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GENERAL 

 

The North Carolina Register shall be published twice 

a month and contains the following information 

submitted for publication by a state agency: 

(1) temporary rules; 

(2) text of proposed rules; 

(3) text of permanent rules approved by the Rules 

Review Commission; 

(4) emergency rules 

(5) Executive Orders of the Governor; 

(6) final decision letters from the U.S. Attorney 

General concerning changes in laws affecting 

voting in a jurisdiction subject of Section 5 of 

the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as required by 

G.S. 120-30.9H; and 

(7) other information the Codifier of Rules 

determines to be helpful to the public. 

 

COMPUTING TIME:  In computing time in the schedule, 

the day of publication of the North Carolina Register 

is not included.  The last day of the period so computed 

is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or State 

holiday, in which event the period runs until the 

preceding day which is not a Saturday, Sunday, or 

State holiday. 

 

FILING DEADLINES 

 

ISSUE DATE:  The Register is published on the first and 

fifteen of each month if the first or fifteenth of the 

month is not a Saturday, Sunday, or State holiday for 

employees mandated by the State Personnel 

Commission.  If the first or fifteenth of any month is a 

Saturday, Sunday, or a holiday for State employees, 

the North Carolina Register issue for that day will be 

published on the day of that month after the first or 

fifteenth that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday for 

State employees. 

 

LAST DAY FOR FILING:  The last day for filing for any 

issue is 15 days before the issue date excluding 

Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays for State employees. 

 

NOTICE OF TEXT 

 

EARLIEST DATE FOR PUBLIC HEARING: The hearing 

date shall be at least 15 days after the date a notice of 

the hearing is published. 

 
END OF REQUIRED COMMENT PERIOD 

An agency shall accept comments on the text of a 

proposed rule for at least 60 days after the text is 

published or until the date of any public hearings held 

on the proposed rule, whichever is longer. 

 
DEADLINE TO SUBMIT TO THE RULES REVIEW 

COMMISSION:  The Commission shall review a rule 

submitted to it on or before the twentieth of a month 

by the last day of the next month. 
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Note from the Codifier: The notices published in this Section of the NC Register include the text of proposed rules.  The agency 

must accept comments on the proposed rule(s) for at least 60 days from the publication date, or until the public hearing, or a later 

date if specified in the notice by the agency. If the agency adopts a rule that differs substantially from a prior published notice, 

the agency must publish the text of the proposed different rule and accept comment on the proposed different rule for 60 days. 

Statutory reference:  G.S. 150B-21.2. 
 

TITLE 14B – DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 that the 

Private Protective Services Board intends to amend the rules cited 

as 14B NCAC 16 .0201, .0806, .0904, .1202, and .1203. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://www.ncdps.gov/dps-services/perrnits-licenses/private-

protective-services-board 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  December 1, 2021 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 17, 2021 

Time:  2:00 p.m. 

Location:  3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:  These amendments were 

temporary rules to ease the burden on licensees during the recent 

pandemic. They are being proposed as a permanent amendment 

to alleviate any similar burden for a future national or State 

declared emergency. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Paul Sherwin, 3101 Industrial 

Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609; phone (919) 788-5320; fax 

(919) 715-0370; email paul.sherwin@ncdps.gov 

 

Comment period ends:  October 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

CHAPTER 16 - PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

BOARD 

 

SECTION .0200 - LICENSES: TRAINEE PERMITS 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigation or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 
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(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. During a national or State declared state of 

emergency that restricts or prohibits travel, the personal meeting 

requirement may be waived if requested by the applicant in lieu 

of alternative means of communication. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-12. 

 

SECTION .0800 - ARMED SECURITY GUARD FIREARM 

REGISTRATION PERMIT 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0806 RENEWAL OF ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of an armed security guard firearm 

registration permit identification card or his or her employer shall 

complete an online form on the website provided by the Board. 

This online form shall be submitted not more than 90 days prior 

to expiration of the applicant's current armed registration and shall 

be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history search obtained by 

the reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 12 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; and 

(6) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for a registration renewal 

shall give the applicant a copy of the online application and a copy 

of the completed affidavit form to serve as a record of application 

for renewal and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  Members of the armed forces whose registration is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the registration renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(d)  A registered armed security guard may utilize a dedicated 

light system or gun-mounted light for requalification. 

(e)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a registered armed security guard from 

requalifying, the Board may extend the deadline for 

requalification up to 60 days beyond the effective period of the 

state of emergency. Any registration renewed pursuant to this 

Paragraph shall be issued conditionally and shall automatically 

expire on the 60th day if requalification requirements have not 

been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .0900 – TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0904 RENEWAL OF A FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a firearms trainer certificate 

shall complete an online renewal form on the website provided by 

the Board. This form shall be submitted online not less than 30 

days prior to the expiration of the applicant's current certificate 

and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) uploaded online a certificate of successful 

completion of a firearms trainer refresher 

course approved by the Board and the Secretary 

of Public Safety consisting of a minimum of 

eight hours of classroom and practical range 

training in safety and maintenance of the 

applicable firearm (i.e. handgun, shotgun, or 

rifle), range operations, control and safety 

procedures, and methods of firing. This training 

shall be completed within 180 days of the 

submission of the renewal application; 

(2) uploaded online a statement of the results of a 

criminal history records search by the reporting 

service designated by the Board pursuant to 

G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state where the 

applicant has resided within the preceding 48 

months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with the four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board. 

(b)  Members of the armed forces whose certification is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 
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the certification renewal fee and to complete any continuing 

education requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the 

military order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue 

Service or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

(c)  Any firearms trainer who fails to qualify with the minimum 

score during the refresher course shall not continue to instruct 

during the period between the failure to qualify and the expiration 

of his or her permit. 

(d)  The holder of a firearms trainer certificate may utilize a 

dedicated light system or gun mounted light for personal 

requalification. 

(e)  During a national or State declared state of emergency that 

restricts or prohibits a certified firearms trainer from requalifying, 

the Board may extend the deadline for requalification up to 60 

days beyond the effective period of the state of emergency. Any 

certificate renewed pursuant to this Paragraph shall be issued 

conditionally and shall automatically expire on the 60th day if 

requalification requirements have not been met. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13. 

 

SECTION .1200 – CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1202 REQUIRED CONTINUING 

EDUCATION HOURS 

(a)  Each licensee shall complete 12 credit hours of continuing 

education training during each two year renewal period. 

(b)  Credit shall be given only for classes that have been approved 

by the Board as set forth in Rule .1203 of this Section. 

(c)  A licensee who attends a complete meeting of a regularly 

scheduled meeting of the Board shall receive two credit hours for 

each meeting that the licensee attends, with credit being given for 

a maximum of two meetings per year with no more than four 

credit hours per year and eight credit hours per renewal period. 

(d)  No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during a 

renewal period for online courses. However, during a national or 

State declared state of emergency that restricts or prohibits a 

licensee from attending live continuing education courses or a 

meeting of the Board, all required hours may be obtained online 

and credit shall be given upon written request to the Director. 

(e)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-22. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course content changes or the course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 

(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during 

a renewal period for online courses. 

(h)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22. 

 

 

TITLE 15A – DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.2 and 

G.S. 150B-21.3A(c)(2)g. that the Marine Fisheries Commission 

intends to adopt the rule cited as 15A NCAC 03L .0210, readopt 

with substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 03L .0207, 

.0301, .0302; 03M .0302, .0519; 18A .0134, .0136-.0139, .0144, 
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.0145, .0147-.0149, .0151-.0153, .0156-.0158, .0161, .0162, 

.0164-.0166, .0168, .0173-.0178, .0181-.0187, .0191, readopt 

without substantive changes the rules cited as 15A NCAC 03I 

.0108, .0115, .0122; 03J .0103, .0104, .0106, .0111, .0202, .0208, 

.0401, .0402, and repeal through readoption the rules cited as 

15A NCAC 03M .0301, .0511, and .0516. 

 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.2(c)(1), the text of the rule(s) proposed 

for readoption without substantive changes are not required to be 

published.  The text of the rules are available on the OAH website:  

http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp. 

 

Link to agency website pursuant to G.S. 150B-19.1(c):  

https://deq.nc.gov/mfc-proposed-rules 

 

Proposed Effective Date:  April 1, 2022 except:  15A NCAC 03J 

.0103, .0104, .0106, .0111, .0202, .0208, .0402; 03L .0210, .0301; 

03M .0302, .0519 – Pending Legislative Review 

 

Public Hearing: 

Date:  August 18, 2021 

Time:  6:00 p.m. 

Location:   

WebEx Events meeting link:   

https://ncdenrits.webex.com/ncdenrits/onstage/g.php?MTID=ed

a06363d0c775c9de22e7ff40585bbeb  

Event number:  161 284 4183 

Event password:  1234  

Event phone number:  1-415-655-0003 

 

Reason for Proposed Action:   

15A NCAC 03I .0108 OCEAN FISHING PIERS 

15A NCAC 03I .0115 REPLACEMENT COSTS OF 

MARINE AND ESTUARINE RESOURCES - FISH 

15A NCAC 03I .0122 USER CONFLICT RESOLUTION 

15A NCAC 03J .0103 GILL NETS, SEINES, 

IDENTIFICATION, RESTRICTIONS 

15A NCAC 03J .0104 TRAWL NETS 

15A NCAC 03J .0106 CHANNEL NETS 

15A NCAC 03J .0111 FYKE OR HOOP NETS 

15A NCAC 03J .0202 ATLANTIC OCEAN 

15A NCAC 03J .0208 NEW RIVER 

15A NCAC 03J .0401 FISHING GEAR 

15A NCAC 03J .0402 FISHING GEAR RESTRICTIONS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these general rules and 

gear rules are proposed for readoption with no changes. 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0207 HORSESHOE CRABS 

15A NCAC 03L .0301 AMERICAN LOBSTER (NORTHERN 

LOBSTER) 

15A NCAC 03L .0302 SPINY LOBSTER 

15A NCAC 03M .0301 SPANISH AND KING MACKEREL 

15A NCAC 03M .0302 PURSE GILL NET PROHIBITED 

15A NCAC 03M .0511 BLUEFISH 

15A NCAC 03M .0516 COBIA 

15A NCAC 03M .0519 SHAD 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these rules are proposed for 

readoption and repeal through readoption. The management and 

harvest restrictions of North Carolina’s interjurisdictional fishery 

species are implemented through a state fishery management plan 

and Marine Fisheries Commission rules that coordinate with 

relevant interstate and federal regulatory bodies. Over time, 

regulation of these species in North Carolina has shifted towards 

ongoing proclamations and rule suspensions by the Fisheries 

Director in order to keep pace with shifting interstate and federal 

regulations. The proposed amendments and repeals through 

readoption seek to formalize proclamation authority of several 

interjurisdictional species in rule and remove existing harvest 

requirements that are likely to become out of date. The proposed 

changes would conform with existing management practices by 

the Division of Marine Fisheries and would increase the 

division’s efficiency in managing these species. 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0210 REPACKING OF FOREIGN CRAB 

MEAT PROHIBITED 

15A NCAC 18A .0136 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

15A NCAC 18A .0173 REPACKING 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A and following recent 

developments in North Carolina where foreign crab meat was 

fraudulently marketed and sold as domestic blue crab, the Marine 

Fisheries Commission developed rules to prohibit the repacking 

of foreign crab meat in the state to prevent future fraud and 

improve consumer confidence moving forward. One rule is 

proposed for adoption (15A NCAC 03L .0210) that prohibits the 

repacking of foreign crab meat in North Carolina into another 

container. This does not affect value-added crab products, such 

as crab cakes. Two existing rules for readoption (15A NCAC 18A 

.0136, .0173) are proposed with changes to conform to the new 

repacking rule. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0134 DEFINITIONS 

15A NCAC 18A .0137 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR 

OPERATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0138 SUPERVISION 

15A NCAC 18A .0139 FACILITY FLOODING 

15A NCAC 18A .0144 INSECT CONTROL 

15A NCAC 18A .0145 RODENT AND ANIMAL CONTROL 

15A NCAC 18A .0147 WATER SUPPLY 

15A NCAC 18A .0148 ICE 

15A NCAC 18A .0149 PLUMBING 

15A NCAC 18A .0151 TOILETS 

15A NCAC 18A .0152 SOLID WASTE 

15A NCAC 18A .0153 PERSONAL HYGIENE 

15A NCAC 18A .0156 EQUIPMENT AND UTENSIL 

CONSTRUCTION 

15A NCAC 18A .0157 FACILITY AND EQUIPMENT 

SANITATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0158 EQUIPMENT STORAGE 

15A NCAC 18A .0161 CRUSTACEA COOKING 

15A NCAC 18A .0162 COOKED CRUSTACEA AIR-COOL 

15A NCAC 18A .0164 COOKED CRUSTACEA PICKING 

15A NCAC 18A .0165 PACKING 

15A NCAC 18A .0166 PICKED CRUSTACEA MEAT 

REFRIGERATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0168 SINGLE-SERVICE CONTAINERS 

15A NCAC 18A .0174 PASTEURIZATION PROCESS 

CONTROLS-THERMOMETERS 
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15A NCAC 18A .0175 PREPARATION OF CRUSTACEA 

MEAT FOR PASTEURIZATION 

15A NCAC 18A .0176 PASTEURIZATION OF CRUSTACEA 

MEAT 

15A NCAC 18A .0177 LABELING OF PASTEURIZED 

CRUSTACEA MEAT 

15A NCAC 18A .0178 INTERFACILITY PASTEURIZATION 

PROCEDURES 

15A NCAC 18A .0181 EMBARGO OR DISPOSAL OF 

COOKED CRUSTACEA OR CRUSTACEA MEAT 

15A NCAC 18A .0182 BACTERIOLOGICAL AND 

CONTAMINATION STANDARDS 

15A NCAC 18A .0183 ALTERNATIVE LABELING 

15A NCAC 18A .0184 THERMAL PROCESSING 

CONTROLS-THERMOMETERS 

15A NCAC 18A .0185 THERMAL PROCESSING OF 

CRUSTACEA AND CRUSTACEA MEAT 

15A NCAC 18A .0186 LABELING OF THERMALLY 

PROCESSED CRUSTACEA OR CRUSTACEA MEAT 

15A NCAC 18A .0187 INTERFACILITY THERMAL 

PROCESSING PROCEDURES 

15A NCAC 18A .0191 MONITORING RECORDS 

In accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3A, these rules that relate to 

standards for commercial crustacea meat sanitation and 

processing procedures are proposed for readoption. All proposed 

changes are either intended to provide heightened clarity to rule 

language, or to conform rule language around crustacea meat 

storage, processing, and facility maintenance to that of ongoing 

practice by Division of Marine Fisheries staff and licensed 

seafood processors and dealers. The proposed readoptions also 

contain amendments that are of an administrative nature to 

update the rules. In all, the rules are proposed for readoption with 

no changes to division procedures. 

 

Comments may be submitted to:  Catherine Blum, P.O. Box 

769, Morehead City, NC 28557 

Written comments may also be submitted via an online form 

available at https://deq.nc.gov/mfc-proposed-rules 

 

Comment period ends:  October 1, 2021 

 

Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative 

Review: If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the 

rule, a person may also submit written objections to the Rules 

Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives 

written and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-

21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly requesting review by 

the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the 

rule, the rule will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-

21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written objections until 

5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves 

the rule. The Commission will receive those objections by mail, 

delivery service, hand delivery, or email. If you have any further 

questions concerning the submission of objections to the 

Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 984-236-

1850. 

 

Rules automatically subject to legislative review:  15A NCAC 03J 

.0103, .0104, .0106, .0111, .0202, .0208, .0402; 03L .0210, .0301; 

03M .0302, .0519 

Statutory reference:  S.L. 2019-198 

 

Fiscal impact. Does any rule or combination of rules in this 

notice create an economic impact? Check all that apply. 

 State funds affected 

 Local funds affected 

 Substantial economic impact (>= $1,000,000) 

 Approved by OSBM 

 No fiscal note required 

 

CHAPTER 03 - MARINE FISHERIES 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03I – GENERAL RULES 

 

SECTION .0100 – GENERAL RULES 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0108 OCEAN FISHING PIERS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0115 REPLACEMENT COSTS OF 

MARINE AND ESTUARINE RESOURCES - FISH 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03I .0122 USER CONFLICT RESOLUTION 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03J - NETS, POTS, DREDGES, AND 

OTHER FISHING DEVICES 

 

SECTION .0100 - NET RULES, GENERAL 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0103 GILL NETS, SEINES, 

IDENTIFICATION, RESTRICTIONS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0104 TRAWL NETS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0106 CHANNEL NETS (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0111 FYKE OR HOOP NETS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SECTION .0200 - NET RULES, SPECIFIC AREAS 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0202 ATLANTIC OCEAN 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0208 NEW RIVER (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03J - NETS, POTS, DREDGES, AND 

OTHER FISHING DEVICES 

 

SECTION .0400 - FISHING GEAR 
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15A NCAC 03J .0401 FISHING GEAR (READOPTION 

WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

15A NCAC 03J .0402 FISHING GEAR RESTRICTIONS 

(READOPTION WITHOUT SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03L – SHRIMPS, CRAB, AND LOBSTER 

 

SECTION .0200 – CRABS 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0207 HORSESHOE CRABS 

(a)  The annual (January through December) commercial quota 

for North Carolina for horseshoe crabs is established by the 

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission Interstate Fishery 

Management Plan for Horseshoe Crab. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any or 

all of the following restrictions on the taking of horseshoe crabs 

to maintain compliance with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Horseshoe 

Crab: Crab or to implement state management measures: 

(1) Specify season; 

(2) Specify areas; 

(3) Specify quantity; 

(4) Specify means and methods; and 

(5) Specify size. 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

(c)  Horseshoe crabs taken for biomedical use under a Horseshoe 

Crab Biomedical Use Permit are subject to this Rule. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0210 REPACKING OF FOREIGN 

CRAB MEAT PROHIBITED 

It shall be unlawful to repack foreign crab meat in North Carolina 

into another container. This Rule shall apply to all facilities and 

persons permitted in accordance with 15A NCAC 18A .0135. 

This Rule does not apply to crab meat that has been transformed 

into another product, such as crab cakes or other value-added 

products. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0300 – LOBSTER 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0301 AMERICAN LOBSTER 

(NORTHERN LOBSTER) 

(a)  It is shall be unlawful to possess American lobster: 

(1) with a carapace less than 3 3/8 inches or greater 

than 5 1/4 inches; 

(2)(1) which that has eggs or from which eggs have 

been artificially removed by any method; 

(3)(2) meats, detached meats, detached tails or claws 

claws, or any other part of a lobster that has 

been separated from the lobster; 

(4)(3) which that has an outer shell which has been 

speared; or 

(5)(4) that is a V-notched female lobster. A V-notched 

female lobster is any female lobster that bears a 

notch or indention in the base of the flipper that 

is at least as deep as 1/8 inch, with or without 

setal hairs. A V-notched female lobster is also 

any female lobster which that is mutilated in a 

manner which that would hide, obscure 

obscure, or obliterate such a mark; or mark. 

(6) in quantities greater than 100 per day or 500 per 

trip for trips five days or longer taken by gear 

or methods other than traps. 

(b)  American lobster traps not constructed entirely of wood 

(excluding heading or parlor twine and the escape vent) must 

contain a ghost panel that meets the following specifications: 

(1) the opening to be covered by the ghost panel 

shall be not less than 3 3/4 inches (9.53 cm) by 

3 3/4 inches (9.53 cm); 

(2) the panel must be constructed of, or fastened to 

the trap with, one of the following untreated 

materials: wood lath, cotton, hemp, sisal or jute 

twine not greater than 3/16 inch (0.48 cm) in 

diameter, or non-stainless, uncoated ferrous 

metal not greater than 3/32 inch (0.24 cm) in 

diameter; 

(3) the door of the trap may serve as the ghost 

panel, if fastened with a material specified in 

this Section; 

(4) the ghost panel must be located in the outer 

parlor(s) of the trap and not the bottom of the 

trap; and 

(5) contains at least one rectangular escape vent per 

trap, 2 inches by 5 3/4 inches minimum size, or 

two circular escape vents per trap, with a 

minimum inside diameter of 2 5/8 inches. 

(b)  The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of 

the following restrictions on the taking of American lobster to 

maintain compliance with the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission Interstate Fishery Management Plan for American 

Lobster or to implement state management measures: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 113-221.1; 

143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03L .0302 SPINY LOBSTER 

It is unlawful to: 

(1) Possess a egg bearing spiny lobster or a spiny 

lobster from which eggs have been stripped, 

scrubbed or removed; 

(2) Possess spiny lobster with a carapace length 

less than 3 inches; 
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(3) Possess aboard a vessel or land more than two 

spiny lobsters per person; 

(4) Possess aboard a vessel or land detached spiny 

lobster tails; or 

(5) Take spiny lobsters with a gaff hook, spear or 

similar device. Possession of a speared, pierced, 

or punctured spiny lobster is prima facie 

evidence that prohibited gear was used. 

The Fisheries Director may, by proclamation, impose any of the 

following restrictions on the taking of spiny lobster to maintain 

compliance with the Fishery Management Plan for Spiny Lobster 

in the Gulf of Mexico and the South Atlantic or to implement state 

management measures: 

(1) specify time; 

(2) specify area; 

(3) specify means and methods; 

(4) specify season; 

(5) specify size; and 

(6) specify quantity. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52. 

 

SUBCHAPTER 03M - FINFISH 

 

SECTION .0300 - SPANISH AND KING MACKEREL 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0301 SPANISH AND KING 

MACKEREL 

(a)  Spanish Mackerel: 

(1) It is unlawful to possess Spanish mackerel less 

than 12 inches fork length. 

(2) It is unlawful to possess more than 15 Spanish 

mackerel per person per day taken for 

recreational purposes. 

(3) It is unlawful to possess more than 15 Spanish 

mackerel per person per day in the Atlantic 

Ocean beyond three miles in a commercial 

fishing operation except for persons holding a 

valid National Marine Fisheries Service 

Spanish Mackerel Commercial Vessel Permit. 

(b)  King mackerel: 

(1) It is unlawful to possess king mackerel less than 

24 inches fork length. 

(2) It is unlawful to possess more than three king 

mackerel per person per day taken for 

recreational purposes. 

(3) It is unlawful to possess more than three king 

mackerel per person per day in the Atlantic 

Ocean: 

(A) by hook and line except for persons 

holding a valid National Marine 

Fisheries Service King Mackerel 

Commercial Vessel Permit; or 

(B) between three miles and 200 miles 

from the State's mean low water mark 

in a commercial fishing operation 

except for persons holding a valid 

National Marine Fisheries Service 

King Mackerel Commercial Vessel 

Permit. 

(4) It is unlawful to use gill nets in the Atlantic 

Ocean to take more than three king mackerel 

per person per day south of 34° 37.3000' N 

(Cape Lookout). 

(c)  Charter vessels or head boats that hold a valid National Marine 

Fisheries Service Coastal Migratory Pelagic (Charter Boat and 

Head Boat) permit must comply with the Spanish mackerel and 

king mackerel possession limits established in Subparagraphs 

(a)(2) and (b)(2) of this Rule when fishing with more than three 

persons (including the captain and mate) on board. 

(d)  It is unlawful to possess aboard or land from a vessel, or 

combination of vessels that form a single operation, more than 

3,500 pounds of Spanish or king mackerel, in the aggregate, in 

any one day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0302 PURSE GILL NET PROHIBITED 

It is shall be unlawful to have a purse gill net on board a vessel 

when taking or landing Spanish or King Mackerel. king mackerel. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

SECTION .0500 – OTHER FINFISH 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0511 BLUEFISH 

It is unlawful to possess more than 15 bluefish per person per day 

for recreational purposes. Of these 15 bluefish, it is unlawful to 

possess more than five bluefish that are greater than 24 inches 

total length. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0516 COBIA 

(a)  It is unlawful to possess cobia less than 33 inches fork length. 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than two cobia per person per 

day. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 03M .0519 SHAD 

(a)  It is unlawful to take American shad and hickory shad by any 

method except hook-and-line from April 15 through December 

31. 

(b)  It is unlawful to possess more than 10 American shad or 

hickory shad, in the aggregate, per person per day taken by hook-

and-line or for recreational purposes. 

(c)  It is shall be unlawful to take or possess American shad from 

the Atlantic Ocean. 

 

Authority G.S. 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.1; 143B-289.52. 

 

CHAPTER 18 - ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 

 

SUBCHAPTER 18A - SANITATION 
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SECTION .0100 – HANDLING, PACKING, AND 

SHIPPING OF CRUSTACEA MEAT 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0134 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply throughout to this Section; 

however, nothing in this Section shall be construed as expanding 

or restricting the definitions in G.S. 106-129 and G.S. 106-130: 

(1) "Adulterated" as used in G.S. 106-129 means 

the following: 

(a) Any any cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat that does not comply with these 

Rules; the rules in this Section; 

(b) Any any cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat which that exceeds the 

bacteriological standards in Rule 

.0182 of this Section; or 

(c) Any any cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat which that has been deemed to be 

an imminent hazard; hazard. 

(2) "Code date" means the date conspicuously 

placed on the container to indicate the date that 

the product was packed. 

(3) "Cook" means to prepare or treat raw crustacea 

by heating. 

(4) "Critical control point" means a point, step step, 

or procedure in a food process at which a 

control can be applied, applied and a food 

safety hazard can can, as a result result, be 

prevented, eliminated eliminated, or reduced to 

acceptable levels. 

(5) "Critical limit" means the maximum or 

minimum value to which a physical, biological 

biological, or chemical parameter must shall be 

controlled at a critical control point to prevent, 

eliminate eliminate, or reduce to an acceptable 

level the occurrence of the identified food 

safety hazard. 

(6) "Crustacea meat" means the meat of crabs, 

lobster, shrimp shrimp, or crayfish. 

(7) "Division" means the Division of 

Environmental Health or its authorized agent. 

Marine Fisheries. 

(8) "Easily cleanable" means a surface that is 

readily accessible and made of such materials, 

has a finish, and is so fabricated that residues 

may be effectively removed by normal cleaning 

methods. 

(8)(9) "Food-contact surface" means the parts of 

equipment, including auxiliary equipment, 

which that may be in contact with the food 

being processed, or which that may drain into 

the portion of equipment with which food is in 

contact. 

(9)(10) "Food safety hazard" means any biological, 

chemical chemical, or physical property that 

may cause a food to be unsafe for human 

consumption. 

(10)(11) "Foreign" means any place or location outside 

the United States. 

(11)(12) "Fresh crustacea" means a live, raw raw, or 

frozen raw crab, lobster, shrimp shrimp, or 

crayfish which that shows no decomposition. 

(12)(13) "HACCP plan" means a written document that 

delineates the formal procedures a dealer 

follows to implement food safety controls. 

(13)(14) "Hazard analysis critical control point 

(HACCP)" means a system of inspection, 

control control, and monitoring measures 

initiated by a dealer to identify microbiological, 

chemical chemical, or physical food safety 

hazards which that are likely to occur in 

shellfish products produced by the dealer. 

(14)(15) "Imminent hazard" means a situation which that 

is likely to cause an immediate threat to human 

life, an immediate threat of serious physical 

injury, an immediate threat of serious physical 

adverse health effects, or a serious risk of 

irreparable damage to the environment if no 

immediate action is taken. 

(15)(16) "Internal temperature" means the temperature 

of the product as opposed to the ambient 

temperature. 

(16)(17) "Misbranded" as used in G.S. 106-130 means 

any container of cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat which that is not labeled in compliance 

with these Rules. the rules in this Section. 

(18) "Most probable number (MPN)" means a 

statistical estimate of the number of bacteria per 

unit volume and is determined from the number 

of positive results in a series of fermentation 

tubes. 

(17)(19) "Operating season" means the season of the 

year during which a crustacea product is 

processed. 

(18)(20) "Pasteurization" means the process of heating 

every particle of crustacea meat in a 

hermetically-sealed 401 by 301 one pound 

container to a temperature of at least 185°F 

(85°C) 185° F (85° C) and holding it 

continuously at or above this temperature for at 

least one minute at the geometric center of a 

container in properly operated equipment. 

equipment being operated in compliance with 

the Process Validation Study Report. The term 

includes any other process which that has been 

found equally effective by the Division. 

(19)(21) "Pasteurization date" means a code 

conspicuously placed on the container to 

indicate the date that the product was 

pasteurized. 

(20) "Person" means an individual, corporation, 

company, association, partnership, unit of 

government or other legal entity. 

(22) "Process Validation Study Report" means a 

report of tests that shows a piece of equipment 

can produce time-temperature results as 

required by the rules of this Section, and the 

procedures required to achieve such results. 
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(21)(23) "Processing" means any of the following 

operations when carried out in conjunction with 

the cooking of crustacea or crustacea meat: 

receiving, refrigerating, air-cooling, picking, 

packing, repacking, thermal processing, or 

pasteurizing. 

(22)(24) "Repacker" means a facility which that repacks 

cooked crustacea meat into other containers. 

(23)(25) "Responsible person" means the individual 

present in a cooked crustacea facility who is the 

apparent supervisor of the cooked crustacea 

facility at the time of the inspection. If no 

individual is the apparent supervisor, then any 

employee is the responsible person. 

(26) "Retort" means a pressure vessel used to cook 

raw crustacea. 

(24)(27) "Sanitize" means a bactericidal treatment by a 

process which meets the temperature and 

chemical concentration levels in 15A NCAC 

18A .2619. to treat food contact surfaces by a 

process that is effective in: 

(a) destroying vegetative cells of 

microorganisms of public health 

significance; 

(b) substantially reducing the numbers of 

other undesirable microorganisms; 

and 

(c) not adversely affecting the product or 

its safety for the consumer. 

(25) "Standardization report" means a report of tests 

which show that a piece of equipment can 

produce time/temperature results as required by 

these Rules. 

(26)(28) "Thermal processing" means the heating of 

previously cooked crustacea or crustacea meat 

to a desired temperature for a specified time at 

the geometric center of a container in properly 

operated equipment. equipment being operated 

in compliance with the Process Validation 

Study Report. 

 

Authority G.S. 106-129; 106-130; 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 

113-221.2; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0136 APPLICABILITY OF RULES 

The Rules rules in this Section shall apply to the operation of all 

facilities and persons permitted in Rule .0135 of this Section and 

all other businesses and persons that buy, sell, transport transport, 

or ship cooked crustacea or crustacea meat which that has not 

been transformed into another product. Foreign crustacea meat 

processed in North Carolina shall comply with all applicable 

Federal requirements. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0137 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

FOR OPERATION 

(a)  During the operating season the processing portion of the 

facility shall be used for no purpose other than the processing of 

cooked crustacea or crustacea meat. 

(b)  Retail sales of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall not 

be made from any processing portion of the facility. 

(c)  Accurate records of all purchases and sales of crustacea and 

crustacea meat shall be maintained for one year. The records shall 

be available for inspection by the Division. Division of Marine 

Fisheries. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0138 SUPERVISION 

(a)  The owner or responsible person shall supervise the 

processing operation and be responsible for compliance with the 

rules of this Section. Section, including compliance with personal 

hygiene requirements as set forth in Rule .0153 of this Section. 

(b)  No unauthorized persons shall be allowed in the facility 

during the periods of operation. 

(c)  The owner or responsible person shall observe employees 

daily to ensure compliance with Rule .0153 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0139 FACILITY FLOODING 

(a)  If the facility floors are flooded, processing shall be 

discontinued until flood waters have receded and the facility and 

equipment are cleaned and sanitized. 

(b)  Any cooked crustacea or crustacea meat which that may have 

been contaminated by flood waters shall be deemed adulterated 

and disposed of in accordance with G.S. 130A-21(c). 113-221.4 

and Rule .0181 of this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 113-

221.4; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0144 INSECT CONTROL 

All outside openings shall be screened, provided with wind 

curtains curtains, or be provided with other methods to eliminate 

the entrance of insects. All screens shall be kept in good repair. 

All outside doors shall open outward and shall be self-closing. 

The use and storage of pesticides shall comply with all applicable 

State and Federal federal laws and rules. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0145 RODENT AND ANIMAL 

CONTROL 

Measures shall be taken by the owner or responsible person to 

keep animals, fowl, rodents, and other vermin out of the facility. 

The storage and use of rodenticides shall comply with all 

applicable State and Federal federal laws and rules. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0147 WATER SUPPLY 

(a)  The water supply used shall be in accordance with 15A NCAC 

18A .1700. 15A NCAC 18A .1720 through .1728. 

(b)  A cooked crustacea facility using a non-community water 

supply shall be listed with the Public Water Supply Section, 

Division of Environmental Health. 

(c)(b)  Water samples for bacteriological analysis shall be 

collected at least annually by the Division of Marine Fisheries and 

submitted to the Laboratory Division of the Department or 

another a laboratory certified by the Department for potable water 

testing in the State of North Carolina for analysis. 

(d)(c)  Cross-connections with unapproved water supplies are 

prohibited. Hot and cold running water under pressure shall be 

provided to food preparation, utensils utensils, and handwashing 

areas and any other areas in which water is required for cleaning. 

Running water under pressure shall be provided in sufficient 

quantity to carry out all food preparation, utensil washing, hand 

washing, cleaning cleaning, and other water-using operations. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0148 ICE 

(a)  Ice shall be obtained from a water supply approved by the 

Division of Marine Fisheries pursuant to Rule .0147 of this 

Section and shall be stored and handled in accordance with these 

Rules. in a manner to prevent contamination. 

(b)  All equipment used in the handling of ice shall be used for no 

other purpose and shall be cleaned and sanitized at least once each 

day the facility is in operation. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0149 PLUMBING 

(a)  Plumbing fixtures shall be located to facilitate the flow of 

processing activities and to prevent the splashing of water on 

food-contact surfaces or cooked crustacea and crustacea meat. 

(b)  Fixtures, ducts ducts, and pipes shall not be suspended over 

working areas. 

(c)  Handwash lavatories shall be located so that the supervisor 

can readily observe that employees wash and sanitize their hands 

before beginning work and after each interruption. 

(d)  Handwash lavatories shall be provided in the following 

locations: 

(1) Packing packing room or area. area; 

(2) Toilet toilet or lounge area. area; and 

(3) Picking picking room. 

(e)  At least one handwash lavatory shall be provided for every 20 

employees among the first 100 employees and at least one 

handwash lavatory shall be provided for every 25 employees in 

excess of the first 100 employees. 

(f)  Additional lavatories required by Paragraph (e) of this Rule 

shall be located in the picking room. 

(g)  A container shall be located near each handwash lavatory in 

the picking room and packing room or area to sanitize hands in a 

solution containing at least 100 parts per million (ppm) of 

available chlorine or other equally effective bactericide. A 

suitable testing method or equipment approved by the Division of 

Marine Fisheries shall be available and regularly used to test 

chemical sanitizers to insure ensure minimum prescribed 

strengths. 

(h)  Soap and single service towels in protected dispensers, or 

other approved hand drying devices, shall be available near the 

handwash lavatories. 

(i)  All pre-cool rooms, picking rooms, packing rooms or areas, 

and cooking areas shall be provided with hosebibs hose bibs and 

wash down hoses. Storage racks shall be provided to keep the 

hoses elevated off the floor when not in use. 

(j)  An automatically regulated hot-water system shall be provided 

to furnish a sufficient volume of hot water with a temperature of 

at least 130 F (54.5 C) to carry out all processing operations. 

(k)  All handwash lavatories and sinks shall be equipped with 

mixing faucets. 

(l)  A three-compartment sink with drainboards, large enough to 

wash the largest utensils used in the facility, shall be located in 

the picking room near the delivery shelf. One three-compartment 

sink, with drainboards, shall be provided for every 50 employees 

or fraction thereof. 

(m)  The floor drains in coolers shall not be connected directly to 

a sewer in processing or repacking facilities constructed after 

October 1, 1992. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0151 TOILETS 

(a)  Toilets shall be provided by the owner or responsible person 

in the facility; however, privies may be substituted for toilets 

when the conditions in Paragraph (d) of this Rule are met. facility. 

(b)  Toilet tissue shall be provided. provided by the owner or 

responsible person in a holder. 

(c)  Toilet room doors shall not open directly into processing areas 

of the facility and shall be self-closing. 

(d)  Only privies that meet the requirements of Section .1900 of 

this Subchapter and that were in place at a processing or repacking 

facility prior to October 1, 1992 may be used at the facility after 

October 1, 1992. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0152 SOLID WASTE 

(a)  Cooked crustacea scrap and other putrescible wastes shall be 

removed from the premises at least daily. Other solid wastes shall 

be removed from the premises at least weekly. 

(b)  Scrap containers shall be removed from the picking room 

immediately after filling and placed in storage areas approved by 

the Division. Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(c)  Scrap containers shall be non-corrosive and cleaned at least 

daily. 

(d)  Scrap containers shall be cleaned in an area approved by the 

Division. 
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Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0153 PERSONAL HYGIENE 

(a)  All employees shall wash their hands with soap and running 

water before beginning work and again after each interruption. 

Signs to this effect shall be posted in conspicuous places in the 

facility by the owner. owner or responsible person. 

(b)  All persons handling cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall 

sanitize their hands before beginning work and again after each 

interruption. 

(c)  All persons employed or engaged in the handling, picking 

picking, or packing of cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall 

wear clean, washable outer clothing. 

(d)  Employees shall not eat food, drink nor drink, or use tobacco 

in any form in the areas where cooked crustacea or crustacea meat 

are stored, processed processed, or handled. 

(e)  Any person known to be a carrier of any disease which can be 

transmitted through the handling of cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat or who has an infected wound or open lesion on any exposed 

portion of the body shall be prohibited from handling cooked 

crustacea or crustacea meat. 

(f)  Hair restraints shall be worn by all employees who handle 

cooked crustacea or crustacea meat. 

(g)  The arms of personnel who pick or pack cooked crustacea or 

crustacea meat shall be bare to the elbow or covered with an arm 

guard approved by the Division. Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(h)  Personnel who pick and pack cooked crustacea or crustacea 

meat shall have clean clean, short fingernails, fingernails free 

from nail polish and shall not wear jewelry other than easily 

cleanable rings. The use of absorbent wraps or absorbent finger 

cots shall not be permitted. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0156 EQUIPMENT AND UTENSIL 

CONSTRUCTION 

All processing equipment and utensils shall be smooth, easily 

cleanable, durable durable, and kept in good repair. The 

food-contact surfaces of equipment, utensils utensils, and 

processing machinery shall be easily accessible for cleaning, 

non-toxic, non-corrosive, non-absorbent non-absorbent, and free 

of open seams. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0157 FACILITY AND EQUIPMENT 

SANITATION 

(a)  The walls and floors in the picking and packing areas shall be 

kept clean while operating and shall be sanitized at least daily and 

whenever there is evidence of contamination. 

(b)  All food-contact surfaces shall be washed, rinsed rinsed, and 

sanitized prior to starting operation each day and whenever there 

is evidence of contamination. 

(c)  Reusable picking containers and knives shall be washed, 

rinsed rinsed, and sanitized each time crustacea meat is delivered 

to the packing room. 

(d)  Sanitizing methods are shall be as follows: 

(1) By by steam in a steam chamber or box 

equipped with an indicating thermometer 

located in the coldest zone, by with exposure to 

a temperature of 170 F (77 C) for at least 15 

minutes or to a temperature of 200 F (93 C) 

for at least five minutes. 

(2) By by immersion for at least one minute in the 

third compartment in clean hot water at a 

temperature of at least 170 F (77 C). A 

thermometer accurate to 3F 3 F (1.5 C) shall 

be available to the compartment. Where hot 

water is used for bactericidal treatment, a 

booster heater that maintains a water 

temperature of at least 170 F (77 C) in the 

third compartment at all times when utensils are 

being washed shall be provided. The heating 

device may be integral with the immersion 

compartment. 

(3) By by immersion for at least one minute in, or 

exposure for at least one minute to a constant 

flow of, a solution containing not less than 100 

ppm chlorine residual. Utensils and equipment 

which that have to be washed in place will 

require washing, rinsing rinsing, and sanitizing. 

(4) By by other equivalent products and procedures 

approved in 21 CFR 178.1010 "Sanitizing 

solutions" from the "Food Service Sanitation 

Manual" published by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration. 21 CFR 178.1010 solutions", 

which is hereby incorporated by reference 

including any subsequent amendments and 

editions. This material is available for 

inspection, and copies may be obtained at no 

cost, at the Shellfish Sanitation Branch, 3441 

Arendell Street, P.O. Box 769, Morehead City, 

North Carolina 28557. A copy of the reference 

material can be found at 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-

bin/retrieveECFR?gp=1&SID=17d119b223f9

451322279713caa2e6ab&ty=HTML&h=L&m

c=true&n=pt21.3.178&r=PART#se21.3.178_1

1010, at no cost. A suitable Division of Marine 

Fisheries approved testing method or 

equipment shall be available and regularly used 

to test chemical sanitizers to insure ensure 

minimum prescribed strengths. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0158 EQUIPMENT STORAGE 

Equipment and utensils that have been cleaned and sanitized shall 

be stored in a manner to protect against contamination. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0161 CRUSTACEA COOKING 

(a)  The cooking area or room shall be under a roof located 

between the area for receiving raw crustacea and the air-cool room 

and shall be vented to assure the removal of steam. 

(b)  Crustacea shall be cooked in accordance with the following: 

(1) Crabs shall be cooked under steam pressure 

until the internal temperature of the center-most 

crab reaches 235° F (112.8° C). Temperature 

shall be measured with an accurate, indicating 

thermometer having a range of 170-270° F 

(77-132° C). 

(2) Other crustacea shall be cooked until the 

internal temperature of the center-most 

crustacean reaches 180° F (83° C) and is held at 

this temperature for one minute. Temperature 

shall be measured with an accurate, indicating 

thermometer. Crayfish shall be culled and 

cleaned prior to cooking. 

(3) Nothing in this Rule shall prohibit any other 

cooking process which that has been found 

equally effective and approved by the Division. 

Division of Marine Fisheries. 

(c)  The retort shall be constructed to permit a working pressure 

of at least 20 pounds per square inch (psig). Steam inlet and 

venting shall provide a uniform and complete distribution of 

steam. Venting shall be sufficient to permit complete elimination 

of air from the retort. Drains and vents shall be located at least two 

feet above mean high tide. 

(d)  The retorts shall be equipped with: 

(1) An an accurate, indicating thermometer with a 

range that will include 170-270° F (77-132° C) 

and located with the sensor extending into the 

heat chamber. chamber; 

(2) An an operating pressure indicator, at least 

three inches in diameter, with a 0-30 psig range 

and located adjacent to the indicating 

thermometer. thermometer; and 

(3) A a safety valve operational at 18-30 psig, 

located in the upper portion of the retort, 

protected from tampering tampering, and 

designed to prevent injury to the operator. 

(e)  The boiler shall be of such capacity as to maintain 45 to 100 

psig during cooking. The steam line from the boiler to the retort 

shall be at least one and one-fourth inch inside diameter. 

(f)  Overhead hoists shall be equipped with chain bags or other 

means of preventing foreign material from falling onto the cooked 

product. 

(g)  Retort cooking baskets shall be of stainless steel or equally 

impervious, non-corrosive non-corrosive, and durable material, 

and shall be designed to allow for equal steam disbursement, ease 

of handling, dumping dumping, and cleaning. 

(h)  All construction or replacement of retorts after October 1, 

1992 shall be "flow-through" type and opening open directly into 

the air-cool room or a protected passageway into the air-cool 

room. 

(i)  All construction of new or replacement retorts shall require a 

Process Validation Study Report approved by the Division prior 

to use. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0162 COOKED CRUSTACEA 

AIR-COOL 

(a)  Cooked crustacea, after removal from the retort, shall be 

moved immediately to the cooked crustacea air cool air-cool area 

to be air cooled to ambient temperature without being disturbed. 

Cooked crustacea shall be stored in the original cooking basket. 

(b)  The construction and arrangement of the air-cool room shall 

be designed to provide protection from contamination of the 

cooked crustacea. The air-cool room shall open directly into the 

cooked crustacea cooler or other protected area. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0164 COOKED CRUSTACEA 

PICKING 

(a)  The picking operation shall be conducted in a manner to 

prevent contamination. 

(b)  All cooked crustacea shall be picked before a new supply is 

delivered to the picking table. 

(c)  Picked crustacea meat shall be delivered to the packing room 

at least every 90 minutes or upon the accumulation of five pounds 

per picker picker, whichever is sooner. 

(d)  Paper towels used at the picking table shall be discarded after 

initial use. 

(e)  If provided, bactericidal solutions at picking tables shall be 

maintained at 100 ppm chlorine solution or an equivalent 

bactericidal solution. A testing method or equipment approved by 

the Division of Marine Fisheries to insure ensure minimum 

prescribed strengths shall be available and used to test chemical 

sanitizers. 

(f)  Handles of picking knives shall not be covered with any 

material. 

(g)  Crustacea shall be cooked and picked in the same permitted 

facility unless a written plan for interfacility shipment has been 

filed with the Division. The plan shall address and be approved 

based upon on the following: 

(1) time-temperature; time-temperature 

requirements; 

(2) shipping-destination; shipping destination; 

(3) handling; 

(4) labeling; 

(5) records; 

(6) processing; 

(7) sanitation; and 

(8) HACCP plan. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0165 PACKING 

(a)  Crustacea meat shall be packed in a container, container and 

iced and cooled to an internal temperature of 40 F (4.4 C) or 

below within two hours of receipt in the packing room. 

(b)  The storage of ice in the packing room shall be in an easily 

cleanable, non-corrosive, non-toxic container. 
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(c)  Blending or combining of any of the following shall be 

prohibited: 

(1) Fresh fresh crustacea meat. meat; 

(2) Frozen frozen crustacea meat. meat; 

(3) Pasteurized pasteurized crustacea meat. meat; 

and 

(4) Crustacea crustacea meat packed in another 

facility. 

(d)  Clean shipping containers shall be provided by the owner or 

responsible person for storing and shipping of packed crustacea 

meat. 

(e)  The return of overage of crustacea meat to a picker shall be 

prohibited. 

(f)  Washing of picked crustacea meat shall be under running 

potable water. The crustacea meat shall be thoroughly drained 

prior to packing. 

(g)  Any substance added to cooked crustacea or crustacea meat 

shall be approved and labeled according to Federal federal and 

State rules and regulations. 

(h)  Only those individuals responsible for packing the crustacea 

or crustacea meat shall be allowed in the packing room or area. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0166 PICKED CRUSTACEA MEAT 

REFRIGERATION 

(a)  The refrigeration room or ice box shall be of sufficient size so 

that a full day's production, with ice, can be properly stored in a 

sanitary manner and shall be equipped with an accurate, operating 

thermometer. 

(b)  Ice boxes shall be easily cleanable, non-corrosive, and 

non-toxic with an impervious lining and a drain. 

(c)  Picked crustacea meat shall be stored between 33 F (0.5 C) 

and 40 F (4.4 C). at 40 F (4.4 C) or below. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0168 SINGLE-SERVICE 

CONTAINERS 

(a)  Single-service containers used for packing or repacking 

cooked crustacea and crustacea meat shall be made from food safe 

food-safe materials approved by the United States Food and Drug 

Administration. 

(b)  Containers shall not be reused for packing or repacking 

cooked crustacea and crustacea meat. 

(c)  No person shall use containers bearing a permit number other 

than the number assigned to the facility. 

(d)  Each container or lid shall be legibly impressed, embossed 

embossed, or lithographed with the name and address of the 

original packer, repacker repacker, or distributor. The original 

packer's or repacker's permit number preceded by the state 

abbreviation shall be legibly impressed, embossed embossed, or 

lithographed on each container or lid. 

(e)  Each container or lid shall be permanently and legibly 

identified with a code date. 

(f)  All containers and lids shall be stored and handled in 

accordance with these Rules, in a manner to prevent 

contamination, sanitized by a procedure as stated in Rule .0157 of 

this Section Section, and drained prior to filling. 

(g)  All containers shall be sealed so that tampering can be 

detected. The words "Sealed For Your Protection" or equivalent 

shall be prominently displayed on the container or lid. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0173 REPACKING 

(a)  Crustacea meat for repacking which that is processed in North 

Carolina shall comply with Rules .0134 through .0187 of this 

Section. Crustacea meat for repacking which that is processed 

outside of North Carolina shall comply with Rule .0182 of this 

Section. Quarterly bacteriological reports shall be provided to the 

Division by the repacker of all foreign crustacea meat for 

repacking. 

(b)  The repacker shall provide the Division of Marine Fisheries a 

current written list of all sources of crustacea meat used for 

repacking. 

(c)  Repacking of crustacea meat: 

(1) Crustacea meat shall not exceed 45 F (7.1 C) 

40° F (4.4° C) during the repacking process. 

(2) Repacking shall be conducted separately by 

time or space from the routine crustacea meat 

picking and packing process. 

(3) The food contact surfaces and utensils utilized 

in the repacking process shall be cleaned and 

sanitized prior to repacking and thereafter on 30 

minute 30-minute intervals during repacking. 

(4) Repacked crustacea meat shall be maintained at 

or below 40 F (4.4 C). 

(5) Blending or combining of any of the following 

shall be prohibited: 

(A) Fresh fresh crustacea meat. 

(B) Frozen frozen crustacea meat. 

(C) Pasteurized pasteurized crustacea 

meat. 

(D) Crustacea crustacea meat packed in 

another facility. 

(6) Crustacea meat shall not be repacked more than 

one time. 

(7) All empty containers shall be rendered 

unusable. 

(d)  Labeling of repacked crustacea meat: 

(1) Each container shall be legibly embossed, 

impressed impressed, or lithographed with the 

repacker's or the distributor's name and address. 

(2) Each container shall be legibly embossed, 

impressed impressed, or lithographed with the 

repacker's certification number followed by the 

letters "RP." 

(3) Each container shall be permanently and legibly 

identified with a code indicating the repack 

date. 

(4) Each container shall be sealed so that tampering 

can be detected. 

(5) Each container of foreign crustacea meat which 

that has been repacked outside of North 
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Carolina shall be labeled in accordance with 

Federal federal labeling requirements. 

(e)  Records shall be kept for all purchases of crustacea meat for 

repacking and sales of repacked meat for one year. The records 

shall be available for inspection by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0174 PASTEURIZATION PROCESS 

CONTROLS - THERMOMETERS 

(a)  All pasteurizing equipment shall have a time-temperature 

recording thermometer with a temperature controller (combined 

or separately) and an indicating thermometer. The thermometers 

shall be located to give a true representation of the operating 

temperature of the water bath. The recording thermometer chart 

shall be at least a 12-hour chart and at least 10 inches in diameter. 

(b)  The recording thermometer shall be installed so that it will be 

protected from vibration and from striking by loading operations 

or facility traffic. The thermometer mechanism shall be protected 

from moisture under prevailing conditions. The thermometer case 

shall not be opened during the pasteurizing cycle, except for 

temperature check or for emergency or repair. A record shall be 

made when the thermometer case has been opened. 

(c)  The recording thermometer shall have a range of at least 

120-220 F (48.9-104.4 C). It shall be accurate within plus or 

minus 1 F between 160 F (71 C) and 200 F (93 C). The chart 

shall be scaled at a maximum of 2 F intervals in the range of 160 

F (71 C) and 200 F (93 C). 

(d)  The indicating thermometer shall be a thermometer with an 

accuracy and readability of plus or minus 1 F between 160 F 

(71 C) and 200 F (93 C). The thermometer shall be protected 

against damage. 

(e)  The recording thermometer shall be equipped with a 

spring-operated or electrically operated clock. The recorded 

elapsed time as indicated by the chart rotation shall not exceed the 

true elapsed time as shown by an accurate watch. The rotating 

chart support shall be provided with pins upon which the chart 

shall be affixed by puncturing the chart. 

(f)  The pasteurization unit shall not be operated without a 

recording thermometer chart in place, the pen in contact with the 

chart chart, and an inked record being made of the operating 

time-temperature cycle. Any indication of falsification of a 

thermometer chart shall constitute a violation. Falsification of a 

thermometer chart shall not occur. A permanent file of the used 

thermometer charts shall be maintained by the pasteurizer and 

kept available for inspection by the Division of Marine Fisheries 

for a period of one year. The following information shall be 

recorded within the confines of the pen markings after the 

pasteurization cycle has been completed: 

(1) Date date of pasteurization. 

(2) Quantity quantity of each batch pasteurized 

(pounds of crustacea meat or number and size 

of containers). 

(3) Processor's processor's code of each pack. 

(4) If if the pasteurizer processes crustacea meat for 

someone else, then the packer's name, address 

address, and permit number must shall be 

recorded. A copy of the recording chart shall be 

provided to the owner of the crustacea meat. 

(5) Notation notation of mechanical or power 

failure or opening of the recording thermometer 

case for adjustment or repair during the 

pasteurizing cycle. 

(6) After after the optimum temperature in the 

water bath has been reached and during the 

holding time, the reading of the indicating 

thermometer and the time of reading shall be 

recorded on the chart. 

(7) Signature signature of the pasteurizer operator. 

(g)  A constant flow steam control valve is required, if steam is 

used as a source of heat. 

(h)  The water bath shall be provided with effective agitation to 

maintain a uniform temperature. 

(i)  Other technologies that provide the data, information 

information, and records as required in this Rule may be used if 

approved by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0175 PREPARATION OF 

CRUSTACEA MEAT FOR PASTEURIZATION 

The preparation of crustacea meat for pasteurization shall be in 

compliance with the following: 

(1) Crustacea crustacea meat shall be prepared in 

compliance with Rules .0134 through .0183 of 

this Section. 

(2) The the containers of crustacea meat shall be 

sealed as quickly as possible after the crustacea 

meat is picked. 

(3) The the sealed container containers of crustacea 

meat shall be placed immediately in ice and 

refrigerated until pasteurized. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0176 PASTEURIZATION OF 

CRUSTACEA MEAT 

(a)  All pasteurization operations shall require a Process 

Validation Study Report approved by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries prior to operation. 

(b)  The pasteurization of crustacea meat shall be conducted in 

compliance with the following: following procedures: 

(1) The the minimum pasteurization specifications 

shall be the raising of the internal temperature 

of the container heating every particle of 

crustacea meat in a hermetically-sealed 

container to a temperature of at least 185 F 

(85 C) and holding it continuously at that or 

above this temperature for at least one minute 

at the geometric center of a container. container 

in equipment being operated in compliance 

with the Process Validation Study Report. Each 

set of pasteurizing equipment shall be 

standardized so that the minimum 
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pasteurization procedure in this Subparagraph 

can be obtained. The pasteurization procedure 

shall be performed in accordance with the 

standardization report. This process A copy of 

the procedures for operating the pasteurizing 

equipment shall also be posted adjacent to the 

pasteurization vat. The pasteurizer shall keep 

on file the standardization report on file and 

shall provide the Division a copy of such report. 

(2) Alteration alteration of the equipment or 

loading of containers shall require the 

procedure be restandardized. a new Process 

Validation Study Report. 

(3) The the containers of crustacea meat shall be 

cooled to 50 F (10 C) or below within three 

hours. hours of the completion of 

pasteurization. 

(4) Refrigerated refrigerated storage shall be 

provided for the cooled crustacea meat and 

shall maintain a storage temperature at or below 

36 F (2.2 C). 38 F (3.3 C). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0177 LABELING OF PASTEURIZED 

CRUSTACEA MEAT 

Labeling of pasteurized crustacea meat shall be in compliance 

with the following: 

(1) The the label used shall clearly identify the 

contents of the container as pasteurized 

crustacea meat. 

(2) Each each container shall be permanently and 

legibly identified with a code indicating the 

batch and day of processing. 

(3) The the words "Perishable-Keep Under 

Refrigeration", or equivalent, Refrigeration" or 

equivalent shall be prominently displayed on 

the container. 

(4) The the original packer's or repacker's permit 

number preceded by the state abbreviation shall 

be legibly impressed, embossed embossed, or 

lithographed on each container. Each container 

shall be legibly impressed, embossed 

embossed, or lithographed with the name and 

address of the original packer, repacker 

repacker, or distributor. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0178 INTERFACILITY 

PASTEURIZATION PROCEDURES 

No person shall initiate interfacility pasteurization of crustacea 

meat without prior written approval by the Division. Division of 

Marine Fisheries. Interfacility pasteurization of crustacea meat 

shall be in conjunction compliance with the following: 

(1) Crustacea crustacea meat shall be packed, 

labeled labeled, and refrigerated in compliance 

with Rules .0134 through .0182 of this Section. 

Records shall be maintained to identify each 

batch of crustacea meat pasteurized. 

(2) Crustacea crustacea meat shall be shipped in an 

enclosed, easily cleanable vehicle at a 

temperature between 33 F (0.5 C) and of 40 

F (4.4 C). C) or below. 

(3) Crustacea crustacea meat shall be pasteurized in 

compliance with Rules .0175 through .0177 of 

this Section. The pasteurizer shall provide a 

copy of each pasteurization chart to the original 

packer. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0181 EMBARGO OR DISPOSAL OF 

COOKED CRUSTACEA OR CRUSTACEA MEAT 

(a)  When it has been determined by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries that cooked crustacea or crustacea meat have not been 

stored, transported, handled, cooked, picked, packed packed, or 

offered for sale in compliance with this Section, the cooked 

crustacea or crustacea meat shall be deemed adulterated. 

(b)  Cooked crustacea or crustacea meat prepared for sale to the 

public determined to be adulterated or misbranded, misbranded 

shall be subject to embargo or disposal by the Division in 

accordance with G.S. 113-221.4. 130A-21(c). The Division may 

embargo, condemn, destroy or otherwise dispose of all cooked 

crustacea or crustacea meat found to be adulterated or 

misbranded. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 113-

221.4; 143B-289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0182 BACTERIOLOGICAL AND 

CONTAMINATION STANDARDS 

(a)  Cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall not exceed 

Escherichia coli Most Probable Number (MPN) of 36 per 100 

grams of sample or exceed a standard plate count of 100,000 per 

gram. 

(b)  Pasteurized crustacea meat shall contain no Escherichia coli 

or fecal coliform. Samples of pasteurized crustacea meat, taken 

within 24 hours of pasteurizing, shall not have a standard plate 

count of more than 3,000 per gram. 

(c)  Thermally processed crustacea or crustacea meat shall not 

exceed Escherichia coli MPN of 36 per 100 grams of sample or 

exceed a standard plate count of 100,000 per gram. 

(d)  Cooked crustacea or crustacea meat shall not be handled in a 

manner to make it an imminent hazard. 

(e)  Cooked crustacea or crustacea meat found not complying with 

the standards as stated set forth in Paragraph (a), (b), (c)(c), or (d) 

of this Rule may be deemed adulterated by the Division. Division 

of Marine Fisheries. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 
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15A NCAC 18A .0183 ALTERNATIVE LABELING 

A durable label, permanently affixed to the container container, 

may be used to meet any labeling requirement in this Section. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0184 THERMAL PROCESSING 

CONTROLS - THERMOMETERS 

(a)  All thermal processing equipment shall have a 

time-temperature recording thermometer with a temperature 

controller (combined or separately) and an indicating 

thermometer. The thermometers shall be located to give a true 

representation of the operating temperature of the process. The 

recording thermometer chart shall be at least a 12-hour chart and 

at least 10 inches in diameter. 

(b)  The recording thermometer shall be installed so that it will be 

protected from vibration and from striking by loading operations 

or facility traffic. The thermometer mechanism shall be protected 

from moisture under prevailing conditions. The thermometer case 

shall not be opened during the thermal processing cycle, except 

for temperature check or for emergency or repair. A record shall 

be made when the thermometer case has been opened. 

(c)  The recording thermometer shall have a range of at least 

120-220 F (48.9-104.4 C). It shall be accurate within plus or 

minus 1 F between 160 F (71 C) and 200 F (93 C). The chart 

shall be scaled at a maximum of 2 F intervals in the range of 160 

F (71 C) and 200 F (93 C). 

(d)  The indicating thermometer shall be a thermometer with an 

accuracy and readability of plus or minus 1 F between 160 F 

(71 C) and 200 F (93 C). The thermometer shall be protected 

against damage. 

(e)  The recording thermometer shall be equipped with a 

spring-operated or electrically operated clock. The recorded 

elapsed time as indicated by the chart rotation shall not exceed the 

true elapsed time as shown by an accurate watch. The rotating 

chart support shall be provided with pins upon which the chart 

shall be affixed by puncturing the chart. 

(f)  The thermal processing unit shall not be operated without a 

recording thermometer chart in place, the pen in contact with the 

chart chart, and an inked record being made of the operating 

time-temperature cycle. Any indication of falsification of a 

thermometer chart shall constitute a violation. Falsification of a 

thermometer chart shall not occur. A permanent file of the used 

thermometer charts shall be maintained by the thermal processor 

and kept available for inspection by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries for a period of one year. The following information shall 

be recorded within the confines of the pen markings after the 

thermal processing cycle has been completed: 

(1) Date date of thermal processing. 

(2) Quantity quantity of each batch thermally 

processed (pounds of crustacea meat or number 

and size of containers). 

(3) Thermal thermal processor's code of each pack. 

(4) If if the thermal processor processes crustacea 

meat for someone else, then the packer's name, 

address address, and permit number must shall 

be recorded. A copy of the recording chart shall 

be provided to the owner of the crustacea meat. 

(5) Notation notation of mechanical or power 

failure or opening of the recording thermometer 

case for adjustment or repair during the thermal 

processing cycle. 

(6) After after the optimum temperature in the 

thermal process has been reached and during 

the holding time, the reading of the indicating 

thermometer and the time of reading shall be 

recorded on the chart. 

(7) Signature signature of the thermal process 

operator. 

(g)  A constant flow steam control valve is required, if steam is 

used as a source of heat. 

(h)  The thermal processing unit shall be provided with effective 

and uniform temperature. 

(i)  Other technologies that provide the data, information 

information, and records as required in this Rule may be used if 

approved by the Division. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0185 THERMAL PROCESSING OF 

CRUSTACEA AND CRUSTACEA MEAT 

(a)  All thermal processing operations shall require a Process 

Validation Study Report approved by the Division of Marine 

Fisheries prior to operation. 

(b)  The thermal processing of crustacea or crustacea meat shall 

be conducted in compliance with the following: following 

procedures: 

(1) The the minimum thermal processing 

specifications shall be the raising of the internal 

heating of previously cooked temperature of the 

container of crustacea or crustacea meat to a 

desired temperature and for a specified time at 

the geometric center of a container. container in 

equipment being operated in compliance with 

the Process Validation Study Report. Each set 

of thermal processing equipment shall be 

standardized so that the minimum procedure 

can be obtained. The thermal process procedure 

shall be performed in accordance with the 

standardization report. This process A copy of 

the procedures for operating the thermal 

processing equipment shall also be posted 

adjacent to the thermal processing unit. The 

thermal processor shall keep on file the 

standardization report on file and shall provide 

the Division a copy of such report. 

(2) Alteration alteration of the equipment or 

loading of containers shall require the 

procedure be restandardized. a new Process 

Validation Study Report. 

(3) The the containers of crustacea or crustacea 

meat shall be cooled to 50 F (10 C) or below 

within three hours. hours of the completion of 

the thermal process. 

(4) Refrigerated refrigerated storage shall be 

provided for the cooled crustacea or crustacea 



 PROPOSED RULES 

 

 

36:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 2, 2021 

174 

meat and shall maintain a storage temperature 

at or below 36 F (2.2 C). 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0186 LABELING OF THERMALLY 

PROCESSED CRUSTACEA OR CRUSTACEA MEAT 

Labeling of thermally processed crustacea or crustacea meat shall 

be in compliance with the following: 

(1) The the label used shall clearly identify the 

contents of the container as thermally processed 

crustacea or crustacea meat. 

(2) Each each container shall be permanently and 

legibly identified with a code indicating the 

batch and day of processing. 

(3) The the words "Perishable-Keep Under 

Refrigeration" or equivalent shall be 

prominently displayed on the container. 

(4) The the original packer's or repacker's permit 

number preceded by the state abbreviation shall 

be legibly impressed, embossed embossed, or 

lithographed on each container. Each container 

shall be legibly impressed, embossed 

embossed, or lithographed with the name and 

address of the original packer, repacker 

repacker, or distributor. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0187 INTERFACILITY THERMAL 

PROCESSING PROCEDURES 

Interfacility thermal processing of crustacea or crustacea meat 

shall be in conjunction compliance with the following: 

(1) Crustacea crustacea or crustacea meat shall be 

packed, labeled labeled, and refrigerated in 

compliance with Rules .0134 through .0187 of 

this Section. Records shall be maintained to 

identify each batch of crustacea or crustacea 

meat thermally processed. 

(2) Crustacea crustacea or crustacea meat shall be 

shipped in an enclosed, easily cleanable vehicle 

at a temperature between 33 F (0.5 C) and of 

40 F (4.4 C). C) or below. 

(3) Crustacea crustacea or crustacea meat shall be 

thermally processed in compliance with Rules 

.0184 through .0187 of this Section. The 

thermal processor shall provide a copy of each 

thermal processing chart to the original packer. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 

 

15A NCAC 18A .0191 MONITORING RECORDS 

Monitoring records of critical control points and general 

sanitation requirements shall be recorded, as specified in plan, the 

HACCP Plan, and signed and dated when recorded. The records 

shall be reviewed by the owner or designee within one week of 

recording. 

 

Authority G.S. 130A-230; 113-134; 113-182; 113-221.2; 143B-

289.52. 
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Note from the Codifier: The rules published in this Section of the NC Register are emergency rules reviewed by the Codifier of 

Rules and entered in the North Carolina Administrative Code. The agency must subsequently publish a proposed temporary rule on 

the OAH website (www.ncoah.com/rules) and submit that adopted temporary rule to the Rules Review Commission within 60 days 

from publication of the emergency rule or the emergency rule will expire on the 60th day from publication. 

This section of the Register may also include, from time to time, a listing of emergency rules that have expired.  See G.S. 150B-

21.1A and 26 NCAC 02C .0600 for adoption and filing requirements. 

TITLE 02 - DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND 

CONSUMER SERVICES 

 

Rule-making Agency:  Board of Agriculture and the 

Commissioner of Agriculture 

 

Rule Citation:  02 NCAC 52B .0214 

 

Effective Date:  July 13, 2021 

 

Findings Reviewed and Approved by the Codifier:  July 2, 

2021 

 

Reason for Action:  This rule is necessary for preventing the 

introduction and mitigation of Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease Virus 

- 2 ("RHDV-2"). RHDV-2 is a highly contagious and always fatal 

disease for both domesticated and wild rabbits. Many times, the 

only signs of the disease are sudden death and blood stained noses 

caused by internal bleeding. Infected rabbits may also develop a 

fever, be hesitant to eat, or show respiratory or nervous signs. 

RHDV-2 is a foreign animal disease and has spread to multiple 

states, including the Southwest, West, Midwest, and Florida. 

Cases were also detected in New York City, and more recently, 

Georgia. Currently, there are no import restrictions or any 

monitoring requirements for the importation of rabbits into North 

Carolina. Furthermore, the Veterinary Division is aware of the 

practice of at least one business group that travels from state to 

state, buying and selling rabbits, including in RHDV-2 detected 

states, prior to importing commingled rabbits to North Carolina, 

a practice that increases the risk of disease spread. This 

emergency rule will establish permitting and health certificate 

requirements for rabbits that are imported from RHDV-2 detected 

countries and states so that the Veterinary Division may monitor 

the imported rabbits for RHDV-2 and have the information at 

hand for disease tracing and quarantine in the event of the disease 

being introduced. Due to the concerns of RHDV-2 being 

introduced and causing deaths of both wild and domesticated 

rabbits, emergency adoption of the rule is required. 

 

CHAPTER 52 - VETERINARY 

 

SUBCHAPTER 52B - ANIMAL DISEASE 

 

SECTION .0200 - ADMISSION OF LIVESTOCK TO 

NORTH CAROLINA 

 

02 NCAC 52B .0214 IMPORTATION 

REQUIREMENTS: RABBITS 

(a)  An import permit from the State Veterinarian is required for 

the importation of a rabbit into the State of North Carolina 

originating from: 

(1) any country or state with Rabbit Hemorrhagic 

Disease Virus-2 ("RHDV-2") detected; or 

(2) a state or country without RHDV-2 if the rabbit 

makes any intervening stop in a country or state 

with RHDV-2 detected, if the rabbit is 

commingled or exposed to any other rabbit not 

being shipped directly from the point of origin 

together, or if the imported rabbit is exposed to 

materials such as cages, beddings, and supplies 

that have been in contact with another rabbit not 

shipped directly from the point of origin 

together. 

(b)  The rabbit import permit application shall be accompanied by 

an official health certificate certifying the rabbit to be free from 

any contagious animal disease, including RHDV-2. 

(1) If the rabbit is shipped directly without any 

intervening stops, without commingling or 

exposure to any other rabbit not being shipped 

directly from the point of origin together, and 

without exposure to materials such as cages, 

beddings, and supplies that have been in contact 

with another rabbit not shipped directly from 

the point of origin together, then the official 

health certificate shall be obtained within seven 

days of the date of importation into North 

Carolina. 

(2) If the rabbit is shipped with intervening stops, 

with commingling or exposure to another rabbit 

not being shipped directly from the point of 

origin together, or with exposure to materials 

such as cages, beddings, and supplies that have 

been in contact with another rabbit not shipped 

directly from the point of origin together, then 

the official health certificate shall be obtained 

from the location of the last intervening stop, 

commingling, or exposure, and within seven 

days of the date of importation into North 

Carolina. 

(c)  No permit is needed for direct shipment of a rabbit from a 

country or state without RHDV-2 or if the rabbit makes 

intervening stops only in countries or states without RHDV-2, the 

rabbit is not commingled or exposed to another rabbit not shipped 

directly from the point of origin together, and the rabbit is not 

exposed to materials such as cages, beddings, and supplies that 

have been in contact with another rabbit not shipped directly from 

the point of origin together. 

(d)  The application for rabbit importation shall include the arrival 

date, the import destination within the State of North Carolina, a 

contact person and phone number at that location, and any federal 

licensing, permit, and documentation required for the importation 

of the rabbit if imported from outside of the United States of 

America. 
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(e)  A rabbit requiring an import permit that is imported into North 

Carolina shall be accompanied by an official health certificate 

with the import permit number and shall be made available for 

inspection by the State Veterinarian or his or her designee upon 

request. 

(f)  An intervening stop is defined as a stop in a country or state 

longer than 24 hours but less than 10 days. The location of any 

stop for longer than 10 days shall be deemed the new country or 

state of origin. 

(g)  Health certificates issued outside of the United States shall be 

issued in English and by a veterinarian with a valid license to 

practice veterinary medicine in the country of export. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 106-317; 106-400; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. July 13, 2021. 
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This Section includes a listing of rules approved by the Rules Review Commission followed by the full text of those rules.  The rules 

that have been approved by the RRC in a form different from that originally noticed in the Register or when no notice was required 

to be published in the Register are identified by an * in the listing of approved rules.  Statutory Reference: G.S. 150B-21.17. 

Rules approved by the Rules Review Commission at its meeting on June 17, 2021 Meeting. 

 

 REGISTER CITATION TO THE 

 NOTICE OF TEXT 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY, DEPARTMENT OF 

Purpose and Organization 01 NCAC 41D .0101* 35:08 NCR 

Fund Disbursements 01 NCAC 41D .0302* 35:08 NCR 

CHILD CARE COMMISSION 

Enhanced Program Standards for a Rated License for Family... 10A NCAC 09 .2828 35:14 NCR 

MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 10A NCAC 13F .0403* 35:12 NCR 

Test for Tuberculosis 10A NCAC 13F .0406* 35:12 NCR 

Qualifications of Supervisor-In-Charge 10A NCAC 13G .0402* 35:12 NCR 

Qualifications of Medication Staff 10A NCAC 13G .0403 35:12 NCR 

Test for Tuberculosis 10A NCAC 13G .0405* 35:12 NCR 

Abbreviations 10A NCAC 13P .0101 35:12 NCR 

Definitions 10A NCAC 13P .0102 35:12 NCR 

Transport of Stretcher Bound Patients 10A NCAC 13P .0222 35:12 NCR 

Educational Programs 10A NCAC 13P .0501* 35:12 NCR 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for EMR, EMT, AEMT, Pa... 10A NCAC 13P .0502* 35:12 NCR 

Renewal of Credentials for EMR, AEMT, Paramedic, and EMD 10A NCAC 13P .0504 35:12 NCR 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level 1 EMS Instru... 10A NCAC 13P .0507 35:12 NCR 

Initial Credentialing Requirements for Level II EMS Instr... 10A NCAC 13P .0508* 35:12 NCR 

Renewal of Credentials for Level I and Level II EMS Instr... 10A NCAC 13P .0510* 35:12 NCR 

Reinstatement of Lapsed EMS Credential 10A NCAC 13P .0512* 35:12 NCR 

Continuing Education EMS Educational Program Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .0601 35:12 NCR 

Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .0602* 35:12 NCR 

Renewal Designation Process 10A NCAC 13P .0905* 35:12 NCR 

State Trauma System 10A NCAC 13P .1101* 35:12 NCR 

Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recovery Program Requirements 10A NCAC 13P .1401 35:12 NCR 

Conditions for Restricted Practice with Limited Privileges 10A NCAC 13P .1403 35:12 NCR 

Reinstatement of an Unencumbered EMS Credential 10A NCAC 13P .1404* 35:12 NCR 

Failure to Complete the Chemical Addiction or Abuse Recov... 10A NCAC 13P .1405 35:12 NCR 

EMS Educational Institutions 10A NCAC 13P .1505 35:12 NCR 

EMS Personnel Credentials 10A NCAC 13P .1507* 35:12 NCR 

Procedures for Qualifying for an EMS Credential Following... 10A NCAC 13P .1511 35:12 NCR 

PRIVATE PROTECTIVE SERVICES BOARD 

Reporting Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0110* 35:13 NCR 

Involvement in Administrative Hearing 14B NCAC 16 .0113 35:13 NCR 

Application for Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0201 35:13 NCR 

Renewal or Re-issue of Licenses and Trainee Permits 14B NCAC 16 .0203 35:13 NCR 
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Determination of Experience 14B NCAC 16 .0204 35:13 NCR 

Reports 14B NCAC 16 .0404 35:13 NCR 

Private Investigator's Use of a Badge 14B NCAC 16 .0405 35:13 NCR 

P.S.E. Examination Requirements 14B NCAC 16 .0602 35:13 NCR 

Application for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0701 35:13 NCR 

Minimum Standards for Unarmed Security Guard Registration 14B NCAC 16 .0703 35:13 NCR 

Training Requirements for Unarmed Security Guards 14B NCAC 16 .0707 35:13 NCR 

Trainer Name to be Submitted to Director 14B NCAC 16 .0708 35:13 NCR 

Application/Armed Security Guard Firearm Registration Permit 14B NCAC 16 .0801 35:13 NCR 

Concealed Weapons 14B NCAC 16 .0808 35:13 NCR 

Application for Firearms Trainer Certificate 14B NCAC 16 .0902 35:13 NCR 

Accreditation Standards 14B NCAC 16 .1203 35:13 NCR 

Application for Unarmed Armored Car Service Guard Registr... 14B NCAC 16 .1301 35:13 NCR 

Training Requirements for Armed Armored Car Service Guards 14B NCAC 16 .1407* 35:13 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT COMMISSION 

Water Quality Management Plans 15A NCAC 02B .0227* 35:05 NCR 

Cape Fear River Basin 15A NCAC 02B .0311 35:05 NCR 

Definitions 15A NCAC 02D .1701 35:16 NCR 

Applicability 15A NCAC 02D .1702* 35:16 NCR 

Emission Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1703* 35:16 NCR 

Test Methods and Procedures 15A NCAC 02D .1704* 35:16 NCR 

Operational Standards 15A NCAC 02D .1705* 35:16 NCR 

Compliance Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1706* 35:16 NCR 

Monitoring Provisions 15A NCAC 02D .1707* 35:16 NCR 

Reporting Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1708* 35:16 NCR 

Recordkeeping Requirements 15A NCAC 02D .1709* 35:16 NCR 

Compliance Schedule 15A NCAC 02D .1710 35:16 NCR 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

Registration Information and Certified Records Fees 19A NCAC 03C .0232* 35:14 NCR 

Traffic Accident Summary 19A NCAC 03F .0201* 35:14 NCR 

Fatal Accident Reports 19A NCAC 03F .0202* 35:14 NCR 

Special Holiday Reports 19A NCAC 03F .0203* 35:14 NCR 

Courses of Instruction 19A NCAC 03I .0307* 35:14 NCR 

CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Structure of Board 21 NCAC 10 .0103* 35:11 NCR 

North Carolina Examination 21 NCAC 10 .0203* 35:11 NCR 

Continuing Education Seminars 21 NCAC 10 .0207* 35:16 NCR 

Waiver 21 NCAC 10 .0216 35:11 NCR 

GENERAL CONTRACTORS, LICENSING BOARD FOR 

Definitions 21 NCAC 12A .0201* 35:11 NCR 

Permits and Inspections 21 NCAC 12A .0212* 35:16 NCR 

Renewal of License 21 NCAC 12A .0503* 35:11 NCR 

Waiver 21 NCAC 12A .0607* 35:11 NCR 

Attendance; Roster Reports and Certificates 21 NCAC 12B .0204 35:11 NCR 
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Course Requirements 21 NCAC 12B .0301* 35:11 NCR 

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' LICENSING BOARD 

Practice of Landscape Contracting; Display of License Number 21 NCAC 28B .0103 35:17 NCR 

Maintain Current Information 21 NCAC 28B .0204 35:17 NCR 

Continuing Education Units 21 NCAC 28B .0402* 35:17 NCR 

Continuing Education Records; Audit 21 NCAC 28B .0403 35:17 NCR 

Turf 21 NCAC 28B .0503 35:17 NCR 

Walls 21 NCAC 28B .0508 35:17 NCR 

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

Advertising 21 NCAC 58A .0105* 35:12 NCR 

Broker-In-Charge 21 NCAC 58A .0110* 35:12 NCR 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure S... 21 NCAC 58A .0114* 35:12 NCR 

Prohibited Acts 21 NCAC 58A .0120* 35:12 NCR 

License Renewal 21 NCAC 58A .0503* 35:12 NCR 

Denial, Withdrawal, or Termination of Education Provider ... 21 NCAC 58H .0210* 35:12 NCR 

Denial or Withdrawal of Instructor Approval 21 NCAC 58H .0303 35:12 NCR 

ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

Renewal 21 NCAC 62 .0407* 35:13 NCR 

Specialized Training 21 NCAC 62 .0411* 35:13 NCR 

 

 

TITLE 01 - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0101 PURPOSE AND 

ORGANIZATION 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5; 

Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

01 NCAC 41D .0302 FUND DISBURSEMENTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-58.4; 143-58.5; 

Eff. May 1, 2007; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 10A - DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN 

SERVICES 

 

10A NCAC 09 .2828 ENHANCED PROGRAM 

STANDARDS FOR A RATED LICENSE FOR FAMILY 

CHILD CARE HOMES 

(a)  This Rule shall apply to evaluating the program standards for 

a rated license for family child care homes. 

(b)  To achieve two through seven points for program standards, 

the operator shall meet the criteria listed in the following chart: 

 

FCCH 

Program Standards 

(.2828) 

Point Level 

Criteria 

2 points Operator provides documentation of 

self-study and self-assessment using the 

Family Child Care Rating Scale over a 

3-month time period. Documentation 

such as an ERS book with score sheets, 

self-assessments and program 

adjustments shall be reviewed by the 

Division as part of the rated license 

assessment.  

3 points Provide documentation of the 3-month 

self-study AND have a score of 4.0 or 

higher on the Family Child Care Rating 

Scale 

4 points Provide documentation of the 3-month 

self-study AND have a score of 4.25 or 

higher on the Family Child Care Rating 

Scale 

5 points Provide documentation of the 3-month 

self-study AND have a score of 4.5 or 

higher on the Family Child Care Rating 

Scale 

6 points Provide documentation of the 3-month 

self-study AND have a score of 4.75 or 

higher on the Family Child Care Rating 

Scale AND of the five preschoolers 

allowed to be enrolled, no more than 
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FCCH 

Program Standards 

(.2828) 

Point Level 

Criteria 

four children shall be under one year of 

age 

7 points Provide documentation of the 3-month 

self-study AND have a score of 5.0 or 

higher on the Family Child Care Rating 

Scale AND of the five preschoolers 

allowed to be enrolled, no more than 

three children shall be under one year of 

age 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 110-88(7); 110-90(4); 143B-

168.3; 

Eff. May 1, 2006; 

Recodified from Rule .2821 Eff. August 1, 2012; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0403 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

MEDICATION STAFF 

(a)  Adult care home staff who administer medications, hereafter 

referred to as medication aides, and their direct supervisors shall 

complete training, clinical skills validation, and pass the written 

examination as set forth in G.S. 131D-4.5B. Persons authorized 

by state occupational licensure laws to administer medications are 

exempt from this requirement. 

(b)  Medication aides and their direct supervisors, except persons 

authorized by state occupational licensure laws to administer 

medications, shall complete six hours of continuing education 

annually related to medication administration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 131D-

4.5B; 143B-165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; December 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13F .0406 TEST FOR TUBERCULOSIS 

(a)  Upon employment or moving into an adult care home, the 

administrator, all other staff, and any persons living in the adult 

care home shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance 

with control measures adopted by the Commission for Public 

Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments.  

(b)  There shall be documentation on file in the adult care home 

that the administrator, all other staff, and any persons living in the 

adult care home are free of tuberculosis disease. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; July 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0402 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

SUPERVISOR-IN-CHARGE 

The supervisor-in-charge, who is responsible to the administrator 

for carrying out the program in a family care home in the absence 

of the administrator, shall meet the following requirements: 

(1) be 21 years or older, if employed on or after the 

effective date of this Rule; 

(2) the supervisor-in-charge, employed on or after 

August 1, 1991, shall be a high school graduate 

or certified under the GED Program or passed 

the alternative examination established by the 

Department of Health and Human Services 

prior to the effective date of this Rule; and 

(3) earn 12 hours a year of continuing education 

credits related to the management of adult care 

homes and care of aged and disabled persons. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 

143B-165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

ARRC Objection June 16, 1988; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1990; December 1, 1988; April 1, 1987; 

January 1, 1985; 

ARRC Objection Lodged January 18, 1991; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1991; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0403 QUALIFICATIONS OF 

MEDICATION STAFF 

(a)  Family care home staff who administer medications, hereafter 

referred to as medication aides, and their direct supervisors shall 

complete training, clinical skills validation, and pass the written 

examination as set forth in G.S. 131D-4.5B. Persons authorized 

by state occupational licensure laws to administer medications are 

exempt from this requirement. 

(b)  Medication aides and their direct supervisors, except persons 

authorized by state occupational licensure laws to administer 

medications, shall complete six hours of continuing education 

annually related to medication administration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 131D-

4.5B; 143B-165; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2000; December 1, 1999; 

Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2005; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13G .0405 TEST FOR TUBERCULOSIS 

(a)  Upon employment or moving into a family care home, the 

administrator, all other staff, and any persons living in the family 

care home shall be tested for tuberculosis disease in compliance 
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with control measures adopted by the Commission for Public 

Health as specified in 10A NCAC 41A .0205, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments.  

(b)  There shall be documentation on file in the family care home 

that the administrator, all other staff, and any persons living in the 

family care home are free of tuberculosis disease. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131D-2.16; 131D-4.5; 143B-

165; 

Eff. January 1, 1977; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 1977; April 22, 1977; 

Readopted Eff. October 31, 1977; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1993; April 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. September 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0101 ABBREVIATIONS 

As used in this Subchapter, the following abbreviations mean: 

(1) ACS: American College of Surgeons; 

(2) AEMT: Advanced Emergency Medical 

Technician; 

(3) AHA: American Heart Association; 

(4) ASTM: American Society for Testing and 

Materials; 

(5) CAAHEP: Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs; 

(6) CPR: Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation; 

(7) ED: Emergency Department; 

(8) EMD: Emergency Medical Dispatcher; 

(9) EMR: Emergency Medical Responder; 

(10) EMS: Emergency Medical Services; 

(11) EMS-NP: EMS Nurse Practitioner; 

(12) EMS-PA: EMS Physician Assistant; 

(13) EMT: Emergency Medical Technician; 

(14) FAA: Federal Aviation Administration; 

(15) FCC: Federal Communications Commission; 

(16) ICD: International Classification of Diseases; 

(17) ISS: Injury Severity Score; 

(18) MICN: Mobile Intensive Care Nurse; 

(19) NHTSA: National Highway Traffic Safety 

Administration; 

(20) OEMS: Office of Emergency Medical Services; 

(21) OR: Operating Room; 

(22) PSAP: Public Safety Answering Point; 

(23) RAC: Regional Advisory Committee; 

(24) RFP: Request For Proposal; 

(25) SCTP: Specialty Care Transport Program; 

(26) SMARTT: State Medical Asset and Resource 

Tracking Tool; 

(27) STEMI: ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction; 

and 

(28) US DOT: United States Department of 

Transportation. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; January 1, 2004; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0102 DEFINITIONS 

In addition to the definitions in G.S. 131E-155, the following 

definitions apply throughout this Subchapter: 

(1) "Affiliated EMS Provider" means the firm, 

corporation, agency, organization, or 

association identified with a specific county 

EMS system as a condition for EMS Provider 

Licensing as required by Rule .0204 of this 

Subchapter. 

(2) "Affiliated Hospital" means a non-trauma 

center hospital that is owned by the Trauma 

Center or there is a contract or other agreement 

to allow for the acceptance or transfer of the 

Trauma Center's patient population to the non-

trauma center hospital. 

(3) "Affiliate" or "Affiliation" means a reciprocal 

agreement and association that includes active 

participation, collaboration, and involvement in 

a process or system between two or more 

parties. 

(4) "Alternative Practice Setting" means a practice 

setting that utilizes credentialed EMS personnel 

that may not be affiliated with or under the 

oversight of an EMS System or EMS System 

Medical Director. 

(5) "Air Medical Ambulance" means an aircraft 

configured and medically equipped to transport 

patients by air. The patient care compartment of 

air medical ambulances shall be staffed by 

medical crew members approved for the 

mission by the Medical Director. 

(6) "Air Medical Program" means a SCTP or EMS 

System utilizing rotary-wing or fixed-wing 

aircraft configured and operated to transport 

patients. 

(7) "Assistant Medical Director" means a 

physician, EMS-PA, or EMS-NP who assists 

the Medical Director with the medical aspects 

of the management of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. 

(8) "Bypass" means a decision made by the patient 

care technician to transport a patient from the 

scene of an accident or medical emergency past 

a receiving facility for the purposes of 

accessing a facility with a higher level of care, 

or a hospital of its own volition reroutes a 

patient from the scene of an accident or medical 

emergency or referring hospital to a facility 

with a higher level of care. 

(9) "Community Paramedicine" means an EMS 

System utilizing credentialed personnel who 

have received additional training as determined 

by the EMS system Medical Director to provide 

knowledge and skills for the community needs 

beyond the 911 emergency response and 
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transport operating guidelines defined in the 

EMS system plan. 

(10) "Contingencies" mean conditions placed on a 

designation that, if unmet, may result in the loss 

or amendment of a designation. 

(11) "Convalescent Ambulance" means an 

ambulance used on a scheduled basis solely to 

transport patients having a known non-

emergency medical condition. Convalescent 

ambulances shall not be used in place of any 

other category of ambulance defined in this 

Subchapter. 

(12) "Deficiency" means the failure to meet essential 

criteria for a designation that can serve as the 

basis for a focused review or denial of a 

designation. 

(13) "Department" means the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

(14) "Diversion" means the hospital is unable to 

accept a patient due to a lack of staffing or 

resources. 

(15) "Educational Medical Advisor" means the 

physician responsible for overseeing the 

medical aspects of approved EMS educational 

programs. 

(16) "EMS Care" means all services provided within 

each EMS System by its affiliated EMS 

agencies and personnel that relate to the 

dispatch, response, treatment, and disposition 

of any patient. 

(17) "EMS Educational Institution" means any 

agency credentialed by the OEMS to offer EMS 

educational programs. 

(18) "EMS Non-Transporting Vehicle" means a 

motor vehicle operated by a licensed EMS 

provider dedicated and equipped to move 

medical equipment and EMS personnel 

functioning within the scope of practice of an 

AEMT or Paramedic to the scene of a request 

for assistance. EMS nontransporting vehicles 

shall not be used for the transportation of 

patients on the streets, highways, waterways, or 

airways of the state. 

(19) "EMS Peer Review Committee" means a 

committee as defined in G.S. 131E-155(6b). 

(20) "EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted 

Statistics" means one or more reports generated 

from the State EMS data system analyzing the 

EMS service delivery, personnel performance, 

and patient care provided by an EMS system 

and its associated EMS agencies and personnel. 

Each EMS Performance Improvement Self-

Tracking and Assessment of Targeted Statistics 

focuses on a topic of care such as trauma, 

cardiac arrest, EMS response times, stroke, 

STEMI (heart attack), and pediatric care. 

(21) "EMS Provider" means those entities defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(13a) that hold a current license 

issued by the Department pursuant to G.S. 

131E-155.1. 

(22) "EMS System" means a coordinated 

arrangement of local resources under the 

authority of the county government (including 

all agencies, personnel, equipment, and 

facilities) organized to respond to medical 

emergencies and integrated with other health 

care providers and networks including public 

health, community health monitoring activities, 

and special needs populations. 

(23) "Essential Criteria" means those items that are 

the requirements for the respective level of 

trauma center designation (I, II, or III), as set 

forth in Rule .0901 of this Subchapter. 

(24) "Focused Review" means an evaluation by the 

OEMS of corrective actions to remove 

contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

following a site visit. 

(25) "Ground Ambulance" means an ambulance 

used to transport patients with traumatic or 

medical conditions or patients for whom the 

need for specialty care, emergency, or non-

emergency medical care is anticipated either at 

the patient location or during transport. 

(26) "Hospital" means a licensed facility as defined 

in G.S. 131E-176 or an acute care in-patient 

diagnostic and treatment facility located within 

the State of North Carolina that is owned and 

operated by an agency of the United States 

government. 

(27) "Inclusive Trauma System" means an 

organized, multi-disciplinary, evidence-based 

approach to provide quality care and to improve 

measurable outcomes for all defined injured 

patients. EMS, hospitals, other health systems, 

and clinicians shall participate in a structured 

manner through leadership, advocacy, injury 

prevention, education, clinical care, 

performance improvement, and research 

resulting in integrated trauma care. 

(28) "Infectious Disease Control Policy" means a 

written policy describing how the EMS system 

will protect and prevent its patients and EMS 

professionals from exposure and illness 

associated with contagions and infectious 

disease. 

(29) "Lead RAC Agency" means the agency 

(comprised of one or more Level I or II trauma 

centers) that provides staff support and serves 

as the coordinating entity for trauma planning. 

(30) "Level I Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

has the capability of providing guidance, 

research, and total care for every aspect of 

injury from prevention to rehabilitation. 

(31) "Level II Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides trauma care regardless of the severity 

of the injury, but may lack the comprehensive 
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care as a Level I trauma center, and does not 

have trauma research as a primary objective. 

(32) "Level III Trauma Center" means a hospital that 

provides assessment, resuscitation, emergency 

operations, and stabilization, and arranges for 

hospital transfer as needed to a Level I or II 

trauma center. 

(33) "Medical Crew Member" means EMS 

personnel or other health care professionals 

who are licensed or registered in North Carolina 

and are affiliated with a SCTP. 

(34) "Medical Director" means the physician 

responsible for the medical aspects of the 

management of a practice setting utilizing 

credentialed EMS personnel or medical crew 

members, or a Trauma Center. 

(35) "Medical Oversight" means the responsibility 

for the management and accountability of the 

medical care aspects of a practice setting 

utilizing credentialed EMS personnel or 

medical crew members. Medical Oversight 

includes physician direction of the initial 

education and continuing education of EMS 

personnel or medical crew members; 

development and monitoring of both 

operational and treatment protocols; evaluation 

of the medical care rendered by EMS personnel 

or medical crew members; participation in 

system or program evaluation; and directing, by 

two-way voice communications, the medical 

care rendered by the EMS personnel or medical 

crew members. 

(36) "Mobile Integrated Healthcare" means utilizing 

credentialed personnel who have received 

additional training as determined by the 

Alternative Practice Setting medical director to 

provide knowledge and skills for the healthcare 

provider program needs. 

(37) "Office of Emergency Medical Services" 

means a section of the Division of Health 

Service Regulation of the North Carolina 

Department of Health and Human Services 

located at 1201 Umstead Drive, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27603. 

(38) "On-line Medical Control" means the medical 

supervision or oversight provided to EMS 

personnel through direct communication in-

person, via radio, cellular phone, or other 

communication device during the time the 

patient is under the care of an EMS 

professional. 

(39) "Operational Protocols" means the 

administrative policies and procedures of an 

EMS System or that provide guidance for the 

day-to-day operation of the system. 

(40) "Physician" means a medical or osteopathic 

doctor licensed by the North Carolina Medical 

Board to practice medicine in the state of North 

Carolina. 

(41) "Regional Advisory Committee" means a 

committee comprised of a lead RAC agency 

and a group representing trauma care providers 

and the community, for the purpose of regional 

planning, establishing, and maintaining a 

coordinated trauma system. 

(42) "Request for Proposal" means a State document 

that must be completed by each hospital 

seeking initial or renewal trauma center 

designation. 

(43) "Significant Failure to Comply" means a degree 

of non-compliance determined by the OEMS 

during compliance monitoring to exceed the 

ability of the local EMS System to correct, 

warranting enforcement action pursuant to 

Section .1500 of this Subchapter. 

(44) "State Medical Asset and Resource Tracking 

Tool" means the Internet web-based program 

used by the OEMS both in its daily operations 

and during times of disaster to identify, record, 

and monitor EMS, hospital, health care, and 

sheltering resources statewide, including 

facilities, personnel, vehicles, equipment, and 

pharmaceutical and supply caches. 

(45) "Specialty Care Transport Program" means a 

program designed and operated for the 

transportation of a patient by ground or air 

requiring specialized interventions, monitoring, 

and staffing by a paramedic who has received 

additional training as determined by the 

program Medical Director beyond the 

minimum training prescribed by the OEMS, or 

by one or more other healthcare professional(s) 

qualified for the provision of specialized care 

based on the patient's condition. 

(46) "Specialty Care Transport Program Continuing 

Education Coordinator" means a Level II EMS 

Instructor within a SCTP who is responsible for 

the coordination of EMS continuing education 

programs for EMS personnel within the 

program. 

(47) "Stretcher" means any wheeled or portable 

device capable of transporting a person in a 

recumbent position and may only be used in an 

ambulance vehicle permitted by the 

Department. 

(48) "Stroke" means an acute cerebrovascular 

hemorrhage or occlusion resulting in a 

neurologic deficit. 

(49) "System Continuing Education Coordinator" 

means the Level II EMS Instructor designated 

by the local EMS System who is responsible for 

the coordination of EMS continuing education 

programs. 

(50) "System Data" means all information required 

for daily electronic submission to the OEMS by 

all EMS Systems using the EMS data set, data 

dictionary, and file format as specified in 

"North Carolina College of Emergency 
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Physicians: Standards for Medical Oversight 

and Data Collection," incorporated herein by 

reference including subsequent amendments 

and editions. This document is available from 

the OEMS, 2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 

North Carolina 27699- 2707, at no cost and 

online at www.ncems.org at no cost. 

(51) "Trauma Center" means a hospital designated 

by the State of North Carolina and 

distinguished by its ability to manage, on a 24-

hour basis, the severely injured patient or those 

at risk for severe injury. 

(52) "Trauma Patient" means any patient with an 

ICD-CM discharge diagnosis as defined in the 

"North Carolina Trauma Registry Data 

Dictionary," incorporated herein by reference, 

including subsequent amendments and editions. 

This document is available from the OEMS, 

2707 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 

Carolina 27699-2707, at no cost and online at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/trau

maregistry.html at no cost. 

(53) "Trauma Program" means an administrative 

entity that includes the trauma service and 

coordinates other trauma-related activities. It 

shall also include the trauma Medical Director, 

trauma program manager/trauma coordinator, 

and trauma registrar. This program's reporting 

structure shall give it the ability to interact with 

at least equal authority with other departments 

in the hospital providing patient care. 

(54) "Trauma Registry" means a disease-specific 

data collection composed of a file of uniform 

data elements that describe the injury event, 

demographics, pre-hospital information, 

diagnosis, care, outcomes, and costs of 

treatment for injured patients collected and 

electronically submitted as defined by the 

OEMS. The elements of the Trauma Registry 

can be accessed at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/EMS/trauma/trau

maregistry.html at no cost. 

(55) "Treatment Protocols" means a document 

approved by the Medical Directors of the local 

EMS System, Specialty Care Transport 

Program, Alternative Practice Setting, or 

Trauma Center and the OEMS specifying the 

diagnostic procedures, treatment procedures, 

medication administration, and patient-care-

related policies that shall be completed by EMS 

personnel or medical crew members based upon 

the assessment of a patient. 

(56) "Triage" means the assessment and 

categorization of a patient to determine the 

level of EMS and healthcare facility based care 

required. 

(57) "Water Ambulance" means a watercraft 

specifically configured and medically equipped 

to transport patients. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-155(6b); 131E-162; 143-

508(b); 143-508(d)(1); 143-508(d)(2); 143- 508(d)(3); 143-

508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(5); 143-508(d)(6); 143-508(d)(7); 143-

508(d)(8); 143- 508(d)(13); 143-518(a)(5); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. March 3, 2009 pursuant to E.O. 9, Beverly Perdue, 

March 3, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3(c), a bill was not ratified by the 

General Assembly to disapprove this rule; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; September 1, 2019; July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0222 TRANSPORT OF STRETCHER 

BOUND PATIENTS 

(a)  Any person transported on a stretcher as defined in Rule .0102 

of this Subchapter meets the definition of patient as defined in 

G.S. 131E-155(16). 

(b)  Stretchers may only be utilized for patient transport in an 

ambulance permitted by the OEMS in accordance with G.S. 

131E-156 and Rule .0211 of this Section. 

(c)  The Medical Care Commission exempts wheeled chair 

devices used solely for the transportation of mobility impaired 

persons seated in an upright position in non-permitted vehicles 

from the definition of stretcher. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-156; 131E-157; 143-

508(d)(8); 

Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0501 EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS 

(a)  EMS educational programs that qualify credentialed EMS 

personnel to perform within their scope of practice shall be 

offered by an EMS educational institution as set forth in Section 

.0600 of this Subchapter, or by an EMS educational institution in 

another state where the education and credentialing requirements 

have been approved for legal recognition by the Department 

pursuant to G.S. 131E-159 as determined using the professional 

judgment of OEMS staff following comparison of out-of-state 

standards with the program standards set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMS personnel for 

credentialing shall meet the educational content of the "US DOT 

NHTSA National EMS Education Standards," which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and 

editions. This document is available online at no cost at 

www.ems.gov/education.html. 

(c)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMS personnel for 

initial AEMT and Paramedic credentialing shall meet the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) of this Rule and possess 

verification of accreditation or a valid letter of review from the 

Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education 

Programs (CAAHEP) or other accrediting agency determined 

using the professional judgment of OEMS staff following a 

comparison of standards. The Department shall not approve initial 

AEMT or Paramedic courses for educational programs that fail to 

meet accreditation requirements by January 1, 2023. 

(d)  Educational programs approved to qualify EMD personnel for 

credentialing shall conform with the "ASTM F1258 – 95(2014): 
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Standard Practice for Emergency Medical Dispatch," which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and editions. This document is available from 

ASTM International, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, PO Box C700, West 

Conshohocken, PA, 19428-2959 USA, at a cost of forty eight 

dollars ($48.00) per copy. 

(e)  Instructional methodology courses approved to qualify Level 

I EMS instructors shall conform with the "US DOT NHTSA 2002 

National Guidelines for Educating EMS Instructors," which is 

hereby incorporated by reference including subsequent 

amendments and additions. This document is available online at 

no cost at www.ems.gov/education.html. 

(f)  Continuing educational programs approved by the OEMS to 

qualify EMS personnel for renewal of credentials shall be 

approved by demonstrating the ability to assess cognitive 

competency in the skills and medications for the level of 

application as defined by the North Carolina Medical Board 

pursuant to G.S. 143-514. 

(g)  Refresher courses shall comply with the requirements defined 

in Rule .0513 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(3); 143-508(d)(4); 

143-514; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readoption Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0502 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR EMR, EMT, AEMT, 

PARAMEDIC, AND EMD 

(a)  In order to be credentialed by the OEMS as an EMR, EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic, individuals shall: 

(1) Be at least 18 years of age. An examination may 

be taken at age 17; however, the EMS 

credential shall not be issued until the applicant 

has reached the age of 18. 

(2) Complete an approved educational program as 

set forth in Rule .0501 of this Section for their 

level of application. 

(3) Complete a scope of practice performance 

evaluation that uses performance measures 

based on the cognitive, psychomotor, and 

affective educational objectives set forth in 

Rule .0501 of this Section and that is consistent 

with their level of application, and approved by 

the OEMS. This scope of practice evaluation 

shall be completed no more than one year prior 

to examination. This evaluation shall be 

conducted by a Level I or Level II EMS 

Instructor credentialed at or above the level of 

application or under the direction of the primary 

credentialed EMS instructor or educational 

medical advisor for the approved educational 

program. 

(4) Within 90 days from their course graded date as 

reflected in the OEMS credentialing database, 

complete a written examination administered 

by the OEMS. If the applicant fails to register 

and complete a written examination within the 

90-day period, the applicant shall obtain a letter 

of authorization to continue eligibility for 

testing from his or her EMS Educational 

Institution's program coordinator to qualify for 

an extension of the 90-day requirement set forth 

in this Paragraph. If the EMS Educational 

Institution's program coordinator declines to 

provide a letter of authorization, the applicant 

shall be disqualified from completing the 

credentialing process. Following a review of 

the applicant's specific circumstances, OEMS 

staff will determine, based on professional 

judgment, if the applicant qualifies for EMS 

credentialing eligibility. The OEMS shall 

notify the applicant in writing within 10 

business days of the decision. 

(A) a maximum of three attempts within 

six months shall be allowed. 

(B) if unable to pass the written 

examination requirement after three 

attempts, the educational program 

shall become invalid and the 

individual may only become eligible 

for credentialing by repeating the 

requirements set forth in Rule .0501 of 

this Section. 

(5) Submit to a criminal background history check 

as set forth in Rule .0511 of this Section. 

(6) Submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or 

felony conviction(s). 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing as an EMR, EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic may qualify for initial credentialing under 

the legal recognition option set forth in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

Individuals seeking credentialing as an AEMT or Paramedic shall 

submit documentation that the credential being used for 

application is from an educational program meeting the 

requirements as set forth in Rule .0501 of this Section. 

(c)  In order to be credentialed by the OEMS as an EMD, 

individuals shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) complete the educational requirements set forth 

in Rule .0501 of this Section; 

(3) complete, within one year prior to application, 

an AHA CPR course or a course determined by 

the OEMS to be equivalent to the AHA CPR 

course, including infant, child, and adult CPR; 

(4) submit to a criminal background history check 

as defined in Rule .0511 of this Section; 

(5) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from any misdemeanor or 

felony conviction(s); and 

(6) possess an EMD nationally recognized 

credential pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(d). 

(d)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue 

an EMS credential for any person listed on the Department of 

Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry, or 
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who was convicted of an offense that would have required 

registration if committed at a time when registration would have 

been required by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(b); 

131E-159(g); 131E-159(h); 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0504 RENEWAL OF CREDENTIALS 

FOR EMR, EMT, AEMT, PARAMEDIC, AND EMD 

(a)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants shall renew 

credentials by meeting the following criteria: 

(1) presenting documentation to the OEMS or an 

approved EMS educational institution or 

program as set forth in Rule .0601 or .0602 of 

this Subchapter that they have completed an 

approved educational program as described in 

Rule .0501 of this Section; 

(2) submit to a criminal background history check 

as set forth in Rule .0511 of this Section; 

(3) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from applicable 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s); and 

(4) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

an EMS provider approved by the Department. 

(b)  An individual may renew credentials by presenting 

documentation to the OEMS that he or she holds a valid EMS 

credential for his or her level of application issued by the National 

Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians or by another state 

where the education and credentialing requirements have been 

determined by OEMS staff in their professional judgment to be 

equivalent to the educations and credentialing requirements set 

forth in this Section. 

(c)  EMD applicants shall renew credentials by presenting 

documentation to the OEMS that he or she holds a valid EMD 

credential issued by a national credentialing agency using the 

education criteria set forth in Rule .0501 of this Section. 

(d)  Upon request, an EMS professional may renew at a lower 

credentialing level by meeting the requirements defined in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule. To restore the credential held at the 

higher level, the individual shall meet the requirements set forth 

in Rule .0512 of this Section. 

(e)  EMS credentials may not be renewed through a local 

credentialed institution or program more than 90 days prior to the 

date of expiration. 

(f)  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-3(a), if an applicant makes a timely and 

sufficient application for renewal, the EMS credential shall not 

expire until a decision on the credential is made by the 

Department. If the application is denied, the credential shall 

remain effective until the last day for applying for judicial review 

of the Department's order. 

(g)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not renew 

the EMS credential for any person listed on the North Carolina 

Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Registry, or who was convicted of an offense that would have 

required registration at a time when registration would have been 

required by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(g); 

131E-159(h); 143-508(d)(3); 143B-952; 150B-3(a); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0507 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LEVEL I EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Applicants for credentialing as a Level I EMS Instructor shall: 

(1) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as an 

EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic; 

(2) have completed post-secondary level education 

equal to or exceeding a minimum of an 

Associate Degree from an institution accredited 

by an approved agency listed on the U.S. 

Department of Education website, 

www.ed.gov: 

(A) The Department shall accept degrees 

from programs accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for 

Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the 

Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs. 

(B) Additional degrees may be accepted 

based on the professional judgment of 

OEMS staff following a comparison 

of standards; 

(3) have three years experience at the scope of 

practice for the level of application; 

(4) within one year prior to application, complete 

an in-person evaluation that demonstrates the 

applicant's ability to provide didactic and 

clinical instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501 of this Section 

consistent with their level of application and 

approved by the OEMS: 

(A) for a credential to teach at the EMT 

level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) for a credential to teach at the AEMT 

or Paramedic level, this evaluation 

shall be conducted under the direction 

of the educational medical advisor, or 

a Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application and 

designated by the educational medical 

advisor; 

(5) have 100 hours of teaching experience at or 

above the level of application in an approved 

EMS educational program or a program 
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determined by OEMS staff in their professional 

judgment equivalent to an EMS education 

program; 

(6) complete an educational program as described 

in Rule .0501 of this Section; and 

(7) within one year prior to application, attend an 

OEMS Instructor workshop sponsored by the 

OEMS. A listing of scheduled OEMS Instructor 

workshops is available from the OEMS at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ems. 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing for Level I EMS 

Instructor may qualify for initial credentialing under the legal 

recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level I EMS Instructor shall be valid for 

four years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c), unless any of the 

following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0508 INITIAL CREDENTIALING 

REQUIREMENTS FOR LEVEL II EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Applicants for credentialing as a Level II EMS Instructor 

shall: 

(1) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as an 

EMT, AEMT, or Paramedic; 

(2) be currently credentialed by the OEMS as a 

Level I Instructor at the EMT, AEMT, or 

Paramedic level; 

(3) have completed post-secondary level education 

equal to or exceeding a Bachelor's Degree from 

an institution accredited by an approved agency 

listed on the U.S. Department of Education 

website, www.ed.gov: 

(A) The Department shall accept degrees 

from programs accredited by the 

Accreditation Commission for 

Education in Nursing (ACEN) and the 

Commission on Accreditation of 

Allied Health Education Programs. 

(B) Additional degrees may be accepted 

based on the professional judgment of 

OEMS staff following a comparison 

of standards; 

(4) within one year prior to application, complete 

an in-person evaluation that demonstrates the 

applicant's ability to provide didactic and 

clinical instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501 of this Section 

consistent with their level of application and 

approved by the OEMS: 

(A) for a credential to teach at the EMT 

level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) for a credential to teach at the AEMT 

or Paramedic level, this evaluation 

shall be conducted under the direction 

of the educational medical advisor, or 

a Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application and 

designated by the educational medical 

advisor; 

(5) a minimum two concurrent years teaching 

experience as a Level I EMS Instructor at or 

above the level of application, or as a Level II 

EMS Instructor at a lesser credential level 

applying for a higher level in an approved EMS 

educational program, or teaching experience 

determined by OEMS staff in their professional 

judgment to be equivalent to an EMS Level I 

education program; 

(6) complete the "EMS Education Administration 

Course" conducted by a North Carolina 

Community College or the National 

Association of EMS Educators Level II 

Instructor Course that is valid for the duration 

of the active Level II Instructor credential; and 

(7) within one year prior to application, attend an 

OEMS Instructor workshop sponsored by the 

OEMS. A listing of scheduled OEMS Instructor 

workshops is available from the OEMS at 

https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/ems. 

(b)  An individual seeking credentialing for Level II EMS 

Instructor may qualify for initial credentialing under the legal 

recognition option defined in G.S. 131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level II EMS Instructor is valid for four 

years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c), unless any of the 

following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h) the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2022; September 1, 2019. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0510 RENEWAL OF CREDENTIALS 

FOR LEVEL I AND LEVEL II EMS INSTRUCTORS 

(a)  Level I and Level II EMS Instructor applicants shall renew 

credentials by presenting documentation to the OEMS that they: 

(1) are credentialed by the OEMS as an EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic; 

(2) within one year prior to application, complete 

an evaluation that demonstrates the applicant's 

ability to provide didactic and clinical 

instruction based on the cognitive, 

psychomotor, and affective educational 

objectives in Rule .0501 of this Section 

consistent with their level of application and 

approved by the OEMS: 

(A) to renew a credential to teach at the 

EMT level, this evaluation shall be 

conducted under the direction of a 

Level II EMS Instructor credentialed 

at or above the level of application; 

and 

(B) to renew a credential to teach at the 

AEMT or Paramedic level, this 

evaluation shall be conducted under 

the direction of the educational 

medical advisor, or a Level II EMS 

Instructor credentialed at or above the 

level of application and designated by 

the educational medical advisor; 

(3) completed 96 hours of EMS instruction at the 

level of application. Individuals identified as 

EMS program coordinators or positions as 

determined by OEMS staff in their professional 

judgment to the equivalent to an EMS program 

coordinator may provide up to 72 hours related 

to the institution's needs, with the remaining 24 

hours in EMS instruction; 

(4) completed 24 hours of educational professional 

development as defined by the educational 

institution that provides for: 

(A) enrichment of knowledge; 

(B) development or change of attitude in 

students; or 

(C) acquisition or improvement of skills; 

and 

(5) within one year prior to renewal application, 

attend an OEMS Instructor workshop 

sponsored by the OEMS. 

(b)  An individual may renew a Level I or Level II EMS Instructor 

credential under the legal recognition option defined in G.S. 

131E-159(c). 

(c)  The credential of a Level I or Level II EMS Instructor is valid 

for four years, or less pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(c) unless any of 

the following occurs: 

(1) the OEMS imposes an administrative action 

against the instructor credential; or 

(2) the instructor fails to maintain a current EMT, 

AEMT, or Paramedic credential at the highest 

level that the instructor is approved to teach. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the 

Department shall not issue an EMS credential for any person 

listed on the Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

registration would have been required by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(a); 131E-159(b); 

143-508(d)(3); 

Eff. February 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. February 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0512 REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED 

EMS CREDENTIAL 

(a)  EMS personnel enrolled in an OEMS approved continuing 

education program as set forth in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter 

and who were eligible for renewal of an EMS credential prior to 

expiration, may request the EMS educational institution submit 

documentation of the continuing education record to the OEMS. 

OEMS shall renew the EMS credential to be valid for four years 

from the previous expiration date. 

(b)  An individual with a lapsed North Carolina EMS credential is 

eligible for reinstatement through the legal recognition option 

defined in G.S. 131E-159(c) and Rule .0502 of this Section. 

(c)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for 

reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed up to 36 months, shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

a North Carolina EMS Provider; 

(3) at the time of application, present evidence that 

renewal education requirements were met prior 

to expiration or complete a refresher course at 

the level of application taken following 

expiration of the credential; 

(4) complete an OEMS administered written 

examination for the individual's level of 

credential application; 

(5) undergo a criminal history check performed by 

the OEMS; and 

(6) submit evidence of completion of all court 

conditions resulting from applicable 

misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). 

(d)  EMR, EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for 

reinstatement of an EMS credential, lapsed more than 36 months, 

shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); and 
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(2) meet the provisions for initial credentialing set 

forth in Rule .0502 of this Section. 

(e)  EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of 

an EMS Instructor Credential, lapsed up to 12 months, shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); 

(2) be a resident of North Carolina or affiliated with 

a North Carolina EMS Provider; and 

(3) at the time of application, present evidence that 

renewal requirements were met prior to 

expiration or within six months following the 

expiration of the Instructor credential. 

(f)  EMT, AEMT, and Paramedic applicants for reinstatement of 

an EMS Instructor credential, lapsed greater than 12 months, 

shall: 

(1) be ineligible for legal recognition pursuant to 

G.S. 131E-159(c); and 

(2) meet the requirements for initial Instructor 

credentialing set forth in Rules .0507 and .0508 

of this Section. Degree requirements that were 

not applicable to EMS Instructors initially 

credentialed prior to July 1, 2021 shall be 

required for reinstatement of a lapsed 

credential. 

(g)  EMD applicants shall renew a lapsed credential by meeting 

the requirements for initial credentialing set forth in Rule .0502 of 

this Section. 

(h)  Pursuant to G.S. 131E-159(h), the Department shall not issue 

or renew an EMS credential for any person listed on the 

Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and Public Protection 

Registry, or who was convicted of an offense that would have 

required registration if committed at a time when registration 

would have been required by law. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(3); 

143B-952; 

Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0601 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

EMS EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Continuing Education EMS Educational Programs shall be 

credentialed by the OEMS to provide only EMS continuing 

education. An application for credentialing as an approved EMS 

continuing education program shall be submitted to the OEMS for 

review. 

(b)  Continuing Education EMS Educational Programs shall have: 

(1) at least a Level I EMS Instructor as program 

coordinator and shall hold a Level I EMS 

Instructor credential at a level equal to or 

greater than the highest level of continuing 

education program offered in the EMS System, 

Specialty Care Transport Program, or Agency; 

(2) a continuing education program shall be 

consistent with the services offered by the EMS 

System, Specialty Care Transport Program, or 

Agency; 

(A) In an EMS System, the continuing 

education programs shall be reviewed 

and approved by the system 

continuing education coordinator and 

Medical Director;  

(B) In a Specialty Care Transport 

Program, the continuing education 

program shall be reviewed and 

approved by Specialty Care Transport 

Program Continuing Education 

Coordinator and the Medical Director; 

and 

(C) In an Agency not affiliated with an 

EMS System or Specialty Care 

Transport Program, the continuing 

education program shall be reviewed 

and approved by the Agency Program 

Medical Director; 

(3) written educational policies and procedures to 

include each of the following; 

(A) the delivery of educational programs 

in a manner where the content and 

material is delivered to the intended 

audience, with a limited potential for 

exploitation of such content and 

material; 

(B) the record-keeping system of student 

attendance and performance; 

(C) the selection and monitoring of EMS 

instructors; and 

(D) student evaluations of faculty and the 

program's courses or components, and 

the frequency of the evaluations; 

(4) access to instructional supplies and equipment 

necessary for students to complete educational 

programs as defined in Rule .0501 of this 

Subchapter; 

(5) meet the educational program requirements as 

defined in Rule .0501 of this Subchapter; 

(6) Upon request, the approved EMS continuing 

education program shall provide records to the 

OEMS in order to verify compliance and 

student eligibility for credentialing; and 

(7) approved education program credentials are 

valid for a period not to exceed four years. 

(c)  Program coordinators shall attend an OEMS Program 

Coordinator workshop annually. A listing of scheduled OEMS 

Program Coordinator Workshops is available at 

https://emspic.org. 

(d)  Assisting physicians delegated by the EMS System Medical 

Director as authorized by Rule .0403 of this Subchapter or SCTP 

Medical Director as authorized by Rule .0404 of this Subchapter 

for provision of medical oversight of continuing education 

programs must meet the Education Medical Advisor criteria as 

defined in the "North Carolina College of Emergency Physicians: 

Standards for Medical Oversight." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(13); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 
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Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0602 BASIC AND ADVANCED EMS 

EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institutions may offer 

educational programs for which they have been credentialed by 

the OEMS. 

(1) EMS Educational Institutions shall complete a 

minimum of two initial courses at the highest 

level educational program approved for the 

Educational Institution's credential approval 

period. 

(2) EMS Educational Institutions that do not 

complete two initial courses for each 

educational program approved shall be subject 

to action as set forth in Rule .1505 of this 

Subchapter. 

(b)  For initial courses, Basic EMS Educational Institutions shall 

meet all of the requirements for continuing EMS educational 

programs defined in Rule .0601 of this Section and shall have: 

(1) at least a Level I EMS Instructor as each lead 

course instructor for all courses. The lead 

course instructor must be credentialed at a level 

equal to or higher than the course and shall meet 

the lead instructor responsibilities under 

Standard III of the CAAHEP Standards and 

Guidelines for the Accreditation of Educational 

Programs in the Emergency Medical Services 

Professions. The lead instructor shall: 

(A) perform duties assigned under the 

direction and delegation of the 

program director. 

(B) assist in coordination of the didactic, 

lab, clinical, and field internship 

instruction. 

(2) a lead EMS educational program coordinator. 

This individual shall be a Level II EMS 

Instructor credentialed at or above the highest 

level of course offered by the institution, and: 

(A) have EMS or related allied health 

education, training, and experience; 

(B) be knowledgeable about methods of 

instruction, testing, and evaluation of 

students; 

(C) have field experience in the delivery of 

pre-hospital emergency care; 

(D) have academic training and 

preparation related to emergency 

medical services, at least equivalent to 

that of a paramedic; and 

(E) be knowledgeable of current versions 

of the National EMS Scope of Practice 

and National EMS Education 

Standards as defined by USDOT 

NHTSA National EMS, evidence-

informed clinical practice, and 

incorporated by Rule .0501 of this 

Section; 

(3) a lead EMS educational program coordinator 

responsible for the following: 

(A) the administrative oversight, 

organization, and supervision of the 

program; 

(B) the continuous quality review and 

improvement of the program; 

(C) the long-range planning on ongoing 

development of the program; 

(D) evaluating the effectiveness of the 

instruction, faculty, and overall 

program; 

(E) the collaborative involvement with the 

Education Medical Advisor; 

(F) the training and supervision of clinical 

and field internship preceptors; and 

(G) the effectiveness and quality of 

fulfillment of responsibilities 

delegated to another qualified 

individual; 

(4) written educational policies and procedures that 

include: 

(A) the written educational policies and 

procedures set forth in Rule .0601 of 

this Section; 

(B) the delivery of cognitive and 

psychomotor examinations in a 

manner that will protect and limit the 

potential for exploitation of such 

content and material; 

(C) the exam item validation process 

utilized for the development of 

validated cognitive examinations; 

(D) the selection and monitoring of all in-

state and out-of-state clinical 

education and field internship sites; 

(E) the selection and monitoring of all 

educational institutionally approved 

clinical education and field internship 

preceptors; 

(F) utilization of EMS preceptors 

providing feedback to the student and 

EMS program; 

(G) the evaluation of preceptors by their 

students, including the frequency of 

evaluations; 

(H) the evaluation of the clinical education 

and field internship sites by their 

students, including the frequency of 

evaluations; and 

(I) completion of an annual evaluation of 

the program to identify any 

correctable deficiencies; 

(5) an Educational Medical Advisor that meets the 

criteria as defined in the "North Carolina 

College of Emergency Physicians: Standards 

for Medical Oversight and Data Collection" 

who is responsible for the following; 

(A) medical oversight of the program; 
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(B) collaboration to provide appropriate 

and updated educational content for 

the program curriculum; 

(C) establishing minimum requirements 

for program completion; 

(D) oversight of student evaluation, 

monitoring, and remediation as 

needed; 

(E) ensuring entry level competence; 

(F) ensuring interaction of physician and 

students; and 

(6) written educational policies and procedures 

describing the delivery of educational 

programs, the record-keeping system detailing 

student attendance and performance, and the 

selection and monitoring of EMS instructors. 

(c)  For initial courses, Advanced Educational Institutions shall 

meet all requirements set forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule, 

Standard III of the CAAHEP Standards and Guidelines for the 

Accreditation of Educational Programs in the Emergency Medical 

Services Professions shall apply, and; 

(1) The faculty must be knowledgeable in course 

content and effective in teaching their assigned 

subjects, and capable through academic 

preparation, training, and experience to teach 

the courses or topics to which they are assigned. 

(2) A faculty member to assist in teaching and 

clinical coordination in addition to the program 

coordinator. 

(d)  Basic and Advanced EMS Educational Institution credentials 

shall be valid for a period of four years, unless the institution is 

accredited in accordance with Rule .0605 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(13); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .0905 RENEWAL DESIGNATION 

PROCESS 

(a)  Hospitals may utilize one of two options to achieve Trauma 

Center renewal: 

(1) undergo a site visit conducted by OEMS to 

obtain a four-year renewal designation; or 

(2) undergo a verification visit by the ACS, in 

conjunction with the OEMS, to obtain a three-

year renewal designation. 

(b)  For hospitals choosing Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule: 

(1) prior to the end of the designation period, the 

OEMS shall forward to the hospital an RFP for 

completion. The hospital shall, within 10 

business days of receipt of the RFP, define for 

OEMS the Trauma Center's trauma primary 

catchment area.  

(2) hospitals shall complete and submit an 

electronic copy of the RFP to the OEMS and the 

specified site surveyors at least 30 days prior to 

the site visit. The RFP shall include information 

that supports compliance with the criteria 

contained in Rule .0901 of this Section as it 

relates to the Trauma Center's level of 

designation. 

(3) all criteria defined in Rule .0901 of this Section, 

as it relates to the Trauma Center's level of 

designation, shall be met for renewal 

designation. 

(4) a site visit shall be conducted within 120 days 

prior to the end of the designation period. The 

hospital and the OEMS shall agree on the date 

of the site visit. 

(5) the composition of a Level I or II site survey 

team shall be the same as that specified in 

Rule.0904(k) of this Section. 

(6) the composition of a Level III site survey team 

shall be the same as that specified in Rule 

.0904(l) of this Section. 

(7) on the day of the site visit, the hospital shall 

make available all requested patient medical 

charts. 

(8) the primary reviewer of the site review team 

shall give a verbal post-conference report 

representing a consensus of the site review 

team. The primary reviewer shall complete and 

submit to the OEMS a written consensus report 

within 30 days of the site visit. 

(9) the report of the site survey team and a staff 

recommendation shall be reviewed by the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

at its next regularly scheduled meeting 

following the site visit. Based upon the site visit 

report and the staff recommendation, the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

shall recommend to the OEMS that the request 

for Trauma Center renewal be: 

(A) approved; 

(B) approved with a contingency(ies) due 

to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

focused review; 

(C) approved with a contingency(ies) not 

due to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

consultative visit; or 

(D) denied. 

(10) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall have up to 

10 business days prior to the NC Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council meeting to 

provide documentation to demonstrate 

compliance. If the hospital has a deficiency that 

cannot be corrected in this period prior to the 

NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council meeting, the hospital shall be given 12 

months by the OEMS to demonstrate 

compliance and undergo a focused review that 

may require an additional site visit. The need 

for an additional site visit is on a case-by-case 

basis based on the type of deficiency. The 

hospital shall retain its Trauma Center 
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designation during the focused review period. 

If compliance is demonstrated within the 

prescribed time period, the hospital shall be 

granted its designation for the four-year period 

from the previous designation's expiration date. 

If compliance is not demonstrated within the 12 

month time period, the Trauma Center 

designation shall not be renewed. To become 

redesignated, the hospital shall submit an 

updated RFP and follow the initial applicant 

process outlined in Rule .0904 of this Section. 

(11) the final decision regarding trauma center 

renewal shall be rendered by the OEMS. 

(12) the OEMS shall notify the hospital in writing of 

the NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council's and OEMS' final recommendation 

within 30 days of the NC Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Council meeting. 

(13) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall submit an 

action plan to the OEMS to address the 

deficiency(ies) within 10 business days 

following receipt of the written final decision 

on the trauma recommendations. 

(c)  For hospitals choosing Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule: 

(1) at least six months prior to the end of the 

Trauma Center's designation period, the trauma 

center shall notify the OEMS of its intent to 

undergo an ACS verification visit. It shall 

simultaneously define in writing to the OEMS 

its trauma primary catchment area. Trauma 

Centers choosing this option shall then comply 

with all the ACS' verification procedures, as 

well as any additional state criteria as defined in 

Rule .0901 of this Section, that apply to their 

level of designation. 

(2) when completing the ACS' documentation for 

verification, the Trauma Center shall ensure 

access to the ACS on-line PRQ (pre-review 

questionnaire) to OEMS. The Trauma Center 

shall simultaneously complete any documents 

supplied by OEMS and forward these to the 

OEMS. 

(3) the Trauma Center shall make sure the site visit 

is scheduled to ensure that the ACS' final 

written report, accompanying medical record 

reviews and cover letter are received by OEMS 

at least 30 days prior to a regularly scheduled 

NC Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council meeting to ensure that the Trauma 

Center's state designation period does not 

terminate without consideration by the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory 

Council. 

(4) any in-state review for a hospital choosing 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule, except for the 

OEMS staff, shall be from outside the local or 

adjacent RAC in which the hospital is located. 

(5) the composition of a Level I, II, or III site 

survey team for hospitals choosing 

Subparagraph (a)(2) of this Rule shall be as 

follows: 

(A) one out-of-state trauma surgeon who 

is a Fellow of the ACS, experienced as 

a site surveyor, who shall be the 

primary reviewer; 

(B) one out-of-state emergency physician 

who works in a designated trauma 

center, is a member of the American 

College of Emergency Physicians or 

the American Academy of Emergency 

Medicine, and is boarded in 

emergency medicine by the American 

Board of Emergency Physicians or the 

American Osteopathic Board of 

Emergency Medicine; 

(C) one out-of-state trauma program 

manager with an equivalent license 

from another state; and 

(D) OEMS staff. 

(6) the date, time, and all proposed members of the 

site visit team shall be submitted to the OEMS 

for review at least 45 days prior to the site visit. 

The OEMS shall approve the site visit schedule 

if the schedule does not conflict with the ability 

of attendance by required OEMS staff. The 

OEMS shall approve the proposed site visit 

team members if the OEMS determines there is 

no conflict of interest, such as previous 

employment, by any site visit team member 

associated with the site visit. 

(7) all state Trauma Center criteria shall be met as 

defined in Rule .0901 of this Section for 

renewal of state designation. ACS' verification 

is not required for state designation. ACS' 

verification does not ensure a state designation. 

(8) The ACS final written report and supporting 

documentation described in Subparagraph 

(c)(4) of this Rule shall be used to generate a 

report following the post conference meeting 

for presentation to the NC Emergency Medical 

Services Advisory Council for renewal 

designation. 

(9) the final written report issued by the ACS' 

verification review committee, the 

accompanying medical record reviews from 

which all identifiers shall be removed and cover 

letter shall be forwarded to OEMS within 10 

business days of its receipt by the Trauma 

Center seeking renewal. 

(10) the OEMS shall present its summary of findings 

report to the NC Emergency Medical Services 

Advisory Council at its next regularly 

scheduled meeting. The NC Emergency 

Medical Services Advisory Council shall 

recommend to the Chief of the OEMS that the 

request for Trauma Center renewal be: 

(A) approved; 
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(B) approved with a contingency(ies) due 

to a deficiency(ies) requiring a 

focused review; 

(C) approved with a contingency(ies) not 

due to a deficiency(ies); or 

(D) denied. 

(11) the OEMS shall send the hospital written notice 

of the NC Emergency Medical Services 

Advisory Council's and OEMS' final 

recommendation within 30 days of the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

meeting. 

(12) the final decision regarding trauma center 

designation shall be rendered by the OEMS. 

(13) hospitals with contingencies as the result of a 

deficiency(ies), as determined by OEMS, shall 

have up to 10 business days prior to the NC 

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council 

meeting to provide documentation to 

demonstrate compliance. If the hospital has a 

deficiency that cannot be corrected in this time 

period, the hospital, may undergo a focused 

review to be conducted by the OEMS whereby 

the Trauma Center shall be given 12 months by 

the OEMS to demonstrate compliance. 

Satisfaction of contingency(ies) may require an 

additional site visit. The need for an additional 

site visit is on a case-by-case basis based on the 

type of deficiency. The hospital shall retain its 

Trauma Center designation during the focused 

review period. If compliance is demonstrated 

within the prescribed time period, the hospital 

shall be granted its designation for the three-

year period from the previous designation's 

expiration date. If compliance is not 

demonstrated within the 12 month time period, 

the Trauma Center designation shall not be 

renewed. To become redesignated, the hospital 

shall submit a new RFP and follow the initial 

applicant process outlined in Rule .0904 of this 

Section. 

(14) hospitals with a deficiency(ies) shall submit an 

action plan to the OEMS to address the 

deficiency(ies) within 10 business days 

following receipt of the written final decision 

on the trauma recommendations. 

(d)  If a Trauma Center currently using the ACS' verification 

process chooses not to renew using this process, it must notify the 

OEMS at least six months prior to the end of its state trauma center 

designation period of its intention to exercise the option in 

Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. Upon notification, the OEMS 

shall extend the designation for one additional year to ensure 

consistency with hospitals using Subparagraph (a)(1) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-162; 143-508(d)(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2009; January 1, 2009; January 1, 2004; 

Readoption Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1101 STATE TRAUMA SYSTEM 

(a)  The State trauma system shall consist of regional plans, 

policies, guidelines, and performance improvement initiatives by 

the RACs to create an Inclusive Trauma System monitored by the 

OEMS. 

(b)  Each hospital and EMS System shall affiliate as defined in 

Rule .0102 of this Subchapter and participate with the RAC that 

includes the Level I or II Trauma Center where the majority of 

trauma patient referrals and transports occur. Each hospital and 

EMS System shall submit to the OEMS upon request patient 

transfer patterns from data sources that support the choice of their 

primary RAC affiliation. Each RAC shall include at least one 

Level I or II Trauma Center. 

(c)  Each Lead RAC Coordinator shall update and submit RAC 

affiliation membership for hospitals and EMS Systems to the 

OEMS no later than July 1 of each year. Each hospital or EMS 

System shall submit written notification to the OEMS for any 

RAC affiliation change. RAC affiliation may be changed only if 

supported by a change in the majority of transfer patterns to a 

Level I or Level II Trauma Center. Documentation of these new 

transfer patterns shall be included in the request to change 

affiliation.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-162; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2002; 

Eff. April 1, 2003; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2009; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2017. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1401 CHEMICAL ADDICTION OR 

ABUSE RECOVERY PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The OEMS shall provide a monitoring program for aiding in 

the recovery of EMS personnel subject to disciplinary action for 

being unable to perform as credentialed EMS personnel with 

reasonable skill and safety to patients and the public by reason of 

use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other type of material as 

set forth in Rule .1507 of this Subchapter. 

(b)  This program requires: 

(1) an initial assessment by a healthcare 

professional specializing in chemical 

dependency approved by the program; 

(2) a treatment plan developed by a healthcare 

professional specializing in chemical 

dependency for the individual using the 

findings of the initial assessment. The 

Department and individual will enter into a 

consent agreement based upon the treatment 

plan; and 

(3) monitoring by OEMS program staff of the 

individual for compliance with the consent 

agreement entered into by the Department and 

the individual entering the program. 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-

508(d)(10); 

Eff. October 1, 2010; 
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Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1403 CONDITIONS FOR 

RESTRICTED PRACTICE WITH LIMITED 

PRIVILEGES 

(a)  In order to assist in determining eligibility for an individual to 

return to restricted practice, completion of all requirements 

outlined in the individual's consent agreement with the 

Department as described in Rule .1401 of this Section shall be 

presented to the Chief of the OEMS. 

(b)  Individuals who have surrendered his or her EMS 

credential(s) as a condition of entry into the recovery program, as 

required in Rule .1402 of this Section, shall be reviewed by the 

OEMS Chief to determine if issuance of an encumbered EMS 

credential is warranted by the Department. 

(c)  In order to obtain an encumbered credential with limited 

privileges, an individual shall: 

(1) be compliant for a minimum of 90 consecutive 

days with the treatment program described in 

Rule .1401 of this Section; and 

(2) be recommended in writing for review by the 

individual's recovery healthcare professional 

overseeing the treatment plan developed as 

described in Rule .1401 of this Section. 

(d)  The individual shall agree to sign a consent agreement with 

the OEMS that details the practice restrictions and privilege 

limitations of the encumbered EMS credential, and that contains 

the consequences of failure to abide by the terms of this 

agreement. 

(e)  The individual shall be issued the encumbered credential by 

the OEMS within 10 business days following execution of the 

consent agreement described in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  The encumbered EMS credential shall be valid for a period 

not to exceed four years. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-

508(d)(10); 

Eff. October 1, 2010; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1404 REINSTATEMENT OF AN 

UNENCUMBERED EMS CREDENTIAL 

Reinstatement of an unencumbered EMS credential is dependent 

upon the individual completing all requirements of the consent 

agreement as set forth in Rule .1401 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(d)(10); 

143-509(13); 

Eff. October 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1405 FAILURE TO COMPLETE THE 

CHEMICAL ADDICTION OR ABUSE RECOVERY 

PROGRAM 

Individuals who fail to complete the consent agreement 

established in Rule .1401 of this Section, upon review by the 

OEMS, are subject to revocation of their EMS credential. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(f); 143-508(b); 143-

508(d)(10); 

Eff. October 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2017. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1505 EMS EDUCATIONAL 

INSTITUTIONS 

(a)  For the purpose of this Rule, "focused review" means an 

evaluation by the OEMS of an educational institution's corrective 

actions to remove contingencies that are a result of deficiencies 

identified in the initial or renewal application process. 

(b)  The Department shall deny the initial or renewal designation, 

without first allowing a focused review, of an EMS Educational 

Institution for any of the following reasons: 

(1) significant failure to comply with the provisions 

of Sections .0500 and .0600 of this Subchapter; 

or 

(2) attempting to obtain an EMS Educational 

Institution designation through fraud or 

misrepresentation. 

(c)  When an EMS Educational Institution is required to have a 

focused review, it shall demonstrate compliance with the 

provisions of Sections .0500 and .0600 of this Subchapter within 

six months or less. 

(d)  The Department shall amend, suspend, or revoke an EMS 

Educational Institution designation at any time whenever the 

Department finds that the EMS Educational Institution has 

significant failure to comply, as defined in Rule .0102 of this 

Subchapter, with the provisions of Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter, and: 

(1) it is not probable that the EMS Educational 

Institution can remedy the deficiencies within 

six months or less as determined by OEMS staff 

based upon analysis of the educational 

institution's ability to take corrective measures 

to resolve the issue of non-compliance with 

Section .0600 of this Subchapter; 

(2) although the EMS Educational Institution may 

be able to remedy the deficiencies, it is not 

probable that the EMS Educational Institution 

shall be able to remain in compliance with 

credentialing rules; 

(3) failure to produce records upon request as 

required in Rule .0601 of this Subchapter; 

(4) the EMS Educational Institution failed to meet 

the requirements of a focused review within six 

months, as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule; 

(5) the failure to comply endangered the health, 

safety, or welfare of patients cared for as part of 
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an EMS educational program as determined by 

OEMS staff in their professional judgment 

based upon a complaint investigation, in 

consultation with the Department and 

Department of Justice, to verify the results of 

the investigations are sufficient to initiate 

enforcement action pursuant to G.S. 150B; or 

(6) the EMS Educational Institution altered, 

destroyed, or attempted to destroy evidence 

needed for a complaint investigation. 

(e)  The Department shall give the EMS Educational Institution 

written notice of action taken on the Institution designation. This 

notice shall be given personally or by certified mail and shall set 

forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to be violated; and 

(3) notice of the EMS Educational Institution's 

right to a contested case hearing, set forth in 

Rule .1509 of this Section, on the revocation of 

the designation. 

(f)  Focused review is not a procedural prerequisite to the 

revocation of a designation as set forth in Rule .1509 of this 

Section. 

(g)  If determined by the educational institution that suspending 

its approval to offer EMS educational programs is necessary, the 

EMS Educational Institution may voluntarily surrender its 

credential without explanation by submitting a written request to 

the OEMS stating its intention. The voluntary surrender shall not 

affect the original expiration date of the EMS Educational 

Institution's designation. To reactivate the designation: 

(1) the institution shall provide OEMS written 

documentation requesting reactivation; and 

(2) the OEMS shall verify the educational 

institution is compliant with all credentialing 

requirements set forth in Section .0600 of this 

Subchapter prior to reactivation of the 

designation by the OEMS. 

(h)  If the institution fails to resolve the issues that resulted in a 

voluntary surrender, the Department shall revoke the EMS 

Educational Institution designation. 

(i)  In the event of a revocation or voluntary surrender, the 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area. The 

Department shall provide written notification to all EMS Systems 

within the EMS Educational Institution's defined service area 

when the voluntary surrender reactivates to full credential. 

(j)  When an accredited EMS Educational Institution as defined in 

Rule .0605 of this Subchapter has administrative action taken 

against its accreditation, the OEMS shall determine if the cause of 

action is sufficient for revocation of the EMS Educational 

Institution designation or imposing a focused review pursuant to 

Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule is warranted. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-508(d)(4); 143-508(d)(10); 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. February 2, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2018; January 1, 2017. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1507 EMS PERSONNEL 

CREDENTIALS 

(a)  Any EMS credential that has been forfeited under G.S. 15A-

1331.1 may not be reinstated until the person has complied with 

the court's requirements, has petitioned the Department for 

reinstatement, has completed the disciplinary process, and has 

received Department reinstatement approval. 

(b)  The Department shall amend, deny, suspend, or revoke the 

credentials of EMS personnel for any of the following: 

(1) significant failure to comply with the applicable 

performance and credentialing requirements as 

found in this Subchapter; 

(2) making false statements or representations to 

the Department, or concealing information in 

connection with an application for credentials; 

(3) making false statements or representations, 

concealing information, or failing to respond to 

inquiries from the Department during a 

complaint investigation; 

(4) tampering with, or falsifying any record used in 

the process of obtaining an initial EMS 

credential, or in the renewal of an EMS 

credential; 

(5) in any manner or using any medium, engaging 

in the stealing, manipulating, copying, 

reproducing, or reconstructing of any written 

EMS credentialing examination questions, or 

scenarios; 

(6) cheating, or assisting others to cheat while 

preparing to take, or when taking a written EMS 

credentialing examination; 

(7) altering an EMS credential, using an EMS 

credential that has been altered, or permitting or 

allowing another person to use his or her EMS 

credential for the purpose of alteration. 

"Altering" includes changing the name, 

expiration date, or any other information 

appearing on the EMS credential; 

(8) unprofessional conduct, including a significant 

failure to comply with the rules relating to the 

function of credentialed EMS personnel 

contained in this Subchapter, or the 

performance of or attempt to perform a 

procedure that is detrimental to the health and 

safety of any person, or that is beyond the scope 

of practice of credentialed EMS personnel or 

EMS instructors; 

(9) being unable to perform as credentialed EMS 

personnel with reasonable skill and safety to 

patients and the public by reason of illness that 

will compromise skill and safety, use of 

alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any other type of 

material, or by reason of any physical 

impairment; 

(10) conviction in any court of a crime involving 

moral turpitude, a conviction of a felony, a 

conviction requiring registering on a sex 

offender registry, or conviction of a crime 
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involving the scope of practice of credentialed 

EMS personnel; 

(11) by theft or false representations, obtaining or 

attempting to obtain, money or anything of 

value from a patient, EMS Agency, or 

educational institution; 

(12) adjudication of mental incompetence; 

(13) lack of competence to practice with a 

reasonable degree of skill and safety for 

patients, including a failure to perform a 

prescribed procedure, failure to perform a 

prescribed procedure competently, or 

performance of a procedure that is not within 

the scope of practice of credentialed EMS 

personnel or EMS instructors; 

(14) performing as a credentialed EMS personnel in 

any EMS System in which the individual is not 

affiliated and authorized to function; 

(15) performing or authorizing the performance of 

procedures, or administration of medications 

detrimental to a student or individual; 

(16) delay or failure to respond when on-duty and 

dispatched to a call for EMS assistance; 

(17) testing positive, whether for-cause or at 

random, through urine, blood, or breath 

sampling, for any substance, legal or illegal, 

that is likely to impair the physical or 

psychological ability of the credentialed EMS 

personnel to perform all required or expected 

functions while on duty; 

(18) failure to comply with G.S. 143-518 regarding 

the use or disclosure of records or data 

associated with EMS Systems, Specialty Care 

Transport Programs, Alternative Practice 

Settings, or patients; 

(19) refusing to consent to any criminal history 

check required by G.S. 131E-159; 

(20) abandoning or neglecting a patient who is in 

need of care, without making arrangements for 

the continuation of such care; 

(21) falsifying a patient's record or any controlled 

substance records; 

(22) harassing, abusing, or intimidating a patient, 

student, bystander, or OEMS staff, either 

physically, verbally, or in writing; 

(23) engaging in any activities of a sexual nature 

with a patient, including kissing, fondling, or 

touching while responsible for the care of that 

individual; 

(24) any criminal arrests that involve charges that 

have been determined by the Department to 

indicate a necessity to seek action in order to 

further protect the public pending adjudication 

by a court; 

(25) altering, destroying, or attempting to destroy 

evidence needed for a complaint investigation 

being conducted by the OEMS; 

(26) significant failure to comply with a condition to 

the issuance of an encumbered EMS credential 

with limited and restricted practices for persons 

in the chemical addiction or abuse treatment 

program; 

(27) unauthorized possession of lethal or non-lethal 

weapons, chemical irritants to include mace, 

pepper (oleoresin capsicum) spray and tear gas, 

or explosives while in the performance of 

providing emergency medical services; 

(28) significant failure to comply to provide EMS 

care records to the licensed EMS provider for 

submission to the OEMS as required by Rule 

.0204 of this Subchapter; 

(29) continuing to provide EMS care after local 

suspension of practice privileges by the local 

EMS System, Medical Director, or Alternative 

Practice Setting;  

(30) representing or allowing others to represent that 

the credentialed EMS personnel has a credential 

that the credentialed EMS personnel does not in 

fact have; 

(31) diversion of any medication requiring medical 

oversight for credentialed EMS personnel; or 

(32) filing a knowingly false complaint against an 

individual, EMS Agency, or educational 

institution. 

(c)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 131E-159(h), the OEMS 

shall not issue an EMS credential for any person listed on the 

North Carolina Department of Public Safety, Sex Offender and 

Public Protection Registry, or who was convicted of an offense 

that would have required registration if committed at a time when 

the registration would have been required by law. 

(d)  Pursuant to the provisions of G.S. 50-13.12, upon notification 

by the court, the OEMS shall revoke an individual's EMS 

credential until the Department has been notified by the court that 

evidence has been obtained of compliance with a child support 

order. The provisions of G.S. 50-13.12 supersede the 

requirements of Paragraph (f) of this Rule. 

(e)  When a person who is credentialed to practice as an EMS 

professional is also credentialed in another jurisdiction and the 

other jurisdiction takes disciplinary action against the person, the 

Department shall summarily impose the same or lesser 

disciplinary action upon receipt of the other jurisdiction's action. 

The EMS professional may request a hearing before the EMS 

Disciplinary Committee. At the hearing the issues shall be limited 

to: 

(1) whether the person against whom action was 

taken by the other jurisdiction and the 

Department are the same person; 

(2) whether the conduct found by the other 

jurisdiction also violates the rules of the N.C. 

Medical Care Commission; and 

(3) whether the sanction imposed by the other 

jurisdiction is lawful under North Carolina law. 

(f)  The OEMS shall provide written notification of the 

amendment, denial, suspension, or revocation. This notice shall 

be given personally or by certified mail, and shall set forth: 

(1) the factual allegations; 

(2) the statutes or rules alleged to have been 

violated; and 
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(3) notice of the individual's right to a contested 

hearing, set forth in Rule .1509 of this Section, 

on the revocation of the credential. 

(g)  The OEMS shall provide written notification to the EMS 

professional within five business days after information has been 

entered into the National Practitioner Data Bank and the 

Healthcare Integrity and Protection Integrity Data Bank. 

(h)  The EMS System Administrator, Primary Agency Contact, 

Medical Director, Educational Institution Program Coordinator, 

or Medical Advisor shall notify the OEMS of any violation listed 

in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159; 143-508(d)(10); 143-

519; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Readopted Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

10A NCAC 13P .1511 PROCEDURES FOR 

QUALIFYING FOR AN EMS CREDENTIAL 

FOLLOWING ENFORCEMENT ACTION 

(a)  Any individual who has been subject to suspension, 

revocation, or amendment of an EMS credential shall submit in 

writing to the OEMS a request for review to determine eligibility 

for credentialing. 

(b)  Factors the Department shall consider when determining 

eligibility shall include: 

(1) the reason for administrative action, including: 

(A) criminal history; 

(B) patient care; 

(C) substance abuse; and 

(D) failure to meet credentialing 

requirements; 

(2) the length of time since the administrative 

action was taken; and 

(3) any mitigating or aggravating factors relevant 

to obtaining a valid EMS credential. 

(c)  In order to be considered for eligibility, the individual shall: 

(1) wait a minimum of 36 months following 

administrative action before seeking review; 

and 

(2) undergo a criminal history background check. 

If the individual has been charged or convicted 

of a misdemeanor or felony in this or any other 

state or country within the previous 36 months, 

the 36 month waiting period shall begin from 

the date of the latest charge or conviction. 

(d)  If determined to be eligible, the Department shall grant 

authorization for the individual to begin the process for EMS 

credentialing as set forth in Rule .0502 of this Subchapter. 

(e)  Prior to enrollment in an EMS educational program, the 

individual shall disclose the prior administrative action taken 

against the individual's credential in writing to the EMS 

Educational Institution. 

(f)  An individual who has undergone administrative action 

against his or her EMS credential is not eligible for legal 

recognition as defined in G.S. 131E-159(d) or issuance of a 

temporary EMS credential as defined in G.S. 131E-159(e). 

(g)  For a period of 10 years following restoration of the EMS 

credential, the individual shall disclose the prior administrative 

action taken against his or her credential to every EMS System, 

Medical Director, EMS Provider, and EMS Educational 

Institution where he or she is affiliated and provide a letter to the 

OEMS from each verifying disclosure. 

(h)  If the Department determines the individual is ineligible for 

EMS credentialing pursuant to this Rule, the Department shall 

provide in writing the reason(s) for denial and inform him or her 

of the procedures for contested case hearing as set forth in Rule 

.1509 of this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 131E-159(g); 143-508(d)(3); 

143-508(d)(10); 

Eff. January 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 14B - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0110 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  If any registrant, trainee, certificate holder, employee, 

subcontractor, or any other person providing private protective 

services on behalf of a licensee is charged with any criminal 

offense that would constitute grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke 

a permit, registration or certificate under this Chapter, the licensee 

shall report the criminal charge to the Board either in person or by 

telephone no later than the first business day following knowledge 

of the charge. The licensee shall provide a copy of the charging 

document and a written explanation to the Board within five 

business days. 

(b)  If any licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder is 

charged with any criminal offense that would constitute grounds 

to deny, suspend, or revoke a license, registration, or certificate 

under this Chapter, the licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate 

holder shall self-report the criminal charge to the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the charge. The licensee, trainee, registrant, or 

certificate holder shall provide a copy of the charging document 

and a written explanation to the Board within five business days. 

(c)  If a licensee, trainee, registrant, or certificate holder 

discharges a firearm while engaged in the private protective 

services business, the licensee shall notify the Board either in 

person or by telephone no later than the first business day 

following the incident. The licensee shall also file a written report 

to the Board within five business days of the incident. In the 

report, the licensee shall state the name of the individual who 

discharged the firearm, the type of weapon discharged, the 

location of the incident, the law enforcement agency investigating 

the incident, the events leading to the discharge of the firearm, and 

any bodily injuries occurring from the incident. This Rule shall 

not apply to a weapon that is discharged during a training course 

that has been approved by the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. February 1, 1995; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0112 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0113 INVOLVEMENT IN 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING 

All licensees, registrants, trainees, and trainers shall report to the 

Board any administrative proceeding commenced against him or 

her that involves any potential revocation or suspension of, or 

other disciplinary action against, any private protective service 

license, permit, certification, or registration that he or she holds in 

another state. The Board must receive written notice of any such 

administrative proceeding within 30 days of the date the licensee, 

registrant, or trainer is notified of the administrative proceeding. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12; 

Eff. October 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0115 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0201 APPLICATION FOR LICENSE 

AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for a license or trainee permit shall submit an 

online application on the website provided by the Board. The 

online application shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders digital photograph of 

the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format of 

sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(6) an Equifax credit check run within 30 days of 

the license application submission date, which 

will be submitted to the Board's investigator 

during the application process. 

(b)  Applications for trainee permits shall be accompanied by a 

notarized statement on a form provided by the Board and signed 

by the applicant and his or her prospective supervisor, stating that 

the trainee applicant shall at all times work with and under the 

direct supervision of that supervisor and the form shall be 

uploaded as part of the online application process. 

(c)  Private investigator trainees applying for a license shall make 

available for inspection a log of experience on a form provided by 

the Board. 

(d)  Each applicant must upload evidence of high school 

graduation either by diploma, G.E.D. certificate, or other proof. 

(e)  Each applicant for a license shall meet personally with a Board 

investigator, the Screening Committee, the Director, or another 

Board representative designated by the Director prior to being 

issued a license. The applicant shall discuss the provisions of G.S. 

74C and the administrative rules in this Chapter during the 

personal meeting. The applicant shall sign a form provided by the 

Board indicating that he or she has reviewed G.S. 74C and the 

administrative rules in this Chapter with the Board's 

representative. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-2; 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 

74C-12; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0201 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020. 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0203 RENEWAL OR RE-ISSUE OF 

LICENSES AND TRAINEE PERMITS 

(a)  Each applicant for renewal of a license or trainee permit shall 

submit an online renewal application on the website provided by 

the Board. This online application shall be submitted not less than 

30 days prior to expiration of the applicant's current license or 

trainee permit and shall be accompanied by: 

(1) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(2) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 24 months; 

(3) the applicant's renewal fee, along with a four 

dollar ($4.00) convenience fee and credit card 

transaction fee; and 

(4) for license applicants, proof of liability 

insurance as set out in G.S. 74C-10(e). 

(b)  If a licensee has maintained a license at least two years and 

then allows the license to expire, the license may be re-issued if 
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application is made within three years of the expiration date and 

the following documentation is submitted to the Board: 

(1) an online Application For Reinstatement of an 

Expired License; 

(2) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(3) one head and shoulders digital color photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(4) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) proof of liability insurance as set out in G.S. 

74C-10(e); and 

(7) payment to the State Bureau of Investigations 

to cover the cost of criminal record checks 

performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigations, with payment to be paid online 

through the Board's online application process. 

(c)  A member of the armed forces whose license is in good 

standing and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 grants an extension of time 

to file a tax return shall receive that same extension of time to pay 

the license renewal fee and complete any continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the Board. A copy of the military 

order or the extension approval by the Internal Revenue Service 

or by the North Carolina Department of Revenue shall be 

furnished to the Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 74C-8.1; 74C-9; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2013; May 1, 2012; October 1, 2010; 

November 1, 2007; January 4, 1994; July 1, 1987; December 1, 

1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0203 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0204 DETERMINATION OF 

EXPERIENCE 

(a)  Experience requirements shall be determined as follows: 

(1) one year experience = 1,000 hours; 

(2) two years experience = 2,000 hours; 

(3) three years experience = 3,000 hours. 

(b)  Applicants shall make available upon Board request written 

documentation to verify experience. 

(c)  When applying for a license, registration, or trainee permit, 

the Board shall not consider any experience claimed by the 

applicant if: 

(1) gained by contracting private protective 

services to another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while not in possession of a valid 

private protective services license or 

registration; or 

(2) gained when employed by a company 

contracting private protective services to 

another person, firm, association, or 

corporation while the company is not in 

possession of a valid private protective services 

license. 

(d)  The Board may consider formal classroom training that is 

directly related to the private protective services industry. The 

Board may grant one half hour of credit for each hour of formal 

classroom training, but shall grant no more than 200 hours. 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule is to be considered in addition to any 

other formal training credits. No credit shall be given for formal 

training required pursuant to these Rules. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

ARRC Objection October 19, 1988; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 1999; February 1, 1996; March 1, 1989; 

December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0204 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0404 REPORTS 

(a)  In addition to the requirements in G.S. 74C-12(a)(20), private 

investigators shall make and offer to each client a written report 

containing the findings and details of the investigation within 30 

days after the completion of the investigation for which the client 

has paid the investigator for the services. The licensee shall retain 

a copy of the written report. 

(b)  Descriptive reports, chronological reports, cover letters, and 

itemized invoices to the client shall be personally signed by a 

licensee. The file copy shall reflect the names of all participating 

employees and a description of the work performed by each one. 

These documents shall be retained by the licensee who signed the 

report. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2010; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0404 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0405 PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR'S 

USE OF A BADGE 

While engaged in his or her official duties, a private investigator 

shall be allowed to carry, possess, and display the badge set forth 

in this Rule. The badge shall be a duplicate of the badge shown 

below except for the licensee's name and license number. The 

badge shall be gold with dark blue lettering. Any deviation from 

this design shall be deemed an unauthorized badge and may 

constitute a violation of G.S. 74C-12(a) and this Rule. The badge 

shall be carried in a folding pocket case with the badge displayed 

on one side of the case and the private investigator's pocket 

credential issued by the Board displayed on the opposite side of 

the case. In no instance may the badge be displayed, even in a 

case, openly on the breast pocket, the belt, a neck lanyard, or any 

other open carry or possession. 

 
 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5(12); 

Eff. May 1, 2010; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0405 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0602 P.S.E. EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS 

P.S.E. licensees shall comply with the requirements of Rule .0503 

of this Chapter. In addition, P.S.E. examinations shall be 

conducted by the examiner in the presence of the examinee and 

with the examinee's knowledge that he or she is being examined. 

Examination by telephone or any other method that is not in 

person is prohibited. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0602 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0701 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each employer or his or her designee shall submit an online 

application for the registration of each employee to the Board. 

This online submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 48 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) one original signed SBI release of information 

form that shall be uploaded online with the 

original mailed to the Board's administrative 

office; 

(7) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has completed the training 

requirements of Rule .0707 of this Section if 

applicable; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the application and the completed affidavit 

form and shall retain a copy of the application, including the 

affidavit, in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working within 

the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited upon 

the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement required by Subparagraph (a)(7) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1; 74C-11; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; July 1, 2011; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; June 1, 1994; February 1, 1990; May 1, 1988; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0701 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0703 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 

UNARMED SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION 

An applicant for registration shall: 

(1) be at least 18 years of age; 

(2) be a citizen of the United States or a resident 

alien; 

(3) be of good moral character and temperate 

habits. Any of the following within the last five 

years shall be prima facie evidence that the 

applicant does not have good moral character or 

temperate habits: conviction by any local, state, 

federal, or military court of any crime involving 

the illegal use, carrying, or possession of a 

firearm; conviction of any crime involving the 

illegal use, possession, sale, manufacture, 

distribution, or transportation of a controlled 

substance, drug, narcotic, or alcoholic 

beverage, conviction of a crime involving 

felonious assault or an act of violence; 

conviction of a crime involving unlawful 

breaking and/or entering, burglary, or larceny, 

or a history of addiction to alcohol or a narcotic 

drug. For the purposes of this Rule, 

"conviction" means and includes the entry of a 

plea of guilty, plea of no contest, or a verdict 

rendered in open court by a judge or jury; 

(4) not have been judicially declared incompetent 

or not have been involuntarily committed to an 

institution for treatment of mental illness. When 

an individual has been treated and found to have 

been restored, the Board will consider this 

evidence and determine whether the applicant 

meets the requirements of this Rule; and 

(5) not have had a revocation of a registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-12(a)(19); 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1988; December 1, 1985; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0703 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0707 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR UNARMED SECURITY GUARDS 

(a)  Applicants for an unarmed security guard registration shall 

complete the basic unarmed security guard training course within 

30 days from the date of permanent hire. The course shall consist 

of a minimum of 16 hours of classroom instruction including: 

(1) The Security Officer in North Carolina -- 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) Legal Issues for Security Officers -- (minimum 

of three hours); 

(3) Emergency Response -- (minimum of three 

hours); 

(4) Communications -- (minimum of two hours); 

(5) Patrol Procedures -- (minimum of three hours); 

(6) Note Taking and Report Writing -- (minimum 

of three hours); and 

(7) Deportment -- (minimum of one hour). 

A minimum of four hours of classroom instruction shall be 

completed within 20 calendar days of any security guard, 

including probationary, being placed on a duty station. These four 

hours shall include the instruction on The Security Officer in 

North Carolina and Legal Issues for Security Officers. 

(b)  Training shall be conducted by a Board certified unarmed 

security guard trainer. A Board created lesson plan covering the 

training requirements in Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall be made 

available by the Board to each trainer. The Board may approve 

other media training materials that deliver the training 

requirements of Paragraph (a) of this Rule. 

(c)  The 16 hours of training may be delivered remotely under the 

following conditions: 

(1) The training is presented by a Board certified 

unarmed security officer trainer. 

(2) Each student is given a copy of the unarmed 

security guard training manual to use for the 

duration of the 16 hour training course. 

(3) The technology used allows the trainer to see 

the students and the students to see the trainer 

in real time during the training. 

(4) All students in each classroom are able to see 

and read the screen or monitor, and they must 

be able to hear and understand the audio 

presentation. All monitors used in each 

classroom must be at least 32 inches wide. 

(5) The technology used is of sufficient quality so 

that the training audio and video is delivered 

smoothly and without interruption. 

(6) Each student is taught to use the audio and 

video equipment in the classroom prior to the 

start of the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training course. 

(7) The total number of students receiving the 

remote training at one time does not exceed 35 

students. 

(8) Any additional training beyond the Board 

mandated training in the unarmed security 

guard training manual is taught either before or 

after the 16 hour unarmed security officer 

training. 

(9) The Director is notified five days prior to 

training of the location of each classroom, 

name, and location of the certified trainer, and 

the number of students who will be present. 

(10) The sponsoring agency allows the Director or 

the Director's designee access via computer of 

the training during the time that it is taking 

place. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-11; 74C-13(m); 

Eff. January 1, 1990; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 2009; November 1, 2006; June 1, 2004; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0707 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. August 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 
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14B NCAC 16 .0708 TRAINER NAME TO BE 

SUBMITTED TO DIRECTOR 

Licensees shall submit to the Director the name of the certified 

unarmed security guard trainer who will be conducting the 

unarmed security guard training. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13(m); 

Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0801 APPLICATION/ARMED 

SECURITY GUARD FIREARM REGISTRATION 

PERMIT 

(a)  Each armed security guard employer or his or her designee 

shall submit an online application for the registration of each 

armed security guard applicant to the Board. This online 

submission shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .0807 of this 

Section; 

(6) a certification by the applicant that he or she is 

at least 21 years of age; 

(7) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; and 

(8) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application, the completed affidavit 

form, and proof of completion of a Board approved firearms 

course and shall retain a copy of the application, including 

affidavit and proof of course completion, in the guard's personnel 

file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application, affidavit, and proof of 

completion of a Board approved firearms course shall serve as a 

temporary registration card that shall be carried by the applicant 

when he or she is working within the scope of his or her 

employment and shall be exhibited upon the request of any law 

enforcement officer or authorized representative of the Board. 

(d)  Applications submitted without proof of completion of a 

Board approved firearms training course shall not serve as 

temporary registration cards. 

(e)  The provisions of Paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) of this Rule also 

apply to any employee whose employment is terminated within 

30 days of employment. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-9; 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 2012; April 1, 2008; August 1, 1998; 

December 1, 1995; February 1, 1990; May 1, 1988; July 1, 1987; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0801 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0808 CONCEALED HANDGUN 

(a)  The Board does not have the authority to issue a Concealed 

Carry Permit. However, a licensee trainee, registrant, or firearms 

trainer who has complied with all provisions of G.S. 14, Article 

54B and applicable rules adopted by the N.C. Criminal Justice 

Education and Training Standards Commission pursuant thereto 

and has been issued a current concealed handgun permit by a 

Sheriff may carry a concealed handgun after complying with the 

concealed handgun provisions for training and qualifications set 

forth in Paragraph (b) of this Rule. 

(b)  A licensee, trainee, registrant, or firearms trainer shall comply 

with each of the following requirements to carry a concealed 

handgun while engaged in a private protective services business: 

(1) Hold a current Armed Security Guard 

Registration Permit by complying with all 

requirements for armed registration as 

prescribed in this Section. 

(2) Complete standards set forth by the N.C. 

Criminal Justice Education and Training 

Standards Commission to include knowledge of 

North Carolina firearms laws including the 

limitation on concealed handgun possession on 

specified property and within certain buildings. 

(c)  Upon application to the Board, a licensee, trainee, registrant, 

or firearms trainer meeting the requirements of this Section shall 

be issued a concealed handgun endorsement to the current Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit for the term of the Armed 

Security Guard Registration Permit without additional permit 

fees, but any additional training costs necessary to comply with 

this Section shall be borne directly by the applicant. The 

endorsement shall be renewed at the time of the Armed Security 

Guard Registration Permit renewal pursuant to this Rule on 

payment of the armed security guard registration renewal fee and 

proof of possession of a current Concealed Handgun Permit. 

There shall be no additional fee for the concealed handgun 

endorsement renewal. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-13; 
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Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. December 1, 1995 for a period of 180 

days or until the 

permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is sooner; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1996; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0808 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .0902 APPLICATION FOR FIREARMS 

TRAINER CERTIFICATE 

Each applicant for a firearms trainer certificate shall submit an 

online application to the Board. The application shall be 

accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online submission 

and submitted by uploading online with the 

application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the results of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau of 

Investigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(5) the applicant's non-refundable application fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(6) evidence of the liability insurance required by 

G.S. 74C-10(e) if the applicant is not an 

employee of a licensee; 

(7) a certificate of successful completion of the 

training required by Rule .0901(a)(3) and (4) of 

this Section, stating the training was completed 

within 60 days of the submission of the 

application and uploaded online as part of the 

online application process; and 

(8) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the North Carolina Justice 

Academy to cover the cost of the firearms 

training course given by the N.C. Justice 

Academy and collected as part of the online 

application process by the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 74C-13; 

Eff. June 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 1998; December 1, 1995; July 1, 1987; 

December 1, 1985; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 17, 2001; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 2013; May 1, 2012; August 1, 2002; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .0902 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1203 ACCREDITATION STANDARDS 

(a)  CE courses may obtain the approval of the Board by 

submitting the following information to the Board for 

consideration: 

(1) the nature and purpose of the course; 

(2) the course objectives or goals; 

(3) the outline of the course, including the number 

of training hours for each segment; and 

(4) the name of the instructor. 

(b)  To determine if a course will receive approval from the Board, 

the Board shall complete the following review: 

(1) The matter shall be referred to the Training and 

Education Committee for the appointment of a 

sub-committee that shall review the course 

under consideration. The sub-committee shall 

consist of at least two industry members of the 

Training and Education Committee. Other 

members of the sub-committee may be 

appointed at the discretion of the Training and 

Education Committee Chairman. 

(2) The sub-committee shall review the course to 

determine if the course is pertinent to the 

industry, and if the course meets its stated 

objectives or goals. 

(3) When the sub-committee completes its review, 

it shall report to the Training and Education 

Committee. The Training and Education 

Committee shall review the course to determine 

if the course is pertinent to the industry, and if 

the course meets its stated objectives and goals. 

The Training and Education Committee shall 

then report the findings with a recommendation 

of acceptance or denial to the Private Protective 

Services Board. 

(c)  Upon receipt of the Training and Education Committee report, 

the Private Protective Services Board shall determine by majority 

vote if the course will be approved for continuing education 

credits. In making its determination, the Board shall review the 

course to determine if the course is pertinent to the industry, and 

if the course meets its stated objectives or goals. 

(d)  Each approved course shall remain an approved course for 

four years from the date of approval by the Board, unless the 

course content changes or the course instructor changes. 

(e)  Trainers and instructors shall receive continuing education 

credit of five hours for every actual teaching hour with an eight 

hour cap of continuing education credit every two years. 
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(f)  Colleges, universities, trade schools, and other degree granting 

institutions shall be granted standing approval when the 

institutions are accredited, certified, or approved by the 

Department of Public Instruction or by a similar agency in another 

state and the course is related to law, criminal justice, security 

profession, finance, ethics, forensics, crime prevention, and 

investigation. Approval is one credit hour per contact hour not to 

exceed eight credit hours. 

(g)  Online courses shall be approved by the Board based on 

compliance with the standards set forth in Paragraph (a) of this 

Rule. No more than six hours of CEU credit shall be given during 

a renewal period for online courses. 

(h)  No course offering CEU credits may be taken for credit more 

than one time during a renewal period. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-5; 74C-22; 

Eff. February 1, 2010; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2011; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1303 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. May 6, 2020; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Expired Eff. May 14, 2021; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1301 APPLICATION FOR UNARMED 

ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARD REGISTRATION 

(a)  Each armored car employer or his designee shall complete an 

online application form for the registration of each unarmed 

armored car service guard applicant to the Board. This online 

form shall be accompanied by: 

(1) electronic submission of fingerprints from a 

Live Scan or similar system approved by the 

State Bureau of Investigations or one set of 

classifiable fingerprints on an applicant 

fingerprint card that shall be mailed separately 

to the Board's office; 

(2) one head and shoulders color digital photograph 

of the applicant in JPG, JPEG, or PNG format 

of sufficient quality for identification, taken 

within six months prior to online application 

and submitted by uploading the photograph 

online with the application submission; 

(3) upload online a statement of the result of a 

statewide criminal history records search by the 

reporting service designated by the Board 

pursuant to G.S. 74C-8.1(a) for each state 

where the applicant has resided within the 

preceding 60 months; 

(4) the applicant's non-refundable registration fee, 

along with a four dollar ($4.00) convenience fee 

and credit card transaction fee; 

(5) the actual cost charged to the Private Protective 

Services Board by the State Bureau 

ofInvestigation to cover the cost of criminal 

record checks performed by the State Bureau of 

Investigation, collected online by the Private 

Protective Services Board; 

(6) a statement signed by a certified trainer that the 

applicant has successfully completed the 

training requirements of Rule .1307 of this 

Section, if applicable; and 

(7) a completed affidavit form and public notice 

statement form. 

(b)  The employer of each applicant for registration shall give the 

applicant a copy of the online application and completed affidavit 

and shall retain a copy of the application, including the affidavit, 

in the guard's personnel file in the employer's office. 

(c)  The applicant's copy of the application and completed 

affidavit form shall serve as a temporary registration card that 

shall be carried by the applicant when he or she is working is 

within the scope of his or her employment and shall be exhibited 

upon the request of any law enforcement officer or authorized 

representative of the Board. 

(d)  A copy of the statement specified in Subparagraph (a)(6) of 

this Rule shall be retained by the licensee in the individual 

applicant's personnel file in the employer's office. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-8.1(a); 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1401 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2017; 

Readopted Eff. March 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

14B NCAC 16 .1407 TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

FOR ARMED ARMORED CAR SERVICE GUARDS 

(a)  Prior to applying, applicants for an armed armored car service 

guard firearm registration permit shall complete the basic training 

course for unarmed armored car service guards set forth in Rule 

.1307(a) of this Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying 

for an armed armored car service guard firearm registration permit 

shall complete a four hour training course consisting of blocks of 

instruction "The Security Officer in North Carolina" and "Legal 

Issues for Security Officers" as set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this 

Chapter. Private Investigator Licensees applying for an armed 

armored car service guard firearm registration permit are not 

required to complete the following training blocks found in the 

basic training course referenced in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter: 

"Emergency Responses," "Deportment," "Armored Security 

Operations," and "Safe Driver Training." A Private Investigator 

Licensee applying for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall meet all additional training requirements 

set forth in Rule .1307(a) of this Chapter as well as the training 

requirements set forth in this Rule. 

(b)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall complete a basic training course for 

armed security guards that consists of at least 20 hours of 

classroom instruction including: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of handguns and on 

the powers and authority of an armed security 

guard, including familiarity with rules relating 

to armed security guards -- (minimum of four 

hours); 

(2) handgun safety, including range firing 

procedures -- (minimum of one hour); 
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(3) handgun operation and maintenance -- 

(minimum of three hours); 

(4) handgun fundamentals -- (minimum of eight 

hours); and 

(5) night firing -- (minimum of four hours). 

(c)  Applicants for an armed armored service guard firearm 

registration permit shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a firearms range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. Should a student fail to attain a score 

of 80 percent accuracy, the student shall be given an additional 

three attempts to qualify on the course of fire he or she did not 

pass, which additional attempts shall take place within 20 days of 

the completion of the initial 20 hour course. Failure to meet the 

qualification after three additional attempts shall require the 

student to repeat the entire basic training course for armed security 

guards. 

(d)  All armed security guard training required by this Chapter 

shall be administered by a certified trainer and shall be 

successfully completed no more than 90 days prior to the date of 

issuance of the armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit. 

(e)  All applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall obtain training under the provisions of 

this Rule using their duty weapon and their duty ammunition or 

ballistic equivalent ammunition, to include lead-free ammunition 

that meets the same point of aim, point of impact, and felt recoil 

of the duty ammunition, for all weapons. 

(f)  No more than six new or renewal armed armored car service 

guard applicants per one instructor shall be placed on the firing 

line at any one time during firearms range training. 

(g)  Applicants for re-certification of an armed armored car 

service guard firearm registration permit shall complete a basic 

recertification training course for armed armored car guards that 

consists of at least four hours of classroom instruction and is a 

review of the requirements set forth in Subparagraphs (b)(1) 

through (b)(5) of this Rule. The recertification course is valid for 

180 days after completion of the course. Applicants for 

recertification of an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit shall also complete the requirements of 

Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(h)  To be authorized to carry a standard 12 gauge shotgun in the 

performance of his or her duties as an armed armored car service 

guard, an applicant shall complete, in addition to the requirements 

of Paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of this Rule, five hours of classroom 

training that shall include the following: 

(1) legal limitations on the use of shotguns 

(minimum of one hour); 

(2) shotgun safety, including range firing 

procedures (minimum of one hour); 

(3) shotgun operation and maintenance (minimum 

of one hour); 

(4) shotgun fundamentals (minimum of one hour); 

and 

(5) night firing (minimum of one hour.) 

An applicant may take the additional shotgun training at a time 

after the initial training in Subparagraph (b) of this Rule. If the 

shotgun training is completed at a later time, the shotgun 

certification shall run concurrently with the armed registration 

permit. 

(i)  In addition to the requirements set forth in Paragraph (h) of 

this Rule, applicants shall attain a score of at least 80 percent 

accuracy on a shotgun range qualification course adopted by the 

Board and the Secretary of Public Safety, a copy of which is on 

file in the Director's office. 

(j)  Applicants for shotgun recertification shall complete an 

additional one hour of classroom training as set forth in 

Subparagraphs (h)(1) through (h)(5) of this Rule and shall also 

complete the requirements of Paragraph (i) of this Rule. 

(k)  Applicants for an armed armored car service guard firearm 

registration permit who possess a current firearms trainer 

certificate shall be given, upon their written request, a firearms 

registration permit that will run concurrently with the trainer 

certificate upon completion of an annual qualification with their 

duty weapons as set forth in Paragraph (c) of this Rule. 

(l)  An armed armored car service guard shall qualify annually for 

both day and night firing with his or her duty weapon and shotgun, 

if applicable. If the armed armored car service guard fails to 

qualify on either course of fire, the guard cannot carry a firearm 

until such time as he or she meets the qualification requirements. 

Upon failure to qualify, the firearm instructor shall notify the 

armed armored car service guard that he or she is no longer 

authorized to carry a firearm, and the firearm instructor shall 

notify the employer and the Board on the next business day. 

(m)  Armed armored car service guard personnel may also work 

as armed security guards only if they hold an unarmed or armed 

security guard registration. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 74C-3; 74C-5; 74C-13; 

Eff. January 1, 2013; 

Transferred and Recodified from 12 NCAC 07D .1507 Eff. July 1, 

2015; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2015; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 15A - DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

QUALITY 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0227 WATER QUALITY 

MANAGEMENT PLANS 

(a)  In implementing the water quality standards to protect the 

"existing uses" [as defined by Rule .0202 of this Section] of the 

waters of the State or the water quality that supports those uses, 

the Commission shall develop water quality management plans on 

a priority basis to attain, maintain or enhance water quality 

throughout the State. Additional specific actions deemed 

necessary by the Commission to protect the water quality or the 

existing uses of the waters of the State shall be specified in 

Paragraph (b) of this Rule. These actions may include anything 

within the powers of the Commission, as set forth in G.S. 143, 

Article 21 and G.S. 143B-282. The Commission may also 

consider local actions that have been taken to protect a waterbody 

in determining the appropriate protection options to be 

incorporated into the water quality management plan. 
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(b)  All waters determined by the Commission to be protected by 

a water quality management plan are listed with specific actions 

either in Rules .0601 - .0608 of this Subchapter that address the 

Goose Creek watershed (Yadkin Pee-Dee River Basin) or as 

follows: 

(1) The Lockwoods Folly River Area (Lumber 

River Basin), which includes all waters of the 

lower Lockwoods Folly River in an area 

extending north from the Intracoastal 

Waterway to a line extending from Genoes 

Point to Mullet Creek, shall be protected by the 

specific actions described in Parts (A) through 

(D) of this Subparagraph. 

(A) New development activities within 

575' of the mean high water line that 

require a Sedimentation Erosion 

Control Plan or a CAMA major 

development permit shall comply with 

the low density option of the coastal 

stormwater requirements as specified 

in 15A NCAC 02H .1005(3)(a). 

(B) New or expanded NPDES permits 

shall be issued only for non-domestic, 

non-industrial process type 

discharges, such as non-industrial 

process cooling or seafood processing 

discharges. Pursuant to 15A NCAC 

02H .0111, a public hearing shall be 

mandatory for any proposed (new or 

expanded) NPDES permit to this 

protected area. 

(C) New or expanded marinas shall be 

located in upland basin areas. 

(D) No dredge or fill activities shall be 

allowed if those activities would result 

in a reduction of the beds of 

"submerged aquatic vegetation 

habitat" or "shellfish producing 

habitat" that are defined in 15A NCAC 

03I .0101, except for maintenance 

dredging, such as that required to 

maintain access to existing channels 

and facilities located within the 

protected area or maintenance 

dredging for activities such as 

agriculture. 

(2) A part of the Cape Fear River (Cape Fear River 

Basin) comprised of a section of Index No.18-

(71) from upstream mouth of Toomers Creek to 

a line across the river between Lilliput Creek 

and Snows Cut shall be protected by the Class 

SC standards as well as the following site-

specific action: All new individual NPDES 

wastewater discharges and expansions of 

existing individual NPDES wastewater 

discharges shall be required to provide 

treatment for oxygen consuming wastes as 

described in Parts (A) and (B) of this 

Subparagraph. 

(A) Effluent limitations shall be as 

follows: BOD5 = 5 mg/l, NH3-N = 1 

mg/l and DO = 6 mg/l, or utilize site-

specific best available technology on a 

case-by-case basis for industrial 

discharges in accordance with Rule 

.0406 (e) of this Subchapter. 

(B) Seasonal effluent limits for oxygen 

consuming wastes shall be considered 

in accordance with Rule .0404 of this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.8A; 

Eff. October 1, 1995; 

Amended Eff. June 30, 2017; January 1, 1996; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02B .0311 CAPE FEAR RIVER BASIN 

(a)  Classifications assigned to the waters within the Cape Fear 

River Basin are set forth in the Cape Fear River Basin 

Classification Schedule, which may be inspected at the following 

places: 

(1) the Internet at 

https://deq.nc.gov/about/divisions/water-

resources/water-planning/classification-

standards/river-basin-classification; and 

(2) the following offices of the North Carolina 

Department of Environmental Quality: 

(A) Winston-Salem Regional Office 

450 West Hanes Mill Road 

Winston-Salem, North Carolina; 

(B) Fayetteville Regional Office 

225 Green Street 

Systel Building Suite 714 

Fayetteville, North Carolina; 

(C) Raleigh Regional Office 

3800 Barrett Drive 

Raleigh, North Carolina; 

(D) Washington Regional Office 

943 Washington Square Mall 

Washington, North Carolina; 

(E) Wilmington Regional Office 

127 Cardinal Drive Extension 

Wilmington, North Carolina; and 

(F) Division of Water Resources 

Central Office 

512 North Salisbury Street 

Raleigh, North Carolina. 

(b)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective: 

(1) March 1, 1977; 

(2) December 13, 1979; 

(3) December 14, 1980; 

(4) August 9, 1981; 

(5) April 1, 1982; 

(6) December 1, 1983; 

(7) January 1, 1985; 

(8) August 1, 1985; 
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(9) December 1, 1985; 

(10) February 1, 1986; 

(11) July 1, 1987; 

(12) October 1, 1987; 

(13) March 1, 1988; 

(14) August 1, 1990. 

(c)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1988 as follows: 

(1) Cane Creek [Index No. 16-21-(1)] from source 

to a point 0.5 mile north of N.C. Hwy. 54 (Cane 

Reservoir Dam) including the Cane Creek 

Reservoir and all tributaries has been 

reclassified from Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(2) Morgan Creek [Index No. 16-41-1-(1)] to the 

University Lake dam including University Lake 

and all tributaries has been reclassified from 

Class WS-III to WS-I. 

(d)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective July 1, 1988 by the reclassification of Crane 

Creek (Crains Creek) [Index No. 18-23-16-(1)] from source to 

mouth of Beaver Creek including all tributaries from C to WS-III. 

(e)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: 

(1) Intracoastal Waterway (Index No. 18-87) from 

southern edge of White Oak River Basin to 

western end of Permuda Island (a line from 

Morris Landing to Atlantic Ocean), from the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek to the 

southwestern shore of Howe Creek and from 

the southwest mouth of Shinn Creek to channel 

marker No. 153 including all tributaries except 

the King Creek Restricted Area, Hardison 

Creek, Old Topsail Creek, Mill Creek, Futch 

Creek and Pages Creek were reclassified from 

Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(2) Topsail Sound and Middle Sound ORW Area 

which includes all waters between the Barrier 

Islands and the Intracoastal Waterway located 

between a line running from the western most 

shore of Mason Inlet to the southwestern shore 

of Howe Creek and a line running from the 

western shore of New Topsail Inlet to the 

eastern mouth of Old Topsail Creek was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(3) Masonboro Sound ORW Area which includes 

all waters between the Barrier Islands and the 

mainland from a line running from the 

southwest mouth of Shinn Creek at the 

Intracoastal Waterway to the southern shore of 

Masonboro Inlet and a line running from the 

Intracoastal Waterway Channel marker No. 153 

to the southside of the Carolina Beach Inlet was 

reclassified from Class SA to Class SA ORW. 

(f)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 1990 as follows: Big Alamance 

Creek [Index No. 16-19-(1)] from source to Lake Mackintosh 

Dam including all tributaries has been reclassified from Class 

WS-III NSW to Class WS-II NSW. 

(g)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 3, 1992 with the reclassification of all 

water supply waters (waters with a primary classification of WS-

I, WS-II or WS-III). These waters were reclassified to WS-I, WS-

II, WS-III, WS-IV or WS-V as defined in the revised water supply 

protection rules (15A NCAC 02B .0100, .0200 and .0300), which 

became effective on August 3, 1992. In some cases, streams with 

primary classifications other than WS were reclassified to a WS 

classification due to their proximity and linkage to water supply 

waters. In other cases, waters were reclassified from a WS 

classification to an alternate appropriate primary classification 

after being identified as downstream of a water supply intake or 

identified as not being used for water supply purposes. 

(h)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective June 1, 1994 as follows: 

(1) The Black River from its source to the Cape 

Fear River [Index Nos. 18-68-(0.5), 18-68-(3.5) 

and 18-65-(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes 

C Sw and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(2) The South River from Big Swamp to the Black 

River [Index Nos. 18-68-12-(0.5) and 18-68-

12(11.5)] was reclassified from Classes C Sw 

and C Sw HQW to Class C Sw ORW. 

(3) Six Runs Creek from Quewhiffle Swamp to the 

Black River [Index No. 18-68-2] was 

reclassified from Class C Sw to Class C Sw 

ORW. 

(i)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 1994 with the reclassification of 

the Deep River [Index No. 17-(36.5)] from the Town of Gulf-

Goldston water supply intake to US highway 421 including 

associated tributaries from Class C to Classes C, WS-IV and WS-

IV CA. 

(j)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 1998 with the revision to the primary 

classification for portions of the Deep River [Index No. 17-(28.5)] 

from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V, Deep River [Index No. 17-

(41.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class C, and the Cape Fear River 

[Index 18-(10.5)] from Class WS-IV to Class WS-V. 

(k)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of 

Buckhorn Creek (Harris Lake)[Index No. 18-7-(3)] from the 

backwaters of Harris Lake to the Dam at Harris Lake from Class 

C to Class WS-V. 

(l)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective April 1, 1999 with the reclassification of the 

Deep River [Index No. 17-(4)] from the dam at Oakdale-Cotton 

Mills, Inc. to the dam at Randleman Reservoir (located 1.6 mile 

upstream of U.S. Hwy 220 Business), and including tributaries 

from Class C and Class B to Class WS-IV and Class WS-IV & B. 

Streams within the Randleman Reservoir Critical Area have been 

reclassified to WS-IV CA. The Critical Area for a WS-IV 

reservoir is defined as 0.5 mile and draining to the normal pool 

elevation of the reservoir. All waters within the Randleman 

Reservoir Water Supply Watershed are within a designated 

Critical Water Supply Watershed and are subject to a special 

management strategy specified in Rule .0248 of this Subchapter. 

(m)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 1, 2002 as follows: 
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(1) Mill Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-(1), 18-23-

11-(2), 18-23-11-3, 18-23-11-(5)] from its 

source to the Little River, including all 

tributaries was reclassified from Class WS-III 

NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to Class WS-

III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III B NSW 

HQW@. 

(2) McDeed's Creek [Index Nos. 18-23-11-4, 18-

23-11-4-1] from its source to Mill Creek, 

including all tributaries was reclassified from 

Class WS III NSW and Class WS-III B NSW to 

Class WS-III NSW HQW@ and Class WS-III 

B NSW HQW@. 

The "@" symbol as used in this Paragraph means that if the 

governing municipality has deemed that a development is covered 

under a "5/70 provision" as described in Rule .0215(3)(b)(i)(E) of 

this Subchapter, then that development is not subject to the 

stormwater requirements as described in 15A NCAC 02H .1006. 

(n)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2004 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(1)] from a point 0.3 mile upstream of Town 

of Siler City upper reservoir dam to a point 0.3 

mile downstream of Lacy Creek from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(2) the portion of Rocky River [Index Number 17-

43-(8)] from dam at lower water supply 

reservoir for Town of Siler City to a point 65 

feet below dam (site of proposed dam) from C 

to WS-III CA. 

(3) the portion of Mud Lick Creek (Index No. 17-

43-6) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of 

Chatham County SR 1355 to Town of Siler City 

lower water supply reservoir from WS-III to 

WS-III CA. 

(4) the portion of Lacy Creek (17-43-7) from a 

point 0.6 mile downstream of Chatham County 

SR 1362 to Town of Siler City lower water 

supply reservoir from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

(o)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective November 1, 2007 with the reclassifications 

listed below, and the North Carolina Division of Water Resources 

maintains a Geographic Information Systems data layer of these 

UWLs. 

(1) Military Ocean Terminal Sunny Point Pools, all 

on the eastern shore of the Cape Fear River 

[Index No. 18-(71)] were reclassified to Class 

WL UWL. 

(2) Salters Lake Bay near Salters Lake [Index No. 

18-44-4] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(3) Jones Lake Bay near Jones Lake [Index No. 18-

46-7-1] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(4) Weymouth Woods Sandhill Seep near Mill 

Creek [18-23-11-(1)] was reclassified to Class 

UWL. 

(5) Fly Trap Savanna near Cape Fear River [Index 

No. 18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL 

UWL. 

(6) Lily Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(7) Grassy Pond near Cape Fear River [Index No. 

18-(71)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(8) The Neck Savanna near Sandy Run Swamp 

[Index No. 18-74-33-2] was reclassified to 

Class WL UWL. 

(9) Bower's Bog near Mill Creek [Index No. 18-23-

11-(1)] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(10) Bushy Lake near Turnbull Creek [Index No. 18-

46] was reclassified to Class WL UWL. 

(p)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective January 1, 2009 as follows: 

(1) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No. 18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from Smithfield 

Packing Company's intake, located 

approximately 2 miles upstream of County 

Road 1316, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of 

Smithfield Packing Company's intake from 

Class C to Class WS-IV CA. 

(2) the portion of Cape Fear River [Index No.18-

(26)] (including tributaries) from a point 0.5 

miles upstream of Smithfield Packing 

Company's intake to a point 1 mile upstream of 

Grays Creek from Class C to Class WS-IV. 

(q)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective August 11, 2009 with the reclassification of all 

Class C NSW waters and all Class B NSW waters upstream of the 

dam at B. Everett Jordan Reservoir from Class C NSW and Class 

B NSW to Class WS-V NSW and Class WS-V & B NSW, 

respectively. All waters within the B. Everett Jordan Reservoir 

Watershed are within a designated Critical Water Supply 

Watershed and are subject to a special management strategy 

specified in Rules .0262 through .0273 of this Subchapter. 

(r)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2009 with the reclassification of 

a portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(28.5)] from the Town 

of Pittsboro water supply intake, which is located approximately 

0.15 mile west of U.S. 15/501, to a point 0.5 mile upstream of the 

Town of Pittsboro water supply intake from Class WS-IV to Class 

WS-IV CA. 

(s)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective March 1, 2012 with the reclassification of the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from the City of 

Greensboro's intake, located approximately 650 feet upstream of 

Guilford County 2712, to a point 0.5 miles upstream of the intake 

from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV CA NSW, and the 

portion of the Haw River [Index No. 16-(1)] from a point 0.5 miles 

upstream of the intake to a point 0.6 miles downstream of U.S. 

Route 29 from Class WS-V NSW to Class WS-IV NSW. 

(t)  The Cape Fear River Basin Classification Schedule was 

amended effective September 1, 2019 with the reclassification of 

a portion of Sandy Creek [Index No. 17-16-(1)] (including 

tributaries) from a point 0.4 mile upstream of SR-2481 to a point 

0.6 mile upstream of N.C. Hwy 22 from WS-III to WS-III CA. 

The reclassification resulted in an updated representation of the 

water supply watershed for the Sandy Creek reservoir. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 143-214.1; 143-215.1; 

143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Amended Eff. June 30, 2017; March 1, 2012; September 1, 2009; 

August 11, 2009; January 1, 2009; November 1, 2007; November 

1, 2004; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1999; August 1, 1998; 

September 1, 1994; June 1, 1994; August 3, 1992; August 1, 1990; 

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1701 DEFINITIONS 

The definitions in 40 CFR 60.41f apply to this Section. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1702 APPLICABILITY 

(a)  This Section applies to each existing Municipal Solid Waste 

(MSW) landfill that accepted waste since November 8, 1987 and 

that commenced construction, reconstruction, or modification on 

or before July 17, 2014. 

(b)  Physical or operational changes made to an existing MSW 

landfill solely to comply with an emission standard under this 

Section are not considered a modification or reconstruction, and 

do not subject an existing MSW landfill to the requirements of 40 

CFR 60, Subpart XXX or 15A NCAC 02D .0524. 

(c)  An MSW landfill shall follow the permitting and reporting 

requirements of 40 CFR 60.31f(c) through (e). 

 

History Note: Authority 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.107(a)(5); 

143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1703 EMISSION STANDARDS 

(a)  Any MSW landfill subject to this Section and having a design 

capacity greater than or equal to 2.5 million megagrams by mass 

and 2.5 million cubic meters by volume shall be required to collect 

and control MSW landfill emissions if the following conditions 

apply: 

(1) The landfill has accepted waste at any time 

since November 8, 1987 or has additional 

design capacity available for future waste 

deposition. 

(2) The landfill commenced construction, 

reconstruction, or modification on or before 

July 17, 2014. 

(3) The landfill has an NMOC emission rate greater 

than or equal to 34 megagrams per year or Tier 

4 surface emissions monitoring shows a surface 

emission concentration of 500 parts per million 

methane or greater. 

(4) The landfill is in the closed landfill subcategory 

and has an NMOC emission rate greater than or 

equal to 50 megagrams per year or Tier 4 

surface emissions monitoring shows a surface 

emission concentration of 500 parts per million 

methane or greater. 

(b) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill meeting the 

conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall install and start-up 

a collection and control system that captures the gas within the 

landfill within 30 months after: 

(1) the first annual report in which the NMOC 

emission rate equals or exceeds 34 megagrams 

per year, unless Tier 2 or Tier 3 sampling 

demonstrates that the NMOC emission rate is 

less than 34 megagrams per year, as specified 

in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4);  

(2) the first annual NMOC emission rate report for 

a landfill in the closed landfill subcategory in 

which the NMOC emission rate equals or 

exceeds 50 megagrams per year, unless Tier 2 

or Tier 3 sampling demonstrates that the 

NMOC emission rate is less than 50 megagrams 

per year, as specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4); 

or 

(3) the most recent NMOC emission rate report in 

which the NMOC emission rate equals or 

exceeds 34 megagrams per year based on Tier 

2, if the Tier 4 surface emissions monitoring 

shows a surface methane emission 

concentration of 500 parts per million methane 

or greater as specified in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d)(4)(iii). 

(c) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill meeting the 

conditions of Paragraph (a) of this Rule shall collect and control 

the gas from the landfill through the use of control devices where 

the following applies, except as provided in 40 CFR 60.24: 

(1) a non-enclosed flare designed and operated in 

accordance with the parameters established in 

40 CFR 60.18 except as noted in 40 CFR 

60.37f(d);  

(2) a control system designed and operated to 

reduce NMOC by 98 weight percent; or when 

an enclosed combustion device is used for 

control, to either reduce NMOC by 98 weight 

percent or reduce the outlet NMOC 

concentration to less than 20 parts per million 

by volume, dry basis as hexane at three percent 

oxygen or less. The reduction efficiency or 

concentration in parts per million by volume 

shall be established by an initial performance 

test to be completed no later than 180 days after 

the initial startup of the approved control 

system using the test methods specified in 40 

CFR 60.35f(d). The performance test is not 

required for boilers and process heaters with 

design heat input capacities equal to or greater 

than 44 megawatts that burn landfill gas for 

compliance with this Rule. 

(A) If a boiler or process heater is used as 

the control device, the landfill gas 

stream shall be introduced into the 

flame zone. 
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(B) The control device shall be operated 

within the parameter ranges 

established during the initial or most 

recent performance test. The operating 

parameters to be monitored shall be 

those specified in 40 CFR 60.37f. 

(C) For the closed landfill subcategory, the 

initial or most recent performance test 

conducted by the facility to comply 

with 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW; 

40 CFR Part 62, Subpart GGG; or 40 

CFR Part 60, Subpart Cc on or before 

July 17, 2014; shall be used for 

compliance with 40 CFR Part, Subpart 

Cf; or 

(3) route the collected gas to a treatment system 

that processes the collected gas for subsequent 

sale or beneficial use such as fuel for 

combustion, production of vehicle fuel, 

production of high-Btu gas for pipeline 

injection, or use as a raw material in a chemical 

manufacturing process. Venting of treated 

landfill gas to the ambient air is not allowed. If 

the treated landfill gas cannot be routed for 

subsequent sale or beneficial use, then the 

treated landfill gas shall be controlled pursuant 

to either Subparagraph (c)(1) or (2) of this Rule. 

All emissions from any atmospheric vent from 

the gas treatment system are subject to the 

requirements of Paragraph (b) or (c) of this 

Rule. For purposes of this Subparagraph, 

atmospheric vents located on the condensate 

storage tank are not part of the treatment system 

and are exempt from the requirements of 

Paragraph (b) or (c) of this Rule. 

(d) Each owner or operator of a MSW landfill having a design 

capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams by mass or 2.5 million 

cubic meters by volume shall submit to the Division a design 

capacity report as defined in 40 CFR 60.38f(a). Submittal of the 

initial design capacity report fulfills the requirements of this Rule, 

except as provided in Subparagraphs (d)(1) and (2) of this Rule, 

as follows: 

(1) The owner or operator shall submit an amended 

design capacity report as provided in 40 CFR 

60.38f(b). If the design capacity increase is the 

result of a modification, as defined in 15A 

NCAC 02D .1701, that was commenced after 

July 17, 2014, then the landfill becomes subject 

to 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart XXX instead of 40 

CFR Part 60 Subpart Cf. If the design capacity 

increase is the result of a change in operating 

practices, density, or some other change that is 

not a modification as defined in 40 CFR 60.41f, 

then the landfill remains subject to Subpart Cf. 

(2) When an increase in the maximum design 

capacity of a landfill with an initial design 

capacity less than 2.5 million megagrams or 2.5 

million cubic meters results in a revised 

maximum design capacity equal to or greater 

than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 million 

cubic meters, the owner or operator shall 

comply with Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(e) Each owner or operator of an MSW landfill having a design 

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 

million cubic meters shall either install a collection and control 

system as provided in Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule or 

calculate an initial NMOC emission rate for the landfill using the 

procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a). The NMOC emission 

rate shall be recalculated annually, except as provided in 40 CFR 

60.38f(c)(3), as follows: 

(1) If the calculated NMOC emission rate is less 

than 34 megagrams per year, the owner or 

operator shall submit an annual NMOC 

emission rate report according to 40 CFR 

60.38f(c), and recalculate the NMOC emission 

rate annually using the procedures specified in 

40 CFR 60.35f(a) until such time as the 

calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or 

greater than 34 megagrams per year, or the 

landfill is closed. This annual NMOC emission 

rate reporting requirement shall not apply to the 

facilities that elected to submit their reports as 

provided in 40 CFR 60.38f(c)(3): 

(A) if the calculated NMOC emission rate 

is equal to or greater than 34 

megagrams per year, the owner or 

operator shall either: comply with 

Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule; 

calculate NMOC emissions using the 

next higher tier in 40 CFR 60.35f; or 

conduct a surface emission monitoring 

demonstration using the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6); 

(B) if the landfill is permanently closed, a 

closure report shall be submitted to the 

Division as provided in 40 CFR 

60.38f(f), except for exemption 

allowed pursuant to 40 CFR 

60.31f(e)(4); and 

(C) for the closed landfill subcategory, if 

the most recently calculated NMOC 

emission rate is equal to or greater 

than 50 megagrams per year, the 

owner or operator shall either: submit 

a gas collection and control system 

design plan as specified in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d), except for exemptions 

allowed pursuant to 40 CFR 

60.31f(e)(3), and install a collection 

and control system as provided in 

Paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Rule; 

calculate NMOC emissions using the 

next higher tier in 40 CFR 60.35f; or 

conduct a surface emission monitoring 

demonstration using the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6). 

(2) If the calculated NMOC emission rate is equal 

to or greater than 34 megagrams per year using 
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Tier 1, 2, or 3 procedures, the owner or operator 

shall either: submit a collection and control 

system design plan prepared by a professional 

engineer to the Division within one year as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.38f(d), except for 

exemptions allowed in 40 CFR 60.31f(e)(3); 

calculate NMOC emissions using a higher tier 

in 40 CFR 60.35f; or conduct a surface 

emission monitoring demonstration using the 

procedures specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6). 

Submitted design plans shall be reviewed by the 

Division pursuant to the procedures in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d)(5) and (6). 

(3) For the closed landfill subcategory, if the 

calculated NMOC emission rate is equal to or 

greater than 50 megagrams per year using Tier 

1, 2, or 3 procedures, the owner or operator 

shall either: submit a collection and control 

system design plan as specified in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d), except for exemptions allowed 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.31f(e)(3); calculate 

NMOC emissions using a higher tier in 40 CFR 

60.35f; or conduct a surface emission 

monitoring demonstration using the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6). Submitted 

design plans shall be reviewed by the Division 

pursuant to the procedures in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d)(5) and (6). 

(f) The collection and control system may be capped, removed, or 

decommissioned if the following criteria are met: 

(1) The landfill is a closed landfill as defined in 40 

CFR 60.41f. A closure report shall be submitted 

to the Division as provided in 15A NCAC 02D 

.1708(f). 

(2) The collection and control system has been in 

operation a minimum of 15 years or the landfill 

owner or operator demonstrates that the GCCS 

will be unable to operate for 15 years due to 

declining gas flow. 

(3) Following the procedures specified in 40 CFR 

60.35f(b), the calculated NMOC emission rate 

at the landfill is less than 34 megagrams per 

year on three successive test dates. The test 

dates shall be no less than 90 days apart, and no 

more than 180 days apart. 

(4) For the closed landfill subcategory as defined in 

40 CFR 60.41f, following the procedures 

specified in 40 CFR 60.35f(b), the calculated 

NMOC emission rate at the landfill is less than 

50 megagrams per year on three successive test 

dates. The test dates shall be no less than 90 

days apart, and no more than 180 days apart. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

15A NCAC 02D .1704 TEST METHODS AND 

PROCEDURES 

The MSW landfill NMOC emission rate shall be calculated, or a 

surface emission monitoring demonstration be conducted, by 

following the procedures in 40 CFR 60.35f, as applicable, to 

determine whether the landfill meets the conditions of 15A NCAC 

02D .1703(a)(3) or (4). The owner or operator shall submit reports 

following the procedures pursuant to 60.38f(j). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 

143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1705 OPERATIONAL STANDARDS 

The owner and operator of a MSW landfill required to install a 

landfill gas collection and control system to comply with 15A 

NCAC 02D .1703(b) and (c) shall: 

(1) operate the collection system such that gas is 

collected from each area, cell, or group of cells 

in the MSW landfill in which solid waste has 

been in place for: 

(a) five years or more if active; or 

(b) two years or more if closed or at final 

grade; 

(2) operate the collection system with negative 

pressure at each wellhead except under the 

following conditions: 

(a) for a fire or increased well 

temperature, the owner or operator 

shall record instances when positive 

pressure occurs in efforts to avoid a 

fire. These records shall be submitted 

with the annual reports as provided in 

40 CFR 60.38f(h)(1); 

(b) for the use of a geomembrane or 

synthetic cover, the owner or operator 

shall develop acceptable pressure 

limits in the design plan; and 

(c) for a decommissioned well, a well 

may experience a static positive 

pressure after shut down to 

accommodate for declining flows. All 

design changes shall be approved by 

the Division as specified in 40 CFR 

60.38f(d); 

(3) operate each interior wellhead in the collection 

system with a landfill gas temperature less than 

55 degrees Celsius (131 degrees Fahrenheit). 

The owner or operator may establish a higher 

operating temperature value at a particular well. 

A higher operating value demonstration shall be 

submitted to the Division for approval and shall 

include supporting data demonstrating that the 

elevated parameter neither causes fires nor 

inhibits anaerobic decomposition by killing 

methanogens; 
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(4) operate the collection system so that the 

methane concentration is less than 500 parts per 

million above background at the surface of the 

landfill. To determine if this level is exceeded, 

the owner and operator shall conduct surface 

testing using an organic vapor analyzer, flame 

ionization detector, or other portable monitor 

meeting the specifications provided in 40 CFR 

60.36f(d). The owner or operator shall conduct 

surface testing around the perimeter of the 

collection area and along a pattern that traverses 

the landfill at no more than 30-meter intervals 

and where visual observations indicate elevated 

concentrations of landfill gas, such as distressed 

vegetation and cracks or seeps in the cover and 

all cover penetrations. The owner or operator 

shall monitor any openings that are within an 

area of the landfill where waste has been placed 

and a gas collection system is required. The 

owner or operator may establish an alternative 

traversing pattern that ensures equivalent 

coverage. A surface monitoring design plan 

shall be developed that includes a topographical 

map with the monitoring route and the rationale 

for any site-specific deviations from the 30-

meter intervals. Areas with steep slopes or other 

dangerous areas may be excluded upon request 

of the owner or operator from the surface 

testing; 

(5) operate the collection system such that all 

collected gases are vented to a control system 

designed and operated in compliance with 40 

CFR 60.33f(c). In the event that the gas 

collection and control system is not operating, 

the gas mover system shall be shut down and all 

valves in the collection and control system 

contributing to venting of the gas to the 

atmosphere shall be closed within one hour of 

the collection or control system not operating; 

(6) operate the control system at all times when the 

collected gas is routed to the system; and 

(7) if monitoring demonstrates that the operational 

requirements in Item (2), (3), or (4) of this Rule 

are not met, corrective action shall be taken as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.36f(a)(3) and (a)(5) or 

(c). If corrective actions are taken as specified 

in 40 CFR 60.36f, the monitored exceedance 

shall not be a violation of the operational 

requirements in this Rule. 

The owner or operator may choose to comply with the provisions 

of 40 CFR 63.1958 in lieu of Items (1) through (7) of this Rule. 

Once the owner or operator begins to comply with the provisions 

of 40 CFR 63.1958, the owner or operator shall continue to 

operate the collection and control device according to those 

provisions and shall not return to the provisions of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1706 COMPLIANCE PROVISIONS 

(a)  Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall be 

determined using the gas collection system compliance provisions 

of 40 CFR 60.36f(a). 

(b)  Compliance with 15A NCAC 02D .1705(1) shall be 

determined using the controlled landfill gas well and design 

component provisions of 40 CFR 60.36f(b). 

(c)  Compliance with the surface methane operational standards 

of 15A NCAC 02D .1705(4) shall be determined using the 

procedures of 40 CFR 60.36f(c). 

(d)  To comply with the provisions in Paragraph (c) of this Rule 

or 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6), the owner or operator shall 

comply with the instrumentation specifications and procedures for 

surface emission monitoring devices provisions of 40 CFR 

60.36f(d). 

(e)  The provisions of this Rule apply, except during periods of 

start-up, shutdown, or malfunction. During periods of startup, 

shutdown, and malfunction, the owner or operator shall comply 

with the work practice specified in 40 CFR 60.34f(e) in lieu of the 

compliance provisions in 40 CFR 60.36f. 

(f)  The owner or operator may choose to comply with the 

provisions of 40 CFR 63.1960 in lieu of Paragraphs (a) through 

(e) of this Rule. Once the owner or operator begins to comply with 

the provisions of 40 CFR 63.1960, the owner or operator shall 

continue to operate the collection and control device according to 

those provisions and shall not return to the provisions of this Rule. 

(g)  Compliance with the specifications for active collection 

systems in 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall be determined using 

the provisions of 40 CFR 60.40f(a) and (b). 

(h)  Compliance with the specifications for active collection 

systems in 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) shall be determined using 

the provisions of 40 CFR 60.40f(c). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 

143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1707 MONITORING PROVISIONS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill who is required to 

comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) for an active gas collection 

system shall perform the monitoring requirements as outlined in 

40 CFR 60.37f(a). 

(b)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) using an enclosed 

combustor shall perform the monitoring requirements as outlined 

in 40 CFR 60.37f(b). 

(c)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) using a non-

enclosed flare shall perform the monitoring requirements as 

outlined in 40 CFR 60.37f(c). 

(d)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) using a device 

other than a non-enclosed flare, an enclosed combustor, or 
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treatment system shall comply with the provisions of 40 CFR 

60.37f(d). 

(e)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) by installing a 

collection system that does not meet the specifications of 40 CFR 

60.40f, or seeking to monitor alternative parameters to those 

required by 15A NCAC 02D .1704 through .1707 shall comply 

with the provisions of 40 CFR 60.37f(e). 

(f)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1705(4) for 

demonstrating compliance with the 500 parts per million surface 

methane operational standard shall do so in accordance with 40 

CFR 60.37(f). 

(g)  The owner or operator of an MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) 

shall do so in accordance with the provisions of 40 CFR 60. 

37f(g). 

(h)  The monitoring requirements of Paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and 

(g) of this Rule apply at all times the affected source 

is operating, except for periods of monitoring system 

malfunctions, repairs associated with the monitoring system 

malfunctions, and required monitoring system quality assurance 

or quality control activities. A "monitoring system malfunction" 

is defined in 60.37f(h). Monitoring system failures that are caused 

in part by poor maintenance or careless operation are not 

malfunctions. Monitoring system repairs to return the monitoring 

system to operation in response to malfunctions shall be 

completed in accordance with 60.37f(h). 

(i)  The owner or operator may choose to comply with the 

provisions of 40 CFR 63.19561 in lieu of Paragraphs (a) through 

(h) of this Rule. Once the owner or operator begins to comply with 

the provisions of 40 CFR 63.1961, the owner or operator shall 

continue to operate the collection and control device according to 

those provisions and shall not return to the provisions of this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.66; 

143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1708 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Rule according to 15A NCAC 02D .1702 shall submit a 

design capacity report to the Director as follows: 

(1) The initial design capacity report shall be 

submitted no later than 90 days after the 

effective date of the EPA approval of the State 

Plan pursuant to Section 111(d) of the Clean Air 

Act. 

(2) The initial design capacity report shall contain 

the information given in 40 CFR 60.38f(a)(1) 

and 40 CFR 60.38f(a)(2). 

(b)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Section shall submit an amended design capacity report 

providing notification of an increase in the design capacity of the 

landfill, within 90 days of an increase in the maximum design 

capacity of the landfill to meet or exceed 2.5 million megagrams 

and 2.5 million cubic meters. An increase in design capacity may 

result from an increase in the permitted volume of the landfill or 

an increase in the density as documented in the annual 

recalculation required in 15A NCAC 02D .1709(j). 

(c)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

this Rule shall submit a NMOC emission report to the Director no 

later than 90 days after the effective date of EPA approval of the 

State plan pursuant to Section 111(d) of the Clean Air Act and 

annually thereafter, except as provided for in 40 CFR 60.38f(c). 

The NMOC emission rate report shall: 

(1) contain an annual or five-year estimate of the 

NMOC emission rate calculated using the 

formula and procedures provided in 40 CFR 

60.35f(a) or (b), as applicable;  

(2) include all the data, calculations, sample 

reports, and measurements used to estimate the 

annual or five-year emissions; and 

(3) if the estimated NMOC emission rate as 

reported in the annual report is less than 34 

megagrams per year in each of the next five 

consecutive years, the owner or operator may 

elect to submit an estimate of the NMOC 

emission rate for the next five-year period in 

lieu of the annual report. This estimate shall 

include the current amount of solid waste-in-

place and the estimate waste acceptance rate for 

each year of the five years for which an NMOC 

emission rate is estimated. All data and 

calculations shall be provided. This estimate 

shall be revised at least once every five years. If 

the actual waste acceptance rate exceeds the 

estimated waste acceptance rate in any year 

reported in the five-year estimate, a revised 

five-year estimate shall be submitted. The 

revised estimate shall cover the five-year period 

beginning with the year in which the actual 

waste acceptance rate exceeded the estimated 

waste acceptance rate. 

Each owner and operator subject to the requirements of this Rule 

shall be exempted from the requirements to submit an NMOC 

emission rate report, after installing a compliant collection and 

control system, during such time as the collection and control 

system is in operation and in compliance with 15A NCAC 02D 

.1705 and .1706. 

(d)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill subject to 

15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall submit a collection and control 

system design plan to the Director within one year of the first 

NMOC emission rate report, required under Paragraph (c) of this 

Rule, in which the emission rate equals or exceeds 34 megagrams 

per year, except as provided for in 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(4)(i), 

60.38f(d)(4)(ii), and 60.38f(d)(4)(iii). The collection and control 

system design plan shall include: 

(1) a description of the collection and control 

system; 

(2) a description of any alternatives to the 

operational standards, test methods, 

procedures, compliance measures, monitoring, 

recordkeeping, or reporting provisions 

provided in this Rule; and 
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(3) a description indicating how the plan conforms 

to specifications for active collection systems or 

a demonstration of sufficient alternative 

provisions as given in 40 CFR 60.40f. 

(e)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill who has 

already submitted a design plan pursuant to Paragraph 

(d)  of this Rule, pursuant to 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart WWW, or 

a State plan implementing 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Cc, shall 

submit a revised design plan that includes the information in 

Subparagraphs (d)(1) through (d)(3). The revised design plan 

shall be submitted to the Director as follows: 

(1) at least 90 days before expanding operations to 

an area no covered by the previously approved 

design plan; and 

(2) prior to installing or expanding the gas 

collection system in a way that is not consistent 

with the design plan that was submitted to the 

Director in Paragraph (d) of this Rule. 

(f)  The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall submit a 

closure report to the Director within 30 days of cessation of waste 

acceptance. If a closure report has been submitted to the Director, 

no additional waste shall be placed into the landfill without first 

filing a notification of modification as described pursuant to 40 

CFR 60.7(a)(4). The Director may request such additional 

information to verify that permanent closure of the MSW landfill 

has taken place pursuant to the requirements of 40 CFR 258.60. 

(g)  The owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill shall 

submit an equipment removal report 30 days prior to removal or 

cessation of operation of the control equipment according to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1703(f). The report shall contain the items listed in 

40 CFR 60.38f(g). The Director may request such additional 

information to verify that all the conditions for removal in 40 CFR 

60.33f(f) have been met. 

(h)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) using an active collection system 

designed in accordance with 40 CFR 60.33f(b) shall submit, 

following the procedures pursuant to 60.38f(j)(2), annual reports 

of the recorded information in 40 CFR 60.38f(h)(1) through 

(h)(7). The initial annual report shall be submitted within 180 days 

of installation and start-up of the collection and control system, 

and shall include the initial performance test report required under 

40 CFR 60.8. The initial performance test report shall be 

submitted by following the procedures pursuant to 60.38f(j)(1). 

Each owner or operator that chooses to comply with the 

operational provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, 

as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707 the owner 

or operator shall follow the semi-annual reporting requirements in 

40 CFR 63.1981(h) in lieu of this Paragraph. 

(i)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill required 

to comply with 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall include the 

information given in 40 CFR 60.38f(i)(1) through (i)(6) with the 

initial performance test report required pursuant to 40 CFR 60.8. 

(j)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill shall 

submit a report within 60 days after the date of completing each 

performance test pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(j).  

(k)  The owner or operator of an existing MSW landfill required 

to implement corrective active, shall submit reports to the Director 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(k)(1) and (k)(2). Each owner or 

operator that chooses to comply with the operational provisions 

of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as allowed by 15A 

NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707 shall follow the corrective 

action and the corresponding timeline reporting requirements in 

40 CFR 63.1981(j) in lieu of this Paragraph. 

(l)  The owner or operator of an affected landfill with a design 

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 

million cubic meters that has employed leachate recirculation or 

added liquids based on a Research, Development, and 

Demonstration permit within the last 10 years shall submit an 

annual report to the Director that includes the information 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.38f(l)(1) through (l)(10). The annual report 

shall be submitted by following the procedures pursuant to 

60.38f(j)(2). 

(m)  The owner or operator of an affected landfill with a design 

capacity equal to or greater than 2.5 million megagrams and 2.5 

million cubic meters that intends to demonstrate site-specific 

surface methane emissions are below 500 parts per million 

methane, based on Tier 4 provisions of 40 CFR 60.35f(a)(6), shall 

provide notifications to the Director in accordance with 40 CFR 

60.38f(m)(1) and (m)(2). 

(n)  Each owner or operator that chooses to comply with the 

operational provisions of 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, 

as allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and .1707, shall 

submit the 24-hour high temperature report according to 40 CFR 

63.1981(k). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1709 RECORDKEEPING 

REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this 

Section shall keep on-site, readily accessible, for at least five years 

a copy of the design capacity report that triggered 40 CFR 

60.33f(e), the current amount of solid waste in-place, and the 

year-by-year waste acceptance rate. Off-site records may be 

maintained if they are retrievable within four hours. Either paper 

copy or electronic formats of the records shall be acceptable. 

(b)  The owner or operator of a controlled landfill shall keep up-

to-date records for the life of the control equipment of the data 

listed in 40 CFR 60.39f(b)(1) through (b)(5) as measured during 

the initial performance test or compliance determination. Records 

of subsequent tests or monitoring shall be maintained for a 

minimum of five years. Records of the control device vendor 

specifications shall be maintained until removal. 

(c)  Each owner or operator of a controlled MSW landfill subject 

to this Section shall keep for five years up-to-date records 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(c) of the equipment operating 

parameters specified to be monitored in 15A NCAC 02D .1707 

and records for periods of operation during which the parameter 

boundaries established during the most recent performance test 

are exceeded. The parameter boundaries considered in excess of 

those established during the performance test are defined in 40 

CFR 60.39f(c)(1)(i) and (ii) and are also required to be reported 

pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1708(j). 



 APPROVED RULES 

 

 

36:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 2, 2021 

215 

(d)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this 

Section shall keep up-to-date, readily accessible continuous 

records of the indication of flow to the control system and the 

indication of bypass flow or records of monthly inspections of car-

seals or lock-and-key configuration used to seal bypass lines as 

specified in 40 CFR 60.37f. 

(e)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to this 

Section who uses a boiler or process heater with a design heat 

input capacity of 44 megawatts or greater to comply with 40 CFR 

60.33f(c) shall keep an up-to-date, readily accessible record of all 

periods of operation of the boiler or process heater. 

(f)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(c) by use of a non-

enclosed flare shall keep up-to-date, readily accessible records of 

all periods of operation in which the flame or flare pilot flame is 

absent. 

(g)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to comply 

with the provisions of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(b) using an active 

collection system designed pursuant to 40 CFR 60.33f(b) shall 

keep records of periods of when the collection system or control 

device is not operating. 

(h)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for the life of the collection 

system an up-to-date plot map pursuant to 40 CFR 60.768(d) 

showing existing and planned collectors in the system and provide 

unique identification location labels for each collector. Records of 

newly installed collectors shall be maintained pursuant to 40 CFR 

60.36f(b) and documentation of asbestos-containing or 

nondegradable waste excluded from collection shall be kept 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.40(a)(3)(i) and records of any 

nonproductive areas excluded from collection shall be kept 

pursuant to 40 CFR 60.40f(a)(3)(ii). 

(i)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to 15A 

NCAC 02D .1703(b) shall keep for at least five years accessible 

records of the following: 

(1) for each owner or operator that chooses to 

comply with the operational provisions of 40 

CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, as 

allowed by 15A NCAC 02D .1705, .1706, and 

.1707, the date upon which the owner or 

operator started complying with the provisions 

in 40 CFR 63.1958, 63.1960, and 63.1961, and 

records according to 40 CFR 63.1983(e)(1) 

through (e)(5) in lieu of Subparagraphs (2) 

through (4) of this Paragraph; 

(2) records of emissions from the collection and 

control system exceeding the operational 

standards pursuant to 40 CFR 60.34f, including 

the reading in the subsequent month whether or 

not the second reading is an exceedance, and 

the location of each exceedance; 

(3) records of each wellhead temperature 

monitoring value of 55 degrees Celsius (131 

degrees Fahrenheit) or above, each well head 

nitrogen level at or above 20 percent, and each 

wellhead oxygen level at or above five percent; 

and 

(4) records for any root cause analysis as provided 

in 40 CFR 60.39f(e)(3) through (e)(5). 

(j)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill who converts design 

capacity from volume to mass or mass to volume to demonstrate 

that landfill design capacity is less than 2.5 million megagrams or 

2.5 million cubic meters, as provided in the definition of "design 

capacity", shall keep readily accessible, on-site records of the 

annual recalculation of site specific density, design capacity, and 

the supporting documentation. Off-site records may be 

maintained if they are retrievable within four hours. Either paper 

copy or electronic formats are acceptable. 

(k)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill seeking to 

demonstrate that site-specific surface methane emissions are 

below 500 parts per million by conducting surface emissions 

monitoring under the Tier 4 procedures shall follow the 

recordkeeping provisions provided in 40 CFR 39f(g). 

(l)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill subject to the 

provisions of this Section shall keep for at least five years up-to-

date, readily accessible records of all collection and control 

system monitoring data for the parameters measured in 40 CFR 

60.37f(a)(1) through (a)(3). 

(m)  The owner or operator of a MSW landfill reporting leachate 

or other liquids addition pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1708(k) 

shall keep records of any engineering calculations or company 

records used to estimate the quantities or leachate or liquids 

added, the surface areas for which the leachate or liquids were 

applied, and the estimates of annual waste acceptance or total 

waste in place in the areas where leachate or liquids were applied. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-215.65; 

143-215.66; 143-215.107(a)(4); 143-215.107(a)(5); 143-

215.107(a)(10); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2000; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

15A NCAC 02D .1710 COMPLIANCE SCHEDULES 

For each existing MSW landfill subject to this Section as specified 

in 15A NCAC 02D .1702 and meeting the design capacity 

condition of 15A NCAC 02D .1703(a) whose NMOC emission 

rate is less than 34 megagrams per year on or after the most recent 

effective date of this Rule, shall: 

(1) submit a site-specific design plan for the gas 

collection and control system to the Director 

within 12 months of first exceeding the NMOC 

emission rate of 34 megagrams per year and 50 

megagrams per year for the closed landfill 

subcategory; and 

(2) plan, award contracts, and install MSW landfill 

air emission collection and control system 

capable of meeting the emission standards 

established pursuant to 15A NCAC 02D .1703 

within 30 months of the date when the 

conditions in 15A NCAC 02D .1703 (a)(3) are 

met. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 143-215.3(a)(1); 143-

215.107(a)(4); 143-215.107(a)(5); 

Eff. July 1, 1998; 

Readopted Eff. October 1, 2020; 
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Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 19A - DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 

19A NCAC 03C .0232 REGISTRATION 

INFORMATION AND CERTIFIED RECORDS FEES 

Any person seeking verification of information regarding license 

numbers, ownership, or liability insurance shall submit a written 

request. Copies of these records are provided for a fee as set out 

in G.S. 20-4.02 and posted on the agency website at 

https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/downloads/Documents/MVR-

94.pdf.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-4.02; 20-39; 20-42; 

Eff. March 1, 1982; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; December 1, 1984; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03F .0201 TRAFFIC ACCIDENT 

SUMMARY 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-3; 20-39; 20-166.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03F .0202 FATAL ACCIDENT REPORTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-3; 20-39; 20-166.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03F .0203 SPECIAL HOLIDAY REPORTS 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-1; 20-3; 20-39; 20-166.1; 

Eff. July 1, 1978; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 1991; February 1, 1982; 

Repealed Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

19A NCAC 03I .0307 COURSES OF INSTRUCTION 

Commercial driver training schools shall teach the following 

courses: 

(1) For persons 18 years of age or older, a course 

as follows: 

(a) Classroom Instruction. A minimum of 

six hours, including rules of the road 

and other laws affecting the operation 

of motor vehicles, safe driving 

practices, pedestrian safety, and the 

general responsibilities of the driver. 

No class shall consist of more than 50 

students. Classroom work shall be 

limited to no more than six hours per 

day. 

(b) Behind-the-Wheel Instruction. A 

minimum of six hours, including 

instruction and practice in all the basic 

physical skills necessary for proper 

control of a motor vehicle in all 

normal driving situations, such as 

starting, stopping, steering and 

turning, controlling the vehicle in 

traffic, backing, and parking. A valid 

learner's permit issued by the Driver 

License Section of the Division is 

required. 

(c) A person holding a valid learner's 

permit issued by the Driver License 

Section of the Division shall not be 

required to take the six hours of 

classroom instruction set forth in Sub-

item (1)(a) of this Rule. 

(d) A person holding a valid learner's 

permit or driver's license issued by the 

Driver License Section of the Division 

may contract for any portion of the 

six-hour behind-the-wheel instruction. 

(2) For licensed persons, a course for purposes of 

driver improvement, such as improving their 

knowledge and skill in the operation of a motor 

vehicle. 

(3) For unlicensed persons under the age of 18 

years, courses shall be governed by G.S. 115C-

215 and Rule 16 NCAC 06E .0301. 

(4) For licensed persons taking a course offered by 

a restricted commercial driver training school, 

the following courses are authorized: 

(a) Curriculum for evaluation and 

improvement for licensed adult 

drivers only, utilizing over-the-road 

observation in vehicles not owned by 

the school or equipment such as 

driving simulators. 

(b) Professional curricula, including one 

or more of the following: 

(i) police pursuit driving; 

(ii) auto-cross driving; 

(iii) emergency-vehicle driving; 

or 

(iv) road and track racing. 

(5) Instructor training program, the requirements 

for which are: 

(a) The school must be licensed for one 

full year prior to approval. 

(b) All work must be with an instructor 

licensed as an Instructor Trainer. 

(c) A proposed plan of operation must be 

submitted to the Division outlining the 

training schedule, including: 

(i) instruction in: 

(A) using effective 

teaching methods, 

(B) writing lesson 

plans, 

(C) reviewing of 

Subchapter 03I 
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Rules Governing 

the Licensing of 

Commercial Driver 

Training Schools 

and Instructors, 

(D) using audio visual 

equipment and 

teaching aids, 

(E) filling out all 

commercial school 

forms, and 

(ii) listing names of instructor 

trainers to be employed for 

the training program. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 20-321; 20-322; 20-323; 20-

324;  

Eff. July 2, 1979; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2000; July 1, 1994; December 1, 1993; 

November 1, 1991; April 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

TITLE 21 - OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING BOARDS AND 

COMMISSIONS 

 

CHAPTER 10 – BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC 

EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0103 STRUCTURE OF BOARD 

(a)  As necessary to meet the requirements of G.S. 90-140, the 

Board shall hold an election for chiropractic candidates for 

appointment. Notice of the election shall be published on the 

Board's website at https://ncchiroboard.com at least 30 days in 

advance of the election. 

(b)  The election shall be administered by the Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. Any member of the Board who is 

nominated to succeed himself or herself shall be disqualified from 

conducting the vote in which he or she is a nominee. 

(c)  Each candidate shall provide two letters of endorsement from 

chiropractors licensed by the Board. The letters shall be submitted 

to the Board no less than 21 days before the election. 

(d)  If less than three candidates are elected, the Board shall 

provide additional names to the Governor, President Pro Tempore 

of the Senate, and Speaker of the House in order to comply with 

G.S. 90-140. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-139; 90-140; 90-142; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; May 8, 1979; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amended Eff. February 18, 1983; 

Amended Eff. June 1, 1994; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0203 NORTH CAROLINA 

EXAMINATION 

(a)  Eligibility. Only those applicants who meet the requirements 

of this Rule and G.S. 90-143 or, in the case of reciprocity 

applicants, G.S. 90-143.1, and who have submitted a written 

application and paid the non-refundable application fee pursuant 

to Rule 21 NCAC 10 .0202 shall be allowed to take the North 

Carolina examination. 

(b)  Dates of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall 

be given at least four times during the calendar year and will be 

scheduled based on the number of applications received. The 

Board shall announce an examination date not less than 30 days 

in advance, and the date of upcoming examinations shall be 

published on the Board's website, www.ncchiroboard.com. The 

Board shall also individually notify each eligible applicant of the 

date of the next examination after the applicant's non-refundable 

application fee has been paid and the written application 

completed. 

(c)  National Boards. Except as provided in Paragraph (e) of this 

Rule, in order to take the North Carolina examination, an 

applicant who has never been licensed in this State or who is not 

a reciprocity applicant shall first achieve a score of 375 or higher 

on Parts I-IV of the examinations given by the National Board of 

Chiropractic Examiners. 

(d)  Report of Scores. The applicant shall arrange for his or her 

test results from any National Board examination to be reported 

to the North Carolina Board. Failure to comply with this 

Paragraph shall be a basis for delaying the issuance of a license. 

(e)  Waiver of National Boards. Notwithstanding the requirements 

of Paragraph (c) of this Rule, an applicant who submits National 

Board examinations in conformity with the following schedule 

shall not be disqualified from licensure in North Carolina: 

(1) An applicant who graduated from chiropractic 

college before July 1, 1966 shall not be required 

to submit a score from any National Board 

examination. 

(2) An applicant who graduated from chiropractic 

college between July 1, 1966 and June 30, 1986 

shall be required to submit scores of 375 or 

higher on National Board Part I, Part II, and the 

elective examination termed "Physiotherapy," 

but shall not be required to submit a score on 

Part III (WCCE) or Part IV. 

(3) An applicant who graduated from chiropractic 

college between July 1, 1986 and June 30, 1997 

shall be required to submit scores of 375 or 

higher on National Board Part I, Part II, the 

elective examination termed "Physiotherapy," 

and Part III, but shall not be required to submit 

a score on Part IV. 

In order to receive a license, an applicant who qualifies for a 

waiver of any National Board score shall take and pass the SPEC 

examination and the North Carolina Examination pursuant to G.S. 

90-143.3 and Rule .0202 of this Chapter. 

(f)  SPEC Examination. In order to take the North Carolina 

examination, a reciprocity applicant, a waiver applicant pursuant 

to Paragraph (e) of this Rule, or an applicant previously licensed 

in this State whose license has been cancelled pursuant to G.S. 90-

155 for more than 180 days shall first take and pass the Special 
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Purpose Examination for Chiropractic ("SPEC"). The SPEC exam 

is administered by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

The passing score shall be 375 or higher. 

(g)  Nature of Examination. The North Carolina examination shall 

be a test of an applicant's knowledge of North Carolina 

chiropractic jurisprudence. The passing grade shall be 75 percent. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-143; 90-143.1; 90-

143.3; 90-144; 90-145; 90-146;  

Eff/ February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. January 27, 1978; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; October 17, 1980; 

Legislative Objection Lodged Eff. January 31, 1983; 

Curative Amendment Eff. February 18, 1983; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. October 1, 2018; April 1, 2018; February 1, 2009; 

July 1, 2004; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1995; December 1, 1988; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0207 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

SEMINARS 

(a)  Approval of Seminars. Only continuing education seminars 

approved by the Board shall count towards satisfying the 

requirements for license renewal. The sponsor and co-sponsors of 

any proposed seminar shall be responsible for submitting all the 

information outlined on the Board's Course Application 

("Application") to enable the Board to evaluate the seminar in 

accordance with this Rule. The Application can be found on and 

must be submitted pursuant to instructions on the Board's website 

at https://ncchiroboard.com. All applications must reflect that the 

seminar for which approval is being sought has been previously 

approved no more than 12 months prior to the date of the seminar 

by one of the following organizations: 

(1) Any chiropractic college recognized by the 

Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE); 

(2) Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards, 

PACE program; or 

(3) Any other chiropractic association that can 

demonstrate an active membership base of at 

least 200 members. 

(b)  Applications. In addition to the information set forth in 

Paragraph (a) of this Rule, all Applications must also contain the 

following information: 

(1) Whether the course's target audience is doctors 

of chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants, 

or x-ray technicians; 

(2) The course title; 

(3) The beginning and end dates on which the 

course will be offered; 

(4) Whether the course will be offered online or in 

a physical location; 

(5) If the course is offered in a physical location, 

the cities and states in which the course will be 

offered; 

(6) The manner in which the sponsor or co-sponsor 

will verify the attendance of licentiates; 

(7) The name and contact information of the 

sponsor and co-sponsor; 

(8) The website at which information on the course 

offering will be available; 

(9) The number of continuing education credits that 

the licentiates can obtain by attending the 

course; and 

(10) Whether the course will provide doctors of 

chiropractic, certified chiropractic assistants, or 

x-ray technicians with continuing education 

credit toward eligibility for licensure renewal, 

certification, or recertification. 

The Application shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to the 

date of the proposed seminar. Incomplete applications will not be 

processed. 

(c)  Duration of Approval. A seminar approval issued by the 

Board shall expire at the end of the calendar year for which 

approved. If the sponsor or co-sponsors of an approved seminar 

wish to repeat the seminar on a date beyond the approval period, 

a new application shall be submitted to the Board. 

(d)  Criteria for Approval. The Board's criteria for approving 

continuing education seminars is as follows: 

(1) No practice-building or motivational seminars 

shall be approved; 

(2) No seminar shall be approved that requires 

attendees, in order to be able to utilize the 

information presented at the seminar, to 

purchase equipment or clinical supplies 

available only through the seminar's instructors, 

sponsors or co-sponsors; 

(3) Each seminar subject shall fall within the extent 

and limitation of chiropractic licensure in this 

State; and 

(4) Each instructor shall submit a curriculum vitae 

or the equivalent demonstrating that he or she 

has an educational background in, or 

professional experience with, the subject or 

subjects he or she is scheduled to teach. 

(e)  Duties of Seminar Sponsor. Sponsors and co-sponsors of any 

approved continuing education seminar shall: 

(1) Disclose on all brochures and advertising 

materials the name and address of each sponsor 

and co-sponsor and whether each sponsor and 

co-sponsor is a for-profit or not-for-profit 

entity; 

(2) Be liable for all expenses incurred in holding 

the seminar; 

(3) Give notice to the Board of any material 

changes in the seminar, including date, 

location, subject matter or instructors; and 

(4) Provide an agent at the seminar site who shall: 

(A) Monitor and report the attendance of 

each person attending the seminar, in 

accordance with the method identified 

in the Course Application submitted 

for the course; 

(B) Supervise the agenda and prohibit the 

presentation of any subject matter not 

approved by the Board; and 
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(C) Complete and submit to the Board a 

post-seminar review summarizing any 

problems experienced and any 

variance between the application for 

approval and the seminar as presented. 

(f)  Sanction for Non-Compliance. By applying for seminar 

approval, each sponsor and co-sponsor agrees to admit to the 

seminar at no charge a representative of the Board for the purpose 

of observing compliance with this Rule. If the Board determines 

that a sponsor or co-sponsor has falsified the application for 

approval, has failed to keep attendance, has allowed the seminar 

as presented to vary from the agenda as set forth in the application, 

or has failed to adhere to any other provision of this Rule, the 

Board shall refuse to approve future seminar applications from the 

offending sponsor or co-sponsor or from any principal who is a 

partner or shareholder in the offending sponsor or co-sponsor. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 90-155; 90-143.2; 90-

143.4; 

Eff. January 1, 2004; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. April 27, 2019; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; January 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 10 .0216 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, or applicant for license or 

certification, submits a written request. Factors the Board shall 

use in determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-142; 150B-19(6); 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 28, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 12 – LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0201 DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions shall apply to the Rules in this Chapter: 

(1) Completion: As used in G.S. 87-1(b), 

"completion" occurs upon issuance of a 

certificate of occupancy by the permitting 

authority with jurisdiction over the project. 

(2) Cost of the undertaking: As used in G.S. 87-

1(a), "cost of the undertaking" means the final 

price of a project, excluding the cost of land, as 

evidenced by the contract and any subsequent 

amendments, or in the absence of a contract, 

permit records, invoices, and cancelled checks. 

(3) Misconduct: As used in G.S. 87-11, 

"misconduct" includes allowing an unlicensed 

person or entity to use a license or examination 

credential on an undertaking where a license is 

required. Misconduct also includes allowing a 

licensed person or entity to use a license or 

examination credential on an undertaking for 

which the user does not hold proper 

classification or limitation. Misconduct also 

includes dishonest or fraudulent conduct by a 

qualifier related to the attendance of a 

continuing education class described in G.S. 

87-10.2. 

(4) Personally: As used in G.S. 87-14(a)(1), 

"personally" means the physical presence of the 

owner of the property and excludes the use of a 

power of attorney. 

(5) Solely for occupancy: As used in G.S. 87-1(b), 

"solely for occupancy" is restricted to the 

family of a person, the officers and shareholders 

of a firm or corporation, and guests and social 

invitees where no consideration is received. For 

purposes of G.S. 87-1(b)(2), "family" is defined 

as a spouse or other family member living in the 

same household. 

(6) Value: As used in G.S. 87-10(a1), "value" 

means the same as "cost of the undertaking." 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. G.S. 87-1, 87-10, 87-10.2, and 

87-14; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

Amended Eff. January 1, 1983; 

Repealed Eff. May 1, 1989; 

Codifier approved agency's waiver request to reuse rule number; 

Eff. September 1, 2019; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0201 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0212 PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS 

(a)  A licensee shall obtain all necessary building permits from the 

local Code Enforcement Agency before commencing any work 

for which a building permit is required. After obtaining the 

necessary building permits, a licensee shall obtain all required 

inspections and assure that all inspections required by codes 

adopted by the N.C. Building Code Council are passed by the 

local Code Enforcement Official or a designee. Absent a written 

acknowledgement by a local Code Enforcement Official, a 

licensee shall not be relieved of his, her, or its responsibility to 

complete all required inspections until a certificate of compliance 

or the equivalent is obtained from the local Code Enforcement 

Agency. 

(b)  A licensee shall not allow a building permit to be obtained or 

allow his, her, or its license number to appear on a building permit 

application unless: 

(1) the licensee is the owner of the property; or 
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(2) the licensee has an agreement with the property 

owner or his or her designee to perform work 

described in the building permit. 

(c)  Failure to comply with this Rule shall constitute misconduct 

as described in G.S. 87-11. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-11; 87-14; 160A-417; 

160D-1110; 

Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0503 RENEWAL OF LICENSE 

(a)  Applications for renewal of license shall contain the 

following: 

(1) the Social Security Number of the applicant and 

qualifier(s) and tax identification number for 

corporations, LLCs, or partnerships; 

(2) the applicant's contact information; 

(3) the name of business under which licensee will 

be operating, if any; 

(4) information regarding any changes made in the 

status of the licensee's business, since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(5) confirmation of license limitation and 

classifications; 

(6) information about all crimes of which the 

applicant has been convicted since the initial 

application or last renewal was submitted to the 

Board, whichever is later; 

(7) documentation regarding all crimes referenced 

above; 

(8) information indicating whether the applicant 

has any disciplinary history with any other 

occupational licensing, registration, or 

certification agency since the initial application 

or last renewal was submitted to the Board, 

whichever is later; 

(9) an attestation that the applicant maintains 

continued financial responsibility pursuant to 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter; 

(10) if applicable, proof that the surety bond is 

maintained in compliance with Rule .0204 of 

this Chapter; 

(11) if necessary, proof of completion of continuing 

education requirements; and 

(12) the application fee and any accrued late fees as 

set forth in Rule .0304 of this Chapter. 

(b)  A licensee shall submit an audited financial statement as 

evidence of continued financial responsibility in accordance with 

Rule .0204 of this Chapter if the Board finds that the licensee is 

insolvent, financially unstable, or unable to meet its financial 

responsibilities based upon the information provided in the 

renewal application. 

(c)  A licensee shall provide the Board with a copy of any 

bankruptcy petition filed by the licensee within 30 days of its 

filing. A licensee in bankruptcy shall provide to the Board an 

agreed-upon procedures report on a form provided by the Board 

or an audited financial statement with a classified balance sheet 

as part of any application for renewal. 

(d)  A corporate license shall not be renewed unless it is in good 

standing with the N.C. Department of the Secretary of State. 

(e)  Upon receipt of a written request by or on behalf of a licensee 

who is currently in good standing with the Board, is serving in the 

armed forces of the United States, and to whom G.S. 105-249.2 

grants an extension of time to file a tax return, the Board shall 

grant that same extension of time for complying with renewal 

application deadlines, for paying renewal fees, and for meeting 

any other requirement or conditions related to the maintenance or 

renewal of the license issued by the Board. The applicant shall 

furnish to the Board a copy of the military orders or the extension 

approval by the Internal Revenue Service or by the North Carolina 

Department of Revenue. 

(f)  If a licensee's status is invalid for reasons other than those set 

forth in G.S. 87-10.2(h) and the licensee requests to renew his, 

her, or its license, the licensee must submit proof of completion 

of six elective hours of continuing education for each year not 

previously renewed and for the current license year and two 

mandatory hours for the current year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-1; 87-4; 87-10; 87-10.2; 87-

12; 87-13; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 26, 1977; 

ARRC Objection March 19, 1987; 

Amended Eff. May 1, 1989; August 1, 1987; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 28, 1989 for a period of 155 

Days to Expire on December 1, 1989; 

Amended Eff. December 1, 1989; 

RRC Removed Objection of March 19, 1987 Eff. August 20, 1992 

based on subsequent amendment; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 1992; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. May 31, 1996; 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2014; June 1, 2011; June 1, 2003; April 1, 

2003; August 1, 2002; April 1, 1997; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. July 23, 2016; 

Amended Eff. September 1, 2019; April 1, 2018; 

Recodified from 21 NCAC 12 .0503 Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; September 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 12A .0607 WAIVER 

The Board may waive any rule in this Chapter that is not 

statutorily required if a licensee, qualifier, continuing education 

course provider, or continuing education course instructor 

submits a written request. Factors the Board shall use in 

determining whether to grant the waiver are: 

(1) degree of disruption to the Board; 

(2) cost to the Board; 

(3) degree of benefit to the public; 

(4) whether the requesting party had control over 

the circumstances that required the requested 

waiver; 

(5) notice to and opposition by the public; 

(6) need for the waiver; and 

(7) previous requests for waivers submitted from 

the requesting party. 
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History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(j); 150B-19; 

Emergency Adoption Eff. April 24, 2020; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. July 24, 2020; 

Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0204 ATTENDANCE; ROSTER 

REPORTS AND CERTIFICATES 

(a)  Qualifiers shall provide proof of identity upon arrival at a class 

session. 

(b)  At the conclusion of any continuing education course, the 

provider shall submit to the Board a CE Roster Report verifying 

each qualifier's completion of the course. The CE Roster Report 

shall be submitted to the Board and shall contain the following: 

(1) provider's name; 

(2) provider's ID number assigned by the Board; 

(3) course instructor's name and ID number; 

(4) course's name and ID number; 

(5) course completion date;  

(6) name and qualifier ID number of each student 

who completed the course; and 

(7) name, qualifier ID number, and reason given 

for each student who requested but was denied 

credit by the provider. 

(c)  Providers shall submit the CE Roster Report electronically to 

the Board within seven calendar days following the end of any 

course, but in no case later than December 7. 

(d)  Providers shall submit the per student fee required by 21 

NCAC 12A .0304 with the CE Roster Report. 

(e)  Providers shall provide a course completion certificate to each 

student who completes an approved continuing education course. 

Providers shall provide a printed or electronic certificate to a 

student within 10 days following the course, but in no case later 

than December 7, for any course completed prior to that date. 

(f)  A student shall not be issued a completion certificate and shall 

not be reported to the Board as having completed a course unless 

the student satisfies the attendance requirements set forth in this 

Subchapter. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 87-10.2(d) and (e); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 12B .0301 COURSE REQUIREMENTS 

(a)  All continuing education courses shall: 

(1) cover subject matter related to the practice of 

general contracting and offer knowledge or 

skills that will enable general contractors to 

better serve consumers and the public interest; 

(2) offer two or four continuing education credit 

hours; 

(3) include materials for students that provide the 

information to be presented in the course; and 

(4) be taught only by an instructor who possesses 

education or experience in a field related to the 

course. 

(b)  Mandatory courses shall cover subject matter as established 

by the Board, including statutes and rules applicable to general 

contracting, changes to the N.C. Building Codes, case studies of 

Board investigations, and relevant court decisions. 

(c)  Providers shall submit all elective courses to the Board for 

approval pursuant to Rule .0302 of this Subchapter. 

(d)  Elective courses shall be related to the practice of general 

contracting as set forth in Article 1 of Chapter 87 in the North 

Carolina General Statutes. Instructional time and materials shall 

be utilized for instructional purposes only. 

(e)  All elective courses shall include the following disclaimer 

within the first three pages or slides of the course materials: THE 

NORTH CAROLINA LICENSING BOARD FOR GENERAL 

CONTRACTORS HAS APPROVED THIS COURSE ONLY AS 

TO ITS RELEVANCE TO THE PRACTICE OF GENERAL 

CONTRACTING IN NORTH CAROLINA. THE COURSE 

PROVIDER AND INSTRUCTOR ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR 

THE ACCURACY OF THE CONTENT AND COMPLIANCE 

WITH ALL STATE AND FEDERAL LAWS DURING THE 

ADMINISTRATION OF THE COURSE. 

(f)  Providers shall obtain approval from the Board before making 

any changes in the content of a prior approved elective course. 

Requests for approval of changes shall be made in writing. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S 87-10.2(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 2, 2020; 

Eff. September 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 28 – LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS' 

LICENSING BOARD 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0103 PRACTICE OF LANDSCAPE 

CONTRACTING; DISPLAY OF LICENSE NUMBER 

(a)  An individual who is "readily available to exercise 

supervision over the landscape construction and contracting 

work" as set forth in G.S. 89D-12(a) and G.S. 89D-17(f) is an 

individual who is physically located no more than 100 miles from 

where the construction or contract project is located or who is 

available electronically with the ability to view the construction 

or contract project. 

(b)  The contractor's license number shall be displayed in 

accordance with G.S. 89D-12(e). License numbers displayed on 

vehicles used in the contractor's landscaping business shall be a 

minimum of one inch in height. 

(c)  In addition to the requirements of G.S. 89D-12(e), license 

numbers shall be included on all estimates and proposals. 

(d)  All contracts, estimates, and proposals shall be signed by the 

contractor or his or her designee. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-12(a) and (e); 89D-15(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0204 MAINTAIN CURRENT 

INFORMATION 

(a)  Every licensee shall keep the Board advised of the licensee's 

current mailing address, phone number, email address, and the 
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name or names under which the licensee is practicing. If any 

change occurs, the licensee shall notify the Board in writing of the 

change within 30 days. 

(b)  Upon the dissolution of a professional relationship, the 

member or members thereof shall notify the Board in writing 

within 30 days concerning such dissolution and of the succeeding 

business status and addresses of the individuals or firm. 

(c)  A licensee shall maintain a continuous surety bond coverage 

or an irrevocable letter of credit while the license is active. Within 

5 days after the lapse of a surety bond or revocation of a letter of 

credit prescribed in G.S. 89D-16(a)(4), a licensee shall notify the 

Board in writing. If a licensee fails to renew the surety bond or 

obtain a new letter of credit within 30 days after the lapse or 

revocation, the license shall be revoked. 

(d)  Failure to notify the Board of the changes described in this 

Rule shall constitute a violation of G.S. 89D-22(a)(6). 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2), 89D-15(11); 89D-

16(a)(4); 89D-17(h); 89D-22(a)(8); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0402 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

UNITS 

(a)  A licensee shall complete in-person seven continuing 

education units (CEUs) during the year preceding renewal. At 

least three of the seven CEUs must be technical credits and at least 

two of the seven CEUs must be business credits. If the information 

provided to the Board as required by this Section is unclear, the 

Board may request additional information from a licensee in order 

to assure compliance with continuing education requirements. 

(b)  For the purposes of this Rule: 

(1) "technical credits" are defined as credits 

relating to the subject matter of landscape 

contracting as described in G.S. 89D-11(3) and 

Rules .0502 through .0511 in this Subchapter. 

The rules shall be grouped as follows: 

(A) Group A: topics covered in Rules 

.0502, .0503, .0510, and .0511 in this 

Subchapter; 

(B) Group B: topics covered in Rules 

.0504 and .0506 in this Subchapter; 

(C) Group C: topics covered in Rules 

.0507 through .0509 in this 

Subchapter; 

(D) Group D: topics covered in Rule 

.0505; and 

(2) "business credits" are defined as credits relating 

to general business practices, including 

business planning, contracts, liability exposure, 

human resources, basic accounting, financial 

statements, and safety. 

(c)  Beginning with renewals filed after August 1, 2022, a licensee 

shall obtain one technical credit in at least two groups described 

in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule in each licensing year. A 

licensee shall obtain at least one technical credit in each of the 

distinct groups described in Subparagraph (b)(1) of this Rule 

during a consecutive three-year period. 

(d)  CEUs shall be determined as follows: 

 

Type of Qualifying 

Activity 

Minimum time 

required for 1 CEU 

Live course 50 minutes 

Online course 50 minutes 

Trade Shows, Field Days, 

and Tours 

4 hours 

Green Industry Board 

Member Service 

5 hours maximum 

(3 technical and 2 

business) 

Teaching or instructing 1 hour 

In-house or Green 

Industry training 

1 hour 

NC Landscape 

Contractors Licensing 

Board Service 

5 hours maximum 

(3 technical and 2 

business) 

 

(e)  No more than two CEU credits shall be given for qualifying 

teaching or instructing in one year. 

(f)  Credit shall not be given in increments of less than .5 CEUs. 

Breaks in courses shall not be counted towards CEU credit. 

(g)  Requests for pre-approval as set forth in Rule .0405 of this 

Subchapter shall be submitted at least 45 days prior to the first day 

of the course or event. 

(h)  All continuing education shall be taken in-person by the 

individual receiving credit. 

(i)  A licensee shall not take the same CEU course within two 

consecutive licensing years. 

(j)  A licensee licensed less than 12 months shall not be subject to 

continuing education requirements for the initial renewal date as 

set forth in this Rule. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0403 CONTINUING EDUCATION 

RECORDS; AUDIT 

(a)  A licensee shall maintain records of attendance at continuing 

education programs for which CEUs have been approved for three 

years following the processing date of the renewal application to 

which the CEUs were applied. 

(b)  Compliance with annual CEU requirements shall be 

determined through a random audit process conducted by the 

Board. Licensees selected for auditing shall provide the Board 

with the following documentation of the CEU activities claimed 

for the renewal period: 

(1) attendance verification records; and 

(2) information regarding course content, 

instructors, and sponsoring organization. 

(c)  Licensees selected for audit shall submit all requested 

information to the Board within 21 calendar days after the date 

the licensee was notified by the Board of the audit. 

(d)  Failure to maintain compliance with the Board's continuing 

education requirements set forth in Rule .0402 of this Section 
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shall result in the licensee's status being administratively 

suspended. 

 

History Note Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(4); 89D-

15(12); 89D-20(b); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; June 1, 2019. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0503 TURF 

(a)  When establishing natural turf, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Notify the owner or the construction manager 

whether there is adequate time to establish the 

specified turf from seed within the construction 

schedule and prior to finish of the job; 

(2) Prior to lawn installation, loosen soil to a 

minimum depth of three inches; 

(3) Confirm that all lawn seed meets the standards 

of the NC Seed Law of 1963, as set forth in G.S. 

106, Art. 31; 

(4) Evenly distribute seed; 

(5) Apply seed at manufacturer's recommended 

rates; 

(6) Roll or rake after seeding to ensure good soil 

contact; 

(7) Install sod within 36 hours of harvesting unless 

weather conditions or turf types dictate a 

shorter timeframe; 

(8) Lay sod strips in a staggered pattern, horizontal 

to slopes and with tight seams; 

(9) Roll sod after installation to provide good soil 

contact; 

(10) Distribute sprigs evenly; 

(11) Ensure that sprigs and sod plugs are in good 

contact with the soil; 

(12) Water lawn areas after installation and in 

accordance with the needs of the lawn; and 

(13) Notify client of his or her responsibility to water 

turf following installation. 

(b)  When installing artificial turf, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Ensure that the sub-grade is compacted and 

shall pitch properly to drain; 

(2) Establish a perimeter attachment system to 

secure the artificial turf; 

(3) Roll out the turf with the nap facing a consistent 

direction; 

(4) Secure the turf with an evenly weighted sand 

layer distributed over the entire surface; and 

(5) Follow all manufacturer's specifications for the 

type of turf being installed. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 28B .0508 WALLS 

(a)  When installing retaining walls, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Adhere to all pertinent codes; 

(2) Adhere to all NC Department of Insurance 

requirements regarding the construction of 

retaining walls which are hereby incorporated 

by reference and can be found at 

www.ncosfm.gov/codes free of charge; 

(3) Adhere to manufacturer's or design 

professionals specifications; 

(4) Bury the first course of a retaining wall; 

(5) Not construct dry-laid stone walls of a height 

more than 3 feet above grade; 

(6) Include a subdrain system that is constructed 

and sized to release the subsurface water behind 

the wall and not allow hydrostatic pressure to 

build behind the wall; 

(7) Construct on a level, well-compacted base of 

granular material at least 6 inches deep; 

(8) Place backfill behind retaining walls in lifts no 

greater than 6 inches before compacted (each 

lift shall be well-compacted); 

(9) Prevent excessive runoff from passing over a 

retaining wall; 

(10) Construct vertically-set timber walls with 

above-ground heights equal to or less than the 

depth of timbers below grade; 

(11) Install deadmen every fourth course on 8 feet 

centers when constructing horizontally-set 

timber retaining walls with staggered joints; 

(12) Stagger the joints when constructing dry-laid 

stone walls. If successive vertical joints occur, 

the licensed contractor shall avoid running 

vertical joints more than two courses; and 

(13) Assure that segmental walls meet the 

manufacturer's specifications. 

(b)  When installing retaining walls of dry-laid stone or concrete 

rubble, the licensed contractor shall: 

(1) Construct the wall no higher than 3 feet above 

grade; and 

(2) Stagger the joints when constructing a dry-laid 

stone wall. 

(c)  When installing freestanding walls, the licensed contractor 

shall: 

(1) Install footings for masonry and cast-in-place 

concrete freestanding walls of reinforced 

concrete. The top of the footing shall be at least 

1 foot below grade. 

(2) Reinforce freestanding walls as needed to 

prevent displacement from wind loads. 

(3) Ensure that moisture is prevented from entering 

a cavity wall during construction. 

(4) Ensure that segmental wall construction meets 

segmental wall manufacturer's specifications. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 89D-15(2); 89D-15(16); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. January 1, 2016; 

Eff. September 1, 2016; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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CHAPTER 58 - REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0105 ADVERTISING 

(a)  Authority to Advertise. 

(1) A broker shall not advertise any brokerage 

service or the sale, purchase, exchange, rent, or 

lease of real estate for another or others without 

the consent of his or her broker-in-charge and 

without including in the advertisement the 

name of the firm or sole proprietorship with 

which the broker is affiliated. 

(2) A broker shall not display a "for sale" or "for 

rent" sign on any real estate or otherwise 

advertise any real estate without the written 

consent of the owner or the owner's authorized 

agent. 

(b)  Blind Ads. A broker shall not advertise the sale, purchase, 

exchange, rent, or lease of real estate for others in a manner 

indicating the offer to sell, purchase, exchange, rent, or lease is 

being made by the broker's principal only. Every such 

advertisement shall indicate that it is the advertisement of a broker 

or firm and shall not be confined to publication of only contact 

information, such as a post office box number, telephone number, 

street address, internet web address, or e-mail address. 

(c)  A person licensed as a limited nonresident commercial broker 

shall comply with the provisions of Rule .1809 of this Subchapter 

in connection with all advertising concerning or relating to his or 

her status as a North Carolina broker. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2(a1); 93A-3(c);  

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2015; April 1, 2013; July 1, 2009; January 

1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; October 1, 2000; August 1, 

1998; April 1, 1997; July 1, 1989; February 1, 1989; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0110 BROKER-IN-CHARGE 

(a)  Every real estate firm shall designate one BIC for its principal 

office and one BIC for each of its branch offices. No office of a 

firm shall have more than one designated BIC. A BIC shall not 

serve as BIC for more than one office unless each of those offices 

share the same physical office space and delivery address. 

(b)  Every sole proprietorship shall designate a BIC if the sole 

proprietorship: 

(1) engages in any transaction where a broker is 

required to deposit and maintain monies 

belonging to others in a trust account; 

(2) engages in advertising or promoting services as 

a broker in any manner; or 

(3) has one or more other brokers affiliated with the 

sole proprietorship in the real estate business. 

(c)  A licensed real estate firm shall not be required to have a BIC 

if it: 

(1) is organized for the sole purpose of receiving 

compensation for brokerage services furnished 

by its qualifying broker through another firm or 

broker; 

(2) is treated for tax purposes as a pass-through 

business by the United States Internal Revenue 

Service; 

(3) has no principal or branch office; and 

(4) has no licensed person associated with it other 

than its qualifying broker. 

(d)  A broker who maintains a trust or escrow account for the sole 

purpose of holding residential tenant security deposits received by 

the broker on properties owned by the broker in compliance with 

G.S. 42-50 shall not be required to be a BIC. 

(e)  In order for a broker to designate as a BIC for a sole proprietor, 

real estate firm, or branch office, a broker shall apply for BIC 

Eligible status by submitting an application on a form available 

on the Commission's website. The BIC Eligible status form shall 

include the broker's: 

(1) name; 

(2) license number; 

(3) telephone number; 

(4) email address; 

(5) criminal history and history of occupational 

license disciplinary actions; 

(6) certification of compliance with G.S. 93A-4.2, 

including that: 

(A) his or her broker license is on active 

status; 

(B) the broker has obtained at least two 

years of real estate brokerage 

experience equivalent to 40 hours per 

week within the previous five years or 

shall be a North Carolina licensed 

attorney with a practice that consisted 

primarily of handling real estate 

closings and related matters in North 

Carolina for three years immediately 

preceding application; and 

(C) the broker completed the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course no earlier 

than one year prior to application and 

no later than 120 days after 

application; and 

(7) signature. 

(f)  A broker who holds BIC Eligible status shall submit a form to 

become the designated BIC for a sole proprietor, real estate firm, 

or branch office. The BIC designation form shall include: 

(1) the broker's: 

(A) name; 

(B) license number; 

(C) telephone number; 

(D) email address; and 

(E) criminal history and history of 

occupational license disciplinary 

actions; and 

(2) the firm's: 

(A) name; and 

(B) license number, if applicable; 

(g)  A designated BIC shall: 
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(1) assure that each broker affiliated at the office 

has complied with Rules .0503, .0504, and 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(2) notify the Commission of any change of firm's 

business address or trade name and the 

registration of any assumed business name 

adopted by the firm for its use; 

(3) be responsible for the conduct of advertising by 

or in the name of the firm at such office; 

(4) maintain the trust or escrow account of the firm 

and the records pertaining thereto; 

(5) retain and maintain records relating to 

transactions conducted by or on behalf of the 

firm, including those required to be retained 

pursuant to Rule .0108 of this Section; 

(6) supervise provisional brokers associated with 

or engaged on behalf of the firm at such office 

in accordance with the requirements of Rule 

.0506 of this Subchapter; 

(7) supervise all brokers affiliated at the office with 

respect to adherence to agency agreement and 

disclosure requirements; 

(8) notify the Commission in writing that he or she 

is no longer serving as BIC of a particular office 

within 10 days following any such change;  

(9) complete the Commission's Basic Trust 

Account Procedures Course within 120 days of 

assuming responsibility for a trust account in 

accordance with G.S. 93A-6(g), however the 

BIC shall not be required to complete the course 

more than once in three years; and 

(10) supervise all unlicensed individuals employed 

at the office and ensure that unlicensed 

individuals comply with G.S. 93A-2(c)(6). 

(h)  A broker holding BIC Eligible status shall take the Broker-in-

Charge Update Course during the license year of designation, 

unless the broker has satisfied the requirements of Rule .1702 of 

this Subchapter prior to designation. 

(i)  A broker's BIC Eligible status shall terminate if the broker: 

(1) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(2) fails to complete the 12-hour Broker-in-Charge 

Course pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule; 

(3) fails to renew his or her broker license pursuant 

to Rule .0503 of this Subchapter, or the broker's 

license has been suspended, revoked, or 

surrendered; or 

(4) fails to complete the Broker-in-Charge Update 

Course and a four credit hour elective course 

pursuant to Rules .1702 and .1711 of this 

Subchapter, if applicable. 

(j)  In order to regain BIC Eligible status after a broker's BIC 

Eligible status terminates, the broker shall complete the 12-hour 

Broker-in-Charge Course prior to application and then submit a 

BIC Eligible status form pursuant to Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(k)  A nonresident commercial real estate broker licensed under 

the provisions of Section .1800 of this Subchapter shall not act as 

or serve in the capacity of a broker-in-charge of a firm or office in 

North Carolina. 

(l)  A broker shall not be granted BIC Eligible status or designated 

as BIC of a firm if there is a pending Commission investigation 

against the broker. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-2; 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-

4.2; 93A-9; 93A-38.5; 

Eff. September 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; May 1, 2013; July 1, 2010; July 1, 

2009; January 1, 2008; April 1, 2006; July 1, 2005; July 1, 2004; 

April 1, 2004; September 1, 2002; July 1, 2001; October 1, 2000; 

August 1, 1998; April 1, 1997; July 1, 1995; July 1, 1994; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2020; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0114 RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND 

OWNERS' ASSOCIATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

(a)  Every owner of real property subject to a transfer of the type 

governed by Chapter 47E of the General Statutes shall complete 

the following Residential Property and Owners' Association 

Disclosure Statement and furnish a copy of the complete 

statement to a buyer in accordance with the requirements of G.S. 

47E-4. The form shall bear the seal of the North Carolina Real 

Estate Commission and shall read as follows: 

 

[N.C. REAL ESTATE COMMISSION SEAL] 

 

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA 

RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY AND OWNERS' Association DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

 

Instructions to Property Owners 

 

1. The Residential Property Disclosure Act (G.S. 47E)("Disclosure Act") requires owners of residential real estate (single-family 

homes, individual condominiums, townhouses, and the like, and buildings with up to four dwelling units) to furnish buyers a 

Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement ("Disclosure Statement"). This form is the only one 

approved for this purpose. A disclosure statement must be furnished in connection with the sale, exchange, option, and sale 

under a lease with option to purchase where the tenant does not occupy or intend to occupy the dwelling. A disclosure statement 

is not required for some transactions, including the first sale of a dwelling which has never been inhabited and transactions of 

residential property made pursuant to a lease with option to purchase where the lessee occupies or intends to occupy the 

dwelling. For a complete list of exemptions, see G.S. 47E-2. 
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2. You must respond to each of the questions on the following pages of this form by filling in the requested information or by 

placing a check (√) in the appropriate box. In responding to questions, you are only obligated to disclose information about 

which you have actual knowledge. 

 

a. If you check "Yes" for any question, you must explain your answer and either describe any problem or attach a report from an 

attorney, engineer, contractor, pest control operator or other expert or public agency describing it. If you attach a report, you 

will not be liable for any inaccurate or incomplete information contained in it so long as you were not grossly negligent in 

obtaining or transmitting the information. 

 

b. If you check "No," you are stating that you have no actual knowledge of any problem. If you check "No" and you know there 

is a problem, you may be liable for making an intentional misstatement. 

 

c. If you check "No Representation," you are choosing not to disclose the conditions or characteristics of the property, even if 

you have actual knowledge of them or should have known of them. 

 

d. If you check "Yes" or "No" and something happens to the property to make your Disclosure Statement incorrect or inaccurate 

(for example, the roof begins to leak), you must promptly give the buyer a corrected Disclosure Statement or correct the 

problem. 

 

3. If you are assisted in the sale of your property by a licensed real estate broker, you are still responsible for completing and 

delivering the Disclosure Statement to the buyers; and the broker must disclose any material facts about your property which 

he or she knows or reasonably should know, regardless of your responses on the Statement. 

 

4. You must give the completed Disclosure Statement to the buyer no later than the time the buyer makes an offer to purchase 

your property. If you do not, the buyer can, under certain conditions, cancel any resulting contract (See "Note to Buyers" 

below). You should give the buyer a copy of the Disclosure Statement containing your signature and keep a copy signed by the 

buyer for your records. 

 

Note to Buyers 

 

If the owner does not give you a Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement by the 

time you make your offer to purchase the property, you may under certain conditions cancel any resulting 

contract without penalty to you as the buyer. To cancel the contract, you must personally deliver or mail 

written notice of your decision to cancel to the owner or the owner's agent within three calendar days following 

your receipt of the Disclosure Statement, or three calendar days following the date of the contract, whichever 

occurs first. However, in no event does the Disclosure Act permit you to cancel a contract after settlement of 

the transaction or (in the case of a sale or exchange) after you have occupied the property, whichever occurs 

first. 

 

5. In the space below, type or print in ink the address of the property (sufficient to identify it) and your name. Then sign and date. 

 

Property Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

Owner's Name(s): __________________________________________________________________ 

Owner(s) acknowledge(s) having examined this Disclosure Statement before signing and that all information 

is true and correct as of the date signed. 

 

Owner Signature:__________________________________________________ Date _________, __ 

Owner Signature:__________________________________________________ Date _________, __ 

Buyers acknowledge receipt of a copy of this Disclosure Statement; that they have examined it before signing; 

that they understand that this is not a warranty by owners or owners' agents; that it is not a substitute for any 

inspections they may wish to obtain; and that the representations are made by the owners and not the owners' 

agents or subagents. Buyers are strongly encouraged to obtain their own inspections from a licensed home 

inspector or other professional. As used herein, words in the plural include the singular, as appropriate. 

 

Buyer Signature:________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 

Buyer Signature:________________________________________________ Date ________, ____ 

 

Property Address/Description:_____________________________________________________________ 
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______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

The following questions address the characteristics and condition of the property identified above about which the owner has 

actual knowledge. Where the question refers to "dwelling," it is intended to refer to the dwelling unit, or units if more than one, 

to be conveyed with the property. The term "dwelling unit" refers to any structure intended for human habitation. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

1. In what year was the dwelling constructed? ________________ 

Explain if necessary: __________________________________________________ 

  

 

  

 

 □ 

       

2. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's foundation, slab, 

fireplaces/chimneys, floors, windows (including storm windows and screens), doors, 

ceilings, interior and exterior walls, attached garage, patio, deck or other structural 

components including any modifications to them? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

3. The dwelling's exterior walls are made of what type of material? □ Brick Veneer □ Wood □ 

Stone □ Vinyl □ Synthetic Stucco □ Composition/Hardboard □ Concrete □ Fiber Cement □ 

Aluminum □ Asbestos □ Other __________________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

     □ 

       

4. In what year was the dwelling's roof covering installed? _______________ 

(Approximate if no records are available.)  Explain if necessary: 

___________________________________________________________________ 

     □ 

       

5. Is there any leakage or other problem with the dwelling's roof?  □  □  □ 

       

6. Is there any water seepage, leakage, dampness or standing water in the dwelling's basement, 

crawl space, or slab? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

7. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's electrical system (outlets, 

wiring, panel, switches, fixtures, generator, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

8. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's plumbing system (pipes, 

fixtures, water heater, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

9. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's heating and/or air 

conditioning? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

10. What is the dwelling's heat source? □ Furnace □ Heat Pump □ Baseboard 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

Age of system: ________________ 

     □ 

       

11. What is the dwelling's cooling source? □ Central Forced Air □ Wall/Window Unit(s) 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

Age of system: ________________ 

     □ 

       

12. What is the dwelling's fuel sources? □ Electricity □ Natural Gas □ Propane □ Oil 

□ Other________________________ (Check all that apply) 

If the fuel source is stored in a tank, identify whether the tank is □ above ground or □ below 

ground, and whether the tank is □ leased by seller or □ owned by seller. 

(Check all that apply)   

     □ 

       

13. What is the dwelling's water supply source? □ City/County □ Community System 

□ Private Well □ Shared Well □ Other_______________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

 

     □ 

14. The dwelling's water pipes are made of what type of material? □ Copper □ Galvanized 

□ Plastic □ Polybutylene □ Other________________________ 

     □ 
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(Check all that apply) 

 

15. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's water supply (including 

water quality, quantity or water pressure)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

16. What is the dwelling's sewage disposal system? □ Septic Tank □ Septic Tank with Pump 

□ Community System □ Connected to City/County System □ City/County System available 

□ Straight pipe (wastewater does not go into a septic or other sewer system [note: use of this 

type of system violates State law]) 

□ Other_________________________ 

(Check all that apply)   

     □ 

       

17. If the dwelling is serviced by a septic system, do you know how many bedrooms are allowed 

by the septic system permit? If your answer is "Yes," how many bedrooms are allowed? 

____________ □ No records available. 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

18. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's sewer and/or septic system?  □  □  □ 

       

19. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the dwelling's central vacuum, pool, hot 

tub, spa, attic fan, exhaust fan, ceiling fans, sump pump, irrigation system, TV cable wiring 

or satellite dish, garage door openers, gas logs, or other systems? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

20. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with any appliances that may be included in the 

conveyance (range/oven, attached microwave, hood/fan, dishwasher, disposal, etc.)? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

21. Is there any problem with present infestation of the dwelling, or damage from past 

infestation of wood destroying insects or organisms which has not been repaired? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

22. Is there any problem, malfunction or defect with the drainage, grading or soil stability of the 

property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

23. Are there any structural additions or other structural or mechanical changes to the 

dwelling(s) to be conveyed with the property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

24. Is the property to be conveyed in violation of any local zoning ordinances, restrictive 

covenants, or other land-use restrictions, or building codes (including the failure to obtain 

proper permits for room additions or other changes/improvements)? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

25. Are there any hazardous or toxic substances, materials, or products (such as asbestos, 

formaldehyde, radon gas, methane gas, lead-based paint) which exceed government safety 

standards, any debris (whether buried or covered) or underground storage tanks, or any 

environmentally hazardous conditions (such as contaminated soil or water, or other 

environmental contamination) located on or which otherwise affect the property? 

 □  

 

 

□  

 

     

□ 

       

26. Is there any noise, odor, smoke, etc. from commercial, industrial or military sources which 

affects the property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

   

 

  

 

  

 

27. Is the property subject to any utility or other easements, shared driveways, party walls or 

encroachments from or on adjacent property? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

28. Is the property subject to any lawsuits, foreclosures, bankruptcy, leases or rental agreements, 

judgments, tax liens, proposed assessments, mechanics' liens, materialmens' liens, or notices 

from any governmental agency that could affect title to the property? 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

29. Is the property subject to a flood hazard or is the property located in a federally-designated 

flood hazard area? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

30. Does the property abut or adjoin any private road(s) or street(s)?  □  □  □ 
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31. If there is a private road or street adjoining the property, is there in existence any owners' 

association or maintenance agreements dealing with the maintenance of the road or street? 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

If you answered "yes" to any of the questions listed above (1-31) please explain (attach additional sheets if necessary): 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

In lieu of providing a written explanation, you may attach a written report to this Disclosure Statement by a public agency, or by an 

attorney, engineer, land surveyor, geologist, pest control operator, contractor, home inspector, or other expert, dealing with matters 

within the scope of that public agency's functions or the expert's license or expertise. 

 

The following questions pertain to the property identified above, including the lot to be conveyed and any dwelling unit(s), sheds, 

detached garages, or other buildings located thereon. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

32.  Is the property subject to governing documents which impose various mandatory 

covenants, conditions, and restrictions upon the lot or unit? 

If you answered "yes" to the question above, please explain (attach additional sheets if 

necessary): 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

33. Is the property subject to regulation by one or more owners' association(s) including, but 

not limited to, obligations to pay regular assessments or dues and special assessments? If 

your answer is "yes," please provide the information requested below as to each owners' 

association to which the property is subject [insert N/A into any blank that does not apply]: 

(specify name) ___________________________________________ whose regular 

assessments ("dues") are $ ________________ per ____________. The name, address and 

telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association manager 

are __________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

(specify name) ___________________________________________ whose regular 

assessments ("dues") are $ ________________ per ____________. The name, address and 

telephone number of the president of the owners' association or the association manager 

are __________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

 □ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

□ 

       

* If you answered "Yes" to question 33 above, you must complete the remainder of this Disclosure Statement. If you answered 

"No" or "No Representation" to question 33 above, you do not need to answer the remaining questions on this Disclosure 

Statement. Skip to the bottom of the last page and initial and date the page. 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

34. Are any fees charged by the association or by the association's management company in 

connection with the conveyance or transfer of the lot or property to a new owner? If your 

answer is "yes," please state the amount of the fees: 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

35. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any dues, fees or special 

assessment which have been duly approved as required by the applicable declaration or 

by-laws, and that are payable to an association to which the lot is subject? If your answer 

is "yes," please state the nature and amount of the dues, fees or special assessments to 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 
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which the property is subject: 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

       

36. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments 

against or pending lawsuits involving the property or lot to be conveyed? If your answer 

is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and the amount of each unsatisfied 

judgment: _____________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

  

□ 

       

37. As of the date this Disclosure Statement is signed, are there any unsatisfied judgments 

against or pending lawsuits involving the planned community or the association to which 

the property and lot are subject, with the exception of any action filed by the association 

for the collection of delinquent assessments on lots other than the property and lot to be 

conveyed? If your answer is "yes," please state the nature of each pending lawsuit and the 

amount of each unsatisfied judgment:  

_______________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

  

 

□ 

       

 

38. Which of the following services and amenities are paid for by the owners' association(s) identified above out of the association's 

regular assessments ("dues")? (Check all that apply.) 

 
No Repre- 

           Yes    No    sentation 

Management Fees  □  □  □ 

Exterior Building Maintenance of Property to be Conveyed 

Master Insurance 

      

Exterior Yard/Landscaping Maintenance of Lot to be Conveyed  □  □  □ 

Common Areas Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Trash Removal  □  □  □ 

Recreational Amenity Maintenance (specify amenities covered) __________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 □  □  □ 

Pest Treatment/Extermination  □  □  □ 

Street Lights  □  □  □ 

Water  □  □  □ 

Sewer  □  □  □ 

Storm Water Management/Drainage/Ponds  □  □  □ 

Internet Service  □  □  □ 

Cable  □  □  □ 

Private Road Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Parking Area Maintenance  □  □  □ 

Gate and/or Security  □  □  □ 

Other: (specify) 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 □  □  □ 

       

 

Buyer Initials and Date ________________________ Owner Initials and Date _____________________ 

Buyer Initials and Date ______________________ Owner Initials and Date _____________________ 

 

(b)  The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule may be 

reproduced, but the text of the form shall not be altered or 

amended in any way. 

(c)  The form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as amended 

effective July 1, 2021, applies to all properties placed on the 

market on or after July 1, 2021. The form described in Paragraph 

(a) of this Rule as amended effective July 1, 2018, applies to all 

properties placed on the market prior to July 1, 2021. If a corrected 

disclosure statement required by G.S. 47E-7 is prepared on or 

after July 1, 2021, for a property placed on the market prior to July 
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1, 2021, the form described in Paragraph (a) of this Rule as 

amended effective July 1, 2021, shall be used. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 47E-4(b); 47E-4(b1); 93A-3(c); 

93A-6; 

Eff. October 1, 1998; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2014; January 1, 2013; January 1, 2012; 

July 1, 2010; July 1, 2009; January 1, 2008; July 1, 2006; 

September 1, 2002; July 1, 2000; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0120 PROHIBITED ACTS 

(a)  A broker shall not require or demand of any escrow agent or 

attorney that a broker's commission be split with or paid to another 

person or entity. 

(b)  An affiliated broker shall not be paid a commission or referral 

fee directly by anyone other than their current BIC or the person 

who served as their BIC at the time of the transaction. 

(c)  A broker shall not coerce, extort, collude, instruct, induce, 

bribe, or intimidate a service provider in a real estate transaction 

in order to influence or attempt to influence their findings, report, 

or decision. Service providers include, but are not limited to, 

appraisers, attorneys, inspectors, financial lenders, and 

contractors. 

(d)  A broker shall not conduct brokerage activities or otherwise 

promote their status as a real estate broker in any manner that 

discriminates on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, 

sex, familial status, or disability. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-6; 

Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 58A .0503 LICENSE RENEWAL 

(a)  All real estate licenses issued by the Commission under G.S. 

93A, Article 1 shall expire on June 30 following issuance. Any 

broker desiring renewal of his or her license shall renew on the 

Commission's website within 45 days prior to license expiration 

and shall submit a renewal fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00). 

(b)  During the renewal process, every individual broker shall 

provide an email address to be used by the Commission. The 

email address may be designated by the broker as private in order 

to be exempt from public records disclosures pursuant to G.S. 

93A-4(b2).  

(c)  During the renewal process, every designated broker-in-

charge shall disclose: 

(1) each federally insured depository institution 

lawfully doing business in this State where the 

trust account(s) for the broker-in-charge or the 

entity for which the broker-in-charge is 

designated is held, if applicable; and 

(2) any criminal conviction or occupational license 

disciplinary action that occurred within the 

previous year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-3(c); 93A-4; 93A-6; 93A-

38.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. September 30, 1977; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 1994; February 1, 1991; February 1, 1989; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. April 24, 1995 for a period of 180 

days or until the permanent rule becomes effective, whichever is 

sooner; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2017; July 1, 2014; April 1, 2013; April 1, 

2006; January 1, 2006; July 1, 2004; December 4, 2002; April 1, 

1997; July 1, 1996; August 1, 1995; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. May 1, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2018. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0210 DENIAL, WITHDRAWAL, OR 

TERMINATION OF EDUCATION PROVIDER 

CERTIFICATION 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw certification of an 

education provider or suspend, revoke, or deny renewal of the 

certification of an education provider upon finding that an 

education provider: 

(1) was found by a court or government agency of 

competent jurisdiction to have violated any 

state or federal law; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application; 

(3) failed to provide or provided false, incomplete, 

or incorrect information in connection with any 

report the education provider is required to 

submit to the Commission; 

(4) presented to its students or prospective students 

false or misleading information relating to its 

instructional program, to the instructional 

programs of other institutions, or related to 

employment opportunities; 

(5) collected money from students but refused or 

failed to provide the promised instruction; 

(6) failed to submit the per student fee as required 

by G.S. 93A-4(a2) or 93A-38.5(e). 

(7) refused at any time to permit authorized 

representatives of the Commission to inspect 

the education provider's facilities or audit its 

courses; 

(8) or education director violated the rules of this 

Subchapter or was disciplined by the 

Commission under G.S. 93A-6; 

(9) obtained or used, or attempted to obtain or use, 

in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(10) failed to provide to the Commission a written 

plan describing the changes the education 

provider made or intends to make in its 

instructional program including instructors, 

course materials, methods of student 

evaluation, and completion standards to 

improve the performance of the education 

provider's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 
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(11) provided the Commission a fee that was 

dishonored by a bank or returned for 

insufficient funds; 

(12) Certificate of Authority was revoked, subject to 

a revenue suspension, or subject to 

administrative dissolution by the NC Secretary 

of State; 

(13) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Section; 

(14) failed to submit reports pursuant to Rule .0207 

of this Section; 

(15) provided false, incomplete, or misleading 

information relating to real estate licensing, 

education matters, or the broker's education 

needs or license status;  

(16) discriminated in its admissions policy or 

practice against any person on the basis of age, 

sex, race, color, national origin, familial status, 

handicap status, or religion; or 

(17) refused or failed to comply with the provisions 

of this Subchapter. 

(b)  A broker shall be subject to discipline pursuant to G.S. 93A-

6 if the broker engages in dishonest, fraudulent, or improper 

conduct in connection with the operations of an education 

provider if that broker: 

(1) has an ownership interest in the education 

provider; 

(2) is the education director; or 

(3) is an instructor for an education provider. 

(c)  The Commission shall withdraw an education provider's 

certification when its annual License Examination Performance 

Record fails to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two 

license years. Following withdrawal, the education provider shall 

be ineligible to apply for certification for a period of one year. 

(d)  When ownership of a certified education provider is 

transferred and the education provider ceases to operate as the 

certified entity, the certification is not transferable and shall 

terminate on the effective date of the transfer. All courses shall be 

completed by the effective date of the transfer. The transferring 

owner shall report course completion(s) to the Commission. The 

new entity shall obtain an original certification for each location 

where the education provider will conduct courses as required by 

G.S. 93A-34 and Rule .0202 of this Section prior to advertising 

courses, registering students, accepting tuition, conducting 

courses, or otherwise engaging in any education provider 

operations. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4(d); 93A-34(c); 93A-

35(c); 93A-38; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 

 

21 NCAC 58H .0303 DENIAL OR WITHDRAWAL OF 

INSTRUCTOR APPROVAL 

(a)  The Commission may deny or withdraw approval of any 

instructor applicant or approved instructor upon finding that the 

instructor or instructor applicant: 

(1) has failed to meet the criteria for approval 

described in Rule .0302 of this Section or the 

criteria for renewal of approval described in 

Rule .0306 of this Section at the time of 

application or at any time during an approval 

period; 

(2) made any false statements or presented any 

false, incomplete, or incorrect information in 

connection with an application for approval or 

renewal of approval or any report that is 

required to be submitted to the Commission; 

(3) has failed to submit to the Commission any 

report, course examination, or video recording 

required by these Rules; 

(4) has failed to demonstrate the ability to teach a 

Prelicensing, Postlicensing, or Update couse in 

a manner consistent with the course materials; 

(5) taught a Prelicensing course and failed to 

provide to the Commission a written plan 

describing the changes the instructor has made 

or intends to make in his or her instructional 

program to improve the performance of the 

instructor's students on the license examination 

within 30 days of the Commission's request 

during an investigation or application process; 

(6) has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 

pleaded no contest to, a misdemeanor or felony 

violation of state or federal law by a court of 

competent jurisdiction; 

(7) has been found by a court or government 

agency of competent jurisdiction to have 

violated any state or federal regulation 

prohibiting discrimination; 

(8) has obtained, used, or attempted to obtain or 

use, in any manner or form, North Carolina real 

estate license examination questions; 

(9) has failed to take steps to protect the security of 

end-of-course examinations; 

(10) failed to take any corrective action set out in the 

plan described in Subparagraph (a)(5) of this 

Rule or as otherwise requested by the 

Commission; 

(11) engaged in any other improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct; 

(12) failed to utilize course materials pursuant to 

Rule .0205 of this Subchapter; 

(13) has taught or conducted a course in any manner 

that discriminated against any person on the 

basis of age, sex, race, color, national origin, 

familial status, handicap status, or religion; or 

(14) failed to comply with any other provisions of 

this Subchapter. 

(b)  The Commission shall withdraw an instructor's approval 

when their annual License Examination Performance Record fails 

to exceed 40 percent in each of the previous two license years. 

Following withdrawal, the instructor shall be ineligible to apply 

for approval for a period of one year. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 93A-4; 93A-33; 93A-34; 

Eff. July 1, 2017; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021; July 1, 2020. 
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* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

 

CHAPTER 62 – BOARD OF ENVIRONMENTAL 

HEALTH SPECIALIST EXAMINERS 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0407 RENEWAL 

(a)  Applications for renewal shall be filed with the Board on a 

form provided by the Board and available from the Board website 

at: www.rsboard.com or from the Division of Public Health, 1931 

Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699- 1931. The renewal 

application shall be available by October 1 of each year. The 

renewal form may also be generated by the Registered Sanitarian 

Training and Authorization (RSTAS) computer system at: 

https://rstas.dhhs.state.nc.us/. The renewal application shall 

include the following information: 

(1) registrant's name, REHS/REHSI number, home 

address, telephone, email; 

(2) registrant's employer name, address, telephone, 

email, position title; 

(3) continuing education completed by registrant in 

current year by course number, date, contact 

hours attended; and 

(4) information regarding their completion of NC 

Public Health Law in accordance with 

Paragraph (e) of this Rule. 

(b)  The renewal application shall be completed and signed by the 

applicant. 

(c)  Renewal fees shall be paid in accordance with Rule 

.0405(a)(5) of this Section.  

(d)  Registered environmental health specialists or registered 

environmental health specialists interns who fail to renew by 

December 31 shall be notified by the Board that their registration 

has expired and that they shall not practice as a registered 

environmental health specialist or a registered environmental 

health specialists intern until they have met the requirements for 

renewal. 

(e)  Environmental health specialist interns and other persons 

applying for new registrations with the board shall take an 

environmental health law course based on North Carolina laws 

and rules with at least 15 contact hours approved by the Board. 

This course shall be completed within the first four years of the 

date of most recent registration by the Board. This timeframe shall 

be extended by one additional year for anyone whose fourth year 

occurs in 2020. 

(f)  Registered environmental health specialists and registered 

environmental health specialists interns shall complete a 

minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing education acceptable 

to the Board each year, except the 15 hours shall not be required 

for the year ending December 31, 2020. Continuing education 

acceptable to the Board includes: 

(1) the specialized training course required in Rule 

.0411 of this Section; 

(2) District Environmental Health Section 

Educational meetings; 

(3) professional association courses and 

educational meetings; 

(4) seminars or courses offered by the North 

Carolina State of Practice Committee; 

(5) completion of a job-related course offered by a 

college or university accredited by the Council 

of Higher Education Accreditation with the 

hours credited for the year that the course is 

completed; 

(6) completion of a job-related course offered by 

the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 

the Food and Drug Administration, or the 

Environmental Protection Agency; 

(7) other practice-related training that: 

(A) is technical in nature, related to the 

environment, environmental health or 

improving the practice of 

environmental health; 

(B) is relevant to the actual job being 

performed by the participants or 

applicant; 

(C) includes a method for determining the 

number of hours spent; 

(D) includes a method of documentation 

for verification of completion; 

(E) is available to all registered 

environmental health specialists and 

environmental health specialist 

interns; and 

(F) has been granted approval by the 

Board based upon this Subparagraph. 

(g)  Registrations that have expired may be renewed within 12 

months after expiration upon submittal of application and 

payment of the renewal fee. The applicant shall provide 

verification to the Board that continuing education contact hours 

were obtained during the year since the expiration to comply with 

the requirements of this Section. Registrations that have expired 

for more than 12 months may not be renewed. 

(h)  Interns that are no longer employed in the field of 

environmental health in North Carolina shall not be eligible to 

renew. 

(i)  A registered environmental health specialist or a registered 

environmental health specialist intern in good standing whose 

active military service has impaired their ability to obtain the 

continuing education requirements in Paragraph (f) of this Rule 

are exempt from the continuing education requirement if written 

orders from their military unit are provided to the Board. In 

addition, the renewal fee is waived for each calendar year the 

environmental health specialist is on active duty. 

(j)  A registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist intern who is disabled may 

request a variance in continuing education hours during the period 

of the disability. The Board may grant or deny requests for 

variance in continuing education hours based on a disabling 

condition on a case by case basis, taking into consideration the 

particular disabling condition involved and its effect on the 

registered environmental health specialist or registered 

environmental health specialist intern's ability to complete the 

required hours. In considering the request, the Board may require 

additional documentation substantiating any specified disability. 

(k)  A maximum of five contact hours of approved continuing 

education, that is in excess of the required 15 contact hours, may 

be applied toward the continuing education requirements for the 
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following year. For 2020, registrants who completed contact 

hours, even though continuing education was not required for that 

year, may carry forward a maximum of five hours. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-57; 90A-63; 93B-15; 

Eff. February 1, 1976; 

Readopted Eff. December 22, 1978; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; April 

1, 1989; February 1, 1983; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

21 NCAC 62 .0411 SPECIALIZED TRAINING 

Every applicant for registration as a registered environmental 

health specialist intern shall complete the course entitled 

"Orientation and Initial Internship Training for Environmental 

Health Interns" offered by the Division of Public Health at the 

centralized training site within 18 months of registration as a 

registered environmental health specialist intern. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90A-50; 90A-51; 90A-53; 

90A-57; 

Eff. February 1, 1983; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2010; November 1, 1994; May 1, 1990; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without 

substantive public interest Eff. January 13, 2015; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. April 28, 2020; 

Temporary Amendment Eff. June 26, 2020; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2021. 

 

 

 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

36:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 2, 2021 

235 

This Section contains information for the meeting of the Rules Review Commission August 19, 2021 at 1711 New Hope Church 

Road, RRC Commission Room, Raleigh, NC.  Anyone wishing to submit written comment on any rule before the Commission 

should submit those comments to the RRC staff, the agency, and the individual Commissioners.  Specific instructions and 

addresses may be obtained from the Rules Review Commission at 984-236-1850.  Anyone wishing to address the Commission 

should notify the RRC staff and the agency no later than 5:00 p.m. of the 2nd business day before the meeting.  Please refer to 

RRC rules codified in 26 NCAC 05. 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEMBERS 

 
Appointed by Senate Appointed by House 
Jeanette Doran (Chair) Anna Baird Choi (1st Vice Chair) 

Robert A. Bryan, Jr. Andrew P. Atkins (2nd Vice Chair) 
Margaret Currin 

Jeff Hyde 
Paul Powell 

Randy Overton 
Robert A. Rucho Barbara A. Jackson 

  
COMMISSION COUNSEL 

Amber Cronk May 984-236-1936 
Amanda Reeder 984-236-1939 

 
RULES REVIEW COMMISSION MEETING DATES 

  August 19, 2021         September 16, 2021 
 October 21, 2021 November 18, 2021 

 

 
AGENDA 

RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 
THURSDAY, AUGUST 19, 2021, 9:00 A.M. 

1711 New Hope Church Rd., Raleigh, NC 27609 

I. Ethics reminder by the chair as set out in G.S. 138A-15(e) 

II. Approval of the minutes from the last meeting 

III. Follow-up matters 
A. Social Services Commission– 10A NCAC 71K .0101, .0102; 71L .0101, .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, .0106, 

and .0107; 71O .0101, .0102, .0103, and.0104; 71U .0101, .0201, .0203, .0204, .0205, .0206, .0207, .0209, 
.0210, .0211, .0212, .0213, .0214, .0215, .0216, .0302, .0303, .0401, .0402; 71V .0102, .0103, .0104, .0105, 
.0106, .0107, .0108, .0201, .0202, .0203, .0204, and .0205; 71W .0101, .0302, .0303, .0304, .0403, .0404, 
.0405, .0407, .0408, .0410, .0412, .0413, .0502, .0503, .0601, .0602, .0603, .0604, .0605, .0606, .0607, 
.0704; 72 .0102 (May) 

B. Coastal Resources Commission - 15A NCAC 07H .0304, .0312; 07J .1201, .1202, .1203, .1204, .1205, 
.1206, .1301, .1302, .1303 (Reeder) 

C. Veterinary Medical Board - 21 NCAC 66 .0211 (Reeder) 

IV.  Review of Log of Filings (Permanent Rules) for rules filed between June 22, 2021 through July 20, 2021 

• Board of Agriculture (May) 

• Credit Union Division (Reeder) 

• Department of Natural and Cultural Resources (May) 

• State Board of Elections (Reeder) 

• Coastal Resources Commission (Reeder) 

• Department of Transportation - Division of Motor Vehicles (May) 

• Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners (May) 

• Board of Nursing (May) 

• Building Code Council (Reeder) 

V. Review of Log of Filings (Temporary Rules) for any rule filed within 15 business days prior to the RRC Meeting  

VI. Existing Rules Review  

VII. Commission Business 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

36:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 2, 2021 

236 

• Next meeting: September 16, 2021  

 

 

Commission Review 
Log of Permanent Rule Filings 

June 22, 2021 through July 20, 2021 

AGRICULTURE, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 60 are for the division of forest resources.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 60B concern the administration (.0100) of division programs including forest fire control (.0200); 
pest control (.0300); forest management (.0400); forest tree seedlings (.0500); custom forestry services (.0600); forest 
development program (.0700); urban and community forestry (.0800); NC prescribed burning act (.0900); and Dupont 
State Forest (.1000). 

Scope 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1001 

Definitions of Terms 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1002 

Permits 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1003 

Rock or Cliff Climbing and Rappelling 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1004 

Bathing or Swimming 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1005 

Hunting 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1006 

Fishing 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1007 

Animals at Large 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1008 

Boating 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1009 

Camping 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1010 

Sports and Games 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1011 

Horses 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1012 

Bicycles 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1013 

Skates, Blades and Boards 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1014 

Explosives 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1015 

Fires and Grills 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1017 

Disorderly Conduct 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1018 

Intoxicating Beverages and Drugs 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1019 
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Damage to Buildings, Structures and Signs 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1020 

Commercial Enterprises 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1021 

Noise Regulations 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1022 

Alms and Contributions 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1024 

Aviation 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1025 

Expulsion 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1026 

Motorized Vehicles 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1027 

Flowers, Plants, Minerals, Etc 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1028 

Trash and Debris 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1029 

Fees and Charges 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1030 

Hours of Operation 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1031 

Enforcement 
Amend* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1032 

Parking 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1033 

Abandoned Property 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1034 

Minors 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1035 

Firearms 
Adopt* 

 02 NCAC 60B .1036 

CREDIT UNION DIVISION 

The rules in Chapter 6 are from the Credit Union Division.  
 
The rules in Subchapter 6C concern credit unions and include general information (.0100); organization of credit unions 
(.0200); basic internal controls: accounting procedures and operation standards for state-chartered credit unions 
(.0300); loans (.0400); impairment and insolvency (.0500); dividends deposits and interest rebate (.0600); accounts 
(.0700); reports to administrator (.0800); pension plans (.0900); retention of records (.1000); forms used by credit union 
division (.1100); investments (.1200); reserves (.1300); and signature guarantee services. 

Management Duties 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 06C .0304 

Independent Audits 
Amend* 

 04 NCAC 06C .0305 

NATURAL AND CULTURAL RESOURCES, DEPARTMENT OF 

The rules in Chapter 14 concern NC zoological park regulations.  
 
The definitions for the Chapter are set out in Subchapter 14A. 
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Definitions 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 14A .0101 

The rules in Subchapter 14B are general provisions that concern preservation of the zoo (.0100); refuse and rubbish 
(0200); traffic and parking (.0300); firearms: fires: etc. (.0400); disorderly conduct: public nuisance: etc. (.0500); 
commercial enterprises: advertising: meetings: exhibitions: etc. (.0600); and miscellaneous rules (.0700). 

Firearms 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0401 

Animals at Large 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0504 

Photographs 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0602 

Use of Facilities and Grounds 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0605 

ALMS and Contributions 
Readopt with Changes* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0606 

Soliciting Donations: Distributing Literature: Gifts 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0607 

North Carolina Zoological Park: Admission Fees 
Amend* 

 07 NCAC 14B .0706 

ELECTIONS, STATE BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 1 are departmental rules. 

Political Party Formation, Termination, and Reinstatement 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 01 .0107 

The rules in Chapter 9 concern conduct of vote recounts by county boards of elections. 

General Guidelines 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0106 

First Recount 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0107 

Recount of Direct Record Electronic Voting Machines 
Repeal* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0108 

Guidelines for Determining Voter Intent 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 09 .0109 

The rules in Chapter 20 concern elections observers. 

Election Observers 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 20 .0101 

The rules in Chapter 21 are department rules concerning reporting (.0100) noncompliance (.0200); use of contributions 
(.0300); examinations (.0400); and disclosure requirements for media advertisements (.0500). 

Reporting of Independent Expenditures 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0102 

Reporting of Special Contributions 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0103 

Reporting of Electioneering Communications 
Amend* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0104 

Electronic Signature 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0107 
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Procedures for Closing a Committee 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0202 

Certification of Threshold 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0203 

Examination by the State Board of Elections 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0401 

Billboards 
Adopt* 

 08 NCAC 21 .0501 

COASTAL RESOURCES COMMISSION 

The rules in Subchapter 7M concern general policy guidelines for the coastal area including purpose and authority 
(.0100); shoreline erosion response policies (.0200); shorefront access policies (.0300); coastal energy policies (.0400); 
post-disaster policies (.0500); floating structure policies (.0600); mitigation policy (.0700); coastal water quality policies 
(.0800); policies on use of coastal airspace (.0900); policies on water and wetland based target areas for military training 
activities (.1000); policies on beneficial use and availability of materials resulting from the excavation or maintenance of 
navigational channels (.1100); and policies on ocean mining (.1200). 

Declaration of General Policy 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0301 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0302 

Standards for Public Access 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0303 

Local Government and State Involvement in Access 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0306 

Eligibility, Selection Criteria and Matching Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0307 

Public Involvement/Notice 
Readopt without Changes* 

 15A NCAC 07M .0308 

TRANSPORTATION - MOTOR VEHICLES, DIVISION OF 

The rules in Subchapter 3D are from the enforcement section and include general information (.0100); motor vehicle 
dealer, sales, distributor and factory representative licenses (.0200); motor vehicle thefts (.0300); notice of sale and 
stored vehicles (.0400); general information regarding safety inspection of motor vehicles (.0500); weight of vehicles 
and registration enforcement (.0600); approval of motor vehicles safety equipment (.0700); safety rules and regulations 
(.0800); and approval of sun screening devices (.0900). 

Forms and Publications 
Readopt/Repeal* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0102 

Conditions for Issuing Temporary Markers by a Dealer 
Amend* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0221 

Dealer Plates 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0223 

Illegal Use of Dealer Plates 
Amend* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0224 

Vehicles Offered for Sale Owned by Dealership 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0225 

Vehicles Offered for Sale on Consignment 
Amend* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0226 

Vehicles Offered for Sale on a Floor Plan Lien 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0227 

Corp. Surety/Bonds: Mobile/Manufactured Home Dealers  19A NCAC 03D .0229 
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Readopt without Changes* 

Unclaimed Motor Vehicle 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0402 

Sale of Vehicle to Satisfy Storage or Mechanic's Lien 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0403 

Sale of Motor Vehicle Under Judicial Proceedings 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0404 

Sale of Abandoned Vehicle 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0405 

Definitions 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0517 

Licensing of Safety or Emissions Inspection Stations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0518 

Stations 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0519 

Mechanic Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0520 

Licensing Requirements 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0521 

Denial, Suspension or Revocation of Licenses 
Readopt without Changes* 

 19A NCAC 03D .0522 

COSMETIC ART EXAMINERS, BOARD OF 

The rules in Subchapter 14A are the Cosmetic Art Board of Examiners departmental rules including organizational rules 
(.0100); and license renewal waiver for armed forces (.0400). 

Address 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14A .0104 

Fees 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14A .0404 

The rules in Subchapter 14H are sanitation rules for both operators and facilities including sanitation (.0100); shop 
licensing and physical dimensions (.0200); cosmetic art shop and equipment (.0300); sanitation procedures and 
practices (.0400); and enforcement, maintenance of licensure (.0500). 

Disinfection Procedures 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14H .0403 

The rules in Subchapter 14T concern cosmetic art schools including the scope of the rules and school applications 
(.0100); physical requirements for cosmetic art schools (.0200); school equipment and supplies (.0300); student 
equipment (.0400); record keeping (.0500); curricula for all cosmetic art disciplines (.0600); school licensure, operations, 
closing and relocating schools (.0700); school inspections (.0800); and disciplinary actions (.0900). 

All Cosmetic Art Schools 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0201 

Permanent Records, Forms and Documentation 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0502 

Additional Hours 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0616 

School Approval Changes and School Closing 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 14T .0706 

 



 RULES REVIEW COMMISSION 

 

 

36:03 NORTH CAROLINA REGISTER AUGUST 2, 2021 

241 

NURSING, BOARD OF 

The rules in Chapter 36 include rules relating to general provisions (.0100); licensure (.0200); approval of nursing 
programs (.0300); unlicensed personnel and nurses aides (.0400); professional corporations (.0500); articles of 
organization (.0600); nurse licensure compact (.0700); and approval and practice parameters for nurse practitioners 
(.0800). 

Administration 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0317 

Faculty 
Amend* 

 21 NCAC 36 .0318 

BUILDING CODE COUNCIL 

2020 NC Electrical Code 
Adopt* 
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This Section contains a listing of recently issued Administrative Law Judge decisions for contested cases that are non-confidential. 

Published decisions are available for viewing on the OAH website at http://www.ncoah.com/hearings/decisions/ 

If you are having problems accessing the text of the decisions online or for other questions regarding contested cases or case 

decisions, please contact the Clerk's office by email: oah.clerks@oah.nc.gov or phone 984-236-1850. 

 

OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 

Chief Administrative Law Judge 

DONALD R. VAN DER VAART 

 

Senior Administrative Law Judge 

FRED G. MORRISON JR. 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 

 

Melissa Owens Lassiter   J. Randolph Ward 

J. Randall May    Stacey Bawtinhimer 

David Sutton    Michael Byrne 

Selina Malherbe    Karlene Turrentine 

      
 

 

 

Year Code Number Date 

Decision 

Filed 

Petitioner   Respondent ALJ 

    Published    

20 DOJ 03447 6/14/2021 Christopher Lee 

Maness  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

20 DOJ 03914 6/15/2021 Robert Joseph 

Brewington  

v. NC Criminal Justice Education and 

Training Standards Commission 

Lassiter 

20 DOJ 04027 6/25/2021 Heather Chatel 

Blair  

v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Sutton 

20 DOJ 05455 6/10/2021 Jose Daniel Palma  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

May 

21 DOJ 00829 6/22/2021 Darren Tyree Taylor  v. NC Sheriffs Education and Training 

Standards Commission 

Byrne 

             

20 DSC 02922 6/4/2021 Timothy C Roper  v. North Carolina Department of Public 

Safety 

Bawtinhimer 

             

19 DST 05261 7/30/2020; 

6/24/2021 

Kirk Justin Barefoot  v. NC Retirement Systems Division Bawtinhimer 

21 DST 00090 6/15/2021 Evelyn P Hammond  v. North Carolina Total Retirement Plans Bawtinhimer 

             

20 INS 02078 6/2/2021 Dr James Anthony 

McKernan 

Professor  

v. The North Carolina State Health Plan 

for Teachers and State Employees 

Ward 

21 INS 01323 6/29/2021 Rhonda Russell-

Smith  

v. North Carolina State Health Plan Byrne 

        

    Unpublished    

21 ABC 01833 6/4/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Express Mini Mart 1 Inc T/A Express 

Mini Mart 1 

Lassiter 
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21 ABC 01901 6/14/2021 NC Alcoholic 

Beverage Control 

Commission  

v. Smokers Post LLC T/A Smokers Post Bawtinhimer 

             

20 CPA 02840 5/12/2021; 

6/30/2021 

NC State Board of 

Certified Public 

Accountant 

Examiners  

v. Leon Little Rives II #29505 Bawtinhimer 

             

20 CPS 04557 6/30/2021 Johnathan Adams  v. Victims Compensation Commission Mann 

21 CPS 01871 6/9/2021 Marion Lamont 

Sherrod Jr agent for 

Marion Lamont 

Sherrod  

v. North Carolina Department of Adult 

Corrections/Public Safety 

Byrne 

             

20 CSE 04195 6/8/2021 William Glasson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04292 6/16/2021 Kevin S Davenport  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04361 6/21/2021 Michael Smith  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Turrentine 

20 CSE 04393 6/25/2021 Kenneth D White  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04396 6/28/2021 Jaime Arturo Alejos 

Mejia  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

May 

20 CSE 04518 6/28/2021 Isaiah Callands  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement Section 

May 

20 CSE 04693 6/30/2021 Carter Ryan Manley  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Bawtinhimer 

20 CSE 04917 6/9/2021 Byron D Black  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

20 CSE 05178 6/9/2021 Justin Tyler Garrett  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

20 CSE 05320 6/14/2021 Rodrigo Alberto 

Conde  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Byrne 

21 CSE 01299 6/2/2021 Travis L Davidson  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Social Services, 

Child Support Enforcement 

Sutton 

             

21 DHR 01051 6/30/2021 Jennifer Jimenez  v. DSS Mann 

21 DHR 01676 6/2/2021 Sean Hawkins  v. Health Care Personnel Registry May 

21 DHR 01898 6/11/2021 Aaliyah Taylor  v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services, Division of Health Service 

Regulation 

Bawtinhimer 

21 DHR 02116 6/30/2021 Tom LaGarde Haw 

River Ballroom  

v. NC Department of Health and Human 

Services Division of Public Health 

Mann 
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21 DOL 01831 6/30/2021 Pani Verma  v. DOL Mann 

             

21 DOT 01593 6/30/2021 Benjamin Riley 

Pierce  

v. NC Department of Transportation Mann 

             

21 DSA 01505 6/10/2021 Kinetic Minds Inc  v. NC Office of the State Auditor Lassiter 

             

21 EDC 02118 6/14/2021 Essie Mae Kiser 

Foxx Charter 

School  

v. North Carolina State Board of 

Education et al 

May 

             

21 INS 01553 6/24/2021 Chelsea McLean  v. North Carolina Department of State 

Treasurer 

Malherbe 

21 INS 01794 6/14/2021 Cailisha L Petty v. North Carolina State Health Plan for 

Teachers and State Employees 

May 

             

21 MIS 01325 6/11/2021 Nigel Rankin  v. Guilford County Courthouse Angela 

Fox Department of Social Services 

Camelia K Smith & Paige Gilliard 

Childrens Law Center of Central North 

Carolina Jessica Stone Brian Hogan 

Mann 

21 MIS 01326 6/2/2021 Trisha White  v. Sheriffs Office Harvey David Legrant 

Jr Forsyth County Courthouse - Family 

Court C District Logan T Burke Susan 

Frye David Sipprell Lawrence J Fine 

Lisa Menfee Shea Bree Ward Blalock 

Mann 

21 MIS 01442 6/15/2021 Jennifer and Eliseo 

Contreras Jimenez  

v. Department of Social Services Children 

and Families of Forsyth County 

Mann 

             

21 OSP 01243 6/7/2021 Anastahia Johnson  v. East Carolina University Turrentine 

21 OSP 01471 6/22/2021 Jason Yoder  v. NC Department of Public Safety Mann 

             

21 SOS 01555 6/30/2021 Jordan P Archer 

(The Archer 

Foundation)  

v. NC Dpt of the Secretary of State Mann 

 

 




