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EXPLANATION OF THE PUBLICATION SCHEDULE  
 
This Publication Schedule is prepared by the Office of Administrative Hearings as a public service and the computation of time periods are not to be deemed binding or controlling.  

Time is computed according to 26 NCAC 2C .0302 and the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 6. 
 

 
 

GENERAL 
 
The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 
a month and contains the following information 
submitted for publication by a state agency: 
(1) temporary rules; 
(2) text of proposed rules; 
(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 
(4) emergency rules 
(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 
(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 
voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 
the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 
G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 
determines to be helpful to the public. 

 
COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 
the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 
is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 
is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 
holiday, in which event the period runs until the 
preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 
State holiday. 

 
FILING DEADLINES 

 
ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 
fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 
month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 
employees mandated by the State Personnel 
Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 
Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 
the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 
published on the day of that month after the first or 
fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 
State employees. 
 
LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 
issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 
Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 
NOTICE OF TEXT 

 
EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 
date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 
the hearing is published. 
 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 
An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 
proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 
published or until the date of any public hearings held 
on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 
 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 
COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 
submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 
by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 
must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 
date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 
the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 
Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 

 

TITLE 13 – DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Department of Labor intends to amend the rules cited as 13 NCAC 
13 .0101, .0103, .0201-.0203, .0205, .0207, .0210, .0211, .0213, 
.0214, .0303, .0401, .0402, .0405, .0406, .0409, .0420, .0422, 
.0423, and .0701. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.labor.nc.gov/rules-and-regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  December 16, 2021 
Time:  9:00 a.m. 
Location:  Virtual: 
https://call.lifesizecloud.com/12081128;  
https://skype.lifesizecloud.com/12081128; 
(312) 584-2401, ext: 12081128 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Amendments are proposed to 
increase inspection fees (13 NCAC 13 .0205; 13 NCAC 13 .0213; 
13 NCAC 13 .0303); update terminology; make amendments to 
harmonize with national standards; update prices of standards 
that are incorporated by reference (13 NCAC 13 .0103); eliminate 
references to nuclear shop inspections; and make clarifying 
amendments. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Jill F. Cramer, 1101 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101; email 
jill.cramer@labor.nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 13 - BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL 

 
SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS 

 
13 NCAC 13 .0101 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply throughout the rules in this 
Chapter and shall be construed as controlling in case of any 
conflict with the definitions contained in ANSI/NB-23 National 
Board Inspection Code Parts 2 and 3, 2, 3 and 4, The American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure 
Vessel Code, or The North Carolina State Building Code: 

(1) "Accepted Design and Construction Code" 
means the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code of 
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
(ASME Code), or a comparable code with 
standards that the Chief Inspector determines to 
be equivalent to the ASME Code. 

(2) "Appurtenance" means any control, fitting, 
appliance, or device attached to or working in 
conjunction with the boiler proper or pressure 
vessel. 

(3) "ASME Code" means the Boiler and Pressure 
Vessel Code of the American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers. 

(4) "Audit" means activities, other than certificate 
inspections, conducted by the Chief Inspector 
or his designee. Audits include the following: 
(a) reviews and surveys for ASME and 

National Board stamp certificate 
issuance and renewal; 

(b) audits conducted of an authorized 
inspector at the location of a 
manufacturer or repair organization as 
may be required by the ASME Code, 
National Board Inspection Code, or 
National Board Rules for 
Commissioned Inspectors; and 

(c) audits pursuant to evaluation for the 
issuance of North Carolina Specials. 

(5) "Automatically fired boiler" means a boiler that 
cycles in response to a control system and that 
does not require a constant attendant for the 
purpose of introducing fuel into the combustion 
chamber or to control electrical input. 
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Electricity shall be considered a fuel for 
electrically fired boilers. 

(6) "Authorized Inspection Agency" means an 
organization employing commissioned 
inspectors, including the following: 
(a) the Bureau, as defined in Item (11) of 

this Rule. 
(b) an inspection agency of an insurance 

company licensed to write boiler and 
pressure vessel insurance; or 

(c) an owner-user inspection organization 
that is accredited by the National 
Board. 

(7) "Authorized inspector" means an employee of 
an Authorized Inspection Agency who is 
commissioned by the National Board and this 
State, holds an endorsement on his or her 
National Board Commission appropriate for the 
work to be performed, and inspects as the third 
party inspector in ASME Code manufacturing 
facilities. 

(8) "Boiler," as defined in G.S. 95-69.9(b), 
includes the following types of boilers: 
(a) "Exhibition boiler" means a historical 

or antique boiler that generates steam 
or hot water for the purposes of 
entertaining or educating the public or 
is used for demonstrations, tourist 
transportation, or exhibitions. This 
term includes boilers used in steam 
tractors, threshers, steam powered 
sawmills, and similar uses; 

(b) "High pressure boiler" means a boiler 
in which steam or other vapor is 
generated at a pressure of more than 
15 psig or water is heated to a 
temperature greater than 250°F and a 
pressure greater than 160 psig for use 
external to itself. High pressure boilers 
include the following: 
(i) Electric boilers; 
(ii) Miniature boilers; 
(iii) High temperature water 

boilers; and 
(iv) High temperature liquid 

boilers (other than water); 
(c) "Low pressure boiler" means a boiler 

in which steam or other vapor is 
generated at a pressure of not more 
than 15 psig or water is heated to a 
temperature not greater than 250°F 
and a pressure not greater than 160 
psig, including the following: 
(i) "Hot water heating boiler" 

means a low pressure boiler 
that supplies heated water 
that is returned to the boiler 
from a piping system and is 
used normally for building 

heat applications (hydronic 
boiler); 

(ii) "Hot water supply boiler" 
means a low pressure boiler 
that furnishes hot water to be 
used externally to itself; and 

(iii) "Steam heating boiler" 
means a low pressure boiler 
that generates steam to be 
used normally for building 
heat applications; 

(d) "Model hobby boiler" means a boiler 
that generates steam, whether 
stationary or mobile, and is used for 
the purpose of entertainment or 
exhibiting steam technology, where 
the boiler does not exceed: 
(i) 20 square feet of heating 

surface; 
(ii) a shell diameter of 16 inches; 
(iii) a volume of 5 cubic feet; and 
(iv) a pressure of 150 psig; 

(e) "Water heater" means a closed vessel 
in which water is heated by the 
combustion of fuel, by electricity, or 
by any other source and withdrawn for 
potable use external to the system at 
pressures not exceeding 160 psig and 
temperatures not exceeding 210°F. 

(9) "Boiler blowoff" means the system associated 
with the rapid draining of boiler water to 
remove concentrated solids that have 
accumulated as a result of steam generation. 
This term also applies to the blowoff for other 
boiler appurtenances, such as the low-water 
fuel cutoff. 

(10) "Boiler proper" or "pressure vessel" means the 
internal mechanism, shell, and heads of a boiler 
or pressure vessel terminating at: 
(a) the first circumferential joint for 

welded end connections; 
(b) the face of the first flange in bolted 

flange connections; or 
(c) the first threaded joint in threaded 

connections. 
(11) "Bureau" means the Boiler Safety Bureau of the 

North Carolina Department of Labor. 
(12) "Certificate inspection" means an inspection, 

the report of which is used by the Chief 
Inspector as justification for issuing, 
withholding, or revoking the inspection 
certificate. The term "certificate inspection" 
also applies to the external inspection 
conducted in accordance with this Chapter 
whether or not a certificate is intended to be 
issued as a result of the inspection. 

(13) "Condemned boiler or pressure vessel" means a 
boiler or pressure vessel: 
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(a) that has been found not to comply with 
G.S. Chapter 95, Article 7A, or this 
Chapter; 

(b) that constitutes a menace to public 
safety; and 

(c) that cannot be repaired or altered so as 
to comply with G.S. Chapter 95, 
Article 7A, and this Chapter. 

(14) "Coil type watertube boiler" means a boiler 
having no steam space, such as a steam drum, 
whereby the heat transfer portion of the water-
containing space consists only of a coil of pipe 
or tubing. 

(15) "Commissioned inspector" means an employee 
of an Authorized Inspection Agency who is 
commissioned by the National Board and this 
State, holds an endorsement on his or her 
National Board Commission appropriate for the 
work to be performed, and who is charged with 
conducting in-service inspections of pressure 
equipment and inspecting repairs or alterations 
to that equipment. 

(16) "Defect" means any deterioration to the 
pressure equipment affecting the integrity of the 
pressure boundary or its supports. Defects may 
be cracks, corrosion, erosion, bags, bulges, 
blisters, leaks, broken parts integral to the 
pressure boundary such as stays, or other flaws 
identified by NDE or visual inspection. 

(17) "Deficiency" means any violation of the 
Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act, rules 
of this Chapter, or identified defects. 

(18) "Design criteria" means design and 
construction code requirements relating to the 
mode of design and construction of a boiler or 
pressure vessel. 

(19) "Equipment" means any boiler or pressure 
vessel subject to inspection by the Bureau, 
when the term applies as used. 

(19)(20) "External inspection" means an inspection of 
the external surfaces and appurtenances of a 
boiler or pressure vessel. An external inspection 
may entail "shutting down" a boiler or pressure 
vessel while it is in operation, including 
inspection of internal surfaces, if the inspector 
determines this action is warranted. 

(20)(21) "Hydropneumatic storage tank" means a 
pressure vessel used for storage of water at 
ambient temperature not to exceed 120°F and 
where a cushion of air is contained within the 
vessel. 

(21)(22) "Imminent danger" means any condition or 
practice in any location that a boiler or pressure 
vessel is being operated such that a danger 
exists that could be expected to cause death or 
serious physical harm if the condition is not 
abated. 

(22)(23) "Insurance inspector" means the special 
inspector employed by an insurance company, 

and holding a valid North Carolina 
Commission and National Board Commission. 

(23)(24) "Internal inspection" means as complete an 
examination as can be made of the internal and 
external surfaces and appurtenances of a boiler 
or pressure vessel while it is shut down. 

(24)(25) "Maximum allowable working pressure" or 
"MAWP" means the maximum gauge pressure 
as determined by employing the stress values, 
design rules, and dimensions designated by the 
accepted design and construction code or as 
determined by the Chief Inspector in 
accordance with this Chapter. 

(25)(26) "Menace to public safety" means a boiler or 
pressure vessel that cannot be operated without 
a risk of injury to persons and property. 

(26)(27) "Miniature boiler" means a boiler that does not 
exceed any of the following: 
(a) 16 inch inside shell diameter; 
(b) 20 square feet of heating surface (does 

not apply to electrically fired boilers); 
(c) 5 cubic feet volume; and 
(d) 100 psig maximum allowable working 

pressure. 
(27)(28) "National Board Commission" means the 

commission issued by the National Board to 
those individuals who have passed the National 
Board commissioning examination and have 
fulfilled the requirements of the National Board 
Rules for Commissioned Inspectors. 

(28)(29) "National Board Inspection Code" or "NBIC" 
means the ANSI/NB-23 standard published by 
the National Board, as incorporated by 
reference under Rule .0103 of this chapter. 

(29)(30) "Nondestructive examination" or "NDE" means 
examination methods used to verify the 
integrity of materials and welds in a component 
without damaging its structure or altering its 
mechanical properties. NDE may involve 
surface, subsurface, and volumetric 
examination. Visual inspection, x-rays, and 
ultrasound are examples of NDE. 

(30)(31) "Nonstandard boiler or pressure vessels" 
means: 
(a) high pressure boilers contracted for or 

installed before December 7, 1935; 
(b) heating boilers contracted for or 

installed before January 1, 1951; 
(c) pressure vessels contracted for or 

installed before January 1, 1976; 
(d) hydropneumatic storage tanks 

contracted for or installed before 
January 1, 1986; and 

(e) boilers or pressure vessels to which the 
ASME Code is not intended to apply, 
other than those boilers and pressure 
vessels to which the term North 
Carolina Special applies. 
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(31)(32) "Normal working hours" means between the 
hours of 6:00 AM and 6:00 PM, Monday 
through Friday, except for State recognized 
holidays established in 25 NCAC 01E .0901. 

(32)(33) "North Carolina Commission" means the 
commission issued by the Commissioner to 
those individuals who have passed the 
examination administered by the Chief 
Inspector relating to the Uniform Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Act and the rules of this 
Chapter, and who also hold a National Board 
Commission, authorizing them to conduct 
inspections in this State. 

(33)(34) "North Carolina Special" means a boiler or 
pressure vessel that is not constructed in 
compliance with the Accepted Design and 
Construction Code as defined in Item (1) of this 
Rule and for which the owner or operator shall 
apply for a special inspection certificate with 
the Chief Inspector. 

(34)(35) "NPS" means nominal pipe size. 
(35)(36) "Nuclear component" means the items in a 

nuclear power plant such as pressure vessels, 
piping systems, pumps, valves, and component 
supports. 

(36)(37) "Nuclear system" means a system comprised of 
nuclear components that serve the purpose of 
producing and controlling an output of thermal 
energy from nuclear fuel and includes those 
associated systems essential to the function and 
overall safety of the power system. 

(37)(38) "Operating pressure" means the pressure at 
which a boiler or pressure vessel operates. It 
shall not exceed the MAWP except as shown in 
Section I of the ASME Code for forced-flow 
steam generators. 

(38)(39) "Owner or user" means any person or legal 
entity responsible for the operation of any 
boiler or pressure vessel installed in this State. 
This term also applies to a contractor, installer, 
or agent of the owner or user. 

(39)(40) "Owner-user inspector" means an individual 
who holds a valid North Carolina Commission 
and National Board Commission and is 
employed by a company operating pressure 
vessels for its own use and not for resale and 
maintaining an inspection program that meets 
the requirements of the National Board for 
periodic inspection of pressure vessels owned 
or used by that company. 

(40)(41) "Pressure piping" means piping, including 
welded piping, external to high pressure boilers 
from the boiler proper to the required valve(s). 

(41)(42) "Pressure relief devices" mean the devices on 
boilers and pressure vessels set to open and 
relieve the pressure in the event of an over-
pressurization event, and include the following: 
(a) "Non-reclosing pressure relief device" 

means a pressure relief device 

designed to remain open after 
operation; and 

(b) "Pressure relief valve" means a 
pressure relief device that is designed 
to reclose and prevent the further flow 
of fluid after normal conditions have 
been restored. These devices include: 
(i) "Relief valve" means an 

automatic pressure relief 
valve that is actuated by 
static pressure upstream of 
the valve that opens further 
with the increase in pressure 
over the opening pressure; 

(ii) "Safety relief valve" means 
an automatic pressure relief 
valve that is actuated by 
static pressure upstream of 
the valve and characterized 
by full opening pop action or 
by opening in proportion to 
the increase in pressure over 
the opening pressure; and 

(iii) "Safety valve" means an 
automatic pressure relief 
valve that is actuated by 
static pressure upstream of 
the valve and characterized 
by full opening pop action. 

(42)(43) "PSIG" means pounds per square inch gauge. 
(43)(44) "Reinspection or Follow-Up Inspection" means 

an examination necessary to verify that any 
repair or corrective action required as a result of 
a certificate inspection is completed. 

(44)(45) "Service vehicle" means a vehicle mounted 
with an air storage tank that services vehicles 
and equipment in the field away from the 
owner's shop. 

(45)(46) "Shop inspection" means an inspection 
conducted by an Authorized Inspector or a 
Commissioned Inspector pursuant to an 
inspection service agreement whereby the 
fabrication process or the repair or alteration of 
a boiler or pressure vessel is observed to ensure 
compliance with the ASME Code and the 
NBIC, including nuclear shop inspection where 
fabrication or material supply is done by the 
holder of an ASME "N" type certificate. NBIC. 

(46)(47) "Special inspection" means any inspection 
conducted by a Deputy Inspector other than a 
regularly scheduled inspection, including the 
performance of an inspection by a Deputy 
Inspector that requires that the inspector make 
a special trip to meet the needs of the individual 
or organization requesting the inspection, 
conducting certificate inspections during hours 
other than normal working hours, and 
inspection of field repairs and alterations. A 
special inspection may be considered any 
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inspection or activity not otherwise described in 
these Rules. 

(47)(48) "Special inspector" means a National Board 
commissioned inspector employed by an 
insurance company authorized to write boiler 
and pressure vessel insurance in the State of 
North Carolina. 

(48)(49) "Violation" means the failure to comply with 
the requirements of the Uniform Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Act or this Chapter. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0103 INCORPORATED - STANDARDS 
(a)  The following standards are incorporated by reference, 
including subsequent amendments and editions of the standards: 

(1) The ANSI/NB-23 National Board Inspection 
Code (NBIC) Parts 2 and 3. 2, 3 and 4. Copies 
of the ANSI/NB-23 National Board Inspection 
Code Parts 2 and 3 2, 3 and 4 are available for 
inspection at the offices of the Bureau and may 
also be obtained from the National Board of 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, via U.S. 
Mail at 1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 
43229 43299, via telephone at (614) 888-8320, 
or via the internet at www.nationalboard.org. 
The cost costs, which does not include shipping 
and handling, is are as follows: one hundred and 
fifty dollars ($150.00) per NBIC hard copy 
edition (complete set); sixty-five dollars 
($65.00) for one part only; and one hundred and 
thirty dollars ($130.00) for two parts only, plus 
shipping and handling. 
(A) Complete Set (printed or PDF), Parts 

1-4: $325.00; 
(B) Individual (printed), Part 2: $150.00; 
(C) Individual (printed), Part 3: $150.00; 
(D) Individual (printed), Part 4: $115.00; 

or 
(E) Bundled Set (printed and PDF), Parts 

1-4: $435.00. 
(2) The American Society of Mechanical 

Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Code. Copies of the complete set of the ASME 
Code are available for inspection at the offices 
of the Bureau and may also be obtained from 
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 
via U.S. Mail at 150 Clove Road, 6th Floor, 
Little Falls, New Jersey 07424-2139, P.O. Box 
2300, Fairfield, New Jersey 07007-2300, via 
telephone at (800) 843-2763, via facsimile at 
(973) 882-1717 or (800) 843-2763, (973) 882-
1170, via email at CustomerCare@asme.org 
infocentral@asme.org, or via the internet at 
www.asme.org. The cost is fourteen thousand 
five hundred dollars ($14,500) seventeen 
thousand nine hundred and forty-five dollars 
($17,945) for the complete 2021 edition of the 
code. 

(3) The North Carolina State Building Code. 
Copies of the North Carolina State Building 
Code are available for inspection at the offices 
of the Bureau and may also be obtained either 
from the North Carolina Department of 
Insurance, Office of the State Fire Marshall 
Marshal, Engineering Division, Codebook 
Section, via walk-in at 322 Chapanoke Road, 
Suite 200, Raleigh, North Carolina 27603, or 
from the International Code Council via 
telephone at (800) 786-4452 or via the internet 
at 
www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/Engineering/CodeSer
vices/engineering_codeservices_sales.asp. The 
cost is one hundred sixteen dollars ($116.00) 
per copy Engineering & Codes, 325 North 
Salisbury Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 
27603. Information regarding cost of the 
publications may be obtained at the same 
address. Costs are based upon the cost to the 
N.C. Department of Insurance for publication, 
distribution, and annual revisions. The codes 
may be ordered via the internet at 
https://www.ncosfm.gov/codes. 

(b)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict 
between these Rules and the standards cited in Subparagraphs 
(a)(1) and (2) of this Rule exists. In the event that a conflict 
between these Rules and the North Carolina State Building Code 
exists, the more stringent standard prevails and shall be adhered 
to. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 

SECTION .0200 - ADMINISTRATION 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0201 NAME: ADDRESS 
(a)  The Boiler Safety Bureau, which administers the provisions 
of Article 7A of G.S. Chapter 95, is located in Raleigh at the 
following physical address: 

N.C. Department of Labor 
Boiler Safety Bureau 

Old Revenue Building 
111 Hillsborough Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27603. 
(b)  All correspondence shall be addressed to the following 
mailing address: 

North Carolina Department of Labor 
Boiler Safety Bureau 

1101 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1101 

Telephone (919) 707-7918 
Fax (919) 807-2762. 707-7960. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.12. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0202 INSPECTOR QUALIFICATION 
(a)  Deputy Inspectors conducting certificate inspections shall be 
in possession of a valid North Carolina Commission. Special 
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Inspectors and Owner-User Inspectors shall be in possession of a 
National Board Commission and a North Carolina Commission. 
(b)  A North Carolina Commission shall be issued to an inspector 
who: 

(1) has attained a passing grade of 70 percent or 
higher on an examination administered by the 
Chief Inspector relating to the Uniform Boiler 
and Pressure Vessel Act and the rules of this 
Chapter; and 

(2) meets all other criteria as set forth in the 
Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act and 
this Chapter. 

(c)  If a North Carolina Commissioned inspector does not conduct 
at least one certificate inspection in North Carolina per calendar 
year, the inspector must retake and pass this examination before 
becoming commissioned again in this state. A certificate 
inspection shall be an inspection as described in Rule .0211 of 
these Rules. 
(d)  National Board examinations are administered by the 
National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. 
Inspectors through Applied Measurement Professionals ("AMP"). 
Information on the examinations may be found on the National 
Board web site at www.nationalboard.org or by telephone at (614) 
888-8320. 
(e)  The National Board Inservice Inspector examination covers 
the installation, operation, maintenance and repair and inspection 
of boilers and pressure vessels and their appurtenances. A grade 
of 70 percent or higher must be attained to achieve a passing grade 
on the examination. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.15. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA 
COMMISSION 
(a)  When requested by the employer and upon presentation of a 
completed Application for Commission as an Inspector of Boilers 
and Pressure Vessels, a North Carolina Commission, bearing the 
signature of either the Commissioner, Commissioner or Chief 
Inspector, shall be issued by the Commissioner Chief Inspector to 
persons holding a valid National Board Commission who have 
taken and passed the examination specified in 13 NCAC 13 
.0202(b). 
(b)  Applications for a North Carolina Commission shall be 
processed upon proof of a National Board Commission and 
payment of a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) fee to the Department of 
Labor. 
(c)  North Carolina Commissions shall be valid through December 
31 of each year, at which time the inspector's employer shall 
submit a renewal request letter and a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) 
fee to the Department of Labor. 
(d)  The North Carolina Commission shall be returned by the 
employing company with notification of termination date to the 
Bureau within 30 days of termination of employment. 
(e)  A North Carolina Commission may be suspended or revoked 
by the Commissioner in accordance with G.S. 95-69.11(20) if an 
inspector is incompetent or untrustworthy or has falsified any 
statement in an application or inspection report. The 
Commissioner shall give notice of the commencement of 
proceedings for suspension or revocation of a commission 

pursuant to G.S. 150B-23. A North Carolina Commission may be 
suspended prior to the hearing if the Chief Inspector determines 
that the public health, safety, or welfare requires the suspension. 
In this case, the proceedings shall be promptly commenced and 
determined in accordance with G.S. 150B-3. The Commissioner's 
decision regarding the competency of an inspector shall be 
determined after consideration of the knowledge, skill, and care 
possessed and employed by boiler and pressure vessel inspection 
personnel in good standing. Industry custom and practice shall be 
considered but are not determinative. Failure to conduct the 
inspections in accordance with this Chapter shall constitute 
incompetence. The Commissioner shall give the inspector 
opportunity to show that he or she is conducting his or her duties 
in a competent manner and that suspension or revocation is 
unwarranted. If the inspector believes that the decision of the 
Commissioner is not warranted, the inspector may take exception 
to the determination, in which event the inspector may appeal the 
final determination of the action pursuant to G.S. 150B. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.15. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0205 OWNER-USER INSPECTION 
ORGANIZATION 
(a)  A company seeking to conduct inspections of its own pressure 
vessels shall file an application with the Chief Inspector, 
accompanied by the Certificate of Accreditation issued by the 
National Board as an Owner-User Inspection Organization. 
(b)  The company shall, in its application, designate a supervisor 
who shall be an engineer within its employ who, upon approval 
of the application, shall: 

(1) ascertain that the company's inspectors, 
pursuant to Rules .0202 and .0203 of this 
Section, are issued National Board Commission 
cards; 

(2) supervise inspections of pressure vessels and 
ensure that an inspection report, signed by the 
owner-user inspector, is filed at the equipment 
site; 

(3) notify the Chief Inspector of any unsafe 
pressure vessel that presents a condition of 
imminent danger; 

(4) maintain a master file of inspection records that 
shall be available for examination by the Chief 
Inspector or his representative during business 
hours and contain the following: 
(A) identifying each pressure vessel by 

serial number and abbreviated 
description; and 

(B) showing the date of the last and next 
scheduled inspection; and 

(5) on a date agreed upon with the Chief Inspector, 
file an annual statement signed by the 
supervisor showing the number of boilers and 
certifying that each inspection was conducted 
pursuant to this Chapter, accompanied by an 
administrative fee of twenty-five fifty dollars 
($25.00)($50.00) per vessel. 

(c)  Inspection certificates shall not be required for pressure 
vessels inspected under an owner-user program. 
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Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.15; 95-69.16. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0207 INSPECTION REPORTS 
(a)  Inspectors shall file inspection reports with the Chief 
Inspector: 

(1) within 10 working days after the date each 
certificate inspection, inspection is performed; 
and 

(2) immediately for all conditions of imminent 
danger, or any condition that would result in the 
insurance company's refusal to issue or 
continue an insurance policy on the boiler or 
pressure vessel. vessel; and 

(3) shall include the insurance policy identifier 
covering any equipment inspected by a special 
inspector. 

(b)  Inspectors shall notify the Chief Inspector, in person or by 
electronic means, upon becoming aware of an accident which 
renders a boiler or pressure vessel inoperative or causes damage 
to property, personal injury, or death. 
(c)  Should the inspector, during the course of making an 
inspection, find a condition of imminent danger, he shall 
immediately notify the Chief Inspector, in person or by electronic 
means, so that steps might be taken to remove the device from 
service. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0210 SHOP INSPECTIONS AND 
NATIONAL BOARD R STAMP "R" CERTIFICATE 
QUALIFICATION REVIEWS 
(a)  Shop Inspections. 

(1) Manufacturers or repair firms seeking to 
employ the Boiler Safety Bureau to act as their 
Authorized Inspection Agency pursuant to the 
ASME Code or National Board Inspection 
Code, shall enter into a written agreement with 
the North Carolina Department of Labor, Boiler 
Safety Bureau for this purpose. 

(2) An audit of the Deputy Inspector serving as the 
Authorized Inspector pursuant to Subparagraph 
(a)(1) of this Rule, and the contracting company 
in which he or she is working shall be 
conducted on an annual basis basis. for non-
nuclear companies and twice each year for 
nuclear companies. The contracting company 
shall pay the audit fees required in Rule .0213 
of this Section. 

(b)  National Board R Stamp "R" Certificate Qualification 
Reviews 

(1) The Chief Inspector, or the Chief Inspector's 
designee, shall conduct the qualification 
reviews for issuance or renewal of the National 
Board R symbol stamp "R" certificate of 
authorization pursuant to the National Board 
Inspection Code as adopted, except as provided 
in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(2) The Chief Inspector or his designee shall not 
conduct the qualification reviews of those 

companies for which the Boiler Safety Bureau 
provides inspection services, or those 
companies which specifically request the 
review be conducted by the National Board. 

(3) A review to be conducted by the Boiler Safety 
Bureau shall be scheduled upon receipt of 
request by the National Board. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0211 CERTIFICATE INSPECTIONS 
(a)  A commissioned inspector shall inspect all boilers and 
pressure vessels at the time of installation and at regular intervals 
thereafter, as provided in this Rule. 
(b)  Subject to the exceptions in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this 
Rule, and after seven days notice is given to the owner or user, an 
inspector shall conduct an internal inspection of a high pressure 
boiler at the time of installation and annually thereafter. An 
external inspection shall be conducted annually a minimum of 
once every 12 months while the boiler is in operation. The 
inspector shall ensure that the safety controls are operating as 
required. Issuance of the inspection certificate shall be based on 
the results of the internal inspection; however, if the inspector 
determines during the external inspection that an unsafe condition 
exists that is likely to result in serious personal injury or property 
damage, the inspector shall recommend to the Chief Inspector that 
the certificate of operation be revoked pursuant to 13 NCAC 13 
.0301(d). 
(c)  In place of the first internal inspection of a new high pressure 
boiler, an inspector may conduct an external inspection if the 
inspector determines that data sufficient to determine compliance 
with the rules of this Chapter can be gathered from an external 
inspection. This shall not apply to relocated used boilers or those 
for which extended inspection certificates are being requested. 
(d)  Miniature boilers, coil-type watertube boilers, and boilers 
heating a fluid other than water which do not produce steam or 
vapor operating as high pressure boilers shall undergo an external 
inspection annually. Miniature boilers, coil-type watertube boilers 
and boilers heating a fluid other than water operating as heating 
boilers shall undergo an external inspection biennially. Hobby 
boilers, locomotive boilers and exhibition boilers shall be 
inspected annually, at the beginning of the season when they are 
anticipated to be operated. 
(e)  Low pressure boilers and pressure vessels, except 
hydropneumatic storage tanks, shall undergo an external 
inspection biennially. biennially while in operation. 
(f)  Owner-user inspectors shall conduct inspections for pressure 
vessels as prescribed in this Rule. 
(g)  Inspectors may order coverings removed, internal inspections, 
external inspections, removal of internal parts, testing or 
calibration of controls, indicating and safety devices and pressure 
tests whenever conditions warrant further evaluation of the 
pressure equipment. The inspector may also require the boiler to 
be started to verify the operating controls. 
(h)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall undergo an external 
inspection every four years. years while in operation. 
(i)  When the inspector or Chief Inspector determines that a 
certificate cannot be issued as a result of an inspection, the boiler 
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or pressure vessel shall be reinspected after the necessary repairs 
are made. 
(j)  Inspections shall be conducted in accordance with the National 
Board Inspection Code. The inspector may require controls, 
indicating and safety devices to be disassembled, tested, checked 
or calibrated as necessary to ensure their proper operation. 
(k)  The Chief Inspector may extend an existing inspection 
certificate for a high pressure boiler for a period not exceeding 90 
days beyond the certificate expiration date, should an inspection 
at the specified period result in undue hardship for the owner or 
user. The owner or user shall submit a written request to extend 
an existing inspection certificate, providing justification for an 
extension. The request shall include a report from a commissioned 
inspector of an external inspection which shall have been 
conducted no earlier than 60 days before the certificate expiration 
date, and the inspection report shall include a recommendation 
from the inspector for an extension to the inspection certificate. 
(l)  The inspection frequency established by this Rule may be 
modified by the Chief Inspector for individual boilers and 
pressure vessels if the Chief Inspector determines that due to 
unique conditions, the frequency established herein is not 
appropriate, and that the safety attained by the normal inspection 
frequency will be otherwise obtained. Requirements for extended 
certificates for pressure equipment are detailed in Rule .0214 of 
this Chapter. Pressure vessels in "Locked High Radiation" areas 
may be certified for up to five years and may be inspected in 
accordance with Paragraph (m) of this Rule. 
(m)  Pressure retaining items which contain highly hazardous 
chemicals or biological elements that require level B personal 
protective equipment, or are in highly hazardous areas or pressure 
retaining items containing radioactive materials causing the 
pressure equipment to be classified as "Locked High Radiation," 
may be inspected remotely by video provided: 

(1) There is a listing of all the items under this 
criterion at the site. The list shall be kept current 

by the owner/user and any additions or 
deletions shall be kept current. Prior to 
inspection the inspector shall review the last 
inspection certificate, the ASME data report, 
any National Board ("NB") repair/alteration 
forms and any records of testing performed 
during the certificate period; 

(2) Each item shall be inspected by means of live 
video feed that is monitored by the inspector. 
The inspector shall remain in radio contact with 
the individual operating the video equipment; 

(3) The inspector shall be in proximity to the item 
and shall witness the video equipment operator 
enter the location of the item; 

(4) A scan as complete as possible (within the 
limitations of the equipment) of all the pressure 
boundaries shall be witnessed by the inspector; 

(5) The ASME nameplate shall be viewed as well 
as the ASME/NB nameplate on any pressure 
relieving device on the item; 

(6) Follow up inspections to verify the correction 
of deficiencies can be performed with a video 
inspection using the items outlined herein by 
the inspector; 

(7) The inspector shall submit an inspection report 
for each pressure retaining item at intervals 
specified in this Rule and the report shall be 
annotated indicating that the item was inspected 
pursuant to this Paragraph; and 

(8) Any incident that renders the item inoperative 
shall be reported to the Bureau by the 
owner/user or the inspector within 24 hours. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14; 95-69.17. 
 

 
13 NCAC 13 .0213 CERTIFICATE AND INSPECTION FEES 
(a)  An owner shall pay a thirty-five fifty dollar ($35.00)($50.00) certificate and processing fee to the North Carolina Department of 
Labor for each boiler or pressure vessel inspected by an Insurance Inspector and found to be in compliance with the rules in this Chapter. 
(b)  An owner shall pay an inspection and certificate fee to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each boiler or pressure vessel 
inspected by a Deputy Inspector as follows: 
 
Boilers - An inspection of a boiler where the heating surface is: External Inspection Internal 
Inspection 
Less than 500 sq. ft.      $50.00   $85.00 
500 or more sq. ft. but less than 5000 sq. ft.    $120.00   $235.00 
5000 or more sq. ft.      $330.00   $600.00 
Cast iron boilers       $50.00   $80.00 
Locomotive boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $150.00 
Exhibition boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $50.00 
Hobby boilers       N/A   $35.00 $50.00 
Pressure Vessels - An inspection of a pressure vessel, other than a 
heat exchanger, where the product of measurement in feet of the 
diameter or width, multiplied by its length is:   External Inspection Internal 
Inspection 
Less than 20       $40.00   $45.00 
20 or more but less than 50     $50.00   $60.00 
50 or more but less than 70     $85.00   $135.00 
70 or more       $135.00   $190.00 
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Heat Exchangers - An inspection of a heat exchanger, where the 
heating surface is:      External Inspection 
Less than 500 sq. ft.      $45.00 $50.00 
500 or more sq. ft. but less than 1000 sq. ft.    $60.00 
1000 or more sq. ft. but less than 2000 sq. ft.    $90.00 
2000 or more sq. ft. but less than 3000 sq. ft.    $130.00 
3000 or more sq. ft.      $180.00 
 
(c)  In addition to the fees established in Paragraph (b) herein, a 
fee of ninety dollars ($90.00) per hour, including travel time, plus 
each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the standards 
and criteria established thereto by the Director of the Budget, at 
the applicable state rate shall be paid to the North Carolina 
Department of Labor for each special inspection as defined by 13 
NCAC 13 .0101(46) and for all inspections performed outside of 
normal working hours as defined by 13 NCAC 13 .0101(31). 
(d)  A fee of three-hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) per one-half 
day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or five-hundred sixty-
dollars ($560.00) for one day (four to eight hours) plus, in either 
case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the 
standards and criteria established thereto by the Director of the 
Budget, at the applicable state rate shall be paid to the North 
Carolina Department of Labor for each shop inspection as defined 
by 13 NCAC 13 .0101(45). 
(e)  A fee of four hundred dollars ($400.00) per one-half day (four 
hours) or any part of one-half day or six hundred ten dollars 
($610.00) for one day (four to eight hours), plus, in either case, 
each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the standards 
and criteria established thereto by the Director of the Budget, at 
the applicable state rate shall be paid to the North Carolina 
Department of Labor for each nuclear shop inspection as defined 
by 13 NCAC 13 .0101(45). 
(f)(e)  A fee of four hundred fifty dollars ($450.00) per one-half 
day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or six hundred ninety 
dollars ($690.00) for one day (four to eight hours), plus, in either 
case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the 
standards and criteria established thereto by the Director of the 
Budget, at the applicable state rate shall be paid to the North 
Carolina Department of Labor for audits as defined by 13 NCAC 
13 .0101(4). 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0214 EXTENDED PRESSURE 
EQUIPMENT OPERATING CERTIFICATES 
(a)  G.S. 95-69.16 and 13 NCAC 13 .0211(l) of this Chapter 
allows the Commissioner, through the Chief Inspector, to modify 
the inspection frequency for individual pressure equipment if it is 
determined that due to unique conditions, the new frequency will 
provide for the safety attained by the normal inspection frequency. 
Proper maintenance programs, the condition of the pressure 
equipment and a baseline inspection help to determine if the 
equipment is eligible for extended certification. The Chief 
Inspector may allow certificate renewal frequencies of up to three 
years. Companies wishing to have their pressure equipment given 
an extended certification must apply by letter to the Chief 
Inspector requesting extended certification. 
(b)  For a first time extended inspection frequency, the following 
shall apply to both new and existing equipment: 

(1) Base Line Inspections: At the outset of an 
extended inspection frequency, a base line 
inspection must be conducted of all inside and 
outside accessible pressure boundaries. The 
inspected area shall be examined visually by a 
North Carolina Department of Labor, Boiler 
Safety Bureau Inspector Supervisor along with 
a Deputy Inspector for evidence of cracking, 
discoloration, wear, pitting, bulging, blistering, 
excessive corrosion and erosion, arc strikes, 
gouges, dents and other signs of surface 
irregularities. Areas that are suspect shall be 
non-destructively examined by a method 
acceptable to the Inspector Supervisor and 
Deputy Inspector. For areas which are still 
suspect after such examination, a more 
thorough supplemental examination and 
engineering evaluation of the discontinuities 
shall be conducted and discussed with the Chief 
Inspector or designee. At that time, a decision 
shall be rendered on the required repair of the 
discontinuity; 

(2) Inspection Mapping and Records: An 
inspection grid map shall be constructed for 
each pressure component detailing precisely the 
areas found suspect. The grid shall not exceed 
four inch square. Suspect area shall be 
described in relevant details and photographs of 
such areas shall be taken. Records shall be kept 
and made available to the Deputy Inspector 
prior to the next required inspection; 

(3) Base Line Inspection of Boiler Tubes: The 
boiler tubes shall be examined by 
nondestructive examination. Tubes shall be 
examined for wear, corrosion, erosion, 
thinning, bulging, blistering, dents, 
discoloration, cracking and any other surface 
irregularities. Areas which are suspect shall be 
noted and discussed with the Inspector 
Supervisor and Deputy Inspector; and 

(4) Boiler Tube Inspection Mapping and Record: 
Where suspect tubes are identified, the boiler 
tubes shall be numbered in a logical sequence 
and the location of any suspect area shall be 
precisely defined and described in relevant 
details. Photographs of such areas shall be 
taken. Records shall be kept and made available 
to the Inspector Supervisor and Deputy 
Inspector prior to the next required inspection. 

(c)  Scheduling of Inspections for Extended Certificate: 
Approximately two months prior to a scheduled outage in which 
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the boiler may be inspected, and prior to the current certificate 
expiration, the owner shall do the following in order to initiate the 
inspection process: 

(1) Send a letter addressed to the Chief Inspector 
requesting the extended certificate; 

(2) Contact the North Carolina Department of 
Labor, Boiler Safety Bureau at 919-707-7918 
and request to speak with an Inspector 
Supervisor for the purpose of scheduling the 
inspections required for extending the boiler 
inspection certificate expiration for to up to 36 
months (have the North Carolina identification 
number available); and 

(3) Agree with the Inspector Supervisor and 
Deputy Inspector on a date to meet for the 
external inspection of the boiler and to review 
reports. The boiler must be operating when the 
external inspection is done. Heat recovery 
boilers with less than one percent capacity 
factor per year may be excluded from the need 
to operate during the external inspection but a 
letter requesting the exclusion must be sent to 
the Chief Inspector stating the capacity factor 
for the year. 

(d)  External Inspection: The following reports must be available 
to the Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector at the external 
inspection: 

(1) NBIC R1 forms with job folders (for the past 
five years for initial inspections and since the 
previous inspection for renewals); 

(2) A list of major modifications scheduled and 
those modifications done since the last internal 
inspection with the NBIC R2 forms; 

(3) VR forms (for the past five years for initial 
inspections and since the previous inspection 
for renewals); 

(4) Remaining life analysis (RLA) Fitness for 
Service (National Board NB-403 or equivalent) 
reports for headers (for the past five years for 
initial inspections and since the previous 
inspection for renewals); 

(5) Side elevation drawing of the boiler (8 ½ inches 
by 11 inches); 

(6) Steam & Mud drums - Original drum thickness, 
drawings and P4's if available; 

(7) Copy of the last operating certificate and copies 
of the last three years of inspection reports; 

(8) Reports of annual external inspections (by 
owner's insurance company or a Boiler Safety 
Bureau Deputy Inspector; and 

(9) Attention must be paid to the areas determined 
suspect by previous inspections. 

(e)  Internal Inspection: Following are the required inspections 
during the outage; 

(1) Prior to the outage the safety valves must be 
inspected. Schedule the operational test for all 
safety valves after the unit comes back up. 
Upon a successful operational test, the repair 
organization will affix an updated inspection 

tag to the valve. Request the Deputy Inspector 
to return and verify the updated inspection tag. 
In lieu of operational tests, it is acceptable to 
replace safety valves with new valves or valves 
reworked by a National Board "VR" or "NVR" 
authorized company; 

(2) Inspect the pressure equipment internally; and 
(3) Inspect the drums and shells using the 

following methods: 
(A) Examine penetrations into the 

drum/shell wall for cracking: if the 
nozzles are visible from inside the 
drum/shell, then a visual examination 
is satisfactory; otherwise 
ultrasonically examine the nozzles, 
from the outside surface, of at least 20 
percent of the pressure equipment 
nozzles; 

(B) Visually examine inside the heads; 
and 

(C) Crawl through the drum/shell for a 
visual examination if possible. 

(f)  Setting the Certificate Interval: The Deputy Inspector will 
inform the owner whether the inspection records and condition of 
the pressure equipment meet the requirements necessary for 
requesting the Chief Inspector to extend the inspection certificate. 
If the necessary requirements are met, the Deputy Inspector will 
submit his inspection report to the Chief Inspector with the 
recommendation for up to a three-year certificate. 
(g)  Follow-up and Interim Inspections: External inspections of 
high pressure boilers are required six months after the certificate 
renewal, and then annually thereafter. The external inspections 
may be performed by the Boiler Safety Bureau Deputy Inspectors 
or by the owner's insurance inspector. The results of the inspection 
must be submitted to the North Carolina Department of Labor, 
Boiler Safety Bureau on the appropriate inspection form as 
provided by the Chief Inspector. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14; 95-69.16. 
 

SECTION .0300 - ENFORCEMENT OF STANDARDS 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0303 INSPECTIONS REVEALING 
DEFICIENCIES 
(a)  The owner or user shall complete any required repairs or 
corrective action and request an additional inspection within 60 
calendar days of the inspection, except in cases where the boiler 
or pressure vessel is removed from service, in which case the 
owner or user shall send in written confirmation, signed by the 
owner or user, that use of the boiler or pressure vessel has been 
discontinued and that the boiler or pressure vessel has been 
removed from the source of energy. 
(b)  Upon notification by the inspector of a boiler or pressure 
vessel for which continued operation creates a condition of 
imminent danger, the Chief Inspector shall determine if the 
recommendations of the inspector are valid, and if so, the Chief 
Inspector shall notify the owner or user by the most expedient 
means possible, followed by written notification within 15 
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calendar days stating that the use of the boiler or pressure vessel 
shall be discontinued immediately. 
(c)  The owner or user may continue operation of the boiler or 
pressure vessel, including those boilers or pressure vessels that are 
condemned, during the 60 day period, except that this provision 
shall not apply to boilers and pressure vessels after notification by 
the Chief Inspector to the owner or user that a condition of 
imminent danger exists. 
(d)  After completion of any required repairs or corrective action, 
the boiler or pressure vessel shall be reinspected to the extent 
necessary to verify satisfactory completion of the required repairs 
or corrective action. 
(e)  An owner shall pay a fee of forty fifty dollars 
($40.00)($50.00) to the North Carolina Department of Labor for 
each reinspection or follow-up inspection conducted by Deputy 
Inspectors. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 
 

SECTION .0400 – GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0401 DESIGN AND CONSTRUCTION 
STANDARDS 
(a)  The design, construction, installation, inspection, stamping, 
certification, and operation of all boilers and pressure vessels shall 
conform to the rules in this Chapter and the accepted design and 
construction code. 
(b)  Repairs and alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall 
conform to the requirements of the National Board Inspection 
Code, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 
(c)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict is 
found to exist between the Rules and the accepted design and 
construction code or the National Board Inspection Code. 
(d)  Welded repairs and alterations shall be made only by an 
individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate of 
authorization for use of the National Board "R" symbol stamp, 
except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. Repairs and 
alterations shall be reported on National Board "R1" and "R2" 
reports respectively, as required by the NBIC. These reports are 
available through the National Board of Boiler and Pressure 
Vessel Inspectors. The reports, along with supplements used, shall 
be submitted to the Chief Inspector within 60 days of the 
completion of the work conducted. Repair and alteration reports 
shall be annotated with the appropriate NC identification number 
for the pressure equipment repaired. 
(e)  In such cases where removal of a defect in a pressure-retaining 
item is not practical at the time of discovery, with approval of the 
Chief Inspector, the repair shall be conducted in compliance with 
the NBIC, Part 3 Repairs and Alterations, Repair of Pressure-
Retaining Items Without Complete Removal of Defects. The 
Chief Inspector may be contacted in writing at 1101 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1101 or via telephone at (919) 707-
7918. 
(f)  Repairs of safety valves or safety relief valves shall be made 
by an individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate 
of authorization for use of the National Board "VR" symbol 
stamp. 
(g)  Welded repairs and alterations to exhibition (historical) 
boilers of riveted or welded construction may be conducted by a 

welder who has been qualified in accordance with the ASME 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section IX, Welding and 
Brazing Qualifications. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0402 NORTH CAROLINA STAMPING 
AND REGISTRATION 
(a)  Boilers and pressure vessels shall be registered with the 
National Board and shall bear the National Board stamping as 
follows: 

(1) high pressure boilers installed after November 
2, 1946; 

(2) heating boilers (except cast iron or cast 
aluminum boilers) in stalled after January 1, 
1976; 

(3) pressure vessels installed after January 1, 1979; 
and 

(4) hydropneumatic storage tanks installed after 
January 1, 1986. 

(b)  Boilers and pressure vessels may be exempted from the 
requirement for National Board registration provided the owner 
or user submits a letter requesting a variance to the Chief 
Inspector giving reason for the request. The requestor shall 
enclose with the letter a copy of the original manufacturer's data 
report. The documentation shall be reviewed by the Chief 
Inspector to determine if the information is complete and 
traceable to the boiler or pressure vessel. The owner or user shall 
be advised of the Chief Inspector's decision within 30 working 
days with regard to the approval or disapproval of the request. 
(c)  Electric boilers shall be listed with a qualified testing 
laboratory recognized by the Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration as a nationally recognized testing laboratory 
(NRTL) pursuant to 29 CFR 1910.7. 
(d)  The owner or user shall, upon request of the inspector, provide 
a manufacturer's data report for the boiler or pressure vessel. 
(e)  When a new boiler or pressure vessel is installed, or when an 
existing installation receives its first certificate inspection, a 
Deputy Inspector shall conduct the first inspection and apply a 
metal tag embossed or stamped with the North Carolina 
identification number (e.g., NC000) to the boiler or pressure 
vessel on or adjacent to the manufacturer's nameplate or stamping. 
If the boiler or pressure vessel is constructed of materials having 
adequate thickness to allow stamping, the identification number 
may be stamped onto the boiler or pressure vessel. 
(f)  The owner or user shall keep all required stamping exposed at 
all times unless a clearly marked removable cover is installed so 
that it may be readily accessible at any time. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0405 PRESSURE RELIEF DEVICES 
(a)  Boilers and pressure vessels shall be protected from 
overpressurization by a pressure relief device. All pressure relief 
devices installed on any boiler or pressure vessel shall be 
constructed and stamped in accordance with the accepted design 
and construction code. 
(b)  All pressure relief devices shall be stamped and capacity 
certified by the manufacturer indicating compliance with the 
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National Board. The stamping shall include the set pressure (that 
pressure at which the valve is set to open) and the relieving 
capacity (the rate of flow). 
(c)  High pressure boilers with over 500 square feet of heating 
surface and electrically fired boilers having an input in excess of 
1100 kW shall be provided with a minimum of two safety valves. 
For high pressure boilers with a combined bare tube and extended 
water-heating surface area exceeding 500 square feet, one safety 
valve is required if the design steam generating capacity of the 
boiler is less than 4,000 pounds of steam per hour. 
(d)  Safety valves and safety relief valves for heating boilers shall 
have a seat diameter of not less than ½ inch, and not more than 4 
½ inches. 
(e)  Pressure relief devices shall have a set pressure and relieving 
capacity in accordance with the accepted design and construction 
code requirements for the type equipment on which the pressure 
relief device is installed. At least one pressure relief device shall 
have the set pressure set at not greater than the maximum 
allowable working pressure of the boiler or pressure vessel. The 
relieving capacity shall not be less than the minimum required 
relieving capacity indicated on the manufacturer's name plate or 
stamping, or as otherwise required by the accepted design and 
construction code. Safety relief valves installed on water heaters 
shall be of the combination temperature and pressure relieving 
type. type, or as permitted by the accepted design and construction 
code for modular water heaters. 
(f)  All safety valves installed on high pressure boilers shall be 
installed on top of the boiler, or in the case of watertube boilers 
on top of the upper drum, with the spindle in the vertical position. 
All safety valves and safety relief valves installed on heating 
boilers shall be on top of the boiler or on an opening at the highest 
practicable part of the side of the boiler, but in no case shall the 
safety valve be installed below the normal operating level for a 
steam boiler. Safety valves and safety relief valves installed on 
hot water heating boilers, hot water supply boilers, and steam 
heating boilers shall be installed with the spindles mounted in the 
vertical position. Safety relief valves for water heaters may be 
installed with the spindles mounted in either the vertical or 
horizontal position. In no case may pressure relief devices be 
mounted on appurtenances. appurtenances, unless permitted by 
the accepted design and construction code for modular heaters. 
(g)  The distance between the pressure relief device outlet nozzle 
on the boiler and the pressure relief device inlet shall be kept to a 
minimum consistent with the size of the pressure relief device and 
the pipe sizes required. In no case shall any valves or stops be 
installed in the inlet piping to the pressure relief device or in the 
discharge piping from the pressure relief device. The boiler outlet 
and the piping between the boiler outlet and the pressure relief 
device shall have a cross sectional area of not less than the cross 
sectional area of the pressure relief device inlet. 
(h)  Discharge piping from the pressure relief device outlet shall 
be the same size, or larger, than the outlet pipe connection on the 
pressure relief device and shall be extended full size to a safe 
location. A safe location shall be interpreted to mean a location 
within six inches of the finished floor of the mechanical room, to 
a location outside the building terminating a safe distance above 
the building roof or to a location outside the building within six 
inches above the finished grade. For vessels such as organic fluid 
heaters where the medium presents a hazard, the discharge shall 

be to a containment vessel large enough to hold all anticipated 
pressure relief discharges. When pressure relief device discharge 
piping is routed vertically, piped drainage shall be provided by the 
use of drip pan elbows installed on the outlet of each pressure 
relief device served. 
(i)  Multiple pressure relief devices may be piped to the point of 
discharge using a common discharge header pipe. The header pipe 
size shall have a diameter sufficient to provide an equivalent 
cross-sectional area equal to or larger than the sum of the cross-
sectional areas of the pressure relief device outlets to which it is 
connected. 
(j)  Pressure relief devices on pressure vessels may be installed 
with the spindle in the vertical or horizontal position. The pressure 
relief device inlet, discharge piping, and the requirement for 
piping the discharge to a safe location shall be the same as noted 
for boilers. The requirement for discharge piping is optional for 
pressure vessels used to store compressed air, inert gasses, water, 
or other fluids no more hazardous than water. 
(k)  Pressure relief devices for direct fired pressure vessels and for 
those used as air compressor storage tanks shall be installed 
directly on the pressure vessel with no intervening valves. 
Pressure relief devices for all other pressure vessels may be 
installed directly on the pressure vessel or in the piping system, 
except as modified in this Rule. A stop valve may be installed 
between a pressure vessel and the pressure relief device if one of 
the following is satisfied: 

(1) the stop valve is normally locked in the open 
position, and may only be closed when there is 
a full time attendant stationed at the stop valve 
when it is in the closed position for testing 
purposes; or 

(2) isolating the pressure relief device from the 
pressure vessel by closing the stop valve also 
isolates the pressure vessel from the source of 
pressure. 

(l)  A stop valve may be installed between a pressure vessel and 
the pressure relief device if one of the following is satisfied: 

(1) the stop valve is normally locked in the open 
position, and may only be closed when there is 
a full time attendant stationed at the stop valve 
when it is in the closed position for testing 
purposes; or 

(2) isolating the pressure relief device from the 
pressure vessel by closing the stop valve also 
isolates the pressure vessel from the source of 
pressure. 

(l)(m)  Pressure relief devices shall be sealed to prevent the valve 
from being taken apart without breaking the seal. Pressure relief 
devices for boilers and pressure vessels containing air, water, or 
steam, shall be provided with a test lever, pull test ring or other 
mechanism which may be used to test the operation of the valve. 
Pressure relief devices which are required to be provided with a 
testing mechanism shall be readily accessible for testing from the 
work platform or other means, such as a pull chain, shall be 
provided so that the pressure relief device can be tested from the 
work platform. 
(m)(n)  When a hot water supply boiler or storage vessel is heated 
indirectly by steam or hot water in a coil or pipe, the pressure 
relief device capacity shall be determined by the heating surface 
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available for heat transfer, and the pressure relief device shall not 
be less than 1 inch diameter. 
(n)(o)  A person shall not: 

(1) attempt to remove, tamper, alter or conduct any 
work on any pressure relief device while the 
boiler or pressure vessel is in operation, except 
as permitted by the accepted design and 
construction code or the National Board 
Inspection Code; 

(2) load a pressure relief device in any manner to 
maintain a working pressure in excess of the 
maximum allowable working pressure as stated 
on the inspection certificate; 

(3) operate any boiler or pressure vessel without 
the safety appliances as described in this 
Chapter, the accepted design and construction 
code,and code, and the National Board 
Inspection Code; 

(4) use a pressure relief device required by this 
Chapter as an operating pressure control; or 

(5) remove the seal and attempt to adjust or 
otherwise work on a pressure relief device 
unless the person/company removing the seal is 
a authorized holder of a National Board "VR" 
stamp. 

(o)(p)  If an owner or user can demonstrate that a pressure vessel 
is operating in a system of such design that the maximum 

allowable working pressure cannot be exceeded, the Chief 
Inspector shall waive the requirement for installation of a pressure 
relief device if the pressure vessel meets the safety requirements 
greater than or equal to the level of protection afforded by this 
Chapter and the accepted design and construction code, and does 
not pose a danger to persons or property. 
(p)(q)  Pressure relief device piping shall be supported so that the 
piping is supported with no additional force being applied to the 
pressure relief device. 
(q)(r)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall be provided with a 
relief valve of not less than ¾ inch NPS and rated in standard 
cubic feet per minute (SCFM). The relief valve shall be installed 
on top of the tank. This rule applies to any equipment installed 
after January 1, 2009. Preexisting installed equipment shall meet 
the criteria effective on January 1, 1995 and does not require a 
change-out of the existing relief valve unless the current relief 
valve becomes defective. 
(r)(s)  Dead weight safety valves are prohibited from use on any 
boiler or pressure vessel regulated by this Chapter. 
(s)(t)  When the minimum safety valve relieving capacity is not 
found on the data plate, the following guide may be used to 
determine the required safety valve capacity for steam boilers. 
The factor noted in the table shall be multiplied by the heating 
surface of the boiler to determine required safety valve relieving 
capacity. Additional requirements found in NBIC Part 4, Section 
2 for calculating heating surface shall be utilized. 

 
Table-0405 Guide for Estimating Steaming Capacity Based on Heating Surface 
 
 Firetube 

Boilers 
Watertube 
Boilers 

Boiler heating surface: 
 Hand-fired 5 6 
 Stoker-fired 7 8 
 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel 8 10 
Waterwall heating surface: 
 Hand-fired 8 8 
 Stoker-fired 10 12 
 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel 14 16 
Copper-finned watertube 
 Hand-fired N/A 4 
 Stoker-fired N/A 5 
 Oil, gas, or pulverized fuel-fired N/A 6 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0406 HIGH PRESSURE OR 
TEMPERATURE LIMIT CONTROL 
(a)  Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of commonly 
connected steam boilers shall have at least one steam pressure 
control that will shut off the fuel supply to each boiler or system 
of commonly connected boilers when the pressure reaches a 
preset maximum operating pressure. In addition to the required 
operating pressure control, each individual automatically fired 
steam boiler shall have a high steam pressure limit control that 
will shut off the fuel supply to the boiler to prevent pressure in 
excess of the maximum allowable working pressure. The high 

limit control shall be equipped with a manual reset which shall 
prevent the boiler from being fired after the maximum pressure 
has been reached until the operator resets the switch manually. 
Steam boilers shall be provided with a syphon(s) or equivalent 
which will provide a water seal and protect the pressure control(s) 
from being damaged by the steam. 
(b)  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler, hot water 
supply boiler, water heater or each system of commonly 
connected hot water heating or supply boilers shall have at least 
one temperature-actuated control to shut off the fuel supply when 
the system water reaches a preset operating temperature. In 
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addition to the required temperature control, each individual 
automatically fired hot water heating boiler, hot water supply 
boiler, and water heater shall have a high temperature limit control 
that will prevent the water temperature from exceeding the 
maximum allowable temperature for the respective equipment. 
The high limit control for the hot water heating boilers and hot 
water supply boilers that are either stamped with the ASME "H" 
symbol designator or are not constructed in accordance with the 
ASME Codes shall be equipped with a manual reset which shall 
prevent the boiler from being fired after the maximum 
temperature has been reached until the operator resets the switch 
manually. A manual reset is not required for boilers that bear the 
AMSE "HLW" designator or for unfired pressure vessels. 
(c)  Automatic resets or remote resets by electronic means are 
prohibited. The manual reset may be incorporated in the high limit 
control. Where the reset device is separate from the high limit 
control, a means shall be provided to indicate actuation of the high 
limit control. Each high limit and operating control shall have its 
own sensing element and operating switch. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0409 AUTOMATIC LOW-WATER 
FUEL CUTOFF CONTROLS AND WATER-FEEDING 
DEVICES 
(a)  Each automatically fired steam or vapor boiler, except 
miniature boilers, shall meet the following criteria: 

(1) Have at least two automatic low-water fuel 
cutoff devices; 

(2) One of the low-water fuel cutoff devices may 
also be used to regulate the normal water level; 

(3) Each cutoff device shall be installed to prevent 
startup and to shut down the boiler fuel or 
energy supply automatically when the surface 
of the water falls to a level not lower than the 
lowest visible part of the gauge glass; 

(4) One control shall be set to function ahead of the 
other. The lower fuel cutoff device shall be 
equipped with a manual reset which shall 
prevent the boiler from being fired after the low 
water limit has been reached until the operator 
resets the switch manually; and 

(5) The low-water fuel cutoffs shall be attached 
directly to the boiler or to the water column 
with no stops or valves. For float type low-
water fuel cutoffs installed external to the 
boiler, each device shall be installed in 
individual chambers which shall be attached to 
the boiler by separate pipe connections below 
the waterline. If the low-water fuel cutoff is 
connected to the boiler by pipe and fittings, no 
shut off valves of any type shall be placed in 
such pipe. A cross or equivalent fitting shall be 
placed at every right angle turn to facilitate 
cleaning. Piping from the boiler shall be not less 
than 1 inch NPS. Low-water fuel cutoff designs 
embodying a float and float bowl shall have a 
vertical straightaway valved drain pipe of not 
less than ¾ inch NPS at the lowest point in the 

water-equalizing pipe connections by which the 
bowl and the equalizing pipe can be flushed and 
the device tested. 

(b)  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with heat 
input greater than 400,000 Btu/hr (117 kW) shall meet the 
following criteria: 

(1) Be protected by a low-water fuel cutoff 
intended for hot water service; 

(2) The fuel cutoff device shall be installed to 
prevent startup and to shut down the boiler fuel 
or energy supply automatically when the 
surface of the water falls to a level not lower 
than the lowest safe permissible water level 
established by the boiler manufacturer; 

(3) The fuel cutoff device shall be equipped with a 
manual reset which shall prevent the boiler 
from being fired after the lowest water level has 
been reached until the operator resets the switch 
manually; 

(4) The low-water fuel cutoff installed in a hot 
water heating boiler system may be installed 
anywhere in the system above the lowest safe 
permissible water level established by the boiler 
manufacturer so long as there is no isolation 
valve installed between the device and the 
boiler. Connections to the system shall be not 
less than 1 inch NPS; and 

(5) A means shall be provided for testing the 
operation of the low-water fuel cutoff on a hot 
water heating boiler system without resorting to 
draining the entire system. 

(c)  Coil type boilers or watertube boilers requiring forced 
circulation to prevent overheating of the coils or tubes may have 
a flow-sensing device installed at or near the boiler proper, in lieu 
of a low-water fuel cutoff, to automatically cut off the fuel supply 
when the circulation of flow is interrupted. If there is a definitive 
water line, a low-water fuel cutoff complying with the forgoing 
shall be provided in addition to the flow-sensing device. 
(d)  Electric boilers where uncovering of the electrical element 
can lead to an unsafe condition shall be equipped with a low-water 
fuel cutoff device. In the case of electrode type boilers, where the 
reduction in water level provides a self-limiting control on heat 
input, a low-water cutoff control is not required. 
(e)  Automatically fired boilers shall be provided with a system to 
automatically maintain a constant water level so that the water 
level cannot fall below the lowest safe water line. This 
requirement does not apply to hot water heating boilers used in 
closed-loop radiant floor heating systems when installed in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 
(f)  Low water fuel cutoff devices embodying a float and float 
bowl shall be installed so that the boiler feedwater or makeup 
water cannot be introduced through the float chamber. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0420 FIRING MECHANISM 
CONTROLS 
(a)  Automatically fired boilers and pressure vessels shall be 
provided with firing mechanism controls. 
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(b)  Oil, gas-fired, and electrically heated boilers shall be equipped 
with primary (flame safeguard) safety controls, safety limit 
switches, and burners or electric elements that are listed and 
labeled with a testing laboratory recognized by the Occupational 
Safety and Health Administration as a nationally recognized 
testing laboratory (NRTL) pursuant to 29 CFR 1910.7. 
(c)  Automatically fired boilers installed after January 1, 2007, 
shall be provided with a remote emergency fuel shut-off switch 
marked for easy identification. The remote shut-off switch shall 
be located outside each door of the room in which the boiler is 
located. Alternatively, the shut-off switch may be located just 
inside the entrance door(s) where the equipment is located. If 
there is more than one door to the boiler room, there shall be a 
switch located at each door designed for primary emergency 
egress from the boiler room. Boilers that bear the ASME "HLW" 
designator are not required to be provided with a remote 
emergency fuel shut-off switch. 
(d)  For installations which are gas-fired, the burners used shall 
conform to the North Carolina Fuel Gas Code in effect at the time 
of installation. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0422 EXHIBITION BOILERS 
In addition to the requirements outlined in this Chapter for 
manually fired boilers, exhibition Exhibition boilers shall meet 
the following requirements: 

(1) Exhibition boilers that are not built to the 
ASME Code shall not be operated above 125 
psig without specific written approval by the 
Chief Inspector who shall base such approval 
on documentation and calculations submitted 
by the owner. These documents and an 
inspection shall support higher pressure ratings. 

(2) Safety relief valves shall not exceed the 
maximum allowed working pressure and shall 
be ASME/NB certified valves. 

(3) Each boiler shall have as a minimum; 
(a) A properly operating pressure gauge 

which shall be approximately double 
the pressure to which the safety relief 
valve is set but in no case shall it be 
less than 1 1/2 times the set pressure. 

(b) A safety relief valve which shall be 
capable of protecting the boiler from 
over pressurization. 

(c) A water gauge glass 
(4) When fusible plugs are used, they shall be 

replaced every two years with appropriately 
sized plugs of the required material. conform to 
NBIC Part 2 as applicable. 

(5) A hydrostatic test may be required by the 
inspector if, in his opinion, it is necessary to 
prove the integrity of the pressure boundary. 
The hydrostatic test shall not exceed 100% 125 
percent of the maximum allowed working 
pressure of the vessel or the set pressure of the 
safety valve, whichever is greater. 

(6) Upon successful completion of the inspection 
and payment of fees the Chief Inspector shall 
issue a Certificate of Inspection valid for one 
year. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0423 MODEL HOBBY BOILERS 
In addition to the requirements outlined in this Chapter for 
manually fired boilers, model Model hobby boilers shall meet the 
following requirements: 

(1) Each boiler shall have as a minimum: 
(a) A properly operating pressure gauge 

that shall not be less than 1 ½ times nor 
more than four times the operating 
pressure of the boiler; 

(b) Two safety relief valves each of which 
shall be capable of protecting the 
boiler from over pressurization. 
Requirements for ASME/NB 
certification are waived; waived. If an 
ASME/NB safety relief valve is 
utilized, only one safety relief valve is 
required; 

(c) An easily accessible mud-ring valve; 
(d) A water gauge glass; and 
(e) If constructed of copper, a fusible plug 

in the top of the crown sheet. 
(2) Upon successful completion of the inspection 

and payment of the fees, the Chief Inspector 
shall issue a Certificate of Inspection valid for 
one year. 

 
Authority G.S. 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
 

SECTION .0700 - NUCLEAR POWER SYSTEMS 
 
13 NCAC 13 .0701 STANDARDS 
(a)  Nuclear power components and systems covered under the 
scope of Section III of the ASME Code shall be designed, 
constructed, reworked, stamped, and installed in accordance with 
Section III of the ASME Code. Balance of plant items may be 
constructed under other ASME Code sections as appropriate. 
(b)  All nuclear power systems falling under the scope of the 
ASME Code, Section III, are inspected in service under the 
requirements of Section XI of the ASME Code. The equipment is 
not required to be inspected under this Chapter. Balance of plant 
pressure equipment not covered by Section XI are required to be 
registered with a North Carolina identification number and 
inspected in accordance with this Chapter. 
(c)  A vessel composed of two or more pressure retaining 
compartments shall constitute one complete unit for the purpose 
of assigning the North Carolina identification number. 
(d)  The design criteria for nuclear power systems shall be 
certified as to compliance with Section III of the ASME Code by 
a registered professional engineer with at least one year of 
experience in nuclear pressure vessel design. Code. 
 
Authority G.S. 95-69.9; 95-69.11; 95-69.14. 
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TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 
G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission 
intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10D .0209, .0226, 
.0229, .0230, .0239, .0240, .0243, .0260, .0276, amend the rules 
cited as 15A NCAC 10A .1601; 10B .0206; 10C .0205, .0314; 10D 
.0102, .0103; .0106; 10E .0104; 10H .1301, .1302, .1402, readopt 
with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0101, 
.0105, .0119, .0123, .0203, .0205, .0402, .0403 and repeal 
through readoption the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10B .0111. 
 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it 
impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless 
the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are 
available on the OAH website at 
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2022 
 
Date:  January 11, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  New Bern, NC (Courthouse, room 4) 302 Broad St, 
New Bern, NC. 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 13, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Asheboro, NC (Southwest Randolph High School, 
Auditorium) 1641 Hopewell Friends Rd, Asheboro, NC 27205. 
 
Date:  January 18, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Marion, NC (McDowell Technical College, 
Auditorium) 54 College Dr., Marion, NC 28752. The auditorium 
is located in the Cedar Building 
 
Date:  January 20, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Register Online at https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_xHH2QrJXSJig4fEH0-
0qgQ  Webinar ID  160 983 2165 US: +1 669 254 5252 or 833 
568 8864 (Toll Free) 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife 
Resources Commission reviews and adjusts as needed, seasons, 
bag limits, and the management of land, in order to achieve 
conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, 
and respond to constituent requests. 
 
10D .0103 is under legislative review. The temporary version and 
the version under review are both included in the annual cycle 

package. The agency is unsure which version will have to be 
amended at this time. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.org 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

COMMISSION 
 

SECTION .1600 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
COMMISSION FEES 

 
15A NCAC 10A .1601 LICENSE FEES. 
(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall 
be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 
(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and 
inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in 
G.S. 113-270.1C: 

(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and 
Inland Fishing License - $35.00. 

(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 
Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 
License - $11.00. 

(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 
Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing 
License - $11.00. 

(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued 
by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D: 

(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00. 
(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00. 
(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00. 

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp
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(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 
$530.00. 

(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - 
$1,272.00. 

(6) Resident Age 50-69 Lifetime Sportsman 
License - $265.00. 

(6)(7) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - 
$16.00. 

(7)(8) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman 
License - $106.00. 

(8)(9) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman 
License - $106.00. 

(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by 
the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2: 

(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00. 
(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $265.00. 
(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - 

$22.00. 
(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting 

License - $39.00. 
(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 
(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00. 
(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses 
issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3: 

(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00. 
(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00. 
(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00. 
(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License: 

(A) Season License - $100.00. 
(B) Ten-Day License - $80.00. 

(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00. 
(6) Game Land License - $16.00. 
(7) Falconry License - $11.00. 
(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - 

$14.00. 
(9) Resident American Alligator License - 

$250.00. 
(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - 

$500.00. 
(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00. 
(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00. 

(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide 
licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4: 

(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - 
$16.00. 

(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide 
License - $159.00. 

(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by 
the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5: 

(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00. 
(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00. 
(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00. 

(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in 
inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set 
forth in G.S. 113-271: 

(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00. 

(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland 
Fishing License - $265.00. 

(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - 
$45.00. 

(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License: 
(A) Resident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $9.00. 
(B) Nonresident 10-day Inland Fishing 

License - $23.00. 
(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing 

License - $16.00. 
(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 
(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland 

Fishing License - $11.00. 
(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License 

- $106.00. 
(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing 

License - $8.00. 
(i)  The following shall apply to special device licenses issued by 
the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2: 

(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00. 
(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00. 

(j)  The non-refundable fees fee for a collection license issued by 
the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00. 
(k)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to captivity 
licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5: 

(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00. 
(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00. 

(l)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to dealer 
licenses issued by the Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273: 

(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00. 
(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00. 
(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00. 
(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License 

- $100.00. 
(5) Controlled Hunting Preserve Rabbit Operator 

License - $25.00. 
(5)(6) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00. 
(6)(7) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00. 
(7)(8) Taxidermy License - $50.00. 
(8)(9) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00. 
(9)(10) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00. 
(10)(11) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00. 

(m)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to permits 
issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274: 

(1) Possession Permit - $10.00. 
(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00. 
(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00. 
(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00. 
(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00. 

(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the 
Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351: 

(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - $69.00. 

(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - $41.00. 

(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing Licenses: 
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(A) Infant Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $292.00. 

(B) Youth Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $477.00. 

(C) Resident Adult Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $716.00. 

(D) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $1,643.00. 

(E) Resident Age 50-69 Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $358.00. 

(E)(F) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Unified 
Sportsman/Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $32.00. 

(F)(G) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime 
Unified Sportsman/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - 
$117.00. 

(G)(H) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime 
Unified Sportsman/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - 
$117.00. 

(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - $477.00. 

(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing 
Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-
174.2: 

(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 
License - $16.00. 

(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $32.00. 

(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing 
License - $6.00. 

(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $11.00. 

(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 
License - $106.00. 

(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing 
License - $159.00. 

(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $265.00. 

(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - $530.00. 

(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $16.00. 

(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal 
Recreational Fishing License - $11.00. 

(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational 
Fishing License - $11.00. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-270.1B(e). 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 
 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

15A NCAC 10B .0101 IMPORTATION OF WILD 
ANIMALS, ANIMALS AND BIRDS BIRDS, AND NATIVE 
REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 
(a)  Before any live wild bird, bird or wild animal animal, or any 
native reptile or amphibian, is imported into North Carolina for 
any purpose, a permit shall be obtained from the Executive 
Director of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission 
authorizing the importation, using application forms provided by 
the Commission. 
(b)  Deer, elk, or other species in the family Cervidae may only be 
imported into the state of North Carolina from a herd in which 
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) has not been detected for at least 
five years and has been managed using standards equivalent to, or 
more stringent than, the criteria specified in 15A NCAC 10H 
.0301 and 15A NCAC 10H .0302. The individual U.S. or Mexican 
state or territory, Canadian province or other country of origin 
must have CWD monitoring requirements that are at least as 
stringent as those described in this Rule, 15A NCAC 10H .0301 
and 15A NCAC 10H .0302. The originating individual U.S. or 
Mexican state's or territory's, Canadian province's or other 
country's CWD monitoring program must be jointly reviewed by 
Wildlife Resources Commission and Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services personnel before approval of any 
importation of cervids into North Carolina. There shall be no 
importation from individual U.S. or Mexican states or territories, 
Canadian provinces or other countries in which CWD has been 
detected, either in a wild herd or a captive herd. 
(c)  Cervids imported into North Carolina shall be individually 
identified by tags provided by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission that shall be affixed by the licensee to each cervid as 
set forth in 15A NCAC 10H .0301. 
(d)(b)  Waterfowl imported into North Carolina must be received 
from facilities or individuals who are certified under the National 
Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) as pullorum-typhoid and avian 
influenza negative. If the source birds are not part of NPIP, they 
must be tested pullorum-typhoid and avian influenza negative by 
NPIP standards within 30 days prior to entry into North Carolina. 
Health certificates for imported waterfowl shall be available for 
inspection by authorized Commission personnel upon request. 
 
Authority G.S. 106.549.97; 113-134; 113-272.6; 113-274; 113-
291.3. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0105 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS 
(a)  Cooperative State Rules: 

(1) The taking of sea ducks (scoter, eider and old 
squaw) during any federally-announced season 
for only these species shall be limited to the The 
waters of the Atlantic Ocean, and to those 
coastal waters south of US 64 that are separated 
by a distance of at least 800 yards of open water 
from any shore, island or marsh. marsh are 
designated as a special hunting area for the 
taking of sea ducks (scoter, eider, and long-
tailed duck) as referenced by the Federal 
frameworks calling for state rules designating 
these special areas. 

(2) Tundra swans may be taken during the open 
season by permit only subject to annual 
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limitations imposed by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service. Based upon the annual 
limitations imposed by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service, the Wildlife Resources 
Commission shall issue nontransferable swan 
permits to applicants who will be selected at 
random by computer. Only one swan may shall 
be taken under each permit which shall be 
cancelled at the time of the kill by cutting out 
the month and day of the kill. Accompanying 
the permit is a tag which must be affixed to the 
swan at the time and place of the kill. The tag 
must be affixed in accordance with instructions 
provided with the permit. In addition, a 
preaddressed post-paid card is supplied to each 
permittee on which to report the number of days 
hunted and the details of the kill if made. It is 
unlawful to hunt Hunting swans without having 
the permit and the tag in possession or to 
possess a swan without the cancelled permit in 
possession and the tag affixed in accordance 
with instructions provided with the permit to 
the swan. swan is prohibited. It is unlawful to 
possess Possessing a swan permit or tag while 
hunting that was assigned to another person or 
to alter the permit or tag in any way other than 
cutting out the proper month and day of kill. kill 
is prohibited. 

(b)  Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 113-291.1(a) and (b), 
the following restrictions apply to the taking of migratory game 
birds: 

(1) No migratory game bird may be taken: 
(A) With a rifle; 
(B) With a shotgun of any description 

capable of holding more than three 
shells, unless it is plugged with a one-
piece filler, incapable of removal 
without disassembling the gun, so as 
to limit its total capacity to not more 
than three shells. 

(2) No migratory game bird may be taken: 
(A)(C) From or by the use of a sinkbox or any 

other type of low floating device 
affording the hunter a means of 
concealment beneath the surface of the 
water; 

(B)(D) With the aid of bait, or on, over, or 
within 300 yards of any place where 
any grain, salt or other feed is exposed 
so as to constitute an attraction to 
migratory game birds or has been so 
exposed during any of the 10 
consecutive days preceding the taking, 
except that this Part shall not apply to 
standing crops, flooded croplands, 
grain crops shocked on the field where 
grown, or grains found scattered solely 
as the result of normal agricultural 
planting or harvesting; 

(C)(E) With the aid of live decoys, or on, over 
or within 300 yards of any place where 
tame or captive migratory game birds 
are present, unless such birds are and 
have been for a period of 10 
consecutive days prior to such taking 
confined within an enclosure which 
eliminates the audibility of their calls 
and totally conceals them from the 
sight of wild migratory game birds. 

(3)(2) Crippled waterfowl may be taken from a 
motorboat under power in those areas 
described, delineated, and designated as special 
sea duck hunting areas in Subparagraph (a)(1) 
of this Rule. 

(4) Waterfowl hunting and harassment and other 
unauthorized activities is prohibited on posted 
waterfowl management areas established by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission for Canada 
Geese and ducks restoration. Information on 
impoundments can be found at ncwildlife.org. 

(5)(3) In that area of Roanoke Sound adjacent to and 
immediately Northeast of Roanoke Island as 
marked by buoys designating the waterfowl rest 
area, it is unlawful to harass or take any 
waterfowl. 

(6)(4) The area east of US 17 is designated as a an 
experimental September teal season zone as 
referenced by the Federal frameworks calling 
for state rules designating experimental areas. 
these zones. 

(c)  Reporting Requirements: For tundra swan and Canada goose 
seasons where a permit is required to hunt by Memorandum of 
Agreement with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, hunter 
questionnaires shall be completed online at www.ncwildlife.org, 
or on the Commission-supplied, supplied on preaddressed, 
postage-paid cards cards. Questionnaires shall be completed by or 
returned to the Commission and postmarked no later than April 1 
following the end of the applicable season. Failure to return the 
questionnaire and animal parts, if required, by this date shall make 
the individual ineligible to receive a permit for the following 
applicable season. In lieu of returning a hard copy, individuals 
may fill out a questionnaire on-line through the Wildlife 
Commission web site at ncwildlife.org when this option is 
available by April 1 following the end of the applicable season. 
(d)  Failure to return the questionnaire and any required animal 
parts, by this date shall make the individual ineligible to receive a 
permit for the following applicable season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 50 
C.F.R. 20.21; 50 C.F.R. 20.105. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0111 RESTRICTIONS ON RACCOON 
AND OPOSSUM HUNTING 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1. 
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15A NCAC 10B .0119 WILDLIFE COLLECTORS 
(a)  Collection Licenses. The Executive Director may license 
qualified individuals to take or collect any species of wildlife 
resources except that endangered, threatened, and special concern 
species may not be taken or collected except under a special 
permit issued by the Executive Director for research purposes, 
unless there is an open season for the species. If an open season 
exists for the species, then the appropriate hunting, fishing, or 
trapping license serves as the authorization for take. This Rule 
shall not prohibit an individual from killing an endangered, 
threatened, or special concern species in defense of his own life 
or the lives of others without a permit. Individuals who annually 
collect fewer than five reptiles or fewer than 25 amphibians that 
are not on the endangered, threatened, or special concern lists 
shall be exempted from this license requirement, except snapping 
turtles (Chelydra serpentina) less than 11 inches (curved carapace 
length) shall not be collected at all. The license shall be issued 
upon payment of a fee in accordance with G.S. 113-272.4, except 
that licenses shall be issued to representatives of educational or 
scientific institutions or of governmental agencies without charge. 
The license shall be used in lieu of any other hunting or trapping 
license required by law and shall authorize possession and 
transportation of the wildlife incidental to the authorized taking, 
except that it shall not authorize the taking, possession, or 
transportation of any species of wildlife in violation of the 
Endangered Species Act, the Migratory Bird Treaty Act, The Bald 
and Golden Eagle Protection Act or any other federal act to 
prohibit or restrict the possession and transportation of wildlife 
resources. 
(b)  Limits on collection. Individuals shall collect no more than 
10 turtles from the family Chelydridae (snapping turtles) per day 
and no more than 100 per calendar and these turtles shall have a 
curved carapace length greater than 11 inches. Individuals shall 
collect no more than 10 turtles from the family Kinosternidae 
(mud and musk turtles) per day and no more than 100 per calendar 
year. 
(c)  Qualifications of Licensees. In addition to representatives of 
educational and scientific institutions and governmental agencies, 
the collection license may be issued to any individual for any 
purpose when it is not deemed inimical to the efficient 
conservation of the species to be collected or to some other 
wildlife species that may be dependent thereon. 
(d)  Methods of Taking. The manner of taking wildlife resources 
under a collection license may be specified by the Executive 
Director pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d) and need not be restricted 
to the usual methods of hunting or trapping. 
(e)  Term of License. The Executive Director may, pursuant to 
G.S. 113-272.4(c), impose time limits and other restrictions on the 
duration of any collection license, but unless so restricted the 
license shall be valid from January 1 through December 31 of the 
applicable year. 
(f)  Report of Collecting Activity. Each individual licensed under 
this Rule shall submit a report to the Wildlife Resources 
Commission within 15 days following the date of expiration of 
the license. The report shall show the numbers of each species 
taken under the license and the use or disposition thereof. The 
Executive Director may require additional information for 
statistical purposes such as the dates and places of the taking and 

the sex, size, weight, condition, and approximate age of each 
specimen taken. 
(g)  Other Requirements and Restrictions. The Executive Director 
may, pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d), impose such other 
requirements and restrictions on persons licensed under this Rule 
as he may deem to be necessary to the efficient administration of 
the wildlife conservation statutes and rules. 
(a)  Wildlife Collection Licenses may be issued to qualified 
individuals as defined in G.S. 113-130 to take any species of 
wildlife resources for the following purposes: 

(1) scientific collection; 
(2) educational collection; or 
(3) snapping turtle collection. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply to this Rule: 
(1) "Scientific Collection" shall mean collection 

for the purpose of conducting scientific 
research or survey. 

(2) "Educational Collection" means collection for 
the purpose of providing instruction, training, 
or information to the public. 

(3) "Snapping Turtle Collection" means collection 
of snapping turtles from the family Chelydridae 
for sale pursuant to 15A NCAC 10H .1301. 

(4) "Personal Use" means collection and holding, 
using as bait, or personal consumption of 
reptiles or amphibians. 

(c)  The Commission shall consider the following qualifications 
when issuing a license: 

(1) prior research or educational experience in the 
same or similar field; 

(2) work with or for an educational institution; 
(3) type of study requested of license (permanent or 

catch and release); 
(4) current state and quantity of species requested; 
(5) collection methodology proposed; and 
(6) disposition of collection. 

(d)  Individuals collecting and holding reptiles or amphibians for 
personal use shall not be required to obtain a Wildlife Collection 
License so long as the following conditions are met: 

(1) no more than 4 individuals of native reptile 
species or 24 individuals of any combination of 
amphibian species per physical address; 

(2) collected reptiles and amphibians shall not be 
bought or sold; and 

(3) no endangered, threatened, or special concern 
species shall be collected and retained. 

(e)  Endangered, threatened, and special concern species may not 
be taken or collected except under an endangered species permit 
unless there is an open season for the species. If an open season 
exists for the species, then the appropriate hunting, fishing, or 
trapping license serves as the authorization for take. 
(f)  Wildlife Collection licenses may be issued to any individual, 
so long as the take is not deemed harmful to the efficient 
conservation of the species to be collected or to other wildlife 
species that may be dependent thereon. 
(g)  Individuals interested in obtaining a Wildlife Collection 
License shall apply by sending an application to 1701 Varsity 
Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606 or by completing and submitting an 
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application online at www.ncwildlife.org. Information required 
by the applicant shall include: 

(1) name, address, date of birth, email, and driver's 
license number; and 

(2) species information. 
(3) Additional information required for scientific 

and educational collection shall include: 
(A) organizational affiliation, if any; and 
(B) full documentation of research or 

educational proposal(s) and 
Institutional Animal Care and Use 
Committee approval, if applicable. 

(h)  Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be used in lieu of any other 
hunting or trapping license required by law and shall authorize 
possession and transportation of the wildlife incidental to the 
authorized taking. It shall not authorize the taking, possession, or 
transportation of any species of wildlife in violation of the 
Endangered Species Act, the Migratory Bird Treaty Act, The Bald 
and Golden Eagle Protection Act or any other federal act to 
prohibit or restrict the possession and transportation of wildlife 
resources. 
(i)  Wildlife Collection Licenses for snapping turtle collection 
shall only be available to North Carolina residents. The following 
conditions shall apply: 

(1) collection shall occur from June 1 through 
September 30; 

(2) no more than 10 snapping turtles per physical 
address per day; 

(3) no more than 100 snapping turtles per physical 
address per season; 

(4) turtles shall have a minimum curved carapace 
length of 13 inches; and 

(5) no more than 10 trapping devices per license. 
Devices shall be: 
(A) Labeled with a waterproof tag that 

shows the licensee's name, WRC 
Customer Number, or Wildlife 
Collection License number. 

(B) Hoop traps or other trap style that 
allows for the unharmed release of any 
nontarget species or snapping turtles 
less than 13 inches. 

(C) Checked daily per 15A NCAC 10B 
.0110. 

(j)  Unless a more limited duration is designated on the license, 
Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be valid from January 1 
through December 31 of the applicable year. 
(k)  Licensed individuals shall submit the following information 
to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days of license 
expiration depending on the species taken: 

(1) the numbers of each species taken under the 
license and the use or disposition thereof; 

(2) dates and location of the taking; and 
(3) sex, size, weight, condition, or approximate age 

of each specimen taken as specified on the 
license. 

(l)  Wildlife Collections License shall not be transferable either by 
license holder or by site of a facility. 

(m)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may, pursuant 
to G.S. 113-272.4(d), require further restrictions or conditions on 
individuals licensed under this Rule as he or she deems necessary 
to the efficient administration of the wildlife conservation statutes 
and rules. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-272.4. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0123 LIMITATIONS ON CERTAIN 
EXOTIC SPECIES 
(a)  Except as provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to import, 
transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer, or release into 
public or private waters or lands of the State, any live specimen(s) 
of Tongueless or African Clawed Frog (Xenopus spp.), Brown 
Anole (Anolis sagrei), Cuban Treefrog (Osteopilus 
septentrionalis), any Asian Newts (genera Cynops, Pachytriton, 
Paramesotriton, Laotriton, Tylototriton), or Red-eared Slider 
(Trachemys scripta elegans). 
(a)  Except as provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to import, 
transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer, or release into 
public or private waters or lands of the State, any live specimen(s) 
of: 

(1) Tongueless or African Clawed Frog (Xenopus 
spp.); 

(2) Brown Anole (Anolis sagrei); 
(3) Cuban Treefrog (Osteopilus septentrionalis); 
(4) Asian Newts (genera Cynops, Pachytriton, 

Paramesotriton, Laotriton, Tylototriton); 
(5) Red-eared Slider (Trachemys scripta elegans); 
(6) Tegu (genera Salyator and Tupinambis); or 
(7) Greenhouse Frog (Eleutherodactlyus 

planirostris). 
(b)  The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission may by 
permit authorize importation, transportation, exportation, 
purchase, possession, sale, or transfer of any species in this Rule 
by the following entities, subject to the specified limitations: 

(1) Retail and Wholesale Establishments. 
Importation, possession, sale, transfer, 
transportation, and exportation of these species 
within North Carolina, by retail and wholesale 
establishments whose primary business is 
providing scientific supplies for research, shall 
be allowed by permit, provided the following 
conditions are met: 
(A) the application for a permit shall be in 

writing and include plans for holding, 
transportation, advertisement, and sale 
to allow a determination of the 
safeguards employed to prevent 
accidental escape and sales to 
unauthorized individuals; 

(B) in-State sale or transfer is allowed only 
to agencies, entities, and institutions 
listed in Subparagraph (2) of this 
Paragraph; 

(C) exportation shall comply with all 
applicable rules and regulations of the 
importing state; 
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(D) all specimens shall be possessed in 
indoor facilities; and 

(E) transportation of specimens shall 
employ safeguards that prevent 
accidental escape. 

(2) Government Agencies and Research 
Institutions. Purchase, importation, possession, 
transfer, transportation, and exportation of 
these species within North Carolina shall be 
allowed by permitted State and federal 
governmental agencies, corporate research 
entities, and research institutions, provided the 
following conditions are met: 
(A) the application for a permit shall be in 

writing and include plans for holding, 
transportation, final disposition, and 
safeguards to prevent accidental 
escape; 

(B) exportation shall comply with all 
applicable rules and regulations of the 
importing state; 

(C) all specimens shall be possessed in 
indoor facilities; 

(D) transportation of specimens shall 
employ safeguards that prevent 
accidental escape; and 

(E) the agency's, entity's, or institution's 
Animal Use and Care Committee has 
approved the research protocol for 
these species. 

(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be lawful 
for private individuals in possession of a live specimen(s) of Red-
eared Slider(s)(Trachemys scripta elegans) prior to August 1, 
2018, to retain, transport, transfer, or export the animal(s) in their 
possession. Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be 
lawful for private individuals in possession of a live specimen(s) 
of Tegu(s)(genera Salvator and Tupinambis) prior to August 1, 
2022, to retain, transport, transfer, or export the animal(s) in their 
possession. 
(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, facilities open to 
the public for education may apply for a permit to collect, receive, 
and possess Red-eared Slider(s). any of the species listed in 
Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-274; 113-292. 
 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0203 DEER (WHITE-TAILED) 
(a)  Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer: 

(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or 
spikes protruding through the skin, as 
distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by 
skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands 
except Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, 
Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and South 
Mountains Game Lands (Refer to 15A NCAC 
10D .0103 .0100 and .0200 for Deer With 

Visible Antlers seasons on these Game Lands), 
during the following seasons: 
(A) Saturday on or nearest October 15 

through January 1 in all of Beaufort, 
Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, 
Columbus*, Cumberland, Craven, 
Dare, Duplin, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, 
Jones, Lenoir, Moore, New Hanover, 
Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Richmond, 
Robeson, Sampson, Scotland, Tyrrell, 
and Washington counties. 
*Unlawful to hunt or kill deer in Lake 
Waccamaw or within 50 yards of its 
shoreline. 

(B) Saturday on or nearest October 15 
through January 1 in all of Bertie, 
Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 
Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Greene, 
Halifax, Hertford, Johnston, Martin, 
Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, 
Perquimans, Pitt, Vance, Wake, 
Warren, Wayne, and Wilson counties. 

(C) Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1 in all of Alexander, 
Alleghany, Ashe, Catawba, 
Cleveland, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, 
Iredell, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, 
Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and 
Yadkin counties. 

(D) Monday of Thanksgiving week 
through the third Saturday after 
Thanksgiving Day in all of Avery, 
Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, 
Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 
Henderson, Jackson, Macon, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Swain, 
Transylvania, and Yancey counties. 

(E) Two Saturdays before Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1 in all of 
Alamance, Anson, Cabarrus, Caswell, 
Chatham, Davidson, Durham, 
Granville, Guilford, Lee, 
Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Orange, 
Person, Randolph, Rockingham, 
Rowan, Stanly, and Union counties. 

(F) Saturday on or nearest September 10 
through January 1 in those parts of 
Camden, Gates, and Pasquotank 
counties known as the Dismal Swamp 
National Wildlife Refuge; in those 
parts of Hyde, Tyrrell, and 
Washington counties known as the 
Pocosin Lakes National Wildlife 
Refuge; in that part of Hyde county 
known as Lake Mattamuskeet 
National Wildlife Refuge; in those 
parts of Dare and Hyde counties 
known as Alligator River National 
Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 
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Anson and Richmond counties known 
as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 
Refuge; and in that part of Currituck 
County known as the Mackay Island 
National Wildlife Refuge. 

(2) Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, 
deer of either sex may be taken during the open 
seasons and in the counties and portions of 
counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), 
(F), and (G) of this Subparagraph (Refer to 15A 
NCAC 10D .0103 .0100 and .0200 for either-
sex deer seasons on Game Lands). Deer of 
either sex may be taken during the open season 
identified in Part (H) of this Subparagraph. 
(A) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 

established by the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service during the period 
from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 through January 1 in 
those parts of Camden, Gates, and 
Pasquotank counties known as the 
Dismal Swamp National Wildlife 
Refuge; in those parts of Hyde, 
Tyrrell, and Washington counties 
known as the Pocosin Lakes National 
Wildlife Refuge; in those parts of 
Anson and Richmond counties known 
as the Pee Dee National Wildlife 
Refuge; and in those parts of Currituck 
County known as the Currituck 
National Wildlife Refuge and the 
Mackay Island National Wildlife 
Refuge. 

(B) The open either-sex deer hunting dates 
established by the appropriate military 
commands at each of the military 
installations listed in this Paragraph, 
during the period from Saturday on or 
nearest October 15 through January 1 
in that part of Brunswick County 
known as the Sunny Point Military 
Ocean Terminal, in that part of Craven 
County known and marked as Cherry 
Point Marine Base, in that part of 
Onslow County known and marked as 
the Camp Lejeune Marine Base, on 
Fort Bragg Military Reservation, and 
on Camp Mackall Military 
Reservation. 

(C) Youth either-sex deer hunts. First 
Saturday in October for youth either-
sex deer hunting by permit only on a 
portion of Belews Creek Steam 
Station in Stokes County designated 
by agents of the Commission; the third 
Saturday in October for youth either-
sex deer hunting by permit only on 
Mountain Island State Forest in 
Lincoln and Gaston counties; and the 

second Saturday in November for 
youth either-sex deer hunting by 
permit only on apportion of Warrior 
Creek located on W. Kerr Scott 
Reservoir, Wilkes County designated 
by agents of the Commission. A youth 
is defined as a person under 18 years 
of age. 

(D) The first open Saturday of the Deer 
with Visible Antlers season described 
in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
all of Buncombe*, Haywood, 
Henderson, Madison, and 
Transylvania counties. 
*Except for that part east of NC 191, 
south of the French Broad and 
Swannanoa Rivers, west of US 25, and 
north of NC 280 

(E) The first open day of the Deer With 
Visible Antlers season described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the first Saturday thereafter in 
all of Avery, Burke, Caldwell, 
McDowell, Mitchell, and Yancey 
counties. 

(F) The first open day of the Deer with 
Visible Antlers season described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule 
through the second Friday thereafter in 
all of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford 
counties. 

(G) All the open days of the Deer With 
Visible Antlers season described in 
Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule in 
and east of Ashe, Watauga, Wilkes, 
Alexander, Catawba, Lincoln, and 
Gaston counties and in the following 
parts of counties: Buncombe: That 
part east of NC 191, south of the 
French Broad and Swannanoa Rivers, 
west of US 25, and north of NC 280; 
and Henderson: That part east of NC 
191 and north and west of NC 280. 

(H) The fourth Saturday in September in 
all counties, subject to the following 
restriction: only persons under the age 
of 18 years may hunt. 

(b)  Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 
deer may be taken with archery equipment 
during the following seasons: 
(A) Saturday on or nearest September 10 

through the day immediately 
preceding the first open day of the 
Blackpowder Firearms and Archery 
Seasons described in Subparagraph 
(c)(1) of this Rule; and the Sunday 
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immediately following the closing of 
blackpowder firearms and archery 
season identified in Part (c)(1)(B) of 
this Rule to the Sunday before 
Thanksgiving in the counties and parts 
of counties having the open seasons 
for Deer With Visible Antlers 
specified by Part (a)(1)(D) of this Rule 
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 
Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 
South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 
to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 .0100 and 
.0200 for Archery seasons on these 
Game Lands). 

(B) Sunday immediately following the 
closing of the open season for Deer 
With Visible Antlers through January 
1 in the counties and parts of counties 
having the open season for Deer With 
Visible Antlers specified by Part 
(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 
(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs may not be used for 
hunting deer during the archery 
season, except a single dog on a leash 
may be used to retrieve a dead or 
wounded deer in accordance with G.S. 
113-291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer may be used during the 
archery deer hunting season. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken during 
archery seasons specified by Part 
(b)(1)(A) of this Rule. 

(D) Only deer with antlers or spikes 
protruding through the skin, as 
distinguished from knobs or buttons 
covered by skin or velvet, shall be 
taken during the archery season 
specified by Part (b)(1)(B) of this 
Rule. 

(c)  Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for 
hunting deer: 

(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 
in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may 
be taken only with blackpowder firearms and 
archery equipment during the following 
seasons: 
(A) Two Saturdays preceding the first day 

of the Deer with Visible Antlers 
seasons described in Parts (a)(1)(A), 
(B), (C), (E), and (F) of this Rule 
through the second Friday thereafter 
except on Buffalo Cove, Nicholson 
Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, and 

South Mountains Game Lands (Refer 
to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 .0100 and 
.0200 for Blackpowder Firearms and 
Archery seasons on these Game 
Lands): 

(B) Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the second Saturday thereafter 
in the counties and parts of counties 
having the open seasons for Deer With 
Visible Antlers specified by Part 
(a)(1)(D) of this Rule. 

(2) Restrictions 
(A) Deer of either sex may be taken during 

blackpowder firearms and archery 
season in any county or county part set 
forth in Part (a)(2)(G) (a)(2)(E), (F), or 
(G) of this Rule that has either-sex 
days for all lawful weapons. weapons 
and in the following counties: Polk, 
Rutherford, McDowell, Burke, 
Caldwell, and Cleveland. Deer of 
either sex may be taken on the first 
Saturday day of this season only in all 
other counties. 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken during 
the first open day of the blackpowder 
firearms and archery season thru the 
first Saturday thereafter in any county 
or county part set forth in Part 
(a)(2)(D) of this Rule 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken on the 
first open Saturday of the blackpowder 
firearms and archery season in any 
county or county part not set forth in 
Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule. 

(B)(D) In the areas of the State where the 
Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 
hunting deer during the blackpowder 
firearms and archery seasons, except a 
single dog on a leash may be used to 
retrieve a dead or wounded deer in 
accordance with G.S. 113-291.1(k). 

(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" 
means Any firearm - including any firearm with 
a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or 
similar type of ignition system - manufactured 
in or before 1898, that cannot use fixed 
ammunition; any replica of this type of firearm 
if such replica is not designed or redesigned for 
using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed 
ammunition; and any muzzle-loading rifle, 
muzzle-loading shotgun, or muzzle-loading or 
cylinder-loading handgun that is designed to 
use blackpowder, blackpowder substitute, or 
any other propellant loaded through the muzzle, 
cylinder, or breech and that cannot use fixed 
ammunition. 
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(d)  Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer: 
(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out 

in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the 
bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, 
deer of either sex may be taken with bow and 
arrow in participating cities in the State, as 
defined in G.S. 160A-1(2), from the second 
Saturday following January 1 through the sixth 
Sunday thereafter. Deer shall not be taken on 
any game land or part thereof that occurs within 
a city boundary. 

(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in 
the urban season shall send a letter to that effect 
no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start 
of the urban season to the Executive Director or 
his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, N.C. 27699-1700. Cities shall also 
submit a map of the city's boundaries within 
which the urban season shall apply. 

(3) Restrictions: 
(A) In the areas of the State where the 

Commission is authorized to regulate 
the use of dogs as provided in G.S. 
113-291.5, dogs shall not be used for 
hunting deer during the urban season, 
except a single dog on a leash may be 
used to retrieve a dead or wounded 
deer in accordance with G.S. 113-
291.1(k). 

(B) Only archery equipment of the types 
authorized in 15A NCAC 10B .0116 
for taking deer shall be used during the 
urban season. 

(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of 
which may be deer with visible antlers and four of which may be 
antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or 
buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from spikes 
protruding through the skin. In addition to the bag limits described 
above, a hunter may obtain multiple bonus antlerless deer harvest 
report cards from the Wildlife Resources Commission or any 
Wildlife Service Agent to allow the harvest of two additional 
antlerless deer per card for deer harvested during the season 
described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule within the boundaries of 
participating municipalities, except on State-owned game lands. 
Antlerless deer harvested and reported on the bonus antlerless 
harvest report card shall not count as part of the possession and 
season limit. The bag limits described above do not apply to deer 
harvested in areas covered in the Deer Management Assistance 
Program (DMAP) as described in G.S. 113-291.2(e) for those 
individuals using Commission-issued DMAP tags and reporting 
harvest as described on the DMAP license. Season bag limits shall 
be set by the number of DMAP tags issued and in the hunters' 
possession. All deer harvested under this program, regardless of 
the date of harvest, shall be tagged with these DMAP tags and 
reported as instructed on the DMAP license. The hunter does not 
have to validate the Big Game Harvest Report Card provided with 
the hunting license for deer tagged with the DMAP tags. Any deer 
harvested on lands enrolled in the DMAP and not tagged with 
DMAP tags may only be harvested during the regularly 

established deer seasons subject to all the restrictions of those 
seasons, including bag limits, and reported using the big game 
harvest report card or the bonus antlerless harvest report card. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.3; 113-276.1; 113-291.1; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0205 RACCOON AND OPOSSUM 
(a)  Open Season: The open season for taking raccoon and 
opossum shall be is from sunrise Monday on or nearest October 
15 through the last day of February. 
(b)  Bag Limits: 

(1) The daily bag limit for raccoon is three and 
there are no season and no possession limits. 

(2) There is no restriction on bag limits for 
opossum. 

Note: See 15A NCAC 10B .0111 prohibiting axes, saws and 
shooting in certain western counties. 
(c)  Axes or saws shall not be carried when raccoon or opossum 
hunting. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0206 SQUIRRELS 
(a)  Squirrel Open Seasons: 

(1) Gray and red squirrels may be taken by hunting 
on the Monday on or closest to October 15 to 
the last day of February. 

(2) Fox squirrels may be taken by hunting on the 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 31. 

(a)  The open season for gray and red squirrels is the Monday on 
or closest to October 15 through the last day of February. 
(b)  The open season for fox squirrels is the Monday on or nearest 
October 15 through January 31. 
(c)  Except on game lands, gray squirrels may also be taken by 
hunting on the second Monday in May through the fourth Monday 
in May. 
(b)  Squirrel Bag Limits: 

(1) The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is 
eight and there are no season and no possession 
limits. 

(2) The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the 
possession limit is two; and the season limit is 
10. 

(d)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in 
aggregate and there are no season or possession limits. 
(e)  The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession 
limit is two; and the season limit is 10. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.2. 
 

SECTION .0400 - TAGGING FURS 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0402 TAGGING FURS 
(a)  Except as provided in Rule .0404 and .0405 of this Section, it 
is unlawful to transport or to buy, buying, sell, selling, barter, 
bartering, trade, trading, or otherwise transfer transferring 
possession or ownership of the carcass or pelt of any bobcat, otter 
otter, or fox without having affixed to such carcass or pelt an 
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individual tag provided by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission. Commission is prohibited. Each such tag shall bear 
a serial number. When the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service repeals 
its tagging requirements for otter and bobcat this paragraph shall 
apply only to tagging foxes. 
(b)  It is unlawful for any person to import Importing into this 
State the carcass or pelt of any otter or bobcat which that has not 
been previously affixed with a tag required and supplied by the 
state in which where the animal was taken. taken shall be 
prohibited. When the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service repeals its 
tagging requirements for otter and bobcat this Paragraph shall no 
longer apply. 
(c)  Foxes shall be tagged in accordance with G.S. 113-291.4. 
(d)  The carcasses or pelts of foxes lawfully taken and lawfully 
tagged may be sold, except those taken under a depredation permit 
in any county where the sale of foxes or parts thereof is prohibited 
by local law. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-273; 113-276.1; 50 C.F.R. 23; 87 
Stat. 884. 
 
15A NCAC 10B .0403 APPLICATION FOR TAGS 
(a)  Fur tags shall be distributed issued free of charge, excluding 
postage if applicable, by applying in person at 1751 Varsity Dr, 
Raleigh, NC 27606, over the phone, or by completing and 
submitting in response to a request form to applications made on 
forms supplied by the Commission. Commission online at 
www.ncwildlife.org. 
(b)  Fur tag requests shall include the following applicant 
information: 

(1) name, telephone number, email address, and 
physical address; 

(2) date of birth; 
(3) WRC Customer number; and 
(4) type and quantity of tags requested. 

(c)  The following restrictions shall apply to fur tags: 
(1) no more than 50 bobcat tags shall be issued per 

request; 
(2) no more than 150 otter tags shall be issued per 

request; and 
(3) fox tags may be limited in accordance with 

area, bag, possession, or season limits. 
(b)  The fees to be charged for each fur tag are as follows: 

Species  Fee 
Bobcat  2.20 
Otter  2.20 

(c)  Foxes shall be tagged in accordance with G.S. 113-291.4(g). 
The carcasses or pelts of foxes lawfully taken and lawfully tagged 
in an area of open fox season, and those taken under a depredation 
permit, and those taken under a local law that permits foxes to be 
sold may be sold; provided that this Paragraph shall not authorize 
the sale of carcasses or pelts of foxes taken under a depredation 
permit in any county in which the sale of foxes or parts thereof is 
prohibited by local law. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-270.1; 113-273; 113-276.1; 
113-291.4. 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0205 PUBLIC MOUNTAIN TROUT 
WATERS 
(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply: 

(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead 
organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or 
prepared substances designed to attract fish by 
the sense of taste or smell. 

(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one 
point. 

(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that 
neither contains nor has been treated by any 
substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste 
or smell. 

(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed 
with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or any 
similar material to which no additional hook, 
spinner, spoon or similar device is added. 

(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years 
of age. 

(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply: 

(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters 
included in this Rule and so designated in 15A 
NCAC 10D .0104. 

(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures 
Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters where only artificial flies and lures 
having one single hook may be used. No trout 
may be possessed or harvested while fishing 
these streams. Waters designated as such 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where between October 
1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday 
before the first Saturday of the following June, 
it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more 
than one single hook on an artificial lure, or 
harvest or possess trout while fishing. From 
6:00 a.m. on the first Saturday in June until 
noon that same day, only youth anglers may 
fish and these waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. From noon on the first Saturday in 
June until October 1, anglers of all ages may 
fish and these waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure 
restrictions. Waters designated as such do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-
specific regulations apply. Waters designated 
as such do not include tributaries unless 
otherwise noted. 
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(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout 
Waters which are identified as such in this Rule 
or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures 
having only one single hook may be used. No 
person shall possess natural bait while fishing 
these waters. Waters designated as such do not 
include tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(7) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public 
Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures 
and natural baits, except live fish, may be used 
provided they are fished using only one single 
hook. Waters designated as such include 
tributaries unless otherwise noted. 

(8) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in 
the State. These waters have no bait or lure 
restrictions. 

(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits 
for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter. 
(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each 
county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands 
are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise 
indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as 
Undesignated Waters. 

(1) Alleghany 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Little River (S.R. 1133 bridge to 275 
yards downstream of the intersection 
of S.R. 1128 and S.R. 1129 [marked 
by a sign on each bank]) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Pine Creek 
Bledsoe Creek 
Brush Creek (N.C. 21 bridge to 
confluence with Little River, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Cranberry Creek 
(Big) Glade Creek 
Little River (275 yards downstream 
from the intersection of S.R. 1128 and 
S.R. 1129 [marked by a sign on each 
bank] to McCann Dam) 
Meadow Fork 
Pine Swamp Creek 
Piney Fork 
Prathers Creek 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
All waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park 

(2) Ashe County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Big Horse Creek (Virginia state line to 
Mud Creek at S.R. 1363, excluding 
tributaries) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 

Big Horse Creek (S.R. 1324 bridge to 
North Fork New River) 
Helton Creek (SR (900 yards upstream 
of SR 1372 bridge [marked by a sign 
on each bank] to North Fork New 
River) 
South Fork New River (upstream end 
of Todd Island to the SR 1351 bridge) 
Trout Lake 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaver Creek (N.C. 221 to confluence 
of Beaver Creek and South Beaver 
Creek) 
Big Horse Creek (Mud Creek at S.R. 
1363 to S.R. 1324 bridge) 
Big Laurel Creek (S.R. 1315 bridge to 
confluence with North Fork New 
River) 
Buffalo Creek (S.R. 1133 bridge to 
N.C. 194-88 bridge) 
Cranberry Creek (Alleghany Co. line 
to South Fork New River) 
Nathans Creek 
North Fork New River (Watauga Co. 
line to Sharp Dam) 
Old Fields Creek (N.C. 221 to South 
Fork New River) 
Peak Creek (headwaters to Trout 
Lake, except Blue Ridge Parkway 
waters) 
Roan Creek 
Three Top Creek 

(3) Avery County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Elk River (portion on Lees-McRae 
College property, excluding the 
millpond) 
Lost Cove Creek (game land portion, 
excluding Gragg Prong and 
Rockhouse Creek) 
Wilson Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boyde Coffey Lake 
Elk River (S.R. 1305 crossing 
immediately upstream of Big Falls to 
the Tennessee state line) 
Linville River (Land Harbor line 
[below dam] (S.R. 1504 to the Blue 
Ridge Parkway boundary line, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Milltimber Creek 
North Toe River — upper (Watauga 
St. to Roby Shoemaker Wetlands and 
Family Recreational Park, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
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North Toe River — lower (S.R. 1164 
to Mitchell Co. line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Squirrel Creek 
Wildcat Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Birchfield Creek 
Cow Camp Creek 
Cranberry Creek (headwaters to U.S. 
19E/N.C. 194 bridge) 
Gragg Prong 
Horse Creek 
Kentucky Creek 
North Harper Creek 
Plumtree Creek 
Roaring Creek 
Rockhouse Creek 
Shawneehaw Creek (portion adjacent 
to Banner Elk Greenway) 
South Harper Creek 
Webb Prong 

(4) Buncombe County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Carter Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bent Creek (headwaters to N.C. 
Arboretum boundary line) 
Cane Creek (headwaters to S.R. 3138 
bridge) 
Corner Rock Creek (Little Andy 
Creek to confluence with Walker 
Branch) 
Dillingham Creek (Corner Rock 
Creek to Ivy Creek) 
Ivy Creek (Ivy River)(Dillingham 
Creek to U.S. 19-23 bridge) 
Lake Powhatan 
Reems Creek (Sugar Camp Fork to 
U.S. 19-23 bridge, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Rich Branch (downstream from the 
confluence with Rocky Branch) 
Stony Creek 
Swannanoa (S.R. 2702 bridge near 
Ridgecrest to Wood Avenue bridge 
[intersection of N.C. 81 and U.S. 74A 
in Asheville], except where posted 
against trespassing) 

(5) Burke County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Henry Fork (portion on South 
Mountains State Park) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 

Jacob Fork (Shinny Creek to lower 
South Mountains State Park 
boundary) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Carroll Creek (game land portion 
above S.R. 1405) 
Henry Fork (lower South Mountain 
State Park line downstream to S.R. 
1919 at Ivy Creek) 
Linville River portion within Linville 
Gorge Wilderness area and portion 
below Lake James powerhouse from 
upstream bridge on S.R. 1223 to 
Muddy Creek) 

(D) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Catawba River (Muddy Creek to City 
of Morganton water intake dam) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
All waters located on South 
Mountains State Park, except those 
waters identified in Parts A and B of 
this Subparagraph 

(6) Caldwell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Wilson Creek (game land portion 
below Lost Cove Creek to Philips 
Branch) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Boone Fork Pond 
Buffalo Creek (mouth of Joes Creek to 
McCloud Branch) 
Joes Creek (first falls upstream of S.R. 
1574 to confluence with Buffalo 
Creek) 
Wilson Creek (Phillips Branch to 
Brown Mountain Beach Dam, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Yadkin River (Happy Valley Ruritan 
Community Park to S.R. 1515) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Buffalo Creek (Watauga Co. line to 
Long Ridge Branch including game 
land tributaries) 
Joes Creek (Watauga Co. line to first 
falls upstream of the end of S.R. 1574) 
Rockhouse Creek 

(7) Cherokee County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Davis Creek (confluence of Bald and 
Dockery creeks to Hanging Dog 
Creek) 
Hyatt Creek (Big Dam Branch to 
Valley River) 
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Junaluska Creek (Ashturn Creek to 
Valley River) 
Shuler Creek (Joe Brown Hwy [S.R. 
1325] bridge to Tennessee state line) 
Valley River (S.R. 1359 to U.S. 19 
Business bridge in Murphy) 

(B) Special Regulation Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Apalachia Reservoir 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Bald Creek (game land portion) 
Dockery Creek (game land portion) 
North Shoal Creek (game land 
portion) 

(8) Clay County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Fires Creek (Rockhouse Creek to the 
foot bridge in the USFS Fires Creek 
Picnic Area) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Buck Creek (game land portion 
downstream of U.S. 64 bridge) 
Fires Creek (foot bridge in the USFS 
Fires Creek Picnic Area to S.R. 1300) 
Tusquitee Creek (Compass Creek to 
lower S.R. 1300 bridge) 

(9) Graham County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS 
footbridge at the old railroad junction 
to USFS Rd. 2579) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 
to Tennessee state line) 
Cheoah Reservoir 
Panther Creek (confluence of Stand 
Creek and Rock Creek to Lake 
Fontana) 
Santeetlah Creek (Johns Branch to 
Lake Santeetlah) 
(Big) Snowbird Creek (USFS Road 
2579 to S.R. 1127 bridge) 
Stecoah Creek (upper game land 
boundary to Lake Fontana) 
Tulula Creek (S.R. 1201 to lower 
bridge on S.R. 1275) 
West Buffalo Creek 
Yellow Creek (Lake Santeetlah 
hydropower pipeline to Cheoah River) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Little Buffalo Creek 
South Fork Squally Creek 
Squally Creek 

(D) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Deep Creek 
Long Creek (game land portion) 

(10) Haywood County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
West Fork Pigeon River (Queen Creek 
to the first game land boundary 
upstream of Lake Logan) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Cold Springs Creek (Fall Branch to 
Pigeon River) 
Jonathan Creek (upstream S.R. 1302 
bridge to Pigeon River, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Pigeon River (Stamey Cove Branch to 
upstream U.S. 19-23 bridge) 
Richland Creek (Russ Avenue [U.S. 
276] bridge to U.S. 19 bridge) 
West Fork Pigeon River (Tom Creek 
to Queen Creek, including portions on 
game lands, except Middle Prong) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Hurricane Creek 

(11) Henderson County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
North Fork Mills River (game land 
portion below the Hendersonville 
watershed dam) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
(Rocky) Broad River (end of S.R. 
1611 to Rutherford County line) 
Cane Creek (railroad bridge upstream 
of S.R. 1551 bridge to U.S. 25 bridge) 
Clear Creek (Laurel Fork to S.R. 
1582) 
Green River (Lake Summit 
powerhouse to game land boundary) 
(Big) Hungry River (S.R. 1885 to 
Green River) 

(12) Jackson County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Flat Creek 
(East Fork) Tuckasegee River 
(upstream from the Clark 
property)(game lands portion 
upstream of Tanasee Creek Lake, 
including Duke Energy powerline 
corridor) 
Tuckasegee River (upstream from the 
Clark property) 
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(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Tuckasegee River (downstream N.C. 
107 bridge to the falls located 275 
yards upstream of the U.S. 23-441 
bridge [marked by a sign on each 
bank]) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Balsam Lake 
Bear Creek Lake 
Cedar Cliff Lake 
Cullowhee Creek (Tilley Creek to 
Tuckasegee River) 
Dark Ridge Creek (Jones Creek to 
Scott Creek) 
Greens Creek (Greens Creek Baptist 
Church on S.R. 1370 to Savannah 
Creek) 
Savannah Creek (Shell Branch to 
Cagle Branch) 
Scott Creek (Dark Ridge Creek to 
Tuckasegee River, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Tanasee Creek Lake 
Tuckasegee River — upper (John 
Brown Branch to the downstream 
N.C. 107 bridge) 
Tuckasegee River — lower (falls 
located 275 yards upstream of U.S. 23-
441 bridge [marked by a sign on each 
bank] to S.R. 1534 bridge at Wilmot) 
Wolf Creek Lake 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Gage Creek 
North Fork Scott Creek 
Tanasee Creek 
Whitewater River (downstream from 
Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 
state line) 
Wolf Creek (except Balsam Lake and 
Wolf Creek Lake) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 
the South Carolina state line) 
Lower Fowler Creek (game land 
portion) 
Scotsman Creek (game land portion) 

(13) Macon County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Nantahala River (Whiteoak Creek to 
Nantahala hydropower discharge 
canal) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Burningtown Creek (Left Prong to 
Little Tennessee River) 

Cartoogechaye Creek (downstream 
U.S. 64 bridge to Little Tennessee 
River) 
Cliffside Lake 
Cullasaja River (Sequoyah Dam to 
U.S. 64 bridge near junction of S.R. 
1672) 
Nantahala River — upper (Dicks 
Creek to Whiteoak Creek) 
Nantahala River — lower (Nantahala 
hydropower discharge canal to Swain 
Co. line) 
Queens Creek Lake 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Chattooga River (S.R. 1100 bridge to 
South Carolina state line) 
Jarrett Creek (game land portion) 
Kimsey Creek 
Overflow Creek (game land portion) 
Park Creek 
Tellico Creek (game land portion) 
Turtle Pond Creek (game land portion) 

(14) Madison County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Big Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge to 
the U.S. 25-70 bridge) 
Shelton Laurel Creek (N.C. 208 bridge 
at Belva to the confluence with Big 
Laurel Creek) 
Spring Creek (N.C. 209 bridge at Hot 
Springs city limits to iron bridge at end 
of Andrews Ave.) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Laurel Creek (Puncheon Fork to 
the S.R. 1318 [Big Laurel Rd.] bridge 
downstream of Bearpen Branch) 
Big Pine Creek (S.R. 1151 bridge to 
French Broad River) 
Little Ivy Creek (confluence of Middle 
Fork and Paint Fork at Beech Glen to 
confluence with Ivy Creek at Forks of 
Ivy) 
Max Patch Pond 
Meadow Fork Creek (Meadow Fork 
Campground to Spring Creek) 
Puncheon Fork (Wolf Laurel Branch 
to Big Laurel Creek) 
Roaring Fork (Fall Branch to Meadow 
Fork) 
Shelton Laurel Creek (confluence of 
Big Creek and Mill Creek to N.C. 208 
bridge at Belva) 
Shut-in Creek 
Spillcorn Creek 
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Spring Creek (junction of N.C. 209 
and N.C. 63 to USFS Rd. 223) the 
confluence with Meadow Fork) 
West Fork Shut-in Creek (lower game 
land boundary to confluence with East 
Fork Shut-in Creek) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
Big Creek (headwaters to the lower 
game land boundary) 

(15) McDowell County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Newberry Creek (game land portion) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Catawba River (portion adjacent to 
Marion Greenway) 
Curtis Creek (game land portion 
downstream of the USFS boundary at 
Deep Branch) 
Mill Creek (U.S. 70 bridge to I-40 
bridge) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Armstrong Creek (Cato Holler line 
downstream to upper Greenlee line) 
Catawba River (Catawba Falls 
Campground to Old Fort Recreation 
Park) 
Little Buck Creek (game land portion) 
North Fork Catawba River 
(headwaters to North Cove School at 
S.R. 1569 bridge) 

(16) Mitchell County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Cane Creek (N.C. 226 bridge to S.R. 
1189 bridge) 
North Toe River (U.S. 19E bridge to 
N.C. 226 bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Big Rock Creek (headwaters to N.C. 
226 bridge at S.R. 1307 intersection) 
Cane Creek (S.R. 1219 to N.C. 226 
bridge) 
East Fork Grassy Creek 
Grassy Creek (East Fork Grassy Creek 
to mouth) 
Little Rock Creek (Green Creek 
bridge to Big Rock Creek, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
North Toe River (Avery Co. line to 
S.R. 1121 bridge) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 

Green Creek (headwaters to Green 
Creek bridge, except where posted 
against trespassing) 
Little Rock Creek (above Green Creek 
bridge, including all tributaries, except 
where posted against trespassing) 
Wiles Creek (game land boundary to 
mouth) 

(17) Polk County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Green River (Fishtop Falls Access 
Area to the confluence with Cove 
Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Green River (Mouth of Cove Creek to 
the natural gas pipeline crossing) 
North Pacolet River (Joels Creek to 
N.C. 108 bridge) 

(18) Rutherford County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
(Rocky) Broad River (Henderson Co. 
line to U.S. 64/74 bridge, except 
where posted against trespassing) 

(19) Stokes County 
(A) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 

as follows: 
Dan River (Virginia state line 
downstream to a point 200 yards 
below the end of S.R. 1421) 

(20) Surry County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
Ararat River (portion adjacent to the 
Ararat River Greenway) 
Mitchell River (0.6 miles upstream of 
the end of S.R. 1333 to the lowermost 
bridge on S.R. 1330) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Ararat River (S.R. 1727 bridge 
downstream to the N.C. 103 bridge) 
Big Elkin Creek (dam 440 yards 
upstream of N.C. 268 bridge to a point 
265 yards downstream of N.C. 268 
[marked by a sign on each bank]) 
Fisher River (Cooper Creek)(Virginia 
state line to I-77 bridge) 
Little Fisher River (Virginia state line 
to N.C. 89 bridge) 
Lovills Creek (U.S. 52 Business 
bridge to Ararat River) 
Pauls Creek (Virginia state line to .3 
miles below S.R. 1625 bridge) 

(21) Swain County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Waters Trout Waters 

are as follows: 
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Tuckasegee River (U.S. 19 bridge to 
Slope Street bridge) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Alarka Creek (game land boundary to 
Fontana Reservoir) 
Calderwood Reservoir (Cheoah Dam 
to Tennessee state line) 
Cheoah Reservoir 
Connelly Creek (Camp Branch to 
Tuckasegee River) 
Deep Creek (Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park Boundary line to 
Tuckasegee River) 
Nantahala River (Macon Co. line to 
existing Fontana Lake water level) 

(22) Transylvania County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Davidson River (headwaters to Avery 
Creek, excluding Avery Creek, 
Looking Glass Creek and Grogan 
Creek) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
East Fork French Broad River (East 
Fork Baptist Church to the 
downstream S.R. 1107 bridge) 
Little River (confluence of Lake 
Dense to 100 yards downstream of 
Hooker Falls) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Davidson River (Avery Creek to lower 
USFS boundary) 
French Broad River (confluence of 
North Fork French Broad River and 
West Fork) 
French Broad River to the Island Ford 
Rd. [S.R. 1110] Access Area 
Middle Fork French Broad River 
(upstream U.S. 178 bridge to French 
Broad River) 
West Fork French Broad River (S.R. 
1312 to confluence with North Fork 
French Broad River) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
All waters located on Gorges State 
Park 
Whitewater River (downstream from 
Silver Run Creek to South Carolina 
state line) 

(E) Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait are as 
follows: 
North Fork French Broad River (game 
land portion downstream of S.R. 
1326) 

Thompson River (S.R. 1152 to South 
Carolina state line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 

(23) Watauga County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Laurel Creek (confluence of North and 
South Fork Laurel creeks to Elk 
Creek, excluding tributaries) 
Pond Creek (headwaters to Locust 
Ridge Rd. bridge, excluding the pond 
adjacent to Coffee Lake) 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Lake Coffey 
Watauga River – upper (S.R. 1114 
bridge to Valle Crucis Community 
Park lower boundary) 
Watauga River – lower (S.R. 1103 
bridge to confluence with Laurel 
Creek) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Beaverdam Creek (confluence of 
Beaverdam Creek and Little 
Beaverdam Creek to an unnamed 
tributary adjacent to the intersection of 
S.R. 1201 and S.R. 1203) 
Beech Creek 
Buckeye Creek (Buckeye Creek 
Reservoir dam to Grassy Gap Creek) 
Buckeye Creek Reservoir 
Cove Creek (S.R. 1233 bridge at 
Zionville to S.R. 1214 bridge at 
Sherwood) 
Dutch Creek (second bridge on S.R. 
1134 to mouth) 
Elk Creek (S.R. 1510 bridge at Triplett 
to Wilkes Co. line, except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Laurel Creek (S.R. 1123 bridge at S.R. 
1157 intersection to Watauga River) 
Meat Camp Creek (S.R. 1340 bridge at 
S.R. 1384 intersection to N.C. 194) 
Middle Fork New River (adjacent to 
intersection of S.R. 1539 and U.S. 321 
to South Fork New River) 
Norris Fork Creek 
South Fork New River (canoe launch 
70 yards upstream of U.S. 421 bridge 
to lower boundary of Brookshire Park) 
Stony Fork (S.R. 1500 bridge at S.R. 
1505 intersection to Wilkes Co. line) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Dutch Creek (headwaters to second 
bridge on S.R. 1134) 
Howard Creek 
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Maine Branch (headwaters to North 
Fork New River) 
North Fork New River (from 
confluence with Maine and Mine 
branches to Ashe Co. line) 
Watauga River (Avery Co. line to S.R. 
1580 bridge) 
Winkler Creek (lower bridge on S.R. 
1549 to confluence with South Fork 
New River) 

(24) Wilkes County 
(A) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 

follows: 
East Prong Roaring River (Bullhead 
Creek downstream to Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary) 
Elk Creek — upper (Watauga Co. line 
to lower boundary of the Blue Ridge 
Mountain Club) 
Elk Creek — lower (portion on 
Leatherwood Mountains 
development) 
Reddies River (Town of North 
Wilkesboro water intake dam to 
confluence with the Yadkin River) 
Stone Mountain Creek (from falls at 
Alleghany Co. line to confluence with 
East Prong Roaring River and 
Bullhead Creek) 

(B) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Basin Creek (S.R. 1730 bridge to 
confluence with Lovelace Creek) 
Bell Branch Pond 
Boundary Line Pond 
Cub Creek (.5 mile upstream of S.R. 
2460 bridge to S.R. 1001 bridge) 
Darnell Creek (North Prong Reddies 
River)(downstream ford on S.R. 1569 
to confluence with North Fork 
Reddies River) 
East Prong Roaring River (Stone 
Mountain State Park lower boundary 
to S.R. 1002 bridge) 
Fall Creek (S.R. 1300 bridge to 
confluence with South Prong Lewis 
Fork, except where posted against 
trespassing) 
Middle Fork Reddies River (Clear 
Prong)(headwaters to bridge on S.R. 
1580) 
Middle Prong Roaring River 
(headwaters to second bridge on S.R. 
1736) 
North Fork Reddies River (Vannoy 
Creek)(headwaters to Union School 
bridge on S.R. 1559) 
Pike Creek 
Pike Creek Pond 

South Fork Reddies River (S.R. 1355 
bridge to confluence with Middle Fork 
Reddies River) 
South Prong Lewis Fork (Fall Creek to 
U.S. 421 bridge adjacent to S.R. 1155 
intersection) 

(C) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
All waters located on Stone Mountain 
State Park, except East Prong Roaring 
River from Bullhead Creek 
downstream to the Stone Mountain 
State Park lower boundary where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
regulations apply, and Stone Mountain 
Creek from falls at Alleghany County 
line to confluence with East Prong 
Roaring River and Bullhead Creek in 
Stone Mountain State Park where 
Delayed Harvest Trout Waters 
regulations apply 

(25) Yancey County 
(A) Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and 

Lures Only Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
South Toe River (headwaters to Upper 
Creek) 
Upper Creek 

(B) Delayed Harvest Trout Waters are as 
follows: 
Cane River (Blackberry Ridge Rd. to 
downstream boundary of Cane River 
County Park) 

(C) Hatchery Supported Trout Waters are 
as follows: 
Bald Mountain Creek (except where 
posted against trespassing) 
Cane River (Bee Branch [S.R. 1110] 
to Bowlens Creek) 
Price Creek (junction of S.R. 1120 and 
S.R. 1121 to Indian Creek) 
South Toe River (Clear Creek to lower 
boundary line of Yancey Co. 
Recreation Park, except where posted 
against trespassing) 

(D) Wild Trout Waters are as follows: 
Cattail Creek (bridge at Mountain 
Farm Community Rd. to N.C. 197 
bridge) 
Lickskillet Creek 
Middle Creek (game land boundary to 
mouth) 

 
Authority G.S. 113-272; 113-292. 
 

SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH 
 
15A NCAC 10C .0314 STRIPED BASS 
(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four 
fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), 
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(e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit 
for these fish is 20 inches, except in waters identified in 
Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. 
There is no closed season, except for waters identified in 
Paragraphs (g), (h), (i), (j), and (k) of this Rule. 
(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister 
River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. 
Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its 
hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit is 20 
inches from October 1 through May 31. From June 1 through 
September 30, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids 
is four in the aggregate with no minimum size limit. 
(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum 
size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from 
October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for 
these fish from June 1 through September 30. 
(d)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island 
Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake 
Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped 
Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches. 
(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in 
the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may 
be greater than 22 inches. 
(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its 
tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South 
Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its 
hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size limit 
is 18 inches. 
(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico 
rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first 
impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and 
in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 95 not specified 
in Paragraphs (f), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule, the daily creel limit 
for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two fish in the aggregate. The 
minimum size limit is 26 inches. In these waters, the season for 
taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed from May 1 through 
September 30. 
(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its 
tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds 
associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the 
season for taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-
round. 
(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River 
Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 
03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which 
includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and 
their tributaries, the open season for taking and possessing Striped 
Bass and its hybrids is March 1 through April 30 from the joint-
coastal fishing waters boundary at Albemarle Sound upstream to 
Roanoke Rapids Lake dam. During the open season, the daily 
creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is two one fish in the 
aggregate, and the minimum size limit is 18 inches. No fish 
between 22 inches and 27 inches in length shall be possessed in 
the daily creel limit. Only one fish larger than 27 inches may be 
possessed in the daily creel limit. 
(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, 
Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck 
Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries 
(excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their 

tributaries), the Striped Bass fishing season, size limits, and creel 
limits are the same as those established by rules or proclamations 
of the Marine Fisheries Commission in adjacent joint or coastal 
fishing waters. 
(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, 
by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for 
Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and 
their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provisions of any 
proclamation issued under this authority. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-292; 113-304; 113-305. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0102 GENERAL REGULATIONS 
REGARDING USE 
(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions 
apply: 

(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means any 
structure that is used for hunter concealment, 
constructed from manmade or natural 
materials, and that is not disassembled and 
removed at the end of each day's hunt. 

(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a 
firearm for purposes other than hunting, 
trapping, or self-defense. 

(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of 
age. 

(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than 
hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the 
landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified 
the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions 
on entry or usage: 

(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to 
bow and arrow hunting and falconry only. On 
these areas, deer of either sex may be taken on 
all open days of any applicable deer season. 

(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted 
as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No 
person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow 
and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety 
zone on any game land. Falconry is exempt 
from this provision. 

(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game 
lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the 
use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 

(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted 
as "Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by 
the general public, and entry upon such an area 
for any purpose is prohibited without first 
having obtained written approval of such entry 
or use from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission. Entry shall be 
authorized only when such entry will not 
compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Restricted Zone and the person 
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or persons requesting entry are able to 
demonstrate a valid need or such person is a 
contractor or agent of the Commission 
conducting official business. "Valid need" 
includes issues of access to private property, 
scientific investigations, surveys, or other 
access to conduct activities in the public 
interest. 

(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game 
lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" 
are closed to all use by the general public, and 
entry upon such an area for any purpose is 
prohibited without first having obtained written 
approval of such entry or use from an 
authorized agent of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. An area of a game land shall be 
declared a Temporary Restricted Zone when 
there is a danger to the health or welfare of the 
public. 

(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game 
lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the 
discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is 
prohibited. 

(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of 
game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting 
Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is 
prohibited, except as allowed by permit as 
provided in G.S. 113-264(d). 

(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands 
posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the 
general public shall be prohibited from sunset 
to sunrise. 

(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands 
posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed 
to all use by the general public during the dates 
specified on the sign, and entry upon such an 
area for any purpose is prohibited without first 
obtaining written approval of such entry or use 
from an authorized agent of the Wildlife 
Resources Commission by calling 919-707-
0150 and requesting a permit. 

The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area 
where the game land is located before establishing the following 
zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day 
use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting, the public 
comments shall be presented at an official Commission meeting 
for final determination. 
(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit any litter, trash, garbage, or 
other refuse at any place on any game land except in receptacles 
provided for disposal of such refuse at designated camping and 
target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary landfills shall 
be established on any game land by any person, firm, corporation, 
county, or municipality, except as permitted by the landowner. 
(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge: 

(1) any weapon within 150 yards of any game land 
building or designated game land camping area, 
except where posted otherwise; 

(2) any weapon within 150 yards of any residence 
located on or adjacent to game lands, except on 

Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; 
and 

(3) any firearm within 150 yards of any residence 
located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse 
and Jordan Game Lands. 

No person shall hunt with or have in possession any shotgun shell 
containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted 
waterfowl impoundment on any game land, except shotgun shells 
containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Every 
individual carrying a concealed handgun shall adhere to the 
requirements set forth in G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 
the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. On Butner-
Falls of Neuse, Jordan, Kerr Scott, and Vance game lands, no 
person shall possess loaded firearms, ammunition, bows and 
arrows, crossbows, or other weapons except as provided in the 
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 36, Chapter III, Part 327.13, 
which is incorporated by reference, including subsequent 
amendments and editions, free of charge, at: 
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-
idx?SID=75b0c14fb2c26906cf64a267eb69b052&mc=true&nod
e=se36.3.327_ 
113&rgn=div8. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, 
Mayo, and Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land 
north of U.S. 74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell 
Game Land that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, 
no person shall possess a firearm during closed hunting seasons 
or closed hunting days for game birds or game animals, except 
under the following conditions: 

(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel 
not greater than seven and one-half inches in 
length and shooting only short, long, or long 
rifle ammunition carried as a side arm; 

(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately 
available for use; 

(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in 
field trials on field trial areas; or 

(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping 
areas for defense of persons and property. 

(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping 
(1) Requirement. Except as provided in 

Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, any person 
entering upon any game land for the purpose of 
hunting, trapping, running dogs, or training 
dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her 
possession a game lands license in addition to 
the appropriate hunting or trapping license, or a 
license that conveys the game land use 
privilege. 

(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active 
participants (as defined in 15A NCAC 10B 
.0114) in a field trial using wildlife shall 
possess a game lands license in addition to the 
appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or 
a license that conveys the game land use 
privilege, except non-residents may substitute 
hunting licenses from their state(s) of residence. 

(3) For any other field trial using wildlife occurring 
on game lands, judges and active participants 
shall possess a game lands license in addition to 
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the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, 
or a license that conveys the game land use 
privilege. 

(4) Exceptions: 
(A) a person under 16 years of age may 

hunt on game lands on the license of 
his parent or legal guardian; 

(B) on the game lands described in Rule 
.0103(e)(1) of this Section, the game 
lands license is required only for 
hunting doves; all other activities are 
subject to the control of the 
landowners. 

(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. Any individual or 
organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial 
area shall file with the Commission an application to use the area 
and facility accompanied by the facility use fee computed at the 
rate of two hundred dollars ($200.00) for each scheduled day of 
the trial. The total facility use fee shall cover the period from 
12:00 noon of the day preceding the first scheduled day of the trial 
to 10:00 a.m. of the day following the last scheduled day of the 
trial. The facility use fee shall be paid for all intermediate days on 
which for any reason trials are not run but the building or facilities 
are used or occupied. A fee of seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per 
day shall be charged to sporting, educational, or scouting groups 
for scheduled events utilizing the club house only. No person or 
group of persons or any other entity shall enter or use in any 
manner any of the physical facilities located on the Sandhills Field 
Trial area or the Laurinburg Fox Trial facility without first having 
obtained written approval of such entry or use from an authorized 
agent of the Wildlife Resources Commission, and no such entry 
or use of any such facility shall exceed the scope of or continue 
beyond the approved use. The Sandhills Field Trial facilities shall 
be used only for field trials scheduled with the approval of the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. No more than 16 days of field 
trials may be scheduled for occurrence on the Sandhills facilities 
during any calendar month, and no more than four days may be 
scheduled during any calendar week; provided, that a field trial 
requiring more than four days may be scheduled during one week 
upon reduction of the maximum number of days allowable during 
some other week so that the monthly maximum of 16 days is not 
exceeded. Before October 1 of each year, the North Carolina Field 
Trial Association or other organization desiring use of the 
Sandhills facilities between October 22 and November 18 and 
between December 3 and March 31 shall submit its proposed 
schedule of such use to the Wildlife Resources Commission for 
its consideration and approval. The use of the Sandhills Field Trial 
facilities at any time by individuals for training dogs is prohibited; 
elsewhere on the Sandhills Game Lands dogs may be trained only 
on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays from October 1 through 
April 1. Dogs may not be trained or permitted to run unleashed 
from April 1 through August 15 on any game land located west of 
I-95, except when participating in field trials sanctioned by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. Dogs may not be trained or 
permitted to run unleashed from March 15 through June 15 on any 
game land located east of I-95, except when participating in field 
trials sanctioned by the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
Additionally, on game lands located west of I-95 where special 
hunts are scheduled for sportsmen participating in the Disabled 

Sportsman Program, dogs may not be trained or allowed to run 
unleashed during legal big game hunting hours on the dates of the 
special hunts. A field trial shall be authorized when such field trial 
does not conflict with other planned activities on the Game Land 
or field trial facilities, and the applying organization can 
demonstrate their experience and expertise in conducting genuine 
field trial activities. Entry to physical facilities, other than by field 
trial organizations under permit, shall be granted when they do not 
conflict with other planned activities previously approved by the 
Commission and they do not conflict with the mission of the 
agency. 
(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 
10B .0110, .0302, and .0303, trapping of furbearing animals, 
armadillos, coyotes, and groundhogs is permitted on game lands 
during the applicable open trapping seasons established by rule. 
Foxes can be trapped on game lands from November 1 through 
the end of February in any county with an open fox trapping 
season that falls between November 1 and the end of February. 
Foxes may not be taken by trapping on game lands in counties 
with a closed fox trapping season or during any fox trapping 
season that occurs outside the dates of November 1 through the 
end of February. Additionally, fox trapping is allowed on game 
lands in Clay, Graham, Henderson, Macon, and Tyrrell counties 
with a daily bag limit of two and a season bag limit of 10 from the 
first to the fourth Saturday in January. Trapping is prohibited: 

(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of 
Sandhills Game Land; 

(2) in posted "safety zones" located on any game 
land; 

(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands 
bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the 
south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 
215 on the west; and 

(4) on the John's River Waterfowl Refuge in Burke 
County; 

(5)(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and 
(6)(5) from April 1 though October 31. 

At each trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or 
other foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food 
product as defined in G.S.113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches 
and is covered to prevent it from being seen from above. Feathers, 
including those with attached skin or entire bird wings, hair with 
or without skin or hide, and bones that include no attached meat, 
organs, or viscera do not need to be covered. 
(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle 
on any game land except on those roads constructed, maintained, 
and opened for vehicular travel and those trails posted for 
vehicular travel, unless such person: 

(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled 
bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game 
Land; or 

(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph 
(k) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access 
Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) 
of this Rule and is abiding by the rules 
described in Paragraph (m). 

(i)  Camping. 
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(1) No person shall camp on any game land except 
on an area designated by the landowner for 
camping. 

(2) On game lands owned by the State of North 
Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission is the primary 
custodian, the maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at any designated camping 
area is 14 days within any 30-day period from 
May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive 
days of camping, all personal belongings shall 
be removed from the game land. 

(j)  Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the lakes located on 
the Sandhills Game Land. 
(k)  Disabled Sportsman Program. In order to qualify for permit 
hunts for disabled sportsmen offered by the Commission and use 
of designated blinds during those hunts, an individual shall 
possess a Disabled Veteran Sportsman license, a Totally Disabled 
Sportsman license, or a disabled sportsman hunt certification 
issued by the Commission. In order to qualify for the certification, 
the applicant shall provide medical certification of one or more of 
the following disabilities: 

(1) missing 50 percent or more of one or more 
limbs, whether by amputation or natural causes; 

(2) paralysis of one or more limbs; 
(3) dysfunction of one or more limbs rendering the 

person unable to perform the task of grasping 
and lifting with the hands and arms or unable to 
walk without mechanical assistance, other than 
a cane; 

(4) disease, injury, or defect confining the person 
to a wheelchair, walker, or crutches; or 

(5) deafness. 
On game lands where the privileges described in Paragraph (m) 
of this Rule apply, participants in the program may operate 
electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, or other passenger 
vehicles: 

(1) on ungated or open-gated roads normally closed 
to vehicular traffic; and 

(2) on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for 
vehicular travel. 

Each program participant may be accompanied by one companion 
provided such companion has in his possession the companion 
card issued by the Commission. Hunters who qualify under the 
Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions may access 
special hunting blinds for people with disabilities during regularly 
scheduled, non-permit hunting days on a first come basis, except 
for those blinds located on the Restricted Area of Caswell Game 
Land. 
(l)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-
raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated 
animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise 
permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or 
hatchery-raised fish on game lands without prior written 
authorization. It is unlawful to move wild fish from one stream to 
another on game lands without prior written authorization. 
Written authorization shall be given when release of such animals 
is determined by a Wildlife Resources Commission biologist not 

to be harmful to native wildlife in the area and such releases are 
in the public interest or advance the programs and goals of the 
Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(m)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate 
motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on Game 
Lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled 
persons as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule and people who 
have obtained a Disabled Access Program permit are exempt from 
the previous sentence but shall comply with the terms of their 
permit. Furthermore, disabled persons, as defined under the 
federal Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. 126) may use 
wheelchairs or other mobility devices designed for indoor 
pedestrian use on any area where foot travel is allowed. 
(n)  Disabled Access Program. Permits issued under this program 
shall be based upon medical evidence submitted by the person 
verifying that a handicap exists that limits physical mobility to the 
extent that normal utilization of the game lands is not possible 
without vehicular assistance. Persons meeting this requirement 
may operate electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, and other 
passenger vehicles on any Commission-maintained road open for 
vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel and 
ungated or open-gated roads otherwise closed to vehicular traffic 
on game lands owned by the Wildlife Resources Commission and 
on game lands whose owners have agreed to such use. Those 
game lands, or parts thereof, where this Paragraph applies are 
designated online, at www.ncwildlife.org. This Paragraph does 
not permit vehicular access on fields, openings, roads, paths, or 
trails planted for wildlife food or cover. One companion, who is 
identified by a companion card issued to each qualified disabled 
person, may accompany a disabled person to provide assistance, 
provided the companion is at all times in visual or verbal contact 
with the disabled person. The companion may participate in all 
lawful activities while assisting a disabled person, provided 
license requirements are met. Any vehicle used by a qualified 
disabled person for access to game lands under this provision shall 
display the vehicular access permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission in the passenger area of the vehicle where 
it can easily be seen by Commission staff outside the vehicle. It is 
unlawful for anyone other than disabled persons as defined in 
Paragraph (k) of this Rule and those holding a Disabled Access 
Permit to hunt, during waterfowl season, within 100 yards of a 
waterfowl blind designated by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission as a Disabled Sportsman's hunting blind. 
(o)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is 
prohibited on any game land, including land or water. For the 
purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's 
intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the 
person's genitals, pubic area, anal area, or female breasts below a 
point from the top of the areola while in a public place. 
(p)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the 
Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for 
any purpose other than for firearm or bow and arrow 
marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe 
uses of firearms and archery equipment. All other uses, including 
camping, building fires, operating concessions or other activities 
not directly involved with recreational or competitive shooting are 
prohibited, except for activities that have been approved by the 
Commission and for which a permit has been issued may be 
conducted, provided that the permit authorizing such activity is 
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available for inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the 
time the activity is taking place. No person, when using any 
shooting range, shall deposit any debris or refuse on the grounds 
of the range. This includes any items used as targets, except that 
clay targets broken on the range, by the shooter, may be left on 
the grounds where they fall. No person shall shoot any items made 
of glass on the grounds of the range. No person may leave any 
vehicle or other obstruction in such a location or position that it 
will prevent, impede, or inconvenience the use by other persons 
of any shooting range. No person shall leave parked any vehicle 
or other object at any place on the shooting range other than such 
a place or zone as is designated as an authorized parking zone and 
posted or marked as such. No person shall handle any firearms or 
bow and arrow on a shooting range in a careless or reckless 
manner. No person shall intentionally shoot into any target holder, 
post, or other permanent fixture or structure while using a 
shooting range. No person shall shoot a firearm in a manner that 
would cause any rifled or smoothbore projectiles to travel off of 
the range, except that shotgun shot, size No. 4 or smaller may be 
allowed to travel from the range if it presents no risk of harm or 
injury to any person(s). Persons using a shooting range shall obey 
posted range safety rules and those persons who violate range 
safety rules or create a public safety hazard shall leave the 
shooting range if directed to by law enforcement officers or to 
leave by Commission employees. No person shall handle any 
firearms on a shooting range while under the influence of an 
impairing substance. The consumption of alcohol or alcoholic 
beverages on a shooting range is prohibited. Open days and hours 
of operation shall be designated on signs and at least one such sign 
shall be posted at the entrance to each shooting range. No person, 
when using any shooting range, shall do any act that is prohibited 
or neglect to do any act that is required by signs or markings 
placed on such area under authority of this Rule for the purpose 
of regulating the use of the area. 
(q)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and 
August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to 
motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. These roads 
shall be posted with the opening and closing times. 
(r)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird 
or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or 
possess any bird or animal that has been so mutilated. 
(s)  Baiting. Except as provided in paragraph (g) of this Rule, no 
person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game land, salt, 
grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written authorization 
from an agent of the Commission. Written authorization may be 
provided for Commission authorized projects or Commission 
contractors to meet specific objectives. Except as authorized by 
rule, no person shall take or attempt to take any wild birds or wild 
animals attracted to such foods. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-129; 113-134; 113-264; 113-270.3; 113-
291.2; 113-291.5; 113-305; 113-306; 143-318.10. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 
GENERAL REGULATIONS REGARDING HUNTING ON 
GAME LANDS 
(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 
designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 
any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 

the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 
Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 
(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 
lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 
prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 
(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 
purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 
screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 
herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 
portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 
in or attached to the tree. 
(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 
lands only during the open season for game animals and game 
birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 
or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 
dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 
lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. 

(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons 
shall: 
(A) not enter the posted impoundment 

areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the 
permitted hunting dates; 

(B) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such 
hunting dates; 

(C) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 
(D) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; 

and 
(E) not operate any vessel or vehicle 

powered by an internal combustion 
engine. 

(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 
(A) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 

AM and 12:30 PM; 
(B) the use of a firearm to take deer that 

are run or chased by dogs; 
(C) hunting with a firearm within 500 

yards of a place of religious worship, 
as defined by G.S. 14-54.1(b), or any 
accessory structure thereof, and 

(D) hunting migratory game birds. 
On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 
managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 
sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 
veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 
Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 
and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 
credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 
sunset. Restrictions (1)(A), (1)(C), and (1)(E) in this Paragraph 
shall apply. On waterfowl impoundments that have a posted 
"Scouting-only Zone," trapping during the trapping season and 
waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are the 
only activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment outside 
of the posted "Scouting-only Zone." 
(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 
refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 
taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
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Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 
the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken during the open seasons 
and hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 
for game lands in this Rule that specifically 
allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 
Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 
Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 
either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 
each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 
may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 
7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 
Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken on the open days of 
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 
Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 
Falconry may also be practiced on Sundays. 

(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
game may be taken during the open season on 
Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 
Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. 

(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken during the open seasons 
and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, 
Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum 
hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 
Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 
a.m. on Mondays. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 
with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 
where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 
NCAC 10B .0109. 
(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 
game lands: 

(1) Yadkin River Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 
Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter in that 
portion in Montgomery county, and 
deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season in those 
portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 
and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 
hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 
(A) Seven Day per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 
Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 
November Bear Season and the 
second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday first of the December Bear 
Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 
counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 
Washington counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(5)(1) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(6)(2) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 
rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 
shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 
of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 
prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 
Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 
foxes shall be prohibited from 
February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
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(8)(3) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(9) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 
Saturday, Monday, and of the 
November Bear Season and the 
second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the December Bear 
Season. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(10) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 
the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 
Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(11) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 
Lands in Robeson County 
(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(12)(4) Butner Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 

Granville, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 
Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 
impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting 
after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on that portion west of NC 
50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable 
seasons for game birds and game 
animals. On designated bicycle riding 
areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 
from May 15 through August 31, and 
on Sundays only from September 1 
through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 
designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 
Camping Area and shall not exceed a 
maximum stay of two consecutive 
nights. Campfires are prohibited in 
this camping area. 

(13)(5) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(14) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 
that portion known as the Roan Island 
Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the portion of the game 
land that is west of the Black River, 
north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 
Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 
south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(15) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 
(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 
Tract is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(16) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 

Caswell County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding, including all equine 
species, is allowed seven days per 
week from May 16 through August 
31,and on Sundays only, September 1 
through May 15. Horseback riding is 
allowed only on roads opened to 
vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails that are posted for 
equestrian use. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 
following roads is permit-only for all 
quail and woodcock hunting, and all 
bird dog training: From Yanceyville 
south on NC 62 to the intersection of 
SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 
intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 
1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 
east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 
NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 
intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 
1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 
east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 
NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 
by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 
Shooting Range. 

(17) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) Horseback riding, including all equine 

species, is allowed seven days per 
week from May 16 through August 31, 
and on Sundays only September 1 
through May 15. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(18) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(19) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 

and Hertford counties. 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 
Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 
November bear season and the second 
Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 
December bear season except that 
portion of Chowan Swamp Game 
Land in Gates County that is east of 
Highway 158/13, south of Highway 
158, west of Highway 32, and north of 
Catherine Creek and the Chowan 
River where the bear season is the 
same as the season dates for the Gates 
County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
during May 16 through August 31 and 
on Sundays only September 1 through 
May 15 on those roads that are open to 
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vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails posted for equestrian 
use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(20) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(21) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 
County. 
(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 
shall be by permit only. 

(22) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 
Jones counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
day in October through the end of all 
waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 
from designated Disabled Sportsmen 
blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 
Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 
first two open days of dove season on 
posted areas. During the rest of dove 
season, no permit is required to hunt 
doves. 

(F) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(23) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 

County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 
shall be hunted by permit only from 

November 1 through the end of all 
waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 
accompany the permitted individual or 
party provided the guides do not use a 
firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 
extend 5 yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 
hunting by permitted waterfowl 
hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 
attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(H) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(24)(6) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 
(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 
use. People age 16 or older horseback 
riding on this game land must possess 
a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(25) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 
of bombing range. 

(D) The use and training of dogs is 
prohibited from March 1 through June 
30. 

(26)(7) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(27) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 
and Transylvania counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 
hunt permit holders during scheduled 
permit hunts. 

(28) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
36:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2021 

928 

(29) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 
counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(30) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 
Pamlico counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 
Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
season day in October through the end 
of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 
hunting is by permit only on the 
following waterfowl impoundments: 
Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 
Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 
Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 
Waterfowl Impoundments all 
activities, except waterfowl hunting 
on designated waterfowl hunting days 
and trapping during the trapping 
season, are restricted to the posted 
Scouting-only Zone during the period 
November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 
Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 
September 1 through January 1 and 
April 1 through May 15 to individuals 
that possess a valid hunting 
opportunity permit. 

(H) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort 
County portion north of NC 33 except 

for that portion east of Smith Creek 
and south of Campbell Creek. 

(I) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(31) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(32)(8) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 
Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 
and west of Green Swamp Road, 
hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on that portion of 
the game land that is north of Big 
Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 
and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(33) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 
impoundments shall be taken only on 
the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 
areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first 
Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 
November Bear Season and the 
second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the December Bear 
Season, except for that portion 
designated as bear sanctuary. 

(34) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 
Wake counties 
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(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 
except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(35)(9) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 
Transylvania County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season 

(36)(10) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 
hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(37)(11) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 
areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 
Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 
Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 
Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 
west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 
hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 
bear is prohibited: 

(i) all open days on that portion 
of the game land that is south 
of Baby Branch extending 
west to Stag Park Road, west 
of Shaw Road, north of 
Meeks Road extending west 
to Stag Park Road and east of 
Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 
Fridays, with the exception 
of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's days, and 
except for the area north of 
Bear Garden Road, west of 
Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 
east of the Northeast Cape 
Fear River, south of NC 53 
and west of NC 50, where the 
use of dogs for deer and bear 
hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 
Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 
September 1 to the last day of 
February and April 1 to May 15 to 
individuals that possess valid hunting 
opportunity permits, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 
Access Permit may operate an All 
Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 
yards of trails designated for Disabled 
Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 

(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 
for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(38) Hyco Game land in Person County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(39)(12) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 
(40) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 
holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is prohibited October 1 
through March 31, except by lawful 
waterfowl hunting permit holders and 
only on those days written on the 
permits. 
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(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas is limited to August 31 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14. 

(41) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 
Orange, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 
(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding, including all equine 
species, is allowed only on those areas 
posted as American Tobacco Trail and 
other areas posted for equestrian use. 
Unless otherwise posted, horseback 
riding is permitted on posted portions 
of the American Tobacco Trail 
anytime the trail is open for use. On all 
other trails posted for equestrian use, 
horseback riding is allowed seven 
days per week from May 16 through 
August 31, and on Sundays only from 
September 1through May15. People 
age 16 or older [must] shall obtain a 
Game Lands license prior to engaging 
in horseback riding on any area other 
than the American Tobacco Trail. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable 
seasons for game birds and game 
animals. 

(42) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 
Columbus counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 

both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(43)(13) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 
(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 
during the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 
and no screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 
attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 
turkey is prohibited. 

(44)(14) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 
Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 
(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 

waterfowl impoundments is by permit 
only. 

(45) Lee Game Land in Lee County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(46) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(47) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 

(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 
Edgecombe and Halifax counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 
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(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(49) Mayo Game Land in Person County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 
Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(50) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Tuesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(51) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 
Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 
Transylvania counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 
that portion located in Transylvania 
County. 

(52) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 
counties. 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 
on the opening day of dove season is 
by permit only. 

(53)(15) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 
100 yards of the Neuse River on that 

portion of the game land that lies west 
of NC-43. 

(54) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 
counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(55) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 through the fourth 
Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the fourth Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 

activities are prohibited: 
(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 
internal combustion engine; 
and 

(ii) Swimming. 
(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(56) North River Game Land in Camden and 
Currituck counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 
impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(57) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 

Currituck County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(58) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 

Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 
that portion in Anson and Richmond 
counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(E) Horseback riding is allowed seven 

days per week from May 16 through 
August 31, and on Sundays only 
September 1 through May 15 only on 
roads opened to vehicular traffic and 
gated roads and trails posted for 
equestrian use. 

(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting shall be prohibited on that 
portion south of US-74. 

(59) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 
(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season 
through the second Tuesday 
thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(60) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 
Watauga, and Yancey counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 
Black Bear (McDowell County), 
Linville River (Burke County), and 
Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 
McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 
to designated trails on the Linville 
River Tract (Burke County). Persons 
engaged in the act of hunting on the 
Linville River Tract during any open 
day of an applicable season for game 
birds or game animals shall be exempt 
from this restriction. 

(61) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails from May 16 
through August 31 and Sundays from 
September 1 through October 31. All 
horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through May 15. 

(62)(16) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(63)(17) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 
in Wilkes County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 
(64)(18) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(65)(19) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 
Martin, and Northampton counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 
(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 
Commission business or by permit 
holders. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas, provided, however, 
that camping is allowed at any time 
within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 
on the state-owned portion of the game 
land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(66)(20) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 
(67) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(68)(21) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 
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September 10 to the fourth Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the fourth Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 
(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(69)(22) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 
Hunting is by permit only. 

(70) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 
(A) Four Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(71) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 
Richmond, and Scotland counties 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 
October 22 through March 31 except 
as follows: 
(i) deer of either-sex may be 

taken with archery 
equipment on all the open 
days of the archery season 
through the fourth Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day; 
with blackpowder firearms 
and archery equipment all the 
open days of the 
blackpowder firearms season 
through the third Wednesday 
before Thanksgiving Day; 
and only deer with visible 
antlers may be taken with all 
legal weapons from the 
second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 
days from the opening day of 

the dove season through the 
third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 
be taken all the open days 
from the second Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day 
through the Saturday 
following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 
days from the second 
Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 
open days during any 
waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 
may be taken as part of a 
Disabled Sportsmen Program 
Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 
taken on open days from 
sunrise Monday on or nearest 
October 15 through the last 
day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
is the open hunting days from the 
second Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day through the third Saturday after 
Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 
from the Saturday on or nearest to 
Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 
J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 
the third Monday after Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on all open hunting days 
during the archery season, by permit 
during the Deer with Visible antlers 
season, and the blackpowder firearms 
season as stated in this Subparagraph. 
Only deer with visible antlers may be 
taken from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 
open days from the fourth Saturday 
preceding Thanksgiving Day through 
the Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 
Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on all open hunting days 
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during the blackpowder firearms 
season and by permit during the Deer 
With Visible Antlers season. Only 
deer with visible antlers may be taken 
from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 
by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 
waterfowl may be taken on the 
opening and closing days of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 
prohibited unless participating in 
authorized field trials. Horseback 
riding is allowed on the remainder of 
the Sandhills Game Land seven days 
per week on roads that are open to 
vehicular traffic and gated roads and 
trails posted for equestrian use. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 
Complex. 

(72) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 
counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(73)(23) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 
Madison counties. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 
and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 
10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 
the opening day through the second 
Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(74)(24) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 
(75) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(76) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 
the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 
Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails during the 
following dates: 
(i) January 2 through March 31; 
(ii) May 16 through August 31; 
(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 
(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 
(77) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 
and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 
(E) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 

following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(78)(25) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 
Cumberland counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 
or trapping days except for: 
(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 
permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 
Road to access Suggs Mill 
Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 
through January 31, except on 
Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 
Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 
Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 
only by waterfowl hunters possessing 
a valid and current Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 
through March 15, the use of vessels 
on managed waterfowl impoundments 
is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 
waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 
and current Hunting Opportunity 
Permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission pursuant to 
G.S. 113-264(d). 

(79) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 
Brunswick counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(D) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 

(80)(26) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 
(A) Hunting is by permit only 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(81)(27) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 
- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(82) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 
County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(83) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at any designated 
campground is 14 days within any 30 
day period from May 1 through 
August 31. After 14 consecutive days 
of camping all personal belongings 
must be removed from the game land. 

(84) Tillery Game Land in Halifax County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(85) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 
Transylvania counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(86) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 
Montgomery, and Randolph counties 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl may be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 
Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 
Range. 

(87)(28) Vance Game Land in Vance County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 
handguns for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 
tract. 

(88) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 
Washington counties 
(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first 
Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the 
November Bear Season and the 
second Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the December Bear 
Season. 

(89)(29) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 
County 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(90)(30) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow 
County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 

(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 
Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
season day in October through the end 
of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 
required for hunting posted waterfowl 
impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 
have the following restrictions: 
(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 
requires a valid Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by 
the Wildlife Resources 
Commission pursuant to G.S. 
113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 
and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 
deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91)(31) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 
Pender counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on the Long 
Ridge Tract. 

(92) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 
County 
(A) Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding, including all equine 
species, is prohibited. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 
the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 
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shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 
September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 
issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 
permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 
making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 
cooperator agent or by phone. 
(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 
except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 
permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 
River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 
Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 
Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 
Refuge; 

(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 
of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 
Lands; and 

(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—
DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 
County requires written permission from the Commission. 
Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 
Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 
entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 
agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 
need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 
public interest. 
(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 
season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 
of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 
hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 
for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 
season. 
(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 
Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 
game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 
permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 
Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 
(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 
by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 
veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 
Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 
and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 
credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas. 
(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 
Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 
disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 
schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 
and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 
hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 
stated on each permit. 

(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 
species. 
(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 
Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 
the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0106 BEAR SANCTUARIES 
(a)  It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries as 
set forth in Paragraph (b) of this rule, except when authorized by 
permit issued by the Commission on sanctuaries specified in 
Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 
(b)  The following shall be posted bear sanctuaries: 

Bachelor Bay bear sanctuary – Bertie and Washington 
counties 

Columbus County bear sanctuary – Brunswick and 
Columbus counties 

Croatan bear sanctuary – Carteret, Craven, and Jones 
counties 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and 
Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties, 
Fires Creek bear sanctuary – Clay County 
Flat Top bear sanctuary – Mitchell and Yancey counties 
Green Swamp bear sanctuary – Brunswick County 
Gull Rock bear sanctuary – Hyde County 
Harmon Den bear sanctuary – Haywood County 
Juniper Creek bear sanctuary – Brunswick and 

Columbus counties 
Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey 

counties 
North River bear sanctuary – Camden and Currituck 

counties 
Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson 

County 
Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, 

Henderson and Transylvania 
Pungo River bear sanctuary – Hyde County 
Rich Mountain bear sanctuary – Madison County 
Sherwood bear sanctuary – Haywood County 
Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary – Bladen and 

Cumberland counties 
Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County 
Thurmond Chatham bear sanctuary – Allegheny and 

Wilkes counties 
Wayah bear sanctuary – Macon County 

(c)  It shall be lawful to take bear on the following sanctuaries 
when authorized by permit issued by the Commission: 

Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and 
Caldwell counties 

Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties 
Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey 

counties 
Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson 

County 
Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, 

Henderson and Transylvania 
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Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County 
(d)  Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on bear 
sanctuaries. 
(e)  Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between 
March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on bear 
sanctuaries located in and west of the counties and parts of 
counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-291.1; 113-291.2; 113-291.7; 113-
305. 
 

SECTION .0200 – USE OF GAMELANDS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0209 BUFFALO COVE GAME LAND 
IN CALDWELL AND WILKES COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the 
open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day 
through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the Sunday 
immediately preceding the Blackpowder Firearms Season 
described in this rule and the Sunday immediately following the 
closing of Blackpowder Firearms Season described in this rule 
through the Sunday before Thanksgiving Day. Deer with visible 
antlers may be taken with archery equipment the Sunday 
immediately following the closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this Part, through January 1. Deer 
of either sex may be taken with blackpowder firearms on open 
days beginning the Monday on or nearest October 1 through the 
Saturday of the second week thereafter. 
(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. 
(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0226 DUPONT STATE FOREST 
GAME LANDS IN HENDERSON AND TRANSYLVANIA 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Hunting is by permit only. 
(b)  The training and use of dogs for hunting is prohibited except 
by special hunt permit holders during scheduled permit hunts. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0229 GOOSE CREEK GAME LAND IN 
BEAUFORT AND PAMLICO COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(c)  Except as provided in Part (D) of this Subparagraph, 
waterfowl in posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken only 
on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(d)  Beginning on the first open waterfowl season day in October 
through the end of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting is by 
permit only on the following waterfowl impoundments: Pamlico 
Point, Campbell Creek, Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 
Creek, and Hobucken. 
(e)  On Spring Lake, Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 
Waterfowl Impoundments all activities, except waterfowl hunting 
on designated waterfowl hunting days and trapping during the 
trapping season, are restricted to the posted Scouting-only Zone 
during the period November 1 through March 15. 
(f)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(g)  Hunting and vehicular access on the Parker Farm Tract is 
restricted from September 1 through January 1 and April 1 
through May 15 to individuals that possess a valid hunting 
opportunity permit. 
(h)  Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for the purposes 
of training or hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort County portion 
north of NC 33 except for that portion east of Smith Creek and 
south of Campbell Creek. 
(i)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0230 GREEN RIVER GAME LAND IN 
HENDERSON AND POLK COUNTIES 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0239 JOHNS RIVER GAME LAND IN 
BURKE COUNTY 
(a)  Hunting is by permit only. 
(b)  During permitted deer hunts, deer of either sex may be taken 
by permit holders. 
(c)  The construction of permanent hunting blinds is prohibited. 
(d)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated 
Hunter Camping Areas is limited to August 31 through the last 
day of February and March 31 through May 14. 
(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
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15A NCAC 10D .0240 JORDAN GAME LAND IN 
CHATHAM, DURHAM, ORANGE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Waterfowl may be taken only on: 

(1) Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's 
Days; and 

(3) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(d)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed 
only on those areas posted as American Tobacco Trail and other 
areas posted for equestrian use. Unless otherwise posted, 
horseback riding is permitted on posted portions of the American 
Tobacco Trail anytime the trail is open for use. On all other trails 
posted for equestrian use, horseback riding is allowed seven days 
per week from May 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only 
from September 1 through May15. People age 16 or older shall 
obtain license prior to engaging in horseback riding on any area 
other than the American Tobacco Trail. 
(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(f)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas 
posted as an Archery Zone. 
(g)  The use of bicycles is restricted to designated areas, except 
that this restriction does not apply to hunters engaged in the act of 
hunting during the open days of the applicable seasons for game 
birds and game animals. 
(h)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated 
Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last 
day of February and March 31 through May 14. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0243 KINGS CREEK GAME LAND IN 
CALDWELL AND WILKES COUNTIES 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the 
open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day 
through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 to the third Saturday 
thereafter, and Monday on or nearest October 15 to the Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day. Deer with visible antlers may be taken 
with archery equipment the Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible Antlers Season, as described in 
this Part, through January 1. Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open days beginning the Monday on or 
nearest October 1 through the Saturday of the second week 
thereafter. 
(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

15A NCAC 10D .0260 PISGAH GAME LAND IN 
AVERY, BUNCOMBE, BURKE, CALDWELL, 
HAYWOOD, HENDERSON, MADISON, MCDOWELL, 
MITCHELL, TRANSYLVANIA, WATAUGA, AND 
YANCEY COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited on the Black Bear (McDowell 
County), Linville River (Burke County), and Little Tablerock 
Tracts (Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 
(d)  The use of bicycles shall be restricted to designated trails on 
the Linville River Tract (Burke County). Persons engaged in the 
act of hunting on the Linville River Tract during any open day of 
an applicable season for game birds or game animals shall be 
exempt from this restriction. 
(e)  Alcohol and fires are prohibited in the Wilson Creek portion 
of Pisgah Game Land (Caldwell County) 
(f)  Target shooting is prohibited on the Black Bear (McDowell 
County), Linville River (Burke County), and Little Tablerock 
Tracts (Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0276 SOUTH MOUNTAINS GAME 
LAND IN BURKE, CLEVELAND, MCDOWELL, AND 
RUTHERFORD COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the 
open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day 
through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the Sunday 
immediately preceding the Blackpowder Firearms Season 
described in this rule and the Sunday immediately following the 
closing of Blackpowder Firearms Season described in this rule 
through the Sunday before Thanksgiving Day. Deer with visible 
antlers may be taken with archery equipment the Sunday 
immediately following the closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this Part, through January 1. Deer 
of either sex may be taken with blackpowder firearms on open 
days beginning the Monday on or nearest October 1 through the 
Saturday of the second week thereafter. 
(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
during the following dates: 

(1) January 2 through March 31; 
(2) May 16 through August 31; 
(3) Sundays only - April 1 through May 15; and 
(4) Sundays only - September 1 through January 1. 

(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(f)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(g)  The maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at 
any posted and designated camping area is 14 days within any 30-
day period. 
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Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
SUBCHAPTER 10E - FISHING AND BOATING ACCESS 

AREAS 
 
15A NCAC 10E .0104 USE OF AREAS REGULATED 
(a)  No person shall leave any vehicle, boat trailer or other 
obstruction on any public fishing or boating access area in such a 
location, position or condition that prevents or impedes the use by 
other persons of any ramp or other facility constructed for the 
purpose of launching or landing boats or fishing. 
(b)  No person shall park a vehicle, boat, boat trailer, or other 
object at a public fishing or boating access area unless parking in 
a designated parking zone. Public fishing or boating access areas 
and facilities remain available for use when designated parking 
zones are at capacity. When designated parking zones are at 
capacity, any person may enter and use the areas or facilities, 
provided other arrangements for parking are made that do not 
violate this Rule or the regulations of this Subchapter, if 
applicable. No person shall operate a vehicle at a public fishing or 
boating access area in a manner that endangers life, limb, or 
property. 
(c)  No person shall possess a loaded firearm on any public fishing 
or boating access area, except that a handgun may be carried by 
an individual with a valid concealed handgun permit. The 
individual carrying a handgun must adhere to the requirements set 
forth in North Carolina G.S. 14-415.11, even if the state issuing 
the concealed handgun permit is not North Carolina. The 
permission to carry a handgun does not apply to access areas on 
the following game lands: 

(1) Bladen Lakes State Forest 
(2) Buckhorn 
(3) Butner-Falls of Neuse 
(4) Chatham 
(5) DuPont State Forest 
(6) Harris 
(7) Hyco 
(8) Jordan 
(9) Kerr Scott 
(10) Lee 
(11) Mayo 
(12) Pee Dee River north of U.S 74 
(13) Sutton Lake 
(14) Vance 
(15) the portion of R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell that is 

located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119 
(d)  No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 
area, shall deposit debris or refuse anywhere on the grounds of the 
area. No person, when using any public fishing or boating access 
area, shall do any act that is prohibited or neglect to do any act 
that is required by signs or markings placed on such area under 
authority of this Rule for the purpose of regulating the use of the 
area. 
(e)  No person shall operate a motorboat in the public waters of 
North Carolina within 50 yards of a Commission-owned or 
managed boat launching ramp at greater than "no wake" speed. 
For the purpose of this Rule, "no wake" speed means idling speed 
or a slow speed creating no appreciable wake. 

(f)  Except where facilities are provided, provided or permits are 
issued, it is unlawful to use any boating access area for purposes 
other than the launching and retrieving of vessels boats and 
parking vehicles and boat with vessel trailers. All other uses, 
including swimming, skiing, camping, building fires, operating 
concessions or other activities not directly involved with 
launching and retrieving of vessels boats are prohibited, except 
those activities activities, including fish weigh-ins, for which the 
Commission has issued a permit permit. has been issued may be 
conducted, provided that the permit authorizing such activity is 
available for inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the 
time the activity is taking place. All organized activities and 
events require a permit from the Commission and can be applied 
for at www.ncwildlife.org. Permits shall be available for 
inspection by wildlife enforcement officers at the time the activity 
is taking place. 
(g)  Unless otherwise Except where facilities are provided and 
approved uses are posted, it is unlawful to use any public fishing 
area for purposes other than fishing. All prohibited uses and 
activities shall be posted including possession of loaded firearms 
(except as allowed in Paragraph (b) of this Rule), swimming, 
launching or mooring jet skis or boats, skiing, building fires, 
operating concessions, or other activities not directly associated 
with fishing. 
(h)  It is unlawful to feed or release animals or birds, domesticated 
animals and feral animals on public fishing or boating access areas 
without prior written authorization of the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. Written authorization will only be granted to 
persons acting on behalf of the Commission, to persons 
conducting scientific investigations or surveys, and for release of 
rehabilitated wildlife. Written authorization will not be granted 
for any feeding or release that is inimical to the conservation of 
native wildlife resources. For the purpose of enforcing this 
Paragraph, "domesticated animals" does not include pets under 
the control of the owner and raptors or hunting dogs where 
otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes. 
(i)  The use of gasoline powered motors on Ethridge Pond Public 
Fishing Area and Newbold Pond Public Fishing Area in 
Edgecombe County is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 75A-14; 113-134; 113-264. 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10H – REGULATED ACTIVITIES 
 

SECTION .1300 – REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1301 COMMERCIAL TAKE OF 
CERTAIN TURTLES PROHIBITED SALE OF NATIVE 
TURTLES 
(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "commercial taking" means the 
taking, possession, collection, transportation, purchase, or sale of 
five or more individual turtles or any turtle part, per person in a 
calendar year. 
(a)  Buying or selling any native turtle species is prohibited except 
for snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace 
length of 13 inches or greater as authorized by 15A NCAC 10B 
.0119. 
(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in the commercial taking of any 
native turtle species in the families Emydidae or Trionychidae. 
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(c)  The prohibition on commercial taking in this Rule shall not 
apply to the following: 

(1) A licensed veterinarian when holding for 
purposes of medical treatment; 

(2) A holder of a valid captivity permit for the 
purposes of rehabilitation; 

(3) A publicly-financed zoo, scientific research 
facility or institution of higher education, or any 
State or federal agency; 

(4) Any person who accidentally collects five or 
more turtles incidental to any lawful activity, 
and who immediately returns them to the wild; 
or 

(5) Property owners who legally apply for and 
receive depredation permits from the Wildlife 
Resources Commission, or one of its Wildlife 
Damage Control Agents. 

(d)  No native turtle shall be sold, except: 
(1) as authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302; and 
(2) snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a 

curved carapace length of 11 inches or greater. 
(e)(b)  Violators shall be subject to a replacement cost per 
individual turtle that shall equal the replacement cost for "species 
with no open season" as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0117(c). 
 
Authority G.S. 113-333(a)(6). 
 
15A NCAC 10H .1302 POSSESSION OF REPTILES 
AND AMPHIBIANS 
(a)  Possession permits are required for the possession, 
importation, transportation, purchase, and sale per physical 
address of: 

(1) 25 or more individuals of any combination of 
native amphibian species; or 

(2) five or more individuals of native reptile 
species. 

(b)  Possession permits shall not be required for the possession, 
importation, transportation, purchase, and sale of: 

(1) 24 or fewer individuals of any combination of 
native amphibian species; or 

(2) four or fewer individuals of native reptile 
species. 

(b)  Possession permits are required for the rehabilitation of native 
reptiles and amphibians. 
(c)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to authorize the 
collection of any wildlife resources from the wild or the taking, 
possession, transportation, sale, purchase, or release to the wild of 
any wildlife resources or their parts in violation of State or federal 
laws or regulations. 
(d)  At no time shall permitted animals be released to the wild, 
except under situations of research or rehabilitation with written 
permission from the Wildlife Resources Commission. 
(e)  The sale of native turtles shall be unlawful, except as 
authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302 and snapping turtles 
(Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace length of 11 or 
greater. 
(f)(e)  A possession permit shall not be issued for: 

(1) holding reptiles and amphibians that were 
acquired unlawfully; 

(2) holding reptiles and amphibians for unlawful 
sale or trade; 

(3) selling snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) 
less than 11 inches (curved carapace length); 
individuals collecting snapping turtles under 
the collection license set forth in 15A NCAC 
10B .0119; 

(4) collecting five or more individual native turtles 
from the families Emydidae or Trionychidae 
from the wild in a given year, except those 
entities exempted from collection in Rule 
.1301(c) of this Section; collection of native 
reptiles and amphibians from the wild; 

(5) collecting five or more individuals in aggregate 
from other native reptile families or 25 or more 
individual amphibians from the wild in a given 
year without first having secured a valid 
Collection License; 

(6)(5) individuals in violation of the requirements of a 
collection license, as set forth in 15A NCAC 
10B .0119, an endangered species permit, as set 
forth in 15A NCAC 10I .0100, or a possession 
permit as set forth in this Section; or 

(7)(6) individuals who do not first obtain possession 
permits prior to acquiring the following wildlife 
resources in Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(g)(f)  The Unless a more limited duration is designated on the 
permit permit, possession permits shall be valid from January 1 
through December 31 of the applicable year. 
(h)(g)  Individuals permitted under this Rule shall submit a report 
to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days following 
the date of permit expiration. The report shall contain the numbers 
of each species held under the permit and the use or disposition 
thereof. 
(h)  Any individual engaged in the purchased transportation and 
sale of more than 100 snapping turtles is required to have a 
possession permit. Permitted individuals shall submit the numbers 
of snapping turtles taken under the permit and the use or 
disposition thereof to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 
15 days of permit expiration. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-274(c)(1c). 
 

SECTION .1400 – WILDLIFE CAPTIVITY AND 
REHABILITATION 

 
15A NCAC 10H .1402 CAPTIVITY LICENSE FOR 
REHABILITATION 
(a)  A captivity license for rehabilitation shall be required for 
lawful possession of injured, crippled, or orphaned native wild 
animals or wild birds for the purpose of providing short term care 
and eventual release into the animal's natural habitat. A captivity 
license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for: 

(1) Endangered, threatened, or special concern 
species as defined by 15A NCAC 10I .0100. 
Rehabilitation of these species requires an 
endangered species permit from the 
Commission; 

(2) Domestic animals; 
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(3) Feral swine; 
(4) Nutria; 
(5) Coyote; 
(6) Adult black bear; or 
(7) Adult white-tailed deer or elk. elk; 
(8) Nine-banded armadillo; or 
(9) Eggs of upland game birds. 

(b)  A captivity license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for 
the purpose of holding wild animals or wild birds: 

(1) As pets; 
(2) For education, exhibition, or scientific 

purposes, except as provided in Rule .1403 of 
this Section; 

(3) For dog training; 
(4) For hunting; or 
(5) Acquired unlawfully. 

(c)  Individuals who do not possess a captivity license for 
rehabilitation may take temporary possession of injured, crippled, 
or orphaned wild animals or wild birds, provided they are 
surrendered to a North Carolina licensed veterinarian or an 
individual licensed under this Rule within 24 hours of taking 
possession of such animals. 
(d)  North Carolina licensed veterinarians providing medical care 
to sick, injured, or crippled wild animals or wild birds are not 
required to have a license for rehabilitation from the Commission. 
North Carolina licensed veterinarians without a captivity license 
for rehabilitation may hold wild animals or wild birds until the 
animal is medically stable. Once medically stable, the wild animal 
or wild bird shall be transferred to an individual possessing a 
captivity license for rehabilitation with the appropriate category 
for the given species. Licensed veterinarians rehabilitating wild 
animals or wild birds shall have a valid captivity license for 
rehabilitation. 
(e)  Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation 
that have never held this license in North Carolina or a similar 
license in another state shall be designated as an apprentice. The 
following requirements shall apply to an apprentice license: 

(1) On the application, the apprentice shall 
designate a mentor with a valid captivity license 
for rehabilitation in NC, who has held that 
license for two or more years; 

(2) An apprentice shall complete at least 12 months 
of supervised rehabilitation activities under a 
licensed rehabilitator; and 

(3) An apprentice license shall only authorize the 
possession of squirrels, rabbits, and opossums. 

(f)  Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation 
shall meet statutory and regulatory requirements, including those 
in G.S. 113-272.5 and all applicable rules of this Section. 
Individuals seeking to rehabilitate migratory birds shall provide 
proof of a valid and concurrent U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 
Federal Migratory Bird Rehabilitation permit for each category of 
migratory birds to be rehabilitated. The Commission shall state on 
the captivity license for rehabilitation the categories of wild 
animals and wild birds that the individual is licensed to possess. 
(g)  Required facilities. 

(1) Individuals holding a captivity license for 
rehabilitation shall conduct their rehabilitation 
activities at the facility designated on their 

license that meets the minimum standards set 
forth in the "Miller, E.A., edition. 2000. 
Minimum Standards for Wildlife 
Rehabilitation, 3rd edition. National Wildlife 
Rehabilitators Association, St. Cloud, MN. 116 
pages. ISBN 1-931439-00-1." This publication 
is hereby incorporated by reference, excluding 
subsequent amendments and editions, and is 
available at no cost at 
http://www.nwrawildlife.org/page/Minimum_
Standards. 

(2) All wild animals and wild birds undergoing 
rehabilitation shall be separated from pets, 
domestic animals, livestock, and non-native 
animals. 

(3) All wild animals shall be kept in separate 
enclosures by species. 

(4) Rehabilitation in a residence shall have 
designated, separate rooms used only for 
housing, treatment, and rehabilitation. 

(5) Handling of animals shall be for treatment only. 
(h)  Wild animals or wild birds showing symptoms of or believed 
to be infected with a zoonotic disease shall be euthanized or 
treated prior to release, based upon advice from a North Carolina 
licensed veterinarian. 
(i)  Release of rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds. 

(1) All rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds 
shall be released as soon as the animal can be 
expected to survive in the wild or has attained 
full recovery from illness or injury, as 
determined by the rehabilitator or a North 
Carolina licensed veterinarian. 

(2) Wild animals and wild birds may remain in a 
rehabilitation facility for no longer than 180 
days. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed, 
the license holder shall notify the Commission 
in writing. The Commission shall consider 
extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis 
by evaluation, which may include the nature of 
the animal's condition and recommended 
treatment plan. 

(3) Wild animals and wild birds shall not be 
released on property owned by another unless 
the rehabilitator has written permission dated 
within the last 12 months from the landowner. 

(4) Wild animals or wild birds that are unfit shall 
be non-releasable and humanely euthanized. 

However, the Commission shall consider transfer of wild animals 
and wild birds on a case-by-case basis when written authorization 
is requested from the Commission. The wild animal or wild bird 
shall only be transferred to an individual or facility with a 
captivity license for holding as set forth in Rule .1403 of this 
Section when written authorization is obtained from the 
Commission. 
(j)  Transfer of Animals. 

(1) Wild animals originating outside the State shall 
not be accepted for the purpose of rehabilitation 
unless written authorization is obtained from 
the Commission. 
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(2) Wild animals received for rehabilitation may 
not be exported outside the State for the purpose 
of rehabilitation or release after rehabilitation 
unless written authorization is obtained from 
both the Commission and the state where the 
wild animal will be exported to or released 
from. 

(3) It shall be unlawful for a license holder to sell 
any wild animal or wild bird being held under a 
license for rehabilitation. 

(4) It shall be lawful for a license holder to transfer 
a wild animal or wild bird to another individual 
who possesses a valid captivity license for 
rehabilitation with the appropriate category for 
the given species or a wild bird to another 
individual with a valid permit for the given 
species. 

(k)  White-tailed Deer Fawn. 
(1) Only individuals holding a captivity license for 

rehabilitation with the white-tailed deer fawn 
category may possess, rehabilitate, and release 
white-tailed deer fawns. To become licensed to 
rehabilitate white-tailed deer fawns, an 
individual shall meet all the requirements of the 
captivity license for rehabilitation. 

(2) No white-tailed deer fawn shall be possessed 
until the applicant has constructed or acquired 
an enclosure for keeping fawn that complies 
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a 
representative of the Commission. 

(3) Any white-tailed deer fawn held for more than 
48 hours shall be permanently tagged using 
only Commission-provided tags. 

(4) Orphaned white-tailed deer fawns shall be held 
for no longer than 90 days. Injured white-tailed 
deer fawns shall be held for no longer than 180 
days or until December 31, whichever occurs 
first. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed, 
the license holder shall notify the Commission 
in writing. The Commission shall consider 
extended rehabilitation on a case-by-case basis. 
A fawn shall be considered an adult on 
December 31 of the birth year. 

(5) Records of all white-tail deer fawn 
rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as 
set forth in Rule .1406 of this Section, and 
submitted to the Commission within 15 days of 
expiration of the license or prior to the request 
for reissuance of the license. 

(6) Any individual or facility with the white-tailed 
deer category may not rehabilitate white-tailed 
fawn on properties licensed for farmed cervids. 

(l)  Elk Calves. 
(1) Only individuals under a signed cooperative 

agreement with the Commission to meet 
conservation objectives shall be authorized to 
rehabilitate elk calves. 

(2) Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the 
Commission shall obtain a captivity license for 
rehabilitation with the elk calf category. To 
become licensed to rehabilitate elk calves, an 
individual shall meet all the requirements of the 
captivity license for rehabilitation. 

(3) Any elk calves held for more than 48 hours 
shall be permanently tagged using only 
Commission-provided tags. 

(4) Any individual or facility with the elk calf 
category may not rehabilitate elk calves on 
properties licensed for farmed cervids. 

(5) No elk calf shall be possessed until the 
applicant has constructed or acquired an 
enclosure for keeping elk calves that complies 
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a 
representative of the Commission. 

(6) Records of all elk calf rehabilitation shall be 
maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule .1406 
of this Section, and submitted to the 
Commission within 15 days of expiration of the 
license or prior to the request for reissuance of 
the license 

(m)  Black Bear Cubs. 
(1) Only individuals under a signed cooperative 

agreement with the Commission to meet 
conservation objectives shall be authorized to 
rehabilitate black bear cubs. 

(2) Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the 
Commission shall obtain a captivity license for 
rehabilitation with the black bear category. To 
become licensed to rehabilitate black bear cubs, 
an individual shall meet all the requirements of 
the captivity license for rehabilitation. 

(2) No black bear shall be possessed until the 
applicant has constructed or acquired an 
enclosure for keeping black bear that complies 
with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of 
this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a 
representative of the Commission. 

(n)  Rabies Species. 
(1) Only individuals holding a captivity license for 

rehabilitation with the rabies species category 
may possess, rehabilitate, or release rabies 
species. To become licensed to rehabilitate 
rabies species, an individual shall meet all 
requirements of the general captivity license for 
rehabilitation and shall: 
(A) have held an active rehabilitation 

license within or outside of the State 
for at least the previous three years and 
have rehabilitated during that time; 

(B) certify 12 hours of rabies or rabies 
species-specific training or a 
combination thereof; 

(C) certify up-to-date rabies immunization 
in accordance with current Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices 
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of the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention at www.CDC.gov for any 
rehabilitator, staff member or 
volunteer, who may come in contact 
with rabies species. Proof of 
immunization to demonstrate that the 
vaccine was administered shall be 
provided upon the request of the 
Commission or authorized 
representative and shall be kept at the 
license holder's facility; 

(D) provide the name and contact 
information of a North Carolina 
licensed veterinarian with whom the 
rehabilitator has consulted and who 
agrees to provide necessary medical 
treatment to the rabies species. 
Contact information for the 
veterinarian shall be posted at the 
facility where the rabies species are 
being rehabilitated; 

(E) certify notification to the appropriate 
animal control authority and local 
health department prior to making 
application to the Commission, to 
inform them of their anticipated 
activities and location. Contact 
information for these agencies shall be 
posted at the facility where the rabies 
species are being rehabilitated. 

(F) have separate facilities from non-
rabies species adequate for the species 
to be rehabilitated. Enclosures within 
the facility shall prevent escape of the 
animal and exposure to people, pets, 
livestock, and other captive or free-
ranging wildlife. Exterior caging shall 
be locked and surrounded by double 
fencing or a solid wall barrier; and 

(G) coordinate with appropriate local 
health department regarding 
euthanasia and testing of rabies 
species. A written protocol for testing 
shall be posted at the facility and made 
available for inspection by the 
Commission upon request. 

(2) Except for bats, rehabilitation and release of 
rabies species is not authorized in counties 
where the United States Department of 
Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health 
Inspection Service Oral Rabies Vaccination 
(ORV) program is conducted, as specified by 
the United States Department of Agriculture-
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service at 
www.aphis.usda.gov. 

(3) Except as otherwise specified in this Section, 
rabies species shall not be removed from their 
containment except for treatment, release, 
maintenance of the enclosure, or euthanasia. 

(4) Rehabilitated rabies species must be released in 
either the county where they were rehabilitated 
or the county where they were found. 

(5) All rabies species shall be considered 
potentially infected with the rabies virus. If any 
human or domestic animal has been scratched, 
bitten, or exposed to saliva, the fluid that 
surrounds the brain and spinal cord, or brain 
and spinal cord material from any rabies 
species, the license holder shall contact the 
local Health Department immediately to report 
the incident. The local Health Department may 
require euthanasia of the animal and submission 
of the brain for rabies testing. Rehabilitators 
shall abide by all requests made by authorized 
public health department personnel, animal 
control, or Commission personnel regarding 
disposition of the animal. No rabies species that 
has scratched or bitten a human or domestic 
animal or dies in captivity can be released or 
disposed of until the local Health Department 
investigates the situation to determine if testing 
is necessary. 

(6) Records of all rabies species rehabilitation shall 
be maintained on a form, as described in Rule 
.1406 of this Section, and submitted to the 
Commission within 15 days of expiration of the 
license or prior to the request for reissuance of 
the license. 

 
Authority G.S. 106-549.97(b); 113-134; 113-272.5; 113-274. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 
15A NCAC 10D .0201-.0203, .0206, .0208, .0210, .0211, .0213-
.0222, .0224, .0227, .0228, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0241, .0245-
.0252, .0254-.0259, .0261, .0267, .0270-.0272, .0275, .0277-
.0279, .0282-.0286, .0288, .0292, .0293 and amend the rule cited 
as 15A NCAC 10D .0103. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2022 
 
Date:  January 11, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  New Bern, NC (Courthouse, room 4) 302 Broad St, 
New Bern, NC. 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 13, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Asheboro, NC (Southwest Randolph High School, 
Auditorium) 1641 Hopewell Friends Rd, Asheboro, NC 27205. 
Date:  January 18, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
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Location:  Marion, NC (McDowell Technical College) 54 
College Dr., Marion, NC 28752. The auditorium is located in the 
Cedar Building 
 
Date:  January 20, 2022 
Time:  7:00 p.m. 
Location:  Register Online at https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_xHH2QrJXSJig4fEH0-
0qgQ Webinar ID 160 983 2165 US: +1 669 254 5252 or 833 568 
8864 (Toll Free) 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  As part of the edits to 10D .0103 
during the annual cycle, the Commission is proposing to split out 
all of the game lands into their own individual rules. This will 
simplify any changes that need to be made to game lands in the 
future. These game lands have no changes and are pulled exactly 
as written from the current 10D .0103 temporary rule. 
 
10D .0103 is under legislative review. The temporary version and 
the version under review are both included in the annual cycle 
package. The agency is unsure which version will have to be 
amended at this time. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.org 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-
1850. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 

SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0103 HUNTING ON GAME LANDS 
GENERAL REGULATIONS REGARDING HUNTING ON 
GAME LANDS 
(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any 
designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or 
any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by 
the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge 
Parkway where it adjoins game lands listed in this Rule. 
(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game 
lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise 
prevent vehicles from using any roadway. 
(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the 
purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, 
screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated 
herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps or 
portable stands that are removed after use with no metal remaining 
in or attached to the tree. 
(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game 
lands only during the open season for game animals and game 
birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands 
or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific 
dates by this Chapter. Persons shall hunt only with weapons 
lawful for the open game animal or game bird seasons. On 
managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall: 

(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier 
than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates; 

(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates; 
(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 
(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and 
(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an 

internal combustion engine. 
(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons 

shall: 
(A) not enter the posted impoundment 

areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the 
permitted hunting dates; 

(B) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such 
hunting dates; 

(C) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.; 
(D) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; 

and 
(E) not operate any vessel or vehicle 

powered by an internal combustion 
engine. 

(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited: 
(A) hunting with a firearm between 9:30 

a.m. and 12:30 p.m. 
(B) the use of a firearm to take deer that 

are run or chased by dogs; 
(C) hunting with a firearm within 500 

yards of a place of religious worship, 
as defined by G.S. 14-54.1(b), or any 
accessory structure thereof, and 

(D) hunting migratory game birds. 
On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on 
managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to 
sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, 
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veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 
Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 
and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 
credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas from ½ hour before sunrise to 
sunset. Restrictions (1), (1)(A), (1)(C), (3), and (5)(1)(E) in this 
Paragraph shall apply. On waterfowl impoundments that have a 
posted "Scouting-only Zone," trapping during the trapping season 
and waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days are 
the only activities allowed on the portion of the impoundment 
outside of the posted "Scouting-only Zone." No person shall 
attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird or animal taken by 
severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess any bird or 
animal that has been so mutilated. No person shall place, or cause 
to be placed on any game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods 
without prior written authorization of the Commission or its 
agent. A decision to grant or deny authorization shall be made 
based on the best management practices for the wildlife species in 
question. No person shall take or attempt to take any game birds 
or game animals attracted to such foods. 
(e)  Definitions: 

(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" 
refers to a Game Land on which doves may be 
taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within 
the federally-announced season. 

(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken during the open seasons 
and hunting is limited to Mondays, 
Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, 
Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, except 
for game lands in this Rule that specifically 
allow hunting on Tuesdays, Thursday, and 
Fridays. Falconry may also be practiced on 
Sundays. These "open days" also apply to 
either-sex deer hunting seasons listed under 
each game land. Raccoon and opossum hunting 
may continue until 7:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, until 
7:00 a.m. on Thursdays, and until midnight on 
Saturdays. 

(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken on the open days of 
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 
Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. 

(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
game may be taken during the open season on 
Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, 
Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. 

(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per 
Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which 
any game may be taken during the open seasons 
and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, 
Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum 
hunting may continue until 7:00 a.m. on 

Wednesdays, 7:00 a.m. on Fridays, and 7:00 
a.m. on Mondays. 

(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken 
with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties 
where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A 
NCAC 10B .0109. 
(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following 
game lands: 

(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, 
Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter in that 
portion in Montgomery county, and 
deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season in those 
portions in Davidson, Davie, Rowan, 
and Stanly counties. 

(C) On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear 
hunting is archery only. 

(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County 
(A) Six Day per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 
hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the three hunting 
days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season. 

(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender 
counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and 

Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(5)(1) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(6)(2) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in 

Bladen County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 
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(C) Except for blackpowder firearms, 
rifles larger than .22 caliber rimfire 
shall not be used. 

(D) On the Singletary Lake Tract, the use 
of dogs for hunting deer and bear is 
prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting on the Singletary 
Lake Tract is by permit only. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(G) The use of dogs for pursuing or taking 
foxes shall be prohibited from 
February 15 through August 1. 

(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick 
County 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(9)(3) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 
hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days of the second week of the 
December Bear Season. If any of these 
days falls on a Tuesday, Friday or 
Saturday, bear hunting is allowed on 
those days. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and 

Wilkes Counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 

the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 
Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game 
Lands in Robeson County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(13)(4) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, 
Granville, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 
Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl 
impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting 
after November 1. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(G) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on that portion west of NC 
50 and south of Falls Lake. 

(H) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 
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the open days of the applicable 
seasons for game birds and game 
animals. On designated bicycle riding 
areas, the use of bicycles is allowed 
from May 15 through August 31, and 
on Sundays only from September 1 
through May 14. 

(I) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(J) Camping is allowed at any time in the 
designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail 
Camping Area and shall not exceed a 
maximum stay of two consecutive 
nights. Campfires are prohibited in 
this camping area. 

(14)(5) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County: 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in 

Pender County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Turkey Hunting is by permit only on 
that portion known as the Roan Island 
Tract. 

(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the portion of the game 
land that is west of the Black River, 
north of Roan Island, east of Lyon 
Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and 
south of NC 210 to the Black River. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(D) Bear hunting on the Salters Creek 
Tract is by permit only. 

(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in 
Caswell County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is allowed only 
during June, July, and August, and on 
Sundays during the remainder of the 
year except during open turkey and 
deer seasons. Horseback riding is 
allowed only on roads opened to 
vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails that are posted for 
equestrian use. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The area encompassed by the 
following roads is permit-only for all 
quail and woodcock hunting, and all 
bird dog training: From Yanceyville 
south on NC 62 to the intersection of 
SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the 
intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 
1156 to the intersection of SR 1783, 
east on SR 1783 to the intersection of 
NC 62, north on NC 62 to the 
intersection of SR 1736, east on SR 
1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, 
east on SR 1730 to NC 86, north on 
NC 86 to NC 62. 

(E) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 
by permit only after November 1. 

(F) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(G) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell 
Shooting Range. 

(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) Horseback riding is allowed only 

during June, July, and August, and on 
Sundays during the remainder of the 
year except during open turkey and 
deer seasons. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, 
and Hertford counties. 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
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(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear hunting is restricted to the first 
three hunting days during the 
November bear season and the first 
three hunting days during the second 
week of the December bear season 
except that portion of Chowan Swamp 
Game Land in Gates County that is 
east of Highway 158/13, south of 
Highway 158, west of Highway 32, 
and north of Catherine Creek and the 
Chowan River where the bear season 
is the same as the season dates for the 
Gates County bear season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
during May 16 through August 31 and 
on Sundays only September 1 through 
May 15 on those roads that are open to 
vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails posted for equestrian 
use. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus 
County. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract 
shall be by permit only. 

(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and 
Jones counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
day in October through the end of all 
waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting 
from designated Disabled Sportsmen 
blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl 
Impoundment is by permit only. 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only for the 
first two open days of dove season on 
posted areas. During the rest of dove 
season, no permit is required to hunt 
doves. 

(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck 
County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Permanent waterfowl blinds in 

Currituck Sound on these game lands 
shall be hunted by permit only from 
November 1 through the end of all 
waterfowl seasons. 

(C) Licensed hunting guides may 
accompany the permitted individual or 
party provided the guides do not use a 
firearm. 

(D) The boundary of the game land shall 
extend 5 yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(E) Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl 
hunting by permitted waterfowl 
hunters on the day of their hunt. 

(F) No screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 
attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(G) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 
days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(25)(6) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer hunting is by permit only. 
(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on those areas posted for equestrian 
use. People age 16 or older horseback 
riding on this game land must possess 
a Game Lands license. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) No hunting is allowed on posted parts 
of bombing range. 
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(D) The use and training of dogs is 
prohibited from March 1 through June 
30. 

(27)(7) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson 
and Transylvania counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) The training and use of dogs for 

hunting is prohibited except by special 
hunt permit holders during scheduled 
permit hunts. 

(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren 
counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and 
Pamlico counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 
Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
season day in October through the end 
of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl 
hunting is by permit only on the 
following waterfowl impoundments: 
Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, 
Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith 
Creek, and Hobucken. 

(E) On Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek 
Waterfowl Impoundments all 

activities, except waterfowl hunting 
on designated waterfowl hunting days 
and trapping during the trapping 
season, are restricted to the posted 
Scouting-only Zone during the period 
November 1 through March 15. 

(F) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 
Parker Farm Tract is restricted from 
September 1 through January 1 and 
April 1 through May 15 to individuals 
that possess a valid hunting 
opportunity permit. 

(H) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort 
County portion north of NC 33 except 
for that portion east of Smith Creek 
and south of Campbell Creek. 

(I) Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and 

Polk counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(33)(8) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) On that portion north of Big 
Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 
and west of Green Swamp Road, 
hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(D) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting is prohibited on that portion of 
the game land that is north of Big 
Macedonia Road, east of Makatoka 
Road, south of Little Macedonia Road, 
and west of Green Swamp Road. 

(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 
impoundments shall be taken only on 
the following days: 
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(i) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; and 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
season. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 
areas. 

(E) Bear may only be taken the first three 
hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season, except for that 
portion designated as bear sanctuary. 

(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and 
Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on the 
following days: 
(i) Tuesdays, Fridays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds shall be prohibited. 

(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 
except on those areas posted as an 
archery zone. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(G) Horseback riding is prohibited. 

(36)(9) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in 
Transylvania County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season 

(37)(10) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- 
hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(38)(11) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on the 
following days: 

(i) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
designated and posted as camping 
areas. 

(E) On that portion north of the Bear 
Garden Road, west of Shaw Road to 
Baby Branch, east of the Northeast 
Cape Fear River, south of NC 53 and 
west of NC 50, deer hunting and bear 
hunting are permit only. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer and 
bear is prohibited: 
(i) all open days on that portion 

of the game land that is south 
of Baby Branch extending 
west to Stag Park Road, west 
of Shaw Road, north of 
Meeks Road extending west 
to Stag Park Road and east of 
Stag Park Road; and 

(ii) on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 
Fridays, with the exception 
of Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's days, and 
except for the area north of 
Bear Garden Road, west of 
Shaw Road to Baby Branch, 
east of the Northeast Cape 
Fear River, south of NC 53 
and west of NC 50, where the 
use of dogs for deer and bear 
hunting is by permit only. 

(G) Hunting and vehicular access on the 
Pender 4 Tract is restricted from 
September 1 to the last day of 
February and April 1 to May 15 to 
individuals that possess valid hunting 
opportunity permits, unless otherwise 
authorized by the Wildlife Resources 
Commission. 

(H) Hunters who possess a Disabled 
Access Permit may operate an All 
Terrain Vehicle on and within 100 
yards of trails designated for Disabled 
Sportsman Access. 

(I) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
on the Holly Shelter Shooting Range. 
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(J) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 
for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(39) Hyco Game land in Person County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(40)(12) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County 

- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 
(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) During permitted deer hunts, deer of 

either sex may be taken by permit 
holders. 

(C) Entry on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is prohibited October 1 
through March 31, except by lawful 
waterfowl hunting permit holders and 
only on those days written on the 
permits. 

(D) The use or construction of permanent 
hunting blinds is prohibited. 

(E) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas is limited to August 31 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14. 

(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, 
Orange, and Wake counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Waterfowl may be taken only on: 
(i) Mondays, Wednesdays, and 

Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
and New Year's Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Horseback riding riding, including all 
equine species, is prohibited except 
allowed only on those areas posted as 
American Tobacco Trail and other 
areas posted for equestrian use. Unless 
otherwise posted, horseback riding is 
permitted on posted portions of the 
American Tobacco Trail anytime the 
trail is open for use. On all other trails 
posted for equestrian use, horseback 
riding is allowed seven days per week 
from May 16 through August 31, only 
during June, July, and August, and on 
Sundays only from September 1 

through May15. the remainder of the 
year except during open turkey and 
deer seasons. People age 16 or older 
must shall obtain who ride horseback 
on trails occurring entirely within the 
game land boundaries shall possess a 
Game Lands license. license prior to 
engaging in horseback riding on any 
area other than the American Tobacco 
Trail. 

(E) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, 

except on those areas posted as an 
Archery Zone. 

(G) The use of bicycles is restricted to 
designated areas, except that this 
restriction does not apply to hunters 
engaged in the act of hunting during 
the open days of the applicable 
seasons for game birds and game 
animals. 

(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and 
Columbus counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(44)(13) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited. 
(C) Use of blackpowder firearms, 

shotguns, or rifles for hunting deer 
during the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season is prohibited. 

(D) Tree stands shall not be left overnight; 
and no screws, nails, or other objects 
penetrating the bark shall be used to 
attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 
open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers season. 

(F) Hunting on posted waterfowl 
impoundments is by permit only. 

(G) The use of firearms for hunting wild 
turkey is prohibited. 

(45)(14) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and 
Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer on the 

Godley Tract is prohibited. 
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(E) Waterfowl hunting on posted 
waterfowl impoundments is by permit 
only. 

(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico 

County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer with 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken on all 

of the open days of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in 
Edgecombe and Halifax counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 
(i) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and 

Saturdays applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(ii) Christmas and New Year's 
Days; and 

(iii) the opening and closing days 
of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, 
Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and 
Transylvania counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season in 
that portion located in Transylvania 
County. 

(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain 
counties. 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Horseback riding is prohibited except 

on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(C) On posted dove fields, dove hunting 
on the opening day of dove season is 
by permit only. 

(54)(15) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Camping is allowed any time within 
100 yards of the Neuse River on that 
portion of the game land that lies west 
of NC-43. 

(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell 
counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 through the Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
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(H) On Lake Upchurch, the following 
activities are prohibited: 
(i) Operating any vessel or 

vehicle powered by an 
internal combustion engine; 
and 

(ii) Swimming. 
(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(57) North River Game Land in Camden and 
Currituck counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(D) Hunting on the posted waterfowl 
impoundment is by permit only. 

(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in 
Currituck County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The boundary of the Game Land shall 
extend five yards from the edge of the 
marsh or shoreline. 

(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, 
Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in 
that portion in Anson and Richmond 
counties North of US-74. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(E) Horseback riding is allowed only on 

roads opened to vehicular traffic and 
only during the following times: 
(i) during June, July, and 

August; and 
(ii) on Sundays during the other 

months or parts of months 
when deer and turkey seasons 
are closed. 

(F) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
hunting shall be prohibited on that 
portion south of US-74. 

(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through January 1. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, 

Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, 
Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, 
Watauga, and Yancey counties 
(A) Six Seven Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited on the 
Black Bear (McDowell County), 
Linville River (Burke County), and 
Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, 
McDowell, and Mitchell counties). 

(D) The use of bicycles shall be restricted 
to designated trails on the Linville 
River Tract (Burke County). Persons 
engaged in the act of hunting on the 
Linville River Tract during any open 
day of an applicable season for game 
birds or game animals shall be exempt 
from this restriction. 

(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails from May 16 
through August 31 and Sundays from 
September 1 through October 31. All 
horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through May 15. 

(63)(16) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(64)(17) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land 
in Wilkes County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Wednesday thereafter. 

(C) Bear hunting is prohibited. 
(65)(18) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and 

Harnett counties 
(A) Hunting is by permit only. 
(B) Swimming is prohibited on the area. 

(66)(19) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, 
Martin, and Northampton counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by Permit 

only. 
(B) Vehicles are prohibited on roads or 

trails except those operated on 
Commission business or by permit 
holders. 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
36:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2021 

955 

(C) Camping is restricted to September 1 
through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas, provided, however, 
that camping is allowed at any time 
within 100 yards of the Roanoke River 
on the state-owned portion of the game 
land. 

(D) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(67)(20) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare 

County-Hunting is by permit only. 
(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County 

(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(69)(21) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken with 

archery equipment on open hunting 
days from the Saturday on or nearest 
September 10 to the fourth Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken with 
blackpowder firearms on open hunting 
days beginning the fourth Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter. 

(D) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
consists of the open hunting days from 
the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 

(E) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season. 

(F) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited. 

(G) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(H) Taking fox squirrels is prohibited. 
(I) Target shooting is prohibited. 

(70)(22) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - 
Hunting is by permit only. 

(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, 

Richmond, and Scotland counties 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert 

Gordon Field Trial Grounds from 
October 22 through March 31 except 
as follows: 

(i) deer of either-sex may be 
taken with archery 
equipment on all the open 
days of the archery season 
through the fourth Friday 
before Thanksgiving Day; 
with blackpowder firearms 
and archery equipment all the 
open days of the 
blackpowder firearms season 
through the third Wednesday 
before Thanksgiving Day; 
and only deer with visible 
antlers may be taken with all 
legal weapons from the 
second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(ii) dove may be taken all open 
days from the opening day of 
the dove season through the 
third Saturday thereafter; 

(iii) squirrel (gray and fox) may 
be taken all the open days 
from the second Saturday 
before Thanksgiving Day 
through the Saturday 
following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(iv) rabbit may be taken all open 
days from the second 
Saturday preceding 
Thanksgiving Day through 
the Saturday following 
Thanksgiving Day; 

(v) waterfowl may be taken on 
open days during any 
waterfowl season; 

(vi) wild animals and wild birds 
may be taken as part of a 
Disabled Sportsmen Program 
Permit Hunt; and 

(vii) raccoon and opossum may be 
taken on open days from 
sunrise Monday on or nearest 
October 15 through the last 
day of February. 

(C) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 
is the open hunting days from the 
second Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day through the third Saturday after 
Thanksgiving Day except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 

(D) The archery season is all open days 
from the Saturday on or nearest to 
Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day and, except on the 
J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, 



 PROPOSED RULES 
 

 
36:11 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER DECEMBER 1, 2021 

956 

the third Monday after Thanksgiving 
Day through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on all open hunting days 
during the archery season, by permit 
during the Deer with Visible antlers 
season, and the blackpowder firearms 
season as stated in this Subparagraph. 
Only deer with visible antlers may be 
taken from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(E) Blackpowder firearms season is all the 
open days from the fourth Saturday 
preceding Thanksgiving Day through 
the Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter and, except on the J. Robert 
Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day 
through January 1. Deer of either sex 
may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on all open hunting days 
during the blackpowder firearms 
season and by permit during the Deer 
With Visible Antlers season. Only 
deer with visible antlers may be taken 
from the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. 

(F) Either-sex deer hunting during the 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season is 
by permit only. 

(G) In addition to the regular hunting days, 
waterfowl may be taken on the 
opening and closing days of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(H) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(I) Horseback riding on field trial grounds 

from October 22 through March 31 is 
prohibited unless participating in 
authorized field trials. 

(J) Camping and the presence of campers 
and tents in designated Hunter 
Camping Areas are limited to 
September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 
14. 

(K) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education 
Complex. 

(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin 
Counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(74)(23) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and 
Madison counties. 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer with Visible Antlers season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(D) Dogs shall only be trained on 
Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays 
and only as allowed in 15A NCAC 
10D .0102(f). 

(E) Dove hunting is by permit only from 
the opening day through the second 
Saturday of dove season. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(75)(24) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- 

hunting is by permit only. 
(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, 

Nash, and Warren counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(E) Target Shooting is prohibited. 
(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, 

Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) The Deer With Visible Antlers season 

for deer consists of the open hunting 
days from the Monday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the third 
Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of 
either sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on open days beginning the 
Saturday on or nearest September 10 
to the third Saturday thereafter, and 
Monday on or nearest October 15 to 
the Saturday before Thanksgiving 
Day. Deer with visible antlers may be 
taken with archery equipment the 
Monday immediately following the 
closing of the Deer With Visible 
Antlers Season, as described in this 
Part, through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with blackpowder 
firearms on open days beginning the 
Monday on or nearest October 1 
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through the Saturday of the second 
week thereafter. 

(C) Deer of either sex may be taken the 
first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(D) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails during the 
following dates: 
(i) January 2 through March 31; 
(ii) May 16 through August 31; 
(iii) Sundays only - April 1 

through May 15; and 
(iv) Sundays only - September 1 

through January 1. 
(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County 

(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 
prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, 
and Fridays. 

(D) Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 
(E) Waterfowl on posted waterfowl 

impoundments may be taken only on 
the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(F) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(G) Geocaching is restricted to closed days 

for taking bear, deer, turkey, and 
waterfowl. 

(79)(25) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and 
Cumberland counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt 
or trapping days except for: 
(i) hunters or trappers holding 

special hunt or trapping 
permits; and 

(ii) persons using Campground 
Road to access Suggs Mill 
Pond Lake at the dam. 

(D) During the period of November 1 
through January 31, except on 
Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs 

Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary 
Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting 
only by waterfowl hunters possessing 
a valid and current Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by the 
Wildlife Resources Commission 
pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 

(E) During the period of November 1 
through March 15, the use of vessels 
on managed waterfowl impoundments 
is limited to waterfowl hunting only by 
waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 
and current Hunting Opportunity 
Permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission pursuant to 
G.S. 113-264(d). 

(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and 
Brunswick counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Target shooting is prohibited. 
(81)(26) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County 

(A) Hunting is by permit only 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited 

(82)(27) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County 
- hunting and trapping is by permit only. 

(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe 
County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the first Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany 

and Wilkes counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31, and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land 
shall possess a Game Lands license. 

(D) The maximum period of consecutive 
overnight camping at any designated 
campground is 14 days within any 30 
day period from May 1 through 
August 31. After 14 consecutive days 
of camping all personal belongings 
must be removed from the game land. 

(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County 
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(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(D) The use of dogs for hunting deer is 

prohibited. 
(E) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(F) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and 
Transylvania counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Horseback riding is prohibited except 
on designated trails May 16 through 
August 31 and all horseback riding is 
prohibited from September 1 through 
May 15. 

(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, 
Montgomery, and Randolph counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open day of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season through 
the second Friday thereafter. 

(C) On the posted waterfowl 
impoundment, waterfowl may be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Mondays, Wednesdays and 
Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(D) Target shooting is prohibited, except 
at the Flintlock Valley Shooting 
Range. 

(88)(28) Vance Game Land in Vance County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) The use of dogs, centerfire rifles, and 
handguns for hunting deer is 
prohibited on the Nutbush Peninsula 
tract. 

(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and 
Washington counties 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Bear may only be taken the first three 
hunting days during the November 
Bear Season and the first three hunting 
days during the second week of the 
December Bear Season. 

(90)(29) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort 
County 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(91)(30) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow County 
(A) Three Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken all the 

open days of the applicable Deer With 
Visible Antlers Season. 

(C) Except as provided in Part (D) of this 
Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted 
waterfowl impoundments shall be 
taken only on the following days: 
(i) the opening and closing days 

of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons; 

(ii) Thanksgiving, Christmas, 
New Year's, and Martin 
Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(iii) Tuesdays and Saturdays of 
the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 

(D) Beginning on the first open waterfowl 
season day in October through the end 
of all waterfowl seasons, a permit is 
required for hunting posted waterfowl 
impoundments. 

(E) The Huggins Tract and Morton Tracts 
have the following restrictions: 
(i) access on Hargett Avenue 

and Sloan Farm Road 
requires a valid Hunting 
Opportunity Permit issued by 
the Wildlife Resources 
Commission pursuant to G.S. 
113-264(d); 

(ii) hunting is by permit only; 
and 

(iii) the use of dogs for hunting 
deer is prohibited. 

(F) Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(G) Target Shooting is prohibited. 

(92)(31) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and 
Pender counties 
(A) Hunting and trapping is by permit 

only. 
(B) Camping is restricted to September 1 

through the last day of February and 
March 31 through May 14 in areas 
both designated and posted as 
camping areas. 

(C) Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with 
dogs for the purposes of training or 
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hunting is prohibited on the Long 
Ridge Tract. 

(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood 
County 
(A) Six Days per Week Area 
(B) Deer of either sex may be taken the 

first open Saturday of the applicable 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 

(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on 
the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications 
shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of 
September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits shall be 
issued by random computer selection, shall be mailed to the 
permittees prior to the hunt, and are nontransferable. A hunter 
making a kill shall validate the kill and report the kill to a wildlife 
cooperator agent or by phone. 
(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting 
except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current 
permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission: 

(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke 
River Wetlands; 

(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National 
Wildlife Refuge; 

(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game 
Lands; 

(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl 
Refuge; 

(5)(4) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts 
of bombing range posted against hunting); 

(6)(5) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game 
Lands; and 

(7)(6) Henderson and Transylvania counties—
DuPont State Forest Game Lands. 

(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie 
County requires written permission from the Commission. 
Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the 
Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for 
establishing the Waterfowl Refuge and the person requesting 
entry can demonstrate a valid need or the person is a contractor or 
agent of the Commission conducting official business. "Valid 
need" includes issues of access to private property, scientific 
investigations, surveys, or other access to conduct activities in the 
public interest. 
(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open 
season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner 
of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to 
hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of dogs 
for hunting deer or bear, and during the applicable deer or bear 
season. 
(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the 
Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any 
game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt 
permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in 
Paragraph (h) of this Rule. 
(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared 
by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, 
veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed 
Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard 
and Reserves on active duty other than for training, with valid 

credentials may hunt on game lands and impoundments not 
designated as permit-only areas. 
(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The 
Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the 
disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may 
schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates 
and species to be taken shall be identified on each permit. If the 
hunt has a limited weapon choice, the allowed weapons shall be 
stated on each permit. 
(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine 
species. 
(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on 
Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, 
the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

SECTION .0200 – USE OF GAME LANDS 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0201 ALLIGATOR RIVER GAME 
LAND IN TYRELL COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Day per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0202 ANGOLA BAY GAME LAND IN 
DUPLIN AND PENDER COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Day per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0203 BACHELOR BAY GAME LAND 
IN BERTIE AND WASHINGTON COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0206 BRINKLEYVILLE GAME LAND 
IN HALIFAX COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
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(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0208 BUCKRIDGE GAME LAND IN 
TYRELL COUNTY 
(a)  Three Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season. 
(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0210 BULLARD AND BRACNH 
HUNTING PRESERVE GAME LANDS IN ROBESON 
COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0211 BUTNER-FALLS OF NEUSE 
GAME LAND IN DURHAM, GRANVILLE, AND WAKE 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

On the posted waterfowl impoundments a special permit is 
required for all waterfowl hunting after November 
(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(f)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas 
posted as an archery zone. 
(g)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on that portion 
west of NC 50 and south of Falls Lake. 
(h)  The use of bicycles is restricted to designated areas, except 
that this restriction does not apply to hunters engaged in the act of 
hunting during the open days of the applicable seasons for game 
birds and game animals. On designated bicycle riding areas, the 
use of bicycles is allowed from May 15 through August 31, and 
on Sundays only from September 1 through May 14. 

(i)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated 
Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last 
day of February and March 31 through May 14. 
(j)  Camping is allowed at any time in the designated Mountains-
to-Sea Trail Camping Area and shall not exceed a maximum stay 
of two consecutive nights. Campfires are prohibited in this 
camping area. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0213 CAPE FEAR RIVER WETLANDS 
GAME LAND IN PENDER COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Turkey Hunting is by permit only on that portion known as 
the Roan Island Tract. 
(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on the portion 
of the game land that is west of the Black River, north of Roan 
Island, east of Lyon Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and south 
of NC 210 to the Black River. 
(e)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(f)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0214 CARTERET COUNTY GAME 
LAND IN CARTERET COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited. 
(d)  Bear hunting on the Salters Creek Tract is by permit only. 
(e)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0215 R. WAYNE BAILEY-CASWELL 
GAME LAND IN CASWELL COUNTY 
(a)  Three Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Wednesday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed 
seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on 
Sundays only, September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding is 
allowed only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and on those 
gated roads and trails that are posted for equestrian use. People 
age 16 or older horseback riding on this game land shall possess 
a Game Lands license. 
(d)  The area encompassed by the following roads is permit-only 
for all quail and woodcock hunting, and all bird dog training: 
From Yanceyville south on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 1746, 
west on SR 1746 to the intersection of SR 1156, south on SR 1156 
to the intersection of SR 1783, east on SR 1783 to the intersection 
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of NC 62, north on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 1736, east on 
SR 1736 to the intersection of SR 1730, east on SR 1730 to NC 
86, north on NC 86 to NC 62. 
(e)  On the posted waterfowl impoundment, waterfowl hunting is 
by permit only after November 1. 
(f)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated 
Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last 
day of February and March 31 through May 14. 
(g)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. Wayne Bailey-
Caswell Shooting Range. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0216 CHATHAM GAME LAND IN 
CHATHAM COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed 
seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on 
Sundays only September 1 through May 15. 
(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0217 CHOWAN GAME LAND IN 
CHOWAN COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0218 CHOWAN SWAMP GAME LAND 
IN BERTIE, GATES, AND HERTFORD COUNTIES 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear hunting is restricted to the first Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the November bear season and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the December bear season except that 
portion of Chowan Swamp Game Land in Gates County that is 
east of Highway 158/13, south of Highway 158, west of Highway 
32, and north of Catherine Creek and the Chowan River where the 
bear season is the same as the season dates for the Gates County 
bear season. 
(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(e)  Horseback riding is prohibited except during May 16 through 
August 31 and on Sundays only September 1 through May 15 on 
those roads that are open to vehicular traffic and on those gated 
roads and trails posted for equestrian use. 
(f)  Target shooting is prohibited. 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0219 COLD MOUNTAIN GAME LAND 
IN HAYWOOD COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. 
(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0220 COLUMBUS COUNTY GAME 
LAND IN COLUMBUS COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract shall be by permit only. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0221 CROATAN GAME LAND IN 
CARTERET, CRAVEN, AND JONES COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 

(d)  Beginning on the first open waterfowl day in October through 
the end of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting from 
designated Disabled Sportsmen blinds on the Catfish Lake 
Waterfowl Impoundment is by permit only. 
(e)  Dove hunting is by permit only for the first two open days of 
dove season on posted areas. During the rest of dove season, no 
permit is required to hunt doves. 
(f)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0222 CURRITUCK BANKS GAME 
LAND IN CURRITUCK COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Permanent waterfowl blinds in Currituck Sound on these 
game lands shall be hunted by permit only from November 1 
through the end of all waterfowl seasons. 
(c)  Licensed hunting guides may accompany the permitted 
individual or party provided the guides do not use a firearm. 
(d)  The boundary of the game land shall extend 5 yards from the 
edge of the marsh or shoreline. 
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(e)  Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl hunting by permitted 
waterfowl hunters on the day of their hunt. 
(f)  No screws, nails, or other objects penetrating the bark shall be 
used to attach a tree stand or blind to a tree. 
(g)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers season. 
(h)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0224 DARE GAME LAND IN DATE 
AND HYDE COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  No hunting is allowed on posted parts of bombing range. 
(d)  The use and training of dogs is prohibited from March 1 
through June 30. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0227 ELK KNB GAME ALND IN 
WATAUGA COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first 
Friday thereafter. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0228 EMBRO GAME LAND IN 
HALIFAX AND WARREN COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0232 GULL ROCK GAME LAND IN 
HYDE COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken 
only on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; and 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl season. 

(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas designated and 
posted as camping areas. 
(e)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0233 HARRIS GAME LAND IN 
CHATHAM, HARNETT, AND WAKE COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken 
only on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; and 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl season. 

(d)  The use or construction of permanent hunting blinds shall be 
prohibited. 
(e)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas 
posted as an archery zone. 
(f)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(g)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0237 HYCO GAME LAND IN PERSON 
COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0241 JUNIPER CREEK GAME LAND 
IN BRUNSWICK AND COLUMBUS COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
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15A NCAC 10D .0245 LEE GAME LAND IN LEE 
COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0246 LIGHT GROUND POCOSIN 
GAME LAND IN PAMLICO COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0247 LINWOOD GAME LAND IN 
DAVIDSON COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0248 LOWER FISHING CREEK 
GAME LAND IN EDGECOMBE AND HALIFAX 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited. 
(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0249 MAYO GAME LAND IN PERSON 
COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on: 

(1) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Christmas and New Year's Days; and 
(3) the opening and closing days of the applicable 

waterfowl seasons. 
(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0250 MITCHELL RIVER GAME 
LAND IN SURRY COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Tuesday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0251 NANTAHALA GAME LAND IN 
CHEROKEE, CLAY, GRAHAM, JACKSON, MACON, 
SWAIN, AND TRANSYLVANIA COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season in that portion 
located in Transylvania County. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0252 NEEDMORE GAME LAND IN 
MACON AND SWAIN COUNTIES. 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. 
(c)  On posted dove fields, dove hunting on the opening day of 
dove season is by permit only. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0254 NEW LAKE GAME LAND IN 
HYDE AND TYRRELL COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0255 NICHOLSON CREEK GAME 
LAND IN HOKE COUNTY 
(a)  Three Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken with archery equipment on 
open hunting days from the Saturday on or nearest September 10 
through the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day. 
(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken with blackpowder firearms 
on open hunting days beginning the fourth Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the Wednesday of the second week 
thereafter. 
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(d)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season consists of the open 
hunting days from the second Saturday before Thanksgiving Day 
through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day. 
(e)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(f)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited. 
(g)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(h)  On Lake Upchurch, the following activities are prohibited: 

(1) Operating any vessel or vehicle powered by an 
internal combustion engine; and 

(2) Swimming. 
(3) Target shooting is prohibited. 

 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0256 NORTH RIVER GAME LAND IN 
CAMDEN AND CURRITUCK COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  The boundary of the Game Land shall extend five yards from 
the edge of the marsh or shoreline. 
(d)  Hunting on the posted waterfowl impoundment is by permit 
only. 
(e)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0257 NORTHWEST RIVER MARSH 
GAME LAND IN CURRITUCK COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  The boundary of the Game Land shall extend five yards from 
the edge of the marsh or shoreline. 
(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0258 PEE DEE RIVER GAME LAND 
IN ANSON, MONTGOMERY, RICHMOND, AND 
STANLY COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in that portion in Anson 
and Richmond counties North of US-74. 
(d)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(e)  Horseback riding is allowed seven days per week from May 
16 through August 31, and on Sundays only September 1 through 
May 15 only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and gated roads 
and trails posted for equestrian use. 
(f)  Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for the purposes of 
training or hunting shall be prohibited on that portion south of US-
74. 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0259 PERKINS GAME LAND IN 
DAVIE COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Tuesday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited from November 1 through 
January 1. 
(d)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0261 POND MOUNTAIN GAME LAND 
IN ASHE COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
from May 16 through August 31 and Sundays from September 1 
through October 31. All horseback riding is prohibited from 
November 1 through May 15. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0267 ROBESON GAME LAND IN 
ROBESON COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0270 SAMPSON GAME LAND IN 
SAMPSON COUNTY 
(a)  Four Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0271 SANDHILLS GAME LAND IN 
HOKE, MOORE, RICHMOND, AND SCOTLAND 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Three Days per Week Area 
(b)  Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial 
Grounds from October 22 through March 31 except as follows: 

(1) deer of either-sex may be taken with archery 
equipment on all the open days of the archery 
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season through the fourth Friday before 
Thanksgiving Day; with blackpowder firearms 
and archery equipment all the open days of the 
blackpowder firearms season through the third 
Wednesday before Thanksgiving Day; and only 
deer with visible antlers may be taken with all 
legal weapons from the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the Saturday 
following Thanksgiving Day; 

(2) dove may be taken all open days from the 
opening day of the dove season through the 
third Saturday thereafter; 

(3) squirrel (gray and fox) may be taken all the 
open days from the second Saturday before 
Thanksgiving Day through the Saturday 
following Thanksgiving Day; 

(4) rabbit may be taken all open days from the 
second Saturday preceding Thanksgiving Day 
through the Saturday following Thanksgiving 
Day; 

(5) waterfowl may be taken on open days during 
any waterfowl season; 

(6) wild animals and wild birds may be taken as 
part of a Disabled Sportsmen Program Permit 
Hunt; and 

(7) raccoon and opossum may be taken on open 
days from sunrise Monday on or nearest 
October 15 through the last day of February. 

(c)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season is the open hunting days 
from the second Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the 
third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day except on the J. Robert 
Gordon Field Trial Grounds. 
(d)  The archery season is all open days from the Saturday on or 
nearest to Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day 
and, except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third 
Monday after Thanksgiving Day through January 1. Deer of either 
sex may be taken with archery equipment on all open hunting days 
during the archery season, by permit during the Deer with Visible 
antlers season, and the blackpowder firearms season as stated in 
this Subparagraph. Only deer with visible antlers may be taken 
from the third Monday after Thanksgiving Day through January 
1. 
(e)  Blackpowder firearms season is all the open days from the 
fourth Saturday preceding Thanksgiving Day through the 
Wednesday of the second week thereafter and, except on the J. 
Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third Monday after 
Thanksgiving Day through January 1. Deer of either sex may be 
taken with blackpowder firearms on all open hunting days during 
the blackpowder firearms season and by permit during the Deer 
With Visible Antlers season. Only deer with visible antlers may 
be taken from the third Monday after Thanksgiving Day through 
January 1. 
(f)  Either-sex deer hunting during the Deer With Visible Antlers 
Season is by permit only. 
(g)  In addition to the regular hunting days, waterfowl may be 
taken on the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl 
seasons. 
(h)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 

(i)  Horseback riding on field trial grounds from October 22 
through March 31 is prohibited unless participating in authorized 
field trials. Horseback riding is allowed on the remainder of the 
Sandhills Game Land seven days per week on roads that are open 
to vehicular traffic and gated roads and trails posted for equestrian 
use. 
(j)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated 
Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last 
day of February and March 31 through May 14. 
(k)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the John F. Lentz 
Hunter Education Complex. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0272 SANDY CREEK GAME LAND IN 
NASH AND FRANKLIN COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited. 
(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0275 SHOCCO CREEK GAME LAND 
IN FRANKLIN, HALIFAX, NASH, AND WARREN 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0277 STONES CREEK GAME LAND 
IN ONSLOW COUNTY 
(a)  Six Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on Mondays, 
Wednesdays, and Fridays. 
(d)  Swimming in all lakes is prohibited. 
(e)  Waterfowl may be taken only on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 

(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons. 
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(f)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(g)  Geocaching is restricted to closed days for taking bear, deer, 
turkey, and waterfowl. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0278 SUGGS MILL POND GAME 
LAND IN BLADEN AND CUMBERLAND COUNTIES  
(a)  Hunting and trapping is by permit only. 
(b)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of 
February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated 
and posted as camping areas. 
(c)  Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt or trapping days except 
for: 

(1) hunters or trappers holding special hunt or 
trapping permits; and 

(2) persons using Campground Road to access 
Suggs Mill Pond Lake at the dam. 

(d)  During the period of November 1 through January 31, except 
on Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs Mill Pond Lake and Little 
Singletary Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting only by waterfowl 
hunters possessing a valid and current Hunting Opportunity 
Permit issued by the Wildlife Resources Commission pursuant to 
G.S. 113-264(d). 
(e)  During the period of November 1 through March 15, the use 
of vessels on managed waterfowl impoundments is limited to 
waterfowl hunting only by waterfowl hunters possessing a valid 
and current Hunting Opportunity Permit issued by the Wildlife 
Resources Commission pursuant to G.S. 113-264(d). 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0279 SUGGS SUTTON LAKE GAME 
LAND IN NEW HANOVER AND BRUNSWICK 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Target shooting is prohibited. 
(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0282 THREE TOP MOUNTAIN GAME 
LAND IN ASHE COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

15A NCAC 10D .0283 THURMOND CHATHAM GAME 
LAND IN ALLEGHANY AND WILKES COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or older 
horseback riding on this game land shall possess a Game Lands 
license. 
(d)  The maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at 
any designated campground is 14 days within any 30 day period 
from May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive days of 
camping all personal belongings must be removed from the game 
land. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0284 TILLERY GAME LAND IN 
HALIFAX COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited. 
(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited. 
(e)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only. 
(f)  Target Shooting is prohibited. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0285 TOXAWAY GAME LAND IN 
JACKSON AND TRANSYLVANIA COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails 
May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited 
from September 1 through May 15. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0286 UWHARRIE GAME LAND IN 
DAVIDSON, MONTGOMERY, AND RANDOLPH 
COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter. 
(c)  On the posted waterfowl impoundment, waterfowl may be 
taken only on the following days: 

(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable 
waterfowl seasons; 

(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and 
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(3) Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays of the 
applicable waterfowl seasons. 

(d)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the Flintlock Valley 
Shooting Range. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0288 VAN SWAMP GAME LAND IN 
BEAUFORT AND WASHINGTON COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and 
Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, 
Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0292 WILLIAM H. SILVER GAME 
LAND IN HAYWOOD COUNTY 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 
15A NCAC 10D .0293 YADKIN RIVER GAME LAND 
IN DAVIDSON, DAVIE, MONTGOMERY, ROWAN, AND 
STANLY COUNTIES 
(a)  Seven Days per Week Area 
(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the 
applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second 
Friday thereafter in that portion in Montgomery county, and deer 
of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer 
With Visible Antlers Season in those portions in Davidson, Davie, 
Rowan, and Stanly counties. 
(c)  On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear hunting is archery 
only. 
 
Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-264; 113-291.2; 113-291.5; 113-
296; 113-305. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 
15A NCAC 10F .0201. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  December 16, 2021 
Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Register online: https://ncwildlife-
org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_rQEorCCJTgqu3NHXE
1UNZA Webinar ID:  160 707 2608 US: +1 669 254 5252 or 833 
568 8864 (Toll Free) 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The PFD type code references 
must be removed to be in compliance with Title 33 of the Code of 
Federal Regulations, Subpart B Part 175. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 
1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 
regulations@ncwildlife.org 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 
 

SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER 
SAFETY 

 
SECTION .0200 - SAFETY EQUIPMENT AND 

ACCIDENT REPORTS 
 
15A NCAC 10F .0201 SAFETY EQUIPMENT 
(a)  All vessels subject to the rules of this Section shall meet the 
vessel equipment requirements set forth in G.S. 75A-6(n), 46 CFR 
25, and 33 CFR 175. 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175 are incorporated 
by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and 
can be found free of charge online at www.ecfr.gov. 
Notwithstanding the federal regulations incorporated in this 
Paragraph, Paragraphs (b) through (g) shall apply to vessels 
operating in State waters. To the extent these vessel equipment 
requirements conflict with the incorporated federal regulations, 
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federal regulations shall supersede any and all State laws or 
regulations. 
(b)  Personal flotation devices (PFDs) shall be required as follows: 

(1) No person may operate a vessel unless, for each 
person on the vessel, at least one Type I, II, or 
III U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD is 
on board and readily accessible. Any U.S. Coast 
Guard approved wearable PFD may be carried 
to meet the requirement, provided: 
(A) the approved label for the PFD 

indicates that the device is approved 
for the activity for which the vessel is 
being used; or 

(B) the PFD is used in accordance with the 
requirements on the approval label and 
with the requirements in its owner's 
manual. 

(2) No person shall operate a vessel 16 feet or more 
in length unless one type IV U.S. Coast Guard 
approved throwable PFD is on board and 
immediately available for use, in addition to the 
total number of PFDs required in Subparagraph 
(1) of this Paragraph. 

(3) No person shall operate a vessel while the 
vessel is underway with any child under 13 
years old aboard unless each child is: 
(A) wearing an appropriate PFD approved 

by the U.S. Coast Guard; 
(B) below decks; or 
(C) in an enclosed cabin. 
This Subparagraph shall not apply to a vessel 

that is registered as a commercial 
vessel. 

(4) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any 
PFD required under Subparagraph (1) of this 
Paragraph provided: 
(A) the approval label for the Type V PFD 

indicates that the device is approved 
for the activity for which the vessel is 
being used; or 

(B) the Type V PFD is used in accordance 
with the requirements on the approval 
label and with the requirements in its 
owner's manual. 

(5)(4) No person shall operate a vessel unless each 
required PFD is: 
(A) in serviceable condition; 
(B) of appropriate size and fit for the 

intended wearer; 
(C) United States Coast Guard approved; 

and 
(D) legibly marked with its approval 

number, as specified in 46 CFR 25 
Uninspected Vessels, Requirements 
and 33 CFR 175 Personal Flotation 
Devices. 

(6)(5) Exemptions shall apply as follows: 
(A) Canoes and kayaks 16 feet in length 

and over shall be exempted from the 

requirements for carriage of the 
additional Type IV U.S. Coast Guard 
approved throwable PFD as specified 
in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(B) Sailboards, surfboards, tubes, 
swimming rafts, inflatable toys, and 
similar devices used as water toys or 
swimming aids shall be exempted 
from the requirements for carriage of 
any PFD required under this 
Paragraph. 

(C) Manually propelled vessels such as 
racing shells, rowing sculls, racing 
canoes, and racing kayaks that are 
recognized by national and 
international racing associations for 
use in competitive racing, that are not 
designed to carry any equipment not 
solely for competitive racing, and in 
which all occupants with the with 
exception of a coxswain, if one is 
present, row, scull, or paddle, shall be 
exempted from the requirements for 
carriage of any type PFD required 
under this Paragraph. 

(c)  Fire Extinguishers shall be required as follows: 
(1) All motorboats shall carry at least the minimum 

number of USCG-approved hand portable fire 
extinguishers specified in this Rule if: 
(A) the motorboat has closed 

compartments under thwarts and seats 
in which portable fuel tanks may be 
stored; 

(B) the motorboat has double bottoms that 
are not sealed to the hull or that are not 
completely filled with flotation 
material; 

(C) the motorboat has closed living 
spaces; 

(D) the motorboat has closed stowage 
compartments in which combustible 
or flammable materials are stowed; 

(E) the motorboat has permanently 
installed fuel tanks; or 

(F) the motorboat is Class 2 or longer. 
(2) Class A and Class 1 Motorboats less than 26 

feet in length shall carry one Type B-I 
extinguisher. 

(3) Class 2 Motorboats shall carry two Type B-I 
extinguisers. 

(4) Class 3 Motorboats shall carry three Type B-I 
extinguisers. 

(5) One Type B-II hand held fire extinguisher may 
be substituted for two B-I hand portable fire 
extinguishers. A fixed fire extinguishing 
system installed in the engine compartment 
shall be deemed equal to one Type B-I hand 
portable fire extinguisher. 
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Open Vessels. Vessels less than 26 feet in length, propelled by 
outboard motors and not carrying passengers for hire, shall not be 
required to carry portable fire extinguishers if the construction of 
the vessels will not permit the entrapment of explosive or 
flammable gases or vapors. 
(d)  Every engine, except outboard motors, using gasoline as fuel 
and installed in a vessel shall be equipped with an acceptable 
means of backfire flame control that meets the requirements of 46 
CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175. 
(e)  Every vessel, except open vessels using liquid of a volatile 
nature as fuel, shall be equipped with an operable ventilation 
system as required by 33 CFR 175.201 and 46 CFR 25.40-1, to 
remove any explosive or flammable gases from the bilges of the 
engine and fuel tank compartments that meets the requirements of 
46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175. 
(f)  Sound devices shall be required as follows: 

(1) Vessels less than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in 
length shall be equipped with some means of 
making an efficient sound signal; and 

(2) Vessels equal to or greater than 12 meters or 
39.4 feet in length shall be equipped with a 
whistle and a bell that comply with 33 USC 
2033. 

(g)  Lights. The lights prescribed by this Paragraph shall be 
exhibited from sunset to sunrise and in fog, mist, falling snow, 
heavy rainstorms, sandstorms, or any other similar circumstances 
of restricted visibility. They may be exhibited in all other 
circumstances when deemed necessary. During such times no 
other lights shall be exhibited, except those that cannot be 
mistaken for the lights specified in these Rules, do not impair their 
visibility or distinctive character, or do not interfere with keeping 
a proper lookout. Lights shall be required as follows: 

(1) Vessels, other than those vessels described in 
Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, equal to 
or greater than 12 meters or 39.4 feet but less 
than 20 meters or 65.6 feet in length shall 
exhibit: 
(A) A masthead light forward visible for 

three miles; 
(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for two miles; and 
(C) A stern light visible for two miles. 

(2) Vessels, other than those vessels described in 
Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, less than 
12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall exhibit: 
(A) An all-round white light visible for 

two miles; and 
(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for 1 mile. 
(3) Sailing vessels underway that are seven meters 

or 23 feet in length or greater shall exhibit: 
(A) A stern light visible for two miles; and 
(B) Sidelights, green to starboard and red 

to port, visible for two miles. 
(4) In a sailing vessel less than 20 meters or 65.6 

feet in length, the lights prescribed in 
Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph may be 
combined in one lantern carried at or near the 
top of the mast where it can be best seen. 

(5) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters or 23 
feet in length shall, if practicable, exhibit the 
lights prescribed in Subparagraph (3) or (4) of 
this Paragraph; if not practicable the vessel 
shall have ready at hand an electric torch or 
lighted lantern showing a white light that shall 
be exhibited in sufficient time to prevent a 
collision. 

(6) A vessel under oars shall either: 
(A) exhibit the lights prescribed in 

Subparagraph (g)(5) of this Rule for 
sailing vessels; or 

(B) have ready at hand an electric torch or 
lighted lantern showing a white light 
that shall be exhibited in sufficient 
time to prevent a collision. 

(7) On public waters not subject to the jurisdiction 
of the United States, vessels propelled by 
machinery of 10 horsepower or less, in lieu of 
the foregoing requirements, may carry from 
one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour 
before sunrise a white light in the stern or have 
on board a hand flashlight in good working 
condition which shall be ready at hand and shall 
be temporarily displayed in sufficient time to 
prevent collision. The Subparagraph shall not 
apply to vessels in waters of this State that are 
subject to the jurisdiction of the United States. 

 
Authority G.S. 75A-3; 75A-6; 113-307. 
 
 
TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 
 

CHAPTER 06 - BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS 
 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 
NCAC 06L .0103, and .0118. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
https://www.barbers.nc.gov/news.html 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  December 17, 2021 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:  By videoconference at https://bit.ly/300jNII or by 
teleconference at (984) 204-1487, conference ID 165 207 965# 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:  The amendment to 21 NCAC 06L 
.0103 would allow barber shops to have exposed pipes within the 
business. This change would allow shops more flexibility 
according to their aesthetic needs. 
 
The amendment to 21 NCAC 06L .0118 would allow staff 
members to conduct a new inspection promptly after a barber 
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shop fails, whereas the current rule prohibits a new inspection 
within 30 days. This change would offer an incentive to shops to 
quickly resolve their sanitation issues. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; 
fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SUBCHAPTER 06L - BARBER SHOPS 

 
21 NCAC 06L .0103 EQUIPMENT 
(a)  Each barber shall have a cabinet for barbering equipment. The 
cabinets shall be constructed of material that may be cleaned. 
(b)  Each shop shall have smooth finished walls and floors, with 
no exposed pipes. floors. 
(c)  Each barber chair shall be covered with a smooth, non-porous 
surface, such as vinyl or leather, which is easily cleaned as 
required by G.S. 86A-15(a)(2)(c). 
(d)  Each shop shall have within the shop or building functioning 
toilet facilities for employees and patrons. 
(e)  Each barber shop shall have a cabinet, or other method of 
storage, such that clean towels are stored separate from used 
towels. 
(f)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule, 
barber shops that are permitted on or after January 1, 1995 or 
undergo structural renovations after that date, shall have within 
the shop or building a hand-washing sink or lavatory for patrons 
with hot and cold water, soap, and disposable towels. 
(g)  Where a barber shop is located within a shop licensed by the 
North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, the toilet 
facility and sink may be shared with the cosmetology shop. 

(h)  Paragraphs (a), (d), and (f) of this Rule do not apply to barber 
shops operated by the North Carolina Department of Public 
Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. 
(i)  All equipment and tools used in the practice of barbering as 
set forth in G.S. 86A-2 shall be suitable for the safe cutting of hair 
and shall be maintained in a sanitary and good operating condition 
as required by G.S. 86A-15(a)(2). 
 
Authority G.S. 86A-2; 86A-15. 
 
21 NCAC 06L .0118 SANITARY RATINGS AND 
POSTING OF RATINGS 
(a)  The sanitary rating of a barber shop shall be based on a system 
of grading outlined in 21 NCAC 06L .0119. Based on the grading, 
all establishments shall be rated in the following manner: 

(1) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of 
at least 90 percent shall be awarded a grade A; 

(2) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of 
at least 80 percent, and less than 90 percent, 
shall be awarded a grade B; and 

(3) a sanitary rating of less than 80 percent shall be 
awarded a failing grade. 

(b)  Every barber shop shall be given a sanitary rating. 
(c)  The sanitary rating of A, B, or failing given to a barber shop 
establishment shall be posted in a conspicuous place, defined as a 
place easily seen by the public at the front of the shop, at all times. 
(d)  No newly established barber shop shall be permitted to 
operate without first having obtained a sanitary rating card with a 
grade of not less than 80 percent. 
(e)  Barber inspectors shall give each barber shop a new sanitary 
rating card. 
(f)  A re-inspection for the purpose of raising a failing sanitary 
rating of a barber shop shall not be given within 30 days. 
 
Authority G.S. 86A-5(a)(1); 86A-15. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 
EXAMINERS 

 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 
Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited 
as 21 NCAC 10 .0217 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 
.0208. 
 
Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  
www.ncchiroboard.com 
 
Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022 
 
Public Hearing: 
Date:  January 18, 2022 
Time:  10:00 a.m. 
Location:   
Via Zoom: 
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89722630516?pwd=ZStnME4vdDdvT
WtHWWsxVFgrOHNSUT09  
Meeting ID: 897 2263 0516  
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Passcode: 440040 
 
Reason for Proposed Action:   
21 NCAC 10 .0208 - To clarify the training and documentation 
needed to perform acupuncture. 
21 NCAC 10 .0217 - To clarify how professional corporations 
must be named and identified. 
 
Comments may be submitted to:  Dr. Joe Siragusa, NC Board 
of Chiropractic Examiners, 9121 Anson Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, 
NC 27615 
 
Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022 
 
Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 
Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 
rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 
Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 
Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 
the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 
from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 
legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 
the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 
on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 
The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 
service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 
further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-
3000. 
 
Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 
notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 
 Local funds affected 
 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 
 Approved by OSBM 
 No fiscal note required 

 
SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC 

 
21 NCAC 10 .0208 ACUPUNCTURE 
(a)  Until July 1, 2008, in In order to perform acupuncture, a 
licentiate or applicant for licensure must shall first certify to the 
Board that he or she has completed a minimum of 100 hours' 
coursework in acupuncture-meridian therapy, including sterile 
needle technique, theory of acupuncture and differential diagnosis 
of clinical indications. 200 hours of instruction sponsored or given 
by a chiropractic college accredited by the Council on 
Chiropractic Education or a college or university accredited by an 
accrediting body recognized by the US Department of Education. 
The 200 hours of instruction must contain at least 30 percent 
practical, hands-on hours. Individual classes can only be taken 
once for credit. To perform acupuncture, a licentiate shall also 
take the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners Acupuncture 
Examination and receive a passing score of 375 or greater. This 
coursework must be offered as either part of the curriculum 
leading to the Doctor of Chiropractic degree or at the post-
doctoral level, and by a college accredited pursuant to G.S. 90-

143(b). Beginning July 1, 2008, in order to perform acupuncture, 
a licentiate or applicant for licensure must first certify to the Board 
that he has completed a minimum of 200 hours of the above-
described coursework; provided, that this requirement of 200 
hours' coursework shall apply only to a licentiate or applicant for 
licensure whose initial certification date falls on or after July 1, 
2008. Any licentiate certified prior to July 1, 2008 may continue 
to perform acupuncture without obtaining additional education. 
(b)  Prior to performing acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for 
licensure must provide the Board with the following: 

(1) An official transcript from an accredited 
acupuncture program demonstrating 
completion of the 200 hours of instruction 
described in this Rule; and 

(2) Proof of successful completion of the 
acupuncture examination described in this 
Rule. 

(c)  Licentiates holding an active license as of December 31, 2022 
and who have received prior approval from the Board to perform 
acupuncture are not required to meet the requirements of this rule. 
However, if a licentiate grandfathered under this Rule 
subsequently allows his or her license to lapse or if the license is 
subsequently subject to active suspension or placed in a status 
other than active, the licentiate shall be required to comply with 
this rule before being permitted to perform acupuncture. 
 
Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-151. 
 
21 NCAC 10 .0217 PROFESSIONAL ENTITIES 
(a)  A chiropractor who seeks to deliver chiropractic services 
through a professional corporation or professional limited liability 
company shall obtain Board approval for such entity's Articles of 
Incorporation/Organization prior to filing such Articles with the 
Secretary of State. 
(b)  No proper names of persons other than licensees may be 
included in the name and all professional entities must include the 
word "Chiropractor," "Chiropractic," or the name of a licensed 
chiropractor who is an owner of the professional entity. The name 
of a professional entity shall not be false or misleading. For the 
purposes of this rule, "misleading" is defined as possessing the 
capacity or tendency to create a mistaken understanding or 
impression. Misleading includes a name that implies services 
beyond the scope of practice set forth in Art. 8, Chapter 90 of the 
NC General Statutes. 
(c)  The professional entity may not be identical or so similar in 
name to an existing registered business entity as to be misleading. 
Business entities organized for the primary purpose of providing 
professional chiropractic services shall not contain the name of an 
individual unless: 

(1) The named individual is licensed under this 
statute; or 

(2) The named individual is either a deceased or 
retired owner of the business, provided that the 
professional entity has permission to use the 
name of the deceased or retired owner. 

(d)  The professional entity shall specify its business structure in 
all printed material and social media by use of the designation 
"P.C.," "P.A.," or "P.L.L.C." 
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(e)  If a living owner of a professional entity whose surname 
appears in the entity name becomes a "disqualified person" as 
defined in G.S. 55B-2, the name of the professional entity shall be 
changed to comply with G.S. 55B. 
(f)  A professional entity shall not change its name or operate 
under an assumed name without first applying to the Board for a 
determination that the proposed name meets the requirements of 
this Rule. Requests for name changes and requests to operate 
under an assumed name shall be submitted in writing to the Board. 
Requests shall contain the following: 

(1) Name, email address, and phone number of the 
requesting person; 

(2) Name, email address, and phone number of the 
incorporating licensee; 

(3) Requested name of the professional 
corporation; and 

(4) Mailing address of the professional 
corporation. 

Use of an assumed name that has not been registered pursuant to 
Art. 14A of G.S. 66 shall be prima facie evidence of using a 
misleading name. 
 
Authority G.S. 55B-12; 90-154.2; 90-157.3. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 
that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 
to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on October 21, 2021 Meeting. 
 
 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 
 NOTICE OF TEXT 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 
Statement of Action 11 NCAC 04 .0117* 35:14 NCR 
Insurance Carriers as Lenders 11 NCAC 04 .0118* 35:14 NCR 
Insurer Defined 11 NCAC 04 .0119 35:14 NCR 
Use of Specific Company Name in Responses 11 NCAC 04 .0123* 35:14 NCR 
Insurance Company Contact Persons 11 NCAC 04 .0124* 35:14 NCR 
Information Used in Claim Settlements 11 NCAC 04 .0312* 35:14 NCR 
Provisions of Contracts 11 NCAC 04 .0313* 35:14 NCR 
Student Loans 11 NCAC 04 .0320 35:14 NCR 
Billing Procedures for Automobile Insurance 11 NCAC 04 .0416* 35:14 NCR 
Written Confirmation of Oral Agreements 11 NCAC 04 .0420* 35:14 NCR 
Cancellation of Insurance 11 NCAC 04 .0422 35:14 NCR 
Ethical Standards 11 NCAC 04 .0423* 35:14 NCR 
Like Kind and Quality 11 NCAC 04 .0426* 35:14 NCR 
Definition of Claimant 11 NCAC 04 .0431* 35:14 NCR 
Report of Theft or Loss of Pyrotechnics 11 NCAC 05D .0113 35:14 NCR 
Report of Injury or Property Damage 11 NCAC 05D .0114 35:14 NCR 
Inspections 11 NCAC 05D .0115 35:14 NCR 

ALARM SYSTEMS LICENSING BOARD 
Application for License 14B NCAC 17 .0201* 35:21 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Statutory Exceptions from the Definition of Development 15A NCAC 07K .0101 34:09 NCR 
Maintenance and Repair 15A NCAC 07K .0103* 34:09 NCR 
Exemption: Projects Requiring Dredge: Fill: State Easement 15A NCAC 07K .0202* 34:09 NCR 
Exemptions for Projects Requiring Air Quality Permit 15A NCAC 07K .0204* 34:09 NCR 
Exemptions for Projects Requiring the NPDES 15A NCAC 07K .0205* 34:09 NCR 
Small Ditches Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0206* 34:09 NCR 
Exemption/Accessory Uses/Maintenance Repair/Replacement 15A NCAC 07K .0209* 34:09 NCR 
Nomination Categories Excluded: Minor Permit Exemption 15A NCAC 07K .0210* 34:09 NCR 
Jockey's Ridge AEC 15A NCAC 07K .0211 34:09 NCR 
Installation and Maintenance of Sand Fencing 15A NCAC 07K .0212* 34:09 NCR 
Maintenance of Federal Navigation Channels 15A NCAC 07K .0401* 34:09 NCR 
Federal Agency Activities Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0402 34:09 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 
General Information 19A NCAC 03A .0105* 36:03 NCR 
Forms 19A NCAC 03B .0103* 35:18 NCR 
Driver's License Examination and Online Renewal 19A NCAC 03B .0201* 36:03 NCR 
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Acute or Chronic Illnesses 19A NCAC 03B .0301 35:18 NCR 
Driving Records 19A NCAC 03B .0403* 35:18 NCR 
Definitions 19A NCAC 03B .0702* 35:18 NCR 
Requirements for Third Party Testers 19A NCAC 03B .0703* 35:18 NCR 
Requirements for Third Party Examiners 19A NCAC 03B .0704* 35:18 NCR 
Certificates 19A NCAC 03B .0705* 35:18 NCR 
Application for Third Party Tester Certification 19A NCAC 03B .0706* 35:18 NCR 
Application for Third Party Examiner Certification 19A NCAC 03B .0707* 35:18 NCR 
On-Site Inspections and Audits 19A NCAC 03B .0709* 35:18 NCR 
Evaluation of Applicants by the Division 19A NCAC 03B .0711* 35:18 NCR 
Definition 19A NCAC 03B .0801 35:18 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 
Educational Requirements 21 NCAC 16O .0402* 36:01 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 
Definitions 21 NCAC 46 .1317* 35:22 NCR 
Limited Service Permits 21 NCAC 46 .1616* 35:22 NCR 
Drugs to be Dispensed 21 NCAC 46 .1703* 35:22 NCR 
Retrospective Review and Consultation 21 NCAC 46 .1706 35:22 NCR 
Responsibilities of Pharmacist-Manager 21 NCAC 46 .2502 35:22 NCR 
 
 

TITLE 08 – DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0117 STATEMENT OF ACTION 
(a)  When an insurer denies a claim that included information 
for the insurer to identify the coverage involved, the denial shall 
be in writing and cite the policy provision or other legal basis 
used to deny the claim. 
(b)  When an insurer offers to settle a claim that included 
information for the insurer to identify the coverage involved, 
the offer, when requested by the consumer, shall be in writing 
and cite the specific policy provision or legal basis used in 
support of the claim statement. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-100; 58-63-
15(11); 58-67-150; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; December 15, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0118 INSURANCE CARRIERS AS 
LENDERS 
(a)  Any lender who offers an insurance product to a consumer 
either directly or indirectly through a subsidiary or affiliate in 
conjunction with an extension of credit shall inform the 
consumer of the protections afforded by G.S. 58-3-135. 
(b)  Nothing in this Rule shall limit the right of the lender to 
require insurance in connection with a loan. 
(c)  This Rule shall not apply where the extension of credit 
arises out of a life insurance contract itself or where the 
extension of credit is subject to the provisions of Regulation Z, 

12 CFR 226, or other federal statutes or regulations requiring 
similar disclosures. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-135; 58-3-150; 
Eff. July 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; April 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0119 INSURER DEFINED 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-65-1; 58-67-150; 
Eff. April 1, 1989; 
Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0123 USE OF SPECIFIC COMPANY 
NAME IN RESPONSES 
When an insurer makes a written response to an inquiry by the 
Division or complaint made by a consumer, the insurer shall 
identify on its response: 

(1) its mailing address; 
(2) official corporate name of the company 

against which the complaint is made; 
(3) the NAIC company code; and 
(4) specific corporate name if the insurer is part 

of a group of companies. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-190; 58-3-50; 
58-63-65; 
Eff. April 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 
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Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0124 INSURANCE COMPANY 
CONTACT PERSONS 
(a)  Every insurer shall provide the Division with company 
contact information using a form provided by the Division, 
which shall include the name, title, address, and telephone 
number, including a toll-free number, of a designated person to 
whom any person may send a complaint or inquiry, and the 
company president's name, address, and telephone number for 
the Division's use. 
(b)  The form shall be completed, signed by a corporate officer, 
and returned to the Division by every insurer. 
(c)  A new form must be filed with the Division within 15 
business days after any change in the information on the form. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-190; 58-63-65; 
Eff. April 1, 1995; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0312 INFORMATION USED IN 
CLAIM SETTLEMENTS 
(a)  Any information, including medical information, used in 
whole or in part as the basis of settling a life, accident, health, 
or disability claim shall be provided to the Division as requested 
in connection with a complaint or injury. The delivery method 
may include a secure electronic portal provided by the Division.  
(b)  To the extent permitted by law, the Department shall treat 
medical information as confidential. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-190; 58-2-195; 
58-2-200; 58-63-20; 58-65-105; 58-67-65; 58-67-150; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0313 PROVISIONS OF CONTRACTS 
The following phrases and provisions, found in life, accident, 
health, and disability contracts, if not defined in the contracts, 
shall be construed by the Department in the following manner: 

(1) Regular Care and Attendance of a Physician. 
As used in life, accident, health, and 
disability policies, "regular care and 
attendance of a physician" shall not be 
construed to require insureds to see or be 
under the care of a physician on a regular 
basis if it can be shown that the insured has 
reached his or her maximum point of 
recovery yet is still disabled under the terms 
of the insurance contract. This requirement 
shall not restrict the right of the insurer, at its 
own expense, to examine or cause to have 
examined the insured according to the terms 
of the contract of insurance. 

(2) Premature Baby. A premature baby shall not 
be considered a well baby. The protection 
afforded newborn infants under G.S. 58-51-
30 shall be provided to premature babies. 

(3) Medical Necessity. "Medical necessity" shall 
be construed as including treatment that 
restores not only the insured's physical but 
also his or her mental well-being. As used in 
this Item, "restoration of mental well-being" 
does not require coverage of psychiatric 
disorders when those disorders are excluded 
under the express terms of the contract. 

(4) Sound Health. The question, "Are you in 
sound health?" shall be considered 
ambiguous, and therefore answers to that 
question on an insurance application shall not 
be used as the basis for rescission of a policy 
or denial of a claim. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-150; 58-51-1; 
58-63-15; 58-63-65; 58-65-1; 58-65-40; 58-67-65; 58-67-150; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 2012; April 8, 2002; April 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0320 STUDENT LOANS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-135; 58-3-150; 
Eff. July 1, 1986; 
Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; April 1, 1989; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0416 BILLING PROCEDURES FOR 
AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE 
(a)  With respect to new business, an insurer shall take no more 
than 90 days from the effective date of the policy to make any 
investigation other than review of the initial application and to 
bill the insured for proper rate classification or 
sub-classification. 
(b)  With respect to renewal business, an insurer shall not bill 
for any additional premium after the renewal quotation is made 
for any condition that existed at the time of renewal and is on 
the driver's motor vehicle record. 
(c)  With respect to renewal business, if the insured does not 
provide updated and complete rating information necessary to 
underwrite the policy or makes an effort to withhold rating 
information, the insurer shall take no more than 90 days from 
the effective date of the renewal to make inquiry of the insured, 
to make any other investigation, and to bill the insured for 
proper rate classification and sub-classification. 
(d)  When an insurer obtains information from sources other 
than the Department of Motor Vehicles for use in underwriting 
an automobile policy and the insured alleges that the 
information is incorrect, the insurer shall verify the accuracy of 
such information. 
(e)  Unearned premium refunds shall be determined from the 
later of either the date the consumer gives direct notice to a 
company or an agent of the company of the cancellation or the 
effective date of cancellation requested by the insured. In the 
case of physical damage insurance where there is a loss payee, 
the effective date of cancellation for the purposes of 
determining unearned premium refund shall be 10 days from 
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the date cancellation notice was given to a company or a 
company's agent. 
(f)  If the consumer can show proof that within the 10 day period 
in this Rule where cancellation involves a loss payee, and the 
consumer had obtained replacement physical damage coverage 
that included the loss payee, then the cancellation date for 
purposes of determining unearned premium refund shall be the 
last date of any lapse in coverage for the loss payee during the 
10 day time set out in this Rule. In the case of no lapse, shall be 
determined as if no loss payee was involved. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-65; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1989; July 1, 1986; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0420 WRITTEN CONFIRMATION 
OF ORAL AGREEMENTS 
(a)  Once an insurer accepts liability or advises a claimant to 
have damaged property repaired with the understanding that the 
insurer will pay or reimburse the claimant, the insurer shall, if 
requested by the claimant, confirm the understanding in 
writing. Such writing shall clearly state the responsibility 
assumed by the insurer for payment of incurred costs. 
(b)  If so requested by the claimant, the insurer or its 
representative shall confirm in writing all other oral agreements 
between itself or its representative and the claimant. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-3-100; 58-63-15; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0422 CANCELLATION OF 
INSURANCE 
The Commissioner shall consider an unfair trade practice the 
cancellation by an insurer of any personal lines insurance policy 
for which the premium has been paid because there is another 
policy in force for which the premium has not been paid. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-63-40; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0423 ETHICAL STANDARDS 
(a)  Every agent, limited representative, broker, adjuster, 
appraiser, or other insurer's representative shall, when 
conducting insurance business with a member of the public: 

(1) identify himself or herself and his or her 
occupation; and 

(2) provide his or her National Producer Number 
and the Department's website address and 
phone number for verification of licensure 
status when requested to show proof of 
licensure by any claimant, any repairer while 
he or she is investigating a claim or loss, any 
Department representative, or any other 
person with whom he or she has contact while 
performing his or her insurance business. 

(b)  No claims management person, agent, agency employee, 
limited representative, broker, adjuster, appraiser, or other 
insurer's representative shall: 

(1) accept any gratuity or other form of 
remuneration from any provider of services 
for recommending that provider to claimants; 

(2) purchase salvage from a claimant; 
(3) intimidate or discourage any claimant from 

seeking legal advice or counsel by 
withdrawing and reducing a settlement offer 
previously tendered to the claimant or 
threatening to do so if the claimant seeks 
legal advice or counsel. No adjuster shall 
advise a claimant of the advisability of 
seeking legal counsel nor recommend any 
legal counsel to any claimant; or 

(4) cause a delay in the settlement of a property 
damage claim on account of the claimant's 
choice of a motor vehicle repair service. 

(c)  No claims management person, agent, agency employee, 
limited representative, broker, or other insurer's representative 
shall recommend the utilization of a particular motor vehicle 
repair service without informing the claimant that he or she is 
under no obligation to use the recommended repair service and 
that he or she may use the service of his or her choice. 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-33-130; 58-35-
25; 58-63-65; 58-65-40; 
Eff. December 15, 1979; 
Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; April 1, 1993; April 1, 1989; 
July 1, 1986; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0426 LIKE KIND AND QUALITY 
No insurer shall require the use of an aftermarket part in the 
repair of a motor vehicle unless the aftermarket part is at least 
equal to the original part in terms of fit, quality, performance, 
and warranty. Insurers specifying the use of aftermarket parts 
shall include in the estimate the costs of any modifications 
made necessary by the use of aftermarket parts. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 
Eff. April 1, 1989; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 04 .0431 DEFINITION OF CLAIMANT 
As used in this Section, unless the context indicates otherwise, 
"claimant" means a first party claimant or a third party claimant. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40(1); 58-63-15; 
Eff. April 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0113 REPORT OF THEFT OR LOSS 
OF PYROTECHNICS 
(a)  A permittee shall report the theft or loss of pyrotechnics to 
the county sheriff or city police, to ATF and to OSFM, by 
telephone, within eight hours after the permittee discovers the 
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theft or loss. OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during 
normal working hours and at the North Carolina Highway 
Patrol dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal working 
hours. 
(b)  Within 24 hours after discovery of the loss or theft, the 
permittee shall provide OSFM written notice that includes a 
description of the pyrotechnics, including the manufacturer, 
brand name, any manufacturer marking and quantity, and a 
description of the circumstances surrounding the theft or loss. 
The written notice shall also name the law enforcement 
agencies contacted by the permittee under Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 
Eff. February 1, 2010; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0114 REPORT OF INJURY OR 
PROPERTY DAMAGE 
(a)  A permittee shall notify OSFM within 24 hours after any of 
the following involving pyrotechnics: 

(1) A fire causing property damage in excess of 
one thousand dollars ($1,000) to an 
automobile or ten thousand dollars ($10,000) 
to real property; 

(2) An injury to any person caused by the display 
resulting in hospitalization; or 

(3) Damage to property in excess of one 
thousand dollars ($1,000), not related to fire. 

(b)  OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during normal 
working hours and at the North Carolina Highway Patrol 
dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal working 
hours. 
(c)  The permittee shall submit a written report to OSFM within 
three days after a pyrotechnics display conducted by the 
permittee if any of the following occurred: 

(1) Any of the incidents identified in Paragraph 
(a) of this Rule; or 

(2) Whenever a defective pyrotechnic product or 
equipment resulting in any amount of injury 
or damage occurs. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 
Eff. February 1, 2010; 
Readopted Eff. October 1, 2021. 
 
11 NCAC 05D .0115 INSPECTIONS 
(a)  A permittee shall make any records required under Article 
54 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes and Article 82A of 
Chapter 58 of the General Statutes available to authorized 
representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire code official. 
(b)  A permittee shall allow the display site, storage facility, or 
delivery point to be inspected at all times by authorized 
representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire code official. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 58-82A-1; 
Eff. February 1, 2010; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 

 
TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 
14B NCAC 17 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 
(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online 
application on the website provided by the Board. When this 
online application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 
Live Scan or similar system approved by the 
State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 
classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. 
fingerprint card provided by the Board and 
mailed separately to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 
the applicant in JPG format of sufficient 
quality for identification, taken within six 
months prior to the online submission, and 
uploaded with the application submission; 

(3) statements of the results of a statewide 
criminal history records search by the 
reporting service designated by the Board 
pursuant to G.S. 74D-2.1(a) for any state 
where the applicant has resided within the 
preceeding 60 months; and 

(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a 
four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged 
by the third-party vendor and credit card 
transaction fee charged by the applicant's 
credit card provider and collected online. 

(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school 
graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other 
equivalent documentation. 
(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with 
either a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the 
Director, or a Board representative designated by the Director 
prior to being issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the 
provisions of G.S. 74D and the administrative rules in this 
Chapter during the personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a 
form provided by the Board stating that the applicant has 
reviewed the information with the Board's representative and 
that the applicant understands G.S. 74D and the administrative 
rules in this Chapter. During a national or State declared state 
of emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal 
meeting requirement may be waived if requested by the 
applicant in favor of alternative means of communication. 
(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an 
online application on the website provided by the Board. This 
online application shall be accompanied by the branch office 
application fee. 
History Note: Authority G.S. 74D-2; 74D-2.1; 74D-3; 74D-
5; 74D-7; 74D-8; 
Temporary Rule Eff. January 9, 1984, for a period of 120 days 
to expire on May 7, 1984; 
Eff. May 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; February 1, 2012; January 1, 
2007; September 1, 2006; March 1, 1993; July 1, 1987; 
January 1, 1986; 
Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 11 .0201 Eff. July 
1, 2015; 
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Amended Eff. December 1, 2017; 
Readopted Eff. June 1, 2018; 
Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. June 9, 2020; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2020; 
Temporary Amendment Eff. August 28, 2020; 
Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. June 12, 2021; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 
QUALITY 

 
15A NCAC 07K .0101 STATUTORY EXCEPTIONS 
FROM THE DEFINITION OF DEVELOPMENT 
No permit shall be required for those activities set out in G.S. 
113A-103(5)(b)(1) - (9) as exclusions from the definition of 
development. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103; 113A-118; 
Eff. March 29, 1978; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 1984; March 1, 1980; March 30, 
1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0103 MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR 
(a)  "Maintenance and "repairs" are specifically excluded from 
the definition of "development" under the conditions and in the 
circumstances set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5). Individuals 
required to take such measures within an AEC shall contact the 
local CAMA representative for consultation before beginning 
work. 
(b)  Beach bulldozing, defined as the process of moving natural 
beach material from any point seaward of the first line of stable 
vegetation, for the purpose of preventing damage to imminently 
threatened structures as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a), 
by the creation of protective sand dunes shall qualify for an 
exclusion under G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5) subject to the 
following limitations: 

(1) The area where this activity is being 
performed must maintain a slope that follows 
the pre-emergency slope as closely as 
possible so as not to endanger the public or 
hinder the public's use of the beach. All 
mechanically disturbed areas shall be graded 
smooth of ruts and spoil berms that are 
perpendicular to the shoreline. The 
movement of material utilizing a bulldozer, 
front-end loader, back hoe, scraper, or any 
type of earth moving or construction 
equipment shall not exceed one foot in depth 
measured from the surface elevation; 

(2) The activity shall not exceed the lateral 
bounds of the applicant's property without 
written permission of adjoining landowners; 

(3) Movement of material from seaward of the 
mean low water line shall not be permitted 
under this exemption; 

(4) The activity shall not increase erosion on 
neighboring properties and shall not have a 
significant adverse impact on natural or 
cultural resources; and 

(5) The activity may be undertaken to protect 
threatened on-site waste disposal systems as 
well as the threatened structure's foundations. 

(c)  Redistribution of sand that results from storm overwash or 
aeolian transport around buildings, pools, roads, parking areas 
and associated structures is considered maintenance so long as 
the sand remains within the Ocean Hazard AEC. Individuals 
proposing such activities shall consult with the Division of 
Coastal Management or the local permit officer to determine 
whether the proposed activity qualifies for the exclusion under 
G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5). 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. November 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. March 1, 1985; 
RRC Objection Eff. January 18, 1996 due to ambiguity; 
Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; March 1, 1996; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0202 EXEMPTION: PROJECTS 
REQUIRING DREDGE: FILL: STATE EASEMENT 
The following classes of minor maintenance and improvement 
are exempted from the major development permit requirement: 

(1) In-Place Maintenance of 
Previously-Permitted Projects. These 
projects are ones for which a dredge and fill 
permit or State easement has been issued and 
which, though the existing project may be 
enlarged, are undertaken for maintenance 
purposes. Projects falling into this category 
shall be exempted from the CAMA major 
development permit if: 
(a) project dimensions remain the same 

as or are no greater than 20 percent 
of those dimensions authorized 
under the previously permitted 
project; 

(b) the project is for similar purposes as 
those of the previously-permitted 
project; and 

(c) a change of conditions in the area, or 
additional comments from State or 
federal review agencies do not 
indicate that the action would cause 
negative impacts to the environment 
or adjacent property owners. 

(2) Additions/Modifications to Previously 
Permitted Projects. These projects are ones 
already in place and permitted that will be 
added on to or modified in some fashion. 
Projects falling into this category shall be 
exempted from the CAMA 
major-development permit if: 
(a) for bulkheads: 
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(i) Bulkhead must be 
positioned so as not to 
extend more than an 
average distance of two 
feet waterward of the mean 
high water contour; in no 
place shall the bulkhead be 
more than five feet 
waterward of the mean 
high water contour;  

(ii) All backfill comes from an 
upland source;  

(iii) No marsh area is excavated 
or filled;  

(iv) Work is undertaken to 
prevent loss of private 
residential property due to 
erosion;  

(v) The bulkhead is 
constructed prior to any 
backfilling activities;  

(vi) The bulkhead is 
constructed so as to 
prevent seepage of backfill 
materials through the 
bulkhead; and 

(vii) The bulkhead is not 
constructed in the Ocean 
Hazard AEC. 

(b) for piers, docks, and boathouses: 
(i) The modification or 

addition is not within 150 
feet of the edge of a 
federally-maintained 
channel; 

(ii) The structure, as modified, 
is 200 feet or less in total 
length offshore; or 

(iii) The structure, as modified, 
does not extend past the 
four feet mean low water 
contour line (four feet 
depth at mean low water) 
of the waterbody; and 

(iv) The project as modified 
will not exceed six feet 
width; and 

(v) The modification or 
addition does not include 
an enclosed structure; and 

(vi) The project will continue 
to be used for private, 
residential purposes. 

(c) for boat ramps: 
(i) The project, as modified, 

would not exceed 10 feet in 
width and 20 feet offshore; 
and 

(ii) The project will continue 
to be used for private, 
residential purposes. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. March 29, 1978; 
Amended Eff. July 1, 1981; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0204 EXEMPTIONS FOR 
PROJECTS REQUIRING AIR QUALITY PERMIT 
Modification to Existing Sources or Control Devices. Projects 
in this category are modifications to facilities or control devices 
that upgrade existing capacities or are intended to meet air 
quality standards. Projects falling into this category shall be 
exempted from the CAMA major development permit if: 

(1) The modification is limited to upgrading 
existing capabilities or to meet air quality 
standards; or 

(2) The modification involves installation of 
additional abatement devices necessary to 
meet air quality standards; and 

(3) The modification does not involve 
land-disturbing activities or necessitate 
surface or subsurface disposal of water. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. March 29, 1978; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0205 EXEMPTIONS FOR 
PROJECTS REQUIRING THE NPDES 
(a)  Projects requiring the National Pollution Discharge 
Elimination System permit are those that will discharge 
wastewater from an outlet, point source, or disposal system into 
the surface waters of the State. 
(b)  Modification of Existing Facilities. Projects in this category 
are those facilities that undergo modification to meet effluent 
limitations set forth in 15A NCAC 02B .0404, which is hereby 
incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments. 
Projects falling into this category will be exempted from the 
CAMA major development permit if: 

(1) Modifications are for the purpose of 
upgrading facilities to meet current effluent 
limitation standards; 

(2) Modifications are for the purpose of 
improving existing capacities or providing 
back up units for existing capacities; 

(3) The modification is for treating waste load 
types similar to those in the previously 
permitted activity; or 

(4) The final discharge flow that may be 
associated with the modification remains the 
same as the discharge flow permitted before 
modification; and 
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(5) No additional acreage is necessary for land 
disposal of dewatered wastes or does not 
require subsurface pollutant injection; and 

(6) No significant land-disturbing activity is 
involved. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. March 29, 1978; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0206 AGRICULTURAL AND 
FORESTRY DITCHES EXEMPTED 
(a)  Ditches used for agricultural or forestry purposes with 
maximum dimensions equal to or less than six feet (top width) 
by four feet deep are exempted from the CAMA permit 
requirement. 
(b)  All ditches with maximum dimensions greater than six feet 
by four feet will require a permit.  
(c)  Width and depth dimensions of all ditches will be measured 
at the ground level. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(a); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. November 1, 1984; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0209 EXEMPTION / ACCESSORY 
USES / MAINTENANCE REPAIR / REPLACEMENT 
(a)  Accessory buildings customarily incident to an existing 
structure are excluded from the definition of development if the 
work does not involve filling, excavation, or the alteration of 
any sand dune or beach as set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(6). 
Accessory buildings are subordinate in size and purpose to the 
principal structure and do not require, or consist of the 
expansion of the existing structure as defined by an increase in 
footprint or total floor area of the existing structure. A building 
with a footprint of 100 square feet or less is considered an 
accessory building as long as it is customarily incident to and 
subordinate in size and purpose to the principal structure. 
Buildings of a larger size may be considered accessory 
buildings if necessary for customary use. 
(b)  Accessory uses as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule 
and that are required to support the existing dominant use, but 
not within the exclusion set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(6) and 
that require no plumbing, electrical, or other service 
connections and do not exceed 200 square feet are exempt from 
the CAMA minor development permit requirement if they meet 
the criteria set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 
(c)  Any structure, or part thereof, consistent with this Chapter 
may be maintained, repaired, or replaced, in a similar size and 
location as the existing structure without requiring a permit, 
unless the repair or replacement would be in violation of the 
criteria set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. This exemption 
applies to those projects that are not within the exclusion for 
maintenance and repairs as set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(6), 
Rule .0103 of this Subchapter and Rule 07J .0210. 

(d)  In order to be eligible for the exemptions described in 
Paragraphs (b) and (c), of this Rule, the proposed development 
activity must meet the following criteria: 

(1) the development must not disturb a land area 
of greater than 200 square feet on a slope of 
greater than 10 percent; 

(2) the development must not involve removal, 
damage, or destruction of threatened or 
endangered animal or plant species; 

(3) the development must not alter naturally or 
artificially created surface drainage channels; 

(4) the development must not alter the land form 
or vegetation of a frontal dune; 

(5) the development must not be within 30 feet 
of normal water level or normal high water 
level; and 

(6) the development must be consistent with all 
applicable use standards and local land use 
plans in effect at the time the exemption is 
granted. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5); 113A-111; 
113A-118(a); 113A-120(a)(8); 
Eff. November 1, 1984; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 2007; March 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; 
August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0210 NOMINATION CATEGORIES 
EXCLUDED: MINOR PERMIT EXEMPTION 
The minor development permit exemptions in this Section are 
not applicable to the "Areas That Sustain Remnant Species," as 
defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0505, "Complex Natural Areas," 
as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0506, and "Unique Geologic 
Formations," as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0507 categories of 
areas of environmental concern. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
113A-118(a); 
Eff. November 1, 1984; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0211 JOCKEY'S RIDGE AEC 
All development in the Jockey's Ridge area of environmental 
concern designated pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0507 that is 
not within any other designated area of environmental concern 
shall be exempt from CAMA major and minor permit 
requirements provided it does not involve the removal of more 
than ten cubic yards of sand per year from the area within the 
AEC boundary. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c.; 
Eff. March 1, 1988; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
15A NCAC 07K .0212 INSTALLATION AND 
MAINTENANCE OF SAND FENCING 
Sand fences that are installed and maintained subject to the 
following criteria are exempt from the permit requirements of 
the Coastal Area Management Act: 
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(1) Sand fencing may only be installed for the 
purpose of: building sand dunes by trapping 
wind blown sand or the protection of the 
dune(s) and vegetation (planted or existing). 

(2) Sand fencing shall not impede existing public 
access to the beach, recreational use of the 
beach, or emergency vehicle access. Sand 
fencing shall not be installed in a manner that 
impedes or restricts established common law 
and statutory rights of public access and use 
of public trust lands and waters. 

(3) Sand fencing shall not be installed in a 
manner that impedes, traps, or otherwise 
endangers sea turtles, sea turtle nests or sea 
turtle hatchlings. 

(4) Non-functioning, damaged, or unsecured 
sand fencing shall be removed by the 
property owner upon discovery. 

(5) Sand fencing shall be constructed from 
evenly spaced thin (approximately 1 to 1 ½ 
inches wide) wooden vertical slats connected 
with twisted wire, no more than 5 feet in 
height. Wooden posts or stakes no larger than 
2" X 4" or 3" diameter shall support sand 
fencing. 

(6) Location. Sand fencing shall be placed as far 
landward as possible to avoid interference 
with sea turtle nesting, existing public access, 
recreational use of the beach, and emergency 
vehicle access. 
(a) Sand fencing shall not be placed on 

the wet sand beach area; 
(b) Sand fencing installed parallel to the 

shoreline shall be located no farther 
waterward than the crest of the 
frontal or primary dune; or 

(c) Sand fencing installed waterward of 
the crest of the frontal or primary 
dune shall be installed at an angle no 
less than 45 degrees to the shoreline. 
Individual sections of sand fence 
shall not exceed more than 10 feet in 
length and shall be spaced no less 
than seven feet apart, and shall not 
extend more than 10 feet waterward 
of the following locations, 
whichever is most waterward, as 
defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0305: 
the first line of stable natural 
vegetation, the toe of the frontal or 
primary dune, or erosion 
escarpment of frontal or primary 
dune; and 

(d) Sand fencing along public 
accessways may equal the length of 
the accessway, and may include a 45 
degree funnel on the waterward end. 
The waterward location of the 
funnel shall not exceed 10 feet 

waterward of the locations 
identified in Sub-Item (6)(c) of this 
Item. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
Eff. August 1, 2002; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0401 MAINTENANCE OF FEDERAL 
NAVIGATION CHANNELS 
(a)  Operation and maintenance of all federal navigation 
channels subject to the authority of the US Army Corps of 
Engineers are hereby granted an exemption from the CAMA 
permit requirement. Activities exempted by this requirement 
must be consistent with the Coastal Area Management Act 
(CAMA) and the rules of this Chapter to the maximum extent 
practicable as set forth in 15 CFR 930.32.  
(b)  For the purposes of this Section, operation and maintenance 
activities shall mean only those activities that allow for 
navigation over existing water courses and that take place 
within authorized project dimensions as defined in project 
documents. Such activities may include hydraulic pipeline 
dredging, sidecast dredging, mechanical dredging, disposition 
of dredged materials, and activities necessary to accomplish 
dredging, such as laying pipes to move material from the 
dredging site to the disposal area. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c); 
Eff. June 18, 1979; 
Amended Eff. September 6, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
15A NCAC 07K .0402 FEDERAL AGENCY 
ACTIVITIES EXEMPTED 
All federal agency development activities in areas of 
environmental concern are hereby granted an exemption from 
the CAMA permit requirement. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)(c) 
Eff. June 18, 1979; 
Amended Eff. April 22, 1980; September 6, 1979; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
 
TITLE 19A – DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 
19A NCAC 03A .0105 GENERAL INFORMATION 
The following is general information about the Division of 
Motor Vehicles: 

(1) The mailing address is 3101 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27697-3101. 

(2) The physical location is 1515 North Church 
Street, Rocky Mount, North Carolina 27804. 

(3) The web page address is www.ncdmv.org. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-2; 
Eff. November 1, 2021. 
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19A NCAC 03B .0103 FORMS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-7; 20-39; 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; June 5, 1981; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0201 DRIVER'S LICENSE 
EXAMINATION AND ONLINE RENEWAL 
(a)  The Division shall issue a driver's license to any person who 
is eligible under G.S. 20 and completes the following 
requirements: 

(1) The Knowledge Examination, which is an 
automated computer examination that tests 
the applicant's knowledge of rules of the 
road. An audio component allows applicants 
with reading comprehension difficulties to 
listen to the test questions by use of 
earphones. Eighty percent of the questions 
shall be answered correctly to pass. For the 
issuance of a remote renewal, the 
requirement of a knowledge examination 
shall be waived. 

(2) The Road Sign Examination, which tests the 
applicant's knowledge of highway signs and 
their meanings. Applicants for a regular Class 
C license shall correctly identify 9 of 12 road 
signs. Applicants for A or B licenses shall 
correctly identify all road signs. For the 
issuance of a remote renewal, the 
requirement of the road signs test shall be 
waived. 

(3) The Visual Acuity Test, which examines an 
applicant's visual ability to identify letters or 
symbols from a specific distance. The 
applicant's vision shall be 20/40 or better in 
at least one eye to receive an unrestricted 
license. A license shall be restricted to require 
corrective lenses if acuity is less than 20/40 
in either eye or both eyes together. 

(4) The Road Test, which measures the 
applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle 
safely in actual traffic situations. The 
required maneuvers are: quick stop, 
turnabout, backing, approach corner, right 
turns, left turns, traffic lights, use of vehicle 
operating equipment, starts, use of lanes, use 
of brakes, following, and paying attention. 
Pass or failure is based upon the applicant's 
ability to execute the required maneuvers. 
The test is scored by the driver license 
examiner. For the issuance of a remote 
renewal, the requirement of a road test shall 
be waived. 

(5) The Remote Renewal allows drivers to 
remotely renew a driver's license by mail or 
electronic device. Eligible applicants who 
wish to renew remotely by electronic means, 
may go to www.ncdot.gov/dmv and submit 

responses to a series of automated questions 
that guide applicants through the online 
renewal process. A driver's license issued by 
remote renewal expires in accordance with 
G.S. 20-7(f)(6)c. 

(6) The Attestation supports application for a 
remote renewal to affirm the following as 
part of the remote renewal process: 
(A) The applicant is a resident of North 

Carolina; 
(B) The license holder's name as it 

appears on the license to be renewed 
has not changed; 

(C) All information provided during the 
application for a remote renewal has 
been provided truthfully; 

(D) The applicant knows of no change in 
his or her vision since the last time 
the applicant passed the visual 
acuity test in Subparagraph (a)(3) of 
this Rule that would impair the 
applicant's ability to safely drive a 
motor vehicle; and 

(E) That no change in physical or 
mental abilities has occurred since 
the last issuance. 

(7) If the applicant has an existing DMV photo 
on file, no additional photographs are 
required and the requirements in G.S. 20-
7(n)(4) shall be waived for a remote renewal. 

(8) Upon completion of the remote renewal 
process, the license shall be renewed if all 
criteria in G.S. 20-7 are met. The applicant 
shall use the current license for all driver 
license purposes until the license becomes 
invalid for some other reason, or receipt of 
the new license card.  

(b)  The tests contained in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be 
administered as follows: 

(1) Applicants applying for a driver's license for 
the first time shall complete the full 
examination to include the knowledge 
examination, road signs test, visual acuity 
test, and road test. Applicants in this 
Subparagraph are not eligible to apply for 
remote renewal. 

(2) Applicants seeking to renew a valid, 
unexpired North Carolina driver's license 
shall complete the road signs test and visual 
acuity test, unless the applicant is renewing 
remotely. Applicants possessing a previously 
issued North Carolina driver's license, 
expired less than two years, shall complete 
the road signs test and visual acuity test. An 
applicant shall attest during the application 
for a remote driver license renewal that the 
applicant knows of no change in his or her 
vision as set out in Part (a)(6)(D) of this Rule. 
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(3) Applicants possessing a previously issued 
North Carolina driver's license expired 
greater than two years shall complete the full 
examination, to include the knowledge 
examination, road signs test, visual acuity 
test, and road test. Applicants in this 
Subparagraph are not eligible to apply for 
remote renewal. 

(4) Applicants seeking to transfer their current 
driver's license from another state or 
applicants possessing a driver's license issued 
by another state that is expired less than two 
years shall complete the road signs test and 
visual acuity test. Applicants in this 
Subparagraph are not eligible to apply for 
remote renewal. 

(5) Applicants with a driver's license issued by 
another state, expired more than two years, 
shall complete the full examination, to 
include the knowledge examination, road 
signs test, visual acuity test, and road test. 
Applicants in this Subparagraph are not 
eligible to apply for remote renewal. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-2; 20-7(a),(c),(f); 20-39; s. 
34.8(a), 34.8(b); 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. May 4, 2015; May 1, 2014; December 1, 1993; 
July 1, 1982; June 5, 1981; 
Emergency Amendment Eff. July 22, 2020 to expire pursuant to 
S.L. 2020-97, s. 3.20, expiration extended pursuant to S.L. 
2021-13; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0301 ACUTE OR CHRONIC 
ILLNESSES 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-2(b); 20-9; 20-17.1; 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; June 5, 1981; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0403 DRIVING RECORDS 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-26(b),(c); 20-39; 
Eff. July 1, 1978; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; November 1, 1991; July 1, 
1982; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0702 DEFINITIONS 
The following definitions shall apply for purposes of the rules 
of this Section: 

(1) "Division" means the North Carolina 
Division of Motor Vehicles. 

(2) "Commissioner" means the North Carolina 
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. 

(3) "CDL" means Commercial Drivers License. 

(4) "FHWA" means the Federal Highway 
Administration. 

(5) "FMCSR" means the Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations promulgated by the U.S. 
Department of Transportation as set forth in 
49 CFR Part 383, Subparts F, G, and H, 
which are hereby incorporated by reference, 
including subsequent amendments and 
editions, and can be found at no cost at 
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations. 

(6) "Approved Testing Program" means the 
skills tests as required by FMCSR that is 
administered by a Third Party Tester. 

(7) "Tester Certificate" means the document 
issued to a Third Party Tester authorizing him 
or her to administer the approved testing 
program on behalf of the Division. 

(8) "Third Party Tester" means a government 
entity, association, educational institution, or 
business entity engaged in the use of 
commercial motor vehicles, licensed by the 
Division to administer the approved testing 
program for CDL applicants in accordance 
with these Rules. 

(9) "Third Party Examiner" means an individual 
who is a payroll employee of a Third Party 
Tester and who has been issued an examiner 
certificate to conduct the skills tests required 
for a CDL. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0703 REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD 
PARTY TESTERS 
(a)  To be certified as a Third Party Tester a person must: 

(1) apply in accordance with Rule .0706 of this 
Section and enter into an agreement with the 
Division in accordance with 49 CFR 383.75; 

(2) maintain a place of business with at least one 
occupied structure within the state of North 
Carolina; 

(3) have at least one certified Third Party 
Examiner in its employ; 

(4) allow FHWA, its representatives, and the 
Division to conduct random examinations, 
inspections, and audits without prior notice; 

(5) allow the Division to conduct periodic, but at 
least annual on-site inspections; 

(6) maintain at each third party testing location, 
for a minimum of two years, a record of each 
driver for whom the Third Party Tester 
conducts a skills test, whether the driver 
passes or fails the test. Each such record shall 
include: 
(A) the complete name and address of 

the driver; 
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(B) the driver's social security number, 
driver's license number, and the 
name of the state or jurisdiction that 
issued the license held by the driver 
at the time of the test; 

(C) the date the driver took the skills 
test; 

(D) the test score sheets showing the 
results of the test; 

(E) the name and identification number 
of the Third Party Examiner 
conducting the skills test; 

(F) the record of all receipts and 
disbursements; 

(G) the make, model, and registration 
number of the commercial motor 
vehicles used to conduct the testing; 
and 

(H) the written contract or copy, if 
applicable, with any person or group 
of persons being tested. 

(7) maintain at each approved testing location, a 
record of each Third Party Examiner in the 
employ of the Third Party Tester at that 
location. Each record shall include: 
(A) a valid Examiner Certificate 

indicating the Examiner at that 
location; 

(B) a copy of the Third Party Examiner's 
current driving record, that shall be 
updated annually; and 

(C) evidence that the Third Party 
Examiner is a payroll employee of 
the Third Party Tester. 

(8) retain all Third Party Examiner records for at 
least two years after the Third Party 
Examiner leaves the employ of the Third 
Party Tester; 

(9) ensure that the skills tests are conducted in 
accordance with the requirements of this 
Section; 

(10) provide documented proof through electronic 
means provided through a portal by the 
American Association of Motor Vehicle 
Administrators for each driver applicant who 
has taken and passed the required skills tests 
as set forth in G.S. 20-37.13(a)(3). The driver 
applicant will then present themselves to the 
Division and skills test scores will be verified 
through electronic means provided through a 
portal by AAMVA as evidence that they 
successfully passed the driving tests 
administered by the Third and; 

(11) to maintain certification the Third Party 
Tester must administer skills tests to a 
minimum of 10 different driver annually in 
accordance with the requirements of 49 
CFR383.75(c), which is hereby incorporated 
by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions and can be found at 
no cost at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations. 

(b) In addition to the requirements listed in Paragraph (a) of this 
Rule, all Third Party Testers who are not governmental entities 
or associations must: 

(1) Truck and Bus Companies: 
(A) employ at least 25 full-time, part-

time, or seasonal North Carolina 
commercial motor vehicle licensed 
drivers;  

(B) employ an individual who is 
responsible for the organization's 
third party testing operation; and 

(C) have been in operation in North 
Carolina a minimum of six months. 
If the truck or bus company has been 
in operation less than six months 
under the current company name, 
the company shall identify previous 
company names to cover the six-
month period. 

(2) Educational Institutions have a commercial 
motor vehicle training program in operation 
in North Carolina for a minimum of six 
months. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0704 REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD 
PARTY EXAMINERS 
(a)  Third Party Examiners may conduct skills tests on behalf of 
only one Third Party Tester at any given time. If a Third Party 
Examiner leaves the employ of a Third Party Tester he or she 
must reapply to conduct tests on behalf of a new Third Party 
Tester. 
(b)  To qualify as a Third Party Examiner, an individual must: 

(1) apply on a form provided and sent to the 
applicant via email by the Division as set 
forth in Rule .0707 of this Section; 

(2) be a payroll employee of the Third Party 
Tester; 

(3) possess a valid North Carolina Driver's 
License with classification and endorsements 
required for operation of the class and type of 
commercial motor vehicle used in the skills 
tests conducted by the Examiner;  

(4) have completed the Third Party Examiner 
CDL Training Course conducted by the 
Division. At a minimum upon completion of 
the training the Third Party Examiner shall 
have acquired and demonstrated the 
following knowledge and skills: 
(A) understanding of G.S. 20 Article 2C 

and the rules adopted pursuant 
thereto; 
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(B) knowledge of the CDL testing 
procedures and forms; 

(C) ability to administer and complete 
all forms without errors for the CDL 
skills test; and 

(D) knowledge of testing site and route 
requirements. 

(5) take part in all Division required advanced 
training courses, workshops and seminars; 

(6) within 10 years prior to application have had 
no convictions for Driving While Impaired 
(DWI); 

(7) within five years prior to application have 
had no driver's license suspensions, 
revocations, cancellations, or 
disqualifications; 

(8) be at least 21 years of age; and 
(9) conduct skills tests on behalf of the Third 

Party Tester, in accordance with these Rules 
and in accordance with current instructions 
provided by the Division. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. August 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0705 CERTIFICATES 
(a)  A certificate shall be issued allowing the Third Party Tester 
to operate an approved testing program to give skills tests to 
applicants for a CDL as provided in Rule .0703 of this Section. 
(b)  An examiner certificate shall be issued to Third Party 
Examiners of the Third Party Tester as provided in Rule .0704 
of this Section. 
(c)  A copy of the Examiner's Certificate shall be displayed in 
the office of the Third Party Tester. The Examiner's certificate 
shall be effective on the date of issuance and remain in effect 
unless the Examiner surrenders the certificate to the Division or 
until the certificate has been revoked or cancelled by the 
Division as provided in Rule .0716 of this Section. 
(d)  The certificate issued by the Division to operate a Third 
Party Testing Program shall be effective on the date of issuance 
and shall be displayed in the place of business of the Third Party 
Tester until cancelled or revoked as provided in Rule .0716 of 
this Section. 
(e)  A certificate to operate a Third Party Testing program shall 
be non-transferable. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0706 APPLICATION FOR THIRD 
PARTY TESTER CERTIFICATION 
(a)  Before any certificate is issued to a Third Party Tester, an 
application shall be made in writing to the Division on a form 
prepared and emailed to the applicant by the Division. The 
application shall include the information of the Third Party 
Tester applicant: 

(1) the official name, address, and telephone 
number of the principal office or 
headquarters; 

(2) name, title, address, and telephone number of 
the individual who has been designated the 
applicant's contact person; 

(3) description of the type of organization that is 
applying that can include a governmental 
entity, association, motor carrier, or 
educational institution, as well as the length 
of time the organization has been in business 
in North Carolina, if applicable; 

(4) a description of the vehicle fleet owned or 
leased by the applicant, including a complete 
equipment roster as listed for insurance 
purposes; 

(5) the class of testing for which the applicant is 
applying; 

(6) the total number of North Carolina licensed 
drivers employed to operate commercial 
motor vehicles, and the number of such 
drivers who are full-time, part-time, and 
seasonal; 

(7) the name, driver's license number, social 
security number, and home address of those 
payroll employees who wish to be approved 
as Third Party Examiners; and 

(8) proof of the Third Party Tester meets the 
insurance requirements as stated in Rule 
.0714(a) – (d) and set forth in G.S. 20-37.22. 

(b)  The address of each North Carolina location where the 
applicant intends to conduct the skills tests as well as a 
description of the off-road facilities including a map, drawing, 
or written description of the road test route that will be used for 
the on-road portion of the skills test. 
(c)  Educational institutions shall submit with their application 
a description of their facilities, equipment, and training 
curriculum. The number of applications for the previous year 
and the percent graduated must also be included. 
(d)  An applicant for a certificate for a Third Party Tester shall 
also execute an agreement form provided via email by the 
Division in which the applicant agrees, at a minimum, to 
comply with applicable CFRs, G.S. 20-37.13, and the rules of 
this Section for Third Party Tester, including audit procedures. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0707 APPLICATION FOR THIRD 
PARTY EXAMINER CERTIFICATION 
Application for an Examiner Certificate shall be made on a form 
emailed by the Division. The form shall contain the following 
information of the Third Party Examiner applicant: 

(1) the full name, home and business address, 
and telephone numbers; 
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(2) the driving history, including class of current 
license and any endorsements, and 
restrictions; 

(3) the name, address, and telephone number of 
the applicant's employer who has applied for 
or received a certificate as a Third Party 
Tester; and 

(4) the employer's recommendation of the 
applicant for and examiner certificate, as well 
as proof that the applicant is a payroll 
employee. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0709 ON-SITE INSPECTIONS AND 
AUDITS 
(a)  All applicants for a Third Party Tester Certificate shall 
permit the FHWA or the Division to inspect and audit its 
operations, facilities, and records as they relate to its Third 
Party Testing program, for the purpose of determining whether 
the applicant is qualified to be certified. 
(b)  Third Party Testers who have been certified shall permit the 
Division or FHWA to periodically inspect and audit its Third 
Party Testing program to determine whether it remains in 
compliance with the certification requirements as provided in 
Rule .0706 of this Section; 
(c)  The Division and FHWA shall perform inspections and 
audits with or without prior notice to the Third Party Tester. 
(d)  Inspections and audits shall include an examination of: 

(1) records relating to Third Party Testing 
program; 

(2) evidence of compliance with the FMCSRs; 
(3) skills testing procedures practices and 

operations; 
(4) vehicles used for testing; 
(5) qualifications of Third Party Examiners; 
(6) effectiveness of the skills test program by 

either testing a sample of drivers who have 
been issued skills test certificates by the 
Third Party Tester or having Division 
employees take the skills tests from a Third 
Party Examiner; and 

(7) Any Third Party Tester's operation that the 
Division determines is necessary to verify 
that the Third Party Tester meets the 
requirements for the certification as set forth 
in Rule .0703 of this Section. 

(e)  The Division shall prepare a written report of each 
inspection and audit report of the results of each inspection and 
audit. A copy of the report shall be provided to the Third Party 
Tester. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 

19A NCAC 03B .0711 EVALUATION OF 
APPLICANTS BY THE DIVISION 
(a)  In order to determine whether a Third Party Tester applicant 
meets the certification requirements set forth in Rule .0703 of 
this Section, the Division shall review the materials submitted 
in accordance with Rule .0706 of this Section and shall schedule 
an on-site inspection and audit of the applicant's program. 
(b)  In order to determine whether a Third Party Examiner 
applicant meets the certification requirements as set forth in 
Rule .0704 of this Section, the Division shall review the 
materials submitted in accordance with Rule .0707 of this 
Section to include the applicant's driving record, qualification 
questionnaire, and certificate of training. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.13; 20-37.22; 
Eff. September 1, 1990; 
Readopted Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
19A NCAC 03B .0801 DEFINITION 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 20-37.22; 
Eff. July 1, 1992; 
Repealed Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
 

TITLE 21 – OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS 
AND COMMISSIONS 

 
CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 
21 NCAC 16G .0109 DENTAL HYGIENIST 
CERTIFICATION TO ADMINISTER LOCAL 
ANESTHETICS 
(a)  To apply for certification to administer local anesthetics by 
block or infiltration techniques: 

(1) a dental hygienist holding a valid dental 
hygiene license issued by the Board on or 
after October 1, 2021, shall submit to the 
Board a certificate of completion from a 
dental hygiene program meeting the 
requirements set out in G.S. 90-225.2; or 

(2) a dental hygienist licensed in North Carolina 
or any other state or territory who has been 
practicing dental hygiene for the two year 
period set out in G.S. 90-225.3(a)(2) shall 
submit to the Board evidence of completion 
of a course meeting the requirements of G.S. 
90-225(a)(3), including a notarized letter 
from a licensed dentist instructor stating the 
applicant's completion of the required 
injections in a course. 

(b)  The requirements set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule are 
in addition to any other applicable requirements set out in this 
Chapter for the issuance or renewal of a dental hygiene license. 
(c)  As a condition to renew a certificate to administer local 
anesthetics, each dental hygienist shall complete two clock 
hours of continuing education each calendar year in satisfaction 
of the requirements of G.S. 90-225.3(c), which may be among 
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those chosen to satisfy the requirements set out in 21 NCAC 16I 
.0201(a). 
(d)  A dental hygienist certified in accordance with this Rule 
shall conduct administration of local anesthetics only under the 
direct supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-221; 90-223; 90-225.2; 
90-225.3; S.L. 2021-95; 
Temporary Adoption Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
21 NCAC 16O .0402 EDUCATIONAL 
REQUIREMENTS 
(a)  A Dental Assistant may aid and assist a licensed dentist in 
the monitoring of nitrous oxide-oxygen inhalant sedation by 
completing a Board-approved course totaling at least seven 
hours that covers the following topics: 

(1) definitions and descriptions of physiological 
and psychological aspects of pain and 
anxiety; 

(2) the states of drug-induced central nervous 
system depression through all levels of 
consciousness and unconsciousness, with 
emphasis on the distinction between the 
conscious and unconscious state; 

(3) respiratory and circulatory physiology, and 
related anatomy; 

(4) pharmacology of agents used in the nitrous 
oxide techniques being taught, including 
drug interaction and incompatibility; 

(5) patient monitoring, with particular attention 
to vital signs and reflexes related to 
consciousness; 

(6) prevention, recognition, and management of 
complications and life threatening situations 
that may occur during the use of the nitrous 
oxide techniques, including cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation; 

(7) description and use of ventilation sedation 
equipment; and 

(8) potential health hazards of trace anesthetics, 
and proposed techniques for elimination of 
these potential health hazards. 

(b)  Courses approved to satisfy the educational requirements 
of this Rule shall be provided and taught by: 

(1) an instructor who is a dentist holding an 
unrestricted license as defined by 21 NCAC 
16A .0101(7); 

(2) an instructor licensed pursuant to 21 NCAC 
16B .0701; or 

(3) a dental hygienist or dental assistant under 
the direction of an instructor who satisfies the 
requirements of Subparagraph (b)(1) or 
(b)(2) of this Rule, who shall be physically 
present and administer nitrous oxide if it is 
administered in the course. 

(c)  Courses shall be reviewed at any Board meeting and 
approved by a majority of the Board to satisfy the educational 
requirements of this Rule. A list of approved courses is 
available on the Board's website at www.ncdentalboard.org. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-29(b)(6); 90-29(c)(10); 
90-29(c)(13); 90-48; 90-223; 
Eff. July 16, 1980; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2016; May 1, 1989; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1317 DEFINITIONS 
Terms used in this Chapter and G.S. 90, Article 4A, are defined 
as follows, unless otherwise defined in G.S. 90, Article 4A:  

(1) Ambulation assistance equipment. Devices 
that aid in walking, excluding canes, 
crutches, and walkers. 

(2) Approved school or college of pharmacy. A 
school or college of pharmacy accredited by 
the American Council on Pharmaceutical 
Education.  

(3) Diagnostic equipment. Equipment used to 
record physiological information while a 
person goes about normal daily living or 
while asleep in order to document a disease 
process. Early pregnancy tests (EPTs), 
thermometers, glucose meters, and 
cholesterol equipment are not included as 
diagnostic equipment. 

(4) Drug regimen review or drug use review. A 
review of a patient's record by a licensed 
pharmacist that involves interpretation and 
evaluation of the drug therapy and other 
pharmaceutical care services to achieve 
intended medication outcomes and minimize 
negative effects of drug therapy. 

(5) Employee. A person who is or would be 
considered an employee under the North 
Carolina Workers' Compensation Act. This 
definition applies to locations both within 
and outside of this State holding pharmacy or 
device and medical equipment permits and 
without regard to the number of persons 
employed by the permit holder. 

(6) Graduate of an approved school of college of 
pharmacy. A person who has received an 
undergraduate professional degree in 
pharmacy from an approved school or 
college of pharmacy.  

(7) Health Care Facility. One of the following 
organizations whose primary purpose is to 
provide a physical environment for patients 
to obtain health care services:  
(a) a hospital; 
(b) a long-term care facility; 
(c) a mental health facility; 
(d) a drug abuse treatment center; 
(e) an assisted living facility; 
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(f) an ambulatory surgical center; 
(g) a penal institution; or 
(h) a hospice. 

(8) Health Care Facility Pharmacy. A pharmacy 
permitted by the Board that provides services 
to patients of a Health Care Facility. 

(9) Internet pharmacy.  
(a) A pharmacy that maintains an 

Internet web site for the purpose of 
selling or distributing prescription 
drugs; or 

(b) A pharmacy that uses the Internet, 
either itself, or through agreement 
with a third party, to communicate 
with or obtain information from 
patients; uses such communication 
or information, in whole or in part, 
to solicit, fill or refill prescriptions; 
or otherwise uses such 
communication or information, in 
whole or in part, to engage in the 
practice of pharmacy.  

Notwithstanding Sub-items (a) and (b) 
above, a pharmacy shall not be deemed an 
Internet pharmacy if it maintains each 
Internet web site for the following purposes 
only: 

(i) To post advertisements 
that do not attempt to 
facilitate, directly or 
through agreement with a 
third party, an actual 
transaction involving a 
prescription drug; 

(ii) To allow a patient to 
communicate a request for 
a refill of a valid 
prescription originally 
filled by the pharmacy that 
maintains the Internet web 
site; 

(iii) To allow a customer to 
research drug interactions 
and clinical pharmacology 
information; or 

(iv) To allow a patient to send 
an electronic mail message 
to a pharmacist licensed in 
North Carolina. 

(10) Medication Order. An order for a drug, 
device, or medical equipment for a patient 
from a person authorized by law to prescribe 
them.  

(11) Mobility equipment. Devices that aid a 
person in self-movement other than walking, 
including manual or power wheelchairs and 
scooters. 

(12) North Carolina resident or resident of North 
Carolina. Any patient who is a temporary or 

permanent resident of the State of North 
Carolina or present in the State of North 
Carolina at the time a drug, device, or 
medical equipment is dispensed to that 
person. 

(13) Oxygen and respiratory care equipment. 
Equipment or devices used to administer 
oxygen or other legend drugs, maintain 
viable airways, or monitor cardio-respiratory 
conditions or events, including the following: 
(a) compressed medical gases; 
(b) oxygen concentrators; 
(c) liquid oxygen; 
(d) nebulizers; 
(e) compressors; 
(f) aerosol therapy devices; 
(g) portable suction machines; 
(h) nasal continuous positive airway 

pressure (CPAP) machines; 
(i) Bi-phasic positive pressure devices 

(BiPAP); 
(j) infant monitors, such as apnea 

monitors and cardio-respiratory 
monitors; 

(k) positive and negative pressure 
mechanical ventilators; and 

(l) pulse oximeters. 
(14) Patient medication profile, patient profile, or 

pharmacy profile. A list of all medications 
prescribed for or dispensed to a patient. 

(15) Pharmacist-Manager. The person who 
accepts responsibility for the operation of a 
pharmacy in conformance with all statutes 
and rules pertinent to the practice of 
pharmacy and distribution of drugs by 
signing the permit application, its renewal, or 
addenda thereto. 

(16) Pharmacy Intern. Any person who is 
registered with the Board under the 
internship program of the Board to acquire 
pharmacy experience or enrolled in approved 
academic internship programs. A pharmacy 
intern working under a pharmacist preceptor 
or supervising pharmacist may, while under 
supervision, perform all acts constituting the 
practice of pharmacy. 

(17) Rehabilitation environmental control 
equipment. Equipment or devices that permit 
a person with disabilities to control his or her 
immediate surroundings. 

(18) Undergraduate professional degree in 
pharmacy. A Bachelor of Science in 
Pharmacy or a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.3; 90-85.6; 90-85.13; 
90-85.14; 90-85.15; 90-85.21; 90-85.21A; 90-85.22; 90-85.26; 
90-85.32; 90-85.33; 90-85.34; 90-85.38; 90-85.40; 
Eff. May 1, 1989; 
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Amended Eff. March 1, 2013; February 1, 2007; March 1, 
2004; April 1, 1999; May 1, 1997; September 1, 1995; 
September 1, 1993; October 1, 1990; January 1, 1990; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1616 LIMITED SERVICE PERMITS 
(a)  The following pharmacy practice locations are eligible to 
apply for "limited service permits" whose operations are 
modified by the provisions set forth in this Rule: 

(1) auxiliary medication inventories permitted 
and operating in health care facilities 
pursuant to Rule .1414(d) of this Chapter; 

(2) automated dispensing or drug supply devices 
permitted and operating in health care 
facilities pursuant to Rule .1419 of this 
Chapter; 

(3) facilities where drugs are dispensed only by 
nurse practitioners or physician assistants 
pursuant to Section .1700 of this Chapter; 

(4) county health departments or other 
governmental entities providing local health 
services under G.S. 130A-34 where drugs are 
dispensed only by registered nurses and only 
pursuant to G.S. 90-85.34A and Section 
.2400 of this Chapter; 

(5) county health departments or other 
governmental entities providing local health 
services under G.S. 130A-34 that engage in 
dispensing beyond that set out in G.S. 90-
85.34A and Section .2400 of this Chapter; 

(6) free clinics, as defined in G.S. 90-
85.44(a)(6); or 

(7) critical access hospitals, as defined in G.S. 
131E-76. 

(b)  A pharmacist-manager for a limited service permit may 
designate one assistant pharmacist-manager but is not required 
to do so. The assistant pharmacist-manager shall be responsible 
for exercising all of the responsibilities of a pharmacist-
manager when the assistant pharmacist-manager is present and 
the pharmacist-manager is not present at the limited service 
permit. If the pharmacist-manager chooses to designate an 
assistant pharmacist-manager, the pharmacist-manager shall 
notify the Board on the limited service permit application and, 
in writing, within 15 days of any change in the designation. 
Notwithstanding the pharmacist-manager's designation of an 
assistant pharmacist-manager, the pharmacist-manager shall be 
responsible for ensuring the pharmacy's compliance with all 
statutes, rules, and standards at all times. 
(c)  For limited service permits, the pharmacist-manager 
attendance requirements set out in Rule .2502(b) of this Chapter 
are modified only as set forth herein: 

(1) For limited service permits described in 
Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this Rule, 
either the pharmacist-manager or the 
assistant pharmacist-manager must perform 
an in-person, on-site visit at least once per 
calendar quarter to inspect the permit, review 

the operations of the permit with the persons 
involved in accessing them, and ensure that 
the permits are operated in compliance with 
all applicable State and federal laws. 

(2) For limited service permits described in 
Subparagraphs (a)(3) and (4) of this Rule, 
either the pharmacist-manager or the 
assistant pharmacist-manager must perform 
an in-person, on-site visit at least once per 
week to inspect the permit, review the 
operations of the permit with the persons 
involved in dispensing, and ensure that the 
permits are operated in compliance with all 
applicable State and federal laws. 

(3) For limited service permits described in 
Subparagraphs (a)(5), (6), and (7) of this 
Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the 
assistant pharmacist-manager employed or 
otherwise engaged to supply pharmaceutical 
services may have a flexible schedule of 
attendance but shall be present for at least 
one-half of the hours the pharmacy is open or 
20 hours a week, whichever is less. For the 
limited service permits described in 
Subparagraphs (a)(5) and (6) of this Rule, a 
licensed pharmacist must be present when the 
pharmacy is open as described in Rule 
.2502(e) of this Chapter. For the limited 
service permits described in Subparagraph 
(a)(7) of this Rule, the limited service permit 
may operate in the absence of a pharmacist 
only as set out in Rule .1413 of this Chapter. 

(4) The limited service permit may name a 
temporary pharmacist-manager or assistant 
pharmacist-manager for a period not to 
exceed 90 days from the departure date of the 
previous pharmacist-manager or assistant 
pharmacist-manager. The temporary 
pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-
manager must accept the responsibilities of 
that position and must be present as set forth 
in this Rule. A limited service permit may not 
operate for a period of more than 30 days 
without a pharmacist employed or otherwise 
engaged as a permanent or temporary 
pharmacist-manager who has signed the 
permit for that pharmacy. 

(d)  A person may serve as the pharmacist-manager or the 
assistant pharmacist-manager for multiple limited service 
permits, and may serve as the pharmacist-manager or assistant 
pharmacist-manager for limited service permits in addition to 
serving as the pharmacist-manager for a maximum of one 
permit other than a limited service permit. A person may serve 
multiple limited permits only if that person is able to fulfill all 
of that person's duties under State and federal law. 
(e)  Other than as set forth in this Rule, limited service permits 
and their personnel must follow all requirements of State and 
federal law. This Rule does not replace or modify the 
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requirements that the pharmacist-manager provide oversight 
and supervision as provided elsewhere in this Chapter.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18.1(c); 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 
90-85.21; 90-85.33; 90-85.34; 
Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1703 DRUGS TO BE DISPENSED 
(a)  The nurse practitioner may dispense any and all drugs that 
the nurse practitioner is authorized by law to prescribe. 
(b)  The physician assistant may dispense any and all drugs that 
the physician assistant is authorized by law to prescribe. 
(c)  All drugs dispensed by a nurse practitioner or physician 
assistant must be dispensed from a place holding a current 
pharmacy permit from the Board as required by G.S. 90-85.21. 
(d)  The pharmacist-manager, or another licensed pharmacist 
working under the pharmacist-manager's supervision, shall be 
available for consultation in person, by telephone, or other 
means of direct communication at all times when drugs are 
dispensed, including to perform drug regimen review for 
patients as needed.  
(e)  All drugs dispensed pursuant to G.S. 90-18.1(c), 90-18.2(c), 
and the rules of this Section shall be packaged, labeled, and 
otherwise dispensed in compliance with State and federal law, 
and records of dispensing shall be kept in compliance with State 
and federal law. The pharmacist-manager shall be responsible 
for compliance with these laws at all times, regardless of 
whether the pharmacist-manager is present at the time of 
dispensing.  
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18.1; 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 
Eff. April 1, 1983; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; May 1, 1997; May 1, 1989; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .1706 RETROSPECTIVE REVIEW 
AND CONSULTATION 
During the weekly in-person, on-site visit required by Rule 
.1616(c)(2) of this Chapter, if not more frequently, the 
pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-manager shall 
retrospectively perform a drug regimen review of all drugs 
dispensed by a nurse practitioner or physician assistant. During 
this review, the pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-
manager shall: 

(1) review the appropriateness of the choice of 
medication(s) for each patient and the 
patient's therapeutic regimen, including 
choice of medication, dose, frequency, and 
route of administration; 

(2) identify and resolve therapeutic duplication 
in each patient's medication regimen; and 

(3) consider patient-specific medication 
contraindications. 

 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-18.1; 90-18.2; 90-85.6; 
Eff. April 1, 1999; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021. 
 
21 NCAC 46 .2502 RESPONSIBILITIES OF 
PHARMACIST-MANAGER 
(a)  The pharmacist-manager shall assure that prescription 
legend drugs and controlled substances are safe and secure 
within the pharmacy. 
(b)  Except as expressly provided in Rule .1616 of this Chapter, 
the pharmacist-manager employed or otherwise engaged to 
supply pharmaceutical services may have a flexible schedule of 
attendance but shall be present for at least one-half the hours 
the pharmacy is open or 32 hours a week, whichever is less. A 
pharmacist employee not meeting this requirement may serve 
as temporary pharmacist-manager of the permit holder for a 
period not to exceed 90 days from the departure date of the 
previous pharmacist-manager, if the pharmacist employee is 
present at least 20 hours per week in the pharmacy. A pharmacy 
may not operate for a period of more than 30 days without a 
pharmacist employed or otherwise engaged as a permanent or 
temporary pharmacist-manager who has signed the permit for 
that pharmacy. 
(c)  Whenever a change of ownership or change of 
pharmacist-manager occurs, the successor pharmacist-manager 
shall complete an inventory of all controlled substances in the 
pharmacy within 10 days. A written record of the inventory, 
signed and dated by the successor pharmacist-manager, shall be 
maintained in the pharmacy with other controlled substances 
records for a period of three years. 
(d)  The pharmacist-manager shall develop and implement a 
system of inventory record-keeping and control that will enable 
that pharmacist-manager to detect any shortage or discrepancy 
in the inventories of controlled substances at that pharmacy at 
the earliest practicable time. 
(e)  The pharmacist-manager shall maintain authority and 
control over all access to the pharmacy and shall be responsible 
for the security of the pharmacy. Except as provided in Rules 
.1413(c) and .1616(c)(1) and (2) of this Chapter, a pharmacist 
must be present at both the opening and closing of the 
pharmacy. If no pharmacist will be present in the pharmacy for 
a period of 90 minutes or more between the opening and closing 
of the pharmacy, the pharmacy shall be secured to prohibit 
unauthorized entry. 
(f)  These duties shall be in addition to the duties of 
pharmacist-managers as set forth in the other rules in this 
Chapter. 
(g)  A person shall not simultaneously serve as 
pharmacist-manager for more than one permit, unless: 

(1) any additional permits beyond that one 
permit is a limited service permit as provided 
in Rule .1616 of this Chapter; 

(2) the person is serving simultaneously as 
pharmacist-manager at two pharmacies 
holding full service permits, one of which is 
a newly permitted pharmacy that has not yet 
begun providing pharmacy services to 
patients. When the newly permitted 
pharmacy begins providing pharmacy 
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services to patients or six months from the 
issuance of the new pharmacy permit, 
whichever occurs sooner, the person shall 
relinquish the former pharmacist-manager 
position and notify the Board of having done 
so. 

(h)  When a pharmacy is to be closed permanently, the 
pharmacist-manager shall inform the Board and the United 
States Drug Enforcement Administration of the closing, arrange 
for the proper disposition of the pharmaceuticals, and return the 
pharmacy permit to the Board's offices within 10 days of the 
closing date. If possible, notice of the closing shall be given to 
the public by posted notice at the pharmacy at least 30 days 
prior to the closing date and 15 days after the closing date. Such 
notice shall notify the public that prescription files may be 
transferred to a pharmacy of the patient's or customer's choice 
during the 30-day period prior to the closing date. During the 
30-day period prior to the closing date, the pharmacist-manager 
and the pharmacy's owner (if the owner is other than the 
pharmacist-manager), shall transfer prescription files to another 
pharmacy chosen by the patient or customer, upon request. 
Absent specific instructions from the patient or customer, the 
pharmacist-manager and the pharmacy's owner (if the owner is 
other than the pharmacist-manager), shall transfer prescription 
files to another pharmacy for maintenance of patient therapy 
and shall inform the public of such transfer by posted notice at 
the pharmacy for 15 days after the closing date, if possible. 
Controlled substance records shall be retained for the period of 
time required by law. 
(i)  If possible, the pharmacist-manager shall ensure that notice 
of the temporary closing of any pharmacy for more than 14 
consecutive days is given to the public by posted notice at the 
pharmacy at least 30 days prior to the closing date, and 15 days 
after the closing date. Such notice shall notify the public that 
prescription files may be transferred to a pharmacy of the 
patient's or customer's choice during the 30-day period prior to 
the closing date. During the 30-day period prior to the closing 
date, the pharmacist-manager and the pharmacy's owner (if the 
owner is other than the pharmacist-manager), shall transfer 

prescription files to another pharmacy chosen by the patient or 
customer, upon request. 
(j)  The pharmacist-manager shall prepare a plan to safeguard 
prescription records and pharmaceuticals and minimize the 
interruption of pharmacy services in the event of a natural 
disaster such as hurricane or flood. 
(k)  The pharmacist-manager shall separate from the dispensing 
stock all drug products more than six months out of date. 
(l)  The pharmacist-manager shall report to the Board 
information that reasonably suggests that there is a probability 
that a prescription drug or device dispensed from a location 
holding a permit has caused or contributed to the death of a 
patient or customer. This report shall be filed in writing on a 
form provided by the Board within 14 days of the owner 
representative or pharmacist-manager's becoming aware of the 
event. The pharmacist-manager shall retain all documents, 
labels, vials, supplies, substances, and internal investigative 
reports relating to the event. All such items shall be made 
available to the Board upon request. 
(m)  The Board shall not disclose the identity of a 
pharmacist-manager who makes a report under Paragraph (l) of 
this Rule, except as required by law. No report made under 
Paragraph (l) of this Rule shall be released except as required 
by law. 
(n)  In any Board proceeding, the Board shall consider 
compliance with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as a mitigating factor 
and noncompliance with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as an 
aggravating factor. 
 
History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21; 90-
85.21A; 90-85.25; 90-85.26; 90-85.32; 
Eff. May 1, 1989; 
Amended Eff. April 1, 2006; February 1, 2005; August 1, 2002; 
December 1, 2001; April 1, 2001; April 1, 1999; July 1, 1996; 
March 1, 1992; October 1, 1990; 
Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 
substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017; 
Amended Eff. November 1, 2021; March 1, 2019. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission December 16, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 
Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 
Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 
instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 
the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  
Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Andrew P. Atkins (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. (2nd Vice Chair) Wayne R. Boyles, III 
Margaret Currin Barbara A. Jackson 

Jeff Hyde Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Paul Powell 

 
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Brian Liebman  984-236-1948 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 December 16, 2021 February 17, 2022 
 January 20, 2022 March 17, 2022 

 
 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, DECEMBER 16, 2021, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting  

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission - 12 NCAC 09B .0202, .0209, .0210, .0211,  

.0212, .0213, .0214, .0226, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0238, .0242, .0244, .0417; 09G .0414, .0415, .0416  

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between October 21, 2021 through November 22, 2021 
• Soil and Water Conservation Commission (May) 
• Medical Care Commission (May) 
• DHHS - Division of Health Service Regulation (May) 
• Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission (May) 
• Private Protective Services Board (May) 
• Environmental Management Commission (May) 
• Marine Fisheries Commission (May) 
• Board of Chiropractic Examiners (May) 
• Licensing Board for General Contractors (May) 
• Board of Landscape Architects (May) 
• Medical Board (May)  
• Board of Pharmacy (May) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 
• Review of 2022 RRC meeting dates 
• Next meeting: January 20, 2022  
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Commission Review 

Log of Permanent Rule Filings 
October 21, 2021 through November 22, 2021 

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 59A concern organization and operation including general provisions (.0100); supervisor 
training program (.0200); and supervisor removal (.0300). 

Objectives 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0101 

Address 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0102 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0103 

Supervisor Vacancies 
Repeal* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0104 

General 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0201 

Required Basic Training 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0202 

Continuing Training Requirements 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0203 

Supervisor Training Credits 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0204 

Supervisor Removal Procedures and Reporting 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0301 

Inquiry Committee 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 59A .0302 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 13F concern licensing of homes for the aged and infirm and include definitions (.0100); licensing 
(.0200); physical plant (.0300); staff qualification (.0400); staff orientation training, competency and continuing education 
(.0500); staffing (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident care 
and services (.0900); medication (.1000); Resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies; records and reports (.1200); 
special care units for alzheimer and related disorders (.1300); special care units for mental health disorders (.1400); use 
of physical restraints and alternatives (.1500); rated certificates (.1600); administrator certification and renewal (.1700); 
and infection prevention and control (.1800). 

Qualification of Food Service Supervisor 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0405 

Food Service Orientation 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13F .0509 

Availability of Corrective Action and Survey Reports 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13F .1213 

The rules in Subchapter 13G concern licensing of family care homes including definitions (.0100); licensing (.0200); the 
building (.0300); staff qualifications (.0400); staffing orientation, training, competency and continuing education (.0500); 
staffing of the home (.0600); admission and discharge (.0700); resident assessment and care plan (.0800); resident 
care and services (.0900); medications (.1000); management and resident's funds and refunds (.1100); policies, records 
and reports (.1200); use of physical restraints and alternatives (.1300); rated certificates (.1600); and infection 
prevention and control (.1700).. 
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Food Service Orientation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .0509 

Availability of Corrective Action and Survey Reports 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13G .1214 

HHS - HEALTH SERVICE REGULATION, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern services provided by the Division of Health Service Regulation. The rules in Subchapter 
14C are Certificate of Need regulations including general provisions (.0100); applications and review process (.0200); 
exemptions (.0300); appeal process (.0400); enforcement and sanctions (.0500); and criteria and standards for nursing 
facility or adult care home services (.1100), intensive care services (.1200), pediatric intensive care services (.1300), 
neonatal services (.1400), hospices, hospice inpatient facilities, and hospice residential care facilities (.1500), cardiac 
catheterization equipment and cardiac angioplasty equipment (.1600), open heart surgery services and heart-lung 
bypass machines (.1700), diagnostic centers (.1800), radiation therapy equipment (.1900), home health services 
(.2000), surgical services and operating rooms (.2100), end stage renal disease services (.2200), computed tomography 
equipment (.2300), immediate care facility/mentally retarded (ICF/MR) (.2400), substance abuse/chemical dependency 
treatment beds (.2500), psychiatric beds (.2600), magnetic resonance imaging scanner (.2700), rehabilitation services 
(.2800), bone marrow transplantation services (.2900), solid organ transplantation services (.3000), major medical 
equipment (.3100), lithotriptor equipment (.3200), air ambulance (.3300), burn intensive care services (.3400), oncology 
treatment centers (.3500), gamma knife (.3600), positron emission tomography scanner (.3700), acute care beds 
(.3800), gastrointestinal endoscopy procedure rooms in licensed health service facilities (.3900), and hospice inpatient 
facilities and hospice residential care facilities (.4000). 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1601 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1603 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1701 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1901 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .1903 

Definitions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2301 

Performance Standards 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2303 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2401 

Performance Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2403 

Definitions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2501 

Performance Standards 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2503 

Definitions 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2601 

Performance Standards 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2603 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2701 

Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .2703 

Definitions  10A NCAC 14C .3701 
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Readopt with Changes* 
Performance Standards 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 14C .3703 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are from the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission. This Commission 
has primary responsibility for setting statewide education, training, employment, and retention standards for criminal 
justice personnel (not including sheriffs).  
 
The rules in Subchapter 9A cover the Commission organization and procedure (.0100) and enforcement of the rules 
(.0200). 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09A .0205 

The rules in Subchapter 9B cover minimum standards for: employment (.0100); schools and training programs (.0200); 
criminal justice instructors (.0300); completion of training (.0400); school directors (.0500); and certification of post-
secondary criminal justice education programs (.0600). 

Basic Training - Juvenile Court Counselors and Chief Cour... 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0235 

Terms and Conditions of Specialized Instructor Certification 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09B .0305 

The rules in Subchapter 9G are the standards for correction including scope, applicability and definitions (.0100); 
minimum standards for certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and probation/parole officers-
intermediate (.0200); certification of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, probation/parole officers intermediate 
and instructors (.0300); minimum standards for training of correctional officers, probation/parole officers, and 
probation/parole officers-intermediate (.0400); enforcement of rules (.0500); professional certification program (.0600); 
and forms (.0700). 

Period of Suspension: Revocation: or Denial 
Amend* 

 12 NCAC 09G .0505 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 16 are from the Private Protective Services Board and cover organization and general provisions 
(.0100); licenses and trainee permits (.0200); security guard patrol and guard dog service (.0300); private investigator: 
electronic countermeasures (.0400); polygraph (.0500); psychological stress evaluator (PSE) (.0600); unarmed security 
guard registration (.0700); armed security guard firearm registration permit (.0800); trainer certificate (.0900); recovery 
fund (.1000); training and supervision for private investigator associates (.1100); continuing education (.1300); and 
armed armored car service guards firearm registration permit (.1400). 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0201 

Renewal of Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0806 

Renewal of a Firearms Trainer Certificate 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .0904 

Required Continuing Education Hours 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1202 

Accreditation Standards 
Amend* 

 14B NCAC 16 .1203 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 
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The rules in Subchapter 2E concern water use registration and allocation including general provisions (.0100); capacity 
use area No. 1 (.0200); registration of water withdrawals and transfers (.0300); regulation of surface water transfers 
(.0400); central coastal plain capacity use area (.0500); and water use during drought and water supply emergencies 
(.0600). 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0106 

Delegation 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0107 

Application; Processing Fees 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0301 

Declaration and Delineation of Central Coastal Plain Capa... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0501 

Withdrawal Permits 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0502 

Prescribed Water Use Reductions in Cretaceous Aquifer Zones 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0503 

Requirements for Entry and Inspection 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0504 

Acceptable Withdrawal Methods that do not Require a Permit 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0505 

Central Coastal Plain Capacity Use Area Status Report 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0506 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0507 

Scope 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0601 

Definitions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0602 

General Information 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0603 

Annual Reporting of Water Use Data 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0604 

Water Use Reduction Reporting. New Water Withdrawal Repor... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0605 

Water Shortage Response Planning Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0606 

Publicly and Privately Owned Water System Water Shortage ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0607 

State Agency Water Shortage Response Planning Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0608 

Local Government Water Shortage Response Planning Require... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0609 

Business and Industrial Water Shortage Response Planning ... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0610 

Agricultural and Horticultural Water Shortage Response Pl... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0611 

Default Water Shortage Response Planning Measures 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0612 

Default Water Use Reduction Measures During NCDMAC Extrem... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0613 

Default Water Use Reduction Measures During NCDMAC Except...  15A NCAC 02E .0614 
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Readopt with Changes* 
Water Reuse During Droughts and Water Emergencies 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 02E .0615 

The rules in Subchapter 2L cover groundwater classifications and standards including general considerations (.0100); 
classifications and groundwater quality standards (.0200); the assignments of underground water classifications (.0300); 
risk-based assessment and corrective action for petroleum underground storage tanks (.0400); and risk-based 
assessment and correction action for non-UST petroleum releases (.0500). 

Groundwater Quality Standards 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 02L .0202 

MARINE FISHERIES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 3Q cover the joint and separate jurisdictions of the Marine Fisheries Commission and the 
Wildlife Resources Commission including general regulations (.0100); and boundary lines between inland, joint, and 
coastal waters (.0200). 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0101 

Inland Fishing Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0102 

Coastal Fishing Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0103 

Joint Fishing Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0104 

Posting Dividing Lines 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0105 

Applicability of Rules: Joint Waters 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0106 

Special Regulations for Fishing Joint Waters 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0107 

Management Responsibility for Estuarine Striped Bass in J... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0108 

Implementation of Estuarine Striped Bass Fishery Manageme... 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 03Q .0109 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 10 include organization of the Board (.0100); the practice of chiropractic (.0200); rules of unethical 
conduct (.0300); rule-making procedures (.0400); investigation of complaints (.0500); contested cases and hearings in 
contested cases (.0600-.0700); and miscellaneous provisions (.0800). 

Requirements for Licensure 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0201 

Licensure; Renewal of License 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0204 

Renewal of License 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0205 

Certification of Radiologic Technologists 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0206 

Certified Chiropractic Assistants 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 10 .0213 

Designation of Specialties  21 NCAC 10 .0304 
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Amend* 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

The rules in Subchapter 12A concern general provisions including organization and responsibilities of the board (.0100); 
licensing requirements (.0200); application procedure (.0300); examination (.0400); license (.0500); board disciplinary 
procedures (.0700); contested cases (.0800); and homeowners recovery fund (.0900). 

Classification 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0202 

License Granted 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12A .0501 

The rules in Subchapter 12B concern the general provisions (.0100); providers (.0200); courses (.0300); and instructors 
(.0400) for continuing education. 

Denial or Withdrawal of Provider Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0203 

Approval and Renewal of Elective Course 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0302 

Application Criteria for Initial Instructor Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 12B .0401 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 26 are from the Board of Landscape Architects and include statutory and administrative provisions 
(.0100); practice rules for registered landscape architects (.0200); examination and licensing procedures (.0300); rules, 
petitions and hearings (.0400); and board disciplinary procedures (.0500). 

Authority: Name and Location of the Board 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0101 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0105 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0107 

Board Listing of Individuals and Firm Names 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0201 

Name of Firm 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0206 

Unprofessional Conduct 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0209 

Dishonest Practice 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0210 

Scope of Practice 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0212 

License by Comity 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0303 

Reinstatement After Revocation 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0306 

Duties and Functions of Continuing Education Advisory Com... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0308 

Exemptions and Extension of Time 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0309 

Reinstatement Criteria  21 NCAC 26 .0310 
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Amend* 
Continuing Education Requests for Approval 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0311 

Compliance 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0312 

Individual Licenses 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0313 

Corporate Practice of Landscape Architecture 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0314 

Out-of-State Entities 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0315 

Complaints and Disciplinary Review Process 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 26 .0510 

MEDICAL BOARD 

The rules in Subchapter 32R concern Continuing Medical Education (CME) Requirements. 

Approved Categories of CME 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32R .0102 

The rules in Subchapter 32S regulate physician assistants including physician assistant registration (.0200). 

Continuing Medical Education 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 32S .0216 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 46 cover organization of the board (.1200); general definitions (.1300); hospitals and other health 
facilities (.1400); admission requirements and examinations (.1500); licenses and permits (.1600); drugs dispensed by 
nurse and physician assistants (.1700); prescriptions (.1800); forms (.1900); administrative provisions (.2000); elections 
(.2100); continuing education (.2200); prescription information and records (.2300); dispensing in health departments 
(.2400); miscellaneous provisions (.2500); devices (.2600); nuclear pharmacy (.2700); compounding (.2800); product 
selection (.2900); disposal of unwanted drugs (.3000); clinical pharmacist practitioner (.3100); impaired pharmacist peer 
review program (.3200); and registry of pharmacist technicians (.3300). 

Remote Medication Order Processing Services 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 46 .1417 

Centralized Pharmacy Services 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 46 .1816 
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	Title 13 – Department of Labor
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	SECTION .0100 - DEFINITIONS
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	(a)  The Boiler Safety Bureau, which administers the provisions of Article 7A of G.S. Chapter 95, is located in Raleigh at the following physical address:
	(b)  All correspondence shall be addressed to the following mailing address:
	(a)  Deputy Inspectors conducting certificate inspections shall be in possession of a valid North Carolina Commission. Special Inspectors and Owner-User Inspectors shall be in possession of a National Board Commission and a North Carolina Commission.
	(b)  A North Carolina Commission shall be issued to an inspector who:
	(1) has attained a passing grade of 70 percent or higher on an examination administered by the Chief Inspector relating to the Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act and the rules of this Chapter; and
	(2) meets all other criteria as set forth in the Uniform Boiler and Pressure Vessel Act and this Chapter.

	(c)  If a North Carolina Commissioned inspector does not conduct at least one certificate inspection in North Carolina per calendar year, the inspector must retake and pass this examination before becoming commissioned again in this state. A certifica...
	(d)  National Board examinations are administered by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors. Inspectors through Applied Measurement Professionals ("AMP"). Information on the examinations may be found on the National Board web site...
	(e)  The National Board Inservice Inspector examination covers the installation, operation, maintenance and repair and inspection of boilers and pressure vessels and their appurtenances. A grade of 70 percent or higher must be attained to achieve a pa...
	(a)  When requested by the employer and upon presentation of a completed Application for Commission as an Inspector of Boilers and Pressure Vessels, a North Carolina Commission, bearing the signature of either the Commissioner, Commissioner or Chief I...
	(b)  Applications for a North Carolina Commission shall be processed upon proof of a National Board Commission and payment of a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) fee to the Department of Labor.
	(c)  North Carolina Commissions shall be valid through December 31 of each year, at which time the inspector's employer shall submit a renewal request letter and a thirty-five dollar ($35.00) fee to the Department of Labor.
	(d)  The North Carolina Commission shall be returned by the employing company with notification of termination date to the Bureau within 30 days of termination of employment.
	(e)  A North Carolina Commission may be suspended or revoked by the Commissioner in accordance with G.S. 95-69.11(20) if an inspector is incompetent or untrustworthy or has falsified any statement in an application or inspection report. The Commission...
	(a)  A company seeking to conduct inspections of its own pressure vessels shall file an application with the Chief Inspector, accompanied by the Certificate of Accreditation issued by the National Board as an Owner-User Inspection Organization.
	(b)  The company shall, in its application, designate a supervisor who shall be an engineer within its employ who, upon approval of the application, shall:
	(1) ascertain that the company's inspectors, pursuant to Rules .0202 and .0203 of this Section, are issued National Board Commission cards;
	(2) supervise inspections of pressure vessels and ensure that an inspection report, signed by the owner-user inspector, is filed at the equipment site;
	(3) notify the Chief Inspector of any unsafe pressure vessel that presents a condition of imminent danger;
	(4) maintain a master file of inspection records that shall be available for examination by the Chief Inspector or his representative during business hours and contain the following:
	(5) on a date agreed upon with the Chief Inspector, file an annual statement signed by the supervisor showing the number of boilers and certifying that each inspection was conducted pursuant to this Chapter, accompanied by an administrative fee of twe...

	(c)  Inspection certificates shall not be required for pressure vessels inspected under an owner-user program.
	(a)  Inspectors shall file inspection reports with the Chief Inspector:
	(1) within 10 working days after the date each certificate inspection, inspection is performed; and
	(2) immediately for all conditions of imminent danger, or any condition that would result in the insurance company's refusal to issue or continue an insurance policy on the boiler or pressure vessel. vessel; and
	(3) shall include the insurance policy identifier covering any equipment inspected by a special inspector.

	(b)  Inspectors shall notify the Chief Inspector, in person or by electronic means, upon becoming aware of an accident which renders a boiler or pressure vessel inoperative or causes damage to property, personal injury, or death.
	(c)  Should the inspector, during the course of making an inspection, find a condition of imminent danger, he shall immediately notify the Chief Inspector, in person or by electronic means, so that steps might be taken to remove the device from service.
	(a)  Shop Inspections.
	(1) Manufacturers or repair firms seeking to employ the Boiler Safety Bureau to act as their Authorized Inspection Agency pursuant to the ASME Code or National Board Inspection Code, shall enter into a written agreement with the North Carolina Departm...
	(2) An audit of the Deputy Inspector serving as the Authorized Inspector pursuant to Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule, and the contracting company in which he or she is working shall be conducted on an annual basis basis. for non-nuclear companies and...

	(b)  National Board R Stamp "R" Certificate Qualification Reviews
	(1) The Chief Inspector, or the Chief Inspector's designee, shall conduct the qualification reviews for issuance or renewal of the National Board R symbol stamp "R" certificate of authorization pursuant to the National Board Inspection Code as adopted...
	(2) The Chief Inspector or his designee shall not conduct the qualification reviews of those companies for which the Boiler Safety Bureau provides inspection services, or those companies which specifically request the review be conducted by the Nation...
	(3) A review to be conducted by the Boiler Safety Bureau shall be scheduled upon receipt of request by the National Board.

	(a)  A commissioned inspector shall inspect all boilers and pressure vessels at the time of installation and at regular intervals thereafter, as provided in this Rule.
	(b)  Subject to the exceptions in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule, and after seven days notice is given to the owner or user, an inspector shall conduct an internal inspection of a high pressure boiler at the time of installation and annually ther...
	(c)  In place of the first internal inspection of a new high pressure boiler, an inspector may conduct an external inspection if the inspector determines that data sufficient to determine compliance with the rules of this Chapter can be gathered from ...
	(d)  Miniature boilers, coil-type watertube boilers, and boilers heating a fluid other than water which do not produce steam or vapor operating as high pressure boilers shall undergo an external inspection annually. Miniature boilers, coil-type watert...
	(e)  Low pressure boilers and pressure vessels, except hydropneumatic storage tanks, shall undergo an external inspection biennially. biennially while in operation.
	(f)  Owner-user inspectors shall conduct inspections for pressure vessels as prescribed in this Rule.
	(g)  Inspectors may order coverings removed, internal inspections, external inspections, removal of internal parts, testing or calibration of controls, indicating and safety devices and pressure tests whenever conditions warrant further evaluation of ...
	(h)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall undergo an external inspection every four years. years while in operation.
	(i)  When the inspector or Chief Inspector determines that a certificate cannot be issued as a result of an inspection, the boiler or pressure vessel shall be reinspected after the necessary repairs are made.
	(j)  Inspections shall be conducted in accordance with the National Board Inspection Code. The inspector may require controls, indicating and safety devices to be disassembled, tested, checked or calibrated as necessary to ensure their proper operation.
	(k)  The Chief Inspector may extend an existing inspection certificate for a high pressure boiler for a period not exceeding 90 days beyond the certificate expiration date, should an inspection at the specified period result in undue hardship for the ...
	(l)  The inspection frequency established by this Rule may be modified by the Chief Inspector for individual boilers and pressure vessels if the Chief Inspector determines that due to unique conditions, the frequency established herein is not appropri...
	(m)  Pressure retaining items which contain highly hazardous chemicals or biological elements that require level B personal protective equipment, or are in highly hazardous areas or pressure retaining items containing radioactive materials causing the...
	(1) There is a listing of all the items under this criterion at the site. The list shall be kept current by the owner/user and any additions or deletions shall be kept current. Prior to inspection the inspector shall review the last inspection certifi...
	(2) Each item shall be inspected by means of live video feed that is monitored by the inspector. The inspector shall remain in radio contact with the individual operating the video equipment;
	(3) The inspector shall be in proximity to the item and shall witness the video equipment operator enter the location of the item;
	(4) A scan as complete as possible (within the limitations of the equipment) of all the pressure boundaries shall be witnessed by the inspector;
	(5) The ASME nameplate shall be viewed as well as the ASME/NB nameplate on any pressure relieving device on the item;
	(6) Follow up inspections to verify the correction of deficiencies can be performed with a video inspection using the items outlined herein by the inspector;
	(7) The inspector shall submit an inspection report for each pressure retaining item at intervals specified in this Rule and the report shall be annotated indicating that the item was inspected pursuant to this Paragraph; and
	(8) Any incident that renders the item inoperative shall be reported to the Bureau by the owner/user or the inspector within 24 hours.

	(a)  An owner shall pay a thirty-five fifty dollar ($35.00)($50.00) certificate and processing fee to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each boiler or pressure vessel inspected by an Insurance Inspector and found to be in compliance with the ...
	(b)  An owner shall pay an inspection and certificate fee to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each boiler or pressure vessel inspected by a Deputy Inspector as follows:
	Boilers - An inspection of a boiler where the heating surface is: External Inspection Internal
	Inspection
	Less than 500 sq. ft.      $50.00   $85.00
	500 or more sq. ft. but less than 5000 sq. ft.    $120.00   $235.00
	5000 or more sq. ft.      $330.00   $600.00
	Cast iron boilers       $50.00   $80.00
	Locomotive boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $150.00
	Exhibition boilers (Antique Exhibition/Show)   N/A   $50.00
	Hobby boilers       N/A   $35.00 $50.00
	Pressure Vessels - An inspection of a pressure vessel, other than a
	heat exchanger, where the product of measurement in feet of the
	diameter or width, multiplied by its length is:   External Inspection Internal
	Inspection
	Less than 20       $40.00   $45.00
	20 or more but less than 50     $50.00   $60.00
	50 or more but less than 70     $85.00   $135.00
	70 or more       $135.00   $190.00
	Heat Exchangers - An inspection of a heat exchanger, where the
	heating surface is:      External Inspection
	Less than 500 sq. ft.      $45.00 $50.00
	500 or more sq. ft. but less than 1000 sq. ft.    $60.00
	1000 or more sq. ft. but less than 2000 sq. ft.    $90.00
	2000 or more sq. ft. but less than 3000 sq. ft.    $130.00
	3000 or more sq. ft.      $180.00
	(c)  In addition to the fees established in Paragraph (b) herein, a fee of ninety dollars ($90.00) per hour, including travel time, plus each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the standards and criteria established thereto by the Director of...
	(d)  A fee of three-hundred fifty dollars ($350.00) per one-half day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or five-hundred sixty-dollars ($560.00) for one day (four to eight hours) plus, in either case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 ...
	(e)  A fee of four hundred dollars ($400.00) per one-half day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or six hundred ten dollars ($610.00) for one day (four to eight hours), plus, in either case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138-7 and the s...
	(f)(e)  A fee of four hundred fifty dollars ($450.00) per one-half day (four hours) or any part of one-half day or six hundred ninety dollars ($690.00) for one day (four to eight hours), plus, in either case, each expense allowed by G.S. 138-6 and 138...
	(a)  G.S. 95-69.16 and 13 NCAC 13 .0211(l) of this Chapter allows the Commissioner, through the Chief Inspector, to modify the inspection frequency for individual pressure equipment if it is determined that due to unique conditions, the new frequency ...
	(b)  For a first time extended inspection frequency, the following shall apply to both new and existing equipment:
	(1) Base Line Inspections: At the outset of an extended inspection frequency, a base line inspection must be conducted of all inside and outside accessible pressure boundaries. The inspected area shall be examined visually by a North Carolina Departme...
	(2) Inspection Mapping and Records: An inspection grid map shall be constructed for each pressure component detailing precisely the areas found suspect. The grid shall not exceed four inch square. Suspect area shall be described in relevant details an...
	(3) Base Line Inspection of Boiler Tubes: The boiler tubes shall be examined by nondestructive examination. Tubes shall be examined for wear, corrosion, erosion, thinning, bulging, blistering, dents, discoloration, cracking and any other surface irreg...
	(4) Boiler Tube Inspection Mapping and Record: Where suspect tubes are identified, the boiler tubes shall be numbered in a logical sequence and the location of any suspect area shall be precisely defined and described in relevant details. Photographs ...

	(c)  Scheduling of Inspections for Extended Certificate: Approximately two months prior to a scheduled outage in which the boiler may be inspected, and prior to the current certificate expiration, the owner shall do the following in order to initiate ...
	(1) Send a letter addressed to the Chief Inspector requesting the extended certificate;
	(2) Contact the North Carolina Department of Labor, Boiler Safety Bureau at 919-707-7918 and request to speak with an Inspector Supervisor for the purpose of scheduling the inspections required for extending the boiler inspection certificate expiratio...
	(3) Agree with the Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector on a date to meet for the external inspection of the boiler and to review reports. The boiler must be operating when the external inspection is done. Heat recovery boilers with less than one...

	(d)  External Inspection: The following reports must be available to the Inspector Supervisor and Deputy Inspector at the external inspection:
	(1) NBIC R1 forms with job folders (for the past five years for initial inspections and since the previous inspection for renewals);
	(2) A list of major modifications scheduled and those modifications done since the last internal inspection with the NBIC R2 forms;
	(3) VR forms (for the past five years for initial inspections and since the previous inspection for renewals);
	(4) Remaining life analysis (RLA) Fitness for Service (National Board NB-403 or equivalent) reports for headers (for the past five years for initial inspections and since the previous inspection for renewals);
	(5) Side elevation drawing of the boiler (8 ½ inches by 11 inches);
	(6) Steam & Mud drums - Original drum thickness, drawings and P4's if available;
	(7) Copy of the last operating certificate and copies of the last three years of inspection reports;
	(8) Reports of annual external inspections (by owner's insurance company or a Boiler Safety Bureau Deputy Inspector; and
	(9) Attention must be paid to the areas determined suspect by previous inspections.

	(e)  Internal Inspection: Following are the required inspections during the outage;
	(1) Prior to the outage the safety valves must be inspected. Schedule the operational test for all safety valves after the unit comes back up. Upon a successful operational test, the repair organization will affix an updated inspection tag to the valv...
	(2) Inspect the pressure equipment internally; and
	(3) Inspect the drums and shells using the following methods:

	(f)  Setting the Certificate Interval: The Deputy Inspector will inform the owner whether the inspection records and condition of the pressure equipment meet the requirements necessary for requesting the Chief Inspector to extend the inspection certif...
	(g)  Follow-up and Interim Inspections: External inspections of high pressure boilers are required six months after the certificate renewal, and then annually thereafter. The external inspections may be performed by the Boiler Safety Bureau Deputy Ins...

	SECTION .0300 - ENFORCEMENT OF STANDARDS
	(a)  The owner or user shall complete any required repairs or corrective action and request an additional inspection within 60 calendar days of the inspection, except in cases where the boiler or pressure vessel is removed from service, in which case ...
	(b)  Upon notification by the inspector of a boiler or pressure vessel for which continued operation creates a condition of imminent danger, the Chief Inspector shall determine if the recommendations of the inspector are valid, and if so, the Chief In...
	(c)  The owner or user may continue operation of the boiler or pressure vessel, including those boilers or pressure vessels that are condemned, during the 60 day period, except that this provision shall not apply to boilers and pressure vessels after ...
	(d)  After completion of any required repairs or corrective action, the boiler or pressure vessel shall be reinspected to the extent necessary to verify satisfactory completion of the required repairs or corrective action.
	(e)  An owner shall pay a fee of forty fifty dollars ($40.00)($50.00) to the North Carolina Department of Labor for each reinspection or follow-up inspection conducted by Deputy Inspectors.

	SECTION .0400 – GENERAL REQUIREMENTS
	(a)  The design, construction, installation, inspection, stamping, certification, and operation of all boilers and pressure vessels shall conform to the rules in this Chapter and the accepted design and construction code.
	(b)  Repairs and alterations to boilers and pressure vessels shall conform to the requirements of the National Board Inspection Code, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule.
	(c)  The rules of this Chapter shall control when any conflict is found to exist between the Rules and the accepted design and construction code or the National Board Inspection Code.
	(d)  Welded repairs and alterations shall be made only by an individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate of authorization for use of the National Board "R" symbol stamp, except as provided in Paragraph (g) of this Rule. Repairs and...
	(e)  In such cases where removal of a defect in a pressure-retaining item is not practical at the time of discovery, with approval of the Chief Inspector, the repair shall be conducted in compliance with the NBIC, Part 3 Repairs and Alterations, Repai...
	(f)  Repairs of safety valves or safety relief valves shall be made by an individual or organization in possession of a valid certificate of authorization for use of the National Board "VR" symbol stamp.
	(g)  Welded repairs and alterations to exhibition (historical) boilers of riveted or welded construction may be conducted by a welder who has been qualified in accordance with the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, Section IX, Welding and Brazing Q...
	(a)  Boilers and pressure vessels shall be registered with the National Board and shall bear the National Board stamping as follows:
	(1) high pressure boilers installed after November 2, 1946;
	(2) heating boilers (except cast iron or cast aluminum boilers) in stalled after January 1, 1976;
	(3) pressure vessels installed after January 1, 1979; and
	(4) hydropneumatic storage tanks installed after January 1, 1986.

	(b)  Boilers and pressure vessels may be exempted from the requirement for National Board registration provided the owner or user submits a letter requesting a variance to the Chief Inspector giving reason for the request. The requestor shall enclose ...
	(c)  Electric boilers shall be listed with a qualified testing laboratory recognized by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration as a nationally recognized testing laboratory (NRTL) pursuant to 29 CFR 1910.7.
	(d)  The owner or user shall, upon request of the inspector, provide a manufacturer's data report for the boiler or pressure vessel.
	(e)  When a new boiler or pressure vessel is installed, or when an existing installation receives its first certificate inspection, a Deputy Inspector shall conduct the first inspection and apply a metal tag embossed or stamped with the North Carolina...
	(f)  The owner or user shall keep all required stamping exposed at all times unless a clearly marked removable cover is installed so that it may be readily accessible at any time.
	(a)  Boilers and pressure vessels shall be protected from overpressurization by a pressure relief device. All pressure relief devices installed on any boiler or pressure vessel shall be constructed and stamped in accordance with the accepted design an...
	(b)  All pressure relief devices shall be stamped and capacity certified by the manufacturer indicating compliance with the National Board. The stamping shall include the set pressure (that pressure at which the valve is set to open) and the relieving...
	(c)  High pressure boilers with over 500 square feet of heating surface and electrically fired boilers having an input in excess of 1100 kW shall be provided with a minimum of two safety valves. For high pressure boilers with a combined bare tube and...
	(d)  Safety valves and safety relief valves for heating boilers shall have a seat diameter of not less than ½ inch, and not more than 4 ½ inches.
	(e)  Pressure relief devices shall have a set pressure and relieving capacity in accordance with the accepted design and construction code requirements for the type equipment on which the pressure relief device is installed. At least one pressure reli...
	(f)  All safety valves installed on high pressure boilers shall be installed on top of the boiler, or in the case of watertube boilers on top of the upper drum, with the spindle in the vertical position. All safety valves and safety relief valves inst...
	(g)  The distance between the pressure relief device outlet nozzle on the boiler and the pressure relief device inlet shall be kept to a minimum consistent with the size of the pressure relief device and the pipe sizes required. In no case shall any v...
	(h)  Discharge piping from the pressure relief device outlet shall be the same size, or larger, than the outlet pipe connection on the pressure relief device and shall be extended full size to a safe location. A safe location shall be interpreted to m...
	(i)  Multiple pressure relief devices may be piped to the point of discharge using a common discharge header pipe. The header pipe size shall have a diameter sufficient to provide an equivalent cross-sectional area equal to or larger than the sum of t...
	(j)  Pressure relief devices on pressure vessels may be installed with the spindle in the vertical or horizontal position. The pressure relief device inlet, discharge piping, and the requirement for piping the discharge to a safe location shall be the...
	(k)  Pressure relief devices for direct fired pressure vessels and for those used as air compressor storage tanks shall be installed directly on the pressure vessel with no intervening valves. Pressure relief devices for all other pressure vessels may...
	(1) the stop valve is normally locked in the open position, and may only be closed when there is a full time attendant stationed at the stop valve when it is in the closed position for testing purposes; or
	(2) isolating the pressure relief device from the pressure vessel by closing the stop valve also isolates the pressure vessel from the source of pressure.

	(l)  A stop valve may be installed between a pressure vessel and the pressure relief device if one of the following is satisfied:
	(1) the stop valve is normally locked in the open position, and may only be closed when there is a full time attendant stationed at the stop valve when it is in the closed position for testing purposes; or
	(2) isolating the pressure relief device from the pressure vessel by closing the stop valve also isolates the pressure vessel from the source of pressure.

	(l)(m)  Pressure relief devices shall be sealed to prevent the valve from being taken apart without breaking the seal. Pressure relief devices for boilers and pressure vessels containing air, water, or steam, shall be provided with a test lever, pull ...
	(m)(n)  When a hot water supply boiler or storage vessel is heated indirectly by steam or hot water in a coil or pipe, the pressure relief device capacity shall be determined by the heating surface available for heat transfer, and the pressure relief ...
	(n)(o)  A person shall not:
	(1) attempt to remove, tamper, alter or conduct any work on any pressure relief device while the boiler or pressure vessel is in operation, except as permitted by the accepted design and construction code or the National Board Inspection Code;
	(2) load a pressure relief device in any manner to maintain a working pressure in excess of the maximum allowable working pressure as stated on the inspection certificate;
	(3) operate any boiler or pressure vessel without the safety appliances as described in this Chapter, the accepted design and construction code,and code, and the National Board Inspection Code;
	(4) use a pressure relief device required by this Chapter as an operating pressure control; or
	(5) remove the seal and attempt to adjust or otherwise work on a pressure relief device unless the person/company removing the seal is a authorized holder of a National Board "VR" stamp.

	(o)(p)  If an owner or user can demonstrate that a pressure vessel is operating in a system of such design that the maximum allowable working pressure cannot be exceeded, the Chief Inspector shall waive the requirement for installation of a pressure r...
	(p)(q)  Pressure relief device piping shall be supported so that the piping is supported with no additional force being applied to the pressure relief device.
	(q)(r)  Hydropneumatic storage tanks shall be provided with a relief valve of not less than ¾ inch NPS and rated in standard cubic feet per minute (SCFM). The relief valve shall be installed on top of the tank. This rule applies to any equipment insta...
	(r)(s)  Dead weight safety valves are prohibited from use on any boiler or pressure vessel regulated by this Chapter.
	(s)(t)  When the minimum safety valve relieving capacity is not found on the data plate, the following guide may be used to determine the required safety valve capacity for steam boilers. The factor noted in the table shall be multiplied by the heatin...
	(a)  Each automatically fired steam boiler or system of commonly connected steam boilers shall have at least one steam pressure control that will shut off the fuel supply to each boiler or system of commonly connected boilers when the pressure reaches...
	(b)  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler, hot water supply boiler, water heater or each system of commonly connected hot water heating or supply boilers shall have at least one temperature-actuated control to shut off the fuel supply whe...
	(c)  Automatic resets or remote resets by electronic means are prohibited. The manual reset may be incorporated in the high limit control. Where the reset device is separate from the high limit control, a means shall be provided to indicate actuation ...
	(a)  Each automatically fired steam or vapor boiler, except miniature boilers, shall meet the following criteria:
	(1) Have at least two automatic low-water fuel cutoff devices;
	(2) One of the low-water fuel cutoff devices may also be used to regulate the normal water level;
	(3) Each cutoff device shall be installed to prevent startup and to shut down the boiler fuel or energy supply automatically when the surface of the water falls to a level not lower than the lowest visible part of the gauge glass;
	(4) One control shall be set to function ahead of the other. The lower fuel cutoff device shall be equipped with a manual reset which shall prevent the boiler from being fired after the low water limit has been reached until the operator resets the sw...
	(5) The low-water fuel cutoffs shall be attached directly to the boiler or to the water column with no stops or valves. For float type low-water fuel cutoffs installed external to the boiler, each device shall be installed in individual chambers which...

	(b)  Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with heat input greater than 400,000 Btu/hr (117 kW) shall meet the following criteria:
	(1) Be protected by a low-water fuel cutoff intended for hot water service;
	(2) The fuel cutoff device shall be installed to prevent startup and to shut down the boiler fuel or energy supply automatically when the surface of the water falls to a level not lower than the lowest safe permissible water level established by the b...
	(3) The fuel cutoff device shall be equipped with a manual reset which shall prevent the boiler from being fired after the lowest water level has been reached until the operator resets the switch manually;
	(4) The low-water fuel cutoff installed in a hot water heating boiler system may be installed anywhere in the system above the lowest safe permissible water level established by the boiler manufacturer so long as there is no isolation valve installed ...
	(5) A means shall be provided for testing the operation of the low-water fuel cutoff on a hot water heating boiler system without resorting to draining the entire system.

	(c)  Coil type boilers or watertube boilers requiring forced circulation to prevent overheating of the coils or tubes may have a flow-sensing device installed at or near the boiler proper, in lieu of a low-water fuel cutoff, to automatically cut off t...
	(d)  Electric boilers where uncovering of the electrical element can lead to an unsafe condition shall be equipped with a low-water fuel cutoff device. In the case of electrode type boilers, where the reduction in water level provides a self-limiting ...
	(e)  Automatically fired boilers shall be provided with a system to automatically maintain a constant water level so that the water level cannot fall below the lowest safe water line. This requirement does not apply to hot water heating boilers used i...
	(f)  Low water fuel cutoff devices embodying a float and float bowl shall be installed so that the boiler feedwater or makeup water cannot be introduced through the float chamber.
	(a)  Automatically fired boilers and pressure vessels shall be provided with firing mechanism controls.
	(b)  Oil, gas-fired, and electrically heated boilers shall be equipped with primary (flame safeguard) safety controls, safety limit switches, and burners or electric elements that are listed and labeled with a testing laboratory recognized by the Occu...
	(c)  Automatically fired boilers installed after January 1, 2007, shall be provided with a remote emergency fuel shut-off switch marked for easy identification. The remote shut-off switch shall be located outside each door of the room in which the boi...
	(d)  For installations which are gas-fired, the burners used shall conform to the North Carolina Fuel Gas Code in effect at the time of installation.
	In addition to the requirements outlined in this Chapter for manually fired boilers, exhibition Exhibition boilers shall meet the following requirements:
	In addition to the requirements outlined in this Chapter for manually fired boilers, model Model hobby boilers shall meet the following requirements:

	SECTION .0700 - NUCLEAR POWER SYSTEMS
	(a)  Nuclear power components and systems covered under the scope of Section III of the ASME Code shall be designed, constructed, reworked, stamped, and installed in accordance with Section III of the ASME Code. Balance of plant items may be construct...
	(b)  All nuclear power systems falling under the scope of the ASME Code, Section III, are inspected in service under the requirements of Section XI of the ASME Code. The equipment is not required to be inspected under this Chapter. Balance of plant pr...
	(c)  A vessel composed of two or more pressure retaining compartments shall constitute one complete unit for the purpose of assigning the North Carolina identification number.
	(d)  The design criteria for nuclear power systems shall be certified as to compliance with Section III of the ASME Code by a registered professional engineer with at least one year of experience in nuclear pressure vessel design. Code.


	Title 15A – Department of Environmental Quality
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10D .0209, .0226, .0229, .0230, .0239, .0240, .0243, .0260, .0276, amend the rules...
	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.17, the Codifier has determined it impractical to publish the text of rules proposed for repeal unless the agency requests otherwise.  The text of the rule(s) are available on the OAH website at http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  Each year, the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission reviews and adjusts as needed, seasons, bag limits, and the management of land, in order to achieve conservation management goals, comply with statutory changes, and respon...
	10D .0103 is under legislative review. The temporary version and the version under review are both included in the annual cycle package. The agency is unsure which version will have to be amended at this time.
	Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SUBCHAPTER 10A - WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION
	SECTION .1600 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION FEES
	(a)  License fees established by the Commission in this Rule shall be subject to the requirements of G.S. 113-270.1B(e).
	(b)  The following fees shall apply to combination hunting and inland fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1C:
	(1) Resident Annual Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $35.00.
	(2) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $11.00.
	(3) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Combination Hunting and Inland Fishing License - $11.00.

	(c)  The following fees shall apply to sportsman licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.1D:
	(1) Annual Sportsman License - $53.00.
	(2) Infant Lifetime Sportsman License - $212.00.
	(3) Youth Lifetime Sportsman License - $371.00.
	(4) Adult Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - $530.00.
	(5) Nonresident Lifetime Sportsman License - $1,272.00.
	(6) Resident Age 50-69 Lifetime Sportsman License - $265.00.
	(6)(7) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Sportsman License - $16.00.
	(7)(8) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Sportsman License - $106.00.
	(8)(9) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Sportsman License - $106.00.

	(d)  The following fees shall apply to hunting licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.2:
	(1) Resident State Hunting License - $25.00.
	(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Hunting License - $265.00.
	(3) Controlled Hunting Preserve Hunting License - $22.00.
	(4) Resident Annual Comprehensive Hunting License - $39.00.
	(5) Nonresident State Hunting Licenses:
	(6) Falconry Hunting License - $25.00.

	(e)  The following fees shall apply to special activity licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.3:
	(1) Resident Big Game Hunting License - $14.00.
	(2) Nonresident Bear Hunting License - $239.00.
	(3) Bear Management Stamp - $11.00.
	(4) Nonresident Big Game Hunting License:
	(5) Bonus Antlerless Deer License - $11.00.
	(6) Game Land License - $16.00.
	(7) Falconry License - $11.00.
	(8) Migratory Waterfowl Hunting License - $14.00.
	(9) Resident American Alligator License - $250.00.
	(10) Nonresident American Alligator License - $500.00.
	(11) Resident Elk License - $500.00.
	(12) Nonresident Elk License - $1,000.00.

	(f)  The following fees shall apply to hunting and fishing guide licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.4:
	(1) Resident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - $16.00.
	(2) Nonresident Hunting and Fishing Guide License - $159.00.

	(g)  The following fees shall apply to trapping licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-270.5:
	(1) Resident State Trapping License - $32.00.
	(2) Resident Lifetime Trapping License - $300.00.
	(3) Nonresident State Trapping License - $133.00.

	(h)  The following fees shall apply to hook-and-line licenses in inland and joint fishing waters issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-271:
	(1) Resident State Inland Fishing License - $25.00.
	(2) Lifetime Resident Comprehensive Inland Fishing License - $265.00.
	(3) Nonresident State Inland Fishing License - $45.00.
	(4) Short-Term Inland Fishing License:
	(5) Age 70 Resident Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $16.00.
	(6) Resident Disabled Veteran Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $11.00.
	(7) Resident Totally Disabled Lifetime Inland Fishing License - $11.00.
	(8) Special Landholder and Guest Fishing License - $106.00.
	(9) Mountain Heritage Trout Waters 3-Day Fishing License - $8.00.

	(i)  The following shall apply to special device licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.2:
	(1) Resident Special Device License - $80.00.
	(2) Nonresident Special Device License - $530.00.

	(j)  The non-refundable fees fee for a collection license issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.4 shall be $10.00.
	(k)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to captivity licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-272.5:
	(1) Captivity License for Holding - $50.00.
	(2) Captivity License for Rehabilitation - $10.00.

	(l)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to dealer licenses issued by the Commission as set forth in G.S. 113-273:
	(1) Resident Fur-dealer License - $64.00.
	(2) Nonresident Fur-dealer License - $318.00.
	(3) Fur-dealer Station License - $128.00.
	(4) Controlled Hunting Preserve Operator License - $100.00.
	(5) Controlled Hunting Preserve Rabbit Operator License - $25.00.
	(5)(6) Game Bird Propagation License - $10.00.
	(6)(7) Furbearer Propagation License - $27.00.
	(7)(8) Taxidermy License - $50.00.
	(8)(9) Taxidermy Cervid Certification - $5.00.
	(9)(10) Wildlife Control Agent License - $50.00.
	(10)(11) Alligator Control Agent Certification - $25.00.

	(m)  The following non-refundable fees shall apply to permits issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-274:
	(1) Possession Permit - $10.00.
	(2) Exportation or Importation Permit - $10.00.
	(3) Trophy Wildlife Sale Permit - $10.00.
	(4) Endangered Species Permit - $10.00.
	(5) Field Trial Permit - $10.00.

	(n)  Unified hunting and fishing licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-351:
	(1) Annual Resident Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $69.00.
	(2) Annual Resident Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $41.00.
	(3) Lifetime Unified Sportsman/Coastal Recreational Fishing Licenses:
	(4) Resident Lifetime Unified Inland/Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $477.00.

	(o)  The following fees shall apply to Coastal Recreational Fishing Licenses issued by the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 113-174.2:
	(1) Annual Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $16.00.
	(2) Annual Nonresident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $32.00.
	(3) Ten-Day Resident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $6.00.
	(4) Ten-Day Nonresident Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.
	(5) Infant Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $106.00.
	(6) Youth Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $159.00.
	(7) Resident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $265.00.
	(8) Nonresident Adult Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $530.00.
	(9) Resident Age 70 Lifetime Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $16.00.
	(10) Resident Disabled Veteran Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.
	(11) Resident Totally Disabled Coastal Recreational Fishing License - $11.00.



	SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING
	SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS
	(a)  Before any live wild bird, bird or wild animal animal, or any native reptile or amphibian, is imported into North Carolina for any purpose, a permit shall be obtained from the Executive Director of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission...
	(b)  Deer, elk, or other species in the family Cervidae may only be imported into the state of North Carolina from a herd in which Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) has not been detected for at least five years and has been managed using standards equival...
	(c)  Cervids imported into North Carolina shall be individually identified by tags provided by the Wildlife Resources Commission that shall be affixed by the licensee to each cervid as set forth in 15A NCAC 10H .0301.
	(d)(b)  Waterfowl imported into North Carolina must be received from facilities or individuals who are certified under the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) as pullorum-typhoid and avian influenza negative. If the source birds are not part of N...
	(a)  Cooperative State Rules:
	(1) The taking of sea ducks (scoter, eider and old squaw) during any federally-announced season for only these species shall be limited to the The waters of the Atlantic Ocean, and to those coastal waters south of US 64 that are separated by a distanc...
	(2) Tundra swans may be taken during the open season by permit only subject to annual limitations imposed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Based upon the annual limitations imposed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Wildlife Resources Co...

	(b)  Notwithstanding the provisions of G.S. 113-291.1(a) and (b), the following restrictions apply to the taking of migratory game birds:
	(1) No migratory game bird may be taken:
	(2) No migratory game bird may be taken:
	(3)(2) Crippled waterfowl may be taken from a motorboat under power in those areas described, delineated, and designated as special sea duck hunting areas in Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule.
	(4) Waterfowl hunting and harassment and other unauthorized activities is prohibited on posted waterfowl management areas established by the Wildlife Resources Commission for Canada Geese and ducks restoration. Information on impoundments can be found...
	(5)(3) In that area of Roanoke Sound adjacent to and immediately Northeast of Roanoke Island as marked by buoys designating the waterfowl rest area, it is unlawful to harass or take any waterfowl.
	(6)(4) The area east of US 17 is designated as a an experimental September teal season zone as referenced by the Federal frameworks calling for state rules designating experimental areas. these zones.

	(c)  Reporting Requirements: For tundra swan and Canada goose seasons where a permit is required to hunt by Memorandum of Agreement with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, hunter questionnaires shall be completed online at www.ncwildlife.org, or on the...
	(d)  Failure to return the questionnaire and any required animal parts, by this date shall make the individual ineligible to receive a permit for the following applicable season.
	(a)  Collection Licenses. The Executive Director may license qualified individuals to take or collect any species of wildlife resources except that endangered, threatened, and special concern species may not be taken or collected except under a specia...
	(b)  Limits on collection. Individuals shall collect no more than 10 turtles from the family Chelydridae (snapping turtles) per day and no more than 100 per calendar and these turtles shall have a curved carapace length greater than 11 inches. Individ...
	(c)  Qualifications of Licensees. In addition to representatives of educational and scientific institutions and governmental agencies, the collection license may be issued to any individual for any purpose when it is not deemed inimical to the efficie...
	(d)  Methods of Taking. The manner of taking wildlife resources under a collection license may be specified by the Executive Director pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d) and need not be restricted to the usual methods of hunting or trapping.
	(e)  Term of License. The Executive Director may, pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(c), impose time limits and other restrictions on the duration of any collection license, but unless so restricted the license shall be valid from January 1 through December 3...
	(f)  Report of Collecting Activity. Each individual licensed under this Rule shall submit a report to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days following the date of expiration of the license. The report shall show the numbers of each species t...
	(g)  Other Requirements and Restrictions. The Executive Director may, pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d), impose such other requirements and restrictions on persons licensed under this Rule as he may deem to be necessary to the efficient administration of ...
	(a)  Wildlife Collection Licenses may be issued to qualified individuals as defined in G.S. 113-130 to take any species of wildlife resources for the following purposes:
	(1) scientific collection;
	(2) educational collection; or
	(3) snapping turtle collection.

	(b)  The following definitions shall apply to this Rule:
	(1) "Scientific Collection" shall mean collection for the purpose of conducting scientific research or survey.
	(2) "Educational Collection" means collection for the purpose of providing instruction, training, or information to the public.
	(3) "Snapping Turtle Collection" means collection of snapping turtles from the family Chelydridae for sale pursuant to 15A NCAC 10H .1301.
	(4) "Personal Use" means collection and holding, using as bait, or personal consumption of reptiles or amphibians.

	(c)  The Commission shall consider the following qualifications when issuing a license:
	(1) prior research or educational experience in the same or similar field;
	(2) work with or for an educational institution;
	(3) type of study requested of license (permanent or catch and release);
	(4) current state and quantity of species requested;
	(5) collection methodology proposed; and
	(6) disposition of collection.

	(d)  Individuals collecting and holding reptiles or amphibians for personal use shall not be required to obtain a Wildlife Collection License so long as the following conditions are met:
	(1) no more than 4 individuals of native reptile species or 24 individuals of any combination of amphibian species per physical address;
	(2) collected reptiles and amphibians shall not be bought or sold; and
	(3) no endangered, threatened, or special concern species shall be collected and retained.

	(e)  Endangered, threatened, and special concern species may not be taken or collected except under an endangered species permit unless there is an open season for the species. If an open season exists for the species, then the appropriate hunting, fi...
	(f)  Wildlife Collection licenses may be issued to any individual, so long as the take is not deemed harmful to the efficient conservation of the species to be collected or to other wildlife species that may be dependent thereon.
	(g)  Individuals interested in obtaining a Wildlife Collection License shall apply by sending an application to 1701 Varsity Drive, Raleigh, NC 27606 or by completing and submitting an application online at www.ncwildlife.org. Information required by ...
	(1) name, address, date of birth, email, and driver's license number; and
	(2) species information.
	(3) Additional information required for scientific and educational collection shall include:

	(h)  Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be used in lieu of any other hunting or trapping license required by law and shall authorize possession and transportation of the wildlife incidental to the authorized taking. It shall not authorize the taking, ...
	(i)  Wildlife Collection Licenses for snapping turtle collection shall only be available to North Carolina residents. The following conditions shall apply:
	(1) collection shall occur from June 1 through September 30;
	(2) no more than 10 snapping turtles per physical address per day;
	(3) no more than 100 snapping turtles per physical address per season;
	(4) turtles shall have a minimum curved carapace length of 13 inches; and
	(5) no more than 10 trapping devices per license. Devices shall be:

	(j)  Unless a more limited duration is designated on the license, Wildlife Collection Licenses shall be valid from January 1 through December 31 of the applicable year.
	(k)  Licensed individuals shall submit the following information to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days of license expiration depending on the species taken:
	(1) the numbers of each species taken under the license and the use or disposition thereof;
	(2) dates and location of the taking; and
	(3) sex, size, weight, condition, or approximate age of each specimen taken as specified on the license.

	(l)  Wildlife Collections License shall not be transferable either by license holder or by site of a facility.
	(m)  The Executive Director or his or her designee may, pursuant to G.S. 113-272.4(d), require further restrictions or conditions on individuals licensed under this Rule as he or she deems necessary to the efficient administration of the wildlife cons...
	(a)  Except as provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to import, transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer, or release into public or private waters or lands of the State, any live specimen(s) of Tongueless or African Clawed Frog (Xen...
	(a)  Except as provided in this Rule, it shall be unlawful to import, transport, export, purchase, possess, sell, transfer, or release into public or private waters or lands of the State, any live specimen(s) of:
	(1) Tongueless or African Clawed Frog (Xenopus spp.);
	(2) Brown Anole (Anolis sagrei);
	(3) Cuban Treefrog (Osteopilus septentrionalis);
	(4) Asian Newts (genera Cynops, Pachytriton, Paramesotriton, Laotriton, Tylototriton);
	(5) Red-eared Slider (Trachemys scripta elegans);
	(6) Tegu (genera Salyator and Tupinambis); or
	(7) Greenhouse Frog (Eleutherodactlyus planirostris).

	(b)  The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission may by permit authorize importation, transportation, exportation, purchase, possession, sale, or transfer of any species in this Rule by the following entities, subject to the specified limitations:
	(1) Retail and Wholesale Establishments. Importation, possession, sale, transfer, transportation, and exportation of these species within North Carolina, by retail and wholesale establishments whose primary business is providing scientific supplies fo...
	(2) Government Agencies and Research Institutions. Purchase, importation, possession, transfer, transportation, and exportation of these species within North Carolina shall be allowed by permitted State and federal governmental agencies, corporate res...

	(c)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, it shall be lawful for private individuals in possession of a live specimen(s) of Red-eared Slider(s)(Trachemys scripta elegans) prior to August 1, 2018, to retain, transport, transfer, or export the an...
	(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraph (a) of this Rule, facilities open to the public for education may apply for a permit to collect, receive, and possess Red-eared Slider(s). any of the species listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

	SECTION .0200 - HUNTING
	(a)  Open Seasons (All Lawful Weapons) for hunting deer:
	(1) Deer With Visible Antlers. Deer with antlers or spikes protruding through the skin, as distinguished from knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet, may be taken on all game lands except Buffalo Cove, Nicholson Creek, Rockfish Creek, Sandhills, a...
	(2) Deer of Either Sex. Except on Game Lands, deer of either sex may be taken during the open seasons and in the counties and portions of counties listed in Parts (A), (B), (C), (D), (E), (F), and (G) of this Subparagraph (Refer to 15A NCAC 10D .0103 ...

	(b)  Open Seasons (Archery) for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph and the bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, deer may be taken with archery equipment during the following seasons:
	(2) Restrictions

	(c)  Open Seasons (Blackpowder Firearms and Archery) for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (2) of this Paragraph, deer may be taken only with blackpowder firearms and archery equipment during the following seasons:
	(2) Restrictions
	(3) As used in this Rule, "blackpowder firearms" means Any firearm - including any firearm with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system - manufactured in or before 1898, that cannot use fixed ammunition; any replica ...

	(d)  Open Season (Urban Season) for hunting deer:
	(1) Authorization. Subject to the restrictions set out in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph and the bag limits set out in Paragraph (e) of this Rule, deer of either sex may be taken with bow and arrow in participating cities in the State, as defined ...
	(2) Participation. Cities that intend to participate in the urban season shall send a letter to that effect no later than April 1 of the year prior to the start of the urban season to the Executive Director or his designee at 1722 Mail Service Center,...
	(3) Restrictions:

	(e)  Bag limits. The possession and season limit is six deer, two of which may be deer with visible antlers and four of which may be antlerless deer. Antlerless deer include males with knobs or buttons covered by skin or velvet as distinguished from s...
	(a)  Open Season: The open season for taking raccoon and opossum shall be is from sunrise Monday on or nearest October 15 through the last day of February.
	(b)  Bag Limits:
	(1) The daily bag limit for raccoon is three and there are no season and no possession limits.
	(2) There is no restriction on bag limits for opossum.

	Note: See 15A NCAC 10B .0111 prohibiting axes, saws and shooting in certain western counties.
	(c)  Axes or saws shall not be carried when raccoon or opossum hunting.
	(a)  Squirrel Open Seasons:
	(1) Gray and red squirrels may be taken by hunting on the Monday on or closest to October 15 to the last day of February.
	(2) Fox squirrels may be taken by hunting on the Monday on or nearest October 15 to January 31.

	(a)  The open season for gray and red squirrels is the Monday on or closest to October 15 through the last day of February.
	(b)  The open season for fox squirrels is the Monday on or nearest October 15 through January 31.
	(c)  Except on game lands, gray squirrels may also be taken by hunting on the second Monday in May through the fourth Monday in May.
	(b)  Squirrel Bag Limits:
	(1) The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight and there are no season and no possession limits.
	(2) The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession limit is two; and the season limit is 10.

	(d)  The daily bag limit for gray and red squirrels is eight in aggregate and there are no season or possession limits.
	(e)  The daily bag limit for fox squirrels is one; the possession limit is two; and the season limit is 10.

	SECTION .0400 - TAGGING FURS
	(a)  Except as provided in Rule .0404 and .0405 of this Section, it is unlawful to transport or to buy, buying, sell, selling, barter, bartering, trade, trading, or otherwise transfer transferring possession or ownership of the carcass or pelt of any ...
	(b)  It is unlawful for any person to import Importing into this State the carcass or pelt of any otter or bobcat which that has not been previously affixed with a tag required and supplied by the state in which where the animal was taken. taken shall...
	(c)  Foxes shall be tagged in accordance with G.S. 113-291.4.
	(d)  The carcasses or pelts of foxes lawfully taken and lawfully tagged may be sold, except those taken under a depredation permit in any county where the sale of foxes or parts thereof is prohibited by local law.
	(a)  Fur tags shall be distributed issued free of charge, excluding postage if applicable, by applying in person at 1751 Varsity Dr, Raleigh, NC 27606, over the phone, or by completing and submitting in response to a request form to applications made ...
	(b)  Fur tag requests shall include the following applicant information:
	(1) name, telephone number, email address, and physical address;
	(2) date of birth;
	(3) WRC Customer number; and
	(4) type and quantity of tags requested.

	(c)  The following restrictions shall apply to fur tags:
	(1) no more than 50 bobcat tags shall be issued per request;
	(2) no more than 150 otter tags shall be issued per request; and
	(3) fox tags may be limited in accordance with area, bag, possession, or season limits.

	(b)  The fees to be charged for each fur tag are as follows:
	(c)  Foxes shall be tagged in accordance with G.S. 113-291.4(g). The carcasses or pelts of foxes lawfully taken and lawfully tagged in an area of open fox season, and those taken under a depredation permit, and those taken under a local law that permi...


	SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS
	(a)  For purposes of this Rule, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Natural bait" means any living or dead organism (plant or animal), or parts thereof, or prepared substances designed to attract fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(2) "Single hook" means a fish hook with only one point.
	(3) "Artificial lure" means a fishing lure that neither contains nor has been treated by any substance that attracts fish by the sense of taste or smell.
	(4) "Artificial fly" means one single hook dressed with feathers, hair, thread, tinsel, rubber, or any similar material to which no additional hook, spinner, spoon or similar device is added.
	(5) "Youth anglers" are individuals under 18 years of age.

	(b)  For purposes of this Rule, 15A NCAC 10C .0316, and 15A NCAC 10D .0104, the following classifications apply:
	(1) "Public Mountain Trout Waters" are all waters included in this Rule and so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104.
	(2) "Catch and Release/Artificial Flies and Lures Only Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where only artificial flies and lures having one single hook may be used. No trout may be possessed or harvested while fishing these streams. Waters ...
	(3) "Delayed Harvest Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where between October 1 and one-half hour after sunset on the Friday before the first Saturday of the following June, it is unlawful to possess natural bait, use more than one single ...
	(4) "Hatchery Supported Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters that have no bait or lure restrictions. Waters designated as such do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted.
	(5) "Special Regulation Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where watercourse-specific regulations apply. Waters designated as such do not include tributaries unless otherwise noted.
	(6) "Wild Trout Waters" are Public Mountain Trout Waters which are identified as such in this Rule or 15A NCAC 10D .0104. Only artificial lures having only one single hook may be used. No person shall possess natural bait while fishing these waters. W...
	(7) "Wild Trout Waters/Natural Bait" are Public Mountain Trout Waters where all artificial lures and natural baits, except live fish, may be used provided they are fished using only one single hook. Waters designated as such include tributaries unless...
	(8) "Undesignated Waters" are all other waters in the State. These waters have no bait or lure restrictions.

	(c)  Seasons, creel, and size limits. Seasons, creel, and size limits for trout in all waters are listed in Rule .0316 of this Subchapter.
	(d)  Classifications. This Paragraph designates waters in each county that have a specific classification. Waters on game lands are so designated in 15A NCAC 10D .0104, unless otherwise indicated in this Paragraph. All other waters are classified as U...
	(1) Alleghany
	(2) Ashe County
	(3) Avery County
	(4) Buncombe County
	(5) Burke County
	(6) Caldwell County
	(7) Cherokee County
	(8) Clay County
	(9) Graham County
	(10) Haywood County
	(11) Henderson County
	(12) Jackson County
	(13) Macon County
	(14) Madison County
	(15) McDowell County
	(16) Mitchell County
	(17) Polk County
	(18) Rutherford County
	(19) Stokes County
	(20) Surry County
	(21) Swain County
	(22) Transylvania County
	(23) Watauga County
	(24) Wilkes County
	(25) Yancey County


	SECTION .0300 - GAME FISH
	(a)  The daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is four fish in the aggregate, except in waters identified in Paragraphs (b), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), and (j) of this Rule. The minimum size limit for these fish is 20 inches, except in wate...
	(b)  In the Dan River upstream from its confluence with Bannister River to the dam at Union Street in Danville, VA and in John H. Kerr Reservoir, the daily creel limit on Striped Bass and its hybrids is two in the aggregate and the minimum size limit ...
	(c)  In Lake Gaston and Roanoke Rapids Reservoir, the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 20 inches from October 1 through May 31. There is no minimum size limit for these fish from June 1 through September 30.
	(d)  In Lake Norman, Hyco Lake, Moss Lake, Mountain Island Reservoir, Oak Hollow Lake, Lake Thom-A-Lex, Lake Townsend, and Salem Lake the minimum size limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is 16 inches.
	(e)  In Lake Chatuge in Clay County, the daily creel limit is 15 in the aggregate. There is no minimum size limit, but only two may be greater than 22 inches.
	(f)  In Lake Mattamuskeet, and in the Pee Dee River and its tributaries downstream from the Blewett Falls Dam to the South Carolina state line, the daily creel limit for Striped Bass and its hybrids is three fish in the aggregate, and the minimum size...
	(g)  In the inland fishing waters of Neuse, Pungo, and Tar Pamlico rivers and their tributaries extending upstream to the first impoundment of the main course on the river or its tributaries, and in all other inland fishing waters east of Interstate 9...
	(h)  In the inland fishing waters of the Cape Fear River and its tributaries downstream of Buckhorn Dam and in the ponds associated with Martin Marietta Park in Craven County, the season for taking and possessing Striped Bass is closed year-round.
	(i)  In the inland and joint fishing waters of the Roanoke River Striped Bass Management Area, as established in 15A NCAC 03R .0201 and identified in 15A NCAC 10C .0110, which includes the Roanoke, Cashie, Middle, and Eastmost rivers and their tributa...
	(j)  In designated inland fishing waters of Roanoke Sound, Croatan Sound, Albemarle Sound, Chowan River, Currituck Sound, Alligator River, Scuppernong River, and their tributaries (excluding the Roanoke River and Cashie River and their tributaries), t...
	(k)  In accordance with G.S. 113-292, the Executive Director may, by proclamation, suspend, or extend the hook-and-line season for Striped Bass in the inland and joint waters of coastal rivers and their tributaries. It is unlawful to violate the provi...


	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	(a)  For purposes of this Subchapter, the following definitions apply:
	(1) "Permanent Hunting Blind" means any structure that is used for hunter concealment, constructed from manmade or natural materials, and that is not disassembled and removed at the end of each day's hunt.
	(2) "Target shooting" means the discharge of a firearm for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or self-defense.
	(3) "Youth" means individuals under 18 years of age.

	(b)  Trespass. Entry on game lands for purposes other than hunting, trapping, or fishing shall be as authorized by the landowner. The Wildlife Resources Commission has identified the following areas on game lands that have additional restrictions on e...
	(1) Archery Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Archery Zones" hunting is limited to bow and arrow hunting and falconry only. On these areas, deer of either sex may be taken on all open days of any applicable deer season.
	(2) Safety Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Safety Zones" hunting is prohibited. No person shall hunt or discharge a firearm or bow and arrow within, into, or across a posted safety zone on any game land. Falconry is exempt from this provision.
	(3) Restricted Firearms Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Firearms Zones" the use of centerfire rifles is prohibited.
	(4) Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by the general public, and entry upon such an area for any purpose is prohibited without first having obtained written approval of such entry or use from an...
	(5) Temporary Restricted Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Temporary Restricted Zones" are closed to all use by the general public, and entry upon such an area for any purpose is prohibited without first having obtained written approval of such ...
	(6) Scouting-only Zone. On portions of the game lands posted as "Scouting-only Zones" the discharge of firearms or bow and arrow is prohibited.
	(7) Restricted Deer Hunting Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Restricted Deer Hunting Zones" the use of dogs for taking deer is prohibited, except as allowed by permit as provided in G.S. 113-264(d).
	(8) Day Use Only Zone. On portions of game lands posted as "Day Use Only Zones" the use by the general public shall be prohibited from sunset to sunrise.
	(9) Sensitive Habitat Zone. Portions of game lands posted as "Sensitive Habitat Zones" are closed to all use by the general public during the dates specified on the sign, and entry upon such an area for any purpose is prohibited without first obtainin...

	The Commission shall conduct a public input meeting in the area where the game land is located before establishing the following zones: archery, restricted firearms, restricted deer hunting, day use only, or sensitive habitat. After the input meeting,...
	(c)  Littering. No person shall deposit any litter, trash, garbage, or other refuse at any place on any game land except in receptacles provided for disposal of such refuse at designated camping and target-shooting areas. No garbage dumps or sanitary ...
	(d)  Use of weapons. No person shall discharge:
	(1) any weapon within 150 yards of any game land building or designated game land camping area, except where posted otherwise;
	(2) any weapon within 150 yards of any residence located on or adjacent to game lands, except on Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan game lands; and
	(3) any firearm within 150 yards of any residence located on or adjacent to Butner-Falls of Neuse and Jordan Game Lands.

	No person shall hunt with or have in possession any shotgun shell containing lead or toxic shot while hunting on any posted waterfowl impoundment on any game land, except shotgun shells containing lead buckshot may be used while deer hunting. Every in...
	http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=75b0c14fb2c26906cf64a267eb69b052&mc=true&node=se36.3.327_
	113&rgn=div8. On Buckhorn, Chatham, Harris, Hyco, Lee, Mayo, and Sutton Lake game lands; Pee Dee River Game Land north of U.S. 74; and that portion of R. Wayne Bailey- Caswell Game Land that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119, no person...
	(1) the firearm is a .22 caliber pistol with a barrel not greater than seven and one-half inches in length and shooting only short, long, or long rifle ammunition carried as a side arm;
	(2) the firearm is cased or not immediately available for use;
	(3) the firearm is used by persons participating in field trials on field trial areas; or
	(4) the firearm is possessed in designated camping areas for defense of persons and property.

	(e)  Game Lands License: Hunting and Trapping
	(1) Requirement. Except as provided in Subparagraph (4) of this Paragraph, any person entering upon any game land for the purpose of hunting, trapping, running dogs, or training dogs using wildlife shall have in his or her possession a game lands lice...
	(2) For Commission-sanctioned field trials, active participants (as defined in 15A NCAC 10B .0114) in a field trial using wildlife shall possess a game lands license in addition to the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or a license that conv...
	(3) For any other field trial using wildlife occurring on game lands, judges and active participants shall possess a game lands license in addition to the appropriate North Carolina hunting license, or a license that conveys the game land use privilege.
	(4) Exceptions:

	(f)  Field Trials and Training Dogs. Any individual or organization sponsoring a field trial on the Sandhills Field Trial area shall file with the Commission an application to use the area and facility accompanied by the facility use fee computed at t...
	(g)  Trapping. Subject to the restrictions contained in 15A NCAC 10B .0110, .0302, and .0303, trapping of furbearing animals, armadillos, coyotes, and groundhogs is permitted on game lands during the applicable open trapping seasons established by rul...
	(1) on the J Robert Gordon Field Trial Area of Sandhills Game Land;
	(2) in posted "safety zones" located on any game land;
	(3) by the use of bait on the National Forest Lands bounded by the Blue Ridge Parkway on the south, US 276 on the north and east, and NC 215 on the west; and
	(4) on the John's River Waterfowl Refuge in Burke County;
	(5)(4) on the DuPont State Forest Game Lands; and
	(6)(5) from April 1 though October 31.

	At each trap, trappers may use a single bait site of grain, fruit, or other foods when trapping if the food is not a processed food product as defined in G.S.113-294(r), is less than 3 cubic inches and is covered to prevent it from being seen from abo...
	(h)  Vehicular Traffic. No person shall drive a motorized vehicle on any game land except on those roads constructed, maintained, and opened for vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel, unless such person:
	(1) is driving in the vehicle gallery of a scheduled bird dog field trial held on the Sandhills Game Land; or
	(2) is a disabled sportsman as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule or holds a Disabled Access Program Permit as described in Paragraph (m) of this Rule and is abiding by the rules described in Paragraph (m).

	(i)  Camping.
	(1) No person shall camp on any game land except on an area designated by the landowner for camping.
	(2) On game lands owned by the State of North Carolina, where the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission is the primary custodian, the maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at any designated camping area is 14 days within any 30-day pe...

	(j)  Swimming. Swimming is prohibited in the lakes located on the Sandhills Game Land.
	(k)  Disabled Sportsman Program. In order to qualify for permit hunts for disabled sportsmen offered by the Commission and use of designated blinds during those hunts, an individual shall possess a Disabled Veteran Sportsman license, a Totally Disable...
	(1) missing 50 percent or more of one or more limbs, whether by amputation or natural causes;
	(2) paralysis of one or more limbs;
	(3) dysfunction of one or more limbs rendering the person unable to perform the task of grasping and lifting with the hands and arms or unable to walk without mechanical assistance, other than a cane;
	(4) disease, injury, or defect confining the person to a wheelchair, walker, or crutches; or
	(5) deafness.

	On game lands where the privileges described in Paragraph (m) of this Rule apply, participants in the program may operate electric wheel chairs, all terrain vehicles, or other passenger vehicles:
	(1) on ungated or open-gated roads normally closed to vehicular traffic; and
	(2) on any Commission-maintained road open for vehicular travel and those trails posted for vehicular travel.

	Each program participant may be accompanied by one companion provided such companion has in his possession the companion card issued by the Commission. Hunters who qualify under the Disabled Sportsman Program and their companions may access special hu...
	(l)  Release of Animals and Fish. It is unlawful to release pen-raised animals or birds, wild animals or birds, domesticated animals, except hunting dogs and raptors where otherwise permitted for hunting or training purposes, or feral animals, or hatc...
	(m)  Non-Highway Licensed Vehicles. It is unlawful to operate motorized land vehicles not licensed for highway use on Game Lands except for designated areas on National Forests. Disabled persons as defined in Paragraph (k) of this Rule and people who ...
	(n)  Disabled Access Program. Permits issued under this program shall be based upon medical evidence submitted by the person verifying that a handicap exists that limits physical mobility to the extent that normal utilization of the game lands is not ...
	(o)  Public nudity. Public nudity, including nude sunbathing, is prohibited on any game land, including land or water. For the purposes of this Section, "public nudity" means a person's intentional failure to cover with a fully opaque covering the per...
	(p)  Shooting Ranges. On public shooting ranges managed by the Commission, no person shall use designated shooting ranges for any purpose other than for firearm or bow and arrow marksmanship, development of shooting skills, or for other safe uses of f...
	(q)  Limited-access Roads. During the months of June, July, and August, roads posted as "Limited-access Roads" are open to motorized vehicles from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. only. These roads shall be posted with the opening and closing times.
	(r)  No person shall attempt to obscure the sex or age of any bird or animal taken by severing the head or any other part thereof, or possess any bird or animal that has been so mutilated.
	(s)  Baiting. Except as provided in paragraph (g) of this Rule, no person shall place, or cause to be placed on any game land, salt, grain, fruit, or other foods without prior written authorization from an agent of the Commission. Written authorizatio...
	(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge Pa...
	(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise prevent vehicles from using any roadway.
	(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps o...
	(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game lands only during the open season for game animals and game birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific d...
	(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall:
	(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited:

	On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed Forces on acti...
	(e)  Definitions:
	(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" refers to a Game Land on which doves may be taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within the federally-announced sea...
	(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, e...
	(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken on the open days of Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons. Falconry may also be practiced on S...
	(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken during the open season on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.
	(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum hunting may continue un...

	(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.
	(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following game lands:
	(1) Yadkin River Game Land in Davidson, Davie, Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties
	(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County
	(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender counties
	(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and Washington counties
	(5)(1) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County
	(6)(2) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in Bladen County
	(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County
	(8)(3) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County
	(9) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County.
	(10) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and Wilkes Counties
	(11) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game Lands in Robeson County
	(12)(4) Butner Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, Granville, and Wake counties
	(13)(5) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County:
	(14) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in Pender County
	(15) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County
	(16) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County
	(17) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County
	(18) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County
	(19) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, and Hertford counties.
	(20) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood County
	(21) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus County.
	(22) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties
	(23) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck County
	(24)(6) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County
	(25) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties
	(26)(7) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County
	(27) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson and Transylvania counties
	(28) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County
	(29) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren counties
	(30) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and Pamlico counties
	(31) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and Polk counties
	(32)(8) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick County
	(33) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County
	(34) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and Wake counties
	(35)(9) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in Transylvania County
	(36)(10) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(37)(11) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County
	(38) Hyco Game land in Person County
	(39)(12) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County - hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(40) Johns River Game Land in Burke County
	(41) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Wake counties
	(42) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and Columbus counties
	(43)(13) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County
	(44)(14) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and Washington counties
	(45) Lee Game Land in Lee County
	(46) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico County
	(47) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County
	(48) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in Edgecombe and Halifax counties
	(49) Mayo Game Land in Person County
	(50) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County
	(51) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania counties
	(52) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain counties.
	(53)(15) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County
	(54) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell counties
	(55) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County
	(56) North River Game Land in Camden and Currituck counties
	(57) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in Currituck County
	(58) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties
	(59) Perkins Game Land in Davie County
	(60) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties
	(61) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County
	(62)(16) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County
	(63)(17) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land in Wilkes County
	(64)(18) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and Harnett counties
	(65)(19) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, Martin, and Northampton counties
	(66)(20) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare County-Hunting is by permit only.
	(67) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County
	(68)(21) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County
	(69)(22) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - Hunting is by permit only.
	(70) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County
	(71) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, Richmond, and Scotland counties
	(72) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin counties
	(73)(23) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and Madison counties.
	(74)(24) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- hunting is by permit only.
	(75) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, Nash, and Warren counties
	(76) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties
	(77) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County
	(78)(25) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and Cumberland counties
	(79) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and Brunswick counties
	(80)(26) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County
	(81)(27) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County - hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(82) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe County
	(83) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany and Wilkes counties
	(84) Tillery Game Land in Halifax County
	(85) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and Transylvania counties
	(86) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, Montgomery, and Randolph counties
	(87)(28) Vance Game Land in Vance County
	(88) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and Washington counties
	(89)(29) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort County
	(90)(30) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow County
	(91)(31) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and Pender counties
	(92) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood County

	(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits sha...
	(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission:
	(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke River Wetlands;
	(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National Wildlife Refuge;
	(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game Lands;
	(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl Refuge;
	(5) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts of bombing range posted against hunting);
	(6) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game Lands; and
	(7) Henderson and Transylvania counties—DuPont State Forest Game Lands.

	(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie County requires written permission from the Commission. Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for establishing t...
	(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of ...
	(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in Paragraph (h) of ...
	(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard an...
	(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates and spe...
	(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine species.
	(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day.
	(a)  It shall be unlawful to take bear on posted bear sanctuaries as set forth in Paragraph (b) of this rule, except when authorized by permit issued by the Commission on sanctuaries specified in Paragraph (c) of this Rule.
	(b)  The following shall be posted bear sanctuaries:
	Bachelor Bay bear sanctuary – Bertie and Washington counties
	Columbus County bear sanctuary – Brunswick and Columbus counties
	Croatan bear sanctuary – Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties
	Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties
	Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties,
	Fires Creek bear sanctuary – Clay County
	Flat Top bear sanctuary – Mitchell and Yancey counties
	Green Swamp bear sanctuary – Brunswick County
	Gull Rock bear sanctuary – Hyde County
	Harmon Den bear sanctuary – Haywood County
	Juniper Creek bear sanctuary – Brunswick and Columbus counties
	Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey counties
	North River bear sanctuary – Camden and Currituck counties
	Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson County
	Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania
	Pungo River bear sanctuary – Hyde County
	Rich Mountain bear sanctuary – Madison County
	Sherwood bear sanctuary – Haywood County
	Suggs Mill Pond bear sanctuary – Bladen and Cumberland counties
	Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County
	Thurmond Chatham bear sanctuary – Allegheny and Wilkes counties
	Wayah bear sanctuary – Macon County

	(c)  It shall be lawful to take bear on the following sanctuaries when authorized by permit issued by the Commission:
	Daniel Boone bear sanctuary – Avery, Burke, and Caldwell counties
	Dare bear sanctuary – Dare and Hyde counties
	Mt. Mitchell bear sanctuary – McDowell and Yancey counties
	Panthertown – Bonas Defeat bear sanctuary – Jackson County
	Pisgah Bear Sanctuary – Buncombe, Haywood, Henderson and Transylvania
	Standing Indian bear sanctuary – Macon County

	(d)  Feral Swine shall not be taken with the use of dogs on bear sanctuaries.
	(e)  Dogs shall not be trained or allowed to run unleashed between March 1 and the Monday on or nearest October 15 on bear sanctuaries located in and west of the counties and parts of counties described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.

	SECTION .0200 – USE OF GAMELANDS
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning t...
	(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15.
	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Hunting is by permit only.
	(b)  The training and use of dogs for hunting is prohibited except by special hunt permit holders during scheduled permit hunts.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Except as provided in Part (D) of this Subparagraph, waterfowl in posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(d)  Beginning on the first open waterfowl season day in October through the end of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting is by permit only on the following waterfowl impoundments: Pamlico Point, Campbell Creek, Hunting Creek, Spring Creek, Smith C...
	(e)  On Spring Lake, Pamlico Point and Campbell Creek Waterfowl Impoundments all activities, except waterfowl hunting on designated waterfowl hunting days and trapping during the trapping season, are restricted to the posted Scouting-only Zone during ...
	(f)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(g)  Hunting and vehicular access on the Parker Farm Tract is restricted from September 1 through January 1 and April 1 through May 15 to individuals that possess a valid hunting opportunity permit.
	(h)  Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for the purposes of training or hunting is prohibited on the Beaufort County portion north of NC 33 except for that portion east of Smith Creek and south of Campbell Creek.
	(i)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Hunting is by permit only.
	(b)  During permitted deer hunts, deer of either sex may be taken by permit holders.
	(c)  The construction of permanent hunting blinds is prohibited.
	(d)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated Hunter Camping Areas is limited to August 31 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14.
	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Waterfowl may be taken only on:
	(1) Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Days; and
	(3) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(d)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed only on those areas posted as American Tobacco Trail and other areas posted for equestrian use. Unless otherwise posted, horseback riding is permitted on posted portions of the American T...
	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(f)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas posted as an Archery Zone.
	(g)  The use of bicycles is restricted to designated areas, except that this restriction does not apply to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during the open days of the applicable seasons for game birds and game animals.
	(h)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning t...
	(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited on the Black Bear (McDowell County), Linville River (Burke County), and Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties).
	(d)  The use of bicycles shall be restricted to designated trails on the Linville River Tract (Burke County). Persons engaged in the act of hunting on the Linville River Tract during any open day of an applicable season for game birds or game animals ...
	(e)  Alcohol and fires are prohibited in the Wilson Creek portion of Pisgah Game Land (Caldwell County)
	(f)  Target shooting is prohibited on the Black Bear (McDowell County), Linville River (Burke County), and Little Tablerock Tracts (Avery, McDowell, and Mitchell counties).
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season for deer consists of the open hunting days from the Monday before Thanksgiving Day through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving. Deer of either sex may be taken with archery equipment on open days beginning t...
	(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails during the following dates:
	(1) January 2 through March 31;
	(2) May 16 through August 31;
	(3) Sundays only - April 1 through May 15; and
	(4) Sundays only - September 1 through January 1.

	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(f)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(g)  The maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at any posted and designated camping area is 14 days within any 30-day period.


	SUBCHAPTER 10E - FISHING AND BOATING ACCESS AREAS
	(a)  No person shall leave any vehicle, boat trailer or other obstruction on any public fishing or boating access area in such a location, position or condition that prevents or impedes the use by other persons of any ramp or other facility constructe...
	(b)  No person shall park a vehicle, boat, boat trailer, or other object at a public fishing or boating access area unless parking in a designated parking zone. Public fishing or boating access areas and facilities remain available for use when design...
	(c)  No person shall possess a loaded firearm on any public fishing or boating access area, except that a handgun may be carried by an individual with a valid concealed handgun permit. The individual carrying a handgun must adhere to the requirements ...
	(1) Bladen Lakes State Forest
	(2) Buckhorn
	(3) Butner-Falls of Neuse
	(4) Chatham
	(5) DuPont State Forest
	(6) Harris
	(7) Hyco
	(8) Jordan
	(9) Kerr Scott
	(10) Lee
	(11) Mayo
	(12) Pee Dee River north of U.S 74
	(13) Sutton Lake
	(14) Vance
	(15) the portion of R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell that is located north of U.S. 158 and east of N.C. 119

	(d)  No person, when using any public fishing or boating access area, shall deposit debris or refuse anywhere on the grounds of the area. No person, when using any public fishing or boating access area, shall do any act that is prohibited or neglect t...
	(e)  No person shall operate a motorboat in the public waters of North Carolina within 50 yards of a Commission-owned or managed boat launching ramp at greater than "no wake" speed. For the purpose of this Rule, "no wake" speed means idling speed or a...
	(f)  Except where facilities are provided, provided or permits are issued, it is unlawful to use any boating access area for purposes other than the launching and retrieving of vessels boats and parking vehicles and boat with vessel trailers. All othe...
	(g)  Unless otherwise Except where facilities are provided and approved uses are posted, it is unlawful to use any public fishing area for purposes other than fishing. All prohibited uses and activities shall be posted including possession of loaded f...
	(h)  It is unlawful to feed or release animals or birds, domesticated animals and feral animals on public fishing or boating access areas without prior written authorization of the Wildlife Resources Commission. Written authorization will only be gran...
	(i)  The use of gasoline powered motors on Ethridge Pond Public Fishing Area and Newbold Pond Public Fishing Area in Edgecombe County is prohibited.

	SUBCHAPTER 10H – REGULATED ACTIVITIES
	SECTION .1300 – REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS
	(a)  For the purposes of this Rule, "commercial taking" means the taking, possession, collection, transportation, purchase, or sale of five or more individual turtles or any turtle part, per person in a calendar year.
	(a)  Buying or selling any native turtle species is prohibited except for snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace length of 13 inches or greater as authorized by 15A NCAC 10B .0119.
	(b)  It shall be unlawful to engage in the commercial taking of any native turtle species in the families Emydidae or Trionychidae.
	(c)  The prohibition on commercial taking in this Rule shall not apply to the following:
	(1) A licensed veterinarian when holding for purposes of medical treatment;
	(2) A holder of a valid captivity permit for the purposes of rehabilitation;
	(3) A publicly-financed zoo, scientific research facility or institution of higher education, or any State or federal agency;
	(4) Any person who accidentally collects five or more turtles incidental to any lawful activity, and who immediately returns them to the wild; or
	(5) Property owners who legally apply for and receive depredation permits from the Wildlife Resources Commission, or one of its Wildlife Damage Control Agents.

	(d)  No native turtle shall be sold, except:
	(1) as authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302; and
	(2) snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace length of 11 inches or greater.

	(e)(b)  Violators shall be subject to a replacement cost per individual turtle that shall equal the replacement cost for "species with no open season" as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0117(c).
	(a)  Possession permits are required for the possession, importation, transportation, purchase, and sale per physical address of:
	(1) 25 or more individuals of any combination of native amphibian species; or
	(2) five or more individuals of native reptile species.

	(b)  Possession permits shall not be required for the possession, importation, transportation, purchase, and sale of:
	(1) 24 or fewer individuals of any combination of native amphibian species; or
	(2) four or fewer individuals of native reptile species.

	(b)  Possession permits are required for the rehabilitation of native reptiles and amphibians.
	(c)  Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to authorize the collection of any wildlife resources from the wild or the taking, possession, transportation, sale, purchase, or release to the wild of any wildlife resources or their parts in violation of...
	(d)  At no time shall permitted animals be released to the wild, except under situations of research or rehabilitation with written permission from the Wildlife Resources Commission.
	(e)  The sale of native turtles shall be unlawful, except as authorized by 10A NCAC 41A .0302 and snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) with a curved carapace length of 11 or greater.
	(f)(e)  A possession permit shall not be issued for:
	(1) holding reptiles and amphibians that were acquired unlawfully;
	(2) holding reptiles and amphibians for unlawful sale or trade;
	(3) selling snapping turtles (Chelydra serpentina) less than 11 inches (curved carapace length); individuals collecting snapping turtles under the collection license set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0119;
	(4) collecting five or more individual native turtles from the families Emydidae or Trionychidae from the wild in a given year, except those entities exempted from collection in Rule .1301(c) of this Section; collection of native reptiles and amphibia...
	(5) collecting five or more individuals in aggregate from other native reptile families or 25 or more individual amphibians from the wild in a given year without first having secured a valid Collection License;
	(6)(5) individuals in violation of the requirements of a collection license, as set forth in 15A NCAC 10B .0119, an endangered species permit, as set forth in 15A NCAC 10I .0100, or a possession permit as set forth in this Section; or
	(7)(6) individuals who do not first obtain possession permits prior to acquiring the following wildlife resources in Paragraph (a) of this Rule.

	(g)(f)  The Unless a more limited duration is designated on the permit permit, possession permits shall be valid from January 1 through December 31 of the applicable year.
	(h)(g)  Individuals permitted under this Rule shall submit a report to the Wildlife Resources Commission within 15 days following the date of permit expiration. The report shall contain the numbers of each species held under the permit and the use or ...
	(h)  Any individual engaged in the purchased transportation and sale of more than 100 snapping turtles is required to have a possession permit. Permitted individuals shall submit the numbers of snapping turtles taken under the permit and the use or di...

	SECTION .1400 – WILDLIFE CAPTIVITY AND REHABILITATION
	(a)  A captivity license for rehabilitation shall be required for lawful possession of injured, crippled, or orphaned native wild animals or wild birds for the purpose of providing short term care and eventual release into the animal's natural habitat...
	(1) Endangered, threatened, or special concern species as defined by 15A NCAC 10I .0100. Rehabilitation of these species requires an endangered species permit from the Commission;
	(2) Domestic animals;
	(3) Feral swine;
	(4) Nutria;
	(5) Coyote;
	(6) Adult black bear; or
	(7) Adult white-tailed deer or elk. elk;
	(8) Nine-banded armadillo; or
	(9) Eggs of upland game birds.

	(b)  A captivity license for rehabilitation shall not be issued for the purpose of holding wild animals or wild birds:
	(1) As pets;
	(2) For education, exhibition, or scientific purposes, except as provided in Rule .1403 of this Section;
	(3) For dog training;
	(4) For hunting; or
	(5) Acquired unlawfully.

	(c)  Individuals who do not possess a captivity license for rehabilitation may take temporary possession of injured, crippled, or orphaned wild animals or wild birds, provided they are surrendered to a North Carolina licensed veterinarian or an indivi...
	(d)  North Carolina licensed veterinarians providing medical care to sick, injured, or crippled wild animals or wild birds are not required to have a license for rehabilitation from the Commission. North Carolina licensed veterinarians without a capti...
	(e)  Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation that have never held this license in North Carolina or a similar license in another state shall be designated as an apprentice. The following requirements shall apply to an apprentic...
	(1) On the application, the apprentice shall designate a mentor with a valid captivity license for rehabilitation in NC, who has held that license for two or more years;
	(2) An apprentice shall complete at least 12 months of supervised rehabilitation activities under a licensed rehabilitator; and
	(3) An apprentice license shall only authorize the possession of squirrels, rabbits, and opossums.

	(f)  Individuals applying for a captivity license for rehabilitation shall meet statutory and regulatory requirements, including those in G.S. 113-272.5 and all applicable rules of this Section. Individuals seeking to rehabilitate migratory birds shal...
	(g)  Required facilities.
	(1) Individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation shall conduct their rehabilitation activities at the facility designated on their license that meets the minimum standards set forth in the "Miller, E.A., edition. 2000. Minimum Standards ...
	(2) All wild animals and wild birds undergoing rehabilitation shall be separated from pets, domestic animals, livestock, and non-native animals.
	(3) All wild animals shall be kept in separate enclosures by species.
	(4) Rehabilitation in a residence shall have designated, separate rooms used only for housing, treatment, and rehabilitation.
	(5) Handling of animals shall be for treatment only.

	(h)  Wild animals or wild birds showing symptoms of or believed to be infected with a zoonotic disease shall be euthanized or treated prior to release, based upon advice from a North Carolina licensed veterinarian.
	(i)  Release of rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds.
	(1) All rehabilitated wild animals and wild birds shall be released as soon as the animal can be expected to survive in the wild or has attained full recovery from illness or injury, as determined by the rehabilitator or a North Carolina licensed vete...
	(2) Wild animals and wild birds may remain in a rehabilitation facility for no longer than 180 days. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed, the license holder shall notify the Commission in writing. The Commission shall consider extended rehabil...
	(3) Wild animals and wild birds shall not be released on property owned by another unless the rehabilitator has written permission dated within the last 12 months from the landowner.
	(4) Wild animals or wild birds that are unfit shall be non-releasable and humanely euthanized.

	However, the Commission shall consider transfer of wild animals and wild birds on a case-by-case basis when written authorization is requested from the Commission. The wild animal or wild bird shall only be transferred to an individual or facility wit...
	(j)  Transfer of Animals.
	(1) Wild animals originating outside the State shall not be accepted for the purpose of rehabilitation unless written authorization is obtained from the Commission.
	(2) Wild animals received for rehabilitation may not be exported outside the State for the purpose of rehabilitation or release after rehabilitation unless written authorization is obtained from both the Commission and the state where the wild animal ...
	(3) It shall be unlawful for a license holder to sell any wild animal or wild bird being held under a license for rehabilitation.
	(4) It shall be lawful for a license holder to transfer a wild animal or wild bird to another individual who possesses a valid captivity license for rehabilitation with the appropriate category for the given species or a wild bird to another individua...

	(k)  White-tailed Deer Fawn.
	(1) Only individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation with the white-tailed deer fawn category may possess, rehabilitate, and release white-tailed deer fawns. To become licensed to rehabilitate white-tailed deer fawns, an individual shal...
	(2) No white-tailed deer fawn shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an enclosure for keeping fawn that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a representa...
	(3) Any white-tailed deer fawn held for more than 48 hours shall be permanently tagged using only Commission-provided tags.
	(4) Orphaned white-tailed deer fawns shall be held for no longer than 90 days. Injured white-tailed deer fawns shall be held for no longer than 180 days or until December 31, whichever occurs first. If a longer rehabilitation period is needed, the lic...
	(5) Records of all white-tail deer fawn rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule .1406 of this Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license or prior to the request for reissuance of the...
	(6) Any individual or facility with the white-tailed deer category may not rehabilitate white-tailed fawn on properties licensed for farmed cervids.

	(l)  Elk Calves.
	(1) Only individuals under a signed cooperative agreement with the Commission to meet conservation objectives shall be authorized to rehabilitate elk calves.
	(2) Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the Commission shall obtain a captivity license for rehabilitation with the elk calf category. To become licensed to rehabilitate elk calves, an individual shall meet all the requirements of the captivit...
	(3) Any elk calves held for more than 48 hours shall be permanently tagged using only Commission-provided tags.
	(4) Any individual or facility with the elk calf category may not rehabilitate elk calves on properties licensed for farmed cervids.
	(5) No elk calf shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an enclosure for keeping elk calves that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a representative of ...
	(6) Records of all elk calf rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as set forth in Rule .1406 of this Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license or prior to the request for reissuance of the license

	(m)  Black Bear Cubs.
	(1) Only individuals under a signed cooperative agreement with the Commission to meet conservation objectives shall be authorized to rehabilitate black bear cubs.
	(2) Individuals in a cooperative agreement with the Commission shall obtain a captivity license for rehabilitation with the black bear category. To become licensed to rehabilitate black bear cubs, an individual shall meet all the requirements of the c...
	(2) No black bear shall be possessed until the applicant has constructed or acquired an enclosure for keeping black bear that complies with the standards set forth in Paragraph (g) of this Rule, and the facility has been verified by a representative o...

	(n)  Rabies Species.
	(1) Only individuals holding a captivity license for rehabilitation with the rabies species category may possess, rehabilitate, or release rabies species. To become licensed to rehabilitate rabies species, an individual shall meet all requirements of ...
	(2) Except for bats, rehabilitation and release of rabies species is not authorized in counties where the United States Department of Agriculture-Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service Oral Rabies Vaccination (ORV) program is conducted, as specifi...
	(3) Except as otherwise specified in this Section, rabies species shall not be removed from their containment except for treatment, release, maintenance of the enclosure, or euthanasia.
	(4) Rehabilitated rabies species must be released in either the county where they were rehabilitated or the county where they were found.
	(5) All rabies species shall be considered potentially infected with the rabies virus. If any human or domestic animal has been scratched, bitten, or exposed to saliva, the fluid that surrounds the brain and spinal cord, or brain and spinal cord mater...
	(6) Records of all rabies species rehabilitation shall be maintained on a form, as described in Rule .1406 of this Section, and submitted to the Commission within 15 days of expiration of the license or prior to the request for reissuance of the license.

	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to adopt the rules cited as 15A NCAC 10D .0201-.0203, .0206, .0208, .0210, .0211, .0213-.0222, .0224, .0227, .0228, .0232, .0233, .0237, .0241, .02...
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  August 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  As part of the edits to 10D .0103 during the annual cycle, the Commission is proposing to split out all of the game lands into their own individual rules. This will simplify any changes that need to be made to game lands i...
	10D .0103 is under legislative review. The temporary version and the version under review are both included in the annual cycle package. The agency is unsure which version will have to be amended at this time.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email regulations@ncwildlife.org
	Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10D - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	SECTION .0100 - GAME LANDS REGULATIONS
	(a)  Safety Requirements. No person while hunting on any designated game land shall be under the influence of alcohol or any narcotic drug, or fail to comply with restrictions enacted by the National Park Service regarding the use of the Blue Ridge Pa...
	(b)  Traffic Requirements. No person shall park a vehicle on game lands in such a manner as to block traffic or gates, or otherwise prevent vehicles from using any roadway.
	(c)  Tree Stands. It is unlawful to erect or to occupy, for the purpose of hunting, any tree stand or platform attached by nails, screws, bolts, or wire to a tree on any game land designated herein. This prohibition does not apply to lag-screw steps o...
	(d)  Time and Manner of Taking. Hunting is allowed on game lands only during the open season for game animals and game birds, unless hunting is allowed by permit. Individual game lands or parts thereof may be closed to hunting or limited to specific d...
	(1) not enter the posted impoundment areas earlier than 4:00 a.m. on the permitted hunting dates;
	(2) not hunt after 1:00 p.m. on such hunting dates;
	(3) not set decoys out prior to 4:00 a.m.;
	(4) remove decoys by 3:00 p.m. each day; and
	(5) not operate any vessel or vehicle powered by an internal combustion engine.
	(1) On managed waterfowl impoundments, persons shall:
	(2) On Sundays, the following shall be prohibited:

	On designated youth waterfowl days, youths may hunt on managed waterfowl impoundments from ½ hour before sunrise to sunset. On designated veterans and military waterfowl days, veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed Forces on acti...
	(e)  Definitions:
	(1) For purposes of this Section, "Dove Only Area" refers to a Game Land on which doves may be taken and dove hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Days within the federally-announced sea...
	(2) For purposes of this Section, "Three Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Mondays, Wednesdays, Saturdays, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Days, e...
	(3) For purposes of this Section, "Six Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken on the open days of Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday during the open seasons.
	(4) For purposes of this Section, "Seven Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which game may be taken during the open season on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.
	(5) For purposes of this Section, "Four Days per Week Area" refers to a Game Land on which any game may be taken during the open seasons and hunting is limited to Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Raccoon and opossum hunting may continue un...

	(f)  Hunting with Dogs on Game Lands. Deer shall not be taken with the use of dogs on game lands in counties or parts of counties where taking deer with dogs is prohibited as described in 15A NCAC 10B .0109.
	(g)  The listed seasons and restrictions apply in the following game lands:
	(1) Alcoa Game Land in Davidson, Davie, Montgomery, Rowan, and Stanly counties
	(2) Alligator River Game Land in Tyrrell County
	(3) Angola Bay Game Land in Duplin and Pender counties
	(4) Bachelor Bay Game Land in Bertie, Martin, and Washington counties
	(5)(1) Bertie County Game Land in Bertie County
	(6)(2) Bladen Lakes State Forest Game Land in Bladen County
	(7) Brinkleyville Game Land in Halifax County
	(8) Brunswick County Game Land in Brunswick County
	(9)(3) Buckhorn Game Land in Orange County
	(10) Buckridge Game Land in Tyrrell County.
	(11) Buffalo Cove Game Land in Caldwell and Wilkes Counties
	(12) Bullard and Branch Hunting Preserve Game Lands in Robeson County
	(13)(4) Butner - Falls of Neuse Game Land in Durham, Granville, and Wake counties
	(14)(5) Buxton Woods Game Land in Dare County:
	(15) Cape Fear River Wetlands Game Land in Pender County
	(16) Carteret County Game Land in Carteret County
	(17) R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Game Land in Caswell County
	(18) Chatham Game Land in Chatham County
	(19) Chowan Game Land in Chowan County
	(20) Chowan Swamp Game Land in Bertie, Gates, and Hertford counties.
	(21) Cold Mountain Game Land in Haywood County
	(22) Columbus County Game Land in Columbus County.
	(23) Croatan Game Land in Carteret, Craven, and Jones counties
	(24) Currituck Banks Game Land in Currituck County
	(25)(6) Dan River Game Land in Rockingham County
	(26) Dare Game Land in Dare and Hyde counties
	(27)(7) Dover Bay Game Land in Craven County
	(28) DuPont State Forest Game Lands in Henderson and Transylvania counties
	(29) Elk Knob Game Land in Watauga County
	(30) Embro Game Land in Halifax and Warren counties
	(31) Goose Creek Game Land in Beaufort and Pamlico counties
	(32) Green River Game Land in Henderson, and Polk counties
	(33)(8) Green Swamp Game Land in Brunswick County
	(34) Gull Rock Game Land in Hyde County
	(35) Harris Game Land in Chatham, Harnett, and Wake counties
	(36)(9) Headwaters State Forest Game Land in Transylvania County
	(37)(10) Hill Farm Game Land in Stokes County- hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(38)(11) Holly Shelter Game Land in Pender County
	(39) Hyco Game land in Person County
	(40)(12) J. Morgan Futch Game Land in Tyrrell County - hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(41) Johns River Game Land in Burke County
	(42) Jordan Game Land in Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Wake counties
	(43) Juniper Creek Game Land in Brunswick and Columbus counties
	(44)(13) Kerr Scott Game Land in Wilkes County
	(45)(14) Lantern Acres Game Land in Tyrrell and Washington counties
	(46) Lee Game Land in Lee County
	(47) Light Ground Pocosin Game Land in Pamlico County
	(48) Linwood Game Land in Davidson County
	(49) Lower Fishing Creek Game Land in Edgecombe and Halifax counties
	(50) Mayo Game Land in Person County
	(51) Mitchell River Game Land in Surry County
	(52) Nantahala Game Land in Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Swain, and Transylvania counties
	(53) Needmore Game Land in Macon and Swain counties.
	(54)(15) Neuse River Game Land in Craven County
	(55) New Lake Game Land in Hyde and Tyrrell counties
	(56) Nicholson Creek Game Land in Hoke County
	(57) North River Game Land in Camden and Currituck counties
	(58) Northwest River Marsh Game Land in Currituck County
	(59) Pee Dee River Game Land in Anson, Montgomery, Richmond, and Stanly counties
	(60) Perkins Game Land in Davie County
	(61) Pisgah Game Land in Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Haywood, Henderson, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Transylvania, Watauga, and Yancey counties
	(62) Pond Mountain Game Land in Ashe County
	(63)(16) Pungo River Game Land in Hyde County
	(64)(17) Rendezvous Mountain State Forest Game Land in Wilkes County
	(65)(18) Rhodes Pond Game Land in Cumberland and Harnett counties
	(66)(19) Roanoke River Wetlands in Bertie, Halifax, Martin, and Northampton counties
	(67)(20) Roanoke Island Marshes Game Land in Dare County-Hunting is by permit only.
	(68) Robeson Game Land in Robeson County
	(69)(21) Rockfish Creek Game Land in Hoke County
	(70)(22) Rocky Run Game Land in Onslow County - Hunting is by permit only.
	(71) Sampson Game Land in Sampson County
	(72) Sandhills Game Land in Hoke, Moore, Richmond, and Scotland counties
	(73) Sandy Creek Game Land in Nash and Franklin Counties
	(74)(23) Sandy Mush Game Land in Buncombe and Madison counties.
	(75)(24) Second Creek Game Land in Rowan County- hunting is by permit only.
	(76) Shocco Creek Game Land in Franklin, Halifax, Nash, and Warren counties
	(77) South Mountains Game Land in Burke, Cleveland, McDowell, and Rutherford counties
	(78) Stones Creek Game Land in Onslow County
	(79)(25) Suggs Mill Pond Game Land in Bladen and Cumberland counties
	(80) Sutton Lake Game Land in New Hanover and Brunswick counties
	(81)(26) Tar River Game Land in Edgecombe County
	(82)(27) Texas Plantation Game Land in Tyrrell County - hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(83) Three Top Mountain Game Land in Ashe County
	(84) Thurmond Chatham Game Land in Alleghany and Wilkes counties
	(85) Tillery game Land in Halifax County
	(86) Toxaway Game Land in Jackson and Transylvania counties
	(87) Uwharrie Game Land in Davidson, Montgomery, and Randolph counties
	(88)(28) Vance Game Land in Vance County
	(89) Van Swamp Game Land in Beaufort and Washington counties
	(90)(29) Voice of America Game Land in Beaufort County
	(91)(30) White Oak River Game Land in Onslow County
	(92)(31) Whitehall Plantation Game Land in Bladen and Pender counties
	(93) William H. Silver Game Land in Haywood County

	(h)  On permitted type hunts, deer of either sex may be taken on the hunt dates indicated on the permit. Completed applications shall be received by the Commission not later than the first day of September next preceding the dates of hunt. Permits sha...
	(i)  The following game lands and refuges are closed to all hunting except to those individuals who have obtained a valid and current permit from the Wildlife Resources Commission:
	(1) Bertie, Halifax and Martin counties—Roanoke River Wetlands;
	(2) Bertie County—Roanoke River National Wildlife Refuge;
	(3) Bladen County—Suggs Mill Pond Game Lands;
	(4) Burke County—John's River Waterfowl Refuge;
	(5)(4) Dare County—Dare Game Lands (Those parts of bombing range posted against hunting);
	(6)(5) Dare County—Roanoke Sound Marshes Game Lands; and
	(7)(6) Henderson and Transylvania counties—DuPont State Forest Game Lands.

	(j)  Access to Hunting Creek Swamp Waterfowl Refuge in Davie County requires written permission from the Commission. Written permission may be granted only when entry onto the Waterfowl Refuge will not compromise the primary purpose for establishing t...
	(k)  Feral swine may be taken by licensed hunters during the open season for any game animal or game bird using any legal manner of take allowed during those seasons. Dogs may not be used to hunt feral swine except on game lands that allow the use of ...
	(l)  Youth Waterfowl Day. On the day declared by the Commission to be Youth Waterfowl Day, youths may hunt on any game land and on any impoundment without a special hunt permit, including permit-only areas, except where prohibited in Paragraph (h) of ...
	(m)  Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days. On the day declared by the Commission to be Veterans and Military Waterfowl Days, veterans, as defined in 38 USC 101, and members of the Armed Forces on active duty, including members of the National Guard an...
	(n)  Permit Hunt Opportunities for Disabled Sportsmen. The Commission may designate special hunts for participants of the disabled sportsman program by permit. The Commission may schedule these permit hunts during the closed season. Hunt dates and spe...
	(o)  As used in this Rule, horseback riding includes all equine species.
	(p)  When waterfowl hunting is authorized in this Rule on Christmas and New Years' Day and those days fall on Sundays, the open waterfowl hunting day shall be the following day.

	SECTION .0200 – use of game lands
	(a)  Seven Day per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season.
	(a)  Seven Day per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Three Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season.
	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	On the posted waterfowl impoundments a special permit is required for all waterfowl hunting after November
	(d)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(f)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas posted as an archery zone.
	(g)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on that portion west of NC 50 and south of Falls Lake.
	(h)  The use of bicycles is restricted to designated areas, except that this restriction does not apply to hunters engaged in the act of hunting during the open days of the applicable seasons for game birds and game animals. On designated bicycle ridi...
	(i)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14.
	(j)  Camping is allowed at any time in the designated Mountains-to-Sea Trail Camping Area and shall not exceed a maximum stay of two consecutive nights. Campfires are prohibited in this camping area.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Turkey Hunting is by permit only on that portion known as the Roan Island Tract.
	(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on the portion of the game land that is west of the Black River, north of Roan Island, east of Lyon Swamp Canal to Canetuck Road, and south of NC 210 to the Black River.
	(e)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(f)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited.
	(d)  Bear hunting on the Salters Creek Tract is by permit only.
	(e)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Three Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Wednesday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only, September 1 through May 15. Horseback riding is allowed only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and on those gate...
	(d)  The area encompassed by the following roads is permit-only for all quail and woodcock hunting, and all bird dog training: From Yanceyville south on NC 62 to the intersection of SR 1746, west on SR 1746 to the intersection of SR 1156, south on SR ...
	(e)  On the posted waterfowl impoundment, waterfowl hunting is by permit only after November 1.
	(f)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14.
	(g)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the R. Wayne Bailey-Caswell Shooting Range.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding, including all equine species, is allowed seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only September 1 through May 15.
	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear hunting is restricted to the first Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the November bear season and the second Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the December bear season except that portion of Chowan Swamp Game Land in Gates County that is east ...
	(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(e)  Horseback riding is prohibited except during May 16 through August 31 and on Sundays only September 1 through May 15 on those roads that are open to vehicular traffic and on those gated roads and trails posted for equestrian use.
	(f)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15.
	(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Deer hunting on the Campbell Tract shall be by permit only.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(d)  Beginning on the first open waterfowl day in October through the end of all waterfowl seasons, waterfowl hunting from designated Disabled Sportsmen blinds on the Catfish Lake Waterfowl Impoundment is by permit only.
	(e)  Dove hunting is by permit only for the first two open days of dove season on posted areas. During the rest of dove season, no permit is required to hunt doves.
	(f)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Permanent waterfowl blinds in Currituck Sound on these game lands shall be hunted by permit only from November 1 through the end of all waterfowl seasons.
	(c)  Licensed hunting guides may accompany the permitted individual or party provided the guides do not use a firearm.
	(d)  The boundary of the game land shall extend 5 yards from the edge of the marsh or shoreline.
	(e)  Dogs are allowed only for waterfowl hunting by permitted waterfowl hunters on the day of their hunt.
	(f)  No screws, nails, or other objects penetrating the bark shall be used to attach a tree stand or blind to a tree.
	(g)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers season.
	(h)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first Friday thereafter.
	(c)  No hunting is allowed on posted parts of bombing range.
	(d)  The use and training of dogs is prohibited from March 1 through June 30.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first Friday thereafter.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons; and
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl season.

	(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas designated and posted as camping areas.
	(e)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Waterfowl on posted waterfowl impoundments shall be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons; and
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl season.

	(d)  The use or construction of permanent hunting blinds shall be prohibited.
	(e)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only, except on those areas posted as an archery zone.
	(f)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(g)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken on all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited.
	(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Waterfowl shall be taken only on:
	(1) Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Christmas and New Year's Days; and
	(3) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Tuesday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season in that portion located in Transylvania County.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15.
	(c)  On posted dove fields, dove hunting on the opening day of dove season is by permit only.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Three Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken with archery equipment on open hunting days from the Saturday on or nearest September 10 through the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day.
	(c)  Deer of either sex may be taken with blackpowder firearms on open hunting days beginning the fourth Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the Wednesday of the second week thereafter.
	(d)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season consists of the open hunting days from the second Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day.
	(e)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(f)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited.
	(g)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only.
	(h)  On Lake Upchurch, the following activities are prohibited:
	(1) Operating any vessel or vehicle powered by an internal combustion engine; and
	(2) Swimming.
	(3) Target shooting is prohibited.

	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  The boundary of the Game Land shall extend five yards from the edge of the marsh or shoreline.
	(d)  Hunting on the posted waterfowl impoundment is by permit only.
	(e)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  The boundary of the Game Land shall extend five yards from the edge of the marsh or shoreline.
	(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Use of centerfire rifles is prohibited in that portion in Anson and Richmond counties North of US-74.
	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(e)  Horseback riding is allowed seven days per week from May 16 through August 31, and on Sundays only September 1 through May 15 only on roads opened to vehicular traffic and gated roads and trails posted for equestrian use.
	(f)  Pursuing or chasing deer or bear with dogs for the purposes of training or hunting shall be prohibited on that portion south of US-74.
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Tuesday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited from November 1 through January 1.
	(d)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails from May 16 through August 31 and Sundays from September 1 through October 31. All horseback riding is prohibited from November 1 through May 15.
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday
	(a)  Four Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Three Days per Week Area
	(b)  Hunting is prohibited on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds from October 22 through March 31 except as follows:
	(1) deer of either-sex may be taken with archery equipment on all the open days of the archery season through the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day; with blackpowder firearms and archery equipment all the open days of the blackpowder firearms seas...
	(2) dove may be taken all open days from the opening day of the dove season through the third Saturday thereafter;
	(3) squirrel (gray and fox) may be taken all the open days from the second Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the Saturday following Thanksgiving Day;
	(4) rabbit may be taken all open days from the second Saturday preceding Thanksgiving Day through the Saturday following Thanksgiving Day;
	(5) waterfowl may be taken on open days during any waterfowl season;
	(6) wild animals and wild birds may be taken as part of a Disabled Sportsmen Program Permit Hunt; and
	(7) raccoon and opossum may be taken on open days from sunrise Monday on or nearest October 15 through the last day of February.

	(c)  The Deer With Visible Antlers season is the open hunting days from the second Saturday before Thanksgiving Day through the third Saturday after Thanksgiving Day except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds.
	(d)  The archery season is all open days from the Saturday on or nearest to Sept. 10 to the fourth Friday before Thanksgiving Day and, except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third Monday after Thanksgiving Day through January 1. Deer ...
	(e)  Blackpowder firearms season is all the open days from the fourth Saturday preceding Thanksgiving Day through the Wednesday of the second week thereafter and, except on the J. Robert Gordon Field Trial Grounds, the third Monday after Thanksgiving ...
	(f)  Either-sex deer hunting during the Deer With Visible Antlers Season is by permit only.
	(g)  In addition to the regular hunting days, waterfowl may be taken on the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons.
	(h)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only.
	(i)  Horseback riding on field trial grounds from October 22 through March 31 is prohibited unless participating in authorized field trials. Horseback riding is allowed on the remainder of the Sandhills Game Land seven days per week on roads that are ...
	(j)  Camping and the presence of campers and tents in designated Hunter Camping Areas are limited to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14.
	(k)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the John F. Lentz Hunter Education Complex.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited.
	(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(e)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Six Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays.
	(d)  Swimming in all lakes is prohibited.
	(e)  Waterfowl may be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Tuesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(f)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(g)  Geocaching is restricted to closed days for taking bear, deer, turkey, and waterfowl.
	(a)  Hunting and trapping is by permit only.
	(b)  Camping is restricted to September 1 through the last day of February and March 31 through May 14 in areas both designated and posted as camping areas.
	(c)  Entry is prohibited on scheduled hunt or trapping days except for:
	(1) hunters or trappers holding special hunt or trapping permits; and
	(2) persons using Campground Road to access Suggs Mill Pond Lake at the dam.

	(d)  During the period of November 1 through January 31, except on Sundays, the use of vessels on Suggs Mill Pond Lake and Little Singletary Lake is limited to waterfowl hunting only by waterfowl hunters possessing a valid and current Hunting Opportun...
	(e)  During the period of November 1 through March 15, the use of vessels on managed waterfowl impoundments is limited to waterfowl hunting only by waterfowl hunters possessing a valid and current Hunting Opportunity Permit issued by the Wildlife Reso...
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Target shooting is prohibited.
	(d)  Bear shall not be harvested on Sunday.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the first Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31, and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15. People age 16 or older horseback riding on this game land shall possess a Game Lands lice...
	(d)  The maximum period of consecutive overnight camping at any designated campground is 14 days within any 30 day period from May 1 through August 31. After 14 consecutive days of camping all personal belongings must be removed from the game land.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited.
	(d)  The use of dogs for hunting deer is prohibited.
	(e)  Wild turkey hunting is by permit only.
	(f)  Target Shooting is prohibited.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Horseback riding is prohibited except on designated trails May 16 through August 31 and all horseback riding is prohibited from September 1 through May 15.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter.
	(c)  On the posted waterfowl impoundment, waterfowl may be taken only on the following days:
	(1) the opening and closing days of the applicable waterfowl seasons;
	(2) Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Days; and
	(3) Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays of the applicable waterfowl seasons.

	(d)  Target shooting is prohibited, except at the Flintlock Valley Shooting Range.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(c)  Bear may only be taken the first Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the November Bear Season and the second Saturday, Monday, and Tuesday of the December Bear Season.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open Saturday of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season.
	(a)  Seven Days per Week Area
	(b)  Deer of either sex may be taken the first open day of the applicable Deer With Visible Antlers Season through the second Friday thereafter in that portion in Montgomery county, and deer of either sex may be taken all the open days of the applicab...
	(c)  On the Lick Creek Tract, deer and bear hunting is archery only.
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to amend the rule cited as 15A NCAC 10F .0201.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Location:  Register online: https://ncwildlife-org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_rQEorCCJTgqu3NHXE1UNZA Webinar ID:  160 707 2608 US: +1 669 254 5252 or 833 568 8864 (Toll Free)
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The PFD type code references must be removed to be in compliance with Title 33 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Subpart B Part 175.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 1701 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email regulations@ncwildlife.org
	Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required



	Chapter 10 - Wildlife Resources and Water Safety
	SUBCHAPTER 10F - MOTORBOATS AND WATER SAFETY
	SECTION .0200 - SAFETY EQUIPMENT AND ACCIDENT REPORTS
	(a)  All vessels subject to the rules of this Section shall meet the vessel equipment requirements set forth in G.S. 75A-6(n), 46 CFR 25, and 33 CFR 175. 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175 are incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editi...
	(b)  Personal flotation devices (PFDs) shall be required as follows:
	(1) No person may operate a vessel unless, for each person on the vessel, at least one Type I, II, or III U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD is on board and readily accessible. Any U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD may be carried to meet the ...
	(2) No person shall operate a vessel 16 feet or more in length unless one type IV U.S. Coast Guard approved throwable PFD is on board and immediately available for use, in addition to the total number of PFDs required in Subparagraph (1) of this Parag...
	(3) No person shall operate a vessel while the vessel is underway with any child under 13 years old aboard unless each child is:
	(4) A Type V PFD may be carried in lieu of any PFD required under Subparagraph (1) of this Paragraph provided:
	(5)(4) No person shall operate a vessel unless each required PFD is:
	(6)(5) Exemptions shall apply as follows:

	(c)  Fire Extinguishers shall be required as follows:
	(1) All motorboats shall carry at least the minimum number of USCG-approved hand portable fire extinguishers specified in this Rule if:
	(2) Class A and Class 1 Motorboats less than 26 feet in length shall carry one Type B-I extinguisher.
	(3) Class 2 Motorboats shall carry two Type B-I extinguisers.
	(4) Class 3 Motorboats shall carry three Type B-I extinguisers.
	(5) One Type B-II hand held fire extinguisher may be substituted for two B-I hand portable fire extinguishers. A fixed fire extinguishing system installed in the engine compartment shall be deemed equal to one Type B-I hand portable fire extinguisher.

	Open Vessels. Vessels less than 26 feet in length, propelled by outboard motors and not carrying passengers for hire, shall not be required to carry portable fire extinguishers if the construction of the vessels will not permit the entrapment of explo...
	(d)  Every engine, except outboard motors, using gasoline as fuel and installed in a vessel shall be equipped with an acceptable means of backfire flame control that meets the requirements of 46 CFR 25 and 33 CFR 175.
	(e)  Every vessel, except open vessels using liquid of a volatile nature as fuel, shall be equipped with an operable ventilation system as required by 33 CFR 175.201 and 46 CFR 25.40-1, to remove any explosive or flammable gases from the bilges of the...
	(f)  Sound devices shall be required as follows:
	(1) Vessels less than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall be equipped with some means of making an efficient sound signal; and
	(2) Vessels equal to or greater than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall be equipped with a whistle and a bell that comply with 33 USC 2033.

	(g)  Lights. The lights prescribed by this Paragraph shall be exhibited from sunset to sunrise and in fog, mist, falling snow, heavy rainstorms, sandstorms, or any other similar circumstances of restricted visibility. They may be exhibited in all othe...
	(1) Vessels, other than those vessels described in Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, equal to or greater than 12 meters or 39.4 feet but less than 20 meters or 65.6 feet in length shall exhibit:
	(2) Vessels, other than those vessels described in Subparagraphs (g)(3)-(7) of this Rule, less than 12 meters or 39.4 feet in length shall exhibit:
	(3) Sailing vessels underway that are seven meters or 23 feet in length or greater shall exhibit:
	(4) In a sailing vessel less than 20 meters or 65.6 feet in length, the lights prescribed in Subparagraph (3) of this Paragraph may be combined in one lantern carried at or near the top of the mast where it can be best seen.
	(5) A sailing vessel of less than seven meters or 23 feet in length shall, if practicable, exhibit the lights prescribed in Subparagraph (3) or (4) of this Paragraph; if not practicable the vessel shall have ready at hand an electric torch or lighted ...
	(6) A vessel under oars shall either:
	(7) On public waters not subject to the jurisdiction of the United States, vessels propelled by machinery of 10 horsepower or less, in lieu of the foregoing requirements, may carry from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise a whit...




	Title 21 - Occupational Licensing Boards and Commissions
	Chapter 06 - Board of Barber Examiners
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Barber Examiners intends to amend the rules cited as 21 NCAC 06L .0103, and .0118.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  https://www.barbers.nc.gov/news.html
	Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:  The amendment to 21 NCAC 06L .0103 would allow barber shops to have exposed pipes within the business. This change would allow shops more flexibility according to their aesthetic needs.
	The amendment to 21 NCAC 06L .0118 would allow staff members to conduct a new inspection promptly after a barber shop fails, whereas the current rule prohibits a new inspection within 30 days. This change would offer an incentive to shops to quickly r...
	Comments may be submitted to:  Dennis Seavers, 7001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-7000; phone (919) 814-0641; fax (919) 981-5068; email dennis.seavers@nc.gov
	Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SUBCHAPTER 06L - BARBER SHOPS
	(a)  Each barber shall have a cabinet for barbering equipment. The cabinets shall be constructed of material that may be cleaned.
	(b)  Each shop shall have smooth finished walls and floors, with no exposed pipes. floors.
	(c)  Each barber chair shall be covered with a smooth, non-porous surface, such as vinyl or leather, which is easily cleaned as required by G.S. 86A-15(a)(2)(c).
	(d)  Each shop shall have within the shop or building functioning toilet facilities for employees and patrons.
	(e)  Each barber shop shall have a cabinet, or other method of storage, such that clean towels are stored separate from used towels.
	(f)  In addition to the requirements of Paragraph (d) of this Rule, barber shops that are permitted on or after January 1, 1995 or undergo structural renovations after that date, shall have within the shop or building a hand-washing sink or lavatory f...
	(g)  Where a barber shop is located within a shop licensed by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners, the toilet facility and sink may be shared with the cosmetology shop.
	(h)  Paragraphs (a), (d), and (f) of this Rule do not apply to barber shops operated by the North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice.
	(i)  All equipment and tools used in the practice of barbering as set forth in G.S. 86A-2 shall be suitable for the safe cutting of hair and shall be maintained in a sanitary and good operating condition as required by G.S. 86A-15(a)(2).
	(a)  The sanitary rating of a barber shop shall be based on a system of grading outlined in 21 NCAC 06L .0119. Based on the grading, all establishments shall be rated in the following manner:
	(1) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of at least 90 percent shall be awarded a grade A;
	(2) all establishments receiving a sanitary rating of at least 80 percent, and less than 90 percent, shall be awarded a grade B; and
	(3) a sanitary rating of less than 80 percent shall be awarded a failing grade.

	(b)  Every barber shop shall be given a sanitary rating.
	(c)  The sanitary rating of A, B, or failing given to a barber shop establishment shall be posted in a conspicuous place, defined as a place easily seen by the public at the front of the shop, at all times.
	(d)  No newly established barber shop shall be permitted to operate without first having obtained a sanitary rating card with a grade of not less than 80 percent.
	(e)  Barber inspectors shall give each barber shop a new sanitary rating card.
	(f)  A re-inspection for the purpose of raising a failing sanitary rating of a barber shop shall not be given within 30 days.


	Chapter 10 – BOARD OF Chiropractic Examiners
	Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the Board of Chiropractic Examiners intends to adopt the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0217 and amend the rule cited as 21 NCAC 10 .0208.
	Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  www.ncchiroboard.com
	Proposed Effective Date:  July 1, 2022
	Reason for Proposed Action:
	21 NCAC 10 .0208 - To clarify the training and documentation needed to perform acupuncture.
	21 NCAC 10 .0217 - To clarify how professional corporations must be named and identified.
	Comments may be submitted to:  Dr. Joe Siragusa, NC Board of Chiropractic Examiners, 9121 Anson Way, Suite 200, Raleigh, NC 27615
	Comment period ends:  January 31, 2022
	Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules ...
	Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply.
	State funds affected
	Local funds affected
	Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000)
	Approved by OSBM
	No fiscal note required
	SECTION .0200 - PRACTICE OF CHIROPRACTIC
	(a)  Until July 1, 2008, in In order to perform acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for licensure must shall first certify to the Board that he or she has completed a minimum of 100 hours' coursework in acupuncture-meridian therapy, including steri...
	(b)  Prior to performing acupuncture, a licentiate or applicant for licensure must provide the Board with the following:
	(1) An official transcript from an accredited acupuncture program demonstrating completion of the 200 hours of instruction described in this Rule; and
	(2) Proof of successful completion of the acupuncture examination described in this Rule.

	(c)  Licentiates holding an active license as of December 31, 2022 and who have received prior approval from the Board to perform acupuncture are not required to meet the requirements of this rule. However, if a licentiate grandfathered under this Rul...
	(a)  A chiropractor who seeks to deliver chiropractic services through a professional corporation or professional limited liability company shall obtain Board approval for such entity's Articles of Incorporation/Organization prior to filing such Artic...
	(b)  No proper names of persons other than licensees may be included in the name and all professional entities must include the word "Chiropractor," "Chiropractic," or the name of a licensed chiropractor who is an owner of the professional entity. The...
	(c)  The professional entity may not be identical or so similar in name to an existing registered business entity as to be misleading. Business entities organized for the primary purpose of providing professional chiropractic services shall not contai...
	(1) The named individual is licensed under this statute; or
	(2) The named individual is either a deceased or retired owner of the business, provided that the professional entity has permission to use the name of the deceased or retired owner.

	(d)  The professional entity shall specify its business structure in all printed material and social media by use of the designation "P.C.," "P.A.," or "P.L.L.C."
	(e)  If a living owner of a professional entity whose surname appears in the entity name becomes a "disqualified person" as defined in G.S. 55B-2, the name of the professional entity shall be changed to comply with G.S. 55B.
	(f)  A professional entity shall not change its name or operate under an assumed name without first applying to the Board for a determination that the proposed name meets the requirements of this Rule. Requests for name changes and requests to operate...
	(1) Name, email address, and phone number of the requesting person;
	(2) Name, email address, and phone number of the incorporating licensee;
	(3) Requested name of the professional corporation; and
	(4) Mailing address of the professional corporation.

	Use of an assumed name that has not been registered pursuant to Art. 14A of G.S. 66 shall be prima facie evidence of using a misleading name.
	(a)  When an insurer denies a claim that included information for the insurer to identify the coverage involved, the denial shall be in writing and cite the policy provision or other legal basis used to deny the claim.
	(b)  When an insurer offers to settle a claim that included information for the insurer to identify the coverage involved, the offer, when requested by the consumer, shall be in writing and cite the specific policy provision or legal basis used in sup...
	(a)  Any lender who offers an insurance product to a consumer either directly or indirectly through a subsidiary or affiliate in conjunction with an extension of credit shall inform the consumer of the protections afforded by G.S. 58-3-135.
	(b)  Nothing in this Rule shall limit the right of the lender to require insurance in connection with a loan.
	(c)  This Rule shall not apply where the extension of credit arises out of a life insurance contract itself or where the extension of credit is subject to the provisions of Regulation Z, 12 CFR 226, or other federal statutes or regulations requiring s...
	When an insurer makes a written response to an inquiry by the Division or complaint made by a consumer, the insurer shall identify on its response:
	(a)  Every insurer shall provide the Division with company contact information using a form provided by the Division, which shall include the name, title, address, and telephone number, including a toll-free number, of a designated person to whom any ...
	(b)  The form shall be completed, signed by a corporate officer, and returned to the Division by every insurer.
	(c)  A new form must be filed with the Division within 15 business days after any change in the information on the form.
	(a)  Any information, including medical information, used in whole or in part as the basis of settling a life, accident, health, or disability claim shall be provided to the Division as requested in connection with a complaint or injury. The delivery ...
	(b)  To the extent permitted by law, the Department shall treat medical information as confidential.
	The following phrases and provisions, found in life, accident, health, and disability contracts, if not defined in the contracts, shall be construed by the Department in the following manner:
	(a)  With respect to new business, an insurer shall take no more than 90 days from the effective date of the policy to make any investigation other than review of the initial application and to bill the insured for proper rate classification or sub-cl...
	(b)  With respect to renewal business, an insurer shall not bill for any additional premium after the renewal quotation is made for any condition that existed at the time of renewal and is on the driver's motor vehicle record.
	(c)  With respect to renewal business, if the insured does not provide updated and complete rating information necessary to underwrite the policy or makes an effort to withhold rating information, the insurer shall take no more than 90 days from the e...
	(d)  When an insurer obtains information from sources other than the Department of Motor Vehicles for use in underwriting an automobile policy and the insured alleges that the information is incorrect, the insurer shall verify the accuracy of such inf...
	(e)  Unearned premium refunds shall be determined from the later of either the date the consumer gives direct notice to a company or an agent of the company of the cancellation or the effective date of cancellation requested by the insured. In the cas...
	(f)  If the consumer can show proof that within the 10 day period in this Rule where cancellation involves a loss payee, and the consumer had obtained replacement physical damage coverage that included the loss payee, then the cancellation date for pu...
	(a)  Once an insurer accepts liability or advises a claimant to have damaged property repaired with the understanding that the insurer will pay or reimburse the claimant, the insurer shall, if requested by the claimant, confirm the understanding in wr...
	(b)  If so requested by the claimant, the insurer or its representative shall confirm in writing all other oral agreements between itself or its representative and the claimant.
	The Commissioner shall consider an unfair trade practice the cancellation by an insurer of any personal lines insurance policy for which the premium has been paid because there is another policy in force for which the premium has not been paid.
	(a)  Every agent, limited representative, broker, adjuster, appraiser, or other insurer's representative shall, when conducting insurance business with a member of the public:
	(1) identify himself or herself and his or her occupation; and
	(2) provide his or her National Producer Number and the Department's website address and phone number for verification of licensure status when requested to show proof of licensure by any claimant, any repairer while he or she is investigating a claim...

	(b)  No claims management person, agent, agency employee, limited representative, broker, adjuster, appraiser, or other insurer's representative shall:
	(1) accept any gratuity or other form of remuneration from any provider of services for recommending that provider to claimants;
	(2) purchase salvage from a claimant;
	(3) intimidate or discourage any claimant from seeking legal advice or counsel by withdrawing and reducing a settlement offer previously tendered to the claimant or threatening to do so if the claimant seeks legal advice or counsel. No adjuster shall ...
	(4) cause a delay in the settlement of a property damage claim on account of the claimant's choice of a motor vehicle repair service.

	(c)  No claims management person, agent, agency employee, limited representative, broker, or other insurer's representative shall recommend the utilization of a particular motor vehicle repair service without informing the claimant that he or she is u...
	No insurer shall require the use of an aftermarket part in the repair of a motor vehicle unless the aftermarket part is at least equal to the original part in terms of fit, quality, performance, and warranty. Insurers specifying the use of aftermarket...
	As used in this Section, unless the context indicates otherwise, "claimant" means a first party claimant or a third party claimant.
	(a)  A permittee shall report the theft or loss of pyrotechnics to the county sheriff or city police, to ATF and to OSFM, by telephone, within eight hours after the permittee discovers the theft or loss. OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during norm...
	(b)  Within 24 hours after discovery of the loss or theft, the permittee shall provide OSFM written notice that includes a description of the pyrotechnics, including the manufacturer, brand name, any manufacturer marking and quantity, and a descriptio...
	(a)  A permittee shall notify OSFM within 24 hours after any of the following involving pyrotechnics:
	(1) A fire causing property damage in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000) to an automobile or ten thousand dollars ($10,000) to real property;
	(2) An injury to any person caused by the display resulting in hospitalization; or
	(3) Damage to property in excess of one thousand dollars ($1,000), not related to fire.

	(b)  OSFM may be reached at 919-661-5880 during normal working hours and at the North Carolina Highway Patrol dispatch number, 919-733-3861, outside normal working hours.
	(c)  The permittee shall submit a written report to OSFM within three days after a pyrotechnics display conducted by the permittee if any of the following occurred:
	(1) Any of the incidents identified in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; or
	(2) Whenever a defective pyrotechnic product or equipment resulting in any amount of injury or damage occurs.

	(a)  A permittee shall make any records required under Article 54 of Chapter 14 of the General Statutes and Article 82A of Chapter 58 of the General Statutes available to authorized representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire code official.
	(b)  A permittee shall allow the display site, storage facility, or delivery point to be inspected at all times by authorized representatives of OSFM or a city or county fire code official.
	(a)  Each applicant for a license shall submit an online application on the website provided by the Board. When this
	online application is submitted, it shall be accompanied by:
	(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a Live Scan or similar system approved by the State Bureau of Investigation or one set of classifiable fingerprints on an F.B.I. fingerprint card provided by the Board and mailed separately to the Board's...
	(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of the applicant in JPG format of sufficient quality for identification, taken within six months prior to the online submission, and uploaded with the application submission;
	(3) statements of the results of a statewide criminal history records search by the reporting service designated by the Board pursuant to G.S. 74D-2.1(a) for any state where the applicant has resided within the preceeding 60 months; and
	(4) the applicant's application fee, along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee charged by the third-party vendor and credit card transaction fee charged by the applicant's credit card provider and collected online.

	(b)  Each applicant shall upload evidence of high school graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other equivalent documentation.
	(c)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with either a Board investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or a Board representative designated by the Director prior to being issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the prov...
	(d)  Each applicant for a branch office license shall submit an online application on the website provided by the Board. This online application shall be accompanied by the branch office application fee.
	No permit shall be required for those activities set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(1) - (9) as exclusions from the definition of development.
	(a)  "Maintenance and "repairs" are specifically excluded from the definition of "development" under the conditions and in the circumstances set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(5). Individuals required to take such measures within an AEC shall contact the ...
	(b)  Beach bulldozing, defined as the process of moving natural beach material from any point seaward of the first line of stable vegetation, for the purpose of preventing damage to imminently threatened structures as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0308(a),...
	(1) The area where this activity is being performed must maintain a slope that follows the pre-emergency slope as closely as possible so as not to endanger the public or hinder the public's use of the beach. All mechanically disturbed areas shall be g...
	(2) The activity shall not exceed the lateral bounds of the applicant's property without written permission of adjoining landowners;
	(3) Movement of material from seaward of the mean low water line shall not be permitted under this exemption;
	(4) The activity shall not increase erosion on neighboring properties and shall not have a significant adverse impact on natural or cultural resources; and
	(5) The activity may be undertaken to protect threatened on-site waste disposal systems as well as the threatened structure's foundations.

	(c)  Redistribution of sand that results from storm overwash or aeolian transport around buildings, pools, roads, parking areas and associated structures is considered maintenance so long as the sand remains within the Ocean Hazard AEC. Individuals pr...
	The following classes of minor maintenance and improvement are exempted from the major development permit requirement:
	Modification to Existing Sources or Control Devices. Projects in this category are modifications to facilities or control devices that upgrade existing capacities or are intended to meet air quality standards. Projects falling into this category shall...
	(a)  Projects requiring the National Pollution Discharge Elimination System permit are those that will discharge wastewater from an outlet, point source, or disposal system into the surface waters of the State.
	(b)  Modification of Existing Facilities. Projects in this category are those facilities that undergo modification to meet effluent limitations set forth in 15A NCAC 02B .0404, which is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments...
	(1) Modifications are for the purpose of upgrading facilities to meet current effluent limitation standards;
	(2) Modifications are for the purpose of improving existing capacities or providing back up units for existing capacities;
	(3) The modification is for treating waste load types similar to those in the previously permitted activity; or
	(4) The final discharge flow that may be associated with the modification remains the same as the discharge flow permitted before modification; and
	(5) No additional acreage is necessary for land disposal of dewatered wastes or does not require subsurface pollutant injection; and
	(6) No significant land-disturbing activity is involved.

	(a)  Ditches used for agricultural or forestry purposes with maximum dimensions equal to or less than six feet (top width) by four feet deep are exempted from the CAMA permit requirement.
	(b)  All ditches with maximum dimensions greater than six feet by four feet will require a permit.
	(c)  Width and depth dimensions of all ditches will be measured at the ground level.
	(a)  Accessory buildings customarily incident to an existing structure are excluded from the definition of development if the work does not involve filling, excavation, or the alteration of any sand dune or beach as set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(6). ...
	(b)  Accessory uses as described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule and that are required to support the existing dominant use, but not within the exclusion set out in G.S. 113A-103(5)(b)(6) and that require no plumbing, electrical, or other service connec...
	(c)  Any structure, or part thereof, consistent with this Chapter may be maintained, repaired, or replaced, in a similar size and location as the existing structure without requiring a permit, unless the repair or replacement would be in violation of ...
	(d)  In order to be eligible for the exemptions described in Paragraphs (b) and (c), of this Rule, the proposed development activity must meet the following criteria:
	(1) the development must not disturb a land area of greater than 200 square feet on a slope of greater than 10 percent;
	(2) the development must not involve removal, damage, or destruction of threatened or endangered animal or plant species;
	(3) the development must not alter naturally or artificially created surface drainage channels;
	(4) the development must not alter the land form or vegetation of a frontal dune;
	(5) the development must not be within 30 feet of normal water level or normal high water level; and
	(6) the development must be consistent with all applicable use standards and local land use plans in effect at the time the exemption is granted.

	The minor development permit exemptions in this Section are not applicable to the "Areas That Sustain Remnant Species," as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0505, "Complex Natural Areas," as defined in 15A NCAC 07H .0506, and "Unique Geologic Formations," as d...
	All development in the Jockey's Ridge area of environmental concern designated pursuant to 15A NCAC 07H .0507 that is not within any other designated area of environmental concern shall be exempt from CAMA major and minor permit requirements provided ...
	Sand fences that are installed and maintained subject to the following criteria are exempt from the permit requirements of the Coastal Area Management Act:
	(a)  Operation and maintenance of all federal navigation channels subject to the authority of the US Army Corps of Engineers are hereby granted an exemption from the CAMA permit requirement. Activities exempted by this requirement must be consistent w...
	(b)  For the purposes of this Section, operation and maintenance activities shall mean only those activities that allow for navigation over existing water courses and that take place within authorized project dimensions as defined in project documents...
	All federal agency development activities in areas of environmental concern are hereby granted an exemption from the CAMA permit requirement.
	The following is general information about the Division of Motor Vehicles:
	(a)  The Division shall issue a driver's license to any person who is eligible under G.S. 20 and completes the following requirements:
	(1) The Knowledge Examination, which is an automated computer examination that tests the applicant's knowledge of rules of the road. An audio component allows applicants with reading comprehension difficulties to listen to the test questions by use of...
	(2) The Road Sign Examination, which tests the applicant's knowledge of highway signs and their meanings. Applicants for a regular Class C license shall correctly identify 9 of 12 road signs. Applicants for A or B licenses shall correctly identify all...
	(3) The Visual Acuity Test, which examines an applicant's visual ability to identify letters or symbols from a specific distance. The applicant's vision shall be 20/40 or better in at least one eye to receive an unrestricted license. A license shall b...
	(4) The Road Test, which measures the applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle safely in actual traffic situations. The required maneuvers are: quick stop, turnabout, backing, approach corner, right turns, left turns, traffic lights, use of vehi...
	(5) The Remote Renewal allows drivers to remotely renew a driver's license by mail or electronic device. Eligible applicants who wish to renew remotely by electronic means, may go to www.ncdot.gov/dmv and submit responses to a series of automated ques...
	(6) The Attestation supports application for a remote renewal to affirm the following as part of the remote renewal process:
	(7) If the applicant has an existing DMV photo on file, no additional photographs are required and the requirements in G.S. 20-7(n)(4) shall be waived for a remote renewal.
	(8) Upon completion of the remote renewal process, the license shall be renewed if all criteria in G.S. 20-7 are met. The applicant shall use the current license for all driver license purposes until the license becomes invalid for some other reason, ...

	(b)  The tests contained in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be administered as follows:
	(1) Applicants applying for a driver's license for the first time shall complete the full examination to include the knowledge examination, road signs test, visual acuity test, and road test. Applicants in this Subparagraph are not eligible to apply f...
	(2) Applicants seeking to renew a valid, unexpired North Carolina driver's license shall complete the road signs test and visual acuity test, unless the applicant is renewing remotely. Applicants possessing a previously issued North Carolina driver's ...
	(3) Applicants possessing a previously issued North Carolina driver's license expired greater than two years shall complete the full examination, to include the knowledge examination, road signs test, visual acuity test, and road test. Applicants in t...
	(4) Applicants seeking to transfer their current driver's license from another state or applicants possessing a driver's license issued by another state that is expired less than two years shall complete the road signs test and visual acuity test. App...
	(5) Applicants with a driver's license issued by another state, expired more than two years, shall complete the full examination, to include the knowledge examination, road signs test, visual acuity test, and road test. Applicants in this Subparagraph...

	The following definitions shall apply for purposes of the rules of this Section:
	(a)  To be certified as a Third Party Tester a person must:
	(1) apply in accordance with Rule .0706 of this Section and enter into an agreement with the Division in accordance with 49 CFR 383.75;
	(2) maintain a place of business with at least one occupied structure within the state of North Carolina;
	(3) have at least one certified Third Party Examiner in its employ;
	(4) allow FHWA, its representatives, and the Division to conduct random examinations, inspections, and audits without prior notice;
	(5) allow the Division to conduct periodic, but at least annual on-site inspections;
	(6) maintain at each third party testing location, for a minimum of two years, a record of each driver for whom the Third Party Tester conducts a skills test, whether the driver passes or fails the test. Each such record shall include:
	(7) maintain at each approved testing location, a record of each Third Party Examiner in the employ of the Third Party Tester at that location. Each record shall include:
	(8) retain all Third Party Examiner records for at least two years after the Third Party Examiner leaves the employ of the Third Party Tester;
	(9) ensure that the skills tests are conducted in accordance with the requirements of this Section;
	(11) to maintain certification the Third Party Tester must administer skills tests to a minimum of 10 different driver annually in accordance with the requirements of 49 CFR383.75(c), which is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent amen...

	(b) In addition to the requirements listed in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all Third Party Testers who are not governmental entities or associations must:
	(1) Truck and Bus Companies:
	(2) Educational Institutions have a commercial motor vehicle training program in operation in North Carolina for a minimum of six months.

	(a)  Third Party Examiners may conduct skills tests on behalf of only one Third Party Tester at any given time. If a Third Party Examiner leaves the employ of a Third Party Tester he or she must reapply to conduct tests on behalf of a new Third Party ...
	(b)  To qualify as a Third Party Examiner, an individual must:
	(1) apply on a form provided and sent to the applicant via email by the Division as set forth in Rule .0707 of this Section;
	(2) be a payroll employee of the Third Party Tester;
	(3) possess a valid North Carolina Driver's License with classification and endorsements required for operation of the class and type of commercial motor vehicle used in the skills tests conducted by the Examiner;
	(4) have completed the Third Party Examiner CDL Training Course conducted by the Division. At a minimum upon completion of the training the Third Party Examiner shall have acquired and demonstrated the following knowledge and skills:
	(5) take part in all Division required advanced training courses, workshops and seminars;
	(6) within 10 years prior to application have had no convictions for Driving While Impaired (DWI);
	(7) within five years prior to application have had no driver's license suspensions, revocations, cancellations, or disqualifications;
	(8) be at least 21 years of age; and
	(9) conduct skills tests on behalf of the Third Party Tester, in accordance with these Rules and in accordance with current instructions provided by the Division.

	(a)  A certificate shall be issued allowing the Third Party Tester to operate an approved testing program to give skills tests to applicants for a CDL as provided in Rule .0703 of this Section.
	(b)  An examiner certificate shall be issued to Third Party Examiners of the Third Party Tester as provided in Rule .0704 of this Section.
	(c)  A copy of the Examiner's Certificate shall be displayed in the office of the Third Party Tester. The Examiner's certificate shall be effective on the date of issuance and remain in effect unless the Examiner surrenders the certificate to the Divi...
	(d)  The certificate issued by the Division to operate a Third Party Testing Program shall be effective on the date of issuance and shall be displayed in the place of business of the Third Party Tester until cancelled or revoked as provided in Rule .0...
	(e)  A certificate to operate a Third Party Testing program shall be non-transferable.
	(a)  Before any certificate is issued to a Third Party Tester, an application shall be made in writing to the Division on a form prepared and emailed to the applicant by the Division. The application shall include the information of the Third Party Te...
	(1) the official name, address, and telephone number of the principal office or headquarters;
	(2) name, title, address, and telephone number of the individual who has been designated the applicant's contact person;
	(3) description of the type of organization that is applying that can include a governmental entity, association, motor carrier, or educational institution, as well as the length of time the organization has been in business in North Carolina, if appl...
	(4) a description of the vehicle fleet owned or leased by the applicant, including a complete equipment roster as listed for insurance purposes;
	(5) the class of testing for which the applicant is applying;
	(6) the total number of North Carolina licensed drivers employed to operate commercial motor vehicles, and the number of such drivers who are full-time, part-time, and seasonal;
	(7) the name, driver's license number, social security number, and home address of those payroll employees who wish to be approved as Third Party Examiners; and
	(8) proof of the Third Party Tester meets the insurance requirements as stated in Rule .0714(a) – (d) and set forth in G.S. 20-37.22.

	(b)  The address of each North Carolina location where the applicant intends to conduct the skills tests as well as a description of the off-road facilities including a map, drawing, or written description of the road test route that will be used for ...
	(c)  Educational institutions shall submit with their application a description of their facilities, equipment, and training curriculum. The number of applications for the previous year and the percent graduated must also be included.
	(d)  An applicant for a certificate for a Third Party Tester shall also execute an agreement form provided via email by the Division in which the applicant agrees, at a minimum, to comply with applicable CFRs, G.S. 20-37.13, and the rules of this Sect...
	Application for an Examiner Certificate shall be made on a form emailed by the Division. The form shall contain the following information of the Third Party Examiner applicant:
	(a)  All applicants for a Third Party Tester Certificate shall permit the FHWA or the Division to inspect and audit its operations, facilities, and records as they relate to its Third Party Testing program, for the purpose of determining whether the a...
	(b)  Third Party Testers who have been certified shall permit the Division or FHWA to periodically inspect and audit its Third Party Testing program to determine whether it remains in compliance with the certification requirements as provided in Rule ...
	(c)  The Division and FHWA shall perform inspections and audits with or without prior notice to the Third Party Tester.
	(d)  Inspections and audits shall include an examination of:
	(1) records relating to Third Party Testing program;
	(2) evidence of compliance with the FMCSRs;
	(3) skills testing procedures practices and operations;
	(4) vehicles used for testing;
	(5) qualifications of Third Party Examiners;
	(6) effectiveness of the skills test program by either testing a sample of drivers who have been issued skills test certificates by the Third Party Tester or having Division employees take the skills tests from a Third Party Examiner; and
	(7) Any Third Party Tester's operation that the Division determines is necessary to verify that the Third Party Tester meets the requirements for the certification as set forth in Rule .0703 of this Section.

	(e)  The Division shall prepare a written report of each inspection and audit report of the results of each inspection and audit. A copy of the report shall be provided to the Third Party Tester.
	(a)  In order to determine whether a Third Party Tester applicant meets the certification requirements set forth in Rule .0703 of this Section, the Division shall review the materials submitted in accordance with Rule .0706 of this Section and shall s...
	(b)  In order to determine whether a Third Party Examiner applicant meets the certification requirements as set forth in Rule .0704 of this Section, the Division shall review the materials submitted in accordance with Rule .0707 of this Section to inc...


	Chapter 16 – BOARD OF Dental Examiners
	(a)  To apply for certification to administer local anesthetics by block or infiltration techniques:
	(1) a dental hygienist holding a valid dental hygiene license issued by the Board on or after October 1, 2021, shall submit to the Board a certificate of completion from a dental hygiene program meeting the requirements set out in G.S. 90-225.2; or
	(2) a dental hygienist licensed in North Carolina or any other state or territory who has been practicing dental hygiene for the two year period set out in G.S. 90-225.3(a)(2) shall submit to the Board evidence of completion of a course meeting the re...

	(b)  The requirements set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule are in addition to any other applicable requirements set out in this Chapter for the issuance or renewal of a dental hygiene license.
	(c)  As a condition to renew a certificate to administer local anesthetics, each dental hygienist shall complete two clock hours of continuing education each calendar year in satisfaction of the requirements of G.S. 90-225.3(c), which may be among tho...
	(d)  A dental hygienist certified in accordance with this Rule shall conduct administration of local anesthetics only under the direct supervision of a North Carolina licensed dentist.
	(a)  A Dental Assistant may aid and assist a licensed dentist in the monitoring of nitrous oxide-oxygen inhalant sedation by completing a Board-approved course totaling at least seven hours that covers the following topics:
	(1) definitions and descriptions of physiological and psychological aspects of pain and anxiety;
	(2) the states of drug-induced central nervous system depression through all levels of consciousness and unconsciousness, with emphasis on the distinction between the conscious and unconscious state;
	(3) respiratory and circulatory physiology, and related anatomy;
	(4) pharmacology of agents used in the nitrous oxide techniques being taught, including drug interaction and incompatibility;
	(5) patient monitoring, with particular attention to vital signs and reflexes related to consciousness;
	(6) prevention, recognition, and management of complications and life threatening situations that may occur during the use of the nitrous oxide techniques, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
	(7) description and use of ventilation sedation equipment; and
	(8) potential health hazards of trace anesthetics, and proposed techniques for elimination of these potential health hazards.

	(b)  Courses approved to satisfy the educational requirements of this Rule shall be provided and taught by:
	(1) an instructor who is a dentist holding an unrestricted license as defined by 21 NCAC 16A .0101(7);
	(2) an instructor licensed pursuant to 21 NCAC 16B .0701; or
	(3) a dental hygienist or dental assistant under the direction of an instructor who satisfies the requirements of Subparagraph (b)(1) or (b)(2) of this Rule, who shall be physically present and administer nitrous oxide if it is administered in the cou...

	(c)  Courses shall be reviewed at any Board meeting and approved by a majority of the Board to satisfy the educational requirements of this Rule. A list of approved courses is available on the Board's website at www.ncdentalboard.org.

	CHAPTER 46 - BOARD OF PHARMACY
	Terms used in this Chapter and G.S. 90, Article 4A, are defined as follows, unless otherwise defined in G.S. 90, Article 4A:
	(a)  The following pharmacy practice locations are eligible to apply for "limited service permits" whose operations are modified by the provisions set forth in this Rule:
	(1) auxiliary medication inventories permitted and operating in health care facilities pursuant to Rule .1414(d) of this Chapter;
	(2) automated dispensing or drug supply devices permitted and operating in health care facilities pursuant to Rule .1419 of this Chapter;
	(3) facilities where drugs are dispensed only by nurse practitioners or physician assistants pursuant to Section .1700 of this Chapter;
	(4) county health departments or other governmental entities providing local health services under G.S. 130A-34 where drugs are dispensed only by registered nurses and only pursuant to G.S. 90-85.34A and Section .2400 of this Chapter;
	(5) county health departments or other governmental entities providing local health services under G.S. 130A-34 that engage in dispensing beyond that set out in G.S. 90-85.34A and Section .2400 of this Chapter;
	(6) free clinics, as defined in G.S. 90-85.44(a)(6); or
	(7) critical access hospitals, as defined in G.S. 131E-76.

	(b)  A pharmacist-manager for a limited service permit may designate one assistant pharmacist-manager but is not required to do so. The assistant pharmacist-manager shall be responsible for exercising all of the responsibilities of a pharmacist-manage...
	(c)  For limited service permits, the pharmacist-manager attendance requirements set out in Rule .2502(b) of this Chapter are modified only as set forth herein:
	(1) For limited service permits described in Subparagraphs (a)(1) and (2) of this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the assistant pharmacist-manager must perform an in-person, on-site visit at least once per calendar quarter to inspect the permit...
	(2) For limited service permits described in Subparagraphs (a)(3) and (4) of this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the assistant pharmacist-manager must perform an in-person, on-site visit at least once per week to inspect the permit, review the...
	(3) For limited service permits described in Subparagraphs (a)(5), (6), and (7) of this Rule, either the pharmacist-manager or the assistant pharmacist-manager employed or otherwise engaged to supply pharmaceutical services may have a flexible schedul...
	(4) The limited service permit may name a temporary pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-manager for a period not to exceed 90 days from the departure date of the previous pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-manager. The temporary pharmac...

	(d)  A person may serve as the pharmacist-manager or the assistant pharmacist-manager for multiple limited service permits, and may serve as the pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-manager for limited service permits in addition to serving as t...
	(e)  Other than as set forth in this Rule, limited service permits and their personnel must follow all requirements of State and federal law. This Rule does not replace or modify the requirements that the pharmacist-manager provide oversight and super...
	(a)  The nurse practitioner may dispense any and all drugs that the nurse practitioner is authorized by law to prescribe.
	(b)  The physician assistant may dispense any and all drugs that the physician assistant is authorized by law to prescribe.
	(c)  All drugs dispensed by a nurse practitioner or physician assistant must be dispensed from a place holding a current pharmacy permit from the Board as required by G.S. 90-85.21.
	(d)  The pharmacist-manager, or another licensed pharmacist working under the pharmacist-manager's supervision, shall be available for consultation in person, by telephone, or other means of direct communication at all times when drugs are dispensed, ...
	(e)  All drugs dispensed pursuant to G.S. 90-18.1(c), 90-18.2(c), and the rules of this Section shall be packaged, labeled, and otherwise dispensed in compliance with State and federal law, and records of dispensing shall be kept in compliance with St...
	During the weekly in-person, on-site visit required by Rule .1616(c)(2) of this Chapter, if not more frequently, the pharmacist-manager or assistant pharmacist-manager shall retrospectively perform a drug regimen review of all drugs dispensed by a nur...
	(a)  The pharmacist-manager shall assure that prescription legend drugs and controlled substances are safe and secure within the pharmacy.
	(b)  Except as expressly provided in Rule .1616 of this Chapter, the pharmacist-manager employed or otherwise engaged to supply pharmaceutical services may have a flexible schedule of attendance but shall be present for at least one-half the hours the...
	(c)  Whenever a change of ownership or change of pharmacist-manager occurs, the successor pharmacist-manager shall complete an inventory of all controlled substances in the pharmacy within 10 days. A written record of the inventory, signed and dated b...
	(d)  The pharmacist-manager shall develop and implement a system of inventory record-keeping and control that will enable that pharmacist-manager to detect any shortage or discrepancy in the inventories of controlled substances at that pharmacy at the...
	(e)  The pharmacist-manager shall maintain authority and control over all access to the pharmacy and shall be responsible for the security of the pharmacy. Except as provided in Rules .1413(c) and .1616(c)(1) and (2) of this Chapter, a pharmacist must...
	(f)  These duties shall be in addition to the duties of pharmacist-managers as set forth in the other rules in this Chapter.
	(g)  A person shall not simultaneously serve as pharmacist-manager for more than one permit, unless:
	(1) any additional permits beyond that one permit is a limited service permit as provided in Rule .1616 of this Chapter;
	(2) the person is serving simultaneously as pharmacist-manager at two pharmacies holding full service permits, one of which is a newly permitted pharmacy that has not yet begun providing pharmacy services to patients. When the newly permitted pharmacy...

	(h)  When a pharmacy is to be closed permanently, the pharmacist-manager shall inform the Board and the United States Drug Enforcement Administration of the closing, arrange for the proper disposition of the pharmaceuticals, and return the pharmacy pe...
	(i)  If possible, the pharmacist-manager shall ensure that notice of the temporary closing of any pharmacy for more than 14 consecutive days is given to the public by posted notice at the pharmacy at least 30 days prior to the closing date, and 15 day...
	(j)  The pharmacist-manager shall prepare a plan to safeguard prescription records and pharmaceuticals and minimize the interruption of pharmacy services in the event of a natural disaster such as hurricane or flood.
	(k)  The pharmacist-manager shall separate from the dispensing stock all drug products more than six months out of date.
	(l)  The pharmacist-manager shall report to the Board information that reasonably suggests that there is a probability that a prescription drug or device dispensed from a location holding a permit has caused or contributed to the death of a patient or...
	(m)  The Board shall not disclose the identity of a pharmacist-manager who makes a report under Paragraph (l) of this Rule, except as required by law. No report made under Paragraph (l) of this Rule shall be released except as required by law.
	(n)  In any Board proceeding, the Board shall consider compliance with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as a mitigating factor and noncompliance with Paragraph (l) of this Rule as an aggravating factor.
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