:
	(1) Present the endorsement of a Commission-recognized school director or agency executive officer or his designee.
	(2) Possess full criminal justice General Instructor Certification as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0302.
	(3) Possess a current and valid lidar operator certification.

	(d)  The "Lidar Instructor Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the lidar instructor training course for lidar instructors as administered by the Commission. Copies of this public...
	(e)  Commission-certified schools that are certified to offer the Lidar LIDAR Instructor Training Course are: The North Carolina Justice Academy.
	(a)  The Lidar Operator Training Course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a law enforcement lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency shall be enrolled in the Lidar Operator Training Course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a lidar operator until the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course has been successfu...
	(c)  The "Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the Lidar Operator Training Course for lidar operators as administered by the Commission. Copies of this publication ...
	(a)  The radar/lidar operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a radar and lidar operator. This course shall be for a period not...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency may be enrolled in the radar/lidar speed measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar and lidar speed measurement instrument ope...
	(c)  The "Radar/Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the radar/lidar operator training course for radar and lidar instrument operators as administered by the Commis...
	(a)  The radar/time-distance/lidar operator training course for law enforcement officers shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to proficiently perform the function of a radar, time-distance, and lidar operator. This co...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Only employed or appointed personnel of a law enforcement agency may be enrolled in the radar/time-distance/lidar speed measurement instrument operator training course. Such a trainee shall not be certified as a radar, time-distance, and lidar sp...
	(c)  The "Radar/Time-Distance/Lidar Operator Training Course" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as basic curriculum for the radar/time-distance/lidar operator training course for radar, time-distance, and lidar instru...

	SECTION .0400 - MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR COMPLETION OF TRAINING
	(a)  Each trainee enrolled in a certified Basic Law Enforcement Training Course shall attend all class sessions. The school director shall monitor the trainee's attendance at criminal justice training courses in which the trainee is enrolled.
	(b)  The school director may excuse a trainee from attendance at specific class sessions. However, in no case may excused absences exceed five percent of the total class hours for the course offering. A trainee shall not be eligible for administration...
	(c)  If the school director grants an excused absence from a class session, he or she shall schedule make-up work and ensure the completion of such work during the current course presentation. The school director shall schedule instructors and reimbur...
	(d)  If the Governor declares a State of Emergency pursuant to G.S. 166A-19.3(19), the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division shall allow additional breaks in instruction for an individual trainee in a specific course delivery, not to exc...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall be posted on the CJETS website at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waivers granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the ef...
	(e)  The School Director shall provide the following information to the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division for consideration:
	(1) a memorandum justifying the absence waiver;
	(2) specific documentation related to the trainee's request; and
	(3) a training completion plan pursuant to Paragraph (c) of this Rule.

	(f)(d)  A school director may terminate a trainee from course participation or may deny certification of successful course completion where the trainee is tardy to or departs early from class meetings or field exercises.
	(g)(e)  Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12 NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0218, .0219, .0220, .0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, or .0240, and the scheduled course hours exceed the requirements of the Commission, the tra...
	(h)(f)  A trainee enrolled in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0209 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled delivery period in order to...
	(i)(g)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Specialized Firearms Instructor Training" course under Rule .0226 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Driver Instructor Training" course under Rule .0227 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Subje...
	(j)(h)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "RADAR Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0210 of this Subchapter, the "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0211 of this Subchapter, or the "LIDAR Instructor Training Course" ...
	(a)  The instructor training course required for Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Certification shall consist of a minimum of 59 hours of classroom instruction plus time required to complete Instructor Practicums presented dur...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a criminal justice explosives and hazardous materials instructor in a...
	(c)  Each applicant for Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training shall:
	(1) have completed either:
	(2) present a written endorsement by either:
	(3) present a completed OSHA Respirator Medical Evaluation Questionnaire, accompanied by a statement from a licensed medical professional stating the applicant is physically fit to participate in the course.

	(d)  Each Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum instructional hours for each area:
	(1) Orientation   2 Hours
	(2) Introduction to Hazardous Materials     1 Hour
	(3) Hazardous Materials Identification      2.5 Hours
	(4) Awareness Level Actions at Hazardous Materials Incidents  1.5 Hours
	(5) Chemical Properties and Hazardous Materials Behavior   3 Hours
	(6) Incident Management  3 Hours
	(7) Strategic Goals and Tactical Objectives     3.5 Hours
	(8) Terrorist and Other Criminal Activity     5 Hours
	(9) Personal Protective Equipment 5 Hours
	(10) Decontamination   5 Hours
	(11) Product Control   4 Hours
	(12) Air Monitoring and Sampling 1.5 Hours
	(13) Victim Rescue and Recovery 4 Hours
	(14) Evidence Preservation and Sampling     3 Hours
	(15) Illicit Laboratories  2 Hours
	(16) Introduction to Explosive Devices      1 Hour
	(17) Improvised Explosive Device Anatomy     2 Hours
	(18) Packaged Improvised Explosive Devices     1 Hour
	(19) Suicide/Homicide Improvised Explosive Devices    1 Hour
	(20) Vehicle Borne Improvised Explosive Devices    1 Hour
	(21) Radio Controlled Improvised Explosive Devices with Live Demonstration 5 Hours
	(22) Improvised Explosive Device Threat Response    1 Hour
	(23) Explosives and Hazardous Materials Emergencies and BLET Lesson Plan
	Review    1 Hour
	(24) Completion of tasks associated with Instructor Practicums. The number of required hours to complete this portion of the curriculum shall be based on the number of students and instructors.

	(e)  The basic curriculum for delivery of the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course shall be the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training Manual," as published by the North Carolina Justice...
	(f)  The North Carolina Justice Academy is certified to offer the Specialized Explosives and Hazardous Materials Instructor Training course.


	SUBCHAPTER 09G - STANDARDS FOR CORRECTIONS EMPLOYMENT, TRAINING, AND CERTIFICATION
	SECTION .0400 – MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR TRAINING OF CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS, PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICER, AND PROBATION/PAROLE OFFICERS-SURVEILLANCE
	(a)  The Instructor Training course required for General Instructor certification shall consist of at least the minimum number of hours of instruction as defined in 12 NCAC 09B .0209 to be completed within 15 business days. If the Governor declares a ...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Instructor Training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the functions of a criminal justice instructor.
	(c)  The "Instructor Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as the curriculum for instructor training courses. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the agency:
	and may be purchased at the cost of printing and postage from the North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address:
	(a)  The instructor training course requirement for Corrections Specialized Instructor Training – Firearms certification shall consist of at least 80 hours of instruction presented during a period of not more than two consecutive weeks. If the Governo...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each Corrections Specialized Instructor Training – Firearms course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a corrections firearms instructor in the "Basic Training – Correctional Officer" ...
	(c)  Each Corrections Specialized Firearms Instructor Training course shall include the following topical areas:
	(1) Course Overview;
	(2) Legal Considerations for Firearm Instructors;
	(3) Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction Firearms Training Courses;
	(4) Firearms Safety;
	(5) Range Operations;
	(6) Medical Emergencies on the Range;
	(7) Handgun – Operation, Use and Maintenance:
	(8) Advanced Handgun Training – Classroom and Range;
	(9) Shotgun Operation, Use and Maintenance:
	(10) Special Techniques, Training Aids, and Methods:
	(11) Situational Use of Firearms:
	(12) Administrative Matters, Testing, and Evaluation.

	(d)  The Commission certified school that is certified to offer the "Corrections Specialized Instructor Training - Firearms" course is the Office of Staff Development and Training of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety.
	(a)  The instructor training course requirement for corrections specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques (CRDT) instructor certification shall consist of at least 80 hours of instruction presented during a period of not more than two...
	(1) Whether instruction has begun in the course or whether course initiation may be postponed;
	(2) The risk of harm to students which may be caused by continuation of the course;
	(3) Whether those enrolled in the course have been or will likely be called to action to help address the State of Emergency;
	(4) The specific need for the waiver; and
	(5) The degree of benefit to the public in allowing a break in instruction.

	Notice of waivers granted pursuant to the Section shall be posted on the CJETS website https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-justice/. The waiver granted pursuant to this Section shall only apply to courses which began during the effecti...
	(b)  Each corrections specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques instructor training course shall be designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to perform the function of a corrections controls, restraints, and defen...
	(c)  Each corrections specialized controls, restraints, and defensive techniques instructor training course shall include the following topical areas:
	(1) Introduction to Controls, Restraints, and Defensive Techniques;
	(2) Physical Fitness/Warm-up and Stretching;
	(3) Response to Injury;
	(4) Basic Controls and Techniques;
	(5) Advanced Controls and Techniques;
	(6) Restraint Applications; and
	(7) CRDT Program Student Evaluations and Testing.

	(d)  The Commission-certified school that is certified to offer the "Corrections Specialized Instructor Training/Controls, Restraints, and Defensive Techniques" course is the Office of Staff Development and Training of the North Carolina Department of...



	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 13B .0832.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://deq.nc.gov/permits-regulations/rules-regulations/proposed-main/proposed-rules
	Proposed Effective Date:  Pending Legislative Review
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The proposed amendment changes the permit length for subsequent septage land application sites and septage detention and treatment facility permits from five years to ten years. This amendment was required by S.L. 2021-83,...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Adam Ulishney, 1646 M.S.C., Raleigh, NC 27699-1646; email dwm.publiccomments@ncdenr.gov
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	Chapter 13 - Solid Waste Management
	subchapter 13b - SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT
	SECTION .0800 - SEPTAGE MANAGEMENT
	(a)  General permitting requirements.
	(1) No person shall manage septage, or any part of septage, or operate a Septage Management Firm without first obtaining a permit from the Division as required under G.S. 130A-291.1(c);
	(2) The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c) applies to persons who remove septage, and other waste materials or spent media from wastewater systems permitted by the Department of Health and Human Services, under the authority of Article 11, Chapt...
	(3) The permit requirement of G.S. 130A-291.1(c) applies to persons who manage septage generated from properties that they own, lease, or manage as part of a business, such as mobile homes, mobile home parks, restaurants, and other residential and com...
	(4) The Division may deny a permit application in accordance with G.S. 130A-295.3(c);
	(5) The Division may require an applicant to demonstrate substantial compliance in accordance with G.S. 130A-294(b2)(2);
	(6) Permits issued in accordance with this Section shall be followed;
	(7) Where specified in this Section, permit applications or specific portions of applications shall be prepared in accordance with Rule .0202(a)(3) of this Subchapter; and
	(8) Initial septage land application site and detention and treatment facility permits shall be valid for one year. Subsequent permits shall be valid for five 10 years. The Division may issue a subsequent permit for less than five 10 years based on an...

	(b)  Portable sanitation permitting provisions.
	(1) A mobile or modular office that meets the criteria of G.S. 130A-291.2 shall be considered a chemical or portable toilet as defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(1c). A storage tank at a mobile or modular office shall not release septage onto the ground. The...
	(2) No person shall rent or lease portable toilet(s) or contract or subcontract to rent or lease portable toilet(s) to another person or manage or dispose of waste from portable toilet(s), regardless of ownership of the toilet(s), unless that person i...
	(3) Placement of a chemical or portable toilet as defined in G.S. 130A-290(a)(1c) for potential use in North Carolina shall be considered operation of a septage management firm that requires a permit.

	(c)  Recreational vehicle waste provisions.
	(1) Domestic septage from a recreational vehicle shall be managed in accordance with this Section or shall flow directly into a wastewater treatment system permitted by the Department of Environmental Quality.
	(2) Wastewater from recreational vehicles that are tied down, blocked up, or that are not relocated, and that are not connected to an approved wastewater system shall be managed in accordance with Article 11, Chapter 130A of the NC General Statutes.
	(3) Recreational vehicle dump stations that do not discharge directly to a wastewater treatment system permitted by the Department of Environmental Quality shall be permitted as a septage detention and treatment facility in accordance with Rule .0837 ...

	(d)  Alternate septage management method limitations.
	(1) Grease septage, or any part of grease septage, shall not be introduced or reintroduced into a grease trap, interceptor, separator, or other appurtenance used for the purpose of removing cooking oils, fats, grease, and food debris from the waste fl...
	(2) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be reintroduced into an onsite wastewater system unless approved pursuant to G.S. 130A-343(c).
	(3) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be placed in containers at restaurants designated for yellow grease.
	(4) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be disposed of in a municipal solid waste landfill unless the waste passes the Paint Filter Liquids Test as defined by EPA S.W. 846 Test Method 9095B which can be accessed at no cost at https://www.epa.go...
	(5) Septage, or any part of septage, shall not be disposed of in a dumpster unless the waste passes the Paint Filter Liquids Test and the landfill receiving the waste is a permitted municipal solid waste landfill, in accordance with Section .1600 of t...
	(6) Septage, or any part of septage, managed through subsurface disposal shall be considered a treatment facility and shall require a permit in accordance with this Section and G.S. 130A-343.
	(7) Facilities receiving septage, or any part of septage, for composting shall be permitted in accordance with Section .1400 of this Subchapter.

	(e)  All training to meet the requirements of G.S. 130A-291.3(a) and (b) shall be pre-approved by the Division. Approval by the Division shall be based on whether the training is in accordance with the rules in this Section.
	(f)  Waste from holding tanks not otherwise addressed in this Section, and from wastewater systems pumped more often than every 30 days, shall not be considered domestic septage and shall not be land applied at a permitted septage land application site.
	(g)  Inspection and entry. The permit holder of a septage management firm or facility shall allow a representative of the Division to:
	(1) enter the permit holder's premises where a regulated facility or activity is located or conducted;
	(2) access and copy any records required in accordance with this Section or conditions of the permit;
	(3) inspect any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or operations regulated by the Division;
	(4) sample or monitor for the purposes of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by the Federal Clean Water Act or the North Carolina Solid Waste Management Act, any substances, parameters, or soils at any location; and
	(5) photograph for the purpose of documenting times of compliance or noncompliance at septage management facilities or to require the permit holder to make such photos for the Division.

	(h)  Washings from the interior of septage handling containers such as pump trucks shall be managed as septage.



	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 46 – BOARD OF Pharmacy
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 46 .1503, .1612, .1613, and .1615.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The Pharmacy Practice Act requires all applicants for initial licensure and certain reinstatement and reciprocity candidates to complete practical experience in order to be licensed, and further requires the Board of Pharm...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .1500 - ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: EXAMINATIONS
	(a)  An applicant for license must show that he the applicant has received 1500 hours of practical experience under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist which has been acquired while enrolled in a school of pharmacy accredited by the Accreditation...
	(b)  All practical pharmacy experience gained within the State of North Carolina to be acceptable must be acquired under the general conditions approved by the Board as follows:
	(1) All practical pharmacy experience must be validated through registration in the internship program administered by the Board. A person does not receive credit for any practical experience unless and until that person is registered with the Board a...
	(2) Persons working under the supervision of registered pharmacists and expecting to qualify for the registered pharmacist examination must notify the Board within five days of the beginning and the ending of such employment. Practical experience shal...
	(3) The person acquiring practical experience shall at all times comply with the Board's rules and the laws governing the practice of pharmacy and the distribution of drugs. Failure of the pharmacist intern to do so is grounds to disqualify the experi...
	(3)(4) The Board shall accept hours of experience certified by the school from which the applicant has graduated, provided that the applicant has satisfied the foregoing Subparagraphs of Paragraph (b). The Board shall not allow credit for claims of pr...
	(4) Practical experience shall be credited only when it has been obtained in a location holding a pharmacy permit, or a location approved by the Board for that purpose.

	(c)  A person is eligible to register or renew and be employed as a pharmacy intern only if, and so long as, the person is:
	(1) Currently enrolled in a pharmacy school accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education. In order to qualify as "enrolled" in a pharmacy school, the student must be attending pharmacy school at the time, or on a break between academ...
	(2) A graduate of a foreign school of pharmacy who has successfully completed the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Examination offered by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and the Test of English as a Foreign Language and who is acqu...
	(3) A pharmacist licensed in another state who is gaining practical experience required for a license by reciprocity under Rule .1602 of this Chapter;
	(4) A pharmacist with an inactive North Carolina license who is gaining practical experience required for reinstatement of a license under Rule .1612 of this Chapter;
	(5) A graduate of a school of pharmacy who has not been licensed in any State, who has not been denied a license in any State, who has an active application for licensure to practice pharmacy in North Carolina and who has met all requirements for lice...

	(d)  In order to register or renew as a pharmacy intern, an applicant must submit proof of eligibility under Paragraph (c) of this Rule. The applicant further must provide releases for the Board to verify the applicant's eligibility, including confirm...
	(e)  Pharmacy intern registrations are valid until the September 1 immediately following registration. If the person remains eligible for registration as a pharmacy intern, the registration must be renewed during the month prior to the September 1 on ...
	(f)  If a pharmacy intern ceases to be eligible to be registered and employed as a pharmacy intern under Paragraph (c) of this Rule, that person must immediately cease working as a pharmacy intern, and must notify the Board within five calendar days o...
	(c)  The pharmacist intern, or student, and the pharmacist preceptor, or supervising pharmacist, shall at all times comply with the Board's rules and the laws governing the practice of pharmacy and the distribution of drugs. Failure of the pharmacist ...
	(d)(g)  The Board may accept training in pharmacy gained in another state pursuant to internship registration in this or another state if the Board is satisfied that such training is equivalent.
	(h)  A registered pharmacy intern working under a pharmacist preceptor or supervising pharmacist may, while under supervision of that pharmacist, perform all acts constituting the practice of pharmacy. Because the pharmacy intern may perform all acts ...
	(i)  A pharmacist preceptor or pharmacist-manager who causes or permits a pharmacy intern to violate any laws, rules or regulations applicable to the practice of pharmacy or the distribution of drugs forfeits his or her right to supervise pharmacy int...
	(j)  The Board may consider any of the acts set forth in G.S. 90-85.38(a) that are committed by a pharmacy intern in considering whether to grant that person a license to practice pharmacy or what conditions are appropriate to ensure that the person c...
	(k)  The practical experience hours gained prior to the effective date of any amendment to this Rule are governed by the requirements of this Rule in effect at the time the hours were obtained.

	SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS
	(a)  All licenses and registrations issued to individuals Pharmacist licenses, pharmacy technician registrations, dispensing physician registrations, dispensing physician assistant registrations, and dispensing nurse practitioner registrations that ar...
	(b)   All pharmacy permits and device and medical equipment permits and registrations issued to locations that are reinstated after March 1 and prior to April 1 of the succeeding year are subject to the maximum reinstatement and renewal fees set out i...
	(b)  All applicants shall submit to the Board a signed release form, completed Fingerprint Record Card, and such other form(s) required to perform a criminal history check at the time of application.
	(c)  Pharmacy intern registrations are governed by Rule .1503 of this Chapter.
	(d)  In order to apply to have a license, permit or registration reinstated following a voluntary surrender or disciplinary action, the applicant must complete a reinstatement application and pay the maximum reinstatement fee allowed by G.S. 90-85.24.
	(c)(e)  The Board shall require applicants for reinstatement of a lapsed license who have not practiced pharmacy within two years prior to application for reinstatement to obtain continuing education in addition to that required by Rule .2201 of this ...
	(d)(f)  The Board shall also restrict licenses reinstated pursuant to G.S. 90-85.19 for such period of time as the Board deems necessary to ensure that the applicant can safely and properly practice pharmacy.
	(g)  All applicants for reinstatement of a license shall submit to the Board a signed release form, completed Fingerprint Record Card, and such other form(s) required to perform a criminal history check at the time of application. If the applicant wit...
	(a)  Definitions:
	(1) "Eligible licensee" means a pharmacist who holds a license in good standing from the Board of Pharmacy, who serves the armed forces of the United States, and who is eligible for an extension of time in which to file a tax return pursuant to G.S. 1...
	(2) "Eligible registrant" means a pharmacy intern, pharmacy technician, dispensing physician, dispensing nurse practitioner or dispensing physician assistant who holds a registration in good standing from the Board of Pharmacy, who serves the armed fo...
	(3) "Extension period" means the time period specified in 26 U.S. Code 7508.
	(4) "Good standing" means a license or registration that is not suspended, revoked or subject to a current disciplinary order.

	(b)  Extension of time to pay license or registration renewal fee and waiver of continuing education requirements:
	(1) An eligible licensee or registrant shall notify the Board of eligibility for the extension period before his or her current license or registration expires. Upon such notification, the Board shall maintain the license or registration in active sta...
	(2) If an eligible licensee or registrant fails to notify the Board of eligibility for the extension period before his or her current license or registration expires, upon receipt and acceptance of a renewal application within the extension period and...
	(3) Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46 .1612(a) and .3301(a), an eligible licensee or registrant who submits a renewal application and pays the renewal fee required by the Board within the extension period shall not be deemed to hold a lapsed license or regis...
	(4) Notwithstanding 21 NCAC 46 .2201, .3101(d) and .2507(d), an eligible licensee may renew his or her license within the extension period despite failing to complete the specified continuing education requirements.
	(5) A licensee or registrant shall provide proof of eligibility for the extension period when the licensee or registrant submits the renewal application.

	(a)  As part of the application for issuance or renewal of any in-state or out-of-state pharmacy permit, device and medical equipment permit, license to practice pharmacy, pharmacy intern registration, or pharmacy technician registration issued by the...
	(b)  An e-Profile number is a unique identifier for permittees, licensees, and registrants that allows for the accurate identification and collection of licensure, disciplinary, inspection, and other information in a secured electronic profile.
	(c)  A An applicant, permittee, licensee, or registrant may obtain an e-Profile number at no cost by contacting the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy by phone at (847) 391-4406; by mail at 1600 Feehanville Drive, Mount Prospect, Illinois 6005...
	(d)  Any person or entity holding a permit, license, or registration as of the effective date of this rule must obtain an e-Profile number prior to renewal of the permit, license, or registration for 2018.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Pharmacy intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 46 .1606 and .1607.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The current rules require the pharmacist-manager for each permit applicant to meet personally with Board staff before the Board will grant a permit.  These meetings have traditionally been a means of imparting knowledge ab...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SECTION .1600 - LICENSES AND PERMITS
	Prior to issuance of any original pharmacy permit or device and medical equipment permit, the following persons must appear personally at the Board office on the first Monday of the month, the Monday before the monthly Board meeting, or such other tim...
	(a)  In order to protect the public health and safety and implement G.S. 90-85.21A, the following provisions apply to out-of-state pharmacies that ship, mail, or deliver in any manner a dispensed legend drug drug, device, or medical equipment into thi...
	(b)  An out-of-state pharmacy may not ship, mail, or deliver in any manner even a single dispensed legend drug, device, or medical equipment into this State unless and until it receives a permit from this Board. All unpermitted dispensing must be disc...
	(b)(c)  Pursuant to G.S. 90-85.21A, an out-of-state pharmacy must comply with the provisions of the Pharmacy Practice Act and its regulations, as well as the provisions of the laws of the state in which the pharmacy is located. In addition, these Such...
	(1) Maintain, in readily retrievable form, records of prescription drugs dispensed to North Carolina residents;
	(2)(1) Supply all information requested by the Board in carrying out the Board's responsibilities under the statutes and rules pertaining to out-of-state pharmacies;
	(3)(2) During the pharmacy's regular hours of operation but not less than six days per week, for a minimum of 40 hours per week, provide a toll-free telephone service to facilitate communication between patients and pharmacists at the pharmacy who hav...
	(4)(3) Comply with all USP and FDA requirements regarding the storage, packaging, and shipping of drugs, devices and medical equipment; prescription medications;
	(5)(4) Develop policies governing:
	(6)(5) Disclose the location, names, and titles, of all officers principal corporate officers, if incorporated, and if unincorporated, partners, or owners (whether direct or indirect) of the pharmacy. Disclose the names and license numbers of all phar...
	(7)(6) Submit evidence of possession of a valid license, permit, or registration as a pharmacy in compliance with the laws of the state in which the pharmacy is located; located. Such evidence shall consist of one of the following:
	(8)(7) Designate a resident registered office and registered agent in North Carolina for service of process. process pursuant to Article 4 of Chapter 55D of the North Carolina General Statutes. The Board may serve or deliver any notice or other docume...
	(8) Notify the Board within five days of receipt of any order or decision by a Board of Pharmacy or other state or federal agency imposing discipline of any sort on the pharmacy, or receipt of any warning letter from the Food and Drug Administration; and
	(9) Within five days of receipt, provide the Board with any inspection report from any other state's board of pharmacy or other agency that regulates the pharmacy, the Food and Drug Administration, or the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy.

	(c)(d)  The facilities and records of an out-of-state pharmacy shall be subject to inspection by the Board; provided however, the Board may accept in lieu thereof satisfactory inspection reports by the licensing entity of the state in which the pharma...
	(d)  An out-of-state pharmacy shall comply with the statutes and regulations of the state in which the pharmacy is located.
	(e)  Any person who ships, mails, or delivers prescription drugs to North Carolina residents from more than one out-of-state pharmacy location shall register each pharmacy separately.
	(f)  An out-of-state permit holder may be disciplined pursuant to G.S. 90-85.38(b) based on the conduct of its pharmacy personnel, even if those pharmacy personnel are not licensed or registered with the Board. The suspension or revocation of the phar...
	(g)  An out-of-state pharmacy shall report to the Board information that reasonably suggests that there is a probability that a prescription drug or device dispensed from such out-of state pharmacy has caused or contributed to the death of any patient...
	(h)  The Board may, in accordance with Chapter 150B of the General Statutes, issue a letter of reprimand or suspend, restrict, revoke, or refuse to grant or renew registration to an out-of-state pharmacy if such pharmacy has:
	(1) made false representations or withheld material information in connection with obtaining registration;
	(2) been found guilty of or plead guilty or nolo contendere to any felony in connection with the practice of pharmacy or the distribution of drugs;
	(3) made false representations in connection with the practice of pharmacy that endanger or are likely to endanger the health or safety of the public, or that defraud any person;
	(4) failed to comply with this Rule;
	(5) been the subject of a negligence complaint resulting from the dispensing of prescription drugs to a resident of North Carolina and based on an investigation of such complaint been found to be negligent:

	(i) An out-of-state pharmacy shall notify the Board within five days of receipt of any order or decision by a Board of Pharmacy imposing disciplinary action on the pharmacy. Notwithstanding the provisions of Paragraph (h) of this Rule, if the permit o...
	(j)(g)  An out-of-state pharmacy registration permit shall expire on December 31 of each year.
	(k)(h)  The fees provided for in G.S. 90-85.21A as maximum fees which the Board is entitled to charge and collect are hereby established as the fees for each original registration permit and for annual renewal of each permit. registration.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Pharmacy intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 46 .2515.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbop.org/rulemakings.htm
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  During the COVID public health emergency, North Carolina pharmacy personnel have been able to perform certain work outside the pharmacy under a Board of Pharmacy Emergency Services Waiver.  Further, some other states' laws...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Jay Campbell, 6015 Farrington Road, Suite 201, Chapel Hill, NC 27517; fax (919) 246-1056; email ncboprulemaking@ncbop.org
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SECTION .2500 - MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
	(a)  Pharmacy personnel may perform pharmacy practice (other than any physical acts in the dispensing process) remotely with respect to drugs, devices, or medical equipment dispensed by the permitted pharmacy location by which they are employed. The p...
	(b)  Out-of-state permit holders may permit remote pharmacy practice by their own employees with respect to drugs, devices, or medical equipment dispensed by those pharmacy locations only to the extent permitted by the laws of the states in which they...
	(c)  This Rule does not include services provided by someone who is not an employee of the permitted pharmacy location that is dispensing the drug, device or medical equipment. Any such remote medication order entry services are governed by Rule .1816...


	Chapter 65 – board of Recreational Therapy Licensure
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 65 .0301 and .0701.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbrtl.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	21 NCAC 65 .0301 Professional standards have increased as well as content and number of courses have increased in universities therefore NCBRTL sees the need to also require additional coursework for basic competencies to six Recreational therapy cont...
	-NCBRTL is clarifying education and training is a part of recreational therapy practice so all recreational therapy content courses must be taught by a licensed recreational therapist.
	-Update process for applying when internship supervisor cannot be located and remove outdate date.
	-Clarify internship supervisor must be licensed throughout the entire internship. A person with an expired license can not supervise a recreational therapy intern.
	21 NCAC 65 .0701-Clarification of reasons for a lapsed license due to nonpayment of Maintenance fees or non submission of Renewal requirements since there is no “Late Fee” or late forgiveness in the statute.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Becky Garrett, PO Box 2655, Durham, NC 27715; phone (336) 212-1133; email becky@ncbrtl.org
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0300 – REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE
	(a)  For the purposes of G.S. 90C-27(a), a candidate for licensure as a recreational therapist shall have graduated from an accredited college or university with a baccalaureate degree or higher and with a major or specialization in recreational thera...
	(b)  For the purposes of this Rule, the following terms mean:
	(1) An "academic major" is defined as a degree in recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation.
	(2) A "specialization in recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation" is defined as a degree in recreation and leisure studies, or recreation, or health and physical education, or health and human performance with a specialization, also known as an...
	(3) An "accredited college or university" is defined as a college or university accredited by an accreditation body recognized by the United States Department of Education or by the Committee on Accreditation of Recreational Therapy Education (CARTE) ...

	(c)  An academic major or specialization is defined by the following components:
	(1) Coursework for a degree or specialization in recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation shall reflect six courses, three hours per course in which the title, course description, and course outline reflects recreational therapy or therapeutic r...
	(2) "Supportive coursework" are courses, not including the recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation content courses, that provide knowledge necessary to develop the ability to practice recreational therapy or therapeutic recreation and are requi...
	(3) In addition to the coursework required in Subparagraphs (c)(1) and (2) of this Rule, a field placement course shall be required for an academic major or specialization in therapeutic recreation or recreational therapy.

	(d)  Candidates for licensure who have been certified as a Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist, (CTRS™) by the National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC) since 1990 and have completed all recreational therapy or therapeu...
	(e)  Successful passage of the NCTRC examination shall be determined by the NCTRC. Applicants for licensure shall submit evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC examination to the NCBRTL. Evidence of successful passage of the NCTRC examination sha...
	NCTRC.

	SECTION .0700 – REINSTATEMENT
	(a)  A recreational therapist or a recreational therapy assistant whose license has lapsed and who desires reinstatement of that license shall:
	(1) Complete a reinstatement application form with current contact and employment information provided by the Board within 60 days of expiration; expiration or missed submissions of Record Maintenance Fee or Renewal fee and application with continuing...
	(2) Submit evidence of satisfaction of all court conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or felony conviction(s), if applicable;
	(3) Submit evidence of meeting education and competency requirements pursuant to Rule .0301 or Rule .0302 as applicable at the time of reinstatement;
	(4) Submit evidence of meeting continuing education requirements in accordance with Rule .0601; and
	(5) Submit payment of application fee and any missed Renewal or Maintenance licensure fees.

	(b)  Persons whose license is suspended for failure to renew must not practice recreational therapy and must not hold themselves out as licensed by the Board until they apply for and receive reinstatement of their license by the Board.
	(c)  The Board shall inform the applicant in writing of the Board's decision within 30 days after the application deadline and the Board finds the complete application shows the requirements have been met.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure intends to amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 65 .0501.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncbrtl.org
	Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  NCBRTL has not raised fees since 2005 and needs to maintain even budget and meet expenses.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Becky Garrett, PO Box 2655, Durham, NC 27715; phone (336) 212-1133; email becky@ncbrtl.org
	Comment period ends:  February 14, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required

	SECTION .0500 – LICENSURE FEES
	(a)  A cashier's check, money order, certified check, an employer's check, or online payment is acceptable for the initial application licensure fees.
	(b)  Fees are nonrefundable and payable to the North Carolina Board of Recreational Therapy Licensure. A cashier's check, money order, certified check, an employer's check, personal checks, or online payment shall be accepted for payment of renewal fe...
	(c)  The Board shall collect the following fees:
	(1) Initial Application for Licensure Fee
	(2) Licensure renewal fees (due every two years)
	(3) Inactive status  $35.00 $45.00
	(4) Record Maintenance fee (due non- renewal year)



	TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
	Rule-making Agency:  Wildlife Resources Commission
	Rule Citation:  15A NCAC 10C .0314
	Effective Date:  November 30, 2021
	Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 18, 2021
	Reason for Action:  G.S. 150B-21.1(a)(7)c. The estimated pounds of Striped Bass harvested in the Roanoke River Management Area in 2021 exceeded the Roanoke River Total Allowable Landings (TAL), despite an 80 percent reduction in the harvest season len...

	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH
	(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in wate...
	(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit ...
	(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish from June 1 through September 30.
	(d)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches.
	(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may be greater than 22 inches.
	(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size...
	(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 9...
	(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the season for taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round.
	(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their tributa...
	(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries (excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their tributaries), t...
	(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provi...



	TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS
	Rule-making Agency:  Board of Architecture and Registered Interior Designers
	Rule Citation:  21 NCAC 02 .0102, .0106, .0108, .0109, .0201-.0205, .0208-.0210, .0212-.0215, .0217, .0218, .0302, .0303, .0306, .0901, .0903-.0910
	Effective Date:  November 30, 2021, except 21 NCAC 02 .0108 is pending consultation pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1
	Date Approved by the Rules Review Commission:  November 18, 2021
	Reason for Action:  The effective date of a recent act of the General Assembly.  S.L. 2021-81 went into effect June 30, 2021 and required NCBA/RIO to register interior designers by December 31, 2021.

	Chapter 02 - Architecture and Registered Interior Designers
	SECTION .0100 – gENERAL PROVISIONS
	In addition to the annual meeting as prescribed in G.S. 83A-2, other meetings of the Board may be called by the president or any three four Board members. The officers of the Board shall be elected at the annual meeting for terms of one year and until...
	The Board has adopted a seal, which is circular in shape and contains the words, "North Carolina Board of Architecture." The seal is maintained in the Board's office under the care, custody and charge of the Executive Director. The seal shall be used ...
	The fees required by the Board Board, are payable in advance and are set forth below:
	Initial Registration Application by Exam
	Residents and Non-Residents   $ 50.00
	Firm Registration     $ 75.00
	Annual license renewal
	Individual     $ 50.00
	Firm      $100.00
	Late renewal Penalty    $ 50.00
	Reciprocal registration    $150.00
	License to Practice Architecture:
	By Exam     $50.00
	By Reciprocity     $150.00
	Firm License     $75.00
	Annual License to Practice Architecture Renewal:
	Individual     $50.00
	Firm      $100.00
	Late Renewal Penalty for Individual Architects and Firms:
	Up-to-30 days     $50.00
	30 days to 1 year     $100.00
	Reinstatement of Expired License:
	Architect     $250.00
	Firm      $250.00
	Registration to Practice Interior Design:
	Individual Registration   $150.00 $100.00
	Firm Registration     $75.00
	Annual Registration to Practice Interior Design Renewal:
	Individual     $50.00
	Firm      $50.00
	Late Renewal Penalty for Interior Designers and Interior Design Firms:
	Up-to-30 days     $50.00
	30 days to 1 year     $100.00
	Reinstatement of Expired Registration
	Interior Designer     $250.00
	Interior Design Firm    $250.00
	Individual or Firm Reinstatement shall be the fee as described in G.S. 83A-11 and G.S. 55B-10.
	All fees paid to the Board are non-refundable.
	Other publications and services provided by the Board are available on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org.
	In addition to the statutory definitions in G.S. 83A-1, as used in these Rules, the following terms shall have the following meanings:

	SECTION .0200 – PRACTICE OF ARCHITECTURE
	(a)  Every individual licensee and registrant shall keep the Board advised of his/her their preferred current contact information, including physical mailing address, email and phone numbers, principle place of business and electronic mail address and...
	(b)  Each firm or partnership shall within 30 days notify the Board of all changes in ownership, of association, contact information, electronic email or physical address. Upon the dissolution of a firm, the architect or registered interior designer i...
	The Executive Director shall make available on the Board web site at www.ncbarch.org Chapter 83A of the North Carolina General Statutes and the rules of the Board adopted hereunder. Rules adopted and published by the Board under the provisions of Chap...
	As a primary obligation and responsibility, the architect shall conduct his office and all aspects of his practice in such manner as to "safeguard life, health and property" as provided in G.S. 83A-12. In order to safeguard the life, health, property ...
	In addition, an architect is also charged with the following personal and professional obligations of good practice:
	(a)  The practice of architecture shall be carried out by one of the following types of entities:
	(1) sole practitioners;
	(2) professional limited liability companies that are established under the provisions of G.S. 57D; G.S. 57D-2-02;
	(3) limited liability partnerships that are established under the provisions of G.S. 59-84.2;
	(4) professional corporations that are established under the provisions of G.S. 55B; or
	(5) general partnerships.

	(b)  The practice of registered interior design shall be carried out by one of the following types of entities:
	(1) sole practitioners;
	(2) limited liability companies that are established under the provisions of G.S. 57D;
	(3) limited liability partnerships that are established under the provisions of G.S. 59-84.2;
	(4) business corporations that are established under the provisions of G.S. 55; or
	(5) general partnerships.

	Each limited liability partnership and each general partnership engaged in the practice of architecture or registered interior design in North Carolina shall keep a current list of all resident and non-resident partners of the partnership. One annual ...
	(b)(c)  All individuals who practice architecture through entities described in Subparagraphs (a)(1) through (a)(4) of this Rule shall be licensed to practice architecture.
	(d)  All individuals who practice registered interior design through entities described in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule shall be registered to practice interior design.
	(a)  A licensee or registrant shall not engage in the practice of architecture or registered interior design under a firm name which is misleading or deceptive in any way as to the legal form of the firm or the persons who are partners, officers, memb...
	(1) Use of "architects" or "registered interior designers" when the number of architects or registered interior designers in a firm does not warrant such use;
	(2) Use of the name of an employee unless that employee is a licensed or registered partner, licensed or registered officer, licensed or registered member or licensed or registered shareholder;
	(3) Use of the name of a deceased architect or registered interior designer in order to benefit from his their reputation, when that architect or registered interior designer was not a former partner, officer, member or shareholder in the present firm;
	(4) Use of a name which is deceptively similar to that of existing firm name; and
	(5) Use of a fictitious name by a sole proprietor.

	(b)  Failure of the firm to register a fictitious name shall be prima facie evidence of the name being misleading or deceptive.
	(a)  In practicing architecture, an architect shall act with reasonable care and competence and shall apply the technical knowledge and skill which is ordinarily applied by architects of good standing, practicing in the same locality.
	(b)  In designing a project, an architect shall take into account all applicable state and municipal building laws and rules. While an architect may rely on the advice of other professionals (e.g., attorneys, engineers and other qualified persons) as ...
	(c)  An architect shall undertake to perform professional services only when he, together with those whom the architect may engage as consultants, are qualified by education, training and experience in the specific technical areas involved.
	(d)  No person shall be permitted to practice architecture or registered interior design if such person's professional competence is substantially impaired by physical or mental disabilities. such person has been declared insane or incompetent by a co...
	(e)  Architects preparing plans for building permits for projects not exempt under G.S. 83A- 13 shall submit plans that are complete and buildable. Such plans shall conform with the State Building Code and local plan submission requirements. Professio...
	(a)  Renewal. License registration The license to practice architecture or interior design registration must be renewed on or before the first day in July each year. No less than 30 days prior to the renewal date, the Board shall send a notice of rene...
	(b)  Late Renewal. If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and completed renewal documentation on or before the first day of July, each year the license or registration shall expire and be placed on delinquent status. For the purpose of t...
	(c)  Reinstatement. After one year from the date of expiration, the Board shall revoke the license or registration for failure to renew. Reinstatement shall occur pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 and Sections .0300 and .0900 of this Chapter.
	(d)  Any individual who is currently licensed by or registered by and in good standing with the Board who is serving in the armed forces of the United States shall not be subject to late fees, suspension or revocation for failure to renew licensure on...
	(a)  Registration. Prior to offering and rendering architectural or registered interior design services as set forth in G.S. 83A and 21 NCAC 02 .0204(a) and 21 NCAC 02 .0204(c), all firms shall submit an application for firm licensure or registration ...
	(b)  Architectural Corporations Under G.S. 55, the Business Corporation Act. Applications for certificate of registration as exempt from the Professional Corporation Act under the provisions of G.S. 55B-15 shall be made upon forms provided by the Boar...
	(1) The corporation must have been incorporated prior to June 5, 1969 as a business corporation;
	(2) Prior to and since June 5, 1969, the corporation must have been a bona fide architectural or architectural-engineering firm with services limited to the practice of architecture or architecture-engineering and ancillary services within the State o...
	(3) The corporation must have applied to be an exempt corporation before October 1, 1979.

	(c)(b)  Renewal of Certificate. Architecture firm Firm registration licensure and interior design firm registration shall be renewed on or before December 31st each year. If the Board has not received the annual renewal fee and completed application o...
	(d)(c)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. Within one year of the expiration, the firm license or registration may be renewed at any time, upon the return of the completed renewal documents, the annual renewal fee, and the late renewal fees. After on...
	(e)(d)  Seal. Each licensed or registered corporation firm shall adopt a seal pursuant to 21 NCAC 02 .0206(a)(3). 21 NCAC 02 .0206.
	(f)(e)  Approval of Name. In addition to the requirements and limitations of G.S. 55 and 55B, the firm name used by an architectural or registered interior design corporation firm shall conform with Rule .0205 and be approved by the Board before being...
	(a)  Incorporation in Other States. Architectural and registered interior design firms from other states may be granted firm certificates of licensure or registration for practice in this State upon receipt by the Board of a completed application, fee...
	(b)  Designated Individuals. Foreign entities may be permitted to practice architecture within the State of North Carolina provided that it complies with G.S. Chapter 55B. If a foreign an out of state entity offers both architectural and engineering s...
	(c)  Partnerships. An out of state architectural or registered interior design partnership may practice architecture, architecture or registered interior design, if every partner in the firm is licensed or registered as an individual in this state und...
	(d)  Limited Liability Companies. An out of state Limited Liability Company may practice architecture, architecture or registered interior design if the Limited Liability Company complies with G.S. 57C 57D and at least one member and one owner are lic...
	(e)  Limited Liability Partnerships. An out of state Limited Liability Partnership may practice architecture, architecture or registered interior design, if the Limited Liability Partnership complies with G.S. 59, and at least one partner is licensed ...
	(f)  Failure to Renew and Reinstatement. If the Board has not received the annual firm renewal fee and completed application on or before December 31st each year the firm license or registration shall expire and be deemed delinquent. The firm registra...
	Resident architects who have been registered in this state who are retired from active practice or other related professional activities in any jurisdictions whatsoever, may apply for "Emeritus Status" by submitting a form provided by the Board showin...
	Architects may practice in this state through duly authorized limited liability companies only as provided under G.S. 57C-2-01(c). G.S. 57D. Registered interior designers may practice in this state through duly authorized limited liability companies o...

	SECTION .0300 - EXAMINATION PROCEDURES
	(a)  The Board became a Direct Registration State with the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) on July 25, 2016. Those individuals who wish to take the Architectural Registration Exam (ARE) must contact NCARB directly to obtai...
	(b)  Upon passing all sections of the NCARB ARE NCARB, fulfillment of all NCARB AXP requirements, and completion of the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredited degree, NCARB, as directed by the candidate, will transmit a completed A...
	(1) are of good moral character as defined in G.S. 83A-1(5);
	(2) are at least 18 years of age;
	(3) have completed a NAAB accredited professional degree in architecture or who have completed a NAAB accredited degree program that is identified as an NCARB endorsed Integrated Path To Architectural Licensure Degree Program;
	(4) have completed the NCARB AXP; and
	(5) submits the Application for Licensure by Exam and fee.

	(c)  Retention of credit for purposes of licensure by examination in North Carolina.
	(1) Passing scores received after July 1, 2006 on any part of the ARE remain valid for a period of time established by the exam provider, NCARB.
	(2) Scores received on any part of the ARE prior to July 1, 2006 are invalid.

	(d)  Practical training pursuant to G.S. 83A-7(a)(2) means practical experience and diversified training as defined by the Architectural Experience Program through the NCARB.
	(e)  During the application process, Board members, in order to augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview the applicant regarding qualifications required in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. The Board shall determine whether an intervie...
	(f)  To complete the ARE, an exam candidate shall receive a passing grade in each division of the ARE. Information regarding NCARB grading methods and procedures can be found on their web site at www.ncarb.org.
	(g)  A person currently employed under the responsible control of an architect, who holds a Professional Degree from a NAAB accredited program, and who maintains an active NCARB AXP record or has completed the NCARB AXP may use the title "Architectura...
	(h)  The fees for examination, or parts thereof, are set and collected by the NCARB. Fee information is available on the NCARB web site www.ncarb.org.
	(i)  The standards of the National Council of Architecture Registration Boards and its components are hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and can be accessed at no charge at www.ncarb.org.
	(a)  An individual who holds a current license in good standing from a National Council of Architecture Registration Boards (NCARB) recognized jurisdiction and a Certified Council Certificate (also known as "Blue Cover") issued by NCARB may shall qual...
	(b)  In order to supplement or clarify the contents of a record or application, The the Board may interview with the applicant to satisfy the Board, or its designee that the applicant has had sufficient recent architectural practice experience to be a...
	(a)  Those individuals who wish to become registered to practice as a registered interior designer in North Carolina, shall demonstrate that they have satisfied the educational and professional experience eligibility requirements adopted by the Counci...
	(b)  An architect may be granted registration to practice interior design so long as they are currently licensed and in good standing in the state State of North Carolina and submit the Board application for registration and fee.
	(c)  The Board in order to augment the evidence submitted in an application may interview with the applicant to satisfy the Board, or its designee that the applicant has had sufficient recent interior design practice experience to be able to competent...
	(d)  The standards of the CIDQ and NCIDQ and its components are hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amendments and editions, and can be accessed at no charge at www.cidq.org.

	SECTION .0900 - CONTINUING EDUCATION
	The rules in this Section set forth the continuing education requirements to be complied with by licensees or registrants.
	(a)  Every licensee and registrant shall obtain 12 contact hours of continuing education for each calendar year.  "Contact Hour" means a minimum of 50 minutes contact.
	(b)  The contact hours shall be obtained in structured educational activities intended to increase or update the architect's and registered interior designer's knowledge and competence in technical and professional architectural and interior design su...
	(c)  Registrants Licensees and registrants shall not carry forward any contact hours into the subsequent period.
	(d)  Registrants Licensees and registrants shall certify completion of the contact hours for the previous calendar year with annual registration renewal.
	(a)  The Board has final authority with respect to approval of courses, programs, and contact hours.
	(b)  The Board may randomly audit the compliance of individual licensees and registrants and require proof in the form of records maintained pursuant to Rule .0905 of this Section of participation in courses or programs that conform with the content a...
	(a)  The licensee or registrant shall maintain records to support credits claimed. Records required include:
	(1) A log showing the type of activity claimed, sponsoring organization, location, duration, the name of the instructor or speaker and contact hours earned; or
	(2) Attendance certificates or other evidence of participation; or
	(3) Records maintained by the American Institute of Architects Continuing Education System(AIA/CES) or the International Design Continuing Education Council (IDCEC).

	(b)  Records shall be retained by the licensee or registrant for a period of six years after the credit is claimed and provided to the Board upon request.
	A licensee or registrant shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements for any of the following reasons:
	A former licensee or registrant may only apply for reinstatement pursuant to G.S. 83A-11 if he has they have earned all delinquent contact hours within the 12 months preceding the application. However, if the total number of contact hours required to ...
	The requirements of North Carolina shall be deemed satisfied by a non-resident licensee or registrant provided:
	All renewal applications shall require the completion of a continuing education certification provided by the Board documenting the contact hours claimed for the renewal period. The licensee or registrant shall supply sufficient detail to permit audit...
	(a)  If any credits are disallowed by the Board, then the licensee or registrant shall have 60 calendar days after notification to substantiate the original claim or obtain other contact hours to meet the minimum requirements.
	(b)  Licensees or registrants who fail to complete the continuing education requirement by the end of the previous calendar year shall have his or her their license placed on probation and shall complete the outstanding continuing education by Decembe...
	RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING
	MINUTES
	November 18, 2021
	The Chair notified the Commissioners that the following item on the agenda would be taken up out of order at the end of the agenda: Temporary rules for Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.
	APPROVAL OF MINUTES
	The Chair asked for any discussion, comments, or corrections concerning the minutes of the October 21, 2021 meeting. There were none and the minutes were approved as distributed.
	Upon the call of the Chair, the minutes were approved by roll-call vote, ayes 9, noes 0 as follows: Voting in the affirmative: Andrew Atkins, Wayne R. Boyles III, Bobby Bryan, Margaret Currin, Jeff Hyde, Barbara Jackson, Randy Overton, Paul Powell, an...
	FOLLOW UP MATTERS
	COMMISSION BUSINESS
	Outgoing OAH Commission Counsel Amanda Reeder, addressed the Commission.
	The meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m.
	The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Commission is Thursday, December 16, 2021, at 9:00 a.m.
	Alexander Burgos, Paralegal
	Minutes approved by the Rules Review Commission:
	Jeanette Doran, Chair
	Rules Review Commission Meeting November 18, 2021
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