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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Environmental Management Commission intends to amend the 

rule cited as 15A NCAC 02B .0211. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/news/events/public-notices­hearings 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  March 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  October 28, 2021 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:   

This public hearing can be joined starting at 5:45 pm via WebEx 

link:  

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=eb

d820084710fd3ddd0e554a1b4476d4f 

Event number: 161 161 1806 

Event password: MPm6Jub8Y8k 

Audio conference number: +1-415-655-0003 

Audio conference access code: 161 161 1806 

 

To register for the hearing and provide your preference regarding 

speaking at the hearing, please visit:  

https://forms.office.com/g/6Tr81DQgwL 

Or scan the following QR code with your phone: 

 
 

Registration must be completed by 12:00 pm on October 28, 2021. 

If you have any problems registering online, please call 919-707-

9011 by the registration deadline of 12:00 pm on October 28, 

2021.  

The Division of Water Resources highly recommends testing your 

computer's WebEx capabilities prior to the hearing at 

https://www.webex.com/test-meeting.html. For instructions about 

digital ways to join the public hearing, please refer to the WebEx 

Help Center online at https://help.webex.com/en-us/.  

 

To comment during the hearing after your name is called as a 

registered speaker and/or after the hearing officer asks if any 

people wish to comment following the registered speakers: 

- If you join the hearing by phone, press *3 to “raise your hand,” 

speak once called upon to do so, and press *3 again to “lower 

your hand.”  

- If you join the hearing online, press the hand icon to “raise your 

hand,” speak once called upon to do so, and press the hand icon 

again to "lower your hand." 

- The Hearing Officer may limit the length of time that you may 

speak, so that all those who wish to speak may do so. 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

The Environmental Management Commission (EMC) will 

conduct a public hearing to consider proposed amendments to 

rule 15A NCAC 02B .0211 - Fresh Surface Water Quality 

Standards for Class C Waters. 

 

The purpose of these proposed amendments is to establish a site-

specific chlorophyll-a water quality standard for High Rock Lake 

that has been developed in accordance with the North Carolina 

Nutrient Criteria Development Plan (NCDP). The NCDP is a 

formal agreement between North Carolina and the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency with the goal of establishing 

appropriate, scientifically defensible, surface water quality 

standards for nutrient criteria. This site-specific chlorophyll-a 

standard will replace the existing chlorophyll-a standard for High 

Rock Lake. The existing chlorophyll-a standard will continue to 

apply to all other fresh surface waters in North Carolina. 

 

The rule being proposed for amendment is 15A NCAC 02B .0211- 

Fresh Surface Water Quality Standards for Class C Waters. The 

Proposed changes include: 

• The addition of Sub-Item (4)(a) to include 

language for site-specific numeric and 

narrative standards for chlorophyll-a in the 

High Rock Lake Reservoir, and 

• The addition of language in the introductory 

sentence of Item (4), to direct attention to the 

site-specific standards for the High Rock Lake 

Reservoir that comprise Sub-Item (4)(a) 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Christopher Ventaloro, NC 

DEQ-DWR Planning Section, 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

NC 27699-1611;  

email 2B_HRL_PHComments_2021@ncdenr.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  November 15, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 
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The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 02 - ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 

 

SUBCHAPTER 02B - SURFACE WATER AND 

WETLAND STANDARDS 

 

SECTION .0200 - CLASSIFICATIONS AND WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS APPLICABLE TO SURFACE 

WATERS AND WETLANDS OF NORTH CAROLINA 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0211 FRESH SURFACE WATER 

QUALITY STANDARDS FOR CLASS C WATERS 

In addition to the standards set forth in Rule .0208 of this Section, 

the following water quality standards shall apply to all Class C 

waters. Additional standards applicable to other freshwater 

classifications are specified in Rules .0212, .0214, .0215, .0216, 

.0218, .0219, .0223, .0224, .0225, and .0231 of this Section. 

(1) The best usage of waters shall be aquatic life 

propagation, survival, and maintenance of 

biological integrity (including fishing and fish); 

wildlife; secondary contact recreation as 

defined in Rule .0202 of this Section; 

agriculture; and any other usage except for 

primary contact recreation or as a source of 

water supply for drinking, culinary, and food 

processing purposes. All freshwaters shall be 

classified to protect these uses at a minimum. 

(2) The conditions of waters shall be such that 

waters are suitable for all best uses specified in 

this Rule. Sources of water pollution that 

preclude any of these uses on either a shortterm 

or -longterm- basis shall be deemed to violate a 

water quality standard; 

(3) Chlorine, total residual: 17 ug/l; 

(4) Chlorophyll a (corrected): except as specified in 

Sub-Item (a) of this Item, not greater than 40 

ug/l for lakes, reservoirs, and other waters 

subject to growths of macroscopic or 

microscopic vegetation not designated as trout 

waters, and not greater than 15 ug/l for lakes, 

reservoirs, and other waters subject to growths 

of macroscopic or microscopic vegetation 

designated as trout waters (not applicable to 

lakes or reservoirs less than 10 acres in surface 

area). The Commission or its designee may 

prohibit or limit any discharge of waste into 

surface waters if the surface waters experience 

or the discharge would result in growths of 

microscopic or macroscopic vegetation such 

that the standards established pursuant to this 

Rule would be violated or the intended best 

usage of the waters would be impaired; 

(a) Site-specific High Rock Lake 

Reservoir [Index Numbers 12-(108.5), 

12-(114), 12-117-(1), 12-117-(3), 12-

118.5, and the uppermost portion of 

12-(124.5) to the dam of High Rock 

Lake] Chlorophyll a (corrected): not 

greater than a growing season 

geometric mean of 35 ug/L in the 

photic zone based on samples 

collected in a minimum of five 

different months during the growing 

season. For the purpose of this Sub-

Item, the growing season is April 1 

through October 31 and the photic 

zone is represented by a composite 

sample taken from the water surface 

down to twice the measured Secchi 

depth. Chlorophyll a shall not occur in 

amounts that result in an adverse 

impact as defined in 15A NCAC 02H 

.1002. 

(5) Cyanide, total: 5.0 ug/l; 

(6) Dissolved oxygen: not less than 6.0 mg/l for 

trout waters; for nontrout- waters, not less than 

a daily average of 5.0 mg/l with an 

instantaneous value of not less than 4.0 mg/l; 

swamp waters, lake coves, or backwaters, and 

lake bottom waters may have lower values if 

caused by natural conditions; 

(7) Fecal coliform: shall not exceed a geometric 

mean of 200/100ml (MF count) based upon at 

least five samples taken over a 30-day period, 

nor exceed 400/100ml in more than 20 percent 

of the samples examined during such period. 

Violations of this Item are expected during 

rainfall events and may be caused by 

uncontrollable nonpoint source pollution. All 

coliform concentrations shall be analyzed using 

the membrane filter technique. If high turbidity 

or other conditions would cause the membrane 

filter technique to produce inaccurate data, the 

most probable number (MPN) 5-tube multiple 

dilution method shall be used. 

(8) Floating solids, settleable solids, or sludge 

deposits: only such amounts attributable to 

sewage, industrial wastes, or other wastes as 

shall not make the water unsafe or unsuitable 

for aquatic life and wildlife or impair the waters 

for any designated uses; 

(9) Fluoride: 1.8 mg/l; 
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(10) Gases, total dissolved: not greater than 110 

percent of saturation; 

(11) Metals: 

(a) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, acute and chronic 

freshwater aquatic life standards for 

metals shall be based upon 

measurement of the dissolved fraction 

of the metal. Mercury and selenium 

water quality standards shall be based 

upon measurement of the total 

recoverable metal; 

(b) With the exception of mercury and 

selenium, aquatic life standards for 

metals listed in this Sub-Item shall 

apply as a function of the pollutant's 

water effect ratio (WER). The WER 

shall be assigned a value equal to one 

unless any person demonstrates to the 

Division's satisfaction in a permit 

proceeding that another value is 

developed in accordance with the 

"Water Quality Standards Handbook: 

Second Edition" published by the US 

Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA-823-B-12-002), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including 

subsequent amendments and editions, 

and can be obtained free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan

ce/standards/handbook/. Alternative 

site-specific standards may also be 

developed when any person submits 

values that demonstrate to the 

Commission that they were derived in 

accordance with the "Water Quality 

Standards Handbook: Second Edition, 

Recalculation Procedure or the 

Resident Species Procedure", which is 

hereby incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and 

can be obtained free of charge at 

http://water.epa.gov/scitech/swguidan

ce/standards/handbook/. 

(c) Freshwater metals standards that are 

not hardness-dependent shall be as 

follows: 

(i) Arsenic, dissolved, acute: 

WER∙ 340 ug/l; 

(ii) Arsenic, dissolved, chronic: 

WER∙ 150 ug/l; 

(iii) Beryllium, dissolved, acute: 

WER∙ 65 ug/l; 

(iv) Beryllium, dissolved, 

chronic: WER∙ 6.5 ug/l; 

(v) Chromium VI, dissolved, 

acute: WER∙ 16 ug/l; 

(vi) Chromium VI, dissolved, 

chronic: WER∙ 11 ug/l; 

(vii) Mercury, total recoverable, 

chronic: 0.012 ug/l; 

(viii) Selenium, total recoverable, 

chronic: 5 ug/l; 

(ix) Silver, dissolved, chronic: 

WER∙ 0.06 ug/l; 

(d) Hardness-dependent freshwater 

metals standards shall be derived 

using the equations specified in Table 

A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards 

for Hardness-Dependent Metals. If the 

actual instream hardness (expressed as 

CaCO3 or Ca+Mg) is less than 400 

mg/l, standards shall be calculated 

based upon the actual instream 

hardness. If the instream hardness is 

greater than 400 mg/l, the maximum 

applicable hardness shall be 400 mg/l. 

 

Table A: Dissolved Freshwater Standards for Hardness-Dependent Metals 

Numeric standards calculated at 25 mg/l hardness are listed below for illustrative purposes. The Water Effects 

Ratio (WER) is equal to one unless determined otherwise under Sub-Item (11)(b) of this Rule. 

 

Metal Equations for Hardness-Dependent Freshwater Metals (ug/l) Standard 

at 25 mg/l 

hardness 

(ug/l) 

Cadmium, 

Acute 

WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151 [ln 

hardness]-3.1485}] 

0.82 

Cadmium, 

Acute, 

Trout waters 

WER∙ [{1.136672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.9151[ln 

hardness]-3.6236}] 

0.51 

Cadmium, 

Chronic  

WER∙ [{1.101672-[ln hardness](0.041838)} ∙ e^{0.7998[ln 

hardness]-4.4451}] 

0.15 

Chromium 

III, Acute 

WER∙ [0.316 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+3.7256}] 180 

Chromium 

III, Chronic 

WER∙ [0.860 ∙ e^{0.8190[ln hardness]+0.6848}] 

 

24 
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Copper, Acute WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.9422[ln hardness]-1.700}] 

Or, 

Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 

2007 Revision 

(EPA-822-R-07-001) 

 

3.6 

 

NA 

Copper, 

Chronic 

WER∙ [0.960 ∙ e^{0.8545[ln hardness]-1.702}] 

Or, 

Aquatic Life Ambient Freshwater Quality Criteria-Copper 

2007 Revision 

(EPA-822-R-07-001) 

2.7 

 

NA 

Lead, 

Acute 

WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln 

hardness]-1.460}]  

14 

Lead, Chronic WER∙ [{1.46203-[ln hardness](0.145712)} ∙ e^{1.273[ln 

hardness]-4.705}]  

0.54 

Nickel, Acute WER∙ [0.998 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+2.255}] 140 

Nickel, 

Chronic 

WER∙ [0.997 ∙ e^{0.8460[ln hardness]+0.0584}] 16 

Silver, Acute WER∙ [0.85 ∙ e^{1.72[ln hardness]-6.59}] 0.30 

Zinc, Acute WER∙ [0.978 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}] 36 

Zinc, Chronic WER∙ [0.986 ∙ e^{0.8473[ln hardness]+0.884}]  36 

 

(e) Compliance with acute instream 

metals standards shall only be 

evaluated using an average of two or 

more samples collected within one 

hour. Compliance with chronic 

instream metals standards shall only 

be evaluated using an average of a 

minimum of four samples taken on 

consecutive days or as a 96-hour 

average; 

(12) Oils, deleterious substances, or colored or other 

wastes: only such amounts as shall not render 

the waters injurious to public health, secondary 

recreation, or to aquatic life and wildlife, or 

adversely affect the palatability of fish, 

aesthetic quality, or impair the waters for any 

designated uses. For the purpose of 

implementing this Rule, oils, deleterious 

substances, or colored or other wastes shall 

include substances that cause a film or sheen 

upon or discoloration of the surface of the water 

or adjoining shorelines, as described in 40 CFR 

110.3(a)-(b), incorporated by reference 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This material is available, free of charge, at: 

http://www.ecfr.gov/; 

(13) Pesticides: 

(a) Aldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(b) Chlordane: 0.004 ug/l; 

(c) DDT: 0.001 ug/l; 

(d) Demeton: 0.1 ug/l; 

(e) Dieldrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(f) Endosulfan: 0.05 ug/l; 

(g) Endrin: 0.002 ug/l; 

(h) Guthion: 0.01 ug/l; 

(i) Heptachlor: 0.004 ug/l; 

(j) Lindane: 0.01 ug/l; 

(k) Methoxychlor: 0.03 ug/l; 

(l) Mirex: 0.001 ug/l; 

(m) Parathion: 0.013 ug/l; and 

(n) Toxaphene: 0.0002 ug/l; 

(14) pH: shall be between 6.0 and 9.0 except that 

swamp waters may have a pH as low as 4.3 if it 

is the result of natural conditions; 

(15) Phenolic compounds: only such levels as shall 

not result in fish-flesh tainting or impairment of 

other best usage; 

(16) Polychlorinated biphenyls (total of all PCBs 

and congeners identified): 0.001 ug/l; 

(17) Radioactive substances, based on at least one 

sample collected per quarter: 

(a) Combined radium-226 and 

radium-228: the average annual 

activity level for combined 

radium-226 and radium-228 shall not 

exceed five picoCuries per liter; 

(b) Alpha Emitters: the average annual 

gross alpha particle activity (including 

radium-226, but excluding radon and 

uranium) shall not exceed 15 

picoCuries per liter; 

(c) Beta Emitters: the average annual 

activity level for strontium-90 shall 

not exceed eight picoCuries per liter, 

nor shall the average annual gross beta 

particle activity (excluding 

potassium-40 and other naturally 

occurring radionuclides) exceed 50 

picoCuries per liter, nor shall the 

average annual activity level for 

tritium exceed 20,000 picoCuries per 

liter; 
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(18) Temperature: not to exceed 2.8 degrees C (5.04 

degrees F) above the natural water temperature, 

and in no case to exceed 29 degrees C (84.2 

degrees F) for mountain and upper piedmont 

waters and 32 degrees C (89.6 degrees F) for 

lower piedmont and coastal plain Waters; the 

temperature for trout waters shall not be 

increased by more than 0.5 degrees C (0.9 

degrees F) due to the discharge of heated 

liquids, but in no case to exceed 20 degrees C 

(68 degrees F); 

(19) Toluene: 0.36 ug/l in trout classified waters or 

11 ug/l in all other waters; 

(20) Trialkyltin compounds: 0.07 ug/l expressed as 

tributyltin; 

(21) Turbidity: the turbidity in the receiving water 

shall not exceed 50 Nephelometric Turbidity 

Units (NTU) in streams not designated as trout 

waters and 10 NTU in streams, lakes, or 

reservoirs designated as trout waters; for lakes 

and reservoirs not designated as trout waters, 

the turbidity shall not exceed 25 NTU; if 

turbidity exceeds these levels due to natural 

background conditions, the existing turbidity 

level shall not be increased. Compliance with 

this turbidity standard shall be deemed met 

when land management activities employ Best 

Management Practices (BMPs), as defined by 

Rule .0202 of this Section, recommended by the 

Designated Nonpoint Source Agency, as 

defined by Rule .0202 of this Section. 

(22) Toxic Substance Level Applicable to NPDES 

Permits: Chloride: 230 mg/l. If chloride is 

determined by the waste load allocation to be 

exceeded in a receiving water by a discharge 

under the specified 7Q10 criterion for toxic 

substances, the discharger shall monitor the 

chemical or biological effects of the discharge. 

Efforts shall be made by all dischargers to 

reduce or eliminate chloride from their 

effluents. Chloride shall be limited as 

appropriate in the NPDES permit if sufficient 

information exists to indicate that it may be a 

causative factor resulting in toxicity of the 

effluent. 

 

Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.3(a)(1). 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Wildlife Resources Commission intends to 

readopt without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 

10B .0102, .0115, .0121, .0122, .0124, .0125, .0202, .0208-.0211, 

.0213-.0215, .0219-.0222, .0225, .0301; 10C .0201, .0212, .0213 

and .0217. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncwildlife.org/Proposed-Regulations 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  January 1, 2022 

 

Public Hearing: 

10B Rules 

Date:  September 21, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Register online here: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_m1sro69HSN-

nWKmpLkN0_A Join by phone toll free (669 254 5252  or 833 

568 8864 ) using Webinar ID:  161 474 0305 

 

Public Hearing: 

10C Rules 

Date:  September 28, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  Register online here: 

https://ncwildlife-

org.zoomgov.com/webinar/register/WN_pnZIIZuWRVCxVWsoT

Adx_A Join by phone toll free (669 254 5252  or 833 568 8864 ) 

using Webinar ID:  160 982 2816 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  Pursuant to 150B-21.3A, the 

agency is required to readopt 10B and 10C rules as part of the 

periodic review process. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Rulemaking Coordinator, 1701 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699; email 

regulations@ncwildlife.org 

 

Comment period ends:  November 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission after the adoption of the Rule. If the Rules 

Review Commission receives written and signed objections after 

the adoption of the Rule in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) 

from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by the 

legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, 

the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). 

The Commission will receive written objections until 5:00 p.m. 

on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. 

The Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery 

service, hand delivery, or facsimile transmission. If you have any 

further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-

3000. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 
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 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 10 - WILDLIFE RESOURCES AND WATER 

SAFETY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10B - HUNTING AND TRAPPING 

 

SECTION .0100 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0102 IMPORTATION OF GRAY 

FOXES (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0115 SHINING LIGHTS IN DEER 

AREAS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0121 WILD BIRDS DEFINED 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0122 PROHIBITED HUNTING ON 

STATE FISH HATCHERIES (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0124 IMPORTATION OF ANIMAL 

PARTS (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0125 RELEASE OF MUTE SWANS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - HUNTING 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0202 BEAR (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0208 QUAIL (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0209 WILD TURKEY (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0210 RUFFED GROUSE (NATIVE 

PHEASANT) (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0211 PHEASANT (NONNATIVE 

VARIETIES) (READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE 

CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0213 GROUNDHOG (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0214 WILDCAT (BOBCAT) 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0215 CROWS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0219 COYOTE (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0220 NUTRIA (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0221 STRIPED SKUNK 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0222 ARMADILLO (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0225 ELK (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0300 - TRAPPING 

 

15A NCAC 10B .0301 DEFINITIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 10C - INLAND FISHING REGULATIONS 

 

SECTION .0200 - GENERAL REGULATIONS 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0201 IDENTIFICATION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0212 FISH HATCHERIES 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0213 SNAGGING FISH 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 10C .0217 PUBLIC ACCESS FOR 

ANGLERS ONLY (READOPTION WITHOUT 

SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on July 15, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

SOCIAL SERVICES COMMISSION 

Definitions 10A NCAC 70M .0102* 35:20 NCR 

Public Adoption Agencies 10A NCAC 70M .0201* 35:20 NCR 

Functions of a Public Adoption Agency 10A NCAC 70M .0301* 35:20 NCR 

Services to Adoptive Applicants 10A NCAC 70M .0302* 35:20 NCR 

Multiethnic Placement Act Requirements for Adoptive Home ... 10A NCAC 70M .0304* 35:20 NCR 

Regular Monthly Cash Adoption Assistance and Vendor  10A NCAC 70M .0401* 35:20 NCR 

Eligibility Requirements for Regular Monthly Cash Assista... 10A NCAC 70M .0402* 35:20 NCR 

Procedures/Reimbursement of Adoption Assistance Benefits 10A NCAC 70M .0403* 35:20 NCR 

Eligibility Requirements for the Special Children Adoptio... 10A NCAC 70M .0404 35:20 NCR 

Payments from the Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund 10A NCAC 70M .0405 35:20 NCR 

Out of State Adoption Fees 10A NCAC 70M .0501* 35:20 NCR 

General Eligibility Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0502 35:20 NCR 

Public Adoption Agency Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0601* 35:20 NCR 

Eligible Non-Recurring Adoption Expenses 10A NCAC 70M .0602* 35:20 NCR 

Requirements 10A NCAC 70M .0603 35:20 NCR 

Prohibition on Reimbursement Caps 10A NCAC 70M .0604* 35:20 NCR 

Eligibility Requirements for the Special Need Adoption In... 10A NCAC 70M .0701* 35:20 NCR 

Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund 10A NCAC 70M .0702* 35:20 NCR 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

Licensing of Resident Agent, LTD Representative and Adjuster 11 NCAC 06A .0402* 35:18 NCR 

Renewal of Agent Appts: Licenses/Limited Reps 11 NCAC 06A .0501* 35:18 NCR 

Salesmen to be Licensed Insurance Agents 11 NCAC 13 .0410* 35:18 NCR 

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION 

Emergency Orders and Directives of the Chief Justice of t... 11 NCAC 23E .0302 35:20 NCR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Summary Suspensions 12 NCAC 09A .0206* 35:18 NCR 

Certification Training for School Resource Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0313* 35:18 NCR 

Trainee Attendance 12 NCAC 09B .0404* 35:18 NCR 

Moral Character 12 NCAC 09G .0206* 35:18 NCR 

Suspension: Revocation: or Denial of Certification 12 NCAC 09G .0504* 35:18 NCR 

Summary Suspension 12 NCAC 09G .0506* 35:18 NCR 

SHERIFFS' EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Certification and Training for School Resources Officers 12 NCAC 10B .0510* 35:20 NCR 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Development Period/Commencement/Continuation 15A NCAC 07J .0403* 34:09 NCR 
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Development Period Extension 15A NCAC 07J .0404* 34:09 NCR 

Permit Modification 15A NCAC 07J .0405* 34:09 NCR 

Project Maintenance: Major Development/Dredge and Fill 15A NCAC 07J .0407* 34:09 NCR 

Restoration/Mitigation 15A NCAC 07J .0410* 34:09 NCR 

Structural Accessways Over Frontal Dunes Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0207* 34:09 NCR 

Single Family Residences Exempted 15A NCAC 07K .0208 34:09 NCR 

DENTAL EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Application for General Anesthesia or Sedation Permit, Pe... 21 NCAC 16Q .0102 35:18 NCR 

Itinerant (Mobile) General Anesthesia Permit, Equipment a... 21 NCAC 16Q .0206 35:18 NCR 

Annual Review of General Anesthesia and Itinerant (Mobile... 21 NCAC 16Q .0207* 35:18 NCR 

Annual Renewal of Moderate Parenteral and Enteral Conscio... 21 NCAC 16Q .0305* 35:18 NCR 

Annual Renewal of Moderate Pediatric Conscious Sedation P... 21 NCAC 16Q .0407* 35:18 NCR 

Minimal Conscious Sedation Credentials and Permit 21 NCAC 16Q .0504 35:18 NCR 

Minimal Conscious Sedation Clinical Requirements and Equi... 21 NCAC 16Q .0505* 35:18 NCR 

Annual Renewal of Minimal Conscious Sedation Permit 21 NCAC 16Q .0506 35:18 NCR 

Procedure for Minimal Conscious Sedation Evaluation or In... 21 NCAC 16Q .0507 35:18 NCR 

MEDICAL BOARD 

Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 32M .0109* 35:18 NCR 

Reporting Criteria 21 NCAC 32M .0117 34:21 NCR 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

Prescribing Authority 21 NCAC 36 .0809* 35:18 NCR 

PHARMACY, BOARD OF 

Compounding 21 NCAC 46 .2801* 35:20 NCR 

PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Persons Refused Examination Permission 21 NCAC 48D .0107 35:14 NCR 

Retaking Examination 21 NCAC 48D .0109 35:14 NCR 

Applicants with Special Needs 21 NCAC 48D .0111 35:14 NCR 

Filing Application and Board Determination of Exam Eligib... 21 NCAC 48E .0101* 35:14 NCR 

SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD 

Work Experience 21 NCAC 63 .0211* 35:13 NCR 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS, OFFICE OF 

Cost To Public 26 NCAC 01 .0103 35:20 NCR 

Official Record 26 NCAC 03 .0123* 35:20 NCR 

 
The following rules are subject to Legislative Review. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION AND TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION 

Minimum Standards for Criminal Justice Officers 12 NCAC 09B .0101* 35:18 NCR 

Physical and Mental Standards 12 NCAC 09G .0205* 35:18 NCR 
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TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0102 DEFINITIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of the rules in this Subchapter, 42 USC 673, 

45 CFR 1356.41, and the Multiethnic Placement Act (MEPA) of 

1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by the Interethnic Adoption 

Provisions of 1996, P.L. 104-188, are applicable to both the State 

and public adoption agencies and are hereby incorporated by 

reference including any subsequent amendments and editions. 

These documents may be accessed at www.gpo.gov or 

www.congress.gov at no charge. 

(b)  The following definitions shall apply to the rules in this 

Subchapter: 

(1) "Adoption assistance agreement" means a 

signed written agreement that is developed by 

the Department ("North Carolina Adoption 

Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-5013, 

which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is 

binding upon the public adoption agency and 

the prospective adoptive parents of a minor 

child and, at a minimum, the agreement shall: 

(A) specify payments that meet the 

requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3), 

and specifies the nature and amount of 

any payments, services, and assistance 

to be provided under the agreement; 

(B) stipulates that the agreement shall 

remain in effect regardless of the state 

where the adoptive parents are 

residents of at any given time; 

(C) require each adoptive parent to inform 

the public adoption agency of any 

circumstances that would make the 

parent ineligible for the payments or 

eligible for a different amount; 

(D) if applicable, require the adoptive 

parents to provide receipt of vendor 

payments; and 

(E) contain provisions for the protection 

of the interests of the child in cases 

where the adoptive parents and child 

move to another state while the 

agreement is in effect. 

(2) "Applicable child" means a child who meets the 

requirements in 42 USC 673(e).  

(3) "Child with special needs" or "children with 

special needs" means a child who meets the 

requirements in 42 USC 673(c). The public 

adoption agency, or the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services for 

the Special Needs Adoptions Incentive Fund 

assistance, shall make the specified 

determinations for the State in 42 USC 673(c). 

A child shall not be returned to the home of the 

child's parent if there is a court order 

terminating parental rights, a relinquishment to 

a public or private child-placing agency, a 

consent for adoption by the parent, a finding 

from the court in an adoption proceeding that a 

parent's consent is not required, or verification 

of the death of a parent. For a child to meet the 

requirement in 42 USC 673(c)(2)(B)(ii), the 

child must have a letter from the Social Security 

Administration that approves the child for 

Social Security Insurance benefits. For 

purposes of 42 USC 673(c)(1)(B) and 42 USC 

673(c)(2)(B)(i), the child shall present one or 

more of the following specific factors or 

conditions: 

(A) six years of age or older; 

(B) two years of age or older and a 

member of a minority race or ethnic 

group; 

(C) a member of a sibling group of three 

or more children who will all be 

placed in the same adoptive home; 

(D) a member of a sibling group of two 

children who will be placed in the 

same adoptive home and the child's 

sibling meets one of the factors or 

conditions in Parts (A), (B), (E), (F), 

(G), or (H) of this Paragraph; 

(E) a medically diagnosed disability that 

substantially limits one or more major 

life activities, requires professional 

treatment, requires assistance in self-

care, or requires the purchase of 

special equipment; 

(F) diagnosed by a medical professional, 

who is qualified through licensing or 

credentialing to make the diagnosis, as 

having a psychiatric condition that 

impairs the child's mental, intellectual, 

or social functioning, and for which 

the child requires professional 

services; 

(G) diagnosed by a medical professional, 

who is qualified through licensing or 

credentialing to make the diagnosis, as 

having a behavioral or emotional 

disorder characterized by 

inappropriate behavior that deviates 

substantially from behavior 

appropriate to the child's age or 

significantly interferes with child's 

intellectual, social, and personal 

functioning;  

(H) diagnosed by a medical professional, 

who is qualified through licensing or 

credentialing to make the diagnosis, as 

being intellectually or 

developmentally disabled; or 

(I) at risk, as opined by a medical 

professional, who is qualified through 

licensing or credentialing for one of 

the factors or conditions in Parts (E) 
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through (H) of the definition in this 

Paragraph due to: 

(i) prenatal exposure to toxins; 

(ii) a history of abuse or serious 

neglect; or 

(iii) genetic history. 

(4) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(5) "Nonrecurring adoption expense" means the 

same as "nonrecurring adoption expenses" 

found in 42 USC 673(a)(6)(A).  

(6) "Public adoption agency" means any county 

department of social services, consolidated 

human services, or regional department of 

social services in North Carolina that is 

authorized by law to place children for adoption 

or that provides adoption services. 

(7) "Supplemental Agreement" means a signed 

written agreement that is developed by the 

Department ("North Carolina Special Children 

Adoption Incentive Fund Supplemental 

Adoption Assistance Agreement" Form DSS-

5212, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that is 

binding upon the public adoption agency and 

the prospective adoptive parents of a minor 

child and at a minimum: 

(A) specifies the nature and amount of any 

Special Children's Adoption Incentive 

Fund payment; and 

(B) includes an acknowledgement by the 

prospective adoptive parents that the 

payments are not an entitlement and 

are limited to available funds in the 

Special Children's Adoption Incentive 

Fund. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153(2)(a); 108A-49; 42 

U.S.C. 673;  

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0201 PUBLIC ADOPTION AGENCIES 

(a)  Except for the provisions relating to an executive director, 

public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70H 

.0401 in determining the qualifications and job responsibilities for 

personnel. 

(b)  Public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70F 

.0207 in the hiring of staff and use of volunteers. 

(c)  The caseload size of social workers providing adoption 

services shall be in compliance with requirements set forth in 10A 

NCAC 70H .0401. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; September 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0301 GENERAL 

Public adoption agencies shall perform the following functions: 

(1) provision of casework and other supportive 

services to biological parents considering 

adoption; 

(2) provision of casework and other supportive 

services to the child considered for adoption; 

(3) provision of casework and other supportive 

services to adoptive applicants through 

pre-placement studies; 

(4) selection of home and placement process; 

(5) supervision after placement; 

(6) fulfillment of social and legal responsibilities; 

(7) compilation and preservation of case records; 

(8) provision of post-adoption consultation 

services, including, coordination and referrals 

for educational enrollment for children seven to 

sixteen years of age, and for therapeutic and 

physical health needs; 

(9) when this Subchapter requires, determine 

whether eligibility requirements have been met 

for adoption assistance in this Subchapter that 

is available for children with special needs who 

are in custody of the public adoption agency or 

who have been placed by a private child-

placing agency in an adoptive home within its 

jurisdiction; 

(10) administer adoption assistance agreements for 

which it entered into pursuant to this 

Subchapter; 

(11) notify adoptive parents of tax credits that may 

be available for adoptive parents; 

(12) make information available for prospective 

adoptive families that describes the kinds of 

children needing placement, the availability of 

adoption assistance, and procedures for 

referring families they are unable to serve to 

other child placing agencies; and 

(13) recruit potential foster and adoptive families in 

accordance with the Multiethnic Placement Act 

(MEPA) of 1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by 

the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996, 

P.L. 104-188. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 48-2-502; 48-3-203; 48-3-204; 

48-3-303; 143B-153;  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1990; September 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0302 SERVICES TO ADOPTIVE 

APPLICANTS 

Public adoption agencies shall comply with 10A NCAC 70H 

.0404, .0405, .0406, .0407, 0408 and .0409 in determining the 

procedures for the application process, preplacement assessment, 

notification to adoptive applicants of acceptance or denial of 

application, services to adoptive applicants and families, legal 

process, and record retention. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; July 17, 2000; September 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0304 MULTIETHNIC PLACEMENT 

ACT REQUIREMENTS FOR ADOPTIVE HOME 

RECRUITMENT 

(a)  Public adoption agencies shall recruit potential adoptive and 

foster families that reflect the ethnic and racial diversity of 

children in the State. 

(b)  Public adoption agencies shall not deny any person the 

opportunity to become an adoptive or a foster parent on the basis 

of the race, color, or national origin of the person or of the child 

involved. 

(c)  Public adoption agencies shall not delay or deny the 

placement of a child for adoption or foster care, on the basis of the 

race, color, or national origin of the adoptive or foster parent or 

the child involved. 

(d)  Public adoption agencies shall not violate provisions of the 

Multiethnic Placement Act of 1994, P.L. 103-382, as amended by 

the Interethnic Adoption Provisions of 1996, P.L. 104-188, that 

apply to state or local agencies. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 48-3-204; 131D-10.5; 143B-

153; 

Eff. October 1, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0401 STANDARD MONTHLY CASH 

ADOPTION ASSISTANCE AND VENDOR PAYMENTS 

(a)  Standard monthly cash assistance payments are monthly 

payments made based on graduated rates set by the General 

Assembly and reflected in the executed adoption assistance 

agreement.  

(b)  Vendor payments are made directly to a child's provider, 

which may include the adoptive parents, for medical, therapeutic, 

psychological, and remedial services not covered by Medicaid or 

another source if the requirements in this Subchapter are met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; September 1, 1986; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0402 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

FOR STANDARD MONTHLY CASH ASSISTANCE 

PAYMENTS OR VENDOR PAYMENTS 

(a)  Adoption assistance in the form of standard monthly cash 

assistance payments based on graduated rates set by the General 

Assembly and vendor payments may be made when the child 

meets the following eligibility criteria: 

(1) The child was legally adopted; 

(2) The child meets at least one of the following 

criteria: 

(A) is not an applicable child and meets 

the requirements in 42 USC 

673(a)(2)(A)(i). The public adoption 

agency shall make the determination 

in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(i)(II) for the 

State. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) shall be 

applicable when appropriate; 

(B) shall be an applicable child and meets 

the requirements in 42 USC 

673(a)(2)(A)(ii). The public adoption 

agency shall make the determination 

in 42 USC 673(a)(2)(A)(ii)(II) for the 

State. 42 USC 673(a)(2)(B) shall be 

applicable when appropriate; or 

(C) the requirements set forth in 42 USC 

673(a)(2)(C); and 

(3) An applicable child is not eligible if he or she 

meets the conditions in 42 U.S.C. 

673(a)(7)(A)(i) through (iii), unless 42 U.S.C. 

673(a)(7)(B) is applicable and the public 

adoption agency makes the requisite 

determination for the State. 

(b)  For vendor payments, in addition to the criteria in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, the child shall also meet the following criteria: 

(1) at or prior to the issuance of the adoption 

decree, have a diagnosed medical, mental, or 

emotional condition that is documented by a 

medical professional, who is qualified through 

licensing or credentialing to make a diagnosis, 

that will require ongoing treatment or therapy 

of a medical or remedial nature; or 

(2) after the issuance of the adoption decree but 

while still under the age of 18, have been 

determined by the public adoption agency 

administering adoption assistance benefits to 

have a medical, mental, or emotional condition, 

congenital problem, birth injury, or other 

documented problem that is determined by a 

medical professional, who is qualified through 

licensing or credentialing to have been 

preexisting at the time of his or her placement 

into an adoptive home. 

(c)  The prospective adoptive parents shall meet the following 

criteria: 

(1) Have a child placed with them in accordance 

with applicable State and local laws for 

purposes of an adoption who meets the 

requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule; 

(2) be legally responsible for the support of the 

child and is providing support to the child, if the 

child is under the age of 18; 

(3) enter into an adoption assistance agreement 

with the public adoption agency prior to 

issuance of the decree of adoption. The 

adoption assistance agreement shall identify the 

specific services for the child that the parents 

want to be covered by vendor payments; 

(4) Shall have a completed criminal history 

investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-

3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as 

defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 

criminal conviction that would cause the 
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prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have 

responsibility for the safety and well-being of 

children as determined by the public adoption 

agency pursuant to G.S. 43-3-309; 

(5) Shall provide the public adoption agency with 

the results of the criminal back history 

investigation; 

(6) Shall have a completed check of the North 

Carolina's Responsible Individuals List 

pursuant to G.S. 7B-311 and have a check of the 

results of child abuse and neglect central 

registry of states where the applicant has 

resided the past five years and not be placed on 

the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals 

List or any other state's child abuse and neglect 

central registry. The public adoption agency 

shall maintain a copy of the results in their file; 

and 

(7) For vendor payments when the child meets the 

criteria in Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule, 

shall enter into an adoption assistance 

agreement amendment on a form provided by 

the Department ("North Carolina Division of 

Social Services Adoption Assistance 

Agreement Amendment" Form DSS-5307, 

which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 

identifies and includes supporting 

documentation of the child's preexisting 

condition and allows the parents to be 

reimbursed for vendor services related to the 

child's preexisting condition. 

(d)  All individuals 18 years of age or older who reside in the 

prospective adoptive home shall have a completed a criminal 

history investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and 

shall not have a criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), 

or any other criminal conviction that would cause the prospective 

adoptive parent is unfit to have responsibility for the safety and 

well-being of children as determined by the public adoption 

agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 

(e)  Prior to the adoption, all individuals 18 years of age or older 

who reside in the prospective adoptive home shall have a 

completed check of the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals 

List and have a check of the results of child abuse and neglect 

central registry of states where the applicant has resided the past 

five years and not be placed on the North Carolina's Responsible 

Individuals List or any other state's child abuse and neglect central 

registry. The public adoption agency shall maintain a copy of the 

results in their file. 

(f)  Upon adoption, the adoptive parents shall comply with all the 

terms of the adoption agreement assistance and notify the public 

adoption agency they are no longer legally or financially 

responsible for the adopted child, address, or contact information. 

(g)  The public adoption agency shall: 

(1) prior to the adoption, make a determination as 

to whether the requirements of this Rule have 

been met on a form created by the Department 

("Adoption Assistance Eligibility Checklist" 

Form DSS-5012, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 

shall identify the reasons that the eligibility 

requirements have been met and inform the 

prospective adoptive parents of the right to 

appeal the decision. 

(2) maintain a copy of the results of the criminal 

investigation of the foster parents and any 

individual 18 years of age or older who resides 

in the prospective adoptive home. 

(3) after the adoption: 

(A) annually send to the adoptive parents a 

letter reminding them to report any 

changes in their legal or financial 

responsibility of the adopted child; 

(B) issue to the adoptive parents a notice if 

the adoption assistance payments are 

to be suspended ("North Carolina 

Division of Social Services Adoption 

Assistance Suspension Notice" Form 

DSS-5306, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss

) that shall identify the reason for the 

suspension and how to appeal the 

suspension; and 

(C) issue to the adoptive parents a notice if 

the adoption assistance payments are 

to be terminated ("North Carolina 

Division of Social Services Adoption 

Assistance Termination Notice" Form 

DSS-5308, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss

) that shall identify the reason for the 

termination and how to appeal the 

termination. 

(4) in order for vendor services to be reimbursed, 

the vendor must obtain prior approval by 

submitting to the public adoption agency 

completed and signed forms provided by the 

Department ("Adoption Assistance Vendor 

Payment Request Form" Form DSS-5112 and 

"Adoption Assistance Vendor Payment 

Instructions for Providers" Form DSS-5115, 

which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 

includes documentation of the child's diagnosis, 

the child's special needs related to the 

diagnosis, how the is service related to the 

special needs, what goals the service is intended 

to accomplish, how achievement of goals be 

measured, the projected duration of treatment 

or service, the projected total cost, and two 

copies of the provider's bill after all health 

insurance claims have been processed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; March 

1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1,2021. 
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10A NCAC 70M .0403 PROCEDURES/ 

REIMBURSEMENT OF ADOPTION ASSISTANCE 

BENEFITS 

(a)  Adoption assistance benefits for which a child is eligible shall 

become effective the first month following the month in which the 

Decree of Adoption is issued. 

(b)  Claims from service providers and standard monthly cash 

assistance shall be reimbursed or provided from adoption 

assistance funds subject to the following limitations: 

(1) Vendor payments to adoptive parents, medical 

providers, and to providers of psychological, 

therapeutic, and remedial services shall be 

made only for treatment or services given to 

alleviate or correct those conditions for which 

the child has been determined eligible to 

receive benefits. 

(2) The total amount for vendor payments for any 

combination of medical services not covered by 

Medicaid including psychological, therapeutic, 

or remedial services for any child shall not 

exceed two thousand four hundred dollars 

($2,400.00) per State fiscal year. 

(3) Vendor payments shall not be made to 

reimburse providers for the following: 

(A) routine medical examinations; 

(B) illnesses or conditions not related to or 

resulting from the conditions for 

which the child was determined 

eligible for vendor payments; 

(C) services or treatment provided to the 

child prior to issuance of the Decree of 

Adoption; and 

(D) services or treatment that may have 

been provided on or after the first day 

of the month following the month in 

which the child's eligibility ceases. 

(c)  No local match, in terms of dollars, is required for funds for 

those children certified to receive benefits under the State Fund 

for Adoptive Children with Special Needs as set forth in G.S. 

180A-50.1, who are the placement responsibility of licensed 

private child-placing agencies with the exception of monthly cash 

payments for those children who are eligible for benefits from 

Title IV-E of the Social Security Act. No monthly cash assistance 

payments from the State Fund for Adoptive Children with Special 

Needs shall be made for any adoption in which the Decree of 

Adoption is issued on or after October 1, 2011. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; July 18, 2002; July 1, 1991; 

March 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0404 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

FOR THE SPECIAL CHILDREN ADOPTION 

INCENTIVE FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE 

10A NCAC 70M .0405 PAYMENTS FROM THE 

SPECIAL CHILDREN ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

S.L. 2000-67, s. 11.16; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. August 31, 2001; 

Eff. July 18, 2002; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0501 PURPOSE OF OUT-OF-STATE 

ADOPTION SERVICE FEES 

(a)  When the requirements in this Rule have been met, with prior 

approval, the Department may reimburse in part or in full a fee 

incurred by a public adoption agency for adoption services 

provided by an out-of-state adoption agency. Public adoption 

agencies shall pay the out-of-state adoption provider directly and 

provide proof of payment to the Department once payment is 

made. 

(b)  The requirements of this Rule are met when the child: 

(1) is a child with special needs; 

(2) is registered on the North Carolina Adoption 

Resource Exchange, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/social-

services/child-welfare-services/adoption-and-

foster-care; 

(3) has parents who have each had one of the 

following occur: 

(A) a court order terminated parental 

rights; 

(B) executed a relinquishment of the child 

to a public or private child-placing 

agency; 

(C) consented to the adoption; 

(D) a finding by the court in the adoption 

proceeding that the parent's consent to 

the adoption is not required; or 

(E) has died. 

(c)  Out-of-state adoption agencies shall be licensed by their 

respective states and as approved by conditions of the Interstate 

Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) pursuant to G.S. 

7B, Article 38 to provide adoptive services for children with 

special needs. 

(d)  The service fee charged by the specialized out-of-state 

adoption agency shall be: 

(1) any one of the following services provided by 

the specialized adoption service agency: 

(A) recruiting and securing an adoptive 

home for the child; 

(B) pre-placement services for the family 

and child; 

(C) post-placement services for the family 

and child; and 

(D) post-finalization services. 

(2) only be available when an adoptive family has 

not been identified in North Carolina. 

(e)  The public adoption agency: 

(1) shall have custody and placement responsibility 

of the child and have the legal authority to 

consent to the child's adoption; 

(2) shall make a written request to the Department 

for reimbursement for the out-of-state adoption 
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service fee at the time that a decision has been 

made to place the child with a specific adoptive 

parent or parents who have had an approved 

home study that was conducted by the 

specialized out-of-state adoption agency; 

(3) shall include in its reimbursement request to the 

Department written documentation that verifies 

the following: 

(A) the public adoption agency has legal 

placement responsibility; 

(B) the public adoption agency has the 

authority to legally consent to the 

adoption of the child; 

(C) the child meets the requirements of 

this Rule; 

(D) the out-of-state adoption agency meets 

the requirements of this Rule; 

(E) the service fee to be charged meets the 

requirements of this Rule; and 

(F) a quote for the service fee that includes 

the service to be provided and the 

amount of the fee; 

(4) shall obtain prior approval from the Department 

prior to initiating contracted services where 

reimbursement is expected; 

(5) Upon the Department's prior approval for an 

out-of-state adoption service fee, the public 

adoption agency shall enter into an agreement 

with the out-of-state adoption agency on a form 

provided by the Department ("North Carolina 

Division of Social Services Purchase of Out-of-

State Adoption Services Agreement" Form 

DSS-5305, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) and 

provide a copy of the agreement to the 

Department. The agreement shall include the 

type and nature of the service to be provided, 

the fee amount to be charged, an agreement by 

the out-of-state adoption agency to provide the 

identified service, and an agreement by the 

public adoption agency to pay for the identified 

service; and 

(6) shall pay any amount of the out-of-state 

adoption agency service fee that is not approved 

by the Department. 

(f)  To the extent funds are available and the fee for services is not 

above the maximum allowable amount of one thousand eight 

hundred dollars ($1,800) per child, the Department shall approve 

the public adoption agency's request for prior approval for 

reimbursement of the out-of-state adoption service fee if it meets 

the requirements in this Rule and the Department notifies the 

public adoption agency in writing of the approval. 

(g)  The Department shall not reimburse a public adoption agency 

for any amount over one thousand eight hundred dollars ($1,800) 

per child in out-of-state adoption service fees that are approved 

pursuant to this Rule. 

(h)  In order for the public adoption agency to receive 

reimbursement for a fee that has been approved pursuant to this 

Rule, the public adoption agency shall notify the Department of 

the date that payment of the fee is due and provide the Department 

with a copy of the bill for the out-of-state adoption service fee. 

(i)  Upon the public adoption agency's payment of the out-of-state 

adoption service fee, the public adoption agency shall provide the 

Department with a copy of the receipt of payment for the out-of-

state adoption agency fee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. March 23, 1981; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0502 GENERAL ELIGIBILITY 

REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143B-153; 

Eff. March 23, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2008; July 1, 1991; June 1, 1990; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0601 PUBLIC ADOPTION AGENCY 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Public adoption agencies shall: 

(1) at the time of or prior to the final decree of 

adoption, enter into an agreement for the 

reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 

expenses with parents who adopt a child with 

special needs; 

(2) prior to entering into an agreement for the 

reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 

expenses, the public adoption agency shall: 

(A) Make a determination that the child is 

a child with special needs; and 

(B) Make a determination that the child 

has been placed for adoption in 

accordance with applicable laws; 

(3) make payments for reimbursement of 

nonrecurring adoption expenses incurred by or 

on behalf of parents in connection with the 

adoption of a child with special needs if it enters 

into an agreement for the reimbursement of 

nonrecurring adoption expenses; 

(4) retain copies of the complete application for 

reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 

expenses, along with supporting document and 

receipts, and the agreement for the 

reimbursement of nonrecurring adoption 

expenses for auditing purposes; and 

(5) upon receipt of a completed nonrecurring 

adoption expense reimbursement application, 

the public adoption agency shall submit the 

application to the Department. 

(b) When there is an interstate placement of the child with 

special needs, the public adoption agency that entered into an 

adoption assistance agreement shall also reimburse the parent or 

vendor for the nonrecurring adoption expenses. When there has 

been an interstate placement of a child with special needs for the 

purpose of adoption and there is no adoption assistance agreement 

from the sending state, then the public adoption agency that is 
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responsible for entering into an agreement for nonrecurring 

adoption expenses shall be the public adoption agency where the 

petitioner for adoption resides. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0602 ELIGIBLE NONRECURRING 

ADOPTION EXPENSES 

An adoptive parent shall receive reimbursement for nonrecurring 

adoption expenses not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) 

when: 

(1) The child placed with the parent for the purpose 

of adoption is a child with special needs; 

(2) The adoptive parents have submitted a signed 

application for nonrecurring adoption expenses 

on a form provided by the Department ("State 

of North Carolina Application For 

Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Adoption 

Costs" Form DSS-5145, which may be 

accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss). The 

application shall: 

(a) provide evidence that the child is a 

child with special needs; 

(b) include acknowledgements by the 

adoptive parents that: 

(i) nonrecurring adoption 

expenses are limited to a 

reimbursement of two 

thousand dollars ($2,000) per 

child and are contingent on 

the child being a child with 

special needs; 

(ii) the expenses that they are 

seeking reimbursement for 

were actually incurred by 

them; 

(iii) the expenses that they are 

seeking reimbursement for 

are reasonable and necessary 

adoption expenses which 

were directly related to the 

legal adoption of the child 

that meets the requirements 

in 42 USC 673(A)(6); and 

(iv) the expenses that they are 

seeking reimbursement for 

have not and will not be 

reimbursed by another 

source. 

(c) if the placement was an interstate 

placement, include an 

acknowledgement by the adoptive 

parents that the placement was made 

in accordance with the Interstate 

Compact on the Placement of Children 

adopted by both the sending and 

receiving state and any other 

applicable federal, state, or local laws 

or rules related to the interstate 

adoptive placement of a child; 

(d) the type and amount of the expense 

that will be incurred by the adoptive 

parents; and 

(e) include documentation that verifies 

the information in the application and 

receipts for any nonrecurring service 

for which the parent is seeking 

reimbursement. 

(3) The foster parents and all individuals 18 years 

of age or older who reside in the prospective 

adoptive home shall have a completed a 

criminal history investigated pursuant to G.S. 

48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not have a 

criminal history, as defined by G.S. 48-1-

101(5b), or any other criminal conviction that 

would cause the prospective adoptive parent to 

be unfit to have responsibility for the safety and 

well-being of children as determined by the 

public adoption agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-

309. 

(4) The foster parents shall provide the public 

adoption agency with the results of the criminal 

history investigation, and the public adoption 

agency shall maintain a copy of the results. 

(5) The adopting parents and all individuals 18 

years of age or older who reside in the home 

shall have a completed check of the North 

Carolina's Responsible Individuals List 

pursuant to G.S. 7B-311 and have a check of the 

results of child abuse and neglect central 

registry of states where the applicant has 

resided the past five years and not be placed on 

the North Carolina's Responsible Individuals 

List or any other state's child abuse and neglect 

central registry. The public adoption agency 

shall maintain a copy of the results in their file. 

(6) Upon approval of the application in Item (2) of 

this Rule, the adoptive parents shall enter into a 

binding written agreement with a public 

adoption agency for the reimbursement of 

nonrecurring expenses on a form provided by 

the Department ("State of North Carolina 

Agreement for Reimbursement of 

Nonrecurring Adoption Costs" Form DSS-

5146, which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divisions/dss) that 

meets the requirements in 42 USC 673(a)(3) 

and is signed at the time of or prior to the final 

decree of adoption. 

(7) The application for reimbursement was filed in 

accord with the quarter rule outlined in 45 CFR 

1356.41(e)(2). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 
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Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0603 REQUIREMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

42 U.S.C. 673; 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; 

Repealed Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0604 PROHIBITION ON 

REIMBURSEMENT CAPS 

The Department and any public adoption agencies shall not 

establish a maximum allowable reimbursement amount for any 

single eligible nonrecurring adoption expense, but the total 

reimbursement for nonrecurring adoption expenses shall not 

exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 143B-153; 

Eff. July 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0701 ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

FOR THE SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE 

FUND AND EFFECTIVE DATE 

Within the limits of available funding, the Department may 

approve and provide assistance in the form of standard monthly 

cash payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund 

when the following requirements have been met: 

(1) The child: 

(a) Shall be a child with special needs and 

either has at least one of the factors or 

conditions listed in Rule 

.0102(b)(3)(E) through (H) of this 

Chapter of a child with special needs 

or meets the requirement in 42 USC 

673(c)(2)(B)(ii); 

(b) Shall meet the requirements for 

standard monthly cash adoption 

assistance in this Chapter; 

(c) Shall be in the custody of the public 

adoption agency and placement 

responsibility of an adoption agency 

for at least six consecutive months 

prior to the finalization of the 

adoption; 

(d) The special needs condition from Sub-

Item (1)(a) of this Item is expected to 

limit the child's ability, both currently 

and throughout childhood, to function 

in the home, school, or community 

absent eight or more hours of in-

person daily supervision or care for 

personal health care or prevention of 

self-destructive or assaultive behavior; 

(e) The child will have resided in the 

foster parent's home for six 

consecutive months prior to the 

finalization of the adoption; and 

(f) The child was legally adopted on or 

after January 1, 2001. 

(2) Each foster parent: 

(a) be licensed as a foster parent; 

(b) has been receiving standard monthly 

cash assistance from any 

governmental source, such as federal, 

state, or local, above the State 

adoption assistance rate established by 

the General Assembly for the previous 

six consecutive months prior to the 

finalization of the adoption to provide 

the direct care or supervision required 

for the child's health condition that 

meets the requirement in Item (4) of 

this Rule; 

(c) prior to the issuance of the adoption 

decree, the foster parent made a 

request for financial assistance in 

addition to the State adoption 

assistance rate established by the 

General Assembly in order to provide 

the care required for the child's health 

condition that meets the requirements 

in Item (4) of this Rule; 

(d) prior to the issuance of the adoption 

decree, the foster parent provided the 

public adoption agency with a signed 

letter that details the daily supervision 

needs of the child;  

(e) shall only be willing to adopt the child 

if the monthly cash assistance from 

any other governmental source, such 

as federal, state, or local, above the 

State adoption assistance rate received 

for foster parents and is not terminated 

upon the adoption of the child; 

(f) shall enter into an adoption assistance 

agreement with a public adoption 

agency prior to the decree of adoption; 

(g) entered into a supplemental agreement 

with a public adoption agency prior to 

the adoption decree; 

(h) agree to provide the public adoption 

agency with a copy of the adoption 

decree once the adoption has been 

finalized; 

(i) shall have a completed criminal 

history investigated pursuant to G.S. 

48-3-303 and 48-3-309 and shall not 

have a criminal history, as defined by 

G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 

criminal conviction that would cause 

the prospective adoptive parent to be 

unfit to have responsibility for the 

safety and well-being of children as 

determined by the public adoption 

agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309; 
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(j) shall require all individuals 18 years of 

age or older who reside in the 

prospective adoptive home to undergo 

a criminal history investigated 

pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 49-3-

309; and 

(k) shall provide the public adoption 

agency with the results of the criminal 

back history investigation. 

(3) All individuals 18 years of age or older who 

reside in the prospective adoptive home shall 

have a completed a criminal history 

investigated pursuant to G.S. 48-3-303 and 48-

3-309 and shall not have a criminal history, as 

defined by G.S. 48-1-101(5b), or any other 

criminal conviction that would cause the 

prospective adoptive parent to be unfit to have 

responsibility for the safety and well-being of 

children as determined by the public adoption 

agency pursuant to G.S. 48-3-309. 

(4) The public adoption agency having custody of 

the child shall: 

(a) voluntarily agree to participate in the 

Special Need Adoption Incentive 

Fund and agree to assume 50 percent 

of the payment above the State 

adoption assistance rate established by 

the General Assembly. 

(b) enter into an adoption assistance 

agreement as provided in this Rule. 

(c) enter into a supplement agreement as 

provided in this Rule. 

(d) maintain a record for the child that 

contains written documentation that 

the child and foster parent(s) have met 

or will meet the requirements for the 

foster child and the foster parents in 

this Rule at the time of the adoption 

decree and shall include the following: 

(i) a written statement on a form 

provided by the Department 

("Special Children Adoption 

Incentive Fund Agency 

Verification of Legal 

Custody and Child's Living 

Arrangement For Past Six 

Months" Form DSS-5214, 

which may be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi

sions/dss) signed by the 

Director of the public 

adoption agency that verifies: 

(A) each foster parent is 

licensed; 

(B) the public adoption 

agency has legal 

custody and 

placement authority 

of the child; 

(C) the child has lived 

with the foster 

family for six 

consecutive months 

prior to the 

adoption; 

(D) that the foster 

parent(s) have 

received monthly 

cash assistance from 

a governmental 

source in excess of 

the standard board 

rate established by 

the General 

Assembly for the 

previous six months 

on a continuous 

basis and the 

amount of the 

payments; and 

(E) the foster parent(s) 

have stated a 

willingness to adopt 

this child if the 

monthly cash 

assistance that they 

have received as 

foster parents is not 

terminated; 

(ii) a written statement on a form 

provided by the Department 

("Special Children Adoption 

Incentive Fund Verification 

of Child's Health Condition" 

Form DSS-5213, which may 

be accessed at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi

sions/dss) signed by a 

medical professional, who is 

qualified through licensing 

and credentialing to diagnose 

the child's condition prior to 

the adoption that 

demonstrates that the child 

meets all the requirements in 

Item (1) of this Rule; 

(iii) a written statement on a form 

provided by the Department 

("Special Children Adoption 

Incentive Fund Verification 

of Child's Need for Daily 

Supervision" Form DSS-

5215, which may be accessed 

at 

https://www.ncdhhs.gov/divi

sions/dss) signed by the 

foster parent(s) prior to the 

adoption that demonstrates 
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the child meets all the 

requirements in this Item;  

(iv) a letter from the foster 

parent(s) explaining the daily 

needs of the child;  

(v) a signed adoption assistance 

agreement; 

(vi) a signed supplement 

agreement; 

(vii) a copy of the foster parent's 

license; 

(viii) a copy of the decree of 

adoption once it has been 

received pursuant to this 

Rule; 

(ix) a copy of the results of the 

criminal investigation of the 

foster parents and any 

individual 18 years of age or 

older who resides in the 

prospective adoptive home; 

and 

(x) make a request, on behalf of 

the foster parent(s), prior to 

the adoption decree to the 

Department for Special Need 

Adoption Incentive Fund 

assistance for the foster 

parents. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 

143B-153;  

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 70M .0702 PAYMENTS FROM THE 

SPECIAL NEED ADOPTION INCENTIVE FUND 

(a)  Payments from the Special Need Adoption Incentive Fund 

will be made by the State Division of Social Services to the 

adoptive parent(s). 

(b)  Participating county departments of social services shall 

submit claims for payments to the State Division of Social 

Services. 

(c)  The initial payment claim must include the following items: 

(1) verification of child's placement authority; 

(2) verification that the child has lived with the 

foster family six consecutive months submitted 

on the "Living Arrangements for Past Six 

Months" Form DSS-5214; 

(3) a copy of written statement from a licensed 

physician regarding the child's health condition; 

(4) a copy of written statement from a licensed 

health, mental health, or developmental 

disability professional regarding the status of 

the child's condition; 

(5) a copy of signed adoption assistance agreement; 

(6) a copy of signed supplemental assistance 

agreement; and 

(7) a copy of Decree of Adoption. 

(d)  Monthly payment claims shall be submitted on the "Request 

for Special Children Adoption Incentive Fund Payment" Form 

DSS-5211, which may be accessed at 

https://www2.ncdhhs.gov/info/olm/forms/dss/dss-5211-ia.pdf.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 108A-49; 108A-50; 108A-50.1; 

143B-153;  

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 11 - DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

 

11 NCAC 06A .0402 LICENSING OF RESIDENT 

AGENT, LTD REPRESENTATIVE AND ADJUSTER 

(a)  An applicant for a resident variable life and variable annuity 

product shall hold a resident life license before making 

application for a resident variable life and variable annuity 

product license. An agent licensed to sell variable life and variable 

annuity products shall be appointed by a company authorized to 

sell variable annuities and variable life insurance products in 

North Carolina. The company shall verify that the agent has met 

the requirements of the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 

(FINRA) or its successor organization. 

(b)  A limited representative shall be appointed with each 

company for which he or she will solicit business for the 

following kinds of insurance: 

(1) Dental services; 

(2) Limited line credit insurance; 

(3) Prearrangement insurance, as defined in G.S. 

58-60-35(a)(2), when offered or sold by a 

preneed sales licensee licensed under Article 

13D of Chapter 90 of the General Statutes; or 

(4) Travel, accident, and baggage. 

(c)  Responsibility of insurance companies for forms: 

(1) Companies shall have on file with the Division 

the address and email address of one central 

licensing office and the individual within that 

office to whom all correspondence, licenses, 

and invoices will be forwarded. 

(2) Companies shall have on file with the Division 

the name of the individual responsible for all 

agent appointments and termination of agent 

appointments submitted by the company to the 

Division. 

(3) A company shall verify the licensure of an 

agent before the company appoints the agent. 

(4) Companies shall notify the Division within 10 

days after any change of address or email 

address of the central licensing office and of 

any change of the individual within that office 

to whom all correspondence, licenses, and 

invoices will be forwarded. 

(d)  Responsibility of the agent, limited representative, and 

adjuster: 

(1) A person, after surrender or termination of a 

license for such period of time that he or she is 

no longer eligible for waiver of the 

examination, shall meet all legal requirements 

for previously unlicensed persons. 
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(2) Every licensee shall, upon demand from the 

Division, furnish in writing any information 

relating to the licensee's insurance business 

within 10 business days after the demand in 

accordance with G.S. 58-2-195(a). 

(e)  An applicant for a resident license shall, if an electronic record 

is not available, obtain an original letter of clearance from his or 

her former state of residency certifying the kinds of insurance for 

which the applicant was licensed, that all licenses held in that state 

have been canceled and that the applicant was in good standing in 

that state at the time of the cancellation of licenses. A letter of 

clearance is valid for 90 days from date of issuance. 

(f)  Only individuals may apply for limited representative and 

adjuster licenses. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-195(a); 58-33-

26; 58-33-30; 58-33-66; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 12, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; February 1, 2008; April 1, 2003; 

February 1, 1996; October 1, 1990; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

11 NCAC 06A .0501 RENEWAL OF AGENT APPTS: 

LICENSES/LIMITED REPS 

(a)  Annually the Division shall notify each insurance company of 

dates and methods for renewing agent and limited representative 

appointments. Companies shall be given at least 30 days' advance 

notice of the last date the Division shall process terminations. 

(b)  On the last date to submit terminations, the Division shall 

cease processing all terminations and bill companies for renewals. 

All appointments and licenses shall automatically be billed for the 

appointment renewal unless the Division has received a 

termination request from the company within the specified time. 

(c)  The Division shall send each company an invoice stating the 

total amount of money due and a list of all appointees or licensees 

associated with the total due. The Division shall make this invoice 

and a list of all appointees or licensees associated with the total 

due available electronically to each company. Companies shall 

remit the amount stated in the invoice by electronic payment to 

the Commissioner or the Commissioner's designee and shall pay 

all associated fees for electronic processing. Any discrepancies 

claimed by companies shall be investigated only after full 

payment is received. 

(d)  Upon receipt of the company payment, the Division shall 

provide to the company an electronic list of all appointments and 

licenses renewed. 

(e)  Appointments recorded and licenses issued prior to the 

renewal date, but after the date specified by the Division as the 

last date to process termination, shall be valid until the following 

year. 

(f)  Failure of a company to pay any invoice by the due date shall 

automatically result in the termination of all appointees or 

licensees of that company. The Commissioner shall not issue any 

new appointments until all outstanding invoices have been paid. 

Any company that has had appointments or licensees cancelled by 

the Commissioner pursuant to this Rule shall not process any new 

electronic appointments until all outstanding invoices have been 

paid. When the outstanding invoices are paid, the company may 

re-appoint agents or limited representatives and shall pay the 

appointment fees. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-2-250; 58-33-40(f); 

58-33-56; 58-33-125(a); 58-33-125(h); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. June 12, 1978; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; February 1, 1996; October 1, 

1990; February 1, 1989; July 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 13 .0410 SALESMEN TO BE LICENSED 

INSURANCE AGENTS 

Any person acting in the capacity of employee, agent, or salesman 

who solicits or sells a motor club membership shall be a licensed 

insurance agent if the membership contract includes a contract of 

insurance to the member. The employee, agent, or salesman shall 

be licensed with the same insurance company that issues the 

contract of insurance.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 58-2-40; 58-69-20(5); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. April 8, 2002; July 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. June 25, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

11 NCAC 23E .0302 EMERGENCY ORDERS AND 

DIRECTIVES OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE NORTH 

CAROLINA SUPREME COURT 

(a)  This Rule applies to all matters within the authority and 

jurisdiction of the Commission and to all Subchapters of the 

Commission's rules. 

(b)  In the interests of justice or to protect the public health or 

safety, the Commission may waive or modify any portion of its 

rules in order to bring them in conformity with an emergency 

Order or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina 

Supreme Court that is in effect. The Commission shall consider 

the following factors in determining whether to grant the waiver 

or modification: 

(1) the necessity of waiving or modifying the rule; 

and 

(2) the impact of waiving or modifying the rule on 

the regulated parties and on the Commission. 

If the Commission waives or modifies a rule to bring it into 

conformity with any emergency Order or directive of the Chief 

Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, the Commission 

shall post a notice of the waiver or modification of the rule on its 

website unless the waiver or modification is case-specific and not 

generally applicable to the regulated public. For a waiver or 
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modification that is case-specific and not generally applicable to 

the regulated public, the Commission shall notify the parties in 

the case of the waiver or modification via an order of the 

Commission. 

(c)  During any period that an emergency Order or directive of the 

Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court authorizes the 

taking of oaths and verifications outside the presence of a notary 

public, the Commission shall accept any pleading, motion, 

petition, supporting affidavit, or other document with an 

affirmation or representation not attested to before a notary public 

so long as the subscriber affirms the truth of the matter to be 

verified by an affirmation or representation in substantially the 

same language as that allowed by the emergency Order or 

directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme 

Court. 

(d)  Any waiver or modification made pursuant to this Rule shall 

only remain in effect during the duration of any emergency Order 

or directive of the Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme 

Court upon which that waiver or modification is based. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 97-80; 130A-425(d); 143-166.4; 

143-296; 143-300; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. November 6, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 29, 2021; 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 12 - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE 

 

12 NCAC 09A .0206 SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS 

(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a criminal 

justice officer or instructor before the commencement of 

proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification if the 

public health, safety, or welfare requires action pursuant to G.S. 

150B-3. The Commission has determined that the following 

conditions specifically affect the public health, safety, or welfare 

and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause Committee, 

may summarily suspend a certification of a criminal justice officer 

if: 

(1) the person has committed or been convicted of 

a violation of the criminal code that would 

require a permanent revocation or denial of 

certification; 

(2) the certified officer fails to complete the 

in-service training requirements as prescribed 

in 12 NCAC 09E; or 

(3) the certified officer has produced a positive 

result on a urinalysis test, conducted in 

accordance with 12 NCAC 09B .0101(5). 

(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of 

certification, the Probable Cause Committee shall meet only upon 

notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 

hours in advance of the meeting. 

(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the 

certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings. 

(d)  The Director, upon receipt of information showing the 

existence of a basis for summary suspension provided for in 

Subparagraph (a)(1), (2), or (3) of this Rule, shall coordinate the 

meeting described in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. All affected 

persons shall be notified that the person may submit any pertinent 

matters to the Probable Cause Committee for its consideration 

before the Committee acts on the summary suspension issue. No 

person shall be allowed more than 48 hours to submit information 

to the Probable Cause Committee. 

(e)  Upon oral notification by the Director that the certification of 

an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by written 

order, the Department Head of the Criminal Justice Agency or the 

executive officer of the institution shall ensure that the officer or 

instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified Concealed Carry 

Handgun Instructor has conducted a concealed carry handgun 

training course as mandated by G.S. 14-415.12(a)(4) that is not in 

compliance with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and negatively affects the 

public safety and welfare shall do the following until such time as 

the training course has been brought into compliance or reported 

to the Probable Cause Committee for action: 

(1) summarily suspend the Concealed Carry 

Handgun Instructor certification, prohibiting 

him or her from delivering concealed carry 

handgun training until the Director determines 

the training program is brought into compliance 

with 12 NCAC 09F .0102 and 12 NCAC 09F 

.0105 of this Chapter; and 

(2) inform the instructor that he or she may appeal 

the Director's suspension by requesting, in 

writing, a formal hearing before the Probable 

Cause Committee at the next scheduled 

Commission meeting. 

(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted 

a Commission-approved training course in a way that was not in 

accordance with the requirements of this Chapter or has 

conducted a Commission-approved training course while being in 

violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 

NCAC 09B .0301 shall do the following until such time as the 

training course or his or her instructor certification has been 

brought into compliance: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the noncompliance is remedied; and 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for a formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting. 

(h)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to 

have violated a certification rule as outlined in this Chapter shall 

do the following: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 
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delivering Commission approved training until 

the matter is resolved; and 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for a formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting. 

(i)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or upon service of the 

certified copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings.  

(j)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a criminal justice officer who was issued a 

waiver of the requirements of 12 NCAC 09C .0306 has not met 

those requirements within 60 days of being awarded general 

certification by the Commission, shall summarily suspend the 

officer's certification until the officer meets the requirements of 

12 NCAC 09C .0306. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 150B-3; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; February 1, 2016; December 1, 

2007; March 1, 2004; July 1, 1990; July 1, 1989; October 1, 

1985; August 15, 1981; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE OFFICERS 

Every criminal justice officer who is employed in or has received 

a conditional offer of employment for a certified position by an 

agency in North Carolina shall: 

(1) be a citizen of the United States; 

(2) be at least 20 years of age; 

(3) be of good moral character pursuant to G.S. 

17C-10 as evidenced by the following: 

(a) not having been convicted of a felony; 

(b) not having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 

09B .0111(1) for five years or the 

completion of any corrections 

supervision imposed by the courts, 

whichever is later; 

(c) not having been convicted of an 

offense that would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or 

ammunition, under 18 U.S.C. 922, 

which is hereby incorporated by 

reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and can be 

found at no cost at 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg

/USCODE-2011-

title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-

partI-chap44-sec922.pdf), 

(d) having submitted to and produced a 

negative result on a drug test within 60 

days of employment or any in-service 

drug screening required by the 

appointing agency that meets the 

certification standards of the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs. A list of certified 

drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no 

cost, at 

https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace/r

esources/drug-testing/certified-lab-

list; 

(e) submitting to a background 

investigation consisting of the 

verification of age and education and a 

criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(f) being truthful in providing 

information to the appointing agency 

and to the Standards Division for the 

purpose of obtaining probationary or 

general certification; 

(g) not having pending or outstanding 

felony charges that, if convicted of 

such charges, would disqualify the 

applicant from holding such 

certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; 

and 

(h) not having engaged in any conduct 

that brings into question the 

truthfulness or credibility of the 

officer, or involves "moral turpitude." 

"Moral turpitude" is conduct that is 

contrary to justice, honesty, or 

morality, including conduct as defined 

in: In re Willis 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 

771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 

(1975); State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 

6 S.E. 2d 854 (1940); In re Legg, 325 

N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 174(1989); In re 

Applicants for License, 143 N.C. 1, 55 

S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 188 

N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State 

v. Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 

647 (1983); and later court decisions 

that cite these cases as authority; 

(4) have been fingerprinted and a search made of 

local, state, and national files to disclose any 

criminal record; 

(5) have been examined and certified by a licensed 

surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet physical 

requirements listed in the Medical Screening 

Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-

enforcement-training/criminal-justice/forms-

and-publications/ necessary to fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities and shall 

have produced a negative result on a drug 
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screen administered according to the following 

specifications: 

(a) the drug screen shall be a urine test 

consisting of an initial screening test 

using an immunoassay method and a 

confirmatory test on an initial positive 

result using a gas 

chromatography/mass spectrometry 

(GC/MS) or other initial and 

confirmatory tests authorized or 

mandated by the Department of Health 

and Human Services for Federal 

Workplace Drug Testing Programs; 

(b) a chain of custody shall be maintained 

on the specimen from collection to the 

eventual discarding of the specimen; 

(c) the drug screen shall test for the 

presence of at least cannabis, cocaine, 

phencyclidine (PCP), opiates, and 

amphetamines or their metabolites; 

(d) the test threshold values meet the 

requirements established by the 

Department of Health and Human 

Services for Federal Workplace Drug 

Testing Programs, as found in 82 FR 

7920 (2017) incorporated by 

reference, including later amendments 

and editions found at no cost at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/docu

ments/2017/01/23/2017-

00979/mandatory-guidelines-for-

federal-workplace-drug-testing-

programs; 

(e) the test conducted shall be not more 

than 60 days old, calculated from the 

time when the laboratory reports the 

results to the date of employment; and 

(f) the laboratory conducting the test shall 

be certified for federal workplace drug 

testing programs, and shall adhere to 

applicable federal regulations and 

guidelines pertaining to the handling, 

testing, storage, and preservation of 

samples; 

(6) have been administered a psychological 

screening by a clinical psychologist or 

psychiatrist licensed to practice in North 

Carolina or by a clinical psychologist or 

psychiatrist authorized to practice in 

accordance with the rules and regulations of the 

United States Armed Forces within one year 

prior to employment by the employing agency 

and upon the acceptance of a conditional offer 

of employment to determine the officer's 

mental and emotional suitability to properly 

fulfill the responsibilities of the position as 

listed in the Medical Screening Guide found at 

https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-

publications/, as follows: 

(a) Law Enforcement Officer applicant: 

pre-employment psychological 

screenings shall at a minimum 

include: 

(i) a pre-employment written 

psychological test 

recognized in the field, and 

supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; 

and 

(ii) a clinical interview 

conducted by a licensed 

psychiatrist or psychologist. 

(b) Juvenile Justice Officer applicant, 

Juvenile Court Counselor applicant, 

Chief Court Counselor applicant, or 

Local Confinement Officer applicant: 

pre-employment psychological 

screenings shall at a minimum include 

(i) a pre-employment written 

psychological test 

recognized in the field, and 

supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; 

and 

(ii) a clinical interview 

conducted by a licensed 

psychiatrist or psychologist if 

the psychologist or 

psychiatrist reviewing the 

results of the pre-

employment test identifies 

any issue that he or she 

believes needs further 

examination or other 

information is found in the 

pre-employment process or 

otherwise that raises 

questions about the 

psychological suitability of 

the candidate; 

(7) have been interviewed personally by the 

department head or the department head 

representative or representatives to determine 

such things as the applicant's appearance, 

demeanor, attitude, and ability to communicate; 

and 

(8) make the following notifications: 

(a) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer is charged or arrested. This 

shall include traffic offenses identified 

in the Class B Misdemeanor Manual 

and offenses of driving under the 
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influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(b) within 30 days of the qualifying event 

notify the Standards Division and the 

appointing department head in writing 

of all criminal offenses for which the 

officer pleads no contest pleads guilty 

or of which the officer is found guilty. 

This shall include traffic offenses 

identified in the Department of 

Justice's Class B Misdemeanor 

Manual and offenses of driving under 

the influence (DUI) or driving while 

impaired (DWI); 

(c) within 30 days of service, officers 

shall notify the Standards Division of 

all Domestic Violence Protective 

Order (G.S. 50B) and Civil No 

Contact Orders (G.S. 50C) that are 

issued by a judicial official against the 

officer; 

(d) within 30 days of the date the case was 

disposed of in court, the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the officer's arrests or 

criminal charges and final 

dispositions, shall also notify the 

Standards Division of arrests or 

criminal charges and final disposition; 

(e) within 30 days of the issuance of all 

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

(G.S. 50B) and Civil No Contact 

Orders (G.S. 50C), the department 

head, provided he or she has 

knowledge of the order, shall also 

notify the Standards Division of these 

orders. 

(9) The required notifications in this Rule shall be 

in writing and shall specify the nature of the 

offense or order, the court in which the case was 

handled, the date of the arrest, criminal charge, 

or service of the order, and the final disposition. 

The notification shall include a certified copy of 

the order or court documentation and final 

disposition from the Clerk of Court in the 

county of adjudication. The requirements of 

this Item shall be applicable at all times during 

which the officer is employed and certified by 

the Commission and shall also apply to all 

applicants for certification. Receipt by the 

Standards Division of a single notification, 

from the officer or the department head, shall 

be sufficient notice for compliance with this 

Item. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; September 1, 2001; 

April 1, 1999; January 1, 1995; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review; October 1, 2020. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0313 CERTIFICATION AND 

TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS 

(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law 

enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within 

a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), 

who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 

12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following: 

(1) School safety; 

(2) School security; 

(3) Emergency preparedness; 

(4) Emergency response; and 

(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school 

safety or security assigned by the officer's 

employer while the officer is acting as a School 

Resource Officer. 

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local 

school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency 

governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with 

this Paragraph. 

(b)  Law enforcement officers assigned by their agency to perform 

duties as a School Resource Officer shall: 

(1) have been issued general certification by the 

North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission as a law 

enforcement officer; and 

(2) have until December 31, 2020, to complete the 

basic School Resource Officer Training course, 

if they are acting in the capacity of a School 

Resource Officer between October 1, 2018 and 

December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a 

School Resource Officer effective January 1, 

2020 or later shall complete the School 

Resource Officer Training course pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule, within one year after 

being assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

Law enforcement officers who previously 

completed the training pursuant to Paragraph 

(g) of this Rule and who have been continually 

assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be credited with completion 

of the basic School Resource Officer Training. 

Law enforcement officers who completed the 

training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule 

between October 1, 2018 and December 31, 

2020 shall be credited with completion of the 

basic School Resource Officer Training course 

even if they were not assigned as an SRO 

pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule as long as 

they comply with the annual SRO refresher 

training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(c)  A law enforcement officer assigned to one or more public 

schools within a local school administrative unit, who works in a 

school at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per 

calendar year and who has not completed the initial training as 

established by Paragraph (g) of this Rule shall not work in a 
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school as a School Resource Officer until the officer has 

completed the initial training as established by Paragraph (g) of 

this Section. 

(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Criminal Justice 

Standards Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource 

Officer Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a 

School Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located 

on the agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/#91-114-wpfd-

law-enforcement and must be completed in its entirety. The 

Commission School Resource Officer Assignment Form consists 

of the following: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) date of birth; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) name of agency and address; 

(5) date awarded general certification; 

(6) completion date of School Resource Officer 

training; and 

(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall 

be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes 

during each calendar year a one hour basic School Resource 

Officer refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice 

Academy. For School Resource Officers who complete the basic 

SRO training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement 

shall be effective January 1, 2021. For SROs, this requirement 

shall be effective the year following the officer's successful 

completion of the basic School Resource Officer Training course. 

A certified School Resource Officer who has not completed the 

refresher training during a calendar year as established by this 

Rule shall not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until 

the officer has completed the required refresher training as 

established by this Rule. Any refresher training deficiency must 

be made up on or before January 31st of the following calendar 

year. 

(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in an in-person 

traditional classroom format will receive credit toward the 

completion of the basic SRO course requirement as required by 

this Rule, provided that they pass all tests required by the SRO 

Training Manual authored by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. Instructors shall have their instruction documented by 

the Department Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once 

completed. 

(g)  The basic School Resource Officer Training course for law 

enforcement officers shall provide the trainee with the skills and 

knowledge to perform in the capacity of a School Resource 

Officer. The basic School Resource Officer Training Course 

authored by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as 

the curriculum for this training course. Copies of this publication 

may be inspected at the office of the agency: 

Criminal Justice Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 149 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. October 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; October 1, 2019. 

 

12 NCAC 09B .0404 TRAINEE ATTENDANCE 

(a)  Each trainee enrolled in a certified Basic Law Enforcement 

Training Course shall attend all class sessions. The school director 

shall monitor the trainee's attendance at criminal justice training 

courses in which the trainee is enrolled. 

(b)  The school director may excuse a trainee from attendance at 

specific class sessions. However, in no case may excused 

absences exceed five percent of the total class hours for the course 

offering. A trainee shall not be eligible for administration of the 

State comprehensive examination and shall be dismissed from the 

course if the cumulative total of class absences exceeds five 

percent regardless of the prior completion of make-up work. 

(c)  If the school director grants an excused absence from a class 

session, he or she shall schedule make-up work and ensure the 

completion of such work during the current course presentation. 

The school director shall schedule instructors and reimburse those 

instructors for the purpose of completion of the make-up work. 

Absences that occur during the last 40 hours of the training course 

may be made up in a subsequent delivery; however, the school 

director shall notify the Standards Division prior to scheduling the 

make-up work. 

(d)  A school director may terminate a trainee from course 

participation or may deny certification of successful course 

completion where the trainee is tardy to or departs early from class 

meetings or field exercises. 

(e)  Where a trainee is enrolled in a program as required in 12 

NCAC 09B .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0218, .0219, .0220, 

.0221, .0222, .0237, .0238, .0239, or .0240, and the scheduled 

course hours exceed the requirements of the Commission, the 

trainee, upon the authorization of the school director, may be 

deemed to have satisfactorily completed the required number of 

hours for attendance provided the trainee's attendance is not less 

than 100 percent of the instructional hours as required by the 

Commission. 

(f)  A trainee enrolled in a presentation of the "Criminal Justice 

Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0209 of this Subchapter 

shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent 

of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive 

successful course completion. 

(g)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "Specialized 

Firearms Instructor Training" course under Rule .0226 of this 

Subchapter, the "Specialized Driver Instructor Training" course 

under Rule .0227 of this Subchapter, the "Specialized Subject 

Control Arrest Techniques Instructor Training" course under Rule 

.0232 of this Subchapter, or the "Specialized Physical Fitness 

Instructor Training" course under Rule .0233 of this Subchapter, 

shall not be absent from class attendance for more than 10 percent 

of the total scheduled delivery period in order to receive 

successful course completion. Make-up work must be completed 

during the current course presentation for all absenteeism. The 

Director of the Criminal Justice Standards Division may grant a 

waiver for completion of course requirements in a course delivery 
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scheduled within 12 months, for just cause based upon the 

circumstances that created the need for the absence. For the 

purposes of this Rule, "just cause" includes an accident, illness, 

emergency, or course cancellation that precluded the student from 

completing the entire course in one continuous course delivery. 

(h)  A trainee, enrolled in a presentation of the "RADAR 

Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0210 of this Subchapter, 

the "Time-Distance Instructor Training Course" under Rule .0211 

of this Subchapter, or the "LIDAR Instructor Training Course" 

under Rule .0237 of this Subchapter shall not be absent from class 

attendance for more than 10 percent of the total scheduled 

delivery period in order to receive successful course completion. 

Make-up work must be completed during the current course 

presentation for all absenteeism. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Eff. January 1, 1981; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1981; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2006; May 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; 

April 1, 1999; November 1, 1993; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1987; 

June 1, 1986; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0205 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL 

STANDARDS 

(a)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been examined and certified, within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, by a 

physician licensed in North Carolina, physician's assistant, or 

nurse practitioner to meet the physical requirements as stated in 

the essential job functions listed in the Medical Screening Guide 

as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-training/criminal-

justice/forms-and-publications/ that are necessary to fulfill the 

officer's particular responsibilities. 

(b)  Every person employed as a correctional officer or 

probation/parole officer by the North Carolina Department of 

Public Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice 

shall have been administered, within one year prior to 

employment with the North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice and 

upon the acceptance of a conditional offer of employment, a 

psychological screening by a clinical psychologist or psychiatrist 

licensed to practice in North Carolina or by a clinical psychologist 

or psychiatrist authorized to practice in accordance with the rules 

and regulations of the United States Armed Forces to determine 

the officer's mental and emotional suitability to fulfill the 

responsibilities of the position as listed in the Medical Screening 

Guide as found at https://ncdoj.gov/law-enforcement-

training/criminal-justice/forms-and-publications/, as follows: 

(1) Correctional Officer applicant: pre-

employment psychological screening shall at a 

minimum include: 

(A) a pre-employment written 

psychological test recognized in the 

field, and supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; and 

(B) a clinical interview conducted by a 

licensed psychiatrist or psychologist if 

the psychologist or psychiatrist 

reviewing the results of the pre-

employment test identifies any issue 

that he or she believes needs further 

examination or other information is 

found in the pre-employment process 

otherwise that raises questions about 

the psychological suitability of the 

candidate. 

(2) Probation/Parole Officer applicant: pre-

employment psychological screening shall at a 

minimum include: 

(A) a pre-employment written 

psychological test recognized in the 

field, and supervised by a licensed 

psychologist or psychiatrist; and 

(B) a clinical interview conducted by a 

licensed psychiatrist or psychologist. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. Pending Legislative Review. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0206 MORAL CHARACTER 

Every person employed as a correctional officer as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(3) or probation/parole officer as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(12) by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice shall 

demonstrate good moral character as evidenced by the following: 

(1) for correctional officers, not having been 

convicted of a felony; 

(2) for probation/parole officers, not having 

committed or having been convicted of a 

felony; 

(3) for correctional officers, not having been 

convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(10) for three years or the 

completion of any corrections supervision 

imposed by the courts, whichever is later; 

(4) for probation/parole officers, not having 

committed or having been convicted of a 

misdemeanor as defined in 12 NCAC 09G 

.0102 for a three years period prior to the date 

of application for employment; 

(5) not having been convicted of an offense that, 

under 18 U.S.C. 922, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference with subsequent 

amendments and editions and can be accessed 

at no cost at 
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https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCOD

E-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-

partI-chap44-sec922.pdf, would prohibit the 

possession of a firearm or ammunition; 

(6) having submitted to and produced a negative 

result on a drug test within 60 days of 

employment or any in-service drug screening 

required by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice that meets the certification standards of 

the Department of Health and Human Services 

for Federal Workplace Drug Testing Programs. 

A list of certified drug testing labs that meet this 

requirement may be obtained, at no cost, at 

https://www.samhsa.gov/workplace/resources/

drug-testing/certified-lab-list; 

(7) submitting to a background investigation 

consisting of the following: 

(a) verification of age; 

(b) verification of education; and 

(c) criminal history check of local, state, 

and national files; 

(8) being truthful in providing information to the 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice and to the 

Standards Division for the purpose of obtaining 

probationary or general certification; 

(9) not having pending or outstanding felony 

charges that, if convicted of such charges, 

would disqualify the applicant from holding 

such certification, pursuant to G.S. 17C-13; and 

(10) not engage in any conduct that brings into 

question the truthfulness or credibility of the 

officer, or involves "moral turpitude." "Moral 

Turpitude" is conduct that is contrary to justice, 

honesty, or morality, including conduct as 

defined In re Willis, 288 N.C. 1, 215 S.E. 2d 

771 appeal dismissed 423 U.S. 976 (1975); In 

State v. Harris, 216 N.C. 746, 6 S.E.2d 854 

(1940); In re Legg, 325 N.C. 658, 386 S.E. 2d 

174(1989); In re Applicants for License, 143 

N.C. 1, 55 S.E. 635 (1906); In re Dillingham, 

188 N.C. 162, 124 S.E. 130 (1924); State v. 

Benbow, 309 N.C. 538, 308 S.E. 2d 647 (1983); 

and later court decisions that cite these as 

authority. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2017; April 1, 2017; January 1, 2015; 

June 1, 2012; April 1, 2009; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0504 SUSPENSION: REVOCATION: 

OR DENIAL OF CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission shall revoke the certification of a 

correctional officer or probation/parole officer when the 

Commission finds that the officer has committed or been 

convicted of a felony offense. 

(b)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a correctional 

officer when the Commission finds the officer has been convicted 

of a felony. 

(c)  The Commission shall deny the certification of a 

probation/parole officer when the Commission finds the officer 

has committed or been convicted of a felony offense. 

(d)  The Commission may, based on the evidence for each case, 

suspend, revoke, or deny the certification of a corrections officer, 

as defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0102(4) when the Commission finds 

that the applicant for certification or the certified officer: 

(1) has not enrolled in and completed with passing 

scores the required basic training course in its 

entirety in time periods prescribed in 12 NCAC 

09G .0400 applicable to a specified position or 

job title; 

(2) fails to meet or maintain one or more of the 

employment standards required by 12 NCAC 

09G .0200 for the category of the officer's 

certification or fails to meet or maintain one or 

more of the training standards required by 12 

NCAC 09G .0400 for the category of the 

officer's certification; 

(3) for correctional officers as defined in 12 NCAC 

09G .0102(3), have committed or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102 after certification; 

(4) for probation/parole officers as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102(12), have committed or been 

convicted of a misdemeanor as defined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0102 for a three year period prior 

to the date of application for employment or 

after certification; 

(5) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice for: 

(A) commission or conviction of a motor 

vehicle offense requiring the 

revocation of the officer's drivers 

license; or 

(B) lack of good moral character as 

defined in 12 NCAC 09G .0206; 

(6) has been discharged by the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Division of Adult 

Correction and Juvenile Justice because the 

officer lacks the mental or physical capabilities 

to fulfill the responsibilities of a corrections 

officer; 

(7) has knowingly made a material 

misrepresentation of any information required 

for certification or accreditation; 

(8) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, 
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obtained or attempted to obtain credit, training, 

or certification from the Commission; 

(9) has knowingly and willfully, by any means of 

false pretense, deception, fraud, 

misrepresentation, or cheating whatsoever, 

aided another person in obtaining or attempting 

to obtain credit, training, or certification from 

the Commission; 

(10) has failed to notify the Standards Division of all 

criminal charges or convictions as required by 

12 NCAC 09G .0302; 

(11) has been removed from office by decree of the 

Superior Court in accord with the provisions of 

G.S. 128-16 or has been removed from office 

by sentence of the court in accord with the 

provisions of G.S. 14-230; 

(12) has refused to submit to an applicant drug 

screen as required by 12 NCAC 09G .0206; or 

has refused to submit to an in-service drug 

screen pursuant to the guidelines set forth in the 

Drug Screening Implementation Guide as 

required by the Department of Public Safety, 

Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile 

Justice; 

(13) has produced a positive result on a drug screen 

reported to the Commission as specified in 12 

NCAC 09G .0206, where the positive result 

cannot be explained to the Commission's 

satisfaction. For the purposes of this Rule, "to 

the Commission's satisfaction" shall be 

determined on a case-by-case basis, and the use 

of a prescribed drug shall be satisfactory; or 

(14) has been denied certification or had such 

certification suspended or revoked by a 

previous action of the North Carolina Criminal 

Justice Education and Training Standards 

Commission, the North Carolina Company 

Police Program, the North Carolina Campus 

Police Program, the North Carolina Sheriffs' 

Education and Training Standards 

Commission, or a similar North Carolina, out of 

state, or federal approving, certifying, or 

licensing agency whose function is the same or 

similar to the agencies if the certification was 

denied, suspended, or revoked based on 

grounds that would constitute a violation of this 

Subchapter. 

(e)  Following suspension, revocation, or denial of the person's 

certification, the person shall not remain employed or appointed 

as a corrections officer and the person shall not exercise any 

authority of a corrections officer during a period for which the 

person's certification is suspended, revoked, or denied. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2018; January 1, 2015; April 1, 2009; 

December 1, 2004; August 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

12 NCAC 09G .0506 SUMMARY SUSPENSIONS 

(a)  The Commission, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may summarily suspend the certification of a 

corrections officer or instructor before the commencement of 

proceedings for suspension or revocation of the certification 

when, in the opinion of the Probable Cause Committee, the public 

health, safety, or welfare requires this emergency action of 

summary suspension. The Commission has determined that the 

following condition specifically affects the public health, safety, 

or welfare and therefore it, by and through the Probable Cause 

Committee, may utilize summary suspension: when the 

corrections officer has committed or been convicted of a violation 

of the criminal code that would require a permanent revocation or 

denial of certification. 

(b)  For the purpose of considering a summary suspension of 

certification, the Probable Cause Committee may meet upon 

notice given by mail, telephone, or other means not less than 48 

hours in advance of the meeting. 

(c)  A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified 

in the order of summary suspension or on service of the certified 

copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings. 

(d)  Upon verbal notification by the Director that the certification 

of an officer or instructor is being summarily suspended by 

written order, the North Carolina Department of Correction shall 

take such steps as are necessary to ensure that the officer or 

instructor does not perform duties requiring certification by the 

Commission. 

(e)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining that a Commission-certified instructor has conducted 

Commission-approved training course in a way that was not in 

accordance with the requirements of this Chapter or has 

conducted a Commission-approved training course while being in 

violation of the instructor's minimum standards as outlined in 12 

NCAC 09G .0307 shall do the following until such time as the 

training course or his or her instructor certification has been 

brought into compliance: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the noncompliance is remedied; and 

(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting.  

(f)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon 

determining a Commission-certified instructor has been alleged to 

have violated a certification rule as outlined in this Chapter shall 

do the following: 

(1) summarily suspend the individual's Instructor's 

certification, prohibiting him or her from 

delivering Commission approved training until 

the matter is resolved; and 
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(2) the Director shall send a report of all summary 

suspensions for formal hearing before the 

Probable Cause Committee at the next 

scheduled Commission meeting. 

(g)  The Commission, by and through the Director, upon a Finding 

of Probable Cause by the Probable Cause Committee that an 

instructor has violated a certification rule outlined in this Chapter 

shall summarily suspend the individual's instructor certification. 

A summary suspension shall be effective on the date specified in 

the order of summary suspension or upon service of the certified 

copy of the order at the last known address of the person, 

whichever is later. The summary suspension shall remain 

effective during the proceedings.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; 150B-3; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2001; 

Eff. August 1, 2002; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 25, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

12 NCAC 10B .0510 CERTIFICATION AND 

TRAINING FOR SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS 

(a)  A "School Resource Officer (SRO)" is defined as any law 

enforcement officer assigned to one or more public schools within 

a local school administrative unit, as defined in G.S. 115C-5(6), 

who works in a school at least 20 hours per week for more than 

12 weeks per calendar year to assist with all of the following: 

(1) School safety; 

(2) School security; 

(3) Emergency preparedness; 

(4) Emergency response; and 

(5) Any additional responsibilities related to school 

safety or security assigned by the officer's 

employer while the officer is acting as a School 

Resource Officer. 

Any written memorandum of understanding between the local 

school administrative unit and the law enforcement agency 

governing the School Resource Officer shall be consistent with 

this Paragraph. 

(b)  Deputy Sheriffs assigned by their agency to perform duties as 

a School Resource Officer shall: 

(1) have been issued general certification by the 

North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and 

Training Standards Commission as a Deputy 

Sheriff; and 

(2) have until December 31, 2020 to complete the 

basic School Resource Officer Training Course 

if they are acting in the capacity of a School 

Resource Officer between January 1, 2019 and 

December 31, 2019. Any officer assigned as a 

School Resource Officer effective January 1, 

2020 or later shall complete the basic School 

Resource Officer Training Course pursuant to 

Paragraph (g) of this Rule, within one year after 

being assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

Deputy Sheriffs who previously completed the 

training pursuant to Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

at any time and who have been continually 

assigned as an SRO pursuant to Paragraph (a) 

of this Rule shall be credited with completion 

of the basic School Resource Officer Training 

Course. Deputy Sheriffs who completed the 

training pursuant to Paragraph (g) of this Rule 

between October 1, 2018 and December 31, 

2020 shall be credited with completion of the 

basic School Resource Officer Training Course 

even if they were not assigned as an SRO 

pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Rule as long as 

they comply with the annual SRO refresher 

training pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(c)  A Deputy Sheriff assigned to one or more public schools 

within a local school administrative unit, who works in a school 

at least 20 hours per week for more than 12 weeks per calendar 

year and who has not completed the initial training as established 

by Paragraph (g) of this Rule shall not work in a school as a 

School Resource Officer until the officer has completed the initial 

training as established by Paragraph (g) of this Rule. 

(d)  The agency head shall submit to the Sheriffs' Standards 

Division a Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 

Assignment Form for the person(s) selected to act as a School 

Resource Officer for the agency. The Form F-20 is located on the 

agency's website: https://ncdoj.gov and must be completed in its 

entirety. The Form F-20 Commission School Resource Officer 

Assignment Form consists of the following: 

(1) applicant's name; 

(2) date of birth; 

(3) social security number; 

(4) name of agency and address; 

(5) date awarded general certification; 

(6) completion date of School Resource Officer 

training; and 

(7) date assigned as a School Resource Officer. 

(e)  The term of certification as a School Resource Officer shall 

be indefinite, provided the School Resource Officer completes 

during each calendar year one credit of School Resource Officer 

refresher training authored by North Carolina Justice Academy. 

For School Resource Officers who complete the basic SRO 

training requirement in 2020 or earlier, this requirement becomes 

effective January 1, 2021. Otherwise, this requirement becomes 

effective the year following the officer's successful completion of 

the basic School Resource Officer Training Course. A certified 

School Resource Officer who has not completed the refresher 

training during a calendar year as established by this Rule shall 

not work in a school as a School Resource Officer until the officer 

has completed the required refresher training as established by 

this Rule. Any refresher training that is not completed during a 

single calendar year must be made up on or before January 31st of 

the following calendar year. Any officer who fails to resolve a 

deficiency in the refresher training shall no longer maintain 

School Resource Officer certification. 

(f)  Instructors who teach a basic SRO course in an in-person, 

traditional classroom format will receive credit toward the 

completion of the basic SRO course requirement as required by 

this Rule, provided they pass all tests required by the SRO 
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Training Manual authored by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy. Instructors shall have their instruction documented by 

the Agency Head or In-Service Training Coordinator once 

completed. 

(g)  The School Resource Officer training course for Deputy 

Sheriffs shall provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge to 

perform in the capacity of a School Resource Officer. The basic 

School Resource Officer Training Course authored by the North 

Carolina Justice Academy shall be used as the curriculum for this 

training course. Copies of this publication may be inspected at the 

agency: 

Sheriffs' Standards Division 

North Carolina Department of Justice 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 

Post Office Drawer 629 

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 

and may be obtained at the cost of printing and postage from the 

North Carolina Justice Academy at the following address: 

North Carolina Justice Academy 

Post Office Drawer 99 

Salemburg, North Carolina 28385 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4; 17E-7; 

Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; January 1, 2020. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0403 DEVELOPMENT 

PERIOD/COMMENCEMENT/CONTINUATION 

(a)  New dredge and fill permits and CAMA permits, excepting 

beach bulldozing when authorized through issuance of a CAMA 

minor permit, shall expire on December 31 of the third year 

following the year of permit issuance. 

(b)  CAMA minor permit authorizing beach bulldozing shall 

expire 30 days from the date of permit issuance. Following permit 

expiration, the applicant may request an extension in accordance 

with Rule .0404(a) of this Section. 

(c)  Development After Permit Expiration. Any development 

undertaken after permit expiration shall be considered 

unpermitted and shall constitute a violation of G.S. 113A-118 or 

G.S. 113-229. Any development undertaken after permit 

expiration shall require either a new permit, or extension of the 

original permit according to 15A NCAC 07J .0404 with the 

exception of Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(d)  Commencement of Development in Ocean Hazard AEC. No 

development shall begin until the oceanfront setback requirement 

can be met in accordance with 15A NCAC 07H .0306. When the 

permit holder or an individual receiving an exception to the permit 

requirement is ready to begin development, they shall arrange an 

onsite meeting with the Division of Coastal Management or Local 

Permitting Officer to determine the oceanfront setback. This 

setback determination shall replace the one completed at the time 

the permit was processed and approved and development shall 

begin within of 60 days from the date of that meeting. In the case 

of a shoreline change that alters the location of the permitted 

development a new setback determination may be required. To 

determine if a new setback is required, additional coordination 

with the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting 

Officer shall be required. Upon completion of the measurement, 

the Division of Coastal Management or Local Permitting Officer 

will issue a written statement to the permittee certifying the same. 

(e)  Continuation of Development in the Ocean Hazard AEC. 

Once permitted development has begun, development in the 

Ocean Hazard AEC may continue beyond the authorized 

development period if, in the opinion of the Division of Coastal 

Management or Local Permitting Officer, substantial progress has 

been made and is continuing according to customary and usual 

building standards and schedules. Substantial progress is defined 

as beginning with the placement of foundation pilings, and proof 

of the local building inspector's certification that the installed 

pilings have passed a floor and foundation inspection. 

(f)  Any permit that has been stayed as a result of litigation shall 

be extended at the permit holder's written request for a period 

equivalent to the period of permit suspension, but not to exceed 

the development period authorized under Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-118; 113A-124(c)(8); 

Eff. March 15, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; April 1, 1995; July 1, 1989; March 

1, 1985; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0404 DEVELOPMENT PERIOD 

EXTENSION 

(a)  For CAMA minor permits authorizing beach bulldozing, the 

permit holder may request a one-time 30-day permit extension. 

No additional extensions shall be granted after the 30-day 

extension has expired. Notwithstanding this Paragraph, the permit 

holder may apply for another minor permit authorizing beach 

bulldozing following expiration of the 30-day permit extension. 

(b)  Where no development has been initiated during the 

development period, the Division of Coastal Management or 

Local Permit Officer shall extend the authorized development 

period for no more than two years upon receipt of a signed and 

dated request from the applicant containing the following: 

(1) a statement of the intention of the applicant to 

complete the work.  

(2) a statement of the reasons why the project will 

not be completed before the expiration of the 

current permit; 

(3) a statement that there has been no change of 

plans since the issuance of the original permit 

other than changes that would have the effect of 

reducing the scope of the project or previously 

approved permit modifications; 

(4) notice of any change in ownership of the 

property to be developed and a request for 

transfer of the permit, if appropriate; and 

(5) a statement that the project is in compliance 

with all conditions of the current permit. 

Where substantial development, either within or outside the AEC, 

has begun and is continuing on a permitted project, the permitting 

authority shall grant as many two year extensions as necessary to 

complete the initial development. For the purpose of this Rule, 
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"substantial development" shall be deemed to have occurred on a 

project if the permittee can show that development has progressed 

beyond basic site preparation, such as land clearing and grading, 

and construction has begun and is continuing on the primary 

structure or structures authorized under the permit. For purposes 

of residential subdivision, installation of subdivision roads 

consistent with an approved subdivision plat shall constitute 

substantial development. Renewals for maintenance and repairs 

of previously approved projects may be granted for periods not to 

exceed 10 years. 

(c)  When an extension request has not met the criteria of 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule, the Division of Coastal Management 

may circulate the request to the commenting State resource 

agencies along with a copy of the original permit application. 

Commenting State resource agencies will be given three weeks in 

which to comment on the extension request. Upon the expiration 

of the commenting period the Division of Coastal Management 

will notify the applicant of its actions on the extension request. 

(d)  Notwithstanding Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule, an 

extension request may be denied on making findings as required 

in either G.S. 113A-120 or G.S. 113-229(e). Changes in 

circumstances or in development standards shall be considered 

and applied by the Division of Coastal Management in making a 

decision on an extension request. 

(e)  The applicant for a major development extension request shall 

submit, with the request, a check or money order payable to the 

Department in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

(f)  Modifications to extended permits may be considered 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 07J .0405. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-119; 113A-119.1; 

113A-124(c)(8); 

Eff. March 15, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2002; August 1, 2000; April 1, 1995; 

March 1, 1991; March 1, 1985; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0405 PERMIT MODIFICATION 

(a)  A permit holder may modify their permitted major 

development and/or dredge and fill project only after approval by 

the Division of Coastal Management. In order to modify a 

permitted project the permit holder shall make a written request 

to the Division of Coastal Management showing the proposed 

modifications. Minor modifications may be shown on the existing 

approved application and plat. Modification requests which, in the 

opinion of the Division of Coastal Management are major shall 

require a new application. Modification requests are subject to the 

same processing procedure applicable to original permit 

applications. A permit need not be circulated to all agencies 

commenting on the original application if the Commission 

determines that the modification is so minor that circulation 

would serve no purpose. 

(b)  Modifications to a permitted project that are imposed or made 

at the request of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers or other 

federal agencies shall be approved by the Division of Coastal 

Management under provisions of this Rule dealing with permit 

modification procedures. 

(c)  Modifications of projects for the benefit of private waterfront 

property owners that meet the following criteria shall be 

considered minor modifications and shall not require a new permit 

application, but shall be approved under the provisions of 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule: 

(1) for bulkheads: 

(A) bulkhead shall be positioned so as not 

to extend more than an average 

distance of two feet waterward of the 

mean high water and in no place shall 

the bulkhead be more than five feet 

waterward of the mean high water 

contour;  

(B) all backfill must come from an upland 

source;  

(C) no marsh area may be excavated or 

filled;  

(D) work must be undertaken because of 

the necessity to prevent loss of private 

residential property due to erosion;  

(E) the bulkhead must be constructed prior 

to any backfilling activities;  

(F) the bulkhead must be constructed so as 

to prevent seepages of backfill 

materials through the bulkhead; and 

(G) the bulkhead may not be constructed 

in the Ocean Hazard AEC; 

(2) for piers, docks and boathouses: 

(A) the modification or addition shall not 

be within 150 feet of the edge of a 

federally-maintained channel;  

(B) the structure, as modified, must be 200 

feet or less in total length offshore;  

(C) the structure, as modified, must not 

extend past the four feet mean low 

water contour line (four feet depth at 

mean low water) of the waterbody;  

(D) the project as modified, must not 

exceed six feet in width;  

(E) the modification or addition must not 

include an enclosed structure; and 

(F) the project shall continue to be used 

for private, residential purposes; 

(3) for boatramps: 

(A) the project, as modified, shall not 

exceed 10 feet in width and 20 feet 

offshore; and 

(B) the project shall continue to be used 

for private, residential purposes. 

(d)  An applicant may modify his permitted minor development 

project only after approval by the local permit-letting authority. 

In order to modify a permitted project the applicant must make a 

written request to the local minor permit-letting authority showing 

in detail the proposed modifications. The request shall be 

reviewed in consultation with the appropriate Division of Coastal 

Management field consultant and granted if all of the following 

provisions are met: 

(1) the size of the project is expanded less than 20 

percent of the size of the originally permitted 

project;  
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(2) a signed, written statement is obtained from all 

adjacent riparian property owners indicating 

they have no objections to the proposed 

modifications;  

(3) the proposed modifications are consistent with 

all local, State, and federal standards and local 

Land Use Plans in effect at the time of the 

modification requests; and 

(4) the type or nature of development is not 

changed. 

Failure to meet this Paragraph shall necessitate the submission of 

a new permit application. 

(e)  The applicant for a major permit modification shall submit 

with the request a check or money order payable to the 

Department in the sum of one hundred dollars ($100.00) for a 

minor modification and two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) for a 

major modification. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-119; 113A-119.1; 

113-229; 

Eff. March 15, 1978; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; March 1, 1991; August 1, 1986; 

November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0407 PROJECT MAINTENANCE: 

MAJOR DEVELOPMENT/DREDGE AND FILL 

(a)  No project previously requiring a major development or 

dredge and fill permit shall be maintained after the expiration of 

the authorized development period without approval from the 

Division of Coastal Management. Permits may contain provisions 

that allow the applicant to maintain the project after its 

completion. Persons wishing to maintain a project beyond the 

development period and whose permit contains no maintenance 

provision shall apply for a maintenance permit. This Rule does 

not apply to maintenance required by rule or by permit condition. 

(b)  Maintenance Request. Persons desiring to initiate 

maintenance work on a project pursuant to the maintenance 

provisions of an existing permit shall file a request two weeks 

prior to the initiation of maintenance work with: 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Division of Coastal Management 

400 Commerce Avenue 

Morehead City, NC 28557 

(c)  Such requests shall include: 

(1) the name and address of the permittee; 

(2) the number of the original permit; 

(3) a description of proposed changes; 

(4) in the case of a dredge and fill maintenance 

request, a statement that no dimensional 

changes are proposed; 

(5) a copy of the original permit plat with cross-

hatching indicating the area to be maintained, 

any area to be used as spoil, and the estimated 

amount of material to be removed; and 

(6) the date of map revision and the applicant's 

signature shown anew on the original plat. 

(d)  Conditions for Maintenance. All work undertaken pursuant to 

the maintenance provisions of a permit shall comply with the 

following conditions: 

(1) Maintenance work under a major development 

permit shall be limited to activities which are 

within the exemptions set forth by the 

Commission. 

(2) Maintenance under a dredge and fill permit 

shall be limited to excavation and filling which 

is necessary to maintain the project dimensions 

as found in the original permit. 

(3) Maintenance work is subject to all the 

conditions included in the original permit. 

(4) Spoil disposal shall be in the same locations as 

authorized in the original permit, provided that 

the person requesting the authority to maintain 

a project may request a different spoil disposal 

site if he or she first serves a copy of the 

maintenance request on all adjoining 

landowners. 

(5) The maintenance work is subject to any 

conditions determined by the Department to be 

necessary to protect the public interest with 

respect to the factors enumerated in G.S. 

113A-120 or G.S. 113-229. 

(e)  The Division of Coastal Management may suspend or revoke 

the right to maintain a project in whole or in part upon a finding: 

(1) that the project area has been put to a different 

use from that indicated in the original permit 

application;  

(2) that there has been a change in the impacts 

associated with the permitted development 

affecting coastal resources listed in G.S. 113A-

113 or G.S. 113A-120(a) that would justify 

denial of a permit; or 

(3) that there has been a violation of any of the 

terms or conditions of the original permit. 

(f)  Grant or Denial of Maintenance Request 

(1) Upon receipt of a complete maintenance 

request the Division of Coastal Management 

shall determine if there are grounds for 

revocation or suspension of the applicant's right 

to maintain based on the criteria in Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule. If there are grounds for 

revocation or suspension the applicant shall be 

notified of the suspension or revocation by 

certified mail, return receipt requested setting 

forth the findings on which the revocation or 

suspension is based. 

(2) If the Division of Coastal Management 

determines that the right to maintain should not 

be revoked or based on the criteria in Paragraph 

(e) of this Rule, a letter shall be issued which 

shall authorize the applicant to perform 

maintenance work. The letter shall set forth the 

terms and conditions under which the 

maintenance work is authorized. 

(3) If the maintenance request discloses changes in 

the dimensions of the original project, the 
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Division of Coastal Management shall notify 

the applicant that a permit modification or 

renewal shall be required pursuant to the 

procedure set out in 15A NCAC 07J .0404 and 

.0405. 

(4) Appeal of the Division of Coastal Management 

action under this Section shall be in accordance 

with 15A NCAC 07J .0302. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c; 113A-120(b); 

113A-124(c)(8); 

Eff. March 15, 1978; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2005; December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; 

March 1, 1985; November 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07J .0410 RESTORATION/MITIGATION 

Any violation involving development that is inconsistent with 

rules for development within AECs, i.e. wetland fill, improper 

location of a structure, shall result in a notice of restoration from 

the Secretary or its delegate or a local government. The notice 

shall describe the extent of restoration necessary to recover lost 

resources, or to prevent further resource damage and a time for its 

completion. Failure to complete the restoration described in the 

notice may result in a court order as described in G.S. 113-126(a) 

and (b). Failure to act to complete the required restoration may be 

determined to constitute a separate violation, according to G.S. 

113-126(d)(2), subject to the penalties in Rule .0409 of this 

Section. Any resources that cannot be recovered by restoration of 

the affected site shall be replaced in compliance with the goals of 

the Commission's mitigation policy described in 15A NCAC 07M 

.0701.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-126; 113A-124(c); 113A-

124(c)(8); 

Eff. July 1, 1985; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0207 STRUCTURAL ACCESSWAYS 

OVER FRONTAL DUNES EXEMPTED 

(a)  The North Carolina Coastal Resources Commission exempts 

from the CAMA permit requirement all structural pedestrian 

accessways over frontal dunes which can be shown to meet the 

following criteria: 

(1) The accessway shall not exceed six feet in 

width and shall be for private residential or for 

public access to an ocean beach. This 

exemption does not apply to accessways for 

commercial use or for motor-powered vehicular 

use. 

(2) The accessway shall be constructed so as to 

make no alterations to the frontal dunes that are 

not necessary to construct the accessway. This 

means that the accessway shall be constructed 

over the frontal dune without any alteration of 

the dunes. In no case shall the dune be altered 

so as to diminish its capacity as a protective 

barrier against flooding and by not reducing the 

volume of the dune. Driving of pilings into the 

dune shall not be considered alteration of a 

frontal dune for the purposes of this Rule. 

(3) The accessway shall conform with any 

applicable local or State building code 

standards. 

(b)  Before beginning any work under this exemption the CAMA 

local permit officer or Division of Quality representative shall be 

notified of the proposed activity to allow on-site review of the 

proposed accessway. Notification can be by telephone, in person, 

or in writing and must include: 

(1) name, address, and telephone number of 

landowner and location of work including 

county and nearest community; and 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed structural 

accessway. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 07K .0208 SINGLE FAMILY RESIDENCES 

EXEMPTED 

(a)  All single family residences constructed within the Coastal 

Shorelines Area of Environmental Concern that are more than 40 

feet landward of normal high water or normal water level, and 

involve no land disturbing activity within the 40 feet buffer area 

are exempted from the CAMA permit requirement as long as this 

exemption is consistent with all other applicable CAMA permit 

standards and local land use plans and rules in effect at the time 

the exemption is granted. 

(b)  This exemption allows for the construction of a generally 

shore perpendicular access to the water, provided that the access 

shall be no wider than six feet. The access may be constructed out 

of materials such as wood, composite material, gravel, paver 

stones, concrete, brick, or similar materials. Any access 

constructed over wetlands shall be elevated at least three feet 

above any wetland substrate as measured from the bottom of the 

decking. 

(c)  Within the AEC for estuarine shorelines contiguous to waters 

classified as Outstanding Resource Waters (ORW), no CAMA 

permit shall be required if the proposed development is a 

single-family residence that has a built upon area of 25 percent or 

less and is at least 40 feet from waters classified as ORW. 

(d)  Before beginning any work under this exemption, the CAMA 

local permit officer or the Department of Environmental Quality 

representative shall be notified of the proposed activity to allow 

on-site review. Notification may be by telephone at (252) 808-

2808, in person, or in writing to the North Carolina Division of 

Coastal Management, 400 Commerce Ave., Morehead City, NC 

28557. Notification shall include: 

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the 

landowner and the location of the work, 

including the county, nearest community, and 

water body; and 

(2) the dimensions of the proposed project, 

including proposed landscaping and the 

location of normal high water or normal water 

level. 
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(e)  In eroding areas, this exemption shall apply only when the 

local permit officer has determined that the house has been located 

the maximum feasible distance back on the lot but not less than 

forty feet. 

(f)  Construction of the structure authorized by this exemption 

shall be completed by December 31 of the third year of the 

issuance date of this exemption. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 113A-103(5)c; 

Eff. November 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; May 1, 2015; December 1, 2006; 

December 1, 1991; May 1, 1990; October 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 16 – BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0102 APPLICATION FOR GENERAL 

ANESTHESIA OR SEDATION PERMIT, PERMIT 

RENEWAL, AND PERMIT REINSTATEMENT 

(a)  An applicant for a general anesthesia or sedation permit shall 

be licensed and in good standing with the Board. 

(b)  All permit applications shall be made on the forms furnished 

by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the mailing address; 

(3) the North Carolina dental license number; 

(4) a telephone number; and 

(5) an email address. 

(c)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

all applications for a general anesthesia, moderate conscious 

sedation, moderate pediatric conscious sedation, or minimal 

conscious sedation permit shall include: 

(1) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

applicant intends to use general anesthesia or 

sedation; 

(2) dental education, including dental school name, 

dates attended, degree received, and any other 

dental post-graduate education or specialty 

degrees received; 

(3) a resume or curriculum vitae; 

(4) the names of and copies of unexpired BLS 

certifications for any auxiliaries that will assist 

the applicant with general anesthesia or 

sedation; 

(5) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with applicant's prior use of general 

anesthesia or sedation; and 

(6) documentation of the required qualifications for 

the permit for which the applicant is applying, 

as set out in Rule .0201, .0301, .0404, or .0504 

of this Subchapter. 

(d)  In addition to the information in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

all applications for an itinerant permit shall include: 

(1) North Carolina general anesthesia or sedation 

permit number; and 

(2) a statement of compliance with the 

requirements for the itinerant permit for which 

the applicant is applying, as set out in Rule 

.0206, .0304, or .0406 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  All applications for renewal of a general anesthesia or 

sedation permit shall be submitted electronically through the 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the permit number and expiration date; 

(3) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

permit holder uses general anesthesia or 

sedation; and 

(4) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with use of general anesthesia or 

sedation that occurred during the calendar year 

preceding the application and that were not 

previously disclosed to the Board. 

(f)  All applications for reinstatement of a general anesthesia or 

sedation permit shall be made on forms furnished by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include: 

(1) the full name; 

(2) the permit number and date of issuance; 

(3) the mailing address; 

(4) the North Carolina dental license number; 

(5) the addresses of all dental offices where the 

applicant intends to use general anesthesia or 

sedation; and 

(6) a statement disclosing and explaining any 

instances of patient mortality or morbidity in 

connection with use of general anesthesia or 

sedation that occurred during the calendar year 

preceding the application. 

(g)  Any permit obtained through fraud or by any false 

representation shall be revoked. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0206 ITINERANT (MOBILE) 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT, EQUIPMENT AND 

EVALUATION 

(a)  A dentist who holds a general anesthesia permit from the 

Board and who wishes to provide general anesthesia or other 

sedation services in the office of another practitioner shall obtain 

a mobile general anesthesia permit from the Board by completing 

the application requirements of this Rule and paying a one 

hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and a two-hundred 

seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. No mobile permit 

shall be required to administer general anesthesia in a hospital or 

credentialed surgery center. 

(b)  Before a mobile general anesthesia permit may be issued, a 

general anesthesia permit holder appointed by the Board shall 

inspect the applicant's equipment and medications to ensure that 

they comply with Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  The permit holder shall maintain in good working order the 

following equipment:  
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(1) small, medium, and large supraglottic airways 

devices; 

(2) small, medium, and large anesthesia circuits; 

(3) rebreathing device; 

(4) scavenging system; 

(5) intermittent compression devices; 

(6) gastric suction device; 

(7) endotracheal tube and pulmonary suction 

device; 

(8) equipment for performing emergency 

cricothyrotomies and delivering positive 

pressure ventilation; and 

(9) the equipment required by Rule .0202(a)(1) of 

this Section. 

(d)  A neuromuscular blocking agent, an anti-malignant 

hyperthermia agent, and the medications required by Rule 

.0202(a)(2) of this Section shall be on site, unexpired, and 

available to the permit holder. 

(e)  The evaluation and on-site inspection shall be conducted as 

set out in Rule .0204 of this Section. 

(f)  Prior to administering general anesthesia or sedation at another 

provider's office, the mobile permit holder shall inspect the host 

facility within 24 business hours before each procedure and shall 

ensure that: 

(1) the operatory's size and design permit 

emergency management and access of 

emergency equipment and personnel; 

(2) there is a CPR board or dental chair without 

enhancements suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(3) there is lighting to permit performance of all 

procedures planned for the facility; 

(4) there is suction equipment, including non-

electrical back-up suction; and 

(5) the facility shall be staffed with at least two 

BLS certified auxiliaries, one of whom shall be 

dedicated to patient monitoring and recording 

general anesthesia or sedation data throughout 

the sedation procedure. This Subparagraph 

shall not apply if the dentist permit holder is 

dedicated to patient care and monitoring 

regarding general anesthesia or sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(g)  Upon inspection, the permit holder shall document that the 

facility where the general anesthesia or sedation procedure will be 

performed was inspected and that it met the requirements of 

Paragraph (f) of this Rule. The permit holder shall retain the 

inspection and compliance record required by this Paragraph for 

10 years following the procedure and provide these records to the 

Board upon request. 

(h)  The mobile general anesthesia permit shall be displayed in the 

host facility where it is visible to patients receiving treatment. 

(i)  All applicants for mobile general anesthesia permit shall be in 

good standing with the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0207 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA AND ITINERANT (MOBILE) 

GENERAL ANESTHESIA PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  General anesthesia permits and itinerant general anesthesia 

permits shall be renewed by the Board annually at the same time 

as dental licenses. For each permit to be renewed, the permit 

holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar ($100.00) fee and complete 

the renewal application requirements of this Rule. If the 

completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received before midnight on January 31 of each year, a fifty dollar 

($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The renewal application shall 

be submitted electronically through the Board's website, 

www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the information 

required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a report of 

compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph (d) of 

this Rule. 

(b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a general anesthesia 

permit or itinerant general anesthesia permit before March 31 of 

each year shall complete a reinstatement application, pay the 

renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and 

comply with all conditions for renewal set out in this Rule. 

Dentists whose general anesthesia permits or itinerant general 

anesthesia permits have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar 

months shall pass an inspection and an evaluation as part of the 

reinstatement process in accordance with Rules .0202 and .0204 

of this Section. All applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall 

be in good standing. All applications for reinstatement of a permit 

shall be submitted on forms furnished by the Board at 

www.ncdentalboard.org and shall include the information 

required by Rule .0102(f) of this Subchapter and a report of 

compliance with the conditions for renewal set out in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(c)  A dentist who administers general anesthesia in violation of 

this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed by Rule .0701 

of this Subchapter. 

(d)  As a condition for renewal of the general anesthesia permit 

and itinerant general anesthesia permit, the permit holder shall 

meet the clinical equipment and requirements set out in Rule 

.0202 of this Section, the itinerant general anesthesia permit 

holder shall also meet the clinical equipment and requirements set 

out in Rule .0206 of this Section, and the permit holder shall 

document the following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in general anesthesia and IV 

sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 
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(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures 

have practiced responding to dental 

emergencies as a team at least once every six 

months in the preceding year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in anesthesia or sedation procedures 

have read the practice's emergency manual in 

the preceding year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule. 

(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders 

applying for renewal of a general anesthesia permit or itinerant 

general anesthesia permit shall be in good standing and their 

office shall be subject to inspection by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 

90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0305 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MODERATE PARENTERAL AND ENTERAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  Moderate conscious sedation permits and itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the Board 

annually at the same time as dental licenses. For each permit to be 

renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred dollar 

($100.00) fee and complete the renewal application requirements 

in this Rule. If the completed permit renewal application and 

renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 of 

each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The 

renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a moderate conscious 

sedation permit or itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit 

before March 31 of each year shall complete a reinstatement 

application, pay the renewal fee and late fee set out in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule, and comply with all conditions for renewal set out 

in this Rule. Dentists whose moderate conscious sedation permits 

or itinerant moderate conscious sedation permits have been lapsed 

for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an inspection and an 

evaluation as part of the reinstatement process in accordance with 

Rules .0302 and .0306 of this Section. All applicants for 

reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. All 

applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted on 

forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and shall 

include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this 

Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for 

renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  A dentist who administers moderate conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate conscious sedation 

permit and itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit, the 

permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment requirements 

set out in Rule .0302 of this Section, the itinerant moderate 

conscious sedation permit holder shall also meet the clinical and 

equipment requirements set out in Rule .0304 of this Section, and 

the permit holder shall document the following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in IV sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have practiced 

responding to dental emergencies as a team at 

least once every six months in the preceding 

year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 

practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule. 

(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders 

applying for renewal of a moderate conscious sedation permit or 

itinerant moderate conscious sedation permit shall be in good 

standing and their office shall be subject to inspection by the 

Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 

90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018. 
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21 NCAC 16Q .0407 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MODERATE PEDIATRIC CONSCIOUS SEDATION 

PERMIT REQUIRED 

(a)  Moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits and itinerant 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits shall be renewed 

by the Board annually at the same time as dental licenses. For each 

permit to be renewed, the permit holder shall pay a one-hundred 

dollar ($100.00) fee and complete the renewal application 

requirements in this Rule. If the completed renewal application 

and renewal fee are not received before midnight on January 31 

of each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The 

renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit or itinerant moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit before March 31 of each year shall 

complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late 

fee set out in Paragraph (a) of this Rule, and comply with all 

conditions for renewal set out in Paragraphs (d) and (e) of this 

Rule. Dentists whose moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permits or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permits 

have been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an 

inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process 

in accordance with Rules .0405 and .0408 of this Section. All 

applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. 

All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted 

on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and 

shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this 

Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for 

renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  A dentist who administers moderate pediatric conscious 

sedation in violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties 

prescribed by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  As a condition for renewal of the moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit and itinerant moderate pediatric 

conscious sedation permit, the permit holder shall meet the 

clinical and equipment requirements of Rule .0405 of this Section, 

the itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit holder 

shall also meet the clinical and equipment requirements of Rule 

.0406 of this Section, and the permit holder shall document the 

following: 

(1) six hours of continuing education each year in 

one or more of the following areas, which shall 

be counted toward fulfillment of the continuing 

education required each calendar year for 

license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring IV sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in IV sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired PALS certification, which shall not 

count towards the six hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have practiced 

responding to dental emergencies as a team at 

least once every six months in the preceding 

year; 

(4) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 

practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(5) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and three hours of continuing education 

annually in any of the areas set forth in 

Subparagraph (d)(1) of this Rule. 

(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders 

applying for renewal of a moderate pediatric conscious sedation 

permit or itinerant moderate pediatric conscious sedation permit 

shall be in good standing and their office shall be subject to 

inspection by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 

90-48; 

Eff. June 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; August 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0504 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION CREDENTIALS AND PERMIT 

(a)  Before a dentist licensed to practice in North Carolina may 

administer or supervise a CRNA employed to administer or an RN 

employed to deliver minimal conscious sedation, the dentist shall 

obtain a Board-issued permit for minimal conscious sedation, 

moderate pediatric conscious sedation, moderate conscious 

sedation, or general anesthesia. A dentist may obtain a minimal 

conscious sedation permit from the Board by completing the 

application requirements of this Rule and paying a fee of three-

hundred seventy-five dollars ($375.00) that includes the one-

hundred dollar ($100.00) application fee and the two-hundred 

seventy-five dollar ($275.00) inspection fee. The permit shall be 

renewed annually and shall be displayed with the current renewal 

at all times in the facility of the permit holder where it is visible 

to patients receiving treatment. 

(b)  The minimal conscious sedation permit holder shall ensure 

the level of the sedation administered does not exceed minimal 

conscious sedation as defined in Rule .0101(27) of this 

Subchapter. 

(c)  An applicant for a minimal conscious sedation permit shall 

submit to the Board: 

(1) a completed application form provided by the 

Board at www.ncdentalboard.org that includes 

the information and materials required by Rule 

.0102(b) and (c) of this Subchapter; 

(2) a copy of an unexpired ACLS certification; and 

(3) documentation showing completion of one of 

the following: 
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(A) an 18-hour minimal conscious 

sedation course from the list, available 

on the Board's website, of sedation 

courses reviewed at any public Board 

meeting and approved by a majority of 

the Board based on its collective 

experience; or 

(B) a post-doctoral program accredited by 

the Commission on Dental 

Accreditation (CODA) that provides 

training in administering and 

managing minimal conscious 

sedation. A list of CODA-accredited 

programs is available at no cost at 

www.ada.org/coda and is incorporated 

by reference, including subsequent 

amendments and editions. 

(d)  Prior to issuance of a minimal conscious sedation permit, the 

applicant shall pass an evaluation and facility inspection in 

accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this Section. 

(e)  An applicant shall submit the fee set out in Paragraph (a) and 

satisfy all requirements in Paragraphs (c) and (d) of this Rule for 

the application to be complete. Applications that are not 

completed within one year of being submitted to the Board shall 

be disregarded without a refund of the fee. 

(f)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 90-39; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 13, 2003; December 11, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 3, 2008; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 9, 2018; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2019; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 16Q .0401 Eff. November 9, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0505 MINIMAL CONSCIOUS 

SEDATION CLINICAL REQUIREMENTS AND 

EQUIPMENT 

(a)  A permit holder administering minimal conscious sedation or 

supervising a CRNA employed to administer or RN employed to 

deliver minimal conscious sedation shall ensure that the facility 

where the sedation is administered meets the following 

requirements: 

(1) The facility shall be equipped with the 

following: 

(A) an operatory of size and design to 

permit access of emergency 

equipment and personnel and to 

permit emergency management; 

(B) a CPR board or a dental chair without 

enhancements, suitable for providing 

emergency treatment; 

(C) lighting as necessary for specific 

procedures and back-up lighting; 

(D) suction equipment as necessary for 

specific procedures, including non-

electrical back-up suction; 

(E) positive pressure oxygen delivery 

system, including full face masks for 

small, medium, and large patients and 

back-up E-cylinder portable oxygen 

tank apart from the central system; 

(F) small, medium, and large oral and 

nasal airways; 

(G) blood pressure monitoring device; 

(H) pulse oximeter; 

(I) automatic external defibrillator 

(AED); 

(J) thermometer; 

(K) tonsillar suction with back-up suction; 

and 

(L) syringes as necessary for specific 

procedures. 

(2) The following unexpired drugs shall be 

maintained in the facility and with access from 

the operatory and recovery rooms: 

(A) epinephrine; 

(B) oral antihistamine; 

(C) bronchodilator; 

(D) antihypoglycemic agent; 

(E) appropriate reversal agents; and 

(F) nitroglycerine. 

(3) The permit holder shall maintain written 

emergency and patient discharge protocols. The 

permit holder shall also provide training to 

familiarize auxiliaries in the treatment of 

clinical emergencies. 

(4) The permit holder shall maintain the following 

records for at least 10 years: 

(A) patient's current written medical 

history and pre-operative assessment; 

(B) drugs administered during the 

procedure, including route of 

administration, dosage, strength, time, 

and sequence of administration; and 

(C) a sedation record. 

(5) The sedation record shall include: 

(A) base line vital signs, blood pressure 

(unless patient behavior prevents 

recording), oxygen saturation, pulse 

and respiration rates of the patient 

recorded in real time at 15-minute 

intervals; 

(B) procedure start and end times; 

(C) status of patient upon discharge; 

(D) documentation of complications or 

morbidity; and 

(E) a consent form, signed by the patient 

or guardian, identifying the procedure, 

risks and benefits, level of sedation, 

and date signed. 

(6) During a sedation procedure, the facility shall 

be staffed with at least two BLS certified 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

36:05 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER SEPTEMBER 1, 2021 

331 

auxiliaries, one of whom shall be involved in 

patient monitoring. This Subparagraph shall not 

apply if the permit holder is dedicated to patient 

care and monitoring regarding sedation 

throughout the sedation procedure and is not 

performing the surgery or other dental 

procedure. 

(b)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate the administration of minimal sedation 

on a patient while the evaluator observes. During the 

demonstration, the applicant or permit holder shall demonstrate 

competency in the following areas: 

(1) monitoring blood pressure, pulse, pulse 

oximetry, and respiration; 

(2) drug dosage and administration; 

(3) treatment of untoward reactions, including 

respiratory or cardiac depression if applicable; 

(4) sterile technique; 

(5) use of BLS certified auxiliaries; 

(6) monitoring of patient during recovery; and 

(7) sufficiency of patient recovery time. 

(c)  During an inspection or evaluation, the applicant or permit 

holder shall demonstrate competency to the evaluator in the 

treatment of the following clinical emergencies: 

(1) laryngospasm; 

(2) bronchospasm; 

(3) emesis and aspiration; 

(4) respiratory depression and arrest; 

(5) angina pectoris; 

(6) myocardial infarction; 

(7) hypertension and hypotension; 

(8) allergic reactions; 

(9) convulsions; 

(10) syncope; 

(11) bradycardia; 

(12) hypoglycemia; 

(13) cardiac arrest; and 

(14) airway obstruction. 

(d)  During the evaluation, the applicant shall take a written 

examination on the topics set forth in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this Rule. The applicant must obtain a passing score on the written 

examination by answering 80 percent of the examination 

questions correctly. If the applicant fails to obtain a passing score 

on the written examination that is administered during the 

evaluation, he or she may be reexamined in accordance with Rule 

.0507(h) of this Section. 

(e)  A minimal conscious sedation permit holder shall evaluate 

each patient for health risks before starting any sedation procedure 

as follows: 

(1) The permit holder shall review the patient's 

current medical history and medication use and, 

if the permit holder considers it clinically 

necessary, the permit holder shall consult with 

the patient's treating medical provider. 

(2) A patient who is not medically stable or who is 

ASA III or higher shall be evaluated further by 

the permit holder's consultation with the 

patient's treating primary care physician or 

medical specialist regarding the potential risks 

posed by the procedure the permit holder plans 

to perform. 

(f)  Post-operative monitoring and discharge: 

(1) The permit holder or a BLS certified auxiliary 

under his or her direct supervision shall monitor 

the patient's vital signs throughout the sedation 

procedure until the patient is recovered as 

defined in Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and 

is ready for discharge from the office. 

(2) Recovery from minimal conscious sedation 

shall include documentation of the following: 

(A) cardiovascular function stable; 

(B) airway patency uncompromised; 

(C) patient arousable and protective 

reflexes intact; 

(D) state of hydration within normal 

limits; 

(E) patient can talk, if applicable; 

(F) patient can sit unaided, if applicable; 

(G) patient can ambulate, if applicable, 

with minimal assistance; and 

(H) for the special needs patient or patient 

incapable of the usually expected 

responses, the pre-sedation level of 

responsiveness or the level as close as 

possible for that patient shall be 

achieved. 

(3) Prior to allowing the patient to leave the office, 

the permit holder shall determine that the 

patient has met the recovery criteria set out in 

Subparagraph (f)(2) of this Rule and the 

following discharge criteria: 

(A) oxygenation, circulation, activity, skin 

color, and level of consciousness are 

stable and have been documented; 

(B) explanation and documentation of 

written postoperative instructions 

have been provided to the patient or a 

person responsible for the patient at 

the time of discharge; and 

(C) a person authorized by the patient is 

available to transport the patient after 

discharge. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-28; 90-30.1; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 11, 2002; 

Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 3, 2008; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2019; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 16Q .0402 Eff. November 9, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0506 ANNUAL RENEWAL OF 

MINIMAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT 

REQUIRED 

(a)  Minimal conscious sedation permits shall be renewed by the 

Board annually at the same time as dental licenses by the permit 

holder paying a renewal fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and 

completing the renewal application requirements of this Rule. If 
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the completed permit renewal application and renewal fee are not 

received in the Board's office before midnight on January 31 of 

each year, a fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee shall be charged. The 

renewal application shall be submitted electronically through the 

Board's website, www.ncdentalboard.org, and shall include the 

information required by Rule .0102(e) of this Subchapter and a 

report of compliance with the conditions for renewal in Paragraph 

(d) of this Rule. 

(b)  Any permit holder who fails to renew a minimal conscious 

sedation permit before midnight on March 31 of each year shall 

complete a reinstatement application, pay the renewal fee and late 

fee set out in Paragraph (a), and comply with all conditions for 

renewal set out this Rule. Dentists whose sedation permits have 

been lapsed for more than 12 calendar months shall pass an 

inspection and an evaluation as part of the reinstatement process 

in accordance with Rules .0505 and .0507 of this Section. All 

applicants for reinstatement of a permit shall be in good standing. 

All applications for reinstatement of a permit shall be submitted 

on forms furnished by the Board at www.ncdentalboard.org and 

shall include the information required by Rule .0102(f) of this 

Subchapter and a report of compliance with the conditions for 

renewal set out in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(c)  A dentist who administers minimal conscious sedation in 

violation of this Rule shall be subject to the penalties prescribed 

by Rule .0701 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  As a condition for renewal of the minimal conscious sedation 

permit, the permit holder shall meet the clinical and equipment 

requirements of Rule .0505 of this Section and shall document the 

following: 

(1) three hours of continuing education each year 

in one or more of the following areas, which 

shall be counted toward fulfillment of the 

continuing education required each calendar 

year for license renewal: 

(A) sedation; 

(B) medical emergencies; 

(C) monitoring sedation and the use of 

monitoring equipment; 

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents 

used in sedation; 

(E) physical evaluation, risk assessment, 

or behavioral management; or 

(F) airway management; 

(2) unexpired ACLS certification, which shall not 

count towards the three hours of continuing 

education required in Subparagraph (d)(1) of 

this Rule; 

(3) that the permit holder and all auxiliaries 

involved in sedation procedures have read the 

practice's emergency manual in the preceding 

year; and 

(4) that all auxiliaries involved in sedation 

procedures have completed BLS certification 

and, within the past two years, completed three 

hours of continuing education in any of the 

areas set forth in Subparagraph (d)(1) of this 

Rule. 

(e)  Absent a Board order stating otherwise, all permit holders 

applying for renewal of a minimal conscious sedation permit shall 

be in good standing and their office shall be subject to inspection 

as set out in Rule .0507 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-31; 90-39; 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 16Q .0507 PROCEDURE FOR MINIMAL 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION OR 

INSPECTION AND RE-INSPECTION 

(a)  When an evaluation or on-site inspection is required, the 

Board shall designate one or more persons to serve as evaluators, 

each of whom has administered sedation or general anesthesia in 

accordance with this Subchapter for at least three years preceding 

the inspection. Training in minimal conscious sedation or other 

levels of sedation shall not be counted in the three years. 

(b)  The inspection fee set out in Rule .0504(a) of this Section 

shall be paid no later than 10 days after the applicant or permit 

holder receives notice of the inspection for each additional 

location at which the applicant or permit holder administers 

minimal conscious sedation. 

(c)  Any dentist-member of the Board may observe or consult in 

any evaluation or inspection. 

(d)  Each evaluator shall determine compliance with the 

requirements of the rules in this Subchapter, as applicable, by 

assigning a recommended grade of "pass" or "fail." 

(e)  Each evaluator shall report his or her recommendation to the 

Board through the Board member serving as the Chair of the 

Board's Anesthesia and Sedation Committee, setting forth the 

details supporting his or her conclusion. The Committee Chair 

shall not be bound by these recommendations. The Committee 

Chair shall determine whether the applicant or permit holder has 

passed the evaluation or inspection and shall notify the applicant 

or permit holder in writing of its decision. 

(f)  An applicant who fails an inspection or evaluation shall not 

receive a permit to administer minimal conscious sedation. If a 

permit holder's facility fails an inspection, no further minimal 

conscious sedation procedures shall be performed at the facility 

until it passes a re-inspection by the Board. 

(g)  An applicant or permit holder who fails an inspection or 

evaluation may request a re-evaluation or re-inspection within 15 

days of receiving the notice of failure. The request shall be 

directed to the Board in writing and shall include a statement of 

the grounds supporting the re-evaluation or re-inspection. Except 

as set forth in Paragraph (h) of this Rule, the Board shall require 

the applicant or permit holder to receive additional training prior 

to the re-evaluation to address the areas of deficiency determined 

by the evaluation. The Board shall notify the applicant in writing 

of the need for additional training. 

(h)  An applicant who failed the written examination portion of 

the evaluation but passed all other aspects of the evaluation and 

inspection may retake the written examination two additional 

times at the Board office. The applicant must wait a minimum of 

72 hours before attempting to retake a written examination. Any 

applicant who failed the written portion of the examination three 

times shall complete an additional Board-approved course of 

study in the areas of deficiency and provide the Board evidence 

of the additional study before written reexamination. 
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(i)  Re-evaluations and re-inspections shall be conducted by 

Board-appointed evaluators not involved in the failed evaluation 

or inspection. 

(j)  An applicant must satisfy all the requirements of Rule .0505 

of this Section, including passing the written examination, 

evaluation, and inspection, within 12 months of submitting the 

application to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-30.1; 90-39; 

Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 32 - MEDICAL BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 32M .0109 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0110(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 

(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the primary supervising physician(s) 

shall possess a schedule(s) of 

controlled substances equal to or 

greater than the nurse practitioner's 

DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and 

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 

the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) All prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the name of 

the patient and the nurse practitioner's 

name and telephone number; 

(B) The nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 

substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) a member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean a: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or 

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a physical, 

sexual, or emotionally intimate 

relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-18(c)(14); 90-

18.2; 

Eff. February 1, 1991; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 32M .0106 Eff. January 1, 1996; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; November 1, 

2008; August 1, 2004; May 1, 1999; January 1, 1996; September 

1, 1994; March 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; March 1, 2017. 
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21 NCAC 32M .0117 REPORTING CRITERIA 

(a)  The Department of Health and Human Services 

("Department") may report to the North Carolina Board of 

Nursing ("Board") information regarding the prescribing practices 

of those nurse practitioners ("prescribers") whose prescribing: 

(1) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 morphine milligram 

equivalents ("MME") per patient per day; or 

(2) falls within the top two percent of those 

prescribing 100 MMEs per patient per day in 

combination with any benzodiazepine and who 

are within the top one percent of all controlled 

substance prescribers by volume. 

(b)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who have had two or more 

patient deaths in the preceding 12 months due to opioid poisoning 

where the prescribers authorized more than 30 tablets of an opioid 

to the decedent and the prescriptions were written within 60 days 

of the patient deaths. 

(c)  In addition, the Department may report to the Board 

information regarding prescribers who meet three or more of the 

following criteria, if there are a minimum of five patients for each 

criterion: 

(1) at least 25 percent of the prescriber's patients 

receiving opioids reside 100 miles or greater 

from the prescriber's practice location; 

(2) the prescriber had more than 25 percent of 

patients receiving the same opioids and 

benzodiazepine combination; 

(3) the prescriber had 75 percent of patients 

receiving opioids self-pay for the prescriptions; 

(4) the prescriber had 90 percent or more of 

patients in a three-month period that received 

an opioid prescription that overlapped with 

another opioid prescription for at least one 

week; 

(5) more than 50 percent of the prescriber's patients 

received opioid doses of 100 MME or greater 

per day excluding office-based treatment 

medications; and 

(6) the prescriber had at least 25 percent of patients 

who used three or more pharmacies within a 

three-month period to obtain opioids regardless 

of the prescriber. 

(d)  The Department may submit these reports to the Board upon 

request and may include the information described in G.S. 90-

113.73(b). 

(e)  The reports and communications between the Department and 

the Board shall remain confidential pursuant to G.S. 90-113.74. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-113.74; 

Eff. April 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021; May 1, 2018. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 36 – BOARD OF NURSING 

 

21 NCAC 36 .0809 PRESCRIBING AUTHORITY 

(a)  The prescribing stipulations contained in this Rule apply to 

writing prescriptions and ordering the administration of 

medications. 

(b)  Prescribing and dispensing stipulations are as follows: 

(1) Drugs and devices that may be prescribed by 

the nurse practitioner in each practice site shall 

be included in the collaborative practice 

agreement as outlined in Rule .0810(2) of this 

Section. 

(2) Controlled Substances (Schedules II, IIN, III, 

IIIN, IV, V) defined by the State and Federal 

Controlled Substances Acts may be procured, 

prescribed, or ordered as established in the 

collaborative practice agreement, providing all 

of the following requirements are met: 

(A) the nurse practitioner has an assigned 

DEA number that is entered on each 

prescription for a controlled 

substance; 

(B) refills may be issued consistent with 

Controlled Substance laws and 

regulations; and 

(C) the primary supervising physician(s) 

shall possess a schedule(s) of 

controlled substances equal to or 

greater than the nurse practitioner's 

DEA registration. 

(3) The nurse practitioner may prescribe a drug or 

device not included in the collaborative practice 

agreement only as follows: 

(A) upon a specific written or verbal order 

obtained from a primary or back-up 

supervising physician before the 

prescription or order is issued by the 

nurse practitioner; and 

(B) the written or verbal order as described 

in Part (b)(3)(A) of this Rule shall be 

entered into the patient record with a 

notation that it is issued on the specific 

order of a primary or back-up 

supervising physician and signed by 

the nurse practitioner and the 

physician. 

(4) Each prescription shall be noted on the patient's 

chart and include the following information: 

(A) medication and dosage; 

(B) amount prescribed; 

(C) directions for use; 

(D) number of refills; and 

(E) signature of nurse practitioner. 

(5) Prescription Format: 

(A) all prescriptions issued by the nurse 

practitioner shall contain the name of 

the patient and the nurse practitioner's 

name and telephone number; 

(B) the nurse practitioner's assigned DEA 

number shall be written on the 

prescription form when a controlled 
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substance is prescribed as defined in 

Subparagraph (b)(2) of this Rule. 

(6) A nurse practitioner shall not prescribe 

controlled substances, as defined by the State 

and Federal Controlled Substances Acts, for the 

following: 

(A) nurse practitioner's own use; 

(B) nurse practitioner's supervising 

physician; 

(C) member of the nurse practitioner's 

immediate family, which shall mean a: 

(i) spouse; 

(ii) parent; 

(iii) child; 

(iv) sibling; 

(v) parent-in-law; 

(vi) son or daughter-in-law; 

(vii) brother or sister-in-law; 

(viii) step-parent; 

(ix) step-child; or 

(x) step-siblings; 

(D) any other person living in the same 

residence as the licensee; or 

(E) anyone with whom the nurse 

practitioner is having a physical, 

sexual, or emotionally intimate 

relationship. 

(c)  The nurse practitioner may obtain approval to dispense the 

drugs and devices other than samples included in the collaborative 

practice agreement for each practice site from the Board of 

Pharmacy, and dispense in accordance with 21 NCAC 46 .1703 

that is hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-8.1; 90-8.2; 90-18.2; 90-

18(c)(14); 90-171.23(b)(14); 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 36 .0227(h) Eff. August 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; December 1, 2012; April 1, 2011; 

November 1, 2008; August 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 46 – BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

21 NCAC 46 .2801 COMPOUNDING 

(a)  A pharmacy may dispense a compounded drug preparation to 

a patient only pursuant to a prescription that is valid and complies 

with all requirements of the law, including 21 NCAC 46 .1801. In 

advance of dispensing the compounded drug preparation, a 

pharmacy shall prepare the compounded drug preparation only: 

(1) upon the pharmacy's receipt of a valid 

prescription order for an individual patient; or 

(2) in anticipation of a prescription order based on 

an established history of receiving prescription 

orders for the compounded drug preparation. 

Any compounded drug preparation prepared in 

anticipation of a prescription order shall not be 

dispensed until the pharmacy receives a valid 

prescription order for an individual patient. 

(b)  Compounded drug preparations shall not be offered to other 

entities for resale. 

(c)  A pharmacy may supply compounded drug products to 

practitioners authorized by law to prescribe drugs for those 

practitioners to administer to those practitioners' patients. Such 

compounding for office use shall comply with applicable federal 

law. 

(d)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of non-sterile 

compounded drug preparations shall comply with the standards 

established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <795>, 

including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards 

incorporated into chapter <795> by reference and including all 

subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both 

the non-sterile compounded drug preparations and the physical 

and environmental conditions under which non-sterile 

compounded drug preparations are prepared, labeled, and 

dispensed. 

(e)  The preparation, labeling, and dispensing of sterile 

compounded preparations shall comply with standards 

established by United States Pharmacopeia chapter <797>, 

including all United States Pharmacopeia chapters and standards 

incorporated into chapter <797> by reference and including all 

subsequent amendments and editions of the same, governing both 

the sterile compounded products and the physical and 

environmental conditions under which sterile compounded 

products are prepared, labeled, and dispensed. 

(f)  A pharmacy that prepares, labels, or dispenses sterile 

compounded preparations shall maintain a reference library in the 

pharmacy including the current United States Pharmacopeia 

standards and references on the compatibility, stability, storage, 

handling, and preparation of compounded drugs. These references 

may be either hard copy or electronically accessible. 

(g)  In a pharmacy where compounded drug preparations are 

prepared, labeled, or dispensed, the pharmacist-manager or the 

pharmacist-manager's designated pharmacist shall be 

knowledgeable in the specialized functions of preparing, labeling, 

and dispensing compounded drug preparations. If the pharmacist-

manager chooses to designate another pharmacist for this purpose, 

the pharmacist-manager shall notify the Board on the pharmacy's 

permit application and within 15 days of any change in the 

designation. Notwithstanding the pharmacist-manager's 

designation of another pharmacist as knowledgeable in the 

specialized functions of preparing, labeling, and dispensing 

compounded drug preparations, the pharmacist-manager shall be 

responsible for ensuring the pharmacy's compliance with all 

statutes, rules, and standards that govern such activities. 

(h)  In addition to complying with all recordkeeping and labeling 

requirements specified or referred to by United States 

Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797>, a pharmacy that 

prepares, labels, or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall 

create and maintain a record-keeping system that enables the 

pharmacy immediately upon request to identify every 

compounded drug preparation prepared, labeled, or dispensed in 

the past three years. This recordkeeping system may be created 

and maintained electronically in compliance with 21 NCAC 46 

.2508. 
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(i)  The pharmacist-manager of a pharmacy that prepares, labels, 

or dispenses compounded drug preparations shall comply with all 

quality assurance requirements and standards of United States 

Pharmacopeia chapters <795> and <797>. 

(j)  Between January 1 and March 31 of each year, any pharmacy 

permitted by the Board that has prepared, labeled, or dispensed 

any compounded drug (for any patient or other person, either 

within or outside North Carolina) during the immediately 

preceding calendar year shall update all information regarding its 

services in the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy's e-

Profile Connect system at https://dashboard.nabp.pharmacy.  

(k)  In addition to the requirements of this Section, the 

compounding of radiopharmaceutical drug products shall comply 

with Section .2700 of this Chapter. 

(l)  United States Pharmacopeia chapters <795> or <797> may be 

inspected at the offices of the Board during its normal hours of 

operation. Copies also may be obtained from the U.S. 

Pharmacopeial Convention (www.usp.org), as a free download as 

of the effective date of the last amendment to this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-85.6; 90-85.21A; 90-85.26; 

90-85.32; 

Eff. October 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2015; April 1, 2003; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. October 3, 2017;  

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 48 – BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0107 PERSONS REFUSED 

EXAMINATION PERMISSION 

(a)  The Board shall refuse permission to take the examination to 

any person who: 

(1) Does not meet the requirements as set forth in 

the Physical Therapy Practice Act; 

(2) Furnishes false information to the Board on the 

application; or 

(3) Fails to furnish personal background 

information as required by these Rules. 

(b)  The Board and Federation have authority to approve an 

applicant's exam eligibility. The Board shall approve exam 

eligibility for foreign-trained applicants. The Federation shall 

grant exam eligibility for all other applicants as set forth in 

National Physical Therapy Examination policies, which are 

available free of charge at the Board's office and at 

www.fsbpt.org. 

(c)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the 

examination shall be entitled to petition the Board for a contested 

case hearing pursuant to Subchapter 48G, Section .0500 of this 

Chapter. 

(d)  Any applicant who is refused permission to take the 

examination by the Federation has the option to appeal using the 

policies set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.100; 90-270.103; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 2006; August 1, 2002; December 30, 

1985; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0109 RETAKING EXAMINATION 

(a)  Arrangements for Retake. To retake the examination, the 

applicant shall notify the Board in writing, and pay the retake fee 

as specified in 21 NCAC 48F .0102. The examination cost as set 

forth by the Federation (www.fsbpt.org) is hereby incorporated by 

reference and includes subsequent amendments and editions. If 

the Federation approves exam eligibility, the Federation shall 

administer the retake process according to NPTE policies, which 

may be found at www.fsbpt.org. 

(b)  Limitations. An applicant shall be limited to taking the 

examination the number of times allowed by the Federation as 

indicated on the Federation's website (www.fsbpt.org). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.97; 90-270.100; 

Emergency Regulation Eff. July 23, 1979, for a period of 120 days 

to expire on November 20, 1979; 

Made Permanent Eff. November 20, 1979; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2015; February 1, 1996; November 1, 

1993; August 1, 1988; May 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 48D .0111 APPLICANTS WITH SPECIAL 

NEEDS 

Examination candidates who need special accommodations for 

the examination as a result of a medical or physical disability shall 

file an Accommodation Request Form and supporting 

documentation with the Executive Director at least 60 days before 

the examination date in order for the request to be considered by 

the Board. If the Federation grants exam eligibility, the 

accommodation request shall be made pursuant to Federation 

testing accommodation policy, which may be found at 

www.fsbpt.org. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; P.L. 101-336; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 
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21 NCAC 48E .0101 FILING APPLICATION AND 

BOARD DETERMINATION OF EXAM ELIGIBILITY 

(a)  An applicant for licensure shall ensure that his or her 

credentials are filed with the Executive Director in accordance 

with the rules of this Subchapter. 

(b)  Applicants pursuant to G.S. 90-270.97 shall submit all 

application requirements to the Executive Director at least 30 days 

prior to the examination. 

(c)  The Board shall not approve an application until the applicant 

has graduated as defined by 21 NCAC 48A .0105(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.92; 90-270.95; 90-

270.98(b); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1988; December 30, 1985; October 28, 

1979; 

Recodified Paragraph (c) to 21 NCAC 48C .0501 Eff. January 25, 

1989; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2013; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1996; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 

2018; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 25, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 63 - SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION 

BOARD  

 

21 NCAC 63 .0211 WORK EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(d)(2) for the 

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) credential: 

(1) Two years of post-MSW clinical social work 

experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of 

work or employment for a fee or salary while 

engaged in the practice of clinical social work 

as defined in G.S. 90B-3(6). The 3,000 hours 

shall be accumulated over a period of time not 

less than two years nor more than six 

consecutive years. Practicum or internship 

experience gained as part of any educational 

program shall not be included. Pursuant to G.S. 

93B-15.1(a), military applicants may receive 

credit for military occupational specialty 

experience obtained post MSW degree and 

deemed substantially equivalent to clinical 

social work practice as defined in this Chapter. 

(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean supervision 

by a MSW who is also a Licensed Clinical 

Social Worker and who is in good standing with 

the Board. A supervisor disciplined by any 

professional credentialing body or professional 

organization by legal order, or who has been 

found by legal order to have violated the 

provisions of an occupational licensing Board 

may not provide supervision to an associate 

licensee without the written permission of the 

Board. The Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

Associate's (LCSWA) clinical social work 

supervisor shall have an additional two years of 

clinical social work experience post LCSW 

licensure. 

(3) Appropriate supervision shall be that which is 

provided on a regular basis, conducted no less 

than once every two weeks, with at least one 

hour of supervision during every 30 hours of 

experience. A minimum of 100 hours of 

supervision is required. All work experience 

must be clinical social work as defined by G.S. 

90B-3(6) to qualify as work experience for 

purposes of G.S. 90B-7(d)(2). Appropriate 

supervision may be individual or group 

supervision. Individual supervision shall mean 

one on one, face-to-face supervision by a MSW 

who is also a LCSW where the supervisor 

reviews and discusses clinical social work 

cases, reviews documentation, and provides 

evaluative comments and direction to the 

LCSWA. Group supervision shall mean face-

to-face supervision provided by a MSW who is 

also a LCSW in a group setting, during which 

the supervisor reviews and discusses clinical 

social work cases, reviews documentation, and 

provides feedback and direction to each 

LCSWA in the group. A maximum of 25 hours 

of group supervision may be applied toward 

meeting the supervision requirements for the 

LCSW. 

(4) Unless otherwise preapproved by the Board, no 

more than 50 hours of supervision may be 

provided through the use of technology. The 

clinical supervisor may seek approval by 

providing a written request to the Board. The 

request shall include the parties' information, 

including name, license number, and business 

address; and the circumstances for which the 

additional hours are needed. Approval of the 

request shall be determined on a case by case 

basis, based upon the circumstances provided in 

the request. All supervision provided through 

the use of technology shall be synchronous, 

involve visual and audio interactions 

throughout the entire session, and shall take 

place in such a manner as to maintain the 

confidentiality of the communication. 

(b)  Qualifications as required by G.S. 90B-7(e)(2) for the 

Certified Social Work Manager (CSWM) credential: 

(1) Two years of post social work degree 

experience shall mean 3,000 clock hours of 

employment for a salary while engaged in 

administrative social work duties including, 

policy and budgetary development and 

implementation, supervision and management, 

program evaluation, planning, and staff 

development. Such duties shall be carried out in 
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an administrative setting where social work or 

other mental health services are delivered. The 

3,000 hours shall be accumulated over a period 

of time not less than two years nor more than 

six consecutive years. Practicum or internship 

experience gained as part of any educational 

program shall not be included. 

(2) Appropriate supervision shall mean face-to-

face supervision by a social work administrator 

certified or licensed by the Board who has a 

minimum of two years of administrative 

experience in a social work or mental health 

setting. Appropriate supervision shall be that 

which is provided on a regular basis, conducted 

no less than once every two weeks throughout 

the applicant's two years of administrative 

social work experience. A minimum of 100 

hours of supervision is required. A maximum of 

50 hours of group supervision may be applied 

toward meeting the supervision requirements 

for the CSWM. No more than 50 hours of 

supervision may be provided through the use of 

technology. All supervision provided through 

the use of technology shall be synchronous, 

involve visual and audio interaction throughout 

the entire session, and shall take place in such a 

manner as to maintain the confidentiality of the 

communication. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90B-6; 90B-7; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. October 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2012; January 1, 2009; September 1, 

2005; 

Readopted Eff. February 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 26 - OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

26 NCAC 01 .0103 COST TO PUBLIC 

(a)  Copies of any public records filed in the Office of 

Administrative Hearings are available at the "actual cost" as 

defined in G.S. 132-6.2(b). The Office of Administrative 

Hearings shall provide its "actual cost" on the Office of 

Administrative Hearings website. 

(b)  There is no charge to the requesting party unless the actual 

cost is equal to or exceeds ten dollars ($10.00).  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751; 132-6.2; 150B-19; 

150B-21.25; 150B-37; 

Eff. August 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1990; January 1, 1989; 

Recodified from 26 NCAC 1 .0001 Eff. January 1, 1991; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; May 1, 2001; August 1, 2000; 

February 1, 1994; August 2, 1993; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

26 NCAC 03 .0123 OFFICIAL RECORD 

(a)  The official record of a contested case shall be available for 

public inspection upon request. An administrative law judge may, 

consistent with law, order all or part of an official record sealed. 

(b)  The official record shall be prepared in accordance with G.S. 

150B-37(a). 

(c)  Contested case hearings shall be recorded either by a hearing 

assistant provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings or a 

court reporter listed by the North Carolina Administrative Office 

of the Courts as authorized and approved to prepare transcripts of 

proceedings held in the courts of all counties procured directly by 

one or more parties to the contested case.  

(d)  If a contested case hearing is cancelled, the party responsible 

for the cancellation shall provide a 24-hour cancellation notice to 

the other parties in all cases in which a hearing assistant is 

provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings.  

(e)  Transcripts of proceedings held in the Office of 

Administrative Hearings shall be made only upon request of a 

party. When proceedings are recorded by a court reporter, 

transcript requests shall be made directly to the court reporter. 

When proceedings are recorded by a hearing assistant, transcript 

requests shall be made directly to a transcriptionist listed by the 

North Carolina Administrative Office of the Courts as authorized 

and approved to prepare transcripts of proceedings held in the 

courts of all counties.  

(f)  A party who orders a transcript shall use an Office of 

Administrative Hearings Transcript Contract form to order the 

transcript, which shall include the following information: 

(1) case name and number; 

(2) requestor information; and 

(3) transcriptionist information. 

That form is available on the Office of Administrative Hearings 

website at https://www.oah.nc.gov and may be obtained from the 

Chief Hearings Clerk upon request. The party ordering the 

transcript shall file the transcript contract with the Office of 

Administrative Hearings and shall serve the transcript contract on 

all other parties and the transcriptionist. The transcriptionist shall 

deliver the transcript to the parties and file the transcript with the 

Office of Administrative Hearings by email to 

oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov in PDF format no later than 30 days after 

having been served with the transcript contract. 

(g)  Copies of recordings made by a hearing assistant are available 

upon written request at a cost set out in 26 NCAC 01 .0103. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 7A-751; 150B-37; 

Eff. August 1, 1986; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; April 1, 1990; February 1, 1989; 

November 1, 1987; 

September 1, 1986; 

Recodified from Rule .0122 Eff. August 1, 2000; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 
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This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission September 16, 2021 at 1711 New Hope 

Church Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the 

Commission should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific 

instructions and addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address 

the Commission should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  

Please refer to RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Barbara A. Jackson 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

 September 16, 2021         October 21, 2021 
  November 18, 2021        December 16, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 16, 2021, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Social Services Commission – 10A NCAC 71U .0101, .0201, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0209, 

.0210, .0211, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402; 71V .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 

.0106, .0107, .0108, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, .0205; 71W .0101, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0403, .0404, 

.0405, .0407, .0408, .0410, .0412, .0413, .0502, .0503, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, 

.0704 (May) 
B. Building Code Council - 2020 Electrical Code (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between July 21, 2021 through August 20, 2021 

• Board of Elections (Reeder) 

• Child Care Commission (Reeder) 

• Medical Care Commission (Reeder) 

• DHHS - Division of Health Benefits (Reeder) 

• Commission for Public Health 10A (Reeder) 

• Department of Insurance (Reeder) 

• Wildlife Resources Commission (Reeder) 

• Commission for Public Health 15A (May) 

• Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles (May) 

• Board of Funeral Service (May) 

• Social Work Certification and Licensure Board (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting 

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 

• Next meeting: October 21, 2021  
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Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

July 21, 2021 through August 20, 2021 
 

BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

The rules in chapter 06 concern partisan elections.  
 
The rules in subchapter 06b concern ballots. 

Arrangement of Official Ballots 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 06B .0103 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 9 are child care rules and include definitions (.0100); general provisions related to licensing (.0200); 
procedures for obtaining a license (.0300); issuance of provisional and temporary licenses (.0400); age and 
developmentally appropriate environments for centers (.0500); safety requirements for child care centers (.0600); staff 
qualifications (.0700); health standards for children (.0800); nutrition standards (.0900); transportation standards 
(.1000); continuing education and professional development (.1100); building code requirements for child care centers 
(.1300); space requirements (.1400); temporary care requirements (.1500); family child care home requirements (.1700); 
discipline (.1800); special procedures concerning abuse/neglect in child care (.1900); rulemaking and contested case 
procedures (.2000); religious-sponsored child care center requirements (.2100); administrative actions and civil 
penalties (.2200); forms (.2300); child care for mildly ill children (.2400); care for school-age children (.2500); child care 
for children who are medically fragile (.2600); criminal records checks (.2700); voluntary rated licenses (.2800); 
developmental day services (.2900); NC pre-kindergarten services (.3000); and care for school-age children during 
state of emergency(.3100). 

NC Pre-K Teacher Assistant Education and Credentials 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 09 .3013 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .3101 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .3102 

Public Schools 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .3103 

Adding Space at Licensed Centers for Care of School-Age C... 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 09 .3104 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

The rules in Chapter 13 are from the NC Medical Care Commission.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 13D are rules for the licensing of nursing homes including general information (.2000); licensure 
(.2100); general standards of administration (.2200); patient and resident care and services (.2300); medical records 
(.2400); physician's services (.2500); pharmaceutical services (.2600); dietary services (.2700); activities, recreation 
and social services (.2800); special requirements (.2900); specially designated units (.3000); design and construction 
(.3100); functional requirements (.3200); fire and safety requirements (.3300); and mechanical, electrical, and plumbing 
requirements (.3400). 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13D .2001 
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The rules in Subchapter 13K concern hospice licensing rules including general information (.0100); license (.0200); 
administration (.0300); personnel (.0400); scope of services (.0500); patient/family care (.0600); patient/family care plan 
(.0700); pharmaceutical and medical treatment orders and administration (.0800); medical records (.0900); evaluation 
(.1000); hospice residential care (.1100); and hospice inpatient care (.1200). 

Resident Care Areas 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1109 

Design and Construction 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1112 

Plans and Specifications 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1113 

Plumbing 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1114 

Waste Disposal 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1115 

Application of Physical Plant Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1116 

Requirements for Hospice Inpatient Units 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1201 

Additional Patient Care Area Requirements for Hospice Inp... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1204 

Furnishings for Hospice Inpatient Care 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1205 

Hospice Inpatient Fire and Safety Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1206 

Hospice Inpatient Requirements for Heating/Air Conditioning 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1207 

Hospice Inpatient Requirements for Emergency Electrical S... 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1208 

Hospice Inpatient Requirements for General Electrical 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1209 

Other Hospice Inpatient Requirements 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1210 

Additional Plumbing Requirements for Hospice Inpatient Units 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1211 

Application of Physical Plant Requirements 
Readopt with Changes* 

 10A NCAC 13K .1212 

HHS - HEALTH BENEFITS, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 23 concern medical assistance administration.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 23B concern benefits. 

Issuance 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 23B .0102 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 41 concern epidemiology health. The rules in Subchapter 41A deal with communicable disease 
control and include reporting of communicable diseases (.0100); control measures for communicable diseases including 
special control measures (.0200-.0300); immunization (.0400); purchase and distribution of vaccine (.0500); special 
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program/project funding (.0600); licensed nursing home services (.0700); communicable disease grants and contracts 
(.0800); and biological agent registry (.0900). 

Reporting of COVID-19 Diagnostic Test Results 
Adopt* 

 10A NCAC 41A .0107 

Handling and Transportation of Bodies 
Amend* 

 10A NCAC 41A .0212 

INSURANCE, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 04 are from the Consumer Services Division including general provisions (.0100); market conduct 
examination section (.0200); life: accident and health (.0300); property and liability (.0400); and life insurance 
illustrations (.0500). 

Division Procedures 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0115 

Inquiries and Information 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0116 

Statement of Action 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0117 

Insurance Carriers as Lenders 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0118 

Insurer Defined 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0119 

Policy or Service Fees 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0120 

Premium Payment Receipts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0121 

Power-of-Attorney 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0122 

Use of Specific Company Name in Responses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0123 

Insurance Company Contact Persons 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0124 

Information Used in Claim Settlements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0312 

Provisions of Contracts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0313 

Premium Notices: Payments and Refunds 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0314 

Issuance of Contracts 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0315 

Contestability Clause and Rescission 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0316 

Sex Discrimination: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0317 

Life Insurance Sales: Financing First Year Premium 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0318 

Claims Practices: Life: Accident and Health Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0319 

Student Loans 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0320 

Safe Driver Incentive Plan  11 NCAC 04 .0415 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Billing Procedures for Automobile Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0416 

Drive-In Claim Service Facilities 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0417 

Written Confirmation of Oral Agreements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0420 

Cancellation of Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0422 

Ethical Standards 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0423 

Like Kind and Quality 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0426 

Disclosure Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0427 

Commingling 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0429 

Proof of Mailing; Automobile Insurance 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0430 

Definition of Claimant 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0431 

Refund of Excess Premium on Scheduled Items 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0432 

Refund of Auto Insurance Premium on New Business 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0433 

Scope and Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0501 

Assumed Expenses and Current Scale 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0502 

Illustrated Policies 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0503 

General Rules 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0504 

Standards and Basic Illustrations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0505 

Standards for Supplemental Illustrations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0506 

Delivery of Illustration and Record Retention 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0507 

Annual Reports and Notices to Policy Owners 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0508 

Annual Certifications 
Readopt without Changes* 

 11 NCAC 04 .0509 

WILDLIFE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 10C cover inland fishing including jurisdictional issues involving the Marine Fisheries 
Commission (.0100); general rules (.0200); game fish (.0300); non-game fish (.0400); primary nursery areas (.0500); 
and anadromous fish spawning areas (.0600). 

Manner of Taking Inland Game Fishes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0302 

Flounder, Sea Trout, and Red Drum  15A NCAC 10C .0307 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Muskellunge 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0309 

Pickerel 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0310 

Roanoke and rock bass 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0311 

Sauger 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0312 

Sunfish 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0315 

Walleye 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0317 

White Perch 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0319 

Yellow Perch 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0320 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0501 

Primary Nursery Areas Defined 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0502 

Descriptive Boundaries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0503 

Scope and Purpose 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0601 

Anadromous Fish Spawning Areas Defined 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0602 

Descriptive Boundaries 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10C .0603 

The rules in Subchapter 10F cover motorboats and water safety including boat registration (.0100); safety equipment 
and accident reports (.0200); and local water safety regulations covering speed limits, no-wake restrictions, restrictions 
on swimming and other activities, and placement of markers for designated counties or municipalities (.0300). 

Stanly County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0317 

Montgomery County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0327 

Rowan County 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 10F .0329 

The rules in Subchapter 10I concern endangered and threatened species. 

Endangered Species Listed 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10I .0103 

Threatened Species Listed 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10I .0104 

Special Concern Species Listed 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 10I .0105 

PUBLIC HEALTH, COMMISSION FOR 

The rules in Chapter 18 cover environmental aspects of health such as sanitation (18A), mosquito control (18B), water 
supplies (18C), and water treatment facility operators (18D). The rules in Subchapter 18A deal with sanitation and 
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include handling, packing and shipping of crustacean meat (.0100) and shellfish (.0300 and .0400); operation of 
shellstock plants and reshippers (.0500); shucking and packing plants (.0600); depuration mechanical purification 
facilities (.0700); wet storage of shellstock (.0800); shellfish growing waters (.0900); summer camps (.1000); grade A 
milk (.1200); hospitals, nursing homes, rest homes, etc. (.1300); mass gatherings (.1400); local confinement facilities 
(.1500); residential care facilities (.1600); protection of water supplies (.1700); lodging places (.1800); sewage treatment 
and disposal systems (.1900); migrant housing (.2100); bed and breakfast homes (.2200); delegation of authority to 
enforce rules (.2300); public, private and religious schools (.2400); public swimming pools (.2500); restaurants, meat 
markets, and other food handling establishments (.2600); child day care facilities (.2800); restaurant and lodging fee 
collection program (.2900); bed and breakfast inns (.3000); lead poisoning prevention (.3100); tattooing (.3200); adult 
day service facilities (.3300); primitive camps (.3500); rules governing the sanitation of resident camps (.3600); and 
private drinking water well sampling (.3800).  

Scope 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1934 

Definitions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1935 

Permits 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1937 

Responsibilities 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1938 

Site Evaluation 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1939 

Topography and Landscape Position 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1940 

Soil Characteristics (Morphology) 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1941 

Soil Wetness Conditions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1942 

Soil Depth 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1943 

Restrictive Horizons 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1944 

Available Space 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1945 

Other Applicable Factors 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1946 

Determination of Overall Site Suitability 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1947 

Site Classification 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1948 

Sewage Flow Rates for Design Units 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1949 

Location of Sanitary Sewage Systems 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1950 

Applicability of Rules 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1951 

Septic Tank, Effluent Filter, Dosing Tank and Lift Station... 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1952 

Prefabricated Septic Tanks and Pump Tanks 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1953 

Minimum Standards for Precast Reinforced Concrete Tanks 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1954 

Design Installation Criteria for Conventional Sewage Systems  15A NCAC 18A .1955 
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Repeal* 

Modifications to Septic Tank Systems 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1956 

Criteria for Design of Alternative Sewage 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1957 

Non-Ground Absorption Sewage Treatment Systems 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1958 

Privy Construction 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1959 

Maintenance of Privies 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1960 

Maintenance of Sewage Systems 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1961 

Applicability 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1962 

Interpretation and Technical Assistance 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1964 

Appeals Procedure 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1965 

Severability 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1966 

Injunctions 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1967 

Penalties 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1968 

Approval and Permitting of On-Site Subsurface Wastewater ... 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1969 

Advanced Wastewater Pretreatment System 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1970 

Engineered Option Permit 
Repeal* 

 15A NCAC 18A .1971 

General - Adoption by Reference 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2650 

Definitions 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2651 

Management and Personnel 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2652 

Food 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2653 

Equipment, Utensils, and Linens 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2654 

Water, Plumbing, and Waste 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2655 

Inspections and Reinspections 
Amend* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2661 

General Requirements for Pushcarts and Mobile Food Units 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2670 

Limited Food Service Establishments 
Readopt with Changes* 

 15A NCAC 18A .2674 

The rules in Subchapter 18E concern wastewater treatment and dispersal systems including general provisions (.0100); 
permits (.0200); responsibilities (.0300); design daily flow and effluent characteristics (.0400); soil and site evaluation 
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(.0500); location of wastewater systems (.0600); collection sewers, raw sewage lift stations, and pipe materials (.0700); 
tank capacity, leak testing, and installation requirements (.0800); subsurface dispersal (.0900); non-ground absorption 
wastewater treatment systems (.1000); system dosing and controls (.1100); advanced pretreatment systems standards, 
siting, and sizing criteria (.1200); operation and maintenance (.1300); approval of tanks, risers, effluent filters, and pipe 
penetrations (.1400); approval and use of residential wastewater treatment systems (.1500); approval of pre-engineered 
package drop dispersal systems (.1600); approval and permitting of wastewater systems, technologies, components, 
devices (.1700); 

Scope 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0101 

Applicability 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0102 

Incorporation by Reference 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0103 

Abbreviations 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0104 

Definitions 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0105 

General 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0201 

Application 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0202 

Improvement Permit 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0203 

Construction Authorization 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0204 

Operation Permit 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0205 

Existing System Approvals for Reconnections and Property ... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0206 

Alternative Wastewater System Permitting Options 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0207 

Owners 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0301 

Local Health Department and Department 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0302 

Licensed or Certified Professionals 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0303 

Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0304 

Submittal Requirements for Plans, Specifications, and Rep... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0305 

Design Daily Flow 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0401 

Septic Tank Effluent Characteristics 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0402 

Adjustments to Design Daily Flow 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0403 

Site Evaluation 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0501 

Topography and Landscape Position 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0502 

Soil Morphology  15A NCAC 18E .0503 
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Adopt* 

Soil Wetness Conditions 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0504 

Soil Depth 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0505 

Saprolite 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0506 

Restrictive Horizons 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0507 

Available Space 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0508 

Site Suitability and Classification 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0509 

Special Site Evaluations 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0510 

Location of Wastewater Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0601 

Applicability of Setbacks 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0602 

Collection Sewers 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0701 

Raw Sewage Lift Stations 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0702 

Pipe Materials 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0703 

Septic Tank Capacity Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0801 

Pump Tank Capacity Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0802 

Grease Tank Capacity Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0803 

Siphon Tank Capacity Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0804 

Tank Leak Testing and Installation Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0805 

General Design and Installation Criteria for Subsurface D... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0901 

Conventional Wastewater Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0902 

Bed Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0903 

Large Diameter Pipe Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0904 

Prefabricated Permeable Block Panel Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0905 

Sand Lined Trench Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0906 

Low Pressure Pipe Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0907 

Drip Dispersal Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0908 

Fill Systems  15A NCAC 18E .0909 
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Adopt* 

Artificial Drainage Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0910 

Privies 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .0911 

Alternative Toilets 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1001 

Reclaimed Water Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1002 

General Dosing System Requirements 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1101 

Pump Dosing 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1102 

Control Panels 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1103 

Siphon Dosing 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1104 

Timed Dosing 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1105 

Pressure Dosed Gravity Distribution Devices 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1106 

Advanced Pretreatment System Standards 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1201 

Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1202 

Siting and Sizing Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Syst... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1203 

Advanced Pretreatment Drip Dispersal Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1204 

Advanced Pretreatment Sand Lined Trench Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1205 

Advanced Pretreatment Bed Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1206 

Operation and Maintenance of Wastewater Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1301 

Operation and Maintenance of Advanced Pretreatment Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1302 

Owner Responsibilities for Wastewater System Operation an... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1303 

Management Entity Responsibilities for Wastewater System ... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1304 

Local Health Department Responsibilities for Wastewater S... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1305 

System Malfunction and Repair 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1306 

Wastewater Systems Abandonment 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1307 

Plans for Prefabricated Tanks 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1401 

Tank Design and Construction 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1402 

Tank Material Requirements  15A NCAC 18E .1403 
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Adopt* 

Plans and Specifications for Risers, Effluent Filters, an... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1404 

Risers, Effluent Filters, Pipe Penetration Boots Approval... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1405 

Modification, Suspension, and Revocation of Approvals 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1406 

General 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1501 

Application 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1502 

Design and Construction Standards 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1503 

Sampling Requirements for Residential Wastewater Treatment 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1504 

Residential Wastewater Treatment System Approval Renewal 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1505 

General 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1601 

Design and Construction Standards 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1602 

Drip Dispersal System Testing 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1603 

General 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1701 

Application 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1702 

Department and Commission Application Review 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1703 

Approval Criteria for Provisional Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1704 

Approval Criteria for Innovative Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1705 

Approval Criteria for Accepted Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1706 

Design and Installation Criteria for Provisional, Innovation... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1707 

Modification, Suspension, and Revocation of Approvals 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1708 

Wastewater Sampling Requirements for Advanced Pretreatment... 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1709 

Compliance Criteria for Advanced Pretreatment Systems 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1710 

Provisional and Innovative Approval Renewal 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1711 

Authorized Designers, Installers, and Management Entities 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1712 

Local Health Department Responsibilities 
Adopt* 

 15A NCAC 18E .1713 
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TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Chapter 3 are from the Division of Motor Vehicles.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 3D are from the enforcement section and include general information (.0100); motor vehicle 
dealer, sales, distributor and factory representative licenses (.0200); motor vehicle thefts (.0300); notice of sale and 
stored vehicles (.0400); general information regarding safety inspection of motor vehicles (.0500); weight of vehicles 
and registration enforcement (.0600); approval of motor vehicles safety equipment (.0700); safety rules and regulations 
(.0800); and approval of sun screening devices (.0900). 

Operation of Safety or Emissions Inspection Stations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0523 

Pre-Inspection Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0525 

Safety Equipment Grading Items 
Amend* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0526 

Emission Controls Tampering Check 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0527 

Safety Equipment Emission Inspections 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0528 

Certification 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0529 

Disapproval 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0530 

Reinspection 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0531 

Brakes 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0532 

Lights 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0533 

Horn 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0534 

Steering Mechanism 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0535 

Windshield Wiper 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0536 

Directional Signals 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0537 

Tires 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0538 

Tires - Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0539 

Rear View Mirrors 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0540 

Exhaust Emission Controls 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0541 

Emissions Control Device 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0542 

Inspection Procedure for Emissions Equipment 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0543 

Safety Inspection of Motorcycles 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0544 
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Investigation/Audits/Safety or Emissions Inspection Stations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0545 

Waivers from Emissions Test Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0550 

Window Tinting 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0551 

Photometer Design and Performance Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0552 

FUNERAL SERVICE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 34A concern board functions including general provisions (.0100); and fees and other payments 
(.0200). 

License Renewal Form 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 34A .0119 

The rules in Subchapter 34B are funeral service rules including rules relating to resident trainees (.0100); examinations 
(.0200); licensing (.0300); continuing education (.0400); out-of-state licensees (.0500); funeral establishments (.0600); 
and preparation of dead bodies (.0700). 

Refrigeration 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 34B .0707 

The rules in Subchapter 34C concern crematories including general provisions (.0100); equipment and processing 
(.0200); and authorizations, reports, records (.0300).  

Refrigeration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34C .0202 

The rules in Subchapter 34D are preneed funeral contract rules including general provisions (.0100); licensing (.0200); 
operations (.0300); and preneed recovery fund (.0400). 

Annual Report 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 34D .0302 

SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATION AND LICENSURE BOARD 

The rules in Chapter 63 deal with Social Work Certification including general rules (.0100); certification (.0200); 
examinations (.0300); renewal of certification (.0400); ethical guidelines (.0500); disciplinary procedures (.0600); 
adoption of rules (.0700); and professional corporations and limited liability companies. 

Application Process 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0202 

Transcripts 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0203 

References 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0204 

Substantial Equivalency 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0207 

Application Fee 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0208 

Exam Eligibility 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0209 

Associate Licenses 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0210 
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Temporary Licenses 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0213 

Certification and Licensure for Military Personnel and Mi... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0214 

Qualifying Examinations 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0301 

Cancellation 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0304 

Examination Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0306 

Continuing Education Requirements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0401 

Renewal Application and Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0403 

Reinstatement 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0404 

Required Reporting by Licensee or Certificate Holder of C... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0405 

Military Waiver or Extension of Time for Renewal of Certi... 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0406 

General Professional Responsibilities 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0503 

Responsibilities in Professional Relationships 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0504 

Relationships with Colleagues 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0505 

Pursuit of Research and Scholarly Activities 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0508 

Public Statements 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0509 

Grounds for Disciplinary Procedures 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0601 

Investigation 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0602 

Notice of Charges and Hearing 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0603 

Conduct of Hearing 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0607 

Decision of Board 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0608 

Reporting of Disciplinary Actions 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0609 

Continuances 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0610 

Petitions for Adoption of Rules 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0701 

Temporary Rules 
Repeal* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0703 

Declaratory Rulings 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0704 

Insufficient Fees 
Adopt* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0705 
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Application for a Certificate of Registration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0901 

Renewal of Certificate of Registration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 63 .0902 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

DONALD R. VAN DER VAART 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Michael Byrne 

Selina Malherbe    Karlene Turrentine 

     Linda Nelson 
 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 DOJ 03447 6/14/2021 Christopher Lee 

Maness  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

20 DOJ 03914 6/15/2021 Robert Joseph 

Brewington  

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

20 DOJ 04027 6/25/2021 Heather Chatel 

Blair  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

20 DOJ 05455 6/10/2021 Jose Daniel Palma  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

21 DOJ 00829 6/22/2021 Darren Tyree Taylor  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

             

20 DSC 02922 6/4/2021 Timothy C Roper  v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 DST 05261 7/30/2020; 

6/24/2021 

Kirk Justin Barefoot  v. NC Retirement Systems Division Bawtinhimer 

21 DST 00090 6/15/2021 Evelyn P Hammond  v. North Carolina Total Retirement Plans Bawtinhimer 

             

20 INS 02078 6/2/2021 Dr James Anthony 

McKernan 

Professor  

v. The North Carolina State Health Plan 

for Teachers and State Employees 

Ward 

21 INS 01323 6/29/2021 Rhonda Russell-

Smith  

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Byrne 

        

    Unpublished    

21 ABC 01833 6/4/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Express Mini Mart 1 Inc T/A Express 

Mini Mart 1 

Lassiter 
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21 ABC 01901 6/14/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Smokers Post LLC T/A Smokers Post Bawtinhimer 

             

20 CPA 02840 5/12/2021; 

6/30/2021 

NC State Board of 

Certified Public 

Accountant 

Examiners  

v. Leon Little Rives II #29505 Bawtinhimer 

             

20 CPS 04557 6/30/2021 Johnathan Adams  v. Victims Compensation Commission Mann 

21 CPS 01871 6/9/2021 Marion Lamont 

Sherrod Jr agent for 

Marion Lamont 

Sherrod  

v. North Carolina Department of Adult 

Corrections/Public Safety 

Byrne 

             

20 CSE 04195 6/8/2021 William Glasson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04292 6/16/2021 Kevin S Davenport  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04361 6/21/2021 Michael Smith  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04393 6/25/2021 Kenneth D White  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04396 6/28/2021 Jaime Arturo Alejos 

Mejia  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04518 6/28/2021 Isaiah Callands  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

20 CSE 04693 6/30/2021 Carter Ryan Manley  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04917 6/9/2021 Byron D Black  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 05178 6/9/2021 Justin Tyler Garrett  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 05320 6/14/2021 Rodrigo Alberto 

Conde  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

21 CSE 01299 6/2/2021 Travis L Davidson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

             

21 DHR 01051 6/30/2021 Jennifer Jimenez  v. DSS Mann 

21 DHR 01676 6/2/2021 Sean Hawkins  v. Health Care Personnel Registry May 

21 DHR 01898 6/11/2021 Aaliyah Taylor  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

21 DHR 02116 6/30/2021 Tom LaGarde Haw 

River Ballroom  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Mann 
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21 DOL 01831 6/30/2021 Pani Verma  v. DOL Mann 

             

21 DOT 01593 6/30/2021 Benjamin Riley 

Pierce  

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

             

21 DSA 01505 6/10/2021 Kinetic Minds Inc  v. NC Office of the State Auditor Lassiter 

             

21 EDC 02118 6/14/2021 Essie Mae Kiser 

Foxx Charter 

School  

v. North Carolina State Board of 

Education et al 

May 

             

21 INS 01553 6/24/2021 Chelsea McLean  v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

21 INS 01794 6/14/2021 Cailisha L Petty v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

May 

             

21 MIS 01325 6/11/2021 Nigel Rankin  v. Guilford County Courthouse Angela 

Fox Department of Social Services 

Camelia K Smith & Paige Gilliard 

Childrens Law Center of Central North 

Carolina Jessica Stone Brian Hogan 

Mann 

21 MIS 01326 6/2/2021 Trisha White  v. Sheriffs Office Harvey David Legrant 

Jr Forsyth County Courthouse - Family 

Court C District Logan T Burke Susan 

Frye David Sipprell Lawrence J Fine 

Lisa Menfee Shea Bree Ward Blalock 

Mann 

21 MIS 01442 6/15/2021 Jennifer and Eliseo 

Contreras Jimenez  

v. Department of Social Services Children 

and Families of Forsyth County 

Mann 

             

21 OSP 01243 6/7/2021 Anastahia Johnson  v. East Carolina University Turrentine 

21 OSP 01471 6/22/2021 Jason Yoder  v. NC Department of Public Safety Mann 

             

21 SOS 01555 6/30/2021 Jordan P Archer 

(The Archer 

Foundation)  

v. NC Dpt of the Secretary of State Mann 

 

 


